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his issue of SESSION reviews new
laws that came out of the 1984 leg-
4L  islative session and looks at issues,
opmlons and debates that will go on into 1985.

It also calls our attention to the proposed
constitutional amendments we’ll be voting on
in November. It gives us an overview of what
Minnesota’s done about the nationwide prob-
lem of child abuse and missing children and
how we’ve toughened illegal gambling laws.
And it reminds us of the need to save energy.

Statistics show that we may some day again
face the long gas lines of a few years ago, and
other energy shortages, unless we get back to
our saving ways. The Energy Division of the
Department of Planning and Economic De-
velopment says we can save dollars if we
tighten things up around the house and let en-
ergy conservation begin at home (see page 25).

SESSION includes brief summaries of all
‘84 legislation, a listing by chapter numbers of
bills that became law, and a bill index to help
you find legislation of special interest to you.
If you have questions, or need more informa-
tion, call the House Information Office (612)
296-2146.
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4 The Tax Debate. Tax Amnesty

Advocates and legislators discuss business climate. State to
collect delinquent taxes.

Farming and Finances

A look at economics in the farming business

1 2 Waste Disposal: Costs and Cures

Waste management search for solutions continues

1 6 Institutions—Moving People Out

The human and economic side of institutional decisions

2 Child Abuse. Kidnapping and
Missing Children

Minnesota faces up to a nation-wide problem

25 Energy Saving Begins at Home

How to pocket some dollars and lower the state’s energy bills

2 6 Gambling Game Laws
Minnesota’s message: “Illegal gambling games not wanted”
3 O New Laws
Actions of the 1984 Legislature: a listing of new laws
: ; More in Brief & Proposed
Constitutional Amendments

Capsule comments on selected new laws and a rundown on
why we’ll be voting on amending the state constitution
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DEBATE

New construction dwarfs the
Foshay Tower (at left), once the
tallest building in the Twin Cities

photo by Larry Salzman
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Legislature improved Minnesota’s business climate.

Some don't.

by Wendy Tai

The session ended but the tax debate goes on
with legislators and businesspeople looking to
1985.

“To look at Minnesota in tax terms, I would
say people are encouraged,” says John Cairns,
executive director of the Minnesota Business
Partnership (MBP is an organization of 68
companies).

The Greater Minneapolis Chamber of
Commerce, other business interests, and
legislators, see the 10 percent surtax repeal as a
victory for businesses and taxpayers. But John
Herman, president of the Independent Business
Association of Minnesota, calls it “a small
step.”

And Cairns says repeal of the surtax doesn’t
mean Minnesota has solved all the problems.
He says the state can’t overlook the fact that it
still has the highest income tax in certain
categories.

The surcharge on personal income tax began
at seven percent in January 1982 in response to
a downturn in the economy. It increased to 10
percent a year later and was due to expire July
1, 1985, if the Legislature took no action this
past session. Repeal of the tax, retroactive to
Jan. 1, means a revenue loss to the state of
about $340 million.

Rep. John Tomlinson (DFL-St. Paul), chair of
the House Taxes Committee, says the surtax p
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repeal was the major request from businesses,
and the Legislature passed it.

Legislators review business legislation

Does Minnesota have a bad business climate? “I
don’t think so,” Tomlinson responds. “The way
to judge it is to look at the results, such as the
state’s lower unemployment rate, growth in
personal income and in the number of jobs. But
we can always try to do better,” he adds.
Tomlinson and other legislators, and business
people, also mention other pro-business
legislation that passed, such as:
» reduction of sales tax from 6 to 4 percent on
special tooling and on capital equipment for
expanding or building new manufacturing
facilities. The reduction means a state revenue
loss of $6 million in fiscal year (FY) 1985, $10.5
million in FY 1986, and $12.1 million in FY1987;
«» lowered commercial and industrial property tax
by assessing the first $60,000 of market value at
28 percent instead of at 34 percent. (Commercial-
industrial property assessments were 34 percent
of the first $50,000 of market value.) Revenue
loss is $1 million a year;
« exempted foreign dividends and foreign
royalties from corporate income tax if the
corporation owns at least 80 percent of the voting
stock and gets at least 80 percent of its income
from the dividends and royalties. State revenue
loss is $1.8 million in 1987 for dividend
exclusion and $3 million each in 1986 and 1987
for royalties exclusion;
o grant of $3.4 million to industrial firms
renovating their operations

Opinions differ

Rep. David Jennings, (IR-Truman), House
minority leader, doesn’t think business did well
this session because of what he says is an on-
going problem, “Tax relief measures we pass are
invariably targeted at a handful of businesses and
not the business community as a whole.

“The problem in Minnesota is that businesses
are folding up or leaving. That would preclude
any of them from using the reduction since it
encourages expansion,” Jennings says. He calls
the effects of property tax reduction “minimal.”

Herman, who heads a group of more than
2,000 small businesses, says legislators are more
interested in keeping Minnesota firms happy
since the February announcement from
Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing (3M) of its
plan to expand corporate research in Austin,
Texas, instead of in Minnesota.
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Several legislators agree that 3M’s move may
have affected some decisions, but only
marginally.

Herman also criticizes most ¢f the legislation
that passed as favoring large companies. The
only noteworthy pro-small-business measure, in
his opinion, is the “prompt payment” bill,
which requires state departments and agencies
to pay their bills on time or pay a penalty
interest.

Legislators and business look to 1985

Rep. Randy Kelly (DFL-St. Paul) says 1985
“holds a great deal of promise to modify the tax
structure . . . to look at what tax changes should
be made to enhance opportunities for businesses
in Minnesota.

“However, overall this past session, I believe
business did extremely well,” says Kelly, author
of the sales tax reduction on capital equipment
and several other pieces of business legislation.

As examples, he points to creation of
enterprise zones to help economically distressed
areas, small business loans and grants, and a
sales tax reduction for logging equipment.

The Greater Minneapolis Chamber of
Commerce is also looking to next year as the
year for major tax reform, now under study by a
commission St. Paul Mayor George Latimer is
heading up, according to Nancy Christensen,
manager of the chamber’s state legislative
affairs.

The chamber’s major concerns are changes in
unemployment compensation, hazardous waste
disposal, personal and corporate income tax,
and commercial-industrial property, Christensen
says.

Tax structure not the only issue

““There are business concerns other than taxes,
regulations, and rules.”'—Ed Hunter

Ed Hunter is executive director of Minnesota
Wellspring, a nonprofit group of business,
government, education, and agriculture working
toward improving the job climate in Minnesota.

He was a member of the Wellspring task force
on technology and expansion of employment that
examined a variety of issues relating to
employment. An area the task force identified is
the takeover of one corporation by another,
particularly where the targeted company is against
the takeover. »
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“In our investigations we found that takeovers,
or even the threat of a takeover, is very
disruptive,” Hunter says. “One of the things it
disrupts is long-term corporation decision-making
and planning, and that affects corporate
willingness to invest in research and development
which is very important for future employment
opportunties in the state.”

The task force, he says, also became concerned
about the effects of a hostile takeover on
shareholders, employees, and, in some cases,
communities.

Hostile Corporate Takeover Law passes

Because of this concern Rep. Wayne Simoneau
(DFL-Fridley) introduced the “Hostile Corporate
Takeover” bill in the House (now Chapter 488 in
Minnesota Statutes), restricting takeovers.
Supporters say the new law gives a voice to the
people a corporate takeover affects.

“Some people get clobbered by takeovers, none
of whom are directly consulted or have any say
about the takeover transaction,” Simoneau says.
“In one way or another, such transactions
involving Minnesota firms threaten jobs or the
quality of jobs in Minnesota.”

Simoneau’s twofold proposal first amends the
state’s securities law. It requires any acquiring
company to file a registration statement with the
state that includes complete disclosure of plans to
take over a “target” company (a company with
substantial assets in the state and 20 percent of
its shares belonging to Minnesota residents). The
takeover offer is effective upon filing registration
statements, unless the Commerce commissioner
suspends the offer.

The second part of the law comes into play
when an acquiring company seeks to take over a
Minnesota corporation with 50 or more
shareholders. Some call it a “shareholder
approval system,” because shareholders of the
Minnesota firm must vote on the proposed
takeover within 30 to 55 days after receiving a
takeover information statement. If the
shareholders approve the takeover, the state will
permit it.

Minnesota’s record is good

Minnesota has had very little experience with
unfriendly takeovers. “Because the economy
didn’t disrupt area businesses as it did in some of
the states around us,” Simoneau explains.
Minnesota first adopted corporate takeover
legislation 10 years ago and first amended it in
1981.
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“We’re trying to protect employers located
here and also promoting something national on
this controversial topic,” he says. Simoneau
believes, if the fact that Minnesota has this kind
of protection for a company becomes generally
known, the state could be a haven for
companies that are afraid of a hostile attack by
an acquiring company.

Business community supporters of this
legislation expect that businesses will use it as a
tool when deciding how they want to protect
themselves against takeovers. Opponents,
however, claim that the measure interfers with
the free market system and that it burdens
companies seeking friendly takeovers for purely
€CoNnomic reasons.

Legislature repeals Buy Minnesota Law

In addition to amending business laws, the
Legislature also repealed the 1983 “Buy
Minnesota Law” which required state agencies
to favor Minnesota-made products, businesses,
and workers when awarding construction and
public works contracts.

Lawmakers decided to repeal the law when
business groups said it could cause some
neighboring states to pass laws that would
cutback contracts for Minnesota firms in those
states.

The law now requires agencies to give
preference to resident bidders when other states
give preference to their in-state bidders. &

photo by Larry Salzman

Workers scale steel
beams as new busi-
ness building rises in
downtown
Minneapolis
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by Wendy Tai

More than 77,000 Minnesotans and
‘businesses will get a chance to settle old
‘debts they owe the state during a three-
month tax amnesty period, beginning Aug. 1.
- The program encourages delinquent
- taxpayers to clear their debts. It offers a 20
percent reductlon in their past-due bills,
including interest and penalty for up to
$2,000.

The big stick that adds clout to the plan is
that the state and other licensing authorities
won’t issue or renew a professional or
business license to those who owe more than
$1, OOO in sales and withholding taxes.

How the amnesty‘ plan works

The.amnesty law qualifies any person who
has filed a tax return but is late, as of Feb. 1,
in paying any type of state tax, including the
personal income tax, business income tax,
sales and withholding taxes, according to
Dorothy McClung, director of legal research
and planning in the commissioner’s office of
the Department of Revenue.

“It’s any tax people would pay the
Revenue Department,” McClung explains. It
does not apply, however, to property or
unemployment taxes, or dehnquent 1983
income taxes.

According to department records; 77,446
individuals and businesses owe a total of
nearly $174.6 million in back taxes. About 75
percent of the delinquents owe less than
$1,000 each.

The department will send them notlces
beginning the end of July, explaining the
amnesty program and how much they owe.
The largest group owing income tax are
teachers, with 484 delinquents, followed by
412 engineers, 305 attorneys, 296 doctors,
and 254 realtors. -

“It’s an easy group to. manage, because we
know who they are,” McClung said. Those
whom the department knows little about, but

'who also quahfy for amnesty, are those who i
,haven t ﬁled tax returns :

~there are and how much they owe. .

“begin Aug. 1 and continue through Oct. 31.
~ will start searching for those the law might
" licenses.

said. The largest group of offenders in that

“taxpayers who.pay then’ taxes on time,

“whose tax payments fell behind durmg the

~more people to collectvba'ck taxes, she said.”

State stands to gam G
Finally, the amnesty will net at least $5

- opting for an amnesty program, which four k

" 10 years. The license enforcement is eﬁ'ectlve

Nonﬁlers can file

During the amnesty penod nonﬁlers can ﬁle o
returns and pay back taxes and lnterest _——
without penalty. McClung said the Cei
department has no idea how many nonﬁlers B

The nonfilers can begin submlttmg owed
taxes by June 1. Dehnquent taxpayers can-

After the deadline, the Revenue Department '
deny a renewal of busmess or professmnal j'
C“It’s the big st1ck that follows ” McClung

category are restaurants and bars; she said. -
Responding to pos31b1e cnt101sms fromw : G

McClung said the amnesty would aid. those o

1980-82 recession, a time when the amount

of delinquent taxes soared. For people to " t
voluntarily come forth to pay their debts also'
would save taxpayers the expense of hiring

million the state can spend, she said.
“Delinquent amounts on the accounts. :
receivable aren’t gomg to buy anythmg, ‘she
said. ~ s
Leglslators made a cons01ous ch01ce in

other states have used, McClung said. - S
“Legislators had a choice. We can elther havei o
an amnesty program, people can comein -
voluntarily, or they can give us the money 1
and people to go out and get the money.”
The law will not allow another amnesty fo

for two years. B
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- FARMING
AND
FINANCES

Problems are serious.
Solutions aren’t simple.
Looking to 198b, farmers
push for production and
market improvements, higher
farm income, a decent federal
farm bill, and cash-flow plans
for coming years.

by Lisa Lissimore

Running complex machinery is all in a day’'s work for this farm youth

Interest is farmers’ biggest expense

Farm debt, experts and economists say, is the “It’s not unusual for a farmer to be paying $100
major agriculture issue in 1984 and will be in a day for interest costs,” says Commissioner of
1985. They say, if the level of unpaid debts Agriculture Jim Nichols. “Interest cost is the
facing farmers continues, many farms will go biggest expense for farmers today.”
out of business in the next couple of years. For Rep. Merlyn Valan (IR—Moorhead) this
And the grim forecast applies to Minnesota. fact holds true. He and his son run a rather
Of the state’s 100,000 farmers, 25 percent are in typical family farm—raise soybeans, corn, and
serious financial trouble. The current farm debt wheat. They’ve managed quite well, trying to
stands at almost $12 billion with an interest bill keep debts low, but Valan says, “it’s the high
of $1.5 billion. interest rates that are killing us.”)
8
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A firm believer in generation farming, Valan
says, when he first started farming, he could
borrow money for 3 to 5 percent. “Farm
mortgages were only 3.5, operating money was 5.
Now it’s up to 16.5 and they (economists) say it’s
creeping up every day.”

Farm loans carry variable rates

The average commercial lending rates have
soared from 9 percent in 1977 to 13 to 16 percent
today, says Nichols who farms 520 acres on
weekends. He says most farm loans are on a
variable rate of interest that can go up or down
depending on the economy. In the *70s, the
economy was such that interest rates were
reasonably low and there was cash flow. Farmers
borrowed a lot of money to expand their
operations and to increase production.

But, a tight economy in the *80s caused rates to
increase, leading to low crop prices, a drop in
land values and farm equipment, and reduced
farmers® ability to borrow money. And this cash-
flow crunch is what’s hurting most farmers today.

“It’s a double-edged sword that cuts farmers
with both sides of the blade,” says Nichols. “We
have to get low interest money out to farmers.
It’s what they need, and the state is trying to do
that through the Family Farm Security Act and
two pieces of legislation passed this session--the
ag bonding bill and agri-processing program.

photo by Larry Salzman

Family Farm Security Act has helped

The Family Farm Security Act dates back to
1976. It’s purpose is to help farmers who can’t
get credit to buy farm real estate. “The young
farmer’s program, as we refer to it, is a good
program. It guarantees up to 90 percent of the
farmer’s loan and defers the interest payments
on the loan for 10 years,” Nichols says.

This year, under the Family Farm Security
Act, legislators tried to extend loan payments.
“We recognized the inability for these people to
repay their current loans and wanted to offer
them an extension,” says Valan, a co-sponsor of
the bill. “Unfortunately, the bill died in the final
days of the session.”

The ag bonding bill authorizes the Energy and
Economic Development Authority, which
manages several loan programs, to issue bonds
for farm loans. “This bill makes $18 million
available for farmers at a lower rate of interest
than the market rate,” Nichols adds. These
loans however will be available only when other
financing is not.

“The state has made a good commitment to
agriculture,” Nichols says. “But there are things
that we can’t control such as the federal deficit.”

The young farmer also works a tractor on his family’s farm
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State needs to promote ag-processing

“Basically, we need to do a better job of
promoting and selling. To do this, we need more
processing of agricultural products in Minnesota
to sell to our foreign customers. This is where the
agri-processing bill ties in. It permits the state to
guarantee up to 90 percent of a loan to build an
agricultural resource project, with the loan
limited to 80 percent of the total project cost,” he
says.

Since the mid *70s, Minnesota has become
dependent on exports. Generating almost $2.5
billion in export sales, 50 percent of the grain
crops now go into the export market, according
to “Minnesota Agricultural Statistics 1983.”

Still, there are other issues and challenges that
have a profound effect upon the economic
condition of agriculture. They include the erosion
and loss of agricultural land, farm property taxes
and federal farm policy, Nichols says.

New laws target farmland and taxes

Nichols lists several programs the Legislature
established in the 84 session to save the state’s
30 million acres of farmland, such as: an
agricultural land preservation and conservation
awareness program; a pilot county agricultural
land preservation project for 7 counties outside

photo by Larry Salzman

One of Minnesota’s family farms

the metropolitan area; an exclusive agricultural-
use zone whereby farmers will pursue and
adhere to sound land conservation practices;
and an agricultural land preservation and
conservation assistance program.

Farm tax incentives the 1984 Legislature
passed were:
» repeal of revenue equity for agricultural school
districts
* a 10 percent income tax credit for purchases
of conservation tillage planters, with an unused
credit to go back 3 years and forward 3 years
s increase in the maximum agricultural aid from
$2000 to $4000 retroactive to taxes payable in
1984
« agricultural aid percentage increase from 29 to
33 percent on the first 320 acres of ag non-
homestead and on seasonal recreational houses

Farm tax bill will be ’85 issue

“The farm property tax bill, which is going to
be a big issue next session, is little relief for area
farmers,” Nichols says. “We have to change the
whole property tax system.

“Farmers are upset about the great unfairness
that exists between property taxes farmers,
businessowners, and homeowners pay. They
want the Legislature to do something about it, »
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and, if the Legislature doesn’t, some have
threatened to withhold their property tax
payments by way of protest.” Nichols says farm
leaders are lobbying Congress right now to pass a
tax provision in the 1985 federal farm bill that
will be good for agriculture.

“The federal farm bill has a lot to do with how
well the state’s going to fare,” he says. “There are
three federal policies severely impacting
Minnesota producers at this very moment. One is
the compromise dairy stabilization act of 1983.
Our dairy farmers are going to continue losing
money if we don’t reform this act. Dairy is the
state’s largest single industry, annually generating
about one-fifth of the state’s $7 billion in farm
cash receipts.”

Federal lending policies affect farmers

The federal lending policies of FmHA (Farm
Home Administration) also affect farmers in the
Northwestern part of the state and other farmers
who’ve turned to this agency for loans because
commercial lenders will no longer lend to them,
Nichols said.

photo by Larry Salzman
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“The national administrator has made changes
to the emergency loan program to help farmers in
agricultural disaster areas, which includes the
nine Minnesota counties that most of these
farmers come from. The Minnesota congressional
delegation and the Agriculture Department is
working with the federal administration and the
FmHA to make loans available to these farmers,”
he says.

Finally, Nichols says, farmers need a fair price
for commodities. To address this problem, the
Legislature considered a minimum price bill in
the 1984 session. It required the commissioner to
set a minimum price for any agricultural
commodity other than sunflowers. The bill passed
the Senate, but lost out during negotiations in the
House.

“The federal farm bill will continue to be a
major concern, Nichols concludes, “but what can
the state do after the lobbying is done? The bill is
written and passed in Washington.” & '

Dairy cow, at home on a modern dairy farm, gives the camera a curious look.
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Recycling could reduce collections %

WASTE DISPOSAL:
Costs and Cures

by Wendy Tai
“The cost (of trash and waste disposal) is going

Trash and hazardous waste

disposal is turning away from to go up,” says Sandra Gardebring, former
- - director of the Pollution Control Agency.
the. dump and bury .methOd “Spaces in landfills will get dearer and dearer.”
which most Ilkely will mean The problem with trash is more than
i i ; availability of space, Gardebring and other
hlgher garbage bills for all officials say. It’s an issue of what is the safest
Minnesotans. way to dispose waste, both hazardous and
nonhazardous types. p
12
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“The experience in the last four years has been
that everything that goes in the ground comes up
something horrible,” said Rep. Gordon Voss
(DFL-Blaine).

In the last few days of the legislative session in
April, Voss sponsored legislation that suspends
for two years the search for a hazardous waste
site in the state and requires the Waste
Management Board to report to the 1986
Legislature on the need for a site.

The bill, HF1577, also includes provisions that
limit the building of more dumps for
nonhazardous waste and imposes a fee for trash
that haulers take to dumps.

“We are going in a new direction,” Rep.
Willard Munger (DFL-Duluth), chairman of the
House Environment and Natural Resources
Committee, said during House debate on the bill
April 24. “We’re not going to put poisons in the
ground anymore until we find a way to take care
of it above the ground.”

photo by Larry Salzman

New laws will affect the cost of dumping waste into landfills:+in
the seven-county metropolitan area

Halt of search for waste site stirs debate

The 1980 Waste Management Act directed the
Waste Management Board to search out a
hazardous waste site. The provision in Voss’s biil
to stop that search stirred several hours of debate
on the House floor.

Rep. Dee Long (DFL-Mpls), original chief
author of HF1577, opposed the provision as one
she said, “begged people to believe in magic, that
our hazardous waste problems will go away
because we wish that they will.”

Business groups also say that the moratorium
only delays what is needed and keeps businesses
dependent on disposals in other states.

Supporters of the suspension, however,
believe it doesn’t impose an immediate hardship
on the 3,000 Minnesota industries that ship
about 174,000 tons of hazardous waste each
year to disposal sites in other states. Halting the
siting process also forces the state to look at
alternatives, they say.

Bury-the-trash methods won’t work

“It’s the thing of the future,” Robert Dunn,
chairman of the Waste Management Board,
said. He and other officials say waste disposal
no longer can rely on the traditional burial
method because that poses pollution hazards.

Contrary to recent apparent popular belief,
the new legislation doesn’t indicate a shift in
direction of waste management, Dunn said. The
1980 Waste Management Act, which created his
Waste Management Board, stressed the need for
alternative disposal methods for hazardous and
nonhazardous wastes.

“The big thrust of what we’re doing is waste
reduction and treatment,” Dunn said. “Disposal
is only the last resort . .. the emphasis on
disposal was never a driving force of what we’re
doing, but people perceived it to be.”

The 1980 act directed the board to find four
candidate sites for hazardous waste disposal,
and choose one by the end of 1985 or early
1986. Four selected potential sites were in
Marshall, Aitkin, Scott and Carver counties. The
board has stopped the environmental impact
studies on them that were to begin this spring,
he said.

Board’s suggestions are in new law

The new law strikes out the requirement for
four candidate sites. Instead, it states that more
than one is necessary. It also includes
appropriations of $150,000 to fund grants for
industries to develop ways to reduce their waste,
$700,000 to help developers proposing
processing, collecting, and transporting
hazardous waste—programs that the board
suggested in its waste management plan last
December.

Dunn said the board already has received
inquiries from developers interested in the
grants.

The key difference between the 1980 act and
the new provisions is that the new law allows
the board to study whether Minnesota needs a
hazardous waste disposal site. It also allows the b
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board to continue to consider out-of-state sites as
possibilities.

“It’s still a matter accepted by experts in the
field, no matter how extensive you process the
waste, there’s going to be a residue from that
process.. . . that has to be disposed of
somewhere,” Dunn said. The assumption has
been that Minnesota needs to develop a site for
the residue, instead of continuing to ship it out of
state, he said.

“The volume of residue may be so low that it’s
below the level that would interest any private
operator in operating a site,” which means
Minnesota would still have to depend on out-of-
state sites, Dunn said.

Growing awareness of potential pollution
hazards from land disposal of waste may make
other states reluctant to take Minnesota-generated
waste, possibly resulting in more roadblocks and
higher costs, Dunn and others say.

conscience is a concern

“There’s the social conscience concern also,”
Dunn adds. “If we benefit from the
manufacturers, jobs, payroll, do we have some
kind of a social responsibility to deal with the
bad stuff that comes out, instead of dumping it in
another state?’®

photo by Larry Salzman

Waste barrels pile up in areas throughout Minnesota

photo by Larry Salzman

Two Minnesotans use an open dump for waste materials, a system environmentalists hope

to replace with a better method
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After the two-year suspension, the Legislature
may still decide building a site in Minnesota is
the best way to handle waste residue, Voss said.
“We’ve not shut anything off,” he said. “We
wanted to change the thinking (toward waste
disposal). That was tough.”

For Minnesotans, the argument is simple, he
said. “There’s nobody in Minnesota who wants
their water poisoned.”

Regardless of whether Minnesota builds a
hazardous waste disposal site, or builds more
sites for nonhazardous waste, Minnesotans will
see a higher cost for getting rid of their trash,
officials predict.

“New facilities anywhere in the country will
probably cost more to build than the existing
ones,” said Dale Wickre, director of the solid and
hazardous waste division of the PCA. He and
others say future landfills probably would have to
have many more built-in safeguards, and that
cost would pass onto the users.

Costs to trash haulers goes up

The bill that passed this year also includes a
provision that imposes a fee of 50 cents per cubic
vard of trash haulers take to dumps in the
metropolitan area. The projected $2 to $3 million
to come from this will go equally into two funds:
one for landfill abatement; another for pollution
costs, such as water supply monitoring, closure
and post-closure case and clean-up expenses.

On top of that fee, counties and cities or towns
may impose an additional charge on garbage
going into their landfills. Metropolitan counties
have a cap of 25 cents per cubic yard, while other
counties have no limit. The fee at any city or
town is up to 15 cents per cubic yard.

The PCA estimates that the 50-cent-per-cubic-
yard fee would translate to between 23 cents and
28 cents more for trash for the average Minnesota
household of 2.57 persons.

The cost to bury nonhazardous trash in dumps
will continue to increase, officials speculate.
Gardebring estimates landfill cost will increase
100 percent in the next 15 years.

A new landfill would have to meet much
stricter guidelines, said Gardebring, who now
heads the Metropolitan Council. It would have to
have safety features to prevent leakage and other
pollution hazards, more intensive monitoring of
groundwater supply, estimated post-closure
costs—all of which would “start to reflect the
true cost of disposal,” she said.
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"HOURS 8-5

. TRUCKS 352HIN, = CARS ‘720,
« BULIPS <TRALERS 1220+ 3% (WL MAD ML
« AVITIONAL CHARGE FORHENE BULK LOADS

L1000, TOXIC OR HAZARDOUS 4{_4:755’ g’ﬁfrm'

T N
- A
3

R [ -

A sign spells out what people may not put into a landfill

Chemicals in groundwater on the increase

PCA estimates that the state generates 10
million cubic yards of solid waste each year and
has 110 permitted landfills. The agency has
found that groundwater under 13 of the 15
landfill sites in the metro area has shown an
increasing amount of various chemicals. “We’re
just beginning to see an increase in certain
chemicals” Wickre said.

The new law makes it more difficult to have
more landfills or to enlarge landfills in the state.
Approval requires a “certificate of need,” and
operators must show that landfilling is the only
“feasible and prudent” way to dispose of waste.
(The law already requires the Metropolitan
Council to approve a certificate of need for new
landfill in the metropolitan area).

“Public opinion on groundwater
contamination gets stronger and stronger every
year,” Gardebring said. “When it becomes clear
it’s the choice between contaminated
groundwater and higher-cost landfills, I don’t
think people are going to choose contaminated
groundwater.” &
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The days of caring for
mentally retarded citizens in
state hospitals are fading.
Minnesota hopes to feel
better in the pocketbook and
bring retarded citizens closer
to living like the rest of us.

by Nancy J. Miller

You may greet each other on the bus, chat in
the checkout line, or see one another at a
neigborhood park. Perhaps you’ll talk about the
weather, mosquitoes, work, or the price of
groceries going up. And, you may realize you
have more in common with retarded citizens
than you thought.

More retarded people have joined their
communities since Minnesota opened the doors
of institutions housing mentally retarded people

i

photo by Paul Battagha

in the 1960s. It was then that local, state, and
federal lawmakers looked into large institutions
that housed the handicapped and decided they
didn’t like what they saw.

As the deinstitutionalization movement
began, Minnesota and other states started to
upgrade state hospitals. But long-term solutions
to house and serve the handicapped in
communities developed as a cost-effective, and,
some say, a more humane approach to the
special needs of the handicapped.

Intermediate care not the whole answer

In the 1970s communities built Intermediate
Care Facilities, group homes for the Mentally
Retarded (ICF-MRs), as alternatives to large
institutions. Here residents live on supervised
premises but attend sheltered workshops or
developmental achievement centers during the
day.

But ICF-MRs alone weren’t the answer. A
recently released Citizens League report says
that “Despite Minnesota’s efforts to p
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Employee works at his job in a sheltered workshop

deinstitutionalize the mentally retarded, it
appears that our state has only reinstitutionalized
this population in ICF-MRs and group homes. In
fact, there are now more mentally retarded people
living in residential facilities throughout the state
than there were prior to the deinstitutionalization
movement.”

The report says that as many as 200 to 1000
ICF-MR residents are ready for placement in less
costly, more home-like settings such as foster care
or semi-independent living arrangements.

Non-institutional care healthier

Legislators, health care professionals, and friends
and relatives of mentally retarded persons agree
that allowing most retarded people to live more
independently, under appropriate supervision, is
healthier than restrictive institutionalization.
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“Life in a residential facility is accompanied
by an unhealthy degree of dependence on
caregivers. Minnesota’s over-reliance on
institutional forms of care is causing a crisis of
sizeable human and economic proportions. The
human crisis does not concern the quality of
care but rather the quality of life in residential
facilities.

“The financial crisis deals with the fact that
the cost of treating people in institutions is one
of the most rapidly growing portions of the state
budget,” states the League report.

Medicaid fund waiver bridges care gap

In 1983, the Legislature passed bills to curb the
growth of ICF-MR facilities and looked at even
less restrictive care options to get funding under
Medicaid. The federal government invited states
to apply for Medicaid waivers in 1981, when
Minnesota was in the depths of a budget crisis,
to allow use of Medicaid funds (Medical
Assistance federal, state, and county money, but
mostly federal dollars) for less expensive
alternative care for the mentally retarded.

In 1983, Rep. Ann Wynia (DFL-St. Paul),
authored a bill to set the waiver application in
motion. July 1, 1983, the Department of
Human Services officially began funding
waivered services.

Wynia admits that some mentally retarded
persons will always have to be in institutions.
But she says many residents now in state
hospitals and group homes could live in less
structured environments if the funds were
available as they are for institutionalized care.
The waiver will allow funding for alternative
services.

“We hope to see families with young children
being able to keep their children at home with
some of the support services that will now be
available. And we hope that adults living in
institutions, both state hospitals and ICF-MRs,
can move to less restrictive living
arrangements.”

Advocates support the waiver

Getting retarded people into the community is a
goal the Association for Retarded Citizens
(ARC) has worked toward for years, says
Darlene Olson, chair of the Governmental
Affairs Committee for ARC.

“In the very beginning there was nothing for
people who were retarded. They either stayed at
home, with their families, with nothing to do in
the community, or they went to state hospitals.

“There is a whole range of services that need b
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to be developed in Minnesota. There needs to be
some fine tuning. We have the group homes
(ICF-MRs) and then we jump to semi-
independent living (SILs). And that’s really a big
jump. All of a sudden people are going from a
24-hour supervised living situation to a program
where they may be receiving services only a few
hours a week.

“There are people who can’t make that jump.
It’s too large. We need services developed in
between that will enable people to live more
independently and at less cost,” says Olson.

Respite care, adult foster care, and supervised
living arrangements with case managers are a few
of the many alternative services the waiver will
develop through funding. Both Olson and Wynia
are hopeful.

“We want people to have lives that are as
normalized as anyone else. That doesn’t mean
persons will come out of the state hospitals to sit
at home all day. Rather, they will come out of
the state hospital, maybe to live at home or in
their own apartments, they’ll go to work perhaps
at an opportunity workshop or a developmental
achievement center during the day, or in private
employment. It’s real exciting.

“Under the waiver each retarded person will
have a case manager who has the responsibility
to design a total program to meet their (retarded
persons) needs,” says Wynia.

“They’ll be active programs, so that the
retarded person is interacting with lots of
different people. Also, the waiver will allow us to
treat case managers as a reimbursable service
under Medical Assistance, so the caseload for
these managers will go way down.”

State hospitals may close

But the future of deinstitutionalization isn’t as
rosy as first appears. For many, waivered services
and deinstitutionalization spell economic trouble.
Rep. Dick Welch (DFL-Cambridge) introduced a
bill last legislative session to halt the waiver
altogether. He represents a legislative district with
a state hospital that could face closing or
consolidation.

“The fact is there are problems out there,” says
Welch. “There are three types of groups that need
to be addressed, and the state has taken a very
active, aggressive role for dealing with the
planning, organizing, and changes needed to serve
the retarded people in our state.

“But as those changes happen, there are other
changes happening in the communities where
those state institutions are located and have
served those populations for many years. And
changes also affect the employees of those

institutions. No one was doing any planning (for
these two groups) in an organized systematic
manner, and the waiver was expected to
accelerate the (deinstitutionalization) process. I
think something dramatic had to be done.

“The waiver repeal bill was clearly much
stronger than it needed to be,” says Welch, “but
I was interested in getting the attention of
people who are close to the issue.”

Welch dropped the waiver repeal language in
the bill in favor of provisions to set up a board
to study and develop a plan on closing or
consolidating state hospitals, which got the
Legislature’s and the governor’s approval.

“It’s a system’s response to the employees and
communities that have served state hospitals.
That’s what I was looking for. It’s inevitable
there will be fewer state hospitals 10 and 15
years from now than there are today. We have
to acknowledge that and go from there,” says
Welch.

Employee and community protection

Welch’s bill creates an interagency board to
study a number of topics including the projected
displacement of state hospital employees. The
board must also develop a plan to protect the
general interests of employees and communities
affected by deinstitutionalization in state
hospitals. p
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An elderly citizen finds a moment of solitude in a community park

Colleen Wieck of the State Planning Agency,
who is project manager of the study, says the
agency is doing economic impact studies for each
region potentially affected and collecting written
surveys from state hospital workers that ask
about their buying and savings patterns, and what
kind of future work they might like.

Wieck says the study, which has built-in
allowances for public input, will look at whether
putting state hospital employees to work in new
state-run community services is practical or
possible.

Union wants state run services

Moving retarded persons into the community
requires many support services, services that
former state hospital employees are the most
qualified to provide, according to Tom Beers,
who represents Minnesota State Employees
Union, AFSCME Council 6, AFL-CIO.

“The current state hospital population is by
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and large profoundly and severely retarded,
many have severe behavioral problems, many
are medically fragile. And some are mentally ill.
Those sorts of people are not going to be
integrated into the community easily without a
lot of support staff,” says Beers.

He says state employees who are familiar with
state hospitalized patients and their unique
needs can best care for them in community
settings. But whether or not state employees will
actually ever work with retarded persons in
communities is a question the state can help
answer by running the community based
services, Beers says.

Traditionally, Beers says, private community
facilities hire people at low wages and turnover
is high, which impacts on the quality of care
residents receive. He proposes that the state
operate facilities and services with state staff to
ensure high quality care and security for the
workers.

“The system 1is just not developed to make
that success story. We're saying, if you want to
make it successful, and are serious about
deinstitutionalizing, take the state staff and
programs out into the community.”

Beers points to other states such as Rhode
Island and Massachusetts where the state
deinstitutionalized the staffs in state hospitals
along with the residents. Massachusetts. required
that the state run and staff a percentage of new
community programs when the movement
occurred there.

“The state staying in the business makes the
most sense from the standpoint of the quality of
care issues, employees, and the communities the
state hospitals are in,” says Beers, who believes
the state can monitor standards in state-run
facilities better than in privately owned
facilities.

“We’re saying it’s possible to carry out an
agenda that’s progressive. It’s do-able, it’s
possible, and it’s been done in other states,”
says Beers.

Plan may take time

“Unless we’re aggressively searching for new
opportunities for state hospitals, we may end up
with decisions on some institution without
being prepared.It’s very difficult for us in the
Legislature to discuss closing state institutions.

“But lets look ahead to the future with our
eyes open and figure out how we can make this
a win-win situation for everyone,” says
Representative Wynia. “I think it’s
(deinstitutionalization) going to be slow, but it
must begin right.” &
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Do more reports of child abuse to
police and welfare authorities mean
more child abuse, or just more
reporting?

Experts don’t know if we have more sex abuse
than we used to have or just more reports of
abuse. Facts don’t exist to make a strong
statement either way. But, for whatever reason—
increased public attention to and awareness of the
problem, educational programs for children, or a
greater willingness on the part of adults to
listen—reports of abuse are on the rise.

National report rate is way up

“Our records are terrible because we get only
about 50 percent of what the counties get,” said
Fern Sepler-King, sexual abuse treatment
specialist for the Minnesota Department of
Human Services (DHS). “But, nationwide, there’s
been close to a 100 percent increase, annually, in
the number of reported sexual abuse cases.”

~Sepler-King said estimates suggest that,
nationally, for every reported sexual abuse case
25 go unreported. From her experience, Sepler-
King said she would put those figures for
Minnesota at between 7 and 10 unreported cases
for every reported one.

“Some studies say that as many as 1 of 3
females and 1 of 10 males will be sexually abused
by the time they’re 18,” says Sepler-King, “and
estimates are that 75 to 80 percent of all child
sexual abuse involves somebody known to the
child.”

Rates and types of abuse vary

“Of the three types of child abuse,” says therapist
Bill Seals of Seals and Associates, a private
mental health center, “emotional is the one we
know the least about, and sexual is the most
popular—if that’s the right word.” According to
DHS, physical abuse and neglect are the most-
reported types of child abuse.

“Absolutely no one can tell you how big the
problem is,” says Seals, “because of the
complexities of reporting and the unknown
quality (of the reports)—we rely on kids for our
research.”
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Seals says with increased awareness he’s
getting more cases, but attributes that to more
kids saying, ‘“Hey, these people finally say they
trust us, they believe us, and we can report it.”

Is there more abuse or just more reporting of
abuse? “I guess it’s a little of both,” said Seals.

Information lack clouds the issue

“I'm just positive, just as sure as I'm sitting
here that it (sexual abuse) is on the increase,”
says Rep. Janet Clark (DFL-Mpls). “But I don’t
know how you would ever document it,” Clark
says, referring to the lack of information on the
subject and the secrecy of the issue. “In the
past, child abuse was hidden and never
admitted to—at all costs to the child.”

Clark is author of a new state law that takes
another approach to dealing with domestic child
abuse. Currently, courts can remove children
from their homes in abuse cases and place them
in protective custody at a detention center or at
a foster home.

New law changes child-removal policy

Clark’s bill reverses the remove-the-child policy
in some cases, and allows the court to remove
the abusing parent or adult from the home.
Prior law provided for removal of an abusing
parent/adult when his/her spouse filed a court
order for protection or a petition on behalf of
the abused child. Clark’s bill allows courts to
remove an abusive parent at a county’s request,
taking the responsibility to file a petition away
from spouses who may fear abuse themselves.
“This could be used,” says Clark, “only where
there is a loving and relatively strong parent
who can survive if the abuser is removed from
the home. Sometimes the dependency the loving b
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parent has on the abuser is so strong that you
have to remove the child.”

The court must also see that the remaining
family or household members get some social
service assistance and may require the abuser to
continue financial support.

Clark says for some time she’s questioned
taking children away from their homes. “Children
feel guilty, like it’s their fault they’re taken away
from their brothers and sisters, from their toys,
from perhaps a loving parent, neighborhood
friends, and their schools.

“You weigh rights of the parents against rights
of the child, and in the past we’ve been erring on
the side of the parents. What this bill says is, ‘No,
we’re going to protect the child, even if it means
removing a parent from the home.”

“You can’t turn your back on it ...”

“When you see what some people are doing to
children, you can’t turn your back on it,” says
Rep. Connie Levi (IR-Dellwood) about her
involvement with child protection legislation.
Levi says she began looking into the child abuse
issue last year when, at the request of a victim,
she sponsored a bill that prohibited child
pornography.

This year, Levi carried legislation to allow as
court evidence, in some cases, out-of-court
statements that children under age 10 make about
sexual contact someone performed on or with
them.
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“Traditionally, children under age 10 have
not been considered credible witnesses, and
many children under 10 are victims,” says Levi.
Supporting the reliability of a child’s statement
regarding sexual activity Levi says, “Most
children couldn’t describe a sex act unless it
happened to them, because it’s otherwise not in
their realm of experience.”

Levi and others in the child-protection
business attribute some of the difficulty in
prosecuting child abusers to the nature of the
court procedure itself. “Courtrooms are very
intimidating places for adults,” says Levi, “and
they’re extremely intimidating for children.

“Many children will get on the stand, see the
person charged with the offense, and freeze up,
unable to tell what they were able to tell

immediately after the incident.” photo by Tom Oimscherd

e

Minnesota leads in state efforts to erase the shadow of child abuse

Third-party testimony will count

In addition to allowing a child’s videotaped
statement as evidence, Levi says the law in
some cases will allow as corroborative
(supportive) evidence testimony from a person a
child talked to about his/her sexual abuse. In
the past some courts have dismissed testimony
from a third party as either redundant or
hearsay evidence, while others have allowed it
under certain hearsay exceptions.

“This legislation was designed to get at the
truth of the matter rather than get all hung up
in court procedures about what is or isn’t
allowable,” says Levi, “ ... so you don’t have
these cases being lost simply because children
can’t tell in court what they were able to tell in
a less threatening situation.’}
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Children will still have to take the stand
because of the sixth constitutional amendment
which says accused persons have the right to face
their accusers. This means allegedly abused
children must testify, unless they are unavailable
but other evidence supports their statement.
Other portions of the bill provide that, to be
admissible evidence, the court must find the
statement reliable, and defendants must receive
notice of the statement.

photo by Tom Olmscheid

Abused children take the stand

Victims get more time to press charges

A third child-abuse bill extends the statute of
limitations, from 3 to 7 years, during which
victims of sex offenses may press charges against
the offender in cases where the victim was under
18 years of age at the time of the offense.

Rep. Ann Wynia (DFL-St. Paul) sponsored the
legislation as she did when the Legislature passed
a law two years ago to increase the statue of
limitations for intrafamilial sexual abuse. “It
made sense to make the statutes of limitations for
sexual abuse (of child victims) consistent,” she
said.

“The problem we encounter with sexual abuse
against children,” said Wynia, “is that when it
happens to them they may not know and
understand that what the adult is doing is a
crime. In some cases children are ashamed.
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They feel they’ve done something wrong, and
they don’t talk about it. It may be years before
they gain the confidence in someone to talk
about it. By that time, it’s not unlikely that the
three-year statute of limitations has expired.”

The bill, says Wynia, may help to successfully
prosecute someone who would otherwise
continue to abuse children.

Minnesota has faced the problem

“You can look at Minnesota and say, ‘Gee, they
have a big problem up there—it’s all they talk
about.” The other side of the coin is that
Minnesota is doing more about it. We’re light
years ahead of where we were five years ago,”
said Seals.

“We know most offenders were abused
themselves,” he said. “We know that the vast
majority of child sexual abuse cases are not
dirty little men in trenchcoats. They’re pretty
average people . .. middle class . . . traditional
backgrounds . . . good jobs . .. good
relationships . . . pillars of the community.”

Seals says, if not treated sexual abuse has a
damaging psychological effect on children.
“They don’t forget that stuff,” he says, “because
the very person they trusted most is the one
who messed with them.”

However, Seals says, “The vast majority of
cases that go through therapy are successful. |
But, the more serious the crime, the greater the |
number of offenses, the less the probability of
succeeding.”

Though Sepler-King says new laws and greater
publicity are creating an environment where
kids are reporting more, she says protection
workers are now left with a system struggling to
keep up with providing services.

“Prevention efforts are really having a
tremendous impact,” says Sepler-King.
“Hopefully, later in this generation, or the next,
we’ll see a reduced incidence because kids are
learning to say ‘no,” and what to do if it
happens. But, in the meantime we’re dealing
with a huge backlog of cases where kids are
saying, "Yeah, that happened to me too.” @
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This older house could be one to benefit from an energy saving program

When heat goes out the roof, money leaves Minnesota
because the state imports almost all its energy. Whether
we're renters or homeowners, we should know how we can
save energy and dollars.

ENERGY SAVING
BEGINS AT HOME

by Gary Phelps

Home (or residential energy conservation) is a In St. Paul, the Energy Conservation

big part of the state Energy Division’s program Information Center distributes printed material
and involving us, the public, is one of its biggest and answers the public’s questions over a toll-
challenges. The division, within the Department free line. Statewide, neighbors educate neighbors
of Energy and Economic Development, works at on conservation through the Energy Division’s
that in a number of ways. local council program.p
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In the council program, volunteers and private
businesses display products and teach about
home energy saving at fairs and workshops. And
under 1984 legislation, for the first time,
community energy councils can submit grant
proposals for state funds to keep their grassroots-
efforts going.

“It’s one of the best things we’ve got going in
the state,” Paul Wellstone, coordinator of the
program, told a legislative committee in the 1984
session.

Costs keep people from trying to stop leaks

“Many people simply can’t qualify for loan
payments on energy or other investments at
current high interest rates,” say the Energy
Division people. Some can afford high monthly
energy bills, or they can spread out their
payments like they would for a new car, in a
budget plan. But a number of folks just don’t
have the money to put into a reinsulation job.

Control Data’s energy-saving
solar building in Minneapolis

To help homeowners get into energy
conservation, the Legislature enacted the
Minnesota Home Improvement Loan Program
in 1976. It encourages borrowers to upgrade
conservation when they’re making
improvements. Between 1976 and Aug. 1, 1981,
the program loaned out $161 million, an
estimated $11 million for energy conservation.

During the same period, the Minnesota
Rehabilitation Loan Program granted $44
million in home improvement loans to very-
low-income homeowners. Nine million, or 21
percent, for energy conservation. In 1983, the
Legislature appropriated $5 million to the
Minnesota Housing Finance Agency to start an
energy conservation loan program. So far, $10
million has gone out in loans for energy saving
improvements at an average interest rate of only
8 percent.

Does energy conservation pay off?

Legislators apparently believe it does. Since
1974 the Legislature has passed legislation to
help get information out, to provide money
through loan programs, and to support research
projects that keep up with modern technology
and its effects on energy use and conservation. »
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In 1984 lawmakers appropriated $1.9 million
for energy conservation projects for state
buildings. The estimated payback for these
projects is 5 years or less, which means they’ll
pay for themselves within 5 years, through lower
energy bills.

Homeowners can save

The 1982 Energy Division’s biennial report to the
Legislature gives examples of how much
homeowners can pocket in savings if they set
back the thermostat during the day and lower it
again at night. It gives figures on how much
they’ll save if they plug leaks around windows
and doors by caulking and weatherstripping,
shading windows—insulating attics, walls, and
foundations.

The *84 legislature appropriated $100,000 for
low-income weatherization research. The program
authorizes conservation study measures, including
air infiltration standards, foundation insulation,
and furnace retrofitting in low-income residences.
One of its goals is to reduce the number of
homeowners that rely on fuel assistance.

For a new home, conservation research
includes superinsulation. According to the

division’s 1982 biennial legislative report,
superinsulated houses are especially suited for
cold climates like Minnesota’s.

What’s a superinsulated home? To quote the
report, “A superinsulated house has at least 12
inches of wall insulation, 19 inches of ceiling
insulation, and 4 inches of basement wall
insulation. Other features include triple or
quadruple glazing of non-south facing windows
and air-to-air ‘heat exchangers.” Heating and
cooling costs are typically $150 per year or less.
As of 1982, 200 superinsulated homes in
Minnesota were complete or in various stages of
construction.

Savings and factors in superinsulation

Superinsulating a new home may add over

$6,000 to the total price of construction, and

this means higher mortgage payments. The

question is whether payments go up at a rate

greater than the payback from energy savings.
The Energy Division says that superinsulation

is cost effective so long as the value of annual

fuel savings exceeds the value of added annual

mortgage payments over the life of the

insulation or of the house, whichever is shorter. p

ENERGY MINNESOTANS USE

Fuel Oil (18.6%)

Electricity (17.5%)

LP Gas (5%)

Natural Gas (68.9%)

WHAT MINNESOTANS USE ENERGY FOR

Water Heating (15.7 %)

Miscellaneous
Uses (13.4%)

ooling
(4.8%)

Space Heating (66.1%)

Department of Energy and Economic Development 1982 Report
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Indoor-air quality in superinsulated homes is
under study. The tight insulation allows for
hardly any air infiltration, so they need
controlled mechanical ventilation. This
ventilation is therefore a part of new and retrofit
superinsulated construction.

A 1981 legislative appropriation helped
superinsulation efforts, and the Energy Division
was able to:

* begin a superinsulation housing project

» award grants for 20 superinsulated homes and
6 superinsulated remodeling projects

* publish 4 superinsulated house plans for sale
to the general public

* develop a superinsulation curriculum and in-
service training for 170 area vocational technical
institute and high school instructors across the
state, and courses for carpenters, builders, the
financial community, and consumers.

1974

1976

* created Energy Information Center

1978

1980 |

1981 [

1983

1984

* set new air conditioner standards

o created Energy Agency after OPEC threats

» passed statewide Minnesota Energy Code

] * passed the Minnesota Home Improvement Loan program ,
1977 E | ¢ banned lawn gas lamps
* required energy efficient air conditioners .
* banned gas-forced furnaces or clothes dryers

* banned stoves with continuous burning pilot lights
+» changed statewide Minnesota Energy Code to local option

» funded energy conservation loan program

* required energy saving campaign (begins Fall '84)
« funded rental property conservation enforcement
* continued community energy councils and Governor's 1983 Community Energy Program

Rising costs will stimulate conservation

Rising energy costs in a technology age will
stimulate home energy conservation, because as
prices go up, builders, tradesmen, and designers
will become acquainted with new conservation
products, and conservation construction will
improve.

Because of rising costs and the fact that
Minnesota spends $7 billion on energy
annually—much of which goes out of state—
Rep. Gordon Voss (DFL-Blaine) expects that
legislative support of energy conservation will
remain strong. g

Hilights o eislative Energy onevation Action Since 1974

« required landlords to caulk/weatherstrip units

* set up Minnesota Rehabilitation Loan Program

» continued residential energy audit program with utilities

__For answers to ergy qtis cal e nerg Inforation Cent at 2-175 or toll free at 1800-65~7
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GAMBLING GAME LAWS

Two new gambling laws spell
crackdown and regulation for
illegal gamblers in Minnesota

by Nancy J. Miller

A law to clean up problems in bingo parlors and
another to keep illegal video gambling out of
Minnesota came out of the 84 session. About
the “bingo bill,” author Rep. Dick Kostohryz
(DFL-North St. Paul) says, “The new law won’t
substantially affect charitable bingo operators
who play by the rules.

“In fact,” says Kostohryz, “many
organizations may make more of a profit under
the new law because it will tax bingo earnings
after prizes are paid out, not before.”

The bingo bill takes licensing and regulating
away from local agencies and puts it in the
hands of a new state Charitable Gambling
Review Board. The board will keep track of
bingo and other gambling games, such as pull
tabs, by registering and numbering the game
paraphernalia. Investigators will monitor
gambling operations that show dramatic
increases or decreases as a result of stricter
reporting laws.

Kostohryz says the new law will up state
revenue and discourage cheating and skimming
through more enforcement and monitoring.
Some of that increased revenue will go to boost
the arts in Minnesota, because the law earmarks
unspent charitable gambling funds for a new
state high school for the arts. The money goes
into the general fund, and the Legislature is to
determine the amount that would go toward an
approved arts school.
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Law blocks illegal video gambling

Lawmakers looked into the national problem of
hi-tech illegal video machine gambling and
moved to prevent it in Minnesota with new
legislation. The legislation limits games to liquor
establishments only and sets strict registration
and licensing requirements to buy, sell, and
operate the games.

Also, under the new law, people who use the
games illegally are subject to penalties. To help
pay for the cost of policing the games, local
communities will get back a share of the
licensing fees the state collects.

Video gambling games differ from regular
video games because they’re games of chance,
not skill. They operate like slot machines, but
are highly sophisticated, often dealing poker
hands on the video screen.

Illegal payouts may come from the machine
itself or from people who operate them, such as
a bartender or restaurant owner. Operators,
owners, and players can switch machines from
innocent play to gambling and avoid
prosecution.

“The bill’s designed to restrict and control the
use of these games for illegal purposes,” says the
bill’s author, Rep. James Metzen (DFL-South
St. Paul). '

Legal gambling in Minnesota got a boost this
legislative session in part of the omnibus tax
bill. People who bet and win on horse racing
will now pay less withholding tax at the track,
which conforms to federal tax law. Horse
industry people will also be exempt from tax
withholdings on purses, and jockeys who win
purses will be able to take more of their prize
money home before paying taxes. B

Multiple-
card bingo
players
watch for the
lucky
numbers
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Producer meets the product (Chapter 645)
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Regulating—bulk sale of food
Chapter 476

HF1910—K. Nelson
SF1879*—Petty

» establishes standards for selling
. R bulk food

non-fat solids. New Energy Economic Development Au- . icquires retail food handlers to dis-
" X play bulk food in labeled self-service
thority loan program to provide farm loans. containers with tight-fitting lids and
dispensing utensils

« prohibits local ordinances that con-
flict with state law

+ Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 8@

Milk becomes official state drink. Component pricing

plan bases milk prices on weight, milk fat, protein, and

Apiary law changes
Chapter 517
HF1663*—F joslien
SF1649—Samuelson

» makes certain changes in the api-
ary law and gives te Agriculture
commissioner greater flexibility in
ordering and enforcing actions to
contro!l dangerous honey bee dis-
eases and parasites

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Component pricing bill

Chapter 509

HF1425*—Krueger
SF1450—Wegscheid

» allows processors to pay for milk
and cream on the basis of weight,
milk fat, protein, and non-fat solids
* allows an additional premium for
“quality’ milk

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Farm loan authority

Chapter 584

HF2051*—Kalis

SF1457—Stumpf

¢ authorizes the Energy an Econmic
Development Authority to issue
bonds for farm loans

» provides that financial institu-
tions, authorized to do business in
the state, will originate and service
these loans

» authorizes loan only when other fi-
nancing is not available

+ Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

| Milk—Official state drink
Chapter 645
HF1532*—Krueger
SF1595—Bertram
+ designates milk as the official state

drink Farmer readies a field for planting (Chapter 584)
» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

photo by Larry Salzman
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Appropriations for the second year of the biennium in-

cluded the Capital Budget and the Supplemental

Budget. The Capital Budget funds state building and

renovation projects from the Administration Depart-

ment to the Zoo. Education projects, including the U of

M, Community Colleges, State Universities, and AVTIs,

received the majority of the appropriation.

The Supplemental Budget funds (among other proj-

ects) the continuation of a state jobs program, public

welfare and health, energy and environmental pro-

grams, education and transportation projects, plus a

technology corridor project between the U and down-

town Minneapolis.

photo by Tom Olmscheid
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Capitol Improvements/
Bonding Bill

Chapter—597

HF2314*—Rice no companion

» authorizes $189,160,000 in bond-
ing for capital improvements for
state buildings and programs

* provides for design competition for
a judicial building

 authorizes remodeling, equipment
replacement, programs, and study of
facilities under direction of the De-
partment of Administration

¢ provides for Capitol and other
landscaping, engineering and design
for Capitol complex parking; orders
a study and report on employee use
of van pool program

» funds various construction and de-
velopment projects within the DNR,
for the Iron Range Resources and Re-
habilitation Board, and Minnesota
Zoo; 7-county pilot energy project for
Department of Energy and Economic
Development

* provides for improvements in mil-
itary and veterans’ buildings; a
study of veterans’ residential use of
buildings on U of M campus; also
funds improvements for the Depart-
ment of Corrections, Public Welfare,
Minnesota Historical Society, com-
munity colleges, state universities,
and votech schools.

» provides for bond sale expenses
and interstate reduction rate

* increases appropriation from MN
State Water Pollution Control Fund
to the PCA for grants and disburse-
ments for sewage construction
projects

» Effective: day after enactment

Claims against the state

Chapter 486

HF1402*—Kalis SF1353—Dahl
» provides payment for various
claims against the state

* Effective: day after enactment

Supplemental Budget Bill
Chapter 654
HF2317*—Rice no companion
Article 1: Appropriations
Summary

Appropriates $196,912,800 for
State Departments; Agriculture,
Transportation, and Semi-State
Agencies, Education, Health, Wel-
fare, and Corrections (Human Serv-
ices) for indicated fiscal years
“FY’84” and “FY’'85.” b
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Article 2: State Departments
Appropriates $1,154,700 (FY’'84)
$33,330,800 (FY'85) for legislative
and judicial branches, various state
departments, offices, boards, and
agencies.
» waste disposal—forbids con-
struction of resource recovery facil-
ity within boundaries of a first-class
city without 4/5 of city council
approval
s cross-country skiing—excludes
from license requirements trails that
don't get state recreational funds;
creates new license sticker for ski
poles
¢ car registration fees—assesses
$4 first-time registration fee; $4 for
each transfer of title after that; puts
proceeds into waste-tire collection
program
¢ natural energy resources/proj-
ects—instructs commissioner of En-
ergy and Economic Development to
design native-energy reource pro-
gram including solar, wind, hydro-
power, peat, fiber fuels, and bio-
mass; develop and administer energy
audits; allows loans to municipalities
for energy improvement projects

Article 3: Agriculture, Transpor-
tation and Semi-State
Appropriates $27,449,500
(FY’84), $59,391,800 (FY’85) for de-
partments of Agriculture, Transpor-
tation, Public Safety, and Commerce.
Also, Minnesota Historical Society,
Arts Board, Voyageurs National
Park Committee, Veterans of Foreign
Wars, Uniform Laws Commission
* passenger trains—establishes
rail passenger study commission
¢ agland programs—establishes ag
land preservation and conservation
awareness program, and aid
program
e Metro Transit (MTC)—creates
Regional Transit Board to do MTC's
bus service planning and policy-mak-
ing functions
+ gas pump fees—exempts retail
petroleum pumps, vehicle and bulk
meters from certain inspection fees
¢ race horse tests—instructs Uof M
to present, by Jan. 1, 1985, a plan
for medical lab test services for race
horses
* livestock weighing—changes
weighing procedures; clarifies licen-
sing; defines other regulations
¢ public transit—establishes in-
state transit assistance program

¢ video gambling games—requires
licensing distributors and operators;
license sticker on games; license fee
distribution to cities and counties for
enforcement costs; operator and
owner location agreements; pro-
hibits municipality license fees; al-
lows two games per location; pre-
scribes penalties; establishes laws on
seizing and disposing of video gam-
bling property
Article 4: Education

Appropriates $10,413,000 (FY’'85)
$50,000 (FY’84) to the Department
of Education; Board of Vocational-
Technical Education; Higher Educa-
tion Coordinating Board; University
of Minnesota
» votech non-resident tuition—al-
lows MN '84-'85 resident tuition for
residents from bordering states that
didn’t require non-resident tuition
for votech programs in '83-'84
e retailing institute; school of
business—asks U of M to prepare
plans and specifications for Institute
of Contemporary Retailing, and with
the State University System ready
plans for International School of
Business for inclusion in '85 budget
requests
* senior board members—requires
state boards, commissions, advisory
councils, task forces, or committees
to have at least 1 member 60 years
or older, with at least 1 older member
not active in, or retired from, an oc-
cupation, profession, or industry the
group regulates
¢ AVTI teaching requirements—
changes number of hours unlicensed
instructors in AVTI extension pro-
grams can teach
* tuition revenue use—specifies
'85-'87 tuition revenue percentages
for the U of M, State University Sys-
tem, Community College System, and
AVTIs; bases appropriations for 2nd
biennial year on latest enrollment
¢ instruction costs—specifies av-
erage cost of instruction to include
only costs chargeable to academic or
vocational programs
» student fees/services—allows
State University Board to charge
fees for student unions; directs the
board to offer student health serv-
ices; allows fees for services
» gifts/grants—eliminates require-
ments that gifts or grants to state
universities go into the state treas-
ury and that grant-in-aid applicants

33

must complete 1 year at a 2-year in-
stitution and be transferring to a 4-
year school

» senior citizen tuition—specifies
tuition exemptions don’t apply to
noncredit courses the U of M, state
universities, community colleges,
and AVTIs designed and offered ex-
clusively for senior citizens

Article 5: Health, Welfare, and
Corrections

Appropriates $33,944,000
(FY’84), $31,229,000 (FY’85) to fund
departments of Public Welfare, Eco-
nomic Security, Corrections, State
Planning Agency for programs such
as long-term care, nursing homes,
child care, chemical dependency
services, medical and general assis-
tance, employment and rehabilita-
tion, probation services, crime victim
centers.
¢ breast cancer—requires physi-
cians to inform breast cancer pa-
tients of treatment methods and
risks
* health services credentials—re-
establishes Health Department’s
Manpower Credentialing Service and
a streamlined policy advisory coun-
cil »

photo by Paul Battaglia

New fee regulations affect retail gas
stations (Chapter 654)
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+ battered women—removes man-
date for information collection by

health and social service
professionals
o patient removal—establishes

plan to study removal of patients
from state hospitals and continues
Community Work Experience Pro-
gram another year
e reduction in General Assis-
tance—lowers GA grants by consid-
ering household income in shared
residences; includes adult students
with parental/relatives support;
limits work-registration exemption
for full-time students
+ jobs program (MEED)—makes
farmers eligible for MEED program;
requires Economic Security commis-
sioner to send names of people re-
quired to register for work to MEED;
targets MEED funds to high unem-
ployment areas; increases goal for
private sector placement; phases out
MEED program: allowance dead-
line—Sept. 30, 84 (GA phase-in be-
gins), program ends—Jan. 1, '86
¢ added GA/Medicaid coverage—
includes under GAMC coverage
equipment/supplies for treating di-
abetes, hearing aids, prosthetic de-
vices, and lab and X-ray services; al-
lows GA recipients in state hospitals,
or nursing homes, to get personal
allowances
¢ childcare and the homeless—re-
quires county boards to provide low-
income people with child-care serv-
ices from Community Social Services
block grants; establishes a short-
term program for qualifying persons
and agencies to house the homeless
and explore permanent housing
» women’s programs—establishes
revenue fund for displaced home-
maker and battered women pro-
grams, from part of divorce and mar-
riage fees
« construction ban—establishes
moratorium until June 30, 1987 on
hospital and outpatient surgical cen-
ter construction and expansion, with
certain exceptions; establishes en-
forcement requirements
« department name change—
changes name of Department of Pub-
lic Welfare to the Department of Hu-
man Services
» Effective: various effective dates
[ ]

Banks or trust companies can offer trust services in any

bank. Industrial loan and thrift companies may be

trustees for IRA accounts. Credit unions can offer var-

ious classes of shares, charge annual dues, and set up

out-of-state services. Businesses can fine bad-check

writers $15 a check.
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Credit union sign encourages member-
ship (Chapter 512)

African Development Bank
Chapter 382

HF1944*—Metzen
SF1827—Freeman

« qualifies the African Development
Bank for public and financial insti-
tution investment

o Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Credit union changes
Chapter 512
HF1481*—Simoneau
SF1539—Wegscheid

« authorizes credit unions to offer
various classes of shares, share cer-
tificates, deposits, or deposit
certificates

« gives board of directors various
powers regarding shares and insti-
tutions to deposit certain funds

« allows an annual membership fee
« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Credit union reciprocity

Chapter 500

HF1771*—Norton

SF1637—Petty

¢ allows credit unions from another
state to do business in MN if that
state allows MN credit unions to op-
erate there

» Effective: day after enactment

34

Expanded authority—
financial institutions
Chapter 473
HF1923—Quinn
SF1732*—Wegscheid

« allows industrial loan and thrift
companies to act as trustees for IRA
accounts

« allows financial institutions to au-
thorize open-ended loans to individ-
uals using a home mortgage as se-
curity under certain circumstances
» Effective: day after enactment

Financial institutions
omnibus bill

Chapter 576
HF1655*—Brinkman
SF1758—Solon

« reinstates the $15 fee merchants
may charge a writer of a bad check
« extends the removal of usury lim-
its on home mortgages for another 3
years, from August 1984 to August
1987

« requires the underwriter of a bond
or contract of insurance to give ad-
vance written notice on the termi-
nation or cancellation of a fidelity
bond to a bank

« allows, until Jan. 1, 1985, Wiscon-
sin residents to open checking ac-
counts in MN without a picture ID

« conforms to federal regulations on
loan limits to bank directors, offi-
cers, or employees

¢ Effective: day after enactment

Trust service offices

Chapter 506

HF1352*—Skoglund
SF1306—Petty

« allows banks or trust companies to
set up trust service offices in other
banks anywhere in the state upon fil-
ing a notification of intent and pay-
ing a fee

o Effective: day after enactment &
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Shareholders, employees, and communities get a voice

in corporate takeovers. Export Finance Authority gets

okay to insure Minnesota exports. Legislature repeals

the Buy Minnesota Law.

photo courtesy of Dahlberg Inc., Miracle-Ear Center

New consumer law on hearing aids (Chapter 418)
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Ag production input liens
Chapter 467

HF1601—B. Anderson
SF1451*—DeCramer

* allows suppliers of agricultural
production products to notify lend-
ers of their intent to file an agricul-
tural production input lien

s requires lenders to respond to a
lien notification statement

« Effective: July 1, 1984, except that
no one may attach liens attach to
crops planted before Dec. 1, 1984

Buy Minnesota repeal
Chapter 440
HF1939*—Beard
SF2153—Chmielewski

* repeals preference for Minnesota-
made materials

+ removes 10 percent preference for
public contracts

« clarifies provision requiring state
agencies to give preference to resi-
dent bidders when states of non-res-
ident bidders give preference to their
resident bidders

« Effective: day after enactment

Commerce Department—
miscellaneous changes
Chapter 552
HF1632—Segal
SF1750*—Wegscheid

» modifies and clarifies certain pro-
visions'of the securities, real estate,
and unclaimed property statutes,
which the Commerce Department
administers

» Effective: various effective dates

Construction—

indemnification agreements
Chapter 598

HF2151—Norton

SF1974*—R. Peterson

* makes technical corrections to
1983 legislation that prohibited the
enforcement of indemnification
agreements governing injury liabil-
ity between contractors and subcon-
tractors in construction contracts

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 p
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Cooperatives—distribution
of assets

Chapter 423
HF1884—Graba
SF1351*—C. Peterson

¢ provides that any undistributed
property after the voluntary disso-
lution of cooperative associations
could go to non-profit corporations
or organizations

¢ Effective: Aug. 1, 1984,

Corporations—hostile

takeovers prohibited

Chapter 488

HF1422*—Simoneau

SF1975—R. Moe

* requires any acquiring company to
file a registration statement with the
state that includes complete disclo-
sure of plans to take over ‘‘target”
companies

* provides that takeover offers are
effective upon filing registration
statements, unless the Commerce
commissioner suspends takeover
offers

« provides that when an acquiring
company seeks to take over a Min-
nesota corporation with 50 or more
shareholders, the Minnesota firm’s
shareholders must vote on the pro-
posed takeover within 30 to 55 days
after receiving a registration
statement

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Export Finance Authority—
clarification

Chapter 461

HF2085—Eken SF1977*—Novak
¢ clarifies that the Export Finance
Authority may insure and guarantee
Minnesota exports for the time pe-

riod between shipment and payment
» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Fine prints requirements
Chapter 450
HF585*—Murphy SF811—Spear

* requires advertisers and sellers of
fine prints to. disclose certain infor-
mation about certain fine print
editions

» sets penalties for noncompliance

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Franchise definition

Chapter 596

HF2141*—O0Ogren
SF1805—Wegscheid

* changes the definition of
“franchise”

s exempts from the definition of
franchise businesses operating un-
der a license or lease where the busi-
ness is not the major one on the
premise

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Hearing aid guarantees
Chapter 418
HF1819*—Segal
SF2002—Berglin

* requires hearing aid sellers to give
buyers a 30-day written money-back
guarantee, issue receipts, and make
refunds under certain circumstances
» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Indirect purchasers—right to sue
Chapter 458
HF1843-—Rodosovich
SF1807*—Donna Peterson

¢ clarifies that persons who suffer
financial loss because of Minnesota
Antitrust Law violations may sue in-
direct product suppliers for triple
the damages

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Legal newspaper—suspension
Chapter 439
HF2150*—Waltman
SF2007—Mehrkens

* provides for the temporary sus-
pension (maximum 3 months) of le-
gal newspaper publications having
financial difficulties

« Effective: day after enactment

Limited partnerships—changes
Chapter 448
HF1058*—Bishop no companion

+ allows individuals who mistakenly
believed themselves to be limited
partners in a business enterprise, but
find they are general partners, to file
a certificate declaring withdrawal
with the secretary of state

+ specifies liabilities of general part-
ners of limited partnerships under
the 1976 Uniform Limited Partner-
ship Act

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

36

Limited partnerships—

loan interest rate

Chapter 493

HF1659*—Ellingson
SF1510—Petty

o allows lenders to limited partner-
ships to charge a competitive inter-
est rate

» Effective: day after enactment

E

PR

Law controls removal of full-service

bays {Chapter 444)
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Local government contracts
Chapter 413

HF2038*—Clawson
SF2149—Wegscheid

e establishes procedures for local
governments to follow when enter-
ing into contracts of $10,000 or less
 requires local governments to keep
at least 2 quotations on file for at

photo by Paul Battaglia

least 1 year when they base contract
awards on quotations
o Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Mechanics’ liens—

computing interest

Chapter 472

HF2039—Ellingson
SF1575*—Sieloff

« provides a method for computing
interest on mechanics’ lien claims

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Motor vehicle service contracts
Chapter 568

HF1820—Quinn
SF1859*—Wegscheid

* requires motor vehicle contract
providers to have insurance to cover
any contracts they sell over the re-
quired warranty and service

« requires Commerce commissioner,
upon notice, to stop the sale of con-
tracts if s/he finds providers or in-
surance companies violating the
provision

» agllows Commerce commissioner to
adopt rules to administer and en-
force the provision

« Effective: various enactment dates

Nonpossessory lien
Chapter 479
HF1149*—Clawson
SF731—R. Peterson

» entitles persons who have a lien on
property they're taking care of or
storing (excluding motor vehicles)
and who voluntarily surrender or
lose possession of the property, to
continue their lien on the property
by filing with the secretary of state
or county recorder

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Pipefitting regulation
Chapter 481
HF1264*—F. Rodriguez
SF2098—Pogemiller

» expands state regulation of steam-
fitters to include all high-pressure
piping, with certain exceptions

» requires the Department of Labor
and Industry to collect a surcharge
from municipalities to defray the
state’s cost for issuing permits, and
to charge a fee if the Department is-
sues permits or inspects high-pres-
sure systems

» establishes a code enforcement ad-
visory council

* Effective: Aug, 1, 1984

37

Plain language
contracts—exemptions

Chapter 414

HF1998*—Gustafson
SF1872—Solon

» exempts from plain-language-con-
tract regulations any written agree-
ments involving security transac-
tions with broker-dealers or
investment advisors registered with
the Securities and Exchange
Commission

¢ exempts from the regulations com-
modity transactions with futures
commission merchants registered
with the Commodities Futures Trad-
ing Commission

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Service station—

2-year moratorium

Chapter 444

HF1656*—Solberg

SF1652—Dahl

« prohibits, until July 1, 1986, fran-
chisors from eliminating service
bays at full-service gas stations
without consent of the franchisees
« Effective: day after enactment

Subdivided land—
regulation changes
Chapter 452
HF1635—Peterson
SF1504*—Novak

« adopts new language regulating
the sale or lease of subdivided land
including time-share property,
housing cooperatives, condomi-
niums, and improved lots

¢ requires registration and a public
offering statement for subdivided
land

« Effective: Sept. 1, 1984

Transient merchants
Chapter 594
HF1915*—Rodosovich
SF1877—Purfeerst

« authorizes municipalities to ex-
clude from state regulation certain
types of transient merchants (people
who sell goods on a temporary basis,
either in one location or when trav-
eling from place to place)

« Effective: day after enactment &
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Arrests—misdemeanor
offenses/domestic abuse
Chapter 433
HF1556—O0lsen
SF1398*—Bertram

¢ allows peace officers to carry out
arrest warrants during the night for
misdemeanor offenses, if they find
people with outstandiing warrants
on public streets

e increases the time that law en-
forcement officers can hold persons
in domestic abuse cases without is-
suing citations and bringing them be-
fore a judge

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Burglary—sentence reduced
Chapter 497
HF1735*—Dempsey
SF2190—Frederickson

» reduces the period of incarceration
that judges may impose for first-time
burglary offenses from 120 to 90
days

¢ Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Child kidnapping by
parents/guardians
Chapter 484
HF1347*—Segal
SF1318—Pogemiller

+ makes it a felony to intentionally
deprive someone of parental, custo-
dial, or visitation rights by taking,
concealing, or failing to return a
child to the parent or other person
who has custodial or visitation
rights to the child

* provides defenses to charges of
taking a child with intent to deprive
someone of parental, custodial, or
visitation rights

+ allows the court to direct the
county welfare agency to provide
counseling to the child

* requires the court to dismiss
charges under certain circumstances
* requires persons who know of vi-
olations of this law to report them to
the police

¢ Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Children—sexual abuse
Chapter 588
HF1279*—Levi
SF1460—Petty

* clarifies that contributing to a
child’s status as a habitual truant,
runaway, petty offender, or drug or
alcohol offender is a misdemeanor
offense

Penalties increase for parents who take children and

deprive others of visitation rights. Under-10-year-olds’

out-of-court statements can be in-court child abuse evi-

dence. Property from crimes and drug transactions be-

comes source of law-enforcement revenue.

Inmate will make up segregated time (Chapter 381)

* allows as court evidence out-of-
court statements on sexual contact
from children under 10 years old un-
der certain circumstances

* makes it a crime for persons who
are older and in an authoriaty posi-
tion to engage in sexual penetration
or contact with youths 16 to 18 years
old (current law provides for those
under 16 years)

* clarifies definitions regarding sex-
ual conduct

¢ clarifies when medical privilege
can exclude evidence in child abuse
cases

» Effective: out-of-court statements
and medical privilege: Aug. 1, 1984;
others: day after enactment

38

Crimes—forfeiture of property
Chapter 625

HF1285—Bishop
SF1561*—Waldorf

« allows law enforcement officers,
without court authorization, to take
weapons, transport devices, con-
tainers, and contraband used in a
crime; provides procedures, upon
conviction, for the forfeiture and
sale of the property, with certain
limitations

» provides for the distribution of
sale proceeds

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 »
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Drugs—forfeiture of property
Chapter 624

HF1284—Bishop
SF1560*—Waldorf

* provides for the forfeiture and sale
of property and valuables involved
in illegal drug transactions, where
the property owner knew of or was
involved in the drug deal

» provides for the distribution of
sale proceeds

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Emergency communications—
false reports/interference
Chapter 630

HF2198—D. Nelson

SF1905*—R. Peterson

¢ prescribes penalties for making a
false emergency call for medical or
ambulance service, and for interfer-
ing with communications over an
emergency citizen’s band radio
channel

» Effective: day after enactment

Firearm theft—penalty
Chapter 483
HF1304*—J. Clark
SF1621—Pogemiller

* makes it a felony to steal firearms,
regardless of value, or to receive,
possess, or transfer firearms that
one knows, or has reason to know,
are stolen.

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Fleeing from officers—
clarification

Chapter 445
HF1651*—Hoberg
SF1858—Jude

» clarifies that current penalties for
fleeing from a peace officer are max-
imum penalties

» includes conservation officers as
peace officers from whom it is a
crime to flee in a motor vehicle when
officers are acting in the line of duty
» Effective: day after enactment

Handicapped in
communication—interpreters
Chapter 460

HF2097—J. Clark

SF1973*—Jude

¢ changes the definition ‘“‘persons
handicapped in communication” to
include persons who have difficulty
speaking or comprehending English

» requires law enforcement officials
to provide a qualified interpreters to
aid an arrested person who has com-
munication difficulties as soon as
possible

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Human organs—sale prohibited
Chapter 475

HF2245—Clawson

SF1849*—Jude

» prohibits buying or selling of non-
renewable human organs

« allows organ donors to collect pay-
ment for expenses they incur when
donating

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Inmates—extended sentences
Chapter 381

HF1772—J. Clark
SF1832*—Spear

« clarifies that inmates serving time
in segregation confinement as pun-
ishment for disciplinary violations
must serve the entire segregation
confinement period, even if their re-
lease date comes up while they're in
segregation confinement

» Effective: day after enactment

Medicaid fraud—

aggregation of theft

Chapter 419

HF1809*—Wynia
SF1785—Merriam

» provides, in medicaid fraud pros-
ecutions, that the court may base the
severity of the penalty on the total
value of money or property the of-
fender received during any 6-month
period

¢ extends the statute of limitations
for medicaid fraud from 3 to 6 years
« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Property damage—penalty
defined

Chapter 421
HF1445*—Seaberg
SF1402—Storm

* broadens current law to provide
that persons who damage property
so its value goes down more than
$300 in combined repair and replace-
ment costs are guilty of aggravated
property damage

¢ Effective: Aug. 1, 1984
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Cuiwe & Comedions

Sentencing guidelines—
law changes

Chapter 589
HF1382*—Bishop
SF1354—Spear

* requires the Sentencing Guidelines
Commission to submit changes in
sentencing guidelines to the Legis-
lature by Jan. 1 of the year the Com-
mission wants the changes to go into
effect; provides that the Commis-
sion’s changes will go into effect
Aug. 1 of that year, unless the Leg-
islature directs otherwise

* requires the Sentencing Guidelines
Commission to report to the Legis-
lature each Nov. 1 on changes to the
guidelines during the previous year
and on proposed changes for the next
year

» provides that changes to the guide-
lines grid that reduce the length of
sentences may apply to people serv-
ing sentences who apply to court for
retroactive application of the change
» Effective: day after enactment

Sex offenses—

statute of limitations

Chapter 496

HF1722*—Wynia

SF1833—Petty

» extends, from 3 to 7 years, the time
a victim of sex offenses has to press
charges against the offender if the
victim was under 18 years old at the
time of the offense

» Effective: Aug.'1, 1984

Telecommunications
services—theft
Chapter 466
HF1473—Kelly
SF1365*—Freeman

e defines an unauthorized connec-
tion or attachment of an unauthor-
ized device to a local telecommuni-
cations system as theft of
telecommunications services

* provides that the unauthorized
connection is evidence that the oc-
cupant of the premises made or was
aware of the connection, and knew
that it was unauthorized

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 @
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DWI—mandatory testing

. d i ch S
Refusing a blood alcohol test means a one-year loss of g;a;g%‘;; ange

. . . o) g HF1400—Vellenga
license. And drivers under age 19 will Jorfeit licenses SF1336*—Pogemgiller

. . * requires suspected DWI violators

Jor 30 days if they buy or try to buy alcohol using a Sl(llbmit to an alcohol concentration
test

license or permit. More liquor licenses possible in St. - requires a 1-year license revoca-
tion of anyone over age 18 who re-
Paul and other cities. fuses chemical testing, and license
revocation upon refusal of people
under 18 for 1 year or until they
reach 18, whichever is longer
¢ requires peace officers to inform
DWI suspects that they must take a
chemical test and of the conse-
quences of test refusal or failure; li-
cense revocation of people under 18-
years-old would be 6 months or until
they turn 18, whichever is longer;
and after submitting to testing, they
have a right to consult an attorney
* prohibits reckless or careless driv-
ing in private parking lots, which the
public uses, and driveways connect-
ing the private lots to a street or
highway
* provides for a 30-day license re-
vocation of anyone under age 19 who
buys or tries to buy alcohol using a
driver’s license or permit
* replaces current law with a pro-
vision that says it’s unlawful to
drive with a blood alcohol content of
.10 or more measured within 2 hours
of the time of driving
* increases penalties for drivers in-
volved in an accident that results in
death or great bodily harm who
leave the scene or fail to notify the
police, even though they didn’t cause
the accident
* increases various penalties for

DWI violation
Citizen takes breath test (Chapter 430) » Effective: Aug. 31, 1984

photo by Tom Olmscheid

Liquor—miscellaneous changes
Chapter 626

DWI—breath tests HF1883-—Jacobs ;
Chapter 430 SF1349*—Spear g
HF1638—Vellenga testing instrument, the Intoxilizer repeals St. Paul’s liquor patrol Hm- |
SF1642*—R. Peterson 5000, to determine alcohol its e&d allows the cigy cogncﬂ to is- ‘
¢ allows the administration of concentration. sue 10 new licenses a year until 1990
breath tests with an infrared breath- * Effective: day after enactment « allows Roseville, city of West St.

Paul, the Duluth City Council, the
town board of Greenwood, and St.
Paul to issue various liquor licenses
e Effective: various effective datesiB
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Education Finance Omnibus Bill

Chapter 463
HF1393*—K. Nelson
SF1404—Nelson

+ appropriates $1,557,000 for Fiscal
Year ‘84 and $26,173,000 for Fiscal
Year ‘85

» sets foundation aid formula for the
1985-86 school year at $1,585

» sets basic maintenance mill rate at
23.5 mills for the 1985-86 school
year

* removes revenue equity provisions
for agricultural school districts be-
ginning FY 1986

« alters formula for tier 4 allowance
by adding a training and experience
factor of $150

e authorizes new summer school pro-
gram aid and levy for summer school
courses, curriculum or staff devel-
opment, parent or community in-
volvement, experimental programs,
and other educational improvement
measures

» allows school districts with com-
munity education programs to estab-
lish early childhood/family educa-
tion programs, with certain
requirements, charge fees, and pro-
vide programs cooperatively

¢ removes the provision that states
the Board of Education cannot re-
quire school districts to offer sec-
ondary vocational courses, but limits
any courses the Board may require
to 4 credits or 560 hours

¢ establishes a new program, Pro-
grams of Excellence (POE), begin-
ning in 1985-86 to allow districts to
either send high achieving students
to other districts for programs the
home district does not offer, or apply
to become a school of excellence to
receive students from other districts
» allows districts to use capital levy
funds to purchase textbooks or
lease/purchase computer course-
ware and software

* requires district’s Planning, Eval-
uation, and Reporting (PER) reports
to include annual instructional goals
and ways to measure what students
learn

* requires districts to set up and
evaluate PER testing programs with
certain criteria once every 2 years
« Effective: various effective dates

S e i e b e
Omnibus education finance bill funds LEAD (Learning,

Excellence, Assessment and Development) proposals,

re-instates summer school; raises aids for districts.

Minnesota Educational Computing Consortium be-

comes public corporation. Voters will vote on easing of

school land investment restrictions.

Minnesota Educational
Computing Corporation

Chapter 619

HF1668—Kahn SF1736*—Pehler

* creates the Minnesota Educational
Computing Corporation as a public
corporation and transfers assets of
the Minnesota Educational Comput-
ing Consortium to the corporation

» Effective: day after enactment
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Classrooms depend on School Fund lands (Chapter 482)

photo by Tom QOlmscheid
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School fund land—
constitutional amendment
Chapter 482
HF1291*—McEachern
SF1240—Pehler

» allows Minnesota voters to change
the investment restrictions on per-
manent school fund lands by amend-
ing the State Constitution

« Effective: upon voter approval of
the amendment g
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Exit polls inside or within 100 feet of a voting place are

against the law. Some candidate names may be on a

“gray ballot” if all names don’t fit on one election bal-

lot. Voting places indicating accessibility to the dis-

abled and elderly must provide specific accommoda-

tions for them. Towns get a freer hand in setting voting

hours.

L e

Law clarifie

Handicapped voters election bill
Chapter 471

HF1618—Minne
SF1546*—Donna Peterson

» improves election facilities for the
elderly and disabled voters if voting
blace specifies it is accessible to
them

¢ requires ballot instructions in
braille, large type or cassette; tele-
communication device for the deaf;
any help in reading instructions and
registration form, and casting ballots
* makes a polling place accessible to
the elderly or disabled

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984, except for
already printed materials that may
be used until July 1, 1985

photo by Tom Olmscheid

s voting machine procedures(Chapter 447)

Prohibiting exit polls

Chapter 515

HF1606*—Shea

SF2131—Donna Peterson

* bans anyone who is inside or
within 100 feet of an entrance to a
polling place from asking a voter
how s/he intends to vote or has voted
+ Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

School election filing date
Chapter 415

HF1936*—Olsen SF1796—Olson
e changes the filing deadline for
school elections from 21 days before
election to 28 days

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984
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School elections—absentee
ballots

Chapter 376

HF1462—L. Carlson
SF1476*—Reichgott

* makes procedures for school elec-
tion absentee ballots the same as
those for the general election

« Effective: day after enactment

Secretary of State

housekeeping bill

Chapter 560

HF1871—Welle

SF1954*—Hughes

* requires filing a petition for major
political party status with the sec-
retary of state, instead of county
auditor

* requires the secretary of state to
prepare an extract of election laws
on the duties of election judges and
to distribute them to county auditors
and municipal clerks

* allows candidates for municipal
Jjudges, soil and water conservation
district supervisors to be on a sepa-
rate ballot used when there are too
many candidates in the election for
one ballot

¢ corrects obsolete provisions

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Township election hours
Chapter 346
HF427—Sviggum
SF416*—Mehrkens

* allows town boards in metropoli-
tan counties to set voting hours for
town elections if they run from 10
a.m. to 8 p.m.

» allows other towns to set voting
time for elections if the polls are
open for at least 3 hours under cer-
tain circumstances

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Voting machine law
recodification

Chapter 447
HF1338*—O0sthoff
SF1809—Donna Peterson

* reorganizes and clarifies voting
machine law to separate provisions
governing both lever and electronic
systems, lever machines only and
electronic systems only, specifying
procedures for the use of each type
and recording of results

* Effective: Jan. 1, 1985 @
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Abuse—state hospitals/
nursing homes

Chapter 425
HF1987—Greenfield
SF1891*—Petty

« defines “abuse” of patients in state
hospitals and state nursing homes as
used in employee discipline arbitra-
tions and hearings

e Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Auctioneers—real estate
sales stipulation
Chapter 653
HF1743*—Sparby
SF1781—Merriam

¢ requires real estate auctioneers to
work for persons who hold licenses
to sell real estate or licensed
attorneys

« Effective: July 1, 1985

Building inspectors—

continuing education

Chapter 578

HF1878*—St. Onge
SF1661—Laidig

* requires inspectors to complete ed-
ucational programs every 3 years,
beginning Jan. 1, 1985 for
recertification

¢ Effective: day after enactment

Companion service wages
Chapter 614

HF1306—Berkelman
SF1235*—Uland

» grants at least a four hour mini-
mum wage payment to individuals
who come into homes for overnight

companion services
* Effective: March 1, 1984

Conduct proceedings—
inadmissible evidence
Chapter 556
HF2067—Greenfield
SF1883*—Donna Peterson

* prohibits use of a patient’s or
client’s sexual history as evidence
before boards of medical examiners
and psychology in unprofessional
conduct cases concerning sexual con-
tact with a patient or client, unless
the complainant authorizes its use

e Effective: day after enactment b

Euplogueiit & Labor

Tip credit law to phase out over a four-year period.

Salespeople get help in collecting commissions after

their dismissal or resignation. Entertainment agencies

and real estate auctioneers come under state regula-

tions. Problem of sexual exploitation by counselors

and therapists will get state attention

Tip credit laws change {Chapter 636)
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Electrical circuit installers—
licensing change

Chapter 470

HF1851—G. Anderson
SF1498*—Waldorf

¢ exempts installers of Class II and
Class III signaling circuits, power
protective signaling circuits, or out-
side wiring alarms from current li-
cense requirement; excludes instal-
lation of wiring in hazardous
locations ]

« Effective: day after enactment

Employee Relations

Department changes

Chapter 642

HF1991*—Knuth SF2084—Jude

» clarifies eligibility of handicapped
people for special civil service ex-
amination procedures

e allows Employee Relations com-
missioner to negotiate with insur-
ance companies that want to provide
insurance plans for state employees
» changes the appeal of court-mar-
tial proceedings for state military
forces employees

e clarifies that public employees
competing in the Olympics could get
a leave of absence without pay or
benefit loss while training and par-
ticipating in competition

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Entertainment agency regulation
Chapter 587
HF1257*—Rice SF1886—Solon

» requires licensing of entertainment
agents through the Department of
Labor and Industries

* requires agents to report fee sched-
ules and forms of contracts

« requires a $10,000 bond with the
license application

» forbids license transfer without
permission; stipulates penalties

» Effective; Aug. 1, 1984

Esthetician salon licensing
HF1985*—Hokr
SF1866—Kronebusch

« would have allowed a licensed es-
thetician to operate a salon

Infectious agent regulation
Chapter 431

HF1527—K. Clark
SF1495*—Diessner

¢ includes rickettsia and parasites in
the Health commissioner’s stipulated

training program for hospital and
clinic employees routinely exposed
to infectious agents

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Payroll deductions—
political action
Chapter 508
HF1421*—Simoneau
SF1386—Lantry

¢ allows payroll deductions to in-
clude deductions for a federally or
state-registered political action
committee

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Peace officer compensation
Chapter 454

HF1523—Wenzel

SF1622*—Jude

» raises from $50,000 to $100,000
the compensation for dependents of
peace officers killed in the line of
duty

» Effective: day after enactment

Public Employment Labor
Relations Act recodification
Chapter 462
HF2160—Simoneau
SF1986*—Nelson

¢ recodifies Public Employment La-
bor Relations Act by eliminating ob-
solete and redundant language, rear-
ranging sections in a more logical
order, and rewriting provisions to
make them easier to understand

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Salespeople—wages

Chapter 446

HF1562*—Blatz
SF1519—Freeman

» stipulates payment of wages to dis-
charged or resigning commissioned

salespeople
« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Sexual exploitation by
counselors and therapists
Chapter 631
HF2068—Greenfield
SF1884*—Donna Peterson

» requires the Corrections commis-
sioner to appoint a task force to
study the problem of sexual exploi-
tation by counselors and therapists;

- instructs the task force to make rec-

ommendations to the Legislature by
Feb. 1, 1985
» Effective: the day after enactment
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Law defines what patient abuse is

(Chapter 425)

Sheltered workshop study/
funding

Chapter 627

HF1667—Greenfield
SF1441*—Spear

* requires Economic Security com-
missioner to study the effectiveness
of workshops that employ handi-
capped persons (sheltered
workshops)

» allows the commissioner to with-
hold funds from workshops that vi-
olate department rules or fail to meet
certain standards

e Effective: day after enactment

Tip credit elimination

Chapter 636

HF347—Murphy

SF433*—Vega

¢ repeals tip credit legislation over a
4-year period as follows: Jan, 1,
1985, reduces tip credit to 15 per-
cent; Jan. 1, 1986, to 10 percent; Jan.
1, 1987, to 5 percent; Jan. 1, 1988,
eliminates the credit

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984
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Veterinarian teaching exemption
Chapter 427

HF1822—D. Carlson
SF1853*—Wegscheid

* permits veterinarians who work at
the U of M to perform veterinarian
duties within various departments;
allows persons lecturing in continu-
ing education courses for veterinar-
ians at the U of M to give instructions
and demonstrations

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Wage payment—
statute of limitations
Chapter 608
HF1537—0’Connor
SF1563*—Chmielewski

* increases the statute of limitation
from 2 to 3 years for workers to re-
cover wages, overtime, or damages
from an employer under certain
circumstances

* permits the Board of Dentistry to
allow a person whose license has
been suspended to practice dentistry
under the supervision of a licensed
dentist to demonstrate his/her com-

petence and
reinstatement

¢ clarifies the fine schedule for child
labor violations

¢ Effective: Aug. 1, 1984; food serv-
ice workers exemption: upon local
approval*

eligibility  for

Workers’' compensation
clarification

Chapter 432
HF1767—Simoneau
SF1477*—Chmielewski

e clarifies language in the 1983
worker’s compensation bill

» provides penalties when compen-
sation doesn’t start on time

» allows for payment of remaining
impairment or recovery compensa-
tion to surviving dependent children
¢ establishes an advisory council to
advise the Medical Services Review
Board

» Effective: rideshare provisions:
June 10, 1983; others: day after
enactment

Eatlmd & Latir

Workers comp.—U of M faculty/
volunteer ambulance drivers
Chapter 469

HF1679—Boo
SF1469*—Frederick

¢ provides workers’ compensation
for U of M faculty for the period in
between academic school years if the
faculty member has a contract, or
reasonable assurance of a contract,
for the following school year

e provides workers’' compensation
for volunteer ambulance drivers if
they’'re employees of a political sub-
division, nonprofit hospital, or non-
profit corporation

¢ Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 @

photo by Paul Battaglia
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Salespeople get commissions due (Chapter 446)
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District heating in cities with populations over 50,000

gets authorization; port authorities may operate the

systems. Changes in the Energy and Economic Devel-

opment Authority expands certain loan programs. Gas-

. . Gasoli hol standard
oline and gasohol must meet state standards; retailers S2S°\ne/gasohol standards

can sell compressed natural gas as a vehicle fuel.

photo by Paul Battaglia

Gasohol must meet standards (Chapter 459)

District heating

system authorization

Chapter 449

HF996—Norton no companion

e authorizes a city of more than
50,000 people that isn’t a city of the
first class to acquire, construct, im-
prove, and operate a district heating
system under a 2/3 vote of approval
from the city’s governing body

» authorizes a port authority to ac-
quire, own, and operate a district
heating system

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Energy and Economic
Development Authority changes
Chapter 583

HF1775*—Otis
SF1960—Reichgott

* makes miscellaneous changes in
the Energy and Economic Develop-
ment Authority regarding its pur-
pose; loans, grants, and eligibility;
and bond and note principal

+ Effective: Aug. 1, 1984
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Chapter 459
HF2113—Peterson
SF1813*—Wegscheid

» requires gasoline blend of dena-
tured ethanol or methanol to meet
ASTM (American Society for Testing
and Materials) specifications and
have a valid fuel additive waiver
from the federal Environmental Pro-
tection Agency

» requires labels on dispensers of
gasoline containing alcohol to show
type of alcohol

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Natural gas—sales restriction
Chapter 428

HF2258—Kelly
SF1768*—Freeman

» allows retailers to sell compressed
natural gas for use as a vehicle fuel
« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Telephone company regulation
Chapter 451

HF523*—Jacobs

SF567—C. Peterson.

* redefines an independent tele-
phone company by raising subscri-
ber size from 2,500 to 15,000

» Effective: day after enactment;
also applicable to independent tele-
phone company rate changes pend-
ing before the Public Utilities Com-
mission on the effective date

Telephone rate proceedings—
intervenor reimbursement
Chapter 611

HF1499—Otis
SF1559*—Dieterich

» allows Public Utilities commis-
sioner to order a telephone company
to pay all, or part of, a party’s in-
tervention costs up to $20,000 per in-
tervention, in any general rate case,
when the commissioner finds that
the intervenor has materially as-
sisted the commission’s deliberation
and the intervenor can’t afford the
cost of intervention

« Effective: day after enactment &
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' Em/uwmuenl' & Natwnal Resounces

Minnesota suspends search for hazardous waste dis-

posal site, instead will study alternatives. Waste man-

agement changes include tax on garbage going to met-

ropolitan area dumps. Deer hunters’ blaze-orange

clothing may include camouflage patterns. The “Morel”

is now state’s official mushroom.

Acid deposition standard—
date change

Chapter 519
HF1778*—Munger
SF1627—Willet

¢ changes the date when the Pollu-
tion Control Agency must adopt an
acid deposition standard for certain
sensitive areas from Jan. 1, 1985, to
Jan, 1, 1986

e Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

photo by Tom Olmscheid

Reduced fishing license fees for Minnesota and Wisconsin residents owning property in neighboring

state (Chapter 537)

Clitherall: land sale
Chapter 518
HF1760*—Graba
SF1648—Anderson

¢ allows the DNR commissioner to
sell certain state fisheries land-in Ot-
ter Tail County to John W. and Edna
Loomer, of Clitherall

» Effective: day after enactment

Forestry law changes

Chapter 613

HF1865—Battaglia
SF1407*—Davis

¢ allows the DNR commissioner to
repair and renovate forest fire pre-
vention and suppression equipment
* allows the commissioner to settle

any dispute on cutting timber where
the value of the timber is at most
$5,000

¢ allows the commissioner to issue
tickets for theft of state timber

» Effective: various effective dates

Hunters/trappers—

orange camouflage clothing
Chapter 550
HF1630—Neuenschwander
SF1589*—Merriam

« defines blaze orange clothing that
deer hunters and trappers must wear
to include a camouflage pattern of at
least 50 percent blaze orange in each
foot square

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984
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Hunting & fishing
licenses reciprocity
Chapter 537
HF2006*—Kelly
SF1449—R. Moe

« allows Minnesotans who own prop-
erty in Wisconsin to buy Wisconsin
hunting and fishing licenses at resi-
dency prices and vice versa

« encourages the DNR commissioner
to continue to try to reach an agree-
ment with Wisconsin on restricting
the season for fishing in the Missis-
sippi River

+ Effective: day after enactment;
upon similar Wisconsin legislationb
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Ewironwent & Natunal Redounces

Land acquisition—appraisal
review

Chapter 553

HF2299—Norton

SF1790*—R. Peterson

¢ eliminates duplication in land ac-
quisition appraisal review by the De-
partment of Administration

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Mushroom—Morel

as state mushroom

Chapter 394

HF1053—Levi SF868*—Laidig

¢ adopts the Morel as the official
state mushroom
» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Park boundary changes
Chapter 599
HF1030—Knuth SF1114*—Jude

¢ allows the DNR commissioner to
buy land to add to certain parks

« allows the transfer of any tax-for-
feited land in a park to the super-
vision of the natural resources
commissioner

* deletes and adds some areas from
certain parks

¢ allows Lake County to exchange
10, 40-acre parcels of tax-forfeited
land for land of equal value in the
city of Silver Bay

» Effective: day after enactment

Radioactive waste—high level
Chapter 453

HF1292—K. Clark
SF1258*—Merriam

* requires an agreement between MN
and the federal government before a
study or test drilling for disposal
sites for high-level radioactive waste
begins

* requires a permit to test drill and
at least 1 public meeting before the
issuance of a permit

* requires waste shippers to notify
the public safety commissioner be-
fore shipment on the waste’s route,
date, and time of shipment

* allows the commissioner to desig-
nate preferred routes, and dates or
times for transporting waste

* requires the commissioner to re-
view annual federally approved
highway routes in the state

*» requires deposits of a $1,000 fee in
the general fund for each vehicle car-
rying waste

* requires the commissioner to con-
sult with various state and federal
officials before Dec. 1, 1984, and to
prepare an emergency accident plan
* requires the commissioner to re-
port to the Legislature by Jan. 1 each
year on the emergency plan

* provides that violators of the
agreement and shipping require-
ments are guilty of a misdemeanor,
may be fined, and subject to a civil
penalty

« Effective: day after enactment

Soil conservation
Chapter 569
HF432*—Redalen
SF1376—Davis

* requires the Agriculture commis-
sioner to set rules and guidelines to
prevent excessive soil erosion

* encourages certain local govern-
ments to adopt a soil loss ordinance
in line with the commissioner’s
standards

* prohibits excessive soil loss on
farmland and woodland

» allows a person adversely affected
by excessive soil loss or an elected
local official to complain about soil
loss to the local government, which
must then inspect the land in
question

* requires the landowner to take spe-
cific conservation measures to stop
excessive loss

* requires those that plan to build on
more than 1 acre of land to submit a
50il loss prevention plan

* provides state cost-sharing funds
to landowners for establishing soil
conservation practices

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984, and only
upon adoption of local ordinances

Transporting wild animals/
fishing

Chapter 621
HF1143—Battaglia
SF1048*—C. Peterson

» specifies rules to transport wild
animals for MN residents and
nonresidents

* allows the DNR commissioner to
open the 1984 angling season for
northern pike or pickerel on Mille
Lacs Lake at the same time as the
angling season opens for walleye

* requires persons between the ages
of 16 and 65 years to buy stamps to
fish in any trout stream, trout lake,

48

or Lake Superior, with revenue going
toward improving trout and salmon
streams and lakes

* requires persons who charter boats
and guide anglers on Lake Superior
to buy a fishing guide license

» Effective: day after enactment for
most provisions; March 1, 1985, for
the stamp provision

Waste disposal sites
Chapter 455
HF1773—Jensen
SF1662*—Schmitz

* reduces the number of proposed
solid waste disposal sites in metro-
politan counties, with less than
300,000 people, from 4 to at least 3
* requires a metro county with a
population over 300,000 to have at
least 4 proposed sites

» Effective: day after enactment

Waste management act—changes
Chapter 644

HF1577*—Munger
SF1514—Merriam

* directs the Waste Management
Board to emphasize alternatives to
land disposal of hazardous wastes in
developing a hazardous waste man-
agement plan and eliminates the plan
requirement to set up at least 1 com-
mercial disposal facility

* imposes a 50 cent per cubic yard
fee on trash disposed at landfills in
the metropolitan area, with proceeds
divided equally for landfill abate-
ment and government cleanup

* exempts equipment for processing
solid or hazardous waste at a re-
source recovery site from sales tax
and makes miscellaneous tax abate-
ment changes

* makes various changes regarding
the Waste Management Board’s du-
ties and solid waste disposal

» Effective: various effective dates g

photo by Tom QOlmscheid

State tightens waste controls (Chapter
453)
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Removal of a parent/adult instead of children in child

abuse cases is allowable. Retirement benefits are no

longer exempt as income in divorce, separation, or

child support settlements. New missing children’s pro-

gram is set. Law requires prompt reporting of sudden

infant death syndrome incidents.

Adoption—interstate compacts
Chapter 422

HF2231—Staten
SF1454*—Diessner

» enacts enabling legislation to allow
the Department of Public Welfare to
enter into agreements with agencies
in other states to make payments to
families receiving adoption
assistance

» establishes procedures for inter-
state assistance payments, including
medical payments

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

photo by Tom Olmscheid

Child-protection laws toughen (Chapters 510, 547, 573, 658, 422)

49

Child abuse—

removal of parent/adult
Chapter 573
HF1386*—J. Clark
SF1462—Petty

» authorizes the local welfare agency
to ask the Juvenile Court to inter-
vene in cases of domestic child abuse
and order the abusing party out of
the home in some cases

e provides that violators of a court
“order for protection’ are guilty of
a misdemeanor and in contempt of
court

» provides that only county attor-
neys in metropolitan counties, ex-
cept Ramsey, may prosecute cases of
possession of bbscene pictures, films,
or slides of children

» prohibits public access to court rec-
ords pertaining to the identities of
victims of certain sex offenses

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Child support—law changes
Chapter 547
HF1554—Brandl
SF1492*—Berglin

» provides that state retirement ben-
efits are not exempt from income
when considering payment for di-
Vdrce, separation, or child support
» allows courts to consider debts to
private creditors, in some cases,
when determining child support
payments

e allows the court to deviate from
the guidelines for child support

¢ places a 10-year lien on real prop-
erty that belongs to people who pay
child support after payment default
» Effective: day after enactment »
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Daycare regulation
Chapter 658
HF2135—Simoneau
SF2030*—Luther

* exempts certain licensed daycare
centers from state building code re-
quirements regarding ground level
exits

» requires Welfare, Public Safety,
and Administration commissioners
to study the issues surrounding li-
censing family or group family day-
care homes and centers

¢ prohibits the welfare commis-
sioner from adopting daycare regu-
lation rules without first consulting
the state fire marshal and state
building inspector

» prohibits the fire marshal from
adopting certain daycare rules

* allows the Welfare Department to
carry out and enforce rules as long
as they are not stricter than rules
outlined

» Effective: day after enactment

Daycare—state employees
Chapter 485

HF1371*—Hokr

SF1325—Laidig )

» provides for rental space within
the Capitol complex for a private
daycare center for children of state
employees

« Effective: day after enactment

Marriage dissolution—
child custody

Chapter 635
HF1230—Cohen
SF924*—Reichgott

* provides that mediators in con-
tested child custody cases may dis-
close information to child custody in-
vestigators and evaluators that
comes out of mediation efforts only
after all parties agree in writing

+ allows investigators’ reports as
evidence in child custody hearings

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Missing children

Chapter 510

HF1428*—Bishop
SF1579—Merriam

* establishes the “‘Minnesota Missing
Children’s Act,” and requires Public
Safety commissioner to set up a miss-
ing child program

» requires local law enforcement
agencies to conduct preliminary in-
vestigations upon receiving missing
child reports

¢ requires law enforcement officials
to immediately enter descriptions of
children into the national crime in-
formation computer when they de-
termine children are missing

« Effective: day after enactment

Sudden infant death

syndrome information

Chapter 637

HF2183—Valan
SF2102*—McQuaid

¢ allows Health commissioner to pro-
mote programs and services for par-

ents and families of victims of sud-
den infant death syndrome (SIDS)

* requires prompt reporting of inci-
dents of SIDS to the state registrar
and requires coroners, medical ex-
aminers, or doctors to encourage au-
topsies of SIDS victims and notify
parents or guardians of the cause of
death if the autopsy reveals SIDS,
and inform parents and guardians of
available counseling services

« Effective: day after enactment B

photo by Tom Olmscheid

Law sets crib death reporting rules (Chapter 637)

50

Session 1984 New Laws

Aug. 1984



State agencies face changes in rule-setting procedures

. . . Administrative Procedures
under the Administrative Procedures Act. U of M to do  Act—changes
Chapter 640

a comparable worth study among nonacademic em- HF2130—Knuth
SF1864*—Diessner

ployees. Department of Human Rights will speed up -+ eliminates the attorney general’s
duty to review state agency rules af-

; ter hearings
case processing. » allows adoption of rules without a
public hearing unless 25 people re-
quest a public hearing
* renames ‘‘temporary rules’” as
“emergency rules,”” and prohibits
state agencies from adopting emer-
gency rules in certain cases
* increases the time it takes to adopt
emergency rules, versus current tem-
porary rules
* provides that rules exempt from
the APA rulemaking procedures will
have no effect as of Jan. 1, 1985, un-
less the agency submits them to the
Revisor of Statutes for publication
before then
» Effecive: day after enactment

Appointments—

transferring authority

Chapter 531

HF1946*—Knuth
SF1982—Pogemiller

* transfers the authority to make ap-
pointments to certain state boards
and advisory groups from the gov-

U of M to study comparable worth

{Chapter 456) ernor to various commissioners
* provides that an appointing au-
thority may choose a new board
member from applications on hand in
some cases instead of going through
the open appointments process again
» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984
Audits—metro agencies,
boards, commissions
Chapter 638
HF2157—Welch
SF2043*—D. Moe
» allows the legislative auditor to
perform program evaluations and
audits of metropolitan agencies,
Administration Department— Administration Department— boards, or commissions
housekeeping changes statutory changes * Effective: Aug. 1, 1984
Chapter 544 Chapter 558 Comparable worth—U of M study
HF1757—Coleman HF2062—Coleman Chapter 456
*
SF1408*—D. Moe SF1913*—Frank HF1764—L. Carlson
* recodifies laws governing the De- ¢ makes statutory changes to reflect SF1760*—Reichgott |
partment of Administration and reorganization changes the Depart- requests U of M regents to conduct
makes other minor changes ment of .Administration made a job evaluation study to determine
» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 « Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 to what extent salaries of nonaca-j |
: |
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demic employees reflect comparabil-
ity of the value of work

* requests regents to submit to the
Legislative Commission on Employee
Relations, by April 1, 1985, a list
showing female-dominated classes
where compensation inequity exists,
an estimate of the cost of providing
comparability adjustments, and
steps the University is taking to
achieve pay equity

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Data privacy—

access to data and records
Chapter 436
HF894—Ellingson
SF989*—R. Peterson

« clarifies who gets access to welfare
data and medical records

» refines certain provisions in the
data privacy act

» Effective: day after enactment

Detective/protective
agent board changes
Chapter 649
HF1961*—Coleman
SF1936—Pogemiller

e changes the composition of the
Board of Private Detective and Pro-
tective Agent Services to include a
licensed protective agent and to de-
lete the attorney general or his/her
representative

» allows the board to adopt rules on
selection, training, and licensing of
detectives and agents

 transfers the authority to license
from the Public Safety commissioner
to the Board

* specifies license requirements

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Human Rights Department
changes

Chapter 567

HF1602—K. Clark
SF1762*—Reichgott

» prohibits attempts to make anyone
filing charges of unfair discrimina-
tory practices from waiving their le-
gal rights and remedies under the
law

« changes the time limit to file
charges of unfair practices

* requires commissioner to give
priority to investigating and pro-
cessing certain charges and provides
sanctions against any party who in-
tentionally delays proceedings

« allows charging parties to go to the
hearing examiner if, after 180 days
of filing, the Department hasn’t is-
sued findings or held hearings

« allows the hearing examiner to re-
quire parties who lose to pay pre-
vailing parties for attorney fees and
up to 3 times the actual damages

« allows any charging parties who
represented themselves and won to
ask the attorney general for repre-
sentation in cases of appeal

« allows parties to go to court within
45 days of the commissioner’s deter-
mination that their case does not
warrant further use of Department
resources, or that not enough evi-
dence exists

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Land sales—DNR

Chapter 601

HF2302—Norton

SF1789*—R. Peterson

« authorizes the Department of Nat-
ural Resources (DNR), instead of the
Department of Administration, to
sell state lands that DNR certifies as
surplus

o Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Legislative expenses—
reimbursement

Chapter 648

HF533*—Vanasek
SF1264—Purfeerst

e provides reimbursement of ex-
penses for legislators who engage in
official business at a rate committees
in the House and Senate will
determine

¢ Effective: day after enactment

Notary publics—

out-of-state appointments
Chapter 504

HF756*—Norton SF2173—Jude

« authorizes the governor to appoint
notary publics who aren’t Minnesota
residents or residents of the county
they're seeking appointment to

« reduces the term of office for no-
tary publics and increases the bond
notary publics must give the state

« allows notary publics to change
residence and retain their powers
until their term expires

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 for all no-
tary publics the governor commis-
sions on or after that date
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Public employees—
compensation for service
Chapter 571
HF950*—Wenzel
SF1169—Samuelson

o provides $35-per-day compensa-
tion for public employees who are
members of advisory boards, coun-
cils, and committees; allows employ-
ers to deduct that amount from em-
ployees’ pay

 provides per diem compensation
for commissioners of the Northwest
Minnesota Multi-County Housing
and Redevelopment Authority

« Effective: various effective dates

Secretary of State—
various changes
Chapter 618
HF2023—Ellingson
SF2016*—Wegscheid

+ makes miscellaneous technical
changes to laws affecting the secre-
tary of state’s office and practices
« Effective: various effective dates

Small businesses—DEED
authority

Chapter 604
HF1709—Peterson
SF1826*— Freeman

« adds to the powers and duties of
the commissioner of the Department
of Energy and Economic Develop-
ment (DEED) in obtaining and spend-
ing funds and in entering into
contracts

« allows commissioner to help local
governments fill out application
forms for federal grants-in-aid funds
« creates a dedicated fund in the
state treasury for fees the certified
state development program (OMNI)
collects to pay OMNI board members
expenses, program administration
costs, and to develop a fund pool for
more investment

« allows the Bureau of Small Busi-
nesses to use outside expertise, pub-
licize provisions which require state
agencies to consider small business
issues in rulemaking, and instructs
the governor’s office and the secre-
tary of state to help the bureau cre-
ate an information system on busi-
ness development and growth in
Minnesota

« Effective: day after enactment &
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Adult day care licensing

. . . Chapter 542
HMOs remain non-profit under tighter regulations and HF378—Brandl SF311"—Berglin

* requires the state to establish pro-
cedures and license adult day care
. . . . providers, including nursing homes
programs, parents will pay for delinquent, handi- i}, ;rovide Servicges to 5 %r more
. N non-independent adults

capped, or placed children’s care, and the state will . excludes centers for nonhandi-
capped persons

try a pilot program for compulsive gamblers. + includes adult daycare center serv-
ice costs under Medical Assistance or
medical care

+ Effective: day after enactment

reporting changes, counties get help for administering

photo by Larry Salzman — Blind /visually handicapped
rehabilitative services
Chapter 516

HF1620*—Rice no companion

» requires the Welfare commissioner
to develop rules and plans, including
training programs, for rehabilitation
of eligible clients by Feb. 1, 1985

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Board of Dentistry—
training/education rules |
Chapter 491 |
HF1533*—Skoglund
SF1557—Wegscheid :
» allows the Board of Dentistry to
adopt rules for training and educa- !
tion in administering anesthesia/
sedation

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Chemical dependency—
Welfare Department authority
Chapter 545

HF1848—Welch
SF1418*—Berglin

e authorizes Welfare Department to
collect and distribute information on
chemical dependency issues

» allows Welfare commissioner to es-
tablish criteria to determine appro-
priate chemical dependency care and
services

e requires state agencies involved
with chemical dependency programs
to submit plans or budgets to the
Welfare department

e creates an American Indian Advi-
sory Council

» Effective: day after enactment p

Various nursing home, aid rules change {Chapters 641, 534)

53
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Child abuse reporting changes
Chapter 577
HF1806*—Elioff SF1836—Petty

« clarifies that investigation of cases
under the Child Abuse Reporting
Law is the responsibility of the local
law enforcement agency, and local
welfare agencies must conduct child
abuse assessments

o limits Welfare commissioner’s in-
volvement under the Child Abuse Re-
porting law to assessment; provides
for reporting of abuse incidents in fa-
cilities to the department responsible
for licensings

« allows health and correctional fa-
cilities to call upon the Department
of Public Welfare for assistance in
child abuse cases

« Effective: day after enactment

County nursing home
administration
Chapter 528
HF1875*—Graba
SF2078—Stumpf

e allows county-run nursing homes
to establish and operate annex sup-
port facilities

* gives counties the option of levying
an annual tax for nursing home and
support service costs

« allows counties to designate any
board under county jurisdiction as
the administrative or supervisory
board of the nursing home and spec-
ifies board’s jurisdiction

o Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

CSSA minimum program
standards

Chapter 526

HF1853*—Clawson
SF1421—Berglin

e requires Welfare commissioner to
establish minimum standards for
Community Social Service Agency
programs

« Effective: day after enactment

Detoxification—

county responsibility

Chapter 378

HF1948—Greenfield
SF1453*—Diessner

 requires counties with persons in
chemical dependency treatment cen-
ters to be financially responsible for
detoxification of those persons in
other counties

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Food service license fee
exemption

Chapter 632

HF1644—Scheid SF1455*—Jude
» exempts schools from paying
health department license fees for

operating a food service
« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Gambling treatment program
Chapter 616

HF1708—Coleman
SF1614*—Spear

» authorizes Welfare commissioner
to establish a pilot program with cer-
tain requirements by June 30, 1985,
to treat compulsive gamblers and re-
quires a report to the Legislature

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

HMO incentives—counties
Chapter 580
HF1977*—Brandl
SF1819—Berglin

 raises from 85 to 90 percent the
amount counties pay HMOs for med-
ical assistance recipients on a fee-
for-service basis

» requires counties to make available
all presentation materials explaining
HMO options for-potential enrollees
« Effective: day after enactment

HMO omnibus bill
Chapter 464
HF1561*—Swanson
SF1417—Berglin

» puts HMOs under laws governing
eligibility requirements of commer-
cial health insurers and nonprofit
health service corporations

o changes or extends required HMO
benefits to certain populations

« requires continued HMO client cov-
erage in certain cases

« prohibits HMO's from charging co-
payments in group contracts during
open enrollment periods for pre-ex-
isting conditions

» defines participating entities, ma-
jor participating entities, and sepa-
rate health service contracts; allows
HMOs to enter into separate health
service contracts but says they must
disclose certain information

« allows enrollees a 31-day premium
payment grace period and a 10-day
cancellation period for individual
contracts

« requires HMOs to refund, with in-
terest, rejected applicant’s fees

54

» limits open enrollment from 1
month to 14 days, but requires HMOs
to accept applicants in the order
HMOs receive applications

« Effective: various effective dates

Medical Assistance changes
Chapter 534
HF1966*—Greenfield
SF1865—Berglin

» requires courts to report certain
data in marriage dissolutions to the
Health commissioner

« establishes the Health Care Cost
Information Act of 1984 which en-
courages hospitals and outpatient
surgical centers to keep acute care
costs down through various
provisions

e removes financial responsibility
for children of state hospital
patients

e limits payments under Medical As-
sistance and General Assistance
Medical Care for inpatient chemical
dependency treatment

« changes restrictions on Medical As-
sistance applicants transferring
property »

photo by Tom Olmscheid

State establishes pilot compulsive gam-
bler program {(Chapter 616)
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e appropriates $2 million to aid
counties in administering welfare
programs

» adjusts the payment schedule for
spouses of institutionalized persons
* sets up a pilot citizen review board
project in at least 1 judicial district
to oversee foster children placement
hearings and case reviews to en-
courage permanent homes for
children

» Effective: various effective dates

Nursing homes—various changes
Chapter 641

HF2098*—Clawson
SF1985—Berglin

* revises the procedure for the Wel-
fare Department to determine oper-
ating cost payment rates to reim-
burse nursing homes and allows
adjustments

« allows residents in continuing care
facilities to form associations

* requires certification of homes to
receive state payments through the
Medical Assistance program with
certain exceptions

* increases nursing hours for homes
beginning July 1, 1984

* prohibits payments to nursing
homes that discriminate against pa-
tients because of patients’ source of
income

* allows General Assistance funds
for GA eligible persons in licensed
health or mental health care
facilities

* changes limits on certain allowable
costs

* requires HMOs to disclose officers
of major participating entities of the
organization and stockholders hold-
ing more than 10 percent of an ent-
ity’s voting stock

» allows Health commissioner to ap-
prove or disapprove HMO contracts
with other entities within 30 days of
contract filing

» requires HMOs that provide hos-
pital mental health benefits to pro-
vide a minimum number of treatment
hours in non-hospital settings at min-
imum patient cost

* requires HMOs to pay for and con-
sider second opinions for chemical
dependency or mental health prob-
lems for which an HMO recommends
no structured treatment

» Effective: day after enactment

Parental fees—
handicapped/foster children
Chapter 530
HF1920*—Brandl
SF1916—Petty

* requires parents of children in
state hospitals to pay for their care
according to ability to pay

* requires counties to pay for 24-
hour care of certain children

» limits amount parents must pay for
children in out-of-home care

* considers the amount parents re-
ceiving federal medical assistance
spend on room, board, and services
when determining financial
responsibility

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Parental fees—
juvenile offenders
Chapter 606
HF1213—Norton
SF992*—Dieterich

* requires parents of children on
probation or parole to pay for the
child’s foster care on the basis of
their ability to pay

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Patient releases/

civil commitment hearings
Chapter 623
HF2154—Clawson
SF2108*—Spear

* requires the medical director of the
Minnesota security hospital to notify
court officials and interested per-
sons 10 days before patient pass
plans begin

 allows court officials and inter-
ested persons to object to the pass in
person or in writing

* establishes which type of patients
cannot receive a pass to leave the se-

Heallt, & Wolluns

* excuses a person who is subject of
a civil commitment hearing from at-
tending the hearing if the person is
disruptive or unable to understand
the proceedings

» allows parents or guardians to
place children 16 years or younger
in treatment facilities

* requires a hearing review process,
before Aug. 1, 1985, for persons liv-
ing in treatment facilities placed un-
der guardianship orders before com-
mitment law enactment

¢ Effective: hearing reviews: Aug. 1,
1982; others: day after enactment

Patient rights—

interested persons

Chapter 657

HF229*—K. Clark SF21—Spear

+ allows an interested person, after
appeals, to seek enforcement of pro-
visions in the Patient Bill of Rights
and to act on behalf of an institu-
tionalized patient or resident who
has a legally appointed guardian or
conservator

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Pharmacy board
licensing/examination

Chapter 426

HF1872—Clawson
SF1867*—Dicklich

 allows pharmacy graduates from
foreign schools to take examinations
for pharmacy board licensure if they
meet certain requirements

» Effective: day after enactment

Privacy Act—welfare
agency access to data
Chapter 579
HF1886*—Brandl
SF1480—Diessner

» changes Data Privacy Act to allow
welfare agencies access to certain
private information for criminal pro-
ceedings or in emergency situations
» prohibits data disclosure on sub-
Jjects other than people, except under
the Data Privacy Act

* provides that welfare agencies
must disclose information they have
on individuals to those individuals
with certain exceptions

* changes classification of certain

curity hospital under certain data
circumstances » Effective: Aug. 1, 1984
Session 1984 New Laws Aug. 1984
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Residential/daycare zoning
Chapter 617

HF1967—Greenfield
SF1628*—Berglin

e restructures zoning requirements
for residential daycare facilities by
establishing a policy preference for
facilites serving 17 or fewer men-
tally retarded (MR) adults
 prohibits exclusion of Licensed
Daycare Facilities (LDCFs) from sin-
gle or multi-family zones if local zon-
ing regulations permit other
facilities

« allows local zoning authorities to
require special use permits for
LCDFs serving 17-25 persons, but
prohibits authorities from imposing
stricter requirements on the LCDFs
than on other special use permit
users :

« requires counties to develop a plan
to disperse group residential facili-
ties in concentrated areas and pro-
hibits construction of facilities in
such areas

o Effective: day after enactment

Student loans—

health professionals

Chapter 407

HF1813*—Tunheim
SF1793—Stumpf

« allows students in all health-re-
lated fields, not just medical stu-
dents, to receive student loans from
hospital districts in exchange for
employment

« Effective: day after enactment

Swing bed CON exemption
Chapter 541

HF2247*—Begich

SF1924—Doug Johnson

« exempts construction or modifica-
tion of fewer than 5 medicare-certi-
fied swing beds from certificate of
need review

« Effective: day after enactment

Vertical heat

exchanger installation

Chapter 391

HF1830—Welch SF1757*—Jude

« requires persons installing vertical
heat exchangers to have a valid
water well contractor’s license and
to get a permit from the Health
Department ’

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 8

Howiing & Real Eitils

Mortgage foreclosure relief continues for another year.

Public housing to get energy audits. Interest rates go

up on renters’ damage deposits. Property owners who

unlawfully evict tenants will get penalties. Mobile home

park entrance fees are illegal.

e e - AT T )
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No more park entrance fees (Chapter 406)

Mobile home park regulations
Chapter 406
HF1611*—Voss SF1508—Novak

+ makes mobile home park entrance
fees illegal, and frees park owners
from liabilities when tenants’ homes
fail to meet state safety regulations
o Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Mortgage foreclosure

relief extension

Chapter 474

HF2036—Elioff
SF1776*—Dicklich

« extends the 1983 Mortgage Fore-
closure Relief Act for another year
» requires default notices to include
a statement that the borrower may
be eligible, under the relief act, for
an extension of time before foreclo-
sure and sale

« allows courts to consider whether
a person asking for foreclosure relief
faces catastrophic medical expenses
» Effective: May 1, 1984

56

Public housing energy standards
Chapter 595

HF1974*—Price

SF1681—Donna Peterson

« requires energy audits of public
housing

» requires the Energy commissioner
and the local housing and redevel-
opment authority, or the public
housing authority, to select a third
party to arbitrate audit results when
the 2 parties disagree, and share the
costs equally

o Effective: day after enactment

Real estate laws—
changes/additions
Chapter 566
HF1902—Ellingson
SF1473*—Reichgott

« removes county auditor’s certifi-
cate written document requirement
for changes in governing homeown-
ers’ associations that go on file with
the county recorder or the registrar
of titlesp
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« allows courts to serve summonses
on dissolved domestic corporations
to clear titles for land

¢ requires landlords who foreclose
on mortagages to notify tenants

¢ Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Rental property—
tenant/owners’ rights
Chapter 586
HF1203*—Norton
SF2000—Pogemiller

* requires the attorney general, after
a public meeting, to make available
annual statements summarizing
rental unit owners and tenants’ legal
rights and obligations

* requires rental 1property owners to
post notice stating that copies of the
statement are available from the at-
torney general’s office

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Rent control ban

Chapter 551

HF2173—McEachern
SF1683*—Wegscheid

* prohibits county and municipal
rent control on private residential
property unless ordinances to the
contrary get approval in a general
election

* Effective: day after enactment

Renters—damage deposit
interest

Chapter 565
HF2078—Otis
SF1337*—Berglin

* raises the interest rate rental prop-
erty owners must pay renters on
damage deposits from 5 percent to
5.5 percent per year,
noncompounded

» Effective: Oct. 1, 1984.

Renters—recourse

for eviction/exclusion
Chapter 612
HF1837—Olsen
SF1330*—Belanger

* allows tenants to recover from a
landlord up to 3 times the amount of
damages and reasonable attorney’s
fees when a landlord, his agent, or a
person, acting under the landlord’s
direction, unlawfully evicts or ex-
cludes a tenant from rental property
» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 B

Definitions of unfair insurance practices specify acts

that are general business practices, but Commerce com-

missioner can evaluate and impose fines without show-

ing they are common practices. Insurance companies

must give homeowners a 60-day notice of intent to dis-

continue or reduce their policies. Insurers may use

smoker/nonsmoker mortality tables to figure smoker/

nonsmoker rates.

.

photo by Paul Battaglia

Claims settlements regulation
Chapter 555
HF1896—Vanasek
SF1862*~—Dahl

¢ defines unfair insurance trade
practices to include misrepresenta-
tion, slow or unfair claim settle-
ments, and claim payments without
detailing coverage

e allows the Commerce commis-
sioner to set rules to ensure fair pro-
cessing of claims and complaints in
certain cases

¢ defines certain unfair settlement
practices

» allows the Insurance commissioner
to prohibit companies from operat-
ing if they violate fair settlement
practices, to provide a hearing for
the accused violators, and to impose
a civil penalty

» Effective: day after enactment

57

Mortality tables influ-
ence smoker and non-
smoker rates (Chapter
538)

Home insurance—nonrenewal
Chapter 602
HF1859—Riveness
SF1810*—Donna Peterson

* increases the required time insur-
ance companies have to notify home-
owners of discontinuance or reduc-
tion in coverage

+ allows the Insurance commissioner
to specify grounds for nonrenewal or
reduced coverage and to impose a
fine for violations

¢ allows homeowners faced with
coverage reduction or denial to file
a complaint with the insurance
commissioner

* increases the amount a homemaker
could receive in replacement service
loss benefits under no-fault auto
insurance

. Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Insurance—various changes
Chapter 592

HF1678*—Skoglund
SF1749—Luther

» increases the fee for issuing and re-
newing a surplus lines agent’s license
to $150
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ludunance

« sets fees for issuing duplicate li-
censes, licensing histories, process-
ing bad checks and filing forms and
rates

« allows the commissioner to issue li-
censes for a 3-year period, at a fee
of 3 times the annual license fee

« allows insurers to use smoker and
nonsmoker mortality tables to deter-
mine separate rates (see HF2148)

- prohibits discrimination in the
availability of insurance on the basis
of sex or marital status

« sets adjuster licensing fees

o Effective: various effective dates

No-fault insurance

Chapter 420

HF1652*—Jensen
SF1167—Schmitz

« conforms to federal law in requir-
ing no-fault insurance to pay for ac-
cidents rather than Medicare, if both
are available

« Effective: day after enactment

Senior citizens—
insurance reduction
Chapter 532
HF1949*—Olsen
SF1814—Darrel Peterson

« requires insurance companies to
reduce auto insurance premiums for
senior citizens, 65 years and older,
who complete an accident preven-
tion course every.3 years

« applies to policies issued, deliv-
ered, or renewed after Jan. 1, 1985
« requires the public safety commis-
sioner to adopt guidelines for the
course by Jan. 1, 1985

« Effective: day after enactment

Smoker/nonsmoker
mortality tables
Chapter 538
HF2148*—Skoglund
SF2054—Solon

« allows use of 1958 and 1980 Com-
nissioners Standard Ordinary and
Extended Term smoker and nons-
moker mortality tables in determin-
ing smoker/nonsmoker rates

«» applies to policies issued between
Jan. 1, 1984, and Jan. 1, 1989

o coordinates payments for medical
expenses in certain circumstances
when two group health insurance
policies (primary and secondary cov-
erage ) apply

« Effective: day after enactment &

Court unification goes into effect earlier than planned

in the 3rd and 7th judicial districts. People who help

others in incidents involving hazardous materials get

immunity from liability. Courts may order restitution,

in addition to imprisonment, payment of a fine, or both.

Issuers of credit cards, businesspeople, and service

providers may not discriminate against women who

use current or former surnames.

photo by Tom Olmscheid

Minnesota Supreme Court chamber at the State Capitol

Appeals to the court of appeals
Chapter 399

HF1486*—Clawson
SF1471—Reichgott

« provides for appeal of various mat-
ters to the Court of Appeals

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1983

Conciliation Court Judgments—
collection of

Chapter 575

HF1466*—Clawson
SF1285—Merriam

« establishes collection procedures
for winners in Conciliation Court
cases so they can collect from the
persons or persons the court deter-
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mines owes them money

« requires conciliation court clerks
to explain court procedures and
functions to people involved in law-
suits and help them fill out forms

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Court of Appeals—
representation on board

Chapter 379

HF1504—Vanasek
SF1350*—Spear

« provides for Court of Appeals rep-
resentation on the Judicial Board of
Standards and certain advisory

committees
» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 %
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Drainage assessment
proceedings—
eliminating bond
Chapter 435
HF1330—Den Ouden
SF1112*—Merriam

¢ eliminates the bond one must file
when appealing a court decision that
determined benefits or damages to
property in proceedings to establish
or improve a drainage system

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Estate closings
Chapter 438
HF878—Dempsey
SF506*—Sieloff

¢ changes the time limit, from 6 to 4
months, to close estates by sworn
statement of a personal
representative

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Interest rates on judgments
Chapter 399
HF559*—Schoenfeld
SF588—Luther

* provides that someone who has a
court case against a person who owes
him/her money is entitled to interest
on the money owed from the time s/
he initiates the legal action for pay-
ment, instead of from the time s/he
wins the suit

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1983

Judicial decisions affecting laws
Chapter 525

HF1850*—Bishop
SF2040*—Jude

* conforms certain Minnesota laws
to Minnesota Supreme Court deci-
sions on notice to teachers of hearing
dates before termination, tax on road
building materials, definition of sex-
ual contact, and cable company reg-
ulatory fees

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Judicial reorganization
Chapter 494
HF1695*—Vanasek
SF2123—Purfeerst

* provides that voluntary plans to
merge district and county courts in
the 3rd and 7th judicial districts will
go into effect 3 months after certi-
fication to the secretary of state, in-
stead of 1 year, as in other districts
+ Effective: day after enactment

Liability immunity for assistance
Chapter 429

HF1579—Battaglia
SF¥1740*—Doug Johnson

* provides immunity from liability
for people who give help in danger-
ous incidents involving hazardous
materials

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Mediation of disputes
Chapter 646
HF994*—Coleman
SF966—Luther

* establishes the ‘““Minnesota Civil
Mediation Act” and procedures for
using voluntary mediation to resolve
civil disputes

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Nonbinding arbitration
in civil cases

Chapter 634
HF899—Ellingson
SF1007*—Freeman

» authorizes District Courts to estab-
lish a mandatory, nonbinding arbi-
tration system for resolving civil ac-
tions, with certain exceptions

* requires District Court judges to
establish rules and forms for judicial
arbitration, subject to Supreme
Court approval

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Powers of attorney—procedures
Chapter 603

HF1935—Dempsey

SF1821*—R. Peterson

« establishes procedures for grant-
ing powers of attorney, authorizing
people to conduct business matters
for others

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Prisoner claims against the state
Chapter 513
HF1524*—Ogren SF1461—Petty

« broadens current law that allows
people to file claims against the state
to include prison inmates, persons on
conditional release from local jails,
and other convicted persons injured
or killed while performing work as a
condition of restitution, release, or
sentence

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984
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Legal & Juditiany

Restitution in

sentencing for crimes

Chapter 610

HF2055—O0gren SF2138*—Petty

* permits courts to order restitution
in addition to imprisonment or pay-
ment of a fine, or both

 allows court to order restitution,
community work service, and work
as a condition of, or as an alternative
to, probation, or in place of, or to
work off, payment of fines

* creates a preference for restitution
or work service in sorne cases

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Surnames—

prohibiting discrimination
Chapter 533
HF1950*—Forsythe
SF1680—Storm

* allows women to use current or for-
mer surnames when requesting
credit or doing business

* prohibits credit card issuers, bus-
inesspeople, or people who provide
services from discriminating against
women who use their current or for-
mer surname

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Wills—clarifying
and determining validity
HF2248—Norton
SF1572*—Sieloff

* would have allowed courts to in-
corporate the parties’ agreement in
marriage dissolution decrees

» would have clarified laws relating
to succession of property in certain
cases

« would have allowed people to test
their wills in court, before their
deaths, to determine validity of their
wills

Wills—notice to foreign consuls
Chapter 615

HF2077—Cohen

SF1562*—Spear

* authorizes the secretary of state to
forward documents about wills of
foreign-born people to the appropri-
ate foreign consuls

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 @
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Blackout rule repealer
Chapter 607
HF1501—Jacobs
SF1976*—Novak

« repeals the law that allows tele-
casts of professional baseball, foot- , .
ball, or soccer games at the Metro- Jr., performers at State Fair events, and updating and
dome if 90 percent of the tickets . .
have been sold 72 hours or more be- streamlining Minnesota laws.
fore game time

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Legislative topics ranged from football TV blackout

rules, an official holiday honoring Martin Luther King,

Fund-raiser disclosure

Chapter 527

HF1856*—Knuth

SF1801—Wegscheid photo by Tom Olmscherd

» requires charities to disclose the
net dollar amount that will go to-
wards the charitable cause from
funds collected through professional
fund-raisers

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Land exchange—
constitutional amendment
Chapter 643
HF1559*—McEachern
SF1532—Willet

* allows the voters of Minnesota to
amend the state’s constitution to al-
low the exchange of state-owned
lands for other lands state and local
governments own

» Effective: amendment effective
upon voter approval

Martin Luther King Jr. holiday
Chapter 656

HF1587*—Simoneau
SF1553—Nelson

« establishes the 3rd Monday in Jan-
uary as an official holiday in honor
of Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday
» allows school districts and state
colleges to conduct classes on Martin
Luther King, Jr. holiday

» Effective: Jan. 1, 1986

Radi.o comimon . TV blackout rule changes (Chapter 607)
carrier deregulation

Chapter 557
HF2070—Jacobs
SF1903*—Dieterich

« defines common radio carrier (pag-
ing systems) and exempts carriers
from telephone company regulation
» excludes cellular radios from com-
mon carrier definition until June 1,
1985

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 ¥
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State Fair performer contracts
Chapter 441

HF1912*—Kostohryz
SF1729—Chmielewski

¢ eliminates contract provision al-
lowing State Fair performers to per-
form 80 miles from the fairgrounds
during the fair or within 30 days be-
fore or after the fair

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Statute revision—

language corrections

Chapter 655

HF2207*—Bishop SF2125—Jude
» makes miscellaneous corrections to
ambiguous, omitted, incorrect, or ob-
solete language in state laws

« Effective: various effective dates

Statute revision—revisor’s
office/gender references

Chapter 480

HF1156*—Cohen SF1107—Jude
¢ recodifies the laws regarding the
Revisor of Statute’s Office and re-
quires the revisor to replace gender
specific references in Minnesota
Statutes with neutral or equal
references

» Effective: day after enactment

Statute revision—
technical changes
Chapter 628
HF2161—Ellingson
SF2046*—Jude

« instructs the revisor of statutes to
make necessary technical changes in
laws to remove repetitive, obsolete
language, and simplify language
+ Effective: day after enactment

White Earth

Reservation land claim

Chapter 539

HF2188*-—Eken SF2067—R. Moe

¢ allows the attorney general, pend-
ing federal legislation, to transfer
10,000 acres of state-owned land in
the White Earth Indian Reservation
to the federal government to settle
Indian land claims

* requires the DNR to report on land
titles of the White Earth Reservation
 appropriates $600,000 to attorney
general for implementing the
settlement

o Effective: Aug. 1, 1984, pending
federal legislation g

Age-plus-service “Rule of 85 allows qualifying public

employees to take early retirement benefits.

photo by Tom Olmscheid

Legislative changes mean early retirement for some (Chapters 574, 564)

Pensions for public employees
Chapter 564

HF160—Sarna

SF147*—C. Peterson

« allows members of public employee
pension plans to collect retirement
benefits if their age, plus years
worked, equals 85, and they're at
least 55 years old; this “rule of ‘85"
remains in effect until Dec. 31, 1986
« gives 5 percent interest on all re-
funds for unvested employees who
withdraw from pension plans

» sets age requirements for benefits
at 55 for 10 years of service, or at
any age with 30 years of service; sets
certain reductions from full benefits
e returns the 1983 supplemental 2
percent employee contributions to all
public employees

« Effective: various effective dates
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Pensions—various changes
Chapter 574

HF1427*—Sarna SF1390—Frank
+ adopts IRS language regarding lim-
itations on employee benefits

« Effective: various effective dates

State Board of Investment—
combined funds

Chapter 383

HF1784*—Larsen
SF1904—Wegscheid

« allows the State Board of Invest-
ment to combine investment funds of
participating retirement plans and
funds for administrative purposes
when investing

» Effective: day after enactment @&
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Legislators adopt non-binding resolutions making Ba-

varia a sister state, banning leaded gasoline, and com-

pensating U.S. citizens of Japanese heritage the gov-

ernment incarcerated during WW I1I.

Atomic radiation exposure

Resolution 14
HF727—Knuth SF531*—Lantry

« memorializes the president and
Congress to provide medical care for
veterans who were exposed to
atomic radiation

Baha’i persecution halt
Resolution 19

HF1800*—Heap
SF1739—Ramstad

« memorializes the president and
Congress to continue efforts to halt
the persecution of the Baha’i minor-
ity in Iran

photo by Paul Battaglia

T

Railroad cars to have re-
flectors (Chapter 13)

Bavaria as a sister state
Resolution 18
HF2134*—Brinkman
SF1643—Wegscheid

» memorializes governments of the
United States and the Federal Re-
public of Germany that Minnesota
adopt the land of Bavaria as a sister
state

Border water management—
Minnesota and Ontario
Resolution 17

HF2189—Tunheim
SF2109*—Stumpf

« memorializes the International
Joint Commission, the president, and
Congress to establish an agreement
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between Minnesota and Ontario on
border water joint management

Fair Trade in Steel Act
Resolution 20

HF2276—Minne
SF2164*—Dicklich

« memorializes Congress to enact the
Fair Trade in Steel Act of 1984

Federal surplus property
Resolution 16

HF2290—Knuth
SF2083*—Wegscheid

» memorializes the U.S. administra-
tor of general services to develop a
permanent plan to distribute federal
surplus property

Japanese U.S.

citizen compensation

Resolution 15

HF805—Reif SF751*—Knaak

e memorializes the Commission on
Wartime Relocation and Internment
of Civilians to urge Congress to com-
pensate citizens of Japanese ances-
try that the U.S. incarcerated during
WWII

Leaded gasoline ban

Resolution 21

HF2021*—Wynia SF2141-—Petty
« memorializes the U.S. Environmen-
tal Protection Agency to adopt rules
for a ban on leaded gasoline, and me-
morializes Congress to enact legis-
lation either prohibiting leaded gas-
oline or allowing states to prohibit it

Peace/Conflict

Resolution Academy

Resolution 12
HF1303—Greenfield
SF1243*—Donna Peterson

« memorializes the president and
Congress to establish a National
Academy of Peace and Conflict
Resolution

Rolling railroad car reflectors
Chapter 13

HF2180*—Elioff
SF2103—Dicklich

« memorializes the president and the
U.S. secretary of transportation, the
National Transportation Safety
Board, and the Minnesota congres-
sional delegation to begin a program
to put reflectors on rolling railroad
cars @
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Federal adjusted gross income on state tax returns

won’t have to include railroad retirement or social se-

curity. Part-time residents must figure their taxes as

year-round Minnesotans. The state will pick up over-20

percent property tax increases. Tax amnesty gives de-

linquent taxpayers a chance to pay up.

photo by Tom Olmscheid

Minnesota tax forms

Ag land improvements—

sales tax exemption
HF1216*—Kalis
SF1210—Bertram

« would have exempted from sales
tax petroleum products used to im-
prove agricultural land

Deed tax exemption
Chapter 509
HF1507*—Den Ouden
SF2135—Bernhagen

* exempts deed tax on deeds to or
from co-owners partitioning undi-
vided interests in the same piece of
property

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Dept. of Revenue property tax
Chapter 522

HF1814*—O0sthoff
SF1551—Doug Johnson

« includes payment of certain certif-
icates as a special levy

¢ deducts taconite aid from levy
limit base; requires notification to a
governmental subdivision of any ex-
cess aid to reduce special levies

» provides delinquent cigarette and
tobacco sales tax assessments be
within 3-1/2 years after filing of a
return; authorizes audit and adjust-
ment of tax returns; provides a 6-
year assessment period for people
who omit 25 percent of owed taxes

= provides for liquor tax collections
and assessment for delinquent and
omitted taxes

« Effective: various effective dates

Enterprise zone
technical amendments
Chapter 388
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HF1877*—Kelly
SF1934—Pogemiller

¢ expands areas for zone designa-
tion; allows 2 or more cities to jointly
form a zone; minimum population re-
quirements won't apply

» allows state tax credits for certain
businesses; specifies that recaptured
taxes in a community go toward eco-
nomic development

s provides construction or improve-
ment of a qualifying business in a
zone can’t result in transfer of work-
ers from other parts of the state

+ Effective: day after enactment

Federal authority allocation
Chapter 582
HF2186*—Scheid
SF2100—Pogemiller

» allows special assessments levy or
service charges for fire protection
and pedestrian skyways

» authorizes Energy, Planning, and
Development commissioner to re-
view grant applications and allocate
federal authority to issue certain
bonds and to adopt Department of
Energy and Economic Development
(DEED) rules for allocating
authority

» authorizes bond issuance authority
to Higher Education Coordinating
Board (HECB), Iron Range Resources
and Rehabilitation commissioner,
and DEED; specifies amounts, dates,
and conditions; provides 80 percent
of amounts be available to entitle-
ment issuers—20 percent to other lo-
cal issuers

¢ repeals most of the bonding pro-
visions Jan. 1, 1986

« Effective: day after enactment

Gravel tax

Chapter 652
HF1761*—Brinkman
SF1633—C. Peterson

+ exempts Wright, Traverse, Ste-
vens, Pope, and Anoka counties from
gravel tax; adds Sibley County to
counties that levy the tax

« provides that Benton and Stearns
county gravel tax won’t apply to
state purchases or to contractors
buying for state projects (exemption
includes political subdivisions)

« Effective: day after enactment for
the exemption and addition; upon lo-
cal approval*™® for Benton and
Stearns counties ¥
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Income tax bill—
Department of Revenue
Chapter 514
HF1528*—Tomlinson
SF1516—C. Peterson

« excludes federally taxed railroad
retirement or social security benefits
from federal adjusted gross income
« allows withholding from refunds
delinquent amounts, attorney fees,
and other related child support col-
lection costs; allows full federal de-
pendent care credit, with income
phase-out at $24,001; sets age of
child for homemaker credit at under
15 years; approves childcare credit
in 1983 tax instructions

« requires Social Security Adminis-
tration to furnish Revenue commis-
sioner with social security payment
returns; increases withholding tax to
10 percent if social security account
number is not furnished or is
inaccurate '
e requires nonresidents and part-
time residents to figure state income
tax as fulltime residents

o restricts gasoline and special fuel
tax refund to fuels for farm or off-
highway business use; eliminates the
alternative minimum tax on
corporations

« Effective: various effective dates

Property tax clean-up bill
Chapter 593
HF1815*—O0sthoff
SF1910—Merriam

+ eliminates obsolete language and
provisions; modifies calculation of
net debt limitation for districts; in-
creases net debt percentage

+ Effective: 1984 property tax, pay-
able in 1985, for most provisions;
penalty section on failure to file a
contract of deed effective day after
enactment

Sales tax exemption

Chapter 434

HF965—Krueger
SF1196*—Bertram

e exempts nonprofit community
service groups’ fund-raisers from
sales tax from Dec. 31, 1977 to be-
fore this law’s enactment date

« Effective: day after enactment

Taconite tax for
economic development
Chapter 524

HF1846*—Neuenschwander
SF1606—Lessard

« authorizes use of taconite occupa-
tion tax for economic development
loans and grants to businesses

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Tax exemptions/local levies
Chapter 548

HF1484—Scheid

SF1511*—Petty

« extends the time limit from 3 to 8
years that a political subdivision can
hold property without paying taxes;
exempts, for an indefinite time, land
that subdivisions hold for housing
projects or redevelopment; exempts
property the Metropolitan Sports Fa-
cilities Commission conveyed to
Bloomington

« exempts hot water for residential
heating from sales tax; allows mu-
nicipal councils to levy special as-
sessments or service charges for fire
protection and skyway systems

« Effective: various effective dates

Tax-forfeited land

Chapter 443

HF1781*—Coleman
SF1411—Frank

« clarifies the consequences of cer-
tain conveyances of tax-forfeited
land

« Effective: day after enactment

Taxes Omnibus Bill
Chapter 502
HF2016-—Tomlinson
no companion

« increases budget reserve $125 mil-
lion; repeals 10 percent income tax
surcharge; allows certain IRA deduc-
tions; expands pension exclusion; in-
creases tuition deductions; defines
Minnesota sales; provides 10 percent
withholding on parimutuel winnings,
exempts purse winnings

« makes changes in property tax on
agricultural nonhomesteads and sea-
sonal homes, also on buildings con-
taining owner’s residence; includes
production in evaluation of farm val-
ues; clarifies nonprofit, low-income
housing tax; exempts wetlands; al-
ters classification ratio for commer-
cial/industrial property; describes
procedures and amounts for disaster
credit (state and local government);
requires printed explanation of
state’s taxation role on statements

« restores 1984 local government aid
to cities; provides additional aid to
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qualifying cities; creates a local gov-
ernment aids study commission

« allows requirement of local contri-
butions for enterprise zones; makes
enterprise zone tax reductions;
transfers border city funds for Du-
luth; defines small business (includes
farms after July 1, ‘85); establishes
limits on technology credit; exempts
foreign corporate dividends and roy-
alties, patents, and trademarks un-
der certain conditions

« reduces sales tax on certain equip-
ment; exempts used mobile home
purchases, candy sales by certain
nonprofit groups, and hot water for
residential heating; makes changes
to taconite tax calculations, refunds,
and credits

o authorizes tax amnesty program

o directs appraisal principles and
methods for use in valuating railroad
property; appropriates Soo Line
Court case refunds to local govern-
ments and tax districts

» authorizes loan guarantee program
for agricultural processing facilities
 directs Revenue commissioner on
sales ratio methods; requires com-
missioner report on comparison
study of methodologies; requires
taxpayers to appeal assessments
first at county board of equalization
e creates 13-member Charitable
Gambling Control Board; requires
gambling devices/equipment regis-
tration; establishes limits and regu-
lations for chartible organization
gambling

¢ requires Finance commissioner to
certify bingo tax proceed; requires
the state treasurer to deposit the net
amount into the general fund for the
Legislature to determine funding an
approved arts high school

« makes various local changes; au-
thorizes Duluth Port Authority levy;
exempts residential hot water heat-
ing from St. Paul franchise tax; al-
lows a watershed district to set up
fund from tax levies; creates Croft
Historical Park Board

« requires state agencies to pay their
bills within 30 days after receiving
a bill, or pay 1 percent per month
interest, or $10 for any overdue bill
of at least $100

» appropriates $240,000 to Tax
Study Commission; makes miscella-
neous changes in the Revenue Re-
capture Act

» Effective: various effective dates @
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School buses take on new meaning. State rest areas,

tourist information centers, and weigh stations will

have vending machines. Three-wheel vehicle and bi-

cycle registration fees to fund training and safety pro-

grams. Vehicle carriers get firmer guidelines.

Bicycle registration fees go up {Chapter 572)

Bicycle registration fee
Chapter 572
HF1315*—Kahn
SF1293—Purfeerst

* increases bicycle registration fee
from $3 to $5 beginning Jan. 1, 1985
and authorizes donations

« establishes an advisory committee
on bicycling and community bicycle
safety programs

» Effective: day after enactment

Bridge funding
Chapter 412
HF2047*—B. Anderson
SF1967—DeCramer

e allows money from the county
turnback account and state trans-
portation fund to go toward replac-
ing bridges 10 or more feet long

» designates the bridge over the Min-
nesota River in Mankato as “Veter-
ans Memorial Bridge”

» Effective: day after enactment
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County highways—

former MSA routes inclusion
Chapter 465
HF896—Battaglia
SF887*—DeCramer

« requires former municipal state-
aid (MSA) streets in cities, with pop-
ulations of less than 5,000, to become
part of the county state-aid highway
system upon city and county
approval

» Effective: Jan. 1, 1984

Driver improvement
clinic fee increase
Chapter 385
HF1491*—Peterson
SF1367—Schmitz

* increases the maximum fee for
driver improvement clinics to $50
« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Farm trucks—class C license
Chapter 546
HF1449—Sparby
SF1435*—R. Moe

» makes a class C driver’s license
valid for operation of farm trucks by
truck owners or immediate members
of their families, employees not
hired for the purpose of driving the
truck, and employees hired to drive
trucks during harvest

» Effective: day after enactment

Highway construction
contracts prepayment
Chapter 416
HF1835*—Blatz
SF1334—Belanger

e allows the state to prepay local
governments under agreements for
construction, improvements, or
maintenance of trunk highways

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Highways—signs/vending
Chapter 417
HF1824*—Neuenschwander
SF1878—Schmitz

¢ allows vending machines at rest
areas, tourist information centers,
and weigh stations

« establishes a program that allows
sign franchises to put signs on the
rights-of way of interstate and con-
trolled-access highways

e authorizes MnDOT commissioner
to set standards for directional signs;
allows directional signs for pri- p
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vately-owned attractions; sets crite-
ria for attractions eligible for direc-
tional signs

« sets statewide alley-way speed
limit at 10 miles per hour

« Effective: day after enactment

License plates—

return fee prohibited

Chapter 489

HF1509*—Kalis
SF1968—Purfeerst

« prohibits fees for returned licensed
plates after sale, destruction, theft,
or dismantling of motor vehicles

« Effective: day after enactment

Motor carrier regulation
Chapter 520
HF1801*—Jensen
SF1699—Novak

« requires private carriers operating
vehicles over 12,000 1bs gross weight
to comply with the commissioner’s
rules except for driver qualification
rules

« regulates hazardous waste carriers
« requires all Transportation Regu-
lation Board certificates and permits
to bear a service date

« requires holders of the certificate
or permit to register their vehicles
with MnDOT commissioner, file in-
surance or a bond, and file rates and
tariffs within 45 days of the certif-
icate or permit service date

« exempts certain persons from the
definition of ‘“‘building mover”

« repeals the authority of the Public
Safety commissioner to adopt rules
on the transportation of flammable
and explosive materials

« Effective: day after enactment

Motor vehicle
registration—changes
Chapter 549
HF1845—Kalis
SF1520*—Purfeerst

« redefines ‘“bus” to include vehicles
designed to carry more than 10 pas-
sengers, and any other motor vehi-
cle, other than a taxicab, designed to
transport people for pay

« changes the weight range in reg-
istration class “J” and “K” in the
Minnesota Base Rate Schedule

o allows commercial zone trucks to
get a permit to go outside their zone
for repair services

e requires application for quarterly
registration of farm trucks no sooner
than 7 days before the beginning of
the quarter

« increases certain license plate fees
under certain conditions

« increases the minimum annual li-
cense tax from $300 to $400

« establishes the maximum bumper
height for certain motor vehicles

« allows certain trucks and truck
tractors to have a bug deflector ex-
tending no more than 6 inches above
the highest part of the front hood

« requires protective headgear to
comply with commissioner of public
safety standards

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Overweight vehicle fee
Chapter 523
HF1831*—Kalis
SF1747—Langseth

« increases permit fees for over-
weight vehicles
« Effective: Jan. 1, 1985

School bus safety bill
Chapter 403
HF1408*—Solberg
SF1446—Pehler

« redefines school bus to include mo-
tor vehicles that school districts, or
persons under agreement with
schools or school districts, use to
transport pupils to or from school or
school-related activities

« requires a districts to use different
colors on school buses than vehicles
not primarily used as school buses
« redefines type-three school buses
to include a gross vehicle weight rat-
ing of 10,000 pounds or less

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

State commuter van pool
Chapter 408
HF1670*—Voss SF1733—Novak

« allows non-state employees to ride
in state commuter van pools between
their homes and places of work, but
requires van drivers to be state
employees

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984
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Class C licenses valid for farm trucks
(Chapter 546)

Three-wheel vehicle registration
Chapter 647

HF820*—Welch

SF991—Merriam

« requires registration of 3-wheel,
off-road vehicles with the DNR and
defines areas where people can use
them

« establishes training and safety
programs for 3-wheel off-road
vehicles

» Effective: July 1, 1984

Town road fund distribution
Chapter 410

HF1774*—Tunheim
SF1854—Langseth

« provides that town road account
funds go to the county treasurer at
the same time as the first payment
for town tax levies

o Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Turnback routes
Chapter 535
HF1975*~—Mann
SF1912—DeCramer

« returns responsibility for former
trunk highways to counties, under
certain circumstances

« allows use of town road funds for
gravel maintenance

« removes Route 236 from the trunk
highway system

« Effective: day after enactment for
trunk highway reversion, town road
fund; upon local approval* for oth-
ers B
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Resident aliens will get the same treatment as U.S. cit-

izens in veterans benefits and military enlistments.

“Monument to the Living,” a Vietnam soldier statue on

State Capitol grounds, is now official state monument.

photo by Tom Olmscheid

Statute honors Vietnam veterans (Chapter 507)

Military Affairs—

department bill

Chapter 442

HF1786*—Piper
SF1431—DeCramer

* conforms state law governing ad-
jutant general’s duties to federal law
* allows the adjutant general to sell
an armory and use the proceeds

within 10 years to replace or im-
prove armories

» allows transfer of proceeds from
the sale of armories to the MN State
Armory Commission to replace, buy,
or repair existing commission
armories

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984
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Monument to the Living
Chapter 507
HF1405*—Blatz
SF1328—Belanger

* adds a Vietnam soldier statue, ti-
tled “Monument to the Living,” in
Ramsey County to the list of state
monuments

* places the statue in the Court of
Honor on the Capitol grounds

* Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Resident aliens—

rights /responsibilities

Chapter 609

HF1547—Kahn SF1442*—Spear

» eliminates the distinctions between
U.S. citizens and resident aliens re-
garding the distribution of economic
benefits, military enlistment, veter-
ans’ benefits, rights of association
and other rights, except for the right
to vote, or any other right that re-
quires U.S. citizenship

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Veterans home residents: wages
Chapter 505

HF1107*—Riveness
SF1013—DeCramer

* provides that residents’ earnings
from work therapy program cannot
be considered a means of support
when calculating their cost at the
home

» Effective: day after enactment

Veterans’ preference

civil service

Chapter 468
HF1847—Neuenschwander
SF1466*—Lessard

* broadens the eligibility for veteér-
ans preference for civil service
employment

 Effective: day after enactment B
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Legistation

Laws in this section
deal with operation of
state and local gov-
ernments.
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Caledonia: library board
Chapter 402
HF1381*—Johnson
SF1426—Kronebusch

» allows Caledonia City Council to
appoint residents to the library
board from the area the library
serves

 allows members to serve more than
three consecutive terms

* Effective: upon local approval*

International Falls:

land conveyance

Chapter 404
HF1460*—Neuenschwander
SF1371—Lessard

¢ allows the governor to transfer no
more than 3 acres of state-owned
land to the city of International Falls
for student housing at Rainy River
Community College

e Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

City clerks: duties/bonds
Chapter 384

HF1503*—C. Rodriguez
SF1438—Schmitz

* allows a city council to delegate the
city clerk’s bookkeeping duties to an-
other employee

» Effective: day after enactment

Duluth: dwelling

energy conservation

Chapter 581

HF1999*—Munger

SF1660—Solon

* expands the energy conservation
program to include multifamily
homes and owner-occupied homes in
Duluth

* authorizes the sale of revenue
bonds for improvement in each type
of dwelling

» Effective: upon local approval**

Duluth: I-35 completion
Chapter 477
HF2177—Munger
SF2076*—Solon

* directs the transportation commis-
sioner to extend I-35 in Duluth from
10th Ave. E. to 26th Ave. E.

+ Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Farmington: liquor/

gambling licenses

Chapter 400

HF977*—C. Rodriguez
SF970—Wegscheid

* allows the city of Farmington to is-
sue a club on-sale liquor license and
a gambling and bingo license to an
Eagles Club in the city

 Effective: upon local approval*

License fee notice
Chapter 393
HF1180—Clawson
SF1139*—Sieloff

* requires local governments to mail
notices to vending machine opera-
tors at least 30 days before a hearing
on a proposed license fee increase

e Effective: July 1, 1984

Pillager: land conveyance
Chapter 405
HF1496*—Wenzel
SF1395—Samuelson

« allows the DNR commissioner to
lease a piece of state land to the city
of Pillager

* Effective: day after enactment

Plymouth: port authority
Chapter 397

HF938—Heinitz
SF1041*—Ramstad

* givesthe city of Plymouth the pow-
ers of a port authority

* Effective: upon local approval**

St. Cloud: port authority
Chapter 498
HF1753*—Marsh
SF1529—Pehler

* gives the city of St. Cloud the pow-
ers of a port authority
» Effective: upon local approval**

St. Louis Park: HRA authority
Chapter 409

HF1706*—O0lsen
SF1714—McQuaid

» provides that any request for a city
permit, zoning change, or construc-
tion in a redevelopment area in St.
Louis Park will first get approval
from the city’s housing and redevel-
opment authority for conformance to
the area’s redevelopment plans be-
fore the city can consider the request
+ Effective: upon local approval**
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St. Paul: smoke detectors

Chapter 559

HF1952—Cohen

SF1931*—Lantry

* allows the city of St. Paul to adopt
an ordinance requiring a smoke de-
tector in single family homes upon
sale of home

» Effective: upon local approval**

Thief River Falls: conveyances
HF1010*—Sparby
SF2179—Stumpf

* would have changed restrictions
on the filing and recording of con-
veyances to not apply to a convey-
ance if it's a single parcel of residen-
tial or agricultural land of at least 5
acres, and if its conveyance doesn'’t
result in dividing the parcel into 2 or
more parcels, any of which is less
than 5 acres, or 250 feet in width

Town clerks/treasurers/

election and terms

Chapter 386

HF1485*—G. Anderson
SF1592—Adkins

¢ provides for election of town clerks
in even-numbered years, town treas-
urers in odd years, each for 2-year
terms

* Effective: day after enactment

Town contracts/nonprofit
agencies

Chapter 536

HF1982*—Clawson

SF2187—R. Peterson

* authorizes town boards to contract
with nonprofit groups for health, so-
cial, or recreational services for up
to $5,000 a year if they determine
the contracts would benefit the town
» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 '

Town laws update

Chapter 562

HF2185—Schoenfeld
SF2072*—Schmitz

» updates various town laws on elec-
tions and enactment of ordinances
including guidelines on the posting/
publishing of public notices

* allows a town board to issue cer-
tificates to buy fire, police, ambu-
lance, road construction, or mainte-
nance equipment

* authorizes the town board to set
pay scale and mileage compensation
for town employees

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 @
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Anoka County: library bonds
Chapter 380
HF1153—Simoneau
SF1127*—Frank

« allows the Anoka County Board to
levy a maximum tax of .75 of a mill
on property in the county and within
the service area of a county public
library for construction or renova-
tion of the county public library

« allows the Board, by resolution on
a4/7 vote, to issue general obligation
bonds up to $9 million for the library
« Effective: upon local approval®™

Cook County: land sale

Chapter 570

HF560*—Battaglia

SF410—Doug Johnson

« allows Cook County to sell some
land and allows the county and the
state to properly transfer the land
« Effective: upon local approval**

Counties: capital notes issue
Chapter 437
HF738—Schafer
SF746*—Renneke

« allows counties to issue capital
notes to finance capital equipment
without referendum and provides
that the notes, payable within 5
years, will be for public safety, am-
bulance, road construction or main-
tenance, medical and data processing
equipment

o Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Counties: highway improvements
Chapter 478

HF1032*—Hoffman
SF1000—Diessner

« allows counties to assess for high-

way improvements in cities
« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

County boards of adjustment
Chapter 392
HF2115—Wenzel
SF1396*—Bertram

« requires the county board of ad-
justment to take into consideration
the town board’s recommendation
when the board of adjustment’s de-
cision affects land in the town

o Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

County/judicial ditch benefits
Chapter 487

HF1404*—Onnen
SF2174—Bernhagen

» allows for correction in county or
judicial ditch benefits whenever a

majority of the property owners,
who benefit by a ditch, petition for
the correction of an error made at the
time the ditch was established

« Effective: day after enactment

County law update

Chapter 629

HF1666—G. Anderson
SF1702*—Schmitz

« revises statute governing county
powers and county boards

« increases the amount a county
board may pay to buy or condemn
land for agricultural fairs and ex-
hibits and the amount for expenses
related to soldiers’ cemetery

» removes provisions on lynching
and a reward for the recovery of a
murderer’s body

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Kandiyohi County: ditch refunds
Chapter 521

HF1803*—Welle

SF1808—Dean Johnson

«+ allows Kandiyohi County to reduce
assessment on county ditches #10
and #46

« Effective: upon local approval™

Kandiyohi/Fillmore

counties: land sale

Chapter 529

HF1911*—Welle

SF2128—Dean Johnson

« allows sale of property on Norway
Lake in Kandiyohi County to Ken-
neth E. and Lucille C. Polark

« allows sale of 5.3 acres of state for-
est land in Fillmore County to James
Cady

» Effective: day after enactment

Koochiching County:

land purchase

Chapter 540

HF2238*—Elioff

SF2061—Doug Johnson

« allows the DNR commissioner to
sell certain land in Koochiching
County to Rohl Peterson, or to an-
other buyer whose payment the state
treasurer shall give to Peterson

« Effective: day after enactment

Law library boards

Chapter 401

HF1325*—Zaffke
SF1320—Anderson

« allows appointment of nonlawyers
to county law library boards by the
chief judge of the judicial district

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984
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Mille Lacs County: land sale
Chapter 490

HF1522*—Peterson
SF1377—Davis

« allows the sale of certain tax-for-
feited land in Mille Lacs County

« Effective: day after enactment

Olmsted County: waste contracts
Chapter 424

HF2197—Bishop
SF2145*—Brataas

« allows Olmsted County to contract,
without advertisement for bids, for
construction, installation, mainte-
nance, and operation of solid waste
services

« Effective: upon local approval

Otter Tail County:

real property sale

Chapter 511

HF1456*—R. Anderson

no companion

« allows Otter Tail County to sell the
former juvenile female group home
without advertising for bids

o Effective: upon local approval™

Ramsey County:

Shoreview land transfer

Chapter 389

HF2255—Bennett
SF2148*—Knaak

« allows Ramsey County to transfer
a piece of land to the city of Shor-
eview for a city well

« Effective: upon local approval™

St. Louis County:

grant coordinator

Chapter 398

HF1913—Elioff SF1927*—Solon
» allows St. Louis County to appoint
a legislative lobbyist/grant
coordinator

« Effective: upon local approval*

St. Louis County: jobs program
Chapter 501

HF1839*—Battaglia
SF1755—Dicklich

« allows St. Louis County to set up
an emergency jobs program

« requires the county board of com-
missioners to set up rules for the pro-
gram, including working hours,
wages, benefits, and method of
payment

» Effective: upon local approval™ »
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St. Louis County

Promotional Bureau

Chapter 395

HF248—Begich SF7*—Dicklich
* makes the St. Louis County Pro-
motional Bureau equivalent to a
county agricultural society, with the
same liability for private or civil
wrong or injury

» Effective: upon local approval** B

Metropolitan Airports
Commission

Chapter 561
HF2063—G. Anderson
SF1978*—Purfeerst

» defines the Commission’s (MAC)
relationship with the Legislature and
the Metropolitan Council:

« MAC must be accountable to the
Legislature

» Metropolitan Council will review
certain capital projects at the Min-
neapolis-St. Paul International
Airport

» requires State Planning Agency di-
rector, with help from the Council
and MAC, toreport to the Legislature
on terms of ‘“metropolitan signifi-
cance”’ and the effect on the eco-
nomic development of the metropol-
itan area, effective upon approval
June 1, 1985

e Effective: July 1, 1984

Mosquito Control District
Chapter 492
HF1633*—Skoglund
SF1835—Petty

* allows the Metropolitan Mosquito
Control District to work outside dis-
trict boundaries to control
mosquitoes

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Pay increase for

Minneapolis commissioners
Chapter 499

HF1770*—Sarna
SF1831—Kroening

» allows pay of Minneapolis Park
and Recreation Board and Library
Board to increase up to $3,600 yearly
« Effective: upon local approval**

Public finance for municipalities
Chapter 563

HF2218—Shea
SF2165*—Wegscheid

» provides additional investment al-
ternatives to counties that have a

city of the first class and a metro-
politan commission

» provides for issuance of obliga-
tions as certified or uncertified
securities

¢ allows a municipality to designate
a corporate registrar

¢ provides that ownership of munic-
ipal obligations is not public
information

« provides procedures for publishing
notices of obligations

¢ allows a municipality to invest ob-
ligation sale proceeds

* repeals registration of bonds by
municipality and reverse repurchase
agreements

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Watershed management
Chapter 411
HF1553*—Levi
SF1554—Merriam

¢ requires managers of a watershed
district to represent various hydrol-
ogic areas in the district

» allows cities and towns outside the
metropolitan area to join in a wa-
tershed management organization

» allows the Water Resources Board
to change district boundaries if af-
fected cities and towns agree and to
dissolve a district if local govern-
ments want to replace it with a joint-
power organization

« Effective: day after enactment &

Aggregate deposit inventory
Chapter 605

HF1194—D. Nelson
SF881*—Schmitz

» provides that the Department of
Natural Resources, with help from
other agencies, must set up a pro-
gram to identify and classify public,
or privately owned, aggregate lands
outside the urban areas

* creates a 15-member advisory com-
mission on aggregate resources in the
metropolitan area

* requires the advisory committee to
submit a report to the Legislature by
Dec. 31, 1985, on the need for aggre-
gate resource protection and ways to
develop a long-term protection plan
» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Cable television/
municipal commissions
Chapter 377
HF1551—Hokr
SF1475*—Reichgott
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¢ allows municipalities to have a rep-
resentative on a joint cable
commission

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Duluth: Spirit Mountain
recreation area
Chapter 390
HF2131—Gustafson
SF1770*—Solon

¢ changes the boundaries of land the
Spirit Mountain recreation area au-
thority administers

» Effective: upon local approval**

Employee residency—
cities/counties

Chapter 585

HF322*—Piepho

SF2091—Taylor

» prohibits cities and counties from
setting up residency requirements as
a condition of employment, unless a
demonstrated, job-related need
exists

» allows the city of Hermantown to
defer, for up to 10 years, payment of
special assessment for public im-
provements for any homestead prop-
erty if payment would be a hardship
« Effective: prohibiting residency re-
quirements: Aug. 1, 1984; Herman-
town provision: upon local
approval**

Firearms—Ilocal authority
HF1828—Vanasek
SF1842*—Lessard

e would have allowed the Legisla-
ture to preempt any local authority
to regulate firearms except that a po-
litical subdivision could have regu-
lated the discharge of firearms and
could have adopted regulations that
are the same as state law

Fire protection systems—
assessments

Chapter 591

HF1516*—O0tis
SF1506—Pogemiller

« allows local government to author-
ize special assessments or service
charges for fire protection systems
after receiving voluntary petitions
» allows issuance of revenue bonds
« Effective: day after enactment

Fire systems, jail/mortgage
revenue bonds, Blue Hill
Chapter 633
HF2012—Ellingson
SF1880*—Wegscheid »
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 authorizes councils of municipali-
ties to promote fire protection sys-
tems and skyway systems in build-
ings if a building owner petitions;
« allows a county to enter into an
agreement with a county housing
and redevelopment authority to con-
struct a jail

» defines city allocation of mortgage
revenue bonds

« includes town of Blue Hill, Sher-
burne County, in statutory town
provisions

» Effective: Blue Hill provision: upon
local compliance®; others: day after
enactment

Legal cost reimbursement/
sale of air space

Chapter 650
HF1903*—Rice
SF2146—Petty

« allows a city or county to pay em-
ployees’ legal costs if the employee
is charged with a crime while per-
forming work duties

 gives municipalities the authority
to sell air rights over public buildings
¢ allows municipalities to refund
bonds issued to finance a develop-
ment district

» Effective: day after enactment

Local government pay equity
Chapter 651
HF1766*—Riveness
SF1687—Berglin

« requires local government to eval-
uate jobs and do job comparability
studies to set up equitable pay

« requires political subdivisions to
report to Employee Relations Com-
missioner by Oct. 1, 1985, on their
plans to evaluate jobs and do studies
that identify the female-dominated
classes of jobs where pay inequity
exists

 allows the town of Windemere in
Pine County to have powers of a met-
ropolitan area town

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984, for pay eq-
uity provision; Windemere provision
upon local approval**

Mpls-St. Paul Airport:

noise abatement

Chapter 639

HF1945—Skoglund
SF1914*—Petty

* requires the Airport Commission,
until Dec. 31, 1989, to submit to the
Pollution Control Agency (PCA)
noise abatement plan that includes

specific goals and annual changes in
the maximum hourly noise levels

« specifies that the PCA shall partic-
ipate in the monitoring of noise
levels

* requires the commission to submit
a yearly report to the Legislature
that includes estimate of noise abate-
ment it plans to achieve by Dec. 31,
1989

o Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Mississippi Headwaters Board
Chapter 600

HF1909—Solberg
SF1403*—Lessard

» requires state and local govern-
ments to follow Mississippi Head-
waters Board’s land-use guidelines
« requires administration of all state
and public land conform to the land-
use plan the board adopted Feb. 12,
1981

e the board may amend the plan with
support from Clearwater, Hubbard,
Beltrami, Cass, Itasca, Aitkin, Crow
Wing, and Morrison counties

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

N. Kittson Rural Water

District: diversion

Chapter 457

HF1791—Tunheim
SF1794*—Stumpf

« allows the DNR commissioner to
authorize the North Kittson Rural
Water District to divert water to the
cities of Emerson and Manitoba for
domestic use

» Effective: day after enactment

Police mutual aid

Chapter 495

HF1703*—Valan
SF1771—Langseth

» allows local governments to au-
thorize mutual aid pacts between po-
lice agencies in emergencies

« Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Publication of legal notices
Chapter 543

HF1302—Clawson
SF1298*—Freeman

» reforms laws governing publica-
tion of legal and public notices:

e eliminates various outdated re-
quirements and language

« allows school district boards to
publish a summary of their meetings
in the official newspaper of the dis-
trict; requires the boards to publish
annual budgets in a newspaper of
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general circulation in the district

« allows county board to publish a
summary of their proceedings in a
newspaper of general circulation in
the county; requires the boards to
publish their annual county budget
statement summary

« requires city councils of cities with
over 1,000 persons to publish the of-
ficial proceedings, a summary, or a
condensed version of the official
minutes

 requires city councils to publish
their annual summary budget state-
ment in a newspaper of general cir-
culation in the city

e sets the maximum fee for publi-
cation of public notices at the lowest
classfied rate commercial users pay
for comparable space

« Effective: Jan. 1, 1985; school dis-
trict provisions: July 1, 1985

Public hospital power
Chapter 554
HF1892—Clawson
SF1815*—Stumpf

+ gives public hospitals the author-
ity of a nonprofit corporation, in-
cluding the power to enter partner-
ships, own shares of stock in
business corporations, and offer
products and services to the general
public

« Effective: day after enactment

Trespassing ordinances
Chapter 620
HF63—Gruenes
SF120*—Pehler

» authorizes county boards or city
councils to enact ordinances that
prohibit anyone from trespassing
onto private land to drink alcohol or
to take drugs

» provides that violation of a tres-
passing ordinance is a misdemeanor
» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984

Vending machine
licensing, inspecting
Chapter 503
HF2081*—Shea
SF1951—Knaak

» changes the authority to license
and inspect vending machines from
the Department of Health to the De-
partment of Agriculture

« allows local government to set in-
spection or license fees

» Effective: Aug. 1, 1984 &
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Anyone who asks you about your vote as you enter or leave your
polling place will be breaking Minnesota law. The law now bans any-
one who is inside or within 100 feet of an entrance to a polling place
from asking people how they intend to vote or how they voted.

Public employees now have a “Rule of 85 in their
pension plans which allows pension plan members
to collect retirement benefits if their age plus years & _
worked equals 85. To qualify, employees must be at

least 55 years old. Rule of 85 remains in effect until *
Dec. 31, 1986, when the Legislature will decide |
whether to continue it, or, “leave the window open.” ™

Drivers can no longer opt out of a breath test when they’re stopped
for suspected drunken driving under new state law. The 1984 Leg-
islature made blood alcohol concentration tests mandatory and im-
posed a one-year license revocation on drivers who still refuse to take
the test. Also, anyone under 19 years of age who buys, or tries to buy,
alcohol using a driver’s license or permit will face a 30-day license
revocation.

An ’84 session law creates a Regional Transit Board
to take over the bus service planning and policy-mak-
ing functions of the Metropolitan Transit Board.
MTC will continue to operate the buses.

The Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) bill that became law
this past session may make you eligible for more benefits. Or it may
help you see where your health insurance dollar is going. The new law
eliminates certain discrimination by HMOs and requires them to re-
port their corporate structures, shareholders, and contracted service
providers.

Volunteer ambulance drivers and attendants will get
workers’ compensation coverage beginning Aug. 1,
1984. A new law includes them in the employee def-
inition section of the state’s workers’ compensation
law. Daily wages for these employees remain the same
as current law defines them.

A new law passed that attempts to settle some of the land claim disputes
among the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe and federal and state officials
that date back to the beginning of the century. The law would transfer
10,000 acres of state-owned land in the White Earth Indian Reser-
vation to the Indians.
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YT To get the Minnesota renewable energy tax credit
Solar Collector consumers must buy certified or registered solar col-
Certification lectors. They can get help in comparing products and

— cost effectiveness under the Energy Division’s new
Solar Certification program. They should look for the
Division’s logo (at left) and performance rating
sticker on solar collector systems. Solar dealers with

low volume sales may register rather than certify their

products. So consumers should call 296-5175 to
check registration before buying a collector that
doesn’t display the certification logo.

Beginning in 1986, Minnesotans will observe the
third Monday in January as an offical holiday in
honor of Martin Luther King, Jr.’s birthday. Public
offices will close, but school districts and state colleges
may stay open if they devote some part of the day
to patriotic observance of the holiday.

The 1984 Legislature passed two bills to ask voters to vote on two
constitutional amendments that affect Minnesota’s Permanent School
Fund (PSF) lands that the federal government gave Minnesota over a
100 years ago to generate income for schools.

The state constitution strictly limits investment of PSF principal
and exchange of the lands. Some PSF lands are now in non-income
producing areas, such as state parks or forests. Loosening restrictions
on investments and exchange of non-income producing lands for
some that would yield income would boost revenue.

These are the questions voters will answer yes or no to on the No-
vember ballot:

n 1. Shall the Minnesota Constitution be amended to allow the
exchange of state-owned lands for other lands owned by the state or
local governments?

m 2. Shall the Minnesota Constitution be amended to remove con-
stitutional restrictions on the investment of the permanent school fund
and to allow the limits on the investment of the fund and the appor-
tionment of the returns on the investment to school districts to be set
by law?
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clhapter number

CH SF  TOPIC

0376 1462 1476* Elections

0377 1551 1475* Other Local Bills

0378 1948 1453* Health/Welfare

0379 1504 1350* Legal/Judiciary -

0380 1153 1127* Local Bills—Counties CH HF SF TOPIC

0381 1772 1832* Legal/Judiciary 0431 1527 1495* Employment/Labor

0382 1944* 1827 Banking 0432 1767 1477* Employment/Labor

0383 1784* 1904 Pensions/Retirement 0433 1556 1398* Crime/Corrections

0384 1503* 1438 Local Bills—Cities/Towns 0434 0965 1196* Taxes

0385 1491* 1367 Transportation 0435 1330 1112* Legal/Judiciary

0386 1485* 1592 Local Bills—Cities/Towns 0436 0894 0989* Governmental Operations
0387 1486* 1471 Legal/Judiciary 0437 0738 0746* Local Bills—Counties

0388 1877* 1934 Taxes 0438 0878 0506* Legal/Judiciary

0389 2255 2148* Local Bills—Counties 0439 2150* 2007 Commerce/Consumer Affairs
0390 2131 1770* Other Local Bills 0440 1939* 2153 Commerce/Consumer Affairs
0391 1830 1757* Health/Welfare 0441 1912* 1729 Miscellaneous

0392 2115 1396* Local Bills—Counties 0442 1786* 1431 Veterans/Military

0393 1180 1139* Local Bills—Cities/Towns 0443 1781* 1411 Taxes

0394 1053 0868* Env/Natural Resources 0444 1656* 1652 Commerce/Consumer Affairs
0395 0248 0007* Local Bills—Counties 0445 1651* 1858 Crime/Corrections

0396 0427 0416* Elections 0446 1562* 1519 Employment/Labor

0397 0938 1041* Local Bills—Cities/Towns 0447 1338* 1809 Elections

0398 1913 1927* Local Bills—Cities/Towns 0448 1058* none Commerce/Consumer Affairs
0399 0559* 0588 Legal/Judiciary 0449 0996* none Energy/Utilities

0400 0977* 0970 Local Bills—Cities/Towns 0450 0585* 0811 Commerce/Consumer Affairs
0401 1325* 1320 Local Bills—Counties 0451 0523* 0567 Governmental Operations
0402 1381* 1426 Local Bills—Cities/Towns 0452 1635 1504* Commerce/Consumer Affairs
0403 1408* 1446 Transporation 0453 1292 1258* Env/Natural Resources

0404 1460* 1371 Local Bills—Cities/Towns 0454 1523 1622* Employment/Labor

0405 1496* 1395 Local Bills—Cities/Towns 0455 1773 1662* Env/Natural Resources

0406 1611* 1508 Housing/Real Estate 0456 1764 1760* Governmental Operations
0407 1813* 1793 Health/Welfare 0457 1791 1794* Other Local Bills

0408 1670* 1733 Transportation 0458 1843 1807* Commerce/Consumer Affairs
0409 1706* 1714 Local Bills—Cities/Towns 0459 2113 1813* Energy/Utilities

0410 1774* 1854 Transportation 0460 2097 1973* Crime/Corrections

0411 1553* 1554 Local Bills—Metro 0461 2085 1977* Commerce/Consumer Affairs
0412 2047* 1967 Transportation 0462 2160 1986* Employment/Labor

0413 2038* 2149 Commerce/Consumer Affairs 0463 1393* 1404 Education

0414 1998* 1872 Commerce/Consumer Affairs 0464 1561* 1417 Health/Welfare

0415 1936* 1796 Elections 0465 0896 0887* Transportation

0416 1835* 1334 Transportation 0466 1473 1365* Crime/Corrections

0417 1824* 1878 Transportation 0467 1601 1451* Commerce/Consumer Affairs
0418 1819* 2002 Commerce/Consumer Affairs 0468 1847 1466* Veterans/Military

0419 1809* 1785 Crime/Corrections 0469 1679 1469* Employment/Labor

0420 1652* 1167 Insurance 0470 1851 1498* Employment/Labor

0421 1445%* 1402 Crime/Corrections 0471 1618 1546* Elections

0422 2231 1454* Families/Relationships 0472 2039 1575* Commerce/Consumer Affairs
0423 1884 1351* Commerce/Consumer Affairs 0473 1923 1732* Banking

0424 2197 2145* Local Bills—Counties 0474 2036 1776* Housing/Real Estate

0425 1987 1891* Employment/Labor 0475 2245 1849* Crime/Corrections

0426 1872 1867* Health/Welfare 0476 1910 1879* Agriculture

0427 1822 1853* Employment/Labor 0477 2177 2076* Local Bills—Cities/Towns
0428 2258 1768* Energy/Utilities 0478 1032* 1000 Local Bills—Counties

0429 1579 1740* Legal/Judiciary 0479 1149* 0731 Commerce/Consumer Affairs
0430 1638 1642* Drugs/Alcohol 0480 1156* 1107 Miscellaneous
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CH

HF SF

TOPIC

0481
0482
0483
0484
0485

1264* 2098
1291* 1240
1304* 1621
1347* 1318
1371* 1325

Commerce/Consumer Affairs
Education

Crime/Corrections
Crime/Corrections
Families/Relationships

0486
0487
0488
0489
0490

1402* 1353
1404* 2174
1422* 1975
1509* 1968
1522* 1377

Appropriations

Local Bills—Counties
Commerce/Consumer Affairs
Transportation

Local Bills—Counties

0491
0492
0493
0494
0495

1533* 1557
1633* 1835
1659* 1510
1695* 2123
1703* 1771

Health/Welfare

Local Bills—Metro
Commerce/Consumer Affairs
Legal/Judiciary

Other Local Bills

0496
0497
0498
0499
0500

1722* 1833
1735* 2190
1753* 1529
1770* 1831
1771* 1637

Crime/Corrections
Crime/Corrections

Local Bills—Cities/Towns
Local Bills—Metro
Banking

0501
0502
0503
0504
0505

1839* 1755
2016* none
2081* 1951
0756* 2173
1107* 1013

Local Bills—Counties
Taxes

Other Local Bills
Governmental Operations
Veterans/Military

0506
0507
0508
0509
0510

1352* 1306
1405* 1328
1421* 1386
1425* 1450
1428* 1579

Banking
Veterans/Military
Employment/Labor
Agriculture
Families/Relationships

0511
0512
0513
0514
0515

1456* none
1481* 1539
1524* 1461
1528* 1516
1606* 2131

Local Bills—Counties
Banking
Legal/Judiciary
Taxes

Elections

0516
0517
0518
0519
0520

1620* none
1663* 1649
1760* 1648
1778* 1627
1801* 1699

Health/Welfare
Agriculture
Env/Natural Resources
Env/Natural Resources
Transportation

0521
0522
0523
0524
0525

1803* 1808
1814* 1551
1831* 1747
1846* 1606
1850* 2040

Local Bills—Counties
Taxes

Transportation

Taxes
Legal/Judiciary

0526
0527
0528
0529
0530

1853* 1421
1856* 1801
1875* 2078
1911* 2128
1920* 1916

Health/Welfare
Miscellaneous
Health/Welfare

Local Bills—Counties
Health/Welfare

0531
0532
0533
0534
0535

1946* 1982
1949* 1814
1950* 1680
1966* 1865
1975* 1912

Governmental Operations
Insurance
Legal/Judiciary
Health/Welfare
Transportation
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CH
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0536
0537
0538
0539
0540

1982* 2187
2006* 1449
2148* 2054
2188* 2067
2238* 2061

Local Bills—<Cities/Towns
Env/Natural Resources
Insurance

Miscellaneous

Local Bills—Counties

0541
0542
0543
0544
0545

2247* 1924

0378 0311*
1302 1298*
1757 1408*
1848 1418*

Health/Welfare
Health/Welfare

Other Local Bills
Governmental Operations
Health/Welfare

0546
0547
0548
0549
0550

1449 1435*
1554 1492*
1484 1511*
1845 1520*
1630 1589*

Transportation
Families/Relationships
Taxes

Transportation
Env/Natural Resources

0551
0552
0553
0554
0555

2173 1683*
1632 1750*
2299 1790*
1892 1815*
1896 1862*

Housing/Real Estate
Commerce/Consumer Affairs
Env/Natural Resources
Other Local Bills

Insurance

0556
0557
0558
0559
0560

20687 1883*
2070 1903*
2062 1913*
1952 1931*
1871 1954*

Employment/Labor
Miscellaneous
Governmental Operations
Local Bills—Cities/Towns
Elections

0561
0562
0563
0564
0565

2063 1978*
2185 2072*
2218 2165*
0160 0147*
2078 1337*

Local Bills—Metro

Local Bills—Cities/Towns
Local Bills—Metro
Pensions/Retirement
Housing/Real Estate

0566
0567
0568
0569
0570

1902 1473*
1602 1762*
1820 1859*
0432* 1376
0560* 0410

Housing/Real Estate
Governmental Operations
Commerce/Consumer Affairs
Env/Natural Resources
Local Bills—Counties

0571
0572
0573
0574
0575

0950* 1169
1315* 1293
1386* 1462
1427* 1390
1466* 1285

Governmental Operations
Transportation
Families/Relationships
Pensions/Retirement
Legal/Judiciary

0576
0577
0578
0579
0580

1655* 1758
1806* 1836
1878* 1661
1886* 1480
1977* 1819

Banking
Health/Welfare
Employment/Labor
Health/Welfare
Health/Welfare

0581
0582
0583
0584
0585

1999* 1660
2186* 2100
1775* 1960
2051* 1457
0322* 2091

Local Bills—Cities/Towns
Taxes

Energy/Utilities
Agriculture

Local Bills—Cities/Towns

0586
0587
0588
0589
0590

1203* 2000
1257* 1886
1279* 1460
1382* 1354
1507* 2135

Housing/Real Estate
Employment/Labor
Crime/Corrections
Crime/Corrections
Taxes
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CH HF SF TOPIC CH HF SF TOPIC

0591 1516* 1506 Other Local Bills 0645 1532* 1595 Agriculture

0592 1678* 1749 Insurance 0646 0994* 0966 Governmental Operations
0593 1815* 1910 Taxes 0647 0820* 0991 Transportation
0594 1915* 1877 Commerce/Consumer Affairs 0648 0533* 1264 Governmental Operations
0595 1974* 1681 Housing/Real Estate 0649 1961* 1936 Governmental Operations
0596 2141* 1805 Commerce/Consumer Affairs 0650 1903* 2146 Other Local Bills
0597 2314* none Appropriations 0651 1766* 1687 Other Local Bills
0598 2151 1974* Commerce/Consumer Affairs 0652 1761* 1633 Taxes

0599 1030 1114* Env/Natural Resources 0653 1743* 1781 Employment/Labor
0600 1909 1403* Other Local Bills 0654 2317* none Appropriations
0601 2302 1789* Governmental Operations 0655 2207* 2125 Governmental Operations
0602 1859 1810* Insurance 0656 1587* 1553 Miscellaneous
0603 1935 1821* Legal/Judiciary 0657 0229* 0021 Health/Welfare
0604 1709 1826* Governmental Operations 0658 2135 2030* Families/Relationships
0605 1194 0881* Other Local Bills

0606 1213 0992* Health/Welfare

0607 1501 1976* Energy/Utilities

0608 1537 1563* Employment/Labor Resolutions

0609 1547 1442* Veterans/Military Rs HF SF TOPIC

0610 2055 2138* Legal/Judiciary 0012 1303 1243* Resolutions

0611 1499 1559* Energy/Utilities 0013 2180* 2103 Resolutions

0612 1837 1330* Housing/Real Estate 0014 0727 0531* Resolutions

0613 1865 1407* Env/Natural Resources 0015 0805 0751* Resolutions

0614 1306 1235* Employment/Labor 0016 2290 2083* Resolutions

0615 2077 1562* Legal/Judiciary 0017 2189 2109* Resolutions

0616 1708 1614* Health/Welfare 0018 2134* 1643 Resolutions

0617 1967 1628* Health/Welfare 0019 1800* 1739 Resolutions

0618 2023 2016* Governmental Operations 0020 2276 2164* Resolutions

0619 1668 1736* Education 0021 2021* 2141 Resolutions

0620 0063 0120* Other Local Bills

0621 1143 1048* Env/Natural Resources

0622 1400 1336* Drugs/Alcohol

0623 2154 2108* Health/Welfare

0624 1284 1560* Crime/Corrections

0625 1285 1561* Crime/Corrections

0626 1883 1349* Drugs/Alcohol

0627 1667 1441* Employment/Labor

0628 2161 2046* Miscellaneous

0629 1666 1702* Local Bills—Counties

0630 2198 1905* Crime/Corrections

0631 2068 1884* Employment/Labor

0632 1644 1455* Health/Welfare

0633 2012 1880* Governmental Operations

0634 0899 1007* Legal/Judiciary

0635 1230 0924* Families/Relationships

0636 0347 0433* Employment/Labor

0637 2183 2102* Families/Relationships

0638 2157 2043* Governmental Operations

0639 1945 1914* Other Local Bills

0640 2130 1864* Governmental Operations

0641 2098* 1985 Health/Welfare

0642 1991* 2084 Employment/Labor

0643 1559* 1532 Miscellaneous

0644 1577* 1514 Env/Natural Resources
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BILL

Abuse—state hospitals/nursing homes ........ccceevveevecininnnniiniin 43 Court of appeals—representation on board
Acid deposition standard—date change .......ooceveeceeinisennnns 47 Credit union changes ..........c........
Administration Department—housekeeping changes ...........c.c.... 51 Credit union reciprocity ...
Administration Department—statutory changes ......... .51 Crimes—forfeiture of property ....

Administrative Procedures Act-—changes ...

Adoption—interstate cOmpacts ...........ce.... ....49
Adult day care HCENSINE ...ooccvvviiiirieeiimssisessssssesrses e 53
African Development Bank ..o 34
Ag land improvements—sales tax exemption ....63

Ag production input liens ......
Aggregate deposit inventory .....

Anoka County: library bonds ......cceeeeeieieeiniineene
Apiary 1aw Changes ......occcvecenivereniernisnsnsnsscceneacuinnns
Appeals to the court of appeals
Appointments—transferring authority
Arrests—misdemeanor offense/domestic abuse .......covvveverenncns 38
Atomic radiation EXPOSUTE ......cccerervviseerveirsnasenas

Audits—metro agencies/boards/commissions ...
Auctioneers—real estate sales stipulation ......
Baha’i persecution halt
Bavaria as a sister state
Bicycle registration fee
Blackout rule repealer .
Blind/visually handicapped rehabilitative SErvices .......c..cececeee.
Board of Dentistry—training/education rules ............
Border water management—Minnesota and Ontario ....
Bridge funding ....ocooeeeececveecnnmniiniiii i eesssssesesessnns
Building inspectors—continuing education ..........eccocnneenns
Bulk food sale regulation ...
Burglary-—sentence reduced
Buy Minnesota repeal ...............
CSSA minimum program standards
Cable television/municipal COMMISSION ....ccveveieirireieseieerseeieinnnnnee
Caledonia: library board ........ccevvveieenenne.
Capital improvement/bonding bill ...
Chemical dependency—Welfare Department authority .............. 53
Child abduction by parents/guardians .
Child abuse reporting CRANEES .......ccviieivevveiimiennreescesensceniinnes
Child abuse—removal of parent/adult
Child support—law changes
Children—sexual abuse ...... .
City clerks: duties/bonds ........cocovrrvremeirisnisesssrssennes e
Claims against the state ...

Claims settlement regulation
Clitherall: land sale ......cc.oue
Commerce Department—mxscellaneous changes ......................... 35
Companion service wages ......
Comparable worth-——U of M study
Component pricing bill ....ccooovvieviniiinnnns
Conciliation court judgments—collection of ..o
Conduct proceedings—inadmissible evidence
Construction—indemnification agreements ..........cveieereenne
Cook County: land sale ............c....
Cooperatives—distribution of assets ....... .
Corporations—hostile takeover prohibited ........c.ccoeimeieernisercee
Counties: capital notes iSSU€ .......cocevveeenuenne
Counties: highway improvements ............
County boards of adjustment .........eceeevememeierevsecncnens

County highways—former MSA route inclusion ... 65
County/judicial ditch Denefits .......ccverviviminieeneeencceeiinns 70
County law update . .70
County nursing home administration ..........ccoviviverrenersrsesesnscinse 54

78

DWI-—breath tests
DWI—mandatory testing/various changes
Data privacy—access to data and records ....

Daycare regulation—prohibited ...
Daycare—state eImPIOYEES ..ovoevreerrerernirisneriiessnnsssisnsen
Deed tax exemption .......
Department of Revenue property tax bill
Detective/protective agent board changes
Detoxification—county responsibility .......cccceeee.
District heating systemn authorization ...
Drainage assessment proceedings—eliminating bond .
Driver improvement clinic fee increased ......cocoeoeoverininneinienncee 65
Drugs—forfeiture 0f PrOPEITY ....covverrierrceriissirimissnrsisssaesssascsenes
Duluth: dwelling energy conservation
Duluth: I-35 completion .............. .
Duluth: Spirit Mountain recreation area ..........ceesesvermsssmisssnas
Education finance omnibus bill ..... .
Electrical circuit installers—licensing change ......c.cccceivnnnnens
Emergency communications—false reports/interference .
Employee Relations Department changes
Employee residency—Cities/COUNTIEs ...oovveeemrmemsisimssusessanisnisssnenss
Energy and Economic Development Authority changes .
Enterprise zone technical amendments ........ocecueee
Entertainment agency regulation ........
Estate ClOSINES ...veveevesmrernirecursnnennens
Esthetician salon licensing
Expanded authority—financial 1nst1tut10ns
Export Finance Authority—clarification ...............
Fair Trade in Steel Act
Farm loan bonding authOrity .....c..eeiireiinmnniesesceciiinas
Farm trucks—class C LICENSE ..vvcvvirverrenirirenirrseeresnacesneseernnsanes
Farmington: liquor/gambling license ..
Federal authority allocation
Federal surplus property .............
Financial institutions omnibus bill
Fine prints TEQUITEIMENTS ....oveveeemiiresronsescscsesiiniiesissnananas
Firearm theft—penalty .
Firearms—local authority .......eccereenns
Fire protection Systems—assesSIMENTS ....ovcivirmsmemeremnsnonsieisencnninns
Fire systems, jail/mortage revenue bonds, Blue Hill .....cccoeeveeeee.
Fleeing from officers—clarification ..
Food service license fee exemption ........
Forestry law changes ..
Franchise definition ........cccceveereevnieencns
Fund raiser disclosure ..............
Gambling treatment program
Gasoline/gasohol standards ........
Gravel tax bill
HMO incentives—counties .......
HMO omnibus Bill ...cccecevriniiiineveernennesneseecsienes
Handicapped in commumcanon—mterpreters ............................
Handicapped voters election bill ..o
Hearing aid guarantees ..........eceseseeeress
Highway construction contract prepayment
Highways—signs/vending .......o.eovcvereceecacuinns
Home insurance—nonrenewal ...
Human Rights Department changes ........c.covmmcveimnienssnsnnnnees
Human organs—sale prohibited ...
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BILL PG.# BILL PG.#
Patient releases/civil commitment hearings ............cccooeveueerenene. 55

Hunters/trappers—orange camouflage .............cocoeveinierennenncscnnns 47 Patient rights—interested persons .............

Hunting and fishing licenses T€CIPIOCILY ......cceeveeememrerrnerreccerins 47 Pay increase for Mpls commissioners ... .

Income tax bill—Department of REVENUE .........ccovvvvervcecrerncennes 63 Payroll deductions——political aCtion .........coceevvecemvereeeeeeeereenen.

Indirect purchasers—right to sue ....
Infectious agent regulation

Inmates—extended sentences
Insurance—various Changes .....ccoocvcirerviereeiiicveeseeeereereens rreerererens
Interest rates on judgments
International Falls: land conveyance
Japanese U.S. citizen compensation
Judicial decisions affecting laws

Judicial TeOTZaANIZAtION .evueveeerireereeeeereecei it ee s s e e ere e snes 59
Kandiyohi County: ditch refunds .......... ... 70
Kandiyohi/Fillmore counties: land sale ........ccccooveeuererenn..... ...70

Koochiching County: land purchase
Land acquisition—appraisal review
Land exchange—constitutional amendment
Land sales—DNR

Law lIBrary DOArds .......ccccvvveeeeercecrcremiieeesisssseseseeeeeeeeseseeseesessesesans 70
Leaded gasoline Dam ........ccocovveriririiieeeceeses et essesen s 62
Legal cost reimbursement/sale of air space . 12
Legal newspaper—suspension ................... .37
Legislative expenses—reimbursement ...........oooveevevevevennunnn.
Liability immunity for assistance

License fee notice ........coceevveernne.
License plates—return fee prohibited
Limited partnerships—changes ............coecoeveeeeereeeeverersesressererenens
Limited partnerships—10an interest rate ...........coeeeoveveeevevevenenn..
Liquor—miscellaneous changes
Local government contracts ............
Local government pay equity ..........
Marriage dissolution—child custody ............ceeeevreeeeeerverssrsrsrnnns
Martin Luther King Jr. holiday .
Mechanics’ liens—computing interest ......
Mediation of disputes ........c.ccoeeevurnnnne

Medicaid fraud—aggregation of theft .......
Medical Assistance changes ..............
Metropolitan Airport COMMISSION ......eveveeeieiereireesencererssssesenenns
Milk—official state drink ..........cc.coovvrevevene.
Military Affairs Department changes
Mille Lacs County: land sale .........
Mpls-St. Paul Airport: noise abatement ........oceeeeeeeeeveeeevenn.
Minnesota Educational Computing Corporation

Missing children .............

Mississippi Headwaters Board ........ccoooeevenee...

Mobile home park regulations .........ceecvvveeenene

Monument to the LIVING ..occveuievieiciiiceisisescciseere s rsessensas 67
Mortgage foreclosure relief extension . 56
Mosquito Control DISITICE .......ccceeecueereereesrevessrenssesreescseeeeesseseeas 71
Motor carrier regulation .. ....06
Motor vehicle registration changes ..... . 66
Motor vehicle service contracts . 37
Mushroom—Morel as state MUSATOOM .....ovvirivvererereerievesererrenens 48
Natural gas—sales restriction . 46
No-fault insurance . 58

Nonbinding arbitration in civil cases ..

NONDPOSSESSOTY [HEMN w.eevreeeeereeersresseeesrssrerns .36
N. Kittson Rural Water District: diVersion ...........ccceeevereeesrcesees 72
Notary publics—out-of-state appointments ..........cccerererererrescrencns 52
Nursing homes—various Changes ..........c.cceeeeveeerememrareeroresssssensene 55
Olmsted County: waste contracts ..... . .70
Otter Tail County: real property sale .........ccooveervrenne . 70
Overweight VERICIE £E€ ...ovueueeeeveeececeeeece e s renseseeens 66
Parental fees—handicapped/foster children .............cocoecerveeerneces 55
Parental fees—juvenile offenders teerverenerenrens 55
Park boundary Changes ..........cccoovverrerverseersnrecenerseneressons .48

79

Peace officer COMPENSAION ......ocuviieveiericieereeeeeeeeeeneeeeeeesaessesaes
Peace/Conflict Resolution Academy
Pensions for public employees ...........
Pensions—various Changes ......ocoveeeeeviviieemeeiseeee e

Pharmacy board licensing/examination ..............cceceeeevveevvvenennn. 55
Pillager: land conveyance ... 69
Pipefitting régulation ......ccoevieveeeiemreeeereeeerieceee e eenee et eeeene 36
Plain language contracts: eXemptions ...........ccveeeeeeeeveeeenreereerenenes 36
Plymouth: port aUthOTItY ......oceveeeeeieietieeeeeee et 69
Police mutual aid ......cccoevrvivineirrinnecceiereene s 72
Powers of attorney—procedures .......... .59

Prisoner claims against the state ................... .59
Privacy Act—welfare agency access to data ......ccovvvemeeeecrneeennnnn.. 55
Prohibiting €Xit POILS ...cvcevereeercrecieierereeereresc et eeene 42
Property damage—penalty defined ..

Property tax clean-up bill .................

Publication of legal notices ........ccoeeeveneeeee. 72
Public employees-—compensation for SErvice .........ocovveveverreeennn. 52
Public Employment Labor Relations Act .........cccceeveevivineineecnnnen. 44
Public finance for municipalities .. . 71
Public hoSpital POWET ...covereeiereeieieietiir ettt 72
Public housing energy standards .............ccecoveeveivveceeereeeeeeeeennns 56
Radioactive waste—high level .........cocooiiiooiiieieeeeeeeeeeeeeeen 48

Radio common carrier deregulation ..........
Ramsey County: Shoreview land transfer . .
Real estate laws—changes/additions .........ccccooovvveveeeereeeeeevenennn. 56
Rent control DA ...c.ccceeeeririninininiiiee et 57
Rental property—tenant/owners’ rights .

Renters—damage deposit interest ....... .57
Renters—eviction/exclusion recourse .... .57
Resident aliens—rights/responsibilities ...........coceeviviirveeeecrrneenn. 67
Residential/day Care Zoning ..........cccoeevveveeeeormeeeereeeeeeeseeeseens

Restitution in sentencing for crimes .
Rolling railroad car reflectors .........cooooevverreeeeneee.
St. Cloud: port authority ................ .
St. Louis County: grant coordinator ..........c.ceceveevvveviveemenrorreeeacnns

St. Louis County: jJobS PrOZIam .........ccoveeieeeiereseereiiesesseresneenns
St. Louis County Promotional Bureau . 70
St. Louis Park: HRA authority .......cccoeeeeveverereeceeeeeeeeenneeeerennens 69

St. Paul: smoke detector ..................
Salespeople—wages ..............
Sales tax exemption ..
School bus safety bill ...........

School election filing date
School elections—absentee ballots .......ooeveeeveeveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeenn, 42
School fund land—constitutional amendment .
Secretary of State housekeeping bill
Secretary of State—various changes
Senior citizens——~insurance reduction ..
Sentencing guidelines—law changes
Service station—2-year moratorium
Sex offenses—statute of limitations
Sexual exploitation by counselors/therapists ..........o.covovvvvvennn... 44
Sheltered workshop study/funding .. eeteererererens 44
Small businesses—DEED authority
Smoker/nonsmoker mortality tables
Soil conservation .....
State Board of Investment—combined funds
State Fair performer contracts
State commuter van pool ..................
Statute revision—Ilanguage corrections. ..........................
Statute revision—revisor’s office/gender references
Statute revision—technical changes
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Student loans—health professionals .........coeceeemesecinnnniiiinnns 56 Transient MErChANTS ..cc..cceriererieeieerieie st essa s saaencs
Subdivided land—regulation changes .......... .36 Transporting wild animals/fishing bill
Sudden infant death syndrome—information ... .50 Trespassing Ordinances .........coooeveecarennens
Supplemental budget bill ... .32 Trust service offices ...c.cocevvrinverrecieninnn,
Surnames—prohibiting discrimination ... 59 Turnback routes
Swing bed CON eXEMPLON ..ooviuiveviiirmessienerssstsasssree s 56 Vending machine licensing/inspection .
Taconite tax for economic development ........cevvecveveninnirnicncen 64 Vertical heat exchanger installation ......
Tax exemptions/10cal 1eVIES ....coiivrriieininriierccnn s Veterans home resident’s WAEES .....ccccevvvimienreeresiiesessmssssnnsnensenee
Tax-forfeited 1and .......ccoeeivvevierineie e svneen Veterans preference—civil SEIVICE .....oiveveennniscensnniniiscecnns
Taxes omnibus bill c.occcoveiiieiiiecererenie Veterinarian teaching eXemption .........ceeieveninnenenenes
Telecommunications services—theft . Voting machine law recodification ........cceveevvencccnnne
Telephone company regulation ..........cceceenrneens Wage payment—statute of limitations .
Telephone rate proceedings—intervenor reimbursement ............ 46 Waste disposal sites .......ccoevreennn
Thief River Falls: CONVEYANCES ..cccevemrirvirirrirecrerirrnseenssrsesisininnes 69 Waste management act—changes
Three wheel vehicle registration .......coeieeerieencnnncncnnnenins 66 Watershed MAanagement ...c.ooeieiiieiniesessreseeeenetisssneaes
Tip credit elmination ....c.ccccoviinnmrresrnerecneseessanes .44 White Earth Reservation land claim ........oveinnininicnenennninnns
Town clerks/treasurers: election/terms .......coevvceeeecccisnninnnns .69 Wills—clarifying/determining validity
Town contracts/nonprofit agencies .... Wills—notice to foreign consuls .......coveeirmeccenniniinennne .
Town laws update .....cceevrvvvvinens Workers® compensation clarification .......cecveveincnniinniin.
Town road fund diStIIDULIONS ....cccevvveeeeecrmnesirrinreeeiesiresnseeisneseas Workers’ comp.—U of M faculty/volunteer ambulance drivers..45
Township election hours .......
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