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Minnesota Driver’s Manual

The Minnesota Driver’s Manual provides a summary of state laws, 
rules, and techniques to follow in order to drive safely and legally in 
Minnesota. State laws and rules change periodically, so each year’s 
manual contains new information.

Driving is a privilege and also a responsibility. Please remember 
to buckle up, obey speed laws and never drive under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs. Respect for traffic laws and respect for other drivers 
will keep us all safe on the road.

Sincerely,

Commissioner Ramona Dohman
Minnesota Department of Public Safety

A Message from the  
Commissioner of Public Safety
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This information can be made available in alternative 
formats to individuals with disabilities. 
For assistance, call: 651-297-3298 or (TTY) 651-282-6555

Roundabout road illustrations provided by Local Road Research Board
Form Number 30000-18 (8-2012)

State of Minnesota Department of Public Safety.  
This Minnesota Driver’s Manual is printed by permission  
of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.

�
About This Manual:
This manual concerns Minnesota laws and requirements. 
For complete standards, consult Minnesota state statutes 
and rules. This document is not a proper legal authority 
to cite in court.
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Knowledge Test Checklist
Do you have all the information you need for your  
knowledge test? Here is a checklist to help you prepare  
for your visit:
❒	 I have the required identification (see pages 3-5).
❒	 I know my Social Security Number.
❒	 I have money with me (check, money order, or cash)  
		  to pay the instruction permit fee and the retesting fee,  
		  if applicable. Credit and debit cards are not accepted. 		
		  There is a $10 test fee for third or subsequent knowledge 
		  tests after failing the first two.

If under 18 years of age:
❒	 I am at least 15 years old.
❒	 I have my certificate of enrollment (“Blue Card”) 		
		  proving that I completed classroom instruction and am 		
		  signed up for behind-the-wheel instruction.
❒	 My parent, court appointed guardian, county appointed 		
		  foster parent or the director of the transitional living 		
		  program I am residing in will sign and approve my 		
		  application.

Road Test Checklist
Do you have all the information you need for your 
road test? Here is a checklist to help you prepare  
for your visit:
❒	 I have made a road test appointment.

❒	 I have my valid instruction permit to give to the examiner.

❒	 I will provide a vehicle that is in safe working condition 	
		  in which to take the test.
	 	 •	 Doors must open from the inside and outside.
	 	 •	 Seat belts must work properly.
	 	 •	 Headlights, taillights, brake lights and turn signals  
			   must be in working order.

I
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	 	 •	 Vehicle registration (license plates and stickers) must 
			   be current or the vehicle must display a 21-day permit.

❒	 I have current proof of insurance for the vehicle I will 		
	 use for the test. (Original insurance identification card  
	 or policy; photocopies or copies from the Internet are  
	 not acceptable.)

❒	 I have money with me (check, money order, or cash)  
	 to pay the driver’s license fee and the retesting fee, 
	 if applicable. Credit and debit cards are not accepted.  
	 There is a $20 test fee for third or subsequent road tests 		
	 after failing the first two.

If under 18 years of age:
❒	 I am at least 16 years old.

❒	 I have my certificate of course completion (“White Card”)     	
	 proving that I have completed driver education.

❒	 I have held an instruction permit for the last six months 
	 without a conviction for a moving violation or an alcohol 
	 or controlled substance violation.
❒	 If all or part of my six months of driving experience was 	
	 in a state other than Minnesota, I have a certified driving 	
	 record from that state to verify that I qualify for the 		
	 provisional license.

❒	 My parent, court appointed guardian, county appointed 		
	 foster parent or the director of the transitional living 		
	 program I am residing in will sign and approve my 		
	 application and certify that I have driven for 30 hours  
	 or more, 10 of which were at night.

If 18 years of age:
❒	 I have had my instruction permit for at least six months.

If 19 years of age or older:
❒	 I have had my instruction permit for at least three months.

II



Chapter 1  
Your License to Drive

1

This chapter provides information about how to obtain a Minnesota 
driver’s license.

Getting Your License to Drive
Anyone who drives a motor vehicle on public streets or highways in 
Minnesota must carry a valid and unexpired driver’s license. 

If you have never had a driver’s license in any state or country, you 
must pass a knowledge test and a vision test, apply for an instruction 
permit, and pass a road test. 

If your Minnesota driver’s license has been expired for more than  
one year, but less than five years, you must pass a knowledge test and  
a vision test before applying for a new license.

If you are moving to Minnesota from another state, certain U.S. terri-
tories, or Canada, you can obtain a license by passing the knowledge  
and vision tests. You have up to 60 days after becoming a resident to 
obtain your regular Minnesota license or permit; with a commercial 
license, up to 30 days. You must also present a valid driver’s license, or 
one expired for less than one year, from your former home state. If your 
former home state license is expired more than one year you will also be 
required to pass a road test. If you have a motorcycle endorsement on your 
out-of-state license, you can obtain a Minnesota endorsement by passing  
a test and paying the appropriate fees. (See Identification Requirements)

If you are moving to Minnesota from a country other than the United 
States or Canada, you must pass a knowledge test, a vision test, and a 
road test even if you have a valid license from your former country.

You will not be eligible to receive your Minnesota driver’s license  
until you have presented all other driver’s licenses and identification  
cards in your possession to the Department of Public Safety.

Who Does Not Need a Minnesota License?
You may drive a motor vehicle on public roads in Minnesota without 
a valid Minnesota driver’s license or permit, if you meet one of these 
exceptions:
	 •	 You are a nonresident who is at least 15 years of age and have in 	 	
		  your possession a valid driver’s license issued to you in your home 		
		  state or country.	
	 • 	You have become a resident of Minnesota and have a valid driver’s 	
		  license issued by another state, a Canadian province or U.S. military 
		  authority. You have up to 60 days after becoming a resident to obtain 	
		  your regular Minnesota license. 
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	 • 	You have a valid commercial driver’s license from another state.  
		  In this case, you have up to 30 days after becoming a Minnesota 	        	
		  resident to obtain your commercial Minnesota license. 
	 •	 You are employed by, or in service to, the U.S. government and  
		  you are driving or operating (for military purposes), a commercial 		
		  motor vehicle for the U.S. government. 
	 • 	You are not a Minnesota resident, are at least 18 years of age,  
		  your home country does not require drivers to be licensed, and 		
		  the vehicle you drive is registered for the current year in your  
		  home country. You may legally drive this vehicle in Minnesota 		
		  for not more than 90 days in any calendar year without a valid 		
		  license or permit.
	 • 	You temporarily drive a farm tractor or other farm implement 	 	
		  on a public roadway.
	 • 	You are operating a snowmobile. To learn about laws that apply  
		  to driving snowmobiles, visit the Department of Natural Resources 	
		  Website at www.dnr.state.mn.us.
	 • 	You are a railroad operator operating a railroad locomotive or train, 	
		  or on-track equipment upon the rails. This includes operation while 	
		  crossing a street or highway, whether public or private.

Who Cannot Be Licensed?
A Minnesota driver’s license or instruction permit will not be issued  
to you if:
	 •	 You fail to present proper identification.
	 • 	You fail to complete or pass any part of the required driver’s  
		  license tests.
	 • 	You are unable to read and understand official road signs or 	 	
		  understand state traffic laws.
	 • 	You are under 15 years of age.
	 • 	You are under 18 years of age, do not have a valid license from 	 	
		  another state, and cannot present a certificate proving that you  
		  have completed an approved driver education course. 
	 • 	You are 18 years of age or younger and have possessed an 	 	
		  instruction permit for less than six months. 
	 • 	You are 19 years of age or older and have possessed an instruction 		
		  permit for less than three months.
	 • 	Your license is suspended and you have not met all reinstatement   
       requirements. 	
	 • 	Your license is revoked and you have not met all reinstatement 	 	
		  requirements.	
	 • 	Your license is canceled.
	 • 	A court has ruled you to be mentally incompetent, and the Department 	
		  of Public Safety has determined that you are incapable of driving a 	
		  motor vehicle safely.
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	 • 	The Commissioner of Public Safety has determined you to be 	 	
		  incapable of driving a motor vehicle safely because of a physical  
		  or mental disability.
	 • 	The Commissioner of Public Safety has good cause to believe that 		
		  permitting you to operate a motor vehicle would be detrimental to 		
		  public safety.

Bring Identification
You must present proper identification that verifies your first, middle, 
and last name, and your date of birth to take the knowledge and road 
tests. You must also present proper identification when you apply for  
an instruction permit, driver’s license, or state identification card. 

To apply for a Minnesota driver’s license, identification card, or 
instruction permit, you must present one of the following:
	 •	 A current Minnesota driver’s license, identification card, or 	 	
		  instruction permit. 
	 •	 A Minnesota driver’s license, identification card, or instruction 	 	
		  permit which displays your photograph and has been expired for 		
		  five years or less.
	 •	 A Minnesota driver’s license, identification card, or instruction 	 	
		  permit which does not display your photograph that is current or 		
		  expired for one year or less.

If you cannot provide one of these documents, you must present  
one primary and one secondary identification document. The primary 
document must include your full name and the month, day, and year 
of your birth. Documents not in English must be accompanied by a 
qualified English translation. (See page 5) Documents are subject to 
verification and may not be accepted if laminated or otherwise altered.

If you are a temporary U.S. resident you may need to show additional 
proof of your lawful admission period, such as form I-20, DS-2019,       
I-797 or other official immigration document or receipt.

Primary documents:
	 •	 Certified birth record issued by a government bureau 	 	 	
		  of vital statistics or board of health in the United States, District  
	 	 of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, or the U.S. Virgin Islands.  
		  A hospital-issued certificate is not acceptable.
	 • 	Certificate of Birth Abroad issued by the U.S. Department of State 		
		  (FS-545 or DS-1350).
	 • 	Report of Birth Abroad of a U.S. citizen issued by a U.S. Embassy 		
		  (FS-240).
	 • 	Certified adoption certificate from a U.S. court.
	 • 	Valid, unexpired U.S. passport book or card.
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	 •  Unexpired active duty, reserve, or retired U.S. military identification 	
		  card (DD-2 or Geneva Convention Common Access Card).
	 • 	 A current tribal government identification card issued by a Minnesota 	
	 	 tribal government recognized by the U.S. Department of the Interior, 	
		  Bureau of Indian Affairs. The card must contain the legal name, 		
		  birth date, signature and photo of the cardholder and must contain 		
		  security features defined in Minnesota Statutes 171.072.
	 • 	Valid, unexpired passport from a country other than the United 	 	
		  States, with an unexpired I-551 stamp or an unexpired I-94 arrival 		
		  and departure form.
	 • 	Canadian birth certificate or naturalization certificate with a valid  
		  I-94 form attached. (Certificate must be presented with a photo    
       secondary document issued by a Canadian government agency.)
	 • 	One of the following valid, unexpired documents issued by the U.S. 	
	 	 Department of Justice or U.S. Department of Homeland Security:
	 	 –	 Employment Authorization Card with photo (I-688 or I-766 series)
       –	 Permanent Resident or Resident Alien Card (I-551 or I-151)
       –	 Re-entry Permit/Refugee Travel Document (I-327, I-571)
       –	 Certificate of Naturalization (N-550, N-570, or N-578) 	 	
       –	 Certificate of Citizenship (N-560, N-561, or N-645)
 	 	 –	 U.S. Citizen Identification Card (I-179 or I-197)
 		  –	 Northern Mariana Card (I-873)
 		  –	 American Indian Card (I-872)
Secondary documents:
	 • 	Another primary document.
	 • 	Photo driver’s license, state identification card, or permit issued by 		
		  another U.S. state, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico,  
	 	 the U.S. Virgin Islands, or a Canadian province or territory, that  
		  is current or expired for five years or less.
	 • 	U.S. Social Security card (non-metal) or Canadian Social  
       Insurance card.
	 • 	Certified birth certificate from a government jurisdiction other than 	
		  the United States, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, or 	
	 	 the U.S. Virgin Islands.
	 • 	Certified, government-issued marriage certificate.
	 • 	Certified U.S. or Canadian court order including your full name  
		  and date of birth.
	 • 	Certified secondary or post-secondary school transcript containing 	
		  your full legal name and date of birth.
	 • 	Current secondary school (grades 7–12) student I.D. card with name,  	
		  photograph, and date of birth or unique identification number.
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  	 • 	Government employee photo identification card from a jurisdiction 	
		  in the United States or Canada.
	 • 	Current identification card issued by the U.S. Department of Defense 	
		  (DD-1173 or DD-214).
	 • 	Unexpired, color-photo permit to carry a firearm or concealed   
       weapon, 	issued by a U.S. police department or sheriff.
	 • 	Current pilot’s license issued by the Federal Aviation Administration.
		  Fraudulent documents may be confiscated.

Verification of Name Change
If you legally change your name through marriage, divorce, or a court 
order, you must show proof of the change. You must present a certified 
marriage certificate, a certified court order specifying the name change,  
or a certified divorce decree or dissolution of marriage certificate 
specifying the name change. If you have had a series of name changes, 
you must provide documentation of all of those changes.

Translation of Documents 
All documents presented in a language other than English must be 
accompanied by an English translation. The English translation must  
be accompanied by a certificate documenting that the translation is true 
and accurate. A sample translator’s certificate is available on the Driver 
and Vehicle Services Website at dvs.dps.mn.gov, at driver examination 
stations and at driver’s license offices. The translator must not be related 
to you by blood or marriage and must meet one of the following criteria:
	 •	 Accredited by the American Translators Association. 
	 •	 Certified by a court.
	 • 	Approved by an embassy or consulate of the United States or by 	 	
		  a diplomatic or consular official of a foreign country assigned to, 		
		  or accredited by, the United States.
	 • 	Affiliated with, or approved by, the U.S. Department of Homeland 		
	 	 Security, Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services, or a 	 	
		  government jurisdiction within the United States. 
	 • 	An attorney licensed to practice in the United States or affiliated 	 	
		  with such an attorney.
	 • 	A vendor approved to provide translation service for the state  
		  of Minnesota.

dvs.dps.mn.gov
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Social Security Number
Applicants for Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services cards are required 
to provide their Social Security number (SSN) on the application form. 
Applicants who have not been issued a SSN must certify that information 
on the form. Your Social Security number is private information that will 
be secure on the driver’s license information system and accessible only  
to those lawfully authorized to access it. Social Security numbers are not 
located on, or embedded in, driver’s licenses or identification cards.

The Knowledge Test 
You can take the knowledge test at driver examination stations located 
throughout the state. The knowledge test contains multiple choice and 
true or false questions that evaluate your knowledge and understanding 
of Minnesota traffic laws and road signs. The knowledge test may be 
offered on paper or on a computer. At exam stations where the test is 
offered on a computer, you can take the test in English or one of several 
other languages. Headphones are available, upon request, to allow  
you to hear the questions as you read them. You may take only one 
knowledge test per day. You must obtain a score of 80 percent to pass.

You must show proper identification before you will be permitted 
to take the test. If you are under 18 years of age, you must present 
a certificate of enrollment (“Blue Card”) from an approved driver 
education course showing that you have completed the classroom  
portion of the course and have enrolled in behind-the-wheel training. 
Classroom instruction is not required if you are 18 years of age or  
older. For information on home-schooling rules and regulations,  
go to dvs.dps.mn.gov.

If you fail two consecutive knowledge tests, you will be charged  
a fee of $10 to take a third test and any subsequent knowledge test. 

The Vision Screening 
Your eyes will be screened when you apply for, or renew, your driver’s 
license or instruction permit. This is not a medical examination. It is a 
screening to determine whether your vision meets minimum standards. 
Your normal or corrected vision must be at least 20/40, and your 
peripheral vision must be at least 105 degrees. 

If your peripheral vision is less than 105 degrees or you fail the vision 
screening, you will be asked to see an eye doctor and return the doctor’s 
report to the Driver and Vehicle Services Driver Evaluation Unit. The 
purpose of the report is to determine whether you see well enough to 
drive safely or if vision correction or other restrictions are needed.

dvs.dps.mn.gov
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The Road Test 
The road test consists of a demonstration of your vehicle’s safety equip-

ment, your vehicle control skills, and a driving performance test. You will 
be tested on the rules of the road and your ability to drive a motor vehicle 
safely under normal traffic conditions. The examiner will evaluate your 
awareness of risks and your reaction to them. You will be evaluated on 
your ability to use good observation at intersections, when changing lanes, 
and in other situations. You will not be asked to do anything illegal during 
the test.

When you have the necessary driving skills and meet all the require-
ments, you are ready to take the road test. We encourage you to make  
an appointment for your test at dvs.dps.mn.gov or (in the seven-county 
metro area) call 651-284-1000.

In order to take the road test, you must present your valid instruction 
permit and current proof of insurance in the form of the original insurance 
identification card or policy. If you are under 18 years of age, you must 
present a certificate of course completion, or “white card,” that proves 
you have completed an approved driver education course and behind-the-
wheel instruction. You must provide your own vehicle to take the test. 
Neighborhood electric vehicles (NEVs) may not be used for this test.  
If a rental vehicle is going to be used for the road test, the person taking 
the test must be listed as a driver on the rental agreement. The vehicle 
doors must open from both the inside and the outside. Seat belts must  
work properly. The headlights, taillights, turn signals, and brake lights 
must be in working order. Any equipment required by restrictions on your 
license or instruction permit must be in working order, unless you are 
attempting to have the restrictions removed.

Smoking is not allowed during the test, and the vehicle must be free  
of smoke before the examiner enters the vehicle. No electronic devices or 
cell phone usage is allowed during the test. No passengers, other than the 
driver examiner, may occupy the vehicle while you are taking the test. This 
includes pets, children, and interpreters. Loose objects that could break or 
cause injury must be removed from the vehicle prior to the road test.

If you fail two consecutive road tests, you will be charged a fee of $20  
to take a third test and any subsequent road test.

Vehicle Safety Equipment Demonstration 
You will be asked to perform a safety equipment check of your vehicle 
before you begin the road test. It must be in safe working condition and 
have all necessary equipment. You will be required to present current 
proof of insurance and demonstrate knowledge about:
	 • 	Proof of insurance: original insurance identification card or policy. 
		  Photocopies or Internet copies are not acceptable.
	 • 	Seat adjustment.

dvs.dps.mn.gov
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	 • 	Seat belts.
	 • 	Emergency (parking) brake.
	 • 	Activating headlights (high and low beams). Vehicles with fully 	 	
		  automatic headlights require the driver to manually activate the high 	
		  and low beam headlights.
	 • 	Activating hazard warning lights (four-way flashers).
	 • 	Horn.
	 • 	Windshield wipers.
	 •	 Windshield defroster and fan controls.
	 • 	Mirrors.
	 This list does not include all equipment and items required by law.

If you are unable to pass the safety equipment demonstration, you  
will not be allowed to finish the road test that day. 

Vehicle Control Skills and Driving Performance
During the road test, you will be examined and evaluated on your:
	 • 	Control of the vehicle.
	 • 	Ability to parallel park.
	 •	 Ability to park on a hill.
	 • 	Response to traffic and road conditions, traffic signs, and signals.
	 • 	Ability to signal and perform right and left turns properly.
	 • 	Ability to use both marked and unmarked lanes of traffic.
	 • 	Observation and consideration of pedestrians and other drivers.
	 • 	Ability to perform the 90-degree backing skill maneuver. This 
		  simulates backing into a ten-foot wide driveway or parking space.

These actions will cause you to fail the road test immediately:
	 •	 Disobeying a traffic law.
	 • 	Dangerous, careless, or reckless driving, including any action that 	 	
		  could result in a traffic accident.
	 • 	Inability to control your vehicle or complete a maneuver without 	 	
		  assistance from the examiner.
	 • 	Involving your vehicle in an accident that you could have avoided, 		
		  even if you are not legally at fault.
	 • 	Not cooperating with the examiner or refusing to do something  
		  the examiner asks.

If you fail the road test, you may retake it after you have had time  
to improve your driving skills. You will be assigned practice time that  
must be completed before your next road test is given. If you fail the 
road test four times, you must complete at least six hours of behind- 
the-wheel instruction with a licensed instructor before taking the road 
test again.



9

Your License to D
rive

Minnesota Driver’s Manual

When you pass the road test, you may apply for your Minnesota 
driver’s license. If you are under 18 years of age, your parent, legal 
guardian, county appointed foster parent or director of the transitional 
living program in which you reside must sign and approve your appli- 
cation. The validated record of your road test score and your application 
receipt will serve as your temporary driver’s license until you receive 
your permanent driver’s license in the mail. 

Medical Conditions 
An application for an instruction permit or driver’s license includes 
questions about medical conditions. Providing false information on  
the application could result in the loss of driving privileges.

If you have a medical condition, you may be asked to provide a 
statement from a physician that indicates whether or not the condition 
interferes with your ability to drive safely. If you have a permit or  
license, and you are diagnosed with insulin-managed diabetes, epilepsy, 
or a medical condition that could cause loss of consciousness, you must 
submit a statement from a physician within 30 days of the diagnosis.  
The statement must indicate whether or not the condition interferes 
with your ability to drive safely. Medical statements should be sent to 
the Driver and Vehicle Services Driver Evaluation Unit, 445 Minnesota 
Street, Suite 170, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-5170. For more information, 
contact the Driver Evaluation Unit at 651-296‑2025.

Parent’s Approval for Under Age 18
If you are under 18 years of age, one of your parents, a court appointed 
guardian, a county appointed foster parent or the director of the transi-
tional living program in which you reside must approve your application 
for a driver’s license or instruction permit. If your parents are divorced, 
your custodial parent or a stepparent married to your custodial parent 
may approve your application. If you have no living parents or guardian, 
or if you are married or legally emancipated, a close family member, 
employer, or a spouse who is at least 18 years of age may sign your 
application.

Approval can be withdrawn by the individual who signs the appli-
cation. Forms can be obtained at driver license renewal offices and 
examination stations, and on the Driver and Vehicle Services Website  
at dvs.dps.mn.gov.

If you are a foreign exchange student, your host sponsors are not 
authorized to sign your application. You will need two application forms 
to send to your parents for notarized signatures. One is for the instruction 
permit, and the other is for the provisional license. 

dvs.dps.mn.gov
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The GDL System
Minnesota has a graduated driver’s licensing (GDL) system, which is 
designed to ease inexperienced drivers into the driving environment. 
Under the GDL system, anyone 18 years of age or younger must hold 
an instruction permit for at least six months before taking a road test. 
When you have passed the road test, you may apply for your license.

Your Instruction Permit
The first step to becoming a licensed driver is to obtain an instruction 

permit. The permit is valid for two years of practice driving with a 
licensed driver sitting in the front passenger seat. It is illegal to practice 
driving without a valid instruction permit. When you drive, you must 
have your instruction permit in immediate possession. 
To qualify and obtain an instruction permit you must:
	 •	 Be at least 15 years of age.
	 • 	Complete 30 hours of classroom instruction and be enrolled in 	 	
		  behind-the-wheel instruction. If you are 18 years of age or older, 		
		  the classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction is not required. 
	 • 	Comply with identification requirements.
	 • 	Pass a vision screening and a knowledge test.
	 • 	Complete a license application and pay the required instruction 	 	
		  permit fee.

Under 18
If you are under 18 years of age, the supervising driver must be 21 

years of age or older, every occupant must wear a seat belt or use a child 
passenger restraint system, and you may not use, or talk on, a cell phone 
while driving, with or without a hands-free cell phone device.

18 and older
If you are 18 years of age or older, the supervising driver must be at 

least 18 years of age and all passengers must wear a seat belt or use a 
child passenger restraint system.

After the required six months of practice driving (three months, if 
you are 19 years of age or older), you may take the road test. For road 
test scheduling information, see Chapter 9 of this manual. Before you 
will be allowed to take the road test, you must present to the driver 
examiner your valid instruction permit and current proof of insurance 
on the vehicle.

If your instruction permit is lost or expired, you may apply for a  
new permit. The new permit will be valid for two years from the date  
of application.
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Your Provisional License 
The provisional license is the second phase of the GDL system. This 
license is valid for two years from the application date and has restrictions 
that do not apply to a full driver’s license. Every occupant must wear a 
seat belt or use a child passenger restraint system and you may not use,  
or talk on, a cell phone while driving. This includes using a hands-free 
cell phone device. 
To qualify for your provisional license you must:
	 •	 Be at least 16 years of age.
	 •	 Have completed the classroom and behind-the-wheel phases of 	 	
		  driver education. 
	 •	 Have held an instruction permit for six months with no convictions 	
		  for moving or alcohol/controlled-substance violations.
	 •	 Have passed a road test. 

A parent, court appointed guardian, county appointed foster parent  
or director of the transitional living program in which you reside must  
sign and approve your license application and certify that you have  
driven under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21  
years of age for not less than 30 hours. At least ten of the 30 supervised 
hours must have taken place at night. When you have completed these 
requirements, you may apply for your provisional license and pay the 
appropriate fee.

Provisional drivers are subject to nighttime and passenger limitations. 
During the first six months of licensure, driving is prohibited from 
midnight until 5 a.m. unless the provisional driver is:
	 •	 Accompanied by a licensed driver at least 25 years of age.
	 •	 Driving between home and work.
	 •	 Driving between home and a school event for which the school  
		  does not provide transportation.
	 •	 Driving for employment purposes.

	 Additionally, for the first six months of licensure, only one passenger 
under the age of 20 is permitted, unless accompanied by a parent or 
guardian.
	 During the second six months of licensure, no more than three 
passengers under the age of 20 are permitted, unless accompanied  
by a parent or guardian.
	 Note: Passengers under 20 who are members of the provisional  
driver’s immediate family are permitted during both time periods.

Vanessa’s Law
An unlicensed teen driver with a crash-related moving violation or  
an alcohol/controlled substance-related violation (a violation of one  
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or more statutes, including DWI, Implied Consent, Open Bottle, or  
Underage Drinking and Driving/Not a Drop Law) cannot be given a 
license, instruction permit or provisional license until age 18. At 18,  
the driver must:
	 •	 Pass the knowledge test(s).
	 •	 Fulfill reinstatement requirements, including payment of fees which 	
		  can be up to $680, depending on circumstances.
	 •	 Obtain an instruction permit and hold it for at least six months.
	 •	 Pass the road test.

A licensed teen driver with a provisional license whose driving 
privileges were revoked due to a crash-related moving violation or an 
alcohol/controlled substance-related violation cannot regain a license  
until age 18. At that time, the person must complete the following steps  
to obtain a full driver’s license:
	 •	 Fulfill all reinstatement requirements, including the payment of fees 	
		  which can be up to $680 depending on circumstances.
	 •	 Complete the classroom portion of a formal driver education course.
	 •	 Pass the knowledge test.
	 •	 Obtain an instruction permit and hold it for three months.
	 •	 Complete the behind-the-wheel portion of a driver education course.

Getting Your Class D Driver’s License 
To qualify for your class D driver’s license, you must be at least 18 years  
of age, or have held a provisional license for at least 12 consecutive months 
with no convictions for alcohol violations, controlled-substance violations, 
or crash-related moving violations, and have had not more than one 
conviction for a moving violation that is not crash related. 

If you are under 18 years of age, you must certify that you have driven  
for not less than ten hours under the supervision of a licensed driver who  
is at least 21 years of age.

You must complete an application for a driver’s license and pay the  
license fee. If you upgrade from a provisional license and have no vio- 
lations on your record, you will receive a $3.50 credit toward the fee.

If you are under 21 years of age, you will receive a license that is  
marked “under-21”. This license will expire on your 21st birthday. You  
may apply for an over-21 license three weeks before your 21st birthday.  
From then on, it will expire every four years on your birthday.

Exceptions to Minimum Age Requirement
A 15 year old may qualify for a restricted farm work driver’s license, a 
special medical driver’s license, or a motorized bicycle (moped) permit 
after completing a driver education course and passing a road test.
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A restricted farm work driver’s license allows a young person to help 
a parent or guardian with farm work. The license holder may drive alone 
to perform farm work during daylight hours, within 20 miles of the 
farmhouse, in cities with populations of less than 100,000.

To obtain a farm work driver’s license, the applicant’s parent or legal 
guardian must fill out an affidavit, which is available at all driver’s 
license examination stations. The completed affidavit must be presented  
to the driver examiner at the time of the road test, along with a property  
tax statement that classifies the property as agricultural. If the parent 
or guardian rents the farm land, a rental agreement and property tax 
statement are required. 

Applicants do not need to wait six months before taking the road test  
for this license, but must apply for an instruction permit and present  
a certificate of completion from an approved behind-the-wheel driver 
education course. The farm work restriction can be removed after the 
driver holds an instruction permit for six months and reaches 16 years  
of age. The farm work restriction will remain in effect until the driver 
applies to have it removed.

A special medical driver’s license may be issued to a 15-year-old 
when there are no licensed drivers in the household, and the applicant 
must drive a motor vehicle for personal medical needs or those of a 
family member. 

A written statement from a parent or legal guardian and a letter from 
a physician that describes the need for the special medical driver’s 
license must be submitted for approval before a road test is given. The 
Commissioner of Public Safety may set conditions and limits to ensure 
public safety. The applicant must have an instruction permit for six 
months and complete an approved driver education course before taking 
the road test for this license.

A 15-year-old can obtain a motorized bicycle permit after completing 
a motorized bicycle safety course and passing a knowledge test, vision 
test, and skills test. 

Driver’s License Classifications
Your driver’s license allows you to drive a motor vehicle on public 
streets and highways. You must carry your license with you at all  
times when you are driving a motor vehicle. You must have the 
appropriate class of license and endorsement for the type of vehicle  
you are driving.

Information about your license class and any endorsements or 
restrictions will be listed on the back of your driver’s license.

There are four classes of driver’s licenses and several endorsements 
available to Minnesota drivers. Below is a brief description of the 
different license classes and endorsements.
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Class D License 
This is the most common license for Minnesota drivers. If you have a 
class D driver’s license, you may operate:
	 •	 All single-unit vehicles (cars, pickups, and small trucks) except 
		  those with a gross vehicle weight of 26,001 pounds or more, 		
		  vehicles designed to carry more than 15 passengers (including  
	 	 the driver), and vehicles that carry hazardous materials.
	 •	 Any farm truck transporting agricultural products, farm machinery, 	
	 	 or farm supplies (including hazardous materials), within 150 miles 	
		  of the farm. The farm truck must be operated by the farmer, his or 		
		  her immediate family member, or an employee of the farmer.
	 •	 Authorized emergency vehicles, whether or not in excess of 26,000 	
		  pounds gross vehicle weight. 
	 •	 Recreational vehicles (motor homes and camping trailers), operated 	
		  for your personal use.
	 •	 Motorized bicycles.
	 •	 Motorcycles, with the appropriate license endorsement.
	 •	 Neighborhood electric vehicles (NEVs). 

You may also tow a trailer or other vehicle if:
	 •	 It has a gross vehicle weight of 10,000 pounds or less, or
	 •	 It has a gross vehicle weight of more than 10,000 pounds, but the 	 	
		  combined gross vehicle weight of the vehicle and trailer is 26,000 		
		  pounds or less.

License Endorsements 
You must have an endorsement on your license in order to drive motor-
cycles, buses, school buses, double and triple trailers, tank vehicles, and 
if you carry hazardous materials. All endorsements require additional 
knowledge tests. Bus, school bus, and motorcycle endorsements require 
specialized road tests.

Commercial Driver’s Licenses
Class A, B and C licenses are called commercial driver’s licenses 
(CDL). A CDL allows you to drive all class D vehicles, in addition  
to certain types of vehicles included in each driver’s license class.

Class C License
With a hazardous materials endorsement, a class C license holder 
may transport hazardous materials in a class D vehicle. With a tanker 
endorsement, you may carry hazardous liquid or gaseous materials in  
a permanently-mounted or portable tank.
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Class B License
A class B license, with necessary endorsements, allows the holder to 
operate all class C and D vehicles and all other single-unit vehicles. The 
holder of a class B license may tow only vehicles with a gross vehicle 
weight of 10,000 pounds or less when operating a class B power unit.

Class A License
With appropriate endorsements, a class A license is valid for any vehicle 
or trailer combination. 

CDL Information
For more information about CDLs and CDL requirements, see the 
Minnesota Commercial Driver’s Manual, which includes the Minnesota 
School Bus Driver’s Handbook. These are available on the Driver and 
Vehicle Services Website at dvs.dps.mn.gov.

Note: If you operate any class of vehicle as an employer or employee, 
you may be subject to commercial motor carrier requirements. These 
requirements may apply to single unit and combination vehicles of more 
than 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight (such as construction vehicles), 
vehicles used to deliver packages and other items, and vehicles designed 
or used to transport more than eight passengers, including the driver.  
In order to legally operate these vehicles, you may need to possess a 
valid U.S. Department of Transportation medical examiner’s certificate. 
You may also be subject to restrictions on the number of hours you drive 
and to vehicle maintenance and inspection requirements. 

For more information, contact the Minnesota State Patrol at  
651-405-6171 or the Minnesota Department of Transportation Office  
of Freight and Commercial Vehicle Operations at 651-215-6330.

CDL for Persons Under 21 Years of Age
Minnesota residents under 21 years of age can obtain a CDL. The license 
will carry specific restrictions.

License Renewal and Replacement
A driver’s license issued by the state of Minnesota expires on your 
birthday and must be renewed every four years after you reach 21 years 
of age. If your current license is lost, damaged, or destroyed, you must 
apply for a duplicate license. If you have lost your license, you must 
present proper identification when it is time to renew it. Applicants for 
license renewal must pass a vision test.

dvs.dps.mn.gov
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Name or Address Change
If you change your name or address before your license expires, you  
must apply for a duplicate (replacement) license within 30 days. If you 
need a replacement instruction permit, you must renew your permit.

Active Military Service
If you are in active military service with the U.S. armed forces and  
have a valid unexpired Minnesota driver’s license upon entering military 
service, you are not required to renew your license until you are separated 
or discharged, regardless of your length of service. To ensure that your 
driving record will be maintained, notify the Department of Public Safety 
of your military status by calling 651-296-6911.

You must renew your license within one year of your separation or 
discharge from active military service by presenting your Minnesota 
driver’s license and your DD214 military discharge papers.

This exception also applies to spouses of those in active military 
service, if the spouse does not reside in Minnesota during the active 
military service period.

Selective Service
If you are between the ages of 18 and 26, and are a U.S. citizen or resident, 
you will be registered with the U.S. Selective Service when you apply 
for any Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services card. If you are under 18 
years of age, DVS will withhold Selective Service registration until your 
18th birthday. “Consent to Registration” at the time of application is in 
compliance with the Military Selective Service Act, U.S. Code title 50 
appendix, section 453.

State Identification Cards
You can apply for a Minnesota identification card at an office that accepts 
driver’s license applications. You must present at least one primary and 
one secondary identity document, as defined in this chapter. Driver and 
Vehicle Services will not issue an identification card to a person who  
has a valid driver’s license or instruction permit. 
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Driver’s License Fees
Class A regular..................................................................................$	42.25
Class A under 21...............................................................................$	22.25
Class B, regular or under 21..............................................................$	34.25
Class C, regular or under 21..............................................................$	27.25
School Bus processing fee — original and renewal applications**.$	 4.00 
Class D, regular or under 21..............................................................$	23.25
Provisional driver’s license...............................................................$	14.25
Class D provisional license upgrade to under-21 driver’s license, 
no violations on record ($3.50 credit)...............................................$	19.75

Identification Cards
Under age 65................................................................................. $	17.25
Age 65 and older........................................................................... $	11.00
Card for person with physical disability, developmental  
disability, or qualified mental illness............................................ $	 .50

Duplicate Driver’s License or Identification Card
All classes..................................................................................... $	12.75

Others
Class D instruction permit (valid for two years)........................... $	11.25
Class A, B, or C instruction permit*............................................ 	no fee
CDL endorsement examination fees*........................................... $	 2.50
Motorcycle instruction permit/endorsement fee*......................... $	21.00
Motorcycle endorsement renewal (two-wheel only)**................. $	13.00
Standby or Temporary Custodian Designation**......................... $	 4.25

Reinstatement Fees*
Revoked license** 
Alcohol/drugs and criminal vehicular operation........................$	680.00
Other offenses (including No-fault insurance revocation)............ $.30.00
Suspended license**..................................................................... $.20.00
No-fault insurance violation (suspended)..................................... $.20.00
CDL disqualification fee............................................................... $.20.00
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Motorized Bicycle Operator’s Permit
Knowledge test and 30 day instruction permit*........................... $	 6.75
Skills test and one-year operator’s permit*.................................. $	 6.75
Duplicate of one-year operator’s permit....................................... $	 3.75
Renewal of one-year operator’s permit under 21.......................... $	 9.75
Duplicate of operator’s permit...................................................... $	 5.25
Renewal, age 21 and older............................................................ $	15.75

Retesting Fees
Third and subsequent knowledge test (after failing first two)*.... $	10.00
Third and subsequent road/skills test (after failing first two)*.... $	20.00

	 *	 Available at driver examination stations only.
	 **	 Fee does not include the cost of a new license.

		  Fees are determined by law and are subject to change.  
		  Total license fee includes additional fees per Minnesota Statute 			
		  171.06, subd. 2.



19

Chapter 2  
Your Vehicle

Your Vehicle

Before driving any motor vehicle on public roads, make sure it is fully 
equipped and in good mechanical condition.

Become familiar with your vehicle. Read the operator’s manual 
and know how to use all the equipment. Routinely check the lights, 
windshield wipers, horn, and tires to be sure they are in working order. 
Make sure you understand the functions of the gauges and warning 
indicators.

Upon entering the vehicle, check your seat and mirrors to see if they 
require adjustments. Make sure passengers are seated in positions that 
do not obstruct your view or prevent you from driving normally. Adjust 
and buckle your seat belt and make sure all of your passengers do so.

Vehicle Requirements
Brakes
All cars and trucks must have at least two separate brake systems,  
such as the foot brake and the parking/emergency brake.

Bumpers
All private passenger vehicles must have front and rear bumpers. 
Pickup trucks and vans must have front bumpers and either rear 
bumpers or reflectors.
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Horn
Your motor vehicle must have a working horn. Bells, sirens, and 
whistles are not horns and may be used only by emergency vehicles. 
Use your horn when it is necessary to avoid a crash. Don’t honk 
unnecessarily. Avoid honking for purposes such as announcing  
your arrival.

Headlights and Taillights
All motor vehicles, with the exception of motorcycles, must have two 
white headlights that work on high and low beam, and red taillights  
that illuminate when the brake pedal is pressed.  

When set on high beam, headlights must make objects visible on  
the road ahead from at least 350 feet away.

Replace damaged headlights. A cracked lens allows moisture and  
dust to accumulate inside the lamp, resulting in loss of illumination  
and increased glare for other motorists.

Clean your headlights as often as you clean your windshield. Dirty 
headlights can reduce light output by as much as 75 percent.

Have your headlights inspected at least once a year to make sure  
they are aimed properly. Some headlamps require an adapter or  
special settings. Refer to your operator’s manual for more information.

Some vehicles have reduced-power headlights, called daytime 
running lamps, which turn on automatically when you drive during 
the daytime. These lights make your vehicle easier for others to see. 
Taillights and parking lights do not turn on automatically.

Your headlights must be turned on at sunset and used until sunrise. 
They must also be used during weather conditions that include rain, 
snow, hail, sleet, or fog and any time you cannot clearly see the road 
ahead for a distance of at least 500 feet.

License Plate Light
A white light bulb must illuminate the rear license plate to make it 
visible at night.

Turn Signals
All turn signal lights must be in working order. You must use turn 
signals if your vehicle width, or the width of a load you are carrying, 
prevents drivers behind you from seeing your hand and arm signals.
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Prohibited Lights
Blue lights, flashing lights, and strobe lamps serve special purposes. 
They are not for use by non-authorized vehicles.

Only snowplows, other road maintenance equipment, and authorized 
emergency vehicles may be equipped with blue lights. Only authorized 
emergency vehicles, school buses, road maintenance equipment, tow 
trucks, service vehicles, and farm equipment may be equipped with 
flashing lights. Only school buses, snow removal equipment, and rural 
mail carrier vehicles may be equipped with strobe lamps.

Mufflers
All motor vehicles must be equipped with mufflers that keep the  
vehicle from making sudden or prolonged loud noises, particularly 
sharp popping or crackling sounds. Check the muffler regularly for 
carbon monoxide leaks.

Rearview Mirrors
All passenger vehicles must be equipped with rearview mirrors. 
Vehicles such as rental moving trucks, which are not designed to  
allow a view through a rear window, must be equipped with an 
additional side mirror.

Pickup trucks, which are often used for hauling purposes, must 
also be equipped with an additional side mirror. The side mirror 
will provide the driver with a clear view when transported materials 
obstruct sight through the rearview mirror.

Seat Belts and Airbags
Be sure that seat belts are clean and in good condition, so they are 
available to all vehicle occupants. In Minnesota, motor vehicles must 
be equipped with seat belts, and use of seat belts is mandatory. 

Airbags are intended to work with seat belts to prevent injuries.  
They are not designed to keep occupants from being ejected.

Keep dashboards free of debris or clutter. When airbags suddenly 
inflate, objects on the dashboard can become dangerous projectiles.

Read your operator’s manual before driving a vehicle equipped  
with airbags.
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Tires
Tires must be able to carry your vehicle’s weight and grip the surface  
of the road properly. Check your tire pressure often and never drive with 
under-inflated tires. A tire is illegal if the tread is less than one-sixteenth 
of an inch deep. Carry a good spare tire and check its pressure often. 
Inspect tires regularly for cuts, cracks, uneven wear, bald spots, bulges, 
and punctures.

Windshield and Windows 
Your view through windshields and windows must not be obstructed  
by cracks, discoloration, steam, frost, ice, or snow when you are driving. 
Objects may not be suspended between the driver and the windshield. 
Labels and stickers or other devices permitted by state law may be 
placed on your windshield. These include state and national park 
stickers, official safety inspection stickers, and MNpass electronic  
toll-collection devices.

Global positioning and other navigation systems may be mounted  
or located near the bottommost portion of the windshield.

Driver feedback and safety-monitoring equipment may be mounted 
immediately behind, slightly above or slightly below the rearview mirror.

Windshields may not be made of, covered by, or treated with any 
material that makes the glass more reflective or reduces the amount  
of light that travels through it.

Any window tint material applied to the side or rear windows after 
August 1, 1985, must be marked to show the percentage of light that is 
transmitted and the percentage of reflection it creates. If it transmits less 
than 50 percent, or reflects more than 20 percent of available light, it 
may be used only on the rear window of a pickup truck, or on the rear 
and side windows of a van (behind the driver’s seat), limousine,  
or vehicle used by a funeral home.

Windshield Wipers and Window Defrosters 
A motor vehicle with a glass windshield must be equipped with wipers 
in good working condition. Window defrosters are necessary to keep the 
windows and the windshield clear of steam and frost.

Wheel Guards or Fenders
Passenger vehicles must be equipped with fenders or other wheel guards 
to prevent water, dirt, and other material from being picked up and 
thrown into the air by the tires.
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Fuel Efficient Techniques
Keep Your Car in Good Operating Condition
•	 Keep your engine properly tuned.
•	 Keep tires properly inflated.
•	 Use the recommended grade of motor oil.

Drive Efficiently
•	 Plan and combine errands into one trip.
•	 Drive sensibly; avoid aggressive driving such as speeding, rapid 	 	
	 acceleration and braking.
•	 Observe the speed limit.
•	 Remove excess weight; avoid keeping unnecessary heavy items  
	 in your vehicle.
•	 Use cruise control on the highway.
•	 Use overdrive gears.
•	 Take public transportation, use car pools, ride share, bike or walk 	 	
	 whenever possible.
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Chapter 3 Traffic Laws and 
Vehicle Operation

Minnesota traffic laws apply to everyone who operates a vehicle on 
public roads in this state. The following laws deal with controlling  
and operating your vehicle.

Speed Limits
The faster you drive, the less time you allow yourself to react to events 
on the road and around you. Traveling at faster speeds increases the 
likelihood of crashes. And when crashes occur at excessive speeds, 
victims’ injuries tend to be more serious and death is more likely  
to result.

Minnesota’s basic speed law requires you to drive at a speed no faster 
than is reasonable under existing conditions. These include weather, 
traffic, and road conditions.

Driving faster than the posted speed limit is illegal. The posted  
speed limit is the maximum speed permitted on that particular road. 
However, the speed limit on two-lane highways with a posted speed limit 
of 55 mph or higher is increased by 10 mph when the driver is lawfully 
passing another vehicle in the same direction.

Minimum speed limits may be posted on some roads. It is illegal  
to drive slower than the posted minimum speed under normal weather, 
traffic, and road conditions.

Note: If you approach an intersection at an unlawful speed, you lose 
the right-of-way privilege associated with driving at a lawful speed.

The following Minnesota speed limits apply under ideal driving 
conditions, unless traffic signs indicate otherwise:
	 10 mph — in alleys	
	 30 mph — on urban or town roads
	 55 mph — in all other locations that are not specified in this list

In school zones, reduce speed when children are present. In work or 
construction zones, reduce speed and drive with care. Always obey the 
posted speed limit.

Speed Limits and Fines
You can be fined for driving a vehicle faster than the posted speed limit. 
Additional fines will be charged if you are caught driving 20 mph or 
more over the posted limit. Fines will double if you speed in marked 
construction zones. If you are caught driving in excess of 100 mph your 
driving privileges will be revoked for a minimum of six months. 



25

Traffi
c Law

s and Vehicle O
peration

Minnesota Driver’s Manual

Reduced Speed
You may be required to reduce your speed in many driving situations.  
It is important to remember that increasing speed decreases your field  
of vision and puts you at greater risk of being involved in a crash.

You must slow down when you approach or pass a stopped emergency 
vehicle with its emergency lights flashing. A surcharge of not less than 
$25 is added to the speeding fine if you violate this law. Slow down for  
a flag person, pedestrians, barricades, and flares or reflectors on the 
road. Slower speeds are necessary when you travel on a narrow or 
winding road or approach a curve, hilltop, or railroad crossing. Bad 
weather and poor road conditions are other situations in which drivers 
are required to slow down.

Speed Limits on Bridges
Watch for and obey special speed limits and “No Passing” signs posted 
on bridges. 

Signaling
When you wish to change lanes or make a turn, signal with an approved 
signal device to inform other motorists of your intention. Signals are 
to be activated at least 100 feet before you make the turn. Continue 
signaling until you have completed the turn or lane change.

Hand and Arm Signals
During daylight hours, hand and arm signals may be used in addition 
to, or instead of, turn signals. You may not use hand signals at night or 
while driving a vehicle constructed or loaded so that hand signals are 
not visible to other drivers.

Changing Lanes
It is often necessary to change lanes in order to make a turn, merge with 
other traffic, or to perform other driving activities. Lane changing can 
be dangerous and must be done with caution. Make sure you have safe 
clearance to the side, behind, and ahead of your vehicle, before moving 
into another lane. Turn your head in the direction of the lane you are 
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moving into and check for vehicles. If you rely only on mirrors, you  
may not see vehicles in certain positions, known as “blind spots.”

Blind Spots
Blind spots are areas around your vehicle where your view is obstructed. 
You cannot see pedestrians or other vehicles in your rearview or side 
mirrors when they are in these locations.
The design of your vehicle, and the position of the “pillars” that support 
the roof, will determine the location of your blind spots. Factors such as 
dirty windshields and glaring lights can also create temporary blind spots.
It is important to know the location of your blind spots. Before making 
lane changes or turns, quickly turn your head to look for hidden pedes- 
trians or vehicles. Avoid driving in other drivers’ blind spots. Be partic-
ularly conscious of blind spots when driving near commercial vehicles.

Turns
Improper turns cause many traffic crashes. Move safely into the correct 
lane well ahead of the place where you will make the actual turn.
	 •	 Slow down before making turns. Signal your intent, at least 100   
      	feet before the turn. Signals let pedestrians and drivers know what    
       you plan to do.
	 •	 While waiting to turn, keep your wheels straight and your foot on  
		  the brake. If your vehicle is struck from the rear, you will be less 		
		  likely to be pushed into oncoming traffic.

Left Turns Right Turns

Left turn: After checking traffic behind you 
and signaling your intent, move into the lane 
closest to the center line. If there are no lines 
marking the lanes, move your vehicle to the 
right of the center of the road. Look right 
and left before starting the turn. Yield right 
of way, if necessary. Turn the steering wheel 
hand-over-hand, and complete the turn in  
the first lane right of the center line.

Right turn: After checking traffic behind 
you and signaling your intent, move close 
to the right curb. Look right and left before 
beginning the turn. Yield right of way, if 
necessary. Turn the steering wheel hand-
over-hand, and complete the turn in the 
lane next to the curb.
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From a one-way road  
onto a one-way road

Multiple turn lanes

Two approaching left turns
From a one-way road  
onto a two-way road

From two-way road  
onto a one-way road

Multiple turn lanes: If there are signs or lane markings that allow for two or more 
turning lanes, stay in your lane during the turn.
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	 •	 Continue signaling until you begin your turn. 
	 •	 Do not make sudden turns from the wrong lane of traffic.
	 •	 Watch for traffic or obstacles in the road you plan to enter.
	 •	 Always finish your turn in the correct lane. (See diagrams on  
		  pages 26 and 27.)
	 •	 If the car ahead of you is signaling for a left turn, slow down  
		  and prepare to stop.
	 •	 When waiting to make a left turn at a green traffic light with  
		  oncoming traffic, position the car into the intersection where your 		
		  body appears even with the curb line. The only opportunity to make 	
		  a left turn may occur when the green light changes to yellow.

Turning on a Red Light
Right Turn 
At many intersections, you may make a right turn while the traffic light  
is red. Make sure you are in the correct lane and come to a complete 
stop. “No Turn on Red” signs are posted where these turns are not 
allowed. Check traffic in all directions to make sure your path is clear. 
Watch for oncoming cars making left turns in front of you. Sometimes 
oncoming traffic will have a green arrow before your light turns green. 

Left Turn 
If certain conditions are met, you may make a left turn from a one-
way street onto another one-way street while the traffic light is red. 
Before turning, you must first come to a complete stop, make sure the 
intersection is clear, and yield to any pedestrians or vehicles. Traffic 
must be permitted to travel in the direction in which you are turning.

When turning on a red light: 
	 •	 Yield to traffic and pedestrians.
	 •	 When a “No Turn on Red” sign is posted at an intersection, you     
        must wait until the light is green to make a turn.

Roundabouts
Roundabouts are designed to increase traffic flow and provide a  
safer intersection than a normal four-way stop. When approaching  
a roundabout:
	 •	 Slow down as you approach the roundabout.
	 •	 For multi-lane roundabouts, as with any intersection, get into  
		  the appropriate lane as you approach the roundabout.
	 •	 Yield to pedestrians and bicyclists crossing the roadway.
	 •	 Watch for signs or pavement markings that require or prohibit 	 	
		  certain movements.
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	 •	 When entering a roundabout, yield to vehicles already in the 	 	
		  roundabout. Do not cross into the roundabout until all traffic  
		  from the left has cleared.
	 •	 After entering the roundabout, drive in a counter-clockwise 	 	
		  direction until you reach your exit.
	 •	 Do not stop, pass or change lanes within a roundabout.
	 •	 If an emergency vehicle approaches, exit the roundabout 	 	 	
		  immediately and then  
		  pull over.

Single lane  
Roundabout

Multi-lane  
Roundabout
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U-Turns
A U-turn is a 180-degree turn, resembling the letter U, that reverses your 
direction of travel. You may not make a U-turn unless you can do so  
without disrupting other traffic. “No U-Turn” signs are posted in locations 
where these turns are not allowed. U-turns are not allowed on interstate 
freeways. U-turns are also illegal near the tops of hills and on curves 
where other drivers cannot see you from 1,000 feet away.

Right-Hand Lane Travel
When operating a motor vehicle on highways that are divided into more 
than one lane in the same direction, you should drive in the right-hand 
lane when available. This does not include:
	 •	 When overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the  
		  same direction.
	 •	 When preparing for a left turn at an intersection or into a private  
		  road or driveway.
	 •	 When necessary to enter or exit an expressway, freeway, interstate 		
		  highway, or other controlled access highway.
	 •	 When otherwise directed by an official traffic-control device, a  
	 	 peace officer, or in a highway work zone.

Passing
Improper passing causes many crashes. Use extra caution when passing  
at night, when visibility is poor, and when the road is slippery.

In locations where passing is permitted on two-lane roads with traffic 
moving in both directions, you may pass on the left side of vehicles  
ahead of you. You should not exceed the speed limit to complete a pass. 
However, the speed limit on two-lane highways with a posted speed limit 
of 55 mph or higher is increased by 10 mph when the driver is lawfully 
passing another vehicle in the same direction. When you are preparing 
to pass, you must make sure there is a safe distance between your vehicle 
and oncoming traffic. You must also look behind you to determine 
whether other drivers are preparing to pass you. When another driver  
is trying to pass you, stay in your own lane and do not increase speed.

Use your left turn signal before moving into the left lane to pass.  
Use your right turn signal after passing and before returning to the  
right lane. Return to the right lane when you can see the entire vehicle  
you have just passed in your rearview mirror. When passing another 
vehicle, you must return to the right side of the road before coming  
within 100 feet of an oncoming vehicle.

Do not attempt to pass another vehicle in locations where a “No  
Passing Zone” sign is posted or where there is a solid yellow line on  
your side of the center line. Double solid yellow lines mean passing  
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is not allowed by vehicles traveling in either direction. Do not pass:
	 •	 On a curve or hill where you cannot clearly see the road ahead for  
		  at least 700 feet.
	 •	 Within 100 feet of an intersection, underpass, tunnel, or railroad crossing.
	 •	 When you are about to meet a vehicle coming toward you from the 	 	
		  opposite direction. 

Passing on the Right 
The driver of a vehicle may pass on the right of another vehicle only upon  
the following conditions: 
	 •	 When the vehicle overtaken is making, or about to make, a left turn. 	 	
	 •	 Upon a street or highway with unobstructed pavement not occupied 	 	
		  by parked vehicles that prevent two or more lanes of moving vehicles 		
		  to travel in each direction.
	 •	 Upon a one-way street, or upon any roadway on which traffic is  
		  restricted to one direction of movement, where the roadway is free  
		  from obstructions and of sufficient width for two or more lanes of  
		  moving vehicles.
	 •	 Provided that in no event the pass be executed by driving onto the 	 	
		  shoulder, whether paved or unpaved, off the pavement or main-traveled 	
		  portion of the roadway, or using a marked right turn only lane.

Backing Up
Backing up is not allowed on freeways or expressways, except by drivers of 
emergency vehicles in the course of duty. Backing up on public roads could 
result in a charge of reckless or careless driving. 

If you must back out of a driveway onto a public road, back into the nearest 
lane and proceed in a forward direction from there. Never back into or across 
lanes of traffic unless you are sure it is safe to do so.

Before you back up, it is advisable to walk around the vehicle to ensure 
that nothing is behind it. Before backing up, look to the front, sides, and rear. 
Continue looking out the rear window of your vehicle while backing. Do not 
depend on your mirrors. Back slowly into the nearest traffic lane.

Parking
When a vehicle is properly parallel parked, its wheels on the curb side will  
be positioned no more than 12 inches from the curb.

If you leave your vehicle unoccupied on a public road, the front wheels 
must be turned toward the curb or shoulder, and the parking brake must  
be engaged. In the event that the brakes fail, the wheel position will help  
the vehicle to roll toward the curb or off of the road, rather than across a 
traffic lane. 
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4 	Turn wheel 		
	 sharply to right 	
	 and pull toward 	
	 curb in center 	
	 of space.

1	 Stop even with  
	 the car ahead  
	 and about one  
	 and a half feet 	
	 away from it.

2	 Turn wheel  
	 to right sharply, 	
	 back up slowly. 

3	 When clear of car 	
	 ahead, turn wheel 	
	 sharply to left and 	
	 continue to back 	
	 up slowly.

Parallel Parking

When the front of a 
parked vehicle points 
downhill, wheels should 
be turned toward the 
curb or shoulder of  
the road. 

When the front of a parked 
vehicle points uphill, and 
there is no curb, wheels 
should be turned toward 
the shoulder of the road.

When the front of a 
parked vehicle points 
uphill, and there is a curb, 
wheels should be turned 
away from the curb. 

Parking on a Hill
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Parking is not allowed in the following areas:
	 •	 Within intersections. 
	 •	 On a crosswalk or sidewalk. 
	 •	 Within 20 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection. 
	 •	 Within 30 feet of any flashing light, stop sign, or traffic control signal 		
		  located at the side of a public road. 
	 •	 Within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a railroad crossing. 
	 •	 Within 10 feet of a fire hydrant. 
	 •	 Alongside or across the street from any excavation site or obstacle 		
		  if parking would obstruct traffic. 
	 •	 At the street end of a driveway. 
	 •	 On any bridge.
	 •	 Within any highway tunnel. 
	 •	 On the traffic side of any vehicle parked at a curb or at the edge  
		  of a highway (known as “double parking”).
	 •	 Beside a curb that is painted yellow, or where official “No Parking” 
		  signs are posted.
	 •	 In front of mailboxes (refer to city/local ordinances).

Highway Parking
Vehicles left on state highways or freeways for any reason must be  
moved away from the main, traveled portion of the road. If the vehicle 
cannot be moved, use clearly visible markers or signals to prevent damage 
to your vehicle and harm to other drivers.

Vehicles parked on the highway at night, or any time lights are 
required, must have at least one white or amber front light and at least  
one red taillight illuminated. Both lights must be visible from a distance 
of at least 500 feet. Use parking lights or hazard warning lights to alert 
other drivers. Headlights on parked vehicles must be set on low beam.

Passenger Safety
It is the driver’s responsibility to make sure that other passengers are 

safe. Insist that all passengers wear seat belts. Be sure that children are 
buckled into an age-appropriate child passenger restraint system.

Seat Belt Laws
Of all the safety equipment in your vehicle, the seat belt is most likely to  
save your life. In Minnesota, motor vehicles must be equipped with seat 
belts; seat belt use is mandatory. A properly adjusted and fastened seat  
belt must be worn by all drivers and passengers in all seating positions, 
including the back seat. Law enforcement can stop motorists solely for  
seat belt violations.
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If you do not wear a seat belt, consider the following:
	 • 	Your chances of being killed or injured in a crash are four times greater.
	 •	 It is possible to be killed in a crash when traveling at speeds as low  
		  as 12 mph.
	 •	 Seat belts keep occupants from being ejected from the vehicle, in  
		  the event of a crash. People who are thrown from vehicles are likely 	
		  to die or suffer serious injuries.
You are not legally required to wear a seat belt if you are:
	 •	 Driving a passenger vehicle in reverse.
	 •	 Occupying a normal seating position in a motor vehicle in which  
		  all seat belts are being used by other passengers.
	 •	 In possession of a written certificate from a physician citing medical 	
		  reasons for seat belt non-use.
	 •	 Driving a motor vehicle while engaged in work that involves frequent 	
		  exiting and entering of the motor vehicle. This applies only if you  
		  do not drive at speeds greater than 25 miles per hour.
	 •	 A rural mail carrier delivering mail for the U.S. Postal Service.
	 •	 Driving or riding in a pickup truck while engaged in farm work.
	 •	 Driving a motor vehicle made before January 1, 1965.

Use Seat Belts Correctly
You are more likely to survive a car crash if you use the lap and shoulder 
belts together. The lap belt should be adjusted to fit snugly across your 
hipbones or upper thighs. It should never be positioned across the abdomen 
or the soft part of your stomach. 

The shoulder belt should be fitted snugly across the chest and middle  
of the shoulder. 

If the seat belt is positioned correctly, it is much less likely to contribute 
to injuries in the event of a crash.

Infant and Child Safety Seat Laws
The back seat is the safest place in most vehicles and is the recommended 
place for any child younger than 13 years of age to ride. All child safety 
restraint systems must be federally approved and installed according to 
manufacturer’s instructions.
	 •	 Infants must ride in a rear-facing child safety restraint system until  
	 	 they are at least 1 year of age and weigh at least 20 pounds. However,  
		  according to the American Academy of Pediatrics, children should ride  
		  in a rear-facing child safety system until they are at least 2 years of age.
	 •	 Children older than 1 year of age and who weigh at least 20 pounds  
		  may ride facing forward in a high-back booster seat with the harness  
		  straps positioned at or above shoulder level. Children should use a  
		  forward-facing harnessed seat until they outgrow the weight limit  
		  (typically 40-60 pounds, depending on the seat).
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	 •	 Children under 8 years of age or 4 feet 9 inches tall, who have out-		
		  grown a forward-facing harnessed seat, must sit in a belt-positioning, 	
		  forward-facing booster seat, used with both adult lap and shoulder  
		  belts. The shoulder belt should fit snugly across the chest and shoulder.
	 •	 A child may not use a seat belt alone until he/she is age 8 or 4 feet  
		  9 inches tall.

Other Child Passenger Safety Guidelines
	 •	 For your child’s protection, never use a safety seat that has been  
		  in a crash.
	 •	 Child restraint systems are typically considered expired after six  
		  years from the date of manufacture. Some manufacturers now stamp  
		  a specific expiration date on the seat. If no date is listed, follow the  
		  six year recommendation.
	 •	 Rear-facing infant seats should never be placed in front of an  
		  active airbag.
	 •	 Children should not be held on a passenger’s lap while riding in  
		  a vehicle.
	 •	 Children should not ride in the cargo area of a truck or station wagon.

Never Leave Children Unattended in a Vehicle
Never leave children or vulnerable adults alone in a motor vehicle. Some 
situations that could occur include the following:
	 •	 Unattended occupants could engage the vehicle and become involved  
		  in a crash. 
	 •	 Temperatures can reach dangerous extremes inside a vehicle. 	 	
		  Occupants could die or suffer serious injuries from heat or cold.
	 •	 The vehicle could be stolen or broken into by someone who is not 	 	
		  aware the vehicle is occupied.
	 •	 Someone could break into the vehicle and abduct or harm  
		  the occupants.

Leaving Your Vehicle Unattended
Do not invite theft. Lock your doors and take your keys with you.  
Do not leave the vehicle running. Do not leave the keys in the ignition  
or elsewhere inside the vehicle. Do not leave valuables, or anything that 
could appear to be of value, inside the vehicle. 

Animal Safety
Drivers are responsible for the safety of animals traveling in vehicles and 
should be aware of the dangers of leaving animals unattended in vehicles 
during warm weather. Pets should not be left in vehicles, especially on very 
hot or cold days. Temperature extremes can be very dangerous to animals.
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Airbags
An airbag is a supplemental restraint system. Airbags are intended to 
work with seat belts to prevent injuries. They are not designed to keep 
occupants from being ejected. For safety reasons, children 12 years of  
age and younger should always ride in the back seat.

Airbag Safety Suggestions
Try to maintain at least 10 inches between yourself and the steering 
wheel. Keep your hands on the 8 and 4 o’clock or 9 and 3 o’clock 
positions on the steering wheel. Avoid the 10 and 2 o’clock position.  
Keep your thumbs turned out on the steering wheel.

Front passenger seats should be moved as far back as possible.  
Read your operator’s manual before driving or riding in a vehicle 
equipped with airbags.

For more information about the use of seat belts, airbags, and  
car safety seats, visit the Department of Public Safety Office of  
Traffic Safety Website at ots.dps.mn.gov.

Careless and Reckless Driving
Careless driving is defined as driving or stopping a motor vehicle in a  
way that endangers the lives and safety of people or property. Reckless 
driving is defined as driving a motor vehicle in a manner that shows  
“willful or wanton” disregard for the safety of people or property including 
racing or contest driving. Racing is defined as willful comparison or contest 
of relative speeds by operating one or more vehicles, regardless of whether 
the speed is greater than the speed limit. If you are charged with careless  
or reckless driving, you will be tried in court for a misdemeanor.

Fleeing a Police Officer
It is against the law to use a motor vehicle to flee a police officer on 
official duty. Anyone who violates this law is guilty of a felony and  
may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years and  
one day, a fine of not more than $5,000, or both. 

If someone is killed or injured, the driver fleeing the law enforcement 
officer may be sentenced as follows:
	 •	 If a death results while fleeing a law enforcement officer, the driver 	
		  may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years,  
		  fined not more than $20,000, or both.
	 •	 If great bodily harm results while fleeing a law enforcement officer, 	
		  the driver may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 		
		  seven years, fined not more than $14,000, or both.
	 •	 If substantial bodily harm results, the driver may be sentenced to 	 	
		  imprisonment for not more than five years, fined not more than 		
		  $10,000, or both.

ots.dps.mn.gov
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Do Not Litter
It is illegal to throw items from your vehicle onto streets, roadways,  
and public or private land. It is illegal to throw, leave, place or dump 
any form of offensive or dangerous item, including cigarettes, fireworks, 
debris, snow, ice, glass, nails, tacks, wire, cans, garbage, papers, ashes, 
refuse, carcasses, offal, trash or rubbish onto streets, roadways, and  
public land or on private land without the owner’s consent.

What to Do in a Traffic Crash
If you are involved in a crash, you must take certain actions to ensure 
safety and compliance with the law:
	 •	 You must stop. Pull out of the driving lane, if possible, onto the 	 	
		  shoulder. Turn off the ignition to decrease the risk of fire.
	 •	 Protect yourself and the crash scene. Warn other drivers of danger 		
		  with emergency warning lights, flares, or flashlight.
	 •	 If someone in the crash is injured or killed, you must call the 	 	
		  nearest law enforcement agency or 911 as quickly as possible. 
	 •	 If you are qualified, administer first aid. Otherwise, do what you 	 	
		  can to make injured persons comfortable. You are required by law 		
		  to provide a reasonable degree of assistance to crash victims.
	 •	 You must provide your name, address, date of birth and registration 	
		  number of your vehicle to other drivers involved in the crash and 		
		  to any law enforcement officer at the scene. You must also show 		
		  your driver’s license to any driver who asks to see it and to any law 	
		  enforcement officer at the scene. 
	 •	 If a person involved in the crash asks for your insurance information, 	
		  you must provide the name and address of your insurance carrier  
		  and the name of your agent. 
	 •	 Insurance information must be given to the law enforcement 	 	
		  officer investigating the crash. If you do not have this information 		
		  with you, you must provide it within 72 hours. 
	 •	 If a crash results only in property damage, it is not necessary to 	 	
		  notify law enforcement. If your vehicle is disabled, have it towed 		
		  as soon as possible.
	 •	 If you damage property other than a vehicle, you must inform the 	 	
		  property owner.

Traffic Crash Reports
Every driver who is involved in a crash that results in injury, death,  
or property damage of $1,000 or more must file a traffic crash report 
within ten days of the incident. Find the form at dvs.dps.mn.gov under 
Forms/Documents/Manuals, or call the DVS Public Information Center  
at 651-296-6911 to have a form mailed to you. Send the written report  
to Driver and Vehicle Services, 445 Minnesota Street, Suite 181,  
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101. The report can also be filed electronically 
at dvs.dps.mn.gov under Online Services, Crash Record Report.

dvs.dps.mn.gov
dvs.dps.mn.gov
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Insurance
Owners of motor vehicles driven on public roads must carry no-fault  
and liability insurance on their vehicles. Valid proof of insurance must  
be carried in the vehicle at all times. Failure to provide proof of 
insurance at the request of a law enforcement officer may lead to 
revocation of your driver’s license and vehicle registration. 

When driving privileges are revoked for lack of insurance, the driver 
must pass a knowledge test; pay a $30 reinstatement fee in addition 
to fines levied by a court or citation; apply for a new driver’s license; 
and submit an insurance certificate issued by the home office of the 
insurance company.

Operation of an uninsured motor vehicle can result in a revocation 
of license plates and registration for the vehicle. The operator’s driving 
privileges may be revoked for up to one year. Anyone who is convicted  
of operating an uninsured vehicle may be fined up to $1,000 and 
sentenced to up to 90 days in jail.

Motorcycle Insurance
Liability insurance for motorcycle drivers in this state must include 
coverage for property damage and injury to other people with your vehicle. 
No-fault and uninsured driver insurance coverage is optional. Insurance 
protection is also available for damage, loss, or theft of the motorcycle.

Registering Your Vehicle
All motor vehicles owned by Minnesota residents and operated on 
public roads must be registered with the Department of Public Safety 
Driver and Vehicle Services Division.       

To register your vehicle, you must bring the current vehicle title or 
registration card and your driver’s license or other valid identification  
to your local Driver and Vehicle Services deputy registrar’s office and 
pay all fees and taxes associated with registration and title transfer.

Once registered, the license plates can be renewed online, by mail,  
or in person at any deputy registrar’s office.

Wireless Communication Devices
A person may not use a wireless communications device, such as a  
cell phone, to compose, read or send electronic messages while driving. 
Electronic messages include e-mails and text messages; electronic 
messaging also includes instant messaging and accessing the Internet.

Exceptions include using the device to obtain emergency assistance, 
report an accident or crime, or when the device is solely voice-activated 
or in hands-free mode.
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Chapter 4 Sharing the Road

The following laws and safety information pertain to situations 
involving other vehicles and pedestrians.

Stopping
A stop sign requires that you come to a complete stop. At a stop sign 
with a marked stop line, you must stop before the line. At a stop sign 
with a pedestrian crosswalk you must stop before entering the crosswalk. 
When you have stopped, yield the right-of-way to pedestrians, bicyclists 
and traffic before proceeding. If your view of the intersection is 
obstructed, prepare to stop again for traffic or pedestrians in your path.
You must also come to a complete stop in the following situations:
	 •	 Before entering a road from an alley, a private driveway, a parking 
		  lot, or a parking ramp. Always stop before crossing an adjoining 		
		  sidewalk or crosswalk.
	 •	 At an intersection or crosswalk with a traffic signal displaying a 	 	
		  red light. Wait until the signal changes to green and your path is 		
		  clear before proceeding. 	
	 •	 At a flashing red traffic light. Treat this as you would a stop sign.
	 •	 At a freeway ramp meter, when the light is red.
	 •	 At a railroad crossing with a stop sign.
	 •	 When a flag person or traffic device directs you to stop.
	 •	 At a bridge that has been raised to open a path for boats to pass 	 	
		  beneath it.

Stopping for a School Bus
School buses are equipped with yellow and red lights that flash alter-
nately to warn drivers that they are stopping to load or unload students.  

Flashing Yellow Lights 
Flashing yellow lights will be activated at least 100 feet before a school 
bus stops in a speed zone of 35 mph or less, and at least 300 feet before 
it stops in a speed zone of more than 35 mph. It is against the law to 
pass on the right side of a school bus while it is displaying red or yellow 
flashing lights.

Flashing Red Lights 
Flashing red lights warn motorists that the school bus is loading or 
unloading students. When a school bus is stopped with its red lights 
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flashing and its stop arm extended, you must stop your vehicle at least  
20 feet from the bus. Oncoming traffic and motorists approaching the  
bus from behind may not move until the stop arm is retracted and the  
red lights are no longer flashing. You can be charged with a misdemeanor 
if you break either of these laws. The penalty for this violation is a fine  
of not less than $300, and suspension of your driving privileges. 

Passing a School Bus
It is illegal to pass a school bus when its red lights are flashing and its stop 
arm is extended. You are not required to stop for a school bus with its red 
lights flashing if it is on the opposite side of a separated roadway. A law 
enforcement officer with probable cause to believe a driver has violated 
this law may arrest the driver within four hours of the violation

Vehicle Owner May Be Penalized
When a vehicle is used to violate the school bus stop arm law, the owner 
or lessee of the vehicle is guilty of a petty misdemeanor. However, if the 
owner or lessee of the vehicle can prove that another person was driving 
the vehicle at the time of the stop arm violation, the driver — not the 
owner or lessee — will be charged with the violation. 

When you apply for a driver’s license, you must certify, by signing the 
application, that you understand that you must stop for a school bus and 
are aware of the penalties for violating this law.

School Safety Patrol
When you see a student safety patrol assisting schoolmates with crossing  
a street or highway, you must come to a complete stop. You must also stop 
for adult crossing guards who display a stop sign or flag. It is illegal to 
drive through a line of children who are crossing the road, even if a school 
safety patrol is not present. A violation of this law is a misdemeanor.  
A second violation of this law within a year is a gross misdemeanor. 



41

Sharing the Road
Minnesota Driver’s Manual

Right of Way and Yielding
Right-of-way and yielding laws help traffic flow smoothly and safely. 
They are based on courtesy and common sense. Violation of these  
laws is a leading cause of traffic crashes.
	 •	 When two vehicles reach an intersection at the same time, and 		
		  there is no traffic light or signal, the driver of the vehicle on the  
		  left must yield to the vehicle on the right.

•	 When two vehicles reach an intersection at the same time,  
		  and all-way stop signs or flashing red traffic lights control  
		  the intersection, the driver on the left must yield right of way  
		  to the driver on the right.

•	 A driver who wishes to make a left turn must yield to vehicles 		
		  approaching from the opposite direction when these vehicles are  
		  in the intersection or are near enough to pose the risk of a crash.

•	 When a green arrow signal indicates that a vehicle may enter an 		
		  intersection to make a left turn, the driver must yield to other 		
		  vehicles or pedestrians already within the intersection. After 		
		  yielding, the	 driver may continue in the direction of the arrow.

•	 When two vehicles approach an uncontrolled “T” intersection, the 		
		  driver of the vehicle that is turning must yield to all cross traffic.

•	 When approaching a public road from a private road or driveway, 		
		  you must stop and yield to pedestrians and traffic.

•	 Drivers in the right lane of traffic must yield right of way to transit 		
		  and metro mobility buses attempting to merge from a bus stop  
		  or shoulder.

•	 When a funeral procession identifies itself through use of headlights 	
	 	 or hazard warning lights, you must yield to the entire procession. 

Yield to Emergency Vehicles 
When an emergency vehicle, such as an ambulance, fire truck, or 
police car, displaying flashing red lights and sounding a siren or bell 
approaches your vehicle on a two-way road, you must pull to the right 
and stop. If you are traveling on a one-way road, you must pull to 
whichever side is nearest and stop. If you are within an intersection, 
proceed through it before stopping. Remain stopped until all emergency 
vehicles have passed. A law enforcement officer with probable cause to 
believe a driver has violated this law may arrest the driver within four 
hours of the violation.
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Passing Parked Emergency/Service Vehicles
When an emergency vehicle that has its emergency lights flashing, is 
stopped on or next to a road that has two lanes in the same direction, the 
Move Over Law requires that you move to the lane farthest away from 
the vehicle, if possible to do so safely. Emergency vehicles include; tow 
trucks, ambulances, fire trucks and police cars. If you are unable to move 
a lane away, reduce speed and pass with caution.

The same procedure applies when approaching and passing parked 
vehicles such as freeway service patrol, road maintenance or construction 
vehicles that are stopped with warning lights activated.

Following Firefighting Vehicles
Only vehicles traveling on official emergency business are allowed to 
follow within 500 feet of any firefighting vehicle making an emergency 
run. Do not drive over an unprotected fire hose, unless you are directed  
to do so by a law enforcement officer or fire department official.

Following Other Vehicles
The law requires that you maintain a safe distance between your vehicle 
and the vehicle in front of you. You must be able to stop or turn to avoid  
a collision. Consider weather, traffic, and road conditions when deter-
mining appropriate following distance. Using the three-second rule will 
help you maintain a safe following distance. (See “three-second rule”  
in Chapter 6.)  

Watch for Pedestrians
Whether you are driving on busy city streets, in rural towns or on 
highways, stay alert for pedestrians. 

Yield the right-of-way to pedestrians crossing at intersections and 
crosswalks. Watch for pedestrians on roads where cars are parked,  
during times of poor visibility, and whenever children are present. 

If a pedestrian is in a marked or unmarked crosswalk, stop and  
wait until the pedestrian has passed your lane. 

Watch for blind pedestrians who may be carrying a white or metallic 
cane or using a guide dog. If a blind pedestrian is waiting at a crosswalk, 
do not use your horn or rev your engine as this may distract the pedes- 
trian or guide dog. 

It is illegal to pass another vehicle that has stopped for a pedestrian. 
A violation of pedestrian right-of-way laws is a misdemeanor.  

A second violation of these laws within a year is a gross misdemeanor.

Crosswalks
Marked crosswalks have solid white lines on the road and have  
road signs or flashing lights to warn you that you are approaching  
a crosswalk.
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Unmarked crosswalks are areas where a road intersects a sidewalk 
and there are no solid lines painted on the road. When stopping at  
a marked or unmarked crosswalk, do not block the crosswalk with  
your vehicle.  

As a pedestrian, obey the traffic laws designed to keep you safe and 
help drivers see you.
	 •	 Obey traffic control signals at intersections. Stay a few feet back 	 	
		  from the road when waiting for the WALK signal. 
	 •	 Yield the right-of-way to vehicles within the intersection at the 	 	
		  time the WALK signal is activated. 
	 •	 Use sidewalks when they are available and in useable condition.
	 •	 When crossing a road with no crosswalks, yield to all vehicles  
		  on the road.
	 •	 Stay out of traffic lanes, when possible, and make way for traffic 	 	
		  on the road.
	 •	 If it is necessary to walk on the road, stay on the left side, or face 	 	
		  oncoming traffic.

When walking at night, or in poor visibility conditions, wear light-
colored clothing trimmed with reflective material or carry a flashlight  
to help drivers see you. Be prepared to avoid drivers who do not see you. 
Pedestrians have the right-of-way within intersections and crosswalks, 
but motorists may not see you in time to stop. Even in normal weather 
conditions, glare from the sun and other factors can make it difficult for 
drivers to see the road ahead and to spot pedestrians in time to stop.

Sharing the Road with Bicyclists
Bicycles are legal vehicles on Minnesota roads and they share the same 
rights and responsibilities as other vehicles. 

Bicycle lanes are designed to separate bicycle traffic from normal 
vehicle traffic. It is illegal to drive in these lanes except to enter or leave 
the road or to prepare for a turn. Before crossing a bicycle lane, make 
sure it is safe to do so. Yield the right-of-way to approaching bicyclists. 
When the bicycle lane is clear, signal your intention to turn and then 
move into the bicycle lane before making the turn.

Use caution when passing a bicyclist. When passing, the law requires 
at least three feet between the side of your car and the bicyclist. 

Bicycle Laws
Bicycle riders are required to obey all traffic laws.
	 •	 Bicyclists must ride in the same direction as the flow of traffic, not 	 	
		  against it.	
	 •	 Bicyclists must signal all turns and obey all traffic control signs/signals 	
		  and devices.
	 •	 Bicyclists use the same hand and arm signals as other drivers use but 	 	
		  they may also hold their right arm straight out to indicate a right turn.
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	 •	 Bicyclists should travel just to the right of faster moving traffic. 	 	
	 	 However, certain hazards such as rough surfaces, debris, drainage 	 	
		  grates or a narrow traffic lane may require bicyclists to move toward 		
		  the center of the lane. Bicyclists may also move out in the lane when 		
		  passing another vehicle or when making a left turn.
	 •	 Bicyclists are allowed to ride two abreast. On a laned road, they must 	 	
		  ride within a single lane.
	 •	 Bicyclists are not allowed to impede the normal and reasonable 	 	
		  movement of traffic. 
	 •	 Bicyclists are encouraged to wear helmets.
	 •	 Bicyclists are required to be equipped with legal lights and reflectors 	 	
		  when riding at night. A bicycle may be equipped with a front lamp 		
		  that emits a white flashing signal, or a rear lamp that emits a red 		
		  flashing signal, or both.
	 •	 A bicycle may be equipped with tires having studs, spikes, or other  
		  protuberances designed to increase traction.

When riding a bicycle on a sidewalk, or across a roadway on a crosswalk, 
yield the right of way to pedestrians and give an audible signal before 
passing them. You may not ride a bicycle on a sidewalk within a business 
district, unless permitted by local authorities. Local authorities may also 
prohibit bicyclists from riding on any sidewalk or crosswalk. Bicyclists 
operating a bicycle on a sidewalk or crosswalk have all the rights and 
duties of pedestrians. 

In 2010, the Minnesota legislature amended a law to address instances 
when two-wheeled vehicles are not detected by control systems at traffic 
lights, and a signal change does not occur.

The law gives bicyclists the option to proceed through the intersection 
after a reasonable amount of time, and provides an affirmative legal 
defense to this action, based on five conditions:
	 •	 The bicycle has been brought to a complete stop.
	 •	 The traffic-control signal continues to show a red light for an 	 	
		  unreasonable time.
	 •	 The traffic-control signal is apparently malfunctioning or, if 	 	
		  programmed to change to a green light only after detecting the  
		  approach of a motor vehicle, the signal has apparently failed to 		
		  detect the bicycle.
	 •	 No vehicle or person is approaching on the roadway to be crossed  
		  or entered, or
	 •	 Approaching vehicles or persons are so far away that they do not 	 	
	 	 constitute an immediate hazard.
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The affirmative defense applies only to an alleged violation for entering 
or crossing an intersection controlled by a traffic-control signal against a 
red light. It does not provide a defense to any other civil or criminal action.

Bicyclists can be difficult to spot in traffic. Watch for them in inter-
sections, on sidewalks, and when you enter or leave alleys and driveways. 
Watch for bicycle traffic at night.

Motorized Bicycles 
A “motorized bicycle” is defined by its speed capacity; it is capable of 
traveling at speeds of 30 mph or less. Rules that apply to bicycle riding 
generally apply to motorized bicycles. Motorized bicycles are not allowed 
on sidewalks, freeways, or lanes and trails designated for pedestrians  
and bicycles.

Motorcycles
Motorcyclists must obey the same traffic laws as other drivers. 

Because motorcycles are smaller than cars, it can be difficult to judge 
their speed and distance when they are approaching. 

Your following distance from a motorcycle should be the same as,  
or greater than your following distance from other vehicles. Riders may 
experience difficulty controlling the motorcycle, which could result in 
weaving. Allow maneuvering room to avoid hitting a motorcyclist. 

When you prepare to move into a lane in front of a motorcycle, allow 
the motorcycle as much space from the rear of your vehicle as you would 
allow a car. 

If a motorcyclist attempts to pass you, maintain your lane position 
and speed, and allow the rider to complete the pass. 

Crowding a motorcyclist is illegal and dangerous. Never attempt to 
drive alongside a motorcycle in the same lane.

Motorcycles do not provide the same protection in crashes as other 
motor vehicles. Crashes at urban intersections are the most common 
motorcycle-car collisions. Many occur when drivers fail to yield right  
of way and make a left turn in front of an oncoming motorcycle.

Right-of-way laws apply to motorcyclists, as well as other drivers. 
Motorcyclists may use high-occupancy vehicle lanes.

Neighborhood Electric Vehicles (NEV)
An NEV is an electric-powered vehicle that has four wheels and can  
reach a speed of at least 20, but not more than 25 mph. NEVs must be 
titled and registered with DVS. Anyone with a class D driver’s license  
may drive an NEV, but only on streets with speed limits of 35 mph  
or less. NEVs may not be used during a road skills test.
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Commercial Vehicles
A commercial vehicle is a motor vehicle or combination of motor vehicles 
weighing more than 26,000 pounds that is used to transport passengers or 
property. Buses, including school buses of all sizes, and smaller vehicles 
that have hazardous materials placards are also commercial vehicles.

Passing a Commercial Vehicle
Before passing a commercial vehicle, make sure you have safe clearance 
to the side, behind, and ahead of your vehicle.

On a level highway, it takes three to five seconds longer to pass a  
commercial vehicle than a car. Allow enough time to pass the commercial 
vehicle and return to the right lane before coming within 100 feet of 
approaching traffic.

Do not pass a commercial vehicle if you plan to exit or turn off from 
the roadway soon. Rather than making an unsafe pass, remain behind the 
commercial vehicle until you reach the exit. On an upgrade, commercial 
vehicles often lose speed, making them easier to pass than a car. 

On a downgrade, a commercial vehicle’s momentum will increase its 
speed. You may need to allow more distance to pass. 

Complete your pass as quickly as possible and do not remain alongside 
the commercial vehicle. Move back into your lane only when you can see 
the front of the commercial vehicle in your rearview mirror. Maintain 
your speed after passing a commercial vehicle. 

When a commercial vehicle passes your vehicle, you can assist the 
driver by keeping to the far side of your lane and slightly reducing speed. 
Do not speed up while the commercial vehicle is passing. When you meet 
a commercial vehicle coming from the opposite direction, stay as far to 
the right as possible to avoid a sideswipe accident and to reduce wind 
turbulence between the two vehicles. Turbulence will push the vehicles 
away from each other, not toward each other.

Because of their large size, commercial vehicles often appear to be 
traveling at slower speeds than they actually are. Many car-commercial 
vehicle collisions occur at intersections because the driver of the car 
misjudges the speed and distance of the commercial vehicle.

Following a Commercial Vehicle
Commercial vehicles require greater stopping distance than cars. An 
average passenger car traveling at 55 mph can stop within 130 to 140 feet. 
A fully loaded tractor-trailer may require more than 400 feet to come 
to a complete stop. Following a commercial vehicle too closely reduces 
your ability to see the road ahead. Maintain a safe following distance 
and position your vehicle so the driver can see you in the side mirrors. 
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Maintaining a safe following distance will also allow you time to react 
if the commercial vehicle must stop suddenly. 

Commercial vehicles have large side mirrors that can reflect light. 
When you follow a commercial vehicle at night, always dim your 
headlights to avoid blinding the driver. 

When a commercial vehicle merges into traffic, it requires more time 
than a car to accelerate and reach normal speed. Be prepared to slow 
down or change lanes, if necessary, to allow the truck to merge safely.

If you come to a stop behind a commercial vehicle on an upgrade, 
allow space for the truck to roll back slightly when it begins to move. 
Position your vehicle on the left side of your lane to allow the driver  
to see you in the side mirror.

Commercial Vehicles and Wide Turns
Pay close attention to commercial vehicles’ turn signals. Many 
commercial vehicles make wide right turns and must sometimes leave 
an open space to the right just before the turn. The rear wheels of a 
turning vehicle follow a shorter path than the front wheels; the longer 
the vehicle, the greater the difference. To avoid a collision, do not pass 
a commercial vehicle on the right side, if there is a possibility that it 
might make a right turn.

Commercial Vehicle “No Zones”
If you are following a commercial vehicle, stay out of its “no zones.” 
These zones are blind spots to the front, sides, and rear of the vehicle. 
Some truck drivers may not be able to see up to 20 feet in front of the 
cab, on either side of the trailer, and up to 200 feet to the rear.

Railroad Crossings
Railroad crossings can be especially dangerous places for collisions 
to occur. Because of the size and weight of a train, most vehicle-train 
collisions are deadly for the motor vehicle driver. This is a good reason 
for drivers to pay extra attention when approaching and crossing 
railroad tracks. 
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Railroad Crossing Warning Devices
Public railroad crossings are marked with warning devices designed  
to let drivers know when railroad tracks are present. Warning signs  
and pavement markers indicate that you are approaching a railroad 
crossing. Signs located near the track will indicate how many tracks  
are present. When approaching a crossing, observe the tracks carefully 
and be prepared to stop when you see these markings. 

Flashing lights, bells, and gates indicate that a train is approaching. 
When you see these lights or gates activated, do not proceed across the 
tracks. Stop your vehicle at least 10 feet from the nearest rail or gate. 
It is safe to cross when traffic ahead has moved and you can proceed 
without stopping within 10 feet past the rails. At some crossings, a flag 
person may control traffic while a train is approaching. Obey the flag 
person as you would a warning device. 

Special Vehicles at Railroad Crossings
Some vehicles, such as passenger vans, buses, and larger trucks are 
required to stop at all railroad tracks, whether or not a train is present. 
Do not pass these vehicles. It is illegal to pass any vehicle within 100 
feet of a railroad crossing. 

Railroad Crossing Safety 
More than one train may approach at the same time from different 
directions. When the last car of a train passes, do not proceed across  
the tracks until you are sure a second train is not approaching on  
another track.

Look for trains in both directions at every railroad crossing, whether 
or not there are warning devices.

When there is heavy traffic on both sides of a crossing, wait behind 
the tracks until you are sure you can make it to the other side without 
stopping on the tracks.

Never race a train to get to the other side of the crossing. Trains 
cannot stop as quickly as motor vehicles. If you misjudge a train’s  
speed or your vehicle becomes stuck, you may be killed or severely 
injured. Do not shift gears while your vehicle is within a crossing.  
If your vehicle has a manual transmission, shift down before entering 
the crossing. 

Motorcyclists should approach railroad crossings with caution.  
Do not swerve to get a better angle for crossing. Swerving may cause 
you to enter into a lane of oncoming traffic. 

Although trains are equipped with bright lights and loud horns,  
their distance and speed is difficult to judge, particularly at night.
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If you feel hesitation about crossing railroad tracks when a train  
is in sight, stop. Wait for the train to pass before proceeding across  
the tracks. 

Highway Work Zones
Highway work zones are areas where road construction or maintenance 
work is underway. Machinery operates day and night and can be moving 
or stationary. Road workers set up zones with signs and road markings  
to direct traffic. Motorists must be able to understand and react to  
these directions.

Remember to be patient and expect delays, especially during peak 
travel times. Reduce your speed, watch out for workers and equipment, 
and follow any flag person’s directions.

Reduced speed limits are posted in many work zones. If there are no 
reduced speed limit postings, obey the posted speed limit. If you disobey 
the speed limit in a work zone, the fine is doubled when workers are 
present. Watch for workers and equipment and adjust your lane position 
to keep a safe distance away.

“Late Merge — Zipper Merge”
The Zipper Merge is a new driving strategy that requires a change in  
the mindset of motorists who traditionally have been taught to merge 
early when recognizing that a lane will end. The results of early merging 
are longer backups, an increase in crashes and road rage incidents.

The new driving procedure to follow is when you see the “lane closed 
ahead” sign and traffic is backing up, stay in your current lane up to the 
point of merge. Then take turns with other drivers to safely and smoothly 
ease into the remaining lane. When traffic is heavy and slow, it is much 
safer for motorists to remain in their current traffic lane until the point 
where traffic can orderly take turns merging.
The Zipper Merge benefits drivers by:

•	 Reducing the difference in speeds between two lanes. Changing  
		  lanes when traffic is traveling at approximately the same speed  
		  is easier and safer.

•	 Reducing the overall length of traffic backup by as much as 40%.
•	 Reducing congestion on freeway interchanges, especially in the 		

		  metropolitan area.
•	 Creating a sense of fairness and equity that all lanes are moving  

		  at the same rate.
•	 Reducing incidents of road rage.
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Chapter 5 Signs, Signals, and 
Pavement Markings

Minnesota signs, signals, and pavement markings conform to 
national standards. They are intended to provide clear instructions 
to help you drive safely. Learn to recognize and understand traffic 
signs, signals, and pavement markings.

Signs
Road signs use uniform symbols and pictures, as well as written 
instructions. The shapes and colors of signs are coded to give you a 
general idea of what the sign says, even before you are close enough  
to read it. 

Sign Color Meanings
Regulatory
				    Red: Prohibits and commands
				    White: Regulates

Warning 
				    Yellow: Warns
				    Yellow-green: Warns and controls in pedestrian and bicycle 		
				    crossings and school areas
	 	 	 	 Orange: Warns and controls in construction zones

Informational
				    Green: Guides and informs
				    Blue: Describes services for motorists
				    Brown: Indicates historic, cultural, or recreation sites

Common Shapes

Octagon Triangle Diamond Rectangle

Shapes continued next page



51

Signs, Signals, and Pavem
ent M

arkings 
Minnesota Driver’s Manual

Stop
Come to a complete stop. Remain stopped until 
pedestrians and vehicles with the right of way have 
cleared the intersection. Then proceed with caution. 

Yield
Slow down or stop, if necessary. Give the right of way 
to all other vehicles and pedestrians, and wait until it  
is safe to proceed. 

Do Not Enter
Do not enter that lane or road if this sign is facing you. 

Wrong Way
You have entered a lane of oncoming traffic. You are 
traveling in the wrong direction.

CirclePentagon Crossbuck

No ParkingNo Left Turn No Right Turn No U Turn

Shapes continued from previous page

Regulatory Signs
Regulatory signs direct drivers to follow certain traffic laws. You must 
obey these signs in order to drive in a safe and lawful manner. If you 
do not obey these signs, you may be issued a traffic citation that may 
impose a fine. 

A red circle with a red slash mark across a symbol indicates that you 
should not take a certain course of action.
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Speed Limit
Speed limit signs indicate the maximum speed at 
which you may drive on an area of road. Minimum 
speed limits are usually posted on interstate free-
ways with controlled access. Do not drive slower 
than the minimum posted limit unless bad weather 
or poor road conditions make it necessary.

Do Not Pass
Marks the beginning of a no-passing zone.

 

One Way 
Traffic in the specified lane flows only in the 
direction of the arrow. 

Keep Right
Stay to the right of a traffic island, median, or 
obstruction ahead.

Roundabout
When approaching a multi-lane roundabout get 
in the appropriate lane well in advance of the 
roundabout. Lane use signs will always show 
which lanes can be used for different turns. In this 
example, to turn right, get into the right lane only 
and to turn left, get into the left lane only. The sign 
shows that you can go straight from either lane.

Lane-Use Control Signs 
Turning is required or specified from a  
specific lane.

 
Traffic in the right lane may proceed straight  
ahead or turn.
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No Turn on Red 
Wait for the traffic signal to turn green before  
you turn.

Center Lane Only
The center lane is shared, for the purpose of 
making left turns, by traffic traveling in both 
directions.

Reduced Speed Ahead
A slower speed limit is posted ahead. Begin 
reducing your speed.

Restricted Lane
The diamond symbol indicates that the traffic 
lane is reserved for a specific use or a certain 
type of vehicle. The lane may be designated for 
cars with two or more passengers or for bus, 
commercial vehicle, or bicycle use. 

Warning Signs
Warning signs alert you to possible hazards ahead. For your own safety 
and the safety of others, you must be able to recognize them and react 
accordingly. 

Most warning signs are yellow. Signs warning of pedestrian or 
bicycle crossings and school zones may be either yellow or fluorescent 
yellow-green. Some common warning signs are shown below.

Handicapped Parking
Parking spaces posted with a blue “handicapped 
parking” sign are reserved for vehicles displaying 
disability license plates or a disability parking 
permit.
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School Zone
These yellow or fluorescent yellow-green, 
pentagon-shaped warning signs indicate that a 
school or an approved school crosswalk is ahead. 
Watch for children and be prepared to stop.

School Crossing
Watch for children in crosswalk and be prepared 
to stop. Drivers must yield to all pedestrians in 
crosswalks. The school crossing sign with the 
arrow below is the standard marking.

Railroad Crossings
These signs alert motorists that a railroad crossing 
is ahead. 

Railroad Crossings
Warning signs, pavement markings, gates, and 
flashing red lights are positioned at most railroad 
crossings. Pavement markings include a stop 
line, an “X,” and the letters “RR” painted on  
the pavement in front of the crossing. 

An X-shaped sign identifies a railroad crossing. 
If there is more than one track, a sign below the 
crossbuck indicates the number of tracks.

An “exempt” sign means that bus and truck 
drivers who are usually required to stop at rail-
road crossings may proceed without stopping. 
Drivers still need to look in both directions  
for trains.
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Pedestrian Crossing
These signs direct drivers to watch for 
pedestrians crossing the road. 

Slow down and be prepared to stop for 
pedestrians.

Yield the right of way to pedestrians crossing 
at intersections and crosswalks. The pedestrian 
crossing sign with the arrow below is the 
standard marking.  

No Passing Zone
This sign is on the left side of a two-way 
highway. It warns of the beginning of a no 
passing zone.

Slow-Moving Vehicle Emblem
This emblem must be displayed on all vehicles 
that travel at speeds of 30 mph or less, such as 
farm implements or horse-drawn vehicles, when 
they are making use of a public road. Adjust 
your vehicle speed or prepare to change lanes 
when you see this sign.

 

Crossroad
A four-way intersection is ahead. Prepare  
to yield.

Side Road
Traffic is coming from your right. Watch for 
vehicles entering the roadway.

T-Intersection Ahead
The road you are traveling on will end soon. 
Prepare to turn right or left. Yield to cross 
traffic. 

Intersection Warning Signs
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Y-Intersection Ahead
The road ahead splits into two different direc-
tions. Be prepared for traffic crossing in your 
path and prepare to turn in one direction or  
the other.

Curve
The road curves in the direction indicated. 
If the sign displays a speed limit, slow to the 
indicated speed.

Roundabout
As you approach a roundabout slow down to the 
advisory speed and prepare to stop if necessary.

Winding Road Ahead
The road ahead winds back and forth. Slow to  
a safe or indicated speed.

Two-way Traffic Ahead
You are leaving a one-way road and entering  
a two-way road. Stay to the right.
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Divided Highway Begins
The road is dividing. Stay to the right.

Divided Highway Ends
The divided road ends ahead. Two-way traffic 
will no longer be divided by a center island.

Traffic Signal Ahead
There is a traffic light at the next intersection.

Road Turns Ahead
The road ahead sharply changes direction.  
Slow to a safe speed.

Slippery Road
The road surface is slippery when it is wet. 
This sign is often located near bridges and 
overpasses.

Steep Hill
The road ahead declines steeply. Make sure  
your vehicle’s brakes are in working order 
before you proceed.

Crossing Signs 
Crossing signs warn drivers  
to watch for animals, humans, 
and vehicles crossing the road.
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Merging Traffic
Vehicles merge onto the roadway on which you 
are traveling. Be prepared to allow vehicles to 
enter traffic near you.

Added Lane
The roadway will gain an additional lane of 
traffic. New traffic will not have to merge. 

Low Clearance Ahead
Do not proceed if your vehicle is taller than  
the height indicated on the sign, or your vehicle 
may become stuck.

Narrow Bridge
The bridge ahead is narrower than the roadway.
  

Construction Signs
Orange signs with black letters are used in construction and work zones. 
Slow down when you see an orange sign. These signs warn drivers of 
restricted lanes of traffic, detours and other road work hazards.

Lane Ends
Two lanes will become one.  
In this example, vehicles in the 
right lane must merge into left-
lane traffic. Right-lane vehicles 
must yield.
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Historic, Cultural, and Recreational Signs
Brown signs point out historic sites, parks, and other points of interest.

Drums, cones, tubes, flashing 
arrows, and orange and white-
striped barriers are all used to 
keep traffic out of a construction 
area or areas where it is dangerous 
to drive. You may also see people 
holding orange signs, flags or 
stop signs, giving directions in 
work zones. Always follow their 
directions.

Indicates that a person with a flag is ahead. 
Drive cautiously.

Indicates that workers are performing 
maintenance on the roadway. Reduce speed  
and adjust lane position away from workers.

Reduced speeds are often posted in work zones. 
Motorists who violate the posted speed limit in 
work zones when workers are present will be 
assessed twice the usual fine.
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Traffic-Control Signals
Traffic-control signals are used at intersections where traffic volume 
is high. Signals promote safety and orderly flow of traffic. If a traffic 
signal is not functioning, treat the intersection as you would an 
uncontrolled intersection.

Intersection Gridlock
A driver shall not enter an intersection controlled by a traffic-control 
signal until the driver is able to move the vehicle immediately, continu-
ously, and completely through the intersection without impeding or 
blocking the movement of cross traffic.

Guidance and Information Signs
Green signs indicate exits, distance to cities, interstate interchanges, 
street or route names, and bicycle routes.

Motorist Services Signs
Blue signs direct you to services such as telephones, gas, food, motels, 
hospitals, and rest areas.

Route Signs
Route signs indicate different types of roadways. 

U.S. 
Highway

County 
Road

Interstate 
Freeway

Minnesota 
Highway

County 
Road
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A steady red light means “stop.”
Stop and wait for the light to change. Come 
to a complete stop at the stop line, before the 
crosswalk, or before entering the intersection. 
	 After stopping, you may make a right turn 
when the intersection is clear, if traffic is 
permitted to travel in that direction. 
	 If a “No Turn on Red” sign is posted at an 
intersection, you must wait for the light to  
turn green. 
	 If certain conditions are met, you may make 
a left turn from a one-way roadway onto a 
one-way cross street while the traffic light is 
red. Before turning, you must first come to a 
complete stop, make sure the intersection is 
clear, and yield to any pedestrians or other 
vehicles. Traffic must be permitted to travel 
only in the direction in which you are turning. 

A red arrow means “stop.”
You must come to a complete stop at the stop 
line, before the crosswalk, or before entering 
the intersection. When the arrow turns green, 
you may proceed in the direction it indicates. 

Treat a flashing red light as you would a stop 
sign. Come to a complete stop, yield to vehicles 
and pedestrians who reach the intersection 
before you, and proceed when the intersection 
is clear.

A steady yellow light or arrow means 
“caution.” The signal is about to turn red.
Do not enter the intersection if you can stop 
safely before doing so. If you cannot stop 
safely, proceed through the intersection with 
caution. If you are waiting in the intersection  
to make a turn, and the signal turns from 
yellow to red, complete the turn as soon as  
it is safely possible. Do not back up. 
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A flashing yellow light or arrow means 
“caution.”
Proceed through the intersection with caution. 
Yield the right of way to vehicles and pedestrians 
already in the intersection. Vehicles turning left 
or making a U-turn to the left shall yield the 
right-of-way to other vehicles approaching from 
the opposite direction so closely as to constitute 
an immediate hazard.

A green light means “go.”
You may begin to cross the intersection as soon 
as it is clear. Yield to any vehicles or pedestrians 
in the intersection. When turning left, yield to 
oncoming traffic. When turning right or left, yield 
to pedestrians crossing in front of your vehicle. 

A green arrow means you can safely turn  
in the direction of the arrow. 
Your turn should be “protected” from oncoming 
or crossing traffic.  

Pedestrian Signals
There are stop and go signals for pedestrians. 
Pedestrians must obey these signals.

When the pedestrian or “Walk” signal is visible, 
pedestrians should look to see if it is safe to cross 
the intersection before proceeding. Once in the 
intersection, pedestrians may continue walking  
to the other side of the roadway.

When the raised hand or “Don’t Walk” signal  
is flashing, pedestrians should not begin to cross 
the intersection. Pedestrians who are already 
in the intersection may continue walking to the 
other side of the roadway at a normal pace.

When a steady raised hand or “Don’t Walk” 
signal is visible, pedestrians should not attempt 
to cross the intersection. Pedestrians who are 
already in the intersection should walk to the 
nearest safe location as quickly and as safely  
as possible.
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A steady downward green arrow means you  
are allowed to drive in the lane below the  
green arrow.

A steady yellow X means you should prepare  
to move into another lane in a safe manner.  
A lane-control change is being made in the  
lane below the steady yellow X. A steady  
red X will be displayed next, and you cannot 
occupy the lane at that time.

A flashing yellow X means you can use the 
lane below the flashing yellow X to make a left 
turn. You must use caution because left-turning 
vehicles from the other direction may be using 
the same lane.

A steady downward yellow arrow means you 
should prepare to move into another lane in a 
safe manner. The freeway lane below the steady 
downward yellow arrow will be closed. 

A flashing downward yellow arrow means you 
can use the freeway lane under the flashing 
downward yellow arrow. Exercise caution in  
this lane.

A steady red X means you cannot drive in the 
lane under the steady red X signal.

Lane Use Control Signals
These signals allow lanes to be used by traffic from different directions 
at different times. Drivers must also follow all other traffic signs and 
signals that apply.
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Freeway Ramp Meters
Ramp meters are signal lights on freeway entrance ramps that help 
control the flow of merging traffic. Like traffic signals at intersections, 
red, yellow, and green lights indicate when drivers can proceed.  
Only one car may proceed each time the light is green.

							     

Pavement Markings
Pavement markings direct and regulate traffic.

White Lines
White lines separate lanes of traffic traveling in the same direction.
	 A line composed of white dashes indicates that drivers can change 
lanes in areas where this type of marking is present.
	 A line of shorter and thicker white dashes indicates that the lane  
will end.
	 A solid white line indicates that lane changes are discouraged in 
areas where this type of marking is present. Solid white lines also  
mark crosswalks, stop lines at intersections, parking stalls, and the 
edges of a roadway. 
	 Double solid white lines indicate that lane changes are prohibited  
in areas where this type of marking is present.
	 A solid white line with a bicycle insignia along the side of the road 
indicates an area is designated for bicycle traffic only. Bicycles must 
travel in the same direction as adjacent traffic.

Yellow Lines
Yellow lines separate traffic moving in opposite directions.
	 A solid yellow line indicates that passing is prohibited in areas  
where this marking is present. Passing in a no-passing zone is illegal. 
	 A line composed of yellow dashes indicates that passing is allowed  
in areas where this type of marking is present.  
	 A solid yellow line may appear on one side of the roadway, while a 
line composed of dashes appears on the other side. Drivers must obey 
the marking that is present in their lane of traffic.
	 Two solid yellow lines, one in each lane of traffic, indicate that 
passing is prohibited in both directions. Drivers traveling in both 
directions are prohibited from crossing the double solid center line  
in order to pass other vehicles.

One Car per Green Light
Used with freeway ramp meters at on-ramps to 	
indicate that one car may proceed each time the 
light turns green.
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Two-lane road with traffic moving in both directions. 
Traffic in both lanes is prohibited from passing.

Road with four lanes, two in each direction separated 
by two solid yellow lines. Do not cross solid yellow 
lines to pass.

Two-lane road with traffic moving in both directions. 
Traffic is separated by a line of yellow dashes, indicating 
vehicles traveling in both directions may pass. 

Two-lane road with traffic moving in both 
directions. Traffic in the lane with the solid yellow 
line is prohibited from passing.
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Lane Markings 
Road markings can be used to separate lanes reserved for certain 
actions or types of vehicles.

Turn Lanes
Turn lanes near intersections separate left- or right-turning traffic from 
through traffic. White arrows, which may be accompanied by the word 
“only” indicate that drivers must stay within a designated lane while 
turning onto the cross street. If your vehicle is in this type of lane, you 
must turn. 
	 Some turn lanes have multiple arrows, allowing you to turn left or 
right, or to go straight. To discourage drivers from changing lanes near 
an intersection, turn lanes are separated from through traffic lanes by 
solid white lines.

Center Turn Lanes
A center lane between lanes of traffic traveling in opposite directions 
may be designated for left turns only. This type of lane is marked 
by parallel solid and dashed yellow lines. These lines are sometimes 
accompanied by white arrows on the pavement. Vehicles traveling in 
either direction can use these lanes to make left turns onto another 
roadway or a driveway. 

Multiple-lane road with traffic moving in both 
directions separated by a solid traffic divider.  
No shoulders at inner edges of roadway.

Road with three lanes with traffic moving in both 
directions. Center turn lane is reserved for traffic 
turning left from both directions.
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Reversible Lanes
Reversible lanes help keep traffic flowing during rush-hour periods. 
They are separated by dashed double yellow lines. You may cross these 
lines only if the overhead signal above the lane you wish to enter has a 
green arrow, or if a sign permits you to do so.

Carpool Lanes
Carpool lanes are restricted to vehicles with two or more occupants. 
They are marked by a diamond symbol or with “Carpool Only” signs. 
They are usually located on the far left side of a freeway and are 
separated from other traffic lanes by combinations of white or  
yellow lines.

Warning Markings
Pavement messages may be used to warn drivers of certain conditions, 
such as “School Zone Ahead.”  

Traffic Officers
Law enforcement officers and other individuals direct traffic on some 
occasions. When an officer is present, obey any hand signals you are 
given rather than traffic signals, signs, or pavement markings. 
	 Most traffic officers signal drivers to stop by holding up one hand 
with the palm facing the vehicle and giving a long blast on the whistle. 
Officers signal drivers to start or keep moving by motioning with the 
hand and giving a series of short blasts on the whistle. Officers may 
signal with a flashlight during low-light conditions.
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Chapter 6 Driving Conditions

This chapter provides guidance on how to drive safely in a variety  
of conditions.

Using the SIPDE System 
Nothing you do will guarantee that others will see you. The only eyes 
you can really count on are your own. Experienced drivers make a prac-
tice of being aware of what is happening around them. They can create 
their driving strategy by using a system known as SIPDE. 

SIPDE is a 5-step process used to make appropriate judgments and 
apply them correctly in different traffic situations.
	 • Scan	 • Identify	 • Predict	 • Decide	 •  Execute

Let’s examine each of these steps.
Scan
Search aggressively ahead, to the sides and behind to avoid potential 
hazards even before they arise. How assertively you search, and how 
much time and space you have, can eliminate or reduce the impact of  
an accident. Focus on finding potential escape routes around inter-
sections, shopping areas, schools and commercial zones. Search for:
	 •	 Oncoming traffic that may turn in front of you.
	 •	 Traffic coming from the left and right.
	 •	 Traffic approaching from behind.
	 •	 Hazardous road conditions.
Identify
Locate hazards and potential conflicts.
	 •	 Cars, motorcycles or other vehicles may move into your path  
		  and increase the likelihood of a crash.
	 •	 Pedestrians and animals are unpredictable and make short,  
		  fast moves. 
	 •	 Stationary objects, potholes, guard rails, bridges, roadway signs, 	 	
		  hedges, or trees won’t move into your path, but may influence  
		  your driving strategy.
Predict
Consider speed, distance, and direction of hazards to anticipate how 
they may affect you. Cars moving into your path are more critical than 
those moving away or sitting still.
Decide
Based on your prediction, decide what you would need to do if the 
situation changed quickly. You must be making decisions constantly  
to cope with constantly changing traffic situations. 
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Execute
Carry out your decision. To create space and minimize harm:
	 •	 Communicate your presence with lights and/or horn.
	 •	 Adjust your speed appropriately.
	 •	 Adjust your position and/or direction.

Three-Second Rule 
Applying the “Three-Second Rule” is a way to help keep a safe distance 
between your car and the vehicle ahead of you. This rule pertains to 
standard-length vehicles driving in ideal conditions.

Choose a fixed reference point at the side of the road ahead, such as  
a telephone pole, signpost, tree, or bridge. 

When the vehicle ahead of you passes the reference point, begin 
counting: “One-thousand-one, one-thousand-two, one-thousand-three.”  
If you pass the reference point before you are through counting, you  
are following too closely.

Gradually slow down until you have reached a safe following distance 
and speed. When road conditions are poor, or if you are driving a vehicle 
that is longer than the standard length, increase your following distance 
to a four- or five-second count.

If the vehicle behind you is following too closely, slow down slightly 
and allow it to pass.

Stopping Distance
The distance you need to stop your vehicle can determine a safe 
following distance, but your actual stopping distance will depend on 
many factors, including:
	 •	 The time it takes a driver to see and recognize that there is a  
		  danger ahead.
	 •	 The length of time from perception of danger to using the brakes	 	
		  happens in ¾ seconds.
	 •	 Weather conditions.
	 •	 Condition of your tire treads.
	 •	 Type and condition of your brakes.

Night Driving
Although there is usually less traffic at night, nearly half of all fatal 
traffic crashes in Minnesota occur after dark. To help ensure that you 
reach your destination safely, study road maps and directions before 
starting out. Make sure that your vehicle lights are working and your 
windshield is clean and free of defects.
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Headlights
When you are within 1,000 feet of an oncoming vehicle, or following 
another vehicle at a distance of 200 feet or less, your headlights must 
be set on low beam. Your headlights must be turned on at sunset and 
used until sunrise. They must also be used during weather conditions 
that include rain, snow, hail, sleet, or fog and any time you cannot 
clearly see the road ahead for a distance of at least 500 feet.

Don’t “overdrive” your headlights. You should be able to stop within 
the distance that your headlights illuminate the road. For most vehicles, 
this distance is no more than 350 feet on high beam. 

When driving in the dark, you may encounter glare from oncoming 
headlights or from the reflection of headlights in your rearview mirror. 
If you are blinded by the glare, use the white line along the edge of the 
road as a reference. For glare caused by headlights from behind you, 
use a “day-night” mirror or re-adjust your regular mirror.

Freeway Driving
Freeways are multi-lane, divided highways with limited access from 
other roads. Because there are no stops or cross traffic, they permit you 
to travel long distances without stopping.

Entering the Freeway
Entry ramps are short, one-way roads that provide access to freeways. 
At the end of most entry ramps, you will find an acceleration lane that 
allows you to increase your speed in order to safely merge with traffic 
that is already on the freeway. 

To avoid disrupting traffic flow or “cutting off” other drivers when 
you merge, try to adjust your speed to accommodate vehicles already 
on the freeway. You must yield to other vehicles when you are merging.

Use your turn signal to let other drivers know your intention. Watch  
for an opening in the nearest traffic lane and merge into the flow of 
traffic when you are able to do so. 

2 	Select a gap in traffic. 	
	 Adjust speed.

1 Accelerate.

3 	Signal and move carefully 		
into traffic lane.
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Do not stop on the ramp or in the acceleration lane unless it is absolutely 
necessary.

When an acceleration lane is not available, and a “Yield” sign is posted  
on the entry ramp, obey the sign. Stop, if it is necessary. Do not force  
your way into the lane of traffic.

Freeway Ramp Meters
Ramp meters are used on many freeway entry ramps in the metropolitan 
area to reduce traffic jams, crashes, and to make merging onto the  
freeway easier. 

The meters are traffic signals, placed about halfway down the entry  
ramp, that are usually activated during peak travel hours. Red, yellow,  
and green lights indicate when drivers can proceed. It is illegal to go 
through the red light. Only one car may proceed each time the light  
is green.

Freeway Speed and Lane Use
Maintain the same approximate speed as surrounding vehicles, when 
possible, but never exceed the posted speed limits. If you are driving at  
a slower speed than other traffic, stay in the lane nearest to the right side  
of the road. If you must change lanes to pass other vehicles or to leave  
the freeway, signal your intent and make sure your path is clear before 
moving over.  

Use of Freeway or Expressway Shoulders by Buses
Transit buses and Metro Mobility buses are permitted to use the shoulder 
of a freeway or expressway. Buses authorized to use the shoulder may be 
operated only when main-line traffic speeds are less than 35 miles per hour. 
Drivers of buses being operated on the shoulder may not exceed the speed  
of main-line traffic by more than 15 miles per hour and may never exceed  
35 miles per hour. Drivers of buses being operated on the shoulder must 
yield to merging, entering, and exiting traffic and must yield to other 
vehicles on the shoulder.

Message Signs
Message and lane-use signs on some freeways warn drivers of traffic 
crashes, stalled vehicles, or other traffic conditions ahead.

Message signs may be activated when the state issues an AMBER 
(America’s Missing: Broadcast Emergency Response) Alert in response 
to a child abduction. The signs will provide information, such as a vehicle 
description. Drivers who see a vehicle fitting the description, or who  
have other information about the missing child, will be asked to notify  
law enforcement.
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Folded Diamond

Diamond

Cloverleaf

Freeway Interchange
An interchange is the connection of a freeway to a road or another free-
way by a series of ramps. The connecting roadways allow you to leave 
one road and enter another safely, without disrupting the flow of traffic.
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High-Occupancy Vehicle Lanes
These lanes are for use only by motorcycles, buses, and vehicles carrying 
two or more people. 

Stopping, Parking, and Backing Up
It is illegal to stop or park a motor vehicle on an interstate freeway, except 
in the event of an emergency. Running out of fuel is not considered an 
emergency. If this occurs, you could receive a citation.

If you must stop on the freeway because of an emergency, take the 
following actions:
	 •	 Park your vehicle on the shoulder, as far from the main roadway  
		  as possible. 
	 •	 Open the trunk and raise the hood or tie a white cloth to the radio 	 	
		  antenna or a door handle. 
	 •	 Use hazard warning lights, if you have them. 
	 •	 If you have flares or reflectors, place them from 100 to 500 feet behind 	
		  your vehicle on the right edge of the main road. 
	 •	 Stay with your vehicle, if possible. If you must leave your vehicle, do 	 	
		  not walk on the area of the highway reserved for vehicle traffic. This  
		  is illegal and extremely dangerous.

It is illegal to back up or turn around on a freeway. An exception to this 
law applies to drivers of emergency and road repair vehicles. Drivers of these 
vehicles may back up or turn around, as necessary, to perform their duties.

Emergency Vehicles on the Freeway
When you see the flashing lights of an ambulance, fire truck, or police car 
on the shoulder of the road, you must move a lane away from the emergency 
vehicle, if it is possible to do so safely.

If you are not able to safely move a lane away, slow down. 
When you see an emergency vehicle with its lights and siren activated 

behind you, move to the nearest side of the road and stop. Do not slam on  
the brakes or swerve into other lanes. Remember to use your turn signal.

Remain stopped until the emergency vehicle has completely passed. Look 
for other emergency vehicles that may be following it before pulling out. 

Stay at least 500 feet back from any firefighting vehicle.

Getting off the Freeway
It is helpful to know, before you begin driving, where you need to exit  
the freeway. 

Watch for signs that provide information about upcoming exits. 
As you near the desired exit signal your intent to change lanes, and move 

into the deceleration lane, when you can do so safely. This should provide 
time to slow down before you reach the exit ramp. It should also help you  
to avoid obstructing faster-moving traffic. 
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If you miss your exit, proceed to the next one. Do not back up or make  
a U-turn to return to the desired exit.

Crashes
If you are involved in a crash that results in injury, stay where you are.  
If you are able to do so, call 911 or the nearest law enforcement agency  
for help.

If the crash results only in property damage, move to a safe location.  
Do not step out of your vehicle until you have moved to a safe location,  
away from traffic.

Exchange driver’s license and insurance information with the other driver 
or drivers. Write down the license plate numbers of other vehicles involved. 
You may also wish to exchange vehicle identification numbers. Call for law 
enforcement assistance, if necessary.

Distracted Driving
Driver distraction or inattention is a leading factor in crashes in Minnesota, 
accounting for at least 25 percent of all crashes annually. Drivers who are 
distracted fail to recognize potential hazards on the road and react more 
slowly to traffic conditions, decreasing their margin of safety.
There are three main types of driver distraction:
	 •	 Visual – looking away from the road.
	 •	 Mechanical/Physical – taking hands off the wheel.
	 •	 Cognitive – being “lost in thought.”

Distractions inside the vehicle can include activities such as cell phone 
use, using a GPS, reaching for items, eating and drinking, adjusting the 
radio, talking to other passengers, and reading maps and other materials. 
Even when you are watching the road, behaviors such as looking at a 
crash scene, or even daydreaming, can divert attention from your driving 
responsibilities. For safety, make sure you give the task of driving your 
full attention at all times.
There are certain driver behaviors that are illegal on Minnesota roads, 
specifically:
	 •	 Using a cell phone or wireless computer device for text messaging, 	 	
		  e-mailing, or accessing the Internet while driving — including while 		
		  stopped in traffic.
	 •	 Drivers under age 18 with an instruction permit or provisional license 		
		  using a cell phone, whether hand-held or hands-free — except to call  
		  911 in an emergency.
	 •	 Wearing headphones or earphones that are used in both ears simul-	 	
		  taneously to listen to a radio or other sound-producing device.
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Aggressive Driving
People who drive aggressively tend to have a low level of concern for other 
motorists. They exhibit anger and frustration while driving, not necessarily  
as a result of other drivers’ actions, but because of their personal mindset.

Aggressive driving usually involves driving faster than surrounding 
vehicles, which leads to behaviors such as following too closely; changing 
lanes frequently and abruptly, often without signaling; passing other vehicles 
on the shoulder; and glaring at or threatening motorists around them.

If you recognize your own behavior in this description, you should make  
a greater effort to stay calm when driving. It is important to share the road. 
Safe driving requires courtesy and cooperation from all drivers.

If you are confronted by an aggressive driver, do not challenge him or her. 
Stay out of the person’s way, avoid eye contact, and do not allow the situation 
to escalate.

Obstructed View
It is illegal to drive a vehicle packed with a load, or occupied by more than 
three people in the front seat, if the items or people obstruct your view to the 
front or sides of the vehicle or interfere with your ability to control the vehicle.

Carrying a Projecting Load
A load must not stick out more than three feet in front of the front wheels or 
bumper of any motor vehicle. 

If a load extends four feet or more from the rear of any vehicle, a red, 
yellow, or orange flag at least 16 inches square must be attached to the end  
of the load. At night, a red lantern or lamp, visible from a distance of at least 
500 feet, must be attached to the end of the load. 

Passenger vehicles may not carry loads that extend beyond the line of the 
fenders on the left side and more than six inches beyond the fender line on  
the right side.

Campers and Trailers 
If you pull a camper or trailer with your vehicle, you must maintain at least 
500 feet following distance from other vehicles.

When loaded, 10 to 15 percent of the trailer’s weight should be balanced  
on the hitch between trailer and vehicle. When correctly loaded, the trailer’s 
floor should be level. After the first few miles, stop and check the hitch, tires, 
lights, and load. Repeat this process at all rest stops.

Travel at a slower speed. Many trailers have smaller wheels that turn at 
a faster rate than your car wheels, resulting in heat buildup that can cause 
trailer wheel bearings to fail.
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Remember that the brakes on your vehicle probably were not designed to 
handle heavy trailer loads. A sudden stop at high speed could flip both the 
trailer and the car.

Speed up carefully, using a lower gear if necessary. Maintain enough 
following distance to prevent the need for sudden stops. When passing other 
vehicles, remember the additional length of your trailer and be aware that 
your ability to accelerate is reduced.

Wind and rain will affect your ability to handle and control a vehicle 
pulling extra weight. When towing a trailer or camper in wet or windy 
conditions, reduce your speed more than you would normally do in  
such weather. 

Allow plenty of room for turns. Long trailers will swing closer to the  
edge of the road than your vehicle. 

Pay extra attention to your vehicle’s cooling system when towing extra 
weight. Your engine will overheat more easily in warm weather, at high 
speeds, and in hilly areas.

Trailer Requirements
Measurements:
Maximum length — 45 feet
Maximum width — 8 feet 6 inches
Maximum height — 13 feet 6 inches

Lights:
Tail lamps — Two, red
Reflectors — Two, red
Rear license plate — One, white

Trailer stop and turn signals must be used for night driving and 
whenever stop and turn signals on the towing vehicle are not visible  
to other drivers.

The 102-inch width limit (8 feet, 6 inches) for recreational vehicles 
does not include attachments that do not extend beyond the vehicle’s 
exterior rearview mirrors if the recreational vehicle is self-propelled.  
The width of a trailer may not extend beyond the exterior rearview 
mirrors of the towing vehicle.

Type A, B, or C motor homes may not be longer than 45 feet.  
The general length limit for single-unit vehicles is 40 feet.

All trailers with a gross vehicle weight of 3,000 pounds or more  
must be equipped with brakes.

All recreational trailers must have a clearly visible plate with  
current registration. 

A safety chain must be permanently attached to the trailer and 
fastened to the vehicle used for towing.
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Recreational Vehicle Combinations
Recreational vehicle combination means a combination of not more than 
three vehicles consisting of a pickup truck or recreational truck-tractor 
attached to a camper trailer that has hitched to it a trailer. The trailer 
may carry watercraft, motorcycles, motorized bicycles, off-highway 
motorcycles, snowmobiles, all-terrain vehicles, motorized golf carts,  
or equestrian equipment or supplies.
  You must be at least 18 years of age to drive a recreational vehicle 
combination. The towing rating of the pickup or recreational truck-tractor 
must be equal to, or greater than, the total weight of all vehicles being 
towed.

A recreational vehicle combination may not be more than 70 feet  
in length. 

A recreational vehicle combination may not be driven in the seven-
county metropolitan area Monday through Friday during the hours  
of 6 a.m. to 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. to 7 p.m.

Winter Driving
Vehicle Safety
Remove snow and ice from your vehicle’s hood, windows, and lights 
before driving.
	 •	 Make sure that your windshield wiper fluid contains antifreeze. 
	 •	 Get the feel of the road: try your brakes while driving slowly to 	 	
		  test the road surface.
	 •	 Adjust your speed to road condition.
	 •	 Avoid using cruise control on slippery roads.

If your vehicle becomes stuck on ice or snow, try to free your vehicle 
by “rocking” it back and forth. Keep the front wheels straight and slowly 
drive forward, then backward, as far as possible, without spinning the  
tires. Accelerate gently when the tires grip. If your vehicle starts to slide 
or your tires start to spin, apply the brake and repeat this operation in the 
opposite direction. 

Snow Emergencies and Parking Rules
When a significant amount of snow accumulates, city officials may declare 
a snow emergency. Certain parking rules may go into effect while snow is 
removed from streets.

Obey snow emergency parking rules to avoid towing and fines.
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Sharing the Road with Snowplows 
When roads are covered with snow or ice, watch for the flashing white, 
yellow, and blue lights of snowplows. 

Never crowd a snowplow. Pass snowplows only when you can see the 
entire vehicle.

Stay well behind plows to avoid any flying sanding materials, snow,  
and ice that could strike your vehicle.

Be alert for dangerous snow clouds or “whiteout” conditions. Snow-
plows can create clouds of blowing snow that may conceal the road and 
hide driving hazards.

Snowplows and other removal equipment often move at slow speeds. 
In residential areas, they may back up in order to turn around. Give 
equipment operators room to do their job safely. 

Winter Survival 
Keep a Survival Kit in Your Vehicle
For safety, it is important to assemble a winter survival kit to keep in any 
vehicle you drive. Some recommended items include:
	 •	 Shovel.
	 •	 Container of sand or salt.
	 •	 Warm clothing and footwear.
	 •	 Red flag for your vehicle’s antenna.
	 •	 Blanket or sleeping bag.
	 •	 Quick energy foods, drinking water, and an empty waste container.
	 •	 Tow chain and tire chains.
	 •	 Road flares or reflectors.
	 •	 Jumper cables.
	 •	 Candles and matches or a lighter.
	 •	 First aid kit.

What to Do if You Become Stranded 
If you become stranded while traveling in cold weather, stay with your 
vehicle. Most deaths under these circumstances occur when people get out 
of their vehicles, become lost, and suffer prolonged exposure to the cold. 

Stay calm, wait for help to arrive, and take as many of the following 
steps as possible:
	 •	 Turn on your hazard warning lights. 
	 •	 Attach a red flag to your radio antenna. 
	 •	 Set out flags and flares, if possible. 
	 •	 If clothing, blankets and other survival supplies are stored in 	 	
		  trunk, bring them inside the vehicle.
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	 •	 Keep the exhaust pipe clear of snow and debris. 
	 •	 Run the engine and heater until the vehicle is reasonably warm, 
		  and then turn it off. Repeat this process as long as fuel is available, 
		  or until you are rescued. Running the engine for approximately ten 
		  minutes each hour, in order to charge the battery and warm the 		
		  interior, is recommended. 
	 •	 Even in extremely cold, leave at least one window partially open 	 	
		  to let in fresh air. Occupants of an idling vehicle can suffer carbon 		
		  monoxide poisoning if ventilation is not adequate.
	 •	 At least one person in the vehicle should remain awake at all times.

Maintaining Alertness and Concentration 
Becoming tired or sleepy while behind the wheel is a common, yet  
very dangerous occurrence. To prevent this, be sure to get plenty of  
rest before starting out on a long drive. 
The following suggestions may help, but will have no lasting effect:
	 •	 Stop as often as you need to — at least once every 100 miles or  
		  every two hours. Get out of the car and walk, stretch, loosen up,  
	 	 and relax. Have something to eat or drink.
	 •	 If you have passengers, talk in order to stay alert. Ask someone  
		  else to drive when you begin to feel tired.
	 •	 If you are alone, listen to the radio or sing aloud. 
	 •	 When the weather permits, open a window slightly to increase  
		  fresh airflow. Do not rely on “stay awake” drugs.  
	 •	 If none of this works, stop for the day or park far from the road  
		  and rest. If you stay in the car, lock all doors and open windows 		
		  slightly to let in fresh air.

Skidding 
When you are driving on a slippery road, slow down and maintain  
a safe distance from the vehicle in front of you. Do not use cruise  
control when the road surface is slippery. 

A vehicle skid occurs when tires lose their grip on the road surface.  
If this occurs, stay calm — do not overreact or slam on the brakes. 
Instead, take your foot off the accelerator and brakes until you can  
turn in the desired direction.

Some vehicles have an electronic anti-lock braking system that helps 
keep the vehicle under control while braking. If you have anti-lock brakes, 
do not pump them as you would regular brakes. Instead, press down on 
the brake pedal and continue to steer the vehicle until you regain control. 
If you are not sure if your vehicle has anti-lock brakes read your vehicle’s 
owners manual for specific instructions.
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Driving in Heavy Rain or Fog 
If you encounter thunderstorms or fog, reduce speed, use extra caution, 
and be prepared to stop. Increase your following distance. Your head-
lights, by law, must be used at times when you cannot see more than  
500 feet ahead and when it is raining, snowing, sleeting, or hailing.  
Keep them on low beam to reduce glare. 

If you cannot see a safe distance ahead, pull off the road and stop  
until visibility improves.

Hydroplaning 
At speeds of 35 mph or less, most tires will “wipe” water off the road 
surface to keep tires in contact with the road. At higher speeds, water 
can collect under tires and lift them off the surface of the road — this  
is called “hydroplaning.”

When your tires hydroplane, they lose all contact with the road. If  
this occurs, you will be unable to brake, accelerate, or change direction. 
If your tires begin to hydroplane, take your foot off the gas pedal.

Hydroplaning is less likely to occur at normal highway speeds if 
your vehicle is equipped with good tires that have deep treads, which 
will allow water to escape. But hydroplaning can occur at any speed if 
the depth of the water on the road is greater than the depth of the tire 
treads. In heavy rain, standard cars may begin to hydroplane at 35 mph.  

To prevent hydroplaning, keep your tires in good condition and 
reduce speed when driving on wet roads. 

Driving on Narrow Roads and Hills 
When you approach curves on narrow roads, or in areas where brush 
and trees block your view of the road ahead, you can use your horn to 
warn other drivers or pedestrians that you are on the road.

It is illegal to coast down steep hills with your transmission in 
neutral. On steep hills, check your speedometer frequently. Vehicle 
speed will increase even when your foot is not on the accelerator. 

Blowouts
A “blowout” is a burst tire that can throw your vehicle out of control. 
Before a blowout occurs, you may hear a thumping sound or notice  
the steering wheel pulling to the right or left. 

If you experience a blowout, hold the steering wheel tightly, steer 
straight ahead, and slowly ease your foot off the accelerator. Do not 
brake until the vehicle is back under your control. 

Pull the vehicle completely off the road at the nearest safe location. 
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Steering Failure 
If the front wheels of your vehicle do not respond when you turn the 
steering wheel, ease up on the accelerator. Do not brake unless it is 
necessary to avoid a crash. 

Your vehicle may balance on its own and travel in a straight path as 
you reduce speed. If you must apply the brake, do so gently. If you brake 
suddenly, or try to shift gears, the change in speed may throw the vehicle 
off balance and out of control. 

Brake Failure 
A brake pedal that sinks slowly when pressure is applied is one sign that 
your vehicle’s brakes may be failing. A warning light should come on if 
there is a serious problem.

If your brake pedal suddenly sinks all the way to the floor, try pumping 
the pedal to build pressure. If this does not work, slowly apply your 
emergency/parking brake. Applying the brake too abruptly could throw 
the vehicle into a skid. Remember: the emergency/parking brake engages 
only the rear brakes.

If road conditions allow you to coast to a stop, shift your car into a 
lower gear. Continue to down shift as you decelerate until you can safely 
pull over and stop. 

Running Off the Pavement
If your wheels drift onto the shoulder of the road, do not try to swerve 
back onto the pavement. Stay on the shoulder and slowly release the gas 
pedal. After you have reduced your speed, turn back onto the pavement. 
Then speed up again.

Watch Out for Deer
There are some things you can do to reduce your risk of hitting a deer. 
Deer are most active in the dusk to dawn hours, so you should be 
especially alert while driving during those times. Scan the sides of the 
road at night to watch for the reflection of your vehicle headlights in  
the eyes of deer. If you see such a reflection on the side of the road,  
slow down. Blow the horn and be ready to stop. Always watch for  
more than one deer. While deer crossings typically occur in rural  
settings, deer sometimes wander into towns or even cities. Deer may  
cross anywhere, anytime.

Vehicle Approaching in Your Lane
If a vehicle is traveling toward you in your lane, move to the right. Do not 
use the left lane to avoid the vehicle. The driver may return to the correct 
lane and will then be in your path.
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If the vehicle continues toward you, steer off the road to the right, if  
it is necessary to avoid a crash. Sounding your horn and flashing your 
headlights may help a sleepy or distracted driver to become alert.

Vehicle Trying to Pass You 
Another driver may wish to pass you on a two-lane road with traffic 
moving in both directions. If the driver misjudges the speed of oncoming 
traffic or is unable, for another reason, to complete the pass, you and the 
other drivers are all in danger. You must act to prevent a crash. 

If the passing vehicle is nearly in position to move back into the right 
lane, slow down and allow the driver to complete the pass as quickly as 
possible. If the passing vehicle must drop back, speed up to make sure 
there is adequate room for the vehicle to move into the lane behind you. 

If a crash seems probable, and the right shoulder is wide enough for 
your vehicle, quickly move to the right and allow the passing vehicle to 
move into your lane.

Stalling on Railroad Tracks 
If your vehicle becomes stalled on railroad tracks and a train is 
approaching, leave the vehicle. Keeping a safe distance from the tracks, 
walk quickly in the direction from which the train is approaching to avoid 
being struck by debris from the collision.

Flooded Roadways 
Flooding can occur when streams and rivers flow over their banks, when 
dams or levees break, when there is run-off from deep snow or any time 
there is heavy rainfall. Floodwaters can be found on roads, bridges and 
low areas. Flash floods can come rapidly and unexpectedly. They can 
occur within a few minutes or hours of excessive rainfall.
	 •	 Do not drive through flooded areas. If you see a flooded roadway 	 	
		  ahead, turn around and find another route to get to your destination.
	 •	 Be cautious, especially at night, when the visibility is limited.
	 •	 Remember, 6 inches of water will reach the bottom of most passenger 	
		  cars, causing loss of control or possible stalling.
	 •	 Two feet of moving water can carry away most vehicles including 	 	
		  sport utility vehicles and pickup trucks.
	 •	 Even if the water appears shallow enough to cross, do not attempt 
		  to cross a flooded road. Water can hide dips, or worse, floodwaters 
		  can damage roadways by washing away the underlying road surface.
	 •	 If there is no other route, proceed to higher ground and wait for the 	
		  waters to subside.
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Plunging Under Water 
Most vehicles will float on the surface of water from 30 to 60 seconds. 
If your vehicle enters deep water, make every attempt to get out of the 
vehicle immediately. If possible, exit the vehicle through open windows 
before the water reaches the window level.

If your vehicle becomes submerged, try not to panic. Vehicle doors 
cannot be opened until water pressure inside the car is equal to that 
outside. When the vehicle is completely filled, doors can be opened,  
if there is no structural damage. 

The weight of the engine will cause the front end of the car to sink 
first. The rear passenger compartment may provide an air pocket while 
you plan your escape strategy. If there are other people in the vehicle, 
determine their condition and try to exit the vehicle together. 

Fire
If you notice smoke rising from beneath the hood of your vehicle,  
pull off the road, turn off the ignition, and exit the vehicle immediately. 
Do not use water to put out the fire — this will actually spread the blaze.

Overheating
Most vehicles have dashboard gauges or lights that indicate the engine 
temperature. Activities such as driving in stop-and-go traffic on a hot  
day, driving on steep inclines, and towing a trailer can cause your engine 
to run hotter than normal. 

When your engine becomes hot, turn off any unnecessary vehicle 
equipment, such as air conditioning. If the temperature is still too high, 
turning on the heater will help draw hot air away from the engine. If 
these techniques do not work and engine temperature suddenly increases 
or steam rises from the engine, pull over to the side of the road, stop the 
vehicle, and turn off the ignition immediately. 

Headlight Failure
If your headlights suddenly go out, try your parking lights, hazard 
warning lights, or turn signals — one of them may work and give you 
enough light to guide you off the road. If your headlights fail on a busy  
or lighted road, you will probably have enough light to guide you. If all 
your lights fail on a dark, deserted road, slow down and keep your vehicle 
on the pavement until you can move safely onto the shoulder.

Windshield Wiper Failure or Sudden 
Opening of Hood
If your windshield wipers suddenly fail in blinding rain or snow, slow 
down and activate your hazard warning lights. Do not reduce your speed 
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drastically if other vehicles are behind you. Pull off the road and move  
to a safe location as soon as possible. 

If the hood of your vehicle suddenly opens, obstructing your view,  
you may be able to see through the space between the hood and 
dashboard. If this is not possible, roll down the window and lean over 
to look past the side of the hood. Activate your hazard warning lights, 
reduce speed, and choose a safe path to steer off the road.

Stuck Gas Pedal
If your gas pedal sticks, you may be able to free it by hooking your toe 
under the pedal and raising it. If this does not work, apply the brakes  
and shift into neutral, this will disengage the engine. Next, choose  
a safe path and steer to the shoulder of the road. If the shoulder is not 
paved, switch on your hazard lights and continue steering the vehicle  
in a straight path until you can safely pull over to the shoulder of  
the road.

Carbon Monoxide Poisoning and Safety Tips 
Carbon monoxide is a deadly, odorless, and colorless gas produced  

by engines. It can collect inside your vehicle when the windows are 
closed, or in your garage, if your engine is idling. The only cure for 
carbon monoxide poisoning is a good supply of fresh air.

Early symptoms of carbon monoxide poisoning include sudden 
fatigue, headache, dizziness, and nausea. If you experience any of  
these symptoms, open the windows, turn off the ignition, and get out 
of the vehicle or garage as soon as possible. Have the vehicle’s exhaust 
system inspected if you suspect the exhaust system is leaking.

Carbon monoxide poisoning occurs most frequently during winter 
months when vehicle windows tend to be closed. When temperatures 
are cold, carbon monoxide can get trapped inside the garage even when 
the garage door is open completely. Carbon monoxide can seep into 
an attached house. Carbon monoxide can render a person unconscious 
within a few minutes.
To reduce the risk of carbon monoxide poisoning and possibly death:

•	 Avoid idling a vehicle in a garage. A safer place to warm up  
		  a vehicle is in the driveway.

•	 Avoid sitting in a vehicle with the engine idling.
•	 Do not drive with all windows tightly closed.
•	 Avoid idling a vehicle when stuck in the snow or the mud.
•	 Make sure your vehicle’s exhaust system does not leak and  

		  is not blocked.
•	 Periodically allow fresh air into the vehicle by lowering  

		  the windows.
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Chapter 7 
Your Driving Privileges

Driving in Minnesota is a privilege. You can lose your driving privileges  
if you break certain laws or fail to meet certain requirements. 

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety maintains your driving 
record, which contains information about driving and licensing  
violations in Minnesota and other states. 

Serious or recurring violations may result in loss of your driving 
privilege or restrictions on where, when, and what types of vehicle  
you may drive.

License Withdrawal 
Your license may be withdrawn by suspension, revocation, or cancellation.  
If you commit an offense and your license is withdrawn, the Department  
of Public Safety will send you a notice of withdrawal and a list of 
requirements for reinstatement. 

Some of the conditions that could cause you to lose your driving  
privileges are listed below.

Suspension
Your driver’s license may be suspended, if you:
	 •	 Repeatedly violate traffic laws.
	 •	 Are convicted in court for a violation that contributed to a traffic 	 	
		  accident resulting in death, personal injury, or serious property 		
		  damage.
	 •	 Use, or allow someone else to use, your license for an illegal action.  
		  It is illegal to allow anyone to use your license or permit.
	 •	 Commit a traffic offense in another state that would be grounds  
		  for suspension in Minnesota.
	 •	 Are judged in court to be legally unfit to drive a motor vehicle.
	 •	 Fail to report a medical condition that would result in cancellation 		
		  of driving privileges.
	 •	 Fail to stop for a school bus with its stop arm extended and its red 	 	
		  lights flashing, within five years of a conviction for the same offense.
	 •	 Are found to possess a fake or altered license.
	 •	 Make a fraudulent application for a license or identification card.
	 •	 Take any part of the driver’s license examination for someone else,  
		  or allow someone else to take the examination for you.
	 •	 Falsely identify yourself to a police officer.
	 •	 Fail to appear in court or pay a fine on a motor vehicle-related 	 	
		  violation when required to do so.
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	 •	 Are convicted of a misdemeanor for a violation of Minnesota 	 	
		  traffic law.
	 •	 Fail to pay court-ordered child support.
	 •	 Use, or allow someone else to use, a license, permit, or ID card to 	 	
		  buy tobacco products for someone who is under 18 years of age, 		
		  or alcohol for someone who is under 21 years of age.
	 •	 Are under 21 years of age, and the court determines that you drove  
		  a motor vehicle while consuming, or after consuming, alcohol.
	 •	 Pay a fee to the state or driver’s license agent with a dishonored 
		  check. (The suspension will be removed when the dishonored 
		  check and any related fees have been paid in full.)
	 •	 Are convicted for theft of gasoline. 

After the period of suspension has ended, your driving privilege may 
be reinstated, if all requirements are met. One requirement is payment 
of the reinstatement fee. If your license expired during the suspension 
period, or your name or address changed, you must apply for a new 
license and pay the appropriate fee.

Revocation
Your driver’s license may be revoked, if you:
	 •	 Refuse to take a test to determine whether you are under the influ- 	
		  ence of alcohol or a controlled substance, or you fail such a test. 
	 •	 Are convicted of manslaughter or any other criminal action while 		
		  driving a motor vehicle.
	 •	 Are convicted of driving a motor vehicle while under the influence 	
		  of drugs or alcohol.
	 •	 Are convicted of a felony in which you used a motor vehicle.
	 •	 Are convicted of driving in excess of 100 mph.
	 •	 Are convicted of fleeing a police officer.
	 •	 Are convicted of failing to stop, identify yourself, and render aid 

when involved in a motor vehicle accident—especially one that 
involves death or personal injury to others.

	 •	 Are convicted of lying under oath, signing any legal document  
that contains false information about legal ownership or operation  
of a motor vehicle, or making a false statement to the Department  
of Public Safety or its agents about such information.

	 •	 Plead guilty or forfeit bail for three violations in a single year of  
any Minnesota traffic law or ordinance that requires a jail sentence 
upon conviction.

	 •	 Are convicted of an offense in another state that would be grounds 
for revoking your license if you were convicted in Minnesota.

	 •	 Are convicted of a misdemeanor for driving a motor vehicle with 
prior knowledge that the owner of the vehicle did not have no-fault 
vehicle insurance.
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	 •	 Own a vehicle without no-fault insurance and are found to have 
driven it, or allowed others to drive it, with full knowledge that  
the vehicle was not insured.

	 •	 Are convicted of a gross misdemeanor for failing to stop for a 
school bus with its stop arm extended and its red lights flashing.

	 •	 Are convicted of selling or possessing a controlled substance  
while operating a motor vehicle.

After the period of revocation has ended, your driving privileges  
may be reinstated, if all the requirements for reinstatement are met. 
Requirements include payment of the reinstatement fee and passing  
the appropriate examinations. You must show proper identification  
when you take the knowledge test or road test. You must apply for  
a new license after all your testing requirements are met.

Limited License 
Under some circumstances, a limited license may be issued to a person 
whose driving privileges are revoked or suspended. Before a limited 
license will be issued, certain requirements must be met, including 
completion of any mandatory waiting periods. If you are issued a 
limited license, you are restricted to:
	 •	 Travel to and from your place of employment.
	 •	 Travel to and from chemical dependency treatment or counseling.
	 •	 Providing transportation for dependent children, and other depen- 
		  dents living in your household, for medical, educational, or nutri-		
		  tional needs.
	 •	 Travel to and from a post-secondary institution at which you  
		  are enrolled.

Cancellation
Your license may be canceled if you do not have a legal right to a 
driver’s license that was issued to you. Your license may be canceled  
if you:
	 •	 Acquire a mental or physical disability that makes you incapable  
		  of driving a motor vehicle safely.
	 •	 Do not pass a test that is legally requested by the Department  
		  of Public Safety to determine your ability to drive safely.
	 •	 Give false or misleading information on your license application. 		
   		 (Your license will be canceled for 60 days, or until the correct 
       information is provided – whichever is longer.)
	 •	 Commit a crime for which cancellation of your license is a legal 		
		  punishment.
	 •	 Do not qualify for a driver’s license under Minnesota law.
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Commercial Driver’s License Disqualification
You can lose commercial driver’s license privileges for committing 
certain driving offenses. See the Minnesota Commercial Driver’s 
License Manual for information about commercial driver’s license 
requirements.
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Chapter 8Driving Under the Influ-
ence of Alcohol or Drugs

It is illegal to operate a vehicle on Minnesota roads when impaired  
by alcohol or other substances.

Alcohol and Driving
Drinking and driving is a serious problem in Minnesota and across the 
nation. There is a strong relationship between alcohol use and severity 
of traffic crashes. Alcohol use is involved in more than one-third of the 
deaths on Minnesota roads each year.

Crashes involving impaired drivers kill an average of 240 people each 
year in Minnesota and injure thousands of others. The person most often 
killed in an alcohol-related crash is the impaired driver. Young males 
are more likely than others to engage in this deadly behavior. 

Drugs and Driving
Drug-impaired driving is as dangerous as alcohol-impaired driving. 
Minnesota law prohibits driving while impaired by controlled or 
hazardous substances. These substances include illegal drugs and 
prescription drugs, as well as household products.

These substances can impair a driver’s mental and physical ability  
to safely operate a vehicle and to respond to driving conditions. 

Legal drugs that may not cause impairment alone can produce 
powerful intoxicating effects when mixed with alcohol.

Effect of Alcohol on Driving Skills
Alcohol is a depressant that slows body functions and impairs motor 
skills. The amount of alcohol in the blood is called the “alcohol 
concentration.” Higher alcohol concentration means a greater degree  
of impairment. Driving ability becomes impaired after one drink. 

Types of Effects
Alcohol affects the central nervous system and impairs the ability  
to drive safely. The following section describes how specific functions 
are affected by alcohol consumption.

Judgment
Drivers who consume alcohol misjudge their degree of impairment. 
They may drive too fast, misjudge stopping distance, fail to wear a  
seat belt, and forget to drive defensively.
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Vision
Range of eye movement decreases, reducing peripheral vision. Blurred 
vision may also occur at high alcohol-concentration levels.

Reaction Time
Reaction time is slower. Impaired drivers cannot respond quickly to 
traffic signals, actions of other drivers and pedestrians, and events that 
take place on the road around them.

Steering 
Impaired drivers tend to over-steer, which can result in weaving and 
running off the road.

Perception
Impaired drivers do not notice sounds and sights — or do not interpret 
them correctly.

Coordination and Balance
Impaired drivers lose the ability to combine steadiness with speed  
and accuracy.

Attention
Drivers have difficulty giving their attention to focus on the many tasks 
required to operate a motor vehicle. 

Things to Know about Alcohol 
A 12-ounce beer, a five-ounce glass of wine, a typical mixed drink,  
and a nine-ounce wine cooler usually contain about the same amount  
of alcohol. It is important to realize, however, that mixed drinks may 
contain more than the standard one and a half ounces of alcohol, and  
the amount of alcohol in beers may vary by as much as 40 percent. 

The term “proof” refers to the strength of a drink and is equal to  
twice the percent of alcohol the substance contains. A bottle of 80  
proof whiskey, for example, contains 40 percent alcohol. 

The period of time over which you drink affects your alcohol  
concentration. If you consume more than one standard drink per hour, 
your alcohol concentration will increase. The effects of alcohol vary 
greatly among individuals. 

Factors such as age, gender, body weight, mood, food intake, meta- 
bolism, and genetics have an impact on how alcohol affects an individual.  
You may be affected differently by alcohol on different occasions due to 
fluctuating factors such as mood, food intake, and even sleepiness. 

Males and females are affected differently by alcohol. Men generally 
have more muscle tissue, which does not allow alcohol absorption into 
the blood stream as readily as fat. A person who has a higher percentage 
of fat than another person of the same weight will reach a higher alcohol 
concentration by consuming the same amount of alcohol. 
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The only way to reduce your alcohol concentration is to wait. Alcohol 
is generally eliminated at the rate of about one drink per hour, but many 
factors influence the amount of alcohol that is retained. 

The body eliminates 95 percent of alcohol through oxidation by the  
liver. The remaining alcohol is eliminated through breathing, perspiration, 
and urination. Drinking coffee, exercising, and taking cold showers do  
not increase the rate of oxidation. 

Making Lower-Risk Choices
Social drinking frequently leads to impaired driving. The safest policy  
is this: if you are going to drink, don’t drive; and if you are going to drive, 
don’t drink. Some alternatives to driving impaired are:
	 •	 Designate a driver.
	 •	 Call a taxi.
	 •	 Call a friend.
	 •	 Stay overnight at a friend’s house.
	 •	 Take away the keys, if a friend is impaired.

Because alcohol consumption impairs judgment, it is important to  
make a decision while you are sober about how you will avoid impaired 
driving later.

Minnesota DWI Law 
A person with an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher (0.04 if the 
person is driving a commercial vehicle), who is in control of a moving 
or parked vehicle, can be arrested for driving while impaired (DWI). 
If a law enforcement officer can prove that alcohol caused the driver to 
commit driving errors, he or she can be arrested for DWI at an alcohol 
concentration level as low as 0.04.  

Implied Consent Law
If a law enforcement officer has probable cause to believe a driver  
is impaired and is operating or in physical control of a motor vehicle,  
the driver is required to submit to a test of his or her blood, breath,  
or urine. It is a crime to refuse to submit to this test. Refusal to take 
the test will result in a one to six year revocation of driving privileges, 
depending upon the number of offenses on record.

This law also applies to operation of recreational vehicles, such as 
boats, snowmobiles, and ATVs.

A law enforcement officer may ask you to blow into a roadside  
preliminary screening device. This pre-arrest breath test helps the  
officer determine how much alcohol you have in your system. This 
instrument is only used as an indicator of your alcohol-concentration  
level and the results have limited use as evidence in court. If you are 
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arrested, you will be required to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test 
that can be used as evidence. Any law enforcement officer may ask you 
to take a test when you:
	 •	 Are under arrest for DWI.
	 •	 Refuse to take a pre-arrest breath test.
	 •	 Take and fail a pre-arrest breath test.
	 •	 Are involved in an alcohol-related crash that caused personal 		
		  injury, property damage, or death.

The pre-arrest breath test can be beneficial to drivers who appear to 
be intoxicated, but are not. Some medical conditions have symptoms 
similar to those associated with intoxication. Law enforcement officers 
will obtain medical assistance for drivers who are ill.

Penalties 
Penalties associated with an alcohol-related revocation of a driver’s 
license include a $680 reinstatement fee and completion of a DWI 
knowledge test, driver’s license application, and a chemical assessment. 
Each offense has unique criminal penalties in addition to administrative 
sanctions, depending on the arrest situation, previous driving violations, 
and criminal record. Penalties will be more severe if the driver: 
	 •	 Has prior DWI arrests. 
	 •	 Has an alcohol concentration of 0.16 or above. 
	 •	 Has a child younger than 16 years of age in the vehicle at the time 		
		  of the stop. 
	 •	 Is under 21 years of age. 
	 •	 Refuses a pre-arrest breath test.

A driver who is found to have an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or above, 
or who refuses to take a test to determine an alcohol concentration, 
will receive a seven-day temporary license. At the end of the seven-day 
period, the offender’s driver’s license will be revoked.

First Offense
	 •	 Minimum of 90-day revocation (30 days if individual pleads guilty 	
		  to DWI).
	 •	 No work permit will be issued until a 15 day revocation period has 	
		  passed, and until reinstatement requirements have been met.
	 •	 90 days in jail and/or $1,000 fine.

Second Offense
	 •	 Minimum one year license revocation if second offense occurred 	 	
		  within 10 years of the first offense.
	 •	 Enrollment in the Ignition Interlock Device Program is an option.
	 •	 One year in jail and/or $3,000 fine.
	 •	 License plates are impounded.
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Third Offense
	 •	 Loss of license for a minimum of three years.
	 •	 License is cancelled.
	 •	 Chemical use treatment assessment is required.
	 •	 Enrollment in the Ignition Interlock Device Program is required.
	 •	 One year in jail and/or $3,000 fine.
	 •	 Vehicle is forfeited and license plates are impounded.
	 •	 Jail or maximum bail and electronic monitoring.

Ignition Interlock Device Program
The Ignition Interlock Device Program enhances public safety by  

giving the eligible alcohol offender the option of having an ignition 
interlock device installed on his or her vehicle, helping to ensure safe  
and legal driving. The device is the size of a hand-held calculator and 
includes a blowing tube. It prevents a vehicle from starting if it detects  
a certain alcohol concentration level after the driver blows into the  
tube. The device is installed near the steering wheel and connected  
to the engine.

First-time alcohol offenders with an alcohol concentration of 0.16  
or above and all second-time alcohol offenders have the option of 
regaining their driving privileges by participating in the Ignition  
Interlock Device Program. Drivers whose licenses are canceled and  
whose privileges are denied as “inimical to public safety” are required  
to enroll in the Ignition Interlock Device Program for a period of three  
to six years in order to regain full driving privileges.

Felony DWI 
You may be charged for a felony DWI if you are arrested for: a fourth 
DWI in a 10-year period; have previously been convicted of a felony 
DWI; have been convicted of criminal vehicular homicide while under 
the influence of alcohol or drugs. A fourth offense may result in a loss 
of license for four years and until rehabilitation and other reinstatement 
requirements are met. The criminal penalties for felony DWI can include  
a sentence of up to seven years in prison with a five-year conditional 
release and a $14,000 fine. 

Underage Drinking — No Tolerance Rule
The legal age to buy and drink alcohol in Minnesota is 21. It is illegal  
for a person under age 21 to operate a motor vehicle with any detectable 
amount of alcohol in their system. If convicted of this offense you will 
have your driving privileges suspended for 30 days. A second conviction 
will result in suspension of driving privileges for 180 days.
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Commercial Driver’s License and Alcohol  
and Controlled Substances
You will lose your commercial driver’s license for at least one year on  
the first offense if you:
. 	 •	 Drive a commercial vehicle when your alcohol concentration  
		  is 0.04 or more. If your alcohol concentration is less than 0.04,  
		  but detectable, you will be put out of service for 24 hours.
. 	 •	 Drive any vehicle when your alcohol concentration is .08 or higher.
. 	 •	 Refuse a blood, breath, or urine test while driving any motor vehicle.
	 •	 Leave the scene of an accident involving a motor vehicle that  
		  you were driving.
	 •	 Use any motor vehicle to commit a felony.

If the offense occurs while you are operating a commercial motor vehicle 
that is placarded for hazardous materials, you will lose your commercial 
driver’s license for at least three years. A second offense will result in 
permanent loss of your commercial driver’s license. Using a commercial 
motor vehicle to commit a felony involving controlled substances will 
result in permanent loss of your commercial driver’s license.

Drivers who have a commercial license and are arrested for impaired 
driving in a passenger vehicle will be unable to obtain a work permit for 
a commercial vehicle during the withdrawal period.

Other Laws Related to Alcohol  
and Controlled Substances
Open Container
It is unlawful to drink, or to have an open container of, any alcoholic 
beverage inside a motor vehicle when it is on a public street or highway.  
It is also unlawful to allow a passenger to drink, or to have an open 
container of, any alcoholic beverage inside a motor vehicle.

Controlled Substances in Motor Vehicles
It is unlawful to use, possess or sell controlled substances in a  
motor vehicle.
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Chapter 9Information Directory
and Index

This chapter will help you locate services and information related  
to driving in Minnesota.

Web Services
Online services and information are available at dvs.dps.mn.gov. 
Here’s a sample of what you can do:
	 •	 Schedule a driver’s road test.
	 •	 Find office locations.
	 •	 Check to see if your driving privileges are valid. 
	 •	 File a crash report.
	 •	 Report the sale of a vehicle.
	 •	 Renew your vehicle registration.
	 •	 Find the location of the office nearest to you.
	 •	 Print a driver’s license manual.
	 •	 Download forms and information related to driver’s licenses and  
		  the operation and ownership of a motor vehicle.
	 •	 Find approved driver education schools and improvement clinics.

Office Locations
Driver’s license and motor vehicle services are available at more than 
200 locations throughout the state. Office location information is avail-
able 24/7. Visit dvs.dps.mn.gov or call 651-297-2005.

Contacts
Email: dvs.driverslicense@state.mn.us
Road Test Scheduling (Metro Only)....................................651-284-1000
Office Locations...................................................................651-297-2005
Driver’s License Information............................................... 651-297-3298
CDL Information................................................................. 651-297-5029
Driver Evaluation.................................................................651-296-2025
Ignition Interlock.................................................................651-296-2948
No-fault Insurance Compliance........................................... 651-296-2015
Impounded Plates................................................................. 651-297-5034
Vehicle Registration and Title.............................................. 651-297-2126
Specialty Plates.....................................................................651-297-3166
Automated Services.............................................................651-284-1234
Other.................................................................................... 651-296-6911
Customer Assistance for Hearing-Impaired  
callers (TTY/TDD)..............................................................651-282-6555

dvs.dps.mn.gov
dvs.dps.mn.gov
mailto:dvs.driverslicense@state.mn.us
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Other State Services
State Patrol Information Line...............................................651-201-7100
MnDOT Road Conditions.............................511 or visit www.511mn.org
MnDOT Motor Carrier Services......................................... 651-215-6330

Consumer Information
Attorney General’s Office.................................................... 651-296-3353 
Toll-free............................................................................... 800-657-3787 
TTY for hearing impaired................................................... 651-297-7206 
Toll-free............................................................................... 800-366-4812
Web site: www.ag.state.mn.us/consumer

Voter Registration
You may register to vote at the same time you apply for a driver’s license  
or identification card. Simply check the voter registration box on the driver’s 
license application and sign your name. Applications submitted within 30 
days prior to election day may not be included on the voter roster.

Organ and Tissue Donation
Thousands of people are waiting for a lifesaving or life enhancing organ, 
tissue or cornea transplant. Licensed drivers in the state of Minnesota  
can make a personal commitment to organ, tissue and eye donation. 
Driver’s license applications contain a section where you can indicate  
your wish to become a donor after death. This donor indication serves  
as your consent. It is important to discuss your decision with your family 
members, and make them aware of your wishes. Drivers under the age  
of 18 can participate in this program with their parents’ consent.

Organs and tissues that can be donated include heart, lungs, liver, 
kidney, pancreas, intestines, skin, heart valves, bone, and connective 
tissue. Organs are allocated to recipients based upon medical urgency, 
length of time waiting, genetic matching, and geography. 

For eye donation, the whole eye or the cornea can be donated. Eyes  
are distributed for transplant on a patient-based, fair, equitable system. 

The donation process does not prevent an open-casket funeral. Donors 
are treated with great care and dignity throughout the donation process. 
There is no charge for donation to the donor or the donor’s family.

For more information about donating organs or tissues, contact 
LifeSource at 1-888-5-DONATE (1-888-536-6283) or visit  
www.DonateLifeMn.org.

For information about donating whole eyes or corneas, contact the 
Minnesota Lions Eye Bank at 1-866-88-SIGHT (1-866-887-4448)  
or visit www.mnlionseyebank.org.

www.511mn.org 
www.ag.state.mn.us
www.DonateLifeMn.org
www.mnlionseyebank.org
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