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Anglers contribute to good 
fishing every time they 

purchase a rod, reel or most 
other manufactured fishing 
products.   

Not apparent at the 
checkout counter, 

these purchases quietly raise 
revenue through a 10 percent 
federal excise tax paid by the 
manufacturers.         

Granting these dollars to 
Minnesota and other 

states is the responsibility 
of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Services through its Wildlife 
and Sports Fish Restoration 
program. 

Last year, the Minnesota 
DNR received $13.8 

Million through this program.  

Every one of these dollars 
is used to maintain and 

improve fishing, boating 
and angling access, and help 
create the next generation of 
environmentally enlightened 
anglers.     

Read more about this 
important funding 

source at http:/wsfr75.com

Spread the word, too, so 
more people know how 

manufacturers, anglers and 
natural resource agencies 
work together. 

Photo courtesey of Take Me Fishing
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Trespass Law
The trespass law applies to all outdoor rec-

reation, including but not limited to: hunting, 
boating, fishing, trapping, hiking, and camping. 
When taking part in any outdoor recreation, 
you may not enter legally posted land or agri-
cultural land without permission.

Landowners, lessees, or authorized managers need 
only post their land once a year. The signs must be placed at intervals 
of 1,000 feet (500 feet in wooded areas) or signs may be placed at pri-
mary corners and at access points to the property. Signs must state “No 
Trespassing," or similar words, in 2-inch-high letters and have the signa-
ture or name and telephone number of the landowner, lessee, or manager.

There can be civil or criminal penalties for violation of the trespass 
laws with maximum fines up to $3,000 and license revocation. All con-
servation officers and peace officers enforce trespass laws.

Rules of Thumb for Water Access and Recreational Use
These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all 

water access and recreational use situations. If you have doubts about 
whether you may be trespassing on private land, you should ask the land-
owner for permission.

What is lawful access?
A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or if 

public land or a public road right-of-way borders the surface of the water, 
or if you have permission to cross private land to reach the surface of the 
water. This includes walking in the water or on the ice in connection with 
such activities regardless of who owns the land beneath the surface of the 
water.

What waters are open to recreational use?
A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface if it 

is capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water 
that will float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other waters 
may also qualify depending upon the circumstances.

Can I take my dog with me on an Aquatic Management Area? 
On an Easement Aquatic Management Area (AMA), a person 

must always get permission from the landowner to take a dog with them, 
unless otherwise posted. You may not enter a Restricted or General Use 
Aquatic Management Area with a dog except (1) under permit by the 
commissioner or (2) the dog is accompanied by or under control of the 
owner. Dogs must be on a leash from April 16 through July 14. 
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Some anglers might not be familiar with the following terms used in this regu-
lations booklet:

Designated stream trout lakes– These waters have been stocked 
with trout that are native to streams: rainbow, brown, or brook trout. Some 
also have splake, a cross between a lake trout and a brook trout.

Inland waters– Lakes and rivers within Minnesota not bordering 
Canada or another state.

Immediately released or returned to the water– Fish must not 
be retained longer than is needed at the site of capture to unhook, identify, 
measure, and photograph.  Placing the fish in any type of container or on a 
stringer is not immediately released.  Any fish not immediately released is 
considered to be “reduced to possession.”

Daily and possession limits (bags)– For most species of fish, the 
daily and possession limit is the same. One exception would be the inland 
limit on yellow perch, which is 20 per day and 40 in possession. The daily 
and possession limits include fish possessed by the person at all locations 
including such places as livewell, cold storage, at home, or at a resort. 
Daily limit is the number of fish an angler can take in one calendar day. 
Eating those fish or gifting them away on the same day does not allow an 
angler to possess additional fish taken in the same calendar day.

Harvest slot limit– Allows the harvest of fish from a designated size 
range. 

Maximum size limit– Prohibits the harvest of fish from some speci-
fied length and larger. 

Minimum size limit– Prohibits harvest of fish less than a specified 
length. 

Minnows– Members of the minnow family, except carp and goldfish; 
bullheads, ciscoes, lake whitefish, goldeyes, and mooneyes (not over 7 
inches long); suckers (not over 12 inches long); mud minnows, leeches, 
tadpole madtoms and stonecats. (Note: border water regulations may vary.)

One-over the size limit– Allows the harvest of one fish over a set 
size limit as part of the daily or possession limit.  

Protected slot limit– Prohibits harvest of fish from a designated size 
range. Fish within this size range must be immediately released. 

Rough fish– Carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, cisco 
(tullibee), gar, goldeye, and bullhead. (Note: border waters regulations may 
vary.)

Under-utilized fish– Carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, bur-
bot, cisco, gar, goldeye, and redhorse.

Definitions
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NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2012
New Regulations for 2012
•	Multiple hooks allowed on a single line (page 9 )
•	Artificial lures/bait may have an additional hook (page 9)
•	 The carcass of any fish with size restrictions consumed on water or ice 

must be retained (page 10)
•	 Labeling from purchased dead bait must be retained (page 12)
•	 Bait buckets must have water exchanged prior to leaving any waterbody 

(page 12)
•	Drain plugs must be removed from all boating-related equipment prior to 

transporting (page 13)
•	New list of infested waters (pages 16-25)
•	New restrictions on using fish taken from Lake Superior and its 

tributaries as bait (page 33)

New Experimental/Special Regulations
	 Added or modified 6 lakes and 1 stream with quality walleye, 

sunfish, crappie, brook trout, or bass regulations (pages 34-54).  Dropped 
special regulations on northern pike on 21 lakes.

	
Changes  include:  Lake Vermilion (St. Louis Co.), walleye slot 

limit modified;  Long Lake (Kandiyohi Co.), largemouth bass slot limit 
modified; Splithand, Little Splithand, and Dixon lakes (Itasca Co.), 
added panfish bag limits; Lester Lake (Hubbard Co.),added catch and 
release for all species; and Lawndale Creek (Wilkin Co.), added  catch 
and release for brook trout.

Clarification to Synopsis
•	 It is unlawful to take fish by hand (page 10)

Note: Regulations may change after this booklet goes to print. Check 
DNR Web site for additions or corrections.

 new

Total Length
To determine the legal 
length of a fish, lay it flat 
on its side, squeeze the tail 
from tip to tip, and measure 
from the nose or jaw, 
whichever is longer, to the 
farthest tip of the tail when 
fully extended.

For Your Information
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FISHING LICENSES

1	 The marriage must be legal as recognized by Minnesota law.
2	 A combination sports license is one small game hunting license and two fishing licenses.
3	 An individual sports license includes fishing and small game hunting.
4	 Also requires the purchase of an angling license, unless specifically exempted.
5	 Applications available through the DNR Information Center 1-888-646-6367.
6	 Includes trapping if requested.
7	 Includes $2.00 surcharge for invasive species work.

Fishing Licenses

2012 FISHING LICENSES

(Price does not include additional issuing fees.) 
Duplicate licenses and stamps can be purchased from any ELS agent for $2.50 each. 

RESIDENT LICENSES (for fishing the license is valid March 2012-April 30, 2013) 	  
	 Angling, Individual (age 16 and older)	 $17.00
	 Angling, Conservation Individual (1/2 limit)	 11.00
	 Angling, Combination (husband and wife1)	 25.00
	 Angling, Conservation Combination (1/2 limit)(husband & wife)	 17.00
	 Angling, Individual 24 Hour	 8.50
	 Sports, Individual3	 29.50
	 Sports, Combination (husband and wife1)2	 38.50
	 Dark House Spearing4	 17.00
	 Trout and Salmon Stamp Validation	 10.00
	 Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter if left unattended overnight 	 11.50
	 	 • 3 year license 	 34.50	
	 Whitefish and Cisco Netting4	 10.00
	 Rental Fish House, Dark House, or Shelter 	 26.00
	 	 • 3 year license if rented	 78.00
	 Recreational Turtle License4	 25.00
	 Sturgeon Tag4	 5.00
	 Walleye Stamp Validation (Voluntary) 	 5.00

LIFETIME LICENSE5	 Fishing 	 Small Game6 	 Sports6  
	 age 3 and under	 $227	 $217	 $357 
	 age 4 to 15	 $300	 $290	 $480 
	 age16 to 50	 $383	 $363	 $613 
	 51 and over	 $203	 $213	 $413
			   Spearing only 	 Spearing/Angling 	  Sports/Spearing6  
	 age 3 and under	 $258	 $485	 $615 
	 age 4 to 15	 $320	 $620	 $800 
	 age16 to 50	 $372	 $755	 $985 
	 51 and over	 $173	 $376	 $586
NONRESIDENT LICENSES (for fishing the license is valid March 2012-April 30, 2013) 
	 Angling, Individual	 $39.507

	 Angling, Family (one or both parents and children under age 16) 	 52.507

	 Angling, Individual 7 Day	 28.507

	 Angling, Individual 24 Hour	 8.50
	 Angling, Individual 72 Hour	 24.007

	 Angling, Husband and Wife1 14 Day	 40.507

	 Angling, Youth (under age 16)	 17.00
	 Trout and Salmon Stamp Validation	 10.00
	 Fish House, Dark House, Shelter	 33.00
	 Fish House, Dark House, Shelter 7 Day	 19.00
	  	 • 3 year license 	 99.00
	 Sturgeon Tag4	 5.00
	 Walleye Stamp Validation (Voluntary) 	 5.00
	 Dark House Spearing4	 39.507

LIFETIME LICENSE5	 Fishing 	 Small Game 	   
	 age 3 and under	 $447	 $947	
	 age 4 to 15	 $600	 $1,280	  
	 age 16 to 50	 $773	 $1,633	  
	 51 and over	 $513	 $1,083	

Must be a 
Minnesota 
resident for 
one year.
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The Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues licenses and stamp vali-
dation through 1,600 license agent locations statewide. Agents charge an 
issuing fee for each license and stamp sold.

Instant Licenses (except lifetime) and stamp validations are also available 
online or by telephone at 1-888-665-4236. An additional convenience fee is 
added for sales via the Web site or telephone (see Web site for details). 

Lifetime License
First time purchase of lifetime license is only available at DNR License 
Center in St. Paul.
 
Conservation Licenses
•	 Conservation Licenses are available only to residents of Minnesota.
•	Daily and possession limits are half of what can be taken with a standard 

angling license. Fractions are rounded down to next whole number (see 
page 29 for list). People bowfishing, spearing, or using other approved 
harvest methods under a Conservation License are limited to ½ of the 
daily and possession limit for that method.

•	 Sturgeon harvest tag may not be used with a Conservation License. 

Trout Stamp
Trout stamp validations are printed on 

the ELS license. This is the only verification 
needed to prove purchase of the trout stamp. 
Purchasers may request the actual pictorial 
stamp for an additional $0.75.

Except as noted, anglers need a trout 
stamp validation and a fishing or sports 
license when fishing in designated trout 
streams, designated trout lakes, Lake 
Superior, or when possessing trout on waters that are not designated trout 
water. All trout in possession require a trout validation, unless received as 
a gift. Trout stamps are not required for children less than 16 years old, 
adults who are 65 and older, people fishing with a 24-hour license, or people 
who are exempt from fishing license requirements or who receive a fishing 
license at no charge. 

Walleye Stamp
•	 Purchase of a walleye stamp is voluntary; 

it is not needed for fishing.
•	 Revenues from the sale of a walleye stamp 

will be used for walleye stocking and 
related activities.

•	Walleye stamp validations are printed on 
the ELS license. Purchasers may request 
the actual pictorial stamp for an additional $0.75. 

2012 Trout Stamp. Artist: Markell

2012 Walleye Stamp. Artist: House
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License Requirements
All people 16 years and older need a license unless otherwise noted. To 

purchase a noncommercial game or fish license, nonresidents and residents 
must have their social security number on file with DNR or must provide it.

Residents 
•	 To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence in 

Minnesota for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a license. In 
addition, residents 21 or older must provide a current Minnesota Driver's 
License or ID card, unless exempt under the Religious Freedom Act.

•	 A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident is 
considered a resident.

•	 All residents age 15 and younger are allowed to take their own limit of fish 
without purchasing a license.

•	 Residents age 16 through 64 must have a dark house spearing license and 
an angling license to spear. Residents age 65 years old and older are exempt 
from the dark house spearing license, but must have an angling license to 
spear.

Nonresidents 
All nonresidents age 16 and older are required to have an appropriate fish-

ing license while angling. Nonresidents under age 16 do not need a license if 
the parent or guardian is licensed. Children of an adult who has a Minnesota 
nonresident family license may possess their own limit of fish. However, if the 
adult has an individual license, the child’s fish are included in the adult’s limit. 
Nonresidents under age 16 may purchase a nonresident youth license and pos-
sess their own limit of fish. 

Nonresident Students and Military 
•	 A person in the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed or training in the state 

may purchase a resident fishing license (must show proof).
•	 A nonresident that is a full-time student at an educational institution in the 

state and resides in the state during the school year may obtain a resident 
license to take fish with proof of student status.

•	 The spouse of a resident who is on active military duty may obtain a resident 
fishing license.

Refund Policy
Check your license for accuracy prior to leaving the license agent location. 

All sales are final. Refunds can only be issued if:
•	 the licensee dies before the opening of the licensed season;
•	 the licensee is unable to participate in the licensed activity because the 

licensee is called to active military duty or military leave is cancelled during 
the entire open season of the licensed activity;

•	 or the licensee purchased two licenses for the same license season in error.

Fishing Licenses
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License Revocation 
Fishing privileges may be revoked for one year for two or more convictions 

of fishing violations in three years. Violations of fishing laws in other states may 
affect your ability to fish in Minnesota.

Under the gross over-limits penalty provisions, privileges can be revoked for 
three or five years, depending on the number of fish involved in the violation. 

Exempt from License Requirement
•	 Minnesota residents in the U.S. Military who are stationed outside the state 

and home on leave (must carry leave or furlough papers).
•	 In-patients of a U.S. Veterans Administration hospital, residents of a 

Minnesota licensed nursing or boarding care home, and residents of a licensed 
board and lodging facility with written consent from the institution.

• 	Residents who have served in federal active service outside the U.S. during the 
preceding 24 months and are now discharged from overseas duty. (Discharge 
papers must be in possession while fishing or transporting fish.)

•	 A resident may take fish by angling (in open water) without an angling license 
when shore fishing or wading on state-owned land within a state park. When 
angling from a boat or float, this exemption applies only to those water bodies 
completely encompassed within the statutory boundary of the state park. The 
exemption from an angling license does not apply to waters where a trout 
stamp is required.

•	 Residents 90 years and older in age.
•	 Residents under age 16 may net cisco (tullibee) and whitefish for personal use.
•	 Residents receiving disability benefits under the Federal Railroad Retirement 
Act or U.S. Postal Service. Person must carry proof of disability retirement 
benefits.

Licenses Issued without a Fee (agents may charge an issuing fee)
•	 Permanent angling license will be issued to any Minnesota resident over age 

16 who is developmentally disabled or a veteran with a 100 percent service-
connected disability. Available only from the DNR License Center. 

•	 Annual angling and/or spearing license may be issued to Minnesota residents 
who are legally blind, receiving SSI or SSDI, receiving worker’s compensation 
for total and permanent disability, a ward of the Commissioner of Human 
Services, or a resident of a state institution that has an approved application. 
SSI or SSDI benefit verification is available online at www.socialsecurity.gov, 
by calling 1-800-772-1213 or at your local Social Security office. Must have 
current letter from Social Security stating disability or SSI benefits.

•	 Foreign exchange students may receive a free annual angling license with 
proof of their foreign exchange student status.  

An unlicensed person may assist a disabled angler who has a disability license,  
provided that only the number of lawful lines are in use.
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GENERAL Regulations 
The following regulations apply to all Minnesota waters unless noted  

otherwise in this booklet. 

Hooks, Lures and Tackle Configurations 
Single Tackle Configuration.  Anglers may use up to three single or multiple-
pronged (example - treble) hooks on a line used as a single tackle configuration 
attached to the end of a fishing line (Examples – crawler harness, quick-strike 
rig. See pictures on page 63).  Note: a single tackle configuration cannot be 
used on designated trout streams and lakes.

-	 The total length of the single tackle configuration from the first hook to the 
last hook must be nine inches or less.

-	 Anglers may use live, artificial, preserved, or dead bait that is lawful to use 
(see page 12). 

-	 This single tackle configuration is not considered an artificial fly or lure/
bait, and no additional hooks may be used. Adding a bead, blade, or 
spinner does not make it into an artificial lure/bait.

•	 Artificial Lure/Bait.  A single artificial lure/bait may contain more than one 
hook (Example - a crankbait).
-	 An angler may have one additional single or multiple hook on a line as 

part of the artificial lure/bait as long as it is within three inches of the 
artificial lure/bait (Example - a stinger hook (often a treble hook) can be 
trailed behind a jig).

-	 Note:  An extra single or multiple hook is not allowed on artificial lures/
baits used on designated trout streams and lakes.

•	 Artificial Fly.  Three artificial flies may be used when angling for trout, 
crappie, sunfish, and rock bass.

•	 Designated Trout Streams and Lakes.  Other than 3 artificial flies or a 
single artificial lure/bait, a tackle configuration with more than one single 
hook is not allowed on designated trout streams and lakes. Note:  See special 
tackle restrictions for Lake Superior and Its Tributaries - page 32.

Angling Methods
•	 Anglers may use only one line during the open water season and two 

through the ice (other than on designated trout lakes and streams) unless 
otherwise noted.

• 	You may not intentionally fish for any species during its closed season. 
•	 Angling with an unattended line, a setline, or a trotline is unlawful.
•	 Using an artificial light to lure or attract fish is unlawful. Exception: While 

angling, a person may affix to the end of a fishing line a lighted artificial bait 
with hooks attached. Any battery that is used in lighted fishing lures must 
not contain mercury. 

Note: All persons required to have a license (including stamp validations) 
must have it in their possession while fishing and while traveling from an area 
where they fished.

General Regulations

 new
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•	 A party is defined as a group of two or more persons:
– angling from a single watercraft; or
–	if not in a watercraft, maintaining unaided visual and vocal contact with 

each other. 
• The total number of fish possessed by the party may not exceed  the combined 

limits of the numbers of the party. 
• Each party member may transport only an individual limit of fish.
•	 The use of explosives, firearms, chemicals (not including fish scents), spring 

devices, or electricity for taking fish is unlawful.
•	 It is unlawful to take a fish by snagging or noodling (taking fish by hand).

Possessing Fish
•	 Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. Fish are in an 

angler’s possession whether on hand, in cold storage, in transport, or elsewhere.
•	 Once a daily or possession limit of fish has been reached, no culling or live 

well sorting is allowed. No culling is allowed on Mille Lacs or Wisconsin 
border waters (see pages 33 and 64-66). 

•	 While on or fishing waters with size restrictions it is illegal to possess any fish 
outside legal length limits.

•	 When fish are consumed on the ice or on a watercraft that is docked or moored 
to shore, the carcass of a fish with size limits (other than statewide size limits) 
must be retained in such a way that the carcass may be readily unpacked, 
unwrapped, and separated so that the carcass may be examined, measured, 
and counted to ensure compliance with size restrictions for that day. The fish 
carcasses must be retained with head, dorsal fin, and tail intact, and the carcass 
will be counted and included in a person's daily possession limit.

•	 Depositing fish entrails or fish parts into public waters or onto lake or stream 
shores is prohibited.

•	 If legally taken from a connected water or having been packaged by a licensed 
fish packer, a person who is in transit and taking the most direct route back 
to their lodging or docking, and not fishing, may possess fish outside of or in 
excess of the limits for that water body.

•	 When on or fishing experimental, special, border or other waters with size 
restrictions different from statewide regulations, all fish for which the size 
restriction applies must have their heads, tails, fins, and skin intact and be 
measurable except as follows:
(1) Fish that are legally taken on that water body may be used in the 

preparation of a meal while docked or moored to shore or while on the ice of 
that waterbody. Fish used for a meal still count towards the daily possession 
limit. Fillets may be possessed only if the person is in the act of preparing a 
meal or have been packaged by a licensed fish packer.

(2) On the shore or ice of experimental and special management waters a 
person may prepare fish for a meal that have been packaged by a licensed 
fish packer. The total number of fish in possession may not exceed the 
statewide possession limit.

 new

 new
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•	 Possessing or transporting white perch, ruffe, round goby, black carp, bighead 
carp, grass carp, or silver carp is unlawful, except when taking them to the 
DNR. If you catch a black, bighead, grass, or silver carp, you must report it to 
the DNR within seven days. A picture or specimen is desired when reporting 
your catch to the DNR.

Transporting Fish
•	 Except while on the body of water where taken, live fish 

may not be transported in a quantity of water sufficient 
to keep them alive unless the fish are bait minnows or 
the person is authorized to do so by the DNR. 

•	 Transport of fish for display in a home aquarium is 
legal under the following conditions: 

–	Game fish purchased from an authorized licensee 
transported with the necessary documents (such as 
a sales receipt). 

–	Anglers 16 or under may transport legally caught 
largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, yellow perch, 
rock bass, black crappie, white crappie, bluegill, 
pumpkinseed, green sunfish, orangespotted sunfish, 
and black, yellow, and brown bullhead. No more 
than four of each species may be transported at any 
one time, and any individual fish can be no longer than 10 inches. At no 
time may water from any lake or stream be transported. (See page 15 
or DNR Web site).

•	 Fish prepared for transportation, shipment, or storage are defined as follows: 
Undressed fish must have heads, tails, fins, and skin intact. Entrails, gills, 

and scales may be removed. 
Dressed fish may have heads and scales or skin removed, in addition to gills 

and entrails.
Fillets are fish flesh, excluding cheeks, that have been removed from a fish. 

Scales or skin may be removed or intact. A fish may not be reduced to 
more than two fillets.

•	 Fish must be packaged or transported in such a way that they can be readily 
unwrapped, separated, identified, and counted.

•	 Muskellunge, sturgeon, catfish, salmon, splake, brook trout, brown trout, and 
rainbow trout, which have statewide length limits, must be transported with 
head and tail intact so the fish can be measured. Northern pike and walleye 
may be dressed or filleted.

•	 All dressed fish and fillets must have a 1-square-inch patch of skin with scales 
intact from a portion of the body other than the belly. Bullhead, sunfish, and 
crappie may be completely filleted and skinned.

•	 Dressed sauger count as walleye unless packaged by a licensed fish packer.
• 	Stocking live fish or fish eggs or transferring fish or fish eggs from one body of 

water to another is prohibited without a DNR permit.

General Regulations

One of the best ways 
to transport your 
fish so they can be 
counted and identi
fied is in clear plastic 
freezer bags.

Fillets and dressed 
fish must show at 
least a 1-square-inch 
patch of skin with 
scales so fish species 
can be identified.
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Storage and shipments
•	 Fish can be prepared, packed, and labeled by a licensed fish packer.
• A person who stores fish for another must plainly mark the package, in ink, with 

the name, address, and fishing license number (or DNR number or transaction 
number) of the owner, and the number of fish by species in the package.

•	 Licensed anglers may make three shipments of fish per year. A permit issued by 
a conservation officer is required for each shipment. A shipment cannot contain 
more than a possession limit of one species. 

Bait
•	 Using whole or parts of game fish, goldfish, or carp for bait is unlawful. 
•	 Suckers larger than 12" may only be transported alive in containers that are not 

a livewell or other part of a boat and if bought from a licensed facility. Person 
must have valid receipt from the facility on their person.

•	 Live bullheads, regardless of size, may not be transported north of State 
Highway 210, except under a commercial license.

•	 Up to 100 bullheads, 7-10 inches in length, may be taken and possessed for use 
as live bait. Legal methods of taking include dip net, angling or minnow seines. 
Live bullheads must be transported in a container with a locking lid to prevent 
escape. These bullheads are considered part of the possession limits on pages 
27, 60-62, and 67-68. Bullheads less than 7 inches in length are considered 
minnows and fall under those regulations.

•	 Imported dead bait* can only be used if it is: (1) from water bodies with 
negative fish health certification; or (2) preserved under a Minnesota DNR 
bait preservation permit.  All imported dead bait must be labeled, and the 
labeling must be retained on the person when angling until the bait is gone. 
*Bait includes fish (examples: smelt or cisco), aquatic worms, amphibians, 
invertebrates, and insects that are lawful to use for bait.

•	 Dead bait originating in MN harvested under a commercial minnow license 
(smelt, cisco, and VHS susceptibles species** only) must also be labeled. 
Labeling must be retained on the person when angling until the bait is gone. 
For specific regulations pertaining to Lake Superior, see page 33. For additional 
information about dead bait, please contact DNR information at 651-296-6157. 
** Visit www.focusonfishhealth.org to learn more about VHS, including which 
species are susceptible to VHS.

•	 Only preserved rainbow smelt and cisco may be used as bait, unless harvested, 
packaged, and labeled under a commercial license from certified VHS negative 
waterbody. Freezing is not a preservation method. Preservation can only be 
done by permit from the DNR. All labeling from the preserved smelt and cisco 
must be carried on the person when angling until all that preserved bait is gone.

•	 If keeping bait, you must exchange water in bait buckets with tap or bottled 
water prior to leaving any waterbody to prevent the spread of aquatic invasive 
species or fish diseases.

Other
•	 A permit is required for transplanting aquatic plants, applying chemicals, and 

some types of cutting to control vegetation in any public waters. (See page 66 

 new

 new

 new
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for more information).
•	 Dragging boat anchors or other weights with a motor-propelled boat through 

aquatic vegetation is unlawful.
•	 Littering of any materials and depositing rubbish, poisonous substances, or 

chemicals harmful to aquatic life into public waters, onto ice, or lake or stream 
shores is illegal. Fish line and various packaging materials can be harmful to 
wildlife.

•	 Marking or tagging fish and then releasing them without a DNR permit is 
unlawful. 

•	 A DNR permit is required for some fishing contests. Visit mndnr.gov/fishing/
tournaments online for more information and to get costs for a permit.

• 	A permit from the county sheriff is required for most organized events on the 
water or ice, including fishing contests.

•	 Buying or selling game fish, whitefish, or cisco is unlawful. The exceptions are 
smelt taken from Lake Superior and fish obtained under a commercial, private 
hatchery, or aquatic farm license. 

•	 Some fish spawning areas are posted to prohibit motorized boat travel. 
Landowners or lease holders adjacent to these areas may use the shortest route 
when traveling to and from their property, provided they operate their boat at 
no more than 5 mph.

•	 Notice to fall anglers: Lakes classified as Waterfowl Feeding and Resting 
Areas and Wildlife Management Areas are closed to motorboats as posted 
during the fall waterfowl hunting season. Refer to the most current hunt
ing regulations for a complete list of these lakes. Please give resting flocks 
of birds and hunting decoys a wide berth when boating and fishing.

• 	Some ponds and lakes are licensed for private aquaculture use. Trespassing 
to gain access to these waters may be in violation of fishing laws in addition 
to trespassing laws.

•	 Any fish that is caught and will not be utilized must be immediately returned 
alive back into the water. A person cannot wantonly waste a fish that is 
caught by leaving it or any usable portion on the ice, thrown up on the 
bank, or intentionally killing it and returning it back into the water unless 
authorized.

• 	Lawfully taken fish may be transferred as a gift if accompanied by a receipt 
containing: name and address of the owner, name and address of recipient, 
date of transfer, description of the gift, and license number (DNR number or 
transaction number) under which the fish was taken. The receipt must remain 
with the gift. The recipient cannot possess more than the statewide posses-
sion limit.

•	 Drain plugs must be removed from bilges and livewells at the water access. 
Drain plugs must be out and all other water draining devices must remain 
open while trailering or transporting boats.

General Regulations

 new
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Spots
No gap

Spiny Water Flea 
Identification: Long tail, white with 
black spots, looks like gelatinous globs 
on fishing line, small (up to 3⁄8")

Aquatic INVASIVE species
Aquatic invasive species are threatening Minnesota waters. These 

nonnative species harm fish populations, water quality, and water 
recreation including fishing. The aquatic invasive species below have 
become established or been reported in some Minnesota waters (see 
pages 16 through 25).

You can help prevent the introduction and spread of invasive species 
by following both the required and recommended actions listed on 
page 15 before moving equipment, bait, and boats from one waterbody to 
another.

Report and provide samples of aquatic invasive species to DNR 
fisheries offices or the Invasive Species Program if found in  
inland waters.

New Zealand 
MudSnail
Identification: Up to 
1⁄5" long, light to dark 
brown, cone-shaped shell, 
5-6 whorls

Faucet Snail
Identification: 
Up to ½" long, light 
brown to black, 
4-5 whorls

Zebra & QUAGGA 
Mussel
Identification: Only 
freshwater mollusks  
that attach to 
objects  
with 
byssal 
threads
(up to 1½")

Ruffe 
Identification: Spots 
between rays of dorsal fin, 
no gap between fins

Round Goby
Identification: Single 
scallop-shaped pelvic fin, 
fish is usually 3"-6" long

 

Eurasian 
watermilfoil
Identification: 12 to 21 
leaflet pairs per leaf

 

BIGhead & Silver carp
Identification: Eye 
located at lower part of 
head below the mouth; 
adults can weigh 60 
pounds or more; Silver can 
jump over 10 ft. high
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Prohibited Invasive Species: Several species are designated including 
silver and bighead carp, Eurasian watermilfoil, New Zealand mudsnail, round 
goby, ruffe, zebra mussel. Complete list of prohibited invasive species can be 
found at mndnr.gov/invasives or by calling the DNR information line.

Aquatic Invasive Species

	 Required Actions—It’s the law!

	 Clean visible aquatic plants, zebra mussels, and other 
prohibited invasive species off watercraft, trailers, and 
equipment before leaving any water access. It is illegal 
to transport them once you leave the water access.

	 Drain water from boat, livewell, bilge, and other 
boating equipment holding water before leaving any 
water access. Drain plugs must be removed from 
bilges and livewells at the water access. Drain plugs 
and all other water draining devices must remain open 
while trailering or transporting boats. Portable bait 
containers must be drained when leaving all waters. If 
you want to keep your live bait when leaving a lake or 
river, you must replace water in bait containers with 
tap or bottled water. 

	 Dispose of unwanted bait, including minnows, leeches 
and worms, in the trash. It is illegal to release bait 
into a waterbody, release worms on the ground, and 
to release aquatic animals from one waterbody into 
another. 

	 Display an Aquatic Invasive Species Rules decal, issued by DNR, on 
watercraft before launching, entering into, or operating on any waters 
of the state.

Recommended Actions — Protect our Waters
	 Spray, rinse, or dry boats and 

recreational equipment before 
transporting to another water body, 
especially after leaving zebra mussel 
and spiny waterflea infested waters. 

	 Do one or more of these actions:
	 •	 rinse with very hot tap water;
	 •	 spray with high-pressure;
	 •	 dry for at least 5 days.	  

 new

 new
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Infested Waters
A list of Minnesota’s designated infested waters as of March 1, 2012 is 

arranged alphabetically by the name of the waterbody, on pages 16 through 
25. Additional waters may be designated throughout the year as new infes-
tations are discovered—look for orange Invasive Species Alert signs at the 
access and check the DNR Web site for these updates. Minnesota lakes, 
rivers, and wetlands, which are designated as infested waters, contain spe-
cific invasive species that have a risk of being spread. Regulations restrict-
ing bait harvest and transport of water apply at these waters.

DESIGNATED Waterbody (County) AQUATIC INVASIVE Species
A
Alexander (Morrison) Eurasian watermilfoil
Alvin (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Ann  (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Arbor North located in the NW 1/4 of the SW 1/4 of S23, T119N, R22W	

(Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Arbor South located in the south 1/2 of the SW 1/4 of S23, T119N, R22W	

(Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Arbor West located in the SW 1/4 of S23, T119N, R22W DOW # 27-1130	

(Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Arrowhead (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Ash River, downstream of the northern section line of Section 8, Township 68 North, 
Range 19 West (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea

Auburn (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Augusta (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
B
Bald Eagle (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
Bass (Cass) Zebra mussel
Bass (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Bass (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
BASS [RAY] located in T135N, R29W, Sec 9, 10 (Cass) Zebra mussel
Baudette River from Highway 11 downstream to the Rainy River (Lake of the 
Woods) Spiny waterflea

Bavaria (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
BaY (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Beaver (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Beebe (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Big (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil
Big Fork River from the public water access on Highway 11 downstream to the Rainy 
River (Koochiching) Spiny waterflea

Big Marine (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Big Sandy (Aitkin) Flowering rush
Birch (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Bishop Creek between Round and Gull lakes located in section 35, Township 135N, 

Range 29W (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Black River the south branch downstream of Highway 11 and the west branch down-
stream of Highway 147 (Koochiching) Spiny waterflea

Bone (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Boom (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Brophy (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Brownie (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

 new
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Bryant (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Buck (Becker) Flowering rush
Buffalo (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Burandt (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Burntside (St. Louis) Spiny Waterflea
Burntside River, between Burntside Lake and Shagawa Lake (St. Louis) Spiny 
Waterflea

Bush (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
C
Calhoun (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Calhoun (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil
Camp Galilee (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cannon (Rice) Flowering rush
Cannon River from Lower Sakatah to the confluence with the Straight River (Goodhue 

and Rice) Flowering rush
Caribou in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, just west of Pine Lake (Cook) Spiny 
waterflea

Carlos (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Caroline (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cate's (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cedar (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cedar (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cedar (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cenaiko (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Centerville (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Charley (Ramsey) Zebra mussel
Chisago (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
Christmas (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Chub (Carlton) Eurasian watermilfoil
Circle (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clear (Waseca) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clear (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
ClearwateR (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clearwater (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Clearwater River downstream of Clearwater Lake (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cloquet River, from Island Lake to the St. Louis River (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Cobblestone (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Colby (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Coon (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cowdry (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Crane (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Crooked (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Cross (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil
Crow Wing River downstream of the confluence with the Long Prairie River to the 

Mississippi River (Cass and Morrison) Zebra mussel
Crow Wing River from Highway 87 in Hubbard County downstream to the confluence 

with the Mississippi River (Cass, Hubbard, Morrison, Todd, and Wadena) Faucet snail
Crystal (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Crystal (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Curfman (Becker) Flowering rush
Cut Foot Sioux (Itasca) Faucet snail
D
Darling (Douglas) Zebra mussel

Aquatic Invasive Species
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Dead River (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Deer (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
DeMontreville (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Detroit (Becker) Flowering rush
Devil Track (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Dutch (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
E
Eagle (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Eagle (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Eagle (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil
Earley (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
East Sylvia was Twin (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
East Jefferson (LeSueuer) Eurasian watermilfoil
East Twin (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Edina Mill Pond (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Egg (Itasca) Faucet snail
Ellen (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
Elmo (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Emma (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
F
Firemen’s (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
First Crow Wing (Hubbard) Faucet snail
First River (Itasca) Faucet snail
Fish (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
Fish (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Fish (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Fish (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Fish (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Fish (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Florida (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil
Flour (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Forest (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Forest (Washington) Flowering rush
Fox (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil
French (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil
French (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
G
Galpin (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Geneva (Douglas) Zebra mussel
George (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
George (Olmstead) Eurasian watermilfoil
German (LeSueuer) Eurasian watermilfoil
Gervais (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Gilbert Pit (St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil
Gilchrist (Pope) Eurasian watermilfoil
Gleason (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Goose (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Granite (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Gray's Bay Outlet wetland (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Green (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
Green (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil
Green (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil
Green's (Cass) Zebra mussel

 new
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Greenwood (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Gull (Cass) Zebra mussel
Gull River (Cass) Zebra mussel
Gunflint (Cook) Spiny waterflea
H
Half-Moon (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Harriet (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Hart (Itasca) Flowering rush
Hiawatha (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Holland (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Holman (Itasca) Flowering rush
Hooper Creek downstream of State Highway 172	(Lake of the Woods) Spiny water-
flea

Horseshoe (St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil
Howard (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
I
Ice (Itasca) Eurasian watermilfoil
Independence (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Indian (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Irene (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Island (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Island (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
J
Jessie (Douglas) Zebra mussel
John (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Johnson Creek from the Rainy River upstream to the first road crossing	(Lake of the 
Woods) Spiny waterflea

K
Kabetogama (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Keller (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Keller (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Kimball (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Klezer's Pond (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Knife (Kanabec) Eurasian watermilfoil
Kohlmans (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
L
Lac La Croix (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Lac Lavon (Dakota) Brittle naiad, Eurasian watermilfoil
Lake of the Isles (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Lake of the Woods (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea
Lakewood Cemetery (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Langton (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Le Homme Dieu (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Leech (Cass) Eurasian watermilfoil
Leech Lake River between Mud Lake and Miss. River (Cass) Faucet snail
Libbs (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Little Birch (Todd) Eurasian watermilfoil
Little Cut Foot (Itasca) Faucet snail
Little Elk (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil
Little Fork River from100 feet upstream of Highway 11 downstream to the Rainy 
River (Koochiching) Spiny waterflea

Little John (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Little Long (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil

Aquatic Invasive Species
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Little Mary (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Little Mud (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Little Pelican (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Little Rabbit (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Little Rock (Benton) Zebra mussel
Little Rock Lake Channel (Benton) Zebra mussel
Little Vermilion (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Little Waverly (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Little Winnibigoshish (Itasca) Faucet snail
Lizzie (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Locke (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Loeb (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long located in S30 & 31, T30, R20 (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long located in S5 & 32, T29, R20 (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long located in S17, 20 & 21, T30, R21 (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Long Prairie River (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Loon (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Lottie (Taylor) (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Lotus (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Louise Mine Pit (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Love (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Lower Mission (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Lower Prior (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Lower Twin (Wadena) Faucet snail
Lucy (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Lura (Blue Earth) Eurasian watermilfoil
M
Madison (Blue Earth) Eurasian watermilfoil
Manuella (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Maple (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Margaret (Cass) Zebra mussel
Marion (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Marshan (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
MarY (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Mazaska (Rice) Eurasian watermilfoil
McCarron (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
McColl (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil
McFarland (Cook) Spiny waterflea
McKinney (Itasca) Eurasian watermilfoil
McMahon (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil
Meadowbrook (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Medicine (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Melissa (Becker) Flowering rush
Middle Jefferson (LeSueuer) Eurasian watermilfoil
Mill (Becker) Flowering rush
Mille Lacs (Mille Lacs) Eurasian watermilfoil, Spiny waterflea, Zebra mussel
Mille Lacs tributaries from their mouth upstream to the first public road (Aitkin, 
Crow Wing, and Mille Lacs) Eurasian watermilfoil, Spiny waterflea, Zebra mussel

Miller (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Miller Creek downstream of State Highway 172 (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea
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Mink (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Minnehaha Creek (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Flowering rush, Zebra mussel
Minnehaha Marsh (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Minnetonka (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Flowering rush, Zebra mussel
Minnewashta (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Minnewaska (Pope) Eurasian watermilfoil
Minnie-Belle (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Mississippi River from Knutson Dam to the confluence with the White Oak Lake 

Branch (Cass and Itasca) Faucet snail
Mississippi River downstream of St. Anthony Falls (Dakota, Goodhue, Hennepin, 

Houston, Ramsey, Wabasha, Washington, and Winona) Eurasian watermilfoil
Mississippi River from the mouth of the Pine River in Crow Wing County to the 

Minnesota-Iowa border (Anoka, Benton, Crow Wing, Dakota, Goodhue, Hennepin, Hous-
ton, Morrison, Ramsey, Sherburne, Sterns, Wabasha, Washington, Winona, and Wright) 
Zebra mussel

Mitchell (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Mitchell (Sherburne) Eurasian watermilfoil
Mud (St. Louis) Zebra mussel
Mud (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Muskrat (Becker) Flowering rush
N
Namakan (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Niccum’s Pond located in the NW 1/4 of the SW 1/4 of S10, T117N, R24W (Hennepin) 

Eurasian watermilfoil
Nisswa (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Nokomis (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
North Center (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
North Fowl (Cook) Spiny waterflea
North Lindstrom (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
North Twin (Itasca) Eurasian watermilfoil, Flowering rush
North Twin (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
North Union (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Norway (Kandiyohi) Eurasian watermilfoil
O
O’Dowd (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil
Ogechie (Mille Lacs) Zebra mussel
Olson (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Onamia (Mille Lacs) Zebra mussel
Oscar (Douglas) Eurasian watermilfoil
Ossawinnamakee (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Otter (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Otter (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil
Owasso (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
P
Parker’s (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Parley (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
PeavEy (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Pelican (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Pelican (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Pelican Brook from the source at Ossawinnamakee Lake to the Pine River (Crow 

Wing) Zebra mussel
Pelican River from Detroit Lake to Muskrat Lake (Becker) Flowering rush
Pelican River from Fish Lake downstream to the Otter Tail River (Otter Tail) Zebra 

Aquatic Invasive Species
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mussel
Peltier (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Pepin (Goodhue) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Phalen (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Pickeral (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Pierson (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Pigeon River downstream of South Fowl Lake (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Pigeon River from the Pigeon Dam Lake's dam to Lake Winnibigoshish (Itasca) Faucet 

snail
Pike (St. Louis) Zebra mussel
Pine (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Pine River from the mouth of Pelican Brook to the Mississippi River (Crow Wing) 

Zebra mussel
Pleasant (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Pokegama (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil
Pond six (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Pond three located in the SE 1/4 of the NE 1/4 of S4, T28N, R22W (Ramsey) Eurasian 

watermilfoil
Powderhorn (Hennepin) Brazillian elodea, Eurasian watermilfoil
Powers (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Prairie (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Pulaski (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Q
Quarry (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
R
Rabbits (Itasca) Faucet snail
Rainy (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Rainy River, from Rainy Lake to Lake of the Woods (Koochiching and Lake of the 
Woods) Spiny waterflea

Ramsey (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Rapid River downstream of Highway 11 to Clementson Bay of the Rainy River (Lake 
of the Woods) Spiny waterflea

Ravens (Itasca) Faucet snail
Ravens Flowage (Itasca) Faucet snail
Ray's (LeSueuer) Eurasian watermilfoil
Rebecca (Dakota) Zebra mussel
Rebecca (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Reitz (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Rice (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Rice (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Riley (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Ripley (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Ripple River between Bay Lake and Tame Fish Lake (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Rock (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Rose (Otter Tail) Zebra mussel
Round (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Round (Hennepin) Brittle naiad, Eurasian watermilfoil
Round (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Round (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Roy (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Royal (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Royal River between Little John and North Fowl (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Rum River (Anoka, Isanti, Mille Lacs, and Sherburne) Zebra mussel

 new
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Aquatic Invasive Species

Rush (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
Ruth (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
S
Saganaga (Cook) Spiny waterflea
Sallie (Becker) Flowering rush
Sand (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil
Sand Point (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Sarah (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Sauk (Todd) Eurasian watermilfoil, Flowering rush
Sauk River, from Juergens Lake to Mud Lake (Todd) Flowering rush
Schmidt (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Schultz (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Schutz (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Second Crow Wing (Hubbard) Faucet snail
Sensky Creek downstream of State Highway 172 (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea
Shakopee (Mille Lacs) Zebra mussel
Shell River from Lower Twin downstream to the Crow Wing River (Hubbard and 

Wadena) Faucet Snail
Silver (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil 
Silver (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Silver Creek downstream of Highway 11 (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea
Snail (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Snake River between Lake Pokegama and Cross Lake (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil
Snelling (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
South Center (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
South Coon (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
South Fowl (Cook) Spiny waterflea
South Lindstrom (Chisago) Eurasian watermilfoil
South Twin (Itasca) Flowering rush
Spectacle (Isanti) Eurasian watermilfoil
Spider (Cass) Zebra mussel
Spoon Creek between Keller and Phalen lakes (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
St. Croix River downstream of the Chisago and Washington County Line	

(Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
St. Croix River downstream of the St. Croix Boomsite Recreation Area at river mile 

25.4 (Washington) Zebra mussel
St. Louis River downstream of the Cloquet River (Carlton and St. Louis)	Spiny  
waterflea

St. Louis River downstream of the Fond du Lac dam (St. Louis) New Zealand mud 
snail, Round goby, Ruffe, VHS, White perch

St. Louis River downstream of the mouth of the White Pine River in St. Louis County 
(St. Louis) Zebra mussel

Steiger (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Stella (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Stone (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Stoney (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Sturgeon (Pine) Eurasian watermilfoil
Sucker (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Sugar (Itasca) Faucet snail
Sugar (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Sunset	 (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Sunset Pond (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Superior (Cook, Lake, and St. Louis) Eurasian watermilfoil, New Zealand mud snail, 

 new

 new

 new
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Round goby, Ruffe, Spiny waterflea, VHS, White perch, Zebra mussel
Susan (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Swan located in the NW 1/4 of the NW 1/4 of S4, T117N, R23W (Hennepin)	Eurasian 

watermilfoil
Swede (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Swift Ditch downstream of Highway 12 (Roseau) Spiny waterflea
Sylvia (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil
T
Tanager (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Tetonka (LeSueuer) Flowering rush
Third River Flowage (Itasca) Faucet snail
Third River downstream of Highway 33 (Itasca) Faucet snail
Thole (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil
Thomas (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Town Line (Cass) Eurasian watermilfoil
Tributaries to Superior (Cook, Lake, and St. Louis) Round goby, Ruffe, VHS, 

White perch
Turtle (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
Twin Lakes (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
U
Union (Polk) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed [lake] (Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Unnamed [quarry] (Steele) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed gravel pit located in S 1/2 of S14, T41N, R21W (Pine) Eurasian 

watermilfoil
Unnamed Lake (Dakota) Flowering rush
Unnamed Lake in Springbrook Nature Center (Anoka) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed pond in the NW 1/4 of S14, T117, R22 (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Unnamed pond in Valley Park (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed wetland located in S33, T117N, R23W (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed wetland located in S20, T115N, R22W (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed wetland known as Heine Pond (Dakota) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed wetland located  in the NE 1/4 of the NE 1/4 of S33, T135, R27 (Crow 

Wing) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland located  in the NE 1/4 of the SW 1/4 of S3T135, R27  (Crow 

Wing) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland located in the NE 1/4 of the NE 1/4 of S33, T31N, R22W 

(Anoka) Flowering rush
Unnamed wetland located in the NE 1/4 of the NE 1/4 of S33, T46, R30	

(Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland located in the NE 1/4 of the SE 1/4 of S2, T46, R30 	

(Crow Wing) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland along Clearwater River (Stearns) Eurasian watermilfoil
Unnamed wetland in NE 1/4 of S20 T117N, R21W (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland in the E 1/2 of S13, T117N R22W (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland in the NW 1/4 of S19, T117N, R21W (Hennepin)	 Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland in the SE 1/4 of S11 and NE 1/4 of S14 T117N R22W 

(Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland in the SW 1/4 of S20, T117N, R21W (Hennepin) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland located  in the NE 1/4 of the SW 1/4  of S2, T46, R30 (Crow 

Wing) Zebra mussel
Unnamed wetland NW 1/4 of S18 T117N, R21W (Hennepin) Zebra mussel

 new
 new
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Upper Gull (Cass) Zebra mussel
Upper Mission (Crow Wing) Eurasian watermilfoil
Upper Prior (Scott) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Upper Sakatah (LeSueuer) Flowering rush
Upper Twin (Hubbard) Faucet snail
V
Vadnais (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil, Zebra mussel
Victoria (Douglas) Zebra mussel
Virginia (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
W
Wabasso (Ramsey) Eurasian watermilfoil
WabAica Creek downstream of State Highway 172 (Lake of the Woods) Spiny waterflea
Waconia (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Warroad River from State Highway 11 downstream of Highway 11 (Roseau) Spiny 
waterflea

Washburn (Cass) Eurasian watermilfoil
Washington (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Wasserman (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Waverly (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Weigand (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
Wells (Rice) Flowering rush
West  Sylvia (Wright) Eurasian watermilfoil
West Twin (St. Louis) Spiny waterflea
Whaletail (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
White Bear (Ramsey and Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
White Pine River (St. Louis) Zebra mussel
Wilmes (Washington) Eurasian watermilfoil
Winnibigoshish (Cass) Faucet snail
Winona (Winona) Eurasian watermilfoil
Winter Road River, downstream of State Highway 172 (Lake of the 
Woods) Spiny waterflea

Wirth (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Wolf (Meeker) Eurasian watermilfoil
Wolfe (Hennepin) Eurasian watermilfoil
Z
Zumbra (Carver) Eurasian watermilfoil
Zumbro (Olmstead) Zebra mussel
Zumbro River downstream of Lake Zumbro (Wabasha) Zebra mussel

Note: Lakes are listed in the county according to the public waters lists. Some 
lakes may be located in more than one county.

Aquatic Invasive Species

 new
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SEASONS and LIMITS 
Inland Waters
• 	All calendar dates are for 2012 unless noted otherwise. 
• 	Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. 
• 	Most species have experimental or special regulations on some waters. 

See pages 33-54.
• 	For Lake Superior, Canada, Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota, and North 

Dakota border water regulations, see pages 29-33, 55-66.
•	Different limits for conservation license apply (see page 29).

continued on next page 

SPECIES				    OPEN SEASON			   POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

WALLEYE				    May 12, 2012-				    6* (Not more than 1 walleye	
and SAUGER				   Feb. 24, 2013				    over 20" in possession)
(either or combined) 								     
		
*(Minimum size limit 15" for walleye on the inland waters of Pool 3 [dam at Hastings 
to railroad tracks on the Minnesota–Wisconsin border]).

NORTHERN PIKE			   May 12 2012-				    3 (Not more than 1 over 30" 	
					     Feb. 24, 2013 				    in possession)

MUSKELLUNGE			   June 2, 2012- 				    1 combined (Minimum 		
including HYBRID			   Dec. 1, 2012				    size 48")	
MUSKELLUNGE 				  
Exception: 1 combined Minimum size 40" on lakes listed below

SEASONS AND LIMITS—INLAND WATERS

LARGEMOUTH			   May 26, 2012- 				    6 	
and SMALLMOUTH		  Feb. 24, 2013 				  
BASS (either or 			   (May 12, 2012-				 
combined) 				    Feb. 24, 2013,				  
					     north and east of 
					     U.S. Hwy. 53 from 								     
					     Duluth to International 
					     Falls and Pelican and Ash	
					     lakes in St. Louis County.)
SMALLMOUTH BASS		  Sept. 10, 2012-				    Catch and Release only
					     Feb. 24, 2013				    (Statewide)

CRAPPIE				    Continuous				    10

Scott CO.
Cedar

Hennepin CO.
Bryant
Bush
Calhoun
Cedar
Crystal
Isles
Nokomis
Weaver

WASHINGTON CO.
Clear
ElmoDAKOTA CO.

Crystal
Orchard

CARVER CO.
Eagle
Pierson
Wasserman

RAMSEY CO.
Gervais
Island
Johanna
Phalen
Silver
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Seasons and Limits—Inland Waters

SEASONS AND LIMITS—INLAND WATERS continued

SPECIES				    OPEN SEASON		 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

SUNFISH* 				    Continuous 				   20 
(either or combined)
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)

ROCK BASS				    Continuous 				   30

WHITE BASS				   Continuous 				   30

Channel and			   Continuous 				   5 (Only 1 fish over 24".
Flathead Catfish 								        Not more than 2 can be
(either or combined)								        flathead.)	

PERCH					     Continuous 				   20 daily and 40 in possession 
											         
BULLHEAD				    Continuous 				   100

WHITEFISH and			   Continuous 				   No limit
UNDER-UTILIZED FISH
Exception: On Leech Lake Indian Reservation whitefish limit 25 and cisco limit 
50. For more information see the DNR Web site.

SMELT					     Continuous 				   No limit

LAKE STURGEON			   Closed		  
or SHOVELNOSE 
STURGEON (including Lake Superior and St. Louis River)
See pages 55, 56, 58, and 65 for other sturgeon waters and regulations. 

PADDLEFISH				   No open season
		
LAKE TROUT 			   May 12, 2012-			   2
Summer, 				    Sept. 30, 2012
statewide 

Winter			    	 Jan. 14, 2012-			   2
Lakes outside or	  		  April 1, 2012			 
partly outside the			   and Jan. 12, 2013-
Boundary Waters	 		  March 31, 2013 
Canoe Area
wilderness (BWCAW) 
includes all of Clearwater,
East Bearskin, Magnetic, 
Saganaga, Seagull, and 
Snowbank

Lakes entirely within			  Dec. 31, 2011-				    2
the BWCAW		  		  April 1, 2012			 
					     Dec. 29, 2012-
					     March 31, 2013



28

2012 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or  1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)

Stream Trout
The following regulations apply only to stream trout (splake, brook, 

brown, and rainbow trout) in inland lakes and streams. They do not 
include lake trout which are listed under Inland Waters (page 27). Lake 
Superior tributaries (pages 29-33) and Experimental and Special 
Regulations (pages 33-54) are also not covered in this section. 

Calendar dates refer to 2012 unless noted otherwise. 
Daily and possession limits are the same.

See page 29 for Conservation License Limits

• Cook County: Gull Lake, Sea Gull River, and Cross River from County 
Rd 12 to Gunflint Lake are closed to fishing April 1-May 25, 2012.

	  	 Walleye	 Bass 	 Muskie
	 2012	 May 12	 May 26	 June 2
	 2013	 May 11	 May25	 June 1
	 2014	 May 10	 May 24	 June 7	

STREAM TROUT	 OPEN SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

STREAMS-Summer
Statewide except 	 April 14-Sept. 30	 5 combined (Not more than 1 	
Houston, Fillmore,		  over 16")
Mower, Dodge, Olmsted, 
Winona, Wabasha, and 
Goodhue counties

Houston, Fillmore, 	 April 1-13	 Catch-and-release only; 		
Mower, Dodge, 		  barbless hooks only
Olmsted, Winona, 	 April 14-Sept. 14	 5 combined (Not more than 1
Wabasha, and 		  over 16")
Goodhue counties	 Sept. 15-Sept. 30	 Catch-and-release only; 		
		  barbless hooks only

STREAMS-Winter	 Jan. 1-March 31	 See listing in experimental and 	
Southeast winter 		  Special Regulations page section 
catch-and-release season 
			 
LAKES-Summer	 May 12-Oct. 31 	 5 combined (Not more than 3
Statewide 		  over 16") 
		
LAKES-Winter	 Jan. 14, 2012- 	 5 combined (Not more than 3  
Statewide	 April 1, 2012 	 over 16") 
except below 	 and Jan. 12, 2013- 
 	 March 31, 2013 
 						    
Becker, Beltrami, 
Cass, Crow Wing, and 
Hubbard (except for 
Blue Lake) counties 

SEASONS AND LIMITS—STREAM TROUT

Winter season closure on lakes in these counties.  
Does not include lake trout.

Opener Dates for Walleye, Bass, and Muskie
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Stream Trout Regulations 
•	Fishing hours for stream trout on inland waters are from one hour 

before sunrise to 11 p.m. 
•	Only one line is allowed winter or summer when fishing on designated 

stream trout lakes and designated trout streams.
•	Possessing live minnows or using them for bait on designated stream 

trout lakes is prohibited. Only dried, frozen, or pickled (brined) 
minnows are allowed. Live leeches are legal to use.

•	Taking of any species, including catch and release angling, in 
designated trout waters during the closed trout season is prohibited.

•	Taking minnows or leeches from designated trout waters, except under 
special permit, is prohibited. 

•	All stream trout must have head, tail, fins, and skin intact when being 
transported.

•	Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in 
designated trout lakes or streams.

•	The list of Designated Trout Lakes and Streams can be found on the 
DNR Web site.

Lake Superior and Its Tributaries
The following regulations have been expanded to clarify for anglers 

the fishing seasons and limits for Lake Superior and the streams and riv-
ers flowing into it. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 
All other species not named are subject to inland regulations.
Posted upstream boundaries on Lake Superior tributaries generally 

correspond to the areas accessible to anadromous trout and salmon. The 
boundaries, as well as fish sanctuary areas, are marked with signs. (For 
boundary locations, see maps on DNR Web site titled “Trout Angling 
Opportunities in Northeastern Minnesota.”)

Calendar dates refer to 2012 unless noted otherwise.
See below for Conservation License Limits.

Seasons and Limits—Stream Trout

How to figure your bag limit for 
a Conservation License
•	 Applies to bag limits established 

for inland lakes, experimental and 
special management waters, and 
border waters.

•	 Does not apply to size restrictions, 
but may only have up to the cor-
responding bag limit. For example: 
5 fish with 3 over 10 inches for a 
Conservation License would be 2 
fish with only 2 over 10 inches. 

1 fish 
2 fish
3 fish 
4 fish
5 fish
6 fish
8 fish
10 fish
20 fish
25 fish
30 fish
40 fish
50 fish
100 fish

Catch-and-release
1 fish
1 fish 
2 fish
2 fish
3 fish
4 fish
5 fish
10 fish
12 fish
15 fish
20 fish
25 fish
50 fishC

ur
re

nt
 d

ai
ly

 o
r 

po
ss

es
si

o
n 

 
ba

g 
lim

it

C
o

ns
er

va
ti

o
n 

da
ily

 o
r 

po
ss

es
si

o
n 

ba
g 

lim
it



30

2012 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or  1-888-646-6367 (MINNDNR)

O
pe

n 
Se

as
on

Po
ss

es
si

on
 L

im
it

A
gg

re
ga

te
 L

im
it

 w
it

h 
B

ro
w

n 
an

d 
cl

ip
pe

d

  R
ai

nb
ow

 T
ro

ut

Si
ze

 L
im

it

O
pe

n 
Se

as
on

Po
ss

es
si

on
 L

im
it

A
gg

re
ga

te
 L

im
it

 w
it

h 
B

ro
w

n 
an

d 
B

ro
ok

  T
ro

ut
, a

nd
 S

pl
ak

e

Si
ze

 L
im

it

size limit: 16"

size limit: 16"

Clipped Fish*	 Continuous	 3	 10	 Minimum

Unclipped Fish	 Continuous	

Lake Superior and other tributaries
below posted boundaries (including
St. Louis River below Minnesota 
Highway 23 bridge)

Clipped Fish*	 Continuous	 3	 5	 Minimum

Unclipped Fish	 Continuous

Lake Superior tributaries above	 April 14-
posted boundaries	 Sept. 30
				  

 SEASONS AND LIMITS—Lake Superior and Its Tributaries

Lake Superior tributaries	 April 14-	 10	 10	 Only 1
in Carlton County (including	 Sept. 30			   over 16"
Nemadji River system and  
all its tributaries)

St. Louis River and its	 April 14-	 5	 5	 Only 1
tributaries upstream of	 Sept. 30			   over 16"
Fond du Lac Dam

Lake Superior and other	 April 14-	 1	 5	 Minimum
tributaries (not mentioned	 Sept. 3			   size limit
above) below posted boundaries				    20"
(including St. Louis River below
the Minnesota Highway 23 bridge)

Other Lake Superior tributaries	 April 14-	 10	 10	 Only 1
above posted boundaries	 Sept. 30			   over 16"

Brook Trout and Splake combined

Rainbow Trout, including Steelhead

Lake Superior tributaries in Carlton
County (including Nemadji River
system and all its tributaries)

Catch-and-release only

Catch-and-release only

Catch-and-release only

*Clipped fish have their adipose fin removed and must show a healed scar (see illustration on page 32).
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Brown Trout

*Refer to Inland Waters (page 26-27) for all species not listed in this section.

Seasons and Limits—Stream Trout

 SEASONS AND LIMITS—Lake Superior and Its Tributaries

Lake Superior tributaries	 April 14-	 5	 10	 Only 1
in Carlton County (including	 Sept. 30			   over 16"
Nemadji River system and  
all its tributaries)

St. Louis River and its	 April 14-	 5	 5	 Only 1
tributaries upstream of	 Sept. 30			   over 16"
Fond du Lac Dam

Lake Superior and other tributaries	 Continuous	 5	 5	 Only 1
below posted boundaries				    over 16"
(including St. Louis River below the				    Min. size 
Minnesota Highway 23 bridge)				    limit 10"

Lake Superior tributaries above	 April 14-	 5	 10	 Only 1
posted boundaries	 Sept. 30			   over 16"

SEASONS FOR LAKE SUPERIOR AND ITS TRIBUTARIES  
BELOW POSTED BOUNDARIES*

SPECIES	 OPEN SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
�
LAKE TROUT	 Dec. 1, 2011-Oct 7, 2012	 3 
	 Dec. 1, 2012-Oct. 6, 2013

CHINOOK,	 Continuous	 5 combined, (only 1 can be 	
COHO, PINK,		  an Atlantic salmon) minimum		
ATLANTIC		  size limit 10"			 
SALMON		
	  
WALLEYE	 May 12, 2012-March 1, 2013	 2 (minimum size limit 15") 

NORTHERN	 May 12, 2012-March 1, 2013	 2 
PIKE
	
SMELT	 Continuous	 No Limit
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Lake Superior Regulations
•	 Two lines may be used on Lake Superior, except only one is allowed within 

100 yards from where a tributary stream enters the lake. Also, only one line 
may be used in tributary streams.

•	 Anglers are restricted to a single hook only—no treble hooks—on  
Lake Superior tributary streams and rivers up to the posted boundaries. 
Exceptions are the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton counties) and the 
Pigeon River (Cook County).

•	 Angling hours on Lake Superior tributaries below the posted boundaries are 
from one hour before sunrise to one hour after sunset. Exceptions are the St. 
Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton counties) and the Pigeon River (Cook 
County). 

•	 Special regulations on North Shore streams include posted sanctuaries on the 
French River, Knife, Little Knife, Devil Track, and Kadunce Rivers and on 
Gauthier Creek. (See Experimental and Special Regulations, pages 33-54.)

•	 Unclipped steelhead (rainbow trout) must be immediately released on Lake 
Superior and its tributaries. A clipped adipose fin, used to identify stocked 
trout, must show a healed scar (see diagram below). Marking, tagging, or 
finclipping fish and then releasing them without a DNR permit is unlawful.

•	 From the mouth of Chester Creek to the outermost portion of the northwest 
arm of the Duluth ship channel is closed to fishing from boats from Oct. 1 
through Nov. 30.

•	While on the Minnesota waters of Lake 
Superior, persons may possess only one daily 
limit of fish.

•	 Anyone fishing on the Minnesota waters of 
Lake Superior must possess a Minnesota 
angling license and trout stamp validation 
except as listed on page 6.

•	 A guide’s license is required to operate a charter boat for the purpose of 
guiding or assisting anglers on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior and 
the St. Louis River estuary.

•	 A person cannot fish on Wisconsin waters of Lake Superior with a 
Minnesota angling license.

•	 Smelt may be taken night or day. Artificial lights may not be used to lure or 
attract smelt. There is no limit on smelt, and smelt from Lake Superior may 
be bought or sold. However, live smelt may not be possessed or transported. 

•	 Dip nets may be used for taking smelt. Minnow seines not more than 25 feet 
long or 4 feet deep may be used to take smelt in the St. Louis River and in 
Lake Superior when more than 100 feet from the mouth of  
any stream. 

•	 Taking of smelt at any time is prohibited in the following streams tributary 
to Lake Superior:  French River, Sucker River, Little Sucker River (St. Louis 
County); Silver Creek, Encampment Creek, Crow Creek (Lake County).

•	 On Lake Superior tributaries below the posted boundaries, a fish that is 
hooked in any part of the body, except the mouth, must be immediately 
returned to the water.

Healed
scar

Adipose fin
(no rays)

Clipped Adipose Fin
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Seasons and Limits—Lake Superior and Its Tributaries

SPECIAL REGULATIONS
Intensive Management Lakes

A number of lakes in Minnesota are managed under both treaties and DNR 
regulations. Angling harvest on these intensive management lakes may change 
throughout the year to maintain sustainable fish populations. If regulations 
change, information will be posted at public boat ramps, the DNR Web site, and 
in newspapers. 

Different limits apply for Conservation License see page 29.

Mille Lacs Lake including tributaries to posted boundaries (Aitkin, 
Crow Wing, and Mille Lacs counties). No one may fish for any species or 
possess fishing gear on the lake from 10 p.m.-6 a.m. starting at 10 p.m. on 
May 14 and ending at 12:01 a.m. on June 11. Closed to winter spearing for 
all species. Fish reduced to possession may not be culled or live-well sorted. 
Northern pike: All 27-40" must be immediately released. Only one over 
40" allowed in possession. Tullibee (cisco): possession limit 10. Walleye: 
Restrictions or changes will be posted at public access sites and on DNR 
Web site. Smallmouth bass: all less than 21" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit one. 

Red Lake, Upper including Shotley Brook and Tamarack River 
(Beltrami Co.). Northern pike: all from 26-44" must be immediately released. 
Only one over 44" allowed in possession. Walleye: Restrictions or changes will 
be posted at public access sites and on the DNR Web site. 
•	 A person’s statewide bag limit may not include more than current daily bag 

limit of Red Lake walleye.
•	 Those portions of Red Lake located within the Red Lake Indian Reservation 

are closed to non band members except by special authorization of the tribal 
council.

•	 The fish carcass retention requirements for these water bodies are still in 
effect–see page 10.

National Wildlife Refuges may have differing regulations. Please 
check with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Voyageurs National Park In response to the threat of nonnative/AIS 
species introductions, the park only allows artificial bait in the interior lakes and 
prohibits the use of privately owned watercraft and the landing of float planes 
in these lakes. These regulations do not apply to Rainy, Kabetogama, Namakan, 
Crane, and Sand Point Lakes. Contact Voyageurs National Park for more infor-
mation.

•	 No fish taken from Lake Superior or its tributaries below the posted 
boundaries, or the St. Louis River downstream of the Fond Du Lac dam, 
may be used as bait, except cisco or smelt taken from Lake Superior can be 
used: 1) fresh or frozen in Lake Superior or its tributaries below the posted 
boundaries; or 2) on other waterbodies, but only after being preserved under 
a DNR-issued bait preservation permit. Permit applications are available 
from the DNR, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155-4020.

 new

 new
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Experimental and Special Regulations
These regulations differ from statewide or border water regulations for 

those species identified and take precedence. Unless otherwise specifically 
mentioned, all general regulations, seasons, limits, border water regula-
tions, possession, and transportation apply to these waters. Please check 
regulation booklets from other states and other sections of this booklet.

Regulations are posted at access sites. Your compliance is needed to 
ensure that these regulations are successful. The regulations help improve 
fishing quality, protect unique fisheries, provide additional fishing opportu-
nities, or protect threatened species. The DNR regularly evaluates regula-
tions to determine their success. 

Individual Waters
LAKES (Make sure to also check pages 26-27, 29-32, 48-54, 55-66) 
Different limits apply for Conservation License see page 29.

A
Ada Lake (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
AGNES LAKE (Douglas County) bass: All 12" and larger must be 

immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.
Aitkin Lake including area known as Aitkin Flowage (Aitkin 

County): see Big Sandy Lake (page 35).
Alexander Lake (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 

must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
Alice Lake (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 22-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession 
limit nine. 

Ann Lake (Carver County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 
36" allowed in possession. 

Annie Battle Lake (Otter Tail County) Use of gas and electric 
motors, aqua-views, augers, and other electronic fish-finding 
devices is prohibited. sunfish: Possession limit five. northern pike 
and largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. black crappie: Minimum 
size limit 11". Possession limit five. 

Annie Battle Lake Inlet to Molly Stark Lake and Outlet 
to Blanche Lake (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
northern pike and largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. black 
crappie: Minimum size limit 11". Possession limit five. 

Ash Lake (St. Louis County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

B
BALM LAKE (Beltrami County) bass: All 12" and larger must be 

immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
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BALSAM LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Bass Lake near Cohasset (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
Bass Lake near Burtrum (Todd County) north of Long Lake. walleye: 

Possession limit two. largemouth bass: Possession limit one. northern 
pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one. 

Basswood Lake (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Protected 
slot applies to all Minnesota waters of Basswood Lake. 

Battle LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: possession limit 10. walleye: 
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in 
possession. 

Battle Lake, West (Otter Tail County) northern pike: All 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

Bear Creek Reservoir [Chester Woods] (Olmsted County) See 
Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 44.

Beltrami Lake (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

BIG BASS LAKE (Beltrami County) bass: All must be immediately 
released. 

BIG BIRCH (Todd and Stearns counties) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

Big Lake (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Big Carnelian Lake (Washington County) northern pike: All 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

Big Fish Lake (Stearns County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

BIG MANTRAP (Hubbard County) crappie: Minimum size limit 
10". Possession limit five. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. Only one over 36" allowed in possession.

Big Sand LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: All from 20-28" must be 
immediately released. One over 28" allowed in possession. 

Big Sandy Lake and connected waters (Aitkin County): Aitkin 
Lake including area known as Aitkin Flowage, Davis Lake including 
bay known as Steamboat Lake, Flowage Lake, Sandy River Lake, 
Prairie River from confluence with Tamarack River downstream to 
confluence with Big Sandy Lake, Sandy River from State Highway 
210 downstream to confluence with the Mississippi River, and West 
Savanna River from County Highway 14 downstream to confluence 
with the Prairie River. Sunfish: Possession limit five. Walleye: All less 
than 14" or greater than 18" must be immediately released. One over 
26" allowed in possession. 
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Big Stone Lake (Big Stone County) walleye: Possession limit four. 
One 20" or larger allowed in possession. crappie: Possession limit 10. 
sunfish: Possession limit 10. 

Big Swan Lake (Todd County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

Birch Lake Reservoir (St. Louis and Lake counties) northern pike: 
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

BLACKDUCK LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: possession limit five. 
Blackwater Lake (Cass County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: 

All 12" and larger must be immediately released. 
Black Bass Lake (Mille Lacs County) Use of gas or electric augers, 

aqua-views, and other electronic fish-finding devices is prohibited. 
largemouth and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only. northern 
pike: Catch-and-release only. sunfish: Possession limit five. 

Blueberry Lake (Wadena County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Bowstring Lake including Bowstring River downstream to 
County Road 35 bridge (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 22-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
Possession limit nine. 

C
Carnelian Lake (Stearns County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
CasCADE Lake (Cascade Ponds) (Olmsted County) see Rochester-

Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 44. 
Cedar Lake (Morrison County) walleye: Possession limit two. black 

crappie: Possession limit five. northern pike: Possession limit one. 
Minimum size limit 40". 

Center Lake, North and South (Chisago County) northern pike: 
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

Charley Lake (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing. 
Child Lake (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
Chisago Lake (Chisago County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger 

must be immediately released 
CHRISTINA LAKE (Douglas County) Closed to fishing.
Clear Lake (Waseca County) largemouth bass and smallmouth bass: 

Catch-and-release only. 
Clear Lake (Washington County) Walleye: Minimum size limit 17".  

Possession limit three. 
Clitherall Lake (Otter Tail County) smallmouth bass: Catch-and-

release only. 
COON LAKE (Anoka County) walleye: Minimum size limit 17"
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Coon-Sandwick Lake (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

COTTONWOOD LAKE (Grant County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
walleye: possession limit three. 

Crane Lake including Vermilion Gorge (St. Louis County) 
walleye: All from 17-28" must be immediately released. One over 28" 
allowed in possession. sauger/walleye: Possession limit 6 combined only 4 
may be walleye. 

Crawford Lake (Wright County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-
release sunfish: Possession limit five. crappie: Possession limit five. 
walleye: Possession limit two. perch: Possession limit 10. 

Crooked Lake (Anoka County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 
only. 

CROOKED LAKE (Stearns County) bass: All 12" and larger must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

Crow Wing Lakes, 5th and 6th (Hubbard County) northern pike:  
All from 24-36" must be immediately released.  One over 36" allowed 
in possession.

Crow Wing Lakes, 8th, 9th, and 10th (Hubbard County) northern 
pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one. 

D
Davis Lake (Aitkin County): see Big Sandy Lake (page 35). 
Deep Lake (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing. 
DEER LAKE (Beltrami County) bass: All must be immediately returned to 

the water. northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately 
released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

DEER LAKE near Effie (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. 

DeMontreville Lake (Washington County) largemouth bass: 
Catch-and-release only. 

DIXON LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit five.
DYERS LAKE (Cook County) crappie: Possession limit five. sunfish: 

Possession limit five. 
E
Elephant Lake (St. Louis County) northern pike: Minimum size 

limit 40". Possession limit one. 
Elk Lake (Clearwater County) muskellunge: catch-and-release only. 

northern pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one. 
EUNICE LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit five. black 

crappie: Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. largemouth and 
smallmouth bass: All from 12-20" must be immediately released. One 
over 20" allowed in possession. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.   

 new
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F
FARM LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. walleye: 
(includes the NORTH BRANCH KAWISHIWI RIVER from Farm 
Lake 4.8 miles east to the long portage) All from 17-26" must be 
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 

Farm Island Lake (Aitkin County) walleye: All from 16-19" must be 
immediately released. 

Fish Trap Lake (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Fladmark Lake (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
northern pike and bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie: Possession 
limit five. 

Flour Lake (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must 
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

Flowage Lake (Aitkin County): see Big Sandy Lake (page 35). 
Foster Arend Lake (Olmsted County) trout: Continuous season. 

Possession limit three. One over 16" allowed in possession. Sunfish, 
black and white crappie, yellow perch, largemouth bass, northern pike:  
see Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 44. 

Fox Lake (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

FRANKLIN LAKE (Otter Tail County) crappie: Minimum size limit 10". 
Possession limit five. 

G
GAMEHAVEN (Boy Scout Lake WILLOW RESERVOIR NO. 4) 

(Olmsted County) See Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes on 
page 44.

Garden Lake (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. walleye: All 
from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" is allowed in 
possession. 

George Lake (Hubbard County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Gilbert Lake (Crow Wing County) crappie: Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit five. 

Girl Lake (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Goodrich Lake (Crow Wing County) crappie: Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit five. 

Goose Lake (Chisago County) crappie: Possession limit five. walleye: 
Minimum size limit 17".  

Grave Lake (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
Green Lake (Chisago County) walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 
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GULL LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
Gull Lake (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit is six. One over 

19½" allowed in possession. 
H
HENRY LAKE (Douglas County) bass: All 12" and larger must be 

immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
Horseshoe Lake (Cass County) near Backus. crappie: Possession 

limit five. largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must 
be immediately released. northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". 
Possession limit one. sunfish: Possession limit five. walleye: Possession 
limit three. 

Hovde Lake (Cass County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. 
Hubert lake (Crow Wing County) largemouth and smallmouth 

bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately released. 
Hungry Jack Lake (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All 12" and 

larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
I
Inguadona Lake and connected rice lake (Cass County)  

sunfish: Possession limit ten. crappie: Possession limit five.
Island lake near Northome (Itasca County) northern pike: All 

from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One 
over 26" allowed in possession. 

Itasca Lake (Clearwater County) crappie: Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit 10.

J
Jane Lake (Washington County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 

only. 
Jewett Lake (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: 

All 12" and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed  
in possession. 

K
KABEKONA LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: All from 18-26" must be 

immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. Possession 
limit four. 

Kabetogama Lake including Sullivan Bay and Ash River 
to Ash River Falls (St. Louis County) walleye:  All from 17-28" must 
be immediately released. One over 28 allowed in possession. sauger/
walleye: Possession limit 6 combined, only 4 may be walleye. 

KALMAR RESERVOIR (Olmsted County) See Rochester–Olmsted 
County Area Lakes on page 44.

Knife Lake (Kanabec County) walleye: All from 18-24" must 
be immediately released. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
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Kraut Lake (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 
lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

L
Lac Qui Parle Lake upstream to Marsh Lake Dam, including the 

Watson Sag upstream to the diversion dam (Lac Qui Parle and Chippewa 
counties). walleye: Possession limit four. One 20" or larger allowed in 
possession. 

Lake of the Woods including the Rainy River from the mouth 
upstream to the dam in International Falls, Baudette and Winter Road 
Rivers (Lake of the Woods and Koochiching counties), and Warroad 
River (Roseau County). northern pike: Possession limit is three, with 
one over 40". All from 30-40" must be immediately released. walleye 
and sauger: See page 57. 

Lake Thirteen (Cass County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger 
must be immediately released. 

Leech Lake (Cass County) walleye: All from 18-26" must be 
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. Possession 
limit four. (See page 27 for whitefish.)

Lester Lake (Cass County) all species: Catch and release only.
LIDA LAKE SOUTH and NORTH including connecting Mud Lake 

(Otter Tail County) crappie: Minimum size limit is 11". walleye: All 
from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" is allowed in 
possession. 

LIND LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit five.  
Little Boy Lake (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 

be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession
Little Cascade Lake (Cook County) northern pike: All from 

24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

LITTLE CORMORANT LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession 
limit five. black crappie:  Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. 
walleye: Minimum size limit 17".  

LITTLE Floyd Lake (Becker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Little Mantrap Lake (Hubbard County) largemouth bass: All 
from 12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20” allowed in 
possession. 

Little McDonald Lake INCLUDING KERBS LAKE (Otter Tail 
County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One 
over 26" allowed in possession. 

Little Sauk Lake (Todd County) walleye: Possession limit is two. 
largemouth bass: Possession limit is one. sunfish: Possession limit is five. 

 new
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crappie: Possession limit is five. yellow perch: Possession limit is 10.  
Little SplithAND Lake (Itasca County) sunfish: Posession limit five.
LITTLE TOAD LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 

northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 
36" allowed in possession.  

Little Vermilion Lake including Loon River to Loon River 
Falls portage (St. Louis County). walleye: All from 17-28" must be 
immediately released. One over 28" allowed in possession.  
sauger/walleye: Possession limit 6 combined, only 4 may be walleye.

Little Woman Lake (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Long Lake near Glen (Aitkin County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

LONG LAKE near Hawick (Kandiyohi County) largemouth bass: All 
14" and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in 
possession. 

LONG LAKE (Stearns County near Clearwater) bass: All 12" and larger 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.

Long Lake near Bertrum (Todd County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Loon Lake (Cook County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". 
Possession limit one. 

M
Mandall Lake (Chisago County) crappie: Possession limit five. 

walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 
MANOR WOODS POND (Country Club Pond) (Olmsted County) See 

Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 44.
Maple Lake (Douglas County) crappie: Possession limit five, with a 

minimum size limit of 10". 
Mary Lake (Hubbard County) bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie: 

Possession limit five. sunfish: Possession limit five. 
MAUD LAKE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit five. black 

crappie: Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. largemouth and 
smallmouth bass: All from 12-20" must be immediately released. One 
over 20" allowed in possession. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.   

Medicine Lake (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Melissa Lake (Becker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

MIDDLE LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth bass: All from 12-20" 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.   

MILLE LACS (See page 33.)
Mink-SOMERS Lake near Maple Lake (Wright County) sunfish: 

 new
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Possession limit five. crappie: Possession limit five. walleye: Minimum 
size limit 17". Possession limit three. largemouth bass: All from 12-20" 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One 
over 36" allowed in possession. Possession or use of live minnows is 
prohibited. 

Minnewashta Lake (Carver County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-
release only. 

Minnie Belle Lake (Meeker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Mission Lake, Lower and Upper (Crow Wing County) northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. 

Mitchell Lake (Crow Wing County) northern pike: Minimum size 
limit 40". Possession limit one. 

Moccasin Lake (Cass County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 
only. 

Moody Lake (Crow Wing County) Closed to fishing. 
Moose Lake near Deer River (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" 

must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 
Moose Lake (Todd County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must 

be immediately released. 
Movil Lake (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
Mule Lake (Cass County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" 

and larger must be immediately released. walleye: Possession limit three.
N
Namakan Lake (St. Louis County) walleye: All from 17-28" must be 

immediately released. One over 28" allowed in possession. 
sauger/walleye: Possession limit 6 combined, only 4 may be walleye.

North Shady Lake (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. 
Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of 
bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

North Star Lake including Little North Star Lake (Itasca 
County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
One over 36" allowed in possession. 

NORTH TURTLE LAKE (Otter Tail County) bass: All 12" and larger must 
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. crappie: 
Minimum size limit 10". 

North Twin Lake (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Norway Lake (Otter Tail County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 
only. walleye: Possession limit three. crappie: Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit five. yellow perch: Possession limit 10. 
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O
Olson Lake (Washington County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 

only. 
Osakis and little osakis Lakes (Douglas and Todd counties) 

walleye: Minimum size limit 15". 
Otter Tail Lake (Otter Tail County) northern pike: Minimum size 

limit 30". Possession limit one.
Ox Yoke Lake (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
Ozawindib Lake (Clearwater County) bass: All 12" and larger must 

be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. crappie: 
Minimum size limit 10".

P
Peanut Lake (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 

lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

PEARL LAKE (Stearns County) walleye: Possession limit three. Minimum 
size limit 17". northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. One over 36" allowed in possession.

Pelican Lake (St. Louis County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: 
All from 14-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed 
in possession. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

PICKEREL LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: possession limit 10. walleye: 
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in 
possession. 

Pickerel Lake (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth 
bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" 
allowed in possession. 

PIERZ LAKE (Fish) (Morrison County) largemouth bass: All 12" and 
larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

Pimushe Lake (Beltrami County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
Pine Lake, Big and Little (Otter Tail County) walleye: All from 

18-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 
Pleasant Lake (Ramsey Co.) Closed to fishing.
Pleasant Lake (Stearns County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
Portage Lake North of Ten Mile Lake (Cass County) largemouth 

and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only. 
Prairie Lake (St. Louis County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 

30". Possession limit one. 
Q
Quarry Hill Nature Center POND (Olmsted County) See 

Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 44.
R
Rabbit Lakes, Big and East Big (Crow Wing County) northern 
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pike: From 24" to 36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. 

Rabour Lake (Chisago County) crappie: Possession limit five. 
walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 

Rachel Lake and Little Rachel Lake (Douglas County) 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 
36" allowed in possession.

Rainy Lake including the Rainy River above the dam at International 
Falls, all of Rainy Lake to the dam at Kettle Falls, Black Bay including 
Gold Portage below the rapids, all of the Rat Root River, and Rat 
Root Lake (Koochiching and St. Louis counties) walleye and sauger: 
Possession limit eight (not more than four can be walleye). Walleye from 
17-28" must be immediately released; One walleye over 28" allowed in 
possession.) 

RED LAKE (See page 33)
RED WING POTTERY POND (Goodhue County) trout: Continuous 

season. Possession limit three. One over 16" allowed in possession.  
Rice Lake and connected inguadona (Cass County) sunfish: 

Possession limit ten. crappie: Possession limit five.
Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes (Olmsted 

County) includes:  Bear Creek Reservoir (Chester 
Woods), Cascade Lake (Cascade Ponds), Foster Arend 
Lake, Gamehaven Lake (Boy Scout Lake or Willow Reservoir 
No. 4), Kalmar Reservoir, Quarry Hill Nature 
Center Pond, Manor Woods Pond (Country Club Pond), 
Silver Lake, Silver Creek Reservoir, Willow CREEK 
Reservoir. The daily and possession limits for the following species 
apply to the waters listed above as a whole, that is, only one daily and 
possession limit may be taken from the group of waters that comprise 
the Rochester–Olmsted County Area Lakes. Sunfish, black and white 
crappie, yellow perch: combined possession limit 10, and only 5 
may be black or white crappie. Largemouth or smallmouth bass: 
possession limit one. Northern pike: daily and possession limit one 
applies collectively to a subset of the Rochester-Olmsted County lakes: 
Cascade Lake, Game Haven Lake, Manor wood, 
Silver Lake, Silver Creek Reservoir

Rogers Lake (Crow Wing County) crappie: Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit five. 

Round Lake (Crow Wing County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 
30". Possession limit one. 

Round Lake near Squaw Lake including the Popple River 
downstream to State Highway Bridge 46 (Itasca County) walleye: 
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed 
in possession. northern pike: All from 22-36" must be immediately 
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released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession limit nine. 
Rush Lake, East and West (Chisago County) northern pike: All 

from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

S
Saganaga Lake (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit six. One 

over 19½" allowed in possession. 
Sallie Lake (Becker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 

be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.
Sanburn Lake (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit 10.
Sand Lake including connecting Birds Eye Lake, Little 

Sand Lake, Portage Lake, and Bowstring River 
upstream to County Road 35 bridge and downstream to mouth of 
Rice Lake(Itasca County) northern pike: All from 22-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession 
limit nine.

SAND LAKE (Lake County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
Sand Point Lake (St. Louis County) walleye: All from 17-28" must 

be immediately released. One over 28" allowed in possession. sauger/
walleye: Possession limit 6 combined, only 4 may be walleye.

Sandy River Lake (Aitkin County): see Big Sandy Lake (page 35).
Sewell Lake (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: 

All 12" and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed 
in possession. 

Shamineau Lake (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Silver Creek Reservoir (Olmsted County) See Rochester–
Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 44.

Silver Lake (Olmsted County) See Rochester–Olmsted County Area 
Lakes on page 44.

Sissabagamah Lake (Aitkin County) northern pike: All from 
20-30" must be immediately released. One over 30" allowed in 
possession. 

SOUTH FARM LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. 

South Lindstrom Lake (Chisago County) largemouth bass: All 
12" and larger must be immediately released. 

SOUTH TWIN (Beltrami County) bass: All must be immediately released. 
Spider Lake (Hubbard County) crappie: Minimum size limit 10". 
SPIDER LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
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Splithand lake (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be 
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. black crappie: 
Possession limit five. sunfish: possession limit five.

Square Lake (Washington County) trout: Catch-and-release from May 
12 through June 9 and from October 1 through October 31. Remainder of 
the summer and winter seasons the possession limit for trout is two. 

Squash Lake (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 
lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

St. Olaf Lake (Waseca County) northern pike: Minimum size 
limit 30". Possession limit one. 

Star Lake (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
Stieger Lake (Carver County) northern pike and largemouth bass: 

Catch-and-release only. 
Stony Lake (Cass County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be 

immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
Stuart Lake (Otter Tail County) black crappie: Minimum size limit 

10". 
Sturgeon Lake (Pine County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 

be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession
Sugar Lake (Wright County) crappie: Possession limit five. northern 

pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. 

Swan lake (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be 
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 

Sylvan Lake (Cass County) near Pillager. crappie: Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit five. 

SYLVIA LAKE, East and West (Wright County) northern pike: 
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession.

T
Ten Mile Lake (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
Ten Mile Lake, North and South (Otter Tail County) largemouth 

and smallmouth bass: Minimum size limit 21". Possession limit one. 
Thompson Lake (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. 

Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of 
bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

Three Island Lake (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Thrush Lake (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 
lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

Tomato Lake (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 
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lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

Trout lake Near Coleraine (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" 
must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 

Turnip Lake (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 
lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

TURTLE LAKE (Itasca County) smallmouth bass: All from 12-20" must 
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

Turtle Lake (Ramsey County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 
only. 

Turtle, Big and Little Lake (Beltrami County) northern pike: 
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

Turtle River Lake (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

Twentyone Lake (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
northern pike and bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie: Possession 
limit five. 

Two Island Lake (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All 12" and 
larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

V
Venstrom LAKE (Otter Tail County) crappie: Minimum size limit 11". 

walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. 

Vermilion Lake (St. Louis County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
walleye: All from 18-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. Possession limit four. 

W
Wabedo Lake (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
Waconia Lake (Carver County) walleye: Minimum size 16". 
WHITE IRON LAKE (St. Louis and Lake counties) northern pike: All 

from 24-36" must be immediately released. Only one over 36" allowed 
in possession. walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. 
Only one over 26" allowed in possession. 

Wilkinson Lake (Anoka and Ramsey counties) Closed to fishing.
Willow Creek Reservoir (Olmsted County) See Rochester-

Olmsted County Area Lakes on page 44.
Winnibigoshish Lake and connected waters (Beltrami, Cass, Itasca 

counties): Mississippi River to Knutson Dam, Third River Flowage 
to Little Dixon Lake, Pigeon River to Pigeon Lake Dam, First River, 
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Egg Lake through Cut Foot Sioux Lake, Raven Flowage to Raven 
Lake, and Sugar Lake. walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately 
released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 

Woman Lake (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

STREAMS and Rivers  
(Make sure to check pages 26-27, 29-32, 34-48, 55-66.)

	 Different limits apply for Conservation License see page 29.
A
Ash River: See Kabetogama Lake page 39. 
B
Baudette River See Lake of the Woods page 40. 
Beaver Creek (Wabasha and Winona counties) winter: Catch-and-

release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire stream, a 6.3‑mile posted 
section from the mouth to the source. All hooks must be barbless. 

Beaver Creek, East (Houston County) trout: All from 12-16" must 
be immediately released on the entire stream (Beaver Creek Valley State 
Park). winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire 
stream (Beaver Creek Valley State Park). All hooks must be barbless 
during winter season. 

Beaver Creek, West (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31, on a 1.9-mile posted section from the point 
where West Beaver Creek joins East Beaver Creek in Beaver Creek Valley 
State Park upstream to the posted boundary. All hooks must be barbless. 

Bee Creek (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout 
Jan. 1-March 31, on a 1.6-mile posted section from the Minnesota State 
Line in Bee, upstream to the posted boundary at a driveway crossing. All 
hooks must be barbless. 

Belle Creek (Goodhue County) trout: Catch-and-release on a 7.3 mile 
posted section from the confluence with the Cannon River upstream to 
Hwy 19. 

Bowstring River: See Bowstring Lake (page 36) and Sand Lake 
(page 45).

C
Camp Creek (Fillmore County) trout: catch-and-release on a 2.7-mile 

posted section from 0.8 miles above the confluence with the Root River, 
South Branch upstream 2.7 miles. Artificial lures and flies only. Note: 
On the third Saturday in May statewide regulations apply to the posted 
section of the stream. winter: catch-and-release for trout from Jan. 
1-March 31, on posted section from mouth upstream 3½ miles. All hooks 
must be barbless during the winter season. 
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Canfield Creek (South Branch Creek) (Fillmore County) trout: All 
from 12-16" must be immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial 
lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 
on the entire section (Forestville State Park). All hooks must be barbless. 

Coolridge Creek (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 0.13-mile posted section from Pine Creek to 
the posted boundary. All hooks must be barbless. 

Crooked Creek (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 6.4-mile posted section from the first 
township bridge 1 mile upstream of Freeburg to the posted boundary 
near the source, 1½ miles upstream of the uppermost Hwy. 249 bridge 
crossing. All hooks must be barbless 

Crooked Creek, South Fork (Houston County) winter: Catch-
and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1½-mile posted section from 
the junction with Crooked Creek to the posted boundary downstream of 
the reservoir. All hooks must be barbless. 

D
Daley Creek (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout 

Jan. 1-March 31 on a 2½-mile posted section from the Hwy. 16 crossing 
upstream to the posted boundary at the fourth stream crossing. All hooks 
must be barbless. 

Devil Track River (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Mile 1.1 to Mile 
1.6 open to fishing from June 1-August 31. 

Diamond Creek (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout 
Jan. 1-March 31 on a 5.25-mile posted section from third stream crossing 
upstream of the Hwy. 16 bridge to the source of both branches. All hooks 
must be barbless. 

Duschee Creek (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout 
Jan. 1-March 31 on the posted section from mouth upstream  
5½-miles. All hooks must be barbless 

E
Eagle Creek (Scott County) trout: Catch-and-release only.
F
Ferguson Creek (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for 

trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1.25-mile posted section beginning where 
Ferguson Creek enters Rush Creek and continuing upstream to the posted 
boundary at the spring source. All hooks must be barbless. 

First river: See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 47). 
Forestville Creek [North Branch Creek] (Fillmore County) trout: 

All from 12-16" must be immediately released on the entire stream. 
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire stream. 
All hooks must be barbless during winter season. 

french river: (St. Louis County) Fish sanctuary: Lake Superior to the 
new Hwy. 61 are closed to fishing.
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G
Garvin Brook (Winona County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 

immediately released from the Hwy. 14 crossing to the source. Artificial 
lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 
on a 1-mile posted section from Farmers Park to the end of State Forest 
land. All hooks must be barbless. 

Gauthier Creek (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Entire stream open 
to fishing from June 1-August 31 only. 

Gribben Creek (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only. 
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1- March 31 on a 3.8-mile 
posted section from the Hwy. 16 bridge to the source. All hooks must be 
barbless during winter season. 

H
Hay Creek (Goodhue County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 

immediately released on a 4-mile posted section from 325th Street 
downstream. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 7.6-mile posted section, from 325th Street 
bridge to the boundary of State Forest land in Section 12. All hooks must 
be barbless. 

Hemmingway Creek (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 0.8-mile posted from Pine Creek to the posted 
boundary where the State Forest land ends. All hooks must be barbless. 

K
Kadunce River (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Mile 0.2 (lower falls) 

to Mile 0.4 open to fishing from June 1-August 31. 
Kedron Creek (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and-release on the 

entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only. 
Knife River (St. Louis and Lake counties) fish sanctuary: River 

and tributaries upstream from Lake County Road 9 open to fishing 
from May 15-Sept. 30. The river between the cables upstream of the 
U.S. Highway 61 bridge open to fishing from June 1-August 31. U.S. 
Highway 61 bridge downstream to the cable below the fish trap is 
permanently closed to fishing. 

Knife River, Little (St. Louis County) fish sanctuary: From the 
weir upstream to the source, fishing is allowed from June 1-August 31. 

L
Lawndale Creek (Wilkin County) brook trout: Catch and release 

only for brook trout on a 3.5-mile posted section within Atherton Wildlife 
Management Area. Artificial lures and flies only. All hooks must be 
barbless.

Logan Creek (Olmsted County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream from the confluence with the 
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Whitewater River, North Branch upstream to the source. Artificial lures 
and flies only. 

Loon RIVER See Little Vermilion Lake (page 41).
M
Mahoods Creek (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 

immediately released on the entire stream. 
Mississippi River Valley (Ramsey, Washington, Hennepin, and 

Dakota counties) walleye, sauger, smallmouth bass, and largemouth 
bass: Catch-and-release with a continuous season in the following 
stretches: a) Minnesota River downstream from the Mendota Bridge; 
b) Minnehaha Creek downstream from Minnehaha Falls; and c) Pool 2 
of the Mississippi River between the Hastings Dam and the Ford Dam, 
including all backwater lakes and connecting waters except Crosby Lake, 
Pickerel Lake, Upper Lake, Little Pigs Eye Lake, and North Star Steel 
Lake. 

Mississippi River from Blandin Dam downstream to Coon Rapids 
Dam (Itasca, Aitkin, Crow Wing, Morrison, Benton, Sherburne, Wright, 
Anoka, and Hennepin counties) muskellunge: Catch-and-release only. 

Mississippi River (Sherburne, Stearns and Wright counties) 
smallmouth bass: From the confluence of the Crow River upstream 
to the St. Cloud Dam, including tributaries to the posted boundries, the 
possession limit is three, with one over 20". All from 12-20" must be 
immediately released. 

Mississippi River Pools 5, 5A, and 8 (Wabasha, Houston, and 
Winona counties) MN waters only sunfish: Possession limit 10. 

Mississippi River See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 47).
Money Creek, WEST BRANCH (Winona County) winter: Catch-

and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 3.14-mile posted section 
upstream from the County Road 19 stream crossing to the source. All 
hooks must be barbless. 

O
Otter Tail River (Otter Tail, Becker, and Wilkin counties) 

smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release from Wilkin County Road 19 
crossing upstream to the Friberg Dam including all impoundments, and 
from Otter Tail County Highway 51 upstream to the Hubbel Pond Dam 
including Mud, Rice, and Town Lakes. 

P
pigeon river: See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 47). 
Pine Creek (Winona County) trout: Winter catch-and-release season 

Jan. 1-March 31, on a 5.6-mile posted section from Rush Creek to 
the posted boundary where State Forest land ends. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

Prairie River (Aitkin County):  see Big Sandy Lake (page 35). 
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Prairie River from Prairie Lake Dam downstream to Mississippi 
River (Itasca County) muskellunge: Catch-and-release only.

R
Rainy River: northern pike: See Lake of the Woods (page 40). 

walleye and sauger: See Rainy Lake (page 44) and border water 
(page 57). 

Rat Root River: See Rainy Lake (page 44). 
Raven Flowage: See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 47). 
Red Lake Tributaries: See Red Lake (page 33).
Root River, Middle Branch (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and-

release on the entire stream. 
Root River, South Branch (Fillmore County) trout: All from 

12-16" must be immediately released on a 4.8-mile posted section within 
Forestville State Park. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 
31 from the mouth to the dam in Lanesboro, and from the historic bridge 
(Meighen’s Store) to the park boundary. All hooks must be barbless 
during winter season. 

Root River, South Fork (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and-
release on a 7.7-mile section from County Road 12 upstream to the 
source. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout 
Jan. 1-March 31 from Nepstad (Shattuck) Creek to the upper boundary of 
the Hvoself W.M.A. All hooks must be barbless during winter season. 

Rush Creek (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout 
Jan. 1-March 31 on a 6.4-mile posted section from the southern-most 
County Road 25 bridge crossing to the posted boundary. All hooks must 
be barbless. 

S
Sandy River (Aitkin County): see Big Sandy Lake (page 35). 
Sea Gull River (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit is six. One 

over 19½" allowed in possession. 
SHOTLEY BROOK (from Hwy 72 West to Upper Red Lake): See Red 

Lake (page 33). 
St. Croix River (see pages 64-66).
St. Louis River (St. Louis County) fish sanctuary: No fishing allowed 

at any time from the Fond du Lac Dam downstream to the Minnesota–
Wisconsin boundary cable. No fishing allowed from the boundary cable 
downstream to the Hwy. 23 bridge from March 4-May 18. muskellunge: 
Minimum size limit 50" on only the Minnesota–Wisconsin border waters. 
sturgeon: closed 

STONEY BROOK (Cass County) brook trout: All must be immediately 
returned to the water on the posted section beginning at the mouth at 
Upper Gull Lake upstream to the road crossing at County Road 29 
(Minor’s Corner). 
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Spring Valley Creek (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" 
must be immediately released on a 6.8-mile posted section from Deer 
Creek upstream to Fillmore Township Road 359. 

Swedes Bottom Creek (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-
release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1-mile posted section from the 
township road bridge to the source. All hooks must be barbless.

T
TAMARACK RIVER (from the Beltrami County line west to Upper Red 

lake. See Red Lake (page 33). 
third river flowage: See Winnibigoshish Lake (page 47). 
Torkelson Creek (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release 

for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the 2.1-mile posted section from the North 
Branch Root River to the source. All hooks must be barbless. 

Trout Run Creek (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only. 

Trout Run Creek (Winona County—Whitewater State Park) winter: 
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1-mile posted section 
from the mouth to the end of State Park property. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

Trout Valley Creek (Winona County) brook trout: Minimum size 
limit 12". Possession limit one. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: 
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1.25-mile posted section 
from the uppermost Winona County Road 31 bridge crossing downstream 
to the next Winona County Road 31 bridge. All hooks must be barbless. 

V
Vermilion Gorge See Crane Lake (page 37). 
Vermilion RIVER including all tributaries to their source (Dakota 

County) trout: All must be immediately returned to the water within a 
19½-mile reach from the Highview Avenue bridge in Eureka Township to 
the posted boundary 1.1 miles downstream from the U.S. Hwy. 52 bridge. 
Except statewide regulations will apply on the 2-mile reach of the main 
stem from Denmark Avenue to the State Hwy. 3 bridge in Farmington. 

W
Warroad River See Lake of the Woods (page 40). 
Watson Sag See Lac Qui Parle (page 40). 
West Indian Creek (Wabasha County) trout: All from 12-16" must 

be immediately released from the upstream Wabasha County Road 4 
crossing to the source. 

West Savanna River (Aitkin County): see Big Sandy Lake 
(page 35). 

Whitewater River, Main Branch (Winona County) winter: 
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 11.9-mile posted 
section from the Wabasha County line upstream to the Middle and North 
branches of the Whitewater River. All hooks must be barbless. 
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Whitewater RIVER, Middle Branch (Winona and Olmsted 
counties) trout: Catch-and-release on a 9.2-mile posted section from the 
group camp in Whitewater State Park upstream to the source. Artificial 
lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from 
Jan. 1 through March 31 on a 11.2-mile posted section from the mouth 
upstream to Olmsted County Road 9. All hooks must be barbless. 

Whitewater River, North Branch (Wabasha, Olmsted and 
Winona counties) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately released 
on a 12.1 mile posted section from Township Road 29 upstream to 
County Road 4. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 7.7-mile posted section from the mouth 
upstream to Logan Creek. All hooks must be barbless during winter 
season 

Whitewater River, South Branch (Winona County) winter: 
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 3.8-mile posted section 
from the mouth to 1 mile upstream of County Road 112. All hooks must 
be barbless. 

Winter Road River See Lake of the Woods (page 40). 
Wisel Creek (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 

immediately released on the entire stream. winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the 4-mile posted section from County Road 
18 downstream to the South Fork of the Root River. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

Z
Zumbro River, North Fork (Goodhue and Wabasha counties) 

trout: Catch-and-release on an 11.9 mile posted section from the Zumbro 
River, Main Branch upstream to Highway 10. 

Zumbro River (Wabasha County) smallmouth bass: Catch-and-
release along a 12‑mile posted section from Highway 63 at Zumbro Falls 
upstream to the Zumbro Lake Dam. 

For Your Information
Fish Diseases
Diseases, such as VHS, largemouth bass virus, and heterosporis 
can harm game fish populations. These diseases can be moved 
from one lake to another in the water. To prevent the spread or 
introduction of diseases you are required to drain water from 
livewells and bilges before transporting boats and equipment. See 
DNR Web site for more information.
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BORDER WATERS
Licensing

Canada-Minnesota Border Waters: Anglers who have a Minnesota 
resident or nonresident license may fish only the Minnesota portion of 
Canada’s border waters.

Other Borders: Minnesota shares border waters with each of its 
bordering states: Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota, and North Dakota. 
Residents of Minnesota or a bordering state may fish throughout the 
waters bordering the two states only if they possess a valid resident 
license from their resident state. Nonresident anglers who have a non-
resident license from either Minnesota or the bordering state may also 
fish throughout the border waters between the two states. Anglers may 
launch, fish waters from shore to shore, and may transport their catch by 
the most direct route to the state in which they are licensed. This includes 
children who are not required to have a license. Lake Superior is not 
covered under this agreement and is not considered a border water. (See 
pages 29-33 for Lake Superior regulations.)

When Minnesota’s fishing regulations differ from a bordering state’s 
regulations, Minnesota residents and persons fishing under a Minnesota 
nonresident license must comply with the Minnesota regulations. They 
may only exercise the other state’s more liberal fishing privileges in 
the territorial waters of that state with that state's license. Please check 
other state regulation booklets and the Experimental and Special 
Regulations section of this booklet (pages 33-54) for different regula-
tions that might apply.
Unless otherwise noted, all general regulations relating to angling 

methods, licensing, seasons, limits, possession and transportation of 
fish, apply to border waters (see pages 9-13). While on or fishing these 
waters, all fish must be within the specified length limits regardless of 
where caught.

The bowfishing regulations on page 68 are allowed only on 
Minnesota’s portion of the border waters when they differ from those of 
the border state. If the bowfishing regulations are the same then they may 
be exercised from shore to shore.

Lake Sturgeon Tags 
Lake sturgeon tags and mail-in registration cards are required for 

anyone* who wishes to harvest and possess a lake sturgeon. The fol-
lowing requirements apply:
•	An angler may take and possess only one lake sturgeon per calendar 

year.
•	Lake sturgeon may not be possessed or transported without a tag. 
	 Validate and attach the tag immediately upon reducing the fish  

to possession.  
•	Tag must be attached to the narrow portion of the body in front of the 

tail fin.
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Border Waters

•	Tags must be attached so that they cannot be easily removed.
•	Tags are not transferable and no duplicate tags will be issued.
•	Registration cards must be completed and mailed within 48 hours 

after harvesting a fish. Send to: Regional Fisheries, 2115 Birchmont 
Beach Rd NE, Bemidji, MN 56601.

•	Lake sturgeon must be transported intact (gills and internal organs may 
be removed).

•	Members of a fishing party may not take sturgeon for other anglers 
limits.

Note: Catch-and-Release can be done where seasons are open with only 
a valid fishing license.
* Including those otherwise exempt from angling license requirements.
Dates

All calendar dates refer to 2012 unless noted otherwise.

CANADA–MINNESOTA 
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the Minnesota 

portions of the following waters:
Cook County: Clove Lake, Devils Elbow Lake, North Fowl Lake, 

South Fowl Lake, Gneiss (Round) Lake, Granite Lake, Granite River, 
Gunflint Lake, Little Gunflint Lake, Lily Lake (Fan, Vaseux), Magnetic 
Lake, Maraboeuf Lake, Moose Lake, Mountain Lake, North Lake, Little 
North Lake, Pigeon River, Pine River, Rat Lake, Rose Lake, Rove Lake, 
Saganaga Lake, South Lake, and Watap Lake.

Koochiching and Lake of the Woods counties: Rainy River.
Koochiching and St. Louis counties: Rainy Lake (including Black Bay). 
Lake County: Basswood Lake (except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist, and 

Back Bays, which are considered inland waters), Basswood River, Birch 
Lake, Carp Lake, Cypress Lake, Knife Lake (except South Arm), Little 
Knife Lake, Knife River, Melon Lake, Seed Lake, Sucker Lake, and 
Swamp Lake.

Lake and St. Louis counties: Crooked Lake.
Lake of the Woods and Roseau counties: Lake of the Woods.
St. Louis County: Bottle Lake, Iron Lake, Lac La Croix, Loon Lake, 

Loon River to Loon River Falls, Namakan Lake, Sand Point Lake, and 
Little Vermilion Lake.

Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. 
See page 29 for Conservation License limits.

 

Tax time is your time 
to help wildlife

 

Look for the line with the loon on your Minnesota 
tax form and donate to the Nongame Wildlife Checkoff. It’s
fast, easy, and tax deductible. Be part of a wildlife success story.
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SPECIES	 OPEN SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye	 May 14, 2011-	 6 (No size restriction.)	
and Sauger	 April 15, 2012	
(either or combined) 	 May 12, 2012-	
	 April 14, 2013
	
Exceptions:	 May 12, 2012-	 6 (Not more than 4 can be 	
Lake of the Woods	 Nov. 30, 2012	 walleye; only 1 walleye over 		
		  28"; walleye 19½" through 28"
		  must be immediately released.)

	 Dec. 1, 2011-	 8 (Not more than 4 can be
	 April 15, 2012	 walleye; only 1 walleye over 		
	 Dec. 1, 2012-	 28"; walleye 19½" through 28"
	 April 14, 2013	 must be immediately released.)
	
Four Mile Bay	 March 1, 2012-	 2 (Walleye19½" and larger
(SE bay of Lake of	 April 15, 2012	 must be immediately released.)
the Woods)
	 May 12, 2012-	 6 (Not more than 4 can be 	 	
	 Nov. 30, 2012	 walleye; only 1 walleye over 		
		  28"; walleye 19½" through 28"
		  must be immediately released.)

	 Dec. 1, 2012-	 8 (Not more than 4 can be
	 Feb. 28, 2013	 walleye; only 1 walleye over 		
		  28"; walleye 19½" through 28"
		  must be immediately released.)

Namakan, 	 May 14, 2011-	 6 (Not more than 4 can be 		
Sand Point, and 	 April 15, 2012	 walleye; walleye from 17"  	
Little Vermilion	 May 12, 2012-	 through 28" must be 
	 April 14, 2013	 immediately released; only 		
		  1 walleye over 28".) 
		
Rainy Lake	 May 14, 2011-	 8 (Not more than 4 can be 
	 April 15, 2012	 walleye; walleye from 17" to 28" 
	 May 12 2012-	 must be immediately released; 
	 April 14, 2013	 only 1 walleye over 28".)

Rainy River	 March 1, 2012-	 2 (Walleye 19½" and larger
	 April 15, 2012	 must be immediately released.)	
	
	 May 12, 2012-	 6 (Only 1 walleye over 28".)
	 Feb. 28, 2013 	 Not more than 4 can be 
		  walleye; walleye 19½"-28"
		  must be immediately released.

Saganaga Lake	 May 12, 2012-	 6 (Only 1 walleye over 19½".)
 	 April 14, 2013		

BORDER WATERS—CANADA–MINNESOTA
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SPECIES	 OPEN SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
	
Northern Pike	 Continuous 	 3 (Only 1 over 30".) 	

Exceptions: 
Lake of the Woods, the Rainy River	 3 (Only 1 over 40";  		
to the dam at International Falls and	 all northern pike from 30"
the Warroad, Baudette, and Winter Road	 through 40" must be  
Rivers (tributaries to Lake of the Woods 	 immediately released.)
and Rainy River)

Basswood Lake       May 12, 2012-Feb. 24, 2013	 3 (Only 1 over 36".) All 
Including Jackfish	 	 northern pike from 24" 
Pipestone, Hoist, 	 	 through 36" must be immediately  	
and Back bays.	 	 released.

Muskellunge	 June 16-Nov. 30	 1 (Minimum size 40".)

Largemouth and 	 Continuous 	 6 
Smallmouth Bass 
(either or combined)
 
LAKE Sturgeon 	 April 24-May 7 and	 1 per calendar year. (Fish must
	 July 1-Sept. 30	 be 45-50", inclusive, or 
			   over 75".) Immediately upon
			   reducing a fish to possession, 
			   you must validate and attach		
			   your sturgeon tag. 			 
			   Harvested sturgeon must be 		
			   registered within 48 hours. See 	
			   page 55-56 for more details. 

	 May 8-May 15 and	 Catch-and-release only.
	 Oct. 1, 2012-	 (No tag needed.)
 	 April 23, 2013

Crappie 	 Continuous 	 10 

Lake Trout	 May 12, 2012-	 2
	 Sept. 30, 2012
Winter
Lakes outside or partly outside	 Jan 14, 2012	 2  
the Boundary Waters Canoe	 April 1, 2012	
Area Wilderness (BWCAW)	 Jan. 12, 2013-
includes all of Clearwater, East	 March 31, 2013 
Bearskin, Magnetic, Saganaga, 
Seagull, and Snowbank.

Lakes entirely within the BWCAW 	Dec. 31, 2011- 	 2 
	 April 1, 2012
	 Dec. 29, 2012-
	 March 31, 2013	
		
STREAM Trout 	 April 28-Sept. 30 	 5 (Not more than 3 over 16".)	
	
All Other Species 	 Continuous	 Inland limits apply

BORDER WATERS—CANADA–MINNESOTA
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CANADA–MINNESOTA Regulations
•	One line per angler is allowed, except two lines may be used when ice 

fishing.
•	 Saganaga Narrows is closed to fishing April 1‑May 25, 2012.
•	 Saganaga Falls (Granite River mouth) and the channel between Little 

Gunflint and Little North lakes are closed to fishing April 1-May 31, 
2012. 

•	Dark houses, fish houses, and shelters see pages 69-72.
•	While in Minnesota, anglers may not possess more than a Minnesota 

limit of fish from Canada-Minnesota border waters. Fish from Canadian 
inland waters may be possessed in Minnesota in excess of the Minnesota 
limit only if the angler has proof—such as lodging receipts or verification 
through U.S. Customs—that the fish were taken from inland Canadian 
waters.

•	A person cannot possess or use a gaff while fishing on the Rainy River.
•	Dressed sauger count as walleye (see page 11).
•	 Bowfishing (Minnesota’s portion of the waters only) see page 68.

IOWA–MINNESOTA 
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters: 

	 Jackson County: Little Spirit Lake. 
	 Jackson and Nobles counties: Iowa Lake. 
	 Martin County: Okamanpeedan (Tuttle), Iowa, and Swag lakes. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 
See page 29 for Conservation License limits.

SPECIES	 OPEN SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye	 April 28, 2012-	 6 
	 Feb. 15, 2013 

Northern Pike 	 April 28, 2012-	 3
 	 Feb. 15, 2013 

Largemouth and 	 April 28, 2012-	 6 
Smallmouth Bass 	 Feb. 15, 2013  
(either or combined)

Catfish	 April 28, 2012- 	 8 
	 Feb. 15, 2013 

Sunfish*	 Continuous 	 30 
(either or combined)
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)

Crappie	 Continuous 	 15 
 
Perch	 Continuous 	 30 

BORDER WATERS—IOWA–MINNESOTA
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BORDER WATERS—IOWA–MINNESOTA (continued)

SPECIES	 OPEN SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

White Bass	 Continuous 	 30 

Bullhead	 Continuous 	 No Limit 

Unprotected FISH 	 Continuous 	 No Limit 
(carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, buffalo, burbot, bowfin, gar, and quillback)

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state 
where taken.

IOWA–MINNESOTA Regulations
•	 Anglers may use up to two lines with two hooks per line. 
•	 Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful. 
•	 Spearing or archery may be used to take carp, buffalo, sheepshead, dogfish, gar, 

or quillback from sunrise to sunset May 1, 2012 through Feb. 15, 2013.  new The 
bowfishing regulations on page 68 are allowed only on Minnesota’s portion of 
the border waters when they differ from those of the border state. If the bowfish-
ing regulations are the same then they may be exercised from shore to shore.

•	 Spearing game fish is unlawful.
•	 Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 69-72. 
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NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA 
Seasons and regulations apply to the Bois de Sioux River and the  

Red River of the North. Daily and possession limits are the same. 
See page 29 for Conservation License limits.

BORDER WATERS—NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA

NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA Regulations
•	Two lines are permitted, and two hooks are permitted on each line.
•	Spearing from a fish house or a dark house is unlawful. 
•	 It is unlawful to possess a spear or bow and arrow on or adjacent to 

any water body where the spearing and archery season is closed.
• 	Rough fish, except burbot (eelpout), may be taken between sunrise 

and sunset by spearing or archery May 1 through December 31.The 
bowfishing regulations on page 68 are allowed only on Minnesota’s 
portion of the border waters when they differ from those of the border 
state. If the bowfishing regulations are the same then they may be 
exercised from shore to shore. 

•	 It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession.
•	Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 69-72. 

Border Waters

SPECIES	 OPEN SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye and 	 Continuous		  3
SAUGER (either or combined)

NORTHERN PIKE	 Continuous		  3 

SUNFISH	 Continuous		  30

PERCH	 Continuous			   50

CRAPPIE	 Continuous			   30

Largemouth 	 Continuous 			   3 
and SMALLMOUTH BASS

MUSKELLUNGE	 Continuous		  1 (Minimum size 40".)
Rock Bass	 Continuous			   20
Bullhead	 Continuous			   100
Catfish	 Continuous		  5 (only 1 over 24".)
Sturgeon	 No open season	
Unprotected Fish	 Continuous			   No limit
(carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, buffalo,  
burbot, bowfin, gar, white bass.)

All species not listed are covered by the inland regulations of the state where 
taken. 
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SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following 

waters:
Big Stone County: Big Stone Lake. 
Lincoln County: Hendricks Lake. 
Traverse County: Lake Traverse, Mud Lake, Bois de Sioux River 

to North Dakota border, and Mustinka River from the mouth to the 
Minnesota State Highway 117 bridge. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 
See page 29 for Conservation License limits.

•	Anglers may use two lines with up to three hooks per line. 
•	Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful. 
•	Unprotected fish, except white bass, may be taken by spearing from 

sunrise to sunset from April 28 through November 30. 

BORDER WATERS—SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA

SPECIES	 OPEN SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye and Sauger	 April 21, 2012- 	 4 (only 1 walleye 20" or larger)
�(either or combined)	 Feb. 28, 2013 		   

Northern Pike	 April 21, 2012-	 6  
	 Feb. 28, 2013 

Largemouth and 	 April 21, 2012- 	 6 
SmallMOUTH BASS 	 Feb. 28, 2013
(either or combined)

Crappie	 Continuous 	 10 

Sunfish* 	 Continuous 	 10 
(either or combined)
(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)

Rock Bass	 Continuous 	 20 

Bullhead	 Continuous 	 100 

Perch	 Continuous 	 25 

Catfish	 Continuous	 5 (Only 1 over 24")

Sturgeon 	 No Open Season

Unprotected Fish 	 Continuous 	 No Limit
(carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, buffalo, burbot, bowfin, gar, white bass.)

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state 
where taken. 

SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA Regulations
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•	The bowfishing regulations on page 68 are allowed only on 
Minnesota’s portion of the border waters when they differ from those 
of the border state. If the bowfishing regulations are the same then 
they may be exercised from shore to shore.

•	 It is unlawful to possess a spear, spring gaff, or bow and arrow on or 
adjacent to any body of water where the spearing and archery season 
is closed.

•	Spearing from a fish house or dark house is unlawful. 
•	Spearing game fish is unlawful.
•	Mud Lake in Traverse County is open to liberalized fishing (use 

of snagging, spears, dip nets, and legal minnow seines permitted; 
maximum of 6 lines; possession limit is three times the normal 
possession limit) December 1, 2012 through February 28, 2013.

•	The following waters in Traverse County are closed to fishing from 
March 1 to April 27: Mud Lake within 500 feet downstream of 
Reservation Dam at State Highway 117; and Bois de Sioux River 
within 500 feet downstream of White Rock Dam at State  
Highway 236.

•	 It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession.
•	Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 69-72. 

Border Waters

9" maximum distance

SINGLE TACKLE CONFIGURATION -Example

ARTIFICIAL LURE/BAITS -Examples

©MNDNR
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BORDER WATERS—WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA

WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters:
Mississippi River (downstream of Prescott, Wisconsin and all waters 

between the Burlington Northern [Wisconsin] and Chicago Milwaukee 
[Minnesota] railroad tracks), Lake Pepin, St. Croix River, Lake St. Croix, 
St. Louis River, St. Louis Bay, and Superior Bay. 

Daily and possession limits are the same.
See page 29 for Conservation License limits.

SPECIES	 OPEN SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Walleye and Sauger (either or combined)

St. Louis River	 May 12, 2012-	 2 (15" minimum size for walleye) 	
		  March 1, 2013	

St. Croix River	 April 28, 2012-	 6 (15" minimum size for walleye) 	
		  March 1, 2013	

Mississippi River	 Continuous	 6 (15" minimum size for walleye)
and Lake Pepin		
 	
Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass (either or combined)
	
St. Louis River	 May 26, 2012-	 5 (14" minimum size) 
	 March 1, 2013	

St. Croix River	 May 26, 2012-	 5 (14" minimum size)
Upstream of Taylors	 Sept. 9, 2012	
Falls Dam	 Sept. 10, 2012-	 Catch-and-release only	
	 March 1, 2013	

Downstream of	 May 26, 2012-	 5 (14" minimum size)
Taylors Falls Dam to	 March 1, 2013
U.S. Hwy. 10 Bridge

Mississippi River 	 Continuous	 5 (14" minimum size)
and Lake Pepin	
		   			 
Northern Pike		

St. Louis River	 May 12, 2012-	 2 
	 March 1, 2013

St. Croix River	 April 28, 2012-	 5
	 March 1, 2013

Mississippi River	 Continuous 	 5		   
and Lake Pepin
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Border Waters

BORDER WATERS—WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA

WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA Regulations
•	Two lines with a single lure or bait on each are permitted. If fishing 

with one line you may use two baits.
•	 Fish hooked in any part of the body except the mouth must be returned 

to the water immediately.
• 	Angler must be within 400 feet of their tip-ups.
•	Rough fish may be taken by spearing and dip-netting during daylight 

hours from April 28, 2012 through March 1, 2013. Dip net hoops cannot 
exceed 24 inches in diameter. 

SPECIES	 OPEN SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Muskellunge 	 May 26, 2012-	 1 (40" minimum size) 		
	 March 1, 2013				  
St. Louis River 50" minimum size.

Perch 	 Continuous 	 25

CHANNEL and 
FLATHEAD Catfish
(either or combined) 	 Continuous 	 10

Bullhead 	 Continuous 	 No Limit

Rough Fish 	 Continuous 	 No Limit

White Bass 	 Continuous 	 25
and Yellow Bass
(either or combined)	

Crappie 	 Continuous 	 25

Rock Bass 	 Continuous 	 25

Sunfish 	 Continuous 	 25**
(either or combined)
(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orangespotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids) 
**Except for Mississippi River Pools 5, 5A and 8: possession limit 10. MN side only.

Paddlefish 	 No Open Season

LAKE Sturgeon
All waters except  
those listed below	 Closed

St. Croix (Taylors Falls	 Sept. 1-Sept. 30		  1 per calendar year  
Dam Downstream to			   (minimum size 60")
mouth at Prescott, WI)	 Oct. 1-Oct. 15		  Catch-and-release only
Sturgeon tag needed, see page 55-56 for details.

Shovelnose	 Continuous	 10 (No minimum size) 
Sturgeon	 	
Downstream from Red Wing Dam only.

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state where taken. 
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•	The bowfishing regulations on page 68 are allowed only on Minnesota’s 
portion of the border waters when they differ from those of the border 
state. If the bowfishing regulations are the same then they may be 
exercised from shore to shore.

•	Spearing game fish is prohibited. It is unlawful to have a spear on or 
adjacent to any body of water where the spearing season is closed. 

•	 It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession.
•	No fishing allowed within 300 feet below Mississippi River Lock and Dam 3 

(near Red Wing) and Lock and Dam 4 (Alma, WI) from March 1-April 30.
•	No fishing from Taylors Falls (St. Croix Falls on the St. Croix River) 

dam to 50 feet downstream from the pier in center of river.
•	Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 69-72. 

Aquatic Plant Permit Requirements
Water plants such as bulrushes are essential for lake ecosystems. 
They reduce wave erosion, provide fish and wildlife habitat, and 
purify water.  Because lake plants can interfere with swimming and 
boating by lakeshore owners—but are also vital to lake health—the 
DNR allows removal under the following conditions.

For Your Information

DNR permit not required
For underwater plants only, you 
may cut or pull plants as long as: 
	1. 	The area does not extend 	

along more than 50 feet of 	
your shoreline or one-half 	
the length of your frontage, 	
whichever is less; 

	2. 	The total area is less than 	
2,500 square feet (except 
for boat channels); and 

	3. 	The plants are immediately 	
and permanently disposed 	
of on high ground where 
they 	can’t re-enter the 
water. 

DNR permit is required to:
	1. 	Remove emergent plants 	

(such as bulrushes, cattails, 	
and wild rice).

	2. 	Remove plants in an area 	
larger than 2,500 square 
feet 	or wider than 50 feet.

	3. 	Use herbicides or algicides 
in Minnesota lakes.

	4. 	Remove water lilies (other 	
than in a narrow channel 	
extending to open water).

	 5. 	Install or use an automated 	
	 device such as the Crary 	
	 WeedRoller.

A person who illegally destroys plants can be cited and made to 
pay for the restoration of those plants. 

For more information, call your regional DNR office (page 86) or 
visit our Web site at mndnr.gov.
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	 SPECIES	 SPEARING SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT 
	
	 Bullhead  		  100

	 SUCKER   		  50

	 REDHORSE  		  50

	 Other rough fish species   	  	 No limit 

		

SPEARING,  archery,  and dip nets

From sunrise to sunset,  
May 1, 2012- 

Last Sunday in February.
(See pg. 69 for dark 

house spearing laws.) 

Rough fish are defined as carp, buffalo, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead, 
bowfin, burbot (eelpout), cisco (tullibee), gar, mooneye, and bullhead. 
The regulations below apply to spearing rough fish in state waters unless 
noted otherwise in this booklet.
 •	Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in 

designated trout lakes or streams.
•	Licensed anglers and children under 16 may take rough fish by 

spearing, harpooning, archery, and hand-held dip nets on all inland 
waters, except where taking fish is prohibited. All rough fish, except 
cisco (tullibee), may be bought and sold. 

•	Hand-held dip nets shall not have hoops exceeding 24 inches in 
diameter. (For more on smelt, see pages 12 and 32).

•	Harpoons (spears) must have a tethered line not more than 20 feet 
long, may be discharged only when the equipment and the operator 
are entirely under the surface of the water, and may not be used within 
1,000 feet of a swimming beach.

• 	A person may not release carp or buffalo taken by netting back into 
the water.

•	 It is unlawful to possess on or near waters a net or any device that 
can take fish. The exceptions are angling equipment and landing nets 
used for angling, seines and traps for taking minnows for bait, and as 
otherwise specifically authorized.

•	 It is unlawful to possess a spear, harpoon, dipnet, or archery 
equipment on or near any waters from March 1-April 30.

•	Speared or dead rough fish may not be returned to the water or left on 
the ice or banks of any lake or stream.

Spearing, HARPOONING, AND DIP NET Season and 
Possession Limit

continued on next page
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• 	A bow may be transported uncased and discharged while taking rough 
fish in a boat powered by an electric motor.

• 	Crossbows may not be used to take rough fish except by disabled 
persons who have a valid crossbow permit. Permit applications are 
available from the DNR Information Center or through the DNR 
Web site.

• 	Arrows must be attached to the bow with a tethered line. Broadheads 
must have barbs for bowfishing.

• 	Night bowfishing total noise levels may not exceed 65 decibels on the 
“A” scale at a distance of 50 ft from the boat.

•	From sunset to sunrise, a person bowfishing with the assistance of a 
gasoline-powered motor must use a four-stroke powered generator.

•	Bowfishing can be done from open water or through the ice in a fish 
house or shelter day or night with or without lights.

• 	Must take reasonable measures to retreive arrows and wounded fish.
• 	Cannot discharge an arrow while bowfishing within 150 ft. of 

occupied structures or within 300 ft. of campsite from sunset to 
sunrise.

• 	Possession of bows and arrows for bowfishing is subject to local 
firearms and archery ordinances.

• 	Rough fish taken by bowfishing shall not be returned to the water or 
left on the banks of any water.

	 SPECIES	 BOWFISHING SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT 
	
	 Bullhead  		  100
     	
	 SUCKER   		  50
     	
	 REDHORSE  		  50
     	
	 Other rough 	  	 No limit 
	 fish species  		

May 1, 2012- 
Last Sunday in 

February.

BOWFISHING Season and Possession Limit
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ICE ANGLING and spearing
General Regulations
•	Two lines may be used through the ice (other than on designated trout 

lakes and streams).
•	 Ice anglers must remain within sight of their lines or within 200 feet of 

their tip-up.

•	Residents age 16 through 64 and all nonresidents must have a dark 
house spearing license and an angling license. Residents age 65 years 
old and older are exempt from the dark house spearing license, but 
must have an angling license to spear.

•	Party fishing does not apply while spearing.
•	While spearing, a person may take fish by angling in a dark house 

if only one angling line is in use and any fish caught is immediately 
released or placed on the ice. For more information see the DNR 
Web site.

•	Using an artificial light to see fish when spearing is unlawful. Lighted 
decoys are legal to use. Any battery that is used in lighted decoys must 
not contain mercury.

Shelters (fish houses and dark houses)
The following regulations apply to all shelters used on all Minnesota 

waters, unless otherwise noted elsewhere in this booklet.
•	All shelters placed on the ice of Minnesota waters must have either the  

(1) complete name and address, (2) driver’s license number, or (3) the 
nine-digit Minnesota DNR number on the license of the owner plainly  
and legibly displayed on the outside in letters, and figures at least 
2 inches in height. 

•	A shelter may not be left unattended anytime between midnight and 
one hour prior to sunrise unless the shelter is licensed.

Note: The Dept. of Public Safety–DVS requires trailers used to haul fish 
houses or dark houses and enclosed trailers or recreational trailers used 
for fishing to be registered. See your local Deputy Registrar for trailer 
registration.

dark house Spearing Season

Ice Angling and Spearing

continued on page 72

	 SPECIES	 SPEARING SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT 
	
	 Northern pike  		  3 (only 1 over 30")
			   (unless special regulations apply)
     	
	 catfish   		  5 (only 1 over 24")
			   (not more than 2 flathead)     	
	
	 WhiteFish		  No limit 
			 
	   		

From sunrise  
to sunset,  

Nov. 15, 2012- 
last Sunday in 

February except 
where prohibited. 

For other species see table on page 67.



	 Thousands	of	Minnesotans	
take	to	the	ice	for	recreational	fish-
ing	every	year.	However,	annually	
sportsmen	are	needlessly	injured	or	
killed	by	the	improper	use	of		heat-
ers	in	fish	houses.	These	injuries	and	
deaths	are	often	caused	by	carbon	
monoxide	from	unvented	or	poorly	
vented	propane	heaters.	Used	cor-
rectly,	propane	is	a	safe	and	efficient	
fuel	for	home	and	recreational	use.

Ice Fishing - A Minnesota Tradition

The	following	types	of	heater	are	recommended	for		heating	fish	
houses:
• Conventional Vent Heaters -	These	heaters	have	a	vent	that	

goes	up	through	the	roof	of	a	fish	house	and	require	fresh	air	for	
combustion.

• Direct Vent Heaters - Direct Vent (DV)	heaters	have	a	sealed	
combustion	chamber	and	vent	all	combustion	products	thru	the	
sidewall	and	use	combustion	air	from	outside	the	fish	house.

• Vent Free with Oxygen Depletion Sensor (ODS) -	These	heat-
ers	usually	use	infrared	technology	for	the	heating	element.	The	
ODS	will	shut	off	the	heating	unit	if	oxygen	levels	get	low.	

Heating Fish Houses Safely

Vent	Gasses

Fresh	Air

Vent Free Heater
with ODS System

Conventional Vent Heater

Direct Vent Heater
Quick Tips for Safety

•	 Use	only	heaters	that	are	listed	and	approved	for	indoor	
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•	 Follow	manufacturers	installation	recommendations.
•	 Check	all	gas	connections	for	leaks.
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 Keep Propane Cylinders Outside! Propane	
cylinders	used	to	heat	your	fish	house	should	always	
be	kept	outside	of	the	fish	house	and	connected	to	the	
heater	using	approved	piping	and	fittings.

A	message	from	the:
Minnesota	Propane	Association
www.mnpropane.org
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•	A tag, furnished with a license, must be attached to the exterior in a 
readily visible location.

• 	Shelters left on the ice overnight need to have at least 2 square inches 
of reflective material on each side of the house.

•	No person may erect a shelter within 10 feet of an existing shelter.
•	 A shelter license is not required on border waters with WI, IA, ND, and SD.
•	Shelters must comply with the identification requirements of the state 

for which the angler is licensed.
•	Shelters may be used for fishing within the Boundary Waters Canoe 

Area Wilderness (BWCAW), but must be removed from the ice each 
night. The structure must be removed from the BWCAW each time the 
occupant leaves the BWCAW.

Shelter Removal Dates
•	All shelters must be off the ice no later than midnight for each of the 

dates given in the following categories below. 

Inland Waters
Dates of removal are determined by an east-
west line formed by U.S. Hwy. 10, east along 
Hwy. 34 to Minnesota Hwy. 200, east along Hwy. 
200 to U.S. Hwy. 2, and east along Hwy. 2 to the 
Minnesota-Wisconsin border. 

Border Waters
Minnesota–Iowa Feb. 20
Minnesota–Wisconsin March 1
Minnesota–North and South Dakota March 5
Minnesota–Canada March 31

•	 If shelters are not removed, owners 
will be prosecuted, and the structure and contents may be confiscated 
and removed, or destroyed by a conservation officer.

•	After removal dates, shelters may remain on the ice between midnight 
and one hour before sunrise only when occupied or attended. 

•	Storing or leaving shelters on a public access is prohibited.

Inland waters
March 19, 2012
March 18, 2013

Inland waters
March 5, 2012
March 4, 2013

Lead Tackle
The tackle industry, recognizing a growing awareness and  
concern about lead in the environment, has begun to  
create tungsten, glass, copper, steel, tin, bismuth, or plastic 
sinkers. Consider using non-lead tackle when you go fishing.

Here’s what you can do to help:
•	 Ask local sporting good stores to stock nonlead fishing tackle.
•	 Spread the word by telling other anglers about the problem.
•	 Dispose of old lead sinkers and jigs properly by locating a drop‑off 

location. See DNR Web site for more information.



73DNR Web site: mndnr.gov

Ice Angling and Spearing

Baby* (Cass County) 
Bald Eagle (Anoka, Ramsey, and 

Washington counties) 
Beers* (Otter Tail County) 
Big* (Beltrami County) 
Big Mantrap* (Hubbard County) 
Cross and its Snake River 
Flowage* (Pine County) 

Deer* (Itasca County) 
Eagle (Hennepin County) 
Forest (Hennepin County) 
Libbs (Hennepin County) 
Lobster* (Douglas County)
Mille Lacs (Aitkin, Crow Wing, 

and Mille Lacs counties) 

Minnetonka (Hennepin and 
Carver counties) 

Moose* (Itasca County) 
North Star* and Little  
North Star* (Itasca County) 

Owasso (Ramsey County) 
Peavey (Hennepin County) 
Rebecca (Hennepin County) 
Rush * (Chisago County) 
Spider* (Itasca County) 
Stieger (Carver County)
Sugar* (Wright County) 
Tanager (Hennepin County) 
Wabedo* (Cass County) 
West Battle* (Otter Tail County)

*Denotes lakes where no spearing is allowed at any time.

Spearing Prohibited
 
Winter spearing for northern pike is prohibited on the following lakes:

You’re going to need 
 a stronger stringer.

Alexandria

PAID ADVERTISEMENT

Fish On!
Fishing Reports. Lake Facts. Lodging.

ExploreAlex.com/FishingGuide
ALEXANDRIA,  MINNESOTA

THEViking 
Sportsmen

ALEXANDRIA,MN
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Walleye No spots on dorsal fin

White spot on 
bottom of tail

Dark area at base of dorsal fin

Spots on dorsal finSauger
No dark area at base of dorsal fin

Back of mouth goes way 
beyond back of eye
Back of mouth goes way 
beyond back of eye

Back of mouth goes  
only to middle of eye

Duane Raver, USFWS

Maynard Reece

Duane Raver, USFWS

Duane Raver, USFWS

Walleye and Sauger

Largemouth and Smallmouth bass

Largemouth

Smallmouth

illustrated fish of minnesota
Knowing what fish species you are catching is not only fun, but in 

many cases it’s required by law. It is particularly important to know 
how to distinguish walleye from sauger, to know the difference between 
northern pike and muskellunge, and to be able to tell what species of 
trout or salmon you catch.

Walleye/sauger (saugeye) hybrid fillets are counted as part of a walleye possession limit during 
transportation.
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Muskellunge 

Northern Pike
(Esox lucius)

Tiger (hybrid) Muskellunge
(Esox masquinongy X Esox lucius)

Clear

Barred

Spotted

Paired fins having
more pointed tips

Coloration with vertical dark markings on a light background  
(Juvenile pattern similar to that of adults)

Tail with
pointed tips

Coloration having irregular narrow vertical dark markings on a
light background with stripes merging onto the back in an interlocking pattern

Coloration with pattern of horizontal rows of  
light round to oval spots on a dark background

Paired fins having 
rounded tips

Paired fins having
more rounded tips

(Juvenile pattern has white, oblique bars 
which extend from the white belly)

Tail with
rounded tips

Tail with more 
rounded tips

Illustrations
©1986 by Virg Beck

Illustrated Fish of Minnesota

5 or fewer pores on each
side under jaw

6 or more pores on each side 
under jaw

Northern Pike and Muskellunge

Catfish

Flathead Catfish

Channel Catfish
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Duane Raver, USFWS

Duane Raver, USFWS

Duane Raver, USFWS

Tim Knepp, USFWS

Tim Knepp, USFWS

Joseph Tomelleri

Carlyn Iverson

Joseph Tomelleri

White leading 
edge on lower fins

Trout and Salmon

Rainbow trout

Brown trout

Lake trout

Brook trout

Chinook salmon

Coho salmon

Steelhead 
(Rainbow Trout)

Pink salmon

To tell a brookie 
from a splake 
from a lake trout, 
look at the tail: 

Brook  
trout

Lake
trout

Splake

Small black dots throughout
the body that extend into tail

Square 
tail

Light, wormlike markings on 
dark upper body

Large dark spots  
and red dots on  
brown body

Pinkish stripe on 
silvery body

White spots on 
grayish body

White leading 
edge on lower fins

Spots in top half 
of tail only

13-15 rays in anal fin

Small scales

Green and white blotches 
on spawning fish 

Some eye-sized 
spots in tail and 
on back 

Spawning male 
has hump on 
back. 

Spots throughout 
tail

15-17 rays in anal fin

Inside mouth 
is dark 

Inside mouth 
is gray 

Usually a pink stripe 
on silvery body

10 rays in anal fin

Inside mouth  
is white

Small spots 
throughout tail

Forked
tail
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Illustrated Fish of Minnesota

Rainbow Trout-Salmon Identification Guide

rainbow trout
 = white mouth

coho salmon and
chinook salmon
 = grayish to black mouth

The shape of the anal fin is another way to identify 
these species. This can easily be seen by depressing the 
front edge of the anal fin to its base as shown below.

anal fin front
edge

base

rainbow trout
Tail has many small 

spots in distinct rows.

coho salmon
Tail has some large 
spots mostly on the 

upper half.

chinook salmon
Tail has large spots 

throughout, especially 
in the silver area at the 

base of the tail.

Note: These figures are rough estimates only. 
Actual weights vary slightly by lake and stream.

	crappie	trout	bass	walle   ye	northern
	 length		weight	 length		weight	 length		weight	 length		weight	 length		weight
	 (inches)	 (lbs.)	 (inches)	 (lbs.)	 (inches)	 (lbs.)	 (inches)	 (lbs.)	 (inches)	 (lbs.)
	   8		  0.3	   8		  0.2	 12		  1.0	 14		  1.0	 24		  3.2
	   9		  0.4	   9		  0.3	 13		  1.3	 15		  1.2	 25		  3.6
	 10		  0.6	 10		  0.4	 14		  1.7	 16		  1.5	 26		  4.0
	 11		  0.8	 11		  0.6	 15		  2.1	 17		  1.8	 27		  4.6
	 12		  1.1	 12		  0.8	 16		  2.5	 18		  2.2	 28		  5.2
	 13		  1.4	 13		  0.9	 17		  3.0	 19		  2.5	 29		  5.8
	 14		  1.8	 14		  1.1	 18		  3.6	 20		  3.0	 30		  6.4
	 15		  2.2	 15		  1.4	 19		  4.2	 21		  3.5	 31		  7.1
	 16		  2.7	 16		  1.6	 20		  5.0	 22		  4.1	 32		  7.8
	 17		  3.3	 17		  1.8	 21		  5.7	 23		  4.7	 33		  8.6
				    18		  2.3	 22		  6.6	 24		  5.4	 34		  9.4		
							       23		  7.6	 25		  6.1	 35		  10.3		
										          26		  6.9	 36		  11.2
										          27		  7.8	 37		  12.2
										          28		  8.8	 38		  13.3
										          29		  9.8	 39		  14.4
													             40		  15.6
													             41		  16.8	
													             42		  18.1 

	 sunfish
	 length	 weight
	 (inches)	 (lbs.)
	   8	 0.4
	   9	 0.6
	 10	 0.8
	 11	 1.1
	 12	 1.5
	 13	 1.9
	 14	 2.4
	 15	 3.0
	 16	 3.7

Weigh Your Fish With a Ruler
Fish are sometimes injured when weighed. With this chart, you 

can quickly determine the approximate weight of your fish using a 
ruler or tape measure.

rainbow trout Tip falls to or beyond end of base

coho salmon Tip falls slightly past middle

chinook salmon Tip falls short of middle

Muskie 
length		 weight
(inches)		  (lbs.)
48		  29
49		  32      
50		  34
51		  36 
52		  39
53		  41
54		  44
55   	 47
56		  50
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OTHER AQUATIC SPECIES 
The following regulations apply to the taking and possession of mussels 

(clams), crayfish, frogs, minnows, leeches, and turtles for personal or commer-
cial use.

Mussels (Clams): It is illegal to possess live mussels. All of Minnesota’s 
50 species of mussels are protected by law, and 20 are endangered or threatened 
species. Licensed anglers and children under 16 may take or possess up to 
24 whole shells or 48 shell halves from dead mussels of species that are not 
endangered or threatened. It is illegal to take dead mussel shells from the St. Croix 
River, or to possess zebra mussels.

Crayfish: From April 1-Nov. 30 licensed anglers and children under 16 may take 
and possess up to 25 pounds of crayfish longer than 1 inch for personal use. A 
DNR permit* is required to import, transport, or sell crayfish. Crayfish may be 
used as bait only in the body of water where they were captured. The use of live 
crayfish as bait on the St. Croix National Scenic Riverway (north of the Boomsite 
Boat Launch) and within Voyageurs National Park, units of the National Park 
System, is prohibited. 

Frogs: From May 16 to March 31 licensed anglers and children under age 16 may 
take, use, buy, and sell an unlimited number of frogs up to 6 inches long for bait. 
A DNR license is required to take frogs for purposes other than bait. Bullfrogs are 
native to SE corner of MN, but are invasive and destructive elsewhere in the state. 
Do not release bullfrogs outside of Winona and Houston counties.

Minnows and Leeches: Licensed anglers may take minnows or leeches for their 
own use with dip nets, traps, or seines. 
•	 Taking of wild animals for bait from designated infested waters (see pages 

16-25) is unlawful, except for minnows and leeches taken for personal use from 
waters infested SOLEY with Eurasian watermilfoil. At these waters, harvested 
bait may ONLY be used at the water where taken and may only be taken using a 
cylindrical trap not exceeding 16" in diameter and 32" long. Taking of bait from 
other infested waters and using them is unlawful.

•	 Seines may not be over 25 feet long or more than 148 meshes deep with ¼‑inch 
bar measure, or more than 197 meshes deep with 3⁄16-inch bar measure. 

•	 Traps used on waters, other than infested, may not exceed a width and length 
of 30 inches, height may not exceed 15 inches, the diameter or width of the 
opening may not exceed 1½ inches, and mesh size may not exceed ½‑inch bar 
measure. Traps must have a waterproof tag bearing the name and address of the 
owner.

• 	It is unlawful to use throw nets. 
•	 A DNR commercial minnow license* is required to possess more than 24 dozen 

minnows or leeches; to sell, export or import; or to take minnows or leeches 
from designated trout waters. 

*License and permit applications are available from the DNR, 500 Lafayette 
Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4020.
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•	 Unwanted minnows and leeches cannot be dumped in the water. 
•	 All streams and associated tributaries and connected waters of the 

Missouri River watershed in Lincoln, Pipestone, Murray, Rock, or Nobles 
counties that lie south of U.S. Highway 14 to the Iowa border and west of 
U.S. Highway 59 to South Dakota are closed to minnow harvest. Minnows 
may be taken by angling for personal use.

• 	A permit from the DNR, 500 Lafayette Rd. St. Paul is required to take 
madtoms and stonecats in Dodge, Freeborn, or Mower counties.

Turtles: Resident licensed anglers and children under 16 may take, possess, 
and transport turtles for personal use. Western painted, snapping, and 
spiny softshell turtles are the only harvestable species and may be taken. 
Harvest by explosives, drugs, poisons, lime, and other harmful substances is 
prohibited. Harvest by traps, nets, or other commercial equipment requires a 
recreational turtle license in addition to an angling license. A DNR permit is 
required to collect turtle eggs from natural nests. Residents under age 18 may 
take, possess, rent, or sell up to 25 turtles for use in a nonprofit turtle race.
•	 The snapping turtle possession limit is 3. Minimum size limit is 12" in 

shell length. Snapping turtles may not be taken during May and June.
•	 Spiny softshell minimum size limit is 12" in shell length. Spiny softshells 

may not be taken June 1-July 15.
•	Western painted turtle maximum size limit is 5½" in shell length, except 

that those used in turtle races may be of any length greater than 4".

ONLINE information
    More information on the following subjects can be found online at the 
DNR Web site. 
Boat and Water Safety
Everyone on board your boat needs to have a readily accessible U.S. 

Coast Guard-approved life vest of the proper size and type. In addition, 
if the boat is 16 feet or longer, there must also be an approved throwable 
device such as a boater’s seat cushion or ring buoy. 

Children under ten must wear a life jacket on board any boat under-
way. Underway means not attached to a permanent mooring or tied to a 
dock. There are exceptions to the law for: children who are below the top 
deck, or in an enclosed cabin, or on a boat operated by a licensed cap-
tain, or on a boat that is anchored for the purpose of swimming or diving.

It’s always a good idea to wear your life jacket, since most fatal boat-
ing mishaps are capsizings or fall-overboard accidents that happen with-
out any warning to adults on boats 16 feet or less on calm waters, while 
traveling at slow speed or stopped.

For a complete summary of the boating regulations and safety infor-
mation, contact the DNR Information Center for a copy of the Minnesota 
Boating Guide, or find it online. For rules pertaining to the use of motor
boats within Wildlife Management Areas, refer to the Minnesota Hunting 
and Trapping Regulations Handbook or call DNR Information Center.

Information Online
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Aquatic Management Areas
The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife acquires land along lakes and 

streams to provide fishing opportunities and to protect critical fish habitat. 
These areas, known as Aquatic Management Areas (AMAs), are posted 
with signs to indicate allowable uses. Each sign is marked with a letter to 
easily identify permitted activities. 

Catch-and-Release
Improved fishing technology and increasing fishing pressure have 

caused fishing quality to decline in many waters. Catch-and-release fish-
ing offers anglers a way to enjoy their sport with less harm to the resource. 
Find more information online.
• 	Don’t plan to release fish that have been on a stringer or in a livewell.
• 	Play and land the fish quickly.
•	Don’t angle for fish in very deep water, unless you plan to keep what 

you catch. 
•	Handle the fish gently and keep it in the water as much as possible.
•	Do not hold the fish by the eye sockets or gills, but rather by the lower 

lip or under the gill plate and also support the belly of the fish.
•	Wet your hands before touching a fish to help prevent removal of its 

protective slime coating. 
•	 If a hook is deeply imbedded, cut the line so that at least an inch hangs 

out of the mouth. This helps the hook to lay flush when the fish takes in 
food.

•	Circle hooks may help in reducing deeply hooked fish. They are made to 
hook fish in the mouth.

•	A fish that can be legally kept should not be released if it is bleeding 
heavily, which indicates its chance of survival is poor.

•	 You cannot practice catch-and-release for a species during its closed season.

Managing Minnesota’s Fisheries
The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife is responsible for managing 

the state’s diverse fisheries resources (5,400 fishable streams and 15,000 
fishable lakes). Each year, roughly 2 million people fish in Minnesota, and 
sport fishing generates approximately $1.9 billion in direct expenditures, 
making angling one of the state’s largest industries.

Much of Minnesota’s fisheries program is reimbursed by the Federal 
Aid in Sport Fish Restoration Program (federal excise tax), administered 
by the US Fish and Wildlife Service. 

Master Angler Program
The Minnesota Fishing Hall of Fame in partnership with DNR recognize 

anglers who catch large fish of various species. Categories include adult, 
youth, and catch-and-release. 

For more information on becoming a Master Angler, visit the DNR Web 
site or www.minnesotafishinghalloffame.com.
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State Record Fish
If you catch a fish that you think could be a record, follow these steps: 

•	Weigh the fish on a state-certified scale (found at most bait shops and 
butcher shops), witnessed by two observers. 

•	Take the fish to a DNR fisheries office for positive identification and a 
state record fish application.

•	Complete the application and send it along with a clear, full-length 
photo of your fish to the address listed on the form.

•	DNR does not keep line class records.
The following is a complete list of Minnesota’s state record fish and where 

they were caught. Weights given are in pounds and ounces (example: 55–5 is 55 
pounds, 5 ounces). No additional species or hybrids are being considered for the 
state record fish program. 
Bass, Largemouth: 8–15, Auburn Lake (Carver). Bass, Rock: 2–0, Osakis 
Lake (Todd); and 2–0, Lake Winnibigoshish (Cass). Bass, Smallmouth: 8–0, 
West Battle Lake (Otter Tail). Bass, White: 4-2.4, Mississippi River Pool 5 
(Wabasha). Bluegill: 2–13, Alice Lake (Hubbard). Bowfin: 11–4, St. Croix River 
(Washington).  Buffalo, Bigmouth: 41–11, Mississippi River (Goodhue). Buffalo, 
Black: 20–0, Minnesota River (Nicollet). Buffalo, Smallmouth: 20-0, Big Sandy 
(Aitkin). Bullhead, Black: 3–13, Reno Lake (Pope). Bullhead, Brown: 7–1, 
Shallow Lake (Itasca). Bullhead, Yellow: 3–10, Osakis Lake (Todd). Burbot: 
19–3, Lake of the Woods (Lake of the Woods). Carp: 55–5, Clearwater Lake 
(Wright). Carpsucker, River: 3–15, Mississippi River (Ramsey). Catfish, 
Channel: 38–0, Mississippi River (Hennepin). Catfish, Flathead: 70–0, St. 
Croix River (Washington). Crappie, Black: 5–0, Vermilion River (Dakota). 
Crappie, White: 3–15, Lake Constance (Wright). Drum, Freshwater: 35–3, 
Mississippi River (Winona). Eel, American: 6–9, St. Croix River (Washington). 
Gar, Longnose: 16–12, St. Croix River (Washington). Gar, Shortnose: 4–10, 
Mississippi River (Hennepin). Goldeye: 2–13, Root River (Houston). Hogsucker, 
Northern: 1–15, Sunrise River (Chisago). Mooneye: 1–15, Minnesota River 
(Redwood). Muskellunge: 54–0, Lake Winnibigoshish (Itasca). Muskellunge, 
Tiger: 34–12, Lake Elmo (Washington). Perch, Yellow: 3–4, Lake Plantaganette 
(Hubbard). Pike, Northern: 45–12, Basswood Lake (Lake). Pumpkinseed: 1–6, 
Leech Lake (Cass). Quillback: 7–5, Upper Red Lake (Beltrami). Redhorse, 
Golden: 3–15.5, Root River (Fillmore). Redhorse, Greater: 12–11, Sauk River 
(Stearns). Redhorse, River: 12-10, Kettle River (Pine). Redhorse, Shorthead: 
7–15, Rum River (Anoka). Redhorse, Silver: 9-15, Bigfork River (Koochiching). 
Salmon, Atlantic: 12–13, Baptism River (Lake). Salmon, Chinook: 33–4, Poplar 
River (Cook); and 33–4, Lake Superior (St. Louis). Salmon, Coho: 10–7, Lake 
Superior (Lake). Salmon, Kokanee: 2–15, Caribou Lake (Itasca). Salmon, Pink: 
4–8, Cascade River (Cook). Sauger: 6–3, Mississippi River (Goodhue). Splake: 
13–6, Larson Lake (Itasca). Sturgeon, Lake: 94–4, Kettle River (Pine). Sturgeon 
Shovelnose: 5-9, Mississippi River (Goodhue). Sucker, Blue: 14–3, Mississippi 
River (Wabasha). Sucker, Longnose: 3–11, Brule River (Cook). Sucker, White: 
9–1, Big Fish Lake (Stearns). Sunfish, Green: 1–5, North Arbor Lake (Hennepin). 
Sunfish, Hybrid: 1–12, Zumbro River (Olmsted). Trout, Brook: 6–5, Pigeon 
River (Cook). Trout, Brown: 16–12, Lake Superior (St. Louis). Trout, Lake: 
43–8, Lake Superior (Cook). Trout, Rainbow (Steelhead): 16-6, Devil Track  
River (Cook). Trout, Tiger: 2–9, Mill Creek (Olmsted). Tullibee (Cisco): 5–12, 
Little Long (St. Louis). Walleye: 17–8, Seagull River (Cook). Walleye-Sauger 
Hybrid: 9–13, Mississippi River (Goodhue). Warmouth: 0-6.6, Bartlet Lake 
(Winona). Whitefish, Lake: 12–5, Leech Lake (Cass). Whitefish, Menominee: 
2–8, Lake Superior (Cook).

State Record Fish



Most fish are healthy to eat. 
And fish are a great way to get 
low-fat protein.

But any fish (store-bought 
or sport‑caught) could have 
contaminants such as mercury 
and PCBs that can harm human 
health—especially children and 
fetuses.

The Minnesota Department of 
Health lets people know how often 
fish can be safely eaten.

The Safe Fish Eating guidelines 
on the following pages are based 
on mercury measured in fish from 
lakes across the state. 

Guidelines for waters where fish 
have been tested are on the DNR 
Web site.

Eat Fish    
    Often?

For more information, call the Minnesota Department of 
Health at 651.201.4911, toll-free at 800.657.3908 or visit 

www.health.state.mn.us/fish
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• Eat smaller fish. Bigger fish have more contaminants.
• Eat more panfish (sunfish, crappies) and less fish that eat other 

fish (walleyes, northern pike, lake trout).
• Trim skin and fat, especially belly fat. Also, eat fewer fatty fish 

such as carp, catfish, and lake trout. 

Tips for safe fish eating

• Coma pescados mas pequenos. Pescados grandes pueden 
contener mas contaminantes.

• Coma mas peces como Pomosios y Pez Sol y menos pescados 
que comen otros peces como Lucioperca, Lucio Norteño y 
Trucha de Lago.

• Remueva la piel y la grasa, especialmente la grasa alrededor de 
la barriga. Tambien coma menos pescados que tienen mas grasa 
como Bagre, Carpa y Trucha de Lago.

• Nen an ca nho. Ca lon chua nhieu chat o nhiem.
• Nen an loai ca nho co co the chien trong chao nhu ca sunfish, 

ca ro (crappie), va an t cac loai ca nhu walley, ca pike, va ca hoi 
song o ho (lake trout).

• Bo khong nen an da va mo ca, nhat la phan mo o bung ca. Mat 
khac, nen an  t nhung loai ca co nhieu mo nhu ca chep, ca tre 
hoac ca bong lau, va ca hoi song o ho.

Consejos para el consumo saludable de pescado

Tej yam qhia noj ntse kom txhob muaj teeb meem

83DNR Web site: mndnr.gov

• Yuav tsum noj cov ntse me. Cov ntse loj muaj ntau yam tsis huv. 
Txheem rau lawv lub cev lawm.

• Noj cov ntse pluav xws lis (xafiv = sunfish, kabpib = crappies) 
thiab yog cov ntse uas tom lwm yam ntse no ces noj kom 
tsawg xws lis (vaulais = walleyes, novtaw phaij = northern pike, 
lej rhauj = lake trout).

• Yim cov tawv thiab roj, qhov tseem ceeb tshaj yog cov roj tawm 
npluag plab. Tsis tag lis xwb yuav tsum noj cov ntse rog kom 
tsawg lis tsawg tau xws lis pamnais, ntse tuajkub, thiab (lej rhauj 
= lake trout).
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Northwest Region 
Bemidji Headquarters
(218) 308-2623
Baudette Area Office
(218) 634-2522
Bemidji Area Office
(218) 308-2339
Detroit Lakes Area Office
(218) 846-8340
Fergus Falls Area Office
(218) 739-7576 ext. 238
Glenwood Area Office
(320) 634-4573
Park Rapids Area Office
(218) 732-4153
Walker Area Office
(218) 547-1683

Northeast Region 
Grand Rapids Headquarters
(218) 327-4414
Aitkin Area Office
(218) 927-3751
Brainerd Area Office
(218) 828-2550

Licenses
DNR License Center 
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4026 
Watercraft Registration: 
1-800-285-2000
Phone License Sales:  
1-888-665-4236
Internet Sales: mndnr.gov

Lake Maps
Minnesota Bookstore 
660 Olive Street
St. Paul, MN 55155 
(651) 297-3000 or  
1-800-657-3757
www.minnesotasbookstore.com

Conservation Officer Locator
mndnr.gov/officerpatrolareas

Tamarack NWR
(218) 847-2641

US Fish and Wildlife Service 
(612) 713-5360
Boundary Waters Canoe Area 
Wilderness
Note: Permits and reservations are 
not under DNR jurisdiction. This 
is a national forest wilderness 
area. For information, contact:
Superior National Forest 
8901 Grand Avenue Place 
Duluth, MN 55808 
Information (218) 626-4300
Reservations 1-877-550-6777
www.bwcaw.org

Information on and Reporting 
Harmful Invasive Species
(651) 259-5100 or 
1-888-646-6367

Voyageurs National Park
(218) 283-6600

Addresses and Telephone Numbers

DNR FISHERIES OFFICES 
TDD (651) 296-5484 or MN toll free TDD 1-800-657-3929

Duluth and Lake 	  
Superior Area Office
(218) 525-0853 ext. 200
Finland Area Office
(218) 353-7591
Grand Marais Area Office
(218) 387-3056
Grand Rapids 
Area Office
(218) 327-4430
International Falls
Area Office
(218) 286-5220
Tower Area Office
(218) 753-2580 ext. 221

Central Region 
Central Headquarters
(651) 259-5831
Hinckley Area Office
(320) 384-7721
Lake City Area Office
(651) 345-3365
Lanesboro Area Office
(507) 467-2442

Little Falls Area Office
(320) 616-2450 ext. 225
Metro East Area Office 
(651) 259-5831
Metro West Area Office
(952) 496-4141
Montrose Area Office
(763) 675-3301

South Region 
South Headquarters
(507) 359-6047
Hutchinson Area Office
(320) 234-2550
Ortonville Area Office
(320) 839-2656
Spicer Area Office
(320) 796-2161
Waterville Area Office
(507) 362-4223
Windom Area Office
(507) 831-2900 ext. 232 
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Sunrise/Sunset Table

•	The following table is provided primarily for trout and salmon anglers 
who need to know the sunrise and sunset times on the waters they fish.

•	Times shown are Central Daylight Saving Time beginning March 11, 
2012 through Nov. 3, 2012. Central Standard Time for all other dates.

•	The times in the table below are for the longitudinal line running north 
and south through Minneapolis/St. Paul. To find the sunrise or sunset 
hours on the water you fish, go to mndnr.gov/sunrise-sunset/

Sunrise/Sunset Tables

DAY
	 1	 6:52	 6:00	 6:55	 7:41	 6:03	 8:18	 5:30	 8:52	 5:30	 9:04	 5:58	 8:40
	 2	 6:50	 6:02	 6:53	 7:42	 6:02	 8:20	 5:29	 8:53	 5:31	 9:03	 5:59	 8:39
	 3	 6:48	 6:03	 6:51	 7:43	 6:00	 8:21	 5:29	 8:54	 5:31	 9:03	 6:00	 8:38
	 4	 6:46	 6:04	 6:49	 7:44	 5:59	 8:22	 5:28	 8:55	 5:32	 9:03	 6:01	 8:36
	 5	 6:45	 6:06	 6:47	 7:46	 5:57	 8:23	 5:28	 8:56	 5:32	 9:02	 6:03	 8:35

	 6	 6:43	 6:07	 6:45	 7:47	 5:56	 8:24	 5:28	 8:56	 5:33	 9:02	 6:04	 8:34
	 7	 6:41	 6:08	 6:43	 7:48	 5:55	 8:26	 5:27	 8:57	 5:34	 9:02	 6:05	 8:32
	 8	 6:39	 6:10	 6:42	 7:49	 5:53	 8:27	 5:27	 8:58	 5:35	 9:01	 6:06	 8:31
	 9	 6:37	 6:11	 6:40	 7:51	 5:52	 8:28	 5:27	 8:58	 5:35	 9:01	 6:07	 8:29
	 10	 6:36	 6:12	 6:38	 7:52	 5:51	 8:29	 5:26	 8:59	 5:36	 9:00	 6:08	 8:28
	
	 11	 7:34	 7:14	 6:36	 7:53	 5:49	 8:30	 5:26	 8:59	 5:37	 9:00	 6:10	 8:26
	 12	 7:32	 7:15	 6:34	 7:54	 5:48	 8:32	 5:26	 9:00	 5:38	 8:59	 6:11	 8:25
	 13	 7:30	 7:15	 6:33	 7:56	 5:47	 8:33	 5:26	 9:01	 5:39	 8:59	 6:12	 8:23
	 14	 7:28	 7:18	 6:31	 7:57	 5:46	 8:34	 5:26	 9:01	 5:39	 8:58	 6:13	 8:22
	 15	 7:26	 7:19	 6:29	 7:58	 5:45	 8:35	 5:26	 9:01	 5:40	 8:57	 6:14	 8:20
	
	 16	 7:25	 7:20	 6:27	 7:59	 5:43	 8:36	 5:26	 9:02	 5:41	 8:56	 6:16	 8:18
	 17	 7:23	 7:21	 6:26	 8:01	 5:42	 8:37	 5:26	 9:02	 5:42	 8:56	 6:17	 8:17
	 18	 7:21	 7:23	 6:24	 8:02	 5:41	 8:38	 5:26	 9:03	 5:43	 8:55	 6:18	 8:15
	 19	 7:19	 7:24	 6:22	 8:03	 5:40	 8:40	 5:26	 9:03	 5:44	 8:54	 6:19	 8:14
	 20	 7:17	 7:25	 6:21	 8:05	 5:39	 8:41	 5:26	 9:03	 5:45	 8:53	 6:20	 8:12

	 21	 7:15	 7:27	 6:19	 8:06	 5:38	 8:42	 5:26	 9:03	 5:46	 8:52	 6:22	 8:10
	 22	 7:13	 7:28	 6:17	 8:07	 5:37	 8:43	 5:27	 9:04	 5:47	 8:51	 6:23	 8:09
	 23	 7:11	 7:29	 6:16	 8:08	 5:36	 8:44	 5:27	 9:04	 5:48	 8:50	 6:24	 8:07
	 24	 7:10	 7:30	 6:14	 8:10	 5:36	 8:45	 5:27	 9:04	 5:49	 8:49	 6:25	 8:05
	 25	 7:08	 7:32	 6:12	 8:11	 5:35	 8:46	 5:27	 9:04	 5:50	 8:48	 6:26	 8:03

	 26	 7:06	 7:33	 6:11	 8:12	 5:34	 8:47	 5:28	 9:04	 5:51	 8:47	 6:28	 8:02
	 27	 7:04	 7:34	 6:09	 8:13	 5:33	 8:48	 5:28	 9:04	 5:52	 8:46	 6:29	 8:00
	 28	 7:02	 7:35	 6:08	 8:15	 5:32	 8:49	 5:29	 9:04	 5:54	 8:45	 6:30	 7:58
	 29	 7:00	 7:37	 6:06	 8:16	 5:32	 8:50	 5:29	 9:04	 5:55	 8:44	 6:31	 7:56
	 30	 6:58	 7:38	 6:05	 8:17	 5:31	 8:51	 5:30	 9:04	 5:56	 8:43	 6:32	 7:55

	 31	 6:56	 7:39			   5:30	 8:52			   5:57	 8:41	 6:33	 7:53

MAR.	 APR.	 MAY    	 JUNE     JULY	 AUG.
2012	 2012	 2012	 2012	 2012	 2012

	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set
	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM
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Sunrise/Sunset Tables

DAY
	 6:35	 7:51	 7:11	 6:54	 7:51	 6:02	 7:31	 4:33	 7:52	 4:42	 7:33	 5:21 	 1
	 6:36	 7:49	 7:12	 6:52	 7:53	 6:00	 7:32	 4:33	 7:52	 4:43	 7:32	 5:22	 2
	 6:37	 7:47	 7:13	 6:51	 7:54	 5:59	 7:33	 4:33	 7:52	 4:44	 7:31	 5:24 	 3
	 6:38	 7:45	 7:14	 6:49	 6:55	 4:58	 7:34	 4:32	 7:52	 4:45	 7:30	 5:25 	 4
	 6:39	 7:44	 7:16	 6:47	 6:57	 4:56	 7:35	 4:32	 7:51	 4:46	 7:29	 5:27 	 5
	
	 6:41	 7:42	 7:17	 6:45	 6:57	 4:56	 7:36	 4:32	 7:51	 4:47	 7:27	 5:28 	 6
	 6:42	 7:40	 7:18	 6:43	 6:59	 4:54	 7:37	 4:32	 7:51	 4:48	 7:26	 5:29 	 7
	 6:43	 7:38	 7:19	 6:41	 7:01	 4:53	 7:38	 4:32	 7:51	 4:49	 7:25	 5:31 	 8
	 6:44	 7:36	 7:21	 6:40	 7:02	 4:51	 7:39	 4:32	 7:51	 4:50	 7:23	 5:32 	 9
	 6:45	 7:34	 7:22	 6:38	 7:04	 4:50	 7:40	 4:32	 7:50	 4:52	 7:22	 5:34 	 10
	
	 6:47	 7:32	 7:23	 6:36	 7:05	 4:49	 7:41	 4:32	 7:50	 4:53	 7:20	 5:35 1	 11
	 6:48	 7:30	 7:25	 6:34	 7:06	 4:48	 7:42	 4:32	 7:50	 4:54	 7:19	 5:37 1	 12
	 6:49	 7:28	 7:26	 6:32	 7:08	 4:47	 7:43	 4:32	 7:49	 4:55	 7:18	 5:38 1	 13
	 6:50	 7:27	 7:27	 6:31	 7:09	 4:46	 7:44	 4:32	 7:49	 4:56	 7:16	 5:39 1	 14
	 6:51	 7:25	 7:28	 6:29	 7:10	 4:45	 7:44	 4:32	 7:48	 4:58	 7:15	 5:41 1	 15

	 6:53	 7:23	 7:30	 6:27	 7:12	 4:44	 7:45	 4:32	 7:48	 4:59	 7:13	 5:42 1	 16
	 6:54	 7:21	 7:31	 6:25	 7:13	 4:43	 7:46	 4:33	 7:47	 5:00	 7:12	 5:44 1	 17
	 6:55	 7:19	 7:32	 6:24	 7:14	 4:42	 7:46	 4:33	 7:46	 5:01	 7:10	 5:45 1	 18
	 6:56	 7:17	 7:34	 6:22	 7:16	 4:41	 7:47	 4:33	 7:46	 5:03	 7:08	 5:46 1	 19
	 6:57	 7:15	 7:35	 6:20	 7:17	 4:40	 7:48	 4:34	 7:45	 5:04	 7:07	 5:48 	 20

	 6:59	 7:13	 7:36	 6:19	 7:18	 4:39	 7:48	 4:34	 7:44	 5:05	 7:05	 5:49 	 21
	 7:00	 7:11	 7:38	 6:17	 7:20	 4:39	 7:49	 4:35	 7:43	 5:07	 7:04	 5:51	 22
	 7:01	 7:09	 7:39	 6:16	 7:21	 4:38	 7:49	 4:35	 7:42	 5:08	 7:02	 5:52 	 23
	 7:02	 7:08	 7:40	 6:14	 7:22	 4:37	 7:50	 4:36	 7:42	 5:10	 7:00	 5:53	 24
	 7:03	 7:06	 7:42	 6:12	 7:24	 4:36	 7:50	 4:37	 7:41	 5:11	 6:59	 5:55 	 25

	 7:05	 7:04	 7:43	 6:11	 7:25	 4:36	 7:50	 4:37	 7:40	 5:12	 6:57	 5:56 	 26
	 7:06	 7:02	 7:44	 6:09	 7:26	 4:35	 7:51	 4:38	 7:39	 5:14	 6:55	 5:58 	 27
	 7:07	 7:00	 7:46	 6:08	 7:27	 4:35	 7:51	 4:39	 7:38	 5:15	 6:53	 5:59 	 28
	 7:08	 6:58	 7:47	 6:06	 7:28	 4:34	 7:51	 4:39	 7:37	 5:17			   29
	 7:09	 6:56	 7:48	 6:05	 7:30	 4:34	 7:51	 4:40	 7:36	 5:18			   30

			   7:50	 6:03			   7:51	 4:41	 7:35	 5:19			   31

SEPT.	 OCT.	 NOV.	 DEC.	 JAN.	 FEB.		
2012	 2012	 2012	 2012	 2013	 2013

	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set
	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM

Take A Mom Fishing Weekend—May 12-13 
Minnesota resident moms fish free.

Take A Kid Fishing Weekend—June 8-10
Minnesota residents 16 and older fish free with children younger than 16.

Take A Kid Ice Fishing Weekend—February 16-18, 2013
Minnesota residents 16 and older fish free with children younger than 16.

Free Fishing Weekends
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Legendary Angler
Al Lindner

       Ask for your walleye 
stamp validation on your angling 
license every year. 

Anglers support Minnesota’s walleye
A validation is not needed to catch or keep walleyes but flows into 
a dedicated account to support providing walleyes in various lakes 
throughout Minnesota.
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$5

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

Just $5

(For an additional $0.75 a pictorial stamp can be mailed to you. Request code 135.)

Stop Invasive 
Hitchhikers!

Invasive species can occur 
on land too. Taking a few 

simple steps can 
help prevent the 

spread of invasive 
plants and animals.

BEFORE leaving…BEFORE returning:
a Inspect and remove mud, plants   
 and animals from equipment   
 and vehicles.
a Brush seeds and mud from clothes,  
 boots, gear, and pets.
a	Burn local or certified firewood. 

Help keep your favorite recreation 
areas healthy.



Protect your waters from aquatic invasive species 
– take these actions required by law:

• 	Clean visible aquatic plants, zebra mussels, and other prohibited invasive 
species off watercraft, trailers, and equipment before leaving any water 
access. 

• 	Drain water from boat, livewell, bilge, and portable bait containers before 
leaving any water access. Drain plugs must be removed at the water access 
must remain open while transporting boats. 

• 	Dispose of unwanted bait, including minnows, leeches and worms, in the 
trash. It is illegal to release live bait into a waterbody and to release worms on 
the ground.

A fishing trip may     	

      last only a day,

but zebra mussels can 
live in a lake forever.

mndnr.gov


