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Introduction

In 1978, the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission (MSGC) was established,
and Minnesota became the first state to implement a sentencing guidelines structure. Since
then, MSGC has been responsible for revising the guidelines so as to incorporate statutory
changes, monitoring the application of the guidelines to individual cases, and providing
guidelines training to judges, lawyers, and probation officers. MSGC maintains a remarkable
database on all Minnesota felony offenders from 1981 to the present. The Commission uses
these data to inform sentencing policy and to facilitate the coordination of sentencing practices
with correctional resources. The agency works with the Department of Corrections to calculate
accurate projections of the need for prison beds. MSGC's data are the foundation for carrying
out its mission to support and promote criminal sentencing that is consistent statewide,
proportionate, and free from irrational disparities. Throughout its work, the agency is mindful of
the overarching requirement that sentencing promote public safety.

Each January, MSGC submits this annual Report to the Legislature. The report sets
forth modifications to the sentencing guidelines, nearly all of which are necessitated by changes
in criminal statutes or by new caselaw created by Minnesota's appellate courts. These
modifications are effective on August 1 of the year in which they are reported, unless the
Legislature passes a law negating them. The report also contains a variety of sentencing
information, including a summary of annual data, analysis of felony DWI sentences throughout
the state, and data provided by County Attorneys concerning firearms cases.

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission hopes that the information found in
the report will be both informative and useful. Commission staff is available to answer any
guestions concerning felony sentencing in Minnesota, or to provide additional Minnesota data.
Several additional reports on overall data trends and sentencing for specific offenses are
available on our website at: www.msgc.state.mn.us.




Data Summary

There were 16,446 felony offenders sentenced in 2006; an increase of roughly six and a
half percent over 2005. The large growth experienced between 2004 and 2005 can be
attributed to the implementation of the felony Driving While Impaired (DWI) law and increases in
the number of drug crimes sentenced, particularly methamphetamine cases. Both trends
appear to have leveled off. The number of felony DWI offenders sentenced actually declined in
both 2005 and 2006, while the growth in the number of drug offenders was less than the growth
in person offenses and property offenses. As a proportion of total crimes sentenced, drug
crimes decreased for the first time since 2001.

Figure 1. Number of Offenders Sentenced for Felony Convictions
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Figure 2. Offenders Sentenced - Percent Change
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The crime category with the most growth in 2006 was “person” with a growth rate of over
13 percent. Part of this growth can be attributed to the fact that 2006 was the first full year in
which first-degree murder offenses were included in the Commission’s data. In 2006 there
were 25 completed first-degree murders sentenced. If those cases are excluded from the
figure, person crimes have increased by 12.4 percent. The crime with the most impact on the
growth rate of person crimes was domestic assault by strangulation. In 2005, the Legislature
made it a felony to assault a family or household member by strangulation. The crime went into
effect August 1, 2005 and there were 20 offenders sentenced by the end of December. In 2006,
there were 264 offenders sentenced. The number of offenders sentenced for other felony
domestic assaults was the same in 2006 as in 2005 and the number of offenders sentenced for
third-degree assault and felony fifth-degree assault increased; so it seems clear that the
domestic assault by strangulation offenses are largely cases that would not have been felony
offenses before the statutory change. Without both first-degree murder offenses and domestic
assault by strangulation offenses, the growth rate of person crimes was 5.2 percent.

! Before August 1, 2005, first-degree murder was not included in the MSGC's dataset; first-degree murder is excluded
from the sentencing guidelines by law and continues to have a mandatory life sentence.




Number of Offenders

Figure 3. Number of Offenders Sentenced by Offense Type
1981-2006
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The Commission’s Activities in 2007

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission consists of eleven members, of
whom three are judges appointed by Minnesota’s Chief Justice and eight are citizens appointed
by the Governor. Currently, the Governor’s appointees are: Commission Chair Jeffrey Edblad,
Isanti County Attorney; Rev. Robert Battle, citizen member, St. Paul; Fifth Judicial District
Assistant Public Defender Darci Bentz; Kari Berman, citizen member, Minneapolis;
Commissioner of Corrections Joan Fabian; Martin County Sheriff Brad Gerhardt; Washington
County Community Corrections Supervisor Tracy Jenson; and Connie Larson, citizen member,
Waseca. The judicial representatives are Second Judicial District Judge Edward Cleary,
Supreme Court Justice Helen Meyer, and Court of Appeals Judge Gordon Shumaker.

The Commission makes policy decisions concerning felony sentencing. These are
implemented by a staff supervised by an executive director.

2007 Legislative Session

Four new assignments were given to the Commission by the 2007 Legislature. Each
required a report to the legislature in 2008.

The Commission was directed to re-rank controlled substance offenses on the
sentencing guidelines grid, making presumptive sentences more proportional to the sentences
for other crimes in Minnesota and more similar to drug sentencing provisions in jurisdictions
throughout the United States, including the Federal system. It was also required to report the
following data: the average and the range of criminal history scores for each level of drug
offender currently incarcerated in Minnesota’s prisons; the criminal history of offenders who
would be impacted by the Commission’s recommendations; the type and quantity of Minnesota
correctional resources that are dedicated to all drug offenders; and the projected annual cost to
the Department of Corrections of incarcerating all drug offenders in state prisons over the next
ten years, under present grid rankings and under the proposed grid rankings. Proposed
modifications were to be submitted to the Legislature by January 15. Like all modifications
incorporated in MSGC's annual report, they become effective August 1, unless the legislature
provides otherwise.

The 2007 Legislature created a Collateral Sanctions Committee to be chaired by the
Executive Director of the Sentencing Guidelines Commission. The Committee was staffed by
MSGC, with assistance from the Department of Corrections and Department of Public Safety.
Although it was chaired and staffed by MSGC, the Guidelines Commissioners did not participate
in the work and took no part in creating its final report. Its charge was to study issues related to
how criminal convictions and adjudications affect employment and professional licensing
opportunities. In addition, it was to investigate how collateral sanctions are addressed in other
states and determine best practices. The group consisted of 20 appointees, including criminal
justice professionals, housing and employment experts, an ex-criminal offender and a member



from a community of color. This project is the Legislature’s and is fully funded by that body.
They are also to report by February 1, 2008, recommended changes to Human Services’
background studies, set-aside policies, and variance policies.

The MSGC was required to study the effectiveness of re-entry programs and drug
courts. It was assigned to assess the impact drug courts and specified programs have on
recidivism. The Commission worked with the Department of Corrections and the State Court
Administrator’s Office and filed a preliminary report before January 15, 2008. A final report is
due January 15, 2009.

Research

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission, in collaboration with the University
of Minnesota College of Law’s Institute on Race and Poverty, has determined to go forward with
a study designed to address the unacceptable overrepresentation of racial and ethnic minorities
in Minnesota’s correctional populations. The project was designed by the two agencies’ staff,
together with sentencing experts on the faculty of the University College of Law and skilled
researchers from the Minnesota State Court. The participants are motivated by the desire to
identify, and to enact, specific changes in law, policy, and practice that will appreciably reduce
racial disparity.

This pioneering work will begin with mining the Commission’s extraordinary data bank,
which contains details of every felony conviction and sentence in the state since 1978. The
Commission’s data will be merged with State Court data that includes initial charges and
dismissals. The project will thoroughly evaluate sample populations of African-Americans,
Native Americans, Hispanics and Asians throughout Minnesota; for those minority groups,
detailed information about arrests, crime facts, race of victim, co-defendants and offenders’
personal/social history will be collected and analyzed. Interviews of criminal justice
professionals, educators, public health officials and community leaders will enrich the study.

The Institute on Race and Poverty will trace offenders back to the schools they attended
and the neighborhoods in which they were living when arrested to evaluate a variety of
guestions about the impact of environmental factors on conviction rates. While it is clear
enough that there are links from segregation and poverty to a wide range of dysfunctions, very
little work has been done to establish directly the effects of school and neighborhood
characteristics on conviction rates.

The multifaceted and cumulative nature of racial disparity that is ultimately reflected in
criminal sentences calls for the multifaceted, collaborative and broad approach employed in this
project. Looking beyond the relatively narrow confines of court processing expands the range
of possible remedies that the research can suggest to policy makers in Minnesota’s legislature,
schools, cities, and counties.



Maintaining Guidelines

The Commission made numerous decisions concerning changes that should be made to
the guidelines, based on changes in statutes. It also incorporated relevant Supreme Court
decisions into the guidelines. All modifications are set forth in the Appendix, beginning on p. 40.
They were published in the annual revision of the guidelines, which took effect on August 1.

Staff Activity

As part of the agency’s core functions, Commission staff processed and ensured the
accuracy of over 16,000 sentencing records; published annual editions of the sentencing
guidelines and commentary and reports to the legislature; produced fiscal notes which help
predict the impact of proposed change in criminal statutes; collaborated with the Department of
Corrections to generate prison-bed projections each year; coordinated information technologies
with other criminal and juvenile justice agencies (i.e., CriMNet) to ensure public safety; and
provided assistance to hundreds of practitioners seeking help with the application of the
sentencing guidelines. MSGC provided training to approximately 900 probation officers,
lawyers and judges in half-day and full-day sessions throughout Minnesota.

A new method for retrieving sentencing records from the State Courts is being
developed. This was precipitated by the implementation of the Court’s new Information System
(MNCIS). Once fully developed, it is hoped that the new method will prove more efficient than
the current practice (i.e., instantaneous retrieval of sentencing data will replace the staff's need
to manually look up an estimated 16,000 records annually). Additional data will be collected for
further research, as well.



Sentencing Guidelines Modifications

A. Legislative Directive Regarding Controlled Substance
Rankings

Following the 2007 session of the Minnesota Legislature, the Minnesota Sentencing
Guidelines Commission was directed by legislative action as follows:

Changes to Grid for Controlled Substance Offenses. The Commission shall propose
changed rankings for controlled substance offenses on the sentencing guidelines grid.
The proposal must encompass the following factors:

1. the proportionality of Minnesota’s drug sentencing provisions when compared to
sentencing provisions for other crimes in Minnesota;

2. the proportionality of Minnesota’s drug sentencing provisions when compared to drug
sentencing provisions throughout the United States, including the Federal system;

3. the average and the range of criminal history scores for each level of drug offender
currently incarcerated in Minnesota'’s prisons;

4. the criminal history of offenders who would be impacted by the Commission’s
recommendations;

5. the type and quantity of Minnesota correctional resources that are dedicated to all drug
offenders; and

6. the projected annual cost to the Department of Corrections of incarcerating all drug
offenders in state prisons over the next ten years, under present grid rankings and under
the proposed grid rankings. The Commission’s proposal shall not take effect, except as
provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 244.09, subdivision 11.

In response to the above action of the Minnesota Legislature, the Minnesota Sentencing
Guidelines Commission debated four proposals for the re-ranking of controlled substance
offenses. A public hearing was held on November 1, 2007, to take testimony on a proposal to
leave First-Degree Controlled Substance Sale offenses, Second-Degree Controlled Substance
Sale offenses and First-Degree Controlled Substance-Manufacture of Methamphetamine
offenses at their current severity levels on the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Grid but re-
rank First-Degree Controlled Substance Possession offenses and Second-Degree Controlled
Substance Possession offenses by reducing their severity level by one on the Minnesota
Sentencing Guidelines Grid. (See, Appendix A., for a description of the four proposals
considered.)

At the public hearing, the proposal received strong support from the Minnesota
Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers and the Office of the Minnesota State Public
Defender, as well as some support from the public. The proposal was strongly opposed by the
Minnesota Law Enforcement Coalition representing the Minnesota County Attorneys



Association, the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association, the Minnesota Sheriffs Association and
the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association. Several individuals and representatives
from neighborhood organizations also spoke against the proposal.

On November 14, 2007, the Honorable Tim Pawlenty, Governor of the State of
Minnesota, wrote a letter to the Commission, agreeing with the concerns expressed by the
Minnesota Law Enforcement Coalition. The Governor opposed enactment of the proposal to re-
rank First-Degree Controlled Substance Possession offenses and Second-Degree Controlled
Substance Possession offenses. The Guidelines Commission met on November 15, 2007, to
address and finalize the proposed Guidelines modifications re-ranking First-Degree and
Second-Degree Controlled Substance Possession offenses. As a result of the public testimony
and exhibits it had received, the Commission rejected the re-ranking proposal. The decision
was made after discussion on the information submitted and a consideration of Minnesota
Statutes, section 244.09 Subd. 5, which states, in part: “In establishing and modifying the
Sentencing Guidelines, the primary consideration of the commission shall be public safety.”
The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission believes that more thorough and
comprehensive review should be given to the entire controlled substance offense sentencing
structure and policy prior to a thoughtful and responsible decision on the re-ranking of controlled
substance offenses.

Background

It should be noted that there was a misconception that the Commission’s January 15,
2004, Special Report to the Legislature on Drug Offender Sentencing Issues, and January 31,
2007, Updated Drug Report, “recommended” that Minnesota’s controlled substance offense
sentences be re-ranked by moving them down one severity level on the Minnesota Sentencing
Guidelines Grid. This is not accurate. The re-ranking option was included in the reports as one
of several options the legislature could consider and debate in deciding if drug laws and
sentences need reform. Because they were options and not recommendations, Minnesota
Sentencing Guidelines Commission members did not fully debate the data presented or the
pros and cons of implementing various changes. It was the Commission’s belief that this review
would happen prior to any changes. The Updated 2007 drug report definitively states (pg. 2) “it
is for our elected representatives in the legislature to decide whether the time has come to
overhaul Minnesota’s drug laws.” “Any major change should be based on a thorough
consideration of the entire legal structure in light of current data and research.” A “thorough
consideration of the entire legal structure,” with an opportunity for public input, has not yet
occurred.

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission feels it would be arbitrary to take
action to re-rank any drug sentences before a comprehensive study and debate is conducted.
A piecemeal approach to the issue is ill-advised, since the problems existing in the drug-
sentencing structure have not been adequately defined. A patch work alteration could have
serious unintended consequences.



Recommendations

The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission respectfully recommends that the

Minnesota Legislature appoint a bipartisan task force of knowledgeable criminal justice
professionals, including one Sentencing Guidelines commissioner, to conduct a comprehensive
review of Minnesota’s controlled substance laws, including sentencing Guidelines and policies,
to determine if changes to these laws should be made.

This approach would provide an opportunity to fully review and debate the policy issues

related to controlled substance offenses and to make informed recommendations concerning
appropriate changes. Areas for possible review include, but are not limited to:

1.

2.

10.

11.

12.

13.

14,

15.

16.

17.

Statutory changes — defining drug offenses more specifically;
Examine threshold amounts for various drugs;
The option of creating a separate sentencing guidelines grid for drug offenses;

Need for additional aggravating factors to identify drug kingpins and other dangerous
offenders;

Debate on the significance of departure rates — an indication of belief sentences are
too severe or a tool to exercise discretion?;

Blakely v. Washington, 1264 S.Ct. 2531 (2004) considerations;

Discussion of challenges of collecting and analyzing comparison data of Minnesota
drug sentencing and other states/systems;

Disparity issues;
Proportionality of drug sentences to other serious offender sentences;

Review of best alternatives for drug offender probation revocations and supervised
release violations;

Alternative programs and resources currently available for drug offenders;
Appropriate level of accountability for violent and entrepreneurial drug offenders;
Effect of any changes on victims, withesses and neighborhoods;

Effect of change on law enforcement, prosecution, and public defenders ability to do
their jobs;

The effectiveness, availability, funding of CD treatment and other intervention
strategies;

Revising criminal history point calculations for repeat drug offenders;

Look at unintended consequences of any changes recommended.
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Proportionality with other Minnesota Offenses

The philosophy of rational and consistent sentencing policy assumes that offenses
ranked at the same severity level are equally serious, and that an offense is more severe than
offenses ranked below it. However, as currently ranked, first-degree drug offenses (the sale of
10 grams or possession of 25 grams of cocaine or methamphetamine) are equated with
offenses such as third-degree murder, first-degree assault, and other offenses that cause great
bodily harm or death to the victim. Second-degree drug offenses (the sale of 3—10 grams or
possession of 6-25 grams of cocaine or methamphetamine) are also ranked with several
offenses that involve severe personal harm or death, such as criminal vehicular homicide and
drive-by shooting. Although high-level drug offenses are serious crimes, not all of those drug
offenses present the same risk to public safety as the person offenses mentioned above.

Table 1. Severity Rankings for Various Minnesota Felony Offenses
(For offenses committed on/after August 1, 2007)

Current Severity Level
Ranking

Presumptive Sentence
(Criminal History Score = 0)

Offense

IX

86 months - prison

90 months — prison

First-Degree Controlled Substance

Third-Degree Murder

First-Degree Manslaughter

First-Degree Assault

Kidnapping (great bodily harm)

Second-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct
(subd.c,d, e, f, h)

VIl

48 months - prison

48 months — prison

Second-Degree Controlled Substance

Criminal Vehicular Homicide

First-Degree Aggravated Robbery

Burglary (with assault or weapon)

Drive-By Shooting

Third-Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct
(subd. ¢, d, g-n)

Vi

21 months - stayed

24 months — stayed

Third-Degree Controlled Substance

Second-Degree Aggravated Robbery

Kidnapping (safe release)

Burglary (of an occupied dwelling)

Dissemination of Child Pornography

12 months + 1 day - stayed

Fourth-Degree Controlled Substance

Third- and Fifth-Degree Assault

Felony Domestic Assault

Terroristic Threats

Harassment/Stalking

12 months + 1 day - stayed

11
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Current Severity Level Presumptive Sentence Offense
Ranking (Criminal History Score = 0)

Theft-Related Offenses (<$5,000)

Criminal Damage to Property

Aggravated Forgery (non-check)

Proportionality with Drug Sentence Provisions throughout the United States

Comparing drug offense sentencing provisions among states presents many challenges.
Minnesota is currently the only state in the upper Midwest to have a comprehensive sentencing
guidelines system in place, making it impossible to compare recommended sentences and
departure rates with our neighboring states. Wisconsin recently re-established its sentencing
guidelines commission, but their guidelines currently apply to only a select number of felony
offenses, including the most serious drug offenses. Additionally, every state defines offenses
differently. States differ dramatically in their definition of drug offenses relating to criminal act
(sale, manufacture, possession), type of drug involved (powder cocaine, crack cocaine,
methamphetamine, etc.) and the amount of drug involved.

The Commission studied drug offense provisions throughout the United States. South
Dakota was excluded from the comparison because it does not distinguish between different
levels of drug offense; all drug possession/sale/manufacture offenses in that state carry a
statutory maximum of 10 years, regardless of drug amount. Because these states do not have
comprehensive sentencing guidelines to govern sentencing, it is impossible to compare
presumptive sentences. Instead, the Commission compared the most serious drug offenses in
each jurisdiction. Since most felony-level drug offenses in Minnesota involve powder cocaine,
crack cocaine, or methamphetamine, the following information focuses on offenses involving
these drugs. Figure 4 illustrates the threshold amounts for the most serious sale offenses in the
Midwestern states.

12




Figure 4. Comparison of Midwestern States:
Drug Thresholds for Most Serious Sale Offenses

o 1,000
5% 800
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g = 200
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Minnesota llinois lowa Michigan** Wisconsin
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O Meth 10 900 5,000 N/A 50 50
@ Powder Cocaine 10 900 500 1,000 50 40
B Crack Cocaine 10 900 50 1,000 5 40
O Meth @ Powder Cocaine B Crack Cocaine

**In Michigan, the sale of any amount of meth is a felony, carrying a statutory maximum of 20
years.

As was done in the 2007 Updated Drug Report, the Commission has also compared
presumptive sentences (or minimum sentences) across various states for two different
offenders: offender A is convicted of selling 10 grams of cocaine (Figure 5), while offender B is
convicted of possessing 25 grams of the same drug (Figure 6). It is assumed that offenders A
and B have no prior criminal history. In Minnesota, both of these offenses qualify as first-degree
drug offenses, carrying a presumptive sentence of 86 months under the current guidelines.

The figures illustrate that, while there is wide variation in how states deal with offenders
at these threshold levels, Minnesota’'s presumptive sentence length is much longer than the
sentences imposed for comparable crimes in many other states. In examining Figures 5 and 6,
it is apparent that other states tend to have lower presumptive/minimum sentences for the
possession offense than Minnesota has.

13



Figure 5. Presumptive (Minimum) Sentence Lengths for
Offender A: Sale of 10 grams
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Figure 6. Presumptive (Minimum) Sentence Lengths for
Offender B: Possession of 25 grams
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**The Federal Sentencing Guidelines and the state of Washington call for a misdemeanor sentence of 0-
6 months for offenders with no criminal history.

It is also worth noting that many other states have several threshold levels above
Minnesota’s highest threshold level. For example, in lllinois, there are six threshold levels in
statute, four of which are higher than Minnesota’s first-degree threshold level: 1.) less than one
gram; 2.) one gram or more, but less than 15 grams; 3.) 15 grams or more, but less than 100
grams; 4.) 100 grams or more, but less than 400 grams; 5.) 400 grams or more, but less than
900 grams; and 6.) 900 grams or more. Accordingly, the mandatory minimums increase at each
level to establish proportionality, so that offenders selling more than 900 grams of cocaine have
a much more severe sentence than offenders selling 10 grams.

Offender Criminal History Scores

A.) Average and Range of Offenders Currently Incarcerated in Minnesota’'s Prisons

The Legislature asked the Commission to report on the average and range of criminal
history scores for all drug offenders currently incarcerated in Minnesota’s prisons. Given the
nature of MSGC'’s data, it is not possible to report criminal history information in this fashion;
MSGC does not track which offenders are currently imprisoned. However, MSGC is able to
report on the criminal history scores of offenders who received a prison sentence in a given
year, as well as those offenders for whom probation was revoked and were sent to prison.
Given that these two populations are quite different, MSGC is reporting criminal history

15



information separately for each group. As the tables below illustrate, the average criminal
history score for drug offenders who were first given a probationary sentence are noticeably
lower than the average score for drug offenders who received prison sentences.

Table 2. Average and Range of Criminal History Score for Drug Offenders
Sentenced to Prison in 2006

Degree of Drug Number of Average Criminal Ran_ge of Criminal
Offense Offenders History Score . I-_||story Sco_re
Sentenced (Minimum-Maximum)

First 185 1.65 0-13
Second 210 2.00 0-11

Third 138 3.83 0-10

Fourth 29 3.72 0-9

Fifth 337 3.79 0-15
Simulated Cont. Sub. 1 10.00 10-10
Anhydrous Ammonia 1 4.00 4-4

Poss. w/ Intent to

Manufacture Meth 1 2.46 0-5
TOTAL 912 2.94 0-15

Table 3. Average and Range of Criminal History Score for Drug Offenders

Revoked from Probation and Sent to Prison in 2006

Degree of Drug Number of Average Criminal Ran.ge of Criminal
Offense Offenders History Score . I-_hstory Sco_re
Sentenced (Minimum-Maximum)

First 34 1.21 0-7
Second 20 2.35 0-12
Third 89 0.84 0-7
Fourth 27 1.44 0-7
Fifth 501 1.54 0-13
Simulated Cont. Sub. 5 1.40 0-3
Anhydrous Ammonia 2 0.50 0-1
Poss. w/ Intent to

Manufacture Meth 8 0.89 0-2
TOTAL 686 1.44 0-13

B.) Criminal History Score of Offenders Affected by the Commission’s

Recommendations

It is not possible yet to complete this calculation because the Commission felt a

comprehensive study needed to be completed before re-ranking could occur.




Correctional Resources

Because of the complexity of this information and the number of jurisdictions which
would need to report data, it was not possible to fulfill this request in the time allotted.

Projected Costs

According to the Department of Corrections (DOC), the current per diem rate for inmates
is $86.14. DOC estimates the following cost projections for drug offenders through 2016:

vear Projected Population of | Total Projected
Drug Offenders Costs

2007 — Jan. 1858*

2008 — Dec. 1904 $58,982,320
2009 — Dec. 1997 $60,508,270
2010 — Dec. 2054 $61,988,096
2011 — Dec. 2094 $63,038,107
2012 — Dec. 2149 $64,070,542
2013 — Dec. 2216 $65,377,272
2014 — Dec. 2279 $66,725,465
2015 — Dec. 2337 $67,976,958
2016 — Dec. 2404 $69,307,139

*Actual population of drug offenders; serves as “base” for projections

Bed Impact Assumptions:

e Average adult per diem for FY07 of $86.14 was used to calculate the base cost of the
current drug offender prison population.

e Base costs of the current drug offender prison population do not include inflationary
increases for subsequent years.

e Projected costs for the increases in prison beds for drug offender are based on a
marginal cost per diem for each fiscal year. The annual per diems are as follows: FYOQ7
$61.34, FY08 $53.73, FY09 $54.96, FY10 $56.00, and FY11-FY16 $57.27. This
includes marginal costs for all facility, private and public bed rental, health care and
support costs.

¢ In order to estimate the annual cost the number of prison beds needed for drug
offenders is phased in on a quarterly basis. Multiplying the number of beds each quarter
by the subsequent annual per diem determines the estimate for the annual costs of
prison beds.

Since the Commission felt a comprehensive study needed to be completed before re-
ranking could occur, it is not possible to estimate any cost savings for the Department of
Corrections.
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B. Ranking of Offenses

Changes to the sentencing guidelines related to new and amended crimes passed
by the Legislature during the 2007 Session became effective August 1, 2007. The exact
language of all changes is included in the Appendix.

Based on new and amended crime legislation in the 2007 Legislative Session, the
Commission adopted the following severity level rankings:

1.

Severity Levels C & E — Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Third-Degree and
Fourth-Degree: The Legislature added the performance of massage or
bodywork for hire to an offense category. The Commission ranked these
offenses similar to others for which the actor is in a specified occupation.

Severity Levels VIII, V & lll — Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation: A
new provision was added for a driver who knowingly operates a defective
motor vehicle and causes death or injury as a result. The Commission
adopted a proposal to retain the current rankings.

Severity Level V — Burglary in the Second Degree: The statute is expanded
to include a provision for offenders who enter a government building,
religious establishment, historic property, or school building, and commit or
intend to commit theft or criminal damage to property. The Commission
ranked the new provision with other similar burglary crimes.

Severity Level IV — Violation of a Domestic Abuse No Contact Order: The
Legislature created a felony penalty for violating a domestic abuse no contact
order after having two or more similar violations or while possessing a
dangerous weapon. The ranking selected is the same as for violation of an
order for protection and violation of a harassment restraining order.

Severity Level Il — Damage or Theft to Energy Transmission,
Telecommunications: This was ranked in relation to existing felony offenses
where there is a risk of bodily harm.

Severity Level Il — Theft; $1,000 or less (risk of bodily harm): The penalty
provisions for misdemeanor/gross misdemeanor thefts are enhanced to
felonies when there is “a reasonably foreseeable risk of bodily harm to
another.”

Severity Level Il — Residential Mortgage Fraud: A felony offense is created
for lenders who knowingly misstate, misrepresent, or omit information to a
mortgage lender, borrower, or other party in the mortgage process. The
Commission ranked this new provision similar to theft over $1,000, but less
than $5,000.

Elevated Severity Level — Foreseeable Risk of Bodily Harm over $1,000: The

Commission adopted a proposal indicating that violations which create a
reasonably foreseeable risk of bodily harm are elevated by one severity level.
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C. Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offense List

The Commission considered new and amended misdemeanors and gross
misdemeanors and added “Dealers in Scrap Metal; Records, Reports, and Registration” to
the list of offenses that can be used to calculate criminal history scores.

D. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive
Sentences

Based on new and amended crime legislation, the Commission adopted a proposal
to include Violation of a Domestic Abuse No Contact Order and Solicitation of Children to
Engage in Sexual Conduct (internet or computer) on the list of offenses eligible to receive
permissive consecutive sentences.

E. Other Legislative-Related Modifications

The Commission authorized staff to change references in the sentencing guidelines
due to the re-codifications of criminal vehicular operations and burglary in the second-
degree, and the new theft thresholds.

The Commission re-ranked the precious metal dealer statute (M.S. 8§ 609.526) after
the Legislature’s decision to expand it to include scrap metal dealers, to raise some
thresholds, and reduce the statutory maximum thresholds for some provisions.

F. Other Non-Legislative Modifications

The Commission responded to a question raised about the application of a second
custody status point for sex offenders. The guidelines were modified, making sex
offenders eligible for a second point under any custody status condition listed in the
guidelines rather than only probation, supervised release, or conditional release, as was
previously the policy.

The Commission established a policy which makes it a presumptive commitment to
the Commissioner of Corrections for a felony DWI offender who has a prior felony alcohol-
related criminal vehicular operation. This rule is the same as that for a felony DWI
offender with a prior felony DWI.

Several other clarifications and technical modifications were made to the

sentencing guidelines and commentary. The exact language of all changes is found in
Appendix E.
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Felony Driving While Impaired

Cases Sentenced in 2006

Sentencing Policy

Felony Driving While Impaired (DWI) went into effect August 1, 2002. Minn. Stat. 8
169A.276, subdivision 1(a) created a minimum 36-month felony sentence of imprisonment for
this offense, while subdivision 1(b) allows for a stay of execution of that sentence, but
specifically forbids a stay of imposition or stay of adjudication. This means that the court is
required to pronounce a period of incarceration, even if the court imposes a probationary
sentence.

The sentencing guidelines provide sentences for the typical case, based on the severity
of the offense of conviction and the offender's criminal record. Judges may depart from the
recommended sentence if the circumstances of a case are substantial and compelling. The
court must provide reasons for the departure. Both the prosecution and the defense may
appeal the pronounced sentence.

An offender who is sentenced to prison will serve a term of imprisonment equal to at
least two-thirds of the pronounced executed sentence. The actual time the offender is
incarcerated may be increased (up to the total sentence) if the offender violates rules in prison
or conditions of release. An offender receiving a prison sentence for a felony DWI is also
subject to a five-year term of conditional release (Minn. Stat. § 169A.276, subd. 1(d); Guidelines
Section I.E).

The guidelines presume a minimum 36-month sentence for all felony DWI cases
(Guidelines Section II.E). For a person with a criminal history score of 2 or less, the guidelines
presume a stayed (probationary) sentence. However, if a person has a prior felony DWI
conviction, the presumption is imprisonment, regardless of criminal history (Guidelines Section
I1.C).

Offenders receiving stayed sentences can get up to one year of local jail time as a
condition of probation and are subject to mandatory penalty provisions specified in Minn. Stat. §
169A.275. This statute provides that fourth-time DWI offenders must be incarcerated for 180
days and fifth-time (or more) offenders for one year, unless they are placed in an intensive
supervision program. The statute also allows a portion of the mandatory jail time to be served
on electronic monitoring.

Volume of Cases and Offender Characteristics

There were 788 offenders sentenced for felony DWI in 2006. This figure is 5.5 percent
lower than the number of offenders sentenced for Felony DWI offenses in 2005 (834), and is the
lowest number of offenders sentenced in a full calendar year since Felony Driving While
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Impaired (DWI) went into effect August 1, 2002. Since the felony DWI law went into effect on
August 1, 2002, 3,394 offenders have been sentenced: 102 in 2002; 810 in 2003; 860 in 2004;
834 in 2005; and 788 in 2006. Five hundred fifty-nine of those offenders were committed
directly to state prison, while 2,835 received probationary sentences, almost all of which
included incarceration in local jails. A total of 327 felony DWI offenders have been admitted to
prison as probation revocations through 2006. The revocation rate through the end of 2006 was
11.5 percent.

Demographic Characteristics

Felony DWI offenders are more likely to be male and white, Hispanic, or American
Indian than the overall offender population. The average age at time of offense was 36, as
compared to 31 for offenders overall.

Figure 1. Distribution of Offenders by Race:
Felony DWI Offenders Compared to All Offenders
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Hennepin County sentenced nineteen percent of the felony DWI cases in the state,
compared to 22 percent of all felony cases sentenced. Ramsey County sentenced ten percent
compared to thirteen percent of all felony cases. The other metro counties had the same
percentages for each respective category (18%). Greater Minnesota sentenced a larger
proportion of felony DWIs (53%) than its share of all felonies sentenced (47%).
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Figure 2. Distribution of Offenders by Region:
Felony DWI Offenders Compared to All Offenders
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Criminal History

All felony DWI offenders have, at a minimum, three prior alcohol-related driving offenses
on their records. According to case law and the sentencing guidelines, the same offenses used
to reach the felony level are not used in calculating an offender’s criminal history score
(Guidelines Section 11.B.6). Thus, a first-time felony DWI offender may be sentenced at a
criminal history score of zero.

In 2006, most DWI offenders were sentenced at a criminal history score of one or zero.
The vast majority (78%) were sentenced at a score of two or less, so most had presumptive
probationary sentences. However, 52 of the offenders with only one or two criminal history
points had presumptive prison sentences because of a prior felony DWI. When all 788 DWI
offenders, regardless of criminal history, are considered, 111 (14%) were sentenced for a
subsequent felony DWI. More than half (63%), were under some kind of supervision (e.g.,
probation, release pending sentence, supervised release from prison) at the time they
committed the current offense.
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Figure 3. Distribution of Offenders by Criminal History Score
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Sentencing Practices
Incarceration Rates

At the time of sentencing, the court can impose several different types of sentences, the
most restrictive being a sentence of imprisonment in a state facility for a period exceeding a
year. The court may instead impose a sentence of local incarceration for a period of up to one
year as a condition of probation, as well as other sanctions including community work service,
court-ordered treatment, and fines.

Twenty percent (155 offenders) were sentenced to imprisonment in a state facility; the
average pronounced sentence was 51 months. Seventy-seven percent (608 offenders) were
sentenced to local incarceration, for an average of 212 days, as a condition of probation. The
total incarceration rate (both offenders sentenced to prison and local incarceration) was 97
percent. The remaining three percent (25 offenders) received other sanctions imposed by the
court at sentencing. Eighty percent (633 offenders) were placed on probation. All offenders
were placed on probation for at least 24 months. Most (67%) received a probation period equal
to the statutory maximum of seven years (84 months); the average length of probation was 75
months.
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Figure 4. Type of Incarceration
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Incarceration Rates and Distribution of Cases by County

By far, the highest number of cases sentenced was in Hennepin County, followed by
Ramsey County, Dakota County, St. Louis County, and Anoka County. These counties
accounted for 39 percent of all felony DWI cases sentenced in the state. Other counties with
more than twenty felony DWI cases sentenced included Carlton, Olmsted, and Washington.

Incarceration Rates by County

Number and Percentage of Offenders
County # of Cases Other
Sentenced State Prison Local Jail .
Sanctions
Aitkin 4 1 (25%) 3 (75%) 0
Anoka 39 4 (10%) 33 (85%) 2 (5%)
Becker 18 8 (44%) 9 (50%) 1 (6%)
Beltrami 14 0 14 (100%) 0
Benton 12 2 (17%) 10 (83%) 0
Blue Earth 13 1 (8%) 12 (92%) 0
Brown 2 0 2 (100%) 0
Carlton 20 0 18 (90%) 2 (10%)
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Number and Percentage of Offenders

County Sentences . . Other

State Prison Local Jail .
Sanctions

Carver 10 2 (20%) 8 (80%) 0

Cass 8 0 5 (63%) 3 (38%)
Chippewa 2 1 (50%) 1 (50%) 0

Chisago 5 1(20%) 3 (60%) 1 (20%)
Clay 11 1 (9%) 10 (91%) 0
Clearwater 3 1 (33%) 2 (67%) 0
Cottonwood 2 0 2 (100%) 0
Crow Wing 10 1(10%) 9 (90%) 0
Dakota 55 8 (15%) 47 (86%) 0

Dodge 2 1(50%) 0 1(50%)
Douglas 4 0 4 (100%) 0
Faribault 1 0 1 (100%) 0
Freeborn 8 0 8(100%) 0
Goodhue 7 1 (14%) 6 (86%) 0

Hennepin 146 35 (24%) 105 (72%) 6 (4%)
Houston 2 0 0 0
Hubbard 0 0 0 0
Isanti 11 1 (9%) 10 (91%) 0
Itasca 10 3 (30%) 7 (70%) 0
Kanabec 3 0 3 (100%) 0
Kandiyohi 4 1 (25%) 3 (75%) 0
Kittson 2 0 2 (100%) 0
Koochiching 2 1 (50%) 1 (50%) 0
Lac Qui Parle 1 1 (100%) 0 0
Lake 1 0 1 (100%) 0
Lake of the Woods 1 0 1 (100%) 0
LeSueur 1 0 1 (100%) 0
Lyon 5 1 (20%) 4 (80%) 0
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Number and Percentage of Offenders

County e . . Other
State Prison Local Jail .
Sanctions
McLeod 10 4 (40%) 6 (60%) 0
Mahnomen 5 0 5 (100%) 0
Marshall 4 0 4 (100%) 0
Martin 4 0 4 (100%) 0
Meeker 1 1 (100%) 0 0
Mille Lacs 7 2 (29%) 5 (71%) 0
Morrison 10 3 (30%) 7 (70%) 0
Mower 5 2 (40%) 3 (60%) 0
Nicollet 4 3 (75%) 1 (25%) 0
Nobles 2 1 (50%) 1 (50%) 0
Norman 1 0 1 (100%) 0
Olmsted 21 7 (33%) 14 (67%) 0
Otter Tail 10 4 (40%) 6 (60%) 0
Pennington 4 1 (25%) 3 (75%) 0
Pine 5 0 4 (80%) 1 (20%)
Pipestone 1 0 1 (100%) 0
Polk 7 1 (14%) 5 (71%) 1 (14%)
Pope 3 1 (33%) 2 (67%) 0
Ramsey 77 18 (23%) 59 (77%) 0
Red Lake 2 0 1 (50%) 1(50%)
Redwood 3 0 3 (100%) 0
Renville 2 0 2 (100%) 0
Rice 4 0 3 (75%) 1 (25%)
Rock 1 0 1 (100%) 0
Roseau 4 0 4 (100%) 0
St Louis 44 6 (14%) 37 (84%) 1 (2%)
Scott 16 4 (25%) 10 (63%) 2 (13%)
Sherburne 12 1 (8%) 11 (92%) 0
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Number and Percentage of Offenders

County Sentenced . . Other
State Prison Local Jail :

Sanctions

Sibley 2 0 2 (100%) 0
Stearns 13 2 (15%) 11 (85%) 0
Steele 7 0 7 (100%) 0
Stevens 1 0 1 (100%) 0
Todd 3 3 (100%) 0 0

Wabasha 3 0 2 (67%) 1 (33%)
Wadena 1 0 1 (100%) 0
Washington 25 9 (36%) 16 (64%) 0
Wilkin 3 1 (33%) 2 (67%) 0

Winona 8 2 (25%) 5 (63%) 1 (13%)
Wright 13 2 (15%) 11(85%) 0
Yellow Medicine 4 0 4 (100%) 0

Total 788 155 (20%) 608 (77%) 25 (3%)

Departure Rates

A departure occurs when the court imposes a sentence that is different from that

presumed under the sentencing guidelines. A departure can be dispositional (i.e., whether the
prison sentence is stayed or imposed) or durational (i.e., concerning the length of sentence).
An “aggravated” departure involves either imposing a prison sentence when a stayed sentence
is presumed by the guidelines, or imposing a greater amount of time than that presumed. A
“mitigated” departure means either imposing a stayed probationary sentence when prison is
presumed, or imposing less time than the time presumed.

Dispositional Departures

Of the 788 cases sentenced in 2006, 224 (28%) were presumptive prison sentences
under the sentencing guidelines. Of those 224 cases, 152 (68%) were given the presumptive
sentence and committed to prison. The remaining 72 cases (32%) were given a mitigated
dispositional departure and placed on probation. This was a decrease from the 35 percent
mitigated dispositional departure rate for felony DWI cases sentenced in 2005. The mitigated
dispositional departure rate for first-time felony DWI offenders was 37 percent, while the
mitigated dispositional departure rate for subsequent felony DWI offenders was 27 percent.

Of the 564 cases where the sentencing guidelines presumed a stayed sentence, three
(less than 1%) were given an aggravated dispositional departure and committed to prison. The
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remaining 561 cases received the presumptive stayed sentence and were placed on probation.
As noted above, a stayed sentence where the offender is placed on probation might include up
to a year of incarceration in a local facility as a condition of the probation.

Dispositional Departures

Presumptive Sentence Received Departure Rate

Disposition Prison Probation

Prison = 224 152 (68%) 72 (32%) Mitigated = 32%
Probation = 564 3 (<1%) 561 (99%) Aggravated = <1%

Total = 788 155 (20%) 608 (77%) Total Dispositional =10%

The most frequently cited reasons for the mitigated dispositional departures included
amenability to probation (51%) and treatment (56%). In 31 percent of these departures, the
court cited the defendant’s show of remorse or acceptance of responsibility as a reason for
departure and in 13 percent, placing the offender on long term supervision was cited as a
reason for departure. In 38 percent of the mitigated dispositional departures, the court cited a
plea negotiation, recommendation by the prosecutor, or failure by the prosecutor to object as a
reason for departure, down from a rate of 47 percent in 2005. The court stated that the
prosecutor objected to the mitigated disposition in 15 percent of these cases. Of the three
cases where a prison sentence was imposed even though the presumptive disposition was
probation, two were the result of the defendant’s request for a prison sentence.

Durational Departures on Prison Cases

Of the 155 cases sentenced to prison, 108 (70%) received the sentence duration
recommended under the sentencing guidelines. One case received a sentence longer than
recommended (less than 1%). 46 cases (30%) received a sentence that was shorter than that
recommended by the sentencing guidelines. This is an increase from the 27 percent mitigated
durational departure rate observed for felony DWI cases sentenced in 2005. In 59 percent of the
mitigated durational departures sentenced in 2006, the court cited plea agreement or
recommendation or lack of objection by the prosecutor as a reason for departure, down from 68
percent in 2005. In three cases, the court stated that the prosecutor objected to mitigated
durations. Other frequently cited reasons for mitigated durations included: the offenders
showed remorse or accepted responsibility (39%), amenability to treatment (17%), and
recommendations by court services (9%).

Durational Departures: Executed Sentences

Number of Executed | No Departure | Aggravated Mitigated Total Departure
Sentences Departures | Departures Rate
155 108 (70%) 1 (<1%) 46 (30%) 30%
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Total Departure Rate

The total dispositional departure rate for all 788 cases was ten percent. For presumptive
prison cases, the rate was higher at 32 percent, and for presumptive stayed cases it was lower
at less than one percent. The total durational departure rate for all 788 cases was eleven
percent. For presumptive prison cases the rate was higher at 26 percent, and for presumptive
stayed cases it was five percent.

Any individual sentence might contain more than one kind of departure. A case where
the sentencing guidelines presumes probation, if sentenced to prison but for a shorter duration
than called for under the sentencing guidelines would be both an aggravated dispositional
departure and a mitigated durational departure. Less than two percent of all 788 cases were
given a sentence that represented both a dispositional and a durational departure.

The overall total departure rate (combining both dispositional and durational departures)
was 19 percent, or 151 of the 788 cases sentenced received one or more departures. For
presumptive prison cases, the total departure rate was the highest at 53 percent. For
presumptive stayed cases, the total departure rate was just six percent.

Total Departure Rate

Presumptive Dispositional Durational Both Total
Disposition Departure Departure Departure Rate
Prison = 224 72 (32%) 59 (26%) 12 (5%) 119 (53%)
Probation = 564 3 (0.5%) 29 (5%) 0 (0%) 32 (6%)
Total = 788 75 (10%) 88 (11%) 12 (1.5%) 151 (19%)

Revocations to Prison

A revocation occurs when an offender placed on probation violates the conditions of that
probation. A revocation can add additional sanctions to an offender’s sentence or can result in
the offender being sent to prison to serve their sentence. Information from the Department of
Corrections indicates that 147 felony DWI offenders were admitted in 2006 as probation
revocations. There were 93 probation revocations in 2005, 63 in 2004, and 24 in 2003, for a
total of 327 revocations. Since the felony DWI law went into effect, (August 1, 2002) 3,394
offenders have been sentenced (102 in 2002, 810 in 2003, 860 in 2004, 834 in 2005, and 788 in
2006) and 3,165 offenders have been placed on probation. With 327 probation revocations, the
revocation rate through the end of 2006 is 10.3 percent.
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County Attorney Firearms Reports

Current law directs County Attorneys to collect and maintain information on criminal complaints
and prosecutions in which a defendant is alleged to have committed an offense while possessing or
using a firearm, as described in M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 9. This information is supposed to be
forwarded to the Sentencing Guidelines Commission no later than July 1 of each year. Pursuant to
M.S. § 244.09, subdivision 14, the Commission is required to include in its annual Report to the
Legislature a summary and analysis of the reports received. Memoranda describing the mandate,
along with forms on which to report, are distributed by the Commission to County Attorneys. Although
the Commission’s staff clarifies inconsistencies in the summary data, the information received from the
County Attorneys is reported directly as provided.

Since the mandate began in FY 1996, the average number of annual cases involving firearms
statewide has been 658. Between July 1, 2006 and July 1, 2007, there were a total of 645 cases
allegedly involving a firearm. Prosecutors charged 630 cases (-17%).

Figure 1: Cases Allegedly Involving a Firearm —
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2The statute provides a mandatory minimum sentence of 36 months for the first conviction of specified offenses, and 60
months for a second. Offenses include murder in the first, second, or third degree; assault in the first, second, or third degree;
burglary; kidnapping; false imprisonment; manslaughter in the first or second degree; aggravated robbery; simple robbery; first
degree or aggravated first degree witness tampering; some criminal sexual conduct offenses; escape from custody; arson in
the first, second, or third degree; felony drive-by shooting; aggravated harassment and stalking; felon in possession of a
firearm; and felony controlled substance offenses.
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Of the individuals charged, 428 (68%) were convicted of offenses designated in M.S. § 609.11.
One hundred fourteen individuals (18%) were convicted of offenses not covered by the mandatory
minimum (e.g., terroristic threats); 19 (3%) were acquitted on all charges; 59 (9%) had all charges
dismissed; and 10 (2%) were “other” cases, such as federal prosecutions and civil commitment. In 396
(93%) of the 428 cases in which there was a conviction for a designated offense, use or possession of
a firearm was established on the record. In the cases in which the firearm was established on the
record, 260 offenders (66%) were sentenced to the mandatory minimum prison term.

Figure 2: Cases Allegedly Involving a Firearm — Charged?
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Figure 4: Cases Convicted of Designated Offenses
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Figure 5: Firearm Established on the Record —
Mandatory Minimum Sentence Imposed and
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County Attorney Reports on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms by County
Cases Disposed from July 1, 2006 to July 1, 2007

Cases in
which a Mandatory
Cases Cases Firearm was Minimum
Allegedly Convicted — Established Sentence
Involving a Cases Designated on the Imposed and
County Firearm Charged Offense Record Executed

Aitkin 4 3 0 0 0
Anoka 48 47 34 34 13
Becker 11 11 9 9 6
Beltrami 3 3 1 1 1
Benton 8 8 7 7 6
Big Stone 1 1 1 1 0
Blue Earth 7 7 3 3 2
Brown 0 0 0 0 0
Carlton 0 0 0 0 0
Carver 3 3 3 3 1
Cass 8 8 4 4 3
Chippewa 0 0 0 0 0
Chisago 5 5 3 3 3
Clay 10 10 5 5 5
Clearwater 0 0 0 0 0
Cook 0 0 0 0 0
Cottonwood 1 1 1 1 1
Crow Wing 8 8 3 3 1
Dakota 28 28 18 18 11
Dodge 0 0 0 0 0
Douglas 0 0 0 0 0
Faribault 0 0 0 0 0
Fillmore 0 0 0 0 0
Freeborn 0 0 0 0 0
Goodhue 8 8 3 2 1
Grant 0 0 0 0 0
Hennepin 149 149 116 116 87
Houston 0 0 0 0 0
Hubbard 2 2 1 1 1
Isanti 7 7 5 3 1
Itasca 10 10 6 5 0
Jackson 1 1 1 0 0
Kanabec 2 1 0 0 0
Kandiyohi 5 5 3 3 1
Kittson 1 1 1 1 0
Koochiching 2 2 0 0 0
Lac Qui Parle 1 1 0 0 0
Lake 5 5 3 2 2
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Cases in

which a Mandatory
Cases Cases Firearm was Minimum
Allegedly Convicted — Established Sentence
Involving a Cases Designated on the Imposed and
County Firearm Charged Offense Record Executed

Wabasha 7 7 2 2 0
Wadena 2 2 1 1 0
Waseca 0 0 0 0 0
Washington 13 13 8 8 5
Watonwan 0 0 0 0 0
Wilkin 1 1 1 1 0
Winona 4 4 1 1 0
Wright 6 6 5 0 0
Yellow Medicine 0 0 0 0 0
Total 645 630 428 396 260
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APPENDICES



Appendix A: Drug Re-Ranking Proposals Considered

Below are drug re-ranking proposals which were considered by the Minnesota Sentencing
Guidelines Commission on September 20, 2007. The fourth proposal was forwarded to a public
hearing held November 1, 2007.

1. Move first-degree controlled substance crimes from severity level nine to severity level
eight; and second-degree controlled substance crimes from severity level eight to
severity level seven.

2. Re-rank first-degree and second-degree sale and possession crimes as stated above,
and leave manufacture of methamphetamine at its current ranking of severity level nine.

3. Re-rank first-degree possession at severity level eight and second-degree sale and
possession at severity level seven, and leave first-degree sale and manufacture of
methamphetamine at their current rankings of severity level nine.

4. Re-rank first-degree possession at severity level eight and second-degree possession at

severity level seven, and leave first-degree sale and manufacture of methamphetamine
at severity level nine, and second-degree sale at severity level eight.
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Appendix B: How the Sentencing Guidelines Work

Minnesota’s sentencing guidelines are contained in two grids and a set of sentencing
rules updated and published annually by the Guidelines Commission. The Sex Offender Grid is
used for sentencing felony sex offenses and sex-related crimes, such as possession of child
pornography and failure to register as a predatory offender. Sex offenders convicted under
M.S. 8§ 609.3455 were taken out of the guidelines scheme by the 2005 Legislature. These
“worst of the worst” individuals receive either life without possibility of release or “life sentences”
whose actual duration is determined by the Department of Corrections. The original Sentencing
Guidelines Grid is applied to all other felony sentences, except murder in the first degree. First-
degree murderers, like the sex offenders not covered by the guidelines, are sentenced to life
with or without possibility of release.

On the left side of each grid is a vertical scale on which each felony is ranked according
to its seriousness. A few felonies are unranked, because they are new offenses or are seldom
charged. These crimes are given a ranking when there are enough convictions to make it
possible to see some agreement among practitioners as to how they should be sentenced. In
the meantime, judges may rank these crimes at the degree of seriousness they deem
appropriate.

Across the top of each grid is a horizontal scale of criminal history scores starting at
zero. When a felon is sentenced, a criminal history is calculated according to the rules printed
in Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary, and the crime being sentenced is located on the
ranking scale. The box at the intersection of criminal history and felony rank contains a
presumptive sentence that is either a specific number of months, or a range within which a
sentencing judge may choose a specific number of months. Some of the boxes are shaded;
sentences that appear in those areas are stayed, or probationary, sentences. In these cases, it
is presumed that the offender will be required to meet certain conditions, which may include up
to 365 days in a local jail; if the offender does not comply with the conditions of probation, he
may be sent to prison. Sentences in the unshaded area of each grid are presumed
commitments, in which the offender is sent to a state prison. There are, however, a number of
offenses that carry a presumptive prison sentence regardless of where the offender is located
on the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, e.g. some crimes involving dangerous weapons and certain
second-time drug and burglary cases.

Judges must impose the presumptive sentence, unless there are substantial and
compelling reasons to give a more or less severe punishment. Judges are able to consider
characteristics of an offender, or of a particular crime, that they believe make a case different
from the typical offense of its kind when they determine sentences. They are required to explain
their reasons for upward or downward departures, which are governed by legal principles and
may be appealed by either the defendant or the prosecutor. Over the years, decisions of the
Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals have defined what characteristics are fair for a judge
to consider and have provided guidance as to what kinds of departures are legally appropriate.
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APPENDIX C: SENTENCING GUIDELINES GRID
Presumptive Sentence Lengths in Months

Italicized numbers within the grid denote the range within which a judge may sentence without the sentence being
deemed a departure. Offenders with non-imprisonment felony sentences are subject to jail time according to law.

SEVERITY LEVEL OF

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE

CONVICTION OFFENSE 0 1 2 3 4 5 6or
(Common offenses listed in italics) more
M?iﬁgkt%ﬂllan?g:ggr- drive-by- | xi | . 308 326 346 366 386 406 | 426 |
. ’ 261-367 | 278-391 | 295-415 | 312-439 | 329-463 | 346-480° | 363-480
shootings)
wurcer, rd %z%rfez « | 150 165 180 195 210 225 240
(unintentional murder) 128-180 | 141-198 | 153-216 | 166-234 | 179-252 | 192-270 | 204-288
é(saizti:f)lh’eftsgsgt;er?ce Crime IX 86 98 110 122 134 146 158
st ’ 74-103 84-117 94-132 | 104-146 | 114-160 | 125-175 | 135-189
1% Degree
Controlled Substance Crime, v | 48 | 8 | e | 78 | s | 95 | 108
nd ' 41-57 50-69 58-81 67-93 75-105 84-117 92-129
2" Degree
54 60 66 72
Felony DWI VI 36 42 48 46-64 51-72 57-79 62-84 2
Controlled Substance Crime, 39 45 51 57
3 Degree Vi 21 21 £ 34-46 | 39-54 | 4461 | 49-68
Residential Burglary 33 38 43 48
Simple Robbery v e A & 2939 | 33-45 | 3751 | 41.57
. . 1 24 27 30
Nonresidential Burglary v 12 15 18 21 21-28 23.32 26-36
. 1 19 21 23
Theft Crimes (Over $5000) 11 12 13 15 17 17-92 18-95 20-27
Theft Crimes ($500 or less) 1 1 21
Check Forgery ($251-2,500) I 12 (2 = = = = 18-25
Sale of Simulated 1 1 1 19
Controlled Substance I 12 12 12 = = i 17-22

One year and one day

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. First-degree murder has a mandatory life sentence and is excluded from the
guidelines by law. See, Guidelines Section II.E., Mandatory Sentences, for policy regarding those sentences controlled by law.

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the judge, up to a year in jail and/or other non-jail sanctions can be imposed
as conditions of probation. However, certain offenses in this section of the grid always carry a presumptive commitment to state
prison. See, Guidelines sections I1.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.E. Mandatory Sentences.

M.S. 8§ 244.09 requires the Sentencing Guidelines to provide a range for sentences which are presumptive commitment to state
imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one year
and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See, Guidelines Sections Il.H. Presumptive Sentence
Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum Sentence and Il.l. Sentence Ranges for Presumptive Commitment Offenses in Shaded Areas

of Grids.
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APPENDIX D: SEX OFFENDER GRID
Presumptive Sentence Lengths in Months

Italicized numbers within the grid denote the range within which a judge may sentence without the sentence being
deemed a departure. Offenders with non-imprisonment felony sentences are subject to jail time according to law.

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE

SEVERITY LEVEL OF 0 1 2 3 4 5 m6c?r:a
CONVICTION OFFENSE

st 360

CSC 1 Degree 144 156 168 180 234 306 306-
144-173 | 144-187 | 144-202 | 153-216 | 199-281 | 260-360 3602

nd 300

CSC 2™ Degree — 90 110 130 150 195 255 o565
(c)(d) (e)(®)(h) 90-108 | 94-132 | 111-156 | 128-180 | 166-234 | 217-300 3002

rd 180

CSC 3" Degree — (c)(d) 48 62 76 20 117 153 153-

(@)(h)H (G K)(D(m)(n)(o) 41-58 53-74 65-91 77-108 | 99-140 | 130-180 1802
CSC 2™ Degree — (a)(b)(g)

CSC 3" Degree — (a)(b)?

(e)( 36 48 60 70 91 119 140
Dissemination of Child 51-72 60-84 77-109 | 101-143 | 119-168

Pornography (Subsequent or by

Predatory Offender)

CSC 4™ Degree — (c)d)

(@O )(K) (N (M)(n)(0) 60 78 102 120
Use Minors in Sexual Performance 24 36 48 51.72 66-94 87-120 102-
Dissemination of Child 120?

Pornography®
CSC 4" Degree —

(@)(b)(e)()

Possession of Child 18 27 36 45 59 77 84

Pornography(Subsequen 38-54 50-71 65-92 71-101

t or by Predatory

Offender)

CSC 5™ Degree

Indecent Exposure 39 51 60
Possession of Child Pornography 15 20 25 30 33-47 43-60 51-602
Solicit Children for Sexual

Conduct®
Registration Of Predatory 12 14 16 18 24 30 36

Offenders 1214 | 12%-17 14-19 15-22 20-29 26-36 31-43

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. Sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 2 are excluded from the guidelines,
because by law the sentence is mandatory imprisonment for life. See, Guidelines Section II.E. Mandatory Sentences for policy regarding
those sentences controlled by law, including minimum periods of supervision for sex offenders released from prison.

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the judge, up to a year in jail and/or other non-jail sanctions can be imposed as
conditions of probation. However, certain offenders in this section of the grid may qualify for a mandatory life sentence under Minn. Stat.
§ 609.3455, subd. 4. See, Guidelines Sections II.C. Presumptive Sentence and Il.E. Mandatory Sentences.
One year and one day
M.S. 8 244.09 requires the Sentencing Guidelines to provide a range for sentences which are presumptive commitment to state
imprisonment of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one
year and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See, Guidelines Sections II.H. Presumptive
Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum Sentence and I.ll. Sentence Ranges for Presumptive Commitment Offenses in
Shaded Areas of Grids. Effective August 1, 2007
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Appendix E: Adopted Modifications to the

Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary
August 2007

a) New and Amended Crimes Passed by the 2007 Legislature —
Effective August 1, 2007

1. Guidelines Section V. Offense Severity Reference Table

—

Vil Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation — 609.21, subd. 1(8); 1a(a)

Burglary 2 — 609.582, subd. 2(b)
V Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation — 609.21, subd. 1(8); 1a(b)

—

v Violation of a Domestic Abuse No Contact Order — 518B.01, subd.22(d)

Damage or Theft to Energy Transmission, Telecommunications — 609.593
11| Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation — 609.21, subd. 1(8); 1a(c)

—

Il Theft: $1,000 or less (risk of bodily harm) — 609.52, subd. 3a
Residential Mortgage Fraud — 609.822

—

c & (0)

-
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Criminal Sexual Conduct 3 - 609.344 subd. 1 (c), (d), (9), (h), (), (j), (K), (1), (M), & (n)



—

E Criminal Sexual Conduct 4 - 609.345 subd. 1 (c), (d), (9), (h), (i), (i), (K), (1), (M), & (n)_

&(0)
.

2. Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offense List

Dealers in Scrap Metal; Records, Reports, and Registration
325E.21

3. Guidelines Section VI. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive
Sentences

Statute Number Offense

518B.01, subd.22(d) Violation of a Domestic Abuse No Contact Order

609.352, subd. 2a Solicitation of Children to Engage in Sexual Conduct
(Internet or computer)

4. Adopted Modifications Due to New Theft Thresholds

—

\% Financial Exploitation of a Vulnerable Adult (over $2,500 $5,000) - 609.2335

v Financial Exploitation of a Vulnerable Adult ($2,500 $5,000 or less) — 609.2335

I

Computer Damage over $2,500 — 609.88

Computer Theft over $2,500 — 609.89

Embezzlement of Public Funds over $2,500 —609.54

Financial Transaction Card Fraud over $2,500 — 609.821, subd. 2(1), (2), (5), (6), (7),
& (8)

Receiving Stolen Goods (over $2,500 $5,000) — 609.53

Rustling and Livestock Theft over $2,500 — 609.551
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1l Telecommunications and Information Services Fraud over $2,500 — 609.893, subd. 1
Theft Crimes - Over $2,500 $5,000 (See Theft Offense List)

Computer Damage; $2,500 or less — 609.88

Computer Theft; $2,500 or less — 609.89

Embezzlement of Public Funds; $2,500 or less — 609.54

Financial Transaction Card Fraud; $2,500 or less — 609.821, subd. 2(1), (2), (5), (6),
(7), & (8)

Receiving Stolen Goods ($2;500 $5,000 or less) — 609.53

Rustling and Livestock Theft; $2,500 or less — 609.551

Telecommunications and Information Services Fraud; $2,500 or less — 609.893,
subd. 1

Theft Crimes - $2,500 $5,000 or less (See Theft Offense List)

| Theft from Abandoned or Vacant Building ($560 $1,000 or less) - 609.52, subd. 3 (3)
(d) (iii)

Theft Offense List

It is recommended that the following property crimes be treated similarly. This is the list cited
for the two THEFT CRIMES ($2,500 $5,000 or less and over $2,500 $5,000) in the Offense
Severity Reference Table.

Receiving Stolen Property
609.53

609551
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I.LA.102. When a judge grants a stayed sentence, the duration of the stayed sentence may
exceed the presumptive sentence length indicated in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing
Guidelines Grids, and may be as long as the statutory maximum for the offense of
conviction. Thus, for an offender convicted of Theft over $2,500 5,000 (severity level Ill),
with a criminal history score of 1, the duration of the stay could be up to ten years. The 13
month sentence shown in the guidelines is the presumptive sentence length and, if imposed,
would be executed if (a) the judge departs from the dispositional recommendation and
decides to execute the sentence, or (b) if the stay is later revoked and the judge decides to
imprison the offender.

11.B.601. There are a number of instances in Minnesota law in which misdemeanor or gross
misdemeanor behavior carries a felony penalty as a result of the offender's prior record.
The Commission decided that in the interest of fairness, a prior offense that elevated the
misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor behavior to a felony should not also be used in criminal
history points other than custody status. Only one prior offense should be excluded from the
criminal history score calculation, unless more than one prior was required for the offense to
be elevated to a felony. For example, Assault in the Fifth Degree is a felony if the offender
has two or more convictions for assaultive behavior. In those cases the two related priors at
the lowest level should be excluded. Similarly, theft crimes of more than $200 500 but less
than $500 1,000 are felonies if the offender has at least one previous conviction for an
offense specified in that statute. In those cases, the prior related offense at the lowest level
should be excluded.

Guidelines Section V. Offense Severity Reference Table is modified to treat
precious metal dealers and scrap metal dealers the same.

-

Vi

T

Precious Metal and Scrap Metal Dealers, Receiving Stolen Goods ($1,000 or more) —
609.526, subd. 2(1)

I
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I Precious Metal and Scrap Metal Dealers, Receiving Stolen Goods (less than $1,000)
—609.526, subd. 2(2)

L

6. Guidelines Section Il.LA. is modified to address theft offenses with a
reasonably foreseeable risk of bodily harm to another.

For persons sentenced under Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 3a for which a violation
involves a monetary value over $1,000, and creates a reasonably foreseeable risk
of bodily harm to another, the severity level ranking is elevated by one severity
level from that listed on the Offense Severity Reference Table.
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b) Non-Legislative Modifications — Effective August 1, 2007

1. Second Custody Status Point for Sex Offenders

Guidelines Section 11.B is modified, making sex offenders eligible for a second point
under any listed custody status condition.

Guidelines Section I1.B.2.

2. One point is assigned if the offender:

a. was on probation, parole, supervised release, conditional release, or confined in a
jail, workhouse, or prison pending sentencing, following a guilty plea, guilty verdict,
or extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction in a felony, non-traffic gross misdemeanor
or gross misdemeanor driving while impaired or refusal to submit to a chemical test
case; or

b. was released pending sentencing at the time the felony was committed for which he
or she is being sentenced; or

c. committed the current offense within the period of the initial length of stay
pronounced by the sentencing judge for a prior felony, gross misdemeanor or an
extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction. This policy does not apply if the
probationary sentence for the prior offense is revoked, and the offender serves an
executed sentence; or

d. became subject to one of the criminal justice supervision statuses listed in 2.a above
at any point in time during which the offense occurred when multiple offenses are an
element of the conviction offense or the conviction offense is an aggregated offense.

e. An additional custody status point shall be assigned if the offender was under any of
the custody status conditions in a through d above enprobationsupervisedrelease;
orconditionalrelease for a specified sex offense, other than Failure to Register as a

Predatory Offender (M.S. 243.166), and the current offense of conviction is a

specified sex offense, other than Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender
(243.166).

11.B.205. When an offender who is on any custody status condition listed above
probation.—conditionalrelease-or-supervisedrelease-for a sex offense commits another
sex offense, they are assigned an additional custody status point. The Commission
believes that offenders who commit a subsequent sex offense pose such a risk to public
safety that their criminal history scores should be enhanced to reflect this risk. This
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policy does not apply to the offense of Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender (M.S.
243.166).

2. Presumptive Sentence for Felony DWI with Previous Criminal Vehicular
Operations

Guidelines Sections II.C and E are modified to establish a policy for determining the
presumptive sentence for a felony DWI with a prior felony alcohol-related criminal vehicular
operations. The new policy is the same as that for a felony DWI with a prior felony DWI.
Guidelines Section II.C. Presumptive Sentence: .... When the current conviction is for
felony DWI, and the offender had a previous conviction, as defined by Minn. Stat. § 609.02
subd. 5, for a felony DWI;_or as defined by Minn. Stat. § 169A.24 subd. 1 (3), for a criminal

vehicular homicide or operation, prior to commission of the current offense, the presumptive

disposition is commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections.

Guidelines Section Il.LE. Mandatory Sentences: .... When an offender is sentenced for
first-degree (felony) driving while impaired, the court must impose a sentence of at least 36
months. The presumptive disposition is determined by the dispositional line on the
Sentencing Guidelines Grid. For cases contained in cells outside of the shaded areas of the
grid, the sentence should be executed. For cases contained in cells within the shaded
areas of the grid, the sentence should be stayed unless the offender had a previous

conviction, as defined by Minn. Stat. § 609.02 subd. 5, for a felony DWI; or as defined by

Minn. Stat. 8 169A.24 subd. 1 (3), for a criminal vehicular homicide or operation prior to

commission of the current offense, in which case the presumptive disposition is commitment

to the Commissioner of Corrections.
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c) Technical Modifications — Effective August 1, 2007

1. Modifications Resulting from the Re-Codification of Burglary in the Second
Degree and Criminal Vehicular Operations

V. Offense Severity Reference Table

-

<

Criminal Vehicular Homicide and-jury or Operation — 609.21, subd. +-&-3-1a(a)

Criminal Vehicular Homicide and-njury or Operation — 609.21, subd. 2-&4-1a(b)
Burglary 2 — 609.582, subd. 2(a)-&{b} (1) & (2)

Burglary 2 — 609.582, subd. 2(a) e)}-&{(d)-(3) & (4)

TEI1r

Criminal Vehicular Homicide and-tajury or Operation - 609.21, subd. 2a-1a(c)

-

VI. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences

Statute Number Offense

609.21, subd. +-&3-1a(a) Criminal Vehicular Homicide
609.21, subd. 2&4-1a(b) Criminal Vehicular Operation - Great Bodily Harm

609.21, subd. 2a-1a(c) Criminal Vehicular Operation —
Substantial Bodily Harm
609.582, subd. 2(a)(1) Burglary Second Degree - Dwelling

609.582, subd. 2(b)} (a)(2)  Burglary Second Degree — Bank

Guidelines Section I.B. Criminal History:

3. Subject to the conditions listed below, the offender is assigned one unit for each

misdemeanor conviction and for each gross misdemeanor conviction included on

the Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offense List and for which a sentence

was stayed or imposed before the current sentencing or for which a stay of
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imposition of sentence was given before the current sentencing. All felony
convictions resulting in a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor sentence shall
also be used to compute units. Four such units shall equal one point on the
criminal history score, and no offender shall receive more than one point for prior
misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor convictions. There is the following
exception to this policy when the current conviction is for criminal vehicular
homicide or injury operation or first degree (felony) driving while impaired:
previous violations of section 169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211, 169.129,
360.0752, or 609.21 are assigned two units each and there is no limit on the total
number of misdemeanor points included in the criminal history score due to DWI

or criminal vehicular homicide or irjury operation violations.

11.B.301. ...

As a general rule, the Commission eliminated traffic misdemeanors and gross
misdemeanors from consideration. However, driving while impaired traffic offenses have
particular relevance to the offenses of criminal vehicular homicide or irjury operation and
first degree (felony) driving while impaired. Therefore, prior misdemeanor and gross
misdemeanor sentences for violations under 169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211,
169.129, or 360.0752 shall be used in the computation of the misdemeanor/gross
misdemeanor point when the current conviction offense is criminal vehicular homicide or

inrjfury operation or first degree (felony) driving while impaired.

11.B.302. . ..

The Commission believes that offenders whose current conviction is for criminal
vehicular homicide or injury operation or first degree (felony) driving while impaired, and
who have prior violations under 169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211, 169.129,
360.0752, or 609.21 are also more culpable and for these offenders there is no limit to
the total number of misdemeanor points included in the criminal history score due to DWI
or criminal vehicular homicide or injury operation (€ CVO) violations. To determine the
total number of misdemeanor points under these circumstances, first add together any
non DWI/E& CVO misdemeanor units. If there are less than four units, add in any
DWI/S CVO units. Four or more units would equal one point. Only DWI/CVO units
can be used in calculating additional points. Each set of four DWI/&4 CVO units would
equal an additional point. For example, if an offender had two theft units and six
DWI/S4 CVO units, the theft would be added to the two DWI/G4 CVO units to equal
one point. The remaining four DWI/&4 CVO units would equal a second point. In a
second example, if an offender had six theft units and six DWI/& CVO units, the first
four theft units would equal one point. Four of the DWI/SW CVO units would equal a
second point. The remaining two theft units could not be added to the remaining two
DWI/S\ CVO units for a third point. The total misdemeanor score would be two.

2. Released Pending Sentencing Custody Status
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Guidelines Section 11.B is modified to clarify that “released pending sentencing”
means released pending sentencing following a guilty plea or conviction.

Guidelines Section I1.B

2. One point is assigned if the offender:

a. was on probation, parole, supervised release, conditional release, or confined
in a jail, workhouse, or prison pending sentencing, following a guilty plea,
guilty verdict, or extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction in a felony, non-traffic
gross misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor driving while impaired or refusal to
submit to a chemical test case; or

b. was released pending sentencing at the time the felony was committed for

which he or she is being sentenced following a quilty plea, quilty verdict, or

extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction; or

3. Exclusion of Criminal History Used to Enhance Current Offense

Guidelines Section 11.B.6 is modified to clarify that prior felony offenses should not be
excluded, even when they are the basis for the enhancement.

Guidelines Section 11.B.6.

6.

When determining the criminal history score for a current offense that is a felony solely
because the offender has previous convictions for similar or related misdemeanor and
gross misdemeanor offenses, the prior gross misdemeanor conviction(s) upon which the
enhancement is based may be used in determining custody status, but the prior
misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor conviction(s) cannot be used in calculating the

remaining components of the offender's criminal history score. For instance, ilf the

current offense is a first degree (felony) driving while impaired (DWI) offense and the
offender has a prior felony DWI offense, the prior felony DWI shall be used in computing
the criminal history score, but the prior misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor offenses
used to enhance the prior felony DWI cannot be used in the offender’s criminal history.

Similarly, if the current offense is any other enhanced felony, prior misdemeanor and

gross misdemeanor offenses used to enhance the current offense to a felony shall be
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excluded from computing the criminal history score (other than the custody status point),

but prior felony offenses used for enhancement shall be included.

Comment

[1.B.601. There are a number of instances in Minnesota law in which misdemeanor or gross
misdemeanor behavior carries a felony penalty as a result of the offender's prior record.
The Commission decided that in the interest of fairness, a prior misdemeanor or gross
misdemeanor offense that elevated the misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor behavior to a
felony should not also be used in criminal history points other than custody status. Only one
prior offense should be excluded from the criminal history score calculation, unless more
than one prior was required for the offense to be elevated to a felony. For example, Assault
in the Fifth Degree is a felony if the offender has two or more convictions for assaultive
behavior. In those cases the two related priors at the lowest level should be excluded.
Similarly, theft crimes of more than $200 but less than $500 are felonies if the offender has
at least one previous conviction for an offense specified in that statute. In those cases, the
prior related offense at the lowest level should be excluded.

A first-time first degree (felony) driving while impaired (DWI) offense involves a DWI
violation within ten years of the first of three or more prior impaired driving incidents.
Because the DWI priors elevated this offense to the felony level, they should be excluded
from the criminal history score. Those predicate misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor
offenses should also be excluded for a eutrent subsequent felony DWI that-is—a—felony
because-theoffender-has—apriorfelony-BDWH, but any the prior Felony DWI would be

counted as part of the felony criminal history score.

Decayed Priors Apply in Presumptive Commitment Policy

Guidelines Section 11.C is modified to clarify that prior decayed offenses not used in
calculating felony points can be used to determine the presumptive disposition.

Guidelines Section I.C. Presumptive Sentence: .. ..

When the current conviction offense is burglary of an occupied dwelling (Minn. Stat. 8
609.582, subd. 1 (a)) and there was a previous conviction for a felony burglary before the
current offense occurred, the presumptive disposition is commitment to the Commissioner of

Corrections. The provisions providing for the decay of convictions used to calculate criminal

history points, which are set forth in section 11.B.1.f., do not apply to this requirement. See
State v. Jones, 587 N.W.2d 854 (Minn. App. 1999) A conviction too old to be used for

criminal history may trigger the presumptive commitment. The presumptive duration of

sentence is the fixed duration indicated in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines
Grid.

Similarly; When the current conviction offense is a severity-level-\l-drug first, second, or
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third-degree controlled substance crime and there was a previous conviction or a disposition

under section 152.18, subd. 1 for a felony violation of Chapter 152 or a felony-level attempt
or conspiracy to violate Chapter 152, or reeceived a similar conviction or disposition
elsewhere for conduct that would have been a felony under Chapter 152 if committed in
Minnesota (See Minn. Stat. 8 152.01, subd. 16a) before the current offense occurred, the

presumptive disposition is commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections. The provisions

providing for the decay of convictions used to calculate criminal history points, which are set

forth in section 11.B.1.f., do not apply to this requirement. A conviction or disposition too old

to be used for criminal history may trigger the presumptive commitment. However, stays of

adjudication must be distinquished from convictions and dispositions under Minn. Stat. §

152.18. A previous stay of adjudication under Minn. Stat. 8 152.18, subd. 1 is not relevant if

ten years have elapsed since discharge from the stay of adjudication (Minn. Stat. 8152.01
Subd.16a). The presumptive duration of sentence is the fixed duration indicated in the

appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, or the mandatory minimum, whichever is
longer. The peoliey requirement regarding previous dispositions under section 152.18

applies only if the previous dispositions occurred on or after August 1, 1999.

When the current conviction is for felony DWI, and the offender had a previous conviction,
as defined by Minn. Stat. § 609.02, subd. 5, for a felony DWI prior to commission of the
current offense, the presumptive disposition is commitment to the Commissioner of

Corrections. The provisions providing for the decay of convictions used to calculate criminal

history points, which are set forth in section [I.B.1.f., do not apply to this requirement. A

conviction too old to be used for criminal history may trigger the presumptive commitment.

Presumptive Sentences that Exceed the Statutory Maximums
Guidelines Section I1.H is modified to clarify presumptive sentences cannot exceed
statutory maximums and that this occurs in cells other than those with criminal
history scores of six or more.

Guidelines Section Il.H.

Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum Sentence: If the

presumptive sentence duration given in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines
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Grids exceeds the statutory maximum sentence for the offense of conviction, the statutory

maximum sentence shall be the presumptive sentence.

Comment

II.LH.01. There will be rare instances where the presumptive sentence length will exceed the

statutory maximum sentence. Fhis-willoceurin-a-handful-of-cases-each-yearforoffenders
with-criminal-history-secoresof six-ormore: If that situation occurs, the statutory maximum

sentence becomes the presumptive sentence-length.

Presumptive Consecutive Durations for Felony DWI

Guidelines Section II.F is modified to address presumptive consecutive durations for

felony DWI offenders who are not given executed prison sentences.

Guidelines Section IL.F: . . ..

Presumptive Consecutive Sentences

When an offender is sentenced for a felony DWI, a consecutive sentence is presumptive if
the offender has a prior unexpired misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor or felony DWI
sentence. The presumptive disposition for the felony DWI is based on the offender’s
location on the grid. If the presumptive disposition is probation, the presumptive sentence
for the felony DWI is a consecutive stayed sentence with a duration based on the
appropriate-grid-time a criminal history score of one. Any pronounced probationary jail time

should be served consecutively to any remaining time to be served on the prior DWI

offense. If the disposition is commitment to prison, the requirement for consecutive
sentencing does not apply (M.S. 8 169A.28 subd. 1(b)).

Out-of-State Adult Certified Priors

Guidelines Section 11.B is modified to clarify that out-of-state offenses committed by
persons under the age of 18 should not be included as prior adult felony criminal
history unless it can be shown that the offense would have been certified had it been
committed in Minnesota.
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Guidelines Section 11.B.5.

5. The designation of out-of-state convictions as felonies, gross misdemeanors, or
misdemeanors shall be governed by the offense definitions and sentences
provided in Minnesota law. The weighting of prior out-of-state felonies is
governed by section 11.B.1 (above) and shall be based on the severity level of the
equivalent Minnesota felony offense; Federal felony offenses for which there is
no comparable Minnesota offense shall receive a weight of one in computing the
criminal history index score. The determination of the equivalent Minnesota
felony for an out-of-state felony is an exercise of the sentencing court’s discretion
and is based on the definition of the foreign offense and the sentence received

by the offender.

The determination as to whether a prior out-of-state conviction for a felony

offense committed by an offender who was less than 18 years old should be

included in the juvenile section or adult section of the criminal history score is

governed by Minnesota law. The conviction should be included in the juvenile

history section if it meets the requirements outlined in 11.B.4. The prior can be

included in the adult history section only if the factfinder determines that it is an

offense for which the offender would have been certified to adult court if it
occurred in Minnesota. See State v. Marquetti, 322 N.W.2d 316 (Minn. 1982).

8. Upper and Lower Ranges for Presumptive Commitment Offenses within
Shaded Areas of the Grids

Guidelines Section Il.1 is created to clarify that ranges exist for presumptive
commitment offenses that fall within the shaded areas of the grids.

Guidelines Section Il.I. Sentence Ranges for Presumptive Commitment Offenses in

Shaded Areas of Grids: Minn. Stat. 8 244.09 requires the Sentencing Guidelines to

provide a range for sentences which are presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.

Although the shaded areas of the grid do not display ranges, when a presumptive duration

for commitment is found in a shaded area, the standard range — 15 percent lower and 20

percent higher than the fixed duration displayed — is permissible without departure, provided

that the minimum sentence is not less than one year and one day and the maximum

sentence is not more than the statutory maximum.
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9. Date of Offense in Guidelines Text and Determined by Factfinder
Guidelines Section Il.A is modified, moving language about determining the date of
offense from the commentary into the text and amending it to reflect current case
law.

Guidelines Section Il.A

A. Offense Severity: . . ..

For those convicted of multiple offenses when theft and damage to property aggregation

procedures are used for sentencing purposes or when multiple offenses are an element of

the conviction offense, the following rules apply:

a. If offenses have been aggregated under Minn. Stat. 8 609.52, subd. 3(5), or 8§

609.595, the date of the earliest offense should be used as the date of the

conviction offense;

b. If multiple offenses are an element of the conviction offense, such as in subd.

1(h)(iii) of first degree criminal sexual conduct, the date of the conviction offense
must be determined by the factfinder. See, State v. DeRosier, 719 N.W.2d 900

(Minn. 2006).

Comment

IILA.02. The date of the offense is important because the offender's age at the time of
the offense will determine whether or not the juvenile record is considered, the date of
the offense might determine whether a custody status point should be given, and the
date of offense determines the order of sentencing with multiple convictions. For those
convicted of a single offense there is generally no problem in determining the date of
the offense , A
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If the date of offense established by the above rules is on or before April 30, 1980, the
sentencing guidelines should not be used to sentence the case.

10. Mandatory Sentences for Certain Sex Offenses
Guidelines Sections are modified as a result of statutory changes.

Guidelines Section Il.LA. Offense Severity: . ...

Felony offenses, other than specified sex offenses, are arrayed into eleven levels of
severity, ranging from low (Severity Level I) to high (Severity Level XI). Specified sex
offenses are arrayed on a separate grid into eight severity levels labeled A thru H. First

degree murder and sex offenses under Minn. Stat. 8 609.3455, subdivision 2 are is

excluded from the sentencing guidelines, because by law the sentence is mandatory
imprisonment for life. Offenses listed within each level of severity are deemed to be
generally equivalent in severity. The severity level for each felony offense is governed by
Section V: Offense Severity Reference Table. Some offenses are designated as unranked
offenses in the Offense Severity Reference Table. When unranked offenses are being
sentenced, the sentencing judges shall exercise their discretion by assigning an appropriate
severity level for that offense and specify on the record the reasons a particular level was
assigned. If an offense is inadvertently omitted from the Offense Severity Reference Table,

the offense shall be considered unranked and the above procedures followed.

57



V. OFFENSE SEVERITY REFERENCE TABLE

Offenses subject to a mandatory life sentence, including first-
degree murder and certain sex offenses under Minn. Stat.
8 609.3455, subdivision 2, are is excluded from the guidelines by

law—and-contindes-to-have-a-mandatory-life-sentence.

[Repealed, 2006 c 260 art 1 s 48]

Guidelines Section Il.LE. Mandatory Sentences: . ...
First degree murder and sex offenders subject to Minn. Stat. §-609-109;—subd—3-and §
609.3455, subdivision 2, which have mandatory life imprisonment sentences, are excluded

from offenses covered by the sentencing guidelines.

Comment

IILE.O1. The types of offenses that may involve a mandatory minimum sentence or a
mandatory sentence include offenses involving dangerous weapons, a—secend—or
subseguent—criminal—sexual—conduct—offense,—a second or subsequent controlled
substance offense, first degree (felony) driving while impaired, and certain 2nd and 3rd
degree murder offenses when the offender has a prior conviction for a "heinous" offense
as described by statute.

Guidelines Section I.D. Departures from the Guidelines: . ...
2. Factors that may be used as reasons for departure: The following is a

nonexclusive list of factors which may be used as reasons for departure:

b. Aggravating Factors:
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(7)  Offender is a"patterned-sexoffender (See-Minn:
Stat—8-609-108) sentenced according to Minn.
Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 3a (Mandatory sentence
for certain engrained offenders).

Subdivision 1.[Repealed, 2006 c 260 art 1 s 48]
Subd. 2.[Repealed, 2005 c 136 art 2 s 23]
Subd. 3.[Repealed, 2006 c 260 art 1 s 48]
Subd. 4.[Repealed, 2006 c 260 art 1 s 48]
Subd. 5.[Repealed, 2006 c 260 art 1 s 48]
Subd. 6.[Repealed, 2006 c 260 art 1 s 48]
Subd. 7.[Repealed, 2006 c 260 art 1 s 48]

11.Remove Repealed Statute and Mislabeled Value

Theft Offense List

heft of . ! Bicvel
168C.09
[Repealed, 1Sp2005 ¢ 6 art 2 s 48]

I Coercion ($300 $301 - $2,500) - 609.27, subd. 1 (2), (3), (4), & (5)

12.Grid Changes Resulting from Modifications

Guidelines Section II.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other
Sentence Modifiers: . ...

SEVERITY CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE
LEVEL OF 5

CONVICTION 0 1 2 3 4 5 Moorre
OFFENSE

Conspiracy/

Attempted 180 190 200 210 220 230 240
Murder, 1% 153-216 | 161.5-228 | 170-240 | 178.5-240" | 187-240" | 195.5-240" | 204-240"
Degree

M.S. 8 244.09 requires the Sentencing Guidelines to provide a range for sentences which are presumptive commitment to state
imprisonment of 15% lower dewnward and 20% higher upward from-the-presumptive-sentence than the fixed duration displayed,
provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one year and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the
statutory maximum. See, Guidelines Sections |I.H Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory Maximum
Sentence and 1.1 Sentence Ranges for Presumptive Commitment Offenses in Shaded Areas of Grids. Hewever-because-the-
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IV. SENTENCING GUIDELINES GRID

Presumptive Sentence Lengths in Months

Italicized numbers within the grid denote the range within which a judge may sentence without the sentence being
deemed a departure. Offenders with non-imprisonment felony sentences are subject to jail time according to law.
CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE

SEVERITY LEVEL OF

CONVICTION OFFENSE 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or
(Common offenses listed in italics) more
ade 2060000 vy |xi |00 | s | s | ame | owe | s | s
. ’ y 261-367 | 278-391 | 295-415 | 312-439 | 329-463 | 346-480% | 363-480°
shootings)
ma;gg: 2;% %%grgee « 150 165 180 195 210 225 240
S 9 128-180 | 141-198 | 153-216 | 166-234 | 179-252 | 192-270 | 204-288
(unintentional murder)
e I N N B S I T
st ' 74-103 84-117 94-132 | 104-146 | 114-160 | 125-175 | 135-189
1™ Degree
Aggravated Robbery, 1st Degree 48 58 68 78 88 98 108
Controlled Substance Crime, VT 4157 | s0-60 | 5881 | 67-93 | 75-105 | 84-117 | 92-129
2" Degree
54 60 66 72
Felony DWI vii 36 42 48 soes | 5172 | 5799 6;—1826
Assauit-2" Degree
Felonin-Possession-of-a-Frearm 39 45 51 57
Controlled Substance Crime, Vi el el & 34-46 39-54 44-61 49-68
3" Degree
Residential Burglary 33 38 43 48
Simple Robbery v L= 28 43 2939 | 3345 | 37-51 | 41-57
Nonresidential Burglary \Y, 12* 15 18 21 212-28 23?_;2 26:3)’-036
Theft Crimes (Over $2,5000) mo| a2t 13 15 17 | 0, | s | ooy
Theft Crimes ($2,5000 or less) 1 1 21
Check Forgery ($2060651-2,500) I L e L L & & 18-25
Sale of Simulated 1 1 1 19
Controlled Substance ! (2 £ L L = £ 17-22

conditions of probation.

One year and one day

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.

guidelines by law-and-continues-to-have-a-mandatory-life sentence. See

regarding those sentences controlled by law.

First-degree murder has a mandatory life sentence and is excluded from the

Guidelines Section II.E., Mandatory Sentences, for policy

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the judge, up to a year in jail and/or other non-jail sanctions can be imposed as
However, certain offenses in this section of the grid always carry a presumptive commitment to state
prison. See, Guidelines Sections II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.E. Mandatory Sentences.

M.S. § 244.09 requires the Sentencing Guidelines to provide a range for sentences which are presumptive commitment to state imprisonment of

15% lower downward and 20% higher upward from-the-presumptive-sentence than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence

is not less than one year and one day and the maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See, Guidelines Sections II.H

Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutorv MaX|mum Sentence and 1.1 Sentence Ranqes for Presumptwe Comm|tment Of‘fenses in

Shaded Areas of Grids. Hewever;
Aumber:
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SEX OFFENDER GRID
Presumptive Sentence Lengths in Months

Italicized numbers within the grid denote the range within which a judge may sentence without the sentence being
deemed a departure. Offenders with non-imprisonment felony sentences are subject to jail time according to law.
CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE

SEVERITY LEVEL OF 6 or

CONVICTION OFFENSE 0 L 2 3 4 S more
CSC 1% Degree 144 156 168 180 234 306 360 ,
144-173 | 144-187 | 144-202 | 153-216 | 199-281 | 260-360 | 306-360<

CSC 2" Degree — 90 110 130 150 195 255 300
(c)(d)(e)()(h) 90-108 | 94-132 | 111-156 | 128-180 | 166-234 | 217-300 | 255-300%

csc 3" Degree — (c)(d) 48 62 76 90 117 153 180

(@)(N)(H ) (K)YD(m)(n)(o) 41-58 53-74 65-91 77-108 | 99-140 | 130-180 | 153-180%

csc 2nd Degree — (a)(b)(9)

csc 3" Degree — (a)(b)*

(e)® 36 48 60 70 91 119 140

Dissemination of Child 51-72 60-84 77-109 | 101-143 | 119-168
Pornography (Subsequent
or by Predatory Offender)

CSC 4™ Degree — (c)(d)

@O ) K)(N(M)(n)(0)

Use Minors in Sexual 24 36 48 60 78 102 120
Performance 51-72 66-94 87-120 | 102-120°

Dissemination of Child
Pornography?

CSC 4" Degree —

(@)(b)(e)()

Possession of Child 18 27 36 45 59 77 84
Pornography 38-54 50-71 65-92 71-101
(Subsequent or by
Predatory Offender)

CSC 5™ Degree

Indecent Exposure

Possession of Child 39 51 60
Pornography 3 A e £o 33-47 43-60 51-60°

Solicit Children for Sexual
Conduct?

Registration Of Predatory 12 14 16 18 24 30 36
Offenders 12'-14 1217 14-19 15-22 20-29 26-36 31-43

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment. Sex offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 2 are excluded from the guidelines,

because by law the sentence is mandatory imprisonment for life. See, Guidelines Section II.E. Mandatory Sentences for policy regarding
those sentences controlled by law, including minimum periods of supervision for sex offenders released from prison.

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the judge, up to a year in jail and/or other non-jail sanctions can be imposed as
conditions of probation. However, certain effenses offenders in thls sectlon of the gr|d mav quallfv for a mandatory I|fe sentence under

Minn. Stat. § 609.3455, subd. 4. alway v d
Criminal-Sexual- Conductoffenses.—(See Gwdellnes Sectlons 1. C Presumptlve Sentence and ILLE. Mandatory Sentences

One year and one day

= M.S. § 244.09 requires the Sentencing Guidelines to provide a range for sentences which are presumptive commitment to state imprisonment
of 15% lower and 20% higher than the fixed duration displayed, provided that the minimum sentence is not less than one year and one day and the
maximum sentence is not more than the statutory maximum. See, Guidelines Sections Il.H Presumptive Sentence Durations that Exceed the Statutory
Maximum Sentence and |.1l Sentence Ranges for Presumptive Commitment Offenses in Shaded Areas of Grids. Effective August 1, 2007
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