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MINNESOTA DEPARTMNET OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

Office of Traffic Safety 
445 Minnesota Street • Suite 150 • Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5150 

Phone: 651.201.7065 • Fax: 651.297.4844 • TTY: 651.282.6555 

dps.mn.gov  

August 2013 

There’s no excuse for drunk driving, but as the numbers in this report clearly show, plenty of people in 2012 made 

the unsafe decision to get behind the wheel impaired. As a result of these dangerous decisions, lives have been 

dramatically changed or tragically ended. 

Last year, 104 people were killed in drunk driving crashes while 2,644 people were injured. Meanwhile, more than 

28,000 drivers were arrested for DWI.  

These are massive numbers that indicate the drunk driving issue remains a stubborn and dangerous problem that 

will continue to prevent Minnesota from having safer roads. 

There has been progress, however: A decade ago there were 205 drunk driving deaths. Further, alcohol-related 

crashes and DWI arrests have been trending downward, which may indicate people are making safer, smarter 

decisions. 

This report, Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts 2012, presents the impaired driving facts and provides a wide-range 

view of the problem. This publication also explains Minnesota’s impaired driving laws. Here are key facts from 

2012: 

 395 people died in traffic crashes in Minnesota and 104 (26 percent) were in crashes involving drunk drivers.   

 2,644 people suffered injuries in alcohol-related crashes. 

 28,418 motorists were arrested for DWIs (an average of 78 DWIs per day).  

 11,474 (40 percent) of these violators had at least one prior DWI.  

 1,783 (6 percent) of all DWIs were issued to drivers less than 21 years of age. 

 76 percent of motorists arrested for DWI resulted in a criminal conviction for driving while impaired; this 

percentage will increase as outstanding cases are settled in courts. 

 One out of every seven licensed drivers in Minnesota has at least one DWI. 

The Office of Traffic Safety, our law enforcement partners and our Toward Zero Deaths traffic safety advocates 

place great resources to prevent drunk driving. And we need everyone’s support to truly make a difference. As 

Minnesotans, we all have a role and a responsibility to make smart decisions to avoid the dangers and the 

consequences of drunk driving. Please always have a plan for a sober ride — don’t risk driving impaired. 

Sincerely,  

 
Donna Berger 

Director, Office of Traffic Safety 
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I.  IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD 

 
Summary 

There were 28,418 impaired driving incidents that 

occurred in Minnesota in 2012 and then entered onto 

people’s driving records.  That’s a 3% decrease from the 

previous year.  Eighty-seven percent of the incidents 

involved taking a test for alcohol or drugs;
*
 13% 

involved a test refusal.
†
  A few incidents (8--less than 

1%) involved both a test failure and a test refusal (for 

example, an alcohol test refusal and a drug test failure).  

A small number of the total incidents included a 

conviction for “criminal vehicular operation” resulting 

in a fatality (5 such incidents) or injury (124 such 

incidents).  However, these totals will increase as court 

cases are settled. 

“Not-a-Drop” and “Disqual” violations 

Two types of incidents are reported in Table 1.01 but 

not otherwise considered as “impaired driving 

incidents” in this report.  First, there are “not-a-drop” 

violations.  (The Not-A-Drop law was passed in 1993 

and applies to persons under age 21, making it illegal 

for them to drive while having any amount of alcohol in 

their blood.)  The number of such violations rose 

steadily from 1,386, in 1994, to close to 3,700 in 1999, 

but then dropped rather sharply in the past decade to 

899 in 2012. 

The second violation type has the jargon-like name 

“disqual.”  This refers to an incident where a 

commercial vehicle driver is tested and found to have an 

alcohol concentration of .04% or higher.  Such a driver 

will then be disqualified from operating a commercial 

vehicle.  These incidents are somewhat rare.  There 

were only 7 in 2012.  (Note that if the commercial 

driver has an AC over the per se illegal level, then the 

incident will be counted as a conviction or an implied 

consent violation; it will still trigger the disqualification, 

but it will not be counted here as a “disqual.”) 

When do incidents occur? 

There is high consistency year after year with respect to 

when drinking and driving occurs in terms of days of 

the week.  Year 2012 was similar to past years: 

Mondays through Thursdays had comparatively few 

incidents.  Then Fridays accounted for 15%, Sundays 

for 23%, and Saturdays for 26% of all incidents. 

                                                           

Alcohol concentration levels remain steady 

In 1997 the Legislature adopted special sanction 

provisions effective in January 1998 for high-AC  

offenders (0.20% or higher), and alcohol test results  

began to be available starting in 1998.  There has been a 

steady decline among high-scoring violators ever since; 

there were 6,079 in the over 0.20% category in 1998, 

then 4,594 in 2012.  This represents a 24% decline.  

(Note that the Legislature adopted special sanction 

provisions effective in July 2011 for high-AC  offenders 

(0.16% or higher).   

Average alcohol level among first-time violators 

was 0.157% in 1998 and 0.148% in 2012.  Second-or-

subsequent violators averaged 0.173% in 1998 and 

0.164% in 2012.  These lower alcohol concentration 

levels are to be expected in some degree due to the 

lower .08 per se level that went into effect 08/01/2005. 

Who are the violators? 

Driver license files provide only limited data on who the 

drinking drivers are.  However, there is a strong 

relationship between age and impaired driving.  

Twenty-to-thirty-four year-olds accounted for 56% of 

the impaired driving incidents in 2012.  In addition, 

there were 1,783 impaired driving incidents among 

underage drivers.  This is especially disturbing since it 

is illegal to drink in Minnesota if you are less than 21 

years of age. 

In addition, there is an exceedingly strong 

relationship between gender and impaired driving.  

Most succinctly put, the problem is concentrated in the 

young adult male population.  In 2012, males committed 

73% of the impaired incidents (for which gender of the 

violator was reported).  

Recidivism:  40% of violators were recidivists  

Section IV will look at recidivism more closely.  In 

general, though, in recent years, about 60 percent of all 

violators had no prior alcohol incidents on record, and 

40 percent did. There is an interesting violation pattern 

among the recidivists:  About half of those who incur a 

second incident go on to incur a third.  About half of 

those who incur a third go on to incur a fourth, and so 

on.   

* The tests are usually for alcohol, but they might be for 

controlled substances.  In 2012, there were 1,006 incidents 

(involving either an implied consent violation or a criminal 

conviction, or both) for driving while impaired by controlled 

substances. 
† Test refusals used to be higher.  For example in 1993, 18% 

of all incidents involved a test refusal. 
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TABLE 1.01 

OVERVIEW OF IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, 1993 - 2012 

 Impaired Driving Incidents (“DWIs”) Related 

Incidents 

       Criminal 

Vehicular 

Operation 

   

Year Total 

(1) 

Im-

plied 

Con-

sent  

(2) 

Crim-

inal 

Con-

viction 

(3) 

Tests 

Taken 

(4) 

Tests 

Refused 

(5) 

Both 

Taken 

& Ref. 

(6) 

Fa-

tality 

(7) 

In-

jury 

(8) 

Drugs 

(9) 

Not 

A 

Drop 

(10) 

Com-

mercial 

Vehicle 

(11) 

1993 30,088 29,334 25,107 24,586 5,489 13 42 101 10 587 15 

1994 29,748 28,855 24,834 24,524 5,208 16 44 92 15 1,386 21 

1995 30,402 29,249 25,139 24,869 5,507 26 41 86 26 1,611 17 

1996 30,923 29,687 25,718 25,512 5,405 6 42 145 50 2,181 19 

1997 31,380 29,940 26,269 26,330 5,024 26 22 208 128 2,865 16 

1998 32,422 30,888 27,136 27,483 4,774 165 40 213 218 3,245 21 

1999 34,575 32,800 29,314 29,581 4,875 119 27 251 207 3,691 13 

2000 35,034 33,329 29,292 30,007 4,886 141 40 251 334 3,607 18 

2001 33,532 32,074 27,981 28,611 4,839 82 21 160 399 3,287 16 

2002 33,163 31,911 27,447 28,308 4,767 88 35 207 404 3,163 15 

2003 32,266 30,991 26,210 27,591 4,489 186 37 315 542 2,807 10 

2004 34,202 32,811 27,907 29,501 4,478 223 26 279 695 2,762 8 

2005 37,002 35,215 30,534 32,224 4,633 145 34 301 842 2,478 16 

2006 41,951 40,425 34,528 36,893 4,942 116 26 301 724 2,463 16 

2007 38,669 37,278 31,876 33,947 4,664 58 46 265 659 2,134 28 

2008 35,794 34,497 29,509 31,492 4,292 10 35 241 642 1,703 12 

2009 32,756 31,662 24,198 28,831 3,915 10 38 269 820 1,425 8 

2010 29,918 28,838 22,153 26,366 3,545 7 40 256 927 1,229 16 

2011 29,257 28,204 22,175 25,713 3,531 13 28 233 968 1,137 15 

2012 28,418 27,499 21,548 24,722 3,688 8 5 124 1,006 899 7 

Column Notes: 

(1) Column 1 counts the total number of impaired driving 

incidents in Minnesota.  Columns 2 through 9 are 

subsets of column 1. 

(2) Almost all incidents include the civil-law “implied 

consent” violation either of (i) taking and “failing” the 

test for alcohol or controlled substances (“drugs”), or 

(ii) refusing to take the test. 

(3) In 2012, 76% of all incidents were known to involve a 

criminal conviction for driving while impaired by 

alcohol or drugs (as of June 01, 2013—the date on 

which statistics for this report were compiled).  This 

percentage is understated.  As judicial outcomes are 

decided well into the future, the criminal conviction 

percentage will increase to approximately 85%. 

(4-6) An incident may involve taking of a test, and a test 

refusal.  For example, a person may take a test for 

alcohol, and refuse a test for drugs. 

(7-8) Criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offenses are 

divided into CVO resulting in a fatality (column 7) or 

CVO resulting in any type of bodily injury, all 

collapsed into (column 8).  Amounts for 2012 in 

columns (7) through (11) will all increase as court 

cases are settled. 

(9) Incidents counted in (9) involved an implied consent 

violation or a criminal conviction, or both, for 

driving while impaired by a controlled substance 

(“drugs”).  See additional detail in Table 1.02. 

(10) The “not-a-drop” law, making it illegal for persons 

under age 21 to drive while having any amount of 

alcohol whatsoever (as opposed to being over the 

per-se illegal level) took effect June 1, 1993. 

(11) Commercial vehicle drivers found to have an alcohol 

concentration of .04% or higher, but less than the per 

se illegal level, are disqualified from operating a 

commercial vehicle.  
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TABLE 1.02 

“IMPLIED CONSENTS”  VERSUS  CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS, 

VERSUS BOTH,  UNDER THREE ARREST SCENARIOS, 1993 - 2012 

 Incidents Involving a 

Test for Alcohol 

Incidents Involving a 

Test for Drugs 

Incidents Involving 

Refusal of Test for 

Alcohol or Drugs 

All Episodes 

Year IC 

only 

% 

CC 

only 

% 

IC + 

CC 

% 

Total 

N 

IC 

only 

% 

CC 

only 

% 

IC + 

CC 

% 

Total 

N 

IC 

only 

% 

CC 

only 

% 

IC + 

CC 

% 

Total 

N 

IC 

only 

% 

CC 

only 

% 

IC + 

CC 

% 

Total 

N 

1993 17 3 80 24,566 0 78 22 9 16 0 84 5,499 16 3 81 30,088 

1994 17 3 80 24,497 0 92 8 12 16 1 83 5,221 16 3 81 29,748 

1995 17 4 78 24,837 0 100 0 25 16 1 83 5,527 17 4 79 30,402 

1996 17 5 78 25,457 0 100 0 44 14 1 85 5,410 17 4 79 30,923 

1997 17 5 78 26,190 18 64 18 123 14 1 85 5,048 16 5 79 31,380 

1998 16 5 79 27,261 30 39 31 210 15 1 84 4,937 16 5 79 32,422 

1999 15 6 79 29,363 34 38 28 200 14 1 85 4,990 15 5 80 34,575 

2000 16 5 79 29,676 32 43 24 325 15 1 84 5,024 16 5 79 35,034 

2001 16 5 79 28,222 36 21 43 389 14 1 85 4,919 16 4 79 33,532 

2002 17 4 79 27,917 34 21 45 404 14 1 85 4,854 16 4 80 33,163 

2003 17 5 79 27,152 36 19 45 528 14 1 85 4,673 17 4 79 32,266 

2004 15 5 80 28,953 36 17 47 674 12 1 87 4,702 15 5 80 34,202 

2005 14 5 80 31,409 29 16 55 815 12 2 86 4,778 14 5 81 37,002 

2006 15 4 81 36,203 30 16 53 690 12 1 87 5,058 15 4 81 41,951 

2007 14 4 82 33,327 28 23 49 620 11 1 88 4,722 14 4 82 38,669 

2008 15 4 81 30,890 29 22 49 602 12 1 87 4,302 15 4 81 35,794 

2009 17 4 79 28,105 28 20 52 726 12 2 86 3,925 17 4 79 32,756 

2010 16 4 79 25,528 28 21 52 838 11 2 87 3,552 16 4 80 29,918 

2011 16 4 80 24,880 29 25 46 833 12 2 86 3,544 16 5 80 29,257 

2012 24 3 73 24,880 52 15 33 833 21 1 78 3,544 24 3 73 28,418 

Note:  2012 Numbers will change as court cases are settled. 

A given incident, at the point of arrest, could involve only a 

test for alcohol, or only a test for drugs, or tests for both, or a 

refusal of both, or a test for one and a refusal of a test for the 

other.  Incidents were classified into the first arrest scenario 

(involving test for alcohol) only if (1) there was no test for 

drugs, and (2) there was no refusal.  An incident was 

classified into the second arrest scenario (involving a test for 

drugs) if there was any test for drugs, even if there may also 

have been a test for alcohol.  No incident that involved any 

refusal was classified into the first or second groups.  All 

incidents where the arrest involved any refusal were classified 

into the third scenario (involving a test refusal) above. 

In United States law, the term “conviction” refers to a 

finding of guilt—either because a person pled guilty or was 

found guilty—for an offense under criminal law.  Minnesota 

first defined driving while intoxicated to be a crime in 1911.  

Minnesota first passed the civil Implied Consent law in 1961:  

By driving, a person implies consent to a test for alcohol, if 

required to take a test by an officer who has probable cause to 

suspect impairment.  As amended over the years, the Implied 

Consent law now instructs the Commissioner of Public Safety 

to withdraw a person’s driver license if the person refuses to 

take a test for alcohol, or for controlled substances (“drugs”), 

or if the person takes the test and ‘fails’ it by testing over a 

defined per-se illegal level (in the case of alcohol, set, since 

August 1, 2005, at .08%).  Additionally, in 1992, Minnesota 

defined test refusal to be a crime, effective January 1, 1993. 

 The license withdrawal under the civil law occurs 

independently of the outcome of proceedings under the criminal 

law.  Thus, an impaired driving incident for which there is an 

arrest may then lead to a revocation under the civil law (an 

“implied consent”—“IC” in the table above), or a criminal 

conviction (“CC” in the above table), or, most commonly, both 

(“IC+CC”). 
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TABLE 1.03 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY MONTH, 1993 – 2012 

Year Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Total 

1993 2,194 2,156 2,460 2,505 2,959 2,436 2,735 2,785 2,581 2,689 2,246 2,342 30,088 

1994 2,101 2,047 2,548 2,599 2,714 2,434 2,800 2,471 2,499 2,618 2,239 2,678 29,748 

1995 2,176 2,190 2,441 2,744 2,582 2,393 2,732 2,647 2,815 2,579 2,213 2,890 30,402 

1996 2,120 2,207 2,625 2,448 2,875 2,772 2,753 2,909 2,632 2,581 2,420 2,581 30,923 

1997 2,289 2,437 2,654 2,586 2,948 2,610 2,735 3,033 2,353 2,454 2,608 2,673 31,380 

1998 2,434 2,391 2,448 2,500 2,993 2,658 2,937 2,951 2,782 2,857 2,663 2,808 32,422 

1999 2,617 2,497 2,780 2,746 3,194 2,765 3,029 2,936 2,974 3,131 2,798 3,108 34,575 

2000 2,883 2,724 3,015 2,918 2,960 2,904 3,184 2,838 2,995 2,997 2,559 3,057 35,034 

2001 2,822 2,426 2,989 2,600 2,869 2,795 2,892 2,798 2,806 2,793 2,616 3,126 33,532 

2002 2,722 2,460 2,796 2,582 2,812 2,806 2,910 3,045 2,741 2,648 2,693 2,948 33,163 

2003 2,464 2,321 2,747 2,469 2,645 2,714 3,104 2,933 2,635 2,863 2,738 2,633 32,266 

2004 2,796 2,706 2,909 2,706 2,970 2,769 3,123 3,168 2,814 2,918 2,583 2,740 34,202 

2005 2,587 2,857 2,843 3,058 3,026 2,827 3,379 3,496 3,215 3,328 2,968 3,418 37,002 

2006 3,479 3,184 3,604 3,473 3,493 3,568 3,722 3,750 3,657 3,141 3,231 3,649 41,951 

2007 3,019 2,726 3,408 3,083 3,326 3,363 3,404 3,435 3,388 2,971 3,079 3,467 38,669 

2008 3,065 2,916 3,168 2,711 3,180 2,958 3,436 3,020 2,641 2,902 3,042 2,755 35,794 

2009 2,889 2,550 2,881 2,703 2,966 2,561 2,816 3,003 2,685 2,511 2,628 2,563 32,756 

2010 2,541 2,507 2,689 2,463 2,655 2,356 2,623 2,651 2,394 2,566 2,106 2,367 29,918 

2011 2,370 2,334 2,478 2,457 2,509 2,428 2,694 2,591 2,320 2,450 2,068 2,558 29,257 

2012 2,141 2,224 2,520 2,287 2,450 2,414 2,454 2,620 2,394 2,262 2,153 2,499 28,418 

TABLE 1.04 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY DAY OF WEEK, 1993 – 2012 

Year Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Total 

1993 6,202 2,264 2,465 2,905 3,511 5,083 7,658 30,088 

1994 6,048 2,302 2,328 2,661 3,535 5,089 7,785 29,748 

1995 6,600 2,274 2,476 2,717 3,436 4,977 7,922 30,402 

1996 6,413 2,490 2,505 2,799 3,571 5,131 8,014 30,923 

1997 6,488 2,331 2,436 3,111 3,426 5,339 8,249 31,380 

1998 6,909 2,384 2,490 2,942 3,961 5,398 8,338 32,422 

1999 7,470 2,446 2,540 3,116 3,992 6,017 8,994 34,575 

2000 7,640 2,375 2,623 3,138 3,872 5,774 9,612 35,034 

2001 7,316 2,566 2,564 3,002 3,893 5,558 8,633 33,532 

2002 7,098 2,451 2,736 3,116 3,912 5,492 8,358 33,163 

2003 6,803 2,391 2,564 3,311 3,607 5,319 8,271 32,266 

2004 7,570 2,389 2,593 3,204 4,085 5,468 8,893 34,202 

2005 8,105 2,698 2,838 3,252 4,161 6,113 9,835 37,002 

2006 9,563 2,854 3,236 3,730 4,684 6,766 11,118 41,951 

2007 8,682 2,934 2,853 3,617 4,341 6,147 10,095 38,669 

2008 7,991 2,481 2,912 3,115 3,910 5,826 9,559 35,794 

2009 7,511 2,275 2,513 2,977 3,864 5,028 8,588 32,756 

2010 6,866 2,120 2,227 2,616 3,368 5,069 7,652 29,918 

2011 6,715 2,238 2,102 2,461 3,175 4,680 7,886 29,257 

2012 6,676 2,102 2,110 2,530 3,106 4,367 7,527 28,418 
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TABLE 1.05 

ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION TEST RESULTS ON DRIVERS 

WHO INCURRED IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, 2003 - 2012 

Year .01 - 

-.04 

.05- 

-.07 

.08- 

-.09 

.10- 

-.14 

.15- 

-.19 

.20- 

-.24 

.25- 

-.29 

.30- 

-.34 

.35 + Average 

A.C. 

Total 

Tests 

Not 

Tested 

Total 

Incidents 

2003              

  First 6 3 35 7,830 6,317 2,165 438 83 29 .155 16,906 2,272 19,178 

  Repeat 3 5 30 3,366 3,948 1,968 552 144 38 .170 10,054 3,034 13,088 

 All 9 8 65 11,196 10,265 4,133 990 227 67 .161 26,960 5,306 32,266 

2004              

  First 2 6 41 8,462 6,639 2,275 489 76 14 .155 18,004 2,395 20,399 

  Repeat 2 2 23 3,659 4,256 2,003 571 150 43 .169 10,709 3,094 13,803 

 All 4 8 64 12,121 10,895 4,278 1,060 226 57 .160 28,713 5,489 34,202 

2005              

  First 0 13 1,080 9,118 6,857 2,219 457 82 21 .150 19,847 2,667 22,514 

  Repeat 1 5 429 3,839 4,066 2,061 632 155 35 .166 11,223 3,265 14,488 

 All 1 18 1,509 12,957 10,923 4,280 1,089 237 56 .155 31,070 5,932 37,002 

2006              

  First 2 16 3,055 9,977 7,062 2,403 472 99 27 .144 23,113 2,877 25,990 

  Repeat 0 9 1,095 4,324 4,163 2,097 633 149 27 .160 12,497 3,464 15,961 

 All 2 25 4,150 14,301 11,225 4,500 1,105 248 54 .149 35,610 6,341 41,951 

2007              

  First 2 8 2,525 9,008 6,455 2,215 433 82 8 .145 20,736 2,917 23,653 

  Repeat 0 4 978 4,006 3,924 2,060 601 160 28 .161 11,761 3,255 15,016 

 All 2 12 3,503 13,014 10,379 4,275 1,034 242 36 .151 32,497 6,172 38,669 

2008              

  First 0 6 2,168 8,048 5,993 2,085 475 85 21 .146 18,881 2,508 21,389 

  Repeat 0 2 880 3,775 3,776 1,975 616 137 35 .162 11,196 3,209 14,405 

 All 0 8 3,048 11,823 9,769 4,060 1,091 222 56 .152 30,007 5,717 35,794 

2009              

  First 1 4 2,045 7,130 5,310 1,920 425 95 18 .147 16,948 2,346 19,294 

  Repeat 0 1 825 3,458 3,488 1,889 591 157 41 .163 10,450 3,012 13,462 

 All 1 5 2,870 10,588 8,798 3,809 1,016 252 59 .153 27,398 5,358 32,756 

2010              

  First 1 4 1,738 6,317 4,687 1,838 446 111 21 .148 15,163 2,319 17,482 

  Repeat 1 0 710 3,128 3,264 1,807 597 126 43 .165 9,676 2,760 12,436 

 All 2 4 2,448 9,445 7,951 3,645 1,043 237 64 .155 24,839 5,079 29,918 

2011              

  First 1 6 1,746 6,178 4,595 1,712 406 91 26 .148 14,761 2,393 17,154 

  Repeat 0 0 729 3,004 3,186 1,742 593 154 44 .166 9,452 2,651 12,103 

 All 1 6 2,475 9,182 7,781 3,454 999 245 70 .155 24,213 5,044 29,257 

2012              

  First 1 2 1,734 5,967 4,390 1,708 467 94 29 .148 14,392 2,552 16,944 

  Repeat 0 1 774 2,798 2,879 1,532 548 175 41 .164 8,748 2,726 11,474 

 All 1 3 2,508 8,765 7,269 3,240 1,015 269 70 .154 23,140 5,278 28,418 

Notes: 

(1) The row heading “First” designates alcohol test results on 

first-time violators; the heading “Repeat” designates results 

on persons with one or more prior incidents on their record.  

The column “Not Tested” means no alcohol test result was 

reported; tests for specific controlled substances may have 

been reported but are not identified on computerized driver 

records. 

(2) The per se illegal AC was 0.10% (one-tenth of one 

percent, or one part per thousand, of a person’s blood, when 

expressed as a BAC) from 1971 to July 31, 2005, and is  

0.08% since August 1, 2005.  Among those arrested, 

concentrations below the per se level are rare, even though, 

due to human variation, a person may be quite impaired at 

lower levels.  An unintended consequence of adopting the per 

se law in 1971 was that the alcohol concentration, rather than 

actual impairment, became the standard for making an 

impaired driving arrest.  However, drivers may still be 

arrested and may still incur impaired driving violations while 

having lower alcohol concentrations.  Also, drug-impaired 

driving often occurs together with alcohol-impaired driving.
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TABLE 1.06 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY  

GENDER OF VIOLATOR, 1993 – 2012 

Year Male Female Not Stated Total 

1993 24,183 5,468 437 30,088 

1994 23,241 5,314 1,192 29,748 

1995 23,410 5,467 1,525 30,402 

1996 23,967 5,462 1,494 30,923 

1997 24,102 5,832 1,446 31,380 

1998 24,623 6,148 1,650 32,422 

1999 26,102 6,543 1,930 34,575 

2000 26,065 6,839 2,130 35,034 

2001 24,808 6,588 2,136 33,532 

2002 24,246 6,651 2,267 33,163 

2003 23,368 6,604 2,294 32,266 

2004 24,511 7,262 2,429 34,202 

2005 26,235 8,131 2,636 37,002 

2006 29,251 9,445 3,255 41,951 

2007 26,748 8,931 2,990 38,669 

2008 24,503 8,552 2,739 35,794 

2009 22,342 7,989 2,425 32,756 

2010 20,154 7,486 2,278 29,918 

2011 19,975 7,326 1,955 29,257 

2012 19,035 7,156 2,227 28,418 

Note:  The table at left makes it appear that 

the number of violators for whom gender is 

not stated is increasing over time.  This is not 

so.  If a person arrested for DWI does not 

have a Minnesota driving record, one is 

created showing name and date of birth, but 

not gender.  As years pass, many of these 

persons subsequently obtain a Minnesota 

driver license, causing gender to be entered 

on record.  The table at left merely takes 

advantage of current information to 

categorize the gender of persons arrested in 

prior years. 
 

TABLE 1.07 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS AMONG UNDER-21 DRIVERS, 

BY AGE, 1993 – 2012 

Year 0-14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Under 21 

1993 5 6 88 254 500 743 840 2,436 

1994 4 7 107 237 545 643 766 2,309 

1995 1 20 115 241 518 724 813 2,432 

1996 3 11 138 304 617 800 833 2,706 

1997 4 18 106 279 639 768 894 2,708 

1998 2 17 105 301 679 890 929 2,923 

1999 4 18 116 290 744 1,002 1,046 3,220 

2000 4 10 127 330 710 991 1,116 3,288 

2001 1 15 121 276 643 924 1,042 3,022 

2002 7 12 123 306 659 862 1,100 3,069 

2003 3 21 117 280 692 914 1,069 3,096 

2004 3 13 106 301 679 891 1,014 3,007 

2005 5 16 118 345 708 1,032 1,238 3,462 

2006 6 24 138 394 859 1,280 1,354 4,055 

2007 4 11 126 324 714 1,065 1,210 3,454 

2008 6 14 104 269 634 888 1,047 2,962 

2009 6 6 75 197 524 801 896 2,505 

2010 4 9 54 139 425 667 804 2,102 

2011 1 5 55 154 362 578 748 1,903 

2012 4 10 42 112 332 621 662 1,783 
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TABLE 1.08 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY AGE GROUP OF VIOLATOR, 1993 - 2012 

Year 0-14 15-19 20-24 25-29 30-34 35-39 40-44 45-49 50-54 55-59 60-64 65-69 70-74 75+ Unk Total 

1993 5 1,591 6,366 5,933 5,822 4,292 2,574 1,506 871 511 296 184 94 43 0 30,088 

1994 4 1,539 5,821 5,604 5,816 4,221 2,894 1,756 852 568 342 188 82 60 1 29,748 

1995 1 1,618 5,877 5,549 5,844 4,554 3,046 1,742 956 553 324 185 92 60 1 30,402 

1996 3 1,870 5,806 5,593 5,459 4,791 3,180 1,927 1,010 595 318 214 97 60 0 30,923 

1997 4 1,810 5,816 5,727 5,082 4,974 3,355 2,112 1,169 621 341 206 97 65 1 31,380 

1998 2 1,992 6,256 5,600 4,905 5,224 3,637 2,258 1,155 676 339 195 103 75 5 32,422 

1999 4 2,170 7,403 5,853 4,915 5,254 3,853 2,370 1,330 671 404 192 96 60 0 34,575 

2000 4 2,168 7,776 5,859 4,831 5,116 3,944 2,485 1,399 694 372 194 119 72 1 35,034 

2001 1 1,979 7,912 5,457 4,573 4,438 3,910 2,462 1,457 651 338 192 100 61 1 33,532 

2002 7 1,962 8,148 5,287 4,374 4,054 3,880 2,502 1,454 752 358 197 105 83 0 33,163 

2003 3 2,024 8,209 5,411 4,004 3,632 3,650 2,465 1,378 754 381 188 97 67 3 32,266 

2004 3 1,990 8,699 5,892 4,253 3,654 3,825 2,709 1,637 789 425 166 93 67 0 34,202 

2005 5 2,219 9,615 6,829 4,386 3,790 3,855 2,934 1,669 922 409 213 92 62 2 37,002 

2006 6 2,695 11,056 8,067 4,767 4,138 4,026 3,338 1,986 1,029 448 225 108 61 1 41,951 

2007 4 2,240 9,874 7,398 4,482 3,946 3,627 3,171 1,912 1,101 492 262 93 66 1 38,669 

2008 6 1,909 8,623 6,880 4,508 3,587 3,280 2,998 1,945 1,110 553 229 101 65 0 35,794 

2009 6 1,603 7,570 6,394 4,097 3,386 2,937 2,873 1,893 1,055 541 225 119 56 1 32,756 

2010 4 1,294 6,821 5,776 3,934 2,918 2,671 2,565 1,914 1,086 543 234 98 60 0 29,918 

2011 1 1,154 6,505 5,837 3,895 2,778 2,671 2,393 1,904 1,084 608 231 120 73 3 29,257 

2012 4 1,117 6,413 5,421 3,950 2,627 2,665 2,212 1,839 1,090 613 271 135 61 0 28,418 

TABLE 1.09 

IMPAIRED DRIVNG INCIDENTS IN TWIN CITIES METRO AND  

NON-METRO AREAS, 1993 - 2012 

 Twin Cities 

Metro Area 

Non-Metro Area Total 

Year number percent number percent number percent 

1993 15,587 51.8 14,501 48.2 30,088 100.0 

1994 15,471 52.0 14,277 48.0 29,748 100.0 

1995 15,716 51.7 14,686 48.3 30,402 100.0 

1996 15,952 51.6 14,971 48.4 30,923 100.0 

1997 16,153 51.5 15,227 48.5 31,380 100.0 

1998 16,722 51.6 15,700 48.4 32,422 100.0 

1999 17,144 49.5 17,431 50.4 34,575 100.0 

2000 16,821 48.0 18,213 52.0 35,034 100.0 

2001 16,347 48.8 17,185 51.2 33,532 100.0 

2002 16,208 48.9 16,955 51.1 33,163 100.0 

2003 16,000 49.6 16,266 50.4 32,266 100.0 

2004 16,734 48.9 17,468 51.1 34,202 100.0 

2005 17,867 48.3 19,135 51.7 37,002 100.0 

2006 20,532 48.9 21,419 51.1 41,951 100.0 

2007 18,764 48.5 19,905 51.5 38,669 100.0 

2008 17,787 49.7 18,007 50.3 35,794 100.0 

2009 16,253 49.6 16,503 50.4 32,756 100.0 

2010 15,146 50.6 14,772 49.4 29,918 100.0 

2011 14,888 50.9 14,369 49.1 29,257 100.0 

2012 14,660 51.6 13,758 48.4 28,418 100.0 
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TABLE 1.10 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY COUNTY OF ARREST, 2001 - 2012 

County 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 

Aitkin 233 245 199 159 215 208 248 159 134 104 138 129 

Anoka 1,867 1,711 1,708 1,942 2,055 2,159 2,338 2,132 1,912 1,678 1,445 1,380 

Becker 418 465 334 342 438 521 383 325 271 275 255 246 

Beltrami 403 447 432 434 354 446 509 536 419 375 430 293 

Benton 242 266 273 255 265 344 359 293 246 196 156 128 

Big Stone 31 40 40 33 24 47 35 27 20 24 20 43 

Blue Earth 592 596 595 544 644 679 614 598 643 468 397 340 

Brown 139 151 192 219 149 176 162 149 141 126 118 124 

Carlton 301 307 312 344 401 411 252 230 241 258 245 234 

Carver 308 337 341 409 415 432 395 375 283 284 331 309 

Cass 235 245 193 256 289 398 367 271 245 228 221 208 

Chippewa 80 97 107 102 114 145 97 97 49 76 56 56 

Chisago 367 301 321 391 374 374 370 317 310 236 214 205 

Clay 534 564 615 785 803 743 682 545 576 567 511 518 

Clearwater 85 72 66 67 68 57 57 75 81 91 48 37 

Cook 72 64 62 44 75 101 61 42 47 38 30 31 

Cottonwood 41 61 57 74 55 55 72 75 55 57 69 51 

Crow Wing 468 414 431 529 659 716 648 586 509 421 365 354 

Dakota 2,756 2,775 2,522 2,415 2,652 3,007 2,906 2,520 2,337 2,057 2,035 1,778 

Dodge 168 149 98 103 148 153 163 127 100 83 104 68 

Douglas 254 231 213 222 245 258 265 300 266 227 213 162 

Faribault 100 106 67 59 69 91 101 79 57 59 64 69 

Fillmore 142 145 103 121 111 142 116 102 90 92 88 73 

Freeborn 303 279 224 223 243 203 184 168 190 204 198 157 

Goodhue 344 298 298 285 387 528 402 444 384 335 347 335 

Grant 22 32 46 27 42 53 37 40 40 28 22 21 

Hennepin 6,439 6,669 7,086 7,355 7,541 8,602 7,790 7,498 6,783 6,307 6,769 6,921 

Houston 208 162 136 134 143 154 170 155 121 108 109 116 

Hubbard 121 142 139 108 154 183 165 117 137 111 164 121 

Isanti 172 162 158 237 250 363 256 187 161 138 150 154 

Itasca 293 272 236 314 497 585 459 342 386 280 319 330 

Jackson 63 47 43 46 51 82 97 68 59 65 63 81 

Kanabec 112 103 101 103 96 104 150 124 81 104 110 90 

Kandiyohi 275 286 245 290 288 321 269 296 279 215 226 240 

Kittson 11 11 21 23 24 23 20 24 18 15 22 12 

Koochiching 87 124 96 81 64 97 109 97 89 92 81 70 

Lac Qui Parle 18 32 27 18 36 45 47 35 38 39 26 28 

Lake 40 49 43 63 59 66 71 53 62 72 42 68 

Lake of the Woods 32 26 75 64 78 66 39 47 50 38 35 44 

Le Sueur 141 156 133 168 151 181 181 151 155 107 107 93 

Lincoln 10 13 8 15 29 31 38 25 23 26 22 29 

Lyon  233 174 182 159 215 201 166 193 177 173 139 159 

McLeod 276 256 268 233 266 366 290 281 222 173 182 149 

Mahnomen 121 129 108 118 130 98 113 114 104 96 107 99 

Marshall 34 36 38 41 57 50 58 61 35 37 42 50 

Martin 135 150 142 135 134 120 181 152 118 126 90 87 

Meeker 91 115 86 110 118 147 145 123 95 94 60 47 
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TABLE 1.10 (Continued) 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY COUNTY OF ARREST, 2001 - 2012 

County 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 

Mille Lacs 354 302 251 285 301 348 288 236 233 221 189 172 

Morrison 219 195 182 165 195 207 211 199 171 186 155 144 

Mower 352 344 345 294 321 306 343 414 303 262 275 275 

Murray 35 41 39 25 31 35 37 37 25 19 21 24 

Nicollet 307 351 287 281 320 362 255 239 188 176 170 166 

Nobles 150 182 183 162 190 185 186 175 166 149 115 139 

Norman 27 49 23 20 55 55 43 28 37 22 50 39 

Olmsted 828 802 695 772 878 832 1,015 998 973 865 943 744 

Otter Tail 343 322 342 404 414 428 435 346 299 335 294 263 

Pennington 116 117 89 120 125 119 107 96 63 74 66 87 

Pine 283 234 250 324 335 349 275 261 200 198 170 176 

Pipestone 71 46 42 50 69 60 74 61 45 45 47 36 

Polk 310 298 309 324 272 302 282 265 271 254 231 235 

Pope 95 79 67 65 84 73 62 56 49 50 39 48 

Ramsey 2,856 2,659 2,330 2,394 2,634 3,234 2,912 2,995 2,862 2,946 2,666 2,676 

Red Lake 46 43 41 34 47 79 71 53 43 36 30 34 

Redwood 72 83 79 110 127 148 152 117 139 95 87 107 

Renville 83 101 108 127 133 159 111 101 103 136 122 120 

Rice 451 415 418 405 338 348 433 408 363 327 329 264 

Rock 27 42 59 46 53 63 54 38 29 36 51 33 

Roseau 111 128 115 158 159 141 127 145 147 91 113 117 

St. Louis 1,465 1,447 1,330 1,488 1,601 1,724 1,561 1,590 1,657 1,313 1,262 1,208 

Scott 745 664 683 903 1,119 1,253 1,068 955 816 760 632 615 

Sherburne 372 396 386 466 577 801 689 584 534 469 412 508 

Sibley 136 121 100 133 112 123 129 84 65 53 41 49 

Stearns 893 773 937 986 1,145 1,335 1,300 1,067 1,021 968 951 1,021 

Steele 220 175 191 224 254 290 244 210 227 217 189 244 

Stevens 31 37 52 50 46 40 44 43 42 27  51 43 

Swift 53 44 59 42 42 64 51 57 41 37 66 58 

Todd 144 153 112 134 165 241 206 141 147 107 81 102 

Traverse 35 33 19 24 21 22 16 15 6 15 8 15 

Wabasha 151 163 186 137 152 199 172 178 184 132 131 96 

Wadena 90 71 105 81 92 127 112 99 89 70 66 63 

Waseca 129 123 143 110 117 151 149 124 88 77 84 84 

Washington 1,376 1,393 1,330 1,316 1,451 1,845 1,355 1,312 1,260 1,114 1,010 981 

Watonwan 98 87 76 75 97 103 84 63 60 36 50 31 

Wilkin 80 71 71 61 50 72 78 58 42  52 71 56 

Winona 329 406 360 492 420 380 359 396 339 350 332 314 

Wright 545 580 570 643 695 881 839 675 512 476 592 609 

Yellow Medicine 87 81 82 73 90 135 103 120 78 119 80 85 

Totals: 33,532 33,163 32,266 34,202 37,002 41,951 38,669 35,794 32,756 29,918 29,257 28,418 

 



 

Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2012 Page  10 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety 

TABLE 1.11 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, BY TOTAL NUMBER ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD 

Part I:  1997 – 2004 

Incident 

Number 

1997 % 1998 % 1999 % 2000 % 2001 % 2002 % 2003 % 2004 % 

1 17,258 55.0 18,232 56.2 19,684 56.9 20,304 58.0 19,473 58.1 19,580 59.0 19,189 59.5 20,399 59.6 

2 6,713 21.4 6,764 20.9 7,455 21.6 7,445 21.3 7,117 21.2 7,035 21.2 6,886 21.3 7,430 21.7 

3 3,554 11.3 3,505 10.8 3,668 10.6 3,566 10.2 3,438 10.3 3,249 9.8 3,134 9.7 3,313 9.7 

4 1,799 5.7 1,861 5.7 1,782 5.2 1,727 4.9 1,670 5.0 1,574 4.7 1,494 4.6 1,495 4.4 

5 885 2.8 891 2.7 848 2.5 870 2.5 789 2.4 733 2.2 630 2.0 673 2.0 

6 470 1.5 474 1.5 444 1.3 449 1.3 422 1.3 393 1.2 395 1.2 353 1.0 

7 267 0.9 274 0.8 252 0.7 241 0.7 246 0.7 235 0.7 218 0.7 213 0.6 

8 153 0.5 177 0.5 171 0.5 158 0.5 119 0.4 111 0.3 127 0.4 123 0.4 

9 108 0.3 89 0.3 101 0.3 95 0.3 81 0.2 89 0.3 68 0.2 77 0.2 

10 63 0.2 57 0.2 57 0.2 60 0.2 70 0.2 46 0.1 33 0.1 54 0.2 

11 43 0.1 31 0.1 42 0.1 39 0.1 38 0.1 34 0.1 30 0.1 20 0.1 

12 18 0.1 22 0.1 27 0.1 31 0.1 18 0.1 25 0.1 26 0.1 19 0.1 

13 22 0.1 5 * 13 * 15 * 19 0.1 23 0.1 9 * 10 * 

14 8 * 19 0.1 10 * 6 * 12 * 12 * 9 * 7 * 

15 6 * 6 * 11 * 7 * 6 * 11 * 8 * 2 * 

16 4 * 6 * 4 * 8 * 5 * 3 * 3 * 4 * 

17 2 * 3 * 4 * 3 * 3 * 6 * 3 * 3 * 

18 3 * 2 * 1 * 3 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 1 * 

19 1 * 1 * 1 * 4 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 * 

20 2 * 1 * 0 0 1 * 3 * 0 0 1 * 1 * 

21 1 * 1 * 0 0 2 * 0 0 1 * 1 * 2 * 

22 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 * 0 0 0 0 

23 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 

24 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 1 * 0 0 

25 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Totals: 31,380 100 32,422 100 34,575 100 35,034 100 33,532 100 33,163 100 32,266 100 34,202 100 

Table continues on next page 
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TABLE 1.11 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, BY TOTAL NUMBER ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD 

Part II:  2005 – 2012 

Incident 

Number 

2005 % 2006 % 2007 % 2008 % 2009 % 2010 % 2011 % 2012 % 

1 22,514 60.9 25,990 62.0 23,653 61.2 21,389 59.8 19,294 58.9 17,482 58.4 17,154 58.6 16,944 59.6 

2 7,965 21.5 8,974 21.4 8,489 22.0 8,066 22.5 7,462 22.8 6,818 22.8 6,637 22.7 6,375 22.4 

3 3,462 9.4 3,865 9.2 3,570 9.2 3,503 9.8 3,373 10.3 3,155 10.6 3,137 10.7 2,847 10.0 

4 1,526 4.1 1,620 3.9 1,558 4.0 1,510 4.2 1,420 4.3 1,366 4.6 1,273 4.4 1,248 4.4 

5 690 1.9 711 1.7 651 1.7 625 1.8 557 1.7 549 1.8 462 1.6 516 1.8 

6 353 1.0 344 0.8 329 0.8 293 0.8 264 0.8 224 0.8 253 0.9 198 0.7 

7 201 0.5 185 0.4 159 0.4 146 0.4 146 0.4 131 0.4 127 0.4 121 0.4 

8 117 0.3 98 0.2 113 0.3 93 0.3 97 0.3 71 0.2 76 0.3 59 0.2 

9 72 0.2 65 0.2 58 0.2 66 0.2 47 0.1 46 0.2 54 0.2 38 0.1 

10 37 0.1 38 0.1 34 0.1 41 0.1 35 0.1 28 0.1 30 0.1 27 0.1 

11 22 0.6 22 * 18 * 25 0.1 24 0.1 16 0.1 19 0.1 11 * 

12 11 * 12 * 14 * 11 * 18 0.1 16 0.1 8 * 11 * 

13 15 * 9 * 7 * 12 * 4 * 7 * 7 * 10 * 

14 6 * 8 * 6 * 5 * 5 * 3 * 12 * 2 * 

15 5 * 1 * 1 * 3 * 3 * 3 * 2 * 4 * 

16 2 * 2 * 3 * 2 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 2 * 

17 0 0 4 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 0 0 0 0 2 * 

18 1 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 2 * 1 * 0 0 1 * 

19 1 * 1 * 1 * 2 * 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 

20 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 1 * 2 * 0 0 

21 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

22 1 * 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 

23 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 * 0 0 

24 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 

25 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Totals: 37,002 100 41,951 100 38,669 100 35,794 100 32,756 100 29,918 100 29,257 100 28,418 100 

 

Table 1.11 counts incidents that occurred in 

Minnesota, based on the total number of incidents the 

person has on his or her driving record.  That is, 

incidents counted in row 1 were incurred by first-time 

violators who had zero prior impaired driving incidents 

on their driving record.  For example, Mr. Smith incurs 

his first-ever incident anywhere, and that incident 

occurs in Minneapolis in January, 2001.  Mr. Smith 

incurs a second incident in Iowa in July, 2002, and a 

third incident, again in Minneapolis, in August, 2004.  

In this case, Mr. Smith’s first incident contributes a 

count of one to row 1 of the 2001 column.  The second 

incident is not counted in the above table because it did 

not occur in Minnesota.  The third incident contributes 

a count of one to the third row of the 2004 column 

because it did occur in Minnesota and because it is the 

third on Mr. Smith’s driving record.
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II. IMPAIRED DRIVING CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATES 

 
This section provides statistics on the number of 

impaired driving incidents by county and judicial 

district, and the number and percentage of that total 

for which there is a criminal conviction on some type 

of impaired driving charge.  On an infrequent basis, 

however, an offense will lead to an impaired driving 

conviction, but not be counted as such.  This could be 

due either: 

 (1) To the circumstance that the conviction 

occurred after the date on which the data used to 

compile these statistics were extracted from the state 

driver license files, or  

 (2) To reporting errors. 

Timing of conviction 

Conviction rates for 2012 were calculated using data 

available on June 01, 2013 – five full months after 

the end of the 2012 calendar year.  However, the 

criminal charge sometimes takes longer than that to 

resolve.  This is especially true for more serious 

charges, such as the higher-level impaired driving 

offenses.  A driver is more likely to challenge such 

charges in the courts. 

Reporting errors 

The second reason a conviction might not be counted 

is that errors occur.  A court clerk may fail to 

accurately record a plea, or a verdict, or a judge’s 

sentence.  The Court Administrator’s office may not 

accurately transmit notice of the conviction to the 

Department of Public Safety.  The Department of 

Public Safety may not accurately record the 

conviction on the person’s driving record.  The 

procedures that underlie the charging, prosecuting, 

adjudicating, and recording of impaired driving 

offenses are complex enough that there are 

opportunities for mistakes.  The objective in 

reporting the statistics here is to assist in identifying 

possible failures so they can be corrected.   

Examples of why a conviction may not be counted  

Hypothetically, if a county had 100 impaired driving 

incidents committed by first-time violators in 2012 

and driver license records show that only 85 resulted 

in an impaired driving conviction, then the conviction 

rate is 85 out of 100, or 85.0%.  There was no 

impaired driving conviction posted on the driver’s 

record for 15 of the incidents.  Suppose that John 

Smith committed one of those 15 incidents.  This 

means that Smith was stopped; he took and failed, or 

refused to take, tests for alcohol or controlled 

substances, thus incurring an implied consent 

violation and triggering the impaired driving incident 

to be posted on his record.  Here are some reasons 

why a criminal conviction might not be reported for 

Mr. Smith: 

 (1) There was a plea bargain:  For example, the 

prosecutor agreed to allow Smith to plead guilty to 

careless driving. 

 (2) Smith was convicted on some type of impaired 

driving charge, but not until after the June 01, 2013 

date on which the statistics compiled here are based. 

 (3) Smith was convicted, but the judge stayed 

adjudication of the conviction on condition that 

Smith conforms to various requirements.  Since 

adjudication was stayed, the conviction is held in 

abeyance and not transmitted to the Department of 

Public Safety. 

 (4) In addition to impaired driving, Smith had a 

felony charge for transporting methamphetamines.  

He pled guilty to the felony offense and was 

sentenced to five years in prison and a fine of $5,000.  

The county attorney waived the charge on the 

impaired driving offense. 

 (5)  The judge stayed imposition of the sentence on 

condition that Smith conforms to various 

requirements.  The court clerk accidentally recorded 

the stay of imposition as a stay of adjudication, 

causing the Court Administrator’s office to not 

forward the conviction notice to the Department of 

Public Safety. 

 (6)  Smith was convicted of some impaired driving 

offense, but the Court Administrator’s office did not 

report the conviction to the Department of Public 

Safety, or reported it in an incorrect manner that 

caused the report to be rejected.
‡
 

 (7) Smith was convicted and the Department of 

Public Safety was properly notified of the conviction 

but mistakenly entered the impaired driving 

conviction as a conviction for some other type of 

violation (e.g., speeding). 

                                                           
‡
 The Department of Public Safety returns incomplete 

reports to the Court Administrator’s Office with a 

request for a corrected report. 
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How the Conviction Rate is Calculated 

The conviction rate is expressed merely as a percent:  

out of 100 incidents, what number resulted in a 

conviction for some type of impaired driving offense.  

Two issues require comment:  (1) how prior 

violations are counted, and (2) the circumstance that 

the conviction rate is not a measure of how much 

plea-bargaining or sentence bargaining may be 

occurring. 

1.  Counting prior violations 

Table 2.01 has separate columns for first- through 

fourth-or-subsequent-time violators.  The violators 

who committed the incidents were put into these 

categories based on a lifetime look back period,
§
 not a 

ten-year look back period.  The current statute MS 

169A defines impaired driving offense levels in terms 

of certain aggravating factors.  Prior incidents in the 

last ten years are one type of aggravating factor.
**

  

(Each prior incident augments the count of 

aggravating factors by one.)  If a ten-year look back 

period had been used, there would have been slightly 

more incidents counted into the “first-time violators” 

column and slightly fewer counted into the second- 

through fourth-or-subsequent-time columns. 

                                                           

2.  Not measuring plea bargaining 

People are concerned with how much plea-bargaining 

takes place in impaired driving cases.  The conviction 

rates are not good measures of plea-bargaining, 

however.  Bargaining take two forms.  Plea 

bargaining occurs when a prosecutor initially charges  

for one offense (e.g., first-degree impaired driving) 

and then accepts a plea of guilty to a lesser offense 

(e.g., second-, third-, or fourth-degree impaired 

driving, or reckless driving, or speeding, etc.).  

Second, there is sentence bargaining:  The prosecutor 

agrees to accept a sentence less than the maximum 

for the offense on which the violator is convicted.  

For example, Smith pleads guilty to gross 

misdemeanor impaired driving but gets a 

misdemeanor impaired driving sentence. 

Judicial Districts in Minnesota 

 

§
 The term “lifetime” look back period may be 

misleading.  Currently, an impaired driving incident 

remains on the driver license forever, and there has 

always been a rule (for several decades, at any rate) 

that a second impaired driving incident causes all 

incidents to be kept on record forever.  However, at 

different points in the past, there were different rules 

followed—that a single incident not followed by a 

second was eligible to be purged from the driver 

record after seven, or ten, or fifteen, years had 

passed.  However, purging of incidents from records 

was not performed systematically; so even when 

those rules were in effect, eligibility to be purged did 

not mean that an incident was purged.  For practical 

purposes, as an example, if a person is now in their 

forties and had a single impaired driving incident 

when they were in their teens or twenties, then that 

incident may or may not have been purged from their 

driving record. 
**

 The other two aggravating factors are (1) presence 

of children in the vehicle, and (2) having an alcohol 

concentration of .16 or higher (as of July 1, 2011). 
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The conviction rates reported here do not measure the 

extent of plea-bargaining or sentence bargaining.  

They only quantify, for all the incidents that 

occurred, the percentage that resulted in some kind of 

impaired driving conviction.  It cannot be known, 

from the driver license data, (1) if the conviction was 

for a lesser offense than the one initially charged, or 

(2) what the sentence was. 

Conviction rates vary by County and District 

The state is divided into ten judicial districts.  

Ramsey County is District 2, and Hennepin County is 

District 4.  The other eight districts encompass from 

four to 17 counties that are geographically close 

together.  Conviction rates usually vary by district 

and by county.  Across the Districts in 2012, the 

range of conviction rates was from 69.1% (District 4: 

Hennepin County) to 84.9% (for District 9, 

comprised of 17 counties in Northwest Minnesota).  

Some counties had conviction rates at 90% or higher: 

Clearwater (95%), Hubbard (94%), Marshall (94%), 

Watonwan (94%), Wilkin (93%), Polk (92%), 

Wabasha (91%), and Otter Tail (90%). 

Some counties had conviction rates that were lower 

than 70%: Washington (62%), Steele (67%), Dakota 

(68%), and Hennepin (69%). 

Out of 28,418 impaired driving incidents in 2012, the 

overall conviction rate for Minnesota was 76%.  As 

mentioned previously, the conviction rate for each 

year will increase to approximately 85% as judicial 

outcomes are settled.  Another reason for the delay in 

judicial outcomes is likely because of current 

litigation.  Defendants arrested for impaired driving 

have brought suit regarding the computer source code 

which measures alcohol content via breath tests.  As 

many as 5,000 outcomes from 2009 and onward may 

be pending. 
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TABLE 2.01 

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 2012 

BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL  

 ALL 

VIOLATORS 

1
ST

-TIME 

VIOLATORS 

2
ND

-TIME 

VIOLATORS 

3
RD

-TIME 

VIOLATORS 

4
TH

+ TIME 

VIOLATORS 

District 

and County 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

Judicial Dist 1                

CARVER 309 238 77.0 183 140 76.5 70 54 77.1 35 25 71.4 21 19 90.5 

DAKOTA 1,778 1,218 68.5 1,031 674 65.4 439 319 72.7 169 126 74.6 139 99 71.2 

GOODHUE 335 275 82.1 189 158 83.6 80 68 85.0 35 22 62.9 31 27 87.1 

LE SUEUR 93 72 77.4 43 34 79.1 25 20 80.0 14 10 71.4 11 8 72.7 

MCLEOD 149 115 77.2 82 63 76.8 38 28 73.7 17 16 94.1 12 8 66.7 

SCOTT 615 523 85.0 350 294 84.0 137 119 86.9 79 67 84.8 49 43 87.8 

SIBLEY 49 42 85.7 27 22 81.5 12 10 83.3 4 4 100.0 6 6 100.0 

 SUBTOTAL: 3,328 2,483 74.6 1,905 1,385 72.7 801 618 77.2 353 270 76.5 269 210 78.1 

Judicial Dist 2                

RAMSEY 2,676 1,915 71.6 1,643 1,113 67.7 602 469 77.9 253 194 76.7 178 139 78.1 

Judicial Dist 3                

DODGE 68 58 85.3 37 35 94.6 11 6 54.5 12 10 83.3 8 7 87.5 

FILLMORE 73 51 69.9 45 31 68.9 12 9 75.0 9 6 66.7 7 5 71.4 

FREEBORN 157 128 81.5 95 81 85.3 39 27 69.2 12 12 100.0 11 8 72.7 

HOUSTON 116 94 81.0 79 64 81.0 23 18 78.3 11 9 81.8 3 3 100.0 

MOWER 275 211 76.7 175 131 74.9 50 38 76.0 28 22 78.6 22 20 90.9 

OLMSTED 744 658 88.4 451 401 88.9 179 157 87.7 73 65 89.0 41 35 85.4 

RICE 264 206 78.0 133 98 73.7 67 56 83.6 36 32 88.9 28 20 71.4 

STEELE 244 163 66.8 147 102 69.4 55 36 65.5 23 14 60.9 19 11 57.9 

WABASHA 96 87 90.6 55 51 92.7 19 17 89.5 9 8 88.9 13 11 84.6 

WASECA 84 69 82.1 44 36 81.8 23 18 78.3 9 8 88.9 8 7 87.5 

WINONA 314 252 80.3 204 157 77.0 60 52 86.7 29 25 86.2 21 18 85.7 

 SUBTOTAL: 2,435 1,977 81.2 1,465 1,187 81.0 538 434 80.7 251 211 84.1 181 145 80.1 

Judicial Dist 4                

HENNEPIN 6,921 4,779 69.1 4,409 2,872 65.1 1,495 1,145 76.6 618 471 76.2 399 291 72.9 

Judicial Dist 5                

BLUE EARTH 340 287 84.4 204 172 84.3 76 64 84.2 32 27 84.4 28 24 85.7 

BROWN 124 104 83.9 77 65 84.4 32 25 78.1 11 11 100.0 4 3 75.0 

COTTONWOOD 51 44 86.3 27 26 96.3 11 9 81.8 7 5 71.4 6 4 66.7 

FARIBAULT 69 57 82.6 48 40 83.3 13 11 84.6 3 3 100.0 5 3 60.0 

JACKSON 81 57 70.4 57 36 63.2 13 12 92.3 6 5 83.3 5 4 80.0 

LINCOLN 29 21 72.4 11 8 72.7 11 6 54.5 3 3 100.0 4 4 100.0 

LYON 159 140 88.1 104 90 86.5 31 29 93.5 15 13 86.7 9 8 88.9 

MARTIN 87 70 80.5 55 46 83.6 24 19 79.2 6 3 50.0 2 2 100.0 

MURRAY 24 20 83.3 14 12 85.7 5 4 80.0 1 1 100.0 4 3 75.0 

NICOLLET 166 125 75.3 104 80 76.9 24 18 75.0 21 16 76.2 17 11 64.7 

NOBLES 139 99 71.2 96 72 75.0 25 14 56.0 9 7 77.8 9 6 66.7 

PIPESTONE 36 32 88.9 18 16 88.9 12 11 91.7 5 4 80.0 1 1 100.0 

REDWOOD 107 94 87.9 51 45 88.2 23 19 82.6 17 16 94.1 16 14 87.5 

ROCK 33 24 72.7 26 20 76.9 4 3 75.0 1 0 0.0 2 1 50.0 

WATONWAN 31 29 93.5 20 19 95.0 7 7 100.0 3 2 66.7 1 1 100.0 

 SUBTOTAL: 1,476 1,203 81.5 912 747 81.9 311 251 80.7 140 116 82.9 113 89 78.8 
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TABLE 2.01 (Continued) 

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 2012 

BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL  

 ALL 

VIOLATORS 

1
ST

-TIME 

VIOLATORS 

2
ND

-TIME 

VIOLATORS 

3
RD

-TIME 

VIOLATORS 

4
TH

+ TIME 

VIOLATORS 

District 

and County 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

Judicial Dist 6                

CARLTON 234 204 87.2 119 104 87.4 52 46 88.5 31 28 90.3 32 26 81.3 

COOK 31 22 71.0 20 14 70.0 8 6 75.0 1 1 100.0 2 1 50.0 

LAKE 68 50 73.5 39 30 76.9 17 12 70.6 8 6 75.0 4 2 50.0 

ST. LOUIS 1,208 944 78.1 688 533 77.5 280 224 80.0 134 103 76.9 106 84 79.2 

 SUBTOTAL: 1,541 1,220 79.2 866 681 78.6 357 288 80.7 174 138 79.3 144 113 78.5 

Judicial Dist 7                

BECKER 246 220 89.4 153 140 91.5 43 34 79.1 24 21 87.5 26 25 96.2 

BENTON 128 105 82.0 71 61 85.9 27 23 85.2 14 10 71.4 16 11 68.8 

CLAY 518 453 87.5 368 323 87.8 84 70 83.3 41 39 95.1 25 21 84.0 

DOUGLAS 162 136 84.0 88 77 87.5 33 29 87.9 19 13 68.4 22 17 77.3 

MILLE LACS 172 131 76.2 78 63 80.8 41 28 68.3 29 20 69.0 24 20 83.3 

MORRISON 144 112 77.8 74 62 83.8 35 25 71.4 20 14 70.0 15 11 73.3 

OTTER TAIL 263 237 90.1 156 138 88.5 59 58 98.3 25 20 80.0 23 21 91.3 

STEARNS 1,021 830 81.3 642 529 82.4 216 173 80.1 102 80 78.4 61 48 78.7 

TODD 102 82 80.4 59 51 86.4 22 18 81.8 9 7 77.8 12 6 50.0 

WADENA 63 52 82.5 29 26 89.7 13 10 76.9 11 8 72.7 10 8 80.0 

 SUBTOTAL: 2,819 2,358 83.6 1,718 1,470 85.6 573 468 81.7 294 232 78.9 234 188 80.3 

Judicial Dist 8                

BIG STONE 43 36 83.7 17 15 88.2 15 12 80.0 3 3 100.0 8 6 75.0 

CHIPPEWA 56 45 80.4 29 25 86.2 16 12 75.0 8 7 87.5 3 1 33.3 

GRANT 21 15 71.4 12 10 83.3 4 3 75.0 2 1 50.0 3 1 33.3 

KANDIYOHI 240 207 86.3 146 125 85.6 56 49 87.5 23 20 87.0 15 13 86.7 

LAC QUI  PARLE 28 24 85.7 11 11 100.0 10 7 70.0 3 2 66.7 4 4 100.0 

MEEKER 47 39 83.0 19 17 89.5 10 5 50.0 13 13 100.0 5 4 80.0 

POPE 48 43 89.6 28 23 82.1 13 13 100.0 4 4 100.0 3 3 100.0 

RENVILLE 120 93 77.5 63 50 79.4 29 24 82.8 14 10 71.4 14 9 64.3 

STEVENS 43 38 88.4 28 25 89.3  9 7 77.8 4 4 100.0 2 2 100.0 

SWIFT 58 49 84.5 26 21 80.8 11 8 72.7 12 11 91.7 9 9 100.0 

TRAVERSE 15 12 80.0 7 5 71.4 4 3 75.0 3 3 100.0 1 1 100.0 

WILKIN 56 52 92.9 36 34 94.4 8 8 100.0 7 7 100.0 5 3 60.0 

YELLOW MED 85 66 77.6 51 43 84.3 17 11 64.7 9 8 88.9 8 4 50.0 

 SUBTOTAL: 860 719 83.6 473 404 85.4 202 162 80.2 105 93 88.6 80 60 75.0 
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TABLE 2.01 (Continued) 

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 2012 

BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL  

 ALL 

VIOLATORS 

1
ST

-TIME 

VIOLATORS 

2
ND

-TIME 

VIOLATORS 

3
RD

-TIME 

VIOLATORS 

4
TH

+ TIME 

VIOLATORS 

District 

and County 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

All 

Inci- 

dents 
N 

Con- 

vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 

vict. 

Rate 
% 

Judicial Dist 9                

AITKIN 129 99 76.7 52 40 76.9 39 29 74.4 14 11 78.6 24 19 79.2 

BELTRAMI 293 257 87.7 172 154 89.5 57 52 91.2 31 24 77.4 33 27 81.8 

CASS 208 185 88.9 97 86 88.7 53 49 92.5 21 19 90.5 37 31 83.8 

CLEARWATER 37 35 94.6 14 14 100.0 11 9 81.8 8 8 100.0 4 4 100.0 

CROW WING 354 273 77.1 185 147 79.5 85 68 80.0 45 31 68.9 39 27  69.2 

HUBBARD 121 114 94.2 74 68 91.9 23 23 100.0 8 8 100.0 16 15 93.8 

ITASCA 330 285 86.4 199 170 85.4 65 55 84.6 36 33 91.7 30 27 90.0 

KITTSON 12 10 83.3 5 5 100.0 4 3 75.0 0 0 0.0  3 2 66.7 

KOOCHICHING 70 61 87.1 35 32 91.4 22 19 86.4 3 3 100.0 10 7 70.0 

LAKE  OF WDS 44 31 70.5 28 16 57.1 10 9 90.0 4 4 100.0 2 2 100.0 

MAHNOMEN 99 70 70.7 54 36 66.7 20 15 75.0 5 5 100.0 20 14 70.0 

MARSHALL 50 47 94.0 27 26 96.3 10 9 90.0 6 5 83.3 7 7 100.0 

NORMAN 39 28 71.8 25 16 64.0 9 9 100.0 3 2 66.7 2 1 50.0 

PENNINGTON 87 77 88.5 52 46 88.5 14 12 85.7 6 5 83.3 15 14 93.3 

POLK 235 217 92.3 137 127 92.7 46 40 87.0 25 24 96.0 27 26 96.3 

RED LAKE 34 30 88.2 20 16 80.0 6 6 100.0 3 3 100.0 5 5 100.0 

ROSEAU 117 99 84.6 64 52 81.3 29 25 86.2 15 15 100.0 9 7 77.8 

 SUBTOTAL: 2,259 1,918 84.9 1,240 1,051 84.8 503 432 85.9 233 200 85.8 283 235 83.0 

Judicial Dist 10                
ANOKA 1,380 1,052 76.2 774 576 74.4 334 267 79.9 154 125 81.2 118 84 71.2 
CHISAGO 205 152 74.1 107 82 76.6 54 41 75.9 30 21 70.0 14 8 57.1 

ISANTI 154 112 72.7 81 67 82.7 38 21 55.3 19 14 73.7 16 10 62.5 

KANABEC 90 72 80.0 48 39 81.3 20 13 65.0 11 10 90.9 11 10 90.9 

PINE 176 129 73.3 95 76 80.0 32 17 53.1 16 10 62.5 33 26 78.8 

SHERBURNE 508 420 82.7 290 237 81.7 125 106 84.8 58 49 84.5 35 28 80.0 

WASHINGTON 981 609 62.1 579 335 57.9 234 159 67.9 86 61 70.9 82 54 65.9 

WRIGHT 609 430 70.6 339 241 71.1 156 111 71.2 52 34 65.4 62 44 71.0 

 SUBTOTAL: 4,103  2,976 72.5 2,313 1,653 71.5 993 735 74.0 426 324 76.1 371 264 71.2 

Totals for 

Minnesota: 28,418 21,548 75.8 16,944 12,563 74.1 6,375 5,002 78.5 2,847 2,249 79.0 2,252 1,734 77.0 

NOTE: 
(1)  There is no restriction on the “look back” period in 

counting prior violations.  For example, a second-time violator 

could have incurred his or her first violation 12 years, or 1 

week, prior to the second violation.   

(2)  Caution regarding interpreting table:  The data compiled 

here reflect convictions received as of June 01, 2013. 

However, new information is constantly being added to driver 

license records.  In addition, as offense level increases, violators 

face stiffer penalties and have more incentive to fight 

conviction through legal proceedings.  The conviction rates will 

therefore increase as time passes; each year the overall 

conviction rate for all offenses will rise to approximately 85%. 
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III. PERSONS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD 

 
This section reports statistics on Minnesota’s total 

population, the population of licensed drivers, and the 

population of persons who have impaired driving 

incidents on their driving record. 

Currently, an impaired driving incident is kept on 

record permanently 

Current practice is that an impaired driving incident 

stays on a person’s driver license record permanently.  

However, there were different rules in the past.  At 

points over the last 30 years, a single incident might 

have been eligible to be purged from a driving record 

after seven, ten, or fifteen years.  However, purging 

of incidents from records was not performed 

systematically; so, even when the different rules were 

in effect, eligibility to be purged did not mean that an 

incident was purged.  Apart from rules for a single 

incident, there has long been (for several decades) in 

effect a rule that if a person incurred a second 

impaired driving incident, then all impaired driving 

incidents were kept on record permanently.  The 

practical effect of having the different rules over time 

is that the number of persons currently shown to have 

two or more incidents on record will be close to the 

true number of people who ever accumulated two or 

more incidents, while the number shown to have only 

one incident will understate the true number of 

people who ever incurred a single incident.  For 

example, there are probably many middle-aged or 

older persons who incurred a single incident when 

they were young, but never incurred a second one, 

and, at some point (probably in the early 1990s, or 

before); the single incident was purged from their 

driving record. 

10.9% of Minnesota residents have a DWI 

In all, 584,529 Minnesota residents have one or more 

impaired driving incidents on their driving record.  

That is 10.9% of all people living in Minnesota 

(using the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2012 population 

estimate for Minnesota).   

1 in 7 licensed drivers has an incident on record 
Now consider that many residents in Minnesota are 

too young to drive.  Out of the 2012 total of licensed 

drivers in Minnesota, 1 in 7 has one or more incidents 

on record; 1 in 16 has two or more, and 1 in 35 have 

three or more. 

In addition to Minnesota residents, there are 106,101 

non-residents on record who have incurred one or 

more incidents in Minnesota. 

Counties vary 

As noted, 10.9% of the state’s population has an 

incident on their driving record.  There is variation by 

county.  The five counties with the highest 

percentages are:  Mahnomen (22.0%), Mille Lacs 

(17.0%), Cass (15.5%), Clearwater (15.4%), and 

Aitkin (14.8%) – these counties are north and west of 

the Twin Cities.   

The five counties with the lowest percentages are 

Rock (7.5%), Stevens (7.6%), Lincoln (8.7%), Carver 

(8.8%), and Washington (9.1%) – mostly in the lower 

half of Minnesota.  Reasons for the variation might 

include: prevalence of chemical dependency 

problems in the population, strictness of enforcement 

of DWI laws, whether the county is in a vacation or 

recreational area of the state. 

Each year, most DWI offenders are first-timers 

There is a perception that so much of the drinking 

and driving problem is concentrated in a rather small 

subset of the population whose members are 

chemically dependent and who drink and drive over 

and over again.  There is evidence to support such a 

perception.  Forty-two percent of the 584,529 persons 

in the state with incidents on record have two or more 

incidents.  Some people have an amazing number of 

incidents:  1,292 have ten or more.  One person now 

has 25 incidents on record.  Still, it is possible the 

perception distracts attention from the reality that 

most violators do not have prior incidents on record.  

Fifty-eight percent have only one incident.  (As noted 

earlier, this understates the true number since a single 

incident may have been purged from a person’s 

driving record). 
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TABLE 3.01 

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA BY AGE-GROUP AND GENDER 

Age 2000 

Census 

Male 

2000 

Census 

Female 

2000 

Census 

Total 

2010 

Census 

Male 

2010 

Census 

Female 

2010 

Census 

Total 

2012 

(Estimate) 

Male 

2012 

(Estimate) 

Female 

2012 

(Estimate) 

Total 

00-04 168,829 160,765 329,594 181,342 174,162 355,504 177,973 170,365 348,338 

05-09 182,912 172,982 355,894 181,614 173,922 355,536 184,189 176,584 360,773 

10-14 192,118 182,877 374,995 180,356 171,986 352,342 180,489 172,358 352,847 

15-19 191,534 182,828 374,362 188,594 179,235 367,829 185,116 177,697 362,813 

20-24 164,038 158,445 322,483 180,725 174,926 355,651 183,069 174,684 357,753 

25-29 162,132 157,694 319,826 187,562 185,124 372,686 186,454 182,743 369,197 

30-34 178,502 174,810 353,312 174,549 168,351 342,900 186,611 181,287 367,898 

35-39 207,962 204,528 412,490 165,815 162,375 328,190 161,818 157,309 319,127 

40-44 207,355 204,337 411,692 177,234 175,670 352,904 175,514 172,578 348,092 

45-49 183,801 180,446 364,247 203,588 202,615 406,203 188,894 188,097 376,991 

50-54 150,750 150,699 301,449 200,663 201,032 401,695 204,236 205,888 410,124 

55-59 112,203 114,654 226,857 174,321 175,268 349,589 184,238 184,703 368,941 

60-64 86,648 91,364 178,012 137,760 142,015 279,775 151,242 155,236 306,478 

65-69 72,707 80,462 153,169 97,533 105,037 202,570 109,944 117,381 227,325 

70-74 64,646 78,010 142,656 70,840 81,017 151,857  77,181  87,219 164,400 

75-79 51,709 70,968 122,677 54,464 67,650 122,114  56,007  68,870 124,877 

80-84 33,477 56,686 90,163 40,865 59,051 99,916  41,826  58,720 100,546 

85+ 24,308 61,293 85,601 34,307 72,357 106,664  37,368  75,251 112,619 

Totals: 2,435,631 2,483,848 4,919,479 2,632,132 2,671,793 5,303,925 2,672,169 2,706,970 5,379,139 

Source:  United States Census Bureau.  
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TABLE 3.02 

MINNESOTA LICENSED DRIVERS
††

 UNDER 21, BY AGE, 1993 – 2012 

Year 15 16 17 18 19 20 Total Under 21 

        

1993 18,047 47,600 51,688 53,894 55,417 53,645 280,291 

1994 16,031 48,754 54,960 55,472 55,793 56,765 287,775 

1995 20,660 52,205 57,426 58,307 57,139 56,902 302,639 

1996 24,783 54,657 60,864 61,788 61,058 58,964 322,114 

1997 27,514 55,564 61,052 63,711 63,460 61,875 333,176 

1998 24,610 50,028 60,389 64,337 66,023 64,484 329,871 

1999 24,944 52,576 59,337 60,177 67,779 67,816 332,629 

2000 28,479 55,792 60,724 65,830 68,697 69,306 348,828 

2001 27,878 56,361 62,068 64,963 69,232 70,351 350,853 

2002 28,880 55,286 63,011 66,876 68,609 70,985 353,647 

2003 29,800 55,614 61,329 67,491 69,792 69,385 353,411 

2004 31,638 55,812 61,286 66,397 71,026 71,513 357,672 

2005 31,161 55,398 61,431 65,440 68,842 71,780 354,052 

2006 26,360 53,520 60,695 64,617 67,917 68,826 341,935 

2007 26,029 51,499 59,766 64,910 67,664 69,091 338,959 

2008 26,141 49,801 57,875 64,337 68,050 68,920 335,124 

2009 28,126 49,884 56,554 62,707 67,701 69,074 334,046 

2010 28,020 49,634 55,885 61,526 66,272 69,495 330,832 

2011 25,422 48,260 54,781 59,722 63,997 67,176 319,358 

2012 25,946 47,801 54,489 59,220 63,212 65,539 316,207 

TABLE 3.03 

MINNESOTA LICENSED DRIVERS,
*
 BY AGE-GROUP, 1993 – 2012 

Year 15-19 20-24 25-29 30-34 35-39 40-44 45-49 50-54 55-59 60-64 65-69 70-74 75 + Total 

1993 226,646 297,918 336,007 401,155 386,805 342,988 276,715 216,632 173,423 156,044 149,118 128,828 191,874 3,284,153 

1994 231,010 290,752 330,676 393,253 396,206 355,845 296,176 225,468 178,920 156,192 148,961 132,442 204,674 3,340,575 

1995 245,737 283,027 331,259 381,403 402,366 364,629 313,384 230,114 183,763 156,652 149,004 132,842 214,171 3,388,351 

1996 263,150 284,532 330,844 368,340 407,794 373,405 323,114 248,979 191,853 158,537 148,228 134,127 223,602 3,456,505 

1997 271,301 291,004 325,020 356,278 407,334 381,214 330,259 260,406 201,963 160,789 146,590 133,750 221,862 3,487,770 

1998 265,387 302,019 318,360 347,382 405,914 389,126 340,673 273,059 210,483 165,519 144,903 134,081 229,135 3,526,041 

1999 264,812 316,452 316,642 346,159 401,755 398,519 352,585 290,428 218,555 170,263 145,284 134,225 239,938 3,595,617 

2000 279,522 327,545 310,399 347,932 391,515 405,043 362,105 306,566 222,828 174,735 145,334 133,774 242,146 3,647,444 

2001 280,502 339,486 309,079 344,952 377,905 408,621 368,930 316,321 238,022 180,723 146,107 133,205 241,646 3,685,499 

2002 282,662 352,022 320,420 343,933 366,661 411,413 379,702 325,664 252,631 192,074 149,272 132,368 248,671 3,757,493 

2003 284,026 352,818 326,355 333,363 354,509 408,428 386,086 335,331 264,204 200,322 154,103 131,255 257,379 3,788,179 

2004 286,159 361,589 339,712 330,480 350,988 403,774 395,178 345,855 280,193 208,133 158,035 131,277 260,483 3,851,856 

2005 282,272 361,839 348,538 319,537 349,515 390,439 400,876 355,524 296,390 212,324 163,125 131,383 260,331 3,872,093 

2006 273,109 353,949 353,241 311,685 342,520 372,638 401,715 361,197 306,185 226,262 168,693 132,725 267,241 3,871,160 

2007 269,868 351,877 360,944 316,410 336,604 358,091 401,496 369,195 314,238 239,650 178,918 136,026 274,657 3,907,974 

2008 266,204 350,535 365,501 324,694 327,911 347,387 399,215 376,096 324,589 251,756 187,347 140,879 276,287 3,938,401 

2009 264,972 347,193 364,228 330,073 319,456 339,999 391,392 382,435 332,705 265,450 193,513 143,738 273,186 3,948,340 

2010 261,337 348,937 366,813 342,756 311,858 340,906 380,685 389,685 343,840 282,820 198,777 149,002 277,819 3,995,235 

2011 252,182 343,942 358,738 351,489 306,985 336,514 365,193 392,410 350,359 293,833 213,587 155,347 287,174 4,007,753 

2012 250,668 341,891 356,653 359,718 312,377 330,720 351,004 392,344 358,458 301,734 226,107 164,699 292,345 4,038,718 

                                                           
††

 Source:  Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Service Division.  Counts include learner's permits. 
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TABLE 3.04 

MINNESOTA RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, 

BY AGE AT DATE OF LAST INCIDENT AND BY AGE AT END OF 2012 

 Age at Date of Last Incident Age at End of Year 2012 

Age  Female Male Not Stated Total Female Male Not Stated Total 

00-14 13 28 20 61 0 0 4 4 

15-19 7,621 21,672 1,055 30,348 336 830 94 1,260 

20-24 29,228 93,782 4,419 127,429 5,491 13,489 935 19,915 

25-29 23,046 82,407 3,788 109,241 12,807 33,773 2,638 49,218 

30-34 18,237 61,886 2,506 82,629 14,883 44,965 3,390 63,238 

35-39 16,162 50,416 1,699 68,277 12,389 42,008 2,558 56,955 

40-44 14,018 42,099 1,122 57,239 15,684 48,835 2,016 66,535 

45-49 10,097 32,747 661 43,505 19,467 57,656 1,467 78,590 

50-54 5,659 22,536 351 28,546 19,520 61,595 1,238 82,353 

55-59 2,846 14,345 175 17,366 12,248 46,576 725 59,549 

60-64 1,525  8,559 99 10,183 7,040 31,637 424 39,101 

65-69 709  4,685 43 5,437 4,077 19,742 202 24,021 

70-74 317 2,369 21 2,707 2,416 12,385 129 14,930 

75-79 124 980 6 1,110 1,347 8,518 58 9,923 

80-84 40 331 4 375 888 6,392 40 7,320 

85 +  7 63 5 75 1,056 10,504 57 11,617 

Unknown 0 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 

Totals: 129,649 438,905 15,975 584,529 129,649 438,905 15,975 584,529 

 

Note: 

Gender is not stated for many persons.  When a person 

applies for a driver license, gender is entered on the 

record.  If a person is arrested for impaired driving and 

does not have a driver license, then a record is created 

but gender is not entered on that record. 
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TABLE 3.05 

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA AND NUMBER OF RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED 

DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2012, BY COUNTY 

County 2010  

Pop 

Census 

2012  

Pop 

Estimate 

1 or more 

Incidents 

% of 

2012 

Pop 

1 Incident % of 

2012  

Pop 

2 Incidents % of 

2012  

Pop 

3 or more 

Incidents 

% of 

2012  

Pop 

Aitkin 16,202 15,927 2,352 14.8 1,230 7.7 547 3.4 575 3.6 

Anoka 330,844 336,414 37,328 11.1 20,880 6.2 8,643 2.6 7,805 2.3 

Becker 32,504 33,000 4,804 14.6 2,505 7.6 1,029 3.1 1,270 3.8 

Beltrami 44,442 45,375 6,357 14.0 3,420 7.5 1,481 3.3 1,456 3.2 

Benton 38,451 38,865 4,326 11.1 2,387 6.1 1,018 2.6 921 2.4 

Big Stone 5,269 5,164 549 10.6 316 6.1 139 2.7 94 1.8 

Blue Earth 64,013 65,091 6,752 10.4 3,854 5.9 1,551 2.4 1,347 2.1 

Brown 25,893 25,425 2,864 11.3 1,627 6.4 669 2.6 568 2.2 

Carlton 35,386 35,348 4,541 12.8 2,454 6.9 1,054 3.0 1,033 2.9 

Carver 91,042 93,707 8,239  8.8 5,076 5.4 1,833 2.0 1,330 1.4 

Cass 28,567 28,357 4,384 15.5 2,249 7.9 1,026 3.6 1,109 3.9 

Chippewa 12,441 12,135 1,447 11.9 869 7.2 319 2.6 259 2.1 

Chisago 53,887 53,452 6,835 12.8 3,810 7.1 1,646 3.1 1,379 2.6 

Clay 58,999 60,155 6,783 11.3 4,043 6.7 1,489 2.5 1,251 2.1 

Clearwater 8,695 8,703 1,339 15.4 637 7.3 315 3.6 387 4.4 

Cook 5,176 5,185 665 12.8 364 7.0 150 2.9 151 2.9 

Cottonwood 11,687 11,597 1,164 10.0 694 6.0 272 2.3 198 1.7 

Crow Wing 62,500 62,882 7,973 12.7 4,373 7.0 1,866 3.0 1,734 2.8 

Dakota 398,552 405,088 40,489 10.0 24,433 6.0 8,904 2.2 7,152 1.8 

Dodge 20,087 20,231 2,303 11.4 1,309 6.5 514 2.5 480 2.4 

Douglas 36,009 36,415 4,093 11.2 2,314 6.4 883 2.4 896 2.5 

Faribault 14,553 14,263 1,767 12.4 1,005 7.0 406 2.8 356 2.5 

Fillmore 20,866 20,834 2,421 11.6 1,374 6.6 572 2.7 475 2.3 

Freeborn 31,255 31,054 3,942 12.7 2,196 7.1 936 3.0 810 2.6 

Goodhue 46,183 46,336 5,701 12.3 3,253 7.0 1,324 2.9 1,124 2.4 

Grant 6,018 5,944 768 12.9 428 7.2 187 3.1 153 2.6 

Hennepin 1,152,425 1,184,576 122,573 10.3 73,537 6.2 26,394 2.2 22,642 1.9 

Houston 19,027 18,837 2,262 12.0 1,358 7.2 487 2.6 417 2.2 

Hubbard 20,428 20,347 2,299 11.3 1,227 6.0 539 2.6 533 2.6 

Isanti 37,816 38,248 4,600 12.0 2,447 6.4 1,118 2.9 1,035 2.7 

Itasca 45,058 45,221 6,229 13.8 3,279 7.3 1,475 3.3 1,475 3.3 

Jackson 10,266 10,281 1,075 10.5 660 6.4 244 2.4 171 1.7 

Kanabec 16,239 16,005 2,234 14.0 1,143 7.1 535 3.3 556 3.5 

Kandiyohi 42,239 42,379 4,752 11.2 2,743 6.5 1,075 2.5 934 2.2 

Kittson 4,552 4,493 481 10.7 252 5.6 112 2.5 117 2.6 

Koochiching 13,311 13,208 1,778 13.5 985 7.5 413 3.1 380 2.9 

Lac Qui Parle 7,259 7,109 745 10.5 413 5.8 198 2.8 134 1.9 

Lake 10,866 10,818 1,207 11.2 698 6.5 301 2.8 208 1.9 

Lake of  Woods 4,045 3,973 569 14.3 284 7.1 152 3.8 133 3.3 

Le Sueur 27,703 27,677 3,828 13.8 2,176 7.9 881 3.2 771 2.8 

Lincoln 5,896 5,818 509  8.7 301 5.2 123 2.1 85 1.5 

Lyon 25,857 25,543 2,785 10.9 1,675 6.6 612 2.4 498 1.9 

McLeod 36,651 36,053 4,400 12.2 2,522 7.0 996 2.8 882 2.4 

Mahnomen 5,413 5,536 1,218 22.0 564 10.2 281 5.1 373 6.7 

Marshall 9,439 9,449 1,103 11.7 598 6.3 262 2.8 243 2.6 
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TABLE 3.05 (Continued) 

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA AND NUMBER OF RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED 

DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2012, BY COUNTY 

County 2010  

Pop 

Census 

2012  

Pop 

Estimate 

1 or more 

Incidents 

% of 

2012 

Pop 

1 Incident % of 

2012  

Pop 

2 Incidents % of 

2012  

Pop 

3 or more 

Incidents 

% of 

2012  

Pop 

Martin 20,840 20,475 2,397 11.7 1,376 6.7 566 2.8 455 2.2 

Meeker 23,300 23,061 2,604 11.3 1,372 5.9 648 2.8 584 2.5 

Mille Lacs 26,097 25,740 4,385 17.0 2,205 8.6 1,031 4.0 1,149 4.5 

Morrison 33,198 33,052 4,094 12.4 2,209 6.7 966 2.9 919 2.8 

Mower 39,163 39,372 5,026 12.8 2,838 7.2 1,192 3.0 996 2.5 

Murray 8,725 8,577 814 9.5 491 5.7 169 2.0 154 1.8 

Nicollet 32,727 32,929 3,339 10.1 1,999 6.1 739 2.2 601 1.8 

Nobles 21,378 21,487 2,540 11.8 1,736 8.1 479 2.2 325 1.5 

Norman 6,852 6,634 837 12.6 465 7.0 195 2.9 177 2.7 

Olmsted 144,248 147,066 13,481 9.2 7,886 5.4 3,017 2.1 2,578 1.8 

Otter Tail 57,303 57,288 6,374 11.1 3,452 6.0 1,529 2.7 1,393 2.4 

Pennington 13,930 14,074 1,974 14.0 1,041 7.4 457 3.2 476 3.4 

Pine 29,750 29,218 4,060 13.9 2,116 7.2 922 3.2 1,022 3.5 

Pipestone 9,596 9,345 1,055 11.3 583 6.2 263 2.8 209 2.2 

Polk 31,600 31,416 4,407 14.0 2,387 7.6 1,019 3.2 1,001 3.2 

Pope 10,995 10,892 1,212 11.1 648 5.9 288 2.6 276 2.5 

Ramsey 508,640 520,152 51,130 9.8 30,376 5.8 11,138 2.1 9,616 1.8 

Red Lake 4,089 4,087 538 13.2 300 7.3 118 2.9 120 2.9 

Redwood 16,059 15,847 1,789 11.3 1,024 6.5 389 2.5 376 2.4 

Renville 15,730 15,369 2,098 13.7 1,179 7.7 491 3.2 428 2.8 

Rice 64,142 64,854 6,816 10.5 3,874 6.0 1,568 2.4 1,374 2.1 

Rock 9,687 9,553 719 7.5 466 4.9 139 1.5 114 1.2 

Roseau 15,629 15,476 2,004 12.9 1,097 7.1 475 3.1 432 2.8 

St. Louis 200,226 200,319 24,829 12.4 13,854 6.9 5,774 2.9 5,201 2.6 

Scott 129,928 135,152 13,287 9.8 8,028 5.9 3,025 2.2 2,234 1.7 

Sherburne 88,499 89,455 9,959 11.1 5,817 6.5 2,333 2.6 1,809 2.0 

Sibley 15,226 15,123 1,791 11.8 994 6.6 424 2.8 373 2.5 

Stearns 150,642 151,606 15,605 10.3 9,212 6.1 3,405 2.2 2,988 2.0 

Steele 36,576 36,322 4,062 11.2 2,263 6.2 948 2.6 851 2.3 

Stevens 9,726 9,663 737 7.6 435 4.5 168 1.7 134 1.4 

Swift 9,783 9,594 1,229 12.8 673 7.0 287 3.0 269 2.8 

Todd 24,895 24,509 2,724 11.1 1,509 6.2 655 2.7 560 2.3 

Traverse 3,558 3,451 386 11.2 220 6.4 101 2.9 65 1.9 

Wabasha 21,676 21,476 2,676 12.5 1,544 7.2 634 3.0 498 2.3 

Wadena 13,843 13,767 1,723 12.5 922 6.7 362 2.6 439 3.2 

Waseca 19,136 19,237 2,204 11.5 1,216 6.3 552 2.9 436 2.3 

Washington 238,136 244,088 22,242 9.1 13,690 5.6 4,924 2.0 3,628 1.5 

Watonwan 11,211 11,187 1,408 12.6 808 7.2 353 3.2 247 2.2 

Wilkin 6,576 6,585 803 12.2 462 7.0 199 3.0 142 2.2 

Winona 51,461 51,629 5,014 9.7 3,052 5.9 1,117 2.2 845 1.6 

Wright 124,700 127,336 14,012 11.0 8,028 6.3 3,271 2.6 2,713 2.1 

Yellow Med 10,438 10,158 1,312 12.9 739 7.3 298 2.9 275 2.7 

Minnesota 5,303,925 5,379,139 584,529 10.9 338,548 6.3 131,599 2.5 114,382 2.1 
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TABLE 3.06 

PERSONS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, BY AREA OF 

RESIDENCE, GENDER, AND NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2012 

 Minnesota Residents  

Twin City Metro Area 

Minnesota Residents  

Non- Metro Area 

 Non-Minnesota Residents  

No. of 

Incidents 

on 

Record 

Fe-

male 

Male Not 

Stated 

Sub- 

total 

Fe-

male 

Male Not 

Stated 

Sub- 

total 

Total 

MN 

Residents 

Fe-

male 

Male Not 

Stated 

Total Total MN 

and Non 

MN 

Residents 

 

1 49,192 119,519 7,309 176,020 41,899 114,294 6,335 162,528 338,548 12,490 38,302 26,775 77,567 416,115 

2 12,965 50,970 926 64,861 11,950 53,954 834 66,738 131,599 2,513 12,675 2,195 17,383 148,982 

3 4,577 25,451 190 30,218 4,317 27,928 208 32,453 62,671 711 5,484 430 6,625 69,296 

4 1,576 11,672 41 13,289 1,598 13,355 60 15,013 28,302 219 2,266 114 2,599 30,901 

5 486 4,966 17 5,469 506 5,636 19 6,161 11,630 70 927 27 1,024 12,654 

6 162 2,302 3 2,467 170 2,690 13 2,873 5,340 21 402 16 439 5,779 

7 76 1,184 1 1,261 78 1,424 6 1,508 2,769 2 192 7 201 2,970 

8 26 659 2 687 29 777 4 810 1,497 5 102 2 109 1,606 

9 10 378 1 389 17 473 2 492 881 2 60 1 63 944 

10 3 236 1 240 5 267 1 273 513 1 27 2 30 543 

11 2 144 0 146 0 138 0 138 284 0 18 2 20 304 

12 3 81 0 84 1 84 0 85 169 0 20 0 20 189 

13 0 60 0 60 1 46 0 47 107 1 5 1 7 114 

14 0 33 0 33 0 47 1 48 81 0 4 0 4 85 

15 0 19 0 19 0 24 0 24 43 0 8 0 8 51 

16 0 17 1 18 0 13 0 13 31 0 1 0 1 32 

17 0 11 0 11 0 15 0 15 26 0 0 0 0 26 

18 0 8 0 8 0 8 0 8 16 0 0 0 0 16 

19 0 1 0 1 0 5 0 5 6 0 0 1 1 7 

20 0 3 0 3 0 3 0 3 6 0 0 0 0 6 

21 0 2 0 2 0 2 0 2 4 0 0 0 0 4 

22 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 

23 0 2 0 2 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 2 

24 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 2 2 0 0 0 0 2 

25 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 

Totals: 69,078 217,718 8,492 295,288 60,571 221,187 7,483 289,241 584,529 16,035 60,493 29,573 106,101 690,630 

 

Note: 

(1) The above table classifies violators based on 

current residence, as known at the time data are 

compiled from the drivers’ license files.  Residence 

may be inaccurate since persons with impaired 

driving incidents may avoid notifying the Department 

of Public Safety of address changes.  

(2) Incidents counted may have occurred in 

Minnesota or elsewhere.  If a person moves to 

Minnesota from another state and applies for a driver 

license here, he or she will be included, and incidents 

incurred in Minnesota or elsewhere will be included.   

(3) Gender is not stated for many persons.  When a 

person applies for a driver license, gender is entered 

on the record.  If a person is arrested for impaired 

driving and does not have a driver license, then a 

record is created but gender is not entered on that 

record. 
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IV.  IMPAIRED DRIVING RECIDIVISM IN MINNESOTA 

 
Is it the case that a fairly small number of chronic, 

chemically-dependent persons account for almost all 

the impaired driving violations that occur in a year?  

Or, are most of the offenders “first-timers?”  How 

many first-time violators are there?  How many 

repeat violators (recidivists) are there?  Among the 

repeat offenders, how many have one, two, three, and 

so on, prior violations? 

 It is possible to look at all the incidents, and at 

all persons who incurred incidents, in a year, based 

on the number of incidents prior to the one being 

counted in the year.  This will produce measures of 

recidivism based on violators’ past histories.  (Tables 

4.02 and 4.03 do this.) 

Age and recidivism 

Recidivism measures based on past history could be 

misleading, though.  Older violators have had much 

more time and opportunity to recidivate than young 

violators:  23% of violators in their twenties have 

prior incidents, compared to 34% of those in their 

thirties, 43% of those in their forties, 51% of those in 

their fifties, and 51% of those 60 and older. 

In the 1990’s there was a mini-population 

explosion among persons in their twenties -- the 

“echo” of the baby-boom generation.  This dramatic 

increase in the young-violator population might make 

it appear that first-time violators are increasing, and 

that recidivism is decreasing, when in fact those 

young first-time violators might, as the years go by, 

recidivate just as much as older violators have.  It is 

possible to select cohorts of violators from past years 

and follow them forward in time, thus providing 

prospective measures of recidivism.  (Tables 4.04 

through 4.07 do this.) 

RECIDIVISM BASED ON PAST HISTORY 

To measure recidivism in terms of prior incidents, 

three issues require definition:  (1) what is the 

definition of “impaired driving incident”?  (2)  what 

is the “look-back period” over which prior incidents 

are counted?  And (3), what is being counted 

--incidents, or the persons who commit them? 

 (1) Defining an incident:  An incident may be 

defined more broadly as either an implied consent 

violation or an impaired driving criminal conviction, 

or, more narrowly, requiring that the incident include 

the impaired driving criminal conviction.  The ratios 

of first-time to repeat violations are similar, but there 

were 6,870 fewer incidents in 2012 when the 

narrower definition is used. 

 (2) Length of look-back period:  Minnesota 

Statute defines impaired driving offenses as 

misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies 

based in part on how many prior incidents the person 

had over specified lengths of time.  But a person may 

have had incidents before the specified time periods.  

 Table 4.02 tabulates incidents, and Table 4.03 

tabulates persons, based on prior incidents under both 

a lifetime look-back period and a nine-to-ten-year 

look-back period.
‡‡

  The total numbers (of incidents 

or of persons) are the same, but there are higher 

numbers and percentages of first-time incidents (in 

Table 4.02) and of first-time violators (in Table 4.03) 

when only a nine-to-ten-year look-back period is 

used, compared to when a lifetime look-back period 

is used. 

 (3) Counting incidents versus counting persons:  

A person may incur multiple incidents in a year.  

Table 4.02 counts incidents based on the total number 

on the person’s record.  Thus, if John Smith incurred 

a third incident on January 1, and a fourth on 

February 1, the third is counted in row 3 and the 

fourth is counted in row 4 of Table 4.02.  Table 4.03 

counts persons who incurred incidents.  In this table, 

Smith is counted once, based on his last incident, in 

row 4.  

Recidivists commit less than half of the violations 

If a person arrested for a second or subsequent 

offense is defined as a recidivist, then, depending on 

other definitions, recidivists committed somewhere 

between 31 and 41 percent of the 2012 incidents.  

Under the broader definition and using a lifetime 

look-back period, recidivists committed 41% of the 

incidents (and first-time violators 59%).  Under the 

narrower definition, and using the nine-to-ten-year 

look-back period, recidivists committed 31% of the 

incidents (and first-time violators 69%). 

Taking a step back, one could say that first-time 

violators accounted for well over half the impaired 

driving violations in 2012.  Since repeat DWI 

offenders get so much attention, due to sometimes 

accumulating so many arrests and convictions, it is 

worthwhile to remember that, currently, the novice is 

the more typical offender. 

 

                                                           
‡‡

As an example of using a “nine-to-ten-year look-

back period,” the records of all violators who 

incurred incidents in 2012 were examined for the 

period from 1-1-2003 through 12-31-2012.  Thus, the 

look-back period could be as short as 9 years and 1 

day for a violator who incurred an incident on 12-31-

2003, or as long as 10 years for a violator who 

incurred an incident on 1-1-2003.  
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RECIDIVISM MEASURED PROSPECTIVELY 

AMONG VIOLATOR COHORTS 

Among the 14,380 first-time violators from 1997, 

39% incurred a second violation within 180 months 

(15 years).  The recidivism rate is greatest in the first 

months after the first incident, and then gradually 

trails off as years go by:  7% incurred a second 

incident within the first 12 months of their first, 

another 6% recidivated in the second 12 months, 

another 5% in the third 12 months, and another 4% in 

the fourth 12 months.  Cumulatively, 22% recidivated 

by four years out, 32% by eight years out, 37% by 12 

years out, and 39% by 15 years out.
§§

 

Among the cohort of 5,910 violators who 

incurred a second incident in 1997, a higher 

percentage recidivate, but the pattern of higher 

recidivism in the early months, then declining 

recidivism, is similar to that of the first-timer cohort: 

9% incurred a third incident within the first 12 

months of their second, another 8% recidivated in the 

second 12 months, another 6% in the third 12 

months, and another 5% in the fourth 12 months.  

Cumulatively, 28% recidivated by four years out, 

40% by eight years out, 45% by 12 years out, and 

48% by 15 years out. 

Recidivism since 1997 

First-, second-, and third-time violators from each 

year 1997-2008 (making up 36 violator cohorts, three 

for each of twelve years) were followed forward in 

time for up to 48 months.  For first-time violators 

recidivism decreased slightly.  For 1997 first-time 

violators 22.2% recidivated within 48 months, 

compared to 17.3% of year 2008 first-time violators.  

However, there is evidence that recidivism is 

declining at a higher rate when considering multiple 

offenders.  Twenty-eight percent of 1997 second-time 

violators recidivated within 48 months, compared to 

19% of year-2008 second-time violators – a nine  

percentage-point drop.  Finally, 27% of 1997 third-

time violators recidivated within 48 months, 

compared to just 17% of year-2008 third-time 

violators – a significant ten  percentage-point drop. 

                                                           

Another perspective:  violators are just older now 

Work done separately and not reported here suggests 

that the decline in recidivism does not show itself 

when violators are examined within age groups.  

Specifically, for example, 35-year-old violators in 

recent years are just as likely to get a first, second, 

third, or fourth impaired driving incident as were 35 

year-old violators in the early 1990s.  The same 

observation was found to be true for almost all age-

years examined—specifically, for persons at each 

year of age from 21 through 49.  

 There were two exceptions to that rule.  One 

exception was that, for each year over the last decade, 

22, 23, and 24 year-old violators were somewhat 

more likely to incur first-time violations.  The other 

exception was that, over the last decade, violators in 

their later twenties appeared slightly less likely to 

incur third- and fourth-time incidents than was true of 

violators in their late twenties during the early 1990s. 

 In general however, the decline in recidivism 

appears to disappear when age of violators is 

controlled for. 

 This other perspective may suggest that efforts to 

change drinking and driving behavior have been 

unsuccessful.  Two considerations weigh against this 

conclusion.  First, the work that looked at first-, 

second-, third-, and fourth-time incidents within 

same-age cohorts focused on violators as proportions 

of the total population of violators.  It is possible that 

the total number of episodes of drinking and driving 

in the state of Minnesota (not just those that end in 

arrest) have gone down significantly, but have 

decreased almost perfectly equally across all ages and 

offense levels, causing the appearance of no change 

in recidivism.  Second, it is very difficult to believe 

that, if no efforts to control drinking and driving were 

made, incidence would not greatly increase.  

Reducing drinking and driving is a tremendous 

challenge, calling for as much energy and creativity 

as can be brought to the problem. 

 

§§
 DWI violators may change residences frequently.  

To increase validity of the prospective measures of 

recidivism, violators were only accepted into cohorts 

if they were shown to currently reside in Minnesota. 
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TABLE 4.01 

MINNESOTA RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, BY 

TOTAL NUMBER ON RECORD, AND BY AGE AT END OF 2012 

Total 

Incidents

on 

Record 

Age 

0-19 

Age  

20-24 

Age 

25-29 

Age 

30-34 

Age 

35-39 

Age  

40-44 

Age 

45-49 

Age 

50-54 

Age 

55-59 

Age 

60-69 

Age  

70 + 

Total 

1 1,216 16,814 36,261 42,812 36,590 39,762 43,260 40,858 29,032 31,113 20,830 338,548 

2 47 2,631 9,793 13,859 12,541 14,820 17,606 19,338 14,035 15,049 11,880 131,599 

3 1 409 2,614 4,907 5,317 7,048 9,315 11,086 8,052 8,249 5,673 62,671 

4 0 54 469 1,283 1,741 2,991 4,641 5,666 4,274 4,398 2,785 28,302 

5 0 7 67 299 517 1,076 1,889 2,561 1,940 2,012 1,262 11,630 

6 0 0 13 51 156 441 908 1,252 964  983 572 5,340 

7 0 0 0 19 62 221 407 663 525 548 324 2,769 

8 0 0 0 7 14 88 238 379 289 294 188 1,497 

9 0 0 1 1 10 40 129 230 171 189 110 881 

10 0 0 0 0 4 22 81 129 107 114 56 513 

11 0 0 0 0 0 11 51 71 61 51 39 284 

12 0 0 0 0 0 6 29 40 40 36 18 169 

13 0 0 0 0 2 2 21 22 18 24 18 107 

14 0 0 0 0 1 4 7 21 17 21 10 81 

15 0 0 0 0 0 2 1 11 8 15 6 43 

16 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 9 5 8 6 31 

17 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 7 7 2 10 26 

18 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 4 1 6 2 16 

19 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 1 2 0 6 

20 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 4 0 6 

21 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 0 4 

22 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 

23 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 2 

24 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 0 2 

25 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 

Total 

Persons 

1,264 19,915 49,218 63,238 56,955 66,535 78,590 82,353 59,549 63,122 43,790 584,529 
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TABLE 4.02 

INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN MINNESOTA IN 2012 

BASED ON NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD 

 Defining an Incident 

as a DWI Conviction 

Defining an Incident as a DWI Con- 

viction or Implied Consent Violation  
 No Limit on 

Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year  

Look-Back Period 

(Defined as  

1/1/03--12/31/2012) 

No Limit on 

Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 

Look-Back Period 

(Defined as 

1/1/03--12/31/2012) 

Number 

of Inci- 

dents on 

Record 

Number 

of Inci- 

dents in 

2012 

Per- 

cent 

Number 

of Inci- 

dents in 

2012 

Per 

cent 

Number 

of Inci- 

dents in 

2012 

Per- 

cent 

Number 

of Inci- 

dents in 

2012 

Per- 

cent 

1 13,360 62.00 15,543 72.13 16,944 59.62 19,913 70.07 

2 4,790 22.23 4,559 21.16 6,375 22.43 6,250 21.99 

3 2,013 9.34 1,225 5.68 2,847 10.02 1,858 6.54 

4 807 3.75 197 0.91 1,248 4.39 339 1.19 

5 279 1.29 21 0.10 516 1.82 53 0.19 

6 133 0.62 3 0.01 198 0.70 5 0.02 

7 68 0.32   121 0.43   

8 40 0.19   59 0.21   

9 24 0.11   38 0.13   

10 13 0.06   27 0.10   

11 6 0.03   11 0.04   

12 6 0.03   11 0.04   

13 4 0.02   10 0.04   

14     2 0.01   

15 3 0.01   4 0.01   

16 1 *   2 0.01   

17     2 0.01   

18 1 *   1 *   

19         

20         

21         

22     1 *   

23         

24     1 *   

25         

Total 

Incidents 

21,548 100.0 21,548 100.0 28,418 100.0 28,418 100.0 

* An asterisk is used for a percentage that is greater than zero but that, if shown, would round to 0.0%. 
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TABLE 4.03 

PERSONS WHO INCURRED INCIDENTS IN MINNESOTA IN 2012 

BASED ON NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON VIOLATOR’S RECORD 

 Defining an Incident 

as a DWI Conviction 

Defining an Incident as a DWI Con- 

viction or Implied Consent Violation  
 No Limit on 

Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 

Look-Back Period 

(Defined as  

1/1/03—12/31/2012) 

No Limit on 

Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 

Look-Back Period 

(Defined as 

1/1/03—12/31/2012) 

Number 

of Inci- 

dents on 

Record 

Persons who 

Incurred 

Incidents 

in 2012 

Per- 

cent 

Persons who 

Incurred 

Incidents 

in 2012 

Per 

cent 

Persons who 

Incurred 

Incidents 

in 2012 

Per- 

cent 

Persons who 

Incurred 

Incidents 

in 2012 

Per- 

cent 

1 13,094 61.99 15,224 72.08 16,536 59.66 19,425 70.08 

2 4,699 22.25 4,472 21.17 6,209 22.40 6,080 21.94 

3 1,973 9.34 1,205 5.70 2,774 10.01 1,819 6.56 

4 796 3.77 197 0.93 1,224 4.42 335 1.21 

5 273 1.29 21 0.10 505 1.82 53 0.19 

6 124 0.59 3 0.01 188 0.68 5 0.02 

7 66 0.31   115 0.41   

8 40 0.19   59 0.21   

9 24 0.11   36 0.13   

10 13 0.06   27 0.10   

11 5 0.02   11 0.04   

12 6 0.03   10 0.04   

13 4 0.02   10 0.04   

14     2 0.01   

15 3 0.01   4 0.01   

16 1 *   2 0.01   

17     2 0.01   

18 1 *   1 *   

19         

20         

21         

22     1 *   

23         

24     1 *   

25         

Total 

Persons 

21,122 100.0 21,122 100.0 27,717 100.0 27,717 100.0 

* An asterisk is used for a percentage that is greater than zero but that, if shown, would round to 0.0%.  
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TABLE 4.04 

RECIDIVISM OVER 15 YEARS AMONG COHORTS OF FIRST- AND SECOND-TIME 

VIOLATORS FROM 1997:  CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF VIOLATORS WHO 

INCURRED A SUBSEQUENT (SECOND OR THIRD) VIOLATION. 

Months 

Elapsed 

First 

Timers 

Second 

Timers 

Months 

Elapsed 

First 

Timers 

Second 

Timers 

Months 

Elapsed 

First 

Timers 

Second 

Timers 

Months 

Elapsed 

First 

Timers 

Second 

Timers 
            

1  0.72  1.13 49 22.49 28.32 97 31.84 39.86 145 37.17 45.58 

2  1.34  2.27 50 22.76 28.76 98 32.02 40.03 146 37.23 45.69 

3  2.07  3.32 51 22.98 29.05 99 32.14 40.12 147 37.35 45.79 

4  2.48  3.98 52 23.26 29.49 100 32.29 40.29 148 37.42 45.89 

5  3.03  4.64 53 23.55 29.81 101 32.43 40.39 149 37.50 46.01 

6  3.64  5.43 54 23.86 30.02 102 32.56 40.47 150 37.59 46.09 

7  4.29  6.16 55 24.10 30.42 103 32.78 40.68 151 37.69 46.16 

8  4.80  6.79 56 24.29 30.69 104 32.89 40.91 152 37.74 46.26 

9  5.34  7.41 57 24.47 30.91 105 33.05 41.10 153 37.80 46.35 

10  5.89  8.09 58 24.69 31.13 106 33.18 41.27 154 37.82 46.45 

11  6.46  8.60 59 24.91 31.46 107 33.30 41.37 155 37.88 46.50 

12  7.00  9.19 60 25.15 31.66 108 33.45 41.59 156 37.96 46.57 

13  7.46  9.98 61 25.37 31.90 109 33.57 41.68 157 38.03 46.67 

14  8.07 10.74 62 25.60 32.23 110 33.64 41.83 158 38.10 46.75 

15  8.72 11.42 63 25.88 32.50 111 33.76 41.91 159 38.13 46.80 

16  9.26 11.83 64 26.06 32.86 112 33.85 42.06 160 38.21 46.90 

17  9.79 12.49 65 26.26 33.13 113 33.99 42.17 161 38.29 46.95 

18 10.34 12.99 66 26.50 33.45 114 34.08 42.25 162 38.33 47.06 

19 10.81 13.57 67 26.72 33.65 115 34.18 42.45 163 38.37 47.17 

20 11.23 14.25 68 26.91 33.94 116 34.30 42.61 164 38.44 47.21 

21 11.78 14.79 69 27.07 34.33 117 34.39 42.81 165 38.49 47.21 

22 12.25 15.50 70 27.28 34.53 118 34.49 42.96 166 38.60 47.26 

23 12.64 16.36 71 27.45 34.77 119 34.68 43.13 167 38.70 47.34 

24 13.05 17.16 72 27.65 34.86 120 34.74 43.25 168 38.74 47.39 

25 13.53 17.50 73 27.78 35.01 121 34.87 43.37 169 38.82 47.48 

26 14.05 18.21 74 27.97 35.28 122 34.99 43.43 170 38.85 47.53 

27 14.48 18.83 75 28.14 35.47 123 35.08 43.57 171 38.92 47.60 

28 14.94 19.24 76 28.30 35.75 124 35.22 43.74 172 38.98 47.66 

29 15.31 19.70 77 28.50 35.91 125 35.28 43.84 173 39.06 47.73 

30 15.81 20.22 78 28.70 36.09 126 35.42 43.99 174 39.14 47.77 

31 16.19 20.71 79 28.89 36.29 127 35.55 44.03 175 39.19 47.82 

32 16.58 21.07 80 29.08 36.60 128 35.63 44.11 176 39.21 47.85 

33 16.97 21.69 81 29.30 36.73 129 35.74 44.26 177 39.29 47.92 

34 17.38 22.17 82 29.42 36.90 130 35.86 44.35 178 39.31 48.02 

35 17.71 22.81 83 29.55 37.19 131 35.95 44.43 179 39.35 48.07 

36 18.03 23.43 84 29.69 37.41 132 36.01 44.57 180 39.40 48.14 

37 18.48 23.89 85 29.90 37.60 133 36.17 44.67    

38 18.82 24.38 86 30.07 37.88 134 36.26 44.69 Percentage not recidi- 

vating within 15 years: 39 19.14 24.75 87 30.24 38.05 135 36.37 44.79 

40 19.53 25.09 88 30.43 38.17 136 36.45 44.86  First 

Timers 

Second 

Timers 41 19.87 25.45 89 30.57 38.34 137 36.54 44.92 

42 20.23 25.97 90 30.67 38.53 138 36.63 45.01  60.60 51.86 

43 20.58 26.23 91 30.81 38.75 139 36.73 45.09    

44 20.89 26.55 92 31.04 38.92 140 36.79 45.18 Number persons on which 

percentages are based: 45 21.26 26.85 93 31.27 39.10 141 36.84 45.26 

46 21.61 27.26 94 31.42 39.31 142 36.92 45.36  First 

Timers 

Second 

Timers 47 21.92 27.56 95 31.56 39.53 143 37.02 45.41 

48 22.24 28.00 96 31.71 39.70 144 37.07 45.47  14,380 5,910 
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TABLE 4.05 

RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF FIRST-TIME VIOLATORS, 1997 - 2011:  

CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A SECOND VIOLATION 
Months Elapsed 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 

1  0.7  0.7  0.7  0.5  0.6  0.6 0.6 0.5  0.7  0.7  0.6  0.6  0.6  0.6  0.6 

2  1.3  1.4  1.3  1.2  1.2  1.1 1.1 1.2  1.3  1.2  1.2  1.2  1.2  1.3  1.1 

3  2.1  2.0  2.0  1.7  1.8  1.6 1.8 1.6  1.9  1.9  1.7  1.7  1.8  1.8  1.5 

4  2.5  2.5  2.5  2.3  2.4  2.2 2.3 2.1  2.4  2.4  2.1  2.1  2.2  2.3  2.0 

5  3.0  3.1  3.2  2.8  2.9  2.7 2.8 2.6  3.0  2.9  2.6  2.6  2.8  2.7  2.3 

6  3.6  3.7  3.8  3.3  3.5  3.2 3.3 3.2  3.5  3.4  3.1  3.2  3.2  3.0  2.7 

7  4.3  4.2  4.4  4.0  4.0  3.8 4.0 3.7  4.0  4.0  3.6  3.7  3.7  3.4  3.1 

8  4.8  4.7  4.9  4.5  4.5  4.3 4.5 4.3  4.7  4.5  4.1  4.1  4.0  3.9  3.6 

9  5.3  5.3  5.5  5.0  5.1  4.9 5.0 4.9  5.3  5.0  4.6  4.6  4.5  4.2  4.1 

10  5.9  5.9  6.2  5.7  5.6  5.4 5.5 5.4  5.9  5.4  5.1  5.0  4.9  4.7  4.4 

11  6.5  6.5  6.8  6.2  6.1  5.9 6.0 5.9  6.5  6.0  5.7  5.4  5.3  5.2  4.8 

12  7.0  7.0  7.4  6.8  6.5  6.4 6.5 6.5  7.1  6.6  6.2  5.8  5.7  5.6  5.2 

13  7.5  7.6  7.9  7.3  7.0  6.9 6.9 6.9  7.6  7.0  6.7  6.3  6.1  6.1  

14  8.1  8.1  8.5  7.8  7.6  7.4 7.4 7.5  8.2  7.6  7.2  6.7  6.5  6.5  

15  8.7  8.6  9.0  8.3  8.0  7.8 8.0 8.1  8.7  8.1  7.6  7.1  6.8  6.9  

16  9.3  9.1  9.5  8.7  8.5  8.3 8.4 8.7  9.2  8.6  8.0  7.4  7.2  7.3  

17  9.8  9.8 10.0  9.3  9.0  8.8 8.9 9.2  9.7  9.1  8.4  7.8  7.6  7.8  

18 10.3 10.2 10.5  9.8  9.5  9.3 9.4 9.7 10.1  9.5  8.8  8.2  8.0  8.2  

19 10.8 10.7 11.0 10.2 10.0  9.7 9.8  10.2 10.6  9.9  9.2  8.5  8.3  8.5  

20 11.2 11.2 11.4 10.6 10.4 10.1  10.3  10.8 11.0 10.3  9.6  8.8  8.7  8.9  

21 11.8 11.7 11.8 11.1 10.8 10.6  10.8  11.3 11.5 10.8 10.1  9.3  9.1  9.2  

22 12.2 12.2 12.4 11.6 11.2 11.2  11.3  11.7 11.9 11.3 10.4  9.7  9.4  9.5  

23 12.6 12.8 13.0 12.2 11.7 11.6  11.8  12.2 12.4 11.8 10.8 10.0  9.8  9.9  

24 13.1 13.2 13.4 12.6 12.1 12.1  12.3  12.7 12.8 12.2 11.1 10.4 10.1 10.3  

25 13.5 13.6 13.9 13.0 12.5 12.5  12.7  13.1 13.3 12.6 11.5 10.8 10.5   

26 14.1 14.1 14.4 13.4 13.0 13.0  13.2  13.5 13.8 13.0 11.9 11.2 10.8   

27 14.5 14.5 14.8 13.8 13.4 13.4  13.6  14.0 14.2 13.4 12.2 11.5 11.2   

28 14.9 14.9 15.1 14.1 13.8 13.8  14.1  14.4 14.7 13.7 12.6 11.8 11.5   

29 15.3 15.3 15.6 14.5 14.1 14.1  14.5  14.9 15.1 14.0 12.9 12.1 11.8   

30 15.8 15.8 16.0 15.0 14.5 14.4  14.9  15.3 15.5 14.4 13.2 12.4 12.1   

31 16.2 16.2 16.4 15.4 14.9 14.9  15.3  15.8 15.9 14.8 13.5 12.7 12.4   

32 16.6 16.5 16.7 15.7 15.3 15.3  15.8  16.2 16.2 15.2 13.9 13.0 12.7   

33 17.0 16.8 17.0 16.0 15.7 15.6  16.3  16.6 16.6 15.5 14.2 13.3 13.0   

34 17.4 17.1 17.4 16.3 16.1 16.0  16.7  16.9 16.9 15.9 14.5 13.6 13.3   

35 17.7 17.5 17.8 16.6 16.5 16.4  17.0  17.4 17.4 16.2 14.9 13.9 13.6   

36 18.0 18.0 18.1 17.0 16.9 16.7  17.4  17.8 17.7 16.4 15.2 14.2 13.9   

37 18.5 18.3 18.5 17.3 17.2 17.1  17.7  18.3 18.1 16.8 15.4 14.5    

38 18.8 18.6 18.9 17.6 17.6 17.4  18.1  18.6 18.3 17.1 15.7 14.8    

39 19.1 19.0 19.3 17.9 18.0 17.8  18.5  19.0 18.7 17.4 16.0 15.1    

40 19.5 19.4 19.6 18.3 18.3 18.3  18.8  19.3 19.0 17.7 16.2 15.4    

41 19.9 19.7 20.0 18.6 18.6 18.6  19.2  19.6 19.3 17.9 16.5 15.7    

42 20.2 20.0 20.3 19.0 18.8 19.1  19.6  19.9 19.7 18.2 16.8 15.9    

43 20.6 20.3 20.5 19.3 19.1 19.4  20.0  20.3 20.0 18.5 17.1 16.1    

44 20.9 20.5 20.8 19.5 19.5 19.7  20.4  20.7 20.3 18.7 17.3 16.3    

45 21.3 20.8 21.2 19.8 19.8 20.1  20.7  20.9 20.6 19.0 17.6 16.6    

46 21.6 21.2 21.5 20.1 20.1 20.5  21.0  21.2 21.0 19.2 17.8 16.8    

47 21.9 21.4 21.8 20.4 20.4 20.8  21.2  21.5 21.2 19.4 18.0 17.1    

48 22.2 21.7 22.1 20.7 20.7 21.2  21.6  21.8 21.5 19.7 18.2 17.3    

Percentage not recidivating within 48 months 
 77.8 78.3 77.9 79.3 79.3 78.8 78.4 78.2 78.5 80.3 81.8 82.7    

Persons in cohort (number on which percent’s are based) 
 14,380 15,244 16,417 17,293 16,589 16,722 16,620 17,774 19,541 22,702 20,798 19,002 17,406 15,790 15,715 

Average age of persons in cohort 

 32.1 31.9 31.4 31.5 31.5 31.3 30.9 31.1 30.8 30.5 30.9 31.4 31.5 31.6 31.7 
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TABLE 4.06 

RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF SECOND-TIME VIOLATORS, 1997 - 2011:  

CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A THIRD VIOLATION 
Months Elapsed 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 

1  1.1  0.7  0.7  0.7   0.5  0.7  0.8  0.6  0.7  0.7  0.6  0.6  0.7  0.8  0.7 

2  2.3  1.3  1.4  1.4   1.1  1.2  1.3  1.1  1.2  1.3  1.1  1.1  1.3  1.6  1.2 

3  3.3  1.8  2.0  1.9   1.5  1.7  1.7  1.7  1.8  1.8  1.5  1.6  1.9  2.2  1.7 

4  4.0  2.5  2.6  2.5   1.9  2.0  2.3  2.1  2.3  2.3  2.1  1.9  2.4  2.7  2.1 

5  4.6  3.1  3.3  3.1   2.3  2.4  2.7  2.6  2.8  2.9  2.5  2.3  2.7  3.0  2.5 

6  5.4  3.6  3.9  3.5   2.7  2.8  3.1  3.1  3.2  3.3  3.0  2.7  3.0  3.6  2.8 

7  6.2  4.2  4.6  4.1   3.2  3.3  3.5  3.6  3.7  3.7  3.4  3.0  3.4  4.0  3.2 

8  6.8  4.8  5.3  4.5   3.6  3.6  3.9  4.2  4.1  4.2  4.0  3.4  3.9  4.4  3.7 

9  7.4  5.3  5.9  4.9   4.2  4.2  4.4  4.6  4.8  4.7  4.5  3.7  4.3  4.9  4.0 

10  8.1  6.0  6.4  5.6   4.7  4.8  5.0  5.1  5.3  5.3  5.0  4.2  4.7  5.2  4.5 

11  8.6  6.7  6.9  6.2   5.1  5.3  5.6  5.6  5.8  5.8  5.4  4.7  5.1  5.5  4.7 

12  9.2  7.2  7.7  7.0   5.7  5.7  6.2  6.2  6.4  6.4  6.0  5.2  5.5  6.0  5.1 

13 10.0  7.8  8.2  7.8   6.2  6.3  6.7  6.7  7.0  6.9  6.5  5.7  6.1  6.4  

14 10.7  8.4  8.7  8.6   6.7  6.9  7.2  7.4  7.7  7.3  7.0  6.2  6.5  6.6  

15 11.4  9.2  9.3  9.2   7.2  7.4  7.8  7.9  8.3  7.9  7.6  6.7  6.8  6.9  

16 11.8  9.9 10.1  9.7   7.8  7.9  8.3  8.3  8.8  8.4  8.0  7.1  7.2  7.1  

17 12.5 10.4 10.8 10.2   8.4  8.4  8.8  9.0  9.4  9.0  8.5  7.6  7.5  7.4  

18 13.0 11.1 11.6 10.9   9.0  9.0  9.4  9.6 10.1  9.5  9.0  8.1  7.9  7.8  

19 13.6 11.8 12.1 11.5   9.6  9.7 10.0 10.2 10.4  9.9  9.6  8.5  8.4  8.2  

20 14.2 12.4 12.9 12.1  10.2 10.4 10.7 10.7 10.8 10.5 10.1  9.1  8.9  8.6  

21 14.8 13.0 13.5 12.9  10.6 10.8 11.2 11.2 11.4 11.0 10.6  9.4  9.3  9.0  

22 15.5 13.6 13.9 13.5  11.1 11.1 11.7 11.8 12.0 11.4 11.1  9.8  9.7  9.4  

23 16.4 14.3 14.4 14.1  11.7 11.7 12.4 12.4 12.4 11.8 11.6 10.4 10.1 10.0  

24 17.2 15.1 14.8 14.7  12.4 12.4 12.9 13.1 12.9 12.4 12.0 10.7 10.6 10.4  

25 17.5 15.7 15.4 15.0  12.9 12.8 13.4 13.7 13.4 12.8 12.4 11.1 11.0   

26 18.2 16.4 16.0 15.5  13.5 13.3 14.0 14.2 14.0 13.5 12.8 11.7 11.5   

27 18.8 17.1 16.7 16.0  13.9 13.6 14.6 14.8 14.5 14.0 13.4 12.1 11.8   

28 19.2 17.6 17.3 16.4  14.4 14.1 15.2 15.3 14.9 14.4 13.6 12.6 12.3   

29 19.7 18.1 17.8 17.0  14.9 14.7 15.6 15.9 15.5 14.9 14.0 12.9 12.7   

30 20.2 18.6 18.2 17.5  15.5 15.2 16.3 16.3 16.0 15.3 14.3 13.2 13.1   

31 20.7 19.1 18.6 17.9  16.0 15.7 16.9 16.8 16.4 15.6 14.7 13.5 13.4   

32 21.1 19.5 19.1 18.4  16.4 16.2 17.4 17.3 17.0 15.9 15.1 13.8 13.7   

33 21.7 20.1 19.7 18.8  17.0 16.6 17.9 17.8 17.4 16.3 15.6 14.1 14.0   

34 22.2 20.6 20.0 19.1  17.3 17.2 18.3 18.3 17.9 16.7 15.9 14.4 14.3   

35 22.8 21.1 20.5 19.4  17.8 17.7 19.0 18.7 18.2 17.2 16.2 14.8 14.7   

36 23.4 21.6 21.0 19.8  18.4 18.0 19.4 19.0 18.7 17.6 16.5 15.1 15.1   

37 23.9 22.1 21.3 20.4  18.9 18.4 19.7 19.4 19.1 18.0 16.9 15.6    

38 24.4 22.4 21.7 20.9  19.2 18.8 20.1 19.9 19.4 18.4 17.3 16.1    

39 24.8 22.9 22.2 21.3  19.7 19.4 20.7 20.3 19.8 18.7 17.6 16.6    

40 25.1 23.3 22.6 21.7  20.1 20.0 21.2 20.5 20.1 19.0 18.1 16.9    

41 25.4 23.8 23.1 22.2  20.5 20.5 21.5 21.0 20.5 19.4 18.4 17.3    

42 26.0 24.1 23.5 22.5  21.0 21.0 21.9 21.3 20.9 19.8 18.8 17.7    

43 26.2 24.6 23.9 22.9  21.4 21.5 22.3 21.7 21.4 20.2 19.1 18.0    

44 26.5 24.9 24.2 23.4  21.7 21.9 22.7 22.0 21.8 20.6 19.4 18.3    

45 26.9 25.2 24.6 23.7  22.0 22.1 23.0 22.3 22.0 20.8 19.7 18.5    

46 27.3 25.4 24.9 24.1  22.4 22.6 23.5 22.9 22.4 21.2 19.9 18.8    

47 27.6 25.9 25.3 24.4  22.8 23.0 23.8 23.1 22.7 21.4 20.3 19.0    

48 28.0 26.2 25.6 24.8  23.2 23.3 24.2 23.5 22.8 21.7 20.6 19.3    

Percentage not recidivating within 48 months 
 72.0 73.8 74.4 75.2 76.8 76.7 75.8 76.5 77.2 78.3 79.4 80.7    

Persons in cohort (number on which percent’s are based) 
 5,910 6,058 6,696 6,646 6,485 6,362 6,348 6,882 7,365 8,359 7,977 7,635 7,140 6,543 6,454 

Average age of persons in cohort 
 34.4 34.3 34.1 34.2 34.1 34.4 34.2 34.4 34.3 33.8 34.3 34.1 34.5 34.8 34.9 
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TABLE 4.07 

RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF THIRD-TIME VIOLATORS, 1997 - 2011:  

CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A FOURTH VIOLATION 
Months Elapsed 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 

1  1.4  1.3  0.6 0.9  0.6  0.5  0.6  0.4  0.9  0.5  0.8  0.7  0.8  0.8  0.8 

2  2.3  1.8  1.3 1.4  1.3  1.1  1.2  0.8  1.3  1.4  1.6  1.2  1.4  1.4  1.3 

3  3.5  2.6  2.1 2.0  2.0  1.7  1.8  1.4  1.6  1.9  2.0  1.9  2.1  2.2  1.7 

4  4.2  3.2  2.4 2.6  2.3  2.0  2.3  1.8  2.2  2.5  2.6  2.3  2.9  2.4  2.0 

5  4.7  3.8  2.8 3.2  2.7  2.5  2.7  2.3  2.7  2.9  2.9  2.6  3.2  2.8  2.3 

6  5.0  4.4  3.2 3.7  2.9  3.1  3.0  2.7  3.0  3.3  3.6  3.1  3.8  3.3  2.6 

7  5.6  5.0  3.6 4.4  3.3  3.4  3.3  3.0  3.4  4.0  4.1  3.3  4.1  3.5  2.9 

8  6.2  5.4  4.1 4.8  3.9  3.8  3.7  3.4  3.6  4.2  4.6  3.7  4.5  3.7  3.2 

9  6.9  5.9  4.5 5.3  4.4  4.3  4.2  3.7  4.0  4.8  5.0  4.0  4.8  4.0  3.6 

10  7.7  6.3  5.1 5.9  4.8  4.6  4.7  4.2  4.7  5.2  5.5  4.6  5.2  4.3  3.8 

11  8.1  6.9  5.6 6.3  5.2  4.9  4.9  4.6  5.1  5.6  5.9  5.0  5.6  4.7  4.0 

12  8.8  7.4  6.2 6.9  5.9  5.1  5.3  5.2  5.6  6.0  6.3  5.3  5.9  5.0  4.1 

13  9.3  7.8  6.7 7.5  6.2  5.5  5.8  5.5  6.2  6.2  6.5  5.6  6.2  5.4  

14  9.8  8.5  7.1 8.0  6.7  5.8  6.1  5.8  6.6  6.6  7.0  6.0  6.4  5.8  

15 10.5  8.9  7.6 8.4  7.4  6.5  6.5  6.2  7.0  7.0  7.4  6.2  6.8  6.0  

16 11.0  9.3  8.1 8.9  8.0  6.8  7.0  6.7  7.4  7.3  7.7  6.6  7.3  6.3  

17 11.6  9.8  8.5 9.5  8.2  7.5  7.5  7.1  7.7  7.8  8.1  7.0  7.6  6.5  

18 12.0 10.5  9.2  10.0  8.7  8.0  7.8  7.5  8.0  8.4  8.4  7.2  8.0  6.7  

19 12.6 11.0  9.7  10.6  9.1  8.5  8.3  8.1  8.3  8.8  8.8  7.6  8.2  7.1  

20 13.3 11.5 10.3  11.1  9.7  9.2  8.9  8.6  8.7  9.3  9.5  8.2  8.6  7.3  

21 13.8 12.1 10.9  11.6 10.0  9.6  9.4  9.2  9.3  9.6 10.0  8.6  9.0  7.9  

22 14.5 12.7 11.6  12.3 10.3 10.1  9.8  9.5  9.6  9.9 10.3  8.8  9.2  8.3  

23 15.0 13.0 12.1  13.0 10.7 10.7 10.3 10.0 10.0 10.3 10.8  9.2  9.9  8.6  

24 15.5 13.5 12.7  13.4 11.0 11.2 10.7 10.6 10.4 10.6 11.2  9.6 10.3  8.9  

25 16.1 14.0 13.2  13.8 11.5 11.4 11.4 11.0 10.9 11.1 11.6  9.8 10.7   

26 16.6 14.5 13.7  14.2 11.9 12.1 12.0 11.3 11.3 11.5 11.9 10.3 10.9   

27 17.2 14.9 14.1  14.5 12.4 12.6 12.5 11.8 11.9 11.8 12.4 10.7 11.2   

28 17.9 15.4 14.5  15.0 12.9 13.1 12.9 12.3 12.3 12.1 12.8 11.1 11.6   

29 18.4 16.1 15.1  15.3 13.3 13.6 13.4 12.7 12.7 12.2 13.3 11.4 11.8   

30 18.9 16.5 15.6  15.7 13.8 14.0 13.8 13.1 13.2 12.5 13.7 11.6 12.2   

31 19.4 16.9 16.1  16.1 14.2 14.4 14.2 13.5 13.6 12.8 14.1 11.9 12.5   

32 20.0 17.4 16.6  16.4 14.6 14.8 14.5 13.9 14.0 13.3 14.5 12.3 12.8   

33 20.4 17.9 17.0  17.0 14.9 15.3 15.0 14.5 14.3 13.9 14.9 12.6 13.0   

34 20.8 18.2 17.5  17.4 15.4 15.6 15.4 14.8 14.4 14.1 15.2 12.9 13.3   

35 21.3 18.8 18.0  17.9 15.8 15.9 15.7 15.1 14.7 14.4 15.5 13.3 13.7   

36 21.9 19.1 18.2  18.2 16.1 16.2 15.9 15.3 14.9 14.8 15.8 13.4 14.0   

37 22.3 19.6 18.7  18.6 16.4 16.6 16.4 15.7 15.3 15.1 16.2 13.7    

38 22.7 19.9 19.4  19.0 16.6 16.9 16.7 16.3 15.6 15.4 16.5 14.0    

39 23.2 20.2 20.0  19.4 17.0 17.4 17.3 16.6 16.0 15.8 16.8 14.4    

40 23.6 20.7 20.3  19.8 17.3 17.5 17.5 16.8 16.5 16.2 16.9 14.7    

41 24.1 21.3 20.7  20.2 17.7 18.0 17.9 17.1 16.7 16.5 17.3 15.0    

42 24.4 21.8 21.2  20.6 18.0 18.5 18.4 17.4 17.1 16.9 17.4 15.3    

43 24.9 22.1 21.6  20.8 18.2 18.7 18.9 17.7 17.4 17.2 17.9 15.4    

44 25.5 22.5 21.9  21.1 18.6 19.0 19.2 18.1 17.8 17.4 18.2 15.8    

45 25.9 22.6 22.4  21.5 18.9 19.3 19.6 18.6 18.3 17.5 18.5 16.0    

46 26.5 23.1 22.6  21.8 19.2 19.8 20.0 18.8 18.7 17.9 18.9 16.3    

47 26.8 23.3 22.8  22.3 19.6 20.2 20.3 19.1 19.0 18.2 19.1 16.6    

48 27.1 23.7 23.2  22.6 20.0 20.5 20.7 19.3 19.2 18.4 19.4 16.8    

Percentage not recidivating within 48 months 

 72.9 76.3 76.8 77.4 80.0 79.5 79.3 80.7 80.8 81.6 80.6 83.2    

Persons in cohort (number on which percent’s are based) 

 3,209 3,170 3,337 3,279 3,152 2,986 2,923 3,110 3,278 3,664 3,426 3,355 3,267 3,058 3,058 

Average age of persons in cohort 

 36.4 36.7 37.0 36.9 37.0 37.4 37.6 37.7 37.4 37.8 37.6 37.6 38.0 38.4 38.4 
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V.  ALCOHOL-RELATED CRASH STATISTICS BY COUNTY 
 

A century of impaired driving and traffic deaths 

The automobile was invented around 1900, and the 

dangers of drinking and driving were recognized 

immediately.  The earliest available statistics report 23 

traffic deaths in Minnesota in 1910.  The state enacted 

its first DWI law in 1911.  As the baby-boom 

generation entered driving age in the 1960’s, more 

than half (60%) of all traffic deaths were due to 

drinking and driving.   It began decreasing around 

1980, in response to increased societal consciousness 

and to legislation and programs modeled in some part 

on the Scandinavian countries’ tough approach to 

drinking and driving. 

Defining a traffic crash 

Minnesota started systematic record-keeping on traffic 

crashes in the 1930s.  A 1939 law defined the 

reporting threshold:  Any crash involving a fatality, an 

injury, or property damage of $50 or more, had to be 

reported.  The dollar minimum threshold was raised to 

$100 in 1965, then to $300 on August 1, 1977, $500 

on August 1, 1981, and $1,000 on August 1, 1994. 

 Though it is not the normal case, the property 

damage involved doesn’t have to be to vehicles.  It 

might be to a road sign, or shrubbery, for example.  It 

is unknown how many crashes occur that should be 

reported, but are not.  Less severe crashes are easier to 

conceal and it is not difficult to speculate that there 

may be as many crashes that should be, but are not, 

reported, as there are that do get reported. 

Defining “alcohol-related” 

This section uses a broader definition of “alcohol-

related” than might at first be assumed.  In particular, 

an “alcohol-related” crash might not have involved a 

drunk driver.  The definition used here is that if a 

pedestrian, bicyclist, or motor vehicle driver had any 

alcohol,
***

 then the crash is classified as “alcohol- 

                                                           

related,” and anyone who died or got injured in the 

crash is counted as an alcohol-related death or injury.   

So, if a pedestrian with only a .01% alcohol 

concentration (AC) stumbles in front of a sober driver 

and is struck and killed, the crash is defined to be 

alcohol-related, and the death is an alcohol-related 

traffic fatality.  Such cases are not the rule, however.  

Most crashes classified as alcohol-related do involve 

motor vehicles drivers who consumed a considerable 

amount of alcohol.  

Defining “impaired-related”  

This section also uses a strict definition of “alcohol-

related” when a fatal crash occurs.  In particular, a 

fatal crash and any resulting fatalities will be 

classified as “impaired-related” when at least one 

driver or pedestrian in that particular crash tested 

positive for alcohol at the .08 legal limit or above.  

Note that Tables 5.02 and 5.03 in this Section use both 

of these definitions. 

‘Known’ alcohol-involved crashes 

State law requires a medical examiner to measure the 

alcohol content of any driver or pedestrian aged 16 or 

older who dies within four hours of a crash.  Among 

the states, Minnesota has one of the highest 

(sometimes the highest) percentage of killed drivers 

tested.  We make great effort to obtain these test 

results, as well as the results on all surviving drivers, 

bicyclists and pedestrians in fatal crashes that may 

have been tested. 

 Clearly, if a state tests a smaller percentage of 

drivers, then fewer crashes will be classified as 

“alcohol-related” or “impaired-related.  Thus, states 

that have good impaired-driving programs, and good 

testing programs, may appear to have higher alcohol-

related death rates than states with lesser programs. 

***
 To be precise, the following procedure is used:  If 

an alcohol test result is positive for any driver, 

bicyclist, or pedestrian, the crash is classified as 

alcohol-related.  If a test was not performed, but the 

reporting officer perceived the “apparent physical 

condition” of the driver, pedestrian, or bicyclist to be 

“had been drinking” or “under the influence,” then the 

crash is classified as alcohol-related.  In the (rare) 

event that there is a conflict between the officer’s 

reported perception and the chemical test result; the 

test result is used in place of the officer’s perception. 
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Non-fatal crashes likely understated for alcohol 

The numbers cited in this section for alcohol-related 

non-fatal crashes are known to understate the true 

parameters for such crashes.  For non-fatal crashes, 

the officer’s judgment, noted on the crash report, is 

the only basis available to classify the crash as 

alcohol-related or not. 

 To test the effect of using only officer perception 

compared to also having test result data available, 

fatal crashes in 2012 were classified as alcohol-related 

or not using both techniques.  Using officer perception 

alone, 80 (20%) of the 395 fatalities were classified as 

alcohol-related.  Using officer perception and test 

results together, 131 (33%) of the 395 fatalities were 

classified as alcohol-related.
†††

  

Crash numbers generally 

The number of crashes that get reported has been 

declining in recent years, from over 100,000 in year 

2000, to about 69,000 in 2012.  About one-half of one 

percent of all reported crashes are fatal, causing death 

to one or more persons and perhaps injury to other 

persons as well.  Then about a third of all crashes 

involve injuries to people, but no deaths.  Then the 

great majority of crashes -- about two-thirds -- only 

involve property damage; no one is killed or injured. 

Impairment likely as crash severity increases 

Even allowing that alcohol involvement is 

underestimated in the less severe crashes, there is still 

a strong relationship between crash severity and 

impairment.  In 2012, 4% of property damage crashes, 

9% of injury crashes, and 34% of fatal crashes were 

classified as alcohol-related. 

Cost of alcohol-related traffic crashes 

Cost figures reported are based on the estimated costs 

of traffic crashes, deaths, and injuries, as provided 

annually by the National Safety Council. 

 There are two approaches to estimating traffic 

crash costs.  The one used here attempts to quantify 

the direct economic costs.  As explained by the 

National Safety Council, it has five components:  “(1) 

wage and productivity losses, including wages, fringe 

benefits, household production, (2) medical expenses, 

(3) administrative expenses, including insurance, 

                                                           

police, and legal costs, (4) motor vehicle damage, and 

(5) employer costs for crashes involving workers.”
‡‡‡

 

Using this approach, for example, the National Safety 

Council estimates costs for the 2012 calendar year as 

follows: 

Death ........................................................$1,420,000 

Incapacitating (A) Injury .............................. $70,500 

Non-incapacitating (B) Injury ....................... $22,700 

Possible (C) Injury ........................................ $12,800 

Property Damage Crash .................................. $9,100 

The other approach estimates the “comprehensive 

costs” and attempts to include “a measure of the value 

of lost quality of life associated with the deaths and 

injuries, that is, what society is willing to pay to 

prevent them.”
§§§

  Using that approach yields the 

following cost estimates for the 2012 year: 

Death ........................................................$4,459,000 

Incapacitating (A) Injury ............................ $225,100 

Non-incapacitating (B) Injury ....................... $57,400 

Possible (C) Injury ........................................ $27,200 

No Injury ........................................................ $2,400 

Table 5.04 uses the more narrowly defined estimates 

based just on economic costs.  The cost estimates are 

quite conservative in other respects as well:  First, 

they make no effort to include the costs of crashes that 

were reported, but not classified as alcohol-related, 

even though they were.  As noted, the number of 

crashes classified as alcohol-related is certain to 

understate the true number.  Second, the cost estimates 

make no attempt to include costs from alcohol-related 

crashes that were never reported at all.  

In a particular crash, when there is evidence that 

at least one driver or pedestrian tested positive for 

alcohol at the .08 level or above, then fatalities that 

occur in that crash will be classified as “impaired-

related”.  Using “impaired-related” fatalities, the 

estimated cost of alcohol involved crashes in 2012 

was : $224,566,600.   

Now, if there is evidence that at least one driver 

or pedestrian in a crash had “any” alcohol in their 

systems, then fatalities that occur will be classified as 

“alcohol-related”.  Using “alcohol-related” fatalities, 

the estimated cost of alcohol involved crashes in 2012 

was:$262,906,600.  

                                                           

†††
 It would not necessarily be correct, however, to 

conclude that if alcohol test data were also available 

for non-fatal crashes, then there would be a 

comparable increase in the proportion of those crashes 

that are classified as alcohol-related.  That could be 

so; however, reporting and record-keeping are handled 

differently for fatal and non-fatal crashes.  Thus, the 

statistical patterns may not be similar for fatal and 

non-fatal crashes. 

‡‡‡
 National Safety Council: Injury Facts, 2005-2006  

Edition:  page 91. 
§§§

 Ibid 
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TABLE 5.01 

MINNESOTA TRAFFIC FATALITIES, 1910 - 2012 

Year Number Year Number Year Number Year Number Year Number 

1910 23 1931 622 1952 534 1973 1,024 1994 644 

1911 26 1932 486 1953 637 1974 852 1995 597 

1912 39 1933 525 1954 639 1975 777 1996 576 

1913 46 1934 641 1955 577 1976 809 1997 600 

1914 88 1935 596 1956 637 1977 856 1998 650 

1915 85 1936 649 1957 684 1978 980 1999 626 

1916 143 1937 630 1958 708 1979 881 2000 625 

1917 161 1938 609 1959 662 1980 863 2001 568 

1918 183 1939 576 1960 724 1981 763 2002 657 

1919 171 1940 577 1961 724 1982 581 2003 655 

1920 178 1941 626 1962 692 1983 558 2004 567 

1921 216 1942 439 1963 798 1984 584 2005 559 

1922 260 1943 274 1964 841 1985 610 2006 494 

1923 328 1944 356 1965 875 1986 572 2007 510 

1924 366 1945 449 1966 977 1987 530 2008 455 

1925 361 1946 536 1967 965 1988 615 2009 421 

1926 326 1947 572 1968 1,060 1989 605 2010 411 

1927 369 1948 552 1969 988 1990 568 2011 368 

1928 435 1949 540 1970 987 1991 531 2012 395 

1929 505 1950 532 1971 1,024 1992 581   

1930 561 1951 610 1972 1,031 1993 538   

Figure 5.01 

Minnesota Traffic Fatalities, 1910-2012, and Fatality Rate Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles 

Traveled, 1961-2012 
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TABLE 5.02 

OVERVIEW OF TRAFFIC SAFETY AND ALCOHOL STATISTICS, 1965 - 2012 

Year 

(1) 

Total 

Crashes 

(2) 

Total 

Deaths 

(3) 

Licensed

Drivers 

(million) 

(4) 

Reg. 

Vehicles 

(million) 

(5) 

State 

Popu-

lation 

(6) 

Miles 

Traveld 

(billion) 

(7) 

Fatality 

Rate 

(8) 

DWI 

Arrests 

(9) 

Deaths 

‘Any’  

Alcohol 

(10) 

Deaths 

% of 

Col (3) 

(11) 

Deaths 

.08 + 

Alcohol 

(12) 

Deaths 

% of 

Col (3) 

(13) 

1965 83,329 875 1.85 1.86 3,565,000 16.8 5.21      

1966 84,754 977 1.90 1.94 3,585,000 17.7 5.52      

1967 93,819 965 1.95 2.01 3,625,000 18.7 5.17      

1968 92,910 1,060 2.00 2.09 3,647,000 19.9 5.33      

1969 105,235 988 2.03 2.15 3,743,291 20.8 4.75      

1970 99,404 987 2.05 2.24 3,804,971 22.4 4.41      

1971 104,030 1,024 2.33 2.36 3,860,000 23.4 4.38      

1972 111,180 1,031 2.50 2.41 3,877,000 24.9 4.14      

1973 107,956 1,024 2.38 2.51 3,890,000 25.2 4.07      

1974 102,964 852 2.44 2.67 3,904,100 24.6 3.47      

1975 123,206 777 2.51 2.69 3,921,000 25.6 3.03      

1976 116,390 809 2.57 2.92 3,954,000 27.0 3.00 19,419     

1977 119,754 856 2.63 2.77 3,980,000 28.1 3.05 16,976     

1978 118,833 980 2.70 2.90 4,024,000 28.8 3.40 18,078     

1979 120,633 881 2.73 3.00 4,060,000 29.0 3.04 18,092     

1980 103,612 863 2.77 3.01 4,075,970 28.5 3.03 22,788     

1981 97,879 763 2.83 3.09 4,099,048 28.6 2.67 27,034     

1982 89,443 581 2.87 3.01 4,133,334 29.2 1.98 28,048     

1983 97,371 558 2.90 3.03 4,145,667 30.5 1.83 32,155     

1984 93,741 584 2.91 3.13 4,161,464 32.2 1.81 36,638 305 52%   

1985 99,168 610 3.04 3.22 4,192,973 33.1 1.84 35,383 261 43   

1986 95,460 572 3.07 3.25 4,214,013 34.2 1.67 36,390 264 46   

1987 94,095 530 3.10 3.31 4,245,870 35.1 1.51 34,664 224 42   

1988 102,094 615 3.13 3.39 4,306,550 36.4 1.69 32,827 277 45   

1989 105,996 605 3.16 3.46 4,353,000 37.6 1.61 34,562 275 45   

1990 99,236 568 3.18 3.52 4,375,099 38.8 1.47 36,847 235 41   

1991 101,419 531 3.22 3.51 4,432,000 39.3 1.35 32,430 212 40   

1992 96,808 581 3.27 3.55 4,480,034 41.3 1.41 30,841 229 39   

1993 100,907 538 3.28 3.48 4,517,416 42.3 1.27 30,088 196 36   

1994 99,701 644 3.34 3.67 4,567,267 43.4 1.48 29,748 226 35   

1995 96,022 597 3.39 3.68 4,609,548 44.1 1.35 30,402 246 41 203 34% 

1996 105,332 576 3.46 3.70 4,657,800 45.9 1.27 30,923 205 36 169 29 

1997 98,626 600 3.49 3.77 4,685,549 46.9 1.28 31,380 178 30 151 25 

1998 92,926 650 3.53 3.90 4,735,830 48.5 1.34 32,422 273 42 222 34 

1999 96,813 626 3.54 3.92 4,775,508 50.7 1.24 34,575 195 31 156 25 

2000 103,591 625 3.65 4.20 4,919,479 52.4 1.19 35,034 245 39 212 34 

2001 98,984 568 3.69 4.38 4,977,976 53.2 1.07 33,532 211 37 167 29 

2002 94,969 657 3.76 4.49 5,033,661 54.4 1.21 33,163 239 36 185 28 

2003 n/a 655 3.79 4.56 5,088,006 55.4 1.18 32,266 255 39 205 31 

2004 91,274 567 3.85 4.63 5,145,106 56.5 1.00 34,202 177 31 155 27 

2005 87,813 559 3.87 4.69 5,205,091 56.5 0.99 37,002 197 35 164 29 

2006 78,745 494 3.87 4.76 5,231,106 56.6 0.87 41,951 166 34 141 29 

2007 81,505 510 3.91 4.82 5,263,493 57.4 0.89 38,669 190 37 170 33 

2008 79,095 455 3.94 4.86 5,287,976 57.3 0.79 35,794 163 36 137 30 

2009 73,498 421 3.95 4.87 5,300,942 56.9 0.74 32,756 141 34 112 27 

2010 74,073 411 4.00 4.92 5,303,925 56.8 0.72 29,918 131 32 121 29 

2011 72,117 368 4.01 4.98 5,332,246 56.7 0.65 29,257 136 37 111 30 

2012 69,236 395 4.04 5.02 5,379,139 57.0 0.69 28,418 131 33 104 26 

 

Note:  Column (10) lists the number of alcohol-related deaths resulting from crashes where at least one driver or pedestrian was 

known to be drinking.  Column (12) lists the number of impaired-related deaths resulting from crashes where at least one driver 

or pedestrian tested positive for alcohol at the .08 level or above. 
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TABLE 5.03 

TRAFFIC CRASHES, FATALITIES, AND INJURIES -- TOTAL AND ALCOHOL-

RELATED BY COUNTY IN MINNESOTA, 2012 

 
FATAL TRAFFIC 

CRASHES 

INJURY 

TRAFFIC 

CRASHES 

TRAFFIC 

CRASHES WITH 

PROPERTY 

DAMAGE ONLY 

TOTAL 

CRASHES 

PERSONS 

KILLED 

PERSONS 

INJURED 

COUNTY 

(1) 
All 

(2) 

.08+ 

Alc 

(3) 
% 

(4) 
All 

(5) 

Alco

-hol 

(6) 
% 

(7) 
All 

(8) 

Alc

-hol 

(9) 
% 

(10) 
All 

(11) 

Alco

-hol 

(12) 
% 

(13) 
All 

(14) 

.08+ 

Alc 

(15) 
% 

(16) 
All 

(17) 

Alco

-hol 

(18) 

%  

Alc 

(19) 

Aitkin 3 1 33.3 69 14 20.3 117 6 5.1 189 21 11.1 3 1 33.3 90 25 27.8 

Anoka 23 10 43.5 1,072 93 8.7 1,779 75 4.2 2,874 178 6.2 25 11 44.0  1,536 138 9.0 

Becker 4 1 25.0 107 17 15.9 172 3 1.7 283 21 7.4 4 1 25.0 166 26 15.7 

Beltrami 7 2 28.6 140 19 13.6 296 11 3.7 443 32 7.2 7 2 28.6 199 26 13.1 

Benton 6 0 0.0 157 14 8.9 360 16 4.4 523 30 5.7 8 0 0.0 207 16 7.7 

Big Stone 1 0 0.0 25 6 24.0 38 3 7.9 64 9 14.1 1 0 0.0 32 7 21.9 

Blue Earth 5 1 20.0 303 30 9.9 706 33 4.7 1,014 64 6.3 5 1 20.0 408 38 9.3 

Brown 1 0 0.0 76 8 10.5 167 9 5.4 244 17 7.0 1 0 0.0 106 11 10.4 

Carlton 3 0 0.0 108 13 12.0 193 7 3.6 304 20 6.6 4 0 0.0 170 26 15.3 

Carver 1 1 100 260 16 6.2 672 30 4.5 933 47 5.0 1 1 100 352 20 5.7 

Cass 6 2 33.3 103 18 17.5 147 9 6.1 256 29 11.3 6 2  33.3 166 31 18.7 

Chippewa 4 0 0.0 41 7 17.1 69 3 4.3 114 10 8.8 4 0 0.0 72 17 23.6 

Chisago 6 3 50.0 197 20 10.2 281 13 4.6 484 36 7.4 6 3 50.0 308 38 12.3 

Clay 4 0 0.0 199 23 11.6 439 27 6.2 642 50 7.8 4 0 0.0 282 30 10.6 

Clearwater 0 0 0.0 31 5 16.1 38 2 5.3 69 7 10.1 0 0 0.0 47 8 17.0 

Cook 0 0 0.0 27 4 14.8 33 1 3.0 60 5 8.3 0 0 0.0 42 5 11.9 

Cottonwood 2 2 100 38 3 7.9 53 4 7.5 93 9 9.7 2 2 100 72 5 6.9 

Crow Wing 10 5 50.0 285 32 11.2 453 21 4.6 748 58 7.8 10 5 50.0 427 44 10.3 

Dakota 14 3 21.4 1,349 88 6.5 3,128 140 4.5 4,491 231 5.1 19 3 15.8  1,877 128 6.8 

Dodge 3 0 0.0 70 7 10.0 115 2 1.7 188 9 4.8 5 0 0.0 102 8 7.8 

Douglas 5 1 20.0 185 17 9.2 335 11 3.3 525 29 5.5 8 1 12.5 262 20 7.6 

Faribault 3 0 0.0 39 4 10.3 86 0 0.0 128 4 3.1 4 0 0.0 55 6 10.9 

Fillmore 2 1 50.0 59 8 13.6 107 6 5.6 168 15 8.9 2 1 50.0 90 13 14.4 

Freeborn 3 2 66.7 132 11 8.3 271 14 5.2 406 27 6.7 3 2 66.7 190 13 6.8 

Goodhue 6 0 0.0 186 12 6.5 457 9 2.0 649 21 3.2 7 0 0.0 278 15 5.4 

Grant 1 1 100 21 5 23.8 42 4 9.5 64 10 15.6 1 1 100 28 5 17.9 

Hennepin 32 5 15.6 6,018 423 7.0 13,766 536 3.9 19,816 964 4.9 33 5 15.2  8,205 613 7.5 

Houston 1 0 0.0 56 12 21.4 171 10 5.8 228 22 9.6 1 0 0.0 69 12 17.4 

Hubbard 1 0 0.0 74 15 20.3 65 3 4.6 140 18 12.9 1 0 0.0 112 28 25.0 

Isanti 2 1 50.0 104 9 8.7 200 10 5.0 306 20 6.5 2 1 50.0 162 13 8.0 

Itasca 6 4 66.7 175 24 13.7 355 20 5.6 536 48 9.0 8 5 62.5 255 28 11.0 

Jackson 2 0 0.0 46 4 8.7 76 2 2.6 124 6 4.8 3 0 0.0 60 4 6.7 

Kanabec 0 0 0.0 42 3 7.1 73 7 9.6 115 10 8.7 0 0 0.0 58 4 6.9 

Kandiyohi 8 1 12.5 193 19 9.8 345 18 5.2 546 38 7.0 11 3 27.3 285 29  10.2 

Kittson 1 0 0.0 3 1 33.3 6 0 0.0 10 1 10.0 1 0 0.0 5 1  20.0 

Koochiching 2 0 0.0 26 4 15.4 56 5 8.9 84 9 10.7 2 0 0.0 38 9 23.7 

Lac Qui Parle 0 0 0.0 14 0 0.0 23 1 4.3 37 1 2.7 0 0 0.0 24 0 0.0 

Lake 1 1 100 35 4 11.4 56 3 5.4 92 8 8.7 1 1 100 61 4 6.6 

Lake Woods 0 0 0.0 8 1 12.5 13 2  15.4 21 3 14.3 0 0 0.0 9 1 11.1 

Le Sueur 2 0 0.0 95 17 17.9 220 7 3.2 317 24 7.6 2 0 0.0 139 29 20.9 

Lincoln 2 2 100 18 2 11.1 61 3 4.9 81 7 8.6 2 2 100 25 2 8.0 

Lyon  4 0 0.0 79 6 7.6 201 4 2.0 284 10 3.5 4 0 0.0 108 9 8.3 

McLeod 4 0 0.0 123  11 8.9 304 5 1.6 431 16 3.7 6 0  0.0 167 14 8.4 

Mahnomen 2 0 0.0 16 3  18.8 27 1 3.7 45 4 8.9 2 0 0.0 29 5 17.2 

Marshall 2 0 0.0 28 7  25.0 29 2  6.9 59 9 15.3 2 0 0.0 50 17 34.0 

Martin 1 1 100 61 6 9.8 142 6 4.2 204 13 6.4 1 1 100 97 7 7.2 

Meeker 2 2 100 74 8  10.8 133 3 2.3 209 13 6.2 2 2 100 104 11 10.6 

Mille Lacs 2 1 50.0 115  20  17.4 114 6 5.3 231 27 11.7 3 2  66.7 183 28 15.3 

Morrison 5 0 0.0 106  21  19.8 173 9 5.2 284 30 10.6 5 0 0.0 162 33 20.4 

Mower 4 0 0.0 96  14  14.6 253 11 4.3 353 25 7.1 6 0 0.0 121 17 14.0 

Murray 2 1 50.0 36 6  16.7 38 2 5.3 76 9 11.8 2 1  50.0 60 9 15.0 

Nicollet 3 1  33.3 94 6 6.4 261 10 3.8 358 17 4.7 3 1  33.3 132 8 6.1 

Nobles 6 1 16.7 78 7 9.0 259 9 3.5 343 17 5.0 7 1  14.3 114 10 8.8 

Norman 0 0 0.0 21 4  19.0 30 4  13.3 51 8 15.7 0 0 0.0 28 7 25.0 
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TABLE 5.03 (Continued) 

TRAFFIC CRASHES, FATALITIES, AND INJURIES -- TOTAL AND ALCOHOL-

RELATED BY COUNTY IN MINNESOTA, 2012 

 
FATAL TRAFFIC 

CRASHES 

INJURY 

TRAFFIC 

CRASHES 

TRAFFIC CRASHES 

WITH PROPERTY 

DAMAGE ONLY TOTAL CRASHES 

PERSONS 

KILLED 

PERSONS 

INJURED 

COUNTY 

(1) 
All 

(2) 
.08+ Alc 

(3) 
% 

(4) 
All 

(5) 

Alco-

hol 

(6) 
% 

(7) 
All 

(8) 

Alc-

hol 

(9) 
% 

(10) 
All 

(11) 

Alco-

hol 

(12) 
% 

(13) 
All 

(14) 

.08+ 

Alc 

(15) 
% 

(16) 
All 

(17) 

Alco-

hol 

(18) 

%  

Alc 

(19) 

Olmsted 2  0 0.0 547 36 6.6  1,215 49  4.0 1,764 85 4.8 2  0  0.0 757 59 7.8 
Otter Tail 8  3 37.5 207 26 12.6 424 12  2.8 639 41 6.4  10  5 50.0 294 34 11.6 

Pennington 2  0 0.0 54 6 11.1 
11.1

1 

58 2  3.4 114 8 7.0 2  0  0.0 81 7 8.6 

Pine 9  2 22.2 128 19 14.8 224 7  3.1 361 28 7.8  14  2 14.3 189 29 15.3 
Pipestone 2  0 0.0 29 2 6.9 56 4  7.1 87 6  6.9 2  0  0.0 48 3 6.3 

Polk 7  5 71.4 90 13 14.4 

14.4 

227 17  7.5 324 35  10.8 7  5 71.4 131 26 19.8 

Pope 3  1 33.3 37 6 16.2 

16.2 

56 5  8.9 96 12  12.5 3  1 33.3 73 23 31.5 

Ramsey  18  0 0.0  2,475  192 7.8  7,926  260  3.3  10,419  452 4.3  19  0  0.0  3,363  261 7.8 

Red Lake 1  0 0.0 7 2 28.6 
28.6 

14 1  7.1 22 3  13.6 1  0  0.0 9 2 22.2 

Redwood 5  3 60.0 48 9 18.8 

18.8 

81 4  4.9 134 16  11.9 6  4 66.7 71 14 19.7 
Renville 1  0 0.0 48 8 16.7 

16.7 

90 6  6.7 139 14  10.1 1  0  0.0 63 11 17.5 

Rice 4  1 25.0 219 17 7.8 404 9  2.2 627 27 4.3 4  1 25.0 302 25 8.3 

Rock 4  0 0.0 29 3 10.3 

10.3 

77 4  5.2 110 7 6.4 4  0  0.0 43 3 7.0 
Roseau 2  1 50.0 29 4 13.8 

13.8 

50 5 10.0 81 10  12.3 2  1 50.0 44 7 15.9 

St. Louis 9  3 33.3 740 81 10.9 
10.9 

 2,149  100  4.7 2,898  184 6.3  11  3 27.3 979  104 10.6 

Scott 4  1 25.0 381 34 8.9 694 23  3.3 1,079 58 5.4 4  1 25.0 554 50 9.0 
Sherburne 7  2 28.6 258 24 9.3 746 20  2.7 1,011 46 4.5 8  2 25.0 371 28 7.5 

Sibley 2  1 50.0 43 3 7.0 79 2  2.5 124 6 4.8 2  1 50.0 52 6 11.5 

Stearns 7  1 14.3 653 45 6.9  1,582 46  2.9 2,242 92 4.1 7  1 14.3 922 59 6.4 
Steele 2  1 50.0 129 16 12.4 

12.4 

282 10  3.5 413 27 6.5 2  1 50.0 178 21 11.8 

Stevens 1  0 0.0 23 5 21.7 
21.7 

56 1  1.8 80 6 7.5 1  0  0.0 32 7 21.9 

Swift 0  0 0.0 29 5 17.2 

17.2 

49 3  6.1 78 8  10.3 0  0  0.0 35 6 17.1 
Todd 1  1 100 82 8 9.8 120 6  5.0 203 15 7.4 1  1  100 112 11 9.8 

Traverse 0  0 0.0 9 2 22.2 

22.2 

6 0  0.0 15 2  13.3 0  0  0.0 13 3 23.1 

Wabasha 2  2 100 63 2 3.2 119 7  5.9 184 11 6.0 2  2  100 90 4 4.4 

Wadena 1  1 100 39 4 10.3 

10.3 

60 1  1.7 100 6  6.0 1  1  100 53 5 9.4 

Waseca 3  0 0.0 66 4 6.1 116 7  6.0 185  11 5.9 3  0  0.0 85 6 7.1 

Washington 7  4 57.1 767 54 7.0  1,594 69  4.3 2,368  127 5.4 8  5 62.5  1,062 76 7.2 
Watonwan 0  0 0.0 26 1 3.8 59 2  3.4 85 3 3.5 0  0  0.0 35 1 2.9 

Wilkin 0  0 0.0 26 1 3.8 73 3  4.1 99 4 4.0 0  0  0.0 38 1 2.6 

Winona 5  0 0.0 184 16 8.7 392 10  2.6 581 26 4.5 5  0  0.0 257 21 8.2 
Wright 9  4 44.4 371 47 12.7 

12.7 

768 19  2.5 1,148 70 6.1  12  5 41.7 513 60 11.7 

Yellow Med 1  0 0.0 23 0 0.0 62 1  1.6 86 1 1.2 1  0  0.0 39 0 0.0 

Minnesota 349 94 26.9 20,972 1,846 8.8 47,915 1,873 3.9 69,236 3,813 5.5 395 104 26.3 29,314 2,644 9.0 
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TABLE 5.04 

COST OF ALCOHOL-RELATED TRAFFIC CRASHES, 

IMPAIRED-RELATED FATALITIES,  

AND ALCOHOL-RELATED INJURIES, BY COUNTY, 2012 

COUNTY COST COUNTY COST COUNTY  COST 

Aitkin  $ 2,412,900 Itasca  $8,161,400 Pope $1,982,500 

Anoka  19,666,700 Jackson 127,100 Ramsey 7,375,900 

Becker 2,273,100 Kanabec 202,300 Red Lake 54,500 

Beltrami 3,573,000 Kandiyohi  5,134,700 Redwood 5,983,000 

Benton 535,100 Kittson 22,700 Renville 215,200 

Big Stone 194,400 Koochiching 431,100 Rice 2,161,600 

Blue Earth 2,604,100 Lac Qui Parle 9,100 Rock 132,500 

Brown 329,900 Lake  1,518,300 Roseau 1,632,600 

Carlton 620,800 Lake of the Woods 40,900 St. Louis 7,452,700 

Carver 2,056,200 Le Sueur 842,200 Scott 3,044,300 

Cass 3,829,800 Lincoln  2,912,700 Sherburne 3,499,200 

Chippewa 343,900 Lyon  220,900 Sibley 1,515,000 

Chisago 5,072,600 McLeod 341,800 Stearns 3,301,200 

Clay 873,800 Mahnomen 112,700 Steele 1,994,200 

Clearwater 275,600 Marshall 428,700 Stevens 186,100 

Cook 83,000 Martin  1,757,100 Swift 133,800 

Cottonwood 2,970,100 Meeker  3,201,000 Todd 1,664,900 

Crow Wing 8,377,000 Mille Lacs  3,584,500 Traverse 115,900 

Dakota 8,008,500 Morrison 863,800 Wabasha 3,042,300 

Dodge 140,400 Mower 617,800 Wadena 1,608,500 

Douglas 1,855,300 Murray  1,630,900 Waseca 170,200 

Faribault 116,400 Nicollet  1,643,100 Washington 9,399,900 

Fillmore 1,863,600 Nobles  1,669,500 Watonwan 31,000 

Freeborn 3,241,000 Norman 271,100 Wilkin 40,100 

Goodhue 516,300 Olmsted  1,997,600 Winona 574,200 

Grant 1,597,900 Otter Tail  8,041,800 Wright 8,680,700 

Hennepin  24,646,000 Pennington 243,000 Yellow Med 9,100 

Houston 485,300 Pine  3,528,900   

Hubbard 657,800 Pipestone 94,600   

Isanti 1,862,100 Polk  7,831,600   

Minnesota Total     $ 224,566,600 

Note:  Costs are calculated using estimates, provided 

annually by the National Safety Council, that do not 

attempt to include “comprehensive costs” of traffic 

crashes, deaths and injuries, but just direct costs due 

to medical expense, property damage, and lost 

produc- 

tivity.  Other procedures (e.g.; those used by the US 

Department of Transportation) that do attempt to 

include comprehensive costs result in total cost 

estimates about three times as great as those 

calculated here. 
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APPENDIX A 

Terms Describing Impaired Driving Incident in Minnesota 

 
This report is produced by the Office of Traffic Safety 

in the Minnesota Department of Public Safety and 

provides information about impaired driving in the 

state.  The report is meant to aid in describing the 

parameters of a significant public health threat, but 

there are problems in reporting the statistics in a clear 

way.  The problems are mainly due to (1) the lack of a 

clear terminology and (2) the complexity of 

Minnesota’s impaired driving laws. 

There is no clearly defined set of terms to describe 

impaired driving situations.  For traffic crashes, 

Minnesota follows the American National Standards 

Institute’s “Manual on Classification of Motor Vehicle 

Traffic Accidents,”  which has been in use (with new 

editions periodically) nationwide since the 1940s.  

There is no similar manual for describing impaired 

driving incidents.   

In this report, the term “impaired driving” is used, but 

even it has problems.  For example, if an officer 

arrests a person for DWI, and the person refuses to 

take the alcohol test and then plea-bargains the DWI 

charge to speeding, the incident is still classified as an 

impaired driving incident since the test refusal violates 

the Implied Consent Law which is part of the 

Impaired Driving Code.  But the fact of impairment 

was not actually established.  Definitions of terms are 

shown below, but these definitions are subject to 

change in the future.  

The second obstacle to clear statistical reporting is the 

complexity of the law.  Minnesota enacted its first 

DWI law in 1911.  There are now more than 35,000 

DWI arrests annually -- more than for any other 

criminal offense in the state.  For nearly a century, 

defense attorneys have found loopholes in the law, 

while the state has sought to tighten the law. 

Apart from the DWI laws themselves, there is an 

important distinction between criminal offenses and 

civil law violations.  Minnesota Statute (MS) 609.02 

defines “crime” as “conduct ... for which the actor 

may be sentenced to imprisonment...”  Therefore, a 

crime is committed if a person performs a behavior 

the law defines as criminal, regardless of whether the 

person is detected, arrested, prosecuted, found guilty, 

and sentenced to jail or prison. 

In contrast, a civil law violation cannot lead to 

incarceration.
****

   In impaired driving cases under 

civil law, when a person refuses or fails an alcohol or 

drug test, the police officer acts as agent of the 

Commissioner of Public Safety and issues the driver 

license revocation form.  In some cases the 

Commissioner may impose additional requirements 

(e.g. treatment), but the Commissioner cannot impose 

a jail sentence. 

This report uses the following conventions:  The terms 

“crime,” “offense,” and “criminal offense” are used to 

describe violations of the criminal impaired driving 

law.  The term “violation” is used to describe a 

breaking of the civil Implied Consent law.  

“Violation” and “violator”  are general terms though.  

Thus, a crime is a type of violation, and “violator” 

refers to a person who breaks a criminal law, a civil 

law, or both. 

Minnesota’s first DWI law consisted of a single 

sentence:  “Whoever operates a motor vehicle while in 

an intoxicated condition shall be guilty of a 

misdemeanor.”  The current law takes an entire 

chapter (MS 169A)  and defines it to be a crime for a 

person to “drive, operate, or be in physical control of 

any motor vehicle within this state...” when the person 

is under the influence of alcohol, or under the 

influence of any of a large number of impairing 

substances, or when the person has an alcohol 

concentration of 0.08 or more, or when a person 

                                                           
****

 Also, a person is not considered to have violated a 

civil law unless it is so determined through a legal 

process.  Thus, a person can sue another for breach of 

contract, but the other person’s behavior is not a 

violation unless a court determines that it is.  The 

defendant might then be ordered to make restitution, 

or pay a fine, but cannot be incarcerated. 
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refuses to take a test under the Implied Consent Law, 

and so on. 

In 1961, Minnesota passed the civil “Implied 

Consent” law, defining the principle that by driving on 

a public roadway, a person by implication gives 

consent to a test for alcohol upon being stopped by an 

officer having probable cause to suspect impairment.  

If the driver refused the test, the State would revoke 

the person’s driving license for six months.   

In 1971, the criminal law was amended to stipulate 

that having an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or higher 

was no longer just prima facie evidence of 

intoxication, but was in itself (“per se”) a crime.
††††

  

Thus, Minnesota’s “criminal per se” law dates from 

1971.  

In 1976, Minnesota became the first state to pass an 

“administrative per se” law, authorizing the 

Commissioner of Public Safety to revoke a person’s 

driver’s license upon refusal to take the alcohol test or 

upon taking and “failing” the test.
‡‡‡‡

  The 

Commissioner imposes this revocation independently 

of whatever happens in the criminal DWI case, and 

without the need to prove guilt to the higher level 

required in the criminal case.  Almost all states now 

have an “administrative per se” law.
§§§§

 

Thus Minnesota pioneered the “two-track system.”  

The Commissioner of Public Safety revokes the 

driver’s license if a person fails or refuses the test, 

even if the person is found not guilty of the criminal 

DWI charge.  Likewise a court can find a person 

guilty of impaired driving even in the absence of a test 

failure or refusal. 

The complexity of the law often causes more than one 

violation to be recorded on a person’s driving record 

for a single incident.  To make up an extreme 

example:  Suppose a 20-year-old commercial vehicle 

driver is driving while impaired by a combination of 

alcohol and marijuana and has a crash killing another 

driver and injuring two passengers.  Upon arrest, the 

driver refuses a urine test for drugs, but takes and fails 

                                                           
††††

 In 2004 the Legislature reduced the per se level to 

0.08%, effective August 1, 2005. 
‡‡‡‡

 The District of Columbia had a similar ordinance, 

but Minnesota was the first state to pass “administra-

tive per se.” 
§§§§

 Though Minnesota was the first state to have such 

a law, the District of Columbia had a similar 

ordinance prior to the passing of the Minnesota law. 

the breath test, with an alcohol concentration of 

0.15%.   

The driver potentially could incur the following 

violations.  The alcohol test failure is a criminal 

offense under MS 169A.20(1).  It is also a civil law 

violation under MS 169A.52(4).  The drug test refusal 

is a criminal offense under MS 169A.20(2) and is also 

a civil law violation under MS 169A.52(3).  Since the 

driver was under age 21, he violated MS 169A.33(2).  

As a commercial vehicle driver with an AC over .04, 

he violated MS 169A.20(6) and also MS 169A.52(2).  

Since the incident caused a death and two injuries, a 

felony conviction for criminal vehicular operation 

resulting in a fatality is possible under MS 609.21(1), 

and two separate felony convictions for criminal 

vehicular operation resulting in an injury are possible 

under MS 609.21(2).  Each of the above violations 

could cause an entry to the person’s driver record 

(although there can be only one offense under 

MS169A.20).  

Since a single incident may lead to multiple 

violations, a circumstance such as the following could 

occur:  In a year, there are 35,000 impaired driving 

arrests.  Five-hundred of those never get recorded as 

an impaired driving incident.  Among the remaining 

34,500 arrests that do lead to an impaired driving 

incident on record, there are 34,000 civil Implied 

Consent law violations, and 27,000 impaired-driving 

criminal convictions, for a total of 61,000 violations.  

In addition, Minnesotans may incur violations in other 

states and those will be placed on their Minnesota 

driving record.  Also, non-Minnesotans incur 

violations in Minnesota, and the Department of Public 

Safety creates a record in the state’s driver license file 

to keep track of those violations.   

For all these reasons, it is useful to distinguish 

between incidents, violations, and violators.  The 

number of incidents on record in a year should show a 

close correspondence to the number of arrests in a 

year.  Violations will be more numerous, and the types 

of violations incurred will help to characterize an 

incident.  For example, did the incident involve test 

failure or test refusal?  Was an injury or fatality 

involved?  It is also useful to think about incidents 

separately from the persons who committed them.  A 

person may go through an irresponsible phase in his or 

her life and incur several incidents in a year or two, 

and then reform.  Thus, in a year, there may be 34,500 

incidents on record, but if 1,500 persons were arrested 

twice, and 500 were arrested three times in the year, 

then 32,000 persons accounted for the 34,500 

incidents.  In this report, Section I deals with impaired 
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driving incidents -- when and where they occurred, 

what types of violations were involved, and so on.  

Section II shows the criminal conviction rates for the 

incidents.  Section III deals with persons -- How many 

have DWI incidents on record?  How many prior 

incidents do they have? and so on.  Section IV focuses 

more specifically on recidivism.  Section V reports 

statistics on crashes and their costs.  For each county, 

it shows total crashes, fatalities, and injuries, and the 

number and percentage of them of them that were 

classified as alcohol-related. 

APPENDIX B 

DEFINITIONS 
 
Disqualification  
 A “disqualification” is the action taken by the 

Commissioner of Public Safety on a person’s 

commercial vehicle driver’s license upon being 

notified that the person was operating a commercial 

vehicle while having an alcohol concentration of 

.04% or higher.  The Commissioner “disqualifies” the 

driver from operating commercial vehicles.  This 

action is mandated under the Implied Consent Law, 

MS 169A.52.  (MS 169A.20 makes it a crime for a 

person to operate a commercial vehicle while having 

an alcohol concentration over 0.04% and provides for 

separate actions upon conviction.) 

 A disqualification is not counted as an impaired 

driving incident unless the driver also had a regular 

implied consent law violation or impaired driving 

conviction. 

DWI 

 “DWI” appears to be the historic and classic term 

to designate impaired driving.  It may not have a 

precise definition.  It could stand for driving while 

intoxicated, driving while under the influence, 

driving while impaired. 

 In Minnesota, a usage evolved to some extent that 

the term “DWI” refers to an actual conviction under 

the criminal statute while the term “implied consent” 

or “administrative license revocation” refers to the 

revocation by the Commissioner of Public Safety 

under the Implied Consent law. 

 Thus, if John Doe got convicted in court under 

MS169A.20, it would be said that he “got a DWI.”  If 

he did not get convicted but did get revoked under 

the Implied Consent law (169A.50 to 169A.53), then 

it would not be said that he got a DWI, but that he 

“got an implied consent.” 

 Throughout this report, the term “impaired driving 

incident [on record]” (or merely “incident”) is used 

as a collective term to designate a “DWI,” or an 

implied consent revocation, or a single incident that 

resulted in both an administrative license revocation 

and a criminal conviction for an offense specified in 

the impaired driving code. 

DWI Law 

 In 2000, the Legislature completely recodified 

Minnesota’s DWI law.  The changes mostly took 

effect January 1, 2001.  The law up through year 

2000 had become gradually more complex.  The 

main criminal law was contained in MS 169.121.  

Other DWI criminal laws were 169.1211 and 

169.129.  These laws contained many references to 

other laws which had to be consulted to fully 

understand the main law.  The Implied Consent law 

was MS 169.123, and there were many references 

between it and the criminal DWI laws. 

 The 2000 recodification combined all of these into 

a new chapter MS 169A, and specified that “this 

chapter may be cited as the Minnesota Impaired 

Driving Code.” 

 Thus, the term “DWI law” increasingly appears 

obsolete and the preferred term increasingly appears 

to be “impaired driving law." 
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Implied Consent Law 

 Minnesota Statutes, sections 169A.50 to 169A.53, 

make up the “Implied Consent” law -- the civil law 

stating that by implication a person who drives in 

Minnesota gives his or her consent to a chemical test 

for purposes of gathering evidence as to whether or 

not an offense under Minnesota’s impaired driving 

law has occurred.  The chemical test can be of a 

person’s blood, breath, or urine, and the test can be 

for alcohol or for any other substance specified in MS 

169A.20.  Under the Implied Consent Law, the 

Commissioner of Public Safety imposes a one-year 

license revocation for test refusal, or a ninety-day to 

one-year revocation (depending on the prior record) 

for a test failure.  

Incident  

 An episode of impaired driving, regardless of 

whether it is detected and prosecuted. 

Incident on Record 

 An incident on record is an episode of impaired 

driving or an episode in which the Implied Consent 

law was violated and the following also occurred:  

The incident was detected and a stop was made and 

the driver was found in court to have violated the 

criminal impaired driving law 169A.20, or it was 

established that the driver violated the Implied 

Consent law either (1) by taking a chemical test and 

“failing” it, or (2) by refusing to take the required 

test.  Furthermore, the fact of this criminal offense 

and/or civil law violation has been recorded on the 

person’s Minnesota driving record. 

Minnesota Resident 
 As used in this report, a person for whom records 

maintained by the Department of Public Safety show 

to be a current resident of Minnesota.  Note that the 

Department of Public Safety may not be promptly 

notified that a person died, or (as may especially be 

true of multiple DWI offenders) that a person moved 

from the state. 

Non-Minnesota Resident 

 As used in this report, a person for whom records 

maintained by the Department of Public Safety show 

as not being a current resident of Minnesota.  The 

person may have been a resident and moved away, or 

may never have been a resident. 

Not-a-drop 
 Minnesota Statute 169A.33 is sometimes referred 

to as the “not a drop” law.  It provides that a person 

under the age of 21 who drives with any amount of 

alcohol shall have his or her license revoked by the 

Commissioner of Public Safety.  In this report, a not-

a-drop violation is not counted as an impaired driving 

incident unless the driver also had a regular implied 

consent law violation or impaired driving conviction. 

Offender  
 A person who has committed a petty 

misdemeanor, misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or 

felony, regardless of whether it is detected and 

prosecuted. 

Offense 

 A petty misdemeanor, misdemeanor, gross 

misdemeanor, or felony.  (All DWI offenses are 

misdemeanor or higher.)  An offense may or may not 

be detected and prosecuted. 

Violation  
 A breaking of one of Minnesota’s criminal or civil 

laws. 

Violator  
 A person who breaks a criminal or civil law in 

Minnesota. 
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APPENDIX C 

CHRONOLOGY OF MINNESOTA IMPAIRED DRIVING LEGISLATION SINCE 1911 

Laws that appear especially significant--to be “landmarks”--are highlighted in bold font.  Starting in 1987, 

the date on which a law went into effect is shown in parentheses after the description of the law. 

Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year Reference 

passed Number  Description of Amendment 

1911 1  Driving while in an intoxicated condition is defined to be a misdemeanor. 

1917 1  Three-month forfeiture of driver’s license upon conviction for DWI. 

 2  Violation of license forfeiture is defined to be a misdemeanor. 

1925 1  A second or subsequent DWI is raised to gross misdemeanor status. 

 2  Criminal penalty for repeat offenders shall include license revocation for three months to 

one year. 

1927 1  First DWI offense raised to gross misdemeanor status. 

 2 Prison for all offenders. 

 Penalty for all offenders:  prison 10 days to 1 year, plus fine of not more than $1,000, 

plus license revocation for not longer than two years. 

1937 1  All DWI offenses reduced to misdemeanor status. 

 2 Criminal penalties reduced. 

 Penalty for first offense: Prison 10 to 90 days or fine of $10 to $100, or both.  

License revocation. 

 Penalty for repeat offenders: Prison 30 to 90 days or fine of $25 to $100, or both.  

License revocation. 

1939 1  Commissioner shall revoke offenders’ driver’s licenses in accordance with 

recommendation of the court. 

1941 1 90 day license revocation. 

 All offenders shall have driver’s license revoked for not less than 90 days. 

1955 1 Blood alcohol concentration (“BAC”) levels defined for use as evidence. 

Results of chemical test for level of alcohol in the blood as measured from blood, breath, 

urine, or saliva specimen taken from defendant within two hours of arrest, is admissible 

as evidence. 

 BAC of .000 to .049 is prima facie evidence of innocence. 

 BAC of .050 to .149 is relevant, but not prima facie, evidence of intoxication. 

 BAC of .150 or greater is  prima facie evidence of intoxication. 

1957 1  Two-hour time limit (see 1955:1) changed from two hours from time of arrest to two 

hours from time of offense. 

 2 License revocation reduced. 

 License revocation for first offenders reduced from 90 days to not less than 30 days.   

Penalty for a repeat offense within three years increased to prison for 10 to 90 days, plus 

license revocation for not less than 90 days. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year Reference 

passed number  Description of Amendment 

1957 3 Offense causing injury or death. 

 Penalty for offenders causing grievous injury or death:  prison 60 to 90 days, plus license 

revocation for not less than 90 days. 

1959 1 Open Bottle Law. 

 It is a misdemeanor to have an open container of alcohol in the passenger compartment of 

a vehicle. 

1961 1 Implied Consent Law. 

 Under civil law, a person who drives a motor vehicle on a public roadway is deemed to 

have given consent to a test for blood alcohol concentration by means of testing a blood, 

breath, urine, or saliva specimen. 

 2 Commissioner to revoke driver’s license for 6 months for test refusal. 

 Under the rationale provided by the new civil Implied Consent law, Commissioner shall 

impose a 6-month license revocation on persons who refuse to submit to evidentiary 

BAC test. 

 The Commissioner shall issue a twenty-day temporary license to give the person time to 

appeal, and the license revocation shall take effect at the end of twenty days, barring 

appeal. 

 3 Refusal to submit to evidentiary test shall not be admissible as evidence in criminal court. 

 4 When BAC is measured by test of breath, urine, or saliva, the BAC levels defined as 

“relevant” and “prima facie” evidence of intoxication (see 1955:1) shall be increased by 

20%. 

1967 1 Elimination of use of saliva test to determine BAC. 

 2 Two-hour time limit on collection of evidence removed. 

 3 BAC level of 0.10% is prima facie evidence of intoxication. 

 A BAC of 0.000--0.049 shall be considered prima facie evidence of innocence. 

 A BAC of 0.055--0.099 shall be considered as relevant, but not prima facie, 

evidence of intoxication. 

 A BAC of 0.100 or greater shall be considered prima facie evidence of 

intoxication. 

 4 When BAC is measured by test of breath or urine, the BAC levels defined as “relevant” 

and “prima facie” evidence of intoxication (see 1967:3) shall be increased by 10%. 

Late 1  The “B-Card” restriction 

1960s Commissioner initiates administrative policy (under authority of MS 171.04, in effect 

since 1957, or before) that the driver’s license of a person convicted of DWI a third time 

within 5 years, or a fourth or subsequent time within ten years, shall be “cancelled and 

denied” on the grounds that the Commissioner has determined that it would be “inimical 

to public safety” for the person to hold a driver’s license. 

 The driver’s license may be reinstated if the person complies with rehabilitation 

requirements established by Commissioner. 

 Included in the administrative procedures is the important restriction now referred to as 

the “B-Card restriction.”   The person’s driver’s license shows the “B-Card” restriction, 

which, specifically, is that the person may not consume any alcohol anywhere under any 

circumstances.   If the commissioner learns that the person has failed to comply with 

this restriction, then the Commissioner re-imposes the “cancel[ed] and deny” action on 

the person’s driver’s license. 

1969 1 Upon medical recommendation, court may stay imposition of criminal penalties on 

condition that offender submit to medical treatment. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year Reference 

passed number Description of Amendment 

1971 1 Criminal per se law enacted. 

 A BAC of .10% is defined to be illegal per se (in itself):  If an evidentiary chemical test 

to determine BAC shows that one-tenth of one percent (1 part per thousand) of the 

driver’s blood is alcohol, then the driver has committed a misdemeanor.  It is not 

necessary to prove that the driver was “intoxicated” or impaired.  The BAC of 0.10% or 

greater is itself a misdemeanor.  

 This landmark law facilitated prosecution; however, it had the unintended effect of 

causing the BAC level, instead of actual impairment, to become the standard for proving 

guilt.  Drivers might be very impaired at lower BAC levels, but a BAC below 0.10% 

would make prosecution difficult. 

 2 Preliminary breath test.  

 Officer may utilize preliminary breath test to help determine if there are probable grounds 

for arrest and for request for the evidentiary test. 

 3 Test at scene of accident, upon probable cause. 

 When a person is involved in a traffic crash causing property damage, injury, or death, 

officer may, upon probable cause to suspect a violation, request preliminary and 

evidentiary BAC tests of person (under penalty of license revocation for refusal). 

 4 The per se illegal BAC level of 0.10% no longer has to be increased by 10% (see 1967:4) 

when BAC is measured through test of breath or urine specimen. 

1973 1 Maximum fine for a first offense increased to $300.00. 

 2 Penalty for offenders causing grievous injury or death reduced to prison for 60 to 90 

days, or fine of not more than $300, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 90 

days.  (Prison is no longer mandated; see 1957:3.) 

1976 1 “Administrative per se” law enacted. 

 Important landmark:  Though the District of Columbia had a similar ordinance, 

Minnesota is the first state to enact the now almost universal “administrative per se” law. 

 The Commissioner of Public Safety automatically imposes a 90-day license revocation 

on drivers found to have a BAC of 0.10% or higher.  The Commissioner first issues a 20-

day temporary license, during which time the driver may request a judicial hearing on the 

administrative revocation.  (Test refusal continues to trigger a six-month license 

revocation; see 1961:1.) 

 A request for a hearing stays imposition of the revocation. 

 2 Commissioner may issue limited licenses to persons whose licenses were revoked under 

the “administrative per se” law. 

 3 Alcohol safety programs in counties 

 Counties of more than 10,000 population shall establish “Alcohol Safety Programs” to 

conduct alcohol problem assessments on DWI (and other) offenders.  Results of 

assessments to be reported to the court. 

 The court may stay criminal penalties and require the offender to get treatment.  The 

court may do this on the basis of the “alcohol problem assessment” report; a medical 

examination of the offender is no longer required. 

 4 If a first-time offender complies with treatment program, the commissioner may 

terminate the administrative per se revocation after 60 days. 

1978 1 Administrative revocation expedited. 
 Arresting officer shall serve as “agent of the commissioner” and shall confiscate the 

person’s driver’s license, forward it to the Commissioner, and shall a issue temporary 

license, valid for 30 days, to the person. 

  



 

Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2012 Page 48 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety 

Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year Reference 

passed number  Description of Amendment 

1978 2 Person has 30 days to request a judicial hearing on the administrative revocation for test 

failure or test refusal.  A request for a hearing stays imposition of the revocation. 

 3 Concept of BAC changed to AC (alcohol concentration). 

 Per se illegal levels are separately defined for alcohol concentrations in blood, breath, 

and urine. 

 4 Criminal penalties explicitly defined. 

 For first offense:  prison for not more than 90 days, or fine of not more than 

$500, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 30 days. 

 Offense within 3 years of a prior offense:  prison for not more than 90 days, or 

fine of not more than $500 (raised from $300), or both, plus revocation of not 

less than 90 days.  

 For offenders causing bodily harm or death:  prison for not more than 90 days, 

or fine of not more than $500, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 

90 days. 

 5 “Aggravated violations” raised to gross misdemeanor status.  
 (An aggravated violation is the act of driving while under the influence while already 

under revocation for driving while under the influence.) 

 6 Jurisdiction for prosecuting aggravated violations transferred from county court to district 

court. 

 7 Upon conviction, court shall act for commissioner by taking person’s driver’s license and 

sending it to the commissioner, if the license has not already been taken by officer at time 

of arrest 

 8 Court shall give due consideration to alcohol problem assessment report. 

 9 “B-Card restriction” upon implied consent violation. 

 Commissioner shall “cancel and deny” driver’s license of persons who incur a third 

incident in five years, or a fourth or subsequent incident in 10 years, where incident is 

defined as either an implied consent violation or an impaired driving conviction.  The 

cancellation shall remain in effect until rehabilitation requirements imposed by the 

commissioner are proven to have been met.  Licenses reinstated will include the “B-card 

restriction” (requiring total abstinence, 24 hour a day).  Formerly, license cancellation 

and denial, and the B-card restriction if reinstated, was only applied upon a third criminal 

conviction.  (See entry under “late 1960s.”) 

1980 1 A request for testimony of person who performed laboratory analysis must be received at 

least ten days in advance of judicial hearing on administrative revocation, and, also, at 

least ten days in advance of trial. 

1981 1 Court may not stay imposition of the license revocation under criminal law (but may still 

order a limited license to be issued). 

1982 1 At a crash scene, upon probable cause, officer may arrest a person for driving while 

under the influence, without warrant, regardless of whether officer witnessed violation. 

 2 Officer no longer required to offer blood test. 

 3 Temporary license issued by officer at time of arrest is valid for 7 days (reduced from 

30). 

 4 Request for judicial hearing no longer stays revocation from taking effect. 

 Defense attorneys had used the mechanism of requesting a judicial hearing on the 

administrative revocation as a tactic to delay and weaken the state’s case. 

 This landmark change, whereby the hearing request no longer stays imposition of the 

revocation, caused hearing requests filed with Attorney General’s Office to decrease from 

about 1,000 per month to about 100 per month. 

 5 Judicial hearing procedure expedited. 

 “The hearing shall be held at the earliest practicable data, and in any event no later than 

60 days following the filing of the petition for review.” 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year Reference 

passed number Description of Amendment 

1982 6 Administrative review of the Implied Consent revocation. 

 Establishes procedure, independent of judicial hearing, for administrative review (by 

commissioner) of administrative revocation.  A request for administrative review shall 

not stay imposition of revocation. 

 7 A request for testimony of person who drew blood must be received at least ten days in 

advance of judicial hearing on administrative revocation, and, also, at least ten days in 

advance of trial. 

 8 Alcohol concentration test result on specimen taken within two hours of offense is 

deemed to be alcohol concentration at time of offense.  (Ruled unconstitutional; see 

1984:4) 

 9 Absence of alcohol concentration test shall be admissible as evidence.  

 (Compare with 1961:3 and 1983:2.) 

 10 Repeat offender definition expanded. 

 Definition of second offender expanded to include those who had a prior conviction 

within 5 (increased from 3) years of current incident. 

 11 Repeat offenses raised to gross misdemeanor status. 

 Second offense within 5 years, and third-or-subsequent offense within ten years, raised to 

gross misdemeanor status. 

 12 Longer revocation lengths, under criminal law, upon conviction for third and subsequent 

offenders. 

 13 Courts may no longer require commissioner to issue limited license. 

 14 License revocation imposed on second-time offenders to remain in effect until 

completion of court-ordered treatment program, if any. 

 15 0.07--0.09 AC provision. 

 Upon a report to the Commissioner that a driver had an AC of 0.070 to 0.099, and if this 

report is the second such report within two years, the Commissioner shall order the 

person to submit to an alcohol problem assessment, and to treatment, if indicated by the 

assessment.  The Commissioner shall impose a 90-day license revocation if the driver 

fails to comply. 

1983 1 Officer in fresh pursuit may cross geographic limit of his or her jurisdiction to stop and 

arrest suspect. 

 2 Refusal to take evidentiary test is admissible as evidence in trial.  (See 1961:3 and 

1982:9.) 

 3 Offenders from other states. 

 Repeat offenses and aggravated offenses by drivers from other states shall be subject to 

the gross misdemeanor charge if driver’s state of residence has statute in conformity with 

Minnesota’s criminal DWI statute. 

 4 Jurisdiction for prosecuting aggravated violations transferred from district court back to 

county court.  (See 1978:6.) 

1984 1 Evidentiary test made mandatory. 

 New language is added to the Implied Consent Notice, read to the offender at arrest, 

stating that Minnesota law requires the test to be performed.  (As before, if the offender 

refuses the test, the refusal shall trigger license revocation.  Language is more explicit 

now.) 

 2 Administrative revocation for test refusal increased from 6 months to 1 year.  

 3 Longer revocation for juveniles. 

 Juveniles who refuse to take, or who take and fail, the evidentiary test shall experience 

the normal administrative revocation, or revocation until 18 years of age, whichever is 

longer. 

 Also, adults who had adjudications for impaired driving as juveniles may be subject to 

the gross misdemeanor penalties provided for repeat offenders. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year Reference 

passed number Description of Amendment 

1984 4 Alcohol concentration of 0.10% or greater, as measured within 2 hours of offense, is 

made a criminal offense per se.  (See 1982:8.) 

1987 1 County alcohol safety program expanded. 

 All counties (not just those over 10,000 population) must establish an Alcohol Safety 

Program (see 1976:3) for the purpose of conducting alcohol problem screenings, and for 

conducting comprehensive chemical use assessments on persons whom screenings show 

as having a possible problem.  (Effective 8/1/87) 

 2 Violators to pay chemical use assessment fee. 

 All violators shall pay a $75 chemical use assessment fee.  Money collected to be 

credited to newly created “Drinking and Driving Repeat Offense Prevention Account.” 

(8/1/87) 

 3 Snowmobile operation while impaired and ATV operation while impaired made 

comparable to normal motor vehicle operation while impaired.  (8/1/87) 

1988 1 Mandatory License Plate Impoundment Law. 
 Courts mandated to order certain repeat violators to surrender license plates for all 

vehicles which they own or lease.  The following shall be subject to mandatory license 

plate impoundment:  

1. A person who incurs a violation within 5 years of three prior incidents. 

2. A person who incurs a violation within 10 years or four or more prior incidents. 

 (8/1/88) 

 2 Special series license plates. 

 “Special Series” license plates for vehicles may be issued if the violator obtains a limited 

license or if others in violator’s household have a need to operate the vehicle whose 

plates have been impounded.  (8/1/88) 

 (The “special series” plates are recognizable by officers, but not by the general public,  

 as signifying a vehicle whose normal license plates have been impounded.) 

 3 Mandatory minimum criminal sentences. 

 Mandatory minimum sentences established for certain repeat violators (a person who 

incurs an offence within 5 years of a prior incident, or who incurs an offence within 10 

years of two or more prior incidents):  30 days imprisonment, or 8 hours of community 

service for each day less than 30 days served.  (8/1/88) 

1989 1 Test refusal by repeat violators criminalized. 

 It is a gross misdemeanor to refuse an alcohol test if the person has one prior incident 

within 5 years or two or more prior incidents within 10 years of the current incident.  

(8/1/89) 

 2 Commercial Driver License “disqualification” introduced. 

 The Commissioner of Public Safety shall disqualify a person from operating a 

commercial motor vehicle (CMV) if the person refuses an alcohol concentration test, or 

takes the test and has an AC of 0.04% or greater.  Length of disqualification to be as 

follows: 

 First violation:  1 year. 

 If violation involved hazardous materials:  3 years. 

 If violation is a second or subsequent violation on record:  10 years. 

 (1/1/90) 

1990 1 Administrative license plate impoundment law. 
 Mandatory license plate impoundment (see 1988:1) changed from judicial 

implementation to administrative implementation (by Commissioner of Public Safety), 

and arresting officer shall act as agent of commissioner and impound license plates at 

time of arrest.  (1/1/91) 

 2 Procedure established for administrative review of plate impoundment action.  (1/1/91) 

  



 

Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2012 Page 51 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety 

Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year Reference 

passed number Description of Amendment 

1990 3 Impaired driving at a railroad crossing raised to gross misdemeanor status.  (8/1/90) 

 4 Comprehensive chemical use assessment on all violators. 

 The requirement that all violators submit to a preliminary alcohol problem screening (and 

then a comprehensive assessment if the screening indicates that there may be a chemical 

dependency problem) is eliminated and replaced by the requirement that all violators 

submit to a comprehensive chemical use assessment.  (8/1/90) 

 5 A new level (third in the list below) of criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offense is 

added.  The categories now are:  Criminal Vehicular Operation resulting in 

 1.  death.  

 2.  great bodily harm. 4.  death to an unborn child. 

 3.  substantial bodily harm (new). 5.  injury to an unborn child. 

 (8/1/90) 

1991 1 Establishes 1-year pilot program to test efficacy of ignition interlock devices.  (8/1/91) 

 2 Counties authorized to channel offenders “considered to be of high risk to the 

community” into a pilot program of intensively supervised probation.  (8/1/91) 

1992 1 Any test refusal is defined to be a crime (1/1/93). 

 (Previously, test refusal by a repeat violator was a crime.  See 1989:1). 

 2 Violations triggering mandatory license plate impoundment (see 1988:1) expanded to 

also include: 

1. any “aggravated violation” (see 1978:5). 

2. any violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person’s 

driver’s license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would be 

inimical to public safety.  (See entry under “late 1960s.”) 

 (1/1/93) 

 3 Chemical dependency assessment fee (see 1987:2), required of all violators except those 

determined indigent, raised from $76 to $125.  (7/1/92) 

 4 Vehicle Forfeiture law. 
 If a person is convicted of  

1. impaired driving within 5 years of 3 prior incidents, or 

2. impaired driving within 10 years of four or more prior incidents, or 

3. aggravated impaired driving, or 

4. any violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person’s 

driver’s license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would 

be inimical to public safety, 

 then the vehicle used in the offense is subject to impoundment and forfeiture.  (1/1/93) 

 5 “Hard revocation” periods established.  
 A person shall not be eligible to obtain a “limited license” for a certain length of time (-- 

the “hard” period of the revocation).  The hard periods are as follows: 

 for a first incident:  15 days. 

 for a subsequent incident:  90 days. 

 for a test refusal:  180 days. 

 (1/1/93) 

 6 Recidivism problem study commission established. 

 “Commission on Confinement and Treatment of DWI Recidivists.”  (1/1/93) 
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1992 7 Test may be compelled by force in event of CVO. 

 Test for alcohol and/or controlled substances may be compelled (by force if necessary) if 

there is probable cause to suspect criminal vehicular operation. 

 Since 1961, an officer may “require” a test, but a person might refuse (triggering license 

revocation).  Now, in the event of suspected CVO, officer may require, and compel by 

force if necessary, the test.  (1/1/93) 

1993 1 “Not-a-Drop” law enacted. 

 Upon notification by a court that a person under the age of 21 has been found to have any 

quantity whatsoever of alcohol or of a controlled substance, the Commissioner of Public 

Safety shall revoke the driver’s license of the under-age person.  (6/1/93) 

 2 Child Endangerment law enacted. 

 It is a gross misdemeanor for a person to drive while impaired and there is a child in the 

vehicle who is under the age of 16 and who is more than 36 months younger than the 

offender.  (8/1/93) 

 3 Length of “hard revocation” (see 1992:4) increased to 1 year if the violation includes a 

conviction for criminal vehicular operation.  (1/1/94) 

1994 1 “Habitual Offender” penalties established. 

 A person who incurs 6 or more incidents in 10 years, or 8 or more in 15 years, must be 

sentenced to a minimum of 1 year incarceration or to a program of intensively supervised 

probation.  (8/1/94) 

1996 1 Not-a-drop violation raised to misdemeanor status. 

 In addition to license revocation by the commissioner of Public Safety, the “not-a-drop” 

violation (see 1993:1) is defined to be a misdemeanor offense.  (8/1/96) 

 2 Additional test for controlled substances permitted. 

 Arresting officer is explicitly authorized to require a blood or urine specimen, even after 

a breath test has been performed, if the officer has reason to believe the person was 

impaired by a substance not susceptible to analysis by means of a breath test.  (8/1/97) 

 3 Criminal Vehicular Operation expanded. 

 A new level (fourth in the list below) of criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offenses is 

added.  The categories now are:  Criminal Vehicular Operation resulting in: 

 1.  a fatality. 4.  bodily harm (new). 

 2.  great bodily harm. 5.  death to an unborn child. 

 3.  substantial bodily harm. 6.  injury to an unborn child. 

 (8/1/96) 

1997 1 Special provisions for high-AC (0.20% or higher) offenders established. 

 Driving while having an Alcohol Concentration of 0.20% or higher is defined to be a 

gross misdemeanor. 

 Length of Commissioner’s administrative revocation is doubled from that imposed on 

violators who test below 0.20%.  Revocation lengths therefore are: 

 BAC less then 0.20 BAC 0.20+ 

 First incident 90 days 180 days 

 Second incident within 5 years 180 days 360 days 

 Incident by violator under 21 6 months one year 

 (1/1/98) 
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1997 2 New offense category, “Enhanced Gross Misdemeanor,” with stricter criminal penalties, 

established. 

 The following violations are defined to be “enhanced gross misdemeanors:” 

1. Driving while impaired within 10 years of two prior incidents.  

2. Driving with an AC of 0.20% or higher within ten years of a prior incident. 

3. Child Endangerment (see 1993:2) within 10 years of a prior incident. 

4. Driving while impaired and not stopping at a railroad crossing within 10 years 

of a prior incident.  (1/1/98) 

 3 Officer authorized to stop vehicle bearing special plates. 

 Officer is explicitly authorized to stop a vehicle bearing “special series” plates (see 

1988:2) to determine if the driver “is operating the vehicle lawfully.”  (1/1/98) 

 4 Procedure established for “administrative forfeiture” of violator’s vehicle.  

 Prior to this, vehicle forfeiture was conducted through a judicial forfeiture procedure.  

Now, law enforcement agencies may impound a vehicle and institute forfeiture 

procedures.  The following violations will cause the vehicle used in the violation to be 

subject to administrative forfeiture: 

1. a violation within 5 years of 2 prior incidents. 

2. a violation within 15 years of 3 prior incidents. 

3. a violation that includes child endangerment within 5 years of 1 prior incident. 

4. a violation that includes child endangerment within 15 years of 2 prior incidents. 

5. a violation that includes a high AC within 5 years of 1 prior incident. 

6. a violation that includes a high AC within 15 years of 2 prior incidents.  (1/1/98) 

 5 Violations that trigger license plate impoundment (see 1988:1 and 1992:2) are greatly 

expanded to include: 

1. a violation within 5 years of a prior incident. 

2. a violation within 15 years of two or more prior incidents. 

3. an “aggravated violation” (see 1978:6). 

4. a violation that includes a high AC (.20% or higher). 

5. a violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person’s 

driver’s license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would 

be inimical to public safety.  (1/1/98) 

1998 1 Program to use “remote [home] electronic alcohol monitoring” established. 

 Judges who sentence offenders to a program of intensively supervised probation (see 

1991:2) are authorized to require violators to submit to a program of remote electronic 

alcohol monitoring.  Unless determined indigent, offenders to pay the per-diem cost of 

the program.  (8/1/98) 

 2 Increased fee for special series plates. 

 Fee for issuing “special series” license plates to violators whose normal license plates 

have been impounded is increased from $25 (for an unspecified number of vehicles) to 

$50 for each vehicle for which special series plates are issued.  (8/1/98) 

1999 1 Enhanced gross misdemeanor repealed. 

 Use of the term “enhanced gross misdemeanor” as a new category of offense (see 1997:2) 

is repealed, but the expanded penalty provisions for the offenses that had been identified 

as “enhanced gross misdemeanors” are retained. 

  Also, courts are explicitly authorized to substitute a program of intensively 

supervised probation, with electronic home alcohol monitoring, in place of the mandatory 

incarceration periods.  (5/25/99) 
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1999 2 Prior violations involving snowmobile, ATV, or motorboat to be counted. 

 Makes explicit that violations triggering the revocation of snowmobile, all-terrain 

vehicle, or motorboat operating privileges are to be included among the types of prior 

violations counted in determining the charge (misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor) made 

for a current incident.  (8/1/99) 

2000 1 All existing impaired-driving statutes are repealed. 

 All provisions of impaired-driving law, with some amendments, are recodified as 

Minnesota Statute 169A, which provides that “this chapter may be cited as the 

Minnesota Impaired Driving Code.” 

 Chief among the statutes repealed are: 

1. MS 168.042, the license plate impoundment law. 

(incorporated into 169A.60). 

2. MS 169.121, the main criminal impaired driving law. 

(incorporated into 169A.20 to 169A.48). 

3. MS169.1211, “alcohol-related” driving by commercial vehicle operators. 

(incorporated into 169A.20, 169A.31, and 169A.50 to 169A.53). 

4.  MS 169.122, the “open-bottle law.” 

(incorporated into 169A.35). 

5. MS 169.123, the main civil (“Implied Consent”) impaired driving law. 

(incorporated into 169A.50 to 169A.53). 

6. MS 169.124 through MS 169.126, mandating counties to provide Alcohol 

Safety Programs to conduct chemical use assessments on persons convicted of 

an offense (when the arrest that led to the conviction was for an impaired driving 

offense). 

(incorporated into 169A.70). 

7. MS 169.1265, authorizing use of intensively supervised probation programs in 

lieu of incarceration. 

(incorporated into 169A.73 and 169A.74). 

8. MS 169.1217, providing for vehicle forfeiture, administrative and judicial 

procedures. (incorporated into 169A.63). 

9. MS 169.126 defining an “aggravated violation.”  

Concept of “aggravated” violations is re-defined in terms of “aggravating 

factors.” (incorporated into 169A.20 through 169A.275). 

 The Not-A-Drop law for underage divers is incorporated into 169A.33. 

 (1/1/01) 

 2 First-, Second-, and Third-Degree Impaired Driving offenses introduced, 

determined by number of “aggravating factors.” 

 Concept of aggravating factors introduced.  Aggravating factors are defined to be: 

1. Child endangerment (see 1993:2). 

2. Having a high (0.20% or higher) alcohol-concentration (see 1997:1). 

3. Each prior incident within ten years counts as 1 aggravating factor. 

 A first-degree impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense with two 

or more aggravating factors, and is a gross misdemeanor. 

 A second-degree impaired driving  offense is an impaired driving offense with 

one aggravating factor, and is a gross misdemeanor. 

 A third-degree impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense with 

aggravating factors, and is a misdemeanor. (1/1/98) 
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2000 4 Mandatory license plate impoundment violations (see 1988:1 and 1997:5) further 

expanded to also include: 

1. any violation involving child endangerment (see 1993:2). 

2. an incident within 10 years of a prior incident. 

3. a commercial vehicle driver license disqualification (see 1989:2) within ten 

years of prior such disqualification. 

 (1/1/01) 

 3 Custodial arrest for first-degree impaired driving. 

 Officer is mandated to make a custodial arrest (the person must be taken into custody) if 

the officer has reason to believe the person committed a first-degree impaired driving 

offense.  (1/1/01) 

 5 Court is authorized to increase maximum fine by $1,000 if offender has high AC (0.20% 

or higher).  (1/1/01) 

 6 A “working group on DWI Felony” law is established and the Commissioner of 

Corrections is to develop a plan for how felony level offenders may be processed. 

2001 1 Felony DWI law enacted. 

 A felony impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense within ten years of 3 or 

more prior incidents.  The felony penalty is stipulated:  “The court shall sentence [the 

offender]... to imprisonment for not less than three years.  In addition, the court may 

order the person to pay a fine of not more than $14,000.”  (Maximum prison penalty is 

stipulated as “not more than 7 years”.) 

 The new categorization of offense levels is as follows: 

4. First-degree impaired driving offense:  felony. 

5. Second-degree impaired driving offense (two or more aggravating factors):  

gross misdemeanor. 

6. Third-degree impaired driving offense (1 aggravating factor):  gross 

misdemeanor. 

7. Fourth-degree impaired driving offense (no aggravating factors):  misdemeanor. 

 (8/1/02) 

 2 Driver license reinstatement fees increased. 

 The total fee had been $250.00 with a $40 surcharge (total $290).  That total is increased to: 

1. $395 ($250 fee and $145 surcharge) effective July 1, 2002. 

2. $630 ($250 fee and $380 surcharge) effective July 1, 2003. 

 3 Custodial arrest for first- and second-degree impaired driving. 

 Officer is mandated to make a custodial arrest (the person must be taken into custody) if 

the officer has reason to believe the person committed a first-degree or a second-degree 

impaired driving offense.  (See 2000:3.)  (8-1-02) 

 4 Two new misdemeanor crimes are defined. 

1. It is a misdemeanor for a person whose vehicles has had its license plates 

impounded to drive any vehicle. 

2. It is a misdemeanor for a person who purchases a vehicle, the plates for which 

have been impounded, to allow the violator to drive the vehicle.  

 (8/1/02) 
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2002 1 License cancellation (and “B-Card restriction” upon reinstatement) triggered 

earlier. 

 Under the commissioner’s authority to withhold a driver’s license from persons whose 

driving behavior is determined to be “inimical to public safety,” a third impaired driving 

incident within 5 years, or a fourth or subsequent one within ten years, triggered the 

Department of Public Safety to “cancel and deny” the person’s driver’s license, until 

rehabilitation is established.  If the license is reinstated, it carries the “B-Card restriction,” 

requiring total abstinence 24 hours a day. 

 By administrative rule, the triggering of the license cancellation (and B-Card restriction if 

reinstated) is advanced to a third or subsequent impaired driving incident within ten 

years. 

 (See entry under late 1960s, and 1978, 9). 

 (November, 2002). 

2003 1 Two inadequate breath samples constitute refusal. 

 In submitting to the breath alcohol test, if a person fails to provide two samples of breath 

that are adequate for the chemical test to be performed, that failure shall “constitute a 

refusal” to provide a breath test.  (8/1/03) 

 2 Test refusal increased to gross misdemeanor offense. 

 A impaired driving incident with no aggravating factors that involves a refusal to take the 

alcohol concentration test is made a third-degree impaired driving offense:  a gross 

misdemeanor.  (8/1/03) 

 3 Prior not-a-drop violations not counted in determining degree. 

 If an offender had a prior “not-a-drop” law violation (see 1993:1), and that prior violation 

did not involve a criminal impaired driving offense or an implied consent violation, then 

that prior violation shall not be included as a prior incident for purposes of determining 

the degree of the current incident.  (8/1/03) 

2004 1 The per se illegal alcohol concentration level is reduced from 0.10% to 0.08%.  
 The new 0.08% illegal per se level applies to criminal offenses and civil law violations.  

That is, effective August 1, 2005, driving while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08% 

or higher is per se a criminal offense that will trigger criminal penalties.  It is also a civil 

(Implied Consent) law violation that triggers the Commissioner of Public Safety to 

impose license revocation or cancellation actions on the violator.  (8/1/05) 

 2 Commercial Driver License Disqualification made more stringent. 

 The Minnesota Legislature adopts law that Minnesota shall enforce US Department of 

Transportation Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration requirements regarding 

disqualifying persons from operating commercial motor vehicles.  Those requirements 

(as of 2006) provide that: 

1. if a person is convicted of test refusal or of impaired driving (in any vehicle, not 

just a commercial vehicle), for a first time, he or she shall be disqualified from 

operating a commercial vehicle for one year. 

2. If the conviction was for an incident involving transport of hazardous materials, 

the disqualification shall be for three years. 

3. Any second test-refusal or impaired-driving conviction shall trigger lifetime 

disqualification. 
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2010 1 DWI Sanctions Strengthened;  Ignition Interlocks Required.  

 Legislation adopted to strengthen sanctions against DWI offenders and require certain 

offenders to use ignition interlock devices. The legislation becomes effective July 1, 

2011, and aims to enhance road safety to prevent alcohol-related crashes which account 

for one-third of all Minnesota traffic deaths annually. The legislation gives DWI 

offenders a chance to regain driving privileges by ensuring safe and legal driving through 

the use of interlocks.   Interlock devices are installed in a vehicle and require a driver to 

provide a breath sample in order for the vehicle to start. The vehicle will not start if the 

device detects an alcohol-concentration level of 0.02 or above after the driver blows into 

its tube. Interlocks require rolling re-tests after the initial test, and have features to deter 

others from starting the vehicle for the intended user.   The legislation includes: 

1.  DWI offenders with a 0.16 and above alcohol-concentration level will be 

required to have ignition interlock devices installed on any vehicle they drive. 

2. DWI offenders with a 0.16 and above alcohol-concentration level that choose 

not to use ignition interlocks will not have driving privileges ranging from one 

year to six years — depending on offense level. Offenders with three or more 

DWIs in a 10-year period will be required to use interlocks. 

3. Interlock users will regain full driving privileges immediately after the offense, 

ensuring they are driving with a valid license and not a threat on the roadway. 

4.  Interlocks will be used to monitor chronic DWI offenders (three or more DWIs 

in 10 year period) to verify chemical use. 

 (05/18/10) 

Minnesota law dealing with impaired driving is complex.  The chronology above is selective.  Not all amendments can 

be described in detail.  (See the “Overview of Minnesota’s DWI Laws” by Jim Cleary and Rebecca Pirius, reprinted as 

Appendix D, for a complete and accurate description of current law and practice).  Persons with expertise in this area are 

encouraged to notify us if any errors are discovered.
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Prohibited Behaviors 

Minnesota’s DWI law stipulates that it is a 

crime:  

1) to drive, operate, or be in control of any 

motor vehicle anywhere in the state while:  

 under the influence of alcohol, a controlled 

substance, or (knowingly) a hazardous substance, 
or any combination of these;  

 having an alcohol concentration (AC) of .08 (.08 

means .08 percent alcohol concentration, which is 

8/10,000ths by volume) or more at the time or 
within two hours of doing so;  

 having any amount or the metabolites of a 

schedule I or II controlled substance, other than 
marijuana, in the body; or  

 if the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle, 

having an alcohol concentration of .04 or more at 

the time or within two hours of doing so; or  

2) to refuse to submit to a chemical test of the 

person’s blood, breath, or urine under Minnesota 

Statutes, section 169A.52 (implied consent law).  

Criminal Penalties  

Criminal penalties upon conviction for DWI are 

tiered, as follows:  

• Fourth-Degree DWI – misdemeanor, punishable 

by up to 90 days of jail and a $1,000 fine (for the 

person’s first impaired driving violation within ten 

years without test refusal or any aggravating factors)  

• Third-Degree DWI – a gross misdemeanor, 

punishable by up to one year of jail and a $3,000 fine 

(for the person’s second impaired driving violation 

within ten years or first such violation with test 

refusal or another aggravating factor)  

• Second-Degree DWI – also a gross misdemeanor 

(for the person’s third impaired driving violation 

within ten years or second such violation with test 

refusal or one other aggravating factor, or first such 

violation with two aggravating factors)  

 First-Degree DWI – felony, punishable by up to 

seven years’ imprisonment and a $14,000 fine 

(for the person’s fourth impaired driving violation 

within ten years or anytime following a previous 

felony DWI or criminal vehicular operation 

conviction; other aggravating factors are not 

considered)  

Aggravating Factor 

This includes:  

 a qualified prior impaired driving incident within 

the preceding ten years;  

 an alcohol concentration of .20 or more upon 

arrest (but not for first-degree DWI); and  

 the presence of a child under age 16 in the 

vehicle, if more than 36 months younger than the 

offender (but not for first-degree DWI).  

Qualified Prior Impaired Driving Incident  

This includes both:  

 prior impaired driving convictions; and  

 prior impaired driving-related losses of license 

(implied consent revocations) or operating 

privileges   

for separate driving incidents within the preceding 

ten years involving any kind of motor vehicle, 

including passenger motor vehicle, school bus or 

Head Start bus, commercial motor vehicle, airplane, 

snowmobile, all terrain vehicle, off-road recreational 

vehicle, or motorboat in operation.  

Chemical Testing   

Minnesota’s implied consent law assumes that a 

person who drives, operates, or is in control of any 

type of motor vehicle anywhere in the state has 

consented to a chemical test of breath, blood, or 

urine for the purpose of determining the presence of 

alcohol or controlled or hazardous substances in the 

person’s body.  The testing is administered at the 

direction of a law enforcement officer when there is 

probable cause that the person has committed a DWI  

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.52
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.52
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.52
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 has been arrested for a DWI violation;  

 has been involved in a motor vehicle crash;  

 has refused to take the DWI screening test; or  

 has taken the screening test and it shows AC of 

.08 or more.  

To build probable cause, the officer generally, 

though not always, proceeds as follows:  

 observes the impaired driving behavior and  

forms a reasonable suspicion of an impaired  

driving violation  

 stops and questions the driver  

 administers a standardized field sobriety test 

(SFST)  

 administers a preliminary breath test (PBT)  

If, based on these screening tests, the officer has 

probable cause to believe that a DWI crime has 

occurred, he or she may arrest the person and demand 

a more rigorous evidentiary test of the person’s 

breath, blood, or urine.  Before administering the 

evidentiary test, the officer must read the implied 

consent advisory statement to the person, explaining 

that testing is mandatory, test refusal is a crime, and 

the person has the right to consult an attorney before 

taking the test. If the evidentiary test is requested 

without the advisory being given, then the person may 

be criminally charged and prosecuted following test 

failure or refusal, but the various administrative 

sanctions cannot be applied.  

If the person is unconscious, consent is deemed not 

to have been withdrawn, and the chemical test may 

be administered.  

The officer chooses whether the test will be of the 

person’s breath, blood, or urine.  A person who 

refuses a blood or urine test must be offered another 

type of test (breath, blood, or urine).   

Blood and urine tests are analyzed by the Bureau of 

Criminal Apprehension (BCA), with results available 

within about ten days.  The BCA may certify 

chemical test results directly to the Department of 
Public Safety (DPS).  

Administrative Sanctions  

Apart from any criminal penalties that may result 

from a DWI arrest, the law provides for three 

administrative sanctions, which can commence 

immediately upon arrest.   

1) Administrative License Revocation (ALR)  

Whenever the implied consent law can be invoked 

during the arrest process, the person’s driver’s 

license can be withdrawn immediately following any 

test failure or test refusal. The person is given a 

seven-day temporary license to drive before the 

withdrawal becomes effective.  The period of license 

withdrawal is as follows:  

 90 days for a person with no qualified prior 

impaired driving incident within the past ten years 

and no other aggravating factor was present in the 

current incident (reducible to 30 days upon DWI 

conviction for a first-time offender)  

 six months, if violator is under age 21  

 180 days, if person has had a qualified prior 

impaired driving incident within ten years  

 double the applicable period above, if the person 

was arrested with an alcohol concentration of .20 

or more or while having a child under age 16 in 

the vehicle  

 one year, if the person refused to submit to  

the chemical test of blood, breath, or urine  

(reducible to 90 days upon DWI conviction  

for a first-time violation)  

 cancelled and denied indefinitely as inimical to 

public safety, pending treatment and 

rehabilitation for a third or more impaired driving 

incident within a ten-year period  

The person may appeal the administrative license 

revocation, either administratively to DPS and/or 

judicially through the court.  (See Minn. Stat. § 

169A.53 for the procedural details.) 

 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.53
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.53
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.53
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2) Administrative License Plate 

Impoundment  

A plate impoundment violation is an impaired 

driving violation involving an aggravating factor, 

such as any of the following:  

 occurring within ten years of a qualified  

prior impaired driving violation by that  

person  

 involving an alcohol concentration of .20 or more  

 having a child under age 16 present in the vehicle  

 occurring while the person’s license has  

been cancelled for the person being inimical  

to public safety  

Plate impoundment applies to:  

 the vehicle used in the plate impoundment 

violation,  

 as well as any vehicle owned, registered, or leased 

in the name of the violator, whether alone or 

jointly.  

A plate impoundment order is issued by the arresting 

officer at the time of arrest and is effective 

immediately.  The officer also seizes the plates and 

issues a temporary vehicle permit valid for seven days 

(or 45 days if the violator is not the owner).  

The minimum term of plate impoundment is one year, 

during which time the violator may not drive any 

motor vehicle unless the vehicle displays specially 

coded plates and the person has been validly 

relicensed to drive. The violator is also subject to 

certain restrictions when selling or acquiring a vehicle 

during the impoundment period.  

Specially coded license plates—signifying to law 

enforcement that the regular plates have been 

impounded for an impaired driving violation—

may be issued for the vehicle(s), provided that:  

 the violator has a properly licensed 

substitute driver;  

 a member of the violator’s household is validly 

licensed;  

 the violator has been validly relicensed; or  

 the owner is not the violator and is validly 

licensed.  

It is a crime for a driver whose plates have been 

impounded to attempt to evade the plate 

impoundment law in certain specified ways, or for 

another person to enable such evasion.  

As with the driver’s license withdrawal sanction, a 

person incurring license plate impoundment may 

appeal this sanction both administratively and/or 

judicially through the court.  (See Minn. Stat. § 

169A.60 for the procedural details.)  

3) Administrative Vehicle Forfeiture  

Minnesota’s DWI law provides for vehicle forfeiture 

for a designated license revocation or designated 

offense, which is typically the third DWI violation 

within a ten-year period, though with one or more 

aggravating factors, a person’s second-time or even 

first-time violation might qualify as well.  

DWI law defines “designated license revocation” as a 

license revocation or commercial license 

disqualification for an implied consent violation 

within ten years of two or more qualified prior 

impaired driving incidents. The term “designated 

offense” includes a DWI violation in the first or 

second degree or involving a person whose driver’s 

license is cancelled as inimical to public safety or 

subject to B-Card (no alcohol) restrictions.  

The law provides that the arresting officer may 

seize the vehicle and requires that the prosecuting 

authority serve notice to the owner(s) of the intent 

to forfeit.  The forfeiture is conducted 

administratively, unless within 30 days the owner 

appeals the forfeiture action by filing for a judicial 

determination of the forfeiture.  

A vehicle is subject to forfeiture under this law only 

if:  

 it was used in the commission of a 

designated offense and the driver was 

 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.60
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.60
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.60
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convicted of that offense or failed to appear at 

trial on it, or   

 it was used in conduct resulting in a designated 

license revocation and the driver either fails to 

seek administrative or judicial review of the 

revocation in a timely manner or the revocation 

is sustained upon review.  

Other vehicles owned by the offender are not subject 

to forfeiture. As a protection for an owner who is not 

the offender, the law states that a motor vehicle is 

subject to forfeiture only if its owner knew or should 

have known of the unlawful or intended use of the 

vehicle.  

Following completion of forfeiture, the arresting 

agency may keep the vehicle for its official use.  

However, the security interest or lease of the financial 

institution, if any, is protected, and the lienholder may 

choose to sell the vehicle at its own foreclosure sale or 

agree to a sale by the arresting agency.  A 

proportionate share of the proceeds, after deduction of 

certain expenses, goes to the financial institution. The 

law provides similar protection to any innocent co-

owner, as well.  

Charging the Crime   

DWI violations may be charged by:  

 citation (very rarely done, and only if a 

misdemeanor);  

 tab charge when booking the person into jail; 

and/or  

 complaint prepared by the prosecutor subsequent 

to arrest.  

In the case of a blood or urine evidentiary test, the 

officer typically tab charges the violator at the time of 

arrest for driving under the influence, which is one 

category of DWI crime.  Then, at the person’s first 

court appearance, the prosecutor requests continuation 

of the charges, pending return of the test results from 

the state crime lab.  If the test results indicate an 

alcohol concentration of .08 or more, the prosecutor is 

allowed to add additional charges orally at the 

person’s next court hearing.  Any charging complaint 

that is subsequently prepared would include all 

relevant charges.  

Mandatory Hold and Conditional 

Release Pretrial  

When a person is arrested for a first-degree (felony) 

or second-degree DWI crime, the person must be 

taken into custody and detained until the person’s 

first court appearance, at which time the court 

generally sets bail and specifies conditions of 

release.  Unless maximum bail ($12,000 for gross 

misdemeanor DWI) is imposed, a person charged 

with any of the following offenses may be granted 

pretrial release from detention, but only if the person 

agrees to abstain from alcohol and to submit to 

remote electronic alcohol monitoring (REAM)  

involving at least daily breath-alcohol measurements.  

The offenses are:  

 a third implied consent or DWI violation within 

ten years;  

 a second violation, if under 19 years of age;  

 a violation while already cancelled as inimical to 

public safety for a prior violation; or  

 a violation involving an alcohol concentration of 

.20 or more.  

Further conditions apply to a person charged with a 

fourth or more violation within ten years, including:  

 impoundment of the vehicle registration plates, or 

impoundment of the off-road recreational vehicle 
or motorboat itself, if one was being driven;  

 a requirement for reporting at least weekly to a 

probation officer, involving random breath 

alcohol testing and/or urinalysis; and  

 a requirement to reimburse the court for these 

services upon conviction for the crime.  

Chemical Dependency Assessment and 

Treatment   

Every person convicted of DWI or a reduced charge 

must submit to a chemical use assessment 

administered by the county ($125 fee, plus $5 

surcharge) prior to sentencing.  The court must order 

the person to submit to the level of treatment care 

recommended by the assessment, if the conviction is 

for a repeat offense within ten years or the conviction 

was for DWI with an AC of .20 or more.  Treatment 

requirements are spelled out in DPS rules.  
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Rehabilitation Following Driver’s 

License Cancellation and Denial  

Chemical dependency rehabilitation is statutorily 

required following a person’s third or subsequent 

impaired driving incident within ten years.  Either a 

conviction or an administrative loss of license, or 

both, constitutes an impaired driving incident.  

Rehabilitation is also required—by DPS 

administrative rule, but not by statute—of a person 

whose license has been cancelled for violating the no 

alcohol provision of a restricted driver’s license—a 

B-Card (which can be obtained only upon successful 

completion of a prior rehabilitation). 

By statute, DPS is authorized to administratively 

establish the standards for rehabilitation, and the 

periods of rehabilitation must be not less than one 

year for the person’s third, and not less than two years 

for the person’s fourth or more impaired driving 

violation.  

Under DPS rules, however, the period of 

rehabilitation is tiered from one to six years, 

according to whether the violator has successfully 

completed rehabilitation previously:  

 one year for the first rehabilitation  

 three years for the second  

 six years for the person’s third or subsequent 

rehabilitation  

According to DPS rules, rehabilitation requires, 

among other things, that the person:   

 successfully complete chemical dependency 

treatment in a program that requires complete 

abstinence from alcohol and controlled 

substances;  

 actively participate in a recognized chemical 

dependency support group;  

 completely abstain from alcohol and controlled 

substances; and  

 obtain sworn affidavits vouching to that 

effect from at least five other familiar 

witnesses (who are not relatives, an 

employer or employees of the person).  

Mandatory Minimum Sentences  

Upon conviction for DWI, repeat offenders are 

subject to the following mandatory minimum 

criminal penalties:  

 second DWI offense within ten years:  

30 days incarceration, at least 48 hours of which 

must be served in jail/workhouse, with eight 

hours of community work service for each day 

less than 30 served  

 third DWI offense within ten years:  

90 days incarceration, at least 30 days of 

which must be served consecutively in a local 

jail/workhouse  

 fourth DWI offense within ten years:  

180 days of incarceration, at least 30 days of 

which must be served consecutively in a local 

jail/workhouse  

 fifth DWI offense within ten years:  

One year of incarceration, at least 60 days of 

which must be served consecutively in a local 

jail/workhouse  

For All Repeat Offenders  

The court may order that the person spend the 

remainder (nonjail portion) of the mandatory 

minimum sentence under REAM or on home 

detention.  

An Alternative to the Mandatory Minimum 

Period of Incarceration  

The court may sentence the offender to a program 

of intensive probation for repeat DWI offenders 

that requires the person to consecutively serve at 

least six days in jail/workhouse and may order that 

the remainder of the minimum sentence be served 

on home detention.  
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Long-term Monitoring Required  

Long-term monitoring applies to most third-time DWI 

offenders and all those under age 19.  When the court 

stays part or all of a jail sentence, it must order the 

offender to submit to REAM for at least 30 days each 

year of probation.  

Felony DWI Penalties  

If a person is convicted of felony DWI and given a 

stayed prison sentence, then that person must be 

sentenced in accordance with the local sentencing 

provisions described in this section. (For more, see 

the Felony DWI section.)  

Intermediate Sanctions and Probation  

When sentencing a DWI offender, the court may 

impose and execute a sentence to incarcerate, or it 

may stay imposition or execution of sentence and:  

 order intermediate sanctions without 

probation; or  

 place the person on probation with or 

without supervision and under terms the 

court prescribes, including intermediate 

sanctions if prescribed.  

The term “intermediate sanction” includes but is not 

limited to jail, home detention, electronic monitoring, 

intensive supervision, sentencing to service, day 

reporting, chemical dependency and mental health 

treatment, restitution, fines, day fines, community 

work service, restorative justice work, and work in 

lieu of fines or restitution.  

For DWI convictions, the maximum period of the 

stay of sentence, is:  

 two years, for a misdemeanor conviction;  

 six years, for a gross misdemeanor conviction; 

and  

 seven years, for a felony DWI conviction.  

Felony DWI  

Minnesota criminal law defines the term felony to 

mean any crime for which incarceration of more  

than one year may be imposed.  Under Minnesota’s 

felony DWI law, a person who commits first-degree 

DWI is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to:  

 imprisonment for not more than seven years (or 

more than seven years if the person has other 

prior criminal history);  

 a fine of not more than $14,000;  

 or both.   

A person is guilty of first-degree DWI if the 

person violates DWI law:  

 within ten years of three or more qualified prior 

impaired driving incidents (defined as prior 

convictions or license revocations for separate 
impaired driving incidents); or  

 has previously been convicted of a felony DWI 

crime; or   

 has previously been convicted of a felony-level 

crime of criminal vehicular homicide or injury 

(CVO) involving alcohol or controlled 

substances.  

Unlike nonfelony DWI crimes, being arrested with a 

high alcohol concentration (.20 or more)  or under 

circumstances of child endangerment are not defined 

as aggravating factors for felony DWI; instead, only 

qualified prior impaired driving incidents and prior 

convictions for felony CVO are considered.  

When sentencing a person for a felony DWI 

offense, the court:  

 must impose a sentence to imprisonment for not 

less than three years; and  

 may stay execution of this mandatory sentence, 

but may not stay imposition of this sentence or 

sentence the person to less than three years 

imprisonment.  

A person sentenced to incarceration in prison for 

felony DWI is not eligible for early release unless the 

person has successfully completed a chemical 

dependency treatment program while in prison.  
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The court must also order that after a felony DWI 

offender is released from prison, the person must be 

placed on conditional release for five years, under any 

conditions that the commissioner of corrections opts 

to impose, including an intensive probation program 

for repeat DWI offenders.  If the person fails to 

comply with the conditions of release, the 

commissioner may revoke it and return the person to 

prison.  

If the court stays execution of the mandatory prison 

sentence, then it must apply the mandatory penalties 

for nonfelony DWI offenses (jail and/or intensive 

probation, as described in a preceding section) and 

must order as well that the person submit to long-term 

alcohol monitoring and the level of treatment 

prescribed in the chemical dependency assessment.  If 

the person violates any condition of probation, the 

court may order that the stayed prison sentence be 

executed.  

The Minnesota sentencing guidelines recommend a 

stayed sentence of 36 months, 42 months, and 48 

months for a felony DWI conviction for a person 

with zero, one, or two criminal history points 

respectively, and they specify a presumptive 

commit-to-prison for a person with a criminal 

history score of three or more.  

To illustrate, a person convicted of felony DWI who 

has had seven qualified prior impaired driving 

incidents within the past ten years, but no other 

criminal convictions, would likely reach the threshold 

for a presumptive commit, as follows:  

 three of those priors are used to establish the basis 

for enhancing the current DWI offense to a 

felony-level crime (but these cannot also be used 

to determine the person’s criminal history score)  

 the other four priors—provided they involved 

DWI convictions—count as one-half criminal 

history point each, for a total of two points  

 one criminal history point—a custody status 

point—would result from the current  

impaired driving incident occurring while the 

person is on probation for a prior impaired driving 

incident, as would almost certainly be the case in 

this example  

Thus, this hypothetical offender would have a 

criminal history score of three when facing sentencing 

on the current felony-level DWI offense; the person’s 

presumptive sentence under the guidelines would be 

to commit to prison for 54 months.  With one less 

qualified prior incident during the preceding ten years, 

the guidelines would call for a presumptive stayed 

sentence of 48 months.  

Criminal Vehicular Homicide and 

Injury  

Criminal law defines six levels of criminal vehicular 

operation (CVO)—all but one constituting felony 

offenses—depending on the level of injury inflicted:  

 criminal vehicular homicide (causing death, but 

not constituting murder or manslaughter)  

 great bodily harm (serious permanent injury)  

 substantial bodily harm (temporary substantial 

injury)  

 bodily harm (pain or injury—a gross 

misdemeanor)  

 death to an unborn child  

 injury to an unborn child  

A common element to each of these CVO crimes is 

that the person causes the specified harm to another 

person as a result of operating a motor vehicle under 

any of the following conditions:  

 in a grossly negligent manner  

 in violation of any of the elements of regular DWI 

law  

 where the driver who causes the accident leaves 

the scene in violation of Minnesota’s felony 

fleeing law  

 where a citation was issued that the vehicle was 

defectively maintained, the driver knew  
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remedial action was not taken, the defect created 

a risk to others, and injury or death resulted from 

the defective maintenance  

In practice, most CVO prosecutions involve 

simultaneous violation of DWI law.  

Under the sentencing guidelines, conviction for 

criminal vehicular homicide or death to an unborn 

child carries a presumptive commit to prison for 48 

months, for an offender with no other criminal history 
points. 

Limited Driver’s License – Work 

Permit  

A person whose driver’s license has been revoked for 

an implied consent violation or DWI conviction may 

apply for a limited license to drive:  

 to and from a job, or for a job;  

 to chemical dependency treatment;  

 to provide for the educational, medical, or 

nutritional needs of the family; and/or  

 for attendance at a postsecondary educational 

institution.  

However, the law requires a waiting period (i.e., hard 

revocation) before a suspended or revoked driver may 
apply for a limited license.  The waiting period is:  

 15 days for a first-time implied consent or DWI 

violator;  

 90 days for a second-time or subsequent violator 

who complied with the AC test;  

 180 days for a second or subsequent-time violator 

who refused the test;   

 one year for a person revoked for manslaughter or 

criminal vehicular homicide;  

 if under the age of 18, for twice the applicable 

period above, with a minimum of 90 days;  

 for twice the applicable period above, if person’s 

AC was .20 or more at the time of violation; and  

 an additional 60 days, if the license withdrawal 

involved use of the vehicle in commission of a 

felony crime or an injury accident involving 

failure to stop and disclose identity.  

For the most part, a limited driver’s license may not 

be issued to a driver whose license is cancelled and 

denied for a third or more DWI violation. However, 

Minnesota law authorizes DPS to issue a limited 

license to a person whose driver’s license is revoked 

or cancelled if the person qualifies for participation in 

an ignition interlock program. (Contact DPS Office of 
Traffic Safety for more information.)  

Restricted Driver’s License – The B-

Card  

Driver’s licensing law allows DPS to impose 

restrictions on a person’s license to “assure safe 

operation.” Under DPS rules, a person whose driver’s 

license has been cancelled and denied for a third or 

subsequent impaired driving violation and who has 

successfully completed treatment and rehabilitation 

may apply for a restricted driver’s license, a B-Card, 

provided that the person signs a sworn statement to 

never again consume any alcohol (not even in a 

religious service, in medication, in any other manner 

or amount, irrespective of whether the act involves 

driving).  

Any violation of this “no alcohol” restriction of the 

B-Card results in immediate cancellation of that 

driver’s license (but is not a crime unless it involves 

operation of a motor vehicle).  A subsequent 

rehabilitation is required to regain the B-Card.  

Under DPS rules, the minimum period of time for 

establishing rehabilitation for which the person 

must prove total alcohol abstinence, is:   

 one year for the first rehabilitation,  

 three years for the second rehabilitation, and   

 six years for the third or subsequent rehabilitation.  

It is only following such rehabilitation that the 

offender whose driver’s license has been cancelled 

may apply for a B-Card license.  The rehabilitation 

requirements following a B-Card violation are not 

mandated by statutes, but have been established 

administratively by DPS rules.
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Violation of the “no alcohol” restriction of a B-Card 

while operating a motor vehicle is a gross 

misdemeanor.   

Record Keeping 

Records of implied consent license actions and 

DWI convictions must be retained permanently on 

the official driving record.  

The “no alcohol” restriction of a person’s B-Card 

also remains in effect and on the person’s driving 

record permanently. A temporary law enacted in 

2005 allowed B-Card holders who had gone ten 

years without a repeat violation to request a 

duplicate driver’s license without the “No 

Alcohol” verbiage showing under “Restrictions.”  

However, that law expired July 31, 2006, and as 

a result, the restriction then went back to a 
permanent restriction.  In 2010 with the passage 
of the sanctions law a person with the restriction 
can now request that the restriction be removed 
after they've been alcohol free for ten years.

Driver’s License Reinstatement Fees 

Before becoming relicensed to drive after the 

period of license withdrawal stemming from an 

implied consent violation or DWI conviction, a 

person must pass the license examination and re-

apply for a driver’s license and pay the following 

fees:  

 $250 – driver’s license (DL) reinstatement fee

(basic fee)

 $430 – surcharge on the DL reinstatement fee

 $24 – DL application fee

The $250 driver’s license reinstatement fee and 

$430 surcharge apply to alcohol-related and CVO-

related license withdrawals only; the standard 

reinstatement fee of $30 applies following loss of 

license for other reasons.  

Effective July 1, 2009, certain persons who are 

eligible for a public defender may pay the 

reinstatement fee and surcharge in two 

installments.  A handling fee may be imposed for 

utilizing the installment plan.  The driver’s 

license expires in two years unless the second 

installment is paid.  Full payment of the fee and 

surcharge is required before a person can renew a 

license on the standard schedule or reinstate a 

cancelled, revoked, or suspended license.  

First-time DWI Violator Using an Off-

road Recreational Vehicle or 

Motorboat   

A violator who has no qualified prior impaired 

driving incident is subject only to the criminal 

penalty (a misdemeanor) and the loss of operating 

privileges for that type of vehicle.  

The person is not subject to driver’s license 

revocation, mandatory chemical dependency 

assessment and treatment, mandatory conditions of 

release, long-term monitoring, the penalty assessment 

fee, or license plate impoundment.  

Any person arrested for a DWI violation involving an 

off-road recreational vehicle or motorboat and who 

has a qualified prior impaired driving incident on 

record is subject to the same administrative sanctions 

and criminal penalties as the person would be if 
arrested while driving a regular motor vehicle.  

Commercial Vehicle Driving 

DWI law sets a lower per se alcohol concentration 

limit for driving commercial motor vehicles, .04 

instead of .08, and the implied consent law allows for 

a chemical test upon probable cause that the 

commercial vehicle driver has consumed any amount 

of alcohol.  

A person who violates the .04 standard while driving 

a commercial motor vehicle is subject to a period of 

disqualification (one year for the first violation and 

ten years for any subsequent violation) from 

commercial motor vehicle driving. The person would 

remain validly licensed to drive regular motor 

vehicles unless he or she also has violated regular 

DWI law by exceeding the .08 per se standard or by  
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driving while impaired or with any amount of certain 

controlled substances in the body, in which case the 

person would be subject to the full range of applicable 

penalties and sanctions of regular DWI law. In 

addition, a commercial motor vehicle driver who 

incurs license revocation or cancellation for an 

impaired driving violation in a personal passenger 

vehicle receives no special dispensations from the 

sanctions and penalties that apply to other drivers—

the person is prohibited from driving any type of 

vehicle until becoming validly relicensed to drive.  

School Bus Driving  

DWI law provides an even stricter standard of zero 

tolerance for school bus driving, by making it 

unlawful to drive a school bus when there is physical 

evidence in the person’s body of the consumption of 

any amount of alcohol. In addition to criminal 

penalties, such a violation also triggers cancellation of 

the person’s school bus driving endorsement and, 

upon conviction, disqualification of the person’s 

commercial driving privileges.  However, as with 

other nonbus commercial vehicle DWI violations, the 

person would remain validly licensed to drive regular 

motor vehicles unless he or she also has violated the 

higher standards of regular DWI law.  

Flying Airplanes  

A special DWI law establishes a .04 per se standard 

for alcohol concentration while flying and also 

criminalizes test refusal. Violation is always a gross 

misdemeanor.  

It also is unlawful to fly within eight hours of any 

alcohol consumption—a zero-tolerance standard, 
but time limited.  Violation is a misdemeanor.   

Special Laws for Youth   

DWI laws apply equally to drivers of all ages.  DWI 

violations require either evidence of impaired driving 

or an alcohol concentration of .08 or higher, or the 

presence of certain illegal substances in the person’s 

body, during or within two hours of the time of 

driving, operating, or being in control of a motor 

vehicle, broadly defined.  However, two additional 

alcohol-related laws apply to youth under age  

21.  

Drivers aged 16 and 17 years old who violate the 

DWI laws are under the jurisdiction of the adult court, 

not the juvenile court.  As such, they are subject to the 

full range of adult penalties and consequences.  

The drinking age law prohibits a person who is 

under the age of 21 from:  

 consuming alcohol without parental permission 

and supervision;  

 purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol;  

 possessing alcohol with intent to consume;  

 entering a liquor store or bar for the purpose of 

purchasing or consuming alcohol; or  

 misrepresenting one’s age for the purpose of 

purchasing alcohol.  

A violation of this statute is a misdemeanor and 

carries a mandatory minimum fine of $100.  

However, it does not result in suspension of the 

driver’s license unless the person has used a driver’s 

license, Minnesota ID card, or any type of false 

identification to purchase or attempt to purchase 

alcohol (90 days suspension).  

For purposes of these laws, a person does not attain 

the age of 21 until 8:00 a.m. on the day of the 
st

person’s 21  birthday.  

Underage Drinking Driving – Zero 

Tolerance  

Minnesota’s DWI law provides misdemeanor 

penalties and driver’s license suspension for any 

driver under age 21 who is convicted of driving a 

motor vehicle anywhere in the state while consuming 

alcohol or while there is physical evidence of such 

consumption present in the person’s body.  (This law 

applies only to the driver and not to any passengers.)  

However, a violation of the zero-tolerance law for 

underage drinking and driving does not in 
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itself constitute a DWI/impaired driving  

violation, nor can it be used as an 

enhancing factor for any subsequent DWI 

violation.   

For more information about DWI, visit 

the criminal justice area of our web 

site, www.house.mn/hrd/  

http://www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/crime.htm
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