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Executive Summary

Estate, inheritance, and gift taxes are imposed on transfers of property. They differ in the types
of transfers to which they apply. Estate and inheritance taxes are imposed when the property
transfer is caused or triggered by the owner’s death. Gift taxes are imposed when the property
owner is still living and transfers the property.

State estate, inheritance, and gift taxation have undergone significant changes since Congress
repealed the federal credit for state death taxes in 2001. That credit effectively -+

paid a large portion of these taxes for states. For deaths in 2012, 28 states do not impose these
taxes. Table 1 and the map show the states that impose these taxes.

Table 1
State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes
States with Estate Taxes — 14 States and DC

Connecticut New York
Delaware North Carolina
District of Columbia Ohio
Hawaii Oregon
Illinois Rhode Island
Maine Vermont
Massachusetts Washington
Minnesota
States with Inheritance Taxes — 6 States
Indiana Nebraska
lowa Pennsylvania
Kentucky Tennessee
States with Both Estate and Inheritance Taxes — 2 States
Maryland New Jersey
States with Gift Taxes — 1 State
Connecticut

Three states have prospectively repealed their estate or inheritance taxes in 2011 or 2012, and the
Delaware tax is scheduled to expire, as shown in Table 2.

Table 2
State Taxes Repealed or Expiring after 2012
State Tax type Effective for deaths after
Delaware Estate 6/30/2013
Indiana Inheritance 12/31/2021
Ohio Estate 12/31/2012
Tennessee Inheritance 12/31/2015
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State Estate and Inheritance Taxes

D States with Estate Taxes

. States with Inheritance Taxes

. States with Both Estate and Inheritance Taxes

The exemption amounts for these state taxes are typically lower than the exemption under the
federal estate tax ($5,120,000 for 2012 deaths). Of the states with estate taxes, three have
exemptions tied to the federal exemption amount, one (Illinois) has a $3.5 million exemption
(same as the 2009 federal amount), one (Vermont) has a $2.75 million exemption, two have $2
million exemptions, and the rest $1 million or lower exemptions. Thirteen states allow state
QTIP (qualified terminable interest property) elections that differ from the federal QTIP election.
When a state has a lower exemption than allowed under federal law, these state-only QTIP
elections allow married couples to defer paying state tax until the second spouse dies without
forgoing or “wasting” part of the higher federal exemption when the first spouse dies, although
the newly portable federal exemption may reduce the need for these provisions.
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Introduction

State estate, inheritance, and gift
taxes have undergone significant
changes since Congress repealed

A Taxonomy of the Taxes

Estate and inheritance taxes are imposed on transfers that

the federal credit for state 'death occur upon the death of the owner of the property, while gift
taxes in 2001 (fully effective for taxes are imposed on gifts made during the transferor’s
2005 deaths). In the aftermath of lifetime (“inter vivos” gifts).

the credit’s repeal, many states
allowed their state estate taxes to
expire, while others acted to repeal
or reduce their taxes. The Great

Recession, as the most recent e Inheritance taxes apply varying rate schedules to
economic recession is being called, bequests made to different classes of beneficiaries.
Bequests to surviving spouses and lineal heirs typically
enjoy lower rates or are totally exempt, while bequests
to more distant or unrelated heirs (collateral heirs) are
usually taxed at higher rates.

e [Estate taxes generally apply a single rate schedule to
the taxable value of the decedent’s total estate (bequests
to charities and surviving spouses are typically exempt).

and its impact on state revenues and
budgets have resulted in three states
reinstating their taxes. In 2011 and
2012, three states prospectively

repealed their estate or inheritance e Gift taxes complement estate and inheritance taxes,
taxes. This information brief preventing property owners from avoiding tax by
surveys state estate, inheritance, and making lifetime gifts. Some states impose tax only on

gifts made a short time before death or “in
contemplation of death.” These provisions are
administered as part of the estate or inheritance tax.

gift taxes in the 50 states, providing
some detail on their exemption
amounts, rates, and whether they
allow state QTIP elections that
differ from the federal elections.

Estate Taxes

Prior to repeal of the federal credit for state death taxes, all states imposed
pickup estate taxes

In 2001, all 50 states imposed estate taxes to take advantage of the federal estate tax’s credit for
state death taxes. This credit was essentially a federal revenue-sharing provision for states,
allowing a state to impose an estate tax at no cost to its residents. Each dollar of state estate tax
(up to the limits of the federal credit) reduced federal tax, dollar for dollar. Federal tax increased
by any amount a state’s tax was lower than the maximum federal credit. In 2001, 38 states and
the District of Columbia only imposed taxes equal to the federal credit. The remaining 12 states
imposed estate or inheritance taxes that exceeded the federal credit, although two of these states
(Connecticut and Louisiana) had enacted scheduled reductions in their taxes down to the level of
the federal credit.

Congress repealed the credit in the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001
(EGTRRA) and replaced it with a deduction for state death taxes, effective for decedents dying
in 2005. With the repeal of the federal credit, many states whose taxes were directly linked to



House Research Department Updated: December 2012
Survey of State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes Page 5

the federal credit allowed their taxes to expire, while other states “decoupled” their taxes from
the federal tax and allowed them to continue, or reenacted the taxes to preserve the state
revenues.' Since the onset of the state budget problems associated with the Great Recession,
Delaware, Illinois, and Hawaii have reenacted estate taxes that had expired with repeal of the
federal credit (or in Illinois’ case with repeal of the federal tax for 2010 deaths). The Delaware
reenactment was a temporary extension through June 30, 2013. In 2011, Ohio repealed its estate
tax, effective beginning with 2013 deaths.

2010 Federal Estate and Gift Tax Changes Have Implications for State Tax Policy

Under EGTRRA’s provisions, the federal estate tax expired for decedents dying in 2010 and
was to be revived in its pre-EGTRRA form starting in 2011. The Tax Relief,
Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job Creation Act of 2010 (TRUIRJCA),
enacted in December 2010, reinstated the estate tax, while making significant changes in it.
The following four changes are important for state transfer tax policy:

e The top federal tax rate (45 percent for 2009 deaths) dropped to 35 percent. The
reduction in federal tax rates increases the effective cost of state estate taxes for estates
subject to federal tax. Since state estate and inheritance taxes are deductible in
computing federal tax, the lower federal tax rate reduces the implicit value of the
deduction, increasing the effective burden of state taxes.

e The exemption amount ($3.5 million for 2009 deaths) increased to $5 million,
indexed for inflation. The higher exemption means more estates will be subject only to
state taxes, raising the effective burden of the state taxes because there is no longer an
offset for the federal deduction (but conversely these estates have more available assets
to pay state taxes, since they won’t owe any federal tax). In addition, the new federal
rules create a larger “gap” between most state exemption amounts and the federal
exemption. As discussed below (page 13), a larger gap increases the challenges for
planners to develop transfer techniques that minimize both federal and state taxes.

e The federal exemption became “portable”—that is, a decedent spouse’s unused
exemption passes to the surviving spouse. These new portability rules (long suggested as
a way to simplify estate planning) may mitigate the challenge of reconciling differences
in the federal and state exemption amounts, also as discussed below.

e The gift tax exemption ($1 million) increased to $5 million. The higher (five times
bigger) exemption will encourage more deathbed and other gifting strategies, as
discussed below (page 11), to minimize tax in states without effective taxes on gifts.

These federal changes, however, are temporary, applying only to deaths through 2012.
Federal law is then scheduled to revert to its pre-EGTRRA form of a $1 million exemption,
top rate of 55 percent, and pickup credit for state death taxes. Most expect that Congress
will not allow that to occur and will extend or revise the new provisions, perhaps in some
unexpected way. Whether and how states will react to the new federal rules remains to be
seen.
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Sixteen states and the District of Columbia impose estate taxes on 2012 deaths

For decedents dying in 2012, 16 states and the District of Columbia impose estate taxes. The
details of these estate taxes vary somewhat, but they tend to follow the pattern of equaling the
amount of the old federal credit for state death taxes with varying exemption amounts. Four
states have estate taxes with state-defined exemption amounts and rate schedules (i.e., rate
schedules that vary from the federal credit schedule). One of these states, Ohio, had its own rate
and exemption schedule that predated repeal of the federal credit. Ohio is also somewhat unique
in its combination of a low exemption amount ($338,333) and low top tax rate (7 percent).

The tax base for these taxes (aside from the exemption amounts) generally parallels the federal
estate tax. The most common exemption amount is $1 million (six states and the District of
Columbia). Three states have exemptions ($5,120,000 for 2012 deaths) tied to the federal
exemption; one state (Illinois), a $3.5 million exemption, one (Vermont), a $2.75 million
exemption, and two, $2 million exemptions. Three states (Hawaii, Ohio, and Washington)
deviate from the top rate under the old federal credit rate for state death taxes of 16 percent.
Table 3 provides the detail on exemption amounts and top tax rates for the state estate taxes for
decedents dying during 2012.

Five legislatures enacted significant changes in their estate taxes in their 2011 and 2012
legislative sessions. The Oregon Legislature converted its estate tax from one based on the
federal credit to a tax based on state definitions, starting with decedents dying in 2012, but with
the same $1 million exemption and 16 percent top rate. (The voters in Oregon rejected a ballot
initiative at the 2012 general election to phase out the Oregon estate tax.) The Maine estate tax
will make a similar transition in 2013, but with an increase in its exemption amount from $1
million to $2 million and a drop in its top rate to 12 percent. The Ohio estate tax is repealed,
effective January 1, 2013. Illinois increased its exemption to $3.5 million for 2012 deaths and to
$4 million for deaths after December 31, 2012. Hawaii increased its exemption to the amount of
the federal exemption and provided a state rate schedule with a top rate of 15.7 percent, effective
for deaths after January 25, 2012.

Table 3

State Estate Taxes Applicable to 2012 Deaths
(as of September 30, 2012)

Basis for Rate

State Exemption Amount Schedule Top Statutory Rate
Connecticut’ $2 million State specific 12%
Delaware® $5,120,000 Federal credit 16%

(indexed for inflation, based

on federal exemption)
District of Columbia® $1 million Federal credit 16%
Hawaii’ $5,120,000 State specific 16%

(indexed for inflation, based
on federal exemption)

Illinois® $3.5 million Federal credit 15.7%

(increases to $4 million,
effective January 1, 2013)
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Table 3
State Estate Taxes Applicable to 2012 Deaths
(as of September 30, 2012)
. Basis for Rate
State Exemption Amount Schedule Top Statutory Rate
Maine’ $1 million Federal credit 16%
(increases to $2 million, (state-specific tax w/top rate | (state-specific tax w/top
effective January 1, 2013) of 12%, effective January 1, | rate of 12%, effective
2013) January 1, 2013)
Maryland® $1 million Federal credit 16%
Massachusetts’ $1 million Federal credit 16%
Minnesota'’ $1 million Federal credit 16%
New Jersey'' $675,000 Federal credit 16%
New York'" $1 million Federal credit 16%
North Carolina' $5,120,000 Federal credit 16%
(indexed for inflation, based
on federal exemption)
Ohio'*
(tax repealed, effective $338,333 State specific 7%
January 1, 2013)
Oregon"’ $1 million State specific 16%
Rhode Island'® $892,865 Federal credit 16%
(indexed for inflation)
Vermont'’ $2.75 million Federal credit 16%
Washington'® $2 million State specific 19%

States that base their taxes on the amount of the federal credit under prior
federal law have “bubble”” marginal rates on estates valued just above the

exemption amount

Table 4 shows the rate schedule for the federal credit for state death taxes. For states, like
Minnesota, that base their estate taxes on the old federal credit, this is essentially the state estate

tax rate schedule.

Table 4
Federal Credit for State Death Schedule

Taxable estate equal Taxable estate is Credit

to or more than: less than: rate:
$0 $100,000 0.0%
100,000 150,000 0.8%
150,000 200,000 1.6%
200,000 300,000 2.4%
300,000 500,000 3.2%
500,000 700,000 4.0%
700,000 900,000 4.8%
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Table 4
Federal Credit for State Death Schedule
Taxable estate equal Taxable estate is Credit
to or more than: less than: rate:
900,000 1,100,000 5.6%
1,100,000 1,600,000 6.4%
1,600,000 2,100,000 7.2%
2,100,000 2,600,000 8.0%
2,600,000 3,100,000 8.8%
3,100,000 3,600,000 9.6%
3,600,000 4,100,000 10.4%
4,100,000 5,100,000 11.2%
5,100,000 6,100,000 12.0%
6,100,000 7,100,000 12.8%
7,100,000 8,100,000 13.6%
8,100,000 9,100,000 14.4%
9,100,000 10,100,000 15.2%
10,100,000 16.0%
Source: L.R.C. § 2011 (combines credit table and definition of
adjusted taxable estate, which is taxable value less $60,000)

Although the Table 4 rates are essentially the rate schedule for these state taxes based on the old
federal credit, an important qualifier applies to estates with taxable values modestly above the
applicable state exemption amount—higher tax rates apply to a small range of values. This
somewhat counterintuitive result follows from the nature of the federal credit computation,
which determines the tax liability. The allowable federal credit equaled the lesser of:

1. The federal credit amount (i.e., the amount calculated under Table 4’s schedule) or

2. The amount of the federal estate tax calculated under the federal rate schedule—for most
states, under the 2001 version of the federal estate tax.

Factor #2 (the limitation to the amount of federal tax liability) results in higher marginal rates
until the computation under factor #1 is larger. Since the pre-2001 federal tax rates ranged from
18 percent to 55 percent, higher marginal rates apply to values just over the exemption amount
than the credit rates in Table 4. For example, the marginal rate on taxable values between $1
million and about $1.1 million is 41 percent for a state tax with a $1 million exemption. The full
amount of the federal tax above the exemption/credit amount qualified for the credit for state
death taxes, so as estate values increase, the credit (state tax) rises at the federal tax rate, not the
credit rate in Table 4. This includes the credit amount on the estate value below the exemption
amount. As a result, the marginal tax rate for a state, like Minnesota, with a $1 million
exemption is 41 percent on values of an estate just over $1 million until the full state death tax
credit amount is reached for that value estate.'” For estate taxes with $2 million exemptions or
$3.5 million exemptions, the marginal rates would be higher or lower (depending upon which
version of federal tax computation is used for the limitation—the 2001 or the 2011), because the
applicable federal estate tax rates for those estates differ.
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In essence, this peculiar feature of these state taxes takes away the benefit of the exemption
amount as estate values increase for these estates. It is worth noting that tax always continues to
rise as the value of the estate increases. Put another way, this “bubble” rate for certain value
estates never causes the tax (or the average or effective rate of tax) on a lower valued estate to
exceed that on an estate with a higher taxable value.”’

Marginal rates are important considerations in the design of an income tax, since they directly
affect the incentive to earn (or report) income. It is less clear that these bubble marginal rates
under estate taxes are important as a policy matter. These rates apply across a relatively narrow
range of taxable value of estates. The tax is a onetime tax and most individuals will not know
whether their estates will fall into this narrow range of values on the (unknown) date in the future
when they die. Thus, these high marginal rates probably do not affect behavior much, if at all, in
setting up estate plans, making domicile decisions, or taking similar actions. The average or total
rate of tax is probably the more important effect on behavior or planning in the context of estate
and inheritance taxes.”'

State-defined estate taxes (Connecticut, Hawaii, Ohio, Oregon, and Washington currently and
Maine for 2013 deaths) do not have this peculiar feature. Maryland has limited its tax so that the
marginal rates do not exceed the top 16 percent credit rate, unless the federal death tax credit

C 22
applies.

State Inheritance Taxes

Eight states impose inheritance taxes on 2012 deaths (two of these supplement
estate taxes)

In 2001, 11 states imposed inheritance or succession taxes in addition to pickup estate taxes.
Since 2001, three of these state taxes (Connecticut, Louisiana, and New Hampshire) have been
repealed or expired under previously enacted legislation. In their 2012 legislative sessions,
Indiana and Tennessee repealed their inheritance taxes—Indiana for deaths after December 31,
2021, and Tennessee for deaths after December 31, 2015. The Indiana tax is reduced by
proportionately reducing the tax (with a tax credit) each year until it is fully phased out in 2022,
while Tennessee increases the exemption amounts each year, decreasing the number of bequests
that are subject to tax until the tax is fully phased out in 2016.

Table 5 lists the states with inheritance taxes, the exemption amount, and top rates for lineal heirs
and collateral heirs for deaths in 2012.

Table 5
State Inheritance Taxes for 2012 Deaths
State Exemption - Top rate — Exemption — Top rate -
lineal heirs lineal heirs | collateral heirs** | collateral heirs
Indiana $250,000% 10%°° $100% 20%*
(phasing out; eliminated
for 2022 deaths)
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Table 5
State Inheritance Taxes for 2012 Deaths
State Exemption — Top rate - Exemption — Top rate -
lineal heirs™ lineal heirs | collateral heirs** | collateral heirs
Towa unlimited” N.A. $25,000™ 15%"!
Kentucky unlimited” N.A. $500° 16%**
Maryland* unlimited™® N.A. $1,000* 10%°’
Nebraska $40,000° 1% $10,000* 18%"
New Jersey* unlimited* N.A. $500* 16%*
Pennsylvania $3,500% 4.5%"* 0 15%"
Tennessee $1,000,000* 9.5%" $1,000,000%° 9.5%"'
(phasing out; eliminated
for 2016 deaths)
* States with estate taxes in addition to the inheritance tax

Several observations can be made regarding the characteristics of the inheritance taxes relative to
the state estate taxes:

The exemptions for surviving spouses and lineal heirs (typically parents, children, and
grandchildren of the decedent) in four states (Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, and New
Jersey) eliminate tax liability altogether for what are likely the most common heirs. This
dramatically reduces the burden of these taxes. However, two of these states (Maryland
and New Jersey) also have estate taxes.

The exemptions for these taxes are typically quite a bit lower than for the estate taxes.
Putting aside the four states with unlimited exemptions for lineal heirs, this should result
in many more estates being subject to the taxes.

The tax rates on bequests to collateral heirs tend to be comparable to or higher than the
rates under most state estate taxes.

Two states, Maryland and New Jersey, have both inheritance and estate taxes. This
seeming quirk resulted from the history of these states having an inheritance tax and a
pickup estate tax to take advantage of the federal credit for state death taxes. When the
federal credit was repealed, these two states (unlike the other six states with inheritance
taxes) chose to maintain their estate taxes, rather than allowing them to expire or
repealing them. The estate taxes, however, are reduced by the amount of the inheritance
tax paid, so the two taxes are not additive.
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Gift Taxes

Connecticut is the only state to impose a stand-alone gift tax

In recent years, few states have imposed stand-alone gift taxes; that is, taxes that apply regardless
of when the gift is made. When EGTRRA was enacted in 2001, four states imposed true gift
taxes. Louisiana repealed its gift tax in 2007 after it repealed its inheritance tax.”> North
Carolina repealed its gift tax in 2008. In 2012, Tennessee repealed its stand-alone gift tax.>*
This leaves Connecticut as the only state with a gift tax. (Minnesota repealed its gift tax in 1979,
as part of the transition to imposing only a pickup estate tax.™)

Nine states impose their estate or inheritance tax on gifts made in
contemplation of death or shortly before death

Nine states have provisions designed to tax gifts that are made in contemplation of death or
within a period of time before the donor’s death. These rules are intended to prevent the use of
“deathbed” or similar gifts to avoid paying estate or inheritance tax on these transfers. Most of
the states with these rules had stand-alone inheritance or estate taxes when EGTRRA was
enacted. States relying exclusively on pickup taxes had little reason to maintain these rules,
since the structure of the federal estate tax did not reward deathbed gifts with tax savings.

States with estate taxes based on the federal credit and states with stand-alone taxes that do not
make provisions for taxing gifts made shortly before or in contemplation of death are now
subject to deathbed gift-planning strategies. For these states, a deathbed gift removes the gifted
property from the taxable estate and can provide a significant reduction in state tax.’® The
increase in the federal gift tax exemption, enacted as part of TRUIRJCA for 2011 and 2012 (see
box on page 5), to $5 million increases the attractiveness of this strategy, since no federal
transfer tax would be incurred to make the gift. Previously, gifts over $1 million would have
incurred federal gift tax. If the estate was unlikely to incur federal estate tax (e.g., the taxable
value was less than the federal exemption amount), the federal gift tax liability would have
exceeded the state tax savings. The $5 million exemption eliminates that barrier. This may
create an impetus for these states to enact gift taxes or gift-in-contemplation-of-death rules to
counteract the stronger incentive for deathbed gifts resulting from the increase in the federal gift
tax exemption.

Table 6 summarizes the state gift tax and gift-in-contemplation-of-death rules.

Table 6
Taxation of Gifts
State Type of Gift tax Top rate | Gifts-in-contemplation-of-death
death tax of gift tax rules
Connecticut Estate Unified with 12%" N.A.
estate tax

Indiana Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfer made one year before

date of death presumed to be in

contemplation of death®®
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Table 6
Taxation of Gifts
State Type of Gift tax Top rate | Gifts-in-contemplation-of-death
death tax of gift tax rules
Iowa Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfers above the federal gift

tax exclusion within three years
of death, other than bona fide
sales, are taxable®

Kentucky Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfers of material part of
estate made three years before
death construed prima facie to be
made in contemplation of death®

Maryland Inheritance N.A. N.A. Gifts made within two years of
and estate the date of death are taxable
under the inheritance tax®'
Massachusetts Estate N.A. N.A. Transfers (including under

powers of appointment) made
within three years of decedent’s
death are included in gross
estate®

Nebraska Inheritance N.A. N.A. Gifts made within three years of
the date of death subject to
inheritance taxation®

New Jersey Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfers within three years of
death deemed made in
contemplation of death, absent
proof to the contrary®

Ohio Estate N.A. N.A. Transfers made within three years
of death presumed to be made in
contemplation of death, unless the
contrary is shown®

Pennsylvania | Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfers greater than $3,000
made within one year of date of
death are taxable®
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State-Only QTIPs

Allowing a state qualified terminable interest property (QTIP) election that
differs from the federal election allows a married couple to defer paying state
tax without forgoing the full federal exemption when the first spouse dies

The exemption amounts under most state inheritance and estate taxes are lower than that allowed
under the federal estate tax. (For 2012 deaths, only three states, Delaware, Hawaii, and North

Carolina, with estate taxes allowed an exemption as large as federal estate tax’s exemption.) The
differences in the exemption amounts create difficult choices for married couples and their estate

planners. When the federal and state exemptions are the same, a standard planning strategy for
married couples is to fund a credit shelter trust up to the federal and state exemption amount on
the death of the first spouse with the remainder of the estate passing to the surviving spouse and
qualifying for the marital deduction. When the federal and state exemption amounts are equal,
this approach avoids both federal and state tax on the first death and avoids wasting any of the
first spouse’s exemption (which would have occurred if the whole estate simply passed to the
surviving spouse). If the exemption amount increases later (or tax rates are reduced), as

occasionally occurred, these changes operate to
reduce the taxes on the combined estate of the
couple. Thus, the choice was relatively easy.

A state exemption amount that is lower than the
federal exemption presents a sort of Hobson
choice when the first spouse dies. The executor or
personal representative can opt to defer both
federal and state tax by putting only the amount of
the state exemption in the credit shelter trust. But
this wastes part of the federal exemption and, thus,
potentially subjects the estate to a higher federal
estate tax on the death of the second spouse.” On
the other hand, the executor could opt to fund the
credit shelter trust at the higher federal exemption
amount and pay the (lower) state tax to avoid this
risk. However, it is possible that the federal
exemption will increase to exempt the entire
remaining estate or the entire federal tax will be
repealed by the time the second spouse dies. In
this circumstance, payment of state tax to avoid
the possibility of a higher federal tax later would
have been unnecessary. Obviously, there is no
“right” answer given the uncertainty as to: (1)
when the second spouse will die and the value of
the estate at that time, and (2) what the federal and
state estate taxes will look like when that happens.
The portability of the federal estate tax exemption,
enacted by Congress as part of TRUIRJCA in

Portability of the Federal Exemption

Under portability, when the first spouse dies,
the surviving spouse inherits the unused
exemption; the unused exemption is not
“lost.” Portability could obviate many of the
planning challenges described in the text.
On the death of the first spouse, the state
exemption amount could be put in the credit
shelter trust, relying on portability to
preserve the unused exemption for the
surviving spouse.

But portability may not solve all of the
planning problems:

e The provision is temporary (through
December 31, 2012) with no
assurance Congress will make it
permanent.

e Remarriage may eliminate some or
all of its benefits.

e Some may prefer to put the higher
amount in a credit shelter trust
anyway so that increases in value
during the surviving spouse’s life are
shielded from federal estate tax.

Nevertheless, the urgency to allow state-only
QTIP elections should diminish.
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2010, ameliorates, but may not fully solve this problem. See the discussion in the box entitled
“Portability of the Federal Exemption.”

To provide more flexibility to planners, many states with estate or inheritance taxes allow
differing QTIP elections for state and federal tax purposes. QTIP trusts are a standard estate tax
planning tool for married couples. See the box entitled “QTIP Rules” for the definition of the
QTIP property. They allow electing the amount of the trust that will qualify for the marital
deduction. The rest or nonelected part of the QTIP trust can be used to remove property from the
estate of the surviving spouse for estate tax purposes, while still providing income to the
surviving spouse and limiting to whom the property will ultimately go. By allowing a different
QTIP amount for state and federal tax purposes, the full exemption amounts for both taxes can
be claimed, while also deferring tax under both

taxes under the last spouse dies.

How this works can be most easily explained with QTIP Rules

an example. Assume a married couple has a A primary advantage of QTIP property is
combined estate of $4 million ($2 million owned by | that the full value of the property qualifies
each spouse), and their estate plan includes a QTIP | for the marital deduction (avoiding tax on
trust. The first spouse dies in 2008, when the state | the death of the first spouse), although only
exemption is $1 million and the federal exemption a h“?“."' d income ln;er;St ISTI%f)t to thert th
is $2 million. If the QTIP election must be ;:)llrlvol \:/vﬁgg ir;i)tlelifa ml(l)St Ee?met: property, the
identical for federal and state purposes, the personal

representative must choose whether to elect a *  The property must be owned by the
marital deduction of zero (thereby maximizing the decedent

federal exemption by allowing the full $2 millionto | e The surviving spouse must have a right
pass into the credit shelter trust) or $1 million to all of the income, payable at least
(thereby deferring state tax, but “wasting” $1 annually, from the property for life
million of the federal exemption). By contrast, e No one else may have a power of
allowing different QTIP elections will allow the appointment over the property until the
personal representative to elect a marital amount of surviving spouse dies

zero for federal purposes and $1 million for state
purposes. This allows deferring both taxes without

e A QTIP election must be made

wasting the federal exemption.”® Table 7 below
shows the different taxable estates under the alternative approaches using simplifying
assumptions: both spouses die in 2008, there are no other deductions, and so forth. As can be
seen in the table, allowing differing state and federal elections allows an alternative to the
difficult choice of whether or not to pay state tax on the first death to avoid a potentially higher
federal tax on the second death. Ignoring appreciation in assets or income earned between the
two deaths and the time value of money, the state taxable amount remains the same, while the
estate is permitted to avoid the maximum amount of federal tax.
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Table 7
Taxable Estates Under Alternative QTIP Election Scenarios
First spouse Second Spouse Combined
Federal State Federal State Federal MN

federal exemption
amount

Uniform election of 0| $1 million

0| $1 million

0| $2 million

Uniform election of 0
state exemption
amount

$1 million

$2 million

$1 million | $2 million

Differing elections* 0

0

0| $2 million

0| $2million

the exemptions for 2008 apply to both deaths.

*Election of state exemption amount; federal election of federal exemption.
Assumptions: Each spouse has $2 million in property, no other deductions (beside marital deduction) apply, and

A number of states with estate or inheritance taxes allow differing QTIP elections, under
legislation, rulings by the state tax administrators, or administrative policies. Table 8 lists the
states, broken down by whether the rule is based on an administrative ruling or legislation.

Table 8
States Allowing Separate QTIP Elections
Authorized by:

State Legislation  Administratively
Illinois x*
Indiana x"°
Hawaii x"!
Kentucky x"?
Maine X"
Maryland x"*
Massachusetts x"
Ohio x°
Oregon x'
Pennsylvania x'
Rhode Island X"
Tennessee x*
Washington x"!

Connecticut has a rule that allows a state QTIP that differs from the federal election, but only if

no federal QTIP election is made.®

That provides flexibility to a planner to have differing

federal and state exemption amounts, but only by forgoing making a federal QTIP election.
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New York® allows a state QTIP election for estates that are not subject to federal estate tax.
Minnesota® allows a state QTIP election for estates that opted out of the federal estate tax for
2010 deaths. These two state-only QTIPs, however, do not address the situation in which estate
planners wish to use a separate state QTIP election to use the full federal exemption amount and
avoid paying state tax on the death of the first spouse.

Revenues Yielded by the Taxes

Table 9 shows the annual revenues yielded by the state taxes® and the Minnesota estate tax for
the 20002011 period. As shown, state revenues for the nation as a whole declined by about 45
percent over this period (from $8 billion in 2000 to $4.4 billion in 2011), as many states allowed
their taxes to expire or reduced or repealed them with the repeal of the federal credit. The
change in revenues net of the federal credit for state death taxes is even more dramatic, but in the
opposite direction, going from a net state tax burden of $1.5 billion in 2000 to $4.4 billion in
2011. Minnesota’s revenues fluctuate significantly from year to year, but have grown over the
period, reflecting the stability of its tax parameters and the general growth in asset values. The
contrast between Minnesota revenues (which have grown substantially) and national revenues
(which have declined substantially) show the effects of policy changes, since Minnesota’s tax
remained largely unchanged over the period, while most states repealed, allowed their taxes to
expire, or reduced their transfer taxes.

Table 9
State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Tax Revenues
Fiscal Years 2000 - 2011
(amounts in thousands)
Federal credit | Revenues net
Total state % for state death of federal Minnesota %
Year revenues | change taxes credit revenues | change
2000 $7,998.210 $6,500,641 $1,497,569 $82,516
2001 7,499,439 -6.2% 6,318,812 1,180,627 53,377 -35.3%
2002 7,384,434 -1.5% 5,751,539 1,632,895 66,291 24.2%
2003 6,685,304 -9.5% 4,745,610 1,939,694 127,687 92.6%
2004 5,731,709 | -14.3% 3,178,663 2,553,046 87,022 -31.8%
2005 5,339,548 -6.8% 1,861,784 3,477,764 68,952 -20.8%
2006 4,960,948 -71.1% 261,535 4,699,413 212,881 208.7%
2007 4,923,712 -0.8% Not reported 4,923,712 107,599 -49.5%
2008 5,100,680 3.6% | Not reported 5,100,680 115,523 7.4%
2009 4,669,184 -8.5% | Not reported 4,669,184 129,811 12.4%
2010 3,891,364 -16.7% Not reported 3,891,364 148,422 14.3%
2011 4,488,803 15.4% Not reported 4,488,803 161,309 8.7%
Sources: State revenues from U.S. Census Bureau, http://www.census.gov/govs/statetax/
Federal credit amounts from Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income Division,
http://www.irs.gov/taxstats/indtaxstats/article/0,,id=210646,00.html

For more information about estate taxes, visit the miscellaneous taxes area of our website,
www.house.mn/hrd/.
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Endnotes

! Some state taxes were automatically linked to changes in federal law. For those states repeal of the federal
credit reduced the state tax, unless the state legislature took action to “decouple” from the federal law. Thus,
legislative inaction would cause the tax to expire. Other states linked their taxes to the federal tax as it existed on a
specific date or as it applied to decedents dying up to a specific date. For those states, elimination of the tax would
take positive legislative action. Most states fell into the former category, while a few states (including Minnesota)
were in the latter. Some states, like Minnesota, are prohibited constitutionally from delegating to Congress the
ability to modify their tax laws, so they cannot automatically adopt most future changes in federal law. See, e.g.,
Wallace v. Commr of Taxation, 184 N.W.2d 588 (Minn. 1971).

% Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-391, http://www.cga.ct.gov/2012/sup/chap217.htm#Sec12-391.htm (accessed August 1,
2012).

* Del. Code Ann. tit. 30, ch. 15, http://delcode.delaware.gov/title30/c015/index.shtml (accessed August 1,
2012).

*D.C. Code Ann. §§ 47-3701— 47-3723.

> Act 220, signed by governor on July 5, 2012, http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2012/bills/GM 1323 _.pdf
(accessed August 1, 2012).

635 111. Comp. Stat. § 405/1 (2012), http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp? ActID=609&ChapterID=8
(accessed August 2, 2012).

" Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 36, §§ 4061 — 4079,
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/36/title36¢h575sec0.html (accessed on September 28, 2011). As
noted in the table, as a result of legislation enacted in 2011, the Maine exemption amount will increase to $2 million
and the top rate will drop to 12 percent. Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 36 ch. 577,
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/36/title36ch577sec0.html (accessed August 2, 2012).

¥ Md. Code Ann., Tax-Gen. §§ 7-301 — 7.309 (LexisNexis 2010).

’ Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 65c, http://www.malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/Partl/TitleIX/Chapter65C
(accessed August 2, 2012).

' Minn. Stat. ch. 291, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291 (accessed August 2, 2012).

"'N.J. Stat. Ann. § 54:38-1 (2010).

2 N.Y. Tax Law §§ 951-961 (2010).

P N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-32.2 (2010),
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/ByArticle/Chapter _105/Article 1 A.pdf (accessed
August 2, 2012).

'* Ohio Rev. Code Ann. ch. 5731, http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5731 (accessed August 2, 2012). The Ohio estate
tax is repealed, effective for decedents dying on or after January 1, 2013. Amended Substitute House Bill 153,
http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/BillText129/129 HB 153 EN N.html (accessed August 2, 2012).

' Or. Rev. Stat. ch. 118 (2009), http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/118.html (accessed September 30, 2011). The
Oregon tax became a state-specific tax for decedents dying in 2012 with a $1 million exemption and a top rate of 16
percent. Or. Rev. Stat § 118.031 (2011), http://www.leg.state.or.us/1 1orlaws/sess0500.dir/0526.pdf (accessed
August 2, 2012).

'R 1. Gen. Laws § 44-22-1.1, http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/ TITLE44/44-22/44-22-1.1. HTM (accessed
September 30, 2011); indexed dollar amount of the exemption is from the Rhode Island Department of Revenue,
Division of Taxation website, http://www.tax.ri.gov/taxforms/estate.php (accessed August 2, 2012).

7 Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 7442a (2010),
http://www.leg.state.vt.us/statutes/fullsection.cfm?Title=32&Chapter=190&Section=07442a (accessed August 2,
2012) (exclusion set at $2.75 million); 2010 Vt. Acts & Resolves, No. 160 § 33c¢ (d) (stating legislature’s intent for
decedents dying in 2012 and later to set the exemption at the federal amount, but not less than $2 million or more
than $3.5 million), http://www.leg.state.vt.us/DOCS/2010/ACTS/ACT160.PDF (accessed August 2, 2012).

'8 Wash. Rev. Code ch. 83.100, http:/apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=83.100 (accessed August 2, 2012).

' Thus, in a state with a $1 million exemption, a 41 percent rate would apply to the first about $95,000 of the
estate’s value above $1 million. At that point the additional tax for added value would be determined under the rates
in Table 4.

20 As a result, despite the peculiar shape of the curve resulting from plotting the marginal rates (rising and then
falling), this does not undercut the progressivity of an estate tax using this computational method. The tax burden
and average tax rates consistently rise under these taxes as estate values rise. Similar rising and falling effective
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marginal rates apply under the federal and some state income taxes as a result of the phase out of exemptions,
deductions, and credits that cause tax to rise over narrow ranges of income more rapidly than the statutory rate as
income increases. For a discussion of these effects, see, for example, Daniel N. Shaviro, “Effective Marginal Tax
Rates on Low-Income Households,” Tax Notes 84 (1999): 1191.

*! The bubble rates could, however, encourage the personal representatives for an estate with a value in the
narrow range to incur higher deductible costs of administration, because these expenses would have a lower
effective price as a result of the high estate tax rates. Similarly, they could encourage deathbed gifts as discussed on
page 10.

2 Md. Ann. Code § 7-309(b)(3)(ii), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/statutes_respond.asp?article=gtg&section=7-
309&Extension=HTML (accessed August 2, 2012).

% Lineal heirs are typically children, grandchildren, and parents. Practices vary as to whether spouses (e.g.,
sons-in-law or daughters-in-law) are included.

2% Collateral heirs include cousins, aunts, uncles, and unrelated individuals. Some states have intermediate
classes of beneficiaries—e.g., typically brothers and sisters (who in other states may be class A or C beneficiaries).
2 Ind. Code § 6-4.1-3-10, http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/2010/title6/ar4.1/ch3.html (accessed August 2,

2012). The legislation phasing out the Indiana inheritance tax also expanded the types individuals that qualify as
Class A beneficiaries (e.g., to include spouses of children and stepchildren) and thus qualify for this exemption
amount (rather than the lower $500 or $100 exemptions, which the legislation left unchanged). These changes are
summarized in a directive from the Indiana Commissioner of Revenue. Indiana Commissioner’s Directive #44
(April 2012), http://www.in.gov/dor/reference/files/cd44.pdf (accessed August 2, 2012).

% Ind. Code § 6-4.1-5-1(b), http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch5.html (accessed August 2,
2012); starting for 2013 deaths a credit applies providing for the ten-year phaseout of the tax. The credit begins at
10 percent for 2013 deaths and increases by ten percentage points for each calendar year after that until the tax is
eliminated in 2022. Ind. Code § 6-4.1-5-5-1.1.

" Ind. Code. § 6-4.1-3-12, http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch3.html (accessed August 2,
2012).

* Ind. Code § 6-4.1-5-1(d), http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch5.html (accessed August 2,
2012); starting for 2013 deaths a credit applies providing for the ten-year phaseout of the tax. The credit begins at
10 percent for 2013 deaths and increases by ten percentage points for each calendar year after that until the tax is
eliminated in 2022. Ind. Code § 6-4.1-5-5-1.1.

¥ Jowa Code § 450.10 (6) (2011).

%% This exemption is for the entire estate, not an individual bequest. Iowa Code § 450.4 (1) (2011).

3! Towa Code § 450.10 (2) (2011). The top rate on bequests to a brother, sister, son-in-law, or daughter-in-law
is 10 percent. Iowa Code § 450.10 (1) (2011).

32 Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.080(1)(c)(4) (2012), http://www.lrc.ky.gov/KRS/140-00/080.PDF (accessed August 2,
2012).

3 Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.080(1)(e) (2012), http://www.lrc.state.ky.us/KRS/140-00/080.PDF (accessed August 2,
2012).

** Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.070(3) (2012), http://www.Irc.state.ky.us/KRS/140-00/070.PDF (accessed August 2,
2012).

* Md. Code, Tax-Gen. § 7-203(b)(2) (2012), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles_net/pdf output/gtg/7-203.pdf
(accessed August 2, 2012).

% Md. Code, Tax-Gen, § 7-203(g) (2012), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles_net/pdf output/gtg/7-203.pdf
(accessed August 2, 2012). In addition, to the $1,000 exemption per recipient, the tax does not apply to an estate
with a value of less than $50,000. Md. Code, Tax-Gen. § 7-203(h),
http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles_net/pdf output/gtg/7-203.pdf (accessed August 2, 2012); Md. Code, Estate &
Trusts, § 5-601(a) (2012), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles net/pdf output/get/5-601.pdf (accessed August 2,
2012).

7 Md. Code, Tax-Gen., § 7-204(b) (2012), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles net/pdf output/gtg/7-204.pdf
(accessed August 2, 2012).

¥ Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-2004, http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2004 (accessed
August 2, 2012).

% Id. These reduced rates also apply to brothers and sisters.

0 Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-2006, http:/nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2006 (accessed
August 2, 2012).
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“'1d.

“2NLJ. Stat. § 54:34-2a (2) (2010).

B NLJ. Stat. § 54:34-1 (2010).

*NLJ. Stat. § 54:34-2d (2010).

* This is the family exemption amount, which may not apply in all circumstances (e.g., if the recipient is not a
member of the decedent’s household). 20 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 3121; 72 Pa. Cons. Stat. §§ 9127.

4072 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 9116(a)(1).

4772 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 9116(a)(2).

* The exemption increases to $1,250,000 for 2013 deaths, to $2 million for 2014 deaths, and $5 million for
2015 deaths, and the tax is eliminated beginning for 2016 deaths. Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-8-316 (b) (2011), as
amended by Tenn. Pub. Act ch. 1057, http://www.tn.gov/sos/acts/107/pub/pc1057.pdf (accessed August 2, 2012).
This exemption applies to bequests made to all beneficiaries (i.e., it is not a per-beneficiary exemption). This makes
the Tennessee inheritance tax structurally like an estate tax. The exemption amount and tax rates and brackets apply
to the value of the estate and do not appear to vary based on the recipients of bequests or gifts.

* Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-8-314 (b) (2011).

%% See note 48.

> Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-8-314 (b) (2011).

22007 La. Act 371, http://www.legis.state.la.us/billdata/streamdocument.asp?did=451028 (accessed July 9,
2010).

332007 N.C. Sess. Laws 2008-107 § 28.18.(a), available here:
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2007/Bills/House/PDF/H2436v9.pdf (accessed July 9, 2010).

> Tenn. Pub. Act ch. 1057, http://www.tn.gov/sos/acts/107/pub/pc1057.pdf (accessed August 2, 2012).

331979 Minn. Laws ch. 303, art. 3 § 41.

%% As states decoupled, estate planners began suggesting deathbed gift strategies as a way to minimize state
estate taxes. See, e.g., Andy Kremer, “New Gifting Incentives: Return of the Deathbed Transfer,” Bench & Bar of
Minnesota 61 (September 2004); Debra L. Stetter, “Deathbed Gifts: A Savings Opportunity for Residents of
Decoupled States,” Estate Planning 31 (2004): 270. Because the recipient takes a carryover basis, a deathbed gift
strategy could have adverse individual income tax consequences if appreciated property is given. Giving cash avoids
this problem, of course. If the donor does not have cash, it may be possible to borrow on margin to fund the gift.

>7 The top rate applies to gifts over $10.1 million. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-642 (2012 Suppl.),
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2012/sup/chap228c.htm (accessed August 2, 2012).

** Ind. Code § 6-4.1-2-4, http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/2010/title6/ar4.1/ch2.html (accessed August 2, 2012).
The presumption is rebuttable.

> Towa Code § 450.3(2) (2011).

50 Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.020(2) (2012), http://www.lrc.state.ky.us/KRS/140-00/020.PDF (accessed August 2,
2012). For transfers made more than three years before death, it is a question of fact whether a gift was made in
contemplation of death.

1 Md. Code, Tax-Gen § 7-201(d)(1)(iii) (2012), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles_net/pdf output/gtg/7-
201.pdf (accessed August 2, 2012). This appears to be a bright-line rule. In addition, other transfers shown to be in
contemplation of tax are taxable.

62 Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 65C § 1(d),
http://www.malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/Partl/TitleIX/Chapter65C/Sectionl.

% Rule applies only if a federal gift tax return is required to be filed and transfers outside of the three-year
period are not subject to tax. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2002 (2),
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2002 (accessed August 2, 2012).

8 N.J. Rev. Stat. § 54:34-1.c (2010).

% Ohio Rev. Code § 5731.05, http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5731.05 (accessed September 30, 2011). Transfers
outside of the three-year period are not subject to tax. An exception is made for the first $10,000 of transfers made
to each transferee.

6672 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 9107(c)(3).

57 This could also result in higher state tax. In some circumstances, the tax on the first estate would be at a
lower rate than the value that is added to the second estate by deferral. This potential rate differential may be offset
by the time value of the money, depending upon when the second death occurs.

% It is likely that in most cases this strategy will minimize the total tax burden. However, it is also possible to
imagine scenarios in which it could result in higher total state taxes. One side benefit of the approach—not
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applicable in the example used because there is no federal estate tax obligation—is that it concentrates payment of
state estate tax in a year in which it can be used to reduce the amount of the federal taxable estate.

9 111. Comp. Stat. § 405/2(b-1) (2012), http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp? ActID=609& ChapterID=8
(accessed August 2, 2012).

" Ind. Code § 6-4.1-3-7, http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch3.html (accessed August 2, 2012).

" Dept. of Taxation, Tax Information Release No. 2010-09 (Oct. 6, 2010), http://www6.hawaii.gov/tax/tir/tir10-
09.pdf (accessed August 15,2012). Since Hawaii’s exemption equals the federal amount for deaths after January
25,2012, a separate state election is less important as a technique for deferring state tax until the death of the second
spouse.

2 Robert M. Arlen and David Pratt, “The New York (and Other States) Death Tax Trap,” The Florida Bar
Journal (October 2003): fn. 25, reports that Kentucky allows this practice. An email response from an official at
the Kentucky Department of Revenue confirmed that Kentucky does this, but has no formal statute or ruling on the
issue.

3 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36 § 4062 (2-B),
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/36/title36sec4062.html (accessed August 2, 2012); for decedents
dying after December 31, 2012, Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit 36 § 4102 governs,
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/36/title36sec4 102.html (accessed August 2, 2012).

" Md. Code, Gen-Tax § 7-309(b)(5)(ii), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles_net/pdf output/gtg/7-309.pdf
(accessed August 2, 2012).

> Mass. Dept. of Revenue, “Estate Tax Issues Arising from Decoupling the Massachusetts Estate Tax from the
Federal Estate Tax,” DOR Directive 03-2 (February 19, 2003), http://bit.ly/9g7UWa (accessed July 11, 2010).

7% Ohio Rev. Code § 5731.15 (B), http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5731.15 (accessed September 30, 2011). The
interpretation that this allows a different amount than the federal election was confirmed by email response from the
Ohio Department of Revenue, dated January 1, 2004.

"7 Or. Rev. Stat. § 118.016 (special property election); http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/118.html (accessed August
2,2012).

872 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 9113.

" R.I. Div. of Taxation Declaratory Rulings, Ruling Request No. 2003-03 (April 16, 2003),
http://www.tax.state.ri.us/declaratoryrulings/r2003-03.php (accessed July 12, 2010).

% Tenn. Code §§ 67-8-304 (10)(A); 67-8-315(a)(6) (2011).

81 Wash. Rev. Code § 83.100.047, effective January 1, 2014, by administrative rule registered domestic partners
will qualify as surviving spouses for purposes of the Washington QTIP election,
http: //apps leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=83.100.047 (accessed August 2, 2012).

%2 Conn. Dept. of Revenue Services, 2005 Legislation Repealing the Succession Tax and Amending the
Connecticut Gift Tax and the Connecticut Estate Tax, SN 2005 (10), pp. 3-4 (10/7/2005), available at
http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/publications/pubssn/2005/sn05-10.pdf (accessed September 25, 2012).

% New York provided administrative guidance that an estate that is not subject to federal tax (either because the
federal tax is not in effect or because the value of the estate is less than the exemption amount) could elect a New
York QTIP amount. N.Y. State Dept. of Taxation and Finance, “Qualified Terminal Interest Property (QTIP)
Election for New York State Purposes When No Federal Return is Required,” (March 16, 2010),
http://www.tax.state.ny.us/pdf/memos/estate_& gift/m10_1m.pdf (accessed July 12, 2010).

 Minn. Stat. § 291.03, subd. 1b (2011 Suppl), https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291.03 (accessed
October 14, 2011) (allowing the election only to estates that opted out of the federal estate tax in 2010 and
prohibiting the election from the reducing the estate below $3.5 million, which essentially prevents use of the
provision to defer tax on all amounts over the state exemption of $1 million).

8 The amounts are limited to state taxes and do not reflect local taxes, such as the Nebraska inheritance tax,
which is collected by counties and the revenue retained locally.
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