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2004–05 Off-Highway Vehicles

This is a summary of Minnesotaʼs safety laws, rules and regulations for 
off-highway vehicles. For the purposes of this guide, off-highway 
vehicles include all-terrain vehicles, off-highway motorcycles and off-
road vehicles. For complete regulations, consult state statutes and rules.

This information is available in alternative formats to individuals with 
disabilities by calling (651) 296-6157 (Metro Area) or 1-888-MINNDNR 
(MN Toll Free) or Telecommunication Device for the Deaf/TTY: (651) 296-
5484 (Metro Area) or 1-800-657-3929 (Toll Free TTY).

Copyright 2004, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources

Equal opportunity to participate in and benefit from programs of the Minnesota Department 
of Natural Resources is available to all individuals regardless of race, color, creed, religion, 
national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, age, sexual 
orientation or disability. Discrimination inquiries should be sent to MN-DNR, 500 Lafayette 
Road, St. Paul, MN  55155-4031; or the Equal Opportunity Office, Department of the 
Interior, Washington, DC  20240.

This publication is partially funded through advertising revenue. The State of Minnesota and 
the Department of Natural Resources can neither endorse the products or services advertised 
nor accept any liability arising from the use of these products or services.

Tax Time Is Your Time To Help Wildlife
Look for the line with the 

loon on your Minnesota tax 
form and donate to the Nongame 
Wildlife Checkoff. It's fast, easy, 
and tax deductible. Be part of the 
wildlife success story.

HELP STOP THE SPREAD! 
Many invasive exotic species such as garlic mustard, 
spotted knapweed, and leafy spurge are harmful 
to wildlife, forests, trails, and roadsides. Cleaning 
mud from OHVs, trailers and other equipment, 
and footwear between outings helps prevent the 
inadvertent spread of harmful invasive exotic 
species to new locations.
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A Message From Your DNR 
Conservation Offi cers

Parents and owners of ATVs we need 
your help to reduce the number of ATV 
accidents.  

Accident data tells us we need to keep 
our teenagers without driverʼs licenses out of the road right-
of-way. Not only is it illegal, road rights-of-way are the single 
leading location of ATV accidents.

When you look at the age groups of ATV accident 
victims, teenagers account for a very large percentage. Those 
10 through 19 years of age are involved in 42% of all ATV 
accidents and 40% of those accidents involve youth 13 through 
15 years of age. 

Help protect your teenagers. Be sure to take the DNR ATV 
Safety Training Course. Know where your teenagers are riding. 
And until they are 16 years old and have a driverʼs license, they 
should not be driving on roads or within the road right-of-way.  

People enjoy using off-highway vehicles for trail-riding, off -road 
transportation, com pe ti tion and other ac tiv i ties. Your attitude toward 
your sur round ings and your be hav ior as a rider affect the attitudes of 
other out door users, land own ers and law mak ers. Ride re spon si bly!

If you tread lightly on the environment, are cour te ous to others, 
respect private property and obey the law, you are con trib ut ing to 
the positive image of off-highway vehicle ac tiv i ties. Re spon si ble 
riders are also safe riders. Be sure to wear ap pro pri ate pro tec tive 
gear and maintain your machine. Donʼt take chances that endanger 
your self or others. 

WELCOME
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What’s New
•  In 2003 the use of off-highway vehicles (OHV) was banned in 

certain types of wetlands. The 2004 Legislature removed portions 
of that broad ban and added new restrictions on where OHVs can 
travel. The new law does not differentiate between public and 
private wetlands in restricting OHV operation. It attempts to rely 
less on a recreational riderʼs knowledge of various wetland types 
and to make the rider generally more cautious of traveling on any 
wetland that is not part of an approved trail system. In addition, 
it allows exemptions for non-recreational use of OHVs in public 
waters and wetlands for various work-related activities. See page 
18 for additional information on this issue.

•  ATVs include vehicles up to 900 pounds. See page 6.

•  In addition to public land and waters, all off-highway motorcy-
cles (OHMs) operated on private land or used in organized track 
racing events must now be registered with the DNR. See page 9.

•  You may renew your OHV on-line. Visit our web site at
   www.dnr.state.mn.us.

•  The Legislature directed the Commissioner of Natural Resources 
to review the 46 state forests that are currently classified as “man-
aged,” determine the status of existing forest roads and trails, and 
reclassify these forests as either “limited” or “closed.” This is to 
be completed by December 31, 2008. See page 22.

•  County lands lying within the boundaries of a state forest that 
are classified as either “limited” or “closed” have the same OHV 
rules and regulations as state forest lands, unless the county 
board adopts a resolution modifying those restrictions.
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The term off-highway vehicle (OHV) is used to describe all-
terrain vehicles, off-highway motorcycles and off-road vehicles.

All-terrain vehicles (ATVs) are motorized, flota-
tion-tired vehicles with at least three, but no more than 
six low pressure tires, with an engine displacement of 
less than 800 cubic centimeters and total dry weight of 

less than 900 pounds. ATVs with a total dry weight of 900 or more 
pounds are classified as ORVs.

Off-highway motorcycles (OHMs) are motorized, 
off-highway vehicles traveling on two wheels. OHMs 
have a seat or saddle designed to be straddled by the 
operator and have handlebars for steering control. 

Motorcycles may be legal for highway use and still considered to be 
OHMs if used for off-highway operation on trails or natural terrain.

Off-road vehicles (ORVs) are motorized, recreational 
vehicles capable of cross-country travel on natural 
terrain, such as four-wheel-drive trucks and ATVs that 
have an engine displacement of 800 or more cubic 

centimeters or total dry weight of 900 pounds or more. Vehicles 
NOT considered ORVs include snowmobiles, all-terrain vehicles, 
motorcycles, watercraft or aircraft. Farm, logging, military, emer-
gency, law enforcement, utility, trail-grooming and construction 
vehicles are not considered to be ORVs when used for their intended 
purpose. 

Agricultural zone means the areas 
in Minnesota lying south and west of 
a line along the following highway 
rights-of-way: starting at the North 
Dakota border, the line goes east along 
State Highway 10 to State Highway 
23, then follows Highway 23 east to 
State Highway 95, which it follows to 
the Wisconsin border. The agricultural 
zone referred to in this guide applies 

DEFINITIONS
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Public Road Right-of-way
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Riding
Prohibited ATV

Riding
Permitted

ATV
Riding

Permitted

Roadway

DitchDitch

It is illegal to operate on the inside slope, shoulder, and roadway
of state and county roads.

No OHM No OHM

only to ATV use. Agricultural zone restriction: You may not drive an 
ATV within the right-of-way (ditch) of a state or county road from April 
1 to August 1 in the agricultural zone. This does not apply to ATVs 
licensed and used for agricultural purposes.

Public waters where OHVs may not ride include unfrozen lakes, 
rivers and streams. The inventory of public waters can be viewed 
on DNR's web site and at county auditors, soil and water district, 
watershed district, zoning and engineering and DNR Waters and 
Fisheries offices.

Public road right-of-way means the entire right-of-way of a 
roadway that is not privately owned, including the traveled portions, 
banks, ditches, shoulders and medians.

Off-road vehicle staging area means a parking lot, trail head, 
campground or other location to which a off-road vehicle is trans-
ported by truck, trailer or another motor vehicle for use on public 
lands.

Off-highway vehicle use areas are areas posted or designated for 
off-highway vehicle use.
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Look for these seasonal closure signs in state 
forests:

Before operating an OHV in a state forest verify 
the classification of the state forest.  Look for the 
following signs:

Watch for these signs:

ATV Trail 
Indicator

OHM Trail 
Indicator

ORV Trail 
Indicator
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OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLES
REGISTRATION
ATVs

All ATVs operated in Minnesota must be registered with the 
DNR, even if used exclusively on private property.

Recreational Use Registration
Public use registration allows for the operation of ATVs on the 

outer slope of roadside ditches along state and county roads, and if 
local laws do not prohibit, on the right side of township roads.

Private Use Registration
ATVs may be registered for private use when used exclusively 

for agricultural activities, harvesting wood or on private property. 
A private use registration is valid until the ownership of the ATV is 
transferred.

Recreational and Private Use Registration
Some circumstances require ATVs to be registered for both pub-

lic and private use. If an ATV is used for agricultural purposes that 
require operation on the road surface, a private use registration is 
required. If the same ATV is also used on public land or water, both 
public and private use registrations are needed. 

OHMs
All OHMs operated in Minnesota must be registered with the 

DNR, even if used exclusively on private property or in track racing 
events.

Recreational and Highway Use Registration
Some OHMs are equipped so that they may be legally licensed 

for highway use. An OHM licensed for highway use, which is also 
used off-road must have both the regular motorcycle license and the 
DNR OHM registration.

ORVs
All ORVs operated off-road must be registered with the DNR. In 

addition, individuals may not have ORVs that are not licensed for 
road use in possession at an ORV staging area, designated trail or 
other designated area unless the vehicle has been registered with the 
DNR for off-road use.
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ATV Registration Fees Fee Issuance Total Duration
   Fees  Fees
New Public Use  23.00  8.50   31.50 3 Years
Renewal Public Use  23.00  6.00   29.00 3 Years
Transfer  4.00  8.50   12.50
Private/Agricultural  6.00  8.50   14.50 
Duplicate  4.00  6.00   10.00
Dealer–New  50.00  8.50   58.50 1 Year
Dealer–Renewal  50.00  6.00   56.00 1 Year
Manufacturer–New  150.00  8.50  158.50 1 Year
Manufacturer–Renewal  150.00  6.00  156.00 1 Year
Duplicate Decal    6.00   6.00
 
OHM Registration Fees Fee Issuance  Total Duration 
   Fees Fees
New   30.00  8.50   38.50 3 Years
Renewal  30.00  6.00   36.00 3 Years
Transfer  4.00  8.50   12.50
Duplicate  4.00  6.00   10.00
Dealer–New  50.00  8.50   58.50 1 Year
Dealer–Renewal  50.00  6.00   56.00 1 Year
Manufacturer–New 150.00  8.50   158.50 1 Year
Manufacturer–Renewal  150.00  6.00   156.00 1 Year
Duplicate Decal    6.00   6.00

ORV Registration Fees Fee Issuance Total Duration 
   Fees Fees
New   30.00  8.50   38.50 3 Years
Renewal  30.00  6.00   36.00 3 Years
Transfer  4.00  8.50   12.50
Duplicate  4.00  6.00   10.00
Dealer–New  50.00  8.50   58.50 1 Year
Manufacturer–New  150.00  8.50  158.50 1 Year
Manufacturer–Renewal  150.00  6.00   156.00 1 Year
Duplicate Decal    6.00   6.00

Registration Fees

As long as  
machine is held 
by same party

Recreational and Highway Use Registration
Most ORVs are licensed for highway use. An ORV licensed for 

highway use, which is also operated in designated public ORV use 
areas or trails must have both the regular vehicle license and the 
DNR ORV registration.

{
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How To Register An Off-highway Vehicle
Off-highway vehicles can be registered at a deputy registrar of 

motor vehicles office (where automobile licenses are handled) or 
at the DNR License Bureau in St. Paul. You may also renew your 
OHV license on-line at  www.dnr.state.mn.us. No additional fee 
will be charged for your on-line purchase.

The information required for registration of an off-highway 
vehicle includes the make, model, year, serial number, and sales 
receipt. For ATV and OHM registration the engine size is required. 
For ATV registration the weight is also required.
•  ATVs  and OHMs purchased from a retail dealer must be regis-

tered by the dealer. Transfers and registration renewals are the 
responsibility of the owner.

•  A registration number and a decal are issued when an ATV or 
OHM is registered. 

•  Because ORVs are sold primarily for roadway use, owners must 
register their own ORVs for designated trail and staging area use. 
The owner is given a registration card and decals at the time of 
registration.

Individuals are not required to carry the registration card, but 
it must be provided within a reasonable time period when an 
enforcement officer requests to see it.

Minnesota OHV registration is NOT required for:
•  Off-highway vehicles registered in another state or country 

and not in Minnesota for more than 30 days.
•  ATVs that are used exclusively in organized track racing 

events.
•  OHMs registered for highway use when operated on forest 

roads.
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ATV Dual Registration

       ATV Private Use

ATV Public Use

Display of Numbers and Decals
ATV

ATVs registered for public use or with a dual registration must 
display current public use registration number and decal(s) on a 
plate at least 4 inches high and 71⁄2 inches long. The plate must be 
clearly visible on the back of the vehicle and at least 12 inches from 
the ground. For a public use registration, the decal must be dis-
played in the upper left section of the plate. For a dual registration, 
the private use decal must also be displayed on the plate, in the upper 
right corner. The plate and decal must be maintained in a clear and 
legible condition.

    

Registration letters and numbers must be:
•  at least 11⁄2 inches high with a 3⁄16-inch stroke
•  in English and placed from left to right
•  in a color that contrasts with the background of the plate.

ATVs registered for private use only must display the private use 
decal in the upper right section of the plate. No numbers are needed 
for this type of registration.

OHM
OHMs registered only for off-road use must display current 

registration number and decal on a plate at least 4 inches high and 
71⁄2 inches long. The plate must be clearly visible on the back of the 
vehicle and at least 12 inches from the ground. The decal must be 
displayed in the upper left section of the plate. The plate and decal 
must be maintained in a clear and legible condition.
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Registration letters and numbers must be:
•  at least 11⁄2 inches high with a 3⁄16-inch stroke
•  in English and placed from left to right
•  in a color that contrasts with the background of the plate.

OHMs licensed in Minnesota for roadway use and off-road use 
must display the OHM decal in the upper left section of the regular 
motorcycle license plate. The DNR registration number should not 
be displayed.

         OHM Roadway and 
              Off-Road Use

                   OHM 
         Off-Road Use Only

                    ORV 
        Off-Road Use Only

          ORV Roadway and 
              Off-Road Use

ORV
ORVs registered only for designated trail or area use must dis-

play the current decal on a plate at least 4 inches high and 71⁄2 inches 
long. No registration number should be displayed. The plate must be 
clearly visible on the back of the vehicle and at least 12 inches from 
the ground. The decal must be displayed in the upper left section of 
the plate. The plate and decal must be maintained in a clear and leg-
ible condition.

ORVs licensed in Minnesota for roadway use and also used 
off-road in designated public ORV trails and use areas must dis-
play the ORV decal in the upper left section of the regular motor 
vehicle license plate. The DNR registration number should not be 
displayed.
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Expiration and Renewal
The expiration date appears on both the registration card and the 

decal. All public use ATV and all OHM and ORV renewals expire 
on December 31st of the last year the registration is valid.

Individuals who notify the DNR of mailing address changes 
should receive a notice by mail to renew their registration. Whether 
notified or not, owners are responsible for renewing their public use 
ATV, OHM and ORV registrations. 

Private use ATV registration does not expire. It is valid until 
the ownership is transferred.

Replacement Registration Cards and Decals
Off-highway vehicle owners may obtain a replacement registra-

tion card for $10.00 from a deputy registrar or the DNR License 
Bureau. Replacement decals are available from the DNR License 
Bureau or the Deputy Registrar of Motor Vehicles at a charge of 
$6.00. Replacement decals and numbers must be affixed in the same 
manner as the original.

GENERAL OPERATIONS
The following regulations apply to all off-highway vehicles: 

all-terrain vehicles, off-highway motorcycles and off-road vehicles. 
Information and regulations specific to each of these vehicle types 
can be found in the All-Terrain Vehicle, Off-Highway Motorcycle 
and Off-Road Vehicle sections of this booklet.
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Required Equipment
Off-highway vehicles operated on public lands, waters, trails, 

public streets and roads open to vehicle use must be equipped as 
follows:
Helmet
•  Any person under the age of 18 must wear a helmet when operat-

ing an ATV or OHM.
Lights
•  Headlights and taillights must be on during hours of darkness or 

reduced visibility.
Brakes
•  Brakes must control movement and stop and hold the vehicle. 

Throttle
•  The throttle must return the engine to idle when pressure to 

advance the throttle is removed.
Mufflers
•  Mufflers must have a federally approved spark arrestor.
•  Overall noise emission may not exceed 99 decibels at a distance 

of 20 inches.
•  Mufflers may not be altered to increase motor noise, or have a 

cutout, bypass, or similar device except for organized events.
Towing
•  A straight arm bar must be used to tow a sled or trailer  

containing passengers. 
•  A disabled vehicle towed by any means may contain a  

person to steer. 
•  At least 16 square inches of reflective material that is unobstruct-

ed and visible must be mounted on each side and at the rear of a 
sled or trailer.

Where You May Ride
You may operate an off-highway vehicle:
•  on private land with the landownerʼs permission
•  on frozen public waters where you have legal access (if not 

restricted by law or local ordinances)
•  on public lands that are open to OHVs. Land uses may vary; be 

sure to check federal, state, and local regulations for details. 
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Also see hunting exception on managed or limited state forest 
lands on page 21.

In the seven-county metro area, you may ride:
•  on your own land
•  on land other than your own, with written 

or verbal permission of the landowner, 
occupant or lessee

•  on land posted with signs specifically 
permitting the use of off-highway vehicles.

Where You May NOT Ride
Also see specific sections for additional restrictions.

You may not operate an off-highway vehicle:
•  on the median of a four-lane highway
•  within the right-of-way of any interstate highway
•  on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic
•  at airports
•  on unfrozen public waters that are lakes, streams and rivers
•  on any frozen public waters where you donʼt have legal access or 

where itʼs prohibited
•  in most state parks, state recreation areas, state historic sites, 

wildlife management areas, or state scientific and natural areas 
with the exception of posted trails and areas

•  in any areas, including streets, restricted by local ordinances or 
municipalities

•  in a tree nursery or planting area
•  on state forest lands that are posted or designated closed to 

motorized uses (see pages 21–23)
•  on agricultural land without permission (see page 26)
•  OHMs and ORVs cannot be operated in ditches unless on a 

designated trail. See diagram on page 7. 

Inside the seven-county metro area, you may not ride on land 
you do not own, unless given written or verbal permission to ride on 
that land by the owner, occupant or lessee.

Outside the seven-county metro area, you may not ride on land 
that you have been told verbally, in writing, or by posted signs, not 
to ride. 
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All OHVs 
are banned 
in unfrozen 
public waters

All OHVs 
are banned 
in calcareous 
fens

Operation 
of OHVs on 
land

OHV 
operation in 
wetlands for 
recreational 
purposes

OHV 
operation 
in wetlands 
for non-
recreational 
purposes

OHVs may not be operated below the ordinary 
high-water level in unfrozen lakes, rivers, and 
streams (see DNR's web site for public waters 
inventory and locations of maps on a county by 
county basis).

OHV operation is prohibited in calcareous fens. 
Calcareous fens are a rare type of wetland in 
Minnesota; they are fed by groundwater, highly 
alkaline, and have low dissolved oxygen. The state 
has approximately 137 calcareous fens located on 
private and public property. 

A person driving an OHV must not operate 
the vehicle in a way that willfully, wantonly, 
or recklessly disregards the safety of people or 
property. OHVs may not be operated in state parks, 
scientific and natural areas, or wildlife management 
areas unless specifically authorized by law.

A person driving an OHV in a wetland must not 
operate the vehicle in a way that: 
•  Willfully, wantonly, or recklessly disregards the 

safety of people or property; 
•  Carelessly upsets the natural and ecological 

balance of a wetland; or 
•  Impacts more than the minimum amount 

of wetlands as allowed by law, which is 
approximately 400 square feet of a wetland 
(more or less, but varies by location and size of 
the wetland). 

Limited operation of OHVs in wetlands is allowed 
for non-recreational purposes that include activities 
such as agriculture, utilities, public works, 
pipelines, and silviculture, as long as the operation 
complies with OHV operation in wetlands for 
recreational purposes (see above), the Wetlands 
Conservation Act, and public water laws.

Wetlands
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Private owners 
may access 
their land

OHV trail 
development 
and usage

Speed
You may not operate an off-highway vehicle at a speed greater 

than is reasonable under all of the surrounding circumstances or 
greater than the posted speed limit on any public lands, waters, trails 
or public road rights-of-way. Speed limit signs may be erected along 
specific portions of trails.

Check For Other Government Regulations or Ordinances
Cities, towns, and counties may further regulate the opera-

tion of off-highway vehicles under their jurisdiction. Check with 
the appropriate unit of government for additional regulations. 

National forests and Voyagers National Park regulate motor 
vehicle use on federal lands. Check with the managing agency 
before riding on these lands.

Other Prohibitions
You may not:
•  operate an off-highway vehicle in a careless, reckless or negligent 

manner that endangers another person or their property
•  litter
•  enter or leave lands by cutting wire or tearing down a fence
•  mutilate, destroy, damage or remove any property within a trail or 

on state land
•  post, damage or remove any signs on any lands or waters unless 

you are the landowner, occupant or lessee of the property.

A permit may be issued to private landowners or 
leaseholders allowing them to access their land 
with an OHV when they must cross DNR admin-
istered land. Contact your local DNR Regional 
Office to inquire about obtaining this permit.

Trail systems involving wetlands need to 
comply with public waters laws and the 
Wetlands Conservation Act. Contact your local 
DNR Trails and Waterways Office and the 
Division of Waters for assistance.
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To report a violation:
Contact your local police department, sheriffʼs office, the 

state patrol, or a DNR conservation officer. Conservation officers 
are dispatched through the state patrol. To reach a conservation 
officer, call your nearest state patrol headquarters.

The speed limit may be waived in writing by the DNR for an 
organized race or similar competitive event. Contact the DNR at 1-
888-MINNDNR (646-6367). 

Trail Riding
•  All trail signs must be obeyed.
•  One-way trails must be traveled in the direction indicated.
•  When meeting or being passed by another trail user, you must 

stay to the right half of the treadway.
•  When passing another trail user, you must pass on the left half of 

the treadway and only when the trail is free from oncoming traf-
fic for a sufficient distance to safely pass the other trail user.

•  When entering or crossing a trail treadway you must yield to trail 
traffic.

•  When two trail users are about to enter an unmarked treadway 
intersection from different directions, the trail user to the right 
has the right-of-way.

•  Motorized trail users must yield the right-of-way to non-motor-
ized trail users and shut off their machines when meeting a horse 
until the horse has passed or until waved on.

Crossing Public Roads
A valid driverʼs license is required to operate anywhere it is legal 

on road rights-of-way including ditches, inside and outside slopes, 
and crossing roads. The only exception would be on portions of a 
designated trail that specifically include a road right-of-way.

When making a direct crossing of a street or road: 
•  come to a complete stop and look both ways
•  yield to all traffic
•  cross the road at a 90 degree angle
•  cross a divided road only at an intersection.
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STATE FOREST LANDS
Rules Relating to Motor Vehicle Operation on State 
Forest Lands

State forest lands are classified by the commissioner for purposes 
of motor vehicle use. “Motor vehicle” means any self-propelled 
vehicle including, but not limited to, automobiles, trucks, dune 
buggies, minibikes, motorcycles, trail bikes, and all terrain vehicles 
(ATVs). It does not include snowmobiles. Motor vehicle use is regu-
lated on state forest lands as follows: 

State Forest Lands Classified as Managed:
•  Motor vehicles may operate only on forest roads 

and forest trails unless they are posted and des-
ignated closed.

State Forest Lands Classified as Limited:
•  OHV use is prohibited on state land and on 

county-administered land within the boundar-
ies of a state forest, except on designated OHV 
roads and trails.

•  Counties may adopt a resolution to modify the 
above restrictions on county-administered forest 
land within state forest boundaries.

•  Motor vehicles may operate only on forest trails 
or other areas that are posted and designated 
open.

State Forest Lands: Managed or Limited
•  Exception: Persons lawfully engaged in hunting big game or 

constructing hunting stands during October, November, and 
December, retrieving big game during September, or trapping 
during open seasons, may use ATVs off forest trails in a manner 
consistent with the general operating restrictions. This exception 
does not apply in the Richard J. Dorer Memorial 
Hardwood Forest.

State Forest Lands Classified as Closed:
•  Motor vehicles and snowmobiles are not 

allowed except:
› Vehicles licensed for highway use may use 

forest roads that are not posted or gated 
closed.
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State Forests Classified as Closed
  • Birch Lakes State Forest             • Lake Isabella State Forest
  • Burntside State Forest*               • Lake Jeanette State Forest* 
  • Insula Lake State Forest              • Sand Dunes State Forest
* Portions within the BWCAW classified as closed.

General Operating Restrictions—anywhere on state forest lands 
that motor vehicles are allowed.
•  No motor vehicle operation is allowed on designated non-

motorized trails unless also posted open for a motorized use.
•  No motor vehicle operation is allowed on or over lakes, rivers or 

streams except:
› when the water body is ice covered
› on a bridge, culvert or designated low water crossing.

   •  Chengwatana State Forest        
   •  D.A.R. State Forest
   •  General C.C. Andrews State    
      Forest
   •  R.J. Dorer Memorial 
      Hardwood State Forest             

   •  Rum River State Forest
   •  St. Croix State Forest
   •  Snake River State Forest
   •  Nemadji State Forest
   •  Some areas of Foothills           
      and Finland State Forests

State Forests Classified as Limited

The other 46 state forests not listed as closed or limited are classified 
as managed. The Legislature directed the Commissioner of Natural 
Resources to review the 46 state forests that are currently classified as 
managed, determine the status of existing forest roads and trails (either 
open or closed to OHVs), and reclassify these forests as either limited 
or closed. This is to be completed prior to December 31, 2008.

State Forests Classified as Managed

› Vehicles may operate on frozen public waters where it is 
not otherwise prohibited.

› Snowmobiles may operate on designated trails.
•  Counties may adopt a resolution to modify the above restrictions 

on county-administered forest land within state forest boundar-
ies.
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•  Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate on forest lands 
in a manner that causes erosion or rutting, damages, or destroys 
trees or growing crops. The rutting provision does not apply on 
designated motorized trails.

•  Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate within the  
boundaries of an area that is posted and designated as closed to 
such use.

•  Motor vehicles on state forest roads must travel at a reasonable 
and prudent speed; obey posted speed limits, parking and traffic 
regulation signs; observe road closures; and may not operate in 
a manner that causes damage to the road, land or other natural 
resources.

•  No person shall construct an unauthorized permanent trail on for-
est lands.

•  Special provision for Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood For-
est: Motor vehicles and snowmobiles may operate on forest roads 
that are not posted closed and ONLY on forest trails that are 
designated for motorized use. No motorized travel is allowed off 
of designated trails under any circumstances. Motorized trails are 
open for ATV and OHM use from May 1 to November 1.

Events On State Forest Lands
A permit is required from a DNR area forester to hold an event on 

state forest lands. The DNR may charge a fee for the use of the land. 
Security such as a bond or cashierʼs check may be required to ensure 
that cleanup, sign removal, damage, repairs and other actions are com-
pleted.

Consent is required of the official or board having jurisdiction 
over the public lands or road rights-of-way to hold an event within 
those areas and may require a permit for the contest or event includ-
ing restrictions and conditions.

For emergencies or authorized special events, the DNR may 
provide temporary exceptions to the general rules for a specific state 
park, forest campground, forest day use area or state forest lands. 
Notice of the exception will be posted at the site.
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ENFORCEMENT
Conservation officers, deputy sheriffs, police and peace officers, 

and natural resource officers enforce off-highway vehicle rules. You 
must stop when signaled by a law enforcement officer.

Penalties
•  Fleeing an enforcement officer is a felony. In addition, the OHV 

used may be forfeited.
•  A violation of ATV or ORV laws is a misdemeanor. 
•  A violation of OHM laws is a petty misdemeanor or a 

misdemeanor.
•  Many operation, registration and trespass violations can also be 

enforced by issuing a civil citation.

Reporting Stolen, Abandoned or Destroyed 
Vehicles

A registered off-highway vehicle that is abandoned, stolen or 
destroyed must be reported to the DNR within 15 days. No fee is 
charged for reporting the vehicle.

Accident Reports
The operator and an officer investigating an off-highway vehicle 

accident must file a written report of the accident to the DNR within 
10 days if:
•  the accident resulted in a human injury requiring medical atten-

tion or hospitalization, or death; or
•  the total damage was $300 or more for ORVs, or $500 or more 

for ATVs or OHMs.

OPERATING WHILE INTOXICATED
Operating an off-highway vehicle while under the influence 

of alcohol, a controlled substance or other hazardous substance is 
unlawful. Operators who are impaired may be required to submit 
to tests by an enforcement officer to determine the presence of 
these substances. There is a separate, additional criminal penalty 
for refusal to submit to the test requests, and the personʼs operat-
ing privileges for the vehicle type will be suspended for one year 
upon refusal. OHV DWI convictions and refusals are recorded on 
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TRESPASS
Ask First! The trespass law applies to 

all outdoor recreation including opera-
tion of your off-highway vehicle.

Landowners, lessees or land man-
agers need only post their land once a 
year. The signs must be at intervals of 
1,000 ft (500 ft in wooded areas) or signs 
may be placed at primary corners and at access points to the prop-
erty. Signs must state “No Trespassing” or similar words in 2 inch 
letters and the signature or name and telephone number of the land-
owner, lessee or manager.

Just because property isnʼt posted, that doesnʼt mean you have 
the right to enter someone elseʼs private property. The posted signs 

the violatorʼs driverʼs license record and may affect their driverʼs 
license privileges.

 An operator who is found to be impaired can be charged with 
a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor or felony level DWI. Persons 
convicted of a misdemeanor will be subject to: up to $1,000 fine 
(plus surcharges); possible jail sentence; and loss of OHV operating 
privileges for one year. 

In addition to the above misdemeanor penalties, the following 
gross misdemeanor penalty provisions may apply if the person has 
any prior DWI violations, has an alcohol concentration of .20 or 
more, or has a child under age 16 with them on the OHV: 

•  up to $3,000 fine
•  longer, mandatory jail time
•  chemical use assessment and 

long-term monitoring pro-
grams

•  loss of motor vehicle driverʼs 
license privileges

•  motor vehicle plate impound-
ment of all motor vehicles 
owned or leased individually 
or jointly by the person

•  forfeiture of the OHV
•  substantially higher fines.

Felony level penalties include all of the above provisions, 
substantially higher fines (up to $14,000), longer revocations and 
longer mandatory jail time.   
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indicated the landownerʼs intention to prevent unauthorized entry. 
There can be civil and criminal penalties for violation of the tres-
pass laws. Civil penalties start at $50 for first offense, and range up 
to $500 and loss of license or registration for a third offense within 
three years. 

All conservation and peace officers enforce trespass laws.

You must have permission to:
•  enter legally posted land
•  enter agricultural land. “Agricultural land” is land that is plowed 

or tilled; has standing crops or crop residue; is within a main-
tained fence for enclosing domestic livestock; is planted native 
or introduced hay land or grassland; or is planted to short rota-
tion woody crops (hybrid poplar and other woody plants that are 
harvested for their fiber within 15 years of planting). 

   Please Note: All planted grassland, hay land, and short-rotation 
woody crop land meet the definition of agricultural land, includ-
ing grasslands enrolled in the federal Conservation Reserve 
Program (CRP), Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program 
(CREP), or the state RIM Reserve program. These lands do not 
need to be posted to prevent unauthorized trespass. 

You may not:
•  wound or kill another personʼs domestic animal or destroy pri-

vate property
•  pass through a closed gate without returning it to the original 

position
•  stray off marked trails.

RELATED GAME LAWS
A person may not discharge a firearm or bow and arrow at a 

grouse, or a decoy of a grouse placed by an enforcement officer, 
unless the person is at least 20 yards away from a motor vehicle and 
the motor is turned off. Exceptions will be made only for hunters 
with disabilities who are in possession of a valid permit allowing 
them to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle.
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General Restrictions
It is unlawful to:
•  transport a firearm on any off-highway vehicle unless it is 

unloaded and completely enclosed in a case or is a handgun car-
ried under a valid permit to carry

•  transport an archery bow on any off-highway vehicle unless it is 
unstrung or enclosed in a case

•  use any off-highway vehicle to chase, run over or kill a wild 
animal

•  shoot or attempt to shoot an animal from any off-highway 
vehicle without a special disability permit to do so.

Firearms deer hunting
To reduce disturbance during prime hunting hours, a person 

possessing a valid deer license may operate an off-highway vehicle 
during the firearms deer season only:
•  before legal shooting hours (one-half hour before sunrise)
•  from 11 a.m. until 2 p.m.
•  after legal shooting hours (one-half hour after sunset).

A permit to operate an off-highway vehicle during the legal 
shooting hours for deer may be issued by a conservation officer in 
the event of an emergency or another unusual condition.

The above firearms deer provisions do not apply to vehicles 
licensed for roadway use.

Special Permits for Disabled Hunters
A permit may be issued to shoot from a standing OHV to a 

licensed hunter who has a permanent physical disability and is 
unable to step from a vehicle without the aid of a wheelchair, crutch-
es, braces, or other mechanical support or prosthetic device; or is 
required to use supplemental oxygen to assist breathing because 
they are unable to walk any distance because of a permanent lung, 
heart, or other internal disease. For more details contact the Depart-
ment of Natural Resources Information Center toll free 1-888-
MINNDNR (646-6367).
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ATV

ATV Design
High ground clearance 
and short, narrow 
wheel base

Seating straddles the 
top of the machine

Wide, low pressured, 
knobby tires

Powerful drive train 
with high and low 
gear ratios

Fixed rear axle for 
traction

Potential Risk
Operator must have sufficient size and 
weight to properly balance the vehicle. 
ATV may roll or flip with shift of body 
weight. ATV is more likely to roll than 
skid in turns and on hillsides.

Requires operator to maintain balance 
on the machine. Operator can fall or be 
thrown. No protection for the operator in 
a collision or roll over.

Wobble or bounce may cause loss of 
control. Vehicle is more likely to roll than 
skid in turns and on hillsides.

Has power to climb or accelerate until it 
flips over backwards. Capable of speed 
too fast for conditions and or skill of the 
operator.

Prevents the inner wheel from rotating 
freely when attempting turns on pave-
ment. Loss of control occurs when torque 
to the inner wheel releases in the sudden 
lurch forward.

ATV owners are cautioned that any 
inexperienced rider in the first month of operating 
an ATV has 13 times the average risk of injury. 
Never permit the inexperienced to operate an ATV until they 
have read the ownerʼs manual and all warning labels, and have 
completed a certified training course.

ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLE 
SAFETY SECTION

Know the uniqueness of ATV design and the 
potential risk of accidents and injury.
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ATV
Passenger Restrictions

To maintain stability and control an ATV 
operator needs the entire seat to shift posi-
tion. The weight and position of a passenger 
restricts an operatorʼs ability to prevent roll 
overs and flips. 

Because an ATV does not provide foot 
rests or hand grips for a passenger, the pas-
senger has a high risk of falling or being thrown from the machine. 

State law prohibits a person from operating an ATV with more 
persons on the vehicle than it was designed to carry. Generally, 
ATVs are not designed to carry passengers but some manufacturers 
do have models available.

The only exception to this regulation: an adult parent or guard-
ian may operate an ATV with one child under 16 years of age as a 
passenger provided the child wears a helmet.

Double riding can be unsafe and even hazardous, especially 
on trails rated as moderate or difficult, like those found at the Iron 
Range Off-Highway Vehicle State Recreation Area where passenger 
restriction laws are strictly enforce.

Warning
Approximately 40 percent of ATV related 

deaths and injuries are to youths under 
age 16. The U.S. Consumer Product Safety 
Commission warns that young people, under 
the age of 16 years, should never operate 
an adult sized ATV (over 90cc engine size). 
State law prohibits youth under the age of 
16 years from operating ATVs over 90ccs on public lands and 
waters, including public roads and road rights-of-way unless the 
youth has completed the new riding component test on an ATV over 
90ccs and is accompanied by a person 18 or over who has a valid 
driver's license.

Why Children Are At Risk Operating ATVs
Children cannot maintain position or control without increased 

risk of falling or being thrown from the machine because:

~.. " "••
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ATV
Leg Length

A minimum of 3 inches of clearance between the seat and the top 
inseam of the pants when standing on the foot rests is required to 
enable the operator to maintain balance on the foot rests when turn-
ing and riding over hills and rough terrain.

Arm Length
While seated on the machine and gripping the handle bars there 

should be a distinct bend in the arm at the elbow. Without a bend, 
there will not be sufficient reach to properly grip the handle bars 
when turning.

Hand Size
While gripping the handle bar with fingers extended to the brake 

lever, the first joint of the index finger should extend beyond the brake 
lever. If it doesnʼt, the hand is too small to safely operate the brake.

The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (USCPSC) 
states that a variety of factors converge to place children at risk as 
operators of ATVs including:
•  Children believe products purchased by their parents are safe.
•  Danger and risk are underestimated because of the childʼs own 

lack of experience with accidents.
•  Children between the ages of 12 and 15 often overestimate their 

skills, particularly with increased experience.
•  Children can easily get into trouble trying to imitate more com-

plex maneuvers of older friends.

ATV EDUCATION AND TRAINING
The DNR Division of Enforcement administers an ATV safety 

training program. The course includes ATV familiarization, operat-
ing procedures, ATV laws, loading and towing procedures, ethics, 
safety hazards and environmental consequences.

For a $15 fee, students who successfully complete the safety 
training program, riding component, and written test are issued a 
safety certificate.

A duplicate ATV Safety Certificate can be obtained at any 
Electronic Licensing System (ELS) hunting and fishing agent for 
$3.50 and at the DNR Information Center and DNR Safety Training 
Program Headquarters for $5.00.
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ATV

YOUTHFUL OPERATORS
It is unlawful for anyone in control of an ATV to permit it to be 

operated contrary to the following requirements:

Age Requirement

Under 12 May operate only on private property with permission of   
      the owner.
12 through  ATV safety certificate valid only if the rider is able to
15  properly reach and control the handle bars and reach the
      foot pegs while sitting upright on the seat of the ATV.
      ATV safety certificate is valid for ATVs 90cc
      or less, unless the person has completed the new riding   
      component test on an ATV over 90ccs.
      May operate an ATV on public lands or frozen public 
      waters with a safety certificate, only if accompanied on
      another ATV by a person 18 or over who has a valid   
      driver's license.
      May make a direct crossing of roadway with a safety 
      certificate, only if accompanied on another ATV by a 
      person 18 or over who has a valid driver's license.
      Must wear a helmet while operating on public lands and   
      frozen waters when crossing road rights-of-way.
16 and 17 May operate an ATV on public lands and frozen public   
      waters without a safety certificate.
      Must have a driverʼs license to make direct crossing of   
      roadway or operate on road rights-of-way.
      Must wear a helmet while operating on public lands,   
      frozen public waters and on road rights-of-way.

Youth ages 12 through 15, who are accompanied on another ATV 
by someone 18 or older who has a valid driver's license, will be able 
to operate an ATV larger than 90cc on public lands and waters if they 
have taken the ATV training class that includes a riding component. 
For information on safety training, to request the independent study 
portion of the course, or to check locations for the riding component 
testing, contact DNR Web Site www.dnr.state.mn.us, or the DNR 
Information Center, Twin Cities 651-296-6157, Toll free 1-888-646-
6367 or DNR Safety Training Program Headquarters, 1-800-366-8917.
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OHM

GENERAL OPERATIONS
•  Agricultural zone restriction: You may not drive an ATV within 

the right-of-way, including the ditch, of a state or county road 
from April 1 to August 1 in the agricultural zone (see definition 
on page 4). This does not apply to ATVs licensed and used for 
agricultural use.

•  The headlight and taillight must be on at all times if your ATV is 
equipped with them.

•  You may not exceed 10 mph on the frozen surface of public 
waters within 100 feet of another person that is not on an ATV 
(including people that are fishing) or within 100 feet of a fish 
shelter.

•  Grant-in-aid snowmobile and ski trails are closed to ATVs unless 
specifically allowed.

•  Road authorities now have the ability to restrict ATV operation 
in ditches. A public hearing must be held and these restrictions 
would not apply to agricultural use.

•  You may operate an off-highway vehicle on a bridge, a roadway 
shoulder or the inside bank of a public road right-of-way 
if necessary to avoid obstructions to travel. You must remain on 
the farthest right-hand lane, enter the roadway within 100 feet 
of the bridge or obstacle and make the crossing without delay. 
You may not cross a bridge that is part of the traveled lanes of an 
interstate highway.

•  A valid driverʼs license is required to operate in a road right-of-
way.

•  A driverʼs license is not required on a designated trail that 
includes a road right-of-way.

•  A person with a valid driverʼs license may operate an ATV 
registered for private use and being used for agricultural 
purposes on a public right-of-way of a trunk, county, state aid, 
or county highway, if the ATV is on the extreme right side of the 
road. A left turn may be made if it is safe to do so.

•  Operation on a township road: A person with a valid driver's 
license may operate an ATV on the right half of a township road, 
unless prohibited by local regulations. If traveling at a slower 
speed than other traffic on the township road, the ATV should be 
driven as close as practical to the right hand edge of the road.
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OHM

YOUTHFUL OPERATORS
It is unlawful for anyone in control of an OHM 

to allow it to be operated contrary to the following 
requirements.

Any person under the age of 18 must wear a helmet.

OFF-HIGHWAY MOTORCYCLE 
SAFETY SECTION

Age Requirement

Under 12  May not make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way.
 May not operate an off-highway motorcycle on a public  
 road or public road right-of-way.
 May not operate an OHM on public lands or frozen public 
 waters unless accompanied on another OHM by a person  
 18 years of age or older.
 Must possess a valid off-highway motorcycle safety permit  
 to operate an OHM on public lands or frozen public 
 waters. 
Under 16 Must possess a valid off-highway motorcycle safety permit  
 to operate an OHM on public lands or frozen public 
 waters. 
 May make a direct crossing of a public road (except an  
 interstate highway) if accompanied on another OHM  
 by a person 18 years of age or older who holds a valid  
 driverʼs license.
 May operate within a road right-of-way that is part of a  
 designated trail when accompanied by a person 18 years  
 or older who holds a valid driverʼs license.
16 and Must have a driverʼs license to operate an OHM on a public  
17 road and the motorcycle must be licensed for road use.
 A driverʼs license is not required on designated trails when  
 the trail specifically includes the road right-of-way.
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ORV
Safety Tips: 
•  Any person who operates an OHM must wear eye protection.
•  Always wear a helmet and protective clothing.
•  Never carry a passenger on vehicles intended for one-person use. 

OHM EDUCATION AND TRAINING
The DNR Division of Enforcement administers an OHM safety 

training program. The course includes OHM familiarization, oper-
ating procedures, OHM laws, loading and towing procedures, eth-
ics, safety hazards and environmental consequences.

For a $5 fee, students who successfully complete the training 
packet and written test are issued a safety certificate. Duplicate 
certificates are available from the DNR if the original is lost or 
destroyed.

A duplicate OHM Safety Certificate can be obtained at any 
Electronic Licensing System (ELS) hunting and fishing agent for 
$3.50 and at the DNR Information Center and DNR Safety Training 
Program Headquarters for $5.00

For more information call the DNR Information Center, Twin 
Cities 651-296-6157, Toll free 1-888-646-6367 or DNR Safety 
Training Program Headquarters, 1-800-366-8917.

GENERAL OPERATIONS
•  You may not operate an OHM in ditches, unless it is a trail 

designated for OHM use. OHMs registered for highway use may 
operate on road ways. (See diagram on page 7.)

•  A valid driverʼs license with a motorcycle endorsement is 
required to operate anywhere on road rights-of-way including 
crossing roads. The only exception would be on portions of a 
designated trail that specifically include a road right-of-way.

•  Your OHM must have a headlight, a taillight and brakes to be 
operated on a public road. The lights must be on while operation 
on a trunk, county, state aid, or county highway or when crossing 
a public road right-of-way, one-half hour after sunset to one-half 
hour before sunrise or in conditions of reduced visibility.

•  You must wear eye protection when operating an OHM.
•  You may not exceed 10 mph on the frozen surface of public 

waters within 100 feet of a person fishing or a fishing shelter.
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ORV

YOUTHFUL OPERATORS
A person under 16 years of age may not operate an 

ORV. The owner of an ORV may not knowingly allow 
it to be operated by a person under 16 years of age.

GENERAL OPERATIONS
•  All ORV passengers and operators must wear seat belts.
•  A valid driverʼs license is required to cross roads. THE ONLY 

EXCEPTION would be for those portions of a designated trail that 
specifically include a road right-of-way.

•  ORVs are required to have lights on while crossing public roads 
one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise and dur-
ing periods of reduced visibility.

You may:
•  operate on state forest roads, trails and lands as described on pages 

21 and 22.

You may not:
•  operate an ORV within the right-of-way of an interstate highway
•  operate an ORV within a public road right-of-way except on a 

designated trail.  

DNR Web Site: www.dnr.state.mn.us
For information on ATV or OHM safety training contact: DNR 

Information Center, Twin Cities 651-296-6157, Toll free 1-888-646-
6367 or DNR Safety Training Program Headquarters, Camp Ripley, 
Little Falls, MN, 1-800-366-8917.

For information on ATV, OHM, and ORV trails contact: DNR 
Information Center, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155-4040,  
Twin Cities 651-296-6157, Toll free 1-888-646-6367.

For more information on registering your off-highway vehicle 
call: DNR License Bureau, 500 Lafayette Rd., St. Paul, MN 55155-
4026, Twin Cities: 651-296-2316 Toll free 1-800-285-2000.

Hearing impaired: Twin Cities 651-296-5484, 
Toll free 1-800-657-3929. 
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