

## STATE OF MINNESOTA

## OFFICE OF GOVERNOR TIM PAWLENTY

## **Commission on Judicial Selection**

130 State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul, MN 55155

**CREATED BY:** The Commission on Judicial Selection is under Minnesota Statutes § 480B.

**PURPOSE:** Solicit judicial candidates, evaluate applicants and recommend three to five

nominees to the Governor.

**JURISDICTION:** District court vacancies during the term of a judge and Workers'

Compensation Court of Appeals.

**MEMBERSHIP:** 49 members, including attorneys and non-attorneys;

9 at-large members who address all judicial vacancies;

7 appointed by the Governor; 2 appointed by the Supreme Court;

4 district members representing each of the state's 10 judicial districts who address vacancies that occur in their district;

2 appointed by the Governor;2 appointed by the Supreme Court.

The total membership of the Commission for a particular vacancy is 13.

**COMPENSATION:** No per diem, no expense reimbursement.

**CONTACT:** John Hultquist, Director of Judicial Appointments, 651-296-0019 or

john.hultguist@state.mn.us

**MEMBERS:** 

At-large:

Appointed by the Governor:

Eric Magnuson (Chair), attorney Mary Ellen Domeier, non-attorney

Inver Grove Heights New Ulm

Leonardo Castro, attorney Jean Michaels, non-attorney

White Bear Township Rochester

Rene Diebold, attorney

**Granite Falls** 

Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Lenor Scheffler, attorney Annamarie Daley, attorney

Eden Prairie Hamel

Ronald Schutz, attorney Karen Himle, non-attorney

Medina Minnetonka

Voice: (651) 296-3391 or (800) 657-3717 ◆ Fax: (651) 296-0056 ◆ TDD: (651) 296-0075 or (800) 657-3598 Web site: http://www.governor.state.mn.us

An Equal Opportunity Employer

**First Judicial District:** 

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Michael Dougherty, attorney Joyce Grannis, attorney

Burnsville South St. Paul

Sonja Faust, non-attorney Michael Jordan, non-attorney

Waconia Apple Valley

**Second Judicial District:** 

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Steven Kirsch, attorney Mark Gehan, attorney

Vadnais Heights St. Paul

Iris Cornelius, Ph.D., non-attorney Stacey Millett, non-attorney

St. Paul St. Paul

**Third Judicial District:** 

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Jill Frieders, attorney Mahlon Schneider, attorney

Rochester Austin

Rita' Hillmann Olson, non-attorney Roger Metz, non-attorney

New Prague Rushford

**Fourth Judicial District:** 

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Richard Ostlund, attorney Hildy Bowbeer, attorney

Eden Prairie Bloomington

John Delmonico, non-attorney Roxanne Givens Copeland, non-attorney

Minneapolis Bloomington

Fifth Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Marcus Christianson, attorney James Manahan, attorney

Mankato Mankato

David Sturrock, non-attorney Christine Fritsche, non-attorney

Marshall Marshall

**Sixth Judicial District:** 

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Thomas Thibodeau, attorney Edward Matonich, attorney

Duluth Hibbing

David Ellefson, non-attorney Mary Cameron, non-attorney

Hibbing Duluth

Voice: (651) 296-3391 or (800) 657-3717 ◆ Fax: (651) 296-0056 ◆ TDD: (651) 296-0075 or (800) 657-3598 Web site: <a href="http://www.governor.state.mn.us">http://www.governor.state.mn.us</a> An Equal Opportunity Employer

**Seventh Judicial District:** 

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Thomas Reif, attorney Michael Ford, attorney

Alexandria St. Cloud

Paul Dovre, Ph.D., non-attorney Raymond Schulte, non-attorney

Moorhead Little Falls

Eighth Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

L. Wayne Larson, attorney

Willmar

Steven Hettig, attorney

Olivia

Susan Kamrath, non-attorney Robin Henderson, non-attorney

Canby Granite Falls

Ninth Judicial District:

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Richard Breen, attorney Arthur Drenckhahn, attorney

Brainerd Warren

Victoria White, non-attorney Glenda Bergeson, non-attorney

Walker Fertile

**Tenth Judicial District:** 

Christine Rice, non-attorney

Appointed by the Governor: Appointed by the Supreme Court:

Jean Tews, non-attorney

James Weber, Jr., attorney
Ramsey

Joan Quade, attorney
Blaine

Lake Elmo Mahtomedi

Voice: (651) 296-3391 or (800) 657-3717 ◆ Fax: (651) 296-0056 ◆ TDD: (651) 296-0075 or (800) 657-3598 Web site: <a href="http://www.governor.state.mn.us">http://www.governor.state.mn.us</a> An Equal Opportunity Employer