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Homeowner's Property Tax Refund Program

What is the
property tax
refundprogram?

Has the program
changed?

What are the
maximums?

How are claims
filed?

What is the
average refund
and total amount
paid?

The homeowner property tax refund program (sometimes called the "circuit
breaker" or the PTR) is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to homeowners
whose property taxes are high relative to their incomes. Ifproperty tax exceeds a
threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a percentage ofthe tax over the
threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income increases:

• the threshold percentage increases,
• the portion of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay increases,

and
• the maximum refund decreases.

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types of
income. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who are over
age 65 or disabled.

The 2001 tax law expanded the homeowner's property tax refund program,
effective for refunds based on property taxes payable in 2002. The changes
lowered the threshold for determining eligibility and increased the maximum
refund allowed. The tax law also limited the amount of tax qualifying for the
refund for farmers to the tax attributable to the house, garage, and first acre of
property. (Previously the tax amount for farmers also included the tax on the first
$600,000 of land and farm buildings.)

For refund claims filed in 2005, based on payable 2005 taxes and 2004 household
income, the maximum refund is $1,590. Homeowners whose income exceeds
$84,910 are not eligible for a refund.

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department of Revenue Schedule M­
lPR. Claims filed before August 15,2005, will be paid beginning in late
September 2005. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in 2005 is
August 15,2006; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund.
Forms are available on-line at www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/forms/mlprJ)rint.pdf.

2003 Statewide Homeowner Property Tax Refunds
Filed in 2003 (based on 2002 incomes and payable 2003 taxes)

Number of returns Total refund amount Average per return

Under 65 years old 136,338 $67.3 million $494

Senior/disabled 97,931 $47.9 million $489

Total: all
homeowners 234,269 $115.2 million $492



How do refunds
vary depending
upon theftIer's
income and
property tax?

The following table shows the refund amount for two example families with
different incomes-one family in the metro area and one in greater Minnesota.
Although the property tax refund threshold, copayment rates, and maximum refund
amounts are the same statewide, the average residential homestead property tax in
the metro area is higher than in greater Minnesota. The metro area family has
payable 2005 property taxes of $2,469, the estimated average for the metro. The
greater Minnesota family has payable 2005 property taxes of $1 ,206, the estimated
average for greater Minnesota. Taxpayers who are over age 65, disabled, or have
dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in determining the refund.

Married couple both under age 65, two dependents

Metro area Greater Minnesota

Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer #2 Taxpayer #3 Taxpayer #4

1 Taxable Market Value
of Home $223,600 $223,600 $126,600 $126,600

2 Gross Income 25,000 50,000 25,000 50,000

3 Deduction for
dependents 8,370 8,370 8,370 8,370

4 Household income
(2-3 =4) 16,630 41,63() 16,630 41,630

5 Property tax 2,469 2,469 1,206 1,206

6 Statutory threshold
percentage 2.1% 2.8% 2.1% 2.8%

7 Threshold % x income
(4 x 6 = 7) 349 1,166 349 1,166

8 Property tax over
threshold (5 - 7 = 8) 2,120 1,303 857 40

9 Statutory copay
percentage 30% 45% 30% 45%

10 Taxpayer copay
amount (8 x 9 = 10) 636 587 257 18

11 . Remaining tax over
threshold (8 - 10 = 11) 1,484 717 600 22

12 Maximum refund
allowed 1,330 1,060 1,330 1,060

13 Net property tax refund $1,330 $ 717 $ 600 $ 22

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Nina Manzi at 651-296­
5204.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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The Fiscal Disparities Program:
Commercial-Industrial Tax Base Sharing

What is the fiscal
disparities
program?

Why share
commercial/
industrial tax base?

How does thefiscal
disparities program
work?

The fiscal disparities program is a system for the partial sharing of commercial­
industrial (C/I) property tax base among all jurisdictions within a geographic area.
In Minnesota, two programs are used: the primary one was created in 1971 and
operates in the seven counties of the Twin Cities metropolitan area; a smaller
scaled version was created in 1995 for the Iron Range in northern Minnesota.

The main purposes and goals of the program are to:

• Support a regional approach to development. Tax-base sharing spreads the
fiscal benefit of business development spawned by regional facilities, such
as shopping centers, airports, freeway interchanges, and sports stadiums. It
also may make communities more willing to accept low-tax-yield regional
fac'ilities, such as parks.

• Equalize the distribution offiscal resources. Communities with low tax
bases must impose higher tax rates to deliver the same services as
communities with higher tax bases. These high tax rates make poor
communities less attractive places for businesses to locate or expand in,
exacerbating the problem. Sharing CII tax base can reduce this effect.

• Reduce competition for commercial-industrial development. Communities
generally believe that some kinds of CII properties pay more in taxes than it
costs to provide services to them. This encourages communities to
compete for these properties by providing tax concessions or extra services,
which can weaken their fiscal condition. Tax-base sharing reduces the
incentive for this competition, thereby discouraging urban sprawl and
reducing the cost of providing regional services such as sewage and
transportation.

Contributions to the areawide tax base. Each taxing jurisdiction annually
contributes 40 percent of the growth in its CII tax base since the year of enactment
to an abstract entity called the "areawide tax base." This contribution value is not
available for taxation by the jurisdictions where the property is located.

Distributions from the areawide tax base. Each municipality receives a share of
the areawide tax base through a formula based on its share of the area's population
and its relative property tax wealth (tax base per capita). The municipality is
allowed to tax this distribution value at the same rate as the tax rate paid by its
residents. All taxing jurisdictions whose boundaries encompass the municipality



How has the
metropolitan area
program grown?

How much do fiscal
disparities affect tax
burdens?

How did the 2001
property tax reform
affect fiscal
disparities?

What about the
Iron Range
program?

are also allowed to tax the municipality's distribution value (i.e., counties, school
districts, and special taxing districts).

Calculating the property tax for each commercial-industrial property. The
property tax statement for each C/I property has a local portion and an areawide
portion, based on the relative amount of the tax base that is contributed (areawide
portion) versus the relative amount that is retained (local portion) for the
municipality where the property is located.

In the first year of implementation (1975), the areawide tax base included 6.7
percent of the tot:;tl metro C/I tax base and 2.1 percent of the total metro tax base.
For 2004, the areawide tax base was 32.3 percent of the total metro C/I base and
9.8 percent of the total metro tax base.

A House Research study based on taxes payable in 2004 found that the average
homestead tax in St. Paul, which is one of the largest net beneficiaries of the
program, was 8.8 percent lower because of fiscal disparities. The study also found .
that the average homestead tax in Bloomington, which is one of the largest net
contributors, was 5.5 percent higher. Homestead effects throughout the area
generally varied between these extremes.

For commercial-industrial properties, average taxes were 2.7 percent lower in St.
Paul due to fiscal disparities and 9.7 percent higher in Plymouth, another suburban
city that is a large net contributor. Commercial-i1J.dustrial properties elsewhere in
the metro area fall in line between these extremes.

The study looked only at the direct effect of fiscal disparities, i.e., the redistribution
oftax base, and made no attempt to factor in alternative development patterns that
might have occurred without fiscal disparities.

The elimination of the general education levy, imposition of a state property tax
levy, and reduction in commercial-industrial class rates caused the nominal amount
ofmoney redistributed by the fiscal disparities program to decrease. However,
based oli the aforementioned House Research study, the net effect of fiscal
disparities on tax burdens is similar to what it was before the reform.

Tax effects of the Iron Range fiscal disparities program are much smaller in
magnitude since the percentage of tax base being contributed is so low due to the
relative infancy of the program.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze at 651-296-8956 or Karen Baker at 651­
296-8959. Also see the House Research publication Minnesota's Fiscal Disparities Programs: Twin Cities
Area and Iron Range.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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What is targeting?

Who qualifies?

How does targeting
work?

Targeting Property Tax Refund

The "additional property tax refund," generally referred to as "targeting," directs
property tax reliefto homeowners who have large property tax increases from one
year to the next.

A homeowner qualifies if the property tax on the home has increased by more than
12 percent over the previous year's tax, and if the increase is over $100.

The homeowner must have owned and lived in the same home for both years. If
any improvements were made to the home, that portion of the tax increase
resulting from the improvements must be subtracted when determining the refund.

The refund equals 60 percent of the increase over the greater of (1) 12 percent or
(2) $100. The maximum refund is $1,000. The following example shows how the
refund is calculated.

Payable 2004 Property Tax
Payable 2005 Property Tax

Tax increase - 2005 compared to 2004
Taxpayer pays 1st 12% or $100 of increase (12% x 1,400)
Remaining increase eligible for relief ($600 - $168 = $432)

State pays 60% of excess over 12% increase up to a $1,000 maximum
(60% x $432 = 259)

Amount of 2005 increase paid by taxpayer ($600 - $25.9)

$1,400
2,000

$600
168
432

$259

$341

Does targeting have
any other
restrictions?

The taxpayer's $600 increase (i.e., 42.9 percent) is reduced to an out-of-pocket
property tax increase of$341 (i.e., 24.4 percent) as a result of the $259 refund.

The taxpayer pays the full $2,000 amount ofthe 2005 property tax to the county,
the first half in May and the second half in October. The taxpayer applies to the
state for a targeting refund, which is paid in September 2005 at the same time the
regular homeowner property tax refund ("circuit breaker") is paid.

No, unlike the regular property tax refund, the targeting refund is not tied to the
taxpayer's household income. Under the regular homeowner property tax refund,
the taxpayer's household income may not exceed a specified maximum and the
amount ofhousehold income affects the amount ofthe refund.
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Is targeting a new
program?

What are statewide
amounts?

How are claims
filed?

However, the targeting refund does not use income as a factor, nor is there any
limitation on the taxpayer's household income. Therefore, many higher income
taxpayers who do not qualify for the regular property tax refund due to income
restrictions are eligible for the targeting refund.

No, the first targeting program was enacted in 1980. With the exception of a few
years in the 1980s, the program has been in effect for about 20 years, although
miscellaneous changes have been made to the program during that time.

The amounts paid out for the targeting program have been very low in recent years,
but increased significantly from 2002 to 2003, with refunds rising from $1.0
million in 2002 to $7.6 million in 2003. Some ofthe 2003 increase is probably due
to the high inflationary growth in the market value of residential housing.

The table below shows the statewide amount, with a breakdown for the metro and
the 80 nonmetro counties, for the past three years.

Targeting Refunds, 2001- 2003 (dollars in thousands)
Filed 2001 Filed 2002 Filed 2003

Total Metro $804 $359 $6,335
Total Nonmetro $898 $674 $1,244
State $1,702 $1,033 $7,579

Some taxpayers (e.g., those who typically don't qualify for the regular property tax
refund) may not be aware of the targeting program, resulting in lower total refunds
statewide than would be the case ifthe program were more widely known.

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department ofRevenue Schedule M­
1PR, the property tax refund form. There is a separate schedule on the back of the
M-1PR ("Schedule 1 - Special Refund") for the targeting program. The taxpayer
files for this refund after receiving their property tax statement in February or
March. Claims filed before August 15,2005, will be paid beginning in late
September 2005. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in 2005 is
August 15,2006; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund.
Forms are available on-line at www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/forms/m1pr-.rrint.pdf.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Nina Manzi at 651­
296-5204. Also see the House Research Short Subject Homeowner's Property Tax Refund Program,
January 2005.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

.House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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What is the state
minimum wage?

What is the federal
minimum wage?

Are employees
covered by the state
law, the federal law,
or both?

What are the state
andfederal
exemptions?

Ifan employee is
covered by both
state andfederal
law, which
prevails?

According to state law, the state minimum wage is $5.15 per hour for employers
who do at least $500,000 of business per year, and $4.90 per hour for employers
who do less than $500,000 of business per year. There is an exception for
employees under age 20 during their first 90 days of work, who can be paid $4.25
per hour.

The federal minimum wage is $5.15 per hour, with a provision for a "training
wage" of $4.25 per hour for employees under age 20 for their first 90 days of
work.

As a general matter, the federal law covers all employees of establishments that
have at least $500,000 in gross receipts per year. Further, any employee of an
establishment that does not meet the $500,000 minimum is covered if that
employee's individual work involves transactions that in some way touch interstate
commerce. The way these provisions are interpreted, most employees are covered
by the federal law.

The state law covers the great majority of employees in Minnesota unless they are
specifically exempt. Therefore, unless they fit into one of the specific exceptions,
most people who work in Minnesota are covered by both the state and federal law.

Many of the specific exemptions from minimum wage requirements are the same
in federal and state law. Some exemptions are broad, such as the one that applies to
executive, administrative, and professional employees, which appear in both state
and federal law, and some are narrow, such as the federal exemption of employees
who work at home making evergreen wreaths. There are regulations at the state
and federal levels that provide the boundaries ofmany of these categories.

Some of the important exemptions are for executive, professional, and managerial
employees who work on a salary basis, and certain skilled computer workers.

The short answer is that the higher wage prevails. Ifone law mandates a minimum
of $4.90 and one mandates a minimum of$5.15, for instance, the employer can
comply with both only by paying more than $5.15. Because the federal minimum
wage is currently $5.15 for employers of all sizes, the only employees who would
have the current state small-employer minimum wage of $4.90 as their lowest
permissible wage are those employees who work for small employers and are
covered by state law but not federal law.



What about
employees who
receive tips?

When was the last
time the minimum
wage was
increased?

How does the
minimum wage in
Minnesota compare
to the minimum
wage in other
states?

Who enforces
minimum wage
laws?

Minnesota does not allow a "tip credit," so tipped employees in Minnesota who are
subject to the state minimum wage provisions must be paid the regular state
minimum hourly wage by the employer, regardless of whether or not they also
receive tips. Further, the employer may not require employees to share tips with
·the employer or with other employees, because the tips are the exclusive property
of the person who receives them.

This differs from federal law, which allows a partial tip credit as long as the
employer can prove that the employee actually receives enough tips to make up the
difference between the lower hourly wage the employer pays and the statutory
minimum wage. If a Minnesota employee is covered by state law, however, the
employer cannot take the tip credit against the state minimum wage. This means
that a tipped employee of a covered employer in Minnesota still must be paid a
direct wage of either $4.90 or $5.15 per hour (depending on employer size),
whether or not the employee also receives tips.

The most recent increases in the federal and state minimum wages were effective
in September of 1997, except that the increase in Minnesota's small employer
wage was effective January 1, 1998.

According to information published by the U. S. Department of Labor in January
2005, seven states have no minimum wage laws, 12 states and the District of
Columbia have minimum wages higher than the federal minimum, 29 states have
minimum wages the same as the federal minimum (including Minnesota), and two
states have minimum wages lower than the federal minimum.

States have different approaches to setting and applying their minimum wage laws.
Some states automatically make certain adjustments to their state rates when the
federal rate changes. Many states also exclude from state coverage any
emploYment that is covered by the federal law so that there is no overlap. In
Washington, Alaska, and Oregon, the state minimum wage is automatically
adjusted for inflation. Beginning in 2005, Florida will also automatically adjust
the state minimum wage for inflation.

Minimum wage laws are enforced in Minnesota by the Minnesota Department of
Labor and Industry and the U. S. Department of Labor.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Long at elisabethJong@house.mn

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House:

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I st. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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What is the
renter's property
tax refund
program?

Renter's Property Tax Refund Program

The renter property tax refund program (sometimes called the "renters' credit") is
a state-paid refund that provides tax reliefto renters whose rent and "implicit
property taxes" are high relative to their incomes. "Rent constituting property
taxes" is assumed to equal 19 percent of rent paid. If that rent constituting
property tax exceeds a threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a
percentage of the tax over the threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income
mcreases:

• the threshold percentage increases,
• the portion of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay increases,

and
• the maximum refund decreases.

What are the
maximums?

What is the
average refund and
total amount paid?

How are claims
filed?

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types
of income. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who are
over age 65 or disabled.

For refund claims filed in 2005, based on rent paid in 2004 and 2004 household
income, the maximum refund is $1,300. Renters whose income exceeds $45,810
are not eligible for refunds. I

2003 Statewide Renter Property Tax Refunds
Filed in 2003 (based on 2002 incomes and payable 2002 taxes)

Number of returns Total amount Average per return

Under 65 years old 193,466 $94.4 million $488

Senior/disabled 77,513 $41.9 million $541

Total: all renters 270,979 $136.3 million $503

Refund claims are filed using Minnesota Department of Revenue Schedule M­
IPR. Claims filed before August 15,2005, will be paid beginning in August
2005. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in 2005 is August
15,2006; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund. Forms
are available on-line at www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/forms/mlpr-.print.pdf.

The table on the following page shows the refund amount for two example
families with different incomes-a married couple without dependents in the
metro area, and a married couple without dependents in greater Minnesota (a
single person living alone would qualify for the same refund amounts).



How do refunds
vary depending
upon the filer's
income and rent
c~mstituting

property taxes?

Although the property tax refund threshold, copayment rates, and maximum
refund amounts are the same statewide, the average rent is higher in the metro
area than in greater Minnesota. The metro area family paid monthly rent in 2004
of$743, the fair market rent for a one-bedroom apartment in the metro area.
(19% of$743 x 12 = $1,694, which is their rent constituting property tax.) The
greater Minnesota family paid monthly rent in 2004 of $346, the fair market rent
for a one-bedroom apartment in many greater Minnesota counties. (19% of $346
x 12 = $789, which is their rent constituting property tax.) Taxpayers who are
over age 65, disabled, or have dependents are allowed a subtraction from income
in determining the refund.

Married couple both under age 65, no dependents

Metro area Greater Minnesota

Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer #2 Taxpayer #3 Taxpayer #4

1 Gross income $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000

2 Deduction for
dependents 0 0 0 0

3 Household income
(1 - 2 = 3) 15,000 30,000 15,000 30,000

4 Rent constituting
property tax 1,694 1,694 789 789

5 Statutory threshold
percentage 1.5% 2.7% 1.5% 2.7%

6 Threshold % x
income (3 x 5 = 6) 225 810 225 810

7 Property tax over
threshold (4 - 6 = 7) 1,469 884 564 0

8 Copay percentage 20% 35% 20% 35%

9 Taxpayer copay
amount (7 x 8 = 9) 294 309 113 NA

10 Remaining tax over
threshold
(7 - 9 = 10) 1,175 575 451 NA

11 Maximum refund
allowed 1,300 1,300 1,300 1,300

12 Net property tax
refund $1,175 $575 $451 $0

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Karen Baker at 651-296­
8959.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Unemployment Benefit Extensions

Current law limits most unemployment benefit applicants to 26 weeks of benefits. In some cases,
legislation has provided additional benefits when there is concern that the workers' circumstances or
economic factors create special difficulties~ State and federal law allow for general extensions when
certain circumstances are present, and both Congress and the state legislature have sometimes passed
extensions targeted to particular workers or in response to economic downturns;

Temporary
Extended
Unemployment
Compensation
(TEUC)

State Extended
Temporary
Unemployment
Benefits

State andfederal
general extension
provisions

Specific state
extensions

In March 2002, Congress passed a federal Temporary Extended Unemployment
Compensation (TEUC) program that provided up to 13 weeks of federally funded
additional benefits for individuals who exhaust their regular benefits and remain
unemployed. This program was available for anyone who exhausted benefits on or
after the week of March 15,2001, provided that the person had worked the
equivalent of at least 20 weeks of full-time employment during their base period
(the year of employment history that is used to calculate benefits). The TEUC
program terminated after the week ending April 3,2004.

Congress has also provided for up to 39 weeks of extra benefits for some
employees in airline and related industries who lose employment as a result of
events related to September 11, 2001, or the war in Iraq. These benefits terminated
on January 1, 2005, and any regular TEUC benefits the person has received are
subtracted from them, meaning that the individual can only receive a total of 39
weeks through both the general and the airline-specific federal programs.

During the 2002 session, the Minnesota Legislature passed a law thatprovided 13
weeks ofstate-funded benefits for workers who were not eligible for TEUC .
benefits because they did not meet the 20-week work requirement. This law
provided benefits on the same terms as the federal extension and expired at the end .
of calendar year 2002.

Both state and federal law include provisions that allow for additional
unemployment benefits to be paid under some conditions. The federal program
provides 13 weeks of extended benefits when the unemployment rate in a state
meets a specific level that the state has the authority to set for itself. Minnesota's
trigger unemployment rate is 6 percent of insured employment or 6.5 percent of
total employment. Neither of these levels has been reached recently.

Under the state'program, any worker can receive another 13 weeks of benefits ifhe
or she resides in a county with a seasonally adjusted unemployment rate above 10
percent and is part of a large layoff. This provision has been invoked several
times.

In addition to the general provisions available under state and federal law, the
legislature has, at times, provided additional benefits for particular workers.



Criteria for future
extensions

• In 1998, the legislature suspended the unemployment rate and mass layoff
requirements to make 13 weeks of additional benefits available to
employees laid off from Hibbing Taconite.

• In 2000, the legislature suspended the same requirements to offer 13 weeks
of extra benefits to employees from Eveleth Taconite and 26 weeks of extra
benefits available to employees from Hennepin Paper. The Hennepin Paper
employees were required to be in training in order to receive benefits.

• In 2001, the legislature provided an additional 26 weeks of benefits to
employees from LTV Steel, again requiring that applicants be in training.

• In 2002, the legislature provided additional benefits to several categories of
workers. Employees laid off during specified periods from Farmland
Foods, from Fingerhut in St. Cloud, Mora, or Eveleth, or from a list of
named airlines were provided with an additional 13 weeks of benefits.
Again, these individuals were required to be in training in order to continue
collecting benefits.

During the 2001 session, the legislature included criteria for future benefit
extensions in a section of legislative findings. They are that the employer has
permanently ceased operations and declared bankruptcy, that the community where
the employees live is disproportionately affected by the layoffs, that the
community is in a remote area where opportunities to find work are limited, and
that those receiving benefits receive training while they receive benefits. These
criteria are not binding on the legislature and do not state that extensions are
necessarilyappropriate in all cases where the criteria are met.

When the legislature passed the 2002 extensions, it included findings stating that
the extensions were appropriate under slightly different criteria, where the
employer had ceased operations at the particular location (though not necessarily in
all locations, and not necessarily accompanied by a declaration of bankruptcy), the
county unemployment rate was higher than the state average, and the community
met the criteria of remoteness and disproportionate effect. The legislature also
referred to the fact that some layoffs were related to an act of terrorism or war.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Long at elisabeth.1ong@house.rnn.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I st. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Salaries for
executive agency
heads are proposed
by the appointing
authority and
approved by the
legislature

Agency head
salaries

State Agency Head Salaries

The executive appointing authority proposes salaries for agency heads, within
maximums established in law. Minn. Stat. § 15A.0815. The governor is the
appointing authority for most agency heads. Some are appointed by other boards
(e.g., public pension boards).

The maximum salary for most agency heads is 95 percent of the governor's salary.
For several agency heads the maximum is 85 percent of the governor's salary.
Minn. Stat. § 15A.0815, subds. 2 and 3. The governor's salary is $120,303 (95
percent of this amount is $114,288; 85 percent is $102,258).

Salaries recommended by the appointing authority must be approved by the
legislature. During the interim between legislative sessions, the Legislative
Coordinating Commission (LCC) may give interim approval to salary increase
proposals. The LCe has appointed a Subcommittee on Employee Relations (SER)
to perform these and other duties..Salary proposals from the goveJ)1or submitted to
SER during the interim are approved if the group does not modify or reject them
within 30 days. Salary proposals submitted by other appointing authorities during
the interim take effect only if approved by SER. Salaries implemented during the
interim by SER must be approved by the next legislature, or they revert to the prior
level. Salary proposals sent to the legislature during a legislative session must be
approved by the full legislature before taking effect. Minn. Stat. §§ 3.855 and
15A.0815, subd. 5.

There isa different method for setting the salary of the lottery director. This salary
is set in statute at 95 percent of the governor's salary ($114,288). Minn. Stat.
§ 349A.02, subd. 1.

The following table lists the salaries for agency heads appointed by boards, cabinet
agency heads, and noncabinet agency heads.

Minnesota State Retirement System
Public Employees Retirement Association
State Board of Investment
Teachers Retirement Association

$ 99,950
99,950

110,560
99,950



Administration
A riculture
Commerce
Corrections
Education
Emplo ee Relations
Employment and Economic Development
Finance
Health
Hi her Education Services Office
Housing Finance Agency
Human Rights
Human Services
Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation
Labor and Industry.. .
Mediation Services
Metropolitan Council, Chair
Natural Resources
Pollution Control Agency
Public Safety
Revenue
Transportation
Veterans Affairs

$108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393
95,641

108,393
95,641
58,489

108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393
108,393

..Gambling Control Board
Metropolitan Airports Commission, Chair
Ombudsman for Mental Health and Retardation
Pari-mutuel Racing
Public Utilities Commission

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051 .

./

$ 88,455
20,833
88,455
88,455
88,455

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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The Streamlined Sales Tax Project (SSTP)

What is SSTP?

Which states are
participating in the
project?

How are decisions
made in SSTP?

The Streamlined Sales Tax Project (SSTP) is a voluntary effort by a number of
states to "simplify and modernize the sales and use tax administration in states in
order to substantially reduce the burden of sales tax administration for all sellers
and all types of commerce." The project was organized in March 2000 under the
auspices ofthe Federation of Tax Administrators, the National Conference of State
Legislatures, and the Association of Governors.

Nationally, 45 state impose a sales and use tax. Minnesota is one of 42 states that
are voting participants in the project. The District of Columbia is also a voting
participant. To be a voting participant, a state must either pass enabling legislation
or their governor must issue an executive order authorizing participation.

SSTP Participation
December 2004

Participating States
Nonparticipating States

States with No State Sales Tax

SSTP is divided into three groups-a project group, the implementing states group,
and the conforming states group. The project group consists of staff from tax
agencies in the participating states that develop recommendations for coordination
and simplification related to sales tax definitions, tax administration, and use of
technology for sales tax collection. Nonparticipating states may attend project
meetings and participate in discussions as observer states, however they may not
vote on recommendations.

The voting participants in SSTP make up the implementing states group. This
group votes to accept, reject, or modify the recommendations proposed by the
project group. Provisions accepted by this group make up the Streamlined Sales.
and Use Tax Agreement (SSTA).



Why is Minnesota
participating in
SSTP?

What will a
streamlined sales
tax system include?

Which states have
conformed their
sales tax laws to
SSTA?

The conforming states group consists of the 18 states that have passed confonning
legislation and that the implementing states group voted as most likely to conform
with the SSTA, as of April 2004. These states will set up the mechanism and vote·
on states in compliance with the agreement. Minnesota is one of these states.

Minnesota is a member of SSTP because it hopes that sales tax simplification
among the states will ultimately allow the state to collect sales tax on sales by
remote sellers. The state cannot require sellers to collect our sales tax unless they
have a physical presence in the state (the legal tenn is nexus). Requiring remote
sellers to collect the sales tax is considered an undue burden on interstate
commerce (see Quill v. North Dakota).

The long-term goal of the project is to simplify state sales tax systems enough so
that either (1) Congress will pass legislation to require remote sellers to collect
sales tax for states that have simplified their systems, or (2) the federal courts will
overturn the Quill decision and detennine that the simplification is sufficient to
remove the undue burden on interstate commerce.

The streamlined sales tax agreement (SSTA) developed by SSTP includes the
following features: .

• unifonn definitions for common tenns such as sales price, food, prepared
food, and clothing

• rate simplification
• unifonn sales tax bases within each state at the state and local level
• uniform sourcing rules (i.e., where a sales occurs)
• simplified administration for use and entity-based exemptions
• unifonn audit procedures and joint audits for multi-state businesses
• third-party collection systems and other new technology models for sales

tax collection

The agreement has not changed since November 12,2002, although the project
continues to work on additional uniform definitions.

In 2001 and 2002, Minnesota modified its sales tax law to reflect most of the
SSTA provisions. However, Minnesota still needs to pass some confonning
legislation, particularly in the definitions of taxable and exempt medicines and
medical devices, in order to fully comply with SSTA. As of December 2004, the
following 21 states have adopted some or all of the conforming legislation required
under SSTA:

Arkansas
Nebraska
Tennessee

Indiana
Nevada
Texas

Iowa
No. Carolina
Utah

Kansas
No. Dakota
Vermont

Kentucky
Ohio
Washington

Michigan
Oklahoma
W. Virginia

Minnesota
So. Dakota
Wyoming

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Pat Dalton at 651-296-7434. For further information on
SSTP visit the project web site at http://www.streamlinedsalestax.org.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm



Beverage Type Excise Tax per
gallon liter

Beer < 3.2% alcohol .08 NA
Beer> 3.2% alcohol .15 NA
Cider < 7% alcohol .15 NA
Low-alcohol dairy cocktails .08 .02
Wine < 14% alcohol .30 .08
Wine> 14% alcohol .95 .25
Sparkling wine 1.82 .48
Distilled spirits 5.03 1.33

Joel Michael

Two special state
taxes apply to
alcoholic beverages:
excise taxes and a
higher retail sales
tax

Excise tax rates are
set as a dollar
amount per volume
ofthe beverage

Few exemptions
apply

Alcoholic Beverage Taxes

Minnesota imposes two types of special taxes on alcoholic beverages:

• Special excise taxes are imposed on manufacturers or wholesalers of
these products. These taxes are a fixed dollar amount per unit (per barrel
or liter). The tax rates vary by beverage type. See the table below for
tax rates.

• A special higher sales tax rate of 9 percent (2.5 percentage points
higher than the regular rate) applies to their retail sales-whether made
on-sale (to be consumed in bars or restaurants) or off-sale (in liquor
stores or by other sellers). The tax is a percentage ofthe retail price. It
is scheduled to expire on January 1, 2006.

Manufacturers ofbeer and wholesalers of distilled spirits and wines pay the
special excise taxes. (If the beer manufacturer doesn't pay, the wholesaler or
importer is liable for the tax.) The table shows the rates for the most common
beverage categories. Higher rate categories apply to wines withalcoholic
contents that exceed 21 percent
and 24 percent, but little or no
products ofthese types are sold.
In addition, a special "bottle tax"
of 1 cent per bottle applies to
each wine and liquor bottle that
is 200 milliliters or larger.

Because the excise taxes are
fixed dollar amounts, they don't
vary with the price of the
product. Higher priced products pay the same tax as lower priced products.
Moreover, revenues grow only as more liters or barrels of the taxed products are
sold; they don't increase with inflation (price increases). For revenues to keep
pace with inflation, the legislature must adjust the tax rates periodically. It has
done this only sporadically (most recently in 1987).

The law exempts the following from the excise tax:
• Sacramental wine
• Product sold to food processors and pharmaceutical companies
• The first 25,000 barrels ofbeer produced by a brewery with annual

production ofless than 100,000 barrels (A barrel is 31 gallons.)



Beverage Type FY2004 % of
Revenues Total

(000)
Beer < 3.2% $345 0.3%

I' Beer> 3.2% 15,635 12.9%
Cider 34 0.0%
Wine < 14% 3,099 2.6%
Wine> 14% 290 0.2%
Sparkling Wine 747 0.6%
Distilled Spirits 46,729 38.6%
Excise tax total 66,880 55.2%
2.5% sales tax 54,208 44.8%
Total $121,088
Source: MN Department of Revenue

Excise Tax Rates (per gallon)
Bordering States

Strong Beer Table Wine Liquor
IA $.19 $1.75 N.A.
MN .15 .30 $5.03
ND .16 .50 2.50
SD .27 .93 3.93
WI .06 .25 3.25
Source: Federation ofTax Administrators

Revenues go to the
general fund

Minnesota tax
compared with
other states

Tax relative to
alcohol content
varies

Tax is regressive

Revenues from both the excise taxes and
the additional 2.5 percentage point sales
tax go to the general fund. Fiscal year
2004 revenues from the excise taxes were
about $67 million and $54 million for the
special sales tax. Thus, the special sales
tax rate raised over 40 percent of alcohol
tax revenues. The table to the right shows
the collections by beverage type for the
excise tax and for the additional sales tax
on all alcoholic beverages. The excise tax
revenue from liquor reflects the higher
rates imposed on these products, rather
than their share of the market (measured by dollars spent). It is safe to conclude
that the sales tax imposes a much higher tax burden on wine and beer than the
excise tax does.

Minnesota's wine and beer excise taxes are average or below average compared
with most other states. Minnesota's .
tax on distilled spirits (liquor) is
among the higher taxes for states
with excise taxes. A number of
states (including Iowa) have liquor
monopolies and a portion of the price
markup is a de facto tax; it is difficult
to compare the tax burden with these
states. The table compares
Minnesota's tax rates with its
bordering states. However, only North Dakota imposes an additional sales tax
(an additional 2 percentage points). Thus, the total Minnesota alcohol tax
burden is higher than suggested by simply comparing excise tax burdens.

The excise taxes are imposedon the volume of the beverage, not its alcoholic
content. (The federal tax on distilled spirits, by contrast, is imposed explicitly
on alcoholic content.) Since alcoholic content varies ~ignificantly within
beverage type, it is difficult to generalize about the tax on alcohol content. But
using averages for beverage types, it is apparent that alcohol in beer and wine is
lightly taxed compared with liquor. The excise tax per an ounce of alcohol in
liquor is about 9 cents, while it is between 2 and 3 cents for wine and beer.

The alcohol taxes are regressive; they constitute a higher share of income for
lower income families and individuals, on average. The Department of
Revenue's Tax Incidence Study indicates they are less regressive than the
tobacco taxes, but are nevertheless more regressive than the general sales tax.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057.
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Senior Citizens Property Tax Deferral Program

What is the Senior
Citizens Property
Tax Deferral
Program?

How does it work?

Who qualifies?

The Senior Citizens Property Tax Deferral Program allows property taxpayers who
are 65 years or older, and whose total household income is $60,000 or less, to defer
a portion of their homestead property taxes until some later time. It allows senior
citizens whose property taxes are high relative to their incomes, but who wish to
stay in their homes, an option for paying their property taxes.

Regardless ofhow high the tax is on the homestead, the taxpayer initially pays an
amount equal to only 3 percent of the total preceding year's household income.
The state pays any amount over 3 percent, called the "deferred tax," to the county
in which the home is located. A lien attaches to the property. The deferred tax is a
loan. Interest on the loan is calculated at the same rate as unpaid state taxes (a
floating rate), but cannot exceed 5 percent. Before the owner can transfer the title
of the property, the deferred tax plus interest must be repaid.

For example, John and Mary Jones own.a home; its total property tax is $1,400.
They have a total household income of $30,000. Under this program, they must
pay $900 in tax (3 percent of $30,000); the remaining $500 ($1,400 minus $900) is
deferred.

In order to qualify for the program, all ofthe following criteria must be met:

• The property must be owned and occupied as a homestead by a person 65
years of age or older (If married, both must be 65 years old)

• Total household income must be $60,000 or less for the calendar year
preceding the year of the initial application

• The home must have been owned and occupied as the homestead of at
least one of the homeowners for at least 15 years before the initial
application

• There must be no state or federal tax liens or judgment liens on the
property

• The total unpaid balances of debts secured by mortgages and other liens on
the property, including deferred tax and interest amounts under the
program, unpaid and delinquent special assessments and property taxes,
penalties and interest (but excluding the current year's property taxes), do
not exceed 75 percent of the assessor's estimated market value for the
current year



Does the taxpayer
need to annually
reapply?

Can the taxpayer
still file for
refunds?

When does it
terminate?

How does this
program differ from
a reverse mortgage?

How many
taxpayers are
participating in the
program?

Where does a
taxpayer apply for
the program?

No, once a taxpayer is enrolled in the program, annual applications are not
required. However, if household income exceeds $60,000 in any calendar year, the·
owner must notify the Department ofRevenue. No further property taxes may be
deferred until income falls below the $60,000 threshold. However, the owners will
remain enrolled in the program until their income falls below the $60,000
threshold, at which point they must notify the state and request that the deferral be
resumed.

Yes, a taxpayer is still allowed to file for the property tax refund and any other
property rebates that the state may offer. However, no direct cash payments will
be made to the taxpayer. Rather, the amount of the refund will be applied to the
total amount of the deferred property tax on the taxpayer's home. The property tax
refund is calculated on the full tax amount.

The deferral terminates when anyone of the following events occurs:

• the property is sold or transferred

• all qualifying homeowners die

• the homeowner notifies the Commissioner ofRevenue, in writing, of intent
to withdraw from the program

• the property no longer qualifies as a homestead

A reverse mortgage loan is a loan arrangement with a lender, secured by a
mortgage (lien), where the homeowner receives a monthly payment from the
lender. The total dollar amount is established at the beginning of the arrangement.
The full amount, plus interest, is due when the home is sold. The lender charges

. closing costs, which can be substantial.

The senior citizen deferral program also constitutes a lien on the property, but the
homeowner does not need to guess "up-front" how many dollars are needed.
Rather any tax amount ov~r 3 percent of income is automatically deferred.
In~erest, not to exceed 5 percent, is charged on the deferred tax as it is
accumulated.

For property taxes payable in 2005, qualifying taxpayers are using the program to
defer taxes on about 100 homes. The Department ofRevenue reimbursed the
counties about $182,000 for the deferred tax in 2004.

Applications are available in the county auditor's office or may be obtained from
the Department ofRevenue's web site at
www.taxes.state.mn.us/taxes/property/forms/crscd.pdf.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Steve Hinze at 651­
296-8956.
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State Responses to the 2001 Federal Estate Tax Changes

Phaseout of State Death Tax
Credit Under EGTRRA

Calendar Year % allowed
2002 75%
2003 50%
2004 25%
2005 ~ 2010 No credit

The 2001 federal
tax act or EGTRRA
eliminated the
ability ofstates to
impose pure
"pickup" estate
taxes that are horne
by the federal
treasury

Thirty-two states
are reducing their
pickup taxes by the
full amount ofthe
reductions in the
federal credit

Three states
temporarily opted
out ofEGTRRA 's
reductions

From 1924 through 2001, the federal estate tax allowed a dollar-for-dollar credit
for state death taxes paid (up to maximum limits). All states imposed estate
taxes up to the amount of the federal credit; some states also imposed additional
inheritance or estate taxes. In 2001,38 states, including Minnesota, imposed
pickup estate taxes as their only form of a death tax.

The Economic Growth and Tax Relief and
Reconciliation Act of 2001 (EGTRRA) repealed
the federal credit for state death taxes in three
steps. See box at the right. States now can no
longer impose estate taxes that do not increase
total taxes. EGTRRA also increased the
exemption amounts and reduced tax rates.

Minnesota opted not to continue with a pure pickup tax. Minnesota now has a
stand-alone estate tax equal to the federal credit before EGTRRA passed. This
short subject summarizes pow states have responded to EGTRRA's repeal of the
federal credit. It reflects changes enacted by states through December 2004.

Twenty states that impose only pickup taxes are automatically linked to federal
law (AL, AK, AZ, CA, CO, DE, FL, GA, HA, ill, MI, MS, MO, MT, NV, ND,
TX, DT, WV, and wy) and have not taken action to decouple. Constitutions in
three states (AL, FL, and NV) limit the tax to a pure pickup tax.

Three states imposing only pickup taxes (AR, SC, and SD) legislatively adopted
EGTRRA's changes.

Nine states with stand-alone taxes have pickup taxes that are automatically
linked to federal law (CT, IN, lA, KY, LA, NH, OK, PA, and TN) and have not
decoupled from EGTRRA. The pickup taxes will be reduced with the phaseout
of the federal credit. The stand-alone taxes will continue, so EGTRRA will
reduce revenues to the level of the stand-alone taxes. Louisiana's tax expired on
June 30, 2004. Connecticut's is scheduled to expire on Jan. 1,2006.

Illinois (2003-2009), North Carolina (2002 - July 1, 2005), and Wisconsin (Oct.
1,2002 - Dec. 31, 2007) temporarily opted not to allow EGTRRA's reductions
to reduce taxes. These states impose only pickup estate taxes. Absent additional
legislative changes, their estate taxes will revert to full conformity and expire.



Five states adopted
EGTRRA's higher
exemptions, but not
the credit
reductions

Eleven states have
adopted none of
EGTRRA's major
changes

Changes in stand­
alone taxes

Thirty-five states
are scheduled to
have no death· tax

Illinois, Maine, Maryland, North Carolina, and Vennont adopted at least two of
EGTRRA's increases in the exemption amounts, but not the reductions in the
federal credit for state death taxes. North Carolina, as noted above, delayed full
confonnity by three and one-half years. Vennont' s tax will expire when the
federal tax is repealed. Illinois did not adopt the final increase (to $3.5 million)
in the federal exemption, but its tax is scheduled to expire in 2010.

Seven states with taxes tied to pre-EGTRRA federal law have not adopted
EGTRRA or have made explicit changes confinning that EGTRRA's provisions
do not apply (KS, MN, NY, OB, OR, VA, and WA). Four states whose laws
were automatically linked to changes in federal law have decoupled by either
linking to federal law at a specific date (MA, NJ, and RI) or by enacting an­
estate tax not explicitly tied to federal law (NE).

New Hampshire repealed its stand-alone succession tax, effective January 1,
2003. Kansas enacted a successions tax in 2002, but repealed it in 2003 and
refunded any taxes paid.

When the federal credit for state death taxes is fully repealed in 2005,31 states
are now scheduled to have no state death tax. Four additional states will have
their taxes expire in later years. These states are shown in the map below.

States Without Estate or Inheritance Taxes
(2005 unless otherwise noted)

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael atjoe1.michael@house.mn. Also see the
House Research publications The Minnesota Estate Tax after the 2001 Federal Tax Act, January 2003, and.
State Responses to 2001 Federal Estate Tax Changes, February 2004.
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The Minnesota Estate Tax

Exemption Amount and Tax Rates

Exemption. The exemption amount is
$950,000 for individuals dying in 2005,
but is scheduled to increase to
$1,000,000 for 2006 and later.

Tax rates. The tax rates range from 5.6
percent to 16 percent. The top rate
applies to the amount of the taxable
estate over $10,040,000..

Because transfers to surviving spouses
are exempt, a $1 million exemption
allows a married couple with a joint net
worth ofless than $2 million to avoid the
tax.

Minnesota imposes a tax on the estates of individuals who are residents of the
state when they die or who own real property in Minnesota when they die. The
tax is imposed under a graduated rate
schedule on the taxable estate. The
taxable estate is generally the fair
market v~lue of the estate on the day the
decedent died, less deductions (e.g.,
transfers to a surviving spouse and
charitable bequests) and an exemption
amount. Seethe box to the right for the
exemption and rate amounts.

The rules under the estate tax are
determined largely by reference to the
rules under the similar federal estate
tax. For the 16 years ending December
31,2001, the Minnesota estate tax was
directly linked to the federal tax as a
"pickup" or "soak-up" tax equal to the
credit allowed under federal estate tax
for state death taxes. As a pickup tax,
the Minnesota tax imposed no additional tax burden on estates. For each dollar
of state tax paid, federal tax was reduced by an equal amount. However,
Congress repealed this credit in 2001, so that it is completely eliminated for
decedents dying after December 31, 2004. In 2001, the legislature chose to
continue imposing the estate tax under the rules in effect before Congress
repealed the credit. As a result, the tax now is a stand-alone estate tax and
imposes a real tax burden on estates and their heirs.

The Minnesota tax
evolved as a
creature ofthe
federal estate tax

The estate tax
equals a percentage
ofthe taxable estate

Few estates pay the
tax; it is a
progressive source
ofrevenue

Fewer than 2 percent of estates pay the estate tax. The small number of estates
paying tax results from the exemption amount and the fact that amounts left to
surviving spouses are deductible. The decedents with taxable estates are, almost
by definition, some of the most affluent individuals in the state. Most evidence
also suggests that recipients of bequests from taxable estates also have above
averageincome and assets, Thus, the tax is a "progressive" source of revenue; it
rises as a percentage of income as income rises.



Source: Department of Finance

$58.1
$54.2
$68.2

$127.7
$90.1

Estate Tax Revenues
FY 1998-2002

(millions)
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004

All revenues from the tax are deposited in the
general fund. The Department of Finance
(November 2004 forecast) estimates that the
tax raises about $80 million to $90 million per
fiscal year. See the box to the right for the last
jive years ofactwil collections. Revenues from
the tax are very volatile, since they depend on
the deaths of a few individuals. If one very
wealthy individual dies, collections can soar.
For example in July 2002, the Department of
Revenue received a check from one estate for
tax of $55 million (compared with estimated revenues for the whole year of $65
million and total collections of$54.2 million in 2001). In other years, revenues
may fall below estimates.

The estate tax
provides a modest,
but volatile, source
ofgeneral fund
revenue

Phaseout of State Death Tax Credit
Under the Federal Estate Tax

50%

25%

No credit

Percentage allowed

75%

2003

2002

2005-2010

2004

Calendar Year

The repeal ofthe federal credit creates an incentive for affluent, elderly
Minnesotans to consider changing their domiciles to a state without an estate
tax. When Minnesota imposed only a pickup tax, the federal treasury paid the
effective burden of the tax. As a result, Minnesota residents had no reason to
change their domiciles to another state to avoid the Minnesota tax. However, in
2001 Congress eliminated the credit.
See the table to the right for the
phaseout schedule. Repeal of the credit
makes the state tax a "real" tax that
reduces the amount ofmoney and other
property that can be left to heirs.
Affluent individuals may be willing to
change their domiciles to avoid paying
potentially multi-million state estate tax
liabilities. The fact that .many of these
individuals have second homes in states
that will not have stand-alone estate
taxes increases their ease of doing so. (Alabama, Florida, and Nevada, for
example, are prohibited by their state constitutions from imposing a state tax that
exceeds the federal credit; Texas has taken no action to impose an estate tax and
seems unlikely to do so.) If these individuals change their domiciles, they would
also 'avoid the state income tax, since most of these states (Florida, Nevada, and
Texas, again) do not have individual income taxes.

Repeal ofthe
federal credit
creates an incentive
for high net worth
Minnesota residents
to move to another
state

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research short subject State Responses to 2001 Federal Estate Tax Changes, January 2005.
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Years of Tax Rate Increases
Cigarette Tobacco

Products
1985 $0.23 25%
1987 $0.38 35%
1991 $0.43 35%
1992 $0.48 35%

Minnesota's
cigarette tax is
48 cents per
pack

The legislature
has increased
the cigarette tax
four times since
1985

Tax revenues
--- ar.e about $182

million per year

The tax is
regressive

Neighboring
states have
comparable tax
rates

Cigarette and Tobacco Excise Taxes

Minnesota imposes an excise tax on the sale or possession of cigarettes of 48 cents per
pack of20 cigarettes. This tax is a "per unit" tax; it is imposed on the number of
cigarettes sold, not as a percentage of the sale price. Because the tax is a per unit tax,
it does not increase as the price of cigarettes increases. Unless the legislature
increases the rate, inflation reduces the relative burden of the tax.

Tobacco products, such as cigars, pipe tobacco, snuff, and chewing tobacco, are
subject to a tobacco products tax equal to 35 percent of their wholesale prices.

Over the last 20 years, the legislature has increased
the cigarette tax rate four times and the tobacco
products tax rate twice. The table shows the years
when rates were increased and the total rates (after
the increase).

For fiscal year 2005, the Finance Department estimates collections from the two taxes
will be about $182 million. Revenues from the tobacco products tax are deposited in
the general fund. Revenues from 6.5 cents per pack ofthe cigarette tax go to fund the
Academic Health Center, 2.5 cents to the medical education and research account, and
the rest are deposited in the state general fund.

According to the Department ofRevenue's 2003 Tax Incidence Study, the cigarette
and tobacco taxes are the most regressive ofMinnesota's state and local taxes. The
burden of these taxes falls much more heavily on lower income households (as a share
of income) than any of the other categories oftaxes analyzed in the study.

Because cigarettes can easily be transported from one state to another, particularly by
individuals who live near state borders, the tax rates in bordering states are important
to tax policy. States bordering Minnesota have roughly comparable cigarette excise
tax rates. Wisconsin (77 cents) and South Dakota (53 cents) have higher rates, while
North Dakota (44 cents) and Iowa (36 cents) have lower rates.

The rates for all states are shown on the map. Minnesota's tax rate of48 cents ranks
3;th highest. The map does not reflect local cigarette taxes, which are allowed in some
states; some of these local taxes are substantial (e.g., $1.50 per pack in New York
City). Some states have no sales tax or exempt cigarettes from sales taxation,
lowering the overall tax burden.



State Cigarette Tax Rates*
as of 1/1/2005
cents per pack

RI-171

JL~o;;-c~.L~i:~~
DE-55
DC-100

MD - 100

64

53

44

84

60

69.5

170

118 91

., oJ

<l>~

140 C>

* These exclude some significant local taxes.
Source: Federation of Tax Administrators and other sources

State Cigarette Tax Rate Increases in CY2004
cents per pack

MontanaT 100 New Jersey 35
Oklahoma*t 80 Pennsylvania 35
Michigan 75 Alabama 26
Coloradot 64 Virginia 17.5
Alaska 60
T Approved by voters 11/04.
Source: FTA, NCSL, and State Tax Notes, compiled by
House Fiscal Analysis Department
* Also exempts cigarettes from sales tax, reducing the
effective increase.

Numerous states have recently increased their cigarette tax
rates to balance their budgets or to fund program
initiatives. Voters in three states approved cigarette tax
increases in November 2004. The recent increases are
listed in the table. A temporary 10-cent increase in the
Oregon tax expired during 2004.

Settlements of the states' lawsuits against the tobacco
companies have about the same economic effect as a
cigarette tax, since these settlement payments are passed
along to consumers (nationally) through higher cig·arette
prices. To compensate partially for the lower prices ofnonsettlement cigarettes, the 2003 Minnesota
Legislature imposed a 35-cent per pack "fee" on manufacturers who did not settle with the state. Michigan
and Utah also impose a 35-cent surcharge on these cigarettes; Alaska imposes a 25-cent surcharge.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Types ofactive
service for military
personnel

Types ofreserve
military service

Types of Service for Military Personnel

"Active service" is defined similarly under both federa11aw and Minnesota
Statutes section 190.05. Active service includes the following three types of
service:

• "Federal active service": Service under U.S.c. Title 10, excluding the
other two types of active service; this is what one usually thinks of as
regular active military duty (e.g., service in the United States, Iraq, the
Balkans, or elsewhere)

• "Federally funded state active service": Service under U.S.C. Title 32,
typically for training purposes (e.g., reservist weekend drills and annual
training (summer camp), but also airport security duty within Minnesota
following 9/11, etc.) Title 32 also includes certain full-time voluntary
employment in the Guard or Reserves (called AGR).

• "State active service": Activation by the governor (e.g., for flood and
tornado emergencies, lost-person searches, riot control, etc.); entirely at
state cost

As with any person enlisting in active military service, a person enlisting in the
National Guard or other Reserves signs an eight-year contract.

• "Selective reserve status": During the first six years of a person's
enlistment, the Guard or Reserve member serves mostly in this status
(except while in "active service" under Title 32 for basic training, summer
training, and special training, or under Title 10 for duty in Iraq, the
Balkans, etc.). Soldiers sometimes refer to this status as "drill status" or
"active reserve status."

•. "Individual ready reserve status" (lRR): During the final two years of
the person's eight-year contract, the Guard or Reserve member typically
stops training altogether, and returns to civilian life entirely. However, the
person is actually in the IRR and, thus, may be placed on "stop loss" or
ordered back into active service; if that happens, the person may be held
well beyond the eight-year agreement of the enlistment contract.

• "Active guard and reserve status" (AGR): Full-time employment under
Title 32 in the National Guard or Reserves, as a career job (but technically
while still in the Guard or Reserves - e.g., an accountant). Most members
of the Guard and Reserve never serve in AGR status.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jim Cleary at 651-296-5053.
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State Responses to the 2001 Federal Estate Tax Changes

Phaseout of State Death Tax
Credit Under EGTRRA

Calendar Year % allowed
2002 75%
2003 50%
2004 25%
2005 - 2010 No credit

The 2001 federal
tax act or EGTRRA
eliminated the
ability ofstates to
impose pure
"pickup" estate
taxes that are borne
by the federal
treasury

Thirty-three states
are reducing their
pickup taxes by the
full amount ofthe
reductions in the
federal credit

Three states
temporarily opted
out ofEGTRRA 's
reductions

From 1924 through 2001, the federal estate tax allowed a dollar-for-dollar credit
for state death taxes paid (up to maximum limits). All states imposed estate
taxes up to the amount of the federal credit; some states also imposed additional
inheritance or estate taxes. In 2001,38 states, including Minnesota, imposed
pickup estate taxes as their only form of a death tax.

The Economic Growth and Tax Relief and
Reconciliation Act of2001 (EGTRRA) repealed
the federal credit for state death taxes in three
steps. See box at the right. States now can no
longer impose estate taxes that do not increase
total taxes. EGTRRA also increased the
exemption amounts and reduced tax rates.

Minnesota opted not to continue with a pure pickup tax. Minnesota now has a
stand-alone estate tax equal to the federal credit before EGTRRA passed. This
short subject summarizes how states have responded to EGTRRA's repeal of the
federal credit. It reflects changes enacted by states through December 2004.

Twenty states that impose only pickup taxes are automatically linked to federal
law (AL, AK, AZ, CA, CO, DE, FL, GA, HA, ill, MI, MS, MO, MT, NY, ND,
TX, UT, WV, and WY) and have not taken action to decouple. Constitutions in
three states (AL, FL, and NY) limit the tax to a pure pickup tax.

Three states imposing only pickup taxes (AR, SC, and SD) legislatively adopted
EGTRRA's changes. The Washington Supreme Court held the Washington tax
expired with the repeal ofthe federal credit, despite a statute linked to federal
law as ofa date before enactment ofEGTRRA.

Nine states with stand-alone taxes have pickup taxes that are automatically
linked to federal law (CT, IN, lA, KY, LA, NH, OK, PA, and TN) and have not
decoupled from EGTRRA. The pickup taxes will be reduced with the phaseout
of the federal credit. The stand-alone taxes will continue, so EGTRRA will
reduce revenues to the level of the stand-alone taxes. Louisiana's tax expired on
June 30, 2004. Connecticut's is scheduled to expire on Jan. 1,2006.

Illinois (2003-2009), North Carolina (2002 - July 1, 2005), and Wisconsin (Oct.
1,2002 - Dec. 31,2007) temporarily opted not to allow EGTRRA's reductions
to reduce taxes. These states impose only pickup estate taxes. Absent additional
legislative changes, their estate taxes will revert to full conformity and expire.



Five states adopted
EGTRRA's higher
exemptions, but not
the credit
reductions

Ten states have
adopted none of
EGTRRA's major
changes

Changes in stand­
alone taxes

Thirty-six states are
scheduled to have
no death tax

Illinois, Maine, Maryland, North Carolina, and Vennont adopted at least two of
EGTRRA's ilicreases in the exemption amounts, but not the reductions in the
federal credit for state death taxes. North Carolina, as noted above, delayed full
confonnity by three and one-half years. Vennont's tax will expire when the
federal tax is repealed. Illinois did not adopt the final increase (to $3.5 million)
in the federal exemption, but its tax is scheduled to expire in 2010.

Six states with taxes tied to pre-EGTRRA federal law have not adopted
EGTRRA or have made explicit changes confinning that EGTRRA's provisions
do not apply (KS, MN, NY, OH, OR, and VA). Four states whose laws were
automatically linked to changes in federal law have decoupled by either linking
to federal law at a specific date (MA, NJ, and RI) or by enacting an estate tax
not explicitly tied to federal law (NE).

New Hampshire repealed its stand-alone succession tax, effective January 1,
2003. Kansas enacted a successions tax in 2002, but repealed it in 2003 and
refunded any taxes paid.

When the federal credit for state death taxes is fully repealed in 2005,32 states
are now scheduled to have no state death tax. Four additional states will have
their taxes expire in later years. These states are shown in the map below.

States Without Estate or Inheritance Taxes
(2005 unless otherwise noted)

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael atjoel.michael@house.mn. Also see the
House Research publications The Minnesota Estate Tax after the 2001 Federal Tax Act, January 2003, and
State Responses to 2001 Federal Estate Tax Changes, February 2004.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Limited Market Value

What is limited
market value?

What property does
LMVapply to?

Is it permanent?

Does the assessor
continue valuing
the property?

How does it work?

How does the
phaseout work?

Limited market value (LMV) is a limitation on the amount that a property's
market value may grow from one year to the next for purposes ofproperty
taxation. It was enacted to help mitigate rising property taxes resulting from
rapidly inflating property values.

The following classes of property qualify for LMV:

• agricultural homestead and nonhomestead
• residential homestead and nonhomestead
• seasonal recreational residential property (i.e., cabins)
• timberland (beginning with the 2001 assessment)

LMV provisions were in effect from 1973 to 1979, and again from 1993 to the
present. The 2001 Legislature enacted a law to phase out LMV over a six-year
period-from assessment years 2002-2007. Beginning in assessment year 2007
(for taxes payable in 2008), all property will be valued ,at its estimated full market
value for property tax purposes.

The assessor continues to determine the property's fair market value. This value
is called the "estimated market value" (EMV). However, property that qualifies
for treatment under LMV may not be taxed at the full value of the property if its
growth exceeds the limits.

For qualifying property in assessment year 2004 (taxes payable in 2005), the
increase in market value shall not exceed the greater of:

• 15 percent of the LMV in the preceding assessment year, or
• 25 percent of the difference between the current year's EMV and the

previous year's LMV.

For each year, the maximum valuation increase is determined by calculating the
increase allowed under columns (1) and (2), and choosing whichever is higher.

(1) (2)
Percentage of Percentage of difference between previous

Assessment Year previous year's LMV year's LMV and current year's EMV

2002 10% 15%
2003 12 20
2004 15 25
2005 15 33
2006 15 50



Example
calculations

How much has
LMVgrown?

Assessment year 2004/payable year 2005
The LMV of a home is $100,000 for assessment year 2003. For assessment year
2004, the assessor determines that the EMV ofthe home is $130,000. The
maximum market value increase for tax purposes is the greater of:

• 15 percent increase over the previous year, which is $15,000, or
• 25 percent of the $30,000 difference in value, which is $7,500.

Therefore, the home's LMV is $100,000 plus $15,000, or $115,000 for
aSsessment year 2004.

For taxes payable in 2005, $33.1 billion ofmarket value was excluded from the
tax rolls due to LMV. The table shows the amounts for 1994-2005.

Taxes Payable Excluded Value*
Year EMV* LMV* Amount Percentage
1994 $124.1 $123.5 $0.7 0.5%
1995 132.0 131.0 1.0 0.8
1996 142.1 140.4 1.6 1.1
1997 152.1 150.0 2.0 1.3
1998 163.6 161.1 2.5 1.5
1999 176.6 173.3 3.4 1.9

2000 202.6 197.0 5.6 2.8
2001 226.4 215.8 10.6 4.7
2002 260.4 239.4 21.0 8.1
2003 284.8 253.9 30.9 10.8
2004 322.9 288.0 34.9 10.8
2005 364.6 331.5 33.1 9.1

* Affected property classes only. All amounts in billions.

Statewide Percentage of Tax Base Excluded
due to LMV (affected classes only)
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Steve Hinze at 651­
296-8956.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Constitutional Issues in the Initiative Process

This short subject summarizes initiative regulations that have been invalidated by the U.S. Supreme Court or
lower courts .. If the initiative process were adopted in Minnesota, regulation of the process would be
restricted as indicated by this case law.

Spending limits on
proponents and
opponents

Corporate spending
bans

Contribution limits
in ballot question
campaigns

Petition signature
requirements

Paidpetition
circulators

There is no case dealing with the validity of laws that limit how much proponents
and opponents can spend on a ballot drive. However, the distinction between
candidate contributions and issue advocacy in Buckley v. Valeo is generally

. understood to prevent imposing spending limits in a ballot question campaign. 424
U.S. 1 (1976).

Corporations have a constitutional right to spend money in a ballot question
campaign. First National Bank v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765 (1978).

It is unconstitutional to limit the size of a contribution that can be given to a group
working for or against a ballot question. Citizens Against Rent Control v. City of
Berkeley, 454 U.S. 290 (1981).

One state and one fedenil court have struck down geographic distribution
requirements for gatheringsignatures for initiative petition. The courts ruled that
the requirements dilute urban voters' exercise of their constitutional right to
participate in the initiative process. Gallivan v. Walker, 54 P.3d 1069, 1086 (Utah
2002); Idaho Coalition Unitedfor Bearsv. Cenarussa, 342 F.3d 1073, 1076 (CA9
2003). These cases are not controlling authority in Minnesota but might influence
the Minnesota Supreme Court or local federal courts in interpreting a geographic
distribution requirement.

States may not ban paid petition circulators. Meyers v. Grant, 486 U.S. 414
(1988). A variation, banning payment per signature, has been struck down by three
federal courts and upheld by another federal court in a case involving North
Dakota. (Struck down: Limit v. Maleng, 874 F. Supp. 1138 (W.D. Wash. 1994); On
Our Terms '97 PAC v. Secretary ofState o/the State ofMaine, 101 F. Supp. 2d 19 .
(1999); Idaho Coalition/or Bears v. Cenarussa, 342 F.3d 1073, 1165-66 (CA9
2003); Upheld: Initiative and Referendum Institute v. Jaeger, 241 F.3d 614 (CA8
2001).)

In the North Dakota situation, the per-signature ban was enacted following an
experience with irregularities in a particular ballot campaign, so the court found the
legislature was responding to a genuine problem as opposed to a theoretical
possibility.



Other circulator
regulations

Colorado enacted comprehensive regulations ofpetition circulators in the 1990s.
The U.S. Supreme Court upheld parts and struck down other parts. Buckley v.
American Constitutional Law Foundation, 119 S. Ct. 636 (1999). The table below
summarizes the case result.

Circulators must be at least 18

Circulation time limits

Petition must show circulator name and address in attached affidavit

Sponsors mllst file a monthly report showing names of proponents and
ballot measure

Sponsors must disclose amount paid per signature

Circulator must wear ill badge with his or her name

Circulator must be registered voter

Sponsors must disclose paid circulators' names, addresses, and counties
where registered to vote

Sponsors must file a monthly report showing (1) each circulator's name
and address and (2) money paid and owed to each circulator

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah McKnight at 651-296-5056. Also see the
House Research publication Initiative and Referendum, February 1999.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Assistancefrom
military personnel

General benefits

Benefits for the Family of a Fallen Soldier

The military will assign a casualty assistance officer to work with the family for a
National Guard member, probably a person from the Minnesota Department of
Military Affairs. That person contacts the family in person immediately following
the soldier's death. The military casualty assistance officer will help the family to
make arrangements for the funeral and the honor guard, and to apply for all
military benefits at the appropriate time.

Local veterans organizations are available to assist, at the family's discretion.

The following benefits are available to the family of a Minnesota soldier who dies
while in active military service. \

• A military honor guard at the soldier's funeral and/or burial (arranged by
funeral home and military casualty assistance officer)

• An American flag to cover the soldier's coffin (federal benefit; by funeral
director)

• Free burial in a national cemetery (Fort Snelling or any national cemetery,
except Arlington) or at the Minnesota State Veterans Cemetery at Little

.Falls

• A bronze-star grave marker (from the state)

• Any remaining military pay for the month

• A $12,000 death gratuity payment from the military (not taxable, since late
2004)

• Eligible for Servicemembers Group Life Insurance (SGLI) (up to
$250,000, depending on whatever level the soldier has contracted for and
paid premiums)

• The soldier's surviving spouse would be eligible for Death Indemnity
Compensation (a monthly payment, no longer depending on rank, to the
surviving spouse for life, irrespective of the soldier's rank or the recipient's
income). This benefit terminates if the surviving spouse remarries within
ten years.



Education benefits If the soldier had any dependent children, those dependent children would qualify
to attend any Minnesota public higher educational institution tuition-free' (except
the University of Minnesota system). This -state benefit includes any legally
adopted children, but not foster children.

County veterans
service officer

The soldier's surviving spouse and dependent children are eligible to attend any
public or private higher educational institution and receive a monthly stipend from
the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. The dependent children can also receive
this benefit while attending high school.

The county veteran service officer (the CVSO, of any county in the state) can help
the family apply for all state and federal veterans benefits, both immediately and
over the months and years following the death of the soldier, as benefit laws and
each survivor's situation changes.

If the family has an immediate financial crisis at the time of the soldier's death or
at any time thereafter, the CVSO can help the family apply for a grant from the
Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs State Soldiers Assistance Fund for
immediate financial assistance (of up to $1,000 or more, depending upon family
size and need) for daily living expenses. The local CVSO can be found in the local
phone book under county government listings.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jim Cleary at 651-296-5053.
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legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Features of State Same-Sex Marriage Constitutional Amendments

At the 2004 general elections, 13 states adopted state constitutional bans on same-sex marriage. Before that
year, four states had such bans in effect. This table summarizes key features of the amendments.

State/Date of Defines or Provides for Prohibits Does not Bans/does not
Adoption recognizes the legislature same sex recognize/voids recognize civil

marriage as to define marriage same sex unions
only between marriage marriage
a man and a
woman

Alaska (1999) X

Arkansas (2004) X

Georgia (2004) X X Xl X

Hawaii (1998) X

Kentucky (2004) X X X

Louisiana2 (2004) X X3 X

Michigan (2004) X X X

Missouri (2004) X X4

Mississippi (2004) X

Montana (2004) X

Nebraska (2000) X X

Nevada (2002) X

North Dakota (2004) X X X

Ohio (2004) X X

Oklahoma (2004) X X 5 X6 X

Oregon (2004) X

Utah (2004) X X

I Specifically mentions marriage entered in another jurisdiction or state.
2 After the amendment was ratified by voters, it was challenged on grounds of violating the single subject rule. Plaintiffs
argued that defining marriage and banning civil unions were two different questions. The state supreme court rejected that
argument. Forumfor Equality PAC v. McKeithen, 2005 WL 106567 (January 19,2005).
3 Specifically mentions marriage entered in another jurisdiction or state.
4 Specifically mentions marriage entered in another jurisdiction or state.
5 Misdemeanor to issue marriage license to same-sex couple.
6 Specifically mentions marriage entered in another jurisdiction or state.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah McKnight at 651-296-5056.
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What are housing
improvement areas?

What kind of
improvements can
be made in an RIA?

How is an RIA
established?

How are the
improvements
financed?

Housing Improvement Areas

A housing improvement area (BIA) is a defined area in a city in which housing
improvements in condominium or townhome complexes may be financed with the
assistance of the city, or the city's economic development authority (EDA) or
housing and redevelopment authority (BRA).

Prior to 1996, cities needed special legislation to establish an BIA. In 1996, cities
were granted the authority under general law. The generalla:w, codified in
Minnesota Statutes, sections 428A.1l to 428A.2l, sunsets June 30, 2005.

The improvements that may be made under this law include improvements to the
common elements in a condominium complex or townhome development.
Examples include roofing, siding, landscaping, roadways, and walkways.

At property owner's request. An RIA can only be established at the request
(petition) of at least 25 percent of the property owners in the proposed area. If the
petition is filed, then the city prepares an ordinance that:

• describes the area specifically,
• states the basis for imposing fees and the number of years the fees will be

imposed, and
• makes a finding that without the BIA, the proposed improvements could not

be made.

The ordinance must also specify if the city, the EDA, or RRA will implement the
ordinance.

Notice, public hearing, ordinance. Before adopting the ordinance, the city must·
hold a public hearing at which the proposed improvements, affected housing units,
and the exempt units are listed. Potentially affected property owners may testify at
the hearing. Those property owners may object in writing, and if the city agrees,
may be excluded from the area or fee imposed.

The ordinance may be adopted within six months after the conclusion of the public
hearing.

The city may finance the housing improvements by:

(1) advancing funds available to the city to pay up front and then recover the
costs by charging fees; or

(2) issuing bonds to pay the costs and then imposing fees or assessments to
repay the bonds. Obligations are not included in the city's net debt and no
election is required for their issuance.



What plans or
reports are
required?

How many cities
have established
HIAs?

Before imposing fees, the notice must be issued and a public hearing held. Within
six months ofthe conclusion of the public hearing, the city may adopt a resolution
to impose the fees.

Before the city imposes and collects a fee provided for in the resolution, the
condominium or townhome association must develop a long-term plan to maintain
the complex. The plan must address operations, maintenance, and necessary
capital improvements of the common elements. It must identify financing for the
projects. The association must also submit its audited financial report to the city
annually.

Although each city with an HIA is required to submit the HIA ordinance to the
Commissioner ofRevenue, this reporting has not been done. The fees imposed are
reported as special assessments by the cities to the county auditor and collected
through the property tax statements. Since these amounts are not identified
separately, and with no effective statewide reporting, it is impossible to know how
much money is collected for HIA purposes statewide.

As indicated above, there is no way to know how many HIAs have been
established, but as of 2004, at least six cities have adopted HIA ordinances.

# of Districts Year Authority
City Established Granted

Coon Rapids 4 2002
Hopkins 4 1989
NewHope 3 1997
Plymouth 1 N/A
St. Louis Park 1 2002
Victoria 1 2003

The scope and length ofprojects vary within each EIA. The ordinances
establishing HIAs are for three to 20 years, with fees assessed annually. However,
the HIA ordinance may allow prepayment of fees.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 and Deborah Dyson at
651-296-8291.
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What is meant by
"separation of
powers" and what
does it require?

Which branch of
government has
authority over the
rules governing
criminal
proceedings?

Separation of Powers:
When Statutes and Court Rules Conflict

Both the United States and Minnesota Constitutions provide for the separation of
powers of the legislative, executive, and judicial branches. The branches of
government are co-equal. If one branch takes action that infringes too greatly on
another branch of government, the courts may rule this action unconstitutional
because it violates the constitutional separation ofpowers.

Article 3, section 1, of the Minnesota Constitution sets forth the separation of
powers in this state and provides:

The powers ofgovernment shall be divided into three distinct
departments: legislative, executive, andjudicial. No person or
persons belonging to or constituting one ofthese departments shall
exercise any ofthe powers properly belonging to either ofthe others
except in the instances expressly provided in this constitution.

The Minnesota Constitution is silent on which branch of government has authority
over the rules governing criminal proceedings, thereby leaving the matter to the
courts for resolution. The Minnesota Supreme Court has determined that, when a
particular function comes within its ,"inherent judicial power," only the court may
govern that function.

Although the term "inherent judicial power" is often used without being defined,
the court has stated the following about this power:

Inherent judicial power governs that which is essential to the
existence, dignity, andfunction ofa court because it is a court. Its
source is the constitutional separation ofpowers as expressed and
implied in our constitution. Its scope is the practical necessity of
ensuring the free andfull exercise ofthe court's vitalfunction-the
disposition ofindividual cases to deliver remedies for wrongs and
"justice freely and without purchase; completely and without
denial; promptly and without delay; conformable to the laws. "

Applying this rule, the Minnesota Supreme Court has determined that it has
inherent and ultimate power to determine procedural rules in judicial proceedings.
If a rule is procedural, as opposed to substantive, it falls within the judiciary's
inherent judicial power.



What happens if the
legislature passes a
law that conflicts
with a court rule?

What makes a law
procedural versus
substantive?

What types of
statutes have been
found to violate
separation of
powers?

What types of
statutes have been
found to impair the
court's function
only minimally and
enforced based
upon comity?

If the legislature passes a law that conflicts with a court rule, the court will uphold
that law if it is substantive. If, however, the law deals with procedural rules that
apply in court proceedings, the court will find the statute unconstitutional on
separation ofpowers grounds. In certain cases, however, the court may tolerate the
legislature's action in an area it views as procedural (i.e., judicial), provided the
infringement on the judicial function is minimal. In these situations, the court may
enforce the legislative action as a matter ofcomity (mutual respect for another
branch of government).

The question of whether a law is procedural or substantive is often a difficult one
to resolve. The Minnesota Supreme Court has looked at several ways of
distinguishing substantive laws from procedural ones and relied primarily on the
following test:

1. Substantive laws define which acts are criminal and what the punishment
is for violating them

2. Procedural laws regulate the steps by which the guilt or innocence of one
who is accused of a crime is determined

Another test used to distinguish between substantive and procedural laws,
particularly outside the criminal law context, states that "substantive law is that
part of the law which creates, defines, and regulates rights, as opposed to ...
remedial law, which prescribes method [sic] of enforcing the rights or obtaining
redress for their invasion."

The following statutes have been ruled unconstitutional due to a conflict with a
court rule:

• A statute allowing a prosecutor to certify an offense as a petty
misdemeanor without the defendant's consent

• A statute prescribing the order of final argument in criminal cases (although
the court enforced the statute in the case before it as a matter of comity,
while instructing courts to follow the Minnesota Rules of Criminal
Procedures in future proceedings)

• A statute on the assignment and removal ofjudges

The following statutes have been upheld as they impair the court's function only
minimally and the court has been willing to enforce the statute based on comity:

• A statute determining venue when a crime is committed in a municipality
located in more than one county

• Statutory rules of evidence deemed reasonable that do not conflict with the
Minnesota Rules ofEvidence

• Statutory interest rates for condemnation actions

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Judie Zollar at 651-296-1554 for information onseparation of powers issues, including case law citations for the quotes and examples provided in thisdocument.
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The K-12 Education Deduction and Credit: An Overview

What is the K-12
deduction?

What expenses
qualify for the
deduction?

What is the tax
benefit ofthe
deduction?

How many people
claim the deduction,
and how much does
it cost?

What is the K-12
education credit?

What expenses
qualify for the
credit?

What are the tax
benefits ofthe
credit?

A state income tax deduction is allowed for K-12 education-related expenses. The
deduction is for up to $2,500 for each dependent in grades 7-12, and up to $1,625
for each dependent in grades K-6.

Qualifying expenses include the following:
• Tuition, including nonpublic school, after school enrichment, academic

summer camps, music lessons, and tutoring
• Textbooks, including instructional materials and supplies, musical

instrument rental and pprchase, and up to $200 of computer hardware and
educational software

• Transportation (paid to others for transporting children to school)

A deduction reduces an individual's taxable income. The tax benefit depends on
the taxpayer's marginal tax rate and the total amount deducted. Minnesota has
three marginal tax rates: 5.35 percent, 7.05 percent, and 7.85 percent. A taxpayer
in the 5.35 percent bracket who claims a $2,500 deduction will pay $133.75 less in
state income taxes (5.35% x $2,500). A taxpayer in the 7.85 percent bracket with
the same deduction will pay $196.25 less in taxes. A taxpayer with too little
income to have tax liability will not benefit from the deduction. In tax year 2005, a
typical married couple with two dependents would need to have $21,100 ofgross
income before owing any state income tax.

In 2005, an estimated 186,000 returns will claim the deduction at a cost to the state
of$13.8 million.

A state income tax credit is allowed for 75 percent ofK-12 education-related
expenses. The credit is for up to $1,000 per child and $2,000 per family. The
credit is subject to an income-based phaseout. It begins to phase out when income
exceeds $33,500, and is not available to families with incomes over $37,500.

The same expenses qualify for the credit as for the deduction, except nonpublic
school tuition does not qualify for the credit.

The K-12 credit directly reduces tax liability and is fully refundable. If an
individual qualifies for a credit that is greater than his or her tax liability, the
excess is paid as a refund.



Can parents obtain
loans to pay for
educational services
that qualify for the
credit?

How manypeople
claim the credit,
and how much does
it cost?

How do taxpayers
claim the deduction
and credit?

Have the deduction
and credit been
subject to legal
challenge?

What do other
states provide in
terms ofincome tax
credits for
education-related
expenses?

Parents may assign payment of their credits to participating financial institutions
and tax-exempt foundations. In exchange, parents receive a loan that is paid
directly to a third-party provider of educational services and programs. This
allows very low-income families to purchase educational products and services in
anticipation ofreceiving a credit when they file their tax return the following year,
with the credit paid directly to the financial institution or foundation that accepted
the assignment.

In tax year 2002,59,524 Minnesotans claimed a total of$15.6 million in K-12
education credits.

Taxpayers claim the deduction on form M-1, the Minnesota income tax return.
Taxpayers claiming the credit must complete form MIED and attach it to their
state tax return.

The constitutionality of the dependent education expense deduction was challenged
in Mueller v. Allen in 1983. The U.S. Supreme Court upheld the statute
authorizing the deduction in a 5-4 decision. The Court found that the deduction
did the following:

• offset parents' educational expenses and helped ensure an educated
populace

• helped ensure the financial health ofnonpublic schools and relieved the
financial burden on public schools

• promoted "wholesome competition" between public and nonpublic schools
and provided a high-quality education for all children

Minnesota's current K-12 education credit has not been subject to legal challenge.

To date, five states in addition to Minnesota provide income tax·credits for
education-related expenses: Arizona, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, and Pennsylvania.
Arizona gives taxpayers tax credits for contributions to school tuition
organizations that operate like charities and for extracurricular public school fees.
Florida allows individual and corporate taxpayers to claim a nomefundable tax
credit for contributions to nonprofit scholarship funding organizations. Illinois
gives taxpayers a nomefundable tax credit for qualified education expenses~ Iowa
gives taxpayers a tax credit for tuition, secular textbooks, and extracurricular
activities· for children attending accredited not-for-profit K-12 schools.
Pennsylvania allows corporations to claim a nomefundable tax credit for
contributions to nonprofit scholarship funding organizations and innovative public
school programs. Courts in Arizona, Illinois, and Iowa have upheld the
permissibility of these education credits in their respective states.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Lisa Larson at 651­
296-8036. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Deductions and Credits for Public and
Nonpublic Education in Minnesota, December 2003.
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Texas hold'em is an increasingly. popular form of poker in which each player is dealt two cards and there
are five common cards. The legislature recently enacted a law authorizing Texas hold' em tournaments
that are conducted according to certain requirements.

Does Minnesota
prohibit all forms of
betting?

When are card
tournaments legal?

When are Texas
hold'em tournaments
legal?

Can players be charged
to participate in a Texas
hold'em tournament?

Minnesota law generally. prohibits betting and the operation of any location
where betting is permitted or promoted. A "bet" occurs when parties agree
that one party will give another party. money, property, or some other benefit
in the event of an outcome that is dependent upon chance, even if the outcome
is also dependent upon an element of skill.

Over time, Minnesota has established a number of statutory exceptions to the
general prohibition of betting. For example, Minnesota law authorizes the
operation of a state lottery, bets on horse races at licensed racetracks, and
private social bets that are not part of or incidental to organized,
commercialized, or systematic gambling. Minnesota also allows gambling on
some social skill games (e.g., cribbage, bridge, gin) and social dice games
(e.g., "shake-a-day," "3-2-1," "who buys"), provided that they meet certain
conditions.

Minnesota permits gambling in certain card tournaments, as long as the
tournaments do not provide any direct financial benefit to the promoter or
organizer and the value of all prizes awarded in a tournament does not exceed
$200.

Until June 2005, only ten card games were permitted under these
circumstances: cribbage, skat, sheephead, bridge, euchre, pinochle, gin, 500;
smear, and whist. However, as of June 4,2005, Texas hold'em tournaments
and contests are also permitted, subject to the restrictions described below.
Gambling in tournaments consisting of any other social skill game are illegal
in Minnesota..

Texas hold'em tournaments are subject to the same restrictions as other social
skill game tournaments in Minnesota. However, there·are additional
requirements for Texas hold'em tournaments that do not apply to other social
skill game tournaments.

Players in Texas hold;em tournaments cannot be charged any fee or be
required to give any consideration (something ofvalue} as a conditIon of
participation. In other words, players must be able to participate in a Texas
hold'em tournament for free.



Can prizes be awarded
in a Texas hold'em
tournament?

Is there an age
requirement to play
Texas hold'em?

Can players with
disabilities participate in
Texas hold'em
tournaments?

Who regulates Texas
hold'em tournaments?

Prizes can be awarded in Texas hold'em tournaments. However, as is the case
with tournaments involving other social skill games, the value of all prizes
awarded in a single tournament cannot exceed $200. With respect to Texas
hold'em, the law further specifies that the value of all prizes awarded to an
individual winner of a tournament at a single location may not exceed $200
per day.

To participate in a Texas hold'em tournament or contest, a player must be at
least 18 years old.

Minnesota law requires the organizer or promoter of any Texas hold'em
tournament to ensure that reasonable accommodations are made for players
with disabilities. In addition to making other accommodations to tournament
tables and cards, a tournament organizer or promoter has to make sure that
Braille cards are available for blind players and that the cards visible to the
entire table are announced.

The Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division (AGED), Department of
Public Safety, in conjunction with local law enforcement authorities, has
jurisdiction over Texas hold'em tournaments and other social skill game
tournaIllents. The Gambling Control Board has no jurisdiction over these
tournaments. Please contact your county attorney with questions about the
conduct of Texas hold'em tournaments.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Long bye-mail atelisabeth.1ong@house.mn.
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How a Constitutional Amendment Is Proposed and Ratified

A constitutional amendment is a change to the state's constitution that is decided by voters in an election.
Since 1858, 211 constitutional amendments have been voted on by the electorate. The most recent
constitutional amendments that were approved by voters were in 199-8, when voters approved changes to the
Minnesota Constitution to extend the use oflottery proceeds for the environment, preserve hunting and
fishing heritage, and abolish the office of the state treasurer. The Minnesota Constitution and election
statutes govern the process ofproposing and ratifying amendments.

The legislature
passes an actto
change the
constitution

Constitutional
amendments appear
on different ballots
from the regular
ballot

First, the legislature passes. an act proposing a change in the constitution. A
constitutional amendment is just like a session law, but it does not require the
governor's signature and cannot be vetoed. The act includes the statement of the
question the legislature wants placed on the ballot. The constitution requires that
the act be assigned a session law chapter number} published with other legislative
acts of the same year, and presented to the voters at a general election. Each
amendment must be submitted separately.

For every election, a state white ballot is prepared, which voters use to elect
candidates for various state offices. When constitutional amendments are on the
ballot, the county auditor, at the direction of the secretary of state, prepares a pink
ballot for constitutional amendments; that ballot is used in all precincts that use
paper ballots.

The secretary of state, with approval of the attorney general, prepares a short title
to identify each amendment on the ballot. The ballot question specified by the
legislature appears under the title. The text of the constitution as it wOllld appear if
amended is not printed on the ballot. Sample copies. of the pink paper ballot are
available for public examination at the secretary's office and each county auditor's
office before the state general election.

On optical scan voting systems, the title of each amendment and the question
specified by the legjslature is placed in the same booklet with the candidates.
Questions appear just after the last candidate's name on the white (state) ballot,
and preceding the canary (county) ballot. .

In the act proposing an amendment, the legislature may designate the order in
which constitutional amendments will be listed on the ballot if there is more than
one amendment at an election. Otherwise the secretary of state will designate the
order. During the 1990s, questions were placed on the ballot in the order the)!
passed the legislature. (No amendments have been propos.ed since 1998.)



Amendments must
be approved by a
majority voting in
an election, not just
a majority voting on
the amendment

Since 1900, the constitution has required the approval of a majority voting at the
election, not just a majority voting on the question, to ratify a constitutional
amendment. Thus, failure to vote on an amendment is the equivalent of a "no"
vote. A notice to this effect is printed on the pink ballot. In practice, it takes a 60­
percent "yes" vote to pass an amendment.

If the state canvassing board finds that a proposed amendment received the
approval of a majority of the voters at the election, the amendment takes effect
once the canvassing board makes this finding, unless the amendment specified a
later effective date.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah K. McKnightat 651-296-5056. Also see the
House Research publication Minnesota State Constitutional Amendments, November 2004.
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Motorized Foot Scooters

A new law passed in the 2005 legislative session (Laws 2005, chapter 135) generally gives to
motorized foot scooters the same rights and responsibilities as bicycles on streets and highways. This
law takes effect August 1,2005.

What is a
"motorizedfoot
scooter"?

What is and isn't
included?

Motorizedfoot
scooters are treated
as bicycles

The new law defines "motorized foot scooters" as vehicles that:

~ have handlebars;
can be either stood on or sat on by the operator (saddle optional);

~ are powered by an electric motor or internal combustion engine that is
capable of powering the device with or without human propulsion; and

~ have either (1) wheels no more than 10 inches in diameter, or (2) an engine
that is capable of a maximum speed ofnot more than 15 miles per hour on
a flat surface.

Most devices generally regarded as "scooters" that have some type ofmotor are
included in the definition of "motorized foot scooter." However, the new law
doesn't cover some other devices that are sometimes referred to as motorized
scooters or motor scooters. These include the following:

~ "Step-:-through" motor scooters such as Vespas and similar vehicles. These
must be registered as motorcycles. Operators must have a driver's license
with a motorcycle endorsement and must wear a helmet if under age 18.

Many "pocket bikes" and "mini-choppers" that have wheels over 10 inches
and a speed capability over 15 mph. These too are treated as motorcycles.

~ Motorized bicycles or "mopeds," which are bicycles that also have
attached electric or liquid-fuelled motors and have a maximum speed
capability of30 mph. These must be registered as motorized bicycles and
can be operated on either a driver's license or a motorized bicycle pennit.

~ "Segways" (human transporters), which are exempt from registration and
require no driver's license.

The new law generally treats motorized foot scooters as bicycles, meaning that
their operators have the same rights and responsibilities as bicyclists. This
means that these vehicles may be operated on streets and highways without a
driver's license and without the vehicle being registered, licensed, or insured.



Drivers of
motorizedfoot
scooters mustfollow
certain operating
rules

There are some operating rules for motorized foot scooters that apply whenever
the vehicle is operated on a public street or highway.

Sidewalks. Motorized scooters may not be operated on sidewalks except
when necessary to go on or off adjacent property.

Passengers. A motorized scooter cannot carry anyone but the operator.

Helmets. An operator ofa motorized scooter who is under age 18 mustwear
a helmet approved by the Department of Public Safety.

Minimum age. A person must be at least 12 years old to operate a motorized
scooter on public streets and highways.

Lights. A motorized scooter must have a headlight and taillight that meet
Department of Public Safety standards if it is operated when lights are required
on vehicles (from sunset to sunrise, and whenever weather or other atmospheric
conditions such as fog or smoke reduce visibility to 500 feet).

Riding. Operators must ride as close as practicable to the right-hand curb or
edge of the roadway, except to pass another vehicle or avoid impediments. The
operator of a motorized scooter making a left turn must dismount at the right­
hand curb and cross the roadway on foot; that person is also subject to any
pedestrian restrictions. Riders must ride in the same direction as adjacent traffic,
even when on a shoulder. Riders may ride up to two abreast.

Bicycle paths, bicycle lanes, and bicycle trails. Motorized foot scooters may
be operated on bicycle paths, bicycle lanes, bicycle trails, and bikeways unless
(1) the path, lane, trail, or bikeway is reserved exclusively for nonmotorized
traffic, or (2) the path, lane, trail, or bikeway is under local jurisdiction and that
local jurisdiction prohibits their use.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.
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House Approval of Campaign Finance and
Public Disclosure Board Appointments

The Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board oversees the law on campaign finance and disclosure,
lobbyist reporting, economic interest statements, and conflicts of interest.

How are board
members appointed
and approved?

What is the
deadline for
approving
appointments?

What are the
membership
requirements for
the board?

How long do board
members serve?

There are six members, appointed by the governor. After they are appointed,
members must be approved by three-fifths of the members ofthe House and three­
fifths of the members of the Senate acting separately (total members, not just those
present).

Appointments may be made during session or during the interim. In either case,
the legislature would act when it is in session. The deadline for approval is the
earlier of45 legislative days after appointment or adjournment sine die. A
legislative day is a day that either the House or Senate meets during a biennium.

• If either house fails to approve an individual within that time period, the
appointment terminates the day after the 45th legislative day/adjournment
sine die, whichever applies.

• If either house votes not to confirm an appointment, the appointment
terminates the day after the vote not to con:Urm.

The board members must meet the following requirements:

• Two must be former legislators of different parties

• Two must be persons who have not been public officials as defined by
Minnesota Statutes, chapter lOA, held any political party office other than
precinct delegate, or been elected to a partisan office in the three years
before the appointment

• Two must support different political parties

• Overall, no more than three board members may support the same political
party

• No board member may be a lobbyist while serving on the board

Board terms are four years and end the first Monday in January. Minn. Stat.
§ 15.0575, subd. 2. Of the current members, one has a term ending January 2006.
Two members' terms end January 2007. Two others have terms that end January
2008. The sixth member was appointed in May 2005 and has not yet been
confirmed. .



How are vacancies
handled?

Do board members
receive
compensation?

May board
members be
removed?

Vacancies are filled by appointment for the duration of the time left in the term.
The new appointee must meet the criteria met by the departed member. The
approval process for individuals filling vacancies is the same as for members
appointed to a full term. Minn. Stat. § 10A.02, subd. 2.

Members receive $55 per day if authorized by the board, plus expenses authorized
by the Commissioner ofEmployee Relations' plan. Expenses include child care
costs that would not otherwise be incurred.

Members who are full-time state or local government employees may not receive
the daily payment and may receive child care reimbursement only for time outside
normal work hours. These individuals must not suffer loss in compensation or
benefits as a result ofboard service and may receive expense reimbursement from
the board unless compensated by another source. Minn. Stat. § 15.0575, subd. 3.

The governor may remove a member: (1) for cause, after notice and hearing, or
(2) after the member misses three consecutive meetings. Minn. Stat. § 15.0575,
subd.4.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah McKnight at 651-296-5056.
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Child Care Assistance for Postsecondary Students

Does the state
subsidize child care
costs for students in
higher education?

Who is eligible for
the child care
assistance grant?

Are all
postsecondary
institutions part of
the grant program?

What is the size of
the grant award?

The child care grant program is one of the financial aid programs funded by the
state and administered by the Minnesota Office of Higher Education (formerly the
Higher Education Services Office; the 2005 Legislature changed the name to the
Minnesota Office of Higher Education. Laws 2005, ch. 107, art. 1, § 61.). Its
purpose is to reduce the child care costs for higher education students. The
availability of child care assistance depends, in part, on the level of funding
provided by the legislature. .

To be eligible for a child care grant, a student must:

~ be a resident Minnesota undergraduate enrolled at least half-time in a
nonsectarian program leading to an undergraduate degree, diploma, or
certificate at an eligible institution;

~ have one or more children age 12 or under who receive regular care from a
licensed or legal nonlicensed child care provider;

~ have had less than four years of full-time postsecondary education;
~ meet the income guidelines that provide the maximum grant amount to

families with incomes at or below 130 percent of the 2003 federal poverty
guidelines adjusted for family size ($15,756 for a two-person family);

~ have demonstrated financial need; and
~ not receive tuition reciprocity or assistance through the Minnesota Family

fuvestment Program (MFIP).

No, for-profit institutions are not eligible to participate. State law limits the child
care grant program to Minnesota institutions that are:

~ public postsecondary colleges and universities;
~ private four-year colleges and universities; and
~ nonprofit, degree-granting vocational-technical institutions.

Schools must sign an agreement with the office to be part of the program.

The 2005 Legislature increased the maximum grant by $100 to $2,300 per student
fora nine-month grant. A student may also receive a separate summer grant. The
actual grant award depends on the availability of appropriations and the student's
income, number of children, child care costs, and financial need.

The average child care grant in 2003-2004 was $1,679.



What are the trends
in funding and
participation for the
child care grant
program?

Appropriations for the 2006-2007 biennium are $4.9 million each year, an increase
over the $4.7 million per year for the last seven years. Student participation
peaked in 2000-2001 when 2,736 students received grants. The legislature
increased the maximum grant to $2,600 beginning with the 2001-2002 school year,
reduced it to $2,200 for the 2003-2004 year as part of budget balancing efforts, and
increased it to $2,300 beginning in fiscal year 2006.

The actual amount available for grants in fiscal year 2003 was significantly less
than in other years because $3.6 million of child care appropriations were
transferred to the state grant program to contribute to its full funding.

Trends in Child Care Grant Program

Year
00-01

01-02*
02-03**
03-04
04-05
05-06

Maximum
Award
$2,000

$2,600
$2,600
$2,200
$2,200
$2,300

Appropriation
$4,710,000

$4,743,000
$4,743,000
$4,743,000
$4,743,000
$4,9,34,000

Number of
Students

2,736
2,429

932
2,536

Average
Award
$1,618
$1,956
$1,146
$1,679

Are postsecondary
students eligible for
other types ofchild
care assistance?

* FY02 expenditures exceeded appropriations because of carryforward
** $3,610,000 ofFY03 appropriation transferred to state grant program

Higher education students with children may be eligible for the Basic Sliding Fee
(BSF) child care assistance program administered by the Department of Human
Services. Students who meet the income and other criteria are eligible, on a space­
available basis, in the county where they live.

Students are not required to work to receive BSF assistance but must be enrolled in
a course of study approved by the county. Students who need child care assistance
for both employment and school must work at least ten hours per week at a wage at
least equal to the minimum wage. .

Typically, more families are eligible for BSF assistance than can be served with
the state and federal appropriations. Students tend to be a lower priority for
assistance than working families.

The two child care assistance programs are funded by different legislative
committees. The committee with responsibility for higher education finance
appropriates money for the grant program administered by the Office of Higher
Education, but does not fund the BSF program.. BSF received a general fund
appropriation of $27.6 million for fiscal year 2004.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.rrm/hrd/hrd.htm



HOUSE RESEARCH
John Williams

IShort Subjects
July 2005

.Survey of State and Local Gasoline Taxes

This short subject shows state andlocal gasoline taxes in each state, as of July 1, 2005. Because of the
interrelationship in many states between per-gallon gasoline taxes and gasoline sales taxes, and between state
and local gasoline taxes, a compilation of all such taxes is necessary to reflect the total tax burden on
gasoline in each state. Minnesota's total tax burden on gasoline, which includes the 20-cent per-gallon excise
tax plus the 2-cent per-gallon Petrofund "inspection fee," places it 29th among all states.

Gasoline taxes
include state and
local taxes

The columns in the table below represent the following:
• State tax: Per-gallon tax on gasoline imposed at the state level
• State sales tax: State retail sales tax applied to gasoline; in some states,

the sales tax rate is prefigured and prepaid at the wholesale level rather
than being calculated and paid at the pump· .

• Other state tax/fee: Leaking underground storage fees, inspection fees,
various environmental fees; in some states, including Minnesota, these
are "blink-on" taxes that are imposed whenever a specified fund reaches
a certain level

• Total state taxes: Combined per..,gallon tax, sales tax, other state taxes
and fees; "blink-on" taxes were assumed to be on

• Local gas tax: Locally imposed per-gallon taxes
• Local sales tax: Local retail sales taxes that apply to gasoline
• Total local tax: Combined local gas taxes and sales taxes
• Total tax: Combined state and local taxes

For price-based taxes, the assumed price was $2.15 per gallon (all taxes
included), which was the median price for regular unleaded gasoline in the Twin
Cities on June 30, 2005. This price was adjusted in those states that impose a
sales tax on gasoline, but exclude state or federal per-gallon taxes from the
taxable price.

Total State and Local Taxes on Gasoline as of July 1, 2005
Other

State State Total Local Gas Local Total Total
State Tax Sales Tax TaxlFee State Tax Tax Sales Tax Local Tax Tax

1. Florida $0.145 $0.129 $0.022 $0.296 $0.146 $0.016 $0.162 $0.458
2. New York 0.232 0.138 0.002 0.372 0.086 0.086 0.458
3. Hawaii 0.160 0.066 0.001 0.227 0.155 0.155 0.382
4. Illinois 0.190 0.097 0.011 0.298 0.041 0.030 0.071 0.369
5. California 0.180 0.134 0.012 0.326 0.022 0.022 0.348
6. Wisconsin 0.299 0.030 0.329 0.329
7. Nevada 0.230 0.230 0.095 0.095 0.325
8. West Virginia 0.205 . 0.108 0.313 0.313
9. Rhode Island 0.300 0.010 0.310 0.310
10. Washington 0.310 0.310 0.310



Other
State State Total Local Gas Local Total Total

State Tax Sales Tax TaxlFee State Tax Tax Sales Tax Local Tax Tax
11. Pennsylvania $0.120 $0.185 $0.305 $0.305
12. Michigan 0.190 0.099 0.009 0.298 0.298
13. Indiana 0.180 0.107 0.001 0.288 0.288
14. Ohio 0.280 0.280 0.280
15. Montana 0.270 0.008 0.278 0.278
16. New Jersey 0.105 0.129 0.040 0.274 0.274
17. North Carolina 0.266 0.003 0.269 0.269
18. Maine 0.259 0.008 0.267 0.267
19. Nebraska 0.253 0.006 0.259 0.259
20. Kansas 0.240 0.010 0.250 0.250
21. Connecticut 0.250 0.250 0.250
22. Idaho 0.250 0.250 0.250
23. Delaware 0.230 0.020 0.250 0.250
24. Utah 0.245 0.245 0.245
25. Oregon 0.240 0.240 0.240
26. South Dakota 0.220 0.020 0.240 0.240
27. Maryland 0.235 0.235 0.235
28. Colorado 0.220 0.220 0.220
29. Minnesota 0.200 0.020 0.220 0.220
30. Arkansas 0.215 0.002 0.217 0.217
31. Iowa 0.207 0.010 0.217 0.217
32. Tennessee 0.200 0.014 0.214 0.214
33. Massachusetts 0.210 0.210 0.210
34. North Dakota 0.210 0.210 0.210
35. Louisiana 0.200 0.001 0.201 0.201
36. VVashington, D.C. 0.200 0.200 0.200
37. Texas 0.200 0.200 0.200
38. Vermont 0.190 0.010 0.200 0.200
39. Alabama 0.160 0.010 0.170 0.023 0.023 0.193
40. Arizona 0.180 0.010 0.190 0.190
41. New Mexico 0.170 0.019 0.189 0.189
42. Kentucky 0.174 0.014 0.188 0.188
43. Virginia 0.175 0.002 0.177 0.011 0.011 0.188
44. Mississippi . 0.180 0.004 0.184 0.184
45. NewHampshire . 0.180 0.180 0.180
46. Missouri 0.170 0.005 0.175 0.175
47. Oklahoma 0.160 0.010 0.170 0.170
48. South Carolina 0.160 0.008 0.168 0.168
49. Georgia 0.075 0.086 0.161 0.161
50. VVyoming 0.130 0.010 0.140 0.140
51. Alaska 0.080 0.080 0.011 0.011 0.091
Note: The table does not include special tax rates for alcohol-gasoline blends or for gasoline used in commercial vehicles.
Sources: Commerce Clearing House, American Petroleum Institute, Institute ofTax Administrators, and state revenue agencies.

For more information: Contact legislative analystJohn Williams at 651-296-5045.
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Governing Higher Education in Minnesota:
Public Postsecondary Systems and Agencies

Minnesota has two
public
postsecondary
systems and one
state agency
dealing with
postsecondary
education

MnSCUis
governed by state
law and a board of
trustees

Minnesota has two public postsecondary systems:

• The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) system has
seven four-year universities and 25 two-year colleges located throughout
Minnesota. MnSCU institutions provide occupational, general,
baccalaureate, and graduate education. The 2005 Legislature authorized state
universities to offer certain applied doctoral degrees. The MnSCU system
office-the office of the chancellor-is in St. Paul.

• The University of Minnesota is a major research institution with four .
campuses providing undergraduate, graduate, and professional education.
The main campus and central administration are in the Twin Cities.

The Minnesota Office of Higher Education is a state agency responsible for
postsecondary financial aid and other assistance programs, data and information,
and registration and licensing ofprivate postsecondary institutions. In 2005, the
legislature changed the office name to the Minnesota Office of Higher Education
from the Higher Education Services Office and added responsibility for measuring
and reporting on the effectiveness ofpostsecondary education.

Minnesota Law. MnSCU is established in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 136F. In
1991, the legislature created MnSCU through the merger of the state universities,
community colleges, and technical colleges. Minnesota Statutes:

• establish a IS-member board of trustees to govern' MnSCU;
• specify the board's powers to manage MnSCU, its assets, and its institutions;
• designate the specific colleges and universities in the MnSCU system;
• require legislation to create any new MnSCU institution Of location;
• authorize the colleges and universities to operate specific enterprises; and
• require the board to recognize statewide student associations.

Board of Trustees. Under state law, the governor appoints 15 trustees with the
advice and consent of the Senate. Eight members of the board must reside in the
state's eight congressional districts, one in each district. Three members must be
MnSCU students or recent graduates. Trustees serve staggered six-year terms.
Trustee candidates are recruited and screened by the Trustee Advisory Council,
established in state law. The council makes its recommendations to the governOf.

Minnesota Statutes give the board of trustees all the power necessary to govern
MnSCU, unless otherwise directed or prohibited in law. The board is responsible



The University of
Minnesota is
governed by the
state constitution,
state laws, and a
board ofregents

The Minnesota
Office ofHigher
Education is
created by state
law and advised by
a council

for appointing a chancellor with the authority to perform duties the board delegates.
Minnesota law can put conditions on state appropriations for MnSCU.

University Charter, Minnesota Constitution. The territorial legislature
established the University ofMinnesota in 1851 with a 12-member board ofregents
to govern the university. The Minnesota Constitution incorporates the university
charter by continuing all of the "rights, immunities, franchises and endowments"
previously conferred to the university.

Board of Regents. The constitution requires the legislature to elect 12 regents to
staggered six-year terms. The governor may appoint a regent to fill a vacancy who
serves until the legislature elects a replacement. Regent candidates are recruited and
screened by the Regent Advisory Council established in state law. Under changes
enacted in 2005, the council makes its recommendations to the governor who
recommends candidates to a joint committee of the legislature established in law.
The regents have the power to manage the university and all four of its campuses.
Under the university charter, the board has responsibility for selecting the university
president.

Minnesota Law. MinnesotaStatutes specify that eight regents must be elected
from each of the state's congressional districts, and one at-large regent must be a
student when elected. The statutes specifically provide authority for the regents to
exercise eminent domain, accept federal money, control the permanent university
fund, and establish a nonresidential branch in Rochester. State law prohibits the
regents from allowing expenditures for a purpose beyond the amount appropriated.
State law also may put conditions on the university appropriations, if the conditions
don't violate the university's constitutional autonomy.

Minnesota Law. Minnesota Statutes create the Minnesota Office of Higher
Education. Since 2004, the office has been under the administrative control of a
director appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.

Advisory Councils. The statutes establish a higher education advisory council
(HEAC) consisting of a representative of the University ofMinnesota, the
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, the Department ofEducation, the Private
Colleges Council, the Career College Association, and a member appointed by the

.governor. HEAC brings higher education matters to the attention of the Office. A
student advisory council (SAC) is also established in law with student
representatives ofpublic and private postsecondary student associations. The Office
must inform SAC of relevant issues, and SAC reports quarterly to the Office and
may make recommendations, as.appropriate.

Director. The director of the Office serves at the pleasure of the governor and has
administrative control over the office.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253.
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What is Minnesota
taxable income?

Minnesota Taxable Income

Minnesota taxable income (MTI) is the tax base used to calculate Minnesota
income tax liability. Minnesota taxable income equals federal taxable income after
Minnesota subtractions and additions.

Federal
taxable
income (FTI)

Minnesota
+ additions

Minnesota
subtractions

Minnesota
taxable
income
(MTI)

What are
Minnesota
additions to taxable
income?

What subtractions
does Minnesota
allow from taxable
income?

Minnesota requires the following additions to federal taxable income:

• State income or sales tax deduction. Filers who claimed a federal itemized
deduction for state income or sales taxes paid must add that amount back
into Minnesota taxable income. Taxpayers making this addition are always
allowed to e1aim at least the full standard deduction in effect in Minnesota
for the tax year.

• Bond interest and mutual fund interest dividends paid by non-Minnesota
state and local governments. The federal government does not tax state and
local bond interest. Minnesota does not tax Minnesota state and local bond
interest, but does tax interest on bonds of other states and their local
governments.

• Expenses relating to income not taxed by Minnesota. These are mainly
expenses deducted at the federal level and attributable to U.S. bond interest
income, which is excluded from Minnesota taxable income.

• Capital gain portion of a lump-sum distribution from a qualified retirement
plan

• The difference between the federal standard deduction and the standard
deduction allowed in Minnesota ($1,300 for married joint filers in 2005,
decreasing to $850 in tax year 2006).

Minnesota allows the followingsubtractions from federal taxable income. The
estimated cost of most subtractions is taken from the Department of Revenue's Tax
Expenditure Budgetfor 2004-2007. .Revenue estimates made during the 2006
legislative session differ from the Tax Expenditure Budget because they were
based on a more recent economic forecast.

• State income tax refund (filers who claimed federal itemized deductions·
only). The federal income tax allows a deduction for state income taxes.
Minnesota requires filers to add back the amount deducted; and allows a
subtraction for amounts refunded in order to avoid twice taxing the same



Income.
• Subtractions required by federal law. Federal law prohibits state

taxation of these three types of income:
o U.S. bond interest
o Railroad retirement benefits
o On-reservation earnings of enrolled tribal members

• K-12 dependent education expenses ($14.6 million in fiscal year 2006).
The deduction applies to school-related expenses, including tuition,
textbooks, academic tutoring and camps, and instructional materials and
supplies. The maximum deduction is$1,625 for each child in grades K-6
and $2,500 for each child in grades 7-12.

• 50 percent of charitable contributions in excess of $500 ($4.4 million in
fiscal year 2006). Allowed only for filers who do not claim federal
itemized deductions-those who itemize have already deducted their
charitable contributions in computing federal taxable income.

• Compensation for military active service outside of Minnesota
($960,000 in fiscal year 2006).

• Compensation for National Guard and reserve active service in .
Minnesota ($42,000 in fiscal year 2006). Allowed for state active service
and federally funded state active service (generally floods, other disasters,
and airport security) but not for drill pay.

• Organ donation expenses ($104,000 in fiscal year 2006). Allowed for up
to $10,000 of expenses related to organ donation by the taxpayer or a
dependent, including lost wages.

• Minnesota elderly/disabled exclusion ($1.0 million in fiscal year 2006).
An exclusion of up to $12,000 is allowed for low-income elderly and
disabled filers with low amounts of Social Security and nontaxable
penSIOns.

• Foreign subnational income taxes. Taxpayers subject to a foreign
subnational income tax may subtract the amount of tax paid to the foreign
governmental unit, to the extent the taxpayer did not use the subnational
taxes to claim the federal foreign tax credit.

• Gain on sale of farm property for insolvent taxpayers ($100,000 in'
fiscal year 2006). This subtraction is allowed for taxpayers who use the
proceeds of the sale ofa farmto pay off a mortgage, contract for deed, or
lien on the property.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 651­
296-5057. Also see the House Research publications Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, July
2005; and Minnesota's Elderly Exclusion (web only) at www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/tx_inc.htm.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnesota's Charter School Law

A charter school is
a public school
with a specialized
purpose

Teachers and
parents mayform
a charter school·

A charter school
must be sponsored

A charter school
must have a
contract

A charter school is a public school, part of the state's system ofpublic education,
and subject to the state's high school graduation requirement. A charter school's
purpose is to enhance students' learning opportunities, improve teaching
opportunities and methods, or improve school accountability measures. It must be
'nonsectarian and provide a comprehensive instructional program for at least one
grade or age group of students. The instructional calendar must meet or exceed the
number of instructional days provided to other public school students. A charter
school may offer instruction throughout the school year under the flexible learning
year or learning year program.

A charter school is exempt from statutes and rules applicable to a school, a school
board, or a school district, except as provided in the charter school law.

Interested teachers and parents may form and operate a charter school, or a school
board may convert a school to a charter school if60 percent of the school's full­
time teachers petition the board. A charter school operator must incorporate as a
cooperative or a nonprofit corporation. An initial board of directors must adopt
articles and bylaws, and school staff and parents must elect the board of directors.
Generally, teachers must be a majority of board members. Board meetings are
subject to the open meeting law. A charter school may be located in any school
district unless the local school board objects~ A charter school is eligible to receive
state and federal start-up funds.

Anyone of six entities may sponsor one or more charter schools: a school board,
an intermediate school board, certain charitable organizations, a private college, a
college or university that is part of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities'
system, and the University of Minnesota. The Commissioner of the Department of
Education must approve a sponsor's authorization of a charter school within 60
days. A sponsor annually must monitor and evaluate the financial and student
performance of any charter school it authorizes. The commissioner must review
these evaluations. The sponsor may charge a capped amount for the evaluation. A
sponsor may renew or not renew a charter school contract at the end of the term
and may unilaterally terminate a contract during the term for cause. A sponsor is
immune from civil and criminal liability for sponsoring a charter school or
approving charter school activities.

An advisory council brings charter school matters to the commissioner's attention.

A sponsor and a charter school board of directors must ,Sign a contract that at least
specifies the program purpose, student outcomes, admissions requirements,
managerial and administrative structure, audit requirements, compliance with



A charter school
receives state
funding

A charter school
may buy or lease
facilities

A charter school
can be dissolved

applicable state and local requirements including the instructional calendar and
transportation agreements, liability and insurance, contract length up to three years,
applicable special education agreements, and the process and criteria for
monitoring and evaluating fiscal and student performance. The board of directors
may sue and be sued.

A charter school receives general education and transportation revenue, special
education and building lease aid, and other funds as though it were a school
district. A charter school may use total operating capital revenue, accept funds for
capital facilities needs, and apply for integration aid. It may not use state funds to
purchase land or buildings. A charter school in statutory operating debt must have .
a plan to eliminate the debt. A charter school that notifies the commissioner by
July 1 that it will transport students receives state transportation aid. A charter
school need not transport students between a nonresident student's home and the
border ofthe school district in wmch the charter school is located. A board of
directors may not levy taxes or iss~e bonds. Conflicts of interest are prohibited
and any board member who violates the prohibition is individually liable. A
charter school is subject to the same financial audits and audit procedures as a
school district. The commissioner must provide board members with financial
management training. .

A charter school may purchase land or buildings with nonstate funds and may lease
instructional space from an eligible school board, a public or private nonprofit
nonsectarian organization or other nonsectarian organization, or from a sectarian
organization in some cases. A charter school with insufficient total operating
capital revenue may receive state building lease aid to rent or lease a building or
land. To avoid any conflict of interest, a charter school may not enter into a lease
with a related party unless the lessor is a nonprofit corporation or a cooperative and
the lease cost is reasonable. The commissioner may recover excess lease payments
when a charter school enters into a lease with a related party and later closes.

When a sponsor unilaterally terminates or does not renew a charter school contract
after notifying the board and conducting an informal hearing if requested, the
charter school must be dissolved unless the commissioner allows a different
eligible sponsor to authorize the charter school. The commissioner may terminate
a charter school contract for financial mismanagement or violations of law. If a
sponsor or charter school voluntarily terminates a contract at the end of a contract
term, the school must be dissolved unless the commissioner approves a different
eligible sponsor. Students enrolled in a charter school that is closed may enroll in
the resident district or apply to a nonresident district under the open enrollment
program; open enrollment application and notice deadlines do not apply in this
case. Although not specified in law, properly closing a charter school requires an
accurate final financial accounting, decisions about distributing school assets
purchased with public funds, final payment of employee compensation and other
benefits, and preparation of final tax returns and other forms.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. Also see the House
Research information brief Charter Schools, September 2001.
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What is child care
assistance?

What are the
eligibility
requirements for
child care
assistance?

What is the average
annual subsidy a
family receives?

Arefamilies
required to pay for
some child care
expenses?

Child Care Assistance

Child care assistance programs subsidize the child care expenses of eligible low­
income families. Minnesota administers two child care assistance programs,
Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) child care assistance and Basic
Sliding Fee (BSF) child care assistance. MFIP child care subsidizes the child
care costs of families receiving cash assistance through MFIP and provides child
care assistance for eligible families for the first 12 months after the family leaves
MFIP cash assistance (transition year child care). BSF child care provides a
child care subsidy to low-income working families who are not reGeiving cash
assistance from MFIP. BSF child care assistance also includes a set-aside,
which allows a Plilrent to stay home with their infant and receive a subsidy in lieu
of assistance (at-home infant child care).

To be eligible for child care assistance, both parents (or one parent in single­
parent households) must participate in an authorized work, education, or training
activity, cooperate with child support enforcement, and meet income eligibility
guidelines. The maximum income limit to be eligible for child care assistance is
175 percent ofthe federal poverty guidelines at program entry and 250 percent
or less of the federal poverty guidelines at program exit.

Children up to age 13 are eligible for child care assistance (up to age 15 for
disabled children).

County agencies or their contractors must determine eligibility within 30 days of
receiving a request for child care assistance. Direct reimbursement is the only
method of receiving child care assistance.

In fiscal year 2005, the estimated average annual subsidy for a family receiving
MFIP child care assistance was $11,095, and the estimated average annual
subsidy for a family receiving BSF child care assistance was $8,110.

Beginning January 1, 2006, the maximum reimbursement rate for child care
assistance is capped at the lesser of the 75th percentile of the cost of similar care
in each county or multicounty region, based on a survey of providers, or the
previous year's rate for similar care in the county increased by 1.75 percent.

There is a family co-payment requirement based on family size and income.
The maximum family co-payment is about 18 percent of gross monthly income.
Families with incomes below 75 percent of the federal poverty level are exempt
from making co-payments.



How is child care
assistance funded?

How many families
receive child care
assistance?

What are some
potential legislative
issues?

The child care assistance programs receive funding from a variety of sources,
including: the federal Child Care Development Fund (CCDF), federal
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) funds, the state general fund,
the state special revenue fund, and county funds.

During fiscal year 2005, an estimated average of 8,601 families received MFIP
child care assistance and 9,541 families received BSF child care assistance per
month.

Not all families who apply for child care assistance receive it. MFIP child care
is a forecasted, fully funded program, while BSF child care receives a capped
allocation. As of May 31,2005, there were 1,414 families on the waiting list for
BSF child care assistance.

During the 2001 legislative session, there were several proposals to consolidate
the child care assistance programs into one program to reduce administrative and
program complexity. However, none of these proposals were passed by the
legislature. There may be future attempts to consolidate the child care assistance
programs.

The 2003 Legislature made several changes to the child care assistance program,
including reducing the income eligibility level, freezing maximum provider
reimbursement rates, and repealing accreditation bonuses. These issues may be
revisited in future legislative sessions.

For more information: See the House Research publication Funding to Support Child Care Assistance,
September 2003.
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Basics of EGA

Emergency General Assistance (EGA) is a program that provides income assistance in emergency
situations.

Who is eligible?

What is an
"emergency
situation "?

An individual, childless couple, or family without resources immediately
available to resolve an emergency situation is eligible for EGA if:

• The person or family is not eligible for Minnesota Family Investment
Program (MFIP) or the Diversionary Work Program (DWP);

• The person or family has not, without good cause, used more than 50
percent of available income and resources for purposes other than basic
needs during the 60 days before application;

• The person or family is without resources immediately available to
resolve the emergency; and

• The emergency did not arise because the person or family member has
been disqualified from the General Assistance (GA) program.

Persons or families in need who are not state residents mar also receive
assistance to meet emergency needs. State law requires that nonresidents must
reside in Minnesota for 30 days before applying for EGA.

An individual or family may receive EGA not more than once in any 12-month
period.

An emergency situation is a situation in which an individual or family is
without, or will lose within 30 days after application, a basic need item and
requires immediate financial assistance. "Basic needs" are limited to food,
clothing, shelter, utilities, and other items, the loss or lack of which pose a
direct, immediate threat to the physical health or safety of the applicant.

The assistance must be temporary and mustnot exceed 30 days following the
date of application. Assistance must be paid for needs that accrue before the 30­
day period when it is necessary to resolve emergencies arising or continuing
during the 30-day period.



How is EGA funded EGA is funded with state general fund dollars.
and how are
benefits paid? EGA grants are paid for with vouchers or in the fonn of a vendor payment

unless the county detennines that a cash grant will better meet the needs of the
emergency situation.

For more information: Contact legislative analystDanyell LeMire at 651-296-5058. Also see the
House Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance, January 2004.
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The executive
branch negotiates
agreements that
must be approved by
the legislature

A legislative
subcommittee may
give interim
approval to
agreements

A legislative
subcommittee can
reject a proposed
agreement

Legislative Review of State Employee
Collective Bargaining Agreements

The Commissioner of Employee Relations negotiates collective bargaining
agreements with exclusive representatives of state employees. The law establishes
a process for legislative review of these collective bargaining agreements. (Minn.
Stat. §§ 3.855, 43A.06, 179A.22.)

The legislative review process has two parts:
• review and possible interim approval by a legislative subcommittee
• ratification by the full legislature

The law provides for a legislative commission or subcommittee to initially review
collective bargaining agreements between the state and exclusive representatives of
state employees. The Legislative Coordinating Commission (LCC) has created a
Subcommittee on Employee Relations (SER) to review collective bargaining
agreements and to carry out other powers and duties dealing with state employee
compensation and related matters.

The Commissioner ofEmployee Relations must submit a negotiated collective
bargaining agreement to the chair of the SER for legislative approval. The
agreement must be submitted within five days ofthe date of approval by the
commissioner or the date of approval by the affected state employees, whichever is
later.

When the legislature is not in session, the SER may give interim approval to a
negotiated collective bargaining agreement, arbitration award, compensation plan,
or salary. Failure of the SER to disapprove a collective bargaining agreement
within 30 days constitutes approval. Upon interim approval by the SER, the
collective bargaining agreement is implemented. (If the legislature is in session
when the SER approves a contract, the contract is not implemented until it is
ratified by.the full legislature.)

If the SER rejects a collective bargaining agreement when the legislature is not in
session, the collective bargaining agreement is not implemented. New negotiations
between the Commissioner of Employee Relations and the exclusive representative
could occur. Also, ifSER rejection occurs during a legislative interim, state
employees have the right to strike.



Agreements must be
ratified by thefull
legislature

The legislature can
reject an agreement,
either explicitly or
byfailing to
approve it before
adjournment
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other compensation
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The SER submits approved collective bargaining agreements to the entire
legislature for ratification. Approval or disapproval by the SER is not binding on
the legislature.

When the legislature has approved agreements, it has done so by reference (e.g.,
"The collective bargaining agreement between the Commissioner of Employee
Relations and the exclusive representative of state employees, approved by the
Legislative Coordinating Commission Subcommittee on Employee Relations is
ratified."). Legislative ratification of the agreement is the final step in approval of
the contract.

There is no statutory authority for the legislature to modify a collective bargaining
agreement. If the legislature enacted a law that had the effect of changing the terms
of a proposed collective bargaining agreement, it would be difficult to characterize
the result as a contract, as it would no longer represent a document voluntarily
entered into by the parties.

If the legislature rejects the collective bargaining agreement or adjourns without
acting on it, wages or benefit increases provided in the contract must cease to be
paid effective upon the rejection of the agreement or adjournment. However, wage
or benefit increases previously paid under SER interim approval need not be re­
paid.

The statute does not specifically state that the entire contract is void upon
legislative rejection or adjOu.rnnient without actioE.. However, this seems implicit.
If the legislature rejects or fails to ratify a collective bargaining agreement, affected
state employees and the state could resume negotiations. Also, state employees
have the right to strike upon legislative rejection of an agreement or legislative
failure to ratify an agreement:

The process for legislative review of arbitration awards, compensation plans for
nonunionized employees, and specified salaries (e.g., state agency heads) is similar
to that for collective bargaining agreements, but.some of the details are different.
For example, failure of the SER to ratify a compensation plan does not constitute
approval. Also, SER does not have authority to modify a collective bargaining
agreement before approving it, while it does have authority to modify a
compensation plan for nonunionized employees and specified salary proposals.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.·
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General Assistance (GA) is a state program that provides cash assistance to individuals or childless
couples who are not eligible for federally funded assistance programs, but who are unable to provide for
themselves (Minn. Stat. § 256D.Ol).

Eligibility An applicant qualifies for GA if he or she meets the eligibility requirements and
has income and assets below the limits established by the state legislature and the
Department of Human Services (DHS). Assistance is available as long as the
individual continues to meet eligibility requirements; there is no set time limit.

In addition to having financial need, a GA applicant must also meet the following
conditions:

~ Be a resident ofMinnesota
~ Be ineligible for aid from any cash assistance program that uses federal

furids (i.e., Minnesota Family Investment Program or Supplemental Security
Income)

~ Be a citizen of the United States
~ Be unable to work because the person:

1. Has a professionally certified illness, injury, or incapacity expected to
continue for more than 30 days and that prevents the person from
getting or keeping a job

2. Has been diagnosed as having mental retardation or mental illness
3. Is age 55 or older
4. Is needed in the home to care for a person whose age or medical

condition requires continuous care
5. Is placed in a licensed or certified facility for care or treatment under a

plan approved by the local human services agency
6. Resides in a shelter for battered women
7. Has an application pending for or is appealing a termination of Social

Security disability payments, so long as the person has a
professionally certified illness or disability

8. Is assessed as not employable
9. . Is under age 18 in specified circumstances and with consent of the

local agency
10. Is eligible for displaced homemaker services and is enrolled as a full­

time student
11. Lives more than four hours round-trip traveling time from any

potential suitable employment



Benefits

Funding and
Expenditures .

Recipient Profile

12. Is involved with protective or court-ordered services that prevent
working at least four hours per day

13. Is over age 18 and whose primary language is not English and is
attending high school at least part-time

14. Is learning disabled

GA is not provided to:

• Fugitive felons and parole and probation violators; or
• Persons who have fraudulently misrepresented residency to obtain

assistance in two or more states; these people are not eligible to receive GA
for ten years.

GA recipients receive a monthly ca·sh assistance payment, called a grant. The
amount of a recipient's grant is determined by subtracting the recipient's net
income from the applicable monthly GA assistance standard.

Monthly GA Standards for Sin2le Persons and Childless Couples
Eligible Units Monthly

Standard

One adult $203

Emancipated minor 203

One adult, living with parentes) who have no minor children 203

Minor not living with parent, stepparent, or legal custodian (with 250
approved social services plan)

Married couple with no children 260

One adult, living in a medical facility or in group residential housing 72

Unlike MFIP, the GA program does not include an employment and training
component. GA recipients are not required to participate in any employment and
training services as a condition of receiving benefits.

The state pays for the costs of GA benefits. In state fiscal year 2005 the state
estimated paying $32,249,027 in benefits to GA recipients.

Most GA recipients are single persons. Childless couples may also be eligible for
GA In state fiscal year 2005 the average monthly number of GA cases was
projected to be 13,575. (Most GA cases consist of one person. However, GA data
is available from DHS by cases only, not by the number of individual GA
recipients.)

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell LeMire at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance, January 2004.
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What are housing
improvement areas?

What kind of
improvements can
be made in an HIA?

How is an HU
established?

How are the
improvements
financed?

Housing Improvement Areas

A housing improvement area (HIA) is a defined area in a city in which housing
improvements in condominium or townhome complexes may be fmanced with the
assistance of the city, or the city's economic development authority (EDA) or
housing and redevelopment authority (HRA).

Prior to 1996, cities needed special legislation to establish an HIA. In 1996, cities
were granted the authority under general law. The general law, codified in
Minnesota Statutes, sections 428A.ll to 428A.21, sunsets June 30,2009.

The improvements that may be made under this law include improvements to the
common elements in a condominium complex or townhome development.
Examples include roofing, siding, landscaping, roadways, and walkways.-

At property owner's request. An HIA can only be established at the request
(petition) of at least 25 percent of the owners of the housing units in the proposed·
area: .If the petition is filed, then the city prepares an ordinance that:

• describes the area specifically, .
• states the basis for imposing fees and the number of years the fees will be

imposed,and
• makes a finding that without the HIA, the proposed improvements could

not be made.

The ordinance must also specify ifthe city, the EDA, or HRA will implement the
. ordinance.

Notice, public hearing, ordinance. Before adopting the ordinance, the city must
hold a public hearing at which the proposed improvements, affected housing units,
and the exempt units are listed.Fees can be imposed on the basis of the tax .
capacity (value) of the housing unit, total square footage of the housing unit, or a
method determined by the city and specified in the resolution. Potentially affected
property owners may testify at the hearing. Those property owners may object in
writing, and ifthe city agrees, may be excluded from the area or fee imposed.

The ordinance may be adopted within six months after the conclusion of the public
hearing.

The city may finance the housing improvements by:

(l) advancing funds available to the city to pay up front and then recover the
costs by charging fees; or

(2) issuing bonds to pay the costs and then imposing fees or assessments to
repay the bonds. Obligations are not included in the city's net debt and no
election is required for their issuance.
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Before imposing fees, the notice must be issued and a public hearing held. Within
six months of the conclusion ofthe public hearing, the city may adopt a resolution
to impose the fees. .

Before the city imposes and collects a fee provided for in the resolution, the
condominium or townhorne association must develop a long-term plan to maintain
the complex. The plan must address operations, maintenance, and necessary
capital improvements of the common elements. It must identify financing for the
projects. The association must also submit its audited financial report to the city
annually.

Although each city with an HIA is required to submit the HIA ordinance to the
Commissioner of Revenue, this reporting has not been done. The fees imposed are
reported as special assessments by the cities to the county auditor and collected
through the property tax statements. Since these amounts are not identified
separately, and with no effective statewide reporting, it is impossible to know how
much money is collected for HIA purposes statewide.

As indicated above, there is no way to knowhow many HIAs have been
established, but as of2004, at least six cities are known to have adopted HIA
ordinances.

City # of Districts Year Authority
Established Granted

Coon Rapids 4 2002
Hopkins 4 1989

NewHope 3 1997

Plymouth 1 N/A

St. Louis Park 1 2002
Victoria 1 2003

The scope and length of projects vary within each HIA. The ordinances
. establishing HIAs are for three to 20 years, with fees assessed annually. However,

the HIA ordinance may allow prepayment of fees.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651~296 ...8959 and Deborah Dyson at
651-296-8291.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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John Helland

Off-Highway Vehicles: .Changes in 2005 Law'

For the fifth consecutive year, the Minnesota Legislature enacted changes in the law regulating off-road
vehicles (including all-terrain vehicles, motorcycles, and trucks). This short subject highlights those
changes, which are contained in Laws 2005, first special session, chapter l,article 2 (the section numbers for
specific provisions are in parentheses after the description of the provision).

Drivers who disturb
wetlands will have
penalties increased

Damage account
sunset extended .

Vehicles must be
registered

.Off-highway vehicles
can operate north of
Highway 2

Off-highway
motorcycles must
have registration
decals and silencers

The law allows peace officers to issue civil citations to any off-highway vehicle .
operator who carelessly disturbs wetlands; the law also requires restitution for
that wetland damage. Restitution penalties are $100 for the first offense; $500
for the second offense; and $1,000 for third and subsequent offenses.

These penalties are doubled if the violator has a snorkel device on an all-terrain
01' off-road vehicle. (Sec. 19) Another section of the law prohibits all-terrain
vehicles (ATVs) from using snorkel devices with a raised air intake six inches or
more above the vehicle manufacturer's original air intake, except withinpublic
off-highway vehicle recreation areas. (Sec. 47) .

The off-highway vehicle damage account, which was established to repair or
restore property damaged by unpermitted use of off-highwayvehicles, was
extended until 2008. It had been setto expire in 2005. (Sec. 20)

. Off-highway vehicles must be properly registered in order to operate on·
designated trails, land administered by the DNR commissioner, or grant-in-aid
trails. On the third Saturday of each May, however, unregistered off-highway
vehicles can operate within the Iron Range Off-Highway Vehicle Recreation
Area. (Sec~ 27)

.The law allows off-highway vehicles to operate north ofHighway 2 on any trails
and roads in state forests, unless the areas are closed and posted for safety and
environmental reasons·. (Highway 2 runs east-west from Grand Forks, N.D., to
Duluth.)

The law extends until the end of2008, the commissioner's designation process
for permanent trail and road classification on forest lands. This allows forests to
be classified as "limited," "closed," or "managed." (Sec. 152) .

An off-highway motorcycle operated on public land must have a Department of
Natural Resources (DNR)registration decal affixed to it. (Sec. 22) Additionally,
off-highway motorcycles operated on public land must be equipped with
silencers that limit sound emissions according to the year the motorcycles were
manufactured. (Sec. 24) A person who violates any off-highway vehicle law...
must complete the state off-highway motorcycle safety program before
continuing to operate an off-highway motorcycle. (Sec. 25)
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The law creates anew DNR safety training program for off-road vehicle
.operators; the fee for the course is $15. Safety certificates will be issued to those
between 16 and 18 years who successfully complete the program. (Sec. 28)

Additionally, any ATV operator born after July 1, 1987, and who is at least 16
years old, must successfully complete a state safety training course to operate an
ATV on public land. Ifa person is convicted for violating an off-highway·
vehicle law, he or she must retake and successfully complete the course before
continuing to operate an ATV. (Sec. 42)

Children between 10 and 12 years old must be accompanied by a parent or legal .
guardian while operating an ATV with an engine capacity up to 90cc on public

.property. (Sec. 43) .

An ATV operator may carry only one passenger, and passengers younger than 18
must wear helmets. (Sec. 44)

When using an ATV for hunting or retrieving big game, tending traps, or
trapping minnows under license, the operator may go off forest trails and roads,
other than Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest and on managed and limited
classified lands. The law gives the commissioner some further flexibility to allow
this ATV usein closed forests. (Sec. 45) .

The law appropriated funding for three areas of the state's off-highway vehicle.
p~ogram:

• $1,750,000 over the biennium from the various vehicle accounts for off­
highway vehicle grants-in-aid to develop and maintain trails

• $75,000 for a gas tax study by the commissioners ofnatural resources,
revenue, and transportation to determine the amount ·of gas used by ATV
riders on public land

• $50,000 for a DNRfeasibility study on the useof ATVs on the North
Shore Trail, which may be used in any master trail plan revision

. (Sec. 3, 8ubd. 6)

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Helland at651-296-5039. Also see the House
Research publications All-Terrain Vehicle Laws Passed by the 2002 Legislature, May 2002, The All-Terrain
Vehicle Law 0/2003, June 2003, and ATV/OjJ-Highway Vehicles and Wetlands: 2004 Changes, June 2004.·

. .
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Minnesota Individual Alternative Minimum Tax·

What is the
alternative
minimum tax?

What is the history
oftheAMT?

How is Minnesota's
AMT structured?

Who pays the
AMT?

How are thefederal
and state AMTs
different?

The theory underlying the federal and state alternative minimum taxes (AMT) is to
require taxpayers who benefit heavily from some tax preferences to pay a
minimum amount of tax relative to their incomes. The first version of the federal
tax was enacted in 1969 in response to the revelation that a number of
"millionaires" were paying no federal income tax.

The federal AMT was first enacted in 1969, the state AMT in 1977. For some time
during the 1970s and 1980s, both the federal and state taxes were levied as "add-on
minimum" taxes, rather than alternative minimum taxes, andrequired certain
taxpayers to pay a fraction of some prefen:inces as an add-on minimum tax. The.
basic structure ofthe two taxes has been in place since the 1986 federal reform and
1987 state reform. Both Congress.and the legislature have made many changes,
both in defining the base of the taxes and their rates.

The Minnesota AMT roughly follows the federal AMT. Both taxes follow the
model ofrequiring taxpayers to compute a tentative tax liability under a second tax
structure. This second tax structure, the AMT, has a broader tax base (due to fewer
deductions, exemptions, and credits) and lower rates than the regular tax. If this
tentative tax is higher than the taxpayer's regular tax liability, the taxpayer pays the
difference. In effect, the AMT takes away part of the benefit of tax preferences
that lowered the regular tax. The Minnesota AMT has one flat rate; the federal tax,
by contrast, has two rates.

AMT filers fall into two main groups:
• Those who have significant amounts ofdeductions that are allowed under

the regular tax but not under the AMT
• Taxpayers with large families whose personal exemptions and standard

deduction (or typical itemized deductions) under the regular tax exceed the
flat exemption amount allowed under the AMT

The federal and state AMTs have some important differences. The federal AMT
allows the deduction of home mortgage interest and all charitable contributions.
The Minnesota AMT does not allow the mortgage interest deduction and, through
tax year 2005, only allows charitable contributions to the extent they exceed
1 percent of adjusted gross income. Beginning in tax year 2006, the Minnesota
AMT will allow deduction of all charitable contributions. The federal AMT also
allows a larger exemption amount. The Jobs Growth and Tax Relief
Reconciliation Act of2003 (JGTRRA) increased the exemption to $58,000 for
married joint filers and $40,250 for single filers for tax years 2003 and 2004.
Absent new federal legislation, the exemption will revert to the previous levels of
$45,000 for married joint filers and $33,750 for single filers in tax year 2005. In
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comparison, the state exemption amounts are $40,000 for married joint filers and
$30,000 for single filers.

The Minnesota AMT uses a broader tax base than does the regular tax and applies
a single 6.4 percent rate against that base. The following table outlines the
parameters of the Minnesota regular and alternative minimum tax.

Comparison of the Regular Income Tax and Minnesota AMT
($ amounts are for the 2006 tax year)

Feature Regular Tax AMT
Tax base Federal adjusted gross income Federal adjusted gross income

Rules carried Less generous depreciation rules
over from Incentive stock options
federalAMT Depletion

Intangible drilling costs
Tax exempt interest from private
activity bonds

Standard $9,350 (married joint) $40,000 for married joint
deduction

Personal $3,250 per taxpayer, spouse, and None
exemptions dependents

Itemized Home mortgage interest Not allowed (federal allows, with
deductions limits)

Charitable contributions Allowed

Property taxes Not allowed (same as federal)

Medical expenses Allowed

Miscellaneous deductions (e.g., Not allowed
employee business expenses)

Casualty losses Allowed

Tax rates 5.35%; 7.05%; 7.85% 6.4% (federal is 26%; 28%)

Tax credits Transit passes Not allowed

Long-term care insurance Allowed

Marriage credit Allowed

Credit for taxes paid to other s'tates Allowed

Refundable credits (working Allowed, but the K-12 credit is
family, dependent care, and K-12 reduced by AMT liability
education)

The Minnesota AMT raises about $20 million to $40 million per year. (The
estimates are always in doubt, and there is some question as to how much is
actually collected, relative to what is projected.) The amount of revenue and the
number of taxpayers paying the AMT are expected to increase in future years.

Note: Research assistant Matt Burress provided assistance with this publication.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at651-296-5204 or Joel Mich~el at 651­
296-5057.
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What is the
Dislocated Worker
Program?

Who is eligible for
assistance?

What kind of
assistance is
available?

How is the money
distributed?

The Dislocated Worker Program

The Dislocated Worker Program provides assistance to some individuals who are
displaced from their employment or source of support and require assistance in
returning to or entering the workforce.

Several kinds ofworkers are eligible for assistance under the program. They
include those who:

• are terminated from their employment, exhaust their unemployment
benefits, and are unlikely to return to their previous industry or occupation;

• are terminated as part of a plant closing or other large layoff;

• have been long-term unemployed, which generally means they have been
unemployed for at least 15 weeks, and have limited opportunities for
similar reemployment in the area where they live;

• have been self-employed (including as farmers or ranchers) and are
unemployed (or, for farmers and ranchers, are earning substantially less
income) as a result of economic conditions or natural disasters; or

• are displaced homemakers, meaning they have spent a number ofyears
providing homemaking service while dependent on another person, and that
person is no longer providing support as a result ofthe other person's.
disability or death, or because ofa divorce. "Displaced homemaker" can
also include a person who previously was supported by public assistance
because of the presence of a dependent in the household who is no longer
present.

The program provides basic employment services such as job counseling, testing,
skills assessment, and placement assistance. It provides money for training,
including classroom training, on-the-job training, skills training, and basic
education. Finally, to a limited degree, it offers support services, including
temporary help with expenses such as rent, health insurance, transportation, and
similar costs that may need to be covered while a person is in training.

Funds are appropriated to the Job Skills Partnership Board, and are in tum given as
grants to workforce service areas (there are 18 such areas in Minnesota, established



Where does the
money come from?

by federal law) or other eligible organizations, which may include labor
organizations, business organizations, state or local government agencies, or
nonprofit agencies. These areas and organizations often in turn contract with
individual service providers to deliver services to individuals.

The Dislocated Worker Program is probably best known for its projects responding
to large layoffs, but the board is required to grant between 35 percent and 50
percent of its funds to assist individuals and those affected by smaller layoffs.

Employers pay a special tax along with their unemployment insurance taxes that
goes into a separate fund called the Workforce Development Fund. In 2005, this
tax is 0.12 percent of taxable wages, and the taxable wage base is $23,000,
meaning that the maximUIIianyemployer pays into the Workforce Development
Fund is $27.60 per employee per year. Ofthis amount, $4.60 is devoted to
technology initiatives and $23.00 is deposited in the Workforce Development
Fund. The tax will drop to a rate of 0.10 percent of taxable wages in calendar
years 2006 and 2007, and then drop to a rate of 0.085 beginning in calendar year
2008.

Not all the money in the Workforce Development Fund goes to fund the Dislocated
Worker Program. The legislature appropriates some ofthe money in the fund to
support other employment and training programs. Whatever money remains after
these appropriations are made is available for the Dislocated Worker Program.
Under certain circumstances, if there is more money in the fund than is necessary
to meet the needs of dislocated workers, the Job Skills PartnershipBoard can use
the extra money for other workforce training programs.

In addition to the state money, there are federal funds appropriated for the federal
Dislocated Worker Program, which is similar to the state program.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Long bye-mail at:elisabeth.long@house.mn.
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covered by both
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law, which
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What about
employees who
receive tips?

According to state law, the state minimum wage is $6.15 per hour for employers
who do at least $625,000 of business per year, and $5.25 per hour for employers
who do less than $625,000 ofbusiness per year. There is an exception for
employees under age 20 during their first 90 days ofwork, who can be paid $4.90
per hour.

The federal minimum wage is $5.15 per hour, with a provision for a "training
wage" of $4.25 per hour for employees under age 20 for their first 90 days of
WOIT. .

As a general matter, the federal law covers all employees of establishments that
have at least $500,000 in gross receipts per year. Further, any employee of an
establishment that does not meet the $500,000 minimum is covered if that
employee's individual work involves transactions that in some way touch interstate
commerce. The way these provisions are interpreted, most employees are covered
by the federal law.

The state law covers most employees in Minnesota, unless they are specifically
exempt. Therefore, unless they fit into one of the specific exceptions, most people
who work in Minnesota are covered by both state and federal law.

Many of the specific exemptions from minimum wage requirements are the same
in federal and state law. Some exemptions are broad, such as the one that applies to
executive, administrative, and professional employees, which appear in both state
and federal law, and some are narroW, such as the federal exemption of employees
who work at home making evergreen wreaths. State and federal regulations
provide the boundaries ofmany of these categories.

Some of the important exemptions are for executive, professional, and managerial
employees who work on a salary basis, and certain skilled computer workers.

The short answer is that the higher wage prevails. If one law mandates a minimum
of$5.15 and one mandates a minimum of$6.15, for instance, the employer can
comply with both only by paying more than $6.15. Because the state minimum
wage is currently higher than the federal minimum wage, employees covered by
both state and federal law must be paid the state minimum wage.

Minnesota does not allow a "tip credit," so tipped employees in Minnesota who are
subject to the state minimum wage provisions must be paid the regular state
minimum hourly wage by the employer, regardless ofwhether or not they also
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receive tips. Further, the employer may not require employees to share tips with
the employer or with other employees, because the tips are the exclusive property
of the person who receives them.

This differs from federal law, which allows a partial tip credit as long as the
employer can prove that the employee actually receives enough tips to make up the
difference between the lower hourly wage the employer pays and the statutory
minimum wage. If a Minnesota employee is covered by state law, however, the
employer cannot take the tip credit against the state minimum wage. This means
that a tipped employee of a covered employer in Minnesota still must be paid a
direct wage of either $5.25 or $6.15 per hour (depending on employer size),
whether or not the employee also receives tips.

The most recent increase in the federal minimum wage became effective in
September 1997. The most recent increase in the state minimum wage became
effective in August 2005.

According to information published by the U.S. Department of Labor in January
2005, six states have no minimum wage laws, 16 states and the District of
Columbia have minimum wages higher than the federal minimum (including
Minnesota), 26 states have minimum wages the same as the federal minimum, and
two states have minimum wages lower than the federal minimum. .

States have different approaches to setting and applying their minimum wage laws.
Some states automatically make certain adjustments to their state rates when the
federal rate changes. Many states also exclude from state coverage any
employment that is covered by the federal law so that there is no overlap. In
Alaska, Florida:, Oregon, and Washington, the state mininium wage is
automatically adjusted for inflation.

Minimum wage laws are enforced in Minnesota by the Minnesota Department of
Labor and Industry and the U.S. Department of Labor.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Long bye-mail at:elisabeth.long@house.mn.
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Cell Phones and Highway Safety

The growth and popularity of cellular telephones has raised questions about whether this technology is
compatible with highway safety. Minnesota's first attempt to regulate cell phone use while driving applies
only to drivers under age 18, but other states have gone further.

Cellphone use is
growing, including
cellphone use in
vehicles

Cellphone use as a
contributingfactor
to crashes has also
grown

Research has
indicated i1
connection between
cellphone use and
higher crash risk

Mobile phones, once primarily the province ofbusiness and the wealthy, have now
reached almost every level of society. Cell phone service providers now have over
158 million subscribers nationally, an increase of over 125 percent in just five
years.

Some surveys show that up to two-thirds of cell phone use is in motor vehicles,
much of it done while the user is driving. With each innovation in cell phone
technology (taking and receiving pictures, surfing the Internet, etc.) the potential
for driver distraction grows. Department ofPublic Safety statistics show that
"driver inattention or distraction" is the number one contributing factor in motor
vehicle crashes, inevitably raising questions about whether cell phone use while
driving poses a safety hazard.

In 2002 (the most recent year for which complete statistics are available), "driver
on cell phone/CB" was cited as a contributing factor in one fatal crash, 85 injury
crashes, and 137 property-damage crashes. These represent only a small
percentage ofall crashes, generally 0.2 percent or less, but when the statistic first
began to be recorded, the percentages were 0.1 percent or less. From 1995, when
the statistic was first kept, to 2002 the number ofpeople killed or injured in crashes
with cell phone/CB use cited as a contributing factor rose from 48 to 104.

Nationally, there is considerable research to suggest that cell phone use is
"associated with" an increased crash risk. A frequently cited article in The New
England Journal ofMedicine from 1997 found that use of a cell phone quadrupled
the risk ofa collision. A 2005 study published in the British Medical Journal
found the same fourfold increase in injury crash risk when using cell phones while
driving.

Although legislation in this area appears to assume that hands-free cell phones are
safer to use in vehicles than hand-held models, research suggests that the potential
safety hazards posed by each are about equal. To some extent this is due to the
fact that "hands-free" models still require some manipulation to operate, but
mostly it seems to be due to the fact that it is the distraction from the call itself,
rather than from the device, that is the real hazard. Other research done for the
National Safety Council has suggested that because of the active involvement of
drivers in phone conversations, cell phones represent a greater threat of distractions
than other activities such as listening to the radio.
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States have begun to attempt to deal with cell phone use in vehicles. New York
was the first state to ban use ofhand-held (but nO hands-free) phones in vehicles,
followed by New Jersey. A similar prohibition takes effect in Connecticut in
October 2005. Among major cities, Washington, D.C., and Chicago have similar
bans. Some states specifically have laws that allow local governments to ban or
restrict cell phone use whilesome other states have laws that do the opposite.

Other state laws take a more narrow approach, prohibiting cell phone use by school
bus drivers or by all bus drivers. A growing trend is to prohibit persons with

. learner's permits or provisional or'intermediate licenses (issued to drivers under
age 18) from using cell phones while driving.

The 2005 omnibus transportation bill contained Minnesota's first foray into
regulating cell phone use in vehicles when the state joined several others in sharply
restricting cell phone use by drivers under age 18. Under the new law, scheduled
to take effect January 1, 2006, persons with provisional driver's licenses (which
are valid until the licensee turns 18) and persons under 18 who have learner's
permits may not use cell phones while driving if the vehicle is in motion. There is
an exception for calls made to obtain emergency assistance to prevent a crime, or
with the reasonable belief that a person's life orsafety was in danger.

The value of laws prohibiting or restricting cell phone use in vehicles continues to
be debated. As noted, the application ofbroadly worded laws only to hand-held
models means that :they fail to address comparable·safety hazards from hands-free
models. Research from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety indicates that .
these laws can be expected to produce an immediate reduction in cell phone use in·
vehicles, but that this effect tends to wear off over time in the absence of
continuous enforcement.

More generally, studies have differed over the effect that restrictions on cell phone .
use would have on crash rates, with some studies criticizing other studies for .
overstating the risk. Other researchers have pointed out that cell phones in
vehicles have benefits: as reported in a sfudy by the Harvard Center for Risk
.Analysis, these include expanded productive time, peace ofmind, reduction in
nuinber and length of trips, faster emergency response time, and better
apprehension of traffic violators and drunk drivers. These studies conclude that
more quantitative information is needed about both costs and benefits before
governments impose further regulations.

Cell phone use is likely to grow even further in the near future before stabilizing at ..
a point of saturation. This suggests that the issue of cell phone use in vehicles will
continue to be the focus of a significant highway safety debate.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.
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Metropolitan Transit Financing

In the Twin Cities metropolitan area, public transit is operated or assisted by the Metropolitan Council, '
relying heavily on funding from the state.

The Metropolitan
Council is the
region's primary
transit agency

The state is the
largest funding
sourcefor
metropolitan transit

Transit services provided or assisted by the Metropolitan Council include:

~ Metro Transit. The Twin Cities' regional regular-route bus system. The
council took over operation of the system when the Metropolitan Transit
Commission was abolished in 1994.

~ Metro Mobility. The demand-activated system that provides door-to-door
transportation for eligible disabled persons.
"Opt-out" Systems. Systems operated by one or more suburban
communities to replace Metro Transit service.

~ Community-based Transit. Rural and small-urban systems that receive
operating assistance from the council.

For many years the operating costs ofMetro Transit and its predecessor systems
came mainly from a combination of farebox revenue, state assistance, and a
property tax in the metropolitan transit taxing area. The property tax also was the
source for the council's assistance to community-based systems. The opt-out
communities retained most of the transit property taxes collected in their
jurisdictions and used these funds to subsidize their systems' operating costs.

'This system was drastically changed by the 2001 Legislature, which abolished the
property tax for transit operations and replaced it with a dedicated 20.5 percent of
revenues from the state motor vehicle sales tax. The dramatic changes between
2000 and 2003 reflect the magnitude ofthe 2001 funding shift.

Metropolitan Transit Operations CY 2000 Metropolitan Transit Operations CY 2003
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Metro Transit has a fleet of some 950 buses, and in 2001 provided about 73 million
rides.

Metro Transit Ridership
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In addition to its bus service, the Metropolitan Council also operates the Hiawatha
light rail transit line between downtown Minneapolis and Bloomington. The line
was built with a combination of federal assistance, state bonding money, and
contributions from Hennepin County and the Metropolitan Airports Commission
(for the segment at Minneapolis-St. Paul airport).

Hiawatha LRT -- Capital Funding Sources (total $715 million)
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Operating funds for the Hiawatha line come from a combination of farebox
revenue, federal funds, Metropolitan Council funds, state general funds, and
money from the Hennepin County regional rail authority;

Based on its 2020 transit master plan, the council has proposed a six-year capital
plan for 2002-07 that contemplates spending almost $1.4 billion on transit capital
improvements, including new buses, bus garages and facilities, the Hiawatha LRT
line, and transitways (which could eventually be exclusive busways or light rail or
commuter rail corridors).

2002-07 Capital Plan -- Facilities
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045. Also see the House
Research Short Subject Greater Minnesota Transit Financing, September 2005.
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Greater Minnesota Transit Financing

Minnesota gives operating assistance to numerous transit systems outside the metropolitan area, including
systems as large as Duluth and as small as circulating vans in rural counties.

Greater Minnesota
transit assistance

Funding formula

The Department of Transportation (MnDOT), through its Office of Transit, provides
operating assistance to some 75 transit systems around the state. Systems are put
into one of four categories:

Category Examples
Urbanized Duluth, Rochester, St. Cloud regular route systems
Small urban Brainerd, Mankato, Winona, Faribault, Cloquet systems
Rural Counties, smaller towns, Indian tribes, social service

agencies
Elderly/disabled Demand-responsive services primarily for elderly and

disabled in Duluth, Rochester, Moorhead, St. Cloud

Each local system pays a fixed local share of its total operating costs, and the
remainder not covered by federal assistance is paid by the state. The fixed local
share is either 15 percent or 20 percent depending on the classification of the system.

State Share Fixed Local Share

EID

Rural

Small Urban

Urbanized

0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100%

Greater Minnesota
ridership is about
9.2 million

Total ridership of Greater Minnesota transit systems in 2003 was about 9.2 million,
most of which were in a few urbanized systems. This number has grown only slowly
over the past five years, increasing by an average of about 1.5 percent per year.



Greater MN Transit Ridership 2003

Urbanized
67%

EID
2%

. Rural

24%

Small
Urban

7%

The MnDOT's Greater
Minnesota Transit Plan·
projects a need for 16.7
million annual trips per year.
Current services are projected
to meet only about 57 percent
of that need, while the plan
sets out a goal of meeting 80
percent of the need. The plan
recommends that the
remaining need be met by
greater efficiency in existing
systems, coordination with
special transportation service
such as that provided
specifically for the elderly and handicapped, and expanded service from existing and
new providers.

State assistance State general fund appropriations for Greater Minnesota transit total about $19.6
million in each year of the 2006-07 biennium. In addition, Greater Minnesota transit
will receive about $8 million each year of the biennium in dedicated revenues from
thestate motor vehicle sales tax.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnesota Highway User Taxes

Minnesota's highway user taxes consist of a motor fuel tax, a vehicle license tax, and a motor vehicle sales
tax.

Minnesota Fuel Tax Rates
1949 5¢ 1975 9¢ 1983 16¢
1963 6¢ 1980 11¢ 1984 17¢
1967 7¢ 1981 13¢ 1988 20¢

Motor fueltax What it is. Minnesota imposes a tax of 20 cents per gallon on both gasoline and
"special fuel" that is used on the highways. About 80 percent of the revenue
comes from the tax on gasoline, with 'the remainder coming primarily from diesel
fuel and small amounts coming from propane, LNG, and other highway fuels.
These last three fuels are taxed at rates proportionate to the gas tax, based on their
energy content. The gas tax
rate was last increased in 1988,
but it had been raised regularly
in the two decades before that
last increase.

What it applies to. The tax applies only to motor fuel that is used in vehicles on
the highways. Tax paid on fuel that is used in nonhighway commercial operations,
principally farming"is refunded to the taxpayer. Tax paid on recreational use, such
as in motorboats, snowmobiles, ATVs, and off-road vehicles, goes into dedicated
funds for these activities.

Truckers who buy and use motor fuel in several states pay fuel tax to the states in
proportion to the miles they travel in those states.

Where it comes from. The House Research Department's annual Major State Aids
and Taxes report shows the geographic breakdown of the revenue from each major
state tax. The most recent report, using figures for 2002, indicates that about 47
percent of total fuel tax revenue came from the metropolitan area and 53 percent
from Greater Minnesota.

Vehicle license tax What it is. The state collects an annual license tax for all motor vehicles and
trailers for the privilege of using the public highways. Automobiles are taxed at
$10 annually plus 1.25 percent of base value, meaning the manufacturer's base
price (without options) for a particular make and model. The tax is imposed on
100 percent of the base value in the first two years oflife, with this percent going
down to 10 percent in the tenth year. The auto license tax is capped at $189 in the
second year of life and $99 in the third and subsequent years. Cars over ten years
old pay the minimum tax of $35.

Trucks are taxed on the basis of weight and age. The tax on trucks and truck­
tractors ranges from a minimum of $120 to $1,760 for a power unit hauling up to
81,000 pounds, with a 25 percent reduction after eight years of life. Farm trucks



pay a reduced weight-based tax. Buses pay a tax of from $125 to $550 depending
on weight, with depreciation beginning in the third year of life. Motorcycles pay a
flat tax of$10 annually.

What it applies to. All vehicles domiciled in Minnesota pay the tax for the
privilege of using the state's highways. The major exception is vehicles owned by
government agencies (including school buses owned by school districts).

Where it comes from. Figures from 2002 show that about 55 percent ofvehicle
licenses taxes come from the metropolitan area and about 45 percent from Greater
Minnesota.

General
Fund
46%

Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Allocation
FY 2004-2007

What it is. The state collects a 6.5 percent tax on the sale of each new and used
motor vehicle. A portion of this reVenue is dedicated to transportation, with the
remainder going to the state general fund. The highway share goes to stpte and
local highways, while the transit
share goes 94 percent to
Metropolitan Transit and 6 percent
to Greater Minnesota transit.

What it applies to. The tax is
applied to the sale price after trade­
in is applied.

Where it comes from. About 53
percent of MVST revenues come
from the metropolitan area and 47 percent from Greater Minnesota.

Motor vehicle sales
tax (MVST)

Revenues from
highway user taxes

Highway User Tax Revenues FY 2004

I

I

$0

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045. Also see the House
Research publication The Motor Vehicle Sales Tax, June 2004. .

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative.
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Highway Funds
Where They Come From, Where They Go

MOTOR FUEL TAX VEHICLE LICENSE TAXES

MOTOR VEHICLE
SALES TAX
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Where the money
comes from

The Minnesota Constitution dedicates two types of highway user taxes
exclusively to highway purposes.

The first is the state tax on motor fuel, currently 20 cents per gallon on both
gasoline and diesel fuel. Tax revenue from nonhighway use of these fuels is not
dedicated to highways, and this revenue is refunded or placed in special funds for
motorboat safety, snowmobile trails, etc.



Where the money
goes

The other is state license taxes on motor vehicles. Taxes on cars, light pickup
trucks, and vans are based on value, while taxes on trucks and buses are based on
weight and age.

State law (not the constitution) dedicates 30 percent of the revenue from the motor
vehicle sales tax to the HUTDF, to replace revenue lost when auto license taxes
were capped beginning in 2001. An additional 0.82 percent ofMVST revenues
goes directly to the county and municipal state-aid funds

By constitutional requirement, highway user tax revenue goes into the highway
user tax distribution fund. Of the money in the HUTDF, 95 percent is allocated
to these three funds:

• 62 percent to the trunk highway fund for the construction,
maintenance, and administration of the 11 ,900-mile state trunk highway
system

• 29 percent to the county state-aid highway fund allocated among all
87 counties for construction and maintenance of 30,000 miles of county
state-aid highways

• 9 percent to the municipal state-aid street fund, limited by
constitutional provision to cities with populations over 5,000

The remaining 5 percent is not divided according to a constitutional formula, but
is allocated by law to the county state-aid fund. From there it is further allocated:

• 30.5 percent to a fund for construction and repair of town roads

• 16 percent to a fund to replace and repair town bridges

• 53.5 percent to a flexible highway account that can be used for trunk
highway projects or for former trunk highways that have been turned
back to city or county jurisdiction

The constitution allows the legislature to revise the allocation no more than once
every six years. The last change was made effective in 1998, so it can be revised at
anytime.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045. Also see the
transportation area of the House Research web site: www.house.mn!hrd/issinfo/trans.htrn.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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The Municipal State-Aid Street System

The municipal state-aid street system is a mechanism for distributing a portion of state highway user taxes to
cities with over 5,000 in population to pay for construction and maintenance of their key city streets.

Municipal state-aid
system

What iUs. The municipal state-aid highway system is a network of about 3,000
miles of streets owned by cities with over 5,000 in population. There are now 135
cities that meet this qualification, plus one city (Chisholm) that fell below 5,000 in
the 2000 census but which has been grandfathered into the system. These cities
receive money from the municipal state-aid street fund for the construction,
improvement, and maintenance of these streets.

Municipal state-aid
fund

How it's put together. Cities propose streets to the Department of Transportation
(MnDOT) for inclusion in the system. The department makes the final decision
based on criteria in state rules. The criteria focus mainly on traffic levels,
functional classification, and a street's role in connecting major points within the
city. Each city is limited to putting no more than 20 percent of its total street miles
onto the state-aid system.

What it is. The fund was established by the Minnesota Constitution to provide
money to cities with over 5,000 in population for their municipal state-aid streets.
The municipal state-aid fund receives a constitutionally guaranteed 9 percent of 95
percent of the highway user tax distribution fund. Money in the highway user tax
distribution fund comes from constitutionally dedicated taxes on motor fuel and
motor vehicles, and a statutorily dedicated.portion of revenue from the state motor
vehicle sales tax.

What it's for. Money in the fund is used for construction, improvement, and repair
of municipal state-aid streets.

Needs
50%

Population
50%

Who gets it. All cities with populations ofmore than 5,000 receive money from
the fund, plus the grandfathered
city of Chisholm. Municipal State-Aid Formula

How it's allocated. Money in the
municipal state-aid fund is
allocated to cities with over 5,000
people by a formula provided in
statute:

• 50 percent is divided among all cities over 5,000 based on their
population



• 50 percent is divided among all cities over 5,000 based on their
monetary needs. This is the amount each city needs to bring all its
municipal state-aid streets up to state standards.

The formula results in about 69 percent of municipal state-aid street dollars going
to cities in the seven-county metropolitan area. This is approximately in line with
the metropolitan area's share oftotal municipal state-aid street mileage and
vehicle-miles traveled on the system.

Average Daily Traffic on MSA
Streets 2004

Total MSA Mileage 2004

MN
36%

Greater
MN
33%

Distribution of MSA Dollars 2005

Greater
MN
31%

Metro
64%

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.
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Trunk Highway Fund

Where the Money Comes From - FY 2005

Motor Fuel Taxes
$659M

Vehicle License
Taxes
$476M

Highway User Tax
Distribution Fund

Motor Vehicle Sales Tax
30% Dedication

$170M

Other Income
$36M

State Patrol
Fines
$7M

Federal Highway
Aid

$311M

Driver License Fees
$26M

Bond Proceeds
$120M

Sources of revenue to the trunk highway fund include:

Transportation Loan
Fund
$15M

• A constitutionally prescribed share of highway user taxes (motor fuel taxes, vehicle license
taxes, and a portion of motor vehicle sales tax revenues to replace revenue lost when auto
license taxes were capped beginning in 2001)

• Federal highway funds which normally pay 80 percent of the cost of federally aided projects
• Driver license fees
• Transfers from the flexible account that receives part of the 5 percent "set-aside" in the

highway user tax distribution fund
• A portion of fines from tickets issued by the State Patrol
• Other income such as investment earnings, advances from local government to accelerate

highway projects, and other miscellaneous income .
• Proceeds from sale of trunk highway bonds
• Loans to Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) from the transportation revolving

. loan fund for trunk highway projects



Where the Money Goes - FY 2005
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Money in the trunk highway fund is constitutionally dedicated solely to trunk highway purposes, but the
money must be appropriated by the legislature.

Highway construction is the single biggest category of expenditure, including construction contracts,
contract administration, engineering, research, and purchase of right-of-way. Maintenance of the trunk
highway system is the next-highest category.

The Department of Public Safety (DPS) portion mainly goes to the State Patrol for law enforcement on
the trunk highway system.

Debt service includes repayment of trunk highway bonds and repayment of advances made by local units
of government to accelerate trunk highway projects.

Capital projects primarily means MnDOT buildings, covering everything from the central office in St.
Paul to district office buildings to maintenance buildings and storage sheds around the state. These are
paid by direct appropriations from the trunk highway fund rather than through the sale ofbonds as with
other state buildings.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5054. Also see the
transportation area of the House Research web site: www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/trans.htm.
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Minnesota Highway Mileage

Minnesota has about 135,000 miles of streets and highways, one of the largest such totals in the country.
The table below shows highway mileage as of June 2005.

State trunk highways Interstate highways 914
Other trunk highways 10,983

Total state trunk highways 11,897

County highways County state-aid highways 30,459
Other county highways 14,752 /

Total county highways 45,211

City streets Municipal state-aid streets 2,970
Other city streets 16,005

Total city streets 18,975

Town roads Town roads 54,785

Other roads Roads in unorganized townships 1,300
State & U. S. forest roads 2,379
Indian reservations 383
Other 361

Total other roads 4,423

Minnesota Highway Mileage 2005

Other State
3% 9%

Town
41% County

33%

City
14%

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045. Also see the House
Research Short Subjects Trunk Highway Fund, County State-Aid Highway Fund, and Municipal State-Aid
Street Fund.
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State Elected Officials' Compensation

Salaries for the governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, state auditor, secretary of state, judges, and
legislators are established by state law and by the legislature, depending on the position.

Salaries for
constitutional
officers

As required by the Minnesota Constitution, salaries forconstitutional officers are
prescribed by law. Art. V, § 4. Current annual salaries are as follows:

Officer Salary % of Governor's Salary
Governor $120,303 ---
Attorney General $114,288 95%
State Auditor $102,258 85%
Secretary of State $90,227 75%
Lieutenant Governor $78,197 65%

The most recent salary increases were in 2001, when the legislature established
salaries for constitutional officers as a percentage of the governor's salary. Laws
2001, 1st spec. sess., ch. 10, art. 1, § 2. The most recent salary increase for the
governor was 2.5 percent in January 1998.

The governor can veto legislation establishing compensation for constitutional
officers because, according to the constitution, the compensation is set "by law."

Salaries for judges The Minnesota Constitution stipulates that the legislature should establish
compensation for judges and that judges' salaries cannot be reduced while they are
in office. Art. VI, § 5. The 2005 Legislature increased judges' salaries by 1.5
percent effective July 1, 2005, and by another 1.5 percent effective July 1, 2006.
Laws 2005, ch. 136,art. 1, § 2. Annual salaries for various judges are as follows:

Official July 1,2005 July 1, 2006
Supreme Court, chief $149,124 $151,361
Supreme Court, justice $135,567 $137,601
Court of Appeals, chief $134,126 $136,138
Court of Appeals, justice $127,740 $129,656
District Court, chief $125,908 $127,797
District Court, judge $119,913 $121,712

Salaries for
legislators

The constitutional provisions governing judges have been interpreted to mean that
the governor may not veto provisions setting judges' compensation because their
compensation is prescribed "by the legislature." Gardner v. Holm, 241 Minn. 125,
62 N.W. 2d 52 (1954).

The Minnesota Constitution provides that legislators' compensation is set by law.
The annual salary for representatives and senators is $31,140. The House and the
Senate each can designate three leadership positions to receive up to 140 percent of



Legislative per diem.

The compensation
council's role in
establishing salaries

Insurance benefits
andpension plans

the compensation of other members ofthe legislature (this is an additional $12,456
per year).

The most recent salary increase for legislators was 5 percent in January 1999. The
constitution also says that "no increase of compensation shall take effect during the
period for which the members of the existing House ofRepresentatives may have
been elected." Art. IV, § 9. Because the constitution says that legislators' salaries
are set "by law," the governor can veto legislation setting legislators'
compensation.

In addition to salary, legislators are eligible to receive a per diem payment when
engaged in official business. The House and Senate each has established a rate of
$66 per day.

The legislature has established a 16-member compensation council to assist it in
establishing the compensation of constitutional officers, judges, and legislators.
Minn. Stat. § 15A.082. A new compensation council is created in the fall of each
even-numbered year; the new council must make its recommendations to the
legislature by May 1 of the odd-numbered year.

By law, the council's recommendations take effect if an appropriation to pay the
recommended salaries is enacted after the recommendations are submitted and
before their effective date. As a practical matter, when the legislature has
increased salaries, it generally has done so either by expressly adopting or
modifying compensation council recommendations or by establishing percentages
in law without reference to compensation council recommendations.

Constitutional officers, legislators, and judges all are members of the state
employee group insurance plan, and receive the same insurance benefits as state
employees.

Most legislators (all who were first elected after July 1, 1997, and some elected
before then) and all constitutional officers are members of a defined contribution
pension plan. Under this plan, the member contributes 4 percent ofhis or her
salary and the state contributes 6 percent. This money is invested, and upon
leaving state service, the elected official is eligible to receive whatever money is in
the account.

Judges belong to a defined benefit pension plan, in which the benefit is detennined
by multiplying years of service times a service-credit percentage and applying this
percentage to the judge's average high-five years of salary. .

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051. For historical
infonnation on elected officiais' salaries, see the Legislative Coordinating Commission's web site:
www.commissions.1eg.state.mn.us/lcer/officialssalaries.htm

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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DWI and the B-Card:
A Type of Restricted Driver's License for Repeat Offenders

A "restricted driver's license" with ano-alcohol/drug restriction-a B-Card-provides the repeat DWI
offender with an opportunity to become validly relicensed to drive, following chemical dependency
treatment and rehabilitation. However, any violation of that no-alcohol/drug restriction, irrespective of
whether the violation involved driving, carries very stiff consequences for the violator, including both
administrative sanctions and criminal penalties. Thus with the B-Card, Minnesota gives the repeat DWI

. .
. offender another chance to legally drive, but only ifhe or she vows to remain chemical-free.

What is a restricted
driver's license?

What are the
restrictions
ofaB-Card?

Can a B-Card be
cancelled ifa
person does not get
another DWI?

Minnesota Statutes, section 171.09, authorizes the Department ofPublic Safety
(DPS) to issue a driver's license to certain drivers, contingent upon the applicant's

. written agreementto certain restrictions deemed appropriate for public safety.
Such a license is referred to as a "restricted driver's license."

When a restricted driver's license is issued to a rehabilitated repeat DWI offender,
that person must absolutely abstain from alcohol and illicit drugs indefinitely-this
license is commonly referred to as a "B-Card."

Following a repeat DWI violation, a person must successfully complete chemical
dependency treatment, as well as rehabilitation (following a third or subsequent
violation), before he or she can be validly relicensed to drive-that is, get a B­
Card. However; that B-Card license is contingent upon the person maintaining
complete abstinence from alcohol and illegal drugs. The revoked driver must
agree in writing to that restriction before being issued the B-Card.

The "no alcohol/drugs" restriction of a B-Card applies continuously for the .
remainder of the person' s life, and even prohibits small amounts of alcohol as
would be consumed with wine in a religious ceremony, in certain cough medicine,
in low-alcohol "near-beer," and so on. Furthermore, that restriction applies
whether or not the person is or has been driving a motor vehicle. The restriction is
quite absolute and exact: when a person agrees to the condition of a B-Card
license, he or she is informed that the license is immediately canceled at the
moment he or she consumes any alcohol or any amount ofan illicit drug.

DPS will cancel a person's B-Card if any police report or other authoritative
information indicates that the person has consumed any amount of alcohol.
Sometimes that information arises from a DWI arrest. More often, it stems from a
traffic stop that involves alcohol but does not constitute impaired driving. Other
times, the drinking is discovered by officers called to a domestic altercation or is
reported by a spouse, neighbor, or other source. There does not need to be an arrest
or conviction for any crime for a person's drinking to trigger cancellation of the B­
Card. In fact, in Ascher v. the Commissioner ofPublic Safety (1994), the



What are the
consequences
for cancellation
ofaB-Card?

How long does the
"no alcohol"
restriction stay on
record?

MinnesotaAppeals Court ruled that even when the consumption information is
obtained through an unconstitutional police stop,DPS may use it to cancel a
person's B-Card.

The consequences of a B-Card cancellation are quite severe, since before the
person can again become validly licensed with a B-Card, he or she must again
successfully complete chemical dependency treatment and rehabilitation.
According to DPS·rules, the rehabilitation process requires documented proofof
alcohol/drug abstinence for a minimum period of:

• one year, for a person's first rehabilitation;
• three years, for the person's second rehabilitation; and
• six years, for the person's third or subsequent rehabilitation.

The law also provides for gross misdemeanor criminal penalties for a violationof
the no-alcohol/drug restriction of the B-Card license (Minn. Stat. § 171.09(b)(1)).

Since the "no alcohol" restriction of a B-Card lasts for the person's lifetime, it
must remain permanently on the person's driving record, as maintained by DPS..
However,.a new law allows a person who has not had a repeat impaired driving
violation within the past ten years to request that the restriction be blanked from
the person's plastic driver's license. From that point on, the restriction is treated as
private data on an individual and is available only to authorized officials.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jim Cleary at 651-296-5053. Also see the House
Research publication Minnesota DWILaws and Practices, January 2001.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. .
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Minnesota Family Investment Program

The Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) is a jointly funded, federal-state program that provides
income assistance to eligible low-income families. MFIP is the state's response to the 1996 federal welfare
reform law, which replaced the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program with Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), a block grant program to states.

Who is eligible for
MFIP?

How much are
monthly benefits?

What are the work
requirements?

A family must have income and assets below the program's limits. The income
limit increases with family size. Families do not exit MFIP until their income
reaches 115 percent ofthe federal poverty guidelines (FPG). The 2005 FPG for a
family oftbree is $16,090 (115 percent ofFPG for a family oftbree equals
$18,504). Assets are limited to $2,000 for MFIP applicants and $5,000 for
ongoing recipients, excluding certain items. In addition, families must meet the
following eligibility requireme1?-ts: .

• have a minor child in the home (or be pregnant).
• be residents of Minnesota
• beD.S. citizens, qualified noncitizens, or noncitizens otherwise lawfully

residingin the United States
• assign rights to child support·
• have received fewer than 60 months assistance
• satisfy any other eligibility requirements of the program

Families are subject toa lifetime limit of60 months ofassistance. Some families
. may be eligible for assistance extensions past the 60-month limit if they meet

specific criteria for one ofthefollowing extension categories: ill or incapacitated,
hard-to-employ, and employed participants.

The MFIP grant is based on a transitional standard that increases with family size.
For example, a family oftbree's monthly benefit is currently $884; a family of
four's benefit is $1,046. For familieS without earnings, the monthly grant equals
the transitional standard. For families with earnings, the monthly grant equals the.
"family wage lever' (110 percent of the transitional standard minus the family's
net earned income). The MFIP grant is composed of a cash portion and a food
portion, both of which are issued by counties in electronic debit card form.

MFIP caregivers (i.e., persons who live with and provide care and support to minor
children) are required to spend a specified number afhours every week engaged in
work or work activities. Examples of acceptable activities include job search
activities, unsubsidized employment, and on-the-job training.

Exemptions from the work requirement may be available to MFIP participants who
meet certain criteria, such as being over age 60, being ill or incapacitated, caring



for a disabled child, experiencing a personal crisis, or being the victim of family
violence.

Postsecondary education is not routinely available to MFIPcaregivers. Job
counselors may approve postsecondary education only when the education
program meets specific MFIP criteria.

How do sanctions
work?

What dreMFIP's
funding streams
and expenditures?

Special requirements exist for caregivers under age 20. In most cases, education is
the first priority for teen MFIP participants.· . .

MFIP participants who do not meet the program requirements may be sanctioned
. . through reduction of their monthly grant. Sanctions last until one month after a

participant cpmes into compliance. An MFIP case, must be closed after the seventh
occurrence ofnoncompliance. .

MFIP is funded with a combination of federal funds and state appropriations.
Minnesota received approximately $268 million annually ·in TANF block grant
funding in federal fiscal years 1998-2005 (this amount is subject to federal
reauthorization). In addition,federallaw includes a maintenance of effort (MOE)
provision that requires a state to spend 75 percent to 80 percent ofthe amount it
spent in 1994 under its old AFDC and related programs to assist needy families. In
fiscal year 2005, the state's required MOE amount was $179 million per year.

According to the Department of Human Services, for state fiscal year 2005, total
expenditures were $161.Tmillion for the cash portion and $126.6 millionfor the
food portionofthe MFIP grants. Expenditures for support services were $67.9
million. In terms offunding, $83.1 million was financed with federal TANFfunds,
$126.6 million was from federal Food Stamp funds, and $78.6 million was from
state appropriations. In addition, $40.0 million was spent on state and county
administration costs.

How manyfamilies ·In fiscal year 2005,40,900 families and a total of 115,854 participants were
receive MFIP? receivingMFIP assistance on an average per-month basis.

. .

For more information: See the House Researchpublication Minnesota Family Jlssistance, January 2004,
and the following Short Subjects: Minnesota Family Investment Program Time Li~it Exemptions and·
Extensions, July 2004, and MFIP Cases Reaching the 60-Month Time Limit, September 2003.
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Government Displays ofReligi~us Symbols

Whether a government may display religious
symbols depends on the setting, divisiveness,and
consequences of the display.

The 2005 U.S. Supreme Court issued two different
decisions on whether a government may display
religious symbols and sacred text on public property
under the First Amendment Establishment Clause,
which prohibits government from creating a state
religion. In Van Orden v. Perry, the Court allowed a
six-foot-high Ten Commandments monument to be
located on Texas' capitol grounds (545 U.S. _
(2005)). In McCreary County v. ACLU ofKentucky,
the Court forbade hanging copies ofthe Ten
Commandments on the walls of two county
courthouses (545 U.S. _ (2005)).

Both cases were decided by a 5-to-4 vote in which
Justice Breyer provided the fifth vote, and both
depended on the context of the case for the outcome.
The context includes the physical setting, the
historical divisiveness, and the consequences of the
displays; The decisions underscore the Court's case­
by-case approach to deciding church-state
controversies, which resists drawing clear lines.

The First Amendment Establishment Clause
boundary between church and state remains
unchanged and unclear.

These two cases leave largely unchanged the First
Amendment boundary between church and state as it
affects the permissibility of government displays of
religious symbols or government endorsement of
religious content. While some constitutional experts

argue that the Establishment Clause requires a strict
separation between church and state that is best
achieved by avoiding government entanglements
with religion, others argue that such strict separation
leads to government hostility to religion.

The U.S. Supreme Court tried to find a middle
ground between separation and endorsement.

The outcomes of these cases reflect the sharp divide
within the Court and illustrate the importance the
Court places on the purpose of the government's
action and the context and history of that action.
The cases appear to leave in place the balancing test
in Lemon v. Kurtzman that the Court uses to
evaluate constitutional questions about
government's religious statements and its ability to
sponsor public displays ofpopular religious
symbols. (The U.S. Supreme Court's three-part test
in Lemon v. Kurtzman (403 U.S. 602 (1971)) asks
whether the government's action has asecular
purpose, advances or inhibits religion, or fosters an
excessive entanglement with religion.)

In the Court's last case on the public display of the
Ten Commandments, Stone v. Graham(449 U.S. 39
(1980)), the justices struck down by five to four, a
Kentucky law requiring public schools to post the
Ten Commandments in everyclassroom. The same
issue was raised again in 2003 when then-Alabama
Supreme Court Justice Roy Moore refused to obey a
federal court order to remove a Ten Commandments
monument in the state supreme court building.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm



In Van Orden v. Perry, the Court allowed a Ten
Commandments monument to be located on
Texas' capitol grounds.

In 1961 the Fraternal Order of Eagles, a national
patriotic organization, donated the Ten
Commandments monument to the state. The Texas
organization that maintained the 22 acres of capitol
grounds recommended the site where the monument
was to be placed, among many other monuments and
markers. (In oral argument before that Court, Mr.
Chemerinsky, the attorney representing Mr. Van
Orden, said that the Eagles donated many similar
monuments throughout the country to promote Cecil
B. DeMille's movie, "The Ten Commandments." It
is only recently that people have sued to have the
monuments removed from public property.)

In 2001, a homeless lawyer sued to have the
monument removed, asserting it violated the
Establishment Clause. (The lawyer sued under 42
U.S.C. section 1983, under which a person asserts
that his or her constitutionally protected rights,
privileges, or immunities have been violated.) The
federal district court let the monument remain
because the state had a valid secular purpose in
acknowledging the Eagles' efforts to reduce juvenile
delinquency and because a reasonable person, given
the history, purpose, and context of the monument,
would not conclude that it represented government
endorsement of religion. The Fifth Circuit and the
Supreme Court affirmed the district court's ruling.

The Supreme Court based its decision upon the
nature of the monument and the historical
significance of religion in American life. The Court
wrote that having religious content or promoting a
message consistent with religious doctrine does not,
by itself, violate the Establishment Clause. In
examining the context in which the religious text was
used, the Court found that the monument conveyed a
secular moral message about proper standards of
social conduct and the historical relationship between
those standards and the law.

The Court distinguished the monument from the
classroom context in Stone where the Court relied
on previous school prayer cases to find that the
Kentucky statute had an improper and plainly
religious purpose.

In McCreary County v. ACLU ofKentucky, the
Coqrt forbade framed copies of the Ten
Commandments hung in two Kentucky county
courthouses..

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) sued
under 42 U.S.C. section 1983, to prohibit McCreary
and Pulaski counties from hanging copies of the Ten
Commandments in the county courthouses in 1999.
County officials responded by passing resolutions
calling the Ten Commandments the "precedent legal
code" and surrounding the displays with historical
documents containing religious references; later
they again revised and renamed the display, adding

. secular documents.

Using the Lemon test, the district court issued an
injunction, finding that all three displays lacked a
secular purpose. The Supreme Court held that
determining the counties' purpose provided a sound
basis for ruling on the Establishment Clause
complaint. The Court said that government acted
improperly in posting the Ten Commandments in
the courthouses. The Court looked to readily
discoverable facts in the statute's text, its legislative
history, and its implementation to determine the
government purpose. Although the Court defers to a
legislature's stated reasons for its action, the Lemon
test requires government's secular purpose to be
genuine, not a sham and not secondary to a religious
purpose. The Court rejected the counties' argument
that it should infer purpose only from the latest
series of actions. The Court found that the entire
sequence of county actions, including the context
and history, made clear that advancing religion was
the paramount purpose of the courthouse displays.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.
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Minor and Major Political Parties

How does aparty
become a minor
politicalparty
statewide?

When does minor
party status take
effect?

What's the
significance of
being a minor
party?

How does aparty
lose minorparty
status?

How does aparty
become a major
party?

A party becomes a minor political party statewide by having a state constitution and
party chair, holding a state convention within the past two years, and certifying these
facts to the secretary of state. It also must do one ofthe following:

• Present at least one candidate for (1) governor-lieutenant governor, secretary
of state, state auditor, or attorney general at the last general election for these
offices, or (2) presidential elector or U.S. senator at the last presidential
election. This candidate must get votes in each county that in the aggregate
equal at least 1 percent of the total number of individuals who voted.

• File with the secretary by the close of state primary filings a nominating
petition containing signatures of party members in a number equal to at least 1
percent of the total vote at the last state general election. Minn. Stat. § 200.02,
subd.23.

A party may also become a minor political party in a legislative district by satisfying
the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 200.02, subdivision 23, paragraph (e).

This status starts on January 1 after the election in which the requirements above are
met. A party remains a minor party for at least two state general elections. At that
time if it has not moved up to major party status, it must satisfy the above
requirements again in order to stay a minor party. Minn. Stat. § 200.02, subd. 23.

A minor party qualifies for campaign subsidies under the state income tax checkoff
and can issue political contribution refund receipts. Minn. Stat. §§ 10A,3l, subds. 3
and 3a; 290.06, subd. 23. A minor party does not have any of the other rights and
privileges of major parties.

A party stops being a minor party ifit gains major party status at a general election.
Alternatively, a party can lose minor party status and be merely a political party if:

• at the second general election after it initially gains minor party status, none of
its statewide candidates get 1 percent of the vote cast at that election; or

• by the close of filings for the second general election after it gains major party
status, it fails to file a petition with the secretary containing signatures in a
number equal to 1 percent of the total vote at the last state general election.
Minn. Stat. § 200.02, subd. 23.

A party can achieve major party status by maintaining a party organization in the
state, political subdivision, or precinct in question, and satisfying one of these
additional requirements:

• Present at least one candidate for (1) governor-lieutenant governor, secretary
of state, state auditor, or attorney general at the last state general election, or



When does major
party status take
effect?

What's the
significance of
being a major
party?

How does aparty
lose major status?

(2) presidential elector or U.S. senator at the last presidential election. At least
one such candidate must get votes in each county in that election and get votes
from not less than 5 percent of the total number of individuals who voted in
that election.

• Present at least 45 candidates for state representative, 23 for state senator, four
for representative in Congress, and one each for the constitutional offices, with
no minimum vote requirement for any of these candidates.

• File with the secretary by the close of state primary filings a nominating
petition containing the signatures of party members in a number equal to at
least 5 percent of the total vote at the last state general election. Minn. Stat. §
200.02, subd. 7.

This status starts on January 1 after the election in which the requirements above are
met. A party remains a major party for at least two state general elections; at that time
it again would need to satisfy the requirements above in order to stay a major party.
Minn. Stat. § 200.02, subd. 7.

A major party's name is protected by law from being used by another party. Minn.
Stat. § 202A.ll, subd. 2. Its candidates are chosen at the state partisan primary.
Minn. Stat. § 204B.03. It gets to have election judges appointed from its members.
Minn. Stat. § 204B.21, subd. 1. It may place challengers in the polling place. Minn.
Stat. § 204C.07, subd. 1. A major party qualifies to receive campaign subsidies under
the state income tax checkoff and may issue political contribution refund receipts.
Minn. Stats. §§ IOA.31, subds. 3 and 3a; 290.06, subd. 23.

A party loses major party status if all the following happen:

• At the second general election after it gains major party status, it fails either to
(a) get 5 percent of the vote cast at that election, or (b) present the slate of
candidates described above; and

• Before filings close for the second general election after it gains major party
status, it fails to file a petition with the secretary containing signatures ofparty
members in a number equal to at least 5 percent of the total vote at the last
state general election. Minn. Stat. § 200.02, subd. 7.

Does a party's The option for a party to establish itself as major or minor by filing a petition is
major or minor separate from the requirement that some candidates file nominating petitions in order
status affect to get on the general election ballot. Major party candidates do not file nominating
candidate signature petitions. Minor party candidates always must gather signatures and file nominating
requirements? petitions as their alternative to the state partisan primary. This is true even if their

party chooses to submit petitions to establish the party's status.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah K. McKnight at 651-296-5056.
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Eminent Domain: "Public Use" and the Kelo Decision

The Takings Clause of the Fifth Amendment of the
U.S. Constitution provides that private property must
not be taken for public use without just compensation.
There are two requirements for a valid taking:

(1) the property taken must be taken for a public
use

(2) the property owner must receive just
compensation

The public use requirement was the issue in Kelo v.
City ofNew London, 545 U.S....., 125 S. Ct. 2655
(2005). Specifically, the U.S. Supreme Court had to
decide ifthe taking by the city of New London,
Connecticut, to further redevelopment and increase
tax revenues for an economically distressed area that
was not blighted met the "public use" requirement.

Facts ofthe case. In 1990, after years of decline, the
state designated New London as a distressed city. In
1996, the federal government closed the Naval
Undersea Warfare Center at Fort Trumbull,
eliminating many jobs. In 1998, the state helped fund
city redevelopment planning and a state park on the
fort site. Also in 1998, the international
pharmaceutical company, Pfizer, announced it would
build a new research facility adjacent to Fort
Trumbull. (The Pfizer facility opened in 2001.) The
city adopted a redevelopment plan in 2000 for the
rest of the Fort Trumbull area that is supposed to
create jobs, increase tax and other revenues, and help
revitalize the economically distressed area. The
development plan included a waterfront conference
center and hotel, marinas, a pedestrian riverwalk,
about 80 new residences, and a new U.S. Coast
Guard Museum. In addition to the land formerly
occupied by the naval facility, the area had about 115
privately owned properties. Of these, nine property
owners would not sell and challenged the city's
taking. Their parcels were in an area planned for
research and development offices and in another area
for parking and retail services for the adjacent state

park or nearby marina. The city acknowledged that
none of these properties was blighted or otherwise
in poor condition. The property taken would
ultimately end up in private ownership again, but the
specific future owners were not known. The taking
was upheld by the Connecticut Supreme Court, and
the property owners sought review by the U.S.
Supreme Court.

Supreme Court decision. In June 2005, the U.S.
Supreme Court affirmed the Connecticut decision
and held that a public use for purposes of the federal
Takings Clause includes economic development.
Relying on its earlier decisions, the Court re­
affirmed its interpretation of the public use
requirement. See Hawaii Housing Auth. v. Midkiff,
467 U.S. 229 (1984) (it is a public use to take
residential property from lessor and transfer
ownership to the lessees under the Hawaii Land
Reform Act in order to reduce the extreme
concentration of land ownership in the state);
Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26 (1954) (department
store that was not itself run-down or blighted could
be acquired by eminent domain as part of overall
Washington, D.C., slum clearance and
redevelopment). The Court stated, "without
exception, our cases have defined that concept
broadly, reflecting our longstanding policy of
deference to legislative judgments in this field."
Kelo, 125 S. Ct. at 2663.

Concurrence. Justice Kennedy agreed with the
majority's conclusion on the facts of this case and
with the majority's decision to reject adoption of a
bright-line rule that all takings for economic
development alone are unconstitutional. However,
Kennedy wrote a concurring opinion, arguing that
there may be cases in which a heightened level of
scrutiny would be warranted. In particular, he stated
that when there is an acute "risk of undetected



impermissible favoritism ofprivate parties," a
presumption of invalidity is warranted. Id. at 2670.
Dissents. Justice O'Connor dissented and identified
three categories of takings that meet the public use
requirement: (1) where the public owns the property
taken; (2) where even though a private entity owns
the property taken, the public has the use of it as it
does with utilities, railroads, and stadiums; and
(3) where the property taken ends up in private
ownership but the existing use is one that must be
eliminated to eliminate an evil, as area blight in
Berman, or concentrated land ownership in Hawaii in
Midkiff. Id. at 2673. O'Connor did not see the New
London taking as fitting the Berman and MidkifJline
of decisions. O'Connor concluded by asserting that
the Court's decision means any property may be
taken for the benefit of another private person and
that the powerful would benefit and the powerless
would be the victims of future takings.

Justice Thomas stated in his dissent that the Court
should strictly interpret the public use requirement
and return "to the original meaning of the public use
clause." Id. at 2686. He argued that the line of cases
relied upon by the majority are in error and should be
overturned.

Minnesota. The Minnesota Supreme Court has
similarly upheld the use of eminent domain for
economic development. City ofDuluth v. State, 390
N.W.2d 757 (Minn. 1986) (holding that under the
federal and state constitutions, taking the unused
food processing facility owned by Paulucci for
transfer to another private entity for a paper mill,
increasing jobs in the area, as part of a plan for
revitalization, is a public purpose and therefore a
public use).

More recently, the Minnesota Supreme Court
affirmed (on a tie vote) the use of eminent domain
for economic development by upholding the
Richfield Housing and Redevelopment Authority's
taking of the property of one business, Walser Auto
Sales, for ultimate transfer to another identified
business, Best Buy, for its corporate headquarters.

Housing & Redevel. Auth., city ofRichfield v.
Walser Auto Sales, Inc., 630 N.W.2d 662 (Minn.
App. 2001), afJ'd 641 N.W.2d 885 (Minn. 2002),
cert. denied 537 U.S. 974 (2002). Citing City of
Duluth, the court stated that its scope of review in a
condemnation case is very narrow. The court would
not substitute its judgment for that of the public
body as to what may be necessary and proper to carry
out the purpose ofthe redevelopment plan. 630
N.W.2d at 666.

Other states. The degree to which property may be
taken for economic development varies among the
states. In contrast to Minnesota ;md Connecticut, for
example, Washington appears to require a higher
level of public use before allowing the use of
eminent domain. See In re Seattle, 638 P.2d 549,
556-59 (Wash. 1981) (en banc) (holding that the
city's plan to use eminent domain to acquire land to
rebuild the downtown area into a public space,
shopping center, art museum, and parking lot was
unconstitutional under the Washington Constitution
because when only a portion of the project would be
put to truly public use, the public use requirement
was not satisfied). The Michigan Supreme Court
recently overruled its prior position in which a broad
definition of public use was followed. See County of
Wayne v. Hathcock, 471 Mich. 4445, 483, 684
N.W.2d 765, 787 (2004) (cited by the Supreme
Court in Kelo, 125 S. Ct. at 2668, Hathcock
overruled Poletown Neighborhood Council v.
Detroit, 410 Mich. 616, 304 N.W.2d 455 (1981)).

Now in legislatures' hands. The U.S. Supreme
Court upheld the New London taking, but concluded
by reminding states that they may place greater
restrictions on takings within their jurisdictions.
"We emphasize that nothing in our opinion
precludes any State from placing further restrictions
on its exercise of the takings power." Kelo, 125 S.
Ct. at 2668. Since June 2005, legislation to limit the
use of eminent domain for economic development
has been enacted in a few states and is being
considered in other states and in Congress.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah Dyson at 651-296-8291.
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Minnesota Clean Indoor Air Act

The Minnesota Clean Indoor Air Act (MCIAA) prohibits smoking in many indoor public places (Minn. Stat.
§§ 144.411 to 144.417). The legislation was enacted in 1975 in an effort to protect public health, comfort,
and the environment. Several municipalities have enacted smoking bans that further restrict smoking in
public places; those are described on the following page.

Where is smoking
prohibited?

The MCIAA prohibits smoking in public places and public meetings, except in
designated smoking areas. Public places include the following:

• restaurants
• retail stores
• offices and other commercial

establishments
• public conveyances
• educational facilities other than

public schools
• auditoriums

• arenas
• meeting rooms
• common areas of rental

apartment buildings .
• any indoor area used by the

general public
• any indoor area that serves as a

place ofwork

Where is smoking
permitted?

How must smoking
areas be
designated?

Smoking is completely prohibited in all nonresidential health care facilities, day
care premises, and public schools.

Smoking is permitted in:

• designated areas of public places;
• private, enclosed offices;
• private residences or cars;
• public places when being used for a private social function;
• placesofwork not usually frequented by the general public, except in .

those places where employees work close together or ventilation is poor;
• designated areas of licensed residential health care facilities; and
• specified areas for use in peer-reviewed scientific studies of smoking.

Except for bars, no public place may be entirely designated as smoking permitted
(unless the bar is located in a municipality that has banned smoking in public
places). .

Smoking areas in public places must be designated by spatial separation, a physical
barrier, or specified ventilation. Signs must be posted indicating that smoking is
prohibited except in designated areas. In addition, smoking-permitted areas of
private offices, warehouses, factories, and similar places of work must comply
with additional ventilation requirements. See Minn. Rules part 4620.0400 to part
4620.1450.



What are the
responsibilities of
proprietors?

Who enforces the
Minnesota Clean
Indoor Air Act?

Can local
governments enact
ordinances that are
stricter than the
MCIAA?

Have any local
governments
banned smoking in
allpublic places?

The proprietors or others in charge of a public place must make reasonable efforts
to prevent smoking in the public place they manage. Proprietors or other people in
charge must:

• post signs;
• designate areas as smoking or nonsmoking;
• ask smokers to refrain from smoking in designated nonsmoking areas; or
• employ other reasonable means to prevent smoking in nonsmoking areas.

The Department of Health (MDH) enforces the MCIAA. MDH can issue fines for
up to $10,000 against the facility in which the violation occurred. Also, peace
officers can cite individual smokers with violating the MCIAA, which is a petty
misdemeanor.

The MCIAA authorizes local units of government to enact stricter ordinances to
completely ban smoking in bars, restaurants, or other public places where smoking
would otherwise be permitted in designated areas. The Minnesota Attorney
General published an opinion in 2000 stating, "a city may completely prohibit
smoking in restaurants under its general police powers. The·Minnesota Clean
Indoor Air Act expressly preserves the authority of cities to ban smoking where the
Act, and Health Department rules promulgated thereunder, would otherwise allow
designation of smoking areas by the proprietor" (Op. Atty. Gen. 62b, May 4,
2000).

As of October 2005, only two cities (Bloomington and Minneapolis) have banned
smoking from all public places, including bars and restaurants. Other local
governments have enacted ordinances that limit smoking in various ways, but have
stopped short of a complete ban.

The cities ofDuluth, Golden Valley, Moose Lake, Moorhead and Cloquet, and the
counties ofBeltrami, Hennepin, Meeker, Olmsted and Ramsey have all enacted
smoking restrictions that limit smoking in restaurants, and in some cases, bars,
depending upon characteristics such as: the amount of alcohol sales as a percent of
total sales; ventilation or the existence of a separate smoking area; and accessibility
to minors.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Janelle Taylor at 651-296-5808.
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Hunting and Fishing by Military Personnel and Veterans
(

Firearms Safety
Certificate Required

Active Military
Service Exemption
for Safety
Certificate

License Not Needed
During Military
Leave

As required by law, anyone born during or after 1980 must have a firearms safety
certificate in order to get an annual license to take wild animals with a firearm. Or
instead of the firearms safety certificate, a hunter can have an equivalent certificate
issued by Minnesota or another state. An advanced hunter education certificate
suffices as an equivalent certificate. (Minn. Stat. §§ 97B.015 and 97B.020)

Other states' laws generally specify an earlier starting date than 1980. Colorado's
safety certificate requirement, for example, applies to anyone born during or after
1949.

As defined in statute, wild animals include any type ofwild mammal, bird, or
waterfowl for which hunting is regulated under Minnesota law and/or Department
ofNatural Resources (DNR) rules. The terms "taking" and "firearms" are also
broadly defined. (Minn. Stat. § 97A.015)

A person is exempt from having to have a firearms safety certificate if the person
has completed military basic training and is serving in active military service in
any branch or unit of the U.S. Armed Forces, including while on regular leave or
tenninalleave.

Thus, active duty military personnel may purchase any Minnesota hunting license
regardless ofwhether the person has a firearms safety certificate. Nevertheless, a
person who is no longer in active military service is once again subject to the
.requirement to have a firearms safety certificate in order to obtain a license to hunt
with firearms. (Minn. Stat. § 97B.020)

"Active duty" is defined broadly to include federal active service (U.S.C. Title 10),
federally funded state active service (U.S.C. Title 32), or state active service
(Minn. Stat. § 190.05, subd. 5).

While on any type of military leave, a Minnesota resident serving in the U.S.
Armed Forces stationed outside Minnesota may hunt and fish in Minnesota without
a hunting or fishing license. The person must keep official military leave papers on
his or her person while hunting. However, the resident must obtain any seals, tags,
and coupons required of a licensee, which must be furnished by the license agent
without charge. This subdivision does not apply to the taking ofmoose or elk.
(Minn. Stat. § 97A.465, subd. 1.) .



Discharged Service
Members Can Get
Deer Licenses
During the Season

Disabled Veterans
Don't Have to Pay
for Licenses

. License Lottery
Preferencefor
Soldiers and
Veterans

Nonresident
Military Privileges

Coding on Driver's
License

Getting a License

A Minnesota resident who is discharged from active military service during, or
within ten days before the firearms deer season begins, can purchase a firearms
deer license during the season. The license is valid immediately upon issuance.
(Minn. Stat. § 97A.465, subd. 4.) Normally, a deer hunting license issued during
the season is not valid until the second day following issuance. (Minn. Stat. §
97A.411, subd.·3) In order to get the license, the hunter must show his or her
official discharge papers.

A disabled veteran can get a permanent fishing license and annual licenses to hunt
deer and small game free of charge. The veteran must be a Minnesota resident who
is a military veteran with a 100 percent service-connected disability rating from the
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (Minn. Stat. §§ 97A.441 and 197.447)

In addition, a disabled veteran doesn't need to get a pheasant stamp or Minnesota
waterfowl stamp to hunt pheasants or waterfowl, but must have a turkey stamp to
hunt turkeys and a federal duck stamp to hunt waterfowl. (Minn. Stat. §§ 97B.715,
97B.721, and 97B.801)

Certain other special hunting and fishing privileges apply to all disabled Minnesota
residents, irrespective ofwhether the person is a military veteran. (Minn. Stat. § 97A)

Minnesota residents who are currently serving in active military service, or who
have served actively at any time during the past 24 months, may receive first
preference in drawings for antlerless deer permits and turkey permits. (Minn. Stat.
§ 97A.465, subd. 5)

Nonresident military personnel training at Camp Ripley may purchase a resident
fishing license. (Minn. Stat § 97A.465, subd. 2.) Nonresident military personnel
stationed anywhere in Minnesota may purchase resident hunting and fishing
licenses (but not for moose or elk). (Minn. Stat. § 97A.465, subd. 3.)

When renewing a Minnesota driver's license, a veteran or other person with a
firearms safety certificate or an equivalent certificate may request that the driver's
licensing agency code that fact onto the person's new driver's license, for
convenience. To do so, the person must show proof of certification to the licensing
agency upon application. (Minn. Stat. § 171.07, subd. 13)

To learn more about these special privileges, active military personnel and veterans
should contact the DNR via its web site, www.dnr.state.mn.us. orby phone, 651­
296-6753. Information and licenses can also be obtained through DNR's local field
licensing agents (e.g., sporting goods stores).

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jim Cleary at 651-296-5053.
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MinnesotaCare is a state program that provides subsidized health care coverage to low- and moderate­
income families and individuals. The program is administered by the Department of Human Services
(DHS); counties have the option of processing applications and determining eligibility. The program is
governed by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256L.

Eligibility

Covered services

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, an individual must meet the following
criteria:

• Have gross income that does not exceed 275 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines (FPG) for families and children ($53,256 for a household of four),
and 175 percent of FPG for single adults and households without children
($16,752 for a household of one and $22,464 for a household of two). Parents
with annual gross incomes over $50,000 are ineligible, whether or not they
otherwise meet the 275 percent ofFPG standard; this income cap does not
apply to pregnant women and minor parents.

• Have assets that do not exceed $10,000 for a household of one and $20,000
for a household of two or more, after certain exclusions. This asset standard
does not apply to pregnant women and children.

• Not have access to employer-subsidized health care coverage, and not have
had access to this coverage through the current employer for 18 months prior
to application or renewal. This requirement does not apply to children with
incomes that do not exceed 150 percent ofFPG and certain other children.

• Have no health care coverage at the time of application and for four months
prior to application or renewal. Children with incomes that do not exceed 150
percent of FPG and certain other children considered to be "underinsured" are
exempt from this requirement.

• Be a resident of Minnesota. Pregnant women, families, and children must
meet the residency requirements of the Medical Assistance (MA) program;
adults without children must satisfy a 180-day residency requirement.

• Beginning September 1, 2006, certain General Assistance Medical Care
applicants and recipients will be enrolled in MinnesotaCare as adults without
children and will be exempt from premiums and certain eligibility criteria
until six-month renewal.

Pregnant women and children have access to a broader range of covered services
than adults who are not pregnant. Pregnant women and children receive
coverage for all health care services provided under MA. MA covers physician
care, hospitalization, prescription drugs, nursing home care, and a wide range of
other health care and long-term care services.



Premiums
and cost-sharing

Provider
reimbursement

Funding and
expenditures

Recipients

Application
procedure

Parents, and single adults and households without children with incomes not
exceeding 75 percent of FPG, are covered for most, but not all MA services.
Services not covered include personal care attendant services, private duty
nursing, nursing home care, ICF/MR (intermediate care facility for persons with
mental retardation and related conditions), and special transportation services.
Adults who are not pregnant are also subject to certain benefit limitations that do
not apply to pregnant women or children.

Single adults and households without children, with incomes greater than 75
percent but not exceeding 175 percent ofFPG, are covered under a limited
benefit set that includes inpatient hospitalization, physician care, and other
specified services, subject to a $5,000 annual cap on outpatient services (this cap
is eliminated January 1, 2006).

Enrollees must pay premiums based on a sliding scale. Children with incomes
that do not exceed 150 percent ofFPG pay a reduced annual premium of$48.
Adult enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to coinsurance and copayments
for specified services.

All enrollees receive health care services through prepaid health plans. The
MinnesotaCare program pays prepaid health plans a monthly capitation payment
for each MinnesotaCare enrollee. MinnesotaCare does not set provider
reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the result of negotiation between
health care providers and the prepaid health plan.

In fiscal year 2005, the MinnesotaCare program paid $409 million for medical
services provided to enrollees. Fifty-five percent of this cost was paid for by the
state, 35 percent by the federal government, and 10 percent by enrollees through
premium payments (this last category also includes copayments and prescription
drug rebates).

State funding for MinnesotaCare and other health care access initiatives is
provided by a tax of2.0 percent on the gross revenues of health care providers
and a tax of 1.0 percent on the premiums of nonprofit health plan companies.

The state receives federal funding at the MA match rate for health care services
provided to enrollees who are children, parents, or pregnant women. The state
receives federal funding at an enhanced match rate (under the State Children's
Health Insurance Program) for parents and relative caretakers with incomes
between 100 percent and 200 percent ofFPG.

As of September 2, 2005, 135,586 individuals were enrolled in the
MinnesotaCare program. Just over three-quarters of these enrollees are parents
or children.

MinnesotaCare applications can be obtained by calling 1-800-657-3672.
Applications are also available at county human services agencies.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. Also see the House
Research information briefMinnesotaCare.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information service? to the entire House.
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General Assistance Medical Care

General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC) is a state-funded program that pays for certain health care
services for low-income Minnesota residents who are not eligible for other health care programs. Most
GAMC emollees are low-income adults between the ages of21 and 64 who do not have dependent
children. The program is administered locally by the counties, under the supervision of the Department
ofHuman Services (DHS), and is governed by Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.03.

Eligibility To be eligible for GAMC, an individual must meet the following criteria:

• Receive General Assistance (GA) or Group Residential Housing (GRH),
or meet the GAMC income and asset limits (see table below)

• Not be eligible for Medical Assistance (MA) ,
• Be a Minnesota resident; GAMC has a 30-day durational residency

requirement
• Meet other program eligibility requirements

Elh?Jbility Group Income Limit Asset Limit* Covered Services Cost-Sharing
1. GA and GRH GA limit ($203/ GA limit ($1,000 All covered services Copayments
recipients month for one per assistance unit)

person; $260 for or GRH limit
married couple) or ($2,000 aged,
GRH assistance blind, or disabled;
standard $1,000 all others)

2. GAMC full 75 percent of $1,000 per All covered services Copayments
coverage federal poverty household

guidelines (FPG)
3. GAMC hospita1- Greater than 75 $10,000 per Inpatient hospital $1,000 deductible
only coverage percent but not household of services and physician for each

exceeding 175 one/$20,000 per services provided hospitalization
percent of FPG household of two during inpatient stay

or more
* The homestead, household goods, a vehIcle, and other specIfied Items are not counted as assets.

Covered services

Beginning September 1,2006, certain GAMC applicants and recipients will be
emolled in MinnesotaCare as adults without children, immediately following
approval of GAMC coverage. GAMC applicants and emollees who are eligible
due to receipt of GA or GRH, are awaiting a determination of disability, or who
do not meet the MinnesotaCare residence requirement will be exempt from this
emollment requirement.

GAMC covers a range of medical services for individuals with incomes not
exceeding 75 percent of federal poverty guidelines (FPG). These include, but
are not limited to, physician care, hospitalization, rehabilitation, dental, medical



equipment and supplies, mental health, prescription drugs, and medical
transportation.

Services not covered include: home health care services, nursing home services,
therapy services provided by independently enrolled providers, pregnancy and
related services (GAMC enrollees who are pregnant qualify for coverage of
these services under MA and/or Emergency MA), and services in an
intermediate care facility for persons with mental retardation and related
conditions (ICF/MR).

Cost-sharing

Provider
reimbursement

Funding and
expenditures

Recipients

Application
procedure

, ,

Covered services for enrollees with incomes greater than 75 percent but not
exceeding 175 percent ofFPG are limited to inpatient hospital services and
physician services provided during an inpatient stay.

Enrollees with incomes at or below 75 percent ofFPG are subject to the
following copayments:

• $3 per nonpreventive visit (this copayment is eliminated January 1,2006)
• $25 for eyeglasses
• $25 for nonemergency visits to an emergency room
• $3 per brand-name prescription and $1 per generic, subject to a $20 per month

limit (the monthly limit is reduced to $12 effective January 1, 2006).
Antipsychotic drugs are exempt from copayments.

• 50 percent coinsurance for basic restorative dental services

Enrollees with incomes greater than 75 percent but not exceeding 175 percent of
FPG are subject to a $1,000 deductible for each inpatient hospitalization.

The GAMC program reimburses providers under both a fee-for-service system
and a managed care system (composed of prepaid GAMC and county-based
purchasing initiatives). Under the fee-for-service system, health care providers
bill DHS and are reimbursed at rates specified by state law. Under managed
care, prepaid health plans (or counties in the case of county-based purchasing)
receive a monthly capitation payment for each enrollee. The state does not set
provider reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the result of negotiation
between the health care providers and the prepaid health plan or county.

GAMC is completely state-funded; there is no federal funding. During fiscal
year 2005, the state spent $241.7 million in payments to medical providers for
GAMC services.

In fiscal year 2005, an average of37,267 persons were eligible for GAMC
services each month. As of September 2005, 27,402 GAMC recipients were
enrolled in prepaid GAMC or a county-based purchasing initiative.

Individuals interested in applying for GAMC should contact their county human
servIces agency.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. Also see the House
Research information brief General Assistance Medical Care.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Medical Assistance (MA), the state's Medicaid program, is a jointly funded, federal-state program that
pays for health care services for low-income individuals. The program is administered locally by
counties, under the supervision of the state Department of Ruman Services (DRS). The program is
governed by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B, and by federal Medicaid law, which allows states
considerable flexibility in designing their Medicaid programs.

Eligibility To be eligible for MA, an individual must meet the following criteria:

• Be a member of a group for which MA coverage is mandatory under
federal law or a member of an optional group that the state has chosen to
cover. Covered groups include families, children, pregnant women, the
elderly, and persons with disabilities.

• Meet program income and asset limits. Different limits apply to
different categories of individuals. Certain types of income and specified
assets are excluded when determining eligibility. Income and asset
limits for selected groups are described below.

Net income limit, as % of federal
Eligibility group poverty guidelines (FPG) Asset Iimit*

Children < age 2 280 None

Children 2 through 18 150 None

Children 19 through 20 100 None

Pregnant women 275 None

Parents 100 $10,000 for one/$20,OOO
for two or more persons

Aged, blind, or disabled 100 $3,000 for one/$6,000 for
two/$200 each additional

* The homestead, household goods, a vehicle, a burial plot and certain assets for burial expenses,
and other specified items are not counted as assets.

Individuals with incomes over these limits can also qualify for MA
through a spenddown. Under a spenddown, an individual must incur
medical bills in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount by
which the individual's income exceeds the spenddown limit of 100
percent ofFPG for families and children and 75 percent ofFPG for
individuals who are aged, blind, or disabled.



Eligibility (cont.)

Covered services

Provider
reimbursement

Funding and
expenditures
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Application
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• Be a U.S. citizen or a noncitizen who meets specified immigration
criteria.

• Be a resident of Minnesota.
• Meet other program eligibility requirements.

Minnesota provides all federally mandated services and most services
designated by the federal Medicaid program as optional. These services include,
but are not limited to: physician care, hospitalization, therapy and rehabilitation,
dental, medical equipment and supplies, home health care, health clinic services,
mental health, prescription drugs, medical transportation, nursing home, and
intermediate care facility for persons with mental retardation and related
conditions (ICF/MR) services. Adult enrollees who are not pregnant are subject
to copayments for certain services.

The state has also received federal approval to provide services not normally
covered by Medicaid. These home and community-based "waivered services"
are intended to make it possible for individuals to remain in the community,
rather than reside in a hospital, nursing home, or ICF/MR.

The MA program reimburses providers under both a fee-far-service system and
a managed care system (composed of the Prepaid Medical Assistance Program
or PMAP and county-based purchasing initiatives). Under the fee-for-service
system, health care providers bill DRS and are reimbursed at rates specified by
state law. Under managed care, prepaid health plans (ar counties in the case of
county-based purchasing) receive a monthly capitation payment for each
enrollee. The state does not set provider reimbursement rates; these rates are
instead the product of negotiation between the health care providers and the
prepaid health plan or county.

The federal share of MA costs is determined by a formula that is based on state
per capita income. In fiscal year 2006, the federal government pays 50 percent
of the cost of MA services, and the state is responsible for the remaining 50
percent. In fiscal year 2005, total state and federal MA expenditures for services
were $5.193 billion.

During fiscal year 2005, an average of 480,738 individuals were eligible for MA
services each month. As of September 2005,284,207 MA recipients in 83
counties received services under PMAP or a county-based purchasing initiative.

Individuals interested in applying for MA should contact their county human
servIces agency.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. Also see the House
Research information briefMedical Assistance.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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The Operation of Homeschools in Minnesota

Minnesota law
allows children to
attend homeschools
andparents to
provide instruction

Parent educators
mustprovide
instruction in
required subject
areas and must
report on student
achievement

Minnesota's compulsory attendance law requires children between 7 and 16 to
attend school, statutorily defined as a public school, nonpublic school, church or
religious organization, or homeschool. Under state law, school instructors must:
hold a valid Minnesota teaching license in the field and for the grade level taught;
be directly supervised by a licensed teacher; successfully complete a teacher
competency exam; provide instruction in an accredited or recognized school; hold a
baccalaureate degree; or be the parent of a child who annually is assessed using a
nationally norm-referenced standardized achievement exam approved by the district
superintendent.

State education department data show that 16,934 students, or about 1.8 percent of
the total elementary and secondary student population, were enrolled in a
homeschool in the 2004-2005 school year.

Homeschool parents must provide instruction in reading, writing, literature, fine
arts, math, science, history, geography, government, health, and physical education.
There is no minimum number of required days of instruction. Every year, by
October 1, parent instructors must report the following information to the district
superintendent: the name, birth date, and address of each child receiving instruction
at home; the name of the child's instructor and evidence that the instructor satisfies
one of the state's criteria for instructors; and an annual instructional calendar.

Parent instructors who assess a child using a nationally norm-referenced
standardized achievement exam must submit a quarterly report card on the child's
achievement in each required subject area. (Homeschool advocates assert that parent
instructors are not required to submit a child's test scores as part of the quarterly
report card.) A parent instructor must document that the child is receiving
instruction in the required subject areas. The documents must include class
schedules and copies of instructional materials, and describe the methods used to
assess student achievement. Parent instructors also must submit a statement
indicating that their children have been immunized or a notarized statement
indicating that their children have not been immunized due to the parents'
conscientiously held beliefs.

Parent instructors Children attending a homeschool that is not accredited must be assessed using a
must assess home nationally norm-referenced standardized achievement exam. A parent instructor
school students using who is not a licensed teacher or has not successfully completed a teacher
a standardized competency exam must assess children in those required subject areas for which no
achievement exam standardized achievement exam is available.

A parent instructor must obtain an evaluation of a child who scores below the 30th
percentile or one grade level below children of the same age on a standardized



Homeschool students
may receive health
and guidance
services

Homeschool students
may participate in
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enrol~ment options
and on-line learning
programs

'Homeschool students
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Parent instructors
may be eligible for
reimbursement of
expenses and the
state's K-12
education credit and
deduction

Homeschool student
information is
private data

achievement exam to determine whether the child has learning problems.

School districts must provide homeschoo1 students with the same health services
offered to public school students as long as the cost does not exceed the amount the .
state education department allocates for such services. School districts also must
provide homeschoo1 students in grades 7 to 12 with the same guidance and
counseling services offered to public school students as long as the cost does not
exceed the amount the state education department allocates for such services and the
services are provided at a public school or neutral site.

High school juniors and seniors, including homeschoo1 students, may take courses
for credit at public and private Minnesota postsecondary institutions under the
Postsecondary Enrollment Options Program (PSEO). Homeschoo1 students
interested in enrolling in a PSEO course must contact the institution offering the
course. PSEO students do not pay tuition, fees, or the cost of required textbooks.

K-12 homeschoo1 students may enroll in an on-line learning course or program.
Participation is limited by available revenue and order of application.

Homeschoo1 students may participate in the extracurricular activities of the resident
district on the same basis as public school students. A school board may charge
students fees to participate in extracurricular activities. Homeschoo1s also may
participate in Minnesota state high schoo11eague activities and sometimes form
cooperative sponsorships with other schools to participate in such activities.

Homeschoo1 parent instructors are eligible to be reimbursed by the resident school
district for instructional materials; reimbursed items are considered district property.

Parent instructors whose household income is less than $37,500 and who have paid
qualifying expenses for their children's K-12 education may be eligible for the
state's K-12 education credit and deduction; those parent instructors whose
household income is $37,500 or higher may qualify for the deduction only. The
credit and deduction apply to homeschool education expenses that would be
expenses for subjects normally taught in public elementary and secondary schools.
Such expenses may include required instructional materials, required books, class
trips taken during the school day, purchase or rental of required equipment, after
school enrichment programs, required testing fees, computer hardware, and
educational software and tuition and fees.

Under the state's data practices law, student information that a parent instructor
submits to the district superintendent is private data and cannot be designated as
directory infomation or disclosed without the parent's prior written consent unless
a limited exception applies. School districts that receive federal funds under the
Elementary and Secondary Education Act must provide military recruiters, when
requested, with directory information that includes students' names, addresses and
telephone numbers. The district cannot release any information about a homeschool
student to a military recruiter, particularly if the student's parent requests that the
district not release the information. '

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What is limited
market value?

What property does
LMVapply to?

Is it permanent?

Does the assessor
continue valuing
the property?

How does it work?

How does the
phaseout work?

Limited Market Value

Limited market value (LMV) is a limitation on the amount that a property's
market value may grow from one year to the next for purposes ofproperty
taxation. It was enacted to help mitigate rising property taxes resulting from
rapidly inflating property values.

The following classes of property qualify for LMV:

• agricultural homestead and nonhomestead
• residential homestead and nonhomestead
• seasonal recreational residential property (i.e., cabins)
• timberland (beginning with the 2001 assessment)

LMV provisions were in effect from 1973 to 1979, and again from 1993 to the
present. The 2001 Legislature enacted a law to phase out LMV over a six-year
period-from assessment years 2002-2007. The 2005 Legislature extended the
phaseout an additional two years. Beginning in assessment year 2009 (for taxes
payable in 2010), all property will be valued at its estimated full market value for
property tax purposes.

The assessor continues to determine the property's fair market value. This value
is called the "estimated market value" (EMV). However, property that qualifies
for treatment under LMV may not be taxed at the full value of the property if its
growth exceeds the limits.

For qualifying property in assessment year 2005 (taxes payable in 2006), the
increase in market value shall not exceed the greater of:

• 15 percent of the LMV in the preceding assessment year, or
• 25 percent of the difference between the current year's EMV and the

previous year's LMV.

For each year, the maximum valuation increase is determined by calculating the
increase allowed under columns (1) and (2), and choosing whichever is higher.

(1) (2)
Assessment Yearl Percentage of previous Percentage of difference between previous

Payable Year year'sLMV year's LMV and current year's EMV

2002/2003 10% 15%
2003/2004 12 20
2004/2005 15 25
2005/2006 15 25
2006/2007 15 25
2007/2008 15 33
2008/2009 15 50



Example
calculations

How much has
LMVgrown?

Assessment year 2005/payable year 2006
The LMV of a home is $100,000 for assessment year 2004. For assessment year
2005, the assessor determines that the EMV ofthe home is $130,000. The
maximum market value increase for tax purposes is the greater of:

• 15 percent increase over the previous year, which is $15,000, or
• 25 percent of the $30,000 difference in value, which is $7,500.

Therefore, the home's LMV is $100,000 plus $15,000, or $115,000 for
assessment year 2005 (for taxes payable in 2006)..

For taxes payable in 2005, $33.1 billion of market value was excluded from the
tax rolls due to LMV. The table shows the amounts for 1994-2005.

Taxes Payable Excluded Value*
Year EMV* LMV* Amount Percenta2e
1994 $124.1 $123.5 $0.7 0.5%
1995 132.0 131.0 1.0 0.8
1996 142.1 140.4 . 1.6 1.1
1997 152.1 150.0 2.0 1.3
1998 163.6 161.1 2.5 1.5
1999 176.6 173.3 3.4 1.9

2000 202.6 197.0 5.6 2.8
2001 226.4 215.8 10.6 4.7
2002 260.4 239.4 21.0 8.1
2003 284.8 253.9 30.9 10.8
2004 322.9 288.0 34.9 10.8
2005 364.6 331.5 33.1 9.1

* Affected property classes only. All amounts in billions.

Statewide Percentage of Tax Base Excluded
due to LMV (affected classes only)

12

10

Taxes Payable Year

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Steve Hinze at 651­
296-8956.
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The Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Transfer:
Current Law

After a nearly ten-year hiatus, the legislature in 2000 again began dedicating revenues from the motor
vehicle sales tax (MVST) to transportation-related purposes. A constitutional amendment proposed by the
legislature in 2005 would, if adopted, eventually result in 100 percent ofMVST revenues going to
transportation.

What is MVST?

How MVST
revenue used to be
dedicated

How MVST
revenue is now
dedicated

The motor vehicle sales tax, or MVST, is the 6.5 percent sales tax applied to the
sale of new and used motor vehicles.

During the 1980s, the legislature dedicated MVST revenue to highways and transit,
intending that the money supplement other spending for those purposes. This
dedication was periodically changed or suspended, and it was abolished entirely
beginning in fiscal year 1992.

,,-
Beginning in fiscal year 2000, the legislature restored the MVST transfer to
dedicated transportation funds, not to augment spending but provide tax relief. In
2000, the legislature put limits on license taxes for passenger cars. Since those
taxes go to the highway user tax distribution fund (HUTDF) and are dedicated
exclusively to highways, some means had to be found to make up the loss to
highway revenue. The legislature made up the losses to dedicated highway funds
from reduction of automobile license taxes, and for losses to transit systems of
revenue formerly coming from property taxes.

In the 2003 session, the legislature made another significant change in the MVST
distribution by increasing the percentage to dedicated transit funds at the expense
of the share for dedicated highway funds. The transit funds' shares were intended
not just to replace property tax revenue but also to make up for budget cuts in
general fund appropriations for transit assistance. This allocation is intended to be
in effect through fiscal year 2007.

The distribution ofMVST revenue is now as follows:

• 30 percent to HUTDF, the fund dedicated exclusively to state and local
highways. By constitutional dedication this money is further divided
among the state trunk highway fund, the county state-aid highway fund,
and the municipal state-aid street fund.

• 0.65 percent directly to the county state-aid highway fund, in addition to its
share of the 30 percent above

• 0.17 percent directly to the municipal state-aid street fund, in addition to its
share of the 30 percent above

• 21.5 percent to the Metropolitan Council to replace revenue lost when the



legislature abolished the council's property tax levy for transit
• 1.43 percent to the Department of Transportation for greater Minnesota

transit assistance to replace revenue lost when the legislature prohibited
using property taxes to subsidize greater Minnesota transit operating costs

• Beginning in fiscal year 2004, 2 percent additional to be appropriated by
law for transit in the metropolitan area

• The remainder to the state general fund

The additional revenue for transit was spent for the 2004-05 biennium to partially
make up for reductions in appropriations for metropolitan and greater Minnesota
bus service and partly to reduce the local responsibility for Hiawatha light rail
transit operating costs. This revenue was made available by effectively reducing
the state trunk highway fund's share ofMVST revenue from 18.8 percent to 17.7
percent, while leaving the share ofMVST revenue going to local state-aid funds
unchanged.

MVST Dedication

2002 2003 2004-07 2008
and after

Highway user tax distribution fund (HUTDF) 30.86%
.

32% 30% 32%
County state-aid highway fund 0% 0% .65% 0%
Municipal state-aid highway fund 0% 0% .17% 0%
Metropolitan transit fund 0% 20.5% 21.5% 20.5%
Greater Minnesota transit fund 0% 1.25% 1.43% 1.25%
General fund 69.14% 46.25% 46.25% 46.25%

How MVST
dedication may
change

The 2005 Legislature passed a transportation appropriations bill that contained
numerous funding initiatives, including a proposed constitutional amendment that
would gradually dedicate all MVST revenue to transportation by 2012. Governor
Pawlenty vetoed the bill but the constitutional amendmentwill still go before the
people in the 2006 election, since constitutional amendments do not require the
governor's approval. However, the 2006 Legislature could modify or withdraw the
amendment.

The proposed amendment provides that beginning in fiscal year 2008,63.75
percent of MVST revenues would be dedicated to transportation, with the
remainder going to the general fund. The transportation percentage would rise 10
percent each year until reaching 100 percent in 2012. These percentages would
override the allocation of MVST revenues in current.1aw.

Of the transportation share, not more than 60 percent would go to the HUTDF and
not less than 40 percent to public transit assistance. The actual percentages within
these limits would be determined by the legislature.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.
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Eminent Domain: Regulatory Takings

The Takings Clause of the Fifth Amendment of the
U.S. Constitution provides that private property must
not be taken for public use without payment ofjust
compensation. (The clause is made applicable to the
states through the Fourteenth Amendment.) Under
the Minnesota Constitution; article 1, section 13,
private property must not be taken, destroyed, or
damaged for public use without payment ofjust
compensation.

What constitutes a "taking?" The classic taking is a
direct appropriation or physical invasion of private
property. Since 1922, however, the courts have
recognized that a state statute or local ordinance'may
impose restrictions or demands on the use ofprivate
property that are so onerous that it amounts to a
taking and the government must compensate the
owner. Lingle v. Chevron, US.A., Inc., 125 S. Ct.
2074,2081 (2005) (citing Pennsylvania Coal Co. v.
Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922)). In these instances,
called regulatory takings, the property owner brings
an inverse condemnation action to compel the
government to begin eminent domain proceedings
and compensate the owner. A compensable
regulatory taking may be temporary or permanent.
First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v.
County ofLos Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987).

Categorical or per se regulatory taking~. There are
two situations in which a court could find that a
regulation is clearly a taking-a categorical or "per
se" taking. First, if the regulation requires an owner
to allow a physical invasion of the property, however
minor, the owner must be compensated. Lingle, 125
S. Ct. at 2081 (citing Loretto v. Teleprompter
Manhattan CATV Corp. , 458 U.S. 419 (1982) (state,
law requiring landlords to permit cable TV
companies to install cable facilities in apartment
buildings held to be a taking)).

The second situation is when the regulation denies
the owner of all economically vi~ble use of the
property and the regulation is not merely an explicit
statement of common law limitations already
present in the title. Lingle, 125 S. Ct. at 2081 (citing
Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.
1003 (1992)).

Penn Central test. Apart from the two situations in
which the Court would find a categorical taking or
taking per se, there is little guidance on what
constitutes a regulatory taking, and courts have
relied on ad hoc factual inquiries. Penn Central
Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104, 124
(1978) (historical preservation designation limited
development options for railroad station not a
taking). In these cases, a court will analyze a
regulatory takings claim under a three-part test in
which the court, considering the parcel as a whole,
looks at:

(1) the economic impact of the regulation on the
owner;

(2) the extent to which the regulation interferes
with distinct legitimate,investment-backed
expectations; and

(3) the character of the government action--does
it result in the equivalent ofa physical
invasion ofthe property or is it more a "public
program adjusting the benefits and burdens of
economic life to promote the common good."

Id.; Johnson v. City ofMinneapolis, 667 N.W.2d
109, 114-115 (Minn. 2003) (following Penn Central
analysis, court held that the "cloud of
condemnation" over Nicollet Mall property in
Minneapolis due to drawn out conflict over
proposed LSGI development was a taking).

The Court does not look at whether the regulation is
an effective way to achieve the stated purpose; the



focus is not on the government's purpose (once
public use or purpose is established), but on the.
impact on the property owner's rights. Lingle, 125 S.
Ct. 2074. Each of the tests for regulatory takings
looks for the :fu,nctionalequivalent to an
appropriation or physical invasion ofprivate
property. Id. at 2084.

Development moratorium. Local governments have
authority to impose a moratorium on development in
order to protect the planning process. Minn. Stat. §§
394.34, 462.355, subd. 4. During the moratorium, a
property owner may have limited or no economically
viable use of the property. The U.S. Supreme Court
has held that under the federal constitution, a
temporary regulation that denies all economically
viable use ofproperty is not a per se taking. The
Court applies the Penn Central factors to determine
if the regulation amounts to a compensable taking.
Tahoe-Sierra Preservation Council, Inc. v. Tahoe
Reg. Planning Agency, 535 U.S. 302 (2002);
Woodbury Place Partners v. City o/Woodbury, 492
N.W.2d 258 (Minn. App.1992) (remanded for
determination ofwhether moratorium constituted a
taking under case-specific analysis ofPenn Central).

Exactions. An exaction is a government requirement
that a landowner dedicate land or a property interest,
such as an easement, as a condition for granting a
development permit. An exaction may be found to be
a taking unless the government shows that there is an
essential nexus between a legitimate government
interest and the condition exacted. Assuming the
nexus exists, there must also be a "rough
proportionality" between the planned development

and the required dedication. "No precise
mathematical calculation is required, but the city
must make some sort of individualized
determination that the required dedication is related
both in nature and extent to the impact of the
proposed development." Dolan v. City ofTigard,
512 U.S. 374, 391 (1994) (permit to expand a store
and parking lot conditioned on the dedication of a
portion of the property for a greenway
pedestrian/bicycle path held a taking); Nollan v.
California Coastal Comm'n, 483 U.S. 825,831-832
(1987) (permit to build a larger residence on
beachfront property conditioned on dedication of an
easement for public to cross a strip of property
between owner's seawall and the mean hide tide
mark held a taking); see also Collis v. City of
Bloomington, 310 Minn. 5, 246 N.W.2d 19 (1976)
(cited in Dolan); Kottshade v. City ofRochester, 357
N.W.2d 301,307-308 (Minn. App. 1995) (citing
Dolan analysis); Minn. Stat. § 462.358, subds. 2b
and 2c (amended in 2004 to incorporate terms used
in Dolan).

Minnesota's government enterprise or arbitration
test. In general, a regulation that diminishes
property value alone does not constitute a taking. In
Minnesota, however, a regulation that is designed to
benefit a government enterprise such as an airport
and results in a substantial diminution in value may
be a taking. McShane v. City ofFaribault, 292
N.W.2d 253 (Minn. 1980) (airport safety zoning
ordinance that limited development and caused a
substantial and measurable decline in market value
was a taking).

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah Dyson at 651-296.;8291.
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The Minnesota Constitution guarantees citizens the right to a jury trial in all criminal prosecutions and in all
cases at law. This right extends to criminal actions in which an offender may be sentenced to imprisonment.
It also extends to civil actions in which legal relief (such as money damages) rather than equitable relief
(such as performing a specific act) is sought. A jury trial is not guaranteed in situations in which the only
penalty is a fine (i.e., traffic tickets). A person may waive his or her right to a jury trial. The right to ajury
trial depends upon an impartial jury system.

How many people
serve on a jury?

How are people
selectedfor jury
service?

Who is a "qualified
citizen"?

When maya person
be excusedfrom jury
service?

May aperson defer
jury service to a later
date?

In felony cases, ajury is composed of 12 members. For all other criminal and civil
cases, there are six members on a jury.

All people selected for jury service must be drawn at random from the broadest
feasible cross section of the population of the area served by the court. All
"qualified citizens" can be considered for jury service and must serve when
summoned. No one may be excluded from jury service on the basis of race, color,
religion, sex, national origin, economic status, or a physical or sensory disability.
Voter registration and drivers' license lists are used as jury source lists.

To be qualified to serve as ajuror, the prospective juror must be:

• a United States citizen;
• at least 18 years of age;
• a resident of the county;
• able to communicate in English;
• physically and mentally capable of serving;
• a person who is not under a sentence for a felony conviction;
• a person who has not served as a state or federal grand or petit juror in the

past two years; and
• a person who is not a judge serving in the judicial branch.

People who are 70 years old or older are automatically excused from jury service
upon request. A member, officer, or employee ofthe legislature is excused from
jury service while the legislature is in session. If authorized by a jury
commissioner, people may be excused if their ability to receive and evaluate
information is so impaired that they cannot perform juror duties or if their service
would be a continuing hardship to them or to members of the public.

Each county may establish conditions for deferral ofjury service. The deferral shall
be for a reasonable time, after which the prospective juror must be available for
service. Examples of deferral conditions include: temporary health problems,
vacation plans, employment conflicts, prescheduled medical appointments, and
time needed to arrange for child care. Candidates for elected office may also
request deferral during a campaign. To verify deferral conditions, consult the court
or jury administration office in your county of residence.



What happens ifa
prospective juror.
fails to appear when
summoned to jury
service?

Arejurors
compensatedfor time
spent onjury duty?

Are employers
required to give
employees time off
for jury service?

How long is the term
ofjury service?

What is the
difference between a
petitjury and a·
grandjury?

If a person fails to appear when summoned, the person shall be ordered by the court
to appear and show cause for failure to comply with the summons. Absent a
showing of good cause, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be held in
contempt. Failure to complete a jury qualification questionnaire results in the same
sanctions. It is also a misdemeanor to willfully misrepresent a material fact on a
jury qualification questionnaire for purposes of securing or avoiding jury service.

Jurors are compensated for round-trip travel between their residence and the place
of court. They are also compensated for their required attendance. Jurors may
request child care and parking expenses. The Minnesota Supreme Court determines
these compensation rates.

Employers cannot fire or otherwise coerce an employee because the employee
receives a jury summons, attends court as a prospective juror, or serves as a juror.
A violation ofthis provision subjects an employer to criminal contempt, as well as
a fine of $700 and/or six months' imprisonment. A discharged employee may also
bring a civil action against the fonner employer for the recovery of lost wages and
for an order requiring reinstatement. The employee 'has 30 days to bring a civil
action. Damages may not exceed lost wages for six weeks. The court must award
reasonable attorney's fees to a prevailing employee. Employers are not required by
law to pay an employee while on jury leave.

The time that a person is called upon to perfonn or be available for jury service
varies by county. In counties with a population of 100,000 or more, a tenn of
service must not exceed two weeks or the completion of one trial, whichever is
longer. In counties with a population ofless than 100,000 but more than 50,000, a
tenn of service must not exceed two months. In counties with a population of less
than 50,001, a tenn of service is limited to four months. With respect to persons
serving up to two or four months, no person is required to continue to serve after
the person has reported to the courthouse for ten days or after the completion of a
trial, whichever is longer.

A petit jury is a body of six to 12 people chosen and sworn in a court to try and
detennine by verdict any question or issue of fact in a civil or criminal action.

A grand jury is summoned when required by public interest or when requested by a
county attorney. It consists of 16 to 23 people. The grand jury is sworn in to inquire
as to public offenses committed or triable in the county, and report them by
indictment. An indictment is an accusation in writing charging a person with a
public offense. The grand jury may find an indictment only upon the concurrence
of 12 or more jurors. Offenses that may be punished by life imprisonment must be
prosecuted by indictment.

A grand jury is drawn to serve for a specified period of time, not to exceed 12
months. It cannot be discharged until the specified period of service is completed,
its successor is drawn, or it has completed an investigation of a particular offense,
whichever is the later.

For more information or legal citations: Contact legislative analyst Rebecca Pirius at
rebecca.pirius@house.mn.
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Federal Taxable Income, the starting point for calculating
Minnesota income tax

What is federal
taxable income
(FTl)?

Federal taxable income is the tax base used to calculate federal income tax
liability. It is also the starting point for calculating Minnesota taxable income,
which is the tax base used to calculate Minnesota income tax liability. Federal
taxable income equals federal adjusted gross income after deductions and
exemptions.

Federal
adjusted
gross income
(FAGI)

Standard
or

Itemized
deductions

Personal
and
Dependent
exemptions

=

Federal
taxable
Income
(FTI)

What kinds of
income are included
in FTI?

What kinds of
income are
excludedfrom FTI?

What deductions
are allowedfrom
FTI?

How much is the
standard
deduction?

Federal adjusted gross income includes most kinds of income: wages, salaries, and
tips; taxable interest; dividends; alimony received by the taxpayer; business
income or loss; capital gains or losses; other gains or losses; taxable IRA
distributions; taxable pension and annuity distributions (the taxable portion is
typically determined by whether or not the contributions to the pension or annuity
were included infederal adjusted gross income when they were made); income
from rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, and trusts; farm
income or loss; unemployment compensation; and taxable Social Security benefits
(the amount taxable depends on the individual's income level; at most, 85 percent
ofbenefits are included infederal adjusted gross income).

Federal adjusted gross income excludes: deductible IRA, SEP, and SIMPLE
contributions; nontaxable employee fringe benefits; student loan interest payments;
Health Savings Account contributions and investment income; moving expenses;
one-half of self-employment tax; health insurance premiums (for self-employed
taxpayers only); penalty on early withdrawal of savings; and alimony paid by the
taxpayer.

Taxpayers may claim either the standard deduction or itemized deductions. In tax
year 2003, the most recent year for which data is available, 58 percent of
Minnesotans claimed the standard deduction and 42 percent itemized.

In tax year 2006, the standard deduction is as follows:
• $10,300 for married couples filing joint returns
• $5,150 for married couples filing separate returns
• $7,550 for head ofhousehold filers
• $5,150 for single filers



What itemized
deductions are
allowed?

What personal and
dependent
exemptions are
allowed?

Are there limits on
deductions and
exemptions?

Itemized deductions are allowed for the following:
• State and local property and payments of income taxes
• Mortgage and interest
• Charitable contributions
• Medical expenses in excess of7.5 percent of income
• Casualty and theft losses in excess of 10 percent of income
• Job expenses and miscellaneous expenses (most only allowed in

excess of 2 percent of income)

Taxpayers may claim one personal exemption each and one dependent exemption
for each dependent claimed. For tax year 2006, the personal and dependent
exemptions are $3,300 each. A family of four qualifies for four exemptions,
totaling $13,200.

Itemized deductions are limited for taxpayers with incomes over a threshold.
Taxpayers subject to the limitation must subtract from total itemized deductions
the lesser of:

• 3 percent of income in excess of the threshold; or
• 80 percent of total itemized deductions, excluding deductions for medical

expenses, investment interest, casualty and theft losses, and gambling
losses to the extent offset by gambling gains.

Personal and dependent exemptions are phased out for taxpayers with incomes
over a threshold. Taxpayers subject to the phaseout lose 2 percent of their total
exemption amount for each $2,500 of income over the threshold.

Tax year 2006 Itemized deduction Exemption phaseout
limit be2ins at be2ins at

Married .joint filers $150,500 $225,750
Married separate filers $75,250 $112,875
Sin2le filers $150,500 $150,500
Head of household filers $150,500 $188,150

The income thresholds for the itemized deduction limit and the personal exemption
phaseout are adjusted annually for inflation.

The federal Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act (EGTRRA) of
2001 gradually phases out the limitation on itemized deductions and the phaseout
ofpersonal and dependent exemptions from 2006 to 2010. In tax year 2006, the
limitation and the phaseout will be reduced by one-third. The general sunset of
EGTRRA provisions would reinstate the full amount of the limitation of itemized
deductions and the phaseout of exemptions beginning in tax year 2011.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 651­
296-5057. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, July 2005.
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