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Regulations New for 2002 5 

This booklet is a synopsis of the state fishing laws and regulations. For complete 
fishing laws and regulations, consult Minnesota Statutes and Rules of the DNR. 

REGULATIONS NEW FOR 2002 
• Trout stamp validation changes (page 10) 
• Non-resident lifetime license (page 11) 
• Yellow Perch statewide possession limit reduced (page 14) 
• Fish houses on ice overnight and identification (page 42) 
• Additions to infested waters list (page 56) 

New experimental regulations 
Cedar Lake (Morrison County)

Hovde Lake (Cass County)

Lake Hanska (Brown County)

Mississippi River Pools 5, 5A, & 8 (Houston, Wabasha and Winona

Counties)

Rabbit Lakes, Big and East Big (Crow Wing County)

Rainy Lake (various)

Zumbro River (Wabasha)


Additions to synopsis 
• Private property reminder (page 6) 
• License clarifications (page 9) 
• Notice to license buyers (page 10) 
• New fish identification (page 24) 
• Fishing during a closed season clarification (page 27) 
• Get the lead out message (page 29) 
• Treaty lake section (page 30) 
•	 Catfish split into channel and flathead categories for WI border 

waters (page 49) 
• Minnow use and importation (page 59) 
• Added trout to weigh your fish with a ruler (page 62) 
• Fish tagging and liberalized fishing (page 63) 
• Master Angler Program (page 64) 

Regulation changes that might be implemented 
•	 Possible Lake Superior closure for boat fishing from mouth of 

Chester Creek to NW arm of Duluth ship canal from Oct. 1 to 
Nov. 30. 

•	 Lake Superior walleye and northern pike season end dates in 2003 
may change to March 2. 

•	 Canadian border: lake trout waters outside BWCA end date in 2003 
may change to March 16. 

• Border water reciprocity changes. 
• Possible tullibee bag limit reduction on Leech Lake Reservation. 
• Eliminate senior fishing license in 2003. 
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TRESPASS 
MINNESOTA’S TRESPASS LAW 

The trespass law applies to all outdoor recreation. Whether fishing, 
hunting, or taking part in any other outdoor recreation, you may not 
enter legally posted land or agricultural land without permission. 

Landowners, lessees, or authorized managers need only post their 
land once a year. The signs must be placed at intervals of 1,000 feet 
(500 feet in wooded areas) or signs may be placed at primary corners and 
at access points to the property. Signs must state “No Trespassing,” or 
similar words, in 2-inch-high letters and have the signature or name and 
telephone number of the landowner, lessee, or manager. 

There can be civil or criminal penalties for violation of the trespass 
laws. Civil penalties start with $50 for first offense and up to $500 and 
loss of license or registration for a third offense within three years. All 
Conservation and Peace Officers enforce trespass laws. 

Rules of Thumb for Water Access and Recreational Use 
These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all 

water access and recreational use situations. If you have doubts about 
whether you may be trespassing on private land, we recommend that you 
ask the landowner for permission. 
1. What is lawful access? 

A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or if 
public land or a public road right-of-way abuts the surface of the water, 
or if you have permission to cross private land to reach the surface of 
the water. 
2. What is recreational use? 

Recreational use includes boating, swimming, fishing, hunting, 
trapping, and similar activities. It includes walking in the water in 
connection with such activities regardless of who owns the land beneath 
the surface of the water. 
3. What waters are open to recreational use? 

A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface if it 
is capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water 
that will float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other waters may 
also qualify depending upon the circumstances. 

Respect private 
When in doubt, 

R e s p e c t  
P r i v a t e  
P r o p e r t y  

A s k  F i r s t  

property when 
ask permission. fishing near 

docks. 



THIS PAGE WAS INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK




THIS PAGE WAS INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK




☞

Fishing Licenses 9 

FISHING LICENSES 
The Electronic Licensing System (ELS) uses point of sale (ELS-POS) 

terminals at any of 1,700 ELS or ELS special licensed agent locations 
throughout Minnesota. The names and locations of these agents are 
posted on the DNR web page (www.dnr.state.mn.us) or can be obtained 
from the DNR Information Center. 

Residents wishing to obtain a license or stamp must provide their 
MN Driver's License, MN Public Safety ID, or MN DNR number from 
a prior ELS license. Nonresidents must provide their nonresident driver's 
license number, social security number, or MN DNR number from a 
prior ELS license. Duplicate licenses are available at any ELS agent location. 

continued on next page 

2002 FISHING LICENSE FEES 
(Price does not include a $1 issuing fee or $3.50 fee for licenses purchased by phone) 

March 1, 2002 through February 28, 2003 

RESIDENT LICENSES 
Angling, Individual (age 16–64) $17.00 
Angling, Individual (age 65 and older) 6.50 
Angling, Combination (husband and wife*) 25.00 
Angling, Individual 24 Hour 8.50 
Sports, Individual*** 27.00 
Sports, Combination (husband and wife*)** 36.00 
Dark House Spearing 17.00 
Trout and Salmon Stamp 8.50 
Fish House or Dark House 11.50 
Whitefish Netting 10.00 
Rental Fish House or Dark House 26.00 

NONRESIDENT LICENSES 
Angling, Individual $34.00 
Angling, Family (husband, wife*, and children under age 16) 46.00 
Angling, Individual 7 Day 24.00 
Angling, Individual 24 Hour 8.50 
Angling, Individual 72 Hour 20.00 
Angling, Husband and Wife* 14 Day 35.00 
Trout and Salmon Stamp 8.50 
Fish House (see pg 43 for requirement) 33.00 
Fish House 7 Day (see pg 43 for requirement) 19.00 

☞ * The marriage must be legal as recognized by Minnesota law. 
** A sports combination license is one small game hunting license and two fishing 

licenses. 
***A sports license includes fishing and small game hunting and includes the 

$4 Small Game Surcharge. 



10 2002 MN Fishing Regulations 

☞ 

☞ 

Residents who qualify for SSI for the aged, blind, or disabled and 
foreign exchange students may apply annually for special licenses from 
ELS special licensed agents. Special licenses issued to residents on a 
permanent basis for mental disability and veterans disability are only 
available through the DNR License Center in St. Paul. 

Licenses and stamps are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by 
telephone (1-888-MNLICEN) or via the Internet (www.dnr.state.mn.us) 
for an additional $3.50 charge. You will receive a Temporary 
Authorization Number (TAN) that can be used as a license or stamp 
(exception: tags, such as an ice shelter tag). 

The printed ELS licenses have a backing on the adhesive side that 
contains important information. After purchase, customers should fold 
the license without taking off the backing. 

Public Record Notice: 
Most of the data that you supply when buying a license becomes a 

public record. If you do not wish to have this data made available for bulk 
mailings, contact the DNR at (651) 296-6157 (Twin Cities Metro Area), 
1-(888) 646-6367 (MN toll free), or info@dnr.state.mn.us. 

Trout Stamp 
Trout stamp validations are printed on the ELS license. This is the 

only verification you need to prove purchase of the trout stamp. If you 
wish to receive an actual pictorial stamp (now no longer required if you 
have the stamp validation on your license), you must request it at time of 
purchase and pay an additional $2 processing fee. 

Except as noted below, anglers need a trout stamp validation and a 
fishing or sports license when fishing in designated trout streams, 
designated trout lakes, and Lake Superior, and when in possession of trout 
or salmon. Trout stamps are not required for children less than 16 years 
old, resident adults who are 65 and older, people fishing with a 24-hour 
license, or people who are exempted from fishing license requirements or 
who receive a fishing license at no charge. 

For short-term licenses, anglers may choose any consecutive dates. 
Agents charge an issuing fee of $1 for each license sold, except for 

resident senior fishing licenses. The trout stamp issuing fee may be 
50 cents if purchased separately. 

License Revocation 
If, within a three-year period, you are convicted of two fishing 

violations, your fishing privileges will be revoked for one year. Violations 
of fishing laws in other states may affect your fishing privileges in 
Minnesota. 
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Lifetime license fees 

RESIDENTS 
Age Group Fishing Small Game Sports 
age 3 and under $227 $217 $357 
4 to age 15 $300 $290 $480 
16 to age 50 $383 $363 $613 
51 and over $203 $213 $413 

NON-RESIDENTS (available March 1, 2002) 
Age Group Fishing Small Game 
age 3 and under $447 $ 947 
4 to age 15 $600 $1,280 
16 to age 50 $773 $1,633 
51 and over $513 $1,083 

LIFETIME LICENSES 
You must be a resident of Minnesota for at least one year to purchase 

a resident lifetime license or be under age 21 and the child of a person 
who has been a Minnesota resident for at least one year. The resident 
lifetime license is valid even if the licensee moves out of Minnesota. 

☞ Beginning March 1, 2002, nonresidents may buy nonresident lifetime 
licenses. 

If you buy a lifetime license, each year you must still obtain a free 
annual license from a license vendor or through the DNR phone license 
system. Also, you may purchase trout stamp validations only from license 
vendors or by phone. 

Lifetime licenses are nonrefundable and they are available for 
individuals only. 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

Residents 
•	 To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence in 

Minnesota for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a 
license. 

• A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident. 
•	 All residents age 16 or older must have the appropriate license on 

their person when fishing. Exceptions: Mothers on Take A Mom 
Fishing Weekend (May 11-12) and adults accompanying children 
under age 16 on Take A Kid Fishing Weekend (June 7-9) may fish 
without a license on those dates. 

•	 Residents serving in the U.S. Military who are stationed outside the 
state must have leave or furlough papers on their person to fish 
without a license. 
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•	 Residents age 65 and older qualify for a discounted senior citizen 
fishing license. Resident seniors aren’t required to buy a trout stamp 
validation. 

•	 A permanent fishing license will be issued without charge to any 
resident of Minnesota over age 16 who is mentally retarded and 
Minnesota veterans who have a 100% service-connected disability.* 
An annual fishing license will be issued without charge to any 
resident of Minnesota who receives supplemental security income for 
the aged, blind or disabled.* (An unlicensed person may assist a 
disabled angler who possesses a permanent disability fishing license, 
provided that only the lawful lines are in use.) 

•	 A fishing license is not required for patients of a state Veterans Admin­
istration hospital, state correctional facility, or nursing home who have 
written consent from the superintendent of the facility; participants in 
adult day care programs of a licensed nursing or boarding care home; 
residents of a licensed board and lodging facility; or residents of a drug 
or alcohol residential treatment facility who are under the age of 20.* 

•	 Residents who are receiving disability aid under the Railroad Retire­
ment Act of 1937, 45 United States Code Annotated, Section 228 
b(a)5, or who are former employees of the U.S. Postal Service who 
are receiving disability pay under USCA Title 5, Section 8337, may 
take fish by angling or spear without a license.* Person must carry 
evidence of disability retirement. 

• All residents age 15 and younger are allowed to take their own limit 
of fish. 

Nonresidents 
•	 All nonresidents age 16 and older are required to have an appropriate 

fishing license while angling. Nonresidents under age 16 don’t need a 
license if an accompanying parent or guardian is licensed. Children of 
an adult who has a Minnesota nonresident family license may possess 
their own limit of fish. However, if the adult has an individual license, 
the child’s fish are included as part of the adult’s limit. Nonresidents 
under age 16 may purchase a license and possess their own limit 
of fish. 

•	 Nonresident full-time students spending the full term of a school 
year in Minnesota can purchase a resident license upon presenting 
proof of their student status. Foreign exchange students attending 
school in Minnesota may receive a free angling license upon 
presenting proof of their exchange student status. 

•	 Nonresidents in the U.S. military who have officially transferred to 
or are in training in Minnesota are eligible for resident fishing 
licenses. 

• A nonresident who is under age 21 and has a parent who is a 
Minnesota resident can buy a resident license. 

*Trout stamp not required. 
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SEASONS AND LIMITS FOR 
INLAND WATERS 
• All calendar dates are for 2002 unless noted otherwise. 
• Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. 
• 	Most species have experimental or special regulations on some waters. 

See pages 30–40. 
• 	For Canada, Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota, and North Dakota 

border water regulations, see pages 45–53. 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION 
LIMIT 

WALLEYE May 11, 2002- 6* (Not more 
and SAUGER Feb. 16, 2003 than 1 walleye 
(either or over 24" may be 
combined) taken each day.) 

*(Minimum size limit 15" for walleyes on the inland waters of Pool 3 [dam at 
Hastings to railroad tracks on the Minnesota—Wisconsin border]). 

NORTHERN May 11, 2002- 3 (Not more 
PIKE Feb. 16, 2003 than 1 over 30" 

may be taken 
each day.) 

MUSKELLUNGE June 1, 2002- 1* 
including Feb. 16, 2003 
HYBRID 
MUSKELLUNGE 

*Minimum size limit for both species: 40". Exception: Minimum size is 30" in 
Shoepac Lake in Voyageurs National Park (St. Louis County). 

LARGEMOUTH May 25, 2002- 6 (No harvest of 
and SMALLMOUTH Feb. 16, 2003 smallmouth bass is 
BASS (May 11, 2002- allowed from 
(either or Feb. 16, 2003, September 9, 2002 
combined) north and east through the end of 

of U.S. Hwy. 53 the season. All small-
from Duluth to mouth bass taken 
International Falls during this period 
and Pelican and must be immediately 
Ash lakes in St. Louis returned to the water.) 
County) 

CRAPPIE Continuous 15 

SUNFISH and Continuous 30 
BLUEGILL 
(either or combined) 

continued on next page 
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ROCK BASS Continuous 30 

WHITE BASS Continuous 30 

CHANNEL and Continuous 
FLATHEAD CATFISH 
(either or combined) 
*Only 1 fish over 24" on Red River of the North and all its tributaries, and 
on tributaries to Minnesota–South Dakota border waters. 

PERCH Continuous 20 daily and 40 
in possession 

BULLHEAD Continuous 

WHITEFISH and Continuous No limit 
ROUGH FISH 

Exception: Whitefish limit on Leech Lake Indian Reservation is 25. 

SMELT Continuous limit 

LAKE STURGEON Closed 
or SHOVELNOSE 
STURGEON 

See Border Waters section (pages 47, 49, 51, 53) for other sturgeon waters. 

PADDLEFISH No open season 

LAKE TROUT May 11-Sept. 30 3 
Summer, 
statewide 

Winter, lakes Jan. 12, 2002- 3 
outside or partly Mar. 15, 2002 
outside the and Jan. 18, 2003-
Boundary Waters Mar. 16, 2003 
Canoe Area (BWCA) 
and exceptions (including Clearwater, Magnetic, Ram, Saganaga, Seagull, 
East Bearskin, and Snowbank Lakes) 

Winter, lakes Dec. 29, 2001- 3 
entirely within March 31, 2002 
the BWCA and Jan. 4, 2003-

March 31, 2003 

5* 

100 

No 



THIS PAGE WAS INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK




16 2002 MN Fishing Regulations 

STREAM TROUT 

The following regulations apply only to stream trout (splake and 
brook, brown, and rainbow trout) in inland lakes and streams. They 
do not include lake trout, which are listed under Inland Waters, page 14. 
And they do not cover Lake Superior tributaries, listed on page 18. 

Calendar dates refer to 2002 unless noted otherwise. 
Daily and possession limits are the same. 

STREAM TROUT* SEASONS 

Streams 

OPEN POSSESSION SIZE LIMIT 
SEASON LIMIT 

Statewide except Houston, Fillmore, Mower, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, 
Wabasha, and Goodhue counties. 

Apr. 13-Sept. 30 5 combined Not more than 1 
over 16" 

Houston, Fillmore, Mower, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, Wabasha, and 
Goodhue counties 

Apr. 1-12 Catch and release only; 
barbless hooks only 

Apr. 13-Sept. 14 5 combined Not more than 1 
over 16" 

Sept. 15-Sept. 30 Catch and release only; 
barbless hooks only 

Lakes (summer) 

OPEN POSSESSION SIZE LIMIT 
SEASON LIMIT 

Statewide 

May 11-Oct. 31 5 combined Not more 
than 3 over 16" 

continued on next page 



17Seasons and Limits for Inland Waters 

STREAM TROUT* SEASONS (CONTINUED) 

Lakes (winter) 

OPEN POSSESSION SIZE LIMIT 
SEASON 

Outside or partly outside the Boundary Waters Canoe Area and exceptions, 
which include Ram, Lizz, and Meditation Lakes 

Jan. 12, 2002- 5 combined Not more 
Mar. 15, 2002 than 3 over 
and Jan. 18, 2003- 16" 
Mar. 16, 2003 

Entirely within the BWCA 

Dec. 29, 2001- 5 combined Not more 
Mar. 31, 2002 than 3 over 
and Jan. 4, 2003- 16" 
March 31, 2003 

Aitkin, Becker, Beltrami, Cass, 
Crow Wing, and Hubbard Counties 

Season closed on lakes in these counties. Does not include lake trout. 

LIMIT 

Stream Trout Regulations 
•	 Fishing hours for stream trout on inland waters are from one hour 

before sunrise to 11 p.m. 
•	 Only one line is allowed winter or summer when fishing on desig­

nated stream trout lakes (listed in the DNR’s “Guide to Lakes 
Managed for Stream Trout”) and designated trout streams. 

•	 Possessing live minnows, not including leeches, or using them for bait 
on designated stream trout lakes is prohibited. 

•	 Angling in designated trout waters during the closed trout season is 
prohibited. 

•	 Taking minnows or leeches from designated trout waters, except 
under special permit, is prohibited. 

•	 All stream trout must have head, tail, fins, and skin intact when being 
transported. 

•	 Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in 
designated trout lakes or streams. 

* “Stream trout” are defined as brook trout, brown trout, rainbow trout, and 
splake in both lakes and streams. 
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SEASONS AND LIMITS FOR 

LAKE SUPERIOR AND ITS TRIBUTARIES


The following regulations have been expanded to clarify for anglers 
the fishing seasons and limits for the variety of coldwater fish in Lake 
Superior and the streams and rivers flowing into it. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 
Posted upstream boundaries on Lake Superior tributaries generally 

define the areas accessible to anadromous trout and salmon. The 
boundaries, as well as fish sanctuary areas, are marked with signs. 

BROOK TROUT AND SPLAKE COMBINED 

OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT AGGREGATE LIMIT SIZE LIMIT 
(With Brown Trout 
and Rainbow Trout) 

LAKE SUPERIOR TRIBUTARIES 
In Carlton County 

(including Nemadji River system and all its tributaries) 

April 13-Sept. 30 10 10 Only 1 over 16" 

ST. LOUIS RIVER AND ITS TRIBUTARIES 
upstream of Fond du Lac Dam 

April 13-Sept. 30 5 5 Only 1 over 16" 

OTHER LAKE SUPERIOR TRIBUTARIES 
(not mentioned above) below posted boundaries 

(including St. Louis River below the Minn.-Wisc. boundary cable) 

April 13-Sept. 2 1 5 Minimum size 
limit: 20" 

OTHER LAKE SUPERIOR TRIBUTARIES 
above posted boundaries 

April 13-Sept. 30 10 10 Only 1 over 16" 

LAKE SUPERIOR 
April 13-Sept. 2 1 5 Minimum size 

limit: 20" 

continued on next page 
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RAINBOW TROUT, INCLUDING STEELHEAD 

OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT AGGREGATE LIMIT SIZE LIMIT 
(With Brown Trout, 
Brook Trout, and 
Splake) 

LAKE SUPERIOR TRIBUTARIES 
below posted boundaries 

(including St. Louis River below the Minn. Wisc. boundary cable) 
Clipped Fish* 

Continuous 3 5 Minimum size 
limit: 16" 

Unclipped Fish* 
Continuous Catch and release only 

LAKE SUPERIOR TRIBUTARIES 
above posted boundaries 

April 13-Sept. 30 Catch and release only 

LAKE SUPERIOR 
Clipped Fish* 

Continuous 3 5 Minimum size 
limit: 16" 

Unclipped Fish* 
Continuous Catch and release only 
*Clipped fish have their adipose fin removed and must show a healed scar (see 
illustration on page 20). 

BROWN TROUT 

OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT AGGREGATE LIMIT SIZE LIMIT 
(With Rainbow Trout, 
Brook Trout, and Splake) 

ST. LOUIS RIVER AND ITS TRIBUTARIES 
upstream of Fond du Lac Dam 

April 13-Sept. 30 5 5 Only 1 over 16" 

OTHER LAKE SUPERIOR TRIBUTARIES 
below posted boundaries 

(including St. Louis River below the Minn.-Wisc. boundary cable) 

Continuous 5 5 Only 1 over 16" 
Min. size limit: 
10" 

above posted boundaries 
April 13-Sept. 30 5 10 Only 1 over 16" 

LAKE SUPERIOR 
Continuous 5 5 Only 1 over 16" 

Min. size limit: 
10" 
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SEASONS FOR LAKE SUPERIOR AND ITS 
TRIBUTARIES BELOW POSTED BOUNDARIES 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT 
LAKE TROUT Dec. 1, 2001- 3 

Sept. 30, 2002 
and Dec. 1, 2002-
Sept. 30, 2003 

CHINOOK Continuous 5 combined, 
COHO, PINK (only 1 can be 
ATLANTIC an Atlantic salmon) 
SALMON min. size limit 10" 
WALLEYE May 11, 2002- 2, minimum size 15" 

March 1, 2003 
NORTHERN May 11, 2002- 2 
PIKE March 1, 2003 
SMELT Continuous No Limit 

Regulations 
•	 Two lines may be used on Lake Superior, except only one is allowed 

within 100 yards from where a tributary stream enters the lake. Also, 
only one line may be used in tributary streams. 

•	 Anglers are restricted to a single hook only—no treble hooks—on 
Lake Superior tributary streams and rivers up to the posted bound­
aries. Exceptions are the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton 
Counties) and the Pigeon River (Cook County). 

•	 Angling hours on Lake Superior tributaries below the posted bound­
aries are from one hour before sunrise to one hour after sunset. 
Exceptions are the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton Counties) 
and the Pigeon River (Cook County). 

•	 Special regulations on North Shore streams include posted sanctuaries 
on the Knife, Little Knife, Devil Track, and Kadunce Rivers and on 
Gauthier Creek. (See Experimental and Special Regulations, page 38.) 

•	 Unclipped steelhead (rainbow trout) must be immediately released on 
Lake Superior and its tributaries. A clipped adipose fin, used to 
identify stocked trout, must show a healed scar (see diagram below). 

Adipose fin
(no rays) Healed 

scar 

continued on next page 
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•	 While on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior, persons who have 
angling licenses from Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, or Canada 
may possess only the daily limit of fish allowed under one license. 

•	 Anyone fishing on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior must 
possess a Minnesota angling license and trout stamp validation except 
residents 65 and older are exempt from a trout stamp validation as 
well as the other exemptions listed on page 10. 

•	 A guide’s license is required to operate a charter boat for the purpose 
of guiding or assisting anglers on the Minnesota waters of Lake 
Superior and the St. Louis River estuary. 

•	 A person cannot fish on Wisconsin waters of Lake Superior with a 
Minnesota angling license. 

•	 Smelt may be taken night or day, but not with the help of artificial 
lights. There is no limit on smelt, and they may be bought or sold. 
However, live smelt may not be possessed or transported. 

•	 Dip nets may be used for taking smelt. Minnow seines not more 
than 25 feet long or 4 feet deep may be used to take smelt in the 
St. Louis River and in Lake Superior when more than 100 feet from 
the mouth of any stream. 

• All other species not named are subject to inland regulations. 
•	 On Lake Superior tributaries below the posted boundaries, a fish that 

is hooked in any part of the body, except the mouth, must be 
immediately returned to the water. 
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FISH IDENTIFICATION 
Knowing what fish species you are catching is not only fun, but in 

many cases it’s required by law. It is particularly important to know how 
to distinguish walleye from sauger, to know the difference between 
northern pike and muskellunge, and to be able to tell what species of 
trout or salmon you catch. 

WALLEYE and SAUGER 

White spot on 
bottom of tail 

WALLEYE 
No spots on dorsal fin 

Dark area at base of dorsal fin 

No white spot on 
bottom of tail 

Spots on dorsal fin SAUGER 
No dark area at base of dorsal fin 

A walleye/sauger (saugeye) hybrid fillets are counted as part of a walleye possession limit 

LARGEMOUTH BASS and SMALLMOUTH BASS 

LARGEMOUTH 

SMALLMOUTH 
beyond back of eyebeyond back of eye 

Back of mouth goes 
only to middle of eye 

during transportation. 
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NORTHERN PIKE and MUSKELLUNGE 

NORTHERN

PIKE 

LIGHT markings on DARK background


Rounded 
tail fins 

MUSKELLUNGE: 
BARRED PHASE 

Pointed 
tail fins 

DARK markings on LIGHT background 

MUSKELLUNGE:

SPOTTED PHASE
 DARK markings on LIGHT background 

Pointed 
tail fins 

Rounded tail fins 
(as on northern pike) 

DARK markings on LIGHT background 
(as on muskie) 

TIGER (HYBRID) MUSKIE 
Northern pike crossed 
with a muskellunge 

MUSKELLUNGE 

5 or fewer pores on each 
side under jaw 

6 or more pores on each 
side under jaw 

NORTHERN PIKE 
A NO-FAIL WAY TO TELL A 

5 or fewer pores on each 
side under jaw 

from a 



Pinkish stripe on 
silvery body 
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TROUT AND SALMON 
Small black dots throughout

RAINBOW TROUT the body that extend into tail 

Pinkish stripe on 
silvery body 

BROWN TROUT 
Large dark spots Square
and red dots on 

brown body tail


BROOK TROUT 

White leading 

Light, wormlike markings on 
dark upper body 

edge on lower fins 

edge on lower fins 

White spots on grayish body 
Forked 
tail 
Forked 
tail 

To tell a brookie 
from a splake 
from a lake trout, 
look at the tail: 

Brook 
trout 

Lake 
trout 

Splake 

LAKE TROUT 

White leading 

Usually a pink stripe on 
silvery body 

STEELHEAD 
(Rainbow Trout) 

Inside mouth 
is white 

10 rays in anal fin 

CHINOOK SALMON 

15-17 rays in anal fin 
COHO SALMON 

13-15 rays in anal fin 

Inside mouth 

Inside mouth 

Small spots 
throughout tail

STEELHEAD 
(Rainbow Trout) 

Spots throughout tail 

is dark 

Spots in top half
is gray of tail only 

PINK SALMON 

Some eye-sized 
spots in tail and 
on back 

Small scales 

Green and white 

Some eye-sized 
spots in tail and 
on back 

Spawning male 
☞


has hump on 
back. 

blotches on spawning fish 
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TRANSPORTATION, SHIPMENT, AND STORAGE 
OF FISH 

Fish prepared for transportation, shipment, or storage are defined as 
follows: 

Undressed fish must have heads, tails, fins, and skin intact. Entrails, 
gills, and scales may be removed. 

Dressed fish may have heads and scales or skin removed, in addition 
to gills and entrails. 

Fillets are fish flesh, excluding cheeks, that has been removed from a 
fish. Scales or skin may be removed or intact. 

Transportation 
•	 Licensed anglers and resident children under 16 may transport up to 

a possession limit of any fish species. However, fish must be packaged 
in such a way that they can be readily unwrapped, separated, 
identified, and counted. 

•	 Northern pike and walleye may be transported dressed or as fillets, 
but must retain a 1-square-inch patch of skin. Exception: Northern 
pike and walleye must be undressed while on experimental or special 
regulation waters. Other fish species with statewide length limits 
(muskellunge, sturgeon, splake, brook trout, brown trout, rainbow 
trout, and salmon) must be transported undressed so that they can be 
measured. 

•	 To reduce the spread of harmful aquatic exotic species, anglers may 
not transport live fish, except for home aquariums (see page 27). This 
includes taking live fish home in the livewell of your trailered boat. 

To determine the legal “total length” of a fish, lay it 
flat on its side, squeeze the tail from tip to tip, and 
measure from the nose to where the tail tips meet. 

Mouth 
closed 
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All fish must be killed or released before transportation. This does not 
apply to minnows. 

• A fish cannot be reduced to more than two fillets. 
•	 All dressed fish and fillets must have a 1-square-inch patch of skin 

with scales intact from a portion of the body other than the belly. 
Sauger prepared in this manner are counted as walleye. The excep­
tions are bullhead, sunfish, and crappie, which may be completely 
filleted and skinned. 

One of the best ways to transport your fish so they can be counted and identified is 
in clear plastic freezer bags. 

Fillets must show at least a 1-square-inch patch of skin with scales so fish species can 
be identified. 

Shipment 
•	 Licensed anglers may make three shipments of fish per year. A permit 

issued by a conservation officer is required for each shipment. A 
shipment cannot contain more than a possession limit of one species. 

•	 Fish which have been prepared, packed, and labeled by a licensed fish 
packer must comply with regulations governing licensed fish packers 
and those regarding fish species length limits. From March 15 
through November 30, filleted sauger are counted as walleye. 

Storage 
• Fish in cold storage count toward a possession limit. 
•	 Frozen fish should be packaged in a way that they can be counted 

and identified. 
•	 A person who stores fish for another must plainly mark the package, 

in ink, with the name, address, and fishing license number of the 
owner, and the number of fish in the package. 
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GENERAL RESTRICTIONS 
The following regulations apply to all Minnesota waters unless noted 

otherwise in this booklet. 

Possessing and Transporting Fish 
•	 Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. Fish 

are in an angler’s possession whether on hand, in cold storage, in 
transport, or elsewhere. 

•	 Fish must be transported in a way that they can be counted and the 
species of each fish can be identified. If statewide length limits apply 
to the species, the head and tail must be intact so the fish can be 
measured. The fish must also be undressed while on experimental, 
special management, or other waters that have special length limits. 
For northern pike and walleye, see pages 25–26. 

•	 It is illegal for anglers to transport live fish, including in livewells of 
trailered boats. The only exception is for purposes of display in a 
home aquarium. Here are the conditions: You can purchase game fish 
from an authorized licensee and transport the fish live if you have the 
necessary documents (such as a sales receipt), or, if you are age 16 or 
under, you may transport—if you’ve legally caught them by angling— 
largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, yellow perch, rock bass, black 
crappie, white crappie, bluegill, pumpkinseed, green sunfish, orange 
spotted sunfish, and black, yellow, and brown bullhead. No more 
than four of each species may be transported at any one time, and 
any individual fish can be no longer than 10 inches in total length. 

•	 It is illegal for anyone to have in possession, regardless of where taken, 
any fish outside the legal length limits for that species while on or 
fishing in experimental, special, or border waters. 

•	 Possessing or transporting white perch, ruffe, round goby or alewife is 
unlawful. 

Angling Methods 
•	 Anglers may use only one hook. An artificial lure is considered one 

hook. A treble hook, when not part of an artificial lure, is considered 
three hooks and is not legal. The exceptions are: Three artificial flies 
may be used when angling for trout, crappie, sunfish, and rock bass. 

• Anglers may use only one line. The exceptions are: 
a) Two lines may be used through the ice (other than on designated 
trout lakes and streams); and b) Two lines may be used on Lake 
Superior when more than 100 yards from the point where a tributary 
stream or river enters the lake. 

•	 Using whole or parts of game fish, goldfish, or carp for bait is 
unlawful. 

☞	 • You may not intentionally fish for any species during its closed 
season. 
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• Angling with an unattended line, setline, or trotline is unlawful. 
•	 Angling for any species on a designated trout water is unlawful when 

the trout season is closed. 
• Anglers must remain within 200 feet of their tip-up. 
•	 Possessing or using live minnows on designated stream trout lakes is 

unlawful. Only dried, frozen, or pickled (brined) minnows are 
allowed. 

•	 Using an artificial light to lure or attract fish, or to see fish when 
spearing, is unlawful. Exception: While angling, a person may affix to 
the end of a fishing line a lighted artificial bait with hooks attached. 
Any battery that is used in lighted fishing lures cannot contain any 
intentionally introduced mercury. 

• A party is defined as a group of two or more persons: 
1) angling from a single watercraft; or 
2) if not in a watercraft, maintaining unaided visual and vocal 
contact with each other. The total number of fish possessed by the 
party may not exceed the combined limits of the numbers of the 
party. Each party member may transport only an individual limit of 
fish. 

•	 The use of explosives, firearms, chemicals (not including fish scents), 
or electricity for taking fish is unlawful. 

• It is unlawful to intentionally take a fish by snagging. 

Other 
•	 Transplanting aquatic plants, placing exotic species, applying 

chemicals and some types of cutting to control vegetation in any 
public waters requires a permit. (See page 43 for more information). 

•	 Dragging boat anchors or other weights with a motor-propelled boat 
through aquatic vegetation is unlawful. 

•	 Depositing fish entrails or fish parts into public waters or onto lake or 
stream shores is prohibited. 

•	 Littering of any materials and depositing rubbish, poisonous sub-
stances, or chemicals harmful to aquatic life into public waters, onto 
ice, or lake or stream shores is illegal. Fish line and various packaging 
materials can be harmful to wildlife. 

•	 Marking or tagging fish and then releasing them without a DNR 
permit is unlawful. 

•	 A DNR permit is required for any fishing contest where entry fees are 
over $25, prizes exceed $25,000, or when participants exceed 30 for 
open water and 150 for ice fishing. See web site or call DNR 
Information Center for more information. 

• 	A permit from the county sheriff is required for most organized 
events on the water or ice. 

•	 Buying or selling game fish, whitefish, or cisco is unlawful. The 
exceptions are smelt and fish obtained under a commercial, private 
hatchery, or aquatic farm license. 

• 	Transporting and stocking fish or fish eggs or transferring fish or fish 
eggs from one body of water to another is prohibited without a 
written permit from the DNR. 
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•	 Some fish spawning areas are posted to prohibit motorized boat 
travel. Landowners or lessees adjacent to these areas may use the 
shortest and most direct route when traveling to and from their 
property, provided they operate their boat at no more than 
5 mph. 

•	 Rough fish taken with hook and line may be returned alive to the 
water from which they were taken. 

• Importing live minnows into Minnesota for use as bait is unlawful. 
•	 Notice to Fall Fishermen: 1. Migratory Waterfowl Feeding and 

Resting Areas are closed to motorboats (except electric trolling 
motors of less than 30 pounds thrust) as posted during the fall 
waterfowl seasons. 2. Wildlife Management Areas are closed to 
motorboats, including electric motors, unless specifically allowed. For 
a list of these areas, refer to a current copy of the Hunting and 
Trapping Regulations. 

• Some ponds and lakes are licensed for private aquaculture use. If you 
trespass to gain access to these waters for fishing, you may be in 
violation of fishing laws in addition to trespassing laws. 

•	 Any fish that is caught and will not be utilized must be returned alive 
back into the water. A person cannot wantonly waste a fish that is 
caught by leaving it or any usable portion on the ice, thrown up on 
the bank, or intentionally killing it and returning it back into the 
water unless authorized. 

Look for the line with the loon on your Minnesota tax form and donate to the 
Nongame Wildlife Checkoff. It’s fast, easy, and tax deductible. Be part of a 
wildlife success story. 

For Your Information 
GET THE LEAD OUT 

Loons can die from lead poisoning after swallowing lead 
fishing sinkers and jigs lost by anglers. In response to growing 
awareness and concerns, the tackle industry has begun to 
create non-toxic sinkers. 

What you can do to help: 
• Switch to non-toxic sinkers and jigs that are made from steel, 

tin, bismuth, or plastic. 
• Ask local sporting good stores to stock non-lead fishing tackle. 
• Spread the word by telling other anglers about the problem. 
• Dispose of old lead sinkers and jigs properly by locating a drop-

off location. 
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☞TREATY AND EXPERIMENTAL AND SPECIAL 
REGULATIONS 
Lake Mille Lacs and Other 1837 Treaty Lakes 

Approximately 110 fishing lakes in east-central Minnesota lie within 
the 1837 ceded territory. The DNR might need to alter the fishing 
regulations on some or all of these waters after the Indian Bands declare 
their harvest goals on March 15, 2002, in order to ensure that the total 
harvest stays at a safe level. Treaty-related regulations will be announced 
in newspapers and the DNR web site and posted at public access sites 
on the affected lakes. You can also call the DNR Information Center 
at: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367. An 1837 Treaty Regulations 
Brochure will be available by April 2002. The following counties have 
lakes that could be affected: Aitkin, Chisago, Crow Wing, Isanti, 
Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Sherburne, and Washington. 

Experimental and Special Regulations 
Experimental and special fishing regulations, which differ from nor­

mal statewide regulations, are used to manage a specific lake or stream in 
a special way. These regulations help the DNR improve fishing quality, 
protect unique fisheries, provide additional fishing opportunities, or 
protect threatened species. The DNR regularly evaluates experimental 
regulations to see whether they are worth continuing. 

Note: Fish taken from waters with length limits for that species must 
have their heads, tails, fins, and skin intact while on the water. 

Namakan Reservoir Lakes: A person who is in transit, taking the 
most direct route back to the person’s lodging or docking, and not 
fishing, may possess undressed walleye that are not within the walleye 
length limit requirements if the walleye were legally taken from 
Minnesota or Ontario waters that are connected to the Namakan 
Reservoir Lakes. (See * on pages 32, 33, 34, and 36.) 

Each of the following waters has experimental or special regulations, 
which are posted at access sites. While on or fishing these waters, all fish 
in possession must be within the specified length limits regardless of 
where caught. 

LAKES** 

Andrews Lake (Douglas County) 


NORTHERN PIKE: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Ann Lake (Carver County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 

Annie Battle Lake (Otter Tail County) 

**Those lakes with a (T) are also treaty lakes. Make sure you check the 
access for regulations. 
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Use of gas and electric motors, augers, and electronic fish-finding

devices is prohibited.

SUNFISH: Possession limit 5.

NORTHERN PIKE and LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately

returned to the water. 


Annie Battle Lake Inlet (to Molly Stark Lake) and Outlet (to

Blanche Lake) (Otter Tail County)

SUNFISH: Possession limit 5

NORTHERN PIKE and LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately

returned to the water.


Bald Eagle Lake (Anoka, Ramsey, and Washington Counties) 
MUSKELLUNGE: Minimum size limit 48". 

Bass Lake (Itasca County) 
SUNFISH: Possession limit 5 

Bavaria Lake (Carver County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 

Bear Creek Reservoir (Olmsted County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: Minimum size limit 15". 
BLUEGILL: Possession limit 10. Minimum size limit 7", Nov. 1–April 30. 

Big Birch Lake (Todd and Stearns Counties) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Big Sand Lake (Hubbard County) 
WALLEYE: All from 18" through 26" must be immediately returned to 
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in a possession limit. 

Big Stone Lake (Big Stone County) 
WALLEYE: Minimum size limit 14". 

Big Swan Lake (Todd County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Boys Lake (Cook County) 
TROUT: Possession limit 2, minimum size limit 14", artificial lures and 
flies with single hook only, closed to winter fishing. 

Burgen Lake (Douglas County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Carnelian Lake (Stearns County) 
SUNFISH: Possession limit 10. 

Cedar Lake (Morrison County) 
WALLEYE: Possession limit 2, except 1 over 24" in a possession limit. 
BLACK CRAPPIE: Possession limit 5. 
NORTHERN PIKE: Possession limit 1. Minimum size limit 38". 

Charles Lake (Ramsey County) 
Closed to fishing. 

Chisago Lake (Chisago County) (T) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned 
to the water. 

Christina Lake (Douglas and Grant Counties) 
Open to winter fishing only, December 1–March 31. Closed to fishing 
at all other times. 

☞


continued on next page 
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*


Clear Lake (Waseca County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS and SMALLMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately 
returned to the water. 

Clitherall Lake (Otter Tail County) 
SMALLMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 

Coon-Sandwick Lake (Itasca County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All from 20" through 30" must be immediately 
returned to the water. Only 1 over 30" allowed in a possession limit. 

Crane Lake including Vermilion Gorge (St. Louis County) 
WALLEYE: All less than 13" or larger than 17" must be immediately 
returned to the water, except 1 over 23" is allowed in a possession limit. 

Crawford Lake (Wright County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 
SUNFISH: Possession limit 5. 
CRAPPIE: Possession limit 5. 
WALLEYE: Possession limit 2. 
PERCH: Possession limit 10. 

Crooked Lake (Anoka County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 

Deep Lake (Ramsey County) 
Closed to fishing. 

DeMontreville Lake (Washington County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 

Dudley Lake (Rice County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: Minimum size limit 30". 

Eagle Lake (Hennepin County) 
MUSKELLUNGE: Minimum size limit 48". 

East Battle Lake (Otter Tail County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All 22" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Elk Lake (Clearwater County) 
MUSKELLUNGE: Minimum size limit 48". 

Farm Island Lake (Aitkin County) 
WALLEYE: All from 16" through 19" must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Fladmark Lake (Otter Tail County) 
SUNFISH: Possession limit 10. 
NORTHERN PIKE and LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately 
returned to the water. 

Flour Lake (Cook County) 
SMALLMOUTH BASS: All 11" and larger must be immediately returned 
to the water. 

Foster Arend Lake (Olmsted County) 
TROUT: Continuous season. Possession limit 3 with only 1 over 16". 

Grave Lake (Itasca County) 
SUNFISH: Possession limit 5. 

Green Lake (Chisago County)(T) 
CRAPPIE: Minimum size limit 9". 

Green Lake (Kandiyohi County) 
SMALLMOUTH BASS and LARGEMOUTH BASS: All 14" or larger must be 
immediately returned to the water. 
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☞ 

* 

☞ 

* 

NORTHERN PIKE: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Hovde Lake (Cass County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 

Hungry Jack Lake (Cook County) 
SMALLMOUTH BASS: All 11" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Jane Lake (Washington County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 

Kabetogama Lake (St. Louis County) including Sullivan Bay and Ash 
River to Ash River Falls. 
WALLEYE: All less than 13" or larger than 17" must be immediately 
returned to the water, except 1 over 23" is allowed in a possession 
limit. 

Kelly Lake (Rice County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: Minimum size limit 30". 

Knife Lake (Kanabec County) (T) 
WALLEYE: All from 18" through 24" must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Lac Qui Parle Lake upstream to Marsh Lake Dam, including the 
Watson Sag upstream to the diversion dam (Lac Qui Parle and 
Chippewa Counties) 
WALLEYE: Minimum size limit 15". 

Lake Hanska (Brown County) 
Closed to fishing until Nov. 7, 2002. 

Lake of the Woods including the Rainy River from the mouth upstream 
to the dam in International Falls, Baudette and Winter Road Rivers 
(Lake of the Woods County), and Warroad River (Roseau County). 
NORTHERN PIKE: Possession limit is 3, with only 1 over 40". All from 30" 
through 40" must be immediately returned to the water. 

Little Mantrap Lake (Hubbard County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All from 12" through 18" must be immediately 
returned to the water. 

Little McDonald Lake (Otter Tail County) 
WALLEYE: All from 18" through 26" must be immediately returned to 
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in a possession limit. 

Little Sauk Lake (Todd County) 
WALLEYE: Possession limit is 2. 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: Possession limit is 1. 
SUNFISH: Possession limit is 5. 
CRAPPIE: Possession limit is 5. 
YELLOW PERCH: Possession limit is 10. 
NORTHERN PIKE: All from 24" through 30" must be immediately 
returned to the water. Possession limit is 3, with only 1 over 30". 

Little Vermilion Lake (St. Louis County) including Loon River to Loon 
River Falls. 
WALLEYE: All less than 13" or larger than 17" must be immediately 
returned to the water, except 1 over 23" is allowed in a possession 
limit. 

Little Wolf Lake (Cass and Hubbard Counties) 
MUSKELLUNGE: Minimum size limit 48". 
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Long Lake (Kandiyohi County, near Hawick) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned 
to the water. 

Maple Lake (Douglas County) 
CRAPPIE: Minimum size limit 10". 

Medicine Lake (Beltrami County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All from 22" through 30" must be immediately 
returned to the water. Only 1 over 30" allowed in a possession limit. 

Melissa Lake (Becker County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Mille Lacs Lake (Aitkin, Crow Wing, and Mille Lacs Counties) (T) 
No one may fish for any species or possess fishing gear on the lake from 
10 p.m. through 6 a.m. starting at 10 p.m. on May 13 and ending at 
12:01 a.m. on June 10. Closed to winter spearing for all species. 
WALLEYE: Restrictions or changes on walleye harvest and length 
limits in effect will be posted at public access sites. 
NORTHERN PIKE: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately 
returned to the water. Possession limit 3 with only 1 over 36". 
SMALLMOUTH BASS: All less than 21" must be immediately returned to 
the water. Possession limit 1. 

Mink Lake (Wright County) 
SUNFISH: Possession limit 5. 
CRAPPIE: Possession limit 5. 
YELLOW PERCH: Possession limit 10. 
WALLEYE: Possession limit 2. 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 
Possession or use of live minnows is prohibited. 

Minnewashta Lake (Carver County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 

Moccasin Lake (Cass County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 

Moody Lake (Crow Wing County) 
Closed to fishing. 

Moose Lake (Todd County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned 
to the water. 

*Namakan Lake (St. Louis County) 
WALLEYE: All less than 13" or larger than 17" must be immediately 
returned to the water, except 1 over 23" is allowed in a possession 
limit. 

North Lida Lake (Otter Tail County) 
CRAPPIE: Minimum size limit 11". 

North Twin Lake (Beltrami County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All from 22" through 30" must be immediately returned 
to the water. Only 1 over 30" allowed in a possession limit. 

Norway Lake (Otter Tail County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 
WALLEYE: Possession limit 3. 
NORTHERN PIKE: Possession limit 1. 

continued on next page 
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CRAPPIE: Possession limit 5. 
SUNFISH: Possession limit 5. 
YELLOW PERCH: Possession limit 10. 

Ogechie Lake (Mille Lacs County) (T) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately 
returned to the water. Possession limit 3 with only 1 over 36". 

Olson Lake (Washington County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 

Osakis Lake (Douglas and Todd Counties) 
WALLEYE: Minimum size limit 15". 

Owasso Lake (Ramsey County) 
MUSKELLUNGE: Minimum size limit 48". 

Ox Yoke Lake (Cass County) 
SUNFISH: Possession limit 10. 

Pelican Lake (St. Louis County) 
LARGEMOUTH and SMALLMOUTH BASS: All from 14" through 20" must 
be immediately returned to the water. Only 1 over 20" allowed in a 
possession limit. 
NORTHERN PIKE: All from 24" through 32" must be immediately 
returned to the water. Only 1 over 32" allowed in a possession limit. 

Pierz (Fish) Lake (Morrison County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Pike Lake (Cook County) 
SMALLMOUTH BASS: All 11" and larger must be immediately returned 
to the water. 

Plantaganette Lake (Hubbard County) 
MUSKELLUNGE: Minimum size limit 48". 

Pleasant Lake (Ramsey County) 
Closed to fishing. 

Pleasant Lake (Stearns County) 
SUNFISH: Possession limit 10. 

Portage Lake (Cass County, north of Ten Mile Lake) 
LARGEMOUTH and SMALLMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately 
returned to the water. 

Rabbit Lakes, Big and East Big (Crow Wing County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Rachel Lake and Little Rachel Lake (Douglas County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Rainy Lake (including the Rainy River above the dam at International 
Falls, all of Rainy Lake to the dam at Kettle Falls, Black Bay including 
Gold Portage below the rapids, all of the Rat Root River, and Rat Root 
Lake; Koochiching and St. Louis Counties) 
WALLEYE and SAUGER: Possession limit of 8 (Not more than 4 can be 
walleye; fish from 17" through 28" must be immediately released; only 
one walleye over 28". (Effective May 11, 2002.) 

Rebecca Lake (Hennepin County) 

☞


☞




36 2002 MN Fishing Regulations 

*


MUSKELLUNGE: Minimum size limit 48". 
Red Lake, Upper and its tributaries (Beltrami County) 

WALLEYE: Closed to the taking of walleye. It is unlawful to have any 
walleye in possession regardless of where taken while on or fishing this 
water. 

Reeds Lake (Waseca County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: Minimum size limit 30". 

Saganaga Lake (Cook County) 
WALLEYE: Possession limit 6, with only 1 over 19.5". 

Sallie Lake (Becker County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Sanburn Lake (Cass County) 
SUNFISH: Possession limit 10. 

Sand Point Lake (St. Louis County) 
WALLEYE: All less than 13" or larger than 17" must be immediately 
returned to the water, except 1 over 23" is allowed in a possession 
limit. 

Sissabagamah Lake (Aitkin County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All from 20" through 30" must be immediately 
returned to the water. Only 1 over 30" allowed in a possession limit. 

Somers Lake (Wright County) 
SUNFISH: Possession limit 5. 
CRAPPIE: Possession limit 5. 
YELLOW PERCH: Possession limit 10. 
WALLEYE: Possession limit 2. 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 
Possession or use of live minnows is prohibited. 

South Lida Lake (Otter Tail County) 
CRAPPIE: Minimum size limit 11". 

South Lindstrom Lake (Chisago County) (T) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned 
to the water. 

Spider Lake (Hubbard County) 
CRAPPIE: Minimum size limit 10". 

Square Lake (Washington County) 
TROUT: All must be immediately returned to the water from May 11 
through June 7 and from October 1 through October 31. Remainder of 
the summer and winter seasons the possession limit for trout is 2. 

St. Olaf Lake (Waseca County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: Minimum size limit 30". 

Stieger Lake (Carver County) 
WALLEYE, NORTHERN PIKE, MUSKELLUNGE, and LARGEMOUTH BASS: 
All must be immediately returned to the water. 

Sturgeon Lake (Pine County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All 20" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Ten Mile Lake (Cass County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All 20" and larger must be immediately returned to 
the water. 

Ten Mile Lake, North and South (Otter Tail County) 
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LARGEMOUTH and SMALLMOUTH BASS: Minimum size limit 21". 
Possession limit 1. 

Thrush Lake (Cook County) 
TROUT: Possession limit of 1, with a minimum size of 18". Artificial 
lures and flies with single hook only. Closed to winter fishing. 

Turnip Lake (Cook County) 
TROUT: Possession limit of 1, with a minimum size of 18". Artificial 
lures and flies with single hook only. Closed to winter fishing. 

Turtle Lake (Ramsey County) 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water. 

Twenty One Lake (Otter Tail County) 
SUNFISH: Possession limit 10. 
NORTHERN PIKE and LARGEMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately 
returned to the water. 

Two Island Lake (Cook County) 
SMALLMOUTH BASS: All 11" and larger must be immediately returned 
to the water. 

Venstrom Lake (Otter Tail County) 
CRAPPIE: Minimum size limit 11". 

Waconia Lake (Carver County) 
WALLEYE: Minimum size 16". 
LARGEMOUTH BASS: Only 1 over 21" allowed in a possession limit. All 
from 17" through 21" must be immediately returned to the water. 

Wilkins Lake (Aitkin County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: All from 20" through 30" must be immediately 
returned to the water. Only 1 over 30" allowed in a possession limit. 

Wilkinson Lake (Anoka and Ramsey Counties) 
Closed to fishing. 

Winnibigoshish Lake and connected waters: Mississippi River to 
Knutson Dam, Third River Flowage to Little Dixon Lake, Pigeon 
River to Pigeon Lake Dam, First River, Egg Lake through Cut 
Foot Sioux Lake, Raven Flowage to Raven Lake, and Sugar Lake 
(Beltrami, Cass and Itasca Counties)

WALLEYE: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to

the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in a possession limit. 


STREAMS AND RIVERS 
Baudette River (Lake of the Woods County) 

NORTHERN PIKE: Possession limit is 3, with only 1 over 40". All from 
30" through 40" must be immediately returned to the water. 

Beaver Creek (Wabasha and Winona Counties) 
TROUT: Winter catch-and-release season January 1 through March 31 
on the entire stream, a 6.3-mile posted section from the mouth to the 
source. All hooks must be barbless. 

Camp Creek (Fillmore County) 
BROWN TROUT: All from 12" through 16" in length must be 
immediately returned to the water on the posted section from the 
mouth upstream 3.5 miles. All hooks must be barbless. 
TROUT: Winter catch-and-release season Jan. 1–March 31 on posted 
section from mouth upstream 3.5 miles. All hooks must be barbless. 
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South Branch, formerly Canfield Creek (Fillmore County) 
TROUT: Winter catch-and-release season Jan. 1 through March 31 on 
the entire stream (Forestville State Park). All hooks must be barbless. 

Cold Spring Brook (Wabasha County) 
BROOK TROUT: Minimum size limit 12". Possession limit 1. All hooks 
must be barbless. 

Devil Track River (Cook County) 
FISH SANCTUARY: Mile 1.1 to Mile 1.6 open to fishing from June 1 
through August 31 only. 

Duschee Creek (Fillmore County) 
TROUT: Winter catch-and-release season January 1 through March 31 
on the posted section from mouth upstream 5.5 miles. All hooks must 
be barbless. 

Eagle Creek (Scott County) 
TROUT: Catch and release only. 

East Beaver Creek (Houston County) 
TROUT: Winter catch-and-release season January 1 through March 31 
on entire stream (Beaver Creek Valley State Park). All hooks must be 
barbless. 

Gauthier Creek (Cook County) 
FISH SANCTUARY: Entire stream open to fishing from June 1 through 
August 31 only. 

Hay Creek (Goodhue County) 
TROUT: All must be immediately returned to the water on 4.2-mile 
posted section. Winter season: Catch-and-release only January 1 to 
March 31 on 4.2-mile posted section. All hooks must be barbless. 

Kadunce River (Cook County) 
FISH SANCTUARY: Mile 0.2 (lower falls) to Mile 0.4 open to fishing 
from June 1 through August 31 only. 

Knife River (St. Louis and Lake Counties) 
FISH SANCTUARY: River and tributaries upstream from Lake County 
Road 9 open to fishing from May 15 through September 30 only. The 
river between the cables upstream of the fish trap open to fishing from 
June 1 through August 31. U.S. Highway 61 bridge downstream to 
the cable below the fish trap is permanently closed to fishing. 

Little Knife River (St. Louis County) 
FISH SANCTUARY: From the weir upstream to the source, fishing is 
allowed from June 1 through August 31 only. 

Main Branch Whitewater River (Winona County) 
TROUT: Winter catch-and-release season from January 1 through 
March 31 on a 6.9-mile posted section from the Winona County 
Road 30 bridge crossing upstream to the confluence of the Middle 
and North Branches of the Whitewater River. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

Middle Branch Whitewater River (Olmsted and Winona Counties) 
TROUT: All must be immediately returned to the water on 3.3-mile 
posted section from the junction of the tributary that is 1⁄4 mile 
upstream of the Olmsted County Road 107 bridge crossing to the 
source. All hooks must be barbless. Winter season: Catch-and-release 
from January 1 through March 31 on a 4.2-mile posted section from 
the mouth upstream to the third State Highway 74 bridge crossing. 
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All hooks must be barbless. 
Mississippi River Valley (Ramsey, Washington, Hennepin, and 

Dakota Counties) 
WALLEYE, SAUGER, SMALLMOUTH BASS, and LARGEMOUTH BASS: 
All must be immediately returned to the water with a continuous 
season in the following stretches: 
a) Minnesota River downstream from the Mendota Bridge; 
b) Minnehaha Creek downstream from Minnehaha Falls; and c) Pool 2 
of the Mississippi River between the Hastings Dam and the Ford Dam, 
including all backwater lakes and connecting waters except Crosby 
Lake, Pickerel Lake, Upper Lake, Little Pigs Eye Lake, and North Star 
Steel Lake. 

Mississippi River (Sherburne, Stearns and Wright Counties) 
SMALLMOUTH BASS: From the confluence of the Crow River upstream 
to the St. Cloud Dam, the possession limit is 3, with only 1 over 20". 
All from 12" through 20" must be immediately returned to the water. 

Mississippi River Pools 5, 5A, and 8 (Wabasha, Houston, and Winona 
Counties) 
SUNFISH: Possession limit is 10. 

North Branch Creek (Fillmore County) 
TROUT: Winter catch-and-release season January 1 through March 31 
from the mouth to 1 mile upstream on that portion of the stream 
within Forestville State Park. All hooks must be barbless. 

North Branch Whitewater River (Wabasha, Olmsted, and Winona 
Counties) 
BROWN TROUT: All from 12" through 16" in length must be 
immediately returned to the water from the second low-water crossing 
upstream from Elba to the river’s source. All hooks must be barbless. 
TROUT: Winter catch-and-release season from January 1 through 
March 31 on a 2.2-mile posted section from the mouth upstream to 
the first bridge crossing in Fairwater. All hooks must be barbless. 

Otter Tail River (Otter Tail and Wilkin Counties) 
SMALLMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water 
from Wilkin County Road 19 crossing upstream to the Friberg Dam 
including all impoundments. 

Rainy River to the dam at International Falls and the Warroad, 
Baudette, and Winter Road Rivers (tributaries to Lake of the 
Woods) (Lake of the Woods, Koochiching and Roseau Counties) 
NORTHERN PIKE: Possession limit is 3, with only 1 over 40". All from 
30" through 40" must be immediately returned to the water. 

South Branch Root River (Fillmore County) 
TROUT: Winter catch-and-release season January 1 through March 31 
from the mouth to the dam and from the historic bridge (Meighen’s 
Store) in Forestville State Park upstream to the park boundary. All 
hooks must be barbless. 

South Branch Whitewater River (Winona County) 
TROUT: Winter catch-and-release from January 1 through March 31 
on a 3.8-mile posted section from the mouth to 1 mile upstream of 
the closed County Road 112 bridge crossing. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

St. Louis River (St. Louis County) 
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FISH SANCTUARY: No fishing allowed at any time from the Fond du 
Lac Dam downstream to the Minnesota–Wisconsin boundary cable. 
No fishing allowed from the boundary cable downstream to the 
Hwy. 23 bridge from March 2 through May 18. 

Trout Run Creek (Winona and Fillmore Counties) 
BROWN TROUT: All from 12" through 16" in length must be 
immediately returned to the water on the entire stream. All hooks 
must be barbless. 

Trout Valley Creek (Winona County) 
BROOK TROUT: Minimum size limit 12". Possession limit 1. All hooks 
must be barbless. 

Warroad River (Roseau County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: Possession limit is 3, with only 1 over 40". All from 
30" through 40" must be immediately returned to the water. 

West Indian Creek (Wabasha County) 
BROWN TROUT: All from 12" through 16" in length must be 
immediately returned to the water from the upstream Wabasha 
County Road 4 crossing to the source. All hooks must be barbless. 

Winter Road River (Lake of the Woods County) 
NORTHERN PIKE: Possession limit is 3, with only 1 over 40". All from 
30" through 40" must be immediately returned to the water. 

☞ Zumbro River (Wabasha County) 
SMALLMOUTH BASS: All must be immediately returned to the water 
along a 12-mile posted section downstream from the Highway 63 
bridge at Zumbro Falls upstream to, but not including, its plunge 
pool below Zumbro Lake Dam. 

The sale of advertising pays for a portion of this publication. 
The State of Minnesota and the Minnesota Department of 
Natural Resources neither endorse products or services listed 
nor accept any liability arising from the use of products or 
services listed. 

Equal opportunity to participate in and benefit from programs of the Minnesota Department of

Natural Resources is available to all individuals regardless of race, color, creed, religion, national

origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, age, sexual orientation, or

disability. Discrimination inquiries should be sent to MN-DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, 

St. Paul, MN 55155-4031, or the Equal Opportunity Office, Department of the Interior,

Washington, DC 20240.


This information is available in an alternative format upon request.


RECYCLABLE: The coated cover protects your regulations from water and 
the wear and tear of constant use. To recycle, remove the cover and staples, 
and then recycle the remaining pages. 
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ROUGH FISH SPEARING ARCHERY, AND DIP NETS 
Rough fish are defined as carp, buffalo, sucker, redhorse, freshwater 

drum (sheepshead), bowfin (dogfish), burbot (eelpout), cisco (tullibee), 
gar, mooneye, and bullhead. The regulations below apply to spearing 
rough fish in state waters unless noted otherwise in this booklet. 

SPECIES SPEARING SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT 

BULLHEAD 100 

SUCKER 50 

REDHORSE 50 

OTHER ROUGH No limit 
FISH SPECIES 

Open water 
only, from 
sunrise to 
sunset, May 1, 
2002–Feb. 16, 
2003 
(see pg. 44 for 
dark house 
spearing laws) 

•	 A bow may be transported uncased while taking rough fish in a boat 
powered by an electric motor. Crossbows may not be used to take 
rough fish, except by disabled persons who have a valid crossbow 
permit. Permit applications are available from any DNR regional office 
by calling the DNR Information Center number or through the DNR 
web site listed on page 66. 

• Arrows must be attached to the bow with a tethered line. 
•	 Licensed anglers and children under 16 may take rough fish by 

spearing, harpooning, archery, and hand-held dip nets in all inland 
waters, except where taking fish is prohibited. All rough fish, except 
cisco (tullibee), may be bought and sold. Note: whitefish are not 
considered a rough fish. 

•	 Hand-held dip nets shall not have hoops exceeding 24 inches in 
diameter. (For more on smelt, see page 21.) 

•	 Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in 
designated trout lakes or streams. 

•	 Harpoons (spears) must have a tethered line not more than 20 feet 
long. 

•	 It is unlawful to possess at or near waters a spear, net, or any device 
other than angling line that can take fish from February 17 through 
April 30, 2003. The exception is landing nets used for angling. 

•	 Speared or dead rough fish may not be returned to the water or left 
on the ice or banks of any lake or stream. 
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FISH HOUSE OR DARK HOUSE 
The following regulations apply to fish houses, dark houses, and 

portable shelters used on all Minnesota waters, unless noted otherwise 
elsewhere in this booklet. 

☞ 

☞ 

•	 All shelters, which include dark houses, fish houses, and portable 
shelters, placed on the ice of Minnesota waters must have the 
complete name and complete address or driver’s license number of the 
owner plainly and legibly displayed on the outside in letters and 
figures at least 2 inches in height. Dark houses, fish houses, and 
portable shelters placed on the ice for shelter while fishing must be 
licensed, except that a license is not required on border waters with 
Wisconsin, Iowa, and South Dakota. A durable tag, furnished with 
the license, must be attached to the exterior side of the door not more 
than 6 inches below the top of the door. On structures with openings 
other than doors, the tag must be attached to the material to the right 
of the opening when facing the structure, no more than 6 inches 
below the top of the opening. 

•	 Dark houses, fish houses, and portable shelters must have a door that 
can be opened from the outside at any time when in use. 

•	 Taking fish by angling or with tip-ups is prohibited while spearing 
fish in a dark house, fish house, or portable shelter. 

•	 Portable dark houses, fish houses, and shelters may be used for fishing 
within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area (BWCA), but must be 
removed from the ice each night. The structure must be removed 
from the BWCA each time the occupant leaves the BWCA. 

•	 Dark houses, fish houses, and shelters must be off the ice no later 
than midnight, February 28 if they are south of the line starting at 
the Minnesota–North Dakota border formed by U.S. Highway 10, 
east along Highway 10 to Minnesota Highway 34, east along 
Highway 34 to Minnesota Highway 200, east along Highway 200 to 
U.S. Highway 2, and east along Highway 2 to the Minnesota– 
Wisconsin border. Dark houses, fish houses, and shelters north of 
that line must be off the ice no later than midnight, March 15. 
Exceptions are Minnesota–Canada border waters (March 31), 
Minnesota–Iowa border waters (February 20), Minnesota–South 
Dakota and North Dakota border waters (March 5), and Minnesota– 
Wisconsin border waters (March 1). If houses or shelters are not 
removed, owners will be prosecuted, and the structure may be 
confiscated and removed, or destroyed by a conservation officer. 
Contents of the structure may be seized and held for 60 days; if not 
claimed by the owner within that time, they become property of the 
State of Minnesota. 

• Fish houses left on the ice overnight need to have at least 2 square 
inches of reflective material on each side of the house. 

• No person may erect a dark house, fish house, or shelter within 
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10 feet of an existing dark house, fish house, or shelter. 
•	 Storing or leaving fish houses or dark houses on a public access is 

prohibited. 
• Nonresidents may not spear from a dark house. 
• Nonresidents may angle from a licensed fish house. 
• Nonresidents may obtain a license for a fish shelter. However, the 

shelter cannot remain on the ice when unattended. 
Note: After the date when ice or fish houses or shelters must be removed, 
portable shelters may be placed on the ice and used from one hour 
before sunrise to midnight, but only if there is an open fishing season 
on the lake. 

For Your Information 

Aquatic plant permit requirements 

Water plants such as bulrushes are essential for lake 
ecosystems. They reduce wave erosion, provide fish and 
wildlife habitat, and purify water. Because lake plants can 
interfere with swimming and boating by lakeshore owners— 
but are also vital to lake health— the DNR allows removal 
under the following conditions. 

DNR permit is required to: 

1. Remove emergent plants 
(such as bulrushes, cattails, 
and wild rice). 
2. Remove plants in an 
area larger than 2,500 
square feet or wider than 
50 feet. 
3. Use herbicides or 
algicides in Minnesota 
lakes. 
4. Remove water lilies 
(other than in a narrow 
channel extending to open 
water). 
5. Install or use an 
automated untended device 
such as the Crary 
WeedRoller. 

DNR permit not required 

For underwater plants only, 
you may cut or pull plants as 
long as: 
1. the area does not extend 
along more than 50 feet of 
your shoreline or one-half 
the length of your frontage, 
whichever is less; 
2. the total area is less than 
2,500 square feet (except for 
boat channels); and 
3. the plants are immediately 
and permanently disposed of 
on high ground where they 
can’t re-enter the water. 

For more information, call your regional DNR office (pgs. 67–68) 
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DARK HOUSE SPEARING 
•	 Northern pike, rough fish, catfish, and whitefish may be taken by 

dark house spearing through the ice from December 1, 2002 through 
February 16, 2003 except where prohibited. 

•	 Residents age 16 through 64 must have a dark house spearing license 
and an angling license. Residents 65 years old and older are exempt 
from the dark house spearing license, but must have an angling 
license to spear. 

• Nonresidents may not spear from a dark house. 
•	 A person may not have a spear in a dark house or fish house while 

angling. 
• Party fishing does not apply while spearing. 

SPEARING PROHIBITED 

Winter spearing for northern pike is prohibited on the following lakes: 

Baby* (Cass County) 

Bad Axe* (Hubbard County) 

Bald Eagle (Anoka, Ramsey and


Washington Counties) 

Beers* (Otter Tail County) 

Big* (Beltrami County) 

Big Mantrap* (Hubbard County) 

Big Sand* (Hubbard County) 

Cass* (Beltrami and Cass Counties) 

Cedar (Scott County) 

Cross and its Snake River Flowage*


(Pine County) 

Deer* (Itasca County) 

Dumbbell* (Lake County) 

Eagle (Hennepin County) 

Forest (Hennepin County) 

French* (Rice County) 

Harris* (Lake County) 

Independence* (Hennepin County) 

Libbs (Hennepin County) 

Little Moose* (Itasca County) 

Little Sand* (Hubbard County) 

Lobster* (Douglas County) 

Mille Lacs (Aitkin, Crow Wing and


Mille Lacs Counties) 
Minnetonka (Hennepin and Carver 

Counties) 
Moose* (Itasca County) 

North Star * (Itasca County) 

Owasso (Ramsey County) 

Peavey (Hennepin County) 

Rebecca (Hennepin County) 

Rush * (Chisago County) 

Spider* (Hubbard County) 

Spider* (Itasca County) 

Stieger (Carver County)

Stocking* (Hubbard County) 

Sugar* (Wright County) 

Tanager (Hennepin County) 

Wabedo* (Cass County) 

West Battle* (Otter Tail County)


*Denotes lakes where no spearing is allowed at any time. 
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BORDER WATERS 
Unless otherwise specifically mentioned in this section, all general 

restrictions relating to angling methods, licensing, seasons, limits, 
possession and transportation of fish, apply to border waters (see pages 
25–29). While on or fishing these waters, all fish must be within the 
specified length limits regardless of where caught. 
Dates 

All calendar dates refer to 2002 unless noted otherwise. 
Licensing 

Minnesota–Canada Border Waters: Anglers who have a Minnesota 
resident or nonresident license may fish only the Minnesota portion of 
Canada’s border waters. 

Minnesota–Other States’ Border Waters: Minnesota has a reciprocal 
agreement with each of its bordering states: Wisconsin, Iowa, South 
Dakota, and North Dakota. Residents of Minnesota or a bordering state 
may fish throughout the waters bordering the two states only if they 
possess a valid resident license from their resident state. Lake Superior is 
not covered under this agreement. See page 18. Nonresident anglers who 
have a nonresident license from either Minnesota or the bordering state 
may also fish throughout the border waters between the two states. 
Anglers may launch and fish from either shore and may transport their 
catch by the most direct route to the state in which they are licensed. 
This includes children who are not required to have a license. 

When regulations differ between bordering states, anglers must 
comply with the regulations of the state for which they are licensed 
and can only exercise more liberal fishing privileges in the waters of 
the state where they are licensed. The exception is fish houses, which 
do not need to be licensed if the bordering state does not require a 
license. Currently, Wisconsin, Iowa, and South Dakota do not require a 
fish house license. 

CANADA–MINNESOTA 
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the Minnesota 

portions of the following waters: 
Cook County: Clove Lake, Devil’s Elbow Lake, North Fowl Lake, 

South Fowl Lake, Gneiss (Round) Lake, Granite Lake, Granite River, 
Gunflint Lake, Little Gunflint Lake, Lily Lake, Magnetic Lake, 
Maraboeuf Lake, Moose Lake, Mountain Lake, North Lake, Little North 
Lake, Pigeon River, Pine River, Rat Lake, Rose Lake, Rove Lake, 
Saganaga Lake, South Lake, and Watap Lake. 

Koochiching and Lake of the Woods Counties: Rainy River. 
Koochiching and St. Louis Counties: Rainy Lake (including 

Black Bay). 
Lake County: Basswood Lake (except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist, and 

Back Bays), Basswood River, Birch Lake, Carp Lake, Cypress Lake, Knife 
Lake (except South Arm), Little Knife Lake, Knife River, Melon Lake, 
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Seed Lake, Sucker Lake, and Swamp Lake. 
Lake and St. Louis Counties: Crooked Lake. 
Lake of the Woods and Roseau Counties: Lake of the Woods. 
St. Louis County: Bottle Lake, Iron Lake, Lac La Croix, Loon Lake, 

Loon River to Loon River Falls, Namakan Lake, Sand Point Lake, and 
Little Vermilion Lake. 

Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. 

☞


SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT 

WALLEYE May 11, 2002- 6 
and SAUGER Apr. 14, 2003 
(either or combined) 

Exceptions: 
Lake of the May 11, 2002- 8 (Not more than 6 
Woods Nov. 30, 2002 can be walleye; only 

1 walleye over 19.5" 
may be taken daily.) 

Dec. 1, 2002- 14 (Not more than 6 
Apr. 14, 2003 can be walleye; only 

1 walleye over 19.5" 
may be taken daily.) 

Namakan, Sand Point, May 11, 2002 6 (Fish less than 13" 
and Little Vermilion Apr. 14, 2003 or larger than 17" 
Lakes (see page 30 must be immed­
for transportation) iately released; only 

1 walleye over 23".) 

Rainy Lake May 11, 2002- 8 (Not more than 4 
Apr. 14, 2003 can be walleye; fish 

from 17" to 28" must 
be immediately 
released; only 
1 walleye over 28".) 

Rainy River Mar. 1-Apr. 14 2 (No walleye 
over 19.5".) 

May 11, 2002- 6 (Only 1 walleye 
Feb. 28, 2003 over 19.5".) 

Saganaga Lake May 11, 2002- 6 (Only 1 
Apr. 14, 2003 over 19.5".) 

NORTHERN 
PIKE Continuous 6 (Only 1 daily 

over 30".) 
Exceptions: 
Lake of the Woods 3 (Only 1 over 40"; 
including the Rainy River all northern pike 
to the dam at International from 30" through 40" 
Falls and the Warroad, must be immediately 
Baudette, and Winter Road Rivers released.) 
(tributaries to Lake of the Woods) 

continued on next page 



Border Waters 47 

Rainy Lake Continuous 3 (Only 1 over 28".) 

MUSKELLUNGE June 15-Nov. 30 1 (Minimum size 40".) 

LARGEMOUTH Continuous 
and SMALLMOUTH 
BASS (either or combined) 

LAKE STURGEON July 1–April 30 1 per license year (fish 
less than 45" or greater 
than 55" must be returned 
to the water immediately). 

CRAPPIE 30 

Exception: 
Black Bay on Rainy Lake 15 

LAKE TROUT May 11-Sept. 30 3 

Lakes outside or Jan. 12, 2002- 3 
partly outside the Mar. 15, 2002 
BWCA and and Jan. 18, 2003-
exceptions (see pg. 14) Mar. 15, 2003 

Lakes within the Dec. 29, 2001- 3 
BWCA March 31, 2002 and 

Jan. 4, 2003-
Mar. 31, 2003 

STREAM TROUT May 4-Sept. 30 5 (Not more 
than 3 over 16".) 

ALL OTHER Inland 
SPECIES limits apply 

6 

Continuous 

Continuous 

CAN–MN Regulations 
• One line per angler is allowed, except two lines may be used when ice fishing. 
•	 Saganaga Narrows, Seagull River, Gull Lake and Cross River from Cook County Road 

12 to Gunflint Lake closed to fishing April 1—May 24, 2002. 
•	 Saganaga Falls (Granite River mouth) and the channel between Gunflint and Little 

North lakes closed to fishing April 1 through May 31, 2002. 
•	 On Saganaga Lake, the winter lake trout season corresponds with lakes outside the 

Boundary Waters Canoe Area (see page 14). 
• Dressed (filleted) sauger are counted as walleye. See page 26 for packing regs. 
•	 Dark houses, fish houses, and shelters must be removed from the ice by March 31. 

Anglers may use portable shelters after March 31, but must remove them daily after 
use. 

•	 While in Minnesota, anglers may not possess more than a Minnesota limit of fish from 
Minnesota-Canada border waters. Fish from Canadian inland waters may be possessed 
in Minnesota in excess of the Minnesota limit only if the angler has proof—such as 
lodging receipts or verification through U.S. Customs—that the fish were taken from 
inland Canadian waters. 

• All other regulations are the same as those listed under Inland Waters (pages 13–17). 
• Fish with length limits may not be possessed as fillets on the water while angling. 
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WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA 

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters: 
Mississippi River (downstream of Prescott, Wisconsin), Lake Pepin, St. Croix 

River (including Lake St. Croix), St. Louis River, St. Louis Bay, and Superior Bay. 
Daily and possession limits are the same. 
Licensing: See page 45. 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION 
LIMIT 

WALLEYE and SAUGER (either or combined) 

St. Louis River May 11, 2002- 2 (15" minimum 
Mar. 1, 2003 size for walleye.) 

St. Croix River May 4, 2002- 6 (15" minimum 
Mar. 1, 2003 size for walleye.) 

Mississippi River and Continuous 6 (15" minimum 
Lake Pepin size for walleye.) 

LARGEMOUTH and SMALLMOUTH BASS 
(either or combined) 

St. Louis River May 25, 2002- 5 (14" minimum size) 
Mar. 1, 2003 

St. Croix River 
Upstream of Taylors May 25-Sept. 8, 2002 5 (14" minimum size) 
Falls Dam Sept. 9, 2002- Catch and release 

Mar. 1, 2003 only 

Downstream of May 25, 2002- 5 (14" minimum size) 
Taylors Falls Dam to Mar. 1, 2003 
U.S. Hwy. 10 Bridge 

Mississippi River Continuous 5 (14" minimum 
and Lake Pepin size.) 

NORTHERN PIKE 

St. Louis River May 11, 2002- 2 
Mar. 1, 2003 

St. Croix River May 4, 2002- 5 
Mar. 1, 2003 

Mississippi River Continuous 5 
and Lake Pepin 

MUSKELLUNGE May 25, 2002- 1 (Minimum 
Mar. 1, 2003 size 40".) 

continued on next page 
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☞


PERCH 25 

CHANNEL AND 
FLATHEAD CATFISH 
(either or combined) Continuous 10 

BULLHEAD Continuous Limit 

ROUGH FISH Continuous No Limit 

WHITE BASS Continuous 25 
and YELLOW BASS 
(either or combined) 

CRAPPIE Continuous 

ROCK BASS Continuous 25 

SUNFISH Continuous 
and BLUEGILL 
(either or 
combined) 

PADDLEFISH No Open Season 

LAKE STURGEON Closed (except as noted below) 
Lake sturgeon may be harvested September 7 thru October 15 on the 
St. Croix River from Taylors Falls Dam downstream to the mouth at Prescott, 
Wisconsin. The possession limit is one per season and the minimum size 
limit is 50" . The season is closed on all other waters except those along the 
Ontario-Minnesota border. (see page 47.) 

SHOVELNOSE Continuous 10 (No minimum 
STURGEON size.) Legal fishing 

downstream 
from Red Wing 
Dam only. 

Continuous 

No 

25 

25 

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state 
where taken. 

WI–MN Regulations 
•	 Two lines with a single lure or bait on each are permitted. If fishing with 

one line you may use two baits. 
•	 Fish hooked in any part of the body except the mouth must be returned to 

the water immediately. 
• Tip-ups must be within 400 feet of the angler. 
•	 Rough fish may be taken by spearing, archery, and dip-netting during 

daylight hours from May 4, 2002 through March 1, 2003. Dip net hoops 
cannot exceed 24 inches in diameter. 

•	 Spearing game fish is prohibited. It is unlawful to have a spear on or 
adjacent to any body of water where the spearing season is closed. 

•	 Fish houses or shelters must be removed no later than March 1. Portable 
shelters may be used after March 1, but must be removed daily after use. 

• Possessing or transporting white perch, ruffe, round goby, or alewife is 
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illegal. (See Harmful Exotic Species, pages 54–57.) 
• It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession. 
•	 No fishing allowed within 300 feet below Mississippi River Lock and 

Dam 3 (near Red Wing) and Lock and Dam 4 (Alma, WI) from March 
1-April 30. 

IOWA–MINNESOTA 

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following 
waters: 

Jackson County: Little Spirit Lake. 
Jackson and Nobles Counties: Iowa Lake. 
Martin County: Okamanpeedan (Tuttle), Iowa, and Swag Lakes. 
Daily and possession limits are the same. 
Licensing—See page 45. 

SPECIES SEASON POSSESSION 
LIMIT 

WALLEYE May 4, 2002- 6 
Feb. 16, 2003 

NORTHERN PIKE May 4, 2002 3 
Feb. 16, 2003 

LARGEMOUTH May 4, 2002- 6 
and SMALLMOUTH Feb. 16, 2003 
BASS (either 
or combined) 

CATFISH May 4, 2002- 8 
Feb. 16, 2003 

SUNFISH Continuous 
and BLUEGILL 
(either or combined) 

CRAPPIE Continuous 

PERCH Continuous 

WHITE BASS Continuous 30 

BULLHEAD Continuous Limit 

UNPROTECTED No Limit 
FISH 
(Carp, Sucker, Redhorse, Sheepshead, Buffalo, Burbot, 
Dogfish, Gar, and Quillback) 

OPEN 

30 

15 

30 

No 

Continuous 

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the 
state where taken. 

IA–MN Regulations 
• Anglers may use up to two lines with two hooks per line. 
• Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful. 
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•	 Spearing or archery may be used to take carp, buffalo, sheepshead, 
dogfish, gar, or quillback from sunrise to sunset May 1, 2002 through 
February 15, 2003. 

• Spearing game fish is unlawful. 
•	 Fish houses must comply with the licensing and identification 

requirements of the state for which the angler is licensed. 
•	 Fish houses or shelters must be removed from the ice no later than 

February 20. Anglers may use portable shelters after that date, but 
must remove them daily. 

SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA 

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following 
waters: 

Big Stone County: Big Stone Lake. 
Lincoln County: Hendricks Lake. 
Traverse County: Lake Traverse, Mud Lake, Bois de Sioux River to 

North Dakota border, and Mustinka River from the mouth to the MN 
State Highway 117 bridge. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 
Licensing—See page 45. 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION 
LIMIT 

WALLEYE Apr. 27, 2002- 6 
and SAUGER Feb. 28, 2003 
(either or combined) 
Exception: Big Stone Lake 6 (Minimum size 14".) 

NORTHERN Apr. 27, 2002- 6 
PIKE Feb. 28, 2003 

LARGEMOUTH Apr. 27, 2002- 6 
and SMALLMOUTH Feb. 28, 2003 
BASS (either or 
combined) 

CRAPPIE Continuous 30 

SUNFISH Continuous 30 
and BLUEGILL 
(either or combined) 

ROCK BASS Continuous 20 

BULLHEAD Continuous 100 

PERCH Continuous 25 

CATFISH Continuous 5 (Only 1 over 24".) 

STURGEON No Open Season 

continued on next page 
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UNPROTECTED Continuous Limit 
FISH 
[Carp, Sucker, Redhorse, Sheepshead (Freshwater Drum), Buffalo, Burbot, 
Dogfish (Bowfin), Gar, White Bass] 

No 

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state 
where taken. 

SD–MN Regulations 
• Anglers may use two lines with up to three hooks per line. 
• Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful. 
• Anglers may possess only one limit of fish. 
•	 Unprotected fish, except white bass, may be taken by spearing or 

archery from sunrise to sunset from April 27 to December 1. 
•	 It is unlawful to possess a spear, spring gaff, or bow and arrow on or 

adjacent to any body of water where the spearing and archery season 
is closed. 

• Spearing from a fish house or dark house is unlawful. 
• Spearing game fish is unlawful. 
•	 Fish houses or shelters must be removed from the ice no later than 

March 5. Anglers may use portable shelters after March 5, but must 
remove them daily after use. 

•	 Mud Lake in Traverse County is open to liberalized fishing (use of 
snagging, spears, dip nets and legal minnow seines permitted; 
maximum of 6 lines; possession limit is three times the normal 
possession limit) December 1, 2002 through February 28, 2003. 

•	 The following waters in Traverse County are closed to fishing from 
March 1 to April 26: Mud Lake within 500 feet downstream of 
Reservation Dam at State Highway 117; and Bois de Sioux River 
within 500 feet downstream of White Rock Dam at State 
Highway 236. 

• It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession. 

NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA 
Seasons and regulations apply to the Bois de Sioux River and the 

Red River of the North. Daily and possession limits are the same. 
Licensing—See page 45. 
Regulations are the same as those for South Dakota–Minnesota 

border waters except for the following: 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT 

WALLEYE and May 4, 2002- 5 
SAUGER (either Feb. 28, 2003 
or combined) March 1, 2002- 3 (Only 2 walleye less 

May 3, 2002 than 18"; all 
fish from 18" to 28" 
must be immediately 
released; only 1 
walleye over 28".) 

continued on next page 
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SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT 

NORTHERN PIKE May 4, 2002- 3 
Feb. 28, 2003 
Mar. 1, 2002- 3 (No northern pike 
May 3, 2002 over 27".) 

PERCH CONTINUOUS 50 

LARGEMOUTH Continuous 
and SMALLMOUTH 
BASS 

CATFISH Continuous 5 (Not more 
than 1 over 24".) 

STURGEON No open season 

MUSKELLUNGE Continuous 1 (Minimum size 
40".) 

3 

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state 
where taken. 

ND–MN Regulations 
• Two lines are permitted, and two hooks are permitted on each line. 
• Spearing from a fish house or a dark house is unlawful. 
•	 It is unlawful to possess a spear or bow and arrow on or adjacent to 

any water body where the spearing and archery season is closed. 
• 	Rough fish, except burbot (eelpout), may be taken by spearing or 

archery May 1 through December 31. 
•	 When Minnesota’s fishing regulations differ with North Dakota’s, 

Minnesota residents must comply with the Minnesota regulations and 
may not exercise more liberal fishing privileges in the waters of the 
bordering state. 

For Your Information 
FISHING EDUCATION 

MinnAqua is an aquatics education program combining sport fishing, 
ecology, resource management, and conservation. Call (651) 297-4919. 

Aquatic Project WILD addresses the importance of water as a basic 
component of habitat for both people and wildlife. Teachers can attend a 
workshop to obtain the supplementary curriculum guides. Call (651) 297-
2423. 

The Minnesota Clean Rivers Project encourages Minnesotans to adopt 
a section of waterway and help ensure its long-term health by doing at 
least one annual clean-up. Call (651) 297-5476. 

Project WET is a K-12 curriculum with more than 90 activities 
including water science, water’s role in the ecosystem, and cultural 
aspects of water use. Teachers can attend a workshop to obtain the 
curriculum guide. Call (651) 297-4951. 

See the DNR web site (www.dnr.state.mn.us). 
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Harmful exotics pose a threat to Minnesota waters, native aquatic 
plants and animals, and water-based recreation, including fishing. 

Currently, these harmful exotics are living in relatively few Minnesota 
lakes and rivers. But they could easily spread—and new species could 
enter from other states—if citizens who use state waters don’t take the 
necessary steps to prevent the spread of harmful exotic species. 

Eurasian watermilfoil: In shallow waters, this 
aquatic plant can interfere with water recreation, 
and its floating surface mats can crowd out im­
portant native plants. Fragments clinging to boats 
and trailers can spread the prolific plant from one 
water body to another. 

Round Goby: This small bottom-dwelling 
fish from Europe can displace native 

bottom-dwelling fish and is a 
nuisance for anglers. It poses a 

threat to fisheries in the Great 
Lakes, where it has already entered, and 

in inland fisheries. 

Ruffe: This small perch-like 
fish, native to Europe, is very 
abundant in the Duluth harbor. 
It displaces several native fish 
species and is a nuisance for 
anglers. Ruffe can be acciden­
tally transported in bait buckets and 
livewells. 

Spiny Water Flea: These tiny (less 
than 3/8") animals, abundant in Lake 
Superior, can be a nuisance to anglers. 

HARMFUL EXOTIC AQUATIC SPECIES 

(Key to ID: 12 
to 21 leaflet 
pairs per leaf) 

(Key to ID: Spots between rays of 
dorsal fin, no gap between fins) 

(Key to ID: Single 
scallop-shaped 
pelvic fin, fish is 
usually 3"-6" long) 

(Key to ID: Forms gelatinous globs where lines 
and downrigger wires connect to swivels, lures, 
or downrigger weights) 

Spots 

No gap 
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Zebra mussel: This small (1/4" to 11/2") mussel 
from Asia displaces native mussels, disrupts lake 
ecosystems, and clogs industrial equipment. 
Zebra mussels attach to boats, aquatic plants, 
and objects placed in the water. The tiny 
larvae can be accidentally transported in 

livewells and bait buckets. 

EXOTIC SPECIES LAWS (prohibitions and restrictions) 

Transportation, Launching, and Bait Harvest 
It is unlawful to: 
• transport aquatic plants, ruffe, round goby, zebra mussels, or other 

prohibited exotic species (see list below) on public roads; 
• transport infested water (including in livewells and bait containers) 

from infested waters; 
• transport live crayfish to other waters or to use them as bait in 

waters other than where they were taken; 
• launch a watercraft with aquatic plants, zebra mussels, or prohibited 

exotic species attached; 
• harvest minnows, frogs, or any other wild animals from infested 

waters* for bait, except for personal use from waters that are designated 
as infested waters solely because they contain Eurasian watermilfoil, and 
for commercial use by permit. 

Commercial Fishing 
• Nets and other equipment used in infested waters* for commercial 

fishing must be dried for ten days or frozen for two days before using in 
noninfested waters; 

• Water from infested waters* may not be used to transport live fish. 

Prohibited Exotic Species 
Aquatic plants in Minnesota waters: curly-leaf pondweed, Eurasian 

watermilfoil, flowering rush, and purple loosestrife. 
Aquatic plants not known to be in Minnesota waters: African 

oxygen weed, aquarium watermoss or giant salvinia, Australian 
stonecrop, European frog-bit, hydrilla, Indian swampweed, water aloe or 
water soldiers, and water chestnut. 

Fish in Minnesota waters: grass carp, round goby, ruffe, sea lamprey, 
white perch. 

Fish not known to be in Minnesota waters: bighead carp, black 
carp, rudd, silver carp, zander. 

*Infested waters are listed on pages 56–57. 

(Key to ID: Only freshwater mollusk that 
attaches to objects with byssal threads) 

Byssal 
threads 



56 2002 MN Fishing Regulations 

INFESTED WATERS (Minnesota waters infested with:) 

Eurasian Watermilfoil 
County Water body 
Anoka: Cenaiko, ville, Crooked, George, Otter, Peltier, 

Unnamed (in Springbrook Nature Center) 
Carver: Ann, Auburn, Bavaria, Eagle, Fireman’s Lotus, 

Minnewashta, Parley, Pierson, Riley, Schutz, Stieger, 
Stone, Virginia, Waconia, Wasserman, Zumbra 

Chisago: Ellen, Green, Rush 
Crow Wing: Bay, Ruth, Ripple River, between Bay Lake and Tame 

Fish Lake 
Dakota: Crystal, Lac Lavon, Marion, Schultz, Twin Lakes 
Douglas: Oscar 
Hennepin: Arrowhead, Bass, Brownie, Bryant, Bush, Calhoun, 

Cedar, Christmas, Dutch, Eagle, Fish, Forest, Galpin, 
Gleason, Harriet, Hiawatha, Independence, Lake of the 
Isles, Libbs, Little Long, Long, Medicine, Minnehaha 
Cr., Minnetonka, Niccum’s Pond, Nokomis, Parker’s, 
Peavy, ebecca, Rice, Riley, Round, Sarah, Schmidt, 
Swan, Tanager, Whaletail, Wirth 

Isanti: Green 
Itasca: Ice, McKinney, North Twin 
Kanabec: Knife 
Kandiyohi: Green, Norway 
Meeker: Stella, Washington 
Mille Lacs: Mille Lacs from the mouths of the tributaries of Mille 

Lacs to the first public road 
Olmsted: George 
Pope: ilchrist, Minnewaska 
Ramsey: Bald Eagle, Gervais, Island, Keller, Kohlmans, McCarron, 

Owasso, Phalen, Round, Silver, Snail, Spoon Creek, 
Sucker, Turtle, Vadnais, Wabasso, White Bear, Unnamed 

Rice: Cedar 
St. Louis: Gilbert Pit 
Scott: O’Dowd, Lower and Upper Prior, Thole 
Stearns: Sauk, wetland along Clearwater River 
Todd: Sauk 
Washington: Powers, White Bear, St. Croix R., Sunset 
Wright: Augusta, Beebe, Buffalo, Clearwater, Clearwater River 

(downstream of Clearwater Lake), Deer, French, 
Goose, Little Waverly, Mary, Pulaski, Rock, Sugar, 
Waverly, Weigand 

Multiple: Mississippi River (downstream of St. Anthony Falls) 

Round Goby 
County Water body 
Multiple: Lake Superior 

St. Louis River (downstream of the Fond du Lac dam) 

Ruffe 
County Water body 

☞☞ 

☞ 

☞ 

☞ 

☞ 

☞ 

☞ 

☞☞ 

☞ 

Center

R

G
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How you can stop the spread of exotics: 

✔ Remove any visible plants and animals from your boat, trailer, and 
other boating equipment before leaving any water body. 

✔ Drain water from the motor, livewell, bilge and transom wells at 
the ramp or access before leaving any water body. 

✔ Dispose of unwanted minnows and leeches on shore. Never release 
live bait into a water body, or release aquatic animals from one water 
body into another. 

✔ Wash/dry your boat and other boating equipment that normally 
gets wet to kill exotic animal species that were not visible at the boat 
launch. Before transporting to another water, either rinse with hot tap 
water, spray with high pressure water such as a car wash, or dry for at 
least 5 days. 

(Continued) Minnesota waters infested with: 

Multiple: Lake Superior 
St. Louis River (downstream of the Fond du Lac dam) 

Spiny Water Flea 
County Water body 
St. Louis: Fish Lake, Island Lake 
Multiple: Lake Superior, Cloquet River (from Island Lake to the 

St. Louis River), and St. Louis River (downstream of 
the Cloquet River) 

White Perch 
County Water body 
Multiple: Lake Superior 

St. Louis River (downstream of the Fond du Lac dam) 

Zebra Mussels 
County Water body 
Olmsted: Zumbro 
Multiple: Lake Superior 

Mississippi River (downstream of St. Anthony Falls) 
St. Croix River (downstream of the St. Croix Boomsite 
Recreation Area – also river mile 25.4) 
St. Louis River (downstream of the Fond du Lac dam) 
Zumbro River (downstream of Lake Zumbro) 

MN AD 

Live 
Well 

Transom 
WellAnchor 

Rollers 
Axle Lower Unit/ 

Propeller 

4316 
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OTHER AQUATIC SPECIES 
The following regulations apply to the taking and possession of 

mussels (clams), crayfish, frogs, minnows, leeches, and turtles for 
personal or commercial use. 

Wild animals may not be taken from infested waters, except for bait 
for personal use from waters that are designated as infested waters solely 
because they contain Eurasian watermilfoil, and for commercial use by 
permit. 

Mussels (Clams) 
•	 25 of Minnesota’s 48 species of mussels are protected under the state’s 

endangered species law. Whole mussels or parts, including shells, of 
protected species may not be taken or possessed except with a DNR 
permit. Do not disturb mussels unless you are able to distinguish 
between protected and other mussel species. 

•	 Except as note above, any person permitted by law to take fish may 
take and possess up to 24 whole or 48 shell halves of dead mussels 
(clams) if the harvesting is done by hand. No live mussels or clams 
may be harvested or sold. 

•	 The open season for mussel (clam) shell harvest is May 16, 2002 
through February 28, 2003. 

• The commercial harvest of mussels requires a permit. 
•	 It is illegal to take any live mussel or empty mussel shell from the 

St. Croix River, which is a unit of the National Park Service. 
• Zebra mussels are illegal to possess. 

Crayfish 
•	 Licensed anglers and children under 16 may take and possess up to 

25 pounds of crayfish for personal use. 
• The crayfish season is April 1 through November 30. 
• Crayfish cannot be sold as bait. 
•	 Importing live crayfish or eggs is prohibited except with a DNR 

permit*. 
•	 Crayfish may be used as bait in the body of water where they are 

captured. 
•	 Crayfish cannot be transferred from one body of water to another 

except with a DNR permit*. 
• The commercial harvest of crayfish requires a DNR permit*. 
• A permit is needed to sell crayfish for aquarium use. 

Frogs 
•	 Licensed anglers and children under age 16 may take, use, buy, and 

sell an unlimited number of frogs for bait only from May 16, 2002 
to March 31, 2003. The overall maximum length (with legs 

* Permit applications are available from the DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155. 
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outstretched) of frogs shall not exceed 6 inches. 
• A frogging license is required to take frogs for purposes other than bait. 

Minnows (Including Leeches) 
•	 Licensed anglers may take minnows or leeches for their own use with 

dip nets, traps, or seines. However, seines may not be over 25 feet long 
or more than 148 meshes deep with 1⁄4-inch bar measure, or more than 
197 meshes deep with 3⁄16-inch bar measure. For traps, width and length 
may not exceed 30 inches, height may not exceed 15 inches, the 
diameter or width of the opening may not exceed 11⁄2 inches, and mesh 
size may not exceed 1⁄2 inch bar measure. Traps must have a waterproof 
tag bearing the name and address of the owner. 

•	 Minnows or leeches may not be taken from designated trout waters 
except with a DNR permit. 

• Live carp may not be transported or used as bait. 
•	 DNR commercial licenses are required in order to sell minnows, 

either wholesale or retail, or to possess more than 24 dozen minnows. 
• Only licensed minnow exporters may export minnows. 
•	 Game fish (including perch and sunfish of any size) or parts of game 

fish may not be used for bait. 
•	 Minnows taken from infested waters (see page 56) may only be used 

for fishing at the body of water where taken. 
☞	 • It is illegal to bring live minnows into Minnesota without a permit 

and to use imported live minnows for bait in Minnesota waters. 

Turtles 
•	 Licensed anglers and children under 16 may take, possess, and 

transport turtles for personal use. 
•	 Turtles may not be sold or bought for resale without a turtle license. 

Retail customers do not need a license. 
•	 Turtles may be taken by angling, bow and arrow, spearing, turtle 

hooks, and hand. 
•	 The snapping turtle possession limit is 3. Minimum size limit is 10" 

measured side to side across the shell at midpoint. Snapping turtles 
may not be taken during May and June. 

•	 Blanding’s turtles and wood turtles are threatened species and may 
not be taken or possessed except with a DNR permit. 
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OTHER INFORMATION 
BOAT AND WATER SAFETY 

For a complete summary of the boating regulations, contact the DNR 
Information Center for a copy of the Minnesota Boating Guide, or find it 
on the DNR web site at www.dnr.state.mn.us under Boat and Water 
Safety. For rules pertaining to the use of motorboats within Wildlife 
Management Areas, refer to the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping 
Regulations Handbook or call DNR Information Center (see page 66). 

•	 All watercraft, including canoes, must be registered (licensed) in 
Minnesota or the state of residence, even if that state does not require 
canoe registration. 

•	 All watercraft, regardless of length, needs to carry, and have readily 
accessible, one U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) approved wearable (Type I, 
II, III or V) life preserver (PFD) for each person on board. In 
addition, boats 16 feet or longer (except canoes and kayaks) must 
carry at least one USCG approved Type IV throwable device (seat 
cushion or ring buoy) for the boat. 

•	 Navigation lights are required from sunset to sunrise. (Remember to 
keep your white stern (back) light on while still fishing or at 
anchor. This light must be visible for 360 degrees around the 
boat and may not be blocked from view). 

•	 USCG approved fire extinguishers are required on boats with 
enclosed fuel or engine compartments. 

•	 Persons 12-17 years of age are required to have a DNR watercraft 
operator’s permit to operate a boat of more than 25 horsepower, 
unless someone at least 21 is on board in reach of the controls. 

•	 You are required to report a boating accident to the county sheriff if 
there is an injury, death or damage over $500. 

Boating Safety Tips 
•	 Boating while intoxicated is not only illegal, it’s dangerous. About 

half of all fatal boating accidents are alcohol-related. 
•	 Most boating deaths occur when a person falls out of or capsizes a 

small boat. Wear your life jacket: It’s the most important thing you 
can do to increase your survival time in cold water and save your life. 

STATE AQUATIC MANAGEMENT AREAS 

DNR Fisheries acquires land along lakes and streams to provide 
fishing opportunities and to protect critical fish habitat. These areas, 
known as Aquatic Management Areas (AMAs), are posted with signs to 
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indicate allowable uses. Each sign is marked with a letter to easily 
identify permitted activities: 
G General Use AMAs: Permitted activities include angling, non-

motorized travel, wildlife observation, hunting, and trapping. 
R Restricted Use AMAs: Permitted uses include angling, 

nonmotorized travel, and wildlife observation. 
E Easement AMAs: Only angling is allowed unless otherwise 

indicated. 

The following uses are prohibited except where specifically designated: 
• No motorized vehicles. 
•	 No campfires or overnight camping or parking of vehicle, trailer, 

or boat. 
•	 No destruction, disturbance, or removal of plants, trees, other 

vegetative material, signs, posts, fences, gates, buildings, or other 
property (except that edible fruits, seeds and mushrooms may be 
removed for personal use). 

• No target, trap, skeet, or indiscriminate shooting. 
•	 No construction of a building, dock, fence, billboard, sign, or other 

structure (except that portable stands are permitted if they are 
removed after legal shooting hours). 

•	 No livestock, horses, or other domestic animals (except dogs 
controlled by the owner). 

•	 No disposal of garbage, trash, spoil, sludge, rocks, vehicles, carcasses, 
or other debris. 

CATCH-AND-RELEASE 

Improved fishing technology and increasing fishing pressure have 
caused fishing quality to decline in many waters. Catch-and-release 
fishing offers anglers a way to enjoy their sport with less harm to the 
resource. Each year, more anglers discover the satisfaction of watching 
a fish they’ve caught swim away. Here are some tips for proper catch-
and-release: 
• Don’t place fish you plan to release on a stringer or in a livewell, 

because they have less chance of surviving. Make the decision to 
release a fish when you catch it. 

•	 Play and land the fish quickly. A prolonged struggle places too much 
stress on a fish and causes a build-up of harmful lactic acids. 

•	 Handle the fish gently and keep it in the water as much as possible. 
If possible, unhook the fish without lifting it from the water. 

•	 When lifting fish for a photograph or just to admire it, don’t hold it 
by the eye sockets or gills. You can damage the internal organs of 
fish, especially larger ones, by lifting them from the water. Use both 
hands to evenly support the fish’s weight. 

•	 Use a pliers to remove hooks. 
continued on next page 



62 2002 MN Fishing Regulations 

•	 If a hook is deeply imbedded, cut the line. Fish have strong digestive 
acids which will dissolve metal. Studies have shown that fish released 
in this manner have a higher survival rate than do fish that have had 
hooks torn from their throat or stomach. 

• 	A fish that can be legally kept should not be released if it is bleeding 
heavily, which indicates its chance of survival is poor. 

• You cannot intentionally fish for any species during its closed season. 
•	 In streams, release fish into calm water. A tired fish placed in fast 

water can die by tumbling downstream into rocks. 
• Gently slide the fish back into the water. 

☞ 

Note: These figures are rough estimates only. 
Actual weights vary slightly by lake and stream. 
(Sunfish may be added next year.) 

Weigh Your Fish with a Ruler 
Fish are sometimes damaged when weighed. With this chart, 

you can quickly determine the approximate weight of your fish 
using a ruler or tape measure. 

CRAPPIE TROUT BASS WALLEYE NORTHERN 
length weight length weight length weight length weight length weight 

(inches) (lbs.) (inches) (lbs.) (inches) (lbs.) (inches) (lbs.) (inches) (lbs.) 

8 0.4 8 0.2 12 1.0 14 1.0 24 3.9 
9 0.6 9 0.3 13 1.3 15 1.2 25 4.4 

10 0.8 10 0.4 14 1.7 16 1.5 26 5.0 
11 1.1 11 0.6 15 2.1 17 1.8 27 5.6 
12 1.4 12 0.8 16 2.5 18 2.2 28 6.2 
13 1.8 13 0.9 17 3.0 19 2.5 29 7.0 
14 2.2 14 1.1 18 3.6 20 3.0 30 7.7 
15 2.8 15 1.4 19 4.2 21 3.4 31 8.5 
16 3.4 16 1.6 20 5.0 22 3.9 32 9.3 
17 4.1 17 1.8 21 5.7 23 4.5 33 10.2 

18 2.3 22 6.6 24 5.1 34 11.2 
23 7.6 25 5.7 35 12.2 

26 6.5 36 13.3 
27 7.2 37 14.5 
28 8.1 38 15.7 
29 9.0 39 16.9 

40 18.3 
41 19.6 
42 21.2 

MANAGING MINNESOTA’S FISHERIES 

The DNR Division of Fisheries is responsible for managing the 
state’s diverse fisheries resources. Each year, roughly 2 million people fish 
in Minnesota, and sport fishing generates approximately $1.9 billion in 
direct expenditures, making angling one of the state’s largest industries. 

The Resource 
•	 Minnesota has 11,482 lakes 10 acres or larger, of which about 5,400 

are fishing lakes. Excluding Lake Superior, the state has 3.8 million 
acres of fishing water. Minnesota’s portion of Lake Superior is 
1.4 million acres. 

•	 There are 15,000 miles of fishable streams in Minnesota, including 
2,600 miles of trout streams. 
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The Division of Fisheries 
•	 The DNR Division of Fisheries has a full-time staff of 313. There are 

6 regional and 28 area fisheries offices. 
•	 The state operates 17 hatcheries: 5 for trout and salmon and 12 for 

coolwater species. 
•	 The annual budget for the Division of Fisheries is approximately 

$27 million, which is funded primarily by fishing license and stamp 
fees. 

• 	Much of Minnesota’s fisheries program is reimbursed by the Federal 
Aid in Sport Fish Restoration Program (federal excise tax), adminis­
tered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. 

Management 

☞ 

☞ 

•	 Surveys: Fisheries personnel conduct lake, stream, and creel surveys to 
produce management plans for hundreds of lakes and streams each 
year. This information is used to protect and improve the state’s 
fisheries resource. 

•	 Research: Fisheries research is conducted to find new and more 
efficient ways to manage fisheries. 

•	 Trout habitat: Ongoing habitat improvement and maintenance work 
is conducted on trout streams that have publicly owned land or 
easements. 

•	 Fish tagging: As part of research projects, DNR biologists sometimes 
place small tags in fish. If you catch a tagged fish, please report the 
date, location, species, and size of the fish you caught, as well as the 
tag number, to the nearest DNR Fisheries office (see pg. 67–68) 

•	 Liberalized fishing: In late winter, some shallow lakes suffer winterkill. 
This means the snow and ice were so thick that plants didn’t get 
enough sunlight and have died, using up oxygen needed by fish 
when they decompose. When the DNR knows a lake will fully 
winterkill, it allows temporary liberalized fishing, which means there 
are no limits on this water. This is intended to prevent unnecessary 
waste of fish. (See DNR web site for more information.) 

•	 Lake rehabilitation: These projects reclaim waters suffering from 
habitat degradation and overpopulation of some fish species. 

•	 Spawning habitat improvements: This can enhance naturally 
reproducing populations of species such as walleye and northerns. 

•	 Stocking: DNR fisheries personnel stock game fish fry and fingerlings 
in lakes lacking habitat for natural reproduction. 

•	 Fishing piers: These are installed on lakes to provide opportunities for 
shore fishing. 

•	 Habitat acquisition: The DNR buys lands next to lakes and streams 
to protect spawning areas and shoreline vegetation, and it increases 
access to fishing waters. 

•	 Education: Each year, the MinnAqua program teaches beginning 
anglers, primarily inner city youth, about fishing and aquatic biology. 

• Fisheries personnel also monitor and regulate aquaculture, fishing 

continued on next page 
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tournaments, commercial fishing operations, aquatic plant manage­
ment, and aeration. 

MASTER ANGLER PROGRAM 

☞	 Starting in 2002, anglers can qualify to become a Minnesota Master 
Angler. This new program, cosponsored by G. Loomis Rods, the 
Minnesota DNR, and the Minnesota Fishing Hall of Fame, will 
recognize anglers who catch large fish of various species. Categories 
include adult, youth, and catch-and-release. Awards for more than 50 
fish species include: a pin, a certificate, and a place on the new state 
Master Angler honor role. 

For more information on becoming a Master Angler, visit the web 
site at: www.minnesotafishinghalloffame.com. 

STATE RECORD FISH 

Catching a big fish, no matter what the species, is always a thrill, 
and it usually requires exceptional fishing skill. To recognize the 
achievements of anglers who catch the biggest fish in each species, the 
DNR annually presents an award of recognition to any angler who 
breaks a state record. 

If you catch a fish that you think could be a record, follow these steps: 
•	 Weigh the fish on a state-certified scale (found at most bait shops 

and butcher shops), witnessed by two observers. 
•	 Take the fish to a DNR fisheries office for positive identification and 

a state record fish application. 
•	 Complete the application and send it along with a clear, full-length 

photo of your fish to the address listed on the form. 

The following is a complete list of Minnesota’s state record fish and 
where they were caught. Weights given are in pounds and ounces 
(example: 55–5 is 55 pounds, 5 ounces). Counties are in parentheses. 

Bass, Largemouth: 8–13, Tetonka Lake (LeSueur).

Bass, Rock: 2–0, Osakis Lake (Todd).

Bass, Smallmouth: 8–0, West Battle Lake (Otter Tail).

Bass, White: 4–0, St. Croix River (Washington); and 4–0, Genoa 


Barge (Houston). 
Bluegill: 2–13, Alice Lake (Hubbard). 
Bowfin: 10–15, Mary Lake (Douglas); and 10–15, French Lake (Rice). 
Buffalo, Bigmouth: 41–11, Mississippi River (Goodhue). 
Buffalo, Black: 20–0, Minnesota River (Nicollet). 
Buffalo, Smallmouth: 13–4, Mississippi River (Ramsey). 
Bullhead, Black: 3–13, Reno Lake (Pope). 
Bullhead, Brown: 7–1, Shallow Lake (Itasca). 
Bullhead, Yellow: 3–10, Osakis Lake (Todd). 
Burbot: 19–3, Lake of the Woods (Lake of the Woods). 
Carp: 55–5, Clearwater Lake (Wright). 
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Carpsucker, River: 3–15, Mississippi River (Ramsey).

Catfish, Channel: 38–0, Mississippi River (Hennepin).

Catfish, Flathead: 70–0, St. Croix River (Washington).

Crappie, Black: 5–0, Vermillion River (Dakota).

Crappie, White: 3–4, Coon Lake (Anoka).

Drum, Freshwater: 35–3, Mississippi River (Winona).

Eel, American: 6–9, St. Croix River (Washington).

Gar, Longnose: 16–12, St. Croix River (Washington).

Gar, Shortnose: 4–10, Mississippi River (Hennepin).

Goldeye: 2–13, Root River (Houston).

Hogsucker, Northern: 1–15, Sunrise River (Chisago).

Mooneye: 1–15, Minnesota River (Redwood).

Muskellunge: 54–0, Lake Winnibigoshish (Itasca).

Muskellunge, Tiger: 34–12, Lake Elmo (Washington).

Perch, Yellow: 3–4, Lake Plantaganette (Hubbard).

Pike, Northern: 45–12, Basswood Lake (Lake).

Pumpkinseed: 1–6, Leech Lake (Cass).

Quillback: 6–14, Mississippi River (Ramsey).

Redhorse, Golden: 2–13, Otter Tail River (Otter Tail).

Redhorse, Greater: 11–13, Upper South Long Lake (Crow Wing).

Redhorse, River: 10–3, Kettle River (Pine).

Redhorse, Shorthead: 7–15, Rum River (Anoka).

Redhorse, Silver: 7–9, Rainy River (Koochiching).

Salmon, Atlantic: 12–13, Baptism River (Lake).

Salmon, Chinook: 33–4, Poplar River (Cook); and


33–4, Lake Superior (St. Louis). 
Salmon, Coho: 10–7, Lake Superior (Lake). 
Salmon, Kokanee: 2–15, Caribou Lake (Itasca). 
Salmon, Pink: 4–8, Cascade River (Cook). 
Sauger: 6–3, Mississippi River (Goodhue). 
Splake: 13–6, Larson Lake (Itasca). 
Sturgeon, Lake: 94–4, Kettle River (Pine). 
Sturgeon, Shovelnose: 5–5, Mississippi River (Goodhue). 
Sucker, Blue: 14–3, Mississippi River (Wabasha). 
Sucker, Longnose: 3–2, Rainy River (Koochiching). 
Sucker, White: 9–1, Big Fish Lake (Stearns). 
Sunfish, Green: 1–3, Scheuble Lake (Carver). 
Sunfish, Hybrid: 1–12, Zumbro River (Olmsted). 
Trout, Brook: 6–5, Pigeon River (Cook). 
Trout, Brown: 16–12, Lake Superior (St. Louis). 
Trout, Lake: 43–8, Lake Superior (Cook). 
Trout, Rainbow (Steelhead): 17–6, Knife River (Lake). 
Trout, Tiger: 2–9, Mill Creek (Olmsted). 
Tullibee (Cisco): 4–5, Lake of the Woods (Lake of the Woods). 
Walleye: 17–8, Seagull River (Cook). 
Walleye-Sauger Hybrid: 9–13, Mississippi River (Goodhue). 
Whitefish, Lake: 12–5, Leech Lake (Cass). 
Whitefish, Menominee: 2–8, Lake Superior (Cook). 



66 2002 MN Fishing Regulations 

ADDRESSES AND TELEPHONE NUMBERS 

Licenses 
DNR License Bureau 

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4026 

Watercraft Registration: (800) 285-2000

Phone License Sales: (888) 665-4236


General Information/Licensing/Public Access Maps 
DNR Information Center 
500 Lafayette Road 
St. Paul, MN 55155-4040 
(651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 
Telecommunications for the Deaf 
(651) 296-5484 or (800) 657-3929TDD 

Reporting Fish and Game Violations 
Turn In Poachers (TIP) has a statewide, 24-hour toll-free hotline.

Callers may remain anonymous. 

(800) 652-9093


Lake Maps 
Minnesota Bookstore 

117 University Avenue

St. Paul, MN 55155 

(651) 297-3000 or (800) 657-3757


Lake Survey Reports and Fisheries Brochures 
DNR Fisheries 
500 Lafayette Road 
St. Paul, MN 55155-4012 
(651) 296-3325 

DNR Web Site (Including Lake Survey Reports) 
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us 

Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness 
Note: Permits and reservations are not under DNR jurisdiction. This 
is a national forest wilderness area. For information, contact: 
Superior National Forest 
8901 Grand Avenue Place 
Duluth, MN 55808 
Information (218) 626-4300 
Reservations (877) 550-6777 
www.bwcaw.org 

Information on and Reporting Harmful Exotic Species 
(651) 296-2835 or (888) 646-6367 
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DNR FISHERIES OFFICES (651) 296-5484 or (800) 657-3929 TDD 

Region IIRegion I 

Region III 

Region IV Region V 

Region VI 

NORTHWEST REGION 1 
2115 Birchmont 
Beach Road N.E. 
Bemidji, MN 56601 
(218) 755-3959 

Baudette Area Office 
204 Main Street E. 
Baudette, MN 56623 
(218) 634-2522 

Bemidji Area Office 
2114 Bemidji Avenue 
Bemidji, MN 56601 
(218) 755-2974 

Detroit Lakes Area Office 
14583 Cnty. Hwy.19 
Detroit Lakes, MN 56501 
(218) 847-1579 

Fergus Falls Area Office 
1221 Fir Avenue East 
Fergus Falls, MN 56537 
(218) 739-7576 

Glenwood Area Office 
23070 N. Lakeshore Drive 
Glenwood, MN 56334 
(320) 634-4573 

Park Rapids Area Office 
301 S. Grove Avenue 
Park Rapids, MN 56470 
(218) 732-4153 

Walker Area Office 
07316 State 371 NW 
Walker, MN 56484 
(218) 547-1683 

NORTHEAST REGION 2 
1201 East Highway 2 
Grand Rapids, MN 55744 
(218) 327-4414 

Grand Rapids 
Area Office 

1201 E. Highway 2 
Grand Rapids, MN 55744 
(218) 327-4430 

Duluth and Lake 
Superior Area Office 
5351 North Shore Drive 
Duluth, MN 55804 
(218) 525-0853 

Tower Area Office 
650 Highway 169 
Tower, MN 55790 
(218) 753-2580 ext. 221 

Grand Marais Area Office 
P.O. Box 146

Grand Marais, MN 55604

(218) 387-3056


International Falls 
Area Office 

392 E. Hwy. 11 
Intl. Falls, MN 56649 
(218) 286-5220 
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Finland Area Office 
P.O. Box 546

Finland, MN 55603

(218) 353-7591


CENTRAL REGION 3

1601 Minnesota Drive 

Brainerd, MN 56401 

(218) 828-2624


Aitkin Area Office 
P.O. Box 138

1200 Minnesota Ave. S.

Aitkin, MN 56431-0138

(218) 927-3751


Brainerd Area Office 
1601 Minnesota Drive

Brainerd, MN 56401

(218) 828-2550


Hinckley Area Office 
P.O. Box 398

306 Power Ave. No.

Hinckley, MN 55037

(320) 384-7721


Little Falls Area Office 
16543 Haven Road

Little Falls, MN 56345

(320) 616-2450


Montrose Area Office 
7372 State Hwy. 25 S.W.

Montrose, MN 55363

(763) 675-3301


SOUTHWEST REGION 4

261 Hwy. 15 S. 

New Ulm, MN 56073 -8915

(507) 359-6000


Hutchinson Area Office 
20596 Hwy. 7

Hutchinson, MN 55350

(320) 234-2550


Ortonville Area Office 
410 Pine St.

Ortonville, MN 56278

(320) 839-2656


Spicer Area Office 
P.O. Box 457

Spicer, MN 56288

(320) 796-2161


Waterville Area Office 
P.O. Box 86

50317 Fish Hatchery Rd.

Waterville, MN 56096

(507) 362-4223


Windom Area Office 
175 Co. Rd. 26

Windom, MN 56101-1868

(507) 831-2919


SOUTHEAST REGION 5

2300 Silver Creek Rd. N.E. 

Rochester, MN 55906 

(507) 285-7427


Lake City Area Office 
1801 South Oak St.

Lake City, MN 55041

1-(651) 345-3365


Lanesboro Area Office 
Route 2, Box 85

Lanesboro, MN 55949

(507) 467-2442


METRO REGION 6

1200 Warner Road

St. Paul, MN 55106

(651) 772-7950


Metro East 
1200 Warner Road 

St. Paul, MN 55106 

(651) 772-7950


Metro West 
9925 Valley View Road 

Eden Prairie, MN 

55344-3526

(952) 826-6771




often? 
Most fish are healthy to eat. 
And fish are an excellent source 
of low-fat protein. 

But any fish (store-bought or 
sport-caught) could contain 
contaminants such as mercury 
and PCBs that can harm human 
health — especially the devel­
opment of children and fetuses. 

The Minnesota Dept. of Health 
provides advice on how often 
fish can be safely eaten. The 
consumption guidelines below 
are based on mercury levels 

measured in fish from lakes 
across the state. Specific advice 
for waters where fish have been 
tested is on the DNR web site 
(www.dnr.state.mn.us) and in 
DNR lake survey reports. 

Tips for reducing 
contaminants 
1. Eat smaller fish. Large fish 

contain higher levels of 
contaminants. 

2. Eat more panfish (sunfish, 
crappies) and fewer pred­
tor fish (walleyes, northern 
pike, lake trout). 

3. Trim skin and fat, especially 
belly fat. Also, eat fewer 
fatty fish such as carp, cat-
fish, and lake trout. PCBs 
build up in fish fat. 

For more information, call the Minn. Dept. of Health at 651/215-0950 
or toll-free 800/657-3908. 

General Consumption Guidelines 

fishEat 

for fish caught in MN 

For Children and Women of Child-bearing Age 
Panfish 1 meal/week 
Walleye < 20 inches 
Northern Pike < 30 inches 1 meal/month 
All sizes of other species not listed 
Walleye > 20 inches 
Northern Pike > 30 inches Do not eat 
Muskellunge 

For Other Adults 
Panfish Unlimited 
All sizes of other species 1 meal/week 
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SUNRISE/SUNSET TABLES 

•	 This table is provided primarily for trout and salmon anglers who 
need to know the sunrise and sunset times on the waters they fish. 

•	 Times shown are Central Daylight Saving Time beginning April 7, 
2002 through October 26, 2002. Central Standard Time for all 
other dates. 

•	 The times in the table below are for the longitudinal line running 
north and south through Minneapolis/St. Paul. To use the table to 
find the sunrise or sunset hours on the water you fish, locate the 
water on the map at right and add or subtract the minutes shown 
above the map to the time in the table. 

JAN. FEB. MAR. APR. MAY JUNE 
Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set 
AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PMDAY 

1 7:52 4:42 7:33 5:21 6:52 6:00 5:55 6:41 6:03 8:18 5:30 8:52 
2 7:52 4:43 7:32 5:22 6:50 6:02 5:53 6:42 6:02 8:20 5:29 8:53 
3 7:52 4:44 7:31 5:24 6:48 6:03 5:51 6:43 6:00 8:21 5:29 8:54 
4 7:52 4:45 7:30 5:25 6:46 6:04 5:49 6:44 5:59 8:22 5:28 8:55 

7:51 4:46 7:29 5:27 6:45 6:06 5:47 6:46 5:57 8:23 5:28 8:56 

6 7:51 4:47 7:27 5:28 6:43 6:07 5:45 6:47 5:56 8:24 5:28 8:56 
7 7:51 4:48 7:26 5:29 6:41 6:08 6:43 7:48 5:55 8:26 5:27 8:57 
8 7:51 4:49 7:25 5:31 6:39 6:10 6:42 7:49 5:53 8:27 5:27 8:58 
9 7:51 4:50 7:23 5:32 6:37 6:11 6:40 7:51 5:52 8:28 5:27 8:58 

7:50 4:52 7:22 5:34 6:36 6:12 6:38 7:52 5:51 8:29 5:26 8:59 

11 7:50 4:53 7:20 5:35 6:34 6:14 6:36 7:53 5:49 8:30 5:26 8:59 
12 7:50 4:54 7:19 5:37 6:32 6:15 6:34 7:54 5:48 8:32 5:26 9:00 
13 7:49 4:55 7:18 5:38 6:30 6:16 6:33 7:56 5:47 8:33 5:26 9:01 
14 7:49 4:56 7:16 5:39 6:28 6:18 6:31 7:57 5:46 8:34 5:26 9:01 

7:48 4:58 7:15 5:41 6:26 6:19 6:29 7:58 5:45 8:35 5:26 9:01 

16 7:48 4:59 7:13 5:42 6:25 6:20 6:27 7:59 5:43 8:36 5:26 9:02 
17 7:47 5:00 7:12 5:44 6:23 6:21 6:26 8:01 5:42 8:37 5:26 9:02 
18 7:46 5:01 7:10 5:45 6:21 6:23 6:24 8:02 5:41 8:38 5:26 9:03 
19 7:46 5:03 7:08 5:46 6:19 6:24 6:22 8:03 5:40 8:40 5:26 9:03 

7:45 5:04 7:07 5:48 6:17 6:25 6:21 8:05 5:39 8:41 5:26 9:03 

21 7:44 5:05 7:05 5:49 6:15 6:27 6:19 8:06 5:38 8:42 5:26 9:03 
22 7:43 5:07 7:04 5:51 6:13 6:28 6:17 8:07 5:37 8:43 5:27 9:04 
23 7:42 5:08 7:02 5:52 6:11 6:29 6:16 8:08 5:36 8:44 5:27 9:04 
24 7:42 5:10 7:00 5:53 6:10 6:30 6:14 8:10 5:36 8:45 5:27 9:04 

7:41 5:11 6:59 5:55 6:08 6:32 6:12 8:11 5:35 8:46 5:27 9:04 

26 7:40 5:12 6:57 5:56 6:06 6:33 6:11 8:12 5:34 8:47 5:28 9:04 
27 7:39 5:14 6:55 5:58 6:04 6:34 6:09 8:13 5:33 8:48 5:28 9:04 
28 7:38 5:15 6:53 5:59 6:02 6:35 6:08 8:15 5:32 8:49 5:29 9:04 
29 7:37 5:17 6:00 6:37 6:06 8:16 5:32 8:50 5:29 9:04 

7:36 5:18 5:58 6:38 6:05 8:17 5:31 8:51 5:30 9:04 

31 7:35 5:19 5:56 6:39 5:30 8:52 
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Example: Whitewater 
State Park is in the 
“Subtract 8 Minutes” 
time zone. Therefore, 
sunrise there on June 
10 will be 5:18 a.m. 
(5:26 minus 8 
minutes). 

16 12 8 4 4 8 12
{ { 

* 

Add Subtract 

Minutes to 
add or subtract 
from tables 
below. 

*In tables below 

° °97 96 95° 94° 93° 92° 91° 90° 

JULY AUG. SEPT. OCT. NOV. DEC. 
Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set 
AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM DAY 
5:30 9:04 5:58 8:40 6:35 7:51 7:11 6:54 6:51 5:02 7:31 4:33 1 
5:31 9:03 5:59 8:39 6:36 7:49 7:12 6:52 6:53 5:00 7:32 4:33 2 
5:31 9:03 6:00 8:38 6:37 7:47 7:13 6:51 6:54 4:59 7:33 4:33 3 
5:32 9:03 6:01 8:36 6:38 7:45 7:14 6:49 6:55 4:58 7:34 4:32 4 
5:32 9:02 6:03 8:35 6:39 7:44 7:16 6:47 6:57 4:56 7:35 4:32 5 

5:33 9:02 6:04 8:34 6:41 7:42 7:17 6:45 6:58 4:55 7:36 4:32 6 
5:34 9:02 6:05 8:32 6:42 7:40 7:18 6:43 6:59 4:54 7:37 4:32 7 
5:35 9:01 6:06 8:31 6:43 7:38 7:19 6:41 7:01 4:53 7:38 4:32 8 
5:35 9:01 6:07 8:29 6:44 7:36 7:21 6:40 7:02 4:51 7:39 4:32 9 
5:36 9:00 6:08 8:28 6:45 7:34 7:22 6:38 7:04 4:50 7:40 4:32 10 

5:37 9:00 6:10 8:26 6:47 7:32 7:23 6:36 7:05 4:49 7:41 4:32 11 
5:38 8:59 6:11 8:25 6:48 7:30 7:25 6:34 7:06 4:48 7:42 4:32 12 
5:39 8:59 6:12 8:23 6:49 7:28 7:26 6:32 7:08 4:47 7:43 4:32 13 
5:39 8:58 6:13 8:22 6:50 7:27 7:27 6:31 7:09 4:46 7:44 4:32 14 
5:40 8:57 6:14 8:20 6:51 7:25 7:28 6:29 7:10 4:45 7:44 4:32 15 

5:41 8:56 6:16 8:18 6:53 7:23 7:30 6:27 7:12 4:44 7:45 4:32 16 
5:42 8:56 6:17 8:17 6:54 7:21 7:31 6:25 7:13 4:43 7:46 4:33 17 
5:43 8:55 6:18 8:15 6:55 7:19 7:32 6:24 7:14 4:42 7:46 4:33 18 
5:44 8:54 6:19 8:14 6:56 7:17 7:34 6:22 7:16 4:41 7:47 4:33 19 
5:45 8:53 6:20 8:12 6:57 7:15 7:35 6:20 7:17 4:40 7:48 4:34 20 

5:46 8:52 6:22 8:10 6:59 7:13 7:36 6:19 7:18 4:39 7:48 4:34 21 
5:47 8:51 6:23 8:09 7:00 7:11 7:38 6:17 7:20 4:39 7:49 4:35 22 
5:48 8:50 6:24 8:07 7:01 7:09 7:39 6:16 7:21 4:38 7:49 4:35 23 
5:49 8:49 6:25 8:05 7:02 7:08 7:40 6:14 7:22 4:37 7:50 4:36 24 
5:50 8:48 6:26 8:03 7:03 7:06 7:42 6:12 7:24 4:36 7:50 4:37 25 

5:51 8:47 6:28 8:02 7:05 7:04 7:43 6:11 7:25 4:36 7:50 4:37 26 
5:52 8:46 6:29 8:00 7:06 7:02 6:44 5:09 7:26 4:35 7:51 4:38 27 
5:54 8:45 6:30 7:58 7:07 7:00 6:46 5:08 7:27 4:35 7:51 4:39 28 
5:55 8:44 6:31 7:56 7:08 6:58 6:47 5:06 7:28 4:34 7:51 4:39 29 
5:56 8:43 6:32 7:55 7:09 6:56 6:48 5:05 7:30 4:34 7:51 4:40 30 

5:57 8:41 6:33 7:53 6:50 5:03 7:51 4:41 31 
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For Your Information 
FISHING ETHICS 

Fishing in Minnesota has become so popular that many lakes are 
now overcrowded. As fishing pressure continues to grow, the DNR 
offers these suggestions to make fishing safe and enjoyable for 
all anglers: 
• Don’t litter monofilament fishing line, styrofoam, plastic bags, 

six-pack holders, and other plastics, which can kill fish and 
wildlife that eat or get tangled up in these products. 

• Prepare your boat and trailer before you are on the ramp so that 
you can launch quickly. 

• Ask for permission before entering private land. 
• Keep only the amount of fish you can use. 
• Release some medium-sized fish so they can grow larger and be 

caught in the future. 

For Your Information 
FEDERAL AID IN SPORT FISH RESTORATION 

More than a third of DNR fisheries 
management work in Minnesota comes from 
Federal Aid in Sport Fish Restoration funding. 
Also known as the Dingell-Johnson Act for its 
congressional sponsors, this legislation was 
established in 1950 to boost funding for state 
fisheries management programs. The act authorizes a 10 
percent federal tax on rods, reels, tackle boxes, lures, and 
other fishing gear. The money goes to the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service and then is returned to states based on their 
size and number of anglers. An amendment in 1984 increased 
the revenue by also taxing boat fuels. 

Sport Fish Restoration funds are spent on hatcheries, 
habitat improvements, boat ramps, fishing piers, research, 
education, planning, and other important fisheries 
management work. Minnesota gets roughly $8 million per 
year from this program. 



74 2002 MN Fishing Regulations 

Definitions 
Some anglers might not be familiar with the following terms used 

in this synopsis: 
“Tributary”—A stream or river that flows into a lake or a larger 

stream or river. 
“Designated stream trout lakes”—These 178 waters have been 

stocked with trout that are native to streams: rainbow, brown, or 
brook trout. Some also have splake, a cross between a lake trout and 
a brook trout. 

“Inland waters”—Lakes and rivers within Minnesota not 
bordering Canada or another state. 

“Combined”—A combination of two or more fish species 
included in one limit. 

“Minimum size limit”—Fish under this size must be released. 
“Total length”—See illustration on page 25. 



“We’re out 

to improve


your fishing”

It’s our goal at DNR shorefishing sites in 
Fisheries to improve urban and suburban 
fishing and the fishing neighborhood lakes. 
experience for anglers. How will we 
What do we mean by accomplish all this? By 
improving your fishing? protecting and improving 
Some examples: fish habitat, monitoring 
1. Increasing the aver- fish populations, adjust-

age size of fish you 
catch. 

2. Producing more trophy fish 
waters. 

3. Reducing time between bites. 
4. Improving fishing access and 

information for shore anglers 
(especially in urban areas), anglers 
with disabilities, single parents 
and young anglers. 

5. Providing more maps, reports, 
and other data that anglers use to 
decide where to fish. 
Minnesota has always been 

famous for providing an astounding 
range of fishing opportunities. Our 
vision for the future is to provide 
anglers with even more opportuni­
ties and options for the fishing exper­
ience they want. That means more 
lakes where you can catch big 

walleyes, north­
erns, and bass; 
more streams for 
12-inch-plus trout; 
plenty of waters 
where you can 
take home a mess 
of fish for the fry­
ing pan; and more 

Turn in 
Poachers 

800-652-9093 

ing harvest regulations, 
increasing access, and 

stocking fish. 
For years, this work has been at 

the heart of fisheries management. It 
has allowed Minnesota to remain 
one of the best states for fishing, 
where $1.8 billion is spent on the 
sport each year. Our goal is to keep 
doing that work, but doing it better 
and with even better results for 
anglers. 

Ron Payer 
DIRECTOR, DNR FISHERIES 

P.S. This year we’ve teamed up 
with the Minnesota Fishing Hall 
of Fame and G. Loomis Rods on 
a new Master Angler Program to 
recognize fishing excellence. 
See page 64 of these regulations 
and the Hall of Fame’s website 
(www.fishinghalloffame.com) 
for details. 

Minnesota DNR 
(651) 296-6157 
(888) 646-6367 
www.dnr.state.mn.us 


