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MA Program Long-term Care Coverage 
MA provides coverage for nursing home and other long-term care services to qualified 
persons. 
 
Medical Assistance (MA), Minnesota’s Medicaid program, is the federal-state program that 
reimburses health care providers for services to persons who meet program eligibility 
requirements.  The MA program will pay for long-term care services for individuals whose 
assets are at or below the limits prescribed in state law and whose income, minus certain 
deductions, has been contributed toward the cost of nursing home care.  Minnesota’s MA 
program also has federal approval to provide home and community-based “waivered services” to 
certain MA recipients who would otherwise need nursing facility or other institutional level of 
care.  Persons can apply for MA by contacting their local county human services agency. 
 
 
General Income and Asset Limits in the MA Program 
The MA program sets limits on the amount of income and the value of assets a recipient 
may have. 
 
Income is defined as net countable income after certain allowable deductions have been 
subtracted.  Assets include all real and personal property owned by the recipient.  When a 
married couple is living together and neither spouse is receiving long-term care services, all 
assets and income of each spouse are considered available to the other in determining eligibility 
for MA. 
 
In general, an MA recipient living in the community who is age 65 or older may have no more 
than $817 per month in income.  (This limit is $1,101 for a couple.)1  However, individuals with 
incomes higher than these limits can still qualify for MA by “spending down” their income.  
Spending down means that the individual incurs medical expenses that equal or exceed the 
amount by which the individual’s income exceeds the MA spenddown limit.2

 
In contrast to an MA recipient living in the community, an MA recipient living in a nursing 
home must contribute most of his or her income towards the costs of nursing home care (see 
page 5). 
 

 
1 These income limits are effective July 1, 2006, and are set at 100 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.  

They are adjusted each July 1 to reflect changes in the federal poverty guidelines.  

2 The spenddown limit for persons who are aged, blind, or disabled is 75 percent of the federal poverty 
guidelines ($613 per month for an individual and $826 per month for a couple, as of July 1, 2006). 
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The MA asset limit is $3,000 for an individual and $6,000 for a couple.  The following assets are 
excluded from consideration when eligibility for MA is determined:3

 
• The homestead (real property or personal property used as a home), subject to an equity 

limit of $500,000 effective July 1, 2006 (see Appendix C for more details) 
 

• A motor vehicle, regardless of value, if it is used for transportation of the recipient or a 
member of the recipient’s household 

 
• Household goods and certain personal effects 

 
• Prepaid burial spaces and burial space items 

 
• Burial funds (up to $1,500 each for the recipient and the recipient’s spouse), prepaid 

funeral trusts ($2,000), and life insurance or annuity-funded burial arrangements under 
contract 

 
• Capital and operating assets of a business necessary to earn an income 

 
In addition, if an applicant for MA payment of long-term care services has exhausted benefits 
under a long-term care insurance policy issued on or after July 1, 2006, and that policy qualifies 
under the state’s long-term care partnership program, an amount of assets equal to the dollar 
amount of benefits paid out under the qualifying policy is disregarded for purposes of 
determining eligibility for MA payment of long-term care services.  These assets are also 
protected against estate recovery and are not subject to asset transfer penalties. 
 
 
MA Program Provisions for Dividing Income and Assets 
Definition of Terms 
 
Long-term care services: For purposes of spousal impoverishment provisions, “long-term care 
services” means care provided in a nursing facility, hospital, an intermediate care facility for 
persons with mental retardation (ICF/MR), or home care services that would be covered through 
the Elderly Waiver or the Alternative Care program. 
 
Long-term care spouse: The spouse who is receiving long-term care services for at least 30 
consecutive days. 
 
Community spouse: The spouse living in the community who is not receiving long-term care 
services. 
 

 
3 See Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.056, for a more complete explanation of asset limits in the MA program.  

“Personal property” means all property other than real estate. 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.056
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The MA program specifies how the income and assets of a married couple are treated when 
one spouse receives long-term care services and applies for MA. 
 
When one spouse seeks MA coverage for nursing facility, hospital, intermediate care facility for 
persons with mental retardation (ICF/MR), or the Elderly Waiver services for a continuous 
period expected to last at least 30 consecutive days, the MA program uses “spousal 
impoverishment” provisions to divide the income and assets of the married couple in order to 
determine how much of the couple’s total assets and income will be designated for each spouse. 
(See Minn. Stat. §§ 256B.058 and 256B.059.)  The intent of the spousal impoverishment 
provisions is to allow the community spouse to retain an adequate level of income and assets, 
while requiring the long-term care spouse to contribute most of his or her assets towards the cost 
of care. 
  
An asset assessment, conducted at the time of the first continuous period of 
institutionalization, is used to determine the division of spousal assets. 
 
The division of spousal assets is based upon an asset assessment that is conducted, upon the 
request of either the long-term care or community spouse, at the time of the first continuous 
period of institutionalization.   
 
The first continuous period of institutionalization occurs when a spouse: 
 

(1) begins a period of institutionalization in a nursing home, ICF/MR, or hospital that is 
expected to last at least 30 days; or 

 
(2) is screened by a long-term care consultation team and was receiving home care 

services that would be covered under the Elderly Waiver or Alternative Care 
program, or is anticipated to receive these services within 90 days of the screening, 
and these services are expected to be provided for at least 30 days. 

 
The asset assessment is based on the assets owned by one or both spouses as of the date of the 
first continuous period of institutionalization.  This date is used even if the individual does not 
apply for MA until a later time.  The spousal share is calculated only once and is used for any 
subsequent periods during which a person may receive long-term care services, except that at the 
time of application for long-term care services the community spouse’s protected share will be 
increased by annual cost-of-living changes in the minimum and maximum amounts. 
 
The division of spousal assets is subject to minimums and maximums specified in law; the 
long-term care spouse can transfer assets to the community spouse to bring that spouse’s 
assets to the minimum. 
 
An estimated protected spousal share of assets is calculated following the assessment.  The 
protected spousal share is equal to one-half of all nonexempt assets owned by either spouse, 
subject to a minimum and maximum amount set by law.  All assets not protected for the 
community spouse must be reduced to the MA asset limit of $3,000.  The assets determined to be 
available to the long-term care spouse must be reduced to the MA asset limit of $3,000. 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.058
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.059
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The long-term care spouse is allowed to transfer assets to the community spouse, to provide the 
community spouse with the protected share of assets specified below. 
 

• If the spousal share is less than $28,001, the long-term care spouse may transfer assets to 
the community spouse in order to bring the amount of assets held by the community 
spouse up to the $28,001 minimum. 

• If the spousal share is greater than $28,001 but less than or equal to $99,540, the 
community spouse may retain this amount (equal to one-half of the couple’s total 
nonexcluded assets). 

• The maximum spousal share that can be retained by the community spouse is $99,540. 

• The $28,001 and $99,540 amounts are effective from January 1, 2006, to December 31, 
2006.  These amounts are adjusted each January 1 by the percentage change in the 
Consumer Price Index. 

 
The table below illustrates how spousal assets are distributed for couples with various amounts 
of total assets. 

Division of Spousal Assets 
for Persons Receiving Long-term Care Services on MA* 

Total Nonexcluded Assets of 
Couple 

Assets Considered Available to 
Long-term Care Spouse 

Assets Permitted to Be Held 
by Community Spouse 

$28,001 or less $0 Total assets 

$28,001 to $56,002 Amount of total assets exceeding 
$28,001 

$28,001 

$56,003 to $199,080 One-half of total assets One-half of total assets 
$199,081 and over Amount of total assets exceeding 

$99,540 
$99,540 

*Note: These dollar amounts apply to applications for MA made between January 1, 2006, and December 31, 2006. 

 
 
The long-term care spouse must apply nearly all of his or her income towards the cost of 
the long-term care services. 
 
MA permits the long-term care spouse specified deductions from income, but the person must 
then contribute all of his or her remaining countable income towards the cost of the long-term 
care services.  This requirement applies both to individuals with incomes below the MA income 
limit and individuals with incomes above the MA income limit who qualify for MA through a 
spenddown.  In many cases, the only permitted deduction is a personal needs allowance of $79 
per month.4  Other allowable deductions are listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.058. 
 

                                                 
4 This personal needs allowance is adjusted for inflation each year; the $79 amount became effective January 1, 

2006.  For a more detailed list of the permitted deductions, see Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0575. 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.058
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0575
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The community spouse can keep all of his or her income and is not required to contribute 
towards the cost of care of the long-term care spouse after the long-term care spouse is 
determined eligible for MA. 
 
Beginning with the first full month that the long-term care spouse is determined to be eligible for 
MA and receives long-term care services, none of the community spouse’s income is considered 
available to the long-term care spouse. 
 
Some income of the long-term care spouse can be used to provide a minimum monthly 
income allowance to the community spouse and a monthly family allowance for certain 
dependent family members. 
 
The long-term care spouse can use his or her income to provide the community spouse with a 
monthly income allowance.  This allowance is the amount sufficient to raise the income of the 
community spouse to the lesser of: 
 

• the sum of 150 percent of the monthly federal poverty guideline for two (this amount is 
$1,650, effective July 1, 20065), plus an excess shelter allowance equal to the amount by 
which the community spouse’s housing costs exceed 30 percent of this federal poverty 
guideline figure for two; or 

 
• $2,489.6 

 
If the income of the long-term care spouse is not sufficient to raise the income of the community 
spouse to this standard, income-producing assets can also be transferred in an amount sufficient 
to reach the standard. 
 
If the community spouse obtains a court order for support that specifies a higher monthly income 
allowance than the monthly maximum, the long-term care spouse can transfer to the community 
spouse the amount of monthly income specified by the court order.   
 
The long-term care spouse can also provide a monthly family allowance to minor or dependent 
children, dependent parents, or dependent siblings residing with the community spouse, who 
have incomes that are less than 150 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.  The family 
allowance is equal to one-third of the amount by which 150 percent of the monthly federal 
poverty guideline exceeds the monthly income for the family member who will receive the 
family allowance. 
 
 

                                                 
5 The $1,650 amount became effective July 1, 2006; it is adjusted each July 1 to reflect changes in the federal 

poverty guidelines. 
6 The $2,489 monthly maximum became effective January 1, 2006; it is adjusted for inflation each  

January 1. 
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Prohibitions on Asset and Income Transfers 
Note on federal waiver request:  The 2003 Legislature made a number of changes in state law 
governing MA asset and income transfers that can be implemented only if the federal 
government agrees to waive provisions of federal law (see Appendix B and also Laws 2003, 1st 
spec. sess., ch. 14, art. 12, §§ 24 to 29).  The Department of Human Services (DHS) submitted 
waiver requests related to asset and income transfers to the federal Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS) in March 2003.   
 
The federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (DRA), P.L. 109-171, changed federal law to require 
states to adopt some but not all of the provisions for which a waiver was being requested by 
Minnesota.  In July of 2006, CMS informed Minnesota that it had discontinued review of the 
state’s waiver request, and that it would no longer consider requests for a waiver of other asset 
transfer provisions, since it considered the provisions in DRA to be adequate.  CMS has not 
provided a written denial of the state’s waiver request.  Since DHS is required by law to submit 
the waiver request, the agency will work to obtain waiver approval or a written denial from 
CMS. 
 
The sections that follow describe current law, including DRA changes, and not the law that 
would apply if the state’s waiver requests are approved. 
 
Definition of Terms 
 
Long-term care services: For purposes of asset transfer provisions, “long-term care services” 
means care provided in a nursing facility, hospital swing bed, an intermediate care facility for 
persons with mental retardation (ICF/MR), or through one of the home and community-based 
services under MA. 
 
Look-back period: A designated period of time prior to a request for MA payment of long-term 
care services during which transfers made by a person or the person’s spouse are evaluated. 
 
MA prohibits a person who is seeking or receiving long-term care services from 
transferring assets or income for less than fair market value.   
 
A person may be penalized under the MA program if the person, the person’s spouse, or any 
other person or entity with legal authority to act on the person’s or spouse’s behalf, gives away 
or otherwise transfers assets or income for less than the fair market value.  State and federal law 
on MA asset and income transfers7 prohibit a person from making such uncompensated transfers, 
with the intent to obtain or retain MA, within a “look-back period,” while the MA application is 
pending, or while the person is eligible for MA. 
 
For transfers made on or after August 11, 1993, through February 7, 2006, the look-back period 
is 36 months prior to applying for MA.  During this time span, the look-back period is 60 months 
in the case of certain transfers into trusts. 

 
7 See Minn. Stat. §§ 256B.059 and 256B.0595. 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=l&year=2003&sn=1&num=14
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=l&year=2003&sn=1&num=14
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.059
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0595
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The DRA expands the look-back period for all transfers made on or after February 8, 2006, to 
60 months.  This expansion will be phased in over a 24-month period starting in February 2009.  
The look-back period remains 36 months (60 months for trusts) for persons seeking payment of 
long-term care services through January 31, 2009.  Starting on February 1, 2009, the look-back 
period that applies to persons seeking payment for long-term care services will increase in a one-
month increment each successive calendar month through January 1, 2011.  For example, the 
look-back period will be 37 months beginning February 1, 2009, and increase to 38 months 
beginning March 1, 2009.  For persons seeking payment of long-term care services on or after 
January 1, 2011, the full 60-month look-back period will apply.  

The 2006 Legislature, in order to comply with the DRA, classified certain transactions involving:  
(1) annuities; (2) promissory notes, loans, or mortgages; and (3) life estate interests in another 
individual’s home, as transfers for less than fair market value, unless specified criteria are met.  
See Appendix C for a description of these changes. 
 
There are several exceptions to the prohibition on asset and income transfers. 
 
The MA program permits several exceptions to the prohibition on asset and income transfers.  
For example, a person may transfer a homestead, other assets, and income at less than fair 
market value to a spouse, or to a blind or permanently and totally disabled child.  (See Appendix 
A for a more detailed list of the permitted exceptions to the asset and income transfer 
prohibition.) 
 
The penalty for making prohibited transfers is losing eligibility for MA coverage of long-
term care services. 
 
The penalty for making uncompensated transfers is that the person is ineligible for MA-paid 
services in a nursing facility, hospital swing bed, intermediate care facility for persons with 
mental retardation (ICF/MR), or through the applicable home and community-based waiver 
program for a calculated period of time.  The person remains eligible for all other MA services 
during the penalty period. 
 
The length of the penalty period is determined by dividing the value of the uncompensated 
transfer by the average monthly payment rate for nursing facility services. 
 
A separate ineligibility period is calculated for each month in which an uncompensated transfer 
is made.  The length of each ineligibility period is calculated by dividing the uncompensated 
value of the transferred assets or income by the statewide average monthly payment rate for 
nursing facility services (SAPSNF).8  This calculation results in the number of months for which 
a person is not eligible for long-term care services.  If this calculation results in a fractional 
month of ineligibility, this fraction is multiplied by the statewide average monthly payment rate 
for nursing facility services.  This is the dollar amount of long-term care services that the 
recipient will be financially responsible for during the last, partial month of ineligibility. 

 
8 The current statewide average monthly payment rate for nursing facility services is $4,438.  This amount 

became effective July 1, 2006, and applies to persons who apply for MA on or after that date; it is recalculated each 
July 1. 
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For example, if an individual makes uncompensated transfers of $15,000 in one month, the 
period of ineligibility is calculated by dividing $15,000 by $4,438, (the statewide average 
monthly payment rate for nursing facility services in effect on the date the person requests MA 
payment of long-term care services) resulting in a quotient of 3.38.  The individual will be 
ineligible for long-term care services for three months and will be financially responsible for 
$1,686 as a result of the fractional month of ineligibility (.38 x $4,438 = $1,686). 
 
Periods of ineligibility now begin on the date an individual would otherwise be eligible for 
MA payment of long-term care services. 
 
For transfers made on or after February 8, 2006, a person’s period of ineligibility begins in the 
month in which the individual requests MA payment of long-term care services and is otherwise 
eligible to receive MA payment of long-term care services but for application of the penalty 
period.  This provision is effective for requests for MA payment of long-term care services on or 
after July 1, 2006. 
 
For transfers made prior to February 8, 2006, a person’s period of ineligibility begins with the 
first day of the month after the month in which the transfer took place.   
 
DHS has not yet received clarification from CMS on when the penalty period begins for persons 
who make uncompensated transfers at a time when MA is already paying for long-term care 
services.9  Until clarification is received, DHS is instructing county agencies to start the penalty 
period on the first day of the month after the month in which the transfer took place. 
 
Penalty periods for transfers that result in partial months of ineligibility are now combined 
and treated as one transfer. 
 
For transfers made on or after February 8, 2006, if transfers of assets valued at less than the 
statewide average monthly payment rate for nursing facility services are made in more than one 
month, the total, cumulative, uncompensated value of all assets transferred is treated as one 
transfer, and the penalty period begins on the date the individual would otherwise be eligible for 
MA payment of long-term care services.  This provision is effective for applications, renewals, 
and reports of transfers received on or after July 1, 2006. 
 
For transfers made prior to February 8, 2006, if transfers of assets valued at less than the 
statewide average monthly payment rate for nursing facility services are made in more than one 
month, a separate partial month of ineligibility is calculated for each separate transfer, and each 
separate penalty period begins on the first day of the month following the month in which the 
transfer took place. 
 

 
9 Laws of Minnesota 2006, chapter 282, article 17, section 31 added language that authorized the penalty 

period to begin in this situation  “on the first day of the month in which advance notice can be given following the 
month in which assets have been transferred for less than fair market value . . .” (codified at Minn. Stat. § 
256B.0595, subd. 2, para. (c)).  Ten days’ advance notice is required before a penalty period can begin. 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=l&year=2006&sn=0&num=282
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0595
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0595
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If penalty periods overlap, the period of ineligibility is based on the total value of the 
transfers. 
 
For transfers made prior to February 8, 2006, if separate periods of ineligibility overlap, the 
period of ineligibility is calculated based on the total value of the separate transfers.  For 
example, if an individual transferred $8,396 in August 2005 and was ineligible for two months, 
and transferred an additional $4,198 in September 2005, the second period of ineligibility begins 
during the period of ineligibility that results from the first transfer.  In this case, the total amount 
transferred is added together, and the resulting three-month period of ineligibility would have 
begun on September 1, the month after the August transfer. 
 
For transfers made on or after February 8, 2006, if separate periods of ineligibility overlap, the 
period of ineligibility is similarly based on the total value of the separate transfers, but the period 
of ineligibility would begin on the date on which the individual is eligible for MA payment of 
long-term care services. 
 
A person may no longer transfer up to $200 per month without penalty under the MA 
program. 
 
Under prior law, no penalty period was imposed if the total uncompensated amount transferred 
by a person and the person’s spouse did not exceed $200 in a given month and the person was 
not in a pre-existing penalty period.10  Persons who were in a penalty period were not permitted 
to make transfers and had the amount of any transfers added into their penalty period calculation. 
 
Beginning July 1, 2006, any amount of an uncompensated transfer must be added to other 
fractional transfers and will be counted when determining a penalty period.  This provision is 
effective for applications, renewals, and reports of transfers received on or after July 1, 2006.  

 
10 Laws 2002, ch. 220, art. 15, § 11.  This provision took effect July 1, 2002.  Immediately prior to this date, a 

person could transfer up to $500 per month without penalty and between September 1, 1994, and April 12, 1996, a 
person could transfer up to $1,000 per month without penalty.  Prior to September 1, 1994, a person could transfer 
up to the statewide average nursing facility payment rate without penalty because there were no partial months of 
ineligibility that resulted in a penalty. 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=l&year=2002&sn=0&num=220
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Appendix A: Exceptions to the Transfer Prohibitions 
A homestead can be transferred for less than fair market value if: 
 
 (a) the title is transferred to the individual’s 
 

• spouse 
• child under 21 
• blind or permanently and totally disabled child 
• sibling who has equity interest in the home and who resided in the home for at least 

one year before the individual’s receipt of long-term care services 
• son or daughter residing in the home for at least two years before the individual 

received long-term care services, and who provided care that, as certified by the 
individual’s physician, allowed the individual to reside at home rather than in a 
facility; 

 
(b) the individual demonstrates an intent to dispose of the house at fair market value; 

 
(c) the local agency grants a waiver because denial of eligibility would cause undue hardship 

(In this case, a cause of action exists against the person(s) receiving the asset.); or 
 

(d) the individual or the individual’s spouse provides convincing evidence that the exclusive 
purpose of transferring the homestead was not to obtain or maintain MA services for the 
individual. 

 
Nonhomestead assets or income may be transferred at less than fair market value if: 
 

(a) the transfer is to the spouse or to another individual for the sole benefit of the spouse.  At 
the time of MA application for long-term care services, the assets must be allocated 
between spouses as provided by the spousal impoverishment provisions; 

 
(b) the transfer is to the transferor’s son or daughter who is blind or permanently and totally 

disabled, or is to a trust for an individual under age 65 who is disabled according to 
criteria of the federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program; 

 
(c) the individual demonstrates an intent to dispose of assets at fair market value; 
 
(d) the local agency grants a waiver because denial of eligibility would cause undue hardship 

(In this case, a cause of action exists against the person(s) receiving the asset or income.); 
or 

 
(e) the individual or the individual’s spouse provides convincing evidence that the exclusive 

purpose of transferring the assets or income was not to obtain or maintain MA services 
for the individual. 
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Appendix B: 2003 Waiver Request 
DHS submitted a waiver request related to asset and income transfers to the federal Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in March 2003.  The current status of this waiver 
request is discussed on page 7.   
 
The original 2003 waiver request11 sought federal approval to do the following: 
 

• Prohibit the transfer for less than fair market value of assets such as vehicles and jewelry 
that are now excluded from the asset transfer prohibition. 

• Prohibit MA payments for all MA services during a penalty period (under current law, 
payment is prohibited only for long-term care services). 

• Extend the MA look-back period from 36 months for most transfers and 60 months for 
certain transfers into a trust to 72 months for all transfers.  This item was addressed by 
the DRA. 

• Start the penalty period in the month during which an individual applies for MA or is 
otherwise eligible, or when the county agency becomes aware of the transfer, whichever 
is later.  (Under current law, the penalty period usually begins in the month the assets are 
transferred.)  This item was addressed by the DRA. 

• Change the divisor used to calculate penalty periods from the statewide average nursing 
facility rate to the statewide average nursing facility payment made by MA.  (This would 
have the effect of increasing the length of penalty periods, since a smaller divisor is 
used.) 

• Prohibit the transfer of a home at less than fair market value to specified relatives 
(spouses, adult children who provided care to the recipient in the home for at least two 
years, siblings, minor or disabled children), but allow an exclusion for the home as long 
as the relative continues to reside in the home.  (Under current law, a transfer to a 
specified relative is permitted, regardless of whether the relative continues to live in the 
home.) 

• Allow transfers at less than fair market value to a spouse only up to the amounts allowed 
by the spousal asset provisions.  (Under current law, there are no limits on transfers to a 
spouse if they are for the sole benefit of the spouse.) 

• Regulate transfers for less than fair market value to certain trusts, by:  (1) requiring trusts 
for disabled children to contain a provision that trust funds revert after the death of the 
child to the state to repay MA; (2) prohibiting transfers to trusts established for the sole 
benefit of disabled individuals under age 65, unless the trust is for a child or legal ward of 
the transferor; and (3) giving the state greater authority to declare certain trusts as invalid 
(which would result in transfers into these trusts being treated as uncompensated 
transfers).   

 
 

11 See Minnesota Department of Human Services, Minnesota Asset Transfer Limit § 1115 Waiver Request, 
March 2003. 
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Appendix C: DRA 2005 Changes 
Laws of Minnesota 2006, chapter 282 (H.F. 4162), article 17, contains many sections related to 
compliance with the federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (DRA), P.L. 109-171.  The main 
DRA provisions related to the subject matter of this information brief are summarized below.  
The section citation information for chapter 282, article 17 follows, with the statute where the 
law is codified (unless otherwise noted). 
 
Eligibility 

Homestead equity limit for institutionalized persons.  Effective for applications submitted on 
or after July 1, 2006, and renewals submitted on or after July 1, 2006, for recipients who first 
applied for payment of long-term care services on or after January 2, 2006, homestead equity is 
limited to $500,000, unless the homestead is the lawful residence of the individual’s spouse or 
child who is under age 21, blind, or disabled.  Beginning in 2011, this amount will be increased 
annually by the change in the Consumer Price Index, rounded to the nearest $1,000.  This 
provision can be waived in the case of demonstrated hardship by a process to be determined by 
the federal Secretary of Health and Human Services.  [Sec. 25; § 256B.056, subd. 2]   

Treatment of entrance fees.  Effective July 1, 2006, an entrance fee paid to a continuing care 
retirement or life care community is treated as an available asset to the extent that: 

(1)  the individual has the ability to use the fee, or the contract allows the fee to be used, 
to pay for care should other resources or income be insufficient; 

(2)  the individual is eligible for a refund of remaining fees when the individual dies or 
terminates the contract; and 

(3)  the entrance fee does not confer an ownership interest. 
 
[Sec. 26;  § 256B.056, subd. 3e] 
 
Nursing facility admission contracts.  Effective July 1, 2006, nursing facility admission 
contracts may require, as a condition of admission, residents to remain in private pay status for a 
specified period of time.  [Sec. 23; § 144.6501, subd. 6] 

Disclosure of annuities.  Effective July 1, 2006, individuals applying for or seeking 
recertification of eligibility for MA payment of long-term care services must provide to the 
department a complete description of any interest either the individual or the individual’s spouse 
has in annuities, using disclosure forms provided by DHS.  The disclosure form must include a 
statement that DHS becomes the remainder beneficiary under the annuity or similar financial 
instrument by virtue of receipt of MA.  The individual and the individual’s spouse must execute 
separate disclosure forms for each annuity or similar instrument. 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=l&year=2006&sn=0&num=282
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=l&year=2006&sn=0&num=282
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/bldbill.php?bill=H4162.3.html&session=ls84
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.056
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.056
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=144.6501
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The issuer of an annuity must confirm that this designation has been made and notify the county 
agency when there is a change in the amount of income or principal being withdrawn.  The 
county agency must provide the issuer with contact information.  [Sec. 27; § 256B.056, subd. 11] 
 
Long-Term Care Partnership Program 

The Long-Term Care Partnership Program is a state option under the DRA that allows MA 
applicants to exclude assets upon MA application, and protect assets from MA recoveries, in an 
amount equal to the benefits paid out by a qualified long-term care insurance policy.  In order to 
qualify for the program, applicants must have exhausted all of the benefits under the insurance 
policy and benefits under the policy must not have been paid out prior to July 1, 2006. 

Minnesota passed language during the 2005 session that authorized the state to implement a 
partnership program, subject to obtaining necessary federal approvals and law changes.  The 
2006 provisions related to the partnership program amend and expand on the 2005 provisions, in 
order to conform this law to DRA requirements.   

The 2006 provisions: 

• allow beneficiaries to exchange existing long-term care insurance policies or add 
necessary riders, in order for those policies to meet federal standards for partnership 
policies.  The exchange of policies and addition of riders is allowed unless the policy is 
already paying benefits on the date the policy is exchanged or the rider is added; 

• exempt assets designated as protected from asset transfer penalties; 

• specify inflation protection requirements and eliminate provisions related to offering of 
an elimination period, meeting implementation requirements, provision of total asset 
protection policies, and minimum daily benefits; 

• allow the Commissioner of Human Services, in cooperation with the Commissioner of 
Commerce, to alter partnership program requirements to comply with forthcoming 
requirements of the Department of Health and Human Services and the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners; 

• require the Commissioner of Human Services to submit a state plan amendment to the 
federal government to implement the Long-Term Care Partnership Program; 

• require the Commissioner of Human Services to develop and present to the legislature, by 
December 15, 2006, a plan and draft legislation to allow individuals participating in the 
partnership program to designate assets as contingently protected, and to protect these 
assets if the assets originally protected decline in value; 

• update and revise language in the state long-term care insurance model act (chapter 62S); 
and 

• make other changes necessary to conform to DRA requirements or to establish the 
procedures necessary to implement the partnership program. 

 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.056
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=62S
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[Sec. 2 to 22 (amendments to Minn. Stat. ch. 62S), 28; § 256B.0571; and sec. 36 (uncodified 
law)] 
 
Asset Transfer Prohibitions 

Treatment of annuities.  The purchase of an annuity on or after February 8, 2006, by or for an 
individual who has applied for or is receiving long-term care services, or the individual’s spouse, 
is treated as a disposal of an asset for less than fair market value unless DHS is named as a 
preferred remainder beneficiary and the annuity meets specified Internal Revenue Code and 
other standards. 
 
A change in the designation of DHS as remainder beneficiary results in the annuity being treated 
as a disposal of assets for less than fair market value.  The DRA requires issuers of annuities to 
notify county agencies when there is a change in the amount of the income or principal being 
withdrawn from the annuity.  A change in the amount of income or principal withdrawn may be 
treated as a disposal of assets for less than fair market value.  [Sec. 30; § 256B.0595, subd. 1, 
para. (f)] 
 
When a payment becomes due under an annuity that names DHS a remainder beneficiary, the 
issuer must request and DHS must provide a written statement of the total amount of MA paid.  
The issuer must pay DHS an amount equal to the lesser of the amount due the department under 
the annuity or the total amount of MA paid on behalf of the individual or individual’s spouse.  
Any amounts remaining are payable according to the terms of the annuity.  [Sec. 29;  
§ 256B.0594] 
 
These provisions are effective July 1, 2006. 

Extension of look-back period.  The look-back period for any disposal of assets made on or 
after February 8, 2006, is extended from 36 to 60 months.  This extension will be phased in one 
month at a time beginning 36 months after February 8, 2006, so that the length of the look-back 
period will be 37 months on February 8, 2009 and reach 60 months on February 8, 2011.  [Sec. 
30; § 256B.0595, subd. 1, para. (b)] 

Promissory notes, loans, and mortgages.   Effective July 1, 2006, the prohibition on transfers 
for less than fair market value applies to the funds used to purchase a promissory note, loan, or 
mortgage, unless the instrument purchased has a repayment term that is actuarially sound, 
provides for payments to be made in equal amounts with no deferral or balloon payments, and 
prohibits cancellation of the balance upon the death of the lender.  [Sec. 30; § 256B.0595, subd. 
1, para. (i)] 

Life estates.  Effective July 1, 2006, the purchase of a life estate in another individual’s home is 
considered to be a transfer for less than fair market value, unless the purchaser resides in the 
home for a period of at least 12 consecutive months after the date of purchase.  [Sec. 30;  
§ 256B.0595, subd. 1, para. (j)] 

Change in start date for period of ineligibility.  For uncompensated transfers made on or after 
February 8, 2006, the period of ineligibility begins in the month in which the individual requests 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=62S
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0571
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0595
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0594
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0595
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0595
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0595
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MA payment of long-term care services and is otherwise eligible to receive MA payment of 
long-term care services but for application of the penalty period (see also footnote 9).  This 
provision is effective for requests for MA payment of long-term care services on or after July 1, 
2006.  [Sec. 31; § 256B.0595, subd. 2, para. (c)] 

Elimination of combined transfers not exceeding $200.  The disregard of a total amount of 
uncompensated transfers of no more than $200 in a given month by a person and the person’s 
spouse and not made during a penalty period is eliminated.  This provision is effective July 1, 
2006.  [Sec. 31; § 256B.0595, subd. 2, para. (d)] 

Cumulation of multiple fractional transfers.  In the case of multiple fractional transfers in 
more than one month for less than fair market value on or after February 8, 2006, the period of 
ineligibility is determined by treating the total, cumulative uncompensated value as one transfer.  
This provision is effective for applications, renewals, and reports of transfers received on or after 
July 1, 2006.  [Sec. 31; § 256B.0595, subd. 2, para. (e)] 

Undue hardship waiver requests by facility.  Beginning July 1, 2006, a long-term care facility, 
with the written consent of a resident or the resident’s personal representative, may file an undue 
hardship waiver request on behalf of a resident who is denied eligibility for MA payment of 
long-term care services.  When a waiver is granted, a cause of action exists against the person to 
whom an asset was transferred.  The local agency, in evaluating the waiver request for non-
homestead transfers, must take into account whether the individual has taken any action to 
prevent designation of DHS as a remainder beneficiary on an annuity.  [Secs. 32 and 33;  
§ 256B.0595, subds. 3 and 4] 
 
 
 
 
 
For more information about Medical Assistance, visit the health and human services area of our 
web site, www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/hlt_hum.htm. 
 

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0595
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0595
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0595
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?type=s&num=256B.0595
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