
New youth 
hunt section, 
page 39



(Intentionally left blank)



(Intentionally left blank)



(Intentionally left blank)



(Intentionally left blank)



�

2005 Minnesota Hunting Regulations

On the Cover: A young hunter learns the finer points of waterfowl iden-
tification by examining the wing of a drake wood duck. For more about 
youth hunting opportunities, see page 39. ©2005, Photo by Bill Marchel.

Welcome
Welcome to the 2005 Minnesota hunting seasons. New regulations for 

this year are listed below. Have a safe and enjoyable hunt.

   NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2005
• Clarify provisions for transporting undressed wild turkeys (see   

page 120).
• Allow wild turkey hunting by persons under the age of 12, if accom-

panied by a parent or guardian (see    page 117).
• Remove the requirement that a person drawn in the special landown-

er turkey drawing may hunt only on land the person owns or leases 
within the permit area (see    page 118).

• Set a minimum age of 5 years old for registering fisher, otter, bobcat 
and pine marten (see     page 51).

• Require trapper education certificates for persons born after 
December 31, 1989 who have not previously had a trapping license 
(will not take effect until March 1, 2007) (see page   51).

• Allow pursuing and treeing raccoons in the closed season, without a 
license or permit (see    page 48).

• Allow .30 caliber M-1 carbines for big game hunting (see   
page 60).

• Extend the pheasant, Hungarian partridge, spruce grouse, and ruffed 
grouse seasons through January 1, 2006  (see     page 46).

• Open the regular waterfowl season October 1, 2005.

©2005, State of Minnesota, Department of Natural Resources.
Antler illustrations (pages 62-63): Producing Quality Whitetails Al Brothers and, Murphy G. 
Ray, Jr. reprinted with permission.
Deer illustrations (pages 81-82): Conservation Commission of the State of Missouri. Used with 
permission.

The sale of advertising pays for a portion of this publication. The State of Minnesota and the 
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources neither endorse products or services listed nor accept 
any liability arising from the use of products or services listed.

Important! This is a summary of Minnesota’s hunting and trapping  
regulations. For complete regulations, consult the state statutes and rules. 
These regulations are valid from July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2006.

This information is available in an alternative format upon request.



5

NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2005 (cONTINUEd)
• Prohibit leaving waterfowl decoys unattended during the day (see    

page 107).
• Prohibit the use of motorized waterfowl decoys during the early duck 

season for ducks and geese, and prohibit their use on WMAs at any 
time during the duck season (see       page 102).

• Prohibit computer-assisted, remote operated guns for taking any wild 
animals. This law will prevent the introduction of Internet-based 
hunts to Minnesota.

• Hunters can now purchase both a quota and a no-quota BEAR 
LICENSE (see     page 97).

• The permit area boundaries around Duluth have been changed. Refer 
to map prior to purchasing a deer license.

• Hunters can now tag deer using both a firearms (including muzzle-
loader) and archery deer license. However, only one buck is allowed 
statewide, including the northwest five county area.

• There will be a 2-day antlerless only deer season on October 15-16, 
2005 in permit areas 209, 210, 225, 227, 236, 252, 256, and 257.  
Hunters must have a license valid for the appropriate zone and an 
early antlerless deer permit to participate. Early antlerless deer permits 
cost $14 each and are available at any ELS license agent. The bag 
limit is two deer (see     page 74).

• Permit areas 205, 211, 214, 283, and 284 have been moved to Zone 1 
and renumbered. Refer to the large map prior to purchasing a license.

• Permit areas 110 and 283 are combined into permit area 110.
• Permit areas 401 through 409 have been moved to Zone 2 and 

renumbered. Refer to the large map prior to purchasing a license.
• Permit areas 228 and 337 now comprise the metro deer management 

zone. Any current firearm license is valid and the season dates are 
Nov. 5–27, 2005 (see     page 75).

• There are new special regulations on some parks (see     page 81).
• Only bucks with at least one 3-point antler can legally be taken on 

Itasca State Park (see     page 87).

cHRONIc WASTING dISEASE (cWd) 
DNR finished statewide CWD testing of hunter-harvested deer last 

year, and will not be collecting samples from hunters this fall. However, 
the carcass import restrictions for hunters returning from other states 
with CWD remain in effect (see page 59).
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ansWers To frequenTly asked 
quesTions
Q.	 As	a	landowner,	what	protection	do	I	have	from	liability	if	I	let	someone	hunt	

on	my	property?
A. Minnesota law provides a number of protections to landowners who give 

permission to people to use their land for recreation purposes including hunt-
ing, fishing and trapping. However, the liability protections do not protect 
landowners who charge a fee for the access.

 In short, giving permission (written or oral) to someone to access your land 
for hunting, fishing and trapping does not give them the legal status where a 
duty of care is owed, nor does it mean that you are guaranteeing the land is 
safe, nor does it mean that you assume responsibility for injuries the person 
may sustain.

Q.			Why	do	I	have	to	indicate	the	deer	permit	area	that	I	hunt	most	often	when	I	
purchase	a	license	to	hunt	deer	by	firearms?

A.  The DNR uses this information to help assess hunting pressure and har-
vest success rates. This information is used in setting quotas for taking 
antlerless deer and in evaluating season and zone options. The permit area 
indicated does not restrict where antlerless deer may be taken for persons 
indicating Intensive or Managed Deer Permit areas. However, persons 
hunting in Lottery Deer Permit Areas who wish to take antlerless deer 
need to apply for the area and are restricted to taking an antlerless deer 
in the lottery area where their either-sex permit is valid. The application 
deadline is Sept. 8, 2005.

Q.	 If	I’m	big	game	hunting	outside	the	state,	are	there	any	restrictions	on	bringing	
back	carcasses?

A.  Yes, Minnesota has restrictions on bringing carcasses into the state (see box 
on page 59). Hunters taking deer, moose, elk or caribou from areas in other 
states and provinces where CWD has been found in wild deer or elk may 
only bring the following carcass parts back into Minnesota:
 1) Meat that is boned out or that is cut and wrapped (either commercially or 

privately);
 2) Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the spinal column or 

head attached;
 3) Hides and teeth;
 4) Antlers or clean (no brain tissue attached) skull plates with antlers 

attached; or finished taxidermy mounts.
See www.dnr.state.mn.us for a list of areas in other states that are 

endemic for CWD in wild deer or elk and where this restriction applies.
Answers to other frequently asked questions are available on the deer 

hunting page of the DNR Web site.
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FOR YOUR INFORmATION

Want better pheasant hunting?
Federal farm policy has the single greatest effect on pheas-

ant hunting in Minnesota. In 2007 the current Farm Bill will 
expire. Without reauthorization, Minnesota may lose more 
than 1 million acres of grasslands that produce pheasants. 

What do tens of 
thousands of 
Minnesota 
motorists 
have in common? 

They've already joined the effort to protect Minnesota's natural 
resources by purchasing a Critical Habitat License Plate for their 
vehicles. These special plates, also known as Conservation License 
Plates, have generated more than $10 million since they went on 
sale, enabling the Department of Natural Resources to purchase criti-
cal habitat lands for wildlife management, scientific research, and 
conservation. 

For just $30 your contribution is matched dollar-for-dollar with 
private donations to purchase critical resource lands and improve 
habitat for fish, wildlife and native plants. Show you care about 
Minnesota's natural resources today by purchasing a Critical Habitat 
License Plate.

Critical Habitat License Plates are available at deputy registrar 
locations statewide. To order plates online, go to mndriveinfo.org 
and click "Critical Habitat Plate" or call (651) 297-2304 to request 
an application.
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Trespass is the most frequent complaint landowners have against hunt-
ers. Trespassing is illegal and can ruin hunters’ and the DNR’s relations 
with private landowners. This could in turn hamper habitat programs, 
cut off land access, and possibly eliminate the future of hunting in many 
areas of Minnesota. 

Always ask permission before entering private land. Any entry 
onto the private property of another without permission is consid-
ered trespass. Landowners may be able to pursue court action against 
 trespassers whether the property is posted or not. If you are caught 
trespassing, you may be issued a citation and assessed a fine under civil 
penalties, and repeat violators can lose their license or registration. Or, if 
you are convicted of violating trespass laws under criminal procedures, 
you may lose your hunting privileges for up to two years, lose hunting 
equipment, and be subject to fines and possibly a jail sentence. All DNR 
conservation officers and all other licensed peace officers enforce trespass 
laws and may issue a citation to a person who trespasses in violation of 
the law or who removes a sign without authorization. A summary of the 
Minnesota Outdoor Recreation Trespass Law begins below.

RESTRIcTIONS (See below for exceptions, definitions, and 
posting requirements)
• A person may not enter legally posted land for outdoor recreation 

purposes without permission.
• A person may not enter agricultural land for outdoor recreation pur-

poses without permission. 
• A person may not remain on private land for outdoor recreation 

 purposes after being told to leave.
• On another person’s private land or a public right-of-way, a person 

may not take a wild animal with a firearm within 500 feet of a build-
ing occupied by humans or livestock without written permission.

• A person may not take a wild animal with a firearm within 500 feet 
of a corral containing livestock without permission.

• A person may not take a wild animal on any land where the person is 
prohibited from lawfully entering by this law.

• A person may not wound or kill another person’s domestic animal, 
destroy private property, or pass through a closed gate without return-
ing it to the original position.

TresPass laW
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Exceptions
• A person on foot may, without permission, enter land that is not 

posted to retrieve a wounded animal that was lawfully shot, but 
may not remain on the land after being told to leave.

• A person on foot may, without permission, enter private land 
without a firearm to retrieve a hunting dog. After retrieving the 
dog, the person must immediately leave the premises. This excep-
tion does not authorize the taking of the wild animal.

dEFINITIONS ANd POSTING REqUIREmENTS 
• “Outdoor Recreation” means any activity including hunting, fishing, 

trapping, boating, hiking, camping, and engaging in winter sports 
which is conducted primarily for the purposes of pleasure, rest or 
relaxation and is dependent on or derives its principal benefit from 
natural surroundings.

• “Agricultural land” is land that: 1) is plowed or tilled; 2) has standing 
crops or crop residues; 3) is within a maintained fence for enclosing 
domestic livestock; 4) is planted to native or introduced grassland or 
hay land; or 5) is planted to short-rotation woody crops (hybrid pop-
lar and other woody plants that are harvested for their fiber within 15 
years of planting).

	 IMPORTANT NOTE: All	planted	grassland	and	hayland	and	all	hybrid	
poplar	and	other	woody	plants	that	are	harvested	for	their	fiber	within	
15	years	of	planting	meet	this	definition,	including	grasslands	enrolled	in	
the	federal	Conservation	Reserve	Program	(CRP),	Conservation	Reserve	
Enhancement	Program	(CREP),	or	the	state	Reinvest	In	Minnesota	(RIM)	
Reserve	program.	These	lands	do	not	need	to	be	posted	to	prevent	unauthor-
ized	trespass.	However,	land	that	is	brush	or	trees,	including	CRP,	CREP,	
and	RIM	Reserve	that	is	brush	or	trees,	(except	short-rotation	woody	crops	
as	defined	above)	does	not	meet	this	definition	and	must	be	posted	or	verbal	
notice	given	to	trespassers	for	criminal	enforcement	to	occur.

 Hunters and trappers:	Always	respect	private	lands.	Ask	first	before	
entering	lands	not	posted	as	being	open	to	hunting	and	trapping.	You	will	
improve	relationships	between	landowners	and	recreationists,	and	you	will	
have	a	more	enjoyable	time	in	the	field.	

• To be legally posted, land must have signs: 
 —posted once each year that state “no trespassing” or similar terms 
either: 1) along the boundaries every 1,000 feet or less, or in wooded 
areas where boundaries are less clear, at intervals of 500 feet or less; or  
2) at the primary corners of each parcel of land and at access roads 
and trails at points of entrance to each parcel, except corners only 
accessible through agricultural land need not be posted.

 —with lettering at least 2 inches high and the signature or the legible 
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name and telephone number of the owner, occupant, lessee, or author-
ized manager. An unauthorized person may not post land with signs 
prohibiting outdoor recreation or trespass.

• Notification to stay off private land, authorization to remove a sign 
posted to prevent trespass, or legal permission to enter private land or 
to take wild animals near occupied buildings or corrals, may only be 
given by the owner, occupant, or lessee.

 Penalties
• Violating the Minnesota Trespass Law can make you subject to 

either civil or criminal penalties:
•  Civil penalties are: 1) $50 for the first violation; 2) $200 for the 

 second violation in a 3-year period; 3) $500 and loss of every 
license and registration being used for a third or subsequent 
 violation in a 3-year period; and 4) $50 for unauthorized removal 
of a sign posted under this law.

• Criminal penalties are at least a misdemeanor for violation of this 
law. In addition, it becomes a gross misdemeanor to: knowingly 
 disregard signs prohibiting trespass, trespass after being told not  
to do so, or to violate the trespass law twice within a three-year 
period. Anyone convicted of a gross misdemeanor violation of the 
trespass law while hunting, fishing, trapping, or snowmobiling will 
have the applicable license and registration for that activity revoked 
and will have all hunting privileges suspended for two years.

Rules of Thumb for Water Access and Recreational Use
These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all 

water access and recreational use situations. If you have doubts about 
whether you may be trespassing on private land, we recommend that 
you ask the landowner for permission.
1. What is lawful access?
  A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or 

if public land or a public road right-of-way abuts the surface of the 
water, or if you have permission to cross private land to reach the 
surface of the water.

2. What is recreational use?
 Recreational use includes boating, swimming, fishing, hunting, 

trapping, and similar activities. It includes walking in the water in 
connection with such activities regardless of who owns the land 
beneath the surface of the water.

3. What waters are open to recreational use?
 A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface  

if it is capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any 
water that will float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other 
waters may also qualify depending upon the circumstances.

Trespass Law
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Public Hunting Land Maps
Find the exact boundaries of WMAs, WPAs, state forests, national 

forests, and national wildlife refuges on DNR Public Recreation 
Information Maps (PRIM). The maps are available at major sports 
retailers and the DNR Gift Shop in St. Paul for $4.95.

FOR YOUR INFORmATION

OFF-HIGHWAY vEHIcLES (OHvS)
The summary below provides a guide to off-road vehicle rules and 

 regulations related to hunting and trapping found in this handbook:
•  General restrictions on ATVs and snowmobiles: page 30
•  Use of ATVs and snowmobiles during firearms deer season: page 71
•  Use of ATVs, snowmobiles, and other vehicles in Wildlife 

Management Areas: pages 127-129
•  Use of ATVs and motor vehicles on State Forests: pages 136-138
•  Use of motor vehicles on federal lands: pages 140
• Shooting at grouse near motor vehicles prohibited: page 44

Landowner Liability (minn. Stat. �0�A.20-�0�.27)
An owner who gives written or oral permission for the use of the land 

for recreational purposes without charge does not, by that action:
• extend any assurance that the land is safe for any purpose,
• confer upon the person the legal status of an invitee or licensee to 

whom a duty of care is owed, or
• assume responsibility for or incur liability for any injury to the 

person or property caused by an act or omission of the person.

license requiremenTs
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License Requirements

license requiremenTs

license requirem
enTs

 * Available through lottery drawings only, except the No-Quota Bear License (see page 97) .
  ** Includes a $6 .50 surcharge . This $6 .50 surcharge is being paid by hunters for the 

acquisition and development of wildlife lands .
 *** Nonresident fees from states that charge more than Minnesota for this license  

will be the same as a Minnesota resident would pay in that state .

2005 Hunting and Trapping License Fees
(Price does not include any additional fees charged for issuing licenses . 

RESIdENT LIcENSES    
 Deer – Firearms (age 18 or over) $26 .00
 Deer – Youth Firearms (ages 12-17) $13 .00
 Deer – Archery (age 18 or over) $26 .00
 Deer – Youth Archery (ages 12-17) $13 .00
  Deer – Multi-Zone Buck                                 52 .00
 Deer – All-Season 78 .00
 Deer – Bonus Permit 13 .00
   Deer – Early Season Antlerless Permit 13 .00
 Moose (per party of two, three, or four) 310 .00*
 Elk (per party of one or two) 250 .00*
 Bear  38 .00*
 Small Game (ages 18-64) 19 .00** 
   Youth Small Game (ages 16-17) 12 .50**
 Senior Citizen Small Game (age 65 or over) 12 .50**
   Wild Turkey  18 .00*
 Prairie Chicken 20 .00*
 State Wild Turkey Stamp 5 .00
 State Migratory Waterfowl Stamp 7 .50
 State Pheasant Stamp 7 .50
 Special Canada goose seasons permit 4 .00
 Trapping (age 18 and older) 20 .00
 Junior Trapping (age 13 to 18) 6 .00
 Individual Sports (small game hunting and individual angling) 29 .50**
  Combination Sports (small game hunting & husband–wife angling) 38 .50**
 Wild Rice Harvest (Season) 25 .00
 Wild Rice Harvest (One Day) 15 .00

NONRESIdENT LIcENSES 
 Deer – Firearms 135 .00
 Deer – Archery***  135 .00
 Deer – Multi-Zone Buck 270 .00
 Deer – Bonus Permit 67 .50
 Deer – Early Season Antlerless Permit 67 .50
 Bear     195 .00*
 Small Game 79 .50**
   Wild Turkey      73 .00*
 Furbearer Hunting     155 .00
 Trapping (landowner only) 73 .00 

  Wild Rice Harvest (One Day) 30 .00
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PURcHASE ANd POSSESSION 
o

Electronic Licensing
The Department’s Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues 

licenses through 1,800 license agent locations throughout Minnesota 
or via the DNR Web site at (www.dnr.state.mn.us) or via a toll free 
telephone number (1-888-665-4236). An additional $3.50 conve-
nience fee is added for sales via the internet or telephone.
• Residents must meet legal residency requirements and if 21 or 

over must provide their MN Driver’s License or MN Public Safety 
ID to obtain a license.

• Nonresidents must provide their nonresident driver’s license num-
ber, Minnesota DNR number from a prior ELS license, or social 
security number to obtain a license. 

• To obtain a resident license, residents 21 years of age or older 
may present evidence showing proof of residency in cases when 
the requirement to possess a driver’s license or identification card 

These are general license requirements. For license requirements to 
take specific species, refer to the other sections of this booklet.

Lifetime Licenses
 Minnesota residents (one-year residency required) may now purchase certain life-
time hunting and fishing licenses . Licenses may be purchased as a gift or for yourself . 
Information applications are available only by mail or telephone from the DNR License 
Center in St . Paul (see address and phone number on page 147) or by internet at the 
DNR Web site (www .dnr .state .mn .us) .
Available Lifetime Hunting License Types and Fees 

 Small Game deer (Firearms or Archery)
    Age 3 or under . . . . . . . . . . . .$217    Age 3 or under . . . . . . . . . . . .$337
    Age 4 to 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$290    Age 4 to 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$450 
    Age 16 to 50 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$363    Age 16 to 50 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$573 
    Age 51 and over . . . . . . . . . .$213    Age 51 and over . . . . . . . . . .$383 

 Individual Sports (Small Game Hunting and Fishing)
  Age 3 or under . . . . . . . . . . . .$357  
    Age 4 to 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$480   
    Age 16 to 50 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$613     
     Age 51 and over . . . . . . . . . .$413      
Holders of lifetime licenses must obtain an annual printed license (at no fee) at any 
ELS location each year the license is used . Licenses do not include any of the hunt-
ing stamps required by law or HIP certification for hunting migratory birds . Lifetime 
deer license holders must apply for either-sex or special area permits, if desired . Deer 
licenses can be upgraded by paying the difference between the 
regular license and the cost of the upgraded license .
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Social Security Number Required 
Legislation passed in 2003 requires the Minnesota Department of Natural 
Resources to collect a customer’s Social Security Number before issuing a non-
commercial game and fish license . This legislation was passed to meet fed-
eral requirements of the 1996 National Welfare Reform Act to assist states in 
enforcement of child support programs . 

To purchase a game and fish license, a customer, regardless of age, must 
either have their social security number on file with the DNR, or must provide 
it as part of the license application . This is a one-time requirement for each 
customer . About two-thirds of customers may already have their social security 
numbers assigned from driver’s license records . Once your social security num-
ber is in the customer records, the federal requirement has been met and you 
will not be asked again for your social security number . Customers who have a 
social security number, but refuse to provide it, will be denied a game and fish 
license . 

United States residents who do not have a social security number must com-
plete and sign a form stating that they have not been issued a social security 
number . These forms must be submitted to an ELS Agent (see page 16) or 
the DNR’s License Bureau in St . Paul to receive authorization to purchase the 
license . These forms are available from ELS Agents, the DNR Web site or the 
DNR Information Center . 

We appreciate the sensitivity of this issue to our customers and have taken 
steps to ensure the security of these records . The social security number will 
not be printed on any document and will be kept in a highly secure database .

would violate the Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993, 
Public Law 103-141.

• Stamp validations (waterfowl, pheasant) printed on the license are 
valid for hunting for 30 days after issuance. The DNR will mail 
the pictorial stamp to the customer. At that time, the customer 
must sign the face of the pictorial stamp and carry both the signed 
pictorial stamp and the stamp validation when engaged in that 
license activity as required by law. Stamp validations for wild tur-
key are valid for hunting without a pictorial stamp (purchasers can 
request the optional pictorial stamp for an additional $2, but it is 
not needed for hunting).

• HIP Certification for legally taking migratory game birds, includ-
ing mourning doves, must be printed on your license  
(see page 43). 

License Requirements
license requirem

enTs
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• Public Record Notice. Most of the data that you supply when 
buying a license becomes a public record. If you do not wish to 
have this data made available for bulk mailings, contact the DNR 
at (651) 296-6157 (Twin Cities Metro Area), 1-888-646-6367 
(toll free), or info@dnr.state.mn.us. 

• Buy early: Customers are advised to avoid delays by buying early 
and far ahead of license or application deadlines. 

License Possession
• All persons required to have a license (including stamps or stamp 

validations) must have it in	their	personal	possession while hunting 
or trapping and while traveling from an area where they hunted or 
trapped.

• A person may not take, buy, sell, transport, or possess protected 
wild animals without a license, except as provided in this booklet.

License Year
Licenses are valid during legal seasons between March 1 and the end 

of February. New licenses are required beginning March 1 each year. 
Purchase

Minnesota Small Game and Deer Hunting licenses, Special 
Canada goose permits, state Migratory Waterfowl Stamps, and 
Pheasant Stamps can be purchased from ELS license agents and the 
DNR License Center in St. Paul. Wild turkey, prairie chicken, moose, 
antlerless deer, and most bear licenses are awarded through a state-
wide lottery. Applications are made through ELS license agents or the 
DNR License Center in St. Paul.

Border Waters
On all border waters with adjacent states or provinces, persons  

acting under a Minnesota hunting or trapping license may only take 
wild animals on the Minnesota side of the border.

moved or driver’s License Number changed?
    If you have recently moved, please request the license agent to update 
your address when you purchase your license . If you have changed driver’s 
license numbers due to a name change, please contact the DNR Information 
Center (see page 147) .
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Instant Hunting Licenses
For a convenience fee of $3 .50 plus the regular license fee, you can imme-

diately purchase a hunting license . Call 1-888-MNLicense (1-888-665-4236) 
or check out internet licensing on the DNR Web site (www .dnr .state .mn .us) . 
For licenses without a tag, you will receive a Temporary Authorization Number 
(TAN) for instant use of the license . For licenses with a tag (such as deer or 
wild turkey), licenses will be mailed to the customer and are not valid until 
received and in possession . Telephone and internet license services are avail-
able 24 hours a day, 7 days a week .

Revocation of Hunting Privileges 
• Small game hunting privileges may be revoked for one year for 

two or more convictions for a violation under a license to take 
small game within a three-year period.

• Big game hunting privileges may be revoked for three years for any 
of the following violations:

 1.  Two or more convictions of any violation relating to big game 
animals within a three-year period.

 2.  One conviction of any of the following: shining while in possession 
of a firearm or bow; knowingly transporting an illegally taken big 
game animal; hunting, taking, transporting or possessing big game 
without the required license; over limit of big game; hunting, taking 
or possessing big game in closed season; buying or selling big game 
animals (revocation of all privileges if sale is over $300).

• Under new gross overlimits penalty provisions, your license privi-
leges can be revoked for three or five years, depending on the 
severity of the violation.

• Big game and small game hunting privileges may be revoked for 
five years for hunting while under the influence of alcohol or  
a controlled substance.

• Violations of hunting laws in other states may affect your hunting 
privileges in Minnesota.

Lost License 
You may obtain a duplicate license at any ELS license agent or 

from the DNR License Center in St. Paul. The fee is $5.75 for a 
duplicate Big Game License and $2.50 for all others.

License Requirements
license requirem

enTs
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FIREARmS SAFETY cERTIFIcATES

•  A Firearms Safety Certificate is not valid before age 12. A certificate may 
be issued at age 11, but is not valid until the person reaches age 12.

• Anyone under age 14 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian to 
possess a firearm. “Guardian” means a legal guardian or someone age 18 
or older selected by the parent or legal guardian to supervise the youth.

• Youth age 12 and under may hunt small game without a firearms 
safety certificate, if accompanied by a parent or guardian.

• Youth age 11 and under may hunt wild turkeys without a firearms safety 
certificate if accompanied by a parent or guardian who has a certificate.

•  A person on active duty who has successfully completed basic training 
in the U.S. Armed Forces, Reserves, or National Guard may purchase 
a license or obtain approval that authorizes hunting without possess-
ing a Firearms Safety Certificate. 

• A duplicate of a lost or destroyed Minnesota Firearms Safety, 
Snowmobile, or ATV Safety Certificate can be obtained at any ELS 
license agent. A duplicate certificate is $3.50.

Replacement Firearms deer Licenses
A person who has purchased a deer license and wishes to change 

a zone, license type, or season options may submit their original 
license and obtain a replacement license. There is a fee of $5 (plus a 
$1 issuing fee) for the replacement license, plus any increase in cost 
for the new license. Replacement licenses are available from any ELS 
license agent. If a person submits both an archery and firearms license 
for replacement with an all season license, the value of both original 
licenses may be applied. Any replacement license may be issued before 
the season for the original license opens. A person may upgrade an 
archery or regular firearms license (or both) to a multi-zone buck 
license or all season license after the original season has opened, if 
none of the original tags have been used. The upgraded license is valid 
immediately upon issue.

Important! Youth must meet all license and certificate require-
ments. See the chart on page 25. In addition, anyone born on or 
after January 1, 1980 must have a Firearms Safety Certificate (or 
equivalent), a previous hunting license, or other evidence of success-
fully completing a hunter safety course to obtain a license to take 
wild animals with firearms in Minnesota.
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RESIdENTS
A Minnesota resident is defined as follows:
•  A United States citizen or resident alien who has maintained a 
 legal residence in the state for at least 60 consecutive days before 

purchasing a license, or
•  A person in the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed in the state, 

or
•  A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident.

military Personnel
•  Residents who have maintained legal residency in Minnesota and 

who are serving in the U.S. Military and stationed outside the 
state may hunt small game without a license while on leave. They 
do not need a Minnesota Waterfowl Stamp or Pheasant Stamp but 
must have a Federal Duck Stamp to hunt waterfowl. They may 
hunt deer, bear, and wild turkeys without charge after obtaining 
the appropriate licenses and tags from an ELS license agent by 
presenting official leave papers, except they may not obtain moose, 
all-season deer, or multi-zone buck licenses or deer management 
permits. Such service personnel must carry proof of residency and 
official leave papers on their person while hunting.

•  Residents discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces during or 
 within 10 days before the Firearms Deer Season may purchase a 
Firearms Deer License during the season upon showing official 
discharge papers. The license is valid immediately after purchase.

•  Resident veterans with proof of a 100 percent service-related dis-
ability may obtain a free Small Game License and a free Firearms 
or Archery Deer License from an ELS license agent (state stamps 
not required).

• Residents who are currently serving, or have served at any time 
during the past 24 months, in active service as a member of the 
United States armed forces, including the National Guard or 
other military reserves, will receive first preference in drawings for 
antlerless deer permits and turkey permits.

 Note: Military personnel and veterans who are issued firearms deer 
licenses under these provisions may take antlerless deer, but are 
restricted to bucks-only hunting in those lottery deer permit areas 
that have an either-sex permit quota of zero. To participate in special 
deer hunts, they must apply and be drawn (see page 83). They may 
also purchase bonus permits.

License Requirements
license requirem

enTs
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Hunting on the Web
GET THE LATEST HUNTING 
reports, waterfowl migration 
updates, public hunting area maps, 
hunting-related news releases, and 
more off the DNR’s Web site. 

The site also contains regulations, 
harvest statistics from each permit 
area, a hunters’ forum discussion site, 
and hunting tips. 

Also on the DNR Web site  
you can purchase hunting and 
trapping licenses for an additional 
$3.50 convenience fee.

NONRESIdENTS
General
•  All nonresidents, regardless of age, must have an appropriate hunt-

ing license to hunt in Minnesota. A nonresident under age 16 may 
obtain a small game license at the resident fee if the nonresident 
 possesses a firearms safety certificate or, if age 13 or under, is 
accompanied by a parent or guardian when purchasing the license. 
A nonresident age 13 or under must be accompanied by a parent 
or guardian to take small game.

•  Applications allowing nonresidents to purchase licenses by mail are 
available from the DNR License Center or on the DNR Web site 
(addresses on page 147).

•  Purchase hunting licenses by telephone or internet: Call 1-888-
MNLicense (1-888-665-4236) or go to www.dnr.state.mn.us.  
See box on page 21 for additional information. 

•  Nonresidents may trap in Minnesota only on their own land and 
with a nonresident trapping license.

•  Nonresidents may not take raccoon, bobcat, gray fox, red fox, or 
 coyote without first buying a nonresident Furbearer Hunting License 
and a nonresident Small Game License. 

• Note	to	deer	hunters: A Deer License issued after the opening day  
of the respective season (archery, regular firearms, or muzzleloader) 
is not valid until the second day after it is issued.

Students
•  Nonresident, full-time students at a Minnesota educational 

 institution who live in the state during the school year may pur-
chase a resident Small Game, Deer, or Bear License with proof of 
 student status. 

•  A full-time high school foreign exchange student who resides with 
Minnesota residents may buy a resident license to take deer or bear.

  From the Minnesota DNRNews you can use

www.dnr.state.mn.us 
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FOR YOUR INFORmATION

STAmPS
Most hunters must possess the appropriate stamps to hunt pheasants 

and waterfowl in Minnesota (see below). Stamp validations printed on 
electronically issued licenses are valid for 30 days. The actual stamp 
will be mailed to the hunter. For a stamp to be valid, hunters must 
sign their name across its face. Federal stamps must be signed in ink.

o

Wild Turkey Stamp
See page 117.

State Pheasant and migratory Waterfowl Stamps
Resident hunters age 18 through 64, and all non-resident hunt-

ers, must have a valid Minnesota Pheasant Stamp or Minnesota 
Migratory Waterfowl Stamp (State Duck Stamp) or valid stamp vali-
dation (valid for 30 days after purchase only) in their possession while 
hunting or taking pheasants or migratory waterfowl (see definition 
page 101) respectively, except: a) residents who are hunting on their 
own land, b) persons hunting on a licensed commercial shooting 
preserve, c) persons taking only marked waterfowl released on a com-
mercial shooting preserve, or d) residents on military leave.

Federal migratory Waterfowl Stamp
 Waterfowl hunters age 16 and over must have a valid Federal 

Duck Stamp in their possession while hunting or taking migratory 
waterfowl. Federal Duck Stamps can be purchased at post offices or 
from many license agents.

What are stamp dollars used for?
Funds generated by Duck, Pheasant, and Turkey Stamps are used 

for a variety of wildlife related projects such as Wildlife Management 
Area acquisitions; forest, grassland and wetland improvement 
projects; and research designed to improve our ability to manage 
wildlife populations. In 2004 $1,739,010 were generated to support 
these important activities. 
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 *  An “unloaded” firearm is defined as a firearm without ammunition in the barrels 
and magazine, if the magazine is in the firearm. A muzzle-loading firearm with 
a flintlock ignition is unloaded if it does not have priming powder in a pan. A 
muzzle-loading firearm with percussion ignition is unloaded if it does not have a 
percussion cap on a nipple.

 **  A “cased” firearm is defined as a firearm in a gun case expressly made to contain a 
firearm, when the case fully encloses the firearm by being zipped, snapped, buck-
led, tied, or otherwise fastened, with no portion of the firearm exposed. A holster 
is not a legal case.

General Hunting Information 

The following are general hunting regulations. Specific regulations for 
various game species are in the Big Game, Small Game, Trapping, Water-
fowl, and Wild Turkey sections of this booklet.

BLAzE ORANGE REqUIREmENTS
A visible portion of at least one article of clothing above the waist 

must be blaze orange for anyone taking small game, except for those 
hunting wild turkeys, migratory birds, raccoons or predators, or when 
hunting with nontoxic shot or while trapping. This restriction does  
not apply to persons hunting by falconry. In addition, all hunters and  
trappers must wear blaze orange clothing in areas open under applicable 
laws and ordinances to firearms deer hunting, (including special hunts, 
youth seasons, and the Muzzleloader Season), except for migratory water-
fowl hunters on waters or in a stationary shooting location, or trappers 
on waters. See page 34 for additional details.

ARmS RESTRIcTIONS
Firearms Transportation

A person may not transport a firearm, including a handgun, in or 
on a motor vehicle unless the firearm is:
•  unloaded* and cased;** 
• unloaded* and in the closed trunk of a motor vehicle; or
• carried under a valid permit to carry a pistol or handgun

Transportation of Bows
No person may transport an archery bow in a motor vehicle unless 

the bow is:
•  unstrung, or
•  completely contained in a case, or 
• in the closed trunk or rear-most enclosed portion of a motor vehicle 

that is not accessible from the passenger compartment. 

General HunTinG inform
aTion
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Handguns
Persons age 18 or older may carry a handgun in the woods and 

fields or upon waters to hunt or target shoot. Persons under age 18 
may carry handguns for hunting if in the actual presence or under the 
direct supervision of the person’s parent or guardian, and if they meet 
firearms safety requirements (see page 22). A person may not carry a 
handgun while bowhunting except a person may take bear by archery 
while in possession of a firearm. Questions regarding handguns should 
be directed to local law enforcement authorities.

The “Concealed carry” provisions apply to certain hunting activi-
ties. Persons with a permit under this law generally may carry their 
handguns uncased and loaded while hunting, and while traveling to 
or from hunting locations by motor vehicle under the hunting fire-
arms transportation laws. However, possession of the handgun while 
'shining' or while hunting deer by archery would still subject the pos-
sessor to the provisions of these laws (see page 36, artificial lights, for 
more info).

crossbows
A person may not hunt with a crossbow or possess a crossbow  

outdoors or in a motor vehicle during the open season for any game 
unless the crossbow is unstrung and in a case, or in the closed trunk 
of a motor vehicle, except for disabled persons with a valid crossbow 
permit (see page 61).

Explosive and Poisoned Arrows
A person may not hunt with poisoned (drugged) or explosive-

tipped arrows.

Silencers
A person may not own or possess a silencer for a firearm or a fire-

arm equipped to have a silencer attached.

Possession of Firearms Before, during, and 
After the Firearms deer Season

(Note: This section does not apply to the Muzzleloader Season, 
see page 89, except that muzzleloaders legal for deer may be possessed 
only by persons with a muzzleloader or all-season deer license during 
that season.)

No person may possess a firearm or ammunition outdoors during 
the period beginning the fifth day before the open firearms season 
and ending the second day after the close of the season within an area 
where deer may be legally taken by firearms (see page 35), except:
• A person who has a valid firearms big game license in possession 

may hunt big game during the open season with a firearm and 
ammunition authorized for big game.
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General HunTinG inform
aTion

•  Possession is also legal under these conditions:
a) An unloaded firearm that is in a case or in a closed trunk of a 

motor vehicle.
b) A shotgun and shells containing No. 4 buckshot or smaller 

diameter lead shot or nontoxic shot.
c) A .22 caliber rimfire handgun or rifle with .22 caliber short, 

long, or long rifle cartridges.
d) Handguns possessed by a person with a carry permit.
e) On an authorized target range.

“TAkING” dEFINEd
“Taking” means pursuing, shooting, killing, capturing, trapping, snar-

ing, angling, spearing, or netting wild animals; or placing, setting, 
drawing, or using a net, trap, or other device to take wild animals. Tak-
ing also includes attempting to take wild animals or assisting another 
person in taking wild animals.

“POSSESSION” dEFINEd
Game animals are in a person’s possession whether on hand, in cold 

storage, in transport, or elsewhere.

PROTEcTEd ANImALS
The following birds and mammals are protected in Minnesota by 

state or federal laws:
o

Protected Birds
• All birds for which seasons are established in these regulations are 

protected birds but may be taken as authorized.
•  There is no open season on bobwhite quail, cranes, swans, hawks, 

owls, eagles, herons, bitterns, cormorants, loons, grebes, or any 
other species of birds except unprotected birds.

crows
•  Crows may be taken without a license in season or at any time 

when they are doing or are about to do damage. 
• Electronic calls or sounds may be used for crow hunting. 
• Crows may be taken with a legal firearm (shotgun not larger than 

10 gauge, rifle, or handgun), bow and arrow, or by falconry.

mammals
•  All mammals for which seasons are established in these regulations 

are protected mammals, but may be taken as authorized.
•  There is no open season on caribou, antelope, lynx, gray wolf, 

wolverine, cougar, or spotted skunk (“civet cat”).
o

General Hunting Information 
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Taking Protected Species
•  No protected species may be taken in any manner in any area of 

the state except in accordance with these regulations.
•  All protected species must be killed before being removed from 

the site where taken.

UNPROTEcTEd ANImALS
Residents are not required to have a license to take unprotected species.
o

Unprotected mammals
Weasels, coyotes, gophers, porcupines, striped skunks, and all 

other mammals for which there are no closed seasons or other pro-
tection are unprotected animals. They may be taken in any manner, 
except with the aid of artificial lights or by using a motor vehicle to 
drive, chase, run over, or kill the animal. Poisons may not be used 
except in accordance with all label regulations of the state Dept. of 
Agriculture and federal Environmental Protection Agency.

Unprotected Birds
House sparrows, starlings, common pigeons, chukar partridge, 

quail other than northern bobwhite, and monk parakeets are unpro-
tected and may be taken at any time.

GENERAL RESTRIcTIONS
o

motor vehicles
•  No person may take a wild animal with a firearm or by archery 

from a motor vehicle except a disabled person with an appropriate 
permit. A disabled person with a permit to shoot from a stationary 
motor vehicle may take a deer of either sex without an antlerless 
permit except in those Lottery Deer Permit Areas that have an 
either-sex permit quota of zero. Other members of the hunting 
party may not shoot antlerless deer for the disabled person. 

• Permits to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle may be issued to 
a person who obtains the required licenses and who has a perma-
nent physical disability that is more substantial than discomfort 
from walking. The permit recipient must: be unable to step from 
a vehicle without aid of a wheelchair, crutches, braces, or other 
mechanical support or prosthetic device; or be unable to walk any 
distance because of a permanent lung, heart, or other internal dis-
ease that requires the person to use supplemental oxygen to assist 
breathing. The permanent disability must be verified in writing 
by a licensed physician or chiropractor. In addition to providing 
the medical evidence of permanent disability, the applicant must 
 possess a valid disability parking certificate or license plates issued 
by the Department of Public Safety. Permit applications are avail-
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able from any DNR regional office or by calling the information 
numbers on page 147. 

•  No person may use a motor vehicle to intentionally drive, chase, 
run over, or kill any wild animal. Road-killed animals may not be 
legally possessed, except by special permit from a DNR conserva-
tion officer.

•  Shooting from a motorized vehicle is unlawful.
o

Off-Highway vehicles (OHvs), including All-Terrain vehicles 
(ATvs)

A person may not intentionally operate an off-highway vehicle:
•  in a wildlife management area, a state park, or a scientific and 

 natural area, except as specifically authorized by law or rule;
•  in unfrozen public waters (lakes, rivers, streams and certain wet-

lands), or in calcareous fens as identified by the commissioner;
•  on a trail on public land that is designated or signed for non-

motorized use only; 
•  on restricted areas within public lands that are posted or where 

gates or other clearly visible structures are placed to prevent 
unauthorized motorized vehicle access; or

•  transport an uncased firearm on or shoot at a wild animal from an 
OHV.
Additional restrictions apply during the grouse and deer seasons 

(see pages 44 and 71).
o

OHvs and Wetland disturbance
A person may not operate an OHV in a manner to:

•  indicate a willful, wanton, or reckless disregard for the safety of 
persons or property;

•  carelessly upset the natural and ecological balance of a wetland or 
public waters wetland; or

•  impact a wetland or public waters wetland in excess of minimum 
amounts established under law (these vary by area of the state and 
other criteria check the DNR Web site for more information 

 www.dnr.state.mn.us).
o

dog Training
A person may not train hunting dogs afield on DNR administered 

lands from April 16 to July 14. A person may train hunting dogs 
afield on other lands.

A person training a dog afield and carrying a firearm may only 
have blank cartridges and shells in possession when the season is not 
open for any game bird, except by permit. An organization or indi-
vidual may obtain a free permit to use firearms and live ammunition 
on domesticated birds or banded game birds from game farms for 
holding field trials and training hunting dogs.

General Hunting Information 
General HunTinG inform

aTion
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dogs Pursuing Big Game
No persons may allow their dog to chase or kill big game. 
Between January 1 and July 14 a dog that is observed wounding, 

killing, or pursuing in a way that endangers big game may be killed by 
any person. A peace officer or conservation officer may kill a dog that 
endangers big game at any time of the year. The officer or person is 
not liable for damages for killing the dog.

Important: Other hunting seasons are open before, dur-
ing, and after the deer season. Many hunters use dogs to hunt 
upland game, waterfowl, rabbits, raccoons, foxes, and coyotes. 
Dogs may not be shot during fall hunting seasons, even if seen 
pursuing big game, except by a conservation or peace officer. 

Hunting While Under the Influence
A person may not take protected wild animals with a firearm or by 

archery or be afield with a loaded or uncased firearm or an uncased 
bow while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.

Wanton Waste
A person may not wantonly waste or destroy a usable part of a pro-

tected wild animal unless authorized.

Ferrets
A person may not take protected animals with the aid of a ferret.

Radios and Other Wireless devices
• Using walkie talkies, cell phones, or other radio equipment to take 

big game or small game is unlawful.
• A DNR permit is required to take unprotected animals with the 

aid of radio equipment.

Lands closed to Hunting
A person may not hunt within state Game Refuges, State Parks, 

Scientific and Natural Areas, or other lands closed to hunting, except 
as provided in these regulations.

English Language Required
All reports, forms, tags, or signs required by these regulations must 

be completed in the English language.

multiple Applications
A person may not submit more than one application in a drawing 

for a permit or license.

dates and Times Inclusive
All dates and times specified in these regulations are inclusive 

unless specified otherwise.
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GIFTS
 Lawfully taken wild animals may be transferred as a gift if accompanied 

by a receipt containing: name and address of the owner; name and address 
of the recipient, date of transfer, description of the gift (for example: 
“Three 1-pound venison steaks”) and the license number under which the 
animal was taken. The receipt must remain with the gift.

GAmE FOR cONSUmPTION AT FUNd RAISING EvENTS
Nonprofit organizations may charge a fee for admission to fundrais-

ing events when lawfully taken and possessed big game and small game 
(excluding migratory game birds that cannot be sold under federal law), 
is donated to the organization and is served for consumption on the 
premises where the fundraising event is held. Records of donations must 
be kept for two years.

HUNTER HARASSmENT PROHIBITEd
A person may not prevent or disrupt another person from taking or 

preparing to take a wild animal. A person may not disturb or interfere 
with the person who is taking or preparing to take wild animals, and may 
not disturb wild animals with the intent to prevent or disrupt another 
person from hunting. Placing bait for the purpose of preventing or dis-
rupting another person from lawfully hunting deer would be considered 
unlawful under the hunter harassment laws.

SALE OF ANImAL PARTS 
Except as otherwise provided in these regulations, a person may 

 possess, transport, buy, or sell the following inedible portions of law-
fully taken or acquired big game, furbearers, and game birds (other than 
 migratory birds): bones (including skulls), sinews, hides, hooves, teeth, 
claws, and antlers. A person may not sell bear meat or organs (including 
gall bladders) and may not sell bear paws unless attached to the hide.

A hunter or trapper may sell the pelts of lawfully taken furbearers. A per-
son may not buy raw furs without a fur buyer’s license, except a fur manufac-
turer or licensed taxidermist may buy raw furs from a licensed fur buyer.

General Hunting Information
General HunTinG inform

aTion
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BLAzE ORANGE REqUIREmENTS
Small Game Seasons: You may not take small game unless a visible 

portion of at least one article of clothing above the waist is blaze orange, 
except when hunting wild turkeys, migratory birds, raccoons, or preda-
tors, or when hunting by falconry, with nontoxic shot or while trapping. 

Deer Season: Also, you may not hunt or trap during the open 
season where deer may be taken by firearms (including special hunts, 
youth seasons, and muzzleloaders) under applicable laws and ordi-
nances unless the visible portion of your cap and outer clothing 
above the waist, excluding sleeves and gloves, is blaze orange. Red is 
not a legal color, except for those who qualify under the Religious 
Freedom Restoration Act of 1993. Blaze orange includes a camouflage 
pattern of at least 50 percent blaze orange within each square foot. 
This restriction does not apply to migratory waterfowl hunters on 
waters or in a stationary shooting location or to trappers on waters. 
Times and zones for firearms are shown in the map on next page. 
Muzzleloader season is open statewide, except for closed areas (see 
page 89).

TAx TImE IS YOUR TImE 
TO HELP WILdLIFE

Look for the line with 
the loon on your Minnesota 
tax form and donate to 
the Nongame Wildlife 
Checkoff. It’s fast, easy, and 
tax deductible. Be part of 
the wildlife success story.
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General Hunting Information

Band Seasons: Indian bands may be hunting deer by firearms before and after 
state firearms seasons . The Fond du Lac band may be hunting deer from late 
September until mid-December in the 1854 ceded territory (Cook, Lake, east-
ern and southern St . Louis, most of Carlton, and extreme northern Pine coun-
ties) . Bands signatory to the 1837 Treaty (east-central Minnesota from Pine 
and Chisago counties west to the Mississippi River) may be hunting deer from 
the day after Labor Day through the end of December .

Blaze Orange Requirements 
zones and dates

Note: Consult the deer regulations section for restrictions within the dates in 
the box or see the Deer Zone/Area Map (available anywhere hunting licenses are 
sold) for additional details .

General HunTinG inform
aTion

zONE  dATE
Zone 1  Nov . 5-20

Zone 2  Nov . 5-13

Zone 3A  Nov . 5-11

Zone 3B  Nov . 19-27

Zone 4A  Nov . 5-6

Zone 4B  Nov . 12-15

Metro Deer Management 
Zone (Permit Areas  
228 and 337)  Nov . 5-27

NW Youth (5-County)  Oct . 22-23

Early Antlerless Season   
(Permit Areas 209, 210, 225,  
227, 236, 252, 256, 257) Oct . 15-16 

Muzzleloader  Nov . 26-Dec . 11
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dUTY TO RENdER AId
A person who shoots and injures another person with a firearm, or has 

reason to believe that another person might have been injured, and any 
witnesses to such a shooting, must immediately investigate the extent of 
the person’s injuries and give reasonable assistance, including calling law 
enforcement or medical personnel to the scene. Failure to do so can result 
in imprisonment and a fine for the shooter and witnesses.

ARTIFIcIAL LIGHTS 
A person may not cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight, or other  

artificial light onto a highway or into a field, woodland, or forest to spot, 
 locate, or take a wild animal while possessing, either individually or as 
one of a group, a firearm, bow, or other implement that could be used to 
kill big game. The exceptions to this regulation are:

a)  A firearm that is unloaded, cased, and in the closed trunk* of a motor 
vehicle (see definitions of “unloaded” and “cased,” page 27); or 

b)  A bow that is completely encased or unstrung and in the trunk* of 
a motor vehicle. 

Violation of this section is a gross misdemeanor.
• With or without a firearm or bow, no person may cast the rays of a 

spotlight, headlight, or other artificial light into a field, woodland, 
or forest to spot, locate, or take a wild animal between the hours of 
10 p.m. and 6 a.m. from September 1 to December 31. 

• With or without a firearm, between one-half hour after sunset until 
sunrise, a person may not cast the rays of a spotlight, headlight or 
other artificial light to spot, locate, or take a wild animal on fenced, 
agricultural land containing livestock or poultry that is marked with 
signs prohibiting the shining of lights. The signs must: 1) display 
reflectorized letters that are at least two inches in height and state 
“no shining” or similar terms; and 2) be placed at intervals of 1,000 
feet or less along the boundary of the area.

• It is not a violation of this law to shine lights while doing any agricul-
tural, occupational, or recreational activity, including snowmobiling, 
not related to spotting, locating, or taking a wild animal.

• With or without a firearm, between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 6:00 
a.m., a person may not project a spotlight or hand-held light onto 
residential property or building sites from a moving motor vehicle 
being operated on land, except for the following purposes:  
1) safety; 2) emergency response; 3) normal vehicle operations; or  
4) performing an occupational duty.

*  If the motor vehicle does not have a trunk, the firearm or bow must be in the 
rearmost portion of the vehicle.

  Note: This regulation does not apply to taking raccoons or tending traps according  
  to all other regulations in this booklet.
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ENFORcEmENT
• DNR conservation officers and other peace officers may arrest, without 

a warrant, any person detected in the actual violation of wildlife, fish, 
or water laws and may enter any lands to carry out these duties. 

•  No person may hinder, resist, or obstruct an enforcement officer or 
authorized DNR agent in the performance of official duties.

•  A person must allow inspection of firearms, licenses, wild animals, 
motor vehicles, boats, or other conveyances used while taking or trans-
porting wild animals.

SHIPPING BY cOmmON cARRIER (cOmmERcIAL TRANSPORTATION)
Statements and Receipts Required for Shipping
•  A person who transports wild animals or raw furs by common 

carrier (commercial transportation), including animals carried in 
baggage, must attach a statement to each shipment. The statement 
must include the name, address, and license number of the person 
shipping the animals, the number and species of the animals and 
furs in the shipment, and the signature of the licensee.

•  The waybill or receipt issued by a common carrier to a shipper must 
specify the number and species of wild animals being shipped.

Shipments by Residents to Themselves
•  Residents may transport wild animals within the state by common 

carrier if they have the licenses required to take the animals and 
the shipment is made to themselves. The wild animals that may be 
transported by common carrier are: deer, bear, moose, “undressed” 
game birds (see page 49 for definition), and fish.

•  Residents who ship game birds to themselves may not make more 
than three shipments during a license year. A shipment may not 
contain more than the resident’s daily limit.

Shipments by Nonresidents to Themselves
•  Nonresidents may transport wild animals by common carrier 

 without being in the vehicle if they have the license required to take 
the animals and the shipment is made to themselves.

•  Nonresidents who ship game birds to themselves by common 
 carrier without being in the vehicle must obtain a shipping permit 
(free) from a DNR conservation officer.

Shipments to Other Persons
•  A person may ship game birds to another person if the shipper is 

licensed and obtains a permit from a DNR conservation officer.
HUNTING WITH dISABILITIES

Persons with disabilities may be granted special permits or exceptions 
to some hunting regulations:

 Crossbows: See pages 28 and 61.
 Motor Vehicles: See page 30.
 Grouse Hunting Near Motor Vehicles: see page 44.
 Special Seasons: See page 71.
 Federal Waterfowl Hunting: see page 114.
  Blinds at some major WMAs: See page 129.
 Deer Stands, Agassiz, Rydell and Big Stone NWR: See pages 139-145.

General HunTinG inform
aTion
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YOUTH HUNTING INFORMATION

(Intentionally left blank)
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YOUTH SmALL GAmE HUNTS
Take a Kid Hunting Weekend—September 24-25 Small game 

hunting is one of the best ways to introduce young people to hunting. 
Even if you don’t normally hunt small game, the DNR is encourag-
ing you to take a young person. During Take-A-Kid-Hunting Weekend 
adults residents who are accompanied by a youth under age 16 may hunt 
small game without a license.

Youth Waterfowl Day—September 17 (tentative) To provide an 
opportunity to introduce young people to waterfowl hunting, only youth 
under the age of 16 may hunt waterfowl for this one day. Adults must 
accompany youth under age 14, but adults may not hunt. The DNR 
encourages you to introduce a young person that might not otherwise get 
a chance to hunt, and teach them how to hunt safely and ethically.

Future Pheasant Hunters Weekend—October 29-30 Together 
with Pheasants Forever chapters in Minnesota, the DNR is encouraging 
Minnesota pheasant hunters to introduce a young person to pheasant 
hunting. Several PF chapters have been mentoring youngsters who have 
limited hunting opportunities, and will be taking them in the field this 
weekend as a culmination of their training. All regular pheasant hunting 
regulations are in effect.

Other Special Youth Hunts The DNR and partnering non-profit 
organizations offer other special youth hunts, particularly turkey hunts in 
the spring. The schedule of spring youth turkey hunts is not set until the 
winter. Visit http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/harr/index.html for information.

SPEcIAL YOUTH dEER HUNTS
Youth Deer Hunt regulations All participating youth must attend 

a mandatory orientation prior to the hunt (details will be included in 
notices to successful applicants). An adult mentor, who may not hunt, 
must accompany participants during the orientation and the hunt. Party 
hunting is not allowed. Each person must apply at an ELS agent or the 
Department of Natural Resources License Center at 500 Lafayette Road 
in St. Paul. Group applications are not allowed. A drawing will be held if 
applications exceed available permits for each hunt. Unsuccessful appli-
cants will receive preference for future youth hunt lotteries of the same 
type. Applicants may only apply for one youth archery hunt and one 

Youth Hunting Information

YOUTH HUNTING INFORMATION

youTH HunTinG inform
aTion



�0

2005 Minnesota Hunting Regulations

youth firearms hunt. Participation in a youth hunt does not affect one’s 
eligibility to participate in the regular deer seasons. The application dead-
line is August 19.

Youth firearms deer hunts Applicants for youth firearms special deer 
hunts must be at least 12 years old and under age 16 at the time of the 
hunt. Participants must have a firearms safety certificate and must obtain 
a license for taking deer by firearms, valid for any zone or season option, 
by the beginning date of the respective hunt. Blaze orange requirements 
are in effect in areas open during firearms youth deer hunts. The rifle-
shotgun boundary is in effect (see back of large deer zone map, available 
separately).

Youth archery hunts Applicants for special youth archery hunts must 
be at least 12 years old and under age 18 at the time of the hunt. Persons 
participating in youth archery deer hunts must obtain a valid license for 
taking deer by archery at least two days prior to the start of the hunt.

Whitewater refuge youth archery and firearms hunt Hunters using 
archery equipment must comply with blaze orange and youth firearms 
age requirements and must have a valid license for taking deer by archery 
two days before the start of the hunt.

Northwest Minnesota special youth antlerless deer season (Oct. 
22-23) Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Pennington and Roseau 
counties are open Oct. 22-23 for taking antlerless deer by firearms for 
youth at least 12 and under age 15 at the time of the hunt. Participating 
youth must have a firearms safety certificate and must obtain a license 
for taking deer by firearms valid for any zone or season option and 
must obtain a free Northwest Minnesota Youth Deer Season license 
endorsement by the beginning date of the special season. The Northwest 
Minnesota Youth Season license endorsement may be obtained at any 
ELS agent for no fee. 

Participant numbers are not limited. Participants may use one bonus 
permit but may only take one deer during the youth season. An adult 
mentor age 18 or older must accompany the youth hunter at all times 
during the hunt. The accompanying adult may not hunt. Party hunting 
is not allowed. The blaze orange requirements apply to all hunters 
and trappers and all adult mentors of youth hunters in areas open 
to youth firearms deer hunting during the special youth season. 
Participation in the youth season does not affect eligibility to participate 
in regular deer seasons. If a bonus permit tag is used the regular license 
tag may still be used in the regular season. 
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Youth Hunting Licenses Reduced price individual youth licenses are 

available for residents under age 18 for firearms deer, archery deer and 
small game (see p. 17). Youth may purchase a multi-zone buck firearms 
deer license, but may only tag a legal buck. Youth may purchase an all-
season deer licenses, and may take one antlerless deer and one legal buck 
on the license. 

 
Youth Antlerless Privilege in Lottery Zones Residents under the age 

of 18 may take a deer of either sex in lottery permit areas without having 
to apply for or obtain an either-sex permit. Youth age 12 to 17 should 
not apply for an either sex permit. ONLY THE YOUTH LICENSEE 
MAY TAKE AN ANTLERLESS DEER IN A LOTTERY PERMIT 
AREA without an either-sex permit. Other members of the hunting party 
cannot take antlerless deer for the youth.

 
Firearms Safety Training Demand for Firearms Safety Training 

Classes is high, and many classes fill very rapidly or have waiting lists.  
Finding a class well in advance of the hunting season is highly recom-
mended. Youth may attend a class at age 11. Information on classes can 
be found on the DNR Web site at: http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/safety/
index.html

AvOId SPREAdING INvASIvE SPEcIES
Invasive species such as purple loosestrife, Eurasian watermilfoil, 

and zebra mussels can damage habitat for fish, waterfowl, and other 
wildlife. It is illegal to transport most aquatic plants and zebra mus-
sels in or on boats, trailers, or decoys in boats, when on public 
roads. However, waterfowl hunters may use emergent aquatic plants, 
such as cattails and bulrushes, cut	above	the	waterline, for building 
blinds. How to help:
•  Switch to elliptical, bulb-shaped, or strap decoy anchors that 

won’t collect submergent aquatic plants as easily.
•  Inspect and remove aquatic plants, zebra mussels, and mud that 

are attached to decoy lines or anchors, and waders.
•  Drain the water from boats and equipment.
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Important Dates: 
See hunting and trapping season chart, pages 46-47.
A license year runs from March 1 through the end of February. 

mIGRATORY WATERFOWL
See pages 101-116.

LIcENSE REqUIREmENTS
o

Small Game Hunting
•  All residents age 16 and over, and all nonresidents, must have a 

valid Small Game License in their possession to take small game, 
except residents may hunt small game without a license on their 
own land if they occupy it as their principal residence.

• All residents age 18 or over and under age 65, and all nonresident 
hunters, must have a valid Minnesota Pheasant Stamp or stamp 
validation in their possession to take pheasants. For exceptions,  
see page 26.

• All licensed hunters of migratory game birds (mourning doves, 
woodcock, rails, snipe, waterfowl, coots, or moorhens [gallinules]) 
must identify themselves as migratory bird hunters at the time they 
purchase a small game or sports license and be HIP certified (see 
box below).

•  A nonresident must have a nonresident Furbearer Hunting License 
and a nonresident Small Game License to take raccoon, bobcat, 
gray fox, red fox, or coyote.

Important Information:
Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program (HIP)

All hunters of migratory game birds (mourning doves, ducks, 
geese, mergansers, woodcock, snipe, rails, coots, or gallinules) must 
identify themselves as migratory bird hunters at the time they pur-
chase a small game or sports license. 

Evidence of compliance, which will be noted on your small 
game license as “HIP Certified,” must be carried while hunting 
migratory game birds.

Anyone who has hunted or intends to hunt migratory game birds 
must answer “yes” to the question on the license. If the license agent 
does not ask you this question at the time of license purchase, 

Small Game Hunting
HUNTING
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please remind them to do so. This information is important. If 
you did not answer “yes” at the time you purchased your license, you 
may do so later at no cost and get a receipt showing you are HIP 
certified at any ELS agent prior to hunting migratory game birds.

 The answers to the screening questions about migratory bird 
hunting on the license will be used to survey hunters at a later date to 
more accurately estimate actual harvests. Improved harvest informa-
tion will be used to better manage migratory bird populations and 
preserve hunting opportunities.

Trapping
•  Every resident age 16 and over must have both a Small Game and 

a Trapping License in possession to take small game (including  
furbearers) with traps, except that persons may trap without a Small 
Game License on their own land if they occupy it as their principal 
residence. That person must still have a Trapping License.

• Residents age 13 through 17 must have a Jr. Trapping License and 
residents age 18 or over must have a regular trapping license to 
trap. Residents under age 13 do not need a trapping license.

•  Any fisher, otter, bobcat, or pine marten taken by a resident under 
age five must be included in the limit of the accompanying parent 
or guardian.

•  Nonresidents may obtain a license to trap on land they own in 
Minnesota.

•  No person may be issued more than one Trapping License in a 
license year (except duplicate licenses).

SmALL GAmE HUNTING
GENERAL RESTRIcTIONS

Blaze Orange
Blaze orange is required for much small game hunting. See pages 34 

and 35 for specifics. 

Grouse Hunting Near motor vehicles
•  A person in the vicinity of a motor vehicle may not shoot a fire-

arm or an arrow from a bow at a grouse, or at a decoy of a grouse 
placed by an enforcement officer, unless the person is at least 20 
yards (60 feet) from the vehicle and the vehicle’s engine is shut off. 
This provision does not apply to a person with a disability who has 
a permit to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle (see page 30). 
This restriction includes all motorized vehicles.
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closed Sharp-tailed Grouse Area 
The shaded area on the 

map at right is closed to 
sharp-tailed grouse hunt-
ing. Few sharptails live in 
the area, and the closure 
protects remnant popu-
lations of sharptails and 
prairie chickens (a similar-
looking species). There is 
an exception for licensed 
prairie chicken hunters (see 
page 124.)

Party Hunting for Small 
Game

A “party” is defined as a 
group of two or more per-
sons maintaining unaided 
visual and vocal contact 
with each other while taking non-migratory small game. “Party hunting” 
means that members of a party may take animals for other members’ 
limits. A party may lawfully take small game in accordance with the fol-
lowing regulations:
•  A member of the party may take more than an individual limit, 

but the total number of small game taken and possessed by the 
party may not exceed the combined limits of members of  
the party. 

•  Each party member may transport only an individual limit of 
small game.

•  Party hunting is not allowed for migratory game birds (doves, ducks, 
geese, mergansers, coots, moorhens, woodcock, rail, snipe, and moor-
hens [gallinules]).

• For wild turkey party hunting restrictions, see page 118.

Use of Lead Shot
•  No person may take ducks, geese, mergansers, coots, or moorhens 

(gallinules) with lead shot or while having lead shot in possession.
•  Lead shot may be used statewide for hunting other small game in 

accordance with firearms restrictions in this booklet, except in fed-
eral Wildlife Refuges and Waterfowl Production Areas  
(see pages 139-147).

Prairie chickens
•  Portions of western Minnesota are open to prairie chicken hunting 

through a limited license drawing (see page 124).

Small Game Hunting
HUNTING
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Woodcock, Rails, and Snipe
•  Duck Stamps (state or federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamps) are 

not required to hunt woodcock, rails, snipe, or mourning doves.
• Compliance with the migratory bird harvest information program 

is required by indicating “yes” in response to the migratory bird 
hunting question on the license (see page 43).

•  Shotguns used to hunt these birds must not be capable of hold-
ing more than three shells, unless plugged with a one-piece filler 
that cannot be removed without disassembling the gun, so its total 
capacity does not exceed three shells.

Prohibited methods
•  A person may not take a grouse while within 20 yards of a motor 

vehicle (see page 44).
•  A person may not take protected birds by the following methods: 
 with a trap, net, or snare; using bird lime; with a swivel or set gun; by 

dragging a rope, wire, or other device across a field; or by using fire.
• A person may not shoot pheasants or Hungarian partridge with a 

rifle or handgun other than a .22 caliber rimfire using short, long, 
or long rifle ammunition.

•  A person may not set fire to a tree or use smoke to take squirrels or 
raccoons.

• A person may not remove a fox from a den, or trap fox within  
300 feet of a fox den, from April 1 to August 31.

•  A person may not disturb the burrow or den of any wild animal 
between November 1 and April 1 without a permit.

•  A person may not take pine marten, fisher, mink, muskrat, beaver, 
or otter by hunting.

Raccoons
Night Hunting

A person may take raccoons between sunset and sunrise only in 
accordance with the following regulations:
•  Hunters must be on foot.
•  Artificial lights may be used to locate, attempt to locate, or shoot a 

raccoon only if the raccoon has been treed or put at bay by dogs.
•  Rifles and handguns used must be .22 caliber rimfire loaded 

with short, long, or long rifle ammunition.
•  Shotgun shells may not contain shot larger than No. 4 bird 

shot.
Other Restrictions
•  a person may pursue and tree raccoons with dogs, during the 

closed season and without a license.
•  A person may not take a raccoon in a den or hollow tree, or by 

cutting down a tree occupied by a raccoon.
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Option 3
One leg and 
foot intact .

Fully feathered 
head and fully 
 feathered wing 
attached . (Geese need 
only a fully feathered 
wing .)

ducks, mergansers, 
and Geese

Turkey, Pheasant, Grouse, Prairie chicken, 
Hungarian Partridge

Option 1 
Fully feathered
head attached .

Both feet and 
feathered head 
attached .

Option 2 
Fully  
feathered 
wing 
attached .

TRANSPORTATION OF GAmE BIRdS
Game birds possessed in the field or being transported must be  

“undressed.” An “undressed” game bird is defined as: 
• Non-migratory upland game birds (turkey, pheasant, grouse, 

Hungarian partridge, prairie chicken) must have one leg and foot or 
the fully feathered head or a fully feathered wing intact.

•  Ducks and mergansers must have a fully feathered wing and the fully 
feathered head attached.

•  Geese must have a fully feathered wing attached.
•  Other migratory game birds (doves, woodcock, rails, snipe, coots, 

and moorhens [gallinules]) must have feet and a fully feathered head 
attached.

Small Game Hunting

Woodcock, Rails, doves, 
Snipe, coots, and 
moorhens

HUNTING
sm

all Gam
e
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TRAPPING 

GENERAL RESTRIcTIONS 
Any fisher, otter, bobcat, or pine marten taken by a resident under age 

five must be included in the limit of the accompanying parent or guard-
ian.

License Requirements
See page 43.
Effective March 1, 2007, a person born after December 31, 1989, 

who has not been issued a trapping license in a previous license year 
may not obtain a trapping license without a trapper education certifi-
cate. The Minnesota Trappers Association will conduct trapper edu-
cation courses statewide, free of charge to the participants, and issue 
certificates that satisfy this new trapping license requirement.

Seasons
See page 47.

Important! Many other outdoor enthusiasts are afield, with their 
dogs, during the trapping seasons. Although accidental captures of 
dogs by trappers are infrequent in Minnesota, the occasional accidents 
that do occur lead to calls for increased regulation of trapping activi-
ties. Trappers must be aware of their responsibility to set and tend 
traps in strict adherence to all trapping and trespass regulations, and 
should take great care to avoid areas and sets that may accidentally 
capture dogs.

Trap and Snare Identification
A person may not set or place a trap or snare, other than on prop-

erty owned or occupied by the person, unless the following information 
is affixed to the trap or snare in a way that ensures the information 
remains legible while the trap or snare is on the land or in the water:

 1) The number and state of the person’s driver’s license; or
 2) The person’s Minnesota identification card number; or
 3) The person’s name and mailing address.
Note: From April 1 to August 31, the trap identification pro-

visions listed above do not apply to traps set for the taking of 
 unprotected wild animals.

Small Game Trapping
TRAPPING

sm
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Traps
A person may not set, place, or operate:

•  any foot or leghold trap with a jaw opening greater than 8¾ inches;
•  any body-gripping or conibear-type trap with a jaw opening great-

er than 7½ inches, except as a waterset*; or
•  any body-gripping or conibear-type trap with a jaw opening great-

er than 6½ inches in or within 3 feet of a culvert, except when 
completely submerged in water.

Trap Setting and Tending
•  A person may set or tend traps only from 5 a.m. to 10 p.m.
•  A person on foot may use an artificial light to set or tend traps 

during the legal hours. However, that person may not possess or 
use a bow and arrow or a firearm other than a handgun of .22 
caliber with short, long, or long rifle ammunition while using the 
light in the field.

•  A person may not set a trap within 50 feet of any water other than 
temporary surface water within 30 days before the open season for 
mink and muskrat in that area, except by permit.

•  Any trap capable of capturing a protected animal and not capable 
of drowning the animal must be tended at least once each calen-
dar day, except for body-gripping or conibear-type traps. Any trap 
capable of drowning the captured animal and any body-gripping or 
conibear-type trap must be tended at least once each third calendar 
day, except for traps set under the ice. A trap may not be left un-
tended for more than three consecutive days (for example, a trap set 
or tended on Saturday would have to be tended again by Tuesday). 
When a trap is tended, any animal captured must be removed.

Trap Tampering
• No person may remove or tamper with a trap legally set to take 

fur-bearing or unprotected wild animals without authorization by 
the trapper, a DNR agent, or the owner or lessee of the land where 
the trap is located. 

•  A trapper may authorize, in writing, an agent who possesses all nec-
essary licenses to tend traps set by the trapper, including resetting 
the trap at the same set. The agent may remove animals from a 
trap.

 *  A waterset is defined as any body-gripping trap or snare set so that the 
trap jaws or the snare loop are at least half-submerged in water.
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General Trapping Restrictions
• No trap, either set or unset, may be placed or staked, and no flag, 

stake, or other device may be placed to mark or pre-empt a trap-
ping site before the opening of any trapping season.

• No person may leave any trap for a protected wild animal in place, 
either set or unset, after the close of the applicable trapping season.

•  No person may disturb, injure, or destroy any muskrat house or den, 
except that traps may be set at natural entrances to muskrat burrows 
and openings may be made in muskrat houses for trapping if all 
material removed is wetted and used to plug the opening.

•  Animals must be killed before being removed from a site.
•  No person may disturb, injure, or destroy any beaver house, dam, 

burrow, or den.
•  No person may set a trap inside any beaver house or upon the 

 outside of any beaver house above the waterline.
•  Mink may not be taken by digging or with the aid of dogs.
•  Unattended electronic devices may not be used for taking wild ani-

mals.
•  No person may set or maintain any leghold trap within 20 feet 

of bait located in such a way that it may be seen by soaring birds. 
“Bait” is any animal or animal parts, including live or dead fish, 
except that small pieces of fur and feathers may be used for flagging.

•  No person may take a bird with a foot or leghold trap on a pole, 
post, tree stump, or other perch more than 3 feet above the 
ground, except by federal permit.

• No person may trap beaver or otter on a state Wildlife Manage-
ment Area without a permit from the wildlife manager.

Small Game Trapping

FURBEARER zONES
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Snaring Regulations
Snares may be used by licensed trappers for taking all species of 

 protected wild mammals that may be taken by the use of traps, except 
bobcat. The use of snares is subject to the following regulations and all 
trapping regulations not inconsistent with these snaring restrictions. 

General Restrictions for Snares
•  Fox and bobcat may be snared only in the Forest Furbearer 

Zone (see map page 53) A permit is no longer required.
•  Bears cannot be taken with snares.
•  In the Farmland Furbearer Zone no person may set, place, or oper-

ate any snare except as a waterset. A waterset is defined as any snare 
set so that the snare loop is at least half-submerged under water.

•  DNR expects to adopt rules allowing the use of land snares in 
the Farmland Furbearer Zone beginning December 1, 2005; 
however, the new rules were not yet adopted at the time this 
regulation handbook was published. The new rules would allow 
snares on land in the Farmland Furbearer Zone from December 
1, 2005 to March 31, 2006 except on public lands, road rights-
of-way, or in fence lines along road rights-of-way. When the 
new rules are adopted, DNR will notify trappers through news 
releases and on the DNR Web site.

Use of Snares
•  The diameter of the snare loop may not exceed 10 inches.
•  Snare cable or wire may not have a diameter exceeding 1⁄8 inch.
•  No person may set, place, or operate a snare in a culvert, except 

as a completely submerged waterset.
•  Snares may not be set in deer trails.
• Snares may not be used with spring poles or other devices that 

wholly or partly lift from the ground an animal caught in the snare.
•  No snare may be set in such a way that the top of the loop is 

more than 16 inches above the ground or, when the ground 
is snow-covered, more than 16 inches above the bottom of a 
person’s footprint made in the snow beneath the snare with the 
full body weight on the foot.

•  All snares not capable of drowning the captured animal must be 
tended at least once each calendar day.

•  No snare set for a protected animal may be left in place after 
the applicable trapping season has closed. 

o

Fur Export
Otter, Bobcat, or Black Bear

International trade in raw furs of otter, bobcat, and hides, claws, 
skulls, or teeth of black bear is regulated by federal law and inter-
national treaty. If you plan to sell your own otter, bobcat, or bear 
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Small Game Trapping

Important! The Canada lynx is listed as a threatened species under 
the Endangered Species Act. Any taking or possession of lynx, includ-
ing accidental taking, is a violation of federal law.

furs or parts in Canada, you must obtain an export permit (for a 
fee) from the Federal Wildlife Permit Office, U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service, Washington, DC 20240. 
All Furs

To export any furs for sale in Canada, a completed “Declaration 
for Import or Export of Fish and Wildlife” (Form 3–177), signed by 
the exporter, must be filed with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 
before export at the U.S. Customs Port where exported. 

Furbearer Registration
•  The pelt of each bobcat, fisher, pine marten, and otter, the carcass 

of each bobcat, and the head of each pine marten must be pre-
sented, by the person taking it, to a DNR registration station (see 
page 56) or area wildlife office (by appointment) for registration 
before the pelt is sold or is removed from the state, and no more 
than 48 hours after the season closes.

•  The entire carcass of the bobcat and head of the pine marten must 
be surrendered at the time of -registration. 

• To speed up registration, please bring the following written infor-
mation for each animal to be registered: species, sex; method of 
take, date taken and county, township and range where taken. 
Include your MDNR number, as shown on your license. Forms are 
available at wildlife offices and on the DNR Web site.

Releasing Protected Species
Every effort should be made to avoid catching fully protected species. 

If possible, a trapper should release accidentally captured protected species 
back into the wild. If a fully protected species is dead in the trap or other-
wise cannot be released, you must notify a DNR conservation officer.

Furbearer Pelting and Transportation
•  A person who performs a service by recovering and preserving the 

pelt of a protected furbearer (except muskrat) that was accidentally 
killed or lawfully killed while doing damage, may be entitled to a 
pelting fee of up to 50 percent of the proceeds from the sale of the 
pelt. Contact a local DNR conservation officer or regional DNR 
Enforcement office within 24 hours for authorization to pelt the 
animal. 

•  No person may possess, transport, or pelt a fisher, otter, pine mar-
ten, fox, bobcat, lynx, or gray wolf that was accidentally killed, 
except when authorized beforehand.

TRAPPING
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Furbearer Registration Stations
Furbearers may be registered between noon and 7 p.m. on 

December 13, and between 3 p.m. and 6 p.m. on January 10 at the 
 locations listed below or with any DNR area wildlife office throughout 
the season by appointment only. 

LOcATIONS
Aitkin DNR Wildlife Office
Backus DNR Forestry Office
Bemidji DNR Area Fish & Wildlife Office
Big Falls DNR Forestry Office
Brainerd DNR Area Wildlife Office (1601 Minnesota Drive)
Cambridge DNR Forestry Office
Cloquet DNR Wildlife Office
Cook DNR Forestry Office
Deer River DNR Forestry Office
Duluth DNR Forestry Office (4805 Rice Lake Road)
Effie DNR Forestry Office
Eveleth DNR Wildlife Office 
Finland DNR Forestry Office (Dec . 13 only)
Forest Lake DNR Carlos Avery Game Farm Office
Grand Marais DNR Wildlife Office (Dec . 13 only)
Grand Rapids DNR Regional Headquarters
Hibbing DNR Forestry Office
Hinckley DNR Fisheries Office (closed—see Sandstone)
International Falls DNR Wildlife Office
Middle River DNR Thief Lake Wildlife Office
Northome DNR Forestry Office
Onamia DNR Mille Lacs Wildlife Area Office
Orr DNR Forestry Office
Park Rapids DNR Wildlife Office
Roseau DNR Roseau River WMA Office
Roosevelt DNR Red Lake WMA Office
Rochester DNR Area Wildlife Office
Sandstone DNR Wildlife Office (613 Highway 23 South)
St . Cloud  DNR Office (940 Industrial Drive, Suite 103,  

Sauk Rapids, MN)
Tower DNR Office 
Two Harbors DNR Wildlife Office (Dec . 13 only)
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Mourning Dove

SEASON dATES, LImITS ANd HOURSo

Sept. 1 to Oct. 30, from one half hour before sunrise to sunset except 
opening day of waterfowl season when shooting hours begin at 9 a.m. 
Daily bag limit is 15; possession limit 30.

LIcENSE REqUIREmENTS
All residents age 16 and over and all nonresidents must have a valid 

small game license in their possession. Residents may hunt doves with-
out a license on property they occupy as their principal residence. All 
dove hunters must have evidence that they are HIP certified (see 
page 43).

BLAzE ORANGE
Blaze orange is not required when hunting mourning doves and other 

migratory game birds (see page 34).

PARTY HUNTING
Party hunting for mourning doves and other migratory birds is pro-

hibited. Individual hunters may take only their limit and may not shoot 
migratory game birds for other hunters.

FIREARm ANd AmmUNITION RESTRIcTIONS
Shotguns used for taking doves may not be capable of holding more 

than three shells, unless the gun is plugged with a one-piece filler that 
cannot be removed without disassembling the gun.

AGRIcULTURAL LANdS ANd BAITING
Bait, seeds or grain may not be placed or brought into a field. 
Doves may be hunted on, over or from:
•  Lands or areas where seeds or grains have been scattered solely  

as the result of normal agricultural operations, which include 
 normal agricultural harvestings, normal agricultural post-harvest 
manipulations, or normal agricultural practices.

•  Lands planted by top-sowing or aerial seeding where seeds have 
been scattered solely as the result of a normal agricultural plant-
ing, a planting for agricultural soil erosion control, or a planting 
for post-mining land reclamation.

•  Standing crops, and standing or manipulated natural vegetation
•  Lands planted as wildlife food plots, provided the seed is  

planted in a manner consistent with Cooperative State Research, 
Education, and Extension Service recommendations for the plant-
ing of wildlife food plots.

m
ourninG doVe
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•  Lands planted as pasture improvements or for the purpose of graz-
ing livestock.

•  A blind or other place of concealment camouflaged with natural 
vegetation.

•  Lands or areas where grain or feed has been distributed or scat-
tered solely by manipulation of an agricultural crop or other feed 
on the land where grown. Manipulation means the alteration of 
natural vegetation or agricultural crops by activities such as mow-
ing, shredding, discing, rolling, chopping, trampling, flattening, 
burning, or herbicide treatments. Manipulation does not include 
the distributing or scattering of seeds, grains, or other feed after 
removal from or storage on the field where grown. 
NOTE: Although doves may be hunted over manipulated agri-
cultural crops, waterfowl may not, except after the field has been 
subject to a normal harvest and at least 10 days has elapsed since 
the complete removal of all manipulated grain.

The complete Federal migratory game bird hunting regulations  
can be found in Title 50 Code of Federal Regulations part 20  
(http://www.le.fws.gov/pdffiles/50_CFR_20.pdf ).

Dove Hunting
This is Minnesota’s second dove hunting season since 1946. This 

information is provided to help you avoid common mistakes.
•  Pre-season scouting is best in the morning and late afernoon,  

when doves are most active.
•  Doves are most abundant in agricultural areas of western and 

 southern Minnesota.
•  Hunt in areas between food, water, grit and roosting locations.
•  Doves often feed in wheat, oat and sunflower fields. Landowner 

 permission is required to hunt private agricultural fields.
•  Doves fly 30 to 40 mph and can reach 60 mph. Practice estimat-

ing extra wingshooting lead distance.
•  Downed doves blend well with vegetation. Mark and retrieve birds 

immediately. Dogs can be very useful in retrieving doves.
•  Early dove season weather may be hot; bring sufficient water for 

your dogs.
•  Shooting doves or other game birds from power lines is unethical.

FOR YOUR INFORmATION
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Big Game

Important! Minnesota Carcass Import Restrictions  
To help prevent the spread of CWD, hunters cannot bring 

whole cervid (deer, elk, moose, caribou) carcasses into Minnesota 
from areas of other states or provinces where CWD has been 
found in wild deer or elk. A list of known areas from which car-
cass import is restricted can be found at www.dnr.state.mn.us or 
by calling the DNR information number (see page 147). From 
these areas, hunters may bring only the following parts into 
Minnesota:
• Meat that is boned out or that is cut and wrapped (either 

 commercially or privately)
• Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the spinal 

 column or head attached
• Hides and teeth
• Antlers or clean (no brain tissue attached) skull plates with antlers 

attached
• Finished taxidermy mounts

Nonresidents transporting whole carcasses on a direct route 
through Minnesota are exempt from this regulation.

LEGAL FIREARmS FOR BIG GAmE
Note: see www.dnr.state.mn.us/regulations/hunting/legalcartridges.html  

for a listing of legal big game cartridges.
A rifle, shotgun, muzzleloader, or handgun is legal for taking deer if:

•  it is at least .23 caliber;
•  it is loaded only with single projectile ammunition;
•  the projectile used has a soft point or is an expanding bullet type; and 
•  the ammunition has a case length of at least 1.285 inches, with the 

exception of a 10 mm cartridge that is at least .95 inches long, a .45 
Winchester magnum, or a .50 A.E. (Action Express) handgun cartridge;

•  the muzzleloader (long gun or handgun) used cannot be loaded at the 
breech (muzzleloading revolvers are not legal for taking big game);

•  the smooth-bore muzzleloader used is at least .45 caliber; and
•  the rifled muzzleloader used is at least .40 caliber;
• muzzleloaders with scopes are legal during the regular firearms deer 

seasons only, except nonmagnifying scopes may be used by muzzle-
loader season hunters with a medically certified visual impairment and 
a DNR permit.

biG Gam
e
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•  A person may take big game with a .30 caliber M-1 carbine car-
tridge. (Note: The .30 caliber M-1 carbine is ballistically more 
similar to a handgun than a rifle. Hunters choosing to use this 
firearm should recognize that to effectively kill a deer it may be 
necessary to limit themselves to close-range open shots at standing 
deer.)

Other Restrictions
•  Rifled barrels on shotguns are legal statewide.
•  No person may discharge a firearm or an arrow from a bow on, 

over, across, or within the right-of-way of an improved public 
highway (including but not limited to federal, state, county, and 
township roadways) at a big game animal or a decoy of a big game 
animal that has been set out by a licensed peace officer.

•  A person may not use a dog or horse to take big game.
•  A person may not take big game by archery while in possession  

of a firearm, except a person may take bear by archery while in  
possession of a firearm.

Handguns
•  Big game may be taken statewide with handguns that meet the 

definition of legal firearms.
•  The most common calibers of handguns legal for big game are 

.357, .41, .44 magnum, and .45 Winchester magnum.

muzzleloader
•  Big game may be taken with muzzleloaders that meet the defini-

tion of legal firearms.
•  Only open and “peep” type sights (including those with fiber optic 

material) are legal during the Muzzleloader Deer Season. Scopes, 
including holographic or “red dot” scopes, are not legal for this 
season, except for use of nonmagnifying scopes by special permit 
for persons with medically verified visual impairments. A permit 
application is available by calling the DNR Information Center.

LEGAL BOWS ANd ARROWS FOR BIG GAmE
•  Bows must have a pull no less than 40 pounds at or before full draw. 

Note: This is a minimum draw weight. Some short-draw-length 
(under 28") bows shooting light arrows may not effectively kill big 
game at a 40-pound draw weight. 

•  Arrowheads used for taking big game must be sharp, have a minimum 
of two metal cutting edges, be of barbless broadhead design, and have 
a diameter of at least 7⁄8 inch. 

• “Expandable” broadheads may be used to take big game if they meet 
the requirements above and: 1) are at least 7⁄8 inch in width and 
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no more than 2 inches in width at or after impact; and 2) are of a 
barbless design and function in a barbless manner.

•  No person may hunt with a bow drawn, held, or released by a mechan-
ical device, except disabled hunters who have a crossbow permit.

• A hand-held mechanical release attached to the bowstring may be 
used if the person’s own strength draws and holds the bowstring.

•  A person may not hunt big game or small game with a crossbow, except 
by a special permit issued to hunters unable to hunt by archery because 
of a temporary or permanent disability. This disability must be verified 
in writing by a licensed physician or chiropractor. The permit applica-
tion is available from any DNR regional office or by calling the infor-
mation number on page 147.

SHOOTING HOURS
Shooting hours for big game are one-half hour before sunrise to  

one-half hour after sunset.

TRANSPORTATION OF HEAdS OR HIdES
A resident who has a license to take deer, bear, or moose may trans-

port the head or hide of the animal for mounting or tanning. 

POSSESSION OF BIG GAmE
Any person who takes a big game animal must retain the license, site tag, 

permit, and possession (registration) tag for as long as any part of the meat is 
in possession.

Big Game Registration Stations
Big game registration provides essential information for managing 

deer populations. Many of the nearly 1,000 registration stations in 
the state donate the use of their business and the time of their staff to 
help collect this information. This is a very valuable service.

Station operators are not required to inspect deer or verify registra-
tion information. This is the hunter’s responsibility.

FOR YOUR INFORmATION
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Buck Antler Growth and Deer Management
Minnesota offers a truly special opportunity for deer hunters. 

Deer are abundant, antlerless hunting has been greatly expanded, 
and hunters have never had more options for spending time in the 
field. As we set the course for the future of deer management, it will 
become increasingly important to manage deer populations through 
adequate antlerless harvest. To promote antlerless deer harvest and 
protect young bucks, a few states have limited buck harvest by 
implementing antler point restrictions, earn-a-buck, shortened sea-
sons, or buck lotteries. Over the next several years, the Minnesota 
DNR will be asking hunters how they feel about potential alterna-
tive deer management strategies. In the meantime, the following 
information is provided to help hunters understand the differences 
between age classes of bucks.

Yearling (11⁄2 year old) buck antler variability
Buck antler size is strongly influenced by 3 factors: age, nutrition, 

and genetics. In the forested part of the state, a higher percentage of 
yearling bucks will be spikes, while in the farmland, a majority will 
have 3 or 4 total points and yearlings with 6, 8, or even 10-point 
antlers are common.

Typical antler growth by age
As a buck matures, the antlers typically retain their general shape 

but increase in size over time. Each year, they will get wider and gain 
mass. Points will probably increase as well.

Example of yearling age-class bucks. 

FOR YOUR INFORmATION
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Buck Antler Growth and Deer Management (cont.) 

Field judging buck age
Besides antlers, there are other ways to field judge the age of a 

buck. 
While it is very difficult to tell the difference between a 41⁄2 and  

71⁄2 year old buck, here are some tips on determining if the buck is 
a yearling or older.
• Yearling bucks (11⁄2 years old) will have smaller faces and rela-

tively thin necks, even during the rut.
•  At 21⁄2 years old, a buck will look heavier and be more muscu-

lar in the head, neck, and chest.  In November, a swollen neck 
is a good sign that the deer is not a yearling.

•  As a buck gets past 21⁄2 years, you will see annual increases in 
body mass and neck size. Also, the belly may start to sag and 
the back may dip along the spine.

Typical antler development from 11⁄2 to 51⁄2 years of age.

biG Gam
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This information is provided for general reference only. Unless 
you are participating in a hunt with special regulations, it is up to 
the individual hunter to decide what type of deer he or she wants 
to bring home.

  11⁄2 years 21⁄2 years 31⁄2 years

 41⁄2 years  51⁄2 years
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dEER—GENERAL

Important Dates:
• Sept. 8 (Thursday): Antlerless Deer and Special Area Permit  

application deadline. 
•  Sept. 17: Archery opening date. 
•  Nov. 5: General Firearms opening date.
•  Nov. 26: Muzzleloader opening date.
•  Nov. 4, 2006: Firearms Deer opening date for 2006.

GENERAL REGULATIONS
In addition to those listed below, deer hunters must know the Big 

Game general hunting regulations on pages 59-61.

   Important! Statewide Antlerless Deer Information
In many deer permit areas there is no longer a lottery application 

process for either-sex permits—hunters are authorized to take deer of 
either sex by purchasing a license over the counter. Deer permit areas 
are divided into three categories: 1) Lottery Deer Permit Areas; 2) 
Managed Deer Permit Areas; and 3) Intensive Deer Permit Areas. 

In Lottery Deer Permit Areas, hunters still need to apply for 
either-sex permits. The deadline is September 8, 2005. 

In Managed and Intensive Deer Permit Areas, applications 
are not necessary. In these areas, either-sex and multiple-deer per-
mits are available over the counter.

At the time of license purchase, all firearms hunters will need 
to indicate which permit area they primarily hunt. Firearms hunt-
ers may hunt throughout the zone(s) where licensed or may hunt 
antlerless deer on their regular license in any managed or intensive 
deer permit area where licensed. 

See details in the box on the next page, the firearms, archery, 
and muzzleloader deer sections of this handbook, and the color 
map and table on the back of the large deer zone map (available 
separately) for more information. 
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 dEER PERmIT AREA cLASSIFIcATIONS
Lottery Deer Permit Areas. If you hunt a Lottery Deer Permit 

Area and want to be able to take an antlerless deer, you must apply 
for an either-sex permit by Sept. 8. If you are drawn, you will 
receive an authorization to take a deer of either sex in that area. If 
you have an All-Season Deer License, the authorization will allow 
you to take an antlerless deer in that area during the firearms season 
with the antlerless portion of your all-season license.

Managed Deer Permit Areas. If you hunt a Managed Deer 
Permit Area, you may take a deer of either sex by firearms on a reg-
ular license, or you may hunt bucks throughout the zone(s) licensed 
for. No application for an either-sex permit is necessary. Firearms 
hunters (including All-Season and Multi-Zone licensees) who hunt 
a Managed Deer Permit Area may also purchase one bonus permit, 
valid for taking one antlerless deer. Bonus permits are available over 
the counter throughout the firearms season; there is no need to 
apply for these permits. All-Season license holders who hunt a man-
aged deer permit area may use the antlerless portion of their regular 
license to take an antlerless deer and may purchase one bonus per-
mit. For example, if you have a Zone 1 license, you may take a deer 
of either-sex in any managed or intensive permit area and you can 
use one bonus permit in only one managed deer permit area.

Note: Archery and muzzleloaders may use one bonus permit in a 
Managed Deer Permit Area.

Intensive Deer Permit Areas. If you hunt an Intensive Deer 
Permit Area, you may take a deer of either sex by firearms on a reg-
ular license, or you may hunt bucks throughout the zone(s) licensed 
for. No application for an either-sex permit is necessary. Firearms 
hunters (including All-Season Deer and Multi-Zone licensees) who 
are licensed to hunt in a zone that has Intensive Deer Permit Areas 
may purchase and use bonus permits in any of those areas. Bonus 
permits are valid for taking additional antlerless deer and may be 
used in any Intensive Deer Permit Area for which you have a valid 
regular license. For example: if you have a Zone 1 license, you 
may use bonus permits to take antlerless deer by firearms in any 
Intensive Deer Permit Area in Zone 1. All-Season license holders 
may use the antlerless portion of their regular license and purchase 
up to 3 additional bonus permits to take antlerless deer by fire-
arms in any Intensive Deer Permit Area, except in Zone 3B. Note: 
Archery and muzzleloader hunters, including All-Season licensees, 
may use bonus permits in Intensive Deer Permit Areas to take up to 
a grand total of five deer.
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LIcENSING
License Purchase and validity

All deer licenses (archery, firearms, muzzleloader) may be pur-
chased at any time before or during the season. However, a license 
purchased on or after the day the respective season opens is not 
valid until the second day after the day it is issued (for example, 
a license issued on Saturday would not be valid until Monday). A 
“day” means midnight to midnight. The “respective season” refers 
to the first season for which the license is valid. The exceptions are 
bonus permits, which are valid immediately when issued as long as 
the appropriate regular license is also valid. 
• A resident under the age of 18 or a disabled person who has been 

issued a permit to shoot from a stationary vehicle who has a valid 
deer license may take a deer of either sex. Only the authorized youth 
or disabled hunters may shoot and tag the antlerless deer (no party 
 hunting). Also, this provision does not apply to special hunts.

•  A person may purchase no more than one Firearms Deer 
License and one Archery Deer License in a calendar year, 
except that bonus and early antlerless permits, which allow the tak-
ing of additional antlerless deer, may be purchased. 

• Multi-Zone Buck Licenses are not valid for the Muzzleloader 
Season or Zone 3B. 

• All-Season Deer Licenses are not valid during Zone 3B season.
• Bonus permits may be purchased throughout the season, but you 

must purchase the permit and have it in possession when taking 
the deer. The permit is valid when your regular license to hunt in 
that season is valid. Regular License and bonus permit tags may be 
used in any order.

•  A person may not take or tag deer without the appropriate license 
or permit. The term “taking” includes attempting to take deer, and 
 driving, spotting, or otherwise assisting another person in taking 
deer.
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Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD)
CWD is an invariably fatal disease of the deer family that is pres-

ent in wild deer and elk populations in isolated areas of the United 
States. Federal health officials say that it is unlikely that chronic 
wasting disease is ever transmitted to humans or to animals other 
than deer or elk. There have been no cases of CWD transmission to 
humans.

Since 2002, 28,000 deer have been tested for CWD in Minnesota. 
To date, no deer have tested positive for the disease

Clinical Signs of CWD
Animals infected with CWD typically exhibit one or more of the 

following clinical signs, which may be apparent to an observer.
  • Severe emaciation and dehydration. 

• Excessive salivation. 
• Stumbling, weakness, loss of coordination, or tremors. 
• Drooping of the head and ears. 
• Excessively rough, dull coat. 
• Loss of fear of humans (other than habituation through feeding).
Hunters who notice an animal that exhibits these symptoms or 

is acting strangely should not shoot the animal. Rather, they should 
contact the local wildlife office or DNR conservation officer to pro-
vide information on what was observed and where. The DNR will 
attempt to locate the animal, dispatch it and have it tested for CWD.

For the latest information on the status of CWD testing and infor-
mation in Minnesota, go to the DNR Web site www.dnr.state.mn.us. 
Also, see the frequently asked questions on page 8.

Guidelines For Field Dressing, Processing, and  
Preparing Venison for Consumption

•   Hunters should not consume meat from any deer that appears or 
acts sick.

•   Hunters should wear durable rubber gloves when field dressing 
carcasses and wash hands and instruments thoroughly after field 
dressing.

•   Do not consume brain, spinal cord, eyes, spleen, tonsils, or lymph 
nodes from any deer.

Deer
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Landowner Free Deer License in Selected Areas
These licenses allow the taking of one antlerless deer per farm (in 

managed and intensive deer permit areas). The free license can be for 
firearms, archery, or muzzleloader.

An owner or tenant who is living and actively farming on 
at least 80 acres of agricultural or grazing land in deer permit 
areas 104, 105, 107, 110, 111, 114, 115, 126, 154, 156, 157, 
159, 170, 172, 174, 178, 180-184, 201, 202, 204, 206-210, 
221-223, 225, 227, 228, 236, 241-249, 252-259, 297, 298, 
337-343, 345-349, 410-421, 423, 428, 429, 452, 456, 461, 
462, 464-467 (applies to both A and B seasons) may obtain a 
free license to take an antlerless deer by firearms, muzzleloader or 
archery. These licenses can be obtained from any ELS license agent 
(see page 18). A person may receive only one license per year. For 
land with co-owners or co-tenants, only one co-owner or co-ten-
ant may receive a license per year. The license is valid only on the 
land owned or leased for agricultural purposes by the license-holder 
within the permit area where the qualifying land is located. The 
license holder may give the license to the license-holder’s spouse or 
dependent. A license issued under this provision does not affect the 
license-holder’s eligibility to purchase additional deer licenses.

A person who obtains a license under this provision must allow 
public deer hunting on their land during the deer hunting season 
for that license, except for the first Saturday and Sunday of the 
 season selected.

BAG LImIT FOR dEER
No one may tag more than one deer per calendar year, except as follows:
TAGGING DEER ON MULTIPLE LICENSES: Hunters may now 

tag deer on both their firearms (including muzzleloader) and archery deer 
licenses. This provision applies statewide, however, hunters may only tag 
ONE buck per calendar year. 

Lottery deer permit areas: The bag limit is one deer except all-season 
license holders and hunters tagging deer with both their archery and fire-
arms license may take two deer. Bonus permits are not valid in lottery deer 
permit areas.

Managed deer permit areas: The bag limit for managed deer permit 
areas is two deer, except all-season license holders and hunters tagging deer 
with both their archery and firearms license may take three deer. Archery, 
firearm, and muzzleloader hunters may not tag antlerless deer using a bonus 
permit in more than one managed deer permit area per year.

Intensive deer permit areas: The bag limit for intensive deer permit 
areas is five deer.
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Bonus Permits
Bonus permits are available to archery, firearms, and muzzleloader 

hunters to take additional antlerless deer in designated areas. Bonus 
permits are available for one-half the cost of regular licenses. One 
bonus permit may be used per year in one managed deer permit area. 
Up to four bonus permits may be used in intensive deer permit areas 
and some special hunts. Deer taken under bonus permits are in addi-
tion to deer authorized to be taken under regular licenses. The maxi-
mum number of deer any individual may tag is 5 by any combination 
of licenses and permits, except eligible landowners may take an addi-
tional antlerless deer on a free landowner license, and up to two deer 
may be taken during the early antlerless season.

Bonus permits are valid for archery, muzzleloader or firearms, but 
hunters must have the appropriate Regular License for the area, season 
and method they are using.

Early Season Antlerless Permits
Early season antlerless permits are available to hunters interested 

in participating in the early antlerless deer season in permit areas 209, 
210, 225, 227, 236, 252, 256, and 257 (the last 3 permit areas were 
formerly 401, 405, and 406). Early season antlerless permits are only 
valid during the early antlerless deer season and can be purchased for 
one-half the cost of a regular license. Up to two permits may be used 
during the early antlerless season.

HUNTING mETHOd RESTRIcTIONS
Bait
•  No person may place or use bait for the purpose of taking deer. 

“Bait” is defined as grain, fruit, vegetables, nuts, hay, or other 
food transported and placed for the purpose of attracting or entic-
ing deer. This restriction does not apply to foods resulting from 
 normal or accepted farming, forest management, wildlife manage-
ment, orchard management, or similar land management activities.

•  DNR expects to adopt rules further clarifying the prohibition on 
deer baiting before this year’s firearms season. The new regulations 
will define bait as any foods capable of attracting deer, and hunt-
ers will not be allowed to use bait or hunt in the vicinity of bait 
that the hunter knows about or has reason to know about, or hunt 
where bait has been placed within the previous ten days. The new 
rules were not yet adopted at the time this regulation handbook 
was published. When the new rules are adopted, DNR will notify 
hunters through news releases and on the DNR Web site.

•  Liquid scents, salt, and minerals are not considered bait. 
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Elevated Stands
•  No person may take deer from a constructed platform or other 

structure that is higher than 16 feet above the ground. This restric-
tion does not apply to a portable stand that is chained, belted, 
clamped, or tied with rope.

•  In Wildlife Management Areas and State Parks open to hunting 
(see pages 39-41, 84, 85, 91,125-129), only portable stands may 
be used. They must not be left overnight. Portable stand use is 
encouraged in State Forests (see page 135-138).

• In Scientific and Natural Areas open to hunting, no stands  
(including portable stands) may be used (see pages 138-139).

• Any unoccupied, permanent stand or blind on public land is  
public and not the property of the person who constructed the 
stand. Any use of threat or force against another person to gain 
possession of a stand is unlawful.

PARTY HUNTING
• A “party” is defined as any group of two or more licensed deer hunt-

ers who are all afield; hunting together at the same time; and all using 
firearms (including muzzleloaders) or all using archery.

 
IMPORTANT! The intent of the party hunting regulation is to 

prevent parties from shooting more deer than the available number 
of tags. The party hunting regulation requires that all hunters who 
intend to tag deer for each other be hunting together, in the field, at 
the time the deer are taken. Party members who are not afield hunt-
ing with the individual who takes a deer at the time it is taken may 
not legally tag that deer. Hunters may not lend licenses to or borrow 
licenses from other hunters.

•  A mixed group of firearms and archery hunters is considered two 
 separate parties.

•  Any member of a party meeting this definition may kill a deer for any 
other member of the party who has an unused tag valid for that deer, 
except party members may not kill an antlerless deer in a lottery 
deer permit area for: 1) a member of the party who is a resident 
under age 18; or 2) a disabled person authorized to take antlerless 
deer under a permit to shoot from a motor vehicle.

•  Multi-Zone Buck license-holders may party hunt with Regular Firearms 
license-holders, except in Zone 3B and the Muzzleloader Season.

•  All-Season Deer license-holders may party hunt (see page 77).
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USING SNOWmOBILES ANd ALL-TERRAIN vEHIcLES
To reduce disturbance during the prime hunting times, a person 

 possessing any valid deer license is restricted to the following hours of 
 operation for snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles (ATVs*) during the fire-
arms deer season, including the muzzleloader season.

Such vehicles may only be operated:
a)  before legal shooting time (one-half hour before sunrise),
b)  from 11 a.m. until 2 p.m, and
c)  after legal shooting hours (one-half hour after sunset).

• This regulation applies to all public and private lands and waters 
except for occupational use by landowners, their employees and 
immediate family on their own land while not in possession of a 
firearm.

•  A permit to operate snowmobiles or ATVs during the closed time 
 periods may be issued by a DNR conservation officer in an emergency 
or other unusual condition.

•  ATVs and snowmobiles are not allowed in State Parks, National 
Wildlife Refuges, Scientific and Natural Areas, or Wildlife Manage-
ment Areas. ATV use is regulated in state and national forests. (See 
rules on using public lands, pages 125-146.) 

  *  ATVs are defined for the purposes of these regulations as all vehicles not  
requiring Minnesota Department of Public Safety licensing, including  
trail bikes, 3-wheelers, 4-wheelers, 6-wheelers, tracked vehicles, and other 
similarly manufactured or homemade vehicles.

SPEcIAL SEASONS FOR HUNTERS WITH PHYSIcAL dISABILITIES
Special deer hunts for hunters with physical disabilities are tentatively 

scheduled at a number of sites (see table on page 72). Additional hunts 
for disabled archers may be organized by Capable Partners, and are not 
listed here. For more information call the DNR Information Center at 1-
888-MINN DNR (888-646-6367).

Persons who are totally blind may use a laser sight to participate in 
assisted special hunting opportunities.
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2005 disabled deer Hunts
   
Hunt name dates Location
Camp Ripley DAV Oct . 5-6 Morrison County 
St Cloud Veterans Hospital 
(320) 255-6323

Carlos Avery WMA Sanctuary Oct . 8–16 Anoka County 
www .CapablePartners .org 
(763) 439-1038 

Lac Qui Parle Refuge Sept . 17–25 Lac Qui Parle WMA 
www .CapablePartners .org 
(763) 439-1038 

Rydell National Wildlife Refuge Oct . 13–15  Polk County 
Options Resource Center 
(218) 773-6100 

Lake Bemidji State Park Nov . 7–8 Beltrami County 
MDHA(Bemidji Chapter) 
(800) 450-3337

Camp Wilderness Hunt Sept . 29–Oct 2 DMU 244, 245 
United Foundation for Disabled Archers 
http://www .uffdaclub .com

REGISTRATION ANd TRANSPORTATION
deer Registration

Every deer taken must be registered. Registration stations display 
large, orange “Big Game Registration” signs. You may view a complete 
list of all stations at any DNR Wildlife office or on the DNR Web site. 

The person whose tag is on the deer must personally present the 
deer at an official deer registration station and receive a Big Game 
 Possession Tag. This tag must be attached to the hind leg, ear, or antler 
where the Site Tag was attached.‑

A Possession Tag must be obtained:
a)  within 24 hours after the expiration of the season under which 

the deer was taken (for example, a deer taken during the Zone 
4A firearms season must be registered within 24 hours after the 
close of the 4A season, even if the deer is tagged by a Multi-
Zone or All-Season Deer licensee); and

b)  before the deer is processed, either privately or commercially. 
Deer may be transported out of the zone where taken without 
being registered first.
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ELS Registration
At registration stations in Aitkin, Cloquet, Twin Cities, Pine County, 

Winona, Little Falls, and other locations throughout the state, Minnesota 
possession tags will be printed by the ELS terminal and must be attached 
with a string or wire like the site tag (see page 76). This system should 
improve the efficiency and accuracy of deer harvest estimates and provide 
more timely information to hunters.
Transportation
•  A legally registered animal may be transported any time during 

and after the deer hunting season.
•  The licensee must accompany the deer in transport except as follows: 

A deer that has been registered may be transported by another per-
son, if the signature, address, and license number of the licensee and 
the origin and destination of the transport are written on the back 
of the possession tag. A licensee also does not have to accompany an 
animal transported by commercial transportation (see page 37).

•  All deer in transport must be readily accessible for inspection by 
DNR conservation officers.

•  The head of a deer must remain attached to the carcass until the 
deer is registered. Skin and entrails may be removed before reg-
istration. Deer may be quartered before being registered, but the 
animal’s head must remain attached to one of the quarters.

• Whole deer, elk, caribou, or moose carcasses from other states or 
provinces may not be brought into Minnesota from areas known to 
have CWD in wild deer or elk (see page 59).

dEER—FIREARmS

Shooting Hours
Legal shooting hours are one-half hour before sunrise to one-half 

hour after sunset.

Legal Buck and Antlerless deer
•  A “legal buck” is a deer having one antler at least 3 inches long. 

Fawn bucks, sometimes called button bucks, are not legal bucks.
•  “Antlerless deer” are those without an antler at least 3 inches long. 

Rifle-Shotgun Boundary 
• In the Shotgun Zone (see map on the back of the large, deer zone 

map, available separately), deer hunters may use only legal shot-
guns loaded with single-slug shotgun shells, legal muzzle-loading 
long guns, or legal handguns. 

• Legal shotguns include those with rifled barrels. 
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  EARLY ANTLERLESS dEER SEASON
• Permit areas 209, 210, 225, 227, 236, 252, 256, and 257 (the last 3 

permit areas were formerly 401, 405, and 406) are open October 15 
to October 16 for the taking of antlerless deer by firearms. 

• Hunters must possess a valid zone license and an early antlerless deer 
permit. The following firearm licenses are valid:
– Zone 2, multi-zone buck, all-season, and muzzleloader licenses are 

valid in all 8 deer permit areas. 
• Zone 1, 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B licensees cannot hunt during this season.
• Hunters may not tag deer with their regular firearms, multi-zone 

buck, or antlerless portion of their all-season deer license.
• All harvested deer must be tagged with an early season antlerless per-

mit, which are available for $14 from ELS license agents.
• Bonus permits are NOT valid during this season.
• All hunters may use any legal firearm.
• The total bag limit is 2 deer, which are in addition to the statewide 

bag limit of 5 deer.
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  mETRO dEER mANAGEmENT zONE
• The metro deer zone is comprised of deer permit areas 228 and 337.
• The season dates are November 5 to November 27, 2005.
• A firearm license valid for any zone or season option can be used in 

this zone. A person can hunt in the metro deer zone with a Zone 1, 2, 
3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, muzzleloader, multi-zone, or all-season license.

• At the time of license purchase, hunters should indicate the permit 
area they typically hunt during the regular deer season. The license is 
automatically valid in the metro deer management zone.

• The total bag limit is 5 and all deer must be registered prior to trans-
porting outside the zone.

LIcENSE OPTIONS
o

Regular Firearms License
• A regular firearms or muzzleloader deer hunter may select a hunt-

ing period and zone from the following options. The hunter’s 
choice will be printed on the license at the time of purchase. 
Only one option is allowed and hunting is not allowed under any 
choice other than the one selected and printed on the license, 
except any license choice is valid in the metro deer management 
zone (permit areas 228 and 337).

(license	options	continued	on	page	77)
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   SITE TAGGING
How to Tag Your Deer and Validate Your Site Tag

Your Deer License and Site 
Tag comes as a 3-part form . 
The upper half is the Site Tag 
for tagging the deer in the 
field . The lower half is the 
Deer License and Registration 
Slip . The Slip will be cut off 
and turned in to a registration 
 station when you register your 
deer (see page 72) . 

Before you move your deer 
from the site of kill:
1 . Detach the Site Tag from the 

Deer License/Registration Slip .
2 .  Validate the tag by using a 

knife or similar sharp object 
to cut out the appropriate 
notches indicating:

 •  Month the deer was 
killed,

 •  Date it was killed, and
 •  Time of day it was killed 

(a .m . or p .m .) . Mark 
carefully—if more than 
one month, date, or time 
is cut out or marked, the 
tag becomes invalid .

 3 .  Follow the instructions below 
to apply the tag to the deer:

 • Tie or attach a 10- to 12-
inch twine or wire secure-
ly to the deer around the 
base of an antler, through 
a slit cut in either ear, or 
between the tendon and 
bone of a hind leg, leav-
ing the two long ends of 
the string or wire free . 
Note that this will require 
you to bring a piece of wire or string into the field with you .

 •  Pull one end of the twine or wire through one of the pre-cut holes 
on the Site Tag . Secure ends of the wire or twine together . Note 
that tags no longer fold and are not adhesive . 

Detach here

Part 1: Site Tag

Notch time,  
date, and 
month here

Part 2:
License
Always retain .

Part 3: 
Registration 
Slip 
You exchange 
this at the 
registration 
station for a 
Possession Tag . 

Use twine or wire 
coming from deer ear, 
antler base, or leg and 
passing through one of 
the pre-cut holes in the 
Site Tag .
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 zONE/TImE   dEScRIPTION                       dATES 
 OPTION*    
 1A Legal Buck or Antlerless as authorized   Nov . 5–20
 2A Legal Buck or Antlerless as authorized     Nov . 5–13
 3A Legal Buck or Antlerless as authorized  Nov . 5–11  
 3B          Legal Buck or Antlerless as authorized     Nov . 19–27
  4A Legal Buck or Antlerless as authorized Nov . 5-6
 4B          Legal Buck or Antlerless as authorized Nov . 12–15
 Muzzleloader   Either Sex, Statewide except closed areas Nov . 26–Dec . 11

* Resident youth hunters under age 18 may take deer of either sex without an either-
sex permit . 

•  Hunters who choose any of the zones 1A, 2A, 3A, 3B, 4A, or 4B 
options may hunt using muzzle-loading guns, but must follow 
 regular firearms rules and cannot hunt during the Muzzleloader 
Season.

All-Season deer License
• All-Season Deer Licenses are available from any ELS license agent, 

the DNR License Center, by telephone, or by internet (see page 147).
• Two deer may be harvested with this license.
• It comes with a buck tag and an antlerless tag. A buck must be har-

vested on the buck tag and an antlerless deer must be harvested on the 
antlerless tag. 

• Buck tag:
–  Can be used statewide during the archery or muzzleloader seasons.
–  Can be used in all regular firearms zones/areas except 3B.

• Antlerless tag:
–  Can be used during the archery or muzzleloader seasons in all open 

permit areas.
–  To take an antlerless deer during the firearms season you must 

apply for and draw an either-sex permit in lottery or special hunt 
areas, or harvest the antlerless deer in a managed or intensive per-
mit area.

• Party hunting is legal with this license.
• No other deer-hunting license (archery, regular firearms, or muzzle-

loader) may be purchased in addition to this license, except hunters 
may purchase bonus and early-season antlerless permits.

• Holders of this license may hunt in any open archery, regular firearms 
(except 3B), or muzzleloader season and area, using the legal firearm 
or bow and arrows for the respective season and zone.

• Bonus permits may be purchased and used in managed and intensive 
permit areas.

Deer
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• Bag Limits 
– Can harvest a total of 2 deer (1 buck and 1 antlerless) using 

the tags that come with the license in a lottery area if hunting 
during archery or muzzleloader season or during the firearms 
season if successful in the lottery.

–  Can harvest a total of 3 deer (1 buck and 2 antlerless) using the 
tags that come with the license and a bonus permit in one man-
aged area.

–  Can harvest up to 5 deer (1 buck and 4 antlerless) using the 
tags that come with the license and 3 bonus permits in inten-
sive areas.

multi-zone Buck License
• Multi-Zone Buck Licenses are available from any ELS license 

agent, from the DNR License Center in St. Paul, by telephone, or 
by internet (see page 147).

• These licenses allow hunters to hunt and to tag a legal buck in any 
open Regular Firearms Season, except Zone 3B and the Muzzle-
loader Season. 

• Those who have a Multi-Zone Buck License may hunt as a party 
with anyone holding a Regular Firearms or All-Season License dur-
ing any of the zone and time options except in Zone 3B and the 
Muzzleloader season. However, the license can only be used to tag 
a legal buck.

• You may not purchase both a Multi-Zone Buck License and a Reg-
ular Firearms License. If you have a Multi-Zone Buck License, you 
may not apply for Antlerless or Special Area Permits, however, you 
may purchase bonus permits (see page 69). 

Landowner Free deer License
These licenses allow the taking of one antlerless deer per farm in 

managed and intensive deer permit areas. (See page 68).

Bonus and Early-Season Antlerless Permits
These permits allow the taking of additional deer in specified areas 

(see pages 69).

Youth Licensing and Hunting Options
See page 39.

 Northwest minnesota Youth deer Season
Youth age 12-14 may hunt Oct. 22-23 (see page 40).

 Hunters With disabilities: Either-Sex deer Hunting
A disabled person with a permit to shoot from a motor vehicle 

may take deer of either sex without an antlerless permit. 
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EITHER-SEx ANd SPEcIAL HUNT AREA PERmITS

Important! 
• The application deadline for Lottery either-sex and Special Area 

Permits is Thursday, Sept. 8. The deadline for special youth hunts 
(except the Northwest Special Youth Season) is Friday, August 19. 
Applications must be made at an ELS license agent, the DNR 
License Center, or by telephone, by these dates. To apply, you must 
first purchase a deer license.

• Residents under the age of 18 as of November 5 and disabled per-
sons with a permit to shoot from a stationary motor vehicle may 
take a deer of either sex in lottery deer permit areas without hav-
ing to apply for or obtain an either-sex permit. Youth ages 12-17 
who qualify under this provision may not apply for an either-sex per-
mit or accrue additional preference for these areas. All hunters must 
apply if they wish to participate in a special hunt.

• Regular Firearms Deer hunters may apply for a lottery either-sex 
permit or a Special Hunt Area Permit within the zone and 
time option printed on their license. Hunters licensed for the 
Muzzleloader Season may also apply for Special Hunt Area Permits 
during that season (see pages 91).

• Multi-Zone Buck hunters may not apply for either-sex permits or  
Special Hunt Area Permits. Multi-Zone Buck hunters may purchase 
bonus and early-season antlerless permits (see page 69).

• All-Season Deer hunters may apply in lottery deer permit areas or 
 special hunts and may purchase bonus and early-season antlerless per-
mits (see page 69).

Lottery Either-Sex Permits
•  Either-sex permits allow a person to take a deer of either sex within 

the specified lottery deer permit area. 
• Areas and permit quotas are shown on the large deer zone map, 

available separately. 
• Either-sex permit holders may take antlerless deer only in the area 

specified on the permit, but they may hunt deer anywhere in the 
zone during the time period indicated on the license. 
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LOTTERY dEER PERmIT AREAS
Firearms hunters who hunt a Lottery Deer Permit area may apply for 

an either-sex permit by Thursday, Sept. 8, 2005. Winners will be notified 
by mail and will receive an authorization to a take deer of either-sex in 
that Lottery Deer Permit area. All-Season Deer license holders success-
ful in the lottery may use the antlerless portion of their license to tag the 
deer. Hunters in lottery areas may also hunt deer throughout the zone(s) 
where their license is valid.

2005 Lottery Deer Permit Areas – In the following areas, firearms 
hunters may not take antlerless deer unless they have applied for and 
received an either-sex permit in the lottery application process: 116, 122, 
127, 152, 167, 168, 175, 197, 199, 338A, 339A, 341A, 342A, 343A, 
344A, 344B, 345A, 422A, 422B, 424A, 424B, 425A, 425B, 426A, 
426B, 427A, 427B, 431A, 431B, 433A, 433B, 435A, 435B, 440A, 
440B, 442A, 442B, 443A, 443B, 446A, 446B, 447A, 447B, 448A, 
448B, 449A, 449B, 450A, 450B, 451A, 451B, 453A, 453B, 454A, 
454B, 455A, 455B, 457A, 457B, 458A, 458B, 459A, 459B, 463A, 
463B. (See large deer zone map, available separately.)

Special Hunt Permit Areas
•  Special Hunt Permits are required to hunt deer in Special Permit 

Areas (such as parks) where the number of hunters must be limited 
to control the harvest or for public safety. 

• Special Hunt Permit Areas for regular firearms hunters are listed in 
the table.

• Those who receive Special Hunt Area Permits may also hunt deer 
outside that Special Hunt Area but only in the zone and during 
the time period indicated on the license.

• You may apply for Special Hunt Permit Areas in parties of up to 4 
hunters. See application instructions page 83.

TO REPORT 
GAmE ANd FISH LAW 
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  SPEcIAL REGULATIONS AT SOmE STATE PARkS
The Divisions of Parks and Fish and Wildlife are collaborating on 

a research project to evaluate the effectiveness of alternative regulations 
on deer populations. For 2005, two regulations will be tested: 1) antler-
point restrictions, and 2) the requirement to harvest an antlerless deer 
prior to taking a buck (earn-a-buck). Please refer to the following special 
hunt table to determine if your hunt has a special regulation. Successful 
applicants will be mailed additional information prior to the hunting 
season.

Information for Hunting in State Parks with Antler-Point 
Restrictions
How to count points

Depending on the park, a deer must have 
a minimum of either three or four points on 
one side to be taken.
1) An antler point, if it is at least 1-inch long
2) The brow tine, if it is at least 1-inch long
3) The end of the main beam
4) Any broken tine that is at least 1-inch 

long

Hunting tips and how to field judge a buck
•	 The antler point restriction regulations are designed to protect at 

least half of the yearling (1½ year old) buck population. When 
field judging a buck, if it has a small body and thin neck, it may 
be a yearling.

•	 Bring binoculars and take the time to look at the antlers and count 
the points before you take a shot.

•	 Wait for the deer to turn broadside, it will make it easier to count 
points.

Deer
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Buck with spikes less 
than 3 inches long

Button buck
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Legal to Harvest
At all state parks with antler point restrictions, does, button bucks, 

and bucks with spikes less than 3 inches are legal to take on regular 
licenses and bonus permits. However, to improve the effectiveness of 
the regulation, it is better to focus on does and not harvest button 
bucks or legal spikes. The following bucks meet the minimum	stan-
dards for harvest. Bucks with more points than shown in the illustra-
tions are also legal to harvest.

Itasca and Savanna-Portage State Parks – Bucks with at least 
three antler points on one side.

Forestville State Park – Bucks with at least four antler points on one 
side.

Six point bucks with three points 
on each side . Note the difference 
in antler sizes between the two 

deer

Five point buck with three 
points on one side

Side view of a buck with four 
points on each side

Seven point buck with four points 
on one side
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How To Apply For Permits
Note: The drawings for all firearms Special Hunt Area Permits are combined as 

part of the Either-Sex Permit Preference System .
General Instructions
• Applications for Either-Sex Permits and Special Hunt Area Permits must be made 

at one of the 1,800 ELS agents at the DNR License Center, by telephone, or by 
internet before the Sept. � deadline. Applications can be completed as part of 
the process of purchasing your Regular Deer License .

• You may apply for only one firearms permit . You may not apply for both an 
Either-Sex Deer Permit and a Special Area Permit .

• Residents and nonresidents are eligible for permits .
• A permit is not transferable between persons or between areas .
• Residents under the age of 18 as of Nov . 5 do not need to apply for an 

Antlerless Permit to take an antlerless deer . They must apply for a Special Area 
Permit to participate in a special hunt .

• All residents 21 or over must present their Minnesota Driver’s License or 
Minnesota Identification Card at time of application .

Antlerless and Special Area Permit Application Instructions
The ELS license agent will ask you a series of questions in order to complete the 

transaction . The questions are as follows .
• Do you qualify for resident license? (Present your resident identification; see 

above)
• Type of license applying for? (Resident firearm license: Code-212 or 219 or 

Lifetime 414; nonresident firearm license: Code-222)
• Zone you are hunting in? (See large deer zone map, available separately .)
•    If you select one of the Lottery Deer Permit Areas shown on the large deer 

zone map (available separately) and listed in the quota table (on the map), 
you must submit an application for an either-sex permit before you can be 
authorized to take an antlerless deer . Deer Permit Areas are identified by 
three-digit numbers within the white boundary lines . Permit quotas are shown 
on the table to the right of the map . Or, if interested in a Special Hunt 
Permit Area, see pages 84, 85, 91 for a listing of special firearms hunt areas 
and provide the appropriate 3-digit number for the special area you select .

• Group option for Special Hunt Permit Area Only: You may apply for special 
hunt area permits individually or as a member of a group . When applying as 
a group, either all members will be selected or none . All group members must 
apply for the same special hunt . The first applicant of each group will ”cre-
ate a new group“ in the ELS system and will receive a group ID number that 
is printed on the receipt and must be supplied to the rest of the group to use 
when they apply . Those group members will ask the ELS license agent to ”join 
an existing group“ and will provide the group number . The preference of a 
group is determined by the member with the lowest preference .
This will complete the application/license transaction . Immediately check 

your receipt and deer license to make sure the agent entered your informa-
tion correctly. This is the only time this information can be changed. Your 
either-sex deer application will be sent to Minnesota DNR automatically for the 
lottery permit drawing .
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Selection and Notification of Successful Applicants
•  If permit applications exceed quotas, computerized drawings will 

be used to determine who will be issued permits.
•  Drawings for Special Area Permits are based on a preference sys-

tem. Applicants for Special Area Permits accumulate preference in 
the same manner as applicants for Either-Sex Permits. This system 
gives the highest preference to those who have applied the most 
times without receiving a permit. A person’s preference is the 
same whether applying for an Either-Sex Permit or a Special Area 
Permit.

•  Preference is not affected if a person applies for an area different 
from the year before or if a person does not apply for one or more 
years.

•  The preference for Special Area applicants who apply as a group is 
based on the individual in the group with the lowest preference. 

•  Only successful applicants will be notified. 
•  Permits will be drawn and mailed by October 24. Information 

about the drawings and individual applications is not available 
until after this date. Applicants may check the DNR Web page 
(www.dnr.state.mn.us) on October 24 to view antlerless permit lot-
tery results.

•  If you submitted a valid application and are not notified by Oct. 24, 
you can assume your application was not selected this year, and that 
your preference will increase if you apply in a future year. 

mANAGEd dEER PERmIT AREAS
Firearms deer hunters who hunt in a Managed Deer Permit Area may 

take a deer of either sex on their regular license and they may also pur-
chase and use one bonus permit. Bonus permits are available for one-half 
the cost of a regular license from ELS license agents or the DNR License 
Center in St. Paul. Bonus permits allow the taking of one antlerless deer. 

Note: All-Season Deer license holders may take one buck and one 
antlerless deer on their regular license and may purchase additional bonus 
permits. Multi-Zone Buck license holders may also purchase bonus per-
mits. 

2005 Managed Deer Permit Areas—Bonus permits are valid for 
taking one, antlerless-only deer in the following Managed Deer Permit 
Areas:  104, 107, 111, 114, 115, 126, 154, 170, 172, 174, 178, 180, 
181, 183, 201, 203, 224, 235, 247, 249, 251, 297, 298, 338B, 339B, 
345B, 346A, 347A, 348A, 349A, 416*, 417*, 418*, 423*, 428*, 452*, 
456*, 461*, 462*, 464*, 465*, 466
 * denotes both A and B seasons.
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INTENSIvE dEER PERmIT AREAS
Firearms deer hunters who are hunting in Intensive Deer Permit Areas 

may take a deer of either sex on their regular license and may also pur-
chase and use up to four bonus permits. Bonus permits are available for 
one-half the cost of a regular license from ELS license agents or the DNR 
License Center in St. Paul. Firearms hunters may use bonus permits to 
take antlerless deer only. 

Note: All-Season Deer license holders may purchase and use up to 
three bonus permits. The total individual harvest may not exceed five 
deer. Bonus permits are valid in any Intensive Deer Permit Area for 
which you have a valid regular license, including Multi-Zone Buck and 
All-Season Deer licenses.

2005 Intensive Deer Permit Areas—Bonus permits are valid for tak-
ing additional antlerless deer, up to a grand total of five deer, in the fol-
lowing Intensive Deer Permit Areas:  105, 110, 156, 157, 159, 182, 184, 
202, 204, 206, 207, 208, 209, 210, 221, 222, 223, 225, 227, 228, 236, 
241, 242, 243, 244, 245, 246, 248, 252, 253, 254, 255, 256, 257, 258, 
259, 287, 337*, 341B, 342B, 343B, 346B, 347B, 348B, 349B, 410*, 
411*, 412*, 413*, 414*, 415*, 419*, 420*, 421*, 429*, 467*

2005 Special Hunt Permit Areas—With the exception of Rydell 
National Wildlife Refuge and the Whitewater State Game Refuge, bonus 
permits are valid to take a second, third, fourth, or fifth antlerless-only 
deer for hunters with special hunt permits.

ITAScA STATE PARk
Itasca State Park (Becker, Clearwater, and Hubbard counties) is open 

to firearms deer hunting (Zone 2, Multi-Zone or All-Season deer license 
holders) and for antlerless deer (using bonus permits), except were posted 
closed. The park is not open during the archery or muzzleloader seasons. 

For 2005, only bucks with at least one three-point antler can be taken. 
Bucks not meeting this minimum antler-point restriction are protected 
and cannot be harvested. Antlerless deer can be taken with a regular 
license, the antlerless portion of an all-season license, or bonus permits. 
Please refer to page 81-82 for more information regarding antler-point 
restriction regulations. 



��

2005 Minnesota Hunting Regulations

(Intentionally left blank)



�9

Deer

dEER—mUzzLELOAdER‑

Important! All hunters and trappers during the 16-day Muzzle-
loader Season must meet blaze orange requirements (see page 34-35).
Important Dates:

 Nov. 26–Dec. 11: Open Muzzleloader Season. 
Shooting Hours: 

Legal hours are one-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after 
sunset.
Open Area:

Muzzleloader hunters may hunt on both public and private lands  
statewide except for the closed areas listed below.
Closed Area:

  1.   Permit Areas 116, 126, and 127 are closed to muzzleloader 
hunting to protect wintering deer.

  2.  Permit areas 203 (Agassiz National Wildlife Refuge) and 224 
(Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge)

  3.  Permit Area 287 (Itasca State Park) 
  4.  Refuges and other areas closed to firearms hunting are also 

closed to muzzleloader hunting.
  5. Rice Lake, Sandstone, and Rydell National Wildlife Refuges.

Legal Muzzleloader:
See definitions of legal muzzleloaders on pages 59-60.

 

The muzzleloader option allows hunters to take a deer of either-sex, 
except in some special hunts (see table on page 91). Muzzleloader hunters 
may also apply for one of the Muzzleloader Special Area Permits listed on 
page 91.

mANAGEd dEER PERmIT AREAS
Hunters who select the Muzzleloader option on their Firearms License 

and are hunting in a Managed Deer Permit Area may purchase and use 
one Bonus Permit to take an additional antlerless deer in one Managed 
Deer Permit Area. The bonus permit can be purchased for one-half the 
cost of a regular license from ELS license agents or the DNR License 
Center in St. Paul. A muzzleloader hunter can use one bonus permit to 
tag one, antlerless-only deer in any of the following areas:

2005 Managed Deer Permit Areas – Bonus permits issued to 
Muzzleloader hunters are valid for taking one, antlerless-only deer in any 
one of the following Managed Deer Permit Areas: 104, 107, 111, 114, 
115, 154, 170, 172, 174, 178, 180, 181, 183, 201, 235, 247, 249, 251, 
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297, 298, 338, 339, 345, 416, 417, 418, 423, 428, 452, 456, 461, 462, 
464, 465, 466

2005 Special Hunt Permit Areas – Bonus permits are also valid to 
take one, antlerless-only deer for muzzleloader hunters with a permit for 
Lake Shetek, Myre-Big Island, and Nertstrand Woods State Parks. Up to 
four bonus permits can be used in Jay Cooke, Crow Wing, and Interstate 
State Parks.

INTENSIvE dEER PERmIT AREAS
Hunters who select the Muzzleloader option on their Firearms License 

and are hunting in an Intensive Deer Permit Area may purchase and use up 
to four Bonus Permits to take additional antlerless deer. These permits may 
be purchased for one-half the cost of a regular license from ELS license 
agents or the DNR License Center in St. Paul. The total individual harvest 
may not exceed five deer. Note: All-Season license holders who hunt with a 
muzzleloader may purchase and use up to three Bonus Permits. 

2005 Intensive Deer Permit Areas – Intensive Harvest Permits 
issued to Muzzleloader hunters are valid for taking up to four antlerless-
only deer in the following Intensive Deer Permit Areas: 105, 110, 156, 
157, 159, 182, 184, 202, 204, 206, 207, 208, 209, 210, 221, 222, 223, 
225, 227, 228, 236, 241, 242, 243, 244, 245, 246, 248, 252, 253, 254, 
255, 256, 257, 258, 259, 337, 341, 342, 343, 346, 347, 348, 349, 410, 
411, 412, 413, 414, 415, 419, 420, 421, 429, 467 (see large deer zone 
map, available separately).

A message from your DNR conservation officers:
As you go afield, be safe, be ethical, and be the most 

reponsible hunter you can possibly be. If these are your 
goals, you will always succeed. 

Conservation officers will be afield with you this fall, 
as they have been for 117 years. Our aim is to stop poach-
ing, promote safety, and make sure that laws that protect 
habitat and wildlife populations are followed. 

Minnesota’s abundance of wildlife is no accident. It 
is the direct product of habitat, management, and com-
pliance with the law. When you follow the regulations 
you are on the trail to a safe, rewarding, and successful  
hunt. And that’s the kind of hunt that we, your DNR  
 conservation officers, want you tofind. DN
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2005 Special Hunt Permit Areas – Muzzleloader hunters with  
special hunt permits for Jay Cooke, Crow Wing, Afton, Lake Louise, and 
Interstate State Parks may purchase and use up to four bonus permits. 
Special hunt permit holders on Lake Shetek, Myre-Big Island, and 
Nerstrand-Big Woods state parks may use one bonus permit.

SPEcIAL PERmIT AREAS FOR mUzzLELOAdER HUNTERS
The following are Special Permit Areas open during the Muzzleloader 

Season. Application instructions are the same as for other Firearms 
Special Permit Areas and are described on pages 83. 

Note: Applicants for Special Permit Areas may apply in parties of up 
to four hunters.

2005 Special Permit Areas for muzzleloader Hunters

AREA NAME ZONE COUNTY AREA NO . DATES NO . OF BONUS
      PERMITS PERMIT?
Jay Cooke State Park ML Carlton 931 11/26–11/30 90 * Yes1

Crow Wing State Park ML Crow Wing 932 12/2-12/4 40 ** Yes1

Lake Shetek State Park ML Murray 933 12/3-12/6 22 *** Yes2

Sibley State Park ML Kandiyohi 934 12/3-12/4 40 *** No
Myre Big Island ML Freeborn 935 11/26-11/28 40 *** Yes2

Nerstrand Woods State Park ML Rice 936 11/26-11/28 40 ** Yes2

Interstate State Park ML Chisago 937 11/26-12/11 15 *** Yes1

  
 * Either sex 11/26-11/27 . Antlerless only 11/28-11/29 
 ** Either Sex
 *** Antlerless Only
  1 Up to 4 Bonus Permits may be purchased .
  2 Up to 1 Bonus Permit may be purchased .

Deer
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Protecting wetlands is crucial to ensuring healthy populations 
of ducks, pheasants, herons, and even deer. Minnesota leads 
the nation in protecting wetlands. Let’s not lose that honor.

“Save the Wetlands”
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dEER—ARcHERY
  SHOOTING HOURS

Shooting hours for archery deer hunting are one-half hour before sun-
rise to one-half hour after sunset.

YOUTH LIcENSE
Residents under age 18 as of September 17 may purchase half-price 

youth archery deer hunting licenses with the same hunting and tagging 
options as for adult archery deer licenses.

ARcHERY dEER SEASON
Northeast Border Zone (Permit Areas 116 and 127): 

September 17–November 20.
Remainder of State: September 17–December 31.
Permit Area 287 (Itasca State Park) is closed to Archery Hunting.

Legal deer
Antlerless deer and legal bucks may be taken by archery.

General Restrictions
•  A person possessing both a regular license and a bonus permit 

may use any tag first.
•  No person may take deer by archery while in possession of a firearm, 

including persons with concealed carry permits (see page 28). 

FOR YOUR INFORmATION

Archery In The Schools Program 
If your local middle school or junior high doesn’t offer archery in 

its’ physical education classes, the DNR can help it start. Minnesota 
is participating in the National Archery in the Schools Program 
(NASP), and has a limited number of grants to help purchase archery 
equipment for Minnesota schools. A curriculum and teacher train-
ing are also part of the program, and are also available to schools that 
already have equipment but want to improve their course. For infor-
mation, visit the Web site at: http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/grants/epr/
archeryinschools.html
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Archery Special Permit Areas

Important! Application deadlines vary by hunt. Please check each 
hunt individually.

How To Apply For Archery Special Area Permits
An application for an Archery Special Area Permit must be made on a form 
supplied separately by each special area . No other form of application will be 
accepted . Send your request for an application form with a stamped, self-
addressed, business-sized envelope to the address listed for the special 
area where you wish to hunt . A person may apply for more than one special 
area, but not more than once for a specific hunt .

The following areas are open for archery hunting by Special  
Area Permit:
o

1.  Camp Ripley Bow Hunt
 A total of 2,250 permits will be issued for each of the hunting 

 periods: October 20-21 (Thursday-Friday) and October 29-30 
(Saturday-Sunday). All Camp Ripley Archery hunters will apply for 
a Camp Ripley hunting permit through the DNR’s computerized 
Electronic License System (ELS) at one of the 1,800 statewide Point-
of-Sale (POS) agents, at the DNR’s St. Paul License Center, or by 
the Department’s ELS telephone system (additional $3.50 charge per 
customer call).There is an $8 fee per group member to apply for a 
Camp Ripley Archery Permit. This fee must be paid at the time of 
application and is non-refundable. The application must be made by 
Friday, August 19.

 Note: Hunters may use bonus permits in Camp Riley and the bag 
limit is two deer. 

2.  Crow-Hassan Park Reserve in Hennepin County and Murphy-
Hanrehan Park Reserve in Scott County and Cleary Lake 
Regional Park in Scott County are open to either-sex archery 
hunting November 11-13. Hunters may apply through  
September 8. There will be 130 permits for the Crow-Hassan 
hunt, 180 for the Murphy-Hanrehan hunt and 55 for the Cleary 
Lake hunt. Hunters must specify on the application which hunt 
they are applying for. A $5.00 application fee will be charged at 
the time of application. Up to four bonus permits may be used to 
take and tag antlerless deer during the hunt. Application forms may 
be downloaded from the Three Rivers Park District Web site at: 
http://www.threeriversparkdistrict.org/nrm/ An application form 
can also be obtained by mail by sending a self-addressed, stamped, 
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business-sized envelope to: Three Rivers Park District Bow Hunt, 
3800 County Road 24, Maple Plain, MN 55359.

3. New Ulm City Deer Hunt  
Portions of the city of New Ulm will be open to archery hunting 
Oct. 15–Dec. 31 by special permit from the city. A proficiency 
test and $5 administrative fee will be required. A maximum of 50 
individuals will be issued city permits for this hunt. Applicants 
must purchase a Regular archery license or All-Season deer license 
and one bonus permit to qualify. For an application form and 
description of the hunt requirements, write to: New Ulm City 
Deer Hunt, City Manager’s Office, 100 N. Broadway, New Ulm, 
Minnesota 56073, or call (507) 359-8236. Applications must be 
postmarked no later than August 29, 2005.

4. City of Red Wing Deer Hunt
 Portions of the City of Red Wing are open to archery hunting  

Sept. 17–Dec. 31 by special permit from the city. A proficiency test 
and a $5 city back tag are required. Hunters must possess a valid 
Regular Archery or All-Season Deer License to apply. Hunting is 
allowed on private land within these areas with written landowner 
permission and in certain city park areas under special hunting rules. 
Bonus permits are available and strongly encouraged for participants 
in the city hunt. For more information on the city hunt and to 
obtain permits, write to: Red Wing Public Works, 229 Tyler Road 
S., Red Wing, MN 55066, or call the Administration Department 
at (651) 385-3674.

5.  City of Sandstone Archery Deer Hunt
 Portions of the City of Sandstone are open to archery hunting Sept. 

17-Dec. 31 by special permit from the city. Hunters must possess 
a valid Regular Archery or All-Season Deer License to participate. 
Hunting is allowed on private land within these areas with written 
landowner permission and on certain city-owned lands under special 
hunting rules. Bonus permits are available and strongly encouraged 
for participants in the city hunt. For more information on the city 
hunt and regulations contact: samg@sandstonemn.com or City of 
Sandstone, 119 Fourth Street, PO Box 641, Sandstone, MN 55072 
(320) 245-5241.

6. Mankato City Deer Hunt 
 Portions of the city of Mankato will be open to archery hunting 

Oct. 22–Dec. 31 by special permit from the city. A proficiency 
test and $5 administrative fee will be required. A maximum of 30 
individuals will be issued city permits for this hunt. Applicants must 
possess a Regular archery license or All-Season deer license and one 
bonus permit to qualify. For an application form and description of 
the hunt requirements, write to: Mankato City Deer Hunt, PO Box 
3368, Mankato, MN 56001. Or call (507) 387-8649. 
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7.  Granite Falls City Deer Hunt
 Portions of the city of Granite Falls will be open to archery hunt-

ing Sept. 17–Dec. 31 by special permit from the city. A proficiency 
test and $10 administrative fee will be required. A maximum of 10 
individuals will be issued city permits for this hunt. Applicants must 
possess a Regular archery or All Season deer license and one bonus 
permit to qualify. For an application form and description of the 
hunt requirements, write to: Granite Falls City Deer Hunt, C/O 
Granite Falls Police Dept., 930 4th Street, Suite 3, Granite Falls, 
Minnesota 56241, or call (320) 564-2129. Applications must be 
postmarked no later than August 14, 2005.

8. Ortonville Deer Hunt
 Portions of the city of Ortonville will be open to archery deer 

hunting Oct. 1–Dec. 1 by special permit from the city. A pro-
ficiency test and a $7.50 administrative fee will be required. A 
maximum of 20 individuals will be issued city permits for this 
hunt. Applicants must purchase a regular archery license or all-
season deer license and one bonus permit to qualify. For an appli-
cation form and description of the hunt requirements, write to: 
Ortonville City Deer Hunt, 315 Madison Ave., Ortonville MN 
56278 or call (320) 839-3428. Applications must be received by 
the close of business on September 2, 2005.

9. Rochester City Deer Hunt
 Portions of the city of Rochester are open September 17 to 

December 31 by special permit from the city. Hunters must have 
a valid regular archery or all-season deer license to participate.  
Hunting is allowed on certain lands under special hunting rules 
administered by the city of Rochester.  A proficiency test and 
other restrictions designated by the City of Rochester will apply.  
Bonus permits may be used to take up to four additional antlerless 
deer during the hunt.  For complete information contact: City of 
Rochester Deer Hunt, Terry Spaeth, Room 266, City Hall, 201 
4th Street SE, Rochester, MN 55904 or (507) 285-8082

Other Archery Areas
Carver Rapids State Wayside, the Rice Lake Unit of the 

 Minnesota Valley State Recreation Area, and Minnesota Valley 
NWR (Wilkie and Louisville Units) are open to archery deer hunting. 
(No other portions of the refuge are open to archery deer hunting. See 
page 135.)
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mANAGEd dEER PERmIT AREAS
Archery license holders who are hunting in a Managed Deer Permit 

Area may purchase and use one Bonus Permit to take an additional 
antlerless deer in one Managed Deer Permit Area. The Bonus Permit can 
be purchased for one-half the cost of a regular license from ELS license 
agents or the DNR License Center in St. Paul. An archery deer hunter 
can use one Bonus Permit to tag one, antlerless-only deer in any of the 
following areas:

2005 Managed Deer Permit Areas – A bonus permit issued to an 
archery hunter is valid for taking one, antlerless-only deer in any one 
of the following Managed Deer Permit Areas: 104, 107, 111, 114, 115, 
126, 154, 170, 172, 174, 178, 180, 181, 183, 201, 203, 224, 235, 247, 
249, 251, 297, 298, 338, 339, 345, 416, 417, 418, 423, 428, 452, 456, 
461, 462, 464, 465, 466.

2005 Special Hunt Permit Areas – A bonus permit is also valid to 
take one, antlerless-only deer for hunters with a special hunt permit for 
the Ortonville, New Ulm, Mankato, and Granite Falls Special Hunt 
Areas (see pages 94-95).

Other Areas – Bonus permits are also valid for taking one, antlerless-
only deer within the East Minnesota River State Game Refuge in Blue 
Earth and Le Sueur counties.

INTENSIvE dEER PERmIT AREAS
Archery hunters who are hunting in an Intensive Deer Permit Areas 

may purchase and use up to four Bonus Permits to take additional 
antlerless deer, up to a grand total of five deer. These permits may be pur-
chased for one-half the cost of a regular license from ELS license agents 
or the DNR License Center in St. Paul. The total harvest may not exceed 
five deer. Note: All-season license holders who hunt with a bow may pur-
chase and use up to 3 bonus permits.

2005 Intensive Deer Permit Areas – Bonus permits issued to 
Archery hunters are valid for taking up to four antlerless-only deer in the 
following Intensive Deer Permit Areas: 105, 110, 156, 157, 159, 182, 
184, 202, 204, 206, 207, 208, 209, 210, 221, 222, 223, 225, 227, 228, 
236, 241, 242, 243, 244, 245, 246, 248, 252, 253, 254, 255, 256, 257, 
258, 259, 337, 341, 342, 343, 346, 347, 348, 349, 410, 411, 412, 413, 
414, 415, 419, 420, 421, 429, 467.

2005 Special Hunt Permit Areas – Bonus permits are also valid to 
take up to four antlerless-only deer for hunters with special hunt permits 
for Crow-Hassan, Murphy-Hanrehan, Cleary Lake and some city hunts 
(see pages 93-95).
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Bear

BEAR
REGULATIONS

Bear hunting regulations booklets have been distributed to all Permit 
Area hunters and are available to No-Quota hunters at license agents.
• The bag limit for bears is one per season in quota areas and two per 

season in the no-quota area.
•  White bears may not be taken. 
• Cub bears may not be taken.

See bear hunting regulations booklet for additional information.

Important Dates:
 August 12: Start of baiting.
 September 1–October 16: Bear Season.
 Late March 2006: Applications available.
 May 5, 2006: Application deadline for the 2006 season.

LIcENSING
Residents and nonresidents can participate in a drawing for licenses 

within Bear Permit Areas, and they may purchase a license over the 
counter for the No-Quota Area. Leftover licenses remaining after the 
drawing will be available beginning in early August. Preference is not 
affected by purchasing leftover licenses. Bear licenses must be validated at 
the site of kill before the bear is removed from the site.

Bear Permit Area Licenses
Applications for Bear Permit Area Licenses (see map, next page) 

are available in mid-March. The application deadline is the first  
Friday in May. Applications may be made individually or as part of a 
group of up to four individuals.

Applicants receive higher preference the more times they have 
been unsuccessful in past drawings. All accumulated preference is 
lost once you are issued a Bear Permit Area License. Obtaining a No-
Quota Bear License has no effect on preference. 

No-quota Licenses
A person who hunts bears outside the permit areas does not have 

to participate in a drawing and may purchase a No-Quota Bear 
 License from any ELS license agent or from the DNR License Center 
in St. Paul. A hunter with a No-Quota License may only hunt out-
side the Permit Areas.
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Moose and Elk

mOOSE
The application deadline for the 2005 moose hunt was June 17, 2005. 

A total of 284 licenses were available in 30 zones in the northeastern part 
of the state. Northwestern Minnesota remains closed to moose hunting 
due to low population levels. Successful applicants will be notified in 
August and regulations and hunt information will be sent to each license 
holder.

Season dates for the 2005 moose hunt are October 1 to 16. Hunters 
and trappers should be aware that there is a big game season open during 
the above dates in northeastern Minnesota. The 1854 Authority and the 
Red Lake, Fond du Lac, and White Earth Indian Bands will also be con-
ducting moose hunts in these areas of the state.

Minnesota’s moose hunt is for residents only, and since 1991 it has 
been a “once-in-a-lifetime” hunt.

ELk
The application deadline for the 2005 elk hunt was July 15, 2005. One 

bull permit and four antlerless permits were available. The bull season will 
be Sept. 17-25 and the cow season will be Dec. 3-11 in the primary elk 
zone near Grygla, Minnesota.

If there is an elk hunt in 2006, application information will be available 
in June and the application deadline will be in July. There is a $10 appli-
cation fee per hunter and a license for a party of up to two hunters costs 
$250.
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WaTerfoWl
Waterfowl

Important! Because waterfowl seasons and limits aren’t approved 
until late summer, final information on waterfowl was not available 
when this booklet was printed. 

Be sure to consult the Waterfowl Hunting Regulations Supple-
ment available from ELS license agents and the DNR License Center 
in early September for specific information on seasons and limits. 

Migratory waterfowl are subject to both state and federal regula-
tions. A summary of federal waterfowl regulations begins on page 
114.

Important Dates: 
Season Openers: The regular waterfowl season opener will 

be October 1, 2005. Other waterfowl season information will be 
announced through news releases and in the Waterfowl Hunting 
Regulations Supplement, available in early September.

Blind Reservations—Lac qui Parle: Hunters may apply to reserve 
hunting stations at Lac qui Parle Wildlife Management Area (WMA). 
Applications with the earliest postmark between August 22 and Sept. 
14 will be accepted on a first-come, first-served basis. Additional details 
will be announced in early August (see page 110-111).

Youth Waterfowl Hunt: This will be announced in late August 
and in the Waterfowl Hunting Regulations Supplement. The tenta-
tive date is Sept. 17.

definitions
•  “Migratory game birds” means ducks, geese, mergansers, coots, 

moorhens (gallinules), woodcock, rails, snipe, and mourning 
doves.

•  “Migratory waterfowl” means ducks, geese, and mergansers.
•  “Undressed bird” means ducks and mergansers with one 

fully feathered wing and head attached or geese with one fully 
 feathered wing attached (other migratory and small game  
birds must be transported as described on page 49).

HARvEST INFORmATION PROGRAm cOmPLIANcE
All migratory bird hunters, including waterfowl hunters, must be in 

compliance with the harvest information program by indicating that they 
intend to hunt migratory birds when answering the migratory bird hunt-
ing survey questions on the Electronic Licensing System (ELS) terminal.

W
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  mOTORIzEd dEcOYS
From the opening day of the duck season through Oct. 8, motorized 

decoys or other motorized devices may not be used to take migratory 
waterfowl, or geese (see waterfowl regulations supplement available in early 
September for details). Motorized decoys or other motorized devices used 
to attract migratory waterfowl are prohibited on Wildlife Management 
Areas during the entire duck season.

LIcENSE REqUIREmENTS
Waterfowl hunters must have a Minnesota Small Game License in 

their possession while hunting unless they are exempt from a license 
 requirement. See page 43 for small game licensing details.

STAmP REqUIREmENTS
minnesota migratory Waterfowl Stamp
• State Migratory Waterfowl Stamps (State Duck Stamp) cost $7.50 

and are available from ELS license agents and the DNR License 
Center. There is no issuing fee for stamps. An electronically issued 
stamp validation is valid for 30 days. Actual pictorial stamps will 
be mailed to hunters. A pictorial stamp is not valid unless the 
licensee signs it across the face. 

• All resident hunters except those under age 18 or age 65 and over, 
and all nonresident hunters, are required to have a valid State Duck 
Stamp or valid stamp validation in their possession while hunting or 
taking migratory waterfowl. The exceptions are as follows:

a)  Residents who are hunting on their own property don’t need 
a State Duck Stamp, but must possess a Federal Duck Stamp.

b)  Residents who are in the U.S. Armed Forces and are sta-
tioned out of state may hunt waterfowl without a small game 
license and without a State Duck Stamp, if they have official 
military leave papers on their person. However, they must 
possess a Federal Duck Stamp.

Federal migratory Waterfowl Stamp
•  Waterfowl hunters aged 16 and older must carry on their person 

a valid Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp 
(Federal Duck Stamp) signed in ink across the face.

•  Federal Duck Stamps cost $15 and are available at post offices 
and some license agents.

Stamp Requirements For Shooting Preserves
Persons hunting waterfowl on commercial shooting preserves are 

required to have both a Federal and a State Duck Stamp in addition 
to a Small Game License. The only exception is when taking only 
marked, pen-reared mallards.
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•  The Northwest 
Zone (see map) is open 
for Canada goose hunting 
September 3-15.
•  The entire state, except 
the Northwest Zone, 
is open for Canada 
goose hunting  
Sept. 3-22. 
•  Shooting 
hours are one-half 
hour before sunrise 
to sunset each day.
•  Daily bag lim-
its are shown on 
the maps by zone. 
Possession limits are 
double the daily bag limits.

See next page for 
West-Central map.

SEPTEmBER GOOSE HUNT

SPEcIAL GOOSE HUNTS
A special $4 permit is required to hunt Canada geese during the 

special September and late December seasons. One permit is good 
for both seasons. All persons must have the permit to participate in 
these hunts, except residents under age 18 or age 65 and over, and 
persons hunting on their own property. The permit is available from 
ELS license agents and the DNR License Center or by telephone. 

Waterfowl
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•  In the areas listed below, a person may not shoot at geese while the per-
son is within 100 yards of any surface water. “Surface water” includes, 
but is not limited to wetlands, lakes, rivers, and streams, except tempo-
rarily flooded cropland, hayland, pasture, or other temporarily flooded 
areas (unless they are contiguous with lakes, wetlands, rivers, or streams). 
This restriction does not apply to youth participating in the youth 
Waterfowl Hunt or in other areas as specifically authorized by the commissioner. 
A person may not hunt geese within 100 yards of surface water:

1. in the Northwest, Southeast, and Twin Cities Metro Goose 
Zones;

2. in the Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area; and 
3. in the Swan Lake Area (see map below).
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•   All other goose hunting regulations in this handbook apply during the 
September season.

•   The controlled hunting zone at Lac qui Parle WMA is closed to hunt-
ing during the September season.

•  The controlled hunting zones at Talcot Lake WMA and Thief Lake 
WMA are open to hunting during the early September goose season, 
subject to the controlled hunting zone regulations on pages 110-113. 
The Talcot Lake CHZ is also open for the special December goose 
hunt.

•   These goose and waterfowl refuges are open to hunting during the 
Sept. season: Goose Refuges: Douglas County; Southwest Otter Tail 
County (Fergus Falls); Ashby in Grant County and Sauk Rapids–Rice 
in Benton County; Waterfowl Refuges: Harstad Slough in Stevens 
County; Rickert Lake in Steele County (note: The Waterfowl 
Sanctuary within this refuge is closed to hunting and trespassing, as 
posted).

• The Elizabeth Lake and German Lake Refuges in Isanti County are 
open to hunting during the September season for youth participation 
in a disignated hunting-mentoring program in Isanti County.

• The Evansville State Game Refuge in Douglas County and the 
Bemidji State Game Refuge (except Lake Bemidji, Mississippi River 
and Stump Lake) in Beltrami County are open for taking of Canada 
geese only during the early September season (see pages 132-134 for a 
list of all state game refuges open to goose hunting).

•   Taking Canada geese on public roads and rights-of-way is prohibited 
 during the early season in the Metro Zone and in Goose Refuges open 
to goose hunting.

Waterfowl

There is no deadline for purchasing the permit. 
GENERAL RESTRIcTIONS

Non-toxic Shot Required
It is unlawful to take geese, ducks, mergansers, coots, or moor-

hens with lead shot or while having any lead shot in possession. This 
 restriction includes muzzle-loading shotguns and taking pen-reared 
mallards on commercial shooting preserves. Only steel shot, copper-, 
nickel-, or zinc-plated steel shot, bismuth tin shot, tungsten-iron 
shot, tungsten-nickel-iron shot, tungsten-polymer shot, tungsten-
matrix shot, or other shot approved by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service may be used.
o

Shooting Hours
Opening day shooting hours begin at 9 a.m. See separate Waterfowl 

Hunting Regulations Supplement, available in early September.

W
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Opening day Possession Limit
On the opening day of the season, no person may possess more freshly 

killed migratory game birds than is allowed by the daily bag limit.

Harvest Information Program
All hunters of migratory game birds must be Harvest Information 

Program (HIP) certified to legally hunt (see page 43).

Retrieval
A person may not kill or cripple any migratory game bird without 

making a reasonable effort to retrieve the bird and include it in the 
daily bag limit.

Taking in Open Water
A person may not take migratory waterfowl, coots, or rails in open 

water unless that person is:
a)  within a natural growth of vegetation sufficient to partially 

conceal the person or boat, or 
b)  pursuing or shooting wounded birds (while in compliance 

with the watercraft restrictions listed below), or
c) on a river or stream that is not more than 100 yards in 

width.
Watercraft
• A person using watercraft to take migratory waterfowl must comply 

with the provisions for “Taking in Open Water” specified above.
•  Migratory waterfowl may be taken from a floating watercraft 

if the craft is drifting, beached, moored, resting at anchor, or is 
being propelled by paddle, oars, or pole.

•  Migratory waterfowl may be taken from a watercraft propelled by 
motor or sails only if the motor is shut off and the sails are furled 
and the watercraft has stopped.

• A person may not transport any firearm in a boat or other  
watercraft being propelled by motor or sail unless the firearm is 
unloaded and contained in a case. (See pages 27-29 for complete 
arms restrictions.)

• All watercraft (including boats used for duck hunting during the 
duck season) are required to carry and have readily accessible, one 
U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) approved wearable (Type I, II, or III) 
personal flotation device (PFD or life preserver) for each person on 
board. In addition, boats 16 feet or longer (except canoes and 
kayaks) must carry at least one USCG approved Type IV throwable 
device (boat cushion or ring buoy) for the boat. Due to change in 
 federal requirements, boat cushions are no longer acceptable as 
 primary life saving devices.
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•  During open waterfowl seasons, a person may not leave an  
unattended boat used for hunting waterfowl in public waters 
between sunset and one hour before sunrise unless the boat is 
adjacent to private land under control of the person and the water 
does not contain a natural growth of vegetation sufficient to par-
tially conceal a hunter or a boat.

• A duck boat does not have to be licensed during the Waterfowl 
Hunting Season for waterfowl hunting only.

Blinds and Sink Boxes
•  No person may erect a blind in public waters or on public land 

more than one hour before the open season for waterfowl. 
•  No person may take migratory waterfowl, coots, or rails using a 

sink box* or in public waters from a permanent artificial blind.
•  Any blind on public land or in public waters when not in use is 

considered public and not the property of the person who con-
structed it. Any use of threat or force against another person to 
gain possession of a blind is unlawful.

 
 *   A sink box is a structure that allows a hunter to partially hide beneath the 

water surface.

decoys
•  No person may place decoys on public lands or in public waters 

more than one hour before legal shooting hours for waterfowl. 
• No person may leave decoys on public waters between sunset and 

one hour before legal shooting hours or leave decoys unattended dur-
ing other times for more than four consecutive hours, except decoys 
may be left in waters adjacent to private land under control of the 
hunter where there is not sufficient natural vegetation growing 
in the water to partially conceal a hunter. A person may not leave 
decoys in public waters between sunset and one hour before shoot-
ing hours if the decoys constitute a navigational hazard.

Whitefish Netting Season Open
The whitefish netting season on Leech Lake and other lakes is 

open during duck season. Be careful when venturing near buoys.

Possessing and Transporting migratory Waterfowl
A person may not possess or transport unlawfully taken migratory 

game birds. Migratory waterfowl must be transported in an undressed 
condition (ducks and mergansers with head and wing attached; geese 
with wing attached) at all times until delivery to either the taker’s resi-
dence or a commercial processing facility.

Waterfowl
W
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Airboats Prohibited on Lakes designated for Wildlife Use
The use of airboats is prohibited at all times on the following lakes, 

which have been designated for wildlife management purposes, except 
as specifically authorized:

 Lake county
Towner Grant
 Heron Jackson
Sanborn LeSueur
 Pierce Martin
Onamia Mille Lacs
Maria Murray
South Badger Murray
North Badger Murray
Swan Nicollet
Little Rice St . Louis
Big Rice St . Louis
Sand Sibley
 Rice Steele/Dodge
Hassel Swift
 Buffalo Waseca
Goose Waseca
Willis Waseca
Pelican Wright
Spellman (N . and S .) Yellow Medicine

 Lake county
 White Elk Aitkin
 Fish Anoka 
 Cottonwood Blue Earth
 Perch Blue Earth
 Eagle Blue Earth
 Rice Blue Earth
 Hanska Brown
 Patterson Carver
 Tiger Carver
 Big Rice Cass
 Augusta Cottonwood
 Dog Crow Wing
 Christina Douglas/Grant
 Rice Faribault
 Minnesota Faribault
 Bear Freeborn
 Lower Twin Freeborn
 Geneva Freeborn
 Upper Twin Freeborn
 Ash Grant

Report Your Bands. Call 1-800-327-BAND
Each year, state and federal waterfowl biologists mark thousands 

of waterfowl with numbered leg bands. Hunters who report recovered 
bands receive specific information on where and when the bird was 
banded while providing important information for duck manage-
ment. To make reporting your bands easier, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service now has a toll-free phone number. To report bands you recov-
er, call 1-800-327-BAND (2263).

FOR YOUR INFORmATION
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Waterfowl
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mIGRATORY WATERFOWL FEEdING ANd RESTING AREAS
The following areas have been designated Migratory Waterfowl Feeding 

and Resting Areas, when posted as such during the open waterfowl season. 
No person may use any motor-propelled watercraft or aircraft in 

 posted migratory waterfowl feeding and resting areas during the open 
waterfowl season, except electric trolling motors of less than 30 pounds 
thrust may be used on lakes as indicated by the asterisk (*) in the table 
below:

cOUNTY  LAkES

Beltrami Puposky Lake* and Little Puposky Lake*
Big Stone,  Part of marsh Lake, Thielke Lake 
 Lac qui Parle 
 and Swift 
Blue Earth cottonwood Lake
Carver Tiger Lake*
Cass Big Rice Lake
Clearwater Upper Rice Lake
Faribault Part of minnesota Lake*
Freeborn Bear Lake*
Grant and Douglas Part of Lake christina
Itasca Rice Lake (near Max) and Nature‘s (Squaw) Lake
Jackson Part of South Heron Lake* and all of North  
  Heron Lake* except Winzer Bay and North Marsh
Kandiyohi Wagonga Lake* and Lake Lillian*
LeSueur dora, diamond, Henry, Rice, Sanborn and Scotch lakes
McLeod Bakers Lake* and the unnamed lake* in 
  Sec . 28, Twp . 114N ., R . 29 W . (Penn Twp .)
Nicollet  Oakleaf Lake
Otter Tail That part of Lake Lizzie, also known as 
  Rush Lake, located in Sec . 3–9, Twp . 136 N ., R .  
  42 (Lida Twp .); and mud Lake in Aastad Twp .
Polk Turtle Lake*
Pope Lake Nelson* and Lake Johanna
Scott Pleasant Lake
Sibley Washington Lake and mud Lake in Washington Lake
  Twp .
Traverse Part of mud Lake* 

STATE dUck REFUGES
In those portions of state Wildlife Management Areas and federal 

Waterfowl Production Areas posted as duck refuges or sanctuaries, tres-
pass is prohibited from September 1 through the final day of the open 
duck season, or as otherwise posted.
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cONTROLLEd HUNTING zONES 
Waterfowl or small game hunting, as 

 specified, is restricted to designated hunting 
stations in the portions posted as controlled 
hunting zones on or adjacent to the Lac qui 
Parle, Roseau River, Thief Lake, Talcot Lake, 
and Orwell Wildlife Management Areas,  
and the Rochester Game Refuge.

For additional information on wildlife 
management areas, waterfowl production 
areas and refuges see pages 125–146.

General Restrictions
The following regulations apply to persons within all the con-

trolled hunting zones during the open Canada goose seasons or as 
otherwise specified:
•  No more than one hunting party, consisting of no more than 

three hunters, may occupy any hunting station at one time.
•  Waterfowl hunters must have their guns unloaded and cased 

except within 10 feet of a hunting station.
•  The hunting and taking of migratory waterfowl is limited to a 

distance within 10 feet of each designated hunting station, except 
hunters may retrieve downed birds away from a posted station if 
they comply with all other refuge and trespass regulations.

• On public lands, dogs must be on a leash except within 10 feet of 
stations or while retrieving, and must be under control at all times.

•  All persons occupying a hunting station must meet all license 
 requirements to hunt waterfowl in Minnesota. 

•  No person may leave any refuse, offal, or feathers on public lands 
in the controlled hunting zone or in any parking lot or designated 
overnight use area on the management area.

•  No alcoholic beverages may be consumed or possessed at any of 
the hunting stations on public lands.

•  No person may loiter between the designated hunting stations on 
public lands.

• On public lands, after each party member has bagged a limit of 
Canada geese or expended their limit of shells (if applicable), the 
party must promptly leave the station.

• No trailers of any kind are allowed in designated parking lots.

Lac qui Parle
The following regulations apply to all persons in the Lac qui Parle 

Controlled Hunting Zone during the regular Canada Goose Season 
for that zone:
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 Reservations and Permits
•  Waterfowl and small game hunters may reserve hunting stations 

in accordance with rules available at the Lac qui Parle Wildlife 
Management Area headquarters (see page 101). Reserved dates 
will not be changed. For information, contact: Lac qui Parle 
WMA, 14040 20th St. NW, Watson, MN 56295.

•  On public lands, no person may hunt migratory waterfowl or 
small game in the controlled hunting zone without first regis-
tering at the check station and obtaining an entry permit. There 
is a daily fee of $3 per hunter 18 years and older.

•  The transfer of entry permits to other hunters is prohibited.
 Hunting Restrictions

•  Waterfowl and small game hunters are limited to six shells per 
day in possession.

•  Not more than six hunting groups per day may occupy a 
 designated hunting station.

•  Within one hour of hunt completion, each party member 
must submit any geese taken for inspection at the Lac qui Parle 
WMA headquarters and, if hunting on public lands, personally 
return their entry permit to the check station.

•  Waterfowl and small game hunters are limited to three trips to 
the stations during the Canada goose season, either as a guest or 
a successful applicant, except when vacant stations exist.

•  Waterfowl and small game hunters must have guns unloaded 
and cased except within 10 feet of assigned hunting stations.

•  Hunters are limited to one trip per day to the hunting stations.

Thief Lake 
The following regulations apply to waterfowl and small game 

hunters in the Thief Lake Controlled Hunting Zone (CHZ) dur-
ing all open waterfowl seasons (including Early September and Late 
December Canada Goose and Youth Waterfowl Seasons). The restric-
tion on small game hunting in the CHZ applies from the opening of 
the regular waterfowl season through October 25. 
• Hunters must use designated hunting stations on a first-come, 

first-served basis.
• Hunters are limited to one trip to the blinds before noon, and one 

trip after noon, per day.
• Hunters are limited to six shells per trip in possession.
• Hunters must have guns unloaded and cased except within 10 feet 

of the hunting stations.
•  Selected blinds will be posted closed during the early September 

Canada Goose Season because of their proximity to open water.

Waterfowl
W
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•  No person may park in or otherwise occupy any designated 
CHZ parking lot or occupy any hunting station from 10 p.m. 
to 5 a.m.

Orwell
The following regulations apply to all persons in the Orwell 

 Controlled Hunting Zone during the Regular Goose Season:
•  Hunting, other than waterfowl, is prohibited.
•  No person may enter the controlled hunting zone except when 

their vehicle is occupying a numbered parking stall in the des-
ignated parking lot in the controlled hunting zone.

•  No persons other than those hunting at a station in the con-
trolled hunting zone may occupy a numbered stall in a desig-
nated parking lot.

•  Hunters must hunt only at the hunting stations having a 
number corresponding to their parking stall number.

•  No person may park in or otherwise occupy any parking stall 
in the designated parking lot or occupy any hunting station 
during any two consecutive days or from one hour after the 
close of daily waterfowl shooting hours to 8 p.m.

• All guns must be unloaded and cased except within 10 feet of 
a hunting station

.Rochester and Roseau River
The following regulations apply to all persons in the Rochester  

and Roseau River Controlled Hunting Zones during the open Goose 
Season:

•  The wildlife manager may limit all persons to one day of 
hunting in every three. If hunting is limited, the manager 
will stamp the date on the Small Game Hunting License or 
Firearms Safety Certificate of every person at each restricted 
hunting station. Persons may hunt at any restricted station on 
the day stamped, but may not occupy a restricted station for 
the next two days. Restricted stations will be posted.

• No one may be in a hunting station or designated parking lot 
from one hour after the close of the daily waterfowl shooting 
hours to 8 p.m.

Talcot Lake
Closed Area

All waterfowl hunting is prohibited upon or from the 1.5 mile 
segment of State Trunk Highway 62 and its right-of-way along the 
south boundary of the Talcot Lake Waterfowl Refuge (between the 
Cottonwood County line on the west and County Highway 7 on 
the east).
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The following regulations apply to all persons in the Talcot Lake 
controlled hunting zones during Canada Goose Seasons:

General Restrictions
•  Hunting, other than waterfowl, is prohibited on public land in 

the East and West Side Controlled Hunting Zones.
• The wildlife manager may limit persons to one day of hunting in 

every three. The manager will stamp the date on the Small Game 
Hunting License or Firearms Safety Certificate of each person at a 
restricted hunting station. Persons may hunt at any restricted sta-
tion on the day stamped, but may not occupy a restricted station 
for the next two days. Restricted stations will be posted. 

•  No persons may occupy a hunting station within a controlled 
hunting zone except when their vehicle is occupying a numbered 
parking stall in a designated parking lot in the controlled hunting 
zone. No persons other than those hunting at a hunting station 
may occupy a numbered stall or park in a designated parking lot. 

•  Waterfowl hunters must hunt only at the hunting stations 
having numbers corresponding to their parking stall number.

•  No person may park in or otherwise occupy any parking stall 
in the designated parking lot or occupy any hunting station 
from 10 p.m. to 5 a.m.

Waterfowl

Spring Snow Goose Reduction (Light Goose Conservation Action)
Minnesota again plans to participate in a cooperative light goose 

conservation action in March and April of 2006. This action is being 
taken in an attempt to reduce an overabundance of snow geese that is 
threatening their arctic breeding habitat. All participants must have a 
Light	Goose	Conservation	Permit in their possession while attempting to 
take light geese. Details will be announced early in 2006.

FOR YOUR INFORmATION
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SUmmARY OF FEdERAL REGULATIONS
In addition to state regulations, the following federal rules apply to 

the taking, possession, shipping, transporting, and storing of migratory 
game birds:

RESTRIcTIONS
No person shall take migratory game birds:
• With a trap, snare, net, rifle, pistol, swivel gun, shotgun larger 

than a 10-gauge, punt gun, battery gun, machine gun, fishhook, 
poison, drug, explosive, or stupefying substance.

• With a shotgun capable of holding more than three shells, unless 
it is plugged with a one-piece filler which is incapable of removal 
without disassembling the gun.

• From a sink box (a low floating device, having a depression affording 
the hunter means of concealment beneath the surface of the water).

• From or with the aid or use of a car or other motor-driven land 
conveyance, or any aircraft, except that paraplegics and single or 
double amputees of the legs may take from any stationary motor 
vehicle or stationary motor-driven land conveyance. “Paraplegic” 
means an individual afflicted with paralysis of the lower half of 
the body with involvement of both legs usually due to disease of 
or injury to the spinal chord.

• From or by means of any motor boat or sail boat unless the 
motor has been completely shut off and/or the sail furled, and its 
progress therefrom has ceased.

• By the use or aid of live decoys. All live, tame, or captive ducks 
and geese shall be removed for a period of 10 consecutive days 
prior to hunting, and confined within an enclosure which sub-
stantially reduces the audibility of their calls and totally conceals 
such tame birds from the sight of migratory waterfowl.

• Using records or tapes of migratory bird calls, or sounds, or elec-
tronically amplified imitations of bird calls.

• By driving, rallying, or chasing birds with any motorized con-
veyance or any sail boat to put them in range of the hunters.

• By the aid of baiting or on or over a baited area where a person 
knows or reasonably should know that the area is or has been 
 baited. A baited area is considered to be baited for 10 days after 
complete removal of any bait. Baiting includes placing, exposing, 
depositing, distributing, or scattering of salt, grain, or other feed 
that could serve as a lure or attraction for migratory game birds 
to, on, or over areas where hunters are attempting to take them. 
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Agricultural areas must be prepared in accordance with official 
 recommendations to be legally hunted. It is a separate offense to 
place or direct placement of bait on or adjacent to an area that 
causes, induces, or allows another to hunt by the aid of bait or over 
a baited area. Hunters are responsible for ensuring that an area has 
not been baited and should verify its legality prior to hunting. The 
maximum federal penalties are: for hunting over bait: $15,000/ 
6 months jail, and placing bait $100,000/1 year jail.

closed Season 
No person shall take migratory game birds during the closed season.

Shooting or Hawking Hours 
No person shall take migratory game birds except during the hours 

open to shooting and hawking as prescribed.

daily Bag Limit 
No person shall take in any one day more than one daily bag limit.

Field Possession Limit
No person shall possess more than one daily bag limit while in the 

field or while returning from the field to one’s car, hunting camp,  
home, etc.

Wanton Waste
All migratory game birds shall be retrieved, if possible, and 

retained in the custody of the hunter in the field.

Tagging
No person shall give, put or leave any migratory game birds at any 

place or in the custody of another person unless the birds are tagged 
by the hunter with the following information: a) hunter’s signature; b) 
hunter’s address; c) total number of birds involved, by species; and d) 
dates such birds were killed.

Tagging is required if the birds are being transported by another 
person for the hunter, or if the birds have been left for cleaning, stor-
age (including temporary storage), shipment, or taxidermy services.

Possession of Live Birds 
Wounded birds reduced to possession shall be immediately killed 

and included in the daily bag limit.

dressing
No person shall completely field dress any migratory game bird 

(except doves and band-tailed pigeons) and then transport the birds 
from the field. The head or one fully feathered wing must remain 
attached to all such birds while being transported from the field to  
 one’s home or to a migratory bird preservation facility. (Note:  
state law requires head and wing for ducks and mergansers, a  

Waterfowl
SUmmARY OF FEdERAL REGULATIONS
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wing only for geese, and all other migratory game birds require a head 
and foot (see page 49), unless the migratory game birds were lawfully 
tagged and packed by a federally permitted migratory bird preserva-
tion facility.

Shipment 
No person shall ship migratory game birds unless the package is 

marked on the outside with: a)  the name and address of the person 
sending the birds; b)  the name and address of the person to whom the 
birds are being sent; and c)  the number of birds, by species, contained 
in the package.

Importation 
For information regarding the importation of migratory birds 

killed in another country hunters should consult 50 CFR 20.61 
through 20.66. One fully-feathered wing must remain attached to 
all migratory game birds being transported between the port of entry 
and one’s home or to a migratory bird preservation facility. No person 
shall import migratory game birds killed in any foreign country except 
Canada, unless such birds are dressed (except as required in 20.63), 
drawn, and the head and feet are removed. No person shall import 
migratory game birds belonging to another person.

migratory Bird Hunting and conservation Stamp
Waterfowl hunters 16 years of age and over must carry on their per-

son a valid federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp 
(“Duck Stamp”) signed in ink across the face. (Hunters under 16 may 
voluntarily purchase a Duck Stamp and help preserve wetlands.)

Nontoxic Shot Regulations and zone descriptions 
No person shall take migratory game birds while possessing shot 

other than approved nontoxic shot (see page 105). This restriction 
applies only to ducks, geese, brant, swans, and coots except on federally 
owned Waterfowl Production Areas and National Wildlife Refuges 
where all small game hunters are required to use nontoxic shot.

dual violation
Violation of state migratory game bird regulations is also a viola-

tion of Federal regulations.

Reference
Federal regulations related to migratory game birds are located in 

Title 50, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 20.

 Caution: More-restrictive regulations may apply to National 
Wildlife Refuges and Waterfowl Production Areas open to 
 public hunting. See pages 139–144. For more information on 
federal regulations, call (651) 778-8360.
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Wild Turkeys
Wild Turkeys

Important Dates:
Fall Season

Oct. 12, 2005: First 2005 Fall Season opens.
June, 2006: Applications available for 2006 Fall Season.

Spring Season (2006)
Nov., 2005: Applications available for 2006 Spring Season.
Dec. 2, 2005: Application deadline for 2006 Spring Season.
Apr. 12, 2006: First 2006 Spring Season opens.

Important! Applications must be submitted by the deadline date.

The following general regulations apply to the taking of wild turkeys 
during Fall and Spring Hunts in Minnesota:

LIcENSE REqUIREmENTS
Licenses for the Fall and Spring Wild Turkey Hunts are awarded in 

separate computerized preference drawings. A small game license is not 
required to hunt wild turkeys.

A resident under age 12 may apply for a turkey license and may take a 
turkey without a firearms safety certificate if the resident is accompanied 
by an adult parent or guardian who has a firearms safety certificate.

Wild Turkey Stamp Hunters age 18 or over must possess a valid 
Wild Turkey Stamp validation to hunt wild turkeys in Minnesota. 
Created at the request of turkey hunters, the stamp proceeds are dedi-
cated to wild turkey management and research.

LEGAL FIREARmS ANd BOWS ANd ARROWS
Firearms
•  A person may only use shotguns 20 gauge or larger, or muzzle-

loading shotguns 12 gauge or larger.
•  Only fine shot size No. 4 and smaller diameter may be used.

Bows and Arrows
•  Bows must have a pull of no less than 40 pounds at or before 

full draw.
•  Bows may not be drawn, held, or released by mechanical means, 

except by permit. A person may use a mechanical device attached 

W
ild Turkeys
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to the bowstring if the person’s own strength draws and holds  
the bowstring.

•  Arrowheads must be broadheads that are sharp, have at least two 
metal cutting edges, are of barbless design, and are at least 7⁄8 inch 
in diameter; or must be of a blunthead design.

• “Retractable” broadheads that meet all other requirements of law 
are legal for wild turkeys if they: 1) are at least 7⁄8 inch in width at 
or after impact; and 2) are of a barbless design and function in a 
barbless manner.

•  No person may use any arrow that is poisoned or has an explo-
sive tip.

How to Apply for Wild Turkey Licenses
Eligibility

•  Residents and nonresidents are eligible to apply .
• A Small Game License is not required to hunt wild turkeys .
•  Applicants must not have had any small game hunting privileges revoked 

within one year before purchasing a Wild Turkey License .
• Applicants over age 12 but under the age of 16 must possess a valid 

Firearms Safety Certificate, before the opening of the season .
•	 A resident under age 12 may apply for a turkey license and may take a tur-

key without a firearms safety certificate if the resident is accompanied by 
an adult parent or guardian who has a firearms safety certificate .

• Preference is determined by the number of years that a person has 
 submitted valid but unsuccessful applications since last receiving a license . 
The Fall and Spring Hunt preference systems are separate from one another . 
Success or failure in obtaining a license for one season has no effect on 
your preference in the other .

o

Applications
• Applications for the Spring and Fall Hunts are submitted through an  

ELS terminal at an ELS-POS license agent, the DNR License Center, ELS-
Telephone, or ELS-Internet .

•  There is a non-refundable fee of $3 per applicant .
•  Persons may apply individually or in a group of up to four persons .
o

Landowner–Tenant Special drawing
Up to 20 percent of the permits for each Wild Turkey Permit Area and time peri-
od will be issued to applicants who live as landowners or tenants on 40 or more 
acres of land within the Permit Area . The qualifying land may be noncontiguous . 
Successful landowner/tenant drawing applicants may hunt anywhere within the 
permit area where their qualifying land is located .

ASSISTING
•  A licensed wild turkey hunter may assist another turkey hunter 

licensed for the same permit area and time period, but may not shoot 
or tag a turkey for another hunter. An unlicensed adult may assist a 
licensed wild turkey hunter. The unlicensed adult may not shoot or 
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possess a firearm or bow while assisting a hunter, and may not charge 
a fee for the assistance.

•  A person may not guide a turkey hunter for compensation.

GENERAL RESTRIcTIONS
•  Wild turkeys may not be taken with the aid of dogs. No person may 

be accompanied by a dog or dogs while hunting or assisting in hunt-
ing wild turkeys. 

•  Wild turkeys may not be taken with the aid of any electronic device, 
except that a hearing aid or other device designated to enhance  
hearing may be used. The DNR expects to adopt rules allowing the 
use of electronic sights that self-illuminate but do not cast rays of 
light (red dot scopes) before the Fall turkey season; however, the new 
rules were not yet adopted at the time this regulation handbook was 
published. When the new rules are adopted, DNR will notify hunters 
through news releases and on the DNR Web site.

•  The use of live turkey decoys is prohibited.
•  No persons who are afield hunting wild turkeys may have in their pos-

session or in their control any firearm or bow and arrow except those 
defined as legal for taking wild turkeys.

TAGGING
•  The tag provided with the license must be punched with the date of 

the kill, signed, and attached to the wild turkey immediately after 
 taking the bird.

•  The tag must remain attached to the bird during transit.

FALL WILd TURkEY HUNT
dates, Wild Turkey Permit Areas and quotas

2005 Fall Wild Turkey Hunting Permits have already been allo-
cated by a computerized drawing for five-day hunting periods running 
October 12–16 and October 19–23. Applications for 2006 Fall Wild 
Turkey Hunting Permits will be available June, 2006:
Legal Shooting Hours

The legal shooting hours for the Fall Wild Turkey Hunt are  
one-half hour before sunrise until sunset.
o

Bag Limit
The bag limit for the Fall Hunt is one wild turkey of either sex.

o

Registration
•  Every person who takes a wild turkey must register the bird at  

a designated registration station no later than 24 hours after the 
time when taken.

Wild Turkeys
W

ild Turkeys
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•  The feathers, head and feet must remain on the wild turkey until 
it is registered. Once registered, the fully feathered head or one leg 
and foot, or one intact wing must remain attached during trans-
port.

 •  No person may possess an unregistered wild turkey outside the 
permit area where the bird was taken unless it is being trans-
ported in a direct route to a registration station.

SPRING WILd TURkEY HUNT (200�)
The following general regulations apply to Minnesota’s Spring Wild 

Turkey Hunt. Complete information on 2006 spring wild turkey season 
dates, permit areas, and quotas was not available when this booklet  
was printed. This information will be provided with application materials 
available in November, 2005. Resident wild turkey applications will be 
made through ELS license agents.

Bag Limit
The spring bag limit is one wild turkey with a visible beard. The 

beard is a feathered appendage protruding from the breast that is 
 generally found only on males.
o

Registration
• Every person who takes a wild turkey must personally present the 

bird for registration. 
• The feathers, head, and feet must remain on the wild turkey 

until it is registered. Once registered, the fully feathered head, or 
one intact wing, or one leg and foot must remain attached during 
transport. 

• No person may possess an unregistered wild turkey outside the 
permit area where it was taken unless it is being transported in a 
direct route to a registration station.

Archery Turkey Season and License
A person who did not apply, or who applied unsuccessfully, for a 

spring wild turkey license may purchase a turkey hunting license to 
hunt by archery that is valid during the last 14 days of the spring wild 
turkey seasons. The license is valid in any spring wild turkey permit 
area that has at least 50 permits per time period. A person purchas-
ing this license does not gain or lose preference for the spring turkey 
license lottery. These licenses can be purchased for the same fee as a 
regular turkey license at any electronic licensing system agent.



121

Wild rice
Wild Rice

LIcENSE REqUIREmENTS
Harvesting wild rice is open to Minnesota residents and nonresi-

dents. Nonresidents must purchase a one-day license and residents may 
purchase either a season or one-day license. All harvesters are required 
to be licensed unless they are under 16 years of age and accompanied 
by a licensed harvester. Wild rice licenses are available from ELS license 
agents. Fees from wild rice harvest and buyer licenses are deposited in a 
special account for wild rice management.

SEASON dATES ANd HOURS
July 15 to September 30, from 9 a.m.-3 p.m. daily. 
The harvest of green (unripe) wild rice is unlawful.

RESTRIcTEd AREAS
Conservation officers and other authorized agents of the Commis-

sioner of Natural Resources may close the harvest on any public water by 
posting the known access points.

National Parks and National Wildlife Refuges are closed to wild rice 
 harvesting, except when authorized by special permits. Harvest is allowed on 
state wildlife management areas, except where specifically closed by posting 
or rule.

vEGETATION
Destruction of wild rice plants by cutting, pulling, or removing is 

unlawful. All aquatic vegetation must be removed from watercraft before 
leaving any body of water to prevent the spread of exotic vegetation such 
as purple loosestrife and Eurasian water milfoil.

WATERcRAFT
Watercraft used in harvesting wild rice may not exceed 18 feet in 

length or 36 inches in maximum width. Any extension that increases 
normal capacity is prohibited.

PUSH POLES
Push poles used to propel watercraft for harvesting wild rice must be 

forked at the end. The forks must be less than 12 inches in length.

FLAILS
Flails used to harvest wild rice must be made of round, smooth wood 

no longer than 30 inches and weigh no more than one pound. Flails 
must be hand held and operated.

W
ild rice
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mEcHANIcAL dEvIcES
The use of any machine or mechanical device to harvest wild rice is 

prohibited unless the operator holds fee title to all the property that sur-
rounds the public water where the harvest is taking place and the public 
water is less than 125 acres in size, within the original boundaries of any 
Indian reservation, and there is no public access directly or through a 
channel or watercourse.

PENALTIES
Any person violating any of the laws or rules pertaining to wild rice is 

subject to a fine up to $1000 and/or 90 days in jail.

INdIAN RESERvATION RESTRIcTIONS (GENERAL)
All native wild rice within the existing boundaries of the White Earth, 

Leech Lake, Bois Forte, Grand Portage, Fond du Lac, and Mille Lacs 
Indian Reservations is managed by the respective reservation wild rice 
committees. These committees establish the opening date, days, and 
hours of harvest no less than 24 hours prior to the opening. These regula-
tions may be altered by the wild rice committees after the season has been 
announced by posting the major entrances to affected waters no less than 
12 hours prior to the changes taking effect.

Only the Commissioner of Natural Resources, authorized agents, 
 tribal members, and persons who are residents of the reservation within 
which they are harvesting may harvest or gather wild rice within the 
boundaries of reservations.

SPEcIAL LEEcH LAkE INdIAN RESERvATION RESTRIcTIONS
In addition to the above regulations, all non-tribal members must 

have Leech Lake Reservation permits to harvest or buy wild rice within 
the boundaries of the Leech Lake Reservation.

Threats to Wild Rice
Wild rice typically grows in shallow water over soft mucky bottoms. 

Rapidly increasing water levels can destroy an entire crop of wild rice 
by uprooting plants. Manmade water control structures, beaver dams, 
and other channel-clogging debris downstream of wild rice areas are the 
biggest threats to wild rice.

FOR YOUR INFORmATION
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Wild Rice
Wild Rice Plants are fragile. Don't break the stalks when picking 
or pulling them straight down over the canoe. Instead, bend the 
plants forward and away from your body. Use a light brushing or 
raking motion to tap loose the ripened seeds. Wild rice is not ready 
for harvest if you have to use much force to knock the seeds loose 
from the plant. Harvesting should not be attempted during rainy 
days because the moisture makes the seeds more difficult to tap 
loose from the stalk.

Minnesota's wild rice harvesting season opens July 15 each year, 
although no rice is ripe enough to harvest at that time. The earliest 
wild rice will mature is sometime after the third week in August. 
How soon depends on the individual stands and the weather. 
Rice is ready for harvest when the seeds fall easily from the plant. 
Attempting to harvest "green" or unripe rice damages the plant and 
is illegal.

Wild rice is an important food plant for both people and wild-
life. Low in fat but high in protein, fiber, B vitamins and minerals, 
wild rice is higher in overall nutritional value than white rice, oats, 
barley, wheat or rye. This aquatic member of the grass family is also 
an important part of the ecology of many Minnesota lakes and riv-
ers. Unfortunately, it is also becoming less abundant because of pol-
lution, exotic species, changing water levels and wakes from careless 
boaters.

Sprouting from seeds each year, wild rice generally reaches the 
water surface by mid June. The leaves lay flat on the surface until 
July when the plant begins to strengthen and grow erect. It is dur-
ing the floating leaf stage that plants are particularly vulnerable to 
uprooting. By August wild rice will reach two to eight feet above the 
water and the seed heads will begin to fill out. 

Wild Rice
W

ild rice
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dates, Prairie chicken Permit Areas and quotas
2005 Prairie Chicken Hunting Licenses have already been allocated 

by a computerized drawing for the five-day hunting season, which will 
run Oct. 22-26. Prairie chicken hunters must have a prairie chicken 
hunting license; no small game license is required. Applications for 
next year’s season will be available to Minnesota residents only in 
June, 2006. Applications will be due on July 28, 2006 and the season 
will begin Oct. 21, 2006.

Legal Shooting Hours
The legal shooting hours for the prairie chicken hunt are one-half 

hour before sunrise until sunset.

Bag Limit
The bag limit for prairie 

chickens is two of either sex 
for the season. A licensed prai-
rie chicken hunter may also 
take sharp-tailed grouse in the 
area and time that the prairie 
chicken license is valid, subject 
to all other restrictions for tak-
ing sharp-tailed grouse.

Registration
 • Every person who takes a 

prairie chicken must regis-
ter the bird at a designated 
registration station no later 
than 24 hours after the 
time when taken.

 • The fully-feathered head, a 
fully-feathered wing or one 
leg and foot must remain on the prairie chicken in the field or 
while being transported.

Tagging
 • The tag provided with the license must be punched with the date 

of the kill, signed and attached to the prairie chicken immediately 
after taking the bird.

 • The tag must remain attached to the bird during transit. 
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STATE WILdLIFE mANAGEmENT AREAS
All public land in state-owned Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) 

is open to the hunting of all species of protected wild animals and trap-
ping of mammals during the established seasons found in this booklet, 
except as follows:

General Restrictions
•  Trespass: Portions of WMAs posted closed to trespassing may not 

be entered without DNR authorization.
•  Closed Hours: WMAs may not be entered or used during closed 

hours if posted with these restrictions at major access points, except  
by permit.

•  Camping: Camping is prohibited except in designated overnight-
use areas or with a permit from the wildlife manager.

• Alcohol: Alcoholic beverages may not be consumed, except by 
persons lawfully occupying an overnight-use area.

•  Firearms and Target Shooting: Target, skeet, trap, or indiscrimi-
nate shooting is prohibited. A person may not possess an uncased 
or loaded firearm or an uncased or strung bow, except when law-
fully taking a wild animal or by permit.

•  Destruction or Removal of Property: Signs, posts, fences, gates, 
buildings, trees, shrubs, vines, plants, or other property may not 
be destroyed or removed (including use of metal detectors to 
remove property), except as follows: Wetland vegetation may be 
used to build blinds on the area, and edible fruits and seeds, or 
decorative portions of plants may be removed for personal use.

•  Garbage Disposal and Animal Abandonment: Disposing of or 
abandoning live animals, carcasses, garbage, trash, spoil, sludge, 
rocks, vehicles, or other debris or personal property on any WMA  
is prohibited.

•  Hunting, Fishing, and Trapping Equipment: Boats, decoys, 
and other equipment must not be left unattended overnight, with 
the exception of traps in areas open to trapping and fish houses or 
dark houses in certain designated WMAs.

•  Blinds and Structures: A person may not construct or main-
tain any building, dock, fence, billboard, sign, or other structure 
on any WMA, except that temporary waterfowl blinds may be 
 erected, but may not become private property or be used to 
 preempt hunting rights. Any materials brought into a WMA for 

Public lands & W
ildlife refuGes
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the construction of a blind must be removed each day at the close 
of hunting hours. 

•  Elevated Stands: A person may not construct, occupy, or use any 
elevated scaffold or other elevated device for the purpose of hunt-
ing, watching, or killing wild animals, except that portable stands 
may be used if they are removed each day at the close of hunting 
hours and do no permanent damage. 

• Dogs: Dogs are permitted on WMAs only when accompanied by 
or under the control of the owner. From April 16 through July 
14, dogs must be on a leash. A person training a dog on a WMA 
may not use live ammunition or blank cartridges, including the 
use of blanks in dummy launchers or similar devices. 

•  Other Domestic Animals: Livestock, horses, and other domestic 
animals, are not permitted on WMAs except under cooperative 
agreement or permit approved by the wildlife manager.

•  Unprotected Animals: Unprotected wild animals may be taken 
from September 1 through the last day of February, or by any 
person legally hunting a protected species, unless the area is spe-
cifically closed.

•  Beaver and Otter: Beavers and otters may only be taken by per-
mit issued by the wildlife manager.

•  Crows: Crows may be taken during established seasons, except from 
March 1 through August 31, unless the area is specifically closed.

WmAs with Special Restrictions
• Bayport WMA (Washington County) and Raguet WMA (Scott 

and Carver counties): These areas are closed to the trapping of 
unprotected mammals except when there is an open trapping season 
for any protected species. Firearms must be unloaded and contained 
in a case, except in designated hunting areas during the season for 
the taking of small game when shotgun with fine shot only is per-
mitted. The possession and use of bows and arrows are limited to 
the designated hunting areas during established hunting seasons.

• Boerner WMA (Sibley County), Buelow WMA (Steele County), 
Bryson WMA (Freeborn County), Sand Prairie WMA (Stearns 
County), Chapa Kak-Say-Za WMA (Steele County), and 
Hutchinson WMA (McCleod County): These areas are closed to 
the hunting and trapping of all species.

• Carl and Verna Schmidt WMA (LeSueur County) and Bur Oak 
WMA (LeSueur County) are closed to hunting of all species. 

• Gold Portage WMA (Koochiching and St. Louis counties):  
This area is open only to waterfowl hunting.

• Hearding Island WMA (St. Louis County): This area is closed to 
the hunting of all species.

• Uppgaard WMA (Crow Wing County): This area is open to 
hunting beginning on the opening day of waterfowl hunting or 
on the second Saturday in October, whichever comes first.
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• Four Brooks WMA (Mille Lacs County): This area is open to 
woodcock hunting.

• Gordon F. Yeager (Rochester) WMA (in the Rochester Refuge, 
Olmsted County) Eastside WMA (Olmsted County), and Carl 
Schmidt WMA (Morrison County): These areas are closed to 
waterfowl hunting. Firearms are restricted to shotgun with fine 
shot only for small game hunting on Gordon F. Yeager WMA.

• Lac qui Parle, Thief Lake, Talcot Lake, and Orwell WMAs: 
Small game hunting is restricted in the Controlled Goose 
Hunting Zones (see pages 104-107).

• Lake Blanche WMA (Ottertail County): This area is closed to 
firearms deer hunting.

• Timber Lake WMA (Jackson County): A portion of this area is 
closed to firearms deer hunting (as posted).

• Pike Bay WMA (St. Louis County): This area is closed to 
 trapping of all species.

• Schrafel WMA (Mower County): This area is closed to trapping 
and firearms hunting. Open to archery deer hunting.

• Hvoslef WMA (Fillmore County): This area is open to archery 
hunting only from September 1 through October 31 and during 
the spring turkey season. Firearms hunting (no centerfire rifles) is 
allowed from November 1 through December 15.
Note: Trappers must obtain a permit from the area manager on 

the following WMAs: Carlos Avery (Anoka and Chisago counties), 
Hubbel Pond (Becker County), Red Lake (Beltrami and Lake of 
the Woods counties), Lac qui Parle (Big Stone, Lac qui Parle, Swift, 
and Chippewa counties), Mille Lacs (Mille Lacs and Kanabec coun-
ties), Roseau River (Roseau County), Talcot Lake (Cottonwood and 
Murray counties), Thief Lake (Marshall County), and Whitewater 
(Olmsted, Wabasha, and Winona counties).

Wild Rice
A person may harvest wild rice in a WMA, except where specifically 

closed.

Ginseng
A person may not harvest wild ginseng in a WMA, except by permit.

motor vehicles
The following regulations apply to motor vehicle use on WMAs 

other than on federal, state, county, or township roads:
•  Motor vehicles licensed for use on a public highway may be oper-

ated on established roads on the following WMAs, but not at speeds 
over 20 m.p.h. unless posted otherwise. No vehicles may be driven 
beyond a sign prohibiting vehicular use, beyond any constructed 
vehicle barrier, or in a reckless or careless manner. The areas are: 
Carlos Avery (Anoka and Chisago counties), Hubbel Pond (Becker 
County), Mille Lacs (Kanabec and Mille Lacs counties), Red Lake 

Public lands & W
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(Beltrami and Lake of the Woods counties), Roseau River (Roseau 
County), and Thief Lake (Marshall County).

•  Vehicles are prohibited on all other WMAs. The exception is that 
vehicles may be operated at speeds of 20 mph or less, on travel 
routes designated with signs for travel purposes.

•  No vehicle may be parked in front of any gate or where it 
obstructs travel.

•  No person may operate an all-terrain vehicle (ATV), all-terrain 
cycle (ATC), hang glider, air boat, personal watercraft (jet-ski), or 
hovercraft in a WMA except by disability permit or as specifically 
authorized.

• On Wildlife Management Areas north and west of the line 
described below an ATV may be used by a licensed firearms deer 
hunter who does not possess a firearm (cased or uncased) to 
retrieve and transport a deer that is known to be dead from the 
close of shooting hours to two hours after the close of shooting 
hours during the regular firearms deer season and for one day after 
the season: beginning at State Highway 1 from the west boundary 
of the state to State Highway 89, then north along State Highway 
89 to Fourtown, then north on County State Aid Highway 44 to 
County Road 704, Beltrami County, then north on County Road 
704 to Dick’s Parkway State Forest Road, then north on Dick’s 
Parkway to County State Aid Highway 5, then north on County 
State Aid Highway 5 to Warroad, then north on State Highway 11 
to State Highway 313, then north on State Highway 313 to the 
north boundary of the state. 

• On wildlife management areas within the area described as fol-
lows, a licensed deer hunter may operate an all-terrain vehicle 
during the firearms deer season before and after shooting hours 
and from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.: from State Highway 1 and the west 
boundary of the Red Lake Indian Reservation; then west to State 
Highway 219; then north on State Highway 219 to State Highway 
89; then north to State Highway 89 to County Highway 6; then 
east on County Highway 6 to County Highway 54 and County 
Highway 1 (Beltrami/Marshall county line); then north along the 
Beltrami/Marshall county line to the Roseau county line; east on 
the Beltrami/Roseau county line to Dick’s Parkway, then south on 
Dick’s Parkway to County Road 704, Beltrami county; then south 
to County State-aid Highway 44 to Fourtown; then south on 
State Highway 89 to the north boundary of the Red Lake Indian 
Reservation, then west and south following the boundary of the 
Red Lake Indian Reservation to the beginning.

•  Without written permission from the DNR, no person may 
operate a snowmobile in a WMA south of a line described as 
 follows: U.S. Highway 2 from Grand Forks east to Bemidji, then 
south along U.S. Highway 71 to Wadena, then east along U.S. 
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Highway 10 to Staples and U.S. Highway 210 to the eastern 
boundary of the state.

•  No person may use aircraft over a WMA in a manner that chases, 
herds, scares, or otherwise disturbs wildlife, except in emergencies 
or by authorization of the wildlife manager.

Blinds for Hunters With disabilities 
The Lac qui Parle, Talcot Lake, and Whitewater Wildlife 

Management Areas have a limited number of goose hunting blinds 
for hunters with disabilities. Talcot Lake WMA and Roseau River 
WMA each have a wheelchair accessible deer blind for firearms hunt-
ing. For more information, write to: Lac qui Parle WMA, 14040 
20th St. NW, Watson, MN 56295; Talcot Lake WMA, Box 40, 
Rt. 1, Dundee, MN 56126; Roseau River WMA, HCR#5 Box 103, 
Roseau, MN 56751; or Whitewater WMA, 15035 Highway 75, 
Altura, MN 55910.

motorized Watercraft 
The use of outboard motors (including electric trolling motors)  

or motorized water vehicles (including amphibious vehicles) is 
 prohibited on waters within the boundaries of most state WMAs, 
except as follows:

 
motorized Watercraft Permitted

AREA  cOUNTY
Gold Portage WMA Koochiching and St . Louis
Gores (Mississippi River Pool 3) WMA Goodhue and Dakota
Lac qui Parle WMA Big Stone, Lac qui Parle, 
 (except where posted)   Chippewa, and Swift
Mud-Goose WMA* Cass
  (except on any day the  

waterfowl season is open)
Orwell Reservoir* Otter Tail
Roseau River WMA** Roseau
South Walnut Lake WMA* Faribault
Swamp River WMA Cook
Talcot Lake WMA***  Cottonwood and Murray
Thief Lake WMA* Marshall

   
 *  Motor size is restricted to 10 horsepower or less on these units .
  **   There are no motor limits on the main channel and oxbows of the Roseau River . 

Elsewhere on the Roseau River WMA, only motors of 10 horsepower or less may be 
used and only on days that the waterfowl season is open .

 ***  On the Talcot Lake WMA, motors are permitted on the lake (except on any day that the 
waterfowl season is open) but are prohibited on the river and marshes at any time of 
year .

Public Lands & Wildlife Refuges
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STATE REFUGES
GAmE REFUGES

A state game refuge is closed to the hunting and trapping of wild 
 animals unless listed below or in the table (pages 132-139). Even	though		
a	refuge	may	be	open,	it	could	contain	privately	owned	land	on	which	the	
landowner	may	prohibit	hunting.	

o

General Restrictions
•  A person may not trap beaver or otter within any state-owned 

game refuge without first obtaining a permit from the appropri-
ate wildlife manager. 

•  Unprotected wild animals may be taken when there is an open 
season for any protected species, but only during the hours and 
by methods allowed for the protected species.

o

Lac qui Parle Game Refuge (Chippewa and Lac qui Parle 
 counties) is open under the following restrictions: 

The portions of the refuge within the Lac qui Parle Recreation 
Reserve, Lac qui Parle Mission Site, or portions that are posted 
with “No Trespassing” signs are closed to hunting or the carrying 
or possession of firearms or bows unless the firearm is unloaded 
and cased or unloaded and contained in the closed trunk of a 
vehicle, and the bow is unstrung and cased or contained in the 
closed trunk of a vehicle. The remainder of the refuge is open to: 
1) waterfowl hunting only during the open Canada goose season 
in the Lac qui Parle Zone, only at designated hunting stations; 2) 
deer hunting; and 3) small game hunting other than waterfowl, 
except from the first day of the open Canada goose season through 
the last day of the open Canada goose season each year in the Lac 
qui Parle Goose Zone when small game hunting is allowed only at 
 designated hunting stations. Small game hunting is not allowed on 
closed Canada goose hunting days during a split goose season. No 
unauthorized person may trespass during the dates posted on any 
part of the refuge posted with “No Trespassing” signs. The excep-
tions are as follows: 1) Fishing is permitted in the posted closed 
area within the Lac qui Parle Goose Zone on any day when goose 
hunting in the zone is closed; and 2) no person may trespass on 
Rosemoen Island at any time of the year, except for permitted par-
ticipants in disability hunts or those with specific authorization.

Rochester Refuge (Olmsted County)
Unprotected animals may be taken at any time and by any  

legal method.
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Public Lands & Wildlife Refuges

Talcot Lake Game Refuge (Cottonwood County)
The Talcot Lake Game Refuge is open to waterfowl hunting 

only at designated hunting stations only during the Canada goose 
season. The Talcot Lake Waterfowl Refuge is closed to waterfowl 
hunting, except for persons with disabilities hunting geese at 
 designated hunting stations.

dUck REFUGES
From September 1 through the final day of the duck season, or as 

otherwise posted, a person may not hunt, trap, fish, or trespass on por-
tions of state wildlife management areas or federal waterfowl production 
areas that are posted to prohibit trespass.

GOOSE OR WATERFOWL REFUGES
State goose refuges are closed to goose or waterfowl hunting (as posted) 

except when specifically opened during special seasons (see page 103 
and the Waterfowl Hunting Regulations Supplement available in mid-
September). Other forms of hunting and trapping are permitted during 
the established seasons.

STATE FORESTS
State forest lands are generally open for hunting and other types of 

outdoor recreation. Hunting on private land within a state forest is sub-
ject to state trespass laws. A partial summary of state forest use regula-
tions is included below. A complete listing is available from the DNR.

Elevated Scaffolds
•  The use of portable tree stands is recommended, especially those 

which can be secured without driving nails into trees. Nails are a 
safety hazard for woodcutters and harm the forest. Personal prop-
erty must be removed from State Forest lands. It is illegal to destroy 
state property, including the cutting of trees of four inches or more 
in diameter at four and one-half feet above the ground for shooting 
lanes. Littering and erecting permanent buildings are prohibited.

• Any unoccupied stand or blind on public land is public and not the 
property of the person who constructed the stand.

Firewood
Wood that is dead and lying on the ground may be gathered for 

campfire use on site.

campfires
No permit is required for recreational campfires of less than 3 feet 

in diameter, in an area cleared of combustible materials for 5 feet 
around the fire.

Public lands & W
ildlife refuGes
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Firearms
•  Firearms may be discharged in compliance with the law on forest 

lands that are not posted closed to firearm discharge.
•  Firearms must be unloaded and cased while in or within 200 feet 

of a forest recreation area (campground, day use area, parking 
area), except that during open hunting seasons a person may carry 
an unloaded, uncased firearm or a strung, uncased bow to hunt 
outside the recreation area.

camping
Camping on forest lands outside of developed campgrounds is per-

mitted, with some conditions.

Personal Property
Personal property may not be left or positioned so as to obstruct 

use of a road or trail. Personal property left unattended for 14 days 
shall be deemed abandoned.

motor vehicle and Off-Road Rules
State forest lands are classified by the commissioner for purposes of 

motor vehicle use. Motor vehicle use is regulated as follows:

State Forest Lands classified as “managed”:
Motor vehicles may operate only on forest roads and forest trails 

unless they are posted or designated closed.

State Forest Lands classified as “Limited”:
•  Motor vehicles may operate on forest roads, unless they are 

 posted or designated closed.
•  Motor vehicles may operate only on forest trails or areas that are 

 posted and designated open.

State Forest Lands classified as “closed”:
•  Motor vehicles and snowmobiles are not allowed except:
•  Vehicles licensed for highway use may use forest roads that are not 

posted or gated closed.
•  Vehicles may operate on frozen public waters where it is not other-

wise prohibited.
•  Snowmobiles may operate on designated trails.

closed and Limited State Forests
The following state forests are classified as LIMITED: 

Chengwatana State Forest; D.A.R. State Forest; General C.C. 
Andrews State Forest; R.J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood State Forest; 
Foothills State Forest (S. of County Road 2); Nemadji State Forest; 
Rum River State Forest; St. Croix State Forest; Snake River State 
Forest.



137

Public Lands & Wildlife Refuges

The following state forests are classified as CLOSED: Birch Lakes 
State Forest; Insula State Forest; Lake Isabella State Forest; San Dunes 
State Forest, and Pillsbury State Forest.

Note: these lists are subject to change as additional forest review is 
completed. See the following link for the most current status, or contact 
the DNR Information Center (see page 147): www.dnr.state.mn.us/
input/mgmtplans/ohv/designation/status.html

General motor vehicle Operating Restrictions (Anywhere on 
state forest lands and county lands within state forests that 
motor vehicles are allowed)
•  No motor vehicle operation is allowed on designated nonmotorized 

trails, unless also posted open for a motorized use.
•  Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate on forest lands 

in a manner that causes erosion or rutting, or that damages or 
destroys trees or growing crops. The no-rutting provision does not 
apply on designated motorized trails.

•  Motor vehicles or snowmobiles may not operate within the bound-
aries of an area that is posted and designated as closed to such use.

•  Motor vehicles on state forest roads must: travel at a reasonable 
and prudent speed; obey posted speed limits, parking and traffic 
regulation signs; observe road closures; and may not operate in 
a manner that causes damage to the road, land or other natural 
resources.

•   Cross country travel is prohibited. Cross country travel is travel 
off roads and trails. Exceptions to the cross-country travel ban (for 
both limited and managed forests) are:
–  ATV use for big game hunting or constructing stands during 

October through December is allowed;
–   ATV use for retrieving harvested big game is allowed during 

September through December; and
–  ATV use for trapping is allowed during open seasons.

Note: These	exceptions	apply	only	to	All	Terrain	Vehicles	(ATVs)	
less	than	800	cc	engine	displacement	and	900	pounds	total	weight—	
motorcycles	and	trucks	are	not	allowed	to	cross-country	travel.

•   No person may construct an unauthorized permanent trail on 
forest lands.

•  In the Richard J. Dorer Memorial Hardwood Forest, motor 
 vehicles and snowmobiles may operate only on forest roads that 
are not posted closed and on forest trails that are designated for 
motorized use. No motorized travel is allowed off of designated 
trails under any circumstances. Motorized	trails	are	open	to	ATVs	
and	OHMs	from	May	1	to	November	1.

Public lands & W
ildlife refuGes
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Nonmotorized Trails
Nonmotorized trails are generally open to nonmotorized uses, but 

may be limited by postings, which must be observed. In the Richard 
J. Dorer Forest, horses and bicycles may travel only on designated 
trails.

STATE ScIENTIFIc ANd NATURAL AREAS
State Scientific and Natural Areas (SNAs) are closed by law to hunting 

unless listed below. No person may damage vegetation on SNAs and no 
elevated stands (including portable stands) or motor vehicles may be used.

SNAs Open to Hunting in 2005
cOUNTY AREA OPEN FOR:
Aitkin McGregor Marsh SNA All hunting
Beltrami Maurice O’Link SNA All hunting
Brown Joseph A . Tauer Prairie SNA All hunting and trapping
Clay Bicentennial Prairie SNA Deer only
Clearwater Iron Springs Bog SNA Deer only
Clearwater Itasca Wilderness SNA Deer only
Cook Hovland Woods SNA All hunting
Cook Lutsen SNA All hunting
Fillmore Rushford Sand Barrens SNA All hunting
Goodhue Cannon River Turtle All hunting
    Preserve SNA
Houston Mound Prairie SNA (Only All hunting
    the portion north of Hwy 16 .)
Itasca Ladies Tresses Swamp SNA All hunting
Itasca Lost 40 SNA All hunting
Itasca Wabu Woods All hunting
Koochiching Caldwell Brook SNA All hunting
Lake of the Woods Gustafson’s Camp SNA All hunting and trapping
Lake of the Woods Pine/Curry Island SNA Waterfowl only
Mahnomen Santee Prairie SNA All hunting
Norman Prairie Smoke Dunes SNA Deer only, by permit
Pine Black Lake Bog SNA All hunting and trapping
Polk Gully Fen SNA Deer only by archery
Rice Prairie Creek Woods SNA* Deer, by permit only
Roseau Two Rivers Aspen Parkland All hunting
    Prairie SNA
Sherburne Uncas Dunes SNA All hunting
    (only the portion in Sections 
    28-29, 34, 35, and that portion 
    of 21 South of the DNR fire 
    lane, Orrock Twp .)
St . Louis Big Island SNA Waterfowl only
Wabasha Zumbro Falls Woods SNA Deer only, by permit
Wabasha Kellogg-Weaver Dunes SNA Deer only, by permit
Winona Queen and King’s Bluff SNA* Deer only, by permit

 * Hunts are associated with special hunts in State Parks .
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Peatland SNAs Open to All Trapping and Hunting
cOUNTY PEATLANd SNA
Beltrami Red Lake Peatland
Cass   Hole-in-the-Bog Peatland (Except Hole-in-  .   
   the-Bog Lake, which is a waterfowl refuge .)
Koochiching East Rat Root River Peatland
Koochiching Lost River Peatland
Koochiching Myrtle Lake Peatland
Koochiching Nett Lake Peatland
Koochiching North Black River Peatland
Koochiching South Black River Peatland
Koochiching West Rat Root River Peatland
Lake  Sand Lake Peatland 
Lake of the Woods/Beltrami Mulligan Lake Peatland
Lake of the Woods Norris Camp Peatland
Lake of the Woods Winter Road Lake Peatland
Roseau Luxemborg Peatland
Roseau Pine Creek Peatland
Roseau Sprague Creek Peatland
St . Louis Lost Lake Peatland
St . Louis Wawina Peatland

 
STATE PARkS

All state parks are refuges by law, but some are opened to hunting by 
permit. State park vehicle permits are required on all vehicles taken into 
Minnesota State Parks. Forestville State Park (Fillmore County) is open to 
taking raccoons, by permit. Itasca State Park is open to firearms deer hunt-
ing during the Zone 2A season but is closed during the Muzzleloader and 
Archery Seasons (see page 87). Other information about State Parks open 
to hunting is found on pages 41, 81, 82, 84, 85 and 91.

FEdERAL LANdS

NATIONAL WILdLIFE REFUGES & WATERFOWL PROdUcTION AREAS
National Wildlife Refuges (NWRs) and Federal Waterfowl Production 

Areas (WPAs) are open to public hunting except where prohibited other-
wise. Migratory birds, upland game birds, small game, big game, and fur-
bearers may be hunted and trapped in accordance with state and federal 
seasons and regulations. Consult the NWRs and Wetland Management 
District (WMDs) managers for other specific public use regulations. 

Public lands & W
ildlife refuGes
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General Restrictions
• Small game hunters using shotguns are required to use and possess 

only nontoxic shot.
•  Small game hunters must where an article of blaze orange clothing 

consistent to the state’s regulations.
•  Target shooting is prohibited.
•  During the small game season, hunting dogs must be under the 

immediate control of the hunter at all times.  Training and allow-
ing pets off leash are prohibited at all other times.

•  Motorized vehicles are prohibited on all NWRs and WPAs, 
except on designated parking areas, access roads, and public roads. 
Permits to operate vehicles on other roads may be available for 
hunters with disabilities. Consult the Managers.

•  Motorized watercraft are prohibited on all WPAs and are restricted 
on most NWRs.  Motorized watercraft are allowed without a per-
mit on designated waters of the Tamarac and Upper Mississippi 
National Wildlife Refuges. 

•  Camping, campfires, and overnight parking are prohibited on all 
WPAs, including designated parking areas.  Camping, campfires, 
and overnight parking are restricted on most NWRs. Consult the 
Managers.

•  The use of nails, wire, screws or bolts to attach a stand to a tree, or 
hunting from a tree, into which a metal object has been driven or 
screwed to support a hunter, is prohibited. Portable or temporary 
hunting blinds or stands can only be set up the day of the hunt, 
and must be removed at the end of each day.

•  All property brought onto the NWRs and WPAs must be removed 
after each day. This includes all vehicles, boats, decoys, and trash.

•  The use or possession of alcoholic beverages while hunting is pro-
hibited.

•  The destruction, defacement, disturbance, or unauthorized remov-
al of any natural object or government property is prohibited.

•  Plants and animals cannot be introduced, liberated, or placed on 
NWRs and WPAs.

•  Disposing of animal carcasses, trash, refuse, rocks, wood, or other 
debris is prohibited.

•  Cutting, mowing, sawing, digging, collecting, injuring, or remov-
ing vegetation is prohibited.

•  Distribution of feed or bait, or hunting over bait is prohibited.

Trapping
A person may not trap in a National Wildlife Refuge without first 

obtaining a permit issued by the refuge manager.  The trapping of 
otter is prohibited on all NWRs in Minnesota.  
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Artificial Lights
A person may not use or direct the rays of a spotlight, headlight, 

or other artificial light for the purpose of spotting, locating, or taking 
any wild animal within the boundaries of a NWR and WPA.

Specific Restrictions 
Agassiz National Wildlife Refuge (Marshall County)  22996 
290th Street NE, Middle River MN, 56737-9754   218/449-4115

Big Game: This refuge is open only to firearms deer hunting 
in accordance with the Zone 2A season, except in areas posted 
with “Area Closed” signs or as shown on a maps available at park-
ing areas and in deer hunting brochures available at kiosks along 
Marshall County Road 7 and at Refuge Headquarters. It is closed 
during the muzzle loader season. A wheelchair-accessible hunting 
platform is available for reservation at Refuge Headquarters, phone 
218/449-4115. The refuge is in Antlerless Permit Area No. 203, 
which includes Elm Lake, Eckvoll, and Mud Lac state wildlife 
management areas.

Big Stone National Wildlife Refuge (Big Stone and Lac qui 
Parle Counties)  44843 County Road 19, Odessa MN 56276   
320/273-2191

Small Game: Portions of the refuge are open to cottontail 
rabbit, jack rabbit, gray squirrel, fox squirrel, red and gray fox, 
Hungarian partridge, and pheasant firearms hunting. Open areas 
are posted with “Public Hunting Area” signs or shown on maps 
available at parking areas and at the Refuge Headquarters.

Deer: Portions of the refuge are open to firearms, muzzleloader, 
and archery deer hunting. Open areas are posted with “Public 
Hunting Area” signs or shown on maps available at refuge head-
quarters. This is part of Antlerless Permit Area 433. Portions of the 
refuge are open for the Muzzleloader Season. A wheelchair-accessible 
hunting platform is available for reservation—call (320) 273-2191.

Wild Turkey: Portions of the refuge are open to wild turkey 
hunting. Open areas are posted with “Public Hunting Area” signs 
or shown on maps available at refuge headquarters. 

Crane Meadows National Wildlife Refuge (Morrison County)
see Sherburne NWR for address information

Closed to all public hunting.

Detroit Lakes Wetland Management District (Becker, Clay, 
Mahnomen, Norman, & Polk Counties)  26624 N Tower 
Road, Detroit Lakes MN, 56501-7959   218/847-4431

We allow hunting in the district in accordance with State 
regulations, except that we prohibit hunting on the Headquarters 
Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Becker County, the 

Public lands & W
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Hitterdal WPA in Clay County, and the McIntosh WPA in Polk 
County. 

Fergus Falls Wetland Management District (Otter Tail, Grant, 
Douglas, & Wilken Counties) 21932 State Hwy 210 East, 
Fergus Falls MN, 56537-7627   218/739-2291

We allow hunting throughout the district (except that we allow 
no hunting on the Townsend, HeadquartersM, avis, and Gilmore 
Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA) in Otter Tail County, and 
Larson WPA in Douglas County). 

Glacial Ridge National Wildlife Refuge  Contact Rydell NWR  
17788 349th St SE, Erskine MN 56535  218/687-2229 or 
800/841-0172

Glacial Ridge NWR is currently closed to hunting.

Hamden Slough National Wildlife Refuge (Becker County)
21212 210th Street, Audubon MN, 56511    218/439-6319
Litchfield Wetland Management District (Meeker, Kandiyohi, 
Stearns, McLeod, Todd, Renville, & Wright Counties)
22274 615th Avenue, Litchfield MN, 55355   320/693-2849

We allow hunting throughout the district except we prohibit 
hunting on the Phare Lake Waterfowl Production Area in Renville 
County. 

Minnesota Valley National Wildlife Refuge & Wetland 
Management District (Hennepin, Dakota, Scott, Carver, 
Rice, Sibley, Blue Earth, Steele, Le Sueur, Waseca, Chisago, 
Goodhue, & Ramsey Counties)  3815 American Blvd East, 
Bloomington MN 55425-1600   952/854-5900

Small Game: The Minnesota State seasons and limits apply on 
the Rapids Lake Unit. The Louisville Swamp Unit, south of the 
Middle Road is open to small game hunting except for furbearers 
and crows. The use or possession of center-fire rifles and handguns 
is prohibited on the refuge. Single projectiles may not be used or 
possessed in the Louisville Swamp Unit.

Wild Turkey: The Rapids Lake Unit and the Louisville Swamp 
Unit south of the Middle Road are open to spring turkey hunting. 
Hunters may use bow and arrow or modern shotguns (20 gauge or 
larger) in both units. Hunters using shotguns are required to use 
and possess only nontoxic shot. Muzzleloading shotguns may also 
be used in the Rapids Lake Unit. 

Waterfowl: Rice Lake, within the Wilkie Unit, east of old 
Highway 18 and west of Eagle Creek, is open to public water-
fowl hunting. Waterfowl hunting is also permitted south of the 
Middle Road in the Louisville Swamp Unit and also in the Rapids 
Lake Unit. Other areas may be open to waterfowl hunting by 
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special permit for hunters with disabilities or through the Young 
Waterfowlers Program. The use of gas or electric motors is prohib-
ited on all refuge waters.

Deer: The Wilkie and Louisville Units and the Carver Rapids 
State Wayside are open to archery deer hunting. The Rapids Lake 
Unit is open to archery, shotgun and muzzleloader deer hunting.

Morris Wetland Management District (Stevens, Traverse, Big 
Stone, Lac Qui Parle, Yellow Medicine, Lincoln, Pope & Swift 
Counties)  43875 230th Street, Morris MN 56267  320/589-1001

We allow hunting throughout the district except that we pro-
hibit hunting on the designated portions of the Edward-Long Lake 
Waterfowl Production Area (WPA) in Stevens County.

Northern Tallgrass Prairie National Wildlife Refuge 
We allow hunting on designated areas subject to the following 

conditions: 
We prohibit the use of dogs for hunting furbearers. 
Hunters may take weasel, coyote, gopher, crow, and all other 

species for which there is no closed season during a State-desig-
nated open season for other upland game species. 

Rice Lake National Wildlife Refuge & Sandstone National 
Wildlife Refuge (Aitkin and Pine Counties)  36289 State Hwy 
65, McGregor MN 55760   218/768-2402

Small Game: Portions of these refuges are open to cottontail rab-
bit, snowshoe hare, gray squirrel, fox squirrel, ruffed grouse, spruce 
grouse, woodcock, and snipe firearms hunting. Only non-toxic shot 
may be used or possessed while hunting with shotguns for upland 
game or any migratory game birds. Open areas are posted with 
“Public Hunting Area” signs or shown on maps available at Refuge 
Headquarters, 36289 State Hwy. 65, McGregor, MN 55760.

Deer: Archery hunting is allowed on the Rice Lake and 
Sandstone Refuges in designated areas. Rice Lake refuge is also 
open to firearms either-sex deer hunting November 12–20 as 
Special Permit Area 901 (see page 84). Maps showing open areas 
are available from refuge headquarters or by calling. The refuges are 
closed to muzzleloader hunting during the Muzzleloader Season.

Rydell National Wildlife Refuge & (Polk County)  17788 
349th St SE, Erskine MN 56535  218/687-2229 or 800/841-0172

Deer: The Refuge will be open for a special, antlerless firearms 
deer hunt for persons with disabilities on October 13–15. There 
will be a special youth-only antlerless hunt on October 22–23. 
Contact the Refuge headquarters for permit and hunt area infor-
mation.

Public lands & W
ildlife refuGes
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Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge (Sherburne County)
17076 293rd Avenue, Zimmerman MN 55398  763/389-3323

Small Game and Waterfowl: Portions of the Refuge are open 
to cottontail rabbit, jack rabbit, snowshoe hare, gray squirrel, 
fox squirrel, ruffed grouse, pheasant, woodcock, snipe, rail, and 
waterfowl firearms hunting. The Refuge is not open for bear, 
coyote, fox, raccoon, crow, or wild turkey hunting. The Refuge 
is closed to goose hunting during the state special goose seasons. 
No person may hunt or possess firearms (including bows and 
arrows) in closed areas. Trapping is conducted only by Special Use 
Permit. Maps and additional information are available at Refuge 
Headquarters, 17076 293rd Avenue, Zimmerman, MN 55398. 
Phone (763) 389-3323.

Deer: Portions of the Refuge are open to archery and firearms 
deer hunting; maps are available at Refuge Headquarters. This is 
Deer Permit Area 224. The Refuge is closed to muzzleloader hunt-
ing during the Muzzleloader Season. 

 

Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge (Becker County)
35704 County Road 26, Rochert MN 56578  218/847-2641

Small Game and Waterfowl: Portions of the refuge are open to 
firearms hunting of cottontail rabbit, jack rabbit, snowshoe hare, 
gray squirrel, fox squirrel, ruffed grouse, snipe, woodcock, ducks, 
rails, coots, geese, red fox, striped skunk, and raccoon. Dogs may 
not be used for fox or raccoon hunting. The refuge is not open for 
bear, moose, or wild turkey hunting. Open areas are marked on 
maps available at Refuge Headquarters.

Deer: Portions of the refuge are open to archery, muzzleloader, 
and firearms deer hunting. This is Antlerless Permit Area 251. 
Maps showing open areas are available at refuge headquarters.

Upper Mississippi River National Wildlife and Fish Refuge 
(Wabasha, Winona, and Houston Counties)  51 East 4th Street 
Room 101, Winona MN 55987  507/452-4232

Portions of the refuge are open to hunting, with the follow-
ing exceptions: Hunting is prohibited between March 15 and 
the opening of the Fall Hunting seasons, except that wild turkey 
hunting is allowed during the spring turkey season. In posted 
closed areas, hunting for all legal species except migratory birds is 
permitted beginning after the close of the state duck hunting sea-
son. Only non-toxic shot may be used of possessed while hunting 
with shotguns for any permitted birds or other small game, except 
wild turkeys. Lead shot may be used of turkey hunting . All decoys 
must be removed form the refuge at the end of teach day’s hunt. 
For more information, contact refuge headquarters. 51 East 4th 
Street, Room 101, Winona, MN 55987. 
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NATIONAL FOREST LANdS IN mINNESOTA
National Forest lands in Minnesota are open to hunting and trapping. 

For information, contact: Chippewa National Forest, 200 Ash Ave. NW, 
Cass Lake, MN 56633, (218) 335-8600; or Superior National Forest, 
8901 Grand Ave. Place, Duluth, MN 55808, (218) 626-4300.

General Regulations on National Forest Lands:
State hunting, and other OHV regulations apply on National 

Forest lands, except as otherwise stated below or in National Forest 
regulations, 36 CFR Part 261.
• Only portable tree stands or blinds that do not damage trees and 

that are removed at the end of the hunt are permitted. Portable 
stand anchor devices, screw-in steps and minimal limbing of lateral 
branches to facilitate stand placement are allowed.

• Commercial activities such as outfitting and guiding may not be 
conducted without a Forest Service permit.
The following are prohibited:

• Cutting or damaging of trees (for example: shooting lanes).
• Constructing or maintaining any kind of road, trail, structure or 

improvement (for example: ATV trail or permanent stand).
• Occupying or using a permanent stand.
• Storing or abandoning any personal property.
• Discharging a firearm or any other implement capable of tak-

ing human life, causing injury, or damaging property: 1) within 
150 yards of a building, campground, developed recreation site 
or occupied area, or 2) across or on a forest road or body of water 
adjacent thereto, or in a manner or place where a person or prop-
erty is exposed to injury or damage as a result of such discharge.

• Dumping of any refuse, debris, trash or litter.
• Damaging or removing any natural feature or federal property.

chippewa National Forest (Beltrami, Cass, and Itasca Counties)
•  RMVs may operate on forest roads or trails unless posted closed, 

gated or bermed to restrict motorized use.
•  Snowmobiles may operate on unplowed forest roads.
•  RMV cross-country travel off roads and trails is prohibited.
•  Launching or retrieving a boat with a trailer is prohibited except at 

a designated boat ramp.

Superior National Forest (Cook, Lake, and St . Louis Counties)
 • RMVs are allowed on “minor woods roads” (roads not maintained 

for passenger cars) and trails except those designated as closed.
• Snowmobiles may be used on unplowed roads except those 

 posted as closed.

Public lands & W
ildlife refuGes



1��

2005 Minnesota Hunting Regulations

NATIONAL PARk SERvIcE LANdS
voyageurs National Park

Hunting and trapping wild animals on public land within the 
boundaries of Voyageurs National Park is prohibited. Maps show-
ing the boundaries of the park are available from Voyageurs National 
Park, Box 50, International Falls, MN, 56649.

St. croix National Scenic Riverway
Trapping of wild animals on certain lands within the boundaries 

of the St. Croix National Scenic Riverway is prohibited by federal 
law. Maps showing the closed areas are available from: National Park 
 Service, P.O. Box 708, St. Croix Falls, WI 54024.

cOUNTY LANdS

cass county managed Forest Lands
 • Tree stands that damage trees are not allowed; no nails, bolts, or 

screws. All new tree stands that damage trees will be removed; old 
tree stands will be removed as timber sales take place in an area.

• The county encourages portable tree stands, freestanding stands, 
and any tree stands that do not damage trees.

TRIBAL LANdS
LANdS OF THE REd LAkE cHIPPEWA BANd

Lands belonging to the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians in  
Beltrami, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, and Roseau counties are  
closed to non-band members except by special authorization of the  
tribal council. Persons taking, tagging, and transporting deer from reserva-
tion lands on the Northwest Angle in accordance with the Red Lake Band 
Code do not need a state license.

OTHER TRIBAL LANdS
•  Nett Lake in Koochiching and St. Louis counties is closed to hunting 

by non-band members, except for duck hunting when accompanied 
by a band-member guide.

•  Other reservation lands may be open for hunting or trapping to  
non-band members by authorization of the reservations. All non-band 
members who are hunting or trapping on reservation lands must com-
ply with all state regulations, including licensing.
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for more informaTion
GENERAL INFORmATION ANd LIcENSING

DNR Information Center
500 Lafayette Road
St. Paul, MN 55155-4040
Metro: (651) 296-6157
Toll-free: (888) 646-6367
Telecommunications for the Deaf:
(651) 296-5484 or (800) 657-3929 TDD
Internet: www.dnr.state.mn.us

dNR WILdLIFE OFFIcES
NORTHWEST (REGION 1)
2115 Birchmont Beach Rd. NE
Bemidji, MN 56601
(218) 755-3958

SOUTH (REGION �)
261 Highway 15 South
New Ulm, MN 56073
(507) 359-6032

Public lands & W
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NORTHEAST (REGION 2)
1201 E. Highway 2
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
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2005 Minnesota Hunting Regulations

	 1	 7:52	 4:42	 7:33	 5:21	 6:52	 6:00	 5:55	 6:41	 6:03	 8:18	 5:30	 8:52
	 2	 7:52	 4:43	 7:32	 5:22	 6:50	 6:02	 5:53	 6:42	 6:02	 8:20	 5:29	 8:53
	 3	 7:52	 4:44	 7:31	 5:24	 6:48	 6:03	 6:51	 7:43	 6:00	 8:21	 5:29	 8:54
	 4	 7:52	 4:45	 7:30	 5:25	 6:46	 6:04	 6:49	 7:44	 5:59	 8:22	 5:28	 8:55
	 5	 7:51	 4:46	 7:29	 5:27	 6:45	 6:06	 6:47	 7:46	 5:57	 8:23	 5:28	 8:56

	 6	 7:51	 4:47	 7:27	 5:28	 6:43	 6:07	 6:45	 7:47	 5:56	 8:24	 5:28	 8:56
	 7	 7:51	 4:48	 7:26	 5:29	 6:41	 6:08	 6:43	 7:48	 5:55	 8:26	 5:27	 8:57
	 8	 7:51	 4:49	 7:25	 5:31	 6:39	 6:10	 6:42	 7:49	 5:53	 8:27	 5:27	 8:58
	 9	 7:51	 4:50	 7:23	 5:32	 6:37	 6:11	 6:40	 7:51	 5:52	 8:28	 5:27	 8:58
	 10	 7:50	 4:52	 7:22	 5:34	 6:36	 6:12	 6:38	 7:52	 5:51	 8:29	 5:26	 8:59
	
	 11	 7:50	 4:53	 7:20	 5:35	 6:34	 6:14	 6:36	 7:53	 5:49	 8:30	 5:26	 8:59
	 12	 7:50	 4:54	 7:19	 5:37	 6:32	 6:15	 6:34	 7:54	 5:48	 8:32	 5:26	 9:00
	 13	 7:49	 4:55	 7:18	 5:38	 6:30	 6:16	 6:33	 7:56	 5:47	 8:33	 5:26	 9:01
	 14	 7:49	 4:56	 7:16	 5:39	 6:28	 6:18	 6:31	 7:57	 5:46	 8:34	 5:26	 9:01
	 15	 7:48	 4:58	 7:15	 5:41	 6:26	 6:19	 6:29	 7:58	 5:45	 8:35	 5:26	 9:01
	
	 16	 7:48	 4:59	 7:13	 5:42	 6:25	 6:20	 6:27	 7:59	 5:43	 8:36	 5:26	 9:02
	 17	 7:47	 5:00	 7:12	 5:44	 6:23	 6:21	 6:26	 8:01	 5:42	 8:37	 5:26	 9:02
	 18	 7:46	 5:01	 7:10	 5:45	 6:21	 6:23	 6:24	 8:02	 5:41	 8:38	 5:26	 9:03
	 19	 7:46	 5:03	 7:08	 5:46	 6:19	 6:24	 6:22	 8:03	 5:40	 8:40	 5:26	 9:03
	 20	 7:45	 5:04	 7:07	 5:48	 6:17	 6:25	 6:21	 8:05	 5:39	 8:41	 5:26	 9:03

	 21	 7:44	 5:05	 7:05	 5:49	 6:15	 6:27	 6:19	 8:06	 5:38	 8:42	 5:26	 9:03
	 22	 7:43	 5:07	 7:04	 5:51	 6:13	 6:28	 6:17	 8:07	 5:37	 8:43	 5:27	 9:04
	 23	 7:42	 5:08	 7:02	 5:52	 6:11	 6:29	 6:16	 8:08	 5:36	 8:44	 5:27	 9:04
	 24	 7:42	 5:10	 7:00	 5:53	 6:10	 6:30	 6:14	 8:10	 5:36	 8:45	 5:27	 9:04
	 25	 7:41	 5:11	 6:59	 5:55	 6:08	 6:32	 6:12	 8:11	 5:35	 8:46	 5:27	 9:04

	 26	 7:40	 5:12	 6:57	 5:56	 6:06	 6:33	 6:11	 8:12	 5:34	 8:47	 5:28	 9:04
	 27	 7:39	 5:14	 6:55	 5:58	 6:04	 6:34	 6:09	 8:13	 5:33	 8:48	 5:28	 9:04
	 28	 7:38	 5:15	 6:53	 5:59	 6:02	 6:35	 6:08	 8:15	 5:32	 8:49	 5:29	 9:04
	 29	 7:37	 5:17	 	 	 6:00	 6:37	 6:06	 8:16	 5:32	 8:50	 5:29	 9:04
	 30	 7:36	 5:18	 	 	 5:58	 6:38	 6:05	 8:17	 5:31	 8:51	 5:30	 9:04

	 31	 7:35	 5:19	 	 	 5:56	 6:39	 	 	 5:30	 8:52	

JAN.	 FEB.	 MAR.	 APR.	 MAY	 JUNE

sunrise/sunseT Table
Nine hunting time zones are shown on the map to the right. Sunrise  

and sunset times to be used for hunting purposes in the “In Table” zone 
are shown in the table* below and at right. To determine times for other 
zones, add or subtract, as appropriate, the minutes shown at the top 
of the map to the times shown in the table. Times shown are Central 
Daylight Saving Time through October 29, 2005 and Central Standard 
Time thereafter.

DAY
	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set
	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM



1�9

	 5:30	 9:04	 5:58	 8:40	 6:35	 7:51	 7:11	 6:54	 6:51	 5:02	 7:31	 4:33	 1
	 5:31	 9:03	 5:59	 8:39	 6:36	 7:49	 7:12	 6:52	 6:53	 5:00	 7:32	 4:33	 2
	 5:31	 9:03	 6:00	 8:38	 6:37	 7:47	 7:13	 6:51	 6:54	 4:59	 7:33	 4:33	 3
	 5:32	 9:03	 6:01	 8:36	 6:38	 7:45	 7:14	 6:49	 6:55	 4:58	 7:34	 4:32	 4
	 5:32	 9:02	 6:03	 8:35	 6:39	 7:44	 7:16	 6:47	 6:57	 4:56	 7:35	 4:32	 5
	
	 5:33	 9:02	 6:04	 8:34	 6:41	 7:42	 7:17	 6:45	 6:58	 4:55	 7:36	 4:32	 6
	 5:34	 9:02	 6:05	 8:32	 6:42	 7:40	 7:18	 6:43	 6:59	 4:54	 7:37	 4:32	 7
	 5:35	 9:01	 6:06	 8:31	 6:43	 7:38	 7:19	 6:41	 7:01	 4:53	 7:38	 4:32	 8
	 5:35	 9:01	 6:07	 8:29	 6:44	 7:36	 7:21	 6:40	 7:02	 4:51	 7:39	 4:32	 9
	 5:36	 9:00	 6:08	 8:28	 6:45	 7:34	 7:22	 6:38	 7:04	 4:50	 7:40	 4:32	 10
	
	 5:37	 9:00	 6:10	 8:26	 6:47	 7:32	 7:23	 6:36	 7:05	 4:49	 7:41	 4:32	 11
	 5:38	 8:59	 6:11	 8:25	 6:48	 7:30	 7:25	 6:34	 7:06	 4:48	 7:42	 4:32	 12
	 5:39	 8:59	 6:12	 8:23	 6:49	 7:28	 7:26	 6:32	 7:08	 4:47	 7:43	 4:32	 13
	 5:39	 8:58	 6:13	 8:22	 6:50	 7:27	 7:27	 6:31	 7:09	 4:46	 7:44	 4:32	 14
	 5:40	 8:57	 6:14	 8:20	 6:51	 7:25	 7:28	 6:29	 7:10	 4:45	 7:44	 4:32	 15

	 5:41	 8:56	 6:16	 8:18	 6:53	 7:23	 7:30	 6:27	 7:12	 4:44	 7:45	 4:32	 16
	 5:42	 8:56	 6:17	 8:17	 6:54	 7:21	 7:31	 6:25	 7:13	 4:43	 7:46	 4:33	 17
	 5:43	 8:55	 6:18	 8:15	 6:55	 7:19	 7:32	 6:24	 7:14	 4:42	 7:46	 4:33	 18
	 5:44	 8:54	 6:19	 8:14	 6:56	 7:17	 7:34	 6:22	 7:16	 4:41	 7:47	 4:33	 19
	 5:45	 8:53	 6:20	 8:12	 6:57	 7:15	 7:35	 6:20	 7:17	 4:40	 7:48	 4:34	 20

	 5:46	 8:52	 6:22	 8:10	 6:59	 7:13	 7:36	 6:19	 7:18	 4:39	 7:48	 4:34	 21
	 5:47	 8:51	 6:23	 8:09	 7:00	 7:11	 7:38	 6:17	 7:20	 4:39	 7:49	 4:35	 22
	 5:48	 8:50	 6:24	 8:07	 7:01	 7:09	 7:39	 6:16	 7:21	 4:38	 7:49	 4:35	 23
	 5:49	 8:49	 6:25	 8:05	 7:02	 7:08	 7:40	 6:14	 7:22	 4:37	 7:50	 4:36	 24
	 5:50	 8:48	 6:26	 8:03	 7:03	 7:06	 7:42	 6:12	 7:24	 4:36	 7:50	 4:37	 25

	 5:51	 8:47	 6:28	 8:02	 7:05	 7:04	 7:43	 6:11	 7:25	 4:36	 7:50	 4:37	 26
	 5:52	 8:46	 6:29	 8:00	 7:06	 7:02	 7:44	 6:09	 7:26	 4:35	 7:51	 4:38	 27
	 5:54	 8:45	 6:30	 7:58	 7:07	 7:00	 7:46	 6:08	 7:27	 4:35	 7:51	 4:39	 28
	 5:55	 8:44	 6:31	 7:56	 7:08	 6:58	 7:47	 6:06	 7:28	 4:34	 7:51	 4:39	 29
	 5:56	 8:43	 6:32	 7:55	 7:09	 6:56	 6:48	 5:05	 7:30	 4:34	 7:51	 4:40	 30

	 5:57	 8:41	 6:33	 7:53	 	 	 6:50	 5:03	 	 	 7:51	 4:41	 31

Public Lands & Wildlife Refuges
Public lands & W

ildlife refuGes

DAY

JULY	 AUG.	 SEPT.	 OCT.	 NOV.	 DEC.
	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set
	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM	 AM	 PM

*In tables below

Minutes to
add or subtract
from tables
below.

Add Subtract
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public perceives hunters as a safe, 
ethical and law-abiding community.

If you are proud of Minnesota’s hunt-
ing heritage, thank a Firearms Safety 
Instructor. If you are committed to 
the future of hunting in Minnesota, 

why not become 
one? It’s a great 
way to keep our 
youth active in 
hunting. 

Earning a firearm 
safety certificate 
requires taking 12 
hours of instruc-
tion and passing 
a written test as 
well as a field test, 
where students 
demonstrate safe 
hunting principles 
and use a firearm 
at a range. 

Firearm safety 
training is available to 11-year-
olds and older. Anyone born after 
 December 31, 1979, cannot purchase 
a Minnesota hunting license without 
taking a DNR Safety Training Course 
and receiving a certificate. 

Firearm Safety Hunter Education 
courses are available both in the 
spring and early fall. For more infor-
mation on classes in your area or on 
becoming a firearms safety instructor 
in your area log on to www.dnr.state.
mn.us or call 1-888-MINNDNR 
(646-6367).

What do football, baseball, cycling, 
fishing, bowling and badminton have 
in common? Statistically, they are all 
more risky than hunting.

According to the National Safety 
Council, hunters are among the least 
likely of outdoor 
enthusiasts to suffer 
an injury that re-
quires treatment in 
an emergency room. 
Aiming to keep it 
that way are the 
volunteer instruc-
tors who this year 
will celebrate the 
50th anniversary of 
the DNR Firearm 
Safety/Hunter 
Education Program 
in Minnesota.

With approximately 
750,000 hunters in 
the woods, fields 
and marshes each 
year, Minnesota has one of the best 
safety records in the nation. That 
record is due in large part to a dedi-
cated group of about 6,000 volunteer 
instructors who keep the firearms 
safety and hunter education programs 
thriving. This year, the 1 millionth 
student will be certified—almost one 
in every five Minnesotans. 

Moreover, safety in the field builds 
public support for hunting. Only one 
in nine Minnesotans hunt, yet seven 
of nine Minnesotans support hunting. 
That is proof that the non-hunting 

Firearms safety turns 50
DNR thanks volunteer firearms safety instructors 


