
 
 
 
 
 
 

Minnesota Minimum-wage 
Report, 2003 

 
 
 

 
David Berry 

 
 
 

March 2004 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Research and Statistics 
 
 

443 Lafayette Road N. 
St. Paul, MN  55155-4307 

(651) 284-5025 
dli.research@state.mn.us 

www.doli.state.mn.us/research.html 
 
 

This report is available at http://www.doli.state.mn.us/pdf/2003minwage.pdf. Information in this report can be obtained in 
alternative formats by calling the Department of Labor and Industry at 1-800-342-5354 or TTY at (651) 297-4198. 

Minnesota Department
of Labor and Industry

COUNCIL 6

(AFSCME)
UNION LABE.1.

http://www.doli.state.mn.us/pdf/2003minwage.pdf


Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Minimum-wage Report — 2003 
 
 
 
 

Executive Summary 
 
 
This report, part of an annual series, is a 
statistical description of Minnesota’s population 
of minimum-wage workers during 2003. The 
report considers minimum-wage workers within 
the population of all employed wage-and-salary 
workers age 16 years and older. Minimum-wage 
workers are defined in the report as those who 
earn $5.15 an hour or less at their main job.1  
Since September 1997, the minimum wage for 
most workers in Minnesota has been $5.15 an 
hour.2 
  
The following are the report’s major findings: 
 
Overview 
 
• In 2003, there were an estimated 49,000 

minimum-wage workers in Minnesota, or 2.0 
percent of all wage-and-salary workers in the 
state. 

• By comparison, 3.0 percent of U.S. wage-
and-salary workers earned $5.15 an hour or 
less. 

• Because of overall wage growth, the 
percentage of the state’s wage-and-salary 
workers at or below $5.15 an hour fell from 
4.4 percent in 1998 (the first full year of the 
current $5.15 minimum) to 2.0 percent in 
2002. 

• Hourly workers made up 61 percent of 
Minnesota’s minimum-wage workers during 
2001 to 2003; nonhourly, or salaried, 
workers made up the remaining 39 percent. 

• Among all Minnesota workers earning $5.15 
an hour or less during 2001 to 2003, 79 
percent earned less than $5.15, with 43 
percent earning less than $4.25. Possible 
reasons include coverage exemptions, a 

lower minimum for some workers, illegal 
situations, and data errors. 

                                                      
1 The term “minimum-wage worker” as used in this 

report has no implications regarding the degree of 
compliance with the minimum-wage law. 

2 See Appendix A for exceptions. 

Detailed estimates for 2003 
 
Age and gender 
 
• Among 16- to 19-year-olds in Minnesota, 7.7 

percent earned $5.15 an hour or less, 
compared with 1.1 percent of 25- to 54-year-
olds and 2.1 percent of those 55 and older. 

• Forty-five percent of all minimum-wage 
workers were 16- to 24. 

• Among employed women, 2.6 percent were 
minimum-wage workers, compared with 1.5 
percent of men. 

Work status 
 
• Among part-time workers, 5.4 percent earned 

$5.15 an hour or less, compared with 1.1 
percent of full-time workers. 

• Part-time workers made up 59 percent of all 
minimum-wage workers, but only 22 percent 
of the work force. 

Education 
 
• Among workers with less than a high-school 

education, 6.4 percent were minimum-wage 
workers, compared with 2.1 percent for those 
with a high-school degree and 1.4 for those 
with at least some college.  

• Those without a high-school degree made up 
27 percent of all minimum-wage workers, 
even though they comprised only 8 percent 
of the workforce. 
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Marital status 
 
• Among unmarried workers, 3.3 percent 

earned $5.15 an hour or less, as opposed to 
1.1 percent of married workers. 

• Unmarried workers accounted for 70 percent 
of all minimum-wage workers as compared 
with 43 percent of the workforce. 

Poverty status 
 
• Minimum-wage workers accounted for 5.8 

percent of workers living below the poverty 
line, as opposed to 1.8 percent of workers 
above the poverty line. 

• Workers below the poverty line made up 15 
percent of all minimum-wage workers, as 
opposed to 9 percent of the overall 
workforce. 

Metropolitan residence 
 
• In metropolitan Minnesota (Twin Cities and 

Duluth areas), minimum-wage workers made 
up 1.8 percent of the workforce; for the rest 
of the state, minimum-wage workers were 
2.6 percent of the total. 

Industry 
 
• Among major industries, eating and drinking 

places had the highest rate of minimum-wage 
workers, 12.3 percent. About 34 percent of 
all minimum-wage workers were employed 
in eating and drinking places. (Tips are not 
included in the calculations for this report.3) 

• The second-highest percentage of minimum-
wage workers was in private household 
services, 9.9 percent. 

Occupation 
 
• Among major occupation groups, food 

preparation and serving occupations had the 
highest rate of minimum-wage workers at 

12.5 percent. About 36 percent of minimum-
wage workers were in these occupations. 

                                                      
3 Tips are excluded from wages for purposes of the 

Minnesota minimum-wage law (see Appendix A). 

• The next highest percentages of minimum-
wage workers were in personal care and 
service occupations (7.0 percent) and 
farming, fishing, and forestry occupations 
(5.4 percent). 

 ii
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Introduction 
 
 
The federal minimum wage was enacted in 1938 
as a means of raising the earnings of low-wage 
workers. From its initial level of 25 cents, it has 
been raised several times and now stands at 
$5.15. Initially, coverage was limited to 
employees engaged in interstate commerce or in 
the production of goods for interstate commerce. 
Coverage has since been expanded to include 
most of the labor force. Other than for “small 
employers” (see below), Minnesota’s minimum 
wage is currently equal to the federal minimum. 
  
As policy-makers consider the minimum wage, a 
number of questions arise. One general question 
concerns the characteristics and circumstances 
of minimum-wage workers. Are they relatively 
young or old?  What are their family status and 
family income?  In what occupations and 
industries are they most likely to be found? 
 
This report, part of an annual series, presents a 
statistical description of minimum-wage workers 
in Minnesota for 2003. Appendix A contains 
Minnesota’s minimum-wage law. Appendix B 
describes data and estimation procedures. 
  
Data and estimation technique 
 
The statistics in this report are estimates 
computed from the Current Population Survey 
(CPS). This survey, conducted monthly by the 
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, provides data on 
the labor market experience of U.S. households. 
The Minnesota survey data has too few sample 
cases to provide reliable estimates of the 
numbers of minimum-wage workers in different 
categories in the state. Therefore, the Minnesota 
estimates were computed with a combination of 
Minnesota and U.S. data (see Appendix B). 
 
Workers earning less than the 
minimum wage 
 
Minimum-wage workers are defined in this 
report as employed wage-and-salary workers 

earning $5.15 an hour or less. 4  Among 
Minnesota workers earning $5.15 an hour or less 
during 2001 to 2003, 79 percent earned less than 
$5.15, with 43 percent earning less than $4.25. 
Why does this occur? 
 
First, some workers are exempt from the 
minimum wage.5  Second, some nonexempt 
workers may legally be paid less than $5.15 an 
hour. For “small employers” — those with 
annual revenues of less than $500,000 — that 
are not covered under the federal law, Minnesota 
provides a minimum of $4.90 an hour. For 
workers under age 20, a minimum of $4.25 an 
hour may be paid during the first 90 days of 
employment. Special rules also apply to 
handicapped workers. 
 
Third, some covered workers may be paid less 
than the minimum wage illegally. This seems 
more likely with salaried workers than with 
hourly workers. Among Minnesota workers 
earning $5.15 an hour or less during 2001 to 
2003, 61 percent were hourly workers and the 
remaining 39 percent were salaried. 
Enforcement is clearly more challenging for 
salaried workers because of the difficulty of 
monitoring hours worked. Finally, data-
reporting errors may occur. This also seems 
more likely for salaried workers, whose hourly 
earnings were calculated by dividing reported 
weekly pay at the worker’s main job by the 
reported number of hours worked a week.6 

                                                      
4 The term “minimum-wage worker” as used in this 

report has no implications regarding the degree of 
compliance with the minimum-wage law. 

5 See Appendix A. 
6 The usual number of hours worked may be reported 

with error, or actual hours worked in the survey week may 
be different from usual hours worked. Note that reporting 
error may cause reported or calculated wages to be either 
too low or too high. Thus, it is unknown whether reporting 
error causes an increase or decrease in the estimated 
number of minimum-wage workers. 
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Figure 1 
Minimum-wage workers as percentage of all wage-and-salary workers, 

Minnesota and the United States, 1998-2003 [1] 
 
 
 

Minnesota United States
Number of Number of
workers at Pctg. of all workers at Percentage
or below wage-and- or below wage-and-
$5.15/hr. salary $5.15/hr. salary
(1,000s) workers (1,000s) workers

1998 99  4.4% 6,660  5.7%
1999 77 3.3 5,170 4.4 
2000 62 2.6 4,490 3.7 
2001 56 2.4 3,890 3.2 
2002 50 2.1 3,710 3.1 

     2003 [2] 49 2.0 3,600 3.0 

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B.

2. The 2003 figures for Minnesota are preliminary.
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The percentage of minimum-wage workers 
among wage-and-salary workers has fallen over 
the last five years in Minnesota and the United 
States. The percentage of minimum-wage 
workers has been consistently lower in 
Minnesota than in the United States. 
 
• In Minnesota, the percentage of minimum-

wage workers fell from a 4.4-percent share of 
all wage-and-salary workers in 1998 to 2.0 

percent in 2003. This is the combined result 
of a fixed minimum wage ($5.15 since Sept. 
1, 1997) and generally rising wage levels. 

• Minnesota’s share of minimum-wage 
workers was about a percentage point lower 
than for the United States for the period 
shown. For 2003, the U.S. share of 
minimum-wage workers was 3.0 percent, as 
compared with 2.0 percent for Minnesota. 

 2
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Figure 2 
Minimum-wage workers by gender and age, Minnesota, 2003 [1] 

 
 Group as

 Number percentage of
Total at or below Percentage all workers

workers $5.15/hour at or below at or below
Gender and age (1,000s) (1,000s) $5.15/hour $5.15/hour

Total, 16 years and older 2,427 49   2.0%   100.0%
16-19 years 171 13 7.7 26.8
20-24 years 275 11 4.1 22.7
25-54 years 1,687 19 1.1 38.0
55 years and older 294 6 2.1 12.5

Men, 16 years and older 1,217 18 1.5 35.9
16-19 years 78 5 6.3 9.9
20-24 years 142 4 2.9 8.3
25-54 years 861 6 .8 13.2
55 years and older 137 2 1.6 4.5

Women, 16 years and older 1,210 32 2.6 64.1
16-19 years 93 8 8.9 16.9
20-24 years 132 7 5.3 14.4
25-54 years 826 12 1.5 24.8
55 years and older 158 4 2.5 8.0

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S.
Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Young workers and women are more likely than 
others to be minimum-wage workers. Older 
workers are more likely than those in their 
middle years to be minimum-wage workers. 
 
• Among 16- to 19-year-olds, 7.7 percent 

earned $5.15 an hour or less, compared with 
1.1 percent of 25- to 54-year-olds and 2.1 
percent of those 55 and older. 

• As a result, 16- to 19-year-olds comprised 
roughly 27 percent of all minimum-wage 
workers even though they made up only 7 
percent of the work force. Combining the 

two youngest groups, 16- to 24-year-olds 
made up 49 percent of all minimum-wage 
workers. 

• Although 25- to 54-year-olds were least 
likely to be minimum-wage workers, they 
made up 38 percent of all minimum-wage 
workers because they accounted for 70 
percent of the workforce. 

• Women were more likely than men to be 
minimum-wage workers (2.6 vs. 1.5 percent), 
and therefore accounted for 64 percent of all 
minimum-wage workers. 

 3
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Figure 3 
Minimum-wage workers by work status, gender and age, Minnesota, 2003 [1] 

 
 Group as

 Number percentage of
Total at or below Percentage all workers

workers $5.15/hour at or below at or below
Work status, gender and age (1,000s) (1,000s) $5.15/hour $5.15/hour

Total 2,427 49   2.0%   100.0%
Full time [2] 1,891 20 1.1 40.7

Men 1,057 9 .8 17.4
Women 835 11 1.4 23.3
16-19 years 39 2 4.7 3.7
20-24 years 187 5 2.6 9.8
25-54 years 1,462 11 .8 22.5
55 years and older 203 2 1.1 4.7

Part time [2] 536 29 5.4 59.3
Men 161 9 5.7 18.6
Women 375 20 5.3 40.8
16-19 years 132 11 8.6 23.1
20-24 years 87 6 7.3 12.9
25-54 years 225 8 3.4 15.5
55 years and older 92 4 4.2 7.8

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S.
Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B.

2. Full-time workers are defined as those usually working 35 or more hours a week.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Part-time workers are much more likely than 
full-time workers to be minimum-wage workers. 
 
• Of part-time workers, 5.4 percent earned 

$5.15 an hour or less, compared with 1.1 
percent of full-time workers. 

• Part-time workers made up 59 percent of all 
minimum-wage workers, even though they 

accounted for only 22 percent of the work 
force. 

• Among part-time workers, men were 
somewhat more likely than women to be 
minimum-wage workers (5.7 vs. 5.3 percent). 
Among full-time workers, women were more 
likely to be minimum-wage workers (1.4 
percent vs. 0.8 percent for men). 

 4
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Figure 4 
Minimum-wage workers by education, gender and age, Minnesota, 2003 [1] 

 
 Group as

 Number percentage of
Total at or below Percentage all workers

workers $5.15/hour at or below at or below
Education, gender and age (1,000s) (1,000s) $5.15/hour $5.15/hour

Total 2,427 49   2.0%   100.0%
Less than high school 205 13 6.4 26.5

Men 110 5 4.8 10.7
Women 95 8 8.2 15.8
16-19 years 105 9 8.8 18.8
20-24 years 17 1 4.8 1.7
25-54 years 60 2 3.1 3.8
55 years and older 22 1 4.8 2.1

High school only 643 13 2.1 27.1
Men 328 4 1.3 8.7
Women 315 9 2.9 18.4
16-19 years 38 2 5.6 4.3
20-24 years 79 3 3.5 5.6
25-54 years 420 6 1.5 12.4
55 years and older 106 2 2.2 4.7

At least some college 1,580 23 1.4 46.5
Men 780 8 1.0 16.6
Women 800 15 1.8 29.9
16-19 years 28 2 6.3 3.6
20-24 years 178 8 4.2 15.4
25-54 years 1,206 11 .9 21.8
55 years and older 167 3 1.7 5.7

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S.
Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Minimum-wage workers are most prevalent 
among the least educated. 
 
• Minimum-wage workers comprised 6.4 

percent of workers with less than a high-
school education, compared with 2.1 percent 
for those with a high-school degree and 1.4 
for those with at least some college. 

• Because a majority of workers have at least 
some college education, these people 
accounted for 47 percent of all minimum-
wage workers. 

• Those without a high-school degree made up 
27 percent of all minimum-wage workers, 
even though they comprised only 8 percent 
of the workforce. 

 5
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Figure 5 
Minimum-wage workers by marital status, gender and age, Minnesota, 2003 [1] 

 
 Group as

 Number percentage of
Total at or below Percentage all workers

workers $5.15/hour at or below at or below
Marital status, gender and age (1,000s) (1,000s) $5.15/hour $5.15/hour

Total 2,427 49   2.0%   100.0%
Married, spouse present 1,382 15 1.1 30.5

Men 710 5 .7 9.8
Women 672 10 1.5 20.7
16-19 years 1 [2] 5.2 .1
20-24 years 39 1 2.6 2.1
25-54 years 1,135 10 .9 20.8
55 years and older 207 4 1.8 7.5

Other marital status 1,045 34 3.3 69.5
Men 507 13 2.5 26.1
Women 538 21 4.0 43.4
16-19 years 170 13 7.7 26.7
20-24 years 235 10 4.3 20.6
25-54 years 552 8 1.5 17.2
55 years and older 88 2 2.8 5.0

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S.
Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B.

2. Fewer than 500 workers.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Unmarried workers are more likely to earn $5.15 
an hour or less than are married workers. 
 
• Minimum-wage workers comprised 3.3 

percent of unmarried workers, as opposed to 
1.1 for those who were married. 

• Unmarried workers accounted for 70 percent 
of all minimum-wage workers even though 

they made up only 43 percent of the 
workforce. 

• Unmarried women made up 43 percent of all 
minimum-wage workers even though they 
accounted for only 22 percent of the 
workforce. 
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Figure 6 
Minimum-wage workers by poverty status, gender and age, Minnesota, 2003 [1] 

 
 Group as

 Number percentage of
Total at or below Percentage all workers

workers $5.15/hour at or below at or below
Poverty, status, gender and age (1,000s) (1,000s) $5.15/hour $5.15/hour

Total 2,427 49   2.0%   100.0%
At or below poverty line [2] 128 7 5.8 15.1

Men 61 3 4.6 5.7
Women 67 5 6.9 9.4
16-19 years 14 1 9.5 2.7
20-24 years 37 2 6.2 4.7
25-54 years 67 3 4.4 6.0
55 years and older 9 1 8.9 1.7

Above poverty line [2] 2,299 42 1.8 84.9
Men 1,156 15 1.3 30.2
Women 1,143 27 2.4 54.7
16-19 years 157 12 7.5 24.1
20-24 years 237 9 3.7 18.0
25-54 years 1,620 16 1.0 32.0
55 years and older 285 5 1.9 10.8

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S.
Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B.

2. The poverty line depends on household size and is applied to total household income. The poverty status of
each household member is the same as the poverty status of the household.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Minimum-wage workers are more prevalent 
among those in poverty than among other 
workers. 
 
• Minimum-wage workers accounted for 5.8 

percent of workers living below the poverty 

line, as opposed to 1.8 percent of workers 
above the poverty line. 

• Workers below the poverty line made up 15 
percent of all minimum-wage workers, 
compared with 5 percent of the overall 
workforce. 
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Figure 7 
Minimum-wage workers by metropolitan residence, gender and age, Minnesota, 2003 [1] 

 
 Group as

 Number percentage of
Total at or below Percentage all workers

Metropolitan residence, workers $5.15/hour at or below at or below
gender and age (1,000s) (1,000s) $5.15/hour $5.15/hour

Total 2,427 49   2.0%   100.0%
Metropolitan [2] 1,840 34 1.8 68.4

Men 929 12 1.3 25.1
Women 911 21 2.3 43.3
16-19 years 120 8 6.8 16.6
20-24 years 216 8 3.9 17.0
25-54 years 1,294 13 1.0 27.2
55 years and older 209 4 1.8 7.6

Nonmetropolitan [2] 588 16 2.6 31.6
Men 288 5 1.9 10.9
Women 299 10 3.4 20.8
16-19 years 51 5 9.9 10.2
20-24 years 59 3 4.7 5.7
25-54 years 393 5 1.4 10.9
55 years and older 85 2 2.8 4.9

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S.
Bureau of Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B.

2. The metropolitan areas of Minnesota consist of St. Louis County (which contains Duluth) and that portion of the
Twin Cities Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) that is in Minnesota:  Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota,
Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, Washington and Wright Counties. The remainder of the Twin
Cities MSA is in Wisconsin and is excluded here.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Minimum-wage workers are more prevalent in 
outstate Minnesota than in the Twin Cities 
metropolitan area. 
 
• In metropolitan Minnesota, minimum-wage 

workers constituted 1.8 percent of the 
workforce; for the rest of the state, 

minimum-wage workers were 2.6 percent of 
the total. 

• Nonmetro Minnesota accounted for 32 
percent of all minimum-wage workers even 
though it had only 24 percent of the 
workforce. 
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Figure 8 
Minimum-wage workers by industry, Minnesota, 2003 [1] 

 
 Group as

 Number percentage of
Total at or below Percentage all workers

workers $5.15/hour at or below at or below
Industry group [2] (1,000s) (1,000s) $5.15/hour $5.15/hour

Total 2,427 49   2.0%   100.0%
Agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting 14 1 5.3 1.4
Mining 9 [4] .2 .0
Utilities 16 [4] .6 .2
Construction 146 1 .9 2.7
Manufacturing 379 2 .7 5.1
Wholesale trade 72 1 .8 1.1
Retail trade 293 5 1.7 9.9
Transportation and warehousing 95 1 1.1 2.0
Information 53 1 1.0 1.1
Finance and insurance 168 1 .6 2.1
Real estate, rental, and leasing 36 1 2.1 1.5
Professional, scientific, and technical servs. 129 1 .7 1.8
Mgmt., adm. and support, and waste mgmt. servs. 85 2 1.8 3.1
Educational services 236 4 1.7 8.2
Health care ex. hospital and residential servs. 90 1 1.0 1.9
Hospitals 124 1 .8 1.9
Residential facilities 52 1 1.8 1.9
Social assistance 55 2 4.5 5.0
Arts, entertainment and recreation 40 1 3.7 2.9
Hotels, motels and other accommodation 17 1 4.3 1.5
Eating and drinking places 136 17 12.3 33.8
Private household services 14 1 9.9 2.9
Other services 90 3 3.5 6.4
Public administration [3] 80 1 .9 1.5

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S. Bureau of
Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B.

2. Except for the public administration division (see note 3), industries include the private and public sectors.
3. The public administration division is limited to those government employees not classifiable under other industries, such as

construction or educational services.
4. Fewer than 500 workers.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Among industry groups, minimum-wage 
workers are most prevalent in eating and 
drinking places. 
 
• Among industry groups, eating and drinking 

places had the highest rate of minimum-wage 
workers, 12.3 percent. About 34 percent of 
all minimum-wage workers were employed 
in eating and drinking places. (Tips are not 
included in these calculations. 7) 

• Relatively high concentrations of minimum-
wage workers were also found in private 

household services; agriculture, forestry, 
fishing and hunting; social assistance; and 
hotels, motels and other accommodation.

 9

                                                      
7 Tips are excluded from wages for purposes of the 

minimum-wage law (see Appendix A). 
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Figure 9 
Minimum-wage workers by occupation, Minnesota, 2003 [1] 

 
 Group as

 Number percentage of
Total at or below Percentage all workers

workers $5.15/hour at or below at or below
Occupation group (1,000s) (1,000s) $5.15/hour $5.15/hour

Total 2,427 49   2.0%   100.0%
Management, professional and technical [2] 677 5 .7 9.3
Community and social service 48 1 1.5 1.5
Education, training and library 150 2 1.4 4.4
Arts, design, entertainment, sports and media 41 1 2.1 1.8
Health care support 56 1 2.4 2.7
Protective service 32 [3] 1.2 .8
Food preparation and serving 141 18 12.5 35.7
Building and grounds cleaning and maintenance 70 3 3.8 5.3
Personal care and service 65 5 7.0 9.2
Sales and related services 257 4 1.7 9.0
Office and administrative support 357 4 1.1 7.8
Farming, fishing and forestry 12 1 5.4 1.3
Construction and extraction 127 1 .9 2.2
Installation, maintenance and repair 77 1 .7 1.1
Production 178 2 1.0 3.7
Transportation and material moving 141 2 1.5 4.3

1. Estimated by DLI Research and Statistics with data from the Current Population Survey, conducted by the U.S. Bureau of
Labor Statistics. Details in Appendix B.

2. Includes management occupations; business and financial occupations; computer and mathematical science occupations;
architectural and engineering occupations; life, physical and social science occupations; legal occupations; and
health care practitioner and technical occupations. The percentages of workers at or below $5.15 an hour in these groups
range from 0.3 to 0.9 percent.

3. Fewer than 500 workers.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Minimum-wage workers are most prevalent in 
food preparation and serving occupations. 
 
• Food preparation and serving occupations 

had a 12.5 percent rate of minimum-wage 
workers. About 36 percent of minimum-
wage workers were in these occupations. 

• Relatively high concentrations of minimum-
wage workers were also found in personal 
care and service occupations; farming, 
forestry and fishing occupations; and 
building and grounds cleaning and 
maintenance occupations. 
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Appendix A 
 

Minnesota Minimum-Wage Statute 
 
 
The following is Minnesota Statutes §177.23, 
177.24, and 177.28 as of 2003:8 
 
177.23 Definitions.  
 
Subdivision 1. Scope. Unless the language or 
context clearly indicates that a different meaning 
is intended, the following terms, for the purposes 
of sections 177.21 to 177.35, have the meanings 
given to them in this section.  
 
Subd. 2. Department. "Department" means the 
department of labor and industry.  
 
Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" 
means the commissioner of labor and industry or 
authorized designee or representative.  
 
Subd. 4. Wage. "Wage" means compensation 
due to an employee by reason of employment, 
payable in legal tender of the United States, 
check on banks convertible into cash on demand 
at full face value or, except for instances of 
written objection to the employer by the 
employee, direct deposit to the employee's 
choice of demand deposit account, subject to 
allowances permitted by rules of the department 
under section 177.28.  
 
Subd. 5. Employ. "Employ" means to permit to 
work.  
 
Subd. 6. Employer. "Employer" means any 
individual, partnership, association, corporation, 
business trust, or any person or group of persons 
acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an 
employer in relation to an employee.  
 

                                                      
8 Taken from the Web site of the Minnesota Office of 

the Revisor of Statutes, 
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/stats/177/.  

Subd. 7. Employee. "Employee" means any 
individual employed by an employer but does 
not include:  
 
(1) two or fewer specified individuals employed 
at any given time in agriculture on a farming 
unit or operation who are paid a salary;  
 
(2) any individual employed in agriculture on a 
farming unit or operation who is paid a salary 
greater than the individual would be paid if the 
individual worked 48 hours at the state 
minimum wage plus 17 hours at 1-1/2 times the 
state minimum wage per week;  
 
(3) an individual under 18 who is employed in 
agriculture on a farm to perform services other 
than corn detasseling or hand field work when 
one or both of that minor hand field worker's 
parents or physical custodians are also hand field 
workers;  
 
(4) for purposes of section 177.24, an individual 
under 18 who is employed as a corn detasseler;  
 
(5) any staff member employed on a seasonal 
basis by an organization for work in an 
organized resident or day camp operating under 
a permit issued under section 144.72;  
 
(6) any individual employed in a bona fide 
executive, administrative, or professional 
capacity, or a salesperson who conducts no more 
than 20 percent of sales on the premises of the 
employer;  
 
(7) any individual who renders service 
gratuitously for a nonprofit organization;  
 
(8) any individual who serves as an elected 
official for a political subdivision or who serves 
on any governmental board, commission, 
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committee or other similar body, or who renders 
service gratuitously for a political subdivision;  
 
(9) any individual employed by a political 
subdivision to provide police or fire protection 
services or employed by an entity whose 
principal purpose is to provide police or fire 
protection services to a political subdivision;  
 
(10) any individual employed by a political 
subdivision who is ineligible for membership in 
the public employees retirement association 
under section 353.01, subdivision 2b, clause (1), 
(2), (4), or (9);  
 
(11) any driver employed by an employer 
engaged in the business of operating taxicabs;  
 
(12) any individual engaged in babysitting as a 
sole practitioner;  
 
(13) for the purpose of section 177.25, any 
individual employed on a seasonal basis in a 
carnival, circus, fair, or ski facility;  
 
(14) any individual under 18 working less than 
20 hours per workweek for a municipality as 
part of a recreational program;  
 
(15) any individual employed by the state as a 
natural resource manager 1, 2, or 3 (conservation 
officer);  
 
(16) any individual in a position for which the 
U.S. Department of Transportation has power to 
establish qualifications and maximum hours of 
service under U.S. Code, title 49, section 304;  
 
(17) any individual employed as a seafarer. The 
term "seafarer" means a master of a vessel or 
any person subject to the authority, direction, 
and control of the master who is exempt from 
federal overtime standards under U.S. Code, title 
29, section 213(b)(6), including but not limited 
to pilots, sailors, engineers, radio operators, 
firefighters, security guards, pursers, surgeons, 
cooks, and stewards;  
 
(18) any individual employed by a county in a 
single-family residence owned by a county 
home school as authorized under section 

260B.060 if the residence is an extension facility 
of that county home school, and if the individual 
as part of the employment duties resides at the 
residence for the purpose of supervising children 
as defined by section 260C.007, subdivision 4; 
or  
 
(19) nuns, monks, priests, lay brothers, lay 
sisters, ministers, deacons, and other members of 
religious orders who serve pursuant to their 
religious obligations in schools, hospitals, and 
other nonprofit institutions operated by the 
church or religious order.  
 
Subd. 8. Occupation. "Occupation" means any 
occupation, service, trade, business, industry, or 
branch or group of industries or employment or 
class of employment in which employees are 
gainfully employed.  
 
Subd. 9. Gratuities. "Gratuities" means 
monetary contributions received directly or 
indirectly by an employee from a guest, patron, 
or customer for services rendered and includes 
an obligatory charge assessed to customers, 
guests or patrons which might reasonably be 
construed by the guest, customer, or patron as 
being a payment for personal services rendered 
by an employee and for which no clear and 
conspicuous notice is given by the employer to 
the customer, guest, or patron that the charge is 
not the property of the employee.  
 
Subd. 10. On-site employee; hours worked. 
With respect to any caretaker, manager, or other 
on-site employee of a residential building or 
buildings whose principal place of residence is 
in the residential building, including a caretaker, 
manager, or other on-site employee who 
receives a principal place of residence as full or 
partial compensation for duties performed for an 
employer, the term "hours worked" includes 
time when the caretaker, manager, or other on-
site employee is performing any duties of 
employment, but does not mean time when the 
caretaker, manager, or other on-site employee is 
on the premises and available to perform duties 
of employment and is not performing duties of 
employment.  
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Subd. 11. Companionship services; hours. 
With respect to an individual who is: (1) 
employed to provide companionship services to 
individuals who, because of age or infirmity, are 
unable to care for their own needs; (2) employed 
to stay overnight in the home of such an aged or 
infirm individual; and (3) paid the minimum 
wage or more for at least four hours associated 
with the overnight stay, the term "hours" for the 
purposes of requiring the payment of minimum 
wages and overtime premiums under sections 
177.24 and 177.25, shall not include nighttime 
hours, from 10:00 p.m. to 9:00 a.m., up to a total 
of eight hours per night, during which the 
employee is available to perform duties for the 
aged or infirm individual, but is not in fact 
performing such duties and is free to sleep and 
otherwise engage in normal private pursuits in 
the aged or infirm individual's home. For the 
purposes of this subdivision, the term 
"companionship services" is defined in Code of 
Federal Regulations, title 29, sections 552.6 and 
552.106 as of March 1, 1984.  
 
HIST: 1973 c 721 s 3; 1974 c 406 s 88; 1975 c 
399 s 1; 1977 c 369 s 1; 1978 c 586 s 1; 1978 c 
731 s 1; 1979 c 281 s 1; 1980 c 415 s 1; 1982 c 
424 s 46-48; 1982 c 625 s 14; 1983 c 60 s 1; 
1983 c 122 s 1; 1984 c 614 s 1; 1984 c 628 art 4 
s 1; 1Sp1985 c 13 s 274,275; 1986 c 390 s 2; 
1986 c 444; 1990 c 418 s 1; 1992 c 464 art 1 s 
24; 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2; 2001 c 178 art 1 s 44  
 
Copyright 2003 by the Office of Revisor of 
Statutes, State of Minnesota. 
 
177.24 Payment of minimum wages.  
 
Subdivision 1. Amount. (a) For purposes of this 
subdivision, the terms defined in this paragraph 
have the meanings given them.  
 
(1) "Large employer" means an enterprise whose 
annual gross volume of sales made or business 
done is not less than $500,000 (exclusive of 
excise taxes at the retail level that are separately 
stated) and covered by the Minnesota Fair Labor 
Standards Act, sections 177.21 to 177.35.  
 
(2) "Small employer" means an enterprise whose 
annual gross volume of sales made or business 

done is less than $500,000 (exclusive of excise 
taxes at the retail level that are separately stated) 
and covered by the Minnesota Fair Labor 
Standards Act, sections 177.21 to 177.35.  
 
(b) Except as otherwise provided in sections 
177.21 to 177.35, every large employer must 
pay each employee wages at a rate of at least 
$5.15 an hour beginning September 1, 1997. 
Every small employer must pay each employee 
at a rate of at least $4.90 an hour beginning 
January 1, 1998.  
 
(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), during the 
first 90 consecutive days of employment, an 
employer may pay an employee under the age of 
20 years a wage of $4.25 an hour. No employer 
may take any action to displace any employee, 
including a partial displacement through a 
reduction in hours, wages, or employment 
benefits, in order to hire an employee at the 
wage authorized in this paragraph.  
 
Subd. 1a. Expired  
 
Subd. 2. Gratuities not applied. No employer 
may directly or indirectly credit, apply, or utilize 
gratuities towards payment of the minimum 
wage set by this section or federal law.  
 
Subd. 3. Sharing of gratuities. For purposes of 
this chapter, any gratuity received by an 
employee or deposited in or about a place of 
business for personal services rendered by an 
employee is the sole property of the employee. 
No employer may require an employee to 
contribute or share a gratuity received by the 
employee with the employer or other employees 
or to contribute any or all of the gratuity to a 
fund or pool operated for the benefit of the 
employer or employees. This section does not 
prevent an employee from voluntarily and 
individually sharing gratuities with other 
employees. The agreement to share gratuities 
must be made by the employees free of any 
employer participation. The commissioner may 
require the employer to pay restitution in the 
amount of the gratuities diverted. If the records 
maintained by the employer do not provide 
sufficient information to determine the exact 
amount of gratuities diverted, the commissioner 
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may make a determination of gratuities diverted 
based on available evidence and mediate a 
settlement with the employer.  
 
Subd. 4. Unreimbursed expenses deducted. 
Deductions, direct or indirect, from wages or 
gratuities not authorized by this subdivision may 
only be taken as authorized by sections 177.28, 
subdivision 3, 181.06, and 181.79. Deductions, 
direct or indirect, for up to the full cost of the 
uniform or equipment as listed below, may not 
exceed $50. No deductions, direct or indirect, 
may be made for the items listed below which 
when subtracted from wages would reduce the 
wages below the minimum wage:  
 
(a) purchased or rented uniforms or specially 
designed clothing required by the employer, by 
the nature of the employment, or by statute as a 
condition of employment, which is not generally 
appropriate for use except in that employment;  
 
(b) purchased or rented equipment used in 
employment, except tools of a trade, a motor 
vehicle, or any other equipment which may be 
used outside the employment;  
 
(c) consumable supplies required in the course 
of that employment;  
 
(d) travel expenses in the course of employment 
except those incurred in traveling to and from 
the employee's residence and place of 
employment.  
 
Subd. 5. Expense reimbursement. An 
employer, at the termination of an employee's 
employment, must reimburse the full amount 
deducted, directly or indirectly, for any of the 
items listed in subdivision 4. When 
reimbursement is made, the employer may 
require the employee to surrender any existing 
items for which the employer provided 
reimbursement.  
 
HIST: 1973 c 721 s 4; 1976 c 165 s 1; 1977 c 
183 s 1; 1977 c 369 s 2; 1979 c 281 s 2; 1981 c 
87 s 1,2; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1; 1Sp1985 c 13 s 
276-278; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 324 s 1; 1987 c 
384 art 2 s 45; 1990 c 418 s 2-4; 1996 c 305 art 
1 s 49,50; 2Sp1997 c 1 s 1  

 
Copyright 2003 by the Office of Revisor of 
Statutes, State of Minnesota. 
 
177.28 Power to make rules.  
 
Subdivision 1. General authority. The 
commissioner may adopt rules, including 
definitions of terms, to carry out the purposes of 
sections 177.21 to 177.35, to prevent the 
circumvention or evasion of those sections, and 
to safeguard the minimum wage and overtime 
rates established by sections 177.24 and 177.25.  
 
Subd. 2. Repealed, 1988 c 629 s 64  
 
Subd. 3. Rules required. The commissioner 
shall adopt rules under sections 177.21 to 177.35 
defining and governing:  
 
(1) salespeople who conduct no more than 20 
percent of their sales on the premises of the 
employer;  
 
(2) allowances as part of the wage rates for 
board, lodging, and other facilities or services 
furnished by the employer and used by the 
employees;  
 
(3) bonuses;  
 
(4) part-time rates;  
 
(5) special pay for special or extra work;  
 
(6) procedures in contested cases;  
 
(7) other facilities or services furnished by 
employers and used by employees; and  
 
(8) other special items usual in a particular 
employer-employee relationship.  
 
Subd. 4. Repealed, 1996 c 305 art 1 s 52  
 
Subd. 5. Rules regarding handicapped. In 
order to prevent curtailment of opportunities for 
employment, avoid undue hardship, and 
safeguard the minimum wage rates under 
sections 177.24 and 177.25, the department shall 
also issue rules providing for the employment of 
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handicapped workers at wages lower than the 
wage rates applicable under sections 177.24 and 
177.25, under permits and for periods of time as 
specified therein. The rules must provide for the 
employment of learners and apprentices at 
wages lower than the wage rates applicable 
under sections 177.24 and 177.25, under permits 
and subject to limitations on number, proportion, 
length of learning period, occupations, and other 
conditions as the department may prescribe. The 
rules must provide that where a handicapped 
person is performing or is being considered for 
employment where work must be performed 
which is equal to work performed by a 
nonhandicapped person, the handicapped person 
must be paid the same wage as a 

nonhandicapped person with similar experience 
and skill.  
 
Subd. 6. Administrative Procedure Act to 
apply. The rules are subject to the provisions of 
chapter 14.  
 
HIST: 1973 c 721 s 8; 1976 c 165 s 2; 1977 c 
369 s 3; 1982 c 424 s 50; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1; 
1984 c 636 s 1; 1Sp1985 c 13 s 280; 1986 c 444  
 
Copyright 2003 by the Office of Revisor of 
Statutes, State of Minnesota. 
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Appendix B 
 

Data and Estimation Technique 
 
 
The data for this report comes from the Current 
Population Survey (CPS). The CPS is a monthly 
survey of U.S. households conducted by the 
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. During 2003, 
the survey included an average of some 56,000 
households nationwide and 1,040 in Minnesota. 
 
The universe of workers in this report is 
employed wage-and-salary workers age 16 and 
older. Wages for hourly workers were available 
directly from the CPS data. For nonhourly 
(salaried) workers, wages were calculated by 
dividing weekly pay at the worker’s main job by 
the usual number of hours worked a week, or, if 
this was not reported, the number of hours 
worked in the survey week. 
 
Because of the small numbers of sample cases 
for Minnesota for most categories in this report, 
sampling variation is an important issue. To deal 
with this issue, the statistics for Minnesota in 
this report were estimated with a combination of 
Minnesota and U.S. data. The following material 
describes the estimation of the numbers of 
workers and minimum-wage workers in the 
different groups used in the figures. 
 
Figure 1 (Minnesota and the United States, 
1998-2003). The U.S. data was calculated 
directly from the CPS. For Minnesota, the 
percentage of minimum-wage workers was 
calculated as a three-year moving average of the 
Minnesota data. For example, the 2002 
percentage is the average of 2001 to 2003. 
Minnesota’s percentages for 1998 and 2003 
were extrapolated from adjacent years using the 
U.S. data. For example, Minnesota’s 2003 
percentage was estimated by multiplying the 
2002 percentage (the average figure) by the 
proportionate change in the U.S. percentage 
from 2002 to 2003. Minnesota’s total number of 
minimum-wage workers for each year was 
estimated by applying the estimated percentage 

to the state’s total number of workers computed 
directly from the CPS. 
 
Figures 2-7 (Minnesota, 2003). The grand total 
number of workers was calculated directly from 
the CPS data. For the total number of workers 
by group (e.g. 16- to 19-year-old males), the first 
step was to compute, for each group, the ratio of 
the number of workers in that group to the grand 
total number of workers in Minnesota, averaged 
over 2001 to 2003. This ratio was then applied 
to Minnesota’s grand total number of workers 
for 2003 to estimate the number of workers in 
the group for 2003. 
 
The total number of minimum-wage workers for 
2003 is the number computed in Figure 1. 
 
The number of minimum-wage workers in each 
group was estimated using, as the starting point, 
the U.S. ratio of minimum-wage workers to total 
workers by group. Because minimum-wage 
workers make up a larger proportion of the U.S. 
workforce than of the Minnesota workforce (3.0 
percent vs. 2.0 percent for 2003), the Minnesota 
estimates were scaled proportionately downward 
so that the sum of the estimated numbers for the 
different groups was equal to Minnesota’s total 
number of minimum-wage workers. To maintain 
consistency across tables (given the use of the 
same age and gender categories in all of these 
tables), the procedure was actually more detailed 
than described here.9 
 
Figures 8 and 9 (Minnesota, 2003). The grand 
total number of workers and the total number of 
minimum-wage workers were computed as in 
the other tables. The total number of workers by 
industry and occupation category was calculated 
directly from the CPS data. Because of sample-

                                                      
9 Further explanation is available from DLI Research 

and Statistics, (651) 284-5025. 
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size concerns, it would have been desirable to 
use the same technique as in Figures 2-7 to 
estimate the total number of workers by group. 
However, this was not done because the industry 
and occupation coding structure changed in the 
2003 data. In future reports, the technique from 
Figures 2-7 will be used. 
 
As in Figures 2-7, the number of minimum-
wage workers in each group (industry or 
occupation in this case) was estimated using the 
U.S. ratio of minimum-wage workers to total 
workers by group as the starting point. Again, 
the Minnesota estimates were scaled 
proportionately downward so that the sum of the 
estimated numbers for the different groups was 
equal to Minnesota’s total number of minimum-
wage workers. 
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