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L

Compensation Limits for Local Government Employees

What is the State law limits the compensation for an employee of a political subdivision to 110
compensation limit  percent of the governor’s salary, with annual adjustments based on the Consumer
Jor local Price Index (CPI). The current salary of the governor is $120,303. The
government compensation for an employee of a political subdivision cannot exceed 110 percent
employees? of that amount, which is $132,333, adjusted annually to reflect any increase in the

CP1I for all-urban consumers in the prior year. Minn. Stat. § 43A.17, subd. 9. As of
January 1, 2011, the limit is $151,866. (For more information see the Minnesota
Management and Budget website at http://www.mmb.state.mn.us/comp-salarycap-
waiver.).

This compensation limit applies to employees of statutory and home rule charter
cities, counties, towns, metropolitan and regional agencies, and other political
subdivisions. The compensation limit does not apply to school districts, to
hospitals, clinics, or health maintenance organizations owned by a governmental
unit, or to medical doctors and doctors of osteopathy.

P

What is included in  The statute specifies what is considered compensation for purposes of the limit.

“compensation”? The statutory limit compares the compensation of political subdivision employees
E to the salary of the governor. For political subdivision employees, compensation
includes certain benefits as well as salary. The statute determines what is included
and excluded for purposes of the compensation limit. '

\ Included

; ¢ All deferred compensation

| e All direct and indirect items of compensation that are not specifically
excluded by the statute (e.g., cash allowance for personal use of a car is
‘ included)

Excluded

o Benefits that are provided for the majority of all other full-time employees
of the political subdivision, vacation and sick leave, health and dental
insurance, disability insurance, term life insurance, and pension benefits

¢ Dues paid to civic, professional, educational, or governmental
organizations

e Reimbursement for actual expenses that are directly related to the job



The statute contains The Commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB) may increase

a process and - the compensation limit for a position that the commissioner determines requires
criteria for granting special expertise necessitating a higher salary to attract or retain a qualified person.
exemptions In making this determination, the commissioner must consider salary rates paid to

other people with similar responsibilities in the state and nation. Before granting an
exception to the salary limit, the commissioner also must seek the advice of the
Legislative Coordinating Commission.

Any increase must also be adjusted annually by any increase in the CPI from the
prior year. Minn. Stat. § 43A.17, subds. 3 and 9. According to MMB, as of January
1, 2011, a local government may increase by 1.2 percent the compensation of an

. employee with an existing waiver for compensation to exceed $132,333. If the
existing approved waiver amount is below $151,866, the local government may
increase an employee’s compensation to the $151,866 limit without a waiver.

The legislature has  In 1977, the legislature provided that no political subdivision employee could be -
been addressing the paid more than the Commissioner of Finance. The 1980 Legislature repealed the

issue of political political subdivision salary cap. In 1983, the legislature enacted something similar
subdivision salary to the current cap—compensation for local government employees was limited to
caps since 1977 95 percent of the governor’s salary. There have been various refinements to the

law since 1983. Most significantly, in 1993 the legislature clarified what types of
compensation are to be included when comparing a political subdivision
employee’s compensation to the governor’s salary. In 2005, the legislature debated
repealing the cap altogether but decided to increase the cap and allow for annual
adjustments due to inflation.

There is a separate  The statute limiting political subdivision salaries does not cover state employees,

limit for state but there is a separate limit for state employees. With very limited exceptions, no

employees state employee may earn more than the head of the agency where the employee
works. Minn. Stat. § 43A.17, subd. 1. State law assigns executive branch agency
heads to two salary ranges, which are capped at 95 percent and 85 percent of the
governor’s salary. Minn. Stat. § 15A.0815, subds. 2 and 3. (These comparisons are
based strictly on salary, not on total compensation.) The heads of the higher
education systems are treated separately and are not limited by the governor’s
salary.

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Deborah Dyson at 651-296-8291 or Mark Shepard at
651-296-5051. Also see the House Research publication State Agency Head Salaries, October 2008.

* Previous versions of this short subject have been in the form of information briefs.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Property Tax 101: Basic Terms and Concepts

Estimated market
value

Taxable market
value

Net tax capacity,
class rate

Levy, levy limit
Local tax rate
Total local tax rate

Market value-based
levy and tax rate

Gross tax, property
tax credits, net tax

Propertj: tax
computation

The assessor determines each propérty’s estimated market value based on sales
of comparable properties, cost of construction minus depreciation, income
generated by the property (if applicable), and other relevant available information.

Estimated market value and taxable market value are the same for most types
of property. However, certain programs, such as the Green Acres program and the
This Old House program, provide for reduced valuations for enrolled properties,
making the property’s taxable market value less than its estimated market value.

A property’s net tax capacity is determined by multiplying the property’s taxable
market value by the relevant class rate or rates. Class rates are set by statute, vary
by property type, and are uniform statewide.

Each local taxing jurisdiction certifies a levy equal to the amount of revenue it
desires to raise through the property tax in the upcoming year. For many local
taxing jurisdictions, the levy may be constrained by state-imposed levy limits.

The local tax rate of a taxing jurisdiction is determined by dividing the
jurisdiction’s levy by the total net tax capacity of all properties within the
jurisdiction.

The total local tax rate for an individual property is the sum of the local tax rates
of all taxing jurisdictions allowed to levy taxes upon the property.

Certain voter-approved levies must be levied against market value rather than net
tax capacity. The market value-based tax rate is determined by dividing the
jurisdiction’s market value-based levy by the total taxable market value of all
properties within the jurisdiction (excluding the value of property classified as
agricultural or seasonal-recreational, since those property types are exempt from
market value-based taxes).

Property tax credits reduce the gross tax that would otherwise be due upon a
property. The remaining amount after subtraction of property tax credits is the net
tax. The market value homestead credit and the market value agricultural
credit are the two most common property tax credits and are based on formulas
related to the market value of the property. Other property tax credits include the
taconite homestead credit, the disparity reduction credit, and the power line credit.

On the back is an example illustrating how the property tax is computed for a
hypothetical residential homestead.



Computation of Property Tax for a Hypothetical Property

1. Determine the property’s taxable market value $200,000

2. Determine the class rate based on property type Residential homestead: 1.0%

3. Multll?ly taxable market value by class rate to obtain the nef tax $200,000 X 1.0% = $2,000
capacity

4. Determine the fotal local tax.rate by summing the tax rates of all | County 40%
jurisdictions authorized to levy property taxes upon the property | City/town 30
(i.e., jurisdictions whose boundaries include the property) School district 20

Special districts 5
Total 95%

5. Multlply net tax capacr[y by total tax rate to determine the net tax $2,000 X 95% = $1,900
capacity-based portion of the gross tax _

6. Determine the total market value tax rate by summing the market | County 0.00%
value tax rate for all taxing jurisdictions authorized to levy City/town 0.00
property taxes upon the property School district 0.15

Special districts 0.00
Total 0.15%

7. Multiply taxable market value by total market value tax rate to o/ —
determine the market value-based portion of the gross tax $200,000 X 0.15% = $300

8. Add the net tax (?apac1ty-based gross tax to market value-based $1.900 + $'3 00 = $2,200
gross tax to obtain the total gross tax

9. Determine the homestead credit amount for home of this value $192

10. Subtract the homestead credit from the gross tax to obtain the net $2,200 - $192 = $2,008
tax

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze at 651-296-8956 or Karen Baker at 651-
296-8959.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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HOUSE RESEARCH | Short Subjects

Updated: January 2011

Steve Hinze and Ka_ren_Baker

Property Tax 101: Who Pays Property Taxes and

Who Receives Them
Where property . Total property taxes statewide were $7,877 million for calendar year 2010. The
taxes come from total amount of property value (excluding the value of exempt property) was

$583,209 million. The graphs below show the breakdown of the state’s total
property tax base by market value and by taxes paid in 2010.

Statewide Shares of Markef Value and Prdperty Tax
by Property Type
(Taxes Payable 2010)

Estimated Market Value - PropértyTax

Residential Homestead e

Residential
Nonhomestead

Apartment

Commercial/Industrial

Total: $583,209 million | - Total: $7,877 million



Where property The total property tax burden in Minnesota was $7,877 million for calendar year
taxes go 2010. The pie chart below shows the distribution of the tax among the various
" types of taxing jurisdictions.

Statewide Property Tax by Type of Government,*
Taxes Payable 2010
(Total: $7,877 million)

City 25.5%
(includes tax increment fi nancmg [TIF])

County 31.5%

/ Special Taxing District 3-7%.

State 9.9% School District 27.0%

*Amounts shown are after allocation of property tax credits.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze at 651-296-8956 or Karen Baker at 651-
296-8959.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnesota’s Nongame Wildlife Checkoff

What is the
nongame wildlife
checkoff?

How much do
taxpayers contribute
to the nongame
wildlife checkoff?

What are
contributions to the
checkoff used for?

Minnesota’s nongame wildlife checkoff allows individuals to make contributions
on their individual income tax or property tax refund return to the states’ nongame
wildlife fund. Corporate taxpayers may also contribute on their corporate

franchise tax return. Taxpayers who wish to contribute fill in the amount of their
contribution on their income tax or property tax refund form. The amount of the
contribution is then either added to their tax due or subtracted from their refund.

In 2009, 69,143 individuals used the nongame wildlife checkoff to contribute just
over $1 million to the nongame wildlife fund on their individual income tax or
property tax refund forms. The average contribution was just under $16. About
2.1 percent of all filers made contributions—2.3 percent of income tax filers and
1.3 percent of property tax refund filers. Since 1998, taxpayers have contributed
about $1 million per year through the checkoff, but the share of filers making
contributions has decreased.

Nongame Wildlife Checkoff Contributions, 1998 to 2009

Year % contributing $ contributed Average contribution
1998 2.9% $972,996 $11.41
1999 2.0 1,003,721 12.01
2000 2.9 1,028,790 12.16
2001 3.0 1,134,319 13.23
2002 3.0 1,160,518 13.07
2003 3.0 1,154,574 13.11
2004 2.8 1,171,942 13.75
2005 2.6 1,098,310 14.12
2006 2.1 1,030,219 15.31
2007 2.1 1,075,785 15.34
2008 2.1 1,093,113 15.46
2009 2.1 1,086,545 15.72
Source: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Contributions to the nongame wildlife checkoff go into the nongame wildlife fund
and are appropriated to the Department of Natural Resources for its nongame
wildlife program. Although donations from the nongame wildlife checkoff provide
the majority of the funding for the nongame wildlife program, the program also
receives funding from the general fund, the game and fish fund, and other sources.

The nongame wildlife program focuses on nongame wildlife species that have been
identified as being rare, declining, or vulnerable in the state; these species are
known as “species of greatest conservation need.” The program supports six
regional wildlife specialists who work toward three major goals designed to protect
these species:



What are some
recent projects
JSunded through the
nongame wildlife

checkoff?

How many other
states have a
nongame wildlife

checkoff?

¢ Stabilizing and increasing the populations of the species
e Improving knowledge of the species
e Enhancing people’s appreciation and enjoyment of the species

The nongame wildlife program has supported a number of projects in recent years,
including the Project WILD program, which is an environmental and conservation
education program designed to train K-12 and other youth and environmental
educators on how to develop awareness of and foster responsible actions towards
wildlife and related natural resources. Other projects have included surveys of
various species including loons, bald eagles, frogs, and dragonflies, and the
acquisition of lands for various wildlife management areas and aquatic
management areas across the state to provide habitat for many wildlife species.

Thirty-six of the 42 states (and the District of Columbia) that have an individual
income tax also have a nongame wildlife checkoff. Most states have more than
one checkoff; Oregon has the most, with 25. Only three states offer only the
nongame wildlife checkoff—Indiana, Minnesota, and North Carolina.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Janelle Taylor at

651-296-5039.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing Iegislative,' :
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Motor Vehicle Sales Tax

The motor vehicle sales tax (MVST) has become an important funding source for transportation, although it
had not historically been allocated solely to transportation. A constitutional amendment passed in 2006 will
result in 100 percent of MVST revenues going to transportation purposes starting in fiscal year 2012.

MVST imposition
and collection

Periodic MVST
dedication to
transportation

2000-2001 tax
policy changes -
affecting MVST

2003 re-allocation
fo transit

The motor vehicle sales tax, or MVST, is a 6.5 percent tax applied to the sale of
new and used motor vehicles. Minn. Stat. § 297B.02. It is imposed instead of the
general sales tax and is based on the purchase price of the vehicle. Some older autos
as well as collector’s vehicles have a flat tax instead. MVST is collected by auto
dealers at the time of sale or when the vehicle is registered (for private party sales).

The legislature first directed a portion of MVST revenue to highways and transit in
1981, with the intent that it supplement other transportation funding sources. Over
the ensuing years, the percentage allocated to transportation was periodically
changed and suspended; it was eliminated beginning in fiscal year 1992.

Two changes in tax policy re-established MVST allocation for transportation.

First, the 2000 Legislature placed caps on registration taxes (tab fees) for passenger
vehicles, which reduced the amount of revenue collected. Registration taxes are
dedicated exclusively to streets and highways, and the legislature made up for the
losses to highway funds by providing MVST revenue. Second, the 2001
Legislature prohibited the use of property tax levies for metropolitan transit
operations. It replaced property tax revenue with allocations from MVST for both
metropolitan and greater Minnesota transit.

Rather than provide new funding for transportation, these MVST allocations to
highways and transit were intended primarily to offset reductions in other taxes.
One effect was to shift some transportation funding from local to state sources.

In the 2003 session, the legislature increased the percentage of MVST revenue
going to transit, but it was done without increasing the overall MVST allocation to
transportation. The additional funding for transit was partially to make up for
reductions in general fund appropriations for bus service throughout Minnesota
(which was largely due to overall budget cuts), and partly to reduce local
responsibility for Hiawatha light rail transit operating costs.

In effect, increased transit funding came from a reduction in the amount of MVST
revenue going to the state trunk highway system. MVST revenue allocated to the
highway user tax distribution (HUTD) fund was decreased with a corresponding
increase in allocations to the metro area and greater Minnesota transit funds. Funds
in the HUTD fund are constitutionally dedicated to state, county, and municipal
highways and streets. The county state-aid highway fund and the municipal state-
aid street fund received direct allocations from MVST revenue in order to offset the



v reduction in their portions of the HUTD funding (holding those funds “harmless”).
The MVST At the 2006 general election, the voters approved a constitutional amendment

constitutional dedicating all MVST revenue to transportation purposes. The amendment includes
amendment a phase-in period: 63.75 percent of the revenue must be dedicated to transportation

purposes in fiscal year 2008, with the transportation share growing by 10
percentage points per year until reaching 100 percent starting in fiscal year 2012.

The constitutional language also requires that “no more than 60 percent” of the
revenue go to the HUTD fund and “not less than 40 percent” go to public transit
assistance. Minn. Const. art. XIV, § 13. These distribution limits establish a
ceiling for allocation to highways and a floor for allocation to transit. Within the
distribution limits, the Constitution allows legislation to set the actual division
between highways and transit.

MVST phase-in Legislation passed in 2007 allocated MVST revenue under the phase-in. It was

and allocation modified in 2009 by shifting additional funds from highways to transit for fiscal
years 2010 and 2011, which was designed to help address transit deficits. Minn.
Stat. § 297B.09. '

In fiscal year 2012, after the phase-in, the revenues will be distributed 60 percent to
highways and 40 percent to transit (with the transit portion consisting of 36 percent
for the metropolitan area and 4 percent for greater Minnesota).

MYVST Phase-In Allocation

FY 2007 FY2008 FY2009 FY2010 FY2011 FY 2012+
HUTD fund 30.00% 38.25% 44.25% 47.5% 54.5% 60.00%
County state-aid highway fund 0.65
Municipal state-aid highway fund 0.17
Metropolitan transit 21.50 24.00 27.75 31.5 35.25 36.00
Greater Minnesota transit 1.43 1.50 1.75 4.75 4.00 4.00
General fund 46.25 36.25 26.25 16.25 6.25 0.00
Note: Percentage allocations for transit in fiscal years 2010-11 include dollar caps not discussed here.

Additional MVST  Additional revenue for transportation (with a corresponding reduction in revenue

revenue for the general fund) is estimated at about $252 million in fiscal year 2012, the first
year in which the MVST dedication is fully phased in. This represents a drop from
a 2006 estimate of $285 million, which is due to decreased MVST collections.

Additional Revenue from MVST Phase-In

(amounts in millions)

FY 2008 FY 2009  FY2010 - FY2011 FY 2012 FY 2013
HUTD fund $32.0 $54.2 $71.8 $108.1 $152.3 $162.8
Metropolitan transit 17.9 32.1 49.1 70.2 . 843 90.1
Greater Minnesota transit 1.3 22 15.2 13.2 15.0 - 16.0
General fund (51.3) (88.5) (136.1) . (191.5) (251.6) (269.0)
Note: Amounts are actual for fiscal years 2008-10 and estimated for subsequent fiscal years based on the Nov. 2010 forecast.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Matt Burress at 651-296-5045. See also the House
Research publication Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Chronology, August 2009.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Con_ditiOns'of Contihuing Employment for K-12 Teachers:

“Continuing
" contract rights” and
“tenure rights”
offer equivalent
procedural
protections

A newly licensed
probationary
teacher must
successfully
complete three
consecutive years of
continuous

~ employment

Teachers’
continuing
contracts remain in
effect unless a
specified
circumstance arises

Two sections of Minnesota Statutes govern conditions of continuing employment
for licensed K-12 teachers in Minnesota’s public schools. Section 122A.40 -
contains general provisions for all teachers’ continuing contract rights except those
teachers teaching in the three first-class city school districts of Minneapolis, St.
Paul, and Duluth. Section 122A.41, which contains similar provisions, governs the
tenure rights of teachers teaching in the three first-class city school districts. The
terms “continuing contract rights” and “tenure rights” mean that a school district
may not dismiss a teacher from a teaching position without first demonstrating the

' cause for that dismissal. The two terms are equivalent in the procedural

protections they afford and are used 1nterchangeably by educators, the courts, arid
others. :

Under state law, after a newly licensed probatlonary teacher successfully
completes three years of continuous employment, she or he becomes a contmulng
contract teacher if employed by a nonfirst-class city school district, or a tenured
teacher if employed by a first-class city school district. During the probationary
period, a school district has considerable discretion in deciding whether or not to
renew the probationary teacher’s employment contract. A school district under
section 122A.40 must notify a probationary teacher before July 1 that it will not
renew the teacher’s contract. Once a teacher receives a continuing contract or
tenure, the teacher becomes entitled to a number of employment-related

' protections, mcludlng bumpmg rights and Just cause and due process guarantees.

The contmulng contracts of teachers in nonfirst-class city school dlstrlcts under
section 122A.40 remain in full force and effect unless: -

-the school board and the teacher modify the contract; : :

«  the school board terminates the teacher for inefficiency before April 1,
neglect of duty, conduct unbecoming a teacher, or other grounds makmg
the teacher unfit;

« the school board places the teacher on an unrequested leave of absence
before July 1;

« the school board temporarily suspends the teacher and places the teacher on
a leave of absence for health reasons;

« the school board immediately discharges the teacher for immoral conduct,
conduct unbecoming a teacher, failure to teach, gross inefficiency, willful

“neglect of duty, or continuing phys1cal or mental disability; or.

« the teacher resigns before Aprll 1 or, if a collective bargaining agreement is

not settled, the teacher resigns within 30 days of when an agreement is
* ratified or July 15, whichever is first.



Tenured teachers
cannot be '
discharged or
demoted except for
cause ‘

School boards must
Jfollow procedures

when terminating,
~discharging, or

demoting a teacher .

Teachers may be
placed on an
unrequested leave
of absence
accordingtoa
negotiated or
statutory plan

Tenured teachers in first-class city school districts under section 122A.41 may be -
dlscharged or demoted for:

e immoral character conduct unbecommg a teacher, or msubordmatlon
« failure to teach;

 inefficiency in teaching or in management of a school;

o affliction with a communicable disease; and

» discontinuance of position or lack of pupils.

A teacher facing termination or immediate discharge in a nonfirst-class city school
district can request a public or private hearing before the school board or an '
arbitrator. The board and the teacher may have counsel, who can examine -
witnesses and present arguments. A school board must base a decision to dismiss a
teacher upon substantial and competent evidence in the hearing record. The

~ teacher may appeal a board decision to the state courts.

The Minneapolis, St. Paul, and Duluth school boards can discharge or demote a
teacher only after a full public or private hearing before the board or an arbitrator,
at the teacher’s election. The board may suspend a teacher against whom it has
filed charges. The board and the teacher may have counsel, who can examine
witnesses and present arguments, and both parties have the right to a written

" record. A vote by a majority of school board members is needed to discharge or

demote a teacher. The teacher may appeal a board decision to the state courts:

An arbitrator who conducts a'heari'ng must decide, based upon a preponderance of
the evidence, whether to terminate, discharge, or demote the teacher. The
arbitrator’s decision is final and blndmg on the partles and may not be appealed

© except on techmcal grounds.

A school board may place a teacher on an unrequested leave of absence, without

~ pay or fringe benefits, when the board discontinues the teacher’s position, lacks

sufficient students, faces financial limitations, or merges classes as a result of
consolidating districts. If the school board and the teachers’ exclusive bargaining
representative fail to negotiate an unrequested leave of absence plan, then statutory
terms control. A board must hold a public hearing on unrequested leaves before
July 1. A majority roll call vote of the full board is needed to place teachers on leave.

Teachers are placed on leave based on the inverse order of their employment and
on their areas of certification. Teachers’ seniority applies to each area in which the
teacher is certified. Teachers must be recalled to their positions, or other available
positions, in the inverse order in which they were placed on leave; most senior
teachers are recalled first. This seniority-based system rewards teachers with the -

- longest service by giving them maximum employment security. Statutory terms

governing resignations, leaves, certification, seniority and part-time experience,

‘teachers’ bumping rights, and districts’ ability to realign positions also affect staff

reduction decisions.

For more lnformatlon Contact leglslatlve analyst L1sa Larson at 65 1-296-8036.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartlsan office prowdlng Ieglslatlve
legal and information services to the entire House. .
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PELRA requires
public employers
and employees to
negotiate terms and
conditions of
employment .

Most school district

employees have the
) right fo bargain

collectively

PELRA organizes
public employees
into bargaining
units, who represent
them in contract
negotiations

July 2011
School District Collective Bargaining

The Public Employment Labor Relations Act (PELRA) establishes state collective

* bargaining laws that govern Minnesota public employers and representatives of -

unionized public employees (Minn. Stat. §§ 179A.01-179A.25). Under PELRA,

‘public employers and representatives of public employees must negotiate terms

and conditions of employment. Negotiated terms and conditions include hours of

employment, fringe benefits, and personnel policies affecting employee working

conditions. While most retirement benefits are not negotiable, school districts may
negotiate contributions to premiums for group insurance coverage of retired

~ employees and severance pay provisions. School district education policies are not

part of these teacher negotiations. Public employers need not negotiate inherent
managerial policies, such as budget matters, technology use, organizational
structure, and the direction, number, and selection of personnel.

Most pedplé employed in a school district, including teacheré principals, and

nonlicensed staff, have the right to bargain collectively. Employees who choose
not to organize do not have access to statutory bargaining protections. PELRA -

. excludes school superintendents and certain part-time and temporary employees,

and these excluded employees do not have the right to bargain collectively.
PELRA does not apply to independent nonpublic contractors or their employees

‘who provide pupil transportation, food service, or other contracted services to a

school dlstnct

~ PELRA spe01ﬁes crlterla for determlmng appropriate bargaining units. For school |
~ districts, the law places all teachers, other than ECFE teachers, in a district in one -

bargaining unit. If principals and assistant principals organize, they are in a
different bargaining unit. There are considerable 'variations among school districts
in bargalmng units for nonlicensed employees. —

The Commissioner of the Bureau of Mediation Services is responsible for many

- administrative tasks under PELRA. The commissioner uses statutory criteria to

determine appropriate bargaining units. The commissioner certifies exclusive
representatives of employees, in most cases after an election. Currently, Education
Minnesota is certified to represent bargalmng units of licensed K-12 teachers in all

~Minnesota school districts.

| Employees need not join a union. But PELRA requires the_‘éxclusive.

representative to represent both members and nonmembers, and lets unions impose
a “fair share” fee of up to 85 percent of regular membership dues for services the
union provides to all people the union represents.



Teachers’

- employment

agreements are for
a two-year term

PELRA provides
several alternatives
for resolving an
impasse over
contract terms

Continuing contract
laws establish
procedural
-requirements and
substantive grounds
Sfor terminating a
teacher -

Under PELRA, the length of a contract term is negotiable but must not exceed
three years. However, PELRA requires teachers’ collective bargaining agreements
to be for a two-year term, beginning July 1 in an odd-numbered year. Teachers’
collective bargaining agreements must establish teachers’ compensation, including
fringe benefits, for the entire two-year term and must not contain a wage reopening

clause or other provision for renegotlatmg teachers’ compensation durlng the two- .

year term.

PELRA provides several alternatlves for resolving an 1mpasse between negotiating

parties on contract terms:

e Either the school district or the exclusive representative of the teachers may
ask the commissioner to provide nonbinding med1at10n to try to resolve a
disagreement, and this frequently occurs.

o For essential employees (principals and assistant principals), either party
can require the use of binding arbitration to decide contract terms after an
impasse in bargaining has occurred. ‘For other employees (teachers and
nonlicensed employees), binding arbitration occurs only if the school board
and the exclusive representative mutually agree on arbitration. '

o Essential employees cannot strike. For others, the opportunity to strike
exists if certain conditions are met: the collective bargaining agreement has
expired, the parties participated in mediation over a period of at least 30
days, and no party requested interest arbitration or binding interest
arbitration was rejected; or the employer refused to comply with a valid
decision of a binding arbitration panel or arbitrator; and sufficient and
timely notice was given.

Two statutory sections separate from PELRA govern probationary and continuing
employment for licensed K-12 teachers in school districts generally (Minn. Stat. §
122A.40) and in the three first-class city school districts of Minneapolis, St. Paul,
and Duluth (Minn. Stat. § 122A.41). These tenure or continuing contract statutes
establish procedural requirements and substantive grounds such as inefficiency or
neglect of duties for terminating a teacher’s employment. These statutes allow a
school board and the exclusive representative of the teachers to negotiate a plan for
unrequested leaves of absence due to teacher cutbacks; statute and case law control

~ if a plan is not negotiated. Collective bargaining agreements must not conflict Wit_h:

the substance of these statutes but may alter the statutory unrequested leave of

absence provisions:

For more in‘fo‘rmation:'_ Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. |

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves isa nonpartlsan office provndlng legislative,
legal, and lnformatlon services to the entire House
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Minnesota’s Charter School Law

A charter school is a public school, part of the state’s system of public education,
and subject to the high school graduation requirement. The law provides that a
charter school’s purpose is to enhance students’ learning opportunities and
achievement, improve teaching opportunities and methods, or improve school
accountability measures. It must be nonsectarian and provide a comprehensive
instructional program for at least one grade or age group of students. The school
calendar must meet or exceed the number of instructional days provided to other
public school students. A charter school may offer instruction throughout the
school year under the flexible learning year or learning year program.

A charter school is exempt from statutes and rules applicable to a school, a school
board, or a school district, except as provided in the charter school law or in
another law made specifically applicable to charter schools.

With an authorizer, interested teachers and parents and district-created
corporatiqns may establish and operate a charter school or a school board may
convert a school to a charter school if 60 percent of the school’s full-time teachers
petition the board. A charter school operator must incorporate as a nonprofit
corporation. An initial board of directors must adopt articles and bylaws, and
school staff and parents must elect an initial board of directors and an ongoing
board within three years. Teachers may be a majority of board members. Board
meetings are subject to the open meeting law. A charter school may be located in
any school district unless the local school board objects.

Any one of five entities may authorize one or more charter schools: a school board,
an intermediate school board, or an education district; certain charitable
organizations; a Minnesota private college, a college or university that is part of
the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system, and the University of
Minnesota; a nonprofit corporation; and single-purpose authorizers that are
charitable organizations formed solely to operate charter schools. The
Commissioner of Education has 45 business days to approve an authorizer’s
application to charter a school. An authorizer annually must monitor and evaluate
the financial, operational, and student performance of the charter schools it
authorizes. The authorizer may charge an evaluation fee. With commissioner
approval, an authorizer may permit a charter school to expand to additional sites or
add grades. An authorizer may or may not renew a charter school contract at the
end of the term and may unilaterally terminate a contract during the term for cause.
An authorizer is immune from civil and criminal liability for all activities related to
a charter school. The commissioner must review an authorizer’s performance at
least every five years, may undertake more frequent reviews, and may take
corrective action against an authorizer.
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An authorizer and a charter school board of directors must sign a contract that at
least specifies the program purpose, student outcomes, admissions requirements,
an operating plan, compliance with federal and state laws, ongoing oversight of
operational, financial, and academic performance, school evaluation criteria,
liability insurance, an initial three-year contract that may be renewed for up to five
years, applicable special education agreements, and a plan for an orderly school
closing. The board of directors may sue and be sued.

A charter school receives general education and transportation revenue, special
education and building lease aid, and other funds as though it were a school
district. A charter school may use total operating capital revenue, accept funds for
capital facilities needs, and apply for integration aid. It may not use state funds to
purchase land or buildings. A charter school in statutory operating debt must have
a plan to eliminate the debt. A charter school that notifies the commissioner by
July 1 that it will transport students receives state transportation aid. A charter
school need not transport students between a nonresident student’s home and the
border of the school district in which the charter school is located. A board of
directors may not levy taxes or issue bonds. Conflicts of interest are prohibited
and any board member who violates the prohibition is individually liable. A
charter school is subject to the same financial audits and audit procedures as a
school district. The commissioner must provide board members with financial
management training.

A charter school may purchase land or buildings with nonstate funds and may lease
instructional space from an eligible school board, a public or private nonprofit
nonsectarian organization or other nonsectarian organization, or from a sectarian
organization in some cases. A charter school with insufficient total operating
capital revenue may receive state building lease aid to rent or lease a building or
land. A charter school may organize an affiliated nonprofit building corporation to
renovate or purchase an existing facility or to construct a new facility. To avoid
any conflict of interest, a charter school may not enter into a lease with a related
party unless the lessor is a nonprofit corporation and the lease cost is reasonable.
The commissioner may recover excess lease payments when a charter school
enters into a lease with a related party and later closes.

When an authorizer unilaterally terminates or does not renew a charter school
contract after notifying the board and conducting an informal hearing if requested,
the charter school must be dissolved unless the commissioner approves a change to
a different eligible authorizer. The commissioner may terminate a charter school
contract for failing to meet pupil performance requirements, fiscal
mismanagement, law violations, or other good cause. If an authorizer and a charter
school agree to terminate or not renew a contract, the school must be dissolved
unless the commissioner approves a change to a different eligible authorizer.
Students enrolled in a charter school that is closed may enroll in the resident
district or apply to a nonresident district under the open enrollment program; open
enrollment application and notice deadlines do not apply in this case.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. Also see the House
Research information brief Charter Schools, November 2005.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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| Legislative Review of State Employee

Collective Bargaining Agreements

The commissioner of management and budget negotiates collective bargaining
agreements with exclusive representatives of state employees. The law establishes
a process for legislative review of these collective bargaining agreements. (Minn.
Stat. §§ 3.855, 43A.06, 179A.22))

The legislative review process has two parts
¢ review and possible interim approval by a leglslatlve subcommlttee
~e ratification by the full leglslature

The law prov1des fora leglslatlve commission or subcommittee to initially review

 collective bargaining agreements between the state and exclusive representatives of

state employees. The Legislative Coordinating Commission (LCC) has created a
Subcommittee on Employee Relations (SER) to review collective bargaining

. agreements and to carry out other powers and duties dealing with state employee

cornpensatlon and related matters.-

The commissioner of management and budget must submit a negotiated collective
bargaining agreement to the chair of the SER for legislative approval. The
agreement must be submitted within five days of the date of approval by the
commissioner or the date of approval by the affected state employees whichever is

 later.

When the legislature is not in session, the SER may give interim approval to a
negotiated collective bargaining agreement, arbitration award, compensation plan,
or salary. Failure of the SER to disapprove a collective bargaining agreement
within 30 days constitutes approval. Upon interim approval by the SER, the
collective bargaining agreement is implemented. (If the legislature is in session
when the SER approves a contract, the contract is not 1mp1emented until it is
ratified by the full legislature.)

I the SER rejects a collective bargaining agreement when‘the legislature is not in

session, the collective bargaining agreement is not implemented. New negotiations
between the commissioner of management and budget and the exclusive
representative could occur. Also, if the SER rejection occurs dur1ng a legislative
1nter1m state employees have the ri ght to strike.



| Agreements must be The SER submits approved collective bargaining agreements to the entire - .
ratified by the full legislature for ratification. Approval or disapproval by the SER is not b1nd1ng on
legislature - the legislature. '

When the legislature has approved agreements, it has done so by reference (é.g.,
“The collective bargaining agreement between the commissioner and the exclusive
representative of state employees, approved by the Legislative Coordinating
Commission Subcommittee on Employee Relations is ratified.”). Legislative
ratification of the agreement is the final step in approval of the contract.

There is no statutory authority for the legislature to modify a collective bargaining
agreement. If the legislature enacted a law that had the effect of changing the terms
of a proposed collective bargaining agreement, it would be difficult to characterize
the result as a contract, as it would no longer represent a document voluntarrly ’
entered into by the parties.

The legislature can  If the legislature rejects the collective bargaining agreement or adjourns without
reject an agreement, acting on it, wages or benefit increases provided in the contract must cease to be
either explicitly or paid effective upon the rejection of the agreement or adjournment. However, wage

by failing to .. or benefit increases prev1ously paid under SER interim approval need not be re-
approve it before paid.
adjournment

The statute does not specifically state that the entire contract is void upon
legislative rejection or adjournment without action. However, this seems implicit.
If the legislature rejects or fails to ratify a collective bargaining agreement, affected |
state employees and the state could resume negotiations. Also, state employees
have the right to strike upon legislative rejectlon of an agreement or leglslatlve
failure to ratlfy an agreement.

There is a similar The process for legislative review of arbitration awatrds, compensation plans for
review process for nonunionized employees, and specified salaries (e.g., state agency heads) is similar
other compensatzon to that for collective bargaining agreements, but some of the details are different.
plans ~ For example, failure of the SER to ratify a compensation plan does not constitute
' approval. Also, the SER does not have authority to modify a collective bargaining
agreement before approving it, while it does have authority to modify a
compensation plan for nonunionized employees and specified salary proposals.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House: of Representatwes is a nonpartisan office prowdmg legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. .
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County State-Aid Highway System

The county state-aid highway system is a network of key highways under the
jurisdiction of Minnesota’s counties. It covers roughly 30,500 miles, comprises
just over two-thirds of all county highway miles, and includes roadways within all
87 counties. Counties receive money from the state’s county state-aid highway
(CSAH) fund for the construction, improvement, and maintenance of their
highways included in the state-aid system. Under a 2008 change, two distinct
formulas determine how much aid is allocated to each county.

State aid is provided through the CSAH fund, which is established by the
Minnesota Constitution. Revenue mainly comes from taxes on motor fuels, motor
vehicle registration, and motor vehicle sales. Available revenue consisted of
$457.6 million in calendar year 2011, determined by both tax receipts to date and
estimates of receipts for the remainder of the fiscal year. (This briefing does not
discuss a CSAH fund “set-aside” that goes into town road, town bridge, and
flexible highway accounts, some of which may also be provided to counties.)

Among the requirements accompanying the aid, counties must typically expend 60
percent of their allocation on construction projects and 40 percent on maintenance
efforts. Minn. Rules part 8820.1400. Counties are also required to expend a share
of their aid on stretches of county state-aid highways located within small cities
having populations under 5,000. Minn. Stat. § 162.08, subd. 1. In general, the
amount expended must at least be proportional, based on the construction needs for
county state-aid highway segments located in a county’s small cities compared to
the total construction needs in that county’s state-aid highway system.

Money in the CSAH fund is allocated on a calendar-year basis (using a
combination of actual tax receipts and estimates). A portion is set aside as
deductions for county highway-related purposes, including: (1) MnDOT
administrative costs, (2) a disaster account, (3) a research account, and (4) a state
park roads account. The calendar year 2011 deductions amounted to $16.2 million,
or about 3.5 percent of the total in the fund.

Direct aid, at $441.4 million in calendar year 2011, is divided into two categories.
The first is the apportionment sum and the second is the excess sum. Each
category reflects a distinct revenue stream and follows separate statutory formulas
to calculate aid distribution among the counties. Minn. Stat. § 162.07.

The apportionment sum revenue consists of available CSAH fund dollars that are
not identified as part of the excess sum (described below). The funds are
distributed to counties following a statutory formula, so that:

o 10 percent of the apportionment sum is divided equally among all counties;
e 10 percent is proportional, based on motor vehicle registration in each
county (compared to the total for all counties);



e 30 percent is proportional, based on county state-aid highway lane-miles
(compared to the total for all counties); and

e 50 percent is proportional, based on county construction needs to bring the
system up to county engineering standards. Minn. Stat. § 162.07, subd. 1b.

Excess sum revenue Excess sum revenue consists of the total from three sources:

¢ revenue from motor fuels tax above the amount collected at a rate of 20
cents per gallon (which comprises new revenue from a motor fuels tax
increase established in 2008 transportation finance legislation);

e revenue from the registration tax above the inflation-adjusted amount
collected in fiscal year 2008 (which is designed to identify increased
revenue resulting from registration tax changes also made 2008); and

o revenue from the motor vehicle sales tax above the percentage allocated to
the CSAH fund in fiscal year 2007 (which is designed to reflect additional
motor vehicle sales tax revenue currently being phased in for transportation
purposes). Minn. Stat. § 162.07, subd. la.

Excess sum The formula for distributing the excess sum is 40 percent proportional, based on
distribution formula motor vehicle registration in each county, and 60 percent proportional, based on
each county’s construction needs. Minn. Stat. § 162.07, subd. 1c.

Analysis of The apportionment and excess sum categories were introduced in 2008 as part of

Sformulas legislation that increased funding for transportation purposes. Laws 2008, ch. 152.
The creation of two aid formulas was designed to address equity concerns in the
statewide distribution of the aid.

For 2011, the excess sum consisted of $91.8 million or nearly 21 percent of the
formula-based direct aid allocated to counties (that is, excluding deductions).
However, in upcoming years the share of aid distributed under the excess sum
formula—as opposed to the apportionment sum formula—is likely to increase a
bit. This is because additional revenue is projected for transportation purposes due
to recent legislation, and the increased revenue will mainly be distributed under the
excess sum formula. The effect of the predicted revenue growth will likely be to
de-emphasize the county lane-miles formula component and more heavily weight
vehicle registration as well as construction needs.

Direct Aid Components Direct Aid by MnDOT District
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‘Municipal State-Aid Street System

The municipal state-aid street system is a collection of about 3,600 miles of key streets located in 147
Minnesota cities across the state. The system constitutes around 16 percent of all miles of city streets. Cities
receive financial assistance from the state for construction and maintenance of those streets included in the
system. Assistance comes from a portion of constitutionally dedicated, transportation-related taxes. Aid
distribution is based on a statutory formula administered by the Minnesota Department of Transportation
(MnDOT). Minn. Stat. § 162.13. The aid can only be expended on streets that constitute part of the
municipal state-aid street system. Total available funds for calendar year 2011 amounted to $142.9 million.

Constitutional and ~ The Minnesota Constitution establishes a basic framework for state highway

statutory framework - finance. It (1) dedicates funding to be “used solely for highway purposes” through

for state aid taxes on motor fuels, motor vehicle registration, and motor vehicle sales;
(2) establishes various accounting funds, including a municipal state-aid street
(MSAS) fund for financial assistance to cities; (3) allocates tax revenues among
state, county, and municipal roads, so that the MSAS fund receives 9 percent of 95
percent of those tax revenues constitutionally dedicated to streets and highways
(after some special allocations and transfers); and (4) establishes certain
requirements related to use of the funds and characteristics each highway system.
Minn. Const. art. XIV. State statutes further specify finance and pohcy prov151ons
such as aid allocation formulas and requirements for cities to receive aid.

City eligibility To be included in the system and receive aid, under the Minnesota Constltution a
' city must have a population over 5,000. Minn. Const. art. XIV, § 8. Population is
determined by the last federal decennial census, with provisions for some special
circumstances. Minn. Stat. § 162.09, subd. 4. Cities smaller than the population
cutoff do not receive aid. (Chisholm’s population fell below the cutoff with the .
2000 census but is permanently grandfathered in. Laws 2001, 1St spec. sess., ch. 8,
art. 2, § 6, Laws 2002, ch. 364, § 29.) :

Based on drops in population under the 2010 census, five cities are anticipated to
lose eligibility for aid from the MSAS fund (starting with the 2012 aid
distribution). .Roads in those cities may convert to city streets or become part of
the county state-aid highway system under an agreement with the county.

While smaller cities having a population under 5,000 are not eligible for aid from

the MSAS fund, they are indirectly assisted through separate funding for certain

county highways. A portion of state funds for the county state-aid highway system

provided to each county must be allocated to a municipal account for county state-
* aid highways located in smaller cities. Minn. Stat. § 162.08.

Street system Within each city, the municipal state-aid street system is restricted to up to 20
limitations percent of the total miles of (1) the city’s streets, plus (2) county highways located
' within the jurisdiction of that city. City streets that were previously part of a state
trunk highway or a county highway system and were “turned back” to a city are
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apportionment

also included in the municipal state-aid street system and do not count against the
20 percent limit. Minn. Stat. § 162.09.

State-aid funding is distributed on a calendar-year basis. MnDOT determines the

“amount annually based on both tax receipts to date and estimates of receipts for the .

remainder of that fiscal year. Apportionment amounts are released each January.
For calendar year 2011, total available MSAS funding is $142.9 million.

Funds are distributed as follows based on formulas and caps set in state law:

o $139.1 million apportioned by formula as direct aid to cities;

e $2.9 million to an administrative account for MnDOT expenses in .

~ administering the state-aid program,;

e $253,000 to a disaster account for unforeseen events resultlng in undue
financial hardship; and

e $633,000 to a research account. Minn. Stat. §§ 162.12, 162.13.

Money in the MSAS fund apportloned to cities via direct aid follows a formula
prov1ded in statute, so that: :

e 50 percent is divided proportlonally based on the populatlon of each c1ty
(compared to the total for all cities); and

e 50 percent is divided proportionally based on the construction needs of
each city, which is the amount the city needs to bring all its municipal state-
aid streets up to state standards. Minn. Stat. § 162.13.

Owing to the variety of cities with streets in the state-aid system, MSAS fund

~ distributions vary. Calendar year 2011 direct aid apportionments to cities ranged

from about $144,000 to over $12 million. The average allocation was just over
$946,000, with 34 cities receiving over $1 million a piece and 16 cities receiving
over $2 million. Because of the influence of population in the formula for
allocating aid, larger cities tend to receive greater amounts of funding. The
following chart groups cities based on amount of aid distributed.

MSAS Direct Aid Distribution
CY 2011 ($139.1 million, 147 cities)
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst Matt Burress at 651-296-5045. Also see the House
Research publication Highway Finance Overview, January 2011.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves isa nonpartlsan office providing Ieglslatlve
legal, and information services to the entlre House. ,

House Research Department l 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | WWW, house mn/hrd/hrd.htm



HoOUSE RESEARCH

Short Subjects

Nina Manzi and Jim Cleary

o

Updated: August 2011

Military Pay under Minnesota’s Individual Income Tax
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* Minnesota income tax treatment of active service military pay depends on several
factors:

e Where the service was provided (in Minnesota or outside Minnesota)

e If the individual had nonmilitary income above the filing requirement for
the tax year

e If the individual is a Minnesota re31dent _

e Ifthe individual is in the regular full-time military or in the Nat10na1 Guard
OF IeSeIves

Minnesota residents who serve outside Minnesota and have nonmilitary income
less than the filing requirement for the tax year ($9,500 for tax year 2011) are not
subject to state income tax withholding and do not have to file a Minnesota income
tax return. This generally applies to members of the full-time military who are in
active service outside Minnesota throughout the entire tax year, as members of
either the full-time military or the National Guard or reserves.

Minnesota residents who serve outside Minnesota and have nonmilitary income
above the filing requirement for the tax year must file a Minnesota return, but may
subtract all types of military pay earned outside Mlnnesota Some common
situations include the following: -

"« Members of the full-time military in active service whose spouses are

employed and live in Minnesota

e Members of the National Guard and reserves in active service outside
Minnesota for the entire tax year who have employed spouses living in
Minnesota, or whose civilian employer provides a salary differential

* Members of the National Guard and reserves in active service outside of
Minnesota for part or all of the year who have interest, d1V1dend or
business income ‘

e Members of the National Guard and reserves called to active service
outside Minnesota for a portion of the tax year, who have civilian income
in Minnesota during the remainder of the tax year

Individuals who serve in Minnesota and are residents of another state must file a
Minnesota income tax return but may claim a subtraction for active service
military pay earned in Minnesota. Federal law prohibits states from taxing active:
service military pay earned by nonresidents. This treatment typically applies to
residents of other states who are stationed in Minnesota. Federal law also prohibits
states from considering spouses of residents of other states to be Minnesota

residents for tax purposes



Service in Individuals who serve in Minnesota and are Minnesota residents may claim a

Minnesota by a subtraction for regular active service military pay. This treatment typically applies
. Minnesota resident. to Minnesota residents who are full-time military and are stationed in Minnesota,

who is a member of  such as members of the Coast Guard and recruitment officers. This subtraction

the full-time does not apply to Active Guard/Reserve (AGR) personnel and to certain other
military limited categories of state serV1ce :

Service in Minnesota res_1dents who are members of the National Guard and reserves are
Minnesota by a allowed a subtraction for pay received for qualifying active service within

Minnesota resident  Minnesota. “Qualifying active service” includes:
who is a member of -
the National Guard
or reserves - :

e certain sfate active service, such as assistance in natural disasters and -
searches for lost persons (Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. Sa, ¢l. (1));

o federally funded state active service, under U.S.C. Title 32 (National
Guard), such as weekend drills and annual training (summer camp), spe01al
school attendance, airport security, or active duty for special work (ADSW)
(Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5b); and
e federal active service, under U.S.C. Title 10 (Reserves) such. as weekend
drills, annual training (summer camp), special school attendance, pre- or

_ postdeployment-related duty, and time on medical hold under Title 10
active duty orders while recuperating from an injury (Minn. Stat. § 190. 05
subd. 5c¢).

' “Qualifying active service” excludes service by AGR personnel and by former
members of the National Guard ordered to actlve service by the adJutant general to
perforrn admlmstratlve duties. :

Minnesota follows ~ Minnesota conforms to federal income tax treatment of various types of military

Sfederal tax income, whether received in-kind or as a reimbursement or allowance. Examples
treatment of other of excluded income include the following: :
I.fmds of military . Hoﬁsing allowances
income and benefits : . -
_ e Moving allowances
o Travel allowances and per diem
e (Combat zone pay
e Death gratuity benefits

While Minnesota excludes combat pay from taxable income, it counts combat pay -
in determining an individual’s e11g1b111ty for the working family tax credit. This
credit for low-income taxpayers is calculated as a percentage of earned income.-
Counting combat pay as earned income results in some service members remaining
ehglble for the credit and qualifying for refunds.

For more information: The Department of Revenue maintains information on taxation of military pay
online at taxes.state.mn.us/individ/pages/residency_and_filing_ status_military_sub_active_duty_
military.aspx; or contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Jim Cleary at 651-296-5053,
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~ Section 179 Expensmg under the
Federal and Minnesota Income Tax

Income tax laws generally-require businesses _to'spread deductions of capital
expenditures over the useful lives of the purchased property. Section 179
expensing, which takes its name from a section of the Internal Revenue Code,

allows businesses to deduct the entire amount of the cost of qualifying property in

the tax year the property is placed in service, rather than claiming depreciation
deductions over a number of years. This allows the business to accelerate

- recognition of the expense from future tax years into the present year. The number

of years over which property would otherwise be depreciated ranges from three to
15 years, depending on the type of property and its useful life as classified under
the Internal Revenue Code. - '

In tax year 201 1 busmesses can clalm up to $500,000 of property expenditures
under section 179 If a business places more than $2 million of qualifying property

1in service in the tax year, the amount allowed under section 179 is reduced dollar

for dollar by the amount over $2 million, so that businesses that place in service

‘more than $2.5 million in qualifying property are not eligible for section 179
- expensing. For tax years 2010 and 2011 only, businesses may claim up to

$250,000 of expenditures for qualified real property as section 179 expensing.

Minnesota does not conform to the federal section 179 expensing amount in effect
in tax year 2011, and does not allow expenditures for qualified real property to be
claimed as expensing. Instead, Minnesota allows the section 179 expensing -
amount in effect before tax year 2003, when the federal government embarked on a
series of increases and extensions to the amount allowed as section 179 expensmg

In tax year 2011, a business may claim up to $25,000 in expensmg onits -
Minnesota return. This amount is reduced dollar for dollar by the cost of property
placed in service over $200,000, so that a business that places in service more than
$225 000 in qualifying property is ineligible.

If a business claims more than $25,000 in section 179 expensmg at the federal
level, it must add 80 percent of the additional amount claimed to Minnesota
taxable income on its Minnesota return. It is then allowed to subtract one-fifth of
the amount added back in each of the next five tax years. In that way the full

- amount claimed at the federal level is ultimately allowed at the state level—20 |
" percent in tax year 2011 and 16 percent per year in tax yeats 2012 through 2016.

" In 2002 businesses could claim up to $24,000 in section 179 expensing, and this

phased out for businesses with total expenses from $200,000 to $224,000. The
$24,000 allowance was scheduled to increase to $25,000 in 2003, but Congress
temporarily increased the allowance to $100,000. This was the first of nine
Congressional actions that provided temporary increases in the maximum



What is the recent
history of section
179 expensing in
Minnesota?

What are the
Sfederal and state
allowances?

allowance and the “phaseout” limit; Congress has also periodically indexed for
inflation the temporanly 1ncreased amounts. This leglslatlon is summarlzed in the

- following table.
Summary of Federal Section 179 Leglslatlon
2003-2012
. Maxnmum , ‘ : S
Year deduction - Phaseout Indexing Expiration
2003 $25,000, $200,000, Yes for 2004 2006
increased to increased to and 2005
. $100,0000 $400,000 '
2004 No change No change Extended to Extended to
' - 2006 and 2007 | 2008
2006 No change No change Extended to Extended to
. , B 2008 and 2009 | 2010
2007 Increased to Increased to Yes for 2008 to | 2011-
| $125,000 $500,000 2010
2008 and Increased to Increased to No 2010
2009 $250,000 $800,000 :
2010 and Increased to Increasedto | No 2012
2011 $500,000 $2 million
2012 $138,000 $551,000 Yes, from 2007 | 2013

Minnesota conformed to the initial federal increase in section 179 expensing,
which was effective for tax years 2003 through 2005. In those years, businesses
could claim the same amount under the Minnesota tax as they could under the

 federal tax. Since then, the legislature has elected not to conform to the higher

federal section 179 allowances.

Instead of conforming to the increased federal amounts, Minnesota law requires
taxpayers to add to taxable income 80 percent of the additional amount of
expensing allowed at the federal level in the first tax year, and then subtract one-
fifth of the amount added back in each of the five following years.

Section 179 Allowances Under Federal and Minnesota Law

_ Federal , Minnesota
Tax year | Maximum Start of Maximum Start of
' deduction _phaseout deduction phaseout -
12002 - $24,000 $200,000 $24,000 $200,000
2003 100,000 400,000 100,000 400,000 |
2004 102,000 410,000 102,000 410,000
2005 105,000 420,000 ~ 105,000 420,000
2006 108,000 430,000 - 25,000 200,000 |
2007 125,000 500,000 25,000 200,000
2008-2009 250,000 800,000 25,000 200,000 |
12010-2011 500,000 2,000,000 25,000 200,000
2012 138,000 551,000 25,000 - 200, 000

For more mformatlon Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or J oel Mlchael at

651-296-5057.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves isa nonpartlsan offlce provndmg Ieglslatlve
legal, and information services to the entire House. S .

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | st. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Economic Forecasts, Budget Surpluses, and Budget Shortfalls

When are economic  The commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget must prepare a forecast

Jorecasts prepared?

What are the
Sforecasts used for?

What if a forecast
shows a budget
shortfall?

of state revenues and expenditures twice each year—in February and November.

The November forecast in even-numbered years becomes the basis for the
governor’s budget recommendations to the legislature. The November 2010

forecast provided the revenue and expenditure projections that the governor used in
developing the budget for the fiscal year 2012-2013 biennium. The November

2010 forecast also showed if the state was on track to finish the fiscal year 2010-
2011 biennium with a balanced budget.

The February forecast in odd-numbered years fine-tunes the preceding November’s
forecast with data that becomes available early in the calendar year. The February
2011 forecast provided the revenue and expenditure projections that the legislature

- used in adopting a budget for the fiscal year 2012-2013 biennium. Following the

February forecast, Gov. Mark Dayton submitted modifications to the budget
developed from the November forecast, which are called “supplemental budget
recommendations.” The February 2011 forecast also provided an update on the

_status of revenues and expenditures in the current biennium.

The November forecast in odd-numbered years and the February forecast in even-
numbered years also provide updates on revenues and expenditures in the current
biennium. Using the projections of the November 2011 forecast, the governor may
make additional “supplemental budget recommendations” proposing changes to
the fiscal year 2012-2013 budget during the 2012 legislative session. The '

‘legislature will use the projections in the February 2012 forecast to ensure that the

fiscal year 2012-2013 biennium closes with a balanced budget.

If a forecast shows a shortfall for the general fund in the current biennium, the
commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget may reduce the budget
reserve account as needed to balance revenues with expenditures. If there isn’t
enough money in the budget reserve to balance the general fund in the current
biennium, and if a balanced budget has been enacted for the biennium, then the
commissioner may also reduce outstanding appropriations, commonly referred to
as “unalloting.” Before reducing the budget reserve or unalloting appropriations,
the commissioner must obtain the approval of the governor and must consult with -
the Legislative Advisory Commission. When the legislature is in session, the

_governor typically makes recommendations to the legislature on how to resolve the-

shortfall before approving use of the budget reserve or unalloting.

If a forecast shows a shortfall for any other fund in the current biennium, the
commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget must reduce the affected



agehcy s allotment to avoid a deficit. As with general fund‘shortfalls if the
legislature is in session the governor would typically make recommendatlons on
how to resolve the shortfall. :

If a forecast shows a shortfall for the coming biennium, the governor’s budget
recommendations must propose revenue and expenditure changes in order for the
budget to be in balance at the close of the coming biennium.

What if the forecast . If a forecast shows a surplus for the general fund in the current biennium, the
shows a budget -~ commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget must allocate the surplus i in
surplus? priority order as follows: -

e to the cash flow account, until it reaches $350 million

« to the budget reserve account, until it reaches $653 million-

o to'increase the school aid payment schedule to 90 percent

o to restore previous school aid reductions and reduce the property tax
recognition shift accordingly

o to restore the $15 million transferred in 2008 from the state airports fund

- to the general fund o

e to restore the additional $10.7 million transferred in 2010 from the fire
safety account in the special revenue fund to the general fund

If all these pr10r1t1es have been met, the remaining surplus is reported in the
forecast as a “positive unrestricted budgetary general fund balance.” Recent »
budget balancing actions affect the priorities and distribution of surplus funds.

 On July 1, 2011, the commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget
canceled $171 million of the unobligated balance in the cash flow account to the
general fund, reducing it below the required level of $350 million. The budget
reserve has been reduced to zero as part of balancing the fiscal year 2012-2013
budget. The school aid payment schedule is set at 73 percent for fiscal year 2010,
70 percent for fiscal year 2011, and 60 percent for fiscal year 2012 and following
years. Any positive unrestrlcted budgetary general fund balance in future forecasts

- would go first toward restoring the cash flow account to $350 million, then to

. restoring the budget reserve account, until it reached $653 million, and next to
increasing the school aid payment percentage to 90 percent.

If a forecast shows a surplus for the coming biennium, the governor’s budget
recommendations may propose revenue reductions and/or expenditure increases, as
long as the proposed changes do not result in a projected budget shortfall.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253 or Nina Manzi at 651- |
296-5204. Also see the House Research publication Unallotment: Executive Branch Power to Reduce

Spendzng to Avoid a Deficit, December 2010.

" The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House: ‘

House Research Department | 600 State Office Bundmg | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www. house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Basics of Emergency General Assistance

Emergency General Assistance (EGA) is a state program, administered by Minnesota counties, that
provides income assistance in emergency situations.

Who is eligible?

What is an
“emergency
situation”?

An individual, childless couple, or family without financial resources
immediately available to resolve an emergency situation is eligible for EGA if:

o The person or family is not eligible for Minnesota Family Investment
Program (MFIP), the Diversionary Work Program (DWP), or county
emergency assistance through the MFIP consolidated fund;

. The person or family has annual net income no greater than 200 percent
of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG) for the pervious calendar year (in
2010, for a family of three, 200 percent of FPG was $36,620);

e The person or family has not, without financial good cause, used more
than 50 percent of available income and resources for purposes other
than basic needs during the 60 days before application;

e The person or family is without financial resources immediately
available to resolve the emergency; and

e The emergency did not arise because the person or family member has
been disqualified from General Assistance (GA) or MFIP.

Persons or families in need who are not state residents may also receive
assistance to meet emergency needs. State law requires that nonresidents must
reside in Minnesota for 30 days before applying for EGA.

Beginning November 1, 2011, applicants for or recipients of Supplemental
Security Income (SSI) or Minnesota Supplemental Aid who have emergency
need may apply for EGA. This change was made by the 2011 Legislature as part
of a restructuring and combining of emergency assistance programs.

An individual or family may receive EGA not more than once in any 12-month
period.

An emergency situation is a situation in which an individual or family is
without, or will lose within 30 days after application, a basic need item and
requires immediate financial assistance. “Basic needs” are limited to food,
clothing, shelter, utilities, and other items, the loss or lack of which pose a
direct, immediate threat to the physical health or safety of the applicant.



The assistance must be temporary and must not exceed 30 days following the
date of application. Assistance must be paid for needs that accrue before the 30-
day period when it is necessary to resolve emergencies arising or continuing
during the 30-day period.

How is' EGA funded EGA is funded with state general fund dollars. State funding for EGA was |

and how are unalloted by Gov. Tim Pawlenty beginning November 1, 2009, through June 30,
benefits paid? 2011.

EGA is provided within the limits of available appropriations and funds are
allocated to counties by the state. The minimum county allocation is $1,000 per
fiscal year. Counties may make expenditures above the amount of their state
allocation but additional expenditures must be made from county funds.

EGA grants are paid for with vouchers or in the form of a vendor payment
unless the county determines that a cash grant will better meet the needs of the
emergency situation.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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2011 Corporate Foster Care Mcratorium Modifications |

Corporate foster care is foster care in which the primary license holder does not reside in the residence, and
_ the foster care home is operated by a corporation with shift staff delivering services to clients. The 2009
Legislature established a partial moratorium on new licenses for corporate foster care. The 2011 Legislature
made changes to the moratonum that are briefly described in this short subject.

What is the
corporate foster
care moratorium?

Who is affected by 7

the changes to the
corporate foster
care moratorium?

When must the
reassessments be
completed?

Beginning J uly 1, 2009, the commissioner of human services was prohibited from
assigning initial hcenses for corporate foster care. Exceptlons to the moratorium
include:

o foster care settings that are required to be licensed under the housing with
- services establishment statute;

o foster care licenses replacing foster care hcenses in existence on May 15,
2009, and determined to be needed by the commissioner;

o new foster care licenses determined to be needed by the commissioner for
the closure of a nursing facility, intermediate care facility for persons with
developmental disabilities, regional treatment center, or restructuring of
state-operated services that limits the capacity of state-operated facilities;

e new foster care licenses determined to be needed by the commissioner for
persons requiring hospital level care; and -

e new foster care licenses determined to be needed by the commissioner for
the transition of people from personal care ass1stance to the home- and
commumty—based services.

- The 2011 Legislature modified the corpbrate foster care moratorium by directing

local agency case managers, at the time of reassessment, to assess recipients of the
Medicaid Community Alternatives for Disabled Individuals (CADI) and Traumatic
Brain Injury (TBI) waivers currently residing in corporate foster care to determine

if they may be appropriately served in a community-living settmg (see deﬁmtron

below).

If a community-living setting is determined appropriate for the recipient, the case
manager must offer the recipient the option to receive alternative housing and
service options. The recipient has the choice to stay in corporate foster care or

transfer to a community living setting. (See Laws 2011, 1st spec sess., ch. 9, art. 7,

§40)

Local agency case managers must complete these reassessments by June 30, 2012.
Generally, a reassessment of an individual’s strengths, support systems, and need
for services is conducted at least every 12 months and at other times when there
has been a significant change in the individual’s functioning,. '



How are
“community-living
settings” defined?

What other
requirements must
local agencies
meet?

What happens to

the vacated beds?

What is the impact

of this change?

Does this save the
~ state money?

“Community-living settings” are defined as single-family homes or apartments

‘where the service recipient or their family owns or rents, and maintains control

over, the individual unit. Commumty—hvmg settings must meet the following
criteria:
e individuals must not be required to receive services through the housmg
provider . :
e individuals must not be required to have a dlsablhty or specific d1agnos1s to
live in the setting
individuals may choose whether to share their household and with whom
individuals must have lockable access and egress (See Laws 2011, 1st spec.
sess., ch9art7§41) :

Counties are requi_red to immediatelgf inform the Department of Human Services
(DHS) when a corporate foster care recipient receiving services through the CADI.
or TBI waivers chooses to move out of a corporate foster care home into a '
community-living setting. DHS must immediately decrease the licensed capacity

“for that home. These decreases in licensed capacity are not subject to appeal. (See
"~ Laws 2011, 1st spec. sess., ch. 9, art. 7, § 1.) ' '

The new law prohibits Vacated corporate foster care home beds from being ﬁlled
with other recipients of Medicaid waiver services or group residential housing, It
also requires the licensed capacity of the corporate foster care home to be reduced
when an individual chooses to move to a community-living setting, with certain
exceptions. If a corporate foster care home becomes no longer viable due to the
transfer of CADI and TBI recipients to community-living settings, the county
agency and DHS must facilitate a consolidation of settings or closure of the
facility. (See Laws 2011, 1st spec. sess., ch. 9, art. 7, § 40.).

DHS estimates that 128 individuals will move out of corporate foster care and into
a commumty—hvmg setting in the current biennium as a result of this change in the -

law,

This change results in an estimated savings of $1.29 million in fiscal years 2012
and 2013, and $4.17 million in fiscal years 2014 and 2015.

For mere information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing Ieglslatlve
_ legal, and information services to the entire House.
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The Minnesota Sunset Act

The 2011 Legislature created a Sunset Advisory Commission, which will periodically review state
agencies and make recommendations on whether the agency should continue to exist. The law, called the
Minnesota Sunset Act, establishes a schedule for periodic review and expiration of many state agencies
(Minnesota Statutes, chapter 3D).

Some agencies
expire automatically
unless reauthorized
by law

The Sunset
Advisory
Commission must
review agencies

Most state executive branch agencies will be reviewed between 2012 and 2022,
according to a schedule prescribed in law. Many agencies, including most state
boards, councils, and commissions, expire automatically at the scheduled date

‘unless a new law continues the agency. The following agencies will be reviewed

according to the schedule but do ot expire automatically:

¢ Administration e Iron Range Resources and

e Agriculture = - : - Rehabilitation ~

e Commerce e Labor and Industry

e Corrections e Management and Budget

e Education e Mediation Services

e Employment and Economic e Military Affairs
Development e Natural Resources

o Explore anesota Tourlsm e Pollution Control

e Health e Public Safety

¢ Higher Education e Public Utilities Comm1sswn

e Housing Finance - e Revenue

¢ Human Rights e Transportation

e Human Services e Veterans Affairs

The Sunset Advisory Commission must review agencies at the scheduled times and
make recommendations to the legislature. The commission’s recommendations are
advisory—the commission does not have authority to extend an agency that is

' rscheduled for automatic expiration or to abolish an agency that is not scheduled to

expire autornat1ca11y

The commission consists of four senators, four members of the House of
Representatives, and four members appointed by the governor. No more than three
of the senators and no more than three of the House members may be from the
majority caucus in their respective chambers. All members setve at the pleasure of
the appointing authority. The commission must review all agencies, even the
agencies that do not expire automatically. The law assigns each agency to one of
six groups, which are scheduled for review in 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018, 2020, and
2022. Advisory groups associated with an agency expire at the same time as the
agency.

The following agencies are in the first group, which is subject to review starting in



The law establishes

a process to be
JSollowed each
review cycle

The law specifies

what happens if an

agency expires

2011. These agencies are scheduled to expite on June 30, 2012:

Amateur Sports Commission ¢ Council on Disabilities
Capitol Area Architectural and e Indian Affairs Council
Planning Board ' o All health-related licensing
Combative Sports Commission boards
Council on Asian-Pacific - ' ¢ All advisory groups a33001ated

Minnesotans ‘ with these agencies
Council on Black Minnesotans :

Council on Affairs of
Chicano/Latino People

In each review cycle, the following must occur:

Agencies subject to review must report statﬁtorily specified information to
the commission by September 1 of the odd-numbered year (The September
1 deadline does not apply in 2011)

Before January 1 of the year in which an agency is sunset, the commission

must review the agency, according to criteria specified in law. These ,
criteria include consideration of the agency’s efficiency and effectiveness,
if there are alternative means of performing agency functions, and if there
is duplication and overlap with other agencies. :
Before February 1 of the year an agency is sunset, the commission must
conduct public hearings and make recommendations to the legislature on
possible continuation of the agency :

During the even-year legislative session, the legislature may enact a new
law providing that an agency does not expire, or (with respect to those
groups that automatically explre) may do nothing and thus let the agency
explre

The law provides that if an agency expires according to schedule on June 30 of an
even-numbered year, the agency may continue to exist until June 30 of the
following year, during which time the agency retains all of its powers and
authority. Unless a law is enacted providing otherwise, the following occur on
June 30 of the odd-numbered year:

Statutory duties, property, and records of an abolished agency are
transferred to the Commissioner of Administration, who is required to
perform necessary administrative functions of the abolished agency

Rules adopted by the abolished agency remain effective and must be
enforced by the Commissioner of Administration :

The Commissioner of Administration may use statutory reorganization
authority to transfer duties of an abohshed agency to a dlfferent executive -
branch agency : :

If an appropriation exists for functions or obligations transferred from the

~abolished agency, that approprlatlon is transferred to the Comm1s31oner of

Admlnlstratlon

For more information: Contact legislative analys’t Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051.

" The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartlsan offlce providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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State Elected Officials’ Compensation

Salaries for the governor, licutenant governor; attorney general, state auditor, secretary of state, judges, and
legislators are established by state law and by the legislature, depending on the position.

© Salaries for As required by the Minnesota Constitution, salaries for constitutional officers are
constitutional prescribed by law. Art. V, § 4. Current annual salaries are as follows:
officers Officer. - Salary % of Governor’s Salary .
‘ ' Governor ' ‘ $120,303 : — '

Attorney General $114,288 - 95%
State Auditor $102,258 : 85%
Secretary of State v $90,227 75%
Lieutenant Governor : $78,197 65% .

The most recent salary increases were in January 2003, when a law took effect
establishing salaries for constitutional officers as a percentage of the governor’s
salary. Laws 2001, 1 spec. sess., ch. 10, art. 1, § 2. The most recent salary
increase for the governor was 2.5 percent in January 1998.

The governor can veto legislaﬁon establishing compensation for constitutional .
officers because, according to the constitution, the compensation is set “by law.”

Salaries for judges  The Minnesota Constitution stipulates that the legislature should establish
" compensation for judges and that judges’ salaries cannot be reduced while they are
in office. Art. VI, § 5. The most recent salary increases for judges were 3 percent,
and took effect in July 2008 as required under a 2007 law. Laws 2007, ch. 54, art.
1, § 3. Annual salaries for various judges are as follows:

Official Salary
Supreme Court, chief $160,579
Supreme Court, justice $145,981
Court of Appeals, chief $144,429
Court of Appeals, justice | $137,552
‘District Court, chief : $135,580
District Court, judge $129,124

The constitutional provisions governing judges have been interpreted to mean that
the governor may not veto provisions setting judges’ compensation because their
compensation 1s prescribed “by the leglslature Gardner v. Holm, 241 Minn. 125,
62 N.W. 2d 52 (1954).

Salaries for E The Minnesota Constitution provides that legislators’ compensation is set by law.
legislators The annual salary for representatives and senators is $31,140. The House and the
' Senate each can designate three leadership positions to receive up to 140 percent of



the compensation of other members of the legislature (this is an additional $12,456
per year), ' A _ '
The most recent salary increase for legislators was 5 percent in January 1999. The
_constitution also says that “no increase of compensation shall take effect during the
period for which the members of the existing House of Representatives may have
been elected.” Art. IV, § 9. Because the constitution says that legislators’ salaries
are set “by law,” the governor can veto legislation setting legislators’
compensation. :

Legislative per diem In addition to salary, legislators are eligible to receive a per diem paymeht when
engaged in official business. The House rate is $77 per day and the Senate rate

- $86 per day.
The compensation  The legislature has established a 16-member compensation council to assist it in
council’s role in establishing the compensation of constitutional officers, judges, and legislators.

establishing salaries Minn. Stat. § 15A.082. A new compensation council is created in the fall of each
even-numbered year; the new council must make its recommendatlons to the
legislature by May 1 of the odd-numbered year. '

By law, the council’s recommendations take effect if an appropriation to pay the
recommended salaries is enacted after the recommendations are submitted and
before their effective date. As a practical matter, when the legislature has

~ increased salaries, it generally has done so either by expressly adopting or
modifying compensation council recommendations or by establishing percentages
in law without reference to compensation council recommendations.

Insurance benefits  Constitutional officers, legislators, and judges all are members of the state
-and pension plans employee group insurance plan and receive the same insurance benefits as state
employees. ,

Most legislators (all who were first elected after July 1, 1997, and some elected
before then) and all constitutional officers are members of a defined contribution
pension plan. Under this plan, the member contributes 5 percent of his or her
salary and the state contributes 6 petcent. This money is invested, and upon
leaving state service, the elected official is eligible to receive whatever money is in
the account.

Judges belong to a defined benefit pension plan, in which the benefit is determined
by multiplying years of service times a service-credit percentage and applying this
percentage to the judge’s average high-five years of salary. :

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051. For historical
information on elected officials’ salaries, see the Legislative Coordmatlng Commission’s website:
www.commissions.leg.state.mn. us/Icer/officialssalaries.htm,

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan offlce provndmg legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Child Care Licensing

To protect the health, safety, and welfare of children in child care settings, state law speciﬁes certain
requirements for the licensing of child care programs. Licensure of child care programs is governed by
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A, and related rules.

~ Who must be State law prohibits an individual, corporation, or other organization from providing
licensed? child care services without a state license. Operating a child care program without a
:  license is a misdemeanor. In general, both child care centers and family child care
homes must be licensed, and specific licensing requlrements apply to each type of

program.

State law also specifies certain exceptions to the general requirement that child care
‘providers must be licensed. Under these exceptions, the following types of child
‘care are considered to be legal nonlicensed child care, for which a provider does not
need a license:

4

»

services 'provided to children who are related to the child care provider

services provided by an unrelated individual to children from a single
related family member

“programs operated by a public school for children 33 months or older

services provided for children for periods of less than three hours a day 7
while the child’s parent is in the same or contiguous building

recreation programs for children that are operated or approved by a park
and recreatlon board

programs operated by a school, YMCA, YWCA, or JCC whose primary
purpose is to provide child care or services to school-age children

Head Start nonresidential programs that operate for less than 45 days in
a year ,

services provided to children for a cumulative total of less than 30 days
in any 12-month period

programs for children such as scouting, boys clubs, giﬂs clubs, sports
and arts programs

the religious instruction of school-age children

Sabbath or Sunday schools, or congregate care of children of any age by
a church, congregation, or religious society during the period the church,
congregation, or religious society uses for its regular worship

programs operated by an accredited nonpublic school for children 33
months or older for no more than four hours per day per child, with no
more than 20 children present at one time



What is the

purpose of
licensing?

What are the
roles of state
and local
governments in
the licensing
process?

Who should
individuals call
if they have
questions?

The state’s licensing process is designed to ensure that licensed child care programs
meet certain health, safety, and supervision standards, child-to-staff ratios, and
other requirements.

The licensing process also requires child care providers to pass a background study.
If a background study reveals that an individual has committed certain crimes,
maltreated a child or vulnerable adult, or engaged in certain conduct, the
Commissioner of Human Services may disqualify the individual from dlrect contact
with children served in the licensed child care program.

In addition, all licensed child care providers are mandated reporters under the
state’s Maltreatment of Minors Act. This means that a child care worker who
knows or has reason to believe that a child is being neglected or abused must report

. the abuse or neglect to the local law enforcement, social services agency, or .

licensing agency. For additional information about child abuse reporting
requirements, see Overview of the Maltreatment of Minors Act, House Research
Department, September 2006.

Both state and local government have a role in child care program licensing. The
Mlnnesota Department of Human Services (DHS):

» issues licenses to all child care programs;

» . conducts licensing inspections and 1nvest1gates complaints and
allegations of licensing violations or child maltreatment in child care

centers; and

»  conducts background studies of individuals who have direct contact with
children served by licensed child care centers.

The local county social services or human services agency:

» performs specified licensing functions for family and group family child
care homes under authority specified under anesota Statutes section

245A.16;

» conducts licensing inspections and investigates complalnts and
allegations of licensing violations or child maltreatment in family and
- group family child care homes; and

»  conducts background studies of individuals who have direct contact with
children served by licensed family and group family child care homes.

Individuals who have questions about chﬂd care center licensing should call the
Licensing Division at DHS at 651-296-3971, and those who have questions about
family child care licensing should contact their local county agency.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Terms Used in Local Government Legislation

Minnesota statutes and laws use a number of terms to refer to local governmental units, and from one law to
another they may not mean the same thing. This is a summary of commonly used terms and cautions
regarding their definitions. -

Local government

Political subdivision

Public corporation

Municipal
corporation

City: statutory or
home rule charter;
classification

“Local government” usually refers to counties, towns, and cities. Single- or multi-
purpose special districts, such as school districts, are frequently included in the
term “political subdivision” but are less often defined as local governments.
Sometimes, absent a definition, only the context of the law will indicate what -
entities are meant to be included.

“Political subdivision” is probably the broadest term used to describe any public

“ body that is not state or federal government. However, a statute may define the

term to mean specific entities.

“Public corporation” is used in two broad senses but is not defined in statute. In the
context of local government, it means an entity created for the administration of
public affairs, an instrumentality of the state, and may include counties, cities,
towns, and special purpose entities. It also applies to quasi-governmental entities,
created in law and often exempt from some laws that apply to state agencies. See,
e.g., Enterprise Minnesota, Inc. Minn. Stat. § 1160.03, subd. 1. ' '

In the narrowest sense, a municipal corporation is a city. However, the term can be

defined for the purposes of a law to include other governmental units.

There are two types of cities in Minnesota: statutory and home rule charter. A
statutory city is governed by statute and any special laws enacted for that city.

. A home rule charter city is governed by its charter and any special laws enacted for

that city. Also, if the home rule charter is silent on a matter that is addressed for
statutory cities by general law, and general law does not prohibit a city charter

from addressing the matter or expressly provide that a city charter prevails over
general law, then the city may apply the general law on the matter. Minn. Stat. §

- 410.33.

“In any law adopted after July 1, 1976, the word ‘city’ when used without further
description extending the application of the term to home rule charter cities means
statutory cities only.” Minn. Stat. § 410.015. '

‘Classification: Cities are divided, for legislative purposes, into classes as follows:

e First class: over 100,000 inhabitants; once a city is defined to be of the first
class, it is not reclassified unless its population decreases by 25 percent
from the census figures that last qualified the city for inclusion in the class



Municipality

County

Town, township,
urban town

Incorporated,
unincorporated

Interpretation of
statutes, definitions

" Metropolitan area

o Second class: 20,001 to 100,000 inhabitants
e Third class: IQ,OOI to 20,000 inhabitants -
¢ ' Fourth class: not more than 10,000 inhabitants

Changes in cla551ﬁcat10n take effect after the federal decennial census. Mlnn Stat.
§ 410.01.

“Vlllage and “borough” are obsolete terms. All villages and boroughs in the state
became statutory cities in the early 1970s.

This term generally means a city but many statutes define it to include other
entities. For example, the uniform municipal contracting law defines
“municipality” to mean “a county, town, city, school district or other municipal
corporation or political subdivision of the state authorized by law to enter into
contracts.” Minn. Stat. § 471.345, subd.1. '

“County” rarely needs additional definition except to limit its application or to
define it as a shorthand reference to the county board or some other entity covered
by the law.

“Town and “townshlp are used interchangeably in Minnesota law. As in other

© states, Minnesota towns are based on the congressional township—generally 36

square miles. Organized towns are the primary local government unit for
unincorporated areas. Urban towns are those towns that have been granted some of
the same powers as statutory cities.

'In the context of governmental units, “vincorporated” means a city and

“unincorporated” means a town. See Minnesota Statutes, chapter 414, govermng
mum01pal incorporations and boundary adjustments.

“When a county, town, or city is mentioned, without any particular description, it
imports the particular county, town, or city appropriate to the matter ” Minn. Stat.

'§ 645.44, subd. 3.

There are at least two definitions of “metropolitan area” used in state law. One

" means the seven-county area of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott,

and Washington counties that is within the jurisdiction of the Metropolitan
Council. Minn. Stat. § 473.121, subd. 2. :

The second definition is t‘metropolitan statistical area (MSA), defined by the
federal Office of Management and Budget (OMB) using OMB standards applied to
U.S. Census Bureau data. The Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington MSA includes

- 11 Minnesota counties (the seven named above and Chisago, Isanti, Sherburne,

and Wright), and the Wisconsin counties of Pierce and St. Croix. Updates and
changes in the definitions of MSAs are published in OMB Bulletins.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah A. Dyson at deborah.dyson@house.mn.
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How a Constitutional Amendment Is Proposed and Ratified

A constitutional amendment is a change to the state’s constitution that is decided by voters in an election.
Since 1858, 213 constitutional amendments have been voted on by the electorate. The most recent
constitutional amendment that was approved by voters came in 2008, when Voters approved a tax to fund
natural resources, arts and cultural heritage projects. :

~ The Minnesota Constitution and election statutes govern the process of proposing and ratifying amendments.

The legislature
- passes an act to
change the
constitution

Prbposed _
amendments appear

on the ballot af the

next state general
election

Amendments must

- be approved by a
majority voting in
an election, not just

' a majority voting on

- the amendmen_t

First, the legislature passes an act proposing a change in the constitution. A
constitutional amendment is just like a session law, but does not require the
governor’s signature, and a governor’s veto has no effect. The act includes the
statement of the question the legislature wants placed on the ballot. The
constitution requires that the act be assigned a session law chapter number,
published with other legislative acts of the same year, and presented to the voters at
a general electlon Each amendment must be submltted separately.

~ The secretary of state, with approval of the attorney general, prepares a short title

to identify each amendment on the ballot. The ballot question specified by the
legislature appears under the title. The text of the constitution as it would appear if
amended is not printed on the ballot. Sample copies of the ballot are available for

. public examination at the secretary’s office and each county auditor’s office before

the state general election.

Constitutional amendment ballot questions appeélr on the ballot just after the listing
of state offices, before the listing of county offices.

" Current administrative rule requires that, if multiple amendments are proposed at

an election, each amendment be assigned a number and appear chronologically in
that order on the ballot.

During the 1990s, questions were assigned numbers and placed on the ballot in the

order they passed the legislature. (Multiple amendments have not been proposed at
the same election since 1998.)

Since 1900, the constitution has required the approval of a majority of those voting

- at the election—not just a majority of those voting on the amendment question—to

ratify the amendment. Thus, if a person votes at the election, failure to vote on an
amendment is the equivalent of a “no” vote. A notice to this effect is printed on the
ballot. Historically, it has taken roughly a 60 percent ¢ ‘yes” vote to pass an
amendment. '



If the state canVassing board finds that a proposed amendment received the _
approval of a majority of the voters at the election, the amendment takes effect
immediately unless the amendment specified a later effective date. '

For more information: Contact legislative analyét Matt Gehring at 651-296-5052.
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Campaign Finance and
Public Disclosure Board Appointments

‘The Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board oversees the law on campaign finance and disclosure,
lobbyist reporting, economic interest statements, and conflicts of interest.

How are board The board consists of six members, appointed by the governor. After appointment,
members appointed ~  an appointee must be approved by three-fifths of the total membership of the

and approved? House and three-fifths of the total membership of the Senate, acting separately.

Members of the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board are the only
gubernatorial appointees subject to the approval of both bodies of the legislature.

Nominees are typically selected through the state’s open appointments process.
The chair and the vice chair of the board are elected, from its own membership, by

- the board itself.
What is the Appointments may be made by the governor at any time when there is or will be a
deadline for vacancy. The deadline for approval by the legislature is the earlier of 45 legislative
approving days after appointment, or adjournment sine die. A legislative day is a day that
appointments? cither the House or Senate meets in session during a biennium.

o Ifeither house fails to act on approval of an appointee within that time
period, the appomtment terminates the day after the 45th leglslatlve day or
adjournment sine die, whichever applies.

o Ifeither house votes not to confirm an appointment, the appointment . -
terminates the day after the vote not to confirm.

What are the 'The board members must meet the following requirements:
membership ’ ' ; S ‘
requirements for ¢ The remaining two members must be former legislators of different parties

the board? . ‘ : : '
» Two must be persons who have not been public officials as defined by law,

held any political party office other than precinct delegate, or been elected
to a partisan office in the three years before the appointment

e  Two must support différent political parties

e Overall, no more than three board members may support the same political
party

« No board member may be a lobbyist while sefving on the board



Board members (and all board employees) are subject to the same restrictions in
law on political activities that apply to other state employees. In addition, a
member or board employee may not be a candidate for (or holder of ) an elected
public office for which party designation is required, or a candidate for or office.
holder of an office at the national, state, congressional district, legislative dlstrlct,
county, or precmct level in a political party.

How long do board  Board terms are four years and end the first Monday in J anuary.
members serve?

How are vacancies  Vacancies are filled by appointment for the duration of the time left in the term.

handled? : The new appointee must meet the criteria met by the departed member. The
approval process for individuals filling vacancies is the same as for members
appointed to a full term

Do board members  Members receive $55 per day if authorized by the board, plus expenses authorized
receive by the Commissioner of Management and Budget s plan. :
compensation? ,
' : Members who are full—tlme state or local government employees may not receive .
the daily payment and may receive child care reimbursement only for time outside
normal work hours. These individuals must not suffer loss in compensation or
benefits as a result of board service and may receive expense reimbursement from
- the board unless compensated by another source.

May board The governor may remove a member during a term: (1) for cause, after notice and
members be hearing, or (2) after the member misses three consecutive meetings.

removed?

For more infbrmation: Contact legislative analyst Matt Gehring at 651-296-5052.
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~Child Care Assistan'ee

What is child care  Child care assistance programs subsidize the child care expenses of eligible low-

assistance? . ~ income families. The Minnesota Department of Human Services administers -
two child care assistance programs: Minnesota Family Investment Program
(MFTP) child care assistance and Basic Sliding Fee (BSF) child care assistance.
MFIP child care subsidizes the child care costs of families receiving cash
assistance through MFIP and provides child care assistance for eligible families
for the first 12 months after the family leaves MFIP cash assistance (transition
year child care). BSF child care provides a child care subsidy to low-income
working families who are not receiving cash assistance from MFIP.

What are the To be eligible for child care assistance, both parents (or one parent in single-
eligibility parent households) must participate in an authorized work, education, or training
requirements for activity, cooperate with child support enforcement, and meet income ehglblhty
child care - guidelines. The maximum income limit to be eligible for child care assistance is
assistance? 47 percent of state median income at program entry and 67 percent or less of

state median income at program exit. (For fiscal year 2011, 47 percent of state
median income was $34,348, and 67 percent of state medlan income was
$48,964 for a family of three.)

Children up to age 12 are eligible for child care assistance (up to age 14 for
disabled children). During fiscal year 2010, there were an average of 1.78
children per family receiving MFIP child care assistance and 1 77 children . per
family receiving BSF-child care assistance.

County agencies or their contractors must determine eligibility within 30 days of
" receiving a request for child care assistance. Direct relmbursement is the only
method of receiving child care assistance.

What is the average In fiscal year 2011, the estimated average annual subsidy for a familly receiving
annual subsidy a MFIP child care assistance was $11,537, and the estimated average annual
Samily receives? subsidy for a family receiving BSF child care assistance was $9,615.

Every year, the Commissioner of Human Services conducts a survey of rates
charged by child care providers to determine the 75th percentile maximum rates
for similar care in a county, multicounty region, or category that the
commissioner deems to be similar. However, maximum provider reimbursement

~ rates have been frozen since 2003, with only a couple of increases since that
time. The 2011 Legislature decreased provider reimbursement rates by 2.5
percent, effective October 31, 2011.



Are families
required to pay for
some child care
expenses?

How is child care
assistance funded?

How many families
receive. child care
assistance?

What are some
potential legislative
issues?

There is a family co-payment requirement based on family size and income.
The maximum family co-payment is about 14 percent of gross monthly income.
Families with incomes below 75 percent of the federal poverty level are exempt
from makmg co-payments ($13,898 and below for a family of three in 2011).

The child care assistance programs receive funding from a variety of sources,
including the federal Child Care Development Fund (CCDF), federal Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) funds, the state general fund and county
funds. _

During fiscal year 2011, an estimated average of 9,800 families received MFIP
child care assistance and 11,290 families rece1ved BSF child care assistance per

" month.

Not all families who apply for child care assistance receive it. MFIP child care is
a forecasted, fully funded program, while BSF child care receives a capped
allocation. As of June 30, 2011, there were 5,015 families on the waiting list for

'BSF child care assistance.

During previous legislative sessions, there were several proposals to consolidate -
the child care assistance programs into one program to reduce administrative and
program complexity. However, none of these proposals have been passed by the
legislature. There may be future attempts to consolidate the child care assistance
programs. -

In recent years, there have been several attempts to increase maximum provider
rates due to the rate freeze that has been in effect since 2003. Maximum
reimbursement rates continue to be below the previous level of the 75th
percentile for similar care in a country or region. There has also been interest in
establishing a statewide quality improvement and rating system and a common
set of quality standards for child care and other early childhood programs. These
issues continue to be discussed. : ‘

For more information: See the House Research publication F undmg to Support Child Care Assistance,

July 2009.
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Are there
- restrictions on the
recall process?
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Recall of State Elected Officials |

Recall is a method for removal of an elected official from office before the end of
the official’s term. Recall is one of four ways that a state elected official can be
removed from office. The other methods are “impeachment” for constitutional
officers and judges; “removal” for judges; and “expulsion” or “exclusion” from

~ office for legislators. Recall is detailed in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 211C, and

article 8, section 6 of the Minnesota Constitution.

In 1996, Minnesotans approved a constitutional amendment allowing recall of state -
officials, but to date none have been subject to a recall election.

State representatives, state senators, the governor, the lieutenant governor, the
secretary of state, the state auditor, the attorney general, supreme court judges,
court of appeals judges, and district judges are all subject to recall. (Minnesota law
also allows for recall of certain county officials. That process is not covered here.
For more information see Minnesota Statutes, sections 351.14 to 351.23.)

A recall is permitted for “malfeasance,” “nonfeasance,” and “serious crime.”

e Malfeasance means intentionally doing something unlawful or wrong while
performing duties of the office; the act must be substantially outside of the
scope of duties and substantially infringe upon another’s rights.

¢ Nonfeasance means intentionally and repeatedly not performing required
duties of the office. _ ,

o Serious crime means a crime that is a gross misdemeanor and involves
assault, intentional injury, threat of injury, dishonesty, stalking, aggravated
driving while intoxicated, coercion, obstruction of justice, or the sale or
possession of controlled substances. Serious crime also means a
misdemeanor crime that involves assault, intentional injury or threat of
injury, dishonesty, coercion, obstruction of justice, or the sale or possession
of controlled substances. An individual who is convicted of a felony is
automatically removed from office, so a felony conviction is not specified
as grounds for recall. v

Grounds for recall for state officers, except for judges, are defined in Minnesota
Statutes. The Minnesota Supreme Court subsequently adopted the same standards

“for recall as were established for state officers in the statutes, except that the

supreme court’s standards explicitly provide that a judge may not be recalled for
the discretionary performance of a lawful act or a prescribed duty.

A person may not falsely allege wrongdoing by a state officer in a recall petitioh, or
threaten, intimidate, coerce, or bribe eligible voters to sign or not sign a petition.

A recall election may not be held if there are fewer than six months remaining in an
official’s term. Only one recall petition may be active for any one office at a time.



Process for Recalling an Elected Official

The petitioner submrts a" proposed recall petrtron"
to the secretary of state The petition miust lrst the.
grounds for recall and be signed by 25 elrgrble
- Valid ‘voters in the drstrrct the elected official represents —— Not valid
The secretary of state reviews the proposed :
_ petition and, if valid, sends it fo the Mrnnesota
.- Supreme Court for review.- :

The chief justice of the supreme court determines if the
grounds listed in the petition meet the constrtutronal
¥ and statutory standards for recall; .

Standards
are not met

Y

Standards
are met

The chief justice appoints a special master (an active
or retired’ judge) to_ conducl further review. The specral
~master must hold a public hearing on the proposed:
= recall petition within 21 days and determing if the
person proposrng the petrtron has shown; by a
preponderance of the evidence, that the aliegations in
. the petition are true, and if so, whether‘ the facts
constitute sufficient grounds for recall, The special.
.master must report findings to the supreme court wrthrn
seven days of the hearing. - e

!

Wthrn 20 days of recerpt of the specral master’s report
the supreme court must determine whether the - Grounds are
grounds for. recallrhave beenmet. .. not met

Grounds
are met

Petition fails and

retains office

The supreme court orders the secretary of state to
issue a new petition. The number of signatures on this
petition will determine whether & recall election will be | Insufficient R

held. After the secretary of state’s office issues the; signatures
petrtron it must be signed, - Wwithin 90 days, by at least
25 percent of the ‘number of voters who voted forthat
) ~. offi ice in the last eleclron

I

Sufficient signatures
verified and certified by
the secretary of state

v

Govermor sets an election

- _date, "
Y
Election Majority does
held — not vote for >
= removal

Majority votes
for removal

. ffcral is recalled office
rs declared vacant

For more information: Contact leg1slat1ve analyst Matt Gehring at 651-296-5052.
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State Elected OfﬁcialS’ Compensation

Salaries for the governor, lieutenant governor, attornéy general, state auditor, secretary of state, judges, and
legislators are established by state law and by the legislature, depending on the position.

Salaries for As required by the Minnesota Constitution, salaries for constitutional officers are
constitutional prescribed by law. Art. V, § 4. Current annual salaries are as follows:
officers : ' Officer Salary % of Governor’s Salary
Governor $120,303 —
Attorney General : $114,288 ' 95%
State Auditor $102,258 85%
Secretary of State - $90,227 75%
Lieutenant Governor - - $78,197 : 65%"

The most recent salary increases were in January 2003, when a law took effect
establishing salaries for constitutional officers as a percentage of the governor’s
salary. Laws 2001, 1¥ spec. sess., ch. 10, art. 1, § 2. The most recent salary
1ncrease for the governor was 2.5 percent in January 1998.

The governor can veto legislation establishing compensation for constitutional
officers because, according to the constitution, the compensation is set “by law.”

Salaries for judges  The Minnesota Constitution stipulates that the legislature should establish
- compensation for judges and that judges’ salaries cannot be reduced while they are
in office. Art. VI, § 5. The most recent salary increases for judges were 3 percent,
and took effect in July 2008 as required under a 2007 law. Laws 2007, ch. 54, art.
1, § 3. Annual salaries for various judges are as follows: :

Official Salary
Supreme Court, chief _ $160,579
Supreme Court, justice $145,981
Court of Appeals, chief $144,429
Court of Appeals, justice $137,552
District Court, chief - $135,580
District Court, judge - $129,124

The constitutional provisions governing judges have been interpreted to mean that
the governor may not veto provisions setting judges’ compensation because their
compensation is prescribed “by the legislature.” Gardner V: Holm 241 Minn. 125
62 N.W. 2d 52 (1954). .

Salaries for - The Minnesota Constitution provides that legislators® compensation is set by law.
legislators The annual salary for representatives and senators is $31,140. The House and the
Senate each can designate three leadership positions to receive up to 140 percent of



the compensation of other members of the leg1slature (this is an add1t1onal $12,456
per year). -

The most recent salary increase for legislators was 5 percent in January 1999. The
constitution also says that “no increase of compensation shall take effect during the
period for which the members of the existing House of Representatives may have
been elected.” Art. [V, § 9. Because the constitution says that legislators’ salaries
are set “by law,” the governor can veto legislation setting legislators’ ’
compensation.

The compensation  The legislature has established a 16-member compensation council to assist it in
council’s role in establishing the compensation of constitutional officers, judges, and legislators.
establishing salaries - Minn. Stat. § 15A.082. A new compensation council is created in the fall of each
' even-numbered year; the new council must make its recommendations to the
leglslature by May 1 of the odd-numbered year.

By law, the council’s recommendations take effect if an appropriation to pay the
recommended salaries is enacted after the recommendations are submitted and
before their effective date. As a practical matter, when the legislature has
increased salaries, it generally has done so either by expressly adopting or
modifying compensation council recommendations or by establishing percentages
in law without reference to compensation council recommendations.

Insurance benefits  Constitutional officers, legislators, and judges all are members of the state.
and pension plans  employee group insurance plan and receive the same insurance benefits as state
' employees :

. Most legislators (all who were first elected after July 1, 1997, and some elected
before then) and all constitutional officers are members of a defined contribution
pension plan. Under this plan, the member contributes 5 percent of his or her
salary and the state contributes 6 percent. This money is invested, and upon
leaving state service, the elected ofﬁ01al is eligible to receive whatever money is isin
the account.

Judges belong to a defined benefit pension plan, in which the benefit is determined
by multiplying years of service times a service-credit percentage and applying this -
percentage to the judge’s average high-five years of salary.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051. For historical
information on elected officials’ salaries, see the Legislative Coordmatmg Commission’s website:
www.commissions.leg.state.mn.us/lcer/officialssalaries.htm.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entlre House.
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Corporate Franchise Tax

The corporate franchise tax, also frequently referred to as the corporate income
tax, applies to “C” corporations (i.e., corporations and some partnerships) that
are taxable under subchapter “C” of the Internal Revenue Code. Entities exempt
from the tax include the following:

o “Pass-through entities” (e.g., most partnerships and Limited Liability
Companies, “S” corporations, and other entities that do not pay entity
level taxes); the owners of these entities (shareholders, partners, or LLC
members) only pay tax on their respective shares of the business entity’s
income. These entities are subject to the minimum fee (see below).

« Insurance companies (Insurers pay a premium tax instead)

o Credit unions '

o Charitable organizations and other entities exempt from the federal
income tax

The tax base is taxable income, essentially the profits of C corporations. State
law defines the tax base by reference to the definition of taxable income under
the federal corporate income tax. For example, federal depreciation rules are
generally followed, except “bonus depreciation” and section 179 expensing are
subject to special Minnesota rules. Minnesota deviates from the federal rules in
some important ways. In particular, it provides a partial exemption for some
types of foreign source income and for certain payments from foreign operating
corporations. The Minnesota tax also taxes some income exempt under federal
law, such as state and local bond interest.

A flat tax rate of 9.8 percent applies to Minnesota taxable income.

Many corporations operate in more than one state. Under the U.S. Constitution,
a state can legally tax only the income of a business that is “fairly apportioned”
to its activity in the state. All states do this using formula apportionment (i.e.,
based on the in-state percentage of one or more factors).

Minnesota apportions a multistate corporation’s income using a weighted three-
factor formula of sales (90 percent weight), property (5 percent), and payroll (5
percent). (These weights are for tax year 2011. Minnesota is moving to
apportionment solely based on the sales factor, effective for tax year 2014.) The
Minnesota percentage for each factor is multiplied by the weight and the three
factors added to determine the Minnesota percentage of the corporation’s total
income. For unitary businesses operating through several corporations (e.g.,
parent-subsidiary), all of their income is combined. This is referred to as the



Various tax credits
apply

Revenues go to the
general fund

Revenues are elastic
but very volatile

A minimum tax
applies

A minimum fee
applies to most
entities

“combined reporting” method of apportionment. (For more information on
apportionment, see the separate Short Subject, Apportionment of Corporate
Franchise Tax.)

The corporate franchise tax is reduced by various tax credits. These include
credits for the following:

» Research and development

« Tax paid to another state

« Historic structure rehabilitation credit

« Jobs credit under the JOBZ program

Fiscal year 2010 actual revenues were $664 million or about 5 percent of general
fund revenues. Revenues from the corporate franchise tax are deposited in the
general fund. The Department of Management and Budget estimated in
February 2011 that corporate franchise tax collections will be $990 million in
fiscal year 2011 and $772 million in fiscal year 2012.

Revenues under the tax are elastic; they grow as the size of the economy grows.
But they are also the most volatile of the major taxes imposed by the state.
When the economy slows down or goes into recession, corporate profits and the
franchise tax can drop quite precipitously. For example, in fiscal year 2006 (an
expansion year) the state collected $1,062 million in corporate franchise tax. In
fiscal year 2009 (a recession year), corporate franchise tax revenues dropped to
$659 million or 38 percent less than 2006.

An alternative minimum tax or AMT applies under the franchise tax. This tax
closely follows the similar federal AMT. A corporation must compute its tax
under the AMT, using a broader tax base (e.g., less generous depreciation rules)
and lower tax rate (5.8 percent). If the AMT results in a higher tax, the
corporation must pay this amount.

All corpgrations (both S_ and C Fee Schedule
corporations), partnerships, and LLCs

must pay a minimum fee based on the Minnesota Property,

sum of their Minnesota property, Payroll, and Sales Fee
payroll, and sales. This fee is an “add- | Less than $500,000 0
on” fee that is paid in addition to the $500,000 - $999,999 $100
tax computed under the regular tax or $1,000,000 - $4,999,999 $300
AMT. The schedule for the fee is $5,000,000 - $9,999,999 $1,000
shown to the right. The dollar $10,000,000 - $19,999,999 $2,000
amounts of the fee schedule have not $20,000,000 or more $5,000

been changed since the fee was enacted in 1990. In 2011, Governor Dayton
proposed increasing and indexing the amounts for inflation, but these changes
were not enacted into law.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the
House Research publications Single Sales Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax, October 2011, and
Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax, October 2011.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax

A state can constitutionally tax only the income of a multistate corporation that is “fairly
apportioned” to the state. The reason for this requirement seems obvious: if a business
operates in several states and each state could tax all of its income, the business could
easily be subject to double taxation. Aside from being unfair, this would discourage a
business from operating in multiple states; it would interfere with interstate commerce.

A state can apportion income using separate accounting or formula apportionment.
Separate accounting traces income to the state where it was earned using standard
accounting methods. Formula apportionment uses a proxy or rough measure to
determine the in-state share of income (e.g., the percentage of the business’s in-state
sales to its total sales). All states use some type of formula apportionment. Using
separate accounting would be expensive, difficult to do, and subject to manipulation.

Minnesota uses a weighted three-factor formula of sales, property, and payroll, but is
phasing in apportionment based only on sales (fully effective in tax year 2014). The
formula for tax year 2011 weights sales at 90 percent, property at 5 percent, and payroll
at 5 percent. The Minnesota percentage for each factor is multiplied by the weight, and
the three factors are added to determine the Minnesota percentage of the corporation’s
total income. Expressing this as a formula:

MnSales

MN percent = (0.9*'———)+[0.05

« MnProperty +| 0.05% MnPayroll
TotalSales ,

TotalProperty TotalPayroll

Sales are defined on a destination basis; that is, the location of the buyer generally
determines whether the sale is a Minnesota sale. The property factor is the value of real
and tangible personal property in Minnesota. Leased property is included; its value
equals the lease payments multiplied by eight. Payroll is the amount paid to employees.
The apportionment factors are also used to calculate the add-on minimum fee.

Special apportionment rules apply to some industries. Mail-order companies that have
substantially all of their operations in Minnesota use a sales-only formula. A separate
formula for financial institutions includes deposits and intangible property (e.g.,
receivables and loans), since these are important contributors to their profits.

The Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act (adopted by a group of states)
provides that sales to buyers in a state in which the corporation cannot be taxed and
sales to the federal government are “thrown back.” Under a throwback rule, these sales
are assigned to the seller’s location. Minnesota has not adopted a throwback rule. This
favors businesses making sales from Minnesota to the federal government or to states
where they can’t be taxed, since it reduces their Minnesota tax. Minnesota’s
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apportionment formula does not affect the tax owed to another state, in any case.

Special rules apply to complex corporations (i.e., those with multiple corporations, such
parent-subsidiary or brother-sister corporations). If these corporations are part of a
“unitary business,” Minnesota requires them to file a combined report. Under combined
reporting, each corporation in the unitary group calculates its tax using the total income
of the unitary group and using its own factors as the numerator and the total group’s
factors as the denominator. This method prevents most transactions among related
corporations in the unitary group from affecting the tax liability of the group. In effect,
the apportionment formula divides the unitary business’s income among the states
without regard to how the business allocates the income among its various corporate
entities. State corporate taxes that do not use this method allow corporations to
artificially shift income (e.g., through “transfer pricing” among the related corporations)
to states in which income is lightly taxed or is not taxed at all.

Public finance economists generally agree that apportionment formulas are a very
important feature of state corporate taxes. They essentially make the tax the same as a
tax directly on the factors. For example, the tax on the portion of income assigned using
the sales factor is the same, in economic effect, as a sales tax. This affects both:

o the incidence of the tax (i.e., who bears the real burden of the tax); and

« the incentive effects of the tax (i.e., the impact of the tax on behavior).

Following conventional economic theory, the portion of the tax that is apportioned by
sales will be a tax on consumption or consumers, similar to a sales tax. The portion on
payroll is a tax on labor income and the portion on property falls on capital. (Caveat:
Capital is mobile; it can move between states. In the long run, a state cannot increase
the portion of the tax on capital much beyond the average imposed by other states. If it
does, capital will flow to other states where higher rates of return are available.)

Weighting sales more heavily generally encourages export businesses. Since sales are
assigned to the buyer’s location and there is no throwback rule, export or non-Minnesota
sales will reduce the amount of income taxable by Minnesota. Thus, increasing the
weight for sales creates an incentive for companies to invest in Minnesota property or to
hire more employees to sell products outside of Minnesota. The property and payroll
factors, by contrast, would assign more income to Minnesota, increasing the tax,
because the investment increases Minnesota property and payroll. It was following this
logic that the legislature provided for a gradual shift of apportionment to relying only on
sales. This change will be accomplished in eight annual steps between 2007 and 2014.

After the U.S. Supreme Court ruled sales-only apportionment was valid in 1978, many
states increased their reliance on the sales factor because of these incentive effects.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the
House Research publications Single Sales Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax, October 2011, and
Corporate Franchise Taxation, October 2011.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legisiative,
iegal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Corporate F ranchise Tax: Foreign Operating Corporatiohs

 What is an FOC?

‘What are the tax
benefits of FOCs?

How much do
FOCs reduce

corporate tax

receipts?

When were the
FOC provisions
adopted?.

What is the policy |
rationale for FOCs?

Foreign operatlng corporations (FOCs) qualify for special tax treatment under
the corporate franchise tax. To be an FOC, a corporation must:

o Be a domestic corporation that is part of a unitary group, one member of
which is taxable in Minnesota;

o Derive 80 percent or more of its gross income from active foreign business
income or be a 936 corporatlon (i.., a corporation deriving 80 percent of i 1ts
income from U.S. possessions, such as Puerto Rico); and

e Not be a foreign sales corporatron (F SC) or an interest charge domestic
international sales corporation (DSC). FSCs and DSCs were formed under a
now obsolete federal tax provisions that provided export incentives.

* In broad terms, 80 percent of an FOC’s income is sheltered from tax as “deemed

dividends.” The FOC’s income is allocated to its shareholders and “deemed” to
be a dividend that qualifies for the dividend-received deduction.

When an FOC (or a foreign corporation) pays royalties and fees to another entity
in a unitary business, the receiving corporation may subtract 80 percent of these
amounts if the FOC is part of its unitary business. This is referred to as the
foreign royalty subtraction. It does not apply to income derived from U.S.-

sources as defined under the federal tax law (subchapter N of the Internal

Revenue Code). :

Thus, most of a unitary business’s income that flows through an FOC is taxed at
one-fifth of the regular rate (i.e., 80 percent of the income is not taxed).

In 2011, the Department of Revenue estimated that repeal of the FOC and
foreign royalty provisions would increase tax revenues by about $117 million
for fiscal year 2013. By comparison, total corporate tax revenues are estimated
to be $1.1 billion for fiscal year 2013. Thus, the provisions reduce revenues by
about 10 percent. Put another way, repeal would allow the tax rate to be reduced
from 9.8 percent to less than 9 percent without reducing state revenues.

The FOC provisions were adopted by the 1988 Legislature and remained largely
unchanged until the 2008 Legislature based the definition of FOCs on the
income sources of the corporation (i.e., requiring 80 percent of its income to be

~ foreign source). Prior to that, the test was based on the location of the

corporation’s property and payroll factors. -

- The FOC provisions were a response to the adoption of combined reporting

apportionment in the early 1980s. Supporters argued that they were necessary to '
appropriately tax foreign operations under Minnesota’s “water’s edge”

~ combined reporting system. This method excludes foreign corporations from

the unitary group, while including foreign operations of domestic corporations.



As aresult, tax is deferred on the income of foreign subsidiaries or affiliates

until it is “repatriated” or paid to a domestic corporation. If the income is paid

as a dividend, only 20 percent of it is taxed. By contrast, income from foreign
“operations of other domestic corporations is fully taxed immediately.

The FOC and foreign royalty provisions have two primary policy pilrposes:

o They allow foreign operations of domestic corporations to qualify for about
~ the same state tax treatment as foreign corporations by satisfying the FOC
rules. FOC income is deemed to be a dividend qualifying for the 80 percent
deduction (i.e., the same treatment as a d1v1dend pald by a foreign
subsidiary). : :

o They provide “factor relief” for nondividend income paid by forelgn
corporations and FOCs. When a foreign subsidiary or FOC makes royalty or
similar payments to a U.S. corporation, this income is fully taxable; the
apportionment formula does not take into account the foreign sales, payroll,
and property that helped generate the income because these corporations and
their factors are not included in the combined report. The royalty subtraction
excludes 80 percent of this income to adjust for the absence of the foreign
and FOC factors in the apportionment formula.

What was the Startlng in the late 1990s, legislators became concerned that some corporations
rationale for the were abusing the FOC provisions by shifting income from their domestic
2008 legislative ~ operations into FOCs. (The structure and literal language of the provisions
changes? allowed this, because the FOC definition then considered only the location of

tangible property and employees.) Corporations typically did this by assigning
‘intangible property to their FOCs. The income (royalties, fees, interest, and so

“forth) received for use of the intangibles could be from domestic sources and
still qualify for the 80 percent discount on taxes. The charges for use of these
intangibles were typically paid by other members of the unitary group, which
allowed businesses to use “transfer pricing” practices to shift additional income
into their FOCs. These prices didn’t matter to the businesses, since they were
doing little more than shifting money from one part of the business to another.
However, by maximizing the amount of income in FOCs, overall anesota tax
was minimized.

The 2008 leglslatlon attempted to foreclose these possibilities by requiring an
FOC’s income to be derived 80 percent from foreign sources, as determined
under federal tax rules. However, this does not fully eliminate the possibilities

. for abuse. Federal definitions of foreign versus domestic income also depend
upon accurate transfer pricing. Federal tax officials have expressed concerns
regarding their ability to prevent taxpayers from recharacterizing or artificially
shifting income to foreign countries with lower tax rates through transfer pricing
practices. This type of federal tax avoidance or evasion can also affect
Minnesota tax liability. ' :

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@hou’se.mn.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartisan office providing Ieglslatlve
legal, and lnformatlon services to the ent|re House

House Research Department | 600 State Office Buﬂdlng | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296- 6753 | www. house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm -



HOUSE RESEARCH

Short Subjects

Joel Michael

Apportionment is a
key feature of state
corporate taxes

Minnesota is
phasing in single
sales apportionment

Effects vary by type
of business

Rationale for single
sales
apportionment:
improve
competitiveness

Updated: October 2011

Single Sales Apportionment of
Corporate Franchise Tax

Apportionment formulas are important features of state corporate income taxes.
They determine how much of a business’s income is taxable and affect the
incidence and competitiveness of the tax. Minnesota apportions corporate
income using the Minnesota proportions of the corporation’s sales, payroll, and
property factors to determine corporate franchise tax.

Under legislatioﬁ enacted in 2005.,

Minnesota is phasing in single sales ~ |-L2xyear | Sales | Property | Payroll
apportionment over an eight-year 2011 9024 S'O:A’ S'OZA’
period beginning in tax year 2007. ggg ggo//o :328;’ ;(5)(;’
The table shows the phase-in > . —
2014 100% 0.0% 0.0%

schedule for the transition to single
sales apportionment from 2011 to 2014.

The effects of adopting single sales apportionment vary by business. The crucial
variables are the business’s Minnesota apportionment factors:

o The taxes of businesses with all of their property, payroll, and sales in
Minnesota will be unaffected.

e Minnesota businesses whose Minnesota sales factor is lower than the
average of their Minnesota property and payroll factors will receive a tax
cut. The larger the disparity, the bigger the benefit is. A classic example is a
business with most of its operations (headquarters, plants, and so forth) in
Minnesota, but most of its sales outside of Minnesota.

« Businesses with higher Minnesota sales factors than their average Minnesota
property and payroll factors will have tax increases. One example is a
national consumer products company with few facilities in Minnesota.

The principal rationale for single sales apportionment is an economic
development argument: It makes Minnesota more competitive in attracting
investment in plant and equipment. Sales are determined by the buyer’s
location. All other things being equal, increasing non-Minnesota sales will
reduce the amount of Minnesota taxable income, since more income will be
attributed to or apportioned outside of Minnesota. Thus, increasing the weight
for the sales factor creates an incentive for companies to invest in Minnesota
property or to hire more employees (or reduces the tax’s disincentive to do so) to
sell products outside of Minnesota. Empirical studies have found some support
for the idea that single sales apportionment encourages in-state investment.



Policy concerns
with single sales
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equity and tax
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apportionment
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Trend in other
states to heavier
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Opponents of single sales apportionment argue that it shifts the burden of the tax
from capital (the property factor) to consumption, reducing the progressivity of
the tax. Some also question as an empirical matter whether it has the desired
effects on competitiveness. Tax theorists argue that if the corporate tax is to be
a benefits tax (i.e., based on businesses’ use of government services) or if it is to
be based on production of income, apportionment should take into account
where the business’s property and employees are located. These factors are
important contributors both to the productlon of income and the consumption of
government services.

Compared with equally weighting each of the apportionment factors, weighting
sales more heavily reduces Minnesota tax revenues. The Department of
Revenue’s Tax Expenditure Budget (February 2010) shows an expenditure cost
of $153 million for fiscal year 2011, rising to $214 million in 2013.

States have been increasingly shifting their apportionment formulas to more
heavily weighted sales. Effective for tax year 2011, 16 states use or allow single
sales as their apportionment formula for manufacturers. This is up from 14
states for tax year 2010. Many of Minnesota’s neighboring states use single
sales apportionment: Illinois, Indiana, Jowa, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, and
Wisconsin. South Carolina and New Jersey are scheduled to use single sales in
2013, Virginia (in addition to Minnesota) in 2014, and Arizona in 2017. The
map below shows the apportionment formulas for manufacturers as of tax year
2011. Some states allow elections between two formulas. The map shows these
with the highest permitted sales weighting.

Apportionment of Corporate Income
Applicable to Manufacturers

Double weighted sales
Sales weight > 59% and < 90%

i Single sales

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators and CCH

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research publication Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax, October 2011.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. )
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The Minnesota Estate Tax

The estate tax
equals a percentage
of the taxable estate

The 2011
Legislature enacted
an exclusion for
qualifying small
business property
and farmland

The Minnesota tax
evolved as a
creature of the
federal estate tax

Minnesota imposes a tax on the estates
of individuals who are residents of the
state when they die or who own tangible
property (typically real estate) in
Minnesota when they die. The tax is
imposed under a graduated rate schedule
on the taxable estate. The taxable estate
is generally the fair market value of the
estate on the day the decedent died, less
deductions (e.g., transfers to a surviving
spouse and charitable bequests) and an
exemption amount. See the box to the
right for the exemption and rate
amounts.

2011 legislation provided two special
exclusions for qualifying small business
property and homestead farmland,
effective for decedents dying after June
30, 2011. The combined value of these
exclusions cannot exceed $4 million,
allowing a total exemption of $5 million
when they are added to the basic $1
million exemption. The decedent or
spouse must have owned the qualifying
property for three years before the date
of death and the heirs must continue to

Exemption Amount and Tax Rates

Exemption. The exemption amount
is $1 million. Because transfers to
surviving spouses are exempt, a $1
million exemption allows a married
couple with a joint net worth of less
than $2 million to avoid the tax if
they structure transfers to trusts
appropriately.

Tax rates. The tax rates range from
0.8 percent to 16 percent. The top
rate applies to the amount of the
taxable estate over $10,040,000.
These rates are calculated on estate
values over $40,000, not the $1
million exemption. Because no tax is
due on estates of less than $1 million
and because the tax cannot exceed
the tax under pre-2001 federal law,
some estates experience “marginal”
rates (the rate of tax on increases in
estate value) of up to 41 percent.
Average or effective rates can never
exceed 16 percent, though.

own and use the property in the trade or business for three years after the date of
death. Failure to do so triggers a recapture tax equal to 16 percent of the value

of the property.

The rules under the estate tax are determined largely by reference to the rules
under the similar federal estate tax. For the 16 years ending December 31, 2001,
the Minnesota estate tax was directly linked to the federal tax as a “pickup” or
“soak-up” tax equal to the credit allowed under federal estate tax for state death
taxes. As a pickup tax, the Minnesota tax imposed no additional tax burden on
estates. For each dollar of state tax paid, federal tax was reduced by an equal
amount. However, Congress repealed this credit in 2001, so that it is completely
eliminated for decedents dying after December 31, 2004. In 2001, the
legislature chose to continue imposing the estate tax under the rules in effect
before Congress repealed the credit. As a result, ’Ehe tax now is a stand-alone
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estate tax and imposes a real tax burden on estates and their heirs.

Fewer than 2 percent of estates pay the estate tax. The small number of estates
paying tax results from the exemption amount and the fact that amounts left to
surviving spouses are deductible. Decedents with taxable estates are, almost by
definition, some of the most affluent individuals in the state. Most evidence also
suggests that recipients of bequests from taxable estates also have above average
income and assets. Based on Minnesota Department of Revenue’s Tax
Incidence Study, the tax is the most “progressive” source of state tax revenue.

Revenues from the tax are deposited in the Fstate Tax Revenues
general fund. The Department of Management FY 2006-2010

and Budget (February 2011 forecast) estimates (millions)

that the tax raises about $160 million to $185 2006 $215.9
million per fiscal year. See the box to the right 2007 $110.9
for the last five years of collections. Revenues 2008 $121.3
from the tax are very volatile, since they 2009 $135.9
depend on the deaths of a few individuals. If 2010 $151.8
one very wealthy individual dies, collections Source: Minnesota Management &
can soar. For example in August 2005, the Budget

Department of Revenue received a check from
one estate for tax of $112 million (compared
with estimated revenues for the whole year of $86 million and total collections
of $72.7 million in fiscal year 2005). In other years, revenues may fall below
estimates.

The repeal of the federal credit creates an incentive for affluent, elderly
Minnesotans to change their domiciles to a state without an estate tax. When
Minnesota imposed only a pickup tax, the federal treasury paid the effective
burden of the tax. As a result, Minnesota residents had no reason to change their
domiciles to another state to avoid the Minnesota tax. However, the 2001 repeal
of the credit made the state tax a “real” tax that reduces the amount of property
that can be left to heirs.

Affluent individuals may be willing to change their domiciles to avoid paying
potentially multimillion-dollar state estate tax liabilities. The fact that many of
these individuals have second homes in states without estate or inheritance taxes
increases their ease of moving. Most states have taken no action to impose
estate taxes or have repealed their taxes. Several states—Alabama, California,
Florida, and Nevada—are constitutionally prohibited from imposing estate or
inheritance taxes. Several states without estate or inheritance taxes also have no
income tax (for example, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, and Texas), allowing
individuals who change their domiciles to these states to avoid both taxes.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the
House Research information brief Survey of State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes, September 2010.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Cigarette and Tobacco Excise Taxes and Fees
Minnesota Minnesota imposes a series of taxes and fees on the sale or possession of cigarettes
imposes several and tobacco products. The table lists the taxes and fees and their rates. The cigarette

taxes and fees
on cigarettes
and tobacco
products

A per-pack tax
applies in lieu
of the state
general sales
tax

Payments made
to settle state
lawsuits against
the tobacco
industry have
similar effects
as excise taxes

The Minnesota
Supreme Court
upheld both of
the fees

taxes and fees are all imposed on a “per unit” basis—i.e., on the number of cigarettes
sold, not as a percentage of the sale price. ‘

Because the taxes and fees are set on a per-unit basis, they do not increase as the prices
of cigarettes increase. (The tax in lieu of the general sales tax on cigarettes is annually

indexed for inflation in the Per pack | Percent of
price of cigarettes so it Tax or fee of 20 rate price
increases with overall Cigarette excise tax 48 cents NA
increases in cigarette prices.) Tobaccg products excise tax NA 35%
The taxes and fees on tobacco Health impact fee 75 cents 35%

. . | Fee on cigarettes manufactured 35 cents NA
products, such as cigars, pipe by nonsettling companies
tobacco, snuff, and chewing Tax in lieu of general sales tax 34.6 cents NA
tobacco, are imposed as a (rate effective August 1, 2010 '
percentage of their wholesale through December 31, 2011)

prices. Thus, these taxes ﬂuctuate as the prices of the products change.

Since 2005, cigarette sales have been exempt from state and local general sales taxes.
A per-pack tax applies instead of the sales tax. The commissioner of revenue annually
sets this in-lieu tax based on a survey of retail prices of cigarettes in the state. The rate
is set as an average of these prices and is reset each August 1 (starting in 2012, it will
be reset each January 1). The in lieu tax does not replace local sales taxes, although
cigarette sales are exempt from these local taxes.

Settlements of the states’ lawsuits against the tobacco companies have about the same
economic effect as a cigarette tax, since these settlement payments are passed along to
consumers (nationally) through higher cigarette prices. However, they do not affect
companies that were not part of the lawsuit or that have not entered the Master
Settlement Agreement as participating manufacturers.

To compensate partially for the lower prices of cigarettes produced by nonsettling
companies, the 2003 Legislature imposed a 35-cent per-pack fee on those cigarettes.
Michigan and Utah also impose a 35-cent surcharge on these cigarettes.

Industry interests challenged both cigarette fees on various grounds. The Minnesota
Supreme Court rejected these challenges, upholding the state’s power to impose the
fees. The United States Supreme Court in both instances declined to hear the cases.
Council of Independent Tobacco Mfr. v. State, 713 N.W.2d 300 (Minn. 2006) cert.
denied 549 U.S. 1052 (2006) (fee on nonsettling companies); State v. Philip Morris,
713 N.W.2d 350 (Minn. 2006) cert. denied 549 U.S. 1206 (2007) (health impact fee).



The taxes and
JSees are
estimated to
yield revenues
of over $424
million in FY
2012

Neighboring
states have
higher tax rates

" For fiscal year 2012, Minnesota Management and Budget estimates collections from

the two excise taxes and the sales tax on cigarettes will be $221.8 million and from the
health impact fee, $202.5 million (February 2011 forecast). Revenues from the
tobacco products tax are deposited in the general fund. Each fiscal year, cigarette tax
revenues of $22.25 million go to fund the Academic Health Center, $3,937,000 to the
medical education and research account, and the rest to the state general fund. The
health impact fee revenues are deposited in a health impact fund and are transferred to
the general fund after the commissioner of human services certifies that state health
programs have incurred tobacco-related costs equal to the fee.

Because cigarettes can easily be transported, the tax rates in other states (especially
border states) are important. Taking into account the combined effects of Minnesota’s
tax and fee ($1.23/pack), three bordering states have higher rates: Wisconsin ($2.52),
South Dakota ($1.53), and Iowa ($1.36). North Dakota (44 cents) has a lower rate.
All states’ rates are shown on the map below. The map does not reflect local cigarette

~ taxes; some of these local taxes are substantial (e.g., $1.50 in New York City and

$2.68 per pack in Chicago). The map does not reflect the effect of general sales taxes
(including Minnesota’s per-pack tax in lieu of the sales tax). Some states have no sales
tax or exempt cigarettes from sales taxation, lowering the overall tax burden.

State Cigarette Tax Rates*

as of 7/1/2011
cents per pack
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* These exclude some significant local taxes.
Source; Federation of Tax Administrators and other saurces

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel. michael@house.mn.

‘The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office prowdlng legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Mortgage and Deed Taxes: An Overview

What are the The mortgage registry tax (MRT) and deed taxes are two separate state taxes that
mortgage registry apply to many real estate transactions. The MRT is based on the amount of debt
and deed taxes? secured by a mortgage of real property and is imposed when the mortgage is

recorded. The deed tax is a transfer tax; it is imposed on the value of real property
transferred. While these taxes are independent of each other, they are often
thought of together, since many property transactions trigger both taxes.

What are the rates? The MRT rate is 0.23 percent of the total debt. The deed tax rate is 0.33 percent of
net consideration (i.e., the price paid for the real property). These rates have been
in effect since 1987. :

How does it work?  The fbllowing example illustrates how each tax applies to a typical home purchase.

Mortgage Registry Tax

John and Mary Anderson buy a home with a purchase price of $150,000. The Andersons
make a $20,000 down payment and take out a home loan with a principal amount of
$130,000. How much mortgage registry tax do the Andersons owe?

Principal debt x 0.23% = MRT liability
$130,000 x 0.23% = $299
The Andersons owe $299 in MRT.

Deed Tax

John and Mary Anderson record the deed for their new home. The deed is valued at
$150,000. How much deed tax must be paid?

Value of the deed recorded x 0.33% = deed tax liability
$150,000 x 0.33% = $495

$495 must be paid when the deed is recorded.

Who is responsible  The mortgagor (borrower) is liable for the MRT, while the seller is liable for the
Jor paying the tax?  deed tax. As a practical matter, the lender usually collects both of the taxes at
: closing and remits them to the county when the mortgage and deed are recorded.

The deed tax is collected from the seller at clo-sing. But since the deed tax must be
paid to record a deed and since it is primarily in the buyer’s interest to record the
deed, the tax may fall on the buyer if the seller fails to pay the tax.
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County treasurers collect these taxes. They remit 97 percent of the revenues to the
state for deposit in the state general fund. The county retains the other 3 percent
for its administrative expenses.

The table below shows the MRT and deed tax collected by the state for the past 12
years. The amounts reflect only the state’s 97 percent share.

Collections are sensitive to the volume and value of real estate transactions; MRT
collections are also sensitive to refinancing activity. The effects of the 2007-2009
recession and the resulting decline in real estate values and transactions are
apparent; 2011 collections from the two taxes were less than half the 2006 level.

State MRT and Deed Tax Revenue (in millions)
. Change Pct change
Fiscal (from previous | (from previous
Year Mortgage Deed Total year) year)
2000 73.4 68.8 1422 -10.5 -6.9%
2001 88.2 71.0 159.2 17.0 12.0%
2002 145.1 86.1 231.2 72.0 45.2%
2003 - 2034 943 297.7 66.5 - 28.8%
2004* 230.2 120.6 350.7 53.0 17.8%
2005* 162.2 124.2 286.4 -64.3 -18.3%
2006 173.6 136.4 310.0 23.6 8.2%
2007 149.6 111.5 261.1 -48.9 -15.8%
2008 114.4 84.3 198.7 -62.5 -23.9%
2009 101.2 59.7 . 160.9 -37.8 -19.0%
2010 94.6 58.5 153.1 -7.8 -4.8%
2011 N/A N/A 141.3 -11.8 -1.7%
* Accelerating the June payment began in fiscal year 2004 and distorts the change amounts and
percentages for fiscal years 2004 and 2005.
Source: 20002010, Department of Revenue; 2011, Minnesota Management & Budget,
July/August 2011 Economic Update

Both taxes have multiple exemptions. MRT exemptions include contracts for
deed, certain agricultural mortgages, marriage dissolution decrees, and certain low-
and moderate-income housing mortgages. Common deed tax exemptions are.
mortgages, plats, wills and testamentary distributions, leases, sheriff’s foreclosure
sale certificates, and marriage dissolution decrees.

State law authorizes Ramsey and Hennepin county to impose local mortgage and
deed taxes. Both of these county taxes have rates of 0.0001 (or 0.01%) for both
taxes. The taxes expire on January 1, 2013, unless the 2012 Legislature extends
the authority to impose the taxes. Bills have been introduced (and have passed one
or both houses) to authorize Anoka, Dakota, and St. Louis counties to also impose
local mortgage and deed taxes. These proposals have not been enacted into law.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the
House Research publication Mortgage and Deed Taxes in Minnesota, April 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a honpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Revenue Recapture Program

Revenue recapture authorizes the Department of Revenue (DOR) to intercept or
offset part or all of a state tax refund or other payment to collect a debt that the
taxpayer owes to a government agency or other authorized creditor.

The following agencies may use the Revenue Recapture Program:
e State agencies
o University of Minnesota

Minnesota district courts

Counties

Citties, including for public library debts

Governmentally owned hospitals and Regions Hospital

Agencies responsible for child support enforcement

e Agencies that administer low-income housing pro grarns

¢ Licensed ambulance services

The debt (minimum amount of $25) must be owed to or collectable by one of the
qualifying governmental agencies. The debtor must be an individual; the law
does not apply to corporations. The creditor does not need to obtain a court
judgment or order to enforce the debt. Qualifying debts include the following:

o Contractual or statutory obligations

e Criminal fines and fines for petty misdemeanors

e Court-ordered restitution for a crime
Child support obligations
Overpayment of public assistance
Unpaid MinnesotaCare insurance premiums

Obligations of low-income individuals (incomes between $11,400 and $21,550
in 2010, depending upon family size) to repay debts for medical care, including
hospitalization, cannot be recaptured. Debts barred by the statute of limitations
also cannot be recaptured.

Amounts available to offset qualifying debts are applied first to unpaid taxes,
interest, and penalties before revenue recapture takes effect.

Revenue recapture applies to the following:
Individual income tax refunds

e Property tax refunds }

o Sustainable forest incentive payments
o Lottery prizes

Under revenue recapture, a claimant (creditor) agency submits the claim (debt)
to DOR for offset. Within five days after doing so, it must notify the debtor-
taxpayer in writing of the debt(s) that will be subject to revenue recapture. The

Updated: October 2011



taxpayer then has 45 days to request a hearing, which the claimant agency
initiates; the hearing is conducted as a contested case under the Administrative
Procedures Act.

Child support has When more than one debt is submitted, the debts are applied in the following
first priority for order of priority:
collection e Child support obligations

e Restitution obligations

e Claims submitted for a hospital or ambulance service

o Other debts based on the order in which DOR received the claims

DOR accounts receivable (e.g., unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties) are offset
before claims under revenue recapture.

A$15 A fee of $15 per claim is first deducted from the refund, and the claimant agency
administrative fee receives the balance of the refund or the claim amount, whichever is less. Of
applies this $15, $4 is set aside in a dedicated, revolving fund to pay DOR’s cost of
' operating the program; the rest goes to the state’s general fund.
More than $78 The table to the right shows the Revenue Recapture Amounts
million was number of revenue recapture offsets CY2006-2010
recaptured in 2010  and amount of refunds offset for Number of  Amount of
calendar years 2006 to 2010. Offsets Recapture
2006 179,754 $59,945,770
The graph below shows the percentage | 2007 211,636 $68,275,418
of revenue recapture amounts and tax 2008 230,911 $87,756,822
debts offset for calendar years 2006 to | 2009 216,623 $72,845,049
2010 by four of the major types of g)(:l?ldes amozuifs‘: Z)ifiet on bizgff! Zs &?3 .
debts for which the law sets priorities. IRS to satisfy debts for taxes owed to the
federal government.
Source: DOR

Child Support

Unpaid MN Taxes 17%
32%

P\ Restitution
2%

General, including
hospital and
ambulance
49%

For more information: See www.taxes.state.mn.us/collection/pages/rr_index.aspx for more information
for claimant agencies; call 651-556-4758; or email mdor.recapture@state.mn.us.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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TIF Redevelopment Districts

The classic use of tax increment financing (TIF) is to foster redevelopment of
“blighted” areas—i.e., areas with rundown, dilapidated, or obsolete buildings
and structures. The increase in property taxes that results from redevelopment
(the “increment™) is used to help finance redevelopment costs, such as land
assembly and removal of blighted structures. In Minnesota, TIF was initially
promoted principally for redevelopment. (It has since grown to be used in the
state for housing, economic development, and general infrastructure finance.)
According to the 2011 Tax Increment Financing Report of the State Auditor,
there were more active TIF redevelopment districts (941) than any other type,
about 48 percent of all TIF districts (1,979) in 2009.

Minnesota law allows redevelopment districts to be designated in areas that
qualify under one of the following criteria:

e Meet a statutory “blight test”

e Are vacant or underused railyards _

o Contain vacant or underused tank farms with a capacity of at least one
million gallons

o Are qualified disaster areas

To qualify under the blight test:

e 70 percent of the area of the district must be occupied by buildings,
streets, utilities, or other improvements, and
e More than 50 percent of the buildings must be structurally substandard.

Buildings are substandard if they have sufficient defects or other problems to
justify substantial renovation or clearance, in the judgment of the authority. The
authority must determine this after conducting an interior inspection of the
property, unless the property owner refuses to permit an inspection.

The authority cannot find a building is substandard if it is in compliance with the
building code for new buildings or could be brought into compliance for less
than 15 percent of the cost of constructing a similar new building. Meeting this
15 percent test, however, does not itself qualify the building as substandard.

Yes, TIF districts generally may consist of separate, noncontiguous areas.
However, each separate noncontiguous area of a redevelopment district must
individually meet one of the qualifying tests as: blighted, a railyard, a tank farm,
or a qualified disaster area.



What are qualified
disaster areas?
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Sfor redevelopment
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To be a qualified disaster area, an area must meet three tests:

70 percent of the parcels must be occupied by buildings, streets, utilities,
or other improvements

The area was declared a disaster area under federal or state law within 18
months before creation of the district

50 percent or more of the buildings suffered substantial damage as a
result of the disaster

For a qualified disaster area district, the original net tax capacity (i.e., the base
value used to calculate increments) is the land value. The most recent
assessment will generally include the full value of the buildings (i.e., it would
not reflect the damage caused by the disaster). Absent a “write-down” of the
original value to the land value, reconstruction following a disaster would not
generate much or any increment, since it would largely restore the preexisting

value.

The law requires 90 percent of the increments from a redevelopment district to
be spent for blight correction—i.e., to fix the conditions that allowed designation
of the district. The statute lists the following as qualifying expenditures:

Site acquisition of blighted sites or sites requiring pollution clean-up
Acquisition of an adjacent parcel or parcels to assemble a site large
enough to redevelop

Clean-up of hazardous substances, pollution, or contaminants

Site preparation, such as clearing the land and installation of utilities,
roads, sidewalks

Providing parking facilities for the site

The law explicitly provides that this is not an exhaustive list. Administrative
expenses of the authority that are allocated to these activities also meet the 90
percent test.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn. Also see the
House Research short subject Tax Increment Financing, October 2010.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | st. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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- MinnesotaCare Provider Taxes

‘Minnesota imposes a series of gross revenue taxes on various types of providers
of health care goods and services. Revenues collected under these taxes are
used to pay for the MinnesotaCare program, which provides state-subsidized
health care coverage for low-income individuals.

Provider taxes apply to the following:

“Health care providers,” which include licensed health care

professionals such as physicians, dentists, nurses, psychologists,
physical therapists, chiropractors, and so forth; nonlicensed individuals
who provide services that qualify for reimbursement under
Minnesota’s Medicaid program; staff model health plan companies (a
type of HMO where services are provided by employees) ambulance
services; opticians; and sellers of hearing aids

Hospitals

Surgical centers

Wholesale drug distributors

MinnesotaCare provider taxes do not apply to the following: |

Nursing homes and various other residential care facilities, such as-
board and care homes, adult foster homes, boardmg care homes, and
adult day care centers

Home health agencies

Providers of personal care services

Providers of private duty nursing services

An entity that employs health care providers to service only their
employees

An educational institution that prov1des services to its students, 1f it
does not charge students a fee for extended coverage

The taxes apply to the gross revenues derived from “patient services,” which are
defined to include most services provided to patients, such as diagnostic and
therapeutic services, bed and board, and so forth. Various types of services are
explicitly excluded from patient services, including the following:

Services provided to nursing homes and in connection w1th assisted
living and congregate housing programs

Exams for insurance, employment, litigation, and so forth

Certain mental health services

Hospice services

Various types of residential services for the developmentally disabled
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The tax rate is 2 percent. A temporary 1.5 percent rate applied from 1998
through 2002.

Exemptions from the tax apply to the following payments:

o  For services provided under Medicare

o - For home health care services

o  Those made from the state chemical dependency fund

o  Those funded by charitable donations not designated for an individual
or group ' :

o Those under programs funding research on human subjects in
compliance with federal law

o - Those made by the federal employee and mllltary (Trlcare) health
insurance plans that cover federal workers and military personnel and
retirees

e Those from providers that were already subject to the tax

Credits are allowed for taxes paid to other states and for qualifying research
expenditures. The research credit is subject to an annual cap of $2.5 million; the

‘commissioner of revenue sets the credit rate to equal the cap amount.

Providers make quarterly estimated payments; an annual return is filed to _
reconcile the estimated payments with the final liability for the tax year. All
payments and returns are required to be filed and made electronically. The
Department of Revenue admlmsters the tax. Providers may 1temlze the tax on
patient bills.

Legend drugs (i.e., those requiring prescriptions under FDA regulation) are
taxed under a wholesale drug tax. This tax is levied on wholesale drug
distributors. It applies at a 2 percent rate to the wholesale price. A use tax
applies when drugs are purchased for resale in Minnesota from an out-of-state
seller who does not have nexus and, thus, cannot be required to pay the tax. The
use tax does not apply to purchases by individuals for their own use.

In.February 2011, the Department of Management and Budget estimated that the
MinnesotaCare provider taxes will yield $512.1 million in revenues for the

~ health care access fund in fiscal year 2012. Because health costs are rising at a

rapid rate and because consumption of health services is also increasing steadily,
these revenues are likely to rise at a faster rate than most other state tax sources.

No, the revenues from applying the insurance premiums tax to health

‘maintenance organizations (HMOs) and nonprofit health services corporations

(such as.Blue Cross) are deposited in the health care access fund and used to pay
for MinnesotaCare. In addition, other revenues from the program, such as
premium payments by participants and some federal funding, go to the fund.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel. michael@house.mn.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan offlce prOV|d|ng Iegislatlve
legal, and mformatlon services to the entire House.

House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Medical Assistance: An Overview

Medical Assistance (MA), the state’s Medicaid program, is a jointly funded, federal-state program that
pays for health care services for low-income individuals. The program is administered locally by
counties, under the supervision of the state Department of Human Services (DHS). Federal Medicaid
law allows states considerable flexibility in designing their Medicaid programs.

Eligibilizfy To be eligible for MA, an individual must meet the following criteria:

- Be amember of a group for which MA coverage is mandatory under

federal law or a member of an optional group that the state has chosen to
cover. Covered groups include families, children, pregnant women, the
elderly, persons with disabilities, and adults without children.

Meet program income and asset limits. Different limits apply to different
categories of individuals. Certain types of income and specified assets
are excluded when determining eligibility. Income and asset limits for
selected groups are described below.

Net income limit, as % of federal

Eligibility group poverty guidelines (FPG) Asset limit*
Children < age 2 280 None
Children 2 through 18 150 None
Children 19 through 20 100 None
Pregnant women ' 275 None
Parents 100 $10,000 for one/$20,000

for two or more persons

Aged, blind, or disabled 100 $3,000 for one/$6,000 for

two/$200 each additional

Adults without children 75 » None

* The homestead, household goods, a vehicle, a burial plot and certain assets for burial expenses,
and other specified items are not counted as assets.

Individuals with incomes over these limits can also qualify for MA
through a spenddown. Under a spenddown, an individual must incur
medical bills in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount by
which the individual’s income exceeds the spenddown limit of 100
percent of FPG for families and children and 75 percent of FPG for
individuals who are aged, blind, or disabled. There is no spenddown for
adults without children.
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e Be a U.S. citizen or a noncitizen who meets specified immigration
criteria.

¢ Be aresident of Minnesota.

e Meet other program eligibility requirements.

The federal Affordable Care Act (ACA) requires states, effective January 1,
2014, to expand Medicaid to adults without dependent children with incomes
not exceeding 133 percent of FPG who meet specified criteria. The ACA allows
states to expand or phase in coverage to this group before this date. The 2010
Legislature gave the current governor and the succeeding governor the option to
implement by executive order early Medicaid expansion for adults without
dependent children with incomes not exceeding 75 percent of FPG. Gov. Mark
Dayton issued an executive order that implemented early expansion effective
March 1, 2011.

Minnesota provides all federally mandated services and most services
designated by the federal Medicaid program as optional. These services include,
but are not limited to: physician care, hospitalization, therapy and rehabilitation,
dental, medical equipment and supplies, home health care, health clinic services,
mental health, prescription drugs, medical transportation, nursing home, and
intermediate care facility for persons with developmental disabilities (ICF/DD)
services. Adult enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to copayments for
certain services.

The state has also received federal approval to provide services not normally
covered by Medicaid. These home and community-based “waivered services”
are intended to make it possible for individuals to remain in the community,
rather than reside in a hospital, nursing home, or ICF/DD.

The MA program reimburses providers under both a fee-for-service system and
a managed care system (composed of the Prepaid Medical Assistance Program
or PMARP, county-based purchasing initiatives, and programs for the elderly and
persons with disabilities).

In fiscal year 2010, total state and federal MA expenditures for services were
$7.236 billion. The federal share of MA costs is determined by a formula based
on state per capita income. In most recent fiscal years, the federal government
has paid 50 percent of the cost of MA services, with Minnesota responsible for
the remaining 50 percent. For the period October 1, 2008, through June 30,
2011, federal law provided Minnesota (and other states) with an enhanced
federal match.

During fiscal year 2010, an average of 608,651 individuals were eligible for MA
services each month. As of July 2011, 466,221 MA recipients received services
under PMAP, a county-based purchasing initiative, or managed care programs
for the elderly or persons with disabilities.

Individuals interested in applying for MA should contact their county human
services agency.

For more information: See the House Research information brief Medical Assistance, October 2011.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a honpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnesota Taxable Income

Minnesota taxable income (MTT) is the tax base used to calculate Minnesota
income tax liability. Minnesota taxable income equals federal taxable income after
Minnesota additions and subtractions. '

Federal Minnesota Minnesota Minnesota

taxable + additions - subtractions = taxable

income (FTI) income
(MTI)

Minnesota requires the following additions to federal taxable income for tax year
2012. These items are subject to Minnesota tax, but not federal tax.

o State income tax deduction. Filers who claimed a federal itemized deduction
for state income taxes paid must add that amount to Minnesota taxable income.
Taxpayers making this addition are always allowed to claim at least the full
standard deduction for the tax year.

o Bond interest and mutual fund interest dividends paid by non-Minnesota
state and local governments.

e Expenses relating to income not taxed by Minnesota.

« Capital gain part of lump-sum distributions from qualified retirement
plans. '

* Fines and penalties allowed as deductions from federal taxable income.

e 80 percent of the difference between federal and state allowances for
bonus depreciation and section 179 expensing.

¢ Net operating losses allowed at the federal level under a different schedule
than at the state level. '

 The additional standard deduction amount allowed to married filers under
the Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job Creation

Act 0f 2010 (TRUIRJCA). ' )

¢ The amount of itemized deductions subject to limitation and personal and
dependent exemptions subject to phaseout under federal law prior to
enactment of TRUIRJCA.

Minnesota allows the following subtractions from federal taxable income for tax

year 2012. The estimated reductions in revenue shown below are taken from the
Department of Revenue’s Tax Expenditure Budget for 2010-2013. Revenue
estimates made during the 2012 legislative session will differ because they will be
based on a more recent economic forecast. :

o State income tax refund. The federal income tax allows an itemized
deduction for state income taxes. Minnesota requires itemizers to add back the
amount deducted and allows a subtraction for amounts refunded in order to



avoid twice taxing the same income.
o Subtractions required by federal law. Federal law prohibits state taxation of
these three types of income received by re51dents
o U.S. bond interest
o Railroad retirement benefits
o On-reservation earnings of enrolled tribal members

o K-12 dependent education expenses ($14.8 million in fiscal year 2013). The
deduction applies to school-related expenses, including tuition, textbooks,
academic tutoring and camps, and instructional materials and supplies. The
maximum deduction is $1,625 for each child in grades K-6 and $2,500 for
each child in grades 7-12.

o Compensation for military active service outside of Minnesota, including
training ($4.9 million in fiscal year 2013).

« Compensation for most military service in Minnesota ($3.8 million in fiscal
year 2013). Allowed for state active service, federally funded state active
service (generally floods, other disasters, and airport security), active service in
the full-time military by Minnesota residents, and training pay.

o 50 percent of charitable contributions in excess of $500 ($6.4 million in
fiscal year 2013). Allowed only for filers who do not claim federal itemized
deductions—those who itemize have already deducted their charitable
contributions in computing federal taxable income.

e Minnesota elderly/disabled exclusion ($0.4 million in fiscal year 2013).
Equals up to $12,000 for low-income elderly and disabled filers with low
amounts of Social Security and nontaxable pensions.

o Job Opportunity Bulldmg Zone (JOBZ) income ($7.8 million in fiscal year
2013). Allowed for net income from a qualified business in a JOBZ, for net
income from renting property for use by a qualified business, and for gain from
the sale of property used by a qualified business.

e Organ donation expenses (less than $50,000 in fiscal year 2013). Allowed
for up to $10,000 of expenses related to organ donation by the taxpayer or a
dependent, including lost wages.

* Gain on sale of farm property for insolvent taxpayers (less than $50,000 in
fiscal year 2013). This subtraction is allowed for taxpayers who use the
proceeds of the sale of a farm to pay off a mortgage, contract for deed, or lien
on the property.

e Foreign subnational income taxes ($100,000 in fiscal year 2013). Allowed
for taxes paid to a foreign governmental unit, to the extent the taxpayer did not
claim the federal foreign tax credit for the subnational taxes (estlmate prepared
by Department of Revenue in 2009 session).

¢ National service education awards ($100,000 in fiscal year 2013). Allowed
for scholarships received for AmeriCorps service.

o Bonus depreciation, section 179 expensing, income from the discharge of
indebtedness, and net operating losses. Allowed for amounts included in
Minnesota taxable income, but not federal taxable income, in earlier tax years.

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at
651-296-5057. Also see the House Research publications Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits,
August 2011; and Minnesota’s Elderly Exclusion (web only) on the income tax page of the House Research
web site: www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm.

The Research Department of the Mlnnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartlsan office providing leglslatwe
legal, and mformatlon services to the entire House.
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Concurrent Receipt of |
Military Retirement Pay and Veterans Disability Compensation

Veterans may be eligible for military retirement pay, and if they are disabled, they may also be eligible for
veterans disability compensation. Federal law governs both military retirement pay and veterans disability
compensation, and determines the situations in which veterans can receive both. While only a small
percentage of veterans are military retirees, many military retirees have incurred one or more service-
connected disabilities and are affected by concurrent receipt policies. These issues are governed by federal
law and are not under the jurisdiction of the states. This short subject briefly explains each type of
compensation and the situations in which a veteran may be eligible to receive both.

Veterans may be eligible A military retiree (generally, a service member who serves 20 years or more

Sfor military retirement in the military) typically qualifies for military retirement pay and certain other

pay and veterans - veterans benefits. The amount of military retirement pay due a military

disability compensation  retiree is based on a formula or scale that factors in the person’s military rank
at retirement and the person’s length of military service. Military retirement
pay is determined and paid by the U.S. Defense Finance and Accounting
Service (DFAS). ' '

A disabled veteran may apply for disability compensation from the U.S.
Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). The VA can approve veterans as
eligible for veterans disability compensation for one or more documented
service-connected injuries or illnesses that continue to affect the person’s
health or abilities following separation from the military. The VA pays this
compensation, with the monthly amount based on a formula or scale that’
factors in the person’s military rank and the person’s service-connected
disability rating. Service-connected disability ratings are made in 10 percent
increments from O percent to 100 percent, with a special category for
disabilities rated as 100 percent total and permanent. (Disabilities not related
to military service are not considered.)

In most cases, veterans “Concurrent receipt” refers to a veteran’s eligibility to receive both military -

cannot receive both retirement benefits and VA disability compensation. Until 2004, concurrent

retirement benefits and = receipt was prohibited by federal law, so a person receiving military

disability compensation  retirement pay was required to waive some or all of that pay in order to
receive VA disability compensation. The federal law was changed as of
January 1, 2004, so that any military retiree with a VA disability rating of 50
percent or higher, or any Purple Heart medal recipient with a rating of 10
percent or higher, is eligible for full concurrent receipt of his or her military
retirement pay and veterans disability compensation.

However, the waiver is still the law for most military retirees with a VA
service-connected disability rating of less than 50 percent. This waiver of



‘retirement pay for disability compensation causes a dollar-for-dollar offset.
As a result, a military retiree subject to the federal ban on concurrent receipt
is limited to the higher of: (1) the person’s military retirement pay; or (2) the
person’s veterans disability compensation, but not to the sum of the two.

The principal advantage of the waiver for the veteran is to substitute veterans
disability pay, which is exempt from all taxation, for military retirement pay,
which is subject to taxation.

Congress expanded Congress has continued to expand eligibility for concurrent receipt of

eligibility for concurrent  retirement pay and disability compensation (CRDP) to include additional

retirement and disability ~ populations of veterans. As of January 2011, the law allows concurrent
pay receipt for the following groups:

» Military retirees who are 100 percent disabled with 20 years of service
e All combat-disabled military retirees regardless of length of service or

percentage of disability as described below

e Disabled military retirees with 20 years of service who are deemed
“unemployable” by the VA

o Chapter 61 retirees with 20 years of service, who have suffered combat or
operations-related injuries, with partial benefits if under 20 years service
(Chapter 61 retirees are people forced to retire from the military because
of medical issues; see 10 U.S.C. §§ 1201-1222.)

An estimated 300,000 disabled military retirees nationally currently qualify
for concurrent receipt. This represents about 30 percent of the military
disabled retired population.

Some retirees can receive Combat-related special compensation (CRSC) is authorized in federal law

compensation to replace and provides military retirees monthly compensation to replace a VA

a disability offset disability offset. Under this law, all qualified military retirees with 20 or
more years of service with a “combat-related” VA-rated disability are exempt
from any ban on concurrent receipt and are eligible to receive both full
military retirement pay and VA disability compensation.

A portion of Minnesota  Minnesota has approximately 400,000 veterans; about 60,000 of them have a

veterans are military . VA disability rating, but only about 15,000 are military retirees (including
retirees both active duty and National Guard and other Reserve retirees). Many of
these 15,000 military retirees are likely to have service-connected disabilities,

as determined by the VA.

Because these policies are governed by federal law, Minnesota has no
jurisdiction or authority to change them.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jim Cleary at jim.cleary@house.mn.- ,

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan offlce prowdmg legislative,
Iegal and information services to the entire House.
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MinnesotaCare: An Overview

MinnesotaCare is a state program that provides subsidized health care coverage to low- and moderate-
income families and individuals. The program is administered by the Department of Human Services
(DHS); counties have the option of processing applications and determining eligibility.

Note: The following text describes program changes that have been approved by the federal
government but for which implementation by DHS is pending.

Eligibility To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, an individual must meet the following
criteria:

Have gross income that does not exceed 275 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines (FPQG) for families and children ($61,488 for a household of
four), and 250 percent of FPG for adults without children ($27,228 for a
household of one and $36,780 for a household of two). Parents with
annual gross incomes over $57,500 are ineligible, whether or not they
otherwise meet the 275 percent of FPG standard; this income cap does not
apply to pregnant women and minor parents.

Have assets that do not exceed $10,000 for a household of one and
$20,000 for a household of two or more, after certain exclusions. This
asset standard does not apply to pregnant women and children.

Not have access to employer-subsidized health care coverage, and not
have had access to this coverage through the current employer for 18
months prior to application or renewal. This requirement does not apply to
children with incomes that do not exceed 200 percent of FPG and certain
other children. :

Have no health care coverage at the time of application and for four
months prior to application or renewal. Children with incomes that do not
exceed 200 percent of FPG and certain other children are exempt from
this requirement if they are considered to be “underinsured.”

Be a resident of Minnesota. Enrollees must meet the residency
requirements of the Medical Assistance (MA) program.

Covered services Pregnant women and children have access to a broader range of covered services
than adults who are not pregnant. Pregnant women and children receive
coverage for all health care services provided under MA. MA covers physician
care, hospitalization, prescription drugs, nursing home care, and a wide range of
other health care and long-term care services.

Parents and adults without children are covered for most, but not all MA
services. Parents with household incomes greater than 215 percent of FPG and
all adults without children are subject to an annual inpatient hospital benefit
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and cost-sharing
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limit of $10,000. Services not covered include personal care attendant services,
private duty nursing, nursing home care, ICF/DD (intermediate care facility for
persons with developmental disabilities), and special transportation services.

Enrollees must pay premiums based on a sliding scale. Children with incomes
that do not exceed 200 percent of FPG pay a reduced annual premium of $48.
Adult enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to coinsurance and copayments
for specified services.

Nearly all enrollees receive health care services through prepaid health plans.
The MinnesotaCare program pays prepaid health plans a monthly capitation
payment for each MinnesotaCare enrollee. MinnesotaCare does not set provider
reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the result of negotiation between
health care providers and the prepaid health plan.

Effective July 1, 2012, adults without children with incomes greater than or
equal to 200 percent of FPG but not exceeding 250 percent of FPG will use
monthly defined contributions provided by the state to purchase private sector
health coverage. Covered services and cost-sharing will be as provided under the
terms of the private sector policy. Defined contribution enrollees will not pay
MinnesotaCare premiums, but will be required to pay any portion of the
premium for private sector coverage that exceeds the monthly defined
contribution.

In fiscal year 2010, the MinnesotaCare program paid $665 million for medical
services provided to enrollees. Sixty-seven percent of this cost was paid for by
the state, 28 percent by the federal government, and 5 percent by enrollees
through premium payments (this last category also includes enrollee cost-
sharing).

State funding for MinnesotaCare and other health care access initiatives is
provided by a tax of 2.0 percent on the gross revenues of health care providers
and a tax of 1.0 percent on the premiums of nonprofit health plan companies.

The state receives federal funding at the MA match rate for health care services
provided to enrollees who are children, parents, or pregnant women, and for
enrollees who are adults without children with incomes greater than 75 percent
but not exceeding 250 percent of FPG. The state receives federal funding at an
enhanced match rate (under the Children’s Health Insurance Program) for
children under age 21 with incomes equal to or greater than 133 percent, but not
exceeding 275 percent of FPG.

As of June 2011, 142,958 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare
program. Just over six out of ten of these enrollees were parents, children, or
pregnant women.

MinnesotaCare applications can be obtained by calling 1-800-657-3672.
Applications are also available at county human services agencies.

For more information: See the House Research information brief MinnesotaCare, October 2011.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Firearms Transportation in Motor Vehicles

What is the history
of Minnesota’s laws
regarding the
transportation of
firearms in motor
vehicles?

Are there any other
exemptions to the
law?

Since 1986, Minnesota has had a law prohibiting a person from transporting a
firearm in a motor vehicle unless the firearm is unloaded and fully secured in a gun
case expressly made for that purpose, or is unloaded and in the closed trunk of a

motor vehicle. (Minn. Stat. § 97B.045)

The law provides an exception for a handgun being carried under the terms of a
valid permit to carry (i.e., in accordance with Minnesota Statutes section 624.714).
When being transported by a person with a valid permit to carry, a handgun may
be cased or uncased, loaded or unloaded, and concealed or openly carried.

In 2009, the law was amended to allow an uncased, unloaded rifle or shotgun to be
transported in a motor vehicle in the following situations:

« while at a shooting range, as defined under Minnesota Statutes, section
87A.01, subdivision 3, where the person has received permission from
the lawful owner or possessor to discharge firearms

« while lawfully hunting on private or public land, including possessing a

valid hunting license (if required)
o+ - while traveling to or from a site where the person intends to hunt
lawfully that day or has hunted lawfully that day

The rifle or shotgun, whether cased or uncased, must still remain unloaded while
being transported in a motor vehicle. (Laws 2009, ch. 176, art. 2, § 40) (The
original 2009 law had an exception that also required a rifle or shotgun to remain
cased within an area where the discharge of a firearm has been prohibited by
ordinance. In 2011 the law was amended to remove that requirement. (Laws 2011,
1* spec. sess., ch. 2, art. 5, § 41.))

A rifle or shotgun must remain cased while being transported in a motor vehicle:

within Anoka, Hennepin, and Ramsey counties;
within the boundary of a city with a population of 2,500 or more;

« on school grounds; and
« asregulated under statutes governing game refuges, shining of artificial

lights, and use of night vision devices.

None of the restrictions in Minnesota Statutes, section 97B 045, regardmg the
transportation of firearms, apply to a disabled person if:

+ the person possesses a permit for disabled hunters issued under Minnesota
Statutes, section 97B.055, subdivision 3; and

o the firearm is not loaded in the chamber until the vehicle is stationary, or is
a hinge-action firearm with the action open until the vehicle is stationary.



What is the penalty

Jor violating the law? .

Does the law affect
a person with a
permit to carry?

Does the law affect
who may possess a
firearm?

How are the terms
of the game and
fish laws defined
Jor the firearms
transportation law?

The 2009 law also repealed a third condition that required the disabled person to be
participating in a hunt sponsored by a nonprofit or to be hunting on land owned or
leased by the disabled person. (Laws 2009, ch. 176, art. 2, § 39)

It remains a misdemeanor crime to violate Minnesota’s firearms transportation law.
The crime is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.

No. A person with a valid permit to carry a pistol issued in accordance with the
Minnesota Personal Protection Act of 2003 (Minn. Stat. § 624.714) can still
transport a pistol in a motor vehicle (whether as a driver or a passenger),
irrespective of whether it is cased or uncased, is loaded or unloaded, or is
concealed or being carried openly.

No. A person’s status under federal and Minnesota law as a firearms-prohibited
person is not affected by the new or the previous firearms transportation law. A
firearms-prohibited person continues to be prohibited from possessing any firearm

.in any manner, including for the purpose of transporting it.

For purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 97B.045, and other game and fish
laws, certain key terms are defined as follows:

o “Motor vehicle” means a self-propelled vehicle or a vehicle propelled or
drawn by a self-propelled vehicle that is operated on a highway, on a
railroad track, on the ground, in the water, or in the air (Minn. Stat. §
97A.015, subd. 32)

o “Hunting” means “taking” birds or mammals. “Taking” is further defined
as pursuing, shooting, killing, capturing, trapping, snaring, angling,
spearing, or netting wild animals, or placing, setting, drawing, or using a
net, trap, or other device to take wild animals. Taking includes attempting
to take wild animals and assisting another person in taking wild animals.
(Minn. Stat. § 97A.015, subds. 26 and 47)

« “Possession” means both actual and constructive possession and control of
the things referred to. (Minn. Stat. § 97A.015, subd. 36)

For more information: Contact legislative analysf Jim Cleary at jim.cleary@house.mn or Janelle Taylor at
janelle.taylor@house.mn. ’
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Estate and Inheritance Taxation:
An Overview of Taxes in the States

This short subject summarizes the status of state inheritance and estate taxes in the states as of September

2011.

After Congress
repealed the credit
that allowed states
to impose “pickup”
estate taxes that
were borne by the
Sfederal treasury, 28
states eliminated
their taxes

The two types of
taxes differ in the
base for computing
them; one depends
on the total size of
the estate, the other
on to whom
bequests are made

Fourteen states and
the District of
Columbia impose
only estate taxes

Six states impose
only inheritance
taxes

From 1924 through 2001, the federal estate tax allowed a dollar-for-dollar credit
for state death taxes paid (up to maximum limits). All states imposed estate
taxes up to the amount of the federal credit; some states also imposed additional
inheritance or estate taxes. In 2001 Congress repealed the federal credit for state
death taxes (effective for deaths after December 31, 2004). Now that they can
no longer impose taxes that do not increase the total tax burden on estates and
heirs, most states (28 for 2011 deaths) no longer impose estate or inheritance
taxes. Minnesota has opted to continue imposing an estate tax equal to the credit
under prior federal law.

Estate taxes generally apply a single tax rate schedule to the taxable value of
the decedent’s total estate (bequests to charities and surviving spouses are
typically exempt).

Inheritance taxes apply varying tax rate schedules to bequests made to different
classes of beneficiaries. Bequests to surviving spouses and lineal heirs typically
enjoy lower rates or are totally exempt, while bequests to more distant or
unrelated heirs (collateral heirs) are usually taxed at higher rates or have lower
exemptions or both.

For decedents dying in calendar year 2011, 14 states (Connecticut, Delaware,
Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, North Carolina,
Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington) and the District of
Columbia impose only estate taxes. Two of these states (Delaware and Hawaii)
had allowed their taxes to expire after Congress repealed the federal credit for
state death taxes, but reenacted the taxes in 2010 in response to the reductions in:
revenue resulting from the recession of 2007-09. In 2011, Ohio repealed its
estate tax, effective for decedents dying in 2013.

Exemption amounts under the state estate taxes vary. For 2011, they range from
$5 million (North Carolina) to $338,333 (Ohio). The most common amount is
$1 million (six states, including Minnesota). Top rates range from 7 percent to
19 percent with most states, like Minnesota, imposing a top rate of 16 percent.

Six states (Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Nebraska, Pennsylvania, and Tennessee)
impose only inheritance taxes.



The exemptions under these taxes vary greatly, ranging from $100 (Indiana) for
bequests to unrelated individuals, to unlimited exemptions (Iowa and Kentucky)
for bequests to lineal heirs, such as children or parents of the decedent. (Most
states do not tax bequests to surviving spouses under either estate or inheritance
taxes.) Top tax rates range from 4.5 percent (Pennsylvania on lineal heirs) to 20
percent (Indiana on collateral heirs).

Two states impose Maryland and New Jersey impose both types of taxes, but the estate tax paid is a
both taxes - credit against the inheritance tax, so the total tax liability is not the sum of the
two, but the greater of the two taxes.

The map shows the states with estates and inheritance taxes.

State Estate and Inheritance Taxes

|:| States with Estate Taxes

. States with Inheritance Taxes

. States with Both Estate and Inheritance Taxes

For more information: See the information brief Survey of State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes,
November 2011.
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Principal and Teacher Accountability Laws

The 2011 Legislature enacted laws that establish principal and teacher accountability. Principal
accountability requirements apply beginning in the 2013-2014 school year, and teacher accountability
requirements apply beginning in the 2014-2015 school year.

A superintendent The principal accountability laws require a superintendent to use a performance-
must annually based system to annually evaluate each school principal assigned to supervise a
evaluate school school building within the school district (Minn. Stat. § 123B.143, subd. 1; §

principals using a 123B.147, subd. 3; Laws 2011, 1% Spec. Sess., ch. 11, art. 2, § 47). The evaluation

performance-based  is to improve teaching and learning by enhancing the principal’s ability to shape

system the school’s professional environment and support and improve school
performance, student achievement, and teacher quality, performance, and
effectiveness. The evaluation must satisfy eight criteria:

» Support and improve a principal’s instructional leadership, organizational
management, and professional development, and strengthen the principal’s
capacity in instruction, supervision, evaluation, and teacher development

e Include formative and summative assessments

» Be consistent with a principal’s job description and the plans and goals of
the district and the principal, and support leadership behaviors and
practices, rigorous curriculum, school performance, and high-quality
instruction ,

o Include on-the-job observations and previous evaluations

o Allow surveys to help identify a principal’s effectiveness, leadership skills
and processes, and strengths and weaknesses in exercising leadership

e Use longitudinal data on student academic growth that incorporate district
achievement goals and targets

o Be linked to professional development that emphasizes improved teaching
and learning, curriculum and instruction, student learning, and a
collaborative professional culture

e Require an improvement plan for a principal not meeting standards of
professional practice or other performance criteria and specify the
procedures and consequences of failing to improve performance

These criteria are meant to be sufficiently flexible to accommodate district needs
and goals for developing, supporting, and evaluating principals.

A group of experts  Before implementing annual principal evaluations, the education commissioner

must develop a and the associations of secondary and elementary school principals first must
model for principal  convene a group of specified experts and stakeholders to develop a performance-
evaluations based system model, which must be presented to the legislature by February 1,

2012. The group must consider how principals develop and maintain high



Teachers will be
evaluated under a
locally agreed-upon
process or a process
developed by the
education
commissioner

standards for student performance, rigorous curriculum, quality instruction, a
culture of learning and professional development, connections to external
communities, systemic performance accountability, and leadership behaviors that
create effective schools and improve school performance. The group also may
consider whether to establish a multitiered evaluation system that supports newly
licensed principals in becoming highly skilled school leaders and provides
opportunities for advanced learning for more experienced school leaders.

The teacher accountability laws allow a school board and the exclusive
representative of the teachers to jointly agree to an annual teacher evaluation and
peer review process for probationary and nonprobationary teachers (Minn. Stat. §
122A.40, subds. 4, 5, 8, 9; and § 122A .41, subds. 2, 3, 5, 6). If there is no
agreement, the district must implement the teacher evaluation and peer review
process developed by the education commissioner and specified education
stakeholders. Annual teacher evaluations are designed to develop, improve, and
support qualified teachers and effective teaching practices and improve student
learning and success. All annual teacher evaluations must satisfy 12 criteria:

e Provide the requisite evaluations for probationary teachers

« Establish a three-year professional review cycle for each teacher that
includes a growth and development plan, peer review, the opportunity to
participate in a professional learning community, and at least one
summative evaluation performed by a qualified and trained evaluator

» Be based on professional teaching standards -

o Coordinate staff development activities with the evaluation process and
outcomes

o Perhaps allow school time for coaching and collaboration

e Perhaps include mentoring and induction programs

« Allow teachers to present a portfolio demonstrating evidence of reflection
and professional growth that includes teachers’ own performance
assessment

e Use an agreed-upon teacher value-added assessment where value-added
data are available and state or local student growth measures where value-
added data are unavailable as a basis for 35 percent of teacher evaluation
results '

o Use longitudinal data on student engagement and connection and other
student outcome measures aligned with curriculum for which teachers are
responsible

e Require qualified and trained evaluators to perform summative evaluations

e Give teachers not meeting professional teaching standards the support to
improve with established goals and timelines

 Discipline a tgacher who does not adequately improve

Data on individual teachers generated under this evaluation process are defined as
personnel data and are private data except as otherwise specified under law. The
evaluations do not create additional due process rights for probationary teachers.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
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Saving for College: 529 Plans and Income Tax Policy

What are 529
plans?

Do income or
contribution limits
apply to the plans?

What tax benefits
are available for
529 plans?

Does Minnesota
have a 529 plan?

Can a Minnesotan
participate in other
state plans?

Who participates in
529 plans?

529 college savings plans allow parents and others (e.g., grandparents or the
student him or herself) to save for college costs in accounts that qualify for
special tax treatment. The plans are operated by states. (Higher education
institutions may operate pre-paid tuition plans, which are not discussed in this
short subject.) Each account has an “owner” (usually the person contributing)
and a “beneficiary” (the individual whose education costs will be paid). The
owner retains ownership and control of the account and can change the
beneficiary. Under federal law, investment of the accounts must be done by the
state or the investment company it contracts with to operate its plan, but account
owners can choose from among state plans offering an array of investment
options and have limited authority to transfer funds once per year among plans.
Thus, they indirectly have some investment control.

Unlike most other tax incentives and aid programs for higher education, no
income limits apply to 529 plans. Even the highest income families qualify to
use them. Contributions must be made in cash. Each state plan sets its
contribution limit, but federal law limits this to the amount necessary to provide
for the qualifying higher education expenses of the beneficiary. Most states
have set this limit higher than $300,000. Minnesota’s limit is $235,000.

Investment income on 529 accounts is exempt from both federal and Minnesota
income taxes, if the income is used for qualifying higher education expenses.
Qualifying expenses include tuition, fees, room and board, books, and some
other education expenses. Investment income on the accounts that is used for
nonqualifying purposes is taxed as ordinary income, plus a 10 percent penalty.
529 plans also provide special estate and gift tax benefits.

Yes, 1997 legislation authorized the Minnesota College Savings Pian, and the
plan began operating in 2001. TIAA-CREF, a large national financial
institution, provides administration and investment management services for the

- plan. At the end of 2010, the Minnesota plan had over $819.8 million in assets

and about 56,000 accounts or contracts. Nationally, total 529 plan assets were
about $157 billion for about 10 million accounts.

Yes, most state plans allow nonresidents to participate, although special
preferences may be provided for residents. The federal and Minnesota tax
benefits apply equally to investments in other state plans. Although precise
evidence is not available, it appears that Minnesota residents have invested more
money in other states’ 529 plans than in the Minnesota College Savings Plan.

Available evidence suggests that most 529 plan assets are held by families in the
top income groups. The table below shows the distribution of 529 plan and
Education Savings Account (ESA) assets by income group, based on data from



. the Federal Reserve’s 2004 Survey of Consumer Finance. It shows that over 67

percent of these assets are held by the top population decile (the 10 percent of

the population with the highest incomes) and over 80 percent by the top quintile.

529 Plan and ESA Assets by Income of Account Owners
(amounts in 2004 dollars)

Median 529 plan and _ % of

Income category - income* ESA assets % of total { households

: (000) w1th assets

1% quintile (0 — 20%)** $11,296 $178,456 0.2% 0.0%
2" quintile (20% — 40%)** 25,672 196,625 0.2% 0.1%
3" quintile (40% — 60%)** 43,129 2,963,328 3.4% 1.5%
4" quintile (60% — 80%) 67,774 11,416,287 13.2% 3.0%
9" decile (80% — 90%) 104,741 13,707,740 15.8% 6.0%
Top decile (90% — 100%) 184,838 58,192,663 67.2% 10.0%
Total $43,129 $86,655,099 100% 2.5%

* Median income of all households in income group, not just those with assets.
** Based on ten or fewer respondents with 529 plan or ESA assets; may not be reliable as
to those amounts.

Source: House Research calculations using Federal Reserve Board Survey of Consumer
Finance data (2004).

Do other states Unlike Minnesota, most states with income taxes provide deductions or credits
provide additional  for contributions to 529 plans. As of September 2011, 32 states and the District
state tax benefits for of Columbia allowed tax deductions and three states (Indiana, Vermont, and

529 plans? Utah), credits for 529 plan contributions. (Only seven states with income taxes
do not provide 529 plan deductions or credits.) Most of the deductions are
~ limited to contributions to the state’s plan, but four states ptovide deductions for
contributions to any state plan. Most of the deductions and all three credits are
subject to dollar caps, but four states do not limit the amount of their deductions.
Does Minnesota Minnesota provided a matching grant program for contributions made through
provide other December 31, 2010. The 2011 Legislature repealed the matching grant program
incentives for to reduce spending and balance the budget. Prior to its elimination, the
participation? matching grant program provided matches of up to $400 per year for families

with annual incomes of $80,000 or less. The financial benefits of the match for
qualifying families were roughly comparable to the benefits under most state tax
deductions. However, few states impose income limits on the tax benefits.

- Matching grants are not subject to federal tax, while state tax deductions or
credits reduce the federal itemized deduction for state income taxes, diluting
their benefits to many recipients by 10 percent to 35 percent. Nine states

" provide matching grants and one operates a pilot grant program; most only
provide grants to lower-income families. Like Minnesota, Michigan recently
suspended funding for its matchmg grants, likely for budget reasons.

For more information: Contact legislative analjst Joel Michael at joel.michael@house.mn or Nina Manzi
at 651-296-5204. Also see the House Research pubhcatlon 529 Plans and Income Tax Policy: The
Minnesota College Savings Plan, June 2008
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Minnesota Individual Alternative Minimum Tax

What is the
alternative
minimum tax?

What is the history
of the AMT?

. How is Minnesota’s
AMT structured?

- Who pays the
AMT?

How are the federal
and state AMTs
- different?

minimum amount of tax relative to their incomes.

~ The theory underlying the federal and state alternative minimum taxes (AMT) is to

require taxpayers who benefit heavily from some tax preferences to pay a ,
: The AMT requires taxpayers to -

pay tax under an “alternative” tax with a broader base and lower tax rates, if that

results in higher tax liability than the regular tax.

The first version of the federal tax was enacted in 1969 in response to the
revelation that a number of “millionaires” were paying no federal income tax.
Minnesota first enacted an AMT in 1977. For some time duringthe 1970s and
1980s, both the federal and state taxes were levied as “add-on minimum” taxes,
rather than alternative minimum taxes, and required certain taxpayers to pay a
fraction of some preferences as an add-on minimum tax. The basic structure of the
two taxes has been in place since the 1986 federal reform and 1987 state reform.
Both Congress and the legislature have made many changes, both in deﬁmng the
base of the taxes and their rates.

Mlnnesota s AMT roughly follows the federal AMT. Both follow the model of
requiring taxpayers to compute a tentative liability under a second tax structure.
This second tax structure, the AMT, has a broader tax base (due to fewer

- deductions, exemptions, and credits) and lower rates than the regular tax. If the

tentative tax is higher than the taxpayer’s regular tax liability, the taxpayer pays the
difference. In effect, the AMT takes away part of the benefit of tax preferences
that lowered the regular tax.

AMT filers fall into three main groups:

o Those who have large amounts of deductions that are allowed under the
regular tax but not under the AMT -

o Taxpayers with large families whose personal exemptions and standard
deduction (or typical itemized deductions) under the regular tax exceed the
flat exemption amount allowed under the AMT

« Taxpayers with income above the level at which the AMT exemption is
fully phased out

The federal and state AMTs have three major differences.
e The federal AMT allows the deduction of home mortgage interest; the
Minnesota AMT does not.
e The Minnesota AMT has one flat rate, while the federal tax has two rates.
o The Minnesota AMT has a hi gher exemption amount than the federal
AMT and the Minnesota exemption is indexed for inflation, while the
federal exemption is not. ' ’ ‘



The Minnesota AMT uses a broader tax base than does the regular tax and applies
a single 6.4 percent rate against that base. The following table outlines the
parameters of the Minnesota regular and alternative minimum tax.

How are the
Minnesota regular
tax and AMT

different?

| Comparison of Minnesota’s Regular Income Tax and AMT
($ amounts are for the 2012 tax year)

Feature

Regular Tax

, AMT

Tax base

Federal adjusted gross income

Federal adjusted gross income

Rules carried

Less generous depreciation rules

term car¢ insurance, marriage
credit, past military service, health
insurance premiums)

Refundable credits (working
family, dependent care, K-12
education, combat zone service,
bovine tuberculosis, angel -
investment, historic structure
rehabilitation)

over from Incentive stock options

federal AMT Depletion
Intangible drilling costs
Tax-exempt interest from private

: ) activity bonds
Standard ~ $9,900 (married joint) $69,230 for married joint (phased
| deduction $5,950 (single) - out for income from $150,000 to
$8,700 (head of household) - $426,920)

: $51,930 for single and head of
household (phased out for income
from $112,500 to $320,220)

Personal $3,800 per taxpayer, spouse, and ©~  None
exemptions dependents _
Itemized " Home miortgage interest Not allowed (federal allows, with
deductions - . limits) '
’ Charitable contributions Allowed
Property taxes ' Not allowed (same as federal)
Medical expenses Allowed
Miscellaneous deductions (e.g., Not allowed
employee business expenses)
Casualty losses Allowed
Tax rates 5.35%; 7.05%; 7.85% 6.4% (federal is 26%; 28%)
Tax credits Credit for taxes paid to other states  Allowed
Transit passes ' Not Allowed
Other nonrefundable credits (Long-  Allowed

Allowed, but the K-12 credit is
reduced by AMT liability

How much revenue  The Minnesota AMT is estimated to raise about $27.6 million in tax year 2012,

does the AMT from about 15,800 taxpayers. The amount of revenue and the number of taxpayers

raise? - paying the AMT are expected to increase in future years. Although the exemption
is indexed annually for inflation, the AMT will tend to increase as real income -
increases and as AMT preference items, such as home mortgage interest and
property taxes, increase more rapldly than inflation.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatlves is a nonpartlsan offlce providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House

' House Research Department | 600 State Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | 651-296-6753 | www.house.mn/hrd/rd.htm
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Federal Taxable Income, the startmg point for calculatlng

What is federal
taxable income
(FTI)?

 What kinds of

income are included
in FAGI?

- What kinds of
income are
excluded from
FAGI?

What deductions
are allowed from
Frr?

How much is the
standard
deduction?

anesota income tax

Federal taxable income is the tax base used to calculate federal income tax

liability. It is also the starting point for calculating Minnesota taxable income, the
tax base used to calculate Minnesota income tax liability. Federal taxable income -
equals federal adjusted gross income (FAGI) after deductions and exemptions.

Federal Standard _ Personal Federal
adjusted . or _ and - taxable
gross income Itemized Dependent - - income
(FAGH) deductions exemptions (FTI)

- FAGI includes most kinds of income: wages, salaries, and tips; taxable interest;

dividends; alimony received by the taxpayer; business income or loss; capital gains
or losses; other gains or losses; taxable IRA distributions; taxable pension and
annuity distributions (the taxable portion is typically determined by whether or not
the contributions to the pension or annuity were included in FAGI when they were
made); income from rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, and
trusts; farm income or loss; unemployment compensation; and taxable Social
Security benefits (the amount taxable depends on the individual’s income level; at
most, 85 percent of benefits are included in FAGI). FAGI does not include ch11d
support received by the taxpayer.

FAGI excludes: deductible IRA, SEP, and SIMPLE contributions; nontaxable
employee fringe benefits; student loan interest payments; Health Savings Account
contributions and investment income; moving expenses; one-half of self-
employment tax; health insurance premiums (for self-employed taxpayers only);
penalty on early withdrawal of savings; alimony paid by the taxpayer; and, through
tax year 2011, $250 of teacher classroom expenses and $4,000 of tuition expenses
for higher education. FAGI does not exclude child support paid by the taxpayer.

Taxpayers may claim either the standard deduction or itemized deductions. Intax -
year 2009, the most recent year for which data is available, 60 percent of
Minnesotans claimed the standard deduction and 40 percent itemized.

In tax year 2012, the standard deduction is as follows:
o $11,900 for married couples filing joint returns
o $5,950 for married couples filing separate returns
o $8,700 for head of household filers
o $5,950 for single filers



What itemized
deductions are
~allowed?

What personal and

 dependent
exemptions are
allowed?

Are there limifts on
deductions and
exemptions?

In tax year 2012, itemized deductions are allowed for the following:
o Payments of state and local property taxes and either income or sales taxes
e Mortgage interest '
e Charitable contributions o
e Medical expenses in excess of 7.5 percent of income
o Casualty and theft losses in excess of 10 percent of income
« Job expenses and miscellangous expenses (most only allowed in excess of 2
percent of income) :

Taxpayers may claim one personal exemption each and one dependent exemption

for each dependent claimed. For tax year 2012, the personal and dependent

exemptions are $3,800 each. A family of four quahﬁes for four exemptions,
totaling $15 200, :

The federal Revenue Reconcﬂla’uon Act of 1990 (RRA 1990) hrnlted itemized
deductions for taxpayers with incomes over a threshold. This limit takes away
some of the benefit of the deduction for higher income taxpayers. Taxpayers
subject to the limit have their deductions reduced by 3 percent of their AGI over

~ the applicable thresholds. But they are always guaranteed 20 percent of the

deductions, no matter how high their AGIs are.

RRA 1990 also provided for personal and dependent exemptions to be phased out
for taxpayers with incomes over a threshold. Affected taxpayers lose 2 percent of .
their total exemption amount for each $2,500 of income over the threshold.

“The federal Econbmic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act (EGTRRA) of

2001 gradually phased out the limitation on itemized deductions and the phaseout
of exemptions over five years, from 2006 to 2010, so that in tax year 2010, the
limitation and the phaseout were not in effect. The federal Tax Relief,
Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job Creation Act of 2010 extended
the elimination of the deduction limitation and the exemption phaseout to tax years
2011 and 2012. Intax year 2013 the limitation of itemized deductions and the

~ phaseout of exemptions will be reinstated.

The table shows the income thresholds for the itemized deduction limitation and
the personal exemption phaseout in effect in tax year 2009. The income thresholds
are adjusted annually for inflation, and the inflation adjustment will resume in
2013 if the limitation and phaseout are reinstated.

Tax year 2009 Ttemized deduction Exemption phaseout

: limit begins at begins at

Married joint filers $166,800 $250,200
-Married separate filers $83,400 $125,100
Single filers . $166,800 | - $166,800
Head of household filers $166,800 $208,500

- For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or J oel Michael at 651-
296-5057. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Terms Deductions and Credits, August

2011.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartlsan office prowdlng legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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The K-12 Educatlon Deductlon and Credit: An Overwew

What is the K-12
deduction?

What expenses

qualify for the
deduction?

What is the tax
benefit of the
deduction?

What is the K-12
education credit?

What expénse’s
qualify for the
credit? -

A state income tax deduct1on 1s allowed for K-12 education-related expenses. The
deduction is for up to $2,500 for each dependent in grades 7-12 and up to $1,625
for each dependent in grades K-6. ,

In tax year 2009 (ﬁscal year 2010) an estimated 176,000 returns claimed the
deduction. The Department of Revenue estimates that the deduction will cost the
state $14.8 million in tax year 2012 (fiscal year 2013). -

Qualifying expenses include the following: :

e Tuition, including nonpublic school, after-school ennchment academ1c
summer camps, music lessons, and tutoring »

e Textbooks, including instructional materials and supplies, musical
instrument rental and purchase, and up to $200 of computer hardware and
educational software

o - Transportation (paid to others for transporting children to school)

A deduction reduces an individual’s taxable income. The tax benefit depends on
the taxpayer’s marginal tax rate and the total amount deducted. Minnesota has
three marginal tax rates: 5.35 percent, 7.05 percent, and 7.85 percent. A taxpayer

~ in the 5.35 percent bracket who claims a $2,500 deduction will pay $133.75 less in

state income taxes (5.35% x $2,500). A taxpayer in the 7.85 percent bracket with
the same deduction will pay $196.25 less in taxes. A taxpayer with too little
income to have tax liability will not benefit from the deduction. In tax-year 2012, a
typ1ca1 married couple with two dependents would need to have $24,850 of gross
income before owing any state income tax.

A state income tax credit is allowed for 75 percent of K-12 education-related
expenses. The credit is for up to $1,000 for each child in grades K-12, with parents
allowed to allocate expenses among children as they choose. The credit is subject

to an income-based phaseout. It begins to phase out when income exceeds ,
$33,500. For families claiming the credit for one or two children, it is fully phased
out when income reaches $37,500. The phaseout extends for an additional $2,000
of income for each additional child claimed (i.e., to $39, 500 for three children,
$41,500 for four children, etc.).

In tax year 2009, 55,958 Minnesotans claimed a total of $14.7 million inK-12
education credits. The average credit was $262. In tax year 2012 (fiscal year
2013), the Department of Revenue estimates that Minnesota will clalm $12.8

million in K-12 educatlon credits.

" The same expenses quahfy for the credit as for the deduction, except nonpublic

school tuition does not qualify for the credit.



What is the tax
effect of the credit?

Can parents obtain
loans to pay for
educational services
that qualify for the
credit?

How do taxpayers
claim the deduction
and credit? -

Have the deduction

and credit been

challenged in
‘court?

What do other
states provide in

~ terms of income tax
credits for
education-related
expenses?

The K-12 credit directly reduces tax liability and is fully refundable. If an
individual’s credit exceeds his or her liability, the excess is paid as a refund.

Parents may assign payment of the credit to participating financial institutions and
tax-exempt foundations. In exchange, parents receive a loan that is paid directly to
a third-party provider of educational services and programs. This allows very low-
income families to purchase educational products and services in anticipation of
receiving a credit when they file their tax return the following year, with the credit
paid directly to the financial institution or foundation that accepted the assignment. -

Taxpayers claim the deduction on form M-1, the Minnesota income tax return.
Taxpayers claiming the credit must complete form M1ED and attach it to their
state tax return

The constitutionality of the dependent education expense deduction was challenged
in Mueller v. Allen in 1983. The U.S. Supreme Court upheld the statute
authorizing the deduction in a 5-4 decision. The Court found that the deduction -

did the following:
 Offset parents’ educational expenses and helped ensure an educated
populace

o Helped ensure the financial health of nonpubhc schools and relieved the
 financial burden on public schools
e Promoted “wholesome competition” between public and nonpublic schools
and provided a high-quality education for all children

Minnesota’s current K-12 education credit has not been subject to legal ehallenge.

To date, nine states in addition to Minnesota provide income tax benefits for
education-related expenses. Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa,
Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island all provide tax credits for contributions to
nonprofit school tuition organizations that operate like charities; Puerto Rico also
allows a similar credit. Pennsylvania and Rhode Island allow their credits for
corporate taxpayers; the Florida credit is allowed-against corporate, insurance
premiums, severance, alcoholic beverage taxes, and sales taxes for certain
taxpayers; and Arizona, Georgia, Indiana, and Iowa have credits for both
individual and corporate taxpayers. Arizona also allows credits for individuals

- who pay extracurricular public school fees and who contribute to character

education programs at public schools, and Pennsylvania also allows a corporate
credit for contributions to innovative public school programs. Illinois and Iowa
both provide individuals with a nonrefundable tax credit for qualified education
expenses, while Louisiana allows a tax deduction. Iowa’s credit applies to tuition
for children attending accredited not-for-profit K-12 schools, and Louisiana’s
deduction applies to public, private, and homeschool expenses. Courts in Arizona,
Illinois, and Iowa have upheld the permissibility of these education credits.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Lisa Larson at
651-296-8036. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Deductions and Credits for Public and
Nonpublic Educatzon in Minnesota, September 2011.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatwes is a nonpartisan office providing leglslatlve
legal, and lnformatlon services to the entire House.
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Penalties for Underreporting Minnesota Individual Income‘Tax

What is the civil
penalty for failure

~ to pay Minnesota
income tax by the
due date?

Is there a
reasonable cause
exception?

What is the
“additional tax
charge”?

What is the civil
penalty for failure
to file a return?

For calendar year taxpayers, final payments are due on April 15 following the close
of the tax year. (Most taxpayers pay on a calendar-year basis; a small number use
fiscal years instead.) Income tax not paid by April 15 is subject to a late payment
penalty equal to 4 percent of the amount not paid..

An additional 4 percent penalty applies to amounts owed as a result of an
assessment order from the commissioner of revenue if the taxpayer either does not
pay the amount assessed within 60 days of the order or does not appeal the
assessment.

~ An additional extended delinquency penalty of 5 percent of the tak due applies to

income tax not paid within 180 days of an order from the commissioner or the date
a return is filed.

Yes. A taxpayer is presumed to have reasonable cause for underpayment if the
taxpayer paid 90 percent of the amount due by the April 15 due date, filed the
return by October 15, and paid the balance of the tax due when the return was filed.
In this situation, the 4 percent late-payment penalty does not apply.

Individuals who expect to owe $500 or more after withholding and credits must
make estimated payments, which are due in four installments: April 15, June 15,
and September 15 during the tax year, and January 15 following the close of the tax
year. If estimated payments and withholding do not equal at least 90 percent of the

- tax due, or 100 percent of liability for the preceding tax year, the taxpayer is .

subject to an additional tax charge. The additional tax charge equals 4 percent of
the amount underpaid, prorated by the number of days elapsed between the due
dates of the four installments and the date of the final payment.

The additional tax charge does not apply if the individual was a Minnesota resident
in the preceding tax year but did not have tax liability.

While individual income tax payments are due by April 15 following the close of
the tax year, returns are not due until October 15. Taxpayers who fail to file an
individual income tax return by October 15 must pay a penalty equal to 5 percent -
of the tax not paid by October 15

If an individual is required to ﬁle a return and does not file it by October 15 and

" receives a written demand to file from the Department of Revenue, the individual

must file within 60 days or face an additional “extended late file” penalty. The
extended-late-file penalty equals the greater of 5 percent of the tax not paid or
$1 OO :



What other civil o Failure to report changes to the federal return: 10 percent. When a

penalties are there? federal return is amended by the taxpayer or corrected by the Internal
Revenue Service, a copy of that return or a letter of explanation must be
reported to Minnesota within 180 days. An amended Minnesota return is
also required within 180 days. If federal changes are not reported, a penalty
of 10 percent of the underpayment of Minnesota tax attributable to the
federal change applies.

- » Intentional disregard of laws: 10 percent. A 10 percent penalty applies if
the taxpayer has been negligent or shown intentional disregard of the law or
rules for determining liability, but didn’t intend to defraud.

o Substantial understatement of liability: 20 percent. “Substantial
understatement” means underreporting of the correct tax that exceeds the
greater of $5,000 or 10 percent of the tax actually owed. A penalty of 20
percent applies to a substantial understatement of liability.

+ Filing a frivolous return: greater of 25 percent or $1,000. A return is
- considered frivolous if it is substantially incorrect on its face or lacks
information needed to judge the accuracy of the return, and consists of
inappropriate conduct or reflects a desire to impede the tax process.

» Filing a false or fraudulent return: 50 percent. A penalty of 50 percent
“applies to the underreported liability and overstated refund claimed if the -
commissioner can prove the return was fraudulent in order to evade the tax,
or if failure to file a return was intended to evade the tax. The 50 percent
penalty also applies to fraudulently claimed refundable credits (the
dependent care credit, the working family credit, the K-12 education credit,
the military service combat zone credit, and the property tax refund).

Does interest apply  In addition to the penalties listed, taxpayers who underreport individual income tax

to underreported liability must pay interest on the amount underpaid and on the associated penalty
tax liability and from the date the tax was due. Penalties and underreported liability bear interest at
penalties? ' an annual rate tied to the prime rate. This rate is adjusted annually and is set at 3
percent for 2010 through 2012. ’
How are the The penalties for underreporting of individual income tax liability are imposed and
penalties applied? collected in the same manner as the original taxes.
Are failing to file  In certain circumstances, failing to file and underreporting tax liability are criminal
and underreporting offenses. It is a gross misdemeanor to knowingly fail to file a return or pay tax. It
liability criminal is a felony to willfully fail to file a return or pay tax, with intent to evade the tax,
offenses in ~and a felony to file a false return concerning a material matter. Penalties for these
Minnesota? criminal offenses are in addition to civil penalties.

For more information: Contact leglslatlve analysts N1na Manz1 at 651-296-5204 or Joel Mlchael at
651-296-5057.
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The Federal Child Tax Credit

Parents may claim a credit against federal income tax for each child under age 17.
The credit was enacted in the Tax Relief Act of 1997 (TRA) and first allowed in
1998. It was expanded under the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation
Act of 2001 (EGTRRA) and later laws. It equaled $400 per child in 1998,
increased to $500 in 1999, $600 in 2001 and 2002, and $1,000 for 2003 through
2012, The Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Job
Creation Act of 2010 (TRUIRJCA) extended the $1,000 per-child amount through
2012. Unless extended by Congress, the credit will decrease to $500 per child in
2013 and following years.

The credit is reduced by $50 for every $1,000 of income over $110,000 of adjusted
gross income for married joint filers and $75,000 for head of household filers. A
married couple filing jointly with two children under age 17 will become ineligible

~ for the credit when their income reaches $150,000; a single parent claiming the

credit for one child will become ineligible when income reaches $95,000.

The child credit is partly refundable; the refundable portion is referred to as the

~“additional child tax credit.” In tax years 2009 through 2012, the addltlonal child

tax credit equals the greater of:
o 15 percent of earned income over $3,000, or,
o for families with three or more children, payroll taxes in excess of the
federal earned income tax credit.

For example, a married couple with two children under age 17 and $30,000 of
income is eligible for $2,000 in child tax credits, $1,000 for each child. If the
couple claims the standard deduction, their federal income tax will equal $290 in
2012. They use $290 of their $2,000 credit to reduce their liability to $0. They
may claim up to 15 percent of their earnings in excess of $3,000 as a refund.
Assuming all $30,000 of their income is from wages, that means they would be
eligible to claim up to $4,050 of the remaining credit as a refund (15 percent of
$30,000 minus $3,000 equals $4,050). The result is that they claim $290 as an
offset to their tax liability and are paid the remaining $1,710 as a refund.

When first enacted in TRA, the child credit was only refundable for taxpayers with
three or more children, and only to the extent that their payroll taxes exceeded the
federal earned income tax credit. The implicit rationale was that the refundable
portion of the federal earned income tax credit was first used to offset payroll taxes
for Social Security and Medicare, and then any payroll taxes left over after the
federal earned income tax credit could be offset by the federal child credit. This
refund mechanism was limited to families with three or more children because
families with fewer children and no federal tax liability would typically have all of
their payroll taxes offset by the federal earned income tax credit and none left over



to be bffset by the new child credit.

In 2001 the refundable portion was changed to be the greater of:
e apercentage of earned income over a minimum amount for all families
regardless of the number of children, or,
o for families with three or more children, payroll taxes in excess of the
federal earned income tax credit (the provision that was already in law).

- The 2001 law set the minimum amount at $10,000 and provided for it to increase
annually for inflation. The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009
temporarily reduced the indexed $10,000 to $3,000 for tax years 2009 and 2010
only; TRUIRJCA extended the $3,000 threshold to 2011 and 2012. Unless
Congress extends the expanded refundablhty of the credit, in 2013 only families
with three or more children will be able to claim the credit as a refund, and the
refund will be limited to payroll taxes in excess of the federal earned income tax
credit. oo

How much do In tax year 2009, 429,237 federal income tax returns filed by Minnesotans claimed
Minnesotans claim? $577 million in the nonrefundable portion of the federal child credit. The average
' amount claimed was $1,344. For the same year, 260,508 returns filed by
Minnesotans claimed $348 million under the refundable additional child credit.
Some of these returns also claimed the nonrefundable portion of the credit. The
average additional child tax credit was $1 336. '

What is the effect of Most pr0V151ons extended by TRUIRJCA will expire after tax year 2012. Included -

the TRUIRJCA among the provisions subject to sunset are:
sunset on the o the increase in the child tax credit from the $500 per child amount set in the
Sfederal child credit? late 1990s to $1,000, and

e allowing the credit to be claimed as a refund equal to a percentage of
earned income over a threshold.

Unless Congress extends those provisions beyond 2012, in 2013 the per-child
credit amount will decrease from $1,000 to $500 and the credit will be refundable
only for households with three or more children, and only to the extent that their
payroll taxes exceed the federal earned income tax credit.

The number of Minnesota households that claim the child tax credit is expected to
fall by about 130,000 filers to 430,000 in tax year 2013 as a result of the
TRUIRJCA sunset, and the total amount claimed by Minnesota filers is estimated
to decrease by about $560 million to $350 million. The $560 million decrease will
consist of a reduction of about $325 million in the nonrefundable portion of the
credit and of about $235 million in the refundable portion.

- For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204.
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