INFORMATION BRIEF
Research Department
Minnesota House of Representatives
600 State Office Building
St. Paul, MN 55155

Patrick J. McCormack, Legislative Analyst 651-296-5048

Retail Liquor License Overview

Updated: October 2008

Minnesota is relatively unusual among states in that almost all its retail liquor licenses are issued locally rather than by a state agency. This information brief describes the various types of retail licenses that are authorized by Minnesota law.

License/ Permit	Issued To	For What	Issued by Whom	Fee	Number (as of 6/06)				
On-Sale and Combination Licenses									
Intoxicating liquor on-sale	Hotels, restaurants, bars, lounges, bowling centers, theaters	On-premise consumption of distilled spirits, wine, strong beer	Cities Counties*	Set locally	2,844				
Intoxicating liquor Sunday on-sale	Restaurants, hotels, clubs, and bowling centers with regular intoxicating liquor on-sale license	On-premise consumption of intoxicating liquor on Sundays	Cities and counties where Sunday liquor referendums have passed	Up to \$200	2,321 (included in on-sale total)				
2 a.m. permit	Establishments with on-sale intoxicating liquor license	Sale of intoxicating liquor between 1:00-2:00 a.m.	Department of Public Safety (DPS)	\$200 to \$600, based on gross receipts from alcohol sales	963				
* If approved by	y the Department of Pub	lic Safety	1	ı					

Copies of this publication may be obtained by calling 651-296-6753. This document can be made available in alternative formats for people with disabilities by calling 651-296-6753 or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 711 or 1-800-627-3529 (TTY). Many House Research Department publications are also available on the Internet at: www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm.

License/ Permit	Issued To	For What	Issued by Whom	Fee	Number (as of 6/06)			
On-Sale and Combination Licenses								
Wine on-sale	Restaurants seating at least 25 guests	On-premise consumption of wine in conjunction with sale of food; may also sell strong beer if at least 60% of gross receipts come from sale of meals	Cities* Counties*	Half of on- sale fee, up to \$2,000	805			
Club on-sale	Clubs in existence for at least three years	Sale of intoxicating liquor to members and "bona-fide guests"	Cities* Counties*	\$300- \$3,000, depending on number of members	469			
3.2 beer on-sale	No limits on types of establishments	On-premise consumption of 3.2 beer	Cities Counties	Set locally	915			
Вгежрив	Licensed restaurants with brewing facilities	Operation of restaurant with on-sale of beer brewed on premises; also off-sale in 64-oz. bottles	Cities, counties for restaurant operation; DPS for brewery operation	On-sale fee set locally; state brewery license \$500	15			
Bed & breakfast	Owner-occupied B&Bs with up to eight rooms, maximum of 20 guests	Service at no charge to guests of up to two glasses of wine per day	Registration required with DPS	No fee	111			
Common carrier license	Common carriers (air, rail, water)	Sale of intoxicating liquor to passengers in places where meals are sold	DPS	Excursion boats on Lake Superior and St. Croix and Mississippi rivers: \$50 for 3.2 beer, \$200 for liquor; other fees not specified	30			

Updated: October 2008

Page 3

Updated: October 2008

Page 4

For more information about liquor regulation, visit the commerce area of our web site, www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/issinfo/comm_ed.htm.

bodies

issued

or off-sale licenses

* If approved by the Department of Public Safety