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A Message from the Minnesota Departmyent of Public Safety

The success of any school bus transportation operation depends largely on the performance
and degree of dedication displayed by those involved. The role of the school bus driver is
critically important to the safety record of Minnesota’s school transportation systems.

The School Bus Driver’s Commandments of Safety

A school bus driver’s parafnount responsibility is the safety of their transported students.
Know and obey the Minnesota motor vehicle laws. '

Utilize correct and safe procedures when crossing railroad tracks.

Be positive the vehicle is mechanically safe before going onto a route.

Drive defensively and always expect other drivers or pedestrians to do the unexpected.
Know where all emergency equipment is located and how to use said equipment.

Never take undue risks.

I I L I

Know and obey the pupil transportation rules and regulations set forth by the Minnesota
Department of Public Safety and your local school district.

The information contained in this handbook is intended solely as a helpful guide to the laws and
rules applicable to the safe operation of school buses in Minnesota, as well as recognized safe
operating practices. This information is NOT intended to serve as a precise statement of these laws
and rules. ‘

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety’s Driver and Vehicle Services Division has prepared
this handbook. Additional copies may be obtained at any driver examination station. You may also
obtain a copy by writing to Driver and Vehicle Services, 445 Minnesota Street, St. Paul, MN 55101,
or by calling (651) 296-6911 (Telephone), or (651) 282-6555 (TTY only).

For more information, pleasevisit our web site at www.mndriveinfo.org
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IMPORTANT :
NEW LAWS AFFECTING SCHOOL BUS OPERATORS AND DRIVERS
‘ PLEASE READ

Three new laws were enacted in 2002 that affect the operation of school buses, buses used to transport
children, and the licenses and endorsements drivers need to operate these vehicles.

A. Minnesota Statute §123B.885, [Diesel School Buses: Operation of Engine and Parking.]
Operation of Engine
All operators of diesel school buses must minimize, to the extent practical, the idling of school bus
engines and exposure of children to diesel exhaust fumes.

Parking :

Starting July 1, 2003, diesel school buses must be parked and loaded at sufficient distance from
school air-intake systems to avoid diesel fumes from being drawn into the systems, unless, in the
judgment of the school board, alternative locations block traffic, impair student safety, or are not cost

- effective.

B.  Minnesota Statute §171.3216, [Actions on School Bus Endorsement.]
The commissioner may cancel a school bus driver's endorsement on a driver's license of any person
if the commissioner determines that the person has been: o
1. convicted of a gross misdemeanor that the commissioner determines shows evidence that the
~ person represents a risk to public safety. :

2. convicted of a series of violations of law that the commissioner determines shows evidence that
the person represents a risk to public safety. -

C. Minnesota Statute §169.26, [Special Stops at Railroad Crossings]
School Bus and Head Start bus drivers are required to stop 15 feet and no more than 50 feet from the
nearest rail at a railroad crossing.

Pilot program still in effect from 2001 legislative session.

D. Minnesota Statutes 2001, §169.01, subd. 75 (5), §169.448, subd. 1(a) and (), & §171.02, Subd. 2
and 2a. :
This new law establishes a pilot program in effect from July 1, 2001, until July 1, 2003, where certain
school buses can be operated by licensed child care providers, and allows certain type A school
buses to be operated by the holder of a class D driver's license under limited conditions.. The law
affects drivers and bus owners who transport children from special programs (e.g. childcare) to or
from school. If certain requirements are met by both the driver and the bus owner and the vehicle
conforms to specific requirements, drivers of vehicles with 10 to 15 passengers including the driver
are exempt from having a school bus endorsement and can drive a qualifying vehicle with a class D
license. It is suggested that any operator or driver who may be affected by these changes refer to the
Jaw and'statute changes. : '



This handbook contains a summary of Minnesota laws and rules regarding school buses. To pass
the School Bus Test and to drive school buses; you must study this handbook.

If you plan to drive school buses that are designed to seat more than 15 people, including the
driver, you must also pass the Passenger Transport Test. Additional tests may be required
depending upon the class of license you currently hold. For more information see:the. Minnesota
Commercial Driver's Manual.

You must also pass a road test in a school bus. If the school bus you use for the road test is 26,000
pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) or less, your license will be restricted to the size and
passenger capacity of that bus.

General Requirements

Except as otherwise noted, the following general requirements apply to both the regular (types A,
B, C, and D) and the small vehicle (type I} school buses.

Definitions. "School bus' means a motor vehicle used to transport pupils (in grades K-12) toor
from a school or to or from school-related activities, by the school or a school district, or by
someone under an agreement with the school or a school district. A school bus does not include:

o a motor vehicle transporting children to or from school for which parents or guardians
receive direct compensation from a school district,

e amotor coach operating under charter carrier authority,
¢ - a transit bus, or

e avehicle otherwise qualifying as a type Il vehicle when the vehicle is properly registered
and insured and being driven by an employee or agent of a school district for
nonscheduled transportation. :

"School bus driver* means a person with a school bus endorsement.on a valid Minnesota driver's
license or a person with a valid Minnesota driver's license who drives a vehicle used as a -school
bus that has a passenger seating capacity of ten or less, including the driver.

"Head Start bus driver’ means a person with a valid Minnesota driver’s license who drives a vehicle
used as a Head Start bus that has a passenger seating capacity of ten or less, including the driver;
or who has a school bus or passenger endorsement and drives a Head Start bus.

"Disqualifying offense" includes any felony offense, any drug violation, fifth degree criminal sexual
conduct, interference with privacy, indecent exposure, or a violation of DWI laws while driving,
operating, or being in physical control of a school bus ora Head Start bus.

"Reportable Offense" means misbehavior causing an immediate and substantial dangerto self or
surrounding people or property. 5

"Gross vehicle weight rating" (GVWR) means the value specified by the manufacturer as the
loaded weight of a single vehicle.

Types of School Buses |

Type A: A 'type A school bus' is a conversion or body constructed upon a van-type or cutawa
front section vehicle with a left-side driver's door, designed for carrying more thanten
persons. There are two classifications: type A-l, with a gross vehicle weight rating
(GVWR) over 10,000 pounds; and type A-ll, with a GVWR of 10,000/pounds or less.

Type B: A 'type B school bus" is a conversion or body constructed and installed upon a van or
front-section vehicle chassis, or stripped chassis, with a gross vehicle weight rating of
more than 10,000 pounds, designed for carrying more thanten persons. Part of the
engine is beneath or behind the windshield and beside the driver's seat. The entrance
door is behind the front wheels. :

Type C: A 'type C school bus" is a body installed upon a flat back cow! chassis with a gross
vehicle weight rating of more than 10,000 pounds, designed for carrying more than ten
persons. All of the engine is in front of the windshield and the entrance door is behind
the front wheels. A type C school bus has a maximum length of 45 feet.



Type D: A type D school bus" is a body installed upon a chassis, with the engine mounted in
the front, midship, or rear, with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 10,000
pounds, designed for carrying more than ten persons. The engine may be behind the
windshield and beside the driver's seat; it may be at the rear of the bus, behind the
rear wheels, or midship between the front and rear axles. The entrance door is ahead
of the front wheels.

Type lll:  Type Ill school buses and type lll Head Start buses are restricted to passenger cars,
station wagons, vans, and buses having a maximum manufacturer's rated seating
capacity of ten or fewer people, including the driver, and a gross vehicle weight rating
of 10,000 pounds or less. A type lll school bus and type HlI'Head Start bus must not he
outwardly equipped and identified as a type A, B, C, or D school bus or type A, B, C,or
D Head Start bus. A van or bus converted to a seating capacity of ten or fewer and
placed in service on or after August 1, 1999, must have been originally manufactured
to comply with the passenger safety standards.

Drug Testing Requirements

Employers are required to conduct pre-employment, reasonable suspicion, random, post-accident,
and return to duty/follow-up testing for safety-sensitive employees. Safety-sensitive employees
include all school bus drivers, dispatchers, and ‘mechanics.

For more information contact MN/DOT Office of Motor Carrier Services at (651) 405-6060, toll free
1-(888) 472-3389, or FHWA/Office of Motor Carriers at (651) 291-6150.

Zero Tolerance Law

It is a crime for anyone to drive, operate, or be in physical control of any school bus or Head Start
bus when there is physical evidence present in the person’s body of the consumption of any
alcohol. Upon a first conviction, a person will lose his or her privileges to drive any commercial
motor vehicles for one year. A second conviction will result in the loss of commercial driving
privileges for life. :

Driver's License Requirements

Endorsement Requirements. No one may operate a type A, B, C, or D school bus when
transporting school children to or from school or a school-related trip or activity unless s/he has a
valid commercial driver's license with a school bus endorsement. Anyone who operates a school
bus with a seating capacity of 16 or more, including the driver, must also have a passenger
endorsement. A person who has a valid driver's license but not a school bus or passenger
endorsement may drive:a type il school bus. ‘

Study of Applicant. Before issuing or renewing a school bus endorsement, the Department of
Public Safety must conduct a criminal history and driver's license record check of the applicant. If
the applicant has lived in Minnesota for less than five years, the check also includes a national
criminal history check. The commissioner shall accept the national criminal history check request
and the fingerprints of the applicant and is authorized to exchange fingerprints with the Federal
Bureau of Investigation and request that the FBI conducts a criminal history background check.
The Department of Public Safety may also conduct a check at any time while a person is so
licensed. The applicant's failure to cooperate with the department in conducting the records check
is reasonable cause to deny an application or cancel a school bus endorsement. The results of the
criminal record check may not be released to any person except the applicant or their designee in
writing. ‘ ; :
The Department of Public Safety may issue a temporary school bus endorsement 1o an otherwise
qualified applicant. The temporary endorsement will be effective for no more than 180 days. The
applicant must present an affidavit certifying that s/ne has not been convicted of a disqualifying
offense-and a criminal history check from each state of residence for the previous five years. The
criminal history check may be conducted and prepared by any public or private source acceptable
to the commissioner of public safety. The department may reissue the temporary endorsement if
the national criminal records repository check was submitted in a timely manner, but was not
completed within the 180-day period.

Background Check. The commissioner will not issue or renew a school bus endorsement if:
» the applicant has been convicted of a disqualifying offense, or

o within the last five years, the applicant has been convicted of a gross misdemeanor or of
violating DWI or implied consent laws, or , *
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s . inthe lastthree yeérs, the applicant has been convicted of four moving violations.

Nonresident School Bus Driver. A 'school district or contractor that employs a nonresident school
bus driver must conduct a background check of the employee’s driving record and criminal history
in both Minnesota and the driver's state of residence. Convictions for disqualifying offenses, gross
misdemeanors, a fourth moving violation within the previous three years, or violations of DWI or
implied consent laws must be reported to the Department of Public Safety.

Canceling Endorsement For Certain Offenses

Cancellation. Within ten days of receiving notice that a school bus driver or nonresident driver has
been convicted of a disqualifying offense, the commissioner will permanently cancel the school bus
driver's endorsement and, in the.case of a nonresident, the driver's privilege to operate a school
bus in Minnesota.

Within ten days of receiving notice that a school bus driver has been convicted of a violation of DWI

“laws, or a similar statute or ordinance from another state, and within ten days of revoking a school

bus driver's license, the commissioner.will cancel the school bus driver's endorsement or the
nonresident's privilege to operate a school bus in Minnesota for five years. After five years, a
school bus driver may apply to the commissioner for reinstatement. Even after five years,
cancellation of a school bus driver's endorsement for a DWI or implied consent violation, or a
similar statute or ordinance from another state, will remain in effect until the driver provides proof of
successful completion of an alcohol or controlled substance treatment program. For a first offense,
proof of completion is required only if treatment was ordered as part of a chemical use assessment.

Within ten days of receiving naotice that a school bus driver has been convicted of a fourth moving
violation in the last three years, the commissioner will cancel the school bus driver's endorsement
or the nonresident's privilege to operate a school bus in Minnesota until one year has elapsed
since the last conviction. A school bus driver who has no new convictions after one year may apply
for reinstatement: The commissioner will notify the offender of the cancellation in writing, by mailing
a notice to the offender's last known address. ‘

Passenger Endorsement Cancellation. Within ten days of receiving notice that a Head Start bus
driver has committed a crime against a minor, the commissioner of public safety will permanently

cancel the passenger endorsement on the offender’s driver’s license. The commissioner will notify
the offender of the cancellation in writing, by mailing a notice to the offender's last known address.

Waiver. The commissioner may waive the permanent cancellation requirement for a person
convicted of a misdemeanor, a gross misdemeanor, a nonfelony violation of Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 152 (drug violation), or a felony that is not a violent crime under Minnesota Statutes,
section 609.1095. -

The commissioner may waive the permanent canceliation requirement after ten years have
elapsed since a person was convicted of a violation of section 609.582, subdivision 2, 3, or 4
(burglary in the second, third, or fourth degree). v

Physical Examination. An applicant for a school bus driver's endorsement must be in good
physical and mental health, able-bodied, and free from communicable disease. As evidence of
physical fitness and mental alertness, the applicant must have a physical examination by medical
examiners authorized as provided by the Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, chapter 3, part 39,
subpart E.

The certificate must comply with the form prescribed in Code of Federal Regulations, titlé 49,
section 391.43, paragraph (f). A form may be obtained at any driver examining station or by calling
the Driver and Vehicle Services” CDL Unit at (651) 297-5029:

Each school bus driver is required to take and pass a physical examination every two years to
retain the school bus driver's endorsement, The two-year reexamination period starts from the
examination date of the most recent physical certificate submitted by the driver. The Department of
Public Safety will send a certificate to the driver's last known address one month before the
physical is due. If the certificate is not received, the driver should call the CDL Unit at (651) 297-
5029, ‘ ~

The driver must fax or mail the completed certificate to the Driver and Vehicle Services’ CDL Unit,
along with a $2 processing fee. It must be received on or before the expiration of the two-year
period. Effective July 1, 2000, an additional $4.00 processing fee is collected with each original or
renewal application with a school bus endorsement. Once you pay the $4.00 fee, you will no longer
pay the $2.00 fee with the physical form.




If the driver does not pass the physical examination or return the certificate within two years of the
date of the last physical, the commissioner of public safety will cancel the school bus endorsement,
If the endorsement is canceled because of a failure to submit the required certificate, the driver
may reapply for the endorsement within one year by submitting a new physical If an endorsement
is cancelled or voluntarily surrendered for more than one year, the driver must retake the school
bus written and road tests before reapplying for the endorsement.

In place of the school bus physical certificate, the driver may submit the original or photocopy of the
federal commercial motor carrier physical examination form or the medical examiner's certificate
under those federal regulations. . ,

Waiver of Physical Qualifications. An individual who does not meet the physical qualifications for
a school bus endorsement may request a waiver from the commissioner of public safety. For more
information, contact the GDL Unit at (651) 297-5029.

" Charter Carrier Drivers. While in the state, a charter carrier driver who has a valid school bus

endorsement is not required to have a separate medical examiner's certificate otherwise required
by the Code of Federal Regulations. e :

Training. A bus driver must have training or experience that allows the driver to meet at least the
following competencies:

o safely operate the type of school bus the driver will be driving;

o understand student behavior, including issues relating to students with disabilities;

o encourage orderly conduct of students on the bus and handle incidents of misconduct

appropriately;

o know and understand relevant laws, rules of the road, and local school bus safety policies;

e handie emergency situations; and

o safely load and unload students.

Annual Evaluation. A school district's pupil transportation safety director, the chief administrator of
a nonpublic school, or a private contractor: : '
o must certify annually to the school board or governing board of a nonpublic school that, at
minimum, each school bus driver meets the training competencies listed above.
o must provide in-service training annually to each school bus driver.
A school district, nonpublic school, or private contractor shall annually verify the validity of the
driver's license of each person who transports students for the district with the National Drivers
Register or the Department of Public Safety. :
The employer shail keep the assessment for the current period available for inspection by
representatives of the commissioner. ]

Age. A school bus driver must be at least 18 years of age. No maximum age is set by law;
however, some school districts or private contractors may have a mandatory retirement age.

Testing. The test or examination required for an initial school bus driver's endorsement on a
Minnesota driver's license includes a written test and a road test. School bus drivers are re-tested
for current knowledge of school bus laws every four years when renewing their driver's license. The
renewal written test is also required when the driver upgrades to a higher class license.

The written test is based on driver's license laws and rules relating to school bus operation, and a
general knowledge of the operation of school buses, including knowledge of the equipment,
devices, and laws specific to school buses. A $2.50 examination fee must be paid when the initial
written test is passed. No fee is charged for the renewal written test.

The road test is given in a school bus. A license issued to an applicant taking the test in a school

‘bus with a GVWR over 26,000 Ibs. is unrestricted. A license issued to an applicant taking the testin

a smaller school bus will be restricted to a bus of that size. An applicant taking the testin a school
bus of less than 16 passengers will be restricted to commercial class C vehicles.

The school bus road test will begin with a pre-trip inspection. This inspection is not intended to
encompass all items that must be inspected daily according to Minnesota laws and rules.



A checklistis included at the end of this manual that may be used during the pre‘trip inspection
portion of the road test. The items may be checked in any order The inspection must be passed
before the road test may be taken.

School Bus Operations

Rules. The commissioner of public safety adopted rules governing the operation of school buses
used for transportation of school children, when owned or operated by a school or privately owned
and operated under a contract with a school. These rules must be made a part of that contract by
reference. Each school, its officers and employees, and each person employed under the contract
is subject to these rules.

Enforcement. The operation of a school bus on the public streets or highways in violation of rules
concerning the operation of school buses adopted by the commissioner is a misdemeanor. State
law enforcement agencies must enforce the rules when a school bus is operated on a public street
or highway.

School Bus Equipment Standards

The 1995 National Standards for School Buses and School Bus Operations have been adopted by
the State of Minnesota for types A, B, C, and D school buses that are owned and operated by a
school district or nonpublic school or privately owned and coperated under a contract with a school.
These standards must be made a part.of that contract by reference. Each school, its officers and
employees, and each person employed under the contract is subject to these standards.

The standards apply to school buses manufactured after December 31, 1997. Buses complying
with these standards when manufactured are not required to comply with standards established
later except as specifically provided for by law. Buses manufactured on or before December 31,
1997, must comply with the Minnesota standards that were in effect at that time, except as
specifically provided for by law.

All schoo! buses must have a first aid kit and a body fluids cleanup kit. They must be mounted in an
accessible place within the driver's compartment and must be marked to indicate their identity ‘and
location:

Type lll Vehicle Standards

A type lll'school bus:
s must not:be outwardly equipped and identified as a school bus;
o mustinot be ten years old or older;

e must have atleast one 10BC rated dry chemical type fire extinguisher. It must be mounted
in'a bracket in the driver's compartment and be readily accessible to the driver and
passengers. The pressure indicator must be easily read without removing the extinguisher
from its mounted position;

e must have a minimum of a ten-unit first aid kit and a body fluids cleanup kit. They must be
in removable, moisture- and dust-proof containers mounted in an accessible place within
the driver's compartment and must be marked to indicate their identity and location;

¢ must not have the words “school bus” on the outside of the vehlcle or in any: interior
location that is visible to motorists,

e must display to the rear of the vehicle this sign: "VEHICLE STOPS AT ALL RR
. CROSSINGS." The lettering (except for “AT”, which may be one inch smaller) must be a
minimum two-inch “Series D” as specified by the Federal Highway Administration, and be
of a contrasting color. The sign must have provisions for being covered, or be of a
removable or fold-down type;

e . must have one interior and two exterior mirrors (one on each side);
o must contain at least three red reflectorized triangle road warning devices;

Note: Passenger cars and station wagons used as type Il school buses may carry the fire
extinguisher, first aid kit, and warning triangles in the trunk area of the vehicle, if a label in the
driver and front passenger area clearly indicates the location of these items.

When a vehicle otherwise qualifying as a type lll vehicle, whether owned and operated by a school
district or privately owned and operated, is used to transport school children in a nonscheduled
situation it will be exempt from the vehicle requirements and licensing requirements if the vehicle is
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properly registered and insured and operated by an employee or agent of a school district with a
valid driver's license:

Student School Bus Safety Trainihg

Each school district must provide public school pupils enrolled in grades kindergarten through 10
with age-appropriate school bus safety training. Upon completion of the training, a student must be
able to.demonstrate knowledge and understanding of the foliowing areas:

1. transportation by school bus is a privilege and not a right (a student's privilege to ride a
school bus may be revoked for a violation of school bus safety or conduct policies);

district policies for student conduct and school bus safety;
appropriate conduct while on the school bus;
the danger zones surrounding a school bus;
procedures for safely boarding and leaving a school bus;
procedures for safe street or road crossing; -

- school bus evacuation and other emergency procedures; and

appropriate training on the use of lap belts or lap and shoulder belts, if the district uses
buses equipped with lap belts or lap and shoulder belts. ‘

Each nonpublic school located within the district must provide all nonpublic school pupils enrolled
in grades kindergarten through 10 who are transported by school bus at public expense and attend
schoolwithin the. district's boundaries with training as required above: The school district must
make a bus available for the practical training if the district transports the nonpublic students. Each
nonpublic school must provide the instruction,

The pupil transportation safety director in each district must certify to the commissioner of
education annually that all students transported by school bus within the district have satisfactorily
demonstrated knowledge and understanding of the school bus safety competencies listed above or
provide an explanation for a student's failure to demonstrate the competencies. The principal or
other chief administrator of each nonpublic school must certify annually to the public transportation
safety director of the district in which the school is located that all of the school's students
transported by school bus at public expense have received training.

A school district and a nonpublic school with students transported by school bus at public expense
must also provide student safety education for bicycling and pedestrian safety.

A school district and a nonpublic school with students transported by school bus at public expense
must make reasonable accommodations for the school bus, bicycle, and pedestrian safety training
of pupils known to speak English as a second language and pupils with disabilities.
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Recording Device
If a video or audio recording device is placed on a school bus, the bus must also contain a sign or

signs, conspicuously placed, notifying riders that their conversations or actions may be recorded on
tape.

General Operating Rules

1. - The'school board of the district may adopt additional operating rules as deemed necessary
to meet ocal conditions and needs, providing they do not conflict with state laws and rules..

2. Only pupils assigned to the school bus by the school board or designated administrative
officer of the school district will be transported at district expense.

3. The administrative officer must see that no materials, including guns, loaded or unloaded
gasoline cans, empty or full; animals or any other object of dangerous or objectionable
nature are transported in the schoo! bus when children are being transported.

4. No pupils are allowed in the bus while the gas tank is being filled.

5. - On leaving the vehicle when pupils are in the bus, the driver must stop the motor, remove
the key, set the brake and otherwise render the bus immobile.

6. The driver of a school bus must keep the aisle and emergency exit of a school bus clear at
all times. when children are being transported.

7. The entrance door must be closed when students are being transported and the bus is in
motion.



8. School district authorities establish loading and unloading stops: The driver is not allowed
to change them without permission from school authorities. The only exception to this
policy is when the immediate safety of the students is threatened.

9. Pupils are not to be evicted from the bus along the route for a breach of discipline. The bus
driver must report all breaches of discipline to the designated school official. If the official
has reason 10 believe that a student has committed a “reportable offense” on a school bus
or in a bus loading or unloading area, s/he must notify the local law. enforcement agency
where the misbehavior occurred. The reporting scheol official must also notify the school
superintendent and submit a report about the incident to the commissioner of public safety.

10.-School buses may pull a trailer on co-curricular or extracurricular trips, but not when
transporting children to and-from school. If the trailer exceeds 10,000 Ibs: GVWR, a class A
license is required. Other states may not allow school buses to pull a trailer at any time.

11. To compensate for the greater braking distances of school buses, drivers need to watch
ahead for danger, slow earlier, and drive defensively.

12. The greater weight of school buses means slower acceleration. This is especially important
at intersections and railroad crossings: It takes longer for a bus to clear an intersection
than it would for a car. After a stop, a car can clear an intersection in 4-5 seconds while a
school bus will take 9-10 seconds.

13. On curves, it is best to compensate for the increased height and weight of a school bus by
slowing before the curve, accelerating slightly through the curve, and resuming normal
speed after the curve;

14. A bus is about two feet wider than a standard sized car. It takes about one-third more:
space in a lane of traffic. When meeting oncoming traffic on a two lane roadway, it is best
to plan ahead, slow down slightly, and move to the right of your lane.

15."When a school bus meets a truck on atwo-lane highway; it is first hit by a shock wave of
air and then it is pulled toward the truck. A school bus driver can compensate for this
condition by planning ahead, reducing speed slightly, moving to.the right of the lane, and
keeping a firm grip on the steering wheel.

Speed Limits, Seat Belts, Lighted Head Lamps,‘ Railroad Crossing,
Passenger Capacity, And Inspection

Speed Limits:

1. School bus drivers must never drive at a speed that is faster than reasonable under
existing conditions.
2.7 School bus drivers must not exceed the posted speed limits at any.time.
Seat Belts: School buses manufactured after July 1,,1969, must be equipped with driver seat belts
and seat belt assemblies, All drivers are required to use.these seat belts. Type lll buses must
comply with Minnesota laws regarding seat belt and child passenger restraint system use.

Lighted Head Lamps: The driver must display lighted head lamps (low beam) during daylight
hours when transporting children.

Strobe Lamps: Type A, B, C, and D school buses may be equipped with a roof mounted 360
degree flashing strobe lamp that emits a white flashing light. The strobe lamp may be used only
when needed to alert motorists to the presence of the school bus because of weather conditions or
terrain that restricts the visibility of school bus lamps and signals. A strobe famp may not'be used -
unless the school bus: is actually being used as a school bus.

Railroad Crossings: All school buses, including type 11l school buses, are required to stop for all
railroad crossings, unless an "EXEMPT" sign is posted. The stop is required whether or not there -
are students aboard the bus. The school bus driver must turn on the four-way hazard warning lights
at least 100 feet from the nearest rail. The Master Switch must be OFF. It is ILLEGAL to use the 8-
light system at a railroad crossmg The presence of an "EXEMPT" sign does not relieve a driver of
the duty to use due care.

State and Federal law requires that school buses stop at least 15 feet back and no more then 50
feet from the nearest rail. A good rule of thumb is to stop about one bus length from the nearest
rail.

Procedures for checking railroad tracks include:
1. - be sure the Master Switch is OFF,
2. make sure passengers are quiet,
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3. -opefi‘the door and driver's window,
4. listen and look in both directions,
5. check in both directions again.

Before crossing the tracks, the driver should close the service door. When crossing the driver must
not shift-gears while crossing the railroad tracks. After the crossing is completed, the driver will
have to turn off the hazard warning lights and turn on the Master Switch if there will be more
loading and unloading stops. A school bus or Head Start bus must not be flagged across railroad
crossings except when it is authorized by the local school administrative officer .

Passenger Capacity: The number of pupils or other passengers in a school bus must not be more
than the number of pupils or passengers that can be fully seated. Seating capacity will be adjusted
according to the passengers' individual physical size, but not to exceed the manufacturer's rated
capacity. No person will stand while the bus is in motion.

Inspection:

1. No school bus will be registered for the first time in this state unless it has been certified

' “thatit conforms to all minimum standards and laws for buses:

2. Every school bus must be inspected annually by the Minnesota State Patrol. In addition to
the annual inspection, the Minnesota State Patrol has authority to conduct random,
unannounced spot inspections of any school bus or Head Start bus being operated within
the state. ,

3. No school bus may be driven without displaying a current valid inspection certificate.

4. Drivers should never operate a school bus that is improperly equipped or in an unsafe
condition. : :

Safety of School Children: Bus Driver’s Duties

The school bus endorsement of a driver who is convicted of violating the provisions of Minnesota
Statute 169.443 will be revoked for 30 days. This statute regulates the use of bus signals and stop
signal arms; when signals are not used; street crossings; moving the bus after children are
unloaded; and Type Il buses. ‘

Use of 8-Light Warning System, Stop Signal Arm,
Loading or Unloading (Type A, B, C, D)

School buses are equipped with a system of alternately flashing amber and red lights called an 8-
light system. The purpose of the flashing amber lights is to warn other drivers of a potentially
hazardous situation (the school bus is preparing to stop to load or unload students): The flashing
red lights indicate to other drivers that the school bus is stopped and is in the process of loading or
unloading students:

Student Pickup and Delivery

A school bus driver must activate the prewarning flashing amber signals of the bus before stopping
1o load or unload school children. The driver must activate and continuously operate the amber
signals for a distance of at least 100 feet before stopping in a speed zone of 35 miles per hour or
less and at least 300 feet before stopping in a speed zone of more than 35 miles per hour. Some
drivers use a time interval of 8-10 seconds to determine when to begin signaling before the stop.
On stopping for this purpose, the driver must extend the stop signal arm and activate the flashing
red signals. The driver must not retract the stop signal arm nor turn off the flashing red signals until
loading or unloading is completed, students are seated, and children who must.cross the roadway
are safely across.

The bus should be stopped in the middle of the right hand lane. As the bus nears the stop area, the
driver should count the students. It is good a practice to plan to stop 4-6 feet before reaching the
waiting students. This provides a good safety margin. The driver can then roll slowly forward until in
the proper position. Activate the flashing red lights and stop arm only after coming to a complete
stop. : .
Before moving on, count the students again, check side and crossover mirrors, and make sure the
passengers are seated. Close the service door before pulling away from the stop. ' .

Stop Signal Arm

The stop signal arm of a school bus must be used in conjuhction with the flashing red signals only :
when the school bus is stopped on a street or highway to load or unload school ,C;h/;l‘dren.k .




A local authority, including the governing body of an Indian tribe, may require
school bus use the stop signal arm and flashing red signals w topped ! unlo ;
school children at a location other than on a street or highwa ordinance must designate each
location where the requirement is imposed. T| he requirement is effective only if the local authority
has erected signs at or near the location to provide adequate notice to other vehicles that school
buses may use this area to load or unload students. -
Unloading Procedure . ‘
To unload ir-areas where the 8-light system will be used, follow these steps:

1. Check traffic in both directions. ‘ ' .

2. Activate alternately flashing amber Iights:

re by ordinance thata
ile : yed to load and unload

a. 300 feet before stopping in a speed zone of more than 35 mph.
b. 100 feet before stopping in a speed zone of 35 mph or less.

© 3. Slow gradually and stop in the roadway.

Check traffic to make sure it is able to stop.

Open the service door just a crack to turn on the alternately flashing red lights and activate
the stop arm. ' o

Make sure that all traffic is stopped before opening the door fully.
Count the students as they leave the bus. ;
Pupils should walk away from the bus and not go toward the rear of the bus.

Students who must cross the road should move out at least ten feet in front of the bus and
wait for the driver to signal that it is safe to cross. Check traffic carefully before giving the
signal to cross, :

10. A long steady blast of the horn can be used as a warning to students that it is NOT safe to
Cross.

11. Always check your mirrors and recount your students before moving the bus.
For.any TYPE Bus:
1. Never permit pupils to get up from their seats or get on or off the bus while it is in motion.

2. Bring the bus to a full stop and disengage gears by shifting the gear shift lever into the
neutral position or the selector into the neutral or park position before loading or unloading
pupils: ‘

3. Loading or unloading in a Designated Turn Lane or in a lane immediately adjacent to a
Designated Turn Lane is prohibited, unless the turn lane is a designated school bus stop at
which pupils are not required to cross the road. Under these circumstances, the bus must
stop at the extreme right-hand side of the turn lane and the eight-light system and stop arm
should not be used. Loading and unloading pupils within an intersection is prohibited.

4. When children are getting off a school bus, the driver must look to make sure that the
children will be a safe distance from the bus before moving the bus.

For Types A, B, C, and D:

1. Never load or unload pupils where the view is obstructed to other motorists for 500 feet in
either direction on a roadway with a speed limit of 35 miles per hour or greater. When the
speed limit is less than 35 miles per hour the view must be unobstructed for 100 feet in
either direction.

2 Buses must load and unload in the right lane of the roadway and only at pupil stops
- designated by school district authorities on approved bus routes: :

3. The driver is responsible for safely delivering the pupils, who must cross the street or
highway, to the left side of the road by one of the following methods:

a. The pupil must pass around in front of the bus and cross the road only when directed
to by the.driver, or : :
b. The pupil must pass around in front of the bus and be conducted across the road by
the school bus patrof.or monitor, or

c. The driver must personally conduct the pupils across the road. If the driver escorts, the
motor must be stopped, the ignition key removed, brakes set, and vehicle otherwise
rendered immobile. ‘

ok
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8-Light Warning System, Not Used ‘
School bus drivers must not use the prewarning flashing amber signals or flashing red signals:

1. In special school bus loading areas where the bus is entirely off the traveled portion of the
roadway and where no other motor vehicle traffic is moving or ns likely to be moving within
20 feet of the bus;

2. When directed not to do so, in writing, by the local school board;

3. When a school bus is being used on a street or highway for purposes other than the actual
transportation of school children to or from school or a school-approved actMty,

4. Atrailroad crossings; and

5. Whenloading and unloading people while the bus is completely off the traveled portion of a
separated, one-way roadway that has adequate shoulders. The driver must drive the bus -
completely off the traveled portion of this roadway before loading or unloading people.

Where school children must cross a roadway. before getting on or after getting off the school bus,
the school bus driver or a school bus patrol may supervise the crossing, using the standard school
patrol flag or signal approved by the commissioner of public safety. Before moving the school bus,
the driver of the bus must look to make sure that all children have crossed the roadway and that
those who are to do so have boarded the school bus.

Student Pickup

The.driver-should be thoroughly familiar with:local policies regarding loading and unloading
procedures. The: following procedure is recommended when the 8-light system is not used.

1. Check traffic in both directions:

2. Activate right turn signal at least 100 feet (or 8-10 seconds) before the stop. (Some local
palicies call for the use of hazard warning lights. Be familiar with the procedures used in
your school district.)

3.. .. Touch brake pedal to activate brake lights.
4. - Make sure 8-light Master Switch is'OFF.

5. Move to the right next to the curb. Plan to stop 6-8 feet before reaching students. Allow bus
: to roll forward slowly:.

After students are on board and seated:
1, Turn off hazard warning lights if used.
2. Turn on left turn signal.
3. Check mirrors.
4. Pull away from the curb when safe to-do so.

Unloading Procedure

Unloading in areas where the 8-light system is not used is basically the same as for pickups. There
are a few items that are different.

1. Make sure all students remain seated until the bus is completely stopped.
Count the students as'theyleave the bus.

Students should walk away from the bus and not go toward the rear of the bus.
Check your crossover and side mirrors.

Count the students again. Be absolutely certain that all students are safely away from the
bus before pulling away from the curb.

Type lll Buses:

T

1. Must not operate as aType A, B, C, or D bus.

2.~ Must not load or unload in a traffic lane or on the shoulder. Loading and unloading MUST
- BE RESTRICTED to curb, non-traffic side (normal parking lane), off-street loading areas,
driveways, yard service and other areas to avoid hazardous conditions.

3. - Must not load or unjoad so that a child has to cross the recad. Where this is not possible or
impractical, the driver or aide must personally escort the child across the road. If the driver
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escorts the child, the motor must be stopped, ignition key removed, brakes setand the
vehicle otherwise rendered immobile.

4. Minnesota Statutes requiring the use of seat belts and passenger restramt systems for
children apply to Type: |l buses.

5. When loading or unloading school children, the driver must use the vehicle's four- “way
hazard lights.

Safety of School Children: Duties of Other Drivers
Children Getting On or Off School Bus

When a school bus is stopped and has its stop arm extended and its red lights flashing, the driver-
of a vehicle approaching the bus must stop at least 20 feet away from the bus. The driver must not
allow the vehicle to move until the schoo! bus stop arm is retracted and the red lights are no longer
flashing.

Violations by Drivers

1. A driver who doesn't stop for a school bus as required is guilty of a misdemeanor
punishable by a fine of not less than $300. The driver may also have-his/her driving
privileges suspended. The driver may have his/her driving privileges revoked if two or more
violations occur within five years.

2. A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor and is subject to revocation if the driver doesn’t
stop for a school bus as required and commits either or both of the following acts:

a. passes or tries to pass the school bus on the right-hand, passenger-door side of the
bus; or
b. passes or tries to pass the school bus when a school child is outside on the street or

highway used by the school bus or on the adjacent sidewalk.
School Bus Accident Procedures

The school bus driver's prime responsibility in accident situations is the safety and well-being of the
students being fransported. .

. Standard Accident Procedures:
1. Stop and remain at or near the accident.
2. Evacuate students from the bus /f:
a. There is a fire or danger of fire,
b. The bus is in an unsafe position, or
c¢.- There is danger of drowning.
3. Try to prevent other accidents. Set out emergency warning devices. Use hazard warning
lights.
4. Aid the injured. -

5. Send two members of the patrol or other responsible students for help. The driver must
remain with the bus. :

6. Give and collect information. You are required by law to give your name, address, date of
birth, driver's license information, vehicle information, and insurance information: Get the
same information from the other driver. Get names and other information from witnesses.

7. Report to the proper authorities.
8. . If the accident results in death or serious personal injury on the school bus, or property

damage to the school bus of an apparent extent of more than $4400, do not use the school

bus to transport students unless the vehicle:

a. has been inspected by the Minnesota State Patrol and the State Patrol has determined
that the vehicle may safely be operated; or

b. awaiver has been granted by the state trooper or designee of the Minnesota State
Patrol called to the scene of the accident. The waiver may be granted if the trooper or
designee determines that a postcrash inspection is not needed or cannot be done
without unreasonable delay. The trooper or designee must give the driver a written
statement that the inspection has been waived. The written statement must include the
incident report number assigned to the accident by the State Patrol.
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Reports
The driver must make the following reports:

1. All accidents involving personal injury or death, and/or property damage of $1000.00 or
more must be reported to the commissioner of public safety.

2. Drivers must make reports, and keep copies of reports, as required by the employer.

School Bus Driver Immunity from Liability

A school bus driver who, while on duty, gives care, advice, or assistance at the scene of an
emergency or on the way to a hospital or clinic, is not liable for any civil damages because of
anything the driver did or didn’t do for the person who was injured.

Driving Rules

Refer to the Minnesota Driver's Manual for information on driving laws and rules.

Backing

Backing should be avoided whenever possible when ariving a school bus. School districts’ policies
may vary.regarding backing. The school bus driver should be thoroughly familiar with any local
policy regarding backing. If it is necessary to back the bus, make absolutely certain that:

1. 'Itis necessary.
2. You activate the 4-way hazard warning lights.

3. You have an unrestricted view. You should be able to see if any moving vehicles are within
500 feet in either direction.

“- 4. You have enough space. Remember the overhang of the bus.

5.© No pupils are outside the bus when it is backing. When there is a student pick-up or
unloading at a backing point, you must always load before backing and unload after

backing.

6. ltis quiet on board. You want to be able to hear sounds or the warnings of passengers or
bystanders.

7. It was necessary, especially if the maneuver is to be repeated, and that you can justify the
turnaround.

Following Distance

Minnesota law requires that trucks and buses maintain a following distance of at least 500 feet on
highways. This law does not apply when passing another vehicle or when traveling in a designated
truck lane,

A good way to judge a safe following distance behind another vehicle is to use the time interval
method. The time interval works like this:

1.. Choose a reference point on or near the road (a shadow, road repair patch, telephone
pole, tree, etc.).

2. Count off the seconds it takes from the time the back of the vehicle ahead passes the
reference point until the front of your vehicle passes the same point.

An interval of about 8 seconds is required to maintain a following distance of 500 feet at- 45 MPH.

When driving a school bus under good road and weather conditions on business or residential
streets, the interval should be at least 4 seconds. If the road is wet or icy, you should ailow more
time behind the vehicle you are following. On.wet roads, the minimum should be at least 6
seconds, on icy roads it should be at least 8 seconds.

You must maintain at least a 50-foot interval when following another bus entering or leaving the
school grounds.
Passing
The time interval method can be used in passing situations. When passing:
1. Stay back at least 4 seconds,
2. Check for signs and road markings,
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Check traffic ahead,

~ Check traffic behind and to the left,
Signal lane change to the left,
Double check signs, markings, and traffic,
Move to the left and proceed to pass.

Remember that it will take 10 to 20 seconds to complete the pass. Pull back to'the right only when
you can see enough space between your bus and the other vehicle. Remember speed limits at all
times. If you feel it will be necessary to speed in order to pass, you should not pass.

Daily Safety Check

3.
4.
5.
6.
7.

No school bus may be driven unless the driver or other designated person has inspected the
vehicle to ensure that, at a minimum, the fo!lowmg parts and accessories are in good working
order:

. Service brakes, including trailer brake connections;

.. Parking (hand) brakes;

. Steering mechanism;

.. Lighting devices and reflectors;

. Tires;

. Fluid levels;

- Horn;

.- Windshield wiper or wipers;

. Rear-vision and crossover mirrors, mcludmg their proper adjustment;
10.: Eight-lamp system; and
11.-Stop-arm.

A copy of the current daily pre-trip inspection report must be carried in the bus.

Local pre-trip inspection policies may vary widely. Every driver should be familiar with the policies
of his or her employer. :

QNG O D WO =
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Pre-trip Inspection

State law requires that a daily pre-trip inspection must be conducted for each school bus. Local
policies may vary as to who is responsible for the pre-trip inspection. In most cases, the school bus
driver will personally perform the inspection. ,

School Bus Patrol

The organization and use of a'School Bus Patrol is recommended to assist the bus driver in the
safe operation of the vehicle. These patrols can be very helpful in maintaining order and preventing
_accidents on buses, and in assisting pupils safely across highways.

School Safety Patrols for buses should be appomted organized, and governed in the same
manner as regular School Safety Patrols: -

The school bus driver should be present at the organization of the School Bus Safety Patrol and
should be familiar with ali rules and regulations governing the duties of patrol members.

When it appears that the patrol member is having difficulty carrying out his or her duties, the driver
must promptly give necessary assistance. The driver must maintain supervision over the School
Bus Safety Patrol. The driver is responsible for the safety of the pupils, and the presence of a
School Safety Patrol member in no way relieves a driver from such responsibility

When selecting members for a School Bus Safety Patrol, personality, strength, and physical size
should be taken into consideration. Alternates should be appointed to serve during the absence of
the regular patrol members. There should be two regular members of the School Safety Patrol for
each bus — one in the rear of the bus near the emergency door and the other to supervise the
operation of the regular entrance door and perform such other duties that may be assigned to the
position.
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Pre-Trip Inspection Test — School Bus

HECK ENGINE COMPARTMENT | CHECK AIR BRAKES SYSTEM:
O 0 Oillovel YES . NO 00 PASS - O FAIL
0 O Autotrans fluid 0 O Testparking brake
0 O Alternator o ‘E] O :Test service b'rake

: -0 O One minute air loss (emergency brake
[~ O Belts and hoses , off, Engine off key on, apply service
0 U Power steering pump ‘ brake. Air loss no more than 3 psi.)
0 O  Power steering fluid O O Pump service brake until low air
0 0O Coolant level : waming activates. (60 psi)
0 [0 Water pump 0 O Continue pumping brake until spring
0 0O  Air compressor ‘ brakes activate (20-40 psi) Start
O O  Fluid level / Master cylinder engine & try to pull away.
(1. [0 Other leaks '
8 INTERNAL INSPECTION:

l~ EXTERNAL INSPECTION | (Start engine with parking brake on)
Each Wheel- 0O [0 Oil pressure builds
0 O Tires (pressur;:, tread depth, etc) g E] é;::lriiter '; JOI(tImOe;Zr rees or 27)
(1 [0  Lugnuts, rims ' ‘D e gplay g
0 [0  Axle seals .
O - OO  Brakes: (drums, rotors, linings) D‘ . CI.utCh or. gearshift
00 [0 Slack adjusters, chambers, hoses 0o Ml.rror adjustment
[1 [0  Springs, shock absorbers ED] g \I)-‘I[els teerrs/ Lkiostor
0 1 Whealflaps' 0 O Fuses/ breakers
Other Items- ; ; 00 (. Fire ext'ingui.sher
0 O Signal lights, brake lights [0 Reflective triangles
[0 [ Headlights, haz., marker Pass  Fail : §-lamp system
g 0 ‘ Reflectors . (ambers, reds, stop arm)
0 O Exterior rear door latch V Pass  Fail  Firstaid & body fluid clean
0O 0O Mirrors up kits.
(] [0 Fueltank/cap Pass Fail Rear door buzzer
. Pass Fail ~ DOT /SB inspection sticker
r . CONVENTIONAL BRAKES i Pass Fail  Each emergency exit type

(0 [0 Check parking brake.
1 [ Check service brake.
0 [0 Check electrical assist

Must show proof of insurance to
receive road test

~ Pre-Trip Pass Pre-Trip Fail
- 8 items missed to fail
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