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Executive Summary

e The number of local governments using administrative traffic citations issued under
Minn. Stat. § 169.999 during 2010, 2011, and 2012 has remained fairly stable. However,
the total revenues collected through administrative traffic citations have increased by
approximately 15 percent, from almost $349,000 in 2010 to over $400,000 in 2012.*

e The use of traffic diversion programs by both cities and counties is growing, especially in
cities.? The total amount of fees collected by local governments for the traffic diversion
programs in 2010, 2011, and 2012 (approximately $1.6 million) exceeded the total
amount in fines collected by local governments for administrative traffic citations for the
same time period (approximately $1.1 million).?

e Traffic diversion programs present a patchwork of traffic enforcement practices by local
governments.*

e Whether local governments should be granted the authority to operate local traffic
diversion programs is a question for the Legislature. The Office of the State Auditor
recommends that the Legislature consider the following issues:*

The integrity of Minnesota’s driving records;

The risk of losing federal highway aid and grant funds;

The merits of uniformity in traffic enforcement;

A statewide database for local traffic diversion programs;

Monitoring the use, scope, and effectiveness of local traffic diversion programs;
Standards for local traffic diversion programs;

Fee and surcharge requirements applicable to local traffic diversion programs;
Contracting authority for the use of third-party vendors for local traffic diversion
programs; and

The data practice status of driver data collected during the operation of local
traffic diversion programs.

O O0O0O0O0O0O0O0

@]

! See page 15 of this report.

% See pages 18 - 19 of this report.
® See pages 21 - 22 of this report.
* See pages 19 - 21 of this report.
® See pages 23 - 26 of this report.
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Scope and Methodology

This report is a special examination of two enforcement programs used by local governments to
respond to traffic offenses. The two programs serve as alternatives to processing traffic tickets
through the State court system. This report first examines the use by local governments of
administrative traffic tickets authorized by the Minnesota Legislature in 2009.° This report then
examines the growing number of traffic diversion programs being offered by local governments.

Administrative Traffic Tickets

To obtain information on the use of administrative traffic tickets, the Office of the State Auditor
(OSA\) surveyed 147 local governments in August 2013.” The local governments were selected
for the survey because they: 1) reported the collection of fines for administrative traffic citations
on the OSA’s 2010 or 2011 financial reporting form;® 2) notified the Commissioner of Public
Safety that they had passed a resolution authorizing the implementation of the administrative
traffic ticket statute;® or 3) transferred money to the Commissioner of Management and Budget
(MMB) for deposit in the State’s General Fund as required by the 2009 statute.™

The surveys asked whether the local government issued administrative traffic citations in 2010,
2011, or 2012, pursuant to the 2009 statute. If so, the local government was asked for the
amount collected each year, the amount remitted to MMB, and the amount collected for each
administrative traffic citation issued each year. The OSA achieved a 100 percent response rate
on the survey. None of the responses were verified, and the financial information provided was
self-reported.

Local Traffic Diversion Programs

The OSA has become aware of traffic diversion programs operated by cities, counties, and local
prosecutors. To determine where in Minnesota traffic diversion programs were being offered,
the OSA conducted internet searches. From July through the beginning of October 2013, the
OSA conducted telephone interviews with local government officials about their traffic diversion
programs.™* The interviews asked about the fees charged for the program; the revenues collected
by the program in 2010, 2011, 2012, and the first six months of 2013; the traffic offenses eligible

® See Minn. Stat. § 169.999.

" The majority of the surveys were sent by email on August 13, 2013. Included were 108 cities, 34 towns, and
5 counties.

& At the time the OSA began its review, not all local governments had submitted their 2012 financial reporting forms
to the OSA. Two towns that had reported less than $5 collected for administrative fines in 2010 were excluded from
the survey.

® The OSA obtained from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety a list of local governments that had provided
the Commissioner with notice that the local government had adopted a resolution on administrative traffic fines.

1% The OSA obtained from MMB a report of payments MMB had received from local governments pursuant to
Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 5.

11 After the OSA began this review, a lawsuit filed in Wabasha County District Court challenged Wabasha County’s
authority to operate the County’s traffic diversion program. See Ass’n for Gov’t Accountability v. Wabasha County,
Wabasha Co. Dist. Ct. File No. 79-CV-13-751. The OSA was named as a defendant in the lawsuit. As a result, the
OSA did not interview Wabasha County officials as part of this review. Instead, the information contained in this
review on Wabasha County’s Safe Driving Class was obtained from public sources.



for the program; how long the program has been in existence; a description of the class; any
payment of a $75 surcharge to the State; the use of the uniform traffic ticket; and whether the
violation went on the driver’s record if the class was completed. As part of the interview, the
OSA requested a copy of the brochure describing the program provided to drivers eligible for the
program.

The OSA’s search was not exhaustive. The OSA found and reviewed a total of 36 such
programs - 21 operated by cities and 15 operated by counties.”> None of the responses were
verified, and the financial information provided was self-reported.

12 The OSA found additional traffic diversion programs in the Cities of Annandale (population 3,280; Wright
County), Lester Prairie (population 1,720; McLeod County), and Elbow Lake (population 1,167; Grant County).
However, these programs were not included in this review because of their small size.



Introduction

In 2003, the Minnesota Attorney General’s Office (AG) examined the legality of municipal
programs that imposed administrative penalties for traffic law violations."> Among other things,
the AG concluded that the State of Minnesota had “plainly preempted the field of enforcement”
for traffic law violations. Citing the strong legislative assertion of state preemption in the area
of traffic regulation, the AG concluded that local governments were precluded from creating
their own enforcement systems.

Despite the clear direction from the AG, some local governments implemented administrative
penalty programs to enforce traffic laws. In 2008, the OSA conducted a Special Study on
Administrative Penalty Programs.'* The Special Study revealed that administrative penalty
programs implemented by local governments for traffic law enforcement had the following
characteristics:

1. All the revenue collected was retained by the local government.

2. The monetary fines were often less than the fines associated with State traffic tickets.

3. Administrative citations were not reported to other government entities and did not
affect an individual’s driving record or insurance.

4. Administrative penalty programs were described as “voluntary” because the violators
had the option of accepting a State traffic ticket.

In 2009, the Minnesota Legislature provided local governments with the authority to implement
administrative citation programs for certain limited traffic violations.®> Among other things, the
legislation set the fine for administrative traffic tickets at $60. Of that amount, $40 is credited to
the local government’s general revenue fund, and $20 is transferred to the Commissioner of
Management and Budget (MMB) for deposit in the State’s General Fund.'® A number of local
governments implemented administrative traffic citation programs in compliance with the 2009
law.

Other local governments implemented “traffic diversion programs” to handle certain traffic law
violations. Generally under these programs, the local government offers a class for a fee for
specific traffic offenses. Upon successful completion of the class, the traffic offense will not
appear on the violator’s driving record.

3 See Letter from Asst. Att’y Gen. Kenneth E. Raschke, Jr., to Minn. State Rep. Steve Smith (Dec. 1, 2003),
reproduced in Appendix 1, page 27. See also Letter from State Auditor Awada to Minn. State Rep. Steve Smith
(Oct. 2, 2003), at pages 2-4.

4 See Special Study: Administrative Penalty Programs (Feb. 13, 2008), available on the OSA’s website at:
http://www.auditor.state.mn.us/reports/gid/2008/adminpen/adminpen_08_fullreport.pdf.

' See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 1.

16 See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 5. When a state trooper issues the administrative citation, the State’s General
Fund receives $40, with the local government retaining $20. See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 5(c).




Similar to administrative traffic citation programs prior to the 2009 law, the local traffic
diversion programs generally have the following characteristics:

1.
2.
3.

All the revenue collected is retained by the local government.*’

The fees for the traffic class are less than the fines associated with State traffic tickets.
Citations are not reported to other government entities and do not affect an
individual’s driving record or insurance.

The traffic diversion programs are “voluntary” because the violator has the option of
accepting a State traffic ticket.

" The OSA found two cities during this review, the Cities of Coon Rapids (Anoka County) and Red Wing
(Goodhue County), that forward a $75 surcharge to MMB for each participant in their traffic diversion programs.
See Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 6.



Background
State Preemption in Traffic Enforcement

Generally, local governments have no inherent powers beyond those expressly granted by statute
or charter, or those implied as reasonable and necessary to the implementation of such express
powers.®® When exercising those powers, local governments may not address areas of the law
that have been fully occupied or preempted by state law, or establish programs or procedures that
are incompatible with state statutes.'®

State statutes regulate traffic and motor vehicle operation in Minnesota. With respect to the
offenses and procedures defined in the Traffic Code (Chapter 169), the State has preempted the
field.?> Preemption is found in Minn. Stat. § 169.022. The statute provides:

The provisions of this chapter [Chapter 169] shall be applicable and uniform
throughout this state and in all political subdivisions and municipalities therein,
and no local authority shall enact or enforce any rule or regulation in conflict with
the provisions of this chapter unless expressly authorized herein. Local authorities
may adopt traffic regulations which are not in conflict with the provisions of this
chapter; provided, that when any local ordinance regulating traffic covers the
same subject for which a penalty is provided for in this chapter, then the penalty
provided for violation of said local ordinance shall be identical with the penalty
provided for in this chapter for the same offense.

Further support of State preemption over traffic enforcement can be found in the statutory
requirement that uniform traffic tickets or uniform administrative traffic citations be used for
Chapter 169 violations.”* Similarly, fines for Chapter 169 violations are uniform in amount and
application statewide.??

As a result, in the area of traffic enforcement, the Minnesota Supreme Court, in at least three
cases, and the AG have concluded that local governments are precluded from creating their own
traffic enforcement systems.?®

18 See, e.g., Country Joe, Inc., v. City of Eagan, 560 N.W.2d 681, 683 (Minn. 1997).

9 See, e.g., Mangold Midwest Co. v. Village of Richfield, 274 Minn. 347, 356, 143 N.W.2d 813, 819 (1966) (A state
law may fully occupy a particular field of legislation so that there is no room for local regulation.).

20 See Letter from Asst. Att’y Gen. Kenneth E. Raschke, Jr., to Minn. State Rep. Steve Smith (Dec. 1, 2003), at
pages 4-5. See also State v. Hoben, 256 Minn. 436, 444, 98 N.W.2d 813, 818-819 (1959).

21 See Minn. Stat. §§ 169.99, subd. 1, and 169.999, subd. 3. The uniform traffic ticket must be used by “police and
peace officers or any other person for violations of [Chapter 169] or ordinances in conformity thereto.” Minn. Stat.
§ 169.99, subd. 1(a). It must “be in the form and have the effect of a summons and complaint.” Minn. Stat.
§ 169.99, subd. 1(a).

22 See Minn. Stat. § 609.101, subd. 4; Minn. R. Crim. P. 23.03, subd. 2(1).

%% See State v. Hoben, 256 Minn. 436, 98 N.W.2d 813, 818-819 (1959); Duffy v. Martin, 265 Minn. 248, 252, 121
N.W.2d 343, 347 (1963); State v. Kuhlman, 729 N.W.2d 577, 581 (Minn. 2007); Letter from Asst. Att’y Gen.
Kenneth E. Raschke, Jr., to Minn. State Rep. Steve Smith (Dec. 1, 2003), at pages 5-6.



Penalties for Traffic Violations

Most traffic offenses are petty misdemeanor or misdemeanor offenses. Generally, petty
misdemeanor offenses are “payable offenses.” That is, the fine can be paid without a court
appearance, and payment of the fine constitutes a plea of guilty.*

The total amount paid by a violator of a traffic law is generally composed of three items:

e The base fine, which is generally the amount set by the judicial branch and found
in a uniform statewide fine schedule known as the Statewide Payables List;?

e A surcharge set by statute at $12 for parking violations and $75 for all other
violations;”® and

e A law library fee that varies by county.?’

The distribution of proceeds from the fine, surcharge, and law library fee is established in
statute.®® For example, traffic fines are generally distributed 2/3 to the local government where
the violation occurred and 1/3 to the State.”® However, distributions may differ, depending upon
the violation. Fines from seat belt violations, for example, must go to an emergency medical
services relief account.®

The Surcharge

In 1999, the Legislature imposed a surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross
misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor offense, other than violations related to
vehicle parking.® The surcharge does not apply when a person is convicted of a petty
misdemeanor for which no fine is imposed.*

2 See Minn. R. Crim. P. 23.03, subd. 3.

% See Minn. Stat. § 609.101, subd. 4; Minn. R. Crim. P. 23.03, subd. 2(1). The Statewide Payables List is available
at: http://www.mncourts.gov/?page=1774.

2 See Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 6.

27 See Minn. Stat. §§ 134A.09, subd. 3 (Hennepin and Ramsey Counties) and 134A.10, subd. 4 (all other counties).
%8 For a detailed description of the disbursement allocations, see the Minn. House Research Dep’t Information Brief
on Traffic Citations (Sept. 2012), available at: http://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/pubs/trafcit.pdf.

2 See, e.g., Minn. Stat. § 484.90, subd. 6.

% See Minn. Stat. § 169.686, subd. 3 (90 percent for eight regional emergency medical services systems and
10 percent to the State Patrol for traffic safety education programs).

%1 See Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 6(a). For a history of the surcharge, see the Minn. House Research Dep’t
Information Brief on Traffic Citations (Sept. 2012).

%2 See Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 6(a).




Since 2009, the surcharge has been $75. The surcharge must be forwarded by the “court
administrator or other entity collecting a surcharge” to the Commissioner of MMB. It may not
be waived, even upon a showing of indigency or undue hardship.** Generally, the $75 surcharge
is distributed among the State’s General Fund, the peace officers training account, and the game
and fish fund for Department of Natural Resources (DNR) officer training.**

In addition to raising the surcharge to $75 in 2009, amendments to the statute provided that the
surcharge does not apply to administrative citations issued pursuant to section 169.999, but does
apply to people who successfully complete a diversion or similar program for a violation of
Chapter 169.° In 2011, the statute was amended again to its current language: “A person who
enters a diversion program, continuance without prosecution, continuance for dismissal, or stay
of adjudication for a violation of chapter 169 must pay the surcharge described in this
subdivision. A surcharge imposed under this paragraph shall be imposed only once per case.”*®

Driving Records

Chapter 169 violations are recorded in a centralized database maintained by the Driver and
Vehicle Services Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.*’

Minnesota law prohibits certain speeding violations from appearing on a driver’s record. The
law, known as the “Dimler Amendment,” currently provides that speeding violations will not be
placed on a driver’s record if the driver was going no more than ten miles per hour over the
speed limit in a 55 or 60 mile per hour zone.*® Starting August 1, 2014, speeding violations in a
60 mile per hour zone will not appear on the record only if the driver was going no more than
five miles per hour over the speed limit. The “Dimler Amendment” does not apply if: 1) the
speed limit is other than 55 or 60 miles per hour; 2) the speeding violation occurs in a
commercial motor vehicle; or 3) the driver holds a commercial driver’s license (CDL).*

% See Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 6(c) and (d).

# See Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 7. The percentage distributions generally result in $65 to the State’s General
Fund, $9.75 to the peace officers training account, and $0.25 to the game and fish fund for DNR officer training.
See Minn. House Research Dep’t Information Brief on Traffic Citations (Sept. 2012).

% See 2009 Minn. Laws Chaps. 83, art. 2 § 22 and 158 § 7. The 2009 Chapter 169 diversion program amendment
provided: “A person who successfully completes a diversion or similar program for a violation of chapter 169 must
pay the surcharge described in this subdivision.”

% See 1 Sp. 2011 Minn. Laws Chap. 1, art. 3 § 3. This language is currently found in Minn. Stat. § 357.021,
subd. 6(f).

%" See generally Minn. Stat. § 171.12.

% See Minn. Stat. § 171.12, subd. 6.

% See Minn. Stat. § 171.12, subd. 6.



Federal law requires that states “not mask, defer imposition of judgment, or allow an individual
to enter into a diversion program that would prevent a CDL driver’s conviction for any violation,
in any type of motor vehicle, of a State or local traffic control law (except a parking violation)
from appearing on the driver’s record, whether the driver was convicted for an offense
committed in the State where the driver is licensed or another State.”*® Sanctions for
noncompliance with this federal law include the withholding of Federal-aid Highway Program
funds and Federal Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program grant funds from the State.*!

To prevent the loss of federal highway aid and grant funds, Minnesota adopted a statute in 2009
that parallels the language of the federal law. The Minnesota statute provides: “An agency,
court, or public official in Minnesota shall not mask, defer imposition of judgment for, or allow
an individual to enter into a diversion program that would prevent a conviction for a violation of
a state or local traffic control law, except a parking violation, from appearing on the driving
record of a holder of a commercial driver’s license, when the violation is committed in any type
of motor vehicle, or on the driving record of an individual who committed the violation in a
commercial motor vehicle.”*

Administrative Traffic Citations (Minn. Stat. § 169.999)

In 2009, the Minnesota Legislature authorized the use of administrative citation programs by
local governments for certain traffic violations.”® The statute, Minn. Stat. § 169.999, requires the
following:**

1. Passage of a resolution about the program and notification to the Commissioner of
Public Safety of the resolution.*®

2. Limitations on the violations eligible for the program to speeding less than ten miles
per hour over the speed limit, failing to obey a stop line, and operating a vehicle in
violation of certain safety or equipment-related standards.*®

3. Use of the uniform administrative citation form prescribed by the Commissioner of
Public Safety.*’

4. A process for contesting the administrative citation.*®

A fine of $60, with $40 credited to the local government’s general revenue fund, and

$20 transferred to MMB for deposit in the State’s General Fund.*®

o

“* See 49 CFR Part 384.226.

*! See 49 CFR Part 384.401.

“2 Minn. Stat. § 171.163.

#2009 Minn. Laws Chap. 158 § 6.

“ The OSA’s Statement of Position on Administrative Citations for Traffic Violations provides additional
information on Minn. Stat. § 169.999. The Statement of Position is reproduced in Appendix 2, page 37, and is
available on the OSA’s website at:

http://www.auditor.state.mn.us/other/Statements/adminpenaltiestrafficoffenses 0907 _statement.pdf.

% See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 1.

“® See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 1.

*"'See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 3.

*6 See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 4.

“ See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 5. The amount remaining with the local government must be used to
supplement, but not supplant, existing law enforcement funding. See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 5(b).

10



6. A prohibition on the use of the program for violations that occur in a commercial
motor vehicle or for drivers holding a CDL.>®

7. A report of the total amount of administrative traffic fines collected by a local
government as a separate category in the local government’s financial reports,
summaries, or audits.”

Authorized Traffic Diversion Programs

The Legislature has authorized two diversion programs for traffic violations: 1) driver
improvement clinics and 2) driving after suspension (DAS) and driving after revocation (DAR)
diversion pilot programs. As discussed previously in this report, the Legislature has prohibited
the use of traffic diversion programs for people holding a commercial driver’s license.>

1. Driver Improvement Clinics

Minnesota statutes authorize a trial court to require a person convicted of a violation of
Chapter 169 (the Traffic Code) to attend a driver improvement clinic as part of, or in lieu of,
other penalties.™

A “driver improvement clinic” is defined as “a formal course of study established under
section 169.972, designed primarily to assist persons convicted of traffic violations in correcting
improper driving habits and to familiarize them with the provisions of the Highway Traffic
Regulation Act.”™ Under the law, a municipality may establish and conduct a driver
improvement clinic and may charge “reasonable tuition fees.”® The fees, not to exceed $50,
must also not exceed the actual cost of the course.”®

Under the rules for driver improvement clinics promulgated by the Commissioner of Public
Safety, a driver improvement clinic must provide a course of study that is eight to nine hours in
length.>” A person may not be ordered to attend a clinic that is located more than 35 miles from
the person’s residence.™

%0 See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 6. This prohibition reflects the federal requirement and prevents the loss of
federal highway aid and grant moneys. See 49 CFR Parts 384.226, 384.401.

%! See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 8(a). The OSA added a line for this amount on the annual reporting forms local
governments submit to the OSA. The OSA must annually report to the Commissioner of Public Safety the
administrative traffic fines collected by local governments. See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 8(b).

°2 See Minn. Stat. § 171.163.

>3 See Minn. Stat. § 169.89, subd. 5.

> See Minn. Stat. § 169.971, subd. 2.

% See Minn. Stat. § 169.972, subds. 1 and 2. A “municipality” includes any city, county or town. See Minn. Stat.
§ 169.971, subd. 3.

% See Minn. Stat. § 169.972, subd. 2.

> See Minn. Rules 7411.5700, subp. 3. The rules also set requirements for instructors, course facilities, course
content, and record keeping. See Minn. Rules 7411.5700. A list of approved driver improvement clinics is found in
Appendix 3, page 43. See also Minn. Stat. 8§ 169.973, subd. 1 (Commissioner of Public Safety shall promulgate
rules setting the standards for the curriculum and mode of instruction of driver improvement clinics and youth-
oriented driver improvement clinics); and 169.89, subd. 5 (“approved driver improvement clinic or youth-oriented
driver improvement clinic” means a clinic whose curriculum and mode of instruction conform to standards
promulgated by the Commissioner of Public Safety).

> See Minn. Stat. § 169.89, subd. 5.
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2. DAS/DAR Diversion Pilot Programs

In 2009, the Legislature authorized five cities to each establish a pilot driver’s license
reinstatement diversion program.>® The legislation specifically granted cities the authority to
contract with a third party to create and administer the diversion program.®

The pilot program was created for certain offenders who had been charged with DAS or with
certain types of DAR violations, who had not yet entered a plea in the proceedings.®* The
Commissioner of Public Safety and the participating cities are required to report the results of the
pilot program to the Legislature.

In 2011, the Legislature made changes to the pilot program, including extending the program to
counties and delaying the program’s sunset date.®

Other Authorized Diversion Programs
Outside of Chapter 169, the Legislature has mandated the establishment of diversion programs

for certain juvenile and adult offenders, and has authorized the establishment of diversion
programs for individuals involved with the issuance of dishonored checks.®®

%% See 2009 Minn. Laws Chap. 59, art. 3 § 4. The law authorizes the Commissioner of Public Safety to permit
additional cities to establish license reinstatement diversion pilot programs.

80 See 2009 Minn. Laws Chap. 59, art. 3 § 4, subd. 3.

%! The legislation provided that an individual with a CDL was not eligible for the pilot program.

62 See 2011 Minn. Laws Chap. 87. In 2013, the sunset date for the pilot program was extended to June 30, 2017.
See 2013 Minn. Laws Chap. 127 § 60.

83 See Minn. Stat. §§ 388.24 (juveniles); 401.065 (adults); and 628.69 (dishonored checks). “Pretrial diversion” is
defined in Minn. Stat. § 388.24, subd. 1(2), as “the decision of a prosecutor to refer [a juvenile] offender to a
diversion program on condition that the delinquency petition against the offender will be dismissed or the petition
will not be filed after a specified period of time if the offender successfully completes the program.” “Pretrial
diversion” is defined in Minn. Stat. § 401.065, subd. 1(2), as “the decision of a prosecutor to refer [the adult]
offender to a diversion program on condition that the criminal charge against the offender will be dismissed after a
specified period of time, or the case will not be charged, if the offender successfully completes the program.”
“Pretrial diversion” is defined in Minn. Stat. § 628.69, subd. 1(2), as “the decision of a prosecutor to refer an
offender to a diversion program on condition that the criminal charges against the offender will be dismissed after a
specified period of time, or the case will not be charged, if the offender successfully completes the program.”
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The statutes set the diversion program components.®* The statutes require that information on
program participants be provided to and maintained by the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal
Apprehension.®*®  On a biennial basis, county attorneys must report to the state court
administrator and to the Legislature on the operation of their diversion programs for adult
offenders.®® On a biennial basis, prosecutors must also report to the Minnesota Supreme Court
and to the appropriate House and Senate policy committee chairs on their diversion programs for
dishonored checks.®” Prosecutors are expressly authorized to contract with a private entity to
establish a dishonored check diversion program.®®

Minnesota’s Rules of Criminal Procedure govern the procedures in prosecutions for felonies,
gross misdemeanors, misdemeanors, and petty misdemeanors in Minnesota’s district courts.®
Minnesota Rule of Criminal Procedure 27.05 governs pretrial diversion agreements, and states
that a pretrial diversion agreement must not include a condition the court could not impose as a
condition of probation.” If charges are not pending before the court, the Comment to Rule 27.05
recognize7s1 that the prosecutor and defendant may agree to diversion of a case without court
approval.

% See Minn. Stat. §§ 388.24, subds. 2 and 3 (juveniles); 401.065, subds. 2 and 3 (adults); and 628.69, subds. 3 and 4
(dishonored checks).

® See Minn. Stat. §§ 388.24, subd. 4 (juveniles); 401.605, subd. 3a (adults); and 628.69, subd. 6 (dishonored
checks). See also Minn. Stat. 88 299C.095 and 299C.46, subd. 5.

% See Minn. Stat. § 401.065, subd. 4.

®7 See Minn. Stat. § 628.69, subd. 7.

% See Minn. Stat. § 628.69, subd. 2.

% See Minn. R. Crim. P. 1.01.

0 See Minn. R. Crim. P. 27.05, subd. 1(3).

™ Similarly, Minn. R. Crim. P. 30.01 states that a prosecutor may dismiss a complaint or tab charge (a brief
statement of charges entered in the record by the court administrator) without the court’s approval. Reasons for the
dismissal must be stated. See Minn. R. Crim. P. 30.01. The Comment to the Rule notes that one of the reasons for a
dismissal may include the satisfactory completion of a pretrial diversion program. See Minn. R. Crim. P. Comment
to Rule 30. Dismissal of an indictment requires the court’s approval. See Minn. R. Crim. P. 30.01.
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Findings
Administrative Traffic Citation (Minn. Stat. § 169.999)

Based on the OSA’s survey results, the number of local governments using administrative traffic
citations during 2010, 2011, and 2012 has remained fairly stable. Administrative traffic citations
are primarily used by cities. The total revenues collected through administrative traffic citations
have increased by approximately 15 percent, from almost $349,000 in 2010 to over $400,000 in
2012.

A summary of the use of administrative traffic fines by local governments is presented in Table 1
below. The survey results for individual local governments are found in Appendix 4, page 47.

Table 1: Summary of Administrative Traffic Citation Fines Collected by
Local Governments Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 169.999 -
2010, 2011, and 2012

2010

Cities
Number of Cities 42 46 46

Amount Collected $330,686 $332,530 $343,631

Amount Remitted To MMB $102,341 $109,957 $113,580

Counties
Number of Counties 2 3 3

Amount Collected $5,440 $18,650 $34,560

Amount Remitted To MMB $1,960 $4,760 $9,700

Towns

Number of Towns 2 2 2
Amount Collected $12,786 $16,941 $25,184
Amount Remitted To MMB $4,102 $5,800 $8,340

Total

Total Amount Collected $348,912 $368,121 $403,375
Total Amount Remitted to MMB $108,403 $120,517 $131,620

Notes to Table 1: Amounts are rounded to the nearest dollar. The “Amount Remitted to MMB?” is the
amount local governments reported in response to the OSA’s survey. The amounts do not always
agree with the data maintained by MMB. The differences in the amounts appear to be based primarily
upon timing. For example, amounts remitted to MMB at year-end may not have been receipted by
MMB until the next calendar year.
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Traffic Diversion Programs Operated by Local Governments

The local traffic diversion programs reviewed by the OSA present a patchwork of traffic
enforcement practices by local governments in Minnesota. The programs generally have the
following characteristics:

Certain traffic violators are provided the State traffic ticket and a brochure describing a

traffic diversion program.

The traffic diversion program consists of a traffic class offered for a fee.
Fees for the traffic classes are less than the fines associated with the State traffic ticket.

With successful completion of the class, a traffic violation is not reported to other
government entities and does not appear on the driver’s record.

Al revenue collected for the program is retained by the local government(s).”
If the violator does not participate in the class, the State traffic ticket is enforced.

Counties and cities with traffic diversion programs included in the OSA’s review are shown in
Table 2 below. A map of the local governments with traffic diversion programs included in the

OSA'’s review is found in Figure 1 on the following page.

A summary of the individual

programs reviewed by the OSA is contained in Appendix 6, page 55.

Counties:
Chippewa
Grant
McLeod
Red Lake
Sibley

the OSA's Review

Chisago
Kandiyohi
Meeker
Renville
Wabasha

Cities (and County Where City is Located):

Ada (Norman)

Big Lake (Sherburne)
Circle Pines (Anoka)
Fairfax (Renville)

Lake City (Wabasha)
North Branch (Chisago)
Twin Valley (Norman)

Ashby (Grant)

Buffalo (Wright)
Clara City (Chippewa)
Grand Rapids (Itasca)
Lexington (Anoka)
Plainview (Wabasha)
Wabasha (Wabasha)

Table 2: Counties and Cities with Traffic Diversion Programs Included in

Goodhue
Lac qui Parle
Norman
Sherburne
Wright

Becker (Sherburne)
Centerville (Anoka)
Coon Rapids (Anoka)
Howard Lake (Wright)
Lino Lakes (Anoka)
Red Wing (Goodhue)
Wyoming (Chisago)

2 The OSA found two cities during this review, the Cities of Coon Rapids (Anoka County) and Red Wing
(Goodhue County), that forward the $75 surcharge to MMB for each participant in their traffic diversion programs.
See Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 6.
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Figure 1. Traffic Diversion Programs
Included in the OSA's Review
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The number of local traffic diversion programs is growing, especially in cities, as shown in
Figure 2 below and Table 3 on the following page. During its review, the OSA learned that at
least four additional local governments are considering the adoption of traffic diversion
programs.”

Figure 2: Number of Traffic Diversion Programs by Type of
Local Government by Year

2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013*

m Counties Cities

*2013 includes the months of January through September.

™ The City of Spring Lake Park (Anoka County) anticipates offering an on-line course prior to the end of the year.
The Rice County Attorney informed the OSA that Rice County and the Cities of Faribault (Rice County) and
Northfield (Rice County) are also considering an on-line course. OSA telephone conversation with Rice County
Attorney on Sept. 27, 2013.
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Table 3: Summary of Program Fees Collected for Traffic Diversion Programs by
Type of Local Government by Year

2013
(January — June)

Cities
Number of Cities With Traffic
Diversion Programs
Program Fees Collected $133,965 | $214,330 | $262,450 $150,511

Counties
Number of Counties With
Traffic Diversion Programs
Program Fees Collected $370,506 | $333,185 | $343,550 $124,969

9 14 18 19

12 13 14 15

Total Fees Collected $504,471 $547,515 $606,000 $275,480

*'Notes to Table 3: Amounts are rounded to the nearest dollar. Data for individual local governments are found
in Appendix 5, page 51, and Appendix 6, page 55. Fees for a city in Renville County are reported under the
County’s program; two cities did not begin collecting program fees until after June 2013. One city remits the $75
surcharge for each program participant out of the program fees collected; another city collects the $75
surcharge fromeach program participant in addition to the program fees. Program fees collected in 2013 do not
include fees collected by Wabasha County.

1. Program Characteristics

The contents of the classes in the traffic diversion programs vary greatly. The classes range from
an eight to ten minute on-line class in the City of Grand Rapids to two-hour sessions conducted
by law enforcement personnel at the local law enforcement center. At least four additional local
governments are considering the adoption of the eight to ten minute on-line class currently used
by the City of Grand Rapids.”* In some programs, the class content may not relate to the
violation.

™ The Cities of Spring Lake Park (Anoka County), Faribault (Rice County), and Northfield (Rice County) and Rice
County.
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The traffic violations eligible for the programs vary. For speeding violations, some programs
have no set limit on the miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit eligible for the program.”
One program includes speeding violations up to 25 mph over the limit.”® Other programs include
speeding violations up to 20 mph over the limit.”” Speeding violations are eligible for most
programs without regard to the established speed limit where the offense occurred.”® Seatbelt
and texting while driving violations are eligible for some of the programs.”

2. Additional Local Traffic Diversion Program Findings
The OSA also found the following:

e All of the programs provide that the offense will not appear on the driver’s record if the
program is successfully completed.

e No central statewide database of participation in the programs exists. Instead, records for
participants in a local government’s program are maintained locally. While most of the
programs limit the number of times a person may participate in the program, there is no
mechanism for determining how many times a person may have participated in programs
offered by other local governments.

e Some of the programs expressly prohibit participation by a person with a commercial
driver’s license (CDL), but most do not.%°

e Fees for the courses range from $25 to $125.%" Three cities using an on-line program set
their fees at 90 percent of the Statewide Payables List.*

™ See, e.g., Lac qui Parle, Norman, Sherburne, and Wright Counties, and City of Becker (Sherburne County) in
Appendix 6.

"® See City of Grand Rapids (Itasca County) in Appendix 6.

" See, e.g., McLeod and Sibley Counties, and Cities of Ada and Twin Valley (Norman County) in Appendix 6.

"8 But see Minn. Stat. § 171.12, subd. 6 (the “Dimler Amendment”).

™ See, e.g., Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Sherburne, Sibley, and Wabasha Counties, and Cities of Becker and
Big Lake (Sherburne County), Lake City, Plainview, and Wabasha (Wabasha County) (seatbelt); Wright County and
Cities of Buffalo and Howard Lake (Wright County), Grand Rapids (Itasca County), Lino Lakes (Anoka County),
and Red Wing (Goodhue County) (seatbelt and texting while driving) in Appendix 6.

8 programs that expressly exclude a person with a CDL from participating include: Cities of Centerville, Circle
Pines, Coon Rapids, Lexington, and Lino Lakes (Anoka County), Buffalo and Howard Lake (Wright County), and
Renville, Sherburne, and Sibley Counties. See Appendix 6. The OSA did not determine as part of this review
whether individuals holding a CDL participated in any of the programs.

8 E.g., Red Lake County ($25 fee); Cities of Wabasha, Plainview, and Lake City (Wabasha County) and Wabasha
County ($125 fee). See Appendix 6.

82 See Cities of Centerville, Circle Pines, and Lexington (Anoka County) in Appendix 6.
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e Fees for the courses are generally retained by the local government(s). While several of
the programs describe themselves as diversion programs, only two of the programs remit
the $75 surcharge to the State. More specifically, the City of Red Wing pays the $75
surcharge out of the $100 program fee; the City of Coon Rapids charges (and pays to the
State) the $75 surcharge for traffic offenses using its program in addition to the $100
program fee.®

e Brochures for the programs are provided to drivers along with the uniform traffic ticket.
One of the brochures lists the average increase in automobile insurance premiums for a
number of common tickets and suggests maintaining a clear driver’s record as a “Savings
Tip.”® Copies of the brochures for the programs are included in Appendix 6, page 55.

In addition, the OSA learned that data collected from an adult driver to determine eligibility in a
traffic diversion program and submitted to an outside vendor are public data, according to a
recent Advisory Opinion by the Minnesota Commissioner of Administration.** The public data
contained on the driver’s license magnetic stripe and submitted to the outside vendor include a
driver’s height, weight, eye color, birth date, and license number. Because the data would not be
transmitted to or from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, the Advisory Opinion
concluded that the Federal Drivers Privacy Protection Act was not applicable.®

Comparison of Administrative Traffic Citations and Local Traffic Diversion Programs

The total amount of fees collected in 2010, 2011, and 2012 by local governments for traffic
diversion programs (approximately $1.6 million) exceeds the total amount in fines collected by
local governments for administrative traffic citations issued under Minn. Stat. 8 169.999 during
the same three-year time period (approximately $1.1 million). The comparison is shown in
Figure 3 on the following page. The amount collected in traffic diversion program fees per
entity is significantly greater than the amount collected in administrative traffic citation fines per
entity.

8 For most petty misdemeanor violations of Chapter 169, the City of Coon Rapids program fee is $100. The City
does not collect the $75 surcharge for non-traffic offenses using its program.

8 See City of Grand Rapids Traffic Education Program brochure in Appendix 6.

8 See Minn. Comm’r of Admin. Advisory Op. 13-013 (Sept. 6, 2013), issued to the City of Spring Lake Park
(Anoka County), available at: http://www.ipad.state.mn.us/opinions/2013/13013.html. The City did not raise the
issue of the data practice status of data from juvenile drivers. The City of Grand Rapids in Itasca County uses the
vendor being considered by the Cities of Spring Lake Park, Northfield, and Faribault, and Rice County.

% See 18 U.S.C. § 2721 et seq. The Act regulates when motor vehicle departments may release driving records and
when recipients of motor vehicle department records may share the information with others.
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Figure 3: Administrative Traffic Citation Fines and Traffic
Diversion Program Fees by Year
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Conclusions

The State of Minnesota has long preempted local control of traffic enforcement. This special
review documents the increasing use of traffic diversion programs created by local governments.
It provides a snapshot of existing programs, and reveals the patchwork of local programs
currently controlling traffic enforcement practices in Minnesota.

Minnesota drivers experience vastly different consequences for traffic violations depending upon
where the violation occurs. Allowing hundreds of local governments to independently decide
which violations to report to the Department of Public Safety threatens the integrity of
Minnesota’s driving records. Accurate and complete tracking of traffic violations can help
remove dangerous drivers from Minnesota’s roads.®’

It is unknown whether commercial drivers in Minnesota have been able to keep traffic violations
off their driving records by participating in local traffic diversion programs. Participation of
commercial drivers in such programs may put Minnesota at risk of losing federal highway aid
and grant funds. In addition, if unsafe drivers, commercially licensed or otherwise, are permitted
to operate motor vehicles because their traffic violations were not reported to the Department of
Public Safety, the public is put at risk.

Whether local governments should be authorized to design and operate their own traffic
diversion programs is a question for the Legislature. If these programs represent good public
policy and contribute to the safety of Minnesota’s roads, then every local government should be
able to implement such a program.

As the Legislature decides whether local governments should be granted the authority to develop
and conduct traffic diversion programs, the OSA recommends that the following issues be
considered:

1) Integrity of Minnesota’s Driving Records and Federal Highway Aid and Grant Funds

Both the administrative traffic citation law and the “Dimler Amendment” establish uniform,
statewide criteria for recording offenses on driving records.?® In contrast, local traffic diversion
programs keep various traffic violations, determined at the local level, from being recorded on
driving records.

To avoid the loss of federal highway aid and grant funds, Minnesota law expressly prohibits the
use of traffic diversion programs by those holding a commercial driver’s license or committing a
traffic violation in a commercial motor vehicle.® All traffic diversion programs must comply
with this law or Minnesota risks the loss of federal funds. Only some of the local traffic
diversion programs reviewed by the OSA expressly prohibit participation by a person with a
commercial driver’s license.

8 See, e.g., Minn. Stat. § 171.18, subd. 1(a)(4) (license suspensions for habitual violators of the traffic laws).
8 See Minn. Stat. §§ 169.999, subd. 7, and 171.12, subd. 6.
% See Minn. Stat. § 171.163.
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2) Uniformity in Traffic Enforcement

Current Minnesota law promotes uniform traffic regulation.”® Instead of fines imposed statewide
through the Statewide Payables List, the fees charged for local traffic diversion programs
reviewed by the OSA vary among jurisdictions and among offenses. Instead of receiving a
uniform traffic ticket, drivers eligible for a local government’s traffic diversion program receive
the uniform traffic ticket and a brochure that serves as an amendment to the uniform traffic
ticket.

3) Reporting Requirements

If local traffic diversion programs are authorized, a statewide database of traffic diversion
program participants is needed. Current databases of participants are available only to the local
government offering the program. In other types of diversion programs authorized by the
Legislature, information on program participants is provided to a statewide database available to
law enforcement entities.®> Without such a statewide database for traffic violations, a dangerous
driver may attend multiple programs without detection, continue to drive, and avoid serious
sanctions.

If these programs are authorized, the Legislature should consider requiring annual reports to be
made to the courts and to the Legislature to monitor the use, scope, and effectiveness of local
traffic diversion programs. Such reports are required for the pretrial diversion programs
authorized by the Legislature for writers of dishonored checks and adult offenders.” The
Legislature could also require local governments to report the amounts collected through these
programs as a separate category on their annual financial reporting forms submitted to the OSA,
similar to the requirement for administrative traffic citations.”®

4) Program Standards

Minnesota law requires court-ordered driver improvement clinics to meet standards established
by the Commissioner of Public Safety and to be held within 35 miles of the offender’s
residence.** In contrast, existing local traffic diversion programs reviewed by the OSA vary
from an eight to ten minute on-line course to live sessions lasting more than two hours conducted
by law enforcement personnel at the local law enforcement center, which may well be located
more than 35 miles from the offender’s residence. There is currently no requirement that the
content of the course address the subject matter of the violation. If these programs are
authorized, criteria for the programs should be clearly established and implemented statewide.

% See, e.g., Minn. Stat. §§ 169.022; 169.99, subd. 1; and 609.101, subd. 4.

1 See, e.g., Minn. Stat. §§ 388.24, subd. 4; 401.065, subd. 3a; and 628.69, subd. 6. See also Minn. Stat.
§8 299C.095 and 299C.46, subd. 5.

92 5ee Minn. Stat. 88§ 401.065, subd. 4, and 628.69, subd. 7.

% See Minn. Stat. § 169.999, subd. 8(a).

% See Minn. Stat. §§ 169.89, subd. 5, and 169.973. See also Minn. Rules 7411.5700.
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5) Surcharge and Fee Requirements

The 2009 and 2011 legislative amendments to the $75 surcharge statute applied the surcharge to
everyone who enters a traffic diversion program for a violation of Chapter 169.* Many local
programs describe themselves as diversion programs, but this review identified only two local
governments that remit the $75 surcharge to the State.”® If these programs are authorized, the
application of the $75 surcharge to these local traffic diversion programs should be clarified and
universally applied.

Fees paid for the local traffic diversion courses reviewed by the OSA are generally retained by
the local government(s). No fine is paid to the State. As a result, statutorily-required
distributions of traffic fines for specific offenses included in these programs do not occur. The
fines do not end up where the Legislature intended. For example, local traffic diversion
programs that include seatbelt violations negate the legislative determination that fines for this
offense should be directed to the emergency medical services relief account.”’

In addition, fees paid directly to local law enforcement agencies for traffic violations create
public perception issues. For example, the public may suspect that a local “speed trap” is merely
a method to increase the revenue for the local police department or government. That suspicion
is reinforced when the fee is paid directly to the local law enforcement agency, rather than to the
state court system, as is the case with State traffic ticket fines.

The Legislature established a $50 maximum fee for driver improvement clinics and limited the
fees for such clinics to the actual cost of the course.”® Whether limits should be placed on the
fees local governments may charge and retain for local traffic diversion programs is another
issue for the Legislature to consider.

6) Contracting Authority

No express statutory authority exists for local governments to enter into contracts with third-
party vendors for the development and operation of local traffic diversion programs. In contrast,
local governments have express statutory authority to contract with third-party vendors for the
DAS/DAR pilot and the dishonored check diversion programs.”® If these programs are
authorized, the Legislature should determine whether express authority to contract for the
operation of a local traffic diversion program is warranted.

% See Minn. Stat. § 357.021, subd. 6(f).

% See Cities of Coon Rapids (Anoka County) and Red Wing (Goodhue County).

*" See Minn. Stat. § 169.686, subd. 3.

% See Minn. Stat. § 169.972, subd. 2.

% See 2009 Minn. Laws Chap. 59, art. 3 § 4, subd. 3 (DAS/DAR diversion pilot program authority to contract) and
Minn. Stat. § 628.69, subd. 2 (dishonored check diversion program authority to contract).
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7) Data Practice Status of Driver Data

Data collected from an adult driver to determine eligibility in a traffic diversion program that are
submitted to an outside vendor are public data.!®® It is unclear whether the data remain public if
the driver is found to be ineligible for or fails to complete the program, resulting in the
subsequent transfer of data to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety. If these programs are
authorized, the data practice status of any information collected by local governments during the
operation of these diversion programs should be clarified by the Legislature.

100 gee Minn. Comm’r of Admin. Advisory Op. 13-013 (Sept. 6, 2013), issued to the City of Spring Lake Park,
available at: http://www.ipad.state.mn.us/opinions/2013/13013.html.
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STATE OF MINNESOTA

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

; ST.PAUL. MM §5101-213¢
December 1, 2003 TELEPHONE: (651) 2972540

The Honorable Steve Smith

State Representative ‘
Minnesota House of Representatives
2710 Clare Lane

Mound, MN 55364

Dear Representative Smith:

Thank you for your correspondence of Qctober 30, 2003 concerning the legality of certain

mumcxpa] programs which impose administrative penalties upon persons violating state laws and
local ordinances.

FaCTS AND BACKGROUND

You provided with your letter examples of city ordinances and explanatory materials

from both home-rule and statutory cities descn’bmg “admxmstrahve offense™ procedures
estabhshed by those cities.

Most of the procedures are similar in several respects:

1. They are intended to provide an “informal, cost-effective and expeditious
: alternatives™ to traditional prosecutions for certain minor offenses.

2. The covered offenses include violations of the state traffic code (Minn. Stat:
Ch. 169) and conforming local ordinances, other statutory offenses such as illegal
fireworks (Minn. Stat. Ch. 524), disturbing the peace (Minn. Stat. § 609.72) and
shoplifimg (Minn. Stat. § 600.52), and conduct regulated solely by local
ordinances such as curfew violations, failure to mow lawns and alcohol
consumption in public parks.

3. They purport to be “voluntary” in that persons charged can elect to be prosecuted
under the normal misdemeanor. or petty misdemeanor process instead.

4, They include a schedule of monetary penalties for specified offemses. The

penalties are often lower than those normally imposed by courts for similar
offenses.

5. All money collected as administrative penalties is retained by the city.
TTY: (651) 282-2526 = Toll Frez2 Lines; (800} 657-3787 (Voies) « (800) 3664812 (TTY) » www.ap stz mnog
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The Honorable Steve Smith
December 1, 2003
Pape 2

6. None apparenﬂy provide for rcpomng any information to other governmental
agencies concerning persons “convicted” of, or admitting, violations.

7. Failure to pay the city’s administrative penalty results in the city”s pursuing a
normal misdemeanor or petty misdemesanor prosecution in the courts.

Some of the programs provide alleged offenders a means to challenge the imposition of
administrative penalties by way of a hearing conducted by a local official or appointed panel.
Others provide that a challenge to the civil penalty will result in the filing of the pertinent
misdemeanor or petty misdemeanor charge in court. '

You also enclosed information conceming a diversion program employed by one city
whereby local peace officers have the option of “holding™ citations for certain traffic offenses to
give violators an opportunity to complete an eight-hour traffic safety course for which the
violator must pay $75. If the violator completes the course within 21 days, the citation is “tom
up.”

Cities have cited the need for increased revenues, along with frustration over the time and.
resources vequired for cowrt prosecutions, and the results achieved thereby, as reasons for

creating their own enforcement programs. You note that the State Auditor has recently expressed
her views questioning the authority of cities to adopt such procedures.

Based upon this information, you ask the following questions.

1. Is it permissible for a locel governmental unit to issue, for an act that would be the
equivalent of 2 misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony under state law, an
administrative citation that provides a penalty substantially below that which
would be imposed for & violation of the comparable statuts?

2. Does stafe law preempt county or statutory or home rule charter city ordinznces or
policies that allow local law enforcement to assess administrative sanctions in lieu
of, in addifion to, or as an alternative to a citation for a state traffic law violation?

3. Do local administrative procedures and sanctions conflict with state laws intended

to punish repeat traffic violators such as Mimn. Stat. § 169.89, subd. 1, and
§ 171.18 (2002)?

4, Does state law precmpt county ordinances, statutory city ordinances, or home-rule
city ordinances that allow traffic offenders to attend a driver-safery diversion

program in lieu of being charged with a petty misdemeanor traffic citation? Are
such ordinances or policies in conflict with state law?
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Do local administrative hearing procedures deny alleged ordinance violators any
of their constitutionally protected due process or equal protection rights?

6. Do local administrative hearing procedures violate the principle of separation of
powers between the executive branch and the judicial branch by mﬁ'mgmg on the
district court’s original jurisdiction?

Our analysis of these issues is set forth below.

LAW AND ANALYSIS

As a preliminary matter, this Office does not render opinions on hypothetical quastions,
conduct general reviews of local emactments or proposals to idemtify possible legal issues. or
evaluate the constitutionality of legislative enactments, See Op. Atty. Gen. 6292, May 9, 1975,
Consequently, we are unable to render definitive opinions that fully address the complete range
of issues implicit in your questions. We can, however, offer the following eomments which we
hope will be helpful to the committee in its deliberations.

First, as you probably know, cities, as. subdivisions of the state, have only those powers
that are expressly granted by statute or charter, or are reasonable and necessary to implementation

of such express powers. See, e.g., County Joe, Inc. v. City of Eagan, 560 N.W.24 681 (Minn.
1997).

Second, in the exercise of their general express or implied powers, cities may not
establish programs or procedures that are incompatible with state statutes or address areas of the
law that have been preempted by state law either expressly or by implication. See, eg,
LaCrescent Twp v. City of LaCrescent, 515 N\W.2d 608 (Minn. Ct. app. 1994); Nerthwest
Residence v. City of Brookiyn Park, 352 N.W.2d 764 (Minn. Ct. App. 1984). This principle
applies notwithstanding the broad powers of self-government generally exercised under home-

rule charters. As moted by the Court in State ex rel. Town of Lowell v. City of Crookston,
202 Minn. 526, 91 N.W.2d 81 (1958):

The power conferred upon cities to frame and adopt home rule charters is Jimited
by the provisions that such charter shall always bei in harmony with and subject tc
the constitution and. laws of the state.

Id, at 528, 91 N.W.2d at 83.

In general, (a) direct conflict occurs when “the ordinance and the statutc contain express
or implied terms that are irreconcilable;” (b) more specifically, an ordinance conflicts with state
law if it “permits what the statute forbids;” (¢) similarly, there is conflict if the ordinance “forbids
what the statute expressly permits;” and (d) “no conflict exists where the ordinance, though
different, is merely additional and complementary to or in aid and furtherance of the statute.”
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Mangold Midwest Co. v. Village of Richfield, 274 Minn. 347, 352, 143N.W2d 213, 816-17
(1966) (citations omitted). .

In evaluating whether an arca of law has been preempted by the legislature, the courts
will consider: (1) the subject matter regulated; (2) whether the subject matter is so fully covered
by state law that it has become solely 8 matter of state concern; (3) whether any partial legislation
on the subject matter evinces an intent to treat the subject matter as being solely a state concern;
and (4) whether the nature of the subject matter is such that local regulation will have an adverse
effect on the general state population. See Mangold Midwest at 358, 243 N.W .24 813, 820.

Third, both statutory and charter cmes have substantial aunthority to enact regulatory
ordinances, see, e.g., Minn. Stat. § 412.221 (2002), and to fix penalties for vidlations. - See, e.g.,
Minn. Stat. § 412.231 (2002), which provides: '

The council shall have the power 1o declare that the violation. of any ordinance
shall be a penal offense and to prescribe penalties therefore. No such penalty shall
exceed 2 fine of $700 or imprisonment in a city or county jail for a period of 50
duys, or both, but in either case the costs of prosecution may be added.

Fourth, the legislature has, however, prascn’be& in detail the procedures for prosecution of
penal offenses. For example, Minn. Stat. § 487.25, subd. 1 (2002) states:

Subdivision 1. General. Except as:otherwise provided in sections 487.01 to
487.38 but subject to the provisions of section 480.059 [Supreme Court
authorized to promulgate rules governing criminal procedure], pleading, practice,
procedure, and forms in actions or praceedings chargmg violation of & criminal

law or a mumicipal ordinance, charter provision, or rule are govemed by the rules
of criminal procedure.

(Emphasis added). Subdivision 10 of that section allocates the authority and responsibility for
prosecution of various offenses. In general, city ordinance violations, petty misdemeanars, and
misdemeanors occurring within a city must be prosecuted by city attomeys, while felonies and

most gross misdemeanors must be prosecuted by county attorneys. Minn. Stat. § 487.25,
subd. 10 (2002). |

With the above principles in mind, we tum your specific questions.

L Given the extent and detail of legislation addressing statutory criminal offenses
and prosecution procedures set forth in Minn. Stat. chs. 169 and 609 through 634, it is clear that

the state has preempted the field with respect to the offenses and procedures defined in these
statutes. Consequently, while cities are empowered to regulate conduct in areas of local interest
and to supplement statutory regulations in many aress, ¢f,, Haomnan v. City of Minneapalis,
623 N.W.2d 281 (Minn. Ct. App. 2001), they may not, in our view, redefine the nature or level of
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criminal offenses as specified by statute or modify stamitory procedures for enforcement or
penalties for an offense. -

Further, as you know, city councils are not normally authorized to direct the conduct of
county or state law enforcement officers. It is not consistent with state public policy for public
official to direct or urge that city peace officers not enforce the law of the state to the best of their
judgment and sbility. In addition, while law enforcement officials and prosecutors exercise
substantial discretion in making arrest and charging decisions, those decisions shonld be made on
a case-by-case basis in terms of factors pertaining to the evidence, the culpability of the offender

and the natre of the offense rather than, for example, the offender’s willingness to make 2
‘payment directly to the city.

2 In the specific case of wraffic offenses, the legislature has plainly preempied the
field of enforcement. Minn. Stat. § 169.022 (2002) provides:

The provisions of this chapter shall be applicable and uniform throughout this
state and in all political subdivisions and municipalitics therein, and no local
authority shall ‘enact or enforce any mile or regulation in conflict with the
provisions of this chapter unless expressly authorized herein. Local autherities
may adopt traffic regulations which are not in conflict with the provisions of this
chapter; provided, that when any local ordinance regulating traffic covers the
same subject for which a penalty is provided for in this chapter, then the penalty
provided for violation of said local ordinance shall be identical with the. penalty
provided for in this chapter for the same offense.

In State v. Hoben, 256 Minn. 436, 98 N.W.2d 813 (1959), the court affirmed the preemptive
nature of state statutes in this area follows:

The fact that the municipality is given anthority to adopt such an ordinance
does not change the nature and quality of the offense. As we interpret § 169.03, it
was the intention of the legislature that the application of its provisions should be
uniform throughout the statc both as to penalties and procedures, and requires a
municipality to utilize state criminal procedure in the prosecution of the act
covered by § 169.03. It would be a strange anomaly for the legislature to define a
crime, specify punishment therefore, provide that its application shall be uniform
throughout the state, and then permit a municipality 1o prosecute that crime as a
civil offense.

Id. at 444, 98 N.-W.2d at 819. See also Minn. Stat. §§ 169.91 and 169.99 (20Q2) whick specify
the procedures to be followed by peace officers in connection with arrest of traffic violators, and
the wiform form of traffic ticket, having the effect of 2 summons and complaint, which must be
nsed by all peace officers. Consequently, while cities are granted specific authority to exercise
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certain regulatory control of strects and roads within their boundaries, they are platnly precluded
" from creating their own enforcement systems inconsistent with those prescribed by statute.

3. Given our response to the second question, it i unmecessary t address whether
locsl administrative enforcement systems conflict with state laws in the particular metter of
providing for keeping records of traffic violations.. It is likely, however, that the need for uniform
and consistent mplemeutauon of such programs is one reason for the strong legxslahve assertion
of state preemption in the area of raffic regulation.

4. A number of Minnesota statu:es and criminal procedire Tules make a provision
for pre-trial, or presentencing, “diversion” programs. See, e.g. Minn. Stat. §§ 388.24, 401.065
(2002), 628.69, 30.03, Minn. R. Crim. Proc. Rule 27.05. In pa:ttcula.r, in the case of a traffic
violation, Minn. Stat. § 169.89, subd. 5 authorizes 4 trial court to require, as part of or in lisu of
other penalties, that convicted persons attend a driver improvement clinic. All such programs,
however, require that a trial court make the determination as to whether aftendance at such a

clinic is appropriate. We are aware of no express authority for local officials 1o cyeate a pretrial
diversion Program.

5. For the reasons set forth in Op. Atty. Gen. 6293, May 9, 1975, the Attomney
General’s Office does not generally address the constitutionality of statutes or govermmentally
established pracedures. Thus, we are unable to determine the constitutional validity of various
administrative “hearing procedures” that might be established by cities.

I note, however, based on the materials you submitted, the majority of the local
administrative penalty provisions do not appear 1o provide for any administrative hearing process
-at all, Rather, they state that persons who contest their liability or refuse to pay the assessed
penalty or complete the required training will be charged through the normal judicial chanmels. It
appears that all the programs 1o which you refer are entirely voluntary in that the accused may,
withdraw from the process at any time prior to payment of the city penalty. Given the elective

nature of these processes, it is likely that the due process rights of the accused are not
jeopardized.

6. Likewise, a completely voluntary process would not appear to offend the
separation of powers principles embodied in the constitition or to encroach upon the judicial
function. In Holmberg v. Holmberg, 588 N.-W.2d 720 (Minn. 1999), the cowrt indicated that
evaluation of administrative heaning schemes under the separation of powers doctrine involves
consideration of, inter alia existence of adequate judicial checks, appealability and voluntariness
of entry into the administrative process. [d. at 725. Furthermore, as the court pointed out in
concluding that the role of the administrative board was not judicial in navare in Afeathv.
Harmjful Substance Compensation Board, 550 N.W.2d 275 (1996):
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The clsimant makes no election of remedies by bringing a claim to the '
- board; the only purpose of the board’s investigation or hearing is to provide the
claimant the opportunity to prove eligibility for an award. The board’s decision is
not only unenforceable but, in fact, decides nothing except whether to make the
claimant an offer of compensation. If the board makes no offer or if the claimant
considers the offer inadequate, the claimant has the option of tuming his or her
back on the board’s treatment of the claim. The claimant, unencumbered by the
board’s response, which is inadmissible in a civil action, can then commence s
civil action against the person or persons alleged to be responsible for the
claimant’s injury.
Id. So long as 2 citizen is not legally bound by the city’s action until he or she accepts the city’s
“offer” by payment of the specified penalty, the procedures described would not likely be found
to impermissibility encroach upon judicial functions.

1 hope these comments are helpful to you and to the Committee.
Very truly yours, 4

P ) ._/'
o /\‘-_/”% //);,/

,’\WJL’/ /%{,‘/ /S

KENNETH E. KASCHKE )8 /‘—
Assistant Attorney General

(651) 2971141 (Voice)
(651) 297-1235 (Fax)

AG: #945560-v]
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STATE OF MINNESOTA
OFFICE OF THE STATE AUDITOR

SUITE 500 (651)296-2551 (Voice)

2 ¢ 525 PARK STREE'I; X (651) 296-4755 (Fax)
REBECCA OTTO SAINT PAUL, MN 55103-2139 state.auditor@osa.state.mn.us (E-mail)
STATE AUDITOR 1-800-627-3529 (Relay Service)

Statement of Position
Administrative Citations for Traffic Violations

Before the 2009 Minnesota Legislative session, both the Office of the State Auditor and
the Minnesota Attorney General’s Office had taken the position that local governments in
Minnesota lacked authority to issue administrative fines for traffic offenses. Some local
governments, however, had implemented administrative penalty programs to enforce
traffic laws.

The legislature clarified this issue in 2009, and enacted section 169.999 of Minnesota
Statutes. This statute, among other things, provides the authority for local governments
to implement an administrative citation program, identifies the procedures that must be
followed to implement an administrative citations program, and provides a limited list of
covered violations.

Resolution Required

The law requires that the governing board of a local unit of government pass a resolution
before implementing an administrative citation program. The resolution must:

e authorize issuance of administrative citations;

e obligate the local unit of government to provide a neutral third party to hear and
rule on challenges to administrative citations; and

e Dbar peace officers from issuing administrative citations in violation of the new
law.

" Local units of government that had administrative penalty programs for traffic violations
in place before the law was enacted had to bring their programs into compliance with
current law. The law requires local units of government to notify the Commissioner of
Public Safety after they pass the required resolution.

A Limited List of Covered Offenses

The statute limits the violations for which a peace ofﬁcer may issue an administrative
citation. The violations are limited to:

Reviewed: November 2012 2007-1002
Revised: November 2012

This Statement of Position is not legal advice and is subject to revision.

An Equal Opportunity Employer
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e Speeding under ten miles per hour over the lawful speed limit;

e Failing to obey a stop line; or

e Operating a vehicle in violation of one or more safety or equipment-related
standards.!

Uniform Administrative Citation

The law requires the use of the uniform administrative citation prescribed by the
Commissioner of Public Safety. The uniform administrative citation includes notice that
the person has the right to contest the citation. An administrative citation may not be
issued to someone who has a commercial driver’s license or to a driver of a commercial
vehicle.

Right to Contest an Administrative Citation

A local unit of government implementing an administrative citation program must
provide a civil process for a person to contest the administrative citation, and the peace
officer who issues the administrative citation must inform the vehicle operator of his or
her right to contest the citation. The person must be allowed to challenge the citation
before a neutral third party. The local unit of government may employ a person to hear
and rule on challenges, or may contract with another local unit of government or a private
entity to provide the service. v

Amount, Distribution and Use of the Fine

The statute sets the fine payable for an administrative violation at $60. Two-thirds of this
amount ($40) must be credited to the general revenue fund of the local unit of
government that employs the peace officer who issued the citation, and one-third ($20)
must be transferred to the Commissioner of Management and Budget (MMB) for deposit
in the state general fund. If a state trooper issues the administrative citation, the state
general fund receives $40,> and the local unit of government that collects the fine and
provides the hearing officer receives $20.

A local unit of government receiving administrative fines must use at least one-half of the
funds for law enforcement purposes. These funds “must be used to supplement but not
supplant any existing law enforcement funding.”

Reporting .

A county, city, or town that employs a peace officer to issue administrative citations and
collects administrative fines must include the total amount collected as a separate

! See Minn. Stat. §§ 169.46—-.68, and 169.69-.75 (identifying primarily safety and equipment-related
violations).

2 The League of Minnesota Cities publishes the form used in remitting funds to MMB, and has additional
information on this topic, in the "Administrative Traffic Citations Tool Kit," which can be downloaded at:

http://www Imc.org/media/document/1/adminfinestoolkit.pdf.

Reviewed: November 2012 2 2007-1002
Revised: November 2012 :
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category in any financial report, summary, or-audit. The State Auditor will annually
-report administrative fines collected by local units of government to the Commissioner of
Public Safety.

Reviewed: November 2012 3 2007-1002
Revised: November 2012
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MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES
445 Minnesota St., Saint Paul, MN 55101
Phone: (651) 201-7626 TTY: (651) 282-6555
Fax: (651) 296-5316
dvs.dps.mn.gov

DWI/DIC Clinics

The following organizations have been approved to offer a DWI or Driver Improvement Clinic in Minnesota.

Anoka County

Sharon Clair, Administrator

Anoka County Community Corrections
DWI Clinic

3300 4" Ave.

Anoka, MN 55303

(763) 712-2209

Timothy White, Administrator
Moving Forward Assessment Services
DWI Clinic #110A

8445 Center Dr.

Spring Lake Park, MN 55432

(763) 355-5092

Cass County

Steven T. Johnson, Administrator
Lakes Area DWI Clinic

DWI Clinic #70A

1632 Townline Lane

Longville, MN 56655-3070

(218) 363-3799

Douglas County

John M. Heydt, Administrator
DWI Clinic #65A

The Exchange

1110 Douglas St.

Alexandria, MN 56308

(320) 760-5120

Goodhue County

Robert Glasenapp, Administrator
Goodhue County Mental Health Center
DWI Clinic #58A

426 West Ave.

Red Wing, MN 55066

(651) 385-6180

Itasca County
Northland Recovery Center
DWI Clinic

1215 SE 7" Ave.

Grand Rapids, MN 55744
(218) 327-1105

45

Kandiyohi County
Rick Lee, Administrator
Woodland Centers

DWI Clinic #55A

1125 SE 6™ St., P.O. Box 787
Willmar, MN 56201

(320) 235-4613

Olmsted County

Judith Eichman Schleich, Director
Zumbro Valley Mental Health Center
DWI Clinic #35A

343 Wood Lake Dr. SE

Rochester, MN 55904

(507) 281-6248

Ottertail County

Mary Matteson, Director

DWI Clinic #28A

ISD 544 Community Education
117 W Washington Ave.
Fergus Falls, MN 56537

(218) 998-0544 ext. 1600

Redwood County

Scott Gilsrud, Administrator
Southwest Health and Human Services
DWI Clinic #40A

P.O.Box 510

Redwood Falls, MN 56283

(507) 637-4050

Roseau County

David E. Anderson, Administrator
Roseau County Social Services
DWI Clinic #60A

208 6™ St. SW

Roseau, MN 56751

(218) 463-2411

Stearns-Benton-Sherburne Counties
Tiffany Litchy, Administrator

Central Minnesota Mental Health Center

DWI Clinic #31A

1321 N 13" st.

St. Cloud, MN 56303

(320) 252-5010
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Appendix 4: Administrative Traffic Citation Fines Collected by Local Governments
Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 169.999 by Year

Administrative Traffic Citations Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 169.999 - Cities
Resolution
2011 Amount Collected Amount Remitted to MMB Sent to
City County Population 2012 2011 2010 2012 2011 2010 Public Safety
Ada Norman 1,710 | $ - $ 780.00 $ 1,080.00 | $ - $ 520.00 $ - No
Adams Mower 792 1,380.00 1,680.00 1,440.00 - 480.00 160.00 Yes
Amboy/Vernon Center* Blue Earth 864** 5,280.00 9,240.00 - 1,760.00 3,080.00 - Yes
Annandale Wright 3,280 4,550.00 500.00 200.00 1,560.00 200.00 - Yes
Arden Hillsr Ramsey 9,381 23,520.00 18,240.00 - 7,840.00 6,080.00 - Yes
Atwater Kandiyohi 1,131 820.00 1,415.00 845.00 - - - No
Backus Cass 246 480.00 - - 160.00 - - No
Bemidji Beltrami 13,528 7,141.00 10,525.39 9,256.64 2,380.33 3,517.48 2,216.80 No
Buffalo Wright 15,580 7,860.00 11,100.00 7,080.00 3,440.00 5,220.00 - Yes
Buffalo Lake Renville 723 - - 40.00 - - - Yes
Cambridge Isanti 8,194 9,460.00 25,820.00 37,680.00 3,140.00 8,480.00 12,540.00 No
Dawson Lac qui Parle 1,533 4,380.00 5,040.00 5,880.00 1,260.00 1,820.00 1,960.00 Yes
Deer Creek Otter Tail 323 1,620.00 - - 220.00 - - No
Deer River Itasca 929 - - 300.00 - - - Yes
Eagle Bend Todd 532 8,580.00 7,500.00 10,440.00 2,860.00 2,500.00 3,480.00 Yes
Frazee Becker 1,363 - 40.00 4,050.00 - - - Yes
Gem Laken Ramsey 393 4,920.00 3,300.00 2,281.83 1,640.00 1,100.00 760.61 Yes
Goodview Winona 4,057 600.00 2,100.00 2,580.00 - - - Yes
Grand Meadow Mower 1,147 360.00 1,320.00 360.00 120.00 440.00 120.00 Yes
Grand Rapids Itasca 10,879 19,320.00 18,620.00 15,710.00 6,440.00 6,140.00 5,280.00 Yes
Hill City Aitkin 643 2,690.00 420.00 780.00 660.00 140.00 240.00 Yes
Hokah Houston 576 360.00 900.00 240.00 180.00 260.00 40.00 Yes
Isanti Isanti 5,286 5,650.00 4,920.00 13,740.00 1,920.00 1,640.00 4,580.00 Yes
Isle Mille Lacs 765 600.00 1,320.00 420.00 480.00 340.00 - Yes
Lake Shore Cass 1,005 1,980.00 2,280.00 2,460.00 - - - No
Little Canada Ramsey 9,839 30,960.00 28,680.00 20,533.14 10,320.00 9,560.00 6,844.38 Yes
Lowry Pope 296 1,080.00 420.00 - 500.00 - - Yes
Madison Lake Blue Earth 1,033 23,640.00 15,120.00 22,140.00 7,880.00 5,040.00 7,380.00 Yes
Mapleton Blue Earth 1,761 2,940.00 4,020.00 3,000.00 980.00 1,340.00 1,000.00 Yes
Milaca Mille Lacs 2,944 2,520.00 - - 840.00 - - Yes
Montevideo Chippewa 5,360 9,660.00 7,140.00 5,160.00 3,220.00 2,380.00 1,720.00 Yes
Montgomery Le Sueur 2,952 60.00 300.00 - - - - Yes
New York Mills Otter Tail 1,195 4,380.00 960.00 180.00 1,120.00 100.00 - Yes
North Oaks Ramsey 4,539 7,200.00 8,400.00 7,445.40 2,400.00 2,800.00 2,481.80 Yes
Paynesville Stearns 2,434 2,400.00 2,280.00 4,140.00 800.00 760.00 1,380.00 No
Pequot Lakes Crow Wing 2,176 - - 12,600.00 - - 4,200.00 Yes
Perham Otter Tail 2,995 5,940.00 - - 1,980.00 - - Yes
Pillager Cass 466 180.00 540.00 780.00 60.00 440.00 - No
Pine River* Cass 940 11,460.00 540.00 - 3,820.00 180.00 - Yes
Proctor Saint Louis 3,058 1,500.00 840.00 1,800.00 - - - Yes
Rochester Olmsted 107,630 1,400.00 3,240.00 8,700.00 700.00 1,620.00 4,350.00 Yes
Sartell Stearns 15,963 1,260.00 240.00 1,560.00 420.00 80.00 520.00 No
Sebeka Wadena 708 - 1,020.00 1,620.00 340.00 620.00 - Yes
ShoreviewA Ramsey 25,118 46,380.00 47,760.00 36,969.35 15,460.00 15,920.00 12,323.10 Yes
St. James Watonwan 4,597 4,140.00 4,080.00 4,080.00 - 1,360.00 1,360.00 Yes
Starbuck Pope 1,297 1,260.00 660.00 - 420.00 220.00 - Yes
Tyler Lincoln 1,130 1,050.00 2,700.00 - 2,280.00 - - Yes
Vadnais Heights» Ramsey 12,393 29,880.00 26,820.00 21,074.16 9,960.00 8,940.00 7,024.72 Yes
Verndale Wadena 601 - 4,140.00 10,020.00 - 1,440.00 3,220.00 Yes
Wadena Wadena 4,014 910.00 1,850.00 1,720.00 60.00 280.00 460.00 Yes
West Concord Dodge 785 1,620.00 1,560.00 2,820.00 540.00 520.00 940.00 Yes
White Bear Lake Ramsey 23,820 17,520.00 15,660.00 9,480.00 5,840.00 5,220.00 3,160.00 No
Wyoming Chisago 7,796 22,740.00 26,500.00 38,000.00 7,580.00 9,180.00 12,600.00 Yes
Total for Cities: $ 343,631.00 $ 332,530.39 $330,685.52 | $113,580.33 $109,957.48 $ 102,341.41

Sources: Local government responses to OSA's surveys for amounts collected and amounts remitted to MMB; population estimates from Minnesota State Demographic
Center; Department of Public Safety for resolution information.

*Police departments submitted the funds to MMB.

"Citations issued by Ramsey County Sheriff's Office on city’s behalf.

** Population of two cities combined.

Note: Amounts collected may be less than $60 per citation because: 1) the matter went into collections; or 2) the city charged less than $60 per citation. Amounts sent
to MMB each year may be other than 1/3 the amount of the citations that year because: 1) timing issues (e.g., 2010 amount remitted in 2011); or 2) an omission by the
city.
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Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 169.999 by Year (continued)

Administrative Traffic Citations Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 169.999 - Counties

Resolution
2011 Amount Collected Amount Remitted to MMB Sent to
County* Population 2012 2011 2010 2012 2011 2010 Public Safety
Big Stone 5240 |$ 6,660.00 $ 264000 $ 1,790.00($ - $ - $ 600.00 No
Isanti 38,209 26,640.00 12,600.00 - 8,880.00 4,200.00 - Yes
Morrison 33,212 1,260.00 3,410.00 3,650.00 820.00 560.00 1,360.00 No
Total for Counties: $ 34,560.00 $ 18,650.00 $ 5,440.00|$ 9,700.00 $ 4,760.00 $ 1,960.00

Sources: Local government responses to OSA's surveys for amounts collected and amounts remitted to MMB; population estimates from
Minnesota State Demographic Center; Department of Public Safety for resolution information.

*Amounts collected by Ramsey County Sheriff's Office on behalf of contracting cities are listed under the cities.

Note: Amounts collected may be less than $60 per citation because: 1) the matter went into collections; or 2) the county charged less than $60 per
citation. Amounts sent to MMB each year may be other than 1/3 the amount of the citations that year because: 1) timing issues (e.g., 2010 amount
remitted in 2011); or 2) an omission by the county.

Administrative Traffic Citations Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 169.999 - Towns

Resolution
2011 Amount Collected Amount Remitted to MMB Sent to
Town County Population 2012 2011 2010 2012 2011 2010 Public Safety
Paynesville Stearns 1431($ 94400 $ 50000 $ 900.00|% 260.00 $ 320.00 $ 140.00 No
White Bearn Ramsey 10,966 | 24,240.00 16,441.00 11,886.11| 8,080.00 5,480.00 3,962.04 Yes
Total for Towns: $25,184.00 $16,941.00 $12,786.11 | $8,340.00 $5,800.00 $4,102.04

Source: Local government responses to OSA's surveys for amounts collected and amounts remitted to MMB; population estimates from Minnesota
State Demographic Center; Department of Public Safety for resolution information.

ACitations issued by Ramsey County Sheriff's Office on Town's behalf.

Note: Amounts collected may be less than $60 per citation because: 1) the matter went into collections; or 2) the town charged less than $60 per
citation. Amounts sent to MMB each year may be other than 1/3 the amount of the citations that year because: 1) timing issues (e.g., 2010 amount
remitted in 2011); or 2) an omission by the town.
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PROGRAMS BY LOCAL GOVERNMENT
BY YEAR (BY TYPE OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT)



This page left blank intentionally



Appendix 5: Program Fees Collected for Traffic Diversion Programs by
Local Government by Year

Traffic Diversion Programs - Cities

Program Fees Collected

Year Program

2011 January - June Began (Month if
City County Population 2013 2012 2011 2010 2012 or 2013)
Ada Norman 1,710 | $  750.00 1,600.00 N/A N/A 2012 (April)
Ashby Grant 448 - 65.00 845.00 715.00 2007
Becker Sherburne 4,581 3,995.00 7,600.00 4,800.00 N/A 2011
Big Lake Sherburne 10,164 5,925.00 2,700.00 N/A N/A| 2012 (October)
Buffalo Wright 15,580 4,200.00 6,600.00 7,800.00 3,825.00 2009
Centerville Anoka 3,804 12,335.00 25,600.00 1,365.00 N/A 2011
Circle Pines  Anoka 4,922 4,211.00 8,495.00 270.00 N/A 2011
Clara City Chippewa 1,349 5,100.00 8,770.00 7,365.00 8,850.00 2005
Coon Rapids®  Anoka 61,766 28,210.00 78,275.00 88,350.00 91,100.00 2009
Grand Rapids  Itasca 10,879 29,590.00 N/A N/A N/A| 2013 (January)
Howard Lake Wright 1,978 - 150.00 1,500.00 1,350.00 2009
Lake City* Wabasha 5,053 11,000.00 16,670.00 N/A N/A 2012 (June)
Lexington Anoka 2,078 7,700.00 9,845.00 480.00 N/A 2011
Lino Lakes Anoka 20,505 22,000.00 50,725.00 55,300.00 18,200.00 2010
Plainview* Wabasha 3,348 2,800.00 4,100.00 4,800.00 N/A 2011
Red Wingrr Goodhue 16,432 9,075.00 28,105.00 36,030.00 4,775.00 2010
TwinValley ~ Norman 823 700.00 350.00 N/A N/A 2012 (July)
Wabasha* Wabasha 2,516 2,920.00 12,800.00 5,425.00 5,150.00 2010

Total for Cities:

$150,511.00 $262,450.00 $214,330.00 $133,965.00

Sources: City responses to the OSA's interviews (rounded to nearest dollar); population estimates fromthe Minnesota State Demographic Center.
Note: Fees for the City of Fairfaxin Renville County are reported under Renville County. Programs in the Cities of North Branch and Wyoming in
Chisago County are too new to be included in the time frame reported in this table.

Aln addition to the program fees collected, the City of Coon Rapids collected and remitted to the State a $75 surcharge fromeach participant for
Chapter 169 violations. The total surcharges remitted to the State were: $18,375 in January - June 2013; $48,450 in 2012; $57,450 in 2011; and

$70,425 in 2010.

~MOut of the program fees collected, the City of Red Wing pays the $75 surcharge to the State for each participant. The total surcharges remitted
to the State were: $6,525 in January - June 2013; $21,000 in 2012; $13,500 in 2011; and $0 in 2010.
*Fees for the cities in Wabasha County using the County Sheriff's program do not include the amount paid to the Sheriff because Wabasha
County's revenues included city payments to the County.
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Appendix 5: Program Fees Collected for Traffic Diversion Programs by
Local Government by Year (continued)

Traffic Diversion Programs - Counties

Program Fees Collected

Year Program

2011( January - June Began (Month if

County Population 2013 2012 2011 2010 2012 or 2013)
Chippewa 12,332 |$ 1,275.00 $ 2,325.00 $ 494500 $ 7,049.00 2005
Chisago 53,929 3,450.00 N/A N/A N/A 2013 (May)
Goodhue 46,168 24,720.00 59,680.00 73,870.00 93,150.00 2008
Grant 5,993 2,990.00 10,495.00 9,030.00 11,800.00 2007
Kandiyohi 42,118 5,325.00 29,550.00 31,275.00 28,350.00 2004

Lac qui Parle 7,195 1,050.00 3,675.00 2,400.00 N/A 2011
McLeod 36,489 2,475.00 8,475.00 11,250.00 11,925.00 2008
Meeker 23,242 1,125.00 5,250.00 6,000.00 5,775.00 2005
Norman 6,859 3,250.00 5,950.00 N/A N/A 2012 (April)
Red Lake 4,105 125.00 725.00 1,100.00 1,025.00 2009
Renville* 15,540 8,400.00 27,975.00 25,350.00 20,650.00 2008
Sherburne 88,954 42,975.00 67,660.00 40,005.00 47,349.00 2006
Sibley* 15,193 8,475.00 24,900.00 27,525.00 36,825.00 2005
Wabasha 21,589 | UNKNOWN 31,430.00 28,690.00 36,635.00 2003
Wright 126,033 19,334.00 65,460.00 71,745.00 69,973.00 2009

Total for Counties:

$124,969.00 $343,550.00 $333,185.00 $370,506.00

Sources: Except for Wabasha County, County responses to the OSA's interviews (rounded to nearest dollar); population estimates from

the Minnesota State Demographic Center.
*Includes amounts paid to cities using the County's program.
~ Information on Wabasha County's Safe Driving Class was obtained from public sources.
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Cities of Centerville, Circle Pines, and Lexington in Anoka County

Program Name: Ticket Education Program

Brief Program Description: The three cities served by the Centennial Lakes Police
Department, a joint powers entity, offer a Ticket Education Program for those who have been
stopped for certain traffic violations in the cities. If the program is successfully completed, the
violation will not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: 90 percent of the amount on the Statewide Payables List.' (If multiple
offenses are on a citation, the amount includes the fee amount for each offense charged.)?

Amount Remitted to State: $0°

Offenses Eligible for Program: All statutory petty misdemeanor offenses from the Statewide
Payables List and violations of city ordinances are eligible for the program.

Ineligibility: The program does not cover parking violations,* offenses involving accidents or
endangerment, or offenses committed by persons with commercial driver’s licenses. Except for
petty misdemeanor parking violations (when they become eligible for inclusion in the program),
a person may only use the program once in a 12-month period.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No

When Did Program Begin? 2012 (testing of the program began in 2011)°

Description of Class: On-line class

Revenues: Under the current contracts, the company operating the on-line class keeps one-third
of the proceeds.”

! See Centennial Lakes Police Dep’t brochure; Centennial Lakes Joint Powers Police Governing Board Meeting
Minutes for Nov. 5, 2012.

2 See Program Policies and User Agreement.

® According to the company’s website, “[p]re-arraignment collection of revenue avoids the statutory collection of
surcharges or distribution of fine revenue with the court.” See Ticket Education Program “Details,” available on
iGovernment Solutions’” website at http://www.igovernmentsolutions.com/page-15.

* At its November 5, 2012, meeting, the Centennial Lakes Joint Powers Board decided to include parking violations
in the program. However, the program had not implemented the parking component at the time of the OSA’s
review.

* At the end of 2012, the cities entered into three-year contracts for the program. See City of Centerville City
Council Meeting Minutes for Nov. 28, 2012; City of Circle Pines City Council Meeting Minutes for Oct. 23, 2012;
and City of Lexington City Council Meeting Minutes for Dec. 6, 2012. See, e.g., Agreement between Smith &
Glaser, LLC, d/b/a iGovernment Solutions, and the City of Lexington (Dec. 7, 2012).

® See, e.g., Agreement between Smith & Glaser, LLC, d/b/a iGovernment Solutions, and the City of Lexington
(Dec. 7, 2012).
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Cities of Centerville, Circle Pines, and Lexington -
Ticket Education Program Revenues

2011

2012

January - June 2013

Centerville
Gross Revenues  $1,365.00
Net Revenues $1,314.56
Circle Pines
Gross Revenues $270.00
Net Revenues $259.92
Lexington
Gross Revenues $480.00
Net Revenues $459.82
Total
Gross Revenues  $2,115.00
Net Revenues $2,034.30

Additional Information: The company operating the on-line class is a division of the law firm
that serves as the city prosecutor for two of the cities.” A program guide notes a “255% Net
Revenue Increase” for participating entities. The Centennial Lakes Police Department reported
that speeding violations increased from 381 in 2011 to 542 in 2012.%2 The League of Minnesota

$25,600.00
$18,371.96

$8,495.00
$5,882.67

$9,845.00
$7,148.63

$43,940.00
$31,403.26

$12,335.00
$8,223.33

$4,211.00
$2,807.33

$7,700.00
$5,133.33

$24,246.00
$16,164.00

Cities gave the cities a 2013 City of Excellence award for the program.®

" See iGovernment Solutions’ website, http://www.igovernmentsolutions.com/company. The City Attorney is

appointed special prosecutor for the third city as part of the Ticket Education Program.

8 See Traffic Report for January 1, 2012, through December 31, 2012, available on the Centennial Lakes Police

Department’s website, http://www.centenniallakespd.govoffice2.com/.

° See League of Minnesota Cities’ website at http://www.Imc.org/page/1/COEwinners13-nr.jsp.
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1) TAKE A CLASS

« 10% Discount

« Your Ticket Is Dismissed

. Take Class On The Web
Anytime Day Or Night

WWW.PAYYOURTICKET.ORG

Many traffic,
parking, and other
low-level offenses
qualify for Class.

Please wait 5-days
for your ticket to
reach the website.

Deadline: Finish
Class 7-days before
your court date.
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54 North Road
Circle Pines, MN
63-784-2501
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1) TAKE A CLASS

« 10% Discount

. Your Ticket Is Dismissed

. Take Class On The Web
Anytime Day Or Night

WWW.PAYYOURTICKET.ORG

icket.

Many traffic,
parking, and other
low-level offenses
qualify for Class.

Please wait 5-days
for your ticket to
reach the website.

Deadline: Finish
Class 7-days before
your court date.

2) PAY THE STATE

. Pay By Phone:
651-281-3219

. Pay Via Internet:

WWW.PAYYOURTICKET.ORG

Paying some tickets
will revoke your
driver’s license.
Typical charges:

No Insurance,
Driving After
Revocation,
Suspension, or
Withdrawal.

2) PAY THE STATE

« Pay By Phone:
651-281-3219

. Pay Via Internet:

WWW.PAYYOURTICKET.ORG

Paying some tickets
will revoke your
driver’s license.
Typical charges:

No Insurance,
Driving After
Revocation,
Suspension, or
Withdrawal.

3) GO TO COURT

« Court Date Is On Your Ticket
« Courthouse location:
325 East Main Street
Anoka, MN 55303
« Clerk Of Courts:
763-422-7350
« You Can Take Any Ticket
To Court

EMERGE

Some tickets are
not payable. You
must appear in
Court.

Typical charges:
DWI, Assault,
Disorderly Conduct,
Theft, Car
Accidents,
Endangering Life or
Property. Call Clerk
for more details.

3) GO TO COURT

« Court Date Is On Your Ticket
« Courthouse location:
325 East Main Street
Anoka, MN 55303
« Clerk Of Courts:
763-422-7350
« You Can Take Any Ticket
To Court
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Fines — Summary Fines — Summary

SPEEDING TICKETED FINE SPEEDING TICKETED FINE
1-10 MPH 0VEr lIMit.c.cciiieieieieieieieieeseseee e 1-10 MPH OVET lIMit..ceueeieriieiieieie e 125.00
11-14 MPH OVer liMite..ccveiieiiieiesieeeeee e 11-14 MPH 0oVer lIMit...cocueriiiiieiierieieeeesee e 135.00
15-19 MPH oVer liMit...cceevieriieiienienieeiese e 15-19 MPH 0oVer lIMit...coceiiieiierie i 145.00
20-25 MPH OVET liMit.ecueiricriieieeieiiereeeerecre e enens 20-25 MPH OVEr liMit.cc.eeiiriiriieierieeeeiee e 225.00
26-30 MPH OVer liMit....ccciiiieriiiieeieesee e . 26-30 MPH OVer liMit....cccueeiiieiienienieeiieeieeieeieese e 285.00
31 MPH and above over limit .. . 31 MPH and above over limit ........ccocueeieeiiienienienieeieeieeien 385.00

OTHER MOVING VIOLATIONS OTHER MOVING VIOLATIONS
Stoplight / StOP SIN...vivvieeieiieiieieese et 135.00 Stoplight / StOP SIBN ...viiveeiiciierieieie et 135.00

...125.00 Unreasonable acceleration... .
Lane usage, turning, signaling ......c.ccocvvververereecreneneseeeene 135.00 Lane usage, turning, signaling .........ccoccevvievieriiirieieesiesee 135.00
Fail tO VIl .o 135.00 Fail tO VIl .o
FOllIOWINgG t00 CIOSENY ...ovviiieiiiiiciieeeeee e 135.00 Following too closely .. .
EQUIPMENT .ttt 125.00 EQUIPMENT ..o
EXPIred Plates .c..ovvieieieeiiiieiese et 115.00 EXPIred PIates ....ovuieiirieeeieieiereeeseeeee e

SEAL DT . ueivieeiececee e 110.00 SEAL DEIT. .ottt
LIBNEING 1ottt e 125.00 LIBREING 1t
PARKING PARKING

Stopping, standing or Parking...........ccceeveerieriieeneenienieeseeee, 42.00 Stopping, standing or Parking..........ccceevveenierieeieeniesieeeesens 42.00
Fire hydrant ..42.00 Fire Nydrant .....ccooooeoeininciiiceee e 42.00
Handicapped parking violation ........c.ccoceveveeienenenieienene 285.00 Handicapped parking violation ..........cccocoevieieiiniiiniciinie 285.00
INSURANCE & DRIVERS LICENSE INSURANCE & DRIVERS LICENSE

Insurance violations

Unreasonable acceleration...

Insurance violations.

LiceNnSe VIolatioNnsS....cc.ueeveerrienienieesiieseeee e . LiceNnSe VIOIatioNS....c..uevveiiieiie it

FOR A COMPLETE LIST OF FINES & RULES SEE: WWw.PAYYOURTICKET.ORG FOR A COMPLETE LIST OF FINES & RULES SEE: WWw.PAYYOURTICKET.ORG
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City of Coon Rapids in Anoka County
Program Name: Coon Rapids Pre-Arraignment Review and Citizens Awareness Project (CAP)

Brief Program Description: The Coon Rapids City Attorney’s Office offers the CAP diversion
program “for minor traffic and criminal offenders where the offense in comparison to the
offender’s record is such that it appears inappropriate to convict the offender.”*® If a person
successfully completes the program, the prosecutor will dismiss the case, and the violation will
not be on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: For most traffic violations, the CAP fees range from $25 to $200."* For
eligible speed and most other petty misdemeanor violations of Chapter 169, the CAP fee is $100.
For Chapter 169 violations, the person pays a $75 surcharge in addition to the CAP fee.'?

Amount Remitted to State: The $75 surcharge for Chapter 169 violations is remitted to the
State.

Offenses Eligible for Program: The program covers certain traffic, vehicle registration, driver
license, and ordinance violations, and miscellaneous criminal offenses, as described in the CAP
Eligibility Table, including speeds of 0 - 14 mph over the limit and other petty misdemeanor
violations of Chapter 169. The City Attorney, not the police officer, determines program
eligibility.

Ineligibility: The program is not available for offenses involving accidents, endangerment,
restitution, or violence. “Serious offenses, as determined by the Prosecutor, may be excluded
from CAP.”® Offenses committed by people who have a commercial driver’s license are not
eligible for the program. For most traffic moving offenses, the person may not have a prior
moving offense or CAP disposition within the past two years. Some offenses (such as speeding
and most other petty misdemeanor violations of Chapter 169) may be recharged if the person has
a new offense within one year of completing the program.

Uses Uniform Traffic Ticket? Yes, and brochure
Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No
When Did Program Begin? 2009

Description of Class: The traffic violations generally require the person to watch offense-
specific videos at City Hall.

19 see CAP Eligibility Table (revised Aug. 15, 2013), available on the City’s website at http://www.ci.coon-
rapids.mn.us/Pdf/CAPEIligibleOffenses.pdf.

1 See CAP Eligibility Table (revised Aug. 15, 2013). For example, the CAP fee for no seatbelt (not child-related) is
$25; the CAP fees for no proof of insurance, no insurance (vehicle not insured), DAR, and other DAC (unless
endangerment or accident) are $200.

12 The surcharge is not collected for non-traffic offenses using the CAP program.

13 See CAP Eligibility Table (revised Aug. 15, 2013).
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Revenues:

City of Coon Rapids -
CAP Revenues and Surcharges Remitted to State

CAP Revenues Surcharge
Year (Excluding Surcharge) Remitted to State

2010 $91,100 $70,425
2011 $88,350 $57,450
2012 $78,275 $48,450
2013 (January - June) $28,210 $18,375
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you have questions regarding the charge(s), call the number
noted above. :

What happens if | just ignore the ticket?

Failure to respond to a Misdemeanor ticket may result in:

e The Department of Public Safety and/or the
Department of Natural Resources being notified of
your failure to appear. These agencies may
suspend your driver’s license or DNR licenses for
failing to appear. :

A warrant may be issued for your arrest.
Late fees may be assessed.

Failure to respond to a Petty Misdemeanor by paying the
amount due, appearing in court or contacting the court
Payment Center will be considered a plea of guilty and
waiver of the right to trial unless the failure to appear is due
to circumstances beyond your control. (M. S. § 169.91;
609.491). In addition, the Department of Public Safety
and/or the Department of Natural Resources will be notified
of your failure to appear and conviction. These agencies
may suspend your driver’s license or DNR licenses for

failing to appear.

WARNING! If you fail to pay your fine or appear in
court one or more of the following may occur: YOUR
DRIVER’S LICENSE MAY BE SUSPENDED, A WARRANT
FOR YOUR ARREST MAY BE ISSUED, AND/OR YOUR
ACCOUNT MAY BE REFERRED TO A COLLECTION

AGENCY.

Can | talk to the Prosecutor at Court? If you want to
talk with the prosecutor before you see the Judge you should
ask when you check in at the Court’s Information Desk or
after you listen to a video that describes your rights. Your
file will be given to the prosecutor located in the back of the
courtroom. The prosecutor will call your name when he or
she is ready to speak with you. Please be aware that the
prosecutor represents the State of Minnesota and is not there
to represent your interests. Note: If you did not qualify for
CAP or you chose not to participate in CAP the prosecutor
will NOT negotiate your case to keep it off your driving
record. ;

CAP pamphlet 8/2/2011

Important Telephone Numbers:

CAP Office. 763-767-6428
Court Call/Pay Center ....... 651-281-3219 or 1-800-657-3611
Court Administration, Criminal/Traffic...........763-422-7385
Anoka County Corrections Dept.......ccoeeeiarernnes 763-323-5830
Anoka County Warrants . 763-422-7500

Departrment of PublC SAFety ........ioooorr o 651-206-6911

- Prepared by:
Coon Rapids City Attorney’s Office
11155 Robinson Drive N.W

Coon Rapids, MN 55433
763-767-6428

www.coonrapidsmn.gov

For additional CAP information:
http://www.coonrapidsmn.gov/cityattorney/CAP htm

Court information provided by:
Anoka County Court Administration
325 East Main Street
Anoka, MN 55303-2489
763-422-7385

Payments by phone:
651-281-3219 (metro line)
1-800-657-3611 (out state)

By web: www.mncourts.gov
Information only:
www.co.ancka.mn.us/depariments/courts/services.htm#TRAFFIC

Note: A convenience fee is added for web payments.

Revised: 3/13/2012

2 COON
RAPIDS

Minnesota

tl"‘1

Citizen Awareness Project
(CAP)

By|the Coon Rapids City Attorney’s Office

YOU JUST GOT |
A TICKET
IN COON RAPIDS...

READ THIS
FLYER:
You might be
able to avoid
going to
court!!i!
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Do | have to go to Court? You can avoid court and can
keep this violation off your driving record if:

1. This is a parking ticket (any kind), or

2. You are charged with no proof of insurance but had it, or
3. You have a regular, Non commercial driver’s license and
are charged with a non-accident traffic offense and have a
good driving record, or

4. You are charged with a minor criminal offense and have a
good criminal record.

For parking tickets, look at the fee envelope for the fee
amount, unless directed to this brochure. If you want to
provide proof of sale or proof you were validly using a
handicap permit, call the CAP hotline for information.

* Don’t delay; CAP has strict time limits! Read on: *

Do I qualify for CAP? For other than parking
tickets, to find out if you qualify, and your CAP fee, wait
at least THREE DAYS AFTER you received your ticket,
then call 763-767-6428 or send an email to
CAP@coonrapidsmn.gov. - Have the ticket handy when you
call. You will need to leave a message with your full name,
citation number and be sure to provide your return phone
number. You will receive a call or email letting you know if

you qualify.

If you qualify you must finish the CAP requirements at least
ONE WEEK BEFORE THE COURT DATE on your
ticket. Your ticket will NOT be dismissed and you will have
to go to Court if you miss these timelines. Once you have
successfully completed the CAP requirements your ticket
will be dismissed and you will be given a copy of the
dismissal. You should keep this dismissal for your records.

You do not HAVE to do CAP: If you believe you have not
committed the offense on the ticket you need to go to Court
on your ticketed court date to challenge the charges. NOTE:
What is CAP? CAP is a voluntary diversion program
offered by the Prosecutor in cooperation with the Police
Department. Parking tickets are fee-payable. CAP
requirements typically include viewing educational videos
and payment of a non-refundable CAP fee plus a State
surcharge of $75. For parking tickets, you must pay a CAP
fee only as noted on the violation envelope.

Where do | go to complete the CAP requirements?

To complete CAP you need to go to Coon Rapids City Hall

“
CAP pamphlet 8/2/2011

located about a mile south of the Hanson Blvd/Hwy 10
interchange on Robinson Drive N.W. CAP Office Hours are
Monday/Wednesday/Friday (except legal holidays), 10:00
a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

What does the ticket mean to me? The ticket charges

you with a petty misdemeanor or a misdemeanor offense.
e A petty misdemeanor has a max fine of $300
(typically minor violations like speeding and seat belt).
You can hire an attorney at your own expense but you
cannot get a public defender. If you plead not guilty a
Judge will try your case without a jury (Court Trial).
e A misdemeanor is a crime with a maximum
penalty of $1,000 and/or 90 days jail (No insurance,
drive after suspension, etc.) You can hire an attorney or
apply for a public defender (apply at the Courthouse).
If you plead not guilty your case will be tried by jury of
six persons. You can choose a court trial.

Can | just pay my ticket and be done? If you do not
qualify for CAP or if you choose not to participate in CAP,

certain tickets can just be paid without going to Court. If
you choose to pay your ticket you will be deemed guilty of
the offense(s) on the ticket. You can pay by one of the
following methods:

* Online: Using MasterCard or Visa, access
www.mncourts.gov/fines. Have your citation number
available.

* By phone: Using MasterCard or Visa call 651-281-3219
in the metro or 1-800-657-3611 outside the metro area.
Have your citation available.

* By Mail: Check or Money Order payable to Court
Administration, Send to Minnesota Court Payment
Center, P.O. Box 898, Willmar, MN 56201. Include a
copy of your citation or indicate the citation number on
the check or money order.

BY PAYING THE FINE(S) TO COURT, YOU PLEAD
GUILTY to the offense(s) and voluntarily waive the
following rights: (Minn.R.Crim.P.23.03)

1. To a court trial, if the offense is a petty misdemeanor, or
a court or jury trial for all other offenses;

. To be represented by an attorney;

. To be presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a
reasonable doubt;

. To confront and cross examine all witnesses; and

. To either remain silent or to testify on your own behalf,

WM
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If you plead guilty (by paying the fine or by pleading guilty
in Court) you will be convicted. If convicted, you must pay
a state imposed surcharge of $12 for parking-related
offenses and $75 for all other offenses.  Additionally, a law
library fee must be paid that supports the County law
library. These surcharges and fees are included in the total
payable amount that will be provided to you by phone or
online. :

Can | choose to appear in court and see a Judge?

Please refer to the front of your ticket. If a court date is
noted, you must either pay your fine by this date (if
allowed) or you may choose to appear in court on the date,
time and at the location indicated. If no court date is noted,
you must either pay the fine or schedule a Court appearance
within 30 days from the date the ticket was issued. To make
a payment or schedule a Court appearance call: 651-281-
3219 in metro area or 1-800-657-3611 outside metro area.
Please wait 10 business days (from the date you receive
your citation) before calling. -

What if | forget to pay my ticket? Under Minn. Stat. §
480.15, Subd. 10c, unpaid fines may be referred for

collections. If your ticket is for an offense that requires a
Court appearance you may be arrested if you do not go to
Court or pay your fine.

If you issue a worthless check to the court it is a crime, and
you will be subject to civil and criminal penalties. In
addition, a charge of up to $30 will be assessed on all
returned checks (MN 609.113 subd. 2).

Other important notices regarding your rights can be found
on the Minnesota Judicial Branch website at

Are there offenses where | have no choice but to
go to Court? Certain offense(s) require you to appear in
court. To verify if the charge(s) you have received require a
court appearance, please call 651-281-3219 in the metro or
1-800-657-3611outside of the metro area and refer to the
front of the ticket. If you must appear in court and a court
date is noted on the front of your citation, your
appearance is scheduled for the date, time and location. If
you must appear in court and no court date is noted on the
front of the citation, a Notice to Appear indicating a court
date will be mailed to the address on the citation. If this
address is mot correct, you must immediately notify the
Court at the number noted above. Failure to appear may
result in a bench warrant requiring that you be arrested. If




City of Lino Lakes in Anoka County

Program Name: Lino Lakes Police Department Achieving Compliance Through Education
(ACE) Program

Brief Program Description: The Lino Lakes Police Department offers the ACE Program for
those who have been stopped for certain traffic violations in the City. If the program is
successfully completed, the violation will not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: The program fees range from $50 - $100; fees for moving traffic violations
are $100.*

Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: The program is used for traffic, equipment, parking, ordinance,
and other violations. Eligible moving traffic violations include speeding 0 - 14 mph over the
limit, texting while driving, and seat belt violations (non-child related).

Ineligibility: No person with a commercial driver’s license is eligible for the program. No
juvenile misdemeanor offenses are eligible for the program. Offenses involving accidents or
endangerment are not eligible for the program.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure
Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No
When Did Program Begin? June 2010

Description of Class: Program participants must complete one or more of seven different
educational blocks, depending on the violation, at the Lino Lakes Police Department. There are
separate blocks for moving violations, equipment violations, traffic safety, ordinance violations,
status offenses, parking, and other offenses (e.g., drug, tobacco, and alcohol use and abuse for
both adults and juveniles). The materials in the blocks could include videos, news reports,
printed laws and ordinances, and testimonials.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $22,000
2012 $50,725
2011 $55,300
2010 $18,200

' The fee for a seasonal parking ordinance violation is $25.
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received before the scheduled court appearance
indicated on the front side of your ticket.

If paying in person, payments can be made at the
criminal counter located on the first floor, center of the
courthouse, 325 E Main Street, Anoka, MN. Office
hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. If you are unable to
make your payment during these hours, there is a
ticket payment “drop box” located at the courthouse
front door at 4™ Avenue and Main Street in Anoka.
Visa and MasterCard, payments are accepted in person
or by calling 763-422-7473.

DO NOT CALL IN CREDIT CARD PAYMENTS
UNTIL SEVEN DAYS PRIOR TO THE COURT
APPEARANCE.

You must appear in court if:
1. You wish to plead not guilty;

2. You wish to plead guilty, but offer an explanation;

3. The officer checked the “Endangered Person or
Property” box on the ticket;

4.  You were involved in an accident;

5. You have posted bail or bond.

6. Youdo NOT want to participate in the ACE
program and your ticket is not payable.

Court Appearance:

You are required to make a court appearance at the
date and time indicated on the front of your ticket if
you wish to plead not guilty or plead guilty with an
explanation. Please verify the courtroom at the Court’s
Information Desk located on the first floor of the
courthouse. Go directly to Criminal Counters and
check in at Windows 1 and 2. If you are interested in
applying for a public defender the Court Clerk will
give you the necessary forms to provide your financial
information. The Judge will determine whether or not
you will be granted a public defender. Please keep in
mind that you are only eligible if you have been
charged with a misdemeanor and meet the financial
guidelines.

WARNING

If you fail to pay your fine or appear in court as
directed, YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE MAY BE
SUSPENDED, A WARRANT FOR YOUR
ARREST MAY BE ISSUED, AND/OR YOUR
ACCOUNT MAY BE REFERRED TO A
COLLECTIONS AGENCY.

Municipal Prosecutor:
If you wish to speak with the prosecutor at your Court

appearance, you may do so after hearing your rights
from the Judge. Inform the in-court deputy
administrator and he or she will get your file to the
prosecutor in the back of the courtroom. The
prosecutor will call your name and speak with you as
soon as possible. Please be aware that the prosecutor
represents the State and therefore, is not there to
represent your interests. Note: If your case does not
qualify for ACE, the prosecutor will not negotiate
your case to keep it off your driving record.
Contact ACE at 651-982-2312 for more
information or email us at llace@ci.lino-
lakes.mn.us.

Fine Payment after Sentencing:

Your file will be brought to the Criminal Counter upon
sentencing. Please take a number on the post in the
main hallway, wait for your number to be called and
the next available clerk will assist you. If you pled
guilty or are found guilty and ordered to pay a fine, it
is assumed that you will pay the same day as your
hearing. There are additional fees and surcharges that
we are required by the Legislature to impose. If you
cannot pay your entire fine on the day you are
sentenced, you will be given 90 days to pay. Any
additional time to pay must be approved by the Judge.

Anoka County Corrections:

After you have appeared in Court, been sentenced, and
appeared at the Criminal Counter, you will receive a
form called “Conditions of Sentence” which lists what
happened in court. If additional conditions have been
imposed at sentencing, other than a fine payment, you
may be referred to the Corrections Department. It is
located across the hallway from the Criminal Counter.
The Corrections Department monitors your
compliance with any other Court ordered conditions.

Important Telephone Numbers:

ACE Office...ccoeuiiiiiiiiinininininnnnan 651-982-2312

Court Administration, Criminal/Traffic..763-422-7385
Anoka County Corrections Dept...........763-323-5830
Anoka County Warrants.................... 763-422-7500
Department of Public Safety............... 651-296-6911

You’ve Received
A Ticket in
Lino Lakes

Here’s what to do next.

Prepared by the Lino Lakes Police
Department
640 Town Center Pkwy.,
Lino Lakes, MN 55014
651-982-2300
www.ci.lino-lakes.mn.us

Court information provided by
Anoka County Court Administration
325 East Main Street
Anoka, MN 55303-2489
763-422-7385
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You have just been issued a ticket in Lino Lakes.
This ticket charges you with a petty misdemeanor or
a misdemeanor. You may qualify for the optional
Lino Lakes Police Department Achieving
Compliance through Education (ACE) Program. If
you do not qualify, you will have to appear in Court
on the date stated on the ticket or submit payment
directly to the court.

What is the ACE Program?

ACE is an educational program offered by the Lino
Lakes Police Department. If you qualify and comply
with ACE requirements the prosecutor will dismiss
your case, you will not have an offense listed on
your driving record, and you will not have to appear
in Court. The requirements typically include
completion of a short educational video or class and
payment of an ACE fee. The ACE requirements
must be completed at the Lino Lakes Police
Department. ACE is not available to people with a
Commercial Driver’s License. Participation in the
ACE Program is strictly voluntary; you always
have the option of a court trial.

How can I find out if I am eligible for ACE?
Eligibility for the ACE Program is determined by the
violation you were ticketed for and your history of
citations. To find out if you qualify, have your
citation with you and either call the ACE Office at
651-982-2312 or fill out the online form on the city
website at www.ci.lino-lakes.mn.us (under Public
Safety/ACE Program). More information can also
be found on the website. Please wait three business
days after receiving the citation to contact us. If you
are eligible for the program, you will need to
complete the educational component at least TWO
WEEKS BEFORE the scheduled court date
indicated on the citation. Failure to complete the
program 14 days prior to the court date will result in
your having to appear in court at the date / time
noted on your citation. ACE Office Hours are Tues.-
Thurs. (except legal holidays), 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

ACE Program fees

Equipment Violation...... $50.00
Moving Violation......... $100.00
Ordinance Violation ...... $75.00
Seasonal Parking Violation...  $25.00
Status Offense ............. $50.00
Other Violations .......... $100.00

What is a petty misdemeanor?

A petty misdemeanor is not a crime and therefore
carries no jail time. The maximum fine for a petty
misdemeanor is $300.00. You may be represented by
an attorney hired at your own expense. If you wish to
plead not guilty, you are entitled to a court trial. A
court trial is a trial by a judge without a jury.

What is a misdemeanor?

A misdemeanor is a crime. The maximum penalty is
$1,000 and/or 90 days in jail. If you cannot afford an
attorney to represent you, you may apply for a public
defender. You will need to provide financial
information to determine if you are eligible. If you
wish to plead not guilty, you are entitled to a jury trial.
At trial, the jury would consist of six persons and all
six persons would have to agree that you are guilty
before you could be convicted and sentenced.

Payable Fines
If you do not qualify for ACE, many fines are payable

without a court appearance. You may be able to
determine your fine by reading the following schedule
of fines and fees. This is only a partial listing of
payable offenses. Please call 763-422-7385 within ten
(10) days prior to the court date written on the ticket
if your violation is not listed. If you need time to pay,
up to 90 days, you must request this in person at the
Criminal Counter in Court Administration prior to
your court date. NOTE: Paying a fine could result in
withdrawal of driving privileges depending on the
nature of the charge or your driving record. To find
out, contact the Driver Evaluators at 651-296-2025.
Paying the fine will also result in the offense going on
your driving record. Neither the court nor the
prosecutor can keep this from happening if you elect to
pay your fine.

These are examples of fines payable without a court
appearance. Read further for circumstances which
require a court appearance.

1. PARKING - Does not go on driving record:
Stand, stop or park in traffic lane or on freeway.125.00
Fire hydrant.................oooi 34.00
Parking privileges for handicapped................285.00
II. MISCELLANEOUS VIOLATIONS:

License plates not clean, displayed or fastened
PIOPETLY ..o 115.00

(except illegal use or possession, or dealer plate use)

Snowmobile violations............................. Varies
Truck violations................coceiiiiiiiinninnn. Varies
(Contact Court Administrator)

II1. MOVING VIOLATIONS:

1-10 MPH over limit..................ooiiiiinnnn, 125.00
11-14 MPH over limit.......................oeee. 135.00
15-19 MPH over limit..................cooooeeennt. 145.00
20-25 MPH over limit...................oeoueen. **225.00
26-30 MPH over limit...................co.oane. **285.00
***3] MPH and above over limit............... **385.00

***unless endangerment is checked
**Note: 20 miles per hour or more over the posted
speed limit results in an additional surcharge.

Traffic control lights or stop sign.................. 135.00
Unreasonable acceleration........................... 125.00
Over center line, lane usage, turning

Backing passing.............oooiiiiiiiiiiiiii 135.00

Signaling violations. ...........ccceeerievienieiieieenne. 135.00

Failtoyield. ... 135.00

Driving without corrective lenses.................. 135.00

Following too closely..............cccooiiiiiiiiiin. 135.00
Non-emergency stopping on the freeway......... 125.00
Cycle (two-wheel) endorsement.................... 135.00

Equipment: each violation (excluding trucks)...125.00
(including horn, lights, mufflers)(M.S.169.68 to 169.75)

Expired plates (M.S. 168.09)..........oeueeuinnninnns 115.00
Fail to Register (M.S. 168.09)........ocvvvvieerennnnnn 185.00
Registration current, etc. (M.S. 169.79).............. 115.00
Seat belt.......c.ouveviiiiiiiii 110.00
Driving without headlights......................... 125.00
Unsafe Equipment; each violation (M.S.169.47)...125.00
Unsafe Tires.......c.oeveviiiiiiiiiiiiieeenn. 135.00

The above offenses, with the exception of the
highlighted violations, may be eligible for the ACE
program. Contact the ACE Office at 651-982-2312
to determine eligibility.

Questions regarding the consequence of moving
violations on your driving record should be directed to
the Department of Public Safety (651-296-6911).

Paying Your Fine
If paying your fine by mail, DO NOT SEND CASH.

Make your check or money order payable to “Court
Administrator.” Mail the payment to the Minnesota
Court Payment Center, P.O. Box 898, Willmar, MN
56201. Please include your file number or citation
number on your check. Your payment must be



Chippewa County
Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: The “diversion class is approved as part of the Chippewa County
Attorney’s Office Diversion Program and the County Attorney.”™ If the class is successfully
completed, the violation will not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $75
Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Citations issued by a Chippewa County law enforcement
officer for speeding (no more than 15 mph over the posted speed limit); violation of a stop sign,
stop light, or yield sign; driving left of the center line (not DUI-related); passing or lane
violations; following too close; failure to signal; and making an illegal turn are eligible for the
program.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in a Driver Awareness Class in Chippewa County in the last 12 months, or has
“more than two prior [sic].”*® It is not available for parking tickets; citations resulting from an
accident; multiple violations; or “major violations” such as careless driving, DUI, leaving the
scene of an accident, or driving without a license.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No

When Did Program Begin? 2005

Description of Class: The two-hour class is taught by a deputy at the Clara City Community
Center.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $1,275
2012 $2,325
2011 $4,945
2010 $7,049

15 Chippewa County Sheriff’s Office Driver Awareness Class brochure.
16 Chippewa County Sheriff’s Office Driver Awareness Class brochure.
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SAFE DRIVING TIPS

e Usc the “2 sccond rule” to judge safe
following distances. |

e Before you start driving at night or in
inclement weather, check your head-
lights and signals to be surc they are
clear and working properly. Make

sure your wipers are working proper-
ly.

®  Drinking and driving is irresponsible
and very dangerous.

*  Keep shifting your view, checking in l
all dircctions around your vehicle.

e Practicc and master good driving hab-
its.

e Expectatrainat any time at a cross-
ing.

o Itisunsafc to drive around crossing
gatcs.

o The principle contributing causc in

vehicle-train crashes is motor vehicle
driver crror.

»  Bicyclists should travel on the right
side of the road, riding with the flow
of traffic.

Pedestrians should travel on the left
side of the road, moving towards the

oncoming traffic.

e Remember, you have carned the right

to operate an automobile. Don’t

abuse it.

This diversion class is approved as
part of the Chippewa County At-
torney’s Office Diversion Program
and the County Attorncy.

CLASS DATE

CuipprEwA COUNTY SHERIFF’S OFFICE

Sheriff Stacy Tufto
629 N 11th Street Suite 14
Montevidco MN 56265

Phone: 320-269-2121
Fax: 320-269-2698

CHIPPEWA COUNTY
SHERIFF'S OFFICE

DRIVER
AWARENESS
CLASS

Take our Driver Awarcness Class and have:
o No Fine
s No Court Appearance
®  Most Importantly . . . Improve Your
Driving Habits

Educate and lcarn the traffic laws and have
your traffic citation diverted upon
completion of the course.
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YOU ARE ELIGIBLE . ..

If your citation was issued by a Chippewa
County Law Enforcement Officer. If your
citation was for . . .

° Speeding and the speed is no more
than 15 mph over the posted speed
limit.

*  Violation of a stop sign, stop light, or
yield sign.

e  Driving left of the center line (not DUI
related)

o Passing or lanc violations.

e Following too closc.

e  Failurc to signal.

®  Making an illegal turn.

If you do not wish to contest your ticket.

If you have not participated in a Driver
Awareness Class in Chippewa County in
the last 12 months.

If you have not had morc than two prior

YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE . ..

Your citation was for. . .

e Parking tickets

e Citations resulting from an accident.
e Multiple violations.

e Major violations such as carcless driv-
ing, DUI, lcaving the scene of an acci-
dent or driving without a licensc.

CLASSES ARE HELD AT THE
CLARA CITY
COMMUNITY CENTER

30 NW 2nd Ave
Clara City, MN 56222

DO NOT CALL THE
COURT ADMINISTRATOR'’S
OFFICE

llenavenw=l e

HOW TO REGISTER

Person’s must register for the Driver

Awareness Class within 10 days after
receiving the citation. Registration can
be done 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.

You must register in person or by phone
at the Chippewa County Sheriff’s Of-
fice, 320-269-2121, 629 N 11th Street
Suite 14, Montevideo MN 56265

The cost of the class is $75 and can be
paid prior to the class or the night
of the class.

Class begins at 6:30 p.m. sharp! If you
arc late or fail to appcar, the class fec
will be forfeited and your ticket will be
sent to court. You will then be ex-
pected to appear in court and will not be
cligible to continue with the Driver
Awarcness Class.

Confirmed dates will be provided upon
rcgistration.

The class is approximately 2 hours.

There is no failing if you attend this
class.

The Driver Awarcness Class MUST BE
completed within 30 days after the re-
ceipt of the citation.




City of Clara City in Chippewa County
Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: “This diversion class is approved as part of the Chippewa County
Attorney’s Office Diversion Program and as part of the City of Clara City Attorney’s Office
Diversion Program.”"” If the class is successfully completed, the violation will not appear on the
person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $75
Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Eligible traffic offenses include speed (no more than 15 mph
over the posted speed limit); violation of a stop sign, stop light, or yield sign; driving left of the
center line (not DUI-related); passing or lane violations; following too close; failure to signal;
and making an illegal turn.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in a Driver Awareness Class in Chippewa County in the last 12 months, has already
participated in two Driver Awareness classes, or has more than two prior moving violations in
the past 12 months, excluding alcohol-related offenses. It is not available for parking tickets;
citations resulting from an accident; multiple violations; or “major violations” such as careless
driving, DUI, leaving the scene of an accident, or driving without a license.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure
Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No
When Did Program Begin? 2005

Description of Class: The approximately two-hour class is taught by a law enforcement officer
at the Clara City Community Center.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $5,100
2012 $8,770
2011 $7,365
2010 $8,850

!7 Clara City Police Dep’t Driver Awareness Class brochure.
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Safe Driving Tips

Use the “2 second rule” to judge safe |

following distances.

Before you start driving at night or in
inclement weather, check your
headlights and isignals to be sure they
are clear and working properly. Make
sure your wipers are working properly.
Drinking and driving is irresponsible
and very dangerous.

Keep shifting your view, checking in
all directions around your vehicle.

Practice and master good driving
habits.

Expect a train at any time at a
crossing.

It is unsafe to drive around crossing
gates. '

The principle contributing cause in
vehicle-train crashes is motor vehicle
driver error.

Bicyclists should travel on the right
side of the road, riding with the flow of
traffic.

Pedestrians should travel on the left
side of the road, moving towards the
oncoming traffic.

Remember, you have earned the right
to operate an automobile.
Don’t abuse it.

Clara City Police Department
215 NW 1st Street
- P. O. Box 560
Clara City, MN 56222
320-847-3221
Ralph Bradley, Chief of Police
or
Clara City City Hall
320-847-2140
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

DO NOT CALL THE

COURT ADMINISTRATOR’S OFFICE

This diversion class is approved
as part of the Chippewa County
Attorney’s Office Diversion Program
and as part of the City of Clara City
Attorney’s Office Diversion Program

Dwayne Knutsen, County and City Attorney.

Take Our
DRIVER AWARENESS

CLASS
And Have:

No Fine
No Court Appearance
Most Importantly...
Improve Your Driving Habits

Educate and learn the
traffic laws and have your
traffic citation diverted upon
completion of the course.
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YOU ARE ELIGIBLE...

« If your citation was issued by a Clara City
Police Officer.

« If your citation was for:

¢ Speeding and the speed is no more than
15 mph over the posted speed limit.

° \/_iolation of a stop sign, stop light, or yieid
sign.

« Driving left of the center line
(not DUI related).

o Passing or lane violations.

« Following too close.

o Failure to signal.

o Making anillegal turn.

o . If you do not wish to contest your ticket.

e If you have not participated in a Driver
Awareness Class: in Chippewa County in the
last 12 months.

o If you have not had more than two prior
moving violations in the past 12 months,
excluding alcohol related offenses.

YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE...

If your citation was for:-

o Parking tickets.

o Citations resulting from an accident.
o Mulliple violations.

o Major violations such as careless driving,
DUI, leaving the scene of an accident, or
driving without a license.

« If you have already participated in two Driver
Awareness Classes.

CLASSES ARE HELD AT
Clara City Community Center
30 NW 2nd Avenue
Clara City, MN 56222
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REGISTRATION

Persons must register for the Driver
Awareness Class within 10 days after
receiving the citation.

Classes will be offered once each month at
6:30 p.m.. Class date will be provided upon
registration.

register, in person or by
Clara City City Hall,
to 5 p.m,

You must
telephone, at
Monday - Friday 8 a.m.
320-847-2140.

Class cost of $75.00 must be paid within 10
days of receiving the citation.
Payable by check , money order, or cash.

Class starts at 6:30 p.m. sharp! If you are
late or fail to appear, the class fee will be
forfeited and your ticket will be sent to
court. You will then be expected fo appear
in court and will not be eligible to continue
with the Driver Awareness Class.

The class is approximately 2 hours.
There is no failing if you attend this class.
The Driver Awareness Class must be

completed within 30 days after the receipt
of the citation.



Chisago County

Program Name: Driver Awareness Program

Brief Program Description: The program was implemented by the Chisago County Sheriff’s
Office, with the endorsement of the Chisago County Attorney’s Office. If the program is
successfully completed, the “driver’s traffic citation will be voided and there will be no court
arraignment or conviction on the driver’s driving record.” *®

Fee for Program: $75 (payable to the Chisago County Sheriff’s Office)

Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: The program is used for petty misdemeanor moving violations,
including speeding up to 19 mph over the speed limit, and petty misdemeanor equipment
violations.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in a Chisago County Driver Awareness Program within the last 12 months or twice
in a lifetime, or has a conviction for any moving violation within the past two years. The class is
not available for speeding in a school or construction zone, drug or alcohol-related offenses,
incidents involving crashes or more than one charge, or no proof of insurance violations.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No

When Did Program Begin? May 2013

Description of Class: The two-hour class is taught by area law enforcement at the Chisago
County Government Center.

Revenues: 2013 (May - June) $3,450

18 Chisago County Awareness Program document received from Chisago County Sheriff.
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Chisago County

Sheriff’s Office

313 North Main Street, Room 100
Center City, MN 55012

DRIVER AWARENESS
PROGRAM

IN ORDER TO PARTICIPATE IN THE
PROGRAM, YOU MUST REGISTER
IN-PERSON OR BY TELEPHONE
WITHIN 14 DAYS
OF RECEIVING A CITATION.

In-Person Registration:

Register at the Chisago County Sheriff’s
Office located in the Chisago County
Government Center, 313 North Main Street,
Room 100, Center City, MN 55012;

Provide photo ID and a copy of citation;
And Pay $75 cash, check or money order.

Phone Registration:

Call 651-213-6309 or 651-213-6317, Monday
— Friday between 8:00 am ~ 4:30 pm;

Mail $75 check or money order made
payable to the “Chisago County.Sheriff’s
Office” to the Chisago Cou nty Sheriff’s
Office, ATTN: Driver Awareness Program,
313 North Main Street, Room #100, Center
City, MN 55012; and bring photo ID'and a
copy of citation with you to your scheduled
course,

You MUST register and submit $75 fee

WITHIN 14 DAYS of receiving citation.
The 14 days INCLUDES weekends and holidays.
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Course attendance is MANDATORY for
successful completion of the
program.

NO registration or payment accepted
at the time of scheduled course!

If you miss the course you are
registered for, there is NO REFUND.

You Are Eligible IF:
*You have received a citation from a

participating law enforcement agency;
*You do not wish to contest your citation;
*you have not had a conviction for any
moving violation within the past two years;
and _ o
*you have not participated in the Chisago.
County Driver Awareness Program within
the past 12 months.
A driver may only attend TWO classes
through the Chisago County Driver

Awareness Program in a lifetime.

Program Benefits:

NO fine;

NO court appearance;

NO conviction entry on your driving record; -
but,

MOST IMPORTANT — IMPROVED DRIVING
HABITS! .

CHISAGO COUNTY DRIVER
AWARENESS PROGRAM (Course)
7:00 pm — 9:00 pm
Chisago County
Government Center
313 N. Main St., Room 131
Center City, MIN 55012
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City of North Branch in Chisago County

Program Name: Driver Awareness Program

Brief Program Description: The North Branch Police Department participates in the Chisago
County Driver Awareness Program offered by the Chisago County Sheriff’s Department. If the
class is successfully completed, the violation will not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $75 (payable to the North Branch Police Department)

Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: The program is used for petty misdemeanor moving violations,
including speeding up to 19 mph over the speed limit, and petty misdemeanor equipment
violations.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in the Chisago County Driver Awareness Program within the last 12 months or twice
in a lifetime, or has a conviction for any moving violation within the past two years. The class is
not available for speeding in a school or construction zone, drug or alcohol-related offenses, or
no proof of insurance violations.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No

When Did Program Begin? September 2013

Description of Class: The two-hour class is taught by Sheriff Department deputies at the
Chisago County Government Center.

Revenues: Program too new for January through June 2013 revenues.

Additional Information: The County will bill the City $25 for every participant the City sends
through the program.

9 The City’s participation in the Program was approved at the August 12, 2013, City Council meeting. See City of
North Branch City Council Meeting Minutes for Aug. 12, 2013 (item B3). The first traffic ticket eligible for the
program was issued on September 7, 2013.
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North Branch

Police Department

6408 Elm Street,
PO BOX 910, North Branch, MN 55056

DRIVER AWARENESS
PROGRAM

IN ORDER TO PARTICIPATE IN THE
PROGRAM, YOU MUST REGISTER
IN-PERSON OR BY TELEPHONE
WITHIN 14 DAYS
OF RECEIVING A CITATION.

In-Person Registration:
Register at the North Branch Police Department

located in the lower level of the North Branch
City Hall Building:

6408 Elm Street,

PO BOX 910,

North Branch, MN 55056

Monday — Friday ¢ 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

. Provide photo ID, copy of citation and pay 575
cash, check or money order.

Phone Registration:
Call the North Branch Police Department at:

651-674-8848

Monday — Friday » 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Mail $75 check or money order made payable
to the North Branch Police Department:

ATTN: Driver Awareness Program

6408 Elm Street,

PO BOX 910,

North Branch, MN 55056

Bring a photo ID and a copy of the citation with
you to your scheduled course.

You MUST register and submit $75 fee
WITHIN 14 DAYS of receiving citation.
The 14 days INCLUDES weekends and holidays.

&3




Course attendance is MANDATORY
for successful completion of
the program.

NO registration or payment accepted at
the time of scheduled course!
If you miss the course you are registed
for, there is NO REFUND.

You Are Eligible IF:
*You have received a citation from a

participating law enforcement agency;
*You do not wish to contest your citation;
*You have not had a conviction for any

moving violation within the past two years;
and

*You have not participated in the Chisago
County Driver Awareness Program within
the past 12 months.

A driver may only attend
TWO classes through the
Chisago County Driver
Awareness Program in a lifetime.

Program Benefits:
NO fine;

NO court appearance;

NO conviction entry on your driving record;
but,

MOST IMPORTANT — IMPROVED DRIVING
HABITS!

COURSE LOCATED AT:
CHISAGO COUNTY DRIVER
AWARENESS PROGRAM (Course)
7:00 P.M. - 9:00 P.M.
Chisago County
Government Center
313 N. Main Street, Room 131
Center City, MN 55012
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City of Wyoming in Chisago County

Program Name: Driver Awareness Program

Brief Program Description: The Wyoming Police Department participates in the Chisago
County Driver Awareness Program offered by the Chisago County Sheriff’s Department. If the
class is successfully completed, the violation will not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $75 (payable to “Wyoming Public Safety”)

Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: The program is used for petty misdemeanor moving violations,
including speeding up to 19 mph over the speed limit, and petty misdemeanor equipment
violations.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in the Chisago County Driver Awareness Program within the last 12 months or twice
in a lifetime, or has a conviction for any moving violation within the past two years. The class is
not available for misdemeanor offenses, speeding in a school or construction zone, drug or
alcohol-related offenses, incidents involving crashes or more than one charge, or no proof of
insurance violations.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? Yes

When Did Program Begin? July 2013

Description of Class: The two-hour class is taught by Sheriff Department deputies at the
Chisago County Government Center.

Revenues: Program too new for January through June 2013 revenues.
Additional Information: The County will bill the City $25 for every participant the City sends

through the program. As of October 1, 2013, the City had not received any billings from the
County for participants the City sent through the program.
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Chisago County g
Sheriff’s Office
313 North Main Street, Room 100
Center City, MN 55012

DRIVER AWARENESS
PROGRAM

IN ORDER TO PARTICIPATE IN THE
PROGRAM, YOU MUST REGISTER
IN-PERSON OR BY TELEPHONE

WITHIN 14 DAYS
OF RECEIVING A CITATION.

In-Person Registration:
Register at the Chisago County Sheriff’s

Office located in the Chisago County
Government Center, 313 North Main Street,
Room 100, Center City, MN 55012;

Provide photo ID and a copy of citation;
And Pay $75 cash, check or money order.

Phone Registration:
Call 651-213-6309 or 651-213-6317, Monday

— Friday between 8:00 am — 4:30 pm;

Mail $75 check or money order made
payable to the “Chisago County Sheriff’s
Office” to the Chisago County Sheriff’s
Office, ATTN: Driver Awareness Program,
313 North Main Street, Room #100, Center
City, MN 55012; and bring photo ID and a
copy of citation with you to your scheduled
course.

You MUST register and submit $75 fee

WITHIN 14 DAYS of receiving citation.
The 14 days INCLUDES weekends and holidays.




Course attendance is MANDATORY for
successful completion of the
program.

NO registration or payment accepted
at the time of scheduled course!

If you miss the course you are
registered for, there is NO REFUND.

You Are Eligible IF:

*You have received a citation from a
participating law enforcement agency;

*You do not wish to contest your citation;

*You have not had a conviction for any
moving violation within the past two years;
and

*You have not participated in the Chisago
County Driver Awareness Program within
the past 12 months.

A driver may only attend TWO classes
through the Chisago County Driver

Awareness Program in a lifetime.

Program Benefits:

NO fine;

NO court appearance;

NO conviction entry on your driving record;
but,

MOST IMPORTANT - IMPROVED DRIVING
HABITS!

CHISAGO COUNTY DRIVER
AWARENESS PROGRAM (Course)
7:00 pm —-9:00 pm
Chisago County
Government Center
313 N. Main St., Room 131
Center City, MN 55012




Goodhue County

Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: “This diversion class has been approved by the Goodhue County
Criminal Justice Advisory Committee.”® If the class is successfully completed, the violation
will not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $80 (raised from $75 in February 2011)
Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Citations issued by a Goodhue County law enforcement officer
for speeding (no more than 15 mph over the posted speed limit); violation of a stop sign, stop
light, or yield sign; driving left of the center line (not DUI-related); passing or lane violations;
following too closely; failure to signal; and making an illegal turn are eligible for the program.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in a Driver Awareness Class in Goodhue County in the last 6 months, has
participated in three Driver Awareness Classes in a five-year period, or has more than two prior
moving violations in the past 12 months, excluding alcohol-related offenses. It is not available
for parking tickets; citations resulting from an accident; multiple violations; or “major
violations” such as careless driving, DUI, leaving the scene of an accident, or driving without a
license.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure
Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No
When Did Program Begin? Approximately 2008

Description of Class: The two-hour class is taught by a deputy at the Goodhue County Law
Enforcement Center.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $24,720
2012 $59,680
2011 $73,870
2010 $93,150

% Goodhue County Sheriff’s Office Driver Awareness Class brochure.
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Safe Driving Tips

Use the “3-second rule” to judge sale
following distances.

Before you start driving at night or in
inclement weather, check your headlights
and signals to be sure they are clear and
working properly. Make sure your wipers
are working properly.

Drinking and driving is irresponsible and
very dangerous.

Keep shifting your view, checking in all
directions around your vehicle.

Bicyclists should travel on the right side of
the road, riding with the flow of traffic.

Pedestrians should travel on the left side
of the road, moving towards the
oncoming traffic.

Practice and master good driving habits.
Expect a train at any time at a crossing.
It is unsafe to drive around crossing gates.

The principle contributing cause in vehicle-
train crashes is motor vehicle driver error.

Last, but not least, remember, that you have
earned the right to operate an automobile.
Don’t abuse it.

GOODHUE COUNTY SHERIFF’'S
OFFICE CORE VALUES

Integrity
Professionalism

Reverence for the law
Vision

GOODHUE COUNTY
LAW ENFORCEMENT CENTER
430 West 6th Street
Red Wing, Minnesota 55066
651-267-2600

This diversion class has been
approved by the Goodhue County
Criminal Justice Advisory Committe

GOODHUE COUNTY
SHERIFF’S OFFICE

SPEED
LIMIT

55

Take Our
Driver Awareness Class
And Have:

No Fine
No Court Appearance
No Entry on Your Driving Record

Most Importantly . . .
Improve Your Driving Habits

ﬁ WIBION.
'!i» 3> ““L"

Goodhue County Sheriff
Scott T. McNurlin

Attend and learn the traffic laws
and have your traffic citation diverted
upon completion of the course.

Persons must register for the Driver Awareness Class
within 10 working days after receiving the citation.
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YOU ARE ELIGIBLE . ..

« I your citation was issued by a

Goodhue County Law Enforcement Officer.

* If your Goodhue County citation was for:
« Speeding and the speed is no more

than 15 mph over the posted speed limit.

Violation of a stop sign, stop light or
yield sign.
Driving left of the center line
(not DUI related).
Passing or lane violations.
Following too closely.
Failure to signal.
» Making an illegal turn.
* If you do not wish to contest your ticket.
« [f you have not participated in Driver
Awareness Class in Goodhue County,in
the last six months.
* If you have not had more than two prior
moving violations in the past 12 months,
excluding alcohol-related offenses.

YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE . . .

» 1f your Goodhue County citation was for:

* Parking tickets.

» Citations resulting f[rom an accident.
Multiple proving violations.
Major violations such as careless
driving, DUI, leaving the scene of an
accident or driving without a license.
If you have already participated in
three Driver Awareness Classes in a
five yvear period.

GOODHUE COUNTY
SHERIFF’S OFFICE

CLASSES ARE HELD AT
Goodhue County
Law Enforcement Center

430 West 6th Street
Red Wing, Minnesota 55066
651-267-2600

DO NOT CALL THE
COURT ADMINISTRATOR'’S OFFICE

L % %
" 6Y. ¢ & \
RO A4 %N
Directions to the . )
Goodhue County Sheriff's Office

REGISTRATION

Persons must register for the Driver Awareness
Class within 10 working days after receiving the
citation. Registration may be done by calling
651-267-2600, or be done in person at the
Goodhue County Sheriff’s Office front lobby
window, open Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

If registering over the telephone, you must provide
your name, phone number and citation number.

If registering in person, you must provide a copy
of the citation.

The cost of the class is $80, payable by cash
(exact amount), check or money order. Payment
may be made at the door on the night of the class
or when registering in person at the Goodhue
County Sheriff's Office. A driver’s license must be
shown as proof of identification when paying.

Class times will be on designated Mondays
starting at 6:30 p.m. sharp! Those paying at the
door need to arrive no later than 6 p.m. If you
are late or fail to appear, your ticket will be sent
to court and any class fee paid will be forfeited.
You will then be expected to appear in court and
will not be eligible to continue with the Driver
Awareness Class.

The class is approximately 2 hours. There is
no failing if you attend this class.

Goodhue County Sheriff
Scott T. McNurlin




City of Red Wing in Goodhue County
Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: The Red Wing Police Department offers a Driver Awareness
Class for those who have been stopped for certain traffic violations in the City. If the program is
successfully completed, the violation will not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $100 fee ($75 for seatbelt violations)

Amount Remitted to State: The $75 surcharge is taken out of the program fee and remitted to
the State.

Offenses Eligible for Program: Eligible traffic offenses include speed (up to 15 mph over the
limit), stop sign, stop light, yield sign, driving left of center (not DUI-related), passing or lane,
following too closely, failure to signal, illegal turn, driving over/through/around barricades,
failure to obey traffic control devices, texting while driving, driving without a cycle
endorsement, failure to yield right of way, failure to yield to pedestrian (first offense only),
motorized bicycle, obstructing view of driver, wearing headphones while operating a motor
vehicle, motorcycle or motor vehicle headlamp requirements, seatbelt, muffler requirements,
windshield covered with steam/frost/ice, or failure to move left/slow for emergency vehicle
(“Ted Foss” law) violations.

Ineligibility: The program is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in the City of Red Wing or the Goodhue County Sheriff Department’s Driver
Awareness Class in the last 12 months; has more than two prior moving violations in the past
12 months; has previously participated in two Driver Awareness Classes; or has a DUI, open
bottle, careless driving, or driving without a license conviction within the past five years. It does
not cover parking violations, citations resulting from an accident, multiple violations, or leaving
the scene of an accident.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No. According to a July 26, 2010, City
Council Agenda Report from the City’s former Police Chief, administrative citations were
considered, but the 2009 law (Minn. Stat. § 169.999) was “very limited.”

When Did Program Begin? July 2010%

Description of Class: The approximately two-hour class is taught by a City police officer at the
Goodhue County Law Enforcement Center.

%! See City of Red Wing City Council Meeting Minutes for July 26, 2010. The first revenues from the program were
receipted by the City in October 2010.
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Revenues:

City of Red Wing -
Driver Awareness Class Fees and Surcharges Remitted to State

Driver Awareness Surcharges
Class Fees (Includes Remitted to
Year Surcharges) State Difference

2010 $4,775 $4,775
2011 36,030 22,530
2012 28,105 7,105
Jan. - June 2013 9,075 2,550

Additional Information: According to a July 26, 2010, City Council Agenda Report from the
City’s former Police Chief, program fees would be used to purchase City Police Department
related equipment and general Police Department operational needs. The City is considering
discontinuance of the program.
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SAFE DRIVING TIPS

Use the “3 second rule” to judge safe
following distances.

Before you start driving at night or in
inclement weather, check your headlights
and signals to be sure they are clear and
working properly. Make sure your wipers
are working properly.

Drinking and driving is irresponsible and

very dangerous.

Keep shifting your view, checking in all

directions around your vehicle.

Bicyclists should travel on the right side of
the road, riding with the flow of traffic.

Pedestrians should travel on the left side of
the road, moving towards the oncoming
traffic.

Practice and master good driving habits.
Expect a train at any time at a crossing.
It is unsafe to drive around crossing gates.

The principle contributing cause in vehicle-
train crashes is motor vehicle driver error.

You have earned the right to
operate an automobile.
Don’t abuse it.

CLASSES ARE HELD AT THE BELOW
LISTED LOCATION UNLESS OTHERWISE
NOTIFIED:

sesfeskesieskeoseosieskosteoloskoieskoskokeskokolkoskoiok skokskoiokoskoiokoskokskorskokokskoksk

Goodhue County Law Enforcement Center
430 W. 6th St.
Red Wing, MN 55066

For information call:
651-267-2604 or 651-267-2605
DO NOT CALL COURT ADMINISTRATOR’S OFFICE

LR RO o L R R e e R O R A R A R S R R R O R O O e o

REGISTRATION FORM

If you have registered for class by PHONE
please send in the following information

with payment at least 5 days before class.
(please print)

Last name:

First name:
Middle name:
Date of birth:
Phone number:
Citation number:

(mail to)
Red Wing Police Department
Att. Drivers Awareness Class
Goodhue County Law Enforcement Center
430 W. 6th Street
Red Wing, MN 55066

("ilynl’

REL ING

RED WING
POLICE DEPARTMENT
DRIVER
A WARENESS
CLASS

NO FINE
NO COURT APPEARANCE

NO ENTRY ON
YOUR DRIVING RECORD

IMPROVE YOUR DRIVING HABITS!

Educate and learn the traffic laws and
have your traffic citation diverted upon

completion of the course.
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DRIVER AWARENESS CLASS

YOU ARE ELIGIBLE...

If your citation was issued by a Red Wing

police officer and was for:

* Speeding and the
speed is no more than
15 mph over the posted
speed limit.

*Violation of a stop sign,
stop light or yield sign.

*Driving left of the
center line (not DUI
related).

*#Passing or lane

violations.
*Following too closely.
*#Failure to signal.
*Making an illegal turn.

* Drive over/through/
around barricades.

*Failure to obey traffic
control devices.

#Texting while driving.

*Driving without cycle

endorsement.

*Failure to yield right of

Vvay .

*#Failure to yield to
pedestrian. (1st offense

only)

*Motorized bicycle
violations.

#*Obstructing view of

driver.

*Wearing headphones
while operating
motor vehicle.

*Headlamps required
motor vehicle and

motorcycles.

*Seatbelt violation. (8§75

fee for class)
*Muffler required.

*Windshield covered
with steam/frost/ice.

+“Ted Foss” Move Over
Law.

YOU ARE ELIGIBLE...

If you do not wish to contest your ticket.

If you have not participated in a Driver
Awareness Class sponsored by the City of Red
Wing Police Department or the Goodhue Coun-
ty Sherift’s Department in the last 12 months.

If you have not had more than two prior moving

violations in the past 12 months.

If you have not had a DUI, Open Bottle, Care-
less Driving or Driving Without a License

conviction within the past 5 years and also must
not have any other moving violations within the

same time period, you may attend.

YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE...

If your City of Red Wing Police Department

citation was for:

 Parking tickets.

o Citations resulting from an accident.
e Multiple violations.

e Leaving the Scene of an Accident.

o If you have already participated in two Driver

Awareness Classes.

REGISTRATION AND COST

Persons must register for the Driver Aware-
ness Class within 10 working days after re-
ceiving the citation.

Registration may be done by calling 651-267-2604
or 651-267-2605, or done in person by stopping at
the Goodhue County Law Enforcement Center front
lobby window, Monday - Friday 8 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.

If registering by phone, you must provide your
name, date of birth, phone number and citation

number.

If registering in person, you must provide a copy of
the citation.

Fee to attend the Driver Awareness Class is $100,
except §75 for Seatbelt violations, payable by cash (exact

amount), check or money order.

Payment may be made when registering for class in
person at the Law Enforcement Center, by mail or

the night of the class.

Driver’s License must be shown as proof of
identification.

Classes will be held on designated Wednesday’s
starting at 6:30 p.m. sharp and last about 2 hours.

Those paying the night of the class must arrive at 6
p-m.

Those that are late or fail to appear will have their
citations sent to court and any class fee paid to attend
will be forfeited. You will then be expected to ap-
pear in court and will not be eligible to continue

with the Driver Awareness Class.

THERE IS NO FAILING IF
YOU ATTEND THE CLASS!




Grant County

Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: “This diversion class is approved by the Grant County & City
Attorney’s Office.”? If the class is successfully completed, the violation will not appear on the
person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $65 (payable in cash at the class or at the Sheriff’s Office)

Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Citations issued by the Grant County Sheriff’s Department, or
the Elbow Lake or Ashby Police Departments, for speeding (no more than 15 mph over the
posted speed limit), violation of a stop sign or yield sign, and “most driving violations” are
eligible for the program.?®

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in a Driver Awareness Class in Grant County in the past 6 months, has been to two
classes within 12 months, or has more than two prior moving violations in the past 12 months. It
is not available for parking violations, citations resulting from an accident, or alcohol-related
violations.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No

When Did Program Begin? 2007

Description of Class: The approximately two-hour class is taught by a law enforcement officer
at the Elbow Lake Community Building.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $ 2,990
2012 $10,495
2011 $ 9,030
2010 $11,800

22 Grant County Sheriff’s Office, Ashby Police Dep’t, and Elbow Lake Police Dep’t Driver Awareness Diversion
Class brochure.
2 Grant County Sheriff’s Office, Ashby Police Dep’t, and Elbow Lake Police Dep’t Driver Awareness Diversion
Class brochure.
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Safe Driving Tips

1. Use the two second rule to judge safe
following distances.

2. Practice good driving habits.

3. Keep shifting your view to check in
all directions atound your vehicle.

4. Before driving in inclement weather
or at night check to make sure your
lights all work.

5. Keep your vehicle well maintained.

6. Check yous tire pressure often.

7. If you are walking, you should be on
the left side of the road, moving

towards oncoming traffic.

8. At any railroad Crossing expect a
train all the time.

9. Bicyclists should travel on the right

side of the roadway, riding with the
flow of traffic.

10. Last but not least, remember that
you have earned the privilege to
operate an automobile. Don’t abuse it
or you may loose it.

GRANT COUNTY
LAW ENFORCEMENT:

GRANT COUNTY
SHERIFF'S OUVFICE

ASHBY POLICE DEPT

ELBOW LAKE

POLICE DEPT

DRIVER AWARNESS DIVERSION
CLASS

Take our
DRIVER AWARENESS CIASS
And Have:
No Court Appearance
No Entty On Your Dtiving Record

Improve Your Driving Habits

Next Class Date:

You have 13 days to sign up for the
Traffic Diversion Class. If you do not
sign up with in the 13 days your
citation will be sent to the courts. You
will not be able take the class, and you
will be responsible for the state fine
listed on the bottom of the citation.

Become Educated on the traffic laws
and have your traffic citation diverted
upon completion of this course.
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TO REGISTER

1 . You can register by calling the Grant
County Sheriff's Office (218-685-8280) or

by stopping in at the Shedffs Office.

2. You MUST bring your citation and
this brochure.

3. The class fee is $65.00 payable in
cash (exact change) at the time of
class, or at the Sheriff's Office.

4. Your driver’s license must be shown
as proof of identification when you
check into class.

5. Class will be the 3 Tuesday of every
month. It begins at 6:30 PM sharp! If
you are late, or fail to appear, the class
fee will be forfeited and your citation
will be sent to court and you will not be
eligible to continue with the Driver
Awareness Class.

7. The class is approximately 2 hours

long. There is no failing if you attend
and participate in the class.

NOTE: The Driver Awareness class
must be completed before the court
date on your citation.

CLASSES ARE HELD AT:

In the basement of:

Elbow Lake Community Building
Thorson Memorial Building
17 Central Ave N Elbow Lake, MN

DO NOT CALL THE COURT
ADMIISTRATOR’S OFFICE

If you need better directions call
218-685-8280

YaHoO!,

200m
=
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"This diversion class is approved by the
Grant County & City Attorney’s Office.

YOU ARE ELIGIBLE... ...
(MUST MEET ALL CRITERIA BELOW)

1) If your citation was issued by the
Elbow Lake Police Dept, Grant

County Sheriff's Dept, or Ashby Police
Dept.

2.) Your Citation was for one of the
following violations:

Speeding, no more than 15 mph over
the posted speed limit. Stop sigm, ot
yield sign violation. Most driving
violations both state statue and
ordinance.

3.) You do not wish to contest your
citation.

4.) You have not participated in a
Driver Awareness Class in Grant
County in the past 6 months.

5.) You have not had more than two

prior moving violations in the past 12
months.

YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE

If your citation was for any of the
following;

1. Parking violation
2. Citation resulting from an accident.
3. Alcohol related violations.

4. If you have been to two classes with
in 12 months.



City of Ashby in Grant County

Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: “This diversion class is approved by the Grant County & City
Attorney’s Office.”®* If the class is successfully completed, the violation will not appear on the
person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $65 (payable in cash at the class or at the Sheriff’s Office)

Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Citations issued by the Grant County Sheriff’s Department, or
the Elbow Lake or Ashby Police Departments, for speeding (no more than 15 mph over the
posted speed limit), violation of a stop sign or yield sign, and “most driving violations” are
eligible for the program.?®

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in a Driver Awareness Class in Grant County in the past six months, has been to two
classes within 12 months, or has more than two prior moving violations in the past 12 months. It
is not available for parking violations, citations resulting from an accident, or alcohol-related
violations.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No

When Did Program Begin? 2007

Description of Class: The approximately two-hour class is taught by a law enforcement officer
at the Elbow Lake Community Building.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $ -
2012 $ 65
2011 $ 845
2010 $ 715

2% Grant County Sheriff’s Office, Ashby Police Dep’t, and Elbow Lake Police Dep’t Driver Awareness Diversion
Class brochure.

% The OSA did not include the City of Elbow Lake’s program in this review because of its small size. The Elbow
Lake Police Chief informed the OSA that approximately four tickets from the City have used the program.

101



This page left blank intentionally



€01

Safe Driving Tips

1. Use the two second rule to judge safe
following distances.

2. Practice good driving habits.

3. Keep shifting your view to check in
all directions atound your vehicle.

4. Before driving in inclement weather
or at night check to make sure your
lights all work.

5. Keep your vehicle well maintained.

6. Check yous tire pressure often.

7. If you are walking, you should be on
the left side of the road, moving

towards oncoming traffic.

8. At any railroad Crossing expect a
train all the time.

9. Bicyclists should travel on the right

side of the roadway, riding with the
flow of traffic.

10. Last but not least, remember that
you have earned the privilege to
operate an automobile. Don’t abuse it
or you may loose it.

GRANT COUNTY
LAW ENFORCEMENT:

GRANT COUNTY
SHERIFF'S OUVFICE

ASHBY POLICE DEPT

ELBOW LAKE

POLICE DEPT

DRIVER AWARNESS DIVERSION
CLASS

Take our
DRIVER AWARENESS CIASS
And Have:
No Court Appearance
No Entty On Your Dtiving Record

Improve Your Driving Habits

Next Class Date:

You have 13 days to sign up for the
Traffic Diversion Class. If you do not
sign up with in the 13 days your
citation will be sent to the courts. You
will not be able take the class, and you
will be responsible for the state fine
listed on the bottom of the citation.

Become Educated on the traffic laws
and have your traffic citation diverted
upon completion of this course.
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TO REGISTER

1 . You can register by calling the Grant
County Sheriff's Office (218-685-8280) or

by stopping in at the Shedffs Office.

2. You MUST bring your citation and
this brochure.

3. The class fee is $65.00 payable in
cash (exact change) at the time of
class, or at the Sheriff's Office.

4. Your driver’s license must be shown
as proof of identification when you
check into class.

5. Class will be the 3 Tuesday of every
month. It begins at 6:30 PM sharp! If
you are late, or fail to appear, the class
fee will be forfeited and your citation
will be sent to court and you will not be
eligible to continue with the Driver
Awareness Class.

7. The class is approximately 2 hours

long. There is no failing if you attend
and participate in the class.

NOTE: The Driver Awareness class
must be completed before the court
date on your citation.

CLASSES ARE HELD AT:

In the basement of:

Elbow Lake Community Building
Thorson Memorial Building
17 Central Ave N Elbow Lake, MN

DO NOT CALL THE COURT
ADMIISTRATOR’S OFFICE

If you need better directions call
218-685-8280

YaHoO!,
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"This diversion class is approved by the
Grant County & City Attorney’s Office.

YOU ARE ELIGIBLE... ...
(MUST MEET ALL CRITERIA BELOW)

1) If your citation was issued by the
Elbow Lake Police Dept, Grant

County Sheriff's Dept, or Ashby Police
Dept.

2.) Your Citation was for one of the
following violations:

Speeding, no more than 15 mph over
the posted speed limit. Stop sigm, ot
yield sign violation. Most driving
violations both state statue and
ordinance.

3.) You do not wish to contest your
citation.

4.) You have not participated in a
Driver Awareness Class in Grant
County in the past 6 months.

5.) You have not had more than two

prior moving violations in the past 12
months.

YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE

If your citation was for any of the
following;

1. Parking violation
2. Citation resulting from an accident.
3. Alcohol related violations.

4. If you have been to two classes with
in 12 months.



City of Grand Rapids in Itasca County

Program Name: Traffic Education Program (TEP)

Brief Program Description: The Grand Rapids Police Department offers a Traffic Education
Program for those who have been stopped for certain petty misdemeanor and misdemeanor
traffic offenses in the City. If the program is successfully completed, the violation will not
appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $110 fee. If more than one offense is on the citation, an additional $50 per
offense is charged. (“For example, if you received two offenses on a single citation, you will pay
$160. Your savings will be $90.7%°)

Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Eligible traffic offenses include speed (up to 25 mph over the
limit),?’ driving over/through a barricade, failure to obey a control device/semaphore, failure to
obey a flagger’s instructions in a work zone, exhibition or inattentive driving, passing on the
right where prohibited, failing to yield (including to an emergency vehicle), texting or wearing
headphones while driving, failure to move left/slow for emergency vehicle (“Ted Foss” law), and
seatbelt violations, among others.

Ineligibility: Drivers “may use TEP twice in a 12 month period to have [their] citation
dismissed.”?®

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? Used prior to 2013
When Did Program Begin? January 2013

Description of Class: 8 - 10 minute on-line class

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) from TEP $29,590

26 TEP brochure (emphasis in original).

" The City’s Police Chief informed the OSA that speeding up to 25 mph over the limit is eligible for TEP.
However, the supporting list of eligible offenses the Police Chief provided to the OSA includes speeding up to
30 mph over the limit.

% TEP brochure.
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City of Grand Rapids -
Administrative Traffic Ticket (Minn. Stat. § 169.999) Revenues

Year Amount Collected Amount Remitted to MMB Net

2012 $19,320 $6,440 $12,880
2011 18,620 6,140 12,480
2010 15,710 5,280 10,430

Additional Information: Financial Crimes Services, LLC, developed the program, and charged
the City a one-time programming fee of $15,000, with yearly costs estimated at $4,180.2° The
TEP brochure lists the average increase in auto insurance premiums for various traffic tickets.

% See Services Agreement Traffic Diversion Database/Patriot Order for the City of Grand Rapids (Aug. 13, 2012).
See also City of Grand Rapids City Council Meeting Minutes for Aug. 13, 2012 (item 15). In 2012, the City paid
the vendor $21,181.66. The City paid the vendor $1,928.03 in 2013, as of September 27, 2013.
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If you decide NOT to participate in
this program, you are required to
pay or set a court appearance with-
in 30 days of the issuance of the ci-
tation.

If you wish not to participate in this
program, please follow instruc-
tions on the back of the citation
you were issued.

What is a petty

misdemeanor?

A petty misdemeanor is not a crime
and therefore carries no jail time.
The maximum fine for a petty mis-
demeanor is $300. You may be rep-
resented by an attorney hired at
your own expense. If you wish to
plead not guilty, you are entitled to
a court trial. A court trial is a trial by
a judge without a jury.

What is a misdemeanor?

A misdemeanor is a crime. The
maximum penalty is $1,000 and/
or 90 days in jail. If you cannot af-
ford an attorney to represent you,
you may apply for a public defend-
er. You will need to provide finan-
cial information to determine if you
are eligible. If you wish to plead not
guilty, you are entitled to a jury trial.
At trial, the jury would consist of six
persons and all six persons would
have to agree that you are guilty
before you could be convicted and
sentenced.

“l can’t believe how easy the
program was and how quick it
was to resolve my traffic tick-
et. | recommend anyone who
is eligible to take the Traffic
Education Program- to take it.
You have nothing to lose!”

The Traffic Education Program (TEP) is
an educational program offered by the
Grand Rapids Police Department.

If you receive a citation and are eligible,
the city prosecutor will dismiss your ci-
tation. You will in return not have to at-
tend court and the citation will not be
on your record.

Requirements of TEP are simple:

Register your citation online

Pay the $110 TEP fee*

Participate in an eight minute edu-
cational class and pass a 30 questions
test.

You must complete TEP within 20
days of issuance of the citation.

*If you have more than one offense on
your citation, you will be required to
pay an additional $50 per offense to
participate in TEP. For example, if you
received two offenses on a single cita-
tion, you will pay $160. Your savings
will be $90.

Traffic Education

Program

Your safety is important to us!

You have received a ticket
in Grand Rapids and are
eligible for the Traffic
Education Program (TEP).
This ticket charges you
with a petty misdemeanor
or a misdemeanor. You
may use TEP twice in a 12
month period to have your
citation dismissed. Your
safety is important to us!
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If you received two offenses on
a single citation, you will pay only
$160. Savings: $90.

On average, two tickets on your
record can increase your insur-
ance premiums by 22%. Savings
tip: Forbes magazine survey states
that on average a speeding ticket
can raise your insurance 11 to 15%.
Reckless driving can increase your
insurance up to 22%.

Drivers going more than 15 miles
above the posted speed limit will
see their auto insurance premium
increase more than drivers who are
ticketed for going only five miles
above the speed limit. Savings tip:
don’t drive more than five miles
over the posted speed limit.

According to the Minnesota De-
partment of Motor Vehicles, signing
a ticket isn’t an admission of guilt,
but paying your fine is. Savings tip:
a clear record and insurance pre-
mium increase.

You are eligible to participate in
the TEP for the following
violations:

Equipment Violation
Moving Violation
Ordinance Violation
Parking Violation

Status Offense

Other Limited Violations

Common tickets will increase auto
premiums, on average®:

Reckless driving: 22%

DUI first offense: 19%

Driving without a license or per-
mit: 18%

Careless driving: 16%

Speeding 30 mph over the limit:
15%

Failure to stop: 15%

Improper turn: 14%

Improper passing: 14%

Following too close/tailgating:
13%

Speeding 15 to 29 mph over
limit: 12%

Speeding 1to 14 mph over limit:
1%

Failure to yield: 9%

No car insurance: 6%

Seat belt infractions: 3%

*as determined by Insurance.com

HOW TO GET YOUR
CITATION DISMISSED:

M Have your citation and drivers
license ready.

M Log onto
http://GrandRapids.TrafficEd.net

B Register with your citation
and drivers license.

M Pay with your credit card.

M Take the online course and
test.

B You must complete within 20
days of issuance of the citation.

M That’s it, you’re finished!

Upon successful completion of
the test, the prosecuting at-
torney will be notified and the
citation(s) and fine(s) will be
dismissed.

Having troubles accessing the
website? Please call (651)385-
8100.

Traffic Education Program is
managed by:

Diversion Solutions

PO Box 10

Red Wing, MN 55066




Kandiyohi County
Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: The “diversion class is approved as part of the Kandiyohi County
Attorney’s Office Diversion Program.”° If the class is successfully completed, the violation will
not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $75
Amount Remitted to State? $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Citations issued by a Kandiyohi County law enforcement
officer for speeding (no more than 15 mph over the posted speed limit); violation of a stop sign,
stop light, or yield sign; driving left of the center line (not DUI-related); passing or lane
violations; following too close; failure to signal; and making an illegal turn are eligible for the
program.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation; has
participated in a Driver Awareness Class in Kandiyohi County in the last 12 months; has
participated in two Driver Awareness Classes; or has more than two prior moving violations in
the past 12 months, excluding alcohol-related offenses. It is not available for parking tickets;
citations resulting from an accident; multiple violations; or “major violations” such as careless
driving, DUI, leaving the scene of an accident, or driving without a license.

Uses Uniform Ticket Citation? Yes, and brochure
Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No
When Did Program Begin? 2004

Description of Class: The two-hour class is taught by a deputy at the Kandiyohi Law
Enforcement Center.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $ 5325
2012 $29,550
2011 $31,275
2010 $28,350

% Kandiyohi County Sheriff’s Office Driver Awareness Class brochure.
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Safe Driving Tips

Use the “2 second rule” to judge safe
following distances.

Before you start driving at night or in
inclement weather, check your head-
lights and signals to be sure they are
clear and working properly. Make sure
your wipers are working properly.

Drinking and driving is irresponsible
and very dangerous.

Keep shifting your view, checking in all
directions around your vehicle.

Bicyclists should travel on the right
side of the road, riding with the flow
of traffic.

Pedestrians should travel on the left
side of the road, moving towards the
oncoming traffic.

Practice and master good driving
habits.

Expect a train at any time at a crossing.

It is unsafe to drive around crossing
gates.

The principle contributing cause in
vehicle-train crashes is motor vehicle
driver error.

Last but not least, remember, that you
have earned the right to operate an
automobile. Don't abuse it.

Kandiyohi County Sheriff's Office
Mission Statement
on Traffic Enforcement:

~ensure safety for all motorists,

bicyclists and pedestrians who
use the roads in Kandiyohi County.

ORCEMENT CENTER

| 23rd Street NE
mar, MN 56201
14-6700

Sy .

Take Our

DRIVER AWARENESS CLASS
And Have:

No Fine
No Court Appearance
No Entry on Your Driving Record

Most Importantly...
Improve Your Driving Habits!!
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YOU ARE ELIGIBLE...

* If your citation was issued by a
Kandiyohi County Law Enforcement
Officer.

¢ If your Kandiyohi County citation
was for:

* Speeding and the speed is no
more-than 15 mph over the
posted speed limit.

* Violation of a stop sign, stop light
or yield sign.

* Driving left of the center line
(not DUI related).

* Passing or lane violations.

* Following too closely.

¢ Failure to signal.

* Making an illegal turn.

* If you do not wish to contest your
ticket.

* If you have not participated in a Driver
Awareness Class in Kandiyohi County
in the last 12 months.

¢ If you have not had more than two
prior moving violations in the past
12 months, excluding alcohol related
offenses.

YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE...

If your Kandiyohi County citation
was for:

* Parking tickets.
= Citations resulting from an accident.
= Multiple violations.

* Major violations such as careless
driving, DUI, leaving the scene of an
accident or driving without a license.

¢ If you have already participated in
two Driver Awareness Classes.

CLASSES ARE HELD AT
Kandiyohi County
Law Enforcement Center

2201 23rd Street NE
Willmar, MN 56201
320-214-6700

DO NOT CALL THE
COURT ADMINISTRATOR'S OFFICE

..;
-
|
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| Law Enforcement
= | Center

¥y, Wilimar
/A State
o~ L 2" Hospital

REGISTRATION
Persons must register for the Driver Awareness
Class within 10 working days after receiving
the citation.

You must register in person at the Kandiyohi
County Sheriff’s Office front window, open
24 hours a day.

To register you must bring your traffic citation.

The cost of the class is $75.00 payable by
check or money order.

Driver’s License must be shown as proof of
identification. -

Class times will be on designated Mondays
at 6:30 p.m. sharp! If you are late or fail to
appear, the class fee will be forfeited and your
ticket will be sent to court. You will then be
expected to appear in court and will not be

- eligible to continue with the Driver Awareness

Class.

Confirmed dates will be provided upon
registration.

The class is approximately 2 hours. There is
no failing if you attend this class.

The Driver Awareness Class must
be completed within 30 days
after the receipt of the citation.

Take Business 71 to Highway 294
Park in West Lot

or
Take Highway 71/23 bypass
to Civic Center Driv, it.
Turn right on Civic Center Drive and
travel to 23rd Street NE (second right).

COUNTY SHERIFF
Daniel R. Hartog

320-235-1260




Lac qui Parle County

Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: The “Driver Awareness Class is approved as part of the Lac qui
Parle County Attorney’s Office Diversion Program.”*" If the class is successfully completed, the
violation will not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $75

Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Citations issued by a Lac qui Parle County deputy for speeding
(no set limit on speed); violation of stop sign, stop light or yield sign; passing violations; lane
violations; failure to signal; illegal turn; and seatbelt violations are eligible for the program.
Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in a Driver Awareness Class in the last 12 months, or has more than two prior
moving violations in the last 12 months. It is not available for parking tickets; citations resulting
from an accident; multiple violations; or “major violations” such as careless driving, driving
while impaired, leaving the scene of an accident, or license offenses.

Uses Uniform Ticket Citation? Yes, and brochure

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No

When Did Program Begin? 2011

Description of Class: The two-hour class is taught by a deputy in the Lac qui Parle County
Multimedia Room.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $1,050
2012 $3,675
2011 $2,400

Additional Information: Due to the pending Wabasha County litigation, Lac qui Parle County
has suspended its program until further notice.

%1 Lac qui Parle County Sheriff’s Office Driver Awareness Class brochure.
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YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE

If your citation was for

Parking tickets
Citation Resulting from an accident
Multiple Violations

If you have attended a Lac qui Parle
County diversion class in the past
year

Major offenses, such as Careless
Driving, Driving While Impaired,
Leaving the Scene of an Accident,
License Offenses.

Lac qui Parle County Sheriffs

Office
600 6™ Street
Madison, MN 56256
320-598-3720

This Driver Awareness Class is
approved as part of the Lac qui Parle
County Attorney’s Office Diversion

Program

Rick Stulz, County Attorney

Lac qui Parle County
Sheriff’s Office

Driver Awareness Class

Learn traffic laws and have your citation
dismissed upon completion of the course
Pay no fine

Does not go on your driving record
Does not affect insurance rates
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YOU ARE ELIGIBLE...

e If your citation was issued to you by
a Lac qui Parle County Deputy.

If your citation was issued for:

e Speeding

Violation of stop sign, stop light, or
yield sign

Passing violations

Lane Violations

Failure to signal

Illegal turn

Seatbelt violations

e If you do not wish to contest your
citation

e Ifyou have NOT participated in a
Driver Awareness Class in the last
12 months

e [fyou have not had more than two
prior moving violations in the last
12 months

CLASSES ARE HELD AT :

THE LAC QUI PARLE
COUNTY MUTIMEDIA
ROOM

422 5™ Ave. Madison, MN
56256

REGISTRATION

Persons must register for the Driver
Awareness Class within 10 Days after
receiving the citation.

You can register at the Lac qui Parle County
Sheriff’s Office by phone at 320-598-3720

Class cost of $75 can be mailed in, paid in
person at the Sheriff’s Office, or paid at the
door on the night of the class. Payable by
check, money order, or Cash. Please do not
send cash in the mail

Class time will be on designated days at 6:30
p.m. If you fail to appear, the class fees will
be forfeited and you citation will be sent to
court. You will then be expected to appear in
court, and will no longer be eligible to
continue with the Driver Awareness Class

Confirmed Dates will be provided upon
registration.

Class is approximately 2 hours
The Driver Awareness Class must be

completed within 60 days after the receipt of
the citation



McLeod County
Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: “This diversion class is approved as part of the McLeod County
Attorney’s Office Diversion Program.”*? If the class is successfully completed, the violation will
not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $75
Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Citations issued by a McLeod County law enforcement officer
or a participating law enforcement agency for, as examples, speeding (no more than 20 mph over
the posted speed limit); violation of a stop sign, stop light, or yield sign; driving left of the center
line (not DUI-related); passing or lane violations; following too closely; failure to signal; and
making an illegal turn are eligible for the program.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in a Driver Awareness Class in McLeod County in the last 12 months, has
participated in two Driver Awareness Classes, or has more than two prior moving violations in
the past 12 months, excluding alcohol-related offenses. It is not available for parking tickets;
citations resulting from an accident; multiple violations; or “major violations” such as careless
driving, DUI, leaving the scene of an accident, or driving without a license.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure
Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No
When Did Program Begin? Approximately 2008

Description of Class: The two-hour class is taught by a deputy at the McLeod County
Courthouse.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $ 2,475
2012 $ 8,475
2011 $11,250
2010 $11,925

Additional Information: The program has been suspended, awaiting further direction from the
Legislature.

%2 McLeod County Sheriff’s Office Driver Awareness Class brochure.
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Safe Driving Tips

+ Make sure you check your
headlights, turn signals and wipers
to insure they are in good working

order before driving at night or in MclLeod County Sheriff

inclement weather.
4 Drinking and driving is Scott Rehmann

irresponsible and very dangerous.
+ Keep shifting your view, checking

in all directions around your S — T
vehicle. ; T
ake our
%+ Bicyclists should travel on the p— 121 £oDSCOUNTY LAV =,
right side of the road, riding with ;:":JEJE CENTER - DRIVE RA WARENESS
the flow of traffic. ' _ .'
4+ Pedestrians should travel on the e ' CLASS
left side of the road, moving = B And Have:
towards the oncoming traffic. No Fine

4+ Practice and master good driving No Court Appearance

habits. .

4+ Expect a train at any time at a No Entry on Your Driving Record
crossing. Most Importantly...

+ It is unsafe to drive around Improve Your Driving Habits!
crossing gates. This diversion class is approved as part of

4 The principle contributing cause in ~ the MclLeod County Attorney's Office Become educated about the
vehicle-train crashes is motor Diversion Program.

vehicle driver error. Mike Junge, McLeod County Attorney traffic laws and have your

Last but not least, remember, that traffic citation diverted upon

you have earned the right to operate completion of the course.
an automobile. Don't abuse it.
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You are Eligible...

If your citation was issued by a McLeod
County Law Enforcement Officer, or a
participating law enforcement agency.
If an officer gave you this pamphlet.
Some example citations are:
> Speeding and the speed is no more than

20 mph over the posted speed limit.
> Violation of a stop sign, stop light or
yield sign.
Driving left of the center line
(not DUI related).
Passing or lane violations.
Following too closely.
Failure to signal.
Making an illegal turn.
If you do not wish to contest your ticket.
If you have not participated in a Driver
Awareness Class in McLeod County in the
last 12 months.
If you have not had more than two prior
moving violations in the past 12 months,
excluding alcohol related offenses.

A4
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You are NOT Eligible...

If your McLeod County citation was for:
> Parking tickets.
Citations resulting from an accident.
Multiple violations.
Major violations such as careless
driving, DUI, leaving the scene of an
accident or driving without a license.
> If you have already participated in

two Driver Awareness Classes.

YV VYV

CLASSES ARE HELD AT
McLeod County Courthouse
(basement)

801 10" St E
Glencoe, MN 55336
320-864-3134

DO NOT CALL THE
COURT ADMINISTRATOR'S OFFICE

S0 —aso T

Enter the Courthouse through the south door.

REGISTRATION

4+ Persons must register for the Driver
Awareness Class within 10 working days
after receiving the citation.

4+ You must register in person at the McLeod
County Sheriff's Office front window
from 8 am. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through
Friday, not including holidays.

4+ To register, driver's license must be shown
as proof of identification and your traffic
citation,

4+ The cost of the class is $75 payable by
cash or money order. Credit cards and
personal checks will not be accepted.

CLASS INFORMATION

4 Class times will be the 2™ Thursday of
each month at 6:30 p.m. sharp! If you are
late or fail to appear, the class fee will be
forfeited and your ticket will be sent to
court. You will then be expected to appear
in court and will not be eligible to continue
with the Driver Awareness Class.

4+ Confirmed dates will be provided upon
registration.

4+ The class takes approximately 2 hours. You
must successfully complete the class.

4+ You must bring photo identification to the
class.

You must register within 10 working days

after the receipt of the citation.



Meeker County
Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: “This diversion class is approved as part of the Meeker County
Attorney’s Office Diversion Program.” ® If the class is successfully completed, the violation
will not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $75
Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Citations issued by a Meeker County Sheriff’s deputy for
speeding (if no more than 15 mph over the posted speed limit); violation of a stop sign, stop
light, or yield sign; driving left of the center line (not DUI-related); passing or lane violation;
following too close; failure to signal; making an illegal turn; and equipment and seat belt
violations are eligible for the program. “Eligibility is ultimately determined by the discretion of
the initiating deputy, prosecuting attorney, or otherwise ordered by the court.”*

Ineligibility: The program is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in a Driver Awareness Class in Meeker County in the last 12 months, has already
participated in two Driver Awareness Classes, or has had more than two prior moving violations
in the past 12 months, excluding alcohol-related offenses. The program is not offered for
parking tickets; citations related to an accident; multiple violations; or “major violations” such as
careless driving, DUI, leaving the scene of an accident or driving without a license.

Uses Uniform Ticket Citation? Yes, and brochure
Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No
When Did Program Begin? 2005*

Description of Class:  The two-hour class is taught by deputies at the Meeker County
Courthouse.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $1,125
2012 $5,250
2011 $6,000
2010 $5,775

* Meeker County Sheriff’s Office Driver Awareness Class brochure.
# Meeker County Sheriff’s Office Driver Awareness Class brochure.
% Meeker County website.

121



This page left blank intentionally



€7l

SAFE DRIVING TIPS

MISSION STATEMENT

Use the "3 second rule” to judge safe
following distances.

Before you start driving at night or in-
inclement weather, check your headlights,
signals and wipers to be sure they are clear
and working properly.

Drinking and driving is irresponsible and very
dangerous.

Keep shifting your view, checking in all
directions around your vehicle.

Bicyclists should travel on the right side of the
road, riding with the flow of traffic.

Pedestrians should travel on the left side of
the road, moving towards the
oncoming traffic.

Practice and master good driving habits.
Expect a train at any time at a crossing.
It is unsafe to drive around crossing gates.

The principle contributing cause in
vehicle-train crashes is motor vehicle driver
error.

Last but not least, remember, that you have
earned the right to operate an automobile.
Don't abuse it.

Meeker County Sheriff
Jeff Norlin

The mission of the Meeker County Sheriff's
Office is to protect and preserve life and
property. We aim to accomplish this through:

High quality services

1 4
*

4
L 4
4

Offered in a timely manner

Provided at all times, especially in times of crisis or
emergencies -

Through community collaboration

For interagency collaboration

Provided in the form of public safety education
programs ' '

Quality personnel

¢

¢
¢
¢
4

Providing effective leadership

Hiring skilled employees

Displaying professionalism and integrity
Offering compassion and respect
Engaging in responsive interaction

Modern innovations

¢

‘e el 00

For contingency planning and preparing
Through use of grant funding

Using cost effective technology and personnel
- Allowing for creatlve roblem. solvmg

—»Meeher Cwnty“Sheriﬁ’s Office

: 326 North qusey Avenue
& L:tchreld, MN 55355
(320) 693-170

Thzs tverswn class is appro ed as part of the ‘ -
Meeker County Attorneys Ofﬁce Diversion Program,’ o
h TOny Spector Meeker CountyAttorne .

.:_:Avoxdanceafﬁhes. CourtAppearan
- anglEnhisonYourDrivingR:

DRIVER
AWARENESS
CLASS

PARFIGPA‘IIO v Il\tcwnss:

Improves Your Dmnng Hablts.

The Driver Awareness Class aims to :
 educate drivers of u‘afﬁc laws. Upo:‘
completlon of this course, your trafﬁc{
| - ditation w1|l be dwerted :
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ELGIBILITY

LOCATION

YOU ARE ELIGIBLE IF...

¢ Your citation was issued by a Meeker County
Sheriff's Deputy.

¢ Your Meeker County citation was for:

+

4

&

¢ o > O o

Speeding (no more than 15 mph over the
posted speed limit)

Violation of a Stop Sign,

Stop Light, or Yield Sign
Driving Left of the Center Line
{not DUI related)

Passing or Lane Violation
Following Too Closely

Failure to Signal

Making an Illegal Turn
Equipment Violation

Seat Belt Violation

¢ You do not wish to contest your ticket.

¢ You have not participated in a Driver Awareness
Class in Meeker County in the last 12 months.

¢ You have not had more than two prior moving
violations in the past 12 months, excluding alcohol
related offenses.

Eligibility is ultimately determined by the discretion

-of the initiating deputy, prosecuting attorney, or

otherwise ordered by the court.

YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE IF...

¢ Your Meeker County citation was:

14

L4
L4
14

For Parking Tickets

Accident Related

For Multiple Violations

A Major Violation Including: Careless Driving,
DUI, Leaving the Scene of an Accident or
Driving Without a License

¢ You have already participated in two Driver
Awareness Classes.

Meeker County Courthouse
Community Room (Lower Level)

325 North Sibley Avenue
Litchfield, MN 55355
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Class dates will be determined
when registering.

Questions/Concerns?
Call (320) 693-1706

DO NOT call the Court
Administrator’s Office




Norman County
Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: The “diversion class is approved as part of the Norman County
Attorney’s Office Diversion Program.”® If the class is successfully completed, the violation
will not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $50
Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Eligible traffic offenses include exceeding the posted speed
limit (no set limit on speed); violation of a stop sign, stop light, or yield sign; driving left of the
center line; passing or lane violation; following too close; failure to signal; and making an illegal
U-turn.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has participated
in a Driver Awareness Class in Norman County in the past 12 months, has already participated in
two Driver Awareness Classes, or has more than two prior moving violations in the past
12 months, excluding an alcohol-related offense. It is not available for parking tickets; citations
resulting from an accident; multiple violations; or “major violations” such as careless driving,
DWI, leaving the scene of an accident, or license violations.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure
Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No
When Did Program Begin? April 2012

Description of Class: The approximately two-hour class is conducted at the Norman County
Sheriff’s Office.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $3,250
2012 (April - December) $5,950

% Norman County Sheriff’s Office Driver Awareness Class brochure.
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SAFE DRIVING TIPS

e Use the "3 second rule” to judge
safe following distance.

e Before you start driving at night
or in inclement weather, check
your headlights and signals to be
sure they are clear and working
properly. Make sure wipers are
working properly.

e  Drinking and driving is
irresponsible and dangerous.

e  Keep shifting your view, checking
in all directions around your

vehicle.

e  Practice and master good driving
habits.

 Expect a train at any time at a
crossing.

e It is unsafe to drive around
crossing gates.

e The principle contributing cause in
vehicle-train crashes is motor
vehicle driver error.

e  Bicyclists should travel on the
right side of the road, riding with
the flow of traffic.

e Pedestrians should travel on the
left side of the road, moving
towards the oncoming traffic.

e Remember operating a motor
vehicle is a privilege not a right.
Don't” abuse it.

Norman County Sheritf Office
152" Ave E
Ada, MN 56510

(218)784-7114
Sheriff Jeremy Thornton

DO NOT CALL THE
COURT ADMINISTRATOR’S
OFFICE

This diversion class is approved as part of the
Norman County Attorney’s Office Diversion
Program.

TAKE OUR
DRIVER AWARENESS
CLASS
AND HAVE:

NO FINE
NO COURT APPEARANCE
MOST IMPORTANTLY..
IMPROVE YOUR DRIVING
HABITS

Educate and learn the traffic laws and
have your citation diverted upon
completion of the course.
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YOU ARE ELIGIBLE...

If your citation was issued by a Norman County Sheriff

Deputy.

If your citation was for:

If the citation was for exceeding
the posted speed limit.
Violation of a stop sign, stop
light, or yield sign.

Driving left of center line.
Passing or lane violations.
Following to Close.

Failure to signal.

Making an illegal turn.

If you wish not to contest your
citation.

If you have not participated in a
Driver Awareness Class in
Norman County in the past 12
months.

If you have had not more than
two prior moving violations in the
past 12 months, excluding
alcohol related offense.

YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE..

If your citation was for:

Parking Tickets

Citations resulting from an
accident.

Multiple violations.

Major violations such as careless
driving, DWI, leaving the scene
of an accident, or license
violations.

If you have already participated
in two Driver Awareness
Classes.

Classes Are Held At

Norman County Sheriff Office
152" Ave E
Ada MN 56510
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REGISTRATION

Persons must register for the Driver Awareness Class
with in 10 days after receiving the citation.

Classes will be offered once per month at 6:30 PM. Class
date will be provided upon registration.

You must register in person or by telephone at the
Norman County Sheriff Office Monday-Friday 8:30-4:30.
(218)784-7114.

Class cost of $50.00 must be paid within 10 days of
receiving the citation. Payable by check, money order, or
cash.

Class starts at 6:30 PM sharp! If you are late or fail to
appear, the class fee will be forfeited and your ticket will
be sent to court. You will then be expected to appear in
court and will not be eligible to continue with the Driver
Awareness Class.

The class is approximately 2 hours.

There is no failing if you attend this class.

The Driver Awareness Class must be completed
within 30 days after the receipt of the citation.



City of Ada in Norman County
Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: The “diversion class is approved as part of the Norman County
Attorney’s Office Diversion Program.”’ If the class is successfully completed, the violation will
not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $50 (payable to Ada Police Department)
Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Eligible traffic offenses include speed (up to 20 mph over the
posted speed limit); violation of a stop sign, stop light, or yield sign; driving left of the center
line; following too close; failure to signal; and making an illegal U-turn.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in a Driver Awareness Class in Norman County in the last 12 months, has already
participated in two Driver Awareness Classes, or has more than two prior moving violations in
the past 12 months. It is not available for parking tickets; citations resulting from an accident;
multiple violations; or “major violations” such as careless driving, DWI, leaving the scene of an
accident, or license violations.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure
Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? Used prior to 2012
When Did Program Begin? April 2012

Description of Class: The up to two-hour class is taught by the Crime Victim Advocate at the
Norman County Sheriff’s Office.

Revenues: Traffic Diversion Classes
2013 (January - June) $ 750
2012 $1,600

City of Ada -
Administrative Traffic Ticket (Minn. Stat. 8 169.999) Revenues

Year Amount Collected Amount Remitted to MMB Net
2011 $780 $520 $260
2010 1,080 - 1,080

Additional Information: The City pays Norman County $50 per month for putting on the class.

%7 Ada Police Dep’t Driver Awareness Class brochure.
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SAFE DRIVING TIPS

* Use the 3-second rule to judge safe following
distance.

« Before driving at night or inclement weather,
check your headlights and signals to be sure
they are clear and working properly.

* Drinking and driving is irresponsible and dan-
gerous.

+ Keep shifting your view checking in all direc-
tions around your vehicle.

* Practice and master good driving habits.
+ Expect a train at any time at a crossing.
« It is unsafe to drive around crossing gates.

« The principal cause of motor vehicle-train col-
lisions is motor vehicle driver error.

* Bicyclists should travel on the right side of the
road with the flow of traffic.

» Pedestrians should travel on the left side of
the road against the flow of traffic.

* Remember driving is a privilege not a right.
Don't abuse it.

Ada Police Department

410 West Main Street
Ada, MN 56510

Please make checks payable to
Ada Police Department

DO NOT CALL THE
COURT ADMINISTRATOR'S OFFICE

This diversion class is approved
as part of the Norman County Attorney’s Office
Diversion Program.

Take Our

Driver Awareness Class
and have:
NO Fine

NO Court Appearance

Most Importantly -
Improve Your Driving Habits

Educate and learn the traffic laws and have your
citation diverted upon completion of the course.
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YOU ARE ELIGIBLE:

If your citation was for:

+ Exceeding the posted speed limit

* Violation of a stop sign, stop light, or yield sign

« Driving left of center line

* Following too close

+ Failure to signal

* Making an illegal U-turn

- If you do not wish to contest the citation

« If you have not participated in a Driver
Awareness Class in Norman County in the
last 12 months

* If you have had not more than 2 prior moving
violations in the past 12 months

YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE:

If your citation was for:

« Parking tickets

« Citations resulting from an accident

» Multiple violations

* Major violations such as careless driving,
DWI, leaving the scene of an accident, or
license violations

« If you have already participated in two Driver
Awareness Classes

CLASSES ARE HELD AT
Norman County Sheriff’s Office
15 2nd Avenue East
Ada, MN 56510

REGISTRATION

Persons must register for the Driver
Awareness Class within 10 days after
receiving the citation.

Classes will be offered once per month at
6:30 p.m. Class date will be provided upon
registration.

You must register in person or by telephone
at the Ada Police Department, Monday -
Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., or by calling
(218) 784-5510.

Class cost is $50.00 must be paid within 10
days of receiving the citation. Payable by
check, money order or cash.

Class starts at 6:30 sharp! If you are late or
fail to appear, the class fee will be forfeited
and your ticket will be sent to court. You will
then be expected to appear in court and will
not be eligible to continue with the Driver
Awareness Class.

Class is approximately 2 hours.

There is no failing if you attend.

The Driver Awareness Class
must be completed within 30 days
after receipt of the citation.




City of Twin Valley in Norman County

Program Name: Driver Awareness Class

Brief Program Description: The “diversion class is approved as part of the Norman County
Attorney’s Office Diversion Program.”® If the class is successfully completed, the violation will
not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $50

Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Eligible traffic offenses include speed (up to 20 mph over the
limit); violation of a stop sign, stop light, or yield sign; driving left of the center line; following
too close; failure to signal; and making an illegal U-turn.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in a Driver Awareness Class in Norman County in the last 12 months, has already
participated in two Driver Awareness Classes, or has more than two prior moving violations in
the past 12 months. It is not available for parking tickets; citations resulting from an accident;
multiple violations; or “major violations” such as careless driving, DWI, leaving the scene of an
accident, or license violations.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and brochure

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No

When Did Program Begin? July 2012

Description of Class: The two-hour class is taught at the Norman County Sheriff’s Office.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $700
2012 (July - December) $350

Additional Information: The City pays Norman County $50 for each class (generally $50 per
month).

% Twin Valley Police Dep’t Driver Awareness Class brochure.
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SAFE DRIVING TIPS

®  Usethe 3 second rule to judge safe
following distance

®  Before driving at night or inclement
weather , check your headlights and
signals to be sure they are clear and
working properly

®  Drinking and driving is irresponsible
gnd dangerous

®  Keep shifting your view checking in
all directions around your vehicle

®  Practice and master good driving
habits

®  [Expect atrain al any time at a
Crossing

* It is unsaft to drive around crossing
gates

®  The principle cause of motor
vehicle-train collisions is motor
vehicle driver error

®  Bicyclist should travel on the right
side of the road with the flow of
traffic

@ Pedestrians should travel on the Toft
side of the road against the flow of
traffic

®  Remember driving is a privilege not
a vight. Don’t abuse il

Twin Valley Police Department
206 Lincoln Ave
Twin Valley MN 56584

DO NOT CALL THE COURT
ADMINISTRATOR'S OFFICE

This diversion class s approved as part of

the Norman County Attorney’s Office
Diversion Program

TAKE OUR DRIVER AWARENESS
CLASS AND HAVE :

NO FINE
NO COURT APPEARANCE
MOST IMPORTANTLY
IMPROVE YOUR DRIVING HABITS

Educate and kearm the traffic faws and have your
citation diverted upon compietion of the course



YOU ARE ELIGIBLE. ..

1§ your citation was for.

e Exceeding the posted speed Hrit

Viotation of  stop sign, stop light, or

yicld sign

Driving left of center line

Following to close

Failure to signal

Making an iflegal U-turn

1f you do not wish to contest the citation

1{ you have not participated in a Driver

Awareness class in Norman County in the

last 12 months

+ If you have had not more than 2 prior
moving violations in the past 12 months

» & % * »

YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE. ..

If you citation was for:

»  Parking tickets

¢ Citations resulting from an aceident
«  Multiple viclations

«  Major violations such as carcless

driving, DWI, leaving the scene of an
accident, or license violations

«  [f you have already participated in
two Driver Awareness Classes

CLASSES ARE HELD AT
Norman County Sheriff Office

152™ Ave E
Ada MN 56510

REGISTRATION

Persons must register for the Driver
Awareness Class with in 10 days after
receiving the citation.

Classes will be offered once per month
at 6:30 PM. Class date will be provided
upon registration.

You must register in person or by
telephone at the Twin Valley City Hall
Monday-Friday 8:30-4:30 or by calling

(218)584-5254

Class cost is $50.00 must be paid with in
10 days of receiving the citation.
Payable to by check, money order or
cash.

Class starts at 6:30 sharp! If you are late
or fail to appear, the class fee will be
forfeited and your ticket will be sent to
court. You will then be expected to
appear in court and witl not be eligible
to continue with the Driver Awareness
Class.

Class is approximately 2 hours.

There is no failing if you attend.

The driver Awareness Ctass must be
completed with in 30 days after

receipt of the citation



Red Lake County

Program Name: Traffic Safety Diversion Class

Brief Program Description: The Traffic Safety Diversion Class is “sponsored by the Red Lake
County Sheriff’s Office and the Red Lake County Attorney’s Office.”® If the class is
successfully completed, the violation will not appear on the person’s driving record.

Fee for Program: $25 (payable to the Red Lake County Sheriff’s Office)

Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Citations issued by a Red Lake County Sheriff’s deputy for
speeding (no more than 15 mph over the posted speed limit) or seat belt violations are eligible
for the program.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver has participated in the Traffic Safety
Diversion Class in Red Lake County in the last 12 months. It is not available for citations
resulting from an accident.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Yes, and notice

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No

When Did Program Begin? 2009

Description of Class: The approximately 1.5-hour class is taught by a deputy at the Red Lake
County Sheriff’s Office.

Revenues: 2013 (January - June) $ 125
2012 $ 725
2011 $1,100
2010 $1,025

% Red Lake County Sheriff’s Office Notice of Traffic Safety Diversion Class.
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Red Lake County Sheriff’s Office
Mitch Bernstein, Sheriff 1_

306

Red Lake Falls Mn 56750
Phone 218-253-2996 Fax 218-253-2656
E-mail: oklee06@yahoo.com

Web-Site :www.redlakecountysheriff.org

Participate in a Traffic Safety Diversion Class, sponsored by the Red Lake County Sheriff’s Office and the Red Lake
County Attorney’s Office if:

- You have been cited for speeding, no more than 15 miles per hour over the posted speed limit
- You have been cited for a seat belt violation

- You have not participated in this diversion program within the past year

- You have been cited by a Red Lake County Sheriff’s Deputy

- You may not participate if your citation resulted from an accident

Participants must:

- Report to class at 8pm SHARP! If you are late, fail to appear or leave early your citation will be sent
to court and you will not be eligible to participate in the safety class. NO EXCEPTIONS!

- Bring their copy of the citation they were issued to the class
- Bring $25 cash, or a check made out to the Red Lake County Sheriff’s Office

- Bring their photo ID

If you participate in the Traffic Safety Diversion Class:
- Your citation will be dismissed without additional fines or further sanctions
- Your citation WILL NOT go onto your driving record

- Your insurance company WILL NOT be notified of the violation

“TO SERVE AND PROTECT”
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If you wish to participate in the Traffic Safety Diversion Class for this citation you were issued, you will be expected
to attend the class on Sunday, , and it will begin at 8pm. The class
will be at the Red Lake County Sheriff’s Office which is located in the courthouse at 124 N. Main Ave. in Red Lake
Falls, MN. Use the north courthouse entrance door and the Sheriff’s Office is located at the bottom of the stairs. You
must attend the class on the date given to you by the Deputy. This will not be rescheduled for any reason. If you
have any questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me at 218-253-2996.

If you choose not to attend the class and wish to pay the standard fine or appear in court, you must pay make those
arrangements within 30 days after your scheduled diversion class date of

Court Administration will not be notified of this citation until after the diversion date noted above. Please do not make
any inquiries or attempt to make any payments with Court Administration until after the diversion date noted above.
Court Administration will only be notified if you fail to attend the traffic safety diversion class.

Mitch Bernstein, Red Lake County Sheriff Mike Lacoursiere, Red Lake County Attorney

“TO SERVE AND PROTECT”
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Renville County

Program Name: Driver Awareness Program

Brief Program Description: Renville County law enforcement officers offer the County’s
Driver Awareness Program to those who have been stopped for certain traffic offenses in the
County. If the class is successfully completed, the offense will not appear on the person’s
driving record.

Fee for Program: $75

Amount Remitted to State: $0

Offenses Eligible for Program: Citations issued by a Renville County law enforcement officer
are eligible for the program if the citing officer informs the driver of this option.** It is primarily
used for speeding (limited to less than 10 mph over the posted limit), stop sign, and seat belt
violations.

Ineligibility: The class is not available if the driver wants to contest the citation, has
participated in a Driver Awareness Class in Renville County in the last 12 months, has attended
two Driver Awareness Classes, or has a commercial driver’s license.

Uses Uniform Traffic Citation? Renville County uses a “Citation-Diversion” ticket, and a
brochure.

Uses 169.999 Administrative Traffic Citations? No
When Did Program Begin? 2008

Description of Class: The two-hour class is taught by Sheriff Department deputies at the
Renville County Government Center.

Revenues: $50 of the $75 fee is returned to the participating City that initiated the ticket.

Renville County - Driver Awareness Program Revenues

Year Revenues Amount Paid to Cities Difference
2013 (January - June) $8,400 $1,000 $7,400
2012 27,975 6,250 21,725
2011 25,350 5,250 20,100
2010 20,650 2,850 17,800

%0 Renville County Sheriff’s Office Driver Awareness Class brochure.
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Renville County Sheriff’s Office
105 5th Street South
Olivia, MN 56277
320-523-1161

Sheriff Scott D. Hable

Driver Awareness Program
TO ATTEND THE CLASS YOU MUST:

In-Person Registration:

% Register at the Renville County Sheriff’'s Department
at the Renville County Office Building.

% Provide a copy of your citation and a photo ID.

% Pay $75.00 in cash, check or money order within 14
days of receiving your citation.

Phone Registration:

% Call 320-523-1161, Monday -Friday, 8:30-4:00 to
register.

% $75 check or money order, copies of your citation and
ID MUST be received within 14 days of receiving your
citation. Mail payments to 105 5th Street South,
Suite 210, Olivia, MN 56277.

% Make checks payable to ‘Renville County.’

¥ On the night of the class you will need to bring your
photo ID and your copy of the citation.

NO registrations or payment will be accepted on the
night of the class!

You MUST register and pay within 14 days of
receiving your citation. The 14 days include
weekends and holidays.

143




YOU ARE ELIGIBLE...

% You received a citation from a Renville County Law
Enforcement Officer.

% If you do not wish to contest your ticket.

% If you have not participated in a Driver Awareness
Class in Renville County in the last 12 months.

% A maximum of 2 Driver Awareness Classes can be
attended in a lifetime.

Class Benefits: No Fine, No Court Appearance, No
Entry on Your Driving Record - Most Important...
Improved Driving Habits!

Fee to Attend: $75.00

Class Length: 2 Hours <6:30 to 8:30 pm
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Class will be held in the Lower Level of
the Government Center—Room 117.
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CITATION-DIVERSION

State of Minnesota

' i If
4 141 I

Renville Caunty

CN/ICR#:
13004726

Identification: DL [ |DVSWek [ |PhoteID [ |FR [ ] Other

DL Mumber

wy oL smte
Address - Street, Apt #
State Ip
MM EED
Height Weight qEvas Gender
Juvenile's Guardian/Address N —_m
veh, Lic. No. | Plate Year IMahe Style ] 16+ pass.|Calor
2 - 4 _ L

Diate of Offense |Time of Offense

] Accident/Crash
[] propasty  [] Injury [] Fatal [ ] Pedestrian

Bl oriver |34 Owner  |[] Passenger|Bd] Operate |[] Parked  |[] Boaked
Offensa Location City'Community/ Township
Hwy 212 / 420th St |Renville Counzy
Offense Charge Description Statute/Ordinance |BM, M, GM
SPEED-Over Limit _ 169.44.2())
Offense Charge Destriptian Statute/Ordinance  |PM, M, GM
[Offense Charge Description Statute/Ordinance |PM, M, GM
Offensa Charge Description Statute/Ordinance |PM, M, GM
Offense Charge Destription Statute/Ordinance |PM, M, GM
Offense Charge Description Statute/Ordinance  (BM, M, GM
Spead MN Stat, § 169.14 (subd. ): 86 mph 55 zone |
:] No Seat Balt Use D No Proaf of Insurance I:l 2nd Violation
MN Sat. § 165.695.1(a) MN St § 163.791__
|:] AC Taken - AC: ___ Test Tvpe. ] Refused [ ] Breath [] Bhoocl [] urine
D Unsafe Conditions . ] Commercal veh.
Weather: Dry/Normal/Clear i School Zane |poTs
] Endangering Life and Property ||| Wark Zone | #Pounds Overweight: __
] [] Hazardous Material {DOT)
Your court pay or appearance date is 1(/07/2013 at 1330
at: i vi
See the next page of this citation for more information.
Officar(s) Name(s) Officer Na(s) | Prasecutar
bt MNO65013A
Controlling Agency (CAG) [How Issued Date Issuad
MNOG50000 E In Person |:| Mailed D Left at Scene |po/n2/2013

TOSYTERD DO £9

Driver Awareness Class Option
if you do not wish to contest your ctation, you can register and pay 575.00 for the Driver
Awareness Class within 14 days of receiving your citation. You must cali 320-523-3794 or
register in person Monday-Friday between 8:00 A.M, and 4:30 P.M. Make checks payzble to
“renville County” and send to the Renville County Sheriff's Office at 105 5' street south, Suite
210, Ofivia, MN 56277. On the mgh‘mf the c!ass, pnu muast hﬂng your citation and photo I.0. Mo
1

Payable Citation/Method of Payment
To find out if your citation is payahbte without a court appearance, how much to pay, or to pay
your fine, choose ane of the following methods:
» Online: Using MasterCard or Visa, acress www.mncourts.gov/fines. Have your citation number
avaitable.
* By phone: Using Mastercard or visa, call 651-281-3210 in the metro or 1-800-657-3611 putside
of the metro area. Have your citation number available. Disponible por teléfono en Espafial.
= By Mail: Check or Maney Order payable to Court Administration. Send to: Minnesota Court
Payment Center, PO Box B98, Willmar, MN 56201. incude a copy of your citation erindicate the
ditation number on the check ar maney erder.

You have the right te appear in court. Please refer to the front of this citatfon. if a court date is
noted, you must either pay your fine by this date ar you may choose to appear in court on the
date, fime and at the location indicated. if no court date is moted, youw must pay the amount
owed ar you may schedule an appearance within 30 days fram the date this ditation was issued.
To make a payment or scheduie an appearance call: 651-281-3219 in the metro area or
1-8D0-657-3611 outside of the metro area. Please allow 10 business days |fram the date you
receive your citation) for processing before calling.

BY PAYING THIS FINE(S], YOLI ARE ENTERING A PLEA OF GUILTY to this offense|s] and voluntarily
waive your rights to the following: {Minm. R. Crim. P. 23.03]

1.To a court trial, if the offense is a petty misdemeanar, or a court or jury trial for all ather
offenses;

2. 7o be represented by counsel;

3. To be presumed innecent until proven guilty beyond a reasonabile doubt;

4. 7o confront and cross examine all witnesses; and

5. To either remain silent or to testify on your own behalf

A plea of guilty will result in a conviction. If convicred, you must pay a state impased surcharge
under Minn. Stat. § 357.024 subd. 6. The current amount of the required stste surcharge is §12
for parking related affenses and 575 fer ali other offenses (Minn. stat_ § 159.99). additionally, a
law library fee will be owed. These surcharges and fees are included in the total payable amount
provided to you by phone or web.

Under Minn. Stat. § 480.15, subd. 10c, unpaid fines may be referred for collections. You have
the right to contest the referral.

issuance of a worthless check to the court is a crime, and you will be subject te civil and criminal
penalties. in addition, a charge of up to 530 will be assessed on all returned checks {Minn. Stat. §
609.113 subd. 2).

oOther impartant notices regarding your rights can be found on the Minnesota Judidal Branch

welbsite at: www.mncoourts. gov/fines.

If a Court Appearance is Required
certaim offense(s) require you to appear im court. To verify if the charge(s) you have received
require a court appearance, please cali 51-281-3219 in the metro or 1-800-657-3611 outside of
the metro area and refer 1o the frant of this dtation. If you must appear in court and a court date
is noted on the frant of this citation, your appearance is scheduled for the date, time and
location indicated. If you must appear in court and no cowrt date is noted on the front of this
dtation, a Notice to Appear indicating a court date wilt be mailed to the address an the citation.
If this address is not carrect, you must immediately notify the court at the mumber neted akove
of your current address. Failure to Appear may result in a bench warrant being issued for your
arrest. If you have guestions regarding the charge|s), cal! the number noted above.

Penalties for FRilure to Respond
Failure to respand as required for a Misdemeanor may result in:
= The Department of Public Safety and/for the Department of Natural Resources being notified of
your failure to appear, depending an the affense(s) charged. These agencies may suspend your
driver’s license ar DNR licenses for failing to appear.
= A warrant may be issued for your arrest.
= Late fees may be assessed.

Failure to respond to a Petty Misdemeaner by paying the amount due, appearing in ccurt or
contacting the Court Payment Center will be considered a plea of guilty and waiver of the right to
trial uniess the failure to appear is due to circumstances beyand the person’s control (Minn. Stat.
§ 155.91; Minn. 5tat. § 609.491). In addition, the Department of Public Safety and the
Department of Natural Resources will ke notified of your failure to appear and conviction,
depending an the offenses charged. These agencies may suspend your driver's license or DNR
licensas far failing to appear.
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City of Fairfax in Renville County

Program Name: Driver Awareness Program

Brief Program Description: The Fairfax Police Department participates in the Renville County
Driver Awareness Program (DAP) offered by the Renville County Sheri