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Minnesota Speed Limits

Minnesota law sets speed limits on state and local highways and streets, and provides for the establishment
of speed zones by the Department of Transportation (MnDOT). . ( . .

Basic law

Statutory limits

Speed zones

Minnesota's basic law on highway speeds is found in Minnesota Statutes, section
169.14, subdivision 1:

No person shall drive a vehicle on a highway at a speed greater than is
reasonable andprudent under the conditions. Every driver is responsible for
becoming and remaining aware ofthe actual andpotential hazards then
existing on the highway and must use due care in operating a vehicle.

Minnesota law sets out the following speed limits:

• Streets and highways in urban areas, 30 m.p.h.
• Interstate highways outside urbanized areas of 50,000 or more, 70 m.p.h.
• Interstate highways within urbanized areas of 50,000 or more, 65 m.p.h.
• Noninterstate freeways and expressways,65 m.p.h.
• Other highways outside urban districts, 55 m.p.h
• Streets inside urban districts, 30 m.p.h
• Town roads in rural residential districts, 30 m.p.h.
• Alleys, 10 m.p.h.

An "urban district" is any segment of street or highway that is built up with
structures less than 100 feet apart for a distance of a quarter-mile. A "rural
residential district" is a segment of a town road with structures less than 300 feet
apart for a distance of a quarter-mile.

Speed limits within cities are absolute, meaning that any speed in excess of them is
automatically illegal. Elsewhere speed limits are "prima facie limits," meaning
that any speed in excess of them is prima facie evidence that the speed was illegal.
This means that there is a presumption that the excess speed is illegal but the
presumption may be rebutted by other evidence.

MnDOT has the authority to establish speed zones in which the speed limit is
higher or lower than the limits set in law. Speed zones are established after
MnDOT conducts an engineering and traffic investigation that includes a
segment's design, physical characteristics, traffic volume, accident history, and
actual speeds. Generally, MnDOT believes that a speed limit at or near the "85 th

percentile speed" (the speed at or below which 85 percent of vehicles are traveling)
is most likely to be the safest maximum limit.



Local authority

Speed violations

Speed limits in speed zones are effective as soon as signs are erected. Like
statutory limits, they are absolute limits within a city and prima facie limits outside
cities.

The authority of a city, county, or town over speed limits is limited, even on its
own streets and highways. A local road authority may ask MnDOT to conduct an
engineering and traffic investigation on a segment of local road, but the department
makes the final determination on the speed limit on that segment.

There are a few exceptions to this general rule:

• On a residential roadway, defined as a segment up to a half-mile that is
functionally classified as local, a local resolution may reduce the speed
limit from 30 m.p.h. to 25 m.p.h.

• In school zones, defined as a segment of street or highway that abuts
school grounds where children have access to the roadway or where a
school crossing is established, a local road authority may prescribe a
lower speed limit that is not less than 15 m.p.h. or more than 20 m.p.h.
below the surrounding limit.

• On a park road within a local park a local authority may prescribe a
lower speed limit that is not less than 15 m.p.h. or more than 20 m.p.h.
below the surrounding limit.

Both MnDOT and local road authorities can set speed limits within their own
highway work zones, to be effective while highway workers are on the job. A
work zone speed limit cannot be less than 20 m.p.h. or reduce the speed limit in the
work zone by more than 15 m.p.h. The maximum work zone speed limit is
55 m.p.h. on divided highways and 40 m.p.h. on other highways.

Under most circumstances, speeding is a petty misdemeanor punishable by a
maximum penalty of a $300 fine. However, if a speeding violation is committed in
such a manner as to endanger persons or property, it can be charged as a
misdemeanor with maximum penalties of a $1,000 fine and 90 days in jail.
Speeding violations of more than 20 m.p.h. over the legal limit result in a
surcharge equal to the amount of the original fine, with a $25 minimum.

Minnesota does not have a point system on driver's licenses, but a third petty
misdemeanor in a year can be charged as a misdemeanor, and a third misdemeanor
in a year can result in a driver's license revocation. A speed of 100 m.p.h. ormore
results in at least a six-month license revocation.

Under the "Dimler amendment," named after its author, former Rep. Chuck
Dimler, a violation of a 55 m.p.h. speed limit by not more than 10 m.p.h., or of a
60 m.p.h. limit by not more than 5 m.p.h., is not recorded on a motorist's driving
record.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House..
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The K-12 Education Deduction and Credit: An Overview
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What is the K-12
deduction?

What expenses
qualify for the
deduction?

What is the tax
benefit ofthe
deduction?

How many people
claim the deduction,
and how much does
it cost?

A state income tax deduction is allowed for K-12 education-related expenses. The
deduction is for up to $2,500 for each dependent in grades 7-12, and up to $1,625
for each dependent in. grades K-6;

Qualifying expenses include the following:
• Tuition, including nonpublic school, after-school enrichment, academic

summer camps, music lessons, and tutoring
• Textbooks, including instructional materials and supplies, musical

instrument rental and purchase, and up to $200 of computer hardware and
educational software

• Transportation (paid to others for transporting children to·school)

A deduction reduces an individual's taxable income. The tax benefit depends on
the taxpayer's marginal tax rate and the total amount deducted. Minnesota has
three marginal tax rates: 5.35 percent, 7.05 percent, and 7.85 percent. A taxpayer
in the 5.35 percent bracket who claims a $2,500 deduction will pay $133.75 less in
state income taxes (5.35% x $2,500). A taxpayer in the 7.85 percent bracket with
the same deduction will pay $196.25 less in taxes. A taxpayer with too little
income to have tax liability will not benefit from the deduction. In tax year 2006, a
typical married couple with two dependents would need to have $22,350 ofgross
income before owing any state income tax.

In 2006, an estimated 186,000 returns will claim the deduction at a cost to the state
of$14.6 million.

What is the K-12
education credit?

What expenses
qualify for the
credit?

A state income tax credit is allowed for 75 percent ofK-12 education-related
expenses. The credit is for up to $1,000 for each child in grades K'"12, with parents
allowed to allocate expenses among children as they choose. The credit is subject
to an income-based phaseout. It begins to phase out when income exceeds
$33,500. For families claiming the credit for one or two children, it is fully phased
out when income reaches $37,500. The phaseout extends for an additional $2,000
of income for each additional child claimed (i.e., to $39,500 for three children,
$41,500 for four children, etc.)

The same expenses qualify for the credit as for the deduction, except nonpublic
school tuition does not qualify for the credit.

What is the tax
effect ofthe credit?

The K-12 credit directly reduces tax liability and is fully refundable. If an
individual's credit exceeds his or her liability, the excess is paid as a refund..



Can parents obtain
loans to payfor
educational services
that qualify for the
credit?

How many people
claim the credit,
and how much does
it cost?

How do taxpayers
claim the deduction
and credit?··

Have the deduction
and credit been
subject to legal
challenge?

What do other
states provide in
terms ofincome tax
creditsfor
education-related
expenses?

Parents may assign payment of the credit to participating financial institutions and
tax-exempt foundations. In exchange, parents receive a loan that is paid directly to
a third-party provider of educational services and programs. This allows very low­
income families to purchase educational products and services in anticipation of
receiving a credit when they file their-tax return the following year, with the credit
paid directly to the financial institution or foundation that accepted the assignment.

In tax year 2003,61,259 Minnesotans claimed a total of$15.9 million in K-12
education credits. The average credit was $259.

Taxpayers claim the deduction on form M-l, the Minnesota income tax return.
Taxpayers claiming the credit must complete form MIED and attach it to their
state tax return.

The constitutionality of the dependent education expense deduction was challenged
in Mueller v. Allen in 1983. The U.S. Supreme Court upheld the statute
authorizing the deduction in a 5-4 decision. The Court found that the deduction
did the following:

• Offset parents' educational expenses and helped ensure an educated
populace

• Helped ensure the financial health ofnonpublic schools and relieved the
financial burden on public schools

• Promoted "wholesome competition" between public and nonpublic schools
and provided a high-quality education for all children

Minnesota's current K-12 education credit has not been subject to legal challenge.

To date, five states in addition to Minnesota provide income tax credits for
education-related expenses: Arizona, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, and Pennsylvania
(Puerto Rico provides a credit similar to those allowed in Arizona, Florida, and
Pennsylvania.). Arizona gives taxpayers tax credits for contributions to school
tuition organizations that operate like charities and for extracurricular public
school fees. Florida allows individual and corporate taxpayers to claim a
nonrefundable tax credit for contributions to nonprofit scholarship funding
organizations. Illinois gives taxpayers a nonrefundable tax credit for qualified·
education expenses. Iowa gives taxpayers a tax credit for tuition, secular
textbooks, and extracurricular activities for children attending accredited not-for­
profit K-12 schools. Pennsylvania allows corporations to claim a nonrefundable
tax credit for contributions to nonprofit scholarship funding organizations and
innovative public school programs. Courts in Arizona, Illinois, and Iowa have
upheld the permissibility of these education credits.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Lisa Larson at 651­
296-8036. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Deductions and Credits for Public .and
Nonpublic Education in Minnesota, December 2003.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Per pack Percent of
Tax or fee of20 rate price

Cigarette excise tax 48 cents NA
Tobacco products excise tax NA 35%
Health impact fee 75 cents 35%
Fee on cigarettes manufactured 35 cents NA
by nonsettling companies
Tax in lieu ofgeneral sales tax 25.5 cents NA
(rate for FY2006)

Minnesota
imposes several
taxes andfees
on cigarettes
and tobacco
products

The 2005
Legislature
converted the
sales tax to a
perpack tax
and imposed the
health impact
fee

Payments made
to settle state
lawsuits against
the tobacco
industry have
similar effects
to excise taxes

Both ofthe fees
are being
challenged in
court

Cigarette and Tobacco Excise Taxes and Fees

Minnesota imposes a series of taxes and fees on the sale or possession of cigarettes
and tobacco products. The table lists the taxes and fees and their rates. The cigarette
taxes and fees are all imposedona "per unit" basis-i.e., on the number of cigarettes
solei, not as a percentage of the sale price. Because the tax is a per unit tax, it does not
increase as the price of
cigarettes increases. By
contrast, the taxes and fees on
tobacco products, such as
cigars, pipe tobacco, snuff, and
chevvingtobacco, are imposed
as a percentage of their
vvholesale prices.

The 2005 Legislature made tvvo changes in cigarette and tobacco products taxation:
• It converted the 6.5 percent state general sales tax on cigarettes to a flat amount per

pack tax collected from wholesalers (rather than as a percentage of the retail sale
prices, as other products aretaxed under the sales tax). The commissioner of
revenue annually sets the amount based on a survey of the average retail price of
cigarettes. The 2005 legislation set the amount initially at 25.5 cents per pack.

• The 2005 Legislature also imposed a health impact fee of75 cents per pack of
cigarettes and 35 percent of the vvholesale price oftobacc() products. Combining
the Minnesota's excise tax and fee, the burden equals $1.23 per pack and 70
percent of the vvholesale price of tobacco products. This fee is imposed and
collected in the same manner as the cigarette excise tax.

Settlements of the states' lavvsuits against the tobacco companies have about the same
economic effect as a cigarette tax, since these settlement payments are passed along to
consumers (nationally) through higher cigarette prices. Hovvever, they do not affect
companies that vvere not part of the lavvsuit. To compensate partially for the lower
prices of cigarettes produced by nonsettling companies, the 2003 Legislature imposed
a 35-cent per pack fee on those cigarettes. These cigarettes make up a grovving share
of the national and Minnesota markets. (Other states have imposed similar fees:
Michigan and Utah impose a 35-cent surcharge; and Alaska a 25-cent surcharge.)

Nonsettling companies have challenged the 35-cent fee. The Minnesota Court of
Appeals has upheld the lavv, but it is on appeal to the Minnesota Supreme Court.

In December 2005, the Ramsey County District Court held that the health impact fee
vvas barred by the agreement settling the state's lavvsuit against the tobacco industry.
The fee is being collected vvhile the case is on appeal.



The taxes and
fees are
estimated to
yield revenues
ofabout $450
million

Neighboring
states have
significantly
lower tax rates

For fiscal year 2007, the Finance Department estimates collections from the two
excise taxes and the sales tax on cigarettes will be $221.6 million and from the health
impact fee, $223.4 million. Revenues from the tobacco products tax are deposited in
the general fund. For fiscal year 2007, cigarette tax revenues of $22.25 million go to
fund the Academic Health Center, $8.55 million to the medical education and research
account, and the rest to the state general fund. The health impact fee revenues are
deposited in a health impact fund and are transferred to the general fund after the
commission~r qf human services certifies that state health programs have incurred
tobacco;.related costs equal to the fee.

Because cigarettes can easily be. transported, the tax rates in other states (espeCially
border states) are important. Taking into account the combined effects of the tax and
fee ($1.23/pack), Minnesota's bordering states have significantly lower rates, ranging
from 77 cents (Wisconsin) to 36 cents (Iowa). All states' rates are shown on the map.
The map does not reflect local cigarette taxes; some of these local taxes.are substantial
(e.g., $1.50 per pack in New York City). Some states have no sales tax or exempt
cigarettes from sales taxation, lowering the overall tax burden.

State Cigarette Tax Rates*
as of 1/1/2006
cents per pack

.. ~

170

60

64

44

53

64 1 •
NJ _240 RI - 246
VA-20
DE- 55
DC-100

MD-100

* These exclude some significant local taxes.
Source: Federation of Tax Administrators and other sources

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Military Pay under Minnesota's Individual Income Tax

What factors affect
Minnesota
individual income
taxation ofactive
service military
pay?'

Service outside
Minnesota, no other
Minnesota source
income

Service outside
Minnesota, with
other Minnesota
source income

Service in
Minnesota by a
resident ofanother
state

Minnesota income tax treatment of active service military pay depends on several
factors:

• where the service was provided (in Minnesota, or outside Minnesota)
• whether the individual had other Minnesota source income during the tax

year
• whether the individual is a Minnesota resident
• whether the individual is in the full-time military or in the National Guard

or reserves

Individuals who serve outside Minnesota and have no other Minnesota source
income are not subject to state income tax withholding and do not have to file a
Minnesota income tax return. This treatment typically'applies to members of the
full-time military who are in active service outside Minnesota throughout the entire
tax year, as members of either the full-time military or the National Guard or

. .
reserves..

Individuals who serve outside Minnesota and have other Minnesota source income
must file a Minnesota return, but may subtract most types ofmilitary pay earned
outside Minnesota. The exception is that pay for National Guard training under
Title 32 that occurs outside Minnesota may not be subtracted. Some common
situations include the following:

• members of the full-time military in active service who have employed
spouses who live in Minnesota

• members of the National Guard and reserves deployed outside Minnesota
for the entire tax year who have employed spouses who live in Minnesota,
or whose employer provides a salary differential

• members of the National Guard and reserves deployed outside of
Minnesota for part or all of the year who own businesses in Minnesota that
are organized as S corporations or partnerships that continue to generate .
income for the solider

• members of theNational Guard and reserves called to active service outside
Minnesota for a portion of the tax year, who have civilian income in
Minnesota during the remainder of the tax year

Individuals who serve in Minnesota and are residents of another state must file a
Minnesota income tax return but may claim a subtraction for active service
military pay. Fede~allaw prohibits states from taxing active service military pay
earned by nonresidents. This treatment typically applies to residents of other states
who are stationed in Minnesota.



Service in
Minnesota by a
Minnesota resident
who is a member of
the full-time
military

Service in
Minnesota by a
Minnesota resident
who is a member of
the National Guard
or reserves

Does Minnesota
follow federal tax
treatment ofother
kinds ofmilitary
income and
benefits, such as
combatpay?

Individuals who serve in Minnesota and are Minnesota residents are subject to
state income tax, and generally may not claim a subtraction for regular active
service military pay. This treatment typically applies to Minnesota residents who
are full-time military and are stationed in Minnesota, such as active guard and
reserve (AGR) personnel, recruitment officers, liaisons to defense contractors, or
public health officers.

Minnesota residents who are members of the National Guard and reserves are
allowed a subtraction for pay received when they are ordered by the president or
the governor to certain types of qualifying active service within Minnesota.

"Qualifying active service" includes
• certain state active service, such as assistance in natural disasters and

searches for lost persons (Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5a, clause (1»,
• federally funded state active service, under U.S.C. Title 32, such as airport

security or active duty for special work (ADSW), (Minn. Stat. § 190.05,
subd. 5b); and

• federal active service, under U.S.c. Title 10, such as while on medical hold
under Title 10 active duty orders for community-based health care
operations, for which one's assignment typically is to perform light duty at
a nearby armory or training and community center while recuperating from
an injury (Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5c).

"Qualifying active service" excludes
• weekend drills and annual training (summer camp),
• special school attendance, and
• service by Active Guard Reserve (AGR) personnel (includes some

members of the staff of the Department of Military Affairs).

Yes, Minnesota conforms to federal income tax treatment of various types of
military income, whether received in kind or as a reimbursement or allowance.
Examples of excluded income include the following:

• housing allowances
• moving allowances
• travel allowances and per diem
• combat zone pay
• death gratuity benefits

While Minnesota excludes combat pay from taxable income, it counts combat pay
in determining an individual's eligibility for the working family tax credit. This
credit for low-income taxpayers is calculated as a percentage of earned income.
Counting combat pay as earned income results in some service members remaining
eligible for the credit.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Jim Cleary at
651-296-5053.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives isa nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Penalties for Underreporting Minnesota Individual Income Tax

What is the civil
penaltyfor failure
to pay Minnesota
income tax by the
due date?

Is there a
reasonable cause
exception?

What is the
"additional tax
charge"?

What is the civil
penaltyfor failure
to file a return?

For calendar year taxpayers, final payments are due on April 15 following the close
of the tax year. (Most taxpayers pay oli a calendar year basis; a small number use
fiscal years instead.) Income tax not paid by April 15 is subject to a late payment
penalty equal to 4 percent of the amount not paid.

An additional 4 percent penalty applies to amounts owed as a result of an
assessment order from the commissioner of revenue if the taxpayer either does not
pay the amount assessed within 60 days of the order or does not appeal the
assessment.

An additional extended delinquency penalty of 5 percent of the tax due applies to
income tax not paid within 180 days of an order from the commissioner or the date
a return is filed.

Yes. A taxpayer is presumed to have reasonable cause for underpayment if the
taxpayer paid 90 percent of the amount due by the April 15 due date, filed the .
return by October 15, and paid the balance of the tax due when the return was filed.
In this situation the 4 percent late payment penalty does not apply. ,

Individuals who expect to owe $500 or more after withholding and credits must
make estimated payments, which are due in four installments: April 15, June 15,
and September 15 during the tax year, and January 15 following the close of the tax
year. If estimated payments and withholding do not equal at least 90 percent of the
tax due, or 100 percent ofliability for the preceding tax year, the taxpayer is
subject to an additional tax charge. The additional tax charge equals 4 percent of
the amount underpaid, prorated by the number of days elapsed between the due
dates of the four installments and the date of the final payment.

The additional tax charge does not apply if the individual was a Minnesota resident
in the preceding tax year but did not have tax liability.

While individual income tax payments are due by April 15 following the close of
the tax year, returns are not due until October 15. Taxpayers who fail to file an
individual income tax return by October 15 must pay a penalty equal to 5 percent
ofthe tax not paid by October 15.

If an individual is required to file a return and does not file it by October 15 and
receives a written demand to file from the Department of Revenue, the individual
must file within 60 days or face an additional "extended late file" penalty. The
extended late file penalty equals the greater of 5 percent of the tax not paid or $100.



What other civil
penalties are there?

Does interest apply
to underreported
tax liability and
penalties?

How are the
penalties applied?

Arejailing to file
and underreporting
liability criminal
offenses in
Minnesota?

• Failure to report changes to the federal return: 10 percent. When a
federal return is amended by the taxpayer or corrected by the Internal
Revenue Service, a copy of that return or a letter of explanation must be
reported to Minnesota within 180 days. An amended Minnesota return is
also required within 180 days. If federal changes are not reported, a penalty
of 10 percent of the underpayment ofMinnesota tax attributable to the
federal change applies.

• Intentional disregard of laws: 10 percent. A 10 percent penalty applies if (
the taxpayer has been negligent or shown intentional disregard of the law or
rules for determining liability, but didn't intend to defraud.

• Failure to provide SoCial Security number as required on return: $50.

• Substantial understatement of liability: 20 percent. "Substantial
understatement" means underreporting of the correct tax that exceeds the
greater of $5,000 or 10 percent of the tax actually owed. A penalty of20
percent applies to a substantial understatement of liability.

• Filing a frivolous return: greater of 25 percent or $1,000. A return is
considered frivolous if it is substantially incorrect on its face or lacks
information needed to judge the accuracy of the return, and consists of
inappropriate conduct or reflects a desire to impede the tax process.

• Filing a false or fraudulent return: 50 percent. A penalty of 50 percent
applies' to the underreported liabilitY and overstated refund claimed if the
commissioner can prove the return was fraudulent in order to evade the tax,
or if failure to file a return was intended to evade the tax. The 50 percent
penalty also applies to fraudulently claimed refundable credits (the
dependent care credit, the working family credit, the K-12 education credit,
and the property tax refund).

In addition to the penalties listed, taxpayers who underreport individual income tax
liability must pay interest on the amount underpaid and on the associated penalty
from the date the tax was due. Penalties and underreported liability bear interest at
an annual rate tied to the prime rate. This rate is adjusted annually and is set at 4
percent for 2005 and 6 percent for 2006.

The penalties for underreporting of individual income tax liability are imposed and
collected in the same manner as the original taxes.

Yes, in certain circumstances.. It is a gross misdemeanor to knowingly fail to file a
return or pay tax. It is a felony to willfully fail to file a return or pay tax, with
intent to evade the tax, and a felony to file a false return concerning a material
matter. Penalties for these criminal offenses are in addition to civil penalties.

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Nina Manzi at 651-296-:5204 or Joel Michael at
651-296-5057. (Note: Research assistant Matt Burress provided help with this publication.)

The Research Department of the Minnesota House·of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Homeowner's Property Tax Refund Program

What is the
property tax
refundprogram?

Has the program
changed?

What 'are the
maximums?

How are claims
filed?

What is the
average refund
and total amount
paid?

The homeowner's property tax refund program (sometimes called the "circuit
breaker" or the PTR) is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to homeowners
whose property taxes are high relative to their incomes. Ifproperty tax exceeds a
threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a percentage of the tax over the
threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income increases:

• the threshold percentage increases,
• the share of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay increases, and
• the maximum refund decreases.

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types of
income. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who are over
age 65 or disabled.

The 2001 tax law expanded the homeowner's property tax refund program,
effective for refunds based on property taxes payable in 2002. The changes
lowered the threshold for determining eligibility and increased the maximum
refund allowed. The tax law also limited the amount of tax qualifying for the
refund for farmers to the tax attributable to the house, garage, and first acre of
property. (Previously the tax amount for farmers also included the tax on the first
$600,000 ofland and farm buildings.)

For refund claims filed in 2006, based on property taxes payable in 2006 and 2005
household income, the maximum refund is $1,640. Homeowners whose income
exceeds $87,780 are not eligible for a refund.

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department of Revenue Schedule
MIPR. Claims filed before August 15,2006, will be paid beginning in late
September 2006. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in 2006 is
August 15, 2007; taxpayers filing claims after that dakwill not receive a refund.
Forms are ayailable online at www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/forms/mlpr-print.pdf..

. Claimants can check the status of their refund by calling (651) 296-4444 or online
by clicking on "Where's My Refund" at www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/individ/
index.shtml .

2004 Statewide Homeowner Property Tax Refunds
Filed in 2004 (based on 2003 incomes and payable 2004 taxes)

Average per
Number of returns Total refund amount return

Under 65 years old 142,438 $78.3 million $550

Senior/disabled 104,321 $57.3 million $550

Total: all homeowners 246,759 $135.6 million $550
-



How do refunds
vary depending
upon the filer's·
income and
property tax?

The following table shows therefund amount for two example families with
different incomes-one family in the metro area and one in greater Minnesota.
Although the property tax refund threshold, copayment rates, andmaximuni refund
amounts are the same statewide, the average residential homestead property tax in
the metro area is higher than in greater Minnesota. The metro area family has
.payable 2006 property taxes of $2,773, the estimated average for the metro. The
greater Minnesota family has payable 2006 property taxes of$1,419, the estimated
average for greater Minnesota. Taxpayers who are over age 65, disabled, or have
dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in determining the refund.

Married couple both under age 65, two dependents

Metro area Greater Minnesota

Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer #2 Taxpayer #3 Taxpayer #4

1 Taxable Market Value
ofHome $249,400 $249,400 $139,900 $139,900

2 Gross Income $25,000 $50,000 $25,000 $50,000

3 Deduction for
dependents $8,640 $8,640 $8,640 $8,640

4 Household income
(2-3 =4) $16,360 $41,360 $16,360 $41,360

5 Property tax $2,773 $2,773 $1,419 $1,419

6 Statutory threshold
percentage 2.1% 2.8% 2.1% 2.8%

7 Threshold % x income
(4 x 6 = 7) $344 $1,158 $344 $1,158

8 Property tax over
threshold (5 -7 = 8) $2,429 $1,615 $1,075 $261

9 Statutory copay
percentage 30% 45% 30% 45%

10 Taxpayer copay
amount (8 x 9 = 10) $729 $727 $323 $117

11 Remaining tax over
threshold (8 - 10 = 11) $1,700 $888 $752 $144

12 Maximum refund
allowed $1,370 $1,100 $1,370 $1,100

13 Net property tax refund $1,370 $888 $753 $144

. For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Nina Manzi at
651-296-5204.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House..

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm



Nina Manzi and Karen Baker

Renter's Property Tax Refund Program

What is the
renter's property
tax refund
program?

What are the
maximums?

What is the
average refund and
total amountpaid?

How are claims
filed?

The renter's property tax refund program (sometimes called the "renters' credit")
is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to renters whose rent and "implicit
property taxes" are high relative to their incomes. "Rent constituting property
taxes" is assumed to equal 19 percent of rent paid. If that rent constituting
property tax exceeds a threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a
percentage of the tax over the threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income
Increases:

• the threshold percentage increases,
• the share of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay

increases, and
• the maximum refund decreases.

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types
of income. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who are
over age 65 or disabled.

For refund claims filed in 2006, based on rent paid in 2005 and 2005 household
income, the maximum refund is $1,350. Renters whose income exceeds $47,350
are not eligible for refunds.

2004 Statewide Renter Property Tax Refunds
Filed in 2004 (based on 2003 incomes and payable 2003 taxes)

Number ofreturns Total amount Average per return

Under 65 years old 193,039 $97.2 million $504

Senior/disabled 77,577 $43.1 million $555

Total: all renters 270,616 $140.3 million $518

Refund claims are filed using Minnesota Department of Revenue Schedule
M1PR. Claims filed before August 15,2006, will be paid beginning in August
2006. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in 2006 is August· .
15,2007; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund. Forms
are available online at www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/forms/m1pr--print.pdf.
Claimants can check the status of their refund by calling (651) 296-4444 or
online by clicking on "Where's My Refund" at www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/
individ/index.shtml.



How do refunds
vary depending
upon theftler's
income and rent
constituting
property taxes?

The following table shows the refund amount for two example families with
different incomes-a married couple without dependents in the metro area, and a
married couple without dependents in greater Minnesota (a single person living
alone would qualify for the same refund amounts). Although the property tax
refund threshold, copayment rates, and maximum refund amounts are the same
statewide, the average rent is higher in the metro area than in greater Minnesota.
The metro area family paid monthly rent in 2005 of$763, the fair market rent for
a, on,e-bedroom apartment in the metro area. (19% of $763 x 12 = $1,740, which.
is their rent constituting property tax.) The greater Minnesota family paid
monthly rent in 2005 of $404, the fair market rent for a one-bedroom apartment
in many greater Minnesota counties. (19% of $404 x 12 = $921, which is their
rent constituting property tax.) Taxpayers who are over age 65, disabled, or have
dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in determining the refund.

Married couple both under age 65, no dependents

Metro area Greater Minnesota

Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer #2 Taxpayer #3 Taxpayer #4

1 Gross income $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000

2 Deduction for
dependents 0 0 0 0

3 Household income
(1-2 = 3) $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000

4 Rent constituting
property tax $1,740 $1,740 $921 $921

5 Statutory threshold
percentage 1.5% 2.7% 1.5% .2.7%

6 Threshold % x .
income (3 x 5 = 6) $225 $810 $225 $810

7 Property tax over
threshold (4 - 6 = 7) $1,515 $930 $696 $111

8 Copay percentage 20% 35% 20% 35%

9 Taxpayer copay
amount (7 x 8 = 9) $303 $325 $139 $39

10 Remaining tax over
threshold
(7 -9 = 10) $1,212 $605 ·$557 $72

11 Maximum refund
allowed $1,350 $1,350 $1,350 $1,350

12 Net property tax
refund $1,212 $604 $557 $72

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Karen Baker at
651-296-8959.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative, .
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building 1st. Paul, MN 55155 1651-296-6753 1www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits

What are the
credits?

Are the credits
refundable?

Who is eligible for
the credits?

What are qualifYing
expenses?

How are the credits
calculated?

The Minnesota and federal dependent care credits partially offset the cost of child
care for certain workers. The maximum Minnesota credit is $720 for one child and
$1,440 for two or more children. The maximum federal credit is $1,050 for one
child and $2,100 for two or more children.

The Minnesota credit is fully refundable. If an individual qualifies for a credit that
is greater than his or her tax liability, the excess is paid as a refund. The federal
credit is not refundable and may only be used to offset federal income tax liability.

Anyone who incurs expenses related to the care of a dependent and related
household expenses may be eligible to claim the credits. The claimant must:

• maintain a household that includes the dependent;
• pay for care for a dependent under age 13, or a disabled spouse or adult

dependent; and
• pay for care in order to work or look for work.

Qualifying expenses are amounts paid for the care of a dependent under age 13, or
a disabled spouse or adult dependent, but do not include:

• amounts paid to the claimant's spouse or another dependent, or
• amounts paid thmq,gh a dependent care pre-tax account.

Qualifying expenses may not exceed the claimant's earned income (for married
couples filing joint returns, expenses may not exceed the earned income ofthe
lesser earning spouse).

Th.efederal credit equals 35 percent ofup to $3,000 of qualifying expenses for one
child ($6,000 of qualifying expenses for tWo or more children). The maximum
federal credit is $1,050 for one child and $2,100 for two or more children. The
federal credit begins to phase down when income exceeds $15,000, with the credit
percentage decreasing as income increases. Claimants with incomes over $43,000
qualify for the minimum federal credit equal to 20 percent ofqualifying expenses,
or up to $600 for one child and $1,200 for two or more children, depending on
actual child care costs.. For example, a claimant with $50,000 of income and
$1,000 of expenses will qualify for a credit of $200 (20 percent of $1 ,000).

The state credit equals the lesser of the federal credit, or $720 for one child
($1,440 for two or more children). The state credit is calculated by reference to the
federal credit for which the claimant is eligible, not the amount actually used to
offset federal liability. For example, an individual with expenses of $2,000 and
income below $15,000 is eligible for a federal credit of$700 (35 percent of
$2,000). While this individual will probably not have any federal tax liability and
thus will not benefit from the nonrefundable federal_credit, he or she will still be



How do filers claim
the credits?

How many
Minnesotans claim
the credits?

How much is paid
out in credits?

How are the credits
distributed
geographically?

,
How does
Minnesota compare
with other states?

eligible for a refundable state credit of $700.

The state credit is subject to a separate phaseout than the federal credit. In tax year
2006, the state phaseout begins when income exceeds $21,060, and the state credit
is fully phased out when income exceeds $34,710. The income threshold for the
phaseout is adjusted each year for inflation.

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by
completing a separate schedule-Form 2441 for thefederal credit and schedule '
M1 CD for the state credit.

In tax year 2003, 143,548 Minnesotans claimed the federal dependent care credit
and 36,190 claimed the state credit. These claims represent 6.0 percent ofall
federal returns filed by Minnesotans, and 1.5 percent of all state returns filed.

Because the federal credit is nonrefundable and can only be used to offset tax
liability, most of the federal credits are claimed by middle- and upper-income filers
who have income over $43,000 and qualify for the minimum credit amount.

Because the state credit is refundable and only available to filers with incomes
below $34,570, most of the state credits are claimed by low-income filers.

In tax year 2003, Minnesotans claimed $61.7 million of federal dependent care
credits. The average federal dependent care credit was $430.

In tax year 2003, Minnesotans claimed $13.0 million of state dependent care
credits. The average state dependent care credit was $359.

While about 44 percent of the returns claiming state credits came from the Twin
Cities metropolitan area, these seven counties generated about 55 percent of all
returns filed. Put another way, in 2003 nonmetro filers were more likely to claim
the credit than were metro area filers.

Nationwide, 5.1 percent of all income tax returns claimed the federal dependent
care credit, compared to 6.0 percent in Minnesota. Maryland had the highest
percentage of returns claiming the federai credit, at 7.0 percent, and West Virginia
had the lowest, at 2.3 percent. Minnesota's percentage of returns claiming the
credit may be higher than national figures because Minnesota has a high proportion
of two-worker households.

The average federal dependent care credit nationwide in 2003 was $516; it was
$430 in Minnesota. The District of Columbia had the highest average credit, at
$631, and Montana had the lowest, at $384. Minnesota's average credit amount
may be lower than the national averages because state residents have above
average Incomes.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House
Research information brief The Minnesota and Federal Depen4ent Care Tax Credits, February 2005.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. .

-
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What is targeting?

Who qualifies?

How does targeting
work?

Targeting Property Tax Refund

The "additional" or "special" property tax refund, generally referred to as
"targeting," directs property tax relief to homeowners who have large property tax
increases from one year to the next.

A homeowner qualifies if the property tax on the home has increased by more·than
12 percent over the previous year's tax, and if the increase is over $100.

The homeowner must have owned and lived in the same home for both years. If
any improvements were made to the home, that portion of the tax increase
resulting from the improvements must be subtracted when determining the refund.

The refund equals 60 percent ofthe increase over the greater of (1) 12 percent or
(2) $100. The maximum refund is $1,000. The following example shows how the
refund is calculated.

Payable 2005 Property Tax
Payable 200~ Property Tax

Tax increase - 2006 compared to 2005
Taxpayer pays 1st 12% or $100 of increase (12% x 1,400)
Remaining increase eligible for relief ($600 - $168 = $432)

State pays 60% of excess over 12% increase up to a $1,000 maximum
(60% x $432 =$259)

Amount of2006 increase paid by taxpayer ($600 - $259)

$1,400
2,000

$600·
168

$432

$259

$341

Does targeting have
any other
restrictions?

The taxpayer's $600 increase (i.e., 42.9 percent) is reduced to an out-of-pocket
property tax increase of$341 (i.e., 24.4 percent) as a result of the $259 refund.

The taxpayer pays the full $2,000 amount of the 2006 property tax to the county,
the first half in May and the second half in October. The taxpayer applies to the
state for a targeting refund, which is paid at the same time the regular homeowner
property tax refund ("circuit breaker") is paid.

No, unlike the regular property tax refund, the targeting refund is not tied to the
taxpayer's household income. Underthe regular homeowner property tax refund,
the taxpayer's household income may not exceed a specified maximum and the
amount of household income affects the amount of the refund.



Is targeting a new
program?

What are statewide
amounts?

How are claims
filed?

However, the targeting refund does not use income as a factor, nor is there any
limitation on the taxpayer's household income. Therefore, many higher income
taxpayers who do not qualify for the regular property tax refund due to income
restrictions are eligible for the targeting refund..

No, the first targeting program was enacted in 1980. With the exception ofa few
years in the 1980s, the program has been in effect for about 20 years, although
miscellaneous changes have been ~a~e to the program during that time.

The amounts paid out for the targeting program have been low in recent years, but
increased significailtlyfrom2002 to 2003, then decreased in 2004. Total refunds
increased from $1.0 millIon in 2002 to $7.6 million in 2003, then fell to $3.7
million in 2004.

The table below shows the statewide amount, with a breakdown for the metro and
the 80 nonmetro counties, for the past three years.

Targeting Refunds, 2002 - 2004 (dollars in thousands)
Filed 2002 Filed 2003 Filed 2004

Total Metro $359 $6,335 $2,463
Total Nonmetro $674 $1,244 $1,241 .
State $1,033 $7,579 $3,704

~ome taxpayers (e.g., those who typically don't qualify for the regular property tax
refund) may not be aware of the targeting program, resulting in lower total refunds
statewide than would be the case if the program were more widely known.

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department of Revenue Schedule
MIPR, the property tax refund form. There is a separate schedule on the back of
the MIPR ("Schedule 1 - Special Refund") for the targeting program. The
taxpayer files for this refund after receiving his or her property tax statement in
February or March. Claims filed before August 15,2006, will be paid beginning in
late September 2006. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in
2006 is August 15,2007; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a
refund. Forms are available online at www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/forms/
mlpr--print.pdf. Claimants can check the status of their refund by calling (651)
296-4444 or online by clicking on "Where's My Refund" at
www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/individ/index.shtml.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Nina Manzi at
651-296-5204. Also see the House Research Short Subject Homeowner's Property Tax Refund Program,
February 2006.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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What are the
credits?

Who is eligible for
the credits?

How are the credits
calculated?

How do filers claim
"-

the credits?

How many
Minnesotans claim
the credits?

The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit
and Minnesota Working Family Credit

The federal earned income tax credit (EITC) and Minnesota working family credit
(WFC) equal a percentage of the earnings oflow-income individuals. The credits
are refundable; ifthe credit exceeds a filer's tax liability, the rest is paid as a
refund. Since these credits increase their recipients' earnings, they act as wage
supplements and are thought to provide a work incentive.

Anyone with wages or self-employment income may be eligible to claim the EITC .
and the WFC. In tax year 2006, individuals with more than $2,800 in interest
income, dividends, rental and royalty income, and capital gain income do not
qualify..

The credits equal a percentage of earned income, up to a maximum credit amount,
and are phased out when the claimant's total income exceeds a threshold. The
maximum credit amounts and income levels at which the credits are phased out
vary depending on the number of children in the household and whether the
claimants are married. Both the maximum credit and the phaseout threshold are
adjusted annually for inflation.· In tax year 2006, the maximum credits, phaseout
threshold, and income level at which the credits are no longer allowed are as
follows:

Income at which
Phaseout· credit fully

Maximum credit threshold phased out
EITC WFC BITC WFC EITC WFC

Unmarried
claimants
No children $412 $103 $6,740 $6,740 $12,120 $12,130
1 child $2,747 $823 $14,810 $17,600 $32,001 $31,960
2 or more children $4,536 $1,587 $14,810 $20,880 $36,348 $36,288
Married claimants
No children $412 $103 $8,740 $8,740 $14,120 $14,130
1 child $2,747 $823 $16,810 $19,600 $34,001 $33,960
2 or more children $4,536 $1,587 $16,810 $22,880 $38,348 $38,288

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by
completing a. schedule or worksheet.

In tax year 2003,258,529 Minnesota returns claimed the EITC and 247,068
claimed the WFC. These claims represent 10.8 percent of all federal returns filed
by Minnesotans, and 10.4 percent of all state returns filed.



How much is paid
out in credits?

How are the credits
distributed among
different types of
fa~ilies?

In tax year 2003, Minnesotans claimed $397 million in EITC, ofwhich $56 million
offset tax liability and the remaining $341 million was paid as a refund. The
average EITC was $1,535.

Minnesotans claimed an additional $127 million in WFC, of which $24 million
offset tax liability and the remaining $103 million was paid as a refund. The
average WFC was $516.

Seventy-four percent of all earned income credits and working family credits went
to families with one or more children. These families received about 97 percent of
the total amount of credits paid in 2003. Individuals without children filed 26
percent of returns claiming credits, butreceived only 3 percent of the total amount
ofcredits. Claimants with children received most of the total amount of credits
because these families qualify for a higher maximum credit than do claimants
without children.

. 2or more children

1child

no children

Number of WFC Claimants Dollars of WFC

65%

How are the credits
distributed
geographically?

How does
Minnesota compare
with other states?

While over 47 percent ofthe returns claiming credits came from the Twin Cities
metropolitan area, these seven counties generated about 55 percent of all returns
filed. Put another way, in 2003 nonrnetro filers were more likely to claim the
credit than were metro area filers.

Nationwide, 16.8 percent of all income tax returns claimed the EITC, compared to
10.8 percent in Minnesota. The average EITC nationwide in 2003 was $1,772; it
was $1,535 in Minnesofa. Minnesota's number of recipients and credit amounts
are lower than the national averages because state residents have above average
Incomes.

Seventeen other states and the District of Columbia provide a state version of the
. EITC. In most cases the state credit equals a percentage of the federal EITC.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House
Research information brief The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit and the Minnesota Working Family
Credit, February 2006.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What is an FOC?

What are the tax
benefits ofFOCs?

How much do
FOCs reduce
corporate tax
receipts?

When were the
FOCprovisions
adopted?'

What is the policy
rationalefor FOCs?

Corporate Franchise Tax:
Foreign Operating Corporations

Foreign operating corporations (FOCs) qualify for special tax treatment under
the corporate franchise tax. To be an FOC, a corporation must:

• Be a domestic corporation that is part of a unitary group, one member of
which is taxable in Minnesota;

• Have at least 80 percent of its average property and payroll outside of the
United States (Puerto Rico and other possessions qualify as outside ofthe
United States) or be a "936 corporation" (936 corporations qualify under
special federal tax rules that provide an incentive for operating in Puerto
Rico and other U.S. possessions.);

• Have at least $1 million of foreign payroll and at least $1 million of foreign
property (The 2005 Legislature added this requirement, effective for tax year
2005.); or

• Not be a foreign sales corporation (FSC). FSCs were formed under a now
obsolete federal tax provision that provided export incentives.

In broad terms, 80 percent of an FOC's income is sheltered from tax as "deemed
dividends." The FOC's income is allocated to its shareholders and "deemed" to
be a dividend that qualifies for the dividend-received deduction.

When an FOC (or a foreign corporation) pays royalties and fees, the receiving
corporation may subtract 80 percent of these amounts if the FOC is part of its
unitary business. This is referred to as'the foreign royalty subtraction.

Thus, a unitary business's income that flows through an FOC is taxed at one:- '
fifth of the regular rate (i.e., 80 percent of the income is not taxed).

The Minnesota Department ofRevenue's Tax Expenditure Budget (2005)
estimates that FOC and related provisions reduce corporate franchise tax
collections by between $117 million (fiscal year 2006) and $114 million (fiscal
year 2009). Total corporate tax revenues are about $840 million per year, based
on the November 2005 forecast. According to Departments of Finance and
Revenue staff, the cost of the foreign income provisions has grown rapidly.

The FOC provisions were adopted by the 1988 Legislature. Later legislatures
have made minor modifications, but the basic structure has remained largely
unchanged.

The FOCprovisions were a response to the adoption of combined reporting
apportionment in the early 1980s. Supporters argued that they were necessary to
appropriately tax foreign operations under Minnesota's "water's edge"
combined reporting system. This method excludes foreign corporations from
the unitary group, while including foreign operations of domestic corporations.



How do taxpayers
"abuse" the FOe
provisions?

As a result, tax is deferred on the income of foreign subsidiaries or affiliates
until it is "repatriated" or paid to a domestic corporation. If the income is paid
as a dividend, only 20 percent of it is taxed. By contrast, income from foreign
operations of domestic corporations (other than FOCs) is fully taxed
immediately.

The FOC and foreign royalty provisions have two primary policy purposes:

• They allow foreign operations of domestic corporations to qualify for about
the same state tax treatment as 'foreign corporations, if they satisfy the FOC
rules. FOC income is deemed to be a dividend qualifying for the 80 percent
deduction (i.e., the same treatment as a dividend paid by a foreign
subsidiary).

• They provide "factor relief' for nondividend income paid by foreign
corporations and FOCs. When a foreign subsidiary or FOC makes royalty or
similar payments to a U.S. corporation, this income is fully taxable; the
apportionment formula does not taken into account the foreign sales, payroll,
and property that helped generate the income because these corporations are
not included in the combined report. The royalty subtraction excludes 80
percent of this income to adjust for the absence of the foreign and FOC
factors in the apportionment formula.

Recent legislative attention has focused on alleged abuses of the FOC
provisions. The abuses (or flaws in the qualifying criteria) take tWo basic forms:

• Sheltering domestic source income. Although the provisions were
intended to apply to foreign operations and income, corporations can funnel
domestic source income through an FOC, qualifying for an 80 percent
discount in tax. The law requires the FOC to have specified amounts and
proportions of foreign property and payroll, but the income need not be from
foreign sources. As a result, a unitary business can assign its "intangibles"
(e.g., patents, copyrights, trademarks, and trade names) to an FOC, which
satisfies the payroll and property tests, but derives most of its income from
charging domestic members of its unitary group for use of the intangibles.
This mechanism reduces the tax on this income by 80 percent.

• Transfer pricing. The FOC mechanism also relies upon prices set by the
unitary businessintemally (not by market forces) in determining how much
income is assigned to the FOC. These prices don't matter to the unitary
business, since the business is doing little more than shifting money from
one of its pockets to another. However, by maximizing the amount of
income in the FOC, overall Minnesota tax is minimized.

Hutchinson Technology, Inc. v. Commissioner ofRevenue, 698 N.W.2d 1 (Minn.
2005), makes clear that the Minnesota Supreme Court reads the FOC statutes
very literally. If the court holds to this view, it will likely validate many
arrangements that seek to shift domestic income into FOCs.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Beverage Type Excise Tax per
Gallon Liter

Beer < 3.2% alcohol $.08 NA
Beer> 3.2% alcohol .15 NA
Cider < 7% alcohol .15 NA
Low-alcohol dairy cocktails .08 $.02
Wine < 14% alcohol .30 .08
Wine> 14% alcohol .95 .25
Sparkling wine 1.82 .48
Distilled spirits 5.03 1.33

Two special state
taxes apply to
alcoholic beverages:
excise taxes and a
special (2.5%) gross
]'eceipts tax

Excise tax rates are
set as a dollar
amountper volume
ofthe beverage

Few exemptions
apply

Alcoholic Beverage Taxes

Minnesota imposes two types of special taxes on alcoholic beverages:

• Special excise taxes are imposed on manufacturers or wholesalers of
these products. These taxes are a fixed dollar amount per unit (per barrel
or liter). The tax rates vary by beverage type. See the table below for
tax rates.

• A special gross receipts· tax of2.5 percent applies to retailers making
both on-sale (to be consumed in bars or restaurants) and off-sale (in
liquor stores or by other sellers) sales. This tax replaced the special retail
sales tax rate that applied to alcoholic beverage sales on January 1, 2006.
The sales tax was repealed to comply with the Streamlined Sales Tax
Agreement. The burdens of the two taxes are identical.

Manufacturers ofbeer and wholesalers of distilled spirits and wines pay the
special excise taxes. If the beer manufacturer doesn't pay, the wholesaler or
importer is liable for the tax. The table shows the rates for the most common
beverage categories. Higher rates apply to wines with alcoholic contents that
exceed 21 percent and 24
percent, but little or none of
these products are sold. A
special "bottle tax" of 1 cent per
bottle also applies to each wine
and liquor bottle that is 200
milliliters or largeL

Because the excise taxes are
fixed dollar amounts, they don't
vary by the price of the product.
Higher priced products pay the same tax as lower priced products. Moreover,
revenues grow only as more liters or barrels ofthe products are sold; revenues
don't increase with inflation (price increases). For revenues to keep pace with
inflation, the legislature must adjust the tax rates periodically. It has done this
only sporadically (most recently in 1987).

The law exempts the following from the excise tax:
• Sacramental wine
• Products sold to food processors and pharmaceutical companies
• The first 25,000 barrels ofbeer produced by a brewery with annual

production ofless than 100,000 barrels. (A barrel is 31 gallons.)



Beverage Type FY2004 %of
Revenues Total

(000)
Beer < 3.2% $345 0.3%
Beer> 3.2% 15,635 12.9%
Cider 34 0.0%
Wine < 14% 3,099 2.6%
Wine> 14% 290 0.2%
Sparkling Wine 747 0.6%
Distilled Spirits 46,729 38.6%
Excise tax total 66,880 55.2%
2.5% sales tax 54,208 44.8%
Total $121,088
Source: MN Department ofRevenue

Excise Tax Rates (per gallon)
Bordering States

Strong Beer Table Wine Liquor
IA $.19 $1.75 NA
MN .15 .30 $5.03
ND .16 .50 2.50
SD .27 .93 3.93
WI .06 .25 3.25
Source: Federation ofTax Administrators

Revenues go to the
general fund

Minnesota tax
compared with
other states

Tax relative to
alcohol content
varies

Taxis regressive

Revenues from both the excise taxes and
the gross receipts tax go to the general
fund. Fiscal year 2004 revenues from the
excise taxes were about $67 million and
from the then special sales tax, $54
million. Thus, the gross receipts tax raises
over 40 percent of alcohol tax revenues.
The table to the right shows the
collections by beverage type for the excise
tax and for the additional sales tax. The
excise tax revenue from liquor reflects the
higher rates imposed on these products,
rather than their share of the market
(measured by dollars spent). The sales tax imposes a much higher tax burden on
wine and beer than the excise tax does.

Minnesota's wine and beer excise taxes are average or below average compared
with most other states. Minnesota's
tax on distilled spirits (liquor) is
among the higher taxes for states
with excise taxes. A number of
states (including Iowa) have liquor
monopolies and a portion of the price
markup is a de facto tax; it is difficult
to compare the tax burden with these
states. The table compares
Minnesota's tax rates with its
bordering states. However, only North Dakota imposes a gross receipts tax (at a
2 percent rate) similar to Minnesota's. Thus, the total Minnesota alcohol tax
burden is higher than suggested by simply comparing excise tax burdens.

The excise taxes are imposed on the volume ofthe beverage, not its alcoholic
content. (The federal tax on distilled spirits, by contrast, is imposed explicitly
on alcoholic content.) Since alcoholic content varies significantly within
beverage type, it is difficult to generalize about the tax on alcohol content. But
using averages for beverage types, it is apparent that alcohol in beer and wine is
lightly taxed compared with liquor. The excise tax per an ounce of alcohol in
liquor is about 9 cents, while it is between 2 and 3 cents for wine and beer.

The alcohol taxes are regressive; they constitute a higher share of income for
lower income families and individuals, on average. The Department of
Revenue's Tax Incidence Study indicates they are less regressive than the
tobacco taxes but more regressive than the general sales tax.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/lird/hrd.htm
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Apportionment is
constitutionally
required

All states use
formula
apportionment

Minnesota uses a
weighted three­
factor formula

Special formulas
apply to some
industries

No throwback rule
applies

Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax

A state can constitutionally tax only the income of a multistate corporation that is "fairly
apportioned" to the state. The reason for this requirement seems obvious: if a business
operates in several states and each state could tax all of its income, the business could
easily be subject to double taxation. Aside from being unfair, this would discourage a
business from operating in multiple states; it would interfere with interstate commerce.

A state can apportion income using separate accounting or formula apportionment.
Separate accounting traces income to the state where it was earned using standard
accounting methods. Formula apportionment uses a proxy or rough measure to
determine the in-state share of income (e.g., the percentage of the business's in-state
sales to its total sales). All states use some type of formula apportionment. Using
separate accounting would be expensive, difficult to do, andsubject to manipulation.

Minnesota uses a weighted three-factor formula of sales, property, and payroll, but is
phasing in apportionment based only on sales (fully effective in tax year 2014). The
formula for tax year 2006 weights sales at 75 percent, property at 12.5 percent, and
payroll at 12.5 percent. The Minnesota percentage for each factor is multiplied by the
weight,and the three factors are added to determine the Minnesota percentage of the
corporation's total income. Expressing this as a formula:

MNpercent =(0.75* MnSales .)+(0.125* MnProperty J+(0.125* MnPayroll J
. .' TotalSales' . TotalProperty .TotaIPayroll

Sales are defmed ona destinationbasis; that is, the location ofthe buyer generally
determines whether the sale is a Minnesota sale. The property factor is the value ofreal'
and tangible personal property in Minnesota. Leased property is included; its value
equals the lease payments multiplied by eight. Payroll is the amount paid to employees.
The apportionmentfactors are also used to calculate the add-on minimum fee.

Special apportionment rules apply to some industries. Mail-order companies that have
substantially all oftheir operations in Minnesota use a sales-only formula. A separate
formula for financial institutions includes deposits and intangible property (e.g.,
receivables and loans), since these are important contributors to their profits.

The Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act (adopted by a group of states)
provides that sales to buyers in a state in which the corporation cannot be taxed and
sales to the federal government are "thrown back." Under a throwback rule, these sales
are assigned to the seller's location. Minnesota has not adopted a throwback rule. This
favors businesses making sales from Minnesota to the federal government or to states
where they can't be taxed, since it reduces their Minnesota tax. Minnesota's



Minnesota uses
combined
reporting for
"complex"
corporations

Formula
apportionment
has important
economic effects

Incidence effects ,
vary byfactor
weights

Minnesota is
phasing in single
sales
apportionment to

. encourage in-state
investment

Other states are
also adopting
single sales
apportionment

apportionment fonnula does not affect the tax owed to another state, in any casy.

Special rules apply to complex corporations (i.e., those with multiple corporations, such
parent-subsidiary or brother-sister corporations). Ifthese corporations are part of a
"unitary -business," Minnesota requires them to file a combined report. Under combined
reporting, each corporation in the unitary group calculates its tax using the total income
of the unitary group and using its own factors as the numerator and the total group's
factors as the denominator. This method prevents most transactions among related
corporations in the unitary group from affecting the tax liability of the group. In effect,
the apportionment fonnula divides the unitary business's income among the states
without regard to how the business allocates the income among its various corporate
entities. State corporate taxes that do not use this method allow corporations to
artificially shift income (e.g., through "transfer pricing" among the related corporations)
to states in which income is lightly taxed or is not taxed at all.

Public finance economists generally agree that apportionment fonnulas are a very
important feature of state corporate taxes. They essentially make the tax the same as a
tax directly on the factors. For example, the tax on the portion of income assigned using
the sales factor is the same, in economic effect, as a sales tax. This affects both:

.' the incidence ofthe tax (i.e., who bears the real burden of the tax); and,
• the incentive effects ofthe tax (i.e., the impact ofthe tax on behavior).

Following conventional economic theory, the portion ofthe tax that is apportioned by
sales will be a tax on consumption or consumers, similar to a sales tax. The portion on
payroll is a tax on labor income and the portion on property falls on capital. (Caveat:
capital is mobile; it can move between states. In the long run, a state cannot increase the
portion of the tax on capital much beyond the average imposed by other states. If it
does, capital will flow to other states where higher rates ofretum are available.)

Weighting sales more heavily generally encourages export businesses. Since sales are
assigned to the buyer's location and there is no throwback rule, export or non-Minnesota
sales will reduce the amount of income taxable by Minnesota. Thus, increasing the
weight for sales creates an incentive for companies to invest in Minnesota property or to
hire more employees to sell products outside ofMiooesota. The property and payroll .
factors, by contrast, would assign more 'income to Minnesota, increasing the tax,
because the investment increases Minnesota property and payroll. It was following this
logic that the legislature provided fora gradual shift of apportionment to relying only on
sales. This change will be accomplished in eight annual steps between 2007 and 2014.

After the U.S. Supreme Court ruled sales-only apportionment was validin 1978, many
states increased their reliance on the sales factor because ofthese incentive effects.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research publications Single Sales Apportionment ofCorporate Franchise Tax (March 2006) and
Corporate Franchise Taxation (October 2002).

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and inform,~tion services to the entire House.
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Revenue recapture
allows state to
collect debt

Several state
agencies are
permitted to use
revenue recapture

A variety ofdebts
are subject to
recapture

Some types of
refunds are subject
to recapture

DOR must notify
debtor about
revenue recapture

Revenue Recapture Program

Revenue recapture authorizes the Department of Revenue (DaR) to intercept or
offset part or all of a state taxrefund or other payment to collect a debt that the
taxpayer owes to a government agency or other authorized creditor.

!

The following agencies may use the Revenue Recapture Program:
• State agencies
• University ofMinnesota
• Minnesota district courts
• Counties
• Cities for public ambulance service and public library debts
• Goveinmentally owned hospitals and Regions Hospital
• Agencies responsible for child support enforcement
• Agencies that administer low-income housing programs

Th,e debt (minimum amount of $25) must be owed to or collectable by one of the
qualifying governmental agencies. The debtor must be an ingividual; the law
does not apply to corporations. The creditor does not need to obtain a court
judgment or order to enforce the debt. Qualifying debts include the following:

• Unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties .
• Contractual or statutory obligations
• Criminal fines and fines for petty misdemeanors
• Court-ordered restitution for a crime
• Child support obligations
• ~verpayment ofpublic assistance
• Unpaid MinnesotaCare insurance premiums

Obligations oflow-income individuals (incomes between $9,960 and $18,830 in
2005, depending upon family size) to repay Medical Assistance cannot be
recaptured. Debts barred by the statute oflimitations also cannot be recaptured.

Revenue recapture applies to the following:
• Individual income tax refunds
• Property tax refunds
• Sales tax rebates
• Sustainable forest tax payments
• Lottery prizes

Under revenue recapture, a claimant (creditor) agency submits the claim (debt)
to DOR for offset. Within five days after doing so, it must notify the debtor­
taxpayer in writing of the debt(s) that will be subject to revenue recapture. The
taxpayer then has 45 days to request a contested case hearing under the
.Administrative Procedures Act. The claimant agency conducts the hearing.



Revenue Recapture Amounts
CY2001-2005

Number of Amount of
Offsets Recapture

2001 300,093 $70,471,518
2002 153,200 - $43,060,194
2003 184,641 $51,206,131
2004 204,077 $54,804,757
2005 210,655 $59,247,902
Excludes amounts offset on behalfof the
IRS to satisfy debts for taxes owed to the
federal government.
Source: DOR

Debts are
recaptured by
priority

Creditors pay an
administrative fee

More than $59
million was
recaptured in 2005

When more than one debt is submitted, the debts are applied in the following
order ofpriority:

• DOR accounts receivable (e.g., unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties)
• Child support obligations
• Restitution obligations
• Other debts based on the order in which DOR received the claims

In order to use revenue recapture, the creditor (government agency) must pay a
fee of$15 per claim that is deducted from the amount recaptured. Ofthis $15,
$4 is set aside in a dedicated, revolving fund to pay DOR's cost of operating the
program; the rest goes to the state's general fund.

The table to the right shows the
number ofrevenue recapture offsets
and amount ofrefunds offset by
category for calendar years 2001 to
2005. The number ofoffsets was high
in 2001 because of payment ofa sales
tax rebates. This and earlier rebates
generated tax refunds for many
individuals who normally do not
receive refunds. The number of
offsets per year has declined
significantly since 2001, the year of
the most recent rebate.

The graph shows the percentage ofrevenue recapture amounts for calendar years
2001 to 2005 by the four major types of debts for which the law sets priorities.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057 or Nina Manzi at
651-296-5204.

. . .

The Research Departmentof the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Tax year Sales Property Payroll
2007 78% 11.0% 11.0%
2008 81% 9.5% 9.5%
2009 84% 8.0% 8.0%
2010 87% 6.5% 6.5%
2011 90% 5.0% 5.0%
2012 93% 3.5% ,3.5%
2013 96% 2.0% 2.0%
2014 100% 0.0% 0.0%

Apportionment is a
key feature of
corporate taxes

Minnesota is
phasing in single
sales apportionmerzt

Effects vary by type
ofbusiness

Rationale for single
sales
apportionment:
improve
competitiveness

Single Sales Apportionment of
Corporate Franchise Tax

Apportionment formulas are important features of state corporate income taxes.
They determine how much of a business's income is taxable and affect the
incidence and competitiveness ofthe tax. Minnesota apportions income from
sales, payroll, and property to determine corporate franchise tax.

In the 2005 legislative session, Minnesota began phasing in single sales
apportionment under its corporation franchise tax; the phase-in will occur over
eight years, starting in tax year 2007.
Since tax year 2001, Minnesota has
used a three-factor, weighted formula
(75 percent sales, 12.5 percent
payroll, and 12.5 percent property).
The table to the right shows the

. phase-in schedule for the transition to
single sales apportionment.

The effects of adopting single sales apportionment vary by business. The crucial
variables are the business's Minnesota apportionment factors:

• The taxes ofbusinesses with all of their property, payroll, and sales in
Minnesota will be unaffected. .

• Minnesota businesses whose Minnesota sales factor is lower than the
average of their Minnesota property and payroll factors will receive a tax
cut. The larger the disparity, the bigger the benefit. A classic example
would be a business that has most of its operations (headquarters, plants, and
so forth) in Minnesota, but makes most of its sales nationwide.

• Businesses with higher Minnesota sales factors than their average Minnesota
property andpayroll factors will have tax increases. The classic example is
a national consumer products company with few facilities in Minnesota.

The principal rationale for single sales apportionment is an economic
development argument: it makes Minnesota more competitive in attracting
investment in plant and equipment. Sales are determined by the buyer's
location. All other things being equal, increasing non-Minnesota sales will
reduce the amount ofMinnesota taxable income, since more income will be
attributed to or apportioned outside ofMinnesota. Thus, increasing the weight
for sales creates an incentive for companies to invest in Minnesota property or to
hire more employees (or reduces the tax's disincentive to do so) to sell products
outside of Minnesota. Empirical studies have found some support for the idea
that single sales apportionment e?courages in-state investment.



Policy concerns
with single sales
apportionment:
equity and tax
theory

Cost is about $50
million per year

Trend in other
states to heavier
sales weighting

Opponents of single sales apportionment argue that it shifts the burden ofthe tax
from capital (the property factor) to consumption, reducing the progressivity of
the tax. Some also question as an empirical matter whether it has much ofthe
desired effects on competitiveness. Tax theorists also argue that if the corporate
tax is to be a benefits tax (i.e;, based on the business's use of government
services) or ifit is to be based on production of income, apportionment should
take into account where the business's property and employees are located.
These factors are important contributors both to the production of income and
the consumption ofgovernment services.

Adopting single sales apportionment will reduce overall state revenues. A
March 2005 estimate by the Department ofRevenue showed an annual tax
reduction of about $50 million per year (based on the February 2005 forecast).

The U.S. Supreme Court upheld single sales apportionment in 1978. Since that
decision, states have increasingly shifted their apportionment formulas to more·
heavily weighted sales. Effective for tax year 2008, 12 states are scheduled to
use single sales as their apportionment formula for manufacturers. This is up
from seven states for tax year 2005. Many of Minnesota's neighboring states
use single sales: Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, Nebraska, and Wisconsin (effective
tax year 2008). Michigan weights sales at 90 percent. The map below shows
the apportionment formulas for manufacturers as oftax year 2008.

App()rti()ritri~l1t()tC()rp()l"ateil1c()mij
.. . ApplicabIEltoMallufactyrer(;<

....:....

Notax. .. ..
Equal weights ... . ...
Double welghtecisales. ....•
Sales ""eigl1t > ~9%l:Ind ~90%

.. Single sales . ... .. .

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research publication Apportionment ofCorporate Franchise Tax (March 2006).

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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The Ban on Breathable Alcohol Devices

A new law passed in the 2006 legislative session bans the possession or use of a device designed to allow
alcohol to be consumed by inhaling fumes. This law takes effect August I.

What is an "alcohol
without liquid
device"?

What is and isn't
included?

Is it against the law
to own an alcohol
without liquid
device?

The law defines an alcohol without liquid device as a device that:

• Mixes an alcoholic beverage with pure or diluted oxygen;
• To produce an alcohol vapor;
• That is intended to be inhaled by an individual.

For purposes of this law, devices, machines, apparatuses, or appliances that meet
the above definition are banned. Some devices are not included. An alcohol
without liquid device does not include:

• An inhaler, nebulizer, atomizer, or other device that is designed and
intended for medical purposes, to dispense medicines.

There are exemptions for research. Hospitals, state institutions, private colleges
or universities, or pharmaceutical and biotechnology firms may have these
devices for bona fide research purposes.

Owning these devices is a crime.

• It is unlawful for any person or business establishment to possess,
purchase, sell, offer to sell, or use an alcohol without liquid device.

• Except for legitimate research, it is unlawful for a person or business
establishment to use a nebulizer, inhaler, or atomizer for the purpose of
inhaling alcoholic beverages.

For more information: Contact Patrick McCormack at 651-296-5048.
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Who must submit a
DNA sample?

Who collects the
DNA sample?

Minnesota's Criminal DNA Collection
and Preservation Laws

Minnesota law requires those convicted of a felony, those released from prison
after serving a felony sentence, those felons whom the state accepts through an
interstate compact, and those charged with certain predatory felonies to submit a
DNA sample. All people (both juvenile and adult) charged with committing or
attempting to commit a felony, who are subsequently convicted of the felony or
any offense arising out ofthe same set ofcircumstances, provide a sample upon
s~ntencing, iftheyhave not already done so. Minn. Stat. § 609.117,subd. 1(1),
(2). People meeting these criteria, but who were convicted prior to enactment of
this requirement orwho otherwise avoided submitting a sample, must furnish a
sample prior to their release from incarceration. Minn. Stat. § 609.117, subd. 2.

Offenders serving a prison tenn in Minnesota under a reciprocal agreement, who
were convicted in another state ofcommitting or attempting to commit a felony
offense or of any offense arising out of the same set of circumstances, also must
submit a biological sample before being released. Minn. Stat. § 609.117, subd.
2(2). Offenders received from another state through ail interstate compact who
were charged with a felony and were subsequently convicted of the felony or any
offense arising out of the same set ofcircumstances are accepted only ifthey
submit a biological sample.

As of July 1, 2005, both adults and juveniles charged with committing certain
, violent predatory felonies must submit DNA samples if a judge has concluded that

the charge is based on probable cause. Minn. Stat. § 299C.I05, subd. l(a)(1), (3).

Sheriffs, peace officers, and community corrections agencies operating secure
juvenile detention facilities are required to collect samples from people who have
been charged with certain predatory felonies jfa judge has concluded the charges
are supported byprobable cause. Minn. Stat. § 299C.I05, subd. 1(a).

Those ordered to provide a sample upon sentencing must submit a sample to the
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA), where it will be collected and
maintained. Minn. Stat. § 609.117, subd. 1. Specimens obtained before release,
including offenders' samples from other states, are collected by the commissioner
of corrections or local corrections authorities. Minn. Stat. § 609.117, subd. 2.
Similarly, any offenders accepted from other states are collected by the
Department of Corrections or a county probation agency.



When is the sample
collected?

Where does the
sample go?

What are the rights
andprotections of
the person whose
sample is collected?

What other duties
must government
agencies and law
enforcement
.officialsperform?

Those charged with a predatory felony must submit the sample within 72 hours of
a probable cause hearing, unless the superintendent of the BCA requires a shorter
period. Mimi. Stat. § 299C.1 05, subd. l(c). All other persons must furnish a
sample either upon sentencing or prior to release, depending upon the situation. If
the person charged is a juvenile, the law enforcement officer who seeks to obtain a
sample from the individual must notify the juvenile's parent or guardian prior to
collecting the biological specimen. Minn. Stat. § 299C.l05, subd. 2(b).

After submission, each sample collected under these provisions is forwarded to the
BCA, where it is processed and maintained in the BCA's DNA database.

There are more protections provided to those who submit DNA based on a criminal
charge than to those who submit DNA based on a felony conviction. The
additional protections apply to those who have been charged, but not convicted of
a crime that requires submission ofa biological specimen.

The BCA is required by statute to destroy any biological specimen and return all
records to people who submitted a specimen if, although they were charged with
perpetrating an enumerated offense and received a probable cause determination,
they are subsequently found not guilty. Similarly, if a person submits a sample and
the charges against the person are later dismissed, upon the individual's request,
the BCA must destroy the sample, remove the information from the BCA's DNA
index system, and return all records. Minn. Stat. § 299C.105, subd.3(a), (b).

People convicted of crimes do not have similar protection. Even upon
expungement ofthe offense for which the specimen was collected, those convicted
of a crime requiring a biological specimen may not move to seal their DNA
records or to have the sample returnedor destroyed. Minn. Stat. § 609A.03,
subd.7(a).

All government agencies must retain and preserve any biological evidence relating
to identification of a defendant that is used to secure a conviction in a criminal case
until expiration ofthe individual's sentence, unless earlier disposition is authorized
by court order. However, the agencies need only retain the portion of the specimen
that was used to obtain an accurate biological sample used to obtain a conviction.
Failure to retain the evidence may result in sanctions to the appropriate party.
Minn. Stat. § 590.10.

Law enforcement officials charged with collecting the specimens must be trained
to BCA-established standards in the proper method of collecting and transmitting
the sample. Minn. Stat. § 299C.105, subd. 2(a).

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jeffrey Diebel at 651-296-5041.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information serVices to the entire House.
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What is child care
assistance?

What are the
eligibility
requirements for
child care '
assistance?

What is the average
annual subsidy a
family receives?

Arefamilies
required to pay for
some child care
expenses?

Child Care Assistance

Child care assistance programs subsidize the child care expenses of eligible low­
income families. Minnesota administers two child care assistance programs,
Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) child care assistance and Basic
Sliding Fee (BSF) child care assistance. MFIP child care subsidizes the child
care costs of families receiving cash assistance through MFIP and provides child
care assistance for eligible families for the first 12 months after the family leaves
MFIP cash assistance (transition year child care). BSF child care provides a
child care subsidy to low-income working families who are not receiving cash
assistance from MFIP. BSF child care assistance also includes a set-aside,
which allows a parent to stay home with an infant~nd receive a subsidy in lieu
of assistance (at-home infant child care).

To be eligible for child care assistance, both parents (or one parent in single­
parent households) must participate in an authorized work, education, or training
activity, cooperate with child support enforcement, and meet income eligibility
guidelines. The maximum income limit to be eligible for child care assistance is
175 percent of the federal poverty guidelines at program entry and 250 percent
or less of the federal poverty guidelines at program exit.

Children up to age 13 are eligible for child care assistance (up to age 15 for
disabled children).

County agencies or their contractors must determine eligibility within 30 days of
receiving a request for child care assistance. Direct reimbursement is the only
method of receiving child care assistance;

In fiscal year 2006, the estimated average annual subsidy for a family receiving
MFIP child care assistance was $11,078, and the estimated average annual
subsidy for a family receiving BSF child care assistance was $8,621.

Beginning July 1, 2006, the maximum reimbursement rate for child care
assistance is increased by 6 percent over the rate established on January 1, 2006,
in each county or multicounty region. At least once every two years, the
Commissioner of Human Services conducts a survey of rates charged by child
care providers to determine the 75th percentile maximum rates for similar care in
a county, multicounty region, or category that the commissioner deems to be
similar.

There is a family co-payment requirement based on family size and income.
The maximum family co-payment is about 18 percent of gross monthly income.
Families with incomes below 75 percent of the federal poverty level are exempt
from making co-payments.



How is child care
assistance funded?

How many families
receive child care
assistance?

What are some
potential legislative
issues?

The child care assistance programs receive funding from a variety of sources,
including: the federal Child Care Development Fund (CCDF), federal
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) funds, the state general fund,
the state special revenue fund, and county funds.

During fiscal year 2006, an estimated average of 8,568 families received MFIP
child care assistance and 8,394 families received BSF child care assistance per
month.

Not all families who apply for child care assistance receive it. MFIP child care
is a forecasted, fully funded program, while BSF child care receives a capped
allocation. As of March 31, 2006, there were 4,752 families on the waiting list
for BSF child care assistance.

During the 2001 legislative session, there were several proposals to consolidate
the child care assistance programs into one program to reduce administrative and
program complexity. However, none of these proposals were passed by the
legislature. There may be future attempts to consolidate the child care assistance
programs.

For more information: See the House Research publication Funding to Support Child Care Assistance,
October 2005.
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Long-term Care Insurance Income Tax Credit

What is the
credit?

What is the
rationale for this
tax credit?

Is the credit
refundable?

.Who is eligible
for the credit?

How is the credit
calculated?

How many
Minnesotans
claim the credit?

How much is
paid out in
credits?

The Minnesota long-term care insurance credit offsets the cost oflong-term care
insurance premiums by providing a credit against state income tax liability. The
maximum Minnesota credit is equal to the lesser of$100 or 25 percent of the amount
paid for each beneficiary. The maximum total credit is $200 annually on a joint
return or $100 for individual filers.

This credit was enacted in 1997 and took effect in tax year 1999.

The Minnesota long-term care tax credit provides an incentive for Minnesotans to
purchase long-term care insurance coverage. Ifmore Minnesota residents purchase
long-term care insurance, there may be a decrease in the cost to the state in providing
for the long-term care ofresidents who are unable to afford long-term care services..

The Minnesota credit is a nonrefundable credit and may be used only to offset tax
liability. If an individual qualifies for a credit that is greater than her or his tax
liability, the excess will not be paid as a refund.

A Minnesota taxpayer who purchases insurance to provide long-term care coverage,
such as nursing home or home care coverage, for the taxpayer or spouse is eligible
for the credit. To qualify for the credit, the lc~ng-term care policy must:

• qualify for the federal itemized deduction for medical expenses,
disregarding the 7.5 percent income test; and

• have a lifetime long-term care benefit limit of$lOO,OOO or more.

The Minnesota credit equals 25 percent of qualifying long-term care insurance
premiums for one beneficiary, up to a maximum of $1 00 for individuals and up to
$200 for married couples filing jointly who both have coverage. A taxpayer may
claim only one policy for each qualified beneficiary. It is not necessary that the
taxpayers filing jointly have separate policies or premiums. The amount of
premiums used to ca1culate the credit must be reduced by any premiums claimed as a
medical expense deduction on the taxpayer's federalretum.

Filers claim the credit on their Minnesota income tax return using Schedule Ml LTL

For tax year 2004, 52,532 Minnesota returns claimed the credit.. These claims
represent about 2 percent of all state returns filed by Minnesotans.

In tax year2004, Minnesotansclaimed $7.2 million oflong-term care insurance
credits. The average long-term care tax credit was $138 in tax year 2004.



How does
Minnesota
compare with
other states?

This table includes all states that offered a long-term care insuranc~ tax credit in
2004, but not those states that offer a long-term care insurance tax deduction. Data
on number of claimants and cost by state is for 2004 unless otherwise noted.

How many returns What is the cost to
Maximum Credit claimed the the state for the tax

Credit Rate* credit? credit?

Colorado $150 25% 32,900 $4.6 million
(estimate, FY 2001) (estimate, FY 2001)

Minnesota $100 25% 52,532 $7.2 million

Maryland Varies by 100% 10,238 $4.5 million
age:

$220-$500

Montana No Varies by 114,000 $80.3 million
maxlillum income: {

20% to 30%

New York No 10% 114,000 $80.3 million
maximum

North Carolina $350 15% 34,376 $7.9 million

North Dakota $100 25% 559 $79,396

Oregon $500 15% 200 $100,000
(estimate, 2002) (estimate, 2002)

*Percentage ofpremiums, usually the amount not deducted under the itemized deduction, but not
always.

For' more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204,Joel Michael at
651-296-5057, or Janelle Taylor at 651-296-5808, (Note: Research assistant Ruthie Eklund provided help
with this publication.)

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department" 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Minnesota Individual Alternative Minimum Tax

What is the
alternative
minimum tax?

What is the history
oftheAMT?

How is Minnesota's
AMTstructured?

Who pays the
AMT?

How are thefederal
and state AMTs
different?

What are the recent
changes to the
Minnesota AMT?

The theory underlying the federal and state alternative minimum taxes (AMT) is to
require taxpayers who benefit heavily from some tax preferences to pay a
minimum amount of tax relative to their incomes. The first version of the federal
tax was enacted in 1969 in response to the revelation that a number of
"millionaires" were paying no federal income tax.

The federal AMT was first enacted in 1969, the state AMT in 1977. For some time
during the 1970s and 1980s, both the federal and state taxes were levied as "add-on
minimum" taxes, rather thap. alternative minimum taxes, and required certain
taxpayers to pay a fraction of some preferences as an add-on minimum tax. The
basic structure of the two taxes has been in place since the 1986 federal reform and
1987 state reform. Both Congress and the legislature have made many changes,
both in defining the base of the taxes and their rates.

The Minnesota AMT rougWy follows the federal AMT. Both taxes follow the
model of requiring taxpayers to compute a tentative tax liability under a second tax
structure. This second tax structure, the AMT, has a broader tax base (due to fewer
deductions, exemptions, and credits) and lower rates than the regular tax. If this
tentative tax is higher than the taxpayer's regular tax liability, the taxpayer pays the
difference. In effect, the AMT takes away part of the benefit of tax preferences
that lowered the regular tax. The Minnesota AMT has one flat rate; the federal tax,
by contrast, has two rates.

AMT filers fall into two main groups:
• Those who have significant amounts of deductions that are allowed under

the regular tax but not under the AMT
• Taxpayers with large families whose personal exemptions and standard

deduction (or typical itemized deductions) under the regular tax exceed the
flat exemption amount allowed under the AMT

The federal and state AMTs have one major difference. The federal AMTallows
the deduction ofhome mortgage interest; the Minnesota AMT does not.

In tax year 2006, the Minnesota AMT will allow full deduction of charitable
contributions and an increased exemption amount. Before 2006, the exemption
was $40,000 for married joint filers and $30,000 for single filers. In 2006 the
exemption increases to $60,000 for married joint filers and $45,000 for single
filers, and will be adjusted annually for inflation in following years.



How are the
Minnesota regular
taxandAMT
different?

How much revenue
doestheAMT
raise?

The Minnesota AMT uses a broader tax base than does the regular tax and applies
a single 6.4 percent rate against that base. The following table outlines the
parameters of the Minnesota regular and alternative minimum tax.

Comparison of the Regular Income Tax and Minnesota AMT
($ amounts are for the 2006 tax year)

Feature Regular Tax AMT
Tax base Federal adjusted gross income Federal adjusted gross income

Rules carried Less generous. depreciation rules
over from Incentive stock options
federal AMT Depletion

Intangible drilling costs
Tax exempt interest from private
activity bonds

Standard $9,350 (married joint) $60,000 for married joint
deduction

Personal $3,250 per taxpayer, spouse, and None
exemptions dependents

Itemized Home mortgage interest Not allowed (federal allows, with
deductions limits)

Charitable contributions Allowed

Property taxes Not allowed (same as federal)

Medical expenses Allowed

Miscellaneous deductions (e.g., Not allowed
employee business expenses)

Casualty losses Allowed

Tax rates 5.35%; 7.05%; 7.85% 6.4% (federal is 26%; 28%)

Tax credits Transit passes Not allowed

Long-term care insurance Allowed

Marriage credit Allowed

Credit for taxes paid to other states Allowed

Refundable credits (working Allowed, but the K-12 credit is
family, dependent care, and K-12 reduced by AMT liability
education)

The Minnesota AMT is estimated to raise about $13 million in tax year 2006. The
amount of revenue and the number of taxpayers paying the AMT are not expected
to increase in future years, since the exemption is indexed annually for inflation.

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at
651-296-5057.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives isa nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What is Minnesota
taxable income?

Minnesota Taxable Income

Minnesota taxable income (MTI) is the tax base used·to calculate Minnesota
income tax liability. Minnesota taxable income equals federal taxable income after
Minnesota subtractions and additions.

Federal
taxable
income (FTI)

Minnesota
+ additions

Minnesota
subtractions

Minnesota
taxable
income
(MTI)

What are
Minnesota
additions to taxable
income?

What subtractions
does Minnesota
allowfrom taxable
income?

Minnesota requires the following additions to federal taxable income:

• State income or sales tax deduction. Filers who claimed a federal itemized
deduction for state income or sales taxes paid must add that amount back
into Minnesota taxable income. Taxpayers making this addition are always
allowed to claim at least the full standard deduction for the tax year.

• Bond interest and mutual fund interest dividends paid by non-Minnesota
state and local governments. The federal government does not tax state and
local bond interest. Minnesota does not tax Minnesota state and local bond
interest, but does tax interest on bonds ofother states and their local
governments.

• Expenses relating to income not taxed by Minnesota. These are mainly
expenses deducted at the federal level and attributable to U.S. bond interest
income, which is excluded from Minnesota taxable income.

• Capital gain portion of a lump-sum distribution from a qualified retirement
plan

Minnesota allows the following subtractions from federal taxable income. The
estimated cost of most subtractions is taken from the Department of Revenue's Tax
Expenditure Budgetfor 2006-2009. Revenue estimates made during the 2007
legislative session differ from the Tax Expenditure Budget because they will be
based on a more recent economic forecast.

• State income tax refund (filers who claimed federal itemized deductions
only). The federal income tax allows a deduction for state income taxes.
Minnesota requires filers to add back the amount deducted, and allows a
subtraction for amounts refunded in order to avoid twice taxing the same
Income.

• Subtractions required by federalla,w. Federal law prohibits state
taxation of these three types of income:

o U.S. bond interest



o Railroad retirement benefits
o On-reservation earnings of enrolled tribal members

• K-12 dependent education expenses ($15.8 million in fiscal year 2007).
The deduction applies to school-related expenses, including tuition,
textbooks, academic tutoring and camps, and instructional materials and
supplies. The maximum deduction is $1,625 for each child in grades K-6
and $2,500 for each child in grades 7-12.

• Compensation for military active service outside of Minnesota ($6.2
million in fiscal year 2007).

• 50 percent of charitable contributions in excess of $500 ($5.5 million in
fiscal year 2007). Allowed only for filers who do not claim federal
itemized deductions-those who itemize have already deducted their
charitable contributions in computing federal taxable income.

• Minnesota elderly/disabled exclusion ($1.4 million in fiscal year 2007).
Equals up to $12,000 for low-income elderly and disabled filers with low
amounts of Social Security and nontaxable pensions.

• Job Opportunity Building Zone (JOBZ) income ($1.4 million in fiscal
year 2007). Allowed for net income from a qualified business in a JOBZ,
for net income from renting property for use by a qualified business, and
for gain from the sale of property used by a qualified business.

• Organ donation expenses ($100,000 in fiscal year 2007). Allowed for up
to $10,000 of expenses related to organ donation by the taxpayer or a
dependent, including lost wages.

• Federal small ethanol producer credit ($100,000 in fiscal year 2007).
Producers with ethanol production capacity under 30 million gallons may
claim a federal credit equal to 10 cents per gall,on, but must include the
credit in gross income. This subtraction prevents the credit from being
included in Minnesota taxable income.

• Compensation for National Guard and reserve active service in
Minnesota (less than $50,000 in fiscal year 2007). Allowed for state active
service and federally funded state active service (generally floods, other
disasters, and airport security) but not for drill pay.

• Gain on sale of farm property for insolvent taxpayers (less than $50,000
in fiscal year 2007). This subtraction is allowed for taxpayers who use the
proceeds of the sale of a farm to payoff a mortgage, contract for deed, or
lien on the property.

• Foreign subnational income taxes. Taxpayers subject to a foreign
subnational income tax may subtract the amount of tax paid to the foreign
governmental unit, to the extent the taxpayer did not use the subnational
taxes to claim the federal foreign tax credit.

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 651­
296-5057. Also see the House Research publications Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, July
2005; and Minnesota's Elderly Exclusion (web only) at www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/tx....)nc.htm.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrdlhrd.htm
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Major State Aids and Taxes: An Overview of the 2004 Update

This provides a brief overview of the report Major State Aids and Taxes: A Comparative Analysis, 2004
Update, highlighting major aids provided to the local governments and people in Minnesota and lists the
major taxes collected. The per capita amounts were calculated using 2004 population. Some aids are
presented on a different basis in other settings (e.g., per pupil for education aid); however, in the report they
are presented on a per capita basis to allow comparison of different aids.

STATE AIDS
Program Year Amount (millions) Per Capita

Education aid 2003/2004 $6,102.4 State $1,186 State

Aidpaid to school districts for all K-12 educational
(school $3,310.1 Metro $1,195 Metro

expenses
year) $2,792.3 Nonmetro $1,176 Nonmetro

Human services aid 2004 $3,439.8 State $669 State

State's share ofhuman services aidfor various income
$1,825.7 Metro $659 Metro

and medical assistance programs
$1,614.1 Nonmetro $680 Nonmetro

Highway aid . 2004 $510.4 State $99 State

Distributed to counties, cities with more than 5,000
$146.6 Metro $53 Metro

people, and towns
$363.8 Nonmetro $153 Nonmetro

Local government aid 2004 $437.5 State $85 State

Provides property tax reliefby providing general
. $160.9 Metro $58 Metro
$276.6 NOIlIl1etro $117 Nonmetro

purpose financial support to cities

Disparity reduction aid 2004 $18.9 State $4 State

Provides aid to jurisdictions (counties, towns, and school
$1.4 Metro - Metro

districts) that had inordinately high tax rates in 1998
$17.6 Nonmetro $7 Nonmetro

County program aid 2004 $Jll.6 State $22 State

Includes former county general purposeaids: homestead
$39.3 Metro $14 Metro

and agricultural credit, county criminaljustice aid,
$72.4 Nonmetro $30 Nonmetro

family preservation aid, and attached machinery aid

.. Community corrections funding 2004 $72.8 State $14 State

Aid that provides a portion ofcounties' costs for
$38.3 Metro $14 Metro

community correctional services
$34.5 Nonmetro $15 Nonmetro

Property tax refund (excludes targeting) 2003 (filed $275.9 State $53 State

Partly reimburses homeowners and renters for a portion
in 2004) $189.6 Metro $68 Metro

ofproperty taxes iftheir taxes exceed a level ofincome
$86.3 Nonmetro $36 Nonmetro

Targeting 2004 $3.7 State $1 State

Additionalproperty tax refundfor homeowners whose
$2.5 Metro $1 Metro

property taxes increased over a certain percentage
$1.2 Nonmetro $1 Nonmetro

thresholdfrom the previous year



MAJOR TAXES
Year Amount Per capita

Individual income tax 2003 $5,312.7 Total

Imposed on income ofstate residents and income
(filed in $5,122.3 Residents $996 State

derivedfrom state sources ofnonresidents
2004) $3,480.7 Metro $1,256 Metro

$1,641.6 Nonmetro $691 Nonmetro

Sales and use tax 2004 $4,122.6 (After refunds)

Imposed on gross receipts ofpeople who sell, lease, or
$3,542.8 Residents $689 State
$2,288.3 Metro $826 Metro

rent tangible personal property at retail at a rate of6.5 $1,254.5 Nonmetro $528 Nonmetro
percent (does not include local sales taxes)

Motor vehicle sales tax 2004 $538.8 State $105 State

Imposed on new and used motor vehicles at the time of
$282.1 Metro $102 Metro

sale at the same rate ofstate sales tax
$256.7 Nonmetro $108 Nonmetro

Motor vehicle license tax 2004 $504.9 State $98 State

Imposed annually on vehicles licensed in the state
$273.4 Metro $99 Metro
$231.5 Nonmetro $98 Nonmetro

Motor vehicle fuels tax 2004 $643.8 State $125 State

Imposed on gasoline, dieselfuel, and other motorfuels
$301.4 Metro $109 Metro

used by vehicles and on aviation fuels
$342.5 Nonmetro $144 Nonmetro

Corporate franchise (income) tax 2003 $545.7 State $106 State

Imposed at a rate of9.8 percent on the net income of
$395.4 Metro $143 Metro

corporations
$150.4 Nonmetro $63 Nonmetro

State property tax 2004 $621.1 State $121 State

Imposed on commercial/industrial/public utility
$416.0 Metro $150 Metro

property and seasonal recreationalproperty
$205.2 Nonmetro $86 Nonmetro

PROPERTVTAXDATA

Metro
58.8%

Market Value
Total statewide: $363.5 billion

Nonmetro
41.2%

Metro
65.3%

Net Property Tax
Total statewide: $5.3 billion

Nonmetro
34.7%

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Nina Manzi at
651-296-5204. See Major State Aids and Taxes: Comparative Analysis, 2004 Update (March 2006) for
further details about each aid program and tax and data by county and economic development region.
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrdlhrd.htm



HOUSE RESEARCH
Colbey Sullivan

[Short Subjects
June 2006

State Methane Digester Programs

There are two state programs designed to encourage farmers to install methane digesters, which capture
methane gas that can be converted into electricity. In spite of these efforts, Minnesota farmers have been
slow to adopt this technology. This hesitancy may be due in large part to the significant upfront costs and
low electricity purchase rates offered by utilities. Technical limitations ofbiogas production may also be a
factor-studies have indicated that profitable biogas production in Minnesota using current digester
technology may belimited to large dairy·operations (at least 300 cows) that collect manure by scraping
rather than flushing. Profitable methane production requires a significant amount ofmanure,. and cows have
been shown to have greater gas production potential than swine or poultry (measured in ft. 3/animal unit/day).

What are methane
digesters?

How many digesters
are there in
Minnesota?

What state
programs provide
incentives for on­

. farm methane
digesters?

Methane digesters (also referred to as biogas recovery systems or anaerobic
digesters) can be incorporated into a farm's manure management system to capture
the biogas that is emitted when bacteria break down the organic material in manure
solids. This biogas is volatile and composed primarily of the greenhouse gases
methane and carbon dioxide. The gas is captured in anenc1osure, or digester, then
flared to control odor and curb greenhouse gas emissions or combusted in a
generator to produce electricity and heat. Electricity produced from biomass can .
be used to power farm operations and/or plugged into the grid and sold to the local
electric utility, creating an additional revenue stream. .

Two Minnesota dairy farms use methane digesters-Haubenschild Farms near
Princeton and Northern Plains Dairy near St. Peter. For comparison, there are 21
digesters in Wisconsin, 18 in California, five in Iowa, and none reported in North'
or South Dakota.

Two state programs provide incentives for methane digesters: the Renewable
Energy Production Incentive and the Methane Digester Loan Program.

Renewable Energy Production Incentive

Qualifying owners of on-farm methane digesters. who sell electricity to a utility or
other party are eligible to receive incentive payments from the Department of
Commerce. Eligible digesters must be located on the site of an agricultural
operation and owned by an entity that is not prohibited from owning agricultural
land in Minnesota. Payments are l.5¢/kilowatt-hour for up to ten years or until
2017, whichever comes first. Northern Plains Dairy is the only operation enrolled
in the program.

For more information, contact Jeremy DeFiebre at the Minnesota Department of
Commerce Geremy.defiebre@state.mn.us or 651-296-5175)



More information

Methane Digester Loan Program

Administered by the Rural Finance Authority, the program provides loans to help
eligible farmers purchase and construct digesters that convert manure to electricity.
Eligible borrowers must be a resident ofMinnesota or an entity eligible to own
agricultural land inthe state. The loan may not exceed $250,000 and is limited to
45 percent of the total principal when the state participates with another eligible

. lender. Loans are interest free. Haubenschild Dairy received the only program
loan issued to date.

For more information, contact Matt Drewitz at the Minnesota Department of
Agriculture (MDA) (matt.drewitz@state.mn.us or 651-201-6520) or visit the
MDA web site at www.mda.state.mn.us/feedlots/digester.htm.

In addition to the MDA web site, there are many other sources of information on
methane digesters, including tools that can help farmers determine the financial
feasibility of digesters, information on federal and private assistance prograpls, and
case studies of sp.ccessful operations. Here are two resources:

• AgSTAR: The federal government's multi-agency effort to promote on­
farm methane recovery technologies.
www.epa.gov/agstar or 1-800-95-AgSTAR (1-800-952-4782)

• Agricultural Utilization Research Institute (AURI): AURI has compiled a
checklist to help farmers decide if a digester makes sense for them.
www.auri.orglresearchidigester/diglead.htm

For more information: To learn more about these programs and how to apply, contact the resources listed
above. For other questions, contact legislative analyst Colbey Sullivan at 651-296-5047.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Charitable Gambling: An Overview

Nonprofit organizations can conduct gambling to raise money for "lawful purposes" with a license from the
Lawful Gambling Control Board.

Who may conduct
gambling?

What kinds of
games are allowed?

Who regulates
charitable
gambling?

What can gambling
proceeds be spent
for?

A charitable, religious, veterans, or other nonprofit organization may be licensed to
conduct charitable gambling if it has at least 15 active members and has been in
existence for at least three years. About 1,400 Minnesota organizations are
licensed to conduct gambling at about 3,300 different locations;

. Licensed organizations mayconduct bingo, raffles, and tipboards, sell pull-tabs,
and operate paddlewheels.

Charitable gambling is regulated by the seven-member Lawful Gambling Control
Board. It licenses organizations and gambling managers and makes rules for the
conduct of gambling. It also regulates bingo halls and the distributors and
manufacturers of gambling equipment.

Gross gambling profits (gross receipts less prizes) can only be spent for gambling
expenses and lawful purposes.

Gambling expenses are all expenses directly related to the conduct of gambling.
Examples are gambling supplies, rent, license fees, and wages of gambling
workers. Expenses are limited to 70 percent of gross profits for bingo and
beginning July 1, 2006, 60 percent for other gambling.

Gross profit not spent for expenses (net profit) can only be spent for lawful
purposes, which include the following:

~ Expenditure by or contribution to a ~ Contributions to government
501(c)(3) organization or a 501(c)(4)
festival organization

~ Contributions to relieve poverty, ~ Contributions to or expenditures by a
disability, or homelessness religious institution

~ Compulsive gambling treatment ~ Snowmobiles and ATV trails and
wildlife management projects

~ Scholarships and contributions to ~ Food shelves and dining programs
, educational institutions primarily for older persons

~ Recognition of humanitarian or military ~, Community arts organizations and
servIce programs

~ Recreational and athletic facilities ~ Utilities for veterans' organization
primarily for young people buildings

~ Property taxes on gambling premises ~ Recognition dinners for veterans, up to
$5,000 per organization annually

Net profits can also be spent to pay state, federal, and local taxes on gambling.



Charitable Gambling Statistics

Charitable Gambling Gross Receipts
2000-2005

$1,550

go $1,500
~

i $1,450

t $1,400
12-

~ $1,350

" $1,300

$1,250

2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005

Spending of Gross Profit 2005
($251 million)

State Taxes
22%

Expenses
50%

What are the rules
for charitable
gambling?

Are there prize
limits for charitable.
gambling?

What taxes apply to
charitable
gambling?

What gambling is
exempt fro'in
licensing?

The major rules that apply to all gambling are as follows:

Gambling must be supervised by a gambling manager appointed by the
organization

~ Players must be at least 18 years old
~ Players can't use checks or play on credit (except checks for raffle tickets)

Odds and house rules must be posted on the premises
~ Compensated gambling workers must be registered with the board and niay

not gamble at sites where they are working, with some limited exceptions

Prize limits are as follows:

~ Bingo, $200 per game and $2,800 for most bingo occasions
Single pull-tab, $599

.~ Single paddlewheel prize, $70
~ Largest tipboard prize, $599

The state imposes taxes on charitable gambling In lieu of sales taxes:

~ Bingo, paddlewheels, and raffles, 8.5 percent of gross profit .
~ Pull-tabs and tipboards, 1.7 percent of "ideal gross" (potential gross receipts

from all tickets in a package, with a refund for unsold tickets)
~ Pull-tabs and tipboards, additional "combined receipts tax" of 1.7 percent to

5.1 percent of gross receipts, depending on the organization's annual
receipts

Organizations do not have to obtain a license for the following:

Gambling conducted for five or fewer days a year with total prizes not
exceeding $50,000

~ Bingo conducted at fairs for up to 12 days a year and bingo conducted
elsewhere for up to four days a year

~ Raffles with a prize ofnot more than $1,500

Exempt organizations must register with the board, except for excluded raffles, and
follow state law on spending net profits.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Long at 651-296-5052. Also see the House
Research publication Charitable Gambling, July 2006.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Per pack Percent of
Tax or fee of20 rate price

Cigarette excise tax 48 cents NA
Tobacco products excise tax NA 35%
Health impact fee 75 cents 35%
Fee on cigarettes manufactured 35 cents NA
by nonsettling companies
Tax in lieu of general sales tax 25.5 cents NA
(rate for FY2006)

Minnesota
imposes several
taxes andfees
on cigareUes
and tobacco
products

The 2005
.Legislature
converted the
sales tax to a
per pack tax
and imposed the
health impact
fee

Payments made
to seUle state
lawsuits against
the tobacco
industry have
similar effects
as excise taxes

The Minnesota
Supreme Court
upheld both of
thefees

Cigarette and Tobacco Excise Taxes and Fees

Minnesota imposes a series of taxes and fees on the sale or possession of cigarettes
and tobacco products. The table lists the taxes and fees and their rates. The cigarette
taxes and fees are all imposed on a "per unit" basis-i.e., on the number of cigarettes
sold, not as a percentage of the sale price. Because the tax is a per unit tax, it does not
increase as the price of .
cigarettes increases. By
contrast, the taxes and fees on
tobacco products, such as
cigars, pipe tobacco, snuff, and
chewing tobacco, are imposed
as a percentage of their
wholesale prices.

The 2005 Legislature made two changes in cigarette and tobacco products taxation:

• It converted the 6.5 percent state general sales tax on cigarettes to a flat amount per
pack tax collected from wholesalers (rather than as a percentage of the retail sale
prices, as other products are taxed under the sales tax). The commissioner of
revenue annually sets the amopnt based on a survey of the average retail price of
cigarettes. The 2005 legislation set the amount initially at 25.5 cents per pack.

• The 2005 Legislature also imposed a health impact fee of75 cents per pack of
. cigarettes and 35 percent of the wholesale price of tobacco products. Combining
the Minnesota's excise tax and fee, the burden equals $1.23 per pack and 70
percent of the wholesale price of tobacco products. This fee is imposed and
collected in the same manner as the cigarette excise tax.

. Settlements of the states' lawsuits against the tobacco companies have about the same
economic effect as a cigarette tax, since these settlement payments are passed along to
consumers (nationally) through higher cigarette prices. However, they do not affect
companies that were not part of the lawsuit. To compensate partially for the lower
prices of cigarettes produced by nonsettling companies, the 2003 Legislature imposed
a 35-cent per pack fee on those cigarettes. These cigarettes make up a growing share
of the national and Minnesota markets. (Other states have imposed similar fees:
Michigan and Utah impose a 35-cent surcharge, and Alaska a 25-cent surcharge.)

Industry interests challenged both cigarette fees on various grounds. The Minnesota
Supreme Court rejected these challenges, upholding the state's power to impose the
fees. Council ofIndependent Tobacco Mfr. v. State, 713 N.W.2d 300 (Minn. 2006)
(fee on nonsettling companies); State v. Philip Morris, 713N.W.2d 350 (Minn. 2006)

. (health impact fee).



The taxes and
fees are
estimated to
yield revenues
ofabout $450
million

Neighboring
states have
significantly
lower tax rates

For fiscal year 2007, the Finance Department estimates collections from the two
excise taxes and the sales tax on cigarettes will be $221.6 million and from the health
impact fee, $223.4 million. Revenues from the tobacco products tax are deposited in
the general fund. For fiscal year 2007, cigarette tax revenues of $22.25 million go to
fund the Academic Health Center, $8.55 million to the medical education and research
account, and the rest to the state general fund. The health impact fee revenues are
deposited in a health impact fund and are transferred to the general fund after the
commissioner of human services certifies that state health programs have incurred
tobacco-related costs equal to the fee.

Because cigarettes can easily be transported, the tax rates in other states (especially
border states) are important. Taking into account the combined effects of the tax and
fee ($1.23/pack), Minnesota's bordering states have significantly lower rates, ranging

.from 77 cents (Wisconsin) to 36 cents (Iowa). All states' rates are shown on the map.
The map does not reflect local cigarette taxes; some of these local taxes are substantial
(e.g., $2.00 per pack in Chicago). The map does not reflect the effect of general sales
taxes (including Minnesota's per pack tax in lieu of the sales tax). Some states have no
sales tax or exempt cigarettes from sales taxation, lowering the .overall tax burden.
Texas's rate will increase by $lon January 1, 2007, and Alaska's by 20 cents on July
1,2007.

State Cigarette Tax Rates*
as of 7/1/2006
cents per pack

170

60

64

91

44

53

64 1 •

NJ • 240 RI • 246
jL,~~:..LVA.20

DE· 55
DC· 100

MD-100

• These exclude some significant local taxes.
Source: Federation of Tax Administrators and other sources

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057.
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Eminent Domain: Regulatory Takings

The Takings Clause of the Fifth Amendment of the
U.S. Constitution provides that private property must
not be taken for public use without payment ofjust
compensation. (The clause is made applicable to the
states through the Fourteenth Amendment.) Under
the Minnesota Constitution, article 1, section 13,
private property must not be taken, destroyed, or
damaged for public use without payment ofjust
compensation.

Definition ofa "taking." The classic taking is a
direct appropriation or physical invasion ofprivate
property. Since 1922, however, the courts have
recognized that a state statute or local ordinance may
impose restrictions or demands on the use ofprivate
'property that are so onerous that it amounts to a
taking and the government must compensate the
owner. Lingle v. Chevron, US.A., Inc., 125 S. Ct.
2074, 2081 (2005) (citing Pennsylvania Coal Co. v.
Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (19,22)). In these instances,
called regulatory takings, the property owner brings
an inverse condemnation action to compel the
government to begin eminent domain proceedings
and compensate the owner. A compensable
regulatory taking may be temporary or permanent.
First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v.
County ofLos Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987).

Categorical or perse regulatory takings. There are
two situations in which a court could find that a
regulation is clearly a taking-a categoricalor "per
se" taking. First, if the regulation requires an owner
to allow a physical invasion of the property, however
minor, the owner must be compensated. Lingle, 125
S. Ct. at 2081 (citing Loretto v. Teleprompter
Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982) (state
law requiring landlords to permit cable TV
\companies to install cable facilities in apartment
"buildings held to be a taking)).

The second situation is when the regulation denies
the owner of all economically viable use of the
property and the regulation is not merely an explicit
statement of common law limitations already
present in the title. Lingle, 125 S. Ct. at 2081 (citing
Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.
1003 (1992)).

Penn Central test. Apart from the two situations in
which the Court would find a categorical taking or
taking per se, there is little guidance on what
constitutes a regulatory taking, and courts have
relied on ad hoc factual inquiries. Penn Central
Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104, 124
(1978) (historical preservation designation limited
development options for railroad station not a
taking). In these cases, a court will analyze a
regulatory takings claim under a three-part test in
which the court, considering the parcel as a whole,
looks at:

(1) the economic impact of the regulation on the
owner;

(2) the extent to which the regulation interferes
with distinct legitimate, investment-backed
expectations; and

(3) the character of the government action-does
it result in the equivalent of a physical
invasion of the property or is it more a "public
program adjusting the benefits and burdens of
economic life to promote the common good."

Id.; Johnson v. City ofMinneapolis, 667 N.W.2d
109,114-115 (Minn. 2003) (following Penn Central
analysis, court held that the "cloud of
condemnation" over Nicollet Mall property in
Minneapolis due to drawn out conflict over
proposed LSGI development was a taking).

The Court does not look at whether the regulation is
an effective wayto achieve the stated purpose; the



focus is not on the government's purpose (once
public use or purpose is established), but on the
impact on the property owner's rights. Lingle, 125 S.
Ct. 2074. Each of the tests for regulatory takings
looks for the functional equivalent to an
appropriation or physical invasion ofprivate
property. Id. at 2084.

Minnesota's government enterprise or arbitration
test. In general, a regulation that diminishes property
value alone does not constitute a taking. In
Minnesota, however, a regulation that is designed to
benefit a government enterprise, such as an airport,
and results in a substantial diminution in value, may
be a taking. McShane v. City a/Faribault, 292
N.W.2d 253 (Minn. 1980) (airport safetyzoning
ordinance that limited development and caused a
substantial and measurable decline in market value
was a taking). When a regulation arbitrates between
competing uses, the court looks at whether the
regulation deprives the property of all reasonable
uses before determining that it is a taking. Concept
Properties, LLPv. City a/Minnetrista, 694 N.W.2d
804,823 (Minn. App. 2005) ("comprehensive
planning objective [is] to balance many public interests
and to promote the City's particular land-use goals
and rural values"), rev. denied (Minn. July 19,2005).

Development moratorium. Local governments have
authority to impose a moratorium on development in
order to protect the planning process. Minn. Stat. §§
394.34, 462.355, subd. 4. During the moratorium, a
property owner may have limited or no economically
viable use ofthe property. The U.S. Supreme Court
has held that under the federal constitution, a
temporary regulation that denies all economically
viable use ofproperty is not a per se taking~ The
Court applies the Penn Central factors to determine
if the regulation amounts to a compensable taking.
Tahoe-Sierra Preservation Council, Inc. v. Tahoe
Reg. Planning Agency, 535 U.S. 302 (2002);
Woodbury Place Partners v. City a/Woodbury, 492
N.W.2d 258 (Minn. App. 1992) (remanded for
determination ofwhether moratorium constituted a
taking under case-specific analysis ofPenn Central).

Exactions. An exaction is a government
requirement that a landowner dedicate land or a
property interest, such as an easement, as a
condition for granting a development permit. An
exaction may be found to be a taking unless the
government shows that there is an essential nexus
between a legitimate government interest and the
condition exacted. Assuming the nexus exists, there
must also be a "rough proportionality" between the
planned development and the required dedication.
"No precise mathematical calculation is required,
but the citymust make some sort of individualized
determination that the required dedication is related
both in nature and extent to the impact of the
proposed development." Dolan v. City a/Tigard,
512 U.S. 374, 391 (1994) (permit to expand a store
and parking lot conditioned on the dedication of a
portion of the property for a greenway pedestrian!
bicycle path held a taking); Nollan v. California
Coastal Comm 'n, 483 U.S. 825, 831-832 (1987)
(permit to build a larger residence on beachfront
property conditioned on dedication of an easement
for public to cross a strip ofproperty between
owner's seawall and the mean hide tide mark held a
taking); see also Collis v. City a/Bloomington, 310
Minn. 5,246 N.W.2d 19 (1976) (cited in Dolan);
Kottshade v. City a/Rochester, 357 N.W.2d 301,
307-308 (Minn. App. 1995) (citing Dolan analysis);
Minn. Stat. § 462.358, subds. 2b and 2c (ainended in
2004 to incorporate terms used in Dolan).

Removal ofnonconforming uses. The 2006
Legislature enacted a number of significant changes
to the statutes governing eminent domain in
Minnesota. See Minn. Laws 2006, ch. 214, effective
May 20,2006, with certain exceptions. One of the
changes requires a local government to compensate
the owner of a nonconforming use if the local
government requires its removal as a condition of
granting a permit, license,or other approval for a
use, structure, development, or activity. This
provision does not apply if the permit, license, or
approval is for construction that cannot be done
unless the nonconforming use is removed. Minn.
Stat. § 117.184.
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What is the state
grant program?

Who is eligiblefor
a state grant?

How much aid is
available through
the state grant?

Financial Aid for Higher Education:
Minnesota State Grant Program

Minnesota's state grant program provides financial aid to Minnesota undergraduates
to attend a public or private postsecondary institution located in Minnesota. The.
Office of Higher Education (Office) administers the state grant program.

Each term, students must apply for a state grant by the deadline of 30 days after the
start of the term. Eligible students are Minnesota residents who are high school
graduates or age 17 or older and able to meet the admission requirements of a
participating postsecondary institution. Students must demonstrate financial need and
must not be in default on student loans or in arrears for child support.

Minnesota residents must meet one ofthe residency criteria: have lived in the state for
one year; are dependents of a resident; have graduated from a Minnesota high school,
lived in the state while attending high school and are physically attending an eligible
institution; are members of the military on active service in Minnesota or their
spouses or dependents; have relocated to Minnesota due to a declared disaster that
interrupted their education, or are legal refugees residing in Minnesota.

Financial need is based on the student's ability to meet the cost of attending the
selected postsecondary institution according to the standard for federal financial aid
through the Pell grant program~

State law requires grant awards to be based on a shared responsibility for paying for
the recognized cost of attendance:

~ Students are responsible for 46 percent of the cost
~ The amount of the Pell Grant is deducted from the cost
~ The family's financial responsibility is determined through a federal needs

analysis (FAFSA)

The cost of attendance is equal to the amount of tuition and fees up to a cap set in law
plus an allowance, also set in law, for living and miscellaneous expenses (LME).For
academic year 2005-2006, the tuition maximums were $9,208 for four-year programs
and $6,567 for two-year programs. For 2006-2007, the maximums increase for four­
year programs to $9,438 and decrease for two-year programs to $6,436. The LME
allowance for two- and four-year programs is set at $5,350 per year. Surplus
appropriations for the 2006-2007 biennium triggered an increase in LME of $400 to
$5,570 for the 2006-2007 academic year, as required by law.

Except for private and ins~itutional scholarships, the state grant is the last contribution
to the cost of attendance. The average state grant for the 2004-2005 year was $1,695,
a decrease of 8.1 percent from the $1 ;845 average grant for 2003-2004.



Are part-time
students and
independent
students eligible?

How is the state
grant program
funded?

Are eligible
students entitled to
a state grant?

How do grants
compare to
enrollment at state
postsecondary
institutions?

Part-time students are eligible for a state grant based on the cost of attendance,
prorated for the number of credits the student is taking. Independent students
(generally students who are not dependents for tax purposes) are also eligible, but
are responsible for a larger share of the cost of attendance.

The legislature appropriates money from the general fund for the state grant program
based on an estimate by the Office of the cost to fully fund grant awards. State law
allows the Office to carry a balance from the first year of the biennium to the second
year and, if certain criteria are met, authorizes the transfer of money to and from other
financial aid programs. For the current biennium, the Office must use surplus
appropriations in the state grant program to increase the LME for 2006-2007.

Under state law, the state grant program is not an entitlement. The Office must award
grants based on available funding. If funding is insufficient to make full awards, the
Office is required, by law, to reduce all grants by adding a surcharge to the family
responsibility and increasing the student's responsibility by a percentage.

The graph below summarizes participation in the state grant program and compares it
to resident enrollment in fiscal year 2005 when state grant awards totaled $124
million in grants to 73,410 recipients. Of the 233,533 Minnesota undergraduate
students who attended participating public and private postsecondary institutions in
Minnesota, 31 percent received a state grant. More of the grant awards went to
students at private colleges and universities (29 percent) than other institutional types.
A large majority of students at private career schools receive grants (86 percent)
compared to other types of institutions. MnSCU two-year institutions account for
about 45 percent of total resident enrollment, but only 26 percent of the students
receive a state grant, accounting for 18 percent of the grant awards.

Distribution of State Grants and Minnesota Resident Enrollment by Institution Type
. Fiscal Year 2005

Percent of Total Grant Award Dollars Percent of Resident Undergraduate
Enrollment with a Grant

Percent of Minnesota Resident
Undergraduate Enrollment

Private Career· .11111115.7 Private Career· •••••••11/86.1 Private Career· 5.9

Private4-Year •••••••~28.7

UofM •••••121.9

MuSCU4-Year .11111115.9

MuSCU 2-Year .111111117.8

Private 4-Year 11I1111/35.2

U of M 11I111128.9

MuSCU 4-Year ••126.0

MuSCU 2-Year ••126.1

Private 4-Year .11114.3

UofM ••1114.3

MuSCU 4-Year .1111120.4

MuSCU2-Year ••••••••i1!l45.0

* Enrollment statistics include private career schools that participate in the state grant program.
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The Minnesota Estate Tax

Exemption Amount and Tax Rates

Exemption. The exemption amount is
$1,000,000 for individuals dying in 2006
and later.

Tax rates. The tax rates range from
5.6 percent to 16 percent. The top rate
applies to the amount of the taxable
estate over $10,040,000.

Because transfers to surviving spouses
are exempt, a $1 million exemption
allows a married couple with a joint net
worth of less than $2 million to avoid the
tax.

Minnesota imposes a tax on the estates of individuals who are residents of the
state when they die or who own real property in Minnesota when they die. The
tax is imposed under a graduated rate
schedule on the taxable estate. The
taxable estate is generally the fair
market value of the estate on the day the
decedent died, less deductions (e.g.,
transfers to a surviving spouse and
charitable bequests) and an exemption
amount. See the box to the right for the
exemption and rate amounts.

The rules under the estate tax are
determined largely by reference to the
rules under the similar federal estate
tax. For the 16 years ending
December 31, 2001, the Minnesota
estate tax was directly linked to the
federal tax as a "pickup" or "soak-up"
tax equal to the credit allowed under
federal estate tax for state death taxes. As a pickup tax, the Minnesota tax
Imposed no additional tax burden on estates. For each dollar of state tax paid,
federal tax was reduced by an equal amount. However, Congress repealed this
credit in 2001, so that it is completely eliminated for decedents dying after
December 31, 2004. In 2001, the legislature chose to continue imposing the
estate tax under the rules in effect before Congress repealed the credit. As a
result, the tax now is a stand-alone estate tax and imposes a real tax burden on
estates and their heirs.

The estate tax
equals a percentage
ofthe taxable estate

The Minnesota tax
evolved as a
creature ofthe
federal estate tax

Few estates pay
the tax; it is a
progressive source
ofrevenue

Fewer than 2 percent of estates pay the estate tax. The small number of estates
paying tax results from the exemption amount and the fact that amounts left to
surviving spouses are deductible. Decedents with taxable estates are, almost by
definition, some of the most affluent individuals in the state. Most evidence also
suggests that recipients of bequests from taxable estates also have above average
income and assets. Based on Minnesota Department of Revenue's Tax
Incidence Study, the tax is the most "progressive" source ofstate tax revenue.



Source: Department of Finance

$68.2
$127.7
$90.1
$72.7

$215.9

Estate Tax Revenues
FY 1998-2002

(millions)
2002
2003
2004
2005
2006

All revenues from the tax are deposited in the
general fund. The Department of Finance
(February 2006 forecast) estimates that the tax
raises about $90 million to $100 million per
fiscal year. See the box to the rightfor the last
five years ofactual collections. Revenues from
the tax are very volatile, since they depend on
the deaths of a few individuals. If one very
wealthy individual dies, collections can soar.
For example in August 2005, the Department
of Revenue received a check from one estate
for tax of $112 million (compared with estimated revenues for the whole year of
$86 million and total collections of $72.7 million in fiscal year 2005). In other
years, revenues may fall below estimates.

The estate tax
provides a modest,
but volatile, source
ofgeneralfund
revenue

Repeal ofthe
federal credit
creates an incentive
for high net worth
Minnesota residents
to move to another
state

The repeal of the federal credit creates an incentive for affluent, elderly
Minnesotans to consider changing their domiciles to a state without an estate
tax. When Minnesota imposed only a pickup tax, the federal treasury paid the
effective burden of the tax. As a result, Minnesota residents had no reason to
change their domiciles to another state to avoid the Minnesota tax. However, in
2001 Congress eliminated the credit. Repeal of the credit makes the state tax a
"real" tax that reduces the amount of money and other property that can be left
to heirs.

Affluent individuals may be willing to change their domiciles to avoid paying
potentially multimillion dollar state estate tax liabilities. The fact that many of
these individuals have second homes in states that will not have stand-alone
estate taxes increases their ease ofmoving. (Alabama, Florida, and Nevada, for
example, are prohibited by their state constitutions from imposing a state tax that
exceeds the federal credit; Texas has taken no action to impose an estate tax and
seems unlikely to do so.) If these individuals change their domiciles, they would
also avoid the state income tax, since most of these states (Florida, Nevada, and
Texas, again) do not have individual income taxes.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research shortsubject State Responses to 2001 Federal Estate Tax Changes, January 2005.
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Lisa Larson

Minnesota's K~12 Academic Standards and Assessments

The 2006 Legislature
added math and
science courses to
the state's required
academic standards

The 2003 Minnesota Legislature repealed the profile ofleaming portion of the
high school graduation rule for the 2003-04 school year and replaced it with'
required academic standards in five subject areas: language arts; mathematics;
science, including biology; social studies, including U. S. and world history,
geography, economics, government, and citizenship; and the arts. The 2004
Legislature adopted science and social studies standards for the 2005-2006 school
year and added locally developed health and physical education standard as a sixth
required subject area. The 2006 Legislature imposed additional math and science
course requIrements on the class of2015 and later. Public high school students
must comp!ete these standards to graduate. The federal No Child Left Behind Act
makes state academic standards in language arts, mathematics, and science
applicable to all public school students.

Students entering ninth grade must complete four language arts credits; three
mathematics credits that encompass algebra, geometry, statistics, and probability;
three science credits that include at least one biology credit and may include an
agriculture science credit; three and one-half social studies credits; one arts credit;
and at least seven elective course credits. In addition, students in the class of2015
or later mu'st complete an algebra I credit by the end ofeighth grade, and an algebra II
credit and a chemistry or physics credit before graduating. Districts may apply
state or locally developed academic standards for the arts. Districts decide whether
students meet course credit requirements by successfully completing an academic
yearof study or by demonstrating mastery of the applicable subject matter.

In addition to meeting course requirements, public school students also must
satisfy existing state basic skills requirements in reading, math, and writing in
order to graduate. A district must adopt the new graduation requirements no later 0

than the 2007-08 school year; a district that adopts the new graduation
requirements earlier must allow students who enter ninth grade by the 2003-2004
school year to graduate based on local requirements in effect when the students
became ninth graders.

Benchmarks specify
the academic

. knowledge and skills
used to implement
state academic
standards

\

The Commissioner of Education must supplement the required academic standards
with published grade-level benchmarks that specify the academic knowledge and
skills that schools must offer and students must achieve to satisfy the standards.
Benchmarks provide infonnation about the content of standards and are used to
develop tests. The commissioner must embed technology and infonnation literacy
standards.and implement a cycle in the 2006-07 through 2013-2014 school years
to review required academic standards, related benchmarks, and elective standards.

State assessments are As they become available, districts must use state assessments aligned with state-
aligned with state required academic standards in language arts, mathematics, and science to
academic standards measure student progress in achieving those standards and to detennine whether



Districts set local
elective standards

Legislature must
approve changes in
rules

Commissioner
annually identifies
high and low
performing schools

students have satisfied state basic skills requirements in reading, math, and
writing. The commissioner must not develop statewide assessments for social
studies and arts standards. An II-member assessment advisory committee reviews
statewide assessments before they are finalized.

Beginning in the 2005-06 school year, students in grades 3 through 8 and in high
school take annual language arts and mathematics assessments. Beginning in the
2007-08 school year, students take science assessments one time in the 3-5 and 6-9
grade spans, and a life sciences assessment in the 10-12 grade span. Districts
administer alternative assessments to students with disabilities or limited English
proficiency only when appropriate. The state and local districts must publicly
report student, school, district, and state assessment results. By the 2006-07 school
year, the commissioner must include in the assessment results a value-added
component that measures students' growth in achievement over time. Public
schools and districts may use students' assessment performance to promote or
retain students or as a percentage of students' final course grade, or may record the
performance on student transcripts.

Districts must establish local elective standards for and offer courses in vocational
and technical education, health and physical education, and world languages.
Districts use locally selected assessments to determine whether students achieve
these standards. Districts must periodically review the local standards.

The Education Commissioner adopted rules for standards in language arts,
,mathematics, science, social studies, and arts. The commissioner cannot amend or
repeal these rules nor adopt new rules without specific legislative authorization.

The commissioner must use objective criteria, including student performance,
school safetY,staff characteristics, and by the 2006-07 school year, a value-added
component, to identify four to six designations ofhigh and low performing public
schools. Annually, by September 1, the commissioner must post performance
report cards that show each school's designation on the Education Department's
web site. A school or district may appeal its designation to the commissioner; the
commissioner's decision to uphold or deny an appeal is fmal. For 2006 only, the
department must release all school performance report cards and AYP data to the
public by September 1, unless a school or district submits an appeal to the
department by August 31.

Timeline for Implementing New Standards
\

School Year 2003-2004 2004-2005 2005-2006 2006-2007 2007-2008

Requirements Profile oflearning Students Students in grades 3-8 Commissioner must include a All high school
repealed and replaced entering ninth and high school must value-added component when students are subject to
with standards in six grade must take annual language designating high and low new graduation
subjects; schools' complete credit arts and math performing schools; requirements; students
report cards and high requirements in assessments; science and commissioner must review must take science
or low performing six subjects in social studies standards required standards, related assessments in grade
designations are order to must be implemented for benchmarks, and elective spans 3-5 and 6-9, life
posted on web graduate all students standards through 2013-2014 sciences assessment in

grade span 10-12
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What are the taxes?

Who is subject to
the tax?

What entities are
exemptfrom the
tax?

What is the tax
base?

MinnesotaCare Provider Taxes·

Minnesota imposes a series of gross revenue taxes on various types of providers
of health care goods and services. Revenues collected under these taxes are
used to pay for the MinnesotaCare program, which provides state-subsidized
health care coverage for low-income individuals.

Provider taxes apply to the following:

• "Health care providers," which include licensed health care
professionals such as physicians, dentists, nurses, psychologists,
physical therapists, chiropractors, and so forth; nonlicensed individuals
who provide services that qualify for reimbursement under
Minnesota's Medicaid program; staff model health plan companies (a
type of HMO where services are provided by employees); ambulance
services; and opticians

• Hospitals
• Surgical centers
• Wholesale drug distributors

MinnesotaCare provider taxes do not apply to the following:

• Nursing homes and various other residential care facilities, such as
board and care homes, adult foster homes, boarding care homes, and
adult day care centers

• Home health agencies
• Providers of personal care services
• Providers of private duty nursing services
• An entity that employs health care providers to service only their

employees
• An educational institution that provides services to its students, if it

does not charge students a fee for extended coverage

The taxes apply to the gross revenues derived from "patient services," which are
defined to include most services provided to patients, such as diagnostic and
therapeutic services, bed and board, and so forth. Various types of services <:tre
explicitly excluded from patient services, including the following:

• Services provided t9 nursing homes and in connection with assisted
living and congregate housing programs

• Exams for insurance, employment, litigation, and so forth
• Certain mental health services
• Hospice services
• Various types of residential services for the mentally retarded



What is the tax
rate?

What exemptions
apply?

Are credits allowed?

How is the 'tax
paid?

. How are drugs
taxed?

How much revenue
is collectedfrom the
taxes?

Are these the only
sources ofrevenue
for the health care

. access fund?

The tax rate is 2 percent A temporary 1.5 percent rate applied from 1998
through 2002.

Exemptions from th~ tax apply to the following payments:

• For services provided under Medicare
• For home health care services
• Those made from the state chemical dependency fund
• Those funded by charitable donations
• Those under programs funding research on human subjects in

compliance with federal law
• Those made by the federal employee and military (Tricare) health

insurance plans that cover federal workers and military personnel and
retirees

• Those from providers that were already subject to the tax

Credits are allowed for taxes paid to other states and for qualifying research
expenditures. The research credit is subject to an annual cap of $2.5 million; the
commissioner of revenue sets the credit rate to equal the cap amount.

Providers make quarterly estimated payments; an annual return is filed to
reconcile the estimated payments with the final liability for the tax year. All
payments and returns are required to be filed and made electronically. The
Department of Revenue administers the tax. Providers may itemize the tax on
patient bills.

Legend drugs (i.e., those requiring prescriptions under FDA regulation) are
taxed under a wholesale drug tax. This tax is levied on wholesale drug
distributors. It applies at a 2 percent rate to the wholesale price. A use tax
applies when drugs are purchased for resale in Minnesota from an out-of-state
seller who does not have nexus and, thus, cannot be required to pay the tax.

In February 2006, the Department of Finance estimated that the MinnesotaCare
provider taxes will yield $424 million inrevenues for the Health Care Access
fund in fiscal year 2007. Because health costs are rising at a rapid rate and
because consumption of health services is also increasing steadily, these
revenues are likely to rise at a faster rate than most, if not all, of the other state
tax sources.

No, the revenues from applying the insurance premiums tax to health
maintenance organizations (HMOs) and nonprofit health services corporations
(such as Blue Cross) are deposited in the health care access fund and used to pay
for MinnesotaCare. In addition, other revenues from the program, such as
premium payments by participants, go to the fund.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057.
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Eminent Domain: Just Compensation

The state andfederal constitutions require payment
ofjust compensation when private property is taken
for public use. U.S. Const. 5th Amend.; Minn. Const.
art. 1, § 13. The just compensation requirement "was
designed to bar Government from forcing some
people alone to bear public burdens which, in all
fairness and justice, should be borne by the public as
a whole." Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40,
49,80 S. Ct. 1563, 1569 (1960).

Just compensation is determined by looking at the
fair market value of the property taken as of the time
the commissioners make the award. City ofSt. Louis
Parkv. Almot Co., 313 N.W.2d 606,610 (Minn.
1981) (en bane). Fair market value is what a person
\~ho is willing, but not required, to buy the property
would pay a seller, who is willing, but not required,
to sell it, taking into consideration the highest and
best use to which the property can be put. County of
Ramsey v. Miller, 316 N.W.2d 917, 919 (Minn.
1982). Ifonly part of a property is taken, the owner
must be compensated for the diminution in value to
the remainder as well as the value of the part taken.
The compensation is the difference between the fair
market value of the entire property immediately
before the taking and the fair market value of the
remainder afterwards. State v. Strom, 493 N.W.2d
554,558-559 (Minn. 1992)..

Minnesota courts recognize four methods to
determine fair market value. Minnesota courts have
recognized four ways to calculate the fair market
value (FMV) ofproperty in takings cases:
comparable sales, income capitalization,
reproduction cost, and development cost. County of
Ramsey v. Miller, 316 N.W.2d 917,919,922 (Minn..
1982). These methods are described in various cases
and in The Dictionary ofReal Estate Appraisal, 4th

/ edition (Appraisal Institute 2002) as follows:

Comparable sales is the preferred method of
determining FMV and is used to v.alue improved
properties, vacant land, or land considered vacant.
It is determined by comparing the property to
similar properties that have been sold recently and
then applying appropriate units of comparison to
adjust the sale prices.

Income capitalization is used for determining the
FMV of an income-producing property. This
method calculates the present value of the future
revenues for the useful life of the business, based on
past performance.

Reproduction costs less depreciation estimates the
current cost to construct a reproduction of (or
replacement for) the existing structure, deducting
depreciation from the total cost, and adding the
estimated land value.

Developmenicost is the price a developer-purchaser
would be warranted in paying for the land, given the
cost ofdevelopment and the probable proceeds of
selling it. In order to use this method, the land must
be ripe for development, the owner must reasonably
expect to be able to secure zoning and required
permits to develop the land, and the development
cannot take place at too remote a time.

These techniques are neither conclusive nor
exclusive but are factors to consider in arriving at
FMV. State v. Harbor City Oil Co., 486 N.W.2d
455,456 (Minn. App. 1992). "Any competent
evidence may be considered if it legitimately bears
upon the market value." State v. Strom, 493 N.W.2d
554,559 (Minn. 1992) (quoting County ofRamsey,
316 N.W.2d at 919).

There are four aspects to determining the highest
and best use. Highest and best use is defined as the



most profitable use for which the property is
adaptable. A real estate appraiser will consider four
criteria: legal permissibility, physical possibility,
financial feasibility, and maximum productivity. The
Dictionary ofReal Estate Appraisal, 4th edition
(Appraisal Institute 2002), page 135~ The owner's
actual use, or intentions for use, is not relevant to
determining the highest and best use. State v.
Gannons, 275 Minn. 14, 18-19, 145 N.W.2d321,
326 (1966).

The 2006 Legislature established a new minimum
compensation. Under the 2006 provision,
compensation must allow the owner to purchase a
comparable property in the community. A
condemning authority cannot require an owner to
accept as compensation a substitute property or
return ofproperty taken. This does not apply to .
takings by public service corporations, which include
utilities, airports, and pipelines. Minn. Stat. §§
117.187, 117.188, 1~7.189.

Attorneyfees are required, permitted, orprohibited
in specified takings cases. The court must award an
owner attorney fees and other costs of litigation if the
final compensation award is 40 percent or more than
the condemning authority's last written offer made
before the condemnation petition was filed or if the
court determines that the taking is not for a public
use or is unlawful. The court may award attorney fees
and other fees and costs if the final award is at least
20 percent, but not more than 40 percent, greater than
the last written offer. The court may not award
attorney fees if the judgment or aWard is not more
than $25,000. The above do not apply to takings by
public service corporations. Minn. Stat. §§ 117.031,
117.189. The condemning authority may be granted
attorney fees if the owner fails to deliver possession
of the real estate. Minn. Stat. § 117.043, subd. 2. The
court may award reasonable attorney fees to a
property owner (1) that brings an inverse
condemnation case, and (2) if an eminent domain
case is dismissed. Minn. Stat. §§ 117.045, 117.195,
subd. 2. The, court must award reasonable attorney

fees to the property owner who has to bring an
action against a commissioner who fails to file a
report in eminent domain proceedings if
proceedings are set aside as to that owner. Minn.
Stat. § 117.105, subd. 2.

Appraisal costs are provided to property owners.
An acquiring authority must reimburse an owner up
to $1,500 for an appraisal of a single-family or two­
family residential property, or any taking under
$10,000. The cap is $5,000 for other types of
property. This does not apply to takings by public
service corporations. Minn. Stat. §§ 117.036,
117.189. In an appeal, the court may award the
property owner reasonable expert witness and
appraisal fees. The condemning authority cannot be
awarded expert witness fees, costs, or
disbursements. Minn. Stat. § 117.175, subd. 2.

A business may be compensatedfor loss ofa going
concern. A business owner must be compensated
for loss of a going concern related to the taking of
real property unless the condemning authority
shows that the loss is not due to the taking,
reasonable measures could have avoided the loss, or
.that it will duplicate other compensation awarded. A
business owner must be compensated for a
permanent loss of a majority of the businesses'
driveway access that results in revenue losses. Minn.
Stat. §117.186.

Relocation assistance is also provided. In addition
to the property owner receiving compensation for
the value of the property taken, the owner and
tenants may receive relocation assistance. An
acquiring authority must pay relocation benefits, as
defined and regulated by federal law, except that an
acquiring authority must reimburse a displaced
business for actual relocation expenses up to
$50,000. Minn. Stat. §§ 117.50 to 117.56 (referring
to 42 U.S.c. § 4601, et seq., and related regulations,
49 C.F.R. § 24.1, etseq.).

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah Dyson at 651-296-8291. See also the House·
Research publications Eminent Domain: Public Use, August 2006, and Eminent Domain: Regulatory
Takings, August 2006.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnesota Speed Limits

Minnesota law sets speed limits on state highways and local roads, establishes penalties, and provides
authority for the Department ofTransportation (MnDOT) and local governments to change the limit
in certain situations (see Minnesota Statutes, section 169.14).

Basic requirements
and speed limits

Speed zones adjust
speed limits

Local authority is
limited

Regulation of speeding is part ofMinnesota's traffic laws. The law requires
that: "No person shall drive a vehicle on a highway at a speed greater than is
reasonable and prudent under the conditions .... In every event speed shall be
so restricted as may be necessary to avoid colliding with any person, vehicle, or
other conveyance on or entering the highway." Minn. Stat. § 169.14, subd. 1.

Minnesota law also sets speed limits for different types ofroadways, which can
be adjusted under certain circumstances. The speed limit is 30 m.p.h. for most
local streets and highways, 65 or 70 m.p.h. fOf interstate highways (depending
on whether it is, respectively, within or outside an urbanized area of 50,000 or
more), and 55 or 65 m.p.h. on other types ofhighways.

MnDOT has the authority to establish speed zones in which the speed limit is
higher or lower than the limits set in law. Speed zones are established after
MnDOT conducts an engineering and traffic investigation that includes a
segment's design, physical characteristics, traffic volume, accident history, and
actual speeds. Generally, MnDOT believes that a speed limit at or near the 85th

percentile-the speed at or below which 85 percent ofvehicles are traveling-is
most likely to be the safest maximum limit. Speed limits in speed zones are
effective as soon as signs are erected.

Cities, counties, and towns have limited authority over speed limits, even on
their own streets and highways. A local road authority may ask MnDOT to
conduct an engineering and traffic investigation into whether a speed zone could
be created for a portion of a local road, but MnDOT makes the final
determination of the speed limit on that segtrient. There are a few exceptions to
this general rule:

~ On a segment of road up to a half-mile long that is classified as a local
street (referred to in statute as a residential roadway), a local road
authority may reduce the speed limit from 30 to 25 m.p.h.

~ IfMnDOT has established a speed zone for a city street or town road in
an urban district, the local road authority can lower the limit to 30 m.p.h.
An "urban district" is any segment of a street or highway that is built up
with structures less than 100 feet apart, for a distance of at least a
quarter-mile. Minn. Stat. § 169.01, subd. 59.

~ In school zones, defined as a segment of street or highway that abuts
school grounds where children have access to the roadway or where a
school crossing is established, 11 local road authority may prescribe a



Penalties for
speeding violations

Speeding violations
on a driver's record

lower speed limit that is not less than 15 m.p.h., or more than 30 m.p.h.
below the surrounding limit.

Subject to certain state requirements, lower speed limits can also be set
on park roads and in alleys.

Both MnDOT and local road authorities can set speed limits within their own
highway work zones, which are effective while highway workers are on the job.
A work zone speed limit cannot be less than 20 m.p.h. or reduce the speed limit
by more than 15 m.p.h. The maximum work zone speed limit is 55 m.p.h. on
divided highways and 40 m.p.h. on other highways.

Speeding is generally a petty misdemeanor punishable by a fine ofup to $300
with no prison sentence, but other penalties can apply. An additional surcharge
that doubles the amount of the fine is applied if the violation occurs in a work
zone or school zone, or ifit involves speeds of20 m.p.h. or more above the
posted limit. If a speedingviolation is committed in a manner that endangers
persons or property, it can be charged as a misdemeanor with maximum
penalties ofa $1,000 fine and 90 days imprisonment. A driver's license will be
suspended for six months'for driving over 100 m.p.h.

Minnesota does not use a point system, which assigns point values to different
traffic violations and then requires driver's license suspension or revocation
once a driver accumulates a minimum number ofpoints within a time period,
such as a year or 18 months. However, a third petty misdemeanor in a year can
be charged as a misdemeanor, and a third misdemeanor in a year can result in a
driver's license revocation.

Speed limits within cities are absolute, meaning that any speed in excess of them
is automatically illegal. Elsewhere, any speed in excess of the limit is "prima
facie evidence" that the speed was illegal. This means that there is a
presumption that the excess speed is illegal but the presumption may be rebutted
by other evidence.

A law first enacted in 1986 known as the "Dimler amendment" (after its author,
former Rep. Chuck Dimler) governs which speeding violations are recorded on
a motorist's driving record. The Department ofPublic Safety maintains the
record. .Speeding violations are not placed on the driving record if:

~ The driver was going no more than·10 m.p.h. above the speed limit in a
55 m.p.h. zone; or

~ The driver was going no more than 5 m.p.h. above the speed limit ina 60
m.p.h. zone.

. There is no prohibition on recording speeding violations when the speed limit is
65 or 70 m.p.h. The Dimler amendment provisions do not apply if the speeding
violation occurred in a commercial motor vehicle, or if the driver holds a
commercial driver's license (class A, B, or C). Minn. Stat. § 171.12.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Matt Burress at 651-296-5045.
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Eminent Domain: Public Use

The state andfederal constitutions require a taking
to be for a public use. Under both the state and
federal constitutions, the power of eminent domain
may only be used to acquire property for "public
lise." The Takings Clause of the Fifth Amendment of
the U.S. Constitution provides that private property
must not be taken for public use without just
compensation. The Minnesota Constitution provides
in article 1, section 13, "Private property shall not be
taken, destroyed or damaged for public use without
just compensation therefore, first paid or secured."

The U.S. Supreme Court has allowed a broad
definition ofpublic use for federal constitutional
purposes and generally deferred to legislative .
decisions on what is a public use. What is included
in the scope of "public use" has been controversial.
In the summer of2005, the U.S. Supreme Court,
consistent with its prior decisions, held that the use of
eminent domain to further redevelopment and
increase tax revenues for an economically distressed
area that was not blighted met the "public use"
requirement of the federal constitution. Kelo v. City
ofNew London, 545 U.S. 469, 125 S. Ct. 2655
(2005). The Minnesota Supreme Court had similarly
upheld the use of eminent domain for economic
development. E.g., City ojDuluth v. State, 390
N.W.2d 757, 762-764 (Minn. 1986) (citing City oj
Minneapolis v. Wurtele, 291 N.W.2d 386 (Minn.
1980)).

The U.S. Supreme Court also stated, however, that
legislatures could enact more stringent limits on the
use of eminent domain. "We emphasize that nothing
in our opinion precludes any State from placing
further restrictions on its exercise of the takings
power." Kelo, 125 S. Ct. at 2668.

Minnesota was among the states that enacted new
laws governing "public use" and otherwise limited

the exercise ofeminent domain. Under the law
passed by the 2006 Legislature, private property
may not be taken for economic development alone.
Minn. Stat. §§ 117.012, subd. 2, 117.025, subd. 11,
para. (b) (enacted in Minn. Laws 2006, ch. 214,
generally effective May 20, 2006).

The new law also limits takings related to
redevelopment. [In addition, the law makes changes
intended to protect property owners, including
changes in procedures, providing for attorney fees in
certain instances, and providing for or increasing
other elements of compensation.]

The substantive limitations on public use in the new
law are largely found in the definitions. Minn. Stat.
(2006) § 117.025. " 'Public use' or 'public purpose'
means, exclusively:

(1) the possession, occupation, ownership, and
enjoyment of the land by the general public, or
by public agencies;

(2) the creation or functioning of a public service
corporation; or

(3) mitigation of a blighted area, remediation of
an environmentally contaminated area, reduction
of abandoned property, or removal of a public
nuisance."

A public service corporation is a public utility, gas,
electric, telephone, or cable communications
company, and other listed utilities, and also a
municipality or public corporation when operating
an airport, a common carrier, a watershed district, or
a drainage authority, and an entity operating a
regional distribution center within an international
economic development zone.



Abandonedproperty i~ property that has not been
legally occupied or used for any commercial or
residential purpose for at least one year, that has not
been maintained, and for which taxes have not been
paid for at least two years.

Blighted area means an area that is in urban use and
where more than 50 percent of the buildings are
structurally substandard. A building is structurally
substandard if it was inspected and cited for code
violations that have not been fixed after two notices
and for which it would cost more than 50 percent of
the taxable market value of the building to fix.

An area is environmentally contaminated if more
than 50 percent of the parcels are contaminated and
for which the estimated costs of investigation,
monitoring, testing, and clean-up are more than the
estimated market value of the parcel, or a court has
issued a clean-up order and the owner has not
complied within a reasonable time.

A public nuisance for eminent domain purposes
arises by an intentional act or failure to perform a
legal duty that: (1) maintains or permits a condition
that unreasonably annoys, injures, or endangers the
safety, health, morals, comfort, or repose of any
considerable number of members of the public; (2)
interferes with, obstructs, or renders dangerous for
passage, any public highway or right of way, or
waters used by the public; or (3) is declared by law to
be a public nuisance and for which no sentence is
specifically provided.

The new law trumps other existing provisions in
statute that conflict with it. The new law does not
expressly repeal conflicting provisions in statute that
authorize takings for economic development alone
or that do not impose the same standards for
determining blight or contamination. However, the
new law expressly preempts any charter provision,
ordinance, statute, or special law. Under the statutes
governing statutory interpretation, a general
provision enacted at a later session trumps
previously enacted provisions. In addition, "when
the provisions of two or more laws passed at
different sessions of the legislature are
irreconcilable, the law latest in date of final
enactment shall prevail." Minn. Stat. § 645.26,
subds. 1,4.

There are exceptions for Tax Increment Financing
(TIF) projects. The new definition ofpublic use or
public purpose does not apply to eminent domain
actions for qualifying TIF projects and abatements.
For infornlation on what constitutes a qualifying TIF
project or abatement, see Laws 2006, chapter 214,
section 22.

Other states have enacted eminent domain
legislation in response to the Kelo decision. As of
July 2006, at least 27 other states had enacted
legislation to limit the use of eminent domain.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah Dyson at 651-296-8291. See also the House
Research publications Eminent Domain: Just Compensation, August 2006; and Eminent Domain:
Regulatory Takings, August 2006.
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When is child
support ordered?

What does child
support include?

Who pays child
support, and who
receives it?

How is the child
support amount
calculated?

Child Support: Basic Questions

If a married couple with minor children are divorced or obtain a legal separation,
a court must order one or both parents to pay child support. If a child's parents
are not married, generally paternity must be established before a court will order
child support. Paternity cart be established by court order or by the parents
voluntarily executing a document called the Recognition ofParentage.

Child support includes, at a minimum, basic support, which is an amount
intended to feed, clothe, and shelter the child; medical support; and work-or
education-related child care costs. Child support also may include support arrears
or reimbursement ofpublic assistance payments made on behalf of the child.

"Obligor" is the legal term for the parent who pays money to the other parent or
anyone else for the child's support. "Obligee" is the parent or other individual or
entity who receives money on behalf of a child. Usually the obligee is the parent
with whom the child lives, and the obligor is the other parent. But sometimes
parents have joint custody," each parent has custody of one or more of the couple's
children, or the child is not in either parent's custody.

For actions or motions filed after January 1, 2007, the basic support obligation
will be calculated based on the gross income ofboth parents. Gross income
includes any form ofperiodic payment. Excluded from gross income are child
support payments received by a party, public assistance, and in specific
circumstances, overtime pay. Gross income does not include the income of an
obligee's or obligor's spouse.

A deduction from gross income is allowed when a nonjoint child resides in·a
parent's household, and the parent is not obligated to pay child support. The
resulting amount is the parental income for child support.

After each party's parental income for child support is determined, the amounts
are cOIIlbined. The court must compare the total to the child support guidelines in
statute. Each parent is responsible for the percentage of the basic support
obligation represented by his or her percentage share of the combined parental
income for child support. The obligor is allowed a parenting expense adjustment,
based on the percentage of parenting time granted by the court.

After determining the support amount under the statutory guidelines, the court
must consider several statutory criteria that allow it to depart from the guidelines
amount. These criteria include theparehts' earnings, income, resources, and
debts, the child's needs, the child's living standard before the dissolution, and
which parent receives the dependent income tax exemption. The court may
reduce support payments for a low-income obligor.

Support orders entered priOl'to January 1, 2007, cannot be modified using the



new guidelines until January 1, 2008, except under specific circumstances.

What are the roles of Federal Government. Minnesota Statutes have long provided for child support
federal, state, and in cases where parents divorce or have never married. In 1975 the federal
local governments government also became involved in this issue. Congress enacted laws aimed at
and the judiciary in establishing uniformity across states and setting minimum standards in state child
setting child support? support enforcement systems. The goal was to reduce the demand for public

assistance by more effectively enforcing child support orders. The federal
government provides funding to states with child support systems that meet
certain federal requirements.

How is support
enforced ifpayments
are not made?

State Government. The legislature sets child support policy in Minnesota. State
policy is greatly influenced by the federal requirements that areprerequisites to
receiving federal welfare and child support funds. However, the federal
requirements are often general in nature, leaving the details up to the legislature.

The Department ofHuman Services (DHS) is the primary executive branch
agency responsible for overseeing Minnesota's child support system. The
agency:

~ provides training and assistance to the counties;
operates Minnesota's centralized child support payment center; .

~ runs the statewide computer systems and maintains statewide dl}ta on child
support;

~ manages and disburses federal and state child support funding;· and
~ provides overall guidance for Minnesota's child support system.

Counties. Counties do a lot of the hands-on work in Minnesota's child support
system. Counties deal directly with the families involved. Child support services
are typically located within the county human services or social services
department. The caseworkers that work on child support cases are called child
support officers (CSOs). They work closely with the county attorney, who
provides legal advice and represents the county (not the child or parents) in child
support actions.

Judicial Branch. The judicial branch interprets and applies the child·support
laws in individual cases. .

The state has several mechanisms in place to enforce child support, including
parent locator services; the work reporting system; income withholding;
occupational license sanction; driver's license suspension and motor vehicle title
liens; recreational license suspension; civil judgments, real property liens, and
liens against financial accounts; creditor's remedies; contempt of court; reports to
credit agencies; intercepting tax refunds; denying passports; seek employment
orders; and criminal charges. .

For more information: Anyone affected by a child support order can call his or her county child support
office or the automated DHS Child Support Help Line at 651-296-2542 or 1-800-657-3954. See also the
DHS child support web site at www.dhs.state.mn.us/ECS/ChildSupport/Default.htm. See the House
Research Department publication Minnesota's Child Support Laws: An Overview for more information
about the law.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What are State-
.Operated Services
(SOS)?

What are SOS
appropriated
services?

State-Operated Services

State-Operated Services (SOS) are a variety ofhealth care services administered
by the Department ofHuman Services (DHS) serving people with mental illness
(MI), developmental disabilities (DD), chemical dependency (CD), acquired brain
injury, and people committed to the Commissioner ofHuman Services by the
courts as mentally ill and dangerous (MI&D), sexual psychopathic personalities
(SPP), and sexually dangerous persons (SDP). SOS provides services for clients
at a variety ofcampus and community-based sites throughout the state. Services
are organized under two categories of funding: "appropriated services" and
"enterprise services."

SOS appropriated services are those the legislature finances through a state
appropriation. Services include inpatient arid community-based services for adults
with mental illness and specialized treatment services for individuals committed to
the Commissioner ofHuman Services.

SOS appropriated services provide:

~ Services for adult mental health. SOS provides inpatient psychiatric
services to adults at community-based behavioral hospitals located in
Alexandria, Annandale, Baxter, Bemidji, Cold Spring, Fergus Falls,
Rochester, St. Peter, and Wadena. In addition, services continue to be
provided at regional treatment center (RTC) campuses in Anoka, Brainerd,
Fergus Falls, and Willmar. These services are delivered in partnership with
counties and community service providers.

~ Services for persons committed as Mentally III and Dangerous (MI&D).
SOS operates the Minnesota Security Hospital (MSH) in St. Peter, a 245­
bed secure treatment facility, that provides multidisciplinary treatment for
adults and adolescents admitted under judicial and other lawful orders for
assessment and treatment ofmajor mental disorders. MSH also operates a
58-bed transition program providing treatment to increase skills necessary
for a safe return to the community. In addition, MSH operates a 50-bed
forensic nursing facility for persons in need ofnursing home care, and who
are committed as mentally ill and dangerous, sexual psychopathic
personalities, sexually dangerous persons, or who are on medical release
from the Department of Corrections.

~ Services for persons committed as a Sexual Psychopathic Personality or
Sexually Dangerous Person. SOS operates the Minnesota Sex Offender
Program (MSOP) with 218 beds in St. Peter and 150 beds in Moose Lake.
The majority ofpersons are civilly committed to the program after
completing a criminal sentence in the Department of Corrections. Services
are in the process ofbeing transitioned from the St. Peter campus to a new
facility on the Moose Lake campus.



HowareSOS
appropriated
services funded?

What are SOS
enterprise
services?

~ Services for adults committed as developmentally disabled who pose a
risk to public safety. SOS operates the Minnesota Extended Treatment
Options (METO) in Cambridge, a 48-bed facility specializing in treatment
to change client behavior and to identify support services that will permit
clients to safely return to the community.

To assure the availability of services for clients in need, SOS appropriated
services are funded prospectively through a general fund appropriation. DHS also
seeks reimbursement for these services from Medicare, Medical Assistance,
private insurance, clients' personal funds, and other revenue sources as available.

SOS enterprise services provide services to people with disabilities while
operating in the marketplace with other providers. These services are funded
solely through revenues collected from a variety ofthird-party payment sources.

Enterprise services provide the following:

~ Chemical Addiction Recovery Enterprise (CARE). CARE provides
. inpatient and outpatient treatment to persons who are chemically dependent

and abuse substances. CARE operates these programs in Anoka, Brainerd,
Carlton, Fergus Falls, St. Peter, and Willmar.

~ Minnesota State-Operated Community Services (MSOCS).

• Residential services for individuals with developmental
disabilities or acquired brain injury. MSOCS provides
residential support services to people with disabilities in state­
owned or state-leased homes, licensed foster care settings, or in the
person's. own home.

• Day training and habilitation (DT&H) services for individuals
with developmental disabilities or acquired brain injury.
DT&H programs provide vocational support services to persons
through a licensed work site or supported work site with job
coaches.

~ Rehabilitation services for individuals with acquired brain injury~

Minnesota Neurorehabilitation Services (MNS) in Brainerd provides
outreach and intensive rehabilitative services to individuals with acquired
brain injuries who have challenging behaviors. MNS serves the entire state.

~ Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health Services (CABHS). CABHS
provides an array of services ranging from in-home crisis intervention to

. hospital-level care in Willmar and Brainerd.

How are SOS SOS enterprise activities are funded solely through revenues collected from a
enterprise services variety of third-party payment sources, including private health insurance,
funded? . Medical Assistance, counties, and other revenue sources available to clients.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lynn Aves at 651-296-8079.
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Single Sales Apportionment of
Corporate Franchise Tax

Tax year Sales Property Payroll
2007 78% 11.0% 11.0%
2008 81% 9.5% 9.5%
2009 84% 8.0% - 8.0%
2010 87% 6.5% 6.5%
2011 90% 5.0% 5.0%
2012 93% 3.5% 3.5%
2013 96% 2.0% 2.0%
2014 100% 0.0% 0.0%

Apportionment is a
key feature of
corporate taxes

Minnesota is
phasing in single
sales apportionment

Effects vary by type
ofbusiness

Rationale for single
sales
apportionment:
improve
competitiveness

Apportionment formulas are important features of state corporate income taxes.
They determine how much of a business's income is taxable and affect the
incidence and competitiveness of the tax. Minnesota apportions income from
sales, payroll, and property to determine corporate franchise tax.

In the 2005 legislative session, Minnesota began phasing in single sales
apportionment under its corporate franchise tax; the phase-in will occur over
eight years, starting in tax year 2007.
Since tax year 2001, Minnesota has
used a three-factor, weighted formula
(75 percent sales, 12.5 percent
payroll, and 12.5 percent property).
The table to the right shows the
phase-in schedule for the transition to
single sales apportionment.

The effects of adopting single sales apportionment vary by business. The crucial
variables are the business's Minnesota apportionment factors:

• The taxes of businesses with all of their property, payroll, and sales in
Minnesota will be unaffected.

• Minnesota businesses whose Minnesota sales factor is lower than the
average of their Minnesota property and payroll factors will receive a tax
cut. The larger the disparity, the bigger the benefit. A classic example
would be a business that has most of its operations (headquarters, plants, and
so forth) in Minnesota, but makes most of its sales outside ofMinnesota.

• Businesses with higher Minnesota sales factors than their average Minnesota
property and payroll factors will have tax increases. The classic example is
a national consumer products company with few facilities in Minnesota.

The principal rationale for single sales apportionment is an economic
development argument: it makes Minnesota more competitive in attracting
investment in plant and equipment. Sales are determined by the buyer's
location. All other things being equal, increasing non-Minnesota sales will
reduce the amount of Minnesota taxable income, since more incomewill be
attributed to or apportioned outside ofMinnesota. Thus, increasing the weight
for the sales factor creates an incentive for companies to invest in Minnesota
property or to hire more employees (or reduces the tax's disincentive to do so) to
sell products outside of Minnesota. Empirical studies have found some support
for the idea that single sales apportionment encourages in-state investment.



Policy concerns
with single sales
apportionment:
equity and tax
theory

Cost is about $60
million per year

Trend in other
states to heavier
sales weighting

Opponents of single sales apportionment argue that it shifts the burden of the tax
from capital (the property factor) to consumption, reducing the progressivity of
the tax. Some also question as an empirical matter whether it has much of the
desired effects on competitiveness. Tax theorists also argue that if the corporate
tax is to be a benefits tax (i.e., based on the business's use of government
services) or if it is to be based on production of income, apportionment should
take into account where the business's property and employees are located.
These factors are important contributors both to the production of income and
the consumption of government services.

Adopting single sales apportionment will reduce overall state revenues. A
March 2005 estimate by the Department ofRevenue showed an annual tax
reduction of about $50 million per year (based on the February 2005 forecast).
Increases in the underlying corporate tax revenues since 2005 likely raise this
cost by 20 percent or so, to about $60 million.

The U.S. Supreme Court upheld single sales apportionment in 1978. Since that
decision, states have increasingly shifted their apportionment formulas to more
heavily weighted sales. Effective for tax year 2008, 12 states are scheduled to
use single sales as their apportionment formula for manufacturers. This is up
from seven states for tax year2005. Many ofMinnesota's neighboring states
use single sales apportionment: Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, Nebraska, and
Wisconsin (effective tax year 2008). Michigan weights sales at 90 percent. The
map below shows the apportionment formulas for manufacturers as of tax year
2008.

Apportic>nment of Corporate Income
Applicable to Manufacturers

c::=J No tax
Equal weights

".,. Double weighted sales
Sales weight> 59% and $. 90%

SOuh;e:Federalion of Tax Administrators andCCH. _ Single sales

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research publication Apportionment ofCorporate Franchise Tax (March 2006).
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Comparing High School Graduation and
College Admission Requirements

The quality and level of high school course work and instruction and their level of alignment with college
admission requirements determine how well prepared high school graduates are to succeed in college. States
are uniquely positioned to try to improve students' transition between high school and college by
successfully aligning K-12 standards and post-secondary expectations, and thereby reducing college
remediation rates and increasing college completion rates. Beginning in 2003, the Minnesota Legislature first
adopted and then subsequently amended required and elective K-12 academic standards and coursework.
The following table compares Minnesota's current and future high school graduation requirements and
current admission requirements at the state's public colleges and universities.

Minnesota's Current and Future High School Graduation and
C t C II Ad" R turren 0 ege mISSIOn eqUlremen S

K-12 Graduation Standards* K-12 Graduation Standards for Four-year College
for students beginning 9th grade in students beginning 9th grade inthe Admission Requirements
the 2004-2005 school year or later 2011-2012 school year or later 2006-07

}
Language 4 language arts credits No additional requirements 4 years high school English,

Arts including
~ writing
~ literature

Mathematics 3 mathematics credits, including . Algebra I or equivalent by the end of 3 years high school math,
~ algebra 8th grade, and 3 mathematics credits, including
~ geometry including ~ elementary algebra
~ statistics and probability ~ 1 geometry ~ intermediate algebra

~ 1 statistics and probability, and ~ geometry
~ 1 algebra II credit or equivalent

Science 3 science credits, including 3 science credits, including 3 years high school science,
~ 1 biology ~ 1 biology and including:

~ 1 chemistry or physics credit ~ biological·science.
~ An agriculture science credit may ~ physical science

fulfill the additional science ~ lab experience
requirement

Social 3~· social studies credits, including No additional requirements 3 years high school social

Studies ~ u.s. history studies, including
~ geography ~ geography
~ government and citizenship ~ U.s. history
~ world history and economics, or
3 credits of social studies, including
.~ U.s. history
~ geography
~ government and citizenship
~ world history
~. ~ credit of economics taught by

\ the social studies or business
department



K-12 Graduation Standards* K-12 Graduation Standards for Four-year College
for students beginning 9th grade in students beginning 9th grade in the Admission Requirements
the 2004-2005 school year or later 2011-2012 school year or later 2006-07

Foreign World languages is an elective No additional requirements 2 years of a single second or

LanKUage standard world language

Arts One arts credit No additional requirements 1 year visual or performing
arts, or
1 year world culture or fme
arts

Elective School districts must establish No additional requirements

standards elective standards for:
~ vocational and technical education
~ health and physical education and
~ world languages
School districts must offer courses in
all elective standards

* School districts decide if students meet course credit requirements by (1) successfully completing an academic year of study or
(2) demonstrating mastery of the applicable subject matter. Minn. Stat. § 120B.024. One high school credit is equivalent to a
year of study for college admission requirements.

Revising academic
standards and
benchmarks

Postsecondary
remedial and
developmental
education

The Education Commissioner must revise required K-12 academic standards and
related benchmarksin the 2006-2007 through 2010-2011 schoolyears. The
benchmarks (1) specify the knowledge and skills that students must have to satisfy
the academic standards and (2) contain information used to develop graduation tests.

Despite the apparent alignment ofK-12 graduation and college admissions
requirements, reports on recent high school graduates show that many entering
students at Minnesota's public postsecondary institutions take remedial and
developmental courses.

The percentage of students taking remedial courses varies by institution type,
institution admission standards, and year of high school graduation. The percentage
of students at the University of Minnesota taking remedial classes has declined from
15 percent for 1999 high school graduates to 8 percent for 2002 graduates. At four­
year state universities in the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system
(MnSCU) the percentage of students taking remedial classes has increased from 21
percent for 1999 graduates to 29 percent for 2002 graduates. Two-year MnSCU
colleges are open emollment institutions with much higher 'rates of remedial and
development course work (46 percent for 2002 high school graduates). (Source:
Getting Prepared: A 2005 Report on Recent High School Graduates Who Took
Developmental/Remedial Courses, Minnesota State Colleges and the University of
Minnesota, August 2005, page 6.)

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036 or Kathy Novak at
651-296-9253. Also see the House Research publication Minnesota's K-12 Academic Standards and
Assessments, August 2006.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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The K-12 Education Deduction and Credit: An Overview

What is the K-12
deduction?

What expenses
qualify for the
deduction?

What is the tax
benefit ofthe
deduction?

How many people
claim the deduction,
and how much does
it cost?

What is the K-12
education credit?

What expenses
qualify for the
credit?

What is the tax
effect ofthe credit?

A state income tax deduction is allowed for K-12 education-related expenses. The
deduction is for up to $2,500 for each dependent in grades 7-12, and up to $1,625
for each dependent in grades K-6.

Qualifying expenses include the following:
• Tuition, including nonpub1ic school, after-school enrichment, academic

summer camps, music lessons, and tutoring
• Textbooks, including instructional materials and supplies, musical

instrument rental and purchase, and up to $200 of computer hardware and
educational software

• Transportation (paid to others for transporting children to school)

A deduction reduces an individual's taxable income. The tax benefit depends on
the taxpayer's marginal tax rate and the total amount deducted. Minnesota has
three marginal tax rates: 5.35 percent, 7.05 percent, and 7.85 percent. A taxpayer
in the 5.35 percent bracket who claims a $2,500 deduction will pay $133.75 less in
state income taxes (5.35% x $2,500). A taxpayer in the 7.85 percent bracket with
the same deduction will pay.$196.25 less in taxes. A taxpayer with too little
income to have tax liability will not benefit from the deduction. In tax year 2007, a
typical married couple with two dependents would need to have $24,200 ofgross
income before owing any state income tax.

In tax year 2007 (fiscal year 2008), an estimated 225,000 returns will claim the
deduction at a cost to the state of$16.0 million.

A state income tax credit is allowed for 75 percent ofK-12 education-related
expenses. The credit is for up to $1,000 for each child in grades K-12, with parents
allowed to allocate expenses among children as they choose. The credit is subject
to an income-based phaseout. It begins to phase out when income exceeds
$33,500. For families claiming the credit for one or two children, it is fully phased
out when income reaches $37,500. The phaseout extends for an additional $2,000
of income for each additional child claimed (i.e., to $39,500 for three children,
$41,500 for four children, etc.).

The same expenses qualify for the credit as for the dedJIction, except nonpublic
~chool tuition does not qualify for the credit.

The K-12 credit directly reduces tax liability and is fully refundable. If an
individual's credit exceeds his or her liability, the excess is paid as a refund.



Can parents obtain
loans to pay for
educational services
that qualifY for the
credit?

How many people
claim the credit,
and how much does
it cost?

How do taxpayers
claim the deduction
and credit?

Have the deduction
and credit been
challenged in
court?

What do other
states provide in
terms ofincome tax
credits for
education-related
expenses?

Parents may assign payment of the credit to participating financial institutions and
tax-exempt foundations. In exchange, parents receive a loan that is paid directly to
a third-party provider of educational services and programs. This allows very 10w­
income families to purchase educational products and services in anticipation of
receiving a credit when they file their tax return the following year, with the credit
paid directly to the financial institution or foundation that accepted the assignment.

In tax year 2004,58,593 Minnesotans claimed a total of$15.0 million in K-12
education credits. The average credit was $256.

Taxpayers claim the deduction on form M-1, the Minnesota income tax return.
Taxpayers claiming the credit must complete formM1ED and attach it to their
state tax return.

The constitutionality of the dependent education expense deduction was challenged
in Mueller v. Allen in 1983. The U.S. Supreme Court upheld the statute
authorizing the deduction in a 5-4 decision. The Court found that the deduction
did the following:

• Offset parents' educational expenses and helped ensure an educated
populace

• Helped ensure the financial health ofnonpublic schools and relieved the
financial burden on public schools

• Promoted "wholesome competition" between public and nonpub1ic schools
and provided a high-quality education for all children

Minnesota's current K-12 education credit has not been subject to legal challenge.

To date, five states in addition to Minnesota provide income tax credits for
education-related expenses: Arizona, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, and Pennsylvania
(Puerto Rico provides a credit similar to those allowed in Arizona, Florida, and
Pennsylvania.). Arizona and Florida give individual and corporate taxpayers tax
credits for contributions to nonprofit school tuition organizations that operate like
charities; Iowa will allow a similar credit beginning in 2006 but only for individual
filers; Pennsylvania allows a corporate credit for contributions to both nonprofit
scholarship funding organizations and innovative public school programs.
Arizona also allows credits for individuals who pay extracurricular public school
fees, and who contribute to character education programs at public schools.
Illinois gives taxpayers a nonrefundable tax credit for qualified education
expenses. Iowa gives taxpayers a tax credit for tuition, secular textbooks, and
extracurricular activities for children attending accredited not-for-profit K-12
schools. Courts in Arizona, Illinois, and Iowa have upheld the permissibility of
these education credits.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Lisa Larson at 651­
296-8036. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Deductions and Credits for Public and
Nonpublic Education in Minnesota, September 2006.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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State Estate and Inheritance Taxes
After the 2001 Federal Estate Tax Cbanges

Phaseout of State Death Tax
Credit Under EGTRRA

Calendar Year % allowed
2002 75%
2003 50%
2004 25%
2005 - 2010 No credit

The 2001 federal
tax act or EGTRRA
eliminated the
ability ofstates to
impose pure
"pickup" estate
taxes that are borne
by the federal
treasury

Twenty-six states no
longer impose estate
or inheritance taxes

Taxes in six more
states are set to
expire after 2006

Five states impose
only inheritance
taxes

From 1924 through 2001, the federal estate tax allowed a dollar-for-dollar credit
for state death taxes paid (up to maximum limits). All states imposed estate
taxes up to the amount of the federal credit; some states also imposed additional
inheritance or estate taxes. In 2001,38 states, inCluding Minnesota, imposed
pickup estate taxes as their only form of a death tax.

The Economic Growth and Tax Relief and
Reconciliation Act of 2001 (EGTRRA) repealed
the federal credit for state death taxes in three
steps. See box at the right. States now can no
longer impose estate taxes that do not increase

. total taxes. EGTRRA also increased the
exemption amounts and reduced tax rates.

Minnesota opted to continue imposing an estate tax equal to the credit under pre­
EGTRRA federal law. This short subject summarizes the status of state
inheritance and estate taxes in other states as of September 2006.

For decedents dying in calendar year 2006, 26 states no long impose an estate or
inheritance tax. Most of these states imposed only a pickup tax before
EGTRRA and allowed their taxes to expire (AL, AK, CA,CO, DE, FL; GA,
HA, ill, MI, MS, MO, MT, NV, ND, NM, TX, UT,WV, and WY) and/or acted
to eliminate them (AR, AZ, SC, ana SD). Two states with inheritance taxes
(beyond a pickup tax) either repealed thetax·(NH) or allowed it to expire as
previous scheduled (LA), as well as allowing their pickup taxes to expire.

Four states have enacted legislation that repeals their taxes (VA as ofJuly 1, 2007,
WI as ofJan. 1,2008; KS and OK as of Jan. 1,2010). Taxes in two states (lL
and VT) will expire if the federal estate tax is repealed, as scheduled in 2010,
and the state does not change its law. Washington state voters will decide at the
November 2006 general election whether to repeal the Washington estate tax.

Five states (IN, lA, KY, PA, and TN) now impose only inheritance taxes; these
states allowed their pickup estate taxes to expire with EGTRRA's repeal ofthe
federal credit. Two of these states (IA and KY) impose no tax on bequests to
surviving spouses or lineal heirs (children, grandchildren, parents, and so forth).



Sixteen states and
the District of
Columbia impose
only estate taxes in
2006

Three states impose
both estate and
inheritance taxes

Sixteen states impose only an estate tax. Twelve of these taxes are calculated
based on the repealed federal credit under some version of the federal law (DC,
IL, MA, ME, MN, NY, NC, OR, RI, VT, VA, and WI). The exemption amounts
range from $675,000 (based on the federal tax and credit in effect in 2001: RI
and WI) to $2 million (pre-EGTRRA credit and current federal exemption: IL,
NC, VT, and VA). The other states, like Minnesota, have a $1 million
exemption. Five states have separate estate taxes with their own exemption
amounts and tax rate schedules (CT, KS starting in 2007, OH, OK starting in
2007, and WA). Exemptions under these stand alone taxes range from $338,333
(OH) to $2 million (CT and WA). As noted above, the Kansas, Oklahoma,
Virginia, and Wisconsin taxes have been prospectively repealed.

Three states (MD, NE, and NJ) have both estate and inheritance taxes. The
Maryland and New Jersey inheritance taxes have unlimited exemptions for
lineal heirs (children, grandchildren, parents, and so forth). The Nebraska estate
tax is a stand-alone tax with a $1 million exemption and its own rate schedule.
New Jersey's estate tax exemption is $675,000, and Maryland's is $1 million.
Inheritance tax paid is a credit against the estatetaxes.

The map shows the states without an estate or inheritance tax.

States Without Estate or Inherit~'l1c;eTaxes
(2006 unless otherwisenoted)

"'.-

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at joel.michael@ho'use.mn. Also see the
House Research publications The Minnesota Estate Tax after the 2001 Federal Tax Act, January 2003, and
StateResponses to 2001 Federal Estate Tax Changes, February 2004.
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The Ethanol Industry In Minnesota

Ethanol-an alcohol commonly produced by the fennentation of starches-can be blended with gasoline as
a fuel extender and oxygenate. Examples of ethanol-gasoline blends include E10 (10 percent ethanol, 90
percent gasoline) and E85 (85 percent ethanol, 15 percent gasoline). For more than two decades,
Minnesota lawmakers have actively encouraged the development of a sizeable state ethanol industry. Due
in large part to policy and financial support at state and federal levels, Minnesota ethanol production has
increased significantly-up from less than one million gallons in 1987 to a projected 550 million gallons by
the end of2006.

Blender's tax credit

Producer payments

Federal fuel tax
credit for ethanol

Duties on imported
ethanol

People who blend ethanol with gasoline are eligible for a refundable credit against
their federal fuel tax liability. The credit is 51 cents per gallon of ethanol blended.
In 2004, this Volumetric Ethanol Excise Tax Credit replaced a partial fuel tax
exemption for ethanol blends. As ethanol usage grew, the exemption left a sizeable
hole in the federal highway trust fund. To address this problem, Congress dropped the·
partial exemption and replaced it with a tax credit deducted from the general fund.

Since 1980, the federal government has imposed two tariffs on ethanol imports. In
general, there is a 2.5 percent ad valorem (i.e., percent ofvalue) tax and a 54-cent
per gallon secondary tariff.

Enacted in 1980 and phased out completely by 1997, the tax credit for agricultural
alcohol gasoline (more commonly referred to as the "blender's credit") reduced
state fuel tax liability for blenders mixing ethanol and gasoline in Minnesota.
Similar to its federal counterpart, the blender's credit reduced funding for
transportation. In addition, it had little effect on the level of in-state ethanol
production. A similar provision in 1983 that reduced the tax on ethanol-blended
fuel used in government vehicles and school buses was repealed in 1998.

When the blender's credit failed to spawn a sizeable state ethanol industry,
lawmakers reworked the subsidy. In 1986, the legislature created the ethanol
development fund to directly pay owners of Minnesota ethanol plants per gallon of
ethanol produced, subject to certain limitations. The payment amount has changed,
multiple times but has typically been 20 cents per gallon. For years 2004 through
2007, the payments were set at 13 cents per gallon, with a pledge to make up the
remaining 7 cents per gallon as funds became available. The program is closed to
new applicants.

Public education and Each year from 1987 through 1998, the legislature appropriated funds (usually
ethanolpromotion $100,000 per year) to the Department ofAgriculture to educate the public about the
efforts benefits of ethanol and encourage the creation of fanner-owned plants.

Loans for start-up
expenses and
purchase ofstock

A 1993 law created the Ethanol Production Facility Loan Program, providing up to
$500,000 in direct loans to seven plants for assistance during the construction and
early production phases. The program is closed to new applicants. A 1994 law
authorized low-interest loans to fanners for up to 45 percent of the cost of shares of



Tax increment
financing
arrangements

Economic
development support

Job Opportunity
Building Zones
(JOBZ)

Oxygenate mandate

E85 promotion

stock purchased in a value-added agricultural product processing facility. Investors
in 13 ofMinnesota's ethanol plants have utilized these loans.

A number of communities have used tax increment financing (TIF) to encourage
construction of local ethanol plants. In the early 1990s, the legislature enacted laws
that made it easier to use TIF for ethanol projects.

Three plants have received low-interest loans via the Minnesota Investment Fund,
an economic development program designed to add and retain high-quality jobs.
Another four received grants from its predecessor, the Economic Recovery Grants
Program.

JOBZ provides local and state tax exemptions to new or expanding businesses that
locate in designated areas of Greater Minnesota. Four ethanol plants have signed
JOBZ agreements since the program began in January 2004. A 2006 law extended
tax incentive eligibility from the standard 12 to 15 years for ethanol plants enrolled
between April 30, 2006, and July 1, 2007.

. Today, almost all of the gasoline sold in the state is blended with 10 percent ethanol
(EI0). The law was passed in 1991 and became effective statewide in November
1997. This move followed a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency directive
requiring the use of oxygenated gasoline in the Twin Cities during winter months to
curb carbon monoxide emissions. A 1996 law exempted gasoline used for motor
sports racing, airports, marinas, motorcycles, off-road vehicles, small engines, and
collector vehicles.

In 2005 the legislature went a step further, passing a law that will enact an E20
mandate in 2013 unless at least 20 percent of the liquid fuel sold in the state is
already derived from renewables by the end of 2010 or state officials have failed to
obtain federal approval for the use ofE20 as a motor fuel.

As of 1995, the fuel tax on E85 is 14.2 cents per gallon;. ElO and pure gasoline are
taxed at 20 cents per gallon. Beginning in 2002, state agencies were directed to cut
gasoline consumption, purchase vehicles capable ofbuming cleaner fuels likeE85,
and instruct employees to purchase cleaner fuels whenever reasonably available. A
2005 law approved $500,000 in grants to partially reimburse service station owners
who install E85 dispensing pumps. Another 2005 law required auto dealers to
provide written notice to consumers that new flexible fuel vehicles can run on E85.

Ethanol Production in Minnesota Cost of Minnesota's Blender's
Credit and Producer Payments
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst Colbey Sullivan at 651-296-5047.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office BL!ilding I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Economic Forecasts, Budget Surpluses, and Budget Shortfalls

When are economic
forecasts prepared?

What are the
forecasts usedfor?

. What ifa forecast
shows a budget
shortfall?

The commissioner of finance must prepare a forecast of state revenues and
expenditures twice each year-in February and November.

The November forecast in even-numbered years becomes the basis for the
governor's budget recommendations to the legislature. The November 2006
forecast provides the revenue and expenditure projections that the governor will
use in developing the budget for the fiscal year 2008-2009 biennium. The
November 2006 forecast also tells ifthe state is on track to finish the fiscal year
2006-2007 biennium with a balanced budget.

The February forecast in odd-numbered years fine-tunes the preceding November's
forecast with data that becomes available early in the calendar year. The February
2007 forecast provides the revenue and expenditure projections that the legislature
will use in adopting a budget for the fiscal year 2008-2009 biennium. Following
the February forecast the governor may submit modifications to the budget
developed from the November forecast, which are called "supplemental budget
recommendations." The February 2007 forecast also provides an update on the
status ofrevenues and expenditures in the current biennium.

The November forecast in odd-numbered years and the February forecast in even­
numbered years also provide updates on revenues and expenditures in the current
biennium. Using the projections of the November 2007 forecast, the governor may
make additional "supplemental budget recommendations" proposing changes to
the fiscal year 2008-2009 budget during the 2008 legislative session. The.
legislature will use the projections in the February 2008 forecast to ensure that the
fiscal year 2008-2009 biennium closes with a balanced budget.

If a forecast shows a shortfall for the general fund in the current biennium, the
commissioner of finance may reduce the budget reserve account as needed to
balance revenues with expenditures. If there isn't enough money in the budget
reserve to balance the general fund in the current biennium, the commissioner may
also reduce outstanding appropriations, commonly referred to as "unalloting."
Before reducing the budget reserve or unalloting appropriations, the commissioner
must obtain the approval of the governor and must consult with the Legislative
Advisory Commission. When the legislature is in session, the governor typically
makes recommendations to the legislature on how to resolve the shortfall before
approving use of the budget reserve or unalloting.

Ifa forecast shows a shortfall for any otherfund in the current biennium, the
commissioner of finance must reduce the affected agency's allotment to avoid a
deficit. As with general fund shortfalls, if the legislature is in session the governor
would typically make recommendations on how to resolve the shortfall.



What if the forecast
shows a budget
surplus?

What happens when
a forecast shows an
amount "available
for rebate"?

Ifa forecast shows a shortfall forthe coming biennium, the governor's budget
recommendations must propose revenues and expenditures changes in order for the
budget at the close of the coming biennium to be in balance.

If a forecast shows a surplus for the generalfund in the current biennium, the
commissioner of finance must allocate the surplus in priority order as follows:

• to the cash flow account, until it reaches $350 million
• to the budget reserve account, until it reaches $653 million
• to increase the school aid payment schedule to 90 percent
• to restore previous school aid reductions and reduce the property tax

recognition shift accordingly

If, as became the case following the February 2006 forecast, all these priorities
have been met, the remaining surplus is called a "positive unrestricted budgetary
general fund balance."

If the November forecast in an even-numberedyear, or the February forecast in an
odd-numbered year, projects a positive unrestricted budgetary general fund
balance at the close of the current biennium greater than one-half of 1 percent of
total general fund revenues for the biennium, the commissioner must designate the
entire balance as available for rebate. The commissioner excludes general fund
carryforward amounts in calculating the one-halfof 1 percent threshold amount.
The threshold amount and whether or not there is a balance available for rebate is
calculated as part ofboth the November 2006 forecast and the February 2007
forecast; as ofthe February 2006 forecast, the balance that triggers a rebate
designation is about $157 million.

Ifthe projected surplus is less than one-half of 1 percent of total general fund
revenues, the commissioner reports it in the forecast as an unrestricted budgetary
general fund balance. If a biennium closes with a positive unrestricted general
fund balance, the commissioner must transfer that amount to the tax relief account
on the last day of the biennium.

If a forecast shows a surplus for the coming biennium, the governor's budget
recommendations may propose revenue reductions and/or expenditure increases, as

. long as the proposed changes do not result ina projected budget shortfall.

If the commissioner designates an amount as "available for rebate," the governor
must present a plan to the legislature for rebating the amount designated to the
taxpayers. The plan must provide for payments to begin no later thari August 15.
The legislature must enact, modify, or reject the plan by April 15. For example, if
the Novemb~r 2006 forecast shows a positive unrestricted budgetary general fund
balance greater than one-half of I percent of total general fund revenues, the
governor must present a plan for rebate to the legislature during the 2007 session,
providing for payments to begin by August 15,2007. The legislature would have
until April 15, 2007, to enact, modify, or reject the plan.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253 or Nina Manzi at 651­
296-5204. Also see the House Research publication Unallotment, March 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Gift Ban Law and Rules for House Members

What does the gift
ban law prohibit?

Who are lobbyists
andprincipals?

What is the penalty
for a violation?

What is a gift?

Public officials must not request or accept a gift from a lobbyist or principal, and
lobbyists and principals must not give a gift to a public official or ask someone else
to do so. Legislators are public officials under this law. Family members are not
subject to the ban.

A "lobbyist" is an individual registered with the board to lobby Minnesota state
government. A "principal" is an entity that hires lobbyists and is registered with
the Campaign. Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Registered lobbyists and
principals are listed on the board's web site at www.cfboard.state.mn.us. If an
individual or entity is not listed on the web site, a member may call the board at
651-296-5148 to see if the web site is current. Members may rely on the
information provided by board staffon the issue ofwho is a lobbyist or principal.
Examples ofpeople who are not lobbyists include members of the media, local
government officials, state employees, and representatives of foreign. governments
touring the Capitol.

There is no criminal penalty or civil fine. The board, which administers the law,
takes the position that ifpossible, it will make a recipient return or pay for an
improper gift. This has happened once. The practical effect ofviolating the law is
that it would be embarrassing.

A gift is something received without giving equal or greater value in return. If the
House pays to send a member to a conference sponsored by a principal, the
conference. is not a gift from the principaL The eventwas paid for. By express
.terms or board advisory opinions "gift" includes the following:

•

•

•

..
•

•

•

•

ajob offer made as a bribe

discounts, loans, privileges, or access made available to legislators but not to
the general public'

paying off a debt for a legislator

honoraria

travel expenses or lodging for a meeting

donations to a legal defense fund to benefit public officials generally

donations to a retirement party held for a public official who is in office or has
taken a new office

a contribution to a charity made at the request of a public official



What House rules
apply to gifts?

The following are excluded from the gift ban by the statute or by board opinions:

• campaign contributions

• services to assist in performing official duties

• services of insignificant monetary value

• plaques or mementos recognizing services in a field of specialty or charitable
cause

• trinkets or mementos costing $5 or less

• informational material ofunexceptional value

• food and drink when asked to speak or answer questions at a program (eating
lunch free when speaking at a legislative update program sponsored by a
principal; not eating lunch free when touring a business that hires lobbyists).
An advisory opinion lets a covered individual attend a party paid for by a
principal if the individual (1) reimburses the principal for his or her fair share
of the cost of the party; or (2) contributes to the party an item or items that
equal or exceed the individual's share of the cost of the party.

• a gift received because ofmembership in a group, a majority ofwhom are not
public officials, and everyone in the group gets a similar gift (a member may
accept a gift from his or her spouse's employer that isa principal if the
employer gives all spouses an annual gift and a majority of those spouses are
not public officials)

• a gift from a lobbyist or principal who is a relative, unless the gift is given on
behalf of someone outside the family

• referral oflegal matters 1Jetween attorneys

• a job offer in the normal course of career changes

House Rule 9.20 prohibits ameinber from accepting an honorarium (other than
expense reimbursement) for services performed for an individual or organization
with a direct interest in the business of the House, including, but not limited to,
lobbyists and principals. The rule specifies that violations must be referred to the
Ethics Committee. House Rule 9.21 prohibits members from accepting travel or
lodging from a business, union, lobbyist, association oflobbyists, or a foreign .
government. Both rules are stricter than the statute in restricting what members
may accept.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah K. McKnight at 651-296-5056.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What is TIF?

How does TIF
work?

How is TIF used to
pay "up/ront"
development costs?

Tax Increment Financing

Tax increment financing (TIP) uses the increased property taxes that a new real
estate development generates to finance costs of the development. In
Minnesota, TIP is used for two basic purposes:

• To induce or cause a development or redevelopment that otherwise would
not occur-e.g., to convince a developer to build an office building, retail,
industrial, or housing development that otherwise would not be constructed.
To do so, the increased property taxes are used to pay for costs (e.g., land
acquisition or site preparation) that the developer would normally pay.

• To finance public infrastructure (streets, sewer, water, or parking facilities)
that are related to the development. In some cases, the developer would be
required to pay for this infrastructure through special assessments or other
charges. In other cases, all taxpayers would pay through general city taxes.

When a new TIP district is created, the county auditor certifies (1) the current
net tax capacity (i.e., property tax base) ofthe TIP district and (2) the local
property tax rates. As the net tax capacity of th~ district increases, the property
taxes (i.e., the "tax increment';) paid by this increase in value is dedicated and
paid to the development authority. The tax increment is limited to the tax
derived from the certified tax rate. Increases in value that generate increment
may be caused by construction of the development or by general inflation in
property values. The authority uses the increment to pay qualifying costs (e.g.,
land acquisition, site preparation, and public infrastructure) that it has incurred
for the TIP project.

There is a mismatch between when most TIP costs must be paid-at beginning
of a development-and when increments are received-after the development is
built and begins paying higher property taxes. Three basic financing techniques
are used to firiance these upfront costs:

• Bonds. The authority may issue its bonds to pay these upfront costs and use
increment to pay the bonds back. Often, extra bonds are issued to pay
interest on the bonds ("capitalizing" interest) until incrementsbegin to be
received.

• Interfund loans. In some cases, the authority may advance money froin its
own funds (e.g., a development fund or sewer and water fund) and use the
increments to reimburse the fund.

• Pay-as-you-go financing. The developer may pay the costs with its own
funds. The increments, then, are used to reimburse the developer for these
costs. This type of developer financing is often called "pay-as~you-go" or
"pay-go" financing.



What governmental
units can use TfF?

What is the but-for
test?

What types ofTfF
districts may be
created?

There were over
2,000 active TfF
districts in 2004

Minnesota authorizes development authorities to use TIF. These authorities are
primarily housing and redevelopment authorities (HRAs), economic
development authorities (EDAs), port authorities, and cities. In addition, the
"municipality" (usually the city) in which the district is located must approve the
TIF plan and some key TIF decisions. TIF uses the property taxes imposed by
all types of local governments. But the school district and county, the two other
major entities imposing property taxes, are generally limited to providing
comments to the development authority and city on proposed uses ofTIF. The
state-imposed tax on commercial-industrial and seasonal-recreational properties
is not captured by TIF.

Before an authority may create a TIP district, it and thecity must make "but-for"
findings that (1) the development would not occur without TIF assistance and
(2) that the market value of the TIP development will be higher (after
subtracting the value of the. TIF assistance) than what would occur on the site, if
TIP were not used.

Minnesota allows several different types ofTIF districts. The legal restrictions
on how long increments may be collected, the sites that qualify, and the
purposes for which increments may be used for vary with the type of district.

District type Use of Increment Maximum
duration

Redevelopment Redevelop blighted areas 25 years
Renewal and Redevelop areas with obsolete uses, not· 15 years
renovation meeting blight test
Economic Encourage manufacturing and other 8 years
development footloose industries
Housing Assist low and moderate income housing 25 years
Soils Clean up contaminated sites 20 years

According to the 2005 report of the Office of State Auditor, there were 2,210
active TIF districts in 2004. The graph shows the relative shares by type of
district.

TIF Districts by Type in 2004
(2,210 districts)

Redevelopment

(985) "'"
Renewal (24)
Special Laws (6)

Soils (33)

Pre-1979 (66)

Economic Development
(605)

Source: 2005 Report of the State Auditor

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research web site for more information on TIP at www.house.mnlhrd/issinfo/tifinain.htm.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Property Tax Abatements for Economic Development

What is economic
development
property tax
abatement?

For whatpurposes
may abatements be
used?

Which local
governments can
grant abatements?

How long does an
abatement apply?

Minnesota law authorizes political subdivisions to grant property tax abatements
for economic development, e.g., to encourage a business to locate or expand at a
location or to redevelop an area. Minn. Stat. §§ 469.1813-469.1815.
Abatements may be either permanent forgiveness or temporary deferral of
property tax. Abatements can serve similar purposes to tax increment financing
(TIF), a widely used development tool. The legislature enacted the abatement
law in 1997 to provide an alternative to TIF and to supplement it.

These economic development tax abatements should be distinguished from
property tax abatements that are granted by the county board primarily to correct
errors (e.g., to reduce the assessor's market value or to change the·
classification). Minn. Stat. § 375.192.

The law allows abatements to be used for a broad range ofprojects and
purposes, ifthe political subdivision finds thatpublic benefits exceed the costs.
Permitted uses of abatements include the following:

• General economic development, such as increasing the tax base or the
number ofjobs in the area

• Construction ofpublic facilities or infrastructure (e.g., streets and roads),
but not for many government buildings (e.g., city halls or schools) or
social and recreational facilities

• Redevelopment ofblighted areas
• Providing access to services for residents (e.g., housing or retail would

be common.examples)
• Deferring or phasing in a large (over 50 percent) property tax increase
• Stabilize tax base resulting from the updated utility valuation

administrative rules \
\

Counties, cities, towns, and school districts may grant abatements of the taxes .
they impose. The governing body grants an abatement by resolution. For
towns, action at the town meeting is not required. Taxes imposed by special
taxing districts (e.g., watersheds or regional agencies) cannot be abated.
Similarly, the state general property tax (on commercial/industrial and seasonal­
recreational properties) cannot be abated. In the Twin Cities metropolitan area
and on the Iron Range, the fiscal disparities tax cannot be explicitly abated.
However, a political subdivision may increase its abatement amount to reflect
the amount of the tax imposed under fiscal disparities. The abatement does not
directly enter into the fiscal disparities calculations.

The political subdivision sets the length ofthe abatement. State law limits the
duration to 15 years. The maximum term is extended to 20 years ifonly two of



How do the
mechanics of
abatement work?

May abatements be
used to pay bonds?

How do abatements
compare with TIF?

How widely has
abatement been
used?

the three political subdivisions (city/town, county, and school district) grant an
abatement.

The abatement resolution, approved by the political subdivision, specifies the
duration and the amount of property taxes that will be abated. The political
subdivision has considerable flexibility in setting the terms of the abatement; for
example, it may set the abatement as a percentage of tax payable, a dollar
amount, tax attributable to a portion of the parcel's market value, or in other
ways. The local government adds the abatement to its property tax levy for the
year. (The abatement levy is not subject to levy limits.) The owner pays
property tax on a parcel and the political subdivision uses the payments as
provided by the abatement resolution. For example, the abatement may be used
to pay bonds or be given back to the property owner.

The abatement law authorizes the issuance ofbonds to be paid back with the
abatements. For example, bonds could be issued to construct public
improvements or to pay for a site for a business. As the property owner pays the
abated taxes, they are directed to payoff the bonds. These bonds can be general
obligation bonds or revenue bonds. The abatement bond provisions parallel
those in the TIP law: the abatement bonds are not subject to referendum
approval aI1dare excluded from debt limits.

The legislature designed the abatement law to provide an alternative to and to
supplement TIF. The two programs can be used for similar purposes and both
rely upon property tax funding. Both programs have very similar bonding
powers. However, abatement and TIF differ in many important respects. Some
these differences include the following:

• TIP can be used for longer durations (up to 25 years in some cases) than
abatements (typically 15 years)

• TIP requires approval only by the municipality (usually the city) to
capture all local property taxes, while abatement requires each city/town,
county, and school to approve to capture its taxes·

• TIF use is subject to many morelegal restrictions than abatement. These
include a blight test for redevelopment districts, but-for findings, limits
on what increments may be spent on, and so forth. Abatement is more
flexible.

The abatement law does not require reporting of abatements to the state.
Property tax levy data reported to the Department of Revenue shows 50 cities
provided abatements of $4.3 million of taxes for property taxes payable in 2006,
and 21 counties provided $1.8 million in abatements. These amounts do not
include abatements by cities with populations under 2,500 and by school
districts.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057 or Karen Baker at
651-296-8959. Also see the House Research publication Tax Increment Financing, October 2006.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Property Tax 101: Who Pays Property Taxes and
Who Receives Them

Where property
taxes comefrom

Total property taxes statewide were $6,224 million for calendar year 2006. The
total amount ofproperty value (excluding the value of exempt property) was
$496,811 million. The graphs below show the breakdown ofthe state's total
property tax base by market value and by taxes paid in 2006.

Statewide Shares of Market Value and Property Tax
by Property Type

(taxes payable 2006)

Estimated Market Value Property Tax

Residential Homestead 58.9% 47.8%

Residential
Nonhomestead

Apartment

Commercial/Industrial 11.6%

Public Utility

Agricultural

Seasonal Recreational

Total: $496,811 million Total: $6,224 million



Where property
taxes go

The total property tax burden in Minnesota was $6,224 million for calendar year
2006. The pie chart below shows the distribution of the tax among the various
types of taxing jurisdictions.

Statewide Property Tax by Type 'of Government,*
Taxes Payable 2006

(Total: $6,224 million)

County 31.5%

City 26.1%
(includes tax increment financing [TIF))

Town 2.5%

Special Taxing District 3.6%

*Amounts shown are after allocation of property tax credits.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze at 651-296-8956 or Karen Baker at 651­
296-8959.
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What is the "60-day
rule"?

Who does it apply
to?

What requests does
it apply to?

"60-Day Rule"
Time Deadline for Agency Action

In 1995, the legislature enacted Minnesota Statutes, section 15.99, commonly
referred to as "the 60-day rule." The 60-day rule requires governmental entities to
approve or deny a written request for certain actions within 60 days or the request
is approved.

More specifically, "failure of an agency to deny a request within 60 days is
approval of the request. If an agency denies the request, it must state in writing the
reasons for the denial at the time that it denies the request." Minn. Stat. § 15.99,
subd.2.

The law applies to the following, all defined as "agencies" (Minn. Stat. § 15.99,
subd. 1):

• a department, agency, board, commission, or other group in the executive
branch of state government

• a statutory or home rule charter city, county, town, or school district
• any metropolitan agency or regional entity
• a watershed district or soil and water conservation district
• any other political subdivision of the state

It applies to "a written request relating to zoning, septic systems, watershed district
review, soil and water conservation district review, or expansion of the
metropolitan urban service· area for a permit, license, or other governmental
approval of an action." Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. 2.

A "request" is a written application on a form provided by the agency, if a form
exists. A request not on an agency's form must include all information required by
the agency and it must identify clearly on the first page the specific permit, license,
or other. governmental approval being sought.

Recently, the Minnesota Court of Appeals held that the rule does not apply to
building permit requests. Advantage Capital Mgmt. v. City ofNorthfield, 664
N.W.2d 421 (Minn. App. 2003). The law does not apply to the subdivision
regulation review process or the plat review process for requests made on or after
June 1, 2003.

In an unpublished opinion (and therefore without precedential value), the
Minnesota Court of Appeals determined that "other governmental action" did not
apply to actions with a statewide effect, and therefore the 60-day rule did not
apply. In the matter ofSystem Designation ofMulti-Flo Wisconsin Aerobic
Treatment Units, CO-01-823, 2001 WL 1665410, 2001 Lexis 1425 (Minn. App.,



When does the time
begin· to run?

Are extensions
allowed?

What constitutes
approval or denial
ofa request?

Dec. 21, 2001) (request for approval of a septic system as a standard under state
agency rules).

The 60 days begins to run when the agency receives a complete application. The
60 days begins again upon receipt of a complete amended application. Tollefson
Dev. Co. v. City ofElk River, 665 N.W.2d 554 (Minn. App. 2003). The application
fee, if any, is one of the items that must be paid before an application is complete.
The agency has 15 business days after receiving any part of an application to
inform an applicant in writing that the application is missing some required
element. Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. 3 (a). If more than one state agency in the
executive branch must approve or deny the application, the 60 days begins to run
when the first agency receives the complete application and it is up to that agency
to make sure all other agencies get copies of the application. Minn. Stat. § 15.99,
subd.3 (b).

An agency may extend the review period by up to 60 days if it provides the
applicant written notice of and reasons for the extension before the end of the
initial 60 days. Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. (t). The notice of extension must be
made after the complete application is submitted and the initial 60 days has begun
to run. American Tower, L.P. v. City ofGrant, 636 N.W.2d 309,313 (Minn.
2001). An agency does not have to have extenuating circumstances to extend the
review time; it is enough that the agency needs more time. Id. at 314.

The law also takes into account other proceedings or federal law requirements that
may delay the beginning of the 60-dayperiod. Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. 3 (d), (e).

An applicant may request an extension of time in writing.

Approval. A request can be approved by the agency in its customary manner or by
failing to deny the request within the 60-day period. .

Denial by an agency with a multimember governing body. For requests made on or
after June 1,2003, a multimember governing body may deny a request by:

• adopting a resolution or motion to deny the request, or
• failing to adopt a resolution or motion to approve a request.

The governing body must provide its reason for denial on the record at the time of
the vote on the resolution or motion. It must also provide a written statement of
reasons for the denial to the applicant before the expiration of the time allowed for
a decision. The written statement must be consistent with the reasons stated at the
time of the decision.

Denial by other agencies. If an agency other than one with a multimember
governing body denies a request, it must state in writing the reasons for the denial
at the time it denies the request.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah A. Dyson at 651-296-8291.
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Special Legislation and Local Approval

The Minnesota Constitution prohibits "special legislation" with the exception of certain special legislation
relating to local governments.

Special legislation

Special legislation is legislation that applies to part of
a class-a particular person, thing, or locale within a
given class-and, in general, is prohibited under the
state constitution. If a general law can be enacted,
the legislature may not enact a special law, except a
local law.

Whether a law is "special" is determined by the court
on a case-by-case basis, applying general principles.
In distinguishing permissible general legislation and
unconstitutional special legislation, courts have said:

• A law is general when it is uniform in its
operation even though it divides the subjects
of its operation into classes and applies
different rules to different classes;

• A lawis special ifit applies to particular
membersof a class.

In order to determine if a classification is justified
and constitutional, courts have applied a three-part
rational-basis test. A classification is proper if:

• the classification applies to and embraces all
who are similarly situated;

• the distinctions are not manifestly arbitrary or
fanciful but are genuine and substantial so as
to provide a natural and reasonable basis
justifying the distinction; and

• there is an evident connection between the
distinctive needs peculiar to the class and the
remedy or regulations in the law.

Prohibited special legislation

The Minnesota Constitution lists certain subjects
that cannot be the subject of special legislation,
whether they are local law or not:

• authorizing the laying out, opening, altering,
vacating, or maintaining of roads, highways,
streets, or alleys

• remitting fines, penalties, or forfeitures
• changing the names of persons, places, lakes,

or nvers
• authorizing the adoption or legitimation of

children
• changing the law of descent or succession
• conferring rights on minors
• declaring any named person of age
• giving effect to informal or invalid wills or

deeds, or affecting the estates of minors or
persons under disability

• granting divorces
• exempting property from taxation or

regulating the rate of interest on money
• creating private corporations, or amending,

renewing, or extending the charters thereof
• granting to any private corporation,

association, or individual any special or
exclusive privilege, immunity, or franchise
whatever or authorizing public taxation for a
private purpose

The constitution also prohibits special laws in the
form ofbills of attainder. A bill of attainder is
special legislation that inflicts punishment or a
penalty upon an individual.



Finally, the constitution requires taxes to be uniform
on the same class of objects.

Legislative appropriations are not special legislation.

Local approval.

As an exception to the prohibition on special
legislation, the state constitution permits the
legislature to enact special laws relating to local
government units. A local law is effective only after
approval by the affected local government unit,
unless the general state law provides otherwise.

State statute requires approval by resolution adopted
by a majority vote of all members of the governing
body of the unit unless the particular special law
specifies another method of approval. The chief
clerical officer of a local government unit then files a
certificate of local approval with the Secretary of
State, including a copy of the resolution of approval
or, if submitted to the voters, the number ofvotes
cast for and against approval at the election.
Generally, the law is effective after the local
government files the required certificate with the
Secretary of State.

If a local government unit fails to file a certificate of
approval before the first day of the next regular
session of the legislature, i.e., before the first
Tuesday after the first Monday in January of odd­
numbered years, the law is deemed to be disapproved
by the local government unless otherwise provided in
the special law. This has caught a few local
governments that have then had to return to the
legislature for enactment of the same special
legislation.

Exceptions

The constitution permits the legislature to provide by
general law exception to the local approval
requirement. Currently, state statute provides three
instances in which local approval is not required:

(1) The law enables one or more local government
units to exercise authority not granted by
general law. That is, the law is permissive, not
mandatory.

(2) The law brings a local government unit within
the general law by repealing a special law, by
removing an exception to the applicability of a
general statutory provision, by extending the
applicability of a general statutory provision, or
by reclassifying local government units.

(3) The law applies to a single unit or a group of
units with a population ofmore than one million
people.

Under all other circumstances, local approval is
required. This includes legislation for a local
government that is coded in Minnesota Statutes.
Even if a law does not require local approval
because it fits one of the exceptions above, if the
specific legislation requires it, it is not effective until
approved. Finally, whether or not the legislation
expressly requires local approval, if the legislation is
local law and none of the general law exceptions
apply, the constitution requires local approval before
the law is effective.

"Application clause"

The constitution also requires that special legislation
for a local government name the local government
unit or the counties, if more than one unit, are
affected, whether or not local approval is required.

Usually the affected unit of government is named as
a substantive part of the law and the application is
apparent. With regard to the Metropolitan Council
and the metropolitan agencies, although the unit of
government is named in the substantive part of the
law, it has become standard practice to add an
"application clause," listing the counties included in
the jurisdiction of the agency, to bills relating to
metropolitan government.

For more information: See the House Research publication Special Legislation, September 2006.
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Property Tax 101: Property Tax Variation by Property Type

What causes
property taxes to
vary by type of
property?

The primary cause of variation in property tax burdens is Minnesota's classified
property tax system. In a classified system, each class of property is assigned one or
more class rates. The property's taxable market value is multiplied by the class
rate(s) to determine the property's tax base, technically called its net tax capacity.

Besides the class rates, variations in tax by type of property also occur because the
state general tax and school district operating referendum levies apply to some types
of property but not to others. (All voter-approved levies, except school district levies
for bonded debt, are levied on referendum market value. School district levies for
bonded debt are levied on the net tax capacity of all types of property.) The table
below shows class rates and the applicability of taxes by type of property.

Class Rate Schedule for Taxes Payable in 2007

Subject to
State
Tax?

Subject to
Referendum

Levies?

2a . Agricultural homestead:
House, garage & 1 acre - same as residential homestead
Agricultural land & buildings:

Up to $690,000
Over $690,000

icultural nonhomestead

4a Market-rate apartments (4 or more units) 1.25 No Yes
4bb Residential nonhomestead single unit:

Up to $500,000 1.00 No Yes
Over $500,000 1.25 No Yes

4b Residential nonhomestead 2-3 unit and undeveloped land 1.25 No Yes
4c Seasonal recreational residential (noncommercial):

Up to $500,000 1.00 Yes** No
Over $500,000 1.25 Yes** No

* Subject to state general tax at commercial-industrial rate.
** Subject to state general tax at seasonal recreational rate.



What other factors
cause property
taxes to vary by
type ofproperty?

What is effective
tax rate?

Variations also occur because certain types of property qualify for property tax
credits that reduce the amount of tax that would otherwise be due. The two largest
credit programs are the homestead market value credit and the agricultural market
value credit, which apply to all residential homesteads and all agricultural
homesteads. Other credits apply to property in some areas of the state but not to
others.

Local variation also occurs because tax rates are determined separately for each
taxing jurisdiction in the state, based on each jurisdiction's levy and tax base.

Effective tax rate is a measure of tax burden useful in making property tax
comparisons. It is defined as net tax divided by market value (i.e., tax as a percent
of market value). It allows comparison of tax burdens between properties of
different values, different types, and different locations.

Comparison of Property Taxes on Various Types of Property,
within the same taxing jurisdiction, each with a market value of $200,000

(Property taxes payable in 2007)

Class Net Tax Property Tax* Effective
Property Type Rate(s) Capacity

Gross Net Tax Rate

Agricultural homestead** 0.5511.0% $1,325 $1,400 $872 0.44%

Agricultural nonhomestead 1.0 2,000 2,000 2,000 1.00

Residential homestead 1.0 2,000 2,300 2,108 1.05

Seasonal recreational residential (i.e., cabin) 1.0 2,000 2,386 2,386 1.19

Residential nonhomestead (1 unit) 1.0 2,000 2,300 2,300 1.15

Residential nonhomestead (2-3 units) 1.25 2,500 2,875 2,875 1.44

Apartment 1.25 2,500 2,875 2,875 1.44

Commercial/Industrial 1.5/2.0 3,250 5,330 5,330 2.66

Commercial/Industrial @ $2,000,000*** 1.512.0 40,250 66,010 66,010 3.30

* . These examples assume a total local net tax capacity tax rate of 100 percent, a state commercial-industrial tax rate of 49
percent, and. a state seasonal recreational tax rate of 25 percent, a total market value tax rate of 0.15 percent.

** The agricultural homestead is assumed to consist of a house valued at $50,000 and agricultural land and buildings valued at
$150,000.

*** This property has a market value of $2,000,000 to show a typical effective tax rate on a larger commercial/industrial
property.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze at 651-296-8956 or Karen Baker at
651-296-8959.
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Property Tax 101: Property Tax Administration

Who does what

Property tax
timeline

Appealprocess

Counties are responsible for property tax administration; the Department of
Revenue provides assistance and oversight. The list below shows each county
office's responsibilities for property tax administration. In some counties these
offices are merged and one or two offices may perform the functions.

Assessor
• Values property
• Determines proper classification
• Sends valuation notices to taxpayers

Auditor
• Determines each taxing jurisdiction's total tax capacity (i.e., its tax base)
• Calculates proposed and final tax rates
• Prepares truth-in-taxation notices (based on proposed levies)

Treasurer
• Prepares and mails out property tax statements
• Collects property tax payments
• Distributes property tax receipts to each taxing jurisdiction

The process of calculating, imposing, and collecting Minnesota property taxes for a
year actually spans two full calendar years. As shown on the reverse side, the two­
year cycle begins with the January 2 statutory assessment date and extends all the
way through the next calendar year until the property taxes have been paid. For
example, for taxes payable in 2006, the cycle begins on January 2,2005, and
doesn't end until the final payments are made in OctoberlNovember 2006.

If a property owner disagrees with the assessor's valuation (shown on the valuation
notice), the taxpayer can seek relief directly from the assessor. This may resolve
the matter, so that no further action is necessary. If it does not, there are two
separate avenues of appeal:

1. A three-step appeal process, consisting of an appeal to:
• the local board of review; if not satisfied, appeal to,
• the county board of equalization; ifnot satisfied, appeal to,
• the Minnesota tax court.

2. A single-step appeal to the Minnesota tax court. There are two divisions:
• The regular division, which can be used for any property. Proceedings are

formal (an attorney is recommended), and the decision may be appealed to·
the Minnesota Supreme Court; or

• The small claims division, which can be used only for homesteads
(regardless of value) and other property where the market value is under
$300,000. Proceedings are less formal, and decisions are final.



Property Tax System Timeline

Assessment Year 2005

Taxes Payable 2006

Assessment Year 2006

Taxes Payable 2007

January

March

April

June
l/)
c

Julyc
M

September

November

December

January

March

April

May

June

\C July
cc
M September

October

November

December

January

March

May

r--- July
cc
M October

November

December

Assessment date (2nd)

Valuation notices mailed

Local boards of appeal and equalization

County board of appeal and equalization;
state board of equalization

Certification of state aid amounts

Truth-in-taxation levy certifications (15th,
30th)

Truth-in-taxation notices mailed

Truth-in-taxation hearings; final levy
certifications (27th)

County auditors compute tax rates

Property tax statements mailed

1st half tax payments due (15th)

1st half state aid payments made (20th)

2nd half tax payments due - except on
agricultural property (15th)

2nd half tax payments due - on agricultural
property (15th)

2nd half state aid payments made (26th)

Assessment date (2nd)

Valuation notices mailed

Local boards of appeal and equalization

County board of appeal and equalization;
state board of equalization

Certification of state aid amounts

Truth-in-taxation levy certifications (15th,
30th)

Truth-in-taxation notices mailed

Truth-in-taxation hearings; final levy
certifications (27th)

County auditors compute tax rates

Property tax statements mailed

1st half tax payments due (15th)

1st half state aid payments made (20th)

2nd half tax payments due - except on
agricultural property (15th)

2nd half tax payments due - on agricultural
property (15th)

2nd half state aid payments made (26th)

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Steve Hinze at
651-296-8956.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

,
House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrdlhrd.htm



Child Care Licensing

HOUSE RESEARCH
Lynn Aves

IShort Subjects
Updated: November 2006

To protect the health, safety, and welfare of children in child care settings, state law specifies certain
requirements for the licensing of child care programs. Licensure of child care programs is governed by
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A, and related rules.

Who must be
licensed?

State law prohibits an individual, corporation, or other organization from providing
'child care services without a state license. Operating a child care program without
a license is a misdemeanor. In general, both child care centers and family child
care homes must be licensed, and specific licensing requirements apply to each type
ofprogram.

State law also specifies certain exceptions to the general requirement that child care
providers must be licensed. Under these exceptions, the following types of child
care are considered to be legal nonlicensed child care, for which a provider does not
need a license:

~ services provided to children who are related to the child care provider

~ services provided to children from a single related family member who
is not related to the child care provider

~ programs operated by a public school for children 33 months or older

~ services provided for children for periods of less than three hours a day
while the child's parent is in the same or contiguous building

~ recreation programs for children that are operated or approved by a park
and recreation board

~ child care programs operated by a school that provides child care to
school-age children, if the program is approved by the district's school
board

~ Head Start nonresidential programs that operate for less than 45 days in
a year

~ services provided to children for a cumulative total of less than 30 days
in any 12-month period

~ programs for children such as scouting, boys clubs, girls clubs, sports
and arts programs

~ the religious instruction of school-age children

~ Sabbath or Sunday schools, or congregate care of children of any age by
a church, congregation, or religious society during the period the church,
congregation, or religious society uses for its regular worship



What is the
purpose of
licensing?

What are the
roles ofstate
and local
governments in
the licensing
process?

Who should
individuals call
if they have
questions?

The state's licensing process is designed to ensure that licensed child care programs
meet certain health, safety, and supervision standards, child-to-staffratios, and
other. requirements.

The licensing process also requires child care providers to pass a background study.
If a background study reveals that an individual has committed certain crimes,
maltreated a child or vulnerable adult, or engaged in certain conduct, the
Commissioner of Human Services may disqualify the individual from direct contact
with children served in the licensed child care program.

In addition, all licensed child care providers are mandated reporters under the
state's Maltreatment of Minors Act. This means that a child care worker who
knows or has reason to believe that a child is being neglected or abused must report
the abuse or neglect to the local law enforcement, social services agency, or
licensing agency. For additional information about child abuse reporting
requirements, see Overview ofthe Maltreatment ofMinors Act, House Research
Department, September 2006.

Both state and local government have a role in child care program licensing. The
Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS):

~ issues licenses to all child care programs;

~ conducts licensing inspections and investigates complaints and
allegations of licensing violations or child maltreatment in child care
centers; and

~ conducts background studies of individuals who have direct contact with
children serv~d by licensed child care centers.

The local county social services or human services agency:

~ performs specified licensing functions for family and group family child
care homes under authority specified under Minnesota Statutes, section
245A.16;

~ conducts licensing inspections and investigates complaints and
allegations of licensing violations or child maltreatment in family and
group family child care homes; and

~ conducts background studies of individuals who have direct contact with
children served by licensed family and group family child care homes.

Individuals who have questions about child care licensing should call the Licensing
Division at DHS at 651-296-3971, or their local county agency.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits

What are the
credits?

Are the credits
refundable?

Who is eligible for
the credits?

What are qualifying
expenses?

How are the credits
calculated?

The Minnesota and federal dependent care credits partially offset the cost of child
care for certain workers. The maximum Minnesota credit is $720 for one child and
$1,440 for two or more children. The maximum federal credit is $1,050 for one
child and $2,100 for two or more children.

The Minnesota credit is fully refundable. If an individual qualifies for a credit that
is greater than his or her tax liability, the excess is paid as a refund. The federal
credit is not refundable and may only be used to offset federal income tax liability.

Anyone who incurs expenses related to the care of a dependent and related
household expenses may be eligible to claim the credits. The claimant must:

• maintain a household that includes the dependent;
• pay for care for a dependent under age 13, or a dis.abled spouse or adult

dependent; and
• pay for care in order to work or look for work.

Qualifying expenses are amounts paid for the care of a dependent under age 13, or
a disabled spouse or adult dependent, but do not include:

• amounts paid to the claimant's spouse or another dependent, or
• amounts paid through a dependent care pre-tax account.

Qualifying expenses may not exceed the claimant's earned income (for married
couples filing joint returns, expenses may not exceed the earned income of the
lesser earning spouse).

Thefederal credit equals 35 percent ofup to $3,000 of qualifying expenses for one
child ($6,000 of qualifying expenses for two or more children). The maximum
federal credit is $1,050 for one child and $2,100 for two or more children. The
federal credit begins to phase down when income exceeds $15,000, with the credit
percentage decreasing as income increases. Claimants with incomes over $43,000
qualify for the minimum federal credit equal to 20 percent ofqualifying expenses,
or up to $600 for one child and $1,200 for two or more children, depending on
actual child care costs. For example, a claimant with $50,000 of income and
$1,000 of expenses will qualify for a credit of $200 (20 percent of $1 ,000).

The state credit equals the lesser ofthe federal credit, or $720 for one child
($1,440 for two or more children). The state credit is calculated by reference to the
federal credit for which the claimant is eligible, not the amount actually used to
offset federal liability. For example, an individual with expenses of$2,000 and
income below $15,000 is eligible for a federal credit of$700 (35 percent of
$2,000). While this individual will probably not have any federal tax liability and
thus will not benefit from the nonrefundable federal credit, he or she will still be



How do filers claim
the credits?

How many
Minnesotans claim
the credits?

How much is paid
out in credits?

How are the credits
distributed
geographically?

How does
Minnesota compare
with other states?

eligible for a refundable state credit of $700.

The state credit is subject to a separate phaseout than the federal credit. In tax year
2007, the state phaseout begins when income exceeds $21,880, and the state credit
is fully phased out when income exceeds $35,530. The income threshold for the
phaseout is adjusted each year for inflation. .

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by
completing a separate schedule-Form 2441 for the federal credit and schedule
M1 CD for the state credit.

In tax year 2004, 143,171 Minnesotans claimed the federal dependent care credit
and 34,478 claimed the state credit. These claims represent 5.9 percent of all
federal returns filed by Minnesotans, and 1.4 percent of all state returns filed.

Because the federal credit is nonrefundable and can only be used to offset tax
liability, most of the federal credits are claimed by middle- and upper-income filers
who have income over $43,000 and qualify for the minimum credit amount.

Because the state credit is refundable and in 2004 was only available to filers with
incomes below $33,610, most ofthe state credits are claimed by low-income filers.

In tax year 2004, Minnesotans claimed $62.9 million of federal dependent care
credits. The average federal dependent care credit was $439.

In tax year 2004, Minnesotans claimed $12.4 million of state dependent care
credits. The average state dependent care credit was $359.

While about 44 percent of the returns claiming state credits came from the Twin
Cities metropolitan area, these seven counties generated about 52 percent of all .
returns filed. Put another way, in 2004 nonmetro filers were more likely to claim
the credit than were metro area filers.

Nationwide, 4.7 percent of all income tax returns claimed the federal dependent
care credit, compared to 5.9 percent in Minnesota. Maryland had the highest
percentage of returns claiming the federal credit, at 6.7 percent, and West Virginia
had the lowest, at 2.3 percent. Minnesota's percentage of returns claiming the
credit may be higher than national figures because Minnesota has a high proportion
of two-worker households:

The average federal dependent care credit nationwide in 2004 was $522; it was
$439 in Minnesota. The District of Columbia had the highest average credit, at
$631, and Montana had the lowest, at $393. Minnesota's average credit amount
may be lower than the national averages because state residents have above
average mcomes.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House
Research information brief The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits, February 2005.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. . .

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Targeting Property Tax Refund

What is targeting?

Who qualifies?

How does targeting
work?

Does targeting have
any other
restrictions?

The "additional" or "special" property tax refund, generally referred to as
"targeting," directs property tax relief to homeowners who have large property tax
increases from one year to the next.

A homeowner qualifies if the property tax on the home has increased by more than
12 percent over the previous year's tax, and if the increase is over $100.

The homeowner must have owned and lived in the same home for both years. If
any improvements were made to the home, that portion'ofthe tax increase
resulting from the improvements must be subtracted when detennining the refund.

The refund equals 60 percent of the increase over the greater of (1) 12 percent or
(2) $100. The maximum refund is $1,000. The following example shows how the
refund is calculated.

Payable 2006 Property Tax $1,400
Payable 2007 Property Tax 2,000

2007 tax increase (over 2006) $600
Taxpayer pays 1st 12% of increase, which must be at least $100 (12% x
1,400) 168

Remaining increase eligible for relief ($600 - $168 = $432) $432

State pays 60% of excess over 12% increase up to a $1,000 maximum $259
(60% x $432 = $259)

Amount of 2007 increase paid by taxpayer ($600 - $259) $341

The taxpayer's $600 increase (i.e., 42.9 percent) is reduced to an out-of-pocket
property tax increase of$341 (i.e., 24.4 percent) as a result ofthe $259 refund.

The taxpayer pays the full $2,000 amount ofthe 2007 property tax to the county,
the first half in May and the second half in October. The taxpayer applies to the
state for a targeting refund, which is paid at the same time the regular homeowner
property tax refund ("circuit breaker") is paid.

No, unlike the regular property tax refund, the targeting refund is not tied to the
taxpayer's household income. Under the regular homeowner property tax refund,
the taxpayer's household income may not exceed a specified maximum and the
amount ofhousehold income affects the amount of the refund.



Is targeting a new
program?

What are statewide
amounts?

How are claims
filed?

However, the targeting refund does not use income as a factor, nor is there any
limitation on the taxpayer's household income. Therefore, many higher income
taxpayers who do not qualify for the regular property tax refund due to income
restrictions are eligible for the targeting refund.

No, the first targeting program was enacted in 1980. With the exception ofa few.
years in the 1980s, the program has been in effect for about 20 years, although
miscellaneous changes have been made to the program during that time.

The amounts paid out for the targeting program have been low in recent years, but
increased significantly from 2002 to 2003, then decreased in 2004 and 2005. Total
refunds increased from $1.0 million in 2002 to $7.6 million in 2003, then fell to
$3.7 million in 2004 and $4.3 million in 2005.

The table below shows the statewide amount, with a breakdown for the metro and
the 80 nonmetro counties, for the past four years.

Targeting Refunds, 2002 - 2005 (dollars in thousands
Filed 2002 Filed 2003 Filed 2004 Filed 2005

Total Metro $359 $6,335 $2,463 $2,636
Total Nonmetro $674 $1,244 $1,241 $1,663
State $1,033 $7,579 $3,704 $4,300

Some taxpayers (e.g., those who typically don't qualify for the regular property tax
refund) may not be aware ofthe targeting program, resulting in lower total refunds
statewide than would be the case if the program were more widely known.

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department ofRevenue Schedule
MIPR, the property tax refund form. There is a separate schedule on the back of
the MIPR ("Schedule 1 - Special Refund") for the targeting program. The
taxpayer files for this refund after receiving his or her property tax statement in
February or March. Claims filed before August 15,2007, will be paid beginning in
late September 2007. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in
2007 is August 15,2008; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a
refund. Forms are available online at www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/forms/
mlpr--'print.pdf.

For more information: Claimants can check the status of their refund by calling DOR at (651) 296-4444
or online by clicking on "Where's My Refund" at www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/individ/index.shtml. Also
see the House Research Short Subject Homeowner's Property Tax Refund Program, November 2006, and
the Information Brief Targeting, November 2006.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What are the
credits?

Who is eligible for
the credits?

How are the credits
calculated?

How do filers claim
the credits?

.How many
Minnesotans claim
the credits?

The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit
and Minnesota Working Family Credit

The federal earned income tax credit (BITC) and Minnesota working family credit
(WFC) equal a percentage of the earnings oflow-income individuals. The credits
are refundable; if the credit exceeds a filer's tax liability, the rest is paid as a
refund. Since these credits increase their recipients' earnings, they act as wage
supplements and are thought to provide a work incentive.

Anyone with wages or self-employment income may be eligible to claim the BITe
and the WFC. In tax year 2007, individuals with more than $2,900 in interest
income, dividends, rental and royalty income, and capital gain income do not
qualify.

The credits equal a percentage of earned income, up to a maximum credit amount,
and are phased out when the claimant's total income exceeds a threshold. The
maximum credit amounts and income levels at which the credits are phased out
vary depending on the number of children in the household and whether the
claimants are married. Both the maximum credit and the phaseout threshold are
adjusted annually for inflation. In tax year 2007, the maximum credits, phaseout
threshold, and income level at which the credits are no longer allowed are as
follows:

Income at which
Phaseout credit fully

Maximum credit threshold ohased out
EITC WFC EITC WFC EITC WFC

Unmarried
claimants
No children $428 $107 $7,000 $7,000 $12,590 $12,600
1 child $2,853 $854 $15,390 $18,290 $33,241 $33,198
2 or more children $4,716 $1,651 $15,390 $21,700 $37,783 $37,729
Married claimants
No children $428 $107 $9,000 $9,000 $14,590 $14,600
1 child $2,853 $854 $17,390 $20,290 $35,241 $35,198
2 or more children $4,716 $1,651 $17,390 $23,700 $39,783 $39,724

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by
completing a schedule or worksheet.

In tax year 2004,263,568 Minnesota returns claimed the BITC and 249,841
claimed the WFC These claims represent 10.9 percent of all federal returns filed
by Minnesotans, and 10.3 percent of all state returns filed.



How much is paid
out in credits?

How are the credits
distributed among
different types of
families?

In tax year 2004, Minnesotans claimed $412 million in EITC, ofwhich $55 million
offset tax liability and the remaining $357 million was paid as a refund. The
average EITC was $1,562

Minnesotans claimed an additional $130 million in WFC, of which $24 million
offset tax liability and the remaining $106 million was paid as a refund. The
average WFC was $522.

Seventy-seven percent of all earned income credits and working family credits
went to families with one or more children. These families received about 98
percent of the total amount of credits paid in 2004. Individuals without children
filed 23 percent ofreturns claiming credits, but received only 2 percent of the total
amount of credits. Claimants with children received most ofthe total amount of
credits because these families qualify for a higher maximum credit than do
claimants without children.

Number of WFC Claimants Dollars of WFC

2 or more children

1child

no children

44% 68%

How are the credits
distributed
geographically?

How does
Minnesota compare
with other states?

While over 46 percent of the returns claiming credits came from the Twin Cities
metropolitan area, these seven counties generated about 52percent of all returns
filed. Put another way, in 2004 nonmetro filers were more likely to claim the
credit than were metro area filers.

Nationwide, 16.8 percent of all income tax returns claimed the EITC, compared to
10.9 percent in Minnesota. The average EITC nationwide in 2004 was $1,816; it
was $1,562 in Minnesota. Minnesota's number of recipients and credit amounts
are lower than the national averages because state residents have above average
incomes.

Eighteen other states and the District of Columbia provide a state version of the
EITC. In most cases the state credit equals a percentage of the federal EITC.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House
Research information brief The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit and the Minnesota Working Family
Credit, February 2006.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What is the
renter's property
tax refund
program?

Renter's Property Tax Refund Program

The renter's property tax refund program (sometimes called the "renters' credit")
is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to renters whose rent and "implicit
property taxes" are high relative to their incomes. "Rent constituting property
taxes" is assumed to equal 19 percent of rent paid. If that rent constituting
property tax exceeds a threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a
percentage of the tax over the threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income
increases:

• the threshold percentage increases,
• the share of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay

increases, and
• the maximum refund decreases.

What are the
maximums?

What is the
average refund and
total amount paid?

How are claims
filed?

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types
of income. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who are
over age 65 or disabled.

For refund claims filed in 2007, based on rent paid in 2006 and 2006 household
income, the maximum refund is $1,400. Renters whose income exceeds $49,160
are not eligible for refunds.

2005 Statewide Renter Property Tax Refunds
Filed in 2005 (based on 2004 incomes and payable 2004 taxes)

Number of returns Total amount Average per return

Under 65 years old 192,064 $97.0 million $505

Senior/disabled 77,678 $44.4 million $572

Total: all renters 269,742 $141.4 million $524

Refund claims are filed using Minnesota Department of Revenue (DOR)
Schedule MIPR. Claims filed before August 15,2007, will be paid beginning in
August 2007. The deadline for filing claims based on rent paid in 2006 is August
15,2008; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund. Forms
are available online at www.taxes.state.rnn.us/taxes/forms/mlpr---.print.pdf.



How do refunds
vary depending
upon tlte filer's
income and rent
constituting
property taxes?

The following table shows the refund amount for two example families with
different incomes-a married couple without dependents in the metro area, and a
married couple without dependents in greater Minnesota (a single person living
alone would qualify for the same refund amounts). Although the property tax
refund threshold, copayment rates, and maximum refund amounts are the same
statewide, the average rent is higher in the metro area than in greater Minnesota.
The metro area family paid monthly rent in 2006 of $725 the fair market rent for
a one-bedroom apartment in the metro area. (19% of$725 x 12 = $1,653, which
is their rent constituting property tax.) The family in greater Minnesota paid
monthly rent in 2006 of $421, the fair market rent for a one-bedroom apartment
in many greater Minnesota counties. (19% of$421 x 12 = $960, which is their
rent constituting property tax.) Taxpayers who are over age 65, disabled, or have
dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in determining the refund.

Married couple both under age 65, no dependents

Metro area Greater Minnesota

Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer #2 Taxpayer #3 Taxpayer #4

1 Gross income $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000

2 Deduction for
dependents 0 0 0 0

3 Household income
(1-2=3) $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000

4 Rent constituting
property tax $1,653 $1,653 $960 $960

5 Statutory threshold
percentage 1.4% 2.6% 1.4% 2.6%

6 Threshold % x
income (3 x 5 = 6) $210 $780 $210 $780

7 Property tax over
threshold (4 - 6 = 7) $1,443 $873 $750 $0

8 Copay percentage 20% 35% 20% 35%

9 Taxpayercopay
amount (7 x 8 = 9) $289 $306 $150 $0

10 Remaining tax over
threshold
(7-9=10) $1,154 $567 $600 $0

11 Maximum refund
allowed $1,400 $1,400 $1,400 $1,400

12 Net property tax
refund $1,154 $567 $600 $0

For more information: Claimants can check the status of their refund by calling DOR at (651) 296-4444 or
online by clicking on "Where's My Refund" at www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/individ/index.shtml.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information seNices to the entire House.
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Homeowner's Property Tax Refund Program

What is the
property tax
refundprogram?

Has the program
changed?

What are the
maximums?

How are claims
filed?

What is the
average refund
and total amount
paid?

The homeowner's property tax refund program (sometimes called the "circuit
breaker" or the PTR) is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to homeowners
whose property taxes are high relative to their incomes. If property tax exceeds a
threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a percentage of the tax over the
threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income increases:

• the threshold percentage increases,
• the share of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay increases, and
• the maximum refund decreases.

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types of
income. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who are over
age 65 or disabled.

The 2001 tax law expanded the homeowner's property tax refund program,
effective for refunds based on property taxes payable in 2002. The changes
lowered the threshold for determining eligibility and increased the maximum
refund allowed. The tax law also limited the amount of tax qualifying for the
refund for farmers to the tax attributable to the house, garage, and first acre of
property. (Previously the tax amount for farmers also included the tax on the first
$600,000 ofland and farm buildings.)

For refund claims filed in 2007, based on property taxes payable in 2007 and 2006
household income, the maximum refund is $1,700. Homeowners whose income
~xceeds $91,120 are not eligible for a refund.

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department ofRevenue (DOR)
Schedule M1PR. Claims filed before August 15,2007, will be paid beginning in
late September 2007. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in
2007 is August 15,2008; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a
refund. Forms are available online at
www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/forms/m1pr--print.pdf.

2005 Statewide Homeowner Property Tax Refunds
Filed in 2005 (based on 2004 incomes and payable 2005 taxes)

Average per
Number ofreturns Total refund amount return

Under 65 years old 155,266 $91.4 million $589

Senior/disabled 107,740 $64.0 million $594

Total: all homeowners 263,006 $155.4 million $591



How do refunds
vary depending
upon the filer's
income and
property tax?

The following table shows the refund amount for two example families with
different incomes-one family in the metro area and one in greater Minnesota.
Although the property tax refund threshold, copayment rates, and maximum refund
amounts are the same statewide, the average residential homestead property tax in
the metro area is higher than in greater Minnesota. The metro area family has
payable 2007 property taxes of $2,959, the estimated average for the metro. The
family in greater Minnesota has payable 2007 property taxes of $1 ,493, the
estimated average for greater Minnesota. Taxpayers who are over age 65,
disabled, or have dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in determining
the refund.

Married couple both under age 65, two dependents

Metro area Greater Minnesota

Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer #2 Taxpayer #3 Taxpayer #4

1 Taxable market value
of home $271,500 $271,500 $152,500 $152,500

2 Gross income $25,000 $50,000 $25,000 $50,000

3 Deduction for
dependents $8,910 $8,910 $8,910 $8,910

4 Household income
(2 - 3 = 4) $16,090 $41,090 $16,090 $41,090

5 Property tax $2,959 $2,959 $1,493 $1,493

6 Statutory threshold
percentage 2.0% 2.7% 2.0% 2.7%

7 Threshold % x income
(4x6=7) $322 $1,109 $322 $1,109

8 Property tax over
threshold (5 -7 = 8) $2,637 $1,850 $1,171 $384

9 Statutory copay
percentage 30% 40% 30% 40%

10 Taxpayercopay
amount (8 x 9 = 10) $791 $740 $351 $153

11 Remaining tax over
threshold (8 - 10 = 11) $1,846 $1,110 $820 $230

12 Maximum refund
allowed $1,420 $1,260 $1,420 $1,260

13 Net property tax refund $1,420 $1,110 $820 $230

For more information: Claimants can check the status oftheir refund by calling DOR at (651) 296-4444 or
online by clicking on "Where's My Refund" at www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxeslindividlindex.shtm1

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Motor Vehicle Sales Tax

After a nearly ten-year hiatus, the legislature in 2000 again began dedicating revenues from the motor
vehicle sales tax (MVST) to transportation-related purposes. A constitutional amendment passed by the
voters in 2006 will result in 100 percent ofMVST revenues going to transportation by fiscal year 2012.

MVST is the sales
tax collected when
cars are sold

A briefhistory of
MVST revenue

2003MVST
allocation

The motor vehicle sales tax, or MVST, is a 6.5 percent tax applied to the sale of
new and used motor vehicles. Minn. Stat. § 297B.02. It is imposed instead of the
general sales tax and is based on the purchase price of the motor vehicle. A flat
$10 tax applies to vehicles that are at least ten years old and have a resale value of
less than $3,000. Certain collector's vehicles have a $90 flat tax. MVST is
collected by auto dealers and when the vehicle is registered.

During the 1980s, the legislature dedicated MVST revenue to highways and transit,
intending that the money supplement other transportation spending. The
dedication was periodically changed and suspended, and it was abolished entirely
beginning in fiscal year 1992.

Two recent changes in tax policy led to re-establishment ofMVST revenue
allocated to transportation purposes. First, the 2000 Legislature placed limits on
registration taxes for passenger vehicles, which reduced the amount of revenue
collected. Registration taxes are dedicated exclusively to streets and highways,
and the legislature made up the losses to highway funds by transferring MVST
revenue to highways. Second, the 2001 Legislature prohibited the use ofproperty
tax levies for metropolitan transit operations. It replaced property tax revenue with
allocations from MVST for both metropolitan and greater Minnesota transit.

These MVST allocations to highways and transit were intended primarily to offset
reductions in other taxes rather than provide new funding for transportation. One
effect was to shift some of the funding from local to state sources.

In the 2003 session, the legislature increased the percentage ofMVST revenue
going to transit. The additional revenue for transit was partially to make up for
reductions in general fund appropriations for bus service throughout Minnesota
(which was largely due to overall budget cuts), and partly to reduce local
responsibility for Hiawatha light rail transit operating costs.

The additional revenue effectively came from a reduction in the amount of MVST
revenue going towards the state trunk highway system (from 32 percent to 30
percent until fiscal year 2008). MVST revenue dedicated to highways goes into the
highway user tax distribution fund (HUTDF). The HUTDF receives money from
multiple revenue sources and is constitutionally dedicated to the trunk highway
fund, the county state-aid highway fund, and the municipal state-aid street fund.



Current MVST
allocation

The MVST
constitutional
amendment

MVST revenue allocated to the HUTDF was decreased and transferred to the
metro area and greater Minnesota transit funds. The county state-aid highway fund
and the municipal state-aid street fund received direct transfers from MVST
revenue in order to offset the reduction of their portions of the HUTDF funding.

Currently, 53.75 percent of MVST revenue goes towards transportation purposes,
and 46.25 percent goes to the general fund. The distribution is as follows:

FY 2008
FY 2004-07 and after

Highway user tax distribution fund (HUTDF) 30% 32%
County state-aid highway fund 0.65% 0%
Municipal state-aid highway fund 0.17% 0%
Metropolitan transit fund 21.5% 20.5%
Greater Minnesota transit fund 1.43% 1.25%
General fund 46.25% 46.25%

At the 2006 general election, the voters approved a constitutional amendment
proposed by the 2005 Legislature to gradually dedicate all MVST revenue to
transportation purposes by 2012.

The amendment specifies that 63.75 percent must be dedicated to transportation
purposes in fiscal year 2008, growing by 10 percent in subsequent years until it
reaches 100 percent in fiscal year 2012. It also requires that "no more than 60
percent" of the revenue go to the HUTDF, and "not less than 40 percent" go
towards public transit assistance. Minn. Const. art. XIV, § 13. This distribution
between the HUTDF and transit is referred to as the "60/40 split."

The constitutional language does not specify two elements that will need to be
established in statute by the legislature:

~ The percentage allocation of MVST revenue between the HUTDF and
transit (within the 60/40 split limits)

~ The allocation between metropolitan transit and greater Minnesota transit

The following table outlines MVST revenue allocation under one scenario, if the
legislature dedicated 60 percent to highways and 40 percent to transit.

Additional Revenue from MVST Constitutional Amendment with 60/40 Split
(amounts in thousands)
FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012

Highway user tax distribution fund $31,625 $64,068 $100,193 $141,135 $166,219
Transit purposes 18,975 40,533 64,508 91,665 108,339
General fund (50,600) (104,600) (164,700) (232,800) . (274,559)
Notes: Revenue is based on November 2006 forecast, and assumes a 2 percent growth rate starting in fiscal year 2012.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Matt Burress at 651-296-5045.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Economic Forecasts, Budget Surpluses, and Budget Shortfalls

When are economic
forecasts prepared?

What are the
forecasts usedfor?

What ifa forecast
shows a budget
shortfall?

The commissioner of finance must prepare a forecast of state revenues and
expenditures twice each year-in February and November.

The November forecast in even-numbered years becomes the basis for the
governor's budget recommendations to the legislature. The November 2006
forecast provides the revenue and expenditure projections that the governor will
usein developing the budget for the fiscal year 2008-2009 biennium. The
November 2006 forecast also tells if the state is on track to finish the fiscal year
2006-2007 biennium with a balanced budget.

The February forecast in odd-numbered years fine-tunes the preceding November's
forecast with data that becomes available early in the calendar year. The February
2007 forecast provides the revenue and expenditure projections that the legislature
will use in adopting a budget for the fiscal year 2008-2009 biennium. Following
the February forecast the governor may submit modifications to the budget
developed from the November forecast, which are called "supplemental budget
recommendations." The February 2007 forecast also provides an update on the
status of revenues and expenditures in the current biennium.

The November forecast in odd-numbered years and the February forecast in even­
numbered years also provide updates on revenues and expenditures in the current
biennium. Using the projections of the November 2007 forecast, the governor may
make additional "supplemental budget recommendations" proposing changes to
the fiscal year 2008-2009 budget during the 2008 legislative session. The
legislature will use the projections in the February 2008 forecast to ensure that the
fiscal year 2008-2009 biennium closes with a balanced budget.

If a forecast shows a shortfall for the general fund in the current biennium, the
commissioner of finance may reduce the budget reserve account as needed to
balance revenues with expenditures. If there isn't enough money in the budget
reserve to balance the general fund in the current biennium, the commissioner may
also reduce outstanding appropriations, 'commonly referred to as "unalloting."
Before reducing the budget reserve or unalloting appropriations, the commissioner
must obtain the approval of the governor and must consult with the Legislative
Advisory Commission. When the legislature is in session, the governor typically
makes recommendations to the legislature on how to resolve the shortfall before
approving use of the budget reserve or unalloting.

If a forecast shows a shortfall for any otherfund in the current biennium, the
commissioner of finance must reduce the affected agency's allotment to avoid a
deficit. As with general fund shortfalls, if the legislature is in session the governor
would typically make recommendations on how to resolve the shortfall.



What if the forecast
shows a budget
sUlplus?

What happens when
a forecast shows an
amount "available
for rebate"?

If a forecast shows a shortfall for the coming biennium, the governor's budget
recommendations must propose revenues and expenditures changes in order for the
budget at the close of the coming biennium to be in balance.

If a forecast shows a surplus for the generalfund in the current biennium, the
commissioner of finance must allocate the surplus in priority order as follows:

• to the cash flow account, until it reaches $350 million
• to the budget reserve account, until it reaches $653 million
• to increase the school aid payment schedule to 90 percent
• to restore previous school aid reductions and reduce the property tax

recognition shift accordingly

If, as became the case following the February 2006 forecast, all these priorities
have been met, the remaining surplus is called a "positive unrestricted budgetary
general fund balance."

Ifthe November forecast in an even-numbered year, or the February forecast in an
odd-numbered year, projects a positive unrestricted budgetary general fund
balance at the close of the current biennium greater than one-half of 1 percent of
total general fund revenues for the biennium, the commissioner must designate the
entire balance as available for rebate. The commissioner excludes general fund
carryforward amounts in calculating the one-halfof 1 percent threshold amount. In
the November 2006 forecast, the commissioner designated $1.038 billion as
available for rebate.

Ifthe projected surplus is less than one-halfof 1 percent oftotal general fund
revenues, the commissioner reports it in the forecast as an unrestricted budgetary
general fund balance. If a biennium closes with a positive unrestricted general
fund balance, the commissioner must transfer that amount to the tax relief account
on the last day of the biennium.

If a forecast shows a surplus for the coming biennium, the governor's budget
recommendations may propose revenue reductions and/or expenditure increases, as
long as the proposed changes do not result in a projected budget shortfall.

If the commissioner designates an amount as "available for rebate," the governor
must present a plan to the legislature for rebating the amount designated to the
taxpayers. The plan must provide for payments to begin no later than August 15.
The legislature must enact, modify, or reject the plan by Apri115. Because the
November 2006 forecast shows a positive unrestricted budgetary general fund
balance greater than one-half of·l percent of total general fund revenues, the
governor must present a plan for rebate to the legislature during the 2007 session,
providing for payments of the $1.03 8 billion designated for rebate to begin by
August 15,2007. The legislature has until April 15, 2007, to enact, modify, or
reject the governor's plan.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253 or Nina Manzi at
651-296-5204. Also see the House Research publication Unallotment, March 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Gift Ban Law and Rules for House Members and Employees

What does the gift
ban law prohibit?

Who are lobbyists
andprincipals?

What is the penalty
for a violation?

What is a gift?

Public officials must not request or accept a gift from a lobbyist or principal, and
lobbyists and principals must not give a gift to a public official or ask someone else
to do so. Legislators and legislative employees are public officials under this law.
Family members are not subject to the ban.'

A "lobbyist" is an individual registered with the board to lobby Minnesota state
government. A "principal" is an entity that hires lobbyists and is registered with
the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Registered lobbyists and
principals are listed on the board's web site at www.cfboard.state.mn.us. If an
individual or entity is not listed on the web site, a member may call the board at
651-296-5148 to see if the web site is current. Members and staff may rely on the
information provided by board staff on the issue of who is a lobbyist or principal.
Examples of people who are not lobbyists include members of the media, local
government officials, state employees, and representatives of foreign governments
touring the Capitol.

There is no criminal penalty or civil fine. The board, which administers the law,
takes the position that if possible, it will make a recipient return or pay for an
improper gift. This has happened at least once. The practical effect of violating
the law is that it would be embarrassing.

A gift is something received without giving equal or greater value in return. If the
House pays to send a member or employee to a conference sponsored by a
principal, the conference is not a gift from the principal. The event was paid for.
By express terms or board advisory opinions "gift" includes the following:

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

a job offer made as a bribe

discounts, loans, privileges, or access made available to legislators but not to
the general public

paying off a debt for a legislator

honoraria

travel expenses or lodging for a meeting

donations to a legal defense fund to benefit public officials generally

donations to a retirement party held for a public official who is in office or has
taken a new office

a contribution to a charity made at the request of a public official

Some of the advisory opinions involved legislators, but the reasoning would also
apply to legislative staff.



What House rules
apply to gifts?

The following are excluded from the gift ban by the statute or by board opinions:

• campaign contributions

• services to assist in performing official duties

• services of insignificant monetary value

• plaques or mementos recognizing services in a field of specialty or charitable
cause

• trinkets or mementos costing $5 or less

• informational material of unexceptional value

• food and drink when asked to speak or answer questions at a program (eating
lunch free when speaking at a legislative update program sponsored by a
principal; not eating lunch free when touring a business that hites lobbyists).
An advisory opinion lets a covered individual attend a party paid for by a
principal if the individual (1) reimburses the principal for his or her fair share
of the cost of the party; or (2) contributes to the party an item or items that
equal or exceed the individual's share of the cost of the party.

• a gift received because of membership in a group, a majority of whom are not
public officials, and everyone in the group gets a similar gift (a member may
accept a gift from his or her spouse's employerthat is a principal if the
employer gives all spouses a similar gift and a majority of those spouses are·
not public officials)

• a gift from a lobbyist or principal who is a relative, unless the gift is given on
behalf of someone outside the family

• referral of legal matters between attorneys

• a job offer in the normal course of career changes

House Rule 9.20 prohibits a member from accepting an honorarium (other than
expense reimbursement) for services performed for an individual or organization
with a direct interest in the business of the House, including, but not limited to,
lobbyists and principals. The rule specifies that violations must be referred to the
Ethics Committee. The rule does not mention employees. House Rule 9.21
prohibits members and employees from accepting travel or lodging from a
business, union, lobbyist, association of lobbyists, or a foreign government. Both
rules are stricter than the statute in restricting the sources from which members and
employees may accept things.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jeaime LeFevre at 651-296-5043.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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DWI and the B-Card:
A Type of Restricted Driver's License for Repeat Offenders

The B-Card is a "restricted driver's license" with a no-alcohol/drug restriction. The B-Card provides a repeat
DWI offender with an opportunity to become validly relicensed to drive, following chemical dependency
treatment and a rehabilitation period described in law. However, any violation of that no-alcohol/drug
restriction, irrespective of whether the violation involved driving, carries stiff consequences for the violator,
including both administrative sanctions and criminal penalties. Thus with the B-Card, the repeat-DWI
offender gets another chance to legally drive, but only ifhe or she remains chemically free.

What is a restricted
driver's license?

What is a B-Card?

What are the
restrictions
ofaB-Card?

Is the "no-alcohol"
restriction
permanent?

Can a B-Card be
cancelled without
the person getting
another DWI?

Minnesota Statutes, section 171.09, authorizes the Department of Public Safety
(DPS) to issue a driver's license to certain drivers, contingent upon the applicant's
written agreement to certain restrictions deemed appropriate for public safety.
Such a license is referred to as a "restricted driver's license."

When a restricted driver's license is issued to a rehabilitated repeat-DWI offender,
that person must absolutely abstain from alcohol and illicit drugs indefinitely-this
license is commonly referred to as a "B-Card."

Following a repeat DWI violation, a person must successfully complete chemical
dependency treatment, as well as rehabilitation (following a third or subsequent
violation), before he or she can be validly relicensed to drive-and then only with
a B-Card. However, that B-Card license is contingent upon the person maintaining
complete abstinence from alcohol and illegal drugs. The revoked driver must
agree in writing to that restriction before being issued the B-Card.

The "no alcohol/drugs" restriction of a B-Card applies continuously for the
remainder of the person's life," and even prohibits small amounts of alcohol as
would be consumed with wine in a religious ceremony, in certain cough medicine,
in low-alcohol "near-beer," and so on. Furthermore, that restriction applies
whether or not the person is or has been driving a motor vehicle. The restriction is
quite absolute and exact: when a person agrees to the condition of a B-Card
license, he or she is informed that the license is immediately canceled when he or
she consumes alcohol or an illicit drug.

DPS will cancel a person's B-:Card if any police report or other authoritative
information indicates that the person has consumed alcohol. Sometimes that
information arises from a DWI arrest. More often, it stems from a traffic stop that
involves alcohol but does not constitute impaired driving. Other times, the drinking
is discovered by officers called to a domestic altercation or is reported by a spouse,
neighbor, or other source. There does not need to be an arrest or conviction for any.
crime for a person's drinking to trigger cancellation of the B-Card. In fact, in
Ascher v. the Commissioner ofPublic Safety (1994), the Minnesota Appeals Court



What are the
c(Jnsequences
for cancellation
ofaR-Card?

Must the "no
alcohol" restriction
stay on the plastic
driver's license?

How long does it
stay on the driving
record?

ruled that even when the consumption information is obtained through an
unconstitutional police stop, DPS may use it to cancel a person's B-Card.

The consequences of a B-Card cancellation are quite severe, since before the
person can again become validly licensed with a B-Card, he or she must again
successfully complete chemical dependency treatment and rehabilitation.
According to DPS rules, the rehabilitation process requires documented proof of
alcohol/drug abstinence for a minimum period of:

• one year, for a person's first rehabilitation;
• three years, for the person's second rehabilitation; and
• six years, for the person's third or subsequent rehabilitation.

The law also provides for gross misdemeanor criminal penalties for violating the
no.,alcohol/drug restriction of the B-Card license while driving (Minn. Stat. §
171.09(b)(1)).

The 2005 Legislature enacted a temporary law that allowed B-Card licensees who
had no repeat alcohol-related driving violations during the previous ten years to
request a duplicate driver's license without the no-alcohol restriction showing on
the card. This law expired on July 31, 2006. Duplicate licenses issued under that
law remain in effect until renewal. However, all other B-Card licenses issued
before and after the effective period of that law must continue to show the
restriction. The restriction applies regardless of whether or not it appears on a
person's driver's license.

Since the "no alcohol" restriction of a B-Card lasts for the person's lifetime, it
must remain permanently on the person's driving record, as maintained by DPS.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jim Cleary at 651-296-5053, or Rebecca Pirius at 651­
296-5044. Also see the House Research publication An Overview ofMinnesota 's DWILaws, December
2006.
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How much are
income tax
revenues?

What is the tax base
used to calculate
Minnesota's income
tax?

Minnesota's Individual Income Tax

Minnesota's income tax revenues are projected to equal $7.3 billion in fiscal year
2007, approximately 43 percent of state tax collections and 37 percent of all state
revenues.

Minnesota's income tax applies to a base ofMinnesota taxable income (MTI). The
starting point for calculating MTI is federal taxable income (FTI), which is the
income measure used in determining federal income tax liability.

The calculation ofMTI requires taxpayers to add the following to federal taxable
lUcome:

• bond interest from other states·
• the capital gains portion of lump sum distributions
• all or part of their state income or sales tax deduction if they claimed

itemized deductions at the federal level

Minnesota taxpayers are allowed several subtractions from federal taxable income:

• U.S. bond interest
• Railroad retirement benefits
• Income earned on a reservation by American Indians
• Certain K-12 education expenses of dependents
• 50 percent of charitable contributions in excess of $500, for taxpayers who

don't itemize
• An elderly/disabled exclusion for qualifying low-income taxpayers
• Part of the gain on the sale of a farm for insolvent taxpayers
• $10,000 of expenses related to organ donation
• compensation for military active service outside Minnesota
• compensation for National Guard or reserve service in Minnesota if called

up by the governor or president (generally for floods, airport security, etc.)



What are the
income tax rates
and brackets?

What income tax
credits does
Minnesota allow?

Minnesota's income tax is a graduated tax, with three rates: 5.35 percent, 7.05
percent, and 7.85 percent. The rates are applied to income brackets that vary by
filing status. Married couples filing joint returns are allowed the most generous
(widest) brackets, followed by head of household filers (single parents), and then
by unmarried single filers.

The table shows the income tax brackets in effect for each rate in tax year 2007
(brackets for married separate taxpayers are half the width of the married joint
brackets):

Married .ioint Single Head of Household
5.35% First $31,150 First $21,310 First $26,230
7.05% $31,150 to $123,750 $21,310 to $69,990 $26,230 to $105,410
7.85% All over $123,750 All over $69,990 All over $105,410

A married couple filing ajoint return owes income tax equal to 5.35 percent of
their first $31,150 oftaxable income, 7.05 percent of income between $31,150 and
$123,750, and 7.85 percent oftaxable income over $123,750. The income tax
brackets are adjusted each year for inflation.

Minnesota allows taxpayers to claim several credits against tax liability. Credits
that may be used only to reduce liability, called nonrefundable credits, include the
following:

• Marriage credit ($59.8 million in fiscal year 2007)
• Long-term care insurance credit ($8.4 million in fiscal year 2007)
• Credit for taxes paid to other states ($95.1 million in fiscal year 2007)

In addition, Minnesota allows three refundable credits, which are paid as refunds to
taxpayers even if the credit amount is greater than their income tax liability:

• Dependent care credit ($11.9 million in fiscal year 2007)
• Working family (earned income) credit ($138.3 million in fiscal year 2007)
• K-12 education credit ($15.4 million in fiscal year 2007)

Credit amounts are from the Minnesota Department ofRevenue's Tax Expenditure
Budget, Fiscal Years 2006-2009.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel ;Michael at 651-.
296-5057. Also see the House Research publications The Minnesota Income Tax Marriage Credit,
September 2006; The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Crf!dits, February 2005; The Federal
Earned Income Credit and the Minnesota Working Family Credit, February 2006; Income Tax Deductions
and Creditsfor Public and Nonpublic Education in Minnesota, September 2006; Income Tax Terms:
Deductions and Credits, July 2005.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Federal Taxable Income, the starting point for calculating
Minnesota income tax

What is federal
taxable income
(FTI)?

Federal taxable income is the tax base used to calculate federal income tax
liability. It is also the starting point for calculating Minnesota taxable income, the
tax base used to calculate Minnesota income tax liability. Federal taxable income
equals federal adjusted gross income after deductions and exemptions.

Federal
adjusted
gross income
{FAGI}

Standard
or

Itemized
deductions

Personal
and
Dependent
exemptions

Federal
taxable
income
{FTI}

What kinds of
income are included
inFTI?

What kinds of
income are
excludedfrom FTI?

What deductions
are allowedfrom
FTI?

How much is the
standard
deduction?

Federal adjusted gross income includes most kinds of income: wages, salaries, and
tips; taxable interest; dividends; alimony received by the taxpayer; business
income or loss; capital gains or losses; other gains or losses; taxable IRA
distributions; taxable pension and annuity distributions (the taxable portion is
typically determined by whether or not the contributions to the pension or annuity
were included infederal adjusted gross income when they were made); income
from rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, and trusts; farm
income or loss; unemployment compensation; and taxable Social Security benefits
(the amount taxable depends on the individual's income level; at most, 85 percent
ofbenefits are included infederal adjusted gross income). FAGI does not include
child support received by the taxpayer.

Federal adjusted gross income excludes: deductible IRA, SEP, and SIMPLE
contributions; nontaxable employee fringe benefits; student loan interest payments;
Health Savings Account contributions and investment income; moving expenses;
one-half of self-employment tax; health insurance premiums (for self-employed
taxpayers only); $250 of teacher classroom expenses; $4,000 of tuition expenses
for higher education; penalty on early withdrawal of savings; and alimony paid by
the taxpayer. FAGI does not exclude child support paid by the taxpayer.

Taxpayers may claim either the standard deduction or itemized deductions. In tax
year 2004, the most recent year for which data is available, 57 percent of
Minnesotans claimed the standard dyduction and 43 percent itemized.

In tax year 2007, the standard deduction is as follows:
• $10,700 for married couples filing joint returns
• $5,350 for married couples filing separate returns
• $7,850 for head ofhousehold filers
• $5,350 for single filers



What itemized
deductions are
allowed?

What personal and
dependent
exemptions are
allowed?

Are there limits on
deductions and
exemptions?

Itemized deductions are allowed for the following:
• State and local property and payments of income taxes
• Mortgage and interest
• Charitable contributions
• Medical expenses in excess of7.5 percent of income
• Casualty and theft losses in excess of 10 percent of income
• Job expenses and miscellaneous expenses (most only allowed in

excess of2 percent of income)

Taxpayers may claim one personal exemption each and one dependent exemption
for each dependent claimed. For tax year 2007, the personal and dependent
exemptions are $3,400 each. A family of four qualifies for four exemptions,
totaling $13,600.

Itemized deductions are limited for taxpayers with incomes over a threshold.
Taxpayers subject to the limitation must subtract from total itemized deductions
the lesser of:

• 3 percent of income in excess ofthe threshold; or
• 80 percent of total itemized deductions, excluding deductions for medical

expenses, investment interest, casualty and theft losses, and gambling
losses to the extent offset by gambling gains.

Personal and dependent exemptions are phased out for taxpayers with incomes
over a threshold. Taxpayers subject to the phaseout lose 2 percent of their total
exemption amount for each $2,500 of income over the threshold.

Tax year 2007 Itemized deduction Exemption phaseout
limit be~ins at begins at

Marriedioint fIlers $155,000 $232,500
Married separate fIlers $77,500 $116,250
Single fIlers $155,000 $155,000
Head of household fIlers $155,000 $193,750

The income thresholds for the itemized deduction limit and the personal exemption
phaseout are adjusted annually for inflation.

The federal Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act (EGTRRA) of
2001 gradually phases out the limitation on itemized deductions and the phaseout
ofpersonal and dependent exemptions from 2006 to 2010. In tax year 2007, the
limitation and the phaseout will be reduced by one-third. The general sunset of
EGTRRA provisions would reinstate the full amount of the limitation of itemized
deductions and the phaseout of exemptions beginning in tax year 2011.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 651­
296-5057. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, July 2005.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Minnesota Taxable Income

What' is Minnesota
taxable income?

Minnesota taxable income (MTI) is the tax base used to calculate Minnesota
income tax liability. Minnesota taxable income equals federal taxable income after
Minnesota subtractions and additions.

Federal
taxable
income (FTI)

Minnesota
+ additions

Minnesota
subtractions

Minnesota
taxable
income
(MTI)

Minnesota requires the following additions to federal taxable income:What are
Minnesota
additions to taxable
income?

•

•

•

•
•

State income or sales tax deduction. Filers who claimed a federal itemized
deduction for state income or sales taxes paid must add that amount back
into Minnesota taxable income. Taxpayers making this addition are always
allowed to claim at least the full standard deduction for the tax year.
Bond interest and mutual fund interest dividends paid by non-Minnesota
state and local governments. The federal government does nottax state and
local bond interest. Minnesota does not tax Minnesota state and loca,l bond
interest, but does tax interest on bonds of other states and their local
governments.
Expenses relating to income not taxed by Minnesota. These are mainly
expenses deducted at the federal level and attributable to U.S. bond interest
income, which is excluded from Minnesota taxable income.
Capital gain part of lump-sum distributions from qualified retirement plans.
Teacher classroom expense deduction and higher education tuition
deduction allowed at the federal level.

What subtractions
does Minnesota
allow from taxable
income?

Minnesota allows the following subtractions from federal taxable income. The
estimated cost ofmost subtractions is taken from the Department ofRevenue's Tax
Expenditure Budgetfor 2006-2009. Revenue estimates made during the 2007
legislative session differ from the- Tax Expenditure Budget because they will be
based on a more recent economic forecast.

• State income tax refund (filers whoclaimed federal itemized deductions
only). The federal income tax allows a deduction for state income taxes.
Minnesota requires filers to add back the amount deducted, and allows a
subtraction for amounts refunded in order to avoid twice taxing the same
Income.

• Subtractions required by federal law. Federal law prohibits state
taxation of these three types of income:



o U.S. bond interest
o Railroad retirement benefits
o On-reservation earnings of enrolled tribal members

• K-12 dependent education expenses ($15.8 million in fiscal year 2007).
The deduction applies to school-related expenses, including tuition,
textbooks, academic tutoring and camps, and instructional materials and
supplies. The maximum deduction is $1,625 for each child in grades K-6
and $2,500 for each child in grades 7-12. '.

• Compensation for military active service outside of Minnesota ($6.2
million in fiscal year 2007).

• 50 percent of charitable contributions in excess of $500 ($5.5 million in
fiscal year 2007). Allowed only for filers who do not claim federal
itemized deductions-those who itemize have already deducted their
charitable contributions in computing federal taxable income.

• Minnesota elderly/disabled exclusion ($1.4 million in fiscal year 2007).
Equals up to $12,000 for low-income elderly and disabled filers with low
amounts of Social Security and nontaxable pensions.

• Job Opportunity Building Zone (JOBZ) income ($1.4 million in fiscal
year 2007). Allowed for net income from a qualified business in a JOBZ,
for net income from renting property for use by a qualified business, and
for gain from the sale of property used by a qualified business.

• Organ donation expenses ($100,000 in fiscal year 2007). Allowed for up
to $10,000 of expenses related to organ donation by the taxpayer or a
dependent, including lost wages.

• Federal small ethanol producer credit ($100,000 in fiscal year 2007).
Producers with ethanol production capacity under 30 million gallons may
claim a federal credit equal to 10 cents per gallon, but must include the
credit in gross income. This subtraction prevents the credit from being
included in Minnesota taxable income.

• Compensation for National Guard and reserve active service in
Minnesota (less than $50,000 in fiscal year 2007). Allowed for state active
service and federally funded state active service (generally floods, other
disasters, and airport security) but not for drill pay.

• Gain on sale of farm property for insolvent taxpayers (less than $50,000
in fiscal year 2007). This subtraction is allowed for taxpayers who use the
proceeds of the sale of a farm to payoff a mortgage, contract for deed, or
lien on the property.

• Foreign subnational income taxes. -Taxpayers subject to a foreign
subnational income tax may subtract the amount of tax paid to the foreign
governmental unit, to the extent the taxpayer did not use the subriational
taxes to claim the federal foreign tax credit.

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael ,at 651-
296-5057. Also see the House Research publications Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits; July .
2005; and Minnesota's Elderly Exclusion (web only) at www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/tx_inc.htm.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. '
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