This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/lrl.asp

Office on the Economic Status of Women

Fact Sheet

WOMEN IN MINNESOTA EXECUTIVE OFFICES 2010 GENERAL ELECTION RESULTS

Three of the five* statewide offices are held by women as a result of the 2010 general election.

Governor

No woman has been elected to the position of Governor in Minnesota.

Lieutenant Governor

Six women have served in the position of Lieutenant Governor. The office of lieutenant governor in Minnesota has been filled continuously by a woman since 1983.

- The first female Lieutenant Governor, Marlene Johnson (DFL), was elected in 1982. Johnson was re-elected in 1986 and served a total of two terms.
- The second female Lieutenant Governor, Joanell Dyrstad (IR), was elected in 1990 and served for one term.
- Mae Shunk (elected as Independence Party, changed to Reform Party) was elected in 1998 and served for one term as the fourth female lieutenant governor.
- Carol Molnau (R), the state's fifth female lieutenant governor, was elected in the 2002 general election and served for two terms.
- Yvonne Prettner Solon, the state's sixth and current lieutenant governor, was elected with Mark Dayton in the 2010 general election.

Attorney General

The first female Attorney General in Minnesota, Lori Swanson, was elected in 2006 and re-elected in 2010.

Secretary of State

Three women have been elected to the position of Secretary of State in Minnesota.

- The first female Secretary of State was Mrs. Mike Holm (R). Mrs. Holm was appointed to fill her husband's position after his death in 1951 until the November 1952 election. In the 1952 election, Mrs. Holm was elected serve out the remainder of the term ending in January 1953, as well as the two year term ending in January 1955.
- Joan Growe (DFL) was the second female Secretary of State. Growe was first elected to the position in 1974 and served in that capacity for more than 20 years from 1975 to 1998.
- Mary Kiffmeyer (R), was the third female Secretary of State in Minnesota. She was first elected in 1988 and served two terms.

State Auditor

Three women have been elected to the position of State Auditor in Minnesota.

- The first female State Auditor in Minnesota, Judy Dutcher (elected as R, changed to DFL in 2000), was first elected in the 1994 general election. Dutcher was reelected in 1998 and served two terms.
- Patricia Anderson (R), the second female State Auditor was elected in 2002 and served two terms.
- Rebecca Otto (D), the third and current State Auditor in Minnesota was first elected in 2006 and is in her second term.

*Note: The number of statewide offices decreased from six to five when the Office of the State Treasurer was abolished in 2003. The first and only woman to serve in this position was Carol Johnson (DFL), elected in 1998 until the office was abolished.

04/13/11 ab