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Executive Summary 

Estate, inheritance, and gift taxes are imposed on transfers of property.  They differ in the types 
of transfers to which they apply.  Estate and inheritance taxes are imposed when the property 
transfer is caused or triggered by the owner’s death.  Gift taxes are imposed when the property 
owner is still living and transfers the property. 

State estate, inheritance, and gift taxation have undergone significant changes since Congress 
repealed the federal credit for state death taxes in 2001.  That credit effectively paid a large 
portion of these taxes for states.  For deaths in 2011, 28 states do not impose these taxes.  Table 1 
and the map show the states that impose these taxes. 

Table 1 
State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes 

States with Estate Taxes – 14 States and DC 
Connecticut New York 
Delaware North Carolina 
District of Columbia Ohio 
Hawaii Oregon 
Illinois Rhode Island 
Maine Vermont 
Massachusetts Washington 
Minnesota  

States with Inheritance Taxes – 6 States 
Indiana Nebraska 
Iowa Pennsylvania 
Kentucky Tennessee 

States with Both Estate and Inheritance Taxes – 2 States 
Maryland New Jersey 

States with Gift Taxes – 2 States 
Connecticut Tennessee 

Under legislation enacted in 2011, the Ohio estate tax will be repealed, effective for decedents 
dying on January 1, 2013. 
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The exemption amounts for these state taxes are typically lower than the exemption under the 
federal estate tax ($5 million for 2011 deaths).  Of the states with estate taxes, one (North 
Carolina) has a $5 million exemption tied to the federal exemption amount, two have $3.5 
million exemptions (same as the 2009 federal amount), one (Vermont) has a $2.75 million 
exemption, three have $2 million exemptions, and the rest $1 million or lower exemptions. 
Twelve states allow state QTIP (qualified terminable interest property) elections that differ from 
the federal QTIP election.  When a state has a lower exemption than allowed under federal law, 
these state-only QTIP elections allow married couples to defer paying state tax until the second 
spouse dies without forgoing or “wasting” part of the higher federal exemption when the first 
spouse dies, although the newly portable federal exemption may reduce the need for these 
provisions.  
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A Taxonomy of the Taxes 
 

Estate and inheritance taxes are imposed on transfers that 
occur upon the death of the owner of the property, while gift 
taxes are imposed on gifts made during the transferor’s 
lifetime (“inter vivos” gifts). 

 Estate taxes generally apply a single rate schedule to 
the taxable value of the decedent’s total estate (bequests 
to charities and surviving spouses are typically exempt). 

 Inheritance taxes apply varying rate schedules to 
bequests made to different classes of beneficiaries.  
Bequests to surviving spouses and lineal heirs typically 
enjoy lower rates or are totally exempt, while bequests 
to more distant or unrelated heirs (collateral heirs) are 
usually taxed at higher rates. 

 Gift taxes complement estate and inheritance taxes, 
preventing property owners from avoiding tax by 
making lifetime gifts.  Some states impose tax only on 
gifts made a short time before death or “in 
contemplation of death.”  These provisions are 
administered as part of the estate or inheritance tax. 

Introduction 

State estate, inheritance, and gift 
taxes have undergone significant 
changes since Congress repealed 
the federal credit for state death 
taxes in 2001 (fully effective for 
2005 deaths).  In the aftermath of 
the credit’s repeal, many states 
allowed their state estate taxes to 
expire, while others acted to repeal 
or reduce their taxes.  The Great 
Recession, as the most recent 
economic recession is being called, 
and its impact on state revenues and 
budgets have resulted in three states 
reinstating their taxes.  This 
information brief surveys state 
estate, inheritance, and gift taxes in 
the 50 states, providing some detail 
on their exemption amounts, rates, 
and whether they allow state QTIP 
elections that differ from the federal 
elections. 

Estate Taxes 

Prior to repeal of the federal credit for state death taxes, all states imposed 
pickup estate taxes 

In 2001, all 50 states imposed estate taxes to take advantage of the federal estate tax’s credit for 
state death taxes.  This credit was essentially a federal revenue-sharing provision for states, 
allowing a state to impose an estate tax at no cost to its residents.  Each dollar of state estate tax 
(up to the limits of the federal credit) reduced federal tax, dollar for dollar.  Federal tax increased 
by any amount a state’s tax was lower than the maximum federal credit.  In 2001, 38 states and 
the District of Columbia only imposed taxes equal to the federal credit.  The remaining 12 states 
imposed estate or inheritance taxes that exceeded the federal credit, although two of these states 
(Connecticut and Louisiana) had enacted scheduled reductions in their taxes down to the level of 
the federal credit. 

Congress repealed the credit in the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Act of 2001 (EGTRRA) 
and replaced it with a deduction for state death taxes, effective for decedents dying in 2005.  
With the repeal of the federal credit, many states whose taxes were directly linked to the federal 
credit allowed their taxes to expire, while other states “decoupled” their taxes from the federal 
tax and allowed them to continue, or reenacted the taxes to preserve the state revenues.1  Since 
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2010 Federal Estate and Gift Tax Changes Have Implications for State Tax Policy 

Under EGTRRA’s provisions, the federal estate tax expired for decedents dying in 2010 and 
was to be revived in its pre-EGTRRA form starting in 2011.  The Tax Relief, 
Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization, and Jobs Creation Act of 2010 (TRUIRJCA), 
enacted in December 2010, reinstated the estate tax, while making significant changes in it.  
The following four changes are important for state transfer tax policy: 

 The top federal tax rate (45 percent for 2009 deaths) dropped to 35 percent.  The 
reduction in federal tax rates increases the effective cost of state estate taxes for estates 
subject to federal tax.  Since state estate and inheritance taxes are deductible in 
computing federal tax, the lower federal tax rate reduces the implicit value of the 
deduction, increasing the effective burden of state taxes.   

 The exemption amount ($3.5 million for 2009 deaths) increased to $5 million, 
indexed for inflation.  The higher exemption means more estates will be subject only to 
state taxes, raising the effective burden of the state taxes because there is no longer an 
offset for the federal deduction (but conversely these estates have more available assets 
to pay state taxes, since they won’t owe any federal tax).  In addition, the new federal 
rules create a larger “gap” between most state exemption amounts and the federal 
exemption.  As discussed below (page 12), a larger gap increases the challenges for 
planners to develop transfer techniques that minimize both federal and state taxes.  

 The federal exemption became “portable” —that is, a decedent spouse’s unused 
exemption passes to the surviving spouse. These new portability rules (long suggested as 
a way to simply estate planning) may mitigate the challenge of reconciling differences in 
the federal and state exemption amounts, also as discussed below. 

 The gift tax exemption ($1 million) increased to $5 million. The higher (five times 
bigger) exemption will encourage more deathbed and other gifting strategies, as 
discussed below (page 10), to minimize tax in states without effective taxes on gifts. 

These federal changes, however, are temporary, applying only to deaths through 2012.  
Federal law is then scheduled to revert to its pre-EGTRRA form of a $1 million exemption, 
top rate of 55 percent, and pickup credit for state death taxes.  Most expect that Congress 
will not allow that to occur and will extend or revise the new provisions, perhaps in some 
unexpected way.  Whether and how states will react to the new federal rules remains to be 
seen. 

the onset of the state budget problems associated with the Great Recession, Delaware, Illinois, 
and Hawaii have reenacted estate taxes that had expired with repeal of the federal credit (or in 
Illinois’ case with repeal of the federal tax for 2010 deaths). 

 

Sixteen states and the District of Columbia impose estate taxes on 2011 deaths 

For decedents dying in 2011, 16 states and the District of Columbia impose estate taxes.  The 
details of these estate taxes vary somewhat, but they tend to follow the pattern of equaling the 
amount of the old federal credit for state death taxes with varying exemption amounts.  Three 
states have estate taxes with state-defined exemption amounts and rate schedules (i.e., rate 
schedules that vary from the federal credit schedule).  One of these states, Ohio, had its own rate 
and exemption schedule that predated repeal of the federal credit.  Ohio is also somewhat unique 
in its combination of a low exemption amount ($338,333) and low top tax rate (7 percent).   
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The tax base for these taxes (aside from the exemption amounts) generally parallels the federal 
estate tax.  The most common exemption amount is $1 million (six states and the District of 
Columbia).  Three states have $2 million exemptions, and two states, $3.5 million exemptions.  
One state (North Carolina) has an exemption ($5 million for 2011 deaths) tied to the federal 
exemption, and one state (Vermont), a $2.75 million exemption (set to rise to $3.5 million in 
2012).  Only two states (Ohio and Washington) deviate from the top rate under the old federal 
credit rate for state death taxes of 16 percent.  Table 2 provides the detail on exemption amounts 
and top tax rates for the state estate taxes for decedents dying during 2011. 

Three legislatures enacted significant changes in the estate taxes in their 2011 legislative 
sessions, all scheduled to take effect in the future.  The Oregon Legislature converted its estate 
tax from one based on the federal credit to a tax based on state definitions, starting with 
decedents dying in 2012, but with the same $1 million exemption and 16 percent top rate.  The 
Maine estate tax will make a similar transition in 2013, but with an increase in its exemption 
amount from $1 million to $2 million and a drop in its top rate to 12 percent.  The Ohio estate tax 
is repealed, effective January 1, 2013. 

Table 2 
State Estate Taxes Applicable to 2011 Deaths 

(as of September 30, 2011)

State Exemption Amount Basis for Rate Schedule Top Statutory Rate 

Connecticut2 $2 million State specific 16% 
Delaware3 $3.5 million4 Federal credit 16% 
District of Columbia5 $1 million Federal credit 16% 
Hawaii6 $3.5 million Federal credit 16% 
Illinois7 $2 million Federal credit 16% 
Maine8 $1 milliona Federal credit b 16%b 

Maryland9 $1 million Federal credit 16% 
Massachusetts10 $1 million Federal credit 16% 
Minnesota11 $1 million Federal credit 16% 
New Jersey12 $675,000 Federal credit 16% 
New York13 $1 million Federal credit 16% 
North Carolina14 $5 milliond Federal credit 16% 
Ohio15c $338,333 State specific 7% 
Oregon16 $1 million Federal credite 16% 
Rhode Island17 $859,350d Federal credit 16% 
Vermont18 $2.75 millionf Federal credit 16% 
Washington19 $2 million State specific 19% 
a Scheduled to increase to $2 million, effective January 1, 2013 
b Converted to a state specific tax with a top rate of 12 percent, effective January 1, 2013 
c Tax repealed, effective January 1, 2013 
d Indexed for inflation; North Carolina’s indexing is based on federal exemption 
e Replaced by a state-specific tax effective January 1, 2012 
f Increases to $3.5 million beginning for decedents dying in 2012
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States that base their taxes on the amount of the federal credit under prior 
federal law have “bubble” marginal rates on estates valued just above the 
exemption amount 

Table 3 shows the rate schedule for the federal credit for state death taxes.  For states, like 
Minnesota, that base their estate taxes on the old federal credit, this is essentially the state estate 
tax rate schedule. 

Table 3 
Federal Credit for State Death Schedule 

Taxable estate equal 
to or more than: 

Taxable estate is 
less than 

Credit 
rate: 

$0 $100,000 0.0% 
100,000 150,000 0.8% 
150,000 200,000 1.6% 
200,000 300,000 2.4% 
300,000 500,000 3.2% 
500,000 700,000 4.0% 
700,000 900,000 4.8% 
900,000 1,100,000 5.6% 

1,100,000 1,600,000 6.4% 
1,600,000 2,100,000 7.2% 
2,100,000 2,600,000 8.0% 
2,600,000 3,100,000 8.8% 
3,100,000 3,600,000 9.6% 
3,600,000 4,100,000 10.4% 
4,100,000 5,100,000 11.2% 
5,100,000 6,100,000 12.0% 
6,100,000 7,100,000 12.8% 
7,100,000 8,100,000 13.6% 
8,100,000 9,100,000 14.4% 
9,100,000 10,100,000 15.2% 

10,100,000  16.0% 
Source:  I.R.C. § 2011 (combines credit table and definition of 
adjusted taxable estate, which is taxable value less $60,000) 

Although the Table 3 rates are essentially the rate schedule for these state taxes based on the old 
federal credit, an important qualifier applies to estates with taxable values modestly above the 
applicable state exemption amount—higher tax rates apply to a small range of values.  This 
somewhat counterintuitive result follows from the nature of the federal credit computation, 
which determines the tax liability.  The allowable federal credit equaled the lesser of: 

1. The federal credit amount (i.e., the amount calculated under Table 3’s schedule) or 

2. The amount of the federal estate tax calculated under the federal rate schedule—for most 
states, under the 2001 version of the federal estate tax. 
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Factor #2 (the limitation to the amount of federal tax liability) results in higher marginal rates 
until the computation under factor #1 is larger.  Since the pre-2001 federal tax rates ranged from 
18 percent to 55 percent, higher marginal rates apply to values just over the exemption amount 
than the credit rates in Table 3.  For example, the marginal rate on taxable values between $1 
million and about $1.1 million is 41 percent for a state tax with a $1 million exemption.  The full 
amount of the federal tax above the exemption/credit amount qualified for the credit for state 
death taxes, so as estate values increase, the credit (state tax) rises at the federal tax rate, not the 
credit rate in Table 3.  This includes the credit amount on the estate value below the exemption 
amount.  As a result, the marginal tax rate for a state, like Minnesota, with a $1 million 
exemption is 41 percent on values of an estate just over $1 million until the full state death tax 
credit amount is reached for that value estate.20  For estate taxes with $2 million exemptions or 
$3.5 million exemptions, the marginal rates would be higher or lower (depending upon which 
version of federal tax computation is used for the limitation—the 2001 or the 2011), because the 
applicable federal estate tax rates for those estates differ. 

In essence, this peculiar feature of these state taxes takes away the benefit of the exemption 
amount as estate values increase for these estates.  It is worth noting that tax always continues to 
rise as the value of the estate increases.  Put another way, this “bubble” rate for certain value 
estates never causes the tax (or the average or effective rate of tax) on a lower valued estate to 
exceed that on an estate with a higher taxable value.21 

Marginal rates are important considerations in the design of an income tax, since they directly 
affect the incentive to earn (or report) income.  It is less clear that these bubble marginal rates 
under estate taxes are important as a policy matter.  These rates apply across a relatively narrow 
range of taxable value of estates.  The tax is a onetime tax and most individuals will not know 
whether their estates will fall into this narrow range of values on the (unknown) date in the future 
when they die.  Thus, these high marginal rates probably do not affect behavior much, if at all, in 
setting up estate plans, making domicile decisions, or taking similar actions.  The average or total 
rate of tax is probably the more important effect on behavior or planning in the context of estate 
and inheritance taxes.22 

State-defined estate taxes (Connecticut, Ohio, and Washington currently, Oregon beginning for 
2012 deaths, and Maine for 2013 deaths) do not have this peculiar feature.  Maryland has limited 
its tax so that the marginal rates do not exceed the top 16 percent credit rate, unless the federal 
death tax credit applies.23  
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State Inheritance Taxes 

Eight states impose inheritance taxes on 2011 deaths (two of these supplement 
estate taxes) 

In 2001, 11 states imposed inheritance or succession taxes in addition to pickup estate taxes.  
Since 2001, three of these state taxes (Connecticut, Louisiana, and New Hampshire) have been 
repealed or expired under previously enacted legislation.  For 2011 deaths, eight states have 
inheritance taxes.  Table 4 lists the states with inheritance taxes, the exemption amount, and top 
rates for lineal heirs and collateral heirs. 

Table 4 

State Inheritance Taxes for 2011 Deaths 

State Exemption – 
lineal heirs24 

Top rate – 
lineal heirs 

Exemption –
collateral 
heirs25 

Top rate –
collateral heirs 

Indiana $100,00026 10%27 $10028 20%29 
Iowa unlimited30 N.A. $25,00031 15%32 
Kentucky unlimited33 N.A. $50034 16%35 
Maryland* unlimited36 N.A. $1,00037 10%38 
Nebraska $40,00039 1%40 $10,00041 18%42 
New Jersey* unlimited43 N.A. $50044 16%45 
Pennsylvania $3,50046 4.5%47 0 15%48 
Tennessee $1,000,00049 9.5%50 $1,000,00051 9.5%52 
* States with estate taxes in addition to the inheritance tax 

Several observations can be made regarding the characteristics of the inheritance taxes relative to 
the state estate taxes: 

 The exemptions for surviving spouses and lineal heirs (typically parents, children, and 
grandchildren of the decedent) in four states (Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, and New 
Jersey) eliminate tax liability altogether for what are likely the most common heirs of 
many estates.  This dramatically reduces the burden of these taxes.  However, two of 
these states (Maryland and New Jersey) also have estate taxes. 

 The exemptions for these taxes are typically quite a bit lower than for the estate taxes.  
Putting aside the four states with unlimited exemptions for lineal heirs, this should result 
in many more estates being subject to the taxes. 

 The tax rates on bequests to collateral heirs, by contrast, tend to be comparable to the 
rates under most state estate taxes or even higher. 
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 Two states, Maryland and New Jersey, have both inheritance and estate taxes.  This 
seeming quirk resulted from the history of these states having an inheritance tax and a 
pickup estate tax to take advantage of the federal credit for state death taxes.  When the 
federal credit was repealed, these two states (unlike the other six states with inheritance 
taxes) chose to maintain their estate taxes, rather than allowing them to expire or 
repealing them.  As a result, these two states still impose both taxes.  The estate tax, 
however, is reduced by the amount of the inheritance tax paid, so the two taxes are not 
additive. 

Gift Taxes 

Two states impose stand-alone gift taxes 

Few states impose stand-alone gift taxes; that is, taxes that apply regardless of when the gift is 
made.  When EGTRRA was enacted in 2001, four states imposed true gift taxes.  Louisiana 
repealed its gift tax in 2007 after it repealed its inheritance tax.53  North Carolina also repealed its 
gift tax in 2008.54  This leaves two states, Connecticut and Tennessee, with gift taxes.  
(Minnesota repealed its gift tax in 1979, as part of the transition to imposing only a pickup estate 
tax.55) 

Eight states impose their estate or inheritance tax on gifts made in 
contemplation of death 

Eight states have provisions designed to tax gifts that are made in contemplation of death or 
within a period of time before the donor’s death.  These rules are intended to prevent the use of 
“deathbed” or similar gifts to avoid paying estate or inheritance tax on these transfers.  All of the 
states with these rules had stand-alone inheritance or estate taxes when EGTRRA was enacted.  
States relying exclusively on pickup taxes had little reason to maintain these rules, since the 
structure of the federal estate tax did not reward deathbed gifts with tax savings. 

States with estate taxes based on the federal credit are now subject to deathbed gift-planning 
strategies.  For these states, a deathbed gift removes the gifted property from the taxable estate 
and can provide a significant reduction in state tax.56  The increase in the federal gift tax 
exemption, enacted as part of TRUIRJCA for 2011 and 2012 (see box on page 5), to $5 million 
increases the attractiveness of this strategy, since no federal transfer tax would be incurred to 
make the gift.  Previously, gifts over $1 million would have incurred federal gift tax.  If the 
estate was unlikely to incur federal estate tax (e.g., the taxable value was less than the federal 
exemption amount), the federal gift tax liability would have exceeded the state tax savings.  The 
$5 million exemption eliminates that barrier.  This may create an impetus for these states to enact 
gift taxes or gift-in-contemplation-of-death rules to counteract the stronger incentive for 
deathbed gifts resulting from the increase in the federal gift tax exemption. 

Table 5 summarizes the state gift tax and gift-in-contemplation-of-death rules. 

  



House Research Department Updated: November 2011 
Survey of State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Taxes Page 11 
 
 
 

Table 5 
Taxation of Gifts 

State Type of 
death tax 

Gift tax Top rate 
of gift tax 

Gifts-in-contemplation-of-death 
rules 

Connecticut Estate Unified with 
estate tax 

12%57 N.A. 

Indiana Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfer made one year before 
date of death presumed to be in 
contemplation of death58 

Iowa Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfers above the federal gift 
tax exclusion within three years 
of death, other than bona fide 
sales, are taxable59 

Kentucky Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfers of material part of 
estate made three years before 
death construed prima facie to be 
made in contemplation of death60 

Maryland Inheritance 
and estate 

N.A. N.A. Gifts made within two years of 
the date of death are taxable 
under the inheritance tax61 

Nebraska Inheritance N.A. N.A. Gifts made within three years of 
the date of death subject to 
inheritance taxation62 

New Jersey Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfers within three years of 
death deemed made in 
contemplation of death, absent 
proof to the contrary63 

Ohio Estate N.A. N.A. Transfers made within three years 
of death presumed to be made in 
contemplation of death, unless the 
contrary is shown64 

Pennsylvania Inheritance N.A. N.A. Transfers greater than $3,000 
made within one year of date of 
death are taxable65 

Tennessee Inheritance Gift tax 16% Transfers made within three years 
of decedent’s death, except bona 
fide sales66 
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State-Only QTIPs 

Allowing a state qualified terminable interest property (QTIP) election that 
differs from the federal election allows a married couple to defer paying state 
tax without forgoing the full federal exemption when the first spouse dies 

The exemption amounts under most state inheritance and estate taxes are lower than that allowed 
under the federal estate tax.  (For 2011 deaths, only one state, North Carolina, with an estate tax 
allowed an exemption as large as federal estate tax’s exemption.)  The differences in the 
exemption amounts create difficult choices for married couples and their estate planners.  When 
the federal and state exemptions are the same, a standard planning strategy for married couples is 
to fund a credit shelter trust up to the federal and state exemption amount on the death of the first 
spouse with the remainder of the estate passing to the surviving spouse and qualifying for the 
marital deduction.  When the federal and state exemption amounts are equal, this approach 
avoids both federal and state tax on the first death and avoids wasting any of the first spouse’s 
exemption (which would have occurred if the whole estate simply passed to the surviving 
spouse).  If the exemption amount increases later (or tax rates are reduced), as occasionally 
occurred, these changes operate to reduce the 
taxes on the combined estate of the couple.  Thus, 
the choice was relatively easy. 

A state exemption amount that is lower than the 
federal exemption presents a sort of Hobson 
choice when the first spouse dies.  The executor or 
personal representative can opt to defer both 
federal and state tax by putting only the amount of 
the state exemption in the credit shelter trust.  But 
this wastes part of the federal exemption and, thus, 
potentially subjects the estate to a higher federal 
estate tax on the death of the second spouse.67  On 
the other hand, the executor could opt to fund the 
credit shelter trust at the higher federal exemption 
amount and pay the (lower) state tax to avoid this 
risk.  However, it is possible that the federal 
exemption will increase to exempt the entire 
remaining estate or the entire federal tax will be 
repealed by the time the second spouse dies.  In 
this circumstance, payment of state tax to avoid 
the possibility of a higher federal tax later would 
have been unnecessary.  Obviously, there is no 
“right” answer given the uncertainty as to: (1) 
when the second spouse will die, and (2) what the 
federal and state estate taxes will look like when 
that happens.  The portability of the federal estate 
tax exemption, enacted by Congress as part of 
TRUIRJCA in 2010, ameliorates, but may not 

Portability of the Federal Exemption 

Under portability, when the first spouse dies, 
the surviving spouse inherits the unused 
exemption; the unused exemption is not 
“lost.”  Portability could obviate many of the 
planning challenges described in the text.  
On the death of the first spouse, the state 
exemption amount could be put in the credit 
shelter trust, relying on portability to 
preserve the unused exemption for the 
surviving spouse. 

But portability may not solve all of the 
planning problems: 

 The provision is temporary (through 
December 31, 2012) with no 
assurance Congress will make it 
permanent. 

 Remarriage may eliminate some or 
all of its benefits. 

 Some may prefer to put the higher 
amount in a credit shelter trust 
anyway so that increases in value 
during the surviving spouse’s life are 
shielded from federal estate tax. 

Nevertheless, the urgency to allow state-only 
QTIP elections should diminish. 
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QTIP Rules 

A primary advantage of QTIP property is 
that the full value of the property qualifies 
for the marital deduction (avoiding tax on 
the death of the first spouse), although only 
a limited income interest is left to the 
surviving spouse.  To be QTIP property, the 
following criteria must be met: 

 The property must be owned by the 
decedent 

 The surviving spouse must have a right 
to all of the income, payable at least 
annually, from the property for life 

 No one else may have a power of 
appointment over the property until the 
surviving spouse dies 

 A QTIP election must be made 

fully solve this problem.  See the discussion in the box entitled “Portability of the Federal 
Exemption.” 

To provide more flexibility to planners, many states with estate or inheritance taxes allow 
differing QTIP elections for state and federal tax purposes.  QTIP trusts are a standard estate tax 
planning tool for married couples.  See the box entitled “QTIP Rules” for the definition of the 
QTIP property.  They allow electing the amount of the trust that will qualify for the marital 
deduction.  The rest or nonelected part of the QTIP trust can be used to remove property from the 
estate of the surviving spouse for estate tax purposes, while still providing income to the 
surviving spouse and limiting to whom the property will ultimately go.  By allowing a different 
QTIP amount for state and federal tax purposes, the full exemption amounts for both taxes can 
be claimed, while also deferring tax under both 
taxes under the last spouse dies. 

How this works can be most easily explained with 
an example.  Assume a married couple has a 
combined estate of $4 million ($2 million owned by 
each spouse), and their estate plan includes a QTIP 
trust.  The first spouse dies in 2008, when the state 
exemption is $1 million and the federal exemption 
is $2 million.  If the QTIP election must be 
identical for federal and state purposes, the personal 
representative must choose whether to elect a 
marital deduction of zero (thereby maximizing the 
federal exemption by allowing the full $2 million to 
pass into the credit shelter trust) or $1 million 
(thereby deferring state tax, but “wasting” $1 
million of the federal exemption).  By contrast, 
allowing different QTIP elections will allow the 
personal representative to elect a marital amount of 
zero for federal purposes and $1 million for state 
purposes.  This allows deferring both taxes without 
wasting the federal exemption.68  Table 6 below 
shows the different taxable estates under the alternative approaches using simplifying 
assumptions:  both spouses die in 2008, there are no other deductions, and so forth.  As can be 
seen in the table, allowing differing state and federal elections allows an alternative to the 
difficult choice of whether or not to pay state tax on the first death to avoid a potentially higher 
federal tax on the second death.  Ignoring appreciation in assets between the two deaths and the 
time value of money, the state taxable amount remains the same, while the estate is permitted to 
avoid the maximum amount of federal tax. 
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Table 6 
Taxable Estates Under Alternative QTIP Election Scenarios 

 First spouse Second Spouse Combined 
Federal State Federal State Federal MN 

Uniform election of 
federal exemption 
amount 

0 $1 million 0 $1 million 0 $2 million

Uniform election of 
state exemption 
amount 

0 0 $1 million $2 million $1 million $2 million

Differing elections* 0 0 0 $2 million 0 $2 million
*Election of state exemption amount; federal election of federal exemption. 
Assumptions: Each spouse has $2 million in property, no other deductions (beside marital deduction) apply, and 
the exemptions for 2008 apply to both deaths.

A number of states with estate or inheritance taxes allow differing QTIP elections, under 
legislation, rulings by the state tax administrators, or administrative policies.  Table 7 lists the 
states, broken down by whether the rule is based on an administrative ruling or legislation.   

Table 7 
States Allowing Separate QTIP Elections 

State 

Authorized by: 

Legislation Administratively 

Illinois x69  
Indiana x70  
Kentucky  x71 
Maine x72  
Maryland x73  
Massachusetts  x74 
Ohio x75  
Oregon x76  
Pennsylvania x77  
Rhode Island  x78 
Tennessee x79  
Washington x80  

New York81 allows a state QTIP election for estates that are not subject to federal estate tax. 
Minnesota82 allows a state QTIP election for estates that opted out of the federal estate tax for 
2010 deaths.  These two state-only QTIPs, however, do not address the situation in which estate 
planners wish to use a separate state QTIP election to use the full federal exemption amount and 
avoid paying state tax on the death of the first spouse. 
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Revenues Yielded by the Taxes 

Table 8 shows the annual revenues yielded by the state taxes and the Minnesota estate tax for the 
2000–2010 period.  As shown, state revenues for the nation as a whole declined by about 50 
percent over this period (declining from $8 billion in 2000 to $3.9 billion in 2010), as many 
states allowed their taxes to expire or reduced or repealed them with the repeal of the federal 
credit.  The change in revenues net of the federal credit for state death taxes is even more 
dramatic, but in the opposite direction, going from a net state tax burden of $1.5 billion in 2000 
to $3.9 billion in 2011.  Minnesota’s revenues fluctuate significantly from year to year, but have 
grown over the period, reflecting the stability of its tax parameters and the general growth in 
asset values.  The contrast between Minnesota revenues (which have grown substantially) and 
national revenues (which have declined substantially) show the effects of policy changes, since 
Minnesota’s tax remained largely unchanged over the period, while most states repealed, allowed 
their taxes to expire, or reduced their transfer tax burdens. 

Table 8 
State Estate, Inheritance, and Gift Tax Revenues 

Fiscal Years 2000 – 2010 
(amounts in thousands)

Year 
Total state 
revenues 

% 
change

Federal credit 
for state death 

taxes 

Revenues net 
of federal 

credit 
Minnesota 
revenues 

% 
change 

2000 $7,998,210  $6,500,641 $1,497,569 $82,516  
2001 7,499,439 -6.2% 6,318,812 1,180,627 53,377 -35.3%
2002 7,384,434 -1.5% 5,751,539 1,632,895 66,291 24.2%
2003 6,685,304 -9.5% 4,745,610 1,939,694 127,687 92.6%
2004 5,731,709 -14.3% 3,178,663 2,553,046 87,022 -31.8%
2005 5,339,548 -6.8% 1,861,784 3,477,764 68,952 -20.8%
2006 4,960,948 -7.1% 261,535 4,699,413 212,881 208.7%
2007 4,923,712 -0.8% Not reported 4,923,712 107,599 -49.5%
2008 5,100,680 3.6% Not reported 5,100,680 115,523 7.4%
2009 4,669,184 -8.5% Not reported 4,669,184 129,811 12.4%
2010 3,891,364 -16.7% Not reported 3,891,364 148,422 14.3%
Sources:  State revenues from U.S. Census Bureau, http://www.census.gov/govs/statetax/  
Federal credit amounts from Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income Division, 
http://www.irs.gov/taxstats/indtaxstats/article/0,,id=210646,00.html

 

For more information about estate taxes, visit the miscellaneous taxes area of our website, 
www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm. 

                                                 
Endnotes 

 
1 Some state taxes were automatically linked to changes in federal law.  For those states repeal of the federal 

credit reduced the state tax, unless the state legislature took action to “decouple” from the federal law.  Thus, 
legislative inaction would cause the tax to expire.  Other states linked their taxes to the federal tax as it existed on a 
specific date or as it applied to decedents dying up to a specific date.  For those states, elimination of the tax would 

http://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/topics.asp?topic=34
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take positive legislative action.  Most states fell into the former category, while a few states (including Minnesota) 
were in the latter.  Some states, like Minnesota, are prohibited constitutionally from delegating to Congress the 
ability to modify their tax laws, so they cannot automatically adopt most future changes in federal law.  See, e.g., 
Wallace v. Comm’r of Taxation, 184 N.W.2d 588 (Minn. 1971). 

2 Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-391, http://www.cga.ct.gov/2010/sup/chap217.htm  (accessed September 28, 2011), as 
amended by 2011 Conn. Pub. Act No. 11-6 § 83, http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/act/pa/2011PA-00006-R00SB-01239-
PA.htm (accessed September 30, 2011). 

3 Del. Code Ann. tit. 30, ch. 15, http://delcode.delaware.gov/title30/c015/index.shtml (accessed September 28, 
2011).  

4 The $3.5 million Delaware exemption in the table is based on tax return forms available online from the 
Delaware Department of Finance, Division of Revenue, 
http://revenue.delaware.gov/services/current_pit/TY10_900r.pdf (accessed September 28, 2011).  A reading of the 
Delaware statute suggests the exemption amount is $5 million, since it is tied to federal law and appears to include 
changes in federal law (including TRUIRJCA’s enactment of a $5 million exemption, retroactive to 2010).  
Attempts to confirm the exemption amount by contacting the Division of Revenue were unsuccessful. 

5 D.C. Code Ann. §§ 47-3701 – 47-3723. 
6 Hawaii Rev. Stat. § 236D, http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol04_Ch0201-0257/HRS0236D/ 

(accessed September 28, 2011). 
7 35 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 405/1 (2011), http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=609&ChapterID=8 

(accessed September 28, 2011). 
8 Me . Rev. Stat. tit. 36, §§ 4061 – 4079, 

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/36/title36ch575sec0.html (accessed on September 28, 2011).  As 
noted in the table, as a result of legislation enacted in 2011, the Maine exemption amount will increase to $2 million 
and the top rate will drop to 12 percent.  2011 Me. Laws ch. 380 § M-9, 
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/bills/bills_125th/chapters/PUBLIC380.asp (accessed September 28, 2011). 

9 Md. Code Ann., Tax-Gen. §§ 7-301 – 7.309 (LexisNexis 2010). 
10 Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 65c, http://www.malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleIX/Chapter65C 

(accessed September 30, 2011). 
11 Minn. Stat. ch. 291, https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291 (accessed September 30, 2011). 
12 N.J. Stat. Ann. § 54:38-1 (2010). 
13 N.Y. Tax Law §§ 951–961 (2010). 
14 N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-32.2 (2010), 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/ByArticle/Chapter_105/Article_1A.pdf (accessed 
September 30, 2011). 

15 Ohio Rev. Code Ann. ch. 5731, http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5731 (accessed September 30, 2011).   The Ohio 
estate tax is repealed, effective for decedents dying on or after January 1, 2013.  Amended Substitute House Bill 
153, http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/BillText129/129_HB_153_EN_N.html (accessed September 30, 2011). 

16 Or. Rev. Stat. ch. 118 (2009), http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/118.html (accessed September 30, 2011).  The 
Oregon tax will become a state-specific tax for decedents dying in 2012 with a $1 million exemption and a top rate 
of 16 percent.  2011 Or. Laws, ch. 526, http://www.leg.state.or.us/11orlaws/sess0500.dir/0526.pdf (accessed 
September 30, 2011). 

17 R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-22-1.1, http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE44/44-22/44-22-1.1.HTM (accessed 
September 30, 2011). 

18 Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, § 7442a (2010), 
http://www.leg.state.vt.us/statutes/fullsection.cfm?Title=32&Chapter=190&Section=07442a (accessed  September 
30,  2011) (exclusion set at $2.75 million); 2010 Vt. Acts & Resolves, No. 160 § 33c (d) (stating legislature’s intent 
for decedents dying in 2012 and later to set the exemption at the federal amount, but not less than $2 million or more 
than $3.5 million), http://www.leg.state.vt.us/DOCS/2010/ACTS/ACT160.PDF (accessed September 30, 2011). 

19 Wash. Rev. Code ch. 83.100, http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=83.100 (accessed September 30, 
2011). 

20 Thus, in a state with a $1 million exemption, a 41 percent rate would apply to the first about $95,000 of the 
estate’s value above $1 million.  At that point the additional tax for added value would be determined under the rates 
in Table 3. 

21 As a result, despite the peculiar shape of the curve resulting from plotting the marginal rates (rising and then 
falling), this does not undercut the progressivity of an estate tax using this computational method.  The tax burden 
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and average tax rates consistently rise under these taxes as estate values rise.  Similar rising and falling effective 
marginal rates apply under the federal and state income taxes.  These rising and falling marginal rates result from 
phaseouts of exemptions, deductions, and credits that cause tax to rise more rapidly than the statutory rate as income 
increases.  For a discussion of these effects, see, for example, Daniel N. Shaviro, “Effective Marginal Tax Rates on 
Low-Income Households,” Tax Notes 84 (1999): 1191. 

22 The bubble rates could, however, encourage the personal representatives for an estate with a value in the 
narrow range to incur higher deductible costs of administration, because these expenses would have a lower 
effective price as a result of the high estate tax rates.  Similarly, they could encourage death bed gifts as discussed on 
page 10. 

23 Md. Ann. Code § 7-309(b)(3)(ii), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/statutes_respond.asp?article=gtg&section=7-
309&Extension=HTML (accessed September 30, 2011). 

24 Lineal heirs are typically children, grandchildren, and parents.  Practices vary as to whether spouses (e.g., 
sons-in-law or daughters-in-law) are included.  

25 Collateral heirs include cousins, aunts, uncles, and unrelated individuals. Some states have intermediate 
classes of beneficiaries—e.g., typically brothers and sisters (who in other states may be class A or C beneficiaries). 

26 Ind. Code § 6-4.1-3-10, http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch3.html (accessed September 30, 
2011). 

27 Ind. Code § 6-4.1-5-1(b), http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch5.html (accessed September 30, 
2011). 

28 Ind. Code. § 6-4.1-3-12, http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch3.html (accessed September 30, 
2011). 

29 Ind. Code § 6-4.1-5-1(d), http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch5.html (accessed September 30, 
2011). 

30 Iowa Code § 450.10 (6) (2011). 
31 This exemption is for the entire estate, not an individual bequest.  Iowa Code § 450.4 (1) (2011). 
32 Iowa Code § 450.10 (2) (2011).  The top rate on bequests to a brother, sister, son-in-law, or daughter-in-law 

is 10 percent.  Iowa Code § 450.10 (1) (2011). 
33 Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.080(1)(c)(4) (2011), http://www.lrc.ky.gov/KRS/140-00/080.PDF (accessed September 

30, 2011). 
34 Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.080(1)(e) (2011), http://www.lrc.state.ky.us/KRS/140-00/080.PDF (accessed September 

30, 2011). 
35 Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.070(3) (2011), http://www.lrc.state.ky.us/KRS/140-00/070.PDF (accessed September 

30,  2011). 
36 Md. Code, Tax-Gen. § 7-203(b)(2) (2011), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles_net/pdf_output/gtg/7-203.pdf 

(accessed September 30, 2011). 
37 Md. Code, Tax-Gen, § 7-203(g) (2011), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles_net/pdf_output/gtg/7-203.pdf 

(accessed September 30, 2011).  In addition, to the $1,000 exemption per recipient, the tax does not apply to an 
estate with a value of less than $30,000.  Md. Code, Tax-Gen. § 7-203(h), 
http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles_net/pdf_output/gtg/7-203.pdf (accessed September 30, 2011); Md. Code, Estate 
& Trusts, § 5-601(a) (2011), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles_net/pdf_output/get/5-601.pdf  (accessed September 
30, 2011).  

38 Md. Code, Tax-Gen., § 7-204(b) (2011), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles_net/pdf_output/gtg/7-204.pdf 
(accessed September 30, 2011). 

39 Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-2004, http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2004 (accessed 
September 30, 2011). 

40 Id.  These reduced rates also apply to brothers and sisters. 
41 Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 77-2006, http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2006 (accessed 

September 30, 2011).   
42 Id.  
43 N.J. Stat. § 54:34-2a (2)  (2010). 
44 N.J. Stat. § 54:34-1 (2010). 
45 N.J. Stat. § 54:34-2d  (2010). 
46 This is the family exemption amount, which may not apply in all circumstances (e.g., if the recipient is not a 

member of the decedent’s household). 20 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 3121; 72 Pa. Cons. Stat. §§ 9127. 
47 72 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 9116(a)(1). 
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48 72 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 9116(a)(2). 
49 Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-8-316 (b) (2011).  This exemption applies to the bequests made to all beneficiaries 

(i.e., it is not a per beneficiary exemption).  This makes the Tennessee inheritance tax structurally like an estate tax.  
The exemption amount and tax rates and brackets apply to the value of the estate and do not appear to vary based on 
the recipients of bequests or gifts. 

50 Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-8-314 (b) (2011). 
51 See note 49. 
52 Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-8-314 (b) (2011). 
53 2007 La. Act 371, http://www.legis.state.la.us/billdata/streamdocument.asp?did=451028 (accessed July 9, 

2010). 
54 2007 N.C. Sess. Laws 2008-107 § 28.18.(a), available here: 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2007/Bills/House/PDF/H2436v9.pdf (accessed July 9, 2010). 
55 1979 Minn. Laws ch. 303, art. 3 § 41. 
56 As states decoupled, estate planners began suggesting deathbed gift strategies as a way to minimize state 

estate taxes.  See, e.g., Andy Kremer, “New Gifting Incentives: Return of the Deathbed Transfer,” Bench & Bar of 
Minnesota 61 (September 2004); Debra L. Stetter, “Deathbed Gifts: A Savings Opportunity for Residents of 
Decoupled States,” Estate Planning 31  (2004): 270.  Because the recipient takes a carryover basis, a deathbed gift 
strategy could have adverse individual income tax consequences if appreciated property is given. Giving cash avoids 
this problem, of course.  If the donor does not have cash, it may be possible to borrow on margin to fund the gift. 

57 Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-642, http://www.cga.ct.gov/2010/sup/chap228c.htm, as amended by 2011 Conn. Pub. 
Act No. 11-6 § 83, http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/act/pa/2011PA-00006-R00SB-01239-PA.htm (accessed September 
30, 2011).  

58 Ind. Code § 6-4.1-2-4, http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch2.html (accessed September 30, 
2011).  The presumption is rebuttable. 

59 Iowa Code § 450.3(2) (2011). 
60 Ky. Rev. Stat. § 140.020(2) (2011), http://www.lrc.state.ky.us/KRS/140-00/020.PDF (accessed September 

30, 2011).  For transfers made more than three years before death, it is a question of fact whether a gift was made in 
contemplation of death. 

61 Md. Code, Tax-Gen § 7-201(d)(iii) (2011), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles_net/pdf_output/gtg/7-201.pdf 
(accessed September 30, 2011).  This appears to be a bright-line rule.  In addition, other transfers shown to be in 
contemplation of tax are taxable. 

62 Rule applies only if a federal gift tax return is required to be filed and transfers outside of the three-year 
period are not subject to tax.  Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2002 (2), 
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=77-2002 (accessed September 30, 2011). 

63 N.J. Rev. Stat. § 54:34-1.c (2010). 
64 Ohio Rev. Code § 5731.05, http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5731.05 (accessed September 30, 2011).  Transfers 

outside of the three-year period are not subject to tax.  An exception is made for the first $10,000 of transfers made 
to each transferee. 

65 72 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 9107(c)(3). 
66 Tenn. Code § 67-8-304(3) (2011). 
67 This could also result in higher state tax.  In some circumstances, the tax on the first estate would be at a 

lower rate than the value that is added to the second estate by deferral.  This potential rate differential may be offset 
by the time value of the money, depending upon when the second death occurs. 

68 It is likely that in most cases this strategy will minimize the total tax burden.  However, it is also possible to 
imagine scenarios in which it could result in higher total state taxes.  One side benefit of the approach—not 
applicable in the example used because there is no federal estate tax obligation—is that it concentrates payment of 
state estate tax in a year in which it can be used to reduce the amount of federally taxable estate.  

69 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 405/2(b) (2011), http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=609&ChapterID=8 
(accessed September 30, 2011). 

70 Ind. Code § 6-4.1-3-7, http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title6/ar4.1/ch3.html (accessed September 30, 
2011). 

71 Robert M. Arlen and David Pratt, “The New York (and Other States) Death Tax Trap,” The Florida Bar 
Journal  (October 2003): fn. 25, reports that Kentucky allows this practice.  An email response from an official at 
the Kentucky Department of Revenue confirmed that Kentucky does this, but has no formal statute or ruling on the 
issue. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/data/revisor/law/1979/0/1979-303.pdf
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72 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 36 § 4062 (2-B), 
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/36/title36sec4062.html (accessed September 30, 2011). 

73 Md. Code, Gen-Tax § 7-309(b)(5)(ii), http://mlis.state.md.us/asp/articles_net/pdf_output/gtg/7-309.pdf 
(accessed September 30, 2011). 

74 Mass. Dept. of  Revenue, “Estate Tax Issues Arising from Decoupling the Massachusetts Estate Tax from the 
Federal Estate Tax,” DOR Directive 03-2 (February 19, 2003), http://bit.ly/9g7UWa (accessed July 11, 2010). 

75 Ohio Rev. Code § 5731.15 (B), http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/5731.15  (accessed  September 30, 2011).  The 
interpretation that this allows a different amount than the federal election was confirmed by email response from the 
Ohio Department of Revenue, dated January 1, 2004. 

76 Or. Rev. Stat. § 118.016 (special property election); http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/118.html (accessed 
September 30, 2011). 

77 72 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 9113. 
78 R.I. Div. of Taxation Declaratory Rulings, Ruling Request No. 2003-03 (April 16, 2003), 

http://www.tax.state.ri.us/declaratoryrulings/r2003-03.php (accessed July 12, 2010). 
79 Tenn. Code §§ 67-8-304 (10)(A); 67-8-315(a)(6)  (2011). 
80 Wash. Rev. Code § 83.100.047, http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=83.100.047 (accessed 

September 30, 2011). 
81 New York provided administrative guidance that an estate that is not subject to federal tax (either because the 

federal tax is not in effect or because the value of the estate is less than the exemption amount) could elect a New 
York QTIP amount.  N.Y. State Dept. of Taxation and Finance, “Qualified Terminal Interest Property (QTIP) 
Election for New York State Purposes When No Federal Return is Required,” (March 16, 2010), 
http://www.tax.state.ny.us/pdf/memos/estate_&_gift/m10_1m.pdf (accessed July 12, 2010). 

82 Minn. Stat. § 291.03, subd. 1b (2011 Suppl), https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291.03 (accessed 
October 14, 2011) (allowing the election only to estates that opted out of the federal estate tax in 2010 and 
prohibiting the election from the reducing the estate below $3.5 million, which essentially prevents use of the 
provision to defer tax on all amounts over the state exemption of $1 million). 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=291.03

