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MinnesotaCare

MinnesotaCare is a jointly funded, federal-state program administered by the
Minnesota Department of Human Services that provides subsidized health
coverage to eligible Minnesotans. This information brief describes eligibility
requirements, covered services, and other aspects of the program.

Note: Individuals who have questions about MinnesotaCare eligibility or are interested in
applying for MinnesotaCare should call the Minnesota Department of Human Services at
651-297-3862 (in the metro area) or 1-800-657-3672.
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Administration

MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS). DHS
is responsible for processing applications and determining eligibility, contracting with managed
care plans, monitoring spending on the program, and developing administrative rules. County
human services agencies are responsible for determining Medical Assistance (MA) and General
Assistance Medical Care (GAMC) eligibility for applicants for those programs. County human
services agencies are also responsible for determining MinnesotaCare eligibility and managing
MinnesotaCare cases for GAMC enrollees who transition to MinnesotaCare (See page 7). Some
county human services agencies have elected to process additional MinnesotaCare applications
and manage additional MinnesotaCare cases.

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals must meet income limits and satisfy other
requirements related to residency and lack of access to health insurance. MinnesotaCare
eligibility must be renewed every 12 months.*

Income Limits

Children? and parents, legal guardians, foster parents, or relative caretakers residing in the same
household are eligible for MinnesotaCare, if their gross household income does not exceed 275
percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG) and if other eligibility requirements are met.
However, parents, legal guardians, foster parents, and relative caretakers are not eligible if their
gross annual income exceeds $50,000, regardless of whether their income exceeds 275 percent of
FPG. This annual income cap will increase to $57,500, effective July 1, 2010, or upon federal
approval, whichever is later. Different eligibility requirements and premiums apply to children
from households with gross incomes that do not exceed 150 percent of FPG.

Single adults and households without children are eligible for MinnesotaCare if their gross
household incomes do not exceed 200 percent of FPG? and they meet other eligibility
requirements. The income limit for this eligibility group will be increased to 250 percent of FPG
beginning July 1, 2009.

! The statutory change increasing the renewal period from six to 12 months was effective July 1, 2007; the
change codified existing practice.

2 A child is defined in the law as an individual under 21 years of age, including the unborn child of a pregnant
woman and an emancipated minor and that person’s spouse.

® The income limit for adults and households without children was increased from 175 percent to 200 percent
of FPG on January 1, 2008.
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Extended Coverage for Children

On October 31, 2008, the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) denied a request by
the state to allow children age one through 18 who become ineligible for Medical Assistance (MA) due to
excess income to be eligible for two additional months of MA* and be automatically eligible for
MinnesotaCare until the next MinnesotaCare renewal. These children would have been exempt until
renewal from the MinnesotaCare income limit and from the requirement that MinnesotaCare enrollees
have no current access to employer-subsidized coverage, no access to employer-subsidized coverage
through the current employer for 18 months prior to application or reapplication, and no other health
coverage while enrolled or for at least four months prior to application or renewal. These children would
have been required to pay the standard MinnesotaCare sliding scale premiums to enroll and remain
enrolled.

The coverage extension was authorized by the 2007 Legislature in Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13,
and was to have been effective October 1, 2008, or upon federal approval. In a letter to CMS, the
Minnesota Department of Human Services has indicated that it plans to resubmit the request.

Enrollees whose incomes rise above program income limits after initial enrollment are
disenrolled from the program. Children are exempt from this requirement and can remain
enrolled in MinnesotaCare if 10 percent of their gross individual or family income for a six-
month period is less than the six-month premium of the $500-deductible policy offered by the
Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association (MCHA).®

Table 1 lists categories of persons eligible for MinnesotaCare, eligibility criteria, and enrollee
cost (see table on page 11 for sample sliding scale premiums). Table 2 lists program income
limits for different family sizes.

* These two additional months would have been in addition to the transitional MA coverage that is available to
persons who lose MA eligibility due to increased earned or unearned income.

® The MCHA offers health insurance to Minnesota residents who have been denied private market coverage
due to pre-existing health conditions.



https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/laws/?id=147&doctype=Chapter&year=2007&type=0
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Table 1
Eligibility for MinnesotaCare*
Household
Eligible Categories Income Limit | Other Eligibility Criteria | Cost to Enrollee
Lower income children 150% of FPG Not otherwise insured for the |$4 per child per

covered services or insurance
is considered underinsured;
residency requirement

month

Other children;

151% - 275% of

No access to employer-

Premium based on

FPG subsidized coverage; no other |sliding scale
health coverage; residency
requirement
Pregnant women 275% of FPG No access to employer- Premium based on

subsidized coverage; no other
health coverage; residency
requirement

sliding scale

caretakers

Parents and relative

275% of FPG or
$50,000,
whichever is less

No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other
health coverage; residency
requirement; asset limit

Premium based on
sliding scale

Single adults, households
without children

200% of FPG**

No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other
health coverage; residency
requirement; asset limit

Premium based on
sliding scale

* Exceptions to these requirements are noted in the text.
** To be increased to 250% of FPG effective July 1, 2009.

Table 2

Annual Household Income Limits for MinnesotaCare
(Effective July 1, 2008)

Household | Lower Income Children Adults Without Children | Families and Children
Size* 150% of 2008 FPG 200% of 2008 FPG 275% of 2008 FPG**
1 $15,600 $20,808 $28,608
2 21,000 28,008 38,508
3 26,400 Not eligible 48,408
4 31,800 Not eligible 58,308
Each Additional Add $5,400 Not applicable Add $9,900
Person
* Pregnant women are households of two.
** Parents are not eligible once income exceeds $50,000.




House Research Department Updated: December 2008
MinnesotaCare Page 5

Asset Limits

MinnesotaCare adult applicants and enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to an asset limit,
identical to the Medical Assistance program’s asset limit for parents. This asset limit is $10,000
in total net assets for a household of one person, and $20,000 in total net assets for a household
of two or more persons. Certain items are not considered assets when determining
MinnesotaCare eligibility, including the following:

e the homestead

e household goods and personal effects

e aburial plot for each member of the household

e life insurance policies and assets for burial expenses, up to the limits established for the
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program

e capital and operating assets of a business up to $200,000

insurance settlements for damaged, destroyed, or stolen property are excluded for three

months if held in escrow

a motor vehicle for each person who is employed or seeking employment

court-ordered settlements of up to $10,000

individual retirement accounts and funds

assets owned by children

workers’ compensation settlements received due to a work-related injury®

Pregnant women and children are exempt from the MinnesotaCare asset limit.

No Access to Employer-Subsidized Coverage

A family or individual must not have access to employer-subsidized health care coverage. A
family or individual must also not have had access to employer-subsidized health care coverage
through a current employer for 18 months prior to application or re-application. Employer-
subsidized coverage is defined as health insurance coverage for which an employer pays 50
percent or more of the premium cost. This requirement applies to each individual. For example,
if an employer contributes 50 percent or more towards the cost of coverage for an employee but
does not contribute 50 percent or more towards the cost of covering that employee’s dependents,
the employee is not eligible for MinnesotaCare but the employee’s dependents are eligible.

The requirement of no current access to employer-subsidized coverage does not apply to the
following:

1. Children from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent of FPG

2. Children enrolled in the Children’s Health Plan as of September 30, 1992 (the precursor
program to MinnesotaCare) who have maintained continuous coverage

® This asset exclusion was approved by the federal government on October 31, 2008, and will be effective
January 1, 20009.
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3. Children who enrolled in the Children’s Health Plan during a transition period following
the establishment of MinnesotaCare

Children referred to in clauses (1) and (2) are, in some cases, also exempt from the no-other-
health-coverage requirement (see section below).

Families or individuals whose employer-subsidized coverage was lost because an employer
terminated health care coverage as an employee benefit during the previous 18 months are also
not eligible for MinnesotaCare.

A family or individual disenrolled from MinnesotaCare because of the availability of employer-
subsidized health coverage, who reapplies for MinnesotaCare within six months of disenrollment
because the employer terminates health care coverage as an employee benefit, is exempt from
the 18-month enrollment restriction related to access to subsidized coverage.

No Other Health Coverage

Enrollees must have no other health coverage and must not have had health insurance coverage
for the four months prior to application or renewal. For purposes of these requirements:

1. MA, General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC), and CHAMPUS (Civilian Health and
Medical Program of the Uniformed Service, also called TRICARE) are not considered
health coverage for purposes of the four-month requirement; and

2. Medicare coverage is considered health coverage, and an applicant or enrollee cannot
refuse Medicare coverage to qualify for MinnesotaCare.

Children from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent’ of FPG and children
enrolled in the original Children’s Health Plan who have maintained continuous coverage are not
subject to the four-month uninsured requirement and may have other health coverage, if the
children are considered “underinsured.” A child is underinsured if:

1. The coverage lacks two or more of the following:

basic hospital insurance

medical-surgical insurance

prescription drug coverage

preventive and comprehensive dental coverage
e preventive and comprehensive vision coverage

2. The coverage requires a deductible of $100 or more per person per year; or

3. The child lacks coverage because the maximum coverage for a particular diagnosis has
been exceeded, or the policy of coverage excludes coverage for that diagnosis.

" The exemption from the four-month uninsured requirement is found only in rule. See Minnesota Rules, part
9506.0020, subpart 3, item A.


https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/rules/?id=9506.0020
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/rules/?id=9506.0020
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Residency Requirement

Pregnant women, families, and children must meet the residency requirements of the Medicaid
program. The Medicaid program requires an individual to demonstrate intent to reside
permanently or for an indefinite period in a state, but it does not include a durational residency
requirement (a requirement that an individual live in a state for a specified period of time before
applying for the program).

In contrast, enrollees who are adults without children must have resided in Minnesota for 180
days prior to application and must also satisfy other criteria relating to permanent residency.

Enrollment of Certain GAMC Applicants and Recipients

Since September 1, 2006, certain General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC) applicants and
recipients have been enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program as adults without children,
immediately following approval of GAMC coverage. These individuals are exempt from
MinnesotaCare premiums, income and asset limits, and eligibility requirements related to not
having other health coverage and not having access to employer-subsidized health insurance for
up to six months until their next six-month renewal. County agencies are required to pay the
enrollee share of MinnesotaCare premiums for these individuals up to the six-month renewal and
have the option of continuing to pay for these premiums beyond this period. At the six-month
renewal, all MinnesotaCare eligibility criteria apply.

GAMC applicants and recipients are exempt from the MinnesotaCare enrollment requirement if
they are any of the following:

e eligible for GAMC as General Assistance or Group Residential Housing recipients;

awaiting a determination of blindness or disability;

unable to meet the MinnesotaCare residency requirement;

homeless;

end-stage renal disease beneficiaries in the Medicare program;

persons enrolled in private health coverage;

certain persons detained by law for less than one year in a county correctional or

detention facility or admitted to a hospital on a criminal hold order;

e persons who receive treatment funded through the Consolidated Chemical
Dependency Treatment Fund; or

e persons residing in the Minnesota sex offender program

Benefits

MinnesotaCare enrollees are covered by several different benefit sets. Pregnant women and
children have access to the broadest range of services and are not required to pay copayments.
Parents and adults without children are covered for most services, but are subject to benefit
limitations and copayments. These differences are summarized in Table 3 below and are
described in more detail in the text.
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Table 3
Overview — MinnesotaCare Covered Services and Cost-Sharing
Eligibility Category Covered Services® Inpatient Hospital Cost-Sharing
Limit
Pregnant women and MA benefit set None None
children
Parents < 175% of FPG |Most MA services None $25 eyeglasses
$3 prescriptions
$3 nonpreventive visit
$6 nonemergency visit to
hospital ER
Parents > 175% and Most MA services $10,000 annual limit for |$25 eyeglasses
< 275% of FPG inpatient hospital $3 prescriptions
services® $3 nonpreventive visit
$6 nonemergency visit to
hospital ER
Adults without children |Most MA services $10,000 annual limit for |$25 eyeglasses
inpatient hospital $3 prescriptions
services $3 nonpreventive visit
$6 nonemergency visit to
hospital ER
10% inpatient hospital,
up to $1,000

Covered Services and Benefit Limitations

Pregnant women and children up to age 21 enrolled in MinnesotaCare can access the full range
of MA services without enrolling in MA, except that abortion services are covered as provided
under the MinnesotaCare program.*® These individuals are exempt from MinnesotaCare benefit
limitations and copayments,** but still must pay MinnesotaCare premiums. Pregnant women and

8 See Table 4 for a list of covered services.

® The state is requesting federal approval to raise the income limit above which patients are subject to this
annual limit (see footnote 13).

% Under MinnesotaCare, abortion services are covered “where the life of the female would be endangered or
substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function would result if the fetus were carried to term; or
where the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest” (Minn. Stat. § 256L.03, subd. 1). Under MA, abortion services
are covered to save the life of the mother and in cases of rape or incest (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 16) and,
as a result of a Minnesota Supreme Court decision, for “therapeutic” reasons (Doe v. Gomez, 542 N.W.2d 17
(1995)). MinnesotaCare enrollees must enroll in the MA program in order to obtain abortion services under the MA
conditions of coverage. Nearly all MinnesotaCare enrollees who are pregnant women are eligible for MA.

1 This change in MinnesotaCare was approved by the federal government in April 1995 as part of the state’s
health care reform waiver (now referred to as the Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus or PMAP+ waiver). The
waiver, and subsequent waiver amendments, exempt Minnesota from various federal requirements, give the state
greater flexibility to expand access to health care through the MinnesotaCare and MA programs, and allow the state
to receive federal contributions (referred to as “federal financial participation” or FFP) for services provided to



https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=256L.03
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=256B.0625
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children up to age two are not disenrolled for failure to pay MinnesotaCare premiums and can
avoid MinnesotaCare premium charges altogether by enrolling in MA.

Parents and adults without children, who are not pregnant, are covered under MinnesotaCare for
most, but not all, services covered under MA.*? Parents with household incomes greater than
200 percent of FPG, and all adults without children, are subject to an annual benefit limit for
impatient hospital services of $10,000.%

Table 4
Covered Services Under MinnesotaCare
Children; Pregnant Parents;
Service Women Adults without children*
Adult mental health rehab/crisis X X
Alcohol/drug treatment X X
Child and teen checkup X
Chiropractic X X
Common carrier transportation X
Dental X X
Emergency room X X
Eye exams X X
Eyeglasses X X
Family planning X X
Hearing aids X X
Home care X X**
Hospice care X X
Hospital stay X X
Immunizations X X
Interpreters (hearing, language) X X

MinnesotaCare enrollees who are children, pregnant women, or parents and relative caretakers of children under age
21. After protracted negotiations, the PMAP+ waiver was reauthorized by the federal Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services for the period October 31, 2008, through June 30, 2011.

12 Effective October 1, 2003, through December 31, 2007, adults without children with incomes greater than 75
percent but not exceeding 175 percent of FPG received coverage under MinnesotaCare for a limited benefit set. The
limited benefit set covered inpatient hospital services (subject to a $10,000 annual limit), physician services,
outpatient hospital and ambulatory surgical center services, chiropractic services, lab and diagnostic services,
diabetic supplies and equipment (added January 1, 2006), and prescription drugs. This coverage was subject to a
$5,000 annual limit on outpatient services, which was eliminated January 1, 2006. The limited benefit set was
eliminated by the 2007 Legislature, effective January 1, 2008. Prior to January 1, 2008, outpatient mental health
coverage for parents and adults without children was limited to diagnostic assessments, psychological testing,
explanation of findings, day treatment, partial hospitalization, psychotherapy, and medication management. This
restriction was eliminated January 1, 2008, except that coverage for mental health case management will not take
effect until January 1, 2009.

3 Federal approval of the increase in the income limit at or above which the annual inpatient hospital benefit
limit applies (from 175 percent to 200 percent of FPG) was obtained on October 31, 2008. The increase in the limit
will take effect April 1, 2009.
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Table 4
Covered Services Under MinnesotaCare
Children; Pregnant Parents;
Service Women Adults without children*
Lab, x-ray, diagnostic X X
Medical equipment and supplies X X
Mental health X X
Mental health case management X X (beginning 1/1/09)
Nursing home/ICF/MR X
Outpatient surgical center X X
Physicians and clinics X X
Physicals/preventive care X X
Prescriptions X X
Rehabilitative therapies X X
School-based services X
Transportation: emergency X X

Transportation: special

* Benefit limitations and cost-sharing requirements apply.
** Personal care attendant and private duty nursing services are covered for children and pregnant
women, but are not covered for parents and adults without children.

Copayments for Adults

Parents and adults without children, who are not pregnant, are subject to the following
copayments:

Copayment of 10 percent of paid charges for inpatient hospital services, up to an annual
maximum of $1,000 per adult or $3,000 per family (This copayment does not apply to

parents and relative caretakers of children under age 21.)
$3 copayment per prescription

$25 copayment per pair of eyeglasses
$3 per nonpreventive visit (does not apply to mental health services)

$6 for nonemergency visits to a hospital emergency room

Enrollee Premiums

$48 Annual Premium

Children enrolling in MinnesotaCare are charged a fixed monthly premium of $4 per child, if
they are from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent of FPG.
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Subsidized Premium Based on Sliding Scale

Children enrolling in MinnesotaCare who do not qualify for the $4 fixed monthly premium
described above and adults enrolling in the program are charged a subsidized premium based
upon a sliding scale. The premium charged ranges from 1.5 percent to 9.8 percent of gross
family income.* The minimum premium is $4 per person per month.

The following table provides sample monthly sliding scale premiums for different income levels
and household sizes. The premiums apply to both families with children and to adults without
children. The premiums will be adjusted in the near future by DHS to reflect recent federal
approval of the elimination of an increase in the MinnesotaCare sliding premium scale (see
footnote 14). Complete premium tables are available on the DHS web site at
edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/Ifserver/legacy/DHS-4139-ENG.

Table 5
Sample Monthly Household Premiums
(as of July 1, 2008)

Household Size

(assumes all household members enroll)
Gross Monthly
Income 1 2* 3 4 5
$250 $4 $8 $12 $12 $12
$500 9 8 12 12 12
$1,000 36 23 18 18 18
$1,500 80 53 42 35 27
$2,000 167 107 87 72 47
$2,500 N.E. 173 133 108 90
$3,000 N.E. 294 208 160 128
$3,500 N.E. N.E. 295 225 186
$4,000 N.E. N.E. 393 334 255
NOTE: N.E. means not eligible to enroll in MinnesotaCare at this income level.
* The maximum income limits for households without children are $1,734 (household of
one) and $2,334 (household of two). The sample premiums listed in the table reflect the
higher income limits that apply to families with children.

' The premium charged will be reduced to a range of 1.5 percent to 8.8 percent of gross income, beginning
with the March 15, 2009, premium billing. This reduction reflects the 2007 Legislature’s elimination, subject to
federal approval, of increases in the MinnesotaCare sliding scale of 0.5 or 1.0 percentage points (depending upon
income), which had been authorized in 2003. Federal approval for the elimination of this increase was received on
October 31, 2008. The 2007 Legislature also eliminated a planned increase of 8 percent in MinnesotaCare
premiums. Federal approval for the elimination of this increase, which had never been implemented, was also
obtained on October 31, 2008.
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Premium Exemption

Members of the military and their families who are determined eligible for MinnesotaCare
within 24 months of the end of the member’s tour of active duty are exempt from premiums for
12 months.™

New Premium Scale

Beginning July 1, 2009, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, MinnesotaCare enrollees
will pay premiums equivalent to the following percentages of gross monthly income specified in
the table below. Children in families with incomes at or below 150 percent of FPG will continue
to pay the minimum premium of $4 per month.

Table 6
New Premium Scale
(as of July 1, 2009, or upon federal approval)

Average Percentage of Gross
Federal Poverty Guideline Range | Monthly Income Paid as Premium
0 - 45% Minimum premium of $4/month
46 - 54 1.1%
55-81 1.6
82-109 2.2
110 - 136 2.9
137 - 164 3.6
165 - 191 4.6
192 - 219 5.6
220 - 248 6.5
249 - 274 7.2
275 - 300 8.0

Prepaid MinnesotaCare

The legislature has authorized the Commissioner of Human Services to contract with health
maintenance organizations and other prepaid health plans to deliver health care services to
MinnesotaCare enrollees. All MinnesotaCare enrollees receive health care services through
prepaid health plans and not through fee-for-service.

Prepaid health plans (sometimes referred to as managed care plans) receive a capitated payment
from DHS for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, and in return are required to provide enrollees with
all covered health care services for a set period of time. A capitated payment is a predetermined,

15 Federal approval for this provision was obtained on October 31, 2008. The provision will take effect
February 1, 2009, and will expire June 30, 2010.
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fixed payment per enrollee that does not vary with the amount or type of health care services
provided. A prepaid health plan reimbursed under capitation does not receive a higher payment
for providing more units of service or more expensive services to an enrollee, nor does it receive
a lower payment for providing fewer units of service or less expensive services to an enrollee.

Under prepaid MinnesotaCare, enrollees select a specific prepaid plan from which to receive
services, obtain services from providers in that plan’s provider network, and follow that plan’s
procedures for seeing specialists and accessing health care services. Enrollee premiums, covered
health care services, and copayments are the same as they would have been under fee-for-service
MinnesotaCare.

Funding and Expenditures

Total payments for health care services provided through MinnesotaCare were $434 million in
fiscal year 2007. Sixty-one percent of this amount was paid for through state payments from the
health care access fund. Enrollee premiums (this category also includes enrollee cost-sharing)
and federal funding received under the Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus (PMAP+)
waiver and a State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP)*® waiver pay for the
remainder.

Funding for the state share of MinnesotaCare costs, and for other health care access initiatives, is
provided by:

e A 2-percent tax on the gross revenues of health care providers, hospitals, surgical centers,
and wholesale drug distributors (sometimes referred to as the “provider tax); and

e A l-percent premium tax on health maintenance organizations, nonprofit health service
plan corporations, and community integrated service networks.

Medicare payments to providers are excluded from gross revenues for purposes of the gross
revenues taxes. Other specified payments, including payments for nursing home services, are
also excluded from gross revenues.

16 The PMAP+ waiver is described in footnote 11 on page 9. The SCHIP waiver, through January 31, 2009,
provides an enhanced federal match of 65 percent for parents and relative caretakers on MinnesotaCare with
incomes greater than 100 percent but not exceeding 200 percent of FPG. Beginning February 1, 2009, this group of
parents and caretakers will receive the regular MA federal match of 50 percent, and the enhanced federal match will
be applied to MinnesotaCare children age 18 or younger with incomes greater than 150 percent but not exceeding
275 percent of FPG. There is no federal match for adults without children.
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MinnesotaCare

MinnesotaCare Funding
(FY 2007)

Federal Share under
Waiver - 31%

State Cost
61%

Enrollee Premiums and Cost
Sharing - 8%

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division

Recipient Profile

As of April 2008, 114,566 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program. Just over
three out of five MinnesotaCare enrollees are children, parents and caretakers, or pregnant

women.

MinnesotaCare Enrollment
(April 2008)

Adults without Children
28%

Families with Children
63%

Adults Transitioned from GAMC
9%

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division
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Application Procedure

Application forms for MinnesotaCare, and additional information on the program, can be
obtained from DHS by calling:

1-800-657-3672 or
651-297-3862 (in the metro area)

Application forms are also available through county social service agencies, health care provider
offices, and other sites in the community. Applications are also available on the Internet at
www.dhs.state.mn.us/HealthCare.

For more information about health care programs, visit the health and human services area of
our web site, www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm.
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