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Since the implementation of   
Sentencing Guidelines in Minnesota 
25 years ago, the Commission has 

developed one of the most extensive 
and detailed sentencing databases in 

the United States. 

Executive Summary 
In 1978, the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines 
Commission was established and has been responsible 
for developing, overseeing and monitoring the state’s 
sentencing guidelines for all felony offenders.  With the 
overriding goal of assuring public safety, the guidelines 
were also created to promote proportionality and 
uniformity in sentencing, reduce disparity in sentencing, 
and to coordinate sentencing practices with 
correctional resources. Since the development and implementation of the guidelines, the Commission 
has spent the vast majority of its time compiling data used to monitor and analyze sentencing practices 
throughout the state and providing sentencing information to the Legislature and state criminal justice 
agencies.  Since the implementation of the sentencing guidelines in Minnesota 25 years ago, the 
Commission has developed one of the most extensive and detailed sentencing databases in the United 
States. 
 
Each January, the Sentencing Guidelines Commission submits its Annual Report to the Legislature. The 
report contains a variety of sentencing information including: recent legislative modifications to the 
guidelines, analysis of felony DWI sentences, county attorney reports on cases involving firearms and 
other sentencing issues of importance to the Legislature.  This year’s 2006 Report to the Legislature 
includes two additional sections relating to the sentencing guidelines.  The first section provides an 
overview of the impact to date of the U.S. Supreme Court decision Blakely v. Washington on criminal 
sentencing in Minnesota.  Legislation was enacted during the 2005 session to address many of the 
constitutional issues identified in the Blakely decision.  However, as Blakely-related cases work 
themselves through the Minnesota Appellate and Supreme Courts, additional issues have been identified 
that may require subsequent legislative action.  The second section includes a set of modifications to the 
sentencing guidelines focusing on changes in sentencing policies for sex offenders in response to the 
legislative directive to the Commission contained in HF 1 of the 2005 session.   These modifications 
become effective for crimes committed on or after August 1, 2006, pending legislative review. 
 
The U.S. Supreme Court’s decision in Blakely v. Washington has impacted criminal sentencing nationwide, 
with Minnesota being no exception.  The Blakely decision did not rule sentencing guidelines or 
determinate sentencing unconstitutional, nor did it rule aggravated departures unconstitutional.  What 
the Court’s ruling did indicate was that Minnesota’s current procedure for imposing aggravated 
departures and statutorily enhanced sentences is unconstitutional.  Throughout 2005, various Minnesota 
Appellate and Supreme Court decisions have been released clarifying, to some extent, the impact of 
Blakely on specific sentencing provisions.  
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Three of the more recent Minnesota Supreme Court decisions are particularly significant State v. 
Shattuck, 704 N.W. 2d 131 (Minn. 2005) which ruled that the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines are not 
advisory and that the imposition of the presumptive sentence is mandatory absent additional findings.   In 
addition, the Court determined that Section 11.D of the Guidelines, pertaining to aggravated departures, 
is “facially unconstitutional” and must be severed from the remainder of the guidelines, since it does not 
provide a procedure for jury determination of aggravating circumstances can occur.  The remainder of 
the Sentencing Guidelines remain constitutional and in effect. In State v. Barker, released November 17, 
2005, the Court stated that the application of mandatory minimum sentencing under Minn. Stat.§ 609.11, 
when a weapon is not an element of the offense, cannot be based on facts determined by the court.  
Imposition of the mandatory minimum without the aid of a jury, or in the absence of an admission by the 
defendant, is unconstitutional under Blakely.  Finally, State v. Allen, decided on November 23, 2005, ruled 
that an upward dispositional departure executing a presumptive stayed sentence based on judicially 
found aggravating facts is unconstitutional under Blakely.  This ruling now adds aggravated dispositional 
departures to aggravated durational departures as sentencing procedures that are subject to the 
constitutional provisions identified in Blakely.   
 
Although legislation has been enacted to address many of the procedural issues surrounding Blakely, the 
Commission is recommending that additional legislative action be taken to address these recent court 
decisions and preserve the court’s ability to impose aggravated departures when appropriate and 
necessary to protect public safety.  In addition, the Commission has amended the Guideline 
Commentary to provide practitioners an overview of the case law and impact of Blakely in Minnesota to 
date. 
 
Modifications to the guidelines are included that involve changes in the sentencing structure and 
procedures for sex offenders, which is in response to the directive to the Sentencing Commission 
contained in HF1 of the 2005 Legislative session.  The Commission is proposing a separate determinate 
sentencing grid for sex offenses that enhances sentences for the serious sex offenders who are not 
subject to the mandatory or indeterminate life sentences established by the 2005 Legislature. The new 
grid calculates criminal history in a different manner, weighting prior sex offense convictions more 
heavily.  The new sentencing grid for sex offenses strongly focuses on enhanced sentences for repeat 
sex offenses and attempts to address the public safety concerns surrounding recidivism among sex 
offenders. 
 
In 2004, the Sentencing Guidelines Commission’s data demonstrates some slight changes from previous 
years.  The number of felony sentences imposed continued to increase, but the increase was significantly 
smaller than that experienced by the state in previous years.  The number of offenders sentenced for 
felony offenses increased from 14,492 in 2003, to 14,751 in 2004 representing only a 1.8% yearly 
increase.  It should be noted however, that this increase follows a 20.0% increase between 2001 and 
2002 and an 11.7% increase from 2002 to 2003.  When the source of this growth is analyzed by offense 
types, person offenses increased by 0.9 %; property offenses decreased by 0.9%; drug offenses increased 
by 3.5% (compared to 31.0% in 2002 and 13.8% in 2003) and the “other offense” category increased by 
6.6% between 2003 and 2004 (compared to the 53.6% increase between 2002 and 2003).  The data 
indicates that in 2004, the “other offense” category accounted for the largest growth in felony sentences 



 
           
 
 

  

4MSGC Report to the Legislature 

imposed with or without the inclusion of felony DWI.  
 
The total number of felony offenders sentenced to prison actually decreased from 3,536 in 2003 to 
3,443 in 2004.  While the imprisonment rate increased from 23.6% in 2002 to 24.4% in 2003, it showed 
a decline in 2004 to 23.4%.  It should be noted that the jail rate in 2004 was 68.3%, an increase from 
65.9% in 2003, representing the highest level ever since the implementation of the sentencing guidelines.  
 
The average pronounced prison sentenced also showed a decrease from 51.2 months in 2003 to 45.1 
months in 2004.  This represents the lowest average pronounced sentence since 1997.  The slight 
decrease in the number of felony offenders sentenced to prison, combined with the decrease in the 
average pronounced sentence, may be an indication that the notable growth in felony convictions the 
state has experienced in the past few years is leveling off and stabilizing.  However, this trend will need 
to be monitored in the upcoming years to determine any long term impact on the criminal justice 
system or the prison population. 
 
Analysis of felony DWI data indicates that 860 cases have been sentenced in 2004, which represents a 
slight increase over the 810 cases sentenced in 2003.  Approximately 33% (287) of the offenders had a 
criminal history of one and 26% (219) of offenders had a criminal history of zero.   The vast majority of 
offenders sentenced for felony DWI (77%) had a criminal history score of two or less.  Fifteen percent 
of the 860 cases (131) were sentenced to prison with an average pronounced sentence of 52 months; 
whereas 82% (707) of the total number of felony DWI cases received local jail time as a condition of 
probation for an average stay of 229 days.  The total incarceration rate for DWI, including both prison 
and jail sentences was 97%.  Of the 222 cases that were presumptive prison sentences under the 
guidelines, 126 cases received the presumptive prison sentence and 96 cases received a mitigated 
dispositional departure and were placed on probation.  Analysis of DWI data indicates that since the 
DWI law became effective in 2002, 1,772 offenders have been sentenced, with 1,518 of those offenders 
placed on probation.  By the end of 2004, the probation revocation rate for felony DWI was 5.7% or 87 
probation revocations. 
 
The County Attorney Reports regarding firearm offenses show that 731 cases from July 1, 2004, 
through June 30, 2005, involved an offender allegedly committing an offense listed in subdivision 9 of 
Minn. Stat. § 609.11 while possessing or using a firearm.  This represents a 4.3% increase over the 
previous year’s total 701cases.  Prosecutors secured convictions in 70% of the cases charged, the same 
conviction rate as indicated in 2003.   In approximately 63.1% of the cases where a firearm was 
established in the conviction, a mandatory minimum sentence was imposed and executed, an increase 
over 61% from the previous year. 
 
The Sentencing Guidelines Commission hopes the information contained in this report will be both 
useful and informative. The Commission is available to address any questions or to provide any 
additional information requested.  Additional data reports on overall data trends in 2004 and sentencing 
practices for specific offenses including Criminal Sexual Conduct Offenses, Failure to Register, Drug 
Offenses, Criminal Vehicular Operation, Weapons Offenses, and Unranked Offenses are available on the 
Guidelines Commission’s web site at: http://www.msgc.state.mn.us/  
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Commission Background, Structure 
and Activity 
Commission Background 
 
Minnesota was the first state to adopt a sentencing guidelines 
system over 25 years ago and has been viewed as the model for 
felony sentencing reform throughout the United States. The 
sentencing guidelines provided several major improvements over 
the old indeterminate sentencing system. 
 
1. Truth In Sentencing/Predictability. All of the participants in the 
criminal justice system – courts, prosecutors, offenders, and victims 
– now know, at the time of sentencing, how much time an offender 
will serve in prison.  For example, if an offender is sentenced to 60 
months in prison, that offender will serve 40 months in prison and will then be placed on supervised 
release for the remaining 20 months. 
 
A highly desirable side effect of determinate sentencing is the ability to fairly accurately predict future 
prison bed needs.  Thus, if the sentence for a particular offense is increased by 12 months, the 
Guidelines Commission staff can, within a certain amount of statistical confidence, project the long-term 
prison bed impact of that change.  In conjunction with other agencies, the potential fiscal impact of any 
sentencing change can also be measured and quantified, thus providing the Legislature with data based 
information for policy decisions. 
 
2.  Clear Proportionality/Uniformity.  Under this “Just Deserts” model of sentencing, an offender who 
commits a more serious crime receives a longer sentence than one who commits a less serious crime.  
An offender with a criminal history receives a longer sentence than an offender who commits the same 
crime but does not have a criminal history.  Offenders with similar offense and criminal history 
characteristics are treated the same, thus reducing disparity in sentencing. 
 
3. Accurate Data Collection.  The sentencing guidelines system also allows the Commission to collect 
accurate and detailed data on the specific determinate sentences actually imposed across the state.  Data 
collected by the Commission allows analysis of sentencing trends with respect to particular offenses, 
specific types of offenders, and geographic variations. 
 

Under the Sentencing 
Guidelines, offenders with 

similar offense 
characteristics and similar 

criminal history 
characteristics receive 

similar criminal sentences 
throughout the state of 

Minnesota, thus reducing 
disparity in sentencing. 
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The Court ruled in Blakely v. 
Washington that all facts other 

than prior convictions that 
increase a defendant’s 
sentence beyond the 

presumptive sentence must be 
presented to a jury and proven 

beyond a reasonable doubt. 

The primary goal of the Sentencing Guidelines has always been, and remains, that of protecting public 
safety while enabling the efficient use of limited state resources for incarceration of felony offenders. 
 

Commission Structure 
 
The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission is responsible for maintaining and monitoring the 
sentencing guidelines. The eleven member commission is composed of a cross section of representatives 
of the Minnesota criminal justice system. 
 
The Governor is responsible for eight appointments to the Commission, including the Chairman.  Those 
appointments currently include Sheriff Steve Borchardt from Olmstead County, representing law 
enforcement and currently serving as Chairman of the Commission.  Additional Governor appointees 
include: Joan Fabian, Commissioner of Corrections; Jeffrey Edblad from Isanti County, the County 
Attorney Representative; Darci Bentz of Fairmont, MN, the Public Defender Representative; and Tracy 
Jenson of Washington County, the Probation Representative.  Rev. Robert Battle of St. Paul,  Michael 
Williams of Minneapolis, and Connie Larson of Waseca, serve as Citizen Members on the Commission. 
 
The Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court is responsible for three appointments to the 
Commission.  Those appointments currently include: Justice Alan C. Page, Minnesota Supreme Court; 
Judge Gordon Shumaker, Minnesota Court of Appeals; and Judge Isabel Gomez, District Court Judge 
from the Fourth Judicial District. 
 
The Commission is comprised of six full-time employees.  Barbara Tombs serves as the Executive 
Director of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission. The agency’s other staff positions include 
a research director, three full-time research analysts and one administrative staff.   
 
 
Commission Activity 
 
I.  Assessing the Impact of Blakely v. Washington on Sentencing in Minnesota 
 
Although it has been over 18 months since the United States 
Supreme Court released its Blakely v. Washington, 1264 S. Ct. 
2531 (2004) decision, the impact of that ruling on criminal 
sentencing in Minnesota continues to be addressed through a 
series of Minnesota Appellate and Supreme Court decisions.   
 
In Blakely, the U. S. Supreme Court reaffirmed and clarified its 
prior holding in Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466 (2000) 
which stated that under the Sixth Amendment of the United 
States Constitution, any facts other than prior criminal 
convictions that enhance a defendant’s sentence beyond the statutory maximum must be presented to a 
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jury and proven beyond a reasonable doubt.  In Blakely, the Supreme Court held that a defendant’s Sixth 
Amendment right to a jury trial could be violated even when the sentence imposed is below the stated 
statutory maximum sentence.  
 
In Blakely, a Washington State defendant pled guilty to a 2nd degree kidnapping offense involving a 
firearm.  Under Washington’s sentencing statute, the defendant would have received a sentence of 
between 49 and 53 months for this offense.  However, the sentencing judge sentenced the defendant to 
90 months, citing a Washington statute that allows a sentence of up to ten years if the judge finds 
justification for the imposition of an “exceptional sentence.”  The judge stated that justification for the 
sentence imposed was that the defendant committed the offense with deliberate cruelty. The defendant 
appealed his sentence and the Court ruled that the sentence was a Sixth Amendment violation. 
 
Under the Sixth Amendment, the Court held that all facts, other than prior criminal convictions, that 
increase a criminal defendant’s sentence beyond what it would have been absent those facts, must be 
presented to a jury and proven beyond a reasonable doubt. Thus, it treated the presumptive sentence, 
rather than the statutory maximum sentence, as the punishment that can not be increased without a 
jury’s input or the defendant’s admission of the aggravating factors and waiver of the right to have a jury 
determine the factors exist beyond a reasonable doubt. 
 
In the Court’s view, the right to a jury trial right does not only mean that a person has the right to 
present a case to the jury; it also means that a person has a right to have a jury, not a judge, make all the 
factual findings required to impose a sentence longer than recommended by the guidelines, unless the 
defendant formally admits to some or all of the aggravating facts. 
 
Implications for Sentencing in Minnesota 
 
State v. Shattuck 
In its 2005 Report to the Legislature, the Commission reported that the Minnesota Sentencing 
Guidelines remain intact and constitutional after the Blakely decision. Only sentences that are aggravated 
beyond the presumptive guidelines sentence are affected by the Supreme Court’s ruling. That position 
was affirmed on August 18, 2005, when the Minnesota Supreme Court ruled in State v. Shattuck, 704 
N.W.2d 131(Minn. 2005).  This case focused on the constitutionality of Minn. Stat. § 609.109, the Repeat 
Sex Offender Statute.  However, the court’s ruling also addressed the application of Blakely to the 
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines. 
 
In Shattuck, the defendant was convicted of two counts of kidnapping, two counts of 1st degree criminal 
sexual conduct and one count of aggravated robbery.  The presumptive sentence under the guidelines 
for the 1st degree criminal sexual conduct and kidnapping with great bodily harm charges would have 
been 161 months, based on a severity level ranking of VIII offense and a criminal history score of 9, 
which included a custody status point.  Under the Repeat Sex Offender statute, for certain types of 1st 
and 2nd degree criminal sexual conduct offenses, the court shall commit the defendant to not less than 
30 years if the court finds (1) an aggravating factor which justifies an upward departure, and (2) the 
offender has previous convictions for 1st, 2nd or 3rd degree criminal sexual conduct.   The court imposed 
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a 161 month sentence for the kidnapping conviction and a 360 month sentence for the first degree 
criminal sexual conduct conviction, utilizing the Repeat Sex Offense statute.  The court found the 
aggravating factors of particular vulnerability, particular cruelty, great emotional harm and that the 
assault was planned.  
 
The Minnesota Supreme Court stated in its decision that a jury, not the court, must make the 
determination that aggravating factors are present to impose an upward durational departure under the 
sentencing guidelines, citing the Blakely ruling. The decision held that Minn. Stat. § 609.109 is 
unconstitutional since it authorizes the court to impose an upward durational departure without the aid 
of a jury. 
 
The ruling also stated that Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines are not advisory and that the imposition of 
the presumptive sentence is mandatory absent additional findings.  This holding specifically rejects the 
idea that the guidelines be considered advisory, as the United States Supreme Court found the Federal 
Guidelines would in United States v. Booker 125 S. Ct. 738 (2005).  The Court’s reason for rejecting the 
Booker remedy was that the federal guidelines are based upon laws, legislative intent and principles that 
differ from those of the state of Minnesota.   
 
In addition, the decision stated that Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Section II.D, which pertains to the 
manner in which aggravated departures are imposed, is “facially unconstitutional” and must be severed 
from the remainder of the guidelines.  However, the remainder of the guidelines remain in effect and 
mandatory upon the courts. The majority of the Court concluded that to invalidate the guidelines would 
be contrary to the expressed sentencing policy of the state in maintaining uniformity, proportionality 
and predictability in sentencing.  Although this specific section of the Court’s decision finds that the 
current procedure for imposing aggravated departures is in violation of the Sixth Amendment, it also 
validates the constitutionality of the guidelines and determinate sentencing.  
 
The Court also noted in Shattuck that Minnesota Courts have the inherent authority to authorize the 
use of sentencing juries and bifurcated proceedings to comply with Blakely.  While the Supreme Court 
was deciding the Shattuck case, the Legislature amended Minn. Stat. § 609.109 to comply with the 
constitutional issues raised in Blakely.  However, the Court took no position on the constitutionality of 
the legislative action.  Acknowledging the Court’s inherent authority to create rules and procedures, the 
decision stated that it was the belief of the Court that the Legislature should decide the manner in which 
the sentencing guidelines should be amended to comply with the constitutional requirements of Blakely. 
 
The Supreme Court remanded the Shattuck case to the district court for imposition of a sentence within 
the presumptive range of the sentencing guidelines.  The Court’s ruling in this case created a level of 
confusion as to whether cases remanded for re-sentencing due to a Blakely issue were limited only to 
the imposition of a sentence within the presumptive range of the guidelines or whether the district 
court could conduct a sentencing hearing that utilizes a jury for determination of aggravating factors.  
 
On October 6, 2005, the Minnesota Supreme Court issued an Order amending the Shattuck opinion 
clarifying that the Legislature has enacted significant new requirements for sentencing aggravated 
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The structure of 
Sentencing Guidelines in 

Minnesota remains 
constitutional, as do 

aggravated departures.

departures which includes sentencing juries and bifurcated trials.  It further clarified that these changes 
apply both prospectively and to re-sentencing hearings.   This clarification enables re-sentencing hearings 
to include jury determination of aggravating factors and the imposition of aggravated departure 
sentences. 
 
The Shattuck decision clarifies that aggravated departures 
resulting in enhanced sentences above the presumptive range 
on the sentencing grid are not deemed unconstitutional by 
Blakely, as long as the aggravating factor(s) that may result in a 
departure are determined beyond a reasonable doubt by a jury 
or the defendant knowingly and willingly stipulates to the 
aggravating factors.  Thus, it is the procedure that the Court calls into question, not the enhanced 
sentence itself.  Aggravated departures are still an available sentencing option for the most serious cases 
that pose the greatest threat to public safety. 
   
State v. Barker 
Another significant Minnesota Supreme Court decision relating to the impact of Blakely is State v. Barker,-
-N.W.2d—(Minn.2005) released on November 17, 2005.  In this case, the Court addressed the 
application of Blakely rights to the imposition of the mandatory sentencing provision contained in Minn. 
Stat. § 609.11.  In this case the defendant was convicted of possession of a 5th  degree controlled 
substance offense and sentenced under Minn. Stat. § 609.11 to a 36 months mandatory minimum 
sentence in prison based on a judicial finding that the defendant possessed a firearm during the predicate 
offense.  The defendant had no criminal history points and the presumptive sentence under the 
sentencing guidelines was a year and a day stayed.  
 
At sentencing, the defendant stipulated to the possession of a firearm, claiming he had the gun on the 
front passenger seat for protection.  The defendant claimed he had pulled the firearm out from under 
the back seat so he could grab it in a second’s notice to protect himself and that the possession of the 
weapon did not increase the risk of violence since it was solely for self protection.  The court denied the 
defendant’s request for a jury determination of sentencing factors and imposed the mandatory minimum 
sentence of 36 months in prison.  The defendant appealed his sentence claiming it violated his 
constitutional rights under Blakely. 
 
The Minnesota Supreme Court ruled that Minn. Stat. § 609.11 is unconstitutional to the extent that it 
authorizes the district court to impose an aggravated durational departure upon a finding of sentencing 
factors, other than prior convictions, without the aid of a jury or an admission by the defendant. Unlike 
most mandatory minimum sentences which are triggered solely by prior convictions, the Minn. Stat. § 
609.11 mandatory minimum may only be applied when the court finds that a weapon present during the 
commission of a crime created an increased risk of violence.  However when the weapon is an element 
of the offense, this finding is not required.  Even though Barker admitted to the possession of the 
weapon during the sentencing hearing, when the court denied his prior request for a jury determination 
as to whether the weapon increased the risk of violence, any statements made by the defendant after 
that denial could not be held to satisfy the Blakely admission exception. 
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In its decision, the Court noted that the Legislature did not amend Minn. Stat. § 609.11 in the same 
manner as the other special sentencing enhancement statutes such as Minn. Stat. § 609.108, the 
Patterned and Predatory Sex Offender; Minn. Stat. § 609.1095, the Dangerous and Repeat Felony 
Offender, or Minn. Stat. § 609.109, Repeat Sex Offenders.  The Court appears to interpret that inaction 
as a lack of legislative intent to authorize sentencing juries for Minn. Stat. § 609.11.  The Court 
remanded the case to the lower court for re-sentencing within the presumptive guideline range. 
 
In its initial analysis of the impact of Blakely on sentencing in Minnesota, the Commission indicated that 
most mandatory minimum sentences would not be impacted by Blakely since in many cases the 
imposition of the mandatory minimum sentence is triggered by prior convictions.  However, Minn. Stat. 
§ 609.11 was identified as a potential problem due to the requirement that the court determine the 
presence of a weapon in situations where the weapon was not an element of the crime.  In reviewing 
2004 sentencing data pertaining to offenders sentenced under Minn. Stat. § 609.11, 884 offenders were 
sentenced under that specific statute.  Of the 884 offenders, 505 offenders received a mandatory 
sentence that was greater than the applicable guideline sentence based on the sentencing grid.  Of those 
505 cases, 461 involved offenses in which possession of the weapon was an element of the crime, leaving 
44 cases in which possession of a weapon that had not been charged was cited as a sentencing factor in 
the imposition of the mandatory minimum prison sentence.  Although the number of cases identified 
may be limited, these cases have the potential to represent significant threats to public safety. The 
option to sentence to the mandatory minimum when a weapon increases the risk of harm should be 
available.   
 
RECOMMENDATION TO THE LEGISLATURE 
The Sentencing Commission recommends that the Legislature amend 609.11 as soon as possible in a 
similar manner similar to its previous amendments to Minn. Stat. § 609.108, the Patterned and Predatory 
Sex Offender; Minn. Stat. § 609.1095, the Dangerous and Repeat Felony Offender, or Minn. Stat. § 
609.109, Repeat Sex Offenders, (contained in H.F.1).  The Legislature should consider authorizing the 
use of a jury to determine the enhancement factors required to impose the mandatory minimum 
sentences under Minn. Stat. § 609.11 and provide for appropriate Blakely waivers by defendants.  It is the 
intention of the Commission to modify the language of the Guidelines to be consistent with legislative 
action at its next public hearing. 
 
State v. Allen 
The latest notable Blakely related decision was released on November 23, 2005 in State v. Allen,--
N.W.2d--(Minn.2005). The Minnesota Supreme Court addressed the application of Blakely to aggravated 
dispositional departures.  In a previous Minnesota Court of Appeals decision, State v. Hanf, 687 N.W. 2d 
659 (Minn. App. 2004), the Appellate Court ruled that aggravated dispositional departures are not 
subject to Blakely provisions, due to the fact that dispositional departures are based on offender 
characteristics, not offense characteristics, making them similar to the sentencing judgments made under 
indeterminate sentencing models. The Court stated that a “Blakely Right” must arise from a jury verdict, 
and noted that the traditional role of a jury has never extended to which offenders do or do not go to 
prison.  The Court of Appeals further stated that the Sixth Amendment does not require juries to 
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determine amenability to probation, since amenability to probation is not a fact necessary to constitute a 
criminal offense.  Thus, the Court concluded in Hanf that aggravated dispositional departures based on 
offender-related characteristics, such as amenability or unamenability to probation, do not violate Blakely 
provisions. 
 
In State v. Allen, the Minnesota Supreme Court over ruled the lower court’s decision in Hanf.    In Allen, 
the defendant pled guilty to 1st Degree Test Refusal as part of a negotiated plea agreement in exchange 
for the dismissal of other charges.   His specific sentence was to be determined by the court.   The 
defendant’s criminal history included a custody point, since the defendant was on probation for a prior 
offense at the time of the current offense.  The presumptive guideline sentence was a 42 month stayed 
sentence. However, based on the defendant’s numerous prior alcohol-related convictions and history of 
absconding from probation, the court determined the defendant was not amenable to probation and 
sentenced the defendant to a 42 month executed prison sentence, an aggravated dispositional departure 
under the sentencing guidelines.  The case was on appeal when Blakely v. Washington was decided. 
 
In its ruling, our Supreme Court stated that a stayed sentence is not merely an alternative mode of 
serving a prison sentence, in that the additional loss of liberty encountered with an executed sentence 
exceeds the maximum penalty allowed by a plea of guilty or jury verdict.  Thus the Court found a 
violation of the defendant’s Sixth Amendment Constitutional rights.  The Court held a sentence 
disposition to be as much an element of the presumptive sentence as the sentence duration.  Offender 
characteristics authorizing upward dispositional departures must be found by or admitted by the 
defendant.  When the district court imposed an upward dispositional departure based on its own finding 
of unamenability to probation, the defendant’s constitutional rights were violated under Blakely.  
Unamenability to probation may be used as an aggravating factor to impose an upward dispositional 
departure, only if it is found by a jury beyond a reasonable doubt or admitted as part of a voluntary 
waiver of the right to a jury determination.  
 
The State v. Allen ruling will impact the procedure by which upward dispositional departures are imposed 
under Minnesota’s Sentencing Guidelines.  An analysis of dispositional departure data indicates that 523 
aggravated dispositional departures were imposed in 2004.  However in 76% (397) of the cases, the 
departure was the result of a plea negotiation or a request by the defendant for an executed sentence.  
In addition, the Allen case has led to much speculation as to whether probation revocations resulting in 
an executed prison sentence are also subject to Blakely provisions.  Although the Allen case focuses on 
imposition of an executed prison sentence as the result of an aggravated dispositional departure, the 
Court’s reasoning could be interpreted to be applicable to probation revocations in which a 
presumptive stayed sentence is executed due to an offender’s conduct on probation.  The Commission 
awaits further action by the Minnesota courts addressing this specific issue. 
 
 
 
 
RECOMMENDATURE TO THE LEGISLATURE  
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The Sentencing Commission recommends that the Legislature enact the same provisions related 
dispositional departures as were enacted during the last legislative session (contained in H.F.1) relating 
to aggravated durational departures, including bifurcated proceedings and appropriate Blakely waiver 
provisions.  It is the intent of the Commission to amend the guideline language to reflect legislative 
changes at the next public hearing  
 
Departure Trends in Minnesota – Post Blakely 
 The Blakely v. Washington and the subsequent State v. Shattuck decisions directly impacted the procedure 
for imposing aggravated departures under the sentencing guidelines.  Although the total number of 
departures (including both aggravated and mitigated) represented only 26% (3,835) of the 14,751 total 
felony sentences imposed in 2004, they are important since they represent the atypical cases for which 
the presumptive guidelines sentence may not be appropriate. 
 
Of the total 14,751 sentences imposed during 2004, only 6.6% (968) of the cases involved aggravated 
departures. Aggravated dispositional departures accounted for 3.6% (523) of the total cases; aggravated 
durational departures accounted for 2.7% (403) and aggravated departures representing a combination 
of both aggravated dispositional and durational departures accounted for 0.3% (42) percent of the total.   
 
When aggravated departure data is compared among years there appears to be only a slight decrease 
since the Blakely ruling in 2004.  Presented below is a summary of the types and frequencies of 
aggravated departures, both dispositional and durational, from 2002 to 2004.   
 

Total Aggravated Departures 
Number of Cases and Percent of Overall Cases Sentenced 

 
2002 2003 2004 Type of Departure 

# % # % # % 

Aggravated Disposition Only 481 3.7% 521 3.6% 523 3.6% 
Aggravated Disposition and Duration 50 0.4% 60 0.4% 42 0.3% 
Aggravated Duration Only – Prison 224 1.7% 247 1.7% 191 1.3% 

Aggravated Duration Only – Probation 247 1.9% 235 1.6% 212 1.4% 

Total 1,002 7.7% 1,063 7.3% 968 6.6% 

 
The data would indicate that post-Blakely procedural adjustments have been utilized to continue imposing 
aggravated departures when appropriate. 
 
The Supreme Court’s ruling in Blakely v. Washington at the end of its 2003-2004 term created an 
enormous amount of confusion and uncertainty in sentencing practices and policies at both the state and 
federal level.  Academics, courts, legal experts and sentencing professionals have struggled to decipher 
what the Court’s decision really means and to determine to what extent current sentencing polices and 
practices are affected in various jurisdictions, as well as what procedural modifications are necessary to 
comply with the constitutional issues identified in Blakely.  Minnesota courts have addressed numerous 
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Blakely-related issues over the past year, including retroactivity, custody status points, and dispositional 
departures.  Although not every issue or question related to Blakely has been addressed at this time, 
there is certainly more clarity than a year ago.  Timely criminal sentencing has continued, as has the 
imposition of aggravated departure sentences.  The statutory modifications passed by the 2005 
Legislature combined with clarification from recent Minnesota court decisions, have resulted in 
maintaining enhanced sentences as an option for consideration when warranted and necessary. 
 
II. Modifications to Sex Offender Sentencing Policies 
 
The 2005 Minnesota Legislature passed HF 1, which contained a directive to the Minnesota Sentencing  
Guidelines Commission to develop a separate sex offense sentencing grid for sex offenders who would 
not be subject to the mandatory or indeterminate life sentencing provisions for sex offenders enacted in 
the last legislative session.   After a preliminary review of the issues relating to the sentencing of sex 
offenders, a subcommittee was designated to explore options that would more appropriately address 
the difficult public safety issues surrounding sex offenders, particularly recidivism.  The Commission felt 
it was imperative to preserve the current determinate sentencing model in Minnesota to ensure 
proportionality, uniformity and certainty in sentencing, while addressing the availability of longer 
sentences for cases involving serious or repeat sex offenses. 
 
The subcommittee began by examining which sex offenders would be subject to the new mandatory or 
indeterminate life sentences and removing those offenders from the pool of defendants who would be 
sentenced on the new sex offense grid.   The subcommittee reviewed current sex offense sentences and 
their placement on the sentencing grid.  Several issues relating to the severity level rankings of sex 
offenses, repeat sex offenders, and mandatory minimums sentences were identified.  The subcommittee 
determined that recidivism by sex offenders presents different public safety concerns than does 
recidivism by other felony offenders and concluded that prior convictions for sex offenses should weigh 
more heavily in determining an appropriate sentence.  To address the multiple issues surrounding 
sentencing of sex offenders, the subcommittee developed a separate sentencing grid for sex crimes, 
including Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender.  The proposed grid encompasses the current 
statutory maximums and mandatory minimum sentences for sex offenders.  Criminal history calculations 
for the sex offender will weigh prior sex offense convictions more heavily than priors are weighted in 
the current.  Sex offenses committed on supervision will also result in enhanced custody status points.  
 
For the most serious sex offenses, an offender would receive at least one-half the statutory maximum 
sentence for a criminal history score of three.  Thus, one prior Criminal Sexual Conduct 1st Degree 
conviction would result in a presumptive guidelines sentence equal to one half the statutory maximum 
sentence.  At other offense levels, second time offenders who commit their offenses while on probation 
or supervised release will also have a presumptive guideline sentence equal to one half the statutory 
maximum. It should be noted that current sentencing policy provides for lengthy periods of supervision 
for serious offenders.  Aggravated durational departures remain a sentencing option with the new Sex 
Offense Grid, but it is likely that departures will be less frequent because of the longer sentences 
provided within the presumptive range. Finally, the Commission ranked all currently unranked sex 
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offenses with the exception of incest, which is almost never charged since the behavior involved is fully 
chargeable under more modern statutes. 
 
The modifications to current sex offender sentencing policies were designed to focus on the danger 
posed by the recidivist sex offenders.  Sex offenders have a lower overall recidivism rate than other 
types of felony offenders.  However, when sex offenders do recidivate, they pose a greater threat to 
public safety.   The proposed sex offense grid is designed to impose significantly longer sentences for 
repeat offenders, as well as for the more serious sex offenses.   An analysis of aggravated durational 
departure data for sex offenders indicates that the enhanced sentences provided by the new grid are 
reflective of sentences that sex offenders are currently receiving through departures.  The Commission 
prepared a projected prison bed impact, indicating that the proposed sex offense grid would require 380 
beds per year after a 20 year phase-in period.  When the prison bed impact of 380 is combined with the 
projected impact of the mandatory and indeterminate life sentence provision for sex offenders passed in 
the 2005 legislative session, the total prison bed impact of changes to sentencing provision for sex 
offenders in Minnesota is 598 prison beds after a 20 year phase-in period. 
 
A Public Hearing was held on December 8, 2005, to gather input on the proposed modifications.  The 
Commission subsequently met on December 15, 2005, to adopt the proposed modifications to the 
guidelines that are contained in this report.  The Commission believes the proposed modifications to 
the sentencing guidelines promote public safety, while providing determinate sentencing options  
responsive to the constitutional issues identified in Blakely and allowing full consideration of the complex 
factors involved in appropriate sentencing of sex offenders. 
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Guidelines Modifications 
Effective 8/1/2005 
 
Changes to the sentencing guidelines related to new and amended crimes passed by the Legislature 
during the 2005 session became effective August 1, 2005.  The language of the specific changes to the 
sentencing guidelines is included in the Appendix.  A summary of the most significant guidelines changes 
follows.  Other changes not summarized here are included in the Appendix. 
 

Adopted Modifications Related to New and Amended Crimes 
 
The Commission considered new and amended crime legislation from the 2005 Legislative Session and 
adopted the following severity level rankings: 
 
A. Possession of Substances with Intent to Manufacture Methamphetamine:  The Commission 

considered changes made to the statutory maximum and ranked this offense at severity level V.  
This offense had previously been ranked at severity level III. 

 
B. Domestic Assault By Strangulation:  severity level IV. 
 
C. Methamphetamine Crimes Involving Children and Vulnerable Adults and Anhydrous Ammonia 

offenses:  severity level III. 
 
D. Obstructing Legal Process:  The Commission considered changes made to add ambulance service 

personnel to this offense and adopted a proposal to maintain the current severity level III ranking for 
the crime. 

 
E. Electronic Use of False Pretense to Obtain Identity:  severity level II. 
 
F. Assault in the Fourth Degree:  The Commission considered changes made to assault in the fourth 

degree and adopted a proposal to maintain the current severity level I ranking for the crime. 
 
G. Criminal Use of Real Property, Escape from Civil Commitment, and Interference with Privacy:  

severity level I. 
 
H. Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offense List:  The Commission considered new and amended 

misdemeanors and gross misdemeanors and added the offense of Predatory Offender Carrying a 
Weapon to the Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offense List. 
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Other Adopted Modifications 
 

 Life Sentences for Certain Sex Offenders Point:  The Commission adopted modifications to 
accommodate legislatively mandated life sentences for certain sex offenders. 
 

 Criminal Sexual Predatory Conduct Offenses: The Commission added language to specify 
that the presumptive sentence for this offense is 25% greater than the presumptive sentence for the 
underlying offense.  If the person has previously been convicted of a sex offense, the presumptive 
sentence is increased by 50%. 
 

 Multiple Sentences: The Commission added language to address the legislative provision allowing 
multiple offenses arising out of the same  course of conduct for the new methamphetamine related 
crimes involving children and vulnerable adults.  

 
 Crime for the Benefit of a Gang-Child Victims: The Commission modified its policy to specify 

that the presumptive sentence for a crime committed for the benefit of a gang is increased by 24 
months when the victim is a child. 

 
 New Grid adopted with Expanded Ranges:  A new grid was adopted to provide sentence 

ranges of 15% below and 20% above the presumptive sentence. 
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Adopted Modifications 
To Be Effective 8/1/2006 Following Legislative Review 
 

SEX OFFENSE GRID EXPLANATION 
 
 

Grid Design Principles: 

 
1. The Commission acknowledges that certain types of sex offenses require a different sentencing 

structure than that contained on the current sentencing guidelines grid, due to a combination of 
the serious nature of the offense, components of the underlying criminal behavior involved and 
the threat sex offenses pose to public safety. 

 
2. The new sex offense grid is developed to reflect a combination of sentence lengths based on 

presumptive sentences and mandatory minimums enacted by the Legislature with relation to sex 
offenses, thus preserving the “truth in sentencing” principle set forth in the Sentencing 
Guidelines and retaining the guideline’s determinate sentencing structure. 

 
3. The severity ranking of sex offenses on the new grid is based primarily on the statutory 

maximum sentences for individual sex offenses.  Severity levels generally attempt to place sex 
offenses with similar statutory maximum sentences on the same severity level, which allows for 
greater proportionality in sentences than is currently provided.  

 
4. The new grid contains significantly enhanced sentence lengths that address issues raised in 

Blakely v. Washington relating to aggravated durational departures, as well as recognizing actual 
sentencing practices in serious sex offense cases. 

 
5. Criminal history scores totaling six or more indicate a presumptive prison sentence that reflect 

the statutory maximum penalty designated for most sex offenses.  Although the sex offense grid, 
like the general sentencing guidelines grid, provides ranges of 20% above and 15% below the 
presumptive sentence, ranges for criminal history scores of six or more do not extend above 
the statutory maximum sentence.  Similarly, the range for first degree criminal sexual conduct 
does not extend below the statutorily required 144 month presumptive sentence for zero 
criminal history scores.  
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6. The underlying prison sentence for the presumptive non-prison portion of the sex offense grid 
(the shaded areas) enhances current sentence lengths to demonstrate the seriousness assigned 
to violations and subsequent revocation of a presumptive non-prison sentence. 

 
7. The Commission decided to include Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in the new sex offense 

sentencing policy. Although this offense is not itself a sex offense, the Commission believes 
predatory sex offenders that fail to register pose a serious threat to public safety.   Inclusion of 
this offense on the new sex offender grid also permits the Commission to tailor appropriate 
punishment for these offenders consistent with the statutory minimum and maximum sentences 
without the constraints of the existing gird. 

 
8. The new sex offense grid would apply only to sex offenders who do not qualify for the 

indeterminate life sentences passed by the 2005 Legislature.  
 

9. Current unranked sex offenses, including Use of Minors in Sexual Performance and 
Possession/Dissemination of Child Pornography, are ranked on the new grid.  Given the 
infrequency in prosecution of Incest, it was the Commission’s decision not to rank that offense 
at this time. 

 
Structure of the Sex Offense Grid: 
 
1. Severity levels are indicated by the letters A through H, with A representing the most serious 

sex offenses and H the least serious.  Letters were chosen to designate the severity levels to 
avoid the confusion between the current sentencing grid and the new sex offense grid. 

 
2. Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender is the only offense listed on the H severity level.  

Although severity level H is the lowest severity level, all criminal history categories reflect a 
presumptive term of imprisonment to reflect the current statutory requirement as well as the 
seriousness of the offender’s prior sex offense conviction. 

 
3. CSC 2nd, 3rd and 4th degree offenses retain the previous multi severity level designation which 

treats sexual offenses committed with force, violence or weapons more seriously with longer 
presumptive sentences. 

 
4. Criminal history scores are calculated in the same manner as under the current sentencing grid, 

however, the weights assigned for prior sex offense convictions are modified.   Weights were 
increased for more serious sex offenses, with the less serious sex offenses remaining at their 
current weight.  The prior conviction weight is not reduced for any sex offense under the new 
grid.  The modified weights are assigned whenever the offense being sentenced is any offense 
ranked on the Sex Offender Grid (including Failure to Register).  When an offender is sentenced 
for an offense not included on the Sex Offender Grid, prior sex offenses will not receive the 
modified weights. 
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5. Criminal history scores totaling six or more points indicate a presumptive prison sentence that 
reflects the statutory maximum penalty designated for most sex offenses.  

 
6. Criminal history scores were designed so that a score of 3 generally designates a presumptive 

sentence of one half of the statutory maximum sentence. Thus, one prior CSC 1st degree sex 
offense conviction alone will result in a criminal history score of 3 and a presumptive sentence 
of one half of the maximum sentence set forth in statute for a specific severity level.  At other 
offense levels, second time offenders who commit their offenses while on probation or 
supervised release will also be recommended a sentence that is one half the statutory maximum. 

 
7. The presumptive non-prison portion of the new grid is structured similar to the current grid 

with lower level sex offenses with limited criminal history scores designated as a non-prison 
sentence.  However, the new sex offense grid contains fewer presumptive non-prison cells and 
the underlying prison term is notably longer on the new grid, even for zero criminal history 
scores, than on the current sentencing grid.  

 
8. Although new crimes were attempted to be ranked by severity levels that coincided with 

statutory maximum sentences, child pornography was an exception to this practice due to the 
nature and amount of harm associated with the offense.  When ranking the offense of Child 
Pornography, a multi-severity level ranking was chosen to distinguish between penalty ranges for 
a first conviction and second or subsequent convictions. Possession of Child Pornography is 
ranked at a severity level G for a first conviction and a severity level F for a second/subsequent 
conviction.  Dissemination of Child Pornography is ranked at a severity level E for the first 
conviction and a severity level D for a second/subsequent conviction.  

 
9. Use of Minors in Sexual Performance has a designated statutory maximum sentence of 10 years 

and was ranked with similar sex offenses carrying a 10 year statutory maximum sentence at 
severity level E. 

 
Custody Status Points: 
 

1. If an offender is on supervision (probation, supervised release or conditional release) for a sex 
offense and commits another sex offense, the offender would receive two custody status points, 
instead of the current one custody status point. 

 
2.  If an offender is on supervision (probation, supervised release or conditional release) for a sex 

offense and commits a non-sex offense, the offender would receive the current one custody 
status point.  

 
3. If an offender is on supervision for a sex offense and is convicted of Failure to Register, the 

offender would continue to receive the current one custody status point. 
 
Consecutive Sentences and Departures: 
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1. The new sentencing grid and sentencing structure would still permit consecutive sentencing by 

the court when the facts or circumstances surrounding a specific offender/conviction warrant an 
enhanced sentence. Consecutive sentencing can result in periods of incarceration that exceed 
the statutory maximum for any single conviction. 

 
2. Departures, both aggravated and mitigated, would be available with the new sex offense grid.  

Although the sentences have been significantly enhanced on the new grid, mitigated durational 
and dispositional departures are available for the atypical cases that may warrant a lesser 
sentence.  Aggravated departures are still available as long as Blakely issues are addressed in the 
sentencing process.  However, with the enhanced sentence lengths contained on the new grid 
and the indeterminate life sentencing provision for certain sex offenders, the need for 
aggravated departures may be lessened. 
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Ranking of Sex Offenses and Weights to be Assigned to Prior Offenses 
 

Offense Statutory Provisions 
 

Severity 
Level 

Stat. 
Max. 

Weight 
of Prior 

Current 
Weight 

CSC 1 
 

609.342, all clauses: 
Penetration 

A 30 3 2 

CSC 1 
 

609.341 subd.11: 
Contact, victim(s) under 13 

A 30 3 1.5 

CSC 2 609.343 subd.1 c, d, e, f, h: 
Contact with force 

B 25 2 1.5 

CSC 3 609.344 subd.1 c, d, g, h-n: 
Penetration, force or prohibited 
occupation 

C 15 2 1.5 

CSC 2 
 

609.343 subd.1 a, b, g: 
Contact with young minors 

D 25 1.5 1.5 

CSC 3  609.344 subd,1 a, b, e, f: 
Penetration, minors   

D 15 1.5 1 

Dissemination  
Child Pornography 

617.247 subd.3:  
Subsequent or Predatory Offender 

D 15 1.5 Unranked 

CSC 4 
 

609.345 subd.1 c, d, g, h-n: 
Contact, force or prohibited 
occupation 

E 10 1.5 1.5 

Use Minors Sexual 
Perform. 

617.246  subd.2, 3, 4  
 

E 10 1.5 Unranked 

Dissemination 
Child Pornography 

617.247 subd.3 E 7 1.5 Unranked 

CSC 4 609.345 subd.1 a, b, e, f: 
Contact, minors   

F 10 1 1 

Possession 
Child Pornography 

617.247  subd.4:  
Subsequent or Predatory Offender 

F 10 1 Unranked 

CSC 5 609.3451 subd.3: 
Repeat G.Misd offenses involving 
minors  

G 5 1 1 

Indecent Exposure 617.23 subd.3:  
Repeat G.Misd offenses  

G 5 1 1 

Possession 
Child Pornography 

617.247 subd.4 G 5 1 Unranked 

Incest 609.365 
 

Unranked 10 Unranked Unranked 

Solicit Children for 
Sexual Conduct 

609.352 subd.2 
 

G 3 1 1 

Failure to  
Register 

243.166 subd.5b 
243.166 subd.5c: 
Subsequent offense                  

H 5 0.5 
1 

0.5 
1 
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2005 Legislatively Created Life Sentences for Certain Sex Offenders 
 
The Commission recommended that the Legislature create an Off Grid Sex Offense Category 
designating offenses for which a sentence of life in prison with the possibility of release is appropriate.  
The Legislature responded by creating two types of life sentences for some sex offenders. 
 
A. Life Without the Possibility of Release – 609.3455 subd. 2 
The omnibus public safety bill mandates life sentences without the possibility of release for some sex 
offenders.  This sentence applies only to 1st and 2nd degree criminal sexual conduct offenses under the 
following paragraphs of subdivision 1: 

(c)–fear of great bodily harm; 
(d)–use of dangerous weapon; 
(e)–personal injury with force or coercion or against an impaired victim; 
(f)–accomplice and use of force or coercion or use of a dangerous weapon; or 
(h)–victim under 16, significant relationship, and force or coercion, personal injury, or multiple acts. 

This sentence also requires: 
(1) two or more heinous elements (torture, great bodily harm, mutilation, extreme inhumane 
conditions, dangerous weapon, multiple victims, multiple perpetrators, and kidnapping) exist; or  
(2) the person has a previous sex offense conviction (convicted of the prior offense before 
committing the current offense) and one heinous element exists. 

 
B. Life With the Possibility of Release – 609.3455 subd. 3 and 4 
This legislation also provides for mandatory life sentences with the possibility of release for other sex 
offenses.  A first-time sex offender is subject to a life sentence if the offense is 1st or 2nd degree criminal 
sexual conduct under subdivision1, paragraph (c), (d), (e), (f), or (h) and one heinous element exists.  
Repeat sex offenders may also receive this sentence under any of the following circumstances: 

(1) the offender has two previous sex offense convictions (the offender was convicted and 
sentenced for a sex offense committed after the offender was earlier convicted and 
sentenced for a sex offense and both convictions preceded the commission of the present 
offense); 

(2) the person has one previous sex offense conviction (convicted of the prior offense before 
committing the current offense) and (i) the present offense involved an aggravating factor, 
other than repeat sex convictions, that would provide grounds for an upward departure; or 
(ii) the person received an upward durational departure for the previous sex offense 
conviction; or (iii) the person was sentenced under section 609.108 for the previous sex 
offense conviction; 

(3) the person has two prior sex offense convictions, the prior and present offenses involved at 
least three separate victims, and (i) the present offense involved an aggravating factor, other 
than repeat sex convictions, that would provide grounds for an upward departure; or (ii) 
the person received an upward durational departure for the previous sex offense 
conviction; or (iii) the person was sentenced under section 609.108 for the previous sex 
offense conviction. 

These provisions do not apply if the current offense is fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct and the 
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previous or prior offenses were also fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct offenses.  When an offender 
receives a life sentence with the possibility of release, the court is required to specify a minimum term 
of imprisonment, based on the sentencing guidelines or any applicable mandatory minimum sentence 
that must be served before the offender is eligible for release. 
 
When analyzing the impact of the bill, staff estimated that 37 offenders sentenced in 2003 would qualify 
for the life sentences.  Based on offenders sentenced in 2004, staff estimates that 23 offenders would 
qualify for the life sentences. 

 
Offenders Estimated to be Eligible for Life Sentences: Offenders Sentenced in 2003  

 

Group 
Life Sentence 

Type 
Number Degree of Conviction 

First-degree offenders, clauses c, d, e, f, or h with 
two severe aggravating factors 

No Release 6 6 First 

First-degree offenders, clauses c, d, e, f, or h with 
one severe aggravating factor 

Release Possible 6 6 First 

Offenders with two previous sex offenses 
(convicted on prior offense before committing the 
current offense) 

Release Possible 8 
4 First, 1 Second, 
2 Third, 1 Fourth 

Aggravated departure with a previous offense Release Possible 5 4 First, 1 Second 

Offenders who committed multiple offenses against 
different victims, prison with no mitigated durations 

Release Possible 12 9 First, 3 Second 

 
Total 

Release Possible 37 
25 First, 5 Second, 
2 Third, 1 Fourth 

  
Offenders Estimated to be Eligible for Life Sentences: Offenders Sentenced in 2004 

 

Group 
Life Sentence 

Type 
Number Degree of Conviction 

First or Second degree offenders, clauses c, d, e, f, or 
h with two severe aggravating factors 

No Release 5 5 First 

First or Second degree offenders, clauses c, d, e, f, or 
h with one severe aggravating factor 

Release Possible 6 4 First, 2 Second 

Offenders with two previous sex offenses (convicted 
on prior offense before committing the current 
offense) 

Release Possible 2 
  1 Second, 
1 Fourth 

Aggravated departure with a previous offense. Release Possible 6 
2 First, 2 Second, 

2 Third 

Offenders who committed multiple offenses against 
different victims,  prison with no mitigated durations 

Release Possible 4 
2 First, 1 Second 

1 Third 

 
Total 

Release Possible 23 
13 First, 6 Second, 
3 Third, 1 Fourth 
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The table below displays the number of sex offenders sentenced in 2004 by offense and new severity 
level on the proposed Sex Offender Grid.  It also displays the number of offenders assumed to be 
mandated Life sentences and the number who would be subject to the proposed Sex Offender Grid.   

 

Estimated Number of Offenders Subject to Sex Offender Grid 
 

Offense Statutory Provisions 
 

New 
Severity 

Level 

Number of 
Offenders 

Number 
Qualify for 

Life  

Number 
Remaining  

CSC 1 
 

609.342, all clauses: 
Penetration 

A 137 13 124 

CSC 2 609.343 subd.1 c, d, e, f, h: 
Contact with force 

B 36 3 33 

CSC 3 609.344 subd.1 c, d, g, h-n: 
Penetration, force or prohibited 
occupation 

C 62 1 61 

CSC 2 
 

609.343 subd.1 a, b, g: 
Contact with young minors 

D 110 3 107 

CSC 3  609.344 subd.1 a, b, e, f: 
Penetration, minors   

D 146 2 144 

Dissemination  
Pornography 

617.248  subd.3:  
Subsequent or Predatory Offender 

D 0 0 0 

CSC 4 
 

609.345 subd.1 c, d, g, h-n: 
Contact, force or prohibited 
occupation 

E 50 1 49 

Use Minors 
Sexual Perform. 

617.246  subd.2, 3, 4 
 

E 2 0 2 

Dissemination  
Pornography 

617.247 subd.3 
E 1 0 1 

CSC 4 609.345 subd.1 a, b, e, f: 
Contact, minors  

F 50 0 50 

Possession  
Pornography 

617.247  subd.4:  
Subsequent or Predatory Offender 

F 1 0 1 

CSC 5 609.3451 subd.3: 
Repeat G.Misd offenses involving 
minors  

G 0 0 0 

Indecent 
Exposure 

617.23 subd.3: 
Repeat G.Misd offenses  

G 3 0 3 

Possession 
Pornography 

617.247 subd.4 
G 33 0 33 

Solicit Children 
Sexual Conduct 

609.352 subd.2 
 

G 8 0 8 

Failure to  
Register 

243.166 subd.5b 
243.166 subd.5c:  
Subsequent offense 

H 231 0 231 

Total   870 23 847 



 
           
 
 

  

25MSGC Report to the Legislature 

Offenders Subject to Sex Offender Grid: 
Number with a “True” Prior Criminal Sexual Conduct Offense 

 
Offense Statutory Provisions 

 
New 

Severity 
Level 

Number 
of 

Offenders 

Number 
One True 
Prior Sex 
Offense 

Number 2 
Or More 

True Prior 
Sex Offense 

CSC 1 
 

609.342, all clauses: 
Penetration 

A 124 2 2 

CSC 2 609.343 subd.1 c, d, e, f, h: 
Contact with force 

B 33 1 1 

CSC 3 609.344 subd.1 c, d, g, h-n: 
Penetration, force or prohibited 
occupation 

C 61 3 1 

CSC 2 
 

609.343 subd.1 a, b, g: 
Contact with young minors 

D 107 5 2 

CSC 3  609.344 subd.1 a, b, e, f: 
Penetration, minors   

D 144 5 1 

Dissemination  
Pornography 

617.248  subd.3:  
Subsequent or Predatory 
Offender 

D 0 0 0 

CSC 4 
 

609.345 subd.1 c, d, g, h-n: 
Contact, force or prohibited 
occupation 

E 49 0 1 

Use Minors Sexual 
Perform. 

617.246 subd.2, 3, 4  
 

E 2 0 0 

Dissemination 
Pornography 

617.247 subd.3 
E 1 0 0 

CSC 4 609.345 subd.1 a, b, e, f: 
Contact, minors 

F 50 4 1 

Possession 
Pornography 

617.247 subd.4:  
Subsequent or Predatory 
Offender 

F 1 1 0 

CSC 5 609.3451 subd.3: 
Repeat G.Misd offenses involving 
minors  

G 0 0 0 

Indecent Exposure 617.23 subd.3: 
Repeat G.Misd offenses  

G 3 0 0 

Possession 
Pornography 

617.247 subd.4 
G 33 0 0 

Solicit Children 
Sexual Conduct 

609.352 subd.2 
 

G 8 0 0 

Failure to  
Register 

243.166 subd.5b 
243.166 subd.5c:                            
Subsequent offense 

H 231 127 17 

Total   847 148 (17%) 26 (3%) 
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Estimated Prison Bed Impact of Changes for Sentencing Sex Offenses 
 

Impact of Life Sentences 
 
 
Number of Sex Offenders Sentenced in 2004: 870 
Number Assumed to Qualify for Life Sentence: 23 
Estimated Prison Bed Impact of Life Sentences: 138-663 
 
 
Assumptions: 

1. Offenders serving life sentences with no release serve until they die.  Estimated life span based 
on age at sentence and Social Security actuarial tables. 

2. Four scenarios presented for how long offenders with release possible sentences will serve with 
minimum time to serve based on new Sex Offender Grid. 

 
Estimated Impact by Type of Life Sentence and Scenario for Time Served 

 
Prison Bed Impact 

Type of Sentence 
Number of 
Offenders 

Serve 
Minimum 

Serve 
Minimum 
+5 years 

Serve 
Minimum 
+10 years 

Serve Till 
Death 

Life: No Release 5 128 128 128 128 
Life: Release Possible 18 10 98 183 535 
Total 23 138 226 311 663 
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Impact of Sex Offender Grid 

 
 
Number Assumed to Qualify for Sex Offender Grid: 847 
Number of Prison Sentences Expected to Change: 179 (21%) 
Eventual Prison Bed Impact: 372 additional beds needed per year 
 
 
Assumptions: 

1. The number and type of offenders sentenced remains the same as in 2004. 
3. Offenders currently receiving mitigated dispositional and durational departures would continue 

to receive an identical sentence. 
3. Offenders currently receiving aggravated departures would receive sentences at least as long as 

they are currently receiving. 
 
 

Estimated Impact by Type of Change to Presumptive Sentence 
 

Type of Change Number of 
Offenders 

Prison Bed 
Impact 

New Prison Sentences 30 93 
Serve More Time 149 279 
Total 178 372 
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Timing of Prison Bed Impact 
 
Assumptions: 

1. No impact until 2007 because will take time for offenders to commit crimes and be processed 
through the system and number of trials may increase. 

2. Impact for life sentences based on offenders who are eligible for release serving 5 years beyond 
their minimum terms. 

 
# Extra Beds Needed # Extra Beds Needed Year  

Life 
(min. +5) 

Grid Total 
Year  

Life 
(min. +5) 

Grid Total 

FY 2007 0 39 39 FY 2037 176 372 548 
FY 2008 0 95 95 FY 2038 180 372 552 
FY 2009 0 145 145 FY 2039 185 372 557 
FY 2010 2 186 188 FY 2040 189 372 561 
FY 2011 5 215 220 FY 2041 193 372 565 
FY 2012 10 238 248 FY 2042 197 372 569 
FY 2013 15 259 273 FY 2043 201 372 573 
FY 2014 21 276 297 FY 2039 185 372 557 
FY 2015 29 295 324 FY 2040 189 372 561 
FY 2016 34 307 341 FY 2041 193 372 565 
FY 2017 41 316 357 FY 2042 197 372 569 
FY 2018 50 324 374 FY 2043 201 372 573 
FY 2019 59 333 392 FY 2044 205 372 577 
FY 2020 68 342 410 FY 2045 207 372 579 
FY 2021 78 349 427 FY 2046 209 372 581 
FY 2022 85 356 441 FY 2047 211 372 583 
FY 2023 93 363 456 FY 2048 213 372 585 
FY 2024 101 366 467 FY 2049 215 372 587 
FY 2025 109 369 478 FY 2050 216 372 588 
FY 2026 116 369 485 FY 2051 217 372 589 
FY 2027 123 371 494 FY 2052 218 372 590 
FY 2028 133 372 505 FY 2053 219 372 591 
FY 2029 140 372 512 FY 2054 220 372 592 
FY 2030 146 372 518 FY 2055 221 372 593 
FY 2031 152 372 524 FY 2056 222 372 594 
FY 2032 156 372 528 FY 2057 223 372 595 
FY 2033 160 372 532 FY 2058 224 372 596 
FY 2034 164 372 536 FY 2059 225 372 597 
FY 2035 168 372 540 FY 2060 226 372 598 
FY 2036 172 372 544 FY 2061 226 372 598 
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Estimated Impact by Offense and New Severity Level 
 

Offense Statutory Provisions 
 

Severity 
Level 

Number of 
Offenders 

Number Prison 
Cases with 
Increased 
Sentences 

Prison 
Bed 

Impact 

CSC 1 609.342, all clauses: 
Penetration 

A 124 28 99 

CSC 2 609.343 subd.1 c, d, e, f, h: 
Contact with force 

B 33 9 45 

CSC 3 609.344 subd.1 c, d, g, j, k, m, n: 
Penetration, force or prohibited 
occupation 

C 61 14 13 

CSC 2 
 

609.343 subd.1 a, b, g: 
Contact with minors 

D 107 21 59 

CSC 3  609.344 subd.1 b, e, f, h, i, l: 
Penetration, minors or some 
occupations 

D 144 31 95 

Dissemination  
Pornography 

617.247 subd.3:  
Subsequent or Predatory Offender 

D 0 0 0 

CSC 4 
 

609.345 subd.1 c, d, g, j, k, m, n: 
Contact, force or prohibited 
occupation 

E 49 8 12 

Use Minors 
Sexual Perform. 

617.247 subd.2, 3, 4  
 

E 2 0 0 

Dissemination  
Pornography 

617.247 subd.3 E 1 0 0 

CSC 4 609.345 subd.1 b, e, f, h, i, l: 
Contact, minors or some 
occupations 

F 50 8 18 

Possession  
Pornography 

617.247 subd.4:  
Subsequent or Predatory Offender 

F 1 1 2 

CSC 5 609.3451 subd.3: 
Repeat G.Misd offenses involving 
minors  

G 0 0 0 

Indecent 
Exposure 

617.23 subd.3: 
Repeat G.Misd offenses  

G 3 0 0 

Possession 
Pornography 

617.247 subd.4 G 33 3 3 

Solicit Children 
Sexual Conduct 

609.352 subd.2 
 

G 8 0 0 

Failure to  
Register 

243.166 subd.5b 
243.166 subd.5c:                             
Subsequent offense 

H 231 54 26 

Total   847 178 372 
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Offenders Subject to Sex Offender Grid: 
Aggravated Durational Departures 

Number Eliminated by New Presumptive Sentences 
By Offense 

 
Prison Sentences Probation Sentences 

Offense 
Total 

Number 
Sentenced 

# 
# 

Aggravated 
Durations 

# 
Eliminated 

# 
# 

Aggravated 
Durations 

# 
Eliminated 

CSC 1 124 82 9 3 42 3 2 
CSC 2: Force 33 21 1 1 12 0 --- 
CSC 3: Force 61 30 4 3 31 1 0 
CSC 2: Minors 107 15 4 1 92 3 1 
CSC 3: Minors 144 20 4 4 124 8 5 
CSC 4: Force 49 8 0 --- 41 3 0 
CSC 4: Minors 50 5 1 1 45 0 --- 
Use Minors 
Sexual Perform. 

2 0 0 --- 2 0 --- 

Dissemination  
Pornography 

1 0 0 --- 1 0 --- 

Indecent 
Exposure 

3 0 0 --- 3 0 --- 

Possession 
Pornography 

34 2 0 --- 32 0 --- 

Solicit Children 
Sexual Conduct 

8 0 0 --- 8 1 1 

Failure to  
Register 

231 100 2 2 131 2 --- 

Total 847 283 25 15 (60%) 564 22 9 (41%) 
 
There were a total of 47 aggravated durational departures pronounced for offenders sentenced in 2004 who 
would be subject to the proposed sex offender grid.  Under the proposed policies for calculating criminal 
history scores for sex offenders and the proposed sex offender grid, 24 (51%) of those departures would be 
eliminated because the offender’s new presumptive sentence would be equal to or longer than the sentence 
pronounced. 
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I. 2006 Proposed Modifications Related to Sex Offenses 
 

A. The Commission proposes the following changes to the Minnesota 
Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary to implement a new Grid with 
presumptive sentences for sex offenders. 

 
II.   Determining Presumptive Sentences 

 

The presumptive sentence for any offender convicted of a felony committed on or after May 1, 1980, is 
determined by locating the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid.  The grid represents the 
two dimensions most important in current sentencing and releasing decisions--offense severity and 
criminal history. 
 

A.  Offense Severity:  The offense severity level is determined by the offense of conviction.  When an 
offender is convicted of two or more felonies, the severity level is determined by the most severe 
offense of conviction.  For persons convicted under Minn. Stat. § 609.229, subd. 3(a) - Crime Committed 
for Benefit of a Gang, the severity level is the same as that for the underlying crime with the highest 
severity level. 
 

Felony offenses, other than specified sex offenses, are arrayed into eleven levels of severity, ranging from 

low (Severity Level I) to high (Severity Level XI).  Specified sex offenses are arrayed on a separate grid 

into eight severity levels labeled A through H.  First-degree murder is excluded from the sentencing 

guidelines, because by law the sentence is mandatory imprisonment for life. Offenses listed within each 

level of severity are deemed to be generally equivalent in severity.   

… 
 
II.A.03.   The following offenses were excluded from the Offense Severity Reference Table: 
 

1. Abortion - 617.20; 617.22; 145.412 
2. Accomplice after the fact - 609.495, subd. 3 
3. Adulteration - 609.687, subd. 3 (3) 
4. Aiding suicide - 609.215 
5. Altering engrossed bill - 3.191 
6. Animal fighting - 343.31 
7. Assaulting or harming a police horse - 609.597, subd. 3 (1) & (2) 
8. Bigamy - 609.355 
9. Cigarette tax and regulation violations - 297F.20 
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10. Collusive bidding/price fixing - 325D.53, subds.1(3), 2 & 3 
11. Concealing criminal proceeds; engaging in business - 609.496; 609.497 
12. Corrupting legislator - 609.425 
13. Criminal sexual conduct, third degree - 609.344, subd. 1(a) 

 (By definition the perpetrator must be a juvenile.) 
14. Criminal sexual conduct, fourth degree - 609.345, subd. 1(a) 

 (By definition the perpetrator must be a juvenile.) 
15. Damage to Property of Critical Public Service Facilities, Utilities, and Pipelines – 609.594 
16. Escape with violence from gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor offense – 609.485, subd. 4(a)(3) 
17. Failure to Report - 626.556, subd. 6 
18. Falsely impersonating another - 609.83 
19. Female genital mutilation - 609.2245 
20. Forced execution of a declaration - 145B.105 
21. Gambling acts (cheating, certain devices prohibited; counterfeit chips; manufacture, sale, 

modification of devices; instruction) - 609.76, subd. 3,4,5,6, & 7 
22. Hazardous wastes - 609.671 
23. Horse racing-prohibited act - 240.25 
24. Incest - 609.365 
25. Insurance Fraud – Employment of Runners – 609.612 
26. Interstate compact violation - 243.161 
27. Issuing a receipt for goods one does not have – 227.50 
28. Issuing a second receipt without “duplicate” on it – 227.52 
29. Killing or harming a public safety dog - 609.596, subd. 1 
30. Labor Trafficking – 609.282 
31. Lawful gambling fraud - 609.763 
32. Metal penetrating bullets - 624.74 
33. Misprision of treason - 609.39 
34. Motor vehicle excise tax - 297B.10 
35. Obscene materials; distribution - 617.241, subd. 4 
36. Obstructing military forces - 609.395 
37. Pipeline safety - 299J.07, subd. 2 
38. Police radios during commission of crime - 609.856 
39. Possession of Pictorial Representations of Minors – 617.247  
40. Racketeering, criminal penalties (RICO) - 609.904 
41. Real and Simulated Weapons of Mass Destruction – 609.712 
42. Refusal to assist - 6.53 
43. Sale of membership camping contracts – 82A.03; 82A.13; 82A.25 
44. Service animal providing service – 343.21, subd. 9(e)(g) 
45. State lottery fraud - 609.651, subd. 1 with 4(b) and subd. 2 & 3 
46. Subdivided land fraud - 83.43 
47. Torture or cruelty to pet or companion animal – 343.21, subd. 9(c)(d)(f)(h) 
48. Treason - 609.385 
49. Unauthorized computer access - 609.891 
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50. Unlawful Conduct with Documents in Furtherance of Labor or Sex Trafficking – 609.283 
51. Unlawful Transfer of Sounds; Sales - 325E.201 
52. Use of Minors in Sexual Performance Prohibited - 617.246 
53. Warning subject of investigation - 609.4971 
54. Warning subject of surveillance or search - 609.4975 
55. Wire communications violations - 626A.02, subd. 4; 626A.03, subd. 1(b)(ii); 626A.26, subd. 

2(1)(ii) 
… 
 
B.  Criminal History:  A criminal history index constitutes the horizontal axis of the Sentencing 
Guidelines Grids.  The criminal history index is comprised of the following items:  (1) prior felony 
record; (2) custody status at the time of the offense; (3) prior misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor 
record; and (4) prior juvenile record for young adult felons. 
… 
 
The offender's criminal history index score is computed in the following manner: 

 
1. Subject to the conditions listed below, the offender is assigned a particular weight for every 

extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction and for every felony conviction for which a felony 
sentence was stayed or imposed before the current sentencing or for which a stay of imposition 
of sentence was given before the current sentencing.  Multiple offenses are sentenced in the 
order in which they occurred.  For purposes of this section, prior extended jurisdiction juvenile 
convictions are treated the same as prior felony sentences. 

 

   a. If the current offense is not a specified sex offense, the weight assigned to each prior 
felony sentence is determined according to its severity level, as follows: 

 
        Severity Level I - II = ½ point; 

        Severity Level III - V = 1 point; 

        Severity Level VI - VIII = 1 ½ points; 

        Severity Level IX - XI = 2 points; and 

   Murder 1st Degree = 2 points; 

   Severity Level A = 2 points; 

   Severity Level B – E = 1 ½ points; 

   Severity Level F – G = 1 point; and 

   Severity Level H = ½ point for first offense and 1 point for subsequent offenses 

b. If the current offense is a specified sex offense, the weight assigned to each prior felony 
sentence is determined according to its severity level, as follows: 
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        Severity Level I - II = ½ point; 

        Severity Level III - V = 1 point; 

        Severity Level VI - VIII = 1 ½ points; 

        Severity Level IX - XI = 2 points; and 

   Murder 1st Degree = 2 points; 

   Severity Level A = 3 points; 

   Severity Level B – C =  2 points; 

   Severity Level D – E =  1 ½ points; 

   Severity Level F – G = 1 point; and 

   Severity Level H = ½ point for first offense and 1 point for subsequent offenses 

 

The severity level to be used in assigning weights to prior offenses shall be based on the 
severity level ranking of the prior offense of conviction that is in effect at the time the 
offender commits the current offense. 

 
 

2. One point is assigned if the offender: 
 

a.  was on probation, parole, supervised release, conditional release, or confined in a jail, 
workhouse, or prison pending sentencing, following a guilty plea or verdict in a 
felony, gross misdemeanor or an extended jurisdiction juvenile case, or following a 
felony, gross misdemeanor or an extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction; or  

b.  was released pending sentencing at the time the felony was committed for which he 
or she is being sentenced; or 

b. committed the current offense within the period of the initial length of stay 
pronounced by the sentencing judge for a prior felony, gross misdemeanor or an 
extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction.  This policy does not apply if the 
probationary sentence for the prior offense is revoked, and the offender serves an 
executed sentence; or 

c. became subject to one of the criminal justice supervision statuses listed in 2.a above 
at any point in time during which the offense occurred when multiple offenses are an 
element of the conviction offense or the conviction offense is an aggregated offense. 

d.   An additional custody status point shall be assigned if the offender was on probation, 
supervised release, or conditional release for a specified sex offense, other than 
Failure to Register as a Predatory Offenders (M.S. 243.166) and the current offense 
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of conviction is a specified sex offense, other than Failure to Register as a Predatory 
Offenders (243.166). 

 
The offender will not be assigned a point under this item when: 

 
a.  the person was committed for treatment or examination pursuant to 

Minn. R. Crim. P. 20; or 
 

b.  the person was on juvenile probation or parole status at the time the felony was 
committed for which he or she is being sentenced and was not on probation or 
supervised release status for an extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction. 

 
An additional three months shall be added to the duration of the appropriate cell time which 
then becomes the presumptive duration when: 

 
a.  a custody status point is assigned; and 
b.  the criminal history points that accrue to the offender without the addition of the 

custody status point places the offender in the far right hand column of the 
Sentencing Guidelines Grid. 

 
Comment 

 
II.B.201.  The basic rule assigns offenders one point if they were under some form of criminal justice custody 
when the offense was committed for which they are now being sentenced.    The Commission believes that the 
potential for a custody status point should remain for the entire period of the initial length of stay pronounced by 
the sentencing judge.  An offender who is discharged early but subsequently is convicted of a new felony within 
the period of the initial length of stay should still receive the consequence of a custody status point.  If probation 
is revoked and the offender serves an executed sentence for the prior offense, eligibility for the custody status 
point ends with discharge from the sentence.  Probation given for an offense treated pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 
152.18, subd. 1, will result in the assignment of a custody status point because a guilty plea has previously been 
entered and the offender has been on a probationary status.  Commitments under Minn. R. Crim. P. 20, and 
juvenile parole, probation, or other forms of juvenile custody status are not included because, in those situations, 
there has been no conviction for a felony or gross misdemeanor which resulted in the individual being under such 
status. However, a custody point will be assigned if the offender committed the current offense while under some 
form of custody following an extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction.  Probation, jail, or other custody status 
arising from a conviction for misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor traffic offenses are excluded.  Probation, parole, 
and supervised release will be the custodial statuses that most frequently will result in the assignment of a point.  
It should be emphasized that the custodial statuses covered by this policy are those occurring after conviction of a 
felony or gross misdemeanor.  Thus, a person who commits a new felony while on pre-trial diversion or pre-trial 
release on another charge would not get a custody status point.  Likewise, persons serving a misdemeanor 
sentence at the time the current offense was committed would not receive a custody status point, even if the 
misdemeanor sentence was imposed upon conviction of a gross misdemeanor or felony.   
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II.B.207.  When an offender who is on probation, conditional release or supervised release for a sex offense 
commits another sex offense, they are assigned an additional custody status point. The commission believes that 
offenders who commit a subsequent sex offense pose such a risk to public safety that their criminal history scores 
should be enhanced to reflect this risk.  This policy does not apply to the offense of Failure to Register as a 
Predatory Offender (M.S. 243.166). 
 
C.  Presumptive Sentence:  The offense of conviction determines the appropriate severity level on 
the vertical axis of the appropriate Grid.  The offender's criminal history score, computed according to 
section B above, determines the appropriate location on the horizontal axis of the appropriate Grid.  
The presumptive fixed sentence for a felony conviction is found in the Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell at 
the intersection of the column defined by the criminal history score and the row defined by the offense 
severity level.  The offenses within the Sentencing Guidelines Grids are presumptive with respect to the 
duration of the sentence and whether imposition or execution of the felony sentence should be stayed. 
 
The line shaded areas on the Sentencing Guidelines Grids demarcates those cases for whom the 
presumptive sentence is stayed executed from those for whom the presumptive sentence is stayed 
executed.  For cases contained in cells above and to the right of the line outside of the shaded areas, the 
sentence should be executed.  For cases contained in cells below and to the left of the line within the 
shaded areas, the sentence should be stayed, unless the conviction offense carries a mandatory minimum 
sentence. 
 

Pursuant to M.S. § 609.342, subdivision 2, the presumptive sentence for a conviction of Criminal Sexual 
Conduct in the First Degree is an executed sentence of at least 144 months. Sentencing a person in a 
manner other than that described in M.S. § 609.342, subdivision 2 is a departure.  The presumptive 
duration for an attempt or conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree is one-
half of the time listed in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, or any mandatory 
minimum, whichever is longer. 
 
Pursuant to M.S. § 609.343, subdivision 2, the presumptive sentence for a conviction of Criminal Sexual 
Conduct in the Second Degree, 609.343 subd. 1 clauses (c), (d), (e), (f), and (h), is an executed sentence 
of at least 90 months. Sentencing a person in a manner other than that described in M.S. § 609.343, 
subdivision 2 is a departure.  The presumptive duration for an attempt or conspiracy to commit 
Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree is one-half of the time listed in the appropriate cell of 
the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, or any mandatory minimum, whichever is longer. 
… 

Comment 
 
II.C.01.  The guidelines provide sentences which are presumptive with respect to (a) disposition--whether or not 
the sentence should be executed, and (b) duration--the length of the sentence.  For cases above and to the right 
of the dispositional line outside the shaded area, the guidelines create a presumption in favor of execution of the 
sentence.  For cases in cells below and to the left of the dispositional line within the shaded area, the guidelines 
create a presumption against execution of the sentence, unless the conviction offense carries a mandatory 
minimum sentence. 



 
           
 
 

  

37MSGC Report to the Legislature 

 
The dispositional policy adopted by the Commission was designed so that scarce prison resources would primarily 
be used for serious person offenders and community resources would be used for most property offenders.  The 
Commission believes that a rational sentencing policy requires such trade-offs, to ensure the availability of 
correctional resources for the most serious offenders.  For the first year of guidelines operation, that policy was 
reflected in sentencing practices.  However, by the third year of guideline operation, the percentage of offenders 
with criminal history scores of four or more had increased greatly, resulting in a significant increase in 
imprisonment for property offenses.  Given finite resources, increased use of imprisonment for property offenses 
results in reduced prison resources for person offenses.  The allocation of scarce resources has been monitored 
and evaluated on an ongoing basis by the Commission.  The Commission has determined that assigning particular 
weights to prior felony sentences in computing the criminal history score will address this problem.  The 
significance of low severity level prior felonies is reduced, which should result in a lower imprisonment rate for 
property offenders.  The significance of more serious prior felonies is increased, which should result in increased 
prison sentences for repeat serious person offenders. 
 
II.C.02.  In the cells above and to the right of the dispositional line outside of the shaded areas of the grids, the 
guidelines provide a fixed presumptive sentence length, and a range of time around that length. Presumptive 
sentence lengths are shown in months, and it is the Commission's intent that months shall be computed by 
reference to calendar months.  Any sentence length given that is within the range of sentence length shown in the 
appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grids is not a departure from the guidelines, and any sentence 
length given which is outside that range is a departure from the guidelines.  In the cells below and to the left of 
the dispositional line in the shaded areas of the grids, the guidelines provide a single fixed presumptive sentence 
length. 
 
The presumptive duration listed on the grid, when executed, includes both the term of imprisonment and the 
period of supervised release.  According to M.S. § 244.101, when the court sentences an offender to an executed 
sentence for an offense occurring on or after August 1, 1993, the sentence consists of two parts:  a specified 
minimum term of imprisonment equal to two-thirds of the total executed sentence; and a specified maximum 
supervised release term equal to one-third of the total executed sentence.  A separate table following the 
Sentencing Guidelines Grids illustrates how executed sentences are broken down into their two components. 
 
The Commissioner of Corrections may extend the amount of time an offender actually serves in prison if the 
offender violates disciplinary rules while in prison or violates conditions of supervised release.  This extension 
period could result in the offender's serving the entire executed sentence in prison. 
… 
 
II.C.08. When an offender has been convicted of M.S. § 609.342, the presumptive duration is that found in the 
appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, any applicable mandatory minimum sentence, or the minimum 
presumptive sentence pursuant to M.S. §  609.342, subdivision 2, whichever is longer.  According to M.S. §  
609.342, subd. 2, the presumptive sentence for a conviction of Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree is an 
executed sentence of at least 144 months. The presumptive duration for an attempt or conspiracy to commit 
Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree is one-half of the time listed in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing 
Guidelines Grid, or any mandatory minimum, whichever is longer. 
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II.C.09. When an offender has been convicted of M.S. § 609.343 subd. 1 clauses (c), (d), (e), (f), or (h), the 
presumptive duration is that found in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, any applicable 
mandatory minimum sentence, or the minimum presumptive sentence pursuant to M.S. §  609.343, subdivision 
2, whichever is longer.  According to M.S. §  609.343, subd. 2, the presumptive sentence for a conviction of these 
clauses of Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree is an executed sentence of at least 90 months. The 
presumptive duration for an attempt or conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree is 
one-half of the time listed in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, or any mandatory minimum, 
whichever is longer. 
 

 
E.  Mandatory Sentences:  When an offender has been convicted of an offense with a mandatory 
minimum sentence of one year and one day or more, the presumptive disposition is commitment to the 
Commissioner of Corrections.   The presumptive duration of the prison sentence should be the 
mandatory minimum sentence according to statute or the duration of the prison sentence provided in 
the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grids, whichever is longer. 
 

Comment 
 
II.E.02.  The Commission attempted to draw the dispositional line so that the great majority of offenses that 
might involve a mandatory sentence would fall above the dispositional line  outside the shaded areas of the Grids. 
However, some cases carry a mandatory prison sentence under state law but fall below the dispositional line 
within the shaded areas on the Sentencing Guidelines Grids; e.g., Assault in the Second Degree.  When that 
occurs, imprisonment of the offender is the presumptive disposition.  The presumptive duration is the mandatory 
minimum sentence or the duration provided in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, whichever 
is longer.  These crimes are ranked below the dispositional line because the Commission believes the durations at 
these levels are more proportional to the crime than the durations found at the higher severity levels where prison 
is recommended regardless of the criminal history score of the offender.  For example, according to Minn. Stat. § 
609.11, the mandatory minimum prison sentence for Assault in the Second Degree involving a knife is one year 
and one day.  However, according to the guidelines, the presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum or the 
duration provided in the appropriate cell of the grid, whichever is longer.  Therefore, for someone convicted of 
Assault in the Second Degree with no criminal history score, the guidelines presume 21-month prison duration 
based on the appropriate cell of the grid found at severity level VI.  The Commission believes this duration is more 
appropriate than the 48-month prison duration that would be recommended if this crime were ranked at severity 
level VIII, which is the first severity level ranked completely above the dispositional line. 
 
When the mandatory minimum sentence is for less than one year and one day, the Commission interprets the 
minimum to mean any incarceration including time spent in local confinement as a condition of a stayed 
sentence.  The presumptive disposition would not be commitment to the Commissioner unless the case falls 
above the dispositional line on the Sentencing Guidelines Grids.  An example would be a conviction for simple 
possession of cocaine, a Fifth Degree Controlled Substance Crime.  If the person has previously been convicted of 
a controlled substance crime, the mandatory minimum law would require at least six months incarceration, which 
could be served in a local jail or workhouse. 
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… 

Proposed Sex Offender Grid 
            

I. Criminal History Score 

Severity Level of 
Conviction Offense 

0 1 2 3 4 5 
6 or 

more 

CSC 1st Degree 
A 

144 
144-173 

156 
133-187 

168 
143-202 

180 
153-216 

234 
199-281 

306 
260-360 

    360 
 326-360 

CSC 2nd Degree: Contact with force  B 
90 

90-108 
110 

94-132 
130 

111-156 
150 

128-180 
195 

166-234 
255 

217-300 
300 

255-300 

CSC 3rd Degree: Penetration with 
force or by prohibited occupations 

C 
48 

41-58 
62 

54-76 
76 

65-91 
90 

77-108 
117 

99-140 
153 

130-180 
180 

153-180 

CSC 2nd Degree: Contact with minors  
CSC 3rd Degree: Penetration of minor 

Dissemination of Child Pornography: 
  Subsequent or by Predatory 
Offender 

D 36 48 
60 

51-72 
70 

60-84 
91 

77-109 
119 

101-143 
140 

119-168 

CSC 4th Degree: Contact with force 
or by prohibited occupations 

Use Minors in Sexual Performance 
Dissemination of  Child Pornography 

E 24 36 48 
60 

51-72 
78 

66-94 
102 

87-120 
120 

102-120 

CSC 4th Degree: Contact 
with minors  

Possession of  Child Pornography: 
 Subsequent or by Predatory Offender 

F 18 27 36 
45 

51-69 
59 

60-80 
77 

68-92 
84 

72-101 

CSC 5th Degree 
Indecent Exposure 
Possession of  Child Pornography 
Solicit Children for Sexual Conduct 

G      15 20 25 30 
39 

33-47 
51 

43-60 
60 

51-60 

Registration Of Predatory Offenders H 
121  

121-14 
14 

121-17 
16 

14-19 
18 

15-22 
24 

20-28 
30 

26-37 
36 

31-43 

 

 

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.  See section II.E. Mandatory Sentences for policy regarding those sentences 
controlled by law, including minimum periods of supervision for sex offenders released from prison. 

 

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the judge, up to a year in jail and/or other non-jail sanctions can be imposed 
as conditions of probation.  However, certain offenses in this section of the grid always carry a presumptive commitment to 
state prison. These offenses include second and subsequent Criminal Sexual Conduct offenses.  See sections II.C. Presumptive 
Sentence and II.E. Mandatory Sentences. 

1    One year and one day 

 
Effective August 1, 2006 
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Examples of Executed Sentences (Length in Months) Broken Down by:  
Specified Minimum Term of Imprisonment and Specified Maximum Supervised Release Term  

 
Offenders committed to the Commissioner of Corrections for crimes committed on or after August 1, 1993 will no longer 
earn good time.  In accordance with Minn. Stat. § 244.101, offenders will receive an executed sentence pronounced by the 
court consisting of two parts:  a specified minimum term of imprisonment equal to two-thirds of the total executed sentence 
and a supervised release term equal to the remaining one-third.  This provision requires that the court pronounce the total 
executed sentence and explain the amount of time the offender will serve in prison and the amount of time the offender will 
serve on supervised release, assuming the offender commits no disciplinary offense in prison that results in the imposition of 
a disciplinary confinement period.  The court shall also explain that the amount of time the offender actually serves in prison 
may be extended by the Commissioner if the offender violates disciplinary rules while in prison or violates conditions of 
supervised release.  This extension period could result in the offender's serving the entire executed sentence in prison.  The 
court's explanation is to be included in a written summary of the sentence. 
 

Executed 
Sentence 

Term of 
Imprisonment 

Supervised 
Release Term 

Executed 
Sentence 

Term of 
Imprisonment 

Supervised 
Release Term 

12 and 1 day 8 and 1 day 4 78 52     26     

14 9 1/3 4 2/3 84 56 28 

15 10 5     90 60 30 

16 10 2/3 5 1/3 91 60 2/3 30 1/3 

18 12 6     102 68     34     

20 13 1/3 6 2/3 110 73 1/3 36 2/3 

24 16 8     117 78     39     

25 16 2/3 8 1/3 119 79 1/3 39 2/3 

27 18 9     120 80     40     

30 20 10 130 86 2/3 43 1/3 

36 24     12 140 93 1/3 46 2/3 

39 26 13     144 96     48     

40 26 2/3 13 1/3 150 100 50 

45 30 15 153 102     51     

48 32     16 156 104     52     

51 34 17     168 112     56     

59 39 1/3 19 2/3 180 120 60 

60 40     20     195 130 65 

62 41 1/3 20  2/3 234 156     78     

70 46 2/3 23 1/3 255 170     85     

76 50 2/3 25 1/3 300 200 100 

77 50 2/3 25 2/3 306 204     102     

   360 240 120 
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V.  OFFENSE SEVERITY REFERENCE TABLE 
   
  Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 (sexual penetration) - 609.342 

(See II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II. G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, 
and Other Sentence Modifiers.) 

IX  
   

 
   

VIII 
Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 (sexual contact - victim under 13) - 609.342 

(See II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II. G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, 
and Other Sentence Modifiers.) 

  Criminal Sexual Conduct 2 - 609.343, 1(c), (d), (e), (f), & (h) 
(See II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II. G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, 
and Other Sentence Modifiers.) 

  Criminal Sexual Conduct 3 - 609.344, subd. 1(c), (d), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), (m), & (n) 
   

 
   
  Criminal Sexual Conduct 2 - 609.343, subd. 1(a), (b), & (g) 
VI  Criminal Sexual Conduct 4 - 609.345, 1(c), (d), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), (m), & (n) 
   

 
   
V Criminal Sexual Conduct 3 - 609.344, subd. 1(b), (e), & (f) 
   

 
   
  Criminal Sexual Conduct 4 - 609.345, subd. 1(b), (e), & (f) 
  Criminal Sexual Conduct 5 - 609.3451, subd. 3 
IV Indecent Exposure - 617.23, subd. 3(a), (b) 
   

 
   

III Registration of Predatory Offenders (2nd or subsequent violation) – 243.166 subd. 5(c 
  Solicitation of Children to Engage in Sexual Conduct - 609.352, subd. 2 
   

   
   
I Registration of Predatory Offenders  – 243.166 subd. 5(b) 
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A Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 - 609.342 
   

 
 

   
B Criminal Sexual Conduct 2 - 609.343 subd. 1 (c), (d), (e), (f), (h) 

   
 
 

   
C Criminal Sexual Conduct 3 - 609.344 subd. 1 (c), (d), (g), (j), (k). (m), (n) 
   

 
 

  Criminal Sexual Conduct 2 - 609.343 subd. 1 (a), (b), (g) 
D Criminal Sexual Conduct 3 - 609.344 subd. 1 (b), (e), (f), (h), (i), (l) 
  Dissemination Child Pornography: Subsequent or by Predatory Offender – 617.247 subd. 3 

 
 

  Criminal Sexual Conduct 4 - 609.345 subd. 1 (c), (d), (g), (j), (k). (m), (n) 
E Use Minors in Sexual Performance  - 617.246 subd. 2, 3, 4  
 Dissemination Child Pornography - 617.247 sub. 3 
   

 
 

  Criminal Sexual Conduct 4 - 609.345 subd. 1 (b), (e), (f), (h), (i). (l) 
F Possession of Child Pornography: Subsequent or by Predatory Offender - 617.247 sub. 4 
   

 
 

  Criminal Sexual Conduct 5- 609.3451 subd. 3 
G Indecent Exposure - 617.23 subd. 3 
  Possession of Child Pornography – 617.247 subd. 4 

 
 

   
H Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender – 243.166 subd. 5(b), (c) 
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NUMERICAL REFERENCE OF FELONY STATUTES 
This statutory felony offense listing is for convenience in cross-referencing to the Offense 
Severity Table; it is not official nor is it intended to be used in place of the Offense Severity 
Reference Table. 
                 
                                   SEVERITY 
STATUTE OFFENSE  LEVEL 
 
243.166 subd. 5(b) Registration of Predatory Offenders  1 H 
 
243.166 subd. 5(c) Registration of Predatory Offenders  3 H 
  (2nd or subsequent violations)   
 
609.342  Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 (Sexual Penetration)  9 * A 
 
609.342  Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 (Sexual Contact-  8 * 
       victim under 13) 
 
609.343 subd. 1(a)(b)(g) Criminal Sexual Conduct 2  6 D 
 
609.343 subd. 1(c)(d)(e) Criminal Sexual Conduct 2  8 *  B 
 (f)(h) 
 
609.344 subd. 1(b)(e)(f) Criminal Sexual Conduct 3  5 D 
 (h)(i)(l) 
 
609.344 subd. 1(c)(d)(g) Criminal Sexual Conduct 3  8 C 
 (h)(i)(j)(k)(l)(m)(n) 
 
609.345 subd. 1(b)(e)(f) Criminal Sexual Conduct 4  4 F 
(h)(i)(l) 
 
609.345 subd. 1(c)(d)(g) Criminal Sexual Conduct 4  6 E 
 (h)(i)(j)(k)(l)(m)(n) 
 
609.3451 subd. 3 Criminal Sexual Conduct 5  4 G 
 
609.352 subd. 2 Solicitation of Children to Engage   3 G 
      in Sexual Conduct 

                                                 
* See II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence 
Modifiers. 



  

 

44

 

MSGC Report to the Legislature 

 
617.23 subd. 3 Indecent Exposure  4 G 
 
617.246 Use of Minors in Sexual Performance Prohibited unranked E 
 
617.247 subd. 3 Dissemination of Pictorial Representation of Minors E 
 
617.247 subd. 3 Dissemination of Pictorial Representation of Minors: D 
                                                     Subsequent or by Predatory Offender 
 
617.247 subd. 4 Possession of Pictorial Representation of Minors unranked G 
   
617.247 subd. 4 Possession of Pictorial Representation of Minors F 
                                                          Subsequent or by Predatory Offender 
                                                  
 

B. The Commission proposes the following corrections to Section II.E. of the 
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary to make the language 
conform with statutory provisions regarding conditional release. 

 
E. Mandatory Sentences 
… 
Several Minnesota statutes provide for mandatory conditional release terms that must be served by 
certain offenders once they are released from prison.  When a court commits a person subject to one 
of these statutes to the custody of the commissioner of corrections, it shall provide that after the 
person has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release 
for the designated term.  A person committed to prison for a sex offense or criminal sexual predatory 
conduct is subject to a ten-year conditional release term, unless the offense is a violation of M.S. § 
609.3451 (fifth degree criminal sexual conduct).  If the person was committed to prison sex offense  
before conviction for the current sex offense and either the present or prior sex offense was for a 
violation of M.S. §§ 609.342 (first degree criminal sexual conduct), 609.343 (second degree criminal 
sexual conduct), 609.344 (third degree criminal sexual conduct), 609.345 (fourth degree criminal sexual 
conduct), or 609.3453 (criminal sexual predatory conduct), and there is a previous or prior sex offense 
conviction, the person shall be placed on conditional release for the remainder of the person’s life, 
unless the current offense and prior conviction were both for violations of M.S. § 609.345 (fourth 
degree criminal sexual conduct).  If both the current and prior convictions are for M.S. § 609.345 (fourth 
degree criminal sexual conduct) the conditional release period shall be for ten years.  If a person, who is 
subject to a life with the possibility of release sentence, is released, that offender is subject to 
conditional release for the remainder of his or her life.  If a person is sentenced for failure to register as 
a predatory offender and the person was assigned a risk level III under M.S. § 244.052, the person shall 
be placed on conditional release for ten years.  A person convicted of fourth degree assault against 
secure treatment facility personnel under M.S. § 609.2231, subdivision 3a is subject to a five-year 
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conditional release term.  Finally, a person sentenced to imprisonment for first degree (felony) driving 
while impaired is subject to five years of conditional release. 

 
 

C. The Commission proposes the following corrections to Section II.G. of the 
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary to clarify the 
Commission’s policy regarding the presumptive sentence for attempted 
criminal sexual conduct offenses. 

 
G.  Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers:  For persons 
convicted of attempted offenses or conspiracies to commit an offense, Solicitation of Juveniles under 
Minn. Stat. § 609.494, subd. 2(b), Solicitation of Mentally Impaired Persons under Minn. Stat. § 609.493, 
or Aiding an Offender – Taking Responsibility for Criminal Acts under Minn. Stat. § 609.495, subd. 4, the 
presumptive sentence is determined by locating the Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell defined by the 
offender's criminal history score and the severity level of the completed or intended offense or the 
offense committed by the principal offender, and dividing the duration contained therein by two, but 
such sentence shall not be less than one year and one day except that for Conspiracy to Commit a 
Controlled Substance offense as per Minn. Stat. § 152.096, in which event the presumptive sentence 
shall be that for the completed offense. 
 
For persons convicted of attempted offenses or conspiracies to commit an offense with a mandatory 
minimum of a year and a day or more, the presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum or one-half 
the duration specified in the applicable Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell, whichever is greater.  For 
persons convicted of an attempt or conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree 
(M.S. § 609.342) or Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree (M.S. § 609.343, subd. 1(c), (d), (e), 
(f), and (h)), the presumptive duration is one-half of that found in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing 
Guidelines Grid or any mandatory minimum, whichever is longer.  The Commission regards the 
provisions of M.S. 609.342 subd. 2(b) and 609.343 subd. 2(b) as statutorily created presumptive 
sentences, and not mandatory minimums. 
 
 

II. Modifications to Describe Post Blakely Sentencing Issues  
 
 

 The Commission proposes the following modifications to the Guideline 
Commentary to provide clarification regarding the presumptive guidelines 
sentence and the impact of the U.S. Supreme Court ruling in Blakely v. 
Washington.   
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II.C.11. Post Blakely Sentencing Issues 
 
United States Supreme Court and the Minnesota Supreme and Appellate Courts have ruled that any fact other 
than a prior conviction that increases the penalty for the crime beyond the prescribed statutory maximum must 
be submitted to the jury and proven beyond a reasonable doubt.  Sentencing procedures that fail to provide this 
process are unconstitutional and violate a defendant’s Sixth Amendment right under the United States 
Constitution.  Although the ruling by the court appears clear, there are multiple issues surrounding what 
constitutes an enhancement, as well as what constitutes a statutory maximum sentence, that are being  
addressed by the courts.  The Sentencing Guidelines Commission, in an effort to assist practitioners involved in 
sentencing procedures, is providing a summary of court decisions to date involving Blakely sentencing issues. The 
information provided is not intended to be considered as an exhaustive list of relative cases, but rather intended 
to serve as a guide to assist in sentencing.   
 
 
 
 
Statutory Maximum Sentence  
 
Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466 (2000) Case involved a defendant that pled guilty to 2nd Degree 
Possession of a Firearm for Unlawful Purposes that carried a prison sentence of between 5 and 10 years.  The 
state requests the court to make the factual finding necessary to impose the state’s Hate Crime Law sentencing 
enhancement provision increasing the sentence to between 10 and 20 years. The judge held the requested 
hearing, listens to the evidence and determined by a preponderance of the evidence standard that crime met the 
Hate Crime Law criteria.  The court’s imposition of an enhanced prison sentence based on the hate crime statute 
exceeded the statutory maximum sentence for the underlying offense.  Court ruled that any factor other than a 
prior conviction that increases the penalty for the crime beyond the statutory maximum must be submitted to a 
jury and proven beyond a reasonable doubt. 
 
Presumptive Sentence 
 
Blakely v. Washington, 1264 S.Ct. 2531 (2004) Case involves the court’s imposition of an exceptional 
sentence under the state’s sentencing guidelines, for which justifiable factors were provided, which exceeded the 
presumptive guidelines sentence but was less than the statutory maximum sentence for the offense.  Court 
reaffirmed and clarified its earlier ruling in Apprendi stating, that under the Sixth Amendment, all factors other 
than prior criminal convictions that increase a criminal defendant’s sentence beyond what it would have been 
absent those facts, must be presented to a jury and proven beyond a reasonable doubt.  The jury trial right does 
not just mean that a defendant has the right to present a case to the jury; it also means that a defendant has a 
right to have a jury, not the court, make all the factual findings required to impose a sentence in excess of the 
presumptive guideline sentence, unless the defendant formally admits some or all of the factors or formally 
waives that right. 
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State v. Shattuck, 704 N.W. 2d 131 (Minn. 2005) Case involves a defendant that is convicted 2 counts of 
Kidnapping, 2 counts of 1st Degree Sexual Conduct, and I count of Aggravated Robbery. The presumptive 
guideline sentence for these offenses would have been 161 months given the severity level VII ranking with a 
criminal history score of 9, including a custody status point.  Under the Repeat Sex Offender statute, for certain 
types of 1st and 2nd degree sexual conduct offenses, the court shall commit the defendant to not less than 30 
years if the court finds (1) an aggravating factor exists which provides for an upward departure, and (2) the 
offender has previous convictions for 1st, 2nd or 3rd degree criminal sexual conduct. The court imposed a 161 
month sentence for the kidnapping conviction and 360 months for the 1st degree criminal sexual conduct, using 
the Repeat Sex Offender statute.  The court found that a jury, not the court, must make the determination that 
aggravating factors are present to impose an upward durational departure under the sentencing guidelines, citing 
the Blakely ruling. The decision also held that Minn. Stat. § 609.109 is unconstitutional since it authorizes the 
court to impose an upward durational departure without the aid of a jury. 
 
The Court also ruled that the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines are not advisory and that the imposition of the 
presumptive sentence is mandatory absent additional findings.  This finding specifically rejects the remedy that 
the guidelines are advisory as set forth in the United States Supreme Court in United States v. Booker 125 S. Ct. 
738 (2005).  In addition, the decision stated that Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Section II.D, which pertains to 
the manner in which aggravated departures are imposed, is “facially unconstitutional” and must be severed from 
the remainder of the guidelines.  However, the remainder of the guidelines shall remain in effect and mandatory 
upon the courts. The Court also noted in Shattuck that Minnesota Courts have the inherent authority to authorize 
the use of sentencing juries and bifurcated proceedings to comply with Blakely.  While the Supreme Court was 
deciding the Shattuck case, the Legislature amended Minn. Stat. § 609.109 to comply with the constitutional 
issues raised in Blakely.  However, the Court took no position on the constitutionality of legislative action.  
Acknowledging the Court’s inherent authority to create rules and procedures, the decision stated that it was the 
belief of the Court that the legislature should decide the manner in which the sentencing guidelines should be 
amended to comply with the constitutional requirements of Blakely. On October 6, 2005, the Minnesota 
Supreme Court issued an Order amending the Shattuck opinion clarifying that the legislature has enacted 
significant new requirements for sentencing aggravated departures which included sentencing juries and 
bifurcated trials.  It further clarified that these changes apply both prospectively and to re-sentencing hearings.   
This clarification enables re-sentencing hearings to include jury determination of aggravating factors and the 
imposition of aggravated departure sentences. 
 
State v. Allen --N.W.2d—(Minn. 2005) Case involves a defendant who pled guilty to 1st Degree Test 
Refusal as part of a negotiated plea agreement in exchange for the dismissal of other charges and the specific 
sentence to be determined by the court.  The district court determined the defendant had a custody point 
assigned to their criminal history, since the defendant was on probation for a prior offense at the time of the 
current offense.  The presumptive guideline sentence was a 42 month stayed sentence. However, based on the 
defendant’s numerous prior alcohol-related convictions and history of absconding from probation, the court 
determined the defendant was not amenable to probation and sentenced the defendant to a 42 month executed 
prison sentence, representing an aggravated dispositional departure under the sentencing guidelines.  The case 
was on appeal when Blakely v. Washington was decided.  The Court ruled that a stayed sentence is not merely 
an alternative mode of serving a prison sentence, in that the additional loss of liberty encountered with an 
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executed sentence exceeds the maximum penalty allowed by a plea of guilty or jury verdict, thus violating the 
defendant’s Sixth Amendment Constitutional right.  The Court viewed a sentence disposition as much an element 
of the presumptive sentence as the sentence duration.  Dispositional departures that are based on offender 
characteristics are similar to indeterminate sentencing model judgments and must be part of a jury verdict in that 
“amenability to probation” is not a fact necessary to constitute a crime.   When the district court imposed an 
aggravated dispositional departure based on the aggravating factor of unamenability to probation without the aid 
of a jury, the defendant’s constitutional rights were violated under Blakely.  Unamenability to probation may be 
used as an aggravating factor to impose an upward dispositional departure, but it must be determined by a jury 
and not the court.  The Allen case also raises the issue and much speculation whether probation revocations 
resulting in an executed prison sentence are also subject to Blakely provisions.  Although the Allen case focuses on 
imposition of an executed prison sentence as the result of an aggravated dispositional departure sentence based 
on the defendant’s unamenability to probation, the court’s stated reasons in its ruling could be interpreted as to 
be applicable to probation revocations that result in the imposition of an executed sentence due to an offender’s 
lack of progress or success on probation.  The Commission awaits further action by the Minnesota courts 
addressing this specific issue. 
 
State v. Conger, 687 N.W.2d 639 (Minn. App. 2004) Case involves a defendant who pled guilty to aiding and 
abetting in a 2nd degree intentional and unintentional murder. At sentencing, the judge determines that multiple 
aggravating factors are present and imposes an upward durational departure.  The Court ruled that the 
presumptive sentence designated by the guidelines is the maximum sentence a judge may impose without finding 
facts to support a departure.  Any fact other than prior conviction used to impose a departure sentence must be 
found by a jury or admitted by the defendant.  The Court also ruled that when a defendant pleads guilty, any 
upward departure that is not entirely based on the facts admitted in the guilty plea is a violation of the 
defendant’s Sixth Amendment rights and unconstitutional. 
 
State v. Mitchell, 687 N.W.2d 393 (Minn. App. 2004) Case involves a defendant who is arrested for theft 
with a presumptive guidelines sentence of 21 months.  The judge determines the defendant is a career criminal 
under Minn. Stat. §1095 subd. 4 (2002) after determining the defendant had 5 or more prior felony convictions 
and the current conviction was part of a “pattern of criminal conduct.” The judge imposes an upward departure 
of 42 months.  The Court ruled that a pattern of criminal conduct may be shown by criminal conduct that is 
similar but not identical to the charged offense in such factors as motive, results, participants, victims or shared 
characteristics.  This determination goes beyond the mere fact of prior convictions since prior convictions do not 
address motive, results, participants, victims etc.  A jury, not a judge, must determine if the defendant’s prior 
convictions constitutes a “pattern of criminal conduct” making him a career criminal. 
 
State v. Fairbanks 688 N.W. 2d 333 (Minn. App. 2004) Case involves a defendant who is convicted of 1st 
degree assault of a correctional employee and kidnapping. The judge sentences the defendant under the 
Dangerous Offender Statute which provides for a durational departure from the presumptive guideline sentence.  
Criteria necessary for sentencing under this statute include (1) two or more convictions for violent crimes and (2) 
offender is a danger to public safety.  Defendant stipulates to the past criminal behavior during trial but that 
admission by the defendant alone does not permit a finding that the defendant is a danger to public safety. That 
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finding must be determined by a jury.  A judge can only depart upward based solely on prior convictions.  The 
court also ruled that a defendant’s waiver of Blakely rights must be knowing, intelligent and voluntary. 
 
Mandatory Minimum – Minn. Stat. § 609.11 
 
State v. Barker ---N.W.2d--- (Minn. 2005)  Case involves a defendant convicted of a 5th degree controlled 
substance offense and sentenced under Minn. Stat. § 609.11 to a mandatory prison sentence of 36 months 
based on a judicial finding that the defendant possessed a firearm during the predicate offense.  The defendant 
has a criminal history score of 0, thus the presumptive guideline sentence for the 5th degree controlled substance 
offense would have been a stayed sentence of a year and a day.  At sentencing the defendant stipulates to the 
possession of the firearm but claims it was for self protection and did not increase the risk of violence associated 
with the drug offense.  The court denies the defendant’s request for a jury trial and imposes the mandatory 
minimum 36 month prison sentence.  Defendant appeals on Blakely issues.  The Court ruled that Minn. Stat. § 
609.11 is unconstitutional to the extent that it authorizes the district court to impose an aggravated departure 
upon a finding other than prior criminal convictions, without the aid of a jury.  Unlike most mandatory minimum 
sentences which are triggered by prior criminal convictions, Minn. Stat.§ 609.11 requires a finding of the 
possession of a weapon when the weapon is not an element of the offense to impose the 36 month prison 
sentence.  Even though the defendant admitted to the possession of a weapon, he did not admit to the increased 
risk of violence the court determined was associated with the possession of the weapon.  The court also indicated 
that the Legislature did not amend 609.11 as it did with other sentencing enhancement statutes allowing for jury 
determination of aggravated factors.  In cases where the weapon is an element of the offense there is no Blakely 
issue.  
 
Custody Status Point 
 
State v. Brooks 690 N.W. 2d 160 (Minn.App.2004) Case involves a defendant convicted of a 5th degree 
assault and tampering with a witness. The defendant has a criminal history score of 6 or more prior to the 
sentencing for this conviction. The guidelines provide for a three month enhancement for the custody status point. 
Defendant argues the three month enhancement is in violation of Blakely.  Court rules that determination of the 
custody status point is analogous to the Blakely exception for “fact of prior conviction.”  Like a prior conviction, a 
custody status point is established by court record based on the fact of prior convictions and not by a jury.  
Presumptive sentencing is meaningless without a criminal history score, which includes the determination of 
custody status points. 
 
Retroactivity 
 
State v. Petschl 692 N. W.2d 463 (Minn. App, 2004) Blakely provisions apply to all cases sentenced or with 
direct appeals pending on or after June 24, 2004. 
 
State v. Houston 689 N.W.2d 556 (Minn. App. 2004).  The Minnesota Supreme Court determined that 
Blakely could be applied retroactively to cases on direct review but not collateral review.  Teague v. Lane stated 
that in order for an issue to be retroactive for collateral review, the case needs to state a rule of law that is either: 
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(1) new or not dictated by precedent or (2) a “Watershed” rule meaning it requires an observance of those 
criminal procedures that are implicit in the concept of liberty.  The Court ruled that Blakely is not a rule of 
“watershed” magnitude since the accuracy of the conviction is not diminished.  A Blakely violation results only in a 
remand for sentencing rather than a new trial to determine the validity of the conviction, thus Blakely does not 
apply to appeals on collateral review. 
 
State v. Beaty 696 N.W.2d. 406 (Minn. App. 2005) Case involves a defendant who pled guilty to a charge 
with a violation of an order for protection (OFP) and terroristic threats.  At sentencing the court imposes the 
presumptive guideline sentence of 18 months stay of execution.  The defendant subsequently violates probation 
and admits to the violations.  The court revokes the defendant’s probation, executes the 18 months sentence for 
the terrotistic threats and vacates the stay of imposition for the violation of the OFP, imposing a 36 month 
concurrent executed sentence, which is an upward departure from the presumptive guideline sentence. 
Departure is based on the aggravating factors that the victim suffered extreme adverse effect from the violation 
of the OFP and probation did not appear to deter the defendant.  Blakely is issued the day after the defendant is 
sentenced. Defendant challenges his probation revocation and the imposition of the departure under the 
retroactive provisions of Blakely.  United States v. Martin addressed retroactivity of a standard of review for 
sentencing procedures and compels courts to apply procedural changes to all sentences that are not final. The 
defendant’s sentence is not final for retroactivity purposes and still subject to appeal.  The Court held that when a 
district court imposes a stay of imposition of a sentence, thereby precluding challenge to the sentence on direct 
review and subsequently vacates the stay of imposition and imposes an upward departure, Blakely will apply 
retroactively. 
 
Blakely Waiver Issues 
 
State v. Hagen 690 N.W.2d 155 (Minn. App. 2004) Case involves a defendant who pled guilty to Minn. Stat. 
§ 609.342 subd. 1(g) sexual penetration of a victim under the age of 16 involving a significant relationship.  
Defendant lives in the same house as the 13 year old victim and there are numerous aggravating factors 
associated with the offense such as zone of privacy, particular vulnerability and great psychological harm, which 
the defendant does not deny. Defendant admits the sexual penetration and states his attorney discussed the 
“significant relationship” element with him.  District court states this is one of the worst child sex abuse cases it 
has seen and imposed an aggravated durational departure from the 144 month presumptive guideline sentence 
to 216 months.  Defendant appeals his sentence on Blakely issues. Court ruled that Blakely has blurred the 
distinction between offense elements and sentencing factors. When the defendant stipulates to an element of an 
offense, it must be supported by an oral or written waiver of the defendant’s right to a jury trial on that 
aggravating element.  In Hagen, the admissions were made at the sentencing hearing rather than at the 
guilty/not guilty plea hearing where he could waive his right to a jury trial.  The record must clearly indicate the 
aggravating factor was present in the underlying offense. Admissions must be effective and more than just not 
objecting to the aggravating factors.  
 
State v. Senske 692 N.W. 2d 743 (Minn. App. 2005) Case involves a defendant who pled guilty to two counts 
of 1st degree criminal sexual conduct with no agreement on the sentence as part of the plea.  Defendant admits 
to multiple acts of penetration with stepdaughter and son, including blindfolding the son.  District Court 
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determines the defendant’s actions warrant an upward durational departure due to the psychological harm to the 
victims, vulnerability due to age, the planning and manipulation involved in the act and death threats made to the 
victims.  The court imposes 216 month consecutive sentences, representing a 50 percent  increase over the 
presumptive guideline sentence. Defendant appeals his sentence on a Blakely issue and the imposition of 
consecutive sentences. The Court ruled that even though the sentence to be imposed was not part of the plea 
agreement, the defendant nonetheless was not advised that the aggravating factors he admitted to could be used 
to impose an aggravated departure.  Even though the defendant admitted to the aggravating factors, those 
admissions were not accompanied by a waiver of the right to a jury determination of the aggravating factors. The 
Court further stated that the imposition of consecutive sentences did not violate Blakely principles since the 
consecutive sentences were based on the fact the offenses involved were “crimes against a person” and involved 
separate sentences for separate offenses. 
 
 

III. Modifications to Consecutive Sentencing Policy for Felony DWIs  
 
 

 The Commission proposes to adopt a policy regarding presumptive 
consecutive sentences for Felony DWI offenses to conform with the 
consecutive sentencing provisions in M.S. 169A.28.  

 
 
F.  Concurrent/Consecutive Sentences:  Generally, when an offender is convicted of multiple 
current offenses, or when there is a prior felony sentence which has not expired or been discharged, 
concurrent sentencing is presumptive.  In certain situations consecutive sentences are presumptive; 
there are other situations in which consecutive sentences are permissive.  These situations are outlined 
below.  The use of consecutive sentences in any other case constitutes a departure from the guidelines 
and requires written reasons pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 244.10, subd. 2 and section D of these guidelines. 
 
When consecutive sentences are imposed, offenses are sentenced in the order in which they occurred. 
 
Presumptive Consecutive Sentences 
Consecutive sentences are presumptive when the conviction is for a crime committed by an offender 
serving, or on supervised release, conditional release, or on escape status from an executed prison 
sentence.   
… 
 
When an offender is sentenced for a felony DWI, a consecutive sentence is presumptive if the offender 
has a prior unexpired misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor or felony DWI sentence.   The presumptive 
disposition for the felony DWI is based on the offender’s location on the Grid.  If the presumptive 
disposition is probation, the presumptive sentence for the felony DWI is a consecutive stayed sentence 
with a duration based on the appropriate Grid time.  Any pronounced probationary jail time should be 
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served consecutively to any remaining time to be served on the prior DWI offense.  If the presumptive 
disposition is commitment to prison, the presumptive sentence is a consecutive sentence of 42 months 
duration, except if the total time to serve in prison would be longer if a concurrent sentence is imposed 
in which case a concurrent sentence is presumptive. 
   
 

IV. Technical  Modifications to move commentary language into the 
Guidelines to conform with the Minnesota Court of Appeals 
opinion in State v. Rouland.  In that decision, the court held that 
policy in the Commentary did not apply because it conflicted with 
policy in the Guidelines.  The proposed changes below ensure that 
Commission policies are stated in the Guidelines, not just the 
Commentary.   

 
 

A. Unranked Offense Policy 
 
A.  Offense Severity:  The offense severity level is determined by the offense of conviction.  When an 
offender is convicted of two or more felonies for which only one sentence may be pronounced by 
statute, the severity level is determined by the most severe offense of conviction.  For persons 
convicted under Minn. Stat. §§ 609.2241 – Knowing Transfer of Communicable Disease, 609.229, subd. 3 
(a) – Crime Committed for Benefit of a Gang, 609.3453 – Criminal Sexual Predatory Conduct, or 
609.714 – Offense in Furtherance of Terrorism, the severity level is the same as that for the underlying 
crime with the highest severity level. 
 
Felony offenses are arrayed into eleven levels of severity, ranging from low (Severity Level I) to high 
(Severity Level XI).  First degree murder is excluded from the sentencing guidelines, because by law the 
sentence is mandatory imprisonment for life.  Offenses listed within each level of severity are deemed to 
be generally equivalent in severity.  The most frequently occurring offenses within each severity level are 
listed on the vertical axis of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid.  The severity level for infrequently 
occurring offenses can be determined by consulting Section V, entitled “Offense Severity Reference 
Table.”  The severity level for each felony offense is governed by Section V:  Offense Severity Reference 
Table.  Some offenses are designated as unranked offenses in the Offense Severity Reference Table.  
When unranked offenses are being sentenced, the sentencing judges shall exercise their discretion by 
assigning an appropriate severity level for that offense and specify on the record the reasons a particular 
level was assigned.  If an offense is inadvertently omitted from the Offense Severity Reference Table, the 
offense shall be considered unranked and the above procedures followed. 
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Comment 
 

II.A.01.  Offense severity is determined by the offense of conviction.  The Commission thought that serious legal 
and ethical questions would be raised if punishment were to be determined on the basis of alleged, but unproven, 
behavior, and prosecutors and defenders would be less accountable in plea negotiation.  It follows that if the 
offense of conviction is the standard from which to determine severity, departures from the guidelines should not 
be permitted for elements of offender behavior not within the statutory definition of the offense of conviction.  
Thus, if an offender is convicted of simple robbery, a departure from the guidelines to increase the severity of the 
sentence should not be permitted because the offender possessed a firearm or used another dangerous weapon. 
 
II.A.02.  The date of the offense is important because the offender’s age at the time of the offense will 
determine whether or not the juvenile record is considered, the date of the offense might determine whether a 
custody status point should be given, and the date of offense determines the order of sentencing with multiple 
convictions.  For those convicted of a single offense, there is generally no problem in determining the date of 
offense.  For those convicted of multiple offenses when theft and damage to property aggregation procedures are 
used for sentencing purposes or when multiple offenses are an element of the conviction offense, the following 
rules apply: 
 

a. If offenses have been aggregated under Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 3 (5) or § 609.595, the 
date of the earliest offense should be used as the date of the conviction offense. 

 
b. If multiple offenses are an element of the conviction offense, such as in subd. 1 (h) (iii) of first 

degree criminal sexual conduct, the date of the conviction offense must be determined.  If there 
is a reasonable likelihood that all of the offender’s multiple acts occurred before a date on 
which the presumptive sentence changed, the earlier presumptive sentence should be used.  If 
there is no reasonable likelihood that all of the offender’s multiple acts occurred before that 
date, the later presumptive sentence should be used.  See State v. Murray, 495 N.W.2d 412, 
415 (Minn. 1993) (articulating rule). 

 
II.A.03.  The following offenses were excluded from the Offense Severity Reference Table: 
 
 1.  Abortion – 617.20; 617.22; 145.412 
 2.  Accomplice after the fact – 609.495, subd. 3 
 3.  Adulteration – 609.687, subd. 3 (3) 
 4.  Aiding suicide – 609.215 
 5.  Altering engrossed bill – 3.191 
 6.  Animal fighting – 343.31 
 7.  Assaulting or harming a police horse – 609.597, subd. 3 (1) & (2) 
 8.  Bigamy – 609.355 
 9.  Cigarette tax and regulation violations – 297F.20 
 10.  Collusive bidding/price fixing – 325D.53, subds. 1 (3), 2 & 3 
 11.  Concealing criminal proceeds; engaging in business – 609.496; 609.497 
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 12.  Corrupting legislator – 609.425 
 13.  Criminal sexual conduct, third degree – 609.344, subd. 1 (a) 
  (By definition the perpetrator must be a juvenile) 
 14.  Criminal sexual conduct, fourth degree – 609.345, subd. 1 (a) 
  (By definition the perpetrator must be a juvenile) 
 15.  Damage to Property of Critical Public Service Facilities, Utilities, and Pipelines – 609.594 
 16.  Escape with violence from gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor offense – 

609.485, subd. 4 (a) (3) 
 17.  Failure to Report – 626.556, subd. 6 
 18.  Falsely impersonating another – 609.83 
 19.  Female genital mutilation – 609.2245 
 20.  Forced execution of a declaration – 145B.105 

21.  Gambling acts (cheating, certain devices prohibited; counterfeit chips; manufacture, sale, 
modification of devices; instruction) – 609.76, subd. 3, 4, 5, 6, & 7 

 22.  Hazardous wastes – 609.671 
 23.  Horse racing – prohibited act – 240.25 
 24.  Incest – 609.365 
 25.  Insurance Fraud – Employment of Runners – 609.612 
 26.  Interstate compact violation – 243.161 
 27.  Issuing a receipt for goods one does not have – 227.50 
 28.  Issuing a second receipt without “duplicate” on it – 227.52 
 29.  Killing or harming a public safety dog – 609.596, subd. 1 
 30.  Labor Trafficking – 609.282 
 31.  Lawful gambling fraud – 609.763 
 32.  Metal penetrating bullets – 624.74 
 33.  Misprison of treason – 609.39 
 34.  Motor vehicle excise tax – 297B.10 
 35.  Obscene materials; distribution – 617.241, subd. 4 
 36.  Obstructing military forces – 609.395 
 37.  Pipeline safety – 299J.07, subd. 2 
 38.  Police radios during commission of crime – 609.856 
 39.  Possession of Pictorial Representations of Minors – 617.247 
 40.  Racketeering, criminal penalties (RICO) – 609.904 
 41.  Real and Simulated Weapons of Mass Destruction – 609.712 
 42.  Refusal to assist – 6.53 
 43.  Sale of membership camping contracts – 82A.03; 82A.13; 82A.25 
 44.  Service animal providing service – 343.21, subd. 9 (e) (g) 
 45.  State lottery fraud – 609.651, subd. 1 with 4 (b) and subd. 2 & 3 
 46.  Subdivided land fraud – 83.43 
 47.  Torture or cruelty to pet or companion animal – 343.21, subd. 9 (c) (d) (f) (h) 
 48.  Treason – 609.385 
 49.  Unauthorized computer access – 609.891 
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 50.  Unlawful Conduct with Documents in Furtherance of Labor or Sex Trafficking – 609.283 
 51.  Unlawful Transfer of Sounds; Sales – 325E.201 
 52.  Use of Minors in Sexual Performance Prohibited – 617.246 
 53.  Warning subject of investigation – 609.4971 
 54.  Warning subject of surveillance or search – 609.4975 

55.  Wire communications violations – 626A.02, subd. 4; 626A.03, subd. 1 (b) (ii); 
626A.26, subd. 2 (1) (ii) 

 
II.A.04.  Incest was excluded because since 1975, the great majority of incest cases are prosecuted under the 
criminal sexual conduct statutes.  If an offender is convicted of incest under Minn. Stat. § 609.365, and when the 
offense would have been a violation of one of the criminal sexual conduct statutes, the severity level of the 
applicable criminal sexual conduct statute should be used.  For example, if a father is convicted of incest for the 
sexual penetration of his ten year old daughter, the appropriate severity level would be the same as criminal 
sexual conduct in the first degree.  On the other hand, when the incest consists of behavior not included in the 
criminal sexual conduct statutes (for example, consenting sexual penetration involving individuals over age 18) 
that offense behavior is excluded from the Offense Severity Reference Table. 
 
II.A.05.  The other offenses were excluded because prosecutions are rarely, if ever, initiated under them or 
because the underlying conduct included in the offense covers such a wide range of severity.  When persons are 
convicted of offenses excluded from the Offense Severity Reference Table, judges should exercise their discretion 
by assigning an offense a severity level which they believe to be appropriate.  Judges should specify on the record 
the reasons a particular severity level was assigned.  Factors which a judge may consider when assigning a 
severity level to an unranked offense include but are not limited to:  1) the gravity of the specific conduct 
underlying the unranked offense; 2) the severity level assigned to any ranked offense whose elements are similar 
to those of the unranked offense; 3) the conduct of and severity level assigned to other offenders for the same 
unranked offense; and 4) the severity level assigned to other offenders engaged in similar conduct.  If a significant 
number of future convictions are obtained under one or more of the excluded offenses, the Commission will 
determine an appropriate severity level, and will add the offense to the Offense Severity Reference Table. 
 
II.A.06.  When felony offenses are inadvertently omitted from the sentencing guidelines, judges should exercise 
their discretion by assigning an offense a severity level which they believe to be appropriate.  A felony offense is 
inadvertently omitted when the offense appears neither in the Offense Severity Reference Table nor in the list of 
offenses in II.A.03. which are excluded from the Offense Severity Reference Table. 
 
II.A.03.  Some offenses, including Minn. Stat. §§ 609.2241 – Knowing Transfer of Communicable Disease, 
609.229, subd. 3 (a) – Crime Committed for Benefit of a Gang, 609.3453 – Criminal Sexual Predatory Conduct, 
and 609.714 – Offense in Furtherance of Terrorism, involve other offenses committed under specific 
circumstances.  The severity level for these offenses is the same as that of the underlying offense.  The 
presumptive sentence for some of these offenses, however, is increased from that of the underlying offense as 
described in II.G:  Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers. 
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II.A.04.  Offenses are generally left unranked because prosecutions for these offenses are rarely initiated, 
because the offense covers a wide range of underlying conduct, or because the offense is new and the severity of 
a typical offense cannot yet be determined.  When exercising their discretion by assigning an appropriate severity 
level, sentencing judges may consider, but are not limited to, the following factors:  1) the gravity of the specific 
conduct underlying the unranked offense; 2) the severity level assigned to any ranked offense whose elements are 
similar to those of the unranked offense; 3) the conduct of and severity level assigned to other offenders for the 
same unranked offense; and 4) the severity level assigned to other offenders engaged in similar conduct. 
 
Incest was left unranked because, since 1975, the great majority of incest cases are prosecuted under the 
criminal sexual conduct statutes.  If an offender is convicted of incest and the offense would have been a violation 
of one of the criminal sexual conduct statutes, the severity level of the applicable criminal sexual conduct statute 
should be used.  For example, if a father is convicted of incest for the sexual penetration of his ten year old 
daughter, the appropriate severity level would be the same as criminal sexual conduct in the first degree.  
Conversely, when incest consists of behavior not included in the criminal sexual conduct statutes (for example, 
consenting sexual penetration involving individuals over age 18), sentencing judges should exercise their discretion 
to assign an appropriate severity level as described above. 
 
If a significant number of future convictions are obtained under one or more of the unranked offenses, the 
Commission will reexamine the ranking of these offenses and assign an appropriate severity level for a typical 
offense. 
 
II.A.07. II.A.05.  There are two theft offenses involving a motor vehicle that are ranked individually on the 
Offense Severity Reference Table.  For Theft of a Motor Vehicle, ranked at severity level IV, the offender must be 
convicted under the general theft statute, Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 2 (1), and the offense must involve theft of 
a motor vehicle, in order for severity level IV to be the appropriate severity level ranking.  It is the Commission's 
intent that any conviction involving the permanent theft of a motor vehicle be ranked at severity level IV, 
regardless of the value of the motor vehicle.  If an offender is convicted of Motor Vehicle Use Without Consent 
under Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 2 (17), the appropriate severity level is III, regardless of whether the 
sentencing provision that is cited is Minn. Stat. § 609.52, subd. 3 (3) (d) (v). 
 
II.A.08.  Knowing Transfer of Communicable Disease, Minn. Stat. § 609.2241, is prosecuted under section 
609.17, 609.185, 609.19, 609.221, 609.222, 609.223, 609.2231, or 609.224.  The severity level ranking for 
this crime would be the same as the severity level ranking of the crime for which the offender is prosecuted.  For 
example, if the offender commits this crime and is convicted under Assault in the 1st Degree, Minn. Stat. § 
609.221, the appropriate severity level ranking would be severity level IX.**** 

 

 

 

 

V.  OFFENSE SEVERITY REFERENCE TABLE 
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**** 

 
  Abortion – 617.20; 617.22; 145.412 
  Accomplice After the Fact – 609.495, subd. 3 
  Adulteration – 609.687, subd. 3 (3) 
  Aiding Suicide – 609.215 
  Altering Engrossed Bill – 3.191 
  Animal Fighting – 343.31 
  Assaulting or Harming a Police Horse – 609.597, subd. 3 (1) & (2) 
  Bigamy – 609.355 

  Cigarette Tax and Regulation Violations – 297F.20 
  Collusive Bidding/Price Fixing – 325D.53, subds. 1 (3), 2 & 3 

  Concealing Criminal Proceeds; Engaging in Business – 609.496; 609.497 
  Corrupting Legislator – 609.425 
  Criminal Sexual Conduct, Third Degree – 609.344, subd. 1 (a) 

      (By definition the perpetrator must be a juvenile.) 
  Criminal Sexual Conduct, Fourth Degree – 609.345, subd. 1 (a) 

      (By definition the perpetrator must be a juvenile.) 
  Damage to Property of Critical Public Service Facilities, Utilities, and Pipelines – 609.594 

  Escape with Violence from Gross Misdemeanor or Misdemeanor Offense – 
      609.485, subd. 4 (a) (3) 

  Failure to Report – 626.556, subd. 6 
  Falsely Impersonating Another – 609.83 
  Female Genital Mutilation – 609.2245 
  Forced Execution of a Declaration – 145B.105 

  Gambling Acts (Cheating, Certain Devices Prohibited; Counterfeit Chips; Manufacture, 
      Sale, Modification of Devices; Instruction) – 609.76, subd. 3, 4, 5, 6, & 7 

U Hazardous Wastes – 609.671 
N Horse Racing – Prohibited Act – 240.25 
R Incest – 609.365 
A Insurance Fraud – Employment of Runners – 609.612 
N Interstate Compact Violation – 243.161 
K Issuing a Receipt for Goods One Does Not Have – 227.50 
E Issuing a Second Receipt Without “Duplicate” On It – 227.52 
D Killing or Harming a Public Safety Dog – 609.596, subd. 1 

  Labor Trafficking – 609.282 
  Lawful Gambling Fraud – 609.763 
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  Metal Penetrating Bullets – 624.74 

 Misprison of Treason – 609.39 

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax – 297B.10 

  Obscene Materials; Distribution – 617.241, subd. 4 
  Obstructing Military Forces – 609.395 
  Pipeline Safety – 299J.07, subd. 2 
  Police Radios During Commission of Crime – 609.856 
  Possession of Pictorial Representations of Minors – 617.247* 
  Racketeering, Criminal Penalties (RICO) – 609.904 

  Real and Simulated Weapons of Mass Destruction – 609.712 
  Refusal to Assist – 6.53 

  Sale of Membership Camping Contracts – 82A.03; 82A.13; 82A.25 
  Service Animal Providing Service – 343.21, subd. 9 (e) (g) 
  State Lottery Fraud – 609.651, subd. 1 with 4 (b) and subd. 2 & 3 
  Subdivided Land Fraud – 83.43 

  Torture or Cruelty to Pet or Companion Animal – 343.21, subd. 9 (c) (d) (f) (h) 
  Treason – 609.385 
  Unauthorized Computer Access – 609.891 
  Unlawful Conduct with Documents in Furtherance of Labor or Sex Trafficking – 609.283 
  Use of Minors in Sexual Performance Prohibited – 617.246* 
  Warning Subject of Investigation – 609.4971 
  Warning Subject of Surveillance or Search – 609.4975 
  Wire Communications Violations – 626A.02, subd. 4; 626A.03, subd. 1 (b) (iii); 

      626A.26, subd. 2 (1) (ii) 
 

* These offenses will have assigned severity levels if the Commission’s proposed Sex Offender 
Grid is adopted.  

 
 

B. Criminal History 
 
B.  A criminal history index constitutes the horizontal axis of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid.  The 
criminal history index is comprised of the following items:  (1) prior felony record; (2) custody status at 
the time of the offense; (3) prior misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor record; and (4) prior juvenile 
record for young adult felons. 
 
The classification of prior offenses as petty misdemeanors, misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or 
felonies is determined on the basis of current Minnesota offense definitions and sentencing policies, 
except that when a monetary threshold determines the offense classification, the monetary classification 



  

 

59

 

MSGC Report to the Legislature 

in effect at the time the prior offense was committed, not the current threshold, determines the offense 
classification in calculating the criminal history index.  Offenses which are petty misdemeanors by 
statute, or which are deemed petty misdemeanors by Minn. R. Crim. P. 23.02 (the only sanction is a fine 
less than the misdemeanor fine level defined in statute) and 23.04, are not used to compute the criminal 
history index. 
 

The offender’s criminal history index score is computed in the following manner: 

 

Comment 
 
II.B.01.  The sentencing guidelines reduce the emphasis given to criminal history in sentencing decisions.  Under 
past judicial practice, criminal history was the primary factor in dispositional decisions.  Under sentencing 
guidelines, the offense of conviction is the primary factor, and criminal history is a secondary factor in dispositional 
decisions.  In the past there were no uniform standards regarding what should be included in an offender’s 
criminal history, no weighting format for different types of offenses, and no systematic process to check the 
accuracy of the information on criminal history. 
 
II.B.02.  The guidelines provide uniform standards for the inclusion and weighting of criminal history information.  
The sentencing hearing provides a process to assure the accuracy of the information in individual cases.  These 
improvements will increase fairness and equity in the consideration of criminal history. 
 
II.B.03.  No system of criminal history record keeping ever will be totally accurate and complete, and any 
sentencing system will have to rely on the best available criminal history information. 
 
II.B.04.  Generally, the classification of prior offenses as petty misdemeanors, misdemeanors, gross 
misdemeanors, or felonies should be determined on the basis of current Minnesota offense definitions and 
sentencing policies.  Exceptions to this are offenses in which a monetary threshold determines the offense 
classification.  In these situations, the monetary threshold in effect at the time the offense was committed 
determines the offense classification for criminal history purposes, not the current threshold. 
 
If a fine was given that was less than the misdemeanor level of fine classified by the laws in effect at the time the 
offense was committed, and that was the only sanction imposed, the conviction would be deemed a petty 
misdemeanor under Minn. R. Crim. P. 23.02, and would not be used to compute the criminal history score.  
Convictions which are petty misdemeanors by statutory definition, or which have been certified as petty 
misdemeanors under Minn. R. Crim. P. 23.04, will not be used to compute the criminal history score. 
 
 

The offender’s criminal history index score is computed in the following manner: 
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1. Subject to the conditions listed below, the offender is assigned a particular weight for 
every extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction and for every felony conviction for which 
a felony sentence was stayed or imposed before the current sentencing or for which a 
stay of imposition of sentence was given before the current sentencing.  Multiple 
sentences are sentenced in the order in which they occurred.  For purposes of this 
section, prior extended jurisdiction juvenile convictions are treated the same as prior 
felony sentences. 

 

a. The weight assigned to each prior felony sentence is determined 
according to its severity level, as follows: 

   Severity Level I – II = ½ point; 
   Severity Level III – V = 1 point; 
   Severity Level VI – VIII = 1 ½ points; 
   Severity Level IX – XI = 2 points; and 
   Murder 1st Degree = 2 points. 
 

The severity level to be used in assigning weights to prior offenses shall be 
based on the severity level ranking of the prior offense of conviction that is 
in effect at the time the offender commits the current offense. 

 
b. When multiple sentences for a single course of conduct were imposed 

pursuant to Minn. Stats. §§ 152.137, 609.585 or 609.251, only the offense 
at the highest severity level is considered; when multiple current 
convictions arise from a single course of conduct and multiple sentences 
are imposed on the same day pursuant to Minn. Stats. §§ 152.137, 
609.585, or 609.251, the conviction and sentence for the “earlier” offense 
should not increase the criminal history score for the “later” offense. 

 
c. Only the two offenses at the highest severity levels are considered for 

prior multiple sentences arising out of a single course of conduct in which 
there were multiple victims; 

 
d. When a prior felony conviction resulted in a misdemeanor or gross 

misdemeanor sentence, that conviction shall be counted as a 
misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor conviction for purposes of 
computing the criminal history score, and shall be governed by item 3 
section II.B.3 below; 

 
e. Prior felony sentences or stays of imposition following felony convictions 

will not be used in computing the criminal history score if a period of 
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fifteen years has elapsed since the date of discharge from or expiration of 
the sentence, to the date of the current offense. 

 
The felony point total is the sum of these weights; no partial points are given. 

 
**** 
 

2.  One point is assigned if the offender: 
**** 

 
An additional three months shall be added to the duration of the appropriate cell time which 
then becomes the presumptive duration when: 
 
 a. a custody status point is assigned; and 

b. the criminal history points that accrue to the offender without the addition of the 
custody status point places the offender in the far right hand column of the 
Sentencing Guidelines Grid. 

 
Three months shall also be added to the lower and upper end of the range provided in the 
appropriate cell.  If the current conviction is an attempt or conspiracy under Minn. Stats. §§ 
609.17 or 609.175 and three months is added to the cell duration under this section, the three 
months shall be added to the cell duration before that duration is halved pursuant to section II.G:   
Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers when determining the 
presumptive sentence duration.  No presumptive duration, however, shall be less than one year 
and one day. 

 
Comment 

 
II.B.204.  When three months is added to the cell duration as a result of the custody status provision, the lower 
and upper durations of the sentence range in the appropriate cell are also increased by three months. 
 
II.B.205.  When the conviction offense is an attempt or conspiracy under Minn. Stats. §  609.17 or 609.175 
and three months is added to the cell duration as a result of the custody status provision, the following procedure 
shall be used in determining the presumptive duration for the offense.  First, three months is added to the 
appropriate cell duration for the completed offense, which becomes the presumptive duration for the completed 
offense.  The presumptive duration for the completed offense is then divided by two which is the presumptive 
duration for those convicted of attempted offenses or conspiracies.  No such presumptive sentence, however, 
shall be less than one year and one day. 
 
**** 

5. The designation of out-of-state convictions as felonies, gross misdemeanors, or 
misdemeanors shall be governed by the offense definitions and sentences provided in 
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Minnesota law.  The weighting of prior out-of-state felonies is governed by section II.B.1 
(above) and shall be based on the severity level of the equivalent Minnesota felony 
offense; Federal felony offenses for which there is no comparable Minnesota offense 
shall receive a weight of one in computing the criminal history index score.  The 
determination of the equivalent Minnesota felony for an out-of-state felony is an 
exercise of the sentencing court’s discretion and is based on the definition of the foreign 
offense and the sentence received by the offender. 

 
Comment 
 
II.B.501.  Out-of-state convictions include convictions under the laws of any other state, or the federal 
government, including convictions under the Uniform Code of Military Justice, or convictions under the law of 
other nations. 
 
II.B.502.  The Commission concluded that convictions from other jurisdictions must, in fairness, be considered in 
the computation of an offender's criminal history index score.  It was recognized, however, that criminal conduct 
may be characterized differently by the various state and federal criminal jurisdictions.  There is no uniform 
nationwide characterization of the terms "felony," "gross misdemeanor," and "misdemeanor."  Generally, the 
classification of prior offenses as petty misdemeanors, misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies should be 
determined on the basis of current Minnesota offense definitions and sentencing policies.  Exceptions to this are 
offenses in which a monetary threshold determines the offense classification.  In these situations, the monetary 
threshold in effect at the time the offense was committed determines the offense classification for criminal history 
purposes, not the current threshold. 
 
II.B.503.  It was concluded, therefore, that designation of out-of-state offenses as felonies or lesser offenses, for 
purposes of the computation of the criminal history index score, must properly be governed by Minnesota law.  
The exception to this would be Federal felony crimes for which there is no comparable Minnesota felony offense.  
Sentences given for these crimes that are felony level sentences according to Minnesota law shall be given a 
weight of one point for purposes of calculating the criminal history score. 
 
II.B.504.  It was contemplated that the sentencing court, in its discretion, should make the final determination as 
to the weight accorded foreign convictions.  In so doing, sentencing courts should consider the nature and 
definition of the foreign offense, as well as the sentence received by the offender. 
 
 

6. When determining the criminal history score for a current offense that is a felony solely 
because the offender has previous convictions for similar or related misdemeanor and gross 
misdemeanor offenses, the prior gross misdemeanor conviction(s) upon which the 
enhancement is based may be used in determining custody status, but the prior 
misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor conviction(s) cannot be used in calculating the 
remaining components of the offender's criminal history score.  If the current offense is a 
first degree (felony) driving while impaired (DWI) offense and the offender has a prior felony 
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DWI offense, the prior felony DWI shall be used in computing the criminal history score, 
but the prior misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor offenses used to enhance the prior 
felony DWI cannot be used in the offender’s criminal history. 

 
 

Comment 
 
II.B.601.  There are a number of instances in Minnesota law in which misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor 
behavior carries a felony penalty as a result of the offender's prior record.  The Commission decided that in the 
interest of fairness, a prior offense that elevated the misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor behavior to a felony 
should not also be used in criminal history points other than custody status.  Only one prior offense should be 
excluded from the criminal history score calculation, unless more than one prior was required for the offense to 
be elevated to a felony.  For example, Assault in the Fifth Degree is a felony if the offender has two or more 
convictions for assaultive behavior.  In those cases the two related priors at the lowest level should be excluded.  
Similarly, theft crimes of more than $200 but less than $500 are felonies if the offender has at least one 
previous conviction for an offense specified in that statute.  In those cases, the prior related offense at the lowest 
level should be excluded. 
 
A first-time first degree (felony) driving while impaired (DWI) offense involves a DWI violation within ten years of 
the first of three or more prior impaired driving incidents.  Because the DWI priors elevated this offense to the 
felony level, they should be excluded from the criminal history score.   Those predicate offenses should also be 
excluded for a current felony DWI that is a felony because the offender has a prior felony DWI, but the prior 
Felony DWI would be counted as part of the felony criminal history score. 
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NUMERICAL REFERENCE OF FELONY STATUTES 

 
This statutory felony offense listing is for convenience in cross-referencing to the Offense Severity Table; it is 
not official nor is it intended to be used in place of the Offense Severity Reference Table. 

           
     SEVERITY 

STATUTE OFFENSE LEVEL 
 
243.166 subd. 5(b) Registration of Predatory Offenders  1 H 
 
243.166 subd. 5(c) Registration of Predatory Offenders  3 H 
  (2nd or subsequent violations)   
 
609.342  Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 (Sexual Penetration)  9 * A 
 
609.342  Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 (Sexual Contact-  8 * 
       victim under 13) 
 
609.343 subd.1(a)(b)(g) Criminal Sexual Conduct 2  6 D 
 
609.343 subd.1(c)(d)(e) Criminal Sexual Conduct 2  8 *  B 
 (f)(h) 
 
609.344 subd. 1(b)(e)(f) Criminal Sexual Conduct 3  5 D 
 
609.344 subd. 1(c)(d)(g) Criminal Sexual Conduct 3  8 C 
 (h)(i)(j)(k)(l)(m)(n) 
 
609.345 subd. 1(b)(e)(f) Criminal Sexual Conduct 4  4 F 
 
609.345 subd. 1(c)(d)(g) Criminal Sexual Conduct 4  6 E 
 (h)(i)(j)(k)(l)(m)(n) 
 
609.3451 subd. 3 Criminal Sexual Conduct 5  4 G 
 
609.352 subd. 2 Solicitation of Children to Engage in Sexual Conduct  3 G 
 
617.23 subd. 3 Indecent Exposure  4 G 

                                                 
* See II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence 
Modifiers. 
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617.246 Use of Minors in Sexual Performance Prohibited  unranked E 
 
617.247 subd. 3 Dissemination of Pictorial Representation of Minors unranked E 
 
617.247 subd. 3 Dissemination of Pictorial Representation of Minors unranked D 
                                              Subsequent or by Predatory Offender  
 
617.247 subd. 4 Possession of Pictorial Representation of Minors unranked G 
 
617.247 subd. 4 Possession of Pictorial Representation of Minors unranked F 
                                              Subsequent or by Predatory Offender  
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Felony DWI  
Cases Sentenced in 2004 

 
Sentencing Policy 
 
Felony Driving While Impaired went into effect August 1, 2002.  Minn. Stat. § 169A.276, subdivision 1(a) 
created a minimum 36-month felony sentence of imprisonment for this offense, while subdivision 1(b) 
allows for a stay of execution of that sentence but specifically forbids a stay of imposition or stay of 
adjudication. This means that the court is required to pronounce a period of incarceration even if the 
court intends on pronouncing a probationary sentence. 
 
The guidelines recommend sentences for the typical case based on the severity of the offense of 
conviction and the offender's criminal record.  Judges may depart from the recommended sentence if 
the circumstances of a case are substantial and compelling.  The court must provide reasons for the 
departure.  Both the prosecution and the defense may appeal the pronounced sentence. 
 
Regardless of whether the judge follows the guidelines, the sentence is fixed. An offender who is 
sentenced to prison will serve a term of imprisonment equal to at least two-thirds of the pronounced 
executed sentence.  The actual time the offender is incarcerated may be increased (up to the total 
sentence) if the offender violates disciplinary rules.  An offender receiving a prison sentence for a felony 
DWI is also subject to a 5-year term of conditional release (Minn. Stat. § 169A.276, subd. 1(d); MSGC 
II.E).  
 
For felony DWI, the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary (MSGC) presume a minimum 
36-month sentence be imposed by the court for this offense (MSGC II.E.).  For a person convicted of a 
felony DWI who has a criminal history score of less than 3, the sentencing guidelines presume a stayed 
sentence; however, if a person has a prior felony DWI conviction, the sentence is presumed to be an 
executed sentence of imprisonment, regardless of the criminal history score (MSGC II.C.).   
 
Offenders receiving stayed sentences can receive up to one year of local jail time as a condition of their 
probation and are subject to the mandatory penalty provisions specified in Minn. Stat. § 169A.275.  This 
statute provides that 4th time DWI offenders must be incarcerated for 180 days and 5th or more time 
offenders for one year, unless they are placed in an intensive supervision program. This statute also 
allows that a portion of this mandatory jail time may be served on electronic monitoring. 
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Volume of Cases and Offender Characteristics 
 

There were 860 offenders sentenced for felony DWI in 2004.  This was an increase of 6% over the 810 
offenders sentenced in 2003.   
  
Demographic Characteristics  
 
Felony DWI offenders are more likely to be White or Native American males than the overall offender 
population and a larger proportion were sentenced in Greater Minnesota (see figures 1-3).  The average 
age at time of offense was 36 for DWI offenders as compared to 30 for all offenders.  The distribution 
of Felony DWI cases by county can be found in the Appendix. 
 

Figure 1:  Distribution of Offenders by Sex: 
Felony DWI Offenders Compared to All Offenders 

Figure 2:  Distribution of Offenders by Race 
Felony DWI Offenders Compared to All Offenders 
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Figure 3:  Distribution of Offenders by Region 

Felony DWI Offenders Compared to All Offenders 
 
Criminal History 
 
All felony DWI offenders have at a minimum of three prior alcohol-related driving offenses on their 
record that serve as the predicate offenses upon which a felony DWI charge is based. Per the sentencing 
guidelines, the predicate offenses upon which a felony offense is based are not used in calculating an 
offender’s criminal history score (MSGC II.B.6). Thus, a first time felony DWI offender may be 
sentenced at a criminal history score of zero. 
 
Of the 860 cases sentenced in 2004, the greatest number of offenders (387 or 33%) was sentenced at a 
criminal history score of one, followed by 219 offenders (26%) sentenced at a criminal history score of 
zero and 151 offenders (18%) sentenced at a criminal history score of two. All totaled, the vast majority 
(77%) of offenders sentenced for felony DWI were sentenced at a criminal history score of two or less.  
A criminal history score of 2 or less is a presumed stayed sentence unless the offender’s criminal history 
score includes a prior felony DWI. Nineteen offenders sentenced at a criminal history score of two or 
less had a presumptive prison sentence because they had a prior felony DWI in their criminal history. 
 
Just over half of all offenders (57%) were under some kind of supervision (e.g., probation, release 
pending sentence, supervised release from prison) at the time they committed the current offense. 
Almost half (44%) of these offenders had other felony offenses (i.e., non-DWI felonies) on their record 
that contributed to their total criminal history score.  Altogether, 72 offenders (8%) had a prior felony 
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DWI in their criminal history.  Twenty-five of those 72 were sentenced for multiple felony DWIs at the 
same time and 47 offenders (5%) were sentenced for a subsequent felony DWI offense.   
 

Distribution of Cases by Criminal History Score 
 

Criminal History Score Number  Percent 

0 219 26% 

1 287 33% 

2 151 18% 

3 99 12% 

4 49 6% 

5 26 3% 

6 or more 29 3% 

 

Sentencing Practices 
 
Incarceration Rates 
 
At the time of sentencing, the court can impose one or more of several different sentences, the most 
restrictive being a sentence of imprisonment in a state facility for a period exceeding a year. The court 
may also impose a sentence of local incarceration for a period of up to one year as a condition of 
probation, as well as other sanctions including community work service, court ordered treatment, and 
fines. 
Of the 860 offenders sentenced for felony DWI, 131 (15%) were sentenced to imprisonment in a state 
facility. The average pronounced sentence for these 131 offenders was 52 months.  An additional 707 
offenders (82%) were sentenced to local incarceration as a condition of probation for an average period 
of 229 days.  The total incarceration rate (i.e., both offenders sentenced to prison and local 
incarceration) was 97%. The remaining 22 offenders (3%) received other sanctions imposed by the court 
at sentencing.  For the 728 offenders placed on probation, the average pronounced length of probation 
was 76 months.  One offender received probation for one year, all other offenders were placed on 
probation for two years or longer.  Most (72%) of the offenders placed on probation received a 
probation period equal to the statutory maximum of seven years (84 months).   
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Incarceration Type and Durations Felony DWI Offenders 
 

Type Number  Percent 
Average Pronounced 

Durations 

Prison 131 15.2% 52 months 

Local Jail Time 707 82.2% 229 days 

Other Sanctions 22 2.6%  

Total 860 100%  

 
Departure Rates 
 
A departure occurs when the court imposes a sentence that is different from that presumed under the 
sentencing guidelines.  A departure can be to the presumed disposition of the sentence (i.e., whether 
the guidelines calls for a stayed probationary sentence or a commitment to prison) or to the presumed 
duration or the sentence measured in months.  A departure can be “aggravated” meaning either 
imposing a prison sentence on a presumptive stayed probationary sentence, or imposing a greater 
amount of time than that presumed by the sentencing guidelines. A departure can be “mitigated” 
meaning either imposing a stayed probationary sentence on a presumed prison sentence, or by imposing 
a shorter duration than that presumed under the sentencing guidelines. 
 
Dispositional Departures 
 
Of the 860 cases sentenced in 2004, 222 (75%) were presumptive prison sentences under the 
sentencing guidelines.  Of those 222 cases, 126 (57%) were given the presumptive sentence and 
committed to prison. The remaining 96 cases (43%) were given a mitigated dispositional departure and 
placed on probation.  The mitigated dispositional departure rate for Felony DWI cases sentenced 
through the end of 2003 was 37%. 
 
Of the 638 cases where the sentencing guidelines presumed a stayed sentence, 5 (1%) were given an 
aggravated dispositional departure and committed to prison. The remaining 633 cases received the 
presumptive stayed sentence and were placed on probation. As noted above, a stayed sentence where 
the offender is placed on probation might include up to a year of incarceration in a local facility as a 
condition of the probation. 
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Dispositional Departures 
 

Sentence Received Departure Rate Presumptive 
Disposition  Prison  Probation  

Prison – 222 126 (57%) 96 (43%) Mitigated – 43% 

Probation – 638 5 (1%) 633 (99%) Aggravated – 1% 

Total – 860 131(15%) 729 (85%) Total Dispositional -12% 

 
The most frequently cited reasons for the mitigated dispositional departures included amenability to 
probation (60%) and treatment (53%).  In 25% of these departures, the court cited the defendant’s show 
of remorse or acceptance of responsibility as a reason for departure and in 18% placing the offender on 
long term supervision was cited as a reason for departure.  In 40% of the mitigated dispositional 
departures, the court cited a plea negotiation, recommendation by the prosecutor, or failure by the 
prosecutor to object as a reason for departure.  In 15% of these cases, the court stated that the 
prosecutor objected to the mitigated disposition.  Of the five cases where a prison sentence was 
imposed even though the presumptive disposition was probation, 3 (60%) were the result of the 
defendant’s request for a prison sentence.   
 
Durational Departures on Prison Cases 
 
Of the 131 cases sentenced to prison, 85 (65%) received the sentence duration recommended under 
the sentencing guidelines.  Five cases received a duration greater than that recommended by the 
sentencing guidelines and the remaining 41 cases (31%) received a sentence duration shorter than that 
recommended by the sentencing guidelines.  This is a decrease from the 44% mitigated durational 
departure rate observed for felony DWI cases sentenced through the end of 2003.  In 61% of the 
mitigated durational departures sentenced in 2004, the court cited plea agreement or recommendation 
or lack of objection by the prosecutor as a reason for departure.  The court stated that the prosecutor 
objected to only 2 (5%) of the mitigated durations.  Other most frequently cited reasons for mitigated 
durations included: the offenders showed remorse or accepted responsibility (29%), the crime was less 
onerous than typical (17%), and that by pleading guilty the offender saved the taxpayers the cost of a 
trial (10%).  Of the five aggravated durational departures, one was the result of a plea negotiation, three 
resulted from errors in calculating the presumptive sentence, and in one case the court stated that the 
crime was more onerous than typical.    



  

 

72

 

MSGC Report to the Legislature 

Durational Departures-Executed Sentences 
 

Number of Executed 
Sentences 

No 
Departure 

Aggravated 
Departures 

Mitigated 
Departures 

Total Departure 
Rate 

131 85 (65%) 5 (4%) 41 (31%) 35% 

 
Revocations to Prison 
 
A revocation occurs when an offender placed on probation violates the conditions of that probation. A 
revocation can add additional sanctions to an offender’s sentence or can result in the offender being sent 
to prison to serve their sentence.  Information from the Department of Corrections indicates that 63 
felony DWI offenders were admitted in 2004 as probation revocations.  There were 24 probation 
revocations in 2003 for a total of 87.  Since the felony DWI law went into effect, (August 1, 2002) 1,772 
offenders have been sentenced (102 in 2002, 810 in 2003, and 860 in 2004) and 1,518 offenders have 
been placed on probation.  With 87 probation revocations, the revocation rate through the end of 2004 
is 5.7%. 
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County Attorney Reports 
Current law directs county attorneys to collect and 
maintain information on criminal complaints and 
prosecutions within the county attorney’s office in which 
a defendant is alleged to have committed an offense 
while possessing or using a firearm.  This information is 
then forwarded to the Sentencing Guidelines 
Commission no later than July 1 of each year.  Pursuant 
to M.S. § 244.09, subdivision 14, the Sentencing 
Guidelines Commission is required to include in its 
annual Report to the Legislature a summary and 
analysis of the reports received from county attorneys.  
Memoranda describing the ongoing mandate by the Legislature along with forms (See 
Appendix) on which to report their county’s cases are distributed to Minnesota’s county 
attorneys.  Although commission staff clarifies inconsistencies in the summary data, the 
information received from the county attorneys is reported directly as provided. 
 
This year the Commission received information from all 87 Minnesota counties.  Figure 1 below 
displays a historical summary of cases since the mandate began.  In FY 2005 there were a total 
of 731 cases in which a defendant allegedly committed an offense listed in subdivision 9 of M.S. 
§ 609.11 while possessing or using a firearm.  Case volume was up 4.3 percent from last year. 
 
Figures 2 through 5 summarize this year’s statewide information.  Tables providing information 
for individual counties are included in the Appendix. 
 
 
FIGURE 1. Historical Case Summary 
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FIGURE 2. 

Total Number Cases Allegedly Involving Firearms 
       Offenses Listed in M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 9 

 
• Prosecutors charged offenders in 96 percent of the cases allegedly involving firearms.  

This figure remains the same as reported last year. 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FIGURE 3. Offenses Charged – Case Outcomes 
 

• Among those cases charged, 70 percent were convicted of an offense listed in M.S. § 
609.11, subdivision 9.  This figure is was the same percent recorded in FY 2004. 
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FIGURE 4. 
Convictions for Offenses Listed in M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 9 - 

                 Firearm Established on the Record 
 

• There were 489 convictions for offenses listed in M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 9.  In 93 percent of 
the cases, a firearm was established on the record.  This is slightly lower from 94 percent as 
reported in FY 2004. 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FIGURE 5. Mandatory Minimum Sentences Imposed and Executed 
 

• A mandatory minimum sentence was imposed and executed in 63.1 percent of the cases where 
it was required.  This figure was 61 percent in FY 2004 and 66 percent in FY 2003. 
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SENTENCING GUIDELINES GRID 

Presumptive Sentence Lengths in Months 
Italicized numbers within the grid denote the range within which a judge may sentence without the sentence being deemed a 
departure.  Offenders with nonimprisonment felony sentences are subject to jail time according to law. 
 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE SEVERITY LEVEL OF 
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Common offenses listed in italics) 

0 1 2 3 4 5 
6 or 

more 

Murder, 2nd Degree 
(intentional murder; drive-by shootings) 

XI 
306 

261-367 
326 

278-391 
346 

295-415 
366 

312-439 
386 

329-463 
406 

346-4803  
426 

363-4803  

Murder, 3rd Degree 
Murder, 2nd Degree 
(unintentional murder) 

X 
150 

128-180 
165 

141-198 
180 

153-216 
195 

166-234 
210 

179-252 
225 

192-270 
240 

204-288 

Criminal Sexual Conduct,1st Degree 2 
Assault, 1st Degree 

IX 
86 

74-103 
98 

84-117 
110 

94-132 
122 

104-146 
134 

114-160 
146 

125-175 
158 

135-189 

Aggravated Robbery 1st Degree 
Criminal Sexual Conduct, 
2nd Degree (c),(d),(e),(f),(h) 2 

VIII 
48 

41-57 
58 

50-69 
68 

58-81 
78 

67-93 
88 

75-105 
98 

84-117 
108 

92-129 

Felony DWI VII 36 42 48 
54 

46-64 
60 

51-72 
66 

57-79 
72 

62-86 

Criminal Sexual Conduct, 
2nd Degree (a) & (b) 

VI 21 27 33 
39 

34-46 
45 

39-54 
51 

44-61 
57 

49-68 

Residential Burglary 
Simple Robbery 

V 18 23 28 
33 

29-39 
38 

33-45 
43 

37-51 
48 

41-57 

Nonresidential Burglary IV 121 15 18 21 
24 

21-28 
27 

23-32 
30 

26-36 

Theft Crimes  (Over $2,500) III 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 
21 

18-25 
23 

20-27 

Theft Crimes  ($2,500 or less)     Check 
Forgery  ($200-$2,500) 

II 121 121 13 15 17 19 
21 

18-25 

Sale of Simulated 
Controlled Substance 

I 121 121 121 13 15 17 
19 

17-22 

 

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.  First Degree Murder is excluded from the guidelines by law and continues to have a 
mandatory life sentence.  See section II.E. Mandatory Sentences for policy regarding those sentences controlled by law, including minimum 
periods of supervision for sex offenders released from prison. 

 

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the judge, up to a year in jail and/or other non-jail sanctions can be imposed as conditions of 
probation.  However, certain offenses in this section of the grid always carry a presumptive commitment to state prison.  See sections II.C. 
Presumptive Sentence and II.E. Mandatory Sentences. 

1    One year and one day 

2 Pursuant to M.S. § 609.342, subd. 2 and 609.343, subd. 2, the presumptive sentence for Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree is a minimum of 144 
months and the presumptive sentence for Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree – clauses c, d, e, f, and h is a minimum of 90 months (see II.C. 
Presumptive Sentence and II.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers).  Pursuant to M.S. § 609.3455, certain sex 
offenders are subject to life sentences.  Some of these life sentences are life without release, while others are indeterminate life sentences with the 
minimum term of imprisonment specified by the court and based upon the sentencing guidelines and any applicable mandatory minimums.  See II.C.  
Presumptive Sentence. 

3 M.S. § 244.09 requires the Sentencing Guidelines to provide a range of 15% downward and 20% upward from the presumptive sentence.  However, 
because the statutory maximum sentence for these offenses is no more than 40 years, the range is capped at that number. 

Effective August 1, 2005 
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SPECIFIC GUIDELINES MODIFICATIONS 
Effective August 1, 2005 

 
 

I. Modifications Adopted by the Commission in December 2004 and 
Approved During the 2005 Legislative Session 

 
 

A. The Commission adopted the following modifications related to the Blakely 
decision:  

 
 

1. Departure Language 
 
D.  Departures from the Guidelines:  The sentences ranges provided in the Sentencing Guidelines 
Grid are presumed to be appropriate for every case the crimes to which they apply.  Thus, the judge shall 
utilize the presumptive sentence provided in the sentencing guidelines pronounce a sentence within the 
applicable range unless the individual case involves there exist identifiable, substantial, and compelling 
circumstances to support a sentence outside the range on the grid.  A sentence outside the applicable 
range on the grid is a departure from the sentencing guidelines and is not controlled by the guidelines, 
but rather, is an exercise of judicial discretion constrained by case law and appellate review. However, in 
exercising the discretion to depart from a presumptive sentence, the judge must disclose in writing or on 
the record the particular When such circumstances are present, the judge may depart from the 
presumptive sentence and stay or impose any sentence authorized by law.  When departing from the 
presumptive sentence, the court should pronounce a sentence which is proportional to the severity of 
the offense of conviction and the extent of the offender's prior criminal history, and should take into 
substantial consideration the statement of purpose and principles in Section I, above.  When departing 
from the presumptive sentence, a judge must provide written reasons which specify the substantial and 
compelling nature of the circumstances that, and which demonstrate why the sentence selected in the 
departure is make the departure more appropriate, reasonable, or equitable than the presumptive 
sentence. 
 
Furthermore, if an aggravated durational departure is to be considered, the judge must afford the accused 
an opportunity to have a jury trial on the additional facts that support the departure and to have the facts 
proved beyond a reasonable doubt.  If the departure facts are proved beyond a reasonable doubt, the 
judge may exercise the discretion to depart from the presumptive sentence.  In exercising that discretion, 
it is recommended that the judge pronounce a sentence that is proportional to the severity of the crime 
for which the sentence is imposed and the offender’s criminal history, and take into consideration the 
purposes and underlying principles of the sentencing guidelines.  Because departures are by definition 
exceptions to the sentencing guidelines, the departure factors set forth in II.D are advisory only, except 
as otherwise established by settled case law.  When the conviction is for a criminal sexual conduct 
offense or offense in which the victim was otherwise injured, and victim injury is established in proving 
the elements of the crime, an aggravated durational departure is possible without a jury determination of 
additional facts if the departure is based on the offender’s prior history of a conviction for a prior 
criminal sexual conduct offense or an offense in which victim injury was established as an element of the 
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offense. 
 

Comment 
 
II.D.01.  The guideline sentences are presumed to be appropriate for every case. However, there will be a small 
number of cases where substantial and compelling aggravating or mitigating factors are present.  When such 
factors are present, the judge may depart from the presumptive disposition or duration provided in the guidelines, 
and stay or impose a sentence that is deemed to be more appropriate, reasonable, or equitable than the 
presumptive sentence.  A defendant has the right to a jury trial to determine whether or not aggravating factors 
are proved beyond a reasonable doubt.   
 
II.D.02.  Decisions with respect to disposition and duration are logically separate. Departures with respect to 
disposition and duration also are logically separate decisions.  A judge may depart from the presumptive 
disposition without departing from the presumptive duration, and vice-versa.  A judge who departs from the 
presumptive disposition as well as the presumptive duration has made two separate departure decisions, each 
requiring written reasons. 
 
II.D.03.  The aggravating or mitigating factors and the written reasons supporting the departure must be 
substantial and compelling to overcome the presumption in favor of the guideline sentence.  The purposes of the 
sentencing guidelines cannot be achieved unless the presumptive sentences are applied with a high degree of 
regularity. Sentencing disparity cannot be reduced if judges depart from the guidelines frequently. Certainty in 
sentencing cannot be attained if departure rates are high.  Prison populations will exceed capacity if departures 
increase imprisonment rates significantly above past practice. 
 
II.D.04.  Plea agreements are important to our criminal justice system because it is not possible to support a 
system where all cases go to trial.  However, it is important to have balance in the criminal justice system where 
plea agreements are recognized as legitimate and necessary and the goals of the sentencing guidelines are 
supported.  If a plea agreement involves a sentence departure and no other reasons are provided, there is little 
information available to provide for informed policy making or to ensure consistency, proportionality, and 
rationality in sentencing. 
 
Departures and their reasons highlight both the success and problems of the existing sentencing guidelines.  When 
a plea agreement is made that involves a departure from the presumptive sentence, the court should cite the 
reasons that underlie the plea agreement or explain the reasons the negotiation was accepted. 
 
 

2. Permissive Consecutive Sentences 
 
II.F.  Concurrent/Consecutive Sentences:  **** 
 
Permissive Consecutive Sentences 
Except when consecutive sentences are presumptive, consecutive sentences are permissive (may be given 
without departure) only in the following cases: 
 

1. A current felony conviction for a crime against a person on the list of offenses eligible for 
permissive consecutive sentences found in Section VI  may be sentenced consecutively to a 
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prior felony sentence for a crime against a person listed in Section VI which has not expired 
or been discharged; or 

 
2. Multiple current felony convictions for crimes against persons on the list of offenses eligible 

for permissive consecutive sentences found in Section VI may be sentenced consecutively to 
each other; or  

 … 

Consecutive sentences are permissive under the above criteria numbers 1, 2, and 4 only when the 
presumptive disposition for the current offense(s) is commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections as 
determined under the procedures outlined in section II.C.  In addition, consecutive sentences are 
permissive under number 1 above, involving a current felony conviction for a crime against a person and 
a prior felony sentence for a crime against a person which has not expired or been discharged, only when 
the presumptive disposition for the prior offense(s) was commitment to the Commissioner of 
Corrections as determined under the procedures outlined in section II.C.  If the judge pronounces a 
consecutive stayed sentence in these circumstances, the stayed sentence is a mitigated dispositional 
departure, but the consecutive nature of the sentence is not a departure if the offense meets one of the 
above criteria.  The consecutive stayed sentence begins when the offender completes the term of 
imprisonment and is placed on supervised release. 
 

Comment 
 
**** 
 
II.F.04.  The Commission's policy on permissive consecutive sentencing outline the criteria that are necessary to 
permit consecutive sentencing without the requirement to cite reasons for departure.  Judges may pronounce 
consecutive sentences in any other situation by citing reasons for departure.  Judges may also pronounce 
durational and dispositional departures both upward and downward in cases involving consecutive sentencing if 
reasons for departure are cited.  The reasons for each type of departure should be specifically cited.  The 
procedures for departures are outlined in Section II.D. of the guidelines. 
 
It is permissive for multiple current felony convictions against persons for offenses on the eligible list to be 
sentenced consecutively to each other when the presumptive disposition for these offenses is commitment to the 
Commissioner of Corrections as determined under the procedures outlined in Section II.C.  Presumptive Sentence.  
Consecutive sentencing is permissive under these circumstances even when the offenses involve a single victim 
involving a single course of conduct.  However, consecutive sentencing is not permissive under these circumstances 
when the court has given an upward durational departure on any of the current offenses.  The Commission 
believes that to give both an upward durational departure and a consecutive sentence when the circumstances 
involve one victim and a single course of conduct can result in disproportional sentencing unless additional 
aggravating factors exist to justify the consecutive sentence. 
 
**** 
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VI.   OFFENSES ELIGIBLE FOR PERMISSIVE CONSECUTIVE SENTENCES 

Statute Number Offense 
152.021 subd. 2a(a) Manufacture any amount of Methamphetamine 
152.022 subd. 1 (5) Sells Cocaine/Narcotic to Minor/Employs Minor 
152.023 subd. 1 (3) Sells Sch. I,II,III to Minor (not Narcotic) 
152.023 subd. 1 (4) Sells Sch I,II,III Employs Minor (not Narcotic) 
152.024 subd. 1 (2) Schedule IV or V to Minor 
152.024 subd. 1 (3) Employs Minor to sell Schedule IV or V 
152.0261 subd. 1a Employing a Minor to Import Controlled Substances 
152.137 Methamphetamine Crimes Involving Children or Vulnerable Adults 
169.09 subd. 14(a)(1) Accidents- Resulting in Death 
169.09 subd. 14(a)(2) Accidents- Great Bodily Harm 
169A.24 subd. 1 (1) First Degree DWI – 4 or more w/in 10 years 
169A.24 subd. 1 (2) First Degree DWI – 2nd or subsequent 
243.166 subd. 5 (b) Registration of Predatory Offenders 
243.166 subd. 5 (c) Registration of Predatory Offenders - 2nd or subsequent 
518B.01 subd. 14(d) Violation of an Order for Protection 
609.185 Conspiracy/Attempted Murder in the First Degree 
609.19  Murder in the Second Degree  
609.195 Murder in the Third Degree 
609.20 Manslaughter in the First Degree 
609.205 Manslaughter Second Degree 
609.21 subd. 1 & 3 Criminal Vehicular Homicide 
609.21 subd. 2 & 4  Criminal Vehicular Injury - Great Bodily Harm  
609.21 subd. 2a Criminal Vehicular Injury - Substantial Bodily Harm  
609.215 Aiding Suicide 
609.221  Assault 1 
609.222  Assault 2 - Dangerous Weapon 
609.223 Assault 3  
609.2231 Assault 4  
609.224 subd. 4 Assault 5 - 3rd or subsequent violation 
609.2241  Knowing Transfer of Communicable Disease 
609.2242 subd. 4 Domestic Assault 
609.2245 Female Genital Mutilation 
609.2247 Domestic Assault by Strangulation 
609.228 Great Bodily Harm - Distribution of Drugs 
609.229 subd. 3  Crime Committed for Benefit of Gang  
609.2325 subd. 3(1) Criminal Abuse of Vulnerable Adult (Death) 
609.2325 subd. 3(2) Criminal Abuse of Vulnerable Adult (Great Bodily Harm) 
609.2325 subd. 3(3) Criminal Abuse of Vulnerable Adult (Substantial Bodily Harm) 
609.235 Use of Drugs to Injure or Facilitate Crime 
609.24 Simple Robbery 
609.245 subd. 1 Aggravated Robbery 1 
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Statute Number Offense 
609.245 subd. 2 Aggravated Robbery 2 
609.25  Kidnapping 
609.255  False Imprisonment  
609.2661  Consp./At. Murder I of Unborn Child 
609.2662  Murder 2 of an Unborn Child 
609.2663 Murder 3 of an Unborn Child 
609.2664  Manslaughter 1 of an Unborn Child 
609.2665  Manslaughter 2 of an Unborn Child 
609.267 Assault 1 of an Unborn Child 
609.2671 Assault 2 of an Unborn Child 
609.268  Death or Injury of an Unborn Child in Comm. of Crime 
609.282 Labor Trafficking 
609.322 subd. 1 Solicit, Promote, or Profit from Prost. Under 18 
609.322 subd. 1a  Solicit, Promote, or Profit from Prost. (No Age Limit) 
609.324 subd. 1(a) Engage or Hire a Minor to Engage in Prostitution 
609.324 subd. 1(b) Engage or Hire a Minor to Engage in Prostitution 
609.324 subd. 1(c) Engage or Hire a Minor to Engage in Prostitution 
609.342 subd. 1 Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 
609.343 subd. 1 Criminal Sexual Conduct 2 
609.344 subd. 1 Criminal Sexual Conduct 3 
609.345 subd. 1 Criminal Sexual Conduct 4 
609.3451 subd. 3 Criminal Sexual Conduct 5 
609.3453 Criminal Sexual Predatory Conduct 
609.352 subd. 2 Solicitation of Children to Engage in Sexual Conduct 
609.365 Incest 
609.377  Malicious Punish. of Child  
609.378 Child Neglect/Endangerment 
609.485 subd. 4(a)(3) Escape with Violence from GM or Misd. Offense 
609.485 subd. 4(b)  Escape with Violence from Felony offense 
609.487 subd. 4(a) Fleeing Peace Officer (Resulting in Death) 
609.487 subd. 4(b) Fleeing Peace Officer (Great Bodily Harm) 
609.487 subd. 4(c) Fleeing Peace Officer (Substantial Bodily Harm) 
609.498 subd. 1a Tampering with a Witness in the First Degree 
609.498 subd. 1b Tampering with a Witness, Aggravated First Degree 
609.527  Identity Theft  
609.561  Arson in the First Degree 
609.582 subd. 1(a) Burglary First Degree - of Occupied Dwelling 
609.582 subd. 1(b) 
609.582 subd. 1(c) 

Burglary First Degree with Dangerous Weapon  
Burglary First Degree with Assault 

609.582 subd. 2(a)  
609.582 subd. 2(b) 

Burglary Second Degree – Dwelling 
Burglary Second Degree – Bank 

609.591 subd. 3 (1) Hinder Logging (Great Bodily Harm) 
609.594 subd. 2 Damage to Property – Critical Public Service Facilities 
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Statute Number Offense 
609.66 subd. 1e  Drive-By Shooting 
609.662 subd. 2 (b)(1) Duty to Render Aid (Death or Great Bodily Harm) 
609.662 subd. 2 (b)(2) Duty to Render Aid (substantial bodily harm) 
609.671  Hazardous Wastes 
609.687 subd. 3(1) Adulteration Resulting in Death 
609.687 subd. 3(2) Adulteration Resulting in Bodily Harm 
609.71 subd. 1 Riot 1 
609.712 Real/Simulated Weapons of Mass Destruction  
609.713 subd. 1 Terroristic Threats-Violence Threat/Evacuation 
609.713 subd. 2 Terroristic Threats-Bomb Threat 
609.713 subd. 3(a) Terroristic Threats-Replica Firearm 
609.714 subd. 2 Crimes Committed in Furtherance of Terrorism 
609.748 subd. 6(d) Violation of Restraining Order 
609.749 subd. 3 Harassment/Stalking (Aggravated Violations)  
609.749 subd. 4 Harassment/Stalking (Subsequent Violations) 
609.749 subd. 5 Harassment/Stalking (Pattern of Conduct) 
609.855 subd. 2(c)(1) Interference with Transit Operator 
609.855 subd. 5 Discharge Firearm at Occup. Tran. Vehicle/Facility 
617.23 subd. 3 Indecent Exposure 
617.246, subd. 2 
617.246, subd. 3 
617.246, subd. 4 

Use of Minors in Sexual Performance Prohibited 
Operation/Owner-Use of Minors in Sexual Perform. 
Dissemination-Use of Minors in Sexual Performance 

617.247, subd. 3(a)  
617.247, subd. 3(b) 

Dissemination of Pictorial Representations of Minors 
Dissemination by Predatory Offender 

617.247, subd. 4(a)  
617.247, subd. 4(b) 

Possession of Pictorial Representations of Minors 
Possession by Predatory Offender 

624.732 subd. 2 Intentional Release of Harmful Substance 
624.74 Metal Penetrating Bullets 

 
 

B. The Commission adopted a proposal to rank the following crime in Section 
V.  OFFENSE SEVERITY REFERENCE TABLE and to remove this crime 
from the list of unranked offenses in Comment II.A.03: 

 
   

III Anhydrous Ammonia (tamper/theft/transport) – 18D.331 subd. 5 
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II. Adopted Modifications Associated With New and Amended 
Crimes Passed by the Legislature During the 2005 Legislative 
Session 

 
 

A. The Commission adopted a proposal to rank the following crimes in 
Section V.  OFFENSE SEVERITY REFERENCE TABLE: 

 
   

V Possession of Substances with Intent to Manufacture Methamphetamine – 152.0262 
   

 
   

IV Domestic Assault by Strangulation – 609.2247 
   

 
  Attempted Manufacture of Methamphetamine – 152.021, subd. 2a(b) 
  Anhydrous Ammonia (tampter/theft/transport) – 18D.331, subd. 5 152.136 

III Methamphetamine Crimes Involving Children and Vulnerable Adults – 152.137 

  
Obstructing Legal Process, Arrest, or Firefighting, or Ambulance Service Personnel  Crew – 

609.50, subd. 2 
 

   
II Electronic Use of False Pretense to Obtain Identity – 609.527, subd. 5a 

   
 

  Assault 4 – 609.2231, subd. 1, 2, & 3, & 3a 
I Criminal Use of Real Property (Movie Pirating) – 609.896 

  Escape from Civil Commitment – 609.485, subd. 4 (a) (4) 
  Interference with Privacy (subsequent violations & minor victim) – 609.746, subd. 1(e) 

 
 

B. The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following offenses to the 
unranked offense list in Comment II.A.03: 

 
Labor Trafficking – 609.282 
Unlawful Conduct with Documents in Furtherance of Labor or Sex Trafficking – 609.283 
 

C. The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following crime to the 
Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offense List: 

 
Predatory Offender Carrying a Weapon 
624.714, subd. 24 
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D. The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following crimes to Section 
VI.  OFFENSES ELIGIBLE FOR PERMISSIVE CONSECUTIVE 
SENTENCING: 

 
152.137 Methamphetamine Crimes Involving Children and Vulnerable Adults 
609.2247 Domestic Assault by Strangulation 
609.282 Labor Trafficking 
609.3453 Criminal Sexual Predatory Conduct 

 
 

E. The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following language to 
Sections II.C. and II.E of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and 
Commentary to address the new mandatory life sentences for certain sex 
offenders: 

 
C.  Presumptive Sentence:  **** 
 
The line on the Sentencing Guidelines Grid demarcates those cases for whom the presumptive sentence 
is executed from those for whom the presumptive sentence is stayed.  For cases contained in cells above 
and to the right of the line, the sentence should be executed.  For cases contained in cells below and to 
the left of the line, the sentence should be stayed, unless the conviction offense carries a mandatory 
minimum sentence. 
 
Pursuant to M.S. § 609.3455, certain sex offenders are subject to mandatory life sentences.  The 
sentencing guidelines presumptive sentence does not apply to offenders subject to mandatory life without 
the possibility of release sentences under subdivision 2 of that statute.  For offenders subject to life with 
the possibility of release sentences under subdivisions 3 and 4 of that statute, the court shall specify a 
minimum term of imprisonment, based on the sentencing guidelines or any applicable mandatory 
minimum sentence, that must be served before the offender may be considered for release. 
 
The sentencing guidelines do not apply to offenders sentenced under M.S. § 609.109, subdivision 3, which 
mandates a life sentence for certain repeat sex offenders.  The minimum term of imprisonment for 
offenders sentenced under this statute is 30 years. 
 
Pursuant to M.S. § 609.342, subdivision 2, the presumptive sentence for a conviction of Criminal Sexual 
Conduct in the First Degree is an executed sentence of at least 144 months. Sentencing a person in a 
manner other than that described in M.S. § 609.342, subdivision 2 is a departure.  The presumptive 
duration for an attempt or conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree is one-half 
of the time listed in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, or any mandatory minimum, 
whichever is longer. 
 
Pursuant to M.S. § 609.343, subdivision 2, the presumptive sentence for a conviction of Criminal Sexual 
Conduct in the Second Degree, 609.343 subd. 1 clauses (c), (d), (e), (f), and (h), is an executed sentence 
of at least 90 months. Sentencing a person in a manner other than that described in M.S. § 609.343, 
subdivision 2 is a departure.  The presumptive duration for an attempt or conspiracy to commit Criminal 
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Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree is one-half of the time listed in the appropriate cell of the 
Sentencing Guidelines Grid, or any mandatory minimum, whichever is longer. 
 
**** 

Comment 
**** 
II.C.10.  The 2005 Legislature enacted statutory changes allowing life sentences with the possibility of release for 
certain sex offenders.  The statute requires the sentencing judge to pronounce a minimum term of imprisonment, 
based on the sentencing guidelines and any applicable mandatory minimum, that the offender must serve before 
being considered for release.  All applicable sentencing guidelines provisions, including the procedures for departing 
from the presumptive sentence, are applicable in the determination of the minimum term of imprisonment for 
these sex offense sentences. 
 
**** 
 
E.  Mandatory Sentences:  **** 
 
First degree murder, and certain sex offenders convicted under subject to Minn. Stat. § 609.109, subd. 3 
and § 609.3455, subdivision 2, which have a mandatory life imprisonment sentences, are excluded from 
offenses covered by the sentencing guidelines. 
 
**** 

F. The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following language to  
Section II.G. of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary to 
address the new Criminal Sexual Predatory Conduct offense: 

 
II.G.  Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers:  For persons 
convicted of attempted offenses or conspiracies to commit an offense, Solicitation of Juveniles under 
Minn. Stat. § 609.494, subd. 2(b), Solicitation of Mentally Impaired Persons under Minn. Stat. § 609.493, or 
Aiding an Offender – Taking Responsibility for Criminal Acts under Minn. Stat. § 609.495, subd. 4, the 
presumptive sentence is determined by locating the Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell defined by the 
offender's criminal history score and the severity level of the completed or intended offense or the 
offense committed by the principal offender, and dividing the duration contained therein by two, but such 
sentence shall not be less than one year and one day except that for Conspiracy to Commit a Controlled 
Substance offense as per Minn. Stat. § 152.096, in which event the presumptive sentence shall be that for 
the completed offense. 
 
For persons convicted of attempted offenses or conspiracies to commit an offense with a mandatory 
minimum of a year and a day or more, the presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum or one-half 
the duration specified in the applicable Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell, whichever is greater.  For persons 
convicted of an attempt or conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree (M.S. § 
609.342) or Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree (M.S. § 609.343, subd. 1(c), (d), (e), (f), and 
(h)), the presumptive duration is one-half of that found in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing 
Guidelines Grid or any mandatory minimum, whichever is longer. 
 

For persons sentenced under Minn. Stat. § 609.714 (an offense committed in furtherance of terrorism), 
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the presumptive sentence duration for the underlying offense is increased 50%.  The presumptive 
sentence is determined by locating the Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell defined by the offender's criminal 
history score and the severity level of the underlying crime. 
 

For persons sentenced under Minn. Stat. § 609.3453 (criminal sexual predatory conduct), the 
presumptive sentence duration for the underlying offense, located in the Sentencing Guidelines Grid Cell 
defined by the offender’s criminal history score and the severity level of the underlying crime, is increased 
by 25%.  If the person was convicted and sentenced for a sex offense before the commission of the 
present offense, the presumptive sentence duration for the underlying offense is increased by 50%.  Any 
partial months resulting from this calculation should be rounded down to the nearest half month. 
 

**** 
 
For persons sentenced under Minn. Stat. § 609.229, subd. 3(a) where there is a sentence for an offense 
committed for the benefit of a gang, the presumptive disposition is always commitment to the 
Commissioner of Corrections due to the mandatory minimum under Minn. Stat. § 609.229, subd. 4.  The 
presumptive duration is determined by the duration contained in the Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell 
defined by the offender's criminal history score and the severity level of the underlying crime with the 
highest severity level, or the mandatory minimum, whichever is greater, plus an additional 12 months.  If 
the underlying crime is an attempt, the presumptive duration includes an additional 6 months rather than 
12. 
 
Any changes to presumptive sentences under this section are also applied to the upper and lower 
numbers of the sentencing range provided on the Sentencing Guidelines Grid. 
 
 

G. The Commission adopted the following modifications to Section II.E. of the 
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary to address the increased 
conditional release terms for sex offenders and the expanded application of 
conditional release to Failure of Predatory Offenders to Register (risk level 
III sex offenders) and to Fourth Degree Assault against secure treatment 
facility personnel. 

 
E.  Mandatory Sentences:  **** 
 
When an offender is sentenced for first degree (felony) driving while impaired, the court must impose a 
sentence of at least 36 months.  The presumptive disposition is determined by the dispositional line on 
the Sentencing Guidelines Grid.  For cases contained in cells above and to the right of the line, the 
sentence should be executed.  For cases contained in cells below and to the left of the line, the sentence 
should be stayed unless the offender has a prior conviction for a felony DWI, in which case the 
presumptive disposition is Commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections.  In addition, when the 
court commits a person convicted of first degree (felony) driving while impaired to the custody of the 
commissioner of corrections, it shall provide that after the person has been released from prison the 
commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. 
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Several Minnesota statutes provide for mandatory conditional release terms that must be served by 
certain offenders once they are released from prison.  When a court commits a person subject to one of 
these statutes to the custody of the commissioner of corrections, it shall provide that after the person 
has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for the 
designated term.  A person committed to prison for a sex offense is subject to a ten-year conditional 
release term.  If the person was convicted of a sex offense before conviction for the current sex offense 
and either the present or prior sex offense was for a violation of M.S. §§ 609.342 (first degree criminal 
sexual conduct), 609.343 (second degree criminal sexual conduct), 609.344 (third degree criminal sexual 
conduct), or 609.3453 (criminal sexual predatory conduct), the person shall be placed on conditional 
release for the remainder of the person’s life; a person subject to a life with the possibility of release 
sentence, if they are released, is also subject to conditional release for the remainder of their life.  If a 
person is sentenced for failure to register as a predatory offender and the person was assigned a risk 
level III under M.S. § 244.052, the person shall be placed on conditional release for ten years.  A person 
convicted of fourth degree assault against secure treatment facility personnel under M.S. § 609.2231, 
subdivision 3a is subject to a five-year conditional release term.  Finally, a person sentenced to 
imprisonment for first degree (felony) driving while impaired is subject to five years of conditional release. 

 
Comment 

**** 
 
II.E.05.  M.S. § 609.109 requires that when a court sentences a person to prison for a violation of section 
609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 609.345, the court shall provide that after the person has completed the 
sentence imposed, the commissioner of corrections shall place the person on conditional release for five years, 
minus the time the person served on supervised release.  If the person was convicted for a violation of one of 
those sections a second or subsequent time, or sentenced to a mandatory departure pursuant to section 609.109, 
subd. 6, the person shall be placed on conditional release for ten years, minus the time served on supervised 
release.  M.S. § 169A.276, subd. 1(d) requires that when the court commits a person to the custody of the 
commissioner of corrections for first degree (felony) driving while impaired, it shall provide that after the person 
has been released from prison the commissioner shall place the person on conditional release for five years. 
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H. The Commission adopted the following modifications to Section II.B. of 
the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary to address the new 
provision allowing multiple sentences arising out of the same course of 
conduct involving the new methamphetamine-related crimes involving 
children and vulnerable adults offense: 

 
II.B.  Criminal History. 
**** 

1. Subject to the conditions listed below, the offender is assigned a particular weight for every 
extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction and for every felony conviction for which a felony 
sentence was stayed or imposed before the current sentencing or for which a stay of imposition 
of sentence was given before the current sentencing.  Multiple offenses are sentenced in the 
order in which they occurred.  For purposes of this section, prior extended jurisdiction juvenile 
convictions are treated the same as prior felony sentences. 

**** 
b.   When multiple sentences for a single course of conduct were imposed pursuant to Minn. 

Stats. §§ 152.137, 609.585 or 609.251, only the offense at the highest severity level is 
considered; when multiple current convictions arise from a single course of conduct and 
multiple sentences are imposed on the same day pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 152.137, the 
conviction and sentence for the “earlier” offense should not increase the criminal history 
score for the “later” offense. 

**** 

 
Comment 

**** 
 
II.B.102.  In addition, the Commission established policies to deal with several specific situations which arise 
under Minnesota law.  The first deals with conviction under Minn. Stat. § 152.137, under which persons convicted 
of methamphetamine-related crimes involving children and vulnerable adults are subject to conviction and 
sentence for other crimes resulting from the same criminal behavior, Minn. Stat. § 609.585, under which persons 
committing theft or another felony offense during the course of a burglary could be convicted of and sentenced for 
both the burglary and the other felony, or a conviction under Minn. Stat. § 609.251, under which persons who 
commit another felony during the course of a kidnapping can be convicted of and sentenced for both offenses.  
For purposes of computing criminal history, the Commission decided that consideration should only be given to the 
most severe offense when there are prior multiple sentences under provisions of Minn. Stats. §§ 152.137, 
609.585 or 609.251.  This was done to prevent inequities due to past variability in prosecutorial and sentencing 
practices with respect to that statute these statutes, to prevent systematic manipulation of Minn. Stats. § 609.585 
or 609.251 these statutes in the future, and to provide a uniform and equitable method of computing criminal 
history scores for all cases of multiple convictions arising from a single course of conduct, when single victims are 
involved. 
 
When multiple current convictions arise from a single course of conduct and multiple sentences are imposed on 
the same day pursuant to Minn. Stats. §§ 152.137, 609.585 or 609.251, the conviction and sentence for the 
"earlier" offense should not increase the criminal history score for the "later" offense. 
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**** 
 

I. The Commission adopted the following modifications to Section II.G. of the 
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary to address the increased 
statutory maximum sentence for a crime committed for the benefit of a 
gang when the victim of the crime is a minor: 

 
II.G.  Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers. 
**** 
For persons sentenced under Minn. Stat. § 609.229, subd. 3(a) where there is a sentence for an offense 
committed for the benefit of a gang, the presumptive disposition is always commitment to the 
Commissioner of Corrections due to the mandatory minimum under Minn. Stat. § 609.229, subd. 4.  The 
presumptive duration is determined by the duration contained in the Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell 
defined by the offender's criminal history score and the severity level of the underlying crime with the 
highest severity level, or the mandatory minimum, whichever is greater, plus an additional 12 months or 
an additional 24 months if the victim of the crime was under the age of eighteen years.  If the underlying 
crime is an attempt, the presumptive duration includes an additional 6 months rather than 12 or an 
additional 12 months if the victim of the crime was under the age of eighteen years. 
 

III. Other Proposed Modifications Related to Legislation Passed 
During the 2005 Legislative Session 

 
 

A. The Commission adopted the following modifications to Section II.G. and 
to the Sentencing Guidelines Grid to address the legislative mandate to 
provide sentence ranges of 15% downward and 20% upward: 

 
II.G.  Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers: 
**** 
Further, the presumptive disposition for Conspiracy to Commit or Attempted First Degree Murder, 
Minn. Stat. § 609.185, or Conspiracy to Commit or Attempted First Degree Murder of an Unborn Child, 
Minn. Stat. § 609.2661, with 609.17 or 609.175 cited, shall be imprisonment for all cases.  The 
presumptive durations shall be as follows: 
 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE SEVERITY LEVELS 
OF CONVICTION 

OFFENSE 
0 1 2 3 4 5 

6 or 
More 

Conspiracy/ 
Attempted Murder, 

1st Degree 

180 
176-184 
153-216 

190 
186-194 

161.5-228 

200 
196-204 
170-240 

210 
206-214 

178.5-2401 

220 
216-224 
187-2401 

230 
226-234 

195.5-2401 

240 
236-240 
204-2401 

1  M.S. § 244.09 requires the Sentencing Guidelines to provide a range of 15% downward and 20% upward from the presumptive sentence.  
However, because the statutory maximum sentence for these offenses is no more than 20 years, the range is capped at that number. 

 
**** 
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IV.  SENTENCING GUIDELINES GRID 
Presumptive Sentence Lengths in Months 

 
Italicized numbers within the grid denote the range within which a judge may sentence 
without the sentence being deemed a departure.  Offenders with non-imprisonment felony 
sentences are subject to jail time according to law. 

CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE  
SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Common offenses listed in italics) 

0 1 2 3 4 5 
6 or 

more 

Murder, 2nd Degree  
(intentional murder; drive-by-        
shootings) 

XI 
306 

299-313 
261-367 

326 
319-333 
278-391 

346 
339-353 
295-415 

366 
359-373 
312-439 

386 
379-393 
329-463 

406 
399-413 

346-4803 

426 
419-433 

363-4803 

Murder, 3rd Degree 
Murder, 2nd Degree  
   (unintentional murder)  

X 
150 

144-156 
128-180 

165 
159-171 
141-198 

180 
174-186 
153-216 

195 
189-201 
166-234 

210 
204-216 
179-252 

225 
219-231 
192-270 

240 
234-246 
204-288 

Criminal Sexual Conduct,  
   1st Degree 2 
Assault, 1st Degree 

IX 
86 

81-91 
74-103 

98 
93-103 
84-117 

110 
105-115 
94-132 

122 
117-127 
104-146 

134 
129-139 
114-160 

146 
141-151 
125-175 

158 
153-163 
135-189 

Aggravated Robbery 1st Degree 
   Criminal Sexual Conduct, 
     2nd Degree (c),(d),(e),(f),(h) 2 

VIII 
48 

44-52 
41-57 

58 
54-62 
50-69 

68 
64-72 
58-81 

78 
74-82 
67-93 

88 
84-92 
75-105 

98 
94-102 
84-117 

108 
104-112 
92-129 

Felony DWI VII 36 42 48 
54 

51-57 
46-64 

60 
57-63 
51-72 

66 
63-69 
57-79 

72 
69-75 
62-86 

Criminal Sexual Conduct, 
   2nd Degree (a) & (b) 

VI 21 27 33 
39 

37-41 
34-46 

45 
43-47 
39-54 

51 
49-53 
44-61 

57 
55-59 
49-68 

Residential Burglary       
Simple Robbery 

V 18 23 28 
33 

31-35 
29-39 

38 
36-40 
33-45 

43 
41-45 
37-51 

48 
46-50 
41-57 

Nonresidential Burglary  
 

IV 
 

121 15 18 21 
24 

23-25 
21-28 

27 
26-28 
23-32 

30 
29-31 
26-36 

Theft Crimes  (Over $2,500) III 121 13 15 17 
19 

18-20 
17-22 

21 
20-22 
18-25 

23 
22-24 
20-27 

Theft Crimes  ($2,500 or less)     
Check Forgery  ($200-$2,500) 

II 121 121 13 15 17 19 
21 

20-22 
18-25 

Sale of Simulated 
   Controlled Substance 

I 121 121 121 13 15 17 
19 

18-20 
17-22 
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Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.  First Degree Murder is excluded from the guidelines by law and continues to 
have a mandatory life sentence.  See section II.E. Mandatory Sentences for policy regarding those sentences controlled by law, 
including minimum periods of supervision for sex offenders released from prison. 

 

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the judge, up to a year in jail and/or other non-jail sanctions can be imposed as 
conditions of probation.  However, certain offenses in this section of the grid always carry a presumptive commitment to state 
prison. These offenses include Third Degree Controlled Substance Crimes when the offender has a prior felony drug conviction, 
Burglary of an Occupied Dwelling when the offender has a prior felony burglary conviction, second and subsequent Criminal 
Sexual Conduct offenses and offenses carrying a mandatory minimum prison term due to the use of a dangerous weapon (e.g., 
Second Degree Assault).  See sections II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.E. Mandatory Sentences. 

1    One year and one day 

2 Pursuant to M.S. § 609.342, subd. 2 and 609.343, subd. 2, the presumptive sentence for Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree is a 
minimum of 144 months and the presumptive sentence for Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree – clauses c, d, e, f, and h is a 
minimum of 90 months (see II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers).  
Pursuant to M.S. § 609.3455, certain sex offenders are subject to life sentences.  Some of these life sentences are life without release, while 
others are indeterminate life sentences with the minimum term of imprisonment specified by the court and based upon the sentencing 
guidelines and any applicable mandatory minimums.  See II.C.  Presumptive Sentence. 

3 M.S. § 244.09 requires the Sentencing Guidelines to provide a range of 15% downward and 20% upward from the presumptive sentence.  
However, because the statutory maximum sentence for these offenses is no more than 40 years, the range is capped at that number. 

 
 

Effective August 1, 2004 
Effective August 1, 2005 
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Felony DWI Cases By County 
 
 

Incarceration Rates by County 
 

Number and Percentage of Offenders 
County 

 # of Cases 
 Sentenced State Prison Local Jail Other Sanctions 

Aitkin 4 1 (25%)  3 (75%) 0 

Anoka 38 2 (5%) 33 (87%) 3 (8%) 

Becker 15 4 (27%) 11 (73%) 0 

Beltrami 19 2 (11%) 17 (89%) 0  

Benton 10 3 (30%) 7 (70%) 0 

Blue Earth 11 3 (27%) 8 (73%) 0 

Brown 4 0  4 (100%) 0 

Carlton 7 1 (14%) 6 (86%) 0 

Carver 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Cass 12 1 (8%) 11 (92%) 0 

Chippewa 4 1 (25%) 3 (75%) 0  

Chisago 16 0  16 (100%) 0 

Clay 28 6 (21%) 22 (79%) 0 

Clearwater 5 0 5 (100%) 0 

Cottonwood 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Crow Wing 13 3 (23%) 10 (77%) 0 

Dakota 49 3 (6%) 46 (94%) 0 

Dodge 5 0  5 (100%) 0 

Douglas 3 0 3 (100%) 0 

Fillmore 4 0 4 (100%) 0 

Freeborn 11 1 (9%) 9 (82%) 1 (9%) 

Goodhue 5 1 (20%) 4 (80%) 0 

Hennepin 157 26 (17%) 119 (76%) 12 (8%) 

Houston 3 0  3 (100%) 0 

Hubbard 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Isanti 6 0 6 (100%) .0 
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Number and Percentage of Offenders 
County 

 # of Cases 
 Sentenced State Prison Local Jail Other Sanctions 

Itasca 10 3 (30%) 7 (70%) 0 

Jackson 1 1 (100%) 0 0 

Kanabec 3 0 3 (100%) 0 

Kandiyohi 4 0 4 (100%) 0 

Koochiching 2 0 2 (100%) 0 

Lake of the Woods 3 0 3 (100%) 0 

Le Sueur 2 1 (50%) 1 (50%) 0 

Lyon 4 0 4 (100%) 0 

McLeod 8 3 (38%) 5 (62%) 0 

Mahnomen 12 5 (42%) 7 (58%) 0 

Martin 4 0  4 (100%) 0 

Meeker 4 2 (50%) 2 (50%) 0 

Mille Lacs 10 0 10 (100%) 0 

Morrison 6 0 6 (100%) 0 

Mower 8 2 (25%) 6 (75%) 0 

Nicollet 8 1 (13%) 7 (87%) 0 

Nobles 5 0 5 (100%) 0 

Olmsted 26 8 (31%) 18 (69%) 0 

Otter Tail 14 1 (7%) 12 (86%) 1 (7%) 

Pennington 5 0 5 (100%) 0 

Pine 12 2 (17%) 10 (83%) 0 

Pipestone 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Polk 15 6 (40%) 8 (53%) 1 (7%) 

Pope 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Ramsey 68 8 (12%) 60 (88%) 0 

Redwood 3 1 (33%) 2 (67%) 0 

Renville 2 0 2 (100%) 0 

Rice 7 2 (29%) 5 (71%) 0 

Rock 2 0 2 (100%) 0 

Roseau 3 0 3 (100%) 0 

St Louis 46 7 (15%) 38 (83%) 1 (6%) 
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Number and Percentage of Offenders 
County 

 # of Cases 
 Sentenced State Prison Local Jail Other Sanctions 

Scott 17 0 16 (94%) 1 (6%) 

Sherburne 7 0 7 (100%) 1 (8%) 

Sibley 7 1 (14%) 6 (86%) 0 

Stearns 25 6 (24%) 18 (72%) 1 (4%) 

Steele 8 2 (25%) 6 (75%) 0 

Todd 4 2 (50%) 2 (50%) 0 

Traverse 4 1 (25%) 3 (75%) 0 

Wabasha 2 0 2 (100%) 0 

Wadena 2 1 (50%) 1 (50%) 0 

Waseca 2 0 2 (100%) 0 

Washington 25 1 (4%) 24 (96%) 0 

Winona 11 2 (18%) 9 (82%) 0 

Wright 13 2 (15%) 10(77%) 1 (8%) 

Yellow Medicine 2 2 (100%) 0 0 

Total 860 131 (15%) 707 (82%) 22 (3%) 
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County Attorney Reports on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms 
By County 

 
Cases Allegedly Involving Firearms - Offenses Listed in M.S. § 609.11, subd. 9 

Cases Disposed from July 1, 2003 to July 1, 2004 
 

 

County 

Cases Allegedly 
Involving Firearms - 

Offenses Listed in M.S § 609.11 
Cases Not 
Charged 

Cases 
Charged 

Aitkin 4 0 4 

Anoka  48 4 44 

Becker 6 0 6 

Beltrami 4 0 4 

Brown 1 0 1 

Carver 1 0 1 

Cass 20 0 20 

Chisago 3 2 1 

Clay 6 0 6 

Crow Wing 21 0 21 

Dakota 28 0 28 

Dodge 4 0 4 

Freeborn 1 0 1 

Goodhue 4 0 4 

Grant 1 0 1 

Hennepin 150 0 150 

Hubbard 10 1 9 

Isanti 2 0 2 

Itasca  26 0 26 

Jackson  2 1 1 

Kanabec 7 5 2 

Kandiyohi 5 1 4 

Lake  5 0 5 

LeSueur 2 0 2 

Lyon  4 0 4 

McLeod 5 0 5 

Mahnomen 39 0 39 

Mille Lacs 7 0 7 
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County 

Cases Allegedly 
Involving Firearms - 

Offenses Listed in M.S § 609.11 
Cases Not 
Charged 

Cases 
Charged 

Morrison 5 0 5 

Mower 12 5 7 

Murray  1 0 1 

Nicollet 4 1 3 

Nobles 5 0 5 

Norman  3 0 3 

Olmsted 11 0 11 

Pine 10 0 10 

Pipestone 7 1 6 

Polk 13 0 13 

Ramsey 97 0 97 

Redwood 4 0 4 

Renville 5 0 5 

Rice 5 0 5 

St. Louis  46 3 43 

Scott 7 0 7 

Sherburne 12 0 12 

Stearns 27 3 24 

Steele 5 0 5 

Stevens 2 0 2 

Todd 5 0 5 

Washington  10 0 10 

Watonwan 2 0 2 

Winona  8 1 7 

Wright 8 0 8 

Yellow Medicine 1 0 1 

Total 731 28 703 
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County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms 
By County 

 

Offenses Charged - Case Outcome 

Cases Disposed from July 1, 2003 to July 1, 2004 
 

 

County 

Total 
Number 
of Cases 
Charged 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 

M.S. § 609.11, 
subd. 9 
Firearm 

Established 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 

M.S § 609.11, 
subd. 9 

Firearm Not 
Established 

Conviction 
Offense Not 

Listed in 
M.S. §609.11 

Acquitted 
on all 

Charges 

Dismissed 
on all 

Charges Other 

Aitkin 4 1 0 0 0 2 1 

Anoka  44 27 1 9 0 7 0 

Becker 6 5 0 0 0 1 0 

Beltrami 4 3 0 0 0 1 0 

Brown 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Carver 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Cass 20 1 3 9 0 7 0 

Chisago 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Clay 6 6 0 0 0 0 0 

Crow Wing 21 9 0 9 1 1 1 

Dakota 28 19 0 2 4 3 0 

Dodge 4 3 0 0 0 0 1 

Freeborn 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Goodhue 4 1 0 1 0 1 1 

Grant 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Hennepin 150 127 0 12 5 6 0 

Hubbard 9 4 4 0 0 1 0 

Isanti 2 1 0 1 0 0 0 

Itasca  26 22 1 3 0 0 0 

Jackson  1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Kanabec 2 1 0 0 0 1 0 

Kandiyohi 4 2 0 1 0 0 1 

Lake  5 4 0 0 0 1 0 

LeSueur 2 1 0 1 0 0 0 

Lyon  4 3 1 0 0 0 0 

McLeod 5 3 0 2 0 0 0 

Mahnomen 39 17 0 22 0 0 0 

Mille Lacs 7 2 5 0 0 0 0 
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County 

Total 
Number 
of Cases 
Charged 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 

M.S. § 609.11, 
subd. 9 
Firearm 

Established 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 

M.S § 609.11, 
subd. 9 

Firearm Not 
Established 

Conviction 
Offense Not 

Listed in 
M.S. §609.11 

Acquitted 
on all 

Charges 

Dismissed 
on all 

Charges Other 

Morrison 5 2 0 1 0 1 1 

Mower 7 2 0 3 0 1 1 

Murray  1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Nicollet 3 1 0 2 0 0 0 

Nobles 5 4 1 0 0 0 0 

Norman  3 2 0 1 0 0 0 

Olmsted 11 8 0 3 0 0 0 

Pine 10 4 2 2 0 1 1 

Pipestone 6 3 2 0 0 1 0 

Polk 13 7 3 2 1 0 0 

Ramsey 97 67 0 1 9 20 0 

Redwood 4 1 2 1 0 0 0 

Renville 5 2 1 1 0 0 1 

Rice 5 3 0 2 0 0 0 

St. Louis  43 30 2 9 0 2 0 

Scott 7 4 1 2 0 0 0 

Sherburne 12 6 0 5 0 1 0 

Stearns 24 20 0 2 1 1 0 

Steele 5 3 1 0 0 1 0 

Stevens 2 1 0 0 1 0 0 

Todd 5 5 0 0 0 0 0 

Washington  10 3 4 0 1 2 0 

Watonwan 2 1 0 1 0 0 0 

Winona  7 4 0 3 0 0 0 

Wright 8 2 0 3 0 0 3 
Yellow 
Medicine 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Total 703 455 34 116 23 63 12 
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County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms By County 
 

Mandatory Minimum Sentences Imposed and Executed 
Cases Disposed from July 1, 2003 to July 1, 2004 

 

County 

Convicted of Offense Listed 
in M.S. § 609.11, subd. 9 

Firearm Established 
on Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Imposed 

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Waived 

Aitkin 1 1 0 

Anoka  27 10 17 

Becker 5 4 1 

Beltrami 3 2 1 

Brown 1 1 0 

Carver 1 0 1 

Cass 1 1 0 

Chisago 1 0 1 

Clay 6 4 2 

Crow Wing 9 5 4 

Dakota 19 7 12 

Dodge 3 0 3 

Freeborn 1 0 1 

Goodhue 1 1 0 

Grant 1 1 0 

Hennepin 127 96 31 

Hubbard 4 2 2 

Isanti 1 1 0 

Itasca  22 7 15 

Jackson  1 1 0 

Kanabec 1 1 0 

Kandiyohi 2 0 2 

Lake  4 2 2 

LeSueur 1 1 0 

Lyon  3 1 2 

McLeod 3 3 0 

Mahnomen 17 17 0 
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County 

Convicted of Offense Listed 
in M.S. § 609.11, subd. 9 

Firearm Established 
on Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Imposed 

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Waived 

Mille Lacs 2 1 1 

Morrison 2 0 2 

Mower 2 2 0 

Murray  1 1 0 

Nicollet 1 0 1 

Nobles 4 4 0 

Norman  2 1 1 

Olmsted 8 4 4 

Pine 4 3 1 

Pipestone 3 0 3 

Polk 7 3 4 

Ramsey 67 48 19 

Redwood 1 0 1 

Renville 2 1 1 

Rice 3 3 0 

St. Louis  30 15 15 

Scott 4 0 4 

Sherburne 6 3 3 

Stearns 20 13 7 

Steele 3 3 0 

Stevens 1 1 0 

Todd 5 5 0 

Washington  3 2 1 

Watonwan 1 0 1 

Winona  4 3 1 

Wright 2 2 0 

Yellow Medicine 1 0 1 

Total 455 287 168 
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609.11 MINIMUM SENTENCES OF IMPRISONMENT 
 
 Subdivision 1.  Commitments without minimums.  All commitments to the 
commissioner of corrections for imprisonment of the defendant are without minimum terms except 
when the sentence is to life imprisonment as required by law and except as otherwise provided in this 
chapter.   
 Subd. 2.   Repealed, 1978 c 723 art 2 s 5 
 Subd. 3.   Repealed, 1981 c 227 s 13 
 Subd. 4. Dangerous weapon.  Any defendant convicted of an offense listed in subdivision 9 in 
which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of the offense, used, whether by brandishing, 
displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a dangerous weapon other than a firearm, shall be 
committed to the commissioner of corrections for not less than one year plus one day, nor more than 
the maximum sentence provided by law.  Any defendant convicted of a second or subsequent offense in 
which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of the offense, used a dangerous weapon other than a 
firearm, shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for not less than three years nor more 
than the maximum sentence provided by law. 
 Subd. 5.  Firearm.  (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), any defendant 
convicted of an offense listed in subdivision 9 in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of the 
offense, had in possession or used, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise 
employing, a firearm, shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for not less than three 
years, nor more than the maximum sentence provided by law.  Any defendant convicted of a second or 
subsequent offense in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of the offense, had in 
possession or used a firearm shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for not less than 
five years, nor more than the maximum sentence provided by law. 
 (b) Any defendant convicted of violating section 609.165 or 624.713, subdivision 1, clause (b), 
shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for not less than five years, nor more than the 
maximum sentence provided by law.   
 Subd. 5a. Drug offenses.  Notwithstanding section 609.035, whenever a defendant is subject 
to a mandatory minimum sentence for a felony violation of chapter 152 and is also subject to this 
section, the minimum sentence imposed under this section shall be consecutive to that imposed under 
chapter 152.  
 Subd. 6.  No early release.  Any defendant convicted and sentenced as required by this 
section is not eligible for probation, parole, discharge, or supervised release until that person has served 
the full term of imprisonment as provided by law, notwithstanding the provisions of sections 242.19, 
243.05, 244.04, 609.12 and 609.135.   
 Subd. 7.    Prosecutor shall establish.  Whenever reasonable grounds exist to believe that 
the defendant or an accomplice used a firearm or other dangerous weapon or had in possession a 
firearm, at the time of commission of an offense listed in subdivision 9, the prosecutor shall, at the time 
of trial or at the plea of guilty, present on the record all evidence tending to establish that fact unless it 
is otherwise admitted on the record.  The question of whether the defendant or an accomplice, at the 
time of commission of an offense listed in subdivision 9, used a firearm or other dangerous weapon or 
had in possession a firearm shall be determined by the court on the record at the time of a verdict or 
finding of guilt at trial or the entry of a plea of guilty based upon the record of the trial or the plea of 
guilty.  The court shall determine on the record at the time of sentencing whether the defendant has 
been convicted of a second or subsequent offense in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time 
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of commission of an offense listed in subdivision 9, used a firearm or other dangerous weapon or had in 
possession a firearm.   
 Subd. 8.  Motion by prosecutor.  (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), prior to 
the time of sentencing, the prosecutor may file a motion to have the defendant sentenced without 
regard to the mandatory minimum sentences established by this section.  The motion shall be 
accompanied by a statement on the record of the reasons for it.  When presented with the motion, or 
on its own motion, the court may sentence the defendant without regard to the mandatory minimum 
sentences established by this section if the court finds substantial and compelling reasons to do so.  A 
sentence imposed under this subdivision is a departure from the sentencing guidelines.  
    (b) The court may not, on its own motion or the prosecutor's motion, sentence a defendant without 
regard to the mandatory minimum sentences established by this section if the defendant previously has 
been convicted of an offense listed in subdivision 9 in which the defendant used or possessed a firearm 
or other dangerous weapon.   
 Subd. 9.  Applicable offenses.  The crimes for which mandatory minimum sentences shall be 
served as provided in this section are:  murder in the first, second, or third degree; assault in the first, 
second, or third degree; burglary; kidnapping; false imprisonment; manslaughter in the first or second 
degree; aggravated robbery; simple robbery; first-degree or aggravated first-degree witness tampering; 
criminal sexual conduct under the circumstances described in sections 609.342, subdivision 1, clauses (a) 
to (f); 609.343, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); and 609.344, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e) and (h) to (j); 
escape from custody; arson in the first, second, or third degree; drive-by shooting under section 609.66, 
subdivision 1e; harassment and stalking under section 609.749, subdivision 3, clause (3); possession or 
other unlawful use of a firearm in violation of section 609.165, subdivision 1b, or 624.713, subdivision 1, 
clause (b), a felony violation of chapter 152; or any attempt to commit any of these offenses. 
 Subd. 10.  Report on criminal cases involving a firearm.  Beginning on July 1, 1994, every 
county attorney shall collect and maintain the following information on criminal complaints and 
prosecutions within the county attorney's office in which the defendant is alleged to have committed an 
offense listed in subdivision 9 while possessing or using a firearm: 
 (1) whether the case was charged or dismissed; 
 (2) whether the defendant was convicted of the offense or a lesser offense; and 
 (3) whether the mandatory minimum sentence required under this section was imposed and 
executed or was waived by the prosecutor or court. 
 No later than July 1 of each year, beginning on July 1, 1995, the county attorney shall forward 
this information to the sentencing guidelines commission upon forms prescribed by the commission. 
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2004-05 Firearms Report Form: 
County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms 

 
M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 10 requires that no later than July 1 of each year, every county attorney shall 
forward to the sentencing guidelines commission information on cases in which the defendant is alleged to 
have committed an offense listed in M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 9.  Please report on adult cases disposed of 
between July 1, 2004 and July 1, 2005.  Please do not include cases that were pending during this time 
period.  Consult page 2 for an illustration. 

 
Criminal Complaints Disposed of from July 1, 2004 to July 1, 2005. 

 
County:       
 
Completed by:       Telephone:       
 
I.  CHARGING 
 

CASES CHARGED WHERE 
REPORTING IS REQUIRED  

CASES NOT CHARGED WHERE 
REPORTING IS REQUIRED 

 
 
# of cases =        
 
 

  
 
# of cases =        

  
 Only cases in this box 
 should be carried down to 
 Table II. 
 
II.  CASE OUTCOME:  Sum of Table II = total of “CASES CHARGED WHERE REPORTING IS REQUIRED” box above 
 

CONVICTED OF 
OFFENSE LISTED IN 
SUBD. 9; FIREARM 

ESTABLISHED ON THE 
RECORD 

CONVICTED OF 
OFFENSE LISTED IN 
SUBD. 9; FIREARM 
NOT ESTABLISHED 
ON THE RECORD 

CONVICTED OF 
OFFENSE NOT 

LISTED IN SUBD. 9 
ACQUITTED ON 
ALL CHARGES 

ALL CHARGES 
DISMISSED OTHER 

 
# of 
cases =        
 
 

 
# of 
cases =        

 
# of 
cases =        

 
# of 
cases =        

 
# of 
cases =        

 
# of 
cases=  
      

  
Only cases in 
this box should be 
carried down to 

 Table III. 
 
III.  SENTENCES FOR CASES REQUIRING MANDATORY MINIMUM UNDER M.S. § 609.11: 
 Sum of Table III = Total in “FIREARM ESTABLISHED ON RECORD” box above 
 

MANDATORY MINIMUM SENTENCE (OR GREATER) IMPOSED AND EXECUTED  
MANDATORY MINIMUM SENTENCE 

WAIVED 
 
 
# of cases =        
 
 

  
 
# of cases =        

 
Please send form to Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission, 525 Park Street, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN  55103 
Email:  Sentencing.guidelines@state.mn.us (651) 296-0144 Fax: (651) 297-5757   TTY: 1-800-627-3529 (ask for (651) 296-0144) 

mailto:Sentencing.guidelines@state.mn.us
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FIREARMS REPORT FORM ILLUSTRATION 

Person to 
contact
if we have 
questions

Firearm must 
be a "finding of 
fact"  

Example: 
Cases that resulted in a
"Stay of Adjudication"

Prison for at least the 
mandatory minimum duration

Firearms Report Form:
County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

County _________________________________________
Criminal Complaints Disposed of from July 1____ to July 1 _____

Completed by____________________________ Telephone Number ____________

I.  CHARGINGI.  CHARGING

II.  CASE OUTCOME   ( xxx xxxxx xxxx xx xxx)

 ( xxx xxxxx xxxx xx xxx xxxxxx xxxxxxx xx xx xx xxx xxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxx xx xxxx xx xx xxxx  xxx xxxxxxxxx) ( xxx xxxxx xxxx xx xxx xxxxxx xxxxxxx xx xx xx xxx xxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxx xx xxxx xx xx xxxx  xxx xxxxxxxxx)
III.  SENTENCES FOR CASES  REQUIRING MANDATORY MINIMUM UNDER 609.11

BAA

I J

OTHER

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

Do not include
cases pending
during the
reporting period

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =
# of
Cases =

>

>

Include only
adult cases

Box A equals
Box C thru H

Box C equals 
Boxes I & J
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