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Administration 
MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS). DHS is 
responsible for processing applications and determining eligibility, contracting with managed 
care plans, monitoring spending on the program, and developing administrative rules. Some 
county human services agencies have elected to process MinnesotaCare applications and manage 
MinnesotaCare cases. 
 
 
Eligibility Requirements 
To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals must meet income and asset limits and satisfy 
other requirements related to residency and lack of access to health insurance. MinnesotaCare 
eligibility must be renewed every 12 months. 
 
Income Limits 

Children1 and parents, legal guardians, foster parents, or relative caretakers residing in the same 
household are eligible for MinnesotaCare, if their gross household income does not exceed 275 
percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG) and if other eligibility requirements are met. The 
2009 Legislature allowed children with incomes greater than 275 percent of the FPG to be 
eligible for MinnesotaCare if they meet all other eligibility requirements. This elimination of the 
income limit for children was approved by the federal government on July 1, 2011, and is 
pending implementation by DHS.2  Parents, legal guardians, foster parents, and relative 
caretakers are not eligible if their gross annual income exceeds $57,5003

 

, regardless of whether 
their income exceeds 275 percent of FPG. Different eligibility requirements and premiums apply 
to children from households with gross incomes that do not exceed 200 percent of FPG. 

Adults without children are eligible for MinnesotaCare if their gross household incomes do not 
exceed 250 percent of FPG4

 

 and they meet other eligibility requirements. Adults without children 
with incomes less than or equal to 75 percent of FPG have been eligible for Medical Assistance 
(MA) coverage since March 1, 2011. Under MA, these individuals pay no premiums, are not 
subject to an asset limit, and receive coverage for a broader set of services. The vast majority of 
adults without children eligible for MA coverage have therefore enrolled in that program, rather 
than MinnesotaCare. 

                                                 
1 A child is defined in the law as an individual under 21 years of age, including the unborn child of a pregnant 

woman and an emancipated minor and that person’s spouse.   
2 Prior to the implementation date of this change, children whose income exceeds program limits after initial 

enrollment can remain on MinnesotaCare if 10 percent of their gross annual household income is less than the 
annual premium of the $500 deductible policy offered by the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association. 

3 The federal government approved an increase in the income limit from $50,000 to $57,500 in July 2011. This 
change is pending implementation by DHS. 

4 The income limit for adults without children was increased from 200 percent to 250 percent of FPG on July 1, 
2009. 
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Adult enrollees whose incomes rise above program income limits after initial enrollment are 
disenrolled from the program.  
 
Table 1 lists categories of persons eligible for MinnesotaCare, eligibility criteria, and enrollee 
cost. Table 2 lists program income limits for different family sizes. 
 

Table 1 
Eligibility for MinnesotaCarea 

Eligible Categories 
Household 

Income Limit Other Eligibility Criteria Cost to Enrollee 
Lower income children  200% of FPG Not otherwise insured or 

insurance is considered 
underinsured; residency 
requirement 

Exempt from 
premiums 
(pending DHS 
implementation)b 

Other children 
 

201% - 275% of 
FPGc 

No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement 

Premium based on 
sliding scale 

Pregnant women 275% of FPG No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement 

Premium based on 
sliding scale 

Parents and relative 
caretakers 

275% of FPG or 
$57,500,d 
whichever is less 

No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement; asset limit 

Premium based on 
sliding scale 

Adults without children 
(through June 30, 2012) 

250% No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement; asset limit 

Premium based on 
sliding scale 

Adults without children not 
eligible for defined 
contribution programe 
(beginning July 1, 2012) 

< 200% No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement; asset limit 

Premium based on 
sliding scale 
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Eligible Categories 
Household 

Income Limit Other Eligibility Criteria Cost to Enrollee 
Adults without children 
eligible for defined 
contribution program 
(beginning July 1, 2012) 

> 200% and < 
250% FPG 

No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement; asset limit 

Cost of private sector 
policy that exceeds 
the defined 
contribution 

a Exceptions to these requirements are noted in the text. 
b Prior to implementation, premiums are $4 per month. 
c The 2009 Legislature allowed children with household incomes greater than 275 percent of FPG to be eligible, 
effective upon federal approval, which was received on July 1, 2011; this change is pending implementation by 
DHS. These children will pay the maximum premium. 

d The 2008 Legislature increased the income limit for parents and relative caretakers to $57,500, effective upon 
federal approval, which was received in July 2011. This change is pending DHS implementation. 
e This program is described later in this document. 

 
 
 

Table 2 
Annual Household Income Limits for MinnesotaCare 

(Effective July 1, 2011, through June 30, 2012) 

Household 
Sizea 

Children at or Below 
150% of FPG 

Adults Without 
Children 200% of 

FPGb 

Adults Without 
Children 

250% of FPG 

Families and 
Children 275% of 

FPGc 

1  $16,344 $21,780  $27,228  $29,952 
2  22,080 29,424  36,780  40,464 
3  27,816 Not eligible Not eligible  50,976 
4  33,552 Not eligible Not eligible  61,488 

Each 
Additional 

Person Add  $5,736 Not applicable Not applicable Add  $10,512 
a Pregnant women are households of two. 
b Updated poverty guidelines will apply upon the July 1, 2012, implementation of the MinnesotaCare defined contribution 
program; these dollar amounts are provided for illustrative purposes. 
c Parents are not eligible once income exceeds $57,500. 

 
Asset Limits 

MinnesotaCare adult applicants and enrollees, who are not pregnant, are subject to an asset limit. 
This asset limit is $10,000 in total net assets for a household of one person, and $20,000 in total 
net assets for a household of two or more persons. Certain items are not considered assets when 
determining MinnesotaCare eligibility, including the following: 

• the homestead 
• household goods and personal effects 
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• a burial plot for each member of the household 
• life insurance policies and assets for burial expenses, up to the limits established for the 

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program 
• capital and operating assets of a business up to $200,000 
• insurance settlements for damaged, destroyed, or stolen property are excluded for three 

months if held in escrow 
• a motor vehicle for each person who is employed or seeking employment 
• court-ordered settlements of up to $10,000 
• individual retirement accounts and funds 
• assets owned by children 
• workers’ compensation settlements received due to a work-related injury5

Pregnant women and children are exempt from the MinnesotaCare asset limit. 

 

 
No Access to Employer-Subsidized Coverage 

A family or individual must not have access to employer-subsidized health care coverage. A 
family or individual must also not have had access to employer-subsidized health care coverage 
through a current employer for 18 months prior to application or reapplication. Employer-
subsidized coverage is defined as health insurance coverage for which an employer pays 50 
percent or more of the premium cost. This requirement applies to each individual. For example, 
if an employer contributes 50 percent or more towards the cost of coverage for an employee but 
does not contribute 50 percent or more towards the cost of covering that employee’s dependents, 
the employee is not eligible for MinnesotaCare but the employee’s dependents are eligible. 
 
The requirements of no access to employer-subsidized coverage do not apply to the following: 
 

1. Children from households with incomes that do not exceed 200 percent6

2. Children enrolled in the Children’s Health Plan (the precursor program to 
MinnesotaCare) as of September 30, 1992, who have maintained continuous coverage 

 of FPG 

3. Children who enrolled in the Children’s Health Plan during a transition period following 
the establishment of MinnesotaCare 

Families or individuals whose employer-subsidized coverage was lost because an employer 
terminated health care coverage as an employee benefit during the previous 18 months are also 
not eligible for MinnesotaCare. 
 
A family or individual disenrolled from MinnesotaCare because of the availability of employer-
subsidized health coverage and who reapplies for MinnesotaCare within six months of 

                                                 
5 This asset exclusion was approved by the federal government on October 31, 2008, and became effective 

January 1, 2009. 
6 The 2009 Legislature increased this income limit from 150 to 200 percent of FPG, effective upon federal 

approval, which was received in July 2011. This increase is pending implementation by DHS. 
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disenrollment because the employer terminates health care coverage as an employee benefit is 
exempt from the 18-month enrollment restriction related to access to subsidized coverage. 
 
No Other Health Coverage 

Enrollees must have no other health coverage and must not have had health insurance coverage 
for the four months prior to application or renewal. For purposes of these requirements:  
 

1. MA and CHAMPUS (Civilian Health and Medical Program of the Uniformed Service, 
also called TRICARE) are not considered health coverage for purposes of the four-month 
requirement; and 
 

2. Medicare coverage is considered health coverage, and an applicant or enrollee cannot 
refuse Medicare coverage to qualify for MinnesotaCare. 

 
The four-month uninsured requirement does not apply to the following: 
 

1. Children from households with incomes that do not exceed 200 percent7

 
 of FPG 

2. Children enrolled in the Children’s Health Plan as of September 30, 1992, who have 
maintained continuous coverage 

 
3. Children who enrolled in the Children’s Health Plan during a transition period following 

the establishment of MinnesotaCare 
 
Children described in clauses (1) and (2) also may have other health coverage, if they are 
considered “underinsured.” A child is underinsured if: 
 

1. The coverage lacks two or more of the following:   
 

• basic hospital insurance  
• medical-surgical insurance 
• major medical coverage  
• prescription drug coverage  
• preventive or comprehensive dental coverage 
• preventive or comprehensive vision coverage 

 
2. The coverage requires a deductible of $100 or more per person per year; 
 
3. The coverage excludes services for a particular diagnosis or a preexisting condition; or 

 

                                                 
7 The 2009 Legislature expanded the exemption from the four-month uninsured requirement to include 

children from families with incomes less than 200 percent of FPG, and also increased to this level the income limit 
below which children can have other health coverage if they are underinsured (the prior income limit was 150 
percent of FPG). These changes were effective upon federal approval, which was  received in July 2011, and are 
pending implementation by DHS. 
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4. The child lacks coverage because the maximum coverage for a particular diagnosis has 
been exceeded. 

 
Individuals who receive a state premium subsidy for COBRA continuation coverage for 
unemployed individuals, and their qualified beneficiaries, are exempt from the four-month 
uninsured requirement if the individual or qualified beneficiaries apply for MinnesotaCare 
coverage after COBRA continuation coverage ends (see Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 
78, and subsequent amendments). This exemption expires February 28, 2012. 

Residency Requirement 

MinnesotaCare enrollees must meet the residency requirements of the Medicaid program. The 
Medicaid program requires an individual to demonstrate intent to reside permanently or for an 
indefinite period in a state, but it does not include a durational residency requirement (a 
requirement that an individual live in a state for a specified period of time before applying for the 
program). 
 
The 2011 Legislature eliminated a 180-day durational residency for adults without children, 
effective August 1, 2011. This elimination was related to the receipt of a federal match for this 
eligibility group. 
 
Automatic Eligibility for Certain Children 

Effective upon federal approval, which was received in July 2011, children who resided in a 
foster care or juvenile residential correctional facility at the time of their 18th birthday are 
automatically eligible for MinnesotaCare upon termination or release until the age of 21. These 
children are exempt from the MinnesotaCare income limit, insurance barriers, and premiums 
(these changes are pending implementation by DHS). 
 
 
Benefits 
MinnesotaCare enrollees are covered by several different benefit sets. Pregnant women and 
children have access to the broadest range of services and are not required to pay copayments. 
Parents and adults without children are covered for most services, but are subject to benefit 
limitations and copayments. 
 
Effective July 1, 2012, adults without children with incomes greater than or equal to 200 percent 
of FPG but not exceeding 250 percent of FPG, will use defined contributions provided by the 
state to purchase private sector coverage. Covered services and cost-sharing (e.g., deductibles, 
copayments) will be as provided under the terms of the private sector policy. 
 
The differences in covered services and cost-sharing are summarized in Table 3 below and are 
described in more detail in the text. The defined contribution program is described in a separate 
section that follows. 
 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=79&doctype=Chapter&year=2009&type=0
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Table 3 
Overview of MinnesotaCare Covered Services and Cost-Sharing 

Eligibility Category Covered Servicesa 
Inpatient Hospital 

Limit Cost-Sharing 
Pregnant women and 
children 

MA benefit set None None 

Parents < 215% of FPG Most MA services None • $25 eyeglasses 
• $3 prescriptions 
• $3 nonpreventive visit 
•  $3.50 nonemergency 

visit to hospital ER 
Parents > 215% and  
< 275% of FPG 

Most MA services $10,000 annual limit for 
inpatient hospital 
services 

• $25 eyeglasses 
• $3 prescriptions 
• $3 nonpreventive visit 
•  $3.50 nonemergency 

visit to hospital ER 
Adults without children  Most MA services $10,000 annual limit for 

inpatient hospital 
services  

• $25 eyeglasses 
• $3 prescriptions 
• $3 nonpreventive visit 
•  $3.50 nonemergency 

visit to hospital ER 
• 10% inpatient 

hospital, up to $1,000 
Adults without children ≥ 
200% and ≤ 250% of 
FPG (effective July 1, 
2012) 

Services covered under 
the private sector policy 
purchased 

None, unless private 
sector policy has a limit 

As provided in the 
private sector policy 

a See Table 4 for a list of covered services. 
 
Covered Services and Benefit Limitations 

Pregnant women and children up to age 21 enrolled in MinnesotaCare can access the full range 
of MA services without enrolling in MA, except that abortion services are covered as provided 
under the MinnesotaCare program.8 These individuals are exempt from MinnesotaCare benefit 
limitations and copayments,9

                                                 
8 Under MinnesotaCare, abortion services are covered “where the life of the female would be endangered or 

substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function would result if the fetus were carried to term; or 
where the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest” (Minn. Stat. § 256L.03, subd. 1). Under MA, abortion services 
are covered to save the life of the mother and in cases of rape or incest (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 16) and, 
as a result of a Minnesota Supreme Court decision, for “therapeutic” reasons (Doe v. Gomez, 542 N.W.2d 17 
(1995)). MinnesotaCare enrollees must enroll in the MA program in order to obtain abortion services under the MA 
conditions of coverage. Nearly all MinnesotaCare enrollees who are pregnant women are eligible for MA. 

 but still must pay MinnesotaCare premiums. Pregnant women and 

9 This change in MinnesotaCare was approved by the federal government in April 1995 as part of the state’s 
health care reform waiver (now referred to as the Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus or PMAP+ waiver). The 
waiver, and subsequent waiver amendments, exempt Minnesota from various federal requirements, give the state 
greater flexibility to expand access to health care through the MinnesotaCare and MA programs, and allow the state 
to receive federal contributions (referred to as “federal financial participation” or FFP) for services provided to 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=256L.03
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=256B.0625
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children up to age two are not disenrolled for failure to pay MinnesotaCare premiums and can 
avoid MinnesotaCare premium charges altogether by enrolling in MA. 
 
Parents and adults without children who are not pregnant are covered under MinnesotaCare for 
most, but not all, services covered under MA. Parents with household incomes greater than 215 
percent of FPG, and all adults without children, are subject to an annual benefit limit for 
impatient hospital services of $10,000.10

Effective July 1, 2012, covered services for adults without children with incomes ≥ 200% of 
FPG up to the program limit of 250% of FPG will vary, depending upon the private sector 
coverage that is purchased with the defined contribution. 

 

 
Table 4 

Covered Services Under MinnesotaCare 

Service 
Children; Pregnant 

Women 
Parents;  

Adults without childrena 

Acupunctureb x x 
Adult mental health rehab/crisis x x 
Alcohol/drug treatment x x 
Child and teen checkup x  
Chiropractic x x 
Common carrier transportation x  
Dentalc x x 
Emergency room x x 
Eye exams x x 
Eyeglasses x x 
Family planning x x 
Hearing aids x x 
Home care  x  xd 
Hospice care x x 
Hospital stay  x x 
Hospital care coordinationb x x 
Immunizations x x 
Interpreters (hearing, language) x x 
Lab, x-ray, diagnostic x x 
Medical equipment and supplies x x 
Mental health x x 

                                                                                                                                                             
MinnesotaCare enrollees who are children, pregnant women, or parents and relative caretakers of children under age 
21. Since August 1, 2011, the state has also received under the waiver FFP for services provided to MinnesotaCare 
enrollees who are adults without children with incomes above 75 percent but not exceeding 250 percent of FPG. The 
PMAP+ waiver was recently reauthorized by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services for the period 
July 1, 2011, through December 31, 2013. 

10 An increase in the income limit at or above which the annual inpatient hospital benefit limit applies (from 
200 percent to 215 percent of FPG) took effect July 1, 2009. 
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Service 
Children; Pregnant 

Women 
Parents;  

Adults without childrena 

Mental health case management x x  
Nursing home/ICF/MR x  
Outpatient surgical center x x 
Physicians and clinics x x 
Physicals/preventive care x x 
Prescriptions x x 
Rehabilitative therapies x x 
School-based services x  
Transportation: emergency x x 
Transportation: special x  
a Benefit limitations and cost-sharing requirements apply. 
b This benefit is effective January 1, 2012. 
c MinnesotaCare covers the dental services covered under MA. Effective January 1, 2010, MA 
coverage of dental services for adults who are not pregnant (and therefore MinnesotaCare coverage 
of dental services for this category of individuals) was limited to specified services (see Minn. Stat. § 
256B.0625, subd. 9). 

d Personal care attendant and private duty nursing services are covered for children and pregnant 
women, but are not covered for parents and adults without children. 

 
Copayments for Adults 

Parents and adults without children, who are not pregnant, are subject to the following 
copayments:   
 

• Copayment of 10 percent of paid charges for inpatient hospital services, up to an annual 
maximum of $1,000 per adult. (This copayment does not apply to parents and relative 
caretakers of children under age 21.) 

• $3 copayment per prescription 
• $25 copayment per pair of eyeglasses 
• $3 per nonpreventive visit (does not apply to mental health services) 
• $3.50 for nonemergency visits to a hospital emergency room (reduced from $6.00, 

effective January 1, 2011) 
• A family deductible, effective January 1, 2012 

 
 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=256B.0625
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=256B.0625


House Research Department Updated:  October 2011 
MinnesotaCare Page 11 
 
 

Enrollee Premiums 
Premium Exemption for Children 

Children with family incomes at or below 200 percent of FPG are not charged premiums.11

 
 

Sliding Premium Scale 

MinnesotaCare enrollees (who are not children exempt from premiums) pay premiums 
equivalent to the percentages of gross monthly income specified in Table 5. This premium scale 
became effective July 1, 2009, and replaced a premium scale under which the enrollee 
contribution ranged from 1.8 percent to 8.8 percent of monthly gross household income. 
 

Table 5 
Sliding Premium Scale 

Federal Poverty Guideline Range 
Average Percentage of Gross 

Monthly Income Paid as Premium 
0% – 45% Minimum premium of $4/month 

46 – 54 
$4/month or 1.1%, whichever is 

greater 

55 – 81 1.6% 
82 – 109 2.2 

110 – 136 2.9 
137 – 164 3.6 
165 – 191 4.6 
192 – 219 5.6 
220 – 248 6.5 
249 – 275 7.2 

 
Premium Exemption 

Members of the military and their families who are determined eligible for MinnesotaCare 
within 24 months of the end of the member’s tour of active duty are exempt from premiums for 
12 months.12

 
 

Nonpayment of Premiums 
 

                                                 
11 Federal approval for this provision was received in July 2011; this change is pending implementation by 

DHS. Prior to implementation, children from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent of FPG are 
charged a minimum premium of $4 per month. 

12  The 2011 Legislature eliminated the sunset of this provision. 
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Unless an exemption applies, nonpayment of premiums results in disenrollment from 
MinnesotaCare effective the calendar month for which the premium was due.13

 

 If an enrollee 
who is pregnant fails to pay the premium, MinnesotaCare coverage continues until the last day of 
the month in which 60 days postpartum occurs. If the premium is not paid for an enrollee who is 
a child under age two, MinnesotaCare coverage continues to the last day of the month following 
the month in which the child turns two years of age. 

Enrollees who are disenrolled due to nonpayment of premiums may reinstate their coverage 
retroactively to the first day of disenrollment by paying all billed premiums within 20 days of 
disenrollment. Individuals who do not reinstate their coverage cannot reenroll in MinnesotaCare 
until four calendar months have elapsed, unless the individual demonstrates good cause for 
nonpayment. 
 
Prepaid MinnesotaCare 

The legislature has authorized the Commissioner of Human Services to contract with health 
maintenance organizations and other prepaid health plans to deliver health care services to 
MinnesotaCare enrollees. All MinnesotaCare enrollees receive health care services through 
prepaid health plans and not through fee-for-service. 
 
Prepaid health plans (sometimes referred to as managed care organizations) receive a capitated 
payment from DHS for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, and in return are required to provide 
enrollees with all covered health care services for a set period of time. Five percent of each 
plan’s capitation rate is withheld annually, and returned pending the plan’s completion of 
performance targets related to various process, quality, and clinical measures. 
 
Under prepaid MinnesotaCare, enrollees select a specific prepaid plan from which to receive 
services, obtain services from providers in that plan’s provider network, and follow that plan’s 
procedures for seeing specialists and accessing health care services. 
 
Effective for admissions occurring on or after July 1, 2011, inpatient hospital services provided 
to adults without children enrolled in MinnesotaCare have been delivered on a fee-for-service 
basis, with DHS making payments directly to hospitals.    
 
The 2011 Legislature authorized a two-year competitive bidding pilot to serve nonelderly, 
nondisabled adults and children in the seven-county metropolitan area. The pilot project must 
allow a minimum of two managed care organizations to serve the metropolitan area and will be 
implemented January 1, 2012. 
 
The 2011 Legislature also made a number of changes related to managed care payment rates.  
These include: 
 

                                                 
13 The 2008 Legislature provided a grace month extending the enrollment of a person who fails to pay the 

premium to the first day of the calendar month following the calendar month for which the premium was due. This 
provision was subject to federal approval, which had not been received by the time the 2011 Legislature repealed the 
language authorizing a grace month. 
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• adding as performance targets subject to payment withholds measures related to reducing 
a plan’s hospital admission rate and rate of hospital readmission within 30 days of a 
previous hospitalization; and 

• reducing capitation rates by 6 percent for families and children, beginning September 1, 
2011, and for the calendar years 2013 through 2015, setting limits on trend (inflation) 
increases to capitation rates of 3 percent or 4 percent, depending upon the enrollee group 
and year. 

 
 
MinnesotaCare Defined Contribution Program 
The 2011 Legislature directed DHS to implement, beginning July 1, 2012, a defined contribution 
program for certain MinnesotaCare enrollees who are adults without children. Enrollees will be 
able to use the defined contribution to purchase private sector individual health coverage. 
Defined contribution program enrollees will be exempt from paying MinnesotaCare sliding scale 
premiums and cost-sharing, but will be required to pay any portion of their premium that exceeds 
the monthly defined contribution and will be subject to the deductible and cost-sharing 
requirements of the private sector coverage they purchase. 
 
Eligibility and Program Requirements 

MinnesotaCare enrollees who are adults without children with incomes equal to or exceeding 
200 percent of FPG will be eligible for the defined contribution program beginning July 1, 2012, 
and will not be eligible to receive coverage under the standard MinnesotaCare program. 
 
Defined contribution program enrollees will not be charged MinnesotaCare sliding scale 
premiums and will not be required to enroll with a managed care or county-based purchasing 
plan to receive coverage. 
 
Covered services, deductibles and other cost-sharing, disenrollment for nonpayment of premium, 
enrollee appeal rights and complaint procedures, and the effective date of coverage will be as 
provided under the terms of the private sector coverage purchased by the enrollee. 
 
Requirements of the standard MinnesotaCare program related to eligibility, income and asset 
methods, income reporting, and program administration will continue to apply to defined 
contribution program enrollees. 
 
Use of the Defined Contribution; Health Plan Requirements 

An enrollee will have available a monthly defined contribution to help pay premiums for private 
sector health plan coverage. The defined contribution program generally does not require health 
plans purchased by enrollees to meet specific criteria regarding covered benefits or cost-sharing, 
other than requiring that the health plan purchased must: 
 

1. provide coverage for mental health and chemical dependency services; and 
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2. comply with the limitations on abortion coverage of the standard MinnesotaCare 
program.14

 
 

Enrollees are required to select a health plan within three months of approval of MinnesotaCare 
eligibility. If a health plan is not selected and purchased within this time period, the enrollee 
must reapply and meet all eligibility criteria. 
 
Enrollees who fail to pay a health plan premium will be disenrolled by DHS from 
MinnesotaCare on the first day of the calendar month following the calendar month for which 
the premium was due. Persons who are disenrolled for nonpayment of premium or who 
voluntarily terminate coverage cannot enroll in MinnesotaCare until four calendar months have 
elapsed. 
 
Defined Contribution Amounts 

The amount of the monthly defined contribution received by an enrollee will vary with the 
enrollee’s age and income. The authorizing legislation specifies monthly base contribution 
amounts that vary with age. Enrollees receive a percentage of this base contribution, depending 
upon their income. 
 
The monthly base contribution varies with age as provided in the following table. 
 

Table 6 
Monthly Contributions 

Age Monthly Base Contribution 
19-29 $125 
30-34 $135 
35-39 $140 
40-44 $175 
45-49 $215 
50-54 $295 
55-59 $345 
60+ $360 

 
The monthly defined contribution received by an enrollee will be calculated by multiplying the 
monthly base contribution by a percentage that varies inversely with income as follows: 
 

1. Persons with household income equal to 200 percent of FPG will receive a defined 
contribution equal to 93 percent of the base contribution 

 

                                                 
14 Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.03, subdivision 1, limits abortion coverage under MinnesotaCare to 

situations “where the life of the female would be endangered or substantial and irreversible impairment of a major 
bodily function would result if the fetus were carried to term; or where the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest.” 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=256L.03


House Research Department Updated:  October 2011 
MinnesotaCare Page 15 
 
 

2. Persons with household incomes equal to 250 percent of FPG will receive a defined 
contribution equal to 80 percent of the base contribution 

 
3. Persons with household incomes that fall between 200 and 250 percent of FPG will 

receive a defined contribution equal to a percentage that is interpolated in evenly 
spaced increments from the defined contribution percentages specified in clauses (1) 
and (2) 

 
The defined contribution will be increased by 20 percent for enrollees who are denied private 
sector coverage and purchase coverage through the Minnesota Comprehensive Health 
Association (MCHA) (see below). 
Administration by DHS 

The Minnesota Department of Human Services will administer the defined contribution program.  
DHS duties include: 
 

1. Calculating and processing defined contributions for enrollees; 
 

2. Paying the defined contribution to health plan companies or MCHA, as applicable, 
for enrollee health plan coverage; 
 

3. Developing, in consultation with the Department of Commerce, an efficient and cost-
effective method of referring eligible applicants to professional insurance agent 
associations; and 
 

4. Seeking federal financial participation for adult enrollees covered under the defined 
contribution program. 

 
Coverage Through MCHA 

MCHA is a high-risk insurance pool that makes health coverage available to persons who are 
turned down for private sector coverage because of a preexisting health condition, or who meet 
other eligibility criteria. 
 
If MinnesotaCare enrollees eligible for the defined contribution program are turned down for 
individual coverage in the private market, they may use the defined contribution to purchase an 
MCHA policy, and the MCHA six-month preexisting condition limitation will be waived. DHS 
is required to pay MCHA any difference between the revenue received and actual coverage 
losses to MCHA related to implementation of this provision. This money will be appropriated 
annually to DHS from the health care access fund. 
 
Funding and Expenditures 
Total payments for health care services provided through MinnesotaCare were $665 million in 
fiscal year 2010. Sixty-seven percent of this amount was paid for through state payments from 
the health care access fund. The remainder is paid from enrollee premiums (this category also 
includes enrollee cost-sharing), federal funding received under the Prepaid Medical Assistance 
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Project Plus (PMAP+) waiver, and the Minnesota’s Children’s Health Insurance Program 
(CHIP)15

 
 allotment. 

Funding for the state share of MinnesotaCare costs, and for other health care access initiatives, is 
provided by: 
 

• A 2 percent tax on the gross revenues of health care providers, hospitals, surgical centers, 
and wholesale drug distributors (sometimes referred to as the “provider tax”); and   

 
• A 1 percent premium tax on health maintenance organizations and nonprofit health 

service plan corporations.  
 
Medicare payments to providers are excluded from gross revenues for purposes of the gross 
revenues taxes. Other specified payments, including payments for nursing home services, are 
also excluded from gross revenues. 
 

MinnesotaCare Funding 
(FY2010) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division 

 
 
The 2011 Legislature authorized the Commissioner of Management and Budget to contingently 
reduce the tax rate on health care providers, if the commissioner determines by December 1 of 
each year that the ratio of revenues to expenditures and transfers for the health care access fund 
for the biennium will exceed 125 percent. If this determination is made, the commissioner is to 
reduce the rate so that the projected ratio of revenues to expenditures and transfers for the 

                                                 
15 The PMAP+ waiver and federal funding available through the waiver is described in footnote  9 on page 8. 

The state may make a claim against its CHIP allotment for the difference between the CHIP federal matching rate 
for Minnesota (65 percent) and the Medicaid federal matching rate for Minnesota, for the cost of services provided 
to children under age 21 whose family income equals or exceeds 133 percent of FPG but does not exceed 275 
percent of FPG. Minnesota had a CHIP waiver until January 31, 2009, that provided an enhanced federal match of 
65 percent for parent and relative caretakers enrolled in MinnesotaCare with family incomes greater than 100 
percent but not exceeding 200 percent of FPG. Parents and relative caretakers now receive the regular MA federal 
match of 50 percent. 
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Families with Children
62%

Adults without Children 
38%

biennium will not exceed 125 percent. Any rate reduction expires after one year and the future 
rate is subject to annual redetermination by the commissioner. 
 
The 2011 Legislature also repealed the MinnesotaCare provider taxes, effective for gross 
revenues received after December 31, 2019. 
 
Recipient Profile 
As of June 2011, 142,958 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program. Just over six 
out of ten of MinnesotaCare enrollees are children, parents and caretakers, or pregnant women. 
 

MinnesotaCare Enrollment 
(June 2011) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division, 
MinnesotaCare Monthly Report. July 22, 2011 

 
 
 

Application Procedure 
Application forms for MinnesotaCare, and additional information on the program, can be 
obtained from DHS by calling:  
 

1-800-657-3672 or 
651-297-3862 (in the metro area) 

 
Application forms are also available through county social service agencies, health care provider 
offices, and other sites in the community. Applications are also available on the Internet at 
www.dhs.state.mn.us/HealthCare. 
 
For more information about health care programs, visit the health and human services area of 
our website, www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm. 
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