# Participation in the Livable Communities Act Local Housing Incentives Account - 2011

**January 14, 2011** 

A Report to the Legislature Fulfilling Minnesota Statute 473.254, Subdivision 9

#### **Metropolitan Council Members**

Susan Haigh	Chair
Roger Scherer	District 1
Tony Pistilli	District 2
Robert McFarlin	District 3
Craig Peterson	District 4
Polly Bowles	District 5
Peggy Leppik	District 6
<b>Annette Meeks</b>	District 7
Lynette Wittsack	District 8
Natalie Haas Steffen	District 9
Kris Sanda	District 10
Georgeanne Hilker	District 11
Sherry Broecker	District 12
Rick Aguilar	District 13
Kirstin Sersland Beach	District 14
Daniel Wolter	District 15
Wendy Wulff	District 16

 General phone
 651-602-1000

 Data Center
 651-602-1140

 TTY
 651-291-0904

E-mail data.center@metc.state.mn.us

Web site www.metrocouncil.org

Publication No. 78-11-004

Printed on recycled paper with at least 20% post-consumer waste.

On request, this publication will be made available in alternative formats to people with disabilities. Call the Metropolitan Council Data Center at 651 602-1140 or TTY 651 291-0904.

#### INTRODUCTION

The Metropolitan Livable Communities Act (LCA) requires the Metropolitan Council to report by February 1 of every year which municipalities elected to participate and which did not elect to participate in the local housing incentive account (LHIA) program for that calendar year (Minnesota Statutes 473.254, section 5, subsection 9).

#### **BACKGROUND**

The LCA supports regional policy which calls for the expansion of the opportunities for affordable and life-cycle housing throughout the region, creative planning that links jobs, transportation and housing, and revitalization of the region's older cities. Communities within the seven-county area that participate in the local housing incentives account program may receive grants or loans from the three funding accounts of the LCA Fund. These funds are the tax base revitalization account, livable communities demonstration account, and the local housing incentives account. Only LCA participating communities may apply for and receive grants from the polluted sites clean-up program administered by the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development. In addition, the law says the Council "shall give consideration to a municipality's participation" in the Local Housing Incentives Account program when making discretionary funding decisions.

#### LCA PARTICIPATION

In 2010, the Metropolitan Council undertook a process to renegotiate affordable and life cycle housing goals for the period 2011 through 2020 with the 105 communities currently participating in the LCA. The previous goals, negotiated for the period 1996 through 2010, expired at the end of 2010.

Using the affordable housing needs numbers established for the 2008 local comprehensive plan update process as the basis for the new LCA affordable housing goals, the Council proposed goal expectations for communities that represent a numerical range of units listing each community's share of the region's total need and reflecting the affordable housing funding limitations anticipated for the 10-year goal period.

For the life-cycle goals requirement of the LCA, the Council proposed communities adopt a goal range encompassing the community's share of the regional affordable housing need at the low-end of the range, and the total number of new attached housing units that can be developed in the community given the community's land use plan as the high-end of the range.

On November 15, 2010, a public hearing was held by the Metropolitan Council on the goals adopted by a resolution from the local governing body from 91 communities seeking to continue participation in 2011, and from two additional cities seeking to participate in the statute's programs for the first time. On December 8, 2010 the Metropolitan Council adopted, by resolution, the goals adopted by the Livable Communities participating communities for 2011 – 2020.

# MUNICIPALITIES PARTICIPATING IN THE METROPOLITAN LIVABLE COMMUNITIES ACT LOCAL HOUSING INCENTIVES PROGRAM IN 2011

#### **ANOKA COUNTY**

Anoka
Blaine
Centerville
Columbia Heights
Coon Rapids
East Bethel
Fridley
Hilltop
Lexington
Lino Lakes
Oak Grove
Ramsey
St. Francis

#### **CARVER COUNTY**

Carver
Chaska
Cologne
Hamburg
Mayer
New Germany
Norwood/Young
America
Victoria
Waconia

#### **DAKOTA COUNTY**

Watertown

Apple Valley
Burnsville
Eagan
Farmington
Hastings
Inver Grove Heights
Lakeville
Mendota Heights
Rosemount
South St. Paul
West St. Paul

#### **HENNEPIN COUNTY**

Bloomington Brooklyn Center Brooklyn Park Champlin Crystal Dayton Eden Prairie Edina Excelsion Golden Valley **Hopkins** Long Lake Loretto Maple Grove Maple Plain Medina Minneapolis Minnetonka Mound New Hope Osseo Plymouth Richfield Robbinsdale

#### oomington Belle Pla

Belle Plaine
Elko-New Market
Jordan
Prior Lake
Savage

## WASHINGTON COUNTY

Cottage Grove
Forest Lake
Hugo
Lakeland
Lake St. Croix Beach
Mahtomedi
Newport
Oakdale
St. Paul Park
Stillwater
Willernie
Woodbury

#### **RAMSEY COUNTY**

Rogers

Wayzata

St. Anthony St. Bonifacius

St. Louis Park

Arden Hills
Falcon Heights
Lauderdale
Maplewood
Mounds View
New Brighton
North St. Paul
Roseville
St. Paul
Shoreview
Vadnais Heights
White Bear Twp.

# MUNICIPALITIES NOT PARTICIPATING IN THE LOCAL HOUSING INCENTIVES PROGRAM IN 2011

Afton Linwood Twp.
Andover Little Canada
Bayport Louisville Twp.

Baybaya Two

Baytown Twp.

Belle Plaine Twp.

Marine on St. Croix

Marshan Twp.

May Twp.

Benton Twp. May Twp.
Bethel Medicine Lake
Birchwood Mendota

Blakeley Twp. Miesville

Camden Twp. Minnetonka Beach

Castle Rock Twp. Minnetrista

Cedar Lake Twp. New Market Twp.

Chanhassen . New Trier
Circle Pines . Nininger Twp.
Coates . North Oaks
Columbus . Nowthen

Corcoran Oak Park Heights

Credit River Twp. Orono
Dahlgren Twp. Pine Spri

Dahlgren Twp.

Dellwood

Deephaven

Denmark Twp.

Douglas Twp.

Pine Springs

Randolph

Randolph Twp.

Ravena Twp.

St. Lawrence Twp.

Empire Township St. Mary's Point Eureka Twp. San Francisco Twp. Gem Lake Sand Creek Twp.

Grant Scandia
Greenfield Sciota Twp.
Greenvale Twp. Shakopee
Greenwood Shorewood

Grey Cloud Twp. Spring Lake Park Ham Lake Spring Lake Twp.

Hampton Spring Edic Twp
Hampton Spring Park
Hampton Twp. Stillwater Twp.
Hancock Twp. Sunfish Lake
Hassan Twp. Tonka Bay
Helena Twp. Vermillion

Hollywood Twp.
Independence
Jackson Twp.
Lake Elmo
Lakeland Shores

Vermillion Twp.
Waconia Twp.
Waterford Twp.
Watertown Twp.
West Lakeland Twp.

Laketown Twp. Woodland

Landfall Young America Twp. Lilydale

### Livable Communities Act Participants, 2011

