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Administration 
MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS).  DHS 
is responsible for processing applications and determining eligibility, contracting with managed 
care plans, monitoring spending on the program, and developing administrative rules.  County 
human services agencies are responsible for determining Medical Assistance (MA) and General 
Assistance Medical Care (GAMC) eligibility for applicants for those programs.  County human 
services agencies are also responsible for determining MinnesotaCare eligibility and managing 
MinnesotaCare cases for GAMC enrollees who transition to MinnesotaCare (see page 7).  Some 
county human services agencies have elected to process additional MinnesotaCare applications 
and manage additional MinnesotaCare cases. 
 
 
Eligibility Requirements 
To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals must meet income limits and satisfy other 
requirements related to residency and lack of access to health insurance.  MinnesotaCare 
eligibility must be renewed every 12 months.1   
 
Income Limits 

Children2 and parents, legal guardians, foster parents, or relative caretakers residing in the same 
household are eligible for MinnesotaCare, if their gross household income does not exceed 275 
percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG) and if other eligibility requirements are met.  The 
2009 Legislature allowed children with incomes greater than 275 percent of the FPG to be 
eligible for MinnesotaCare if they meet all other eligibility requirements.  This elimination of the 
income limit for children is effective upon federal approval, which has not yet been received.  
Parents, legal guardians, foster parents, and relative caretakers are not eligible if their gross 
annual income exceeds $50,000, regardless of whether their income exceeds 275 percent of FPG.  
This annual income cap will increase to $57,500, effective July 1, 2010, or upon federal 
approval, whichever is later.  Different eligibility requirements and premiums apply to children 
from households with gross incomes that do not exceed 150 percent of FPG. 
 
Single adults and households without children are eligible for MinnesotaCare if their gross 
household incomes do not exceed 250 percent of FPG3 and they meet other eligibility 
requirements. 
 
                                                 

1 The statutory change increasing the renewal period from six to 12 months was effective July 1, 2007; the 
change codified existing practice. Effective upon federal approval, which has not yet been received, children with 
family incomes that do not exceed 275 percent of FPG who fail to submit renewal forms and related documentation 
in a timely manner shall remain eligible. The commissioner is still required to verify income and determine 
premiums based on income, and to disenroll children for nonpayment of premiums. 

2 A child is defined in the law as an individual under 21 years of age, including the unborn child of a pregnant 
woman and an emancipated minor and that person’s spouse.   

3 The income limit for adults and households without children was increased from 200 percent to 250 percent 
of FPG on July 1, 2009. 
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Extended Coverage for Children
 
On October 31, 2008, the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) denied a request by 
the state to allow children age one through 18 who become ineligible for Medical Assistance (MA) due to 
excess income to be eligible for two additional months of MA4 and be automatically eligible for 
MinnesotaCare until the next MinnesotaCare renewal.  These children would have been exempt until 
renewal from the MinnesotaCare income limit and from the requirement that MinnesotaCare enrollees 
have no current access to employer-subsidized coverage, no access to employer-subsidized coverage 
through the current employer for 18 months prior to application or reapplication, and no other health 
coverage while enrolled or for at least four months prior to application or renewal.  These children would 
have been required to pay the standard MinnesotaCare sliding scale premiums to enroll and remain 
enrolled. 
 
The coverage extension was authorized by the 2007 Legislature in Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13, 
and was to have been effective October 1, 2008, or upon federal approval, whichever was later.  The 
Minnesota Department of Human Services resubmitted the request on September 30, 2009. 
 
Enrollees whose incomes rise above program income limits after initial enrollment are 
disenrolled from the program.  Children are exempt from this requirement and can remain 
enrolled in MinnesotaCare if 10 percent of their gross annual household income is less than the 
annual premium of the $500-deductible policy offered by the Minnesota Comprehensive Health 
Association (MCHA).5   
 
Table 1 lists categories of persons eligible for MinnesotaCare, eligibility criteria, and enrollee 
cost (see table on page 4 for sample sliding scale premiums).  Table 2 lists program income 
limits for different family sizes. 
  

                                                 
4 These two additional months would have been in addition to the transitional MA coverage that is available to 

persons who lose MA eligibility due to increased earned or unearned income. 
5 The MCHA offers health insurance to Minnesota residents who have been denied private market coverage 

due to pre-existing health conditions. 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/laws/?id=147&doctype=Chapter&year=2007&type=0
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Table 1 
Eligibility for MinnesotaCarea 

Eligible Categories 
Household 

Income Limit Other Eligibility Criteria Cost to Enrollee
Lower income children  150% of FPG Not otherwise insured or 

insurance is considered 
underinsured; residency 
requirement

$4 per child per 
month 

Other children 
 

151% - 275% of 
FPGb 

No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement

Premium based on 
sliding scale 

Pregnant women 275% of FPG No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement

Premium based on 
sliding scale 

Parents and relative 
caretakers 

275% of FPG or 
$50,000,c 
whichever is less

No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement; asset limit 

Premium based on 
sliding scale 

Single adults, households 
without children 

250% of FPG No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement; asset limit 

Premium based on 
sliding scale 

a Exceptions to these requirements are noted in the text. 
b The 2009 Legislature allowed children with household incomes greater than 275 percent of FPG to be 
eligible, effective upon federal approval, which has not yet been received. These children must pay the 
maximum premium. 
c The 2008 Legislature increased the income limit for parents and relative caretakers to $57,500, effective 
upon federal approval, which has not yet been received. 

 
 

Table 2 
Annual Household Income Limits for MinnesotaCare 

(Effective July 1, 2009)
Household 

Sizea 
Lower Income Children

150% of 2009 FPG
Adults Without Children

250% of 2009 FPG
Families and Children 

275% of 2009 FPGb 

1 $16,248 $27,084 $29,784

2 21,864 36,444 40,080

3 27,480 Not eligible 50,376

4 33,096 Not eligible 60,672

Each Additional 
Person 

Add $5,616 Not applicable Add $10,296

a Pregnant women are households of two. 
b Parents are not eligible once income exceeds $50,000. 
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Asset Limits 

MinnesotaCare adult applicants and enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to an asset limit, 
identical to the Medical Assistance program’s asset limit for parents.  This asset limit is $10,000 
in total net assets for a household of one person, and $20,000 in total net assets for a household 
of two or more persons.  Certain items are not considered assets when determining 
MinnesotaCare eligibility, including the following: 

• the homestead 
• household goods and personal effects 
• a burial plot for each member of the household 
• life insurance policies and assets for burial expenses, up to the limits established for the 

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program 
• capital and operating assets of a business up to $200,000 
• insurance settlements for damaged, destroyed, or stolen property are excluded for three 

months if held in escrow 
• a motor vehicle for each person who is employed or seeking employment 
• court-ordered settlements of up to $10,000 
• individual retirement accounts and funds 
• assets owned by children 
• workers’ compensation settlements received due to a work-related injury6 

Pregnant women and children are exempt from the MinnesotaCare asset limit. 
 
No Access to Employer-Subsidized Coverage 

A family or individual must not have access to employer-subsidized health care coverage.  A 
family or individual must also not have had access to employer-subsidized health care coverage 
through a current employer for 18 months prior to application or re-application.  Employer-
subsidized coverage is defined as health insurance coverage for which an employer pays 50 
percent or more of the premium cost.  This requirement applies to each individual.  For example, 
if an employer contributes 50 percent or more towards the cost of coverage for an employee but 
does not contribute 50 percent or more towards the cost of covering that employee’s dependents, 
the employee is not eligible for MinnesotaCare but the employee’s dependents are eligible. 
 
The requirement of no current access to employer-subsidized coverage does not apply to the 
following: 
 

1. Children from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent7 of FPG 

2. Children enrolled in the Children’s Health Plan as of September 30, 1992 (the precursor 
program to MinnesotaCare) who have maintained continuous coverage 

                                                 
6 This asset exclusion was approved by the federal government on October 31, 2008, and became effective 

January 1, 2009. 
7 The 2009 Legislature increased this income limit to 200 percent of FPG, effective upon federal approval, 

which has not yet been received. 



House Research Department Updated: October 2009 
MinnesotaCare Page 6 
 
 

3. Children who enrolled in the Children’s Health Plan during a transition period following 
the establishment of MinnesotaCare 

Children referred to in clauses (1) and (2) are, in some cases, also exempt from the no-other-
health-coverage requirement (see section below). 
 
Families or individuals whose employer-subsidized coverage was lost because an employer 
terminated health care coverage as an employee benefit during the previous 18 months are also 
not eligible for MinnesotaCare. 
 
A family or individual disenrolled from MinnesotaCare because of the availability of employer-
subsidized health coverage, who reapplies for MinnesotaCare within six months of disenrollment 
because the employer terminates health care coverage as an employee benefit, is exempt from 
the 18-month enrollment restriction related to access to subsidized coverage. 
 
No Other Health Coverage 

Enrollees must have no other health coverage and must not have had health insurance coverage 
for the four months prior to application or renewal.  For purposes of these requirements:  
 

1. MA, GAMC, and CHAMPUS (Civilian Health and Medical Program of the Uniformed 
Service, also called TRICARE) are not considered health coverage for purposes of the 
four-month requirement; and 
 

2. Medicare coverage is considered health coverage, and an applicant or enrollee cannot 
refuse Medicare coverage to qualify for MinnesotaCare. 

 
Children from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent8 of FPG and children 
enrolled in the original Children’s Health Plan who have maintained continuous coverage are not 
subject to the four-month uninsured requirement and may have other health coverage, if the 
children are considered “underinsured.”  A child is underinsured if: 
 

1. The coverage lacks two or more of the following:   
 

• basic hospital insurance  
• medical-surgical insurance 
• major medical coverage  
• prescription drug coverage  
• preventive and comprehensive dental coverage 
• preventive and comprehensive vision coverage 

 

                                                 
8 The exemption from the four-month uninsured requirement is found only in rule. See Minnesota Rules, part 

9506.0020, subpart 3, item A. The 2009 Legislature expanded the exemption from the four-month uninsured 
requirement to include children from families with incomes less than 200 percent of FPG, and also increased to this 
level the income limit below which children can have other health coverage if they are uninsured. These changes are 
effective upon federal approval, which has not yet been received. 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/rules/?id=9506.0020
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/rules/?id=9506.0020
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2. The coverage requires a deductible of $100 or more per person per year; or  
 
3. The child lacks coverage because the maximum coverage for a particular diagnosis has 

been exceeded, or the policy of coverage excludes coverage for that diagnosis. 
 
Individuals who are receiving a state premium subsidy for COBRA continuation coverage for 
unemployed individuals, and their qualified beneficiaries, are exempt from the four-month 
uninsured requirement, if the individual or qualified beneficiaries apply for MinnesotaCare 
coverage after COBRA continuation coverage ends (see Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 
78). 

Residency Requirement 

Pregnant women, families, and children must meet the residency requirements of the Medicaid 
program.  The Medicaid program requires an individual to demonstrate intent to reside 
permanently or for an indefinite period in a state, but it does not include a durational residency 
requirement (a requirement that an individual live in a state for a specified period of time before 
applying for the program). 
 
In contrast, enrollees who are adults without children must have resided in Minnesota for 180 
days prior to application and must also satisfy other criteria relating to permanent residency. 
 
Enrollment of Certain GAMC Applicants and Recipients 

Since September 1, 2006, certain GAMC applicants and recipients have been enrolled in the 
MinnesotaCare program as adults without children, immediately following approval of GAMC 
coverage.  These individuals are exempt from MinnesotaCare premiums, income and asset 
limits, and eligibility requirements related to not having other health coverage and not having 
access to employer-subsidized health insurance for up to six months until their next six-month 
renewal.  County agencies are required to pay the enrollee share of MinnesotaCare premiums for 
these individuals up to the six-month renewal and have the option of continuing to pay for these 
premiums beyond this period.  At the six-month renewal, all MinnesotaCare eligibility criteria 
apply. 
 
GAMC applicants and recipients are exempt from the MinnesotaCare enrollment requirement if 
they are any of the following: 
 

• eligible for GAMC as General Assistance or Group Residential Housing recipients 
• awaiting a determination of blindness or disability 
• unable to meet the MinnesotaCare residency requirement 
• homeless 
• end-stage renal disease beneficiaries in the Medicare program 
• persons enrolled in private health coverage 
• certain persons detained by law for less than one year in a county correctional or 

detention facility or admitted to a hospital on a criminal hold order 
• persons who receive treatment funded through the Consolidated Chemical 

Dependency Treatment Fund 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/laws/?id=79&doctype=Chapter&year=2009&type=0
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• persons residing in the Minnesota sex offender program 
 
Elimination of GAMC Funding 

On May 14, 2009, the governor line-item vetoed the $378,000,000 fiscal year 2011 general fund 
appropriation for the GAMC program in the health and human services finance bill (Laws 2009, 
ch. 79/H.F. 1362).  The fiscal note9 for the line-item veto assumes that coverage for GAMC 
services will need to be terminated April 1, 2010, due to the lag in provider billing for services 
and the need to pay program expenditures out of the fiscal year 2010 appropriation.  Coverage 
would be eliminated for the regular GAMC program; DHS is currently determining whether 
coverage would need to be eliminated for GAMC enrollees required to transition to the 
MinnesotaCare program. 
 
In June 2009, the governor announced that he would reduce the fiscal year 2010 general fund 
appropriation for GAMC by $15,000,000 through unallotment.  DHS projects that the GAMC 
program, given this action, will have sufficient funding available to pay for coverage up to 
March 1, 2010, and is examining whether the GAMC appropriation, after unallotment, will be 
sufficient to continue the program until April 1, 2010.   
 
DHS is assessing and analyzing options under current law (subject to any action by the 
legislature) to provide health care services to current GAMC enrollees and individuals who 
otherwise would have been eligible for the program.  Final decisions on a number of issues have 
not been made at the time of writing. 
 
MinnesotaCare for Persons Otherwise Eligible for GAMC 

The MinnesotaCare program is a potential coverage option for individuals who would otherwise 
be covered under GAMC.  One reason is that the MinnesotaCare income and asset limits are 
higher than the respective limits for GAMC.  However, some MinnesotaCare program features 
may make that program less than an ideal fit for the former GAMC population, in part because 
MinnesotaCare: (1) requires enrollees to pay premiums; (2) does not allow coverage from the 
date of application as does GAMC; and (3) applies a $10,000 annual limit on inpatient hospital 
services provided to adults without children. 
 
The fiscal note for the line-item veto of GAMC funding states that more than 90 percent of 
GAMC enrollees will be eligible for MinnesotaCare.  The fiscal note projects that about 75 
percent of GAMC managed care capitation payments will shift to MinnesotaCare.  The fiscal 
note assumes that most of the 25-percent reduction in capitation payment is due to former 
GAMC enrollees failing to pay MinnesotaCare premiums (mainly because they are unable to 
afford the premiums or unable to complete the MinnesotaCare application process).  The 
estimate of a 25-percent reduction assumes that counties and other entities will assist individuals 
who would otherwise have been eligible for GAMC in paying MinnesotaCare premiums.  To the 
extent that this does not occur, the percentage of individuals in this group who do not switch to 
MinnesotaCare will probably increase.  Also, about 2 percent of former enrollees are projected as 

                                                 
9 Consolidated Fiscal Note – 2009-10 session, H.F. 1362-4E, May 15, 2009, Omnibus HHS line-item veto 

provision. 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/laws/?id=79&doctype=Chapter&year=2009&type=0
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/laws/?id=79&doctype=Chapter&year=2009&type=0
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being unable to meet the MinnesotaCare 180-day residency requirement and a small number of 
additional individuals will not enroll in MinnesotaCare because they are eligible for Medicare, 
have other health coverage, or are ineligible for the program due to incarceration.10 
 
The table below summarizes some of the differences between the GAMC and MinnesotaCare 
programs. 
 

Table 3 
Comparison of the GAMC and MinnesotaCare Programs 

 
GAMC 

(full coverage) 
MinnesotaCare 

(adults without children) 

Income limit 75% FPG 250% FPG 

Asset limit, after exclusions $1,000 ($2,000 for Group 
Residential Housing recipients) 

$10,000 household of 1/$20,000 
household of 2 or more 

Durational residency 
requirement 

30 days 180 days 

Premiums None Sliding scalea 

Effective date of coverage Date of application (allows limited 
retroactive coverage, e.g., if 
individuals apply as part of an 
inpatient stay) 

First day of month following 
month in which premium payment 
received; limited retroactive 
coverageb for persons terminated 
from GAMC 

Other health coverage May have other health coverage; 
program pays enrollee premiums, 
deductibles, and cost-sharing for 
cost-effective coverage 

May not have other health 
coverage; four-month uninsured 
requirement; no current access to 
employer-subsidized insurance  
and no access through current 
employer in past 18 months 

Covered services No inpatient hospital annual limit 
 
Covered by GAMC but not 
MinnesotaCare: 
• Common carrier 

transportation/mileage 
reimbursement 

• Limited orthodontia 

$10,000 inpatient hospital annual 
limit 
 
Covered by MinnesotaCare but not 
GAMC: 

• Certain home care services 
• Hospice care 

  

                                                 
10 Individuals who apply for GAMC or MinnesotaCare while residing in a correctional facility are not eligible 

for those programs. GAMC enrollees who are incarcerated after GAMC enrollment can remain on that program if 
they are expected to be detained for less than one year and continue to meet program requirements, but would not be 
eligible for MinnesotaCare if they apply for that program (due to GAMC termination) while residing in a 
correctional facility. 
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GAMC 

(full coverage) 
MinnesotaCare 

(adults without children) 

Cost-sharing • $25 nonemergency visit to ER 
• $3 brand-name, $1 generic 

prescriptions/$7 monthly limit 

• $6 nonemergency visit to ER 
• $3 all prescriptions, no 

monthly limit 
• $25 eyeglasses 
• $3 nonpreventive visits 
• 10% coinsurance for 

inpatient hospital charges, up 
to $1,000 per adult 

a At 75 percent of FPG (the GAMC income limit for full benefits), the MinnesotaCare premium for one individual is 
$11 per month. At 25 percent of FPG, the MinnesotaCare premium for one individual is $4 per month (92 percent of 
GAMC enrollees have incomes under 25 percent of FPG, according to a DHS analysis of individuals enrolled in 
GAMC for at least one month in fiscal year 2008). County agencies and other entities have the option of paying the 
MinnesotaCare sliding scale premiums for MinnesotaCare enrollees. 
b MinnesotaCare provides limited retroactive coverage for individuals who are terminated from GAMC or MA. For 
these individuals, coverage is effective the first day of the month following termination, if the individual submits a 
written request for retroactive MinnesotaCare coverage and a completed application, within 30 days of the mailing of 
the termination notice. The applicant must provide all required verifications within 30 days of submitting the written 
request for retroactive coverage and must pay premiums for the retroactive month, current month, and next month 
within 30 days of the premium billing. 

 
Automatic Eligibility for Certain Children 

Effective upon federal approval, which has not yet been received, children who resided in a 
foster care or juvenile residential correctional facility at the time of their 18th birthday are 
automatically eligible for MinnesotaCare upon termination or release until the age of 21.  These 
children are exempt from the MinnesotaCare income limit, insurance barriers, and premiums. 
 
 
Benefits 
MinnesotaCare enrollees are covered by several different benefit sets.  Pregnant women and 
children have access to the broadest range of services and are not required to pay copayments.  
Parents and adults without children are covered for most services, but are subject to benefit 
limitations and copayments.  These differences are summarized in Table 4 below and are 
described in more detail in the text. 
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Table 4 
Overview – MinnesotaCare Covered Services and Cost-Sharing 

Eligibility Category Covered Servicesa 
Inpatient Hospital 

Limit Cost-Sharing
Pregnant women and 
children 

MA benefit set None None 

Parents < 215% of FPG Most MA services None • $25 eyeglasses 
• $3 prescriptions 
• $3 nonpreventive visit
• $6 nonemergency 

visit to hospital ER
Parents > 215% and  
< 275% of FPG 

Most MA services $10,000 annual limit for 
inpatient hospital 
servicesb 

• $25 eyeglasses 
• $3 prescriptions 
• $3 nonpreventive visit
• $6 nonemergency 

visit to hospital ER
Adults without children  Most MA services $10,000 annual limit for 

inpatient hospital 
services 

• $25 eyeglasses 
• $3 prescriptions 
• $3 nonpreventive visit
• $6 nonemergency 

visit to hospital ER 
• 10% inpatient 

hospital, up to $1,000
a See Table 5 for a list of covered services. 
b The state recently received federal approval to raise the income limit above which patients are subject to this 
annual limit (see footnote 14). 

 
Covered Services and Benefit Limitations 

Pregnant women and children up to age 21 enrolled in MinnesotaCare can access the full range 
of MA services without enrolling in MA, except that abortion services are covered as provided 
under the MinnesotaCare program.11  These individuals are exempt from MinnesotaCare benefit 
limitations and copayments,12 but still must pay MinnesotaCare premiums.  Pregnant women and 
                                                 

11 Under MinnesotaCare, abortion services are covered “where the life of the female would be endangered or 
substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function would result if the fetus were carried to term; or 
where the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest” (Minn. Stat. § 256L.03, subd. 1). Under MA, abortion services 
are covered to save the life of the mother and in cases of rape or incest (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 16) and, 
as a result of a Minnesota Supreme Court decision, for “therapeutic” reasons (Doe v. Gomez, 542 N.W.2d 17 
(1995)). MinnesotaCare enrollees must enroll in the MA program in order to obtain abortion services under the MA 
conditions of coverage. Nearly all MinnesotaCare enrollees who are pregnant women are eligible for MA. 

12 This change in MinnesotaCare was approved by the federal government in April 1995 as part of the state’s 
health care reform waiver (now referred to as the Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus or PMAP+ waiver). The 
waiver, and subsequent waiver amendments, exempt Minnesota from various federal requirements, give the state 
greater flexibility to expand access to health care through the MinnesotaCare and MA programs, and allow the state 
to receive federal contributions (referred to as “federal financial participation” or FFP) for services provided to 
MinnesotaCare enrollees who are children, pregnant women, or parents and relative caretakers of children under age 
21. After protracted negotiations, the PMAP+ waiver was reauthorized by the federal Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services for the period October 31, 2008, through June 30, 2011. 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=256B.0625
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=256L.03
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children up to age two are not disenrolled for failure to pay MinnesotaCare premiums and can 
avoid MinnesotaCare premium charges altogether by enrolling in MA. 
 
Parents and adults without children, who are not pregnant, are covered under MinnesotaCare for 
most, but not all, services covered under MA.13  Parents with household incomes greater than 215 
percent of FPG, and all adults without children, are subject to an annual benefit limit for 
impatient hospital services of $10,000.14 
 

Table 5 
Covered Services Under MinnesotaCare 

Service 
Children; Pregnant 

Women
Parents;  

Adults without childrena 

Adult mental health rehab/crisis x x 
Alcohol/drug treatment x x 
Child and teen checkup x  
Chiropractic x x 
Common carrier transportation x  
Dentalb x x 
Emergency room x x 
Eye exams x x 
Eyeglasses x x 
Family planning x x 
Hearing aids x x 
Home care  x  Xc 
Hospice care x x 
Hospital stay  x x 
Immunizations x x 
Interpreters (hearing, language) x x 
Lab, x-ray, diagnostic x x 
Medical equipment and supplies x x 
Mental health x x 

                                                 
13 Effective October 1, 2003, through December 31, 2007, adults without children with incomes greater than 75 

percent but not exceeding 175 percent of FPG received coverage under MinnesotaCare for a limited benefit set. The 
limited benefit set covered inpatient hospital services (subject to a $10,000 annual limit), physician services, 
outpatient hospital and ambulatory surgical center services, chiropractic services, lab and diagnostic services, 
diabetic supplies and equipment (added January 1, 2006), and prescription drugs. This coverage was subject to a 
$5,000 annual limit on outpatient services, which was eliminated January 1, 2006. The limited benefit set was 
eliminated by the 2007 Legislature, effective January 1, 2008. Prior to January 1, 2008, outpatient mental health 
coverage for parents and adults without children was limited to diagnostic assessments, psychological testing, 
explanation of findings, day treatment, partial hospitalization, psychotherapy, and medication management. This 
restriction was eliminated January 1, 2008, except that coverage for mental health case management did not take 
effect until January 1, 2009. 

14 The increase in the income limit at or above which the annual inpatient hospital benefit limit applies (from 
200 percent to 215 percent of FPG) took effect July 1, 2009. 
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Service 
Children; Pregnant 

Women
Parents;  

Adults without childrena

Mental health case management x x  
Nursing home/ICF/MR x  
Outpatient surgical center x x 
Physicians and clinics x x 
Physicals/preventive care x x 
Prescriptions x x 
Rehabilitative therapies x x 
School-based services x  
Transportation: emergency x x 
Transportation: special x  
a Benefit limitations and cost-sharing requirements apply. 
b MinnesotaCare covers the dental services covered under Medical Assistance (MA). Effective 
January 1, 2010, MA coverage of dental services for adults who are not pregnant (and therefore 
MinnesotaCare coverage of dental services for this category of individuals) will be limited to 
specified services (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 9 (Supp. 2009)). 

c Personal care attendant and private duty nursing services are covered for children and pregnant 
women, but are not covered for parents and adults without children.

 
Copayments for Adults 

Parents and adults without children, who are not pregnant, are subject to the following 
copayments:   
 

• Copayment of 10 percent of paid charges for inpatient hospital services, up to an annual 
maximum of $1,000 per adult. (This copayment does not apply to parents and relative 
caretakers of children under age 21.) 

• $3 copayment per prescription 
• $25 copayment per pair of eyeglasses 
• $3 per nonpreventive visit (does not apply to mental health services) 
• $6 for nonemergency visits to a hospital emergency room  

 
 

  

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=256B.0625
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Enrollee Premiums 
Minimum Premium 

Children enrolling in MinnesotaCare are charged a minimum monthly premium of $4 per child, 
if they are from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent of FPG. 
 
Effective upon federal approval, which has not yet been received, children with family incomes 
at or below 200 percent of FPG will not be charged premiums. 
 
Sliding Premium Scale 

MinnesotaCare enrollees who are not children eligible for the minimum premium pay premiums 
equivalent to the percentages of gross monthly income specified in the table below.  This 
premium scale became effective July 1, 2009, and replaced a premium scale under which the 
enrollee contribution ranged from 1.8 percent to 8.8 percent of monthly gross household income. 
 

Table 7 
Sliding Premium Scale 

Federal Poverty Guideline Range 
Average Percentage of Gross 
Monthly Income Paid as Premium 

0% - 45% Minimum premium of $4/month 

46 - 54 $4/month or 1.1%, whichever is 
greater 

55 - 81 1.6% 
82 - 109 2.2 
110 - 136 2.9 
137 - 164 3.6 
165 - 191 4.6 
192 - 219 5.6 
220 - 248 6.5 
249 - 275 7.2 

 
Premium Exemption 

Members of the military and their families who are determined eligible for MinnesotaCare 
within 24 months of the end of the member’s tour of active duty are exempt from premiums for 
12 months.15 
 
  
                                                 

15 Federal approval for this provision was obtained on October 31, 2008.  The provision took effect February 1, 
2009, and will expire June 30, 2010. 
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Nonpayment of Premiums 
 
Unless an exemption applies, nonpayment of premiums results in disenrollment from 
MinnesotaCare effective the calendar month for which the premium was due.16 If an enrollee 
who is pregnant fails to pay the premium, MinnesotaCare coverage continues until the last day of 
the month in which 60 days postpartum occurs.  If the premium is not paid for an enrollee who is 
a child under age 2, MinnesotaCare coverage continues to the last day of the month following the 
month in which the child turns 2 years of age. 
 
Prepaid MinnesotaCare 

The legislature has authorized the Commissioner of Human Services to contract with health 
maintenance organizations and other prepaid health plans to deliver health care services to 
MinnesotaCare enrollees.  All MinnesotaCare enrollees receive health care services through 
prepaid health plans and not through fee-for-service. 
 
Prepaid health plans (sometimes referred to as managed care plans) receive a capitated payment 
from DHS for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, and in return are required to provide enrollees with 
all covered health care services for a set period of time.  A capitated payment is a predetermined, 
fixed payment per enrollee that does not vary with the amount or type of health care services 
provided.  A prepaid health plan reimbursed under capitation does not receive a higher payment 
for providing more units of service or more expensive services to an enrollee, nor does it receive 
a lower payment for providing fewer units of service or less expensive services to an enrollee. 
 
Under prepaid MinnesotaCare, enrollees select a specific prepaid plan from which to receive 
services, obtain services from providers in that plan’s provider network, and follow that plan’s 
procedures for seeing specialists and accessing health care services.  Enrollee premiums, covered 
health care services, and copayments are the same as they would have been under fee-for-service 
MinnesotaCare. 
 
 
  

                                                 
16 The 2008 Legislature provided a grace month extending the enrollment of a person who fails to pay the 

premium to the first day of the calendar month following the calendar month for which the premium was due. This 
provision is effective upon federal approval, which has not yet been received.  
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Enrollee Premiums
and Cost Sharing

7%

State Cost 
66%

Federal Share
Under Waiver

27%

Funding and Expenditures 
Total payments for health care services provided through MinnesotaCare were $463 million in 
fiscal year 2008.  Sixty-six percent of this amount was paid for through state payments from the 
health care access fund.  Enrollee premiums (this category also includes enrollee cost-sharing) 
and federal funding received under the Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus (PMAP+) 
waiver and Minnesota’s Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP)17 allotment  pay for the 
remainder. 
 
Funding for the state share of MinnesotaCare costs, and for other health care access initiatives, is 
provided by: 
 

• A 2-percent tax on the gross revenues of health care providers, hospitals, surgical centers, 
and wholesale drug distributors (sometimes referred to as the “provider tax”); and   

 
• A 1-percent premium tax on health maintenance organizations, nonprofit health service 

plan corporations, and community integrated service networks.  
 
Medicare payments to providers are excluded from gross revenues for purposes of the gross 
revenues taxes.  Other specified payments, including payments for nursing home services, are 
also excluded from gross revenues. 
 

MinnesotaCare Funding 
(FY2008) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division 

                                                 
17 The PMAP+ waiver is described in footnote 12 on page 11. The state may make a claim against its CHIP 

allotment for the difference between the CHIP federal matching rate for Minnesota (65 percent) and the Medicaid 
federal matching rate for Minnesota, for the cost of services provided to children under age 21 whose family income 
equals or exceeds 133 percent of FPG but does not exceed 275 percent of FPG. Minnesota had a CHIP waiver until 
January 31, 2009, that provided an enhanced federal match of 65 percent for parent and relative caretakers enrolled 
in MinnesotaCare with family incomes greater than 100 percent but not exceeding 200 percent of FPG. Parents and 
relative caretakers now receive the regular MA federal match of 50 percent. There is no federal match for adults 
without children. 
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Families with Children
57%

Adults without Children 
34%

Adults Transitioned from GAMC 
9%

Recipient Profile 
As of June 2009, 121,722 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program.  Just over 
three out of five MinnesotaCare enrollees are children, parents and caretakers, or pregnant 
women. 
 

MinnesotaCare Enrollment 
(June 2009) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division 
 
 

 
Application Procedure 
Application forms for MinnesotaCare, and additional information on the program, can be 
obtained from DHS by calling:  
 

1-800-657-3672 or 
651-297-3862 (in the metro area) 

 
Application forms are also available through county social service agencies, health care provider 
offices, and other sites in the community.  Applications are also available on the Internet at 
www.dhs.state.mn.us/HealthCare. 
 
For more information about health care programs, visit the health and human services area of 
our web site, www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm. 

http://www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm

