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Arctic Cat ATVs over 90cc may not be ridden by anyone under 16 years of age. Arctic Cat recommends that all riders take a training course, and that they read 
and understand their owner’s manual before operation. For Safety or training information, see your dealer or call the ATV Safety Institute at (800) 877-2887. 
©2009 Arctic Cat Sales inc., ®™ Trademarks of Arctic Cat Inc., Thief River Falls, MN 56701
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This is a summary of Minnesota’s safety laws, rules and regulations 
for off-highway vehicles. For the purposes of this guide, off-highway 
vehicles include all-terrain vehicles, off-highway motorcycles and 
off-road vehicles. For complete regulations consult state statutes  
and rules. 

This information is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by 
calling (651) 296-6157 (Metro Area) or 1-888-MINNDNR or Telecommunication 
Device for the Deaf/TTY: (651) 296-5484 (Metro Area) or 1-800-657-3929. 

Copyright 2009, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources 

Equal opportunity to participate in and benefit from programs of the Minnesota 
Department of Natural Resources is available to all individuals regardless of race, 
color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, public assistance status, 
age, sexual orientation, disability or activity on behalf of a local human rights com-
mission. Discrimination inquiries should be sent to MN-DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, 
St. Paul, MN 55155-4031; or the Equal Opportunity Office, Department of the 
Interior, Washington, DC 20240. 

This publication is partially funded through advertising revenue. The State of Min-
nesota and the Department of Natural Resources can neither endorse the products 
or services advertised, nor accept any liability arising from the use of these products 
or services. 
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FOR MORE INFORMATION 
DNR Web Site: www.mndnr.gov/ohv

Where To Ride Your OHV: www.findthetrails.com

Safety Training: DNR Information Center, (651) 296-6157,  
toll-free 1-888-646-6367 or DNR Safety Training Program Headquarters, 
Camp Ripley, Little Falls, MN, 1-800-366-8917;  
www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle

State Trails: DNR Information Center, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 
55155-4040, (651) 296-6157, toll-free 1-888-646-6367;  
www.findthetrails.com

Vehicle Registration: DNR License Center, 500 Lafayette Rd.,  
St. Paul, MN 55155-4026, (651) 296-2316, toll-free 1-800-285-2000;  
www.mndnr.gov/rlp 

Hearing Impaired: (651) 296-5484, toll-free 1-800-657-3929. 
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DNR Conservation Officers ask:

R u cirtefyd 2 ryd?
Are you certified to ride? DNR Conservation Officers 
remind you that Minnesota State laws require certain All-Terrain Vehicle 
(ATV) and Off-Highway Motorcycle (OHM) operators to take a DNR 
Safety Certification course before operating on public lands.

ATV Operators - Persons at least 15 years old and born after July 1, 1987 must 
successfully complete ATV Safety Training before operating an ATV on public lands, 
frozen waters, public road rights-of-way, or state or grant-in-aid trails!  (See page 32.)

OHM Operators - Persons under the age of 16 must successfully complete OHM Safety 
Training before operating an OHM on public lands, frozen waters, or state or grant-in-
aid trails. (See page 35.)

 ATV/OHM/ORV Safety Training Information 
www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle

Ride Safe - Ride SmaRt, alwayS!

See Us for  
All Your  
Off-ROad 

Needs

Prior Lake: 952-440-8845
Victoria: 952-443-3207

www.diggerspolaris.com

THe WORLd’s TOUGHesT aTVs®

WArNING! ATVs can be hazardous to operate. for your safety, always wear a helmet, eye protection, and protective clothing and never carry pas-
sengers unless the adult ATV has been designed by the manufacturer specifically for that purpose. Polaris adult models are for riders aged 16 and 
older. Be sure to take a safety training course. for safety and training information in the u.S., call the SVIA at (800) 887-2887. You may also contact 

your Polaris dealer or call Polaris at (800) 342-3764. for safety training in Canada, contact your local Polaris dealer.

Paid Advertisement
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WHAT’S NEW!
• State Forest riding opportunities have changed, see page 19.
• ATV engine displacement increased to less than 960 c.c., see page 6.
• OHV Gross Misdemeanor, operator privileges revoked and vehicle 

forfeiture for violating certain laws, see page 24.
• Youth OHM operator under 12 participating in DNR permitted event 

not required to be accompanied by an adult, see page 34.
• Youth OHM operation, accompanying adult no longer needs to be on an 

OHM, see page 34.
• Firearm/bow transportation while hunting, see page 27.
• Non-resident ATV Trail Pass needed starting Jan. 1st, 2010, see page 11.
• OHV operation on roadways to avoid obstacles and environmentally 

sensitive areas, see page 33.

trail ambassadors!
When you’re on the trail, keep an eye out for Volunteer 
Trail Ambassadors!  These dedicated individuals are a 
part of a program to promote and assist with safe and 
environmentally responsible riding and trail use. Trail 
Ambassadors are specially trained to meet and greet fellow 
outdoor enthusiasts and educate trail users about responsible 
OHV riding on public lands. Trail Ambassadors are not law 

enforcement. They are dedicated volunteers acting as extra eyes and ears for 
the DNR on the numerous miles of state OHV trails.

This unique volunteer grant program is a result of a cooperative effort between 
the All-Terrain Vehicle Association of Minnesota (ATVAM), Amateur Riders 
Motorcycle Association (ARMCA), Minnesota 4 Wheel Drive Association 
(MN4WDA), Minnesota United Snowmobilers Association (MnUSA) and 
the DNR. 

If you see a Trail 
Ambassador, take a 
minute to say ‘Hi’! 

VOLUNTEER TRAIL
       AMBASSADOR

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT 
OF NATURAL RESOURCES

SAFE
ETHICAL

RESPONSIBLE
Riders
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DEFINITIONS 
The term off-highway vehicle (OHV) is used to describe all-terrain 
vehicles, off-highway motorcycles, and off-road vehicles.

all-terrain vehicles (atVs) 
Class 1 ATVs are motorized flotation-tired vehicles with at 

least three but no more than six low pressure tires that have an engine 
displacement of less than 960 cubic centimeters and total dry weight of 
less than 900 pounds. 

Class 2 ATVs are motorized flotation-tired vehicles with at least 
three, but no more than six, low pressure tires that have an engine 

displacement of less than 960 cubic centimeters and total dry weight of 
900 to 1,500 pounds.
    Dry weight is normally the weight of the vehicle without fluids.

Off-highway motorcycles (OHms) 
OHMs are motorized off-highway vehicles traveling on two 

wheels. OHMs have a seat or saddle designed to be straddled by the 
operator and have handlebars for steering control. Motorcycles may be 
legal for highway use and still considered to be OHMs if used for off-
highway operation on trails or natural terrain. 

Off-road vehicles (ORVs) 
ORVs are motorized recreational vehicles capable of cross-

country travel on natural terrain.

Vehicles NOT considered ORVs include snowmobiles, ATVs, OHMs, 
motorcycles, watercraft or aircraft. Farm, logging, military, emergency, 
law enforcement, utility, trail grooming, and construction vehicles are not 
considered to be ORVs when used for their intended purpose. 
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agricultural zone
The Minnesota agricultural zone is the area lying 
south and west of a line formed by the following 
highway rights-of-way: starting at the North 
Dakota border, the line goes east along State 
Highway 10 to State Highway 23, then follows 
Highway 23 east to State Highway 95 to the 
Wisconsin border. The agricultural zone does 
not include the rights-of-way of these boundary 
highways, and applies only to Class 1 ATV use. 

agricultural zone restriction
You may not drive an ATV within the right-of-way (ditch) of a state or 
county road from April 1 to August 1 in the agricultural zone. This does 
not apply to Class 1 ATVs registered and used exclusively for agricultural 
purposes. Class 2 ATVs cannot be operated in ditches. 

Off-highway vehicle use areas are areas posted or designated for off-
highway vehicle use. 

Public road right-of-way means the entire right-of-way of a roadway 
that is not privately owned, including the traveled portions, banks, 
ditches, shoulders, and medians. 

It is illegal to operate on the inside slope, shoulder, and roadway of state and 
county roads. NOTE: Class 2 ATVs may be operated on the shoulder or extreme 
right side of county or township road and city streets if not prohibited by the 
road authority or other local laws. Class 2 ATVs may NOT be operated on the 
shoulder of a state trunk highway.
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Public waters where OHVs may not ride include: below the ordinary 
high-water level of unfrozen lakes, rivers, and streams; certain 
wetlands; or in calcareous fens. The inventory of public waters can 
be viewed on DNR’s web site; DNR Waters and Fisheries offices; and 
various county offices. 

Watch for these designated trail signs. 

Note: A diagonal slash across any of the above signs indicates trail closed for 
that type of vehicle use.

Class 1 ATV 
trail indicator

OHM trail 
indicator

ORV trail 
indicator

Class 1 and 2 ATV  
trail indicator

Grant-in-aid trails and areas include those that receive 
grants through the DNR administered grant-in-aid 
program. 

Before operating an OHV in a state forest see pages 19 – 
22 for information on state forest use.

findthetrails.com
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OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLES 
RegistRation 
An individual must be at least 18 years old to register 
an off-highway vehicle. 

ATVs 
• All-terrain vehicles are classified and registered as either a Class 1 ATV 

(under 900 pounds) or a Class 2 ATV (900 to 1,500 pounds). All ATVs 
operated in Minnesota must be registered with the DNR, including 
those used exclusively on private property. 

• Class 1 or Class 2 will be indicated on the owners ATV registration card 
and decal.

• ATVs 25 years and older are exempt from registration if they were 
originally produced as a separate, identifiable make by a manufacturer. 

atV Public/Recreational Use Registration 
• Public use registration allows for the operation of Class 1 ATVs in the 

ditch bottom; on the outer slope of roadside ditches along state and 
county roads; on the right side of township roads and city streets, if not 
prohibited by the road authority or other local laws. 

• Public use registration allows for the operation of Class 2 ATVs on the 
shoulder or extreme right side of county roads and on the right side of 
township roads and city streets, if not prohibited by the road authority or 
other local laws. Class 2 ATVs may not be operated in the ditch unless 
part of a designated Class 2 trail.

• A public/recreational use registration is valid for three years.
 

atV Private/agricultural Use Registration 
• ATVs (Class 1 and Class 2) are registered for private use when used 

exclusively for agricultural activities, harvesting wood, or on private 
property. 

• A private use registration does not expire and is valid until the ownership 
of the ATV is transferred. 

atV dual Public and Private Use Registration 
• Some circumstances require ATVs to be registered for both public and 

private use. If an ATV is used for agricultural purposes on road surfaces, a 
private use registration is required. If the same ATV is also used on public 
land or frozen water, both public and private use registrations are needed. 
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OHMs 
All OHMs operated in Minnesota must be registered with DNR, even if 
used exclusively on private property or in track racing events. 

OHm Recreational and Highway Use Registration 
Some OHMs are equipped so that they may be legally licensed for 
highway use. An OHM licensed for highway use that is also used off-
road must have both the regular motorcycle license and the DNR OHM 
registration. 

ORVs 
All ORVs operated on DNR designated or grant-in-aid ORV trails or 
areas must be registered with DNR. 

ORV Recreational and Highway Use Registration 
Many ORVs are licensed for highway use. An ORV licensed for highway 
use that is also operated on designated public ORV use areas or trails 
must have both the regular vehicle license and DNR ORV registration. 

How To Register An Off-highway Vehicle 
• Off-highway vehicles can be registered at a deputy registrar of motor 

vehicles office (where automobile license tabs are purchased) or at the 
DNR License Center in St. Paul. You may renew your OHV registration 
on-line at www.mndnr.gov/licenses/ohv/index.html. No additional fee 
will be charged.

• The information required for registration of an off-highway vehicle 
includes the make, model, year, serial number, and sales receipt. For ATV 
and OHM registration the engine size is required. For ATV registration 
the dry weight is also required. 

• ATVs and OHMs purchased from a retail dealer must be registered 
at the dealer by the owner.  The dealer will issue a temporary 21-day 
registration.

• A registration card and an expiration decal are issued when an ATV or 
OHM is registered. 

• Owners of ORVs licensed for roadway use must register their ORVs 
with the DNR for use on designated trails and areas. The owner is given 
a registration card and decal at the time of registration. 

• If you sell your OHV give the new owner the registration card and a  
bill of sale.

• Any transfers and registration renewals are the responsibility of  
the owner. 



Off-Highway Vehicles Regulations

11

Minnesota OHV registration is NOT required for: 
• OHVs registered in another state or country and not in Minnesota for more  

than 30 days 
• ATVs that are used exclusively in organized track racing events 
• ATVs that are 25 years and older
• OHMs registered for highway use when operated on forest roads.
• ATVs owned by a resident of another state or country that does not require 

registration of all-terrain vehicles; not in Minnesota for more than 30 consecutive 
days; and are operated on state and grant-in-aid trails by a non-resident 
possessing a non-resident ATV state trail pass.  Effective Jan 1, 2010. See 
below for more detail on non-resident ATV Trail pass.

 

Dealer and Manufacturer Registration 
OHV dealers and manufacturers must register with the DNR to operate 
machines for testing or demonstration purposes. A registration certificate 
and a registration plate will be issued. The registration certificate must 
be prominently displayed in the place of business. Additional plates are 
available for $4.00 plus filing fee. 

The registration plate must be displayed on the vehicle before dealers or 
manufacturers may operate or permit operation of any off-highway vehicle 
they own or control. 

Dealer and manufacturer registration applications and plates may be 
purchased at a local deputy registrar and at the DNR License Center, 500 
Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4026, 651-296-2316, or toll-free 
1-800-285-2000. The plates will be issued from the DNR. 

Non-resident ATV trail pass
Beginning January 1, 2010 Non-residents operating an ATV on state or 
grant-in-aid trails must possess a trail pass.  The trail pass does not need 
to be displayed on the machine, but must be available for inspection when 
requested by an officer.  The pass is required regardless of the registration 
status of the machine, and whether registered in Minnesota or another 
state. 

Non-residents do NOT need a pass if operating on a portion of an ATV 
trail that is owned by the person or the person’s spouse, child, or parent.  

Duplicate non-resident ATV trail passes are available.
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Registration Fees

As long as
machine is held
by same party{

ATV Registration Fees Fee  Issuance   Total Duration
(Class 1 and Class 2)   Fees   Fees
New Public Use  45.00  8.50  53.50 3 Years
Renewal Public Use  45.00  6.00  51.00 3 Years
Transfer  4.00  8.50  12.50
Private/Agricultural  6.00  8.50  14.50 
Duplicate  4.00  6.00  10.00
Dealer–New  50.00  8.50  58.50 1 Year
Dealer–Renewal  50.00  6.00  56.00 1 Year
Manufacturer–New  150.00  8.50  158.50 1 Year
Manufacturer–Renewal  150.00  6.00  156.00 1 Year 
Duplicate Decal    6.00  6.00

 
OHM Registration Fees Fee  Issuance   Total Duration  
   Fees  Fees
New   30.00  8.50  38.50 3 Years
Renewal  30.00  6.00  36.00 3 Years
Transfer  4.00  8.50  12.50
Duplicate  4.00  6.00  10.00
Dealer–New  50.00  8.50  58.50 1 Year
Dealer–Renewal  50.00  6.00  56.00 1 Year
Manufacturer–New 150.00  8.50  158.50 1 Year
Manufacturer–Renewal  150.00  6.00  156.00 1 Year
Duplicate Decal    6.00  6.00

ORV Registration Fees Fee  Issuance  Total Duration  
   Fees  Fees
New   30.00  8.50  38.50 3 Years
Renewal  30.00  6.00  36.00 3 Years
Transfer  4.00  8.50  12.50
Duplicate  4.00  6.00  10.00
Dealer–New  50.00  8.50  58.50 1 Year
Manufacturer–New  150.00  8.50  158.50 1 Year
Manufacturer–Renewal  150.00  6.00  156.00 1 Year
Duplicate Decal    6.00  6.00

Non-resident ATV Trail Pass Fees  Fee  Issuance Total  Duration
   Fees Fees
New  20.00  1.00  21.00 1 Year
Duplicate  2.00 0.50 2.50

NOTE: ATVs 25 years and older do not need to be registered. 

Non-Resident ATV Trail Pass Fees
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Display of Numbers and Decals 
atV 
ATVs registered for public or dual use must display the current public use 
registration number and decal(s) on a plate at least 4 inches high and 7½ 
inches long. The plate must be clearly visible on the back of the vehicle and at 
least 12 inches from the ground. The plate and decal must be maintained in a 
clear and legible condition. 

Registration letters and numbers must be: 
• at least 1½ inches high with a 3/16-inch stroke 
• in English and placed from left to right 
• in a color that contrasts with the background of the plate. 

For a public use registration, the decal must be displayed in the 
upper left section of the plate. 

For private use only registration, the decal must be displayed in 
the upper right section of the plate. No numbers are needed for 
this type of registration. 

For a dual registration, the public use decal and private use 
decal must be displayed in the appropriate section of the plate. 

OHm 
OHMs registered only for off-road use must display the current registration 
decal on the side of the OHM so it is visible while the rider is on the OHM. 
It may be attached to the fork tube. 

When an OHM is operated on private property, or in a closed-course 
competition event, registration is required but the registration decal does not 
have to be displayed. 

OHMs licensed in Minnesota for roadway use and 
registered for off-road use, must display the OHM 
decal in the upper left corner of the rear regular 
motorcycle license plate. The DNR registration 
number should not be displayed. 
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ORV 
ORVs registered only for designated trail or area use 
must display the current decal on a plate at least 4 inches 
high and 7½ inches long. No registration number should be 
displayed. The plate must be clearly visible on the back of 
the vehicle and at least 12 inches from the ground. The decal must be displayed 
in the upper left corner of the plate. The plate and decal must be maintained in 
a clear and legible condition. 

ORVs licensed in Minnesota for roadway use and also 
used off-road in designated public ORV trails and use 
areas, must display the ORV decal in the upper left corner 
of the regular rear motor vehicle license plate. The DNR 
registration number should not be displayed. 

Expiration and Renewal 
The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the decal. All 
public use ATV and all OHM and ORV renewals expire on December 31st of 
the last year the registration is valid. 

Individuals who notify the DNR of mailing address changes should receive a 
notice by mail to renew their registration. Whether notified or not, owners are 
responsible for renewing their public use ATV, OHM, and ORV registrations. 

Private use ATV registration does not expire. It is valid until the ownership  
is transferred. 

Replacement Registration Cards and Decals 
Off-highway vehicle owners may obtain a replacement registration card for 
$10.00 or a replacement decal for $6.00 from the DNR License Center or the 
Deputy Registrar of Motor Vehicles. Replacement decals and numbers must be 
affixed in the same manner as the original. 

Individuals are not required to carry the registration card, but when an 
enforcement officer requests to see it, it must be provided within a reasonable 
time period. 



Check For Other Government Regulations or Ordinances 
Cities, towns, counties, and road authorities may further regulate the 
operation of off-highway vehicles under their jurisdiction. Check 
with the appropriate unit of government for additional regulations. 
The U.S. Forest Service, the National Park Service, and the U.S. Fish 
and Wildlife Service regulate motor vehicle use on federal lands. 
Check with the managing agency before riding on these lands. 

Off-Highway Vehicles Regulations
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geneRaL oPeRations 
The following regulations apply to all off-highway vehicles: all-terrain 
vehicles, off-highway motorcycles, and off-road vehicles. Information and 
regulations specific to each of these vehicle types can be found in the All-
Terrain Vehicle, Off-Highway Motorcycle, and Off-Road Vehicle sections 
of this booklet. 

Required Equipment 
Off-highway vehicles operated on public lands, waters, trails, and public 
streets and roads open to vehicle use, must be equipped as follows: 

Brakes
• Brakes must control movement and stop and hold the vehicle. 

throttle
• The throttle must return the engine to idle when pressure to advance the 

throttle is removed. 
mufflers

• Mufflers must have a federally approved spark arrestor. 
• Overall noise emission from ATVs and ORVs may not exceed 99 

decibels at a distance of 20 inches. 
• OHMs that are not competition cycles, and were manufactured in or 

after 1986, may not exceed noise emissions of 96 decibels at a distance of 
20 inches. 

• Mufflers may not be altered to increase motor noise, or have a cutout, 
bypass, or similar device except for organized events. 

towing 
• A straight-arm bar must be used to tow a trailer or other device 

containing passengers. 
• A disabled vehicle being towed may contain a person to steer. 
• At least 16 square inches of reflective material that is unobstructed  

and visible must be mounted on each side and at the rear of a trailer  
or other device. 
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Where You May Ride 
you may operate an off-highway vehicle: 

• on private land with the landowners permission 
• on frozen public waters where you have legal access, if not restricted  

by law or local ordinance 
• on public lands and trails that are open to OHVs. 

in the seven-county metro area, you may ride: 
• on your own land 
• on land other than your own with written or verbal 

permission of the landowner, occupant, or lessee
• on land posted with signs specifically permitting the use 

of off-highway vehicles.

For more information on where you can ride 
including trails and maps go to www.findthetrails.com 

Land uses vary. Be sure to check federal, state, and local regulations for 
specific restrictions. 

Where You May NOT Ride 
Also see specific sections for additional restrictions. 
you may not operate an off-highway vehicle: 

• on the median of a four-lane highway 
• within the right-of-way of any interstate highway
• on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic
• on grant-in-aid snowmobile trails
• on designated non-motorized trails 
• at airports
• below the ordinary high-water level of unfrozen public waters that are lakes, 

streams, rivers, and certain wetlands, or in calcareous fens 
• on any frozen public waters where you don’t have legal access or where it is 

prohibited 
• in any area restricted by local ordinances or municipalities, including streets 
• in a tree nursery or planting area on state forest lands that are posted or 

designated closed to motorized uses (see pages 19-22) 
• on agricultural land without permission (see page 26)
• in most state parks, state recreation areas, state historic sites, wildlife 

management areas*, state scientific and natural areas with the exception of 
posted trails and areas.
 *OHV use is generally prohibited on wildlife management areas (WMA) with the exception 

of Carlos Avery, Hubbel Pond, Mille Lacs, Red Lake, Roseau River and Thief Lake, where 
highway licensed motor vehicles may be operated on established roads at speeds up to 
20 miles per hour.



OHMs, ORVs, and Class 2 ATVs cannot be operated in ditches unless on 
a trail designated for that specific vehicle type. 

inside the seven-county metro area, you may not ride 
• on land you do not own unless given written or verbal permission by the owner, 

occupant, or lessee. 

Outside the seven-county metro area you may not ride 
• on land that you have been told verbally, in writing, or by posted signs, not to ride. 

Other Prohibitions 
you may not: 

• operate an off-highway vehicle in a careless, reckless, or negligent manner that 
endangers another person or property 

• litter 
• enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence 
• mutilate, destroy, damage, or remove any property within a trail or on state land 
• post, damage, or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless you are the 

landowner, occupant, or lessee of the property. 

OHVs and Wetland Disturbance 
a person may not operate an OHV in a manner to: 

• indicate a willful, wanton, or reckless disregard for the safety of persons  
or property 

• carelessly upset the natural and ecological balance of a wetland or public  
waters wetland 

• impact a wetland or public waters wetland in excess of minimum amounts 
established under law. 

Penalties increased for OHV wetland disturbance. Conviction may be 
a Gross Misdemeanor and/or the Off-Highway Vehicle (ATV, OHM, 
ORV) forfeited. See page 24.

Wetland restrictions apply to private land as well as public land, and vary 
by area of the state and other criteria. Check the DNR Web site for more 
information, www.mndnr.gov. 

FIT RIGHT!  Youth must NOT operate adult 
ATVs!  It’s illegal and dangerous!

Off-Highway Vehicles Regulations
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Speed 
You may not operate an off-highway vehicle at a speed greater than is 
reasonable under all of the surrounding circumstances or greater than the 
posted speed limit on any public lands, waters, trails, or public road rights-
of-way. Watch for and obey speed limit signs posted on trails. 

Speed limits may be waived in writing by the DNR for an organized race 
or similar competitive event. Contact the DNR at 1-888-MINNDNR 
(646-6367). 

Trail Riding 
• All trail signs must be obeyed.
• All designated trails are two-way unless posted otherwise. 
• One-way trails must be traveled in the direction indicated. 
• When meeting or being passed by another trail user, you must stay to the right 

half of the tread-way. 
• When passing another trail user you must pass on the left half of the tread-way 

and only when the trail is free from oncoming traffic to safely pass the other  
trail user. 

• When entering or crossing a trail tread-way you must yield to trail traffic. 
• When two trail users are about to enter an unmarked tread-way intersection 

from different directions, the trail user to the right has the right-of-way. 
• Motorized trail users must yield the right-of-way to non-motorized trail users and 

shut off their machines when meeting a horse until the horse has passed or until 
waved on.

• Non-resident operators are required to have an ATV trail pass when operating on 
state or grant-in-aid trails, regardless of the registration status of the ATV (see 
page 11 for more information).

 

Crossing Public Roads 
A valid driver’s license is required to operate anywhere it is legal on road 
rights-of-way including ditches, inside and outside slopes, and crossing 
roads. The only exception would be on portions of a designated trail for 
that vehicle type that specifically includes a road right-of-way. 

when making a direct crossing of a street or road: 
• come to a complete stop and look both ways 
• yield to all traffic 
• cross the road at a 90 degree angle 
• cross a divided road only at an intersection. 

2009–2010

18



state FoRest LanDs 
OHVs are generally permitted on state forest roads and trails in 
accordance with state forest motor vehicle use classifications and 
regulations. (See the list of forest land classifications on page 23).

Motor Vehicle Use Classification and Rules 
State forest lands are classified as either:

managed - Forest roads, trails, and non-designated access 
routes are open to recreational motor vehicle use unless 
posted closed. No vehicle use off road, trail or access route 
is permitted. For hunting/trapping exceptions, see page 21. 

limited - Forest roads are open to motor vehicle use unless 
posted closed. Trails and non-designated routes are closed 
to motor vehicle use, except where designated and signed 
to permit specific motor vehicle use. No vehicle use off 
road or trail is permitted. For hunting/trapping exceptions, 
see page 21.

Closed - Forest roads are open to motor vehicle licensed 
for highway use. No OHVs are permitted, except that 
OHVs may operate on frozen public waters (e.g., across 
lakes for ice fishing). Areas closed to motor vehicle use 
by statute or regulations (e.g., State Forest lands with 
the BWCA) are automatically classified as ‘closed’. The 
hunting/trapping exceptions do not apply in ‘closed’ 
forests.

NOTE: Snowmobiles are unaffected by forest land motor vehicle use 
classification.

Minnesota Law
Legislation requires that OHV’s operate only on trails identified on an official DNR OHV map. 

• In managed state forests north of US Hwy. 2, OHVs may operate on mapped 
trails and other existing access routes that are not gated or posted closed.

• In both managed and limited state forests, forest roads are open to OHV use 
unless posted closed.

• In limited state forests, OHV operation is allowed only on signed and mapped 
routes that are open for that type of OHV use.

Off-Highway Vehicles Regulations
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Seasonal or temporary road and trail closures may be imposed at any 
time due to trail repairs, wet soil conditions, logging operations or other 
natural resource protection or public safety concerns. Most often, closures 
happen during spring thaw or following a heavy summer rainfall. Closures 
are unpredictable, so always check www.findthetrails.com before you ride 
(updated Thursdays after 2 p.m.). 
 
where you may ride*    

• In a Managed forest: All state forest roads, trails, and non-designated access 
routes

• In a Limited forest: Forest roads and trails designated and signed to permit 
specific motor vehicle use. 

• In a Closed forest: On frozen public waters.
• On trails specifically designated and signed for a vehicle type, for example trails 

can be designated for ATV, OHM, and or ORV use. 

where you may NOt ride*
• Within the boundaries of an area that is posted and designated as closed.
• In a state forest classified as Closed. 
• On designated non-motorized trails unless also posted open for a specific 

motorized use.
• Off of access routes, roads, and designated trails except when hunter/trapper 

exception applies. (See the MN DNR Hunting and Trapping Regulations for more 
information).

• On forest lands in a manner that causes erosion or rutting, damages, or 
destroys trees or growing crops (the rutting provision does not apply on 
designated motorized trails).

• On or over lakes, rivers or streams except: 
• When the water body is ice-covered. 
• At a bridge, culvert or designated low-water crossing.

See the list of forest land classifications on page 23.
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Other Restrictions and Prohibitions
• You must travel at reasonable and prudent speeds; obey speed limit, traffic and 

road closure signs; and not operate in a manner that causes damage to the 
road, land, or other natural resources. 

• No person shall construct an unauthorized permanent trail on state forest lands. 
• Motor vehicle use causing erosion, rutting, or damage to trees is prohibited.
• Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest - Motor vehicles and snowmobiles 

may operate ONLY on forest roads that are not posted closed, and on forest 
trails that are designated for motorized use.

events on state forest lands
To hold a special event on state forest lands, a permit is required. Contact 
the MN DNR area forester to find out more.

For emergencies or authorized special events, the DNR may provide temporary 
exceptions to the general rules for a specific state park, forest campground, forest day 
use area or state forest lands. Notice of the exception will be plainly posted at the site. 

Hunting/trapping exceptions* 
Traveling off roads and trails (cross-country travel) in a limited state forest 
or off roads, trails and access routes in a managed  state forest is prohibited 
except, persons with a valid hunting, trapping, or commercial license in 
possession may use:
Class 1 ATVs to travel cross-county to:

1. Retrieve big game (Sept. to Dec.)
2. Hunt for big game and construct stands (Oct. to Dec.)
3. Trap during the open season for protected furbearers
4. Trap for minnows under certain conditions.

Class 2 ATVs, ORVs and Highway-Licensed Vehicles (HLVs) to travel 
on a trail not specifically designated for other uses.

See MN DNR Hunting and Trapping Regulations for more information 
at http://www.mndnr.gov/regulations/hunting/index.html 
*Does not apply in the R.J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest.
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areas with limitations 
The big game hunter/trapper exceptions do not apply in 
areas signed and mapped as “No Motorized Travel.”

NATIONAL FOREST LANDS
National Forest lands in MN are open to many public uses including camping, hunting, 
fishing, trapping, snowmobiling and OHVs. State of Minnesota regulations regarding 
boating, fishing, hunting, ATV or snowmobile operation apply on national forest lands.  
The Motor Vehicle Use Map (MVUM), is the legal guide for motor vehicle use on the 
national forests. The MVUM is updated annually and available at no charge at the 
Forest Supervisor or Ranger District Offices.

Where you MAY ride: OHV and Highway Licensed Vehicles (HLV) on Forest Roads or 
trails designated open to these uses on the MVUM map.

Where you may NOT ride: Roads that are signed, gated, bermed with dirt, rocks, trees 
etc. or not designated open on the MVUM map.  

For information, contact: Chippewa National Forest, (218) 335-8600, www.fs.fed.us/
r9/forests/chippewa; or Superior National Forest, (218) 626-4300, www.fs.fed.us/r9/
forests/superior

COUNTY FOREST LANDS
Counties may have adopted different regulations on county-administered land within 
state forest boundaries. For information on regulations, roads and trails on county land, 
please contact that county directly.
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Managed Forest Lands
Beltrami Island
Big Fork
Blackduck
Cloquet Valley 2
Finland 2
George Washington 2

Grand Portage 2
Kabetogama
Koochiching 
Lake of the Woods
Lost River
Northwest Angle

Pine Island
Red Lake
Smokey Bear
Sturgeon River 2 
(portions outside 
Superior National 
Forest, SNF)

Limited Forest Lands
Badoura
Bear Island 3
Bowstring
Buena Vista 2
Burntside 1, 3
Chengwatana
Cloquet Valley 2, 4 
Crow Wing
D.A.R. 3
Emily
Finland 2
Fond du Lac
Foothills
General C.C. Andrews

George Washington 2, 4
Golden Anniversary
Grand Portage 2
Hill River 3
Huntersville
Land O’ Lakes 3
Lake Jeanette 1, 3
Lyons
Mississippi Headwaters
Nemadji
Pat Bayle
Paul Bunyan
R.J. Dorer Memorial 
Hardwood 5

Remer
Rum River
Savanna 3
St. Croix
Smoky Hills 
Snake River 2, 4
Solana
Sturgeon River 2, 4 
(portions inside SNF)
Two Inlets
Wealthwood
White Earth 4 
Waukenabo 3

Closed Forest Lands
Battleground 
Birch Lakes
Buena Vista 2 
Burntside 1
Cloquet Valley 2, 4

Finland 2 
George Washington 2, 4
Insula Lake
Lake Isabella
Lake Jeanette 1

Pillsbury
Sand Dunes
Snake River 2, 4
Welsh Lake
Whiteface River

1 Portions located within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness (BWCAW) are 
closed to all motor vehicle use.

2 Some portions also classified as Managed, Limited and/or Closed
3 Effective September 1, 2009
4 Effective December 31, 2009
5 NOTE: The big game hunter/trapper motor vehicle use exception DOES NOT APPLY 

within the R.J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood State Forest 

State Forests Classification
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enFoRCeMent 
Conservation officers, deputy sheriffs, police officers, and state troopers, all 
enforce off-highway vehicle rules. You must stop when signaled by a law 
enforcement officer. 

To report an OHV violation or an accident, contact the local police 
department, sheriff ’s office, the state patrol, or a DNR conservation officer.
Conservation officers are dispatched and reached through the State Patrol.  
To find your local Conservation Officer go to: www.mndnr.gov/enforcement

Penalties 
• Fleeing an enforcement officer on an OHV is a felony and the OHV used may  

be forfeited. 
• A violation of an ATV, OHM, or ORV law is a misdemeanor. 
• Most operation, registration, and trespass violations can also be enforced by 

issuing a civil citation and can include restitution. Fines for second or subsequent 
violations in wetlands, including the use of snorkel devices or for careless or 
reckless operation, can be more than double.

• Carelessly and recklessly upsetting the natural and ecological balance of a 
wetland is a gross misdemeanor, and vehicle forfeiture upon a second gross 
misdemeanor of this type 

Violator Suspension and Training 
OHV operators who receive a ticket and are convicted of violating any 
law related to OHV operation are required to complete the DNR safety 
training CD. In addition to the CD, an ATV operator who is convicted of 
a careless or reckless offense, or for a second or subsequent offense, must 
complete a test and operating component.

In addition to the above training requirements, operating privileges are 
suspended for one year for:

• conviction for carelessly and recklessly upsetting the natural and ecological 
balance of a wetland (gross misdemeanor violation);

• operation on unfrozen public water, or in a state park, SNA, or WMA;
• willful, wanton, or reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property;
• carelessly upsetting the natural and ecological balance of a wetland or public 

waters wetland.

Reporting Stolen, Abandoned, or Destroyed Vehicles 
A registered off-highway vehicle that is abandoned, stolen, or destroyed 
must be reported to the DNR License Center within 15 days. No fee is 
charged for reporting the vehicle. 
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Accident Reports 
The OHV operator and the officer investigating an OHV accident must 
file a written report to the DNR within 10 days if the accident resulted in a 
human injury requiring medical attention, hospitalization, or death; or total 
damage of $300 or more for ORVs, or $500 or more for ATVs and OHMs. 
Accident reports are available by calling the DNR, or online at 
www.mndnr.gov/enforcement/forms.html

oPeRating WHiLe intoXiCateD 
Operating an off-highway vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, a 
controlled substance, or other hazardous substance is unlawful. Operators
who are impaired may be required to submit to tests by an enforcement 
officer. Refusal to submit to the test is a crime and the person’s operating 
privileges will be suspended for one year.  

Off-Highway Vehicle DWI convictions and refusals are recorded on the 
violator’s driver’s license record and may affect your driver’s license 
privileges.  An operator who is found to be impaired or has an alcohol 
concentration of .08 or more, can be charged with a misdemeanor, gross 
misdemeanor, or felony level 
DWI. 

Persons convicted of a DWI 
may be subject to one or more 
of the following: fines; jail 
time; loss of OHV operating 
privileges; forfeiture of the 
OHV; loss of motor vehicle 
driver’s license privileges motor 
vehicle plate impoundment.

Open Bottle law
It is unlawful for a person to 
drink or consume alcoholic 
beverages when an OHV is 
operated on a roadway, or 
shoulder of a roadway, that is 
not a part of a designated trail 
for that vehicle type.
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tResPass 
Ask First! 
You must have permission to enter 
legally posted land or agricultural land*.

Trespass laws apply to all outdoor recreation, including off-highway 
vehicle riding. Landowners, lessees, or land managers only need to post 
their land ‘No Trespassing’ once a year. Just because property isn’t posted, 
doesn’t mean you have the right to enter.  The posted signs indicate the 
landowner’s intention to prevent unauthorized entry. 

There can be civil and criminal penalties for violation of the trespass 
laws. Civil penalties for OHVs start at $100 for first offense and range 
up to $500 and loss of license or registration for a third offense within 
three years. Penalties will be doubled for operation in wetlands or with 
snorkel devices.  Further information on trespass laws can be found in the 
Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook.  www.mndnr.gov 

*Note: Agricultural land is broadly defined.  All planted grassland, hay land, and short-
rotation woody cropland meet the definition of agricultural land, including grasslands 
enrolled in the federal Conservation Reserve Program (CRP), Conservation Reserve 
Enhancement Program (CREP), and the state RIM Reserve program. These lands do 
not need to be posted.  Entering without permission is trespassing.

you may not: 
• wound or kill another person’s domestic animal
• destroy private property 
• pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original position
• stray off marked state trails.

Firearms Deer Hunting 
To reduce disturbance during prime hunting hours, a person possessing a 
valid deer license may operate an off-highway vehicle during the firearms 
deer season only: 

• before legal shooting hours (one-half hour before sunrise) 
• from 11 a.m. until 2 p.m. 
• after legal shooting hours (one-half hour after sunset). 
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ReLateD LaWs 
Firearms Transportation 
A person MAY transport an unloaded and uncased shotgun or rifle in a 
motor vehicle while:  1) at a shooting range with permission;  2) lawfully 
hunting on public or private land; or  3) traveling to or from a site the 
person intends to hunt that day or has hunted that day.  However, a 
person MAY NOT transport an uncased shotgun or rifle within:  1) 
Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties;  2) an area where the discharge of 
a firearm is prohibited by ordinance;  3) a city with a population of 2,500 
or more;  4) school grounds; or  5) game refuges; or  6) as regulated under 
shining and night vision laws.  A handgun/pistol cannot be transported 
uncased without a valid permit to carry.  See MN Hunting and Trapping 
Regulations Handbook for more detailed information.

atV CRoss-CoUntRY tRaVeL 
ATV cross-country travel is PROHIBITED on state lands except for 
Class 1 ATVs operated during certain times for big game hunting and 
retrieval, trapping, and constructing stands. See hunting and trapping 
exceptions on page 21.

ATVs with engines 90cc or greater may not be ridden by anyone under 16 years of age. Yamaha recommends that all riders take a training course, and that they read and 
understand their owner’s manual before operation. For Safety or training information, see your dealer or call the ATV Safety Institute at (800) 877-2887.  ATVs can be hazardous 
to operate. For your safety: Always avoid paved surfaces. Never ride on public roads. Always wear a helmet, eye protection and protective clothing. Never carry passengers. 
Never engage in stunt riding, Riding and alcohol/drugs don’t mix. Avoid excessive speed. and be particularly careful on difficult terrain. 

Paid Advertisement

Lano Equipment 
Norwood Young America, MN

952-467-2181

St. Boni Motor Sports
St. Bonifacius 

952-446-1554

Waldoch Sports 
Forest Lake

651-464-5776

Big Bear® 250

See All the Yamaha 
Utility and Sport ATVs 

Side-by-Side!
Visit Your Greater Twin Cities Yamaha 

Dealer Today!
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ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLE 
SECTION 

ATV Youth Operators 

Anyone under the age of 16 must have permission from their parent or 
guardian to operate an ATV.

It is unlawful for anyone in control of an ATV to permit it to be operated 
contrary to the following requirements: 

Class 1 ATV Operation
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Age         Requirement
• May operate only on private property with permission of the owner 
• Must have parent or guardian permission to operate.

• May operate only on private property with permission of the owner 
• May operate ATV up to 90cc on public lands and frozen waters if 

accompanied by parent or legal guardian 
• Must wear an approved helmet while operating or riding on public 

lands, trails, and frozen public waters 
• Must have parent or guardian permission to operate.

• Must have an ATV safety certificate valid only after successfully 
completing BOTH the ATV Safety Training CD and Safety Training 
Class (see page 32). 

• Must be able to properly reach and control the handle bars and foot 
pegs while sitting upright on the seat (see page 31)

• May operate an ATV on public lands and frozen waters and make 
direct crossing of roadways with a valid safety certificate if 
accompanied on another ATV by a person 18 or over who has a valid 
driver’s license 

• Must wear approved helmet while operating or riding on public lands, 
trails, and frozen waters and when crossing road rights-of-way 

• Must have parent or guardian permission to operate.

• Must successfully complete the ATV Safety Training CD before 
operating on public lands, frozen waters, public road rights-of-way, or 
state or grant-in-aid trails 

• Must have a valid driver’s license to make a direct crossing of a 
roadway or operate on road rights-of-way 

• Must wear approved helmet while operating or riding on public lands, 
trails, and frozen public waters and on road rights-of-way. 

Under 10

10 and 11

12 - 15

16 and 17



Class 2 ATV Operation
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• May operate a Class 2 ATV
• Must wear approved helmet while operating or riding on public lands, 

trails, and frozen public waters and on road rights-of-way
• Must have a valid driver’s license to make a direct crossing of a 

roadway or operate on road rights-of-way
• Must wear a seat belt if provided by the manufacturer.

• Must have an ATV safety certificate valid only after successfully 
completing BOTH the Safety Training CD and the Safety Training Class 
(see page 32).

• Must be able to properly reach and control the handle bars and foot 
pegs while sitting upright on the seat (see page 31)

• May operate an Class 2 ATV on public lands and frozen waters and 
make direct crossing of roadways with a valid safety certificate if 
accompanied on another ATV by a person 18 or over who has a valid 
driver’s license 

• Must have parent or guardian permission to operate.

• Must successfully complete the ATV Safety Training CD before 
operating on public lands, frozen waters, public road rights-of-way,  
or state or grant-in-aid trails (see page 32).

15 - 17

15 year olds

16 and 17

Age           Requirement

Approved Helmet
An approved helmet worn by an Off-Highway Vehicle (ATV, OHM, 
ORV) operator or passenger must meet Federal law, which requires 
the helmet to display the symbol DOT.  DOT is the manufacturer’s 
certification that the helmet conforms to the applicable Federal motor 
vehicle safety standards.  Standard bicycle helmets and hockey helmets 
are not legal helmets for riding these motorized vehicles.

SLOW DOWN!  Trails are NOT race tracks and ditches 
have many hazards!



Potential Risks of the ATV Design
ATVs have a high center of gravity, high ground clearance and a short 
narrow wheelbase.  They can roll over forwards, backwards, or sideways.  
They are more likely to roll over than skid in turns and on hillsides.

Low Pressure tires on ATVs are made for off-road use only.  They are not 
intended for use on pavement or hard pack surfaces.  Doing so increases 
risk of loss of control.

Many ATV models have a fixed rear axle for traction.  When making 
turns this prevents the inner rear wheel from rotating freely when 
attempting turns on pavement or hard pack surfaces.  Loss of control can 
occur when torque to the inner wheel suddenly releases causing the ATV 
to lurch forward.

Powerful drive trains give ATVs the power to climb or rapidly accelerate.  
ATVs are capable of speeds too fast for conditions and potentially the skill 
of the operator.

ATV Passengers
The U.S. Consumer Product Safety commission recommends that you 
DO NOT carry a passenger unless the ATV is specifically designed for 
passengers.  On a Class 1 straddle style ATV, the operator needs the 
entire seat area to maintain stability and safe control.  Please follow all 
manufacturer’s recommendations and safety warnings.

• A person under the age of 18 may not carry a passenger.
• A person over the age of 18 may carry one passenger on a Class 1 ATV.
• A person over the age of 18 may carry a passenger, or up to the number of 

passengers for which a Class 2 ATV was designed.
• A passenger under the age of 18 must wear an approved helmet and a seat belt 

if provided by the manufacturer. 

ATV Fit Requirements Law
A person under the age of 16 may not operate an all-terrain veicle on 
public lands or water, or on state or grant-in-aid trails, if the person 
cannot properly reach and control the handlebars and reach the foot pegs 
while sitting upright on the seat.
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ATVs - One Size Does NOT Fit All!
The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, ATV Manufacturers 
and the Minnesota DNR Conservation Officers ask ATV owners not to 
let youth under the age of 16 operate adult size ATV’s.

Allowing children to operate machines that do not “fit” their physical 
stature and strength is illegal and a primary cause of severe accidents and 
injuries.  On ATV’s designed for adults, children cannot maintain proper 
position or control without the risk of falling or being thrown from the 
machine.

Seat Clearance: There should be a minimum of 
three inches between operator and the ATV seat.  
Proper clearance enables the operator to maintain 
balance on the foot rests when riding over rough 
terrain.  Maintaining balance prevents the operator 
from falling off or being thrown from the machine.
  
Upper Legs: While seated, the operator’s upper 
legs should be horizontal (parallel to the ground).
 
Arm Length: While seated on the machine and 
gripping the handle bar, there should be a distinct 
bend in the arm at the elbow.  Without it there 
will not be sufficient reach to properly grip the 
handlebars when turning and riding.
 
Hand Size: With the hand gripping the handle 
bar, extend the fingers to the brake lever.  The first 
joint of the index finger should extend beyond the 
brake lever.  If it doesn’t, then the hand is to small 
to safely operate the brake.  Also, check to see that 
the arm length is sufficient to properly operate the 
brake lever and throttle while the handlebars are 
turned to the far left and right.

31

ATV



ATV Safety Training Requirements 
ATV safety training is recommended for everyone who operates an ATV.  

An ATV Safety Certificate is required by law for certain youth to operate 
an ATV on public lands.  

The DNR ATV Safety Training Course includes: ATV familiarization, 
operating procedures, safety concerns, rules and regulations, ethics, and 
environmental concerns.  The course has two separate components: 
an ATV Safety Training CD; and an ATV Safety Training Class that 
includes classroom review, a final exam, and a riding component.

• Persons age 12 through 15 are required to successfully complete the ATV Safety CD 
prior to taking an ATV Safety Training Class.  An ATV Safety Certificate will be issued 
after both the ATV CD and the training class are successfully completed.

• ATV safety training is available to anyone 11 or older.  Eleven year olds may take both 
components of the training, but the certificate will not be valid until they reach the age 
of 12. 

• Persons under 16 years are required by law to have an ATV Safety Certificate before 
operating an ATV on public lands, frozen waters, public road rights-of-way, or state or 
grant-in-aid trails. Note: There is an exception for youth age 10 or 11 to operate an 
ATV, up to 90cc, on public lands or frozen waters if accompanied by parent or legal 
guardian. 

• Anyone born after July 1, 1987 and who is 16 years or older must successfully 
complete the ATV Safety Training CD before operating an ATV on public lands, frozen 
waters, public road rights-of-way, or state or grant-in-aid trails. 

The ATV Safety Training CD is available free of charge.  The cost of the 
ATV Safety Training Class is $15.00.  To obtain a CD, or for information 
about classes, call the DNR Information Center at 651-296-6157, toll free 
1-888-646-6367; or the DNR Safety Training Program Office at  
1-800-366-8917; or go to www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/atv/index.html
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ATV General Operations 
• A valid driver’s license is required to operate an ATV on a road right-of-way. 
• A driver’s license is not required to operate an ATV on a designated trail that 

includes a road right-of-way. 
• If your ATV is equipped with a headlight and taillight they must be on at all times. 
• Operation on a township road: A person with a valid driver’s license may operate 

an ATV on the far right-hand side of a township road, unless prohibited by local 
regulations. If traveling at a slower speed than other traffic on the township road, 
the ATV should be driven as close as practical to the right hand edge of the road. 

• Operation of a Class 2 ATV is limited to: 
- state forest roads 
- shoulder or extreme right side of county roads and on the right side of 

township roads and city streets, if not prohibited by the road authority or 
other local laws, and with a valid driver’s license

- designated Class 2 trails. 
• Class 2 ATVs may NOT be operated on the shoulder of a state trunk highway.
• A person with a valid driver’s license may operate an ATV registered for private 

use and being used for agricultural purposes on a public right-of-way of a trunk, 
county, state aid, or county highway, if the ATV is on the extreme right side of 
the road. A left turn may be made if it is safe to do so. 

• You may not drive a Class 1 ATV within the right-of-way, including the ditch, of 
a state or county road from April 1 to August 1 in the agricultural zone. (See 
definition on page 7.) This does not apply to a Class 1 ATV registered and used 
for agricultural purposes. Class 2 ATVs cannot operate in a ditch even with an 
agricultural registration.

• You may operate an off-highway vehicle on a bridge, a roadway shoulder, or the 
inside bank of a public road right-of-way if necessary to avoid obstructions to 
travel or environmentally sensitive areas.  You must remain in the farthest right-
hand lane, enter the roadway within 100 feet of the bridge, obstacle or area, and 
make the crossing without delay.

• Road authorities have the ability to restrict ATV operation on road rights-of-way 
and in ditches. 

• You may not cross a bridge that is part of the traveled lanes of an interstate 
highway. 

• You may not exceed 10 mph on the frozen surface of public waters within 100 
feet of another person that is not on an ATV (including people that are fishing) or 
within 100 feet of a fish house or other shelter. 

• Grant-in-aid snowmobile and non-motorized trails are closed to ATVs unless 
specifically allowed. 

• ATVs may not be operated with a snorkel device that has a raised air intake six 
inches or more above the manufacturer’s original air intake. Exception: ATVs with 
snorkel devices may be operated within the Iron Range OHV State Recreation 
Area and other designated public OHV recreation areas. 
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OFF-HIGHWAY 
MOTORCYCLE SECTION 

OHM Youth Operators 
It is unlawful for anyone in control of an OHM to allow it to be operated 
contrary to the following requirements. 

For the definitions of an approved helmet see page 29.

The adult who is accompanying a youth OHM operator no longer needs 
to be on an OHM.

2009–2010
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Age            Requirement
• May not make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way 
• May not operate OHM on a public road or public road right-of-way 
• May not operate OHM on public lands or frozen public waters unless 

accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older
• Must possess a valid OHM safety certificate to operate on public 

lands or frozen public waters 
• Must wear eye protection
• Must wear an approved helmet when operating on public lands and 

frozen waters.
• Operator participating in DNR permitted event not required to be 

accompanied by an adult.

• Must possess a valid OHM safety certificate to operate on public 
lands or frozen public waters 

• May make a direct crossing of a public road (except an interstate 
highway) if accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older with a 
valid driver’s license 

• Must wear eye protection 
• Must wear an approved helmet when operating on public lands, 

frozen waters, and public road rights-of-way.

• Must have a driver’s license to operate an OHM on a public roadway, 
and the motorcycle must be licensed for highway use (A driver’s 
license is not required on designated trails when the trail specifically 
includes the road right-of-way.) 

• Must wear eye protection 
• Must wear an approved helmet when operating on public lands, 

frozen waters, and public road rights-of-way.

Under 12

Under 16

16 and 17



OHM Safety Training Requirement 
Persons under the age of 16 must succesfully complete the OHM Safety 
Training Course before operating an OHM on public lands, frozen 
waters, public road rights-of-ways, or state or grant-in-aid trails.
The course includes OHM familiarization, operating procedures, 
OHM laws, loading and towing procedures, ethics, safety hazards and 
environmental considerations. 

There is no cost for the course, but students who successfully complete the 
CD training are issued a safety certificate for a $5 fee.

For more information on the safety course, or for a duplicate OHM 
safety certificate, call the DNR Information Center, Twin Cities 651-
296-6157, toll-free 1-888-646-6367, or DNR Safety Training Program 
Headquarters  1-800-366-8917, or go to www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/
ohm/index.html

OHM General Operations 
• You may not operate an OHM in ditches, unless it is a trail designated for OHM 

use. OHMs registered for highway use may operate on roadways. See diagram 
on page 7. 

• A valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement is required to operate 
anywhere on road rights-of-way including crossing roads. The only exception 
would be on portions of a designated trail that specifically include a road  
right-of-way. 

• Your OHM must have a headlight, taillight, and brakes to be operated on a public 
road. The lights must be on while operating on a trunk, county, state aid, or 
county highway; or when crossing a public road right-of-way, one-half hour after 
sunset to one-half hour before sunrise; or in conditions of reduced visibility. 

• You must wear eye protection when operating an OHM. 
• You may not exceed 10 mph on the frozen surface of public waters within 100 

feet of a person fishing or a fish house or other shelter. 
• Sound levels for OHMs manufactured after 1986 may not exceed 96 decibels 

when operated on public lands. 
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OFF-ROAD VEHICLE 
SECTION 

ORV Youth Operators 
A person under 16 years of age may not operate an ORV. The owner of an 
ORV may not allow it to be operated by a person under 16 years of age. 

ORV Education and Safety Training 
An ORV environmental and safety training CD is available for persons 
16 or older. The course covers ORV familiarization, operation procedures, 
law, towing procedures, ethics, safety hazards, and environmental 
considerations. It is not required by law to take the course, but it is highly 
recommended. The cost is $15.00. For more information call the DNR 
Information Center, Twin Cities 651-296-6157, toll-free 1-888-646-6367, 
or DNR Safety Training Program Headquarters at 1-800-366-8917, or go 
to www.mndnr.gov/safety/vehicle/orv/index.html

ORV General Operations 
• All ORV passengers and operators must wear seat belts. 
• DNR strongly recommends passengers and operators wear approved helmets at 

all times. See page 29.
• A valid driver’s license is required to cross roads. The only exception would be for 

those portions of a designated trail that specifically include a road right-of-way. 
• ORVs are required to have lights on while crossing public roads one-half hour 

after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, and during periods of reduced 
visibility. 

• You may operate on state forest roads, trails, and lands as described on  
pages 19 - 22. 

• You may not operate an ORV within the right-of-way of an interstate highway, or 
within a public road right-of-way, except on a designated trail.

 

ORV Free Admission Day 
On May 15, 2010, the Iron Range Off-Highway Vehicle Recreation Area 
will not require registration on any ORVs that visit the site. The free 
admission day falls on the third Saturday in May each year. 

NOTE: The photos shown on the front cover of this booklet were taken at the 
Iron Range Off-Highway Vehicle Recreation Area.

2009–2010
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