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TheMinnesota and Federal
Dependent Care Tax Credits

Minnesota offers a refundable dependent care income tax credit that is limited to
people under certain income levels. Minnesota s dependent care credit is linked
to afederal dependent care credit, which is not refundable and not tied to income.
Thisinformation brief explains the purposes for each of the credits, how they
work, how people can claim the credits, and how the benefits have been
distributed. It also explains how federal legislation enacted in 2001 expanded the
federal credit beginning in 2003.
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Overview

Minnesota and the federal gover nment provide income tax creditsfor dependent care
expenses.

Thefederal dependent care credit equals 35 percent of qualifying dependent car e expenses
for families with incomes of $15,000 or less. The credit percentage phases down to 20 percent
for families with incomes over $43,000, but all families qualify, regardless of income. The
maximum credit is $1,050 for one dependent and $2,100 for two or more. The federal credit is
nonrefundable; that is, it can only be used to offset federal income tax liability. Many low-
income families will not receive the full credit because they have little tax liability.*

The Minnesota credit islinked to the federal credit. However, the maximum Minnesota
credit is lower than the maximum federal credit, and the Minnesota credit has different income
limits and a different phaseout schedule. The Minnesota credit begins to phase out when income
reaches $20,280, and it is not available to families with incomes over $33,930. The maximum
state credit is fixed at the amount of the maximum federal credit prior to 2003: $720 for one
dependent and $1,440 for two or more. Unlike the federal credit, the Minnesota credit is
refundable. Thus, alow-income family can receive the maximum credit, even if the family has
little or no income tax liability.

In tax year 2002, 37,571 Minnesota income tax returns claimed the dependent care credit,
for total credits of $12.0 million. Thisrepresented 1.5 percent of all state returnsin 2002.
Most claimants were single parents. an estimated 31,027 head of household filers claimed the
credit in 1999, compared to about 6,544 married couples.”

Just under half of the total amount of credits paid—$5.53 million—went to offset liability,
with the balance of $6.47 million paid asrefunds. About 29 percent of recipients had no
liability and received the full credit amount as arefund. Forty-seven percent had liability that
exceeded the credit amount for which they qualified. The remaining claimants had some liability
but qualified for a credit that resulted in arefund.

! At first review one might conclude that the increase in the credit percentage and in the income level at which
the phasedown begins would increase the benefits of the credit to low-income families. But the Economic Growth
and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act (EGTRRA) of 2001 also implemented a 10 percent tax rate and expanded the
nonrefundable child credit, making it unlikely for low-income families to have liability available to be offset by the
dependent care credit. The Jobs Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act (JGTRRA) of 2003 accelerated the
phase-in of the expansion of the nonrefundable federal child credit, further decreasing the likelihood of low-income
families being able to benefit from the federal dependent care credit.

2 Distribution between married and head of household filers estimated from the 2002 sample of income tax
returns prepared by the Minnesota Department of Revenue.
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Purpose of the Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care
Credits

The Minnesota dependent car e credit istargeted to low- and moder ate-income families,
making it easier for them to work.

Many low- and moderate-income taxpayers pay a significant portion of their incomes for
dependent care. By directing the dependent care credit to taxpayers with incomes under
$33,930, Minnesota reduces these families’ cost of working.

The authorizing statute does not assign an explicit purpose or goal to the Minnesota dependent
care credit. However, the credit may be assumed to have at least two goals:

« To recognize dependent care costs as a hecessary expense of working
e To encourage low- and moderate-income individuals to work

Thefederal dependent care credit isavailableto all taxpayers, regardless of income. This
approach recognizes dependent care expenses as a necessary expense of working. Because the
federal credit is nonrefundable (i.e., it can only be used to offset income tax liability and does not
benefit those without liability), it does not provide any special assistance for low- and moderate-
income individuals to enter the workforce. Most of these individuals have little or no federal
income tax liability.

Thefederal and state income taxes allow taxpayersto deduct most business expenses from
taxableincome. For example, ataxpayer who runs a business and has employees may deduct
the employees salaries. Personal or living expenses, by contrast, are not deductible. Rather,
individuals may deduct exemption amounts for the taxpayer, spouse, and dependents, reflecting
basic living expenses.®* The Minnesotaincome tax has traditionally classified child care expenses
as nondeductible personal or living expenses.* However, taxpayers with young children in many
cases must pay for their care in order to work. To allow some recognition of these “business
expenses,” taxpayers may claim both federal and state dependent care credits that partially offset
the cost of dependent care.®

3 In addition, a standard deduction or itemized deductions for certain expenses (mortgage interest, charitable
contributions, etc.) are allowed.

“ Between 1954 and 1976, the federal income tax allowed an itemized deduction for dependent care expenses.
Aswith any itemized deduction, taxpayers claiming the standard deduction were not allowed the dependent care
credit deduction. Minnesota also allowed a deduction for this purpose from 1969 to 1976. The federal and
Minnesota dependent care credits replaced these deductions.

® This “business expense” rationale apparently was the primary justification for enactment of the federal
dependant care credit. For example, the Senate Committee Report that accompanied the legislation enacting the
dependent care credit cited this as a main reason for the credit and as the justification for eliminating features of the
itemized deduction which it replaced, such as denying the deduction to those claiming the standard deduction and
limiting it to lower income individuals.

“Treating child care expenses as itemized deductions denies any beneficial tax recognition of such expenses to
taxpayers who elect the standard deduction. The committee believes such expenses should be viewed as a cost of
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How the Minnesota and Federal Dependent
Care CreditsWork

The Minnesota dependent care History of Federal and State Credits

creditis tied to the federal 1954  Federa itemized deduction for dependent care
dependent care credit. Both of TR TR LA TIETTIE

these credits allow taxpayersto

claim a percentage of qualifying 1969  Minnesotaitemized deduction for dependent care
dependent care expenses as a credit expenses of up to $900
against income tax liability. The 1977  Federal deduction replaced by nonrefundable credit of
box to the right summarizes the UplERl
history of the federal and state Minnesota deduction replaced by refundable credit of
credits. The state credit is limited up to $300 available to filers with incomes under
to families with incomes less than $18000
$33,930, while the federal credit is 1981  Federd credit increased to maximum of $1,440
availableto all filers, regardless of phased down for those with incomes between $10,000
. ’ d $28,000
income level. LY
Minnesota credit increased to maximum of $800
To qualify for the dependent care available to filers with incomes under $31,000
credit, an individual must incur 1983  Minnesota credit increased to $960, maximum income
expensesrelated to the care of a eligible lowered to $24,000 of income
dependent to hold employment. 1984  Minnesota credit increased to match federal maximum
Under federal law, four basic tests of $1,440
must be satisfied to qual If.y for the 1989  Minnesota extends phaseout to $27,000 of income
Seper.]denthcireedcr;dlt' el(\j/l Innesota, 1991  Minnesotaindexes phaseout floor; phaseout starts at
Dy using the federal credit amount $13,990 and ends at $27,640
in calculating its credit, also follows . . _
these rules 1992  Minnesota extends credit to family day care operators
) who care for their own children
« Thetaxpayer must 1994  Minnesota adds young-child credit, available to
maintain a household that married couples with a child under age one
includes a qualified 2003  Federa credit increased to maximum of $2,100,
individual. In order to phases down for those with incomes between $15,000
maintain a home, more than and 43,000
half of the cost must be Note: Credit and deduction maximums shown are for expenses
furnished by the individual for care of two or more dependents; lower maximums apply for
one dependent.

or married couple. For
example, an individual who
lives with a parent and does not pay one-half or more of the costs of the home may not
claim the dependent care credit for the care of hisor her children.

earning income for which all working taxpayers may make aclaim . . .The committee views qualified child care
expenses as a cost of earning income and believes that an income ceiling on those entitled to the allowance has
minimal revenue impact, if the allowanceisin the form of credit.” (Senate Rep. No. 94-938, 94" Cong., 2d Sess.,
reprinted in 1976 USCCAN 3565-66. The House Report contained essentially identical language.)
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e Qualified individuals ar e dependent children under age 13 or disabled spouses or
dependents.® To qualify, an adult dependent must be physically or mentally unable to
perform self-care. Dependents must satisfy five conditions specified in federal law;’ one
of these requires the taxpayer to provide at least one-half of the person’s support. The
Minnesota credit differs from federal law in disregarding payments under the Aid to
Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program in determining whether the
dependency support test is met.

e Theexpensesmust beincurred to enable the taxpayer to be gainfully employed.
Expenses must be paid to allow the taxpayer to work or look for work. For amarried
couple, both spouses generally must work. However, a parent who is afull-time student
is considered to be working.

e Theexpenses must relate to the care of the qualified individual. In general, two types
of expenses qualify—(1) direct care expenses, such as day care or ananny for aqualified
individual, or (2) household expenses, such asamaid or cleaning service, when
performed in conjunction with dependent care. Expenses may not exceed the earned
income of the lower earning spouse.? Generally, payments to aday care center (those
taking care of six or more children) qualify only if the center meets the requirements of
state law. The taxpayer a'so must report the caregiver’ s taxpayer identification number
(generally a Social Security number) on the federal dependent care credit form. Credits
cannot be claimed for payments made to dependents or a child of the taxpayer under age
19.

In tax year 2003 the per centage of expensesthat taxpayers may claim asafederal credit
increased, asdid the maximum qualifying expenses per child, under changes enacted in the
Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation of 2001 (EGTRRA 2001).

Beginning in 2003, the federal dependent care credit allows maximum qualifying expenses of
$3,000 for one dependent and $6,000 for two or more dependents, and a maximum credit rate of
35 percent. Before enactment of EGTRRA 2001, the maximum federal qualifying expenses
were $2,400 for one dependent and $4,800 for two or more dependents, and the maximum credit
rate was 30 percent. Thus, EGTRRA 2001 increased the maximum federal credit from $720 to
$1,050 for one dependent and from $1,400 to $2,100 for two or more dependents.

® A nondependent child may qualify if the parent is divorced or separated, has custody, and has agreed not to
claim the child as a dependent, or the noncustodia parent can claim the child as a dependent.

" Five conditions must be satisfied to claim a person as a dependent:

the person must be a member of the taxpayer’ s household

the person must be a U.S. citizen or resident, or aresident of Canada or Mexico

the person may not file amarried joint return

the person may not have gross income over the personal exemption amount—3$3,150 in tax year
2005—unless the person is the taxpayer’s child and is under age 19 or age 24 and is a student

o thetaxpayer must provide over half of the person’s support during the calendar year

8 A full-time student with one dependent is deemed to have $200/month in earned income ($400/month for two
or more dependents).
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The state dependent care credit does not explicitly set maximum qualifying expenses or a credit
rate, but rather allows families to claim a credit equal to the federal credit, but subject to a state
maximum of $720 for one dependent and $1,440 for two or more dependents. The state credit
maximum amounts are specified in statute and equal to the maximum federal credits in effect
prior to enactment of EGTRRA 2001.

The maximum qualifying expenses for the federal credit have not kept pace with inflation, even
with the increases under EGTRRA 2001. Qualifying expenses were set at $2,400 for one
dependent and $4,800 for two or more dependentsin 1982. If they had been adjusted for
inflation, the maximum would be about $4,800 for one dependent and $9,600 for two or more
dependentsin 2005. An annual survey of dependent care expenses showed arange in 2002 from
$8,060 for infants in the metro area to $4,550 for pre-schoolersin parts of the nonmetro, both
above the maximum allowable qualifying expense of $3,000 for one child.’

Dependent care expenses paid out of pre-tax accounts do not qualify for the credit, but do count
against the credit maximums. Many employers allow their employees to participate in pre-tax
accounts for dependent care expenses. Employees may set aside up to $5,000 of pre-tax income
in these accounts to pay dependent care expenses. People who use these accounts, however, may
only claim the dependent care credit if the amount paid through the pre-tax account is less than
the maximum qualifying expense allowed under the credit. For example, ataxpayer who sets
aside $2,000 in a pre-tax account and has actual dependent care costs of $4,000 for one child
may claim a dependent care credit for $1,000 of qualifying expenses—the difference between the
$3,000 maximum allowed under the credit and the $2,000 set-aside in the pre-tax account. For
tax years before 2003, this taxpayer could claim a credit based on $400 of qualifying expenses—
the difference between the $2,400 maximum in effect through 2002 and the $2,000 in the pre-tax
account. Because annual dependent care expenses may exceed the maximum allowed under the
credit, many taxpayers will either use a pre-tax account or claim the credit, but not qualify for
both programs.

Dependent care expenses paid through the state’ s Basic Sliding Fee child care program or
through Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) child care do not qualify for either the
federal or state dependent care tax credit. However, any amounts families are required to
contribute as “copayments’ do qualify for both credits.

Thefederal credit rate phases down to a minimum 20 per cent of qualifying expenses.

The federal credit percentage begins to phase down from 35 percent when income exceeds
$15,000. The credit phases down at the rate of one percentage point for each $2,000 of income
over $15,000 to a minimum credit percentage of 20 percent. Claimants with incomes of $43,000
or more are eligible for aminimum credit equal to 20 percent of qualifying expenses—3$600 for
one child (20 percent of the $3,000 maximum qualifying expenses) and $1,200 for two or more
children.

® Minnesota Department of Human Services, DHS Announces Current Child Care Provider Rates and
Registration Fees Frozen through June 30, 2005, June 23, 2003. Rates cited are the averages of 75" percentile rates
for family child care in metro and nonmetro Minnesota, as of 2002.
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Prior to 2003, the maximum federal credit percentage was 30 percent, maximum qualifying
expenses were $2,400 per child, and the phasedown began when income exceeded $10,000. The
credit was phased down to the minimum of $480 for one child and $960 for two or more children
when income exceeded $28,000.

The 2001 L egislatur e confor med to federal changesunder EGTRRA that affected the
calculation of the state credit.”

Since the Minnesota credit equals the federal credit (subject to a state maximum and phaseout),
some taxpayers became eligible for alarger state credit in 2003 when the federal credit rate and
maximum qualifying expensesincreased. For example, a single parent with one dependent,
$2,000 of expenses, and $13,000 of income qualified for a state credit of $560 in 2002 (28
percent—the federal credit rate at $13,000 of income—of $2,000). When the federal credit
increased to 35 percent in 2003 this taxpayer’ s Minnesota credit increased to $700 (35 percent of
$2,000).

The Minnesota credit fully phases out; taxpayer s with incomes above ar ound $34,000 may
not claim the credit.

The Minnesota phaseout begins at a higher income level than does the federal credit and uses a
broader definition of income.® When Minnesota adopted the full amount of the federal credit as
the starting point for the state credit, the legislation started the phaseout at the same income
level—$10,000—as the federal credit. In later sessions, the Minnesota L egislature increased the
phaseout floor and indexed it for inflation, while the federal phaseout floor remained unchanged.
In tax year 2005, the Minnesota credit begins to phase out for those with incomes over $20,280.
The Minnesota credit decreases by $18 ($36 if the filer claims the credit for two dependents) for
each $350 over the income threshold, with the credit fully phased out at $33,930.

Figure 1 shows the maximum credit amounts for married couples with two dependents and head
of household filers with one dependent by income level. The figure takes into account that one
must have tax liability to qualify for the federal credit, sinceit is not refundable. The figure
assumes that taxpayers claim the standard deduction, the nonrefundable federal child credit,** and
report the maximum allowable qualifying expenses.

101 aws 2001, 1% spec. sess,, ch. 5, art. 10, sec. 6.

" The Minnesota dependent care credit uses a broad measure of income that includes all income subject to the
income tax plus most nontaxable cash income, such as welfare benefits, tax-exempt bond interest, workers
compensation benefits, and so forth. The measure does not include noncash income that is not subject to tax, such
as employee fringe benefits, Medical Assistance, and food stamps.

12 The federal child credit equaled $500 per child in 2000 and previous years. Under EGTRRA 2001, it
increased to $600 in 2001, was scheduled to increase to $700 in 2005, $800 in 2009, and $1,000 in 2010. JGTRRA
2003 temporarily increased the child credit to $1,000 in tax years 2003 and 2004 only. Absent additional federa
legidation, the credit will revert to the EGTRRA phase-up schedule and $700 in 2005.


http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/slaws/2001/ss1.05.html
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Figure 1
Federal and Minnesota Dependent Care Credits
Availableto Filerswith Maximum Qualifying Expenses, Tax Year 2005
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L ow-income filers may claim the maximum state credit, because it isrefundable. But
because the federal credit isonly available to offset net tax liability after subtracting the child
credit (equal to $1,000 in 2005 through 2010 and $500 in following years),” the married couple
in the example does not receive any federal credit until their income reaches $35,000; the head of

3 The federal child credit was initially implemented at $400 in the Tax Reform Act (TRA) of 1997, effective
in 1998, with the credit amount increased to $500 in 1999. EGTRRA 2001 set in motion a phase-up of the credit to
$1,000 in tax year 2010. The Jobs Growth and Tax Reform Reconciliation Act (JGTRRA) of 2003 accelerated the
EGTRRA 2001 phase-up by increasing the credit to $1,000 in 2003 and 2004 only. The Working Families Tax
Reform Act (WFTA) of 2004 kept the credit at the $1,000 level through 2010. Absent further legidlation it will
revert to the $500 implemented under TRA 1997 in 2011.
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household filer until income reaches $21,000. In effect, the figure shows that it isimpossible for
ahead of household or married joint filer to qualify for the maximum federal credit, since the
phasedown of the maximum credit begins at $15,000.* The figure also shows the Minnesota
credit fully phasing out at just above $30,000 of income, while the federal credit is available to
all taxpayers regardless of income.

The Minnesota credit isrefundable; the federal credit isnot. If afileriseligiblefor a
Minnesota dependent care credit that exceeds his or her tax liability, that filer receives any
“leftover” credit asarefund. However, filers eligible for afederal dependent care credit that
exceeds tax liability may only use the credit to offset liability; the rest is forfeited.

Many credit recipients arelow income and have little or no tax liability. In 2005, the
standard deduction and exemption amounts ensure that a married couple with two dependents
had no federal liability until grossincome exceeds $21,200. Their next $1,400 of federal liability
is offset by the nonrefundable $700 per child tax credit, which, unlike the dependent care credit,
isnot tied to any particular type of expenditure. Asaresult, the typical married couple with two
dependents will not receive any benefits under the federal dependent care credit until their
income reaches $34,533. A head of household filer with one dependent owes no tax until gross
income exceeds $13,550. Thisfiler will have the next $700 of liability offset by the child credit
and will not benefit from the dependent care credit until income reaches $20,550. Both of these
example filers will receive a state credit, however, since the state credit is refundable.

Sincetax year 1992, Minnesota has allowed parents who oper ate licensed family day care
homesto claim the dependent care credit for their own children. Parents who operate
licensed family day care homes and care for their own children may claim the dependent care
credit without regard to their actual out-of-pocket expenses. They may claim $3,000 of
qualifying expenses for their own children under 16 months of age. For children from 16 months
to seven years of age, they may claim the amount they charge to care for children of the same
age. They may not claim the credit for their own children over age seven under this provision.

Beginning in 1994 the Minnesota dependent car e credit includes a special young-child
credit. The young-child credit allows married joint filers with a child under age one to claim a
credit, regardless of whether they incurred dependent care expenses. These couples will be
deemed to have paid the maximum qualifying expenses of $3,000 for the child under one and
will calculate their credit for that child as though they had actually paid $3,000 in expenses. This
will provide a credit to families in which one parent stays at home and to those in which both
parents work but incur no out-of-pocket child expenses. Families may not claim this credit and
the regular credit for the same child. They also may not claim more than one young-child credit
in any year, regardless of the number of children they have under age one.

¥ The income at which the federal credit begins to phase down increased from $10,000 to $15,000 in 2003
under EGTRRA 2001. However, EGTRRA 2001 also implemented anew 10 percent rate bracket and increased the
nonrefundable child credit, which is calculated before the dependent care credit. Combining these changes with the
annual adjustment for inflation of the standard deduction and the personal exemption results in a steady increase
over timein the tax threshold or income level at which afiler hasliability. Increasing the income threshold for the
dependent care credit phase down to $15,000 was not enough to catch up to the income at which most parents begin
to have liability—$34,533 for amarried family of four in 2005, and $20,550 for single parent of one.
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The dependent care credit isan entitlement; no limit isimposed on itsfunding. Unlike
some direct spending programs for dependent-related expenses, no fixed dollar appropriation or
spending limit applies to either the federal or state dependent care credits. Filersreceive the full
credits to which they are entitled under the credit formula.

How People Claim the Dependent Care Credit

People claim both the federal and state credits by filing the appropriate tax forms.

At the federal level, taxpayers must file either form 1040 (“the long form”) and Schedule 2441 or
form 1040A (“the short form™) and Schedule 2 to claim the dependent care credit. They may not
fileform 1040EZ if they wish to claim the credit. Taxpayers enter qualifying expenses on either
Schedule 2441 or Schedule 2 and then look up the credit rate in atable keyed to income. Finaly,
the taxpayer calculates the credit amount by multiplying the credit rate by the qualifying
expenses.

At the state level, taxpayers must file form M-1 and also complete Schedule M-1CD to claim the
Minnesota dependent care credit. They also must attach a copy of either federal Schedule 2441
or Schedule 2 to their state tax return. Schedule M-1CD requires taxpayersto fill in the various
income items used in calculating the state credit phaseout. The state credit phaseout is based on
a broad income measure that includes federal adjusted gross income, nontaxable Social Security
benefits, deductible payments to retirement accounts, and welfare benefits. After adding up
these income items, the taxpayer looks up the credit amount in a table keyed to income.
Taxpayers then compare their state credit with the federal credit computed on Schedule 2441 or
Schedule 2 and may claim the smaller of the two as a state credit. Special instructions are
provided for taxpayers who claim the young-child credit or who operate a licensed family day
care home and are claiming the credit for their own children.

Taxpayersmust keep records on the amount paid for dependent car e expenses and provide
information about the caregiver. Both the federal and state tax forms require taxpayers to
report the name and taxpayer identification number of the caregiver. The federal forms also
require the caregiver’s address. Also, taxpayers should maintain records, such as receipts or
canceled checks, of how much they paid for dependent care expenses throughout the year.

People who have no state incometax liability must fileatax return to claim the dependent
carecredit asarefund. Individualswith incomes below the filing thresholds generally do not
need to file tax returns. However, if they have qualifying dependent care expenses, they must do
so to claim the refundabl e credit. Claimants must complete a Minnesota tax return and either a
federal Schedule 2441 or Schedule 2.
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Distribution of the Benefits of the Dependent Care Credit

Over 37,000 filersreceived $11.997 million in Minnesota dependent care creditsin tax year
2002. Figure 2 shows the percentage of returns in each county that claimed the credit in 2002.

Figure 2

below average
less than 1.7%

about average
1.7% to 2.2%
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over 2.2%

city with population
of 10,000 or more

Average county: 1.9%
Statewide average: 1.5%

House Research Graphics

Statewide, 1.5 percent of al returns claimed the dependent care credit in 2002. Pennington
County filers were most likely to claim the credit (3.4 percent of filers), and the credit was least
likely to be claimed in Carver County (1.0 percent of filers). Residents of the seven-county
metro area were somewhat less likely to claim the credit (1.3 percent of filers) than were
taxpayersin the rest of the state (1.9 percent of returns), perhaps because personal income tends
to be higher in the metro area.

The availability of pre-tax dependent care accounts may affect the percentage of taxpayers who
claim dependent care credits, since taxpayers may either use a pre-tax account to pay dependent
care expenses or claim the credit, but not both. Employers are not required to offer pre-tax
accounts, and they are not available to the self-employed. A 1999 survey showed that 24 percent
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of Minnesota employers offered pre-tax accounts.”® It is probably safe to assume that larger
companies are more likely to offer the accounts, and that larger companies are more likely to be
located in citiesthan in rural areas. Figure 2 also shows cities with populations over 10,000;
most are located in counties in which fewer than 2.2 percent of returns claimed the credit.*
Countiesin which an above-average percentage of returns claimed the credit are, in contrast,
more rura in nature.

The aver age dependent car e credit claimed by Minnesotansin 2002 was for $321. Figure 3
shows the aver age dependent car e credit by county.

Figure 3
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Seven-county metro area recipients claimed a sightly higher credit on average than those in the
rest of the state—$333 compared to $310. The highest average credit claimed in 2002 was $396

> Employee Benefits Survey, Minnesota Department of Economic Security, September 1999.

1® The exceptions are Austin (Mower County), Bemidji (Beltrami County), Sartell (Benton County), Willmar
(Kandiyohi County), and Worthington (Nobles County).
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in Renville County; the lowest was $217, in Kittson County. The gap between the average credit
in the metro area and in the rest of Minnesota has narrowed considerably since 1994, when the
average was $355 in the metro compared to $255 in the rest of the state. The two have come
closer together mostly due to an increase in the average for nonmetro Minnesota. The difference
between the two parts of the state may reflect the greater availability of pre-tax accountsin the
metro area,'” aswell as higher child care costsin the Twin Cities. The narrowing of the gap
reflects increased child care costs in the nonmetro area, and also may indicate a greater
availability of pre-tax accounts throughout Minnesotain 2002 compared to 1994.¢

Single parents claim more dependent care creditsthan do married parentsand are more
likely to claim the credit asarefund.

An estimated 31,000 head of household filers claimed the dependent care credit in 2002,
compared to about 6,500 married couples.”® Some married couples may choose to have one
spouse work outside the home while the other cares for their children, making them ineligible for
the credit. Two-earner married couples may pay for dependent care, but are also more likely to
be income-ineligible than are single parents, simply by having two paychecks rather than one.
Because of this, married couples are more likely to receive the credit as an offset to tax liability
rather than arefund, while head of household filers are more likely to receive the credit as a
refund.

Just under half of the $12.0 million in dependent care credits paid in 2002 went to offset tax
liability—$5.53 million—with the remaining $6.47 million paid as refunds.

Figure 4 shows that of the 37,571 credits claimed in 2002, just about half were taken as full or
partial refunds of liability. About 29 percent of recipients had no liability at al and received the
full credit amounts as arefund, 24 percent had some liability but qualified for a credit that
resulted in arefund, and the remaining 47 percent had tax liability that exceeded the credit
amount for which they qualified.

¥ For the most part, parents must choose between a pre-tax account, if offered by their employer, and the
dependent care credit. Generally, middle and upper income taxpayers receive a greater tax benefit from using a pre-
tax account than from claiming the dependent care credit. Those with incomes in the credit phaseout range will tend
to choose a pre-tax account if their employer offersone. Thiswill tend to increase the average credit claimed by
metro recipients, who are more likely have access to a pre-tax account. Metro residents with incomesin the
phaseout range who would otherwise qualify for asmall credit will choose a pre-tax account instead, with the credit
more likely to be used by lower income parents who qualify for a higher credit because of the phaseout structure.
Outside of the metropolitan area pre-tax accounts may be less available, leading parentsin the credit phaseout range
to claim relatively small credits and reduce the average credit for nonmetro Minnesota.

18 Department of Revenue income tax samples from 1994 and 1999 (the most recent year available) do not
show a substantial increase in the use of pre-tax accounts. When the sample is projected to the population it shows
the number of filers using pre-tax accounts increasing from 42,000 to 58,500 from 1994 to 1999, and the amount set
aside increasing from about $124 million in 1994 to about $179 million in 1999. More recent income tax samples
do not provide detail on pre-tax account usage.

19 Distribution between married and head of household filers estimated from the 2002 sample of income tax
returns prepared by the Minnesota Department of Revenue.
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Figure 4
Minnesota Dependent Care Credit
Recipients by Refundability of Credit, 2002
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The Minnesota dependent car e credit targetsits benefitsto low- and moder ate-income
families.

Figure 5 shows that nearly half of al Minnesota dependent care credits go to taxpayers with
adjusted gross incomes less than $20,000, and just over half to those with incomes between
$20,000 and $40,000.° In contrast, federal credits tend to go to higher income families (e.g.,
about 63 percent of all federal credits go to those with incomes over $50,000, with about 27
percent going to those with incomes between $50,000 and $75,000). Two factors explain this
divergence. First, the federal credit is not refundable. Families whose incomes are too low for
them to owe income tax do not receive the credit. Nonrefundability explains why almost no one
with gross income under $10,000 can claim afederal credit. In contrast, about 16 percent of the
refundable Minnesota credits go to families with incomes less than $10,000. Second, the federal
credit phases down to a minimum amount, while the Minnesota credit phases out entirely. This
explains why no one with gross income above $40,000 receives a Minnesota dependent care
credit, while about 70 percent of all federal credits go to filers in this moderate-to-high income
range. Of the estimated 155,000 federal credit recipientsin Minnesota, about 124,000, or almost
80 percent, are income-ineligible for the state credit.

2 Distribution of federal and state credits by income estimated using the 2002 sample of income tax returns
prepared by the Minnesota Department of Revenue.
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Distribution of Federal and Minnesota Dependent
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For more information about tax credits, visit the income tax area of our web site,
www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/tx_inc.htm.
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