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The MinnesotaCare (MNCare) program, administered by the Minnesota 
Department of Human Services, provides subsidized health coverage for eligible 
Minnesotans.  This information brief describes eligibility requirements, covered 
services, and other aspects of the program. 
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Administration 
MinnesotaCare is administered by the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS).  DHS 
is responsible for processing applications and determining eligibility, contracting with managed 
care plans, monitoring spending on the program, and developing administrative rules.  County 
human services agencies are responsible for determining Medical Assistance (MA) eligibility for 
MinnesotaCare applicants who apply for MA.  County human services agencies have the option 
of processing applications and managing cases for MinnesotaCare. 
 
 
Eligibility Requirements 
To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals must meet income limits and satisfy other 
requirements related to residency and lack of access to health insurance.  MinnesotaCare 
eligibility must be renewed every six months.   
 
Income Limits 

Children1 and parents, legal guardians, foster parents, or relative caretakers residing in the same 
household are eligible for MinnesotaCare, if their gross household income does not exceed 275 
percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG) and if other eligibility requirements are met.  
However, parents, legal guardians, foster parents, and relative caretakers are not eligible if their 
gross annual income exceeds $50,000, regardless of whether their income exceeds 275 percent of 
FPG.  Different eligibility requirements and premiums apply to children from households with 
gross incomes that do not exceed 150 percent of FPG. 
 
Single adults and households without children are eligible for MinnesotaCare if their gross 
household incomes do not exceed 175 percent of FPG and they meet other eligibility 
requirements.  
 

Enrollment of Certain GAMC Applicants and Recipients 
 
Effective September 1, 2006, certain General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC) applicants and recipients 
will be enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program as adults without children, immediately following 
approval of GAMC coverage.  These individuals will be exempt, until their six-month renewal, from 
MinnesotaCare premiums, income and asset limits, and MinnesotaCare eligibility requirements related to 
not having other health coverage and not having access to employer-subsidized health insurance.  County 
agencies will be required to pay the enrollee share of MinnesotaCare premiums for these individuals until 
their six-month renewal and have the option of continuing to pay for these premiums past the first six-
month renewal period.  GAMC applicants and recipients who are:  (1) eligible for GAMC as General 
Assistance or Group Residential Housing recipients; (2) awaiting a determination of blindness or 
disability; or (3) fail to meet the MinnesotaCare residency requirement, are exempt from the 
MinnesotaCare enrollment requirement. 

                                                 
1A child is defined in the law as an individual under 21 years of age, including the unborn child of a pregnant 

woman and an emancipated minor and that person’s spouse.   
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Enrollees whose incomes rise above program income limits after initial enrollment are 
disenrolled from the program.  Children are exempt from this requirement and can remain 
enrolled in MinnesotaCare if 10 percent of their annual gross income is less than the annual 
premium of the $500 deductible policy offered by the Minnesota Comprehensive Health 
Association (MCHA).2   
 
The table below lists categories of persons eligible for MinnesotaCare, eligibility criteria, and 
enrollee cost (see table on page 11 for sample sliding scale premiums).  The table on the 
following page lists program income limits for different family sizes. 
 
 

Table 1 
Eligibility for MinnesotaCare* 

Eligible Categories Household 
Income Limit 

Other Eligibility Criteria Cost to Enrollee 

Lower income children  150% of FPG Not otherwise insured for the 
covered services; residency 
requirement 

Annual premium of 
$48 per person 

Other children; 
pregnant women 

275% of FPG No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement 

Premium based on 
sliding scale 

Parents and relative caretakers 275% of FPG No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement; asset limit 

Premium based on 
sliding scale 

Single adults, households 
without children 

175% of FPG No access to employer-
subsidized coverage; no other 
health coverage; residency 
requirement; asset limit 

Premium based on 
sliding scale 

* Exceptions to these requirements are noted in the text. 

                                                 
2 The MCHA offers health insurance to Minnesota residents who have been denied private market coverage. 
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Table 2 
Annual Household Income Limits for MinnesotaCare 

(Effective July 1, 2005) 
Household 

Size* 
Lower Income Children 

150% of 2005 FPG 
Adults Without Children 

175% of 2005 FPG 
Families and Children 
275% of 2005 FPG** 

1 $14,364 $16,752 $26,328 

2 19,260 22,464 35,304 

3 24,156 Not eligible 44,280 

4 29,052 Not eligible 53,256 

5 33,948 Not eligible 62,232 
6 38,844 Not eligible 71,208 
7 43,740 Not eligible 80,184 
8 48,636 Not eligible 89,160 
9 53,532 Not eligible 98,136 

10 58,428 Not eligible 107,112 
Each Additional 

Person 
4,896  8,976 

* Pregnant women are households of two. 
** Parents are not eligible once income exceeds $50,000. 

 
Asset Limits 

MinnesotaCare adult applicants and enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to an asset limit, 
identical to the Medical Assistance program’s asset limit for parents.  This asset limit is $10,000 
in total net assets for a household of one person, and $20,000 in total net assets for a household 
of two or more persons.  Certain items are not considered assets when determining 
MinnesotaCare eligibility, including the following: 

• the homestead 
• household goods and personal effects 
• a burial plot for each member of the household 
• life insurance policies and assets for burial expenses, up to the limits established for the 

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program 
• capital and operating assets of a business up to $200,000 
• insurance settlements for damaged, destroyed, or stolen property are excluded for three 

months if held in escrow 
• a motor vehicle for each person who is employed or seeking employment 
• court-ordered settlements of up to $10,000 
• individual retirement accounts and funds 
• assets owned by children 

Pregnant women and children are exempt from the MinnesotaCare asset limit. 
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No Access to Subsidized Coverage 

A family or individual must not have access to employer-subsidized health care coverage.  A 
family or individual must also not have had access to employer-subsidized health care coverage 
through a current employer for 18 months prior to application or re-application.  Employer-
subsidized coverage is defined as health insurance coverage for which an employer pays 50 
percent or more of the premium cost.  This requirement applies to each individual.  For example, 
if an employer offers subsidized coverage to an employee but not to the employee’s dependents, 
the employee is not eligible for MinnesotaCare but the employee’s dependents are eligible. 
 
The requirement of no current access to employer-subsidized coverage does not apply to: 
 

1. Children from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent of the federal 
poverty guidelines; 

 
2. Children enrolled in the Children’s Health Plan as of September 30, 1992 (the precursor 

program to MinnesotaCare) who have maintained continuous coverage; and 
 
3. Children who enrolled in the Children’s Health Plan during a transition period 

following the establishment of MinnesotaCare. 
 
Children referred to in clauses (1) and (2) are, in some cases, also exempt from the no other 
health coverage requirement (see section below). 
 
Families or individuals whose employer-subsidized coverage was lost because an employer 
terminated health care coverage as an employee benefit during the previous 18 months are also 
not eligible for MinnesotaCare. 
 
A family or individual disenrolled from MinnesotaCare because of the availability of employer-
subsidized health coverage, who reapplies for MinnesotaCare within six months of disenrollment 
because the employer terminates health care coverage as an employee benefit, is exempt from 
the 18-month enrollment restriction related to access to subsidized coverage. 
 
No Other Health Coverage 

Enrollees must have no other health coverage and must not have had health insurance coverage 
for the four months prior to application or renewal.  For purposes of these requirements:  
 

1.  MA, General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC), and CHAMPUS (Civilian Health and 
Medical Program of the Uniformed Service, also called TRICARE) are not considered 
health coverage for purposes of the four-month requirement; and  

2.  Medicare coverage is considered health coverage, and an applicant or enrollee cannot 
refuse Medicare coverage to qualify for MinnesotaCare. 
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Children from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent3 of FPG and children 
enrolled in the original Children’s Health Plan who have maintained continuous coverage are not 
subject to the four-month uninsured requirement and may have other health coverage, if this 
coverage is considered “under-insurance.”  Under-insurance means: 
 

1. The coverage lacks two or more of the following:   
 

• basic hospital insurance  
• medical-surgical insurance 
• prescription drug coverage  
• preventive and comprehensive dental coverage 
• preventive and comprehensive vision coverage  

 
2. The coverage requires a deductible of $100 or more per person per year; or  
 
3. The child lacks coverage because the maximum coverage for a particular diagnosis has 

been exceeded, or the policy of coverage excludes coverage for that diagnosis. 
 
Effective upon federal approval, individuals under age 21 enrolled in a program of study at a 
postsecondary educational institution, including an emancipated minor and an emancipated 
minor’s spouse, will not be eligible for MinnesotaCare if they have access to health coverage 
through the postsecondary educational institution.   
 
Residency Requirement 

Pregnant women, families, and children must meet the residency requirements of the Medicaid 
program.  The Medicaid program requires an individual to demonstrate intent to reside 
permanently or for an indefinite period in a state, but it does not include a durational residency 
requirement (a requirement that an individual live in a state for a specified period of time before 
applying for the program). 
 
In contrast, enrollees who are adults without children must have resided in Minnesota for 180 
days prior to application and must also satisfy other criteria relating to permanent residency. 
 
 
Benefits 
MinnesotaCare enrollees are covered by one of three benefit sets.  Pregnant women and children 
have access to the broadest range of services and are not required to pay copayments.  Parents, 
and single adults and households without children with incomes not exceeding 75 percent of 
FPG, are covered for most services, but are subject to benefit limitations and copayments.  Single 
adults and households without children with incomes greater than 75 percent but not exceeding 

 
3 The exemption from the four-month uninsured requirement is found only in rule.  See Minnesota Rules, part 

9506.0020, subpart 3, item A. 
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175 percent of FPG receive coverage for a limited set of services and must pay copayments.  
These differences are summarized in Table 3 below and are described in more detail in the text. 
 
 

Table 3 
Overview – MinnesotaCare Covered Services and Cost-Sharing 

Eligibility Category Covered Services4 Benefit Limitations Cost-Sharing 
Pregnant women and 
children 

MA benefit set None None 

Parents < 175% of FPG Most MA services -- Limits on outpatient 
mental health services 

$25 eyeglasses 
$3 prescriptions 
$3 nonpreventive visit 
$6 nonemergency visit to 
hospital ER 
50% restorative dental 

Parents > 175% and  
< 275% of FPG 

Most MA services -- $10,000 annual limit 
for inpatient hospital 
-- Limits on outpatient 
mental health services 

$25 eyeglasses 
$3 prescriptions 
$3 nonpreventive visit 
$6 nonemergency visit to 
hospital ER 
 

Adults without children  
< 75% of FPG 

Most MA services -- $10,000 annual limit 
for inpatient hospital 
-- Limits on outpatient 
mental health services 

$25 eyeglasses 
$3 prescriptions 
$3 nonpreventive visit 
$6 nonemergency visit to 
hospital ER 
10% inpatient hospital, 
up to $1,000 
50% restorative dental 

Adults without children  
> 75% and < 175% of 
FPG 

Limited benefit set:  
inpatient hospital, 
physician, and other 
specified services 

--$10,000 annual limit 
for inpatient hospital 
 

$50 emergency room  
10% inpatient hospital, 
up to $1,000 
$5 nonpreventive visits  
$3 prescriptions ($20 per 
month maximum) 

 

                                                 
4 See Table 4 for a list of covered services. 
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Covered Services and Benefit Limitations 

Pregnant women and children up to age 21 enrolled in MinnesotaCare can access the full range 
of MA services without enrolling in MA, except that abortion services are covered as provided 
under the MinnesotaCare program.5  These individuals are exempt from MinnesotaCare benefit 
limitations and copayments,6 but still must pay MinnesotaCare premiums.  Pregnant women and 
children up to age two are not disenrolled for failure to pay MinnesotaCare premiums and can 
avoid MinnesotaCare premium charges altogether by enrolling in MA. 
 
All parents, and single adults and households without children with incomes not exceeding 75 
percent of FPG, who are not pregnant, are covered under MinnesotaCare for most, but not all, 
services covered under MA.  These individuals are subject to the following benefit limitations.7

 
• Inpatient hospital services are subject to an annual benefit limit of $10,000.  This limit 

does not apply to parents with household incomes that do not exceed 175 percent of FPG. 

• Outpatient mental health services are limited to diagnostic assessments; psychological 
testing; explanation of findings; day treatment; partial hospitalization; individual, family, 
and group psychotherapy; and medication management. 

 
Single adults and households without children, with incomes greater than 75 percent but not 
exceeding 175 percent of FPG, receive coverage for a limited benefit set of services.  This 
limited benefit set covers: 
 

• inpatient hospital services, subject to an annual limit of $10,000; 

• physician services provided during an inpatient stay; and 

 
5 Under MinnesotaCare, abortion services are covered “where the life of the female would be endangered or 

substantial and irreversible impairment of a major bodily function would result if the fetus were carried to term; or 
where the pregnancy is the result of rape or incest” (Minn. Stat. § 256L.03, subd. 1).  Under MA, abortion services 
are covered to save the life of the mother and in cases of rape or incest (see Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, subd. 16) and, 
as a result of a Minnesota Supreme Court decision, for “therapeutic” reasons (Doe v. Gomez, 542 N.W.2d 17 
(1995)).  MinnesotaCare enrollees must enroll in the MA program in order to obtain abortion services under the MA 
conditions of coverage.  Nearly all MinnesotaCare enrollees who are pregnant women are eligible for MA. 

6 This change in MinnesotaCare was approved by the federal government in April 1995 as part of the state’s 
health care reform waiver (now referred to as the Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus waiver).  The waiver, and 
subsequent waiver amendments, exempt Minnesota from various federal requirements, give the state greater 
flexibility to expand access to health care through the MinnesotaCare and MA programs and allow the state to 
receive federal contributions (referred to as “federal financial participation” or FFP) for services provided to 
MinnesotaCare enrollees who are children, pregnant women, or parents and relative caretakers of children under age 
21.  

7 A $500 annual limit on adult dental services was eliminated on January 1, 2006. 
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• physician services not provided during an inpatient stay, outpatient hospital services, 
chiropractic services, lab and diagnostic services, diabetic supplies and equipment,8 
prescription drugs, and services provided by a psychologist or licensed independent 
clinical social worker.9 

Table 4 
Covered Services Under MinnesotaCare 

 
Service Children; Pregnant 

Women 
Parents; Adults 
without children 
< 75% of FPG* 

Adults without 
children  

> 75% and  
< 175% of FPG* 

Adult mental health rehab/crisis x   
Alcohol/drug treatment x x  
Case management x   
Child and teen checkup x   
Chiropractic x x x 
Common carrier transportation x   
Dental x x  
Emergency room x x x 
Eye exams x x x 
Eyeglasses x x  
Family planning x x x 
Hearing aids x x  
Home care  x x  
Hospice care x x  
Hospital stay  x x x 
Immunizations x x x 
Interpreters (hearing, language) x x x 
Lab, x-ray, diagnostic x x x 
Medical equipment and supplies x x Diabetic supplies and 

equipment only 
Mental health x x x 
Nursing home/ICF/MR x   
Outpatient surgical center x x x 
Physicians and clinics x x x 
Physicals/preventive care x x x 
Prescriptions x x x 
Rehabilitation/therapy x x  
School-based services x   
Transportation:  emergency x x  
Transportation:  special x   
* Benefit limitations and cost-sharing requirements apply. 
 

                                                 
8 Coverage for diabetic supplies and equipment, and services provided by a psychologist or licensed 

independent clinical social worker, took effect January 1, 2006. 
9 The $5,000 annual limit on these outpatient services was eliminated January 1, 2006. 
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Copayments for Adults 

All parents, and single adults and households without children with incomes not exceeding 75 
percent of FPG, who are not pregnant, are subject to the following copayments:   
 

• Copayment of 10 percent of paid charges for inpatient hospital services, up to an annual 
maximum of $1,000 per adult or $3,000 per family (This copayment does not apply to 
parents and relative caretakers of children under age 21.) 

 
• $3 copayment per prescription 

 
• $25 copayment per pair of eyeglasses 

 
• $3 per nonpreventive visit  

 
• $6 for nonemergency visits to a hospital emergency room  

 
• Copayment of 50 percent of the MA allowable charge for restorative dental care services 

provided to adults who are not pregnant and have household incomes that do not exceed 
175 percent of FPG 

 
Single adults and households without children, with incomes greater than 75 percent but not 
exceeding 175 percent of FPG, are subject to the following copayments: 
 

• Copayment of 10 percent of paid charges for inpatient hospital services, up to an annual 
maximum of $1,000 

 
• $3 per prescription, subject to a $20/month maximum 

 
• $50 per emergency room visit 

 
• $5 per nonpreventive visit 

 
 
Enrollee Premiums 
$48 Annual Premium 

Children enrolling in MinnesotaCare are charged an annual premium of $48 per child, if they are 
from households with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent of FPG. 
 
Subsidized Premium Based on Sliding Scale 

Children enrolling in MinnesotaCare who do not qualify for the $48 annual premium described 
above, and adults enrolling in the program, are charged a subsidized premium based upon a 
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sliding scale.  The premium charged ranges from 1.5 percent to 9.8 percent of gross family 
income.10  The minimum premium is $4 per person per month. 
 
The following table provides sample monthly sliding scale premiums for different income levels 
and household sizes.  These premiums apply to both families with children and to single adults 
and households without children.  Complete premium tables are available from DHS. 

 
 

Table 5 
Sample Monthly Household Premiums 

(as of July 1, 2005) 
 Household Size 

(assumes all household members enroll) 
Gross Monthly 
Income 

 
1 2* 3 

 
4 

 
5 

$250 $4 $8 $12 $12 $12 
$500 9 8 12 12 12 
$1,000 36 23 18 18 18 
$1,500 79 65 54 34 34 
$2,000 197 107 86 71 73 
$2,500 N.E. 211 133 108 90 
$3,000 N.E. N.E. 252 160 128 
$3,500 N.E. N.E. 342 242 186 
$4,000 N.E. N.E. N.E. 393 275 
NOTE:  Effective upon federal approval, these premiums will increase by 8 percent.  As 
of February 2, 2006, federal approval had not been received.  N.E. means not eligible to 
enroll in MinnesotaCare at this income level. 
* The maximum income limits for households without children are $1,396 (household of 
one) and $1,872 (household of two).  The sample premiums listed in the table reflect the 
higher income limits that apply to families with children. 

 
 
Prepaid MinnesotaCare 
The legislature has authorized the Commissioner of Human Services to contract with health 
maintenance organizations and other prepaid health plans to deliver health care services to 
MinnesotaCare enrollees.  All MinnesotaCare enrollees receive health care services through 
prepaid health plans and not through fee-for-service. 
 

                                                 
10 Effective October 1, 2003, the percentage of income paid was increased by 0.5 percentage points for 

enrollees with incomes greater than 100 but not exceeding 200 percent of FPG, and by 1.0 percentage points for 
enrollees with incomes greater than 200 percent of FPG.  (Laws 2003, 1st spec. sess., ch. 14, art. 12, § 84)  Effective 
upon federal approval, these premiums will increase by 8 percent.  (Laws 2005, 1st spec. sess., ch 4, art. 8, § 74) 
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Prepaid health plans (sometimes referred to as managed care plans) receive a capitated payment 
from DHS for each MinnesotaCare enrollee, and in return are required to provide enrollees with 
all covered health care services for a set period of time.  A capitated payment is a predetermined, 
fixed payment per enrollee that does not vary with the amount or type of health care services 
provided.  A prepaid health plan reimbursed under capitation does not receive a higher payment 
for providing more units of service or more expensive services to an enrollee, nor does it receive 
a lower payment for providing fewer units of service or less expensive services to an enrollee. 
 
Under prepaid MinnesotaCare, enrollees select a specific prepaid plan from which to receive 
services, obtain services from providers in that plan’s provider network, and follow that plan’s 
procedures for seeing specialists and accessing health care services.  Enrollee premiums, covered 
health care services, and copayments are the same as they would have been under fee-for-service 
MinnesotaCare. 
 
 
Funding and Expenditures 
Total payments for health care services provided through MinnesotaCare were $409 million in 
fiscal year 2005.  Fifty-five percent of this amount was paid for through state payments from the 
health care access fund.  Enrollee premiums (this category also includes copayments and 
prescription drug rebates) and federal funding received under the Prepaid Medical Assistance 
Project Plus waiver and a State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP)11 waiver pay for 
the remainder. 
 
Funding for the state share of MinnesotaCare costs, and for other health care access initiatives, is 
provided by: 
 

• A 2 percent tax on the gross revenues of health care providers, hospitals, surgical centers, 
and wholesale drug distributors (sometimes referred to as the “provider tax”); and   

 
• A 1 percent premium tax on health maintenance organizations, nonprofit health service 

plan corporations, and community integrated service networks.  
 
Medicare payments to providers are excluded from gross revenues for purposes of the gross 
revenues taxes.  Other specified payments, including payments for nursing home services, are 
also excluded from gross revenues. 

 
11 The Prepaid Medical Assistance Project Plus waiver is described in footnote 6 on page 8.  The SCHIP 

waiver, approved by the federal government on June 13, 2001, and effective for a five-year period from that date, 
provides an enhanced federal match of 65 percent for parents and relative caretakers on MinnesotaCare with 
incomes greater than 100 percent but not exceeding 200 percent of FPG. 
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Enrollee Premiums 
10%

State Cost 
55%

Federal Share under 
Waiver 35%

MinnesotaCare Funding 
(FY 2005) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division 
 
 
 
Recipient Profile 
As of September 2, 2005, 135,586 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program.  As 
of September 2, 2005, just under one-half of MinnesotaCare enrollees were children. 
 

Adults With Children 32%

Children (under 21) 
45%

Adults Without Children 
23%

MinnesotaCare Enrollment 
(September 2, 2005) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Source: DHS Reports and Forecasts Division 
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Application Procedure 
Application forms for MinnesotaCare, and additional information on the program, can be 
obtained from DHS by calling:  
 

1-800-657-3672 or 
651-297-3862 (in the metro area) 

 
Application forms are also available through county social service agencies, health care provider 
offices, and other sites in the community.  Applications are also available on the Internet at 
www.dhs.state.mn.us/HealthCare. 
 
For more information about health care programs, visit the health and human services area of 
our web site, www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/hlt_hum.htm. 
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