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WELCOME to the 2012 Minnesota hunting seasons. 
New regulations are listed below. Have a safe and enjoyable hunt. 

  NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2012
Wolf season
•	 Application materials for a wolf license will be available online in early August. 

The application deadline is Sept. 6 and online winner notification will be no later 
than Oct. 14. Further details will be announced.

Trapping/furbearers
•	 Fisher/marten season will be Nov. 24-29. Pelt registration will be Nov. 30.
•	 There are new restrictions for body-gripping traps. See page 43 for more details.  
•	 Snares may be set on land in the farmland furbearer zone from Oct. 27 to March 

31. See page 46.
•	 The height that snares may be set from the ground has increased. See page 46.

Bear
•	 There are two additional options for a hunter to identify a portable stand left 

overnight in a wildlife management area by a person hunting with a valid bear 
license. See pages  93 and 100.  

Deer
•	 Baiting restrictions have been clarified. See page 71.
•	 Deer harvested by hunters in deer areas 159, 183, 225 and 601 will be sampled for 

chronic wasting disease. 
•	 Hunters who hold a landowner deer license may purchase bonus tags for use in 

managed or intensive deer areas.
•	 Information on special deer hunts is included online and on pages 86,87,89 and 92.

Turkey
•	 Licensed turkey hunters may change permit areas within the fall or spring season 

or time periods within the spring season by submitting their original turkey license 
and unused tags along with a $5 replacement license fee.   

•	 Fall turkey licenses will no longer be distributed by lottery. They may be 
purchased online, by telephone and wherever hunting and fishing licenses are 
sold. 

Migratory birds
•	 The sandhill crane season in the northwest will open Sept. 15. See pages 38 and 96. 

Blaze orange requirements
•	 Blaze orange is not required for those taking small game by falconry and by 

archery deer hunters while stationary. See page 24.
Use of radio equipment
•	 Motorized decoys controlled by remote may be used for taking migratory 

waterfowl or mourning doves where they are otherwise legal.  Remote 
communication between handlers and dogs is also allowed. 

Online/telephone registration
•	 Hunters who register bear, elk, deer, moose, turkey or wolf by telephone or 

internet must write the confirmation number on their license and site tag.
Walk-In-Access
•	 Donations will be accepted for the walk-in-access program. See page 41.

Stamps
•	 Pictorial stamps may now be purchased for an additional $0.75.
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Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against hunters. 
Trespassing is illegal and can ruin hunters’ and the DNR’s relations with 
private landowners. This could in turn hamper habitat programs, cut off 
land access, and possibly eliminate the future of hunting in many areas of 
Minnesota. 

Always ask permission before entering private land. Any entry onto 
the private property of another without permission is considered trespass. 
Landowners may be able to pursue court action against trespassers whether the 
property is posted or not. If you are caught trespassing, you may be issued a 
citation and assessed a fine under civil penalties, and repeat violators can lose 
their license or registration. Or, if you are convicted of violating trespass laws 
under criminal procedures, you may lose your hunting privileges for up to 
two years, lose hunting equipment, and be subject to fines and possibly a jail 
sentence. All DNR conservation officers and all other licensed peace officers 
enforce trespass laws and may issue a citation to a person who trespasses in vio-
lation of the law or who removes a sign without authorization. A summary of 
the Minnesota Outdoor Recreation Trespass Law begins below.

RESTRICTIONS (See below for exceptions, definitions, and 
posting requirements)

•	 A person may not enter legally posted land for outdoor recreation pur-
poses without permission.

•	 A person may not enter agricultural land for outdoor recreation purposes 
without permission. 

•	 A person may not remain on private land for outdoor recreation purposes 
after being told to leave.

•	 On another person’s private land or a public right-of-way, a person may 
not take a wild animal with a firearm within 500 feet of a building 
occupied by humans or livestock without written permission of the owner, 
occupant or lessee of the building. A person may hunt from the water 
or from public land that is within 500 feet of a building occupied by 
humans or livestock.

•	 A person may not take a wild animal with a firearm within 500 feet of a 
corral containing livestock without permission.

•	 A person may not take a wild animal on any land where the person is 
prohibited from lawfully entering by this law. This prohibition includes 
coyote hunters intentionally running their dogs on posted or agricultural 
land without permission of the landowner, occupant, or lessee.

•	 A person may not wound or kill another person’s domestic animal, 
destroy private property, or pass through a closed gate without returning it 
to the original position.

TRESPASS LAW
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Exceptions
•	 A person on foot may, without permission, enter land that is not posted 

to retrieve a wounded animal that was lawfully shot, but may not 
remain on the land after being told to leave.

•	 A person on foot may, without permission, enter private land without a 
firearm to retrieve a hunting dog. After retrieving the dog, the person 
must immediately leave the premises. This exception does not authorize 
the taking of the wild animal.

•	 A person on foot may, without permission, enter land that is posted 
with "Walk in Access" signs.

DEFINITIONS AND POSTING REQUIREMENTS 
•	 “Outdoor Recreation” means any activity including hunting, fishing, trap-

ping, boating, hiking, camping, and engaging in winter sports which is 
conducted primarily for the purposes of pleasure, rest or relaxation and is 
dependent on or derives its principal benefit from natural surroundings.

•	 “Agricultural land” is land that: 1) is plowed or tilled; 2) has standing crops 
or crop residues; 3) is within a maintained fence for enclosing domestic 
livestock (including horses); 4) is planted to native or introduced grassland 
or hay land; or 5) is planted to short-rotation woody crops (hybrid poplar 
and other woody plants that are harvested for their fiber within 15 years of 
planting).

	 IMPORTANT NOTE: All planted grassland and hayland and all hybrid 
poplar and other woody plants that are harvested for their fiber within 15 years 
of planting meet this definition, including grasslands enrolled in the federal 
Conservation Reserve Program (CRP), Conservation Reserve Enhancement 
Program (CREP), or the state Reinvest In Minnesota (RIM) Reserve program. 
These lands do not need to be posted to prevent unauthorized trespass. However, 
land that is brush or trees, must be posted or verbal notice given to trespassers for 
criminal enforcement to occur.

	 Hunters and trappers: Always respect private lands. Ask first before enter-
ing lands not posted as being open to hunting and trapping. You will improve 
relationships between landowners and recreationists, and you will have a more 
enjoyable time in the field. 

•	 To be legally posted, land must have signs: 
—posted once each year that state “no trespassing” or similar terms either: 
1) along the boundaries every 1,000 feet or less, or in wooded areas where 
boundaries are less clear, at intervals of 500 feet or less; or  
2) at the primary corners of each parcel of land and at access roads and 
trails at points of entrance to each parcel, except corners only accessible 
through agricultural land need not be posted.

	 —with lettering at least 2 inches high and the signature or the legible 
name and telephone number of the owner, occupant, lessee, or authorized 
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manager. An unauthorized person may not post land with signs prohibiting 
outdoor recreation or trespass.

•	 Notification to stay off private land, authorization to remove a sign posted 
to prevent trespass, or legal permission to enter private land or to take wild 
animals near occupied buildings or corrals, may only be given by the owner, 
occupant, or lessee.

	 Penalties
•	 Violating the Minnesota Trespass Law can make you subject to either 

civil or criminal penalties:
•	 �Civil penalties are: 1) $50 for the first violation; 2) $200 for the second 

violation in a 3-year period; 3) $500 and loss of every license and regis-
tration being used for a third or subsequent violation in a 3-year period; 
and 4) $50 for unauthorized removal of a sign posted under this law.

•	 Criminal penalties are at least a misdemeanor for violation of this law. In 
addition, it becomes a gross misdemeanor to: knowingly disregard signs 
prohibiting trespass, trespass after being told not to do so, or to violate 
the trespass law twice within a three-year period. Anyone convicted of a 
gross misdemeanor violation of the trespass law while hunting, fishing, 
trapping, or snowmobiling will have the applicable license and registra-
tion for that activity revoked and will have all hunting privileges sus-
pended for two years.

Rules of Thumb for Water Access and Recreational Use
These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all 

water access and recreational use situations. If you have doubts about wheth-
er you may be trespassing on private land, we recommend that you ask the 
landowner for permission.
1.	What is lawful access?
	 �A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or if 

public land or a public road right-of-way abuts the surface of the water, 
or if you have permission to cross private land to reach the surface of the 
water.

2.	What is recreational use?
	 Recreational use includes boating, swimming, fishing, hunting, trapping, 

and similar activities. It includes walking in the water in connection with 
such activities regardless of who owns the land beneath the surface of the 
water.

3.	What waters are open to recreational use?
	 A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface  

if it is capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water 
that will float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other waters may 
also qualify depending upon the circumstances.
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Public Hunting Land Maps
Find the exact boundaries of WMAs, WPAs, state forests, national 

forests, and national wildlife refuges on DNR Public Recreation 
Information Maps (PRIM). The maps are available at major sports 
retailers and the DNR Gift Shop in St. Paul.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Landowner Liability (Minn. Stat. 604A.20-604.27)
An owner who gives written or oral permission for the use of the land 

for recreational purposes without charge does not, by that action:
•	 extend any assurance that the land is safe for any purpose,
•	 confer upon the person the legal status of an invitee or licensee to 

whom a duty of care is owed, or
•	 assume responsibility for or incur liability for any injury to the person or 

property caused by an act or omission of the person.

Road right-of-way
Some road right-of-ways are not owned by a unit of government. 

In these instances the landowner has granted an easement for vehicle 
and foot travel. The landowner generally retains authority to restrict 
access for hunting or trapping and may prohibit trespass by posting 
the land or by verbally directing hunters and trappers to leave the 
easement. It’s always best to ask permission if in doubt about the own-
ership of a road ditch area. County or township offices also may be 
able to help determine the ownership status of a road ditch. 

Persons with disabilities may be granted special permits or 
exceptions to some hunting regulations:

•	 Crossbows: See pages 18, and 56.
•	 Motor Vehicles: See page 20.
•	 Special Seasons: See page 79.
•	 Blinds at some major WMAs: See page 104.
•	 Deer Stands, Agassiz, Rydell, Minnesota Valley and Big Stone 

NWR: See pages 116-122.
•	 Muzzleloader scope permit, page 88.

Hunting with Disabilities
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LICENSE REQUIREM
ENTS

	 *	 Available through lottery drawings only, except the No-Quota Bear License (see page 93).
	 **	 Includes a $6.50 surcharge. This $6.50 surcharge is being paid by hunters for the acquisition and development 

of wildlife lands.
		  Note: Fee changes are scheduled to take efect in 2013.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

Note: First time purchase of 
Lifetime Licenses available 
only at DNR License Center in 
St. Paul.

Note: First time purchase of 
Lifetime Licenses available 
only at DNR License Center in 
St. Paul.

2012 Hunting and Trapping License Fees
(Price does not include any additional fees charged for issuing license) 
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RESIDENT LICENSES    
	 Deer – Firearms (age 18 or over)				    $26.00
	 Deer – Youth Firearms (ages 12-17) (free license required for age 10-11)		  13.00
	 Deer – Archery (age 18 or over)				    26.00
	 Deer – Youth Archery (ages 12-17) (free license required for age 10-11)		  13.00
 	 Deer – Muzzleloader (age 18 or over)                              			   26.00
	 Deer – Youth Muzzleloader (ages 12-17) (free license required for age 10-11)		  13.00
	 Deer – Bonus Permit				    14.00
	 Deer – Disease Management Permit				   1.50
	 Moose (per party of two, three, or four)			   310.00*
	 Elk (per party of one or two)				    250.00*
	 Bear 				    38.00*
	 Small Game (ages 18-64)				    19.00**	  	
	 Youth Small Game (ages 16-17)				    12.50**
	 Youth Small Game (ages 15 and under)			   Free
	 Senior Citizen Small Game (age 65 or over)			   12.50**
  	 Wild Turkey				    23.00*
	 Youth turkey				    12.00*
	 Wolf hunting				    30.00
	 Prairie Chicken				    20.00*
	 Apprentice Validation				    3.50
	 State Migratory Waterfowl Stamp	 validation			   7.50
	 State Pheasant Stamp validation				    7.50
	 Special Canada goose seasons permit			   4.00
	 Sandhill crane permit				    3.00
	 Trapping (age 18 and over, small game license required)			   20.00
	 Junior Trapping (age 13 to 18, small game license required for 16-17)		  6.00
	 Senior Trapping (65 and over)				    9.00
	 Wolf trapping				    30.00
	 Furbearer site validation coupons (see page 46)			   Free
	 Individual Sports (small game hunting and individual angling)			   29.50**
  	 Combination Sports (small game hunting & husband–wife angling)			  38.50**
	 Wild Rice Harvest (Season) (age 18 and older)			   25.00
	 Wild Rice Harvest (One Day) (age 18 and older)			   15.00
	
	 LIFETIME LICENSES	 Fishing	 Small Game	 Sports	 Deer (firearms or archery)
	 age 3 and under	 $227	 $217	 $357	 $337
	 4 to age 15	 $300	 $290	 $480	 $450	
	 16 to age 50	 $383	 $363	 $612	 $573
	 51 and over	 $203	 $213	 $413	 $383
	 Note: Lifetime trapping licenses are available for free when renewing lifetime sports or small game licenses.

NONRESIDENT LICENSES	
	 Deer – Firearms (18 & over)				    $140.00
	 Deer – Firearms (youth ages 10-17) 	 		  13.00
	 Deer – Archery (18 & over)	  			   140.00
	 Deer – Archery (youth ages 10-17)		  		  13.00
	 Deer – Muzzleloader (18 & over)                             			   140.00
	 Deer – Muzzleloader (youth ages 10-17) 			   13.00
	 Deer – Bonus Permit				    68.50
	 Deer – Disease Management Permit				   1.50
	 Bear    				    200.00
	 Small Game (age 18 or over)				    84.50
  	Small Game (youth)				    12.50
	 Wild Turkey    				    83.00
	 Sandhill crane permit				    3.00
	 Wolf hunting				    250.00
	 Furbearer Hunting (raccoon and bobcat)   			   160.00
	 Trapping (landowner only)				    73.00 

		 Wild Rice Harvest (One Day)				    30.00

LIFETIME LICENSES	 Fishing	 Small Game	
	 age 3 and under	 $447	 $947
	 4 to age 15	 $600	 $1,280	
	 16 to age 50	 $773	 $1,633	
	 51 and over	 $513	 $1,083	

	



PURCHASE AND POSSESSION 
License Requirements
•	 A person may not take, buy, sell, transport, or possess protected wild ani-

mals without a license, except as provided in this booklet.
• 	All persons including youth under age 16 must have a license (includ-

ing stamp validations) in their possession while hunting or trapping and 
while traveling from an area where they hunted or trapped.

•	 Any person ticketed for failure to possess a license will not be convicted if 
they provide to the court or arresting officer a license that was valid at the 
time of arrest.

Changing Regular Firearms Deer Licenses
A person who has purchased a regular firearm deer license and wishes 

to change their season option must submit their original license and all tags 
issued with the original license (must be unused) to obtain a replacement 
license. There is a fee of $5 (plus a $1 issuing fee) for the replacement license. 
Replacement licenses are available from any ELS license agent. Any replace-
ment license must be issued before the season for the original license opens. 
• 	Hunters may also change from a regular firearms deer license to a youth 

deer license, if the qualifying youth purchased the incorrect license.
•	 Archery licenses cannot be changed to firearm or muzzleloader licenses.
•	 Regular firearm licenses cannot be changed to a muzzleloader or archery 

license. 
Electronic Licensing

The Department’s Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues licenses 
through 1,500 license agent locations throughout Minnesota or via the 
DNR Web site at mndnr.gov or via a toll free telephone number (1-888-
665-4236). An additional convenience fee of 3 percent is added for sales 
via the internet. There is a $2.75 fee for telephone sales. The fee is $3.50 
for licences that require mailing. An additional fee of $1.65 will be added 
for any license purchased online that requires mailing. To purchase a 
non-commercial game or fish/hunting license, nonresidents and residents 
must have their social security number on file with DNR or must provide it.
License Requirements
All persons 16 years and older need a license unless otherwise noted. To 

purchase noncommercial game licenses, nonresidents and residents must 
have their social security number on file with DNR or must provide it.

Residents
•	 To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence in 

Minnesota for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a license. In 
addition, residents 21 or older must provide a current Minnesota Driver's 
License or ID card, unless exempt under the Religious Freedom Act.

• 	A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident is con-
sidered a resident.
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•	 Stamp validations for waterfowl and pheasant are valid for hunting with-
out a pictorial stamp (purchasers can request the optional pictorial stamp 
for an additional $0.75, but it is not needed for hunting).

•	 HIP Certification for legally taking migratory game birds, including 
mourning doves, must be printed on your license  
(see page 33). 

•	 Buy early: Customers are advised to avoid delays by buying early and far 
ahead of license or application deadlines. 

License Year
	 	 Hunting licenses are valid during legal seasons between March 1 and the 

end of February. Resident fishing, the angling portion of a sporting license, 
nonresident fishing, resident fish and dark house and nonresident fish house 
licenses are valid from March 1 through April 30 of the following year. 
Purchase

Minnesota Small Game and Deer Hunting licenses, Special Canada 
goose permits, state Migratory Waterfowl, and Pheasant Stamp validations 
can be purchased from ELS license agents and the DNR License Center in 
St. Paul. Prairie chicken, moose, antlerless deer, and most wild turkey and 
bear licenses are awarded through a statewide lottery. 
Border Waters

On all border waters with adjacent states or provinces, persons  
acting under a Minnesota hunting or trapping license may only take wild 
animals on the Minnesota side of the border.
Revocation of Hunting Privileges 
•	 A person convicted of two or more violations under a small game

	 or trapping license within a three-year period will have their
	 small game hunting or trapping privileges revoked for one year.
•	 Big game hunting privileges are revoked for three years for any of the fol-

lowing violations:
	 1. �Two or more convictions of any violation relating to big game animals 

within a three-year period.
	 2. �One conviction of any of the following: shining while in possession of 

a firearm or bow; knowingly transporting an illegally taken big game 
animal; hunting, taking, transporting or possessing big game without 
the required license; over limit of big game; hunting, taking or pos-
sessing big game in closed season; buying or selling big game animals 
(revocation of all privileges if sale is over $300).

•	 Hunting deer with the aid of bait results in a one-year revocation
•	  The revocation period doubles in convictions involving a trophy deer 

scoring higher than 170.
•	 Under gross overlimits penalty provisions, license privileges can be 

revoked for three or five years, depending on the violation.
•	 Big game and small game hunting privileges are revoked for five years for 

hunting while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.  
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•	 Failure to pay game and fish fines or failure to appear in court can 
result in suspension of licenses privileges until fines are paid.

•	 Certain trespass convictions (see page 6).
•	 Violations of hunting laws in other states may affect your hunting privi-

leges in Minnesota.
•	 Violators of wildlife feeding bans may not obtain any hunting license for 

two years after the date of conviction.
Lost License 

You may obtain a duplicate license at any ELS license agent or from the 
DNR License Center in St. Paul. The fee is $5.75 for a duplicate Big Game 
License and $2.50 for all others.
Apprentice Hunter Validation

A resident born after December 31, 1979, who is age 12 or over and has 
not completed hunter education firearms safety training can purchase for a 
fee of $3.50 an Apprentice Hunter Validation.

This validation allows the individual to hunt small game, wild turkey, 
and deer without having completed hunter education firearms safety train-
ing. The validation is good for two license years in a lifetime, but must 
be purchased each time.

An individual utilizing an Apprentice Hunter Validation must be accom-
panied by a licensed adult hunter and hunt within unaided verbal and visual 
contact of the licensed adult hunter. Depending on their age and require-
ments, apprentice hunters must purchase all applicable licenses and 
stamps.

The Apprentice Hunter Validation serves as a short-term exclusion 
to the regulations related to the hunter education firearms safety training 
requirements. As such it gives a person that qualifies an opportunity to 
sample hunting for two seasons before they are required to successfully 
complete a hunter education firearms safety training course.

Firearms safety training course information can be found on page 14 and 
online at mndnr.gov.
Refunds

Please check your license and/or receipt for accuracy before leaving the 
license agent location. License sales are final. A refund can only be issued 
if the licensee is unable to participate due to active military duty, cancelled 
military leave, death prior to opening of the season, if the licensee buys two 
licenses for the same season or if the licensee was not legally required to 
purchase the license to participate in the activity. The request for a refund 
must be received within 90 days of the original license purchase.
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Instant Hunting Licenses
For a convenience fee plus the regular license fee, you can immediately pur-

chase a hunting license online or by telephone. Instant licenses are available by call-
ing 1-888-MNLicense (888-665-4236) or online at mndnr.gov. For licenses without 
a tag, telephone users will receive an authorization number for instant use of the 
license. Licenses without a tag that are purchased online may be printed and used 
immediately (a license will not be mailed). Licenses with a tag (such as deer or wild 
turkey) will be mailed and are not valid until received and in possession. Telephone 
and Internet license services are available at any time. 

FIREARMS SAFETY CERTIFICATES
• 	Required for anyone born after Dec. 31, 1979 who is age 12 or older.
• 	A certificate may be issued at age 11, and is valid if the person reaches age 

12 during the calendar year.
•	 Anyone under age 14 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian to 

possess a firearm. “Guardian” means a legal guardian or someone age 18 or 
older selected by the parent or legal guardian to supervise the youth.

•	 Youth age 12 and under may hunt small game without a firearms safety cer-
tificate, if accompanied by a parent or guardian.

•	 Youth age 11 and under may hunt wild turkeys without a firearms safety 
certificate if accompanied by a parent or guardian who has a certificate.

•	 Youth age 10 or 11 may take big game without a firearms safety certificate 
if they are under direct supervision and within immediate

	 reach of a parent or guardian.
• 	A person on active duty who has successfully completed basic training in 

the U.S. Armed Forces, Reserves, or National Guard may purchase a license 
or obtain approval that authorizes hunting without possessing a Firearms 
Safety Certificate. Once discharged, they must obtain a firearms safety 
certificate.

•	 A replacement for a lost or destroyed Minnesota Firearms, Snowmobile, or 
ATV Safety Certificate can be obtained at any ELS license agent. A replace-
ment certificate is $3.50.

RESIDENTS
A Minnesota resident is defined as follows:
• 	A United States citizen or resident alien who has maintained a 
	 legal residence in the state for at least 60 consecutive days before purchas

ing a license, or
• 	A person in the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed in the state, or
• 	A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident.
See page 11 for more information.

Military Personnel
• 	Residents who have maintained legal residency in Minnesota and who are 

serving in the U.S. Military and stationed outside the state may hunt small 
game without a license while on leave. They do not need a Minnesota 
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Waterfowl Stamp or Pheasant Stamp but must have a Federal Duck Stamp 
to hunt waterfowl. They may hunt deer, bear, and wild turkeys without 
charge after obtaining the appropriate licenses and tags from an ELS 
license agent by presenting official leave papers, except they may not obtain 
moose and elk licenses. Deer bonus permits may be purchased. Such ser-
vice personnel must carry proof of residency and official leave papers on 
their person while hunting. Residents must possess a current Minnesota 
driver license or public safety identification.

•	 Nonresident spouses of residents on active military duty may purchase 
resident hunting and fishing licenses. Nonresidents must provide proof of 
spouse’s residency and active military duty.

•	 A resident who has served at any time during the preceding 24 months 
in federal active service outside the United States and has been discharged 
from active service may take small game and fish without a license. 
Discharged residents must carry proof of residency and official military 
discharge papers. All tags required of a licensee must be obtained at no 
fee. 

•	 A free deer license, valid for a deer of either sex, will be issued to residents 
who have served at any time during the preceding 24 months in federal 
active service outside the United States and have been discharged from 
active military service. Eligibility is limited to one deer license per person. 
Discharged residents must provide proof of residency and a copy of their 
official military discharge papers. 

•	 Resident veterans with proof of a 100 percent service-related disability may 
obtain a free Small Game License and one free Firearms, Muzzleloader, 
or Archery Deer License from an ELS license agent (state stamps not 
required).

NONRESIDENTS
General
• 	All nonresidents, regardless of age, must have an appropriate hunting 

license to hunt in Minnesota. A nonresident under age 18 may 
obtain a small game license at the resident fee if the nonresident 
possesses a firearms safety certificate or, if age 13 or under, is 
accompanied by a parent or guardian when purchasing the license. 
A nonresident under age 14 must be accompanied by a parent or 
guardian to take small game. 

	 •	Youth firearm, archery, and muzzleloader deer licenses ($13) are 
available to nonresidents. Half-price youth turkey licenses for resi-
dents and nonresidents are available.

• 	Purchase hunting licenses by telephone or internet: Call 1-888- 
MNLicense (1-888-665-4236) or go to mndnr.gov. See box on 
page 14 for additional information. 

• 	Nonresidents may trap in Minnesota only on their own land and 
with a nonresident trapping license.
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• 	Nonresidents may not take raccoon or bobcat without a nonresident 
Furbearer Hunting License and a nonresident Small Game License. 

•	 Note to deer hunters: A Deer License issued after the opening day  
of the respective season (archery, regular firearms, or muzzleloader) is 
not valid until the second day after it is issued. See page 65 for addi-
tional information.

Students
• 	Nonresident, full-time students at a Minnesota educational insti

tution who live in the state during the school year may purchase a 
resident Small Game, Deer, or Bear License with proof of full-time 
student status. 

• 	A full-time foreign exchange student who resides with Minnesota 
residents may buy a resident license to take deer or bear. Students must 
provide a letter from their school confirming their attendance.

STAMPS
State Pheasant and Migratory Waterfowl Stamps

Residents age 18-64, and all non-resident hunters, must have 
a Minnesota Pheasant Stamp validation or Minnesota Migratory 
Waterfowl Stamp validation (State Duck Stamp) in possession while 
hunting or taking pheasants or migratory waterfowl respectively, except: 
a) residents hunting pheasants on land occupied as their principal resi-
dence, b) Persons hunting waterfowl on their own property, c) persons 
hunting on a licensed commercial shooting preserve, d) persons taking 
only marked waterfowl released on a commercial shooting preserve, or 
e) residents on military leave.
Federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamp

 Waterfowl hunters age 16 and over must have a valid Federal 
Duck Stamp in possession while hunting or taking migratory water
fowl. Federal Duck Stamps can be purchased at post offices or license 
agents. Electronically issued Federal Duck Stamps are available at all of 
Minnesota’s 1,500 electronic license vendors, beginning July 1.

The following are general hunting regulations. Specific regulations for 
various game species are in the Big Game, Small Game, Trapping, Water
fowl, and Wild Turkey sections of this booklet.

GENERAL HUNTING INFORMATION

Moved or Driver’s License Number Changed?
If you have recently moved, please request the license agent to update 

your address when you purchase your license. If your driver's license  
number or name has changed, please contact the DNR License Center                 
(877)-348-0498 or (651) 297-1230.
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Firearms Transportation
Unless transporting under the exceptions listed below, a person may 

not transport a firearm, including a handgun, in or on a motor vehicle 
unless the firearm is:
• 	unloaded* and in a case made expressly for that purpose; 
•	 unloaded* and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or
•	 carried under a valid permit to carry a pistol or handgun.

   Under the following circumstances, a person may transport
	 unloaded, uncased firearms (excluding pistols) in a motor vehicle, 

including ATVs:
•	 while at a shooting range with permission
•	 while lawfully hunting on private or public land or while travelling 

to or from a site the person intends to hunt or trap or has lawfully 
hunted that day.

   Firearms must be transported unloaded and cased:
• 	within Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties.
• 	within the boundaries of a home rule, charter, or statutory city with 

a population of 2,500 or more.
• 	on school grounds
•	 as otherwise restricted in game refuges, shining or night vision laws.
Transportation of Bows

    No person may transport an archery bow or crossbow in a 
motor vehicle unless the bow is not armed with a bolt or arrow.
Handguns

Persons age 18 or older may carry a handgun in the woods and 
fields or upon waters to hunt or target shoot. Persons under age 18 may 
carry handguns for hunting if in the actual presence or under the direct 
supervision of the person’s parent or guardian, and if they meet firearms 
safety requirements (see page 14). Except those licensed to carry a con-
cealed weapon, a person may not possess a firearm while bowhunting 
for deer. A person may take bear, elk and moose by archery while in 
possession of a firearm. Questions regarding handguns should be direct
ed to local law enforcement authorities.

The “Concealed carry or permit to carry” provisions apply to certain 
hunting activities. Persons with a permit under this law generally may 

GENERAL HUNTING INFORMATION

	 * 	An “unloaded” firearm is defined as a firearm without ammunition in the barrels and 
magazine, if the magazine is in the firearm. A muzzle-loading firearm with a flintlock 
ignition is unloaded if it does not have priming powder in a pan. A muzzle-loading firearm 
with percussion ignition is unloaded if it does not have a percussion cap on a nipple.
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carry their handguns uncased and loaded while hunting, and while trav-
eling to or from hunting locations by motor vehicle under the hunting 
firearms transportation laws. However, possession of the handgun while 
'shining' would still subject the possessor to the provisions of these laws 
(see page 26, artificial lights, for more information).

    Crossbows
A person may hunt with a crossbow during the regular firearms 

deer, turkey and bear seasons and with a firearm license. At other times, 
a person may not hunt with a crossbow or possess a crossbow in a 
motor vehicle unless the crossbow is not armed with a bolt or arrow. 
Disabled persons with a valid permit and archery license may also hunt 
with crossbows or use a bow with a mechanical device that draws, 
releases, or holds the bow at full draw (pages 55 and 56). 

Possession of Firearms Before, During, and After the Firearms Deer 
Season

(Note: This section does not apply to the Muzzleloader Season, see page 88, 
except that muzzleloaders legal for deer may be possessed only by persons with a 
muzzleloader or firearms deer license during that season.)

No person may possess a firearm or ammunition outdoors during the period 
beginning the fifth day before the open firearms season and ending the second day 
after the close of the season within an area where deer may be legally taken by fire-
arms, except:

•	 A person who has a valid firearms big game license in possession may hunt 
big game during the open season with a firearm and ammunition autho
rized for big game.

• 	Possession is also legal under these conditions:
	 a)	 An unloaded firearm that is cased or in a closed trunk of a  

motor vehicle.
	 b)	 A shotgun and shells containing No. 4 buckshot or smaller diameter 

lead shot or nontoxic shot.
	 c)	 A .22 caliber rimfire handgun or rifle with .22 caliber short, 	 	

	 long, or long rifle cartridges, .22 magnum or .17 caliber rimfire.
	 d)	 Handguns possessed by a person with a carry permit.
	 e)	 On a target range or under a target range permit issued by a conserva-

tion officer.
Parent /Guardian Responsibility
A parent or legal guardian may not knowingly direct, allow, or permit the 

minor to hunt without the required license, permit, training or certification or in 
violation of game and fish laws.

“TAKING” DEFINED
“Taking” means pursuing, shooting, killing, capturing, trapping, snaring, 

angling, spearing, or netting wild animals; or placing, setting, drawing, or using a 
net, trap, or other device to take wild animals. Taking also includes attempting to 
take wild animals or assisting another person in taking wild animals.
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“POSSESSION” DEFINED
Game animals are in a person’s possession whether on hand, in cold storage, in 

transport, or elsewhere.

PROTECTED ANIMALS
The following birds and mammals are protected in Minnesota by state or fed-

eral laws:
Protected Birds
•	 All birds for which seasons are established in these regulations are protected 

birds but may be taken as authorized.
• 	There is no open season on bobwhite quail, swans, hawks, owls, eagles, her-

ons, bitterns, cormorants, loons, grebes, or any other species of birds except 
unprotected birds.

Crows
• 	Crows may be taken without a license in season or at any time when they 

are doing or are about to do damage. 
•	 Electronic calls or sounds may be used for crow hunting. 
•	 Crows may be taken with a legal firearm (shotgun not larger than 10 

gauge, rifle, or handgun), bow and arrow, or by falconry.
Mammals
• 	All mammals for which seasons are established in these regulations are pro-

tected mammals, but may be taken as authorized.
• 	There is no open season on caribou, antelope, lynx, wolverine, cougar, or 

spotted skunk (“civet cat”).
	     • 	 A person may not export or import a live coyote into the state 	    

unless authorized by the Commissioner.
Taking Protected Species
• 	No protected species may be taken in any manner in any area of the state 

except in accordance with these regulations.
• 	All protected species must be killed before being removed from the site 

where taken.

UNPROTECTED ANIMALS
Residents and nonresidents are not required to have a license to hunt 

unprotected species including coyote. Nonresidents do not need a furbearer 
hunting license in addition to their small game license to hunt fox.

Unprotected Mammals
Weasels, coyotes, gophers, porcupines, striped skunks, and all other 

mammals for which there are no closed seasons or other protection are 
unprotected animals. They may be taken in any manner, except with the 
aid of artificial lights or by using a motor vehicle to drive, chase, run over, 
or kill the animal. Poisons may be used only when the safety of humans 
and domestic livestock can be ensured and in accordance with all label 
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Motor Vehicles
• 	No person may take a wild animal with a firearm or by archery from a 

motor vehicle except a disabled person with an appropriate permit. A dis-
abled person with a permit to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle may 
take a deer of either sex without an antlerless permit except in those areas 
designated as youth-only antlerless areas. Other members of the hunting 
party may not shoot antlerless deer for the disabled person. 

•	 Permits to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle may be issued by DNR 
Enforcement to a person who obtains the required licenses
	and who has a permanent physical disability that is more substantial 
than discomfort from walking. The permit recipient must: be unable to 
step from a vehicle without aid of a wheelchair, crutches, braces, or other 
mechanical support or prosthetic device; or be unable to walk any dis-
tance because of a permanent lung, heart, or other internal disease that 
requires the person to use supplemental oxygen to assist breathing. The 
permanent disability must be verified in writing by a licensed physician, 
certified nurse practitioner or certified physicians assistant acting under 
the direction of a licensed physician or chiropractor. In addition to pro-
viding the medical evidence of permanent disability, the applicant must 
possess a valid disability parking certificate or license plates issued by the 
Department of Public Safety. Permit applications are available from any 
DNR regional office or by calling the information numbers on page 125. 

• 	No person may use a motor vehicle to intentionally drive, chase, run over, 
or kill any wild animal. 

•	 Road-killed animals may not be legally possessed, except by special permit 
from a DNR conservation officer, state patrol, county sheriff or other law 
enforcement officer.

• 	Shooting from a motorized vehicle is unlawful.

Off-Highway Vehicles (OHVs), including All-Terrain Vehicles (ATVs)
A person may not intentionally operate an off-highway vehicle:

• 	in most wildlife management areas, a state park, or a scientific and natural 
area, except as specifically authorized by law or rule;

• 	in unfrozen public waters (lakes, rivers, streams and certain wetlands), or 
in calcareous fens as identified by the commissioner;

MOTORIZED VEHICLES

regulations of the state Dept. of Agriculture and federal Environmental Pro
tection Agency.

Unprotected Birds
House sparrows, starlings, common pigeons, Eurasian collared dove, chukar 
partridge, quail, other than northern bobwhite, and monk parakeets are 
unprotected and may be taken at any time.

2012 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS

20



• 	on a trail on public land that is designated or signed for non‑motorized 
use only; 

• 	on restricted areas within public lands that are posted or where gates or 
other clearly visible structures are placed to prevent unauthorized motor-
ized vehicle access; or

• 	shoot at a wild animal from an OHV.
Using Motor Vehicles During Deer Season
To reduce disturbance during the prime deer hunting times, operation of off-

highway vehicles and snowmobiles is restricted during the regular firearms deer 
season:  
•	 Licensed Deer Hunters

A person licensed to take deer must not operate an off-highway vehicle or 
snowmobile on public or private property in an area open for the taking 
of deer by firearms on a day that they are licensed to take deer in that area 
except:

o	 Before legal shooting hours (one-half hour before sunrise)
o	 From 11 a.m. until 2 p.m.
o	 After legal shooting hours (one-half hour after sunset)
o	 On property that they own
o	 On someone else’s private property with the landowner’s permission
o	 Under a permit issued by a conservation officer to operate these vehicles 

in an emergency, medical, or other unusual situation during the restrict-
ed hours

Motor vehicles licensed for and being operated on public highways, or farm 
tractors being used for agricultural purposes, are exempt from this restriction.

•	 Recreational OHV Riders
 OHV trails and routes on state forest lands are closed to ALL recreational 

off-highway vehicle riding (ATV, OHM, and ORV) during the firearms 
deer season where deer may be taken by rifle (see all legal firearms area ver-
sus shotgun area descriptions on page 76 and on the large deer zone map 
available separately), during the A Season only:  
o	 Series 100 permit areas - November 3-18, 
o	 Portions of Series 200 permit areas - November 3-11, 

Forest roads remain open to OHV use.
OHV Operation in Parks, Refuges, and Other Managed Areas
ATVs and snowmobiles are not allowed in State Parks, National Wildlife 

Refuges (see page 116), Scientific and Natural Areas, or most Wildlife 
Management Areas (see page 102).  ATV use is regulated in state and national 
forests. (See rules on using public lands, pages 110-112.)

	�
	 *	 �ATVs are defined for the purposes of these regulations as all vehicles not  

requiring Minnesota Department of Public Safety licensing, including  
trail bikes, 3-wheelers, 4-wheelers, 6-wheelers, tracked vehicles, and other 
similarly manufactured or homemade vehicles. 21
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OHVs and Wetland Disturbance
A person may not operate an OHV in a manner to:

• 	indicate a willful, wanton, or reckless disregard for the safety of per-
sons or property;

• 	carelessly upset the natural and ecological balance of a wetland or 
public waters wetland; or

• 	impact a wetland or public waters wetland in excess of minimum 
amounts established under law (These vary by area of the state and 
other criteria. More information is available online at mndnr.gov).

See the Following Additional Regulations
	 • OHV operation on WMAs, pages 102-104
	 • OHV operation on state forests, pages 110-112
	 • Motor vehicles on federal lands, page 116-124

Dog Training
Except as authorized by permit, a person may not train hunting 

dogs afield on DNR administered lands from April 16 to July 14. A 
person may train hunting dogs afield on other lands.

A person training a dog afield and carrying a firearm may only have 
blank cartridges and shells in possession when the season is not open 
for any game bird, except by permit. An organization or individual may 
obtain permits to use firearms and live ammunition on domesticated 
birds or banded game birds from game farms for holding field trials 
and training hunting dogs.
Dogs Pursuing Big Game

No persons may allow their dog to chase or kill big game. 
Between January 1 and July 14, a dog that is observed wounding, 

killing, or pursuing in a way that endangers big game may be killed by 
any person. A peace officer or conservation officer may kill a dog that 
endangers big game at any time of the year. The officer or person is not 
liable for damages for killing the dog.

Important: Other hunting seasons are open before, during, and after 
the deer season. Many hunters use dogs to hunt upland game, water
fowl, rabbits, raccoons, foxes, and coyotes. Dogs may not be shot if 
seen pursuing big game during the fall hunting seasons, except by a 
conservation or peace officer.
 
Hunting While Under the Influence

A person may not take protected wild animals with a firearm or by 
archery or be afield with a loaded or uncased firearm or an uncased 
bow while under the influence of a controlled substance or with a 
blood-alcohol level of .08 or higher.
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Wanton Waste
A person may not wantonly waste or destroy a usable part of a 

protected wild animal unless authorized.
Radios and Other Wireless Devices
•	 Using walkie talkies, cell phones, remote control or other radio equip-

ment to take big game or small game is unlawful.
•	 A DNR permit is required to take unprotected animals with the aid of 

radio equipment, see page 19.
•	 Dog training collars are allowed without a permit.
•	 Motorized decoys controlled by remote may be used for taking migra-

tory waterfowl or mourning doves where and when they are otherwise 
legal.

Dates and Times Inclusive
All dates, times and ages specified in these regulations are inclusive 

unless specified otherwise.

GAME FOR CONSUMPTION AT FUND RAISING EVENTS
Nonprofit organizations may charge a fee for admission to fundraising 

events when lawfully taken and possessed big game and small game (excluding 
migratory game birds that cannot be sold under federal law), is donated to the 
organization and is served for consumption on the premises where the fundraising 
event is held. Records of donations must be kept for two years. 

GIFTS
 Lawfully taken wild animals may be transferred as a gift if accompanied by 

a receipt containing: name and address of the owner; name and address of the 
recipient, date of transfer, description of the gift (for example: “Three 1-pound 
venison steaks”) and the license number under which the animal was taken. The 
receipt must remain with the gift.

STORAGE
A person who stores protected wild animals for others must plainly mark the 

package, in ink, with the name and address of the owner, the license number of 
the person taking the animal, and the number and species in the package.

ROADKILL
A person must have a permit to possess wild animals, including deer, that 

have been killed by a vehicle. Permits are available from conservation officers and 
many local law enforcement agencies.

HUNTER/TRAPPER HARASSMENT PROHIBITED
A person may not prevent or disrupt another person from taking or preparing 

to take a wild animal. A person may not disturb wild animals with the intent to 
prevent or disrupt another person from hunting. Placing bait for the purpose of 
preventing or disrupting another person from lawfully hunting deer would be 
considered unlawful under the hunter harassment laws. 23
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BLAZE ORANGE REQUIREMENTS
Small Game Seasons: You may not take small game unless a visible portion of at 

least one article of clothing above the waist is blaze orange, except when hunting wild 
turkeys, migratory birds, raccoons, predators, when hunting by falconry, trapping, or 
while hunting deer by archery while stationary. 

Deer Season: Also, you may not hunt or trap during any open season where 
deer may be taken by firearms (including special hunts, early antlerless, youth seasons, 
and muzzleloader) under applicable laws and ordinances unless the visible portion 
of your cap and outer clothing above the waist, excluding sleeves and gloves, is blaze 
orange. Red is not a legal color, except for those who qualify under the Religious 
Freedom Restoration Act of 1993. Blaze orange includes a camouflage pattern of at 
least 50 percent blaze orange within each square foot. This restriction does not apply 
to migratory waterfowl hunters on waters or in a stationary shooting location or to 
trappers on waters. Times and zones for firearms are shown in the map on next page. 
Muzzleloader season is open statewide, except for closed areas (see page 88).
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Lead in Ammunition
Because of its toxicity the use of lead shot for waterfowl hunting has been 

illegal in Minnesota since 1987 and nationally since 1991. Additionally, all 
types of hunting with lead fine shot on Federal Waterfowl Production Areas has 
been illegal in Minnesota since 1999. State Wildlife Management Areas contain 
abundant wetlands, and lead shot continues to be deposited in theses wetland 
as a result of upland game bird hunting. Lead is toxic, can affect wildlife health 
and reproduction, and at higher levels is fatal. Effective nontoxic loads are now 
widely available and cost about as much as a box of premium lead. Hunters 
are encouraged to consider using non-toxic alternatives for all of their hunting. 
Using non-toxic shot also eliminates the potential risk of ingesting lead in game 
consumed by hunters and their families. For more information on this issue, 
please visit our website at mndnr.gov/lead

SALE OF ANIMAL PARTS 
Except as otherwise provided in these regulations, a person may possess, 

transport, buy, or sell the following inedible portions of lawfully taken or acquired 
big game, furbearers, and game birds (other than migratory birds): bones 
(including skulls), sinews, hides, hooves, teeth, claws, and antlers. A person may 
not sell meat or organs, including bear gall bladders, and may not sell bear paws 
unless attached to the hide. The flesh of legally-taken beaver, muskrat, raccoon, 
rabbits, and hares may be bought, sold, and transported at any time.

A hunter or trapper may sell the pelts of lawfully taken furbearers only to a 
licensed fur buyer. A person may not buy raw furs without a fur buyer’s license, 
except a fur manufacturer or licensed taxidermist may buy raw furs from a 
licensed fur buyer. 



Band Seasons: Indian bands may be hunting big game by firearms before 
and after state firearms seasons. The Fond du Lac band may be hunting big 
game from late September until mid-December in the 1854 ceded territory 
(Cook, Lake, eastern and southern St. Louis, most of Carlton, and extreme 
northern Pine counties). Bands signatory to the 1837 Treaty (east-central 
Minnesota from Pine and Chisago counties west to the Mississippi River) 
may be hunting deer from the day after Labor Day through the end of 
December.

Deer Season Dates for 
Blaze Orange Requirements 

Note: Consult the deer regulations section for restrictions within the dates in 
the box or see the large fold-out Deer Zone/Area Map (available anywhere 
hunting licenses are sold) for additional details. 

Season	 Date

Firearm Option Statewide (A)	

	 100 Series	 Nov. 3-18

	 200 Series	 Nov. 3-11

	 300 Series	 Nov. 3-11

Firearm Option Late Southeast (B)	 Nov. 17-25

Muzzleloader	 Nov. 24-Dec. 9

Metro Deer Management Area (601)	 Nov. 3-25 
(Any 2012 firearms or muzzleloader.)

Chronic Wasting Disease Area (602)	 Nov. 3-25

Youth season, see page 29	 Oct. 18-21
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DUTY TO RENDER AID
A person who shoots and injures another person with a firearm, or has 

reason to believe that another person might have been injured, and any 
witnesses to such a shooting, must immediately investigate the extent of 
the person’s injuries and give reasonable assistance, including calling law 
enforcement or medical personnel to the scene. Failure to do so can result 
in imprisonment and a fine for the shooter and witnesses.

ARTIFICIAL LIGHTS 
With a firearm or bow
A person may not cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight or other artifi-

cial light onto a highway or into a field, woodland, or forest to spot, locate 
or take a wild animal while possessing either individually or as one of a 
group, a firearm, bow or other implement that could be used to take big 
game, small game or unprotected species. 

Shining lights generally 
Without implements to take wild animals, from two hours after sunset 

until sunrise, no person may cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight or other 
artificial light on a highway or into a field, woodland or forest to spot or 
locate a wild animal.

A person may not cast rays of a spotlight, headlight or other artificial 
light on land that is marked with signs prohibiting the shining of lights. 
The signs must: 1) display letters that are at least 2 inches in height and 
state “no shining” or similar terms; and 2) be placed at intervals of 500 feet 
or less along the boundary of an area.

A person may not cast an artificial light onto fenced agricultural land or 
a residential property or building sites from a motor vehicle.

The exceptions to this regulation are:
Without a firearm or a bow, a person who is on foot may use a hand-

held artificial light to retrieve wounded or dead big game animals.
A person taking raccoons or tending traps in accordance with all other 

regulations in this booklet. (See page 40)
A person hunting for coyote or fox from Jan. 1 to March 15 may use 

an artificial handheld light under all of the following conditions:
•	 While on foot and not within a public right of way
•	 Using a shotgun
•	 Using a calling device
•	 Not within 200 feet of a vehicle

It is not a violation of this law to shine lights without a firearm while 
doing any agricultural, safety, emergency response, normal vehicle opera-
tion or occupational-related activities or recreational activity, including 
snowmobiling, not related to spotting, locating or taking a wild animal.  
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NIGHT VISION EQUIPMENT
A person may not possess any kind of night vision equipment while 

taking wild animals or while possessing a firearm, bow, or other implement 
that could be used to take wild animals. 

 This regulation does not apply to (1) a firearm that is unloaded, cased, 
and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or (2) a bow that is cased or 
unstrung, and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle. If the motor vehicle 
does not have a trunk, the firearm or bow must be placed in the rearmost 
location of the vehicle.

ENFORCEMENT
•	 DNR conservation officers and other peace officers may arrest, with

out a warrant, any person detected in the actual violation of wildlife, 
fish, or water laws and may enter any lands to carry out these duties. 

• 	No person may hinder, resist, or obstruct an enforcement officer or 
authorized DNR agent in the performance of official duties.

• 	A person must allow inspection in the field of firearms, licenses, wild 
animals, motor vehicles, boats, or other conveyances used while taking 
or transporting wild animals.

•	 Wild animals that are unlawfully taken, bought, sold or possessed may 
be seized and confiscated. The person may be liable for wildlife restitu-
tion in addition to criminal fines. Personal property such as firearms, 
traps and archery equipment that were unlawfully used may be seized 
and confiscated.
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YOUTH SMALL GAME HUNTS
Take a Kid Hunting Weekend—September 22-23 During Take-A-

Kid-Hunting Weekend adult residents accompanied by a youth under age 
16 may hunt small game without a license, but must comply with open 
seasons, limits and other regulations.

Youth Waterfowl Day—Waterfowl information will be announced 
through news releases and in the Waterfowl Hunting Synopsis, available in 
mid August.

Mentored Youth Upland Bird Hunt—October 20 Partnering with 
Pheasants Forever, Woodcock Minnesota, and Ruffed Grouse Society, the 
DNR is offering mentored upland bird hunts designed to introduce youth 
to upland bird hunting. All hunting regulations apply. Applications will be 
available through Sept. 10 online at: mndnr.gov/discover

Other Special Youth Hunts 2013 Youth turkey hunts are tentatively 
scheduled for April 2013. Applications will be accepted from January 
through mid-February. Visit mndnr.gov/discover for information.

SPECIAL YOUTH DEER HUNTS (See page 31 for a list of hunts)
Youth Deer Hunt regulations All participating youth must attend a 

mandatory orientation prior to the hunt (details will be included in notices 
to successful applicants). An adult mentor, who may not hunt, must 
accompany participants during the orientation and the hunt. Each person 
must apply at an ELS agent or the DNR License Center at 500 Lafayette 
Road in St. Paul. Group applications and party hunting are not allowed. A 
drawing will be held if applications exceed available permits for each hunt. 
Unsuccessful applicants will receive preference for future youth hunt lot-
teries of the same type. Applicants may only apply for one youth archery 
hunt and one youth firearms hunt. Participation in a youth hunt does not 
affect one’s eligibility to participate in the regular deer seasons, but harvest-
ed deer count against a youth's annual bag limit. The application deadline 
is August 17.

Youth firearms deer hunts Applicants for youth firearms special deer 
hunts must be 12-15 years old at the time of the hunt. Participants must 
have a firearms safety certificate and must obtain a license for taking deer 
by firearms, valid for any zone or season option, by the beginning date of 
the respective hunt. Blaze orange requirements are in effect in areas open 
during firearms youth deer hunts. The rifle-shotgun boundary is in effect 
(see back of large deer zone map, available separately).

YOUTH HUNTING INFORMATION
2012 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS
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YOUTH HUNTING INFORMATION
Youth archery hunts Applicants for special youth archery hunts must 

be at least 12-17 years old at the time of the hunt. Persons participating 
in youth archery deer hunts must obtain a valid license for taking deer by 
archery at least two days prior to the start of the hunt.

SPECIAL YOUTH DEER SEASON
The following deer areas are open October 18-21 for taking either-

sex deer by firearms for youth 10-15 years old at the time of the hunt.  
Participant numbers are not limited and there is no special permit.

101, 105, 111, 114, 201, 203, 208, 209, 256, 257, 260, 263, 264, 267, 
268, 338, 339, 341, 342, 343, 344, 345, 346, 347, 348, 349, 601, and 
602.

The following regulations apply to this hunt:
•	 An adult parent/guardian/mentor aged 18 or older must accompany 

the youth hunter at all times during the hunt. The adult does not 
need to be licensed.

•	 The blaze orange requirements apply to all hunters and trappers and 
all adult mentors of youth hunters in areas open to youth firearm deer 
hunting during this season.

•	 The accompanying adult cannot hunt and party hunting is not 
allowed (youth must tag their own deer).

•	 Participating youth 12 years of age and older must have a firearm safe-
ty certificate or apprentice hunter validation. Participating youth must 
possess a valid firearm deer license. Youth age 10 and 11 must possess 
a free license.

•	 The bag limit is one deer. In lottery areas, youth hunters must use 
their regular license. In managed or intensive areas, they may use their 
regular license or 1 bonus permit if they take an antlerless deer.

•	 If the youth harvests a buck, the deer must be tagged with their regu-
lar license.

•	 Participation in the youth season does not affect eligibility to partici-
pate in the regular deer season; however, the harvested deer counts 
against the annual bag limit for that area.

Youth Hunting Licenses Reduced price individual youth licenses 
are available for residents and nonresidents under age 18 for firearms 
deer, archery deer, muzzleloader deer, and small game (see page 10). 
The individual youth firearms license is valid during the Statewide (A) and 
Late Southeast (B) season but not the Muzzleloader Season.
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Youth Antlerless Privilege in Lottery Deer Areas Residents and non-
residents under the age of 18 may take a deer of either sex in lottery deer 
areas without having to apply for or obtain an either-sex permit. Youth age 
10 to 17 should not apply for an either sex permit. ONLY THE YOUTH 
LICENSEE MAY TAKE AND TAG AN ANTLERLESS DEER IN A 
LOTTERY DEER AREA without an either-sex permit. Other members 
of the hunting party cannot take antlerless deer for the youth. Youth may 
not tag antlerless deer taken by another individual. Youth hunters must 
take and tag their own antlerless deer.

Firearms Safety Training Demand for Firearms Safety Training Classes 
is high, and many classes fill very rapidly or have waiting lists. Finding a 
class well in advance of the hunting season is highly recommended. Youth 
may attend a class at age 11. Information on classes can be found online at 
mndnr.gov

Youth and Small Game Hunting
Did you know that resident youth under age 13 are allowed 

to hunt small game without a firearms safety certificate? The only 
requirements are that they be accompanied by a parent or guardian 
and obtain a free license. You as a responsible parent are the best 
judge of when your child is mature enough to safely handle firearms 
and go hunting. 

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

SMALL GAME

Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration
Minnesota’s rich outdoor heritage is enjoyed by all — 
thanks to hunters like you, whose purchase of hunting 
and recreational shooting equipment supports wildlife 
management and habitat enhancement. When you purchase 
a rifle, ammunition, archery equipment, and other sporting gear, you pay 
a federal excise tax and import duties. Since 1937, this money has been 
collected by the federal government and redistributed to the states using a 
formula based on hunting license sales and the state’s land area. Minnesota’s 
share of the Wildlife Restoration Funds has reached almost $210 million, 
$11.15 million in 2012. These funds support projects, habitat management, 
Wildlife Management Areas, technical guidance, population management, 
wildlife inventory and surveys, wildlife land acquisition, and hunter 
education, recruitment and retention. 

2012 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS
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SMALL GAME

Youth age 15 and under are required to obtain a free small game 
license. 
 
MIGRATORY WATERFOWL See page 95.
LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

 

Small Game Hunting
• 	All residents and nonresidents, including youth under age 15, must 

have a valid Small Game License in their possession to take small 
game, except residents may hunt small game without a license on 
their own land if they occupy it as their principal residence. There 
are also exemptions for military personnel, see page 15.

•	 All residents age 18 or over and under age 65, and all nonresident 
hunters, must have a Minnesota Pheasant Stamp validation in their 
possession to take pheasants. For exceptions, see page 16.

Important Dates: 
See hunting and trapping season chart, pages 38-39.
A license year runs from March 1 through the end of February. 

Important Information:
Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP)

All hunters of migratory game birds (mourning doves, ducks, 
geese, mergansers, woodcock, snipe, rails, coots, or gallinules) must 
identify themselves as migratory bird hunters when they purchase a 
small game or sports license. If you are exempt from needing a small 
game license, you are not required to complete HIP certification. 

Evidence of compliance, which will be noted on your small 
game license as “HIP Certified,” must be carried while hunting 
migratory game birds.

Anyone who has hunted or intends to hunt migratory game birds 
must answer “yes” to the question on the license. If the license agent 
does not ask you this question at the time of license purchase, 
please remind them to do so. If you did not answer “yes” at the time 
you purchased your license, you may do so later at no cost and get a 
receipt showing you are HIP certified at any ELS agent.

 The answers to the screening questions about migratory bird 
hunting on the license will be used to survey hunters to more accu-
rately estimate actual harvests. Better harvest information improves 
migratory bird management and preserves hunting opportunities.
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• 	A nonresident must have a nonresident Furbearer Hunting License 
and a nonresident Small Game License to take raccoon and bobcat. 
A nonresident Furbearer Hunting License is not required to take fox 
and coyote. However, a Small Game License is still required to take 
fox and other small game.

SMALL GAME HUNTING
GENERAL RESTRICTIONS

Blaze Orange
Blaze orange is required for  

most small game hunting. See  
pages 24 and 25 for specifics. 
Closed Sharp-tailed Grouse 
Area 

The shaded area on the map at 
right is closed to sharp-tailed grouse 
hunting, except for licensed prairie 
chicken hunters within their selected 
zone. Few sharptails live in the area, 
and the closure protects remnant 
populations of sharptails and prairie 
chickens (a similar-looking species). 
Party Hunting for Small Game

A “party” is defined as a group of two or more persons maintain
ing unaided visual and vocal contact with each other while taking non-
migratory small game. “Party hunting” means that members of a party may 
take animals for other members’ limits. A party may lawfully take small 
game in accordance with the following regulations:
• 	A member of the party may take more than an individual limit, but 

the total number of small game taken and possessed by the party 
may not exceed the combined limits of members of the party. 

• 	Each party member may transport only an individual limit of  
small game.

• 	Party hunting is not allowed for migratory game birds (doves, ducks, 
geese, mergansers, coots, woodcock, rail, sandhill cranes, snipe, and 
gallinules).

Use of Lead Shot
• 	No person may take ducks, geese, mergansers, coots, sandhill cranes 

or gallinules with lead shot or while having lead shot in possession.
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• 	Lead shot may be used statewide for hunting other small game in 
accordance with firearms restrictions in this booklet, except in fed-
eral Wildlife Refuges and Waterfowl Production Areas.

Prairie Chickens
Prairie chicken licenses are allocated to Minnesota residents only 

by drawing for the five-day hunting season (Oct. 20-24). Hunters 
must have a prairie chicken hunting license; no small game license is 
required. Applications ($4) are due Friday, Aug. 17 and may be made 
online or anywhere hunting and fishing licenses are sold. 

Persons who do not have a prairie chicken license may not aid or 
assist prairie chicken hunters in any way. For example it is illegal for 
someone without a prairie chicken license to work dogs for someone 
with a prairie chicken license even if that person is licensed to take 
other small game. However, party hunting for prairie chickens is legal. 
That means that licensed prairie chicken hunters can shoot birds for 
other licensed prairie chicken hunters as long as they are together and 
they have not exceeded the total number of birds allowed for the party. 
Woodcock, Rails, Snipe, and Doves
• 	Duck Stamps (state or federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamps) are not 

required to hunt woodcock, rails, snipe, sandhill cranes, or mourn-
ing doves.

•	 Compliance with the migratory bird harvest information program is 
required by indicating “yes” in response to the migratory bird hunt-
ing question on the license (see page 33).

• 	Shotguns used to hunt these birds must not be capable of hold-
ing more than three shells, unless plugged with a one-piece filler 
that cannot be removed without disassembling the gun, so its total 
capacity does not exceed three shells.

Partridge and Pheasant
• 	A person may not shoot pheasants or Hungarian partridge with a 

rifle or handgun other than a .22 caliber rimfire using short, long, 
or long rifle ammunition.

Furbearers
• 	A person may not disturb the burrow or den of any wild animal 

between November 1 and April 1, without a permit.
• 	A person may not take pine marten, fisher, mink, muskrat, beaver, 

or otter by firearms or archery hunting. However, a firearm may be 
used to dispatch an animal already taken in a trap.

(continued on page 40)
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COYOTE (Canis latrans) AKA – Brush wolf
Height: 18” max. – Length: 3 feet – Average weight: 25-35 lbs. 
Color – all shades of gray, tan, buff, black or white (very rare)		   

Coyote Hunters - Know Your Target!
Wolf and Coyote Identification

Wolves have been mistakenly shot 
outside Minnesota’s primary wolf 
range because hunters thought they 
were coyotes. Wolves were once 
restricted to the northern part of 
Minnesota, but they have expanded 
their range and could show up in any 
part of the state. Do not assume that 
because you are outside Minnesota’s 
primary wolf range that the animal in 
your sights is a coyote. Wolves and 
coyotes are closely related, but are 
well distinguished by their difference 
in size and physical characteristics. 
Shooting a wolf because you think it 
is a coyote is illegal and punishable 
by Minnesota Game and Fish laws. 

Always know your target!

GRAY WOLF (Canis lupus) AKA - Timber wolf
Height: 30” average – Length: 5½ feet – Weight: 50-110 lbs. 
Color – shades of gray or tan, sometimes black, rarely white

2½

1½

4½

3½

Minnesota’s Primary Wolf Range
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Fully feathered 
head and fully feathered wing 
attached. (Geese need only a 
fully feathered wing.)

Ducks

TRANSPORTATION OF GAME BIRDS
Game birds possessed in the field must be transported as follows: 

• 	Except for ducks, all game birds must have a fully-feathered wing 
attached.

• 	Ducks must have a fully feathered wing and the fully feathered head 
attached.

•	 Turkey, pheasant, and Hungarian Partridge may have one leg attached 
or a fully-feathered wing attached.

•	 Doves may be transported fully dressed. 

Fully  
feathered 
wing 
attached.

All other game birds 
(doves may be transported 
fully dressed)

Raccoons
Night Hunting

	 	 A person may take raccoons between ½ hr. after sunset and ½ hr. 
before sunrise only in accordance with the following regulations:
• 	Hunters must be on foot.
• 	Artificial lights may be used to locate, attempt to locate, or shoot a 

raccoon only if the raccoon has been treed or put at bay by dogs.
	 • 	Rifles and handguns used must be .17 or .22 caliber rimfire 

(including .22 magnum).
• 	Shotgun shells may not contain shot larger than No. 4 bird shot.
Other Restrictions
• 	A person may pursue and tree raccoons with dogs, during the 

closed season and without a license.
• 	A person may not take a raccoon in a den or hollow tree, or by 

cutting down a tree occupied by a raccoon.
Fox and Coyote Night Hunting

A person hunting for coyote or fox from Jan. 1 to March 15 may 
use an artificial handheld light if they meet all of the following condi-
tions:
• 	While on foot and not within a public right of way
• 	Using a shotgun
• 	Using a calling device
• 	Not within 200 feet of vehicle

2012 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS

40



WALK-IN ACCESS PROGRAM 2012
Through Minnesota’s Walk-In Access Program over 15,000 acres of private 
land in 21 southwestern MN counties will be open for public hunting from 
September 1st to May 31st where boundary signs are present. Most of the WIA 
land is also enrolled in a conservation program (e.g., CRP, RIM Reserve, CREP) 
or has natural cover. Small inclusions of cropland or hayland may be present.
Visit the WIA website at www.mndnr.gov/walkin for a printable atlas of the 
sites by county, aerial photos of each site, and interactive maps such as 
Google Earth, Google Maps and the DNR Recreational Compass. GPS and GIS 
downloads are also be available. Copies of the 2012 WIA Atlas will be available 
at Area DNR Wildlife offices, SWCD offices and local commerce and tourism 
information outlets in the 21 counties.
WIA land is for public hunting only. Individuals can hunt a half hour before 
sunrise to a half hour after sunset during any open hunting season (including 
spring turkey) with no landowner contacts necessary. No target practice, 
trapping, dog training, camping, horseback riding or fires are allowed. Enrolled 
acres are for walk-in traffic only; no vehicles are allowed. Parking is along roads 
or in designated parking areas – check twice to make sure vehicles don’t block 
field entrances. DNR conservation officers will address trespass and hunting 
violations.  
The ongoing success of this program depends on landowners’ interest in 
opening up their property to public hunting. Please be respectful and follow 
the Code of Conduct while using WIA land (the code can be found on the WIA 
website.)  In 2013 hunters must have a Walk-In Access Validation on their small 
game or deer license to legally access WIA land. The validation will be free. 
To help fund the program after federal grant funds runs out in 2013, a portion 
of nonresident hunting license will support WIA. Purchasers of deer and small 
game license will be asked if they want to donate $1, $3 or $5 to the Walk-In 
Access Program. The small game license donations are being paid by hunters 
for administration of the walk-in access program.

41
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TRAPPING 
Note: Best Management Practices for trapping in the United States are avail-
able online at: www.fishwildlife.org/furbearer_resources.html

License Requirements
• 	All residents and non-residents, including youth under age 15 must 

have a Small Game License in possession to take small game (includ-
ing furbearers) with traps, except that persons may trap without a 
Small Game License on their own land if they occupy it as their prin-
cipal residence. That person may still need a Trapping License.

•	 Residents age 13 through 17 must have a Jr. Trapping License and 
residents age 18 through 64 must have a regular trapping license to 
trap. Residents age 65 and over must have a regular or reduced-fee 
trapping license. Residents under age 13 do not need a trapping 
license.

• 	Any fisher, otter, bobcat, or pine marten taken by a resident under 
age five must be included in the limit of the accompanying parent 
or guardian.

• 	Nonresidents may trap only on land they own in Minnesota with 
nonresident trapping and small game licenses.

Persons born after December 31, 1989, who have not been issued a 
trapping license in a previous license year may not obtain a trapping 
license without a trapper education certificate. The Minnesota 
Trappers Association will conduct trapper education courses 
statewide, free of charge to the participants, and issue certificates that 
satisfy this trapping license requirement. 
Contact the MTA at www.mntrappers.org for class information. 
These courses include a mandatory field training portion that must 
be completed before certification. Please plan to take certification 
courses well in advance of the fur trapping season.

Seasons See page 39.

Important! Other outdoor enthusiasts are afield with dogs during 
trapping seasons. Although accidental captures of dogs by trappers 
are rare, the occasional accidents that occur lead to calls for increased 
regulation of trapping activities. Trappers must be aware of their 
responsibility to set and tend traps in strict adherence to all trapping 
and trespass regulations, and take great care to avoid areas and sets 
that may accidentally capture dogs.

2012 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS
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Trap and Snare Identification
A person may not set or place a trap or snare, other than on property 

owned or occupied by the person, unless the following information is affixed 
to the trap or snare in a way that ensures the information remains legible 
while the trap or snare is on the land or in the water:

	 1) The number and state of the person’s driver’s license; or
	 2) The person’s Minnesota identification card number; or
	 3) The person’s name and mailing address; or
	 4) The person's MNDNR number as printed on their license.
	 (Note: A person may use their previously issued drivers license 	 	

number until March 1, 2013)
Note: From April 1 to August 31, the trap identification provisions listed 

above do not apply to traps set for the taking of unprotected wild animals.
Traps (Note: modified trapping regulations are in place in the lynx 
management zone. See pages 48 and 49.)

A person may not set, place, or operate:
• 	any foot or leghold trap with a jaw opening greater than 8¾ inches;
• 	any body-gripping or conibear-type trap with a jaw opening greater than 

7½ inches, except as a waterset*; or
•	 any body-gripping or conibear-type trap with a jaw opening greater than 

6½ inches and less than 7½ inches on public lands and waters unless the 
trap meets one of the following:
•	 recessed seven inches or more from the top and front of an enclosure 

(see diagram at right)
•	 no attractants are within 20 

feet of the trap or
•	 the trap is elevated at least 

three feet from the ground 
or surface of the snow. 

	 Note: The diagram above is 
for illustration only. Cubbies constructed so the trap is recessed at least 
7 inches from all sides of the opening may also be used. Cubbies made 
from natural materials that comply with regulations may also be used. 

• 	any body-gripping or conibear-type trap with a jaw opening greater than 
6½ inches in or within 3 feet of the opening of a six-foot wide or smaller 
culvert, except as a completely submerged waterset**.

• any body gripping trap with a jaw larger than 6½ inches in the road 
right-of-way within 500 feet of a building occupied by human or 
livestock without written permission of the landowner, except as a 
completely submerged waterset**.

* 	A waterset is defined as any body-gripping trap or snare set so that the 
trap jaws or the snare loop are at least half-submerged in water.

** A completely submerged waterset is any set in which the body-grip-
ping portion of the jaws is completely submerged in water. 43
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Trap Setting and Tending
• 	A person may set or tend traps only from 5 a.m. to 10 p.m.
• 	A person on foot may use an artificial light to set or tend traps during 

the legal hours. However, that person may not possess or use a bow 
and arrow or a firearm other than a handgun or rifle of .17 or .22 cali-
ber with short, long, or long rifle rim fire ammunition (including .22 
magnum) while using the light in the field.

• 	A person may not set a trap within 50 feet of any water other than 
temporary surface water within 30 days before the open season for 
mink and muskrat in that area, except by permit.

• 	Any trap capable of capturing a protected animal and not capable of 
drowning the animal must be tended at least once each calendar day, 
except for body-gripping or conibear-type traps. Any trap capable of 
drowning the captured animal and any body-gripping or conibear-
type trap must be tended at least once each third calendar day, except 
for traps set under the ice. A trap may not be left untended for more 
than three consecutive days (for example, a trap set or tended on 
Saturday would have to be tended again by 10 p.m. Tuesday). When a 
trap is tended, any animal captured must be removed.

 • Foothold traps with a jaw spread of 4¾ inches or less or a rat trap type 
snap trap that are entirely contained in a container with an opening 
of no more that two inches in height and/or width that are designed 
to kill an animal need not be tended more frequently than once every 
third calendar day (These are often referred to as weasel boxes).

Trap Tampering
•  No person may remove or tamper with a trap or snare legally set 

to take fur-bearing or unprotected wild animals without authoriza-
tion by the trapper, a DNR agent, or the owner or lessee of the land 
where the trap is located. 
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• 	A trapper may authorize, in writing, an agent who possesses all nec
essary licenses to tend traps set by the trapper, including resetting 
the trap at the same set. The agent may remove animals from a trap.

General Trapping Restrictions (Note: modified trapping regulations 
are in place in the lynx management zone. See page 48-49.)
•	 No trap, either set or unset, may be placed or staked, and no flag, 

stake, or other device may be placed to mark or pre-empt a trapping 
site before the opening of any trapping season.  

• During the muskrat trapping season, no flag, stake or other device 
may be placed in or on a muskrat house for the purpose of marking 
or pre-empting a trap site unless an operational trap is set at the site 
at the time it is first staked or marked.

	 • No person may leave any trap for a protected wild animal in place,
      either set or unset, after the close of the applicable trapping season.

• 	No person may disturb, injure, or destroy any muskrat house or den, 
except that traps may be set at natural entrances to muskrat burrows 
and openings may be made in muskrat houses for trapping if all mate-
rial removed is wetted and used to plug the opening.

• 	Animals must be killed before being removed from a site.
• 	No person may disturb, injure, or destroy any beaver house, dam, 

burrow, or den.
• 	No person may set a trap inside any beaver house or upon the 

outside of any beaver house above the waterline.
• 	Mink may not be taken by digging or with the aid of dogs.
• 	Unattended electronic devices may not be used for taking wild ani

mals.
• 	No person may set or maintain any leghold trap within 20 feet of 

bait located in such a way that it may be seen by soaring birds. “Bait” 
is any animal or animal parts, including live or dead fish, except that 
small pieces of fur and feathers may be used for flagging.

• 	No person may take a bird with a foot or leghold trap, except by 
special permit.

•	 No person may trap beaver or otter on a state Wildlife Management 
Area without a permit from the wildlife manager.

Snaring Regulations
Snares may be used by licensed trappers for taking all species of 

protected wild mammals that may be taken by the use of traps. The use 
of snares is subject to the following regulations and all trapping regula
tions not inconsistent with these snaring restrictions. 

General Restrictions for Snares
• 	Bears cannot be taken with snares.
• 	In the farmland Furbearer Zone no person may set, place, or operate 
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any snare except as a waterset, other than from Oct. 27 to March 31 
when snares are allowed on land except on public lands, road rights-
of-way or in fence lines along road rights of way. A waterset is any 
snare set so that the snare loop is at least half submerged.

Use of Snares
• 	The diameter of the snare loop may not exceed 10 inches.
• 	Snare cable or wire may not have a diameter exceeding 1⁄8 inch.
• 	No person may set, place, or operate a snare in a culvert, except 

as a completely submerged waterset.
• 	Snares may not be set in deer trails.
•  Snares may not be used with spring poles or other devices that wholly 

or partly lift from the ground an animal caught in the snare.
• 	Snares that operate with springs but do not lift the animal whol-

ly or partially off the ground are allowable.
• 	No snare may be set in such a way that the top of the loop is 

more than 20 inches above the first surface beneath the bottom 
of the set snare loop.

• 	All snares not capable of drowning the captured animal must be 
tended at least once each calendar day.

• 	No snare set for a protected animal may be left in place after the 
applicable trapping season has closed. 

Site validation coupons for fisher, pine marten and river 
otter
•	 Site validation coupons for fisher, pine marten and river otter are 

available for free upon request at license vendors. Trappers will 
receive one site validation coupon for each animal they could 
potentially harvest. For example, a trapper who intended to tar-
get fisher, pine marten and river otter would receive a total of 
seven coupons (5 fisher/marten and 4 river otter).

•	 Each person age five or older who takes a river otter, fisher or 
pine marten must validate their site validation coupon at the site 
of the kill by cutting out the appropriate notches with a sharp 
knife or similar sharp object. The notches indicate the month, 
date, time (am/pm) and species (fisher/marten). 

•	 Site validation coupons do not need to be attached to the ani-
mal, but trappers must have their coupons in possession while 
taking or transporting fisher, pine marten or river otter. 

•	 Fisher, river otter, bobcat or pine marten taken by a resident 
under age five must be included in the limit of the accompany-
ing parent or guardian. Fisher, pine marten and river otter must 
be validated on one of the parent or guardian’s site validation 
coupons. 
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•	 Fisher, pine marten and river otter must not be removed from 
the kill site without the trapper's validated site coupon in pos-
session. Authorized agents* may remove trapped fisher, pine 
marten, and otter from the trap and the agent must validate their 
own site validation coupon at and prior to removing the animal 
from the site of the kill. 

•	 Site validation coupons are not transferrable. Trappers may 
acquire site validation coupons at any time before or during the 
trapping season. Replacements for site validation coupons that 
are lost or destroyed are available upon request from any license 
vendor. Replacement site validation coupons are clearly marked 
as replacements. 

•	 Trappers must present completed site validation coupons for 
each fisher, pine marten and river otter when they present the 
pelts for furbearer registration. 

 *	An authorized agent is an individual that a trapper has authorized in writ-
ing and who possesses all necessary licenses to tend traps set by the trapper, 
including resetting the trap at the same set. 

Furbearer Registration
• 	The pelt of each bobcat, fisher, pine marten, and otter, must be 

removed from the carcass and presented for registration by the per-
son taking it. The entire carcass of each bobcat and the head of each 
pine marten and fisher must also be presented.

•	 Pelts, carcasses, and heads must be presented for registration at a 
DNR registration station (complete list on page 50) or area wildlife 
office (by appointment) before the pelt is sold or removed from the 
state and no more than 24 hours after the close of the season for 
fisher and marten and 48 hours after the season closes for otter and 
bobcat.

•	 To speed up registration, please bring the following written informa-
tion for each animal to be registered: species, sex, method of take, 
date taken and county, township and range where taken. Include 
your MDNR number, as shown on your license. Forms are available 
at wildlife offices and online.

• 	Plastic registration tags must remain affixed to the raw pelt until 
the pelt is tanned or mounted. Site validation coupons need not be 
attached to the animal.

• 	Tanning a pelt does not eliminate the need for registration of otter, 
martin, fisher or bobcat.
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Releasing Protected Species
Every effort should be made to avoid catching fully protected species. 

If possible, a trapper should release accidentally captured protected species 
back into the wild. If a fully protected species is caught out of season or a 
daily or possession limit has been reached and the animal is dead in the trap 
or otherwise cannot be released, you must notify a DNR conservation offi-
cer. Without authorization from a conservation officer, a person may not 
possess or transport a lynx that was accidentally killed or lawfully killed.

Furbearer Pelting and Transportation
• 	A person who performs a service by recovering and preserving the 

pelt of a protected furbearer (except muskrat) that was accidentally 
killed or lawfully killed while doing damage, may be entitled to a 
pelting fee of up to 50 percent of the proceeds from the sale of the 
pelt not to exceed $25 per pelt. Contact a local DNR conservation 
officer or regional DNR Enforcement office within 24 hours for 
authorization to pelt the animal. 

•	 Pelts or unpelted furbearers that were lawfully taken may be sold 
only to a licensed fur buyer. 

Lynx Management Zone Regulations
As a result of a federal court order, trapping regulations in north-

east Minnesota have been modified to restrict, modify or eliminate the 
incidental take of Canada Lynx. The following regulations apply only 
to that part of Minnesota lying east and north of U.S. Highway 53, as 
shown on the map:
1.	All snare cable or wire must be at least 5⁄64 inch in diameter when 

set on land.
2.	Snare loops must be at least 8 inches in diameter and may not 

exceed 10 inches in diameter when set on land.
3.	All foothold traps, except those set as water sets, must be staked 

or otherwise secured by tethering chains or cables not more than 
18 inches long with at least two swivel points.

4.	All traps and snares must 
be secured in a manner 
that prevents captured 
animals from removing 
the trap from the trap 
site (no drags allowed). 
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5.	Fresh meat, hare or rabbit or parts of hare or rabbit may not be 
used as bait. Other meat may be used as bait if it has been unfrozen 
and exposed to air for at least 24 hours. 

6.	No suspended flagging or other sight attractant may be used within 
20 feet of the trap or snare. 

7.	Any incidentally caught lynx should be immediately released, if 
possible. Any trapper who accidentally takes a lynx is required to 
notify their local conservation officer as soon as possible or within 
24 hours. Persons who know about the take of a lynx can report it 
by calling (800) 652-9093.

8.	Body-gripping traps that have a maximum jaw opening, when set, 
of greater than 5 inches and less than 7½ inches measured from the 
inside edges of the jaws (generally 160 and 220 conibears), except 
those set as water sets, must be set in one of two ways:

	 A.	In a tree of any diameter or on a pole no larger than 6 inches in 
diameter at least three feet off the ground or surface of the snow. 

	 B.	If used on the ground, they must be set in a cubby with the trap 
inserted a minimum of 7 inches from the front, with the cubby 
opening no more than 50 square inches in area as illustrated. 

Note: This diagram is for illustration purposes only. Cubby boxes may 
be constructed of any material and openings may be restricted with wire 
mesh, wood strips or other material.

For general questions about trapping in the lynx management zone, call 
the DNR information line at (888) 646-6367 (MINNDNR).

Opening not to exceed 
50 square inches
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LOCATIONS

Aitkin	 DNR Wildlife Office 218-927-3751
Backus	 DNR Forestry Office 218-947-3232
Baudette 	 DNR Wildlife Office 218-634-1705
Bemidji	 DNR Area Fish & Wildlife Office 218-308-2339
Big Falls	 DNR Forestry Office 218-276-2237
Brainerd	 DNR Area Wildlife Office (1601 Minnesota Drive) 	
	   218-828-2550
Cambridge	 DNR Wildlife Office 763-689-7100
Cloquet	 DNR Wildlife Office 218-879-0880 Ext225
Deer River	 DNR Forestry Office 218-246-8343
Duluth	 DNR Forestry Office (4805 Rice Lake Road) 218-723-4791
Effie	 DNR Forestry Office 218-743-3694
Eveleth	 DNR Wildlife Office 218-744-7449 Ext221
Finland	 DNR Forestry Office (Nov. 30 only) 218-353-7397
Forest Lake	 DNR Carlos Avery Game Farm Office 651-296-5200
Grand Marais	 DNR Wildlife Office (Nov. 30 only) 218-387-3034
Grand Rapids	 DNR Regional Headquarters 218-327-4455
Hibbing	 DNR Forestry Office 218-262-6760
International Falls	 DNR Wildlife Office 218-286-5434
Shakopee	 MN Valley HQ (19825 Park Blvd.) 952-496-4141
Middle River	 DNR Thief Lake Wildlife Office 218-222-3747
New London	 DNR Wildlife Office (398 Sibley Park Rd NE) 320-354-2154
Nicollet 	 DNR Wildlife Office 507-225-3572
Northome	 DNR Forestry Office 218-897-5254
Onamia	 DNR Mille Lacs Wildlife Area Office 320-532-3537
Orr	 DNR Forestry Office 218-757-3274
Park Rapids	 DNR Wildlife Office 218-732-8452
Roseau	 DNR Roseau City Center Library 218-463-1130
Roosevelt	 DNR Red Lake WMA Office 218-783-6861
Rochester	 DNR Area Wildlife Office 507-206-2859
Sandstone	 DNR Wildlife Office (613 Highway 23 South) 
	   320-245-6789 Ext226
Sauk Rapids	� DNR Office (940 Industrial Drive, Suite 103, Sauk Rapids,     	

  MN) 320-223-7840
Thief Lake	 DNR Wildlife Office Middle River 218-222-3747
Tower	 DNR Wildlife Office 218-753-2580 Ext221 
Two Harbors	 DNR Wildlife Office (Nov. 30 only) 218-834-1452 or 1453
Wadena 	 National Guard Armory (517 Jefferson St. W) 218-732-8452

Furbearer Registration Stations
Furbearers may be registered between noon and 7 p.m. on 

November 30 (all species), and between 3 p.m. and 6 p.m. on January 8 
(bobcat and otter only) at the locations listed below or with any DNR area 
wildlife office throughout the season by appointment only. A complete 
list of wildlife office locations is available online at mndnr.gov 
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FIND YOUR LOCAL CONSERVATION OFFICER ON THE WEB

 The DNR has developed a new web page to make finding your local 
conservation officer easier than ever at: 
www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas

For your convenience, complete this page and take it with you when 
you are in the field

Officer’s name: 

Telephone number:

 Officer’s name: 

Telephone number: 

If you witness a violation in progress or need to contact a conservation 
officer immediately, call Turn in Poachers (TIP) at 800 652-9093 or the 
nearest state patrol dispatch center:

Brainerd 	 (218) 828-2400 	
Detroit Lakes 	 (218) 847-1550 	
Duluth 	 (218) 723-4885 	
Metro East	 (651) 582-1509    
Metro West 	 (651) 582-1511 	
Mankato 	 (507) 285-7410
Marshall 	 (507) 537-6277 
Rochester	 (507) 285-7410 
St. Cloud	 (320) 255-4224 
Thief River Falls	 (218) 681-0942 
Virginia	 (218) 748-2426 

Connect instantly to the conservation 
officer locator web page by scanning this 
code with your smart phone.
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REPORTING INCIDENTALLY TAKEN FURBEARERS:

The DNR is changing requirements for reporting furbearers that are 
incidentally taken by trappers. 

The following regulations now apply:

•	 A person may not possess or transport a lynx that was accidentally 
killed or was lawfully killed until the person notifies the local con-
servation officer, other authorized department employee, or regional 
enforcement office of the killing and receives authorization to pos-
sess, transport or skin the animal

•	 A person may possess and transport mink, muskrat, beaver, badger, 
opossum, fox or raccoon accidentally killed or lawfully killed while 
causing damage or threatening injury or damage only if the local 
conservation officer or other authorized employee of the department 
is notified within 24 hours of such killing and before any skinning 
has begun. 

• A person may possess and transport fisher, otter or pine marten that 
were accidentally killed, or bobcat or wolf that were accidentally 
killed or lawfully killed while causing or threatening injury or dam-
age, only after the species is reported to a local conservation officer 
or by calling (888) 646-6367 (option 9) and providing the required 
information. After making the required notification and taking pos-
session of the animal, the person may not skin, transfer possession or 
otherwise dispose of the animal without authorization from a conser-
vation officer. 

Trappers should be prepared with the following information when 
calling (888) 646-6367 (option 9):

•	 The trapper’s name and DNR number as it appears on the trapping 
license.

•	 Date and time that the catch was discovered.
•	 The number and species taken (example: one otter)
•	 General location of the catch (example: five miles south of Ely off 

County Road 21)
•	 Complete address of the location where the carcass is being kept.  
•	 A telephone number where you can easily be reached.
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SEASON DATES, LIMITS AND HOURS
Sept. 1 to Nov. 9, from one half hour before sunrise to sunset. Daily bag 

limit is 15; possession limit 30.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
All residents and nonresidents must have a valid small game license 

in their possession. Youth age 15 and under are required to obtain a free 
license. Residents may hunt doves without a license on property they 
occupy as their principal residence. All licensed dove hunters must be HIP 
certified (see page 33).

PARTY HUNTING
Party hunting for mourning doves is prohibited. Individual hunters may 

not shoot migratory game birds for other hunters.

FIREARM RESTRICTIONS
Only shotguns not capable of holding more than three shells may be 

used to take doves.

AGRICULTURAL LANDS AND BAITING
Bait, seeds or grain may not be placed or brought into a field. 
Doves may be hunted on, over or from:
• 	Lands or areas where seeds or grains have been scattered solely  

as the result of normal agricultural operations, which include 
normal agricultural harvestings, normal agricultural post-harvest 
manipulations, or normal agricultural practices.

• 	Lands planted by top-sowing or aerial seeding where seeds have 
been scattered solely as the result of a normal agricultural planting, 
a planting for agricultural soil erosion control, or a planting for 
post‑mining land reclamation.

• 	Standing crops, and standing or manipulated natural vegetation
• 	Lands planted as wildlife food plots, provided the seed is  

planted in a manner consistent with Cooperative State Research, 
Education, and Extension Service recommendations for the planting 
of wildlife food plots.

• 	Lands planted as pasture improvements or for the purpose of grazing 
livestock.

• 	A blind or other place of concealment camouflaged with natural 
vegetation.

MOURNING DOVE
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This information is provided to help you avoid common mistakes.
• 	Pre-season scouting is best in the morning and late afternoon, when 

doves are most active.
• 	Doves are most abundant in agricultural areas of western and southern 

Minnesota.
• 	Hunt in areas between food, water, grit and roosting locations.
• 	Doves often feed in wheat, oat and sunflower fields. Landowner 

permission is required to hunt private agricultural fields.
• 	Doves fly 30 to 40 mph and can reach 60 mph. Practice estimating extra 

wingshooting lead distance.
• 	Downed doves blend well with vegetation. Mark and retrieve birds imme-

diately. Dogs can be very useful in retrieving doves.
• 	Hunters who disrupt or damage utility lines taking resting doves could 

face legal action.
• 	Motorized decoys controlled by remote may be used to take doves.

Dove Hunting

• 	Lands or areas where grain or feed has been distributed or scattered 
solely by manipulation of an agricultural crop or other feed on the 
land where grown. Manipulation means the alteration of natural 
vegetation or agricultural crops by activities such as mowing, 
shredding, discing, rolling, chopping, trampling, flattening, burning, 
or herbicide treatments. Manipulation does not include the distri
buting or scattering of seeds, grains, or other feed after removal from 
or storage on the field where grown. 
NOTE: Although doves may be hunted over manipulated 
agricultural crops, waterfowl may not, except after the field has been 
subject to a normal harvest and at least 10 days has elapsed since the 
complete removal of all manipulated grain.

	 The complete Federal migratory game bird hunting regulations  
can be found in Title 50 Code of Federal Regulations part 20  
(http://www.le.fws.gov/pdffiles/50_CFR_20.pdf).

SANDHILL CRANE
Look for details about the 2012 Sandhill crane hunt               

(Sep. 15-Oct.21) in northwest Minnesota in the waterfowl supple-
ment, available in mid August.
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WILD TURKEYS
Important Dates:

Fall
Sept. 29 - Oct. 28: Hunting Season
Fall turkey licenses will no longer be distributed by lottery. 

They may be purchased online, by telephone and wherever 
hunting and fishing licenses are sold.
Spring Season (2013)

Nov., 2012: Applications available for Spring Season.
Jan. 11, 2013: Application deadline for Spring Season.
April 17, 2013: First Spring Season opens.

License AVAILABILITY
Licenses for early-season spring wild turkey hunts are awarded in a 

preference drawing. Application materials and full regulations are available 
online at mndnr.gov/hunting/turkey/index.html  

Spring turkey permits that are valid for the final four seasons (E-H) 
may be purchased over-the-counter, without participating in the lottery or 
drawing. Firearms hunters who purchase an over-the-counter permit must 
select and hunt in one permit area. Archery hunters may hunt throughout 
the combined time periods. 

Crossbows are not legal for archery turkey license holders except 
disabled hunters with a permit. Crossbows may be used with any turkey 
firearm license. Hunters may not purchase both a firearm and an archery 
license. 

Private Lands Assistance 
Want to improve habitat on your land? The DNR Private Lands 
Program assists private landowners in developing and maintaining 
wildlife habitat. More information is available online at 
mndnr.gov/privatelandsprogram 

 update
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LEGAL FIREARMS (INCLUDES HANDGUNS) FOR BIG GAME
•	 It is at least .220 caliber and has center fire ignition;
• 	It is loaded only with single projectile ammunition;
• 	The projectile used has a soft point or is an expanding bullet type;*
•	 The muzzleloader (long gun or handgun) used cannot be loaded at the 

breech (muzzleloading revolvers are not legal for taking big game);
• 	The smooth-bore muzzleloader used is at least .45 caliber and
• 	The rifled muzzleloader used is at least .40 caliber;
• 	Muzzleloaders with scopes are legal during the regular firearms deer 

seasons, but are not allowed during the muzzleloader season except by 
special permit for hunters with a medically certified visual impairment. 
Applications are available from the DNR Info Center, see page 125.

Other Restrictions
• 	No person may discharge a firearm or an arrow from a bow on, over, 

across, or within the right-of-way of an improved public highway 
(including but not limited to federal, state, county, and township 
roadways) at a big game animal or a decoy of a big game animal that 
has been set out by a licensed peace officer.

• 	A person may not use a dog or horse to take big game.

LEGAL BOWS AND ARROWS FOR BIG GAME
• 	Bows must have a pull no less than 30 pounds at or before full draw. 
• 	Arrowheads used for taking big game must be sharp, have a minimum 

of two metal cutting edges, be of barbless broadhead design, and have 
a diameter of at least ⅞ inch.

• 	“Expandable” broadheads may be used to take big game if they meet 
the requirements above and: 1) are at least ⅞ inch in width and no 
more than 2 inches in width at or after impact; and 2) are of a barbless 
design and function in a barbless manner.

• 	No person may hunt with a bow drawn, held, or released by a 
mechanical device, except disabled hunters who have a crossbow per-
mit.

BIG GAME

	 *	 Note: Hunters are reminded to select bullets that are suitable for taking big 
game. Most major manufacturers offer either bonded or all-copper bullets that 
are appropriate for taking big game. Hunters are advised to select a proper 
bullet design and weight that is suitable for humanely taking big game.

2012 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS

56



• 	A hand-held mechanical release attached to the bowstring may be used 
if the person’s own strength draws and holds the bowstring.

•	 A person may hunt with a crossbow under the following conditions,
› 	Big game and small game by special permit issued to hunters unable 

to hunt by archery because of a temporary or permanent
	disability. The disability must be verified in writing by a licensed 
physician or chiropractor. The permit application is available from 
any DNR regional office or by calling the DNR Information Center 
(See page 125), or online at www.mndnr.gov/permits/enforcement.

› 	A licensed hunter may use a crossbow as a choice of arms for bear or 
deer with a regular firearms license or a crossbow disability permit 
and an archery license.

SHOOTING HOURS
Shooting hours for big game are one-half hour before sunrise to one-

half hour after sunset.

POSSESSION OF BIG GAME
Any person who takes a big game animal must retain the license, site 

tag, permit, and possession (registration) tag for as long as any part of the 
meat is in possession.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Deer Carcass Disposal
Hunters who process their own deer may not dispose of carcasses 

on public land, including wildlife management areas, state forests, 
road rights of way or in any water body. Deer carcasses may be dis-
posed of in the following ways:

• 	On private land with the permission of the landowner.
• 	Through your refuse hauler after checking on how to properly 

bag the carcass.
• 	At a local landfill. 

The use of bait for trapping (carcasses or parts of carcasses) 
remains legal within applicable laws, however, the unlawful deposit 
of carcasses not associated with legal baiting or field dressing consti-
tutes litter.

57

BIG GAME



FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Chronic Wasting Disease
CWD (Chronic Wasting Disease) naturally occurs in North 

American deer and Rocky Mountain Elk. It belongs to a group of 
infectious diseases known as “transmissible spongiform enceph-
alopathies” (TSEs). It is caused by an abnormal protein, called a 
prion, that affects the animal’s brain and is invariably fatal. Usually, 
months to years pass from the time an animal is infected to when it 
shows signs of the disease.

Typical signs of the disease include drooping head or ears, poor 
body condition, tremors, stumbling, increased salivation, difficulty 
swallowing, or excessive thirst or urination. 

A good source for national CWD information can be found  
at www.cwd-info.org. Minnesota-specific CWD information 
begins on page 60.

Carcass Import Restrictions
To help prevent the spread of CWD, hunters cannot bring 

whole cervid (deer, elk, moose, caribou) carcasses into Minnesota 
from areas of other states or provinces where CWD has been found 
in wild deer or elk. A list of known areas from which carcass import 
is restricted can be found at www.mndnr.gov or by calling the DNR 
information number (see page 125). From these areas, hunters may 
bring only the following parts into Minnesota:

•	 Meat that is boned out or that is cut and wrapped (either 
commercially or privately)

•	 Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the spinal 
column or head attached

•	 Hides and teeth
•	 Antlers or clean (no brain tissue attached) skull plates with antlers 

attached
•	 Finished taxidermy mounts
•	 Nonresidents transporting whole carcasses on a direct route 

through Minnesota are exempt from this regulation.
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LEAD IN VENISON

What hunters should know:
•	 Lead particles found in hunter-harvested venison have not been 

linked to any illnesses.
•	 Lead is a neurotoxin but toxicity depends on the level and frequency 

of exposure. It is particularly harmful to children 6 and younger and 
pregnant women.

•	 Lead can have physiological effects on human bodies and brains at 
levels below that which would cause any noticeable signs of sickness.

•	 The following guidelines and suggestions can eliminate or reduce and 
minimize the potential risk of consuming lead fragments, depending 
on the risk tolerance of the hunter.

•	 Consider alternative expanding non-lead ammunition such as copper 
or other high weight-retention bullets, such as bonded bullets. These 
are available in a wide range of calibers as well as in shotgun slugs 
and muzzleloader bullets. For more information visit our Web site at: 
mndnr.gov or consult with manufacturers.

•	 Lead particles in venison will likely be too small to detect by sight, 
feel, or when chewing the meat.

•	 If you process your own meat, do not use deer with excessive shot 
damage. Trim a generous distance away from the wound channel and 
discard any meat that is bruised, discolored or contains hair, dirt, 
bone fragments or grass.

•	 Avoid consuming internal organs.
•	 Practice marksmanship and outdoors skills to get cleaner, closer shots 

and better shots.

Ultimately, individual hunters need to make the decisions. The DNR 
and the Minnesota Department of Agriculture fully support deer hunt-
ing and the venison donation program. Venison is a healthy, high quality 
source of protein. Lead contamination can be avoided by using non-toxic 
ammunition or reduced by using ammunition with high weight reten-
tion, such as bonded bullets, and placing shots in vital areas away from 
major muscle groups and liberally trimming meat around the wound 
channels. 
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NEW 2012 DEER SEASON INFORMATION
•	 Deer harvested by hunters in deer areas 159, 183 and 225 will be 

sampled for chronic wasting disease.
•	 Hunters who hold a landowner deer license may purchase bonus tags 

for use in deer areas designated managed or intensive.
•	 Firearm, muzzleloader and archery special hunt tables are again pub-

lished in this book and available online.

CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE MANAGEMENT AREA
Overview

•	 The chronic wasting disease (CWD) management area is comprised 
of deer permit area 602.  This permit area created as a result of the 
discovery of a CWD-positive wild deer near Pine Island.

•	 The intent of the CWD management area (deer area 602) is to 
maximize hunting opportunities and liberalize bag limits such that 
deer densities can be reduced and additional disease surveillance can 
be conducted in this area.

•	 The area is almost entirely private land and access is limited.  
Hunters interested in pursuing deer in this area are advised to acquire 
landowner permission first.

•	 The season dates are:
o	Archery:  September 15 to December 31
o	Youth:  October 18 to October 21
o	Firearm: November 3 to November 25
o	Muzzleloader:  November 24 to December 9

•	 During the entire 23-day regular firearm season (November 3 – 25), 
a license valid for either season option (A or B) can be used in deer 
area 602.

DEER—GENERAL

Important Dates:
•	 Sept. 6 (Thursday): Either sex Deer and Special Area Permit  

application deadline. 
• 	Sept. 15: Archery opening date. 
• 	Nov. 3: Statewide (A) Firearms opening date.
•	 Nov. 17: Late Southeast (B) Firearms opening date.
• 	Nov. 24: Muzzleloader opening date.
• 	Nov. 9: Firearms Deer opening date for 2013.
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•	 Salt and mineral blocks and mineral attractants are prohibited in 
the CWD-related feeding ban described on page 78.

•	 A person may take only one buck but may take an unlimited number 
of antlerless deer. 

•	 The antler point restriction and cross-tagging restrictions that were 
enacted in 2010 are not in effect for deer area 602.  A person may 
take any legal buck.

•	 Disease management permits, which are available for $2.50 from any 
ELS agent, may be used in deer area 602.  Disease management per-
mits are for antlerless deer only and should be used instead of bonus 
permits.  They are not valid in adjacent deer permit areas; they are 
only valid in deer permit area 602, and the bovine TB area in the 
northwest (deer area 101).

•	 Deer taken in the CWD area must be registered at one of the stations 
listed on pages 63.  

•	 Submission of a sample for CWD testing is mandatory for all deer 
harvested in the CWD area.  This includes deer taken during archery, 
youth, firearm, and the muzzleloader season.  

•	 The only exception is that fawns (deer less than 1 year old) will not 
be tested.  At the time of registration, a DNR representative will 
make the determination as to whether or not a sample will be taken.  
If the deer is a fawn, it will be tagged and can then be transported 
outside the area. If there is any question as to the age of the deer, it 
will be tested.

CWD MANAGEMENT ZONE (DEER AREA 602)
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•	 Deer that are tested for CWD must remain in the area until a nega-
tive test result is reported.

•	 Internet and phone registration does not work in deer area 602.  
Deer must be presented at an official CWD registration station.

Deer Registration and Carcass Restrictions
The biggest changes for hunters in this area will be where deer can be 

registered and how carcasses can be transported.  The goal is to maximize 
the number of hunter-harvested samples but remain flexible enough such 
that deer registration and carcass restrictions are not overly burdensome.  
Achieving these goals will mean registration stations will have to be con-
solidated and hunters may need to travel farther to register their deer.  The 
agency is committed to doing what it takes to obtain samples; however, 
logistics preclude DNR from being everywhere, all the time.  This is par-
ticularly evident during the archery season because it is so long and so few 
deer are taken.  

Registration and surveillance in the CWD area only
•	 Deer taken in area 602 must be presented for registration at one of the 

stations listed below.  Check station operators will not register your 
deer unless there is verification that the carcass is present.

•	 The phone and internet registration options will not work for this 
area.

•	 Submission of a CWD sample is mandatory. 
•	 Hunters are encouraged to promptly register their deer so that the 

CWD sample can be removed and reported back in a timely manner.  
Removing the CWD sample takes only a few minutes and requires the 
extraction of one pair of lymph nodes from the head.  The entire deer 
carcass cannot be removed from the CWD area (see map) until a nega-
tive test is reported.  The carcass restriction applies to all seasons.

•	 CWD Registration store hours vary and hunters are encouraged to 
check with the station to make sure they are open when you plan on 
registering a deer.
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Archery and muzzleloader
•	 Deer taken during the archery and muzzleloader seasons can only be 

registered at:
o	Neptune Bar and Grill, 468 Highway 60, Zumbro Falls
o	Greenway Coop, 10 N. Main St., Pine Island
o	Archery Headquarters, 3440 Northern Valley Place, Rochester
o	Kasson Hardware Hank, 11 4th St. SE, Kasson

•	 During the warmer months, archery hunters are strongly encouraged 
to plan ahead and have a place to store their deer if they plan on even-
tually transporting it outside the area.  

•	 Due to the low numbers of deer that are taken, DNR will not be 
staffing these stations during the archery and muzzleloader seasons.  
Rather, a head box will be located at each site with specific instruc-
tions regarding how to submit the sample. Even though you are sub-
mitting a head for testing, whole carcasses cannot leave the CWD area 
until a negative result is obtained.

•	 Deer can be registered and sampled at the Rochester DNR office by 
appointment only.  Staff is limited and may not be present if you 
show up without an appointment.

Firearm
•	 Deer taken during the firearm season can only be registered at:

o	Neptune Bar and Grill, 468 Highway 60, Zumbro Falls, MN
o	Greenway Coop, 10 N. Main St., Pine Island
o	Archery Headquarters, 3440 Northern Valley Place, Rochester
o	Gander Mountain, 3470 55th St NW, Rochester
o	Kasson Hardware Hank, 11 4th St. SE, Kasson

•	 DNR staff will be present at each of these stations from 9am – 7pm 
for the entire 23-day firearm season. Please register your deer during 
this time.   

Carcass Restrictions
•	 Deer less than 1 year old (fawns) will not be tested for CWD; how-

ever, if you plan on moving the carcass outside of the CWD area, 
it must be tagged by a DNR representative.  Contact the Rochester 
DNR office at 507-206-2859 or a conservation officer (http://www.
dnr.state.mn.us/officerpatrolareas/index.html) to make those arrange-
ments. 

•	 Whole carcasses of adult deer taken within deer permit area 602 must 
remain in the area until a negative CWD test is reported.

•	 The following deer parts can be moved outside the area without a 
CWD test result:
o	Meat that is boned out or that is cut and wrapped (either commer-

cially or privately).
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o	Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the spinal col-
umn or head attached.

o	Antlers or clean (no brain tissue attached) skull plates with antlers 
attached.

o	Finished taxidermy mounts.
•	 Hunters who plan on having their deer head mounted must also com-

ply with the restriction.  DNR is working with area taxidermists to 
coordinate CWD sampling.  Hunters are strongly encouraged to bring 
their deer head to a CWD registration station already caped because 
the sample collection will destroy the cape.

•	 Hunters should also be aware that venison processors may not take 
your deer until a CWD test is completed.  It is the hunter’s responsi-
bility to work with their processor in advance to determine how they 
handle carcasses.  

CWD Test Results Turnaround
Archery and muzzleloader deer samples will be submitted twice 

weekly (Monday and Thursday).  Firearm samples will be submitted daily 
throughout the 23 day season.  In all cases, testing takes 3 business days.  
Completed test results will be available on the CWD page of the DNR 
website, www.mndnr.gov/cwd.  If you do not have internet access, please 
call the DNR Information Center at 1-888-646-6367.  To obtain test 
results, enter either your 9 digit MDNR number, which is found on your 
license or the 6-digit number on the orange possession tag that was pro-
vided when your sample was collected during the firearm season.  Once 
you have a negative test result, the carcass can be transported out of the 
zone. 

Individual test results will not be mailed and it is the hunter’s respon-
sibility to follow up if test results are desired.

East Central Minnesota CWD surveillance
Due to the discovery of CWD near Spooner, Wisconsin, DNR will be 

conducting surveillance during the firearm season in deer areas 159, 183, and 
225.  There is a goal of 300 samples for each area and registration stations will be 
staffed beginning on the opening day of the firearm seasons.  For this surveillance 
area,

•	 The phone and internet registration options for these areas will be deacti-
vated on November 2nd and will remain off until the sampling goals are 
achieved.  Deer must be brought to a walk-in registration station and hunters 
are strongly encouraged to allow sampling of their deer.  Phone and internet 
registration will be turned back on after surveillance goals are met.  

•	 Submission of a sample is voluntary and there are no carcass import/export 
restrictions.  This surveillance is being conducted because the disease was 
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found in close proximity to the Minnesota state line.  There is no reason to 
suspect the disease is present in this area; however, the CWD management 
plan calls for surveillance when a new infection is discovered near Minnesota.

•	 As there are no import/export restrictions, results will not be provided within 
3 business days or posted on the DNR website.  

•	 More information, including locations where deer will be sampled will be 
posted on the DNR website this fall.

Metro CWD surveillance
Due to the discovery of CWD in a captive red deer farm in Ramsey County, 

DNR will attempt to obtain CWD samples from the immediate area.  Because 
the area does not have a traditional firearm deer season, most collections will come 
from vehicle-killed deer, metro archery hunts, city deer reduction permits, and 
opportunistic sampling.  As of publication, the final surveillance area has not been 
identified so additional information will be available on the DNR website prior to 
the 2012 archery deer season.

GENERAL DEER INFORMATION
Legal Buck and Antlerless Deer
• 	A “buck” is a deer having at least one antler at least 3 inches long. See 

page 77 for a description of a "legal buck" (at least one antler with 4 
points) for 300 series deer areas. Fawn bucks, sometimes called button 
bucks, are not legal bucks.

• “Antlerless deer” are those deer without an antler at least 3 inches long.
License Purchase and Validity

All deer licenses (archery, firearms, muzzleloader) may be purchased at any 
time before or during the season. However, a license purchased on or after the 
day the respective season opens is not valid until the second day after the day 
it is issued (for example, a license issued on Saturday would not be valid until 
Monday). A “day” means midnight to midnight. The “respective season” refers 
to the first season for which the license is valid. The exceptions are bonus and 
disease management permits, which are valid when issued if the appropriate 
regular license is valid.
• 	Residents under 18 or a disabled person who has a permit to shoot from 

a stationary vehicle and a valid deer license may take a deer of either sex in 
a lottery deer area without an either-sex permit. Only authorized youth or 
disabled hunters may shoot and tag the antlerless deer in a lottery deer area 
(no party hunting).

• 	A person may purchase no more than one Firearms, Muzzleloader, and 
Archery deer license in a calendar year. 

•	 Bonus and disease management permits may be purchased in addition to 
regular licenses. They may be purchased throughout the season, but must 
be in possession when taking deer. The permit is valid when your regular 
license in that season is valid. Regular licenses and antlerless tags may be 
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used in any order.
• 	A person may not take or tag deer without the appropriate license or per-

mit. The term “take” includes attempting to take deer, and driving, spot-
ting, or otherwise assisting another person in taking deer.

Deer Licenses and Permit Types
•	 Hunters may buy an archery, firearm, and muzzleloader license.
•	 License choices are:

›	 Statewide (A): Valid in any open area during the firearm season that 
begins November 3; or

›	 Late Southeast (B) Season: Valid only during the traditional zone 3B 
season in southeastern Minnesota that begins Nov. 17.

•	 Individuals cannot buy both a Statewide (A) and Late Southeast (B) 
Season license; however, both license holders may purchase a muzzleloader 
license.
Youth archery license – Residents and non-residents ages 10 to 17 as of 

Sept. 15 must obtain a youth archery deer hunting license that is valid for 
either-sex deer statewide. Ten and 11-year-old residents must obtain a free 
license before hunting big game. 

HOW TO BUY A FIREARMS DEER LICENSE:
	 1.	 Choose either the Statewide (A) or Late Southeast (B) Season option. 

The option will be printed on your license; and
	 2.	 Tell the agent which deer area you hunt most often or if applying 

for a lottery, which area you plan to hunt. Note: This is collected for 
information purposes and will not print on the license. You are not 
obligated to stay in the area you say you hunt most often.

	 OR

Regular 
Firearms License
(choose one option)

Late Southeast (B) Season:
300 Series: Nov. 17 – 25

Statewide (A) – Valid in Areas:
100 Series: Nov. 3 – 18
200 Series: Nov. 3 – 11
300 Series: Nov. 3 – 11

Information for Statewide (A) license holders – Your Statewide (A) season 
license is valid in any area that opens Nov. 3. You are not obligated to stay in 
any one zone. For example, you can hunt in deer area 346 (9-day season) open-
ing weekend, move to deer area 235 (9-day season) the second weekend, and 
finish up your season in 184 (16-day season) on the last weekend.

Information for Late Southeast (B) Season license holders – This is the tra-
ditional 3B license that is only valid in southeast Minnesota (Nov. 17-25). 3B 
hunters can also buy a muzzleloader license.
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Youth firearm license – Residents and non-residents ages 10 to 17 as of 
Nov. 3 must obtain a youth firearm license. Ten and 11-year-old residents are 
required to obtain a free license before hunting big game. The license is valid 
for either-sex deer statewide and may be used in both the Statewide (A) and 
Late Southeast (B) seasons but not the Muzzleloader Season. 

Youth muzzleloader license – Residents and non-residents ages 10 to 17 as 
of Nov. 24 must obtain a youth muzzleloader license. The license is valid state-
wide. Ten and 11-year-old residents are required to obtain a free license before 
hunting big game.  

 Regular archery license – A regular archery license is valid for an either-
sex deer statewide in any open area. Closed areas and season dates are listed on 
page 90. 

Regular firearm license – A regular firearm deer hunter may purchase 
either a Statewide (A) or Late Southeast (B) Season license. Statewide (A) 
licenses are valid in all areas that open on Nov. 3 and Late Southeast (B) Season 
licenses are valid only during the traditional 3B season. The season choice will 
be printed on the license.
•	 Both Statewide (A) and Late Southeast (B) Season licenses are valid in the 

bovine TB area (101), the metro (601), and the CWD area (602).
•	 The license is valid for either sex deer in any hunter choice, managed, or 

intensive area or in a lottery area if successful in the lottery. 
Regular muzzleloader license – Any hunter can buy a muzzleloader 

license, including people who have purchased a firearm license. The license is 
valid for either-sex deer in any managed or intensive area. In lottery areas, you 
must have an either-sex permit to take an antlerless deer. 

Landowner deer license – This license allows the taking of one antlerless  
Bonus permits

• 	Bonus permits are available to archery, firearms, and muzzleloader hunt-
ers to take antlerless deer in designated areas. 

• 	Bonus permits may be used in managed and intensive areas, the metro 
(601), and some special hunts.

• 	Bonus permits are valid for archery, muzzleloader or firearms, but hunt-
ers must have the appropriate regular license for the area, season, and 
method they are using.

•	 Bonus permits are not valid in lottery or hunter choice deer areas.
Disease management antlerless permits
• 	Disease management permits are available to hunters interested in hunt-

ing in the bovine TB area (101) and the CWD area (602).
• 	There is no limit to the number of permits that can be purchased.
• 	Disease management permits are valid during any season but hunters 

must have the appropriate regular license for the season and method they 
are using.
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	 TAGGING
How to Tag Your Deer and Validate Your Site Tag

Your Deer License and Site Tag 
comes as a 2-part form. The 
upper half is the Site Tag for 
tagging the deer in the field. The 
lower half is the Deer License 
and Registration Slip. 

	 1. At the kill site you must:
	 a.	Detach the Site Tag from 

the Deer License/Registration 
Slip.

	 b. 	Before moving the 
deer, validate the tag by 
using a knife or similar sharp 
object to cut out the appro
priate notches indicating:

	 • 	Month the deer was 
killed,

	 • 	Date it was killed, and
	 • 	Time of day it was killed 

(a.m. or p.m.). Mark 
carefully—if more than 
one month, date, or time 
is cut out or marked, the 
tag becomes invalid.

	 2.	 A person may move a 
lawfully taken deer from the site of the kill without attaching the validated 
tag to the animal only while in the act of manually or mechanically 
dragging, carrying, or carting the animal across the ground and while 
possessing the validated tag on their person. 

	 3. 	The validated tag must be attached to the deer when the deer is 
placed on a motor vehicle or an ATV, a vehicle or a trailer being towed 
by an ATV or brought into a camp, yard or other place of habitation. 

	 4.	� To apply the tag to the deer:
	 •	 Tie or attach a 10- to 12-inch twine or wire securely to the deer 

around the base of an antler, through a slit cut in either ear, or between 
the tendon and bone of a hind leg, leaving the two long ends of the 
string or wire free. Note that this will require you to bring a cable tie, 
piece of wire or string into the field with you.

	 • 	Pull one end of the twine or wire through one of the pre-cut holes on 
the Site Tag and tie it together. Note that tags no longer fold and are 
not adhesive. 

	 •	 The tag must remain attached to the deer until processed for storage.

Part 1: 
Site Tag

Notch time, 
date, and 
month here

Part 2:
License
Always retain.

Part 3: 
Registration 
Slip 

Detach here
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LANDOWNER FREE DEER LICENSE IN SELECTED AREAS
The archery, firearm, and muzzleloader landowner licenses have been con-

solidated into just one license.  That license is valid during any open season; 
however, the landowner must use the appropriate weapon type for that season 
and adhere to the blaze orange restrictions. This license allows the taking of one 
antlerless deer per farm (in managed, hunter's choice and intensive deer areas). 
A resident owner or tenant or a non-resident owner who is actively farming on 
at least 80 acres of agricultural or grazing land in deer areas 101, 105, 111, 114, 
117, 126, 127, 152, 155, 156, 157, 159, 173, 176, 177, 178, 179, 180, 181, 
182, 201, 203, 208, 209, 210, 213, 214, 215, 218 ,219, 221, 222, 223, 224, 
225, 227, 229, 230, 232, 233, 236, 239, 240, 241, 242, 246, 247, 248, 249, 
254, 255, 256, 257, 259, 267, 268, 287, 293, 338, 339, 341, 342, 343, 
344, 345, 346, 347, 348, 349 (applies to both A and B seasons) may obtain a 
free license to take an antlerless deer by firearms, muzzleloader, or archery. These 
licenses can be obtained from any ELS license agent. A person may receive only 
one landowner deer license per year. For land with co-owners or co-tenants, only 
one co-owner or co-tenant may receive a landowner deer license per year. The 
license is valid only on the land owned or leased for agricultural purposes by 
the license holder within the deer area where the qualifying land is located. The 
license holder may give the license to the license-holder’s spouse or dependent. 
A license issued under this provision does not affect the license-holder’s eligibil-
ity to purchase additional deer licenses or permits. A landowner deer license can 
now be used to purchase bonus permits in managed or intensive deer areas. A 
person who obtains a license under this provision must allow public deer hunt-
ing on their land during the deer hunting season for that license, except for 
the first Saturday and Sunday of the season selected. Hunters must still obtain 
permission from the landowner, and it is up to the landowner to determine how 
much public hunting is appropriate on the property.

STATEWIDE BAG LIMITS FOR DEER
An individual hunter may only tag one legal buck per year, without 

exception. Note: Although hunters can buy all 3 licenses, the bag limits may 
not allow all 3 tags to be filled in a single deer area. It is the hunter’s responsi-
bility to know the bag limit for the areas they hunt. The statewide bag limit for 
deer is five.

Lottery deer areas: The bag limit is one deer total per year, regardless of 
license type. If you take a deer in a lottery deer area, you cannot take another 
deer in another lottery or hunter choice deer area.  However, you can take deer 
in managed or intensive deer areas provided you adhere to the regulations and 
bag limits for those areas.  Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer areas. 

Hunter Choice deer areas:  The bag limit is one either-sex deer total per 
year, regardless of license type.  If you take a deer in a hunter choice deer area, 
you cannot take another deer in another hunter choice or lottery deer area.  
However, you can take deer in managed or intensive deer areas provided you 
adhere to the regulations and bag limits for those areas.  Bonus permits are not 
valid in hunter choice deer areas.
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Managed deer areas: The bag limit for managed deer areas is two deer 
and hunters can use any combination of licenses and bonus permits to tag 
both deer. 

Intensive deer areas: Using any combination of licenses and permits, the 
bag limit for intensive deer areas is five deer.

Landowner: One antlerless deer in addition to the statewide bag limit for 
hunter choice, managed or intensive deer areas.

Special bovine TB area: Deer taken in this area must be registered in the 
area or in Wannaska prior to transport. The limit is 2 deer.

Chronic Wasting Disease area:  There is no limit to the number of ant-
lerless deer that may be taken in this area.  Special restrictions apply.  See page 
60 for information. 

Metro deer management area: There is no limit to the number of antler-
less deer that may be taken in this area. 

STATEWIDE ANTLERLESS DEER INFORMATION
Deer areas are divided into four categories: 1) Lottery; 2) Hunter Choice; 

3) Managed; and 4) Intensive. In lottery deer areas, hunters need to apply for 
either‑sex permits. The deadline is September 6, 2012. In hunter choice, 
managed and intensive deer areas, applications are not necessary. In these 
areas, licenses are either‑sex. Bonus permits for antlerless deer are available over 
the counter for use in managed and intensive areas.

At the time of license purchase, all firearms hunters will need to indicate 
which deer area they primarily hunt. This information is being collected 
for survey purposes only. Firearms hunters may hunt bucks throughout the 
season where licensed or may hunt antlerless deer on their regular license in 
any hunter choice, managed, or intensive deer area. For more information, 
see details in this section of the handbook and the color map and table on the 
back of the large deer season map (available separately).

Lottery deer areas. ALL firearm and muzzleloader hunters age 18 and 
older must apply for an either-sex permit if they want to harvest an antler-
less deer in a lottery deer area. A hunter can apply using both a firearm and 
muzzleloader license. The application deadline is Thursday, Sept. 6.  
NOTE: There is no exemption for a person who only hunts the muzzleloader 
season. Information regarding permit allocations is on page 80. 

Leftover either-sex deer permits will be available first come, first served 
beginning at 5 p.m. on Monday, October 8. Any hunter who has not already 
been selected can pick up a permit; however, you must have a valid license or 
purchase one at the same time.

2012 Lottery Deer Areas - 103, 108, 110, 118, 119, 122, 169, 171, 172, 
183, 184, 197, 199, 234, 235, 237, 238, 250, 251, 252, 253, 258, 260, 261, 
262, 263, 264, 265, 266, 269, 270, 271, 272, 273, 274, 275, 276, 277, 278, 
279, 280, 281 282, 283, 284, 285, 286, 288, 289, 290, 291, 292, 294, 295, 
296, 297, 298, 299
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Hunter Choice deer areas.  If you hunt in a hunter choice deer area, you 
may take one either sex deer per year.  No application for an either-sex permit 
is necessary and bonus permits cannot be used.  

2012 Hunter Choice Deer Areas - 105, 111, 117, 127, 152, 155, 159, 
173, 176, 177, 179, 181, 201, 203, 208, 213, 218 ,219, 223, 224, 229, 230, 
232, 233, 239, 240, 241, 246, 247, 249, 254, 255, 256, 257, 259, 267, 268, 
293, 344*, 345*

*Denotes both seasons	 	
Managed deer areas. If you hunt a managed deer area, you may take a 

deer of either sex and you may hunt bucks throughout your selected season. 
No application for an either-sex permit is necessary. 

In the following areas, firearm, archery, and muzzleloader hunters may take 
deer of either sex on their regular license and purchase bonus permits to take 
antlerless deer. 

2012 Managed Deer Areas – 101, 114, 126, 156, 157, 178, 180, 209, 
210, 214, 215, 221, 242, 248, 338*, 339*, 341*, 342*, 343*, 346*, 347*, 
348*, 349* 

*Denotes both seasons
Intensive deer areas. If you hunt an intensive deer area, you may take a 

deer of either sex or you may hunt bucks throughout your selected season. No 
application for an either-sex permit is necessary. In the following areas, fire-
arm, archery, and muzzleloader hunters may take a deer of either sex on their 
regular license and purchase bonus permits to take antlerless deer. 

2012 Intensive Deer Areas - 182, 222, 225, 227, 236, 287

HUNTING METHOD RESTRICTIONS
Hunting Deer With Bait is Illegal

Hunters are not allowed to take deer with the aid or use of bait.  “Taking” 
includes attempting to take.

Definitions
•	Bait – includes grains, fruits, vegetables, nuts, hay, or other food that is capable 

of attracting or enticing deer and has been placed by a person.
•	Baiting – means placing, exposing, depositing, distributing, or scattering bait 

that is capable of attracting or enticing deer.  
Important – Liquid scents (example – doe in heat), sprays, salt and min-

erals are not bait if they do not contain liquid or solid food products.  
NOTE - read the ingredient label on all products prior to use.  Many 

products contain food or attractants such as grains, fruits, and sugar deriva-
tives (glucose, dextrose, and fructose).  If a salt or mineral product has any-
thing other than salt or mineral in it, it is illegal to use for hunting. 

A person otherwise in compliance with this section who is hunting on 
private or public property that is adjacent to the property where bait or 
food is present is not in violation if the person has not participated in, been 
involved with, or agreed to baiting or feeding wildlife on the adjacent prop-
erty.
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Removal of Bait – All bait must be completely removed for ten days 
prior to hunting.

Agricultural crops from normal or accepted farming, forest management, 
wildlife food plantings, orchard management, or other similar land manage-
ment activities are not bait.  Important – This exclusion does not apply to 
agricultural crops that have been reintroduced and concentrated where a per-
son is hunting.  See Example.

Example – A person has an abundance of an agricultural crop and 
intends to use it as “green manure” or fertilizer.  A person may reintroduce 
the agricultural crop to the field by spreading it out over a previously planted 
field.  If the landowner piles or concentrates the agricultural crop where they 
hunt deer, it would be considered bait.
New Penalties for Baiting Violations - Revocation

•	A person may not obtain any deer license or take deer under a lifetime license 
for one year after the person is convicted of hunting deer with the aid or use 
of bait.  A second conviction within three years would result in a 3 year revo-
cation.

•	The revocation period doubles if the conviction is for a deer that is a trophy 
deer scoring higher than 170 inches.

Baiting versus Food Plots
•	Baiting significantly increases the risk of disease transmission, by concentrating 

animals and promoting nose-to-nose contact.
•	Baiting attracts and holds large numbers of deer on private parcels creating a 

privatization of the deer herd.
•	Food plots are dispersed over a much larger area than bait piles and allow ani-

mals to use them at more natural intervals.  Food plots become part of an ani-
mal’s natural habitat.  Bait piles can be replenished over and over in the same 
location and alter a deer’s natural movement.  By placing bait, one hunter can 
effectively nullify another hunter’s attempt to harvest a deer.

•	Food plots can be sustainable throughout the season – they don’t disappear 
after a person has harvested a deer and they provide food and shelter for a 
variety of other wildlife.

Elevated Stands
• 	In Wildlife Management Areas and State Parks open to hunting, only 

portable stands may be used. Portable stand use is encouraged in State 
Forests (see page 109).

•	 See pages 80 and 114 for more information on tree stands in state 
parks.

• 	In Scientific and Natural Areas open to hunting, portable stands and 
elevated scaffold may be used if it is removed each day at the close of 
shooting hours and does no damage to trees or other vegetation. Nails, 
spikes, screws or other devices that damage the bark of trees  
are prohibited. 
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•	 See pages 100, 116 and 124 for information on wildlife management 
areas, county lands, and federal lands.

• 	Any unoccupied, permanent stand or blind on public land is public 
and not the property of the person who constructed the stand. Any use 
of threat or force against another person to gain possession of a stand is 
unlawful.

PARTY HUNTING
•	 A “party” is defined as any group of two or more licensed deer hunters 

who are all afield; hunting together at the same time; and all using fire-
arms (including muzzleloaders) or all using archery.

• 	A mixed group of firearms and archery hunters is considered two separate 
parties.

•	 Crossbow hunters may not party hunt with firearms hunters.
•	 Crossbow hunters may party hunt with archery hunters if they possess an 

archery license with a crossbow disability permit.
• 	Any member of a party meeting this definition may kill a deer for any 

other member of the party who has an unused tag valid for that deer.
•	 Some restrictions apply to 300 series deer areas. See page 77.
•	 Party members may not kill an antlerless deer in a lottery deer area for: 

1) a member of the party who is a resident under age 18; or 2) a disabled 
person authorized to take antlerless deer under a permit to shoot from a 
motor vehicle.

REGISTRATION AND TRANSPORTATION
Registration
• 	Every deer taken must be registered and antlers must remain attached 

until the deer is registered.  In all cases, the deer must be registered with-
in 24 hours after the expiration of the season under which the deer was 
taken and before the deer is processed either privately or commercially.  
Except for the bovine TB and CWD areas, deer may be transported out 
of the area where taken without first being registered.  There are three 
registration options:  

1.	Walk-in big game registration stations.  This process is unchanged from 
previous years.  Registration stations display large, orange “Big Game 
Registration” signs.  The person whose tag is on the deer must personally 
present the deer at an official registration station and receive a big game 

Important! The intent of the party hunting regulation is to prevent parties from 
shooting more deer than the available number of tags. The party hunting regulation 
requires that all hunters who intend to tag deer for each other be hunting together, 
in the field, at the time the deer are taken. Party members who are not afield hunt-
ing with the individual who takes a deer at the time it is taken may not legally tag 
that deer. Hunters may not lend licenses to or borrow licenses from other hunters.
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possession tag.  The tag must be attached to the hind leg, ear, or antler 
where the site tag was attached. You can find a complete list of all stations 
at any DNR wildlife office or on the DNR website. 

2.	Telephone.  This is typically called Interactive Voice Response (IVR).  The 
system will accept either key punch or voice (e.g., press or say 1).  You will 
be asked to record a confirmation number so you must have a pen to com-
plete the registration process.  To register your deer using the IVR system, 
following the steps below.  These steps are also printed on your deer license.
a.	Dial 1-888-706-6367 to get into the system
b.	Enter the Harvest Registration Number that appears on the license.  It’s 

a 9-digit number that links back to the person and license type.  This 
is the large and bold number printed on your deer license and is NOT 
your MDNR number.  

c.	Enter the 3-digit area where the deer was killed. The system will only 
accept valid deer permit areas.

d.	Enter the date the deer was killed.
e.	Enter the type of deer – adult male, adult female, fawn male, fawn 

female.
f.	The system will then give you a confirmation number that must be 

written on the license and site tag in the appropriate area.
3.	Internet.  Go to mndnr.gov/hunting to register your deer.  The questions 

will be identical to phone registration.  You will be given a confirmation 
number, which must be recorded on the license and site tag in the appro-
priate area.

Specific information for telephone and internet deer registration

•	 Persons who register by phone or internet do not receive a separate big 
game possession tag

•	 The site tagging regulations have not changed. Refer to page 68 for site 
tagging information.

•	 When the system asks for deer type, please use the following informa-
tion:
o	 Adult male – male deer with antlers at least 3” long
o	 Fawn male – this is a 6 month old male deer, more commonly 

known as a “button buck” and weigh less than 75 pounds dressed.
o	 Adult female – this is an adult doe at least 18 months old. Typically, 

they have a longer nose and larger body (over 75 pounds dressed 
weight) than younger antlerless deer.

o	 Fawn female - this is a 6 month old female deer.  They typically have 
a short nose and weigh less than 75 pounds dressed.

•	 A harvest registration number can only be used once.  The system will 
not accept multiple registrations using the same number.  
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•	 In the following areas, you must register your deer at a mandatory 
walk-in registration station.  In all cases, the deer must be presented 
for registration at a walk-in station. The phone and internet regis-
tration system will not work in the following areas:
o	 Bovine TB area – (deer area 101) and east-central CWD surveillance 

area (deer areas 159, 183 and 225 (firearm season only)). Hunter-
harvested surveillance will be conducted in these areas.  If sampling 
objectives are reached, they will be turned on for phone and internet 
registration during the season.  

o	Chronic Wasting Disease area – 602.  Hunter-harvest surveillance 
will be conducted in this area for the duration of the season.  

o	 Antler Point Restriction area – 338, 339, 341, 342, 343, 344, 345, 
346, 347, 348, 349.  

•	 Since the system will recognize the license type, it will only ask 
questions valid to that license.  Here are a few examples:
o	 Regular Firearms License – Will ask all 4 deer types but will not ask 

season because it’s only valid during the firearm season.  The same 
applies to muzzleloader, archery, lifetime, etc.

o	 Bonus Permits  – Will only ask 3 deer types (adult female, fawn 
male, fawn female) but will also ask season (archery, firearm, muzzle-
loader).

o	Disease Management Permit  – Will not work at all since you have 
to register this deer in deer areas 101 or 602.

Transportation
• 	Except for the CWD area, a legally registered animal may be transport-

ed any time during and after the deer hunting season.
• 	The licensee must accompany the deer in transport except as follows: A 

deer that has been registered may be transported by another person, if 
the signature, address, and license number of the licensee and the origin 
and destination of the transport are written on the back of the posses-
sion tag, the site tag, or a seperate tag the licensee provides. 

• 	All deer in transport must be readily accessible for inspection by DNR 
conservation officers.

• 	The head of a deer must remain attached to the carcass until the deer is 
registered. Skin and entrails may be removed before registration. Deer 
may be quartered before being registered, but the animal’s head must 
remain attached to one of the quarters.

• 	Whole deer, elk, caribou, or moose carcasses from other states or prov-
inces may not be brought into Minnesota from areas known to have 
CWD in wild deer or elk (see page 58).



DEER—FIREARMS
Rifle-Shotgun Boundary 

In the shotgun zone (see map on the back of the large, deer zone 
map, available separately), deer hunters may use only legal shotguns 
loaded with single-slug shotgun shells, legal muzzleloading long guns, 
or legal handguns.

BOVINE TB AREA (DEER AREA 101)
• 	A special deer area has been created around the bovine TB core area 

in northwestern Minnesota. The area is a consolidation of several deer 
areas and is represented as deer area 101.

• 	The season dates are:
	 ›	 Statewide Archery: September 15 – December 31
	 ›	 Youth: October 18 – 21	
	 › 	 Firearm: November 3 – 18
	 › 	 Muzzleloader: November 24 – December 9

• 	During the firearm season, a license valid for any season option    
(firearms A or B) can be used in this area. 

• 	All deer taken in this area must be registered prior to transporting 
outside the area, except deer can be registered in Wannaska.

• 	Special disease management antlerless permits are available at ELS 
agents for the cost of issuance ($2.50). 

• 	Disease management antlerless permits are valid in this area.
• 	Hunters are strongly advised to obtain landowner permission prior to 

obtaining permits.

METRO DEER MANAGEMENT AREA (DEER AREA 601) 
• 	The metro deer area is comprised of deer area 601.
• 	The intent of deer area 601 is to increase hunting opportunity around 

the greater Minneapolis–St. Paul area. The season has been imple-
mented to help landowners and local governments control local deer 
populations. The area is comprised of nearly all private land and 
access is limited. Hunters interested in pursuing deer in this area are 
cautioned to acquire permission first.

• 	The season dates are:
› 	Archery: September 15 to December 31
› 	Youth: October 18 to 21	
› 	Firearm: November 3 to November 25
› 	Muzzleloader: November 24 to December 9

• 	Any firearms or muzzleloader license is valid in this area.
• 	At the time of license purchase, hunters should indicate the area they 
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typically hunt during the regular deer season. The license is auto-
matically valid in the metro deer management area. 

• 	An unlimited number of bonus permits are available for use in 
this area.

CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE AREA (DEER AREA 602)
•	 The chronic wasting disease (CWD) management area is comprised 

of deer area 602.  This is a new area created as a result of the discov-
ery of a CWD-positive wild deer near Pine Island.

•	 The season dates are:
o	Archery:  September 15 to December 31
o	Youth:  October 18 to October 21
o	Firearm: November 3 to November 25
o	Muzzleloader:  November 24 to December 9

•	 During the firearm season, a license valid for any season (firearms A 
or B) can be used in this area.

•	 Specific information regarding deer registration and mandatory 
CWD surveillance can be found starting on page 60.

•	 This area is almost entirely private land.  Hunters are strongly 
encouraged to obtain landowner permission prior to hunting.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS IN 300-SERIES DEER AREAS  
ONLY (338 – 349)
Antler Point Restriction

•	 A buck must have at least one 4-point antler in order to be legally har-
vested.  Bucks with less than one 4-point antler are not legal to harvest.  
Refer to page 83 for examples of a legal buck.

•	 The regulation is in effect during the archery, 3A, 3B, and muzzleload-
er seasons.

•	 Adult hunters cannot tag a buck for a youth hunter.  
•	 Youth hunters aged 10-17 are exempted from this regulation.  They do 

not have to comply and can take any antlered buck.

The antler point restriction will protect approximately 75% of the year-
ling buck population and very few of the 2.5 year old and older age classes.  
Given so many yearling bucks will be protected, there should be an increase 
of mature bucks in the population.  Also, there should be a slight increase 
in the number of antlerless deer taken because some hunters will choose to 
harvest a doe (or fawn) instead. This is the final year of a planned 3-year 
implementation. After this fall, the regulations will be re-assessed using sur-
veys and public meetings. 
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Buck Cross-Tagging in 300-Series Deer Areas (see page 73 for 
party hunting regulations in other areas)

This is most commonly referred to as party hunting.  The intent of this 
regulation is not to break up the hunting party or force hunters to leave the 
field once they are successful. This regulation simply requires the hunter to 
shoot and tag their own antlered buck.  Specifically,

•	 A person cannot take and tag an antlered buck for another member of 
their party.  This applies to all hunters, license types, and seasons.

•	 It remains legal to take and tag antlerless deer for members of the 
party.  This is a population management strategy and may lead to slight 
increases in antlerless deer harvest.

WILDLIFE FEEDING BANS
•	 Feeding wildlife in portions of northwest Minnesota (including the 

modified accredited bovine TB zone) is restricted to minimize the 
risk of transmitting bovine TB. A map of the area is online at mndnr.
gov/hunting/deer/tb/index.html. Look for the Feeding Ban Map 
link. Violators of wildlife feeding restrictions may not obtain any 
hunting license for two years after the date of conviction. 

•	 Feeding wildlife in Dodge, Goodhue, Olmsted, and Wabasha coun-
ties, including the CWD area, is restricted to minimize the risk of 
spreading or maintaining chronic wasting disease. A map can be 
found at mndnr.gov/cwd.

VENISON DONATION PROGRAM
The venison donation program, established in 2007, will continue for 

this season. The program allows hunters to donate deer that they have 
shot for distribution to food shelves at no cost to the hunter. To partici-
pate, you can drop off a deer at any of the participating processors. A 
list of eligible processors is posted on the DNR Web site. Please refer to 
DNR new releases and the Web site as information is updated through-
out the year. Processing fees are paid from a $1 fee collected from the sale 
of bonus permits. The DNR is working with the Minnesota Departments 
of Health and Agriculture to minimize the risk of lead contamination 
in donated venison. Processors may reject deer carcasses with multiple 

BIG GAME REGISTRATION STATIONS
Big game registration provides essential information for managing 

deer populations. Registration station owners in the state donate the 
use of their business and the time of their staff to help collect this 
information. 

Station operators are not required to inspect deer or verify regis-
tration information. This is the hunter’s responsibility.
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wound channels. Hunters should also consider using non-lead ammuni-
tion if they are planning to donate deer to the program. 

SPECIAL HUNT AREA PERMITS
 

	 Important!
	 (The application deadline for Lottery either-sex and Special Area 

Permits is Thursday, Sept. 6. The deadline for special youth hunts 
(except the Special Youth Season) is Friday, August 17. Applications 
must be made at an ELS license agent, the DNR License Center, 
or by telephone, by these dates. To apply, you must first purchase a 
deer license.

• Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 as of Nov. 3 and dis-
abled persons with a permit to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle 
may take a deer of either sex in lottery deer areas without having to 
apply for or obtain an either-sex permit. Resident youth ages 10-17 
who qualify under this provision may not apply for an either-sex per-
mit or accrue additional preference for these areas. All hunters must 
apply if they wish to participate in a special hunt.
Hunters with Disabilities: Either-Sex Deer Hunting – A disabled 

person with a permit to shoot from a motor vehicle may take a deer of 
either sex without an either-sex permit, except in youth-only antlerless 
areas.

Special Hunt Permits 
• 	Special hunt permits are required to hunt deer in special permit 

areas where the number of hunters must be limited to control the 
harvest or for public safety.

• 	Special hunt permit areas for regular firearms hunters are listed in 
tables on pages 86 and 87 and on the DNR website at mndnr.gov/
hunting/deer/index.html

• 	Those who receive a special hunt area permit may also hunt deer 
outside that special hunt area but only during the season indicated 
on the license.

• 	You may apply for special hunt permit areas in parties of up to four 
hunters. See application instructions on page 81.

Selection and notification of successful applicants
• 	If permit applications exceed quotas, computerized drawings will 

be used to determine who will be issued permits.
• 	Drawings for special area permits are based on a preference system. 

Applicants for special area permits accumulate preference in the 
same manner as applicants for either-sex permits. This system 
gives the highest preference to those who have applied the most 
times without receiving a permit. A person’s preference is the same 
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whether applying for an either-sex permit or a special area permit.
• 	Preference is not affected if a person applies for an area different from 

the year before or if a person does not apply for one or more years.
• 	The preference for special area applicants who apply as a group is 

based on the individual in the group with the lowest preference.
• 	Only successful applicants will be notified.
• 	Permits will be drawn and mailed in mid October. Information 

about the drawings and individual applications is not available until 
after this date. Applicants may check the DNR website (mndnr.gov) 
in mid October to view antlerless permit lottery results.

• 	If you submitted a valid application and are not notified, you can 
assume your application was not selected this year, and that your 
preference will increase if you apply in a future year.

ELEVATED STANDS IN STATE PARK AREAS
In state parks, state recreation areas and other lands administered by 

the Division of Parks & Trails, opened to hunting by special permit, or by 
legislation, early placement of portable stands is allowed according to the 
criteria below:

•	 Portable stands may be placed in the unit during normal business 
hours only and no more than seven days prior to the hunt.  Stands 
must be removed no more than one day after the hunt.

•	 All stands must have owner/hunter identification on them.
•	 Only portable stands that do no damage to trees or other vegetation 

are allowed.  Nails, screws or other devices that damage the bark of 
trees are prohibited.

•	 Only clamp-on or strap-on devices for climbing are allowed, no 
screw-in steps.

•	 Hunters may not place multiple stands.
•	 Other hunters or the general public may not occupy stands legally 

placed by a hunter.

LOTTERY DEER AREAS
 All adult firearm and muzzleloader hunters must apply for an either-

sex permit if they want to take an antlerless deer in a lottery deer area. 
The change was made to curtail the antlerless deer harvest that has been 
occurring in lottery deer areas by individuals who don’t need an either-
sex permit (disabled, youth, muzzleloader). In many cases, the number 
of deer taken by individuals who are not required to have a permit had 
exceeded the total number of either-sex permits authorized. 
      All firearm and muzzleloader hunters must apply if they want to hunt 
antlerless deer. Hunters can apply using both their muzzleloader and firearm 
license. After the application period ends, the permits will be allocated in 
proportion to the license types in the lottery. For example, if 100 either-sex 
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HOW TO APPLY FOR PERMITS
Note: The drawings for all special hunt area permits are combined as part of the 

either-sex permit preference system.
General instructions
• 	Applications for either-sex permits and special hunt area permits must be made 

at one of the 1,500 ELS agents at the DNR License Center, by telephone, or by 
internet by the Sept. 6 deadline. Applications can be completed as part of the pro-
cess of purchasing your regular deer license.

• 	You can apply for one firearm hunt and one muzzleloader hunt.
• 	Residents and nonresidents are eligible for permits.
• 	A permit is not transferable between persons or between areas.
• 	Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 as of Nov. 3 do 
	 not need to apply for an either-sex permit in lottery areas. They must apply for 

special hunts. The deadline is Sept. 6.
• 	All residents 21 or over must present their Minnesota Driver’s License or Public 

Safety Identification Card at time of application.
•	 Special hunt tables are available online at mndnr.gov/hunting/deer/index.html

Antlerless and special area permit application instructions
The ELS license agent will ask you a series of questions in order to complete the 

transaction. The questions will be related to the type of license you are purchasing and 
the deer area you are interested in hunting. You can apply individually or as a group 
of up to four people. Make sure you check the large map and/or the tables online to 
ensure you are applying for the correct area. After completing the transaction, immedi-
ately check your receipt and deer license to make sure the agent entered your informa-
tion correctly. This is the only time it can be changed. 

permits are allocated and 25% of the applicants are muzzleloader hunters 
then 25% of the permits will go towards the muzzleloader season. This has 
the benefit of having muzzleloader-only hunters compete with other muzzle-
loader-only hunters. They will not compete with firearm hunters who likely 
have more preference points. 

Successful applicants will receive a postcard in the mail authorizing them 
to take an either-sex deer using their regular license. The authorization will 
be valid for either the firearm or muzzleloader season; however, you must 
still have a valid license for that season. Specific instructions on how to apply 
for an either-sex permit are listed in the box above. 

The number of deer hunters can kill in a lottery deer area is one, regard-
less of license type or whether you were successful in both lotteries. All adult 
hunters who hunt a lottery deer area must apply for an either-sex permit by 
Thursday, Sept. 6, 2012. Winners will be notified by mail and will receive 
an authorization to take a deer of either-sex in that lottery deer area. Bonus 
permits cannot be used in lottery areas.

•	 Either-sex permits allow a person to take a deer of either sex within the 
specified lottery deer area.

•	 Areas and permit quotas are shown on the large deer zone map, avail-
able separately.
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• 	Either-sex permit holders may take antlerless deer only in the area specified on 
the permit, but they may hunt deer anywhere during the season indicated on 
the license.

• 	Regular firearm – can take a buck or an either-sex deer if successful in the lot-
tery.

• 	Youth firearm and persons with a disability permit to shoot from a stationary 
motor vehicle – can take an either-sex deer without applying in the lottery.

•	 Muzzleloader – can take a buck or an either-sex deer if successful in the lottery.
See page 70 for the list of lottery deer areas.

HUNTER CHOICE DEER AREAS
All hunters are limited to taking one either-sex deer total per year in one hunter 

choice deer area.  There is no application for permits.  If you hunt in a hunter 
choice deer area, your license is valid for an either-sex deer.  Bonus permits are not 
valid in hunter choice deer areas. Refer to page 71 for a list of hunter choice areas.

MANAGED DEER AREAS
The number of deer you can kill in managed deer areas is two, regardless of 

license type, of which one may be a buck. 
• 	Regular and youth firearm – Hunters can take up to two deer total in man-

aged deer areas using any combination of licenses and permits. Refer to page 
71 for a list of managed deer areas.

INTENSIVE DEER AREAS
Intensive deer areas have a bag limit of 5 deer total. 

• 	Regular and youth firearm – can take a deer of either sex and use bonus per-
mits to take up to 5 deer. Refer to page 71 for a list of intensive deer areas.

ANTLER POINT RESTRICTION AND EARN-A-BUCK REGULATIONS
On several State Parks and in all 300-series deer areas (southeast 

Minnesota), special regulations are in effect this season. For State Parks, 
please refer mndnr.gov/deer to determine if your hunt has a special 
regulation. Successful applicants will be mailed additional information 
prior to the hunting season.

Hunting in areas with antler point restrictions
How to count points

Depending on the area, a deer must have a 
minimum of either three or four points on one 
side to be taken.

	1)	 An antler point, if it is at least 1-inch long 
	2)	 The brow tine, if it is at least 1-inch 	long 
	3)	 The end of the main beam
	4)	 Any broken tine that is at least 1‑inch long

1

2

3
4
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Six point bucks with three points on 
each side. Note the difference in 
antler sizes between the two deer

Five point buck with three points on one side

Hunts with a 3-point regulation

Hunts with a 4-point regulation (including all 300 series deer areas, 
338 – 349) – Bucks with at least four points on one side

Seven point buck 
with four points 
on one side

Side view of a buck 
with four points on 
each side

Hunting tips and how to field judge a buck
• 	The antler point restriction regulations are designed to protect at 

least half of the yearling (1½ year old) buck population. When 
field judging a buck, if it has a small body and thin neck, it may be 
a yearling.

• 	Bring binoculars and take the time to look at the antlers and count 
the points before you take a shot.

• 	Wait for the deer to turn broadside, it will make it easier to count 
points.

Legal bucks
The following bucks meet the minimum standards for harvest. 

Bucks with more points than shown in the illustrations are also legal 
to harvest.
Registration

Antlers must remain attached to the carcass until after the deer is 
registered.
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Hunting in parks with earn-a-buck regulations
General Information
• 	In order to tag a buck, you must tag an antlerless deer in the park 

first. 
• 	You cannot take a doe somewhere else in the state and hunt bucks 

only at the park.
• 	You do not have to register the antlerless deer prior to taking the 

buck, but you do need to validate your deer license and tag and 
have them available for inspection by a conservation officer. If you 
are found with a buck and no antlerless deer, you will be in viola-
tion of the hunt rules and subject to a citation.

• 	There will be no special validation for buck hunting. It will be the 
responsibility of the hunter to observe the rules and take their deer 
in the proper order. 

• 	If you have already filled your buck license, you may still hunt ant-
lerless deer at the park.

• 	Deer taken at the park must be registered at the park.
•	 Antlers must remain attached to the carcass until after the deer is
	  registered.

Licenses
• 	Hunters should plan on having at least two tags in their possession 

when they arrive to hunt. 
• 	One of those tags must be valid for taking an antlerless deer and 

the other for taking a buck.
• 	Hunters who are only interested in taking an antlerless deer need 

only bring one tag.
Party Hunting (Cross-tagging)
• 	Party hunting is legal in earn-a-buck areas.
• 	You can shoot a deer for a member of your party; however, only 

the person whose tag is on the antlerless deer will be authorized to 
tag a buck.

• 	If you shoot an antlerless deer that is tagged by someone else, you 
cannot tag a buck with your license. An antlerless deer must be 
first tagged with your license before you tag a buck.

• 	Party hunters should tag their first antlerless deer with their own 
license. If they have the opportunity to harvest another antlerless 
deer, they should then tag it with another person’s license.
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Itasca State Park
Itasca State Park (deer area 287) is open during the general firearm 

season and the muzzleloader season.  A legal buck is defined as a male 
possessing one antler at least 3” long.

Note: Some state parks are open to general hunting. See pages 
114‑115 for details.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION
 

Only approved firewood now allowed on DNR lands…
Approved firewood is:
	 1. 	Firewood purchased from the DNR
	 2. 	Firewood purchased from an approved vendor (check out 

mndnr.gov/firewood/index.html for a list of approved ven-
dors)

	 3. 	Kiln-dried wood, such as unstained, unpainted dimensional 
lumber free of metal or other foreign objects.

These restrictions are needed to help prevent the introduction, 
or slow the spread, of damaging forest pests, including emerald ash 
borer, gypsy moth, and oak wilt. Help protect Minnesota’s forests 
by leaving firewood at home! Check with the state park, state forest 
campground, or other state recreational facility you will be visiting 
to get the latest recommendations and restrictions on firewood 
movement to and within Minnesota.

The complete list of special firearm deer hunts including updates 
and corrections is available online.  A list of hunts is found on 
pages 86-87 and on the deer hunting page of the DNR website,        
mndnr.gov/deer.  While season dates vary depending on hunt, the 
application procedures have not changed and the deadline for all 
hunts is Thursday, September 6th. 

Special Firearm Deer Hunts
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DEER—MUZZLELOADER

Season Dates: Nov. 24–Dec. 9, statewide
Open Areas: Muzzleloader hunters may hunt statewide except for the 

closed areas listed below.
1. Deer area 224 (Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge).
2. Refuges and other areas closed to firearms hunting are also closed to 

muzzleloader hunting.
3. Rice Lake, Sandstone, and Rydell National Wildlife Refuges.

MUZZLELOADER REGULATIONS
•	 In lottery deer areas (where either-sex permits are limited), 

muzzleloader hunters must apply for and receive an either-sex 
permit. The application deadline is Thursday, Sept. 6. If you are 
successful in the lottery, your permit will be valid for an either-sex 
deer.

•	 Hunters may buy both a firearm and muzzleloader license.
• 	Only open and “peep” type sights (including those with fiber optic 

material) are legal during the muzzleloader deer season. Scopes, includ-
ing holographic or “red dot” scopes, are not legal for this season, except 
for use of non-magnifying scopes by special permit for persons with 
medically verified visual impairments. A permit application is available 
by calling the DNR Information Center (see page 125).

LOTTERY DEER AREAS
A list of lottery deer areas is on page 70. All hunters are limited to 

taking one deer total and muzzleloader hunters can only take an antler-
less deer if successful in the lottery. The application deadline is Thursday, 
Sept. 6, 2012. Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer areas. 

HUNTER CHOICE DEER AREAS
A list of hunter choice deer areas is on page 71.  All hunters are lim-

ited to taking one either-sex deer total per year.  There is no application 
for permits.  If you hunt in a hunter choice deer area, your license is valid 
for an either-sex deer.  Bonus permits are not valid in hunter choice deer 
areas.

MANAGED DEER AREAS
Hunters who purchase a muzzleloader license and are hunting in a 

managed deer area may purchase and use bonus permits to take antlerless 
deer. The bag limit is two deer total, using any combination of licenses or 
permits. Refer to page 71 for a list of managed deer areas.

2012 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS
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INTENSIVE DEER AREAS
Hunters who purchase a muzzleloader license and are hunting in an 

intensive deer area may purchase and use up to four bonus permits to 
take antlerless deer. The bag limit is 5 deer total. Refer to page 71 for a 
list of intensive deer areas.

SPECIAL MUZZLELOADER DEER HUNTS
The following are special permit areas open during the muzzleloader 

season. Application instructions are on page 81.

OTHER FIREARMS
Muzzleloading firearms lawful for the taking of deer may be possessed 

only by persons with a valid license to take deer by muzzleloader. While 
muzzleloader hunting, a person may not possess a firearm other than 
the following: an unloaded firearm in a case or closed trunk of a motor 
vehicle, a shotgun and shells containing No. 4 buckshot or smaller, a 
handgun or rifle capable of firing only rimfire cartridges of .17 or .22 
caliber, including .22 magnum or handguns by persons authorized under 
a permit to carry. 

89

DEER - MUZZLELOADER

*	 Either Sex   **Antlerless Only   ***Earn-a-buck hunt   +	Mandatory Orientation 11/15

2012 SPECIAL PERMIT AREAS FOR MUZZLELOADER HUNTERS

HUNT AREA 	 COUNTY	 HUNT	 SEASON	 NO. OF	 BONUS	
NAME		  NO.	 DATES	 PERMITS	 PERMITS	

Crow Wing State Park	 Crow Wing	 936	 12/7 - 12/9	 40***	 Yes - 1
Soudan Underground 	 St. Louis	 937	 11/24 - 12/9	 20*	 Yes - 1
Mine and Lake 
Vermillion State Parks	
City of Tower	 St. Louis	 938	 11/24 - 12/9	 20*	 Yes - 1	
Lake Shetek State Park	 Murray	 939	 12/1 - 12/2	 15**	 Yes - 1	
Rice Lake State Park	 Steele	 940	 12/1 - 12/2	 20**	 Yes - 4	
Sibley State Park	 Kandiyohi	 942	 11/24 - 11/25	 50**	 Yes - 1	
Big Stone Lake	 Big Stone	 943	 12/1 - 12/2	 10**	 Yes - 1	
State Park
Vermillion Highlands	 Dakota	 944	 11/24 - 12/9	 25*+	 Yes - 1	
Research, Recreation, 
and WMA



DEER—ARCHERY‑
Season Dates: Sept. 15-Dec. 31
Open Areas: Archery hunters can hunt statewide except in areas 

designated closed and Itasca State Park (deer area 287).
Oct. 18-21: Blaze orange is required in deer areas open for the 

youth deer season.

• 	Deer areas 601 and 602 – Archery hunters in deer areas 601 and 602 
may take an unlimited number of antlerless deer.

•	 Except those licensed to carry a concealed weapon, a person may not 
take deer by archery while in possession of a firearm.

•	 In all 300-series deer areas, antler point restrictions are in effect for 
archers. Refer to page 77 for information.

LOTTERY DEER AREAS
All archery hunters can take an either-sex deer in the lottery deer areas 

listed on page 70. Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer areas. The bag 
limit is one deer total.

HUNTER CHOICE DEER AREAS
A list of hunter choice deer areas is on page 71.  All hunters are lim-

ited to taking one either-sex deer total per year.  There is no application 
for permits.  If you hunt in a hunter choice deer area, your license is valid 
for an either-sex deer.  Bonus permits are not valid in hunter choice deer 
areas.

MANAGED DEER AREAS
Archery license holders who are hunting in a managed deer area can 

take a deer of either sex and may purchase and use bonus permits to take 
antlerless deer. The bag limit is 2 deer total, using any combination of 
licenses or permits. Refer to page 71 for a list of managed deer areas.

How to apply for archery special area permits
An application for an archery special area permit must be made 

on a form supplied separately by each special area. No other form 
of application will be accepted. Send your request for an application 
form with a stamped, self-addressed, business-sized envelope to the 
address listed for the special area where you wish to hunt. A person 
may apply for more than one special area, but not more than once 
for a specific hunt. There may be restrictions regarding applications. 
Please read material carefully before applying.

2012 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS
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FOR YOUR INFORMATION

INTENSIVE DEER AREAS
Archery hunters who are hunting in an intensive deer area may purchase 

and use bonus permits to take antlerless deer. Refer to page 71 for a list of 
intensive deer areas. The bag limit is 5 deer.

Archery special hunt areas
•	Application dates and methods vary by special hunt. Please refer to the 

table on page 92 for basic information regarding the hunt.
•	 Please refer to the website (mndnr.gov/deer) for hunt administrator con-

tact information. All questions related to archery special hunts should be 
directed to the municipality conducting the hunt.

•	 Prior to making application, please check with the location you are inter-
ested in hunting. Different municipalities have different regulations such 
as requiring bonus permit use, taking an antlerless deer first, written per-
mission, and/or proficiency tests. 

Special Seasons for Hunters With Physical Disabilities
Special deer hunts for hunters with physical disabilities are tentatively 

scheduled at a number of sites. Additional hunts for disabled archers may be 
organized by Capable Partners and Midwest Outdoors Unlimited, and are 
not listed here. For more information call the DNR Information Center at         
1-888-MINN DNR (888-646-6367).

Persons who are totally blind may use a laser sight to participate in permitted 
assisted special hunting opportunities.

Transporting Firearms
Although firearms transportation laws relating to hunting have changed, hunt-

ers are reminded the safest way to transport firearms is unloaded and cased.  Not 
only does a case provide an extra measure of protection for your firearm but it is 
reminder to ensure that firearms are unloaded before transporting in or on a motor 
vehicle.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

TAX TIME IS YOUR TIME TO HELP WILDLIFE
Look for the line with the loon on your Minnesota tax form and donate to the Nongame 
Wildlife Checkoff. It’s fast, easy, and tax deductible. Be part of the wildlife success story.
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BEAR
REGULATIONS

Bear hunting regulations booklets are available online at www.mndnr.gov.
•	 No more than three bait stations may be placed at one time for each 

licensed bear hunter.
•	 A private landowner or person authorized by the private landowner 

may use a drum to bait bear on the person's private land. The drum 
must be secured to a tree so that it cannot be moved from the site by 
a bear and may not include a mechanical device for dispensing feed.

•	 The bag limit for bears is one per season in quota areas and two per 
season in the no-quota area. Hunters may purchase both quota and 
no-quota licenses.

•	 �White bears may not be taken. 
•	 Cub bears may not be taken.
•	 Hunters are asked not to shoot radio collared bears, with bright-

ly colored streamers or ear tags.
•	 A tooth must be submitted for all bears harvested.
•	 See bear hunting regulations booklet for additional information and 

2012 bear quotas.
•	 A map of bear permit areas will be available at license agents.
•	 Prior to the opening day of archery season, portable stands may be 

left overnight in a wildlife management area by a person with a valid 
bear license who is hunting within 100 yards of a bear bait site that 
is legally tagged and registered. The licensee's name and address or 
driver's license number or MNDNR number must be affixed to the 
stand in such a manner that it can be read from the ground.

Important Dates:
	 August 17: Start of baiting.
	 September 1–October 14: 2012 Bear Season.
	 Late March 2013: Applications available.
	 May 3, 2013: Application deadline for the 2013 season.

LICENSING
Residents and nonresidents can participate in a drawing for licenses 

within bear permit areas, and they may purchase a license over the 
counter for the No-Quota Area. 

•	 Bear lottery winners must purchase their license by August 1, 
2012. Unsold and any surplus licenses will then become available 
for purchase starting August 6, 2012.

•	 Bear hunters who use online or telephone options to purchase 
licenses should use extra care to assure their selections are correct.
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MOOSE
The application deadline for the 2012 moose hunt has passed. A total 

of 87 licenses were available in 28 zones in the northeastern part of the 
state. Northwestern Minnesota remains closed to moose hunting due to 
low population levels. Successful applicants have been notified and regu-
lations and hunt information will be sent to each license holder.

Season dates for the 2012 moose hunt are September 29 to 
October 14. The Fond du Lac Band will conduct a moose hunt start-
ing Sept. 22 and the 1854 Authority will conduct a hunt beginning 
September 29. Hunters and trappers should be aware that there is a big 
game season open during the above dates in northeastern Minnesota. 

Minnesota’s moose hunt is for residents only, and since 1991 it has 
been a “once-in-a-lifetime” hunt.

The application deadline for next year's moose hunt is May 3, 2013.

ELK
The application deadline for the 2012 elk hunt has passed. In total, 23 

licenses were issued in Grygla and Kittson County. 
The application deadline for next year's elk hunt is May 31, 2013. 

There is a $4 application fee per hunter and a license for a party of up to 
two hunters costs $287. Applications will be accepted at ELS agents state-
wide.

Season dates are September 15-23, December 1-9, and December 
15-23.

Firearms Safety
Hunting is one of the safest recreational activities, however if you 

don’t practice firearms safety 100 percent of the time accidents can 
happen. Please remember and practice the 3 basic rules of firearms 
safety.

•	 Always treat every firearm as if it’s loaded
•	 Always control the muzzle, by always keeping it pointed in a 

safe direction
•	 Always be sure of your target and what’s beyond

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

2012 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS
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WATERFOWL
Important! Because waterfowl seasons and limits aren’t approved 

until late summer, final information on waterfowl was not available 
when this booklet was printed. 

Be sure to consult the Waterfowl Hunting Regulations 
Supplement available online or from ELS license agents and the 
DNR License Center in late August. 

Migratory waterfowl are subject to both state and federal 
regulations. 
•	 Waterfowl hunters must be in compliance with the Harvest 

Information Program (HIP). See page 33 for details.

Important Dates: 
Season Openers: Waterfowl season information will be 

announced through news releases and in the Waterfowl Hunting 
Regulations Supplement, available in August.

Blind Reservations—Lac qui Parle: Hunters may apply to 
reserve hunting stations at Lac qui Parle Wildlife Management Area 
(WMA). Applications with the earliest postmark between August 
20 and Sept. 12 will be accepted on a first-come, first-served basis. 
Additional details will be announced in early August.

Carlos Avery WMA Controlled Hunt Zone – A special restricted 
access hunt will be held in the pool 2 portion of the sanctuary at Carlos 
Avery WMA in Anoka County.  Two blinds will be available by draw-
ing on Saturday and Tuesday mornings through the waterfowl season.  
Applications will be accepted for groups of up to 4 with preference given 
to groups with at least one youth hunter (age 17 and under) or one 
senior hunter (age 65 and over).  Minnesota Waterfowl Association will 
conduct drawings for blinds two weeks prior to each week of hunting.  
For rules, application form and dates go to:

http://www.mndnr.gov/averyhunt,
http://www.mnwaterfowl.com/, or
call Carlos Avery WMA Headquarters at 651-296-5200 
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                                   AVOID SPREADING INVASIVE SPECIES

Aquatic invasive species such as purple loosestrife, Eurasian watermilfoil, 
and zebra mussels damage wildlife habitat and faucet snails kill waterfowl. It 
is illegal to transport most aquatic plants and zebra mussels in or on boats, 
trailers, or decoys in boats, when on roads. However, waterfowl hunters may 
use emergent aquatic plants, such as cattails and bulrushes, cut above the 
waterline, for building blinds. How to help:

• 	Switch to elliptical, bulb-shaped, or strap decoy anchors that won’t collect 
submergent aquatic plants as easily.

• 	Clean aquatic plants, zebra mussels, snails and mud off of decoy lines or 
anchors, push poles, and waders.

• 	Drain the water from boats and equipment and leave drain plugs out 
when transporting.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
Waterfowl hunters must have a Minnesota Small Game License in 

their possession while hunting unless they are exempt from a license 
requirement. See pages 16 and 33 for stamp and small game licensing 
details.

SPECIAL GOOSE HUNTS
A special $4 permit is required to hunt Canada geese during the 

special September season. All persons must have the permit to partici
pate in the September hunt, except residents under age 18 or age 65 and 
over, and persons hunting on their own property. The permit is available 
from ELS license agents and the DNR License Center or by telephone. 
There is no deadline for purchasing the permit. 

SANDHILL CRANE PERMIT
A special $3 permit and a small game license is required to hunt 

sandhill cranes. All residents and non-residents must have the permit to 
participate in this hunt. The permit is available from ELS agents, the DNR 
license center, online and by telephone. There is no deadline. Migratory 
waterfowl stamps are not required to hunt Sandhill Crane.

Protecting wetlands is crucial to ensuring healthy populations of ducks, pheasants, herons, 
and even deer. Minnesota leads the nation in protecting wetlands. Let’s not lose that honor.

“Save the Wetlands”

2012 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS
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WILD RICE
LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

Harvesting wild rice is open to Minnesota residents and nonresidents. 
Nonresidents must purchase a one-day license and residents may purchase 
either a season or one-day license. All harvesters are required to be licensed 
unless they are residents under 18 years of age and accompanied by a 
licensed harvester. Wild rice licenses are available from ELS license agents. 
Fees from wild rice harvest and buyer licenses are deposited in a special 
account for wild rice management.

SEASON DATES AND HOURS
    August 15 to September 30, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. daily. The harvest of 
“green” (unripe) wild rice is unlawful. 

RESTRICTED AREAS
National Parks and National Wildlife Refuges are closed to wild rice 

harvesting, except when authorized by special permits. Harvest is allowed 
on state wildlife management areas, except where specifically closed by 
posting or rule.

VEGETATION
Destruction of wild rice plants by cutting, pulling, or removing is 

unlawful except when cut above the waterline and used for shooting or 
observation blinds. All aquatic vegetation must be removed from watercraft 
before leaving any body of water to prevent the spread of exotic vegetation 
such as purple loosestrife and Eurasian watermilfoil. (See box, page 96.)

WATERCRAFT
Watercraft used in harvesting wild rice may not exceed 18 feet in length 

or 36 inches in maximum width. Any extension that increases normal 
capacity is prohibited.

PUSH POLES
Push poles used to propel watercraft for harvesting wild rice must be 

forked at the end. The forks must be less than 12 inches in length.

FLAILS
Flails used to harvest wild rice must be made of round, smooth wood 

no longer than 30 inches and weigh no more than one pound. Flails must 
be hand held and operated.

MECHANICAL DEVICES
The use of any machine or mechanical device to harvest wild rice is 

prohibited unless the operator holds fee title to all the property that sur-
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rounds the public water where the harvest is taking place and the public 
water is less than 125 acres in size, within the original boundaries of any 
Indian reservation, and there is no public access directly or through a 
channel or watercourse.

PENALTIES
Any person violating any of the laws or rules pertaining to wild rice is 

subject to a fine up to $1000 and/or 90 days in jail.

INDIAN RESERVATION RESTRICTIONS (GENERAL)
All native wild rice within the existing boundaries of the White Earth, 

Leech Lake, Bois Forte, Grand Portage, Fond du Lac, and Mille Lacs 
Indian Reservations is managed by the respective reservation wild rice 
committees. These committees establish the opening date, days, and hours 
of harvest no less than 24 hours prior to the opening. These regulations 
may be altered by the wild rice committees after the season has been 
announced by posting the major entrances to affected waters no less than 
12 hours prior to the changes taking effect.

It is unlawful for any person to take wild rice grain from any of the 
waters within the original boundaries at the White Earth, Leech Lake, 
Nett Lake, Vermilion Lake, Grand Portage, Fond du Lac and Mille Lacs 
reservations except for Native Americans or residents of the reservation 
upon which said wild rice grain is taken.

SPECIAL LEECH LAKE INDIAN RESERVATION RESTRICTIONS
In addition to the above regulations, all non-tribal members must have 

Leech Lake Reservation permits to harvest or buy wild rice within the 
boundaries of the Leech Lake Reservation.

Forests for the future
The Minnesota Forest Legacy Program has acquired public hunting 

rights and other public recreation opportunities on more than 340,000 
acres of forest lands in Aitkin, Beltrami, Cass, Clearwater, Crow Wing, 
Koochiching, Lake, St. Louis,  and Itasca counties. Hunting on Forest 
Legacy Conservation areas is allowed during the appropriate seasons and 
with the correct license. Other, non-Forest Legacy private properties adjoin 
these conservation areas, many of which are signed "no hunting." Hunting 
on private land within Minnesota is subject to state trespass laws. Motor-
vehicle use on individual Forest Legacy Conservation areas may vary. Forest 
Legacy Area maps that provide appropriate motor-use and access restrictions 
are available online at:  
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/forestlegacy/hunting.html
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STATE WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS
All public land in state-owned Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) 

is open to the hunting of all species of protected wild animals and trap-
ping of mammals during the established seasons found in this booklet, 
except as follows:

General Restrictions
• 	Trespass: Portions of WMAs posted closed to trespassing may not 

be entered without DNR authorization.
• 	Closed Hours: WMAs may not be entered or used during closed 

hours if posted with these restrictions at major access points, except 
by permit.

• 	Camping: Camping is prohibited except in designated overnight-
use areas or with a permit from the wildlife manager. A vehicle, 
trailer or tent lawfully left overnight must be occupied or attended.

•	 Alcohol: Alcoholic beverages may not be consumed, except by per-
sons lawfully occupying an overnight-use area.

• 	Firearms and Target Shooting: Target, skeet, trap, or indiscrimi
nate shooting is prohibited. A person may not possess an uncased or 
loaded firearm or an uncased or strung bow, except when lawfully 
taking a wild animal or by permit.

• 	Destruction or Removal of Property: Signs, posts, fences, gates, 
buildings, trees, shrubs, vines, plants, or other property may not be 
destroyed or removed (including use of metal detectors to remove 
property), except as follows: Wetland vegetation may be used to 
build blinds on the area, and edible fruits and seeds, or decorative 
portions of plants may be removed for personal use.

• 	Garbage Disposal and Animal Abandonment: Disposing of or 
abandoning live animals, carcasses, garbage, trash, spoil, sludge, 
rocks, vehicles, or other debris or personal property on any WMA is 
prohibited.

• 	Hunting, Fishing, and Trapping Equipment: Boats, decoys, and 
other equipment must not be left unattended overnight, with the 
exception of traps in areas open to trapping and fish houses or dark 
houses in certain designated WMAs.

• 	Blinds and Structures: A person may not construct or maintain 
any building, dock, fence, billboard, sign, or other structure on any 
WMA, except that temporary waterfowl blinds may be erected, but 
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may not become private property or be used to preempt hunting 
rights. Any materials brought into a WMA for the construction of a 
blind must be removed each day at the close of hunting hours. 

• 	Elevated Stands: A person may not construct, occupy, or use any 
elevated scaffold or other elevated device for the purpose of hunting, 
watching, or killing wild animals, except that portable stands may be 
used if they are removed each day at the close of hunting hours and

	 	 do no permanent damage. Prior to the opening day of archery deer
	 season, portable stands may be left overnight in a wildlife 

management area by a person with a valid bear license who is 
hunting within 100 yards of a bear bait site that is legally tagged 
and registered. The licensee's name and address, or drivers license 
number, or MNDNR number must be affixed to the stand in such a 
manner that it can be read from the ground.

•	 Dogs: Dogs are permitted on WMAs only when accompanied by 
or under the control of the owner. From April 16 through July 14, 
dogs must be on a leash. A person training a dog on a WMA may 
not use live ammunition or blank cartridges, including the use of 
blanks in dummy launchers or similar devices. 

• 	Other Domestic Animals: Livestock, horses, and other domestic 
animals, are not permitted on WMAs except under cooperative 
agreement or permit approved by the wildlife manager.

• 	Unprotected Animals: Unprotected wild animals may be taken from 
September 1 through the last day of February, or by any person legal-
ly hunting a protected species, unless the area is specifically closed.

• 	Beaver and Otter: Beavers and otters may only be taken by permit 
issued by the wildlife manager.

• 	Crows: Crows may be taken during established seasons, unless the 
area is specifically closed.

WMAs with Special Restrictions
•	 Becklin Homestead Park WMA (Isanti County) is only open to spe-

cial disabled hunts.
•	 Bass Brook WMA (Itasca County) is closed to firearms hunting and 

trapping. It is open to archery deer hunting.
•	 Bayport WMA (Washington County), Hastings WMA (Dakota 

County), and Raguet WMA (Scott and Carver counties): These areas are 
closed to the trapping of unprotected mammals except when there is an 
open trapping season for any protected species. Firearms may not be pos-
sessed unless they are unloaded and contained in a case, except in desig-
nated hunting areas during the season for the taking of small game when 
shotgun with No.4 or smaller shot only is permitted. The possession and 
use of bows and arrows are limited to the designated hunting areas during 
established hunting seasons.
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•	 Boerner WMA (Sibley County), Buelow WMA (Steele County), 
Bryson WMA (Freeborn County), Chapa Kak-Say-Za WMA (Steele 
County), and Hutchinson WMA (McCleod County): These areas are 
closed to the hunting and trapping of all species. Sand Prairie WMA 
is closed to the hunting and trapping of all species except for special 
hunts by people with disabilities.

•	 Carl and Verna Schmidt WMA (LeSueur County) Bur Oak WMA 
(LeSueur County) and Pine City WMA (Pine County) are closed to 
hunting of all species. 

•	 Gold Portage WMA (Koochiching and St. Louis counties):  
This area is open only to waterfowl hunting.

•	 Gun Lake WMA (Aitkin County): A 20-acre posted wildlife sanc-
tuary in the northwest corner of the unit is closed to trespass from 
September 1 – March 31.

•	 Hearding Island WMA and Interstate Island WMA (St. Louis 
County) are closed to the hunting of all species.

•	 Uppgaard WMA (Crow Wing County): This area is open to hunting 
beginning on the opening day of waterfowl hunting.

•	 Gordon W. Yeager WMA (in the Rochester Refuge, Olmsted 
County) Eastside WMA (Olmsted County), and Clare Johnson – 
Carl Schmidt WMA (Morrison County): These areas are closed to 
waterfowl hunting. Firearms are restricted to shotgun with fine shot 
only for small game hunting. Gordon W. Yeager WMA is open to 
archery deer hunting only.

•	 Lac qui Parle, Thief Lake, Talcot Lake, and Orwell WMAs Small  
game hunting is restricted in the Controlled Goose Hunting Zones.

•	 Lake Blanche WMA (Ottertail County): This area is closed to fire-
arms deer hunting.

•	 Mentel WMA (Mower County) is closed to all firearms hunting, but 
it is open for trapping and archery hunting.

•	 Talcot Lake WMA Small and big game hunting is restricted in the 
controlled hunting zone.

•	 Ricehaven WMA (St. Louis County): The posted area is closed to 
	 all trespass from September 15 through July 31. Canoeing, birdwatch-

ing, and wild rice harvest (during the wild rice season) is allowed from 
August 1 – September 14. Hunting and trapping is prohibited in the 
posted area.

•	 Timber Lake WMA (Jackson County): A portion of this area is 
closed to firearms deer hunting (as posted).

•	 Pike Bay WMA (St. Louis County): This area is closed to trapping of 
all species.

•	 Schrafel WMA (Mower County): This area is closed to trapping and 
firearms hunting. Open to falconry and archery hunting for deer and 
small game.
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•	 Dr. Johan C. Hvoslef WMA (Fillmore County): This area is open to 
archery hunting only from September 1 through October 31 and dur-
ing the spring turkey season. Firearms hunting (no centerfire rifles) is 
allowed from November 1 through December 15.

•	 Wesley E. Olson WMA (Big Stone County), Tom Cliff WMA 
(Waseca County), Somsen WMA (Brown County), are closed to 
hunting.

•	 Lac Qui Parle WMA (Lac Qui Parle County), Moonan WMA 
(Waseca County), Two Rivers WMA (Redwood County), and the 
Perched Valley WMA (Goodhue County), and Walnut Lake WMA 
(Faribault county) have buffer areas posted closed to hunting.

• 	Roseau River WMA (Roseau County), The Pool 1 Sanctuary is open 
for deer hunting during the muzzleloader season.

• 	Vermillion Highlands: A Research, Recreation and Wildlife 
Management Area (Dakota County) is open to archery, firearms and 
muzzleloader deer hunting by special lottery only and is open to late 
season goose hunting and spring turkey hunting. Note: There are no 
longer designated parking stalls for pheasant hunters. Predator hunt-
ing will be allowed from the end of the muzzleloader season to March 
31 by special permit only. Contact the Vermillion Complex Wildlife 
Office for questions at 651-322-4643.
Trapping permits required. All trappers must, regardless of fur-

bearers taken, obtain a permit from the area manager on the following 
WMAs: Carlos Avery (Anoka and Chisago counties), Hubbel Pond 
(Becker County), Red Lake (Beltrami and Lake of the Woods counties), 
Lac qui Parle (Big Stone, Lac qui Parle, Swift, and Chippewa counties), 
Mille Lacs (Mille Lacs and Kanabec counties), Roseau River (Roseau 
County), Talcot Lake (Cottonwood and Murray counties), Thief 
Lake (Marshall County), Vermillion Highlands (Dakota County) and 
Whitewater (Olmsted, Wabasha, and Winona counties).
Wild Rice

A person may harvest wild rice in a WMA, except where specifically 
closed. (See pages 97-98 for more information.)
Ginseng 

A person may not harvest wild ginseng in a WMA, except by permit. 
The season opens Sept. 1.
Motor Vehicles

The following regulations apply to motor vehicle use on WMAs other 
than on federal, state, county, or township roads:
• 	Motor vehicles licensed for use on a public highway may be operated 

on established roads on the following WMAs, but not at speeds over 20 
m.p.h. unless posted otherwise. No vehicles may be driven beyond a sign 
prohibiting vehicular use, beyond any constructed vehicle barrier, or 
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in a reckless or careless manner. The areas are: Carlos Avery (Anoka 
and Chisago counties), Hubbel Pond (Becker County), Mille Lacs 
(Kanabec and Mille Lacs counties), Red Lake (Beltrami and Lake of 
the Woods counties), Roseau River (Roseau County), Spring Lake 
Islands (Dakota County) for the purpose of ice fishing, and Thief 
Lake (Marshall County).

• 	Vehicles are prohibited on all other WMAs. The exception is that 
vehicles may be operated at speeds of 20 mph or less, on travel 
routes designated with signs for travel purposes.

• 	No vehicle may be parked in front of any gate or where it obstructs 
travel.

• 	No person may operate an all-terrain vehicle (ATV), all-terrain cycle 
(ATC), hang glider, air boat, personal watercraft (jet-ski), or hover-
craft in a WMA unless specifically authorized.

•	 On Wildlife Management Areas north and west of the line described 
below an ATV may be used by a licensed firearms deer hunter who 
does not possess a firearm (cased or uncased) to retrieve and transport 
a deer that is known to be dead from the close of shooting hours to 
two hours after the close of shooting hours during the regular fire-
arms deer season and for one day after the season: beginning at State 
Highway 1 from the west boundary of the state to State Highway 
89, then north along State Highway 89 to Fourtown, then north 
on County State Aid Highway 44 to County Road 704, Beltrami 
County, then north on County Road 704 to Dick’s Parkway State 
Forest Road, then north on Dick’s Parkway to County State Aid 
Highway 5, then north on County State Aid Highway 5 to Warroad, 
then north on State Highway 11 to State Highway 313, then north on 
State Highway 313 to the north boundary of the state. 

•	 On wildlife management areas within the area described as follows, 
a licensed deer hunter may operate an all-terrain vehicle during the 
firearms deer season before and after shooting hours and from 11 a.m. 
to 2 p.m.: from State Highway 1 and the west boundary of the Red 
Lake Indian Reservation; then west to State Highway 219; then north 
on State Highway 219 to State Highway 89; then north to State 
Highway 89 to County Highway 6; then east on County Highway 6 
to County Highway 54 and County Highway 1 (Beltrami/Marshall 
county line); then north along the Beltrami/Marshall county line to 
the Roseau county line; east on the Beltrami/Roseau county line to 
Dick’s Parkway, then south on Dick’s Parkway to County Road 704, 
Beltrami county; then south to County State-aid Highway 44 to 
Fourtown; then south on State Highway 89 to the north boundary of 
the Red Lake Indian Reservation, then west and south following the 
boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation to the beginning.

• 	Without written permission from the DNR, no person may operate 
a snowmobile in a WMA south of a line described as follows: U.S. 
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Highway 2 from Grand Forks east to Bemidji, then south along U.S. 
Highway 71 to Wadena, then east along U.S. Highway 10 to Staples 
and U.S. Highway 210 to the eastern boundary of the state.

• 	No person may use aircraft over a WMA in a manner that chases, 
herds, scares, or otherwise disturbs wildlife, except in emergencies 
or by authorization of the wildlife manager.

Blinds for Hunters With Disabilities 
The Lac qui Parle, Roseau River, Talcot Lake, and Whitewater 

Wildlife Management Areas have a limited number of goose hunting 
blinds for hunters with disabilities. Talcot Lake WMA and Roseau River 
WMA each have a wheelchair accessible deer blind for firearms hunt-
ing. Reservations are required for the Roseau River WMA blind. For 
more information, write to: Lac qui Parle WMA, 14047 20th St. NW, 
Watson, MN 56295; Talcot Lake WMA, 40249 Co. Rd. 7, Dundee, 
MN 56131; Roseau River WMA, 27952 400th St., Roseau, MN 
56751; or Whitewater WMA, 15035 Highway 75, Altura, MN 55910.

Motorized Watercraft 
The use of outboard motors (including electric trolling motors)  

or motorized water vehicles (including amphibious vehicles) is 
prohibited on waters within the boundaries of most state WMAs, 
except as follows:

Motorized Watercraft Permitted

AREA		  COUNTY
Gold Portage WMA	 Koochiching and St. Louis
Gores (Mississippi River Pool 3) WMA	 Goodhue and Dakota
Hubbel Pond (Hanson Lake) WMA	 Becker
Lac qui Parle WMA	 Big Stone, Lac qui Parle, 
   (except where posted)	   Chippewa, and Swift
Mud-Goose WMA*	 Cass
   �(except on any day the  

waterfowl season is open)
Orwell Reservoir*	 Otter Tail
Roseau River WMA**	 Roseau
South Walnut Lake WMA*	 Faribault
Swamp River WMA	 Cook
Spring Lake Islands WMA	 Dakota
Talcot Lake WMA*** 	 Cottonwood and Murray
Thief Lake WMA*	 Marshall

   	
	 * 	Motor size is restricted to 10 horsepower or less on these units.
	  ** �	There are no motor limits on the main channel and oxbows of the Roseau River. 

Elsewhere on the Roseau River WMA, only motors of 10 horsepower or less may be 
used and only on days that the waterfowl season is open.

	***�	 On the Talcot Lake WMA, motors are permitted on the lake (except on any day that 
the waterfowl season is open) but are prohibited on the river and marshes at any 
time of year.

(continued on page 108)
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STATE REFUGES
GAME REFUGES

A state game refuge is closed to the hunting and trapping of wild animals 
unless listed below or in the table (pages 105-107). Even though  
a refuge may be open, it could contain privately owned land on which the landowner 
may prohibit hunting. 

o

General Restrictions
• 	A person may not trap beaver or otter within any state-owned game 

refuge without first obtaining a permit from the appropriate wildlife 
manager. 

• 	Unprotected wild animals may be taken when there is an open season 
for any protected species, but only during the hours and by methods 
allowed for the protected species.

• 	Firearms must be cased and unloaded unless lawfully hunting in a ref-
uge.

Lac qui Parle Game Refuge (Chippewa and Lac qui Parle counties) is 
open under the following restrictions:  
The portions of the refuge within the Lac qui Parle State Park, Lac qui 

Parle Mission Site, Rosemoen Island, or portions that are posted with “State 
Wildlife Sanctuary – Do Not Trespass” signs are closed to hunting except for 
permitted participants in disability hunts or those with specific authorization.
The remainder of the refuge is open to: 
•	 Deer hunting
•	 Waterfowl hunting at designated stations only from Oct. 18 through the 

close of the Canada goose season.
•	 Small game other than waterfowl, except from Oct. 13-Nov. 30.  Small 

game hunting is not allowed on closed Canada goose hunting days dur-
ing a split goose season.   

No unauthorized person may trespass during the dates posted on any part of 
the refuge posted with “State Wildlife Sanctuary – Do Not Trespass” signs.  
The exceptions are as follows:  
•	 Ice fishing
•	 Open water fishing is permitted in the posted closed area except from 

Oct. 13 through the close of the open Canada goose season.

Rochester Refuge (Olmsted County)
Unprotected animals may be taken at any time and by any  

legal method.

Talcot Lake Game Refuge (Cottonwood County)
The Talcot Lake Game Refuge is open to waterfowl hunting only at 

(continued from page 104)
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designated hunting stations only during the Canada goose season. 
The Talcot Lake Waterfowl Refuge is closed to waterfowl hunt-
ing, except for persons with disabilities hunting geese at designated 
hunting stations.  
Ogechie Lake (Mille Lacs County)

The majority of Ogechie Lake lies within Mille Lacs Kathio 
State Park, and the remainder lies within tribal land.  As such, ALL 
of Ogechie Lake is closed to public hunting.

DUCK REFUGES AND DUCK SANCTUARIES
From September 1 through the final day of the duck season, or as oth-

erwise posted, a person may not hunt, trap, fish, or trespass on portions of 
state wildlife management areas or federal waterfowl production areas that 
are posted to prohibit trespass.

GOOSE OR WATERFOWL REFUGES
State goose refuges are closed to goose or waterfowl hunting (as posted) 

except when specifically opened during special seasons (see the Waterfowl 
Hunting Regulations Supplement available in August). Other forms of 
hunting and trapping are permitted during the established seasons.

STATE FORESTS
State forest lands are generally open for hunting and other types of 

outdoor recreation. Hunting on private land within a state forest is subject 
to state trespass laws. A partial summary of state forest use regulations is 
included below. A complete listing is available from the DNR.

Elevated Stands
• 	The use of portable tree stands is recommended, especially those 

which can be secured without driving nails into trees. Nails are 
a safety hazard for woodcutters and harm the forest. Personal 
property must be removed from State Forest lands. It is illegal to 
destroy state property, including the cutting of trees for shooting 
lanes. Littering and erecting permanent buildings are prohibited.

•	 Any permanent unoccupied stand or blind on public land is pub-
lic and not the property of the person who constructed the stand.

Firewood
Wood that is dead and lying on the ground may be gathered for 

campfire use on site. Only approved firewood is allowed to be brought 
onto DNR lands, see page 85.
Campfires

No permit is required for recreational campfires of less than 3 feet 
in diameter, in an area cleared of combustible materials for 5 feet 
around the fire.
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Firearms
• 	Firearms may be discharged in compliance with the law on forest 

lands that are not posted closed to firearm discharge.
• 	Firearms must be unloaded and cased while in or within 200 feet 

of a forest recreation area (campground, day use area, parking area), 
except that during open hunting seasons a person may carry an 
unloaded, uncased firearm or a strung, uncased bow to hunt outside 
the recreation area.

Camping
Camping on forest lands outside of developed campgrounds is per-

mitted, with some conditions.
Personal Property

Personal property may not be left or positioned so as to obstruct 
use of a road or trail. Personal property left unattended for 14 days 
shall be deemed abandoned.
Motor Vehicle and Off-Road Rules

State forest lands are classified by the commissioner for purposes of 
motor vehicle use. Motor vehicle use is regulated as follows:
State Forest Lands Classified as “Managed”:

Motor vehicles may use forest roads and routes unless they are 
posted or designated closed. 
Unmarked/Unsigned Access Routes

In a MANAGED forest, motor vehicles may operate on all pre-
existing, unsigned access routes on state forest lands. In a LIMITED 
forest, motor vehicles may not operate on pre-existing unsigned routes 
except persons with a valid hunting, trapping or commercial trapping 
license may use routes not specifically designated for other uses per the 
hunting and trapping exceptions below.

However, when operating on unsigned routes in Minnesota’s state 
forests,  it is illegal to cause erosion, rutting, or damage to trees.  
State Forest Hunting/Trapping Exceptions

Traveling off roads and trails (cross-country travel) in a LIMITED 
state forest or off roads, trails and access routes in a MANAGED state 
forest is prohibited except  persons with a valid hunting, trapping, or 
commercial trapping license in possession may use Class I ATVs to 
travel cross country to:
•	 Retrieve big game (Sept. through Dec.)
•	 Hunt for big game and construct stands (Oct. through Dec.)
•	 Trap during the open season for protected furbearers
•	 Trap for minnows under certain conditions
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State Forest Lands Classified as “Closed”:
• 	Motor vehicles are not allowed except:
• 	Vehicles licensed for highway use may only use signed forest roads 

unless they are posted or gated closed.
• 	Vehicles may operate on frozen public waters where it is not other-

wise prohibited.

Limited, Closed and Managed State Forests
The following state forests are classified as LIMITED: Badoura, 

Bear Island*, Bowstring, Buena Vista (portions), Burntside* (portions 
outside BWCAW), Chengwatana, Cloquet Valley** (portions), Crow 
Wing, D.A.R.*, Emily, Finland (portions), Fond du Lac, Foothills, 
General C.C. Andrews, George Washington** (portions), Golden 
Anniversary, Hill River*, Huntersville, Land O’ Lakes*, Lake Jeanette* 
(portions outside BWCAW), Lyons, Mississippi Headwaters, 
Nemadji, Pat Bayle, Paul Bunyan, R.J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood 
(no areas where big game hunter/trapper exemption applies), Remer, 
Rum River, Savanna*, St. Croix, Smoky Hills, Snake River* (por-
tions), Solana, Sturgeon River** (portions inside SNF), Two Inlets, 
Wealthwood, White Earth**, Waukenabo*. 

The following state forests are classified as CLOSED: 
Battleground, Birch Lakes, Buena Vista (portions), Burntside 
(portions inside the BWCAW), Cloquet Valley** (portions), Finland 
(portions), George Washington** (portions), Insula Lake, Lake 
Isabella, Lake Jeanette (only portions in BWCAW), Pillsbury, Sand 
Dunes, Snake River** (portions), Welsh Lake, Whiteface River. 
Note: these lists are subject to change as additional forest review is 
completed. See the following link for the most current status, or con-
tact the DNR Information Center (see page 125): mndnr.gov/input/
mgmtplans/ohv/designation/status.html

The following state forests are classified as MANAGED:
Beltrami Island, Big Fork, Blackduck, Cloquet Valley (portions), 

Finland (portions), George Washington (portions), Grand Portage, 
Kabetogama, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Lost River, Northwest 
Angle, Pine Island, Red Lake, Smokey Bear, Sturgeon River (portions 
outside Superior NF).

	
Motor Vehicle Restrictions (On state forest and county lands 
within state forests where motor vehicles are allowed)
• 	No motor vehicle operation is allowed on designated nonmotor-

ized trails, unless also posted open for a motorized use.
• 	Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate on forest lands 
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in a manner that causes erosion or rutting, or that damages or 
destroys trees or growing crops. The no-rutting provision does not 
apply on designated motorized trails.

• 	Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate within the bound-
aries of an area that is posted and designated as closed to such use.

• 	Motor vehicles on state forest roads must: travel at a reasonable 
speed; obey posted speed limits, parking and traffic regulation signs; 
observe road closures; and may not damage the road, land or other 
natural resources.

• �	Cross country travel (off roads and trails) is prohibited. Exceptions 
to the ban (for both limited and managed forests) are:
› 	�ATV use for big game hunting or constructing stands from 

October through December is allowed;
› �	ATV use for retrieving harvested big game is allowed from 

September through December; and
› 	ATV use for trapping is allowed during open seasons for 

protected furbearers.
Note: These exceptions apply only to Class 1 All Terrain Vehicles 

(ATVs) less than 1000 cc engine displacement and 1000 pounds total 
weight—motorcycles, trucks, and class 2 are not allowed to travel 
cross-country.

• �	Construction of unauthorized permanent trails on forest lands is 
prohibited.

• �	Areas with Limitations are areas within state forests where 
the big game hunter/trapper exceptions do not apply. These 
are areas of no motorized travel and provide walk-in hunting 
opportunities. All ingress points are signed with the orange sign 
“Area with Limitations.” 

• 	In the Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest, motor 
vehicles and snowmobiles may operate only on forest roads that 
are not posted closed and on forest trails that are designated for 
motorized use. No motorized travel is allowed off of designated 
trails under any circumstances. Motorized trails are open to ATVs 
and OHMs from May 1 to November 1.

Nonmotorized Trails
Nonmotorized trails are open to nonmotorized uses, but may be 

limited by postings. In the Richard J. Dorer Forest, horses and bicycles 
may travel only on designated trails.
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State Scientific And Natural Areas
State Scientific and Natural Areas (SNAs) listed here are open to hunting and 

trapping as noted below. Also, check the DNR website for changes in SNAs open 
to hunting. In these SNAs open to hunting, portable stands and elevated scaffold 
may be used if it is removed each day at the close of shooting hours and does no 
damage to trees or other vegetation. Nails, spikes, screws or other devices that 
damage the bark of trees are prohibited. No motor vehicles are allowed in SNAs.

SNAs Open to Hunting and Trapping in 2012
COUNTY	AREA	  OPEN FOR:

	

Aitkin 	 McGregor Marsh SNA 	 All hunting 
Beltrami 	 Maurice O’Link SNA 	 All hunting 
Brown 	 Joseph A.Tauer Prairie SNA 	 All hunting and trapping 
Carlton 	 Hemlock–Ravine SNA 	 Deer only, by permit through 		
			     special hunt with 
			     Jay Cooke State Park 
Carver 	 Seminary Fen SNA 	 Deer only, by archery 
Chisago 	 Franconia Bluffs SNA 	 All hunting 
Clay 	 Felton Prairie SNA,  	 Deer only 
	    	   Bicentennial Unit only 
Clearwater 	 Iron Springs Bog SNA 	 Deer only 
Clearwater 	 Itasca Wilderness SNA 	 Firearms and muzzleloader 		
		  `	   deer seasons only 
Cook 	 Hovland Woods SNA 	 All hunting 
Cook	 Lutsen SNA	 All hunting; except only 		
			     deer hunting in Scherer 		
			     Conservation Unit
Cook 	 Myhr Creek Ridge SNA 	 All hunting 
Cook 	 Spring Beauty Ridge SNA 	 All hunting 
Fillmore 	 Rushford Sand Barrens SNA 	 All hunting 
Goodhue 	 Cannon River Turtle 	 All hunting 
	    	   Preserve SNA 
Houston 	 Mound Prairie SNA (Only 	 All hunting 
	    	 the portion north of Hwy 16.) 
Hubbard	 La Salle Lake SNA	 All hunting and trapping 
Hubbard 	 Lester Lake SNA	 All hunting and trapping
Isanti	 Twin Lakes SNA	 Archery only pending public 		
			     hearing
Itasca 	 Chisholm Point Island SNA 	 Deer only, by archery 
Itasca 	 Ladies Tresses Swamp SNA 	 All hunting 
Itasca 	 Lost 40 SNA 	 All hunting 
Itasca 	 Wabu Woods SNA	 All hunting 
Koochiching 	 Caldwell Brook SNA 	 All hunting 
Lake of the Woods 	 Gustafson’s Camp SNA 	 All hunting and trapping 
Lake of the Woods 	 Pine/Curry Island SNA 	 Waterfowl only 
Mahnomen 	 Santee Prairie SNA 	 All hunting 
Morrison 	 Lake Alexander SNA 	 Deer hunting by permit only
Norman 	 Prairie Smoke Dunes SNA 	 Deer hunting only 
Pine 	 Black Lake Bog SNA 	 All hunting and trapping 
Polk 	 Gully Fen SNA 	 Deer only, by archery 
Redwood 	 Cedar Mountain SNA 	 Deer only, by archery 
Roseau 	 Two Rivers Aspen Parkland 	 All hunting 
	    	 Prairie SNA 
Scott 	 Savage Fen	 Archery only         
Sherburne 	 Uncas Dunes SNA 	 All hunting 
St.Louis 	 Big Island SNA 	 Waterfowl only 
St.Louis 	 Moose Mountain SNA 	 Deer only 
		     	   archery 9/15-11/18
		     	   firearm 11/3-11/18 
Stearns 	 Avon Hills Forest SNA 	 Deer only, by archery
Stearns 	 St.Wendell Tamarack Bog SNA 	 All hunting 
Wabasha 	 Zumbro Falls Woods SNA 	 Deer only, by permit
Winona	 King's and Queen's Bluff SNA	 Youth deer hunt only in con-		
			     junction with Great River Bluffs 	
			     State Park
Yellow Medicine	 Mound Spring Prairie SNA	 All hunting and Trapping 

 update
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	 Peatland SNAs Open to All Trapping and Hunting
COUNTY	 PEATLAND SNA
Beltrami	 Red Lake Peatland
Cass		  Hole-in-the-Bog Peatland (Except Hole-in- 			 
			   the-Bog Lake, which is a waterfowl refuge.)
Koochiching	 East Rat Root River Peatland
Koochiching	 Lost River Peatland
Koochiching	 Myrtle Lake Peatland
Koochiching	 Nett Lake Peatland
Koochiching	 North Black River Peatland
Koochiching	 South Black River Peatland
Koochiching	 West Rat Root River Peatland
Lake		  Sand Lake Peatland 
Lake of the Woods/Beltrami	 Mulligan Lake Peatland
Lake of the Woods	 Norris Camp Peatland
Lake of the Woods	 Winter Road Lake Peatland
Roseau	 Luxemborg Peatland
Roseau	 Pine Creek Peatland
Roseau	 Sprague Creek Peatland
St. Louis	 Lost Lake Peatland
St. Louis	 Wawina Peatland

STATE PARKS AND STATE RECREATION AREAS OPEN TO 
PUBLIC HUNTING

All or portions of the state parks and state recreation areas (SRA) 
listed on the following page are open to public hunting, or public hunt-
ing and trapping according to Minnesota regulations unless otherwise 
noted. Maps showing the areas where hunting and trapping is allowed 
within each of these units are available online at mndnr.gov/state_parks/
index.html. Hunters and trappers should refer to these maps in the field 
to ensure they are within the portion of the state park or state recreation 
area where these activities are permitted.

With the exception of restrictions on firearms and traps, all state park 
rules remain in effect throughout the hunting and trapping seasons. 

In state parks, state recreation areas and other lands administered by 
the Division of Parks & Trails, opened to hunting by special permit, or 
by legislation, early placement of portable stands is allowed according to 
the criteria below:

•	 Portable stands may be placed in the unit during normal business 
hours only and no more than seven days prior to the hunt.  Stands 
must be removed no more than one day after the hunt.

•	 All stands must have owner/hunter identification on them.
•	 Only portable stands that do no damage to trees or other vegetation 

are allowed.  Nails, screws or other devices that damage the bark of 
trees are prohibited.

•	 Only clamp-on or strap-on devices for climbing are allowed, no 
screw-in steps.

•	 Hunters may not place multiple stands.
•	 Other hunters or the general public may not occupy stands legally 

placed by a hunter.



Big Bog State Recreation Area
Most of the northern portion of Big Bog SRA is open to public hunting and 
trapping. Hunting and trapping is not allowed on Ludlow Island and vicinity 
or the boardwalk. 

Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area
Much of Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area is open to public hunting, 
but closed to trapping. 

Forestville Mystery Cave State Park
Approximately 430 acres of the park is open to public hunting but closed to 
trapping.

Garden Island State Recreation Area
Much of Garden Island State Recreation Area is open to public hunting but 
closed to trapping.

George H. Crosby Manitou State Park
The portion of the park which is east of the Manitou River and north of 
Minnesota Highway 61 (approximately 3,000 acres) is open to public hunting 
but closed to trapping.

Greenleaf State Recreation Area
Is open to archery hunting deer during the archery deer season. No bonus 
permits are allowed.

La Salle State Recreation Area
Most of La Salle SRA is open to public hunting and trapping of protected spe-
cies during open trapping seasons. Hunting and trapping is not allowed in the 
vicinity of the campground and cabins.

Split Rock Lighthouse State Park
Approximately 50 acres in the far northern part of the park is open to public 
hunting but closed to trapping. See map for location.

Temperance River State Park
Approximately 600 acres of Temperance River state park is open to pub-
lic hunting but closed to trapping. The area is located north of Minnesota 
Highway 61 and adjacent to the Cross River on both sides. 

Tettegouche State Park
Much of the southern half of the park (approximately 3,700 acres) known as 
the Palisade Valley unit is open to public hunting and trapping. 

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Wildlife Grants Available
The Conservation Partners Legacy Grant Program is looking for organizations to 

submit grant proposals to enhance, restore, or protect habitat for fish, game, and wildlife in 
Minnesota.  Visit our webpage at www.mndnr.gov/grants/habitat/cpl for more information. 
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FEDERAL LANDS
NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGES & WATERFOWL PRODUCTION AREAS

Federal Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA’s) are open to public hunting 
except where prohibited.  National Wildlife Refuges (NWR’s) are closed unless 
expressly permitted. Migratory birds, upland game birds, small game, big game, and 
furbearers may be hunted and trapped in accordance with state and federal seasons 
and regulations. Please consult the appropriate NWRs and Wetland Management 
District (WMDs) managers for seasons and other specific public use regulations. 

General Restrictions
• 	Small game hunters using shotguns are required to use and possess only non-

toxic shot.
• 	Small game hunters must wear an article of blaze orange clothing consistent 

to the state’s regulations.
• 	Target shooting is prohibited.
• 	During the small game season, hunting dogs must be under the immediate 

control of the hunter at all times. Training and allowing pets off leash are 
prohibited at all other times.

• 	Motorized vehicles are prohibited on all NWRs and WPAs, except on des-
ignated parking areas, access roads, and public roads. Permits to operate 
vehicles on other roads may be available for hunters with disabilities. Consult 
the Managers.

• 	Motorized watercraft are prohibited on all WPAs and are restricted on most 
NWRs. Motorized watercraft are allowed without a permit on designated 
waters of the Tamarac and Upper Mississippi National Wildlife Refuges. 

• 	Camping, campfires, and overnight parking are prohibited on all WPAs, 
including designated parking areas. Camping, campfires, and overnight park-
ing are restricted on most NWRs. Consult the Managers.

• 	No permanent stands permitted. Also the use of nails, wire, screws or bolts to 
attach a stand to a tree, or hunting from a tree, into which a metal object has 
been driven or screwed to support a hunter or hunting equipment, is prohib-
ited. Portable or temporary hunting blinds or stands can only be set up the 
day of the hunt, and must be removed at the end of each day.

• 	All property brought onto the NWRs and WPAs must be removed after each 
day. This includes all vehicles, boats, decoys, and trash.

• 	The use or possession of alcoholic beverages while hunting is prohibited.
• 	The destruction, defacement, disturbance, or unauthorized removal of any 

natural object or government property is prohibited.
• 	Plants and animals cannot be introduced, liberated, or placed on NWRs and 

WPAs.
• 	Disposing of animal carcasses, trash, refuse, rocks, wood, or other debris is 

prohibited.
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• 	Cutting, mowing, sawing, digging, collecting, injuring, or removing vegeta-
tion is prohibited.

• 	Distribution of feed or bait, or hunting over bait is prohibited. This includes 
salts and minerals.

Trapping
	    A person may not trap in a National Wildlife Refuge without first obtaining a 

permit issued by the refuge manager. Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA's) are 
open to trapping per state regulations unless specifically prohibited.

	 Artificial Lights
A person may not, at any time, use or direct the rays of a spotlight, head-

light, or other artificial light for the purpose of spotting, locating, or taking any 
wild animal within the boundaries of a NWR and WPA.
Specific Restrictions 

Agassiz National Wildlife Refuge (Marshall County) 22996 290th Street 
NE, Middle River MN,  56737-9754   218/449-4115

Small game: The refuge is open to grouse hunting beginning on the state 
firearms deer opener and closing on the state’s closing date. Portions of the 
refuge will be open for the youth waterfowl hunt. Deer: This refuge is open 
for state firearms and muzzleloader deer hunting, except in areas posted with 
“Area Closed” signs or as shown on maps available at parking areas and in 
deer hunting brochures available at kiosks along Marshall County Road 
7, www.fws.gov/midwest/agassiz, and at refuge headquarters. The refuge is 
also open to Archery deer hunting from the beginning of the state firearms 
season through the end of the state archery season. A wheelchair-accessible 
hunting platform is available for reservation at Refuge Headquarters, phone 
218/449-4115. The refuge is in Deer Area No. 203, which includes Elm 
Lake, Eckvoll, and Mud Lac state wildlife management areas.
Big Stone National Wildlife Refuge (Big Stone and Lac qui Parle 
Counties) 44843 County Road 19, Odessa MN  56276  320/273-2191

Small Game: Portions of the refuge are open to cottontail rabbit, jack 
rabbit, gray squirrel, fox squirrel, red and gray fox, Hungarian partridge, wild 
turkey, and pheasant firearms hunting. Open areas are posted with “Public 
Hunting Area” signs or shown on maps available at parking areas and at the 
Refuge Headquarters.

Deer: Portions of the refuge are open to firearms, muzzleloader, and 
archery deer hunting. Open areas are posted with “Public Hunting Area” 
signs or shown on maps available at refuge headquarters. This is part of Deer 
Area 278. 

Fox, raccoon, and skunk may only be hunted during the state small 
game season in accordance with state regulations.  Hunting hours for these 
species are ½ hour before sunrise to sunset.  Dogs may not be used for fur-
bearer hunting.  See refuge specific regulations and maps for details.

Big Stone NWR is closed to all migratory bird and coyote hunting.  
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Big Stone Wetland Management District (Lincoln and Lyon Counties)  
44843 Co. Rd. 19, Odessa, MN 56276  320/273-2191

Hunting is allowed throughout the district.
Crane Meadows National Wildlife Refuge (Morrison County)19502 
Iris Road, Little Falls MN, 56534  320/632-1575

Closed to all general public hunting and trapping. The Refuge is open 
for two Special Hunts for persons with disabilities. In 2012 an October 
white-tailed deer hunt is scheduled for persons with disabilities. In spring 
2013 a wild turkey hunt will be held for persons with disabilities.  
Detroit Lakes Wetland Management District (Becker, Clay, Mahnomen, 
Norman, and Polk Counties) 26624 N Tower Road, Detroit Lakes MN,  
56501-7959   218/847-4431

Hunting is allowed throughout the district, except on the Headquarters 
Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Becker County, the Hitterdal WPA in 
Clay County, and the McIntosh WPA in Polk County. 
Fergus Falls Wetland Management District (Otter Tail, Grant, Douglas, 
and Wilkin Counties) 18965 County Highway 82, Fergus Falls MN,  
56537-7627   218/739-2291

Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on the Townsend, 
Mavis, Gilmore and designated portions of Knollwood Waterfowl 
Production Areas (WPA) in Otter Tail County, and Larson WPA in Douglas 
County. 
Glacial Ridge National Wildlife Refuge (Polk County)  Contact Rydell 
NWR  17788 349th St SE, Erskine MN  56535  218/687-2229 or 
800/841-0172

Deer: Archery, rifle, and muzzleloader hunting is allowed in designated 
portions of the refuge in accordance with state regulations. Maps show-
ing open areas for hunting are located in designated parking lots located 
throughout the refuge and are available at refuge Headquarters. 

Upland and Migratory Bird: Ducks, geese, coot, common snipe, 
Woodcock, Mourning dove, Rail, Prairie Chicken, and Sharp Tailed Grouse 
hunting is allowed in designated portions of the refuge in accordance with 
state regulations. Maps showing open areas for hunting are located in desig-
nated parking lots located throughout the refuge and are available at refuge 
Headquarters. Open areas are also posted with Migratory Bird Hunting Area 
signs.
Hamden Slough National Wildlife Refuge (Becker County)
21212 210th Street, Audubon MN,  56511   218/847-4431

Waterfowl:  The refuge is open during the one day state youth season.  
Contact Detroit Lakes WMD 218/847-4431 for information. 

Deer:  Deer hunting is only allowed during the state muzzleloader sea-
son.
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Litchfield Wetland Management District (Meeker, Kandiyohi, 
Stearns, McLeod, Todd, Renville, and Wright Counties)
22274 615th Avenue, Litchfield MN, 55355   320/693-2849

Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on that part of the 
Phare Lake Waterfowl Production Area in Renville County that lies within 
the Phare Lake State Game Refuge. 
Minnesota Valley National Wildlife Refuge (Hennepin, Ramsey, 
Dakota, Scott, Carver, Sibley, and Le Sueur counties)  

3815 American Blvd East, Bloomington MN, 55425-1600, (952)/854-
5900 Designated areas of the refuge are open to hunting for migratory 
birds: geese, ducks, coots, rails, woodcock, common snipe, and mourning 
dove; upland game: ruffed grouse, ring-necked pheasant, gray and fox squir-
rel, snowshoe hare, cottontail rabbit, jackrabbit, and turkey, and big game: 
white-tailed deer. The refuge is closed to hunting for species not listed above 
including swans, American crow, furbearers (raccoon, red fox, gray fox, bad-
ger, opossum, striped skunk, coyote), and unprotected species as defined by 
the State of Minnesota.

Upland Game:  The use of center-fire rifles and handguns is prohibited 
on the refuge. Small caliber rimfire rifles of .17 and .22 caliber are authorized 
in designated areas.  All shotgun hunters, including turkey hunters must pos-
sess and use only non-toxic shot. The use of gas or electric motors is prohib-
ited on all refuge waters. For hunting, refuge is open 2 hours before until 2 
hours after legal shooting times.  

Rapids Lake, Jessenland, Blakely, and St Lawrence Units are open to 
upland game hunting including wild turkey.  Louisville Swamp Unit, south 
of Middle Road, is open to upland game hunting.  Louisville Swamp Unit, 
north of Middle Road upland game may be taken by archery and falconry 
only.  Wilkie Unit is open to upland game hunting by archery and falconry 
west of Eagle Creek.  Turkey hunting is allowed west of Eagle Creek by 
archery only.  No hunting is allowed east of Eagle Creek.

Waterfowl: The use of gas or electric motors is prohibited on all refuge 
waters. For hunting, refuge is open 2 hours before until 2 hours after legal 
shooting times. Wilkie Unit, Rice Lake east of Highway 169 and west of 
Eagle Creek is open to public waterfowl hunting. (Hunters may not park 
along highway 13 to access Rice Lake). Waterfowl hunting is prohibited west 
of Highway 169. Rapids Lake, Jessenland, St. Lawrence, Blakely Units, and 
Louisville Swamp Unit south of Middle Road are open to waterfowl hunting  

Hunters may call the Refuge Wildlife Officer cell phone at 612-708-
3765 to report violations.  Additional hunting information is available online 
at fws.gov/midwest/minnesotavalley and at the refuge headquarters. 
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Minnesota Valley Wetland Management District (Hennepin, Dakota, 
Scott, Carver, Rice, Sibley, Blue Earth, Steele, Le Sueur, Waseca, Chisago, 
Goodhue, Washington,  Nicollet, and Ramsey Counties) 
3815 American Blvd East, Bloomington MN, 55425-1600, 952/854-5900 
Hunting and trapping is allowed according to state and federal regula-
tions.  Special restrictions include the following:  All waterfowl and upland 
game shotgun hunters, including turkey hunters, must possess and use only 
non-toxic shot. Single projectile ammunition prohibited on Soberg WPA, 
Dakota County, MN. 
Morris Wetland Management District (Stevens, Traverse, Big Stone, 
Lac Qui Parle, Yellow Medicine, Lincoln, Pope and Swift Counties) 
43875 230th Street, Morris MN,  56267  
320/589-1001

Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on the designated 
portions of the Edward-Long Lake Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in 
Stevens County.
Northern Tallgrass Prairie National Wildlife Refuge
44843 County Road 19, Odessa MN 56276   320/273-2191

Migratory Bird and Small Game Hunting:  Portions of the refuge are 
open to migratory bird (ducks, geese, coots, rails, woodcock, dove, and 
snipe) and small game (pheasant, partridge, rabbit, squirrel, raccoon, opos-
sum, fox, badger, coyote, striped skunk and crow) hunting on designated 
areas. Dogs may not be used for furbearer hunting. Hunting hours for coy-
ote, skunk, raccoon and fox are ½ hour before legal sunrise to legal sunset.  
The refuge is closed to all upland game hunting from March 1 through 
August 31. 

Deer and turkey hunting: Portions of the refuge are open to archery, 
muzzleloader, and firearm deer hunting and spring and fall turkey hunting.  
Turkey hunters must possess only approved nontoxic shot while in the field.  
Call for refuge specific regulations and maps.
Rice Lake National Wildlife Refuge and Sandstone National Wildlife 
Refuge (Aitkin and Pine Counties) 36289 State Hwy 65, McGregor 
MN, 55760 218/768-2402 

Small Game: Portions of these refuges are open to cottontail rabbit, 
snowshoe hare, gray squirrel, fox squirrel, ruffed grouse, spruce grouse, 
woodcock, and snipe firearms hunting. Open areas are posted with “Public 
Hunting Area” signs or shown on maps available at Refuge Headquarters, 
36289 State Hwy. 65, McGregor, MN 55760.

Deer: Archery hunting is allowed on the Rice Lake and Sandstone 
Refuges in designated areas. Rice Lake refuge is also open to firearms either-
sex deer hunting November 10-18 as Special Permit Area 901. All deer taken 
by firearms and archery at Rice Lake Refuge are to be registered as taken in 
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Special Permit Area 901.
Maps showing open areas are available from refuge headquarters or by 

request. The refuges are closed to muzzleloader hunting during the muzzle-
loader Season.  The Refuge will be open for a special firearm deer hunt for 
persons with disabilities October 4-7, 2012. Contact the refuge headquarters 
for applications and information.
Rydell National Wildlife Refuge (Polk County) 17788 349th St SE, 
Erskine MN, 56535 218/687-2229 or 800/841-0172 

Small Game: Small game hunting is closed on the refuge. Deer: The 
Refuge will be open for a special, either sex firearms deer hunt for persons 
with disabilities on October 10-13. Call 1-800- 726-3692 to register for the 
deer hunt for persons with disabilities.

There will be a special youth-only either sex hunt on October 20-21. 
Contact the Refuge headquarters for permit and hunt area information. 
Portions of the refuge are opened annually to a limited number of antlerless 
deer tags during the regular firearms season. Application is made through the 
State Electronic Lottery System. All State and Refuge regulations are appli-
cable.
Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge (Sherburne County)
17076 293rd Ave., Zimmerman MN, 55398 763/389-3323

Small Game and Waterfowl: Portions of the Refuge are open to cot-
tontail rabbit, jack rabbit, snowshoe hare, gray squirrel, fox squirrel, ruffed 
grouse, pheasant, woodcock, snipe, rail, and waterfowl hunting. 

The Refuge is not open for bear, dove, coyote, fox, raccoon, or crow 
hunting.  No person may hunt or possess firearms (including bows and 
arrows) in closed areas. Trapping is conducted only by Special Use Permit. 
Maps and additional information are available at Refuge Headquarters. Deer: 
Portions of the Refuge are open to archery and firearms deer hunting; maps 
are available at Refuge Headquarters. This is deer area 224. The Refuge is 
closed to muzzleloader hunting during the Muzzleloader Season. Turkey:  A 
special spring turkey hunt may be available, contact Refuge headquarters for 
details. Refuge is closed to Fall turkey hunting. Disabled Hunting blinds may 
be available for waterfowl, deer, and spring turkey hunters with disabilities. 
Contact the Refuge headquarters for permit and hunt area information.

	 Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge (Becker County)
35704 County Road 26, Rochert MN,  56578   218/847-2641
Refuge hours - 5am to 10pm

Small Game and Waterfowl: Portions of the refuge are open to firearms 
hunting of cottontail rabbit, jack rabbit, snowshoe hare, gray squirrel, fox 
squirrel, ruffed grouse, snipe, woodcock, ducks, rails, coots, geese, red fox, 
striped skunk, and raccoon. Dogs may not be used for furbearer hunting. 
Open areas are marked on maps available at Refuge Headquarters. The 
Refuge is closed to bear, bobcat, turkey, and coyote hunting.
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Deer: Portions of the refuge are open to archery, muzzleloader, and 
firearms deer hunting. This is deer area 251. Maps showing open areas are 
available at refuge headquarters.
Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife and Fish Refuge (Wabasha, 
Winona, and Houston Counties)  51 East 4th Street Room 101, 
Winona MN,  55987   507/452-4232

Trapping, including otter, is allowed only by special use permit issued 
by the refuge manager.  Portions of the refuge are open to hunting, with 
the following exceptions: Hunting is not allowed on the refuge from March 
16 through August 31, except for wild turkey during the spring season.   
In posted closed areas, hunting for all legal species except migratory birds 
is permitted beginning after the close of the state duck hunting season. 
Hunters may only use or possess approved non-toxic shot shells while in 
the field, including shot shells used for hunting wild turkey. All decoys 
must be removed from the refuge at the end of each day’s hunt. Decoys 
may be placed on the water 1 hour prior to lefgal shooting time. For more 
information, contact refuge headquarters. 
Windom Wetland Management District (Brown, Cottonwood, 
Faribault, Freeborn, Jackson, Martin, Murray Nobles, Pipestone, 
Redwood, Rock, Watonwan)  49663 County Road 17, Windom, MN 
56101   507/831-2220

Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on the designated 
portions of the Wolf Lake Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in 
Cottonwood County.

NATIONAL FOREST LANDS IN MINNESOTA
National forest lands in Minnesota are open to many public uses, includ-

ing camping, hunting, fishing, trapping, snowmobiling and off‑highway vehicle 
(OHV) use with some restrictions.

–	 Minnesota State hunting, fishing, trapping, snowmobiling and OHV regula-
tions apply on national forest lands, except as otherwise stated below or in 
national forest regulations, 36 CFR Part 261. 

–	 Special designation areas within national forests, such as designated Wilderness 
Areas, Semi-Primitive Nonmotorized Areas, and Research Natural Areas may 
have additional restrictions:
•	 Only portable stands or blinds that do not damage natural features and are 

removed at the end of the hunting season are permitted. 
•	 Portable stands and blinds left unattended on national forest lands after the 

close of the hunting season are subject to impoundment.
•	 Cross-country or off-road OHV use for any purpose is prohibited. This 

includes the use of OHV’s for big game retrieval, bear baiting and trapping.
•	 Commercial activities such as outfitting and guiding may not be conducted 

without a Special-Use Authorization issued by national forest management.
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•	 Cutting or damaging of trees, including the cutting of shooting lanes, is pro-
hibited.

•	 Constructing, placing, or maintaining any kind of road, trail, structure or 
other improvement is prohibited. This includes the use or occupancy of a 
permanent stand, blind or OHV trail.

•	 Storing or abandoning any personal property on national forest lands is pro-
hibited.

•	 Discharging a firearm within 150 yards of a building, campground, 
developed recreation site or occupied area; or from or across a forest road; or 
in a manner or place that could cause injury or damage is prohibited.

•	 Dumping of any refuse, debris, trash or litter on national forest lands is pro-
hibited.

•	 Damaging or removing any natural/cultural feature or federal property is 
prohibited.

•	 Fire restrictions must be observed when in effect.
Chippewa National Forest (Beltrami, Cass, and Itasca Counties)
•	 The Motor Vehicle Use Map (MVUM), is the legal guide for Motor Vehicle 

use on Forest Roads, it is updated annually, which could affect your riding. 
Forest Roads are identified on the MVUM and on the ground with a three 
or four digit numbered sign. 

•	 Off-Highway Vehicles (OHV) and Highway Licensed Vehicles (HLV), may 
only operate on Forest Roads designated open on the MVUM map, which 
are available FREE at the Forest Supervisors or District Ranger Offices.

•	 Roads that are signed, gated, bermed with dirt, rocks, trees etc. or not desig-
nated open on the MVUM map are closed to motor vehicles. 

•	 Snowmobiles may operate on any unplowed Forest Service roads with 4 or 
more inches of snow accumulation.

•	 Camping within a developed recreation fee area for a period longer than 14 
days is prohibited. Campers must leave campground for a minimum of 24 
hours before returning.

•	 Camping for a period longer than 21 consecutive days at a single location, 
anywhere on National Forest lands (non-fee areas), is prohibited.

•	 Launching or retrieving a boat with a trailer is prohibited except at a desig-
nated boat ramp.

Superior National Forest (Cook, Lake, and St. Louis Counties)
•	 Vehicle use is restricted to specific routes on the Forest. Contact the local 

Forest Service office or visit the Web site listed below for current vehicle 
restrictions. 

•	 Roads that are gated, signed or bermed with dirt, rocks, trees, etc. are closed 
and are prohibited to motor vehicles. 

•	 Snowmobiles may operate off-road in certain areas and on unplowed Forest 
Service roads with 4 or more inches of snow accumulation.
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•	 Camping within a developed recreational site for a period longer than 14 
days, except as otherwise posted, is prohibited.

•	 Camping for a period longer than 14 consecutive days at a single location, or 
longer than 30 consecutive days anywhere on National Forest lands, is pro-
hibited.

•	 Permits are required year-round for entry into the Boundary Waters Canoe 
Area Wilderness. Wilderness rules and regulations apply to all visitors.

•	 Motor vehicles and all other types of motorized and mechanized equipment 
are prohibited in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness except in 
specified areas.

For additional information, contact: Chippewa National Forest, 200 Ash Ave. 
NW, Cass Lake, MN 56633, (218) 335-8600, fs.usda.gov/chippewa; or Superior 
National Forest, 8901 Grand Ave. Place, Duluth, MN 55808, (218) 626-4300, 
fs.usda.gov/superior

COUNTY LANDS
Cass County Managed Forest Lands
•	 Tree stands that damage trees are not allowed; no nails, bolts, or screws. All 

new tree stands that damage trees will be removed; old tree stands will be 
removed as timber sales take place in an area.

•	 The county encourages portable tree stands, freestanding stands, and any 
tree stands that do not damage trees.

Crow Wing County Managed Forest Lands
•	 Permanent hunting stands are prohibited by ordinance.

TRIBAL LANDS
Lands Of The Red Lake Chippewa Band
Lands belonging to the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians in  

Beltrami, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, and Roseau counties are  
closed to non-band members except by special authorization of the  
tribal council. Persons taking, tagging, and transporting deer from reservation lands 
on the Northwest Angle in accordance with the Red Lake Band Code do not need a 
state license.

Other Tribal Lands
• 	Nett Lake in Koochiching and St. Louis counties is closed to hunting by non-

band members, except for duck hunting when accompanied by a band-member 
guide.

• 	Other reservation lands may be open for hunting or trapping to  
non-band members by authorization of the reservations. All non-band members 
who are hunting or trapping on reservation lands must comply with all state reg
ulations, including licensing.
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FOR MORE INFORMATION
DNR Information Center  •  500 Lafayette Road  •  St. Paul, MN 55155-4040
Metro: (651) 296-6157  •  Toll-free: (888) 646-6367
Telecommunications for the Deaf: (651) 296-5484 or (800) 657-3929 TDD
mndnr.gov

Turn in Poachers:
1-800-652-9093
24-Hour Hotline
AT&T, Midwest 
Wireless, Unicel and 
Verizon users can 
report violations by 
typing #TIP.

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

Scan this code to 
connect instantly to the 
conservation officer 
locator web page.
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SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE
Nine hunting time zones are shown on the map to the right. Sunrise  

and sunset times to be used for hunting purposes in the “In Table” zone 
are shown in the table below and at right. To determine times for other 
zones, add or subtract, as appropriate, the minutes shown at the top 
of the map to the times shown in the table. Times shown are Central 
Daylight Saving Time through Nov. 3, 2012 and Central Standard Time 
thereafter.

	 5:30	 9:04	 5:58	 8:40	 6:35	 7:51	 7:11	 6:54	 7:51	 6:02	 7:31	 4:33	 1
	 5:31	 9:03	 5:59	 8:39	 6:36	 7:49	 7:12	 6:52	 7:53	 6:00	 7:32	 4:33	 2
	 5:31	 9:03	 6:00	 8:38	 6:37	 7:47	 7:13	 6:51	 7:54	 5:59	 7:33	 4:33	 3
	 5:32	 9:03	 6:01	 8:36	 6:38	 7:45	 7:14	 6:49	 6:55	 4:58	 7:34	 4:32	 4
	 5:32	 9:02	 6:03	 8:35	 6:39	 7:44	 7:16	 6:47	 6:57	 4:56	 7:35	 4:32	 5
	
	 5:33	 9:02	 6:04	 8:34	 6:41	 7:42	 7:17	 6:45	 6:58	 4:55	 7:36	 4:32	 6
	 5:34	 9:02	 6:05	 8:32	 6:42	 7:40	 7:18	 6:43	 6:59	 4:54	 7:37	 4:32	 7
	 5:35	 9:01	 6:06	 8:31	 6:43	 7:38	 7:19	 6:41	 7:01	 4:53	 7:38	 4:32	 8
	 5:35	 9:01	 6:07	 8:29	 6:44	 7:36	 7:21	 6:40	 7:02	 4:51	 7:39	 4:32	 9
	 5:36	 9:00	 6:08	 8:28	 6:45	 7:34	 7:22	 6:38	 7:04	 4:50	 7:40	 4:32	 10
	
	 5:37	 9:00	 6:10	 8:26	 6:47	 7:32	 7:23	 6:36	 7:05	 4:49	 7:41	 4:32	 11
	 5:38	 8:59	 6:11	 8:25	 6:48	 7:30	 7:25	 6:34	 7:06	 4:48	 7:42	 4:32	 12
	 5:39	 8:59	 6:12	 8:23	 6:49	 7:28	 7:26	 6:32	 7:08	 4:47	 7:43	 4:32	 13
	 5:39	 8:58	 6:13	 8:22	 6:50	 7:27	 7:27	 6:31	 7:09	 4:46	 7:44	 4:32	 14
	 5:40	 8:57	 6:14	 8:20	 6:51	 7:25	 7:28	 6:29	 7:10	 4:45	 7:44	 4:32	 15

	 5:41	 8:56	 6:16	 8:18	 6:53	 7:23	 7:30	 6:27	 7:12	 4:44	 7:45	 4:32	 16
	 5:42	 8:56	 6:17	 8:17	 6:54	 7:21	 7:31	 6:25	 7:13	 4:43	 7:46	 4:33	 17
	 5:43	 8:55	 6:18	 8:15	 6:55	 7:19	 7:32	 6:24	 7:14	 4:42	 7:46	 4:33	 18
	 5:44	 8:54	 6:19	 8:14	 6:56	 7:17	 7:34	 6:22	 7:16	 4:41	 7:47	 4:33	 19
	 5:45	 8:53	 6:20	 8:12	 6:57	 7:15	 7:35	 6:20	 7:17	 4:40	 7:48	 4:34	 20

	 5:46	 8:52	 6:22	 8:10	 6:59	 7:13	 7:36	 6:19	 7:18	 4:39	 7:48	 4:34	 21
	 5:47	 8:51	 6:23	 8:09	 7:00	 7:11	 7:38	 6:17	 7:20	 4:39	 7:49	 4:35	 22
	 5:48	 8:50	 6:24	 8:07	 7:01	 7:09	 7:39	 6:16	 7:21	 4:38	 7:49	 4:35	 23
	 5:49	 8:49	 6:25	 8:05	 7:02	 7:08	 7:40	 6:14	 7:22	 4:37	 7:50	 4:36	 24
	 5:50	 8:48	 6:26	 8:03	 7:03	 7:06	 7:42	 6:12	 7:24	 4:36	 7:50	 4:37	 25

	 5:51	 8:47	 6:28	 8:02	 7:05	 7:04	 7:43	 6:11	 7:25	 4:36	 7:50	 4:37	 26
	 5:52	 8:46	 6:29	 8:00	 7:06	 7:02	 7:44	 6:09	 7:26	 4:35	 7:51	 4:38	 27
	 5:54	 8:45	 6:30	 7:58	 7:07	 7:00	 7:46	 6:08	 7:27	 4:35	 7:51	 4:39	 28
	 5:55	 8:44	 6:31	 7:56	 7:08	 6:58	 7:46	 6:07	 7:28	 4:34	 7:51	 4:39	 29
	 5:56	 8:43	 6:32	 7:55	 7:09	 6:56	 7:48	 6:05	 7:30	 4:34	 7:51	 4:40	 30

	 5:57	 8:41	 6:33	 7:53			   7:50	 6:03			   7:51	 4:41	 31

DAY

JULY 2012	 AUG. 2012	 SEPT. 2012	 OCT. 2012	 NOV. 2012	 DEC. 2012

	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set
	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM
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Note: Times shown in 
the tables below may vary by 
specific location. For the exact 
time in your area consult a local 
airport or check online at  
http://mndnr.gov/sunrise-sunset

JAN. (2013)	 FEB. (2013)	 MAR. (2013)	 APR. (2013)	 MAY (2013)	 JUNE (2013)

DAY
	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set
	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM

	 1	 7:52	 4:42	 7:33	 5:21	 6:52	 6:00	 6:55	 7:41	 6:03	 8:18	 5:30	 8:52
	 2	 7:52	 4:43	 7:32	 5:22	 6:50	 6:02	 6:53	 7:42	 6:02	 8:20	 5:29	 8:53
	 3	 7:52	 4:44	 7:31	 5:24	 6:48	 6:03	 6:51	 7:43	 6:00	 8:21	 5:29	 8:54
	 4	 7:52	 4:45	 7:30	 5:25	 6:46	 6:04	 6:49	 7:44	 5:59	 8:22	 5:28	 8:55
	 5	 7:51	 4:46	 7:29	 5:27	 6:45	 6:06	 6:47	 7:46	 5:57	 8:23	 5:28	 8:56

	 6	 7:51	 4:47	 7:27	 5:28	 6:43	 6:07	 6:45	 7:47	 5:56	 8:24	 5:28	 8:56
	 7	 7:51	 4:48	 7:26	 5:29	 6:41	 6:08	 6:43	 7:48	 5:55	 8:26	 5:27	 8:57
	 8	 7:51	 4:49	 7:25	 5:31	 6:39	 6:10	 6:42	 7:49	 5:53	 8:27	 5:27	 8:58
	 9	 7:51	 4:50	 7:23	 5:32	 6:37	 6:11	 6:40	 7:51	 5:52	 8:28	 5:27	 8:58
	 10	 7:50	 4:52	 7:22	 5:34	 7:36	 7:12	 6:38	 7:52	 5:51	 8:29	 5:26	 8:59
	
	 11	 7:50	 4:53	 7:20	 5:35	 7:34	 7:14	 6:36	 7:53	 5:49	 8:30	 5:26	 8:59
	 12	 7:50	 4:54	 7:19	 5:37	 7:32	 7:15	 6:34	 7:54	 5:48	 8:32	 5:26	 9:00
	 13	 7:49	 4:55	 7:18	 5:38	 7:30	 7:16	 6:33	 7:56	 5:47	 8:33	 5:26	 9:01
	 14	 7:49	 4:56	 7:16	 5:39	 7:28	 7:18	 6:31	 7:57	 5:46	 8:34	 5:26	 9:01
	 15	 7:48	 4:58	 7:15	 5:41	 7:26	 7:19	 6:29	 7:58	 5:45	 8:35	 5:26	 9:01
	
	 16	 7:48	 4:59	 7:13	 5:42	 7:25	 7:20	 6:27	 7:59	 5:43	 8:36	 5:26	 9:02
	 17	 7:47	 5:00	 7:12	 5:44	 7:23	 7:21	 6:26	 8:01	 5:42	 8:37	 5:26	 9:02
	 18	 7:46	 5:01	 7:10	 5:45	 7:21	 7:23	 6:24	 8:02	 5:41	 8:38	 5:26	 9:03
	 19	 7:46	 5:03	 7:08	 5:46	 7:19	 7:24	 6:22	 8:03	 5:40	 8:40	 5:26	 9:03
	 20	 7:45	 5:04	 7:07	 5:48	 7:17	 7:25	 6:21	 8:05	 5:39	 8:41	 5:26	 9:03

	 21	 7:44	 5:05	 7:05	 5:49	 7:15	 7:27	 6:19	 8:06	 5:38	 8:42	 5:26	 9:03
	 22	 7:43	 5:07	 7:04	 5:51	 7:13	 7:28	 6:17	 8:07	 5:37	 8:43	 5:27	 9:04
	 23	 7:42	 5:08	 7:02	 5:52	 7:11	 7:29	 6:16	 8:08	 5:36	 8:44	 5:27	 9:04
	 24	 7:42	 5:10	 7:00	 5:53	 7:10	 7:30	 6:14	 8:10	 5:36	 8:45	 5:27	 9:04
	 25	 7:41	 5:11	 6:59	 5:55	 7:08	 7:32	 6:12	 8:11	 5:35	 8:46	 5:27	 9:04

	 26	 7:40	 5:12	 6:57	 5:56	 7:06	 7:33	 6:11	 8:12	 5:34	 8:47	 5:28	 9:04
	 27	 7:39	 5:14	 6:55	 5:58	 7:04	 7:34	 6:09	 8:13	 5:33	 8:48	 5:28	 9:04
	 28	 7:38	 5:15	 6:53	 5:59	 7:02	 7:35	 6:08	 8:15	 5:32	 8:49	 5:29	 9:04
	 29	 7:37	 5:17			   7:00	 7:37	 6:06	 8:16	 5:32	 8:50	 5:29	 9:04
	 30	 7:36	 5:18			   6:58	 7:38	 6:05	 8:17	 5:31	 8:51	 5:30	 9:04

	 31	 7:35	 5:19			   6:56	 7:39			   5:30	 8:52	
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Henry Freeman was the sole survivor of the Whitby (England) lifeboat 

disaster of 1861. Twelve other members of his crew drowned when 

their lifeboat capsized in mountainous seas attempting the rescue of 

a sinking schooner’s crew. His escape from death was attributed to 

the newly-introduced cork life jacket he is wearing in this photograph.

Photo courtesy The Sutcliffe Gallery.
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unters contribute 
mightily to wildlife 
conservation when they 

purchase ammo, firearms 
and certain hunting-related 
equipment.

nder the federal 
Wildlife and Sports Fish 
Restoration program, 

these purchases generate 
tax revenue the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service distributes 
to state natural resource 
agencies. 

ext to hunting license 
revenue, “federal 
aid” is the Minnesota 

DNR’s most important source 
of funding for core wildlife 
management and research.    

he state’s share of the 
Wildlife Restoration 
Funds has reached 

almost $210 million,
$11.15 million in 2012.

very year these dollars 
are used to maintain 
habitat, conduct 

wildlife research and support 
America’s hunting tradition. 

ead and learn more by 
visiting http://mndnr.
gov/wsfr

hare this information 
with others. People 
should know how 

manufacturers, hunters and 
natural resources agencies 
are working together for the 
good of our natural resources.

©2012 Minnesota DNR by Mitch Kezar.
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