This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/lrl.asp



August 19, 2011

The Honorable Claire Robling Chair, Senate Finance Committee 226 Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable David Senjem Chair, Senate Capital Investment Committee 121 Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 The Honorable Mary Liz Holberg Chair, House Ways and Means Committee 453 State Office Bldg St. Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable Larry Howes Chair, House Capital Investment Committee 491 State Office Bldg St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Members of the Minnesota Legislature:

I am pleased to present preliminary capital budget requests for FY 2012 that were submitted by agencies and political subdivisions.

Please note that these requests are preliminary and have not yet been reviewed by Management & Budget (MMB) or the Governor. To date, these preliminary requests total \$2.256 billion (all sources of financing): \$1.757 billion from agencies and \$499 million from local governments.

In anticipation of the Governor's Strategic Capital Budget being submitted to the Legislature by January 15, 2012, MMB and the Department of Administration will work with agencies and higher education institutions over the next several months to develop additional project information and refine cost estimates. MMB will also provide information to assist local political subdivisions as they further develop and refine their capital project requests.

I am certain you will find this preliminary project information useful as you begin consideration of these important and competing uses for the state's limited financing capacity. If you need additional information or assistance, please feel free to contact Gay Greiter at (651) 201-8049 of my staff.

This information is also available at www.mmb.state.mn.us.

Sincerely.

James Schowalter Commissioner

Enclosures

- cc: Senator Amy Koch Representative Kurt Zellers Senator Tom Bakk Representative Paul Thissen David Jensen
- Brent Gustafson Koryn Zewers Bill Marx Tina Smith Michele Kelm-Helgen
- Erin Campbell Margaret Kelly Kristin Hanson Mike Roelofs Gay Greiter