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2009 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS

Important! This is a summary of Minnesota’s hunting and trapping regulations.
For complete regulations, consult the state statutes and rules. These regulations are
valid from July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010.

Complete waterfowl regulations can be found in the 2009 Waterfowl Supplement,
available online in mid-August and wherever licenses are sold.

WELCOME

Welcome to the 2009 Minnesota hunting seasons. New regulations for
this year are listed below. Have a safe and enjoyable hunt.

=" NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2009

What’s New

Deer

* 3A Deer Season - Significant changes have been made to the 3A
deer season for 2009 only, including lengthening the season to
9 days. See page 75 for details.

* Muzzleloader either-sex lottery permits - All adult firearm and
muzzleloader hunters must apply in lottery areas. If successful,
the permit will only be valid for the season for which the person
applied. See page 70 for details.

* Youth only antlerless areas - In these deer areas, all adult (archery,
firearm, or muzzleloader) and disabled hunters are restricted to
bucks only. A limited number of youth-only antlerless permits are
available by lottery. See page 70.

* Baiting - The definition of baiting has been changed and a
provision that allowed bird feeders containing grains or nuts at least
6 feet above the ground has been eliminated for the purposes of
taking deer. See page 71-72 for details.

* Deer Registration - antlers must remain attached to the deer until
registered.

On the Cover: Old Bull Moose, oil on canvas by Francis Lee Jaques (1887-1969)
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* Military license - Residents discharged from active military service
may receive a free deer hunting license that is valid for either-sex
deer.

* Bemidji State Game Refuge - Will be open only to muzzleloader
and archery deer and bear hunting this year.

Bear

* Portable Tree Stands in WMAs - Prior to the opening day of
archery deer season (Sept. 19), portable stands may be left over-
night in a wildlife management area by a person with a valid bear
license who is hunting within 100 yards of a bear bait site that is
legally tagged and registered. The stand must have the person’s name
and address affixed in such a manner that it can be read from the
ground.

Miscellaneous

* Night Vision Equipment - A person may not possess any type of
night vision equipment while taking wild animals or while having
in possession, either individually or as one of a group of persons,
firearm, bow, or other implement that could be used to take wild
animals.

* Transporting Firearms - Unloaded guns may now be transported
in a motor vehicle without a case under certain circumstances. See
page 21 for details.

* Firewood Rules - Due to the presence of emerald ash borers in
Minnesota, firewood cannot be brought on to any state land unless
it has been purchased by a DNR approved vendor, or is kiln-dried
dimension lumber.

* Wild Rice - The opening date for wild rice harvest is now
August 15. See page 99.

* Shining - The shining law has been changed. See page 30 for
details.

HUNTING WITH DISABILITIES
Persons with disabilities may be granted special permits or
exceptions to some hunting regulations:
Crossbows: See pages 22, and 58.
Motor Vehicles: See page 24.
Special Seasons: See page 74.
Blinds at some major WMAs: See page 107.
Deer Stands, Agassiz, Rydell, Minnesota Valley and Big Stone NWR:
See pages 119-123.
Muzzleloader scope permit, page 90.
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* Possession of bows and crossbows - A person may not possess
a bow or crossbow in a motor vehicle during the open season for
any game, unless the bow or crossbow is not armed with a bolt
or arrow. A case is no longer required.

* Turkey baiting - It is likely that rules prohibiting the use of bait to
take wild turkey will be in effect by October, 2009.

Furbearers/trapping

* Live Coyotes - A person may not export a live coyote out of the state
or import a live coyote into the state unless authorized under a per-
mit from the commissioner.

* Firearms possession while trapping - a person may now use a rifle
capable of firing only rimfire cartridges of .17 or .22 caliber
including .22 magnum while checking traps with the aid of arti-
ficial lights.

* Shipping of wild animals - persons, including non-residents may
now transport wild animals by common carrier without being in the
vehicle if person has the license required to take the animals and they
are shipped to the person or a licensed taxidermist, tanner, or fur
buyer.

Waterfowl

* Motor restriction on feeding and resting areas - electric motors
with battery power of 12 volts or less are allowed in feeding and rest-
ing areas.

* Placing decoys - a person may now place decoys in public waters
or on public lands up to two hours before lawful shooting hours for
waterfowl, but they cannot be left unattended for more than 3 hours.

Note: Regulation changes that affect the early goose season,
goose management zones, and goose possession limits will be
detailed in the Waterfowl Hunting Regulations booklet, available
online and at license vendors in mid-August.
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Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against
hunters. Trespassing is illegal and can ruin hunters’ and the DNR’s
relations with private landowners. This could in turn hamper habitat
programs, cut off land access, and possibly eliminate the future of
hunting in many areas of Minnesota.

Always ask permission before entering private land. Any entry
onto the private property of another without permission is considered
trespass. Landowners may be able to pursue court action against
trespassers whether the property is posted or not. If you are caught
trespassing, you may be issued a citation and assessed a fine under civil
penalties, and repeat violators can lose their license or registration. Or,
if you are convicted of violating trespass laws under criminal procedures,
you may lose your hunting privileges for up to two years, lose hunting
equipment, and be subject to fines and possibly a jail sentence. All DNR
conservation officers and all other licensed peace officers enforce trespass
laws and may issue a citation to a person who trespasses in violation of
the law or who removes a sign without authorization. A summary of the
Minnesota Outdoor Recreation Trespass Law begins below.

RESTRICTIONS (See below for exceptions, definitions, and
posting requirements)
* A person may not enter legally posted land for outdoor recreation
purposes without permission.
* A person may not enter agricultural land for outdoor recreation
purposes without permission.
* A person may not remain on private land for outdoor recreation
purposes after being told to leave.
* On another person’s private land or a public right-of-way, a
person may not take a wild animal with a firearm within 500 feet
of a building occupied by humans or livestock without written
permission.
* A person may not take a wild animal with a firearm within 500 feet
of a corral containing livestock without permission.
* A person may not take a wild animal on any land where the person
is prohibited from lawfully entering by this law.
* A person may not wound or kill another person’s domestic animal,
destroy private property, or pass through a closed gate without
returning it to the original position.
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Exceptions

* A person on foot may, without permission, enter land that is not
posted to retrieve a wounded animal that was lawfully shot, but
may not remain on the land after being told to leave.

* A person on foot may, without permission, enter private land
without a firearm to retrieve a hunting dog. After retrieving the
dog, the person must immediately leave the premises. This excep-
tion does not authorize the taking of the wild animal.

DEFINITIONS AND POSTING REQUIREMENTS

“Outdoor Recreation” means any activity including hunting, fishing,
trapping, boating, hiking, camping, and engaging in winter sports
which is conducted primarily for the purposes of pleasure, rest or
relaxation and is dependent on or derives its principal benefit from
natural surroundings.

“Agricultural land” is land that: 1) is plowed or tilled; 2) has standing
crops or crop residues; 3) is within a maintained fence for enclosing
domestic livestock; 4) is planted to native or introduced grassland or
hay land; or 5) is planted to short-rotation woody crops (hybrid pop-
lar and other woody plants that are harvested for their fiber within
15 years of planting).

IMPORTANT NOTE: All planted grassland and hayland and all hybrid
poplar and other woody plants that are harvested for their fiber within

15 years of planting meet this definition, including grasslands enrolled in
the federal Conservation Reserve Program (CRP), Conservation Reserve
Enhancement Program (CREP), or the state Reinvest In Minnesota (RIM)
Reserve program. These lands do not need to be posted to prevent unauthor-
ized trespass. However, land that is brush or trees, including CRE CREDR
and RIM Reserve that is brush or trees, (except short-rotation woody crops
as defined above) does not meet this definition and must be posted or verbal
notice given to trespassers for criminal enforcement to occur.

Hunters and trappers: Always respect private lands. Ask first before
entering lands not posted as being open to hunting and trapping. You will
improve relationships between landowners and recreationists, and you will
have a more enjoyable time in the field.

To be legally posted, land must have signs:

—posted once each year that state “no trespassing” or similar terms
either: 1) along the boundaries every 1,000 feet or less, or in wooded
areas where boundaries are less clear, at intervals of 500 feet or less; or
2) at the primary corners of each parcel of land and at access roads
and trails at points of entrance to each parcel, except corners only
accessible through agricultural land need not be posted.

—with lettering at least 2 inches high and the signature or the legible
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name and telephone number of the owner, occupant, lessee, or author-
ized manager. An unauthorized person may not post land with signs
prohibiting outdoor recreation or trespass.

Notification to stay off private land, authorization to remove a sign
posted to prevent trespass, or legal permission to enter private land or
to take wild animals near occupied buildings or corrals, may only be
given by the owner, occupant, or lessee.

Penalties

* Violating the Minnesota Trespass Law can make you subject to
either civil or criminal penalties:

* Civil penalties are: 1) $50 for the first violation; 2) $200 for the
second violation in a 3-year period; 3) $500 and loss of every
license and registration being used for a third or subsequent
violation in a 3-year period; and 4) $50 for unauthorized removal
of a sign posted under this law.

* Criminal penalties are at least a misdemeanor for violation of this
law. In addition, it becomes a gross misdemeanor to: knowingly
disregard signs prohibiting trespass, trespass after being told not
to do so, or to violate the trespass law twice within a three-year
period. Anyone convicted of a gross misdemeanor violation of the
trespass law while hunting, fishing, trapping, or snowmobiling will
have the applicable license and registration for that activity revoked
and will have all hunting privileges suspended for two years.

Rules of Thumb for Water Access and Recreational Use
These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all
water access and recreational use situations. If you have doubts about
whether you may be trespassing on private land, we recommend that
you ask the landowner for permission.
1. What is lawful access?
A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or
if public land or a public road right-of-way abuts the surface of the
water, or if you have permission to cross private land to reach the
surface of the water.
2.What is recreational use?
Recreational use includes boating, swimming, fishing, hunting,
trapping, and similar activities. It includes walking in the water in
connection with such activities regardless of who owns the land
beneath the surface of the water.
3. What waters are open to recreational use?
A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface
if it is capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any
water that will float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other
waters may also qualify depending upon the circumstances.
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Landowner Liability (Minn. Stat. 604A.20-604.27)
An owner who gives written or oral permission for the use of the land
for recreational purposes without charge does not, by that action:
* extend any assurance that the land is safe for any purpose,
* confer upon the person the legal status of an invitee or licensee to
whom a duty of care is owed, or
* assume responsibility for or incur liability for any injury to the
person or property caused by an act or omission of the person.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Off-Highway Vehicles
Off-highway vehicle information is listed on page 25.

Public Hunting Land Maps

Find the exact boundaries of WMAs, WPAs, state forests, national
forests, and national wildlife refuges on DNR Public Recreation
Information Maps (PRIM). The maps are available at major sports
retailers and the DNR Gift Shop in St. Paul.

Respect
Private
Property
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SHOW YOUR SUPPORT
FOR MINNESOTA’S NATURAL RESOURCES

When you purchase any of the four new license
plates—or the popular loon plate—your $30 annual
contribution is matched dollar-for-dollar with private

donations and dnr nongame wildlife checkoff funds.
Together, these funds help purchase critical lands that
improve habitat for fish, wildlife, and plants.

SO DRIVE AWAY WITH AN ATTRACTIVE
PLATE TODAY... AND KNOW WE
APPRECIATE YOUR SUPPORT
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2009 Hunting and Trapping License Fees

(Price does not include any additional fees charged for issuing license)
RESIDENT LICENSES

Deer — Firearms (age 18 or over) $26.00
Deer — Youth Firearms (ages 12-17) (free license required for age 10-11) 13.00
Deer — Archery (age 18 or over) 26.00
Deer — Youth Archery (ages 12-17) (free license required for age 10-11) 13.00
Deer — Muzzleloader (age 18 or over) 26.00
Deer — Youth Muzzleloader (ages 12-17) (free license required for age 10-11) 13.00
Deer — Bonus Permit 14.00
Deer — Disease Management Permit 1.50
Deer — Early Season Antlerless Permit 7.50
Moose (per party of two, three, or four) 310.00*
Elk (per party of one or two) 250.00*
Bear 38.00*
Small Game (ages 18-64) 19.00%*
Youth Small Game (ages 16-17) 12.50%*
Senior Citizen Small Game (age 65 or over) 12.50**
Wild Turkey (see page 22) 23.00*
Prairie Chicken 20.00*
Apprentice Validation 3.50
State Migratory Waterfowl Stamp validation 7.50
State Pheasant Stamp validation 7.50
Special Canada goose seasons permit 4.00
Trapping (age 18 and over, small game license required) 20.00
Junior Trapping (age 13 to 18, small game license required for 16-17) 6.00
Senior Trapping (65 and over) 9.00
Individual Sports (small game hunting and individual angling) 29.50**
Combination Sports (small game hunting & husband-wife angling) 38.50%*
Wild Rice Harvest (Season) (age 18 and older) 25.00
Wild Rice Harvest (One Day) (age 18 and older) 15.00
LIFETIME LICENSES Fishing Small Game Sports Deer (firearms or archery)
age 3 and under $227 $217 $357 $337  [Note: First time purchase of
4toage 15 $300 $290 $480 $450  |{ifetime Licenses available
16 to age 50 $383 $363 $612 $573 only at DNR License Center in
51 and over $203 $213 $413 $383 g paul.

Note: Lifetime trapping licenses are available for free when renewing lifetime sports or small game licenses.

NONRESIDENT LICENSES

Deer — Firearms (18 & over) $140.00%**
Deer — Firearms (youth ages 12-17) 13.00
Deer — Archery (18 & over) 140.00%**
Deer — Archery (youth ages 12-17) 13.00
Deer — Muzzleloader (18 & over) 140.00
Deer — Muzzleloader (youth ages 12-17) 13.00
Deer — Bonus Permit 68.50
Deer — Early Season Antlerless Permit 33.75
Deer — Disease Management Permit 1.50
Bear 200.00***
Small Game (age 18 or over) 84.50%**
Small Game (youth) 12.50
Wild Turkey (see page 22) 78.00%**
Furbearer Hunting (raccoon and bobcat) 160.00%**
Trapping (landowner only) 73.00
Wild Rice Harvest (One Day) 30.00

LIFETIME LICENSES Fishing Small Game Note: First Gime purchase of
theo ?; aen? 5u nder gggg 2?4278 0 Lifetime Licenses available
16 to ige 50 $773 $1:633 only at DNR License Center in
51 and over $513 $1,083 St. Paul.

*

Available through lottery drawings only, except the No-Quota Bear License (see page 95).

*

*

Includes a $6.50 surcharge. This $6.50 surcharge is being paid by hunters for the acquisition and development
of wildlife lands.

*** Includes a $5 surcharge to offset the cost of the venison donation program.
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PURCHASE AND POSSESSION
License Requirements

* A person may not take, buy, sell, transport, or possess protected
wild animals without a license, except as provided in this booklet.

* All persons must have a license (including stamp validations) in
their possession while hunting or trapping and while traveling from
an area where they hunted or trapped.

* Any person ticketed for failure to possess a license will not be con-
victed if they provide to the court or arresting officer a license that
was valid at the time of arrest.

Changing Regular Firearms Deer Licenses
A person who has purchased a regular firearm deer license and
wishes to change their season option must submit their original
license and all tags issued with the original license (must be unused)
to obtain a replacement license. There is a fee of $5 (plus a $1 issu-
ing fee) for the replacement license. Replacement licenses are available
from any ELS license agent. Any replacement license must be issued
before the season for the original license opens.
* Hunters may also change from a regular firearms deer license to a
youth deer license.
* Archery licenses cannot be changed to firearm or muzzleloader
licenses.
* Muzzleloader licenses cannot be changed to a regular firearm or
archery license.

Electronic Licensing

The Department’s Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues
licenses through 1,800 license agent locations throughout Minnesota or
via the DNR Web site at mndnr.gov or via a toll free telephone number
(1-888-665-4236). An additional $3.50 convenience fee is added for
sales via the internet or telephone. To purchase a non-commercial game
or fish license, nonresidents and residents must have their social secu-
rity number on file with DNR or must provide it.

* Residents must meet legal residency requirements and if 21 or
over must provide their MN Driver’s License or MN Public Safety
ID to obtain a license.

* Nonresidents must provide their nonresident driver’s license
number or Minnesota DNR number from a prior ELS license.

* To obtain a resident license, residents 21 years of age or older
may present evidence showing proof of residency in cases when
the requirement to possess a driver’s license or identification card
would violate the Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993,
Public Law 103-141.

15
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1= ¢ Stamp validations for waterfowl and pheasant are valid for hunting

without a pictorial stamp (purchasers can request the optional
pictorial stamp for an additional $2, but it is not needed for
hunting).

* HIP Certification for legally taking migratory game birds,
including mourning doves, must be printed on your license
(see page 37).

* Buy early: Customers are advised to avoid delays by buying early
and far ahead of license or application deadlines.

License Year

Hunting licenses are valid during legal seasons between March 1
and the end of February. Resident fishing, the angling portion of a
sporting license, nonresident fishing, resident fish and dark house
and nonresident fish house licenses are valid from March 1 through

April 30 of the following year.

Purchase

Minnesota Small Game and Deer Hunting licenses, Special
Canada goose permits, state Migratory Waterfowl, and Pheasant
Stamp validations can be purchased from ELS license agents and the
DNR License Center in St. Paul. Prairie chicken, moose, antlerless
deer, and most wild turkey and bear licenses are awarded through a
statewide lottery. Applications are made through ELS license agents
or the DNR License Center in St. Paul.

Border Waters

On all border waters with adjacent states or provinces, persons
acting under a Minnesota hunting or trapping license may only take
wild animals on the Minnesota side of the border.

Revocation of Hunting Privileges
* A person convicted of two or more violations under a small game
1= or trapping license within a three-year period may have their

small game hunting or trapping privileges revoked for one year.

* Big game hunting privileges may be revoked for three years for any
of the following violations:

1. Two or more convictions of any violation relating to big game
animals within a three-year period.

2. One conviction of any of the following: shining while in possession
of a firearm or bow; knowingly transporting an illegally taken big
game animal; hunting, taking, transporting or possessing big game
without the required license; over limit of big game; hunting, taking
or possessing big game in closed season; buying or selling big game
animals (revocation of all privileges if sale is over $300).

* Under gross overlimits penalty provisions, license privileges can be
revoked for three or five years, depending on the violation.

16
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* Big game and small game hunting privileges may be revoked for
five years for hunting while under the influence of alcohol or
a controlled substance.

* Certain trespass convictions (see page 12).

* Violations of hunting laws in other states may affect your hunting
privileges in Minnesota.

* Violators of wildlife feeding bans may not obtain any hunting
license for two years after the date of conviction.

Lost License

You may obtain a duplicate license at any ELS license agent or
from the DNR License Center in St. Paul. The fee is $5.75 for a
duplicate Big Game License and $2.50 for all others.

Apprentice Hunter Validation

A resident born after December 31, 1979, who is age 12 or older
and has not completed hunter education firearms safety training can
purchase for a fee of $3.50 an Apprentice Hunter Validation.

This validation allows the individual to hunt small game, wild
turkey, and big game without having completed hunter education
firearms safety training. The validation is good for only one license
year, and can be used once in a lifetime.

An individual utilizing an Apprentice Hunter Validation must be
accompanied by a licensed adult hunter and hunt within unaided
verbal and visual contact of the licensed adult hunter. Depending on
their age and requirements, apprentice hunters must purchase all
applicable licenses and stamps.

The Apprentice Hunter Validation serves as a short-term,
one-time-only, exclusion to the regulations related to the hunter
education firearms safety training requirements. As such it gives a
person that qualify an opportunity to sample hunting for one season
before they are required to successfully complete a hunter education
firearms safety training course.

Firearms safety training course information can be found on
page 18 and on the DNR Web site at mndnr.gov

Refunds
A person who mistakenly purchases two licenses for the same
season is eligible for a refund.

Moved or Driver’s License Number Changed?

If you have recently moved, please request the license agent to update
your address when you purchase your license. If you have changed driver’s
license numbers due to a name change, please contact the DNR Information
Center (see page 127).

17
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FIREARMS SAFETY CERTIFICATES

* A certificate may be issued at age 11, and is valid if the person reaches
age 12 during the calendar year.

* Anyone under age 14 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian to
possess a firearm. “Guardian” means a legal guardian or someone age 18
or older selected by the parent or legal guardian to supervise the youth.

* Youth age 12 and under may hunt small game without a firearms
safety certificate, if accompanied by a parent or guardian.

* Youth age 11 and under may hunt wild turkeys without a firearms safety
certificate if accompanied by a parent or guardian who has a certificate.

* A resident age 10 or 11 may take big game without a firearms safety
certificate if they are under direct supervision and within immediate

1= reach of a parent or guardian. Resident youth age 10 or 11 must
obtain a free license in order to take big game.

* A person on active duty who has successfully completed basic train-
ing in the U.S. Armed Forces, Reserves, or National Guard may
purchase a license or obtain approval that authorizes hunting without
possessing a Firearms Safety Certificate.

* A replacement for a lost or destroyed Minnesota Firearms, Snow-
mobile, or ATV Safety Certificate can be obtained at any ELS license
agent. A replacement certificate is $3.50.

RESIDENTS
A Minnesota resident is defined as follows:

* A United States citizen or resident alien who has maintained a
legal residence in the state for at least 60 consecutive days before
purchasing a license, or

* A person in the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed in the state, or

* A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident.

Instant Hunting Licenses

For a convenience fee of $3.50 plus the regular license fee, you
can immediately purchase a hunting license online or by telephone.
Instant licenses are available by telephone at 1-888-MNLicense
(888-665-4236) or online at mndnr.gov. For licenses without a tag,
telephone users will receive an authorization number for instant
use of the license. Licenses without a tag that are purchased online
may be printed and used immediately (a license will not be mailed).
Licenses with a tag (such as deer or wild turkey) will be mailed
and are not valid until received and in possession. Telephone and
Internet license services are available at any time.

18
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Military Personnel

* Residents who have maintained legal residency in Minnesota and
who are serving in the U.S. Military and stationed outside the state
may hunt small game without a license while on leave. They do not
need a Minnesota Waterfowl Stamp or Pheasant Stamp but must
have a Federal Duck Stamp to hunt waterfowl. They may hunt deer,
bear, and wild turkeys without charge after obtaining the appropriate
licenses and tags from an ELS license agent by presenting official leave
papers, except they may not obtain moose and elk licenses. Deer bonus
permits may be purchased. Such service personnel must carry proof
of residency and official leave papers on their person while hunting.

* Nonresident spouses of residents on active military duty may purchase
resident hunting and fishing licenses. Nonresidents must provide proof
of spouse’s residency and active military duty.

* A resident who has served at any time during the preceding 24 months
in federal active service outside the United States and has been
discharged from active service may take small game and fish without a
license. Discharged residents must carry proof of residency and official
military discharge papers. All tags required of a licensee must be
obtained at no fee.

¢ A free deer license, valid for a deer of either sex, will be issued to
residents who have served at any time during the preceding 24
months in federal active service outside the United States and has
been discharged from active military service. Eligibility is limited to
one deer license per person. Discharged residents must provide proof
of residency and a copy of their official military discharge papers.

* Resident veterans with proof of a 100 percent service-related dis-
ability may obtain a free Small Game License and one free Firearms,
Muzzleloader, or Archery Deer License from an ELS license agent
(state stamps not required).

NONRESIDENTS
General

* All nonresidents, regardless of age, must have an appropriate hunting
license to hunt in Minnesota. A nonresident under age 18 may
obtain a small game license at the resident fee if the nonresident
possesses a firearms safety certificate or, if age 13 or under, is
accompanied by a parent or guardian when purchasing the license.
A nonresident age 13 or under must be accompanied by a parent or
guardian to take small game.

* Youth firearm, archery, and muzzleloader deer licenses ($13) are
available to nonresidents. Half-price youth turkey licenses for resi-
dents and nonresidents are available.
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* Applications allowing nonresidents to purchase licenses by mail are
available from the DNR License Center or online (addresses on
page 127).

* Purchase hunting licenses by telephone or internet: Call 1-888-
MNLicense (1-888-665-4236) or go to mndnr.gov. See box on
page 18 for additional information.

* Nonresidents may trap in Minnesota only on their own land and
with a nonresident trapping license.

* Nonresidents may not take raccoon or bobcat without a nonresident
Furbearer Hunting License and a nonresident Small Game License.

* Note to deer hunters: A Deer License issued after the opening day
of the respective season (archery, regular firearms, or muzzleloader)
is not valid until the second day affer it is issued.

Students
e Nonresident, full-time students at a Minnesota educational insti-
tution who live in the state during the school year may purchase a
resident Small Game, Deer, or Bear License with proof of student
status.
* A full-time foreign exchange student who resides with Minnesota
residents may buy a resident license to take deer or bear.

STAMPS
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Wild Turkey Stamp

The wild turkey stamp is no longer a part of licensing require-
ments.
State Pheasant and Migratory Waterfowl Stamps

Residents age 18-64, and all non-resident hunters, must have
a Minnesota Pheasant Stamp validation or Minnesota Migratory
Waterfowl Stamp validation (State Duck Stamp) in possession while
hunting or taking pheasants or migratory waterfowl respectively,
except: a) residents hunting on their own land, b) persons hunting
on a licensed commercial shooting preserve, ¢) persons taking only
marked waterfowl released on a commercial shooting preserve, or
d) residents on military leave.

Federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamp

Waterfowl hunters age 16 and over must have a valid Federal
Duck Stamp in possession while hunting or taking migratory water-
fowl. Federal Duck Stamps can be purchased at post offices or license
agents. Electronically issued Federal Duck Stamps are available at all
of Minnesota’s 1,800 electronic license vendors.
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The following are general hunting regulations. Specific regulations for
various game species are in the Big Game, Small Game, Trapping, Water-
fowl, and Wild Turkey sections of this booklet.

ARMS RESTRICTIONS

Firearms Transportation
A person may not transport a firearm, including a handgun, in or
on a motor vehicle unless the firearm is:
* unloaded* and cased;
¢ unloaded* and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or
* carried under a valid permit to carry a pistol or handgun.
15> Under the following circumstances, a person may transport
unloaded, uncased firearms (excluding pistols) in a motor vehicle,
including AT Vs:
* while at a shooting range with permission
* while lawfully hunting on private or public land or while travelling
to or from a site the person intends to hunt or has lawfully hunted
that day.
1= Firearms must be transported unloaded and cased:
* within Anoka, Hennepin, or Ramsey counties.
* within an area where firearms discharge has been prohibited.
* within the boundaries of a home rule, charter, or statutory city
with a population of 2,500 or more.
* on school grounds
* as otherwise restricted in game refuges, shining or night vision laws.
Transportation of Bows
1= No person may transport an archery bow or crossbow in a
motor vehicle unless the bow is not armed with a bolt or arrow.

Handguns

Persons age 18 or older may carry a handgun in the woods and
fields or upon waters to hunt or target shoot. Persons under age 18
may carry handguns for hunting if in the actual presence or under the
direct supervision of the person’s parent or guardian, and if they meet

* An “unloaded” firearm is defined as a firearm without ammunition in the barrels
and magazine, if the magazine is in the firearm. A muzzle-loading firearm with
a flintlock ignition is unloaded if it does not have priming powder in a pan.
A muzzle-loading firearm with percussion ignition is unloaded if it does not have
a percussion cap on a nipple.
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firearms safety requirements (see page 18). A person may not possess
a firearm while bowhunting for deer. A person may take bear, elk and
moose by archery while in possession of a firearm. Questions regard-
ing handguns should be directed to local law enforcement authorities.

The “Concealed carry or permit to carry” provisions apply to cer-
tain hunting activities. Persons with a permit under this law generally
may carry their handguns uncased and loaded while hunting, and
while traveling to or from hunting locations by motor vehicle under
the hunting firearms transportation laws. However, possession of the
handgun while 'shining' or while hunting deer by archery would still
subject the possessor to the provisions of these laws (see page 30,
artificial lights, for more information).

1= Crossbows

22

A person may hunt with a crossbow during the regular firearms
deer and bear seasons and with a firearms turkey license. At other
times, a person may not hunt with a crossbow or possess a crossbow
in a motor vehicle unless the crossbow is not armed with a bolt or
arrow. Disabled persons with a valid permit may also hunt with cross-
bows or use a bow with a mechanical device that draws, releases, or

holds the bow at full draw (pages 56, 58 and 74).

Possession of Firearms Before, During, and After the
Firearms Deer Season

(Note: This section does not apply to the Muzzleloader Season, see
page 90, except that muzzleloaders legal for deer may be possessed only by
persons with a muzzleloader or firearms deer license during that season.)

No person may possess a firearm or ammunition outdoors during
the period beginning the fifth day before the open firearms season
and ending the second day after the close of the season within an area
where deer may be legally taken by firearms (see page 29), except:

* A person who has a valid firearms big game license in possession
may hunt big game during the open season with a firearm and
ammunition authorized for big game.

* Possession is also legal under these conditions:

a) An unloaded firearm that is cased or in a closed trunk of a
motor vehicle.

b) A shotgun and shells containing No. 4 buckshot or smaller
diameter lead shot or nontoxic shot.

c) A .22 caliber rimfire handgun or rifle with .22 caliber short,
long, or long rifle cartridges, .22 magnum or .17 caliber.

d) Handguns possessed by a person with a carry permit.

e) On an authorized target range.
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“TAKING” DEFINED

“Taking” means pursuing, shooting, killing, capturing, trapping,
snaring, angling, spearing, or netting wild animals; or placing, setting,
drawing, or using a net, trap, or other device to take wild animals. Taking
also includes astempting to take wild animals or assisting another person
in taking wild animals.

“POSSESSION” DEFINED
Game animals are in a person’s possession whether on hand, in cold
storage, in transport, or elsewhere.

PROTECTED ANIMALS

The following birds and mammals are protected in Minnesota by state
or federal laws:

Protected Birds

* All birds for which seasons are established in these regulations are
protected birds but may be taken as authorized.

* There is no open season on bobwhite quail, cranes, swans, hawks,
owls, eagles, herons, bitterns, cormorants, loons, grebes, or any
other species of birds except unprotected birds.

Crows

* Crows may be taken without a license in season or at any time
when they are doing or are about to do damage.

* Electronic calls or sounds may be used for crow hunting.

* Crows may be taken with a legal firearm (shotgun not larger than
10 gauge, rifle, or handgun), bow and arrow, or by falconry.

Mammals

¢ All mammals for which seasons are established in these regulations
are protected mammals, but may be taken as authorized.

* There is no open season on caribou, antelope, lynx, gray wolf,
wolverine, cougar, or spotted skunk (“civet cat”).

1 ¢ A person may not export or import a live coyote into the state
unless authorized by the Commissioner.
Taking Protected Species

* No protected species may be taken in any manner in any area of

the state except in accordance with these regulations.

* All protected species must be killed before being removed from the
site where taken.

UNPROTECTED ANIMALS

Residents and nonresidents are not required to have a license to hunt
unprotected species including coyote. Nonresidents do not need a furbear-
er hunting license in addition to their small game license to hunt fox.
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Unprotected Mammals

Weasels, coyotes, gophers, porcupines, striped skunks, and all other
mammals for which there are no closed seasons or other protection are
unprotected animals. They may be taken in any manner, except with
the aid of artificial lights or by using a motor vehicle to drive, chase,
run over, or kill the animal. Poisons may not be used except in accor-
dance with all label regulations of the state Dept. of Agriculture and
federal Environmental Protection Agency.

Unprotected Birds

House sparrows, starlings, common pigeons, chukar partridge, quail
other than northern bobwhite, and monk parakeets are unprotected
and may be taken at any time.

Motor Vehicles
* No person may take a wild animal with a firearm or by archery from
a motor vehicle except a disabled person with an appropriate permit.
A disabled person with a permit to shoot from a stationary motor
vehicle may take a deer of either sex without an antlerless permit
except in those areas designated as youth only antlerless areas. Other
members of the hunting party may not shoot antlerless deer for the
disabled person.
* Permits to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle may be issued by
]:\ DNR Enforcement to a person who obtains the required licenses
C~ and who has a permanent physical disability that is more substantial
than discomfort from walking. The permit recipient must: be unable
to step from a vehicle without aid of a wheelchair, crutches, braces,
or other mechanical support or prosthetic device; or be unable to
walk any distance because of a permanent lung, heart, or other inter-
nal disease that requires the person to use supplemental oxygen to
assist breathing. The permanent disability must be verified in writing
by a licensed physician or chiropractor. In addition to providing the
medical evidence of permanent disability, the applicant must possess
a valid disability parking certificate or license plates issued by the
Department of Public Safety. Permit applications are available from
any DNR regional office or by calling the information numbers on
page 127.
* No person may use a motor vehicle to intentionally drive, chase,
run over, or kill any wild animal. Road-killed animals may not be
legally possessed, except by special permit from a DNR conservation
officer, state patrol, county sheriff or other law enforcement officer.
* Shooting from a motorized vehicle is unlawful.
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Off-Highway Vehicles (OHVs), including All-Terrain Vehicles (ATVs)
A person may not intentionally operate an off-highway vehicle:

* in most wildlife management areas, a state park, or a scientific and
natural area, except as specifically authorized by law or rule;

* in unfrozen public waters (lakes, rivers, streams and certain wet-
lands), or in calcareous fens as identified by the commissioner;

* on a trail on public land that is designated or signed for
non-motorized use only;

* on restricted areas within public lands that are posted or where
gates or other clearly visible structures are placed to prevent
unauthorized motorized vehicle access; or

¢ shoot at a wild animal from an OHV.

Using Motor Vehicles During Deer Season
To reduce disturbance during the prime hunting times, a person
possessing any valid deer license is restricted to the following hours of
operation for snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles (ATVs*) during the
firearms deer season, and the muzzleloader season.
Such vehicles may only be operated:
a) before legal shooting time (one-half hour before sunrise),
b) from 11 a.m. undl 2 p.m., and
c) after legal shooting hours (one-half hour after sunset).

* These regulations apply to all public and private lands except pri-
vate landowners or persons authorized by private landowners may
operate snowmobiles or all-terrain vehicles on their property at any
time.

* On public land, a permit to operate snowmobiles or ATVs during
the closed time periods may be issued by a conservation officer in
an emergency or other unusual situation.

¢ ATVs and snowmobiles are not allowed in State Parks, National
Wildlife Refuges (see page 119), Scientific and Natural Areas, or
most Wildlife Management Areas. ATV use is regulated in state
and national forests. (See rules on using public lands, pages 102-
126.)

OHVs and Wetland Disturbance
A person may not operate an OHYV in a manner to:
* indicate a willful, wanton, or reckless disregard for the safety of
persons or property;

* ATVs are defined for the purposes of these regulations as all vehicles not
requiring Minnesota Department of Public Safety licensing, including
trail bikes, 3-wheelers, 4-wheelers, 6-wheelers, tracked vehicles, and other
similarly manufactured or homemade vehicles. 95
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* carelessly upset the natural and ecological balance of a wetland or
public waters wetland; or

* impact a wetland or public waters wetland in excess of minimum
amounts established under law (these vary by area of the state and
other criteria, check the DNR Web site for more information
mndnr.gov).

See the Following Additional Regulations
* OHV operation on WMAs, pages 105-106
* OHV operation on state forests, pages 113-114
* Motor vehicles on federal lands, page 119-126

Dog Training

A person may not train hunting dogs afield on DNR administered
lands from April 16 to July 14. A person may train hunting dogs
afield on other lands.

A person training a dog afield and carrying a firearm may only
have blank cartridges and shells in possession when the season is
not open for any game bird, except by permit. An organization or
individual may obtain permits to use firearms and live ammunition
on domesticated birds or banded game birds from game farms for
holding field trials and training hunting dogs.

Dogs Pursuing Big Game

No persons may allow their dog to chase or kill big game.

Between January 1 and July 14, a dog that is observed wounding,
killing, or pursuing in a way that endangers big game may be killed
by any person. A peace officer or conservation officer may kill a dog
that endangers big game at any time of the year. The officer or person
is not liable for damages for killing the dog.

Important: Other hunting seasons are open before, dur-
ing, and after the deer season. Many hunters use dogs to hunt
upland game, waterfowl, rabbits, raccoons, foxes, and coyotes.
Dogs may not be shot during fall hunting seasons, even if seen
pursuing big game, except by a conservation or peace officer.

Hunting While Under the Influence

A person may not take protected wild animals with a firearm or by
archery or be afield with a loaded or uncased firearm or an uncased
bow while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.
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Wanton Waste
A person may not wantonly waste or destroy a usable part of a
protected wild animal unless authorized.

Radios and Other Wireless Devices
* Using walkie talkies, cell phones, remote control or other radio
equipment to take big game or small game is unlawful.
* A DNR permit is required to take unprotected animals with the
aid of radio equipment, see page 24.

Dates and Times Inclusive
All dates and times specified in these regulations are inclusive
unless specified otherwise.

GAME FOR CONSUMPTION AT FUND RAISING EVENTS

Nonprofit organizations may charge a fee for admission to fundraising
events when lawfully taken and possessed big game and small game
(excluding migratory game birds that cannot be sold under federal law),
is donated to the organization and is served for consumption on the
premises where the fundraising event is held. Records of donations must
be kept for two years.

GIFTS

Lawfully taken wild animals may be transferred as a gift if accompanied
by a receipt containing: name and address of the owner; name and address
of the recipient, date of transfer, description of the gift (for example:
“Three 1-pound venison steaks”) and the license number under which the
animal was taken. The receipt must remain with the gift.

HUNTER HARASSMENT PROHIBITED

A person may not prevent or disrupt another person from taking or
preparing to take a wild animal. A person may not disturb wild animals
with the intent to prevent or disrupt another person from hunting.
Placing bait for the purpose of preventing or disrupting another person
from lawfully hunting deer would be considered unlawful under the
hunter harassment laws.

SALE OF ANIMAL PARTS

Except as otherwise provided in these regulations, a person may
possess, transport, buy, or sell the following inedible portions of lawfully
taken or acquired big game, furbearers, and game birds (other than
migratory birds): bones (including skulls), sinews, hides, hooves, teeth,
claws, and antlers. A person may not sell meat or organs, including bear
gall bladders, and may not sell bear paws unless attached to the hide.
The flesh of legally-taken beaver, muskrat, raccoon, rabbits, and hares
may be bought, sold, and transported at any time.
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A hunter or trapper may sell the pelts of lawfully taken furbearers
only to a licensed fur buyer. A person may not buy raw furs without a

fur

buyer’s license, except a fur manufacturer or licensed taxidermist may

buy raw furs from a licensed fur buyer.

Lead in Ammunition

Because of its toxicity the use of lead shot for waterfowl hunting
has been illegal in Minnesota since 1987 and nationally since 1991.
Additionally, all types of hunting with lead fine shot on Federal
Waterfowl Production Areas has been illegal in Minnesota since
1999. State Wildlife Management Areas contain abundant wet-
lands, and lead shot continues to be deposited in theses wetland as
a result of upland game bird hunting. Lead is toxic, can affect wild-
life health and reproduction, and at higher levels is fatal. Effective
nontoxic loads are now widely available and cost about as much as
a box of premium lead. Hunters are encouraged to consider using
non-toxic alternatives for all of their hunting. Using non-toxic shot
also eliminates the potential risk of ingesting lead in game con-
sumed by hunters and their families. For more information on this
issue, please visit our Web site at mndnr.gov/lead

BLAZE ORANGE REQUIREMENTS

Small Game Seasons: You may not take small game unless a
visible portion of at least one article of clothing above the waist is
blaze orange, except when hunting wild turkeys, migratory birds,
raccoons, predators, when hunting by falconry, or while trapping.

Deer Season: Also, you may not hunt or trap during any open
season where deer may be taken by firearms (including special
hunts, early antlerless, youth seasons, and muzzleloader) under
applicable laws and ordinances unless the visible portion of your
cap and outer clothing above the waist, excluding sleeves and
gloves, is blaze orange. Red is not a legal color, except for those
who qualify under the Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993.
Blaze orange includes a camouflage pattern of at least 50 percent
blaze orange within each square foot. This restriction does not
apply to migratory waterfowl hunters on waters or in a stationary
shooting location or to trappers on waters. Times and zones for
firearms are shown in the map on next page. Muzzleloader season
is open statewide, except for closed areas (see page 90).
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Blaze Orange Requirements
Zones and Dates

Date

Season

Firearm Option Statewide (A)

Firearm Option Late Southeast (B) Nov. 21-29

Muzzleloader Nov. 28-Dec. 13

Early Antlerless Season Oct. 10-11

M 7 Nov. 7-29

Note: Consult the deer regulations section for restrictions within the dates in
the box or see the large fold-out Deer Zone/Area Map (available anywhere
hunting licenses are sold) for additional details.
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DUTY TO RENDER AID

A person who shoots and injures another person with a firearm, or has
reason to believe that another person might have been injured, and any
witnesses to such a shooting, must immediately investigate the extent of
the person’s injuries and give reasonable assistance, including calling law
enforcement or medical personnel to the scene. Failure to do so can result
in imprisonment and a fine for the shooter and witnesses.

1= ARTIFICIAL LIGHTS

With a firearm or bow

A person may not cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight or other arti-
ficial light onto a highway or into a field, woodland, or forest to spot,
locate or take a wild animal while possessing either individually or as one
of a group, a firearm, bow or other implement that could be used to take
big game, small game or unprotected species.

1=  Shining lights generally

Without implements to take wild animals, from two hours after sun-
set until sunrise, no person may cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight or
other artificial light on a highway or into a field, woodland or forest to
spot or locate a wild animal.

A person may not cast rays of a spotlight, headlight or other artificial
light on land that is marked with signs prohibiting the shining of lights.
The signs must: 1) display letters that are at least 2 inches in height and
state “no shining” or similar terms; and 2) be placed at intervals of 500
feet or less along the boundary of an area.

A person may not cast an artificial light onto fenced, agricultural land
or a residential property or building sites from a motor vehicle.

1> The exceptions to this regulation are:

Without a firearm or a bow, a person who is on foot may use a hand-
held artificial light to retrieve wounded or dead big game animals.

A person taking raccoons or tending traps in accordance with all other
regulations in this booklet.

A person hunting for coyote of fox from Jan. 1 to March 15 may use
an artificial handheld light under the following conditions:

* While on foot and not within a public right of way
* Using a shotgun

* Using a calling device

* Not within 200 feet of a vehicle

It is not a violation of this law to shine lights without a firearm while
doing any agricultural, safety, emergency response, normal vehicle opera-
tion or occupational-related activities or recreational activity, including
snowmobiling, not related to spotting, locating or taking a wild animal.
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NIGHT VISION EQUIPMENT

1= A person may not possess any kind of night vision equipment while
taking wild animals or while possessing a firearm, bow, or other imple-
ment that could be used to take wild animals.

This regulation does not apply to (1) a firearm that is unloaded,
cased, and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or (2) a bow that is
cased or unstrung, and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle. If the
motor vehicle does not have a trunk, the firearm or bow must be placed
in the rearmost location of the vehicle.

ENFORCEMENT

* DNR conservation officers and other peace officers may arrest, with-
out a warrant, any person detected in the actual violation of wildlife,
fish, or water laws and may enter any lands to carry out these duties.

* No person may hinder, resist, or obstruct an enforcement officer or
authorized DNR agent in the performance of official duties.

* A person must allow inspection in the field of firearms, licenses, wild
animals, motor vehicles, boats, or other conveyances used while tak-
ing or transporting wild animals.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Mentoring Young Hunters
When hunting with a novice hunter, the focus of your hunt must
always be on the novice hunter.

Safe hunting practices are learned behaviors. These practices, as
well as safe hunting principles, need to be constantly promoted with
new and inexperienced hunters. It’s the responsibility of a young
hunter’s parent or mentor to ensure that the practices taught in youth
firearms safety hunter education classes are continually reinforced
with young hunters.

In addition a key role for a parent or mentor of a young hunter
is to ensure that the young hunter has a firearm that functions prop-
erly, fits the shooter and is a model that can be safely operated by the
inexperienced shooter.
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YOUTH SMALL GAME HUNTS

Take a Kid Hunting Weekend—September 26-27 During Take-A-
Kid-Hunting Weekend adult residents accompanied by a youth under age
16 may hunt small game without a license, but must comply with open
seasons, limits and other regulations.

Youth Waterfowl Day—September 19 To provide a quality oppor-
tunity to introduce young people to waterfowl hunting, youth age 15 or
younger may hunt waterfowl for this one day. A non-hunting adult men-
tor 18 years or older who is authorized by the youth's parent or guardian
must accompany the youth hunter at all times. The DNR encourages you
to introduce a young person that might not otherwise get a chance to
hunt, and teach them how to hunt safely and ethically.

Youth Future Pheasant Hunters Day—October 24 Partnering
with Pheasants Forever, the DNR is offering mentored pheasant hunts
designed to introduce youth to pheasant hunting. All hunting regulations
apply.

Other Special Youth Hunts 2010 youth turkey hunts are tentatively
scheduled for April 17-18. Applications will be taken in February.
Visit mndnr.gov/youthhunts for information.

SPECIAL YOUTH DEER HUNTS

Youth Deer Hunt regulations All participating youth must attend
a mandatory orientation prior to the hunt (details will be included in
notices to successful applicants). An adult mentor, who may not hunt,
must accompany participants during the orientation and the hunt. Each
person must apply at an ELS agent or the DNR License Center at 500
Lafayette Road in St. Paul. Group applications and party hunting are not
allowed. A drawing will be held if applications exceed available permits
for each hunt. Unsuccessful applicants will receive preference for future
youth hunt lotteries of the same type. Applicants may only apply for one
youth archery hunt and one youth firearms hunt. Participation in a youth
hunt does not affect one’s eligibility to participate in the regular deer
seasons, but harvested deer count against a youth's annual bag limit. The
application deadline is August 14.

Youth firearms deer hunts Applicants for youth firearms special deer
hunts must be 12-15 years old at the time of the hunt. Participants must
have a firearms safety certificate and must obtain a license for taking deer
%}éﬁrearms, valid for any zone or season option, by the beginning date of
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the respective hunt. Blaze orange requirements are in effect in areas open
during firearms youth deer hunts. The rifle-shotgun boundary is in effect
(see back of large deer zone map, available separately).

Youth archery hunts Applicants for special youth archery hunts must
be at least 12-17 years old at the time of the hunt. Persons participating
in youth archery deer hunts must obtain a valid license for taking deer by
archery two days prior to the start of the hunt.

Whitewater refuge youth archery and firearms hunt Hunters using
archery equipment must comply with blaze orange and youth firearms
age requirements and must have a valid license for taking deer by archery
two days before the start of the hunt.

SPECIAL YOUTH DEER SEASON

Northwest Minnesota special youth antlerless deer season
(Oct. 17-18) Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Pennington and
Roseau counties (including Old Mill, Lake Bronson, Hayes Lake, and
Zippel Bay state parks) are open Oct. 17-18 for taking antlerless deer by
firearms for youth 12-14 years old at the time of the hunt. Participating
youth must have a firearms safety certificate and must obtain a license for
taking deer by firearms valid for any zone or season option. No special
permit is required.

Participant numbers are not limited. Participants may use one bonus
permit but may only take one deer during the youth season. An adult
mentor age 18 or older must accompany the youth hunter at all times
during the hunt. The accompanying adult may not hunt. Party hunting
is not allowed. The blaze orange requirements apply to all hunters
and trappers and all adult mentors of youth hunters in areas open
to youth firearms deer hunting during the special youth season.
Participation in the youth season does not affect eligibility to participate
in regular deer seasons, but harvested deer count against the annual bag
limit.

Youth Hunting Licenses Reduced price individual youth licenses
are available for residents and nonresidents under age 18 for firearms
deer, archery deer, muzzleloader deer, and small game (see page 14).
The individual youth firearms license is valid during the Statewide (A)
and Late Southeast (B) season but not the Muzzleloader Season.

Youth Hunting in Limited Youth Areas Youth licensees hunting in
these areas are restricted to taking bucks only unless they have been suc-
cessful in the youth-only either-sex lottery. The application deadline is
Thursday, Sept. 10.
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Youth Antlerless Privilege in Lottery Deer Areas Residents and
nonresidents under the age of 18 may take a deer of either sex in lottery
deer areas without having to apply for or obtain an either-sex permit.
Youth age 12 to 17 should not apply for an either sex permit. ONLY
THE YOUTH LICENSEE MAY TAKE AND TAG AN ANTLERLESS
DEER IN A LOTTERY DEER AREA without an either-sex permit.
Other members of the hunting party cannot take antlerless deer for the
youth. Youth may not tag antlerless deer taken by another individual.
Youth hunters must take and tag their own antlerless deer.

Firearms Safety Training Demand for Firearms Safety Training
Classes is high, and many classes fill very rapidly or have waiting lists.
Finding a class well in advance of the hunting season is highly recom-
mended. Youth may attend a class at age 11. Information on classes can
be found on the DNR Web site.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Only approved firewood now allowed on DNR lands...
Approved firewood is:

1. Firewood purchased from the DNR

2. Firewood purchased from an approved vendor (check out
mndnr.gov/firewood/index.html for a list of approved ven-
dors)

3. Kiln-dried wood, such as unstained, unpainted dimensional
lumber free of metal or other foreign objects.

These restrictions are needed to help prevent the introduction,
or slow the spread, of damaging forest pests, including emerald ash
borer, gypsy moth, and oak wilt. Help protect Minnesota’s forests
by leaving firewood at home! Check with the state park, state forest
campground, or other state recreational facility you will be visiting
to get the latest recommendations and restrictions on firewood
movement to and within Minnesota.
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See hunting and trapping season chart, pages 42-43.
A license year runs from March 1 through the end of February.

>
=

MIGRATORY WATERFOWL See page 96.
LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

Small Game Hunting

* Residents age 16 and over, and all nonresidents, must have a valid
Small Game License in their possession to take small game, except
residents may hunt small game without a license on their own land
if they occupy it as their principal residence. There are also exemp-
tions for military personnel, see page 19.

* All residents age 18 or over and under age 65, and all nonresident
hunters, must have a Minnesota Pheasant Stamp validation in their
possession to take pheasants. For exceptions, see page 20.

Important Information:
Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP)

All hunters of migratory game birds (mourning doves, ducks,
geese, mergansers, woodcock, snipe, rails, coots, or gallinules) must
identify themselves as migratory bird hunters at the time they pur-
chase a small game or sports license.

Evidence of compliance, which will be noted on your small
game license as “HIP Certified,” must be carried while hunting
migratory game birds.

Anyone who has hunted or intends to hunt migratory game birds
must answer ‘yes” to the question on the license. If the license agent
does not ask you this question at the time of license purchase,
please remind them to do so. This information is important. If you
did not answer “yes” at the time you purchased your license, you may
do so later at no cost and get a receipt showing you are HIP certified
at any ELS agent prior to hunting migratory game birds.

The answers to the screening questions about migratory bird
hunting on the license will be used to survey hunters at a later date to
more accurately estimate actual harvests. Improved harvest informa-
tion will be used to better manage migratory bird populations and
preserve hunting opportunities.
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* A nonresident must have a nonresident Furbearer Hunting License
and a nonresident Small Game License to take raccoon and bobcat.
A nonresident Furbearer Hunting License is not required to take
fox and coyote. However, a Small Game License is still required to
take fox and other small game.

GE

38

NERAL RESTRICTIONS

Blaze Orange

Blaze orange is required for
most small game hunting. See
pages 28 and 29 for specifics.

Closed Sharp-tailed Grouse
Area

The shaded area on the map
at right is closed to sharp-tailed
grouse hunting, except for licensed
prairie chicken hunters within
their selected zone. Few sharptails
live in the area, and the closure
protects remnant populations of
sharptails and prairie chickens (a
similar-looking species).

Party Hunting for Small Game

A “party” is defined as a group of two or more persons maintaining
unaided visual and vocal contact with each other while taking non-
migratory small game. “Party hunting” means that members of a party
may take animals for other members’ limits. A party may lawfully take
small game in accordance with the following regulations:

* A member of the party may take more than an individual limit,
but the total number of small game taken and possessed by the
party may not exceed the combined limits of members of
the party.

* Each party member may transport only an individual limit of small
game.

* Party hunting is not allowed for migratory game birds (doves, ducks,
geese, mergansers, coots, woodcock, rail, snipe, and gallinules).
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Use of Lead Shot
* No person may take ducks, geese, mergansers, coots, or gallinules
with lead shot or while having lead shot in possession.
* Lead shot may be used statewide for hunting other small game in
accordance with firearms restrictions in this booklet, except in fed-

eral Wildlife Refuges and Waterfowl Production Areas.

Prairie Chickens

2009 Prairie Chicken Hunting Licenses have already been allo-
cated by a drawing for the five-day hunting season, which will run
Oct. 17-21. Prairie chicken hunters must have a prairie chicken hunt-
ing license; no small game license is required. Applications for next
year’s season will be available to Minnesota residents only in June,
2010. Applications will be due on July 30, 2010 and the season will
begin Oct. 23, 2010.

Persons who do not have a prairie chicken license may not aid or
assist prairie chicken hunters in any way. For example it is illegal for
someone without a prairie chicken license to work dogs for someone
with a prairie chicken license even if that person is licensed to take
other small game. However, party hunting for prairie chickens is legal.
That means that licensed prairie chicken hunters can shoot birds for
other licensed prairie chicken hunters as along as they are together
and they have not exceeded the total number of birds allowed for the
party.

Woodcock, Rails, Snipe, and Doves

* Duck Stamps (state or federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamps) are
not required to hunt woodcock, rails, snipe, or mourning doves.

* Compliance with the migratory bird harvest information program
is required by indicating “yes” in response to the migratory bird
hunting question on the license (see page 37).

* Shotguns used to hunt these birds must not be capable of hold-
ing more than three shells, unless plugged with a one-piece filler
that cannot be removed without disassembling the gun, so its total
capacity does not exceed three shells.

Partridge and Pheasant
* A person may not shoot pheasants or Hungarian partridge with a
rifle or handgun other than a .22 caliber rimfire using short, long,
or long rifle ammunition.

Furbearers
* A person may not disturb the burrow or den of any wild animal
between November 1 and April 1, without a permit.
* A person may not take pine marten, fisher, mink, muskrat, beaver,
or otter by hunting.

39



2009 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS

Coyote Hunters - Know Your Target!
Wolf and Coyote lIdentification

Wolves have been mistakenly shot
outside Minnesota’s primary wolf
range because hunters thought they
were coyotes. Wolves were once
restricted to the northern part of
Minnesota, but they have expanded
their range and could show up in any
part of the state. Do not assume that
because you are outside Minnesota’s
primary wolf range that the animal in

FIII

your sights is a coyote. Wolves and \.]

coyotes are closely related, but are

well distinguished by their difference | K

in size and physical characteristics. |

In Minnesota, gray wolves are a :1

protected wild animal and currently

there is no hunting or trapping allowed. Shooting a gray wolf because you
think it is a coyote is illegal and punishable by Minnesota Game and Fish
laws. Always know your target!

GRAY WOLF (Canis lupus) AKA - Timber wolf
Height: 30" average — Length: 5 feet — Weight: 50-110 Ibs.
Color — shades of gray or tan, sometimes black, rarely white

Photo: Jenni Bid-ner/WiIdIife Science

Center

COYOTE (Canis latrans) AKA — Brush wolf
Height: 18” max. — Length: 3 feet — Average weight: 25-35 Ibs.
Color — all shades of gray, tan, buff, black or white (very rare)

Photo: USFWS

Minnesota’s Primary Wolf Range
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Raccoons
Night Hunting
A person may take raccoons between V2 hr. after sunset and %2 hr.
before sunrise only in accordance with the following regulations:
* Hunters must be on foot.
* Artificial lights may be used to locate, attempt to locate, or shoot a
raccoon only if the raccoon has been treed or put at bay by dogs.
* Rifles and handguns used must be .17 or .22 caliber rimfire
(including .22 magnum).
* Shotgun shells may not contain shot larger than No. 4 bird shot.
Other Restrictions
* A person may pursue and tree raccoons with dogs, during the
closed season and without a license.
* A person may not take a raccoon in a den or hollow tree, or by
cutting down a tree occupied by a raccoon.

Fox and Coyote Night Hunting
A person hunting for coyote or fox from Jan. 1 to March 15 may
use an artificial handheld light under the following conditions:
* While on foot and not within a public right of way
* Using a shotgun
* Using a calling device
¢ Not within 200 feet of vehicle

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Transporting Firearms
Although firearms transportation laws relating to hunting have
changed, hunters are reminded the safest way to transport firearms is
unloaded and cased. Not only does a case provide an extra measure
of protection for your firearm but it is reminder to ensure that fire-
arms are unloaded before transporting in or on a motor vehicle.
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TRANSPORTATION OF GAME BIRDS
Game birds possessed in the field or being transported must be
“undressed.” An “undressed” game bird is defined as:

* Non-migratory upland game birds (turkey, pheasant, grouse,
Hungarian partridge, prairie chicken) must have one leg and foot or
the fully feathered head or a fully feathered wing intact.

* Ducks and mergansers must have a fully feathered wing and the fully
feathered head attached.

* Geese must have a fully feathered wing attached.

* Other migratory game birds—doves, woodcock, rails, snipe, coots,
and gallinules—must have feet and a fully feathered head attached.

Turkey, Pheasant, Grouse, Prairie

— ﬁ& Ducks,
Chicken, Hungarian Partridge '

Mergansers,
jd

and Geese

Option 1
Fully feathered
head attached.

1 Fully feathered
head and fully feathered wing
attached. (Geese need only a
fully feathered wing.)

Woodcock, Rails, ==
Doves, Snipe, Coots,

Option 2. Option 3
F:;lt ered One leg and and Gallinules

win foot intact.

attached. Both feet and

feathered head
attached.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Firearms Safety
Hunting is one of the safest recreational activities, however if you
don’t practice firearms safety 100 percent of the time accidents can
happen. Please remember and practice the 3 basic rules of firearms

safety.

* Always treat every firearm as if it’s loaded

* Always control the muzzle, by always keeping it pointed in a
safe direction

* Always be sure of your target and what’s beyond
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Note: Best Management Practices for trapping in the United States are avail-
able online at: www.fishwildlife.org/furbearer_resources.html

License Requirements

* Every resident age 16 and over must have both a Small Game and
a Trapping License in possession to take small game (including
furbearers) with traps, except that persons may trap without a Small
Game License on their own land if they occupy it as their principal
residence. That person must still have a Trapping License.

* Residents age 13 through 17 must have a Jr. Trapping License and resi-
dents age 18 through 64 must have a regular trapping license to trap.
Residents age 65 and over must have a regular or reduced-fee trapping
license. Residents under age 13 do not need a trapping license.

* Any fisher, otter, bobcat, or pine marten taken by a resident under
age five must be included in the limit of the accompanying parent
or guardian.

* Nonresidents may only obtain a license to trap on land they own
in Minnesota.

Persons born after December 31, 1989, who have not been issued
a trapping license in a previous license year may not obtain a trap-
ping license without a trapper education certificate. The Minnesota
Trappers Association will conduct trapper education courses statewide,
free of charge to the participants, and issue certificates that satisfy this
trapping license requirement.

Seasons See page 43.

Important! Other outdoor enthusiasts are afield with dogs during
trapping seasons. Although accidental captures of dogs by trappers
are rare, the occasional accidents that occur lead to calls for
increased regulation of trapping activities. Trappers must be aware
of their responsibility to set and tend traps in strict adherence to all
trapping and trespass regulations, and take great care to avoid areas
and sets that may accidentally capture dogs.
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Trap and Snare Identification
A person may not set or place a trap or snare, other than on property
owned or occupied by the person, unless the following information is
affixed to the trap or snare in a way that ensures the information remains
legible while the trap or snare is on the land or in the water:
1) The number and state of the person’s driver’s license; or
2) The person’s Minnesota identification card number; or
3) The person’s name and mailing address; or
4) The person's MNDNR number as printed on their license.
(Note: A person may use their previously issued drivers license
number until March 1, 2013)
Note: From April 1 to August 31, the trap identification pro-
visions listed above do not apply to traps set for the taking of
unprotected wild animals.

Traps (Note: trapping regulations have been modified in the lynx
management zone. See page 50.)
A person may not set, place, or operate:
* any foot or leghold trap with a jaw opening greater than 8% inches;
* any body-gripping or conibear-type trap with a jaw opening
greater than 7V inches, except as a waterset*; or
* any body-gripping or conibear-type trap with a jaw opening
greater than 6% inches in or within 3 feet of a culvert, except
when completely submerged in water.

OTTER BAG LIMITS

694
NOrth (I_Imlt 4) 494, 494
o ]69]3 61
L] 212 19
‘ WX 212 =
35
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* A waterset is defined as any body-gripping trap or snare set so that the
trap jaws or the snare loop are at least half-submerged in water.
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FURBEARER ZONES
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Trap Setting and Tending

* A person may set or tend traps
only from 5 a.m. to 10 p.m.

* A person on foot may use an
artificial light to set or tend
traps during the legal hours.

1= However, that person may not
possess or use a bow and
arrow or a firearm other than
a handgun or rifle of .17 or
.22 caliber with short, long, or
long rifle rim fire ammunition 3 e O M P
(including .22 magnum) while D A
using the light in the field.

* A person may not set a trap within 50 feet of any water other than
temporary surface water within 30 days before the open season for
mink and muskrat in that area, except by permit.

* Any trap capable of capturing a protected animal and not capable
of drowning the animal must be tended at least once each calen-
dar day, except for body-gripping or conibear-type traps. Any trap
capable of drowning the captured animal and any body-gripping or
conibear-type trap must be tended at least once each third calendar
day, except for traps set under the ice. A trap may not be left unten-
ded for more than three consecutive days (for example, a trap set
or tended on Saturday would have to be tended again by Tuesday).
When a trap is tended, any animal captured must be removed.

Trap Tampering
* No person may remove or tamper with a trap legally set to take

47
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fur-bearing or unprotected wild animals without authorization by
the trapper, a DNR agent, or the owner or lessee of the land where
the trap is located.

* A trapper may authorize, in writing, an agent who possesses

all necessary licenses to tend traps set by the trapper, including
resetting the trap at the same set. The agent may remove animals
from a trap.

General Trapping Restrictions (Note: trapping regulations have
been modified in the lynx management zone. See page 50.)

No trap, either set or unset, may be placed or staked, and no flag,
stake, or other device may be placed to mark or pre-empt a trap-
ping site before the opening of any trapping season.

No person may leave any trap for a protected wild animal in place,
either set or unset, after the close of the applicable trapping season.
No person may disturb, injure, or destroy any muskrat house or den,
except that traps may be set at natural entrances to muskrat burrows
and openings may be made in muskrat houses for trapping if all
material removed is wetted and used to plug the opening.

Animals must be killed before being removed from a site.

No person may disturb, injure, or destroy any beaver house, dam,
burrow, or den.

No person may set a trap inside any beaver house or upon the
outside of any beaver house above the waterline.

Mink may not be taken by digging or with the aid of dogs.
Unattended electronic devices may not be used for taking wild
animals.

No person may set or maintain any leghold trap within 20 feet

of bait located in such a way that it may be seen by soaring birds.
“Bait” is any animal or animal parts, including live or dead fish,
except that small pieces of fur and feathers may be used for flagging.
No person may take a bird with a foot or leghold trap, except by
special permit.

No person may trap beaver or otter on a state Wildlife Manage-
ment Area without a permit from the wildlife manager.

Snaring Regulations

Snares may be used by licensed trappers for taking all species of

protected wild mammals that may be taken by the use of traps. The use
of snares is subject to the following regulations and all trapping regula-
tions not inconsistent with these snaring restrictions.

General Restrictions for Snares
* Bears cannot be taken with snares.
* In the farmland Furbearer Zone no person may set, place, or operate
any snare except as a waterset, other than from Dec. 1 to March 31
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when snares are allowed on land except on public lands, road rights-
of-way or in fence lines along road rights of way. A waterset is any
snare set so that the snare loop is at least half submerged.
Use of Snares

* The diameter of the snare loop may not exceed 10 inches.

* Snare cable or wire may not have a diameter exceeding ¥ inch.

* No person may set, place, or operate a snare in a culvert, except
as a completely submerged waterset.

* Snares may not be set in deer trails.

* Snares may not be used with spring poles or other devices that
wholly or partly lift from the ground an animal caught in the snare.

* No snare may be set in such a way that the top of the loop is
more than 16 inches above the ground or, when the ground is
snow-covered, more than 16 inches above the bottom of a per-
son’s footprint made in the snow beneath the snare with the full
body weight on the foot.

* All snares not capable of drowning the captured animal must be
tended at least once each calendar day.

* No snare set for a protected animal may be left in place after
the applicable trapping season has closed.

Furbearer Registration

* The pelt of each bobcat, fisher, pine marten, and otter, must be
removed from the carcass and presented for registration by the
person taking it. The entire carcass of each bobcat and the head of
each pine marten must also be presented.

* Pelts, carcasses, and heads must be presented for registration at
a DNR registration station (page 52) or area wildlife office (by
appointment) before the pelt is sold or removed from the state and
no more than 48 hours after the season closes.

* The entire carcass of the bobcat and head of the pine marten must
be surrendered at the time of registration.

* To speed up registration, please bring the following written infor-
mation for each animal to be registered: species, sex, method of
take, date taken and county, township and range where taken.
Include your MDNR number, as shown on your license. Forms are
available at wildlife offices and on the DNR Web site.

See page 52 for a list of furbearer registration stations.

Releasing Protected Species

Every effort should be made to avoid catching fully protected species.
If possible, a trapper should release accidentally captured protected species
back into the wild. If a fully protected species is dead in the trap or other-
wise cannot be released, you must notify a DNR conservation officer.
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Furbearer Pelting and Transportation

A person who performs a service by recovering and preserving the
pelt of a protected furbearer (except muskrat) that was accidentally
killed or lawfully killed while doing damage, may be entitled to a
pelting fee of up to 50 percent of the proceeds from the sale of the
pelt not to exceed $25 per pelt. Contact a local DNR conservation
officer or regional DNR Enforcement office within 24 hours for
authorization to pelt the animal.

No person may possess, transport, or pelt a fisher, otter, pine
marten, fox, bobcat, lynx, or gray wolf that was accidentally killed,
except when authorized by a conservation officer.

Pelts of lawfully taken furbearers may be sold only to a licensed fur
buyer.

Lynx Management Zone Regulations

As a result of a federal court order, trapping regulations in north-

east Minnesota have been modified to restrict, modify or eliminate the
incidental take of Canada Lynx. The following regulations apply only
to that part of Minnesota lying east and north of U.S. Highway 53, as
shown on the

map: —_

1.

land. |/' |
. Snare loops 1.5

All snare
cable or
wire must ;
be a.t leasF . Lynx Management Zone
Y4 inch in |

diameter
when set on

¥ egmin

must be Highway 53

at least 8 i
inches in

diameter

and may not exceed 10 inches in diameter when set on land.

. All foothold traps, except those set as water sets, must be staked

or otherwise secured by tethering chains or cables not more than
18 inches long with at least two swivel points.

. All traps and snares must be secured in a manner that prevents

captured animals from removing the trap from the trap site (no

drags allowed).

. Fresh meat, hare or rabbit or parts of hare or rabbit may not be

used as bait. Other meat may be used as bait if it has been unfro-
zen and exposed to air for at least 24 hours.
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6. No suspended flagging or other sight attractant may be used
within 20 feet of the trap or snare.

7. Any incidentally caught lynx should be immediately released, if
possible. Any trapper who accidentally takes a lynx is required to
notify their local conservation officer as soon as possible or within
24 hours. Persons who know about the take of a lynx can report it
by calling (800) 652-9093.

8. Body-gripping traps that have a maximum jaw opening, when set,
of greater than 5 inches and less than 7% inches measured from
the inside edges of the jaws (generally 160 and 220 conibears),
except those set as water sets, must be set in one of two ways:

A. In a tree of any diameter or on a leaning pole no larger than
6 inches in diameter at least three feet off the ground or surface
of the snow.

B. If used on the ground, they must be set in a cubby with the trap
inserted a minimum of 7 inches from the front, with the cubby
opening no more than 50 square inches in area as illustrated.

Opening not to exceed
50 square inches

Note: This diagram is for illustration purposes only. Openings may be
restricted with wire mesh, wood strips or other material.
For general questions about trapping in the lynx management zone,

call the DNR information line at (888) 646-6367 (MINNDNR).
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Furbearer Registration Stations

Furbearers may be registered between noon and 7 p.m. on
December 8 (all species), and between 3 p.m. and 6 p.m. on January 5
(bobcat and otter only) at the locations listed below or with any DNR area
wildlife office throughout the season by appointment only.

LOCATIONS

Aitkin
Backus
Bemidiji
Big Falls
Brainerd

Cambridge
Cloquet
Cook

Deer River
Duluth
Effie
Eveleth
Finland
Forest Lake

Grand Marais
Grand Rapids

Hibbing

International Falls

Jordan
Middle River
Northome
Onamia

Orr

Park Rapids
Roseau
Roosevelt
Rochester
Sandstone

Sauk Rapids

Tower
Two Harbors
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DNR Wildlife Office 218-927-4040

DNR Forestry Office 218-947-3232

DNR Area Fish & Wildlife Office 218-308-2348

DNR Forestry Office 218-276-2237

DNR Area Wildlife Office (1601 Minnesota Drive)
218-828-2550

DNR Wildlife Office 763-689-7104

DNR Wildlife Office 218-879-0880 Ext225

DNR Forestry Office (Dec. 8 only) 218-666-5385

DNR Forestry Office 218-246-8343

DNR Forestry Office (4805 Rice Lake Road) 218-723-4791

DNR Forestry Office 218-743-3694

DNR Wildlife Office 218-744-7449 Ext2221

DNR Forestry Office (Dec. 8 only) 218-353-7397

DNR Carlos Avery Game Farm Office 651-296-5200

DNR Wildlife Office (Dec. 8 only) 218-387-3034

DNR Regional Headquarters 218-999-7937

DNR Forestry Office 218-262-6760

DNR Wildlife Office 218-286-5434

MN Valley HQ (19825 Park Blvd.) 952-492-5266

DNR Thief Lake Wildlife Office 218-222-3747

DNR Forestry Office 218-897-5254

DNR Mille Lacs Wildlife Area Office 320-532-3537

DNR Forestry Office 218-757-3274

DNR Wildlife Office 218-732-8452

DNR Roseau River WMA Office 218-463-1130

DNR Red Lake WMA Office 218-783-6861

DNR Area Wildlife Office 507-206-2859

DNR Wildlife Office (613 Highway 23 South)
320-245-6789 Ext226

DNR Office (940 Industrial Drive, Suite 103, Sauk Rapids,
MN) 320-255-4279 Ext221

DNR Office 218-753-2580 Ext221

DNR Wildlife Office (Dec. 8 only) 218-834-1452 or 1453
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SEASON DATES, LIMITS AND HOURS

Sept. 1 to Oct. 30, from one half hour before sunrise to sunset except
opening day of waterfowl season when shooting hours begin at 9 a.m.
Daily bag limit is 15; possession limit 30.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

All residents age 16 and over and all nonresidents must have a valid
small game license in their possession. Residents may hunt doves without a
license on property they occupy as their principal residence. All licensed
dove hunters must be HIP certified (see page 37).

PARTY HUNTING
Party hunting for mourning doves is prohibited. Individual hunters may
not shoot migratory game birds for other hunters.

FIREARM RESTRICTIONS

Only shotguns not capable of holding more than three shells may be
used to take doves.

AGRICULTURAL LANDS AND BAITING

Bait, seeds or grain may not be placed or brought into a field.

Doves may be hunted on, over or from:

* Lands or areas where seeds or grains have been scattered solely
as the result of normal agricultural operations, which include
normal agricultural harvestings, normal agricultural post-harvest
manipulations, or normal agricultural practices.

* Lands planted by top-sowing or aerial seeding where seeds have
been scattered solely as the result of a normal agricultural planting,
a planting for agricultural soil erosion control, or a planting for
post-mining land reclamation.

* Standing crops, and standing or manipulated natural vegetation

* Lands planted as wildlife food plots, provided the seed is
planted in a manner consistent with Cooperative State Research,
Education, and Extension Service recommendations for the planting
of wildlife food plots.

* Lands planted as pasture improvements or for the purpose of grazing
livestock.

* A blind or other place of concealment camouflaged with natural
vegetation.
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* Lands or areas where grain or feed has been distributed or scattered
solely by manipulation of an agricultural crop or other feed on the
land where grown. Manipulation means the alteration of natural
vegetation or agricultural crops by activities such as mowing,
shredding, discing, rolling, chopping, trampling, flattening, burning,
or herbicide treatments. Manipulation does not include the distri-
buting or scattering of seeds, grains, or other feed after removal from
or storage on the field where grown.

NOTE: Although doves may be hunted over manipulated

agricultural crops, waterfowl may not, except after the field has been

subject to a normal harvest and at least 10 days has elapsed since the

complete removal of all manipulated grain.

The complete Federal migratory game bird hunting regulations
can be found in Title 50 Code of Federal Regulations part 20
(htep://www.le.fws.gov/pdffiles/50_CFR_20.pdf).

This information is provided to help you avoid common mistakes.

Pre-season scouting is best in the morning and late afternoon, when
doves are most active.

Doves are most abundant in agricultural areas of western and southern
Minnesota.

Hunt in areas between food, water, grit and roosting locations.

Doves often feed in wheat, oat and sunflower fields. Landowner
permission is required to hunt private agricultural fields.

Doves fly 30 to 40 mph and can reach 60 mph. Practice estimating extra
wingshooting lead distance.

Downed doves blend well with vegetation. Mark and retrieve birds
immediately. Dogs can be very useful in retrieving doves.

Hunters who disrupt or damage utility lines taking resting doves could
face legal action.
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Important Dates:

Fall Season
Oct. 14, 2009: First 2009 Fall Season opens.
June, 2010: Applications available for 2010 Fall Season.

Spring Season (2010)
Nov. 2009: Applications available for 2010 Spring Season.
Jan. 8, 2010: Application deadline for 2010 Spring Season.
Apr. 14, 2010: First 2010 Spring Season opens.

LICENSE AVAILABILITY

Licenses for the Fall and Spring Wild Turkey Hunts are awarded in
separate preference drawings. Application materials are available from ELS
vendors and on the DNR Web site.

Each year there are surplus turkey licenses that remain left unsold.
There are always opportunities to hunt turkey in Minnesota if you are
willing to hunt in the later seasons. Look for press releases and watch
the DNR Web site in the spring and fall for information on when these
permits go on sale.

Over the counter spring turkey archery permits are available that are valid
for the last two seasons only in permit areas that have 50 or more permits per
time period. Crossbows are not legal for archery turkey license holders except
disabled hunts with a permit. Crossbows may be used with turkey firearm
licenses. You may not purchase both a firearms license and an archery license.

== Turkey permit area boundaries and numbers may change for the 2010
spring turkey season. Be sure to check application materials before applying
for a license.

PRIVATE LANDS ASSISTANCE

Want to improve habitat on your land? The DNR Private Lands
Program assists private landowners in developing and maintaining

wildlife habitat.

More information is available online at

mndnr.gov/privatelandsprogram

56



BIG GAME

F..."ii?

LEGAL FIREARMS FOR BIG GAME

e It is at least .220 caliber and has center fire ignition;

* It is loaded only with single projectile ammunition;

* The projectile used has a soft point or is an expanding bullet type;*

* The muzzleloader (long gun or handgun) used cannot be loaded at
the breech (muzzleloading revolvers are not legal for taking big game);

* The smooth-bore muzzleloader used is at least .45 caliber and

* The rifled muzzleloader used is at least .40 caliber;

* Muzzleloaders with scopes are legal during the regular firearms deer
seasons, but are not allowed during the muzzleloader season except by
special permit for hunters with a medically certified visual impairment.
Applications are available from the DNR Info Center, see page 127.

Other Restrictions
* No person may discharge a firearm or an arrow from a bow on,
over, across, or within the right-of-way of an improved public
highway (including but not limited to federal, state, county, and
township roadways) at a big game animal or a decoy of a big game
animal that has been set out by a licensed peace officer.
* A person may not use a dog or horse to take big game.

LEGAL BOWS AND ARROWS FOR BIG GAME

* Bows must have a pull no less than 30 pounds at or before full draw.

* Arrowheads used for taking big game must be sharp, have a mini-
mum of two metal cutting edges, be of barbless broadhead design,
and have a diameter of at least 7% inch.

* “Expandable” broadheads may be used to take big game if they meet
the requirements above and: 1) are at least 7% inch in width and no
more than 2 inches in width at or after impact; and 2) are of a barbless
design and function in a barbless manner.

* No person may hunt with a bow drawn, held, or released by a mechan-
ical device, except disabled hunters who have a crossbow permit.

* A hand-held mechanical release attached to the bowstring may be used
if the person’s own strength draws and holds the bowstring.

* Note: Hunters are reminded to select bullets that are suitable for taking big

game. Most major manufacturers offer either bonded or all-copper bullets that
are appropriate for taking big game. Hunters are advised to select a proper

bullet design and weight that is suitable for humanely taking big game.
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* A person may hunt with a crossbow under the following conditions,
» Big game and small game by special permit issued to hunters
E\ unable to hunt by archery because of a temporary or permanent
C disability. The disability must be verified in writing by a licensed
physician or chiropractor. The permit application is available from
any DNR regional office or by calling the DNR Information
Center (See page 127).
» A licensed hunter may use a crossbow as a choice of arms for bear,
deer with a regular firearms license or a crossbow disability permit
and an archery license.

SHOOTING HOURS
Shooting hours for big game are one-half hour before sunrise to one-half
hour after sunset.

POSSESSION OF BIG GAME

Any person who takes a big game animal must retain the license, site
tag, permit, and possession (registration) tag for as long as any part of the
meat is in possession.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Deer Carcass Disposal

Hunters who process their own deer may not dispose of carcasses
on public land, including wildlife management areas, state forests,
road rights of way or in any water body. Deer carcasses may be dis-
posed of in the following ways:

* On private land with the permission of the landowner.
* Through your refuse hauler after checking on how to properly
bag the carcass.

e At a local landfill.
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FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Chronic Wasting Disease

CWD (Chronic Wasting Disease) naturally occurs in North
American deer and Rocky Mountain Elk. It belongs to a group of
infectious diseases known as “transmissible spongiform enceph-
alopathies” (TSEs). It is caused by an abnormal protein, called a
prion, that affects the animal’s brain and is invariably fatal. Usually,
months to years pass from the time an animal is infected to when it
shows signs of the disease.

Typical signs of the disease include drooping head or ears, poor
body condition, tremors, stumbling, increased salivation, difficulty
swallowing, or excessive thirst or urination. In Minnesota, over
30,000 deer have been tested and the disease has not been detected.

A good source for national CWD information can be found
at www.cwd-info.org

Carcass Import Restrictions
To help prevent the spread of CWD, hunters cannot bring
whole cervid (deer, elk, moose, caribou) carcasses into Minnesota
from areas of other states or provinces where CWD has been found
in wild deer or elk. A list of known areas from which carcass import
is restricted can be found at mndnr.gov or by calling the DNR
information number (see page 127). From these areas, hunters may
bring only the following parts into Minnesota:
* Meat that is boned out or that is cut and wrapped (either
commercially or privately)
* Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the spinal
column or head attached
* Hides and teeth
* Antlers or clean (no brain tissue attached) skull plates with antlers
attached
* Finished taxidermy mounts
* Nonresidents transporting whole carcasses on a direct route
through Minnesota are exempt from this regulation.
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LEAD IN VENISON

There are concerns about lead bullet fragments in venison. Minnesota,
along with several other Midwest states are working to address the issue.
The DNR is providing the information below to help hunters make
informed decisions as they prepare for the fall hunting seasons.

What hunters should know:

* Lead particles found in hunter-harvested venison have not been
linked to any illnesses.

* Lead is a neurotoxin but toxicity depends on the level and frequency
of exposure. It is particularly harmful to children 6 and younger and
pregnant women.

* Lead can have physiological effects on human bodies and brains at
levels below that which would cause any noticeable signs of sickness.

* The following guidelines and suggestions can eliminate or reduce and
minimize the potential risk of consuming lead fragments, depending
on the risk tolerance of the hunter.

* Consider alternative expanding non-lead ammunition such as copper
or other high weight-retention bullets, such as bonded bullets. These
are available in a wide range of calibers as well as in shotgun slugs
and muzzleloader bullets. For more information visit our Web site at:
mndnr.gov or consult with manufacturers.

* Lead particles in venison will likely be too small to detect by sight,
feel, or when chewing the meat.

* If you process your own meat, do not use deer with excessive shot
damage. Trim a generous distance away from the wound channel and
discard any meat that is bruised, discolored or contains hair, dirt,
bone fragments or grass.

* Avoid consuming internal organs.

* Practice marksmanship and outdoors skills to get cleaner, closer shots
and better shots.

Ultimately, individual hunters need to make the decisions. The DNR
and the Minnesota Department of Agriculture fully support deer hunt-
ing and the venison donation program. Venison is a healthy, high quality
source of protein. Lead contamination can be avoided by using non-toxic
ammunition or reduced by using ammunition with high weight reten-
tion, such as bonded bullets, and placing shots in vital areas away from
major muscle groups and liberally trimming meat around the wound
channels.
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Important Dates:

* Sept. 10 (Thursday): Antlerless Deer and Special Area Permit
application deadline.

* Sept. 19: Archery opening date.

* Oct. 10-11: Early Antlerless Season

* Nov. 7: Statewide (A) Firearms opening date.

* Novw. 21: Late Southeast (B) Firearms opening date.

* Nov. 28: Muzzleloader opening date.

* Nov. 6, 2010: Firearms Deer opening date for 2010.

NEW 2009 DEER REGULATIONS
* In lottery deer areas, all adult firearms and muzzleloader hunters
must apply for an either-sex permit by Thursday, Sept. 10, 2009.

155" ¢ There are no exceptions for individuals who only hunt the muzzle-
loader season.

* If you are successful in the lottery, the permit is valid for that area
and season only. See page 70 for details.

1 ® In deer areas 234, 237, 274, 275, 282, 283, 284, 2806, 288, 289, and
294, all adult (archery, firearm, muzzleloader) and disabled hunters
are restricted to bucks only. The only antlerless harvest that will be
allowed will be a limited number of youth-only either-sex permits.
The application deadline for those permits is Thursday, Sept. 10,
2009. See page 70 for details.

* The legislature has made significant changes to the Zone 3A deer
season. The changes are in effect for 2009 only and are explained on
page 75.

* The deer baiting regulations have been clarified. See page 71.

* Antlers must remain attached to the carcass until after the deer is
registered.

GENERAL DEER INFORMATION
Legal Buck and Antlerless Deer
* A “legal buck” is a deer having one antler at least 3 inches long.
Fawn bucks, sometimes called button bucks, are not legal bucks.
* “Antlerless deer” are those without an antler at least 3 inches long.

License Purchase and Validity

All deer licenses (archery, firearms, muzzleloader) may be pur-
chased at any time before or during the season. However, a license
purchased on or after the day the respective season opens is not valid
until the second day after the day it is issued (for example, a license
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issued on Saturday would not be valid until Monday). A “day” means
midnight to midnight. The “respective season” refers to the first season
for which the license is valid. The exceptions are bonus, early antler-
less, and disease management permits, which are valid when issued if
the appropriate regular license is valid.

* Residents under 18 or a disabled person who has a permit to shoot
from a stationary vehicle and a valid deer license may take a deer
of either sex in a lottery deer area without an either-sex permit.
Only authorized youth or disabled hunters may shoot and tag the
antlerless deer in a lottery deer area (no party hunting, see page 73).

* A person may purchase no more than one Firearms, Muzzleloader,
and Archery deer license in a calendar year.

* Bonus, early antlerless, and disease management permits may be
purchased, in addition to regular licenses. They may be purchased
throughout the season, but must be in possession when taking deer.
The permit is valid when your regular license in that season is valid.
Regular license and antlerless tags may be used in any order.

* A person may not take or tag deer without the appropriate license or
permit. The term “taking” includes attempting to take deer, and driv-
ing, spotting, or otherwise assisting another person in taking deer.

Deer Licenses and Permit Types

* Hunters may buy an archery, firearm, and muzzleloader license.

¢ The traditional firearm zone licenses (1A, 2A, 3A, 3B) have been
consolidated into two licenses options: Statewide (A) and Late

Southeast (B) season. License choices are:

» Statewide (A): Valid in any open area during the firearm season
that begins November 7; or
» Late Southeast (B) Season: Valid only during the traditional
zone 3B season in southeastern Minnesota that begins Nov. 21.
¢ Individuals cannot buy both a Statewide (A) and Late Southeast (B)

Season license; however, both license holders may purchase a muz-

zleloader license.

Youth archery license — Residents and non-residents ages 12 to 17
as of Sept. 19 may purchase a reduced-price youth archery deer hunting
license that is valid for either-sex deer in lottery, managed, and intensive
deer areas. Ten and 11-year-old residents are required to obtain a free
license before hunting big game. The license is valid for bucks only in
youth antlerless areas. (Same as youth archery.)

Youth firearm license — Residents and non-residents ages 12 to 17 as
of Nov. 7 may purchase a reduced-price youth firearm license. Ten and
11-year-old residents are required to obtain a free license before hunting
big game. The license is valid for either-sex deer in lottery, managed, and
intensive deer areas or in youth antlerless areas by permit.
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Youth muzzleloader license — Residents and non-residents ages
12 to 17 as of Nov. 28 may purchase a reduced price muzzleloader
license. Ten and 11-year-old residents are required to obtain a free
license before hunting big game. The license is valid for either-sex
deer in lottery, managed, and intensive deer areas. The license is valid
for bucks only in youth antlerless areas.

Regular archery license — A regular archery license is valid for an
either-sex deer statewide in any open area, except 234, 237, 274, 275,
282, 283, 284, 286, 288, 289, and 294, which are buck only. Closed
areas and season dates are listed on page 92.

Regular firearm license — A regular firearm deer hunter may
purchase either a Statewide (A) or Late Southeast (B) Season license.
Statewide (A) licenses are valid in all areas that open on Nov. 7 and
Late Southeast (B) Season licenses are valid only during the traditional
3B season. The hunter’s choice will be printed on the license.

Information for Statewide (A) license holders — Your Statewide (A)
season license is valid in any area that opens Nov. 7. You are no lon-
ger obligated to stay in any one zone. For example, you can hunt in
deer area 346 (9-day season) opening weekend, move to deer area 235
(9-day season) the second weekend, and finish up your season in 170
(16-day season) on the last weekend.

Information for Late Southeast (B) Season license holders — This
is the traditional 3B license that is only valid in southeast Minnesota
(Nov. 21-29). 3B hunters can now buy a muzzleloader license.

HOW TO BUY A FIREARMS DEER LICENSE:
1. Choose either the Statewide (A) or Late Southeast (B) Season
option. The option will be printed on your license; and
2. Tell the agent which deer area you hunt most often. Note: This
is collected for information purposes and will not print on the
license. You are not obligated to stay in the area you say you
hunt most often.

Statewide (A) — Valid in Areas:
Regular 100 Series: Nov. 7 — 22
Firearms License 200 Series: Nov. 7 — 15
(choose one option) 300 Series: Nov. 7 — 15
| OR

Late Southeast (B) Season:
300 Series: Nov. 21 — 29

—
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¢ Both Statewide (A) and Late Southeast (B) Season licenses are valid
in the bovine TB area (101), the metro (601), and any area open
to early season antlerless hunting (page 76).

* The license is valid for either sex deer in any managed or intensive
area or in a lottery area if successful in the lottery.

¢ The license is valid for bucks only in areas 234, 237, 274, 275,
282, 283, 284, 286, 288, 289, and 294.

Regular muzzleloader license — Any hunter can buy a muzzle-
loader license, including people who have purchased a firearm license.
The license is valid for either-sex deer in any managed or intensive
area. In lottery areas, you must have an either-sex permit for the muz-
zleloader season to take an antlerless deer. All muzzleloader hunters
are restricted to bucks only hunting in deer areas 234, 237, 274, 275,
282, 283, 284, 286, 288, 289, and 294.

Landowner deer license — This license allows the taking of one ant-
lerless deer per farm in managed and intensive deer areas (see page 67).

Bonus permits

* Bonus permits are available to archery, firearms, and muzzleloader
hunters to take antlerless deer in designated areas.

* One bonus permit may be used per year in a managed deer area.
Up to four bonus permits may be used in intensive deer areas and
some special hunts.

* Bonus permits are valid for archery, muzzleloader or firearms, but
hunters must have the appropriate regular license for the area,
season, and method they are using.

* Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer areas or youth only
antlerless areas.

Early antlerless permits

* Early season antlerless permits are available for hunters interested
in participating in the early antlerless deer season in areas 101,
105, 111, 182, 208, 209, 210, 225, 227, 236, 256, 257, 260, 261,
265, 267, 268, 346, 349, and 601.

* Early season antlerless permits are only valid during the early
antlerless deer season, Oct. 10-11.

* Up to two permits may be used during the early antlerless season
(see page 70).

Disease management antlerless permits

* Disease management permits are available to hunters interested in
hunting in the bovine TB area (101).

* There is no limit to the number of permits that can be purchased.

* Disease management permits are valid during any season but hunt-
ers must have the appropriate regular license for the season and
method they are using (see page 77).
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TAGGING

How to Tag Your Deer and Validate Your Site Tag

Your Deer License and Site Tag
comes as a 2-part form. The
upper half is the Site Tag for
tagging the deer in the field. The
lower half is the Deer License
and Regjstration Slip. The Slip
will be cut off and turned in to
a registration station when you
register your deer (see page 73).

1. At the kill site you must:

a. Detach the Site Tag from
the Deer License/Registration
Slip.

b. Before moving the
deer, validate the tag by
using a knife or similar sharp
object to cut out the appro-
priate notches indicating:

e Month the deer was
killed,

e Date it was killed, and

¢ Time of day it was killed
(@.m. or p.m.). Mark
carefully—if more than
one month, date, or time

Minnesota DNR Site Tag

NPDNR #; 566912348
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Part 1:
Site Tag

Notch time,
date, and
month here

Detach here

Part 2:

License
Always retain.

Part 3:
Registration
Slip

You exchange
this at the
registration
station for a
Possession Tag.

is cut out or marked, the tag becomes invalid.
2. A person may move a lawfully taken deer from the site of the kill without
attaching the validated tag to the animal only while in the act of manually
or mechanically dragging, carrying, or carting the animal across the ground
and while possessing the validated tag on their person.
3. The validated tag must be attached to the deer when the deer is
placed on a motor vehicle or an ATV, a vehicle or a trailer being towed
by an ATV or brought into a camp, yard or other place of habitation.

4. To apply the tag to the deer:

* Tie or attach a 10- to 12-inch twine or wire securely to the deer
around the base of an antler, through a slit cut in either ear, or between
the tendon and bone of a hind leg, leaving the two long ends of the
string or wire free. Note that this will require you to bring a cable tie,
piece of wire or string into the field with you.

¢ Pull one end of the twine or wire through one of the pre-cut holes on
the Site Tag and tie it together. Note that tags no longer fold and are

not adhesive.

* The tag must remain attached to the deer until processed for storage.
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LANDOWNER FREE DEER LICENSE IN SELECTED AREAS
This license allows the taking of one antlerless deer per farm
(in managed and intensive deer areas). The free license can be for
firearms, archery, or muzzleloader. A resident owner or tenant or a
non-resident owner who is actively farming on at least 80 acres of
agricultural or grazing land in deer areas 101, 105, 110, 111, 114,
126, 156, 157, 159, 167, 168, 170, 172, 178, 180-182, 184,
197, 199, 201, 208-210, 214, 215, 221, 222, 225, 227, 236,
240-243, 248, 256, 257, 260, 261, 263-268, 292, 293, 298,
338-343, 345-349 (applies to both A and B seasons) may obtain a
free license to take an antlerless deer by firearms, muzzleloader, or
archery. These licenses can be obtained from any ELS license agent.
A person may receive only one landowner deer license per year. For
land with co-owners or co-tenants, only one co-owner or co-tenant
may receive a landowner deer license per year. The license is valid
only on the land owned or leased for agricultural purposes by the
license holder within the deer area where the qualifying land is
located. The license holder may give the license to the license-hold-
er’s spouse or dependent. A license issued under this provision does
not affect the license-holder’s eligibility to purchase additional deer
licenses or permits. A person who obtains a license under this pro-
vision must allow public deer hunting on their land during the deer
hunting season for that license, except for the first Saturday and
Sunday of the season selected. Hunters must still obtain permission
from the landowner, and it is up to the landowner to determine
how much public hunting is appropriate on the property.

STATEWIDE BAG LIMITS FOR DEER

An individual hunter may only tag one legal buck per year, with-
out exception. Note: Although hunters can buy all 3 licenses, the bag
limits may not allow all 3 tags to be filled in a single deer area. It is the
hunter’s responsibility to know the bag limit for the areas they hunt.

Youth-only antlerless deer areas: The bag limit is one buck, regard-
less of license type. If you take a buck in one of these areas, you cannot
take a deer in a different youth-only or lottery deer area. Bonus permits
are not valid in these areas.

Lottery deer areas: The bag limit is one deer total per year, regardless
of license type. Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer areas.

Managed deer areas: The bag limit for managed deer areas is two
deer and hunters can use any combination of a valid license and bonus

its to tag both deer.
pefimits fo tag bOth dect Continued on page 70
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Minnesota 2009 Firearm Deer Season

Larger, complete map available separately.

Season

Date

Firearm Option Statewide (A)

300 Series

Firearm Option Late Southeast (B)

Nov. 7-15

Nov. 21-29

Muzzleloader

Nov. 28-Dec. 13

Early Antlerless Season

Oct. 10-11

Metro Deer Management Area (601)
(Any 2009 firearms or muzzleloader.)

Nov. 7-29
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Intensive deer areas: Using any combination of licenses and permits,
the bag limit for intensive deer areas is five deer.

Early antlerless areas: Up to two antlerless deer can be taken in addi-
tion to the statewide limit of five.

Landowner: One antlerless deer in addition to the statewide bag limit
of five.

Metro deer management area: There is no limit to the number of
antlerless deer that may be taken in this area.

Special bovine TB area: There is no limit to the number of antlerless
deer that may be taken in this area. Deer taken in this area must be regis-
tered in the area or in Wannaska prior to transport.

STATEWIDE ANTLERLESS DEER INFORMATION

1= Deer areas are divided into four categories: 1) Limited youth antlerless
2) Lottery; 3) Managed; and 4) Intensive. In limited youth antlerless
areas, all adults (including archery, firearm, muzzleloader, and disabled)
are limited to bucks only. A limited number of youth-only antlerless
permits are offered, which will be the only antlerless deer harvest allowed.
In lottery deer areas, hunters need to apply for either-sex permits. The
deadline is September 10, 2009. In managed and intensive deer areas,
applications are not necessary. In these areas, licenses are either-sex and
antlerless deer permits are available over the counter.

At the time of license purchase, all firearms hunters will need to
indicate which deer area they primarily hunt. This information is being
collected for survey purposes only. Firearms hunters may hunt bucks
throughout the season where licensed or may hunt antlerless deer on
their regular license in any managed or intensive deer area. For more
information, see details in this section of the handbook and the color
map and table on the back of the large deer season map (available
separately).

1= Limited Youth Only. In these deer areas, a limited number of
either-sex permits are available for youth under age 18 as of November 7.
This will be the only antlerless harvest allowed in these areas. All adult
license holders (archery, firearm, and muzzleloader), disabled hunters,
and youth who are not successful in the lottery will be restricted to
bucks only. Qualifying youth must purchase their license by September
10 and make an application in the lottery using the procedures outlined
on page 63. The permit does not allow the taking of antlerless deer by
another member of the youth’s hunting party.

2009 Limited Youth-Only Deer Areas. 234, 237, 274, 275, 282,
283, 284, 286, 288, 289, 294

1= Lottery deer areas. ALL firearm and muzzleloader hunters must
apply for an either-sex permit if they want to harvest an antlerless deer in
a lottery deer area. A hunter can apply using either a firearm or muzzle-

70



DEER - GENERAL

loader license but not both. If you are drawn, the permit will be valid for
that season and area only. The application deadline is Thursday, Sept. 10.
15" NOTE: There is no exemption for a person who only hunts the muz-
zleloader season. Information regarding permit allocations is on page 79.

Leftover either-sex deer permits will be available first come, first
served beginning at 5 p.m. on Monday, October 12. Any hunter who has
not already been selected can pick up a permit; however, you must have a
valid license or purchase one at the same time.

2009 Lottery Deer Areas - 104, 107, 115, 116, 122, 127, 154, 174,
175, 183, 213, 218, 219, 223, 224, 229, 230, 232, 233, 235, 238, 239,
244, 245, 246, 247, 249, 250, 252, 253, 254, 255, 262, 269, 270, 271,
272,273, 276, 277, 278, 279, 280, 281, 285, 290, 291, 295, 296, 297,
299, 344*

*Denotes both seasons

(See large deer zone map for area numbers, available separately.)

Managed deer areas. If you hunt a managed deer area, you may take
a deer of either sex and you may hunt bucks throughout your selected
season. No application for an either-sex permit is necessary.

In the following areas, firearm, archery, and muzzleloader hunters may
take deer of either sex on their regular license and purchase one bonus
permit to take an antlerless deer.

2009 Managed Deer Areas - 110, 114, 126, 152, 156, 157, 159,
167, 168, 170, 172, 178, 180, 181, 184, 197, 199, 201, 214, 215, 240,
242, 248, 251, 263, 264, 266, 292, 293, 298, 338*, 339*%, 341*, 342*,
345%, 347*

*Denotes both seasons

Intensive deer areas. If you hunt an intensive deer area, you may
take a deer of either sex or you may hunt bucks throughout your selected
season. No application for an either-sex permit is necessary. In the follow-
ing areas, firearm, archery, and muzzleloader hunters may take a deer of
either sex on their regular license and purchase up to four bonus permits
to take antlerless deer.

2009 Intensive Deer Areas - 105, 111, 182, 203, 208, 209, 210,
221, 222, 225, 227, 236, 241, 243, 256, 257, 260, 261, 265, 267, 268,
287, 343*, 346, 348*, 349*

*Denotes both seasons

HUNTING METHOD RESTRICTIONS

Bait or Feed
* “Bait or feed” is grain, fruit, vegetables, nuts, hay, or other food that
is capable of attracting or enticing deer and that has been placed by a
person.
e Hunters are not allowed to use or hunt over bait or feed or hunt in
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the vicinity of bait or feed if the hunter knows about or has reason
to know about the placement of the bait or feed.

* A person otherwise in compliance with this section who is hunting
on private or public property that is adjacent to the property where
bait or feed is present is not in violation if the person has not par-
ticipated in, been involved with, or agreed to baiting or feeding
wildlife on the adjacent property.

* An area is considered baited for 10 days after complete removal of
the bait or feed.

* Liquid scents, salt, and minerals, are not considered bait or feed.

* This restriction does not apply to foods that have not been placed
by an individual and result from normal or accepted farming, forest
management, wildlife food plantings, orchard
management, or similar land management activities. Piling harvested
pumpkins or other food from a food plot is one example of baiting.

Elevated Stands

* No person may take deer from a constructed platform or other struc-
ture that is higher than 16 feet. This restriction does not apply to a
portable stand that is chained, belted, clamped, or tied with rope.

* In Wildlife Management Areas and State Parks open to hunting, only
portable stands may be used. Portable stand use is encouraged in
State Forests (see page 112).

* In Scientific and Natural Areas open to hunting, portable stands and
elevated scaffold may be used if it is removed each day at the close

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Tree stand falls are the leading cause of injury to hunters. A 2007
study of more than 850 Minnesota hunters who use tree stands indicated
that 60 percent know someone who was injured in a tree stand fall. In
addition 84 percent of those who fell required medical attention.

* Wear a safety harness when you are in a tree stand, and when
climbing into or out of a tree stand. Inspect your harness for wear or
damage before each use.

¢ Use a haul line to pull up your gear and unloaded firearm or bow
to your tree stand. Never climb with anything in your hands or on
your back. Before descending, lower your equipment on the opposite
side of the tree.

* Have three points of contact to the steps or ladder before moving.

* Hunt with a plan, and if possible, a buddy. Let others know your
exact hunting location and when you plan to return.

For more tree stand safety information, go to: mndnr.gov
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of shooting hours and does no damage to trees or other vegetation.
Nails, spikes, screws or other devices that damage the bark of trees are
prohibited.

* Any unoccupied, permanent stand or blind on public land is public
and not the property of the person who constructed the stand. Any
use of threat or force against another person to gain possession of a
stand is unlawful.

PARTY HUNTING

* A “party” is defined as any group of two or more licensed deer hunt-
ers who are all afield; hunting together at the same time; and all
using firearms (including muzzleloaders) or all using archery.

* A mixed group of firearms and archery hunters is considered two
separate parties.

¢ Crossbow hunters may not party hunt with firearms hunters.

* Crossbow hunters may party hunt with archery hunters if they
possess an archery license with a crossbow disability permit.

* Any member of a party meeting this definition may kill a deer for any
other member of the party who has an unused tag valid for that deer.

* Party members may not kill an antlerless deer in a lottery deer area
for: 1) a member of the party who is a resident under age 18; or 2) a
disabled person authorized to take antlerless deer under a permit to
shoot from a motor vehicle.

* Party members may not kill an antlerless deer for a youth in limited
youth-only areas.

Important! The intent of the party hunting regulation is to
prevent parties from shooting more deer than the available number
of tags. The party hunting regulation requires that all hunters who
intend to tag deer for each other be hunting together, in the field, at
the time the deer are taken. Party members who are not afield hunt-
ing with the individual who takes a deer at the time it is taken may
not legally tag that deer. Hunters may not lend licenses to or borrow
licenses from other hunters.

REGISTRATION AND TRANSPORTATION

Registration
15" » Every deer taken must be registered and antlers must remain
attached until the deer is registered. Registration stations display
large, orange “Big Game Registration” signs. You can find a com-
plete list of all stations at any DNR Wildlife office or on the DNR
Web site.
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* The person whose tag is on the deer must personally present the
deer at an official deer registration station and receive a big game
possession tag. This tag must be attached to the hind leg, ear, or
antler where the site tag was attached.

* A possession tag must be obtained:

a) Within 24 hours after the expiration of the season under
which the deer was taken (for example, a deer taken during a
200 series season must be registered by the Monday after the
season); and

b)before the deer is processed, either privately or commercially.
Deer may be transported out of the area where taken without
being registered first.

Transportation

* A legally registered animal may be transported any time during and
after the deer hunting season.

* The licensee must accompany the deer in transport except as
follows: A deer that has been registered may be transported by
another person, if the signature, address, and license number of the
licensee and the origin and destination of the transport are written
on the back of the possession tag.

* All deer in transport must be readily accessible for inspection by
DNR conservation officers.

* The head of a deer must remain attached to the carcass until
the deer is registered. Skin and entrails may be removed before
registration. Deer may be quartered before being registered, but the
animal’s head must remain attached to one of the quarters.

* Whole deer, elk, caribou, or moose carcasses from other states or
provinces may not be brought into Minnesota from areas known to

have CWD in wild deer or elk (see page 59).

SPECIAL SEASONS FOR HUNTERS WITH PHYSICAL
DISABILITIES

(E/\, Special deer hunts for hunters with physical disabilities are tentatively
scheduled at a number of sites. Additional hunts for disabled archers
may be organized by Capable Partners, and are not listed here. For more
information call the DNR Information Center at 1-888-MINN DNR
(888-646-6367).

Persons who are totally blind may use a laser sight to participate in

permitted assisted special hunting opportunities.
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Rifle-Shotgun Boundary

In the shotgun zone (see map on the back of the large, deer zone
map, available separately), deer hunters may use only legal shotguns
loaded with single-slug shotgun shells, legal muzzleloading long guns,
or legal handguns.

NEW 3A REGULATIONS FOR 2009 ONLY

Note: Antlerless deer taken during the archery season do not count
towards the second weekend antlerless deer.

Note: Youth are not exempt from these regulations.

" The 2009 Minnesota Legislature made modifications to the 3A deer
season, which includes deer areas 338, 339 and 341-349. Specifically, the
legislation extends the season by two days compared to last year. The law
is in effect for 2009 only and the season dates are November 7-15.

Below is an interpretation of the law by deer area designation:

Lottery Deer Areas (344) — The bag limit in deer area 344 (the only
lottery area in zone 3) is one deer. Hunters can tag any buck or antler-
less deer if successful in the lottery from Saturday, Nov. 7 through Friday,
Nov. 13. On Nov. 14-15, hunters are restricted to tagging a buck with at
least one 4-point antler or antlerless deer if successful in the lottery. Over
the second weekend (Nov. 14-15), hunters cannot shoot and tag bucks
for each other.

* November 7-13 — any legal buck or antlerless deer if successful in the
lottery.

* November 14 and 15 — only bucks with at least one 4-point antler or
antlerless deer if successful in the lottery. Hunters must shoot and tag
their own buck.

Managed and Intensive Deer Areas (338-343, 345-349) — If a
hunter tags an antlerless deer from November 7-13, they can tag any
buck during the second weekend. If they do not tag an antlerless deer
before Nov. 14, they can only tag a buck if it has at least one 4-point ant-
ler. However, during the last weekend, they can take any buck if they tag
a doe first. This is essentially a modified form of earn-a-buck that only
applies during the last weekend. Also, over the last weekend, hunters can-
not shoot and tag bucks for each other.

* November 7-13 — any legal buck or antlerless deer
* November 14 and 15
» If an antlerless deer was tagged on or before November 13, a hunt-
er may tag any antlered buck.
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» If a hunter tags an antlerless deer firsz, they may tag any buck (no
antler point restriction).

» If a hunter does not tag an antlerless deer firsz, they are restricted to
bucks with at least one 4-point antler.

EARLY ANTLERLESS DEER SEASON

Season dates: October 10-11

Deer areas 101, 105, 111, 182, 208, 209, 210, 225, 227, 236, 250,
257, 260, 261, 265, 267, 268, 346, 349, and 601.

To use a firearm, hunters must possess a firearm or muzzleloader
license and an early antlerless deer permit.

Hunters may not tag deer with a regular firearms, muzzleloader
license, or bonus permit.

All harvested deer must be tagged with an early season antletless permit.
All hunters may use any firearm that would be legal in these areas
during the regular firearms season.

Hunters in deer area 101 may tag deer with disease management permits.
Archers may participate but if they do not have a firearm or muzzleloader
license, they must use archery equipment.

DEER AREA 601 (METRO DEER MANAGEMENT AREA)
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The metro deer area is comprised of deer area 601. Formerly, the
deer areas were 228 and 337.

The intent of deer area 601 is to increase hunting opportunity
around the greater Minneapolis—St. Paul area. The season has been
implemented to help landowners and local governments control local
deer populations. The area is comprised of nearly all private land and
access is limited. Hunters interested in pursuing deer in this area are
cautioned to acquire permission first.

The season dates are:

Archery: September 19 to December 31

Early Antlerless: October 10 to 11

Firearm: November 7 to November 29

Muzzleloader: November 28 to December 13

Any firearms or muzzleloader license is valid in this area.

At the time of license purchase, hunters should indicate the area they
typically hunt during the regular deer season. The license is auto-
matically valid in the metro deer management area.

An unlimited number of bonus permits are available for use in

this area.

>
>
>
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BOVINE TB AREA (101)

* A special deer area has been created around the bovine TB core area
in northwestern Minnesota. The area is a consolidation of several
deer areas and is represented as deer area 101.

¢ The season dates are:

> Statewide Archery: Sept. 19 — Dec. 31.

» Early Anderless: Oct. 10 — 11

> Firearm: Nov. 7 — 22

> Statewide Muzzleloader: Nov. 28 — Dec. 13

* During the firearm season, a license valid for any season option can
be used in this area.

* All deer taken in this area must be registered prior to transporting
outside the area, except deer can be registered in Wannaska.

* Special disease management antlerless permits are available at ELS
agents for the cost of issuance ($2.50).

* The disease management antlerless permits are valid only in the
bovine TB area and cannot be used anywhere else in the state.

* Hunters are strongly advised to obtain landowner permission prior to
obtaining permits.

WILDLIFE FEEDING BAN

Feeding wildlife in portions of northwest Minnesota (including the
modified accredited bovine TB zone) is restricted to minimize the risk of
transmitting bovine TB.

Violators of wildlife feeding restrictions may not obtain any hunt-
ing license for two years after the date of conviction.

A map of the area is online at mndnr.gov/hunting/deer/tb/index.html.

Look for the Feeding Ban Map link.

BIG GAME REGISTRATION STATIONS

Big game registration provides essential information for managing
deer populations. Many of the over 800 registration stations in the
state donate the use of their business and the time of their staff to
help collect this information.

Station operators are not required to inspect deer or verify regis-
tration information. This is the hunter’s responsibility.
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FOR YOUR INFORMATION

PREVALENCE OF BOVINE TB REMAINS LOW IN DEER

In 2005, bovine tuberculosis (TB) was first detected in cattle herds
in northwest Minnesota. Bovine TB is an infectious disease that affects
cattle, however, other animals may become infected. Bovine TB is a
progressive, chronic disease spread primarily through the exchange of
respiratory secretions or sharing contaminated feed. Continued testing
by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources has found no sign
of widespread bovine TB among deer. Since 2005, the DNR has tested
more than 6,200 deer in northwestern Minnesota for the disease and
25 have been confirmed with bovine TB. Although the prevalence of
the disease remains low in deer and the extent of the infection remains
limited to a small geographic area, the DNR will conduct additional
surveillance of hunter-harvested deer in northwestern Minnesota this
fall.

To avoid contact with bovine TB and other wildlife pathogens the
DNR recommends the following:

* Wear disposable rubber gloves when field dressing deer.

e Take precautions to avoid cutting yourself when field dressing a
deer.

e All meats (including deer) should be thoroughly cooked to an
internal temperature of 165 degrees. This kills all known bacteria,
including bovine TB and E. coli. While it is possible to transmit
bovine TB from animals to people, the likelihood is minimal. Most
human tuberculosis is caused by the bacteria M. tuberculosis, which
is spread from person to person and rarely infects animals.

The extent of bovine TB infec-
tions remains limited to a small
geographic area of the state.

Pearl-like nodules due to bovine
tuberculosis were found on the rib
cage of this white-tailed deer taken
near Skime in northwest Minnesota.
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VENISON DONATION PROGRAM

The venison donation program, established in 2007, will continue
for this season. The program allows hunters to donate deer that they
have shot for distribution to food shelves at no cost to the hunter. Funds
to support the program come from non-resident hunting license fees,
$1 on the bonus permits, and a $1, $3, or $5 donation from hunters at
the time of deer license purchase. When you buy your deer license, the
agent should ask if you want to contribute money to the venison dona-
tion program. Those funds are used to pay the cost of processing. When
you drop off a deer there is minimal paperwork. To participate, you can
drop off a deer at any of the participating processors. A list of eligible
processors will be posted and maintained on the DNR Web site. Please
refer to DNR new releases and the Web site as information is updated
throughout the year. The deer license donations and surcharges are being
paid by hunters for deer management, including assisting with the cost
of processing deer donated for charitable purposes. The DNR is working
with the Minnesota Departments of Health and Agriculture to minimize
the risk of lead contamination in donated venison. For 2009, processors
may reject deer carcasses with multiple wound channels. Hunters should
also consider using non-lead ammunition if they are planning to donate
deer to the program.

SPECIAL HUNT AREA PERMITS

Important!

(The application deadline for Lottery either-sex and Special Area
Permits is Thursday, Sept. 10. The deadline for special youth hunts
(except the Northwest Special Youth Season) is Friday, August 14.
Applications must be made at an ELS license agent, the DNR
License Center, or by telephone, by these dates. To apply, you must
first purchase a deer license.

157 Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 as of Nov. 7 and
disabled persons with a permit to shoot from a stationary motor
vehicle may take a deer of either sex in lottery deer areas without
having to apply for or obtain an either-sex permit. Resident youth
ages 10-17 who qualify under this provision may not apply for an
either-sex permit or accrue additional preference for these areas. All
hunters must apply if they wish to participate in a special hunt.

(E\ Hunters with Disabilities: Either-Sex Deer Hunting — A disabled

person with a permit to shoot from a motor vehicle may take a deer of

either sex without an either-sex permit, except in youth-only antlerless
areas.
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Special Hunt Permits

* Special hunt permits are required to hunt deer in special permit
areas where the number of hunters must be limited to control the
harvest or for public safety.

* Special hunt permit areas for regular firearms hunters are listed in
the tables on pages 88 and 89.

* Those who receive a special hunt area permit may also hunt deer
outside that special hunt area but only during the season indicated
on the license.

* You may apply for special hunt permit areas in parties of up to four
hunters. See application instructions below.

Selection and notification of successful applicants

e If permit applications exceed quotas, computerized drawings will
be used to determine who will be issued permits.

* Drawings for special area permits are based on a preference system.
Applicants for special area permits accumulate preference in the
same manner as applicants for either-sex permits. This system
gives the highest preference to those who have applied the most
times without receiving a permit. A person’s preference is the same
whether applying for an either-sex permit or a special area permit.

* Preference is not affected if a person applies for an area different from
the year before or if a person does not apply for one or more years.

* The preference for special area applicants who apply as a group is
based on the individual in the group with the lowest preference.

* Only successful applicants will be notified.

* Permits will be drawn and mailed in mid October. Information
about the drawings and individual applications is not available until
after this date. Applicants may check the DNR Web site (mndnr.gov)
in mid October to view antlerless permit lottery results.

¢ If you submitted a valid application and are not notified, you can
assume your application was not selected this year, and that your
preference will increase if you apply in a future year.

1= YOUTH-ONLY ANTLERLESS AREAS

In deer areas 234, 237, 274, 275, 282, 283, 284, 286, 288, 289, and
294, a limited number of either-sex permits are available for youth under
age 18 as of November 7. This will be the only antlerless harvest allowed
in these areas. All adult (archery, firearm, muzzleloader) and disabled hunt-
ers are restricted to bucks only in these areas. In these areas, this strategy
is being implemented because lowering either-sex quotas has not been
successful in lowering antlerless deer harvest. In many areas, reductions
in either-sex permits have resulted in increased antlerless deer harvest by
individuals who are not required to have an either-sex permit. Thus, a
more restrictive regulation is required if deer populations are to increase.
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Qualifying youth must purchase a youth firearm license and apply using
the permit application process outlined below. Bonus permits are not
valid and hunters cannot tag antlerless deer for youth. All adult (archery,
firearm, muzzleloader) and disabled hunters are restricted to buck only.
The application deadline for youth hunters is Thursday, Sept. 10,
2009.

HOW TO APPLY FOR PERMITS
Note: The drawings for all special hunt area permits are com-
bined as part of the either-sex permit preference system.

General instructions

* Applications for either-sex permits and special hunt area per-
mits must be made at one of the 1,800 ELS agents at the DNR
License Center, by telephone, or by internet by the Sept. 10
deadline. Applications can be completed as part of the process of
purchasing your regular deer license.

* You may apply for only one area. You may not apply for both an
either-sex deer permit and a special area permit.

* Residents and nonresidents are eligible for permits.

* A permit is not transferable between persons or between areas.

1= Residents and nonresidents under the age of 18 as of Nov. 7 do

not need to apply for an either-sex permit in lottery areas. (They
must apply for special hunts or either-sex permits in youth-only
antlerless deer areas.) The deadline is Sept. 10.

¢ All residents 21 or over must present their Minnesota Driver’s
License or Minnesota Identification Card at time of application.

Antlerless and special area permit application instructions

The ELS license agent will ask you a series of questions in order
to complete the transaction. The questions will be related to the
type of license you are purchasing and the deer area you are inter-
ested in hunting. You can apply individually or as a group of up to
four people. Make sure you check the large map and/or the tables
in the book to ensure you are applying for the correct area. After
completing the transaction, immediately check your receipt and
deer license to make sure the agent entered your information cor-
rectly. This is the only time it can be changed.
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LOTTERY DEER AREAS

1= This year, all firearm and muzzleloader hunters must apply for an
either-sex permit if they want to take an antlerless deer in a lottery deer
area. The change is being made to curtail the antlerless deer harvest that
has been occurring in lottery deer areas by individuals who don’t need
an either-sex permit (disabled, youth, muzzleloader). In many cases, the
number of deer taken by individuals who are not required to have a per-
mit has exceeded the total number of either-sex permits authorized. For
example, in deer area 275, a total of 30 either-sex permits were autho-
rized but 159 antlerless deer were registered. As a result, simply lowering
either-sex permits has virtually no effect on lowering total antlerless har-
vest. Therefore, new rules have been implemented in these areas that will
allow youth and disabled hunters to take antlerless deer without a special
permit but reduce the total number of antlerless deer taken.

All firearm and muzzleloader hunters must apply and their permits
will only be valid during that season. Hunters can apply using either
their muzzleloader OR firearm license but not both. After the application
period ends, the permits will be allocated in proportion to the license
types in the lottery. For example, if 100 either-sex permits are allocated
and 25% of the applicants are muzzleloader hunters then 25% of the
permits will go towards the muzzleloader season. This has the benefit of
having muzzleloader-only hunters compete with other muzzleloader-only
hunters. They will not compete with firearm hunters who likely have
more preference points.

Successful applicants will receive a postcard in the mail authorizing
them to take an either-sex deer using their regular license. That autho-
rization will only be valid for the season listed on the postcard. Specific
instructions on how to apply for an either-sex permit are listed on
page 63.

The number of deer hunters can kill in a lottery deer area is one,
regardless of license type. All adult hunters who hunt a lottery deer area
may apply for an either-sex permit by Thursday, Sept. 10, 2009. Winners
will be notified by mail and will receive an authorization to take a deer
of either-sex in that lottery deer area. Bonus permits cannot be used in
lottery areas.

* Either-sex permits allow a person to take a deer of either sex within
the specified lottery deer area during the season listed on the permit.

* Areas and permit quotas are shown on the large deer zone map, avail-
able separately.

* Either-sex permit holders may take antlerless deer only in the area
specified on the permit, but they may hunt deer anywhere during the
season indicated on the license.

* Regular firearm — can take a buck or an either-sex deer if successful
in the lottery.
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* Youth firearm and persons with a disability permit to shoot from a
stationary motor vehicle — can take an either-sex deer without apply-
ing in the lottery.

* Muzzleloader — can take a buck or an either-sex deer if successful in
the lottery.

See page 71 for the list of lottery deer areas.

MANAGED DEER AREAS
The number and type of deer you can kill in managed deer areas is two,
regardless of license type.

* Regular and youth firearm — can take a deer of either sex and use one
bonus permit in one managed area. Hunters can take up to two deer
total in managed deer areas. Refer to page 71 for a list of managed
deer areas.

INTENSIVE DEER AREAS
Intensive deer areas have a bag limit of 5 deer total.
* Regular and youth firearm — can take a deer of either sex and use up
to four bonus permits in intensive deer areas. Refer to page 71 for a
list of intensive deer areas.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Ground Blinds

Ground Blinds are becoming increasingly popular in all types of
hunting. Be aware of the possible danger in some hunting situations
when you are completely concealed in any blind. For improved safety
we want to always be seen by our partners and others who are hunt-
ing. Blaze Orange marking around or near your blind could prevent
an accident, this is especially important during firearms deer seasons.
Please exercise caution when using this form of concealment.
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SPECIAL REGULATIONS ON SOME STATE PARKS

The Divisions of Parks and Fish and Wildlife are collaborating on
a research project to evaluate the effectiveness of alternative regulations
on deer populations. For 2009, two regulations will be tested: 1) antler
point restrictions, and 2) the requirement to tag an antlerless deer prior
to tagging a buck (earn-a-buck). Please refer to the following special
hunt table (page 80) to determine if your hunt has a special regulation.
Successful applicants will be mailed additional information prior to the
hunting season.

Hunting in state parks with antler-point restrictions

How to count points
Depending on the park, a deer must have

a minimum of either three or four points on

one side to be taken.

1) An antler point, if it is at least 1-inch
long

2) The brow tine, if it is at least 1-inch
long

3) The end of the main beam

4) Any broken tine that is at least 1-inch
long

Hunting tips and how to field judge a buck

* The antler point restriction regulations are designed to protect at
least half of the yearling (1% year old) buck population. When
field judging a buck, if it has a small body and thin neck, it may be
a yearling.

* Bring binoculars and take the time to look at the antlers and count
the points before you take a shot.

e Wait for the deer to turn broadside, it will make it easier to count
points.

Legal to Harvest

At all state parks with antler point restrictions, does, button bucks,
and bucks with spikes less than 3 inches are legal to take on regular
licenses and bonus permits. However, to improve the effectiveness of
the regulation, it is better to focus on adult females and not harvest
button bucks or legal spikes. The following bucks meet the minimum
standards for harvest. Bucks with more points than shown in the illus-
trations are also legal to harvest.

1> Registration
Antlers must remain attached to the carcass until after the deer is
registered.
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Itasca, Savanna-Portage State Parks, and Rice Lake National
Wildlife Refuge — Bucks with at least three antler points on one side.
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Five point buck with three points on one side

Six point bucks with three points on each side. Note the difference in
antler sizes between the two deer

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Deer Drives

Please exercise extreme caution when shooting at any running
game especially deer. Statistics show that firearms hunting accident
and fatalities are often associated with people shooting at running
deer. This is often occurs during deer drives where many hunters
are in close proximity and some times out of sight of one another.
Always have a safety plan for all situations especially deer drives. Be
very sure of who or what’s beyond before you shoot.
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Hunting in State Parks with earn-a-buck regulations

General Information

* In order to tag a buck, you must tag an antlerless deer in the park
first.

* You cannot take a doe somewhere else in the state and hunt bucks
only at the park.

* You do not have to register the antlerless deer prior to taking the
buck, but you do need to validate your deer license and tag and
have them available for inspection by a conservation officer. If you
are found with a buck and no antlerless deer, you will be in viola-
tion of the hunt rules and subject to a citation.

* There will be no special validation for buck hunting. It will be the
responsibility of the hunter to observe the rules and take their deer
in the proper order.

* If you have already filled your buck license, you may still hunt ant-
lerless deer at the park.

* Deer taken at the park must be registered at the park.

15 Antlers must remain attached to the carcass undil after the deer is
registered.

Licenses

* Hunters should plan on having at least two tags in their possession
when they arrive to hunt.

* One of those tags must be valid for taking an antlerless deer and
the other for taking a buck.

* Hunters who are only interested in taking an antlerless deer need
only bring one tag.

Party Hunting (Cross-tagging)
e Party hunting is legal in earn-a-buck areas.

* You can shoot a deer for a member of your party; however, only
the person whose tag is on the antlerless deer will be authorized to
tag a buck.

* If you shoot an antlerless deer that is tagged by someone else, you
cannot tag a buck with your license. An antlerless deer must be
first tagged with your license before you tag a buck.

* Party hunters should tag their first antlerless deer with their own
license. If they have the opportunity to harvest another antlerless
deer, they should then tag it with another person’s license.
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Itasca State Park

Itasca State Park (deer area 287) is open to firearms deer hunting,
except where posted closed. The park is not open during the archery
or muzzleloader seasons. For 2009, only bucks with at least one
three-point antler can be taken. Bucks not meeting this minimum
antler-point restriction are protected and cannot be harvested.
Antlerless deer can be taken with a regular license or bonus permits.
Antlers must remain attached to the carcass until after the deer is
registered.

Note: Some state parks are open to general hunting. See pages
117-118 for details.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Youth and Small Game Hunting

Did you know that resident youth under age 13 are allowed to
hunt small game without a firearms safety certificate or license? The
only requirement is that they be accompanied by a parent or guard-
ian. You as a responsible parent are the best judge of when your child
is mature enough to safely handle firearms and go hunting. And, you
are the best person to pass on the fun, excitement and heritage of
hunting to the next generation of sportsmen/women. Hunting, it’s a
great way to make family memories that will last a lifetime.
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Season Dates: Nov. 28—Dec. 13, statewide
Open Areas: Muzzleloader hunters may hunt statewide except for the
closed areas listed below.
1. Deer area 287 (Itasca State Park) and 224 (Sherburne National
Wildlife Refuge).
2. Refuges and other areas closed to firearms hunting are also closed to
muzzleloader hunting.

3. Rice Lake, Sandstone, and Rydell National Wildlife Refuges.

MUZZLELOADER REGULATIONS
15" ¢ In lottery deer areas (where either-sex permits are limited),
muzzleloader hunters must apply for and receive an either-sex
permit. The application deadline is Thursday, Sept. 10. If you are
successful in the lottery, your permit will be valid for an either-sex
deer during the muzzleloader season only.

* Hunters may buy both a firearm and muzzleloader license.

* Only open and “peep” type sights (including those with fiber optic
material) are legal during the muzzleloader deer season. Scopes, includ-
ing holographic or “red dot” scopes, are not legal for this season, except
for use of non-magnifying scopes by special permit for persons with
medically verified visual impairments. A permit application is available
by calling the DNR Information Center (see page 127).

YOUTH ANTLERLESS DEER AREAS
All muzzleloader hunters are restricted to bucks only. A limited num-
ber of youth antlerless permits are offered for the firearm season only.

LOTTERY DEER AREAS

A list of lottery deer areas is on page 71. All hunters are limited to
taking one deer total and muzzleloader hunters can only take an antler-
less deer if successful in the lottery. The application deadline is Thursday,
Sept. 10, 2009. Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer areas.

MANAGED DEER AREAS

Hunters who purchase a muzzleloader license and are hunting in a
managed deer area may purchase and use one bonus permit to take an
additional antlerless deer in one managed deer area. Refer to page 71 for
a list of managed deer areas.
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INTENSIVE DEER AREAS

Hunters who purchase a muzzleloader license and are hunting in an
intensive deer area may purchase and use up to four bonus permits to
take antlerless deer. Refer to page 71 for a list of managed deer areas.

SPECIAL PERMIT AREAS FOR MUZZLELOADER HUNTERS

The following are special permit areas open during the muzzleloader
season. Application instructions are the same as for other firearms special
permit areas and are described on page 81.

2009 Special Permit Areas for Muzzleloader Hunters

Jay Cooke State Park Carlton 935  12/5-12/9 120 Yes!

Soudan Underground St. Louis 937 11/28-12/13  20* Yes!
Mine State Park

Lake Shetek State Park Murray 939  12/5-12/6  15%*  Yes?

Nerstrand Big Woods Rice 941  11/28-11/29  50* Yes?
State Park

Sibley State Park Kandiyohi 943 12/5-12/6  50** No

*Either Sex **Antlerless Only
T Up to four bonus permits may be used

2 One bonus permit may be used

3 Earn-a-buck hunt
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Season Dates: Sept. 19-Dec. 31
Open Areas: Archery hunters can hunt statewide except in areas
designated closed and Itasca State Park (deer area 287).

* Deer area 601 — Archery hunters in deer area 601 (metro deer man-
agement area) may take an unlimited number of antlerless deer.

* A person may not take deer by archery while in possession of a
firearm.

YOUTH ANTLERLESS DEER AREAS

All archery hunters are restricted to buck only. A limited num-
ber of youth antlerless permits are offered for the firearm season only.
Youth-only areas are listed on page 70.

LOTTERY DEER AREAS

All archery hunters can take a deer of either-sex in the lottery deer
areas listed on page 71. Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer areas.
The bag limit is one deer total.

MANAGED DEER AREAS

Archery license holders who are hunting in a managed deer area can
take a deer of either sex and may purchase and use one bonus permit to
take an additional antlerless deer in one managed deer area. Refer to page
71 for a list of managed deer areas.

INTENSIVE DEER AREAS

Archery hunters who are hunting in an intensive deer area may pur-
chase and use up to four bonus permits to take antlerless deer. Refer to
page 71 for a list of intensive deer areas.

Archery special hunt areas

* Application dates and methods vary by special hunt. Please refer to
the table for the basic information regarding the hunt. Additional
information may be obtained by contacting the special hunt
administrator.

* Prior to making application, please check with the location you are
interested in hunting. Different municipalities have different regu-
lations such as requiring bonus permit use, taking an antlerless deer
first, written permission, and/or proficiency tests.
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How to apply for archery special area permits

An application for an archery special area permit must be made
on a form supplied separately by each special area. No other form
of application will be accepted. Send your request for an application
form with a stamped, self-addressed, business-sized envelope to the
address listed for the special area where you wish to hunt. A person
may apply for more than one special area, but not more than once
for a specific hunt. Their may be restrictions regarding applications.
Please read material carefully before applying.

REGULATIONS
Bear hunting regulations booklets have been distributed to all permit
area hunters and are available to No-Quota hunters at license agents.

* The bag limit for bears is one per season in quota areas and two per
season in the no-quota area. Hunters may purchase both quota and
no-quota licenses.

e White bears may not be taken.

e Cub bears may not be taken.

* Hunters are discouraged from shooting radio collared bears.

* A tooth and rib sample must be submitted for all bears harvested.

* See bear hunting regulations booklet for additional information and
2009 bear quotas.

* A map of bear permit areas will be available at license agents.

1= * Prior to the opening day of archery season, portable stands may
be left overnight in a wildlife management area by a person with a
valid bear license who is hunting within 100 yards of a bear bait site
that is legally tagged and registered. The stand must have affixed the
person’s name and address to the stand in such a manner that it can
be read from the ground.

Important Dates:
August 14: Start of baiting.
September 1-October 18: 2009 Bear Season.
Late March 2010: Applications available.
May 7, 2010: Application deadline for the 2010 season.

LICENSING

Residents and nonresidents can participate in a drawing for licenses
within bear permit areas, and they may purchase a license over the
counter for the No-Quota Area.
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MOOSE AND ELK

The application deadline for the 2009 moose hunt was May 1, 2009.
A total of 225 licenses were available in 30 zones in the northeastern part
of the state. Northwestern Minnesota remains closed to moose hunting
due to low population levels. Successful applicants will be notified in
August and regulations and hunt information will be sent to each license
holder.

Season dates for the 2009 moose hunt are October 3 to October 18.
The Fond du Lac Band will conduct a moose hunt starting Sept. 26 and
the 1854 Authority will conduct a hunt beginning Oct. 3. Hunters and
trappers should be aware that there is a big game season open during the
above dates in northeastern Minnesota.

Minnesota’s moose hunt is for residents only, and since 1991 it has
been a “once-in-a-lifetime” hunt.

The application deadline for the 2010 moose hunt is May 7, 2010.

The application deadline for the 2009 elk hunt was July 24, 2009. In
total, 30 permits were issued in Grygla and Kittson County.

The application deadline for the 2010 elk hunt is July 16, 2010. There
is a $10 application fee per hunter and a license for a party of up to two
hunters costs $250. Applications will be accepted at ELS agents statewide.

—

=

TAX TIME IS YOUR TIME TO HELP WILDLIFE

Look for the line with the loon on your Minnesota tax form and
donate to the Nongame Wildlife Checkoff. It’s fast, easy, and tax
deductible. Be part of the wildlife success story.
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Important! Because waterfowl seasons and limits aren’t approved
until late summer, final information on waterfowl was not available
when this booklet was printed.

Be sure to consult the Waterfowl Hunting Regulations
Supplement available online in mid August or from ELS license
agents and the DNR License Center in late August.

Migratory waterfowl are subject to both state and federal
regulations.

* Waterfowl hunters must be in compliance with the Harvest

Information Program (HIP). See page 37 for details.

Important Dates:

Season Openers: The regular waterfowl season opener will be
October 3, 2009. The early September Canada Goose opener will
be Sept. 5. Other waterfowl season information will be announced
through news releases and in the Waterfowl Hunting Regulations
Supplement, available in August.

Blind Reservations—Lac qui Parle: Hunters may apply to
reserve hunting stations at Lac qui Parle Wildlife Management Area
(WMA). Applications with the earliest postmark between August
24 and Sept. 16 will be accepted on a first-come, first-served basis.
Additional details will be announced in early August.

Youth Waterfowl Hunt: Details will be announced in late
August in the Waterfowl Hunting Regulations Supplement.

Protecting wetlands is crucial to ensuring healthy populations of ducks,
pheasants, herons, and even deer. Minnesota leads the nation in protecting

wetlands. Let’s not lose that honor.

“Save the Wetlands”

9



WATERFOWL

DON'T LET

YOUR
BRPTHER -IN- LAW
GET YOUR

Life vests now come in styles that make it easy to shoulder a gun.

WEAR YOUR LIFE JACKET.

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
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LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

Waterfowl hunters must have a Minnesota Small Game License in
their possession while hunting unless they are exempt from a license
requirement. See pages 20 and 37 for stamp and small game licensing
details.

SPECIAL GOOSE HUNTS

A special $4 permit is required to hunt Canada geese during the
special September and late December seasons. One permit is good for
both seasons. All persons must have the permit to participate in these
hunts, except residents under age 18 or age 65 and over, and persons
hunting on their own property. The permit is available from ELS license
agents and the DNR License Center or by telephone. There is no
deadline for purchasing the permit.

AVOID SPREADING INVASIVE SPECIES

Invasive species such as purple loosestrife, Eurasian
watermilfoil, and zebra mussels can damage habitat for fish,
waterfowl, and other wildlife. It is illegal to transport most aquatic
plants and zebra mussels in or on boats, trailers, or decoys in
boats, when on public roads. However, waterfowl hunters may use

emergent aquatic plants, such as cattails and bulrushes, cuz above
the waterline, for building blinds. How to help:
* Switch to elliptical, bulb-shaped, or strap decoy anchors that
won' collect submergent aquatic plants as easily.
* Inspect and remove aquatic plants, zebra mussels, and mud
that are attached to decoy lines or anchors, and waders.
* Drain the water from boats and equipment.

98



WILD RICE
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LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

Harvesting wild rice is open to Minnesota residents and nonresidents.
Nonresidents must purchase a one-day license and residents may purchase
either a season or one-day license. All harvesters are required to be licensed
unless they are residents under 18 years of age and accompanied by a
licensed harvester. Wild rice licenses are available from ELS license agents.
Fees from wild rice harvest and buyer licenses are deposited in a special
account for wild rice management.

QL

SEASON DATES AND HOURS

1= August 15 to September 30, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. daily. The harvest
of “green” (unripe) wild rice is unlawful. See page 101. Several lakes
are likely to have special restrictions in 2009 concerning the timing
of opening day harvest. Watch for announcements in local media and
online at mndnr.gov.

RESTRICTED AREAS

Conservation officers and other authorized agents of the Commis-
sioner of Natural Resources may close the harvest on any public water by
posting the known access points.

National Parks and National Wildlife Refuges are closed to wild rice
harvesting, except when authorized by special permits. Harvest is allowed
on state wildlife management areas, except where specifically closed by
posting or rule.

VEGETATION

Destruction of wild rice plants by cutting, pulling, or removing is
unlawful except when cut above the waterline and used for shooting
or observation blinds. All aquatic vegetation must be removed from
watercraft before leaving any body of water to prevent the spread of exotic
vegetation such as purple loosestrife and Eurasian watermilfoil. (See box,

page 99.)
WATERCRAFT

Watercraft used in harvesting wild rice may not exceed 18 feet in
length or 36 inches in maximum width. Any extension that increases
normal capacity is prohibited.

PUSH POLES

Push poles used to propel watercraft for harvesting wild rice must be
forked at the end. The forks must be less than 12 inches in length.
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FLAILS
Flails used to harvest wild rice must be made of round, smooth wood
no longer than 30 inches and weigh no more than one pound. Flails must

be hand held and operated.
MECHANICAL DEVICES

The use of any machine or mechanical device to harvest wild rice is
prohibited unless the operator holds fee title to all the property that sur-
rounds the public water where the harvest is taking place and the public
water is less than 125 acres in size, within the original boundaries of any
Indian reservation, and there is no public access directly or through a
channel or watercourse.

PENALTIES

Any person violating any of the laws or rules pertaining to wild rice is
subject to a fine up to $1000 and/or 90 days in jail.

INDIAN RESERVATION RESTRICTIONS (GENERAL)

All native wild rice within the existing boundaries of the White Earth,
Leech Lake, Bois Forte, Grand Portage, Fond du Lac, and Mille Lacs
Indian Reservations is managed by the respective reservation wild rice
committees. These committees establish the opening date, days, and hours
of harvest no less than 24 hours prior to the opening. These regulations
may be altered by the wild rice committees after the season has been
announced by posting the major entrances to affected waters no less than
12 hours prior to the changes taking effect.

It is unlawful for any person to take wild rice grain from any of the
waters within the original boundaries at the White Earth, Leech Lake,
Nett Lake, Vermilion Lake, Grand Portage, Fon du Lac and Mille Lacs
reservations except for Native Americans or residents of the reservation
upon which said wild rice grain is taken.

SPECIAL LEECH LAKE INDIAN RESERVATION RESTRICTIONS

In addition to the above regulations, all non-tribal members must have
Leech Lake Reservation permits to harvest or buy wild rice within the
boundaries of the Leech Lake Reservation.
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FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Wild Rice

Wild Rice Plants are fragile. Don't bend the stalks straight down
or break them while harvesting. Instead, bend the plants forward
and away from your body. Use a light brushing or raking motion

to tap loose the ripened seeds. Wild rice is not ready for harvest if
you have to use much force to knock the seeds loose from the plant.
Harvesting should not be attempted during rainy days because the
moisture makes the seeds more difficult to tap loose from the stalk.

Minnesota’s wild rice harvesting season opens August 15 each
year, although wild rice is not likely to be ripe enough to harvest at
that time. The earliest that wild rice will generally mature is some-
time after the third week in August. How soon depends on the
individual stands and the weather. Rice is ready for harvest when
the seeds fall easily from the plant. Attempting to harvest “green” or
unripe rice damages the plant and is illegal.

Wild rice is an important food plant for both people and
wildlife. Low in fat but high in protein, fiber, B vitamins and
minerals, wild rice is higher in overall nutritional value than white
rice, oats, barley, wheat or rye. This aquatic member of the grass
family is also an important part of the ecology of many Minnesota
lakes and rivers.

Sprouting from seeds each year, wild rice generally reaches the
water surface by mid June. The leaves lay flat on the surface until
July when the plant begins to strengthen and grow erect. It is dur-
ing the floating leaf stage that plants are particularly vulnerable to
uprooting by rapidly increasing water-levels. Manmade water control
structures, beaver dams, and other channel-clogging debris down-
stream of wild rice areas are a threat to wild rice production. By
August wild rice will reach 2 to 8 feet above the water and the seed
heads will begin to fill out.

More information on wild rice is available online at htep://files.
dnr.state.mn.us/fish_wildlife/legislativereports/20080215_wild
ricestudy.pdf
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All public land in state-owned Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)
is open to the hunting of all species of protected wild animals and trap-
ping of mammals during the established seasons found in this booklet,
except as follows:

General Restrictions

* Trespass: Portions of WMAs posted closed to trespassing may not
be entered without DNR authorization.

* Closed Hours: WMAs may not be entered or used during closed
hours if posted with these restrictions at major access points, except
by permit.

e Camping: Camping is prohibited except in designated overnight-
use areas or with a permit from the wildlife manager. A vehicle,
trailer or tent lawfully left overnight must be occupied or attended.

* Alcohol: Alcoholic beverages may not be consumed, except by per-
sons lawfully occupying an overnight-use area.

* Firearms and Target Shooting: Target, skeet, trap, or indiscrimi-
nate shooting is prohibited. A person may not possess an uncased or
loaded firearm or an uncased or strung bow, except when lawfully
taking a wild animal or by permit.

* Destruction or Removal of Property: Signs, posts, fences, gates,
buildings, trees, shrubs, vines, plants, or other property may not be
destroyed or removed (including use of metal detectors to remove
property), except as follows: Wetland vegetation may be used to
build blinds on the area, and edible fruits and seeds, or decorative
portions of plants may be removed for personal use.

* Garbage Disposal and Animal Abandonment: Disposing of or
abandoning live animals, carcasses, garbage, trash, spoil, sludge,
rocks, vehicles, or other debris or personal property on any WMA is
prohibited.

* Hunting, Fishing, and Trapping Equipment: Boats, decoys, and
other equipment must not be left unattended overnight, with the
exception of traps in areas open to trapping and fish houses or dark
houses in certain designated WMAs.

* Blinds and Structures: A person may not construct or maintain
any building, dock, fence, billboard, sign, or other structure on any
WMA, except that temporary waterfowl blinds may be erected, but
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may not become private property or be used to preempt hunting
rights. Any materials brought into a WMA for the construction of a
blind must be removed each day at the close of hunting hours.
Elevated Stands: A person may not construct, occupy, or use any
elevated scaffold or other elevated device for the purpose of hunting,
watching, or killing wild animals, except that portable stands may be
used if they are removed each day at the close of hunting hours and
do no permanent damage. Prior to the opening day of archery deer
season (Sept. 19), portable stands may be left overnight in a wildlife
management area by a person with a valid bear license who is
hunting within 100 yards of a bear bait site that is legally tagged
and registered. The stand must have affixed the person’s name and
address to the stand in such a manner that it can be read from the
ground.

Dogs: Dogs are permitted on WMAs only when accompanied by

or under the control of the owner. From April 16 through July 14,
dogs must be on a leash. A person training a dog on a WMA may
not use live ammunition or blank cartridges, including the use of
blanks in dummy launchers or similar devices.

Other Domestic Animals: Livestock, horses, and other domestic
animals, are not permitted on WMAs except under cooperative
agreement or permit approved by the wildlife manager.

Unprotected Animals: Unprotected wild animals may be taken from
September 1 through the last day of February, or by any person legal-
ly hunting a protected species, unless the area is specifically closed.
Beaver and Otter: Beavers and otters may only be taken by permit
issued by the wildlife manager.

* Crows: Crows may be taken during established seasons, unless the

area is specifically closed.

WMAs with Special Restrictions

Becklin Homestead Park WMA (Isanti County) is only open to spe-
cial disabled hunts.

Bass Brook WMA (Itasca County) is closed to firearms hunting and
trapping. It is open to archery deer hunting.

Bayport WMA (Washington County), Hastings WMA (Dakota
County), and Raguet WMA (Scott and Carver counties): These areas are
closed to the trapping of unprotected mammals except when there is an
open trapping season for any protected species. Firearms must be unload-
ed and contained in a case, except in designated hunting areas during the
season for the taking of small game when shotgun with fine shot only is
permitted. The possession and use of bows and arrows are limited to the
designated hunting areas during established hunting seasons.

Boerner WMA (Sibley County), Buelow WMA (Steele County),
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Bryson WMA (Freeborn County), Chapa Kak-Say-Za WMA
(Steele County), and Hutchinson WMA (McCleod County):
These areas are closed to the hunting and trapping of all species.
Sand Prairie WMA is closed to the hunting and trapping of all
species except for special hunts by people with disabilities.

Carl and Verna Schmidt WMA (LeSueur County) Bur Oak
WMA (LeSueur County) and Pine City WMA (Pine County) are
closed to hunting of all species.

Gold Portage WMA (Koochiching and St. Louis counties):

This area is open only to waterfowl hunting.

Hearding Island WMA and Interstate Island WMA (St. Louis
County) are closed to the hunting of all species.

Uppgaard WMA (Crow Wing County): This area is open to hunt-
ing beginning on the opening day of waterfowl hunting.

Gordon E Yeager (Rochester) WMA (in the Rochester Refuge,
Olmsted County) Eastside WMA (Olmsted County), and Carl
Schmidt WMA (Morrison County): These areas are closed to
waterfowl hunting. Firearms are restricted to shotgun with fine
shot only for small game hunting on Gordon E. Yeager WMA, and
deer hunting is archery only.

Lac qui Parle, Thief Lake, Talcot Lake, and Orwell WMAs Small
game hunting is restricted in the Controlled Goose Hunting Zones.
Lake Blanche WMA (Ottertail County): This area is closed to fire-
arms deer hunting.

Mentel WMA (Mower County) is closed to all firearms hunting,
but it is open for trapping and archery hunting.

Talcot Lake WMA Small and big game hunting is restricted in the
controlled hunting zone.

Rice Lake WMA (St. Louis County): The posted area is closed to
all trespass from September 15 through July 31. Canoeing, bird-
watching, and wild rice harvest (during the wild rice season) is
allowed from August 1 — September 14. Hunting and trapping is
prohibited in the posted area.

Timber Lake WMA (Jackson County): A portion of this area is
closed to firearms deer hunting (as posted).

Pike Bay WMA (St. Louis County): This area is closed to trapping
of all species.

Schrafel WMA (Mower County): This area is closed to trapping
and firearms hunting. Open to archery deer hunting.

Hvoslef WMA (Fillmore County): This area is open to archery
hunting only from September 1 through October 31 and during
the spring turkey season. Firearms hunting (no centerfire rifles) is
allowed from November 1 through December 15.
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* Wesley E. Olson WMA (Big Stone County), Tom Cliff WMA
(Waseca County), Somsen WMA (Brown County), are closed to
hunting.

* Lac Qui Parle WMA (Lac Qui Parle County), Moonan WMA
(Waseca County), Two Rivers WMA (Redwood County), and the
Perched Valley WMA (Goodhue County) have buffer areas posted
closed to hunting.

* Roseau River WMA (Roseau County), The Pool 1 Sanctuary is
open for deer hunting during the muzzleloader season.

* Vermillion Highlands: A Research, Recreation and Wildlife
Management Area (Dakota County) is open to archery, firearms
and muzzleloader deer hunting by special lottery only and is open
to late season goose hunting and spring turkey hunting. Pheasant
hunting is available on a first come first served basis by designated
parking slots from the last day of the muzzleloader season through
the last day of pheasant season. Contact the Vermillion Complex
Wildlife Office for questions at 651-322-4643
Note: All trappers must, regardless of furbearers taken, obtain a

permit from the area manager on the following WMAs: Carlos Avery
(Anoka and Chisago counties), Hubbel Pond (Becker County), Red
Lake (Beltrami and Lake of the Woods counties), Lac qui Parle (Big
Stone, Lac qui Parle, Swift, and Chippewa counties), Mille Lacs
(Mille Lacs and Kanabec counties), Roseau River (Roseau County),
Talcot Lake (Cottonwood and Murray counties), Thief Lake
(Marshall County), Vermillion Highlands (Dakota County) and
Whitewater (Olmsted, Wabasha, and Winona counties).

Wild Rice
A person may harvest wild rice in a WMA, except where
specifically closed. (See pages 99-101 for more information.)

Ginseng
A person may not harvest wild ginseng in a WMA, except by
permit. The season opens Sept. 1.

Motor Vehicles
The following regulations apply to motor vehicle use on WMAs
other than on federal, state, county, or township roads:

* Motor vehicles licensed for use on a public highway may be operated
on established roads on the following WMAs, but not at speeds over
20 m.p.h. unless posted otherwise. No vehicles may be driven beyond
a sign prohibiting vehicular use, beyond any constructed vehicle
barrier, or in a reckless or careless manner. The areas are: Carlos Avery
(Anoka and Chisago counties), Hubbel Pond (Becker County),
Mille Lacs (Kanabec and Mille Lacs counties), Red Lake (Beltrami
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and Lake of the Woods counties), Roseau River (Roseau County),
and Thief Lake (Marshall County).

Vehicles are prohibited on all other WMAs. The exception is that
vehicles may be operated at speeds of 20 mph or less, on travel
routes designated with signs for travel purposes.

No vehicle may be parked in front of any gate or where it obstructs
travel.

No person may operate an all-terrain vehicle (ATV), all-terrain cycle
(ATC), hang glider, air boat, personal watercraft (jet-ski), or hover-
craft in a WMA unless specifically authorized.

On Wildlife Management Areas north and west of the line
described below an ATV may be used by a licensed firearms deer
hunter who does not possess a firearm (cased or uncased) to retrieve
and transport a deer that is known to be dead from the close of
shooting hours to two hours after the close of shooting hours dur-
ing the regular firearms deer season and for one day after the season:
beginning at State Highway 1 from the west boundary of the state to
State Highway 89, then north along State Highway 89 to Fourtown,
then north on County State Aid Highway 44 to County Road 704,
Beltrami County, then north on County Road 704 to Dick’s Park-
way State Forest Road, then north on Dick’s Parkway to County
State Aid Highway 5, then north on County State Aid Highway 5
to Warroad, then north on State Highway 11 to State Highway 313,
then north on State Highway 313 to the north boundary of the state.
On wildlife management areas within the area described as fol-

lows, a licensed deer hunter may operate an all-terrain vehicle
during the firearms deer season before and after shooting hours

and from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.: from State Highway 1 and the west
boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation; then west to State
Highway 219; then north on State Highway 219 to State Highway
89; then north to State Highway 89 to County Highway 6; then
east on County Highway 6 to County Highway 54 and County
Highway 1 (Beltrami/Marshall county line); then north along the
Beltrami/Marshall county line to the Roseau county line; east on

the Beltrami/Roseau county line to Dick’s Parkway, then south on
Dick’s Parkway to County Road 704, Beltrami county; then south
to County State-aid Highway 44 to Fourtown; then south on

State Highway 89 to the north boundary of the Red Lake Indian
Reservation, then west and south following the boundary of the Red
Lake Indian Reservation to the beginning.

Without written permission from the DNR, no person may operate
a snowmobile in a WMA south of a line described as follows: U.S.
Highway 2 from Grand Forks east to Bemidji, then south along
U.S. Highway 71 to Wadena, then east along U.S. Highway 10 to
Staples and U.S. Highway 210 to the eastern boundary of the state.
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¢ No person may use aircraft over a WMA in a manner that chases,
herds, scares, or otherwise disturbs wildlife, except in emergencies
or by authorization of the wildlife manager.

E\Blinds for Hunters With Disabilities

C The Lac qui Parle, Talcot Lake, and Whitewater Wildlife
Management Areas have a limited number of goose hunting blinds
for hunters with disabilities. Talcot Lake WMA and Roseau River
WMA each have a wheelchair accessible deer blind for firearms hunt-
ing. For more information, write to: Lac qui Parle WMA, 14047 20th
St. NW, Watson, MN 56295; Talcot Lake WMA, 40249 Co. Rd. 7,
Dundee, MN 56131; Roseau River WMA, HCR#5 Box 103, Roseau,
MN 56751; or Whitewater WMA, 15035 Highway 75, Altura, MN
55910.

Motorized Watercraft

The use of outboard motors (including electric trolling motors)
or motorized water vehicles (including amphibious vehicles) is
prohibited on waters within the boundaries of most state WMAs,
except as follows:

Motorized Watercraft Permitted

AREA
Gold Portage WMA
Gores (Mississippi River Pool 3) WMA
Lac qui Parle WMA
(except where posted)
Mud-CGoose WMA*
(except on any day the
waterfowl season is open)
Orwell Reservoir*
Roseau River WMA**
South Walnut Lake WMA*
Swamp River WMA
Talcot Lake WMA***
Thief Lake WMA*

COUNTY

Koochiching and St. Louis

Goodhue and Dakota

Big Stone, Lac qui Parle,
Chippewa, and Swift

Cass

Otter Tail

Roseau

Faribault

Cook

Cottonwood and Murray
Marshall

* Motor size is restricted to 10 horsepower or less on these units.

** There are no motor limits on the main channel and oxbows of the Roseau River.
Elsewhere on the Roseau River WMA, only motors of 10 horsepower or less may be
used and only on days that the waterfowl season is open.

*#%On the Talcot Lake WMA, motors are permitted on the lake (except on any day that
the waterfowl season is open) but are prohibited on the river and marshes at any

time of year.

(continued on page 111)
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(continued from page 107)

GAME REFUGES

A state game refuge is closed to the hunting and trapping of wild
animals unless listed below or in the table (pages 108-110). Even though
a refuge may be open, it could contain privately owned land on which the
landowner may probibit hunting.

General Restrictions

* A person may not trap beaver or otter within any state-owned
game refuge without first obtaining a permit from the appropriate
wildlife manager.

* Unprotected wild animals may be taken when there is an open
season for any protected species, but only during the hours and
by methods allowed for the protected species.

Lac qui Parle Game Refuge (Chippewa and Lac qui Parle
counties) is open under the following restrictions:

The portions of the refuge within the Lac qui Parle State Park,
Lac qui Parle Mission Site, or portions that are posted with “State
Wildlife Sanctuary — Do Not Trespass” signs are closed to hunt-
ing or the carrying or possession of firearms or bows unless the
firearm is unloaded and cased or unloaded and contained in the
closed trunk of a vehicle. The remainder of the refuge is open to:
1) waterfowl hunting only during the open Canada goose season
in the West Central Zone, only at designated hunting stations;

2) deer hunting; and 3) small game hunting other than waterfowl,
except from Saturday, Oct. 10 through Dec. 1, the last day of the
open Canada goose season in the West Central Zone when small
game hunting is allowed only at designated hunting stations. Small
game hunting is not allowed on closed Canada goose hunting days
during a split goose season. No unauthorized person may trespass
during the dates posted on any part of the refuge posted with
“State Wildlife Sanctuary — Do Not Trespass” signs. The exceptions
are as follows: 1) Fishing is permitted in the posted closed area

2) no person may trespass on Rosemoen Island at any time of the
year, except for permitted participants in disability hunts or those
with specific authorization.

Rochester Refuge (Olmsted County)

Unprotected animals may be taken at any time and by any

legal method.
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Talcot Lake Game Refuge (Cottonwood County)

The Talcot Lake Game Refuge is open to waterfowl hunting
only at designated hunting stations only during the Canada goose
season. The Talcot Lake Waterfowl Refuge is closed to waterfowl
hunting, except for persons with disabilities hunting geese at
designated hunting stations.

DUCK REFUGES AND DUCK SANCTUARIES

From September 1 through the final day of the duck season, or as
otherwise posted, a person may not hunt, trap, fish, or trespass on por-
tions of state wildlife management areas or federal waterfowl production
areas that are posted to prohibit trespass.

GOOSE OR WATERFOWL REFUGES

State goose refuges are closed to goose or waterfowl hunting (as posted)
except when specifically opened during special seasons (see the Waterfowl
Hunting Regulations Supplement available in August). Other forms of
hunting and trapping are permitted during the established seasons.

STATE FORESTS

State forest lands are generally open for hunting and other types
of outdoor recreation. Hunting on private land within a state forest
is subject to state trespass laws. A partial summary of state forest use
regulations is included below. A complete listing is available from the

DNR.

Elevated Scaffolds

* The use of portable tree stands is recommended, especially those
which can be secured without driving nails into trees. Nails are
a safety hazard for woodcutters and harm the forest. Personal
property must be removed from State Forest lands. It is illegal to
destroy state property, including the cutting of trees for shooting
lanes. Littering and erecting permanent buildings are prohibited.

* Any permanent unoccupied stand or blind on public land is pub-
lic and not the property of the person who constructed the stand.

Firewood
Wood that is dead and lying on the ground may be gathered for
campfire use on site. Only approved firewood is allowed to be brought

onto DNR lands, see page 36.

Campfires

No permit is required for recreational campfires of less than 3 feet
in diameter, in an area cleared of combustible materials for 5 feet
around the fire.
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Firearms

* Firearms may be discharged in compliance with the law on forest
lands that are not posted closed to firearm discharge.

* Firearms must be unloaded and cased while in or within 200 feet
of a forest recreation area (campground, day use area, parking area),
except that during open hunting seasons a person may carry an
unloaded, uncased firearm or a strung, uncased bow to hunt out-
side the recreation area.

Camping
Camping on forest lands outside of developed campgrounds is per-
mitted, with some conditions.

Personal Property

Personal property may not be left or positioned so as to obstruct
use of a road or trail. Personal property left unattended for 14 days
shall be deemed abandoned.

Motor Vehicle and Off-Road Rules
State forest lands are classified by the commissioner for purposes of
motor vehicle use. Motor vehicle use is regulated as follows:

State Forest Lands Classified as “Managed”:
Motor vehicles may use forest roads and routes unless they are
posted or designated closed.

State Forest Lands Classified as “Limited”:

* Highway licensed vehicles are allowed on signed forest roads unless
posted or gated closed.

¢ Off highway vehicles may operate on signed roads and trails.

* ATV travel off of signed motor vehicles trails or forest roads is pro-
hibited except when the hunter/trapper exception applies.

* A person may use motor vehicles on forest trails that are not desig-
nated for a specific use when: 1) hunting big game or transporting or
installing hunting stands during October, November, and December,
when in possession of a valid big game hunting license; 2) retrieving
big game in September, when in possession of a valid big game
hunting license; 3) tending traps during an open trapping season for
protected furbearers, when in possession of a valid trapping license;
or 4) trapping minnows, when in possession of a valid minnow
dealer, private fish hatchery, or aquatic farm license.

State Forest Lands Classified as “Closed”:
* Motor vehicles are not allowed except:
* Vehicles licensed for highway use may only use signed forest roads
unless they are posted or gated closed.
* Vehicles may operate on frozen public waters where it is not other-
wise prohibited.
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Limited, Closed and Managed State Forests

The following state forests are classified asBadoura,
Bear Island*, Bowstring, Buena Vista (portions), Burntside* (portions
outside BWCAW), Chengwatana, Cloquet Valley** (portions), Crow
Wing, D.A.R.*, Emily, Finland (portions), Fond du Lac, Foothills,
General C.C. Andrews, George Washington™* (portions), Golden
Anniversary, Hill River*, Huntersville, Land O’ Lakes*, Lake Jeanette*
(portions outside BWCAW), Lyons, Mississippi Headwaters,
Nemadji, Pat Bayle, Paul Bunyan, R.J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood
(no areas where big game hunter/trapper exemption applies), Remer,
Rum River, Savanna*, St. Croix, Smoky Hills, Snake River* (por-
tions), Solana, Sturgeon River** (portions inside SNF), Two Inlets,
Wealthwood, White Earth**, Waukenabo*.

The following state forests are classified as| CLOSED:

Battleground, Birch Lakes, Buena Vista (portions), Burntside
(portions inside the BWCAW), Cloquet Valley** (portions), Finland
(portions), George Washington™* (portions), Insula Lake, Lake
Isabella, Lake Jeanette (only portions in BWCAW), Pillsbury, Sand
Dunes, Snake River** (portions), Welsh Lake, Whiteface River.
Note: these lists are subject to change as additional forest review is
completed. See the following link for the most current status, or con-
tact the DNR Information Center (see page 127): mndnr.gov/input/
mgmtplans/ohv/designation/status.html

The following state forests are classified as MANAGED:

Beltrami Island, Big Fork, Blackduck, Cloquet Valley (portions),
Finland (portions), George Washington (portions), Grand Portage,
Kabetogama, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Lost River, Northwest
Angle, Pine Island, Red Lake, Smokey Bear, Sturgeon River (portions
outside Superior NF).

* Effective Sept. 1, 2009,
** Effective Dec. 31, 2009
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Motor Vehicle Restrictions (On state forest and county lands
within state forests where motor vehicles are allowed)

No motor vehicle operation is allowed on designated nonmotor-
ized trails, unless also posted open for a motorized use.
Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate on forest lands
in a manner that causes erosion or rutting, or that damages or
destroys trees or growing crops. The no-rutting provision does not
apply on designated motorized trails.
Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate within the bound-
aries of an area that is posted and designated as closed to such use.
Motor vehicles on state forest roads must: travel at a reasonable
speed; obey posted speed limits, parking and traffic regulation signs;
observe road closures; and may not damage the road, land or other
natural resources.
Cross country travel (off roads and trails) is prohibited. Exceptions
to the ban (for both limited and managed forests) are:

» ATV use for big game hunting or constructing stands from

October through December is allowed;

» ATV use for retrieving harvested big game is allowed from

September through December; and

» ATV use for trapping is allowed during open seasons for
protected furbearers.

Note: These exceptions apply only to Class 1 All Terrain Vebicles
(ATVs) less than 960 cc engine displacement and 900 pounds rotal
weight—motorcycles, trucks, and class 2 are not allowed to travel
CTOSs-COUntry.

Construction of unauthorized permanent trails on forest lands is
prohibited.

Areas with Limitations are areas within state forests where

the big game hunter/trapper exceptions do not apply. These

are areas of no motorized travel and provide walk-in hunting
opportunities. All ingress points are signed with the orange sign
“Area with Limitations.”

In the Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest, motor
vehicles and snowmobiles may operate only on forest roads that
are not posted closed and on forest trails that are designated for
motorized use. No motorized travel is allowed off of designated
trails under any circumstances. Motorized trails are open to ATV
and OHMs from May 1 to November 1.

Nonmotorized Trails

Nonmotorized trails are open to nonmotorized uses, but may be

limited by postings. In the Richard ]. Dorer Forest, horses and bicycles
may travel only on designated trails.
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STATE SCIENTIFIC AND NATURAL AREAS

State Scientific and Natural Areas (SNAs) are closed by law to hunting
unless listed below. No person may damage vegetation on SNAs and no
motor vehicles may be used.

In Scientific and Natural Areas open to hunting, portable stands and
elevated scaffold may be used if it is removed each day at the close of
shooting hours and does no damage to trees or other vegetation. Nails,
spikes, screws or other devices that damage the bark of trees are prohibited.

COUNTY
Aitkin
Beltrami
Brown
Carlton
Carver
Chisago
Clay

Clearwater
Clearwater
Cook
Cook
Cook
Fillmore
Goodhue

Houston

Itasca

Itasca

Itasca

Itasca

Koochiching

Lake of the Woods
Lake of the Woods
Mahnomen
Morrison

Norman

Pine

Polk

Redwood

Rice

Roseau

Sherburne
St. Louis
St. Louis

Stearns
Wabasha
Winona

* Hunts are associated with special hunts in State Parks.
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AREA

McGregor Marsh SNA
Maurice O’Link SNA
Joseph A. Tauer Prairie SNA
Hemlock-Ravine SNA*
Seminary Fen SNA
Franconia Bluffs SNA

Felton Prairie SNA, Bicentennial

Unit only
Iron Springs Bog SNA
Itasca Wilderness SNA
Hovland Woods SNA
Myhr Creek Ridge SNA
Spring Beauty Ridge SNA
Rushford Sand Barrens SNA
Cannon River Turtle
Preserve SNA
Mound Prairie SNA (Only

the portion north of Hwy 16.)

Chisholm Point Island SNA

Ladies Tresses Swamp SNA

Lost 40 SNA

Wabu Woods

Caldwell Brook SNA

Gustafson’s Camp SNA

Pine/Curry Island SNA

Santee Prairie SNA

Lake Alexander SNA

Prairie Smoke Dunes SNA

Black Lake Bog SNA

Gully Fen SNA

Cedar Mountain SNA

Prairie Creek Woods SNA

Two Rivers Aspen Parkland
Prairie SNA

Uncas Dunes SNA

Big Island SNA

Moose Mountain SNA

St. Wendell Tamarack Bog SNA
Zumbro Falls Woods SNA
King and Queen'’s Bluff SNA*

SNAs Open to Hunting in 2009

OPEN FOR:

All hunting

All hunting

All' hunting and trapping
Deer only, by permit
Deer only, by archery
All hunting

Deer only

Deer only
Deer only
All hunting
All hunting
All hunting
All hunting
All hunting

All hunting

Deer only, by archery
All hunting

All hunting

All hunting

All hunting

All hunting and trapping
Waterfowl only

All hunting

Deer only, by permit
Deer hunting only
All'hunting and trapping
Deer only, by archery
Deer only, by archery
Deer only, by permit

All hunting

All hunting
Waterfowl only
Deer only
archery 9/19-11/22
firearm 11/7-11/22
All hunting
Deer only, by permit
Deer only, by permit
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Peatland SNAs Open to All Trapping and Hunting

COUNTY PEATLAND SNA

Beltrami Red Lake Peatland

Cass Hole-in-the-Bog Peatland (Except Hole-in-
the-Bog Lake, which is a waterfowl refuge.)

Koochiching East Rat Root River Peatland

Koochiching Lost River Peatland

Koochiching Myrtle Lake Peatland

Koochiching Nett Lake Peatland

Koochiching North Black River Peatland

Koochiching South Black River Peatland

Koochiching West Rat Root River Peatland

Lake Sand Lake Peatland

Lake of the Woods/Beltrami
Lake of the Woods
Lake of the Woods

Mulligan Lake Peatland
Norris Camp Peatland
Winter Road Lake Peatland

Roseau Luxemborg Peatland
Roseau Pine Creek Peatland
Roseau Sprague Creek Peatland
St. Louis Lost Lake Peatland

St. Louis Wawina Peatland

STATE PARKS AND STATE RECREATION AREAS OPEN TO
PUBLIC HUNTING

All or portions of the state parks and state recreation areas (SRA)
listed below are open to public hunting, or public hunting and trapping
according to Minnesota regulations unless otherwise noted below. Maps
showing the areas where hunting and trapping is allowed within each
of these units are available online at mndnr.gov/state_parks/index.html.
Hunters and trappers should refer to these maps in the field to ensure
they are within the portion of the state park or state recreation area where
these activities are permitted.

With the exception of restrictions on firearms and traps, all state park
rules remain in effect throughout the hunting and trapping seasons.

Portable stands may be used if they are removed each day at the
end of shooting hours and do no damage to trees or other vegetation.
Nails, spikes, screws or other devices that damage the bark of trees are

prohibited.
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Note: Hunters and anglers are reminded to carefully review maps
while hunting or trapping on the following areas. Maps are available
online http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/state_parks/index.html.

Big Bog State Recreation Area

Most of the northern portion of Big Bog SRA is open to public hunting and
trapping. Hunting and trapping is not allowed on Ludlow Island and vicinity
or the boardwalk.

Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area
Much of Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area is open to public hunting,
but closed to trapping.

Forestville Mystery Cave State Park
Approximately 430 acres of the park is open to public hunting but closed to

trapping.

Garden Island State Recreation Area
Much of Garden Island State Recreation Area is open to public hunting but
closed to trapping.

George H. Crosby Manitou State Park

The portion of the park which is east of the Manitou River and north of
Minnesota Highway 61 (approximately 3,000 acres) is open to public hunting
but closed to trapping.

Split Rock Lighthouse State Park
Approximately 50 acres in the far northern part of the park is open to public
hunting but closed to trapping. See map for location.

Temperance River State Park

Approximately 600 acres of Temperance River state park is open to pub-
lic hunting but closed to trapping. The area is located north of Minnesota
Highway 61 and adjacent to the Cross River on both sides.

Tettegouche State Park

Much of the southern half of the park (approximately 3,700 acres) known as
the Palisade Valley unit is open to public hunting and trapping.
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NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGES & WATERFOWL PRODUCTION
AREAS
National Wildlife Refuges (NWRs) and Federal Waterfowl Production

Areas

(WPAs) are open to public hunting except where prohibited

otherwise. Migratory birds, upland game birds, small game, big game,
and furbearers may be hunted and trapped in accordance with state
and federal seasons and regulations. Consult the NWRs and Wetland
Management District (WMDs) managers for other specific public use
regulations.

General Restrictions

&

Small game hunters using shotguns are required to use and possess
only nontoxic shot.

Small game hunters must wear an article of blaze orange clothing
consistent to the state’s regulations.

Target shooting is prohibited.

During the small game season, hunting dogs must be under the
immediate control of the hunter at all times. Training and allowing
pets off leash are prohibited at all other times.

Motorized vehicles are prohibited on all NWRs and WPAs, except
on designated parking areas, access roads, and public roads. Permits
to operate vehicles on other roads may be available for hunters with
disabilities. Consult the Managers.

Motorized watercraft are prohibited on all WPAs and are restricted
on most NWRs. Motorized watercraft are allowed without a
permit on designated waters of the Tamarac and Upper Mississippi
National Wildlife Refuges.

Camping, campfires, and overnight parking are prohibited on all
WPAs, including designated parking areas. Camping, campfires,
and overnight parking are restricted on most NWRs. Consult the
Managers.

The use of nails, wire, screws or bolts to attach a stand to a tree, or
hunting from a tree, into which a metal object has been driven or
screwed to support a hunter, is prohibited. Portable or temporary
hunting blinds or stands can only be set up the day of the hunt,
and must be removed at the end of each day.

All property brought onto the NWRs and WPAs must be removed
after each day. This includes all vehicles, boats, decoys, and trash.
The use or possession of alcoholic beverages while hunting is
prohibited.

The destruction, defacement, disturbance, or unauthorized removal
of any natural object or government property is prohibited.
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Plants and animals cannot be introduced, liberated, or placed on
NWRs and WPA:s.

Disposing of animal carcasses, trash, refuse, rocks, wood, or other
debris is prohibited.

Cutting, mowing, sawing, digging, collecting, injuring, or remov-
ing vegetation is prohibited.

Distribution of feed or bait, or hunting over bait is prohibited.

Trapping
A person may not trap in a National Wildlife Refuge without first
obtaining a permit issued by the refuge manager.

Artificial Lights

A person may not use or direct the rays of a spotlight, headlight,

or other artificial light for the purpose of spotting, locating, or taking
any wild animal within the boundaries of a NWR and WPA.

Specific Restrictions

&
120

Agassiz National Wildlife Refuge (Marshall County) 22996
290th Street NE, Middle River MN, 56737-9754 218/449-4115

Small game: The refuge is open to grouse hunting beginning on
November 7, and closing on the state’s closing date. Portions of the
refuge will be open for the youth waterfowl hunt.

Deer: This refuge is open to firearms and muzzleloader deer
hunting, except in areas posted with “Area Closed” signs or as shown
on a maps available at parking areas and in deer hunting brochures
available at kiosks along Marshall County Road 7 and at Refuge
Headquarters. Portions of the refuge are open for the youth deer
hunt Oct. 17-18. A wheelchair-accessible hunting platform is avail-
able for reservation at Refuge Headquarters, phone 218/449-4115.
The refuge is in Deer Area No. 203, which includes Elm Lake,
Eckvoll, and Mud Lac state wildlife management areas.

Big Stone National Wildlife Refuge (Big Stone and Lac qui
Parle Counties) 44843 County Road 19, Odessa MN 56276
320/273-2191

Small Game: Portions of the refuge are open to cottontail
rabbit, jack rabbit, gray squirrel, fox squirrel, red and gray fox,
Hungarian partridge, wild turkey, and pheasant firearms hunting.
Open areas are posted with “Public Hunting Area” signs or shown
on maps available at parking areas and at the Refuge Headquarters.

Deer: Portions of the refuge are open to firearms, muzzleloader,
and archery deer hunting. Open areas are posted with “Public
Hunting Area” signs or shown on maps available at refuge headquar-
ters. This is part of Deer Area 278. A wheelchair-accessible hunting
platform is available for reservation—call 320/273-2191.
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Crane Meadows National Wildlife Refuge (Morrison County)
19502 Iris Road, Little Falls MN, 56534 320/632-1575
Closed to all public hunting.

Detroit Lakes Wetland Management District (Becker, Clay,
Mahnomen, Norman, & Polk Counties) 26624 N Tower Road,
Detroit Lakes MN, 56501-7959 218/847-4431

Hunting is allowed throughout the district, except on the
Headquarters Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Becker
County, the Hitterdal WPA in Clay County, and the McIntosh
WPA in Polk County.

Fergus Falls Wetland Management District (Otter Tail, Grant,
Douglas, & Wilkin Counties) 18965 County Highway 82,
Fergus Falls MN, 56537-7627 218/739-2291

Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on the
Townsend, Mavis, Gilmore and designated portions of Knollwood
Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA) in Otter Tail County, and
Larson WPA in Douglas County.

Glacial Ridge National Wildlife Refuge Contact Rydell NWR
17788 349th St SE, Erskine MN 56535 218/687-2229 or
800/841-0172

Hamden Slough National Wildlife Refuge (Becker County)

21212 210th Street, Audubon MN, 56511 218/439-6319

Litchfield Wetland Management District (Meeker, Kandiyohi,

Stearns, McLeod, Todd, Renville, & Wright Counties)

22274 615th Avenue, Litchfield MN, 55355 320/693-2849
Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on the Phare

Lake Waterfowl Production Area in Renville County.

Minnesota Valley National Wildlife Refuge & Wetland
Management District (Hennepin, Dakota, Scott, Carver,
Rice, Sibley, Blue Earth, Steele, Le Sueur, Waseca, Chisago,
Goodhue, & Ramsey Counties) 3815 American Blvd East,
Bloomington MN, 55425-1600 952/854-5900

Small Game: The Rapids Lake Unit is open to all small game
hunting including wild turkey. The Louisville Swamp Unit, south
of the Middle Road is open to small game hunting except for fur-
bearers and crows. The use or possession of center-fire rifles and
handguns is prohibited on the refuge. Single projectiles may not
be used or possessed in the Louisville Swamp Unit.

Waterfowl: Rice Lake, within the Wilkie Unit, east of old
Highway 18 and west of Eagle Creek, is open to public waterfowl
hunting. Waterfowl hunting is also permitted south of the Middle
Road in the Louisville Swamp Unit and also in the Rapids Lake
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Unit. Other areas may be open to waterfowl hunting by special
permit for hunters with disabilities or through the Young
Waterfowlers Program. The use of gas or electric motors is prohib-
ited on all refuge waters.

Deer: The Wilkie and Louisville Units and the Carver Rapids
State Wayside are open to archery deer hunting. The Rapids Lake
Unit is open to archery, shotgun and muzzleloader deer hunting,.

Morris Wetland Management District (Stevens, Traverse, Big
Stone, Lac Qui Parle, Yellow Medicine, Lincoln, Pope & Swift
Counties) 43875 230th Street, Morris MN, 56267 320/589-1001

Hunting is allowed throughout the district except on the des-
ignated portions of the Edward-Long Lake Waterfowl Production
Area (WPA) in Stevens County.

Northern Tallgrass Prairie National Wildlife Refuge
Hunting is allowed on designated areas with the following
conditions:
* Use of dogs for hunting furbearers is prohibited.
* Hunters may take unprotected species, such as skunk or
weasel, only during a state-designated open season for other
upland game species.

Rice Lake National Wildlife Refuge & Sandstone National
Wildlife Refuge (Aitkin and Pine Counties) 36289 State Hwy
65, McGregor MN, 55760 218/768-2402

Small Game: Portions of these refuges are open to cottontail
rabbit, snowshoe hare, gray squirrel, fox squirrel, ruffed grouse,
spruce grouse, woodcock, and snipe firearms hunting. Open
areas are posted with “Public Hunting Area” signs or shown on
maps available at Refuge Headquarters, 36289 State Hwy. 65,
McGregor, MN 55760.

Deer: Archery hunting is allowed on the Rice Lake and
Sandstone Refuges in designated areas. Rice Lake refuge is also
open to firearms either-sex deer hunting November 15-23 as
Special Permit Area 901 (see page 88). Maps showing open areas
are available from refuge headquarters or by calling. The refuges
are closed to muzzleloader hunting during the Muzzleloader
Season.

The Refuge will be open for a special firearm deer hunt for
persons with disabilities October 1-4, 2009. Contact the refuge
headquarters for applications and information.

Rydell National Wildlife Refuge (Polk County) 17788 349th
St SE, Erskine MN, 56535 218/687-2229 or 800/841-0172

Small Game: Small game hunting is closed on the refuge.
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Deer: The Refuge will be open for a special, either sex firearms
deer hunt for persons with disabilities on October 8-10. There will
be a special youth-only either sex hunt on October 17-18. Contact
the Refuge headquarters for permit and hunt area information.

Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge (Sherburne County)
17076 293rd Avenue, Zimmerman MN, 55398 763/389-3323
Small Game and Waterfowl: Portions of the Refuge are open

to cottontail rabbit, jack rabbit, snowshoe hare, gray squirrel, fox
squirrel, ruffed grouse, pheasant, woodcock, snipe, rail, and water-
fowl hunting. The Refuge is not open for bear, coyote, fox, rac-
coon, crow, or wild turkey hunting. The Refuge is closed to goose
hunting during the state special goose seasons. No person may
hunt or possess firearms (including bows and arrows) in closed
areas. Trapping is conducted only by Special Use Permit. Maps and
additional information are available at Refuge Headquarters.

Deer: Portions of the Refuge are open to archery and firearms
deer hunting; maps are available at Refuge Headquarters. This is
deer area 224. The Refuge is closed to muzzleloader hunting dur-
ing the Muzzleloader Season.

Disabled Hunting blinds may be available for waterfowl and
deer hunters with disabilities. Contact the Refuge headquarters for
permit and hunt area information.

Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge (Becker County)
35704 County Road 26, Rochert MN, 56578 218/847-2641
Small Game and Waterfowl: Portions of the refuge are open to
firearms hunting of cottontail rabbit, jack rabbit, snowshoe hare,
gray squirrel, fox squirrel, ruffed grouse, snipe, woodcock, ducks,
rails, coots, geese, red fox, striped skunk, and raccoon. Dogs may
not be used for furbearer hunting. Open areas are marked on maps
available at Refuge Headquarters. The Refuge is closed to bear,
bobcat, and coyote hunting,
Deer: Portions of the refuge are open to archery, muzzleloader,
and firearms deer hunting. This is deer area 251. Maps showing
open areas are available at refuge headquarters.

Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife and Fish Refuge
(Wabasha, Winona, and Houston Counties) 51 East 4th Street
Room 101, Winona MN, 55987 507/452-4232

Otter may be taken by trapping with a permit issued by the
refuge manager. Portions of the refuge are open to hunting, with
the following exceptions: Hunting is prohibited between March 15
and the opening of the Fall Hunting seasons, except that wild
turkey hunting is allowed during the spring turkey season. In
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posted closed areas, hunting for all legal species except migratory
birds is permitted beginning after the close of the state duck
hunting season. Lead shot may be used for turkey hunting. All
decoys must be removed from the refuge at the end of each day’s
hunt. For more information, contact refuge headquarters.

NATIONAL FOREST LANDS IN MINNESOTA

National forest lands in Minnesota are open to many public uses,
including camping, hunting, fishing, trapping, snowmobiling and
off-highway vehicle (OHV) use with some restrictions.

Minnesota State hunting, fishing, trapping, snowmobiling and OHV
regulations apply on national forest lands, except as otherwise stated
below or in national forest regulations, 36 CFR Part 261.

Special designation areas within national forests, such as designated
Wilderness Areas, Semi-Primitive Nonmotorized Areas, and Research
Natural Areas may have additional restrictions:

* Only portable stands or blinds that do not damage natural features

and are removed at the end of the hunting season are permitted.

* Portable stands and blinds left unattended on national forest lands

after the close of the hunting season are subject to impoundment.

* Cross-country or off-road OHV use for any purpose is prohibited.

This includes the use of OHV’s for big game retrieval, bear baiting
and trapping.

* Commercial activities such as outfitting and guiding may not be

conducted without a Special-Use Authorization issued by national
forest management.

* Cutting or damaging of trees, including the cutting of shooting

lanes, is prohibited.

* Constructing, placing, or maintaining any kind of road, trail,

structure or other improvement is prohibited. This includes the use
or occupancy of a permanent stand, blind or OHV trail.

* Storing or abandoning any personal property on national forest

lands is prohibited.

* Discharging a firearm within 150 yards of a building, campground,

developed recreation site or occupied area; or from or across a
forest road; or in a manner or place that could cause injury or
damage is prohibited.

* Dumping of any refuse, debris, trash or litter on national forest

lands is prohibited.

* Damaging or removing any natural/cultural feature or federal prop-

erty is prohibited.

e Fire restrictions must be observed when in effect.
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Chippewa National Forest (Beltrami, Cass, and Itasca
Counties)

* The Motor Vehicle Use Map (MVUM), is the legal guide for
Motor Vehicle use on Forest Roads, it is updated annually, which
could affect your riding. Forest Roads are identified on the
MVUM and on the ground with a three or four digit numbered
sign.

* Off-Highway Vehicles (OHV) and Highway Licensed Vehicles
(HLV), may only operate on Forest Roads designated open on the
MVUM map, which are available FREE at the Forest Supervisors
or District Ranger Offices.

* Roads that are signed, gated, bermed with dirt, rocks, trees etc.
or not designated open on the MVUM map are closed to motor
vehicles.

* Snowmobiles may operate on any unplowed Forest Service roads
with 4 or more inches of snow accumulation.

* Camping within a developed recreation fee area for a period longer
than 14 days is prohibited. Campers must leave campground for a
minimum of 24 hours before returning.

* Camping for a period longer than 21 consecutive days at a single
location, anywhere on National Forest lands (non-fee areas), is
prohibited.

* Launching or retrieving a boat with a trailer is prohibited except at
a designated boat ramp.

Superior National Forest (Cook, Lake, and St. Louis
Counties)

* Vehicle use is restricted to specific routes on the Forest. Contact
the local Forest Service office or visit the Web site listed below for
current vehicle restrictions.

* Roads that are gated, signed or bermed with dirt, rocks, trees, etc.
are closed and are prohibited to motor vehicles.

* Snowmobiles may operate off-road in certain areas and on
unplowed Forest Service roads with 4 or more inches of snow
accumulation.

* Camping within a developed recreational site for a period longer
than 14 days, except as otherwise posted, is prohibited.

 Camping for a period longer than 14 consecutive days at a single
location, or longer than 30 consecutive days anywhere on National
Forest lands, is prohibited.

* Permits are required year-round for entry into the Boundary
Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. Wilderness rules and regulations
apply to all visitors.

125



2009 MINNESOTA HUNTING REGULATIONS

* Motor vehicles and all other types of motorized and mechanized
equipment are prohibited in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area
Wilderness except in specified areas.

For additional information, contact: Chippewa National Forest, 200
Ash Ave. NW, Cass Lake, MN 56633, (218) 335-8600, www.fs.fed.us/
r9/forests/chippewa; or Superior National Forest, 8901 Grand Ave. Place,
Duluth, MN 55808, (218) 626-4300, www.fs.fed.us/r9/forests/superior.

Cass County Managed Forest Lands
* Tree stands that damage trees are not allowed; no nails, bolts, or
screws. All new tree stands that damage trees will be removed; old
tree stands will be removed as timber sales take place in an area.
* The county encourages portable tree stands, freestanding stands,
and any tree stands that do not damage trees.

Crow Wing County Managed Forest Lands
* Permanent hunting stands are prohibited by ordinance.

LANDS OF THE RED LAKE CHIPPEWA BAND

Lands belonging to the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians in
Beltrami, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, and Roseau counties are
closed to non-band members except by special authorization of the
tribal council. Persons taking, tagging, and transporting deer from
reservation lands on the Northwest Angle in accordance with the Red Lake
Band Code do not need a state license.

OTHER TRIBAL LANDS

* Nett Lake in Koochiching and St. Louis counties is closed to hunting
by non-band members, except for duck hunting when accompanied
by a band-member guide.

* Other reservation lands may be open for hunting or trapping to
non-band members by authorization of the reservations. All non-band
members who are hunting or trapping on reservation lands must
comply with all state regulations, including licensing.
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FOR MORE INFORMATION

DNR Information Center

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4040

Metro: (651) 296-6157

Toll-free: (888) 646-6367
Telecommunications for the Deaf:

(651) 296-5484 or (800) 657-3929 TDD

mndnr.gov

"l

Turn in Poachers:
1-800-652-9093
24-Hour Hotline
AT&T, Midwest
Wireless, Unicel and

Verizon users can

e poses report violations by
- typing #TID.
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SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLE

Nine hunting time zones are shown on the map to the right. Sunrise
and sunset times to be used for hunting purposes in the “In Table” zone
are shown in the table below and at right. To determine times for other
zones, add or subtract, as appropriate, the minutes shown at the top
of the map to the times shown in the table. Times shown are Central
Daylight Saving Time through October 31, 2009 and Central Standard
Time thereafter.

JULY 2009 | AUG. 2009 [SEPT. 2009| OCT. 2009 |NOV. 2009 | DEC. 2009
Rise Set | Rise Set | Rise Set | Rise Set | Rise Set | Rise Set
| AM_PM | AM_PM [ AM_PM | AM_PM | AM_PM | AM__PM | DAY
5:30 9:04 |5:58 8:40 |6:35 7:51 |7:11 6:54 |6:51 5:02 |7:31 4:33 1
5:31 9:03 |5:59 8:39 [6:36 7:49 |7:12 6:52 |6:53 5:00 [7:32 4:33 2
5:31 9:03 |6:00 8:38 |6:37 7:47 |7:13 6:51 |6:54 4:59 |7:33 4:33 3

4

5

5:32 9:03 |6:01 8:36 |6:38 7:45 |7:14 6:49 |6:55 4:58 |7:34 4:32
5:32 9:02 |6:03 8:35 [6:39 7:44 |7:16 6:47 |6:57 4:56 [7:35 4:32

5:33 9:02 |6:04 8:34 [6:41 7:42 |717 6:45 |6:58 4:55 [7:36 4:32 6
5:34 9:02 [6:05 8:32 [6:42 7:40 [7:18 6:43 |6:59 4:54 [7:37 4:32 7
5:35 9:01 [6:06 8:31 [6:43 7:38 [7:19 6:41 |7:01 4:53 [7:38 4:32 8
5:35 9:01 [6:07 8:29 |6:44 7:36 |7:21 6:40 |7:02 4:51 |7:39 4:32 9
5:36  9:00 [6:08 8:28 |6:45 7:34 |7:22 6:38 |7:04 4:50 |7:40 4:32 | 10

5:37 9:00 [6:10 8:26 |6:47 7:32 |7:23 6:36 |7:05 4:49 |7:41 4:32 | 1
5:38 8:59 [6:11 8:25 |6:48 7:30 |7:25 6:34 |7:06 4:48 |7:42 4:32 | 12
5:39 8:59 [6:12 8:23 |6:49 7:28 |7:26 6:32 |7:08 4:47 |7:43 4:32 | 13
5:39 8:58 [6:13 8:22 [6:50 7:27 [7:27 6:31 [7:09 4:46 [7:44 4:32 | 14
5:40 8:57 [6:14 8:20 |6:51 7:25 |7:28 6:29 [7:10 4:45 |7:44 4:32 | 15

5:41 8:56 [6:16 8:18 |6:53 7:23 |7:30 6:27 [712 4:44 |7:45 4:32 | 16
5:42 8:56 |6:17 8:17 |6:54 7:21 |7:31 6:25 |7:13 4:43 |7:46 4:33 | 17
5:43 8:55 |6:18 8:15 |6:55 7:19 |7:32 6:24 |7:14 4:42 |7:46 4:33 | 18
5:44 8:54 [6:19 814 |6:56 7:17 |7:34 6:22 [7:16 4:41 |7:47 4:33 | 19
5:45 8:53 |6:20 8:12 |6:57 7:15 |7:35 6:20 |7:17 4:40 |7:48 4:34 | 20

5:46 8:52 [6:22 8:10 |6:59 7:13 |7:36 6:19 [7:18 4:39 |7:48 4:34 | 21
5:47 8:51 |6:23 8:09 |7:00 711 |7:38 6:17 |7:20 4:39 |7:49 4:35 | 22
5:48 8:50 |6:24 8:07 [7:01 7:09 |7:39 6:16 |7:21 4:38 [7:49 4:35 | 23
5:49 8:49 |6:25 8:05 [7:02 7:08 |7:40 6:14 |7:22 4:37 [7:50 4:36 | 24
5:50 8:48 |6:26 8:03 [7:03 7:06 |7:42 6:12 |7:24 4:36 [7:50 4:37 | 25

5:51 8:47 [6:28 8:02 |7:05 7:04 |7:43 6:11 |7:25 4:36 |7:50 4:37 | 26
5:52 8:46 [6:29 8:00 |7:06 7:02 |7:44 6:09 |7:26 4:35 |7:51 4:38 | 27
5:54 8:45 [6:30 7:58 |7:07 7:00 |7:46 6:08 |7:27 4:35 |7:51 4:39 | 28
5:55 8:44 |6:31 7:56 |7:08 6:58 |7:46 6:07 |7:28 4:34 [7:51 4:39 | 29
5:56 8:43 [6:32 7:55 [7:09 6:56 |7:48 6:05 |7:30 4:34 |7:51 4:40 | 30

5:57 8:41 |6:33 7:53 7:50 6:03 751 4:41 31
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Note: Times shown in

the tables below may vary by

specific location. For the exact
time in your area consult a local

airport or check online at

http://aa.uso.navy.mil/

97° 96°95° 94° 93° 92° 91°90°

JAN. (2010) | FEB. (2010) | MAR. (2010) | APR. (2010) | MAY (2010) | JUNE (2010)

Rise Set |Rise Set |Rise Set |Rise Set |Rise Set | Rise Set
DAY| AM PM |AM PM |AM PM |AM PM |[AM PM | AM PM
1 | 7:52 4:42 |7:33 5:21 |6:52 6:00 |6:55 7:41 |6:03 8:18 |5:30 8:52
2 | 7:52 4:43 |7:32 5:22 |6:50 6:02 |6:53 7:42 |6:02 8:20 |5:29 8:53
3 | 7:52 4:44 |7:31 5:24 [6:48 6:03 |6:51 7:43 |6:00 8:21 [5:29 8:54
4 | 7:52 4:45 |7:30 5:25 |6:46 6:04 |6:49 7:44 |5:59 8:22 |5:28 8:55
5 | 7:51 4:46 |7:29 5:27 |6:45 6:06 |6:47 7:46 |5:57 8:23 |5:28 8:56
6 | 7:51 4:47 |7:27 5:28 |6:43 6:07 |6:45 7:47 |5:56 8:24 |5:28 8:56
7 | 751 4:48 |7:26 5:29 [6:41 6:08 |6:43 7:48 [5:55 8:26 [5:27 8:57
8 | 751 4:49 |7:25 5:31 [6:39 6:10 |6:42 7:49 [5:53 8:27 [5:27 8:58
9 | 7:51 4:50 |7:23 5:32 [6:37 6:11 |6:40 7:51 [5:52 8:28 [5:27 8:58
10 | 7:50 4:52 |7:22 5:34 |6:36 6:12 |6:38 7:52 |5:51 8:29 |5:26 8:59
1 | 7:50 4:53 |7:20 5:35 |6:34 6:14 |6:36 7:53 |5:49 8:30 |5:26 8:59
12 | 750 4:54 |719 5:37 |6:32 6:15 |6:34 7:54 |5:48 8:32 [5:26 9:00
13 | 7:49 4:55 |7:18 5:38 |6:30 6:16 |6:33 7:56 |5:47 8:33 |5:26 9:01
14 | 749 4:56 |7:16 5:39 |7:28 7:18 |6:31 7:57 |5:46 8:34 |5:26 9:01
15 | 7:48 4:58 |75 5:41 |7:26 719 |6:29 7:58 |5:45 8:35 |5:26 9:01
16 | 7:48 4:59 |73 5:42 |7:25 7:20 |6:27 7:59 |5:43 8:36 |5:26 9:02
17 | 7:47 5:00 |7:12 5:44 |7:23 7:21 |6:26 8:01 |5:42 8:37 |5:26 9:02
18 | 746 5:01 |7:10 5:45 |7:21 7:23 |6:24 8:02 |5:41 8:38 |5:26 9:03
19 | 7:46 5:03 |7.08 5:46 |7:19 7:24 |6:22 8:03 |5:40 8:40 |5:26 9:03
20 | 7:45 5:04 |7:07 5:48 [717 7:25 [6:21 8:05 [5:39 8:41 [5:26 9:03
21 | 7:44 5:05 |7:05 5:49 |7:15 7:27 |6:19 8:06 |5:38 8:42 |5:26 9:03
22 | 743 5:07 |7:04 5:51 |7:13 7:28 |6:17 8:07 |5:37 8:43 |5:27 9:04
23 | 7:42 5.08 |7:.02 552 |7.1  7:29 |6:16 8:08 |5:36 8:44 [5:27 9:04
24 | 7:42 510 |7:00 5:53 [7:10 7:30 [6:14 8:10 [5:36 8:45 [5:27 9:04
25 | 741 511 |6:59 5:55 |7:08 7:32 |B:12 81 |5:35 8:46 |5:27 9:04
26 | 7:40 512 [6:57 5:56 [7:06 7:33 |6:11 812 [5:34 8:47 [5:28 9:04
27 |7:39 514 |6:55 5:58 |7:04 7:34 |6:09 8:13 [5:33 8:48 |5:28 9:04
28 |7:38 515 |6:53 5:59 |7:02 7:35 [6:08 8:15 [5:32 8:49 [5:29 9:04
29 | 7:37 517 7:00 7:37 [6:06 8:16 [5:32 8:50 [5:29 9:04
30 |7:36 5:18 6:58 7:38 [6:05 8:17 [5:31 8:51 [5:30 9:04
31_[7:35 5:19 |6:56_7:39 |5:30_8:52




Bell Museum of Natural History, University of Minnesota

The cover of this year's hunting regulations booklet features a detail
from “Old Bull Moose,"” shown above, by Francis Lee Jaques.

Jaques grew up in small towns and farms in lllinois, Kansas, and
Minnesota, was an avid hunter, and is known for his distinctive artistic
style that combines biologically accurate observation with intense
aesthetic sensitivity to reveal nature’s lyrical beauty.

In 1924, he was hired as a staff artist by the American Museum of
Natural History in New York City. By the 1930s, he was America’s leading
painter of wildlife and his dioramas are among the finest in the world.

When Jaques painted “Old Bull Moose” in 1966, the state possessed
an increasing population of these animals. Today, the state’s moose
population is showing signs of decline and the DNR is looking at
the interplay of habitat and climate change for clues to forestall the
trend. Moose experts from the Great Lakes Region are guiding this
effort as members of the DNR's Moose Advisory Committee.

Jaques was one of the first artists to truly paint his animals within
their natural habitats rather than against a landscape backdrop. His
images express the interdependence of ecological systems.

The Bell Museum on the University of Minnesota campus in
Minneapolis hosts twenty Jaques dioramas and holds the largest
collection of his paintings, drawings and field sketches. More information
about the Bell Museum is available online at www.bellmuseum.org
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