Report Report

Participation in the Livable Communities Act Local Housing Incentives Account -2012

January 13, 2012

A Report to the Legislature Fulfilling Minnesota Statute 473.254, Subdivision 9

Metropolitan Council Members

Susan Haigh	Chair
Roxanne Smith	District 1
Lona Schreiber	District 2
Jennifer Munt	District 3
Gary Van Eyll	District 4
Steven Elkins	District 5
James Brimeyer	District 6
Gary L. Cunningham	District 7
Adam Duininck	District 8
Edward Reynoso	District 9
John Đoàn	District 10
Sandy Rummel	District 11
Harry Melander	District 12
Richard Kramer	District 13
Jon Commers	District 14
Steven T. Chávez	District 15
Wendy Wulff	District 16
General phone	651-602-1000

General phone651-602-1000Data Center651-602-1140TTY651-291-0904

E-mail data.center@metc.state.mn.us
Web site www.metrocouncil.org

Publication No. 78-12-004

Printed on recycled paper with at least 20% post-consumer waste.

On request, this publication will be made available in alternative formats to people with disabilities. Call the Metropolitan Council Data Center at 651 602-1140 or TTY 651 291-0904.

INTRODUCTION

The Metropolitan Livable Communities Act (LCA) requires the Metropolitan Council to report by February 1 of every year which municipalities elected to participate and which did not elect to participate in the local housing incentive account (LHIA) program for that calendar year (Minnesota Statutes 473.254, section 5, subsection 9).

BACKGROUND

The LCA supports regional policy which calls for the expansion of the opportunities for affordable and life-cycle housing throughout the region, creative planning that links jobs, transportation and housing, and revitalization of the region's older cities. Communities within the seven-county area that participate in the local housing incentives account program may receive grants or loans from the three funding accounts of the LCA Fund. These funds are the tax base revitalization account, livable communities demonstration account, and the local housing incentives account. Only LCA participating communities may apply for and receive grants from the polluted sites clean-up program administered by the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development. In addition, the law says the Council "shall give consideration to a municipality's participation" in the Local Housing Incentives Account program when making discretionary funding decisions.

LCA PARTICIPATION

During 2011, 93 communities were participants in the LCA's local housing incentives program. During the year one additional city, Orono, elected to renew participation in the LCA. Current participation now involves 94 communities.

MUNICIPALITIES PARTICIPATING IN THE METROPOLITAN LIVABLE COMMUNITIES ACT **LOCAL HOUSING INCENTIVES PROGRAM IN 2012**

ANOKA COUNTY

Anoka Blaine Centerville Columbia Heights Coon Rapids East Bethel Fridley Hilltop Lexington Lino Lakes Oak Grove Ramsey St. Francis

CARVER COUNTY

Carver Chaska Cologne Hamburg Mayer **New Germany** Norwood/Young America Victoria Waconia Watertown

DAKOTA COUNTY

Apple Valley Burnsville Eagan Farmington Hastings Inver Grove Heights Lakeville Mendota Heights Rosemount South St. Paul West St. Paul

HENNEPIN COUNTY

Bloomington Brooklyn Center Brooklyn Park Champlin Crystal Dayton Eden Prairie Edina Excelsion Golden Valley **Hopkins** Long Lake Loretto Maple Grove Maple Plain Medina Minneapolis Minnetonka Mound New Hope Orono Osseo Plymouth Richfield Robbinsdale

Rogers

Wayzata

St. Anthony

St. Bonifacius

St. Louis Park

COUNTY Cottage Grove Forest Lake

Hugo Lakeland Lake St. Croix Beach Mahtomedi Newport Oakdale St. Paul Park Stillwater Willernie

RAMSEY COUNTY

Arden Hills Falcon Heights Lauderdale Maplewood Mounds View New Brighton North St. Paul Roseville St. Paul Shoreview Vadnais Heights White Bear Twp. White Bear Lake

SCOTT COUNTY

Belle Plaine Elko-New Market Jordan Prior Lake Savage

WASHINGTON

Woodbury

MUNICIPALITIES NOT PARTICIPATING IN THE LOCAL HOUSING INCENTIVES PROGRAM IN 20121

Afton Andover Bayport

Baytown Twp. Belle Plaine Twp.

Benton Twp.

Bethel

Birchwood

Blakeley Twp. Camden Twp.

Castle Rock Twp.

Cedar Lake Twp.

Chanhassen

Circle Pines

Coates

Columbus

Corcoran

Credit River Twp.

Dahlgren Twp.

Dellwood

Deephaven

Denmark Twp.

Douglas Twp.

Empire Township

Eureka Twp. Gem Lake

Grant

Greenfield

Greenvale Twp.

Greenwood

Grey Cloud Twp.

Ham Lake

Hampton

Hampton Twp.

Hancock Twp.

Hassan Twp.

Helena Twp.

Hollywood Twp.

Independence

Jackson Twp.

Lake Elmo

Lakeland Shores

Laketown Twp.

Landfall

Lilydale

Linwood Twp.

Little Canada

Louisville Twp.

Marine on St. Croix

Marshan Twp.

May Twp.

Medicine Lake

Mendota

Miesville

Minnetonka Beach

Minnetrista

New Market Twp.

New Trier

Nininger Twp.

North Oaks

Nowthen

Oak Park Heights

Pine Springs

Randolph

Randolph Twp.

Ravena Twp.

St. Lawrence Twp.

St. Mary's Point

San Francisco Twp.

Sand Creek Twp.

Scandia

Sciota Twp.

Shakopee

Shorewood

Spring Lake Park

Spring Lake Twp.

Spring Park

Stillwater Twp.

Sunfish Lake

Tonka Bay

Vermillion

Verminon

Vermillion Twp.

Waconia Twp.

Waterford Twp.

Watertown Twp.

West Lakeland Twp.

Woodland

Young America Twp.

Livable Communities Act Participants, 2012

