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This information brief describes Minnesota laws that apply to sex offenders and
predatory offenders. The information brief consists of two parts. The first part
summarizes the criminal laws that prohibit unlawful sexual conduct, the criminal
penalties that apply to these offenses, and the mandatory sentences that courts
must impose on certain offenders. The second part describes the civil and
regulatory laws that supplement the criminal provisions. These regulatory laws
include the predatory offender registration law, the community notification law,
and the law authorizing civil commitment of persons determined to be sexually

dangerous.
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Criminal Provisions

The Elements of Criminal Sexual Conduct

Minnesota law classifies criminal sexual conduct into five categories: first- through fifth-degree
criminal sexual conduct. Each degree of the crime covers a variety of behavior, with first-degree
carrying the most severe penalties and fifth-degree the least severe. Generally speaking, the
first-degree and third-degree crimes apply to sexual conduct involving sexual penetration of the
victim; the second-, fourth-, and fifth-degree crimes apply to sexual conduct involving sexual
contact with the victim without sexual penetration.

The elements of the criminal sexual conduct crimes also vary with respect to a number of other
issues. For example, criminal sexual conduct in the first and second degree typically apply to
conduct involving personal injury to the victim; the use or threatened use of force, violence, or a
dangerous weapon; or victims who are extremely young. Criminal sexual conduct in the third,
fourth, and fifth degree typically address less aggravated conduct and apply to other situations in
which the victim either did not consent to the sexual conduct, was relatively young, or was
incapable of voluntarily consenting to the sexual conduct due to a particular vulnerability or due
to the special relationship between the offender and the victim. Minn. Stat. §§ 609.342 to
609.3451.

The appendix contains detailed charts describing the specific elements of each degree of the
criminal sexual conduct crimes.

Penalties for Criminal Sexual Conduct

Criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, third, and fourth degree are felony-level offenses.
Criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree is a gross misdemeanor offense; however, certain
repeat violations of this crime are classified as felonies. Minn. Stat. §§ 609.342 to 609.3451.

The chart on the following page displays the maximum statutory penalty for each degree of the
crime and the presumptive sentence for each degree of the crime under the sentencing guidelines
sex offender grid.


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.342
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.342
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Maximum penalty Presumptive Sentencing Guidelines
Name of crime Type of activity provided by statute sentence (no criminal history)
1* degree Sexual penetration; 30 years; $40,000 fine 144 months in prison; Statutory law
criminal sexual certain sexual contact presumes an executed sentence of 144
conduct with victim under 13 months for all violations
years old
2" degree Sexual contact 25 years; $35,000 fine 90 months in prison; 36 months stayed
criminal sexual sentence for “statutory rape.”* Statutory
conduct law presumes an executed sentence of 90
months for crimes where the perpetrator
uses or threatens to use force or violence,
causes injury, uses a dangerous weapon, or
creates significant fear on the part of the
victim of imminent great bodily harm
3" degree Sexual penetration 15 years; $30,000 fine 48 months in prison; 36 months stayed
criminal sexual sentence for “statutory rape”*
conduct
4™ degree Sexual contact 10 years; $20,000 fine 24 months stayed sentence; 18 months
criminal sexual stayed sentence for “statutory rape”*
conduct
5t degree Sexual contact; One year; $3,000 fine 15 months stayed sentence; Sentencing
criminal sexual certain lewd conduct | (gross misdemeanor). guidelines do not apply to gross
conduct Certain repeat misdemeanor violations
violations punishable
by 5 years; $10,000
fine

*As used in this chart, “statutory rape” means a criminal sexual conduct crime that has the following elements:
(1) sexual conduct; (2) a victim of a certain age; and, for certain crimes, either (3) a familial relationship between
the actor and the victim; or (4) use of a position of authority by the actor. The term “statutory rape” is not a term

used in statute.

Mandatory Minimum Criminal Penalties

There are a number of mandatory minimum criminal penalties that apply to certain criminal
sexual conduct offenses. These mandatory sentencing provisions are described below.

First-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct Offenders. The court must presume that an executed
sentence of 144 months applies to any offender convicted of first-degree criminal sexual
conduct. This penalty does not apply if a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise
required or the sentencing guidelines presume a longer executed sentence. If the court sentences
an offender in a manner other than as provided by this law, the sentence is a departure under the
sentencing guidelines, requiring the court to make certain findings. Minn. Stat. § 609.342,

subd. 2.



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.342
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Certain Second-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct Offenders. The court must presume that an
executed sentence of 90 months applies to any offender convicted of second-degree criminal
sexual conduct when the actor:

e uses or threatens use of force or violence,

e causes injury to the complainant,

e uses a dangerous weapon,

e creates significant fear on the part of the complainant of imminent great bodily harm,
e commits the crime with an accomplice, or

¢ has a significant relationship to complainant under the age of 16.

The presumptive executed sentence does not apply to other second-degree criminal sexual
conduct offenses.

This penalty does not apply if a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise required by
law or the sentencing guidelines presume a longer executed sentence. If the court sentences an
offender in a manner other than as provided by this law, the sentence is a departure under the
sentencing guidelines, requiring the court to make certain findings. Minn. Stat. § 609.343, subd.
2.

Sentences for Repeat or Violent Predatory Offenders'

Life Without Release. The court must impose a life-without-release sentence on a person

. . 2 .. . .
convicted of certain clauses” of first- or second-degree criminal sexual conduct involving force
or violence, and either:

e the fact finder (i.e., the judge or jury) determined beyond a reasonable doubt that two or
more heinous® elements exist, or the offender has a previous sex offense for first-,
second-, or third-degree criminal sexual conduct and the fact finder determines that a
heinous element exists for the present offense. Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 2.

! Portions of this provision were previously found in Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, which applied
to offenses that occurred prior to 2005.

? The clauses include: (1) where circumstances exist that cause the victim to have a reasonable fear of great
bodily harm; (2) where the offender is armed with a dangerous weapon; (3) where the offender causes personal
injury to the victim under specified conditions; (4) where the offender is aided or abetted by one or more
accomplices under specified conditions; or (5) where the offender has a family-type relationship to a victim under 16
and specified conditions exist.

? A “heinous element” includes: (1) the offender tortured the victim; (2) the offender intentionally inflicted
great bodily harm upon the victim; (3) the offender intentionally mutilated the victim; (4) the offender exposed the
victim to extreme inhuman conditions; (5) the offender was armed with a dangerous weapon and used or threatened
to use it to cause the victim to submit; (6) the offense involved sexual penetration or sexual contact with more than
one victim; (7) the offense involved more than one perpetrator engaging in sexual penetration or sexual contact with
the victim; or (8) the offender removed the victim from one place to another without his or her consent and did not
release the victim in a safe place.


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.343
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3455
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.108&year=2004
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Indeterminate Life Sentence. The court must impose an indeterminate life sentence for
offenders who are convicted of certain clauses of first- or second-degree criminal sexual conduct
(the same clauses referred to above) and the fact finder determines that a heinous element exists.
Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 3.

The court must also impose an indeterminate life sentence on offenders who are convicted of
first- through fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct or criminal sexual predatory conduct if one
of the three following conditions exist:

e The offender has two previous sex offense convictions
e The offender has one previous offense conviction and:
= the fact finder determines that the present offense involved an aggravating factor that
would provide grounds for an upward durational departure;
= the person received an upward durational departure for the previous sex offense
conviction or was sentenced under the patterned and predatory sex offender
sentencing law for the previous sex offense conviction; or
= the person was sentenced as a dangerous sex offender or as a patterned and predatory
sex offender for the previous sex offense conviction
e The offender has two prior sex offense convictions and the fact finder determines that the
prior convictions and present offense involved at least three separate victims; and
= the fact finder determines that the present offense involved an aggravating factor that
would provide grounds for an upward durational departure;
= the offender received an upward durational departure for one of the prior sex offense
convictions or was sentenced under the patterned and predatory offender sentencing
law for one of the prior sex offense convictions; or
= the person was sentenced as a dangerous sex offender or as a patterned and predatory
sex offender for the previous sex offense conviction

However, if the present offense is for fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct, then the offender is
not typically subject to the indeterminate life sentence. An indeterminate sentence can be
imposed if the offender’s previous or prior sex offense convictions that are being used to
enhance the sentence were for first- through third-degree criminal sexual conduct, criminal
sexual predatory conduct, or crimes under any similar United States or state criminal statute.
Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 4.

Certain Engrained Offenders.’ The court must sentence an offender to at least twice the
presumptive prison sentence, and not more than the statutory maximum, if:

e the offender is convicted of committing or attempting to commit first- through fourth-
degree criminal sexual conduct or criminal sexual predatory conduct;
e the fact finder determines that the offender is a danger to public safety; and

* Portions of this provision were previously found in Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108. If an offender
was convicted as a patterned predatory offender under Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, for crimes
committed before August 1, 2005, then that statute still applies. Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 9.


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3455
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3455
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3455
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.108&year=2004
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.108&year=2004
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e the fact finder determines that the offender’s criminal sexual behavior is so engrained that
the risk of reoffending is great without intensive treatment or supervision extending
beyond the presumptive term of imprisonment and supervised release.

Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 3a.

Criminal Sexual Predatory Conduct. A person is guilty of criminal sexual predatory conduct if
the crime was motivated by the offender’s sexual impulses or was part of a predatory pattern of
behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. The sentence must be 25 percent longer
than for the underlying predatory crime; or 50 percent longer if the offender has a previous sex
offense conviction. Minn. Stat. § 609.3453.

Mandatory Minimum Fines for Repeat and Violent Offenders

In addition to the mandatory sentencing provisions, mandatory minimum fines apply to all
persons convicted of criminal sexual conduct. These minimum fines are equal to 30 percent of
the maximum fine authorized by law for the crime of conviction. The court may not waive the
minimum fine, but may reduce it to not less than $50 or allow payment of the fine in installments
due to the offender’s indigency. In cases of indigency, the court also may order an offender to
perform community work service in lieu of paying the fine. The court must forward 70 percent
of the minimum fine to local programs that serve victims of sexual assault and the remainder to
the state general fund. If there are no local programs in the court’s jurisdiction, the entire
minimum fine must be forwarded to the state general fund. Minn. Stat. § 609.101.

Other Mandatory Sentencing Provisions

Convicted predatory offenders also are subject to several other mandatory sentencing laws that
are designed to minimize their recidivism risk.

Minimum Conditional Release Term. If a court sentences a felony-level sex offender to
prison, the court must also sentence the offender to serve a minimum period of “conditional
release” after release from prison. All offenders are placed on conditional release for ten years.
Offenders who were sentenced to an indeterminate life sentence (discussed above) and certain
repeat offenders are placed on conditional release for the remainder of his or her life. The repeat
offenders subject to lifetime conditional release are those that are released from prison for first-
through fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct or criminal sexual predatory conduct, and the
offender had a previous” or prior® sex offense conviction. But if the offender is released from

> A conviction is considered a “previous” sex offense conviction if the offender was convicted and sentenced
for a sex offense before the commission of the present offense. Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 1, para. ().

® A conviction is considered a “prior” sex offense conviction if the offender was convicted of committing a sex
offense before the offender has been convicted of the present offense, regardless of whether the offender was
convicted for the first offense before the commission of the present offense, and the convictions involved separate
behavioral incidents. Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 1, para. (g). A “prior” sex offense conviction does not require
the sequencing of events that a “previous” sex offense conviction does. Thus, a person who has committed two sex
offenses but has not been convicted of either would be considered to have a prior sex offense once the offender has


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3455
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3453
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3455
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3455
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prison for fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct, the offender will only be placed on lifetime
conditional release if the offender’s previous or prior sex offense conviction being used as the
basis for the lifetime conditional release terms, is for first- through third-degree criminal sexual
conduct or criminal sexual predatory conduct. Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subds. 6 and 7.

Mandatory Predatory Offender Assessment and Treatment. The court must order a
predatory offender treatment assessment for any person convicted of criminal sexual conduct
(any degree), surreptitious intrusion, obscene phone calls, or indecent exposure. The court may
waive the assessment if the offender is eligible for a presumptive prison sentence or has already
been assessed.

If the assessment indicates the offender is in need of and amenable to treatment, the court must
order the offender to undergo treatment if the court places the offender on probation. Minn. Stat.
§ 609.3457.

DNA Analysis. The court must order persons convicted of or adjudicated for a sex offense to
provide a biological sample for DNA analysis, if the offender has not already done so. This
requirement also applies to persons convicted of other violent crimes listed in the law. If an
individual was not ordered to provide this specimen at the time of sentencing, the offender must
provide the specimen before release. An offender who is incarcerated for any offense and who
has a conviction for a prior offense enumerated in the law must provide a specimen before
release, even if the offense for which the person is currently serving time is not an offense
enumerated in the law. Minn. Stat. § 609.117.

been convicted for the first offense even though the present offense occurred before the actual conviction for the
prior offense.


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3455
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3457
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3457
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.117
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Civil and Regulatory Provisions

Predatory Offender Registration Law

The predatory offender registration law requires registration of individuals who have committed
certain crimes under Minnesota law, federal law, or the law of other states. The law also requires
registration of certain individuals who have been civilly committed.

Offenders Who Commit Offenses in Minnesota. An adult who is charged with and convicted
of, or a juvenile who is petitioned for and adjudicated delinquent for, one of the following
offenses or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances, must register under the
law:

e murder while committing or attempting to commit criminal sexual conduct in the first or
second degree with force or violence

e kidnapping

criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, third, and fourth degree and felony criminal

sexual conduct in the fifth degree

criminal sexual predatory conduct

felony indecent exposure

false imprisonment of a minor

soliciting a minor to engage in prostitution

soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct

using a minor in a sexual performance

possessing pictorial representations of minors

An adult also must register under the law if sentenced as an engrained sex offender under
Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3455, subdivision 3a. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 1b.

Offenders Who Commit Offenses under United States Law. An adult or juvenile must
register if convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for violating a law of the United States similar
to any of the above laws. An adult or juvenile also must register if convicted of or adjudicated
delinquent for an offense pursuant to court martial for violating a law of the United States,
including the Uniform Code of Military Justice, similar to any of the above laws. Minn. Stat.

§ 243.166, subd. 1b.

Offenders Who Commit Offenses in Other States. A person who was convicted in another
state for an offense that would be a violation of one of the above laws if committed in this state
must register if the person enters the state to reside, work, or attend school, or enters this state
and remains for 14 days or longer.” The person must register in Minnesota if ten years have not

7 A “school” is any public or private educational institution, including any secondary school, trade or
professional institution, or institution of higher education, that the person is enrolled in on a full-time or part-time
basis. “Work” means employment that is full-time or part-time for a period of time exceeding 14 days or for an
aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during any calendar year, whether financially compensated, volunteered,
or for the purpose of government or educational benefit.


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3455
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
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elapsed since the person was released from confinement or, if the person was not confined, since
the person was convicted of the offense-triggering registration. This ten-year limit is not
applicable to those subject to a longer registration period under the laws of the other state in
which the person has been convicted, or those subject to lifetime registration; these offenders
must register for that longer time period or for life regardless of when they were released from
confinement or convicted. This requirement also applies to juvenile offenders whose cases are
handled in the juvenile justice system. Ifthe offender leaves Minnesota or is no longer working
or attending school in Minnesota, the offender is no longer subject to Minnesota’s registration
law. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 1b.

Individuals Civilly Committed Regardless of Whether Convicted for an Offense. A person
must register under the law if the person was committed as a sexually dangerous person, sexual
psychopath, or psychopathic personality under Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a
similar law of another state or the United States, regardless of whether the person was convicted
for an offense.

A person also must register under the law if:

e the person was charged with or petitioned for a specific offense listed in the predatory
offender registration law or the similar law of another state or the United States;

e the person was found not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental deficiency after a
trial for the offense, or found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense; and

e the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order.

Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 1b.

Individuals Who Commit Other Offenses. The predatory offender registration law also
applies to certain individuals who commit a crime against the person that may not be included
within the scope of the predatory offender registration law. This registration requirement applies
if the person is convicted of a crime against the person and:

e the person was previously convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for an offense for which
registration is currently required, or a comparable offense in another state, but was not
required to register for the offense because the registration requirements did not apply to
the person at the time the offense was committed or at the time the person was released
from imprisonment; or

e the person was previously required to register under the predatory offender registration
law and has completed the registration requirements.

Minn. Stat. § 243.167.

A crime against the person is defined to mean certain crimes involving firearms by persons
ineligible to possess firearms; first-, second-, and third-degree murder; manslaughter in the first
and second degree; first-, second-, third-, fourth-, and fifth-degree (gross misdemeanor and
felony) assault; gross misdemeanor and felony domestic assault; domestic abuse by
strangulation; use of drugs to facilitate crime; aggravated robbery in the first degree; kidnapping,


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/data/revisor/statute/1992/1992-526.pdf
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.167
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false imprisonment; felony fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct; tampering with a witness in the
first degree; burglary in the first degree; gross misdemeanor indecent exposure; and any felony-
level violation of a crime committed for the benefit of a gang, malicious punishment of a child,
or involving stalking or harassment. The definition includes violations of these Minnesota laws
and violations of similar laws of other states or the United States. Minn. Stat. § 243.167, subd.
1.

Notifying an Offender of the Obligation to Register

The court must inform a person who is required to register of the duty to register and require the
person to read and sign a form stating that the duty of the person to register under this section has
been explained. The court also must inform the person that, if the person fails to comply with
the registration requirements, information about the offender may be made available to the public
through electronic, computerized, or other accessible means. The court lacks authority to modify
the person’s duty to register. The court must forward the signed predatory offender registration
form, the complaint, and sentencing documents to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA).

If the court does not notify the person of the registration requirement, the assigned corrections
agent shall notify the person of the registration requirements. If the person is required to register
following release from civil commitment, the treatment facility shall notify the person of the
registration requirements, obtain the required registration information, and forward the
information to the BCA. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 2.

The person’s corrections agent, or if the person does not have an assigned corrections agent, the
law enforcement authority with jurisdiction in the area of the person’s primary address must
notify the person of the obligation to register in another state if the person works or attends
school there. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 3.

Information Required at Initial Registration

The initial registration must include a written statement signed by the person giving information
required by the BCA, a fingerprint card, and a photograph of the person taken at the time of the
person’s release from incarceration, or if the person was not incarcerated, at the time the person
initially registered. The registration information also must include a written consent form signed
by the person allowing a treatment facility or residential housing unit or shelter to release
information to law enforcement about the person’s admission to, or residence in, such facility.
Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 4.

An individual also must provide the following information to the corrections agent or law
enforcement authority:

e the person’s primary address

e all the person’s secondary addresses in Minnesota, including all addresses used for
residential or recreational purposes
e the addresses of all Minnesota property owned, leased, or rented by the person


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.167
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
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e the addresses of all locations where the person is employed

e the addresses of all schools where the person is enrolled

e the year, model, make, license plate number, and color of all motor vehicles® owned or
regularly driven by the person

An individual must notify law enforcement at least five days before living at a new primary
address. An individual must report the other information noted above within five days of the
time it becomes applicable. The individual must immediately inform law enforcement when any
reported information is no longer applicable. There are different registration procedures for
persons who lack a primary address (discussed below). Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subds. 3 and 4a.

The registration information for a person who is required to register due to court commitment as
a sexually dangerous person or sexual psychopathic personality must also include the person’s
offense history and documentation of treatment received during the person’s confinement. This
document is limited to a statement of how far the person progressed in treatment during
confinement. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 4.

Continuing Obligations of the Registration Law

A person must continue to update his or her assigned corrections agent or the law enforcement
authority with which he or she currently is registered of changes in primary address and other
information required to be provided. This notice must be provided at least five days before the
person starts living at the new address.

If the person will be living in a new state and that state has a registration requirement, he or she
must also give written notice of the new address to the designated registration agency in the new
state.

A person who is required to register because of working or attending school in Minnesota must
register with the law enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area where the person
works or attends school. This registration must occur within five days of beginning employment
or school. The person must provide the address of the school or the location where he or she is
employed.

A person who is required to register in Minnesota who works or attends school outside of
Minnesota must register in the state where he or she works or attends school. Minn. Stat. §
243.166, subd. 3.

The corrections agent or law enforcement authority must require a level III offender to appear at
least every six months to be photographed, except during any period where the person to be
photographed is incarcerated or receiving treatment in a secure treatment facility. The agent or
authority may also require any other person who is required to register to appear for a

¥ Motor vehicle means “every vehicle which is self-propelled and every vehicle which is propelled by electric
power obtained from overhead trolley wires.” Minn. Stat. § 169.011, subd. 42. Motor vehicles do not include
electric personal assistive mobility devices or vehicles moved solely by human power.


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=169.011

House Research Department Updated: January 2012
Sex Offenders and Predatory Offenders Page 12

photograph. The agent or agency must forward the photograph to the BCA. Minn. Stat. §
243.166, subd. 4.

Verification of Information

In most cases, the BCA must mail a verification form to the individual’s last reported primary
address once each year, within 30 days of the anniversary date of the person’s initial registration.
However, the BCA must send out the form four times per year for those offenders who are
required to register due to court commitment as a sexually dangerous person or sexual
psychopathic personality and twice per year for level III offenders who are no longer under
correctional supervision for a registration offense or failure to register offense. If the individual
does not have a primary address, the BCA must send the verification form to the law
enforcement authority where the offender most recently reported, and the authority must give the
form to him or her at the next weekly meeting and ensure that it is completed, signed, and
returned to the BCA.

The verification form must inform the offender that, if the form is not returned as required,
information about the offender may be made available to the public. If the person has not signed
a consent form for release of information by a treatment facility, such a form must be sent to the
offender with the verification form. The person must mail the signed verification form back to
the BCA within ten days after receipt of the form, stating on the form his or her current and last
address. If applicable, the offender also must sign and return the consent form. If a level III
offender fails to return the verification form within ten days, the BCA and local law enforcement
authority will immediately investigate the person’s location. The BCA must also immediately
give notice of the person’s violation to the law enforcement authority having jurisdiction over the
person’s last registered address(es).

Additionally, level II and III offenders who are no longer under correctional supervision for a
registration offense, or a failure to register offense, and who reside, work, or attend school in
Minnesota, must have an annual in-person contact with a law enforcement authority. The person
must report to the authority during the month of their birth date to verify the accuracy of the
registration information and to be photographed. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 4.

Registration for Those Without a Primary Address

If a person leaves a primary address and does not have a new primary address, the person must
register with the law enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area where the person is
staying within 24 hours of the time the person no longer has a primary address. If a person’s
primary address is a correctional facility, then he or she must register with the law enforcement
authority that has jurisdiction where the person will be staying at least three days before he or
she is released from the correctional facility.

Each time a person who lacks a primary address moves to a new jurisdiction without acquiring a
new primary address, the person must register with the law enforcement authority in the area
where the person is staying within 24 hours after entering the jurisdiction.
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A person without a primary address must provide law enforcement with the same information as
other offenders, but instead of a primary address, the person must describe the location of where
he or she is staying with as much specificity as possible.

If a person continues to lack a primary address, the person shall report in-person weekly to the
law enforcement authority with jurisdiction in the area where the person is staying. The law
enforcement authority may authorize an alternative reporting procedure if it determines that
weekly reporting is impractical due to a person’s unique circumstances.

If a person continues to lack a primary address and continues to report to the same law
enforcement authority, the person must provide the authority with all of the required registration
information at least annually, unless the person is required to register due to court commitment
as a sexually dangerous person or sexual psychopathic personality, then he or she must report at
least once every three months.

If a person fails to report a primary address, then he or she will be considered a person who lacks

a primary address, and the person must comply with these requirements. Minn. Stat. § 243.166,
subd. 3a.

Registered Offenders in a Health Care Facility

Prior to admission to a health care facility,” a person required to register must inform the health
care facility employee processing the admission that he or she is a registered predatory offender.
The person also must notify his or her corrections agent, or if the person does not have one, the
law enforcement authority with whom the person is currently required to register, that inpatient
admission will occur.

When a law enforcement authority or corrections agent receives such notice or otherwise knows
that a person required to register is planning to be, or has been, admitted to a health care facility,
they must notify the administrator of the facility and deliver a fact sheet to the administrator.
The fact sheet must contain the name and physical description of the offender, the offender’s
conviction history (including dates of conviction), the risk-level classification assigned to the
offender, and the profile of likely victims.

If a health care facility, other than a hospital, receives a fact sheet that includes a risk
classification for the offender, and the facility admits the offender, then the facility must
distribute the fact sheet to all residents at the facility. If the facility determines that distribution
to a resident is not appropriate given the resident’s medical, emotional, or mental status, the

’ A “health care facility” is a facility licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home,
supervised living facility, or nursing home; or a facility licensed by the commissioner of human services as a
residential facility to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependency treatment to
adults, or residential services to persons with developmental disabilities; or a facility registered as a housing with
services establishment. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 4b.
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facility must distribute the fact sheet to the patient’s next of kin or emergency contact. Minn.
Stat. § 243.166, subd. 4b.

Registration Information Sharing Among Law Enforcement and Correctional
Agencies

A corrections agent or law enforcement authority receiving the initial registration documents
must forward the registration information to the BCA. The BCA must then determine whether
the person has registered with the law enforcement authority in the area of the person’s primary
address, or if the person lacks a primary address, where the person is staying. If the person has
not registered, the BCA must send a copy of the registration to the law enforcement agency.
Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 4, para. (¢).

A corrections agent or law enforcement authority receiving written notification of a new living
address must forward this information to the BCA within two business days after receipt of the
information. The BCA must, if it has not already been done, give the new address to the law
enforcement authority with primary jurisdiction in the community where the person will reside.
If the person is leaving the state, the BCA must notify the registration authority in the new state
of the new address. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 3.

In addition, the BCA must maintain a computerized data system of individuals who are required
to register. This data system must indicate the time period an offender is required to register and
list the offender’s addresses. The information must be maintained in a manner that ensures it is
readily available to law enforcement. Minn. Stat. § 299C.093.

The Registration Period

A person must register with the person’s corrections agent as soon as the agent is assigned to him
or her, which occurs upon release from incarceration, or if the person is not incarcerated, at the
time he or she is placed on some form of release. If the offender does not have an assigned
corrections agent or is unable to locate the assigned corrections agent, the offender must register
with the law enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area of the offender’s primary
address. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 3.

Except for those persons subject to lifetime registration (discussed below), a person who is
required to register is subject to the law for ten years from the time he or she initially registered
in connection with the offense, or until the probation, supervised release, or conditional release
period expires, whichever occurs later. For individuals who have been civilly committed, the
ten-year registration period does not include the period of commitment. The commissioner may
add five years to the end of an offender’s registration period if he or she:

e fails to register a change in primary address;
e fails to register with the local law enforcement authority when the person has no primary
address;
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e fails to notify authority of any other change in registered information; or
e fails to return the verification form sent by the BCA within ten days.

In addition, a new ten-year registration period applies to a person subsequently incarcerated
following a conviction for a new offense or following a revocation of supervised release,
conditional release, or probation for any offense. These individuals must continue to register
until ten years have elapsed since they were last released from incarceration, or until their
probation, supervised release, or conditional release expires, whichever occurs later. Minn. Stat.
§ 243.166, subd. 6.

Individuals Subject to Lifetime Registration

Lifetime registration is required for three categories of individuals.

e Recidivists. This category includes a person convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for
any offense for which registration is required who has a prior conviction or adjudication
for an offense where registration was or would have been required under the law. For the
purpose of determining whether the person is a recidivist, the law includes an offense of
another state or a federal offense similar to the offenses for which registration is required
under Minnesota law.

e Individuals Who Commit Aggravated Offenses. This category includes a person who
commits a sexual act, including, but not limited to penetration, with a victim of any age
through the use of force or the threat of serious violence and a person who commits a
sexual act, including but not limited to penetration, with a victim under the age of 13,
regardless of whether the offense is committed under Minnesota law, federal law, or the
law of some other state. This registration requirement applies only to adults, juveniles
who have been certified as adult, extended jurisdiction juveniles, and juveniles who cause
the death of a victim while committing certain criminal sexual conduct offenses.

e Sexual Predators. This category includes a person who is required to register following
commitment as a sexual psychopathic personality or sexually dangerous person under
Minnesota law or a similar law of another state or the United States.

Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 6, para. (d).

Failure to Comply with the Registration Law

In certain circumstances, the BCA may make information public about an offender who is out of
compliance with the registration law. The offender must be out of compliance for 30 days or
longer for failure to provide his or her primary or secondary addresses. If the offender is 16
years of age or older and out of compliance, information about him or her may be made available
to the public through electronic, computerized, or other accessible means. The amount and type
of information disclosed is limited to the information necessary for the public to assist law
enforcement in locating the offender. The BCA is immune from criminal or civil liability based
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upon the accuracy or completeness of any information made public, if the BCA acts in good
faith.

An offender who comes into compliance with the registration law after the BCA discloses
information about him or her may send a written request to the BCA to request that the
information be treated as private data. The BCA must review the request and respond. An
offender also may challenge the accuracy or completeness of the data. Minn. Stat. § 243.166,
subd. 7a.

A person who knowingly violates any of the provisions of the registration law or who
intentionally provides false information to a corrections agent, law enforcement authority, or the
BCA is guilty of a five-year felony. The court must commit the person to the Commissioner of
Corrections for not less than one year and one day for a first offense and not less than two years
for a subsequent offense. A prosecutor may move to have the person sentenced without regard
to the mandatory minimum. The court may sentence the person without regard to the mandatory
minimum on the prosecutor’s motion or the court’s own motion, but such a sentence is a
departure from the sentencing guidelines. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 5.

Registration Requirements for Predatory Offenders from Other States

An offender who is on probation or parole in another state and who enters the state under a
reciprocal agreement under the interstate compact for the supervision of parolees and
probationers may enter the state only on the condition that the offender agrees to register under
the law while living in Minnesota.

Additionally, the BCA must notify the Commissioner of Corrections:

(1) when the bureau receives notice from local law enforcement authority that an
offender from another state has registered with the authority;

(2) when a registration authority, corrections agent, or law enforcement agency in another
state notifies the bureau that an offender from another state is moving to Minnesota;
and

(3) when the bureau learns that a person from another state is in Minnesota and allegedly
in violation of the law for failure to register.

When the BCA learns that an offender from another state intends to move to Minnesota, or has
already moved to Minnesota, the bureau must notify the law enforcement authority with
jurisdiction in the area of the person’s primary address and provide the authority with all
available information concerning the person. Minn. Stat. § 243.166, subd. 9.

Data Classification

In general, information obtained through the registration requirements of this section is private
data, which means the data are not public, but are accessible to the subject of the data.
Exceptions exist for disclosure of data on certain individuals who are out of compliance with the
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registration law, for community notification purposes, and for the purpose of the BCA’s
maintenance of a database of registered predatory offenders. Minn. Stat. §§ 13.02, subd. 12;
243.166, subd. 7. The information may be used only for law enforcement purposes, and
information on adults and juveniles may be maintained together. Minn. Stat.§ 243.166, subd. 4.

Community Notification Law

All predatory offenders are subject to the community notification law. A predatory offender is a
person who is required to register under the predatory offender registration law, except for those
individuals who are required to register based solely on delinquency adjudications. Minn. Stat.
§ 244.052, subd. 1, cl. (5).

The End-of-Confinement Review Committee

An end-of-confinement review committee is responsible for determining an offender’s risk level,
which in turn determines the level of community notification that will occur. The
end-of-confinement review committee is a standing committee at each state correctional facility
and at each state treatment facility where predatory offenders are confined. The committee is
appointed by the Commissioner of Corrections or Human Services, as appropriate, and consists
of the following:

o the chief executive officer or head of the correctional or treatment facility where the
offender is currently confined, or the person’s designee

a law enforcement officer

a treatment professional who is trained in the assessment of predatory offenders

a caseworker experienced in supervising predatory offenders

a victim services professional

These committee members serve two-year terms. The chief executive officer or head of the
facility or designee acts as chair of the committee. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3.

In most cases, the Commissioner of Corrections must convene the end-of-confinement review
committee at least 90 days before a predatory offender is released from confinement. However,
there are three exceptions:

(1) If the offender is received for confinement with fewer than 90 days remaining in his or
her sentence, the offender’s risk is assessed at the first regularly scheduled
end-of-confinement review committee that meets after the committee receives the
documentation necessary to conduct the risk assessment. The Commissioner of
Corrections must make reasonable efforts to ensure that the offender’s risk is assessed
and a risk level is assigned or reassigned at least 30 days before the offender’s release
date.

(2) If the offender is subject to a mandatory life sentence, then the end-of-confinement
review committee must meet at least nine months before the offender’s minimum term of
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imprisonment has been served. If the offender is received for confinement in a facility
with less than nine months remaining in his or her sentence, then the committee must
follow the procedure described in (1) above, to the extent practicable.

(3) If the offender is granted supervised release, the offender’s previously determined risk
level must be reviewed at the next regularly scheduled end-of-confinement review. The
Commissioner of Corrections must make reasonable efforts to ensure that the offender’s
risk level is received and a risk level is either confirmed or reassigned at least 60 days
before the offender’s release date.

Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3, para. (d).

The offender receives notice and has a right to appear and present information at the meeting. In
addition, the law enforcement agency responsible for the charge resulting in the offender’s
confinement is notified of the time and place of the meeting. The law enforcement agency may
provide written material relevant to the offender’s risk level to the chair of the committee. Minn.
Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3, para. (d), item (i).

Determining an Offender’s Risk Level

The committee assesses the risk posed by an offender who is about to be released from
confinement on a case-by-case basis. The committee has access to various data, including
medical data, court services data, corrections data, and criminal history data. It considers various
risk factors to determine the offender’s risk of reoffending. These risk factors include:

o the seriousness of the offense should the offender reoffend, including the degree of
likely force or harm, the degree of likely physical contact, and the age of the likely
victim;

¢ the offender’s prior offense history, including the relationship of prior victims to the
offender, the number of prior offenses or victims, the duration of the offender’s prior
offense history, the length of time since his or her last prior offense while he or she was
at risk to commit offenses, and the offender’s prior history of other antisocial acts;

¢ the offender’s characteristics, including response to prior treatment efforts and history
of substance abuse;

¢ the availability of community support to the offender, including the availability and
likelihood that he or she will be involved in therapeutic treatment, the availability of
residential supports, familial and social relationships and the support offered from these
relationships, and lack of education or emotional stability;

e whether the offender has indicated or credible evidence in the record indicates that
the offender will reoffend if released into the community; and

e whether the offender demonstrates a physical condition that minimizes the risk of
reoffense, including, but not limited to, advanced age or a debilitating illness or physical
condition.

Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3.
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A risk assessment scale is used to assign weights to these risk factors and to determine the risk
level to which offenders with various risk assessment scores will be assigned. This scale was
developed by the Commissioner of Corrections, with input by county attorneys, treatment
professionals, law enforcement officials, and probation officers. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 2.

There are three risk levels, as follows:

e Level I offenders have a risk assessment score that indicates a low risk of reoffense.

e Level Il offenders have a risk assessment score that indicates a moderate risk of
reoffense.

e Level III offenders have a risk assessment score that indicates a high risk of reoffense.

Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3.

Community Notification for the Various Risk Levels

The type of community notification that occurs depends on the risk level to which an offender
has been assigned. The depth and breadth of the disclosure depends upon the level of danger
posed by the offender, his or her pattern of offending behavior, and the need of community
members for information to enhance individual and community safety. In making the
notification, a law enforcement agency must not disclose the identity or any identifying
characteristics of the victims of or witnesses to the offender’s offenses.

Notification for the three levels is as follows:

Level I Offenders. The law enforcement agency may maintain information about the offender
within the agency and disclose it to other law enforcement agencies. The law enforcement
agency also may disclose the information to any victims or witnesses to the offense committed
by the offender. The agency must disclose information to victims of the offense who have
requested disclosure. The agency also must disclose information to adult members of the
offender’s immediate household. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subds. 1 and 4.

Level II Offenders. The law enforcement agency may disclose the same information it may
disclose on Level I offenders, and it also may disclose information to agencies and groups the
offender is likely to encounter. These agencies and groups include the staff members of public
and private educational institutions, day care establishments, and establishments and
organizations that primarily serve individuals likely to be victimized by the offender. The
purpose of this notification is to secure these institutions and to protect individuals in the care of
these institutions while they are on or near the institution’s premises. The agency also may
disclose information to individuals the agency believes are likely to be victimized by the
offender based on the offender’s pattern of offending or victim preference. Minn. Stat. §
244.052, subd. 4.

Level III Offenders. The law enforcement agency must disclose the information to the persons
and entities who may receive notice about Level I and II offenders. When the entity is one that
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primarily educates or serves children, and the offender is participating in programs offered by the
facility that require or allow the person to interact with children, then the entity must notify the
parents with children at the facility. In addition, the agency must disclose information to other
members of the community whom the offender is likely to encounter, unless the agency
determines that public safety would be compromised by the disclosure or that a more limited
disclosure is necessary to protect the identity of the victim. When a Level III offender moves
into a community, law enforcement typically holds a community meeting to provide information
about the offender. The offender may not attend the meeting. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 4.

A law enforcement agency disclosing information to the public about Level III offenders must
forward the information disclosed to the Commissioner of Corrections. The Commissioner of
Corrections must create and maintain a website to post the information received from the law
enforcement agency. This information must be updated in a timely manner to account for
address changes. The information must be available during the time the offender is subject to
notification as a Level III offender. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subds. 4 and 4b.

Caveat: A law enforcement agency may not make the disclosures permitted or required for
Level II and Level III predatory offenders if the offender is placed or resides in a residential
facility. In these cases, notification is delayed until shortly before the offender is released from
the residential facility. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 4.

The Manner of Notification

City councils may adopt policies addressing when information disclosed under the law must be
disclosed in languages in addition to English. The policies may designate whether the
information shall be disclosed orally, in writing, or both. Policies may provide for different
approaches based upon the prevalence of non-English languages in different neighborhoods.
Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 4.

A law enforcement agency that discloses information must make a good faith effort to make the
notification within 14 days of receiving a confirmed address from the Department of Corrections
indicating that the offender will reside at the address listed. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 4.

The Length of Time a Predatory Offender Is Subject to the Law

The community notification law applies during the entire time an offender is required to register
under the predatory offender registration law, including an offender who lacks a primary address.
Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 4. (See page 14, “When does the registration period expire?”)

Communicating the Risk Level Determination to the Offender and Law
Enforcement

The committee must prepare a risk assessment report which specifies the offender’s risk level
and the reasons for the committee’s decision. The committee must give this report to the
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offender and to the law enforcement agency where the offender will reside at least 60 days
before the offender is released from confinement, except for an offender subject to a mandatory
life sentence who has not been granted supervised release. If the offender is subject to a
mandatory life sentence and has not yet served the entire minimum term of imprisonment, the
report must be given to the offender at least six months before the offender is first eligible for
release If, however, the risk assessment is delayed because the offender was received for
confinement with fewer than 90 days remaining on his or her sentence, the report must be given
to the offender and law enforcement as soon as it is available. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3.

At least 60 days before a predatory offender is released from confinement, the Department of
Corrections or the Department of Human Services must give the law enforcement agency that
investigated the offender’s crime, or where relevant, the law enforcement agency with primary
jurisdiction where the offender was committed, all relevant information the departments have on
the offender. This information includes information on risk factors in the offender’s history.

In addition, within five days after receiving the offender’s approved release plan, the appropriate
department must give the law enforcement agency with primary jurisdiction where the offender
plans to live all relevant information the department has concerning him or her, including
information on risk factors in the offender’s history. The offender’s risk level assignment must
also be communicated with this information. If the risk level assignment was delayed because
the offender was accepted for confinement with fewer than 90 days remaining on his or her
sentence, the appropriate department must communicate this information to the law enforcement
agency within five days of the risk level assignment or reassignment. Minn. Stat. § 244.052,
subd. 5.

Notification of an Offender’s Impending Release

The Commissioner of Corrections must send written notice of the impending release of a
predatory offender to the sheriff of the county and the police chief of the city in which the inmate
will reside or in which placement will be made in a work release program. This notification
must occur at least 60 days before release of the offender. Minn. Stat. § 244.053, subd. 1.

The following individuals also must be notified of an offender’s impending release:

e the sheriff of the county where the offender was convicted

e the victim of the crime or a deceased victim’s next of kin if the victim or next of kin
request this notice in writing

e any witnesses who testified against the inmate in any court proceeding, if the witness
requests the notice in writing

e any person specified in writing by the prosecuting attorney

The notice sent to the victim or victim’s next of kin must inform the person of the right to
request and receive additional information about the offender, as authorized by the community
notification law. If the victim or witness is under the age of 16, the notice required by this
section shall be sent to the parents or legal guardian of the child. Minn. Stat. § 244.053, subds. 1
and 2.
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Reconsideration of the Risk Level Determination

If additional information becomes available, either the law enforcement agency in the area where
the offender will reside or the offender’s corrections agent may request a reassessment of the risk
level. Upon such a request, the commissioner may reconvene the end-of-confinement review
committee. In requesting such a reassessment, the law enforcement agency that was responsible
for the charge resulting in confinement or the agent shall list the facts and circumstances arising
after the committee’s determination or the facts and circumstances known to law enforcement or
the agent but not considered by the committee. The law enforcement agency must request the
reassessment within 30 days of receipt of the report identifying the offender’s risk level. A
corrections agent, in consultation with the chief law enforcement officer in the area where the
offender plans to reside, may request a review of the offender’s risk level at any time if
substantial evidence (as described by law) exists that the offender’s risk level should be reviewed
by an end-of-confinement review committee. Upon review of the request, the committee may
reassign an offender to a different risk level and, if he or she is assigned to a higher risk level, the
offender has the right to seek administrative review of the decision. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd.
3.

Recourse for an Offender If He or She Objects to the Risk Level Assessment

At the time the committee provides the offender its risk assessment report, including the risk
level to which he or she has been assigned, the committee must inform the offender of the
availability of administrative review of its decision. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3. The right to
administrative review exists for those offenders assigned to risk Level II or III.

An offender must seek review within 14 days of receiving notice of the committee’s risk level
decision by notifying the chair of the committee. Upon receiving this request, the chair must
notify the offender; the victims of the offense who have requested disclosure; the law
enforcement agency that investigated the crime or, where relevant, the law enforcement agency
having primary jurisdiction where the offender was committed; the law enforcement agency with
jurisdiction where the offender expects to reside (if the release plan has been approved by the
Department of Corrections); and any other individuals the chair selects.

A request for a review hearing does not interfere with or delay the notification process under the
law, unless the administrative law judge orders otherwise for good cause shown.

An offender who requests a hearing must be given a reasonable time to prepare for the hearing.
The hearing is conducted by an administrative law judge. The offender bears the burden of
proving by a preponderance of the evidence that the risk assessment determination was
erroneous. The attorney general or a designee must defend the committee’s determination. The
offender has the right to be present and be represented by counsel at the hearing, to present
evidence, and to call and cross-examine witnesses. The judge may seal any portion of the record
of the hearing to the extent necessary to protect the identity of a victim of or witness to the
offense.
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After the hearing, the administrative law judge must issue a written decision upholding or
modifying the review committee’s decision. This decision must include the judge’s reasons for
the decision. The decision may be appealed to the courts through procedures set forth in the
Administrative Procedures Act (chapter 14). Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 6.

Requesting a Reassessment of Risk Levels

An offender may ask the committee to reassess his or her risk level after three years have passed
since the committee’s initial assessment. The offender may renew the request once every two
years following subsequent denials. In seeking reassessment, the offender must list the facts and
circumstances that demonstrate that he or she no longer poses the same degree of risk to the
community. For an offender’s request for a risk level reduction to be granted, the offender must
demonstrate full compliance with supervised release conditions, completion of required post-
release programming, and full compliance with all predatory offender registration requirements.
An offender who is incarcerated may not request reassessment of his or her risk level. In
addition, an offender’s request for a risk level reduction will not be granted if the offender has
been convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor offenses subsequent to the
initial assignment of risk level. Offenders returned to prison as release violators may not request
reassessment of risk level unless substantial evidence determines that the offender’s risk to the
public has increased. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3.

Restrictions on Where Level I1I Offenders Can Live

The end-of-confinement review committee must determine whether residency restrictions should
be included in the conditions of a Level III offender’s release based upon the offender’s pattern
of offending behavior. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3. In addition, the agency responsible for
the offender’s supervision must take into consideration the proximity of the offender’s residence
to that of other Level III offenders and to schools when an offender is released from confinement
or a residential facility and when the offender changes residence. To the extent feasible, the
agency must mitigate the concentration of Level III offenders living in proximity to one another
and living near schools. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 4a.

An owner or property manager of a hotel, motel, lodging establishment, or apartment building
may not knowingly rent rooms to both Level III offenders and domestic abuse victims at the
same time. This prohibition applies only if the owner or property manager has an agreement
with an agency that arranges or provides shelter for domestic abuse victims. If the owner or
property manager discovers or is informed that a tenant is a Level III offender, the owner or
property manager may evict the offender. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 4a.

Notification for Offenders Released From a Correctional Facility

The commissioner must establish an end-of-confinement review committee to assign a risk level
to offenders who are released from a federal correctional facility in Minnesota or from another
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state’s facility when the offender intends to reside in Minnesota. The committee must make
reasonable efforts to apply the same timelines to these cases that apply to Minnesota cases.
Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3a.

Notification for Offenders Who Enter Minnesota From Another State

The community notification law applies to offenders who are accepted from another state under a
reciprocal agreement for supervision under the interstate compact. These offenders are assigned
a risk level based on their out-of-state risk level assignment. However, if the commissioner
concludes that the offender is from a state with a risk level assessment law that is not comparable
to the Minnesota system, the extent of the notification may not exceed that of a risk level 11
offender."” The probation or court services officer who is assigned to supervise the offender
must provide written information of the terms and conditions of the offender’s probation to:

e the victim of and any witnesses to the offense committed by the offender, if the victim or
witness request this disclosure; and

e the chief law enforcement officer in the area where the offender resides or intends to
reside.

The law enforcement officer, in consultation with the offender’s probation officer, may provide
all or part of this information to certain agencies or groups the offender is likely to encounter.
These agencies and groups include public and private educational institutions, day care
establishments, and establishments or organizations that primarily serve individuals likely to be
victimized by the offender. The officer may also disclose information to individuals the officer
believes are likely to be victimized by the offender based on the offender’s pattern of offending
or victim preference. This notice requirement does not apply while the offender resides in a
residential facility with staff trained in the supervision of predatory offenders. Minn. Stat. §§
244.052, subd. 3a; 244.10, subd. 8.

Offenders Subject to Community Notification But Not Assigned a Risk Level

If a local law enforcement agency learns that a person subject to the community notification law
is living in Minnesota but has not been assigned a risk level, the law enforcement agency must
provide that information to the BCA and the Commissioner of Corrections within three business
days. If the information is reliable and the law enforcement agency so requests, the
commissioner must determine if the person was assigned a risk level under a comparable law
from a different state.

If the commissioner determines that the law is comparable and public safety warrants, then
within three days of receiving the request, the commissioner must notify the local agency that it

' The local law enforcement agency may request that the end-of-confinement review committee perform a risk
level assessment if the agency believes level 111 level notification is warranted. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, para. (f).
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may, in consultation with the department, notify the community based on the person’s out-of-
state risk level.

If the commissioner determines that the out-of-state risk assessment law is not comparable, then
the extent of the notification may not exceed that of a risk level II offender. If the local agency
wants to make a broader disclosure, then the agency must request that an end-of-confinement
review committee assign a risk level to the offender. The agency must provide the committee all
information about the offender’s criminal history, the risk the offender poses to the community,
and other relevant information. The committee must then promptly assign a risk level. Minn.
Stat. § 244.052, subd. 3a.

Civil and Criminal Liability for Disclosing or Failing to Disclose Information

A state or local agency or official, or a private organization or individual authorized to act on
behalf of a state or local agency or official, is not civilly or criminally liable for failing to
disclose information as permitted by the community notification law. In addition, these
individuals and entities are not civilly or criminally liable for disclosing information as permitted
by the community notification law, if the information disclosed is consistent with the offender’s
conviction history. Immunity does not apply to disclosure of information relating to conduct for
which the offender was not convicted. Minn. Stat. § 244.052, subd. 7.

Sexually Dangerous Persons Civil Commitment Law"

Any person who has been determined by a court to be a “sexually dangerous person”"

involuntarily committed under this law. Minn. Stat. § 253B.185.

may be

The Definition of a Sexually Dangerous Person

There are three elements to the definition of “sexually dangerous person.”

e First, it must be demonstrated that the person has engaged in a course of “harmful sexual
conduct” in the past. Sexual conduct is “harmful” if it creates a substantial likelihood of
causing serious physical or emotional harm to another person. Certain crimes are
presumed to cause such harm, unless proven otherwise in a particular case. For example,
felony-level criminal sexual conduct crimes are presumed to qualify as “harmful sexual

" Minnesota law contains a second civil commitment law applicable to sexually dangerous persons, known as
the “psychopathic personality” commitment law. It was enacted in the 1930s and has been replaced, from a
practical standpoint, by the sexually dangerous persons civil commitment law. It remains on the books, however,
because there are individuals in state treatment facilities who were originally committed pursuant to the older law
and remain subject to that commitment. Minn. Stat. 1992, § 526.10.

12 Minnesota Statutes, section 253B.185, also mentions “persons with a sexual psychopathic personality” as
being subject to these provisions, but for the purposes of this summary, “sexually dangerous persons” will be the
focus.
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conduct.” Additionally, a number of other violent crimes are presumed to be “harmful
sexual conduct” when they are motivated by the person’s sexual impulses or are part of a
pattern of behavior that has criminal sexual conduct as its goal. These crimes include
murder, manslaughter, felony-level assault, robbery, kidnapping, false imprisonment,
incest, witness tampering, arson, first-degree burglary of a dwelling, terroristic threats,
and felony-level harassment and stalking.

e Second, it must be shown that the person has manifested a sexual, personality, or other
mental disorder or dysfunction.

e Third, it must be proven that, as a result of this mental disorder or dysfunction, the person
is likely to engage in future acts of harmful sexual conduct.

The law does not require proof that the person is unable to control his or her sexual impulses;
rather, it is enough to establish the likelihood of future harmful sexual conduct due to the
person’s mental disorder or dysfunction. Minn. Stat. § 253B.02, subds. 7a and 18c.

Prior Criminal Convictions

Prior criminal convictions are not required in order to civilly commit a person under this law.
However, the standard of proof required for involuntary commitment under this law is a stringent
one (clear and convincing evidence) and may be difficult to meet, absent the type of strong proof
of prior harmful sexual conduct that a prior conviction would provide. Minn. Stat. §§ 253B.02,
subd. 18¢; 253B.18, subd. 1; and 253B.185.

Preliminary Determinations When a Sex Offender Is Convicted or Sent to
Prison

Minnesota law requires that when a court sentences a person for a felony-level criminal sexual
conduct crime, the court must make a preliminary determination as to whether the civil
commitment of the person as a sexually dangerous person would be appropriate and must include
this determination in its sentencing order. If the court determines that such a petition would be
appropriate, it must forward its preliminary determination and any supporting documentation to
the county attorney. Minn. Stat. § 609.1351.

Similarly, the Commissioner of Corrections is required to make the same type of preliminary
determination concerning the appropriateness of civil commitment before releasing certain
predatory offenders from state prison. This law applies when the sex offender has been
classified by the commissioner to be in a “high risk” category. If the commissioner determines
that a petition may be appropriate, he or she must forward the preliminary determination, along
with a summary of the written reasons for it, to the county attorney in the county where the
offender was convicted. The law then directs the county attorney to proceed, under the civil
commitment law, to assess the case and determine whether civil commitment proceedings should
be initiated. Minn. Stat. § 244.05, subd. 7.
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Civil Commitment Proceedings

A civil commitment proceeding under this law is initiated by the county attorney and is filed in
the county where the proposed patient resides or is present. If the proposed patient is an inmate
of a state prison, the petition may be filed in the county where the proposed patient was
convicted.

Alternatively, the petition may be heard by a member of a specialized statewide panel of district
judges established by the Minnesota Supreme Court to preside over commitment proceedings of
sexually dangerous persons. (Although authorized to create such a panel, the supreme court has
not done so to date.) Minn. Stat. § 253B.185.

Rights and Procedures for Civil Commitment Hearings

The hearing on the petition is a civil proceeding and is governed by the same procedures and
rules as a proceeding to commit a person as “mentally ill and dangerous.” These procedures
include, among other things, the subject’s right to be represented by counsel at public expense, if
necessary, and a requirement that the need for commitment be proven by clear and convincing
evidence. Since the burden of proof is lower than beyond a reasonable doubt, evidence of sexual
misconduct that is not related to a conviction is admissible. There is no right to a jury trial, so
the cases are decided by judges. Minn. Stat. §§ 253B.18; 253B.185.

Placement for People Who Are Civilly Committed

Sexually dangerous persons are committed to the custody of the Commissioner of Human
Services and are placed in a secure treatment facility in Moose Lake known as the Minnesota
Sexual Psychopathic Personality Treatment Center or a secure facility in St Peter. In order to
obtain a less secure placement, the patient must prove, by clear and convincing evidence, that a
less restrictive treatment program is available and is consistent with the patient’s treatment needs
and the requirements of public safety. Minn. Stat. §§ 246B.02; 253B.185, subd. 1.

If the patient was in prison at the time of the civil commitment, the person must serve the
criminal sentence first before being transferred to a treatment facility. If the person was civilly
committed first and later is committed to the Commissioner of Corrections’ custody due to a
criminal conviction or probation revocation, the person must be transferred from the treatment
facility to state prison. Minn. Stat. § 253B.185, subd. 2.

Duration of Civil Commitment

During the 60-day period following the initial commitment decision by the court, the treatment
facility prepares a treatment report and the court holds another hearing to decide whether the
commitment decision should be made final. If the court finalizes its commitment decision at the
review hearing, the person is committed to the Commissioner of Human Services’ custody for an
indeterminate period of time. The indeterminate commitment lasts until the person can
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demonstrate that he or she is no longer dangerous or in need of treatment. Minn. Stat. §
253B.18.

Changing the Terms of or Ending Civil Commitment

The decision to transfer the person to a more or less secure treatment facility or to discharge a
sexually dangerous person from civil commitment is made by a special review board panel
appointed by the Commissioner of Human Services. The panel consists of three members who
are experienced in the field of mental illness. One member must be a psychiatrist and one
member must be an attorney. A patient may file a petition for transfer, discharge, or provisional
discharge with the special review board panel after six months have elapsed since the person was
first committed and may not file additional petitions with the board unless six months have
elapsed since the last petition. A number of parties are entitled to be notified of and be present at
the hearing on the petition, including the committing court and the county attorney of the
committing county. Following the hearing and based on factors outlined in statute and evidence
presented at the hearing, the panel makes written findings and recommendations on the petition
and submits them to the Commissioner of Human Services.

The final decision on transfer or discharge rests with the commissioner. The order of the
commissioner may be appealed to the Supreme Court Appeal Panel (SCAP). The SCAP must
consider: (1) the person’s clinical progress and present treatment needs; (2) the need for security
to accomplish continuing treatment; (3) the need for continued institutionalization; and (4)
whether the transfer can be accomplished with a reasonable degree of public safety. Minn. Stat.
§ 253B.18, subds. 4¢ and 5.

SCAP decisions can be appealed to the Court of Appeals and the Minnesota Supreme Court.
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Appendix

Elements of First- and Third-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct Crimes

First-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.342)

Sexual penetration and:

Third-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.344)

Sexual penetration and:

A victim under 13 years old if the actor is more
than three years older than the victim (also applies
to certain sexual contact)*

A victim under 13 years old if the actor is no more than
three years older than the victim*

A victim at least 13 but younger than 16 if the actor is
more than two years older**

A victim at least 13 but younger than 16 if the
actor is more than four years older and uses a
position of authority to make the victim submit™*

A victim at least 16 but younger than 18 if the actor is
more than four years older and uses a position of
authority to make the victim submit***

Circumstances at time of act caused victim to have
reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to
self or others

Actor is armed with dangerous weapon and uses or
threatens to use it to cause victim to submit

Actor causes personal injury to victim and either
actor uses force/coercion or victim is mentally
impaired or incapacitated/physically helpless

Actor uses force/coercion or actor knows or should know
victim is mentally impaired or incapacitated/physically
helpless

Actor is aided by accomplice and either accomplice
uses force/coercion or accomplice is armed with
dangerous weapon and uses or threatens to use it to
cause victim to submit

A victim under 16 years old, the actor has a
“significant relationship” with the victim, and any
of the following circumstances exists:
force/coercion, personal injury, or sexual abuse
involved multiple acts committed over extended
time period*

A victim at least 16 but younger than 18, the actor has a
“significant relationship” with the victim, and any of the
following circumstances exists: force/coercion, personal
injury, or sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed
over extended time period*

Actor is psychotherapist, victim is patient and act
occurred during therapy session or during the ongoing
therapy relationship; victim is former patient and is
emotionally dependent on therapist; or victim is patient or
former patient and act occurred by means of therapeutic
deception**

* Neither consent by the victim nor mistake as to the victim’s age is a defense

** If the actor is no more than 10 years older than the victim, then the actor’s reasonable belief that the
complainant is 16 years of age or older is an affirmative defense. In all other cases, mistake as to the victim’s age
is not a defense. Consent by the victim is not a defense in any case.

*** Consent by the victim is not a defense
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First-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.342)

Sexual penetration and:

Third-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.344)

Sexual penetration and:

Actor accomplishes act by means of deception or false
representation that it is for a bona fide medical
purpose**

Actor is or purports to be member of clergy, victim is not
married to actor, and either act occurred during spiritual
advice meeting or during a time when victim was meeting
with actor on ongoing basis for spiritual advice*

Actor is an employee, contract personnel, or volunteer of a
state, county, city, or privately operated adult or juvenile
correctional system, including, but not limited to, jails,
prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and
the complainant is a resident of a facility or under
supervision of the correctional system*

Actor is an agent of a special transportation services
provider, the complainant uses the service, and the act
occurs during or immediately before or after transporting
the individual*

*Consent by the victim is not a defense

**Neither consent by the victim nor mistake as to the victim’s age is a defense

*#*[f the actor is no more than 10 years older than the victim, then the actor’s reasonable belief that the
complainant is 16 years of age or older is an affirmative defense. In all other cases, mistake as to the victim’s age
is not a defense. Consent by the victim is not a defense in any case.
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Elements of Second-, Fourth-, and Fifth-Degree
Criminal Sexual Conduct Crimes

Second-Degree Criminal Sexual
Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.343)
Sexual contact and:

Fourth-Degree Criminal Sexual
Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.345)
Sexual contact and:

Fifth-Degree Criminal Sexual
Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.3451)
Sexual contact and:

Nonconsensual sexual contact with
any victim if the contact is not
covered by a higher degree of the
crime

Masturbation or lewd exhibition of
the genitals in the presence of a
minor under age 16, knowing or
having reason to know the minor
is present

A victim under 13 years old if the
actor is more than three years older
than the victim*

A victim under 13 years old if the
actor is no more than three years
older than the victim*

A victim at least 13 but younger
than 16 if the actor is more than
four years older and uses a position
of authority to make the victim
submit*

A victim at least 13 but younger
than 16 if the actor is more than
four years older or uses a position of
authority to make the victim
submit. **

A victim at least 16 but younger
than 18 if the actor is more than
four years older and uses a position
of authority to make the victim
submit*

Circumstances at time of act caused
victim to have reasonable fear of
imminent great bodily harm to self
or others

Actor is armed with dangerous
weapon and uses or threatens to use
it to cause victim to submit

Actor causes personal injury to
victim and either actor uses
force/coercion or victim is mentally
impaired or incapacitated/physically
helpless

Actor uses force/coercion or actor
knows or should know victim is
mentally impaired or
incapacitated/ physically helpless

* Neither consent by the victim nor mistake as to the victim’s age is a defense
** If the actor is no more than 10 years older than the victim, then the actor’s reasonable belief that the complainant
is 16 years of age or older is an affirmative defense. In all other cases, mistake as to the victim’s age is not a
defense. Consent by the victim is not a defense in any case.
**% Consent by the victim is not a defense



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.343
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.345
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.3451

House Research Department
Sex Offenders and Predatory Offenders

Updated: January 2012
Page 32

Second-Degree Criminal Sexual
Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.343)
Sexual contact and:

Fourth-Degree Criminal Sexual
Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.345)
Sexual contact and:

Fifth-Degree Criminal Sexual
Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.3451)
Sexual contact and:

Actor is aided by accomplice and
either accomplice uses
force/coercion or accomplice is
armed with dangerous weapon and
uses or threatens to use it to cause
victim to submit

A victim under 16 years old and the
actor has a “significant
relationship” with the victim*

A victim at least 16 but younger
than 18 and the actor has a
“significant relationship” with the
victim*

A victim under 16 years old, the
actor has a “significant
relationship” with the victim, and
any of the following circumstances
exists: force/coercion, personal
injury, or sexual abuse involved
multiple acts committed over
extended time period*

A victim at least 16 but younger
than 18, the actor has a “significant
relationship” with the victim, and
any of the following circumstances
exists: force/coercion, personal
injury, or sexual abuse involved
multiple acts committed over
extended time period*

Actor is psychotherapist, victim is
patient and act occurred during
therapy session or during the
ongoing therapy relationship, victim
is former patient and is emotionally
dependent on therapist, or victim is
patient or former patient and act
occurred by means of therapeutic
deception™**

Actor accomplishes act by means of
deception or false representation
that it is for a bona fide medical
purpose***

Actor is or purports to be member of
clergy, victim is not married to actor,
and either act occurred during
spiritual advice meeting or during a
time when victim was meeting with
actor on ongoing basis for spiritual
advice***

* Neither consent by the victim nor mistake as to the victim’s age is a defense
** If the actor is no more than 10 years older than the victim, then the actor’s reasonable belief that the complainant
is 16 years of age or older is an affirmative defense. In all other cases, mistake as to the victim’s age is not a
defense. Consent by the victim is not a defense in any case.
**% Consent by the victim is not a defense
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Second-Degree Criminal Sexual
Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.343)
Sexual contact and:

Fourth-Degree Criminal Sexual
Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.345)
Sexual contact and:

Fifth-Degree Criminal Sexual
Conduct
(Minn. Stat. § 609.3451)
Sexual contact and:

Actor is an employee, contract
personnel, or volunteer of a state,
county, city, or privately operated
adult or juvenile correctional system,
including, but not limited to jails,
prisons, detention centers, or work
release facilities, and the
complainant is a resident of a facility
or under supervision of the
correctional system***

Actor is an agent of a special
transportation services provider, the
complainant uses the service, and the
act occurs during or immediately
before or after transporting the
individual***

* Neither consent by the victim nor mistake as to the victim’s age is a defense

** If the actor is no more than 10 years older than the victim, then the actor’s reasonable belief that the complainant
is 16 years of age or older is an affirmative defense. In all other cases, mistake as to the victim’s age is not a
defense. Consent by the victim is not a defense in any case.
*#* Consent by the victim is not a defense

Note: This publication is a revision of an earlier version written by former legislative analyst

Judith Zollar.

For more information about sex offenders, visit the criminal justice area of our website,

www. house.mn/hrd/hrd.him.
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