This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/lrl.asp

2011 Performance Measurement Report

The Program

In 2010, the Legislature created the Council on Local Results and Innovation. In February 2011, the Council released a standard set of ten performance measures for counties and ten performance measures for cities that will aid residents, taxpayers, and state and local elected officials in determining the efficacy of counties and cities in providing services, and measure residents' opinions of those services. Participation in the standard measures program by a city or a county is voluntary. Counties and cities that choose to participate in the standard measures program must officially adopt the 10 performance benchmarks developed by the Council on Local Results and Innovations, and implement them in 2011.

Benefits and Reporting Requirements

A county or city that elected to participate in the standard measures program for 2011 is eligible for a reimbursement of \$0.14 per capita in local government aid, not to exceed \$25,000 and is also exempt from levy limits under sections 275.70 to 275.74 for taxes payable in 2012, if levy limits are in effect. In order to receive the per capita reimbursement in 2011, and levy limit exemption for calendar year 2012, counties and cities had to:

File a report with the Office of the State Auditor by July 1, 2011. This report consisted of a declaration approved by the city council or county board stating that the city/county had adopted the corresponding 10 performance measures developed by the Council.

Participating Cities and Counties

The following cities and counties elected to participate in the Performance Measures Program, and successfully reported to the Office of the State Auditor. The Office of the State Auditor then certified them to the Department of Revenue.

Cities:

Albertville Annandale Aurora Bellingham Bloomington **Brooklyn Park** Byron Chaska **Circle Pines** Cokato Crosby Detroit Lakes East Grand Forks Elko New Market Forest Lake Grand Rapids Hermantown Holdingford Lake City Little Canada Mankato McIntosh Montrose Morris New Ulm Perham Prior Lake Remer Rogers Saint Charles Saint Martin Sartell Shoreview South St. Paul Waconia West Saint Paul Willmar Zimmerman

Counties:

Anoka Blue Earth Clay Alexandria Apple Valley Austin Bemidji Breckenridge Buffalo Cannon Falls Chatfield Cloquet **Columbia Heights** Crystal Duluth Edina Falcon Heights Frazee Hanover Hibbing Jeffers Lake Elmo Luverne Marshall Minneapolis Moorhead New Hope Newport Pine Island Proctor Richfield Rosemount Saint Cloud Saint Michael Sauk Rapids Shorewood Thief River Falls Waite Park White Bear Lake Wilton Zumbrota

Becker Carver Crow Wing Andover Arden Hills Barnesville Benson **Brooklyn Center** Burnsville Champlin Chisago City Cohasset Coon Rapids Delano Eagan Elk River Fergus Falls Goodview Hawley Hilltop La Crescent Lakeville Mahtomedi McGregor Montevideo Mora New Prague North Saint Paul Preston Red Wing Rockford Rushford Village Saint Joseph Saint Paul Savage Sleepy Eye Wabasha Warroad Willow River Woodbury

> Beltrami Chippewa Dakota

Dodge	Douglas	Faribault
Fillmore	Grant	Hennepin
Kanabec	Kandiyohi	Lyon
McLeod	Meeker	Mower
Murray	Nobles	Olmsted
Otter Tail	Pope	Renville
Rice	Rock	Roseau
Saint Louis	Scott	Sherburne
Todd	Washington	Winona
Wright	Yellow Medicine	

Privacy Policy | Accessibility Information | ©2012 Office of the Minnesota State Auditor