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The ATV Friendly Trail Towns of Aitkin 
County welcome you to the  
Northwoods ATV Trail.

· Over 200 miles of connected, marked and  
  maintained ATV Trails over an area the size  
  of Delaware.

· Trails traverse the Scenic Beauty of Aitkin  
  County and surrounding areas, providing 
  all the North Woods have to offer.

· Designed to provide an enjoyable     
  experience for riders of all experiences.

· Designed and built for low impact on 
  the environment.

www.northwoodsatvtrail.com for more information on maps, lodging and ammenities.

Northwoods ATV Trail

AITKIN COUNTY 
TRAIL TOWNS:

McGrath

Lawler

McGregor

Palisade

Hill City

Jacobson

AITKIN COUNTY
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CALL TO ORDER PRODUCT
1.800.336.5437

 (7AM - 7PM M-F, 8AM - 4PM SAT MST.)

FREE CATALOG 24 HR. HOTLINE
1.800.247.1666

 WWW.ROCKYMOUNTAINATVMC.COMCALL FOR 
FREE 

CATALOG

Paid Advertisement

LOWEST PRICES AROUND
WE ARE CONSTANTLY ON THE PROWL CHECKING COMPETITOR’S 
PRICING TO MAKE SURE WE’RE THE LOWEST & YOUR FIRST CHOICE. 

CUSTOMER SERVICE WITH A SMILE
WE’RE HERE TO SERVE. WE TAKE PRIDE IN PUTTING OUR 
CUSTOMER’S QUESTIONS AND NEEDS FIRST. 

QUICK AND ACCURATE SHIPPING
FREE 3 DAY SHIPPING. IN STOCK ORDERS PLACED BY 5PM MST WILL 
ARRIVE AT YOUR DOOR IN 3 DAYS. *CALL OR GO ONLINE FOR DETAILS.

NO SALES TAX
NO SALES TAX TO CUSTOMERS OUTSIDE OF UTAH.

HUGE INVENTORY–IN STOCK
WE CARRY THOUSANDS OF PRODUCTS AND ARE ALWAYS ADDING 
MORE ITEMS TO THE LINEUP.

FAST FREE  SHIPPING

ON ALL ORDERS OVER $99*

SEE OUR WEBSITE OR CALL FOR DETAILS.

*In the continental 48 states.

in the business
Since 1985

years

ATV Dirt Bike Street BikeUTV Casual CloseoutsTires Dual SportRiding GearOEM parts

BROWSE OUR WEBSITE
BY CLASSIFICATION

COMING SOON!
JANUARY 2013



This is a summary of Minnesota’s safety laws, rules, and regulations 
for off-highway vehicles. For the purposes of this guide, off-highway 
vehicles include all-terrain vehicles, off-highway motorcycles and 
off‑road vehicles. For complete regulations consult state statutes  
and rules. 

This information is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by 
calling 651-296-6157 (Metro Area) or 1-888-MINNDNR or Telecommunication 
Device for the Deaf/TTY: 651-296-5484 (Metro Area) or 1-800-657-3929. 

Copyright 2012, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources 

Equal opportunity to participate in and benefit from programs of the Minnesota 
Department of Natural Resources is available to all individuals regardless of race, 
color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, public assistance status, 
age, sexual orientation, disability or activity on behalf of a local human rights 
commission. Discrimination inquiries should be sent to MN-DNR, 500 Lafayette 
Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4031; or the Equal Opportunity Office, Department of 
the Interior, Washington, DC 20240. 

This publication is partially funded through advertising revenue. The State of 
Minnesota and the Department of Natural Resources can neither endorse the 
products or services advertised, nor accept any liability arising from the use of 
these products or services. 
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ATVs with engines 90cc or greater may not be ridden by anyone under 16 years 
of age. Yamaha recommends that all riders take a training course, and that they 
read and understand their owner’s manual before operation. For Safety or train-
ing information, see your dealer or call the ATV Safety Institute at (800) 877-
2887. ATVs can be hazardous to operate. For your safety: Always avoid paved 
surfaces. Never ride on public roads. Always wear a helmet, eye protection and 
protective clothing. Never carry passengers. Never engage in stunt riding, Rid-
ing and alcohol/drugs don’t mix. Avoid excessive speed. and be particularly 
careful on difficult terrain.        Paid Advertisement

Bee Line Sports Center
St. Joseph
320-363-1270
www.beelineyamaha.com

Ray’s Sport & Cycle
Grand Rapids
218-326-9355
www.rayssportandcycle.com

St. Boni Motor Sports
St. Bonificius
952-446-1554
www.stboni.com

Seaberg Power Sports
Detroit Lakes
218-847-9264
www.seabergpowersports.com

Waldoch Sports, Inc.
Columbus
651-464-5776
www.waldochsports.com



FOR MORE INFORMATION 
DNR Website: www.mndnr.gov/ohv

Where To Ride Your OHV: www.findthetrails.com

Safety Training: DNR Information Center, 651-296-6157,  
toll-free 1-888-646-6367 or DNR Safety Training Program Headquarters, 
Camp Ripley, Little Falls, MN 56345, 1-800-366-8917;  
www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle

State Trails: DNR Information Center, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 
55155-4040, 651-296-6157, toll-free 1-888-646-6367;  
www.findthetrails.com

Vehicle Registration: DNR License Center, 500 Lafayette Rd.,  
St. Paul, MN 55155-4026, 651-296-2316, toll-free 1-800-285-2000;  
www.mndnr.gov/rlp 
 
Hearing Impaired: 651-296-5484, toll-free 1-800-657-3929. 
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A Message From DNR Conservation 
Officers:
DNR Conservation Officers want to remind you that 
state laws require certain All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV) and 
Off-Highway Motorcycle (OHM) operators to take a DNR 
Safety Training course before operating in public.

ATV Operators—Persons 12-15 years old and anyone born after July 1, 
1987 who is 16 years or older must successfully complete ATV Safety Training 
before operating an ATV on public lands, frozen waters, public road rights-of-way, 
or state or grant-in-aid trails! (See page 32 for complete details.)

OHM Operators—Persons under the age of 16 must successfully complete 
OHM Safety Training before operating an OHM on public lands, frozen waters, 
public road rights-of-ways, or state or grant-in-aid trails. (See page 34 for 
complete details.)

Conservation Officers caution everyone to REMEMBER:

•	FIT RIGHT! Youth must properly FIT the ATV to operate! It’s the law! (See 
page 31.)

•	STAY RIGHT! Trails are two-way, always watch out for others!

•	SLOW DOWN! Trails are NOT race tracks and ditches have many hazards!

•	NO ROADS! Low pressure ATV tires are made for off-road use!

Ride Safe—Ride Smart, Always!

For detailed ATV/OHM Safety Training Information  
go to: www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle

Find your local conservation officer easier than  
ever at: www.mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas

Connect instantly to the conservation officer  
locator web page by scanning this code  
with your smart phone.

 
 
 
 
If you witness a violation in progress or 
need to contact a conservation officer 
immediately, call Turn in Poachers (TIP) 
at 800-652-9093.

2012–2013
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FAQs

2011 Volunteer ATV Safety Instructor 
of the year Dave Paxton (center) with 
Conservation Officers Leland Owens (L) 
and Dan McBroom (R).

Volunteer Youth ATV Instructor of the Year—2011!
Dave Paxton of Rochester is the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources’ (DNR) 
2011 Youth All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV) volunteer safety instructor of the year.

For the past eight years, Paxton and his team of co-instructors have assisted more 
than 500 students in Olmstead, Wabasha and Fillmore counties become ATV safety 
certified. Paxton, who is also a 
DNR snowmobile safety instructor, 
considers ATV safety training to be a 
team effort, praising the great group 
of volunteers he works with, including 
his wife, Shirley.

Thanks for teaching the youth Dave, 
you help create safe trails & you save 
lives! CONGRATULATIONS DAVE!

If you are interested in becoming a 
DNR youth volunteer instructor go 
to: www.dnr.state.mn.us/
safety/instructors/process.
html

Off-Highway Vehicles Regulations

5

Q: I’m a MN resident and my ATV is registered in WI, do I need the 
Non‑resident Trail Pass? A: No, residents do not need this trail pass even if 
their vehicle is registered in a different state. (Page 11.)

Q: Can I drive my ATV on the side of a road? A: It depends on the type of ATV you 
are driving, the type of road you are on and the age of the operator. (Page 7.)

Q: Can I operate an OHM in the ditches?  A: No, OHMs cannot be operated in 
ditches unless on a trail designated for that specific vehicle type. (Page 35.)

Q: Can I ride my ATV or OHM on a snowmobile trail? A: No, most snowmobile 
trails cross lands because of a special permit that only allows public use 
during the winter season. Any other use may be considered trespass. (Pages 
16 and 20.)

Q: Can I operate my ATV on snowmobile trails in the winter if there’s no snow? 
A: No, in most cases snowmobile trails cross private lands by permit and are 
not open to ATV’s. Any other use except snowmobile riding would be trespass. 
An exception are trails and roads on state forest lands, they remain open to 
public use until groomed unless signed closed. (Page 20.)

Q: Where can I ride my Class I ATV? A: There are several trails that are for 
Class 1 ATVs only or parts of the trail are restricted to Class 1. For a list 
of trails for Class 1 ATVs, Class 2 ATVs, OHMs, and ORVs see the riding 
opportunities at www.mndnr.gov/ohv      
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DEFINITIONS 
The Term Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) is Used to Describe All‑Terrain 
Vehicles, Off-Highway Motorcycles, and Off-Road Vehicles.

All-terrain vehicles (ATVs) 
Class 1 ATVs are motorized flotation-tired vehicles with at least 
three but no more than six low pressure tires that have an engine 

displacement of less than 1000 cubic centimeters and total dry weight of less 
than 1000 pounds.*

Class 2 ATVs are motorized flotation-tired vehicles with at least 
three, but no more than six, low pressure tires that have an engine 
displacement of less than 1000 cubic centimeters and total dry 

weight of 1000 to 1800 pounds.*
Dry weight is normally the weight of the vehicle without fluids.

Off-highway motorcycles (OHMs) 
OHMs are motorized off-highway vehicles traveling on two 
wheels. OHMs have a seat or saddle designed to be straddled 

by the operator and have handlebars for steering control. Motorcycles 
may be legal for highway use and still considered to be OHMs if used for 
off‑highway operation on trails or natural terrain. 

Off-road vehicles (ORVs) 
ORVs are motorized recreational vehicles capable of cross‑country 
travel on natural terrain.*

Vehicles NOT considered ORVs include snowmobiles, ATVs, OHMs, 
motorcycles, watercraft or aircraft. Farm, logging, military, emergency, 
law enforcement, utility, trail grooming, and construction vehicles are not 
considered to be ORVs when used for their intended purpose. 

*	ATV and ORV owners should check the dry weight and cubic 
centimeters of their ATV and ORV to see that it is being operated under 
the correct classification. 
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Public road right-of-way means the entire right-of-way of a 
roadway that is not privately owned, including the traveled portions, 
banks, ditches, shoulders, and medians. OHV riding may be permitted 
on grant in aid trails that include portions of the public road right of 
way when signed for that vehicle type.

It is illegal to operate on the inside slope, shoulder, and roadway of state and 
county roads. Class 2 ATVs may be operated on the shoulder or extreme 
right side of county or township roads and city streets if not prohibited by the 
road authority or other local laws. Class 2 ATVs may NOT be operated on 
the shoulder of a state trunk highway.

Agricultural zone
The Minnesota agricultural zone is the area lying 
south and west of a line formed by the following 
highway rights-of-way: starting at the North 
Dakota border, the line goes east along U.S. 
Highway 10 to State Highway 23, then follows 
Highway 23 east to State Highway 95 to the 
Wisconsin border. The agricultural zone does 
not include the rights-of-way of these boundary 
highways, and applies only to Class 1 ATV use. 

Agricultural zone restriction
You may not drive an ATV within the right-of-way (ditch) of a state or county 
road from April 1 to August 1 in the agricultural zone. This does not apply 
to Grant-In-Aid trails or to Class 1 ATVs registered and used exclusively for 
agricultural purposes. Class 2 ATVs cannot be operated in ditches. 

Off-highway vehicle use areas are areas posted or designated for 
off‑highway vehicle use. 
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Public waters where OHVs may not ride include: below 
the ordinary high-water level of unfrozen lakes, rivers, and streams; certain 
wetlands; or in calcareous fens. The inventory of public waters can be viewed 
on DNR’s website; DNR Waters and Fisheries offices; and various county 
offices. 

Watch for these designated trail signs. 

Note: A diagonal slash across any of the above signs indicates trail closed for 
that type of vehicle use.

Class 1 ATV 
trail indicator

OHM trail 
indicator

ORV trail 
indicator

Class 1 and 2 ATV  
trail indicator

OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLES 
Registration 
An Individual Must Be At Least 18 Years Old to Register an 
Off-Highway Vehicle. 
 
ATVs 

•	 All-terrain vehicles are classified and registered as either a Class 1 
ATV (under 1000 pounds) or a Class 2 ATV (1000 to 1800 pounds). 
All ATVs operated in Minnesota must be registered with the DNR, 
including those used exclusively on private property. 

•	 Class 1 or Class 2 will be indicated on the owners ATV registration card 
and decal.

Grant-in-aid trails and areas include those 
that receive grants through the DNR administered 
grant‑in‑aid program. 

Before operating an OHV in a state forest see pages 
19–23 for information on state forest use.
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ATV collector use registration
•	 ATVs 25 years and older are exempt from registration if they were 

originally produced as a separate, identifiable make by a manufacturer. 
•	 ATVs 25 years and older MAY be registered for unlimited use. This 

registration is non-transferable.

ATV public/recreational use registration 
•	 Public use registration allows for the operation of Class 1 ATVs in the 

ditch bottom; on the outer slope of roadside ditches along state and 
county roads; on the right side of township roads and city streets, if not 
prohibited by the road authority or other local laws. 

•	 Public use registration allows for the operation of Class 2 ATVs on the 
shoulder or extreme right side of county roads and on the right side of 
township roads and city streets, if not prohibited by the road authority or 
other local laws. Class 2 ATVs may not be operated in the ditch unless 
part of a designated Class 2 trail.

•	 A public/recreational use registration is valid for three years.
 

ATV private/agricultural use registration 
•	 ATVs (Class 1 and Class 2) are registered for private use when used exclu-

sively for agricultural activities, harvesting wood, or on private property. 
•	 A private use registration does not expire and is valid until the ownership 

of the ATV is transferred. 

ATV dual public and private use registration 
•	 Some circumstances require ATVs to be registered for both public and 

private use. If an ATV is used for agricultural purposes on road surfaces, a 
private use registration is required. If the same ATV is also used on public 
land or frozen water, both public and private use registrations are needed.

 
OHMs 
All OHMs operated in Minnesota must be registered with DNR, even if 
used exclusively on private property or in track racing events. 

OHM recreational and highway use registration 
Some OHMs are equipped so that they may be legally licensed for highway 
use. An OHM licensed for highway use that is also used off‑road must have 
both the regular motorcycle license and the DNR OHM registration. An 
OHM registered for off-road use may also be licensed for highway use if 
properly equipped. Equipment requirements include: headlights, taillights, 
mirrors, horn and other modifications. Contact the Department of Public 
Safety for further details and application procedures.
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ORVs 
All ORVs operated on DNR designated or grant-in-aid ORV trails or areas 
must be registered with DNR. 

ORV recreational and highway use registration 
Many ORVs are licensed for highway use. An ORV licensed for highway use 
that is also operated on designated public ORV use areas or trails must have 
both the regular vehicle license and DNR ORV registration. 

How to Register an Off-Highway Vehicle 
•	Off-highway vehicles can be registered at a deputy registrar of motor 

vehicles office (where automobile license tabs are purchased) or at the DNR 
License Center in St. Paul. You may renew your OHV registration on-line 
at www.mndnr.gov/licenses/ohv/index.html. No additional fee will be 
charged.

•	The information required for registration of an off-highway vehicle includes 
the make, model, year, serial number, and sales receipt. For ATV and OHM 
registration the engine size is required. For ATV registration the dry weight 
is also required. 

•	 ATVs and OHMs purchased from a retail dealer must be registered at the 
dealer by the owner. The dealer will issue a temporary 21-day registration.

•	 A registration card and an expiration decal are issued when an ATV or 
OHM is registered. 

•	Owners of ORVs licensed for roadway use must register their ORVs 
with the DNR for use on designated trails and areas. The owner is given a 
registration card and decal at the time of registration. 

•	 If you sell your OHV give the new owner the registration card and a  
bill of sale.

•	 Any transfers and registration renewals are the responsibility of the owner. 

Minnesota OHV registration is NOT required for: 
• 	OHVs registered in another state or country and not in Minnesota for 

more than 30 days. 
• 	ATVs that are used exclusively in organized track racing events. 
• 	ATVs that are 25 years and older (see page 9).
• 	OHMs registered for highway use when operated on forest roads.
• 	ATVs owned by a resident of another state or country that does not 

require registration of all-terrain vehicles; not in Minnesota for more than 
30 consecutive days; and are operated on state and grant-in-aid trails by a 
non-resident possessing a non-resident ATV state trail pass. See below for 
more detail on non-resident ATV Trail pass.

• 	ATVs that are owned by Federal, Local and Tribal governments.
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Dealer and Manufacturer Registration 
OHV dealers and manufacturers must register with the DNR to operate 
machines for testing or demonstration purposes. A registration certificate 
and a registration plate will be issued. The registration certificate must 
be prominently displayed in the place of business. Additional plates are 
available for $4.00 plus filing fee. 

The registration plate must be displayed on the vehicle before dealers or 
manufacturers may operate or permit operation of any off-highway vehicle 
they own or control. 

Dealer and manufacturer registration applications and plates may be 
purchased at a local deputy registrar and at the DNR License Center, 500 
Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4026, 651-296-2316, or toll-free 
1-800-285-2000. The plates will be issued from the DNR. 

Non-Resident Trail Passes
ATV and ORV
Non-residents operating an ATV that is not registered in Minnesota on 
state or grant-in-aid trails must possess a trail pass. The trail pass must be 
available for inspection when requested by an officer.

Non-residents may not operate an ORV on state or grant-in-aid trails 
without a trail pass sticker being displayed on the vehicle where it is readily 
visible.

Non-residents do NOT need a pass if operating on a portion of an ATV 
or ORV trail that is owned by the person or the person’s spouse, child, or 
parent, or if ATV or ORV are registered in Minnesota.

Duplicate non-resident ATV and ORV trail passes are available.

Non-resident trail passes can be purchased through the internet (an 
additional 3% plus $1.65 service fee will be added), Game and Fish License 
Agents and Deputy Registrar offices.
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As long as 
machine is held 
by same party

Registration Fees
ATV Registration Fees	 Fee		 Issuance		  Total	 Duration
(Class 1 and Class 2)			   Fees	  	Fees
New Public Use	 	 45.00	 	 8.50	 	 53.50	 3 Years
Renewal Public Use	 	 45.00	 	 6.00	 	 51.00	 3 Years
Transfer		  4.00		  8.50		  12.50
Private/Agricultural		  6.00		  8.50		  14.50
Collector		  6.00		  8.50		  14.50	
   NOTE: ATVs 25 years and older do not need to be registered (see page 9). 
Duplicate		  4.00		  6.00		  10.00
Dealer–New		  50.00		  8.50		  58.50	 1 Year
Dealer–Renewal		  50.00		  6.00		  56.00	 1 Year
Manufacturer–New		 150.00		  8.50		 158.50	 1 Year
Manufacturer–Renewal		 150.00		  6.00		 156.00	 1 Year 
Duplicate Decal				    6.00		  6.00
	
OHM Registration Fees	 Fee		 Issuance 	  Total	 Duration		
			   Fees	  Fees
New 		  30.00		  8.50		  38.50	 3 Years
Renewal		  30.00		  6.00		  36.00	 3 Years
Transfer		  4.00		  8.50		  12.50
Duplicate		  4.00		  6.00		  10.00
Dealer–New		  50.00		  8.50		  58.50	 1 Year
Dealer–Renewal		  50.00		  6.00		  56.00	 1 Year
Manufacturer–New	 150.00		  8.50		 158.50	 1 Year
Manufacturer–Renewal		 150.00		  6.00		 156.00	 1 Year
Duplicate Decal				    6.00		  6.00

ORV Registration Fees	 Fee		 Issuance	  Total	 Duration		
			   Fees	  Fees
New 		  30.00		  8.50		  38.50	 3 Years
Renewal		  30.00		  6.00		  36.00	 3 Years
Transfer		  4.00		  8.50		  12.50
Duplicate		  4.00		  6.00		  10.00
Dealer–New		  50.00		  8.50		  58.50	 1 Year
Manufacturer–New		 150.00		  8.50		 158.50	 1 Year
Manufacturer–Renewal		 150.00		  6.00		 156.00	 1 Year
Duplicate Decal				    6.00		  6.00

Non-Resident Trail Pass Fees
ATV Non-Resident Trail Pass Fees	  Fee 	 Issuance	 Total 	 Duration
			   Fees	 Fees
New 	 20.00 	 1.00 	 21.00	 1 Year
Duplicate 	 2.00	 0.50	 2.50

ORV Non-Resident Trail Pass Fees	  Fee 	 Issuance	 Total 	 Duration
			   Fees	 Fees
New	 20.00	 1.00	 21.00	 1 year
New 	 30.00 	 1.00 	 31.00	 3 Years
Duplicate 	 4.00	 0.50	 4.50
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Display of Numbers and Decals 
ATV 
ATVs registered for public or dual use must display the current public use 
registration number and decal(s) on a plate at least 4 inches high and 7½ inches 
long. The plate must be clearly visible on the back of the vehicle and at least 12 
inches from the ground. The plate and decal must be maintained in a clear and 
legible condition. 

Registration letters and numbers must be: 
• 	at least 1½ inches high with a 3⁄16-inch stroke 
• 	in English and placed from left to right 
• 	in a color that contrasts with the background of the plate. 

For a public use or collector registration, the decal must be 
displayed in the upper left section of the plate. NOTE: ATVs 
25 years and older do not need to be registered (see page 9). 

 
For private use only registration, the decal must be displayed in 
the upper right section of the plate. No numbers are needed for 
this type of registration. 

For a dual registration, the public use decal and private use decal 
must be displayed in the appropriate section of the plate. 

OHM 
OHMs registered only for off-road use must display the current registration 
decal on the side of the OHM so it is visible while the rider is on the OHM. It 
may be attached to the fork tube. 

When an OHM is operated on private property, or in a closed-course 
competition event, registration is required but the registration decal does not 
have to be displayed. 

OHMs licensed in Minnesota for roadway use and registered 
for off-road use, must display the OHM decal in the upper left 
corner of the rear regular motorcycle license plate. The DNR 

registration number should not be displayed. 
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ORV 
ORVs registered only for designated trail or area use must 
display the current decal on a plate at least 4 inches high and 7½ 
inches long. No registration number should be displayed. The 
plate must be clearly visible on the back of the vehicle and at least 12 inches from 
the ground. The decal must be displayed in the upper left corner of the plate. The 
plate and decal must be maintained in a clear and legible condition. 

ORVs licensed in Minnesota for roadway use and also used 
off-road in designated public ORV trails and use areas, must 
display the ORV decal in the upper left corner of the regular 
rear motor vehicle license plate. The DNR registration number 
should not be displayed. 

Non-resident ORV trail pass. Non-residents may not operate an ORV on 
state or grant-in-aid trails without a trail pass sticker being displayed on the 
vehicle where it is readily visible.

Expiration and Renewal 
The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the decal. All public 
use ATV and all OHM and ORV renewals expire on December 31st of the last 
year the registration is valid. 

Individuals who notify the DNR of mailing address changes should receive a 
notice by mail to renew their registration. Whether notified or not, owners are 
responsible for renewing their public use ATV, OHM, and ORV registrations. 

Private use ATV and optional use Collector ATV registration do not expire. They 
are valid until the ownership is transferred. 

Replacement Registration Cards and Decals 
Off-highway vehicle owners may obtain a replacement registration card for 
$10.00 or a replacement decal for $6.00 from the DNR License Center or the 
Deputy Registrar of Motor Vehicles. Replacement decals and numbers must be 
affixed in the same manner as the original. 

Individuals are not required to carry the registration card, but when an 
enforcement officer requests to see it, it must be provided within a reasonable 
time period. 



Check For Other Government Regulations or Ordinances 
Cities, towns, counties, and road authorities may further regulate the operation 
of off-highway vehicles under their jurisdiction. Check with the appropriate unit 
of government for additional regulations. The U.S. Forest Service, the National 
Park Service, and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service regulate motor vehicle use 
on federal lands. Check with the managing agency before riding on these lands. 
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Off-Highway VehicleS 
General Operations
The following regulations apply to all off-highway vehicles: all-terrain vehicles, 
off-highway motorcycles, and off-road vehicles. Information and regulations 
specific to each of these vehicle types can be found in the All‑Terrain Vehicle, 
Off-Highway Motorcycle, and Off-Road Vehicle sections of this booklet. 

Required Equipment 
Off-highway vehicles operated on public lands, waters, trails, and public streets 
and roads open to vehicle use, must be equipped as follows: 
Brakes

• 	Brakes must control movement and stop and hold the vehicle. 
Throttle

• 	The throttle must return the engine to idle when pressure to advance the 
throttle is removed. 

Mufflers
• 	Mufflers must have a federally approved spark arrestor. 
• 	Overall noise emission from ATVs and ORVs may not exceed 99 decibels 

at a distance of 20 inches. 
• 	OHMs that are not competition cycles, and were manufactured in or after 

1986, may not exceed noise emissions of 96 decibels at a distance of 20 
inches. 

• 	Mufflers may not be altered to increase motor noise, or have a cutout, 
bypass, or similar device except for organized events. 

 Towing 
• 	A straight-arm bar must be used to tow a trailer or other device containing 

passengers. 
• 	A disabled vehicle being towed may contain a person to steer. 
• 	At least 16 square inches of reflective material that is unobstructed  

and visible must be mounted on each side and at the rear of a trailer  
or other device. 
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Where You May Ride 
You may operate an off-highway vehicle: 

• 	on private land with the landowners permission 
• 	on frozen public waters where you have legal access, if not restricted by 

law or local ordinance 
• 	on public lands and trails that are open to OHVs. 

In the seven-county metro area, you 
may ride: 

• 	on your own land 
• 	on land other than your own with written or verbal 

permission of the landowner, occupant, or lessee
• 	on land posted with signs specifically permitting 

the use of off‑highway vehicles.
Note: Land uses vary. Be sure to check federal, state, and local regulations for 
specific restrictions. 

Where You May NOT Ride 
Also see specific sections for additional restrictions. 
You may not operate an off-highway vehicle: 

• 	on the median of a four-lane highway 
• 	within the right-of-way of any interstate highway or freeway
• 	on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic
• 	on grant-in-aid snowmobile trails
• 	on designated non-motorized trails 
• 	at airports
• 	below the ordinary high-water level of unfrozen public waters that are 

lakes, streams, rivers, and certain wetlands, or in calcareous fens 
• 	on any frozen public waters where you don’t have legal access or where it 

is prohibited 
• 	in any area restricted by local ordinances or municipalities, including 

streets 
• 	in a tree nursery or planting area on state forest lands that are posted or 

designated closed to motorized uses (see pages 19-23) 
• 	on agricultural land without permission (see page 26)
• 	in most state parks, state recreation areas, state historic sites, wildlife 

management areas*, state scientific and natural areas with the exception 
of posted trails and areas.

*	OHV use is prohibited on wildlife management areas, except OHVs that 
are licensed highway motor vehicles may be operated on established roads 
at speeds up to 20 miles per hour in the following WMA’s: Carlos Avery, 
Hubbel Pond, Mille Lacs, Red Lake, Roseau River and Thief Lake.



Inside the seven-county metro area, you may not ride: 
• 	on land you do not own unless given written or verbal permission by the 

owner, occupant, or lessee. 

Outside the seven-county metro area you may not ride: 
• 	on land that you have been told verbally, in writing, or by posted signs, not 

to ride. 

Other Prohibitions 
You may not: 

• 	operate an off-highway vehicle in a careless, reckless, or negligent manner 
that endangers another person or property 

• 	litter 
• 	enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence 
• 	mutilate, destroy, damage, or remove any property within a trail or on 

state land 
• 	post, damage, or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are 

the landowner, occupant, or lessee of the property. 

Note: OHMs, ORVs, and Class 2 ATVs cannot be operated in ditches 
unless on a trail designated for that specific vehicle type. 

OHVs and Wetland Disturbance 
A person may not operate an OHV in a manner to: 

• 	indicate a willful, wanton, or reckless disregard for the safety of persons  
or property 

• 	carelessly upset the natural and ecological balance of a wetland or public  
waters wetland 

• 	impact a wetland or public waters wetland in excess of minimum 
amounts established under law. 

There are increased penalties for OHV wetland disturbance. Conviction may 
be a gross misdemeanor and/or the Off-Highway Vehicle (ATV, OHM, 
ORV) forfeited. See page 24.

Wetland restrictions apply to private land as well as public land, and vary 
by area of the state and other criteria. Check the DNR website for more 
information, www.mndnr.gov

For more information on where you can ride including trails and maps go to 
www.findthetrails.com 
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Speed 
You may not operate an off-highway vehicle at a speed greater than is 
reasonable under all of the surrounding circumstances or greater than 
the posted speed limit on any public lands, waters, trails, or public road 
rights‑of-way. Watch for and obey speed limit signs posted on trails. 

Speed limits may be waived in writing by the DNR for an organized race 
or similar competitive event. Contact the DNR at 1-888-MINNDNR 
(646-6367). 

Trail Riding 
• 	All trail signs must be obeyed.
•	 All designated trails are two-way unless posted otherwise. 
• 	One-way trails must be traveled in the direction indicated. 
• 	When meeting or being passed by another trail user, you must stay to the 

right half of the tread-way. 
• 	When passing another trail user you must pass on the left half of the 

tread-way and only when the trail is free from oncoming traffic to safely 
pass the other trail user. 

• 	When entering or crossing a trail tread-way you must yield to trail traffic. 
• 	When two trail users are about to enter an unmarked tread-way 

intersection from different directions, the trail user to the right has the 
right-of-way. 

• 	Motorized trail users must yield the right-of-way to non-motorized trail 
users and shut off their machines when meeting a horse until the horse 
has passed or until waved on.

• 	Non-residents operating an ATV or ORV may need to possess a trail 
pass. See page 11 for details.

 

Crossing Public Roads 
A valid driver’s license is required to operate anywhere it is legal on road 
rights-of-way including ditches, inside and outside slopes, and crossing 
roads. The only exception would be on portions of a designated trail for that 
vehicle type that specifically includes a road right-of-way. 

When making a direct crossing of a street or road: 
• come to a complete stop and look both ways 
• yield to all traffic 
• cross the road at a 90 degree angle 
• cross a divided road only at an intersection. 
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STATE FOREST LANDS 
OHVs are generally permitted on state forest roads and trails in accordance 
with state forest motor vehicle use classifications and regulations. (See the list 
of forest land classifications on page 23.)

Motor Vehicle Use Classification and Rules 
State forest lands are classified as either:

Managed - Forest roads, trails, and non-designated routes are 
open to recreational motor vehicle use unless posted closed. No 
vehicle use off road, trail, or route is permitted. For hunting/
trapping exceptions, see page 21.

Limited - Forest roads are open to motor vehicle use unless 
posted closed. Trails and non-designated routes are closed to 
motor vehicle use, except where designated and signed to permit 
specific motor vehicle use. No vehicle use off road or trail is 
permitted. For hunting/trapping exceptions, see page 21.

Closed - Forest roads are open to motor vehicle licensed for 
highway use. No OHVs are permitted, except that OHVs may 
operate on frozen public waters (e.g., across lakes for ice fishing). 
Areas closed to motor vehicle use by statute or regulations 
(e.g., State Forest lands within the BWCAW) are automatically 
classified as ‘closed.’ The hunting/trapping exceptions do not apply 
in ‘closed’ forests.

NOTE: Snowmobiles are unaffected by forest land motor vehicle use classification.

Minnesota Law
Legislation requires that OHV’s operate only on trails identified on an official 
DNR OHV map. 

• In managed state forests north of US Hwy. 2, OHVs may operate on mapped 
trails and other existing access routes that are not gated or posted closed.

• In both managed and limited state forests, forest roads are open to OHV 
use unless posted closed.

• In limited state forests, OHV operation is allowed only on signed and 
mapped routes that are open for that type of OHV use.

Off-Highway Vehicles Regulations
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Seasonal or temporary road and trail closures may be imposed at any 
time due to trail repairs, wet soil conditions, logging operations or other 
natural resource protection or public safety concerns. Most often, closures 
happen during spring thaw or following a heavy summer rainfall. Closures 
are unpredictable, so always check www.findthetrails.com before you ride 
(updated Thursdays after 2 p.m.). State forest trails closed during hunting 
season; see below. (See the list of forest land classifications on page 23.)
 
Where you MAY ride* 	

• 	In a Managed forest: All state forest roads, trails, and non-designated 
routes.

• 	In a Limited forest: Forest roads and trails designated and signed to 
permit specific motor vehicle use. 

• 	In a Closed forest: On frozen public waters.
• 	On trails specifically designated and signed for a vehicle type, for example 

trails can be designated for ATV, OHM, and or ORV use. 

Where you may NOT ride*
• 	Within the boundaries of an area that is posted and designated as closed.
• 	In a state forest classified as Closed. 
• 	On designated non-motorized trails unless also posted open for a specific 

motorized use.
• 	Off of routes, roads, and designated trails except when hunter/

trapper exception applies. (See the MN DNR Hunting and Trapping 
Regulations for more information).

• 	On forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting, damages, or 
destroys trees or growing crops (the rutting provision does not apply on 
designated motorized trails).

• 	On or over lakes, rivers or streams except: 
	 - 	 When the water body is ice-covered. 
	 - 	 At a bridge, culvert or designated low-water crossing.
	

During deer hunting season, you may NOT ride on state forest trails in 
areas of the state where deer may be taken by rifle, unless you possess a deer 

hunting license. State forest roads remain open.

*	Does not apply in the R.J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest.
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Other restrictions and prohibitions
• 	You must travel at reasonable and prudent speeds; obey speed limit, 

traffic and road closure signs; and not operate in a manner that causes 
damage to the road, land, or other natural resources. 

• 	No person shall construct an unauthorized permanent trail on state 
forest lands. 

• 	Motor vehicle use causing erosion, rutting, or damage to trees is 
prohibited.

• 	Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest - Motor vehicles and 
snowmobiles may operate ONLY on forest roads that are not posted 
closed, and on forest trails that are designated for motorized use.

 

Hunting/trapping exceptions* 
Traveling off roads and trails (cross-country travel) in a limited state forest 
or off roads, trails and routes in a managed state forest is prohibited except, 
persons with a valid hunting, trapping, or commercial license in possession 
may use:
Class 1 ATVs to travel cross-county to:

1. Retrieve big game (Sept. to Dec.)
2. Hunt for big game and construct stands (Oct. to Dec.)
3. Trap during the open season for protected furbearers
4. Trap for minnows under certain conditions.

Class 2 ATVs, ORVs, and Highway-Licensed Vehicles (HLVs) to travel on 
a trail not specifically designated for other uses.

See MN DNR Hunting and Trapping Regulations for more information at 
mndnr.gov/regulations

Areas with limitations ￼
The big game hunter/trapper exceptions do not  
apply in areas signed and mapped as “No  
Motorized Travel.”

*	Does not apply in the R.J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest.
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Events on state forest lands
For emergencies or authorized special events, the DNR may provide 
temporary exceptions to the general rules for a specific state park, forest 
campground, forest day use area or state forest lands. Notice of the exception 
will be plainly posted at the site. 

To hold a special event on state forest lands, a permit is required. Contact 
the MN DNR area forester to find out more.

National forest lands
National Forest lands in MN are open to many public uses including 
camping, hunting, fishing, trapping, snowmobiling and OHVs. State 
of Minnesota regulations regarding boating, fishing, hunting, ATV or 
snowmobile operation apply on national forest lands. The Motor Vehicle 
Use Map (MVUM), is the legal guide for motor vehicle use on the national 
forests. The MVUM is updated annually and available at no charge at the 
Forest Supervisor or Ranger District Offices.

Where you MAY ride: OHV and highway licensed vehicles (HLV) on 
forest roads or trails designated open to these uses on the MVUM map.

Where you may NOT ride: Roads that are signed, gated, bermed with dirt, 
rocks, trees etc. or not designated open on the MVUM map. 

For information, contact: 
Chippewa National Forest, 218-335-8600, fs.usda.gov/detail/chippewa
Superior National Forest, 218-626-4300, fs.usda.gov/recmain/superior

County forest lands
Counties may have adopted different regulations on county-administered 
land within state forest boundaries. For information on regulations, roads 
and trails on county land, please contact that county directly.

2012–2013

22



Managed Forest Lands
Beltrami Island

Big Fork

Blackduck

Cloquet Valley 2
Finland 2
George Washington 2

Grand Portage 2
Kabetogama

Koochiching 

Lake of the Woods

Lost River

Northwest Angle

Pine Island

Red Lake

Smokey Bear

Sturgeon River 2 
(portions outside 
Superior National 
Forest, SNF)

Limited Forest Lands
Badoura

Bear Island 

Bowstring

Buena Vista 2
Burntside 1
Chengwatana

Cloquet Valley 2 

Crow Wing

D.A.R. 

Emily

Finland 2
Fond du Lac

Foothills

General C.C. Andrews

George Washington 2
Golden Anniversary

Grand Portage 2
Hill River 

Huntersville

Land O’ Lakes 

Lake Jeanette 1
Lyons

Mississippi Headwaters

Nemadji

Pat Bayle

Paul Bunyan

R.J. Dorer Memorial 
Hardwood 3

Remer

Rum River

Savanna 

St. Croix

Smoky Hills 

Snake River 2
Solana

Sturgeon River 2 
(portions inside SNF)

Two Inlets

Wealthwood

White Earth 

Waukenabo 

Closed Forest Lands

Battleground 

Birch Lakes

Buena Vista 2 

Burntside 1
Cloquet Valley 2

Finland 2 

George Washington 2
Insula Lake

Lake Isabella

Lake Jeanette 1

Pillsbury

Sand Dunes

Snake River 2
Welsh Lake

Whiteface River

1 Portions located within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness (BWCAW) 
are closed to all motor vehicle use.

2 Some portions also classified as Managed, Limited and/or Closed
3 NOTE: The big game hunter/trapper motor vehicle use exception DOES NOT 

APPLY within the R.J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood State Forest 

State Forests Classification
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ENFORCEMENT 
Conservation officers, deputy sheriffs, police officers, and state troopers, all 
enforce off-highway vehicle rules. You must stop when signaled by a law 
enforcement officer. 

To report an OHV violation or an accident, contact the local police 
department, sheriff ’s office, the state patrol, or a DNR conservation officer. 
Conservation officers are dispatched and reached through the State Patrol.  
To find your local Conservation Officer go to: www.mndnr.gov/
officerpatrolareas

Penalties 
• 	Fleeing an enforcement officer on an OHV is a felony and the OHV 

used may be forfeited. 
• 	A violation of an ATV, OHM, or ORV law is a misdemeanor. 
• 	Most operation, registration, and trespass violations can also be 

enforced by issuing a civil citation and can include restitution. Fines 
for second or subsequent violations in wetlands, including the use of 
snorkel devices or for careless or reckless operation, can be more than 
double.

• 	Carelessly and recklessly upsetting the natural and ecological balance of 
a wetland is a gross misdemeanor, and vehicle forfeiture upon a second 
gross misdemeanor of this type. 

Violator Suspension and Training 
OHV operators who receive a ticket and are convicted of violating any law 
related to OHV operation are required to complete the DNR training CD. 
An ATV operator who is convicted of a careless or reckless offense, or for 
a second or subsequent offense, must complete a safety training course in 
addition to the CD.

In addition to the above training requirements, operating privileges are 
automatically suspended for one year for:

• 	conviction for carelessly and recklessly upsetting the natural and 
ecological balance of a wetland (gross misdemeanor violation);

• 	operation on unfrozen public water, or in a state park, SNA, or WMA;
• 	willful, wanton, or reckless disregard for the safety of persons or 

property;
• 	carelessly upsetting the natural and ecological balance of a wetland or 

public waters wetland.

2012–2013

24



Reporting Stolen, Abandoned, or Destroyed Vehicles 
A registered off-highway vehicle that is abandoned, stolen, or destroyed 
must be reported to the DNR License Center within 15 days. No fee is 
charged for reporting the vehicle. 

Accident Reports 
The OHV operator and the officer investigating an OHV accident must 
file a written report to the DNR within 10 days if the accident resulted in a 
human injury requiring medical attention, hospitalization, or death; or total 
damage of $300 or more for ORVs, or $500 or more for ATVs and OHMs. 
Accident reports are available by calling the DNR, or online at: mndnr.gov/
enforcement 

OPERATING WHILE 
INTOXICATED 
Operating an off-highway vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, a 
controlled substance, or other hazardous substance is unlawful. Operators 
who are impaired may be required to submit to tests by an enforcement 
officer. Refusal to submit to the test is a crime and the person’s operating 
privileges will be suspended for one year. 

Off-Highway Vehicle DWI convictions and refusals are recorded on the 
violator’s driver’s license record and may affect your driver’s license privileges. 
An operator who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol concentration 
of .08 or more, can be charged with a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or 
felony level DWI. 

Persons convicted of a DWI may be subject to one or more of the following: 
fines; jail time; loss of OHV operating privileges; forfeiture of the OHV; 
loss of motor vehicle driver’s license privileges and motor vehicle plate 
impoundment.

Open Bottle Law
It is unlawful for a person to drink or consume alcoholic beverages when an 
OHV is operated on a roadway, or shoulder of a roadway, that is not a part of 
a designated trail for that vehicle type.
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*	Note: Agricultural land is broadly defined. All planted grassland, hay land, 
and short-rotation woody cropland meet the definition of agricultural 
land, including grasslands enrolled in the federal Conservation Reserve 
Program (CRP), Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP), 
and the state RIM Reserve program. These lands do not need to be 
posted. Entering without permission is trespassing.

TRESPASS 
Ask First! 
You must have permission to enter  
legally posted land or agricultural land.*

Trespass laws apply to all outdoor recreation,  
including off-highway vehicle riding. Landowners, lessees, or land managers 
only need to post their land ‘No Trespassing’ once a year. Just because 
property isn’t posted, doesn’t mean you have the right to enter. The posted 
signs indicate the landowner’s intention to prevent unauthorized entry. 

There can be civil and criminal penalties for violation of the trespass laws. 
Civil penalties for OHVs start at $100 for first offense and range up to 
$500 and loss of license or registration for a third offense within three years. 
Penalties will be doubled for operation in wetlands or with snorkel devices. 
Further information on trespass laws can be found in the Hunting and 
Trapping Regulations Handbook: mndnr.gov/regulations

You may not: 
• 	wound or kill another person’s domestic animal
• 	destroy private property 
• 	pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position
• 	stray off marked state trails.

		
FIREARMS, HUNTING, AND OHVS 
Firearms Deer Hunting 
On public lands, to reduce disturbance during prime hunting hours, a person 
possessing a valid deer license may operate an off-highway vehicle during 
the firearms deer season only: 

• 	before legal shooting hours (½ hour before sunrise) 
• 	from 11 a.m. until 2 p.m. 
• 	after legal shooting hours (½ hour after sunset). See MN Hunting and 

Trapping Regulations Handbook for more detailed information. 
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OHV Riding Restrictions During Deer Hunting Season
OHV trails and routes on state forest lands are closed to ALL recreational 
off-highway vehicle riding (ATV, OHM and ORV) during firearms deer 
season where deer may be taken by rifle in Hunting Zone A, Series 100 
(November 3 through November 18, 2012), and portions of Series 200 
(November 3 through 11, 2012). Persons possessing a valid deer license may 
use an ATV in these areas ONLY between 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. and before 
and after legal shooting time. Forest roads remain OPEN to OHV use. See 
pages 20-21 for more detailed information.

Firearms Transportation 
A person MAY transport an unloaded and uncased shotgun or rifle in a 
motor vehicle while: 1) at a shooting range with permission; 2) lawfully 
hunting on public or private land; or 3) traveling to or from a site the person 
intends to hunt that day or has hunted that day. However, a person MAY 
NOT transport an uncased shotgun or rifle within: 1) Anoka, Hennepin, 
or Ramsey counties; 2) a city with a population of 2,500 or more; 3) school 
grounds; or 4) game refuges and state parks; or 5) as regulated under shining 
and night vision laws. A handgun/pistol cannot be transported uncased 
without a valid permit to carry. See MN Hunting and Trapping Regulations 
Handbook for more detailed information.

ATV Cross-Country Travel 
ATV cross-country travel is PROHIBITED on state lands. Except that 
persons possessing a valid hunting, trapping or commercial license may 
operate an ATV during certain times for big game hunting and retrieval, 
trapping, and constructing hunting stands. See hunting and trapping 
exceptions on page 21.

What’s the problem with riding in Wetlands?
Wetlands are an important part of a healthy environment. Wetlands 

control erosion, control floods, filter out impurities in water, and have 
many other uses that make them an important resource to maintain.

What is a Wetland?
Chances are, when you think of wetlands, you 

think of a swampy, marshy place covered 
with ducks and cattails. And you would be 

right! However, there are many different types 
of wetlands. For more information on 

wetlands,  go to: 
www.mndnr.gov/wetlands/types.html

What can I do?
Riders need to be aware of where they are riding, so 
wetlands can continue to do their job! There are 
penalties for wetland disturbance! Conviction 
may be a Gross Misdemeanor and/or the 
Off-Highway Vehicle (ATV, OHM, ORV) forfeited. 
Wetland restrictions apply to private land as well 
as public land, and vary by area of the state and 
other criteria. For more information,  go to: 
mndnr.gov/regulations/ohv/ohv_regs.pdf

ATVs and Wetlands
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ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLE 
SECTION 

ATV Youth Operators—Residents and Non-Residents 
Anyone under the age of 16 must have permission from 
their parent or guardian to operate an ATV.
It is unlawful for anyone in control of an ATV to permit it to be operated 
contrary to the following requirements: 

Class 1 ATV Operation
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Age		  Requirement
•	May operate only on private property with permission of the owner. 
•	Must have parent or guardian permission to operate.

•	May operate only on private property with permission of the owner. 
•	May operate ATV up to 90cc on public lands and frozen waters if 

accompanied by parent or legal guardian. 
•	Must wear an approved helmet while operating or riding on public 

lands, trails, and frozen public waters. 
•	Must have parent or guardian permission to operate.

•	Must have an ATV safety certificate valid only after successfully 
completing BOTH the ATV Safety Training CD and Safety Training 
Class (see page 32). 

•	Must be able to properly reach and control the handle bars and foot 
pegs while sitting upright on the seat (see page 31).

•	May operate an ATV on public lands and frozen waters and make direct 
crossing of roadways with a valid safety certificate if accompanied on 
another ATV by a person 18 or over who has a valid driver’s license. 

•	Must wear approved helmet while operating or riding on public lands, 
trails, and frozen waters and when crossing road rights-of-way. 

•	Must have parent or guardian permission to operate.

•	Must successfully complete the ATV Safety Training CD before 
operating on public lands, frozen waters, public road rights-of-way, 
or state or grant-in-aid trails. 

•	Must have a valid driver’s license to make a direct crossing of a 
roadway or operate on road rights-of-way. 

•	Must wear approved helmet while operating or riding on public lands, 
trails, and frozen public waters and on road rights-of-way. 

Under 10

10 and 11

12 - 15

16 and 17

Residents and Non-Residents—a safety training certificate is not required 
for youth under 12 in organized contests on public lands or public waters if: 
(1) operating an ATV 90cc or less, (2) they ‘fit’ the ATV (see page 31), and 
(3) they are supervised by a person 18 or older.



Class 2 ATV Operation

Minnesota 
DRIVER’S LICENSE

Required 

RIDE SAFE
Except on designated trails 

Requiredon Roads or Ditches
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ATV

•	May not operate a Class 2 ATV anywhere.

•	May operate a Class 2 ATV.
•	Must wear approved helmet while operating or riding on public 

lands, trails, and frozen public waters and on road rights-of-way.
•	Must have a valid driver’s license to make a direct crossing of a 

roadway or operate on road rights-of-way.
•	Must wear a seat belt if provided by the manufacturer.
•	See page 30 for youth carrying passenger requirements.

•	Must have an ATV safety certificate valid only after successfully 
completing BOTH the Safety Training CD and the Safety Training 
Class (see page 32).

•	Must be able to properly reach and control the handle bars and 
foot pegs while sitting upright on the seat (see page 31).

•	May operate an Class 2 ATV on public lands and frozen waters 
and make direct crossing of roadways with a valid safety. 
certificate if accompanied on another ATV by a person 18 or over 
who has a valid driver’s license. 

•	Must have parent or guardian permission to operate.

•	Must successfully complete the ATV Safety Training CD before 
operating on public lands, frozen waters, public road rights-of-way,  
or state or grant-in-aid trails (see page 32).

15 - 17

15 year olds

16 and 17

Age      			   Requirement  
 
Under 15	

Non-Resident ATV Operators—a non-resident trail pass must be in 
possession to operate an ATV on state or grant-in-aid trails. The trail pass 
does not need to be displayed but must be available for inspection when 
requested by an officer. The pass is NOT required if the non-resident 
operator is driving an ATV that is registered in Minnesota.

Non-Residents—see page 32 for safety training options.
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ATV Passengers
• 	A person under 18 may carry one passenger on a Class 1 ATV only if it is 

their parent or legal guardian.
• 	A person over the age of 18 may carry one passenger on a Class 1 ATV.
• 	A person over the age of 18 may carry a passenger, or up to the number of 

passengers for which a Class 2 ATV was designed.
•	 A passenger under the age of 18 must wear an approved helmet when 

riding on public lands or waters, or a public road right-of-way (see 
approved helmet information on page 35).

•	 A passenger under the age of 18 must wear a seat belt if provided by the 
manufacturer when riding on public lands or waters, or a public road 
right‑of‑way.

Potential Risks of the ATV Design
ATVs have a high center of gravity, high ground clearance and a short 
narrow wheelbase. They can roll over forwards, backwards, or sideways. They 
are more likely to roll over than skid in turns and on hillsides.

Low Pressure tires on ATVs are made for off-road use only. They are not 
intended for use on pavement or hard pack surfaces. Doing so increases risk 
of loss of control.

Many ATV models have a fixed rear axle for traction. When making turns 
this prevents the inner rear wheel from rotating freely when attempting turns 
on pavement or hard pack surfaces. Loss of control can occur when torque to 
the inner wheel suddenly releases causing the ATV to lurch forward.

Powerful drive trains give ATVs the power to climb or rapidly accelerate. 
ATVs are capable of speeds too fast for conditions and potentially the skill of 
the operator.
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Seat clearance: There should be a minimum 
of three inches between operator and the ATV seat. 
Proper clearance enables the operator to maintain 
balance on the foot rests when riding over rough 
terrain. Maintaining balance prevents the operator 
from falling off or being thrown from the machine.
 
Upper legs: While seated, the operator’s upper 
legs should be horizontal (parallel to the ground).
 
Arm length: While seated on the machine and 
gripping the handle bar, there should be a distinct 
bend in the arm at the elbow. Without it there 
will not be sufficient reach to properly grip the 
handlebars when turning and riding.
 
Hand size: With the hand gripping the handle 
bar, extend the fingers to the brake lever. The first 
joint of the index finger should extend beyond the 
brake lever. If it doesn’t, then the hand is too small to 
safely operate the brake. Also, check to see that the 
arm length is sufficient to properly operate the brake 
lever and throttle while the handlebars are turned to 
the far left and right.

ATVs—One Size Does NOT Fit All!

ATV Fit Requirements Law
A person under the age of 16 may not operate an all-terrain vehicle on 
public lands or water, or on state or grant-in-aid trails, if the person cannot 
properly reach and control the handlebars and reach the foot pegs while 
sitting upright on the seat.

These requirements will be enforced utilizing the U.S. Consumer Product 
Safety Commission Guidelines listed below.
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ATV Safety Training Requirements—Residents and 
Non‑Residents 
ATV safety training is recommended for everyone who operates an ATV. 

An ATV Safety Certificate is required by law for certain youth to operate an 
ATV on public lands. Exception: An ATV safety certificate is not required for 
youth under 12 in organized contests on public lands or public waters. Youth 
under 12 may operate an ATV 90cc or less, provided they ‘fit’ the machine (see 
page 31) and are supervised by a person 18 or older.

The DNR ATV Safety Training Course covers: ATV familiarization, operating 
procedures, safety concerns, rules, regulations and environmental concerns. The 
course has two components: An ATV Safety Training CD; and an ATV Safety 
Training Class which includes classroom review, a final exam and a riding 
component. The minimum fee for the certification process is $15.

• 	Persons age 12 through 15 are required to successfully complete the ATV 
Safety CD prior to taking an ATV Safety Training Class. An ATV Safety 
Certificate will be issued after both the ATV CD and the training class are 
successfully completed.

• 	ATV safety training is available to anyone 11 or older. Eleven year olds may 
take both components of the training, but the certificate will not be valid 
until they reach the age of 12. 

• 	Persons under 16 years are required by law to have an ATV Safety 
Certificate before operating an ATV on public lands, frozen waters, 
public road rights-of-way, or state or grant-in-aid trails. Note: There is an 
exception for youth age 10 or 11 to operate an ATV, up to 90cc, on public 
lands or frozen waters if accompanied by parent or legal guardian. 

• 	Anyone born after July 1, 1987 and who is 16 years or older must 
successfully complete the ATV Safety Training CD before operating an 
ATV on public lands, frozen waters, public road rights-of-way, or state or 
grant-in-aid trails. 

The ATV Safety Training CD is available free of charge. There is a $15 fee for the 
certification process. When attending an ATV Safety Class, additional fees may 
apply. Check with the class instructor. To obtain a CD, or for information about 
classes, call the DNR Information Center at 651-296-6157, toll free 1-888-646-
6367; or the DNR Safety Training Program Office at 1-800-366-8917; or go to 
www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/atv

Non-resident youth ages 12-15 may operate an ATV on public lands and waters 
or state/grant-in-aid trails if they have in possession proof of completing an 
ATV safety course offered by the ATV Safety Institute or another state and are 
accompanied by a person 18 years old or older who has a valid drivers license.
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ATV General Operations 
• 	A valid driver’s license is required to operate an ATV on a road right-of-way. 
• 	A driver’s license is not required to operate an ATV on a designated trail that 

includes a road right-of-way. 
• 	If your ATV is equipped with a headlight and taillight they must be on at all 

times. 
• 	Operation on a township road: A person with a valid driver’s license may 

operate an ATV on the far right-hand side of a township road, unless prohibited 
by local regulations. If traveling at a slower speed than other traffic on the 
township road, the ATV should be driven as close as practical to the right hand 
edge of the road. 

•	Operation of a Class 2 ATV is limited to: Private land; Frozen lake surfaces; 
State forest roads; Shoulder or extreme right side of county roads and on the 
right side of township roads and city streets—if not prohibited by the road 
authority or other local laws, and with a valid driver’s license; Designated Class 
2 trails and use areas.

•	 Class 2 ATVs may NOT be operated on the shoulder of a state trunk highway.
• 	A person with a valid driver’s license may operate an ATV registered for private 

use and being used for agricultural purposes on a public right-of-way of a trunk, 
county, state aid, or county highway, if the ATV is on the extreme right side of 
the road. A left turn may be made if it is safe to do so. 

• 	You may not drive a Class 1 ATV within the right-of-way, including the ditch, 
of a state or county road from April 1 to August 1 in the agricultural zone. (See 
definition on page 7.) This does not apply to a Class 1 ATV registered and used 
for agricultural purposes. Class 2 ATVs cannot be operated in a ditch.

• You may operate an off-highway vehicle on a bridge, a roadway shoulder, or 
the inside bank of a public road right-of-way if necessary to avoid obstructions 
to travel or environmentally sensitive areas. You must remain in the farthest 
right‑hand lane, enter the roadway within 100 feet of the bridge, obstacle or 
area, and make the crossing without delay.

• 	You may not cross a bridge that is part of the traveled lanes of an interstate 
highway. 

•	 You may not exceed 10 mph on the frozen surface of public waters within 
100 feet of another person that is not on an ATV (including people that are 
fishing) or within 100 feet of a fish house or other shelter. 

• 	Grant-in-aid snowmobile and non-motorized trails are closed to ATVs unless 
specifically allowed. 

• 	ATVs may not be operated with a snorkel device that has a raised air intake 
six inches or more above the manufacturer’s original air intake. Exception: 
ATVs with snorkel devices may be operated within the Iron Range OHV State 
Recreation Area and other designated public OHV recreation areas. 

•	 You may not operate an ATV on controlled access/freeway portions of state 
highways. Watch for road design changes.
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OFF-HIGHWAY 
MOTORCYCLE SECTION 

OHM Youth Operators 
It is unlawful for anyone in control of an OHM to allow it to be operated 
contrary to the following requirements. 

Operators under 18 are required to wear a helmet when operating on public 
lands, waters, and road rights-of-way. See definition of an approved helmet on 
page 35. 

Non-residents less than 16 years of age may operate an OHM on public 
lands or waters if they have in possession proof of completing an OHM safety 
course offered by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation or another state and are 
accompanied by a person 18 years old or older who has a valid driver’s license.
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Age		  Requirement
• 	May not make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way 
• 	May not operate OHM on a public road or public road right-of-way 
• 	May not operate OHM on public lands or frozen public waters 

unless accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older
• 	Must possess a valid OHM safety certificate to operate on public 

lands or frozen public waters 
• 	Must wear eye protection
• 	Must wear an approved helmet when operating on public lands 

and frozen waters.
• 	Operator participating in DNR permitted event not required to be 

accompanied by an adult.

• 	Must possess a valid OHM safety certificate to operate on public 
lands or frozen public waters 

• 	May make a direct crossing of a public road (except an interstate 
highway) if accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older with 
a valid driver’s license 

• 	Must wear eye protection 
• 	Must wear an approved helmet when operating on public lands, 

frozen waters, and public road rights-of-way.

• 	Must have a driver’s license to operate an OHM on a public 
roadway, and the motorcycle must be licensed for highway use (A 
driver’s license is not required on designated trails when the trail 
specifically includes the road right-of-way.) 

• 	Must wear eye protection 
• 	Must wear an approved helmet when operating on public lands, 

frozen waters, and public road rights-of-way.

Under 12

Under 16

16 and 17



Approved Helmet
An approved helmet worn by an operator or passenger 
must meet Federal law, which requires the helmet to 
display the symbol DOT. DOT is the manufacturer’s 
certification that the helmet conforms to the applicable 
Federal motor vehicle safety standards. Standard 
bicycle helmets and hockey helmets are not legal 
helmets.

OHM Safety Training Requirement 
Persons under the age of 16 must successfully complete the OHM Safety 
Training Course before operating an OHM on public lands, frozen waters, public 
road rights-of-ways, or state or grant-in-aid trails. The course includes OHM 
familiarization, operating procedures, OHM laws, loading and towing procedures, 
ethics, safety hazards and environmental considerations. 

There is no cost for the course, but students who successfully complete the CD 
training are issued a safety certificate for a $5 fee.

For more information, or for a duplicate OHM safety certificate, call the DNR 
Information Center, Twin Cities 651-296-6157, toll-free 1-888-646-6367, or 
DNR Safety Training Program Headquarters 1-800-366-8917, or go to www.
mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/atv

OHM General Operations 
• 	You may not operate an OHM in ditches, unless it is a trail designated for 

OHM use. OHMs registered for highway use may operate on roadways. See 
diagram on page 7. 

• 	A valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement is required to operate 
anywhere on road rights-of-way including crossing roads. The only exception 
would be on portions of a designated trail that specifically include a road 
right-of-way. 

• 	Your OHM must have a headlight, taillight, and brakes to be operated on a 
public road. The lights must be on while operating on a trunk, county, state 
aid, or county highway; or when crossing a public road right-of-way, ½ hour 
after sunset to ½ hour before sunrise; or in conditions of reduced visibility. 

• 	You must wear eye protection when operating an OHM. 
•	 You may not exceed 10 mph on the frozen surface of public waters within 

100 feet of a person fishing or a fish house or other shelter. 
• 	Sound levels for OHMs manufactured after 1986 may not exceed 96 decibels 

when operated on public lands. 

35

OHM



OFF-ROAD VEHICLE 
SECTION 

ORV Youth Operators 
A person under 16 years of age may not operate an ORV. The owner of an 
ORV may not allow it to be operated by a person under 16 years of age. 

ORV Education and Safety Training 
An ORV environmental and safety training CD is available for persons 
16 or older. The course covers ORV familiarization, operation procedures, 
law, towing procedures, ethics, safety hazards, and environmental 
considerations. It is not required by law to take the course, but it is highly 
recommended. The cost is $15.00. For more information call the DNR 
Information Center, Twin Cities 651-296-6157, toll-free 1-888-646-6367, 
or DNR Safety Training Program Headquarters at 1-800-366-8917, or go to 
www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/orv/index.html

ORV General Operations 
• 	All ORV passengers and operators must wear seat belts. 
• 	A valid driver’s license is required to cross roads. The only exception 

would be for those portions of a designated trail that specifically include 
a road right-of-way. 

•	ORVs are required to have lights on while crossing public roads ½ hour 
after sunset to ½ hour before sunrise, and during periods of reduced 
visibility. 

• 	You may operate on state forest roads, trails, and lands as described on  
pages 19–23. 

• 	You may not operate an ORV within the right-of-way of an 
interstate highway, or within a public road right-of-way, except on a 
designated trail.

Note: The DNR strongly recommends passengers and operators wear 
approved helmets at all times. (See approved helmet information page 35.)

ORV Free Admission Day 
On May 18, 2013 the Iron Range Off-Highway Vehicle Recreation Area will 
not require registration on any ORVs that visit the site. The free admission 
day falls on the third Saturday in May each year.
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VOLUNTEER TRAIL
       AMBASSADOR

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT 
OF NATURAL RESOURCES

SAFE
ETHICAL

RESPONSIBLE
Riders

Trails are
monitored by

Trail Ambassadors—Volunteers That 
Make a Difference!
DNR Volunteer Trail Ambassadors are dedicated individuals 
who promote and assist with safe and environmentally 
responsible riding and trail use. They are specially trained 
to meet and greet fellow outdoor enthusiasts and to 
educate trail users about responsible OHV riding on public 
lands. Ambassadors act as extra eyes and ears for the 
DNR on the numerous miles of state OHV trails.

This unique volunteer grant 
program is a result of a 
cooperative effort between the 
All-Terrain Vehicle Association 
of Minnesota (ATVAM), 
Amateur Riders Motorcycle 
Association (ARMCA), 
Minnesota 4 Wheel Drive 
Association (MN4WDA), 
Minnesota United 
Snowmobilers Association 
(MnUSA) and the DNR.



Take a DNR all‑terrain vehicle, off-highway 
motorcycle, or off-road vehicle safety training course. 

Get the 2012–2013 course schedule at:  
mndnr.gov/OHV


