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Minnesota Aeronautics Programs and Funding

Minnesota’s aeronautics system consists mainly of local, publicly owned airports throughout the state.
Funding comes from state taxes on aviation fuel, aircraft registration, and airline property, along with
federal grants. The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) provides technical assistance and
administers grants to local airports for construction and maintenance of airport facilities. MnDOT also
performs other aviation-related activities, including registering aircraft and licensing airports.

. Minnesota’s
aeronautics system

Revenue from
dedicated taxes

Minnesota’s state-funded aeronautics system consists of 135 airports throughout
the state, eight of which provide scheduled commercial flights.- The
Metropolitan Airports Commission operates the Minneapolis/St. Paul Airport
along with six reliever airports located throughout the Twin Cities metropolitan
area. In Greater Minnesota, airports are typically owned by a city, although
owners include city/county partnerships, airport authorities, and townships.

Minnesota has three main sources of state aeronautics funding, each of which is
a tax on an aviation-related activity. The revenues, combined with interest and
other sources, totaled $18.8 million in fiscal year 2011.

Aviation fuel tax. The aviation fuel tax applies to fuel used in aircraft. The tax
rate declines as more fuel is purchased. Minn. Stat. § 296A.17. The following
rates apply respectively within each range-of gallons of fuel purchased.

Amount of Fuel (gallons) Tax
1-50,000 5¢
50,001 — 150,000 2¢
150,001 -200,000 1¢
200,001 and over 1/2¢

Aircraft registration tax. An annual registration tax on aircraft is imposed on
noncommercial aircraft based in Minnesota or used in the state for more than 60
days a year. The tax is set at a rate of 1 percent of the aircraft manufacturer’s .
original list price, multiplied by a depreciation factor after the initial year of
aircraft life. The depreciation factor is 90 percent of the list price in the second

- year of life and is further reduced by 15 percentage points per year in subsequent

years. (For instance, the tax in the third year equals 1 percent of the original list
price times 75 percent.) The minimum tax is the greater of (1) 1 percent of the
list price times 25 percent, or (2) $50. Minn. Stat. § 360.531.

Airline flight property tax. The airline flight property tax is paid on aircraft
equipment owned by commercial airlines. Airlines’ tax capacity is multiplied
by an adjustable tax rate that is based on revenue needs for the state airports
fund (calculated by appropriations from the fund less revenue from the other two
taxes). Minn. Stat. § 270.075. '
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~ biennially to MnDOT as part of the transportation budget.
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The state airports fund is the primary state funding source for aeronautics. By
law, revenues from the taxes on aviation fuel, aircraft registration, and airline
flight property are dedicated to the fund. Money in the fund is appropriated

Facing budgetary challenges in 2003, the legislature transferred $15 million
from the state airports fund to the general fund with a requirement that the funds
be transferred back. Laws 2003, 1% spec. sess., ch. 18, art. 1, § 2. The required
return transfer took place in fiscal year 2008, but in that same year the
legislature mandated another $15 million transfer to the general fund. Laws
2008, ch. 363, art. 11, § 3. A 2009 law requires that the second transfer be
restored to the state airports fund (following other priorities set in statute) once
the state has a sufficient budget reserve. Minn. Stat. § 16A.152, subd. 2.

In addition to appropriations from the state airports fund, Minnesota has
historically received roughly $60 million to $80 million per year in federal
airport improvement program (AIP) funds. MnDOT coordinates grant
applications and distributes AIP funds. There are 97 airports eligible for the ai
as part of the National Plan of Integrated Airport Systems (NPIAS). Grantsc
be used for a Varlety of capital projects, but operational costs such as salar1es are |
not eligible.

MnDOT’S Office of Aeronautics performs various aviation functions. F1scal year
2011 expenditures from state funds, totaling $19.8 million, are for:

» The airport construction grant program (about $10.1 million), which
funds capital improvements to airport facilities, equipment, and runways;
» The airport maintenance and operation grant program (about $3.9
million), which provides formula-based grants to airports for day-to-day
operations such as snow removal, mowing, and general maintenance;

» Maintaining electronic navigation aids and automated weather systems
(about $0.8 million); and

»  MnDOT staff and operations (about $5 million), which mcludes
registering aircraft, inspecting and licensing airports and commercial
aviation, performing aviation planning, providing technical assistance,
conducting seminars, promoting scheduled air service in Greater
Minnesota, and providing air transportation for state government.
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How are invasives
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examples?
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Invasive Species
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An invasive species is an exotic or nonnative species whose introduction and - .
establishment causes, or may cause, economic or environmental harm or harm to
human health. Minn. Stat. § 18G.02, subd. 15. Invasives can be mammals, ﬁsh

insects, plants, viruses, pathogens, or other organisms.

For regulatory purposes, state agencies classify invasives as terrestrial or aquatic.
Terrestrial invasive species inhabit land; aquatic plants and animals live in the
water. Invasive species are further classified by state agencies depending on various
factors such as prevalence in the environment and risk to native species and the
state’s economy. For example, the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA), in
consultation with the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) and other
government, academic, and industry partners, classifies invasive plant pests as
regulated or nonregulated. MDA focuses its efforts on the species that pose the
largest anticipated threat to the state’s economy and environment.

The DNR classifies nonnative species into four categories for purposes of
regulation: (1) prohibited (which cannot be possessed, imported, purchased, sold,
propagated, transported, or introduced, except under certain exceptions);

- (2) regulated (which cannot be introduced, except under certain exceptions);
(3) unlisted; and (4) unregulated.

Terrestrial invasive species include garlic mustard, buckthorn, emerald ash borer,
and gypsy moths. Aquatic invasive species include zebra mussels, Asian carp, and

Eurasian watermilfoil.

The MDA and the DNR both Ieguléte invasive species and the human activities that
may cause their introduction or spread. The following table summarizes the

Jurlsdlctlon of each agency:

Agency Jurisdiction

Current Example
Species

Authorized Activities

MDA To prevent or slow
the establishment
of terrestrial
invasives that
damage crops,
trees, or other
plants (Minn. Stat.

§18G.01)

Emerald ash borer,
soybean rust, gypsy
moth, potato cyst
nematode

Broad regulatory authority,
including the power to treat or
order treatment of public or
private lands, issue penalties
and restrict the intentional or

| unintentional human movement

of invasives and articles that
may harbor them

DNR To prevent and
curb the spread of

invasive species of

Zebra mussel,
Eurasian
watermilfoil, Asian

Authority to designate and
regulate invasive species and
infested waters, including




aquatic plants and | carp : inspections and enforcement of

wild animals : applicable laws including the
(Minn. Stat. § . : issuance of penalties
84D.02, subd. 1) '
When does For invasives that impact crops, trees, or other plants, MDA is responsible for
regulatory leading initial efforts to exclude or eradicate the species. Once a forest invasive
authority shift species (e.g., Dutch elm disease or oak wilt) is permanently established in the state,
from one agency to  DNR assumes responsibility for leading any ongoing management efforts,
another? particularly on state lands. The agencies determine when conditions warrant a
transfer of authority on a species-by-species basis.
What are some MDA personnel install and collect invasive species traps; sample fields; inspect
examples of the imported commodities; treat thousands of forested acres to suppress gypsy moth;
activities the investigate reports of invasive species infestation; research and release stingless

agencies perform?  wasps and other biological agents to control invasive species; inspect nursery plant
growers and retailers and firewood retailers; inspect seed for any noxious weed
seeds; provide technical assistance to local units of government and others to limit
the spread of existing invasive plants; provide information to industry and the
general public; inspect imported fruits and vegetables upon request; maintain an
Arrest-the-Pest hotline; and implement and enforce quarantines to restrict the

‘movement of invasives and regulated articles such as firewood that may harbor

them. MDA also conducts surveys that document the absence of specific pests,
which ensures Minnesota plant commodities have access to international markets.

DNR personnel enforce laws and regulations designed to prevent the spread of
invasive species; inspect and decontaminate watercrafts entering and leaving public
water accesses, primarily at waters that are already designated as infested waters;
provide permits, grants, and technical assistance for the management of aquatic
plants; manage or control new introductions of invasive species where feasible;
work on detecting and monitoring populations of invasive species; and provide
educational information to policymakers and the public on invasive species.

Where do funds The primary source of funding for the DNR’s activities is a $5 surcharge on the
come from? registration of boats and other watercraft (approximately $1,350,000 annually), a $2
: fee on nonresident fishing licenses (approximately $400,000 annually), and the

state’s general fund. MDA activities are funded primarily by federal grants
(variable) and state general fund appropriations (approximately $967,000 annually).
(Appropriations are for the following: gypsy moth, $320,000; biological control,
$100,000; noxious weeds, $100,000; invasive detection, survey, and lab, $447,000.)
Nursery and seed inspections are funded entirely by fees assessed on nursery plant
growers and retailers and seed labelers.

For more information: For invasive species information and assistance, contact the agencies directly. For
legislative matters, contact Colbey Sullivan (agriculture) at 651-296-5047 or Janelle Taylor (natural
resources) at 651-296-5039.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves isa nonpartlsan office prov:dlng legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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The Minnesota and Federal

| Dependent Care Tax Credits: An Overview

What are the
credits?

Are the credits
refundable?

Who is eligible for
the credits?

What are qualifying

expenses?

- How are the credits
calculated?

The Minnesota and federal dependent care credits partially offset the cost of child -
care for certain workers. The maximum Minnesota credit is $720 for one child and
$1,440 for two or more children. The maximum federal credit is $1,050 for one
child and $2,100 for two or more children.

The Minnesota credit is fully refundable. If an individual qualifies for a credit that
is greater than his or her tax liability, the excess is paid as a refund. The federal
credit is not refundable and may only be used to offset federal income tax liability.

Anyone who incurs expenses related to the care of a dependent and related
household expenses may be eligible to claim the credits. The clalmant must:
e maintain a household that includes the dependent;
e pay for care for a dependent under age 13, or a disabled spouse or adult
dependent; and
e pay for care in order to work or look for work.

Qualifying expenses are amounts paid for the care of a dependent under age 13, or
a disabled spouse or adult dependent, but do not include amounts paid to the
claimant’s spouse or another dependent.

Qualifying expenses may not exceed the claimant’s earned income (for married
couples filing joint returns, expenses may not exceed the earned income of the
lesser earning spouse). Maximum allowable qualifying expenses are reduced by
amounts paid through dependent care pre-tax accounts.

The federal credit equals 35 percent of up to $3,000 of quahfylng expenses for one
child (86,000 of qualifying expenses for two or more children). The maximum
federal credit is $1,050 for one child and $2,100 for two or more children. The
federal credit begins to phase down when income exceeds $15,000, with the credit
percentage decreasing as income increases. Claimants with incomes over $43,000

" qualify for the minimum federal credit equal to 20 percent of qualifying expenses,

or up to $600 for one child and $1,200 for two or more children. For example, a
claimant with $50,000 of income and $1,000 of expenses will qualify for a credit
of $200 (20 percent of $1,000).

The maximum credit percentage, qualifying expenses, and phaseout threshold for
the federal credit are scheduled to decrease to 30 percent, $2,400 for one child -
($4,800 for two or more children), and $10,000 after tax year 2012 unless extended
by Congress. ' |

" The state credit equals the lesser of the federal credit, or $720 for one child

($1,440 for two or more children). The state credit is calculated by reference to the
federal credit for which the claimant is eligible, not the amount actually used to



How do filers claim

the credits?

How‘many

Minnesotans claim

the credits?

How much is paid.
out in credits?

How does
Minnesota compare
with other states?

offset federal liability.

The state credit is subject to an income phaseout. (By contrast, the federal credit
rate phases down to a minimum percentage but is never totally phased out.) In tax
year 2012, the state phaseout begins when income exceeds $24,300, and the state
credit is fully phased out when income exceeds $37,950. The income threshold for

the phaseout is adjusted each year for inflation.

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by
completing a separate schedule—Form 2441 for the federal credit and schedule
MI1CD for the state credit.

In tax year 2009, 141,500 Minnesotans claimed the federal dependent care credit
and 35,556 claimed the state credit. These claims represent 5.6 percent of all
federal returns filed by Minnesotans and 1.4 percent of all state returns filed.

Because the federal credit is nonrefundable and can only be used to offset tax
liability, most of the federal credits are claimed by middle- and upper-income filers
who have income over $43,000 and qualify for the minimum credit amount.

Because the state credit is refundable and is only available to filers with incomes

below $36,980 (2009 amount, which is annually adjusted for mﬂatlon), most of the
state credits are claimed by low-income filers. .

In tax year 2009, Minnesotans claimed $63.5 million of federal dependent care
credits, The average federal dependent care credit was $449.

In tax year 2009, Minnesotans claimed $13.9 million of state dependent care
credits. The average state dependent care credit was $390.

Nationwide, 4.4 percent of all income tax returns claimed the federal dependent
care credit, compared to 5.6 percent in Minnesota. South Dakota had the highest
percentage of returns claiming the federal credit at 6.4 percent, and West Virginia
had the lowest at 2.3 percent. ~

The average federal dependent care credit in 2009 was $530 nationwide and $449
in Minnesota. The District of Columbia had the highest average credit at $608,
and Montana had the lowest at $431. Minnesota’s average credit amount may be
lower than the national averages because state residents have above average
incomes, or because Minnesotans are more likely to receive child care assistance or
use pre-tax dependent care accounts, reducing the amount of qualifying expenses.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House
Research information brief The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits, December 2008.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providihg legislative,
. legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 f www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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calculated?
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Mining Taxes

Mines and facilities used in the production of taconite are exempt from the
property tax. In lieu of the property tax, the iron mining industry pays a
production tax based on the tons of taconite produced. The industry is also
exempt from the corporate franchise tax and instead pays an occupation tax.

As reported by Departmeht of Revenue, Mining Tax Guide (November 2011), the

mining industry paid $103.2 million in Tax amount | % of
Minnesota taxes in 2011. The breakdown of the : (millions) tota:
taxes is shown in the table. In addition, state }()) mduCtt‘_On $Bg Zg; 0;"
general fund aid of $6.7 million was distributed cetpanon : St

. . .. Sales & use 17.1 | 16.6%
with the product_lon tax revenues, resulting in Other 0 1.0%
total taxes and aid of $109.9 million. Total $103.2

The occupation tax is similar in structure to the corporate franchise tax; the tax
applies to a synthetic measure of profits from only the corporation’s mining
operations. In addition, the rate (2.45 percent) is lower than the regular corporate
rate (9.8 percent) and sales are weighted at 75 percent under the occupation tax,
while the sales are weighted more heavily (90 percent) under the corporate tax, and -
ultimately (in tax year 2014), apportionment will be based only on sales.

The following are some of the key features of the production tax:

e The tax is computed using a tax rate, expressed as a dollar amount per
taxable ton of taconite production ($2.38 for the 2010 tax, distributed in
2011). The tax rate is set in state law, not by local levy decisions, and is
indexed for inflation. For 2011 production, the rate was $2.412 per ton.

o The tax base is taxable tons, computed using a three-year average to keep
“the tax base stable. For example, tons produced in calendar years 2008,
2009, and 2010 are used to compute taxable tons for the 2010 tax,
distributed in 2011 (35 million tons).

o The state calculates the tax amounts and notifies each mining company how
much to pay. o ,
J Payments are due in two equal installments by February 24 and August 24.

o The state notifies the counties of the distribution to each city, town, and
school district, and the county then pays each affected local government.

e A 22-cent per ton state general fund payment supplements distributions of
production tax revenues. For the 2011 distribution, this amount was $6.7
million. This increased the total distribution by _about 9.2 percent.



- Who receives the Because it is in lieu of the property tax, the taconite production tax is paid to local
production tax - governments and is a major revenue source for counties, cities, towns, and school
revenues? districts located in the “taconite relief area.” The taconite relief area includes all or

a portion of Cook, Lake, St. Louis, Itasca, Aitkin, Crow Wing, and Koochiching
counties. Part of the revenue is also paid to the Iron Range Resources (IRR), a
state agency that conducts a variety of operations on the Iron Range.

How are the taxes ~ The formula for distributing production tax revenues is speciﬁed in statute and is
distributed? generally defined on a cents-per- -taxable-ton (CPT) basis. The 2011 tax was
distributed as follows

Cents per ton

Distribution Amounts distributed
Cities and townships ; $10,040,153 33.0
School districts 17,094,176 . 562
Counties . 13,304,905 ~ 437
Property tax relief and misc. : 11,846,794 389
Iron Range Resources : 17,007,197 55.9.

Includes $6.4 million distribution to the
taconite Environmental Protection Fund and
$2.8 million for the producer grant and loan

fund : :
Taconite Economic Development Fund 9,673,605 31.8
investment credit)
Other: Range Association of Municipalities 171,170 » 0.5
and Schools; Hockey Hall of Fame® - -
Total $79,138,000" $2.60“

(a) Production year 2010 is the last distribution to Hockey Hall of Fame.

(b) Beginning in 2000, revenue from the general fund was contrlbuted For 2011, the state aid
amount was $6,696,292.

(c) Includes the state aid of 22 CPT.

How has the Amount (in millions)

amount changed Production - Distribution Levied on !

over the past years? year . year companies __ State aid* Total

‘ ' 2000 . 2001 $79.8 - $79.8

2001 : 2002 62.3 13.0 75.3
2002 2003 64.4. 8.0 . P4
2003 2004 65.8 7.6 I 734
2004 - 2005 79.2 8.2 87.4
2005 - 2006 1 786 8.3 86.9
2006 2007 84.5 ] 86 - 93.1
2007 2008 85.6 8.5 942
2008 2009 89.6 85 | o8]
2009. 2010 74.3 6.9 - 812
2010 2011 72.4 - 6.7 79.1

*Amount is based on CPT. For production year 2001, it was 33 CPT; thereafter, it is 22 CPT.
_ Total may not equal sum of parts as a result of roundmg :

For more information: Contact legislafive analyst J oel Michael at joel. michael@house mn.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves isa nonpartlsan office prowdmg legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. ,

'House Research Department | 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd. htm
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Minnesota’s NOngame Wildlife Checkoff

What is the
nongame wildlife

checkoff?

How much do
taxpayers contribute
to the nongame
wildlife checkoff?

What are ‘
contributions to the
checkoff used for?

Minnesota’s nongame wildlife checkoff allows individuals to make contributions
on their individual income tax or property tax refund return to the state’s nongame
wildlife fund. Corporate taxpayers may also contribute on their corporate
franchise tax returns. Taxpayers who wish to contribute fill in the amount of their
contribution on their income tax or property tax refund form. The amount of the
contribution is then either added to their tax due or subtracted from their refund.
The checkoff was enacted and first appeared on tax forms in 1980.

In 2010, over 62,000 individuals used the nongame wildlife checkoff to contribute

just over $1 million to the nongame wildlife fund on their individual income tax or

property tax refund forms. The average contribution was about $17. About 1.9
percent of all filers made contributions—2.0 percent of income tax filers and 1.3
percent of property tax refund filers. Since 1998, taxpayers have contributed about
$1 million per year through the checkoff, but the share of filers making
contributions has decreased. ” ' ‘

Nongame Wildlife Checkoff Contributions, 1998 to 2010

Year % contributing § contributed Average contribution
1998 2.9% $972,996 $11.41
1999 2.0 ' 1,003,721 12.01
2000 2.9 1,028,790 12.16
2001 3.0 1,134,319 13.23
2002 3.0 - 1,160,518 - 13.07
2003 3.0 1,154,574 13.11
2004 2.3 1,171,942 13.75
2005 2.6 1,098,310 1412
2006 ' 2.1 ~ 1,030,219 15.31
2007 2.1 1,075,785 15.34
2008 - 2.1 1,093,113 15.46
2009 2.1 ‘ 1,086,545 15.72
2010 |- 19 : 1,061,164 = 17.09
Source: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Contributions to the nongame wildlife checkoff go into the nongame wildlife fund
and are appropriated to the Department of Natural Resources for its nongame
wildlife program. Although donations from the nongame wildlife checkoff provide
the majority of the funding for the nongame wildlife program, the program also

‘receives funding from the general fund, the game and fish fund, and other sources.

The nongame wildlife program focuses on nongame wildlife species that have been

-identified as being rare, declining, or vulnerable in the state; these species are



What are some

~ recent projects
Sfunded through the
nongame wildlife

checkoff?

How hzany other
states have a
nongame wildlife

checkoff?

known as “species of greatest conservation need.” The program supports six
regional wildlife specialists who Work toward three major goals demgned to protect
these species: ~ ‘

o Stabilizing and i increasing the populatlons of the spemes

e Improving knowledge of the species

e Enhancing people’s appreciation and enjoyment of the species

The nongame wildlife program has supported a number of projects in recent years,
including the Project WILD program, which is an environmental and conservation
education program designed to train K-12 and other youth and environmental .
educators on how to develop awareness of and foster responsible actions towards
wildlife and related natural resources. Other projects have included surveys of
various species including loons, bald eagles, frogs, and dragonflies, and the
acquisition of lands for various wildlife management areas and aquatic ‘
management areas across the state to provide habitat for many wildlife spec1es

Thirty-six of the 42 states (and the District of Columbia) that have an 1nd1v1dua1
income tax also have a nongame wildlife checkoff. Most states have more than
one checkoff; Oregon has the most, with 27. Only three states offer only the ,
nongame wildlife checkoff—Indiana, Minnesota, and North Carolina.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651 296 5204 or Janelle Taylor at

651-296-5039.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpart:san office providing Ieg;slat:ve
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Qfﬁce Building l St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Renter’s Property Tax Refund Program

What is the
renter’s property
tax refund
program?

What are the
maximums?

How are claims
filed? »

What is the
average refund and
total amount paid?

How has the
percent of rent
considered
property taxes
changed in recent
years?

The renter’s property tax refund program (sometimes called the “renters’ credit™)
is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to renters whose rent and “implicit
property taxes” are high relative to their incomes. “Rent constituting property
taxes” is assumed to equal 17 percent of rent paid. If rent constituting property
tax exceeds a threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a percentage of
the tax over the threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income increases:

o the threshold percentage increases,

o the share of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay
increases, and .

o the maximum refund decreases.

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types
of income. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who are

- over age 65 or dlsabled

For refund claims filed in 2012, based on rent pald in 2011 and 2011 household
income, the maximum refund is $1,550. Renters whose income exceeds $54,619
are not eligible for refunds.

Refund claims are filed using Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR)
Schedule M1PR. Schedule M1PR is filed separately from the individual income
tax form. Claims filed before August 15, 2012, will be paid beginning in August
2012. The deadline for filing claims based on rent paid in 2011 is August 15,
2013; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund. Forms are

_ available online at DOR’s website, under “Forms and Instructibns ??

Statewide Renter Property Tax Refunds, Filed in 2010

(based on 2009 incomes and rent paid in 2009, taxes assumed to equal 15% of rent paid)
S Number of returns Total amount Average per return
‘Under 65 years old 198,313 |~ $94.3 million $476
Senior/disabled 83,139 $43.2 million $520
Total: all renters : 281,452 $137.6 million $489

For refunds based on rent pald from 1998 to 2008, the percentage of rent
constituting property taxes equaled 19 percent. Under Gov. Tim Pawlenty’s June
2009 unallotment, subsequently enacted into law, the percentage of rent

~ constituting property taxes was reduced from 19 percent to 15 percent for refunds

based on rent paid in 2009 only. For refunds based on rent paid in 2010, the
percentage returned to 19 percent. Legislation enacted in the 2011 reduced the
rate to 17 percent for refunds based on rent paid in 2011 and following years.



How do refunds
vary depending on
income and
property taxes?

The following table shows the refund amount for two example families (married
couples without dependents). Although the threshold percentage, copayment
rates, and maximum refund amounts are the same statewide, the average rent is
higher in the metro area than in greater Minnesota. The metro area family paid
monthly rent in 2011 of $761, the fair market rent for a one-bedroom apartment
in the metro area. The family in greater Minnesota paid monthly rent in 2011 of
$496, the fair market rent for a one-bedroom apartment in many greater
Minnesota counties. Taxpayers who are over age 65, disabled, or have

‘dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in determining the refund.

Married couple, both under age 65, no dependents

Example refunds for claims to be filed in 2012,
based on rent paid in 2011 and 2011 household income

Metro area Greater Minnesota
Taxpayer #1 = | Taxpayer #2 Taxpayer #1 Taxpayér #2

1 | Gross income $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000
2+ | Deduction for k

dependents 0 0 0 0
3 | Household income :

(1-2=3) $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000
4 | Rent constituting :

property tax - $1,552 $1,552 $1,012 $1,012
5 | Statutory threshold I

percentage 1:4% 2.2% 1.4% 2.2%
6 | Threshold % x ,

| income (3 x 5 =6) $210 $660 '$210 $660

7 | Property tax over : . ‘

threshold (4 —6=17) - $1,342 $892 $802 $352
8 | Copay percentage 15% 30% 15% 30%
9 | Taxpayer copay .

amount (7 x 8=9)_ $201 $268 $120 $106
10 | Remaining tax over

threshold .

(7-9=10) $1,141 $625 $682 $246
11 | Maximum refund

allowed $1,550 $1,550 $1,550 $1,550
12 | Net property tax '

refund ~ $1,141 -$625 $682 $246

For more mformatlon Clalmants can check the status of their refund by calling DOR at (65 I) 296 4444 or
online at www.taxes.state.mn.us.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves isa nonpartvsan office providing Ieglslatlve
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building [ St. Paul, MN 55155 l 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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What is targeting?

Who qualifies?

How does targeting
work?

Does targeting have
any other
restrictions?

Targeting Property Tax Refund

- The “additional” or “special” prdperty tax refund, generally referred to as

“targeting,” directs property tax relief to homeowners who have large property tax
increases from one year to the next. :

A homeowner qualifies if the property tax on the home has increased by more than -
12 percent over the previous year’s tax and if the increase is over $100. In

. determining eligibility, the previous year’s tax amount is the net amount paid by

the homeowner after deduction of any targeting refund received in that year.

The homeowner must have owned and lived in the same home for both yeérs. If
any improvements were made to the home, that portion of the tax increase

- resulting from the improvements must be subtracted when determining the refund.

The refund equals 60 percent of the increase over the greater of (1) 12 percent of
the previous year’s tax after deduction of targeting or (2) $100. The maximum
refund is $1,000. The follovwir‘lg example shows how the refund is calculated.

Payable 2011 Property Tax after Targeting - $1,400
Payable 2012 Property Tax : 2,000
2012 tax increase (over 2011) . - ' $600
Taxpayer pays first 12% of increase compared to previous year’s tax, which

must be at least $100 (12% x 1,400) - ' _ 168
Remaining increase cligible for relicf ($600 - $168=$432) | $432|
State pays 60% of excess over 12% increase up to a $1,000 maximum - $259
(60% x $432 = $259)

Amount of 2012 increase paid by taxpayer ($600 - $259) $341

The taxpayer’s $600 increase (ie., 42.9 pervcent) is reduced to an out-of-pocket
property tax increase of $341 (i.e., 24.4 percent) as a result of the $259 refund.

The taxpayer pays the full $2,000 amount of the 2012 property tax to the county,
the first half in May and the second half in October. The taxpayer applies to the
state for a targeting refund on form M-1PR. The targeting refund is paid at the

- same time the regular homeowner property tax refund (“circuit breaker”) is paid in

late September.

No, unlike the regular property tax refund, the tafgeting refund is not tied to the
taxpayer’s household income. Under the regular homeowner property tax refund,
the taxpayer’s household income may not exceed a specified maximum and the



What are statewide
amounts?

- How many
homeowners claim
the refund?

How are claims
filed?

amount of household income affects the amount of the refund.

However, the targeting refund does not use income as a factor, nor is there any

~ limitation on the taxpayer’s household income. Therefore, many higher income

taxpayers who do not qualify for the regular property tax refund due to income
restrictions are eligible for the targeting refund.

The amounts paid out for the targeting program decreased substantially frdm $7.6
million in 2007 to about $2.3 million in 2010, with much of the decrease occurring
in the metro area. '

The table below shows the sfatewide amount, with a breakdown for the metro and
the 80 nonmetro counties, for the past four years.

Targetmg Refunds, Filed 2007 —2010 (dollars in thousands)

Filed 2007 | - Filed 2008 | Filed 2009 | Filed 2010

Total Metro $4,940 $4,330 $3,750 | $1,024
“Total Nonmetro $2,655 $3,046  $2,338 $1,310
State $7,595 $7,376 $6,088 $2,334

Some taxpayers (e.g., those who typically don’t qualify for the regular property tax
refund) may not be aware of the targeting program, resulting in lower total refunds
statewide than if all eligible taxpayers had filed.

In 2010, just over 15,000 homeowners claimed refuhds based on their property tax
increase from payable 2009 to 2010. The average refund amount was $155.

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR)
Schedule M1PR, the property tax refund form. There is a separate schedule on the
back of the M1PR (“Schedule 1 — Special Refund”) for the targeting program. The
taxpayer files for this refund after receiving his or her property tax statement in

. February or March. Claims filed before August 15, 2012, will be paid beginning in

late September 2012. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in
2012 is August 15, 2013; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a
refund. Forms are available online at DOR’s website, under “Forms and
Instructions” (www.taxes.state.mn.us).

For more information: Claimants can check the status of their refund by calling DOR at (651) 296-4444
or online at www.taxes.state.mn.us. Also see the House Research Short Subject Homeowner's Property Tax
Refund Program, December 2010, and the Information Brief Targeting, December 2010.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartlsan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Ofﬁce Building l St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-'6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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What is the angel

. Investment credit?

What investors

qualify for the
credit?

What small
businesses qualify

under the credit?

Minnesota Angel Investment Credit

The Minnesota Small Business Investment Credit (commonly referred to as the
angel investment credit) provides qualified investors in certified small businesses
with a refundable income tax credit equal to 25 percent of their investments up to a
maximum of $125,000 ($250,000 for married joint filers). The angel investment
credit was enacted by the 2010 Legislature to encourage investment in emerging

| Minnesota small businesses. It took effect for tax year 2010 and is scheduled to

expire for investments made after tax year 2014,

Three key sets of requirements apply under the credit:
o Rules that govern which investors qualify to make investments
o Rules specifying the types of businesses that qualify to receive 1nvestments
° lelts on which investments qualify

The angel credit allows two different types of investors to qualify for the credit;

o Individual investors qualify either by being accredited investors under
Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Regulation D or by certifying
that they will only invest in an offering that is exempt from registration under
state law. Accredited investors generally must have net worths of at least $1
million (excluding the value of their homes) or annual income of at least
$200,000 ($300,000 for married couples).

e Qualified funds are pass-through tax entities, such as LLCs or S
corporations that invest in qualifying small businesses and have three or
more investors who each meet the requirements for individual investors.
These funds pass through the credit to their individual owners, who claim it
on their own tax returns. 4

Investors must apply to and be certified by the Department of Employment and
Economic Development (DEED) before making the investment for which they are
claiming the credit. However, individuals who are not accredited investors but
who qualify because the offering is a small corporation exempt from registration
may apply up to 30 days after making the investment. Investors (either individuals
or funds) or members of their immediate families may not derive more than 50

‘percent of their gross annual incomes from the small business.

A qualifying small business (i.e., one in which an investment qualifies for the
credit) must:
o Have its headquarters and 51 percent of its employees and payroll in
Minnesota;
e Be engaged in a specified field of business that involves some type of
proprietary technology or product;
o Have fewer than 25 employees;
o Pay its employees wages equal to at least 175 percent of the federal poverty



What types of
investments qualify
Sor the credit?

What is the
maximum credit for
a business?

How much will the
credit reduce state
tax revenues.?

Has the demand for
credits exceeded the
limits?

Do clawback
provisions apply?

What reporting
requirements apply? -

~ guideline for a family of four on a full-time equivalent basis (executives,
~officers, and owners are excluded from this requirement);
'« Have not been in operation for more than ten years;
e Have not received more than $2 million in private equity investment; and
o Be certified by DEED as meeting these requirements.

To qualify for the credit, an investment must: -

o Receive DEED credit certification from the annual credlt cap;

¢ Be made in cash (other types of property or providing services to the
business do not qualify),

e Satisfy minimums of either $10,000 (individual investor) or $30 000 (fund)
and

e Receive in return an equlty-type interest (e.g., common stock, partnership
interest, preferred stock, or debt with a mandatory conversion to equity).

The law prohibits DEED for certifying more than $1 million in credit allocations to
any one business. Thus, a business that attracts $4 million of qualifying investments .
could receive the maximum credit. No lifetime maximum credit applies to-

investors beyond the annual limits of $125,000 ($250,000 for married joint filers).

The law imposes an annual dollar limit or cap on the total amount of credits. The
Department of Revenue has estimated that credits will be claimed up to the full
amount of the limits. Some of these credits may be paid as refunds (rather than
reducing tax liability), since the credit is refundable. The total limit over the life of

~ the credit is $58.9 million:

e $11 million for tax year 2010
o $12 million per year for tax years 2011 through 2014 except the 2013
amount is reduced by $100,000 to fund a program evaluation .
DEED administers the limits by certifying dollar amounts of credits to apphcant
investors on a first-come, first-served basis.

Credit applications for tax year 2010 were about $4 million less than the limit.
Under the law, the $4 million in unused credits carried over to tax year 2011, .
increasing the limit to $16 million. Applications for tax year 2011 used up the full
$16 million by November, requiring DEED to reject some applicants. If this
pattern persists in tax year 2012, applications will far exceed the $12 million limit.

The law provides for revocation and repayment of the credit if the small business
does not maintain at least 51 percent of its employees and payroll in Minnesota for
five years starting the year after the investment was made. The required repayment
declines by 20 percentage points per year (100 percent in year one, 80 percent in
year two, etc.). The business, not the investors, must make the repayment.

Investors, funds, and small businesses must annually report to DEED on their
compliance with the law. DEED must annually report to the legislature. In
addition, the law provides for an mdependent program evaluation to be completed
by January 2014.

For more information: See the DEED website: http://www.positivelyminnesota.com/Business/
Financing_a Business/DEED Busmess ~Finance Proglams/Angel Tax Credit.aspx.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Minnesota’s Individual Income Tax

Minnesota’s income tax revenues are projected to equal $7.9 billion in fiscal year
2012, about 43 percent of state tax collections and 39 percent of all state revenues.

Minnesota’s income tax applies to a base of Minnesota taxable income (MTI). The
starting point for calculating MTI is federal taxable income (FTI), which is the
income measure used in determining federal income tax liability. In calculating
MTI, taxpayers are required to add certain types of income to FTT and allowed to
subtract other kinds of income. Some of the subtractions are required under
federal law. For more detail on these adjustments, see the House Research
publication Minnesota Taxable Income, October 2011.

Minnesota’s income tax is a graduated tax, with three rates: 5.35 percent, 7.05

percent, and 7.85 percent. The rates are applied to income brackets that vary by
filing status. Married couples filing joint returns are allowed the most generous
(widest) brackets, followed by head of household filers (single parents maintaining
a household), unmarried single filers, and married separate filers. .

The table shows the income tax brackets in effect for each rate in tax year 2012
(brackets for married taxpayers, filing separately, are half the width of the married
joint brackets): :

Married Joint Single Head of Household
5.35% First $34,590 -| First $23,670 First $29,130
7.05% $34,591 to $137,430 $23,671 to $77,730 $29,131t0 $117,060
7.85% All over $137,430 All over $77,730 All over $117,060

A married couple filing a joint return owes income tax equal to 5.35 percent of ,
their first $34,590 of taxable income, 7.05 percent of income between $34,590 and
$137,430, and 7.85 percent of taxable income over $137 430. The income tax
brackets are adjusted each year for inflation. :

Minnesota allows taxpayers to claim several credits against tax liability. Credits
that may be used only to reduce liability, called nonrefundable credits, include the

. following:

o Credit for taxes paid to other states ($106.0 million in tax year 2009) -
o Marriage credit ($65.5 million in fiscal year 2012)

o Credit for past military service ($1 million in fiscal year 2012)

o Long-term care insurance credit ($7.9 million in fiscal year 2012)



'In addition, Minnesota allows nine refundable credits, which are paid as refunds to
taxpayers even if the credit amount is greater than their income tax liability:

Working family (earned income) credit ($201.1 million in fiscal year 2012)
Dependent care credit ($14.0 million in fiscal year 2012) '
K-12 education credit ($13.2 million in fiscal year 2012)

Military combat zone credit ($1.8 million in fiscal year 2012)

Job opportunity building zone (JOBZ) credit ($0.8 million in fiscal year
2012)

« Bovine tuberculosis testing credit ($0.1 million in fiscal year 2012)

o Enterprise zone credit (less than $50,000 in fiscal year 2012)

» Angel investment credit ($12.0 million in fiscal year 2012)

o Historic structure rehabilitation credit ($10.0 million in fiscal year 2012)

Credit amounts are from the Minnesota Department of Revenue’s Tax Expenditure
Budget, Fiscal Years 2010-2013, Department of Revenue estlmates and income -
tax return processing data. ~

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at
joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the House Research publications, Minnesota Taxable Income, October
2011; The Minnesota Income Tax Marriage Credit, December 2008; The Minnesota and Federal Dependent
Care Tax Credits, January 2012; The Federal Earned Income Credit and the Minnesota Working Family
Credit, August 2010; Income Tax Deductions and Credits for Public and Nonpubltc Education in
Minnesota, September 2011; and Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, August 2011.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Minnesota Working Family Credit: An Overview

What are the
credits? .

Who is eligible for
the credits?

How are the credits
calculated?

How do ﬁlers claim
the credits?

- How many
Minnesotans claim
the credits?

The federal earned income tax credit (EITC) and Minnesota working family credit
(WFC) equal a percentage of the earnings of low-income individuals. The credits
are refundable; if the credit exceeds a filer’s tax liability, the rest is paid as a
refund. Since these credits increase their recipients’ earnings, they act as wage
supplements and are thought to provide a work incentive.

Anyone with wages or self-employment income may be eligible to claim the EITC
and the WFC. In tax year 2012, individuals with more than $3,200 in interest
income, dividends, rental and royalty income, and capital galn income do not
qualify.

The credits equal a percentage of earned income, up to a maximum credit amount,
and are phased out when the claimant’s total income exceeds a threshold. The
maximum credit amounts and income levels at which the credits are phased out
vary depending on the number of children in the household and whether the
claimants are married. Both the maximum credit and the phaseout threshold are
adjusted annually for inflation. In tax year 2012, the maximum credits, phaseout

_threshold, and income level at which the credlts are no longer allowed are as

follows:
Income at which
Phaseout ~ credit fully
Maximum credit threshold phased out
EITC | WEC EITC | WFC EITC | WEC
Unmarried claimants v
No children $472 $118 $7,720 $7,720 | $13,890 | $13,900
1 child $3,148 $943 | $16,980 | $20,170 | $36,682 | $36,621
2 children $5,200 $1,818 | $16,980 | $23,930 | $41,671 | $41,580
3 or more children $5,850 $1,818 | $16,980 | $23,930 | $41,671 | $41,580
Married claimants . i
No children $472 $118 | $12,890 $7,720 | $19,060 | $13,900
1 child $3,148 $943 | $22,150 | $20,170 | $41,852 | $36,621
2 children $5,200 |  $1,818 | $22,150 | $23,930 | $46,841 | $41,580
3 or more children $5,850 | $1,818 | $22,150 | $23,930 | $49,841 | $41,580

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by
completing a schedule or Worksheet

In tax year 2009, 347,149 anesota returns claimed the EITC and 325,673
claimed the WFC. These claims represent 13.7 percent of all federal returns filed
by Minnesotans and 12.7 percent of all state returns filed by Minnesota residents.



How much is paid
out in credits?

How are the credits
distributed among

different types of
Sfamilies?

- How are the credits
distributed
- geographically?

How does
Minnesota compare
with other states?

In tax year 2009, Minnesotans claimed $662 million in EITC, of which $84 million
offset tax liability, and the remaining $578 million was paid as a refund. The
average EITC claimed by Minnesotans was $1,907. :

Minnesotans claimed an additional $194 million in WFC, of which $36 million
offset tax liability, and the remaining $158 million was pald asa refund The
average WFC was $595.

Seventy-one percent of all working family credits went to families with one or
more children. These families received about 97 percent of the total amount of
credits paid in 2009. Individuals without children filed 28.9 percent of returns
claiming credits, but received only 3.1 percent of the total amount of credits.
Claimants with children received most of the total amount of credits because these
families qualify for a higher maximum credit than do claimants without chlldren
The distribution of earned income tax credits is similar.

Number of WFC Claimants Dollars of WFC

37.0%

4.1%

While over 47 percent of the returns claiming credits came from the Twin Cities

metropolitan area, these seven counties generated about 52 percent of all returns
filed. Put another way, in 2009 nonmetro filers were more likely to claim the
credit than were metro area filers.

.Nationwide, 19.2 percent of all income tax returns claimed the EITC, conipared to

13.7 percent in Minnesota. The average EITC nationwide in 2009 was $2,195; it
was $1,907 in Minnesota. Minnesota’s number of recipients and credit amounts
are lower than the national averages because state residents have above-average
incomes. -

Twenty-two other states and the District of Columbia provide a state version of the
EITC. In most cases the state credit equals a percentage of the federal EITC.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House
Research information brief The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit and the Minnesota Working Family

Credit, August 2010. ‘

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan offxce providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Capital Gains Taxation: Federal and State

What is capital gains
income?

What are short-term

and long-term gains
and losses?

How does the
federal government
tax capital gains
income?

Are there higher
rates for certain
kinds of income?

Is there special tax
treatment for gains
realized through the
sale of the
taxpayer’s home?

When a taxpayer sells a capital asset, such as stock holdings, a home, or longer-
lived business assets, the difference between the amount realized on the sale and -
the taxpayer’s basis is either a capital gain or a loss. The taxpayer’s “basis” is-
usually what the taxpayer paid for and invested in the asset, less any depreciation
deductions claimed for business assets. Special rules apply to assets received as a
gift or through inheritance.

The gain or loss on an asset held for more than one year is considered “long term.”
If the taxpayer disposes of an asset after holding it for a year or less, the gain or
loss is “short term.” ‘

The maximum federal income tax rate for most net long-term capital gains income

is 15 percent in tax year 2012. There is no tax on capital gains income in 2012 for
taxpayers in the 10 percent or 15 percent bracket for ordinary income—in tax year
2012, the 0 percent rate applies for married joint filers with taxable income under

- $70,700. The amount of net capital gains income that qualifies for the maximum
15 percent or O percent rate is the long-term capital gain after subtracting both

long-term capital losses and net short-term capital losses (i.e., in excess of short-
term capital gains). Short-term capital gains do not qualify for the preferential
federal rates but are taxed as ordinary income.

Three exceptidns to the maximum 15 percent and 0 percent federal rgfes apply:

o Qualified small business stock. Between 50 percent and 100 percent of
the gain on sale of qualified small business stock is excluded from taxable
income, depending on when the stock was acquired; any remaining gain is
subject to a maximum rate of 28 percent

o Collectibles. The net capital gain from selling collectibles (such as coins
or art) is subject to a maximum 28 percent rate

o Section 1250 real property. The part of any net capital gain on property
for which the taxpayer claimed “additional depreciation” (Section 1250
real property) is taxed at a maximum 25 percent rate

Yes. Taxpayers who meet “use” and “ownership” tests may exclude up to

$250,000 of gain on the sale of the home ($500,000 for married joint taxpayers).
Under the “use” test, the taxpayer must have used the home as his or her principal
residence for two of the five years preceding the sale. Under the “ownership” test,
the taxpayer must have owned the home for at least two years. There is no limit to
the number of times a taxpayer may claim this exclusion. Beginning in January
2009, the exclusion is apportioned based on the amount of time in which the home
was used as the principal residence, from January 2009 to the time of sale.



Yes, up to $3,000 per year of capital losses can be deducted from ordinary
-income. Losses over $3,000 are carried forward to future tax years. Losses on:
personal use items, such as a home or car, are not deductible. . ~

Can capital losses
reduce ordinary
income?

Minnesota includes all net capital gains income in taxable income and subjects it
to the same tax rates as apply to other income: 5.35, 7.05, and 7.85 percent.
Minnesota recognizes the federal exclusions on the sale of the taxpayer’s home
and all or part of the gain on qualified small business stock.

How does Minnesota
tax capital gains
income?

Eight states (Arkansas, Hawaii, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota,
South Carolina, Vermont, and Wisconsin) exclude a portion of long-term

How do other states ¢
that impose an

individual income capital gains income, provide a lower rate, or allow a credit

tax treat capital » 32 states, including Minnesota, do not provide general preferential treatment
gains income in tax for capital gains income; many provide limited special treatment for capital
year 20112 gains income ~

o 16 states and the District of Columbia have preferentlal treatment
of long-term gains on a certain investments, such as in new
business, property located in state, or low-income housing. Nearly
all limit the preferential treatment to in-state investments.

o Seven states exclude gains on some or all federal, state and local
bonds

o Three states allow exclusion of all or part of certain capital gains
income under a more general exclusion for retirement income

What are the income In tax year 2009, about 17 percent of all returns filed by Minnesota residents

levels and filing reported some capital gain or loss. Married taxpayers filing joint returns received
types of people who 80 percent of capital gain income. Filers with incomes over $100,000 received
have capital gains over 85 percent of capital gain income, and capital gain income made up over 6
. income? percent of total income for those returns reporting capital gains.
$ of capital gains % of all % of income Average
Federal adjusted gross reported gains consisting of gains per
" income (millions) reported gains _return
returns with capital gains only
Less than $50,000 $223 7.9% 4.1% $971
$50,000 to $99,999 $187 6.6% 2.1% $2,043
$100,000 to $500,000 . $768 27.1% 4.2% $8,805
Over $500,000 $1,656 58.4% 13.2% $168,247
All incomes $2,834 100.0% 6.3% $6,775

Almost 35 percent of taxpayers aged 65 and older reported some capital gains
income in tax year 2009. The table shows the percent of gains by age of taxpayer.

What are the ages of
taxpayers who have

capital gains $ of capital gains % of all gains % of income Average gains
income? Taxpayer age | reported (millions) reported consisting of gains per return
returns with capital gains
Less than 25 53 0.1% 1.1% $100
25 to 39 $131 4.6% 2.6% $2,523
40 to 64 $1,825 64.4% 6.1% $8,946
65 or older $875 30.9% 8.8% $6,461
All ages $2,834 100.0% 6.3% $6,775

For more information: Contact leg1slat1ve analy51 Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at
joel.michael@house.mn. :

" The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartisan office prov1d|ng leglslatlve
legal, and information services to the entire House. : ‘
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Homeowner’s Property Tax Refund Program

What is the
property tax
refund program?

What are recent
- changes to the
program?

What are the
maximums?

How are claims
filed?

What is the
average refund
and total amount
paid?

The homeowner’s property tax refund program (sometimes called the “circuit
breaker” or the PTR) is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to homeowners
whose property taxes are high relative to their incomes. - If property tax exceeds a
threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a percentage of the tax over the
threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income increases:

o the threshold percentage increases,
o the share of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay increases, and
o the maximum refund decreases.

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types of
income. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who are over

age 65 or disabled. »
The 2008 and 2011 tax laws both expanded the homeowner’s property tax refund

- program. The 2008 changes, effective for refunds based on taxes payable in 2009,

lowered the maximum threshold percentage for determining eligibility from 4.0
percent of income to 3.5 percent of income and increased the maximum refund
allowed by about $500. The 2011 changes, effective for refunds based on taxes
payable in 2012, increased the maximum refund for homeowners with incomes
under about $37,000, and decreased the copayment percentage for most
homeowners. : :

For refund claims filed in 2012, based on property taxes payable in 2012 and 2011
household income, the maximum refund is $2,460. Homeowners whose income
exceeds $100,779 are not eligible for a refund.

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR)
Schedule M1PR. Schedule M1PR is filed separately from the individual income
tax form. Claims filed before August 15, 2012, will be paid beginning in late
September 2012. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in 2012 is
August 15, 2013; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund.
Forms are available online at DOR’s website, under “Forms and Instructions”

(www.taxes.state.mn.us).

Statewide Homeowner Property Tax Refunds
Filed in 2010

(based on 2009 incomes and payable 2010 taxes, most recent data available)

Average per

Number of returns | Total refund amount return
Under 65 years old 217,339 $163,773,129 $754
Senior/disabled 143,425 $110,218,202 $768

Total: all homeowners 360,764 $273,991,331 ' $759



How do refunds  The following table shows the refund calculations for four example families with

vary depending different incomes—two families in the metro area and two in greater Minnesota.
upon the filer’s Although the property tax refund threshold, copayment rates, and maximum refund
income and amounts are the same statewide, the average residential homestead property tax in
property tax?. the metro area is higher than in greater Minnesota. The metro area families have

payable 2011 property taxes of $3,325, a typical amount for the metro. The
families in greater Minnesota have payable 2011 property taxes of $1,600, a typical
amount for greater Minnesota. Taxpayers who are over age 65, disabled, or have
dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in determining the refund.

Married couple, both under age 65, two dependents
Example refunds for claims to be filed in 2012,
based on taxes payable in 2012 and 2011 income

Metro area Greater Minnesota

Taxpayer #1 | Taxpayer #2 | Taxpayer #3 Téxpayer #4

1 | Typical estimated

market value of home - $234,500 $234,500 $153,400 | $153,400
2| Gross income $35,000 |  $75000 |  $35000|  $75,000
3 Deduction for

dependents $9,990 $9,990 $9,990 $9,990
4 | Household income . -

2-3=4) : $25,010 $65,010 | $25,010 $65,010
5 | Property tax $3,200 -$3,200 | - $1,600 $1,600
6 Threshold income : ; ‘ :

percentage 2.4% 3.2% 2.4% 3.2%
7 Threshold % x income ‘ .

(4x6="7) $600 $2,080 - $600 $2,080

8 | Property tax over / .
threshold (5§ =7 = 8) $2,600 ~$1,120 ‘$1,000 4 $0

9 | Statutory copay ~
percentage 30% ' 40% - 30% ‘ 40%

10 | Taxpayer copay : ,
amount (8 x 9 =10) $780 $448 $300 NA

11 | Remaining tax over v : o
threshold (8 — 10 =11) $1,820 $672 $700 ' NA

12 | Maximum refund , :
allowed A - $2,460 $1,440 $2,460 $1,440

13 | Net property tax : A
refund . : - $1,820 | - $672  $700 | $0

For more information: Claimants can check the status of their refund by calhng DOR at (651) 296- 4444 or
onhne at www.taxes.state.mn.us.

" The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office provudlng Ieglslatlve
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnvesota Income Tax Credit for Past Military Service

What is the income
tax credit for past
military service?

Who qualifies for.
the credit for past
military service?

What is a
nonrefundable
credit?

How does a
nonrefundable
credit compare with
an income tax
subtraction?

How is the military
service credit
income limited?

The 2008 omnibus tax bill (Laws 2008, ch. 366) provided for a new income tax
credit for past military service. The credit equals $750 for qualifying individuals.
It is nonrefundable and is subject to an income limitation. The credit took effect in
tax year 2009 and was first claimed on tax year 2009 returns filed in 2010.

To qualify for the credit, a veteran must; :
e have served in the military (1nclud1ng the National Guard and reserves) for
at least 20 years; or :
e have a service-connected disability rated by the U.S. Department of
Veterans Affairs as being 100 percent total and permanent.

Individuals currently serving in the military do not qualify for the credit.

A nonrefundable credit may be used only to offset Minnesota income tax'liability.

- A veteran must have at least $750 of income tax liability to receive the full credit

amount. A qualified veteran with less than $750 of state income tax liability is
eligible for a credit only up to the amount of tax. A qualified veteran with no state
income tax liability is not ehglble for a credit.

In tax year 2012, a single veteran with no dependents who claims the standard
deduction would need to have $23,770 of federal adJusted gross income to receive
the full $750 credit.

, A nonrefundable credit has an effect on final liability similar to that of an income

tax subtraction. A credit is a dollar-for-dollar reduction in tax liability, while a
subtraction reduces taxable income, which results in lower tax liability. The
benefit from a subtraction depends upon the taxpayer’s tax bracket or rate.

Because of the income limits, veterans who qualify for the credit will be in the
bottom or lowest tax bracket with a rate of 5.35 percent. The $750 nonrefundable
military service credit is equ1va1ent to a $14,020 income tax subtraction ($14,020
times 5.35 percent the state income tax rate for the first bracket of taxable income,
equals $750). ‘

Only individuals with tax liability will benefit from either a nonrefundable credit
or a subtraction, and the amount of the benefit is limited to their tax liability.

The military service credit is phased out for individuals with federal adjusted gross
income (FAGI) of $30,000 or more. The credit is reduced by 10 percent of FAGI
in excess of $30,000, so that individuals with FAGI over $37,500 are not eligible
for any portion of the credit.



What are some
examples of

individuals who will

and will not receive
the new military
service credit?

How many
individuals claimed
the credit in 2009,
and how much did
they claim?

FAGI is calculated on the federal tax forms (Form 1040 10404, or 104OEZ) It
includes most kinds of income, such as! :
e wages, salaries, and tips;
e taxable interest; "
o dividends and capital gains or losses; :
e business income or loss, including income from partnerships and S
Acorporatlons
o taxable IRA, pension, and annuity d1str1but10ns
e farm income or loss;
e unemployment compensatlon and ~ ~
¢ taxable Social Security benefits (the arnount of Social Security beneﬁts that
are taxable depends on the individual’s income level; at most, 85 percent of
benefits are included in federal adjusted gross income).

Some of the major items excluded from FAGI are:
e deductible retirement plan contributions;
s nontaxable employee fringe benefits;
e student loan interest payments;
o one-half of self-employment tax; :
e health insurance premiums (for self-employed taxpayers only),
e tax-exempt bond interest; and
e veterans disability payments.

Qualifying veterans with less than $30,000 in taxable military retirement income

~ and no other income other than Social Security would qualify for part or all of the

credit, depending on the individual’s tax liability. Since Social Security benefits
are not included in FAGI for low-income filers, receipt of Social Security will not

.subject an individual to the income-based phaseout.

Qualifying veterans who are 100 percent totally and permanently disabled may or
may not receive the credit, depending on their amount of taxable income (military
disability compensation itself is nontaxable). With no taxable income or with more
than $37,500 of adjusted gross income, such disabled veterans do not receive the
credit. Conversely, with any amount of taxable income greater than zeto and less
than $37,500, the disabled veteran would receive a credit.

In tax year 2009, 1,507 returns claimed about $970,000 in credits, for an average
credit of $646. In tax year 2010, 1,616 returns claimed about $1.065 million in
credits, for an average of $659. Usage of the credit in the first two years it was in
effect has been stable and was substantially lower than the estimate prepared when
the credit was enacted in 2008, which pl‘O_] jected that about 14,000 veterans would
claim $10.3 million in credits.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Jim Cleary at

651-296-5053.
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| ;Long-terin Cvarle Insurance Income Tax Credit

What is the
.credit?

What is the
rationale for this
tax credit?

Is the credit
refundable?

Who is eligible
Jor the credit?

How is the credit

~ calculated?

How many
Minnesotans

claim the credit?

The Minnesota Iorig-term care insurance credit offsets the cost of long-term care
insurance premiums by providing a credit against state income tax liability. The

~maximum Minnesota credit is equal to the lesser of $100 or 25 percent of the amount -

paxd for each beneficiary. The maximum total cred1t is $200 annually on a joint
return or $100. for individual filers. .

This credit was enacted in 1997 and took effect in tax year 1999.

The Minnesota long-term care tax credit provides an incentive for Minnesotans to
purchase long-term care insurance coverage. If more Minnesota residents purchase
long-term care insurance, there may be a decrease in the cost to the state of providing
for the long-term care of residents who are unable to afford long-term care services.

The Minnesota credit is a nonrefundable credit and may be used only to offset tax
liability. If an individual qualifies for a credit that is greater than her or his tax

 liability, the excess will not be paid as a refund..

A Minnesota taxpayer who purchases insurance to provide long-term care coverage,
such as nursing home or home care coverage, for him or herself or spouse is eligible
for the credit, To qualify for the credit the long-term care policy must: .

o qualify for the federal 1tem1zed deduction for medical expenses,
dlsregardmg the 7.5 percent income test; and

. have a lifetime long-term care beneﬁt limit of $100,000 or more..

The Minnesota credit equals 25 percent of qualifying long-term care insurance
premiums for one beneficiary, up to a maximum of $100 for individuals and up to
$200 for married couples filing jointly who both have coverage. A taxpayer may
claim only one policy for each qualified beneficiary. It is not necessary that the
taxpayers filing jointly have separate policies or premiums. The amount of
premiums used to calculate the credit must be reduced by any premiums claimed as a.

‘medical expense deduction on the taxpayer’s federal return.

For tax year 2009, 57,476 Minnesota returns claimed the credit. These claims
represent about 2 percent of all state returns filed by Minnesotans.

Filers claim the credit on their Minnesota income tax return using Schedule MILTIL.



How much is

- paid outin .
credits?

How does

Minnesota

compare with
. other states?

Infax_ year 2009, Minnesotans claimed $8_.O4 million of long-term care insurance

- credits. The average long-term care tax credit was $140 in tax year 2009. The

average credit exceeds the maximum credit of $100 per qualified beneficiary because

| ~ married couples filing joint returns may claim the max1mum credit for both spouses
(up to a total of $200).- : '

‘The followmg table includes all states that offered a long-term care insurance tax

credit in 2009, but not those states that offer a long-term care insurance tax
deduction. Data on the number of claimants and cost by state is for 2009.

In addition to the states listed, Louisiana has enacted but not funded a 10 percent
credit, Maine provides a credit to employers who provide coverage to employees,
and New Mexico allows a refundable credit of $2,800 for individuals age 65 or older
with over $28,000 in medical expenses, including long-term care premiums.

Maximum | Credit Number of returns | Cost to the state
credit rate* claiming the credit for the credit
Colorado® $150 25% 19,000 (est.) $3.6 million (est.)
Maryland’ Varies by 100% 5,081 $2.75 million -
age:
. $320-$500 . ‘ '
Minnesota $100 25% 57,476 $8.04 million
Mississippi - $500 25% - 1,800 (est.) $1 million (est.)
Montana® $5,000 | Varies by 41 $45,059
‘ income: ‘ .
20% to 30% _ } .
New York None - 20% 96,000 - $51.7 million
North $350 15% 13,000 (est.) ~_ $4.7 million
Carolina* : ,
| North Dakota® $250 100% 425 $0.1 million (est.)
Oregon $500 15% 33,114 $7.6 million
Virginia® None 15% 3,939 ,$1'1 million
* The credlt rate is the percentage of premlums allowed as a credit. ‘
! Colorado’s credit is income- -limited; the maximum for joint filers is $150 per spouse
2 Maryland’s credit can be claimed only once per person. ~
> Montana’s tax credit is a credit for expenses related to care of elderly family members Long- L

term care insurance premiums are a qualifying expense. Data for Montana includes credlts for all
qualifying expenses, including long-term care insurance premlums

4
5

6

North Carolina’s credit is income-limited. ;
North Dakota’s credit is limited to long-term care plans that meet consumer protection criteria
and pr0v1de inflation protection.

Virginia’s credit applies only to the first 12 months of prenuums pald

For more mformatlon. Contact legislative analysts Nina Manz1 at 651 -296- 5204 J oel Mlchael at
1651-296-5057, or Randall Chun at 651 -296-8639.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartisan of'ﬂce prowdmg legxslatlve
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Sunset of 2001 Federal Tax LaW Prov1s10ns and
Effects on Mlnnesota' Income Tax Revenues

In 2001, Congress passed a federal tax act (the ECOHOI’HIC Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001,

or EGTRRA) that included several tax provisions that sunset in 2010. In 2010, Congress extended these
provisions for two years, to-2012, in the Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job
Creation Act of 2010, or TRUIRJCA.

Why do provisions
of the 2001 federal

- tax law expire after
20122

How does the
Sfederal sunset affect
Minnesota’s income
tax calculation and
revenues?

- Which expiring
- federal provisions
~ affect federal

taxable income and

what is the impact
on Minnesota
income tax
revenues?

EGTRRA was passed under the 'congressional budget reconciliation process. The

, reconeﬂlatlon process allows any senator to require a three-fifths majority vote for

revenue reductions that extend beyond a ten-year time period. To avoid this
possibility, EGTRRA’s sponsors chose to sunset its revenue reductions after ten

~ years. Thus, the law included a “sunset” under which all changes expired after tax

year 2010. TRUIRJCA extended the EGTRRA sunset by two years, through tax
year 2012. Since 2001 Congress has made some of the EGTRRA provisions
permanent, most notably the modifications made to pension and IRA provisions.

Federal sunset provisions can affect Minnesota’s income tax in several ways.

» Since Minnesota’s income tax calculation starts with federal taxable
income, the expiration of federal deductions or exemptions results in
larger federal taxable income, larger Minnesota taxable income, and
higher Minnesota income tax revenues.

» EGTRRA included marri'age penalty relief in the federal earned income
tax credit, providing for the credit to phase out at higher income levels for
mamed filers than for smgle parents

» EGTRRA increased the maximum qualifying expenses and rates for the
_federal dependent care credit. Minnesota continued to tie the phaseout of .
the state credit to the federal credit amounts, resulting in higher state
credits for some clalmants subJect to the income phaseout. '

Minnesota did not conform to the TRUIRJ CA extension of the three provisions
that affect the most taxpayers and would have had the largest state revenue impact:
marriage penalty relief in'the standard deduction, and the elimination of both the
limit on itemized deductions and the phaseout of personal and dependent
exemptions. Because Minnesota did not conform to extension of these three items,

~ Minnesota income tax revenues will not be affected when the provisions sunset

after tax year 2012. Instead, affected Minnesota taxpayers are required to adjust
their state taxable income in tax years 2011 and 2012 for these three items.

» Marriage penalty relief in federal standard deduction. Married filers who
~ claim the standard deduction must add to taxable income the additional
standard deduction amount allowed at the federal level. Over 500,000
Minnesota taxpayers will pay about $59 million more in taxes in 2011 and |



about $62 million more in 2012.

v Limit on itemized deductions. Higher income taxpayers will have up to 80

percent of their itemized deductions disallowed. Over 100,000 Minnesota

“taxpayers will pay about $42 mllhon more in taxes in 2011 and about $44
million more in 2012,

»  Phaseout of personal and dependent exemptions. Higher income
taxpayers will have up to 100 percent of their personal and dependent
exemptions phased out. Over 60,000 Minnesota taxpayers will pay about
$29 million more in taxes in 2011 and about $30 million more in 2012.

How will taxpayers ~ Under current law, the income level at which the Minnesota working family tax

be affected by the credit begins to phase out will be $5,080 higher for married couples filing joint

sunset of marriage  returns in tax year 2011 than it will be for other filers. This additional amount

penalty relief in the  matches provisions enacted in TRUIRJCA and provides some relief for marriage

working family tax ~ penalties on two-earner households. Although the TRUIRJCA extension of this -

‘credit?  provision applied to both 2011 and 2012, Minnesota has only enacted a parallel

- "~ increase for tax year 2011, In 2012, the working family credit phaseout threshold

for married filers will revert to the level in effect for other filers. An estimated
51,000 married couples will qualify for smaller working family crechts and the
state will pay nearly $16 million less in credits.

How will taxpayers Under current law, taxpayers with income in the phasedut range for the state credit
be affected by the qualify for the lesser of the state credit subject to state phaseout parameters, or the
sunset of changes to  federal credit allowed for their income level. In 2013, federal qualifying expenses

the federal and credit rates will decrease to pre-EGTRRA levels. An estimated 22,000
dependent care ~ Minnesota taxpayers will qualify for smaller state credits, ‘and the state will pay

- credit? ~ about $2.0 million less in credits. ~
Will sunsets of TRUIRJCA also extended reduced federal tax rates on capital gains income. The
other federal reduced rates are scheduled to sunset after tax year 2012. In 2013 the maximum
provisions aﬁ"ect federal rate on capital gains income will increase from 15 percent to 20 percent for
Minnesota tax ~ most filers, and from 0 percent to 10 percent for lower-income filers.
revenue? ' ‘ ' ' 4

Past experience with capital gains rate changes indicates that taxpayers may

accelerate sales of assets into the year with the lower rate and out of later years in
which they expect a higher rate to be in effect. If taxpayers follow this pattern; it
will lead to the shifting of taxable income into tax year 2012 from tax year 2013
- and following years. However, some taxpayers may expect Congress to further
'extend the rates to 2013 and beyond.

Since Minnesota’s income tax calculation starts with federal taxable i income, any
shift in the realization of gains will affect state as well as federal revenues.

- Because of recent experience with the extension of lower rates to tax years 20 11
and 2012, the state economic forecast for November 2011 does not project any
change in individual income tax revenues as a result of accelerated realization of =
gains; MMB will review this issue in preparing the February 2012 forecast.

For more mformatlon Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204.

. The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office provxdlng Ieglslatlve
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County State-Aid Highway System

The county state-aid highway system is a network of key highways under the
jurisdiction of Minnesota’s counties. It covers roughly 30,600 miles of roadway
throughout all 87 counties, comprising over two-thirds of all county highway
miles. Counties receive money from the state’s county state-aid highway (CSAH)
fund for the construction, improvement, and maintenance of those highways
included in the state-aid system.

State aid is provided through the CSAH fund, which is established by the
Minnesota Constitution. Revenue mainly comes from taxes on motor fuels, motor
vehicle registration, motor vehicle sales, and vehicle leases. Total available
revenue is $496.5 million in calendar year 2012. (This briefing does not discuss a
CSAH fund “set-aside” that goes into town road, town bridge, and flexible
highway accounts, some of which may also be provided to counties.)

Among the requirements accompanying the aid, counties must typically expend 60
percent of their allocation on construction projects and 40 percent on maintenance
efforts. Minn. Rules part 8820.1400. Counties are also required to expend a share
of their aid on stretches of county state-aid highways located within small cities
having populations under 5,000. Minn. Stat. § 162.08, subd. 1. In general, the
expenditure must be proportional, based on the construction needs for county state-
aid highway segments located in a county’s small cities compared to the total
construction needs in that county’s state-aid highway system.

Money in the CSAH fund is allocated ona calendar-year basis, with the amount
determined through a combination of actual tax receipts and estimated receipts for
the remainder of the fiscal year.

A portion is set aside in deductions for county highway-related purposes,
consisting of: (1) MnDOT administrative costs, (2) a disaster account, (3) a
research account, and (4) a state park roads account. The calendar year 2012
deductions are $16.1 million, or about 3.2 percent of total funding.

Direct aid in calendar year 2012 is $469.5 million. It is divided into two categories
reflecting distinct revenue streams: the apportionment sum and the excess sum.
Aid within each category is distributed through a separate statutory formula.

Minn. Stat. § 162.07.

The apportionment sum revenue consists of available CSAH fund dollars for direct
aid that are not identified as part of the excess sum (described below). The funds
are distributed to counties following a statutory formula, so that:

o 10 percent of the apportionment sum is divided equally among all counties;
e 10 percent is proportional based on motor vehicle registration in each
county (compared to the total for all counties);



o 30 percent is proportional based on a county’s lane-miles in the system; and
e 50 percent is proportional based on county construction needs to bring the
system up to county engineering standards. Minn. Stat. § 162.07, subd. 1b.

Excess sum revenue Excess sum revenue consists of the total from three sources:

e Revenue from motor fuels tax above the amount collected at a rate of 20
cents per gallon (which comprises additional revenue from a motor fuels
tax increase established in 2008 transportation finance legislation)

e Revenue from the registration tax above the inflation-adjusted amount
collected in fiscal year 2008 (which is designed to identify increased
revenue resulting from registration tax changes also made 2008) ;

e Revenue from the motor vehicle sales tax above the percentage allocated to
the CSAH fund in fiscal year 2007 (which is designed to reflect additional
motor vehicle sales tax revenue that phased in for transportation purposes
over fiscal years 2008-12). Minn. Stat. § 162.07, subd. 1a.

Excess sum . The formula distributes (1) 40 percent of the excess sum in proportion to_each
distribution formula  county’s share of the total number of motor vehicles registered, and (2) 60 percent
in proportion to each county’s share of construction needs. Minn. Stat. § 162.07.

Analysis of The excess sum was established as a second aid allocation formula in 2008 as part
JSormulas of legislation that increased funding for transportation purposes. Laws 2008, ch.

152. It was designed to address equity concerns in the statewide distribution of
CSAH fund aid. !

For 2012, the excess sum is $137.5 million or around 29 percent of the formula-
~ based direct aid allocated to counties (that is, excluding deductions). The portion
of direct aid distributed via the excess sum formula has been increasing since it
was introduced, due to the manner in which most revenue increases to the CSAH
fund are counted as part of the excess sum.

Direct Aid Components Historical Direct Aid
CY 2012 ($469.5 million) CY 2008-12
Lane-

2008 2009 2010 2011 2012
B Apport. Sum  OExcess Sum

7.9%

Motor vehicle lease  Also under a 2008 change, a portion of revenue from the sales tax on motor vehicle
sales tax leases is allocated to counties in the Twin Cities metropolitan area excluding
Hennepin and Ramsey. The distribution is proportional based on the population of
each county. Minn. Stat. § 297A.815. Funds in calendar year 2012 totaled $10.9
million, which included a $5.2 million catch-up due to unexpected revenues.
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Corporate Farm Law

In general, the law bars corporations, limited liability companies, pension or
investment funds, trusts, and limited partnerships from farming, owning, or leasing
farmland in Minnesota. Minn. Stat. § 500.24.

The legislature created the corporate farm law in 1973. Subsequent legislatures
have amended it roughly 30 times. However, restrictions on corporate ownership

~of land in Minnesota predate the codification of Minnesota Statutes in 1939.

To “encourage and protect the family farm as a basic economic unit, to insure it as
the most socially desirable mode of agricultural production and to enhance and
promote the stability and well-being of rural socrety in Minnesota and the nuclear
family.” Mrnn Stat. § 500.24, subd. 1

- Farming 1ncludes the production of agrlcultural products, livestock or livestock

products, milk or milk products, and fruit or other horticultural products. The law
does not apply to food processing, refining, or packaging operations; the provision
of spraying or harvesting services by a processor or distributor of farm products;
the production of timber or forest products; the production of poultry or poultry
products; or raising livestock for delivery to a corporat1on for slaughter or

processing.

In addition to family farms and multiple family-based business structures (e.g.,
family farm trust), the law either implicitly or explicitly allows farmmg and/or
farmland ownership/leasing by: »

*  sole proprietors;

»  general and limited liability partnershlps

* authorized versions of otherwise-prohibited busmess structures (e.g., -
authorized farm corporations),

= nonprofits; and

= utility corporations and electric generation or transmission co-ops.

- Restricted business entrtres may own and/or operate farmland under the followmg
exemptions:

*  land purchased and converted for nonfarm development;
= “grandfathered” land owned or leased before certain dates;
* land used for growing seed, wild rice, nursery plants, or sod;
*  certain small parcels of land,;
* land used for aquatic, religious, breeding stock, or research farms and
= gifted or repossessed land if disposed of within a specified period of time.



In addrtlon entities that do not meet any of the above criteria may apply to the
commissioner of agriculture for a special exemption.

Do other states have ITowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma South Dakota and

similar laws? Wisconsin also have corporate farm laws.
Are these laws A common requirement of corporate farm laws is that the owner or at least one
constitutional? family member resides on or actively farms the land. In December 2006, a federal

appeals court struck down Nebraska’s corporate farm law, ruling that it violated
the dormant commerce clause of the U.S. Constitution. The laws in Iowa and
South Dakota were similarly ruled unconstitutional in 2003. The courts found all
three to be discriminatory, benefiting in-state econom1o interests at the expense of
those re51d1ng out of state. :

No one has challenged Minnesota’s corporate farm law hkely due in part to
exemptions added by the legislature since 1973.

For more information: The Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) administers the corporate farm
law. Questions about the application of the law to a specific entity, property, or situation should be directed
to the MDA at 651-201-6000 or 1-800-967-2474. For legislative issues, contact legislative analyst Colbey
Sullivan at 651-296-5047. Also see the House Research publications Corporate Farm Law 1851-1991
(November 1991) and Alien Farmers in Minnesota 1851-2004 (December 2004) for more on the hlstory of
laws restricting who may farm and own farmland in Minnesota. .

The Research Department of the anesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartisan ofﬂce prov1d1ng legislative,
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Rural Fin.ance Authority

The Rural Finance Authority (RFA) is the state’s main agricultural lendihg arm.
The legislature established the RFA during the farm credit crisis of the 1980s to
help eligible farmers restructure mounting debt. ' :

The RFA is directed to “develop the state’s agricultural resources by extending
credit...on terms and conditions not otherwise available from other credit sources.
Minn. Stat. § 41B.01. Although the RFA has authority to issue loans directly, it
typically partners with private agricultural lenders to provide favorable financing
opportunities for eligible farmers. '

2

The RFA has official agreements with more than 400 private lenders. The lenders
actually issue and administer the loans. The RFA purchases a portion of the loan
from the lender and charges the farmer a lower rate of interest on its portion of the
debt. As aresult, the farmer pays a blended interest rate that is lower than the
market rate charged by the private lender alone. (The blended interest rate is the
weighted average of the interest rates charged by the RFA and the lender.) By
lowering the farmer’s interest costs, this arrangement makes debt financing more
affordable.

Although the RFA is a separate public body with its own powers and duties, it is
administered by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture.. The RFA is a small
organization with four employees. The board consists of the commissioners of
agriculture (chair), management and budget (vice chair), employment and
economic development, and commerce, as well as the state auditor. The governor
appoints an additional six public board members who must be approved by the

- Senate. Public board members may not reside in the seven-county Twm Cities -

metropolitan area.

The RFA currently manages 11 different loan programs. Each program‘ has its

own specific purpose, borrower criteria, and other details. These programs, along
with years of inception and funding sources, are as follows:

e Basic Beginning Farmer (1987, general obhgatlon (G.0) bonds)

e Seller- -sponsored (1989, G.O. bonds)

e Agricultural Development Bond (“Aggie Bond”) ( 1991, federal private

activity bonds)

o Agricultural Improvement (1992 G. O bonds)

e Restructure II (1993, G.O. bonds)

e Livestock Expansion (1994, G.O. bonds)

e Value-added Stock (1994, general fund (G.F.) appropriation)

e Disaster Recovery (1998, G.F. appropriation) :



Which farmers are
eligible?

How does the RFA
use bonds to fund
certain loan
programs?

Do these G.O.
bonds require a
three-fifths vote of
the House and
Senate?

Why are some
programs funded
with cash instead?

Do other states have

similar entities?

e Methane Digester (2002, G.F. appropriaﬁon)
o Livestock Equipment (2005, G.F. appropriation)
e Pilot Agricultural Mlcroloan Program (2012, G. F approprlatlon)

In general, a borrower must be the principal operator of a farm who is also (1) a
Minnesota resident, (2) a member of a family-owned and -operated farm
corporation, or (3) a member of a family-owned and -operated farm partnership.
Beyond these general requirements, many programs have their own eligibility

“rules. To focus support on smaller beginning farmers, several programs limit

eli glblhty to those whose net worth falls below an inflation-adjusted threshold

The Minnesota Constitution allows the legislature to borrow money and use the
proceeds “to develop the state’s agricultural resources by extending credit on real
estate security.” Minn. Const. art. XI, § 5(h). In essence, the state takes out a loan

_ and lends the borrowed funds to eligible farmers. These bonds are considered 100

percent “user-financed” because the RFA is required by law to charge farmers a
rate of interest sufficient to meet the debt service obligations on the G.O. bonds.
Because the state typically boasts a strong, credit rating and G.O. bond interest is
generally exempt from federal and state income taxes, the rate the state pays on
G.0. bonds—and by extension the rate the RFA charges farmers—tends to be
relatively low. .

A three-fifths supermajority is not necessary; only a simplé majority is required.
The Constitution treats these bonds differently than bonds issued to fund
conventional capital investment projects. Minn. Const. art. XI, § 5(a) and (h). -

The Constitution requires that farm loans financed by G.O. bonds must be secured

by a lien on real estate. In other words, RFA loans financed by G.O. bond
proceeds must be secured by a mortgage on the borrower’s farmland. Loans not
tied to the borrower’s farmland must be funded by another source. While the RFA
has authority to raise funds by issuing its own taxable revenue bonds, the
legislature has funded certain RFA programs with general fund appropriations.
This gives the legislature and RFA greater flexibility in defining loan security
requirements and setting interest rates. For instance, the RFA charges no interest
on its methane digester loans—a program funded entirely by general fund
appropriations. General fund programs utilize revolving loans, whereby the RFA
may use loan repayments from one farmer to issue a loan to a different farmer.

Thirty-eight other states have agricultural finance programs similar to the RFA.

For more information: To learn more about the loan programs or to apply for financing visit
www.mda.state.mn.us or call the RFA directly at 651-201-6004 or 1-800-967-2474. For leglslatlve matters,
contact legislative analyst Colbey Sullivan at 651-296-5047. For more on general obligation bonds, see the
House Research publication State General Obligation Bondzng, November 2010.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartisan offlce providing legislative,
legal, and mformatlon services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Minnesota Family Investment Program

The Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) is a jointly funded, federal-state program that provides
income assistance to eligible low-income families. MFIP is the state’s response to the 1996 federal welfare
reform law, which replaced the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program with Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), a block grant program to states.

Who is eligible for
MFIP?

How much are
monthly benefits?

What are the work
requirements?

A family must have income and assets below the program’s limits. The income
limit increases with family size. Families do not exit MFIP until their income
reaches 115 percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG). The 2012 FPG for a
family of three is $19,090 (115 percent of FPG for a family of three equals
$21,954). Assets are limited to $2,000 for MFIP applicants and $5,000 for
ongoing recipients, excluding certain items. In addition, families must meet the
following eligibility requirements:

e have a minor child in the home (or be pregnant)
e be residents of Minnesota
e Dbe U.S. citizens, qualified noncitizens, or noncitizens otherwise lawfully
residing in the United States '
e assign rights to child support
o have received fewer than 60 months assistance
- o satisfy any other eligibility requirements of the program

Families are subject to a lifetime limit of 60 months of assistance. Some families
may be eligible for assistance extensions past the 60-month limit if they meet
specific criteria for one of the following extension categories: ill or incapacitated,
hard-to-employ, and employed participants.

The MFIP grant is based on a transitional standard that increases with family size.
For example, a family of three’s monthly benefit in 2012 is currently $1,058; a
family of four’s benefit is $1,289. For families without earnings, the monthly
grant equals the transitional standard. For families with earnings, the monthly
grant equals the “family wage level” (110 percent of the transitional standard
minus the family’s net earned income). The MFIP grant is composed of a cash
portion and a food portion, both of which are issued by counties in electronic debit
card form.

MEFIP caregivers (i.e., persons who live with and provide care and support to minor
children) are required to spend a specified number of hours every week engaged in
work or work activities. Examples of acceptable activities include job search
activities, unsubsidized employment, and on-the-job training.

Employment plans must be tailored to recognize the special circumstances of



MFIP participants who meet certain criteria, such as being over age 60, being ill or
incapacitated, caring for a disabled child, or being the victim of family violence.

Postsecondary education is not routinely available to MFIP caregivers. Job
counselors may approve postsecondary education only when the education
program meets specific MFIP criteria.

Special requirements exist for caregivers under age 20. In most cases, educatlon 1s
the first priority for teen MFIP participants.

How do sanctions MEFIP participants who do not meet the pro gram requirements may be sanctioned

work? through reduction of their monthly grant. Sanctions last until one month after a
participant comes into compliance. An MFIP case must be closed after the seventh
occurrence of noncompliance.

What are MFIP’s MFIP is funded with a combination of federal funds and state appropriations.
Sfunding streams Minnesota received approximately $268 million annually in TANF block grant
and expenditures?  funding in federal fiscal years 1998 to 2012 (this amount is subject to federal
’ reauthorization). In addition, federal law includes a maintenance of effort (MOE)
provision that requires a state to spend 75 percent to 80 percent of the amount it
spent in 1994 under its old AFDC and related programs to assist needy families. In
fiscal year 2012, the state’s required MOE amount was $179.7 million per year.

According to the Department of Human Services, for state fiscal year 2011, total
expenditures were $110.1 million for the cash portion and $167.7 million for the -
food portion of the MFIP grants. In terms of funding, $72.0 million was financed
with federal TANF funds, $167.7 million was from federal Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program funds, and $101.1 million was from state appropriations.

How many families In fiscal year 2012, in an average month an estimated 42,079 families and a total of
receive MFIP? 113,605 participants were receiving MFIP assistance.

For more information: See the House Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance, December 2009,
and the following Short Subjects: Minnesota Family Investment Program Time Limit Exemptions and
Extensions, July 2004, and MFIP Cases Reaching the 60-Month Time Limit, July 2009.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. :
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General Assistance

General Assistance (GA) is a state program that provides cash assistance to individuals or childless
couples who are not eligible for federally funded assistance programs, but who are unable to provide for
themselves (Minn. Stat. § 256D 01).

Eligibility An applicant qualifies for GA if he or she meets the eligibility requirements and
’ has income and assets below the limits established by the state legislature and the
Department of Human Services (DHS). Assistance is available as long as the
individual continues to meet eligibility requirements; there is no set time limit.

In addition to having financial need, a GA applicant must also meet the following
conditions:

» Be aresident of Minnesota ,

» Beineligible for aid from any cash assistance program that uses federal
funds (i.e., Minnesota Family Investment Program or Supplemental Secunty
Income)

» Be a citizen of the United States

» Be unable to work because the person: .

1. . Has a professionally certified illness, injury, or incapacity expected to
continue for more than 45 days and that prevents the person from
getting or keeping a job

2.  Has been diagnosed as having a developmental dlsablhty or mental

illness

Is unable to seek or retain employment due to advanced age

4.  Isneeded in the home to care for a person whose age or medical
condition requires continuous care

5. Isplaced in a licensed or certified facility for care or treatment under a

plan approved by the local human services agency

Resides in a shelter for battered women

7.  Has an application pending for or is appealing a termination of Social

Security disability payments, so long as the person has a

professionally certified illness or disability

Is assessed as not employable

9.  Isunder age 18 in specified circumstances and with consent of the
local agency

10. Is eligible for displaced homemaker services and is enrolled as a full-
time student .

11. Has had an alcohol or drug addiction that is a material factor that
contributes to the person’s disability

12, Is involved with protective or court-ordered services that prevent
working at least four hours per day

[US)

*

o



13. Isover age 18 and whose primary language is not English and is
attending high school at least part-time
14. Has a condition that qualifies as a specific learning disability

GA is not provided to:

» Fugitive felons and parole and probation violators; or

» Persons who have fraudulently misrepresented residency to obtain
assistance in two or more states; these people are not eligible to receive GA
for ten years.

Benefits GA recipients receive a monthly cash assistance payment, called a grant. The
amount of a recipient’s grant is determined by subtracting the recipient’s net
income from the applicable monthly GA assistance standard.

Monthly GA Standards for Smgle Persons and Childless Couples

Eligible Units Monthly
Standard
One adult ‘ $203
Emancipated minor : 203
One adult, living with parent(s) who have no minor children . 203
Minor not living with parent, stepparent, or legal custodian (with 250
approved social services plan)
Married couple with no children : 260
One adult, living in a medical facility or in group residential housing 92

Unlike MFIP, the GA program does not include an employment and training
component. GA recipients are not required to participate in any employment and
training services as a condition of receiving benefits.

Funding and The state pays for the costs of GA benefits. In state fiscal year 2012, the state
Expenditures estimated paying $49,721,888 in benefits to GA recipients.

Recipient Profile Most GA recipients are single persons. Childless couples may also be eﬁgible for
‘ GA. In state fiscal year 2012, the average monthly number of GA cases was
projected to be 21,906.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance, December 2009.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) |

Since October 1998, cash and Food Support benefits have been issued by
Minnesota counties to all recipients in an electronic debit card format known as
EBT, or electronic benefits transfer. An EBT card looks and works like any other
bank debit card. Benefits are issued directly to families receiving Minnesota
Family Investment Program (MFIP) and Food Support benefits. As part of the
1996 federal welfare reform, all states were required to move to EBT systems by
October 1, 2001.

MFIP benefits are based on family size, with the MFIP grant composed of a cash
portion and a food portion. Counties issue both the cash and the food portion of an
MFIP family’s grant in EBT form. MFIP families receive the food portion of
assistance as a part of the MFIP grant, instead of receiving a separate benefit
payment through the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP).
The MFIP food portion uses the same EBT mechanism to deliver the MFIP food
benefits as the stand-alone Food Support program does. However, the two kinds of
MFIP benefits (cash and food) are electronically segregated on the family’s EBT
card. This ensures that the family can only use the food portion of their MFIP
benefit to purchase food items that are approved under SNAP, from a retailer that
has been approved under that program. '

Food Support assists households composed of eligible single individuals and
families. Generally speaking, the basic Food Support household consists of
individuals living together who purchase and prepare meals in common. A
household qualifies for the Food Support program if it satisfies certain eligibility
requirements or if its income and assets are below the program’s established limits.

The Food ’Support program benefits and MFIP food portion are adjusted as needed

to reflect cost-of-living adjustments to the federal SNAP. The MFIP cash portion is
not automatically adjusted.

Food Support may only be used to purchase federally approved food and food
products, excluding alcohol, tobacco, and pet food, in approved stores. Approved
stores include grocery stores and convenience stores that sell a variety of foods and
have been authorized to accept Minnesota EBT cards. Individuals over 60 (and
their spouses), blind and disabled persons, and homeless individuals can also use
Food Support to purchase meals in authorized restaurants. In addition, Food
Support can be used to purchase hot foods or hot food products through nonprofit
meal delivery services, at communal dining facilities, and at institutions serving
meals to drug addicts, alcoholics, and battered women and children.



There are no such restrictions on the cash portion of the MFIP benefit; the family
accesses these benefits through point-of-sale terminals or automatic teller machines
(ATMs). (There are certain locations at which no person may obtain cash benefits
through the use of an EBT card, including liquor stores and tobacco stores.)

However, EBT cardholders may not use the EBT card to purchase tobacco
products or alcoholic beverages. A recipient found to be guilty of using an EBT
card to purchase prohibited items is disqualified from receiving assistance for one
year for the first offense, two years for the second offense, and permanently for the

third offense.

Additionally, effective March 1, 2013, EBT cardholders are limited to using the
cash portion on the EBT card in Minnesota and the four surrounding states.

How often do Fach month, a family’s EBT account is credited with their cash and Food Support

benefits get issued?  benefits. During the month, the family uses the EBT card to purchase items or
withdraw cash. The family swipes their EBT card through a point-of-sale terminal
or ATM, and the purchases or withdrawn cash are deducted from their account
balance. Cash may only be withdrawn from the cash portion of the MFIP benefit.

In federal fiscal year 2012, a family of three with no earnings would receive an
MFIP cash benefit of $532 and food benefit of $526 per month. In January 2012,
the average monthly Food Support amount issued per household was $392.05.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance, December 2009.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartlsan offuce provxdlng legislative,
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Child Care ASsistance

- Child care assistance programs subsidize the child care expenses of eligible low-

income families. The Minnesota Department of Human Services administers
two child care assistance programs: Minnesota Family Investment Program
(MFIP) child care assistance and Basic Sliding Fee (BSF) child care assistance.
MEFIP child care subsidizes the child care costs of families receiving cash
assistance through MFIP and provides child care assistance for eligible families
for the first 12 months after the family leaves MFIP cash assistance (transition
year child care). BSF child care provides a child care subsidy to low-income
working families who are not receiving cash assistance from MFIP. ‘

To be eligible for child care assistance, both parents (or one parent in single-
parent households) must participate in an authorized work, education, or training °
activity, cooperate with child support enforcement, and meet income eligibility
guidelines. The maximum income limit to be eligible for child care assistance is
47 percent of state median income at program entry and 67 percent or less of

state median income at program exit. (For fiscal year 2012, 47 percent of state
median income was $33,992, and 67 percent of state median income was

$48,457 for a family of three.)

Children up to age 12 are eligible for child care assistance (up to age 14 for
disabled children). During fiscal year 2010, there were an average of 1.78
children per family receiving MFIP child care assistance and 1.77 children per
family receiving BSF child care assistance.

County agencies or their contractors must determine eligibility within 30 days of
receiving a request for child care assistance. Direct reimbursement is the only
method of receiving child care assistance.

In fiscal year 2012, the estimated average annual subsidy for a family receiving
MEFTIP child care assistance was $11,539, and the estimated average annual
subsidy for a family receiving BSF child care assistance was $9,625.

Every year, the Commissioner of Human Services conducts a survey of rates
charged by child care providers to determine the 75th percentile maximum rates
for similar care in a county, multicounty region, or category that the
commissioner deems to be similar. However, maximum provider reimbursement
rates have been frozen since 2003, with only a couple of increases since that
time. The 2011 Legislature decreased provider reimbursement rates by 2.5
percent, effective October 31, 2011. »



Are families
required to pay for
some child care
expenses?

How is child care
assistance funded?

How many families
receive child care
assistance?

What are some
potential legislative
issues?

There is a family co-payment requirement based on family size and income.
The maximum family co-payment is about 14 percent of gross monthly income.
Families with incomes below 75 percent of the federal poverty level are exempt
from making co-payments ($14,318 and below for a family of three in 2012).

The child care assistance programs receive funding from a variety of sources,
including the federal Child Care Development Fund (CCDF), federal Temporary

- Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) funds, the state general fund, and county

funds.

Total estimated fiscal year 2012 annual direct service payments are $109.3
million for MFIP and transition year child care and $94.4 million for BSF child
care assistance.

During fiscal year 2012, an estimated average of 9,471 families received MFIP
child care assistance and 9,807 families received BSF child care assistance per
month.

Not all families who apply for child care assistance receive it. MFIP child care is
a forecasted, fully funded program, while BSF child care receives a capped
allocation. As of March 31, 2012, there were 7,941 families on the waiting list
for BSF child care assistance.

During previous legislative sessions, there were several proposals to consolidate

the child care assistance programs into one program to reduce administrative and
program complexity. However, none of these proposals have been passed by the

legislature. There may be future attempts to consolidate the child care assistance

programs.

In recent years, there have been several attempts to increase maximum provider
rates due to the rate freeze that has been in effect since 2003. Maximum
reimbursement rates continue to be below the previous level of the 75th
percentile for similar care in a country or region. There has also been interest in
establishing a statewide quality improvement and rating system and a common
set of quality standards for child care and other early childhood programs. These
issues continue to be discussed. ‘ ,

For more information: See the House Research publication Funding to Support Child Care Assistance,

December 2011.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
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State Jury Service

The Minnesota Constitution guarantees citizens the right to a jury trial in all criminal prosecutions and in all
cases at law, This right extends to criminal actions in which an offender may be sentenced to imprisonment.
It also extends to civil actions in which legal relief (such as money damages) rather than equitable relief
(such as performing a specific act) is sought. A jury trial is not guaranteed in situations in which the only
penalty is a fine (i.e., traffic tickets). A person may waive his or her right to a jury trial. The right to a jury
trial depends upon an impartial jury system. :

How many people
serve on a jury?

How are people
selected for jury
service?

Who is a “quallf ied
citizen”?

When may a person
be excused from ]ury
service?

May a person defer
jury service to a later
date?

In felony cases, a jury is composed of 12 members. For all other criminal and civil
cases, a jury must have at least six members.

All people selected for jury service must be drawn at random from the broadest
feasible cross section of the population of the area served by the court. All
“qualified citizens” can be considered for jury service and must serve when
summoned. No one may be excluded from jury service on the basis of race, color,
creed, religion, sex, national origin, marital status, disability, age, occupation,
economic status, status with regard to public assistance, or a physical or sensory
disability. Voter registration and drivers’ hcense lists are used as jury source lists.

To be qualified to serve as a juror, the prospectlve juror must be:

e - a United States citizen;
» atleast 18 years of age;
« aresident of the county;
 able to communicate in English;
o physically and mentally capable of serving;
» aperson who is not under a sentence for a felony conviction;
« aperson who has not served as a state or federal grand or petit juror in the
past four years; and
. » ‘aperson who is not a judge serving in the judicial branch.

People who are 70 years old or older are automatically excused from jury service
upon request. A member, officer, or employee of the legislature is excused from
jury service while the legislature is in session. If authorized by a jury
commissioner, people may be excused if their ability to receive and evaluate
information is so impaired that they cannot perform juror duties or if their service
would be a continuing hardship. o

Each county may establish conditions for deferral of jury service. The deferral shall
be for a reasonable time, after which the prospective juror must be available for
service. Examples of deferral conditions include: temporary health problems,
vacation plans, employment conflicts, prescheduled medical appointments, and
time needed to arrange for child care. Candidates for elected office may also
request deferral during a campaign. To verify deferral conditions, consult the court
or jury administration office in your county of residence.



What happens if a If a person fails to appear when summoned, the person shall be ordered by the court

prospective juror to appear and show cause for failure to comply with the summons. Absent a

fails to appear when  showing of good cause, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be held in
summoned to jury contempt. Failure to complete a jury qualification questionnaire results in the same
service? sanctions. It is also a misdemeanor to willfully misrepresent a material fact on a

jury qualification questionnaire for purposes of securing or avoiding jury service. '

Are jurors ‘ Jurors are compensated for round-trip travel between their residence and the place

compensated for time. of court. They are also compensated for their required attendance. Jurors may

spent on jury duty?  request child care and parking expenses. The Mlnnesota Supreme Court determines
' these compensation rates.

Are employers Employers cannot fire or otherwise coerce an employee because the employee
required to give receives a jury summons, attends court-as a prospective juror, or serves as a juror.
employees time off A violation of this provision subjects an employer to criminal contempt, as well as
for jury service? to a fine of up to $700 and/or six months’ imprisonment. A discharged employee

may also bring a civil action against the former employer for the recovery of lost
wages and for an order requiring reinstatement. The employee has 30 days to bring
a civil action. The court must award reasonable attorney’s fees to a prevailing

" employee. Employers are not required to pay an employee while on jury leave.

How long is the term  The time that a person is called upon to perform or be available for jury service

of jury service? varies by county. In counties with a population of 100,000 or more, a term of
service must not exceed two weeks or the completion of one trial, whichever is
longer. In counties with a population of less than 100,000, the maximum term of
service ranges from two to four months; however, no person is required to continue
to serve after the person has reported to the courthouse for ten days or after the
completion of a trial, whichever is longer.

What is the A petit (trial) jury is a body of six to 12 people chosen and swomn in a court to try

difference between a  and determine by verdic.t' any question or issue of fact in a civil or criminal action.

petit jury and a : ' .

grand jury? A grand jury does not try a case; rather, it determines whether probable cause exists
to believe an offense was committed by a person and that person should be brought
to trial. The grand jury—consisting of 16 to 23 people—is sworn in to inquire as to
public offenses and report them by indictment. An indictment is an accusation in
writing charging a person with an offense (versus the prosecutor filinga
complaint). The grand jury may find an indictment only upon the concurrence of 12
or more jurors. Offenses-that may be punished by life imprisonment must be
prosecuted by indictment. :

What is voir dire Voir dire refers to the jury selection process; its purpose is to afford the parties a
(“vwhar deer”)? trial by a qualified and impartial jury. The parties may examine prospective jurors
' to discover grounds to challenge (and dismiss) a prospective juror, including

challenges for cause and peremptory challenges. Examples of challenges for cause
include bias, prejudice, or having a blood or other relation to or with the defendant,
victim, or an attorney in the case. A party may also use a limited number of
peremptory challenge to dismiss a prospective juror. A peremptory challenge does
not require a reason but it cannot be on the basis of race or gender.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Rebecca Pirius at rebecca.pirius@house.mn.
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Corporate Foster Care Moratorium

Corporate foster care is foster care in which the primary license holder does not reside in the residence, and
the foster care home is operated by a corporation with shift staff delivering services to clients. The 2009
Legislature established a partial moratorium on new licenses for corporate foster care. The 2011 and 2012
Legislatures made changes to the moratorium that are briefly described in this short subject.

What is the Beginning July 1, 2009, the commissioner of human services was prohibited from
corporate foster assigning initial licenses for corporate foster care. Exceptions to the moratorium
care moratorium?  include: : :
. o foster care settmgs that are required to be registered under the housing W1th '
services establishment statute;

o foster care licenses replacing foster care licenses in existence on May 15,
2009, and determined to be needed by the commissioner;

o new foster care licenses determined to be needed by the commissioner for
the closure of a nursing facility, intermediate care facility for persons with
developmental disabilities, regional treatment center, or restructuring of
state-operated services that limits the capacity of state-operated facilities;

e new foster care licenses determined to be needed by the commissioner for
* persons requiring hospital level care; and :

e new foster care licenses determined to be needed by the commissioner for
the transition of people from personal care assistance to the home and
community-based services. :

Who is affected by ~ The 2011 Legislature modified the corporate foster care moratorium by directing
the changes to the local agency case managers, at the time of reassessment, to assess recipients of the
corporate foster Medicaid Community Alternatives for Disabled Individuals (CADI) and Brain
care moratorium? ~  Injury (BI) waivers currently residing in corporate foster care to determine if they
~ may be appropriately served in a community-living setting (see definition below).

If a community-living setting is determined appropriate for the recipient, the case
manager must offer the recipient the option to receive alternative housing and
‘service options. The recipient has the choice to stay in corporate foster cate or
transfer to a community-living setting. (See Minn. Stat. § 256B.49, subd. 15.)

The 2012 Legislature modified the corporate care moratorium by:
e delaying the closure of beds from beginning July 1, 2012, to July 1, 2013;
e requiring an annual resource need-determination process to determine
where reduced corporate foster care capacity will be implemented;
e giving the commissioner the authority to delicense up to 128 beds by June
30, 2014, using the needs-determination process;
e exempting certain providers who would otherwise be subject to the



When must the:
reassessments be
completed?

- Howare =~
“community-living
settings” defined?

What other
requirements must
local agencies
meet?

Wh at happens t0
. the vacated beds?

- What is the impact
of this change?

Does this savé the
state money?

decreased licensed capacity; and
e creating a new process for voluntary adult foster care planned closures
(See Minn. Stat. § 256B.493.)

Lead agency case managers must complete these reassessments by July 1, 2013.
Generally, a reassessment of an individual’s strengths, support systems, and need
for services is conducted at least every 12 months and at other times when there
has been a significant change in the individual’s functioning.

“Commumty-hvmg settings” are defined as srngle-famrly homes or apartments
where the service recipient or his or her family owns or rents, and maintains
control over, the individual unit. Communrty-lrvrng settmgs must meet the
following criteria: ~
e individuals must not be required to receive services through the housing
- provider :
e individuals must not be required to have a disability or specrﬁc d1agnosrs to
live in the setting
e individuals may choose whether to share their household and with whom
e individuals must have lockable access and egress (See Minn. Stat. §
256B.49, subd. 23.)

Counties are required to immediately inform the Department of Human Services
(DHS) when a corporate foster care recipient receiving services through the CADI
or BI waivers chooses to move out of a corporate foster care home into a | ‘
community-living setting. DHS must decrease the statewide licensed capacity if
the savings required under the 2011 changes to the corporate foster care
moratorium are not realized through the voluntary closure process. These decreases
in licensed capacity are not subject to appeal (See Minn Stat. § 245A.03, subd. 7.)

The new law prohibits Vacated corporate foster care home beds from being filled
with other recrprents of Medicaid waiver services or group residential housing
unless the savings required under the 2011 changes to the corporate foster care
moratorium are realized through the voluntary closure process. If a corporate foster
care home becomes no longer viable due to the transfer of CADI and BI recipients
to community-living settings, the county agency and DHS must facilitate a
consolidation of settings or closure of the facility. (See Minn. Stat § 256B.49,

“subd. 15.)

DHS has the authority to delicense up to 128 corporate foster care beds as a result
of this change in the law. : ~

This change results in an estimated cost increase of $1.808 mllhon in fiscal years
2012 and 2013 and $660,000 in fiscal years 2014 and 2015

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058.

~ The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. S

_House Research Department l 600 State Office Building l St. Paul, MN 55155 [ 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm .
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The Minnesota Sunset Act

The 2011 Legislature enacted the Minnesota Sunset Act, which establishes a schedule for perio'dic review
and expiration of many state agencies (Minnesota Statutes, chapter 3D). The Sunset Act created a Sunset
Advisory Commission, Wthh reviews and makes recommendations on agencies subject to sunset.

Some agenc:es

expire automatically

unless reauthorized
by law

The Sunset
Advisory
Commission must
- review agencies

The first group of
agencies was
reviewed in 2012

State executwe branch agencies are reviewed according to a schedule prescribed in
law. Many agencies, including most state boards, councils, and commissions,
expire automatically at the scheduled date unless a new law continues the agency.
However, cabinet-level agencies specified in law are reviewed accordmg to the
schedule but do not expire automatically.

The Sunset Advisory Commission must review agencies at the scheduled times and
make recommendations to the legislature. The commission’s recommendations are
advisory—the commission does not have authority to extend an agency that is -
scheduled for automatic expiration or to abolish an agency that is not scheduled to
expire automatically.

The commission consists of four members each of the Senate and House of
Representatives and four members appointed by the governor. No more than three
legislative members may be from the majority caucus in their respective chambers.
All members serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority. The commission

 must review all agencies, even the agencies that do not expire automatically. The

law assigns a sunset date to each agency. The first group of agencies was sunset
and was reviewed in 2012. Other agencies are scheduled for sunset and review in
2014, 2016, 2018, 2020, and 2022. Advisory groups associated with an agency

explre at the same time as the agency.

For agencies reviewed by the Sunset Adv1sory Commlssmn in fall of 2011 and
winter of 2012, the 2012 Legislature:
o abolished the Combative Sports Commission and transferred its duties to
the Department of Labor and Industry; N
o continued the Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board, Amateur
~ Sports Commission, all health-related licensing boards, and the Council on -
Disability and scheduled them for sunset in 2018;

- e continued the Council on Asian Pacific Minnesotans, Council on Black
Minnesotans, Council on Affairs of Chicano/Latino People, and Indian
Affairs Council and scheduled them for sunset in 2014; and

e made various changes in laws governing operations of the reviewed
agencies. : :



A second group of

agencies is sunset
in 2014

The law establishes
-a process to be
~ followed each
review cycle

The law specifies
what happens if an
agency expires

The Department of Health, Department of Human Services, Department of Human
Rights, Department of Education, Board of Teaching, Office of Higher Education,
Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board, and the councils of color noted
above are sunset in 2014. The first four departments and the Office of Hi gher
Education will be reviewed but do not expire automatically. The other ageneles
will expire unless they are renewed.

In each review cycle the following must oceur:

® Agencies subJ ect to review must report statutorily specrﬁed 1nformat10n to
the commission by September 1 of the odd-numbered year before January 1
of the year in which an agency is sunset; the commission must review the
agency, according to criteria specified in law. These criteria include
consideration of the agency’s efﬁciency and effectiveness, if there are
alternative means of performing agency functlons and if there is
duplication and overlap with other agencies.

‘e Before February 1 of the year an agency is sunset, the commission must
conduct public hearings and make recommendations to the legislature on
possible continuation of the agency

¢ During the even-year legislative session, the legislature may enact a new
law providing that an agency does not expire, or (with respect to those
groups that automatlcally expire) may do nothing and thus let the agency
~expire

The law provides that if an agency expires according to schedule on June 30 of an 4

~ even-numbered year, the agency continues to exist with all its powers and authority

until June 30 of the following year (the odd-number year). At that time, unless a
law is enacted providing otherwrse the following oceur:

e Statutory duties, property, and records of an abolished agency are
transferred to the Commissioner of Administration, who is required to
perform necessary administrative functions of the abolished agency

¢ Rules adopted by the abolished agency remain effective and must be
enforced by the Commissioner of Administration

e The Commissioner of Administration may use statutory reorganization
authority to transfer duties of an abolished agency to a drfferent executive
branch agency ,

e Ifan appropriation exists for functlons or obligations transferred from the

~ abolished agency, that appropriation is transferred to the Commissioner of
Administration -

For more information: Contact 1eg1slat1ve analysts Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051 or Lynn Aves at 65 1- -

296- 8079

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office provndlng leglslatlve
Iegal and lnformatlon services to the entire House. - :
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Rulemaking: Expedited Procéss and Exemptions

The legislature sometimes authorizes state agencies to adopt administrative rules without following the usual
rulemaking procedures. This is done by allowing agencies to use an expedited process or by e\emptlng
certain rules from rulemaking,

Expedited
rulemaking process

Specific exemptions

“Good cause”
exemptions

The legislature has created an expedited process for adopting rules. An agency
may use this process only when specifically authorized by law. Under the
expedited process, an agency publishes notice of its proposed rule in the State
Register and mails notices to those who have requested notice.. The agency must
then allow at least 30 days for comment. At the end of the comment period, and
after an administrative law judge approves the form and legality, the agency may
adopt the rule. Unlike the customary rulemaking process, there is no opportunity
for public hearing under the expedited process, unless the legislature specifically
provides for this opportunity. Minn. Stat. § 14.389.

There is a separate expedited process for repealing obsolete rules. Minn. Stat. §
14.3895. This process may be used to repeal rules that an agency identifies in a
required annual report on obsolete rules.

The legislature has enacted numerous laws providing that specific agency policies
that come within the definition of a “rule” may be adopted without complying with

- the usual rulemaking procedures. But these laws often require an agency to follow

certain minimal requirements even if the rules are exempt from the usual
rulemaking procedures. These requirements are as follows:

o The Revisor of Statutes must approve the form of the rule
e The Office of Administrative Hearings must approve the rule’s legality
e A copy of the rule must be published in the State Register

These so-called exempt rules are effective only for two years. Minn. Stat. § 14.386.

Sometimes the legislature provides that the two-year effective peﬂod and the
minimal procedural requirements specified above do not apply to a set of rules. .

The legislature has provided limited circumstances under which an agency may.
omit rulemaking procedures. This can be done only if rulemaking procedures are
unnecessary, impracticable, or contrary to the public interest, and if the rule:

(1) addresses a serious and immediate threat to public health safety, or
welfare;

(2)  complies w1th a court order or federal law in a manner that does not
allow for compliance with rulemaking procedures;



3) incorporates changes in law when no 1nterpretat10n of law is
required; or

@) makes changes that do no alter the meéning or effect of a rule.

An agency using the good cause exemption must give notice of its proposed rule,
including an explanation of why use of the good cause exemption is justified. The
Office of Administrative Hearings reviews the legality of the proposed rules,
including the justification for use of the good cause exemption.

Occasionally, the legislature specifically authorizes an agency to adopt rules under
the good cause exemption. This sometimes happens when the legislature requires -
an agency to change its rules in a specified manner and the agency has no
discretion.

Rules adopted under clauses (1) and (2) are effective only for two years.
Minn. Stat. §14.388.

Agency statements  The legislature has exempted some agency statements from the definition of

that are not “rules” - “rule.” The usual rulemaking process does not apply to these statements.
Examples include provisions governing internal management of agencies, certain
rules of the commissioner of corrections, and revenue notices and tax information
bulletins issued by the commissioner of revenue.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051. Also see the Hbuse
Research publications Rulemaking: Process for Adopting Rules, June 2012, and Rulemaking: Review of
Adopted Rules, June 2012.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartisan office prowdlng leglslatlve
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Rulemaking: Process for Adopting Rules

State agencies must follow certain procedures when they adopt administrative rules. These procedures are
contained in the Administrative Procedure Act (often known as the APA) in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14.
For a more detailed description of these procedures, see “Rulemaking in Minnesota: A Guide” on the
Revisor of Statutes website (www.revisor.mn.gov). '

An agency must A “rule” is an agency statement of general applicability and future effect, made to
follow required implement a law. In most cases an agency must follow APA rulemaking ‘
procedures when ~ procedures when it issues a statement that comes within the definition of a “rule.”

~ adopting a “rule” Courts may invalidate agency attempts to set policy without followmg rulemaking

procedures.

An agency must Rulemaking docket: An agency must maintain a rulemaking docket. This docket
take certain actions  must contain information on rules that the agency is thinking about proposing and
before formally on rules that are in the middle of the rulemaking process. By January 15 each year,
proposing rules an agency must submit its rulemaking docket to chairs and ranking minority

members of legislative committees with Junsdlctlon over the subject matter of the
rules Minn. Stat. § 14 366.

Solicitation of comments: An agency must solicit comments from the public on
the subject matter of the possible rules at least 60 days before publishing a notice
of proposed rules. Minn. Stat. § 14.101. '

Statement of need and reasonableness: An agency must prepare a statement of
the need for and reasonableness of the proposed rules. The statement must be
available to the public. The statement must contain a summary of evidence and
arguments that the agency intends to use to support the proposed rules. The
statement must also: :

(1) determine if there are less costly or less intrusive methods for
achieving the purpose of the proposed rule;

(2) describe alternative methods for achieving the purposes of the
proposed rule that were seriously considered and give reasons why
- these alternatives were rejected; and

(3) assess the probable costs of complying with the proposed rule and
the costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule. :

Minn. Stat. §§ 14.131 and 14.23.



An agency must - Notice: An agency must publish notice of proposed rules in the State Register. It
give notice of must mail this notice to people who have requested to be notified and must make -
proposed rules and -~ other reasonable efforts to notify people who may be significantly affected by the
provide opportunity  proposed rules Minn. Stat. §§ 14.14, subd. 1a, and 14. 22

. blic heari ;
Jor a public ’e“_””g Public hearing: An agency must conduct a public hearmg on proposed rules if 25

or more people submit a written request for a hearing. Most agency rules are
adopted without a public hearing. Minn. Stat. § 14.25.

If no public hearing is required, the agency presents its own evidence into the
record and accepts material from the public. If a public hearing is held, itis
conducted by an independent administrative law judge (ALJ). At the hearing, the
agency must make an affirmative presentation demonstrating the need for and
reasonableness of the proposed rules. The public may testify and may question
agency representatives. Minn. Stat. § 14.14.°

An agency must - If the cost of complying with an agency’s rule in the first year after the rule takes

determine the cost  effect will exceed $25,000 for a business with less than 50 full-time employees or

of the proposed for a city with less than ten full-time employees, the business or city may file a

rules on small statement with the agency claiming an exemption from the rule. Upon filing of a

businesses and statement, the rule does not apply to that business or city until the rule is approved

cities _ by a subsequent law. There are some exceptions to this provision. an Stat. §
14.127. :

An ALJ reviews the  If the ALJ determines that the agency has not met all of the legal and procedural

proposed rules ~ requirements, the rules are submitted to the chief ALJ. If the chief supports the
ALJ, the agency may not adopt the rule until the defects are corrected. Once the
ALJ or the chief ALJ approves the rules, the agency may submit them to the
governor and take other procedural steps necessary for final adoption.

If the ALJ and the chief ALJ determine that the agency has not established the
need for or reasonableness of the rules, the rules are submitted to the Legislative
Coordinating Commission (LCC) and to the House and Senate governmental
operations committees for comment. After seeking these comments, an agency

- may adopt the rules. Minn. Stat. §§ 14.15 and 14.26. , 7

The governor may ~ The governor may veto all or a severable portion of a proposed administrative rule
veto proposed rules  at the end of the rulemaking process, before the rule takes effect. To veto a rule,
' the gc)vernor must submit notice of the veto to the State Register within 14 days of
receiving a copy of the rule from the secretary of state. Minn. Stat. § 14.05,
subd. 6.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051. Also see the House
- Research publications Rulemaking: Review of Adopted Rules, June 2012, and Rulemaking: Expedited
Process and Exemptions, June 2012,

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a ndnpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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‘Rulemaking: Review of Adopted Rules

All three branches of state government have authority to review administrative rules. The legislature also
has established processes under which a person can petition an agency for adoption, amendment, or repeal of
~arule, or can petition to stop improper enforcement of a policy that an agency has not adopted as a rule.

Executive review An agency that adopts a rule may amend or repeal the rule. An amendment or
- : repeal is itself considered a “rule” and can be done only after following the usual
rulemaking procedures. The governor may veto a proposed rule, but cannot veto
or otherwise change an adopted rule, unless the agency follows the rulemaking
process.

Legislative review  Amendment or repeal. The legislature can pass a bill repealing or amending a
rule, or changing the permissible scope of the rule. If the legislature removes the
statutory authority for rulemaking, rules adopted under that authority are

- automatically repealed. Minn. Stat. § 14.05, subd. 1.

Investigation and objection. The legislature has authorized the Legislative
Coordinating Commission (LCC) to investigate complaints about rules. Upon
written request of two or more LCC members, or any five legislators, the LCC
must review a rule, either by holding LCC meetings or by establishing another
group to review the rules. Minn. Stat. § 3.305, subd. 8.

" The LCC or the House or Senate governmental operations committees may also
formally object to rules. An objection shifts the burden of proof to the agency to
show that the rule is valid if the rule is challenged in court. Minn. Stat. § 3.842,
subd. 4a.

Delayed effect. The House and Senate standing committees with jurisdiction over

- the subject matter of a rule may vote to delay the effect of a proposed rule until the
legislature adjourns the annual legislative session that begins after the vote of the
committees. Minn. Stat. § 14.126.

Judicial review  An agency rule may be challenged in court. The court must declare a rule invalid
if it finds the rule: -

e isunconstitutional;
e _ exceeds the statutory authority; or
e was adopted without complying with statutory requirements.

Minn. Stat. § 14.45.



Local government
petitions for
amending or
repealing a rule

Other petitions for
changes in rules

Petitions alleging
improper
enforcement of a
policy

Temporary
exemptions from
rules

A city, county, or sanitary district may petition an agency to amend or repeal a
rule. A petition must show that since the rule was adopted, there is significant new
evidence relating to the need for or reasonableness of the rule, or a less costly or
intrusive method of achieving the purpose of the rule. If an agency does not take
the action requested by a petition, an administrative law judge (ALJ) holds a
hearing on the continued need for and reasonableness of the rule. If the agency
does not demonstrate the continued need for and reasonableness of the rule, the
rule does not have the force of law after 90 days. An agency can amend the rule so
this does not happen. Minn. Stat. § 14.091.

" Any person may petition an agency for adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule.

An agency receiving such a petition must respond within 60 days, giving reasons
for its response. However, unlike a petition from a unit of local government, there
is no hearing process or other remedy if the agency decides not to take the
requested action. Minn. Stat. § 14.09.

Any person may petition an ALJ , alleging that an agency is improperly enforcing a
policy without going through rulemaking. If the ALJ determines that the agency is
improperly enforcing a policy as if it were a duly adopted rule, the ALJ must direct
the agency to cease this enforcement. However, when an agency enforces a law or
rule by applying the law or rule to specific facts on a case-by-case basis, this does
not constitute improper rulemaking. Minn. Stat. § 14.381. ~

If the cost of complying with an agency’s rule in the first year after the rule takes
effect will exceed $25,000 for a business with less than 50 full-time employees or
for a city with less than ten full-time employees, the business or city may file a
statement with the agency claiming an exemption from the rule. Upon filing ofa
statement, the rule does not apply to that business or city until the rule is approved
by a subsequent law. There are some exceptions. For example, a business or city
cannot claim an exemption from a rule adopted because of a federal mandate.
Minn, Stat. § 14. 127

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051. Also see the
publications Rulemaking: Process for Adopting Rules, June 2012, and Rulemakzng Expedzted Process and

Exempz‘zons June 2012.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. -
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State Agency Head Salaries

The executive appointing authority proposes salaries for agency heads, within

maximums established in law. Minn. Stat. § 15A.0815. The governor is the
appointing authority for most agency heads. Some agency heads are appointed by
other boards (e.g., public pension boards).

The maximum salary for most agency heads is 95 percent of the governor’s salary.
For several agency heads, the maximum is 85 percent of the governor’s salary.
Minn. Stat. § 15A.0815, subds. 2 and 3. The governor’s salary is $120,303 (95
percent of this amount is $114,288; 85 percent is $102,258).

Salaries recommended by the appointing authority must be approved by the
legislature. During the interim between legislative sessions, the Legislative -
Coordinating Commission (LCC) may give interim approval to salary increase
proposals. The LCC has appointed a Subcommittee on Employee Relations (SER)
to perform these and other duties, Salary proposals from the governor submitted to
SER during the interim are approved if the group does not modify or reject them
within 30 days. Salary proposals submitted by other appointing authorities during
the interim take effect only if approved by SER. Salaries implemented during the
interim by SER must be approved by the next legislature or they revert to the prior
level. Salary proposals sent to the legislature during a legislative session must.be
approved by the full legislature before taking effect. Minn. Stat. §§ 3.855 and
15A.0815, subd. 5. '

There is a different method for setting the salaries of the director of the lottery and
the executive director of the State Board of Investment. The lottery director salary
is set in statute at 95 percent of the governor’s salary ($114,288). Minn. Stat. §
349A.02, subd. 1. The salary for the executive director of the State Board of
Investment ($245,000) is set by the board, under a compensation plan approved by
the SER and the full legislature. Minn. Stat. §§ 11A.04 cl. 14, and 43A.18, subd. 3b.

The following table lists the salaries for agency heads appointed by boards, cabinet

- agency heads, and noncabinet agency heads.

" Agency Heads Appointed by Boards =~ | - Salaries

Minnesota State Retirement System - $114,288
Public Employees Retirement Association 114,288
Teachers Retirement Association 114,288



e __Cabinet Agencxes ,  Salaries
Admlmstratxon : $108,393
Agriculture ' 108,393
Commerce 108,393
Corrections 108,393
Education ’ ‘ 108,393
Employment and Economlc Development A 108,393
Health 108,393
Office of Higher Education . 108,393

| Housing Finance Agency 108,393

| Human Rights 3 108,393
Human Services 108,393
Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation 95,641
Labor and Industry . 108,393
Management and Budget ‘ 108,393
Mediation Services ‘ : ' 95,641
Metropolitan Council, Chair 58,489
Natural Resources : 108,393
Pollution Control Agency e 108,393
Public Safety 108,393
Revenue 108,393
Transportation ' 108,393
Veterans Affa1rs 108,393
Gamblmg Control Board $90,200
Metropolitan Airports Commission, Chair 20,833
Ombudsman for Mental Health and Retardation 88,455
Pari-mutuel Racing : 88,455
Public Utilities Commission : 88,455

Salaries for most agency heads were last increased in 2000.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051.
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Alcoholic Beverage Taxes

Two special state Minnesota imposes two types of special taxes on alcoholic beverages:

taxes apply to

alcoholic beverages: » Special excise taxes are imposed on manufacturers or wholesalers of

excise taxes and a these products. These taxes are a fixed dollar amount per unit (per barrel

gross receipts tax or liter). The tax rates vary by beverage type. See the table below for
tax rates.

o A special gross receipts tax of 2.5 percent applies to retailers making
both on-sale (to be consumed in bars or restaurants) and off-sale (in
liquor stores or by other sellers) sales.

Excise tax rates are  Manufacturers of beer and wholesalers of distilled spirits and wines pay the

set as a dollar special excise taxes. If the beer manufacturer doesn’t pay, the wholesaler or
amount per volume  importer is liable for the tax. The table shows the rates for the most common
of the beverage beverage categories. Higher rates apply to wines with alcoholic contents that
exceed 21 percent and 24
percent, but little or none of Beverage Type Excise Tax per
these products are sold. A e (éagg’“ Ilgf:"
special “bottle tax”‘of one cent Beer > 3.2% alcohol 15 NA
per bottle also applies to each Cider < 7% alcohol 15 NA
wine and liquor bottle that is 200 | Low-alcohol dairy cocktails .08 $.02
milliliters or larger. Wine < 14% alcohol 30 .08
Wine > 14% alcohol 95 25
Because the excise taxes are Sparkling wine 1.82 48
Distilled spirits 5.03 1.33

fixed dollar amounts, they don’t
vary by the price of the product.
Higher priced products pay the same tax as lower priced products. Moreover,
revenues grow only as more liters or barrels of the products are sold; revenues
don’t increase with inflation (price increases). For revenues to keep pace with
inflation, the legislature must adjust the tax rates periodically. It has done this
only sporadically (most recently in 1987).

Few exemptions The law exempts the following from the excise tax:
apply o Sacramental wine
e Products sold to food processors and pharmaceutical companies
o The first 25,000 barrels of beer produced by a brewery with annual
production of less than 100,000 barrels (A barrel is 31 gallons.)



Revenues go to the
general fund

Minnesota tax
compared with
other states

Tax relative to
alcohol content
varies

Tax is regressive

For more information:

Revenues from both the excise taxes and Beverage Type FY2011 % of

the gross receipts tax go to the general Revenues  Total

fund Fiscal year 2011 revenues .from the Boo <339 (00$03?02 T
excise taxes were about $78 million and Beer > 3.2% 15407 10.5%
from the gross receipts tax, $70 million. Cider 50 0.0%
Thus, the gross receipts tax raises about Wine < 14% 3,712 2.5%
47 percent of alcohol tax revenues. The Wine > 14% 33 0%
table to the right shows the collections by %f?ru]ffﬁgsgrlﬁz s 6,2321; 322(2
beverage type for the excise tax and for Excise tax fotal 77105 523%
the additional sales tax. The excise tax 2.5% gross

revenue from liquor reflects the higher receipts tax 70,253 47.7%
rates imposed on these products, rather Total $147,358

than their share of the market (measured Source: MN Department of Revenue

by dollars spent). The sales tax imposes a
much higher tax burden on wine and beer than the excise tax does.

Minnesota’s wine and beer excise taxes are average or below average compared
with most other states. Minnesota’s tax

on distilled spirits (liquor) is among the Excise Tax Rates (per gallon)
higher taxes for states with excise taxes. : ardering Stitey -

. . trong Table | Liquor
A number of states (including Iowa) Beor Wine
have state liquor monopolies and a TA $.19 $1.75 NA
portion of the price markup is a de facto | MN 15 30| $5.03
tax; it is difficult to compare the tax ND 16 S0 2.50
burden with these states. The table ;I’)I gg gz ;;g
compares Minnesota’s tax rates with its Source: Federation of Tax Administrators

bordering states. However, only North
Dakota imposes a gross receipts tax (at a
2 percent rate) similar to Minnesota’s. Thus, the total Minnesota alcohol tax
burden is higher than suggested by simply comparing excise tax burdens.

The excise taxes are imposed on the volume of the beverage, not its alcoholic
content. (The federal tax on distilled spirits, by contrast, is imposed explicitly
on alcoholic content.) Since alcoholic content varies significantly within
beverage type, it is difficult to generalize about the tax on alcohol content. But
when looking at averages for beverage types, it is apparent that alcohol in beer
and wine is lightly taxed compared with liquor. The excise tax per an ounce of
alcohol in liquor is about nine cents, while it is between two and three cents for
wine and beer.

The alcohol taxes are regressive; they constitute a higher share of income for
lower income families and individuals, on average. The Department of
Revenue’s Tax Incidence Study indicates they are less regressive than the
tobacco taxes but more regressive than the general sales tax.

Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Property Tax Abatements for Economic Development

What is economic
development
property tax
abatement?

For what purposes
may abatements be
used?

Which local
governments can
grant abatements?

How long does an
abatement apply?

Minnesota law authorizes political subdivisions to grant property tax abatements
for economic development (e.g., to encourage a business to locate or expand at a
location or to redevelop an area). Minn. Stat. §§ 469.1813-469.1816.
Abatements may be either permanent forgiveness or temporary deferral of
property tax. Abatements can serve similar purposes to tax increment financing
(TIF), a widely used development tool. The legislature enacted the abatement
law in 1997 to provide an alternative to TIF and to supplement it.

These economic development tax abatements should be distinguished from
property tax abatements that are granted by the county board primarily to correct
errors (e.g., to reduce the assessor’s market value or to change the classification
of the property). Minn. Stat. § 375.192.

The law allows abatements to be used for a broad range of projects and
purposes, if the political subdivision finds that public benefits exceed the costs.
Permitted uses of abatements include the following:
o General economic development, such as increasing the tax base or the
number of jobs in the area
e Construction of public facilities or infrastructure (e.g., streets and roads)
e Redevelopment of blighted areas
o Providing access to services for residents (e.g., housing or retail would
be common examples) '
o Deferring or phasing in a large (over 50 percent) property tax increase
o Stabilizing the tax base resulting from the updated utility valuation
administrative rules
e Providing relief for businesses with estimated market value of $250,000
or less who have disrupted access due to public transportation projects

Counties, cities, towns, and school districts may grant abatements of the taxes
they impose. The governing body grants an abatement by resolution. For
towns, action at the town meeting is not required. Taxes imposed by special
taxing districts (e.g., watersheds or regional agencies) cannot be abated.
Similarly, the state general property tax (on commercial/industrial and seasonal-
recreational properties) cannot be abated. In the Twin Cities metropolitan area
and on the Iron Range, the fiscal disparities tax cannot be explicitly abated.
However, a political subdivision may increase its abatement amount to reflect
the amount of the tax imposed under fiscal disparities. The abatement does not
directly enter into the fiscal disparities calculations.

The political subdivision sets the length of the abatement, which cannot exceed
15 years. The term can be extended to 20 years if only two of the three political
subdivisions (city/town, county, and school district) grant an abatement.



What is the
limitation on
abatements?

How do the
mechanics of
abatement work?

May abatements be
used to pay bonds?

How do abatements
compare with TIF?

How widely has
abatement been
used?

The total amount of property taxes abated may not exceed the larger of:
e 10 percent of the net tax capacity of the political subdivision, or
o $200,000.

The abatement resolution, approved by the political subdivision, specifies the
duration and the amount of property taxes that will be abated. The political
subdivision has considerable flexibility in setting the terms of the abatement; for
example, it may set the abatement as a percentage of tax payable, a dollar
amount, tax attributable to a portion of the parcel’s market value, or something
else. The local government adds the abatement to its property tax levy for the
year. (The abatement levy is not subject to levy limits.) The owner pays
property tax on a parcel and the political subdivision uses the payments as
provided by the abatement resolution. For example, the abatement may be used
to pay bonds or be given back to the property owner.

The abatement law authorizes the issuance of bonds to be paid back with the
abatements. For example, bonds could be issued to construct public
improvements or to pay for a site for a business. As the property owners pay the
abated taxes, they are used to pay the bonds. These bonds can be general
obligation bonds or revenue bonds. The abatement bond provisions parallel
those in the TIF law: the abatement bonds are not subject to referendum
approval and are excluded from debt limits.

The legislature designed the abatement law as an alternative to and a supplement
to TIF. The two programs can be used for similar purposes and both rely upon
property tax funding. Both programs have very similar bonding powers.
However, abatement and TIF differ in important respects. Some differences
include:

e TIF can be used for longer durations (up to 25 years in some cases) than
abatements (typically 15 years)

o TIF requires approval only by the municipality (usually the city) to
capture all local property taxes, while abatement requires each entity’s
approval to capture its taxes and cannot capture special district taxes

» TIF use is subject to more legal restrictions than abatement. These
include a blight test for redevelopment districts, but-for findings, and
stricter limits on what increments may be spent on. Abatement is more
flexible.

The following amounts of abatement

levies were reported for property taxes e Number | Amount
payable in 2011, as reported to the Cities 62 $8,152,836

Departments of Revenue (cities and Counties 31 3,211,570
counties) and Education (schools). Schools i 881,069
Total 101 $12,245,475

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the
House Research publication Tax Increment Financing, October 2011.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartlsan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building [ St. Paul, MN 55155 [ 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm



HOUSE RESEARCH Short Subjects

Patrick McCormack

Updated: June 2012

Minnesota’s Laws on Tastings and Samples of Alcohol

Minnesota Statutes make a distinction between events for the tasting of alcoholic beverages and the
provision by vendors of free samples of wine, beer, and liquor.

Tastings

A holder of an on-sale intoxicating liquor license may hold wine, beer, or distilled
liquor tastings as part of the normal operation of the bar or restaurant and would
then charge a fee either for the event or for each glass consumed. Minnesota law
also allows charitable, religious, or other nonprofit groups to conduct tastings,
defined as an event “at which persons pay a fee or donation to participate, and are
allowed to consume wine, distilled spirits, or intoxicating malt liquor by the glass
without paying a separate charge for each glass” (Minn. Stat. § 340A.419, subd. 1).

Tastings are limited as follows:

e Nonprofits or charities may conduct tastings of beer, distilled spirits, and
wine

e A temporary on-sale liquor license must be held by the charity or nonproﬁt
allowing a tasting for up to four hours per event

e No alcohol may be sold, or orders taken, for off-premises consumption

e A charity or nonprofit may conduct a tasting at its own premises, a donated
premises, or at an establishment run by the holder of a permanent on-sale
license

e A licensed wholesaler may sell or give wine or distilled spirits to the
organization and may provide personnel to assist at the event

e Net proceeds must be used for the organization’s primary nonprofit
purpose, or if two nonprofits cooperate in conducting the event, for either
organization’s primary nonprofit purposes

e A special provision allows more extensive tastings at food and wine
conventions, which may take place over three days

Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.419, also allows tastings to be conducted by an
exclusive liquor store, on the premises of a holder of an on-sale liquor license. The
law prohibits the liquor store from selling the alcohol at the event, but does allow
forms indicating alcohol preferences to be filled out. Fees charged may only be
used to defray costs, and cooperation with wine or distilled spirits wholesalers is
allowed.



Free Samples Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.510, allows a liquor store, bar, or municipal
liquor store to either offer free samples directly or to allow a licensed manufacturer
or wholesaler to provide samples on their premises. Sample sizes are limited to 100
milliliters for malt liquors, 50 milliliters for wine, 25 milliliters of liqueur or
cordial, and 15 milliliters of distilled spirits. Samples must be of beverages that are
otherwise for sale.

Samples may not be offered at retail establishments that do not hold an on-sale,
off-sale, or municipal liquor license. Minnesota law is silent on whether brewery
tours may offer samples, although there is no direct prohibition, and taxes are

not collected on beer served on-site at the brewery (Minn. Stat. § 297G.07, subd. 1
(4)). In addition, breweries are allowed to open “taprooms,” where beer brewed on
the premises may be both sampled and served.

A number of off-sale licensees have begun to build both sampling (Minn. Stat. §
340A.510) and tastings) into their business model, creating sampling stations open
for multiple hours and days and conducting classes on or off-site, with associated
tastings. The law on tastings was clarified in 2012 to make tastings legal (Minn.
Stat. § 340A.41, subd. 2). This progression has the potential to change the nature of
an off-sale business. '

A farm winery may give free samples of its products (Minn. Stat. § 340A.315) and
may hold other licenses, including on-sale licenses in order to operate bars or
restaurants. A 2008 law allows farm wineries to produce distilled spirits and to
give 15-milliliter samples of each variety produced.

Culinary Classes A limited on-sale liquor license may be issued to establishments that conduct
culinary classes, and under this license, participants may be served up to six ounces
of wine or 12 ounces of intoxicating malt liquor, for consumption on the premises.
As an alternative, a culinary establishment may hold a regular on-sale license and
serve beverages under general on-sale laws. Culinary establishments may only
hold a regular on-sale license if they are also a restaurant, hotel, etc. In addition,
liquor stores are allowed to conduct classes and serve alcohol at these classes.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative;
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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HOUSE RESEARCH  |short Subjects

Lynn Aves

Updated: June 2012

Human Services Programs:

The Relationship Between Federal, State,

and Local Governments |

Minnesota has a system of human services programs that provides health care, economic assistance, and
social services to eligible families. In general, the state’s human services programs are state-administered
and county-run. This means that county human services agencies process applications, determine the
eligibility of applicants, and perform other administrative duties, under the supervision of the Minnesota
Department of Human Services (DHS). DHS also is responsible for sending out cash assistance payments to
program enrollees and for reimbursing health care providers and managed care plans for services provided to
program enrollees. In the case of programs established in federal law, DHS is also responsible for overall
state compliance with apphcable federal requirements.

This publication provides a brief dlscussmn of the role of federal, state, and local governments in the
administration of the state’s human services programs.

What is the federal
government’s role

* in the state’s
human services
programs?

What is state
government’s role
in administering
human services
programs?

Congress enacts laws that set broad standards and requirements for certain human
services programs. For example, federal law requires the Medical Assistance
(MA) program to cover certain population groups and certain health care services.
(MA is Minnesota’s version of the federal-state Medicaid program.)

The federal government also appropriates money to the state for the administration
of certain human services programs. In order to qualify for federal funding,
Congress often requires the state to enact various kinds of legislation. For
example, in fiscal year 2011 the federal government contributed 73 percent of the
state’s total child support enforcement funding. To qualify for this federal funding,

~ the Minnesota Legislature has enacted certain requirements relating to child

support enforcement. Typically, these federal requirements are quite general in
nature, leaving the details up to the state legislature.

The state legislature sets human services policy in Minnesota. In mahy cases, state
policy is greatly influenced by the federal law requirements that are prerequisites

‘to receiving federal funding, Although state law must include certain federal

requirements, the state legislature may enact provisions that go beyond the
minimum federal requirements. For example, the MA program covers population
groups and health care services that federal Medicaid law designates as optional
for states, rather than required.

DHS is the primary executive branch agency responsible for overseeing the state’s
human services programs. DHS supervises human services program
administration, promulgates rules, and develops program manuals and bulletins



governing the administration of the programs. DHS also provides training,
program evaluation, and technical support to countles and maintains centralized
- computer systems relating to the programs. b

What is the local . Counties do much of the hands-on work i in administering the state’s human
government’s role  sérvices programs.' For example, county staff accept applications and determine

in administering eligibility for a wide range of income assistance and health care programs. County
human services staff also work with parents to help establish and enforce child support obligations.
programs? ' ‘ ~

For certain human services progfams, counties also contribute to program funding
through local property tax revenue. For example, in fiscal year 2011 counties
- provided 18 percent of the state’s total child support enforcement funding.

* For more information: Visit the health and human services area of our website,
www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm.
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State Regulation of Health-Related Occupations |

Who regulates health- - At least 47 health-related occupations are regulated by the state. Health-
related occupations in  related occupations regulated by the state are overseen by either the
Minnesota? Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) or by a health-related licensing
: board. As of June 2012, there were 16 health-related licensing boards and
two divisions in MDH that oversee health-related occupations. Some
licensing boards regulate a single occupation, while others regulate a range
‘of related occupations. For example, the Minnesota Board of Optometry
only regulates optometrists, while the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice
regulates acupuncturists, athletic trainers, naturopaths, osteopaths, physician
. assistants, physicians, respiratory care practitioners, and traditional
midwives. MDH regulates various allied health professionals, such as
speech-language pathologists and audiologists; various environmental health
professionals, such as lead workers; and unlicensed complementary and
alternative health care providers. :

How are health-related  Health-related occupations may be regulated in one of several ways. Where
occupations regulated?  necessary and appropriate, state law allows two or more of these methods of
’ regulation to be utilized at the same time. The title a provider uses cannot -
always be relied upon to determine how the provider is regulated. For
instance, a registered nurse is actually licensed, not registered. What follows
are some methods of occupational regulation.

e Licensure is the most stringent form of regulation. Under licensure, a

‘ person cannot practice in an occupation unless the person has satisfied
predetermined qualifications for practicing and has been recognized by
the state as having met those qualifications. Minn. Stat. § 214.001,
subd. 3, para. (d). This is also known as “scope of practice protection.”
A person may demonstrate that the required qualifications have been
met by passing a licensing examination, graduating from an accredited
educational institution with a relevant degree, or working in the field
while under supervision. Example: dentists. -

o With registration, only registered persons Who have met predetermined
qualifications for practicing are allowed to use a designated title (“title
protection”) and are listed on an official roster. Minn. Stat. § 214.001,
subd. 3, para. (¢). Under a registration system, it is possible for a person
to practice in an occupation without being registered, as long as the
person does not use any protected titles. Occupations that are licensed
generally also prohibit nonlicensed persons from using protected titles.-
Example audiologists.

o To obtain certification, a person must sat1sfy the quahﬁcatlon
requirements specified in statute or rule. It may be possible for a person



How does the
legislature decide if a
health-related

- occupation should be
regulated?

What information must
the legislature receive
regarding proposals to
regulate a new
occupation or expand
regulation of an
already-regulated
occupation?

to practice in an occupation without being certified, but other laws may
~ allow only a certified professional to be on-site at a specific program,

perform certain functions, or supervise other personnel. Example: food

managers. : ‘ : '

e Some occupations are not licensed, registered, or certified, but providers
are required to conform to a client bill of rights and not engage in V
prohibited conduct. A regulatory body has authority to investigate
complaints against these providers and take and enforce disciplinary
actions against providers for engaging in prohibited conduct or violating
the client bill of rights. The regulatory body may revoke or suspend the
provider’s right to practice. Example: unlicensed complementary and
alternative health care practltloners

o Criminal and civil penalz‘zes exist to punish or prevent 1llegal acts by
providers. Laws imposing criminal or 01v1l penaltles are enforced by
consumers or prosecutors.

No occupation may be regulated by the state unless its regulation is required
for the safety and well-being of Minnesotans. Minn. Stat. § 214.001, subd.
2. This standard applies to both health-related occupations and nonhealth-
related occupations. When the legislature determines whether an occupa‘uon
should be regulated, it must con31der the followmg factors:

1. Whether the unregulated practice of the occupation may harm the
health, safety, and welfare of Minnesotans in a recognizable way

2. Whether practiéing the occupation requires special skills or training,
and whether the public would benefit from being assured of the
person’s ability to practice the occupation

3. Whether Minnesotans may be protected more effectlvely by means
other than occupatxonal regulation

4. Whether the overall cost-effectlveness and economic 1rnpact of
regulation would be positive for the state

If a bill is introduced in the legislature to regulate a new occupation or to
expand regulation of an already-regulated occupation, supporters of the.
proposal must submit to the legislature evidence supporting the new or
expanded regulation. Minn. Stat. § 214.002, subd. 1. The information must
be submitted in written form and must be provided to the chairs of the House
and Senate committees with jurisdiction over the occupation at issue. The
subjects that must be covered in the report are specified in statute. Minn.
Stat. § 214.002, subd. 2. Some of them include specifying the harm to the

~ public caused by the unregulated practice of the occupation or continued

practice at its current level of regulation; explaining why the proposed level
of regulation is being proposed; and discussing how the proposed regulauon
would impact the supply of providers and the cost of the provider’s services.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office prowdlng leglslatlve
legal, and mformatlon services to the entire House.
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The Minnesota Newborn Screening Programs

' The Minnesota Newborn Screening Programs are public health programs through which all infants born in
the state are screened for a variety of disorders, including hearing loss. The Newborn Screening Program,
which uses genetic information to screen for more than 50 disorders, is governed by Minnesota Statutes,
sections 144.125 and 144.128. The Early Hearing Detection and Intervention program, though which infants
are tested for hearing loss, is governed by Minnesota Statutes, section 144.966.

Infants are Under the Newborn Screening Program, hospitals and others in charge of caring

screened for more for newborn infants are required to-administer to every infant a test for heritable
than 50 genetic and congenital disorders. The Commissioner of Health determines the list of
. disorders - - disorders for which infants are tested. Currently, the Department of Health (MDH)
screens for more than 50 heritable and congenital disorders, including the
foHowmg types:

amino acid disorders

fatty acid oxidation disorders

organic acid disorders

endocrine disorders

others including sickle cell disease and cystic fibrosis

Under this program, MDH has several duties to perform, mcludmg the followmg

e making certain information and forms related to storage of blood samples

~and test results are available to health care providers and parents

e notifying newborns’ physicians of the results of the screen

o making referrals for the necessary treatment of diagnosed cases of
heritable and congenital disorders when treatment is indicated

e maintaining a registry of the cases of disorders detected for the purpose
of follow-up services

The program was In 2007, legislation was enacted that requires all hospitals to establish an Early
expanded to mclude Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) program. Through thelr EHDI
screening for ~ program, hospitals must:

o inform parents of the nature of the screening procedure, applicable

hearing loss

costs, potential risks and effects of hearing loss, and the beneﬁts of
early detection and intervention; :

e train and monitor individuals responsible for performmg hearmg

~screening tests as recommended by MDH,;

e test newborns prior to dlscharge or when medically feasible;

e inform the infant’s parents, prlmary care physwlan and MDH of the
results of the hearing screening test; and

o collect performance data specified by MDH.



Parental consent to
newborn screening
is presumed unless
parents object in
writing

The state’s
handling of genetic
information is
governed by law

Beginning in 2009, MDH was directed to contract to provide support and
assistance to families throughout the state with children who are deaf or have
hearing loss. (Minn. Stat. § 144.966, subd. 3a)

Generally, consent for newborn screening is presumed unless the parent objects to
the screening in writing by specifying that they want their child to opt out of the
screening. If a parent elects not to have the newborn screening performed, then the
infant will not be screened under this program. .

Prior to collecting a sample, persons with a duty to perform testing under the
Newborn Screening Program must inform parents of the following:

o the benefits of newborn screening
- o that the blood sample will be used and data will be collected to test for
heritable and congenital disorders
e the standard retention periods for blood samples and test results
o the MDH website where more information may be found
e _that parents have the right to decline to have newborn screening
~performed and that they may secure private testing

The 2006 Legislature passed a law that governs the treatment of genetic
information held by state government. Minnesota Statues, section 13.386,
subdivision 3, requires that, unless provided in law, genetic information about an
individual may be collected by the government with the written, informed consent
of the individual. The genetic information may be used only for the purposes and
stored for the period of time to which the individual consented. Also, the genetic
information may be disseminated only with the individual’s written, informed

- consent, or as necessary to accomplish the purposes of the collection.

In November 2011, the Minnesota Supreme Court ruled on this issue in
Bearder v. State of Minnesota (806 N.W. 2d 766, November 16, 2011), which
challenged certain MDH activities related to the newborn screening programs in
light of the genetic privacy law (Minn. Stat. § 13.386). The state Supreme Court -
found that the genetic privacy law does generally apply to blood samples collected
under the newborn screening program; however, there are narrow exceptions
provided in statute that authorize MDH to administer the newborn screening tests
of blood samples, record and report those test results, maintain a registry of
positive cases, and store those test results as required by federal law.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Emily Cleveland at 651-296-5808.
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Updated: June 2012
Minimum Wage

Under Minnesota’s minimum wage law, employers who do at least $625,000 of
business in a year must pay their employees at least $6.15 per hour. Employers
who do less than $625,000 of business in a year must pay least $5.25 per hour. An
exception for employees under age 20 during their first 90 days of work allows
employers to pay them $4.90 per hour.

As a result of legislation passed by Congress and signed by the president in 2007,
the federal minimum wage increased to $7.25 per hour in three steps. The first
step, effective July 24, 2007, increased the wage to $5.85 per hour. On July 24,
2008, the wage increased to $6.55 per hour. The third and final step, effectlve July
24,2009, set the minimum wage rate at $7.25 per hour.

As a general matter, the federal law covers all employees of establishments that
have at least $500,000 in gross receipts per year. Further, any employee of an
establishment that does not meet the $500,000 minimum is covered if that
employee’s individual work involves transactions that in some way involve
interstate commerce. The way these provisions are interpreted, most employees
are covered by the federal law.. : '

The state law covers most employees in Minnesota, unless they are specifically
exempt. Therefore, unless they fit into one of the specific exceptions, most people
who work in Minnesota are covered by both state and federal law.

Many of the specific exemptions from minimum wage requirements are the same
in federal and state law. Some exemptions are broad, such as the one that applies
to executive, administrative, and professional employees, which appear in both
state and federal law, and some are narrow, such as the federal exemption of
employees who work at home making evergreen wreaths. State and federal
regulations generally provide the boundaries of these categories.

The short answer is that the higher wage prevails. If one law mandates a minimum
of $6.15 and one mandates a minimum of $7.25, for instance, the employer can
comply with both only by paying at least $7.25. Minnesota has a two-tier
minimum wage. For small employers—those with annual sales volumes of less
than $625,000—the Minnesota minimum wage rate is $5.25 per hour. For large
employers ($625,000 or more in annual sales), the state minimum wage rate is
$6.15. The state minimum wage rate for large employers is currently lower than
the federal minimum wage rate. Thus, employers covered by both state and federal
law must pay at least $7.25 per hour.



- What about
employees who
receive tips?

When was the
-minimum wage last
increased?

How does
Minnesota’s
minimum wage
compare to the
minimum wage in
other states?

Who enforces
minimum wage
laws? '

. Minnesota does not allow a “tip credit,” so0 tipped employees in Minnesota who are

subject to the minimum wage provisions must be paid the minimum hourly wage
by the employer, regardless of whether they also receive tips. Further, the
employer cannot require employees to share tips with the employer or with other
employees, because the tips are the exclusive property of the person who receives
them.

T his differs from federal law, which allows a partial tip credit as long as the
employer can prove that the employee actually receives enough tips to make up the
difference between the lower hourly wage the employer pays and the statutory
minimum wage.

The most recent increase in the federal minimum wage became effective in July
2009. The most recent increase in the state minimum wage became effectwe in

- August 2005.

According to information published by the U.S. Department of Labor in January
2012, five states have no minimum wage laws, 18 states plus the District of
Columbia have minimum wages higher than the federal minimum, 23 states plus
Guam and the Virgin Islands have minimum wages the same as the federal
minimum, and four states plus Puerto Rico have minimum wage rates lower than
the federal minimum (including Minnesota). '

Minimum wage laws are enforced in Minnesota by the Minnesota Department of
Labor and Industry and the U.S. Department of Labor. =

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Anita Neumann at anita.neumann@house.mn.
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Unemployment Benefit Extensions

and Supplemental Benefits in Minnesota

Current law limits most applicants to 26 weeks of regular unemployment benefits. Both the state and federal
government, however, have provided additional benefits under special circumstances. The followmg
information highlights those additional unemployment-related beneﬁts

General extension
provisions available
under state and
Sfederal law

Both state and federal law contain prov151ons that allow for additional
unemployment benefits to be paid under special conditions. The federal-state -
extended benefit program provides up to 20 weeks of extended benefits when the
unemployment rate in a state exceeds thresholds specified in federal and state law.
Up to 13 weeks of extended benefits become available in Minnesota under the
following conditions:

1. Ifin any week and the preceding 12 weeks, the rate of insured
unemployment: (a) is 6 percent or more; or (b) is 5 percent or more and at
least 120 percent of the average of the rates in the corresponding 13-week

. period in each of the two prior calendar years; or

2. The U.S. Secretary of Labor determines that the state’s average rate of
seasonally adjusted unemployment (in the most current three-month period
for which data is available) is 6.5 percent or more and at least 110 percent

~of the rate in the corresponding three-month period in either of the prior
‘two calendar years ’

Another seven weeks of extended benefits become available to eligible workers
when the state’s unemployment rate reaches 8 percent. The availability of
extended benefits ceases when the state’s unemployment rate falls below the

- threshold amounts explained above.,

Additional state
benefits

In addition to the general provisions available under state and federal law, upto 13
weeks in additional unemployment benefits are available in Minnesota if:

e at a facility with at least 100 employees, the employer lays off at least 50
percent of the workforce in a one-month period;

e the employer has no plan to resume operations leading to the
reemployment of the laid-off workers in the immediate future; and

e the seasonally adjusted unemployment rate in the county where the facility
is located was at least 10 percent during the month of the layoffs or during
the three months before or after the month in which the reductions were

- made. ‘

However, any other special state or federal benefits (other than regular benefits)
are deducted from the total additional benefits available under this provision.

The legislature has historically provided special benefit provisions for particular

“ workers. The following table shows instances where the legislature has granted

these additional unemployment benefits to laid-off workers of particular



companies, even though the mass layoff and county unemployment rate
requirements described above were not satisﬁed.

“Special Legislative Grants of Additional Unemployment Benefits

Additional weeks of Trammg
Year Company benefits ' requirement
1998 | Hibbing Taconite 13 weeks No
2000 Eveleth ‘Taconite 13 weeks No
Hennepin Paper 26 weeks Yes
2001 | LTV Steel _ 26 weeks Yes

¢ Farmland Foods ,

¢  Fingerhut (St. Cloud, Mora, or

2002 Eveleth locations) 13 weeks Yes

e Named airlines (See Laws 2002 ‘
ch. 380, art. 1, § 5)

Ainsworth Lumber Co. (Bemidji,

Cook, and Grand Rapids)

2007 : 134 weeks , Yes

Extended through
12/27/2008, if benefit
entitlement exhausted
after 1/1/08

2008 | Ainsworth Lumber Co. (Cook) No

Additional federal ~Emergency Unemployment Compensation and Benefit Extensions. In response

benefits to economic conditions, Congress occasionally authorizes special additional
benefits and extensions of unemployment benefits. For example, in 2008, Congress
authorized and then subsequently updated a federal Emergency Unemployment
Compensation (EUC) program that provided additional federal benefits for
individuals who exhausted their regular benefits and remained unemployed. The
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, the federal stimulus bill
enacted in February 2009, authorized a $25-per-week benefit increase and
exempted up to $2,400 of unemployment insurance benefits from federal income
taxes in 2009. Federal law also provided COBRA premium payment assistance to
unemployed persons. Up-to-date information on special benefits and benefit
extensions is available at www.uimn.org.

Federal Trade Readjustment Allowances. Under federal law, Trade
Readjustment Allowances provide income support to persons who have exhausted
their unemployment benefit entitlement and were laid off or had hours reduced by
their employer as a result of increased imports from other countries. Benefits under
this program include job training, job search, and relocation assistance.

Federal Dlsaster Unemployment Assxstance. The U.S. Department of Labor’s
Disaster Unemployment Assistance provides financial help to workers whose
employment was interrupted or eliminated as a result of a disaster declared by the
president. To be eligible for these benefits, a worker cannot be eligible for regular
unemployment beneﬁts ’

Disaster employment assistance is available begmmng with the first week
following the beginning of the disaster and ends 26 weeks after the pre31dent S
disaster declaration.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Anita Neumann at anita.neumann@house.mn.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Major State Aids and Taxes: An Overview of the_2009 Update

This provides a brief overview of the report Major State Aids and Taxes: A Comparative Analysis, 2009

Update, which highlights major aids provided to the local governments and people in Minnesota and lists the

major taxes collected. The per capita amounts were calculated using 2009 population. Some aids are
presented on a different basis in other settings (e.g., per pupil for education aid); however, in the 1eport they
are presented on a per- caplta basis to allow comparison of different aids.

STATE AIDS | ,

Program Year Amount (millions) | Per Capita
“Education aid 2008/2009 | $6,741.0 State - $1,272 State
(school $3,746.6 Metro $1,300 Metro

Aid paid to'school districts for all K-12 educational

year) $2,994.4 Nonmetro | $1,238 Nonmetro _
expenses
Human services aid . ’ 2009 $4,323.0 State $816 State
State’s share of human services aid for various income §2,375.0 Metro $824 Metro
) : $1,948.0 Nonmetro | $805 Nonmetro
and medical assistance programs ; ~
Highway aid 2009 . $579.7 State $109 State
o o . ' $191.1 Metro $66 Metro
Distributed to counties, cities, and towns for hzghway $388.6 Nonmetro $161 Nonmetro
purposes
Local government aid 2009 $481.5 State $91 State
. . . o ' $163.1 Metro $57 Metro
Provides pr oper ty tax relief b){ ‘z?rovzdmg general $318.5 Nonmetro - | $132 Nonmetro
purpose financial support to cities -
Disparity reduction aid 2009 $18.1 State $3 State
Provides aid to jurisdictions (counties, towns, and school , gi’:;ﬁ?trome b $—7 IIiI/Ietro "
districts) that had inordinately high tax rates in 1988 » -/ Nonmero onme rq 3
County program aid 2009 . $194.3 State $37 State
County general purpose aids: includes former homestead §79.3 Metro $28 Metro
: : T $115.0 Nonmetro | $48 Nonmetro
and agricultural credit, county criminal justice aid,
Jamily preservation aid, and attached machinery aid P
Community corrections funding 2009 $85.4 State $16 State
: . . ., ' $42.7 Metro $15 Metro
Aid that Proyzdes a por tion of counties Qosts Jor - $42.7 Nonmetro | $18 Nonmetro
community correctional services : ) )
Property tax refund (excludes tar getmg) .| 2008 (filed | $449.4 State $8S State
in 2009) $306.0 Metro $106 Metro
Reimburses homeowners and renters Jor a portzon of ‘ $143 3 Nonmetro $59 Nonmetro
- property taxes if those taxes exceed a household income | .
threshold _ _
Targetmg 2008 (filed | $6.1 State - $1 State
in 2009) $3.8 Metro $1 Metro

Additional homeowner property tax refund if pr operly
taxes increased a certain percentage threshold over

$2.3 Nonmetro

$1 ‘Nonmetro.

. previous year (no income limits)




MAJOR TAXES

Year Amount (millions) Per capita
Individual income tax ‘ 2008 $6,936.5 Total
Imposed on income of state residents and income. (filedin | $6,674.1 Residents 31,239 State
derived from state sources of nonresidents 2009) $4,466.1 Metro , $1,550 Metro
$2,208.1 Nonmetro $913 Nonmetro
Sales and use tax 12009 .| $3,902.8 (After refunds) |
Imposed on gross receipts of people who sell, lease, or ' g;’gg?; 11\{/Ies1dents $019 State
; . ,081.5 Metro $722 Metro
rent tangible personal property at retail at a rate of 6.5 » :
. $1,200.6 Nonmetro $496 Nonmetro
percent (does not include local sales taxes)
Motor vehicle sales tax 2009 - $442.3 State $83 State
Imposed on new and used motor vehicles at the time of $23Q'4 Mewo $80 Metro
$211.9 Nonmetro - $88 Nonmetro
sale at the same rate of state sales tax , v
Motor vehicle registration tax 2009 $512.4 State $97 State
g g $276.0 Metro $96 Metro
Imposed annually on vehicles licensed in the state $236.3 Nonmetro $08 Nonmetro
Motor vehicle fuels tax (gas tax) 2009 $798.3 State ‘$151 State
Imposed on gasoline, diesel fuel, and other motor fuels gi;?i §IA oo ¢ ggéll 11:1/[ etro o
used by vehicles and on aviation fuels o1 oonmene , o
Corporate franchise (income) tax 2008 $916.0 State $173 State
Imposed at a rate of 9.8 percent on the net income of ggggj 11\\? oo . g?gg 11:1/1 etrq ¢
corporations (or alternative minimum tax) <+ Donmet o ¢ onneo
State genera'l property tax | 2009 $774.0 State $146 State
Imposed on commercial/industrial/public utility $226.2 Mgtro 3163 Mero ,
) $247.1 Nonmetro $102 Nonmetro
property and seasonal recreational property . ; ~
PROPERTY TAX DATA
~ Market Value Net Property Tax

Total statewide: $581.2 billion

Metro
56.0%

Nonmetro
44.0%

Total statewide: $7.7 billion

Metro
64.3%

Nonmetro
35.7%

" For more information: Contact legislative anaIyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. See Major State Aids
and Taxes: Comparative Analysis, 2009 Update (June 2012) for further details about each aid program and
tax and data by county and economic development region. _

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,

legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Biofuel Use Mandates

A biofuel is a transportation fuel derived from plants or other renewable biological
resources. The most widely used biofuels are ethanol produced from corn and
biodiesel produced primarily from soybean oil. Ethanol is a substitute for gasoline;
biodiesel is a substitute for diesel fuel. Gasoline and diesel are referred to as
“fossil fuels” because they are created by processing nonrenewable petroleum.

A biofuel use mandate is a law that requires transportation fuel suppliers and
retailers to sell biofuel-blended fuels. Biofuel-blended fuels are fossil fuels mixed
with a specific amount of biofuel. Minnesota lawmakers established biofuel use
mandates for ethanol and biodiesel. In general, all motorists who fuel up in
Minnesota purchase ethanol- or biodiesel-blended fuel. Regular gasoline and
diesel are not typically available at gas stations. The mandates benefit biofuel
producers by creating a relatively stable, statewide market for their product.

The ethanol mandate law currently requires that nearly every gallon of gasoline
sold in the state contain 10 percent ethanol. This blend is commonly referred to as
“E10,” or a mixture of 10 percent ethanol and 90 percent gasoline. Actually, the
law requires the greater of E10 or a higher ethanol blend approved by the federal
government. Once the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) authorizes
higher ethanol blends under the authority of the federal Clean Air Act, Minnesota’s
ethanol mandate will require motorists to use the new, higher blend instead of E10.
However, because the ethanol mandate applies to nearly all motorists in
Minnesota, the law states that the EPA must authorize new blends for use in all
vehicles before the EPA’s actions will increase the ethanol mandate level. For
example, the EPA recently approved “E15.” However, the mandate did not
increase because the EPA authorized E15 use only in 2001 and newer light-duty
vehicles. If the EPA approves E15, E20, E22.5, or any other level for all vehicles,
Minnesota law will subsequently require its use statewide.

The biodiesel mandate law currently requires a 5 percent blend of biodiesel (“B5”)
in most diesel fuel sold in Minnesota. Unlike ethanol, the EPA has already
approved all diesel-biodiesel blends. The law called for an increase to B10 on May
1,2012, and B20 on May 1, 2015. However, these target dates are subject to
change based on certain conditions specified in the law. For example, the
scheduled increase from B5 to B10 in May of this year did not happen. The B10
mandate did not take effect as scheduled because executive branch agencies—as
required by law and in consultation with nongovernmental stakeholders—
examined the situation and determined that certain regulatory and supply issues
were not sufficiently resolved.



What exemptions

exist?

How are these

mandates enforced?

Are there other

biofuels?

In addition, the legislature authorized the executive branch to suspend the biodiesel
mandate for a limited period of time if there is not enough biodiesel fuel available
or if the wholesale price of biodiesel is so high relative to diesel fuel that the
mandate would cause economic hardship for gas stations and other diesel fuel
sellers who may lose business to competitors located outside of the state.

The legislature granted specific mandate exemptions for certain vehicles,
equipment, and fuels. The exemptions reflect stakeholder concerns about the
suitability of biofuel-blended fuels for their vehicles or other gasoline- or diesel-
powered equipment. For a list of exemptions, see the table below.

Employees with the Weights and Measures Division of the Minnesota Department

offered for sale at gas stations.

of Commerce sample gasoline and diesel stored at bulk delivery facilities or

Researchers and companies are actively developing new biofuels and new
feedstocks for ethanol and biodiesel. In May 2012, a company opened the first
commercial-scale biobutanol plant in Luverne. Recognizing the development of
new technologies and the exclusive focus of existing mandate laws on ethanol and
biodiesel, the 2012 Legislature directed the state’s NextGen Energy Board to
examine emerging biofuels. In 2013, the board must report whether the legislature
should broaden the ethanol and biodiesel mandates to include additional biofuels.

Biofuel Mandates, Implementation, and Exemptions

Biodiesel

Ethanol

Mandate Level

5 percent biodiesel per gallon, scheduled to
increase incrementally to a maximum of 20
percent in 2015 and thereafter

Greater of 10 percent ethanol per gallon or the
highest level approved by the U.S. EPA for
all vehicle model years

Initial
Implementation

2005

2003*

Exemptions

Nuclear plants, trains, off-road mining and
logging equipment, Coast Guard boats and
certain boats subject to Coast Guard
inspection. Number 1 diesel fuel is exempt
entirely during the months of October to
March due to cold-weather performance
concerns

Aircraft, resorts, marinas, houseboat
companies, recreational vehicle
manufacturers, riparian landowners, motor
sport racing events, collector vehicles, off-
road vehicles, motorcycles, boats,
snowmobiles, small engines

*The legislature required E10 use statewide in 2003. From 1997 to 2003, the law effectively required E7.7 statewide.
Technically, the law mandated that gasoline contain 2.7 percent oxygen by weight, which according to the Minnesota
Department of Agriculture equated to 7.7 percent ethanol.

For more information: For mandate compliance information, contact the Minnesota Department of
Commerce, Weights and Measures Division, at 651-215-5821. For more detail on the biofuel mandates, see
the following reports from the Minnesota Department of Agriculture: Legislative Report on Ethanol —
Review of E20 (January 2011) and Biodiesel Annual Report to the Legislature (January 2012), available at
www.mda.state.mn.us/renewable.aspx. For legislative issues, contact legislative analyst Colbey Sullivan at

651-296-5047.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing leglslatlve
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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The Ethanol Industry in Minnesota

Ethanol—an alcohol commonly produced by fermenting the starch in field corn—can be blended with
gasoline as a fuel extender and oxygenate. Examples of ethanol-gasoline blends include E10 (10 percent
ethanol, 90 percent gasoline) and E85 (85 percent ethanol, 15 percent gasoline). Due in large part to policy
and financial support at the state and federal levels, Minnesota ethanol production capacity has grown
significantly—from less than 1 million gallons in 1987 to more than 1 billion gallons by the end of 2011.

Major Federal Laws

Renewable fuel
standard

Federal fuel tax
credit for ethanol

Duties on imported
ethanol

Major State Laws

Ethanol mandate

Blender’s tax credit

Producer payments

Public education and
ethanol promotion

efforts

In general, since 2005 federal lawmakers have required transportation fuel
companies to blend ethanol into the gasoline sold to U.S. motorists. As a result, the
law guarantees a base level of demand for ethanol and encourages U.S. ethanol
production.

Prior to December 31, 2011, a person who blended ethanol with gasoline was
eligible for a refundable credit against his or her federal fuel tax liability. This
credit encouraged fuel suppliers to use ethanol by lowering its effective cost.

Prior to December 31, 2011, the federal government imposed a 54-cent per gallon
secondary tariff on imported ethanol. This tariff increased the cost of imported
ethanol relative to ethanol produced in Minnesota and elsewhere in the United
States. There remains a 2.5 percent ad valorem (i.e., percent of value) federal tax on
imported ethanol.

Predating the federal Renewable Fuel Standard, since 2003 Minnesota law has
required gas stations to sell E10 blends. In 2009 and 2010, lawmakers amended the
law to require the highest ethanol-gasoline blend approved by the federal
government for use in all vehicles; currently that fuel is E10.

Enacted in 1980 and phased out completely by 1997, the tax credit for agricultural
alcohol gasoline (more commonly referred to as the “blender’s credit”) reduced
state fuel tax liability for blenders mixing ethanol and gasoline in Minnesota.

In 1986, the legislature created the ethanol development fund to directly pay owners
of Minnesota ethanol plants 20 cents per gallon of ethanol produced, subject to
certain limitations. For 2004 through 2007, the legislature reduced payments to 13
cents per gallon, with a pledge to make up the remaining seven cents per gallon
later. The program closed to new applicants in 2000 and the state issued the final
payments to eligible plants in 2012. The total program cost is. $345.5 million.

Each year from 1987 through 1998, the legislature appropriated funds (usually
$100,000 per year) to the Department of Agriculture to educate the public about the
benefits of ethanol and encourage the creation of farmer-owned plants.



Loans for start-up A 1993 law created the Ethanol Production Facility Loan Program, providing up to

expenses and $500,000 in direct loans to seven plants for assistance during the construction and

purchase of stock early production phases. The program is closed to new applicants. A 1994 law
authorized low-interest loans to farmers for up to 45 percent of the cost to purchase
shares of stock in a value-added agricultural product processing facility. Investors
in at least 13 of Minnesota’s ethanol plants have utilized these loans.

Tax increment A number of communities have used tax increment financing (TIF) to encourage
financing construction of local ethanol plants. In the early 1990s, the legislature enacted laws
that made it easier to use TIF for ethanol projects.

Economic At least three plants have received low-interest loans via the Minnesota Investment

development support Fund, an economic development program designed to add and retain high-quality
jobs. Another four received grants from its predecessor, the Economic Recovery
Grants Program.

Job Opportunity JOBZ provides local and state tax exemptions to new or expanding businesses that
Building Zones locate in designated areas of Greater Minnesota. At least nine ethanol plants have
(JOBZ) signed JOBZ agreements since the program began in January 2004. A 2006 law

extended tax incentive eligibility from the standard 12 to 15 years for ethanol plants
enrolled between April 30, 2006, and July 1, 2007.

E85 promotion Since 1995, the state has taxed E85 at a lower rate than E10 and pure gasoline.
Beginning in 2002, the legislature directed state agencies to purchase vehicles
capable of burning cleaner fuels like E85 and use cleaner fuels whenever reasonably
available. Since 2005, laws have authorized a total of $2,400,000 in grants to
partially reimburse service station owners who install E85 dispensing pumps. A
2005 law requires auto dealers to provide written notice to consumers that new
flexible fuel vehicles can run on E85.

Environmental Since 2004, an extensive environmental impact study is not required prior to

review exemptions  construction of an ethanol plant capable of producing less than 125 million gallons
per year and located outside of the Twin Cities metropolitan area. In 2011,
lawmakers prohibited governmental entities from requiring an environmental review
based solely on the anticipated production capacity of an expanding plant.

Cost of Minnesota's Blender's Credit and

Ethanol Production Capacity in Minnesota Producer Payments
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst Colbey Sullivan at 651-296-5047.
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Principal and Teacher AcCountability Laws

- The 2011 Legislature enacted laws that establish principal and teacher accountability. Principal
accountability requirements apply beginning in the 2013-2014 school year, and teacher accountability
requirements apply beginning in the 2014-2015 school year. The 2012 Legislature also made student
academic growth account for 35 percent of the principal evaluation (Laws 2012, ch. 239, art. 2, § 8). At the
2011 Legislature’s direction, a group of experts developed a performance-based principal evaluation model
that superintendents may use to assess a school principal’s performance. The model is described in the
House Research short subject Evaluating Minnesota’s School Principals.”

A superintendent
must annually.
evaluate school
principals using a
- performance-based
. System

" The principal accountability laws require a superintendent to use a performance-

based system to annually evaluate each school principal assigned to supervise a
school building within the school district (Minn. Stat. § 123B.143, subd. 1; §
123B.147, subd. 3). The evaluation is to improve teaching and learning by
enhancing the principal’s ability to shape the school’s professional environment
and support and improve school performance, student achievement, and teacher
quality, performance, and effectiveness.

The evaluatxon must satisfy eight criteria:

~ Support and improve a principal’s instructional leadershlp, organizational
-management, and professional development, and strengthen the principal’s

capacity in instruction, supervision, evaluation, and teacher development
Include formative and summative assessments A

Be consistent with a principal’s job description and the plans and goals of -
the district and the principal, and support leadership behaviors and
practices, rigorous curriculum, school performance, and high-quality
instruction -

Include on-the-job observations and previous evaluations

Allow surveys to help identify a principal’s effectiveness, leadership skllls
and processes, and strengths and weaknesses in exercising leadership

Use longitudinal data on student academic growth that incorporate district

~achievement goals and targets as 35 percent of the evaluation

Be linked to professional development that emphasizes improved teaching
and learning, curriculum and instruction, student learnlng, and a

- collaborative professional culture

Require an improvement plan for a principal not meeting standards of
professional practice or other performance criteria and specify the
procedures and consequences of failing to improve performance

These criteria are meant to be sufficiently flexible to accommodate district needs
and goals for developing, supporting, and evaluating principals.



A group of experts  Before implementing annual principal evaluations, the education commissioner

- developed a model  and the associations of secondary and elementary school principals had to convene
Jor principal a group of specified experts and stakeholders to develop a performance-based
evaluations system model, which had to be presented to the legislature by February 1, 2012.

‘ The group could also consider whether to establish a multitiered evaluation system
that supports newly licensed principals in becoming highly skilled school leaders
and provides opportunities for advanced learning for more experienced school
leaders. :

Teachers will be The teacher accountability laws allow a school board and the exclusive
evaluated under a.  representative of the teachers to jointly agree to an annual teacher evaluation and
locally agreed-upon  peer review process for probationary and nonprobationary teachers (Minn. Stat. §
process or a process  122A.40, subds. 4, 5, 8, 9; and § 122A.41, subds. 2, 3, 5, 6). If there is no

developed by the agreement, the district must implement the teacher evaluation and peer review
education process developed by the education commissioner and specified education
commissioner stakeholders. Annual teacher evaluations are designed to develop, improve, and

support qualified teachers and effective teaching practices and improve student
learning and success. All annual teacher evaluations must satisfy 12 criteria:
-« Provide the requisite evaluations for probationary teachers .

« Establish a three-year professional review cycle for each teacher that
includes a growth and development plan, peer review, the opportunity to
participate in a professional learning community, and at least one
summative evaluation performed by a qualified and trained evaluator

e Be based on professional teaching standards

o Coordinate staff development activities with the evaluatlon process and
outcomes

e Perhaps allow school time for coachlng and collaboration

e Perhaps include mentoring and induction programs

e Allow teachers to present a portfolio demonstrating evidence of reflection
and professional growth that includes teachers’ own performance
assessment

e Use an agreed-upon teacher value-added assessment where value-added
data are available and state or local student growth measures where value-
added data are unavailable as a basis for 35 percent of teacher evaluation
results : '

e Use longitudinal data on student engagement and connection and other
student outcome measures aligned with curriculum for which teachers are
responsible '

o Require qualified and trained evaluators to perform summative evaluatlons

» Give teachers not meeting professional teaching standards the support to
improve with established goals and timelines

« Discipline a teacher who does not adequately improve

Data on individual teachers generated under this evaluation process are defined as
personnel data and are private data except as otherwise specified under law. The
“evaluations do not create additional due process rights for probationary teachers.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpart|san office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. :
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Evaluating Minnesota’s School Principals

K-12 principals
must be evaluated
annually; student
academic growth
accounts for 35
percent of the
evaluation

The superintendent

 evaluates a
principal’s
performance over a
three-to-five year
cycle

- The superintendent
uses seven core
competencies to
evaluate a
principal’s

- performance

The 2011 Legislature enacted laws (Minn. Stat. §§ 123B.143, subd. 1, and
123B.147, subd. 3) to assess school principals’ performance using K-12 principal
competencies and to enhance principals’ professional growth through annual

- evaluations. The legislature directed the education commissioner and school

principal and administrator associations to develop a performance-based evaluation
model and an annual evaluation process. The 2012 Legislature also made student
academic growth account for 35 percent of the principal evaluation.

The evaluation model anticipates a three-to-five year performance improvement.
cycle. In the first year, the principal must set measureable goals for the entire
evaluation cycle. The goals require self-assessment, professional development, and

- demonstrating performance on core principal competencies. The goals also require

ongoing performance reviews throughout the cycle. The superintendent must
annually evaluate the principal’s progress in realizing those goals.

A superintendent (or designee) must use core principal competencies to evé,luate
the principal’s performance. The principal and superintendent may focus the
evaluation on different core competencies in different years based on a principal’s
identified areas of professional strength and needed improvement. A '
superintendent concerned about a principal’s performance may modify the
evaluation process and the principal’s professional growth plan but must notify the

principal. A principal who fails to improve may be terminated.

A superintendent may use all or parts of the evaluation model to assess a school
principal’s performance. ‘

The evaluation model contains seven core elements that reflect the general
principal competencies contained in state rules:

e Strategic leadership: create the school’s vision, mission, and goals

e Instructional leadership: set high standards for professional instruction and
student performance

e Managerial leadership: promote student achievement and success

e Cultural leadership: understand the culture of the school, the students, and the
community and positively invoke cultural norms

~ o Communications leadership: communicate internally and externally in a clear

- and effective manner appropriate to different audiences and individuals -
e School community leadership: structure processes and opportunities for broad
engagement in, support for, and ownership of the school by others



A principal may be
rated as
unsatisfactory,
developing,
proficient,
accomplished, or
distinguished

- The annual
principal evaluation
involves a six-step
process

e FEthical and professional leadership: collaborate with staff and the commumty
to ensure educational equity and demonstrate professionalism

The core competencies are detailed in The Evaluation of Minnesota’s School
Principals, available on the Minnesota Elementary Schools Principals’ Association
website (http://www.mespa.net/sites/2961a8e8-4b04-4b38-8da2-
75542594a9f1/uploads/Evaluation_of MN. School Principals.pdf).

A principal’s progress in realizing performance goals in core competencies may be
rated: “unsatisfactory” if the principal does not meet acceptable performance
standards; “developing” if the principal does not meet acceptable performance
standards but demonstrates adequate growth toward meeting the standards;

~“proficient” if the principal demonstrates basic competency on performance

standards; “accomplished” if the principal generally exceeds basic competency on
performance standards; and “distinguished” if the principal consistently and
significantly exceeds basic competency on performance standards.

The principal evaluation process involves six steps:

o The superintendent orients the principal with information about the evaluation -
process and a summary of the principal’s previous school improvement and
professional growth plan

e The principal undertakes pre-evaluation planmng to establish prehmlnary
performance goals that will be measured using core competencies

e The superintendent and the principal discuss the principal’s performance goals
and the implicated core competencies and agree on the evidence, processes,
and measures the superintendent will use for the evaluation; a superintendent
must notify a principal if the evaluation focus is remediation . .

e The principal engages in self-reflection and collects evidence such as core
competency data, individual and community feedback, professmnal
development, and longitudinal data on student academic growth and
achievement to demonstrate progress in realizing the principal’s performance
goals; the supermtendent collects addmonal evidence from teachers and others
and through observations :

e The principal synthesizes the collected evidence summarizing the principal’s
performance while the superintendent prepares a preliminary assessment

e The principal and superintendent discuss their findings, the principal’s
previous.evaluation, and their respective assessments, agree upon the
principal’s performance goals and a professional growth plan containing
achievement measures, needed resources, and a timeline, and sign and file a
summary evaluation report; a superintendent concerned about a principal’s
performance may unilaterally de01de on evidence and performance goals for
evaluating the pr1nc1pa1 :

‘For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. Also see the House
Research pubhcatlon Principal and T eacher Accountability Laws, July 2012.
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State-Operated Services |

State-Operated Services (SOS), a division of the Minnesota Department of Human
Services, delivers publicly funded health care services to persons with complex.
needs. SOS provides care and treatment for individuals who display complex
conditions associated with mental illness, chemical dependency, developmental
disabilities, traumatic brain injury, and individuals who are committed to the
Commissioner of Human Services as mentally ill and dangerous. SOS provides
services for clients at hospitals, treatment programs, and residential locations
throughout the state. In addition, services are delivered through partial
hospitalization, outpatient services, and mobile crisis teams. Services are
organized under two categories of funding: “appropriated services” and
“enterprise services.” ‘

SOS appropriated services are those the legislature finances through a state
appropriation. Services include inpatient and community-based services for adults
with mental illness and specialized treatment services for individuals commltted to
the Commissioner of Human Services. '

SOS appropriated services provide:

» Services for adult mental health. SOS provides inpatient psychiatric
services to adults at community-based behavioral hospitals located
throughout the state and at the Anoka Metro Regional Treatment Center.
Residential, partial hospitalization, and outpatient services are also provided

~ to adult mental health clients. These services are delivered in partnersh1p
with counties and community service providers.

» Services for persons committed as Mentally Il and Dangerous (M1&D).
SOS operates the Minnesota Security Hospital (MSH) in St. Peter, a secure
treatment facility that provides multidisciplinary treatment for adults and
adolescents admitted under judicial and other lawful orders for assessment
and treatment of major mental disorders. MSH also operates a 58-bed
transition program providing treatment to increase skills necessary for a safe
return to the community. In addition, MSH operates a forensic nursing
facility for persons in need of nursing home care and who are committed as
mentally ill and dangerous, sexual psychopathic personalities, sexually
dangerous persons, or who are on medical release from the Department of
Corrections.

» Services for adults committed as developmentally disabled who pose a
risk to public safety. SOS operates Minnesota Specialty Health Systems in
Cambridge in residential community settings. The program specializes in
treatment to improve client behavior and functioning and to identify support
services that will permit clients to live safely in the community.



» Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health Services (CABHS). CABHS
provides an array of services ranging from outpatient to residential services -
for children and adolescents throughout the state. Inpatient services are
provided at the Willmar hospital site.

How are SOS To assure the availability of services for clients in need, SOS appropriated

appropriated services are funded prospectively through a general fund appropriation. DHS also

services funded?  seeks reimbursement for these services from Medicare, Medical Assistance, ,
private insurance, clients’ personal funds, and other revenue sources as available.

What are SOS SOS enterprise services provide services to people with disabilities while ,
enterprise - operating in the marketplace with other providers. These services are funded
services? ~ solely through revenues collected from a variety of third-party payment sources.

Enterprise serv1ces provide the following:

3 Chemlcal Addiction Recovery Enterprlse (CARE) CARE provides
inpatient and outpatient treatment to persons who are chemically dependent
and abuse substances. CARE operates these programs in Anoka, Brainerd,
Carlton, Fergus Falls, St. Peter, and Willmar. In conjunction with Hennepin
County Medical Center, CARE provides intensive day treatment to
residents of Hennepin County Who are at risk of connmtment due to chronic
addiction.

» Minnesota State-Operated Community Services (MSOCS).

= Residential services for individuals with developmental disabilities
or acquired brain injury. MSOCS provides residential support
services to people with disabilities in state-owned or state-leased
homes, licensed foster care settings, or in the person’s own home.

* Vocational and day training and habilitation (DT &H) services for
individuals with developmental disabilities or acquired brain
injury Vocational and DT&H programs provide vocational support
services to persons through a licensed Work site or supported work site
with job coaches.

» Rehabilitation services for individuals with serious brain injuries.
Minnesota Specialty Health Systems in Brainerd provides outreach and
intensive rehabilitative services to individuals with traumatic brain injuries
and neurocognitive disorders who have challenging behaviors. This
program serves the entire state.

How are SOS SOS enterprise activities are funded solely through revenues collected from a
enterprise services variety of third-party payment sources, including private health insurance,
© funded? Medical Assistance, counties, and other revenue sources available to clients.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lynn Aves at 651-296-8079.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office prowdmg Ieglslatlve
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Emergency Medical Assistance

Emergency Medical Assistance (EMA) covers emergency services for legal noncitizens who are not eligible
for regular Medical Assistance (MA) coverage with a federal match, undocumented persons, and
nonimmigrants. EMA is administered by the Department of Human Services (DHS); the state receives the
regular federal Medicaid match for the cost of EMA services. Eligibility and covered services for EMA are
specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.06, subdivision 4, paragraphs (f), (g), and (h), and Laws of
Minnesota 2012, chapter 247, article 1, section 29.

Eligibility

Services Covered
Under EMA

Individuals must have an MA basis of eligibility (which means they belong to a
group for which MA coverage is available) and meet all MA eligibility
requirements such as income and asset limits, other than those related to
immigration status.

The following groups of individuals are eligible for EMA:

(1) Legal noncitizens who do not qualify for regular MA with a federal match
due to their immigration status (pregnant women and children who are legal
noncitizens qualify for regular MA with a federal match regardless of their
immigration status)

(2) Sponsored immigrants ineligible for MA because of the deeming of
sponsor income and assets (pregnant women and children under age 21 are
exempt from sponsor deeming)

(3) Undocumented persons and nonimmigrants, such as tourists and foreign
students (uninsured pregnant women in these groups qualify for regular
MA services through the period of pregnancy, including labor and delivery
and 60-days postpartum)

Minnesota law specifies that EMA covers “care and services necessary for the
treatment of an emergency medical condition” as this term is defined in federal

law. Federal law (42 U.S.C. 1396b (v)) defines an emergency medical condition as
“...amedical condition (including emergency labor and delivery) manifesting itself
by acute symptoms of sufficient severity (including severe pain) such that the
absence of immediate attention could reasonably be expected to result in —

(A) placing the patient’s health in serious jeopardy,
(B) serious impairment to bodily functions, or
(C) serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.”



Limits on delivery The 2011 Legislature limited the settings under which EMA services can be

settings and services provided, and also specifically excluded certain services from being considered
services for the treatment of emergency medical conditions. These changes,
effective January 1, 2012, had the effect of eliminating EMA coverage for many
chronic care and long-term care services.

Services available under EMA are limited to: (1) services delivered in an
emergency room or by an ambulance service directly related to treatment of an
emergency condition; (2) inpatient hospital services following admission from an
emergency room or clinic; and (3) follow-up services directly related to the
original service provided to treat the emergency condition that are covered by the
global payment made to the provider.

Certain services are specifically excluded from coverage under EMA. These
services include, but are not limited to: transplants and routine prenatal care (both
of these services had been specifically excluded under prior law); continuing care;
preventive health care and family planning services; rehabilitation services;
physical, occupational, and speech therapy services; case management; and
chemical dependency treatment.

Coverage of EMA may cover services provided in a nursing facility or home/community setting

additional services  following discharge from an emergency department or inpatient hospital, if these
services are part of a care plan certified by DHS and are medically necessary and
required to prevent the individual’s condition from quickly becoming an
emergency medical condition (typically within 48 hours); other criteria also must
be met. Certain services, such as emergency dental services, personal care
assistant and home care services, and outpatient prescription drugs, require
authorization by DHS in addition to care plan certification, in order to be covered

under EMA.
Temporary The 2012 Legislature temporarily reinstated, for the period May 1, 2012, through
reinstatement of June 30, 2013, EMA coverage for: (1) dialysis services provided in a hospital or
coverage freestanding dialysis facility; and (2) surgery and chemotherapy, radiation, and

related services necessary to treat cancer that is not in remission. Coverage for
these services had been eliminated effective January 1, 2012.

Study of EMA The 2012 Legislature also required the Commissioner of Human Services, in
consultation with relevant stakeholders, to develop a plan to provide coordinated
and cost-effective care to persons eligible for EMA. The plan must be submitted to
the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over health and human services policy and financing by January 15,
2013.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. See also the House
Research information brief Eligibility of Noncitizens for Health Care and Cash Assistance Programs,
September 2011. '

~ The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnesota’s Public Defender System

The United States and Minnesota Constitutions both establish the right to an
attorney for anyone facing a charge punishable by “loss of liberty.” Minnesota law
entitles anyone who is financially unable to obtain counsel to a public defender if
he or she: (1) is charged with a felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor; (2) is
appealing a felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor conviction, or pursuing

- post-conviction relief and has not already had a direct appeal; or (3) is contesting

grounds for a probation revocation.

‘Similar to adults, juveniles who are financially unable to obtain counsel are entitled
to a public defender. In delinquency cases, juveniles have the right to the
appointment of a public defender except for juvenile petty offenses (e.g., minor
alcohol or controlled substance offenses, minor traffic offenses, etc.). In CHIPS
(Child in Need of Protection or Services) and TPR (Termination of Parental
Rights) cases, juveniles who are ten years of age or older have the right to a public
defender (except in habitual truancy cases). A guardian ad litem may be appointed
to a juvenile under age ten.

Pursuant to statute, a defendant is financially unable to obtain counsel if the
defendant, or a defendant’s dependent (residing in the same household), receives
means-tested governmental benefits, or, considering the defendant’s liquid assets
and current income, the defendant would be unable to pay the reasonable costs
charged by a private attorney. (The court must not appoint a public defender to a
person who is able to afford private counsel but refuses to do so.)

The burden is on the defendant to show financial inability to pay. The defendant
must submit a financial statement under oath, and the court makes the :
determination of the defendant’s financial eligibility. The defendant is under a

- continuing duty to disclose any change in financial circumstances.

A person may request the court for appointment of a public defender at any time
where the matter is pending or the conviction has occurred. Depending on the
judicial district, a financial inquiry may occur before the first court appearance or
in court. Prior to a court appearance, a person may request a public defender if
facing a police interrogation or other procedures affecting one’s rights. For more
information, contact the public defender’s office (http://www.puddef.state.mn.us/
client_information.htm) or court administrator (http://www.mncourts.gov/district/
4/7page=583) in the judicial district where charges are pending.

The court may order a defendant to reimburse the state, in whole or in part, for the
cost of a public defender. In determining the amount of reimbursement, the court
must consider the defendant’s income, assets, and employment. If necessary, the
court may establish a reimbursement schedule or issue an order for wage:
withholding. In cases where a public defender is appointed to represent a juvenile,
the court may order a parent to reimburse the state. The presiding judge must
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terminate the appointment of a public defender to any person who subsequently
becomes financially able to pay for private counsel.

Upon disposition of the case, a defendant who received public defender services
must pay a $75 co-payment, unless the court reduces or waives the co-payment.
(The statute does not indicate when a court should exercise its discretion to waive
the co-payment. In 2003, the Minnesota Court of Appeals held that the court must
waive the co-payment when a defendant is indigent or when the co-payment would
cause manifest hardship on a defendant.)

Public defenders represent individuals only in criminal cases. A person is not
generally entitled to representation by counsel in civil cases (e.g., divorce, eviction,
contract, personal injury, wrongful death, etc.). There are organizations (with
limited resources) throughout the state that may assist low-income individuals in
civil lawsuits (e.g., legal aid) (http://www.mnlegalservices.org/) and certain
judicial districts offer legal advice clinics (http://www.mncourts.gov/
selfthelp/?page=251). (In certain civil cases, a person may have a statutory right to
counsel at public expense, This is different from a public defender; generally,
court-appointed counsel in such matters is a county expense.)

There is a district public defender office in each of the state’s ten judicial districts.
District public defenders represent individuals in trial and juvenile court. In
addition, there is an appellate and a state public defender office. Attorneys in the
appellate office represent individuals who are appealing a conviction or seeking
post-conviction relief. The state public defender supervises the operation,
activities, policies, and procedures of the statewide public defender systemg

There is a State Board of Public Defense consisting of seven members: four
attorneys appointed by the Supreme Court and three public members appointed by
the governor. The board appoints the state public defender for a four-year term,
and, with the advice of the state public defender, appoints a chief administrator.
The board also appoints a chief public defender in each of the state’s ten judicial
districts and a chief appellate public defender. In addition, the board distributes
funding from the legislature to the district and appellate offices. Although the State

" Board of Public Defense is part of the judicial branch of government, it is not

under the judicial branch’s administrative control.

Money is appropriated to the Board of Public Defense from the state general fund
each biennium. (In the 1990s, the state assumed the cost of the public defender
system from the counties, with the exception of Hennepin County. In the Fourth
Judicial District, costs are shared between the state and Hennepin County.) There
are also four legal def{ense corporations funded through grants from the board.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Rebecca Pirius at 651-296-5044 for legal citations.
House Research does not provide legal advice or representation for members of the public.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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MinnesotaCare: An Overview

~ MinnesotaCare is a state program that provides subsidized health care coverage to low- and moderate-
income families and individuals. The program is administered by the Department of Human Services
(DHS); counties have the option of processing applications and determining eligibility:

Note: The Jollowing text describes program changes that have been approved by the federal
government but have not yet been fully implemented by DHS.

. Eligibi'lilj) A - To be eligible for anesotaCare an individual must meet the following

criteria:

Have gross income that does not exceed 275 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines (FPG) for families and children ($63,408 for a household of
four), and 250 percent of FPG for adults without children ($27,936 for a
household of one and $37,836 for a household of two). Parents with
annual gross incomes over $57,500 are ineligible, whether or not they
otherwise meet the 275 percent of FPG standard; this income cap does not

apply to pregnant women and minor parents.

Have assets that do not exceed $10,000 for a household of one and
$20,000 for a household of two or more, after certain exclusions. This
asset standard does not apply to pregnant women and children.

Not have access to employer-subsidized health care coverage, and not

have had access to this coverage through the current employer for 18
months prior to application or renewal. This requirement does not apply to -
children with incomes that do not exceed 200 percent of FPG and certain
other children. '

Have no health care coverage at the time of application and for four
months prior to application or renewal. Children with incomes that do not
exceed 200 percent of FPG and certain other children are exempt from
this requirement if they are considered to be “underinsured.”

Be a resident of Minnesota. Enrollees must meet the residency
requirements of the Medical Assistance (MA) program.

Covered services Pregnant women and children have access to a broader range of covered services
than adults who are not pregnant. Pregnant women and children receive
coverage for all health care services provided under MA. MA covers physician
care, hospitalization, prescription drugs, nursing home care, and a wide range of
other health care and long-term care services.

Parents and adults without children are covered for most, but not all MA
services. Parents with household incomes greater than 215 percent of FPG and
all adults without children are subject to an annual inpatient hospital benefit
limit of $10,000. Services not covered include personal care attendant services,
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private duty nursing, nursing home care, ICF/DD (intermediate care facility for
persons with developmental disabilities), and special transportation services.

Enrollees must pay premiums based on a sliding scale. Children with incomes
that do not exceed 200 percent of FPG are not charged premiums. Adult '
enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to coinsurance and copayments for
specified services.

Nearly all enrollees receive health care services through prepaid health plans.
The MinnesotaCare program pays prepaid health plans a monthly capitation
payment for each MinnesotaCare enrollee. MinnésotaCare does not set provider
reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the result of negotiation between
health care providers and the prepaid health plan.

Since July 1, 2012, adults without children with incomes greater than or equal to
200 percent of FPG but not exceeding 250 percent of FPG have received
monthly defined contributions provided by the state to purchase private sector
health coverage. Covered services and cost-sharing are as provided under the
terms of the private sector policy. Defined contribution enrollees do not pay
MinnesotaCare premiums, but are required to pay any portion of the premium
for private sector coverage that exceeds the monthly defined contribution.

, 1In fiscal year 2011, the MinnesotaCare program paid $738 million for medical
- services provided.-to enrollees. Sixty-eight percent of this cost was paid for by

the state, 27 percent by the federal government, and 5 percent by enrollees
through premium payments (this last categary also 1ncludes enrollee cost-
sharing).

State funding for MinnesotaCare and other health care access initiatives is
provided by a tax of 2.0 percent on the gross revenues of health care prov1ders
and a tax of 1.0 percent on the premiums of nonprofit health plan companies.

The state receives federal funding at the MA match rate for health care services
provided to enrollees who are children, parents, or pregnant women, and for
enrollees who are adults without children with incomes greater than 75 percent
but not exceeding 250 percent of FPG. The state receives federal funding at an
enhanced match rate (under the Children’s Health Insurance Program) for
children under age 21 with incomes equal to or greater than 133 percent but not
exceeding 275 percent of FPG.

As of April 2012, 131,431 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare
program. Just over two-thlrds of these enrollees were parents, children, or
pregnant women. '

MinnesotaCare applications can be obtained by calling 1-800-657-3672.
Applications are also available at county human services agencies.

For more information: See the House Research information brief MinnesotaCare, August 2012,

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartxsan office providing legislative,
‘legal, and lnformatlon services to the entire House.
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Estate and Inheritance Taxation:
An Overview of Taxes in the States

From 1924 through 2001, the federal estate tax allowed a dollar-for-dollar credit
for state death taxes paid (up to maximum limits). All states imposed estate
taxes up to the amount of the federal credit; some states also imposed additional
inheritance or estate taxes. In 2001 Congress repealed the federal credit for state
death taxes (effective for deaths after December 31, 2004). Now that they can
no longer impose taxes that do not increase the total tax burden on estates and
heirs, most states (30 for deaths in 2012) no longer impose estate or inheritance
taxes. Three states’ taxes are scheduled to be eliminated after 2012, and an
initiative to repeal the Oregon estate tax is on the November 2012 general
election ballot. Minnesota continues to impose an estate tax.

Estate taxes generally apply a single tax rate schedule to the taxable value of
the decedent’s total estate (bequests to charities and surviving spouses are
typically exempt).

Inheritance taxes apply varying tax rate schedules to bequests made to different
classes of beneficiaries. Bequests to surviving spouses and lineal heirs typically
enjoy lower rates or are totally exempt, while bequests to more distant or
unrelated heirs (collateral heirs) are usually taxed at higher rates or have lower
exemptions or both.

For decedents dying in calendar year 2012, 14 states (Connecticut, Delaware,
Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, North Carolina,
Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington) and the District of
Columbia impose only estate taxes. Two of these states (Delaware and Hawaii)
had allowed their taxes to expire after Congress repealed the federal credit for
state death taxes, but reenacted the taxes in 2010. In 2011, Ohio repealed its
estate tax, effective for deaths after December 31, 2012,

Exemption amounts under the state estate taxes vary. For 2012, they range from
$5.1 million (three states) to $338,333 (Ohio). The most common amount is $1
million (five states, including Minnesota). Top rates range from 7 percent to 19
percent with most states, like Minnesota, imposing a top rate of 16 percent.

Six states (Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Nebraska, Pennsylvania, and Tennessee)
impose only inheritance taxes. In 2012, Tennessee and Indiana repealed their
taxes. Both repeals phase out the taxes; Tennessee’s repeal is effective for
deaths after December 31, 2015; Indiana’s after December 31, 2021.

The exemptions under state inheritance taxes vary greatly, ranging from $100
(Indiana) for bequests to unrelated individuals to unlimited exemptions (Iowa



and Kentucky) for bequests to lineal heirs, such as children or parents of the
decedent. Most states do not tax bequests to surviving spouses under either
estate or inheritance taxes. Top tax rates range from 4.5 percent (Pennsylvania
on lineal heirs) to 20 percent (Indiana on collateral heirs).

Two states impose Maryland and New Jersey impose both types of taxes, but the estate tax paid is a
both taxes credit against the inheritance tax, so the total tax liability is not the sum of the
two, but the greater of the two taxes.

The map shows the states with estates and inheritance taxes for 2012 deaths.

State Estate and Inheritance Taxes

States with Estate Taxes

E States with Inheritance Taxes

e . States with Both Estate and Inheritance Taxes

House Research Department

For more information: See the information brief Survey of State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes,
November 2011.
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The commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget must prepare a forecast
of state revenues and expenditures twice each year—in February and November.

The November forecast in even-numbered years becomes the basis for the
governor’s budget recommendations to the legislature. The November 2012
forecast will provide the revenue and expenditure projections that the governor
will use in developing the budget for the fiscal year 2014-2015 biennium, which
runs from July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2015. The November 2012 forecast will also
show if the state is on track to finish the fiscal year 2012-2013 biennium with a
balanced budget.

The February forecast in odd-numbered years fine-tunes the preceding November’s
forecast with data that becomes available early in the calendar year. The February
2013 forecast will provide the revenue and expenditure projections that the
legislature will use in adopting a budget for the fiscal year 2014-2015 biennium.
Following the February forecast, the governor will submit modifications to the
budget developed from the November forecast, which are called “supplemental
budget recommendations.” The February 2013 forecast will also provide an
update on the status of revenues and expenditures in the current biennium.

The November forecast in odd-numbered years and the February forecast in even-
numbered years also provide updates on revenues and expenditures in the current
biennium. Using the projections of the November 2013 forecast, the governor may
make additional “supplemental budget recommendations” proposing changes to
the fiscal year 2014-2015 budget durmg the 2014 legislative session. The
legislature will use the projections in the February 2014 forecast to ensure that the
fiscal year 2014-2015 biennium closes with a balanced budget.

If a forecast shows a shortfall for the general fund in the current biennium, the
commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget may reduce the budget
reserve account as needed to balance revenues with expenditures. If there isn’t
enough money in the budget reserve to balance the general fund in the current .
biennium, and if a balanced budget has been enacted for the biennium, then the
commissioner may also reduce outstanding appropriations, commonly referred to

‘as “unalloting.” Before reducing the budget reserve or unalloting appropriations,

the commissioner must obtain the approval of the governor and must consult with
the Legislative Advisory Commission. When the legislature is in session, the
governor typically makes recommendations to the legislature on how to resolve the
shortfall before approving use of the budget reserve or unalloting.

* If a forecast shows a shortfall for any other fund in the current biennium, the



commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget must reduce the affected
agency’s allotment to avoid a deficit. As with general fund shortfalls, if the
legislature is in session the governor would typically make recommendations on
how to resolve the shortfall.

If a forecast shows a shortfall for the coming biennium, the governor’s budget
recommendations must propose revenue and expenditure changes in order for the
budget to be in balance at the close of the coming biennium.

What if the forecast  If a forecast shows a surplus for the general fund in the current biennium, the
shows a budget’ commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget must allocate the surplus in
surplus? priority order as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.152, subdivision 2:

o to the cash flow account, until it reaches $350 million

o to the budget reserve account, until it reaches $653 million

e to increase the school aid payment schedule to 90 percent 4

* to restore previous school aid reductions and reduce the property tax
recognition shift accordingly

o to restore the $15 million transferred in 2008 from the state alrports fund |
to the general fund

If all these priorities have been met, the remaining surplus is reported in the
forecast as a “positive unrestricted budgetary general fund balance.”

If a forecast shows a surplus for the coming biennium, the governor’s budget -
recommendations may propose revenue reductions and/or expenditure i 1ncreases as
long as the proposed changes do not result in a projected budget shortfall.

What is the status of Part of the budget balancing solution enacted in the 2011 special session for the

the priorities for 2012-2013 biennium reduced the cash flow account balance to $95 million and the
repayment budget reserve balance to zero. The budget solution also included approx1mately
surpluses? - $2.75 billion in shifted K-12 school aid and property tax recognition shifts.

As aresult of the November 2011 forecasted surplus of $876 million for the 2012-
2013 biennium, $255 million was added to the cash flow account, bringing it to the
$350 million required by the first allocation priority. Another $621 million was
added to the budget reserve, bringing its balance to $648 million. The February
2012 forecast projected an additional surplus of $323 million. The first $5 million
was added to the budget reserve to meet the $653 million balance required by the
second allocation priority, and $318 million was used to partially repay the K-12
- school aid payment shift, the third allocation priority. Still to be repaid is
‘approximately $1.4 billion of shifted school aid payments and the entire $600
Amﬂhon property tax recognition shift.

Repayment priorities can change in legislation. The 2012 Legislature repealed
repayment of a 2010 transfer from the fire safety account, which had been the last
statutory priority for allocating a forecasted budget surplus. The repeal was one of
several changes in law to restore and stabilize funding for the fire safety account.

For more information: Contact legislaﬁve analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House
 Research pubhcatlon Unallotment: Executive Branch Power to Reduce Spendmg to Avoid a Deficit,
December 2010.
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Two-thirds Majority Vote to Enact General Banking Laws

Since its adoption in 1857, the Minnesota
Constitution has provided that “general banking
laws” may only be enacted upon a two-thirds
majority vote by the legislature. Minn. Const. art. IV
§ 26. Based on the language of the original
constitution and decisions of the Minnesota Supreme
Court, it is clear that this supermajority requirement
only applies to laws for “banks of issue”—i.e., banks
authorized to issue notes that circulate as money.

The original constitutional provision authorized the
legislature to pass general banking laws by a two-
thirds majority vote, but only if the law met five
specified conditions. Minn. Const. art. 9 § 13 (1857).
Four of these conditions related to notes (money)

ssued by the bank, while the fifth was a disclosure
provision. These conditions clearly imply that
general banking laws related only to banks with the
power to issue their own circulating notes.

The Minnesota Supreme Court confirmed this
interpretation in two cases. Palmer v. Bank of
Zumbrota stated that the constitutional “provision
applies only to a law for organizing banks of issue.”
75 N.W.380, 382 (Minn. 1898). Earlier the court had
made it clear that “banks of issue” are banks with the
power to issue their own notes or currency:

[Wlhile banks of issue may have the power to do
all these things, the only franchise or privilege
which they possess, aside from the mere right to
exist and act as a corporation, is that of issuing
their notes for the purpose of circulation as
money. It was this right and this class of
corporations that the framers of the constitution
evidently had in mind in using the term “banking
privileges.” International Trust Co. v. American
Loan & Trust Co., 65 N.W.78, 80 (Minn. 1895).

When the Constitution was adopted in 1857,
America was in the “free banking” period during
which there was neither a central bank to issue
currency nor a national banking act authorizing
national banks to issue notes. As a result, state bank
notes were typically used as money. Thus, it made
sense for Minnesota to authorize chartering of banks
with the power to issue notes to be used as money
and because of the gravity of this power to subject it
to supermajority approval.

This situation changed in the Civil War when
Congress authorized national banks to issue notes
and provided a strong incentive for state banks to
convert to national charters, if they wished to issue
notes. To further cement this, Congress in 1865
imposed a 10 percent tax on state bank notes,
effectively making them economically impractical.
As aresult, state banks generally ceased to issue
notes. Enactment of the Federal Reserve Act in
1913 effectively transferred the function of creating
money to a true central bank.

In 1974, the Minnesota Constitution was
restructured by the legislature and the voters. This
restructuring dropped the five conditions imposed
on general banking laws, while retaining the two-
thirds majority requirement. 1974 Minn. Laws 795,
810, ch. 409 §1. This amendment did not change
the limitation of the supermajority requirement to
laws organizing banks of issue, since by its terms it
did not make “consequential changes” in the
constitution. Id. at 819, §3. Because private
American banks have not issued circulating notes
for almost a century, the two-thirds majority vote
requirement has little practical application.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn.
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,

legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department [ 600 State Office Building l St. Paul, MN 55155 l 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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What is a
deduction?

What federal
deductions are
allowed?

What state
subtractions are
allowed?

Updated: August 2012*

Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits

A deduction reduces income tax liability by reducing taxable income. On the '
federal income tax return, taxpayers can claim various deductions that reduce

- adjusted gross income (sometimes called “above-the-line” deductions); taxpayers

may also claim either the standard deduction or itemized deductlons which result
in smaller federal taxable income. '

Minnesota’s income tax calculation starts with federal taxable income. On the
state income tax return, taxpayers may claim various state deductions (sometimes
called “subtractions™), which result in smaller state taxable income.

In tax year 2012, the federal income tax allows above-the-line deductions for
various retirement account contributions, certain employee business expenses,
student loan interest payments, Health Savings Account contributions, moving
expenses, one-half of self-employment tax, health insurance premiums (for self-
employed taxpayers only), penalty on early withdrawal of savings, and alimony
paid by the taxpayer. The federal income tax allows itemized deductions for state

- and local property taxes and either income or sales taxes, mortgage interest,

charitable contributions, medical expenses in excess of 7.5 percent of income (the
threshold increases in tax year 2013 to 10 percent for taxpayers under age 65, and
in 2017 for all other taxpayers), casualty and theft losses in excess of 10 percent of
income, and job expenses and miscellaneous expenses (most only allowed in

excess of 2 percent of income).

Minnesota’s income tax allows subtractions for K-12 dependent education
expenses, most military pay, 50 percent of charitable contributions over $500 (for
filers who do not claim federal itemized deductions only), up to $12,000 for low-
income elderly and disabled taxpayers with low amounts of Social Security and
nontaxable pensions, Job Opportunity Building Zone (JOBZ) income, organ
donation expenses, gain on sale of farm property for insolvent taxpayers, foreign
subnational income taxes, and national service education awards. :

Minnesota also allows subtractions for U.S. bond interest, railroad retirement
benefits, and on-reservation earnings of enrolled tribal members, because federal
law prohibits state taxation of these types of income.

Finally, Minnesota’s income tax allows various subtractions to coordinate the
calculation of taxable income with other features of the income tax. Minnesota
requires itemizers to add back the amount of state income tax deducted at the
federal level and allows a subtraction for amounts refunded in order to avoid twice
taxing the same income. Also, Minnesota does not conform to federal deductions
for bonus depreciation, section 179 expensing, domestic production activities,



How much are
deductions worth?

What is a credit?

What is the
difference between
nonrefundable and
refundable credits?

What federal credits
are allowed?

What state credits
are allowed?

income from the discharge of indebtedness, and net operating losses. Minnesota
allows subtractions for amounts of these items that were included in Minnesota
taxable income, but not federal taxable income, in earlier tax years.

The value of an income tax deduction equals the taxpayer’s marginal rate times the

amount of the deduction. A taxpayer whose income is too low to be subject to
taxes does not benefit from a deduction, unless the law allows the unused
deduction to be carried over to a later tax year.

In tax year 2012, federal marginal rates range from 10 percent to 35 percent, and
state marginal rates from 5.35 percent to 7.85 percent. The graduated federal and
state income tax rates make deductions worth more to high-income taxpayers than
to low-income taxpayers. A taxpayer in the top federal and state brackets who
claims a $1,000 deduction for moving expenses pays $350 less in federal taxes (35
percent of $1,000) and $78.50 less in state taxes (7.85 percent of $1,000). But a
taxpayer in the bottom federal and state brackets who claims the same deduction
pays $100 less in federal taxes (10 percent of $1,000), and $53.50 less in state

 taxes (5.35 percent of $1,000).

Credits are subtracted directly from tax liability. Because credits are subtracted
directly from liability, they are worth the same to all taxpayers with liability,
regardless of income (i.e., it doesn’t matter what tax rate bracket the taxpayer is in).

Nonrefundable eredits only offset tax liability. Taxpayers with incomes too low
to have any tax liability do not benefit from nonrefundable tax credits.

Refundable credits, in contrast, fully benefit taxpayers regardless of their tax
liability. For example, a taxpayer with $700 in tax liability who qualifies for a
$1,000 refundable credit would receive a refund of $300. If the credit was
nonrefundable, that taxpayer would only be able to “use” the $700 of the tax credit
that offset liability.

In tax year 2012, the federal income tax allows nonrefundable credits for foreign
taxes paid, child and dependent care expenses, higher education expenses,
retirement contributions of low-income taxpayers, and residential energy efficient
equipment. The federal income tax allows refundable credits for adoption
expenses, certain health coverage expenses, and earned income of lower income
filers. The federal child credit, for children age 17 and younger, is part1a11y :
refundable.

In tax year 2012, Minnesota allows nonrefindable credits for marriage penalties
resulting from the state’s progressive rate structure (marriage credit), long-term
care insurance premiums, and military retirement pay of low-income veterans.
Minnesota also allows refundable credits for earned income of low-income filers
(working family credit), dependent care expenses, and K-12 education expenses.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the income tax
area on the House Research website for more 1nf0rmat10n on tax credits. '

* This information has been previously published as an information brief.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartlsan office prov1d|ng legislative,
legal, and mformatlon services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | st. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm



HouseE RESEARCH

Short Subjects

~ Joel Michael

Minnesota

imposes several -

taxes and fees
on cigarettes
and tobacco’
products

A per-pack tax
applies in lieu
of the general
sales tax

Payments made
to settle state
lawsuits against
the tobacco
industry have
similar effects
as excise taxes

A use tax can
apply, if
Minnesota tax
has otherwise
not been paid

indexed for inflation in the Per pack | Percent of
price of cigarettes so it Tax or fee of 20 rate price
increases with overall Cigarette excise tax 48 cents NA
increases in cigarette prices.) Tobacce products excise tax NA 35%-
The taxes and fees on tobacco Health impact fee 73 cents 3%
. . Fee on cigarettes manufactured 35 cents NA

products, such as cigars, pipe by nonsettling companies

tobacco, snuff, and chewing Tax in lieu of general sales tax 35.6 cents NA
“tobacco, are imposed as a (effective calendar year 2012) °

Upd‘lted August 2012

Clgarette and Tobacco Excise Taxes and Fees

Minnesota imposes a series of taxes and fees on the sale or possession of cigarettes
and tobacco products. The table lists the taxes and fees and their rates. The cigarette
taxes and fees are all imposed on a “per unit” basis—i.e., on the number of cigarettes
sold, not as a percentage of the sale price. 7

Because the taxes and fees are set on a per-unit basis, they do not increase as the prices
of cigarettes increase. (The tax in heu of the general sales tax on cigarettes is annually

percentage of their wholesale
prices. Thus, these taxes fluctuate as the prices of the products change.

Since 2005, cigarette sales have been exempt from state and local sales taxes. A per- -
pack tax applies instead of the sales tax. The commissioner of revenue annually sets
this in-lieu tax based on a survey of Minnesota retail cigarette prices. The rate is set as
an average of these prices and is reset January 1 for the calendar year. The tax does
not replace local sales taxes, although these local taxes do not apply to cigarette sales.

Settlements of the states’ lawsuits against the tobacco companies have similar
economic effects to cigarette taxes, since these settlement payments are passed along
to consumers (nationally) as higher cigarette prices. However, they do not affect
companies that were not part of the lawsuit or that have not entered the Master
Settlement Agreement as participating manufacturers. To compensate partially for the
lower prices of cigarettes produced by nonsettling companies, the 2003 Legislature
imposed a 35-cent per-pack fee on those cigarettes. The legality this fee and the health
impact fee were both upheld by the Minnesota Supreme Court when the industry
challenged them on various grounds in 2006.

A use tax applies to consumers who purchase untaxed cigarettes (e.g., over the Internet
or in-person in another state) for use in Minnesota. The tax is the same as the
combined rate of the excise tax and health impact fee. The use tax does not apply to
one carton of cigarettes purchased in another state and brought into the state by the
individual. For larger quantities brought into the state and for any quantity shlpped to
the consumer in Minnesota, the use tax applies.



The taxes and .
fees are
estimated to
yield revenues
of $423.1

. million in FY

© 2013

Neighboring
states have
higher tax rates

For fiscal year 2013, Minnesota Management and Budget estimates collections from
the two excise taxes and the sales tax on cigarettes will be $223.6 million and from the

. health impact fee, $199.5 million (February 2012 forecast). Revenues from the .
" tobacco products tax are deposited in the general fund. Each fiscal year, cigarette tax

revenues of $22.25 million go to fund the Academic Health Center, $3.94 million to
the medical education and research account, and the rest to the state general fund. The: °
health impact fee revenues are deposited in a health impact fund and are transferred to
the general fund after the commissioner of human services certifies that state health
programs have incurred tobacco-related costs equal to the fee:

Because cigarettes can easily be transported, the tax rates in other states (especially
border states) are important. Taking into account the combined effects of Minnesota’s
tax and fee ($1.23/pack), three bordering states have higher rates: Wisconsin ($2.52),

- South Dakota ($1.53), and Iowa ($1.36). North Dakota (44 cents) has a lower rate.

All states’ rates are shown on the map below. The map does not reflect local cigarette
taxes; some of these local taxes are substantial (e.g., $1.50 in New York City and
$2.68 per pack in Chicago). The map does not reflect the effect of general sales taxes
(including Minnesota’s per-pack tax in lieu of the sales tax). Some states have no sales

" tax or exempt cigarettes from sales taxation, lowering the overall tax burden.

State Cigarette Tax Rates
as of 7/1/2012
cents per pack

43 | ""1,2*3 .

DC - 286
\WD = 200

103

141 m
. ) . ! y & O 2

* These exclude some significant local taxes. - .
‘Source: Federation of Tax Administratars and other sources

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel. michaei@house mn.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartisan offlce prov1dmg legislative,
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What is the “60-day
rule”?

Who does it apply
to?

What requests does
it apply to?

When does the time
begin to run?

" Revised: September 2012

“60-Day Rule”
Deadline for Certain Agency Actions

In 1995, the legislature enacted Minnesota Statutes, section 15.99, commonly
referred to as “the 60-day rule.” The 60-day rule requires governmental entities to
approve or deny a written request for certain actions within 60 days or the request
is approved. More specifically, “failure of an agency to deny a request within 60
days is approval of the request. If an agency denies the request, it must state in
writing the reasons for the denial at the time that it denies the request.”

- The law applies to the following, all defined as agenéies

o adepartment, agency, board, commlssmn or other group in the executive
branch of state government

« astatutory or home rule charter city, county, town, or school district

« any metropolitan agency or regional entity

« any other political subdivision of the state

It applies to “a written request relating to zoning, septic systems, watershed district

review, soil and water conservation district review, or expansion of the
metropolitan urban service area for a perm1t license, or other governmental
approval of an action.”

A “request” is a written application on a form provided by the agency, if a form

exists. A request not on an agency’s form must include all information required by
the agency, and it must identify clearly on the first page the specific permit,
license, or other governmental approval being sought.

The law does not apply to -building permit requests. Advantage Capital Mgmt. v.
City of Northfield, 664 N.W.2d 421 (Minn. App. 2003). The law also does not
apply to the city or town subdivision regulation review process, review of local
comprehensive plans by the Metropolitan Councﬂ or the plat review process in -
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 505.

The 60 days begins to run when the agency receives a complete application. If an
application needs to be amended, the 60 days begins again upon receipt of a
complete amended application. Tollefson Dey. Co. v. City of Elk River, 665
N.W.2d 554 (Minn. App. 2003). The application fee, if any, is one of the items
that must be paid before an application is complete. The agency has 15 business
days after receiving any part of an application to inform an applicant in writing that
the application is missing some required element. If more than one state agency in
the executive branch must approve or deny the application, the 60 days begins to
run when the first agency receives the complete application, and it is up to that
agency to make sure all other agencies get copies of the application. If an agency



grants a conditional approval, the agency may revoke or rescind its approval
without missing the 60-day deadline if the applicant fails to satisfy the conditions.

 Are extensions ~ An agency may extend the review period by up to 60 days if it provides the
allowed? o applicant written notice of and reasons for the extension before the end of the
~ initial 60 days. The notice of extension must be made after the complete :

application is submitted and the initial 60 days has begun to run. An agency does
not have to have extenuating circumstances to extend the review time; it is enough
that the agency needs more time. American Tower, L.P. v. City of Grant, 636
N.W.2d 309, 313-314 (Minn. 2001). The law also takes into account other
proceedings or federal law requirements that may delay the beginning of the 60-
day period. An applicant may request an extension of time in writing. An interim
ordinance (moratorium) does not extend the time for agency action as to an
application filed before the effective date of the interim ’ordinarice

What constitutes A request can be approved by the agency in its customary manner or by falhng to
approval or denial - deny the request within the 60-day period. An agency can only approve a request
of a request? to the extent of its authority under other law. Breza v. City of Minnetrista, 725

N.W.2d 106 (Minn. 2006) (“The breadth of the exemption approved, however, is
limited by the scope of the city’s authority to grant an exemption...”).

If an agency other than one with a multimember governing body denies a request, -
it must state in writing the reasons for the denial at the time it denies the request.
A multimember governing body may deny a request by adopting a resolution or
motion to deny the request or failing to adopt a resolution or motion to approve a
request. The governing body must provide its reason for denial on the record at the
time of the vote on the resolution or motion. It must also provide a written
statement of reasons for the denial to the applicant before the expiration of the time
allowed for a decision. The written statement must be consistent with the reasons
stated at the time of the decision. : "

While failure to approve or deny a request results in approval, failure to timely
provide the applicant with a written statement of the reasons for denial does not
result in automatic approval. Johnson v. Cook County, 786 N.W.2d 291, 295-96
(Minn. 2010), citing Hans Hagen Homes, Inc. v. City of Minnetrista, 728 N.W. 2d

- 536 (Minn. 2007) (en banc) (describing the difference between “directory” and
“mandatory” requirements in statute, determining that the requirement to provide

* an applicant with a copy of the written reasons for denial was directory and “ -
because city had stated reason for denial on the record within the time allowed, the
failure to provide a written statement did not result in automatic approval). “[A]
statute may contain a requirement but provide no consequence for noncompliance,
in which case we regard the statute as directory, not mandatory.” Hans Hagen
Homes, Inc., 728 N.W.2d at 541-42.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah A. Dyson at deborah.dyson@house.mn.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a non partlsan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Survey of State and Local Gasoline Taxes -

This short subject shows state and local gasoline taxes in each state as of July 1, 2012. Because of the
interrelationship in some states between per-gallon gasoline taxes and gasoline sales taxes, and between state
and local gasoline taxes, a compilation of all such taxes is necessary to reflect each state’s total tax burden.
While all states impose per-gallon taxes, eight states also impose sales taxes (which fluctuate based on
price), and ten states allow local gas or sales taxes to be imposed. Minnesota’s total tax burden on gasoline,
which includes the 28.5-cent per-gallon excise tax and 0.1-cent inspection fee, places it 18" highest based on
state taxes and 21% highest based on total state and local taxes. (The 2-cent per-gallon Petrofund cleanup fee
did not apply on July 1, 2012, but will be re-imposed starting August 1, 2012, through November 30, 2013.)

Gasoline taxes - The columns in the table below represent the following: ,
include state and o State excise tax: Per-gallon tax on gasoline imposed at the state level
local taxes o State sales tax: State retail sales tax applied to gasoline; in some states, the

sales tax rate is prefigured and prepaid at the wholesale level rather than
being calculated and paid at the pump

o Other state tax/fee: Leaking underground storage fees, inspection fees,

 various environmental fees; in some states, including Minnesota, these are
“blink-on” taxes that are imposed whenever a specified fund reaches a
certain level; the table applies these fees, if they applied on July 1,2012

e Total state taxes: Combined per-gallon tax, sales tax, other state taxes and
fees

e Local excise tax: Locally imposed per-gallon taxes in the largest city in the -
state :

e Local sales tax: Local retail sales taxes that apply to gasohne in the largest

 city in the state :
e Total local tax: Combined local gas taxes and sales taxes
‘o Total tax: Combined state and local taxes

For price-based taxes, U.S. Energy Information Administration price data for July
2012 was used for the applicable region, state, or city. This price was adjusted in
those states that impose a sales tax on gasoline, but excludes state or federal per-
gallon taxes from the taxable price.

Total State and Local Taxes on Gasoline as of July 1, 2012

State State Other Total Local Local |- Total | Total State | Total

Excise Sales State State State Excise | Sales Local | and Local | Taxes

Tax Tax Tax/Fee Tax Rank Tax Tax - Tax Tax Rank
Alabama - $0.160 $0.049 | $0.209 | 36 $0.010 ' $0.010 $0.219 35
Alaska : 0.080 0.080 50 0.080 50
Arizona - 0.180 0.010 0.190 41 ' _ 0.190 41
Arkansas 0.215 0.003 0.218 34 0.218 36
. California 0.360 0.087. 0.090 0.537 -1 0.097 | 0.097 0.634 1
| Colorado 0.220 0.220 32 0.220 33



Total State and Local Taxes on Gasoline as of July 1,2012

State State Other Total Local Local Total | Total State | Total
Excise Sales State State State Excise Sales Local | and Local | Taxes
Tax Tax | Tax/Fee Tax Rank Tax Tax Tax Tax Rank
Connecticut 0.250 0.210 0.460 2 0.460 5 ¢t
Delaware 0.230 | 0.065 0.295 17 ‘ 0.295 20
Florida 0.040 0.166 0.022 0.228 . 31 0.129 0.028 0.157 0.385 8
Georgia - 0.075 0.121 0.196 40 : : 0.136 | 0.136 - 0.332 12
Hawaii 0.170 0.145 0.055 0.370 9 ~ 0.165 0.018 0.183 0.553 4
Idaho 0.250 0.010 0.260 22 0.260 25
Illinois 0.190 0.211 0.011 0.412 3 0.110 0.110 0.220 0.632 2
Indiana 0.180 0.218 - 0.010 | 0.408 4 0.408 6
Iowa 0.210 0.010 0.220 32 0.220 33
Kansas 0.240 0.010 |. 0.250 24 0.250 27
Kentucky 0.285 0.014 0.299 16 0.299 19
Louisiana 0.200 0.001 0.201 37 - 0.201 38
Maine 0.300 0.015 0.315 14 0.315 18
Maryland 0.235 0.235 28 0.235 30
Massachusetts 0.210 0.025 0.235 28 0.235 30
Michigan 0.190 0.208 0.009 0.407 5 0.407 7
Minnesota 0.285 0.001 0.286 18 0.286 21
Mississippi 0.180 0.004 | 0.184 43 - 0.184 43
Missouri - 0.170 "0.003 0.173 45 0.173 45
Montana 0.270 0.008 0.278 20 0.278 23
Nebraska 0.262 0.009 0.271 21 0.271 - 24
Nevada 0.230 0.008 0.238 27 | 0.090 0.090 0.328 16
New Hampshire 0.180 0.016 0.196 39 0.196 40
New Jersey 0.105 0.040 0.145 48 0.145 48
New Mexico 0.170 0.019 0.189 42 0.189 42
New York 0.080 0.146 0.179 0.404 6 . 0.178 0.178 0.582 3
North Carolina 0.375 0.003 0.378 7 0.378 9
North Dakota 0.230 0.230 30 ..0.230 32
Ohio 0.280 0.280 19 0.280 22
Oklahoma 0.160 0.010 | 0.170 46 0.170 46
Oregon 0.300 0.300 15 | 0.030 0.030 0.330 13
Pennsylvania - 0.120 0.203 0.323 13 0.323 17
Rhode Island 0.320 0.010 0.330 11 0.330 13
South Carolina 0.160 0.008 0.168 47 0.168 47
South Dakota 0.220 0.020 0.240 26 0.240 29
Tennessee 0.200 0.014 0.214 35 0.214 37
Texas 0.200 0.200 38 0.200 39
Utah 0.245 0.245 25 0.245 28
Vermont 0.190 0.068 0.258 23 0.258 26
Virginia 0.175 0.006 0.181 44 0.181 44
Washington . 0.375 0.375 8 0.375 10
West Virginia 0.205 0.129 0.334 10 0.334 11
Wisconsin 0.309 0.020 0.329 12 0.329 15
Wyoming 0.130 0.010 0.140 49 0.140 49

Note: The table does not include special tax rates for alcohol-gasoline blends or for gasoline used in commercial vehicles.
Sources: Federation of Tax Administrators; American Petroleum Institute; U. S. Energy Information Administration; and state
revenue agency websites.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn.
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Senior Citizens Property Tax Deferral Program

What is the Senior
Citizens Property
Tax Deferral
Program?

How does it work?

Who qualifies?

The Senior Citizens Property Tax Deferral Program allows property taxpayers who
are 65 years or older, and whose total household income is $60,000 or less; to defer
a portion of their homestead property taxes until some later time. It allows senior
citizens whose property taxes are high relative to their incomes, but who wish to
stay in their homes, an option for paying their property taxes.

Regardless of how high the tax is on the homestead, the taxpayer initially pays an
amount equal to only 3 percent of the total preceding year’s household income.

The state pays any amount over 3 percent, called the “deferred tax,” to the county
in which the home is located. A lien attaches to the property. The deferred taxisa
loan. Interest on the loan is calculated at the same rate as unpaid state taxes; a
floating rate that cannot exceed 5 percent. Before the owner can transfer the title

of the property, the deferred tax plus interest must be repaid.

For example, John and Mary Jones own a home; its tbtal property tax is $1,400. '
They have a total household income of $30,000. Under this program, they must
pay $900 in tax (3 percent of $30,000); the remaining $500 ($1,400 minus $900) is
deferred. ‘

In order to qualify for the program, all of the following criteria must be met:

« The property must be owned and occupied as a homestead by a person at
least 65 years old (If married, one spouse must be at least 65 years old and
the other must be at least 62 years old)

« Total household income must be $60,000 or less for the calendar year
_preceding the year of the initial application :

o The home must have been owned and occupied as the homestead of at
least one of the homeowners for at least 15 years before the initial
application

o There must be no state or federal tax liens or judgment liens on the
property

e The total unpaid balances of debts secured by mortgages and other liens on-
‘the property, including deferred tax and interest amounts under the
program, unpaid and delinquent special assessments and property taxes,
penalties and interest (but excluding the current year’s property taxes), do
not exceed 75 percent of the assessor’s estimated market value for the
current year



What information is
the applicant '
required to provide?

Does the taxpayer
need to annually

reapply?

Can the taxpayer
still file for
refunds?

When does it
ferminate?

" How many people
participate in the
program?

Where does a

taxpayer apply for
the program?

An applicant must provide, at her or his own expense, a report detailing any
mortgages, liens, judgments, or unpaid property taxes on the property. For
“Abstract” properties, these reports must be prepared by a licensed abstracter. For
“Torrens” properties, the information is part of the “Condition of Register”
available from the county recorder. If owners are unsure which type of property
they have, they may find out from the county recorder.

No, once a taxpayer is enrolled in the program, annual applications are not ,
required. However, if household income exceeds $60,000 in any calendar year, the -
owner must notify the Department of Revenue, and no further property taxes may
be deferred. However, the owners will remain enrolled in the program, and once
their income falls below the $60,000 threshold again, they may notify the state and
request that the deferral be resumed.

Yes, a taxpayer is still allowed to file for the property tax refund and any other ’
property rebates that the state offers. However, no direct cash payments will be
made to the taxpayer. Rather, the amount of the refund will be applied to the total
amount of the deferred property tax on the taxpayer’s home. The property tax
refund is calculated on the full tax amount

The deferral terminates when any one of the followrng events occurs:
« .the property is sold or transferred
o all qualifying homeowners die

o the homeowner notifies the Commissioner of Revenue in Wrrtlng, of intent
to withdraw from the program - ‘ .

« the property no longer qualifies as a homestead

For property‘taxes payable in 2011, 313 people participated in the program across
the state, resulting in $1.3 million in tax deferrals.

Applications are available in the county auditor’s office or may be obtained from
the Department of Revenue’s website at ,
www.revenue.state. mn.us/Forms_and_Instructions/crscd.pdf.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze at steve hinze@house. mn or Nina Manzi at

nina.manzi@house.mn.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartlsan offlce providing leglslatlve
tegal and mformatlon services to the entire House. .
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Single Sales Apportionment of
Corporate Franchise Tax

Apportionment formulas are important features of state corporate income taxes.
They determine how much of a business’s income is taxable and affect the
incidence and competitiveness of the tax. Minnesota apportions corporate
income using the Minnesota proportions of the corporation’s sales payroll, and

- property factors to determine corporate franchise tax.

Under 2005 legislation, Minnesota is

Payroll

phasing in single sales apportionment |- L3X year Sg(l)es Pmp'i;ty :

over an eight-year period that began . ggg g 6-;’ ;g <y0 3(5)(;’

in tax year 2007. The table shows > o =l
2014 100% 0.0% 0.0%

the remaining phase-in schedule.

The effects of adopting single sales apportionment vary by business. The crucial
variables are the business’s Minnesota apportionment factors: '

o The taxes of businesses with all of their property, payroll and sales in
Minnesota will be unaffected.

« Minnesota businesses whose Minnesota sales factor is lower than the
average of their Minnesota property and payroll factors will receive a tax
cut. The larger the disparity, the bigger the benefit is. A classic example is a
business with most of its operations (headquarters, plants, and so forth) in
Minnesota, but most of its sales outside of Minnesota.

o Businesses with higher Minnesota sales factors than their average Minnesota
property and payroll factors will have tax increases, such as a national
consumer products company with few facilities in Minnesota.

Over half of the states with corporate taxes also use “throwback rules” in

defining the sales factor. Throwback rules treat sales to out-of-state buyers as

in-state sales, if the buyer’s state cannot tax the business/seller or if the
purchaser is a federal government agency. These “thrown-back” sales increase

- in-state sales factor and corporate tax, decreasing the benefits to the taxpayer of

single sales apportionment. Minnesota does not have a throwback rule.

The principal rationale for single sales apportionment is a competitiveness
argument: It helps Minnesota attract or retain investment in plant and '
equipment. Sales are determined by the buyer’s location. All other things being
equal, increasing non-Minnesota sales will reduce the amount of Minnesota
taxable income, since more income will be attributed to or apportioned outside
of Minnesota. Thus, single sales apportionment creates an incentive for
companies to invest in Minnesota property or to hire more employees (or
reduces the tax’s disincentive to do s0) to sell products outside of Minnesota. -
Empirical studies have found some support for this argument.
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Opponents of single sales apportionment argue that it shifts the tax burden from
capital (the property factor) to consumption, reducing the tax’s progressivity.
Some also question as an empirical matter whether it has the desired effects on
competitiveness. Tax theorists argue that if the corporate tax is to be a benefits
tax (i.e., based on businesses’ use of government services) or if it is to be based
on production of income, apportionment should take into account where the
business’s property and employees are located. Both factors contribute to the
production of income and the consumption of government services.

more heavily reduces tax revenues. The Department of Revenue’s Tax
Expenditure Budget (February 2012) shows an expenditure cost of $260 mllhon
for fiscal year 2013, rising to $303 million in 2015 when single sales applies.

States are increasingly shifting their apportionment formulas to more heavily
weighted sales. Effective for tax year 2012, 16 states use or allow smgle sales as
their apportionment formula for manufacturers. Many of Minnesota’s .
neighboring states use single sales apportionment: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa,
Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, and Wisconsin. New Jersey and Utah are
scheduled to use single sales in 2013, Virginia (in addition to Minnesota) in
2014, and Arizona in 2017. The map below shows the apportionment formulas
for manufacturers as of tax year 2012. Some states allow elections between two

Apportionment of Corporate Income
Applicable to Manufacturers

Equal weights
Double weighted sales
Sales weight > 59% and < 93%
Singlesates

For more information: Contact Ieglsla’ave analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the
House Research pubhcanon Apportionment of Corporate Franchzse Tax, October 2011.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives isa nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and mformatlon services to the entire House.
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Medical Assistance: An Overview

Medical Assistance (MA), the state’s Medicaid program, is a jointly funded, federal-state program that
pays for health care services for low-income individuals. The program is administered locally by
counties, under the supervision of the state Department of Human Services (DHS). Federal Medicaid
law allows states considerable flexibility in designing their Medicaid programs.

Eligibility ‘ To be eligible for MA, an individual must meet the following criteria:

Be a member of a group for which MA coverage is maridatory under
federal law or a member of an optional group that the state has chosen to

‘cover. Covered groups include families, children, pregnant women, the

elderly, persons with disabilities, and adults without children.

Meet program income and asset limits. Different limits apply to different
categories of individuals. Certain types of income and specified assets
are excluded when determining eligibility. Income and asset limits for

' selected groups are described below.

Net income limit, as % of federal

Eligibility group poverty guidelines (FPG) Asset limit*
Children < age 2 ; 280 None
Children 2 through 18 150 None .
~ Children 19 through 20 100 None
Pregnant women : 275 - | None
Parents 100 : $10,000 for one/$20,000

for two or more persons

| Aged, blind, or disabled 100 $3,000 for one/$6,000 for

two/$200 each additional

Adults without children 75 None

* The homestead, household goods, a vehicle, a burial plot and certain assets for burial expenses
and other specified 1tems are not counted as assets.

Individuals with incomes over these limits can also qualify for MA
through a spenddown. Under a spenddown, an individual must incur
medical bills in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount by
which the individual’s income exceeds the spenddown limit of 100
percent of FPG for families and children and 75 percent of FPG for
individuals who are aged, blind, or disabled. There is no spenddown for
adults without children.
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The federal Affordable Care Act (ACA), read in light of the recent U.S.
Supreme Court decision, gives states the option, effective January 1, 2014, to

~ expand Medicaid to adults without dependent children with incomes not

exceeding 133 percent of FPG who meet specified criteria. The ACA allows
states to expand or phase in coverage to this group before this date. The 2010
Legislature gave the then current governor and the succeeding governor the
option to implement by executive order early Medicaid expansion for adults
without dependent children with incomes not exceeding 75 percent of FPG. Gov.
Mark Dayton issued an executive order that 1mplemented early expansmn
effective March 1, 2011.

Minnesota provides all federally mandated services and most services
designated by the federal Medicaid program as optional. These services include,
but are not limited to: physician care, hospitalization, therapy and rehabilitation, -
dental, medical equipment and supplies, home health care, health clinic services,
mental health, prescription drugs, medical transportation, nursing home, and
intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities (ICF/DD)
services. Adult enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to copayments for
certain services. '

The state has also received federal approval to provide services not normally
covered by Medicaid. These home and community-based “waivered services”
are intended to make it possible for individuals to remain in the community,
rather than reside in a hospital, nursing home, or ICF/DD. ~

The MA program reimburses providers under both a fee-for-service System and

a managed care system (composed of the Prepaid Medical Assistance Program

. or PMAP, county-based purchasing initiatives, and programs for the elderly and .

persons with disabilities).

In fiscal year 2011, total state and federal MA expenditures for services were
$7.525 billion. The federal share of MA costs is determined by a formula based
on state per capita income. In most fiscal years, the federal government has paid
50 percent of the cost of MA services, with Minnesota responsible for the
remaining 50 percent.

During fiscal year'201 1, an average of 665,483 individuals were eligible for MA
services each month. As of May 2012, 488,072 MA recipients received services
under PMAP, a county-based purchasing initiative, or managed care programs

~ for the elderly or persons with disabilities.

Individuals interested in applying for MA should contact their county human
services agency. :

For more information: See the House Research information brief Medical Assistance, September 2012.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartisan office providing legxsla‘uve
Iegal and information serv:ces to the entlre House. ,
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Regulating Students’ Online Speech Under the First Amendment

In an era where the Internet is integral to public speech, students’ online free speech rights in public
elementary and secondary schools and universities are unsettled. For example, it is not clear whether First
Amendment standards affecting student speech in public elementary and secondary schools apply equally to
universities, whether it matters that online speech occurs on or off campus, or whether offensive or otherwise
harmful communications posted on Facebook or other social media are public or private.

Courts exercise
restraint when
considering the -

policy decisions of |

school officials

The U.S. Supreme
Court has decided
four major cases
regulating K-12
First Amendment
student speech on
campus or at a
school activity

Courts generally recognize school officials’ authority over K-12 students and
exercise restraint when considering the policy decisions that school officials make.
However, school officials’ authority is not boundless and students retain free
speech rights in school, even if those rights are limited by previous U.S. Supreme
Court decisions dealing with First Amendment rights.

The way in which First Amendment speech standards apply to students’ online
speech is unsettled law. In the last 40 years, the U.S. Supreme Court has decided
four major cases regulating student speech in elementary and secondary schools,
none of which specifically address students’ online speech.

In Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Community School District, 393 U.S.
503 (1969), the school district suspended students for wearing black arm bands
in school to protest the Vietnam War. The court ruled that schools could ban
student speech only if it materially and substantially disrupted the work and
discipline of the school. The court found the students’ suspensions
unconstitutional because school officials had no reason to believe the students’
black arm bands would cause a material disruption in the school.

In Bethel School District v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 675 (1986), in order to teach the
boundaries of socially appropriate behavior, the court allowed secondary
school officials to prohibit a student’s speech containing “explicit sexual
metaphors,” regardless of whether the speech materially or substantially
disrupted the education process.

In Hazelwood School District v. Kuhlmeier, 484 U.S. 260 (1988), the court

- allowed school officials to remove from a school-sponsored student

newspaper, articles on teen pregnancy because the topic was inappropriate for
younger students and unfair to pregnant students who might be identified from
the text. The court held that school officials can censor school-sponsored
student publications produced as part of a journalism class in order to address
legitimate educational concerns.

In Morse v. Frederick, 551 U.S. 393 (2007), a principal suspended a student
for holding up a banner at a school-sponsored event with the message “Bong
Hits 4 Jesus,” a slang reference to marijuana smoking. The court ruled that
school officials can prohibit students from displaying messages that promote
illegal drug use.
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The U.S. Supreme Court recently let lower court decisions stand when it refused to
hear two student online speech cases. In J.S. v. Blue Mountain Sch. Dist., 650 F.3d

1915 (3d Cir. 2011), a middle school student used her home computer to create a

phony MySpace profile that cruelly ridiculed her school principal. The Third
Circuit Court ruled the district could not reasonably show the spoof profile would
substantially disrupt the school, and the decision to suspend the student Vlolated
her First Amendment right to speech

In Kowalski v. Berkeley Count Sch., 652 F.3d 565 (4™ Cir, 2011), a high school
student used her home computer to create a MySpace chat group page SASH

. (Students Against Sluts Herpes) that successfully encouraged vulgar and offensive

comments about another student. ' The Fourth Circuit Court ruled that the student’s
speech was not constitutionally protected because the distress it inflicted on the
targeted student disrupted the school. (Minnesota is in the gt Clrcult)

In Minnesota, there is limited state oversight of elementary and secondary
students’ online speech on or off campus, but state laws do address bullying in

schools. Minnesota Statutes, section 121A.0695, requires school boards to adopta .

policy prohibiting student intimidation and bullying, including “electronic forms
[of bullying] and forms involving Internet use.” Many school districts and charter
schools in Minnesota use model policies developed by the Minnesota School
Boards Association to regulate students’ Internet speech (See MSBA/MASA Model
Policy 524 and 514). Gov. Mark Dayton’s 2012 task force on preventing bullying,
including cyberbullying, i in schools expects to recommend school bullying policies

- for Minnesota.,

It is not clear whether the U.S. Supreme Court’s secondary students’ free speech
analysis applies equally in a university setting. The court reserved in a footnote in
Hazelwood the question of whether the deferential standard of review used to
regulate high school speech in a school-sponsored student newspaper also applies
to universities. However, the court has not upheld a restriction on university ,
students’ speech and most of the speech-related cases the court has reviewed have
implicated universities’ funding of student groups on campus. ‘

In 2012, the Minnesota Supreme Court in Tatro v. University of Minnesota ruled
that the University of Minnesota did not violate a college student’s free speech
rights when it punished her for posting satirical Facebook comments about the
school cadaver she was working on as part of the university’s mortuary science
program; the program prepares students to become funeral directors and
morticians. The court found the university’s sanctions of Amanda Tatro’s off-
campus online speech justified because she violated the university’s narrowly
tailored academic program rules that directly relate to established standards of
professional conduct in mortuary science. The court noted that it was the specific
circumstances of the case—a professional program that operates under standards of
professional conduct, a program that gives students access to donated human -

- cadavers, written program rules that require a high degree of respect for human

cadavers, and discipline that was not arbitrary or intended to punish the student for
protected speech—that accounted for the court’s narrow holding.

For more information: Contact legislative ahalyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartlsan office providing leg:slatnve
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Mlnnesota s Laws on Tastings and Samples of Alcohol

Minnesota Statutes make a distinction between events for the tastmg of alcoholic beverages and the
provision by vendors of free samples of wine, beer, and liquor.

Tastings -+ There are three statutorily acceptable methods for conducting a tasting:

(1) Licensed establishments: A bar, restaurant, taproom, or other holder of an
on-sale intoxicating liquor license can hold a tasting as part of the normal
operation of the establishment and would presumably charge a fee for
either the event or each glass of wine, distilled spirits, or malt liquor served

(2) Nonprofits or charities: A nonprofit or charity may conduct a wine tasting
under section 340A.418. This section provides that:

‘o awine tasting is defined as an “event at which persons pay a fee or
donation to participate, and are allowed to consume wine by the
glass without paying a separate charge for each glass”;

e these events can be no more than four hours in duration and recelpts
are to be dedicated to the charitable purpose;

e the charity or nonprofit must hold a temporary license or conduct
the tasting on the premises of the holder of an existing on-sale
license;

e no wine may be sold and no orders taken for off-premlses
consumption; and - :

- o donations from and arrangements with wine wholesalers are
permissible

(3) Exclusive liquor stores: A broader range of tastings and classes may be
held by an exclusive liquor store. These include tastings of wine, distilled
spirits, and malt liquors. There are two ways that these stores can conduct
such tastings: '

e off-site, if those tastings are held at the holder of an on-sale license
as specified under section 340A.419, subdivision 2, paragraph (a)

e on-site, if those tastings are held in classes conducted at the liquor
store, under section 340A.419, subdivision 2, paragraph (f)

These tastings may not be accompanied by sales of the items, but may include the
use of order forms where such items can be later purchased.

The existence of three separate methods of tastings, the differences in the kinds of



liquor, and the ways that tastings can be conducted, may cause confusion. Local
governments and the Department of Public Safety are the final arbiters of what
tastings are allowable in a given jurisdiction. :

Free Samples Minnesota Statutes; section 340A.510, allows a liquor store, bar, or municipal
liquor store to either offer free samples directly or to allow a licensed manufacturer
or wholesaler to provide samples on their premises. Sample sizes are limited to 100
milliliters for malt liquors, 50 milliliters for wine, 25 milliliters of liqueur or
cordial, and 15 milliliters of distilled spirits. Samples must be of beverages that are
otherwise for sale. '

Samples may not be offered at retail establishments that do not hold an on-sale,
off-sale, or municipal liquor license. Minnesota law is silent on whether brewery
tours may offer samples, although there is no direct prohibition, and taxes are
not collected on beer served on-site at the brewery (Minn. Stat. § 297G.07, subd. 1
(4)). In addition, breweries are allowed to open “taprooms,” where beer brewed on
the premises may be both sampled and served.

A number of off-sale licensees have begun to build both sampling and tastings into
their business model, creating sampling stations open for multiple hours and days
and conducting classes on- or off-site, with associated tastings. The law on tastings
was clarified in 2012 to make such tastings legal (Minn. Stat. § 340A.419, subd.
2). This modification has the potential to change the nature of an off-sale business.

A farm winery may give free samples of its products (Minn. Stat. § 340A.315) and

‘may hold other licenses, including on-sale licenses in order to operate bars or
restaurants. A 2008 law allows farm wineries to produce distilled spirits and to
give 15-milliliter samples of each variety produced.  ° -

Culinary Classes A limited on-sale liquor license may be issued to establishments that conduct
culinary classes, and under this license, participants may be served up to six ounces
of wine or 12 ounces of intoxicating malt liquor, for consumption on the premises.
As an alternative, a culinary establishment may hold a regular on-sale license and
serve beverages under general on-sale laws. Culinary establishments may only
hold a regular on-sale license if they are also a restaurant, hotel, etc. In addition,
liquor stores are allowed to conduct classes and serve alcohol at these classes.

The Research Dépértment of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
" legal, and information services to the entire House. . ’
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Mummpal State-Aid Street System

The municipal state-aid street system is a collection of about 3,600 miles of key streets located in 142
Minnesota cities across the state. The system constitutes around 22 percent of all miles of city streets. Cities
receive financial assistance from the state for construction and maintenance of those streets included in the
system. Assistance comes from a portion of constitutionally dedicated, transportation-related taxes. Aid
distribution is based on a statutory formula administered by the Minnesota Department of Transportation
(MnDOT). Minn. Stat. § 162.13. The aid can only be expended on streets that constitute part of the
municipal state-aid street system. Total available funds for calendar year 2012 amounted to $150.7 million.

Constitutional
Sframework for aid

City eligibility based
on population

Street system
limitations .

The Minnesota Constitution establishes a basic framework for state highway
finance. It (1) dedicates funding to be “used solely for highway purposes” through
taxes on motor fuels, motor vehicle registration, and motor vehicle sales (with a
portion of the latter dedicated to transit); (2) establishes various accounting funds,
including a municipal state-aid street (MSAS) fund for financial assistance to .
cities; (3) allocates tax revenues among state, county, and municipal roads, so that
the MSAS fund receives 9 percent of 95 percent of those tax revenues
constitutionally dedicated to streets and highways (after some special allocations
and transfers); and (4) establishes certain requirements related to use of the funds

~ and characteristics of each highway system. Minn. Const. art. XIV. State statutes

further specify finance and pohcy provisions such as aid allocation formulas and
requlrements for cities to recelve aid.

For a city to be included in the state-aid system it must have a population over

. 5,000, a requirement under the Minnesota Constitution. Minn. Const. art. XIV, §

8. Population is determined by the last federal decennial census, with prov1s1ons

~ for some special circumstances that include:

e an exceptlon for Chisholm, whose population fell below the cutoff with the
2000 census but is permanently grandfathered in; and

e a four-year transition period of continued aid to a city that had been
receiving assistance but whose population dropped below the cutoffin a
census (which was established under a 2012 legislative change and applies
to five cities for calendar years 2012-2015). Minn. Stat. § 162.09, subd. 4;
Laws 2001, 1st spec. sess., ch. 8, art. 2, § 6; Laws 2002, ch. 364, § 29.

While smaller cities having a population under 5,000 are not eligible for aid from
the MSAS fund, they are indirectly assisted through separate funding for certain
county highways. A portion of state funds for the county state-aid highway system
provided to each county must be allocated to a municipal account for county state— ;
aid highways located in smaller cities. Minn. Stat § 162.08.

Within each city, the municipal state-aid street system is restricted to up to 20
percent of the total miles of (1) the city’s streets, plus (2) county highways located
within the jurisdiction of that city. City streets that were previously part of a state
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trunk highway or a county highway system and were “turned back” to a city are
also included in the municipal state-aid street system and do not count against the
20 percent limit. Minn. Stat. § 162.09.

State-aid funding is distributed on a calendar-year basis. MnDOT determines the
amount annually based on both tax receipts to date and estimates of receipts for the
remainder of that fiscal year. Apportionment amounts are released each January.

. For calendar year 2012, total available MSAS funding totaled $150.7 million.

Funds were distributed based on formulas and caps set in state law, consxstmg of:

o §$144.7 million apportloned by formula as direct aid to cities;

e $3.0 million to an administrative account for MnDOT expenses in
administering the state-aid program;

e $2.3 million to a disaster account for unforeseen events resulting in undue
financial hardship; and

e $695,000 to a research account. Minn. Stat. §§ 162.12, 162.13.

‘Money in the MSAS fund apportloned to cities via direct aid follows aformula -
prov1ded in statute, so that:

. 50 percent is divided proportionally based on the population of each city
(compared to the total for all municipal state-aid cities); and "‘

* 50 percent is divided proportionally based on the construction needs of
each city, which is the amount the city needs to bring all its municipal state-
aid streets up to state standards. Minn. Stat. § 162.13. '

Owing to the variety of cities with streets in the state-aid system, MSAS fund
distributions vary. Calendar year 2012 direct aid apportionments to cities ranged
from about $144,000 to nearly $13 million (and $24 to almost $83 on a per capita
basis). Because of the influence of population in the aid formula, larger cities tend
to receive greater allocations. The average was just over $1 million, with 50 cities
receiving less than $500,000 a piece and 21 cities receiving over $2 million.

In recent years direct assistance has generally increased, as summarized below.

MSAS Direct Aid History
' CY 2002-12

$ in millions

2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012

For more information: " Contact legislative analyst Matt Burress at 651-296-5045. Also see the House
Research publication Highway Finance Overview, January 2011,

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office provudlng Ieglslatlve
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Minnesota’s Green Acres Program
And Other Property Tax Programs for Rural Lands

What is the Green The Green Acres program, formally called the Minnesota Agricultural Property
Acres program? Tax Law, allows eligible agricultural property to be taxed at a value less than its
‘ full market value. Under Green Acres, when the market value of agricultural
property is influenced by other potential uses of the property, such as residential or
retail development, or for recreational purposes, the assessor is requlred to value
the property based only on its agricultural value.

How does the Each year, the property taxes for an enrolled property are based on the property’s

program work? agricultural value, and most special assessments are deferred. The county assessor
and auditor also determine what the property taxes would be based on the
property’s full market value (based on its “highest and best use”) and record that
information on the property’s record. When property is withdrawn from the
program or is no longer eligible, the landowner must pay back-taxes equal to the
difference in taxes for the current year and the two previous years, plus deferred
special assessments. When enrolled property is sold or transferred, it may be
reenrolled by the new owner if it continues to qualify, and no back-taxes are due at

- the time of the transfer.

What kind of land ~ Prior to May 1, 2008, any land classified as agricultural homestead, or as
may be enrolled? -~ agricultural nonhomestead under the same ownership for at least seven years, was
eligible for enrollment, provided that it was at least ten acres in size.

After April 30, 2008 the land was also required to be in agricultural production
(cropland or pasture land; class 2a), in addition to the ownership requirements
above. :

What changes have  Due to perceptions that some of the enrolled land may not have been the kind of
been made in the land the legislation was intended to protect and that the law was not being applied
program recently?  uniformly across the state, the legislature altered the program in 2008, 2009, and
: 2010. The primary change was to only allow property in agricultural production
~ (class 2a) to be eligible for Green Acres. A new program was created for non-
productive rural vacant land (class 2b) called the Rural Preserve program, with
benefits similar to Green Acres. '

How are existing Existing enrollees with land that is no longer eligible (class 2b) must withdraw the
enrollees affected land prior to January 2013. No back-taxes were due if the land was withdrawn
by the changes? ~ prior to August 16, 2010 or if the land is enrolled in the new Rural Preserve

program.
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Beginning with taxes payable in 2012, rural vacant land that is part of an
agticultural homestead enrolled in Green Acres, or that was previously enrolled in
Green Acres itself, may be enrolled in the Rural Preserve program. Rural Preserve
land must be valued for tax purposes no higher than the average value for class 2a
agricultural land in the county.” As with Green Acres, back-taxes are due when the
property is withdrawn from the program equal to three years of difference between
the taxes based on market value and the taxes based on rural preserve” value.

Each year, the Department of Revenue (DOR) determines a tillable acreage base
value for each participating county based on sales of agricultural properties in
areas of the state least affected by nonagricultural influences. The base values are
scaled to reflect the productivity of tillable acreage in the county compared to

. productivity in other areas of the state. The county assessor then assigns values to

Green Acres properties in the county using the base values assigned by DOR.

. For taxes payable in 2012, 62 of the state’s 87 countles had acreage enrolled in

Green Acres, encompassing 13.6 percent of the productive agricultural acres in the
state. In a study released in 2008, the Office of the Legislative Auditor found that
taxes on enrolled lands were approximately $35 million less than they would have
been without the program, with other taxpayers in jurisdictions where the property
is located bearing the increased tax burden. ( “Green Acres” and Agricultural Land
Preservation Programs, Office of the Legislative Auditor (Feb. 8, 2008))

The Metro Agricultural Preserves program operates in the seven-county metro area
and works somewhat like Green Acres. Taxes are based only on the agricultural
value of the property. But unlike Green Acres, under agricultural preserves: (1) the
local government must designate the area for long-term agricultural use, (2) the
landowner must sign a covenant pledging that the land will be used only for
agriculture for at least eight years, (3) most special assessments are prohibited,

(4) participating landowners receive a small property tax credit to further reduce
the taxes, and (5) no back-taxes are due at the time of withdrawal. There are other -
nonfinancial benefits as well, related to issues of land use. '

A similar program called the Agricultural Land Preservation Program exists in
Greater Minnesota, but only three counties (Waseca, Winona, and Wright)
currently participate. The program differs from Green Acres and Metro
Agricultural Preserves in that taxes are based on full market value rather than a
reduced agricultural value, but landowners receive a property tax credit of $1.50
per acre. As with the Metro program, landowners must sign a restrictive covenant
agreeing to continue using the land as agricultural property. Many of the
nonfinancial benefits available in the Metro program also apply. .

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze (steve.hinze@house‘mn). See the

Department of Revenue’s fact sheet on Green Acres at
http://www.revenue.state.mn.us/propertytax/factsheets/factsheet_05.pdf, and the fact sheet on Rural

Preserves at http://www.revenue.state.mn. us/propertytax/factsheets/factsheet 15. pdf

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves isa nonpartlsan office prowdmg legislative,
legal, and mformatlon services to the entire House. .
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Minnesota Speed Limits

- Minnesota law sets speed limits on public roads, identifies penalties, and authorizes the Department
of Transportation (MnDOT), and in some case local governments, to change the limit.

Speed limits set in statute are default maximums, but there are circumstances
where MnDOT and local governments can modify them. The statutory speed

- limits are: 30 m.p.h. for roads in an “urban district,” which is any segment of a

city stteet or town road that is built up with structures spaced less than 100 feet
apart for a minimum distance of a quarter-mile; 65 or 70 m.p.h. for interstates
(depending on whether it is, respectively, within or outside an urbanized area of
at least 50,000); 65 m.p.h. on divided highways with controlled access; 10
m.p.h. for alleys, mobile home parks, and campgrounds; and a default of 55
m.p.h. on other roads. Some other limits apply for specific vehicles. A 40-
m.p.h. minimum speed limit applies on interstates. Minn. Stat. §§ 169.011,
subd. 90; 169.14, subd. 2; 169.801; 327.27, subd. 2.

State law also mandates that “no person shall drive a vehicle on a highway at a

‘speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions.” Minn. Stat.

§ 169.14, subd. 1. This can place an additional obligation on a motorist to lower
the speed of travel, particularly if there are dangerous conditions such as snow.

The speed limit increases by 10 m.p.h. when passing on two-lane highways with
a posted limit of at least 55 m.p.h. Minn. Stat. § 169.14, subd. 2a. :

MnDOT has the authorify to establish speed zones in which the speed limit is
higher or lower than the default limits set in statute. Zones are established after

~ MnDOT conducts an engineering and traffic investigation that analyzes factors -

like roadway design, physical characteristics, traffic volume, crash history, and
observed speeds. MnDOT’s policy is that the limit should normally be set near
the 85™ percentile (the speed at or below which 85 percent of vehicles travel).

Cities, counties, and towns have limited power over setting speed limits, even on
their own streets and highways. If requested by a local road authority, MnDOT
must perform an engineering and traffic study of the road. However, MnDOT—
not the local authority—determines the safe and reasonable speed limit as well
as whether to establish a speed zone. :

This general rule has a few exceptions.

» . If MnDOT sets a speed zone for a city street or town road in an “urban
- district” (defined above) that is at least a quarter-mile long, the city or
town can lower the limit to 30 m.p.h. Minn. Stat. § 169.14, subd. 5b.

» In a rural residential district, a local road authority may reduce the speed
limit to 35 m.p.h. A “rural residential district” is a segment of a city
street or town road having houses spaced less than 300 feet apart for a



* minimum distance of a quarter-mile. Minn. Stat. § 169.011, subd. 69,

»  On a residential roadway, a local road authority may reduce the speed
limit to 25 m.p.h. A “residential roadway” is a city street or town road
whose total length is up to a half-mile. Minn. Stat. § 169.011, subd. 64.

» In school zones, a local road authority may prescribe a lower limit that
is not less than 15 m.p.h. or more than 30 m.p.h. below the surrounding
- limit. School zones are defined as a segment of street or highway that
abuts school grounds where children have access to the roadway or
where a school crossing is in place. Minn. Stat. § 169.14, subd. Sa.

» Subject to various requirements, adjusted speed limits can be set on
other roadways, including: (1) park roads (at not less than 15 m.p.h., or
more than 20 m.p.h. below the surrounding limit); (2) on streets that
have a designated bicycle lane (at not less than 25 m.p.h.); (3) in alleys;

~ and (4) in mobile home parks (at over 10 but no more than 30 m.p.h.).
Minn. Stat. §§ 160.263, subd. 4; 169.14, subds. 5c and Se; 327.27.

»  Both MnDOT and local road authorities can also set speed limits within
highway work zones, which are effective while workers are present, and
MnDOT can set temporary limits for long-term construction projects.

Penalties for ~~ Speeding is generally a petty misdemeanor, punishable by a base fine normally
violations ~ ranging from $40 to $150 and no prison sentence. The fine is doubled if the
’ violation (1) occurs in a highway work zone or school zone, (2) involves speeds

of 20 m.p.h. or more above the posted limit, or (3) occurs when passing a parked
emergency vehicle with flashing lights. In addition, a $75 court surcharge is
imposed for speeding convictions, and there can be a law library fee. Ifa
speeding violation is committed in a manner that endangers persons or property,
it can be charged as a misdemeanor with maximum penalties of a $1,000 fine,
90 days’ imprisonment, or both. Minn. Stat. §§ 169.14; 169.89, subd. 1.

A driver’s license will be revoked for at least six months for driving over 100
m.p.h. Minnesota does not use a point system, which assigns points to traffic
violations and removes driving privileges if too many points accumulate.

' However, multiple speeding or other traffic violations within a year can lead to
loss of a license. Minn. Stat. §§ 169.14, subd. 1a; 169.89; 171.17. ‘

- Speeding violations A 1986 law (known as the “Dimler amendment”) that was modified in 2012
on a driver’s record  governs recording of speeding violations on the motorist’s driving record, which
is kept by the Department of Public Safety and made accessible to insurance
companies (records are also kept by the courts). Minn. Stat. § 171.12, subd. 6.

Speeding violations are not placed on the driving record if the driver traveled no
more than 10 m.p.h. above the speed limit in a 55 or 60 m.p.h. zone. This v
provision will adjust so that starting August 1, 2014, in a 60 m.p.h. zone it only
prevents recording violations of no more than 5 m.p.h. over the limit.

The prohibition on recording violations does not apply if: (1) the speed limit is
below 55 m.p.h. or is 65 m.p.h. or higher; (2) the speeding violation occurred in
a commercial motor vehicle; or (3) the driver holds a commercial driver’s
license (class A, B, or C).

For more 1nf0rmat10n Contact legislative analyst Matt Burress at 651-296-5045.
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Homeschools in Minnesota

Minnesota’s compulsory attendance law requires children between ages 7 and 16 to"
attend school; the statutory definition of “school” includes a homeschool. Under
state law, school instructors include the parent of a child who is assessed annually
using a nationally norm-referenced standardized achievement exam agreed to by the
district superintendent and the parent instructor.

Minnesota Department of Education data show that 16,081 students, or about 1.8
percent of the total elementary and secondary student population, were enrolled in a
homeschool in the 2011-2012 school year in the state. '

Homeschool parents must provide instruction in reading, writing, literature, fine
arts, math, science, social studies including history, geography, and government,
and health and physical education. There is no minimum number of required days
of instruction. Parent instructors must report to the district superintendent:

e by October 1 of the first school year the child receives instruction after

~ reaching age 7;

o  within 15 days of withdrawing a child from pubhc school to homeschool or
moving out of a district; and :

e by October 1 after establishing a new resident district, the following
information: the name, birth date, and address of each child receiving
instruction at home; the annual tests used to meét state assessment
requirements; the name of the child’s instructor; and evidence that the
instructor meets statutory criteria for instructors. :

Every year, parent instructors must submit a letter to the district superintendent
indicating their intent to continue providing instruction.

Parent instructors must document that they are teaching required subject areas and
administering required tests. The documents must include class schedules and
copies of instructional materials, and describe the methods used to assess student
achievement. Parent instructors also must submit a statement indicating that their
children have been immunized, or not 1mmunlzed due to the parents’
conscientiously held beliefs.

Parent instructors who are not licensed teachers for that grade level or have not
successfully completed a teacher competency exam must use a nationally norm-
referenced standardized achievement exam and supplemental tests for required
subject areas not covered in the standardized achievement exam to assess children
attendlng a homeschool ’

A parent instructor must have a child evaluated who scores below the 30th
percentile or one grade level below children of the same age on a standardized
achievement exam to determine whether the child has learning problems.



Homeschool students School districts must provide homeschool students with the same health services
may receive health, offered to public school students within existing cost limits. School districts also

guidance, and must provide homeschool students in grades 7 to 12 with the same guidance and

special education counseling services offered to public school students, within the existing cost limits

services - and if the services are provided at a public school or neutral site. Federal law makes
special education services available to eligible homeschool students re51d1ng in the
district.

Homeschool students Homeschool students may take courses for credit at public and private Minnesota
may participate in postsecondary institutions under the Postsecondary Enrollment Options Program

PSEO, online ~ (PSEO). PSEO students do not pay tuition, fees, or the cost of required textbooks.

learning, CLEP, and. Homeschool students may enroll in a full-time online learning program where
driver’s education participation is limited by available revenue and order of application. Homeschool
programs students may participate in the College Level Examination Program (CLEP) and
’ ~ obtain college credit. The Minnesota Department of Public Safety offers driver’s
education options to homeschool students. ‘ ‘ '

Homeschool students Homeschools of five or fewer students may have students part101pate in the

may participate in extracurricular activities of the resident district on the same basis as public school

extracurricular students. A school board may charge students fees to participate in extracurricular

activities - activities. Homeschools also may participate in Minnesota state high school league
activities and sometimes form cooperative sponsorships with other schools to
partlclpate in such activities. »

Parent instructors Homeschool parent instructors are ehglble to be relmbursed by the re31dent school
may be eligible for  district for instructional materials; reimbursed items are considered district property.
reimbursement of ’ :

expenses and the Parent instructors whose household income is less than $33,500 and who have paid
state’s K-12 qualifying expenses for their children’s K-12 education may be eligible for the full
education credit and amount of the state’s K-12 education credit. The credit phases out for families with
deduction . income over $33,500, depending on the number of qualifying children. The K-12

education credit and deduction apply to homeschool expenses that would be
expenses for subjects normally taught in public elementary and secondary schools.
Such expenses may include required instructional materials, required books, class -
trips taken during the school day, purchase or rental of required equipment, after
school enrichment programs, required testing fees, computer hardware, and
educational software and tuition and fees.

Homeschool student Under the state’s data practices law, student information that a parent 1nstructor

information is submits to the district superintendent is private data and cannot be designated as
private data under  directory information or disclosed without the parent’s prior written consent unless
Minnesota law a limited exception applies. However, school districts that receive federal funds

under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (NCLB) must provide military
recruiters, when requested, with directory information that includes students’ names,
addresses, and telephone numbers. The district cannot release any information
about a homeschool student to a military recruiter if the student’s parent requests

~ that the district not release the information. ' ‘

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.
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Minnesota Angel Investment Credit

The Minnesota Small Business Investment Credit (commonly referred to as the
angel investment credit) provides qualified investors in certified small businesses
with a refundable income tax credit equal to 25 percent of their investments up to a
maximum of $125,000 ($250,000 for married joint filers). The 2010 Legislature
enacted the credit to encourage investment in emerging Minnesota small
businesses. It took effect for tax year 2010 and expires for investments made after
tax year 2014, : :

- Three key sets of requirements apply under the credit:

e Rules that govern which investors qualify to make investments
e Rules specifying the types of businesses that qualify to receive investments
e Limits on which investments qualify '

The angel credit allows two different types of investors to qualify for the credit:
. o Individual investors qualify either by being accredited investors under
~ Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Regulation D or by certifying
that they will only invest in an offering that is exempt from registration under
state law. Accredited investors generally must have net worth of at least $1
million (excluding the value of their homes) or annual income of at least
.$200,000 ($300,000 for married couples).
e Qualified funds are pass-through tax entities, such as LLCs or S
~ corporations that invest in qualifying small businesses and have three or
more investors who each meet the requirements for individual investors.
These funds pass through the credit to their individual owners, who claim it
on their own tax returns. '

Investors must apply to and be certified by the Department of Employment and

" Economic Development (DEED) before making the investment for which they are

claiming the credit. However, individuals who are not accredited investors but
who qualify because the offering is a small corporation exempt from registration
may apply up to 30 days after making the investment. Investors (either individuals
or funds) or members of their immediate families may not derive more than 50
percent of their gross annual incomes from the small business.

The credit only applies to 1nvestments in a qualifying small busmess that DEED
certifies:
e Hasits headquarters and 51 percent of its employees and payroll in
Minnesota;
o Isengagedina spec1ﬁed field of business involving proprletary technology
or product;
o Has fewer than 25 employees; '
e Pays most of its employees wages equal to at least 175 percent of the federal
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poverty guideline for a family of four;
o Has not been in operation for more than ten years; and *
e Has not received more than $2 million in private equity investment.

To qualify for the credit, an investment must:
e Receive DEED credit certification from the annual credit cap;
e Be made in cash;
o Satisfy minimums of either $10,000 (1nd1v1duals) or $30,000 (fund); and
e Receive in return an equity-type interest (e.g., common stock, partnershlp
interest, preferred stock, or debt with a mandatory conversion to equity).

The law prohibits DEED for certifying more than $1 million in credit allocations to
any one business. Thus, a business that attracts $4 million of quahfymg investments
could receive the maximum credit.

The law imposes an annual dollar hmit or ¢cap on the total amOunt of credits. The
Department of Revenue has estimated that credits will be claimed up to the full
amount of the limits. Some of these credits may be paid as refunds (rather than
reducing tax liability), since the cred1t is refundable. The total hmlt over the 11fe of
the credit is $58.9 million:

e $11 million for tax year 2010

e $12 million per year for tax years 2011 through 2014, except the 2013

amount is reduced by $100,000 to fund a program evaluation

DEED administers the limits by certifying dollar amounts of credits to apphcant
investors on a first-come, first-served basis.

Credit applications for tax year 2010 were about $4 million less than the limit.

- Under the law, the $4 million in unused credits carried over to tax year 2011,

increasing the limit to $16 million. Applications for tax year 2011 used up the full
$16 million by November, and apphcatlons for tax year 2012 used up the $12
million available by late July, requiring DEED to reject applicants in both years.

Sixty-seven businesses in 2010 and 113 in 2011 received investments that resulted in
credits. Sixty-two of these businesses were located in the metro area in 2010, and
102 in2011. Metro-area businesses received 94 percent of investments resulting in
credits in 2010, and 80 percent in 2011. For tax year 2010, 267 individuals
(including those investing via funds) qualified for credits for their investments.

~ The law provides for revocation and repayment of the credit if the small business

does not maintain at least 51 percent of its employees and payroll in Minnesota for
five years starting the year after the investment was made. The required repayment
declines by 20 percentage points per year (100 percent in year one, 80 percent in
year two, etc.). The business, not the investors, must make the repayment.

Investors, funds, and small businesses must annually report to DEED on their
compliance with the law. DEED annually reports to the legislature. The law
requires an independent program evaluation to be completed by January 2014.

For more information: See the DEED website: http://Www.positivelyminnesota.com/Busihess/
Financing_a Business/DEED Business_Finance Programs/Angel Tax Credit.aspx.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatwes is a honpartisan office providing Ieglslatlve,
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The Fiscal Disparities‘Prog‘ram:

Commercial-Industrial Tax-Base Sharing

What is the fiscal
disparities
program?

Why share
commercial-
industrial tax base?

How does the fiscal
disparities program
work?

The fiscal diéparities pro gram is a system for the partial sharing of commercial-

" industrial (C/I) property tax base among all jurisdictions within a geographic area.

In Minnesota, the program operates in two areas: the first one was enacted in 1971
and operates in the seven counties of the Twin Cities metropolitan area; a second
version was enacted in 1995 operatmg within the Iron Range in northeastern
Minnesota. '

The main purposes and goals of the program are to:

» Support a regional approach to development. Tax-base sharing spreads the
fiscal benefit of business development spawned by regional facilities, such
as shopping centers, airports, freeway interchanges, and sports stadiums. It
also may make communities more w1111ng to accept low-tax-yield regional
facilities, such as parks.

o Equalize the distribution of fiscal resources. Communities with low tax
bases must impose higher tax rates to deliver the same services as
communities with higher tax bases. These high tax rates make poor
communities less attractive places for businesses to locate or expand in,
exacerbating the problem. Sharing C/I tax base can reduce this effect.

e Reduce competition for commercial-industrial development. Communities
generally believe that some kinds of C/I properties pay more in taxes than it
costs to provide services to them. This encourages communitiés to
compete for these properties by providing tax concessions or extra services,
which can weaken their fiscal condition. Tax-base sharing reduces the
incentive for this competition, thereby dlscouragmg urban sprawl and
reducing the cost of providing regional services such as sewage and
transportation.

Contributions to the areawide tax base. Each taxing jurisdiction annually

 contributes 40 percent of the growth in its C/I tax base since the year of enactment

to an abstract entity called the “areawide tax base.” This contribution value is not
available for taxation by the jurisdictions where the property is located.

Distributions from the areawide tax base. Each municipality receives a share of
the areawide tax base through a formula based on its share of the area’s population
and its relative property tax wealth (tax base per capita). The municipality is
allowed to tax this distribution value at the same rate as the tax rate paid by its



How much tax base
is redistributed
through the
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Sfiscal disparities
program affect
taxes in the metro
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What are the effects
of the Iron Range
program?

residents. All taxing jurisdictions whose boundaries encompass the municipality -
are also allowed to tax the municipality’s distribution Value (i.e., counties, school
districts, and special taxing districts).

Calculating the property tax for each commercial-industrial property. The
property tax statement for each C/I property has a local portion and an areawide
portion, based on the relative amount of the tax base that is contributed and the
amount that is retained by the municipality where the property is located.

In 2012, 37.6 percent of all local commercial-industrial property taxes are paid

through fiscal disparities, and the areawide tax base accounts for 12 percent of the
total tax base in the metropolitan area. In the Iron Range program, 17.8 percent of
all local commercial-industrial property taxes are paid through fiscal disparities,
and the areawide tax base constitutes 3 percent of the total tax base on the Iron

Range.

A House Research Department study based on taxes payable in 2012 found that the
average homestead tax in Columbia Heights, which is one of the largest net
beneficiaries of the program, was 14.6 percent lower because of fiscal disparities.
The study found that the average homestead tax in Bloomington, which is one of
the largest net contributors, was 5.4 percent higher. Homestead effects throughout
the area generally varied between these extremes. '

For commercial-industrial properties, average taxes were 9.8 percent lower in-
Columbia Heights due to fiscal disparities and 13.7 percent higher in Eagan,
another suburban city that is a large net contributor. Commercial-industrial
property tax impacts elsewhere in the metro area generally fall between these
extremes. : ~

The study looked only at the direct effect of fiscal disparities, i.e., the redistribution

- of tax base, and made no attempt to factor in alternative development patterns that

might have occurred without fiscal disparities.

The same study found that the average homestead tax in Keewatin (Itasca County)
was 24.8 percent lower because of fiscal disparities, while homestead taxes in
Silver Bay were 5.5 percent higher, with other municipalities generally falling-
between those extremes.

For commercial-industrial properties, average taxes were 17 percent lower in

Keewatin due to fiscal disparities and 20.4 percent higher in Farm Island township
(Aitkin County). Commercial-industrial property tax impacts elsewhere on the

Iron Range generally fall between these extremes.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze (steve.hinze@house.mn). A report
showing the impact of the fiscal disparities program by municipality can be viewed at:
http://www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/csim12E1.pdf.
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Homeowner’s Property Tax Refund Program

What is the
property tax
refund program?

What are recent
changes to the
program?

What are the
maximums?

How are claim.é
filed?

What is the
average refund
and total amount
paid?

The homeowner’s property tax refund program (sometimes called the “circuit
breaker” or the PTR) is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to homeowners
whose property taxes are high relative to their incomes. If property tax exceeds a
threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a percentage of the tax over the
threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income increases:

 the threshold percentage increases,
o the share of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay increases, and

s the maximum refund decreases.

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types of
income. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who are over

age 65 or disabled.

The 2008 and 2011 tax laws both expanded the homeowner’s property tax refund
program. The 2008 changes, effective for refunds based on taxes payable in 2009,
lowered the maximum threshold percentage for determining eligibility from 4.0
percent of income to 3.5 percent of income and increased the maximum refund
allowed by about $500. The 2011 changes, effective for refunds based on taxes
payable in 2012, increased the maximum refund for homeowners with incomes
under about $37,000, and decreased the copayment percentage for most
homeowners. ‘

For refund claims filed in 2013, based on property taxes payable in 2013 and 2012
household income, the maximum refund is $2,530. Homeowners whose income
exceeds $103,729 are not eligible for a refund.

" Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR)

Schedule M1PR, which is filed separately from the individual income tax form.
Claims filed before August 15, 2013, will be paid beginning in late September
2013; claims filed electronically may be paid a month earlier. The deadline for
filing claims based on taxes payable in 2013 is August 15, 2014; taxpayers filing
claims after that date will not receive a refund.

Statewide Homeowner Property Tax Refunds
Filed in 2011

(based on 2010 incomes and payable 2011 taxes, most recent data available)

Average per
Number of returns Total refund amount return
Under 65 years old 218,495 $162.9 million $745
Senior/disabled 144,414 $109.4 million $758
Total: all homeowners 362,909 $272.3 million $750




How do refunds  The following table shows the refund calculations for four example families with

vary depending different incomes—two families in the metro area and two in greater Minnesota.
upon the filer’s Although the property tax refund threshold, copayment rates, and maximum refund
income and amounts are the same statewide, the average residential homestead property tax in
property tax? the metro area is higher than in greater Minnesota. The metro area families have

~ payable 2013 property taxes of $3,163, a typical amount for the metro. The
families in greater Minnesota have payable 2013 property taxes of $1,532, a typical
amount for greater Minnesota. Taxpayers who are over age 65, disabled, or have
dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in determining the refund.

Married couple, both under age 65, two dependents
Example refunds for claims to be filed in 2013,
based on taxes payable in 2013 and 2012 income

Metro area Greater Minnesota

Taxpayer #1 | Taxpayer #2 | Taxpayer #3 Taxpayér #4

1 | Typical estimated

market value of home $222,700 $222,700 $149,400 $149,400
2 | Gross income $35,000 $75,000 $35,000 $75,000
3 | Deduction for :

dependents $10,260 $10,260 $10,260 - $10,260
4 | Household income

2-3=4 $24,740 $64,740 $24,740 $64,740
5 | Property tax $3,163 $3,163 $1,532 $1,532
6 | Threshold income : : ‘ -

percentage 2.3% _ 3.2% » 2.3% » 32%
7 | Threshold % x income : , :

4x6=17 $569 $2,072 $569 $2,072
8 | Property tax over ‘

threshold (5§ =7 =128) $2,594 $1,091 | $963 ’ $0
9 | Statutory copay

percentage 30% : 40% 30% 40%
10 | Taxpayer copay ‘

amount (8 x 9 = 10) $778 $437 $289 NA
11 | Remaining tax over . s

threshold (8 — 10 =11) $1,816 v $655 $674 NA
12 | Maximum refund e » ;

allowed $2,530 $1,480 $2,530 - $1,480
13 | Net property tax . : ~

refund $1,816 $655 $674 50

For more information: Claimants can check the status of their refund by calhng DOR at (651) 296 4444 or
online at www.revenue.state.mn.us.
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Penalties for Underreporting Minnesota Individual Income Tax

What is the civil
penalty for failure
to pay Minnesota
income tax by the
due date?

Is there a
reasonable cause
exception?

What is the
“additional tax
* charge”?

What is the civil
penalty for failure
to file a return?

For calendar year taxpayers, final payments are due on April 15 following the close
of the tax year. (Most taxpayers pay on a calendar-year basis; a small number use
fiscal years instead.) Income tax not paid by April 15 is subject to a late payment
penalty equal to 4 percent of the amount not paid.

An additional 4 percent penalty applies to amounts owed as a result of an
assessment order from the commissioner of revenue if the taxpayer either does not
pay the amount assessed within 60 days of the order or does not appeal the
assessment.

“An additional extended delinquency penalty of 5 percent of the tax due applies to

income tax not paid within 180 days of an order from the commissioner or the date
areturn is filed.

Yes. A taxpayer is presumed to have reasonable cause for underpayment if the
taxpayer paid 90 percent of the amount due by the April 15 due date, filed the
return by October 15, and paid the balance of the tax due when the return was filed.
In this situation, the 4 percent late-payment penalty does not apply.

Individuals who expect to owe $500 or more after withholding and credits must
make estimated payments, which are due in four installments: April 15, June 15,
and September 15 during the tax year, and January 15 following the close of the tax
year. If estimated payments and withholding do not equal at least 90 percent of the
tax due, or 100 percent of liability for the preceding tax year, the taxpayer is
subject to an additional tax charge. The additional tax charge equals 4 percent of
the amount underpaid, prorated by the number of days elapsed between the due
dates of the four installments and the date of the final payment.

The additional tax charge does not apply if the individual was a Minnesota resident
in the preceding tax year but did not have tax liability.

For calendar year taxpayers, income tax returns are due by April 15 following the
close of the tax year, but there is no late filing penalty if the return is filed by
October 15. Taxpayers who fail to file an individual income tax return by October
15 must pay a penalty equal to 5 percent of the tax not paid by October 15.

If an individual is required to file a return and does not file it by October 15 and
receives a written demand to file from the Department of Revenue, the individual -
must file within 60 days or face an additional “extended late file” penalty. The
extended-late-file penalty equals the greater of 5 percent of the tax not paid or
$100.



What other civil
penalties are there?

- Does interest apply

" to underreported
tax liability and
penalties?

How are the
penalties applied?

Are failing to file
and underreporting
liability criminal
offenses in
Minnesota?

o Failure to report changes to the federal return: 10 percent. When a
federal return is amended by the taxpayer or corrected by the Internal
Revenue Service, a copy of that return or a letter of explanation must be
reported to Minnesota within 180 days. An amended Minnesota return is
also required within 180 days. If federal changes are not reported, a penalty
of 10 percent of the underpayment of anesota tax attributable to the
federal change applies.

o Intentional disregard of laws: 10 percent. A 10 percent penalty applies if
the taxpayer has been negligent or shown intentional disregard of the law or
rules for determining liability, but didn’t intend to defraud.

« Substantial understatement of liability: 20 percent. “Substantial
understatement” means underreporting of the correct tax that exceeds the
greater of $5,000 or 10 percent of the tax actually owed. A penalty of 20
percent applies to a substantial understatement of liability.

» Filing a frivolous return: greater of 25 percent or $1,000. A return is
considered frivolous if it is substantially incorrect on its face or lacks
information needed to judge the accuracy of the return, and consists of
inappropriate conduct or reflects a desire to impede the tax process.

o Filing a false or fraudulent return: 50 percent. A penalty of 50 percent
applies to the underreported liability and overstated refund claimed if the
commissioner can prove the return was fraudulent in order to evade the tax,
or if failure to file a return was intended to evade the tax. The 50 percent
penalty also applies to fraudulently claimed refundable credits (the
dependent care credit, the working family credit, the K-12 education credit,
the military service combat zone credit, and the property tax refund).

In addition to the penalties listed, taxpayers who underreport individual income tax
liability must pay interest on the amount underpaid and on the associated penalty
from the date the tax was due. Penalties and underreported liability bear interest at
an annual rate tied to the prime rate. This rate is adjusted annually and is set at 3
percent for 2010 through 2013.

The penalties for underreporting of individual income tax liability are imposed and
collected in the same manner as the original taxes.

In certain circumstances, failing to file and underreporting tax liability are criminal
offenses. It is a gross misdemeanor to knowingly fail to file a return or pay tax. It
is a felony to willfully fail to file a return or pay tax, with intent to evade the tax,
and a felony to file a false return concerning a material matter. Penalties for these
criminal offenses are in addition to civil penalties.

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at
joel.michael@house.mn. '

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office provndmg legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Disabled Veteran Homestead Valuation Exclusion

What is the disabled This program provides a property tax benefit to qualifying homeowners by

veteran valuation
exclusion?

What is the benefit?

How does the
benefit work?

What are the
qualifications for
disabled veterans?

How do you enroll
in the program?

reducing the value of their home for property tax purposes by up to $300,000. The
benefit applies to certain disabled veterans, their surviving spouses, the surviving
spouses of military personnel who have died in the line of duty, and certain
primary caregivers of disabled veterans. '

Veterans who are totally and permanently disabled (100% T&P) are eligible for a
valuation exclusion of $300,000; veterans who are not totally and permanently
disabled, but who have a disability rating of 70 percent or higher, are eligible for
an exclusion of $150,000. Surviving spouses of deceased disabled veterans that
were eligible for the $300,000 exclusion are eligible to receive the same benefit for
five additional years after the veteran’s death. If a disabled veteran does not own
a house, but has a designated “primary family caregiver” who does own a house,
the caregiver can receive the exclusion for such time as they continue in that role.
Surviving spouses of military personnel who have died in the line of duty are
eligible to receive a $300,000 exclusion for five years following the service
member’s death. '

The exclusion amount is subtracted from the value of the homestead as determined
by the assessor before property taxes are calculated. If the value of the homestead
in any year is less than the exclusion amount, the homestead is totally exempt from
property taxes for that year. The actual tax benefit for a specific property will vary
based on the value of the home and the local tax rate.

To qualify as a disabled veteran, the veteran must have been honorably discharged
from the U.S. armed forces as indicated by U.S. Department of Defense form
DD214 or other official military discharge papers, and must be certified by the

U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs (US/VA) as having a service-connected disability

with a disability rating of 70 percent or higher.

Application for benefits under this program must be filed with the county assessor.
A disabled veteran must provide form CR-DVHE70 or CR-DVHE100 and provide
proof of honorable discharge and of disability rating. A surviving spouse of a
service member who dies while in active service must provide either U.S. '
Government Form DD1300 or DD2064. Primary family caregivers must supply
certification that they qualify under the US/VA Program of Comprehensive
Assistance for Family Caregivers. Recipients must apply for the benefit each year,
except that totally and permanently disabled veterans do not need to reapply each
year, since their disability status is permanent and their benefit is not time-limited.



When do the
benefits begin?

How is the tax
benefit paid for?

What about special
assessments?

Are there survivor
benefits?

How does the
exclusion apply to
an agricultural
homestead?

Does the market
value exclusion
affect other
property tax relief
programs?

Applications received prior to July 1 of any year take effect for taxes payable in the
following year, unless the homestead is a manufactured home, in which case the
benefit takes effect in the same year. Veterans who fail to apply in the first year
that they are eligible may file in any subsequent year and begin receiving benefits
after that.

Excluding all or a portion of the value of the disabled veteran’s home from
property taxes slightly increases the taxes on other properties (homes, businesses,
farms, etc.) in the taxing jurisdictions where the veteran’s home is located,
meaning that the veteran’s property tax benefit is essentially being pr0v1ded by the
surrounding properties.

Other charges that might appear on the property tax statement, such as special
assessments and various types of fees, are not affected by the valuation exclusion
and must continue to be paid in full. ~

For a veteran who is totally and permanently disabled, the surviving spouse
continues to receive program benefits in the five calendar years following the death
of the veteran, provided that the surviving spouse continues to own and reside in
the house. There is no survivor benefit for spouses of veterans qualifying at the 70
percent standard. There is also no survivor benefit for spouses of disabled veterans
who are not enrolled in the program before the veteran’s death.

For agricultural homesteads, the exclusion applies only to that portion of the
property consisting of the house, garage, and surrounding one acre of land.

Properties that qualify for the disabled veterans homestead valuation exclusion do
not receive the “regular” market value homestead exclusion of $30,400 or less.
Properties that qualify for the disabled veterans homestead valuation exclusion are
not eligible to receive the preferential classification (1b) generally available on the
first $50,000 of market value on homesteads owned by persons who are blind or
disabled. Disabled veterans, surviving spouses, and primary caregivers continue to
be eligible for the property tax refund program, although it is likely that they would
qualify for a significantly smaller refund because their property taxes would be so
much lower due to the exclusion. ‘

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze at steve.hinze@house.mn or Jim Cleary at
jim.cleary@house.mn. Also see the Department of Revenue’s fact sheet on the disabled veterans exclusion
program at http://www.revenue.state.mn.us/propertytax/factsheets/factsheet_13.pdf .

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpértisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Renter’s Property Tax Refund Program

What is the
renter’s property
tax refund
program?

What are the
maximums?

How are claims
filed?

What is the
average refund and
~ total amount paid?

How has the
percent of rent
considered
property taxes
changed in recent
years? '

The renter’s property tax refund program (sometimes called the “renters’ credit”)
is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to renters whose rent and “implicit
property taxes” are high relative to their incomes. “Rent constituting property
taxes” is assumed to equal 17 percent of rent paid. If rent constituting property
tax exceeds a threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a percentage of
the tax over the threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income increases:

o the threshold percentage increases,

« the share of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay
increases, and

o the maximum refund decreases.

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types
of income. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who are
over age 65 or disabled.

For refund claims filed in 2012, based on rent paid in 2011 and 2011 household
income, the maximum refund is $1,550. Renters whose income exceeds $54,619

are not eligible for refunds.

Refund claims are filed using Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR) .
Schedule M1PR. Schedule M1PR is filed separately from the individual income
tax form. Claims filed before August 15, 2012, will be paid beginning in August
2012. The deadline for filing claims based on rent paid in 2011 is August 15,
2013; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund. Forms are

“available online at DOR’s website, under “Forms and Instructions.”

Statewide Renter Property Tax Refunds, Filed in 2010

(based on 2009 incomes and rent paid in 2009, taxes assumed to equal 15% of rent paid)
Number of returns Total amount Average per return
Under 65 years old 198,313 $94.3 million $476
Senior/disabled 83,139 , $43.2 million o $520
Total: all renters 281,452 $‘137.6 million $489

For refunds based on rent paid from 1998 to 2008, the percentage of rent
constituting property taxes equaled 19 percent. Under Gov. Tim Pawlenty’s June
2009 unallotment, subsequently enacted into law, the percentage of rent
constituting property taxes was reduced from 19 percent to 15 percent for refunds
based on rent paid in 2009 only. For refunds based on rent paid in 2010, the
percentage returned to 19 percent. Legislation enacted in the 2011 reduced the
rate to 17 percent for refunds based on rent paid in 2011 and following years.



How do refunds The following table shows the refund amount for two example families (married
vary depending on  couples without dependents). Although the threshold percentage, copayment
income and rates, and maximum refund amounts are the same statewide, the average rent is
property taxes? higher in the metro area than in greater Minnesota. The metro area family paid

monthly rent in 2012 of $745, the fair market rent for a one-bedroom apartment
in the metro area. The family in greater Minnesota paid monthly rent in 2012 of
$472, the fair market rent for a one-bedroom apartment in many greater
Minnesota counties. Taxpayers who are over age 65, disabled, or have
dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in determining the refund.

Married couple, both under age 65, no dependents
Example refunds for claims to be filed in 2013,
based on rent paid in 2012 and 2012 household income

Metro area Greater Minnesota
Taxpayer #1 | Taxpayer #2 Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer #2

1| Gross income $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000
2 | Deduction for : : .

dependents. 0 0 0 0
3 | Household income

(1-2=3) $15,000 $30,000 - $15,000 $30,000
4 | Rent constituting

property tax $1,520 $1,520 $963 $963
5 | Statutory threshold

percentage 1.4% 2.0% 1.4% 2.0%
6 | Threshold % x

income (3 x 5 = 6) $210 $600 $210 $600
7 Property tax over .

threshold (4 —6="7) $1,310 $920 $753 $363
8 | Copay percentage 15% 30% 15% 30%
9 | Taxpayer copay

amount (7x8=9) $196 $276 $113 $109
10 | Remaining tax over 3

threshold ! .

(7-9=10) $1,113 $644 $640 $254
11 | Maximum refund .

allowed $1,600 $1,600 $1,600 $1,600
12 | Net property tax

refund $1,113 $644 $640 $254

For more information: Claimants can check the status of their refund by calling DOR at (651) 296-4444 or
online at www.revenue.state.mn.us.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartlsan office prowdmg legisiative,
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Gift Ban Law and Rules for House Members and Employees

What does the gift
ban law prohibit?

Who are lobbyists
and principals?

What is the penalty
JSor a violation?

What is a gift?

Legislators and legislative employees must not request or accept a gift from a
lobbyist or principal, and lobbyists and principals must not give a gift to a
legislator or legislative employee or ask someone else to do so. Family members
are not subject to the ban.

A “lobbyist” is an individual who is required to register with the Campaign
Finance and Public Disclosure Board to lobby Minnesota state government. A
“principal” is an entity that hires lobbyists or that spends more than $50,000 in a
year to influence official action. Lobbyists and principals are listed on the board’s
website at www.cfboard.state.mn.us. If an individual or entity is not listed on the
website, a member may call the board at 651-539-1189 to see if the website is
current. Members and staff may rely on the information provided by board staff on
the issue of who is a lobbyist or principal. Examples of people who are not
lobbyists include members of the media, local government elected officials, state
employees, and representatives of foreign governments touring the Capitol.

There is no criminal penalty or civil fine. The board, which administers the law,

takes the position that if possible, it will make a recipient return or pay for an

improper gift. This has happened at least once.

A giftis Asomething received without giving equal or greater value in return. If the

 House pays to send a member or employee to a conference sponsored by a

principal, the conference is not a gift from the principal. The event was paid for.
By express terms or board advisory opinions “gift” includes the following:

. discdunts, loans, privileges, or access made available to legislators but not
to the general public

. paying off a debt for a legislator
. honoréria
. travel expenses or lodging for a meeting
« donations to a legal defense fund to benefit public ofﬁc1als generally

+ donations to a retirement party held for a public official who is in ofﬁce or
has taken a new office

Some of the advisory opinions involved legislators, but the reasoning would also
apply to legislative staff.



What House rules
apply to gifts?

The following are excluded from the gift ban by the statute or by board opinions:

campaign contributions

services to assist in performing official duties

services of insignificant monetary value

plaques with a resale value of $5 or less

trinkets or mementos costing §5 or less .
informational material with a resale value of $5 or less

food and drink when asked to speak or answer questions at a program
(eating lunch free when speaking at a legislative update program sponsored

by a principal; not eating lunch free when touring a business that hires
* lobbyists). An advisory opinion lets a covered individual attend a party paid

for by a principal if the individual (1) reimburses the principal for his or her
fair share of the cost of the party; or (2) contributes to the party an item or
items that equal or exceed the individual’s share of the cost of the party.

a gift received because of membership in a group, a majority of whom are
not officials, and everyone in the group gets a similar gift (a member may
accept a gift from his or her spouse’s employer that is a principal if the
employer gives all spouses a similar gift and a majority of those spouses are
not public officials)

a gift from a lobbyist or principal who is a family member, unless the gift is
given on behalf of someone outside the family

referral of legal matters between attorneys

a job offer in the normal course of career changes

House Rule 9.20 prohibits a member from accepting an honorarium (other than

expense reimbursement) for services performed for an individual or organization
with a direct interest in the business of the House, including, but not limited to,

lobbyists and principals. The rule specifies that violations must be referred to the
Ethics Committee. The rule does not mention employees. House Rule 9.21 4

prohibits members and employees from accepting travel or lodging from a for-

profit business, union, lobbyist, association of lobbyists, or a foreign government.
Both rules are stricter than the statute in restricting the sources from which
members and employees may accept things.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051 or Jeffrey Diebel at

651-296-5041.
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What is targeting?

Who qualifies?

How does targeting
work?

Targeting Property Tax Refund

The “additional” or “special” property tax refund, generally referred to as
“targeting,” directs property tax relief to homeowners who have large property tax
increases from one year to the next.

A homeowner qualifies if the property tax on the home has increased by more than
12 percent over the previous year’s tax and if the increase is over $100. In
determining eligibility, the previous year’s tax amount is the net amount paid by
the homeowner after deduction of any targeting refund received in that year.

The homeowner must have owned and lived in the same home for both years. If
any improvements were made to the home, that portion of the tax increase
resulting from the improvements must be subtracted when determining the refund.

Generally, the refund equals 60 percent of the increase over the greater of (1) 12
percent of the previous year’s tax after deduction of targeting, or (2) $100. For
refunds based on taxes payable in 2012 only, the refund percentage was 90 percent
instead of 60 percent. The maximum refund is $1,000. The following example
shows how the refund is calculated.

Payable 2012 Property Tax after Targeting ‘, $1,600
Payable 2013 Property Tax ' $2,000
2013 tax increase (over 2012) $400
Taxpayer pays first 12% of increase compared to previous year’s tax, which

must be at least $100 (12% x $1,600) _ $192
Remaining increase eligible for relief ($400 - $192 = $208) $208
State pays 60% of excess over 12% increase up to a $1,000 maximum $125
(60% x $208 = $125)

Amount of 2013 increase paid by taxpayer ($400 - $125) : $275

The taxpayer’s $400 increase (i.e., 25 percent) is reduced to an out-of-pocket
property tax increase of $275 (i.e., 17.2 percent) as a result of the $125 refund.

The taxpayer pays the full $2,000 amount of the 2013 property tax to the county,

- the first half in May and the second half in October. The taxpayer applies to the

state for a targeting refund on form M1PR. The targeting refund is paid at the
same time the regular homeowner property tax refund (“circuit breaker”) is paid in
late September.



Does targeting have
any other
restrictions?

What are statewide
amounts? .

How many
homeowners claim
the refund?

How are claims
filed?

No, unlike the regular property tax refund, the targeting refund is not tied to the
taxpayer’s household income. Under the regular homeowner property tax refund,
the taxpayer’s household income may not exceed a specified maximum and the
amount of household income affects the amount of the refund.

However, the targeting refund does not use income as a factor, nor is there any
limitation on the taxpayer’s household income. Therefore, many higher income

taxpayers who do not qualify for the regular property tax refund due to income

restrictions are eligible for the targeting refund.

The amounts paid out for the targeting program decreased substantially from $7.4

- million in 2008 to about $1.2 million in 2011, with comparable percentage
~ decreases occurring in the metro area and in nonmetro Minnesota.

The table below shows the statewide amount, with a breakdown for the metro and

the 80 nonmetro counties, for the past four years.

Targeﬁng Refunds, Filed 2008 — 2011 (dollars in thousands)

Filed 2008 Filed 2009 Filed 2010 | Filed 2011
Total Metro $4,330 $3,750 | $1,024 $1,211
Total Nonmetro $3,046 $2,338 $1,310 $691
State $7,376 - $6,088 $2,334 $1,902

Some taxpayers (e.g., those who typically don’t qualify for the regular property tax
refund) may not be aware of the targeting program, resulting in lower total refunds
statewide than if all eligible taxpayers had filed.

In 2011, just over 23,000 homeowners claimed refunds based on their property tax
increase from payable 2010 to 2011. The average refund amount was $83.

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR)
Schedule M1PR, the property tax refund form. There is a separate schedule on the
back of the M1PR (“Schedule 1 — Special Refund”) for the targeting program. The
taxpayer files for this refund after receiving his or her property tax statement in
February or March. Claims filed before August 15, 2013, will be paid beginning in
late September 2013. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in
2013 is August 15, 2014; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a
refund. Forms are available online at DOR’s website, under “Forms and
Instructions” (www.revenue.state.mn.us).

For more information: Claimants can check the status of their refund by calling DOR at (651) 296-4444
or online at www.revenue.state.mn.us. Also see the House Research Short Subject Homeowner’s Property
Tax Refund Program, December 2012, and the Information Brief Targeting, March 2012.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. ‘
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Who is responsible
Jfor fraud “
prevention?

How does fraud
prevention work?

What recent

changes have been

made to reduce
fraud?

December 2012

| Public Assistance Fraud Prevention

The Department of Human Services (DHS), Office of Inspector General (OIG),
oversees fraud prevention and recovery efforts, including health care, child care,
and food support fraud detection and recovery efforts. The OIG is responsxble for
operating the Medicaid Integrity program as well.

The state and counties work together to prevent public assistance fraud. Minnesota
funds a county-administered program called the integrity reinvestment project,
which pays for preventing and investigating fraud in the state’s cash assistance,
child care, health care, and food programs. Participating county agencies must
develop and submit annual proposals to the Commissioner of Human Services with
a plan to coordinate county duties related to the prevention, 1nvest1gat10n and
prosecutlon of public assistance fraud.

Fraud prevention programs prevent and reduce improper payments by resolving

_eligibility questions for caseworkers. When caseworkers have questions about

eligibility or suspect fraud, they refer the matter to investigators.

- County criminal investigators consider public assistance fraud a crime of theft.

Some instances of fraud are cons1dered to be felony theft and are referred to the
criminal justice system.

Where fraud has been discovered, the state and counties use a variety of collection

 methods to recover benefits from tecipients who have been determined to be.

ineligible for benefits.

The 2011 and 2012 Legislatures passed several provisions aimed at reducing
public assistance fraud. In 2011, the legislature enacted laws related to electronic
benefit transfer (EBT) cards to: : :

o require the name of the head of household to be prmted on the card (Minn.
Stat. § 256.987, subd. 1);

. proh1b1t the purchase of tobacco products or alcohohc beverages with the
card (Minn. Stat. § 256.987, subd. 2);

o disqualify card users from public assistance programs if they are found to
have purchased prohibited items with the card; and

e require liquor stores, tobacco stores, gambling establishments, and tattoo
parlors to block EBT card transactions at their places of business and
~ withdrawals of cash at ATMs located in the1r places of business (Minn.
Stat. § 256.9871). :



The 2012 Legislature modified the EBT card provisions related to disqualifications
from public assistance by disqualifying the individual found to be guilty of making
prohibited purchases with the card for one year after the first offense, two years
after the second offense, and permanently after the third or subsequent offense
(Minn. Stat. § 256.987, subd. 4). The 2012 Legislature also:

 restricted use of the cash portion of the EBT card to vendors and ATMs
located in Minnesota and the surrounding states of Iowa, North Dakota,
South Dakota, and Wisconsin (Minn. Stat. § 256.987, subd. 3);

» required peace officers to report to the head of the officer’s department
every arrest where the person arrested possesses more than one public
assistance EBT card (the report must then be forwarded to the
Commissioner of Human Services) (Minn. Stat. § 626.5533); and

« allowed for sharing of certain data between the state court administrator,
~ Department of Public Safety, and DHS for purposes of preventing public
assistance fraud (Minn. Stat. § 256.01, subds. 18c, 18d, and 18e).

What are the results  According to the DHS fact sheet Minnesota Welfare Fraud Prevention and
of recent fraud Reduction Efforts, in fiscal year 2011, fraud investigators:
investigations? '
+ completed 6,900 investigations (benefits were stopped or reduced in 47
percent of those cases);

e identified $13.7 million in cost-avoidance (benefits not paid to ineligible
applicants and recipients) and overpayments (cases where payments had
been higher than warranted); ~

. ._responded to 7,050 fraud complaints and verification requests; and

o stopped disbursement of, or identified for collection, $4.67 for every $1
spent on program administrative costs.

Are fraud Some public assistance fraud cases are considered to be felony theft; these cases

investigations require the involvement of the criminal justice system. According to the DHS fact
referred to the sheet, in fiscal year 2011, criminal investigators:
justice system?

e completed more than 1,350 criminal investigations;
o identified $3.5 million in overpayments;
o prevailed in 172 administrative disqualification processes;

e completed 28 cases in which recipients admitted guilt prior to trial and
agreed to restitution with sentencing deferred; and

o participated in 90 convictions for public assistance fraud.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see Minnesota
Department of Human Services, Minnesota Welfare Fraud Prevention and Reduction Efforts, March 2012.
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Military Pay under Minnesota’s Individual Income Tax

Most military pay is
exempt from
Minnesota income
tax

Federal law
prohibits states
from taxing some
types of military
income

Military pay for
regular full-time
active service is
generally not taxed
by the state

Military pay for
most types of
National Guard and
reserve service is
not taxed

by the state

Calculation of Minnesota’s individual income tax starts with a person’s federal
taxable income. As a result, military pay that is exempt from taxation at the
federal level, such as combat pay and hazardous duty pay, is also exempt at the
state level. Minnesota allows subtraction from federal taxable income of most
other types of military pay that are taxed at the federal level, thereby making such
income exempt from Minnesota income tax. However, no subtraction is allowed
for pay for either of the two following types of military service:

(1) service by a Minnesota resident serving in the National Guard while
assigned to Active Guard and Reserve (AGR) status under U.S. Code, title
32

(2) service performed in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 190.08,
subdivision 3 (i.e., current or former military personnel employed for the
full-time administration of the Minnesota Department of Military Affairs)

Federal law prohibits states from taxing active service military pay earned by
nonresidents. Thus, a nonresident member of the military often does not need to
file a Minnesota tax return.

Minnesota also allows for the subtraction of military pay earned by a Minnesota
resident for full-time active military service (other than for the two types of
military service described above). This subtraction typically applies to
Minnesota residents who serve either within Minnesota as full-time military
recruiters or Coast Guard personnel, for example, and to Minnesota residents
who are in full-time military service outside Minnesota.

A member of the National Guard or other military reserve unit is allowed to
subtract pay received for active service.

“Active service” includes:

e certain state active service, such as assistance in natural disasters and
searches for lost persons (Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5a, cl. (1));

o federally funded state active service, under U.S. Code, title 32 (National
Guard), such as, weekend drills and annual training (summer camp),
special school attendance, airport security, or active duty for special
work (ADSW) (Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5b);

o federal active service, under U.S. Code, title 10 (Reserves), such as
weekend drills, annual training (summer camp), special school


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=190.08
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=190.05
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=190.05
http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/32
http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/10

attendance, pre- or postdeployment-related duty, and time on medical
hold under U.S. Code, title 10; active duty orders while recuperating
from an injury; and Active Guard and Reserve (AGR) service under
U.S. Code, title 10 (Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5c).

“Active service” does not include service by Minnesota residents working in
AGR status under U.S. Code, title 32 (federally funded state active service), nor
service by current or former members of the National Guard or reserves ordered
to active service by the adjutant general to perform full-time administration of
the Department of Military Affairs.

Military pay for Income received by Minnesota residents for military service under U.S. Code, title
service outside 10, including service in AGR status by members of the military reserves other than
Minnesota the National Guard, is not taxed by the state of Minnesota, and thus is not subject
is generally to Minnesota income tax withholding.

not taxed

by the state Unless a service member who has served only outside Minnesota during the year is

due some specific tax-related benefit from the state (e.g., a refundable tax credit),
has had other income tax withheld, or has earned a sufficient amount ($9,750 or
more for tax year 2012) of other taxable military and/or nonmilitary income to
require filing, it may not be necessary for the person to file a Minnesota income tax
return for a given tax year.

The following are some common types of income received by Minnesota residents
that are normally subject to the Minnesota income tax, regardless of whether the
service member has been serving outside of Minnesota during part or all of the
year:

e income earned by the service member’s spouse living and employed within
Minnesota (when filing jointly)

o nonmilitary income earned by the service member as a pay differential
provided by the person’s (public or private) Minnesota civilian employer

o nonmilitary income earned by the service member from civilian
employment within Minnesota during part of the year (e.g., preceding or
following military deployment or transfer)

e other nonmilitary income earned by the service member before, during, or
following military deployment outside Minnesota (e.g., rental income from
property in Minnesota)

For more information: The Department of Revenue maintains information on taxation of military pay
online at http://www.revenue.state.mn.us/individuals/individ_income/Pages/Members_of the Military.aspx
or contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Jim Cleary at jim.cleary@house.mn.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Property Tax 101: Who Pays Property Taxes and

- Who Recelves Them
Where property Total property taxes statewide were $8,384 million for calendar year 2012, The
taxes come from  total amount of property value (excluding the value of exempt property) was

$551,558 million. The graphs below show the breakdown of the state’s total
property tax base by market value and by taxes paid in 2012.

Statemde Shares of Market Value and Property Tax

by Property Type
(Taxes Payable 2012)
Market Value - o Property Tax
Residential Homestea 43.1%
Residentia | |
Nonhomestead

Public Utiity
Agricultura

Seasonal Recreationall.

Total: $551,558 million | -Total: $8,384 million



leére property The total property tax burden in Minnesota was $8,384 million for calendar yéar
taxes go 2012. The pie chart below shows the distribution of the tax among the vatious
types of taxing jurisdictions.

Statewide Property Tax by Type of Government,*
Taxes Payable 2012
(Total: $8,384 million)

TIF
3.1%

City 25.5%
(mcludes tax mcrement flnancmg [TIF])

Countyv31‘.4%

Town 2.6%

Special Taxing District 37%
State 3.7% School District 27.0%

"Amounts shown are after allocatjon of property tax credits.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze (steve hinze@house.mn).

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartlsan offlce providing legislative,
legal, and information servnces to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 l 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Revenue recapture
allows state and
some local
governments to
collect debts by
intercepting tax
refunds

A variety of debts
qualify for
collection using
recapture

Some types of
refunds are subject
to recapture

The claimant must
notify debtor about
revenue recapture
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Revenue Recapture Program

Revenue recapture authorizes the Departm'en’c of Revenue (DOR) to intercept or
offset part or all of a state tax refund or other payment to collect a debt that the
taxpayer owes to a government agency or other authorized creditor.

The following agencies may use the Revenue Recapture Program:
State agencies
University of Minnesota-
Minnesota district courts
Counties

 Cities, including for public library debts _
Governmentally owned hospitals and Regions Hospital
Agencies responsible for child support enforcement ’
Agencies that administer low-income housing programs
Licensed ambulance services

The debt (minimum amount of $25) must be owed to or collectable by one of the
qualifying governmental agencies. The debtor must be an individual; the law
does not apply to corporations. The creditor does not need to obtain a court
judgment or order to enforce the debt. Qualifying debts include the following:
e Contractual or statutory obligations A

Criminal fines and fines for petty misdemeanors

Court-ordered restitution for a crime

Child support obligations

Overpayment of public assistance
" Unpaid MinnesotaCare insurance premiums

Obligations of low-income individuals (incomes between $11,570 and $21,870
in 2011, depending upon family size) to repay debts for medical care, including
hospitalization, cannot be recaptured. Debts barred by the statute of limitations
also cannot be recaptured. '

Amounts available to offset qualifying debts are applied first to unpaid taxes,
interest, and penalties before revenue recapture takes effect.

Revenue recapture applies to the following:
Individual income tax refunds

e Property tax refunds
e Sustainable forest incentive payments
e Lottery prizes

Under revenue recapture, a claimant (creditor) agency submits the claim (debt)
to DOR for offset. Within five days after doing so, it must notify the debtor-
taxpayer in writing of the debt(s) that will be subject to revenue recapture. The



taxpayer then has 45 days to request a hearing, which the claimant agency
initiates; the hearing is conducted as a contested case under the Administrative
Procedures Act.

Child support has When more than one debt is submitted, the debts are applied in the following

[first priority for order of priority:
collection e Child support obligations .

e Restitution obligations ' :
e Claims submitted for a hospital or ambulance service
e Other debts based on the order in which DOR received the claims

DOR accounts receivable (e.g., unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties) are offset
before claims under revenue recapture.

A $15 A fee of $15 per claim is first deducted from the refund, and the claimant agency

administrative fee receives the balance of the refund or the claim amount, whichever is less. Of
applies this $15, $4 is set aside in a dedicated, revolving fund to pay DOR’s cost of
operating the program,; the rest goes to the state’s general fund.
More than 363 The table to the right shows the Revenue Recapture Amounts
million was. number of revenue recapture offsets CY2007-2011
recaptured in 2011  and amount of refunds offset for Numberof  Amount of
‘ calendar years 2007 to 2011. , Offsets Recapture
' 2007 211,636 $68,275,418
The graph below shows the 2008 230911  $87,756,822
percentage of revenue recapture 2009 216,623 $72,845,049
amounts and tax debts offset for 2010 226,754 $78,173,924
calendar years 2007 to 2011 by four. 2011 193,629 $63,231,794
of the major types of debts for which 2011 data exclude offsets for unpaid state
the law sets priorities. taxes. In 2011, tl%ere were 216,966 offsets
for $29,609,189 in unpaid state taxes.
" | All years exlude amounts offset to satisfy
federal tax debts.
Source: DOR

Child Support 15%

Restitution 2%
Unpaid MN Taxes 33%

General, including hospital
and ambulance
50%

For more information: See www.revenue.state.mn.us/collection/Pages/Revenue Recapture.aspx for more
information, or contact the Department of Revenue at 651-556-3037; or email
revenue.recapture(@state.mn.us

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves isa nonpartlsan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Transit Systems in Minnesota

Public transit systems in Minnesota are marked by variation in their size, geographic coverage area, and
service offerings. While the state assists transit operators with funding and planning, the systems are
operated at a local or regional level, primarily by public entities such as counties and cities.

Forms of service

Systems in Greater

The public transportation systems vary with respect to forms of service provided to
its riders.  The basic forms are:

e Regular route bus service, operating primarily in urban settings on fixed
routes and standard schedules and typically with a high frequency of stops;

e Express bus service (including bus rapid transit), which generally follows
longer fixed routes and has fewer stops compared to regular route buses;

e Rail transit, which operates on railroad track and includes street cars, light
rail transit (LRT), commuter rail, and intercity passenger rail;

e Demand response or “dial-a-ride,” in which riders (usually in areas not
served by regular route transit) can arrange for specific trips upon request;

¢ Route deviation, bus service on typically regular schedules that generally
follows fixed routes but with small deviations upon rider request; and

o Paratransit, which provides door-to-door transport for people who are
unable to use regular bus service (required under the federal Americans
with Disabilities Act (ADA) to complement fixed route bus service areas).

There are around 60 transit systems throughout Greater Minnesota. Each one is

Minnesota classified under state law into one of four categories based on its location and
system characteristics, as summarized in the table below. Minn. Stat. § 174.24.
Class Count  Forms of Service Service Areas .Examples
Urbanized 6 Mainly regular route One or a few cities Duluth, Moorhead, St. Cloud
Small urban 13 Dial-a-ride, deviation One or a few cities Hibbing, Northfield, Winona
Rural : 40 Dial-a-ride, deviation Various Arrowhead, Becker, Steele
Elderly/disabled 5 Paratransit - Matches regular route  E. Grand Forks, Rochester

Although there are commonalities (particularly within each classification), the
transit systems vary in some key characteristics. Service is most often operated by
cities and counties but some systems are run by joint powers boards, tribal
governments, other forms of local government, and nonprofits. Fixed route service
and paratransit are only found in more densely populated urban areas. Route
deviation or dial-a-ride service, or both, are offered in small urban and rural
settings. While transit systems in an urban area typically cover one or a couple of
cities, rural systems can cover part of a county, be countywide, or be regional
(extending across multiple counties). Hours of bus service usually cover the
working day, but in rural areas can be limited in the evening and weekends. Bus
frequency also varies and might not be offered daily. Ten counties lack



Systems in the Twin
Cities metropolitan
area

The Metfopolitan
Council

Opt-outs

Ridership & growth

countywide transit service, and two counties do not have transit all together. Some
privately operated (and federally subsidized) intercity bus routes cross transit
provider coverage areas and connect more distant cities.

Transit options in the Twin Cities metropolitan area consist of:

e Metro Transit, encompassing an extensive bus system as well as the
state’s only light rail transit line and only commuter rail line;
Metro Mobility paratransit for those with disabilities or health conditions;

¢ Transit Link dial-a-ride minibus or van service for the general public in
those parts of the metropolitan area not served by regular route transit;

e “Opt-out” systems consisting of seven suburban transit providers that
replace Metro Transit service in several metropolitan cities; and

o Other operators, as in Ramsey Star and the University of Minnesota.

The Metropolitan Council’s transportation division consists of Metro Transit and
Metropolitan Transportation Services (MTS). MTS manages contracts with public
and private entities to operate (1) Metro Mobility, (2) Transit Link dial-a-ride
service, and (3) additional regular bus routes (mainly for commuter service). The
council’s rail and regular route bus service constitutes the single largest transit
system in Minnesota, accounting for around 78 percent of 2011 ridership statewide.
In addition to being a transit operator, the Metropolitan Council maintains most
metropolitan park-and-ride lots linking motorists to bus and rail service, and
performs regional transportation planning and management.

The opt-outs are operated by a range of agencies including counties and cities
(independently or through a joint powers agreement) as well as nonprofits. Service
offerings vary, covering regular route circulator service within specific
communities, dial-a-ride, and express bus service. Bus service provided by the opt-
outs replaces that offered by the Metropolitan Council (although there is some
overlap in coverage areas due to commuter service to the central cities).

Across all transit systems, ridership grew by ah»annual average of 1.5 percent over
calendar years 2007 to 2011. The charts below show ridership and its growth.

CY2011  CY 2007-11 Growth in Transit Ridership
Categf)ry Ridership Growth Annual Average Percent, CY 2007-11
Met Council Bus 72.0 2.3 !
LRT . 10.4 1.3 Met Council Bus P
Commuter Rail 0.7 - IRY
Opt-Outs 5.1 04
Other Metro 5.7 0.2 Opt-Outs 1
Greater MN Urban 7.5 0.8 Other Metro -
Other Greater MN 4.0 0.3 Greater MN Urban -
Total ' 1054 3.3, Other Greater MN -
Notes :
Amounts are in millions. 0% 1% 2% 3% 4%
CY is calendar year,

Notes
Chart excludes commuter rail,

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | st. Paul, MN 55155 | 851-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm



	Minnesota Aeronautics Programs and Funding
	Invasive Species
	The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits: An Overview
	Mining Taxes.
	Minnesota's Nongame Wildlife Checkoff
	Renter's Property Tax Refund Program
	Targeting Property Tax Refund
	Minnesota Angel Investment Credit
	Minnesota's Individual Income Tax
	The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit and Minnesota Working Family Credit: An Overview
	Capital Gains Taxation: Federal and State
	Homeowner's Property Tax Refund Program
	Minnesota Income Tax Credit for Past Military Service
	Long-term Care Insurance Income Tax Credit
	Sunset of 2001 Federal Tax Law Provisions and Effects on Minnesota Income Tax Revenues
	County State-Aid Highway System
	Corporate Farm Law
	Rural Finance Authority
	Minnesota Family Investment Program
	General Assistance
	Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT)
	Child Care Assistance
	State Jury Service
	Corporate Foster Care Moratorium
	The Minnesota Sunset Act
	Rulemaking: Expedited Process and Exemptions
	Rulemaking: Process for Adopting Rules
	Rulemaking: Review of Adopted Rules
	State Agency Head Salaries
	Alcoholic Beverage Taxes
	Property Tax Abatements for Economic Development
	Minnesota's Laws on Tastings and Samples of Alcohol
	Human Services Programs: The Relationship Between Federal, State, and Local Governments
	State Regulation of Health-Related Occupations
	The Minnesota Newborn Screening Programs
	Minimum Wage
	Unemployment Benefit Extensions and Supplemental Benefits in Minnesota
	Major State Aids and Taxes: An Overview of the 2009 Update
	Biofuel Use Mandates
	The Ethanol Industry in Minnesota
	Principal and Teacher Accountability Laws
	Evaluating Minnesota's School Principals
	State-Operated Services
	Emergency Medical Assistance
	Minnesota's Public Defender System
	MinnesotaCare: An Overview
	Estate and Inheritance Taxation: An Overview of Taxes in the States
	Economic Forecasts, Budget Surpluses, and Budget Shortfalls
	Two-thirds Majority Vote to Enact General Banking Laws
	Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits
	Cigarette and Tobacco Excise Taxes and Fees
	"60-Day Rule" Deadline for Certain Agency Actions
	Survey of State and Local Gasoline Taxes
	Senior Citizens Property Tax Deferral Program
	Single Sales Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax,
	Medical Assistance: An Overview
	Regulating Students' Online Speech Under the First Amendment
	Minnesota's Laws on Tastings and Samples of Alcohol
	Municipal State-Aid Street System
	Minnesota's Green Acres Program And Other Property Tax Programs for Rural Lands
	Minnesota Speed Limits
	Homeschools in Minnesota
	Minnesota Angel Investment Credit
	The Fiscal Disparities Program: Commercial-Industrial Tax-Base Sharing
	Homeowner's Property Tax Refund Program
	Penalties for Underreporting Minnesota Individual Income Tax
	Disabled Veteran Homestead Valuation Exclusion
	Renter's Property Tax Refund Program
	Gift Ban Law and Rules for House Members and Employees
	Targeting Property Tax Refund
	Public Assistance Fraud Prevention
	Military Pay under Minnesota's Individual Income Tax
	Property Tax 101: 'Who Pays Property Taxes and 
Who Receives Them
	Revenue Recapture Program
	Transit Systems in Minnesota



