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Trespass Law
The trespass law applies to all outdoor recreation, including but not 

limited to: hunting, boating, fishing, trapping, hiking, and camping. 
When taking part in any outdoor recreation, you may not enter legally 
posted land or agricultural land without permission.

Landowners, lessees, or authorized managers need only post their 
land once a year. The signs must be placed at intervals of 1,000 feet 
(500 feet in wooded areas) or signs may be placed at primary corners 
and at access points to the property. Signs must state “No Trespassing," 
or similar words, in 2-inch-high letters and have the signature or name 
and telephone number of the landowner, lessee, or manager.

There can be civil or criminal penalties for violation of the trespass 
laws with maximum fines up to $3,000 and license revocation. All con-
servation officers and peace officers enforce trespass laws.

Rules of Thumb for Water Access and Recreational Use
These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all 

water access and recreational use situations. If you have doubts about 
whether you may be trespassing on private land, you should ask the land-
owner for permission.

What is lawful access?
A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or 

if public land or a public road right-of-way borders the surface of the 
water, or if you have permission to cross private land to reach the surface 
of the water. This includes walking in the water or on the ice in connec-
tion with such activities regardless of who owns the land beneath the 
surface of the water.

What waters are open to recreational use?
A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface if it 

is capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water 
that will float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other waters 
may also qualify depending upon the circumstances.

Respect private 
property when 

fishing near 
docks.

When in doubt, 
ask permission.
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Terminology

Terminology
Some anglers might not be familiar with the following terms used in 

this regulations booklet:

Designated stream trout lakes–These waters have been stocked with 
trout that are native to streams: rainbow, brown, or brook trout. Some 
also have splake, a cross between a lake trout and a brook trout.

Inland waters–Lakes and rivers within Minnesota not bordering
Canada or another state.

Daily and possession limits (bags)–Total number of a certain species 
or combination of species that an angler may possess in one day or until 
consumed or disposed of both on or off the water. Minnesota’s daily lim-
its are the same as possession limits, except for yellow perch, which is 
20 daily and 40 in possession. For example, you may not have more than 
six walleye, including what’s in the live well and in the freezer. 

Harvest slot limit–Allows the harvest of fish from a designated size 
range. For example, a 14-through 18-inch harvest slot means that only 
fish from 14-through 18-inches may be kept. All others must be released. 
Maximum size limit–Prohibits the harvest of fish from some speci-
fied length and larger. For example, a 24-inch maximum size limit for 
northern pike means you may not keep a northern pike that is 24 inches 
or larger. 

Minimum size limit– Prohibits harvest of fish less than a specified 
length. For example, the statewide minimum size limit for muskellunge 
is 40 inches, meaning that you may not keep a muskellunge less than 40 
inches . 

Minnows– members of the minnow family, goldfish; bullheads, ciscoes, 
lake whitefish, goldeyes, and mooneyes, not over seven inches long, 
leeches, tadpole madtoms and stonecats. (Note: border water regulations 
may vary)

One-over the size limit– Allows the harvest of one fish over a set size 
limit as part of the daily limit. For example, on inland waters you can 
keep one walleye that is over 24 inches long. 

Protected slot limit– Prohibits harvest of fish from a designated 
size range. Fish within this size range must be released. For example, 
a 12-to16-inch protected slot limit for bass means that all bass from 12 
through 16 inches long must be released. 

Rough fish– Carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, cisco, 
gar, goldeye, and bullhead. (Note: border waters regulations may vary.)

new
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NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2006
• Stonecats and tadpole madtoms (willow cats) are now defined as 

minnows (page 4).
• Sturgeon tag required to harvest lake sturgeon (page 7, 9, 45 & 52).
• Walleye, sauger, northern pike, bass, and muskie seasons close Feb. 25, 

2007 (page 15).
• Only one walleye over 20 inches now allowed in daily and possession 

limits for inland waters (page 15).
• Additions to infested waters list (page 68-69)

New Experimental/Special Regulations
• Statewide regulations in effect for Green Lake (Kandiyohi Co.) 
• Added or modified 35 lakes and four rivers with quality walleye, bass, 

northern pike, sunfish, and/or crappie regulations (pages 25-42)

Key Lakes and Rivers with new regulations this year include:

Big Birch Lake (Todd and Stearns Counties)
Kabekona - connected to Leech Lake (Hubbard Co.)
Long Lake (Kandiyohi Co.)
Pierz (Fish) Lake (Morrison Co.)
Upper Red Lake including Shotley Brook and Tamarack River 
(Beltrami Co.)
Vermilion Lake (St. Louis Co.)
Vermillion River including tributaries (Dakota Co.)

Additions to Synopsis
• Clarification keeping license in possession while fishing (page 9) 
• Clarification that spring devices are illegal to use to take fish (page 10).
• Clarification on how to measure fish (page 14).
• Notice that Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge has differing 

regulations (page 24).
• Crayfish clarification on federally managed areas (page 70).

Regulation Changes that may be implemented
• Changes in southeast winter trout season and opening up lakes to 

winter trout fishing in Aitkin and Hubbard Co.
• Closure of minnow harvest in the Cedar River watershed to protect 

slender madtom.
• Closure of Lake Christina to fishing.
• Listing of Rice Lake in Brainerd and Mille Lacs Lake, as infested with 

Zebra Mussels.
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FISHING LICENSES
The Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues licenses and stamps 

through 1,800 license agent locations statewide. Agents charge an issuing 
fee for each license and stamp sold.

Instant licenses and stamps are also available online at www.dnr.state.
mn.us or by telephone at (888) 665-4236. An additional $3.50 conve-
nience fee is added for sales via the web site or telephone.

1 The marriage must be legal as recognized by Minnesota law.
2 A sports combination license is one small game hunting license and two fishing licenses.
3 A sports license includes fishing and small game hunting.
4 Also requires the purchase of an angling license, unless specifically exempted.

2006 FISHING LICENSE FEES March 1, 2006 through February 28, 2007

(Price does not include any additional fees charged for issuing the license or stamp.)t
Duplicate licenses can be purchased from any ELS agent. Each license and stamp costs $2.50. 

A drivers license, Minnesota identification or MNDNR number is required to obtain a duplicate.

RESIDENT LICENSES 

Angling, Individual (age 16 and older) $17.00
Angling, Combination (husband and wife1) 25.00
Angling, Individual 24 Hour 8.50
Sports, Individual3 29.50
Sports, Combination (husband and wife1)2 38.50
Dark House Spearing4 17.00
Trout and Salmon Stamp 10.00
Fish House or Dark House 11.50
Whitefish Netting4 10.00
Rental Fish House or Dark House 26.00
Recreational Turtle License4 (See page 71 for requirements) 25.00
Sturgeon Tag4 5.00

LIFETIME LICENSE Fishing Small Game Sports
age 3 and under $227 $217 $357
4 to age 15 $300 $290 $480
16 to age 50 $383 $363 $613
51 and over $203 $213 $413

NONRESIDENT LICENSES 

Angling, Individual $34.00
Angling, Family (one or both parents and children under age 16) 46.00
Angling, Individual 7 Day 24.00
Angling, Individual 24 Hour 8.50
Angling, Individual 72 Hour 20.00
Angling, Husband and Wife1 14 Day 35.00
Angling, Youth 17.00
Trout and Salmon Stamp 10.00
Fish House (See pages 58–59 for requirement) 33.00
Fish House 7 Day (See pages 58–59 for requirement) 19.00
Sturgeon Tag4 5.00

LIFETIME LICENSE Fishing Small Game
age 3 and under $447 $947
4 to age 15 $600 $1,280

 16 to age 50 $773 $1,633
51 and over $513 $1,083

Must be 
Minnesota
resident for 
one year.

new

new
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Trout Stamp
Trout stamp validations are printed on the ELS license. This is the 

only verification needed to prove purchase of the trout stamp. Purchasers 
may request the actual pictorial stamp 
for an additional $2, but it is not need-
ed for fishing. 

Except as noted, anglers need a 
trout stamp validation and a fish-
ing or sports license when fishing in 
designated trout streams, designated 
trout lakes, Lake Superior, or when in 
possession of trout or salmon. Trout 
stamps are not required for children 
less than 16 years old, adults who are 65 and older, people fishing with a 
24-hour license, or people who are exempt from fishing license require-
ments or who receive a fishing license at no charge. 

License Requirements
Residents
• To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence 

in Minnesota for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing
a license.

• Residents 21 or older must provide a valid Minnesota Driver's license 
or ID card, unless exempt under the Religious Freedom act.

• A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident.
• All residents age 15 and younger are allowed to take their own limit 

of fish without purchasing a license.

Nonresidents 
• All nonresidents age 16 and older are required to have an appropriate 

fishing license while angling. Nonresidents under age 16 don’t need a 
license if an accompanying parent or guardian is licensed. Children of 
an adult who has a Minnesota nonresident family license may possess 
their own limit of fish. However, if the adult has an individual license, 
the child’s fish are included in the adult’s limit. Nonresidents under 
age 16 may purchase a license and possess their own limit of fish.

Nonresident Students and Military 
• A person in the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed or training in the 

state may purchase a resident fishing license.
• Students spending the full-term school year may purchase a resident 

license with proof of student status.

2006 Trout stamp

Details on fishing licenses issued without a fee are available online at 
www.dnr.state.mn.us/regulations/fishing/index.html.
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Fishing Licenses

License Revocation 
Fishing privileges may be revoked for one year for two or more con-

victions of fishing violations in three years. Violations of fishing laws in 
other states may affect fishing privileges in Minnesota.

Under the gross over limits penalty provisions, privileges can be 
revoked for three or five years, depending on the number of fish involved 
in the violation.

Public Record Notice
Your social security number is not part of the public record. Most 

other data supplied when buying a license becomes public record. If 
you do not wish to have this data made available for bulk mailings, 
contact the DNR at (888) 646-6367 or by e-mail info@dnr.state.mn.us

Exempt from License Requirement
• Minnesota residents in the U.S. Military who are stationed outside the 

state. Military staff must carry leave or furlough papers.
• Patients of a U.S. Veterans Administration hospital, residents of a 

Minnesota licensed nursing or boarding care home, and residents of a 
licensed board and lodging facility.

Lake Sturgeon Tag Criteria 
Lake sturgeon tags and mail-in registration cards are required for 

anyone* who wishes to harvest and posses a lake sturgeon. The following 
requirements apply:

• Lake sturgeon may not be possessed or transported without a tag. 
Validate and attach the tag immediately upon reducing the fish 
to possession.  

• Tag must be attached to the narrow portion of the body in front of 
the tail fin.

• Tags must be attached so that they cannot be easily removed.
• Tags are not transferable and no duplicate tags will be issued.
• Registration cards must be completed and mailed within 48 hours 

after harvesting a fish.
• Lake sturgeon must be transported intact (gills and internal organs 

may be removed).

*Including those otherwise exempt from angling license requirements.

An unlicensed person may assist a disabled angler who has a disability 
license, provided that only the number of lawful lines are in use.

Note: All persons required to have a license (including stamp valida-
tions) must have it in their possession while fishing and while travel-
ing from an area where they fished.

new

new
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GENERAL REGULATIONS
The following regulations apply to all Minnesota waters unless noted 

otherwise in this booklet. 

Angling Methods
• Anglers may use only one hook. An artificial lure is considered one 

hook. A treble hook, when not part of an artificial lure, is considered 
three hooks and is not legal. The exception is three artificial flies may 
be used when angling for trout, crappie, sunfish, and rock bass. 

• Anglers may use only one line. The exceptions are: 
a) Two lines may be used through the ice (other than on designat-
ed trout lakes and streams); and b) Two lines may be used on Lake 
Superior more than 100 yards from the point where a tributary stream 
or river enters the lake.

• Using whole or parts of game fish, goldfish, or carp for bait is 
unlawful.

• You may not intentionally fish for any species during its closed 
season.

• Angling with an unattended line, a setline, or a trotline is unlawful.
• Using an artificial light to lure or attract fish, or to see fish when 

spearing, is unlawful. Exception: While angling, a person may affix to 
the end of a fishing line a lighted artificial bait with hooks attached. 
Any battery that is used in lighted fishing lures cannot contain any 
intentionally introduced mercury. 

• A party is defined as a group of two or more persons:
– angling from a single watercraft; or
– if not in a watercraft, maintaining unaided visual and vocal contact 

with each other. The total number of fish possessed by the party 
may not exceed the combined limits of the numbers of the party. 
Each party member may transport only an individual limit of fish.

• The use of explosives, firearms, chemicals (not including fish scents), 
spring devices, or electricity for taking fish is unlawful.

• It is unlawful to take a fish by snagging.

Possessing Fish
• Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. Fish 

are in an angler’s possession whether on hand, in cold storage, in 
transport, or elsewhere.

• Once a limit of fish has been reduced to possession, no culling or live 
well sorting of that species is allowed. 

• While on or fishing waters with size restrictions, all fish for which 
the size restriction applies must have their heads, tails, fins, and 
skin intact and be measurable except when a watercraft is docked or 

new
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moored to shore and the person is preparing the fish for that nights/
days meal.

• While on or fishing waters with size restrictions it is illegal to possess 
any fish outside legal length limits.

• A person who is in transit and taking the most direct route back to 
their lodging or docking, and not fishing, may possess fish outside of 
or in excess of the limits for that water body, if legally taken from a 
connected water.

• Possessing or transporting white perch, ruffe, round goby, black carp, 
bighead carp, grass carp, or silver carp is unlawful, except when 
taking them to the DNR.

Transporting Fish

• A fish may not be reduced to more than two fillets.
• Fish prepared for transportation, shipment, or storage are defined as 

follows: 
Undressed fish must have heads, tails, fins, and skin intact. Entrails, 

gills, and scales may be removed. 
Dressed fish may have heads and scales or skin removed, in addition 

to gills and entrails.
Fillets are fish flesh, excluding cheeks, that have been removed from 

a fish. Scales or skin may be removed or intact. 
• Fish must be transported in a way that they can be counted and the 

species of each fish can be identified. If statewide length limits apply 
to the species, the head and tail must be intact so the fish can be 
measured.

• Transport of fish for display in a home aquarium is legal under the 
following conditions: 
– Game fish purchased from an authorized licensee transported with 

the necessary documents (such as a sales receipt). 
– Anglers 16 or under may transport legally caught largemouth bass, 

smallmouth bass, yellow perch, rock bass, black crappie, white 
crappie, bluegill, pumpkinseed, green sunfish, orange spotted 
sunfish, and black, yellow, and brown bullhead. No more than 
four of each species may be transported at any one time, and any 
individual fish can be no longer than 10 inches. At no time may 
water from infested waters be transported.

• Licensed anglers and resident children under 16 may transport up to a 
possession limit of any fish species. However, fish must be packaged 
in such a way that they can be readily unwrapped, separated, 
identified, and counted.

• Northern pike and walleye may be transported dressed or as fillets, 
but must retain a 1-square-inch patch of skin. 

General Regulations–Transporting Fish
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One of the best 
ways to transport 
your fish so they 
can be counted 
and identified is 
in clear plastic 
freezer bags.

Fillets must show 
at least a 1-square-
inch patch of skin 
with scales so fish 
species can be 
identified.

Exception: Northern pike and walleye must be undressed while on 
experimental or special regulation waters. Other fish species with 
statewide length limits (muskellunge, splake, brook trout, brown trout, 
rainbow trout, and salmon) must be transported undressed so that they 
can be measured.

• All dressed fish and fillets must have a 1-square-inch patch of skin 
with scales intact from a portion of the body other than the belly. 
Sauger prepared in this manner are counted as walleye. Bullhead, 
sunfish, and crappie, may be completely filleted and skinned.

• Transporting or stocking live fish or fish eggs or transferring fish or 
fish eggs from one body of water to another is prohibited without a 
DNR permit. 

Shipment
• Licensed anglers may make three shipments of fish per year. A permit 

issued by a conservation officer is required for each shipment. A 
shipment cannot contain more than a possession limit of one species. 

• Fish which have been prepared, packed, and labeled by a licensed 
fish packer must comply with regulations governing licensed fish 
packers and those regarding fish species length limits. From March 15 
through November 30, filleted sauger are counted as walleye.

Storage
• Fish in cold storage count toward a possession limit.
• Frozen fish should be packaged in a way that they can be counted and 

identified.
• A person who stores fish for another must plainly mark the package, 

in ink, with the name, address, and fishing license number of the 
owner, and the number of fish in the package. 
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Other
• Transplanting aquatic plants, placing exotic species, applying 

chemicals and some types of cutting to control vegetation in any 
public waters requires a permit. (See page 53 for more information).

• Dragging boat anchors or other weights with a motor-propelled boat 
through aquatic vegetation is unlawful.

• Depositing fish entrails or fish parts into public waters or onto lake or 
stream shores is prohibited.

• Littering of any materials and depositing rubbish, poisonous substanc-
es, or chemicals harmful to aquatic life into public waters, onto ice, 
or lake or stream shores is illegal. Fish line and various packaging 
materials can be harmful to wildlife.

• Marking or tagging fish and then releasing them without a DNR 
permit is unlawful.

• A DNR permit is required for any fishing contest when entry fees 
exceed $25, prizes exceed $25,000, or when participants exceed 30 
for open water and 150 for ice fishing. See web site or call DNR 
Information Center for more information.

• A permit from the county sheriff is required for most organized events 
on the water or ice.

• Buying or selling game fish, whitefish, or cisco is unlawful. The 
exceptions are smelt and fish obtained under a commercial, private 
hatchery, or aquatic farm license. 

• Some fish spawning areas are posted to prohibit motorized boat 
travel. Landowners or lease holders adjacent to these areas may use 
the shortest route when traveling to and from their property, provided 
they operate their boat at no more than 5 mph.

• Importing live minnows into Minnesota for use as bait is unlawful.
• Notice to Fall Anglers: Lakes classified as Waterfowl Feeding 

and Resting Areas and Wildlife Management Areas are closed to 
motorboats as posted during the fall waterfowl hunting season. 
Refer to the most current hunting regulations for a complete 
list of these lakes. Please give resting flocks of birds and hunting 
decoys a wide berth when boating and fishing.

• Some ponds and lakes are licensed for private aquaculture use. 
Trespassing to gain access to these waters may be in violation of 
fishing laws in addition to trespassing laws.

• Any fish that is caught and will not be utilized must be immediately 
returned alive back into the water. A person cannot wantonly waste 
a fish that is caught by leaving it or any usable portion on the ice, 
thrown up on the bank, or intentionally killing it and returning it back 
into the water unless authorized.
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General Regulations–Other

Total Length
To determine the legal length of a fish, lay it flat on its side, 
squeeze the tail from tip to tip, and measure from the nose or 
jaw, whichever is longer, to the farthest tip of the tail when fully 
extended.

For Your Information

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

Mouth 
closed 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

Sturgeon measurments

new

Sturgeon image by Maynard Reece
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SEASONS AND LIMITS 
Inland Waters
• All calendar dates are for 2006 unless noted otherwise. 
• Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. 
• Most species have experimental or special regulations on some 

waters. See pages 25-42.
• For Lake Superior, Canada, Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota, and 

North Dakota border water regulations, see pages 21-24, 43–53.

continued on next page

SPECIES    OPEN SEASON   POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

WALLEYE May 13, 2006- 6* (Not more than 1
and SAUGER Feb. 25, 2007 walleye over 20" may be 
(either or combined) taken each day.)

*(Minimum size limit 15" for walleyes on the inland waters of Pool 3 [dam at Hastings 
to railroad tracks on the Minnesota—Wisconsin border]).

NORTHERN PIKE May 13, 2006-    3 (Not more than 1 over 30"
Feb. 25, 2007 may be taken each day.)

MUSKELLUNGE June 3, 2006-     1*
including HYBRID Feb. 25, 2007
MUSKELLUNGE

*Minimum size limit for both species: 40". Exception: Minimum size is 30" in Shoepac 
Lake in Voyageurs National Park (St. Louis County). See pages 25-42 for other limits.

LARGEMOUTH May 27, 2006- 6
and SMALLMOUTH Feb. 25, 2007 Catch and release only for
BASS (either or (May 13, 2006- smallmouth bass from Sept. 11
combined) Feb. 25, 2007,, through the end of the season.

north and east of 
U.S. Hwy. 53 from 
Duluth to Inter-
national Falls and
Pelican and Ash
lakes in St. Louis 
County.)

CRAPPIE Continuous    10

SUNFISH* Continuous 20
(either or combined)
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orange spotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)

ROCK BASS Continuous     30

WHITE BASS Continuous     30

new

new

new

new
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SEASONS AND LIMITS–INLAND WATERS continued

SPECIES    OPEN SEASON   POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

CHANNEL and   Continuous     5 (Only 1 fish over 24".
FLATHEAD CATFISH         Not more than 2 can be
(either or combined)        flathead.)

PERCH     Continuous     20 daily and 40
           in possession
     
BULLHEAD    Continuous     100

WHITEFISH and   Continuous     No limit
UNDER-UTILIZED FISH*
Exception: Whitefish limit on Leech Lake Indian Reservation is 25 and cisco is 
50. *Under-utilized fish include: carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, cisco, 
gar, goldeye, and redhorse. For more information see the DNR web site.

SMELT     Continuous     No limit

LAKE STURGEON   Closed  
or SHOVELNOSE 
STURGEON
See Border Waters section (pages 45, 49, 52) for other sturgeon waters.

PADDLEFISH    No open season
  
LAKE TROUT    May 13-Oct. 1    2
Summer, 
statewide 

Winter, Ram Lake and   Jan. 14, 2006-    2
lakes outside or   March 15, 2006
partly outside the   and Jan. 13, 2007-
Boundary Waters   March 15, 2007 
Canoe Area 
Wilderness (BWCAW) 
(including all of Clearwater, Sea Gull, East Bearskin, and Snowbank Lakes) 

Winter, lakes     Dec. 31, 2005-    2
entirely within the   March 31, 2006 
BWCAW except    and Dec. 30, 2006-
for Ram Lake    April 1, 2007

OPENER DATES for Walleye, Bass, and Muskie

Walleye Bass Muskie
2007 May 12 May 26 June 2
2008 May 10 May 24 June 7
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Stream Trout
The following regulations apply only to stream trout (splake, brook, 

brown, and rainbow trout) in inland lakes and streams. They 
do not include lake trout, which are listed under Inland Waters, (page 16).
Lake Superior tributaries (pages 19-22) and Experimental and Special 
Regulations (s 24–42) are also not covered in this section. 

Calendar dates refer to 2006 unless noted otherwise.
Daily and possession limits are the same.

SEASONS AND LIMITS–STREAM TROUT

STREAM TROUT OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

STREAMS-Summer
Statewide except Apr. 15-Oct. 1 5 combined (Not more than 1
Houston, Fillmore, over 16")
Mower, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, Wabasha, and Goodhue counties

Houston, Fillmore, Apr. 1-14 Catch and release only;   
Mower, Dodge, barbless hooks only
Olmsted, Winona, Apr. 15-Sept. 14 5 combined (Not more than 1
Wabasha, and over 16")
Goodhue counties Sept. 15-Oct. 1 Catch and release only;   

barbless hooks only

STREAMS-Winter Jan. 1 - Mar. 31 See listing in experimenta/ and special regulations

Southeast winter catch 
and release season

LAKES-Summer
Statewide May 13-Oct. 31 5 combined (Not more than 3

over 16")

LAKES-Winter
Ram Lake and lakes Jan. 14, 2006- 5 combined (Not more than 3
outside or partly outside March 15, 2006 over 16")
the Boundary Waters and Jan. 13, 2007-
Canoe Area Wilderness March 15, 2007
(BWCAW) (includes all of Lizz, 
and Meditation Lakes

Entirely within the Dec. 31, 2005- 5 combined (Not more than 3
BWCAW except March 31, 2006 over 16")
Ram Lake and Dec. 30, 2006-

April 1, 2007
    

Aitkin, Becker, Beltrami, 
Cass, Crow Wing, and
Hubbard Counties

Season closed on lakes in these counties. 
Does not include lake trout.
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Seasons and Limits–Stream Trout

Stream Trout Regulations 
• Fishing hours for stream trout on inland waters are from one hour 

before sunrise to 11 p.m. 
• Only one line is allowed winter or summer when fishing on des-

ignated stream trout lakes (listed in the DNR’s “Guide to Lakes 
Managed for Stream Trout") and designated trout streams.

• Possessing live minnows, not including leeches, or using them for bait 
on designated stream trout lakes is prohibited. Only dried, frozen, or 
pickled (brined) minnows are allowed. Live leeches are legal to use.

• Angling for any species in designated trout waters during the closed 
trout season is prohibited.

• Taking minnows or leeches from designated trout waters, except 
under special permit, is prohibited. 

• All stream trout must have head, tail, fins, and skin intact when being 
transported.

• Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in 
designated trout lakes or streams.

• The list of Designated Trout Lakes and Streams can be found on the 
DNR web page.

Lake Superior and Its Tributaries
The following regulations have been expanded to clarify for anglers 

the fishing seasons and limits for the variety of coldwater fish in Lake 
Superior and the streams and rivers flowing into it. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 
All other species not named are subject to inland regulations.
Posted upstream boundaries on Lake Superior tributaries gener-

ally define the areas accessible to anadromous trout and salmon. The 
boundaries, as well as fish sanctuary areas, are marked with signs.

(See DNR web site for boundaries map and north shore fishing guide.)
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size limit: 16"

size limit: 16"

Catch and release only

Catch and release only

Catch and release only

*Clipped fish have their adipose fin removed and must show a healed scar (see illustration on page 24).

 SEASONS AND LIMITS–Lake Superior and Its Tributaries

Lake Superior tributaries April 15– 10 10 Only 1
in Carlton County (including Oct. 1   over 16"
Nemadji River system and 
all its tributaries)

St. Louis River and its April 15– 5 5 Only 1
tributaries upstream of Oct. 1   over 16"
Fond du Lac Dam

Lake Superior and other April 15– 1 5 Minimum
tributaries (not mentioned Sept. 5   size limit
above) below posted boundaries    20"
(including St. Louis River below
the Minnesota Highway 23 bridge)

Other Lake Superior tributaries April 15– 10 10 Only 1
above posted boundaries Oct. 1   over 16"

Brook Trout and Splake combined

Clipped Fish* Continuous 3 10 Minimum

Unclipped Fish* Continuous

Lake Superior and other tributaries
below posted boundaries (including
St. Louis River below Minnesota 
Highway 23 bridge)

Clipped Fish* Continuous 3 5 Minimum

Unclipped Fish* Continuous

Lake Superior tributaries above April 15–
posted boundaries Oct. 1

   

Rainbow Trout, including Steelhead

Lake Superior tributaries in Carlton
County (including Nemadji River
system and all its tributaries)
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Seasons and Limits–Lake Superior and Its Tributaries
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Brown Trout

 SEASONS AND LIMITS–Lake Superior and Its Tributaries

Lake Superior tributaries April 15– 5 10 Only 1
in Carlton County (including Oct. 1   over 16"
Nemadji River system and 
all its tributaries)

St. Louis River and its April 15– 5 5 Only 1
tributaries upstream of Oct. 1   over 16"
Fond du Lac Dam

Lake Superior and other tributaries Continuous 5 5 Only 1
below posted boundaries    over 16"
(including St. Louis River below the    Min. size 
Minnesota Highway 23 bridge)    limit 10"

Lake Superior tributaries above April 15– 5 10 Only 1
posted boundaries Oct. 1   over 16"

SEASONS FOR LAKE SUPERIOR AND ITS TRIBUTARIES
BELOW POSTED BOUNDARIES

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

LAKETROUT Dec. 1, 2005–Oct. 1, 2006 3
Dec. 1, 2006–Sept. 30, 2007

CHINOOK, Continuous 5 combined, (only 1 can be 
COHO, PINK  an Atlantic salmon) minimum  
ATLANTIC  size limit 10"   
SALMON  

WALLEYE May 13, 2006–March 1, 2007 2 (minimum size limit 15")

NORTHERN May 13, 2006–March 1, 2007 2
PIKE

SMELT Continuous No Limit
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Regulations
• Two lines may be used on Lake Superior, except only one is allowed 

within 100 yards from where a tributary stream enters the lake. Also, 
only one line may be used in tributary streams.

• Anglers are restricted to a single hook only—no treble hooks—on 
Lake Superior tributary streams and rivers up to the posted bound-
aries. Exceptions are the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton 
Counties) and the Pigeon River (Cook County).

• Angling hours on Lake Superior tributaries below the posted bound-
aries are from one hour before sunrise to one hour after sunset. 
Exceptions are the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton Counties) 
and the Pigeon River (Cook County). 

• Special regulations on North Shore streams include posted sanctuaries
on the Knife, Little Knife, Devil Track, and Kadunce Rivers and on 
Gauthier Creek. (See Experimental and Special Regulations,
pages 35-37.)

• Unclipped steelhead (rainbow trout) must be immediately released on 
Lake Superior and its tributaries. A clipped adipose fin, used to identi-
fy stocked trout, must show a healed scar (see diagram below).

• From the mouth of Chester Creek to the outer most portion of the 
northwest arm of the Duluth ship channel is closed to fishing from 
boats from Oct. 1 through Nov. 30. (See map on web site.)

• While on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior, persons may 
possess only one daily limit of fish.

• Anyone fishing on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior must possess 
a Minnesota angling license and trout stamp validation except residents 
65 and older and the other exemptions listed on pages 8-9.

• A guide’s license is required to operate a charter boat for the purpose 
of guiding or assisting anglers on the Minnesota waters of Lake 
Superior and the St. Louis River estuary.

• A person cannot fish on Wisconsin waters of Lake Superior with a 
Minnesota angling license.

• Smelt may be taken night or day. Artificial lights may not be used to 
lure or attract smelt. There is no limit on smelt, and they may be bought 
or sold. However, live smelt may not be possessed or transported. 

• Dip nets may be used for taking 
smelt. Minnow seines not more 
than 25 feet long or 4 feet deep 
may be used to take smelt in the 
St. Louis River and in Lake 
Superior when more than 100 
feet from the mouth of 
any stream. 

• On Lake Superior tributaries 
below the posted boundaries, a fish that is hooked in any part of the 
body, except the mouth, must be immediately returned to the water.

Healed
scar

Adipose fin
(no rays)

Clipped Adipose Fin
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Fishing Ethics
As fishing pressure continues to grow, the DNR offers these
suggestions to make fishing safe and enjoyable for all anglers:

• Don’t litter monofilament fishing line, styrofoam, plastic bags, six-
pack holders, and other plastics, which can kill fish and wildlife 
that eat or get tangled up in these products. 

• Prepare your boat and trailer before you are on the ramp so 
that you can launch quickly.

• Ask for permission before entering private land. 
• Keep only the amount of fish you can use.
• Release some medium-sized fish so they can grow larger and be 

caught in the future. 

For Your Information
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SPECIAL REGULATIONS

Intensive Management Lakes

DNR regulations. Angling harvest on these intensive management lakes 
may change throughout the year to maintain sustainable fish populations. 
If regulations change, information will be posted at public boat ramps, 
the DNR website and in newspapers. 

Approximately 110 fishing lakes in east-central Minnesota lie within 
the 1837 ceded territory. Regulations could change on lakes in the fol-
lowing counties: Aitkin, Chisago, Crow Wing, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille 
Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Sherburne, and Washington.

MILLE LACS LAKE including tributaries to posted boundaries 
(Aitkin, Crow Wing, and Mille Lacs Counties) No one may fish for any 
species or possess fishing gear on the lake from 10 p.m.-6 a.m. starting 
at 10 p.m. on May 15 and ending at 12:01 a.m. on June 12. Closed to 
winter spearing for all species. walleye, northern pike, and tulibee:
Restrictions or changes will be posted at public access sites. smallmouth
bass: All less than 21" must be immediately released. Possession limit 1.

Fish reduced to possession may not be released. 

RED LAKE, UPPER including Shotley Brook and Tamarack River  
(Beltrami County)  northern pike: All from 26-40” must be immediate-
ly released. Only one over 40” allowed in possession. walleye: All from 
17-26” must be immediately released. Possession limit 2 with only one 
over 26”. Statewide bag limit may only include 2 Red Lake Walleye. If
safe harvest levels for walleye are reached, these areas will be closed to 
the taking of walleye. At that time, it will be unlawful to have any wall-
eye in possession regardless of where taken while on or fishing in these 
waters.  Please check the signs and DNR web site for any changes. 

Those portions of Red Lake located within the Red Lake Indian 
Reservation are closed to non-band members except by special authori-
zation of the tribal council.

TAMARACTT  NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE has differing reg-
ulations. Please check with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Experimental and Special Regulations
These regulations differ from statewide or border water regulations 

for those species identified. Unless otherwise specifically mentioned, all 
general regulations, seasons, limits, border water regulations, posses-
sion, and transportation apply to these waters. Please check regulation 
booklets from other states and sections of this booklet listed above.

new

new
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Experimental/Special Regulations–Lakes

Regulations are posted at access sites. Those lakes in the follow-
ing list with a (T) are in the 1837 Treaty area, so make sure you check 
the accesses for any changes or additions. Your compliance is needed 
to ensure that these regulations are successful. The regulations help 
improve fishing quality, protect unique fisheries, provide additional 
fishing opportunities, or protect threatened species. The DNR regularly 
evaluates regulations to determine their success.

Individual Waters

LAKES (Make sure to also check pages 15-21, and 35–52.)

A
ADA LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. AGNES
LAKE (Douglas County) bass: All 12” and larger must be immediately 
released. One over 20” allowed in possession. ALEXANDER
LAKE (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. ANDREWS
LAKE (Douglas County) northern pike: All 24" and larger must 
be immediately released. ANN LAKE (Carver County) largemouth 
bass: Catch and release only. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. ANNIE
BATTLE LAKE (Otter Tail County) Use of gas and electric motors, 
aqua-views, augers, and other electronic fish-finding devices are 
prohibited. sunfish: Possession limit 5. northern pike and largemouth 
bass: Catch and release only. black crappie: Minimum size limit 11". 
Possession limit 5. ANNIE BATTLE LAKE INLET to Molly Stark 
Lake and OUTLET to Blanche Lake (Otter Tail County) sunfish: 
Possession limit 5. northern pike and largemouth bass: Catch and 
release only. black crappie: Minimum size limit 11". Possession limit 5. 
ASH LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

B
BALD EAGLE LAKE (Anoka, Ramsey, and Washington Counties) 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48" northern  pike:       BALM  
LAKE (Beltrami County) bass: All 12” and larger must be immediately 
released. One over 20” allowed in possession.      BALSAM LAKE
(Itasca County) northern pike: All from 24-36” must be immediately 
released. One over 36” allowed in possession. BASS LAKE near 
Cohasset (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit 5. BASS LAKE
near Burtrum (Todd County) north of Long Lake. walleye: Possession 
limit 2. largemouth bass: Possession limit 1. northern pike: Minimum 
size limit 40". Possession limit 1. BASSWOOD LAKE (Lake County) 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One 
over 36" allowed in possession. Slot applies to all Minnesota waters 

new

new

new
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of Basswood Lake.      BATTLE LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish:
possession limit 10. walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately 
released. One over 26" allowed in possession. BATTLE LAKE,
EAST (Otter Tail County) northern pike: All 22" and larger must be 
immediately released. BATTLE LAKE, WEST (Otter Tail County)  
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One 
over 36" allowed in possession. BEAR CREEK RESERVOIR [Chester 
Woods] (Olmsted County) largemouth bass: Minimum size limit 15". 
bluegill: Possession limit 10. Minimum size limit 7", Nov. 1–April 30. 
BELTRAMI LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.     
      BIG BASS LAKE (Beltrami County) bass: All must be immediately 
released.       BIG BIRCH (Todd and Stearns Counties) northern pike:
All from 24-36” must be immediately released. One over 36” allowed in 
possession. BIG CARNELIAN LAKE (Washington County) northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. BIG FISH LAKE (Stearns County) northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. BIG LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike:
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed 
in possession.       BIG MANTRAP (Hubbard County) crappie:  
Minimum size limit 10”. Possession limit 5. northern pike:  All from 
24-36” must be immediately released. Only one over 36” allowed in 
possession. BIG SAND LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: All from 20-
28" must be immediately released. One over 28" allowed in possession. 
BIG STONE LAKE (Big Stone County) walleye: Possession limit 
4. One 20" or larger allowed in possession. crappie: Possession limit 
10. sunfish: Possession limit 10. BIG SWAN LAKE (Todd County) 
northern pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately released. 
BIRCH LAKE RESERVOIR (St. Louis County) northern pike: All 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession.       BLACKDUCK LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish:
possession limit 5. BLACKWATER LAKE (Cass County) bass: Catch 
and release only. BLACK BASS LAKE (Mille Lacs County) Use of gas 
or electric augers, aqua-views, and other electronic fish-finding devices 
are prohibited. largemouth and smallmouth bass: Catch and release 
only. northern pike: Catch and release only. sunfish: Possession limit 
5. BLUEBERRY LAKE (Wadena County) northern pike: All from 24-
36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
BURGEN LAKE (Douglas County) northern pike: All 24" and larger 
must be immediately released. 

C
CAMPBELL LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-
36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
CARIBOU LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
CARNELIAN LAKE (Stearns County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 
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Experimental/Special Regulations–Lakes

CEDAR LAKE (Morrison County) walleye: Possession limit 2, One 
over 24" allowed in possession. black crappie: Possession limit 5. 
northern pike: Possession limit 1. Minimum size limit 40". CENTER
LAKE, NORTH and SOUTH (Chisago County) northern pike: All 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. CHARLES LAKE (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing. 
CHILD LAKE (Cass County)  northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. CHISAGO
LAKE (Chisago County) (T) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must 
be immediately released CHRISTINA LAKE (Douglas and Grant 
Counties) Open to winter fishing only, December 1–March 31. Closed to 
fishing at all other times. CLEAR LAKE (Waseca County) largemouth 
bass and smallmouth bass: Catch and release only. CLITHERALL
LAKE (Otter Tail County) smallmouth bass: Catch and release only. 
COON-SANDWICK LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike: All 
from 20-30" must be immediately released. One over 30" allowed in 
possession. COTTON LAKE (Becker County) northern pike: All 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession.      COTTONWOOD LAKE (Grant County) sunfish:  
possession limit 5. walleye: possession limit 3. CRANE LAKE
including Vermilion Gorge (St. Louis County) walleye: All less than 13" 
or larger than 17" must be immediately released, one over 23" allowed 
in possession.      CRAWFORD LAKE (Wright County) largemouth 
bass: Catch-and-release  sunfish: Possession limit 5. crappie:
Possession limit 5. walleye: Possession limit 2. perch: Possession limit 
10. CROOKED LAKE (Anoka County) largemouth bass: Catch and 
release only.      CROOKED LAKE (Stearns County) bass: All 12” and 
larger must be immediately released.One over 20” allowed in possession.  
northern pike: All from 24-36” must be immediately released. One over 
36” allowed in possession. CROW WING LAKES, 5th, 6th, 8th, 9th, 
and 10th (Hubbard County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 40". 
Possession limit 1. 

D
DEEP LAKE (Ramsey County) Closed to fishing.      DEER LAKE 
(Beltrami County) bass: All must be immediately returned to the water. 
northern pike:  All from 24” through 36” must be immediately released.
One over 36” allowed in possession.       DEER LAKE near Effie 
(Itasca County) sunfish:  possession limit 10. walleye:  All from 17-
26” must be immediately released. One over 26” allowed in possession. 
DEMONTREVILLE LAKE (Washington County) largemouth bass:
Catch and release only. DUDLEY LAKE (Rice County) northern pike:
Minimum size limit 30".      DYERS LAKE (Cook County) crappie:  
possession limit 5.  sunfish: possession limit 5.

E
EAGLE LAKE (Hennepin County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 
48". ELEPHANT LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: Minimum 
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size limit 40". Possession limit 1. ELK LAKE (Clearwater County) 
muskellunge: Catch-and-release only.      

F
     FARM LAKE Includes the North Branch Kawishiwi River from 
Farm Lake 4.8 miles east to the long portage (Lake County) northern 
pike:  All from 24-36” must be immediately released. One over 36” 
allowed in possession. walleye: All from 17-26” must be immediately 
released. One over 26” allowed in possession. FARM ISLAND LAKE
(Aitkin County) walleye: All from 16-19" must be immediately released. 
FISH TRAP LAKE (Morrison County) northern pike: All from 24-
36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
FLADMARK LAKE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 
10. northern pike and largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. 
FLOUR LAKE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger 
must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. 
FLOYD LAKE, BIG and LITTLE (Becker County) northern pike:
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed 
in possession. FOSTER AREND LAKE (Olmsted County) trout:
Continuous season. Possession limit 3 with One over 16". FOX LAKE
(Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately 
released. One over 36" allowed in possession.     FRANKLIN LAKE
(Otter Tail County) crappie:  Minimum size limit 10”. Possession limit 5.      

G
     GARDEN LAKE (Lake County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" is 
allowed in possession. GEORGE LAKE (Hubbard County) northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. GILBERT LAKE (Crow Wing County) crappie:
Possession limit 5. sunfish: Possession limit 5. GIRL LAKE (Cass 
County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
One over 36" allowed in possession. GOODRICH LAKE (Crow 
Wing County) crappie: Possession limit 5. sunfish: Possession limit 5. 
GOOSE LAKE (Chisago County)(T)  walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 
GRAVE LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish: Possession limit 5. GREEN
LAKE (Chisago County)(T) crappie: Minimum size limit 9". walleye:
Minimum size limit 17".      GULL LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: 
Possession limit 5. GULL LAKE (Cook County) walleye: Possession 
limit is 6. One over 19.5" allowed in possession.      

H
     HASKELL LAKE (Itasca County)  northern pike: All from 
24-36” must be immediately released. Only one over 36” allowed 
in possession.      HENRY LAKE (Douglas County) bass: All 12” 
and larger must be immediately released. One over 20” allowed in 
possession. HORSESHOE LAKE (Cass County) near Backus. crappie:

new
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Experimental/Special Regulations–Lakes

Possession limit 5. largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" and 
larger must be immediately released northern pike: Minimum size limit 
30". Possession limit 1. sunfish: Possession limit 5. walleye: Possession 
limit 3. HOVDE LAKE (Cass County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-
release only. HUBERT LAKE (Crow Wing County) largemouth and 
smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately released. 
HUNGRY JACK LAKE (Cook County) smallmouth bass: All 12" 
and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in 
possession.

I
ISLAND LAKE near Northome (Itasca County) northern pike: All 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One 
over 26" allowed in possession. 

J
JANE LAKE (Washington County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-
release only. JEWETT LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and 
smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately released. One 
over 20" allowed in possession.     

K
     KABEKONA LAKE (Hubbard County) walleye: All from 18-26” 
must be immediately released. One over 26” allowed in possession. 
Possession limit 4. KABETOGAMA LAKE Including Sullivan Bay
and Ash River to Ash River Falls. (St. Louis County) walleye: All 
less than 13" or larger than 17" must be immediately released, except 
one over 23" is allowed in possession. KELLY LAKE (Rice County) 
northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". KNIFE LAKE (Kanabec 
County) (T) walleye: All from 18-24" must be immediately released. 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 
36" allowed in possession. KRAUT LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-
and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use 
and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. 

L
LAC QUI PARLE LAKE upstream to Marsh Lake Dam, including the 
Watson Sag upstream to the diversion dam (Lac Qui Parle and Chippewa 
Counties) walleye: Possession limit 4. One 20" or larger allowed in 
possession. LAKE OF THE WOODS including the Rainy River from 
the mouth upstream to the dam in International Falls, Baudette and 
Winter Road Rivers (Lake of the Woods and Koochiching Counties), 
and Warroad River (Roseau County). northern pike: Possession limit 
is 3, with one over 40". All from 30-40" must be immediately released. 
walleye and sauger: See page 44. LAKE THIRTEEN (Cass County) 
largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately released. 
LATOKA LAKE (Douglas County) northern pike: All from 24-36" 
must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

new
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LEECH LAKE (Cass County) walleye: All from 18-26" must be 
immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. Possession 
limit 4. LIDA LAKE SOUTH and NORTH including connecting Mud
Lake (Otter Tail County) crappie: Minimum size limit 11". walleye:
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed 
in possession. LITTLE BOY LAKE (Cass County) northern pike:
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed 
in possession. LITTLE CASCADE LAKE (Cook County) northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. LITTLE MANTRAP LAKE (Hubbard County) 
largemouth bass: All from 12-18" must be immediately released. 
LITTLE MCDONALD LAKE (Otter Tail County) walleye: All 
from 18-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in 
possession. LITTLE SAUK LAKE (Todd County) walleye: Possession 
limit is 2. largemouth bass: Possession limit is 1. sunfish: Possession 
limit is 5. crappie: Possession limit is 5.yellow perch: Possession limit 
is 10. northern pike: All from 24-30" must be immediately released. 
Possession limit is 3, with one over 30". LITTLE VERMILION LAKE
Including Loon River to Loon River Falls. (St. Louis County) walleye:
All less than 13" or larger than 17" must be immediately released, 
except 1 over 23" is allowed in possession. LITTLE WOLF LAKE
(Cass and Hubbard Counties) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". 
LITTLE WOMAN LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-
36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 
LONG LAKE (Aitkin County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.      LONG
LAKE near Hawick (Kandiyohi County) largemouth bass: All 12” 
and larger must be immediately released. One over 20” allowed in 
possession. LONG LAKE (Todd County) northern pike: All from 24-
36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession.               
     LONG LAKE (Stearns County) bass: All 12” and larger must be 
immediately released. One over 20” allowed in possession. northern 
pike: All from 24-36” must be immediately released. One over 36” 
allowed in possession. LOON LAKE (Cook County) northern pike:
Minimum size limit 30". Possession limit 1. 

M
MANDALL LAKE (Chisago County) walleye: Minimum size limit 17". 
MAPLE LAKE (Douglas County)  crappie: Possession limit 5, with 
a minimum size limit of 10" MEDICINE LAKE (Beltrami County) 
northern pike: All from 22-30" must be immediately released. One 
over 30" allowed in possession MELISSA LAKE (Becker County) 
northern pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately released. MINK
LAKE (Wright County) sunfish: Possession limit 5. crappie: Possession 
limit 5. yellow perch: Possession limit 10. walleye: Possession 
limit 2. largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately 
released. Possession limit 1. northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. Possession 
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or use of live minnows is prohibited. MINNEWASHTA LAKE (Carver 
County)  largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. MINNIE BELLE
LAKE (Meeker County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. MISSION
LAKE, LOWER and UPPER (Crow Wing County) northern pike:
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. MITCHELL LAKE (Crow Wing County) northern pike:
Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit 1. MOCCASIN LAKE (Cass 
County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. MOODY LAKE
(Crow Wing County) Closed to fishing. MOOSE LAKE near Deer River 
(Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. 
One over 26" allowed in possession. MOOSE LAKE (Todd County) 
largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately released. 
MOVIL LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must 
be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. MULE
LAKE (Cass County) bass: Catch-and-release only. 

N
NAMAKAN LAKE (St. Louis County) walleye: All less than 13" 
or larger than 17" must be immediately released, except one over 23" 
allowed in possession. NORTH SHADY LAKE (Cook County) trout:
Catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. 
Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. NORTH
STAR LAKE including Little North Star Lake (Itasca County) 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One 
over 36" allowed in possession.      NORTH TURTLE LAKE (Otter 
Tail County) bass: All 12” and larger must be immediately released. 
One over 20” allowed in possession. crappie: Minimum size limit 10”. 
NORTH TWIN LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike: All from 22-
30" must be immediately released. One over 30" allowed in possession. 
NORWAY LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-
release only walleye: Possession limit 3. northern pike: Possession 
limit 1. crappie: Possession limit 5. sunfish: Possession limit 5. yellow 
perch: Possession limit 10. 

O
OLSON LAKE (Washington County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-
release only OSAKIS LAKE (Douglas and Todd Counties) walleye:
Minimum size limit 15". OTTER TAIL LAKE (Otter Tail County) 
northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". Possession limit 1. OWASSO
LAKE (Ramsey County) muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". OX
YOKE LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit 10. 

P
PEANUT LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. 
Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of 
bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. PELICAN LAKE (St. Louis 
County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All from 14-20" must be 
immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession. northern 
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pike: All from 24-32" must be immediately released. One over 32" 
allowed in possession.     PICKEREL LAKE (Itasca County) sunfish:  
possession limit 10. walleye: All from 17-26” must be immediately 
released. One over 26” allowed in possession. PICKEREL LAKE (Otter 
Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must 
be immediately released. One over 20" allowed in possession.                   
     PIERZ LAKE [Fish] (Morrison County) largemouth bass: All 12” 
and larger must be immediately released. One over 20” allowed in 
possession. PIMUSHE LAKE (Beltrami County) sunfish: Possession 
limit 10. PINE LAKE, BIG and LITTLE (Otter Tail County) 
walleye: All from 18-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession PLANTAGANETTE LAKE (Hubbard County) 
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48". PLEASANT LAKE (Ramsey 
County) Closed to fishing. PLEASANT LAKE (Stearns County) 
sunfish: Possession limit 10. PORTAGE LAKE North of Ten Mile Lake 
(Cass County) largemouth and smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release 
only. PRAIRIE LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: Minimum 
size limit 30". Possession limit 1. 

R
RABBIT LAKES, BIG and EAST BIG (Crow Wing County) northern 
pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately released. RABOUR
LAKE (Chisago County) walleye: Minimum size limit 17". RACHEL
LAKE and LITTLE RACHEL LAKE (Douglas County) northern 
pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately released. RAINY LAKE
Including the Rainy River above the dam at International Falls, all 
of Rainy Lake to the dam at Kettle Falls, Black Bay including Gold
Portage below the rapids, all of the Rat Root River, and Rat Root 
Lake. (Koochiching and St. Louis Counties) walleye and sauger:
Possession limit of 8 (Not more than 4 can be walleye; walleye from 
17-28" must be immediately released; One walleye over 28" allowed 
in possession.) REBECCA LAKE (Hennepin County) muskellunge:
Minimum size limit 48".      RED WING POTTERY POND (Goodhue
County) trout: Continuous season. Possession limit 3 with only one 
over 16”. REEDS LAKE (Waseca County) northern pike: Minimum 
size limit 30". ROGERS LAKE (Crow Wing County) crappie:
Possession limit 5. sunfish: Possession limit 5. ROUND LAKE (Crow 
Wing County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". Possession 
limit 1. ROUND LAKE Near Squaw Lake (Itasca County) walleye:
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed 
in possession. RUSH LAKE, EAST and WEST (Chisago County) 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 
36" allowed in possession. 

S
SAGANAGA LAKE (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit 6. 
One over 19.5" allowed in possession. SALLIE LAKE (Becker 
County) northern pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately 
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released. SANBURN LAKE (Cass County) sunfish: Possession limit 
10.      SAND LAKE (Lake County) sunfish: Possession limit 5. SAND
POINT LAKE (St. Louis County) walleye: All less than 13" or larger 
than 17" must be immediately released, except one over 23" allowed in 
possession.      SCRAPPER LAKE (Itasca County) northern pike:
All from 24-36” must be immediately released. One over 36” allowed 
in possession. SEWELL LAKE (Otter Tail County) largemouth and 
smallmouth bass All 12" and larger must be immediately released. 
One over 20" allowed in possession. SHAMINEAU LAKE (Morrison 
County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. 
One over 36" allowed in possession. SISSABAGAMAH LAKE (Aitkin 
County) northern pike: All from 20-30" must be immediately released. 
One over 30" allowed in possession. SOMERS LAKE (Wright County) 
sunfish: Possession limit 5. crappie: Possession limit 5. yellow perch:
Possession limit 10. walleye: Possession limit 2. largemouth bass:
All 12" and larger must be immediately released. Possession limit 1. 
northern pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One 
over 36" allowed in possession. Possession or use of live minnows is 
prohibited.      SOUTH FARM LAKE (Lake county) northern pike:
All from 24-36” must be immediately released. One over 36” allowed 
in possession. walleye: All from 17-26” must be immediately released. 
One over 26” allowed in possession. SOUTH LINDSTROM LAKE
(Chisago County) (T) largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be 
immediately released.      SOUTH TWIN (Beltrami County) bass:
All must be immediately released. SPIDER LAKE (Hubbard County) 
crappie: Minimum size limit 10".      SPIDER LAKE (Itasca County) 
northern pike: All from 24-36” must be immediately released. One 
over 36” allowed in possession. SPLITHAND LAKE (Itasca County) 
walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. SQUASH LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-
and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use 
and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. SQUARE
LAKE (Washington County) trout: Catch-and-release from May 13 
through June 9 and from October 1 through October 31. Remainder of 
the summer and winter seasons the possession limit for trout is 2. ST.
OLAF LAKE (Waseca County) northern pike: Minimum size limit 
30". STAR LAKE (Otter Tail County) sunfish: Possession limit 10 
STIEGER LAKE (Carver County) northern pike and largemouth 
bass: Catch-and-release only. STONY LAKE (Cass County) 
largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately released. 
One over 20" allowed in possession. STUART LAKE (Otter Tail 
County) black crappie: Minimum size limit 10". STURGEON LAKE
(Pine County) northern pike: All 20" and larger must be immediately 
released. SWAN LAKE (Itasca County) walleye: All from 17-26" must 
be immediately released. One over 26" allowed in possession. SYLVAN
LAKE (Cass County) near Pillager. crappie: Possession limit 5. sunfish:
Possession limit 5. 
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T
TEN MILE LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All 20" and larger 
must be immediately released. TEN MILE LAKE, NORTH and
SOUTH (Otter Tail County) largemouth and smallmouth bass:
Minimum size limit 21". Possession limit 1. THOMPSON LAKE
(Cook County) trout: Catch-and-release only. Artificial lures and flies 
with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to 
winter fishing. THREE ISLAND LAKE (Beltrami County)  northern 
pike: All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" 
allowed in possession. THRUSH LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch-
and-release only. Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use 
and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing. TOMATO
LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch and release only. Artificial lures 
and flies with a single hook only. Use and possession of bait prohibited. 
Closed to winter fishing. TROUT LAKE Near Coleraine (Itasca County) 
walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" 
allowed in possession. TURNIP LAKE (Cook County) trout: Catch 
and release only. Artificial lures and flies with a single hook only. Use 
and possession of bait prohibited. Closed to winter fishing.         
      TURTLE LAKE (Itasca County) bass: All 12” and larger must be 
immediately released. One over 20” allowed in possession. TURTLE
LAKE (Ramsey County) largemouth bass: Catch-and-release only. 
TURTLE, BIG and LITTLE LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike:
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession. TURTLE RIVER LAKE (Beltrami County) northern pike:
All from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed 
in possession. TWENTY ONE LAKE (Otter Tail County) sunfish:
Possession limit 10. northern pike and largemouth bass: Catch and 
release only. TWO ISLAND LAKE (Cook County) smallmouth bass:
All 12" and larger must be immediately released. One over 20" allowed 
in possession. 

U
UNNAMED LAKE [Louise/Pothole] Located between Wabedo and 
Little Boy (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. 

V
VENSTROM LAKE (Otter Tail County) crappie: Minimum size 
limit 11". walleye: All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One 
over 26" allowed in possession.      VERMILION LAKE (St. Louis 
County) northern pike: All from 24-36” must be immediately released. 
One over 36” allowed in possession. walleye: All from 17-26” must be 
immediately released. One over 26” allowed in possession. Possession 
limit 4. 

W
WABEDO LAKE Including Unnamed Lake between Wabedo and 
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Little Boy. (Cass County) northern pike: All from 24-36" must be 
immediately released. One over 36" allowed in possession. WACONIA
LAKE (Carver County) walleye: Minimum size 16".      WHITE
IRON LAKE (St. Louis County) northern pike: All from 24-36” must 
be immediately released. Only one over 36” allowed in possession. 
walleye: All from 17-26” must be immediately released. Only one 
over 26” allowed in possession. WILKINS LAKE (Aitkin County) 
northern pike: All from 20-30" must be immediately released. One over 
30" allowed in possession.WILKINSON LAKE (Anoka and Ramsey 
Counties) Closed to fishing.WINNIBIGOSHISH LAKE and connected 
waters: Mississippi River to Knutson Dam, Third River Flowage to
Little Dixon Lake, Pigeon River to Pigeon Lake Dam, First River, 
Egg Lake through Cut Foot Sioux Lake, Raven Flowage to Raven 
Lake, and Sugar Lake (Beltrami, Cass and Itasca Counties) walleye:
All from 17-26" must be immediately released. One over 26" allowed 
in possession. WOMAN LAKE (Cass County) northern pike: All 
from 24-36" must be immediately released. One over 36" allowed in 
possession.

STREAMS and Rivers
(Make sure to check pages 18–35, and 43–52.)

A
ASH RIVER: See Kabetogama Lake, page 29. 

B
BAUDETTE RIVER See Lake of the Woods, page 29. BEAVER
CREEK (Wabasha and Winona Counties) winter: Catch-and-release 
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire stream, a 6.3-mile posted section 
from the mouth to the source. All hooks must be barbless. BEAVER
CREEK, EAST (Houston County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream (Beaver Creek Valley State 
Park). winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire 
stream (Beaver Creek Valley State Park). All hooks must be barbless 
during winter season BEAVER CREEK, WEST (Houston County) 
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31, on a 1.9-mile 
posted section from the point where West Beaver Creek joins East 
Beaver Creek in Beaver Creek Valley State Park upstream to the posted 
boundary. All hooks must be barbless. BEE CREEK (Houston County) 
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31, on a 1.6-mile 
posted section from the Minnesota State Line in Bee, upstream to the 
posted boundary at a driveway crossing. All hooks must be barbless. 
BELLE CREEK (Goodhue County) trout: Catch-and-release  on a 7.3 
mile posted section from the confluence with the Cannon River upstream 
to Hwy 19. 
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C
CAMP CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and-release on a 2.7 
mile posted section from 0.8 miles above the confluence with the Root 
River, South Branch upstream 2.7 miles. Artificial lures and flies only. 
Note: On the third Saturday in May statewide regulations apply to the 
posted section of the stream winter: Catch-and-release for trout from 
Jan. 1-March 31, on posted section from mouth upstream 3.5 miles. 
All hooks must be barbless during the winter season. CANFIELD
CREEK [South Branch Creek] (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-
16"  must be immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial lures 
and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on 
the entire section (Forestville State Park). All hooks must be barbless. 
COOLRIDGE CREEK (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 0.13-mile posted section from Pine Creek to 
the posted boundary. All hooks must be barbless. CROOKED CREEK
(Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 
31 on a 6.4-mile posted section from the first township bridge 1 mile 
upstream of Freeburg to the posted boundary near the source, 1.5 miles 
upstream of the uppermost Hwy. 249 bridge crossing. All hooks must 
be barbless CROOKED CREEK, SOUTH FORK (Houston County) 
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1.5-mile posted 
section from the junction with Crooked Creek to the posted boundary 
downstream of the reservoir. All hooks must be barbless. 

D
DALEY CREEK (Houston County) winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1- March 31 on a 2.5-mile posted section from the Hwy16 
crossing upstream to the posted boundary at the fourth stream crossing. 
All hooks must be barbless. DEVIL TRACK RIVER (Cook County) 
fish sanctuary: Mile 1.1 to Mile 1.6 open to fishing from June 1-August 
31. DIAMOND CREEK (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 5.25-mile posted section from third stream 
crossing upstream of the Hwy.16 bridge to the source of both branches. 
All hooks must be barbless. DUSCHEE CREEK (Fillmore County) 
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the posted 
section from mouth upstream 5.5 miles. All hooks must be barbless 

E
EAGLE CREEK (Scott County) trout: Catch and release only.

F
FERGUSON CREEK (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for 
trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1.25-mile posted section beginning where 
Ferguson Creek enters Rush Creek and continuing upstream to the posted 
boundary at the spring source. All hooks must be barbless. FIRST
RIVER: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 35 FORESTVILLE CREEK
[North Branch Creek] (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream. winter: Catch-and-release for 
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trout Jan. 1-March 31 on the entire stream. All hooks must be barbless 
during winter season. 

G
GARVIN BROOK (Winona County) trout: All from 12-16" must 
be immediately released from the Hwy. 14 crossing to the source. 
Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 
1-March 31 on a 1-mile posted section from Farmers Park to the the end 
of State Forest land. All hooks must be barbless. GAUTHIER CREEK
(Cook County) fish sanctuary: Entire stream open to fishing from 
June 1-August 31 only. GRIBBEN CREEK (Fillmore County) trout:
All from 12-16" must be immediately released on the entire stream. 
Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 
1- March 31 on a 3.8-mile posted section from the Hwy. 16 bridge to 
the source. All hooks must be barbless during winter season. 

H
HAY CREEK (Goodhue County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on a 4.0 mile posted section from 325th Street 
downstream. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release
for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 7.6-mile posted section, from 325th 
Street bridge to the boundary of State Forest land in Section 12. All 
hooks must be barbless. HEMMINGWAY CREEK (Winona County) 
winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 0.8-mile 
posted from Pine Creek to the posted boundary where the State Forest 
land ends. All hooks must be barbless. 

K
KADUNCE RIVER (Cook County) fish sanctuary: Mile 0.2 
(lower falls) to Mile 0.4 open to fishing from June 1-August 31. 
KAWISHIWI RIVER, NORTH BRANCH (Lake County) See 
Farm Lake on page 28. KEDRON CREEK (Fillmore County) trout:
Catch-and-release on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies only. 
KNIFE RIVER (St. Louis and Lake Counties) fish sanctuary: River 
and tributaries upstream from Lake County Road 9 open to fishing 
from May 15-Sept 30. The river between the cables upstream of the 
U.S. Highway 61 bridge open to fishing from June 1-August 31. U.S. 
Highway 61 bridge downstream to the cable below the fish trap is 
permanently closed to fishing. KNIFE RIVER, LITTLE (St. Louis 
County) fish sanctuary: From the weir upstream to the source, fishing 
is allowed from June 1-August 31. 

L
LOGAN CREEK (Olmsted County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream from the confluence with the 
Whitewater River, North Branch upstream to the source. Artificial lures 
and flies only. LOON RIVER See Little Vermillion Lake on page 30. 
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M
MAHOODS CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" 
must be immediately released on the entire stream. MISSISSIPPI
RIVER VALLEY (Ramsey, Washington, Hennepin, and Dakota 
Counties) walleye, sauger, smallmouth bass, and largemouth bass: 
Catch-and-release  with a continuous season in the following stretch-
es: a) Minnesota River downstream from the Mendota Bridge; b) 
Minnehaha Creek downstream from Minnehaha Falls; and c) Pool 
2 of the Mississippi River between the Hastings Dam and the Ford 
Dam, including all backwater lakes and connecting waters except 
Crosby Lake, Pickerel Lake, Upper Lake, Little Pigs Eye Lake, and 
North Star Steel Lake.  MISSISSIPPI RIVER (Sherburne, Stearns 
and Wright Counties) smallmouth bass: From the confluence of the 
Crow River upstream to the St. Cloud Dam, the possession limit is 3, 
with One over 20". All from 12-20" must be immediately released.
MISSISSIPPI RIVER POOLS 5, 5A, AND 8 (Wabasha, Houston, 
and Winona Counties) MN waters only. sunfish: Possession limit 
is 10. MISSISSIPPI RIVER: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 35. 
MONEY CREEK, WEST BRANCH (Winona County) winter:
Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 3.14-mile posted 
section uptream from the County Road 19 stream crossing to the 
source. All hooks must be barbless. 

O
OTTER TAIL RIVER (Otter Tail and Wilkin Counties) smallmouth
bass: Catch-and-release  from Wilkin County Road 19 crossing 
upstream to the Friberg Dam including all impoundments. 

P
PIGEON RIVER: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 35. PINE CREEK
(Winona County) trout: Winter catch-and-release season from Jan. 1-
March 31, on a 5.6 mile posted section from Rush Creek to the posted 
boundary where State Forest land ends. All hooks must be barbless. 

R
RAINY RIVER: northern pike: See Lake of the Woods on page 
29. walleye and sauger: See Rainy Lake page 32 and border water 
page 45. RAT ROOT RIVER: See Rainy Lake on page 32.RAVEN
FLOWAGE: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 35. RED LAKE
TRIBUTARIES: See Red Lake on page 24. ROOT RIVER,
MIDDLE BRANCH (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and-release  
on the entire stream. ROOT RIVER, SOUTH BRANCH (Fillmore 
County) trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately released on a 
4.8 mile posted section within Forestville State Park. winter: Catch-
and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 from the mouth to the dam in 
Lanesboro, and from the historic bridge (Meighen's Store) to the park 
boundary. All hooks must be barbless during winter season. ROOT
RIVER, SOUTH FORK (Fillmore County) trout: Catch-and-release 
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on a 7.7 mile section from County Road 12 upstream to the source. 
Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 
1-March 31 from Nepstad (Shattuck) Creek to the upper boundary of 
the Hvoself W.M.A. All hooks must be barbless during winter season. 
RUSH CREEK (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout 
Jan. 1- March 31 on a 6.4-mile posted section from the southern-most 
County Road 25 bridge crossing to the posted boundary. All hooks 
must be barbless 

S
SEA GULL RIVER (Cook County) walleye: Possession limit is 
6. One over 19.5" allowed in possession.      SHOTLEY BROOK
(from Hwy 72 West to Upper Red Lake): See Red Lake page 24. 
ST. LOUIS RIVER (St. Louis County) fish sanctuary: No fishing 
allowed at any time from the Fond du Lac Dam downstream to the 
Minnesota–Wisconsin boundary cable. No fishing allowed from the 
boundary cable downstream to the Hwy. 23 bridge from March 4-May 
18.      STONEY BROOK (Cass County) brook trout: All must be 
immediately returned to the water on the posted section beginning at 
the mouth at Gull Lake upstream to the road crossing at County Road 
29 (Miner’s Corner). SPRING VALLEY CREEK (Fillmore County) 
trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately released on a 6.8 mile 
posted section from Deer Creek upstream to Fillmore Township Road 
359. SWEDES BOTTOM CREEK (Houston County) winter: Catch-
and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1-mile posted section from 
the township road bridge to the source. All hooks must be barbless.

T
      TAMARACK RIVER (from the Beltrami County line west 
to Upper Red lake): See Red Lake page 24. THIRD RIVER
FLOWAGE: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 35. TORKELSON
CREEK (Fillmore County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 
1-March 31 on the 2.1-mile posted section from the North Branch 
Root River to the source. All hooks must be barbless. TROUT
RUN CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must be 
immediately released on the entire stream. Artificial lures and flies 
only. TROUT RUN CREEK (Winona County–Whitewater State 
Park) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 1-mile 
posted section from the mouth to the end of State Park property. All 
hooks must be barbless. TROUT VALLEY CREEK (Winona County) 
brook trout: Minimum size limit 12". Possession limit 1. Artificial 
lures and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1- March 
31 on a 1.25-mile posted section from the uppermost Winona County 
Road 31 bridge crossing downstream to the next Winona County Road 
31 bridge. All hooks must be barbless

V
VERMILION GORGE See Crane Lake on page 27.           

new

new

new
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      VERMILLION RIVER including all tributaries to their source 
(Dakota County) trout: All must be immediately returned to the water 
within a 19.5-mile reach from the Highview Avenue bridge in Eureka 
Township to the posted boundary 1.1 miles downstream from the U.S. 
Hwy. 52 bridge.  Except statewide regulations will apply on the 2-mile 
reach of the main stem from Denmark Avenue to the State Hwy. 3 
bridge in Farmington. 

W
WARROAD RIVER See Lake of the Woods on page 29. WATSON
SAG See Lac Qui Parle on page 29.WEST INDIAN CREEK
(Wabasha County)  trout: All from 12-16" must be immediately 
released from the upstream Wabasha County Road 4 crossing to 
the source. WHITEWATER RIVER, MAIN BRANCH (Winona 
County) winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1-March 31 on a 
11.9-mile posted section from the Wabasha County line upstream to 
the Middle and North branches of the Whitewater River. All hooks 
must be barbless. WHITEWATER RIVER, MIDDLE BRANCH
(Winona and Olmsted Counties) trout: Catch-and-release on a 9.2-
mile posted section from the group camp in Whitewater State Park 
upstream to the source. Artificial lures and flies only. winter: Catch-
and-release season for trout from Jan.1 through March 31 on a 11.2-
mile posted section from the mouth upsteam to Olmsted County Road 
9. All hooks must be barbless. WHITEWATER RIVER, NORTH
BRANCH (Wabasha, Olmsted and Winona Counties) trout: All from 
12-16" must be immediately released on a 12.1 mile posted section 
from Township Road 29 upstream to County Road 4. Artificial lures 
and flies only. winter: Catch-and-release for trout Jan. 1- March 31 on 
a 7.7-mile posted section from the mouth upstream to Logan Creek. 
All hooks must be barbless during winter season WHITEWATER
RIVER, SOUTH BRANCH (Winona County) winter: Catch-and-
release for trout Jan. 1- March 31 on a 3.8-mile posted section from 
the mouth to 1 mile upstream of County Road 112. All hooks must be 
barbless. WINTER ROAD RIVER See Lake of the Woods on page 
29. WISEL CREEK (Fillmore County) trout: All from 12-16" must 
be immediately released on the entire stream. winter: Catch-and-
release for trout Jan. 1- March 31 on the 4.0-mile posted section from 
County Road 18 downstream to the South Fork of the Root River. All 
hooks must be barbless. 

Z
ZUMBRO RIVER, NORTH FORK (Goodhue and Wabasha 
Counties) trout: Catch-and-release on an 11.9 mile posted section 
from the Zumbro River, Main Branch upstream to Hwy 10. ZUMBRO
RIVER (Wabasha County) smallmouth bass: Catch-and-release along 
a 12-mile posted section from Highway 63 at Zumbro Falls upstream 
to the Zumbro Lake Dam.

new
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BORDER WATERS
When Minnesota’s fishing regulations differ from a bordering state’s 

regulations, Minnesota residents and persons fishing under a Minnesota 
non-resident license must comply with the Minnesota regulations and 
may not exercise more liberal fishing privileges in the waters of the 
bordering state. Please check other state regulation booklets and the 
Experimental and Special Regulations section of this booklet (pages 24-
42) for different regulations that might apply.

Unless otherwise noted, all general regulations relating to angling 
methods, licensing, seasons, limits, possession and transportation of 
fish, apply to border waters (see pages 10-19). While on or fishing these 
waters, all fish must be within the specified length limits regardless of 
where caught.

Licensing
Canada-Minnesota Border Waters: Anglers who have a Minnesota 

resident or nonresident license may fish only the Minnesota portion of 
Canada’s border waters.

Other Borders: Minnesota has a reciprocal agreement with each of 
its bordering states: Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota, and North Dakota. 
Residents of Minnesota or a bordering state may fish throughout the 
waters bordering the two states only if they possess a valid resident 
license from their resident state. Lake Superior is not covered under 
this agreement (see page 22). Nonresident anglers who have a nonresi-
dent license from either Minnesota or the bordering state may also fish 
throughout the border waters between the two states. Anglers may launch 
and fish from either shore and may transport their catch by the most 
direct route to the state in which they are licensed. This includes children 
who are not required to have a license. 

Dates
All calendar dates refer to 2006 unless noted otherwise.

Canada–Minnesota
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the Minnesota 

portions of the following waters:
Cook County: Clove Lake, Devil’s Elbow Lake, North Fowl 

Lake, South Fowl Lake, Gneiss (Round) Lake, Granite Lake, Granite 
River, Gunflint Lake, Little Gunflint Lake, Lily Lake, Magnetic Lake, 
Maraboeuf Lake, Moose Lake, Mountain Lake, North Lake, Little 
North Lake, Pigeon River, Pine River, Rat Lake, Rose Lake, Rove Lake, 
Saganaga Lake, South Lake, and Watap Lake.
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Koochiching and Lake of the Woods Counties: Rainy River.
Koochiching and St. Louis Counties: Rainy Lake (including Black Bay). 
Lake County: Basswood Lake (except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist, and 

Back Bays, which are considered inland waters), Basswood River, Birch 
Lake, Carp Lake, Cypress Lake, Knife Lake (except South Arm), Little 
Knife Lake, Knife River, Melon Lake, Seed Lake, Sucker Lake, and 
Swamp Lake.

Lake and St. Louis Counties: Crooked Lake.
Lake of the Woods and Roseau Counties: Lake of the Woods.
St. Louis County: Bottle Lake, Iron Lake, Lac La Croix, Loon Lake, 

Loon River to Loon River Falls, Namakan Lake, Sand Point Lake, and 
Little Vermilion Lake.

Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. 

BORDER WATERS–CANADA–MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

WALLEYE May 14, 2005– 6 (No size restriction.)
and SAUGER April 14, 2006
(either or combined) May 13 2006–

April 15, 2007

Exceptions: May 13, 2006– 6 (Not more than 4 can be 
Lake of the Woods Nov. 30, 2006 walleye; only one walleye over 

28"; walleye 19.5" through 28.0
must be immediately released.)

Dec. 1, 2005– 8 (Not more than 4 can be
April 14, 2006 walleye; only one walleye over 
Dec. 1, 2006– 28" walleye 19.5" through 28.0
April 14, 2007 must be immediately released.)

Four Mile Bay May 13, 2006– 6 (Not more than 4 can be 
(SE bay of Lake of the Woods) Nov. 30, 2006 walleye; only one walleye over 

28"; walleye 19.5" through 28.0
must be immediately released.)

Dec. 1, 2005– 8 (Not more than 4 can be
Feb. 28, 2006 walleye; only one walleye over 
Dec. 1, 2006– 28" walleye 19.5" through 28.0
Feb. 28, 2007 must be immediately released.)

March 1, 2006– 2 (No walleye over 19.5".)
April 14, 2006
March 1, 2007–
April 14, 2007

Namakan, May 14, 2005– 6 (Walleye less than 13" or   
Sand Point, and April 14, 2006 larger than 17" must be
Little Vermilion May 13, 2006– immediately released; only one

April 15, 2007 walleye over 23".)
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Border Waters–Canada–Minnesota

BORDER WATERS–CANADA–MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

Exceptions cont.: May 14, 2005– 8 (Not more than 4 can be 
Rainy Lake April 14, 2006 walleye; walleye from 17" to 28" 

May 13, 2006– must be immediately released; 
April 15, 2007 only one walleye over 28".)

Rainy River March 1, 2006– 2 (No walleye over 19.5".)
April 14, 2006
March 1, 2007–
April 14, 2007

May 13, 2006– 6 (Only one walleye over 28".)
Feb. 28, 2007 Not more than four can be 

walleye; walleye 19.5"–28.0"
must be immediately released.

Saganaga Lake May 14, 2005– 6 (Only one walleye over 19.5".)
April 14, 2006  
May 13, 2006–
April 15, 2007

Note: For the Rat Root River, Rat Root Lake, Sea Gull River, and Gull Lake the walleye statewide 
inland season applies (page 15). Also see experimental regulations (pages28, 32, 40)

  
NORTHERN PIKE Continuous 6
Exceptions: 
Lake of the Woods, the Rainy River 3 (Only 1 over 40"; including   
to the dam at International Falls and all northern pike from 30"
the Warroad, Baudette, and Winter Road through 40" must be 
Rivers (tributaries to Lake of the Woods) immediately released.)

Basswood Lake Continuous 6 (Only 1 over 36".) All 
(Except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist, and northern pike from 24"   
Back Bays which are considered inland through 36" must be   
waters. See pages 15 and 25 for regulations,) immediately released, on all

Minnesota waters of Basswood
Lake.

Rainy Lake Continuous 3 (Only 1 over 28".) 

MUSKELLUNGE June 17–Nov. 30 1 (Minimum size 40".)

LARGEMOUTH and Continuous 6
SMALLMOUTH BASS
(either or combined)

LAKE STURGEON April 24–May 7 and 1 per license year (Fish must
July 1–Sept. 30 be 45-50 inches, inclusive, or 

over 75 inches.) Immediately
upon reducing a fish to 
possession, you must sign and
date your angling license.
Sturgeon tag needed.

May 8–May 15 and Catch-and-release only.
October 1, 2006–
April 23, 2007

new
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CANADA–MINNESOTA Regulations
• One line per angler is allowed, except two lines may be used when 

ice fishing.
• Saganaga Narrows, Seagull River, Gull Lake and Cross River from 

Cook County Road 12 to Gunflint Lake are closed to fishing April 
1—May 26, 2006.

• Saganaga Falls (Granite River mouth) and the channel between Little 
Gunflint and Little North lakes are closed to fishing April 1 through 
May 31, 2006. 

• Dressed (filleted) sauger are counted as walleye. See page 12 for 
packing regs.

• Dark houses, fish houses, and shelters see pages 58-59.
• While in Minnesota, anglers may not possess more than a Minnesota 

limit of fish from Canada-Minnesota border waters. Fish from Ca-
nadian inland waters may be possessed in Minnesota in excess of the 
Minnesota limit only if the angler has proof—such as lodging receipts 
or verification through U.S. Customs—that the fish were taken from 
inland Canadian waters.

• Fish with length limits may not be possessed as fillets on the water 
while angling.

• A person cannot possess or use a gaff while fishing on the Rainy 
River.

BORDER WATERS–CANADA–MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

CRAPPIE Continuous  10

LAKE TROUT May 13–Oct. 1 2

Winter, Lakes outside or Jan. 14, 2006– 2
partly outside the March 15, 2006 
BWCAW (including all and Jan. 13, 2007– 
MN waters of Saganaga March 15, 2007
and Magnetic lakes)

Winter, Lakes within Dec. 31, 2005 2
the BWCAW March 31, 2006

and Dec. 30, 2006–
April 1, 2007

STREAM TROUT April 29–Oct. 1 5 (Not more than 3 over 16".)

ALL OTHER SPECIES Continuous Inland limits apply
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IOWA–MINNESOTA 
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following waters: 
Jackson County: Little Spirit Lake. 
Jackson and Nobles Counties: Iowa Lake. 
Martin County: Okamanpeedan (Tuttle), Iowa, and Swag Lakes. 
Daily and possession limits are the same. 

BORDER WATERS–IOWA–MINNESOTA

Border Waters–Iowa–Minnesota

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

WALLEYE April 29, 2006– 6
Feb. 15, 2007 

NORTHERN PIKE April 29, 2006–  3
Feb. 15, 2007

LARGEMOUTH and April 29, 2006– 6
SMALLMOUTH BASS Feb. 15, 2007 
(either or combined)

CATFISH April 29, 2006– 8
Feb. 15, 2007

SUNFISH* Continuous  30
(either or combined)
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orange-spotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)

CRAPPIE Continuous  15

PERCH Continuous  30

WHITE BASS Continuous  30

BULLHEAD Continuous No Limit 

UNPROTECTED FISH Continuous No Limit 
(Carp, Sucker, Redhorse, Sheepshead, Buffalo, Burbot, Dogfish, Gar, and Quillback)

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state 
where taken.

IOWA–MINNESOTA Regulations
• Anglers may use up to two lines with two hooks per line. 
• Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful. 
• Spearing or archery may be used to take carp, buffalo, sheepshead, 

dogfish, gar, or quillback from sunrise to sunset May 1, 2006 through 
February 15, 2007.

• Spearing game fish is unlawful.
• Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 58-59. 
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NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA 
Seasons and regulations apply to the Bois de Sioux River and the 

Red River of the North. Daily and possession limits are the same. 

BORDER WATERS–NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA

NORTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA Regulations
• Two lines are permitted, and two hooks are permitted on each line.
• Spearing from a fish house or a dark house is unlawful. 
• It is unlawful to possess a spear or bow and arrow on or adjacent to 

any water body where the spearing and archery season is closed.
• Rough fish, except burbot (eelpout), may be taken between sunrise 

and sunset by spearing or archery May 1 through December 31.
• It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession.
• Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 58-59. 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

WALLEYE and Continuous  3
SAUGER (either or combined)

NORTHERN PIKE Continuous  3

SUNFISH Continuous  30

PERCH Continuous  50

CRAPPIE Continuous  30

LARGEMOUTH Continuous   3
and SMALLMOUTH BASS

MUSKELLUNGE Continuous  1 (Minimum size 40".)

Seasons and limits for Rockbass, Bullheads, Catfish, Sturgeon and unprotected fish 
are the same as South Dakota-Minnesota regulations on page 49. All species not 
listed are covered by the inland regulations of the state where taken. 
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SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following

waters:
Big Stone County: Big Stone Lake. 
Lincoln County: Hendricks Lake. 
Traverse County: Lake Traverse, Mud Lake, Bois de Sioux River 

to North Dakota border, and Mustinka River from the mouth to the 
Minnesota State Highway 117 bridge. 

Daily and possession limits are the same. 

Border Waters–South Dakota–Minnesota

SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA Regulations
• Anglers may use two lines with up to three hooks per line. 
• Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful. 

continued on page 50

BORDER WATERS–SOUTH DAKOTA–MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

WALLEYE and SAUGER April 29, 2006–  4 (only 1 walleye 20" or larger)
(either or combined) Feb. 28, 2007   

NORTHERN PIKE April 29, 2006– 6  
Feb. 28, 2007 

LARGEMOUTH and April 29, 2006– 6
SMALLMOUTH BASS Feb. 28, 2007
(either or combined)*

CRAPPIE Continuous  10

SUNFISH* Continuous  10
(either or combined)
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orange spotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)

ROCK BASS Continuous 20

BULLHEAD Continuous  100

PERCH Continuous 25

CATFISH Continuous 5 (Only 1 over 24")

STURGEON No Open Season

UNPROTECTED FISH Continuous No Limit
(Carp, Sucker, Redhorse, Sheepshead [Freshwater Drum], Buffalo, Burbot, 
Dogfish [Bowfin], Gar, White Bass)

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state 
where taken. 
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continued from page 49
• Unprotected fish, except white bass, may be taken by spearing or 

archery from sunrise to sunset from April 29 through November 30.
• It is unlawful to possess a spear, spring gaff, or bow and arrow on or 

adjacent to any body of water where the spearing and archery season 
is closed.

• Spearing from a fish house or dark house is unlawful. 
• Spearing game fish is unlawful.
• Mud Lake in Traverse County is open to liberalized fishing (use 

of snagging, spears, dip nets and legal minnow seines permitted; 
maximum of 6 lines; possession limit is three times the normal 
possession limit) December 1, 2006 through February 28, 2007.

• The following waters in Traverse County are closed to fishing from 
March 1 to April 28: Mud Lake within 500 feet downstream of 
Reservation Dam at State Highway 117; and Bois de Sioux River 
within 500 feet downstream of White Rock Dam at State 
Highway 236.

• It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession.
• Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 58-59. 

Tax time is your time to help wildlife
Look for the line with the loon on your Minnesota tax form and donate to the
Nongame Wildlife Checkoff. It’s fast, easy, and tax deductible. Be part of a wildlife 
success story.
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Border Waters–Wisconsin–Minnesota

BORDER WATERS–WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA

Wisconsin–Minnesota
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following 

waters:
Mississippi River (downstream of Prescott, Wisconsin and all waters 

between the Burlington Northern [Wisconsin] and Chicago Milwaukee 
[Minnesota] railroad tracks), Lake Pepin, St. Croix River, Lake St. Croix, 
St. Louis River, St. Louis Bay, and Superior Bay. 

Daily and possession limits are the same.

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

WALLEYE and SAUGER (either or combined)

St. Louis River May 13, 2006– 2 (15" minimum size for walleye) 
  March 1, 2007

St. Croix River April 29, 2006– 6 (15" minimum size for walleye) 
  March 1, 2007

Mississippi River Continuous 6 (15" minimum size for walleye)
and Lake Pepin  

LARGEMOUTH and SMALLMOUTH BASS (either or combined)

St. Louis River May 27, 2006– 5 (14" minimum size) 
March 1, 2007

St. Croix River May 27, 2006– 5 (14" minimum size)
Upstream of Taylors Sept. 10, 2006
Falls Dam Sept. 11, 2006– Catch and release only

March 1, 2007

Downstream of May 27, 2006– 5 (14" minimum size)
Taylors Falls Dam to March 1, 2007
U.S. Hwy. 10 Bridge

Mississippi River Continuous 5 (14" minimum size)
and Lake Pepin

   
NORTHERN PIKE  

St. Louis River May 13, 2006– 2
March 1, 2007

St. Croix River April 29, 2006– 5
March 1, 2007

Mississippi River Continuous 5  
and Lake Pepin
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BORDER WATERS–WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA

WISCONSIN–MINNESOTA Regulations
• Two lines with a single lure or bait on each are permitted. If fishing 

with one line you may use two baits.
• Fish hooked in any part of the body except the mouth must be 

returned to the water immediately.
• Tip-ups must be within 400 feet of the angler.
• Rough fish may be taken by spearing, archery, and dip-netting during 

daylight hours from April 29, 2006 through March 1, 2007. Dip net 
hoops cannot exceed 24 inches in diameter. 

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

MUSKELLUNGE May 27, 2006–  1 (40" minimum size)   
March 1, 2007    

PERCH Continuous 25

CHANNEL and 
FLATHEAD CATFISH
(either or combined) Continuous  10

BULLHEAD Continuous No Limit

ROUGH FISH Continuous No Limit

WHITE BASS Continuous 25
and YELLOW BASS
(either or combined)

CRAPPIE Continuous 25

ROCK BASS Continuous 25

SUNFISH* Continuous 25**
(either or combined)
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orange-spotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids) 
**Except for Mississippi River Pools 5, 5A and 8: possession limit 10. MN side only.

PADDLEFISH No Open Season

LAKE STURGEON Closed (except as noted below)
Lake sturgeon may be harvested September 2 through October 15 on the 
St. Croix River from Taylors Falls Dam downstream to the mouth at Prescott, Wisconsin. The 
possession limit is one per season and the minimum size limit is 50".  The season is closed 
on all other waters except those along the Ontario-Minnesota border. (see page 45.)
*Sturgeon tag needed.

SHOVELNOSE Continuous 10 (No minimum size.) 
STURGEON  
Downstream from Red Wing Dam only.

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state where taken. 

new
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Border Waters–Wisconsin–Minnesota

• Spearing game fish is prohibited. It is unlawful to have a spear on or 
adjacent to any body of water where the spearing season is closed. 

• It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession.
• No fishing allowed within 300 feet below Mississippi River Lock 

and Dam 3 (near Red Wing) and Lock and Dam 4 (Alma, WI) from 
March 1-April 30.

• Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 58-59. 

Aquatic Plant Permit Requirements
Water plants such as bulrushes are essential for lake ecosystems. 
They reduce wave erosion, provide fish and wildlife habitat, and 
purify water. Because lake plants can interfere with swimming and 
boating by lakeshore owners—but are also vital to lake health—the 
DNR allows removal under the following conditions.

For Your Information

DNR permit not required
For underwater plants only, you 
may cut or pull plants as long 
as: 
1. The area does not extend 

along more than 50 feet of 
your shoreline or one-half 
the length of your frontage, 
whichever is less; 

2. The total area is less than 
2,500 square feet (except for 
boat channels); and 

3. The plants are immediately 
and permanently disposed 
of on high ground where they 
can’t re-enter the water. 

DNR permit is required to:
1. Remove emergent plants 

(such as bulrushes, cattails, 
and wild rice).

2. Remove plants in an area 
larger than 2,500 square feet 
or wider than 50 feet.

3. Use herbicides or algicides in 
Minnesota lakes.

4. Remove water lilies (other 
than in a narrow channel 
extending to open water).

5. Install or use an automated 
device such as the Crary 
WeedRoller.

A person who illegally destroys plants can be cited and made to pay 
for the restoration of those plants. 
For more information, call your regional DNR office (pgs. 74-75)
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ROUGH FISH SPEARING, ARCHERY, 
AND DIP NETS

Rough fish are defined as carp, buffalo, sucker, redhorse, freshwater 
drum (sheepshead), bowfin (dogfish), burbot (eelpout), cisco (tullibee), 
gar, mooneye, and bullhead. The regulations below apply to spearing
rough fish in state waters unless noted otherwise in this booklet.

SPECIES SPEARING SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT 

BULLHEAD 100

SUCKER 50

REDHORSE 50

OTHER ROUGH No limit 
FISH SPECIES

• A bow may be transported uncased and discharged while taking 
rough fish in a boat powered by an electric motor. Crossbows may 
not be used to take rough fish, except by disabled persons who have 
a valid crossbow permit. Permit applications are available from any 
DNR regional office by calling the DNR Information Center number 
or through the DNR web site.

• Arrows must be attached to the bow with a tethered line.
• Licensed anglers and children under 16 may take rough fish by 

spearing, harpooning, archery, and hand-held dip nets in all inland 
waters, except where taking fish is prohibited. All rough fish, except 
cisco (tullibee), may be bought and sold. Note: whitefish are not 
considered a rough fish.

• Hand-held dip nets shall not have hoops exceeding 24 inches in 
diameter. (For more on smelt, see page 22.)

• Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in 
designated trout lakes or streams.

• Harpoons (spears) must have a tethered line not more than 20 feet 
long, may be discharged only when the equipment and the operator 
are entirely under the surface of the water, and may not be used 
within 1,000 feet of a swimming beach.

• It is unlawful to possess at or near waters a spear, net, or any device 
other than angling line that can take fish from February 20–April 30, 
2006 and Feb. 19–April 30, 2007. The exception is landing nets used 
for angling.

• Speared or dead rough fish may not be returned to the water or left on 
the ice or banks of any lake or stream.

From sunrise 
to sunset, 

May 1, 2006–
Feb. 18, 2007

(See pg. 58 for 
dark house 

spearing laws)
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ICE ANGLING
Shelters and Spearing

eneral Regulations
• Two lines may be used through the ice (other than on designated trout 

lakes and streams).
• Anglers must remain within 200 feet of their tip-up.
• Using an artificial light to lure or attract fish, or to see fish when 

spearing, is unlawful. Exception: While angling, a person may affix to 
the end of a fishing line a lighted artificial bait with hooks attached. 
Any battery that is used in lighted fishing lures cannot contain any 
intentionally introduced mercury.

• Nonresidents may fish from a licensed fish house.
• Nonresidents may obtain a license for a fish shelter. However, the 

shelter cannot remain on the ice when unattended.
• Northern pike, catfish, and whitefish may be taken by dark house 

spearing through the ice from December 1, 2006 through February 
18, 2007 except where prohibited.

• Residents age 16 through 64 must have a dark house spearing 
license and an angling license. Residents age 65 years old and older 
are exempt from the dark house spearing license, but must have an 
angling license to spear.

• Party fishing does not apply while spearing.
• A person may not have a spear in a dark house or fish house while 

taking fish by angling or with tip-ups.
• Nonresidents may not spear from a dark house.

Fish House or Dark House
The following regulations apply to fish houses, dark houses, and por-

table shelters used on all Minnesota waters, unless otherwise noted else-
where in this booklet.
• All shelters, which include dark houses, fish houses, and portable 

shelters, placed on the ice of Minnesota waters must have the 
complete name and address or driver’s license number or Minnesota 
DNR number of the owner plainly and legibly displayed on the 
outside in letters, and figures at least 2 inches in height. Dark houses, 
fish houses, and portable shelters placed on the ice for shelter while 
fishing must be licensed, except that a license is not required on 
border waters with Wisconsin, Iowa, North and South Dakota. 

• A tag, furnished with the license, must be attached to the exterior in a 
readily visible location.

• Dark houses, fish houses, and portable shelters must have a door that 
can be opened from the outside at any time when in use.

• Fish houses left on the ice overnight need to have at least 2 square 
inches of reflective material on each side of the house.
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• Fish houses must comply with the identification requirements of the 
state for which the angler is licensed.

• No person may erect a dark house, fish house, or shelter within 
10 feet of an existing dark house, fish house, or shelter.

• Portable dark houses, fish houses, and shelters may be used 
for fishing within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness 
(BWCAW), but must be removed from the ice each night. The 
structure must be removed from the BWCAW each time the occupant 
leaves the BWCAW.

Shelter Removal Dates
Dark houses, fish houses, and shelters must be off the ice no later than 

midnight for each of the dates given in the following categories below. 
Fish houses or shelters on waters north of the line* may remain on the 
ice between midnight and one hour before sunrise only when occupied 
or attended.

Border Waters
Minnesota–Iowa February 20
Minnesota–Wisconsin March 1
Minnesota–North and South Dakota 
March 5
Minnesota–Canada March 31
For inland waters south of the line*
February 28
For inland waters north of the line*
March 15 

*An east-west line formed 
by U.S. Highway 10, east along 
Highway 34 to Minnesota Highway 
200, east along Highway 200 to U.S. 
Highway 2, and east along Highway 2 
to the Minnesota-Wisconsin border. 

If houses or shelters are not removed, owners will be prosecuted, and 
the structure may be confiscated and removed, or destroyed by a conser-
vation officer. Contents of the structure may be seized and held for 60 
days; if not claimed by the owner within that time, they become property 
of the State of Minnesota.

Note: After the date when ice or fish houses or shelters must be 
removed, portable shelters may be placed on the ice and used from one 
hour before sunrise to midnight, but only if there is an open fishing sea-
son on the lake.
• Storing or leaving fish houses or dark houses on a public access is 

prohibited.

Duluth
Moorhead

Inland waters
March 15

Inland waters 
February 28 
or last day in 

February

Ice Angling
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Baby* (Cass County) 
Bald Eagle (Anoka, Ramsey and 

Washington Counties) 
Beers* (Otter Tail County) 
Big* (Beltrami County) 
Big Mantrap* (Hubbard County) 
Cass* (Beltrami and Cass 

Counties)
Cross and its Snake River 

Flowage* (Pine County) 
Deer* (Itasca County) 
Eagle (Hennepin County) 
Forest (Hennepin County) 
French* (Rice County) 
Libbs (Hennepin County) 
Lobster* (Douglas County)

Mille Lacs (Aitkin, Crow Wing 
and Mille Lacs Counties) 

Minnetonka (Hennepin and 
Carver Counties) 

Moose* (Itasca County) 
North Star * (Itasca County) 
Owasso (Ramsey County) 
Peavey (Hennepin County) 
Rebecca (Hennepin County) 
Rush * (Chisago County) 
Spider* (Itasca County) 
Stieger (Carver County)
Sugar* (Wright County) 
Tanager (Hennepin County) 
Wabedo* (Cass County) 
West Battle* (Otter Tail County)

*Denotes lakes where no spearing is allowed at any time.

Spearing Prohibited

Winter spearing for northern pike is prohibited on the following lakes:

Federal Aid In Sport Fish Restoration
More than a third of DNR fisheries management 
work in Minnesota comes from Federal Aid in 
Sport Fish Restoration funding. Also known as 
the Dingell-Johnson Act for its congressional 
sponsors, this legislation was established in 1950
to boost funding for state fisheries management 
programs. The act authorizes a 10 percent federal 
tax on rods, reels, tackle boxes, lures, and other fishing gear. The 
money goes to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and then is 
returned to states based on their size and number of anglers. 
 An amendment in 1984 increased the revenue by also taxing 
boat fuels.

Sport Fish Restoration funds are spent on hatcheries, habitat 
improvements, boat ramps, fishing piers, research, education, 
planning, and other important fisheries management work. 
Minnesota gets roughly $11 million per year from this program. 

For Your Information
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Walleye No spots on dorsal fin

White spot on
bottom of tail

dorsal fin

Spots on dorsal finSauger
No dark area at base of dorsal fin

No white spot on 
bottom of tail

beyond bbeyond b

of m
to m

Walleye and Sauger

Large and Smallmouth bass

L h

Smallmouth

ILLUSTRATED FISH OF MINNESOTA
Knowing what fish species you are catching is not only fun, but in 

many cases it’s required by law. It is particularly important to know how 
to distinguish walleye from sauger, to know the difference between north-
ern pike and muskellunge, and to be able to tell what species of trout or 
salmon you catch.

Walleye/sauger (saugeye) hybrid fillets are counted as part of a walleye possession limit during 
transportation.
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Muskellunge:

Northern Pike
(Esox lucius)

Tiger (hybrid) Muskellunge
(Esox masquinongy X Esox lucius)

Clear

Barred

Spotted

Paired fins having
more pointed tips

Coloration with vertical dark markings on a light background 
(Juvenile pattern similar to that of adults)

Caudal fin with
pointed tips

Coloration having irregular narrow vertical dark markings on a
light background with stripes merging onto the back in an interlocking pattern

Coloration with pattern of horizontal rows of 
light round to oval spots on a dark background

Paired fins having 
rounded tips

Paired fins having
more rounded tips(Juvenile pattern has white, 

oblique bars which extend from 
the white belly)

Caudal fin with
rounded tips

Caudal fin with
more rounded tips

In fishing for these species, please be prepared with the following tools (to insure 
proper release or landing): gloves, landing net, jaw spreaders, long-nosed pliers, 
long-nosed hook-outs, hook (bolt) cutters, tape measure and/or floating rule.

Color illustrations
©1986 by Virg Beck

Northern Pike and Muskellunge



Illustrated Fish of Minnesota

Trout and Salmon

Rainbow trout

Brown trout

Lake trout

Brook trout

Chinook salmon

Coho salmon

Steelhead 
(Rainbow Trout)

Pink salmon

To tell a brookie 
from a splake 
from a lake trout, 
look at the tail: 

Brook 
trout

Lake
trout

Splake

Small black dots throughout
the body that extend into tail

Square 
tail

Light, wormlike markings on 
dark upper body

Large dark spots 
and red dots on 
brown body

Pinkish stripe on 
silvery body
Pinkish stripe on 
silvery body

White spots on grayish body

White leading 
edge on lower fins

Spots in top half 
of tail only

13-15 rays in anal fin

Small scales

Green and white 
blotches on spawning fish 

Some eye-sized 
spots in tail and 
on back 

Some eye-sized 
spots in tail and 
on back 

Spawning male 
has hump on 
back. 

Spots throughout tail

15-17 rays in anal fin

Inside mouth 
is dark 

Inside mouth 
is gray 

Usually a pink stripe on 
silvery body 10 rays in anal fin

Inside mouth 
is white

Small spots 
throughout tail

White leading 
edge on lower fins

Forked
tail
Forked
tail
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Rainbow Trout-Salmon Identification Guide

RAINBOW TROUT
 = white mouth

COHO SALMON AND
CHINOOK SALMON
 = greyish to black mouth

The shape of the anal fin is another way to identify 
these species. This can easily be seen by depressing the 
front edge of the anal fin to its base as shown below.

anal fin front
edge

base

RAINBOW TROUT
Tail has many small 

spots in distinct rows.

COHO SALMON
Tail has some large 
spots mostly on the 

upper half.

CHINOOK SALMON
Tail has large spots 

throughout, especially 
in the silver area at the 

base of the tail.

Note: These figures are rough 
estimates only. Actual weights 
vary slightly by lake and stream.

CRAPPIE TROUT BASS WALLEYE NORTHERN
length  weight length  weight length  weight length  weight length  weight

(inches) (lbs.) (inches) (lbs.) (inches) (lbs.) (inches) (lbs.) (inches) (lbs.)
  8  0.3  8  0.2 12  1.0 14  1.0 24  3.2
  9  0.4  9  0.3 13  1.3 15  1.2 25  3.6
 10  0.6 10  0.4 14  1.7 16  1.5 26  4.0
 11  0.8 11  0.6 15  2.1 17  1.8 27  4.6
 12  1.1 12  0.8 16  2.5 18  2.2 28  5.2
 13  1.4 13  0.9 17  3.0 19  2.5 29  5.8
 14  1.8 14  1.1 18  3.6 20  3.0 30  6.4
 15  2.2 15  1.4 19  4.2 21  3.5 31  7.1
 16  2.7 16  1.6 20  5.0 22  4.1 32  7.8
 17  3.3 17  1.8 21  5.7 23  4.7 33  8.6
    18  2.3 22  6.6 24  5.4 34  9.4  
       23  7.6 25  6.1 35  10.3  
          26  6.9 36  11.2
          27  7.8 37  12.2
          28  8.8 38  13.3
          29  9.8 39  14.4
             40  15.6
             41  16.8
             42  18.1

SUNFISH
length weight

(inches) (lbs.)
  8 0.4
  9 0.6
 10 0.8
 11 1.1
 12 1.5
 13 1.9
 14 2.4
 15 3.0
 16 3.7

Weigh Your Fish With a Ruler
Fish are sometimes damaged when weighed. With this chart, you 

can quickly determine the approximate weight of your fish using a 
ruler or tape measure.

RAINBOW TROUT Tip falls to or beyond end of base

COHO SALMON Tip falls slightly past middle

CHINOOK SALMON Tip falls short of middle
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INVASIVE SPECIES
Nonnative invasive species pose a threat to Minnesota waters,

native plants and animals, and water-based recreation, including
fishing. Currently, these invasives and fish diseases mentioned below
have been found in Minnesota forests, lakes, and rivers. They could
easily spread—and new species could enter from other states—if 
citizens who use state waters don’t take the necessary steps to prevent 
the spread of invasive species.

Invasive Species Laws–Prohibitions and Restrictions
Transportation, Launching, and Bait Harvest

It is unlawful to:
• transport aquatic plants, ruffe, round goby, zebra mussels, or other 

prohibited invasive species (see list page 67) on public roads;d
• transport infested water (including in livewells and bait containers) 

from infested waters;

BIGHEAD CARP One
of these large Asian 
fish was caught in the 
Mississippi River south 
of Red Wing during 
2003. It eats plankton, 
thereby reducing food 
available for native fish 
and wildlife. Report and 
bring bighead carp to the 
DNR if caught or found. 

Identification: Eye
located at lower part of 
head below the mouth; 
adults weigh up to 60 
pounds.

EURASIAN
WATERMILFOIL
In shallow waters, 
this aquatic plant can 
interfere with water 
recreation, and its 
floating surface mats can 
crowd out important
native plants. Fragments
clinging to boats and 
trailers can spread the 
prolific plant from one 
water body to another. 

Identification: 12 to 21 
leaflet pairs per leaf

ROUND GOBY
This small bottom-dwell-
ing fish from Europe
can displace native 
bottom-dwelling fish
and is a nuisance for 
anglers. It poses a threat
to fisheries in the Great
Lakes, where it has
already entered, and in
inland fisheries.

Identification: Single
scallop-shaped pelvic fin, 
fish is usually 3"-6" long

FISH DISEASES Diseases, such as largemouth bass virus and heterosporis, can 
harm game fish populations. These diseases can be moved from one lake to 
another in the water. Help prevent the spread or introduction of these diseases 
by draining water from livewells, bilges, and bait containers before transporting 
boats and equipment.
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Invasive Species

Spots
No gap

• launch a watercraft with aquatic plants, zebra mussels, or prohibited
invasive species attached;

• harvest minnows, frogs, crayfish or any other 
wild animals from infested waters* for bait, 
except for personal use from waters that are 
designated as infested waters solely because 
they contain Eurasian watermilfoil. Bait may 
only be harvested from those infested waters for 
personal use with a cylindrical minnow trap not 
exceeding 16 inches in diameter and 32 inches 
in length and the bait may only be used in that 
waterbody.

*Infested waters are listed on pages 68-69.

Prohibited 
Invasive Animals
found in Minnesota 
waters: grass carp, 
round goby, ruffe, 
zebra mussels, sea 
lamprey, white perch, 
bighead carp. 
Prohibited 
Invasive Fish not 
known to be in 
Minnesota waters: 
black carp, rudd, 
silver carp, zander. 

SPINY WATER FLEA These tiny (less than 3/8") animals, 
abundant in Lake Superior, can be a nuisance to anglers. 
Identification: Forms gelatinous globs where lines and 
downrigger wires connect to swivels, lures, or downrigger weights)

RUFFE This small perch-
like fish, native to Europe, 
is very abundant in the 
Duluth harbor. It dis-
places some native fish 
species and is a nuisance 
for anglers. Ruffe can be 
accidentally transport-
ed in bait buckets and 
livewells. 

Identification: Spots
between rays of dorsal fin, 
no gap between fins

ZEBRA MUSSEL
This small (1⁄4" to 11⁄2")
mussel from Asia dis-
places native mussels, 
disrupts lake ecosystems, 
and clogs industrial equip-
ment. Zebra mussels 
attach to boats, aquatic
plants, and objects placed 
in the water. The tiny 
larvae can be accidentally 
transported in livewells 
and bait buckets. 

Identification: Only
freshwater mollusk 
that attaches 
to objects 
with
byssal 
threads

EARTHWORMS
Earthworms in 
Minnesota have been 
introduced from Europe. 
They are harmful to 
forests because they eat 
the leaf litter and change 
the soil, resulting in the 
elimination of seedlings, 
ferns, wildflowers, and 
ground-dwelling animals. 
Help save the forests by 
disposing of unwanted 
bait in the trash.
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MINNESOTA WATERS INFESTED with:
Eurasian Watermilfoil

County Water body
Aitkin Mille Lacs
Anoka  Cenaiko, Centerville, Coon, Crooked, George, Otter, 

Peltier, Unnamed (in Springbrook Nature Center)
Blue Earth Lura  

Carver  Ann, Auburn, Bavaria, Burandt, Eagle, Fireman’s Lotus, 
Minnewashta, Parley, Pierson, Riley, Schutz, Stieger, 
Stone, Susan, Virginia, Waconia, Wasserman, Zumbra

Cass Leech
Chisago Ellen, Green, North Lindstrom, Rush

Crow Wing Bay, Ossawinnamakee, Ruth, Ripple River, between Bay 
  Lake and Tame Fish Lake

Dakota Crystal, Earley, Keller, Lac Lavon, Marion, Schultz,   
  Sunset, Twin Lakes, Valley   

Douglas Oscar Lake
Hennepin  Arrowhead, Bass, Brownie, Bryant, Bush, Calhoun, 

Cedar, Christmas, Dutch, Eagle, Fish, Forest, Galpin, 
Gleason, Harriet, Hiawatha, Independence, Lake of the 
Isles, Libbs, Little Long, Long, Medicine, Minnehaha 
Cr., Minnetonka, Mitchell, Niccum’s Pond, Nokomis, 
Parker’s, Peavy, Rebecca, Rice, Riley, Round, Sarah, 
Schmidt, Snelling, Swan, Tanager, Whaletail, Wirth, Wolf

Isanti Green
Itasca Ice, McKinney, North Twin

Kanabec Knife
Kandiyohi Green, Norway

LeSueur East Jefferson, German
Meeker Manuella, Ripley, Stella, Washington, Wolf

Mille Lacs Mille Lacs from the mouths of the tributaries of Mille
  Lacs to the first public road

Morrison Alexander
Olmsted George

Pine Cross, unnamed gravel pit, Snake River between   
  Pokegama and Cross Lakes, Pokegama, Sand

Pope Gilchrist, Minnewaska
Ramsey  Bald Eagle, Beaver, Birch, Gervais, Island, Keller, 

Kohlmans, Loeb, McCarron, Owasso, Phalen, Round, 
Silver, Snail, Spoon Creek, Sucker, Turtle, Vadnais, 
Wabasso, White Bear, Unnamed

Rice Cedar
St. Louis Gilbert Pit, Horseshoe

Scott O’Dowd, Lower and Upper Prior, Thole
Sherburne Little Elk, Eagle

Stearns Sauk, wetland along Clearwater River
Todd Little Birch, Sauk

Waseca Clear
Washington Big Marine, Elmo, Long, Powers, White Bear,   
  St. Croix R., Sunset

new*

new*

new*

new*

new*

new*

new*

new*
new*
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Invasive Species

Wright  Augusta, Beebe, Buffalo, Clearwater, Clearwater River 
(downstream of Clearwater Lake), Deer, Fish, French, 
Goose, Howard, Indian, Little Waverly, Mary, Mink, 
Pulaski, Ramsey, Rock, Sugar, Waverly, Weigand

Multiple Mississippi River (downstream of St. Anthony Falls)
Round Goby, Ruffe, and White Perch

Multiple  Lake Superior, St. Louis River (downstream of the Fond 
du Lac dam)

Spiny Water Flea
Cook Saganaga, Flour, Greenwood, McFarland, Pine

St. Louis Fish Lake, Island Lake
Multiple  Lake Superior, Cloquet River (from Island Lake to the 

St. Louis River), and St. Louis River (downstream of the 
Cloquet River)

Zebra Mussels
Crow Wing Pelican Brook, Lake Ossawinnamakee

Olmsted Zumbro
Multiple Lake Superior

  Mississippi River (downstream of St. Anthony falls)   
  St. Croix River (downstream of the St. Croix Boomsite 
  Recreation Area – also river mile 25.4)
  St. Louis River (downstream of the Fond du Lac dam)
  Zumbro River (downstream of Lake Zumbro)

*Rice Lake in Brainerd, Mille Lacs

Remove visible plants and animals from your boat, 
trailer, and other boating equipment before leaving the 
water access (see diagram). 

Drain water from your boat, motor, livewell, and bait containers 
before leaving the water access.

Dispose of unwanted bait in the trash. Never release live bait into 
a water body, or release aquatic animals from one water body into 
another.

Spray, rinse, or dry boats and recreational equipment that 
normally gets wet. Before transporting to another water body, spray/
rinse with high pressure and/or hot tap water (above 104˚F) or dry at 
least five days.

MN  4316 AD

Live
Well

Transom 
WellAnchor

Rollers
Axle Lower Unit/

Propeller

STOP AQUATIC HITCHHIKERS!

* Rules under development
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* Permit applications are available from the DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155. 

OTHER AQUATIC SPECIES 
The following regulations apply to the taking and possession of 

mussels (clams), crayfish, frogs, minnows, leeches, and turtles for 
personal or commercial use. These animals may not be taken from 
infested waters (see Invasive Species section pages 66-67). 

Mussels (Clams):From May 16 to Feb. 28, licensed anglers and children 
under 16 may take by hand and possess up to 24 whole or 48 shell halves 
of dead mussels. Twenty-five of Minnesota's 48 species of mussels are 
protected. A DNR permit is requred to take or possess shells of these 
protected species. It is illegal to possess live mussels, take mussel shells 
from the St. Croix River or posses zebra mussels.

Crayfish: From April 1-Nov. 30 licensed anglers and children under 
16 may take and possess up to 25 pounds of crayfish longer than 1 inch 
for personal use. A DNR permit is required to import, transport or sell 
crayfish. Crayfish may be used as bait only in the body of water where 
they were captured. The use of live crayfish as bait on the      St. Croix 
National Scenic Riverway (north of the Boomsite Boat Launch) and 
within Voyagers National Park, units of the National Park System, 
is prohibited. 

Frogs: May 16 to March 31 licensed anglers and children under age 16 
may take, use, buy, and sell an unlimited number of frogs up to 6 inches 
long for bait. A DNR license is required to take frogs for purposes other 
than bait.

Minnows and Leeches: Licensed anglers may take minnows or leeches 
for their own use with dip nets, traps, or seines. However, seines may 
not be over 25 feet long or more than 148 meshes deep with 1⁄4-inch bar 
measure, or more than 197 meshes deep with 3⁄16-inch bar measure. For 
traps, width and length may not exceed 30 inches, height may not exceed 
15 inches, the diameter or width of the opening may not exceed 11⁄2 
inches, and mesh size may not exceed 1⁄2 inch bar measure. Traps must 
have a waterproof tag bearing the name and address of the owner. See 
page 67 for regulations on minnow traps used in infested waters. 
• A DNR permit is required to possess more than 24 dozen minnows or leeches 

to sell, export or import or to take minnows or leeches from designated trout 
waters. 

• Unwanted minnows and leeches cannot be dumped in the water.
• Minnows and leeches taken from infested waters (see pages 68-69) may only 

be used for fishing at the body of water where taken. 
• All streams and associated tributaries and connected waters of the Missouri 

River watershed in Lincoln, Pipestone, Murray, Rock, or Nobles counties that 
lie south of U.S. Highway 14 to the Iowa border and west of U.S. Highway 59 
to South Dakota are closed to minnow harvest.

new
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 Turtles: Resident licensed anglers and children under 16 may take, 
possess, and transport turtles for personal use. Western painted, 
snapping, and spiny softshell turtles are the only harvestable species 
and may be taken by angling, bow and arrow, spearing, turtle hooks 
or by hand. A DNR license is required to collect turtle eggs from 
natural nests or to purchase or sell turtles, except that retail customers 
do not need a license and residents under age 18 may take, possess, 
rent or sell up to 25 turtles for use in a non-profit turtle race.

• The snapping turtle possession limit is 3. Minimum size limit is 12" 
in shell length. Snapping turtles may not be taken during May and 
June.

• Spiny softshell minimum size limit is 12" in shell length. Spiny 
softshells may not be taken June 1-July 15.

• Western painted turtle maximum size limit is 5.5" in shell length, 
except that those used in turtle races may be of any length greater 
than 4".

INFORMATION ONLINE
    More information on the following subjects can be found online at the 
DNR website. Specific website addresses are listed.

Boat and Water Safety
For a complete summary of the boating regulations and safety 

information, contact the DNR Information Center for a copy of the 
Minnesota Boating Guide, or find it online at http://www.dnr.state.
mn.us/boating. For rules pertaining to the use of motorboats within Wild-
life Management Areas, refer to the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping
Regulations Handbook or call DNR Information Center.

Aquatic Management Areas
DNR Fish and Wildlife acquires land along lakes and streams to pro-

vide fishing opportunities and to protect critical fish habitat. These areas, 
known as Aquatic Management Areas (AMAs), are posted with signs to 
indicate allowable uses. Each sign is marked with a letter to easily iden-
tify permitted activities. 

Catch-and-Release
Improved fishing technology and increasing fishing pressure have 

caused fishing quality to decline in many waters. Catch-and-release 
fishing offers anglers a way to enjoy their sport with less harm to the 
resource. Find more information online at http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/
fishing/trout_streams/catch_release.html
• Don’t plan to release fish that have been on a stringer or in a livewell.
• Play and land the fish quickly.
• Don’t angle for fish in very deep water, unless you plan to keep what 

you catch.

Other Aquatic Species
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• Handle the fish gently and keep it in the water as much as possible.
• Do not hold the fish by the eye sockets or gills, but rather by the 

lower lip or under the gill plate and also support the belly of the fish.
• Wet your hands before touching a fish to help prevent removal of 

their protective slime coating. 
• If a hook is deeply imbedded, cut the line so that at least an inch 

hangs out of the mouth. This helps the hook to lay flush when the fish 
takes in food.

 • Circle hooks may help in eliminating deeply hooked fish. They are 
made to hook fish in the mouth.

 • A fish that can be legally kept should not be released if it is bleeding 
heavily, which indicates its chance of survival is poor.

• You cannot practice catch-and-release for a species during its closed 
season.

Managing Minnesota’s Fisheries
The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife is responsible for manag-

ing the state’s diverse fisheries resources. Each year, roughly 2 million 
people fish in Minnesota, and sport fishing generates approximately $1.9 
billion in direct expenditures, making angling one of the state’s largest 
industries. More information online at http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/fisher-
ies/management/index.htm. 
The Resource 
• Minnesota has 11,482 lakes 10 acres or larger, of which about 5,400 

are fishing lakes. Excluding Lake Superior, the state has 3.8 million 
acres of fishing water. Minnesota’s portion of Lake Superior is 
1.4 million acres.

• There are 15,000 miles of fishable streams in Minnesota, including 
2,600 miles of trout streams.

• Much of Minnesota’s fisheries program is reimbursed by the Federal 
Aid in Sport Fish Restoration Program (federal excise tax), adminis-
tered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. 

Master Angler Program
Anglers can qualify to become a Minnesota Master Angler. This pro-

gram, cosponsored by G. Loomis Rods, the Minnesota DNR, and the 
Minnesota Fishing Hall of Fame, recognizes anglers who catch large 
fish of various species. Categories include adult, youth, and catch-and-
release. Awards for more than 50 fish species include: a pin, a certificate, 
and a place on the state Master Angler honor role. 

For more information on becoming a Master Angler, visit the web site 
at: www.minnesotafishinghalloffame.com.
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The tackle industry, recognizing a growing awareness and concern 
about lead in the environment, has begun to create steel, tin, 
bismuth, or plastic sinkers. Consider using non-lead tackle when 
you go fishing.

Here's what you can do to help:
• Ask local sporting good stores to stock 
non-lead fishing tackle.
• Spread the word by telling other anglers 
about the problem.
• Dispose of old lead sinkers and jigs properly by 
locating a drop-off location.

For Your Information

Take A Mom Fishing Weekendkk —May 13-14
Minnesota resident moms fish free.

Take A Kid Fishing Weekendkk —June 9-11
Minnesota residents fish free with youngsters up to age 16.

Free Fishing Weekends
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NORTHWEST REGION
Bemidji Headquarters
(218) 755-3959

Baudette Area Office
(218) 634-2522

Bemidji Area Office
(218) 755-2974

Detroit Lakes Area Office
(218) 847-1579

Fergus Falls Area Office
(218) 739-7576

Glenwood Area Office
(320) 634-4573

Park Rapids Area Office
(218) 732-4153

Walker Area Office
(218) 547-1683

NORTHEAST REGION
Grand Rapids Headquarters
(218) 327-4414

Aitkin Area Office
(218) 927-3751

Brainerd Area Office
(218) 828-2550
(218) 828-2735

Licenses
DNR License Center 
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4026 
Watercraft Registration: 
(800) 285-2000
Phone License Sales: 
(888) 665-4236
Internet Sales: www.dnr.state.
mn.us

Lake Maps
Minnesota Bookstore 
660 Olive Street
St. Paul, MN 55155 
(651) 297-3000 or 
(800) 657-3757
www.minnesotasbookstore.com

Boundary Waters Canoe Area 
Wilderness
Note: Permits and reservations are 
not under DNR jurisdiction. This 
is a national forest wilderness 
area. For information, contact:
Superior National Forest 
8901 Grand Avenue Place 
Duluth, MN 55808 
Information (218) 626-4300
Reservations (877) 550-6777
www.bwcaw.org

Information on and Reporting 
Harmful Exotic Species
(651) 259-5131 or 
(888) 646-6367

Addresses and Telephone numbers

DNR FISHERIES OFFICES (651) 296-5484 or (800) 657-3929 TDD
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Other Information—DNR Fisheries Offices

Duluth and Lake 
Superior Area Office
(218) 525-0853

Finland Area Office
(218) 353-7591

Grand Marais Area Office
(218) 387-3056

Grand Rapids 
Area Office
(218) 327-4430

International Falls
Area Office
(218) 286-5220

Tower Area Office
(218) 753-2580 Ex. 221

CENTRAL REGION
Central Headquarters
(651) 772-7950

Hinckley Area Office
(320) 384-7721

Little Falls Area Office
(320) 616-2450

Metro East 
(651) 772-7950

Metro West
(952) 826-6771

Montrose Area Office
(763) 675-3301

SOUTH REGION
South Headquarters
(507) 359-6000

Hutchinson Area Office
(320) 234-2550

Lake City Area Office
1-(651) 345-3365

Lanesboro Area Office
(507) 467-2442

Ortonville Area Office
(320) 839-2656

Rochester Office
(507) 285-7427

Spicer Area Office
(320) 796-2161

Waterville Area Office
(507) 362-4223

Windom Area Office
(507) 831-2900

On Cover
Ryan Wreede’s painting also won the Cheap Joe’s Art Supplies People’s 
Choice Award at the 2005 State Fish Art Expo. This year’s expo will be 
held at the Mall of America July 29-30. More information on the Wildlife 
Forever State Fish Art Contest is available online at www.statefishart.com
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State Record Fish
To recognize the achievements of anglers who catch the biggest fish 

in each species, the DNR annually presents an award of recognition to 
any angler who breaks a state record.

 If you catch a fish that you think could be a record, follow these steps:
• Weigh the fish on a state-certified scale (found at most bait shops and 

butcher shops), witnessed by two observers.
• Take the fish to a DNR fisheries office for positive identification and 

a state record fish application.
• Complete the application and send it along with a clear, full-length 

photo of your fish to the address listed on the form.

The following is a complete list of Minnesota’s state record fish and where 
they were caught. Weights given are in pounds and ounces (example: 55–5 is 55 
pounds, 5 ounces). Counties are in parentheses.
Bass, Largemouth: 8–13, Tetonka Lake (LeSueur). Bass, Rock: 2–0, Osakis 
Lake (Todd); and 2–0, Lake Winnibigoshish (Cass). Bass, Smallmouth: 8–0, 
West Battle Lake (Otter Tail). Bass, White: 4-2.4, Mississippi River Pool 
5 (Wabasha). Bluegill: 2–13, Alice Lake (Hubbard). Bowfin: 10–15, Mary 
Lake (Douglas); and 10–15, French Lake (Rice). Buffalo, Bigmouth: 41–11, 
Mississippi River (Goodhue). Buffalo, Black: 20–0, Minnesota River (Nicollet). 
Buffalo, Smallmouth: 20-0, Big Sandy (Aitkin). Bullhead, Black: 3–13, 
Reno Lake (Pope). Bullhead, Brown: 7–1, Shallow Lake (Itasca). Bullhead,
Yellow: 3–10, Osakis Lake (Todd). Burbot: 19–3, Lake of the Woods (Lake 
of the Woods). Carp: 55–5, Clearwater Lake (Wright). Carpsucker, River:
3–15, Mississippi River (Ramsey). Catfish, Channel: 38–0, Mississippi 
River (Hennepin). Catfish, Flathead: 70–0, St. Croix River (Washington). 
Crappie, Black: 5–0, Vermillion River (Dakota). Crappie, White: 3–15, Lake 
Constance (Wright). Drum, Freshwater: 35–3, Mississippi River (Winona). 
Eel, American: 6–9, St. Croix River (Washington). Gar, Longnose: 16–12, St. 
Croix River (Washington). Gar, Shortnose: 4–10, Mississippi River (Hennepin). 
Goldeye: 2–13, Root River (Houston). Hogsucker, Northern: 1–15, Sunrise 
River (Chisago). Mooneye: 1–15, Minnesota River (Redwood). Muskellunge:
54–0, Lake Winnibigoshish (Itasca). Muskellunge, Tiger: 34–12, Lake Elmo 
(Washington). Perch, Yellow: 3–4, Lake Plantaganette (Hubbard). Pike, 
Northern: 45–12, Basswood Lake (Lake). Pumpkinseed: 1–6, Leech Lake 
(Cass). Quillback: 6–14, Mississippi River (Ramsey). Redhorse, Golden:
3-14, Bigfork River (Koochiching). Redhorse, Greater: 11–13, Upper South 
Long Lake (Crow Wing). Redhorse, River: 11-5, St. Croix River (Chisago). 
Redhorse, Shorthead: 7-15, Rum River (Anoka). Redhorse, Silver: 9-15, 
Bigfork River (Koochiching). Salmon, Atlantic: 12–13, Baptism River (Lake). 
Salmon, Chinook: 33–4, Poplar River (Cook); and 33–4, Lake Superior (St. 
Louis). Salmon, Coho: 10–7, Lake Superior (Lake). Salmon, Kokanee: 2–15, 
Caribou Lake (Itasca). Salmon, Pink: 4–8, Cascade River (Cook). Sauger: 6–3, 
Mississippi River (Goodhue). Splake: 13–6, Larson Lake (Itasca). Sturgeon, 
Lake: 94–4, Kettle River (Pine). Sturgeon, Shovelnose: 5–5, Mississippi 
River (Goodhue). Sucker, Blue: 14–3, Mississippi River (Wabasha). Sucker, 
Longnose: 3–2, Rainy River (Koochiching). Sucker, White: 9–1, Big Fish Lake 
(Stearns). Sunfish, Green: 1–3, Scheuble Lake (Carver). Sunfish, Hybrid:
1–12, Zumbro River (Olmsted). Trout, Brook: 6–5, Pigeon River (Cook). Trout, 
Brown: 16–12, Lake Superior (St. Louis). Trout, Lake: 43–8, Lake Superior 
(Cook). Trout, Rainbow (Steelhead): 16-6, Devil Track 
River (Cook). Trout, Tiger: 2–9, Mill Creek (Olmsted). Tullibee (Cisco): 5–12, 
Little Long (St. Louis). Walleye: 17–8, Seagull River (Cook). Walleye-Sauger 
Hybrid: 9–13, Mississippi River (Goodhue). Whitefish, Lake: 12–5, Leech 
Lake (Cass). Whitefish, Menominee: 2–8, Lake Superior (Cook).
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Sunrise/Sunset Tables

• This table is provided primarily for trout and salmon anglers who 
need to know the sunrise and sunset times on the waters they fish.

• Times shown are Central Daylight Saving Time beginning April 2, 
2006 through October 28, 2006. Central Standard Time for all other 
dates.

• The times in the table below are for the longitudinal line running 
north and south through Minneapolis/St. Paul. To use the table to find 
the sunrise or sunset hours on the water you fish, locate the water on 
the map at right and add or subtract the minutes shown above the map 
to the time in the table. 

DAY
1 7:52 4:42 7:33 5:21 6:52 6:00 5:55 6:41 6:03 8:18 5:30 8:52
2 7:52 4:43 7:32 5:22 6:50 6:02 6:53 7:42 6:02 8:20 5:29 8:53
3 7:52 4:44 7:31 5:24 6:48 6:03 6:51 7:43 6:00 8:21 5:29 8:54
4 7:52 4:45 7:30 5:25 6:46 6:04 6:49 7:44 5:59 8:22 5:28 8:55
5 7:51 4:46 7:29 5:27 6:45 6:06 6:47 7:46 5:57 8:23 5:28 8:56

6 7:51 4:47 7:27 5:28 6:43 6:07 6:45 7:47 5:56 8:24 5:28 8:56
7 7:51 4:48 7:26 5:29 6:41 6:08 6:43 7:48 5:55 8:26 5:27 8:57
8 7:51 4:49 7:25 5:31 6:39 6:10 6:42 7:49 5:53 8:27 5:27 8:58
9 7:51 4:50 7:23 5:32 6:37 6:11 6:40 7:51 5:52 8:28 5:27 8:58

10 7:50 4:52 7:22 5:34 6:36 6:12 6:38 7:52 5:51 8:29 5:26 8:59

11 7:50 4:53 7:20 5:35 6:34 6:14 6:36 7:53 5:49 8:30 5:26 8:59
12 7:50 4:54 7:19 5:37 6:32 6:15 6:34 7:54 5:48 8:32 5:26 9:00
13 7:49 4:55 7:18 5:38 6:30 6:16 6:33 7:56 5:47 8:33 5:26 9:01
14 7:49 4:56 7:16 5:39 6:28 6:18 6:31 7:57 5:46 8:34 5:26 9:01
15 7:48 4:58 7:15 5:41 6:26 6:19 6:29 7:58 5:45 8:35 5:26 9:01

16 7:48 4:59 7:13 5:42 6:25 6:20 6:27 7:59 5:43 8:36 5:26 9:02
17 7:47 5:00 7:12 5:44 6:23 6:21 6:26 8:01 5:42 8:37 5:26 9:02
18 7:46 5:01 7:10 5:45 6:21 6:23 6:24 8:02 5:41 8:38 5:26 9:03
19 7:46 5:03 7:08 5:46 6:19 6:24 6:22 8:03 5:40 8:40 5:26 9:03
20 7:45 5:04 7:07 5:48 6:17 6:25 6:21 8:05 5:39 8:41 5:26 9:03

21 7:44 5:05 7:05 5:49 6:15 6:27 6:19 8:06 5:38 8:42 5:26 9:03
22 7:43 5:07 7:04 5:51 6:13 6:28 6:17 8:07 5:37 8:43 5:27 9:04
23 7:42 5:08 7:02 5:52 6:11 6:29 6:16 8:08 5:36 8:44 5:27 9:04
24 7:42 5:10 7:00 5:53 6:10 6:30 6:14 8:10 5:36 8:45 5:27 9:04
25 7:41 5:11 6:59 5:55 6:08 6:32 6:12 8:11 5:35 8:46 5:27 9:04

26 7:40 5:12 6:57 5:56 6:06 6:33 6:11 8:12 5:34 8:47 5:28 9:04
27 7:39 5:14 6:55 5:58 6:04 6:34 6:09 8:13 5:33 8:48 5:28 9:04
28 7:38 5:15 6:53 5:59 6:02 6:35 6:08 8:15 5:32 8:49 5:29 9:04
29 7:37 5:17   6:00 6:37 6:06 8:16 5:32 8:50 5:29 9:04
30 7:36 5:18   5:58 6:38 6:05 8:17 5:31 8:51 5:30 9:04

31 7:35 5:19   5:56 6:39   5:30 8:52

JAN. FEB. MAR. APR. MAY JUNE
Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set
AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM
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*In tables below

Minutes to
add or subtract
from tables
below.

Add SubtractExample: Whitewater 
State Park is in the 
“Subtract 8 Minutes" 
time zone. Therefore, 
sunrise there on June 10 
will be 5:18 a.m. (5:26 
minus 8 minutes).

Other Information—Sunrise/Sunset Tables

DAY
5:30 9:04 5:58 8:40 6:35 7:51 7:11 6:54 6:51 5:02 7:31 4:33 1
5:31 9:03 5:59 8:39 6:36 7:49 7:12 6:52 6:53 5:00 7:32 4:33 2
5:31 9:03 6:00 8:38 6:37 7:47 7:13 6:51 6:54 4:59 7:33 4:33 3
5:32 9:03 6:01 8:36 6:38 7:45 7:14 6:49 6:55 4:58 7:34 4:32 4
5:32 9:02 6:03 8:35 6:39 7:44 7:16 6:47 6:57 4:56 7:35 4:32 5

5:33 9:02 6:04 8:34 6:41 7:42 7:17 6:45 6:58 4:55 7:36 4:32 6
5:34 9:02 6:05 8:32 6:42 7:40 7:18 6:43 6:59 4:54 7:37 4:32 7
5:35 9:01 6:06 8:31 6:43 7:38 7:19 6:41 7:01 4:53 7:38 4:32 8
5:35 9:01 6:07 8:29 6:44 7:36 7:21 6:40 7:02 4:51 7:39 4:32 9
5:36 9:00 6:08 8:28 6:45 7:34 7:22 6:38 7:04 4:50 7:40 4:32 10

5:37 9:00 6:10 8:26 6:47 7:32 7:23 6:36 7:05 4:49 7:41 4:32 11
5:38 8:59 6:11 8:25 6:48 7:30 7:25 6:34 7:06 4:48 7:42 4:32 12
5:39 8:59 6:12 8:23 6:49 7:28 7:26 6:32 7:08 4:47 7:43 4:32 13
5:39 8:58 6:13 8:22 6:50 7:27 7:27 6:31 7:09 4:46 7:44 4:32 14
5:40 8:57 6:14 8:20 6:51 7:25 7:28 6:29 7:10 4:45 7:44 4:32 15

5:41 8:56 6:16 8:18 6:53 7:23 7:30 6:27 7:12 4:44 7:45 4:32 16
5:42 8:56 6:17 8:17 6:54 7:21 7:31 6:25 7:13 4:43 7:46 4:33 17
5:43 8:55 6:18 8:15 6:55 7:19 7:32 6:24 7:14 4:42 7:46 4:33 18
5:44 8:54 6:19 8:14 6:56 7:17 7:34 6:22 7:16 4:41 7:47 4:33 19
5:45 8:53 6:20 8:12 6:57 7:15 7:35 6:20 7:17 4:40 7:48 4:34 20

5:46 8:52 6:22 8:10 6:59 7:13 7:36 6:19 7:18 4:39 7:48 4:34 21
5:47 8:51 6:23 8:09 7:00 7:11 7:38 6:17 7:20 4:39 7:49 4:35 22
5:48 8:50 6:24 8:07 7:01 7:09 7:39 6:16 7:21 4:38 7:49 4:35 23
5:49 8:49 6:25 8:05 7:02 7:08 7:40 6:14 7:22 4:37 7:50 4:36 24
5:50 8:48 6:26 8:03 7:03 7:06 7:42 6:12 7:24 4:36 7:50 4:37 25

5:51 8:47 6:28 8:02 7:05 7:04 7:43 6:11 7:25 4:36 7:50 4:37 26
5:52 8:46 6:29 8:00 7:06 7:02 7:44 6:09 7:26 4:35 7:51 4:38 27
5:54 8:45 6:30 7:58 7:07 7:00 7:46 6:08 7:27 4:35 7:51 4:39 28
5:55 8:44 6:31 7:56 7:08 6:58 6:47 5:06 7:28 4:34 7:51 4:39 29
5:56 8:43 6:32 7:55 7:09 6:56 6:48 5:05 7:30 4:34 7:51 4:40 30

5:57 8:41 6:33 7:53   6:50 5:03   7:51 4:41 31

JULY AUG. SEPT. OCT. NOV. DEC.
Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set Rise Set
AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM AM PM


