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2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Trespass Law 
The trespass law applies to all outdoor recreation, including but not 

limited to: hunting, boating, fishing, trapping, hiking, and camping. 
When taking part in any outdoor recreation, you may not enter legally 
posted land or agricultural land without permission. 

Landowners, lessees, or authorized managers need only post their 
land once a year. The signs must be placed at intervals of 1,000 feet 
(500 feet in wooded areas) or signs may be placed at primary corners 
and at access points to the property. Signs must state “No Trespassing," 
or similar words, in 2-inch-high letters and have the signature or name 
and telephone number of the landowner, lessee, or manager. 

There can be civil or criminal penalties for violation of the trespass 
laws with maximum fines up to $3,000 and license revocation. All con­
servation officers and peace officers enforce trespass laws. 

Rules of Thumb for Water Access and Recreational Use 
These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all 

water access and recreational use situations. If you have doubts about 
whether you may be trespassing on private land, you should ask the land­
owner for permission. 

What is lawful access? 
A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or 

if public land or a public road right-of-way borders the surface of the 
water, or if you have permission to cross private land to reach the surface 
of the water. This includes walking in the water or on the ice in connec­
tion with such activities regardless of who owns the land beneath the 
surface of the water. 

What waters are open to recreational use? 
A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface if it 

is capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water 
that will float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other waters 
may also qualify depending upon the circumstances. 

Respect private 
When in doubt, property when 
ask permission. fishing near 

docks. 

DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 2 



DEFINITIONS

Some anglers might not be familiar with the following terms used in this 
regulations booklet: 

Designated
stream
trout
lakes–
These waters have been stocked 
with trout that are native to streams: rainbow, brown, or brook trout. 
Some also have splake, a cross between a lake trout and a brook trout. 
Inland
waters–
Lakes and rivers within Minnesota not bordering 
Canada or another state. 

Immediately
release
or
returned
to
the
water
–
Fish must 
not be retained longer than is needed at the site of capture to unhook, 
identify, measure, and photograph. Placing the fish in any type of con-
tainer or on a stringer is not immediately released. Any fish not immedi-
ately released is considered to be “reduced to possession.” 

new 

Daily
and
possession
limits
(bags)–
For most species of fish, the 
daily and possession limit is the same. One exception would be the inland 
limit on yellow perch, which is 20 per day and 40 in possession. The 
daily and possession limits include fish possessed by the person at all 
locations including such places as livewell, cold storage, at home, or at a 
resort. Daily limit is the number of fish an angler can take in one calen-
dar day. Eating those fish or gifting them away on the same day does not 
allow an angler to possess additional fish taken in the same calendar day. 
Harvest
slot
limit–
Allows the harvest of fish from a designated size 
range.
Maximum
size
limit–
Prohibits the harvest of fish from some specified 
length and larger. 
Minimum
size
limit–
Prohibits harvest of fish less than a specified 
length.
Minnows–
Members of the minnow family, except carp and goldfish; 
bullheads, ciscoes, lake whitefish, goldeyes, and mooneyes (not over 
seven inches long); suckers (not over 12 inches long); mud minnows, 
leeches, tadpole madtoms and stonecats. (Note: border water regulations 
may vary.) 
One-over
the
size
limit–
Allows the harvest of one fish over a set size 
limit as part of the daily or possession limit. 
Protected
slot
limit–
Prohibits harvest of fish from a designated size 
range. Fish within this size range must be released. 
Rough
fish–
Carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, cisco, 
gar, goldeye, and bullhead. (Note: border waters regulations may vary.) 

DNR
Web
site:
mndnr.gov
 3
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2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367

NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2008
• Fishing licenses. stamps and tags are valid for 14 months (pg. 5)
• New fish house/dark house licenses rates and the elimination of licenses if the 

houses will not be left unattended overnight (pg. 5 &55)
• New non-resident license fees (pg. 5)
• New military licenses (pg. 6 & 7)
• Able to use a lighted spearing decoy (pg. 55)
• Can prepare a meal of fish with size restrictions while on the ice (pg. 8)
• Additional transportation and packing requirements (pg. 9 & 10)
• Fees for fishing contest permits now apply  (pg. 11)
• Closure of muskie fishing on December 1 (pg. 13)
• Shoepac Lake (St. Louis Co.) 40 inch minimum size for muskie (pg. 13)
• Opening up of all lakes to winter trout fishing in Aitkin and Blue Lake in 

Hubbard Co. (pg. 15)
• New northern pike regulations for Canadian border and Basswood Lake (pg. 

44)
• Night bowfishing allowed on selected water bodies from June 1 to last day in 

August (pg. 53) 
•	 Changes in opening dates for South Dakota Border Waters (pg. 48 & 49)
• Additions to infested waters list (pg. 62 & 63)
• Need a permit to take madtoms and stonecats in Dodge, Freeborn, or Mower 

Counties to protect slender madtom (pg. 69)
•	 Take-A-Kid Ice Fishing (pg. 72)
•	 Trailer licenses needed for hauling shelters (pg. 55)

New Experimental/Special Regulations
Added or modified 14 lakes and 2 rivers with quality walleye, bass, northern 

pike, sunfish, and/or crappie regulations (pgs. 20-41). Key waterbodies being 
changed: Pelican Lake (St. Louis), Red Lake (Beltrami), St. Louis River.

Special Regulations dropped this year from the following lakes:
• Andrews, Burgen (Douglas County)   • Battle, East (Ottertail County)
• Dudley, Kelly (Rice County)   • Reeds (Waseca County)

Special Regulations for yellow perch have been dropped this year from:
• Mink-Somers (Wright County)
	

Additions to Synopsis
• Updated record fish list (pg. 73)
• Clarification of “immediately released or returned to the water” (pg. 3)
• Clarify illegal to use throw nets (pg. 68)
• Bullfrog information (pg. 68)

Regulation Changes that might be implemented
• Allow larger bullheads to be used as bait in certain areas of the state
• Legalize some multiple hook configurations.
• Changes and clarifications to fishing contests rules 
• Need to keep fish carcass if preparing meals on waterbodies with size limits.

 update
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FISHING LICENSES
The Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues licenses and stamps 

through 1,800 license agent locations statewide. Agents charge an issuing 
fee for each license and stamp sold.

Instant licenses, except lifetime, and stamps are also available online 
at www.dnr.state mn.us or by telephone at (888) 665-4236. An additional 
$3.50 convenience fee is added for sales via the Web site or telephone. 
First time purchase of lifetime license only available at DNR License 
Center in St. Paul.

1	 The marriage must be legal as recognized by Minnesota law.
2	 A sports combination license is one small game hunting license and two fishing licenses.
3	 A sports license includes fishing and small game hunting.
4	 Also requires the purchase of an angling license, unless specifically exempted.
5	 Applications available through the DNR Information Center (888) 646-6367.
6	 Includes trapping.

Must be 
Minnesota 
resident for 
one year.

 new

 new

 new

 update

 update

2008 FISHING LICENSE FEES March 1, 2008 through April 30, 2009

(Price does not include any additional issuing or surcharge fees.) 
Duplicate licenses can be purchased from any ELS agent. Each license and stamp costs $2.50. 

A drivers license, Minnesota identification or MNDNR number is required to obtain a duplicate.

RESIDENT LICENSES            	  
	 Angling, Individual (age 16 and older)	 $17.00
	 Angling, Combination (husband and wife1)	 25.00
	 Angling, Individual 24 Hour	 8.50
	 Sports, Individual3	 29.50
	 Sports, Combination (husband and wife1)2	 38.50
	 Dark House Spearing4	 17.00
	 Trout and Salmon Stamp

 update

	 10.00
	 Fish House or Dark House if left unattended overnight 	 11.50
	 	 • 3 year license 	 34.50	
	 Whitefish Netting4	 10.00
	 Rental Fish House or Dark House 	 26.00
	 	 • 3 year license if rented	 78.00
	 Recreational Turtle License4 (See page 69 for requirements)	 25.00
	 Sturgeon Tag4 (See page 49 for requirements)	 5.00

LIFETIME LICENSE5	 Fishing 	 Small Game6 	 Sports6  
	 age 3 and under	 $227	 $217	 $357 
	 4 to age 15	 $300	 $290	 $480 
	 16 to age 50	 $383	 $363	 $613 
	 51 and over	 $203	 $213	 $413

NONRESIDENT LICENSES            
	
	 Angling, Individual	 $37.50
	 Angling, Family (one or both parents and children under age 16) 	 50.50
	 Angling, Individual 7 Day	 26.50
	 Angling, Individual 24 Hour	 8.50
	 Angling, Individual 72 Hour	 22.00
	 Angling, Husband and Wife1 14 Day	 38.50
	 Angling, Youth	 17.00
	 Trout and Salmon Stamp

 update

	 10.00
	 Fish House (See pages 55–58 for requirements)	 33.00
	 Fish House 7 Day	 19.00
	  	 • 3 year license 	 99.00
	 Sturgeon Tag4 (See page 49 for requirements)	 5.00

LIFETIME LICENSE5	 Fishing 	 Small Game 	   
	 age 3 and under	 $447	 $947	
	 4 to age 15	 $600	 $1,280	  
	 16 to age 50	 $773	 $1,633	  
	 51 and over	 $513	 $1,083	

 update

 update



 

      
      

 

 
 

 
   

   
   

    
  

 

 

   

 

2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Trout Stamp 
Trout stamp validations are printed on 

the ELS license. This is the only verifi­
cation needed to prove purchase of the 
trout stamp. Purchasers may request the 
actual pictorial stamp for an additional 
$2, but it is not needed for fishing. 

Except as noted, anglers need a trout 
stamp validation and a fishing or sports 
license when fishing in designated trout 
streams, designated trout lakes, Lake 
Superior, or when in possession of trout or salmon. Trout stamps are not 
required for children less than 16 years old, adults who are 65 and older, 
people fishing with a 24-hour license, or people who are exempt from 
fishing license requirements or who receive a fishing license at no charge. 

License Requirements 
All people 16 years and older need a license unless otherwise 

noted. To purchase a non-commercial game or fish license, nonresi­
dents and residents must have their social security number on file 
with DNR or must provide it. 

Residents 
• To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence 

in Minnesota for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing 

a license.
 
• Residents 21 or older must provide a valid Minnesota Driver’s license 

or ID card, unless exempt under the Religious Freedom act. 
• A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident. 
• All residents age 15 and younger are allowed to take their own limit of 

fish without purchasing a license. 

Nonresidents 
• All nonresidents age 16 and older are required to have an appropriate 

fishing license while angling. Nonresidents under age 16 don’t need a 

license if the parent or guardian is licensed. Children of an adult who 
has a Minnesota nonresident family license may possess their own limit 
of fish. However, if the adult has an individual license, the child’s fish 
are included in the adult’s limit. Nonresidents under age 16 may pur-
chase a license and possess their own limit of fish. 

Nonresident Students and Military 
• A person in the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed or training in the 

state and their spouse may purchase a resident fishing license. (Must 
show proof.) 
• Students spending the full-term school year may purchase a resident 

license with proof of student status. 
DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 

2008 Trout Stamp 
Artist: Jason Grangroth. Monticello, MN 

new 
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Fishing Licenses 

new 

License Revocation 
Fishing privileges may be revoked for one year for two or more con­

victions of fishing violations in three years. Violations of fishing laws in 
other states may affect fishing privileges in Minnesota. 

Under the gross over limits penalty provisions, privileges can be 
revoked for three or five years, depending on the number of fish involved 
in the violation. 

Exempt from License Requirement 
• Minnesota residents in the U.S. Military who are stationed outside the 

state. Military staff must carry leave or furlough papers. 
• Patients of a U.S. Veterans Administration hospital, residents of a 

Minnesota licensed nursing or boarding care home, and residents of a 
licensed board and lodging facility. 
• Residents who have served in military service during the preceding 

24 months and are now discharged. (Discharge papers must be in 

possession while fishing or transporting fish.)
 

Licenses issued without a fee 
• Permanent angling license will be issued to any Minnesota resident 

over age 16 who is developmentally disabled or a veteran with a 100 
percent service-connected disability. Available only from the DNR 
License Center. 
• Annual angling and/or spearing license may be issued to Minnesota 

residents who are blind, disabled, and receiving a supplemental income 
(SSI, SSD), receiving worker’s compensation for total and permanent 
disability, ward of the Commissioner of Human Services, a resident 
of a state institution that as an approved application. SSI or SSD benefit 
verification, is available online at www.socialsecurity.gov, by calling 1­
800-772-1213 or at your local Social Security office. 
• Foreign exchange students may receive a free annual angling license 

with proof of their foreign exchange student status. 

An unlicensed person may assist a disabled angler who has a disability 
license, provided that only the number of lawful lines are in use. 

For additional details on free license and exceptions, see the DNR Web 
site. 

Public Record Notice 
Your social security number is not part of the public record. 

Note: All persons required to have a license (including stamp 
validations) must have it in their possession while fishing and while 
traveling from an area where they fished. 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 7 
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gENERAL
REgULATIONS

The following regulations apply to all Minnesota waters unless noted 

otherwise in this booklet. 

Angling
Methods

• Anglers may use only one hook. An artificial lure is considered one 

hook. A treble hook, when not part of an artificial lure, is considered 
three hooks and is not legal. The exception is three artificial flies may 
be used when angling for trout, crappie, sunfish, and rock bass. 
• Anglers may use only one line during the open water season and two 

through the ice (other than on designated trout lakes and streams) 
unless otherwise noted. 
• Using whole or parts of game fish, goldfish, or carp for bait is 

unlawful. 
• You may not intentionally fish for any species during its closed season. 
• Angling with an unattended line, a setline, or a trotline is unlawful.
• Using an artificial light to lure or attract fish is unlawful. Exception: 

While angling, a person may affix to the end of a fishing line a lighted 
artificial bait with hooks attached. Any battery that is used in lighted 
fishing lures cannot contain any intentionally introduced mercury. 
• A party is defined as a group of two or more persons:

– angling from a single watercraft; or 
– if not in a watercraft, maintaining unaided visual and vocal contact 

with each other. The total number of fish possessed by the party 
may not exceed the combined limits of the numbers of the party. 
Each party member may transport only an individual limit of fish. 

• The use of explosives, firearms, chemicals (not including fish scents), 
spring devices, or electricity for taking fish is unlawful. 
• It is unlawful to take a fish by snagging.

Possessing
Fish

• Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. Fish  
are in an angler’s possession whether on hand, in cold storage, in 
transport, or elsewhere. 
• Once a daily or possession limit of fish has been reached, no culling or 

live-well sorting is allowed. 
• While on or fishing waters with size restrictions, all fish for which new 

the size restriction applies must have their heads, tails, fins, and skin 
intact and be measurable. A person may prepare and use the fish for 
a meal while docked or moored to shore, or while on the ice. Fish 
prepared and used for a meal still count towards the daily possession 
limit.

DNR
Information:
(651)
296­6157
or
(888)
646­6367
8
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•	While on or fishing waters with size restrictions it is illegal to possess 
any fish outside legal length limits.

•	A person who is in transit and taking the most direct route back to 
their lodging or docking, and not fishing, may possess fish outside of 
or in excess of the limits for that water body, if legally taken from a 
connected water.

•	Possessing or transporting white perch, ruffe, round goby, black carp, 
bighead carp, grass carp, or silver carp is unlawful, except when taking 
them to the DNR.

Transporting Fish
•	 Except while on the body of water where taken, live fish may not be 

transported in a quantity of water sufficient to keep them alive unless the 
fish are bait minnows or the person is authorized to do so by the DNR.

•	Transport of fish for display in a home aquarium is legal under the 
following conditions: 

–	Game fish purchased from an authorized licensee transported with 
the necessary documents (such as a sales receipt). 

–	Anglers 16 or under may transport legally caught largemouth bass, 
smallmouth bass, yellow perch, rock bass, black crappie, white 
crappie, bluegill, pumpkinseed, green sunfish, orange spotted 
sunfish, and black, yellow, and brown bullhead. No more than 
four of each species may be transported at any one time, and any 
individual fish can be no longer than 10 inches. At no time may 
water from infested waters be transported. 

•	Fish prepared for transportation, shipment, or storage are defined as 
follows: 

Undressed fish must have heads, tails, fins, and skin intact. Entrails, 
gills, and scales may be removed. 

Dressed fish may have heads and scales or skin removed, in addition 
to gills and entrails.

Fillets are fish flesh, excluding cheeks, that have been removed from 
a fish. Scales or skin may be removed or intact. A fish may not be 
reduced to more than two fillets.

•	Fish must be packaged or transported in such a way that they can be 
readily unwrapped, separated, identified and counted.

•	Muskellunge, sturgeon, catfish, salmon, splake, brook trout, brown 
trout and rainbow trout, which have statewide length limits, 
must be transported with head and tail intact so the fish can be 
measured. Northern pike and walleye may be dressed or filleted.

•	All dressed fish and fillets must have a 1-square-inch patch of skin 
with scales intact from a portion of the body other than the belly. 
Sauger prepared in this manner are counted as walleye. Bullhead, 
sunfish, and crappie, may be completely filleted and skinned.

General Regulations

 update
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DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367

One of the best 
ways to transport 
your fish so they 
can be counted 
and identified is 
in clear plastic 
freezer bags.

Fillets must show 
at least a 1-square-
inch patch of skin 
with scales so fish 
species can be 
identified.

• 	Stocking live fish or fish eggs or transferring fish or fish eggs from one 
body of water to another is prohibited without a DNR permit.

Shipment
•	Licensed anglers may make three shipments of fish per year. A permit 

issued by a conservation officer is required for each shipment. A 

shipment cannot contain more than a possession limit of one species. 

•	Fish which have been prepared, packed, and labeled by a licensed fish 
packer must comply with regulations governing licensed fish packers 
and those regarding fish species length limits. Packaging must 
include waterbody where taken and total length of each fish with 
a size limit. From March 15 through November 30, filleted sauger are 
counted as walleye.

Storage
 new • A person who stores fish for another must plainly mark the 

package, in ink, with the name, address, and fishing license number of 
the owner, and the number of fish in the package, the waterbody where 
taken, and total length of each fish with a size limit.

Other
•	A permit is required for transplanting aquatic plants, placing exotic 

species, applying chemicals and some types of cutting to control vege
tation in any public waters. (See page 52 for more information).

•	Dragging boat anchors or other weights with a motor-propelled boat 
through aquatic vegetation is unlawful.

•	Depositing fish entrails or fish parts into public waters or onto lake or 
stream shores is prohibited.

•	Littering of any materials and depositing rubbish, poisonous substanc
es, or chemicals harmful to aquatic life into public waters, onto ice, 

 update
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or lake or stream shores is illegal. Fish line and various packaging 
materials can be harmful to wildlife.

•	Marking or tagging fish and then releasing them without a DNR 
permit is unlawful. 

•	A DNR permit is required for any fishing contest when entry fees 
exceed $25, prizes exceed $25,000, or when participants exceed 30 for 
open water and 150 for ice fishing. See DNR Web site or call DNR 
Information Center for more information and to get costs for permit.

• 	A permit from the county sheriff is required for most organized events 
on the water or ice.

•	Buying or selling game fish, whitefish, or cisco is unlawful. The 
exceptions are smelt taken from Lake Superior and fish obtained under 
a commercial, private hatchery, or aquatic farm license. 

•	Some fish spawning areas are posted to prohibit motorized boat travel. 
Landowners or lease holders adjacent to these areas may use the 
shortest route when traveling to and from their property, provided they 
operate their boat at no more than 5 mph.

•	 Importing live minnows into Minnesota for use as bait is unlawful.
•	Notice to fall anglers: Lakes classified as Waterfowl Feeding and 

Resting Areas and Wildlife Management Areas are closed to 
motorboats as posted during the fall waterfowl hunting season. 
Refer to the most current hunting regulations for a complete list of 
these lakes. Please give resting flocks of birds and hunting decoys 
a wide berth when boating and fishing.

• 	Some ponds and lakes are licensed for private aquaculture use. 
Trespassing to gain access to these waters may be in violation of 
fishing laws in addition to trespassing laws.

•	Any fish that is caught and will not be utilized must be immediately 
returned alive back into the water. A person cannot wantonly waste 
a fish that is caught by leaving it or any usable portion on the ice, 
thrown up on the bank, or intentionally killing it and returning it back 
into the water unless authorized.

General Regulations

Residents and non-residents who violate fishing laws in Minnesota 
are finding out that poaching can be costly. Several recent cases 
demonstrate that Minnesota Courts are willing to hand out big 
fines and restitution charges to people who take fish illegally.  
In addition to stiffer penalties, poachers could have their fish 
and game licenses seized including having their boats, motors 
and trailers confiscated.  The DNR recognizes that thousands of 
sportsmen and women take part in hunting and fishing activities 
and never violate any laws. Unfortunately there are still some 
people out there who show an utter disrespect for game and fish 
laws.  

 new
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For
Your
Information



Total
Length

To
determine
the
legal
length
of
a
fish,
lay
it
flat
on
its
side,

squeeze
the
tail
from
tip
to
tip,
and
measure
from
the
nose
or

jaw,
whichever
is
longer,
to
the
farthest
tip
of
the
tail
when
fully

extended.


Mouth


closed


6 7 8 9 10 11 121 2 3 4

1 2 3 4 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

Sturgeon
measurements

Sturgeon mage by Maynard Reece 

For
Your
Information


Fishing
Ethics

As
fishing
pres
sure
continues
to
grow,
the
DNR
offers
these


sug
ges
tions
to
make
fishing
safe
and
enjoyable
for
all

anglers:


•	 Don’t	litter	monofilament	fishing	line,	styrofoam,	plastic	bags,	six-

pack
holders,
and
other
plastics,
which
can
kill
fish
and
wildlife

that
eat
or
get
tangled
up
in
these
prod
ucts.

•	 Prepare	your	boat	and	trailer	before	you	are	on	the	ramp	so	that	

you
can
launch
quickly.

•	 Ask	for	permission	before	entering	private	land.	
•	 Keep	only	the	amount	of	fish	you	can	use.
•	 Release	some	medium-sized	fish	so	they	can	grow	larger	and	be	

caught
in
the
future.
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WALLEYE
 May
10,
2008­ 6*
(Not
more
than
1

and
SAUgER
 Feb.
22,
2009
 walleye
over
20"
may
be

(either
or
combined)
 taken
each
day.)


*(Minimum
size
limit
15"
for
walleye
on
the
inland
waters
of
Pool
3
[dam
at
Hastings

to
railroad
tracks
on
the
Minnesota—Wisconsin
border]).


NORTHERN
PIKE
 May
10,
2008­ 3
(Not
more
than
1
over
30"

Feb.
22,
2009
 may
be
taken
each
day.)


MUSKELLUNgE
 June
7,
2008­
 1
combined
(Minimum

new including
HYBRID
 Dec.
1,
2008
 size
40")


MUSKELLUNgE


LARgEMOUTH
 May
24,
2008­
 6

and
SMALLMOUTH
 Feb.
22,
2009
 Catch­and­release
only
for

BASS
(either
or
 (May
10,
2008­ smallmouth
bass
from
Sept.
8

combined)
 Feb.
22,
2009,
 through
the
end
of
the
season.


north
and
east
of

U.S.
Hwy.
53
from

Duluth
to
Inter­
national
Falls
and


	 	 	 	 	 Pelican	and	Ash	
lakes
in
St.
Louis

County.)


CRAPPIE
 Continuous
 10


SUNFISH*
 Continuous
 20

(either
or
combined)

*(bluegill,
pumpkinseed,
green,
orange
spotted,
longear,
warmouth,
and
their
hybrids)


ROCK
BASS
 Continuous
 30


WHITE
BASS
 Continuous
 30


SEASONS
AND
LIMITS

Inland
Waters

• All calendar dates are for 2008 unless noted otherwise. 
• Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. 
• Most species have experimental or special regulations on some waters. 

See pages 20-41. 
• For Lake Superior, Canada, Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota, and North 

Dakota border water regulations, see pages 16-19, 42-52. 

SPECIES
 OPEN
SEASON
 POSSESSION
LIMIT
(SIZE)


SEASONS
AND
LIMITS–INLAND
WATERS


continued on next page 

DNR
Web
site:
mndnr.gov
 13
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2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367

SEASONS AND LIMITS–INLAND WATERS continued

SPECIES				    OPEN SEASON			   POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Channel and			   Continuous 				    5 (Only 1 fish over 24".
Flathead Catfish 								        Not more than 2 can be
(either or combined)								        flathead.)	

PERCH					     Continuous 				    20 daily and 40  
											           in possession
			    		
BULLHEAD				    Continuous 				    100

WHITEFISH and			   Continuous 				    No limit
UNDER-UTILIZED FISH*
Exception: Whitefish limit on Leech Lake Indian Reservation is 25 and cisco is 
50. *Under-utilized fish include: carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, cisco, 
gar, goldeye, and redhorse. For more information see the DNR Web site.

SMELT					     Continuous 				    No limit

LAKE STURGEON			   Closed		   
or SHOVELNOSE 
STURGEON
See Border Waters section (pages 44, 49, 51) for other sturgeon waters. 

PADDLEFISH				   No open season
		
LAKE TROUT 			   May 10, 2008-				    2
Summer, 				    Sept. 30, 2008
statewide 
	
Winter, statewide			    Jan. 12, 2008-				    2 
	  	  			   March 16, 2008
					     and Jan. 15, 2009-
					     March 31, 2009 	
 

Opener Dates for Walleye, Bass, and Muskie

	  	 Walleye	 Bass 	 Muskie
	 2009 	 May 9 	 May 23 	 June 6
	 2010 	 May 15 	 May 29 	 June 5

 update
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Stream Trout
The following regulations apply only to stream trout (splake, brook, 

brown, and rainbow trout) in inland lakes and streams. They do not 
include lake trout, which are listed under Inland Waters, (pages 13‑14). 
Lake Superior tributaries (pages 16-19) and Experimental and 
Special Regulations (pages 20-41) are also not covered in this section. 

Calendar dates refer to 2008 unless noted otherwise. 
Daily and possession limits are the same.

Seasons and Limits–Stream Trout

STREAM TROUT	 OPEN SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

STREAMS-Summer
Statewide except 	 April 12-Sept. 30	 5 combined (Not more than 1 	
Houston, Fillmore,		  over 16")
Mower, Dodge, Olmsted, 
Winona, Wabasha, and 
Goodhue Counties

Houston, Fillmore, 	 April 1-11	 Catch-and-release only; 		
Mower, Dodge, 		  barbless hooks only
Olmsted, Winona, 	 April 12-Sept. 14	 5 combined (Not more than 1
Wabasha, and 		  over 16")
Goodhue Counties	 Sept. 15-Sept. 30	 Catch-and-release only; 		
		  barbless hooks only

STREAMS-Winter	 Jan. 1 - March 31	 See listing in experimental and 	
Southeast winter 		  special regulations 
catch-and-release season 
			 
LAKES-Summer,	 May 10-Oct. 31 	 5 combined (Not more than 3
statewide 		  over 16") 
		

LAKES-Winter, statewide
	 Jan. 12, 2008- 	 5 combined (Not more than 3  
	 March 16, 2008 	 over 16") 
 	 and Jan. 15, 2009- 
 	 March 31, 2009 
  
						    
Becker, Beltrami, 
Cass, Crow Wing, and 
Hubbard (except for 

 new Blue Lake) Counties 

SEASONS AND LIMITS–STREAM TROUT

Winter season closure on lakes in these counties.  
Does not include lake trout.

 update



2008
Minnesota
Fishing
Regulations


Stream Trout Regulations 
• Fishing hours for stream trout on inland waters are from one hour 

before sunrise to 11 p.m. 
• Only one line is allowed winter or summer when fishing on designated 

stream trout lakes and designated trout streams. 
• Possessing live minnows or using them for bait on designated stream 

trout lakes is prohibited. Only dried, frozen, or pickled (brined)  
minnows are allowed. Live leeches are legal to use.  
• Angling for any species in designated trout waters during the closed 

trout season is prohibited. 
• Taking minnows or leeches from designated trout waters, except under 

special permit, is prohibited. 
• All stream trout must have head, tail, fins, and skin intact when being 

transported.
• Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in 

designated trout lakes or streams. 
• The list of Designated Trout Lakes and Streams can be found on the 

DNR Web site. 

Lake
Superior
and
Its
Tributaries

The following regulations have been expanded to clarify for anglers 

the fishing seasons and limits for the variety of coldwater fish in Lake 
Superior and the streams and rivers flowing into it. 

Daily and possession limits are the same.  
All other species not named are subject to inland regulations.  
Posted upstream boundaries on Lake Superior tributaries gener-

ally define the areas accessible to anadromous trout and salmon. The 
boundaries, as well as fish sanctuary areas, are marked with signs. 

(See DNR Web site for boundaries map and North Shore fishing 
guide.)

For
Your
Information


Fish
Diseases

Diseases,
such
as
VHS,
largemouth
bass
virus,
and
heterosporis

can
harm
game
fish
populations.These
diseases
can
be
moved

from
one
lake
to
another
in
the
water.
Help
prevent
the
spread

or
introduction
of
these
diseases
by
draining
water
from

livewells,
bilges
and
bait
containers
before
transporting
boats
and

equipment.


16
 DNR
Information:
(651)
296­6157
or
(888)
646­6367
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Seasons and Limits–Stream Trout 

SEASONS AND LIMITS– Lake Superior and Its Tributaries* 

Br ook T r out and Splak e combined 

Lake Superior tributaries April 12– 10 10 Only 1 
in Carlton County (including Sept. 30 over 16" 
Nemadji River system and 
all its tributaries) 

St. Louis River and its April 12– 5 5 Only 1 
tributaries upstream of Sept. 30 over 16" 
Fond du Lac Dam 

Lake Superior and other April 12– 1 5 Minimum 
tributaries (not mentioned Sept. 3 size limit 
above) below posted boundaries 20" 
(including St. Louis River below 
the Minnesota Highway 23 bridge) 

Other Lake Superior tributaries April 12– 10 10 Only 1 
above posted boundaries Sept. 30 over 16" 

O
pe

n

Po
ss

es
si

on

A
gg

r
w

it
h 

B
ro

w
n 

an
d 

Tr
ou

t,
 a

nd
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size limit: 16" 

size limit: 16" 

Clipped Fish* Continuous 3 10 Minimum 

Unclipped Fish* Continuous 

Lake Superior and other tributaries 
below posted boundaries (including 
St. Louis River below Minnesota 
Highway 23 bridge) 

Clipped Fish* Continuous 3 5 Minimum 

Unclipped Fish* Continuous 

Lake Superior tributaries above April 12– 
posted boundaries Sept. 30 

Rainbo w T r out, including Steelhead 

Lake Superior tributaries in Carlton 
County (including Nemadji River 
system and all its tributaries) 

Catch-and-release only 

Catch-and-release only 

Catch-and-release only 

*Clipped fish have their adipose fin removed and must show a healed scar (see illustration on page 19). 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 17
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2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

SEASONS AND LIMITS–Lake Superior and Its Tributaries* 

Brown Trout 

Lake Superior tributaries April 12– 5 10 Only 1 
in Carlton County (including Sept. 30 over 16" 
Nemadji River system and 
all its tributaries) 

St. Louis River and its April 12– 5 5 Only 1 
tributaries upstream of Sept. 30 over 16" 
Fond du Lac Dam 

Lake Superior and other tributaries Continuous 5 5 Only 1 
below posted boundaries over 16" 
(including St. Louis River below the Min. size 
Minnesota Highway 23 bridge) limit 10" 

Lake Superior tributaries above April 12– 5 10 Only 1 
posted boundaries Sept. 30 over 16" 

SEASONS FOR LAKE SUPERIOR AND ITS TRIBUTARIES
 
BELOW POSTED BOUNDARIES*
 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

LAKe	tROUt	 Dec.	1,	2007–sept.	30,	2008	 3 
Dec. 1, 2008–Sept. 30, 2009 

CHInOOK,	 Continuous	 5	combined,	(only	1	can	be		 
COHO,	PInK,	 	 an	Atlantic	salmon)	minimum	 	 
ATLANTIC size limit 10" 
SALMON 

WALLEYE May 10, 2008–March 1, 2009 2 (minimum size limit 15") 

NORTHERN May 10, 2008–March 1, 2009 2 
PIKe 

SMELT Continuous No Limit 

*Refer to Inland Waters (page 13-14) for all species not listed in this section. 

18 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 



 

 
  

  
    

 
  

 

         

         

 
 

 

    

     
  

 
    

 

              
             

   
    

               
                

 

 

Seasons and Limits–Lake Superior and Its Tributaries 

Lake Superior Regulations 
• Two lines may be used on Lake Superior, except only one is allowed 

within 100 yards from where a tributary stream enters the lake. Also, 
only one line may be used in tributary streams. 
• Anglers are restricted to a single hook only—no treble hooks—on 

Lake Superior tributary streams and rivers up to the posted boundaries. 
Exceptions are the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton Counties) 
and the Pigeon River (Cook County). 
• Angling hours on Lake Superior tributaries below the posted bound-

aries are from one hour before sunrise to one hour after sunset. 
Exceptions are the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton Counties) 
and the Pigeon River (Cook County). 
• Special regulations on North Shore streams include posted sanctuaries 
on the Knife, Little Knife, Devil Track, and Kadunce Rivers and on 
Gauthier Creek. (See Experimental and Special Regulations, 

pages 35-41.)
 
• Unclipped steelhead (rainbow trout) must be immediately released on 

Lake Superior and its tributaries. A clipped adipose fin, used to identi­
fy stocked trout, must show a healed scar (see diagram below). 
• From the mouth of Chester Creek to the outer most portion of the 

northwest arm of the Duluth ship 
Clipped Adipose Fin channel is closed to fishing from 

Adipose finboats from Oct. 1 through Nov. 30. 

(See map on the DNR Web site.)
 
• While on the Minnesota waters 

of Lake Superior, persons may 

possess only one daily limit of fish.
 
• Anyone fishing on the Minnesota 

waters of Lake Superior must possess a Minnesota angling license and 
trout stamp validation except as listed on pages 6-7. 
• A guide’s license is required to operate a charter boat for the purpose 

of guiding or assisting anglers on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superi­
or and the St. Louis River estuary. 
• A person cannot fish on Wisconsin waters of Lake Superior with a 

Minnesota angling license. 
• Smelt may be taken night or day. Artificial lights may not be used to 

lure or attract smelt. There is no limit on smelt, and smelt from Lake 
Superior may be bought or sold. However, live smelt may not be 
possessed or transported. 
• Dip nets may be used for taking smelt. Minnow seines not more than 25 

feet long or 4 feet deep may be used to take smelt in the St. Louis River 
and in Lake Superior when more than 100 feet from the mouth of 
any stream. 
• On Lake Superior tributaries below the posted boundaries, a fish 

that is hooked in any part of the body, except the mouth, must be 

immediately returned to the water.
 

Healed 
scar 

(no rays) 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 19 
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DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367

SPECIAL REGULATIONS
Intensive Management Lakes

A number of lakes in Minnesota are managed under both treaties and 
DNR regulations. Angling harvest on these intensive management lakes 
may change throughout the year to maintain sustainable fish populations. 
If regulations change, information will be posted at public boat ramps, the 
DNR Web site and in newspapers. 

Approximately 110 fishing lakes in east-central Minnesota lie within 
the 1837 ceded territory. Regulations could change on lakes in the fol-
lowing counties: Aitkin, Beltrami, Chisago, Crow Wing, Isanti, Kanabec, 
Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Sherburne, and Washington.

Mille Lacs Lake including tributaries to posted boundaries 
(Aitkin, Crow Wing, and Mille Lacs Counties). No one may fish for any 
species or possess fishing gear on the lake from 10 p m.-6 a.m. starting 
at 10 p.m. on May 12 and ending at 12:01 a.m. on June 9  update

. Closed 
to winter spearing for all species. Northern pike: All 24-36" must be 
immediately released. Only one over 36" allowed in possession. Tullibee: 
possession limit 10. Walleye: Restrictions or changes will be posted 
at public access sites. Smallmouth bass: all less than 21" must be 
immediately released. Possession limit one. Muskellunge: minimum size 
limit 48".

Fish reduced to possession may not be released. 

RED LAKE, UPPER including Shotley Brook and Tamarack River 
(Beltrami County). Northern pike: all from 26-40" must be immediately 
released. Only one over 40" allowed in possession. Walleye: Possession 
limit two, all from 17-26” must be immediately released, with only one 
over 26” through February 24, 2008. Beginning May 10, 2008 the pos-
session limit is three fish, all from 17-26” must be immediately released, 
with only one over 26”. A person’s statewide bag limit may not include 
more than the current daily bag limit of Red Lake walleye.   new If cumu-
lative harvest exceeds the safe harvest level on Sept 30, 2008 the posses-
sion limit will revert back to two fish on Dec 1, 2008. If not, the posses-
sion limit will remain at three for the 2008-2009 winter season. While 
a person is on these waterbodies, fish carcasses from fish with size 
limits must be retained with head, spinal column, and tail intact and 
maintained in such a way that the carcass may be readily unpacked, 
unwrapped, and separated so that they may be examined, measured, 
and counted.  Carcasses count towards a person’s possession. If maxi-
mum harvest caps are reached, these areas will be closed to the taking of 
walleye. At that time it will be unlawful to have any walleye in posses-
sion regardless of where taken while on or fishing in these waters. Please 
check access signs and DNR Web site for any changes. Those portions 
of Red Lake located within the Red Lake Indian Reservation are closed to 



 

    

        
 

         

   

 

   

   

  

   
 

   

 
   

     

 
 

  

Experimental/Special Regulations–Lakes 

TAMARAC NATIoNAL WILDLIFE REFUgE has differing 
regulations. Please check with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. 

Experimental and Special Regulations 
These regulations differ from statewide or border water regulations for 

those species identified and take precedence. Unless otherwise specifi­
cally mentioned, all general regulations, seasons, limits, border water 
regulations, possession, and transportation apply to these waters. 
Please check regulation booklets from other states and other sections 
of this booklet. 

Regulations are posted at access sites. Your compliance is needed 
to ensure that these regulations are successful. The regulations help 
improve fishing quality, protect unique fisheries, provide additional 
fishing opportunities, or protect threatened species. The DNR regularly 
evaluates regulations to determine their success. 

Individual Waters 

LAKES (Make sure to also check pages 8–19 and 35–52.) 

A 
ADA LAkE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
AgNES LAkE (Douglas County) bass: All 12" and larger must be 

immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
ALExANDER LAkE (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 

24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

ALICE LAkE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 22-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession 
limit nine. 

ANDRUSIA LAkE (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size 
limit 48". 

ANN LAkE (Carver County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One 
over 36" allowed in possession. 

ANNIE BATTLE LAkE (Otter Tail County) Use of gas and electric 
motors, aqua-views, augers, and other electronic fish-finding 
devices are prohibited. sunfish: Possession limit five. northern 
pike and largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. black crappie: 
Minimum size limit 11". Possession limit five. 

ANNIE BATTLE LAkE INLET to Molly Stark Lake and oUTLET 
to Blanche Lake (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
northern pike and largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. black 
crappie: Minimum size limit 11". Possession limit five. 

ASh LAkE (St. Louis County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 21 



 

   
 

  

  

   

   
 

 
   

     

    

  
   

       
   

   

    

 
   

   
 

 
 

 
  

   

  

    
  

2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

B 
BALD EAgLE LAkE (Anoka, Ramsey, and Washington Counties) 

muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 
BALM LAkE (Beltrami County) bass: All 12" and larger must be 

immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
BALSAM LAkE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 

be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
BASS LAkE near Cohasset (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit 

five. 
BASS LAkE near Burtrum (Todd County) north of Long Lake. walleye: 

Possession limit two. largemouth bass: Possession limit one. 
northern pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one. 

BASSWooD LAkE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
Slot applies to all Minnesota waters of Basswood Lake. 

BATTLE LAkE (Itasca County) sunfish: possession limit 10. walleye: 
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed 
in possession. 

BATTLE LAkE, WEST (Otter Tail County) northern pike: All 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

BEAR CREEk RESERvoIR [Chester Woods] (Olmsted County) 
largemouth bass: Minimum size limit 15". bluegill: Possession limit 
10. Minimum size limit 7", Nov. 1–April 30. 

BELTRAMI LAkE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

BEMIDjI LAkE (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 
48". 

BENEDICT LAkE and connecting UNNAMED CREEk from 
Benedict Lake downstream to Leech Lake (Hubbard County) 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

BIg BASS LAkE (Beltrami County) bass: All must be immediately 
released. 

BIg BIRCh (Todd and Stearns Counties) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

BIg LAkE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

BIg BoY LAkE (Cass County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 
BIg CARNELIAN LAkE (Washington County) northern pike: All 

from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

BIg FISh LAkE (Stearns County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

BIg MANTRAP (Hubbard County) crappie: Minimum size limit 
10". Possession limit five. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. Only one over 36" allowed in possession. 

22 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 



 

   

   

   
  

 
    

   

  
 

   
   
  

 
  

 
  

   
 

   

  

   

   

   

   
    

  
   
   

  

   
 

Experimental/Special Regulations–Lakes 

BIg RICE LAkE (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 
48". 

BIg SAND LAkE (Hubbard County) walleye: All from 20-28" must be 
immediately released. One over 28" allowed in possession. 

BIg SToNE LAkE (Big Stone County) walleye: Possession limit four. 
One 20" or larger allowed in possession. crappie: Possession limit 10. 
sunfish: Possession limit 10. 

BIg SWAN LAkE (Todd County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

BIg WoLF LAkE (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size 
limit 48". 

new 

BIRCh LAkE RESERvoIR (St. Louis and Lake Counties) northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. 

BLACkDUCk LAkE (Beltrami County) sunfish: possession limit five. 
BLACkWATER LAkE (Cass County) bass: Catch-and-release only. 
BLACkWATER LAkE (Itasca County) muskellunge: Minimum size 

limit 48". 
BLACk BASS LAkE (Mille Lacs County) Use of gas or electric augers, 

aqua-views, and other electronic fish-finding devices are prohibited. 
largemouth and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only. northern 
pike: Catch-and-release only. sunfish: Possession limit five. 

BLANDIN RESERvoIR (Itasca County) muskellunge: Minimum size 
limit 48". 

BLUEBERRY LAkE (Wadena County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

BoWSTRINg LAkE Including BoWSTRINg RIvER downstream 
to County Road 35 bridge (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 
22-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. Possession limit nine. 

BUCk LAkE (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

C 
CAMPBELL LAkE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 

must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
CARIBoU LAkE (St. Louis County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 

must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
CARNELIAN LAkE (Stearns County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
CARR LAkE (Beltrami (County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 

48". 
CASS LAkE (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 
CEDAR LAkE (Aitkin County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 
CEDAR LAkE (Morrison County) walleye: Possession limit two. black 

crappie: Possession limit five. northern pike: Possession limit one. 
Minimum size limit 40". 

CENTER LAkE, NoRTh and SoUTh (Chisago County) northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 23 



 

  
  

 
  

  

  
 

   

 

 
   

  

    
 

   
  

  
   

    
 

   

  
 

   
 
   

 
  

  
  

      

2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

ChARLES LAkE (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing. 
ChILD LAkE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 

be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

ChISAgo LAkE (Chisago County) largemouth bass: All 12" and 
larger must be immediately released 

ChRISTINA LAkE (Douglas and Grant Counties) Open to winter 
fishing only, December 1–March 31. Closed to fishing at all other 
times. 

CLEAR LAkE (Waseca County) largemouth bass and smallmouth 
bass: Catch-and-release only. 

CLIThERALL LAkE (Otter Tail County) smallmouth bass: Catch­
and-release only. 

CooN-SANDWICk LAkE (Itasca County) northern pike: All 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

CoTToN LAkE (Becker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

CoTToNWooD LAkE (Grant County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
walleye: possession limit three. 

CRANE LAkE Including vERMILIoN goRgE (St. Louis County) 
walleye: All from 17-28" must be immediately released. One over 28" 
allowed in possession. Possession limit four. muskellunge: Minimum 
size limit 48". 

CRAWFoRD LAkE (Wright County) largemouth bass: Catch-and­
release sunfish: Possession limit five. crappie: Possession limit five. 
walleye: Possession limit two. perch: Possession limit 10. 

CRookED LAkE (Anoka County) largemouth bass: Catch-and­
release only. 

CRookED LAkE (Stearns County) bass: All 12" and larger must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. 

CRoW WINg LAkES, 5th, 6th, 8th, 9th, and 10th (Hubbard County) 
northern pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one. 

D 
DEEP LAkE (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing. 
DEER LAkE (Beltrami County) bass: All must be immediately 

returned to the water. northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

DEER LAkE near Deer River (Itasca County) muskellunge: Minimum 
size limit 48". 

DEER LAkE near Effie (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. 

DEMoNTREvILLE LAkE (Washington County) largemouth bass: 
Catch-and-release only. 

24 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 



 

  
 

      
   

  
 

   
 

 

 
  

 

 
 

 
     

    

   
  

   

    

    

  

  
 

   

 

   

   
 

new 

new 

Experimental/Special Regulations–Lakes 

DYERS LAkE (Cook County) crappie: Possession limit five. sunfish: 
Possession limit five. 

E 
EAgLE LAkE (Hennepin County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 
ELEPhANT LAkE (St. Louis County) northern pike: Minimum size 

limit 40". Possession limit one. 
ELk LAkE (Clearwater County) muskellunge: catch-and-release only. 

northern pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit one. 
EUNICE LAkE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit 

five. black crappie: Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit 
five. largemouth and smallmouth bass: All from 12-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. 

F 
FARM LAkE Includes the North Branch Kawishiwi River from Farm 

Lake 4.8 miles east to the long portage (Lake County) northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately 
released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 

FARM ISLAND LAkE (Aitkin County) walleye: All from 16-19" must 
be immediately released. 

FISh TRAP LAkE (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

FLADMARk LAkE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession 
limit 10. northern pike and bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie: 
Possession limit five. 

FLoUR LAkE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

FLoYD LAkE, BIg and LITTLE (Becker County) northern pike: 
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed 
in possession. 

FoSTER AREND LAkE (Olmsted County) trout: Continuous season. 
Possession limit three with One over 16". 

Fox LAkE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

FRANkLIN LAkE (Otter Tail County) crappie: Minimum size limit 
10". Possession limit five. 

g 
gARDEN LAkE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 

must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
is allowed in possession. 

gEoRgE LAkE (Hubbard County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

gILBERT LAkE (Crow Wing County) crappie: Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit five. 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 25 



 

   

 
  

 
  

  
    
   

 

   

  

  

   
  

 
  

    
   

 
   

  

  

   

 

   

   
 

   

2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

gIRL LAkE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

gooDRICh LAkE (Crow Wing County) crappie: Possession limit 
five. sunfish: Possession limit five. 

gooSE LAkE (Chisago County) crappie: Possession limit five. 
walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 

gRAvE LAkE (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
gREEN LAkE (Chisago County) crappie: Minimum size limit 9". 

walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 
gULL LAkE (Beltrami County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
gULL LAkE (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit is six. One over 

19.5" allowed in possession. 

H 
hASkELL LAkE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 24­

36" must be immediately released. Only one over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

hENRY LAkE (Douglas County) bass: All 12" and larger must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 

hoRSEShoE LAkE (Cass County) near Backus. crappie: Possession 
limit five. largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger 
must be immediately released northern pike: Minimum size limit 
30". Possession limit one. sunfish: Possession limit five. walleye: 
Possession limit three. 

hovDE LAkE (Cass County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. 
hUBERT LAkE (Crow Wing County) largemouth and smallmouth 

bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately released. 
hUNgRY jACk LAkE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All 12" 

and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in 
possession. 

I 
INgUADoNA LAkE (Cass County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 

48". 
IRvINg LAkE (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 

48". 
ISLAND LAkE near Northome (Itasca County) northern pike: All 

from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. 
One over 26" allowed in possession. 

ISLAND RESERvoIR (St. Louis County) muskellunge: Minimum 
size limit 48". 

ITASCA LAkE (Clearwater County) crappie: Possession limit five. 
sunfish: Possession limit 10. 

J 
jANE LAkE (Washington County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 

only. 

26 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 



27DNR Web site: mndnr.gov

Experimental/Special Regulations–Lakes

Jane Lake (Washington County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. 
Jay Gould Lake and Little Jay Gould Lake (Itasca County) 

muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48".
Jewett Lake (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: 

All 12" and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in 
possession. 

K
KABEKONA LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: All from 18-26" must be 

immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. Possession limit 
four. 

Kabetogama Lake including Sullivan Bay and Ash River to Ash 
River Falls (St. Louis County) walleye:  All from 17-28" must be immediately 
released. One over 28 allowed in possession. Possession limit four. 

Kitchi Lake (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 
Knife Lake (Kanabec County) walleye: All from 18-24" must be 

immediately released. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Kraut Lake (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial lures 
and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. 
Closed to winter fishing. 

L
Lac Qui Parle Lake upstream to Marsh Lake Dam, including the Watson 

Sag upstream to the diversion dam (Lac Qui Parle and Chippewa Counties) 
walleye: Possession limit four. One 20" or larger allowed in possession. 

Lake of the Woods including the Rainy River from the mouth upstream 
to the dam in International Falls, Baudette and Winter Road Rivers (Lake of 
the Woods and Koochiching Counties), and Warroad River (Roseau County). 
northern pike: Possession limit is three, with one over 40". All fr  30-40" 
must be immediately released. walleye and sauger: See page 43. 

Lake Thirteen (Cass County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must 
be immediately released. 

Latoka Lake (Douglas County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

Leech Lake (Cass County) walleye: All from 18-26" must be immediately 
released. One over 26" allowed in possession. Possession limit four. 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

LIDA LAKE SOUTH and NORTH including connecting Mud Lake (Otter 
Tail County) crappie: Minimum size limit is 11". walleye: All from 17-26" 
must be immediately released. One over 26" is allowed in possession. 

 new LIND LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit five.  
Little Boy Lake Including connecting Unnamed Lake between 

Little Boy Lake and Lake Wabedo (Cass County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

Little Cascade Lake (Cook County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
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2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

new LITTLE CoRMoRANT LAkE (Becker County) sunfish: 
Possession limit five. black crappie: Minimum size limit 10". 

Possession limit five. walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 


LITTLE MANTRAP LAkE (Hubbard County) largemouth bass: All 
from 12-18" must be immediately released. 

LITTLE MooSE LAkE near Deer River (Itasca County) 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

LITTLE MCDoNALD LAkE (Otter Tail County) walleye: All from 
18-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in 
possession. 

LITTLE RICE LAkE (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size 
limit 48". 

LITTLE SAUk LAkE (Todd County) walleye: Possession limit is two. 
largemouth bass: Possession limit is one. sunfish: Possession limit is 
five. crappie: Possession limit is five. yellow perch: Possession limit 
is 10. northern pike: All from 24-30" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit is three, with one over 30". 

new LITTLE ToAD LAkE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit 
10. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
One over 36" allowed in possession. 

LITTLE vERMILIoN LAkE Including LooN RIvER to Loon 
River Falls portage. (St. Louis County) walleye: All from 17-28" 
must be immediately released. One over 28 allowed in possession. 
Possession limit four. 

LITTLE WINNIBIgoShISh LAkE (Itasca County) muskellunge: 
Minimum size limit 48". 

LITTLE WoLF LAkE (Cass and Hubbard Counties) muskellunge: 
Minimum size limit 48". 

LITTLE WoMAN LAkE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

LoNg LAkE near Glen (Aitkin County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

LoNg LAkE near Hawick (Kandiyohi County) largemouth bass: All 
12" and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in 
possession. 

LoNg LAkE (Todd County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

LoNg LAkE (Stearns County near Clearwater) bass: All 12" and larger 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One 
over 36" allowed in possession. 

LooN LAkE (Cook County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". 
Possession limit one. 

LoUISE LAkE (Cass County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

28 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 



 

  

   

  

    
 

   
 

 
 

  
  

   

   

  
  

  
   

 

 

   

    

    
 

   

   

  
  

 
   

 

Experimental/Special Regulations–Lakes 

M 
MANDALL LAkE (Chisago County) crappie: Possession limit five. 

walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 
MAPLE LAkE (Douglas County) crappie: Possession limit five, with a 

minimum size limit of 10". 
MARQUETTE LAkE (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size 

limit 48". 
MARY LAkE (Hubbard County) bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie: 

Possession limit five. sunfish: Possession limit five. 
new MAUD LAkE (Becker County) sunfish: Possession limit five. black 

crappie: Minimum size limit 10". Possession limit five. largemouth 
and smallmouth bass: All from 12-20" must be immediately released. 
One over 20" allowed in possession. northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

MEDICINE LAkE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

MELISSA LAkE (Becker County) northern pike: All 24" and larger 
must be immediately released. 

new MIDDLE LAkE (Otter Tail County) largemouth bass: All from 
12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in 

possession. 


MILToNA LAkE (Douglas County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 
48". 

new MINk-SoMERS LAkE near Maple Lake (Wright County) 
sunfish: Possession limit five. crappie: Possession limit five. walleye:
 
Minimum size limit 17". Possession limit three. largemouth bass:
 
All from 12-20" must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed 

in possession. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately 

released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession or use of live 

minnows is prohibited. 


MINNEWAShTA LAkE (Carver County) largemouth bass: Catch-and­
release only. 

MINNIE BELLE LAkE (Meeker County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

MISSIoN LAkE, LoWER and UPPER (Crow Wing County) northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. 

MITChELL LAkE (Crow Wing County) northern pike: Minimum size 
limit 40". Possession limit one. 

MoCCASIN LAkE (Cass County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 
only. 

MooDY LAkE (Crow Wing County) Closed to fishing. 
MooSE LAkE near Deer River (Itasca County) walleye: All from 

17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26 allowed in 
possession. muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

MooSE LAkE (Todd County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger 
must be immediately released. 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 29 



 

   

  

  

   

     

  

 
  

   
  

  
 

  

   

     
 

    

     

   
  

 

   

2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

MovIL LAkE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

MULE LAkE (Cass County) bass: catch-and-release only. walleye: 
Possession limit three. 

N 
NAMAkAN LAkE (St. Louis County) walleye: All from 17-28" 

must be immediately released. One over 28 allowed in possession. 
Possession limit four. 

NoRTh ShADY LAkE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. 
Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession 
of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

NoRTh STAR LAkE including LITTLE NoRTh STAR LAkE 
(Itasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. One over 36" allowed in possession. muskellunge: 
Minimum size limit 48". 

NoRTh TURTLE LAkE (Otter Tail County) bass: All 12" and larger 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
crappie: Minimum size limit 10". 

NoRTh TWIN LAkE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

NoRWAY LAkE (Otter Tail County) largemouth bass: Catch­
and-release only walleye: Possession limit three. northern pike: 
Possession limit one. crappie: Possession limit five. sunfish: 
Possession limit five. yellow perch: Possession limit 10. 

O 
ogEChIE LAkE (Mille Lacs County) northern pike: All 24-36" must 

be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
oLSoN LAkE (Washington County) largemouth bass: Catch-and­

release only. 
oSAkIS AND LITTLE oSAkIS LAkES (Douglas and Todd 

Counties) walleye: Minimum size limit 15". 
oTTER TAIL LAkE (Otter Tail County) northern pike: Minimum 

size limit 30". Possession limit one. 
oWASSo LAkE (Ramsey County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 

48". 
ox YokE LAkE (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
ozAWINDIB LAkE (Clearwater County) bass: All 12" and larger 

must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
crappie: Minimum size limit 10". 

P 
PEANUT LAkE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. 

Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession 
of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

30 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 
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Experimental/Special Regulations–Lakes 

PELICAN LAkE (St. Louis County) largemouth and 
smallmouth bass: All from 14-20" must be immediately released. 
One over 20" allowed in possession. northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

PICkEREL LAkE (Itasca County) sunfish: possession limit 10. 
walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. 

PICkEREL LAkE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth 
bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" 
allowed in possession. 

PIERz LAkE [Fish] (Morrison County) largemouth bass: All 12" 
and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in 
possession. 

PIkE BAY (Cass County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 
PIMUShE LAkE (Beltrami County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
PINE LAkE, BIg and LITTLE (Otter Tail County) walleye: All 

from 18-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in 
possession. 

PLANTAgANETTE LAkE (Hubbard County) muskellunge: 
Minimum size limit 48". 

PLEASANT LAkE (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing. 
PLEASANT LAkE (Stearns County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
PokEgAMA LAkE (Itasca County) muskellunge: Minimum size 

limit 48". 
PoRTAgE LAkE North of Ten Mile Lake (Cass County) largemouth 

and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release only. 
PRAIRIE LAkE (St. Louis County) northern pike: Minimum size 

limit 30". Possession limit one. 
PUg hoLE LAkE (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size 

limit 48". 

R 
RABBIT LAkES, BIg and EAST BIg (Crow Wing County) northern 

pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately released. 
RABoUR LAkE (Chisago County) crappie: Possession limit five. 

walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 
new RAChEL LAkE and LITTLE RAChEL LAkE (Douglas 

County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

RAINY LAkE Including the Rainy River above the dam at 
International Falls, all of Rainy Lake to the dam at Kettle Falls, Black 
Bay including gold Portage below the rapids, all of the Rat Root 
River, and Rat Root Lake. (Koochiching and St. Louis Counties) 
walleye and sauger: Possession limit of eight (Not more than four 
can be walleye; walleye from 17-28" must be immediately released; 
One walleye over 28" allowed in possession.) 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 31 
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REBECCA LAkE (Hennepin County) muskellunge: Minimum size 
limit 48". 

RED WINg PoTTERY PoND (Goodhue County) trout: Continuous 
season. Possession limit three with only one over 16". 

RICE LAkE (Cass County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 
RogERS LAkE (Crow Wing County) crappie: Possession limit five. 

sunfish: Possession limit five. 
RoUND LAkE (Crow Wing County) northern pike: Minimum size 

limit 30". Possession limit one. 
RoUND LAkE near Squaw Lake including the PoPPLE RIvER 

downstream to State Highway Bridge 46 (Itasca County) walleye: 
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed 
in possession. northern pike: All from 22-36" must be immediately 
released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession limit nine. 

RUSh LAkE, EAST AND WEST (Chisago) northern pike: All 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

S 
SAgANAgA LAkE (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit six. One 

over 19.5" allowed in possession. 
SALLIE LAkE (Becker County) northern pike: All 24" and larger 

must be immediately released. 
SANBURN LAkE (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
SAND LAkE including connecting BIRDS EYE LAkE, LITTLE 
SAND LAkE, PoRTAgE LAkE, RICE LAkE, UNNAMED LAkE, 
and BoWSTRINg RIvER upstream to County Road 35 bridge and 

downstream to County Road 145 bridge (Itasca County). northern 
pike: All from 22-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. Possession limit nine. 

SAND LAkE (Lake County) sunfish: Possession limit five. 
SAND PoINT LAkE (St. Louis County) walleye: All from 17-28" 

must be immediately released. One over 28 allowed in possession. 
Possession limit four. 

SCRAPPER LAkE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

SEWELL LAkE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth 
bass All 12" and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" 
allowed in possession. 

ShAMINEAU LAkE (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

SISSABAgAMAh LAkE (Aitkin County) northern pike: All from 
20-30" must be immediately released. One over 30" allowed in 
possession. 

32 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 



 

   

 

   

  

   
  

  

  

     

 

     
 

   
   

   

   

   

    

  
 

   

    
   

 

     

      
 

Experimental/Special Regulations–Lakes 

SoUTh FARM LAkE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. 

SoUTh LINDSTRoM LAkE (Chisago County) largemouth bass: All 
12" and larger must be immediately released. 

SoUTh TWIN (Beltrami County) bass: All must be immediately 
released. 

SPIDER LAkE (Hubbard County) crappie: Minimum size limit 10". 
SPIDER LAkE (Itasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 

immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
SPLIThAND LAkE (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be 

immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 
SQUASh LAkE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 

lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

SQUARE LAkE (Washington County) trout: Catch-and-release from 
May 10 through June 6 and from October 1 through October 31. 
Remainder of the summer and winter seasons the possession limit for 
trout is two. 

new ST. oLAF LAkE (Waseca County) northern pike: Minimum size 
limit 30". Possession limit one. 

STAR LAkE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
STIEgER LAkE (Carver County) northern pike and largemouth bass: 

Catch-and-release only. 
SToNY LAkE (Cass County) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must 

be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
STUART LAkE (Otter Tail County) black crappie: Minimum size limit 

10". 
STUMP LAkE (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 

48". 
new STURgEoN LAkE (Pine County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 

must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession 
SUgAR LAkE (Wright County) crappie: Possession limit five. 

northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One 
over 36" allowed in possession. 

SWAN LAkE (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be 
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 

SWIFT LAkE (Cass County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 
SYLvAN LAkE (Cass County) near Pillager. crappie: Possession limit 

five. sunfish: Possession limit five. 

T 
new TEN MILE LAkE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 

must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
TEN MILE LAkE, NoRTh and SoUTh (Otter Tail County) 

largemouth and smallmouth bass: Minimum size limit 21". 
Possession limit one. 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 33 
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ThoMPSoN LAkE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. 
Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession 
of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

ThREE ISLAND LAkE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

ThRUSh LAkE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. 
Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession 
of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

ToMATo LAkE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. 
Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession 
of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

TRoUT LAkE Near Coleraine (Itasca County) walleye: All from 
17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in 
possession. 

TURNIP LAkE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial 
lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait 
prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

TURTLE LAkE (Itasca County) smallmouth bass: All from 
12-20" and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed 
in possession. 

TURTLE LAkE (Ramsey County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release 
only. 

TURTLE, BIg and LITTLE LAkE (Beltrami County) northern pike: 
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed 
in possession. 

TURTLE RIvER LAkE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. 

TWENTYoNE LAkE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
northern pike and bass: Catch-and-release only. crappie: Possession 
limit five. 

TWo ISLAND LAkE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All 12" 
and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in 
possession. 

V 
vENSTRoM LAkE (Otter Tail County) crappie: Minimum size limit 

11". walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One 
over 26" allowed in possession. 

vERMILIoN LAkE (St. Louis County) northern pike: All from 
24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed 
in possession. walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately 
released. One over 26" allowed in possession. Possession limit four. 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

34 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 



 

   
 

   
 

  

  
 

  
  

 
 

 
   

    

 

  
   

    

 

   

   

Experimental/Special Regulations–Streams and Rivers 

W 
WABEDo LAkE including UNNAMED LAkE between Wabedo Lake 

and Little Boy Lake. (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

WACoNIA LAkE (Carver County) walleye: Minimum size 16". 
WhITE IRoN LAkE (St. Louis and Lake Counties) northern pike: 

All from 24-36" must be immediately released. Only one over 36" 
allowed in possession. walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately 
released. Only one over 26" allowed in possession. 

WILkINSoN LAkE (Anoka and Ramsey Counties) Closed to fishing. 
WINNIBIgoShISh LAkE (Beltrami County) and connected waters: 

Mississippi River to Knutson Dam, Third River Flowage to Little 
Dixon Lake, Pigeon River to Pigeon Lake Dam, First River, Egg 
Lake through Cut Foot Sioux Lake, Raven Flowage to Raven 
Lake, and Sugar Lake. (Cass, Itasca Counties) walleye: All from 17­
26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

WoMAN LAkE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

STREAMS AND RIVERS 
(Make sure to check pages 8–35, and 42–52.) 

A 
ASh RIvER: See Kabetogama Lake, page 27. 

B 
BAUDETTE RIvER See Lake of the Woods, page 27. 

BEAvER CREEk (Wabasha and Winona Counties) winter: Catch­
and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire stream, a 6.3-
mile posted section from the mouth to the source. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

BEAvER CREEk, EAST (Houston County) trout: All from 12-16" 
must be immediately released on the entire stream (Beaver Creek 
Valley State Park). winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 
31 on the entire stream (Beaver Creek Valley State Park). All hooks 
must be barbless during winter season 

BEAvER CREEk, WEST (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31, on a 1.9-mile posted section from the point 
where West Beaver Creek joins East Beaver Creek in Beaver Creek 
Valley State Park upstream to the posted boundary. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

BEE CREEk (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 
1-March 31, on a 1.6-mile posted section from the Minnesota State 
Line in Bee, upstream to the posted boundary at a driveway crossing. 
All hooks must be barbless. 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 35 



 

   

  

 
 

  

   

   

   

   

    

  

   

2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

BELLE CREEk (Goodhue County) trout: Catch-and-release on a 
7.3 mile posted section from the confluence with the Cannon River 
upstream to Hwy 19. 

BIg FoRk RIvER (Itasca, Koochiching Counties) muskellunge: 
Minimum size limit 48". 

BIg LAkE CREEk from Big Lake downstream to Lake Andrusia 
(Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

BoWSTRINg RIvER: See Bowstring Lake (page 23) and Sand Lake 
(page 32). 

BoY RIvER from Inquadona Lake downstream to Big Boy Lake and 
from Big Boy Lake downstream to Leech Lake and from Child Lake 
downstream to Girl Lake (Cass County) muskellunge: Minimum size 
limit 48". 

C 
CAMP CREEk (Fillmore County) trout: catch-and-release on a 2.7 

mile posted section from 0.8 miles above the confluence with the Root 
River, South Branch upstream 2.7 miles. Artificial lures and flies only. 
Note: On the third Saturday in May statewide regulations apply to the 
posted section of the stream winter: catch-and-release for trout from 
Jan. 1-March 31, on posted section from mouth upstream 3.5 miles. 
All hooks must be barbless during the winter season. 

CANFIELD CREEk [South Branch Creek] (Fillmore County) trout: 
All from 12-16" must be immediately released on the entire stream. 
Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 
1-March 31 on the entire section (Forestville State Park). All hooks 
must be barbless. 

CooLRIDgE CREEk (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 0.13-mile posted section from Pine Creek 
to the posted boundary. All hooks must be barbless. 

CRookED CREEk (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 6.4-mile posted section from the first 
township bridge 1 mile upstream of Freeburg to the posted boundary 
near the source, 1.5 miles upstream of the uppermost Hwy. 249 bridge 
crossing. All hooks must be barbless 

CRookED CREEk, SoUTh FoRk (Houston County) winter: 
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1.5-mile posted 
section from the junction with Crooked Creek to the posted boundary 
downstream of the reservoir. All hooks must be barbless. 

D 
DALEY CREEk (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1- March 31 on a 2.5-mile posted section from the Hwy 
16 crossing upstream to the posted boundary at the fourth stream 
crossing. All hooks must be barbless. 

DEvIL TRACk RIvER (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Mile 1.1 to 
Mile 1.6 open to fishing from June 1-August 31. 

36 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 



 

  

  

   

   

  
  

 
 

   

           
   

   

   

 

   

   

Experimental/Special Regulations–Streams and Rivers 

DIAMoND CREEk (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 5.25-mile posted section from third 
stream crossing upstream of the Hwy. 16 bridge to the source of both 
branches. All hooks must be barbless. 

DUSChEE CREEk (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the posted section from mouth upstream 5.5 
miles. All hooks must be barbless 

E 
EAgLE CREEk (Scott County) trout: Catch-and-release only. 

F 
FERgUSoN CREEk (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1.25-mile posted section beginning where 
Ferguson Creek enters Rush Creek and continuing upstream to the 
posted boundary at the spring source. All hooks must be barbless. 

FIRST RIvER: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 35. 
FoRESTvILLE CREEk [North Branch Creek] (Fillmore County) 

trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately released on the entire 
stream. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the 
entire stream. All hooks must be barbless during winter season. 

g 
gARvIN BRook (Winona County) trout: All from 12-16" must 

be immediately released from the Hwy. 14 crossing to the source. 
Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 
1-March 31 on a 1-mile posted section from Farmers Park to the end of 
State Forest land. All hooks must be barbless. 

gAUThIER CREEk (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Entire stream 
open to fishing from June 1-August 31 only. 

gRIBBEN CREEk (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies 
only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1- March 31 on a 3.8-
mile posted section from the Hwy. 16 bridge to the source. All hooks 
must be barbless during winter season. 

H 
hAY CREEk (Goodhue County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 

immediately released on a 4.0 mile posted section from 325th Street 
downstream. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 7.6-mile posted section, from 325th 
Street bridge to the boundary of State Forest land in Section 12. All 
hooks must be barbless. 

hEMMINgWAY CREEk (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 0.8-mile posted from Pine Creek to the 
posted boundary where the State Forest land ends. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 37 



 

   

   

   

   

   
 

   

   

  

   

   

 
 

  

  

  

   
 

 

2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

K 
kADUNCE RIvER (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Mile 0.2 (lower 
falls) to Mile 0.4 open to fishing from June 1-August 31. 

kAWIShIWI RIvER, NoRTh BRANCh (Lake County) See Farm 
Lake on page 25. 

kEDRoN CREEk (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and-release on the 
entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only. 

kNIFE RIvER (St. Louis and Lake Counties) fish sanctuary: River 
and tributaries upstream from Lake County Road 9 open to fishing 
from May 15-Sept 30. The river between the cables upstream of the 
U.S. Highway 61 bridge open to fishing from June 1-August 31. U.S. 
Highway 61 bridge downstream to the cable below the fish trap is 
permanently closed to fishing. 

kNIFE RIvER, LITTLE (St. Louis County) fish sanctuary: From the 
weir upstream to the source, fishing is allowed from June 1-August 31. 

L 
LITTLE FoRk RIvER (Koochiching County) muskellunge: 

Minimum size limit 48". 
LogAN CREEk (Olmsted County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 

immediately released on the entire stream from the confluence with 
the Whitewater River, North Branch upstream to the source. Artificial 
lures and flies only. 

LooN RIvER See Little Vermilion Lake on page 34. 

M 
MAhooDS CREEk (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 

immediately released on the entire stream. 
MISSISSIPPI RIvER vALLEY (Ramsey, Washington, Hennepin, 

and Dakota Counties) walleye, sauger, smallmouth bass, and 
largemouth bass: Catch-and-release with a continuous season in the 
following stretches: a) Minnesota River downstream from the Mendota 
Bridge; b) Minnehaha Creek downstream from Minnehaha Falls; and 
c) Pool 2 of the Mississippi River between the Hastings Dam and the 
Ford Dam, including all backwater lakes and connecting waters except 
Crosby Lake, Pickerel Lake, Upper Lake, Little Pigs Eye Lake, and 
North Star Steel Lake. 

MISSISSIPPI RIvER from Blandin Dam downstream to Coon Rapids 
Dam (Itasca, Aitkin, Crow Wing, Morrison, Benton, Sherburne, 
Wright, Anoka, and Hennepin Counties) muskellunge: Catch-and­
release only. 

MISSISSIPPI RIvER from Carr Lake downstream to Pokegama Dam 
(Beltrami, Cass, and Itasca Counties) muskellunge: Minimum size 
limit 48". 

MISSISSIPPI RIvER (Sherburne, Stearns and Wright Counties) 
smallmouth bass: From the confluence of the Crow River upstream 
to the St. Cloud Dam, the possession limit is three, with one over 20". 
All from 12-20" must be immediately released. 

38 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 



 

     
 

  
    

    
 

 
   

  

   
 

   
   

   
     

    

 

   

 

Experimental/Special Regulations–Streams and Rivers 

MISSISSIPPI RIvER PooLS 5, 5A, AND 8 (Wabasha, Houston, and 
Winona Counties) MN waters only. sunfish: Possession limit is 10. 

MISSISSIPPI RIvER See Winnibigoshish Lake page 35. 
MoNEY CREEk, WEST BRANCh (Winona County) winter: Catch­
and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 3.14-mile posted section 
upstream from the County Road 19 stream crossing to the source. All 
hooks must be barbless. 

O 
oTTER TAIL RIvER (Otter Tail, Becker, and Wilkin Counties) new 

smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release from Wilkin County Road 19 
crossing upstream to the Friberg Dam including all impoundments, 
and from Otter Tail County Highway 51 upstream to the Hubbel Pond 
Dam including Mud, Rice, and Town Lakes. 

P 
PIgEoN RIvER: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 35. 

PINE CREEk (Winona County) trout: Winter catch-and-release season 

from Jan. 1-March 31, on a 5.6 mile posted section from Rush Creek 
to the posted boundary where State Forest land ends. All hooks must 
be barbless. 

PRAIRIE RIvER from Prairie Lake Dam downstream to Mississippi 
River (Itasca County) muskellunge: Catch-and-release only. 

R 
RAINY RIvER: northern pike: See Lake of the Woods on page 27. 

walleye and sauger: See Rainy Lake page 31 and border water page 42. 
RAT RooT RIvER: See Rainy Lake on page 31. 
RAvEN FLoWAgE: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 35. 
RED LAkE TRIBUTARIES: See Red Lake on page 20. 
RooT RIvER, MIDDLE BRANCh (Fillmore County) trout: Catch­

and-release on the entire stream. 
RooT RIvER, SoUTh BRANCh (Fillmore County) trout: All from 

12-16" must be immediately released on a 4.8 mile posted section 
within Forestville State Park. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 
1-March 31 from the mouth to the dam in Lanesboro, and from the 
historic bridge (Meighen’s Store) to the park boundary. All hooks 
must be barbless during winter season. 

RooT RIvER, SoUTh FoRk (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and­
release on a 7.7 mile section from County Road 12 upstream to the 
source. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1-March 31 from Nepstad (Shattuck) Creek to the upper 
boundary of the Hvoself W.M.A. All hooks must be barbless during 
winter season. 

RUSh CREEk (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout 
Jan. 1- March 31 on a 6.4-mile posted section from the southern-most 
County Road 25 bridge crossing to the posted boundary. All hooks 
must be barbless. 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 39 



 

  
 

    

 

   

  

  

   

    

  

  
  

    

   

    

 

 
  

  
  

2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

S 
SChooLCRAFT RIvER from Lake Plantaganette downstream to Carr 

Lake (Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 
SEA gULL RIvER (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit is six. One 

over 19.5" allowed in possession. 
ShoTLEY BRook (from Hwy 72 West to Upper Red Lake): See Red 

Lake page 20. 
ST. LoUIS RIvER (St. Louis County) fish sanctuary: No fishing 

allowed at any time from the Fond du Lac Dam downstream to the 
Minnesota–Wisconsin boundary cable. No fishing allowed from the 
boundary cable downstream to the Hwy. 23 bridge from March 4-May 
18. 
new muskellunge: Minimum size limit 50" on only the Minnesota-
Wisconsin border waters. 

SToNEY BRook (Cass County) brook trout: All must be immediately 
returned to the water on the posted section beginning at the mouth at 
Upper Gull Lake upstream to the road crossing at County Road 29 
(Minor’s Corner). 

SPRINg vALLEY CREEk (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" 
must be immediately released on a 6.8 mile posted section from Deer 
Creek upstream to Fillmore Township Road 359. 

SWEDES BoTToM CREEk (Houston County) winter: Catch-and­
release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1-mile posted section from the 
township road bridge to the source. All hooks must be barbless. 

T 
TAMARACk RIvER (from the Beltrami County line west to Upper Red 

lake): See Red Lake page 20. 
ThIRD RIvER FLoWAgE: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 35. 
ToRkELSoN CREEk (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the 2.1-mile posted section from the North 
Branch Root River to the source. All hooks must be barbless. 

TRoUT RUN CREEk (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only. 

TRoUT RUN CREEk (Winona County–Whitewater State Park) winter: 
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1-mile posted section 
from the mouth to the end of State Park property. All hooks must be 
barbless. 

TRoUT vALLEY CREEk (Winona County) brook trout: Minimum 
size limit 12". Possession limit one. Artificial lures and flies only. 
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1- March 31 on a 1.25-mile 
posted section from the uppermost Winona County Road 31 bridge 
crossing downstream to the next Winona County Road 31 bridge. All 
hooks must be barbless. 

TURTLE RIvER from Big Rice Lake downstream to Cass Lake 
(Beltrami County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 

vERMILIoN goRgE See Crane Lake on page 24. 

vERMILIoN RIvER including all tributaries to their source (Dakota 
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Experimental/Special Regulations–Streams and Rivers 

County) trout: All must be immediately returned to the water within a 
19.5-mile reach from the Highview Avenue bridge in Eureka Township 
to the posted boundary 1.1 miles downstream from the U.S. Hwy. 52 
bridge. Except statewide regulations will apply on the 2-mile reach 
of the main stem from Denmark Avenue to the State Hwy. 3 bridge in 
Farmington. 

W 
WARRoAD RIvER See Lake of the Woods on page 27. 
WATSoN SAg See Lac Qui Parle on page 27. 
WEST INDIAN CREEk (Wabasha County) trout: All from 12-16" 

must be immediately released from the upstream Wabasha County 
Road 4 crossing to the source. 

WhITEWATER RIvER, MAIN BRANCh (Winona County) winter: 
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 11.9-mile posted 
section from the Wabasha County line upstream to the Middle and 
North branches of the Whitewater River. All hooks must be barbless. 

WhITEWATER RIvER, MIDDLE BRANCh (Winona and Olmsted 
Counties) trout: Catch-and-release on a 9.2-mile posted section from 
the group camp in Whitewater State Park upstream to the source. 
Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release season for 
trout from Jan. 1 through March 31 on a 11.2-mile posted section 
from the mouth upstream to Olmsted County Road 9. All hooks must 
be barbless. 

WhITEWATER RIvER, NoRTh BRANCh (Wabasha, Olmsted 
and Winona Counties) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately 
released on a 12.1 mile posted section from Township Road 29 
upstream to County Road 4. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: 
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1- March 31 on a 7.7-mile posted 
section from the mouth upstream to Logan Creek. All hooks must be 
barbless during winter season 

WhITEWATER RIvER, SoUTh BRANCh (Winona County) 
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1- March 31 on a 3.8-mile 
posted section from the mouth to 1 mile upstream of County Road 
112. All hooks must be barbless. 

WINTER RoAD RIvER See Lake of the Woods on page 27. 
WISEL CREEk (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 

immediately released on the entire stream. winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1–March 31 on the 4.0-mile posted section from County 
Road 18 downstream to the South Fork of the Root River. All hooks 
must be barbless. 

Z 
zUMBRo RIvER, NoRTh FoRk (Goodhue and Wabasha Counties) 

trout: Catch-and-release on an 11.9 mile posted section from the 
Zumbro River, Main Branch upstream to Hwy 10. 

zUMBRo RIvER (Wabasha County) smallmouth bass: Catch-and­
release along a 12-mile posted section from Highway 63 at Zumbro 
Falls upstream to the Zumbro Lake Dam. 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 41 
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BORDER
WATERS

Licensing

Canada-Minnesota Border Waters: Anglers who have a Minnesota 
resident or nonresident license may fish only the Minnesota portion of 
Canada’s border waters.

Other Borders: Minnesota has a reciprocal agreement with each of 
its bordering states: Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota, and North Dakota. 
Residents of Minnesota or a bordering state may fish throughout the 
waters bordering the two states only if they possess a valid resident 
license from their resident state. Lake Superior is not covered under this 
agreement (see pages 16-19). Nonresident anglers who have a nonresi-
dent license from either Minnesota or the bordering state may also fish 
throughout the border waters between the two states. Anglers may launch 
and fish from either shore and may transport their catch by the most 
direct route to the state in which they are licensed. This includes children 
who are not required to have a license. 

When Minnesota’s fishing regulations differ from a bordering state’s 
regulations, Minnesota residents and persons fishing under a Minnesota 
non-resident license must comply with the Minnesota regulations and 
may not exercise more liberal fishing privileges in the waters of the 
bordering state. Please check other state regulation booklets and the 
Experimental and Special Regulations section of this booklet (pages 
20-41) for different regulations that might apply. 

Unless otherwise noted, all general regulations relating to angling 
methods, licensing, seasons, limits, possession and transportation of 
fish, apply to border waters (see pages 8-15). While on or fishing these 
waters, all fish must be within the specified length limits regardless of 
where caught. 

Dates
All calendar dates refer to 2008 unless noted otherwise. 

Canada–Minnesota

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the Minnesota 

portions of the following waters: 
Cook County: Clove Lake, Devil’s Elbow Lake, North Fowl 

Lake, South Fowl Lake, Gneiss (Round) Lake, Granite Lake, Granite  
River, Gunflint Lake, Little Gunflint Lake, Lily Lake, Magnetic Lake,  
Maraboeuf Lake, Moose Lake, Mountain Lake, North Lake, Little  
North Lake, Pigeon River, Pine River, Rat Lake, Rose Lake, Rove Lake,  
Saganaga Lake, South Lake, and Watap Lake.  

42
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koochiching and Lake of the Woods Counties: Rainy River. 
koochiching and St. Louis Counties: Rainy Lake (including Black Bay). 
Lake County: Basswood Lake (except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist, and 

Back Bays, which are considered inland waters), Basswood River, Birch 
Lake, Carp Lake, Cypress Lake, Knife Lake (except South Arm), Little 
Knife Lake, Knife River, Melon Lake, Seed Lake, Sucker Lake, and 
Swamp Lake. 

Lake and St. Louis Counties: Crooked Lake. 
Lake of the Woods and Roseau Counties: Lake of the Woods. 
St. Louis County: Bottle Lake, Iron Lake, Lac La Croix, Loon Lake, 

Loon River to Loon River Falls, Namakan Lake, Sand Point Lake, and 
Little Vermilion Lake. 

Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

WALLEYE May 12, 2007– 6 (No size restriction.) 
and SAUgER April 14, 2008 
(either or combined) May 10, 2008– 

April 14, 2009 

Exceptions: May 10, 2008– 6 (Not more than 4 can be 
Lake of the Woods Nov. 30, 2008 walleye; only 1 walleye over 

28"; walleye 19.5" through 28.0 
must be immediately released.) 

Dec. 1, 2007– 8 (Not more than 4 can be 
April 14, 2008 walleye; only 1 walleye over 
Dec. 1, 2008– 28"; walleye 19.5" through 28.0 
April 14, 2009 must be immediately released.) 

Four Mile Bay May 10, 2008– 6 (Not more than 4 can be 
(SE bay of Lake of Nov. 30, 2008 walleye; only 1 walleye over 
the Woods) 28"; walleye 19.5" through 28.0 

must be immediately released.) 

Dec. 1, 2008– 8 (Not more than 4 can be 
Feb. 28, 2009 walleye; only 1 walleye over 

28"; walleye 19.5" through 28.0 
must be immediately released.) 

March 1, 2008– 2 (Walleye19.5" and larger 
April 14, 2008 must be immediately released.) 

*Namakan, March 1, 2008– 6 (Not more than 4 can be 
Sand Point, and April 14, 2008 walleye; walleye from 17" 
Little Vermilion May 10, 2008– through 28" must be 

April 14, 2009 immediately released; only 1 
walleye over 28".) 

BORDER WATERS–CANADA–MINNESOTA 

*See 2007 fishing regulations book for season dates prior to March 1. 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 43 



 

  
 

   
        

    
   

   
    

        
    
   
  

        
     
    
  
 

                
   

    
     

 
      

 
    

 

          
    

  
      

  

   

   
  

 
    

     
  
  
     
     
    
    
   

  
    
    

 
 

 

 

2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

*Exceptions cont.: March 1, 2008– 8 (Not more than 4 can be 
Rainy Lake April 14, 2008 walleye; walleye from 17" to 28" 

May 10, 2008– must be immediately released; 
April 14, 2009 only 1 walleye over 28".) 

Rainy River March 1, 2008– 2 (Walleye 19.5" and larger 
April 14, 2008 must be immediately released.) 

May 10, 2008– 6 (Only 1 walleye over 28".) 
Feb. 28, 2009 Not more than 4 can be 

walleye; walleye 19.5"–28.0" 
must be immediately released. 

Saganaga Lake March 1, 2008– 6 (Only 1 walleye over 19.5".) 
April 14, 2008 
May 10, 2008– 
April 14, 2009 

Note: For the Rat Root River, Rat Root Lake, Sea Gull River, and Gull Lake walleye regulations 
statewide inland season (page 13) and experimental regulations (pages 26, 31, 39, 40) 

NORTHERN PIKE Continuous 3 (Only 1 over 30".) 
Exceptions: 
Lake of the Woods, the Rainy River 3 (Only 1 over 40"; 
to the dam at International Falls and all northern pike from 30" 
the Warroad, Baudette, and Winter Road through 40" must be 
Rivers (tributaries to Lake of the Woods) immediately released.) 

Basswood Lake May 10, 2008–Feb. 22, 2009 3 (Only 1 over 36".) All 
(Except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist, and northern pike from 24" 
Back Bays which are considered inland through 36" must be immediately 
waters. See pages 13 and 22 for regulations,) released, on all Minnesota 

waters of Basswood Lake. 

MUSKELLUNgE June 21–Nov. 30 1 (Minimum size 40".) 

LARgEMOUTH and Continuous 6 
SMALLMOUTH BASS 
(either or combined) 

LAKE STURgEON April 24–May 7 and 1 per license year. (Fish must 
July 1–Sept. 30 be 45-50 inches, inclusive, or 

over 75 inches.) Immediately 
upon reducing a fish to 
possession, you must validate 
and attach your sturgeon tag. 
Sturgeon harvest must be 
registered within 48 hours. See 
page 49 for more details. 

May 8–May 15 and Catch-and-release only. 
Oct. 1, 2008– (No tag needed.) 
April 23, 2009 

BORDER WATERS–CANADA–MINNESOTA 

new 

new 
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Border Waters–Canada–Minnesota

CANADA–MINNESOTA Regulations
•	One line per angler is allowed, except two lines may be used when ice 
fishing.

•	Saganaga Narrows, Seagull River, Gull Lake and Cross River 
from Cook County Road 12 to Gunflint Lake are closed to fishing 
April 1‑May 23, 2008.

•	Saganaga Falls (Granite River mouth) and the channel between Little 
Gunflint and Little North lakes are closed to fishing April 1 through 
May 31, 2008. 

•	Dressed (filleted) sauger are counted as walleye. See page 9-10 for 
packing regulations. 

•	Dark houses, fish houses, and shelters see pages 55-58.
•	While in Minnesota, anglers may not possess more than a Minnesota 
limit of fish from Canada-Minnesota border waters. Fish from 
Canadian inland waters may be possessed in Minnesota in excess of 
the Minnesota limit only if the angler has proof—such as lodging 
receipts or verification through U.S. Customs—that the fish were taken 
from inland Canadian waters. See pages 8-11 for more detail.

•	Fish with length limits may not be possessed as fillets while on the 
water.

•	A person cannot possess or use a gaff while fishing on the Rainy 
River.

SPECIES	 OPEN SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
	
Crappie 	 Continuous 	 10 

Lake Trout	 May 10–Sept. 30	 2

Winter, statewide	 Jan. 12, 2008–	 2
	 March 16, 2008 
 	 and Jan. 15, 2009– 
	 March 31, 2009 

		

STREAM Trout 	 May 3–Sept. 30 	 5 (Not more than 3 over 16".)

All Other Species 	 Continuous	 Inland limits apply

BORDER WATERS–CANADA–MINNESOTA

 update



 

          

 

  

  

   
   

     
    

    
     

   
   

  

      

  
 

  

   

  

    
        

 
 
 

 
 

2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

IOWA–MINNESOTA 
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters: 

jackson County: Little Spirit Lake. 

jackson and Nobles Counties: Iowa Lake. 

Martin County: Okamanpeedan (Tuttle), Iowa, and Swag Lakes. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 


SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

WALLEYE May 3, 2008– 6 
Feb. 15, 2009 

NORTHERN PIKE May 3, 2008– 3 
Feb. 15, 2009 

LARgEMOUTH and May 3, 2008– 6 
SMALLMOUTH BASS Feb. 15, 2009 
(either or combined) 

CATFISH May 3, 2008– 8 
Feb. 15, 2009 

SUNFISH* Continuous 30 
(either or combined) 
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orange-spotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids) 

CRAPPIE Continuous 15 

PERCH Continuous 30 

WHITE BASS Continuous 30 

BULLHEAD Continuous No Limit 

UNPROTECTED FISH Continuous No Limit 
(Carp, Sucker, Redhorse, Sheepshead, Buffalo, Burbot, Dogfish, Gar, and Quillback) 

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state 
where taken. 

BORDER WATERS–IOWA–MINNESOTA 

IOWA–MINNESOTA Regulations 
• Anglers may use up to two lines with two hooks per line. 
• Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful. 
• Spearing or archery may be used to take carp, buffalo, sheepshead, 

dogfish, gar, or quillback from sunrise to sunset May 1, 2008 through 
February 15, 2009. 
• Spearing game fish is unlawful. 
• Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 55-58. 
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Border Waters–Iowa–Minnesota 

NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA 
Seasons and regulations apply to the Bois de Sioux River and the 

Red River of the North. Daily and possession limits are the same. 

BORDER WATERS–NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

WALLEYE and Continuous 3 
SAUgER (either or combined) 

NORTHERN PIKE Continuous 3 

SUNFISH Continuous 30 

PERCH Continuous 50 

CRAPPIE Continuous 30 

LARgEMOUTH Continuous 3 
and SMALLMOUTH BASS 

MUSKELLUNgE Continuous 1 (Minimum size 40".) 
ROCK BASS Continuous 20 
BULLHEAD Continuous 100 
CATFISH Continuous 5 (only 1 over 24".) 
STURgEON No open season 
UNPROTECTED FISH Continuous No limit 
(Carp, sucker, redhorse, 
sheepshead [freshwater drum] 
buffalo, burbot, dogfish [bowfin], 
gar, white bass.) 

All species not listed are covered by the inland regulations of the state where 
taken. 

NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA Regulations 
• Two lines are permitted, and two hooks are permitted on each line. 
• Spearing from a fish house or a dark house is unlawful. 
• It is unlawful to possess a spear or bow and arrow on or adjacent to 

any water body where the spearing and archery season is closed. 
• Rough fish, except burbot (eelpout), may be taken between sunrise and 

sunset by spearing or archery May 1 through December 31. 
• It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession. 
• Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 55-58. 
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2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA 
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following 

waters: 
Big Stone County: Big Stone Lake. 
Lincoln County: Hendricks Lake. 
Traverse County: Lake Traverse, Mud Lake, Bois de Sioux River 

to North Dakota border, and Mustinka River from the mouth to the 
Minnesota State Highway 117 bridge. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 

BORDER WATERS–SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

WALLEYE and SAUgER April 19, 2008– 4 (only 1 walleye 20" or larger) 
(either or combined) March 1, 2009 

NORTHERN PIKE April 19, 2008– 6 
March 1, 2009 

LARgEMOUTH and April 19, 2008– 6 
SMALLMOUTH BASS March 1, 2009 
(either or combined)* 

CRAPPIE Continuous 10 

SUNFISH* Continuous 10 
(either or combined) 
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orange spotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids) 

ROCK BASS Continuous 20 

BULLHEAD Continuous 100 

PERCH Continuous 25 

CATFISH Continuous 5 (Only 1 over 24") 

STURgEON No Open Season 

UNPROTECTED FISH Continuous No Limit 
(Carp, sucker, redhorse, sheepshead [freshwater drum], buffalo, burbot, dogfish [bowfin], 
gar, white bass.) 

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state 
where taken. 

new 

new 

new 

SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA Regulations 
• Anglers may use two lines with up to three hooks per line. 
• Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful. 

continued on next page 
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Border Waters–South Dakota–Minnesota 

new 

• Unprotected fish, except white bass, may be taken by spearing or 
archery from sunrise to sunset from April 26 through November 30. 
• It is unlawful to possess a spear, spring gaff, or bow and arrow on or 

adjacent to any body of water where the spearing and archery season 
is closed. 
• Spearing from a fish house or dark house is unlawful. 
• Spearing game fish is unlawful. 
• Mud Lake in Traverse County is open to liberalized fishing (use 

of snagging, spears, dip nets and legal minnow seines permitted; 

maximum of 6 lines; possession limit is three times the normal 

possession limit) December 1, 2008 through March 1, 2009.
 
• The following waters in Traverse County are closed to fishing from 

March 1 to April 19: Mud Lake within 500 feet downstream of 

Reservation Dam at State Highway 117; and Bois de Sioux River 

within 500 feet downstream of White Rock Dam at State 

Highway 236.
 
• It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession. 
• Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 55-58. 

Lake Sturgeon Tags 
Lake sturgeon tags and mail-in registration cards are required for 

anyone* who wishes to harvest and posses a lake sturgeon. The fol­
lowing requirements apply: 
• Lake sturgeon may not be possessed or transported without a tag. 


Validate and attach the tag immediately upon reducing the fish 

to possession. 

• Tag must be attached to the narrow portion of the body in front of 

the tail fin. 
• Tags must be attached so that they cannot be easily removed. 
• Tags are not transferable and no duplicate tags will be issued. 
• Registration cards must be completed and mailed within 48 hours 

after harvesting a fish. 
• Lake sturgeon must be transported intact (gills and internal organs 

may be removed). 
• Members of a fishing party may not take sturgeon for other anglers 

limits. 
Note: Catch & Release can be done where seasons are open with only a 
valid fishing license. 
*Including those otherwise exempt from angling license requirements. 

Tax time is your time to help wildlife 
Look for the line with the loon on your Minnesota tax form and donate to the
 
Nongame Wildlife Checkoff.	It’s fast, easy, and tax deductible. Be part of a wildlife 

success story.
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2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Wisconsin–Minnesota 
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following 

waters: 
Mississippi River (downstream of Prescott, Wisconsin and all waters 

between the Burlington Northern [Wisconsin] and Chicago Milwaukee 
[Minnesota] railroad tracks), Lake Pepin, St. Croix River, Lake St. Croix, 
St. Louis River, St. Louis Bay, and Superior Bay. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 

BORDER WATERS–WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

WALLEYE and SAUgER (either or combined) 

St. Louis River May 10, 2008– 2 (15" minimum size for walleye) 
March 1, 2009 

St. Croix River May 3, 2008– 6 (15" minimum size for walleye) 
March 1, 2009 

Mississippi River Continuous 6 (15" minimum size for walleye) 
and	Lake	Pepin	 	 

LARgEMOUTH and SMALLMOUTH BASS (either or combined) 

St. Louis River May 24, 2008– 5 (14" minimum size) 
March 1, 2009 

St. Croix River May 24, 2008– 5 (14" minimum size) 
Upstream of Taylors Sept. 7, 2008 
Falls Dam Sept. 8, 2008– Catch-and-release only 

March 1, 2009 

Downstream of May 24, 2008– 5 (14" minimum size) 
Taylors Falls Dam to March 1, 2009 
U.S. Hwy. 10 Bridge 

Mississippi River Continuous 5 (14" minimum size) 
and	Lake	Pepin	 

NORTHERN PIKE 

St. Louis River May 10, 2008– 2 
March 1, 2009 

St. Croix River May 3, 2008– 5 
March 1, 2009 

Mississippi River Continuous 5 
and	Lake	Pepin 
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Border Waters–Wisconsin–Minnesota 

BORDER WATERS–WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA 
SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE) 

MUSKELLUNgE May 24, 2008– 1 (40" minimum size) 
March 1, 2009 

new *St. Louis River 50" minimum size. 

PERCH Continuous 25 

CHANNEL and 
FLATHEAD CATFISH 
(either or combined) Continuous 10 

BULLHEAD Continuous No Limit 

ROUgH FISH Continuous No Limit 

WHITE BASS Continuous 25 
and YELLOW BASS 
(either or combined) 

CRAPPIE Continuous 25 

ROCK BASS Continuous 25 

SUNFISH* Continuous 25** 
(either or combined) 
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orange-spotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids) 
**Except for Mississippi River Pools 5, 5A and 8: possession limit 10. MN side only. 

PADDLEFISH No Open Season 

LAKE STURgEON Closed (except as noted below) 
Lake sturgeon may be harvested September 6 through October 15 on the 
St. Croix River from Taylors Falls Dam downstream to the mouth at Prescott,Wisconsin.The 
possession limit is one per season and the minimum size limit is 50". The season is closed 
on all other waters except those along the Ontario-Minnesota border. (see page 44.) 
*Sturgeon tag needed, see page 49 for details. 

SHOVELNOSE Continuous 10 (No minimum size.) 
STUR gEON 
Downstream from Red Wing Dam only. 

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state where taken. 

WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA Regulations 
• Two lines with a single lure or bait on each are permitted. If fishing 

with one line you may use two baits. 
• Fish hooked in any part of the body except the mouth must be returned 

to the water immediately. 
• Tip-ups must be within 400 feet of the angler. 
• Rough fish may be taken by spearing, archery, and dip-netting during 

daylight hours from May 3, 2008 through March 1, 2009. Dip net 

hoops cannot exceed 24 inches in diameter. 
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• Spearing game fish is prohibited. It is unlawful to have a spear on or 
adjacent to any body of water where the spearing season is closed. 
• It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession.
• No fishing allowed within 300 feet below Mississippi River Lock and 

Dam 3 (near Red Wing) and Lock and Dam 4 (Alma, WI) from March 
1-April 30. 
• No fishing from Taylors Falls (St. Croix Falls on the St. Croix River) 

dam to 50 feet downstream from the pier in center of river. 
• Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 55-58. 

For
Your
Information

Aquatic
Plant
Permit
Requirements

Water
plants
such
as
bulrushes
are
essential
for
lake
ecosystems.

They
reduce
wave
erosion,
provide
fish
and
wildlife
habitat,
and

purify
water.
Because
lake
plants
can
interfere
with
swimming
and

boating
by
lakeshore
owners—but
are
also
vital
to
lake
health—the

DNR
allows
removal
under
the
following
conditions.


DNR
permit
not
required
 DNR
permit
is
required
to:

For
underwater
plants
only,
you
 1.
Remove
emergent
plants


may
cut
or
pull
plants
as
long
 (such
as
bulrushes,
cattails,


as:
 and
wild
rice).


1.The
area
does
not
extend
 2. Remove
plants
in
an
area



along
more
than
50
feet
of
 larger
than
2,500
square
feet

your
shoreline
or
one­half
 or
wider
than
50
feet.

the
length
of
your
frontage,
 3.
Use
herbicides
or
algicides
in

whichever
is
less;
 Minnesota
lakes.


2.The
total
area
is
less
than
 4. Remove
water
lilies
(other


2,500
square
feet
(except
for
 than
in
a
narrow
channel


boat
channels);
and
 extending
to
open
water).



3.The
plants
are
immediately
 5. Install
or
use
an
automated


and
permanently
disposed
 device
such
as
the
Crary


of
on
high
ground
where
they
 WeedRoller.


	 can’t	re-enter	the	water.	

A
person
who
illegally
destroys
plants
can
be
cited
and
made
to
pay


for
the
restoration
of
those
plants.


For
more
information,
call
your
regional
DNR
office
(pages
74­75).



52
 DNR
Information:
(651)
296­6157
or
(888)
646­6367




53DNR Web site: mndnr.gov

 update

*Night bowfishing  June 1 – Aug. 31 on selected waterbodies. See the DNR web site 
for listing of waterbodies.

SPEARING,  archery,  and dip nets
Rough fish are defined as carp, buffalo, sucker, redhorse, freshwater 

drum (sheepshead), bowfin (dogfish), burbot (eelpout), cisco (tullibee), 
gar, mooneye, and bullhead. The regulations below apply to spearing 
rough fish in state waters unless noted otherwise in this booklet.

	 SPECIES	 SPEARING SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT 
	
	 Bullhead  		  100
     	
	 SUCKER   		  50
     	
	 REDHORSE  		  50
     	
	 Other rough 	  	 No limit 
	 fish species  		

From sunrise*  
to sunset,  

May 1, 2008– 
Last Sunday in 

February.
(See pg. 55 for 

dark house spearing 
laws.) 

•	A bow may be transported uncased and discharged while taking rough 
fish in a boat powered by an electric motor. Crossbows may not be 
used to take rough fish, except by disabled persons who have a valid 
crossbow permit. Permit applications are available from the DNR 
Information Center or through the DNR Web site.

•	Arrows must be attached to the bow with a tethered line. Broadheads 
must have barbs for night bowfishing. 

• Night bowfishing noise levels may not exceed 84 decibels.
• Must take reasonable measures to retrieve arrows and wounded fish. 
 •	Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in 

designated trout lakes or streams.
•	Check local firearms and archery ordinances that may apply while 

bow-fishing in or near cities.
•	Licensed anglers and children under 16 may take rough fish by 

spearing, harpooning, archery, and hand-held dip nets on all inland 
waters, except where taking fish is prohibited. All rough fish, except 
cisco (tullibee), may be bought and sold. 

•	Hand-held dip nets shall not have hoops exceeding 24 inches in 
diameter. (For more on smelt, see page 19.)

•	Harpoons (spears) must have a tethered line not more than 20 feet 
long, may be discharged only when the equipment and the operator 
are entirely under the surface of the water, and may not be used within 
1,000 feet of a swimming beach.

•	 It is unlawful to possess at or near waters a spear, net, or any device 
other than angling line that can take fish from Feb. 25, 2008–April 30, 
2008 and Feb. 16, 2009–April 30, 2009. The exception is landing nets 
used for angling.

•	Speared or dead rough fish may not be returned to the water or left on 
the ice or banks of any lake or stream.

Spearing Season and Possession Limit

 new

 new

 new
 new
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ICE ANGLING and spearing
General Regulations
•	Two lines may be used through the ice (other than on designated trout 

lakes and streams).
•	Anglers must remain within 200 feet of their tip-up.

•	Residents age 16 through 64 must have a dark house spearing license 
and an angling license. Residents age 65 years old and older are 
exempt from the dark house spearing license, but must have an angling 
license to spear.

•	Party fishing does not apply while spearing.
•	A person may take fish by angling in a dark house if only one angling 

line is in use and any fish caught is immediately released or placed on 
the ice. For more information see the DNR Web site.

•	Nonresidents may not spear from a dark house.
•	Using an artificial light to see fish when spearing is unlawful. Lighted 
decoys are legal to use. Any battery that is used in lighted decoys  new  
cannot contain any intentionally introduced mercury.

Shelters
The following regulations apply to fish houses, dark houses, and 

portable shelters used on all Minnesota waters, unless otherwise noted 
elsewhere in this booklet.
•	All shelters, which include dark houses, fish houses, and portable 

shelters, placed on the ice of Minnesota waters must have either the 
(1)complete name and address, (2)driver’s license number, or (3)the 
nine-digit Minnesota DNR number on the license of the owner plainly 
and legibly displayed on the outside in letters, and figures at least 2 
inches in height. Dark houses, fish houses, and portable shelters placed 
on the ice for shelter while fishing do not need  new a license unless 
the house will be left unattended overnight.

 new Note:  The Dept. of Public Safety - DVS now requires trailers 
used to haul fish houses or dark houses and enclosed trailers or recre-
ational trailers used for fishing must be registered. See your local Deputy 
Registrar for trailer registration.

dark house Spearing Season
 update

	 SPECIES	 SPEARING SEASON	 POSSESSION LIMIT 
	
	 Northern pike  		  3 
			   (unless special regulations apply)
     	
	 catfish   		  5 
			   (not more than 2 flathead)     	
	
	 White Fish		  No limit 
			 
	   		

From sunrise  
to sunset,  

Nov. 15, 2008 – 
last Sunday in 

February except 
where prohibited. 

See previous table for other species pg. 53.



       



       



 

 
  

   

 

 

  

 
 

 

 

 

    
 

  
 

  

 
 

  

2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

• A license is not required on border waters with WI, Iowa, ND, and SD. 
• A tag, furnished with a license, must be attached to the exterior in a 

readily visible location. 
• Dark houses, fish houses, and portable shelters must have a door that 

can be opened from the outside at any time when in use. 
• Fish houses left on the ice overnight need to have at least 2 square 

inches of reflective material on each side of the house. 
• Fish houses must comply with the identification requirements of the 

state for which the angler is licensed. 
• No person may erect a dark house, fish house, or shelter within 

10 feet of an existing dark house, fish house, or shelter. 
• Portable dark houses, fish houses, and shelters may be used for fishing 

within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness (BWCAW), but 
must be removed from the ice each night. The structure must be 
removed from the BWCAW each time the occupant leaves the BWCAW. 

Shelter Removal Dates 
Dark houses, fish houses, and shelters must be off the ice no later than 

midnight for each of the dates given in the following categories below. 
Fish houses or shelters on waters north of the line* may remain on the 
ice between midnight and one hour before sunrise only when occupied 
or attended. 

Border Waters 
Minnesota–Iowa Feb. 20
 
Minnesota–Wisconsin March 1
 
Minnesota–North and South Dakota March 5
 
Minnesota–Canada March 31
 

*An east-west line formed by U.S. Hwy 10,
 
east along Hwy 34 to Minnesota Hwy 200, east 

along Hwy 200 to U.S. Hwy 2, and east along 

Hwy 2 to the Minnesota-Wisconsin border.
 

If houses or shelters are not removed, 
owners will be prosecuted, and the struc­
ture may be confiscated and removed, 
or destroyed by a conservation officer. 
Contents of the structure may be seized and held for 60 days; if not 
claimed by the owner within that time, they become property of the State 
of Minnesota. 

DuluthMoorhead 

Inland waters 
March 16 

Inland 
waters 

March 1, 
2009 

Note: After the date when dark houses, fish houses or shelters must 
be removed, shelters may be placed on the ice and used from one hour 
before sunrise to midnight. 
• Storing or leaving fish houses or dark houses on a public access is 

prohibited. 
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Ice
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and
Spearing


Spearing
Prohibited


Winter spearing for northern pike is prohibited on the following lakes: 

Baby* (Cass County) Minnetonka (Hennepin and 
Bald Eagle (Anoka, Ramsey and Carver Counties) 

Washington Counties) Moose* (Itasca County) 
Beers* (Otter Tail County) North Star * (Itasca County) 
Big* (Beltrami County) Owasso (Ramsey County) 
Big Mantrap* (Hubbard County) Peavey (Hennepin County) 
Cass* (Beltrami and Cass Rebecca (Hennepin County) 

Counties) Rush * (Chisago County)  
Cross and its Snake River Spider* (Itasca County)  

Flowage* (Pine County) Stieger (Carver County) 
Deer* (Itasca County) Sugar* (Wright County) 
Eagle (Hennepin County) Tanager (Hennepin County) 
Forest (Hennepin County) Wabedo* (Cass County) 
Libbs (Hennepin County) West Battle* (Otter Tail County) 
Lobster* (Douglas County) 
Mille Lacs (Aitkin, Crow Wing 

and Mille Lacs Counties) 

*Denotes lakes where no spearing is allowed at any time. 

For
Your
Information

Federal
Aid
In
Sport
Fish
Restoration

More
than
a
third
of
DNR
fisheries
management

work
in
Minnesota
comes
from
Federal
Aid
in

Sport
Fish
Restoration
funding.
Also
known
as

the
Dingell­Johnson
Act
for
its
congressional

sponsors,
this
legislation
was
established

in
1950
to
boost
funding
for
state
fisheries

management
programs.
The
act
authorizes
a

10
percent
federal
tax
on
rods,
reels,
tackle
boxes,
lures,
and

other
fishing
gear.
The
money
goes
to
the
U.S.
Fish
and
Wildlife

Service
and
then
is
returned
to
states
based
on
their
size
and

number
of
anglers.
An
amendment
in
1984
increased
the
revenue

by
also
taxing
boat
fuels.


Sport
Fish
Restoration
funds
are
spent
on
hatcheries,
habitat

improvements,
boat
ramps,
fishing
piers,
research,
education,

planning,
and
other
important
fisheries
management
work.

Minnesota
gets
roughly
$13
million
per
year
from
this
program.


DNR
Web
site:
mndnr.gov
 59
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INVASIVE
SPECIES

Invasive species are threatening Minnesota waters. These nonnative 

species can harm fish populations, water quality, and water recreation 
including fishing. A number of invasive species have already become 
established in Minnesota waters. 

You can help prevent the introduction and spread of invasive species 
by following the four easy steps listed on page 61 before moving equip-
ment, bait and water from one waterbody to another. Please pay attention 
to the laws on page 61 and take special precautions as required when 
fishing or boating on infested waters (pages 62-63).

Report
and
provide
samples
of
invasive
species
to
DNR
fisheries

offices
or
the
Invasive
Species
Program
if
found
in
inland
waters.


BIgHEAD
CARP
 EUR
ASIAN
 ROUND
gOBY

Identification:
Eye
 WATERMILFOIL
 Identification:
Single

located
at
lower
part
of
 Identification:
12
to
21
 scallop-shaped
pelvic
fin,

head
below
the
mouth;

adults
weigh
up
to
60

pounds


leaflet
pairs
per
leaf
 fish
is
usually
3"-6"
long


RUFFE

Identification:
Spots

between
rays
of
dorsal
fin,

no
gap
between
fins


Spots

No
gap


ZE
BRA
MUSSEL
 NEW
ZEALAND

Identification:
Only
 MUD
SNAIL

freshwater
mollusk
 Identification:
Up
to

that
attaches
 1⁄8"
long,
light
to
dark

to
objects
 brown,
cone-shaped
shell

with

byssal

threads

(up
to
1
1⁄2")


SPINY
WATER
FLEA

Identification:
Long
tail,
white
with

black
spots,
looks
like
gelatinous
globs

on
fishing
line,
small.
(Up
to
3⁄8")
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Invasive Species Laws 

It is unlawful to: 
• transport aquatic plants, ruffe, round goby, zebra mussels, or other 

prohibited invasive species on public roads; 
• transport infested water (including in livewells and bait containers) 

(pages 62-63); 
• launch a watercraft with aquatic plants, zebra mussels, or prohibited
 

invasive species attached; and
 
• harvest bait (minnows, frogs, crayfish or other wild animals) from 

infested waters (pages 62-63). 
Exception: Harvest for personal use is permitted in waters infested solely with 

Eurasian watermilfoil. Harvested bait must ONLY be used in the water from which it 

is harvested. Bait may only be harvested using a cylindrical minnow trap not exceeding 

16 inches in diameter and 32 inches in length (pages 68-69). 

Prohibited Invasive Species: bighead carp, Eurasian watermilfoil, 
round goby, ruffe, zebra mussel, new zealand mud snail, and spiny 
water flea. Additional species can be found at www.dnr.state. 
mn.us/invasives or by calling the DNR information line. 

Remove visible plants and animals from your boat, 
trailer, and other boating equipment before leaving the 
water access. 

STOP AqUATIC HITCHHIKERS! 

Dispose of unwanted bait in the trash. Never release 
live bait. 

Drain water from your boat, motor, livewell, and 
bait containers before leaving the water access. To keep 
unused bait at spiny water flea- or zebra mussel-infested 
waters, drain and replace with tap or spring water. 

Drain water 
Spray, rinse, or dry boats and recreational equipment from bait 

buckets. before transporting to another water body. Spray/rinse 
with high pressure and/or hot tap water (above 120˚F) or 
dry at least five days. 

Check these areas before leaving an access. 

MN 4316 AD 

Live 
Well 

Transom 
Well Anchor 

Rollers 
Axle Lower Unit/ 

Propeller 
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2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Minnesota Infested Waters: 
The following Minnesota lakes, rivers, and wetlands have been des­

ignated as infested waters because they contain specific invasive species 
that have a risk of being spread. Regulations related to bait harvest, 
water transport, and draining water apply to these waters. (See page 00.) 

County Waterbody 
BRITTLE NAIAD 

Dakota Lac Lavon 
FLOWERINg RUSH 

Anoka Unnamed wetland southwest of 12th Ave. and Holly Dr. in Lino Lakes 
	 Becker		 Detroit,	Curfman	(Deadshot	bay),	Pelican	R.	(from	Detroit	to	 

Muskrat), Muskrat, Sallie, Melissa 
Dakota Unnamed lake south of Cliff Road 1/4-mile from Minnesota Hwy 3 

in Eagan 
Itasca North Twin, South Twin, Hart 
Rice Cannon, Cannon R. (from Wells to the confluence with the 

Straight R.),Wells 
Todd Sauk R., (from Juergens to Mud) 

Washington Forest 
EURASIAN WATERMILFOIL 

Aitkin Mille Lacs 
	 Anoka	 Cenaiko,	Centerville,	Coon,	Crooked,	George,	Otter,	Peltier,	 	

unnamed (in Springbrook Nature Center)
 
Blue Earth Lura
 

	 Carver	 Ann,	Auburn,	Bavaria,	Burandt,	eagle,	Fireman’s	Lotus,	Lucy,	 	
Minnewashta,	Parley,	Pierson,	Riley,	schutz,	stieger,	stone,	susan,	 
Virginia,Waconia,Wasserman, Zumbra
 

Cass Leech 

Chisago Ellen  Fish, Green, North Lindstrom, Rush 

newCrow Wing Bay, Kimball,	Ossawinnamakee,	Ruth,	Ripple	R.	between	Bay	 
and Tame Fish Lakes 

	 Dakota	 Crystal,	earley,	Keller,	Lac	Lavon,	Marion,	Quarry,	schultz,	sunset,	 
twin	Lakes,	Valley,	unnamed	pond	in	Valley	Park	 

Douglas Oscar Lake 
Hennepin Arbor,Arbor West and North, 

Arrowhead, Bass, Brownie, Bryant, Bush, Calhoun, Cedar, Christmas, 
Dutch, Eagle, Fish, Forest, Galpin, Gleason, Harriet, Hiawatha, Inde­
pendence, Lake of the Isles, Lakewood Cemetery, Libbs, Little Long, 
Long,	Medicine,	Minnehaha	Cr.,	Minnetonka,	Mitchell,	niccum’s	 

newPond,	nokomis,	Parker’s,	Peavy,	 Powderhorn,	Rebecca,	Rice,	 
Round, Sarah, Schmidt, Snelling, Swan,Tanager,Twin, unnamed 
wetland in Shorewood, north side of Minnesota Hwy 7 1 2 mile 
west of Hazeltine Boulevard,Whaletail,Wirth,Wolfe 

newIsanti Green, Long, Spectacle 
	 Itasca	 Ice,	McKinney,	north	twin	 
	 Kanabec	 Knife	 
	 Kandiyohi	 Green,	norway 

LeSueur East Jefferson, German 
Meeker Manuella, Ripley, Stella,Washington,Wolf 

Mille Lacs Mille Lacs from the mouths of the tributaries of Mille Lacs to the 
first public road 

Morrison Alexander 
Olmsted George 

	 Pine	 Cross,	unnamed	gravel	pit	northwest	of	Hinkley	1⁄4	mile	off	Pine	 
County	Road	140,	snake	R.	between	Pokegama	and	Cross	Lakes,	 
Pokegama,	sand 

62 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367 
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 new Polk	 Union

	 Pope 	 Gilchrist, Minnewaska
	 Ramsey	 �Bald Eagle, Beaver, Birch, Gervais, Island, Keller, Kohlmans, Loeb, 

McCarron, Owasso, Phalen, unnamed pond 1⁄4 mile west of U.S. 
Hwy 61 and Warner Road, Round, Silver, Snail, Spoon Cr., Sucker, 
Turtle, Vadnais, Wabasso, White Bear, unnamed pond north side of 
Warner Road, 1⁄4 mile west of U.S. Hwy 61

	 Rice	 Cedar
	 St. Louis	 Gilbert Pit, Horseshoe	
	 Scott	  new Cate's,  new McMahon, O’Dowd, Lower and Upper Prior, 

Thole	
	 Sherburne	  new Big, Little Elk, Eagle
	 Stearns	 Wetland one mile downstream of Clearwater Lake
	 Todd	 Little Birch, Sauk
	 Waseca	 Clear
	 Washington	 Big Marine, Bone, Camp Galillee, Clear, Elmo, Long, Mud, Powers, 

White Bear, St. Croix R., Sunset
	 Winona	 Winona
	 Wright	� Augusta, Beebe, Buffalo, Clearwater, Clearwater R. (downstream of 

Clearwater Lake), Deer, Emma, Fish, French, Goose, Howard, Indian, 
Little Mary, Little Waverly,  new Maple, Mary, Mink, Pulaski, Ramsey, 
Rock, Sugar, Waverly, Weigand	

	 Multiple	 Mississippi R. (downstream of St. Anthony Falls)

New Zealand Mud snails, Round Goby, Ruffe, and White Perch
	 Multiple	� Lake Superior, St. Louis R. (downstream of the Fond du Lac dam)
Spiny Water Flea
	 Cook	  new Caribou,  new Devil's Track, Flour, Greenwood,  new Gunflint, 

McFarland, Pine, Saganaga
	  new Lake of 

	 the Woods 	 Lake of the Woods

	 St. Louis	
 update

Ash River (downstream/north of Section 8, T68 19W,       
 update

Crane, Fish, Island, 
 update

Kabetogama, 
 update

Little Vermillion, 

Rainy, Namakan, 
 update

Sand Point	

	 Multiple	� Cloquet R. (from Island Lake to the St. Louis R.)  new Rainy R. (from 

Rainy Lake to Lake of the Woods) and its tributaries, St. Louis R. 

(downstream of the Cloquet R.), Lake Superior,  new  tributaries to 

Lake of the Woods (downstream of the first road).
Zebra Mussels	
	 Benton	 Little Rock Lake Channel, Little Rock
	 Crow Wing	 Black Bear, Boom, Little Rabbit, Half-Moon, 

Miller, Ossawinnamakee, Pickerel, 	Pelican Brook, Pine R. (from 
mouth of Pelican Br. to the Mississippi R.), Rice, wetlands in the 
floodplain of the Mississippi R. from Brainerd to Little Falls

	 Mille Lacs	 Mille Lacs, all tributaries to Lake Mille Lacs from the mouth to the 
first public road, Ogeechie, Onamia, Shokapee

	 Multiple 	 Lake Superior, Mississippi R. (from mouth of Pine R. in Crow Wing 
County to the Minnesota-Iowa border), Rum R. (entire length), 
St. Croix R. (downstream of the St. Croix Boomsite Recreation 
Area), St. Louis R. (downstream of the Fond du Lac dam), Zumbro 
R. (downstream of Lake Zumbro), wetlands in the floodplain of the 
Zumbro R. (downstream of Lake Zumbro)

	 Olmstead	 Zumbro
	

 new Ramsey	 Charley, Pleasant, Sucker, Vadnais
	 Wright	 Fish
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ILLUSTRATED
FISH
OF
MINNESOTA

Knowing what fish species you are catching is not only fun, but in 

many cases it’s required by law. It is particularly important to know how 
to distinguish walleye from sauger, to know the difference between north-
ern pike and muskellunge, and to be able to tell what species of trout or 
salmon you catch. 

Walleye
and
Sauger


No
spots
on
dorsal
finWalleye


White
spot
on

bottom
of
tail


Dark
area
at
base
of
dorsal
fin


Maynard Reece 

Spots
on
dorsal
finSauger

No
dark
area
at
base
of
dorsal
fin


No
white
spot
on

bottom
of
tailDuane Raver  USFWS 

Walleye/sauger
(saugeye)
hybrid
fillets
are
counted
as
part
of
a
walleye
possession
limit
during

transportation.


Back of mouth goes way

beyond
back
of
eye
Back
of
mouth
goes
way

beyond
back
of
eye


Back
of
mouth
goes

only
to
middle
of
eye


Duane Raver  USFWS 

Duane Raver  USFWS 

Large
and
Smallmouth
bass


Largemouth


Smallmouth
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Muskellunge: 

Clear 

Spotted 

Paired fins having 
more pointed tips Caudal fin with 

pointed tips 

Coloration having irregular narrow vertical dark markings on a 
light background with stripes merging onto the back in an interlocking pattern 

Paired fins having 
rounded tips 

Caudal fin with 
rounded tips 

Illustrated Fish of Minnesota 

Northern Pike and Muskellunge 

Coloration with vertical dark markings on a light background 
(Juvenile pattern similar to that of adults) 

Barred 

Tiger (hybrid) Muskellunge 
(Esox masquinongy X Esox lucius) 

Northern Pike 
(Esox lucius) 

Coloration with pattern of horizontal rows of 
light round to oval spots on a dark background 

Paired fins having 
more rounded tips (Juvenile pattern has white, 

oblique bars which extend from 

Caudal fin with 
more rounded tips 

Illustrations 
©1986 by Virg Beck the white belly) 

When fishing for these species, please be prepared 
with the following tools (to insure proper release 
or landing): gloves, landing net, jaw spreaders, long-
nosed pliers, long-nosed hook-outs, hook (bolt) 
cutters, tape measure and/or floating rule. 
Use caution: Mortality of released muskies increases 
when water temperatures are high, especially in July 
and August. 
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2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations Illustrated Fish of Minnesota 

Trout and Salmon 

Duane Raver  USFWS 

Tim Knepp  USFWS 

Tim Knepp  USFWS 

Joseph Tomel eri 

Carlyn verson 

Joseph Tomel eri 

White leading 
edge on lower fins 

Rainbow trout 

Brown trout 

Lake trout 

Brook trout 

Chinook salmon 

Coho salmon 

Steelhead 
(Rainbow Trout) 

Pink salmon 

To tell a brookie 
from a splake 
from a lake trout, 
look at the tail: 

Brook 
trout 

Lake 
trout 

Splake 

Square 
tail 

Light, wormlike markings on 
dark upper body 

Large dark spots 
and red dots on 
brown body 

Pinkish	stripe	on	 
silvery body 

White spots on 
grayish body 

White leading 
edge on lower fins 

Spots in top half 
of tail only 

13-15 rays in anal fin 

Small scales 

Green and white blotches 
on spawning fish 

Some eye-sized 
spots in tail and 
on back 

Spawning male 
has hump on 
back. 

Spots throughout 
tail 

15-17 rays in anal fin 

Inside mouth 
is dark 

Inside mouth 
is gray 

Usually a pink stripe 
on silvery body 

10 rays in anal fin 

Inside mouth 
is white 

Small spots 
throughout tail 

Forked 
tail 

Duane Raver  USFWS 

Small black dots throughout 
the body that extend into tail 

Duane Raver  USFWS 
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   COHO SALMON Tip falls slightly past middle 

CHInOOK	sALMOn	Tip falls short of middle 

Rainbow Trout-Salmon Identification guide 

Weigh Your Fish With a Ruler 
Fish are sometimes injured when weighed. With this chart, you 

can quickly determine the approximate weight of your fish using a 
ruler or tape measure. 

CRAPPIE TROUT BASS WALLEYE NORTHERN 
length weight length weight length weight length weight length weight
 

(inches) (lbs.) 
8
9

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17 

(inches) (lbs.) 
8
9

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18 

(inches) (lbs.) 
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23 

(inches) (lbs.) 
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29 

(inches) (lbs.)
 
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42 

0.3 0.2 1.0 1.0 3.2 
0.4 0.3 1.3 1.2 3.6 
0.6 0.4 1.7 1.5 4.0 
0.8 0.6 2.1 1.8 4.6 
1.1 0.8 2.5 2.2 5.2 
1.4 0.9 3.0 2.5 5.8 
1.8 1.1 3.6 3.0 6.4 
2.2 1.4 4.2 3.5 7.1 
2.7 1.6 5.0 4.1 7.8 
3.3 1.8 5.7 4.7 8.6 

2.3 6.6 5.4 9.4 
7.6 6.1 10.3 

length weight 
SUNFISH 

6.9 11.2
 
(inches) (lbs.)
 7.8 12.2 

8 
9 

10 
11 
12 
13 
14 
15 
16 

0.4 8.8 13.3 
0.6 9.8 14.4 
0.8 15.6 
1.1 16.8 
1.5 Note: These figures are rough 18.1 

estimates only. Actual weights 

vary slightly by lake and stream.
 

1.9 
2.4 
3.0 
3.7 

RAINBOW TROUT 
= white mouth 

COHO SALMON AND 
CHInOOK	sALMOn 
= grayish to black mouth 

RAINBOW TROUT 
Tail has many small 

spots in distinct rows. 

COHO SALMON 
Tail has some large 
spots mostly on the 

upper half. 

CHInOOK	sALMOn 
Tail has large spots 

throughout, especially 
in the silver area at the 

base of the tail. 

The shape of the anal fin is another way to identify 
these species.This can easily be seen by depressing the 
front edge of the anal fin to its base as shown below. 

RAINBOW TROUT Tip falls to or beyond end of base 

anal fin front 
edge 

base 
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OTHER
AqUATIC
SPECIES

The following regulations apply to the taking and possession of 

mussels (clams), crayfish, frogs, minnows, leeches, and turtles for 
personal or commercial use. These animals may not be taken from 
infested waters (see Invasive Species section pages 62-63). 

Mussels (Clams): From May 16 to Feb. 28, licensed anglers and 
children under 16 may take by hand and possess up to 24 whole or 
48 shell halves of dead mussels. Twenty of Minnesota’s 48 species of 
mussels are protected. A DNR permit* is required to take or possess 
shells of these protected species. It is illegal to possess live mussels, take 
mussel shells from the St. Croix River or posses zebra mussels. 

Crayfish: From April 1-Nov. 30 licensed anglers and children under 16 
may take and possess up to 25 pounds of crayfish longer than 1 inch for 
personal use. A DNR permit* is required to import, transport or sell cray-
fish. Crayfish may be used as bait only in the body of water where they 
were captured. The use of live crayfish as bait on the St. Croix National 
Scenic Riverway (north of the Boomsite Boat Launch) and within 
Voyagers National Park, units of the National Park System, is prohibited. 

Frogs: May 16 to March 31 licensed anglers and children under age 16 
may take, use, buy, and sell an unlimited number of frogs up to 6 inches 
long for bait. A DNR license is required to take frogs for purposes other 
than bait. Bullfrogs are native to SE corner of MN, but are invasive and 
destructive elsewhere in the state. new Do not release bullfrogs outstate of 
Winona and Houston counties. 

Minnows and Leeches: Licensed anglers may take minnows or leeches 
for their own use with dip nets, traps, or seines. 
• Minnows and leeches taken from waters infested with Eurasian 

watermilfoil (see pages 62-63) may only be used for fishing at the 
body of water where taken. Taking of bait from other infested waters 
and using them is unlawful. 
• Seines may not be over 25 feet long or more than 148 meshes deep 

with 1⁄4-inch bar measure, or more than 197 meshes deep with 3⁄16-
inch bar measure. 
• Traps, width and length may not exceed 30 inches, height may not 

exceed 15 inches, the diameter or width of the opening may not exceed 
11⁄2 inches, and mesh size may not exceed 1⁄2 inch bar measure. Traps 
must have a waterproof tag bearing the name and address of the owner. 
• It is unlawful to use throw nets to harvest minnows.  

• A DNR permit* is required to possess more than 24 dozen minnows or 
leeches; to sell, export or import; or to take minnows or leeches from 
designated trout waters.
• Unwanted minnows and leeches cannot be dumped in the water. 
* Permit applications are available from the DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155. 
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Information
Online


harvest. 
new 

• All streams and associated tributaries and connected waters of the 
Missouri River watershed in Lincoln, Pipestone, Murray, Rock, or 
Nobles counties that lie south of U.S. Highway 14 to the Iowa border 
and west of U.S. Highway 59 to South Dakota are closed to minnow 

• Permit needed to take madtoms and stonecats in Dodge, Freeborn, 
or Mower Counties. 

Turtles: Resident licensed anglers and children under 16 may take, pos-
sess, and transport turtles for personal use. Western painted, snapping, 
and spiny softshell turtles are the only harvestable species and may be 
taken by angling or by hand. Harvest by explosives, drugs, poisons, lime, 
and other harmful substances is prohibited. Harvest by traps, nets, or 
other equipment requires an additional turtle license. A separate DNR 
license is required to collect turtle eggs from natural nests or to purchase 
or sell turtles, except that retail customers do not need a license and resi-
dents under age 18 may take, possess, rent or sell up to 25 turtles for use 
in a non-profit turtle race. 
• The snapping turtle possession limit is 3. Minimum size limit is 12" in 
shell length. Snapping turtles may not be taken during May and June.
• Spiny softshell minimum size limit is 12" in shell length. Spiny  
softshells may not be taken June 1-July 15. 
• Western painted turtle maximum size limit is 5.5" in shell length, 

except that those used in turtle races may be of any length greater 
than 4". 

INFORMATION
ONLINE

More information on the following subjects can be found online at the 

DNR Web site. Specific Web site addresses are listed. 

Boat
and
Water
Safety

For a complete summary of the boating regulations and safety infor-

mation, contact the DNR Information Center for a copy of the Minnesota 
Boating Guide, or find it online at www.dnr.state.mn.us/boating. For 
rules pertaining to the use of motorboats within Wildlife Management 
Areas, refer to the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations 
Handbook or call DNR Information Center. 

Aquatic
Management
Areas

DNR Fish and Wildlife acquires land along lakes and streams to pro-

vide fishing opportunities and to protect critical fish habitat. These areas, 
known as Aquatic Management Areas (AMAs), are posted with signs to 
indicate allowable uses. Each sign is marked with a letter to easily iden-
tify permitted activities. 

DNR
Web
site:
mndnr.gov
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Catch-and-Release

Improved fishing technology and increasing fishing pressure have 

caused fishing quality to decline in many waters. Catch-and-release 
fishing offers anglers a way to enjoy their sport with less harm to the 
resource. Find more information online at www.dnr.state mn.us/fishing/ 
trout_streams/catch_release html
• Don’t plan to release fish that have been on a stringer or in a livewell.
• Play and land the fish quickly.
• Don’t angle for fish in very deep water, unless you plan to keep what 

you catch. 
• Handle the fish gently and keep it in the water as much as possible.
• Do not hold the fish by the eye sockets or gills, but rather by the lower 

lip or under the gill plate and also support the belly of the fish. 
• Wet your hands before touching a fish to help prevent removal of their 

protective slime coating. 
• If a hook is deeply imbedded, cut the line so that at least an inch hangs 

out of the mouth. This helps the hook to lay flush when the fish takes 
in food. 
• Circle hooks may help in reducing deeply hooked fish. They are made 

to hook fish in the mouth. 
• A fish that can be legally kept should not be released if it is bleeding 

heavily, which indicates its chance of survival is poor. 
• You cannot practice catch-and-release for a species during its closed 

season.

The
tackle
industry,
recognizing
a
growing
awareness
and
concern

about
lead
in
the
environment,
has
begun
to
create
steel,
tin,

bismuth,
or
plastic
sinkers.
Consider
using
non­lead
tackle
when

you
go
fishing.


Here’s	what	you	can	do	to	help:
•	Ask	local	sporting	good	stores	to	stock	

non­lead
fishing
tackle.

•	spread	the	word	by	telling	other	anglers	

about
the
problem.

•	Dispose	of	old	lead	sinkers	and	jigs	properly	by	

locating
a
drop­off
location.
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Managing Minnesota’s Fisheries
The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife is responsible for manag

ing the state’s diverse fisheries resources. Each year, roughly 2 million 
people fish in Minnesota, and sport fishing generates approximately $1.9 
billion in direct expenditures, making angling one of the state’s largest 
industries. More information online at www.dnr.state mn.us/fisheries/
management/index.htm. 
• 	Much of Minnesota’s fisheries program is reimbursed by the Federal 

Aid in Sport Fish Restoration Program (federal excise tax), adminis
tered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. 

Master Angler Program
The Minnesota DNR and the Minnesota Fishing Hall of Fame recog-

nize anglers who catch large fish of various species. Categories include 
adult, youth, and catch-and-release. 

For more information on becoming a Master Angler, visit the Web site 
at: www.minnesotafishinghalloffame.com.

Take A Mom Fishing Weekend—May 9-11 
Minnesota resident moms fish free.

Take A Kid Fishing Weekend—June 6-8
Minnesota residents 18 and older fish free with children 
younger than 16.

Take A Kid Ice Fishing Weekend—February 14-16, 2009
Minnesota residents 18 and older fish free with children 
younger than 16.

Free Fishing Weekends

 update

 update



 

              
 

   
     

    

 
 

  
 

 
  

 
 

  
  

 
  

 
  

 
  

 
  

 
 

  
 

  
  

  
  

 
 
  

 
  

   
  

  
 

  
  

 
  

 
  

  

State Record Fish 

State Record Fish 
If you catch a fish that you think could be a record, follow these steps: 
• Weigh the fish on a state-certified scale (found at most bait shops and 

butcher shops), witnessed by two observers. 
• Take the fish to a DNR fisheries office for positive identification and 

a state record fish application. 
• Complete the application and send it along with a clear, full-length 

photo of your fish to the address listed on the form. 

The following is a complete list of Minnesota’s state record fish and where 
they were caught. Weights given are in pounds and ounces (example: 55–5 is 55 
pounds, 5 ounces). Counties are in parentheses. 
Bass, Largemouth: 8–15, Auburn Lake (Carver). Bass, Rock: 2–0, Osakis Lake 
(Todd); and 2–0, Lake Winnibigoshish (Cass). Bass, Smallmouth: 8–0, West 
Battle Lake (Otter Tail). Bass, White: 4-2.4, Mississippi River Pool 5 (Wabasha). 
Bluegill: 2–13, Alice Lake (Hubbard). Bowfin: 10–15, Mary Lake (Douglas); 
and 10–15, French Lake (Rice). Buffalo, Bigmouth: 41–11, Mississippi 
River (Goodhue). Buffalo, Black: 20–0, Minnesota River (Nicollet). Buffalo, 
Smallmouth: 20-0, Big Sandy (Aitkin). Bullhead, Black: 3–13, Reno Lake 
(Pope). Bullhead, Brown: 7–1, Shallow Lake (Itasca). Bullhead, Yellow: 3–10, 
Osakis Lake (Todd). Burbot: 19–3, Lake of the Woods (Lake of the Woods). 
Carp: 55–5, Clearwater Lake (Wright). Carpsucker, River: 3–15, Mississippi 
River (Ramsey). Catfish, Channel: 38–0, Mississippi River (Hennepin). Catfish, 
Flathead: 70–0, St. Croix River (Washington). Crappie, Black: 5–0, Vermilion 
River (Dakota). Crappie, White: 3–15, Lake Constance (Wright). Drum, 
Freshwater: 35–3, Mississippi River (Winona). Eel, American: 6–9, St. Croix 
River (Washington). gar, Longnose: 16–12, St. Croix River (Washington). gar, 
Shortnose: 4–10, Mississippi River (Hennepin). goldeye: 2–13, Root River 
(Houston). hogsucker, Northern: 1–15, Sunrise River (Chisago). Mooneye: 
1–15, Minnesota River (Redwood). Muskellunge: 54–0, Lake Winnibigoshish 
(Itasca). Muskellunge, Tiger: 34–12, Lake Elmo (Washington). Perch, Yellow: 
3–4, Lake Plantaganette (Hubbard). Pike, Northern: 45–12, Basswood Lake 
(Lake). Pumpkinseed: 1–6, Leech Lake (Cass). Quillback: 6–14, Mississippi 
River (Ramsey). new Redhorse, golden: 3-15.5, Root River (Fillmore). Redhorse, 
greater: 12–11, Sauk River (Stearns). Redhorse, River: 12-10, Kettle River 
(Pine). Redhorse, Shorthead: 7-15, Rum River (Anoka). Redhorse, Silver: 
9-15, Bigfork River (Koochiching). Salmon, Atlantic: 12–13, Baptism River 
(Lake). Salmon, Chinook: 33–4, Poplar River (Cook); and 33–4, Lake Superior 
(St. Louis). Salmon, Coho: 10–7, Lake Superior (Lake). Salmon, kokanee: 
2–15, Caribou Lake (Itasca). Salmon, Pink: 4–8, Cascade River (Cook). 
Sauger: 6–3, Mississippi River (Goodhue). Splake: 13–6, Larson Lake (Itasca). 
Sturgeon, Lake: 94–4, Kettle River (Pine). Sturgeon Shovelnose: 5-9, new 

Mississippi River (Goodhue). Sucker, Blue: 14–3, Mississippi River (Wabasha). 

Sucker, Longnose: 3–11, Brule River (Cook). Sucker, White: 9–1, Big Fish 

Lake (Stearns). Sunfish, green: 1–5, North Arbor Lake (Hennepin). Sunfish, 

hybrid: 1–12, Zumbro River (Olmsted). Trout, Brook: 6–5, Pigeon River 

(Cook). Trout, Brown: 16–12, Lake Superior (St. Louis). Trout, Lake: 43–8, 

Lake Superior (Cook). Trout, Rainbow (Steelhead): 16-6, Devil Track 

River (Cook). Trout, Tiger: 2–9, Mill Creek (Olmsted). Tullibee (Cisco): 5–12, 

Little Long (St. Louis). Walleye: 17–8, Seagull River (Cook). Walleye-Sauger 

hybrid: 9–13, Mississippi River (Goodhue). new Warmouth: 0-6.2, Airport Lake 
(Winona). Whitefish, Lake: 12–5, Leech Lake (Cass). Whitefish, Menominee: 
2–8, Lake Superior (Cook). 

DNR Web site: mndnr.gov 73 



 

    

 

 

  

 

 

2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Addresses and Telephone Numbers 

TDD (651) 296-5484 or MN toll free TDD 1-(800) 657-3929 

Detroit Lakes Area office 
(218) 847-1579 

Fergus Falls Area office 
(218) 739-7576 ext. 238 

glenwood Area office 
(320) 634-4573 

Park Rapids Area office 
(218) 732-4153 

Walker Area office 
(218) 547-1683 

Licenses 
DNR License Center 
500 Lafayette Road 
St. Paul, MN 55155-4026 
Watercraft Registration: 
(800) 285-2000 
Phone License Sales: 
(888) 665-4236 
Internet Sales: www.dnr.state. 
mn.us 

Lake Maps 
Minnesota Bookstore 
660 Olive Street 
St. Paul, MN 55155 
(651) 297-3000 or 
(800) 657-3757 
www minnesotasbookstore.com 

DNR FISHERIES OFFICES 

NORTHWEST REgION 
Bemidji headquarters 
(218) 308-2623 

Baudette Area office 
(218) 634-2522 

Bemidji Area office 
(218) 308-2339 

NORTHEAST REgION 
grand Rapids headquarters 
(218) 327-4414 

Aitkin Area office 
(218) 927-3751 

Brainerd Area office 
(218) 828-2550 
(218) 828-2735 

Boundary Waters Canoe Area 
Wilderness 
Note: Permits and reservations are 
not under DNR jurisdiction. This 
is a national forest wilderness 
area. For information, contact: 
Superior National Forest 
8901 Grand Avenue Place 
Duluth, MN 55808 
Information (218) 626-4300 
Reservations (877) 550-6777 
www.bwcaw.org 

Information on and Reporting 
Harmful Invasive Species 
(651) 259-5100 or 
(888) 646-6367 
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Addresses and Telephone Numbers 

Duluth and Lake 
Superior Area office 
(218) 525-0853 ext. 200
 

Finland Area office 
(218) 353-7591
 

grand Marais Area office 
(218) 387-3056
 

grand Rapids 
Area office 
(218) 327-4430
 

International Falls 
Area office 
(218) 286-5220
 

Tower Area office 
(218) 753-2580 Ex. 221
 

CENTRAL REgION 
Central headquarters 
(651) 259-5831
 

hinckley Area office 
(320) 384-7721
 

Lake City Area office 
1-(651) 345-3365
 

Lanesboro Area office 
(507) 467-2442
 

Little Falls Area office 
(320) 616-2450
 

Metro East 
(651) 259-5831
 

Metro West 
(952) 826-6771
 

Montrose Area office 
(763) 675-3301
 

SOUTH REgION 
South headquarters 
(507) 359-6000
 

hutchinson Area office 
(320) 234-2550
 

ortonville Area office 
(320) 839-2656
 

Spicer Area office 
(320) 796-2161
 

Waterville Area office 
(507) 362-4223
 

Windom Area office 
(507) 831-2900 ext. 221
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2008 Minnesota Fishing Regulations 

Sunrise/Sunset Tables 

• This table is provided primarily for trout and salmon anglers who need 
to know the sunrise and sunset times on the waters they fish. 
• Times shown are Central Daylight Saving Time beginning March 11, 

2008 through Nov. 3, 2008. Central Standard Time for all other dates. 
• The times in the table below are for the longitudinal line running north 

and south through Minneapolis/St. Paul. To use the table to find the 
sunrise or sunset hours on the water you fish, locate the water on the 
map at right and add or subtract the minutes shown above the map to 
the time in the table. 
• Times shown in the table below may vary by specific location. For 

the exact time in your area, consult a local airport or check online at: 
http://aa.usno navy mil/ 

JAN. 
Rise Set 

FEB. 
Rise Set 

MAR. 
Rise Set 

APR. 
Rise Set 

MAY 
Rise Set 

JUNE 
Rise Set 

DAY AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM 
1 7:52 4:42 7:33 5:21 6:52 6:00 6:55 7:41 6:03 8:18 5:30 8:52 
2 7:52 4:43 7:32 5:22 6:50 6:02 6:53 7:42 6:02 8:20 5:29 8:53 
3 7:52 4:44 7:31 5:24 6:48 6:03 6:51 7:43 6:00 8:21 5:29 8:54 
4 7:52 4:45 7:30 5:25 6:46 6:04 6:49 7:44 5:59 8:22 5:28 8:55 
5 7:51 4:46 7:29 5:27 6:45 6:06 6:47 7:46 5:57 8:23 5:28 8:56 

6 7:51 4:47 7:27 5:28 6:43 6:07 6:45 7:47 5:56 8:24 5:28 8:56 
7 7:51 4:48 7:26 5:29 6:41 6:08 6:43 7:48 5:55 8:26 5:27 8:57 
8 7:51 4:49 7:25 5:31 6:39 6:10 6:42 7:49 5:53 8:27 5:27 8:58 
9 7:51 4:50 7:23 5:32 7:37 7:11 6:40 7:51 5:52 8:28 5:27 8:58 

10 7:50 4:52 7:22 5:34 7:36 7:12 6:38 7:52 5:51 8:29 5:26 8:59 

11 7:50 4:53 7:20 5:35 7:34 7:14 6:36 7:53 5:49 8:30 5:26 8:59 
12 7:50 4:54 7:19 5:37 7:32 7:15 6:34 7:54 5:48 8:32 5:26 9:00 
13 7:49 4:55 7:18 5:38 7:30 7:16 6:33 7:56 5:47 8:33 5:26 9:01 
14 7:49 4:56 7:16 5:39 7:28 7:18 6:31 7:57 5:46 8:34 5:26 9:01 
15 7:48 4:58 7:15 5:41 7:26 7:19 6:29 7:58 5:45 8:35 5:26 9:01 

16 7:48 4:59 7:13 5:42 7:25 7:20 6:27 7:59 5:43 8:36 5:26 9:02 
17 7:47 5:00 7:12 5:44 7:23 7:21 6:26 8:01 5:42 8:37 5:26 9:02 
18 7:46 5:01 7:10 5:45 7:21 7:23 6:24 8:02 5:41 8:38 5:26 9:03 
19 7:46 5:03 7:08 5:46 7:19 7:24 6:22 8:03 5:40 8:40 5:26 9:03 
20 7:45 5:04 7:07 5:48 7:17 7:25 6:21 8:05 5:39 8:41 5:26 9:03 

21 7:44 5:05 7:05 5:49 7:15 7:27 6:19 8:06 5:38 8:42 5:26 9:03 
22 7:43 5:07 7:04 5:51 7:13 7:28 6:17 8:07 5:37 8:43 5:27 9:04 
23 7:42 5:08 7:02 5:52 7:11 7:29 6:16 8:08 5:36 8:44 5:27 9:04 
24 7:42 5:10 7:00 5:53 7:10 7:30 6:14 8:10 5:36 8:45 5:27 9:04 
25 7:41 5:11 6:59 5:55 7:08 7:32 6:12 8:11 5:35 8:46 5:27 9:04 

26 7:40 5:12 6:57 5:56 7:06 7:33 6:11 8:12 5:34 8:47 5:28 9:04 
27 7:39 5:14 6:55 5:58 7:04 7:34 6:09 8:13 5:33 8:48 5:28 9:04 
28 7:38 5:15 6:53 5:59 7:02 7:35 6:08 8:15 5:32 8:49 5:29 9:04 
29 7:37 5:17 7:00 7:37 6:06 8:16 5:32 8:50 5:29 9:04 
30 7:36 5:18 6:58 7:38 6:05 8:17 5:31 8:51 5:30 9:04 

31 7:35 5:19 6:56 7:39 5:30 8:52 
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Sunrise/Sunset Tables 

Example: Whitewater Add Subtract 
State Park is in the 
“Subtract 8 Minutes" 
time zone. Therefore, 
sunrise there on June 10 
will be 5:18 a m. (5:26 
minus 8 minutes). 

*In tables below 

Minutes to 
add or subtract 
from tables 
below. 

JULY 
Rise Set 

AUg. 
Rise Set 

SEPT. 
Rise Set 

OCT. 
Rise Set 

NOV. 
Rise Set 

DEC. 
Rise Set 

AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM DAY 
5:30 9:04 5:58 8:40 6:35 7:51 7:11 6:54 7:51 6:02 7:31 4:33 1 
5:31 9:03 5:59 8:39 6:36 7:49 7:12 6:52 6:53 5:00 7:32 4:33 2 
5:31 9:03 6:00 8:38 6:37 7:47 7:13 6:51 6:54 4:59 7:33 4:33 3 
5:32 9:03 6:01 8:36 6:38 7:45 7:14 6:49 6:55 4:58 7:34 4:32 4 
5:32 9:02 6:03 8:35 6:39 7:44 7:16 6:47 6:57 4:56 7:35 4:32 5 

5:33 9:02 6:04 8:34 6:41 7:42 7:17 6:45 6:58 4:55 7:36 4:32 6 
5:34 9:02 6:05 8:32 6:42 7:40 7:18 6:43 6:59 4:54 7:37 4:32 7 
5:35 9:01 6:06 8:31 6:43 7:38 7:19 6:41 7:01 4:53 7:38 4:32 8 
5:35 9:01 6:07 8:29 6:44 7:36 7:21 6:40 7:02 4:51 7:39 4:32 9 
5:36 9:00 6:08 8:28 6:45 7:34 7:22 6:38 7:04 4:50 7:40 4:32 10 

5:37 9:00 6:10 8:26 6:47 7:32 7:23 6:36 7:05 4:49 7:41 4:32 11 
5:38 8:59 6:11 8:25 6:48 7:30 7:25 6:34 7:06 4:48 7:42 4:32 12 
5:39 8:59 6:12 8:23 6:49 7:28 7:26 6:32 7:08 4:47 7:43 4:32 13 
5:39 8:58 6:13 8:22 6:50 7:27 7:27 6:31 7:09 4:46 7:44 4:32 14 
5:40 8:57 6:14 8:20 6:51 7:25 7:28 6:29 7:10 4:45 7:44 4:32 15 

5:41 8:56 6:16 8:18 6:53 7:23 7:30 6:27 7:12 4:44 7:45 4:32 16 
5:42 8:56 6:17 8:17 6:54 7:21 7:31 6:25 7:13 4:43 7:46 4:33 17 
5:43 8:55 6:18 8:15 6:55 7:19 7:32 6:24 7:14 4:42 7:46 4:33 18 
5:44 8:54 6:19 8:14 6:56 7:17 7:34 6:22 7:16 4:41 7:47 4:33 19 
5:45 8:53 6:20 8:12 6:57 7:15 7:35 6:20 7:17 4:40 7:48 4:34 20 

5:46 8:52 6:22 8:10 6:59 7:13 7:36 6:19 7:18 4:39 7:48 4:34 21 
5:47 8:51 6:23 8:09 7:00 7:11 7:38 6:17 7:20 4:39 7:49 4:35 22 
5:48 8:50 6:24 8:07 7:01 7:09 7:39 6:16 7:21 4:38 7:49 4:35 23 
5:49 8:49 6:25 8:05 7:02 7:08 7:40 6:14 7:22 4:37 7:50 4:36 24 
5:50 8:48 6:26 8:03 7:03 7:06 7:42 6:12 7:24 4:36 7:50 4:37 25 

5:51 8:47 6:28 8:02 7:05 7:04 7:43 6:11 7:25 4:36 7:50 4:37 26 
5:52 8:46 6:29 8:00 7:06 7:02 7:44 6:09 7:26 4:35 7:51 4:38 27 
5:54 8:45 6:30 7:58 7:07 7:00 7:46 6:08 7:27 4:35 7:51 4:39 28 
5:55 8:44 6:31 7:56 7:08 6:58 7:47 6:06 7:28 4:34 7:51 4:39 29 
5:56 8:43 6:32 7:55 7:09 6:56 7:48 6:05 7:30 4:34 7:51 4:40 30 

5:57 8:41 6:33 7:53 7:50 6:03 7:51 4:41 31 
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