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Trespass Law

The trespass law applies to all outdoor recreation, including but not
limited to: hunting, boating, fishing, trapping, hiking, and camping.
When taking part in any outdoor recreation, you may not enter legally
posted land or agricultural land without permission.

Landowners, lessees, or authorized managers need only post their
land once a year. The signs must be placed at intervals of 1,000 feet
(500 feet in wooded areas) or signs may be placed at primary corners
and at access points to the property. Signs must state “No Trespassing,"
or similar words, in 2-inch-high letters and have the signature or name
and telephone number of the landowner, lessee, or manager.

There can be civil or criminal penalties for violation of the trespass
laws with maximum fines up to $3,000 and license revocation. All con-
servation officers and peace officers enforce trespass laws.

Rules of Thumb for Water Access and Recreational Use

These are simple rules of thumb and are not intended to address all
water access and recreational use situations. If you have doubts about
whether you may be trespassing on private land, you should ask the land-
owner for permission.

What is lawful access?

A stream or lake is lawfully accessible if there is a public access, or
if public land or a public road right-of-way borders the surface of the
water, or if you have permission to cross private land to reach the surface
of the water. This includes walking in the water or on the ice in connec-
tion with such activities regardless of who owns the land beneath the
surface of the water.

What waters are open to recreational use?

A stream or lake is open to recreational use over its entire surface if it
is capable of recreational use and if it is lawfully accessible. Any water
that will float a canoe is capable of recreational use, but other waters
may also qualify depending upon the circumstances.

Respect private
property when
fishing near
docks.

When in doubt,
ask permission.
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Terminology

Terminology
Some anglers might not be familiar with the following terms used in
this regulations booklet:

Tributary—A stream or river that flows into a lake or a larger stream or
river.

Designated stream trout lakes—These waters have been stocked with
trout that are native to streams: rainbow, brown, or brook trout. Some
also have splake, a cross between a lake trout and a brook trout.

Inland waters-Lakes and rivers within Minnesota not bordering
Canada or another state.

Daily and possession limits (bags)-Total number of a certain species
or combination of species that an angler may possess in one day or until
consumed or disposed of both on or off the water. Minnesota’s daily lim-
its are the same as possession limits, except for yellow perch, which is
20 daily and 40 in possession. For example, you may not have more than
six walleye, including what’s in the live well and in the freezer. Use:
General statewide limits prevent the commercialization of sport fishing
and distribute the catch among anglers.

@ Experimental and special regulations-These regulations are used to
individually manage specific lakes or portions of streams. Experimental
regulations are in effect for a specified period while fisheries managers
gather data to determine if the regulations help meet management goals.
Experimental regulations may be terminated, modified, or continued after
the evaluation period. Special regulations have been evaluated and deter-
mined to be successful in managing for trophy fish, for a specific fish
species, or other management goals. Special regulations are reviewed for
effectiveness with information collected through regular lake surveys.

% Game fish-Walleye, sauger, yellow perch, channel catfish, flathead
catfish; members of the pike family, Esocidae, including muskellunge
and northern pike; members of the sunfish family, Centrarchidae, includ-
ing largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, sunfish, rock bass, white crappie,
black crappie; members of the temperate bass family, Percichthyidae,
including white bass and yellow bass; members of the salmon and trout
subfamily, Salmoninae, including Atlantic salmon, chinook salmon, coho
salmon, pink salmon, kokanee salmon, lake trout, brook trout, brown
trout, rainbow (steelhead) trout, and splake; members of the paddlefish
family, Polyodontidae; members of the sturgeon family, Acipenseridae,
including lake sturgeon, and shovelnose sturgeon. “Game fish" includes
hybrids of game fish. (Note: border waters may be different)

Harvest slot limit—Allows the harvest of fish from a designated size
range. For example, a 14-through 18-inch harvest slot means that only
fish from 14-through 18-inches may be kept. All others must be released.

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us 7
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Use: Harvest slot limits protect fish above and below the range while
limiting the overall harvest.

Maximum size limit-Prohibits the harvest of fish from some specified
length and larger. For example, a 24-inch maximum size limit for north-
ern pike means you may not keep a northern pike that is 24 inches or
larger. Use: Used in situations with relatively few sexually mature adults
or where large numbers of smaller fish exist and the goal is to increase
growth rates.

Minimum size limit- Prohibits harvest of fish less than a specified
length. For example, the statewide minimum size limit for muskellunge
is 40 inches, meaning that you may not keep a muskellunge less than 40
inches in length. Use: Generally imposed to lower the total harvest in
highly vulnerable populations and to reduce harvest of fish before they
reach sexual maturity. This protects slow-maturing fish such as muskies,
steelhead, and the lake sturgeon until they can spawn at least once.

% Minnows- members of the minnow family, Cyprinidae, except carp and
goldfish; members of the mudminnow family, Umbridae; members of
the sucker family, Catostomidae, not over 12 inches in length; bullheads,
ciscoes, lake whitefish, goldeyes, and mooneyes, not over seven inches
long; and (6) leeches. (Note: border waters may be different)

One-over the size limit- Allows the harvest of one fish over a set size
limit as part of the daily limit. For example, on inland waters you can
keep one walleye that is over 24 inches long. Use: This limit allows the
harvest of a trophy fish that an angler might catch once in a lifetime.

Protected slot limit— Prohibits harvest of fish from a designated

size range. Fish within this size range must be released. For example,

a 12-tol6-inch protected slot limit for bass means that all bass from 12
through 16 inches long must be released. Use: Protected slot limits pro-
tect spawning fish or medium-sized fish so they can grow to be the larger
fish anglers most enjoy catching. Protected slots are best used on lakes
with fast growth and a surplus of small fish.

Reduced to possession- Fish that are taken and not immediately
released into the water.

Rough fish— Carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, cisco,
gar, goldeye, and bullhead. (Note: border waters may be different)

@ Sunfish- “Sunfish" means bluegill, pumpkinseed, green sunfish, orange
spotted sunfish, longear sunfish, and warmouth. “Sunfish" includes
hybrids of sunfish. (Note: border waters may be different)

8 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367



NEW REGULATIONS FOR 2005

See the page numbers listed for additional information about these new
regulations.

* Fish house removal from ice (page 71)

* Additions to infested waters list (page 80-81)

* Minnow trap restrictions for infested waters (page 79)

* Established a size limit for western painted turtles (page 84)
* Boat accident reporting requirement (page 85)

Experimental and Special Regulations for Lakes and Streams

Added or modified 32 lakes with quality walleye, bass, sunfish, and/
or crappie regulations (pages 33-44)

Added or modified 8 lakes in northern Minnesota with trout
regulations. Use and possession of bait prohibited. (pages 38—44)
Added or modified 22 streams in SE Minnesota with trout regulations
(pages 45-54)

Dropped regulations on Pike Lake (Cook Co.) and Cold Spring Creek
(Wabasha Co.)

Key lakes with new regulations this year include:

Big Fish Lake (Stearns Co.) Leech Lake (Cass Co.)
Big Sand Lake (Hubbard Co.) Lida Lake (Otter Tail Co.)
Black Bass Lake (Mille Lacs Co.) Maple Lake (Douglas Co.)

Horseshoe Lake (Cass Co.) Rainy River (Lake of the
Lake of the Woods (Lake of the Woods Co.) (page 57)
Woods Co.) (page 56) Rush Lake, E & W
Lac Qui Parle Lake (Lac Qui (Chisago Co.)
Parle and Chippewa Co.)

Additions to Regulations Booklet

SSI or SSD benefit verification information (page 13)

Gross Over Limits Law update (page 15)

Accessibility information web page (page 21)

Whitefish netting information web page (page 24)

Definitions for special and experimental regulations, rough fish, game
fish, reduced to possession, minnows, and sunfish (pages 7-8)

Exotic Species now referred to as invasive (page 78)

More information on liberalized fishing (page 88)

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us 9






FISHING LICENSES

The Electronic Licensing System (ELS) issues licenses and stamps
through 1,800 license agent locations statewide. Agents charge an issuing
fee for each license and stamp sold.

Instant licenses and stamps are also available online at www.dnr.state.
mn.us or by telephone at (888) 665-4236. A temporary authorization
number, which allows immediate use of the license, is issued with licens-
es sold online and by telephone. An additional $3.50 convenience fee is
added for sales via the web site or telephone.

(Price does not include any additional fees charged for issuing the license or stamp.)
Duplicate Cost: Each privilege listed on your license is an additional $2.50.

RESIDENT LICENSES

Angling, Individual (age 16 and older) $17.00
Angling, Combination (husband and wife') 25.00
Angling, Individual 24 Hour 8.50
Sports, Individual® 29.50
Sports, Combination (husband and wife')? 38.50
Dark House Spearing* 17.00
Trout and Salmon Stamp 10.00
Fish House or Dark House 11.50
Whitefish Netting* 10.00
Rental Fish House or Dark House 26.00
Recreational Turtle License* (See pages 83—84 for requirements) 25.00
LIFETIME LICENSE Fishing  Small Game Sports See page
age 3 and under $227 $217 $357 2 for life-
4 toage I5 $300 $290 $480 time license
16 to age 50 $383 $363 $613  require-
51 and over $203 $213 $413  ments
NONRESIDENT LICENSES
Angling, Individual $34.00
Angling, Family (husband, wife, and children under age 16) 46.00
Angling, Individual 7 Day 24.00
Angling, Individual 24 Hour 8.50
Angling, Individual 72 Hour 20.00
Angling, Husband and Wife' 14 Day 35.00
Trout and Salmon Stamp 10.00
Fish House (See pages 7071 for requirement) 33.00
Fish House 7 Day (See pages 70-71 for requirement) 19.00
LIFETIME LICENSE Fishing Small Game  See page |2 for
age 3 and under $447 $947 lifetime license
4 toage I5 $600 $1,280 requirements
16 to age 50 $773 $1,633
51 and over $513 $1,083

' The marriage must be legal as recognized by Minnesota law.

% A sports combination license is one small game hunting license and two fishing licenses.
3 A sports license includes fishing and small game hunting.

* Also requires the purchase of an angling license.

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us ||
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Purchasing Information

» ELS agents have been authorized to handle special license types
(such as disability, foreign exchange students, veterans, military,
landowner and firearms deer replacement licenses). Find an ELS
license agent by checking the DNR web site or by calling the DNR
information center.

* Residents must meet legal residency requirements and must provide
their Minnesota driver’s license or public safety identification.

* Nonresidents must provide their nonresident driver’s license number,
Minnesota DNR number from a prior ELS license or social security
number to obtain a license.

* For short-term licenses, anglers may choose any consecutive dates.

Address or driver’s license change?

If you have recently moved, please ask the license agent to update your
address when you purchase your license. If you have changed driver’s
license numbers due to a name change, please contact the DNR infor-
mation center.

Social Security Number Required

To purchase a non-commercial game or fish license, a customer must
either have their social security number (SSN) on file with the DNR or
must provide it as part of the license application. Once your SSN is in
our records, you will not be asked again for this number. United States
residents who do not have a SSN must complete and sign a form stating
that they have not been issued a SSN. Note: The 2003 Legislature passed
this requirement to meet the 1996 Federal National Welfare Reform Act
that assists states in the enforcement of child support programs.

Public Record Notice

Your social security number is not part of the public record. Most
other data supplied when buying a license becomes public record. If
you do not wish to have this data made available for bulk mailings,
contact the DNR at (888) 646-6367 or by e-mail info@dnr.state.mn.us

Lifetime License

You must be a resident of Minnesota for at least one year to purchase
a resident lifetime license or be under age 21 and the child of a person
who has been a Minnesota resident for at least one year. The resident
lifetime license is valid even if the licensee moves out of Minnesota.

If you buy a lifetime license, each year you must still obtain a free
annual license from a license vendor or through the DNR phone license
system or Internet. Also, you may purchase trout stamp validations from
license vendors, by telephone, or Internet.

Lifetime licenses are nonrefundable and they are available for indi-
viduals only.

2 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367
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Fishing Licenses

Licenses Issued Without a Fee

e Permanent angling license issued to any Minnesota resident over
age 16 who is mentally retarded or a veteran with a 100% service-
connected disability. Available only from the DNR License Center.

e Annual angling and/or spearing license may be issued to Minnesota
residents who are blind, disabled, receiving a supplemental income
(SSI, SSD), receiving worker’s compensation for total and permanent
disability, ward of the Commissioner of Human Services, a resident
of a state institution that has an approved application, or a foreign
exchange student attending school in Minnesota. To get SSI or SSD
benefit verification, call 1-800-772-1213, visit the following web site
www.socialsecurity.gov or visit your local Social Security office.

» Foreign exchange students may receive a free annual angling license
with proof of foreign exchange student status.

Exempt from License Requirement

* Minnesota residents in the U.S. Military who are stationed outside the
state. Military staff must carry leave or furlough papers.

 Patients of a state hospital or U.S. Veterans Administration hospital,
inmates of a state correctional facility, residents of a Minnesota
licensed nursing or boarding care home, and residents of a licensed
board and lodging facility.

* Persons who are enrolled in and regularly participate in an adult day
care program of a Minnesota licensed nursing or boarding care home.

» Residents of a drug or alcohol residential treatment program who are
under the age of 20.

* Persons must carry written consent from the superintendent or chief
executive of the institution.

» Residents who receive aid under the federal Railroad Retirement Act
of 1937 (U.S. Code Title 45, section 228b (a5) or receive U.S. Postal
Service disability pay under U.S. Code Title 5, section 8337. Railroad
and Postal Service exemptions must carry evidence of disability
retirement.

An unlicensed person may assist a disabled angler who has a disability
license, provided that only the number of lawful lines are in use.

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us |3
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Trout Stamp

Trout stamp validations are printed on the ELS license. This is the
only verification needed to prove purchase of the trout stamp. Purchasers
may request the actual pictorial stamp :
for an additional $2, but it is not need-
ed for fishing.

Except as noted, anglers need a
trout stamp validation and a fish-
ing or sports license when fishing in
designated trout streams, designated
trout lakes, Lake Superior, or when in
possession of trout or salmon. Trout
stamps are not required for children
less than 16 years old, adults who are 65 and older, people fishing with a
24-hour license, or people who are exempt from fishing license require-
ments or who receive a fishing license at no charge.

2005 Trout stamp

License Requirements
Residents
* To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence
in Minnesota for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a
license.
* A nonresident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident.
» All residents age 15 and younger are allowed to take their own limit
of fish without purchasing a license.

Nonresidents
* All nonresidents age 16 and older are required to have an appropriate

fishing license while angling. Nonresidents under age 16 don’t need a
license if an accompanying parent or guardian is licensed. Children of
an adult who has a Minnesota nonresident family license may possess
their own limit of fish. However, if the adult has an individual license,
the child’s fish are included in the adult’s limit. Nonresidents under
age 16 may purchase a license and possess their own limit of fish.

Nonresident Students and Military
* A person in the U.S. Armed Forces who is stationed or training in the
state may purchase a resident fishing license.
 Students spending the full-term school year may purchase a resident
license with proof of student status.

[4 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367
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Fishing Licenses

License Revocation

Fishing privileges may be revoked for one year for two or more con-
victions of fishing violations in three years. Violations of fishing laws in
other states may affect fishing privileges in Minnesota.

Under the gross over limits penalty provisions, privileges can be
revoked for three or five years, depending on the number of fish involved
in the violation.

Big Fines Await Poachers

Thousands of hunters and anglers enjoy Minnesota's natural
resources and never violate any laws. Unfortunately there are still
some people out there who show an utter disrespect for game and
fish laws. Several recent cases demonstrate that Minnesota courts
are willing to hand out big fines and restitution charges to people
who take fish illegally:

* A Michigan group paid $5,000 in fines and restitution for
possessing 338 sunfish over the legal limit.

* Two people from Tracy, Minn. had 314 crappies over their limit
and paid fines and restitution totaling $8,000.

e ATurn In Poachers caller reported 125 crappies and 102 white
bass in a St. Paul home freezer, which spurred an arrest. The fine
was $3,000 with another $1,450 in restitution.

e The Lino Lakes Police Department stopped a speeding motorist
and discovered | |7 walleyes in the trunk. Four anglers were fined
$3,000 and faced one year in jail. The restitution value of the
walleyes was $2,790.

* Two lllinois fishermen were caught with 59 walleyes over their
limit. Each faced a fine of $3,000. In addition to being fined and
paying restitution charges of $3,950, the men forfeited their |6-
foot boat, 25-horsepower motor, and trailer.

These cases represent just a small sampling of the hefty fines and
restitution brought against people who violate Minnesota’s fishing
laws. In addition to stiffer penalties, poachers could have their fish
and game licenses seized, as well as having their boats, motors and
trailers confiscated.

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us |5
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lead fishing tackle.

» Spread the word by telling other anglers about the
problem.

* Dispose of old lead sinkers and jigs properly by locating a
drop-off location.

[6 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367



GENERAL REGULATIONS

The following regulations apply to all Minnesota waters unless noted
otherwise in this booklet.

Anglmg Methods
* Anglers may use only one hook. An artificial lure is considered one
hook. A treble hook, when not part of an artificial lure, is considered
three hooks and is not legal. The exception is three artificial flies may
be used when angling for trout, crappie, sunfish, and rock bass.

* Anglers may use only one line. The exceptions are:

a) Two lines may be used through the ice (other than on designat-

ed trout lakes and streams); and b) Two lines may be used on Lake
Superior more than 100 yards from the point where a tributary stream
or river enters the lake.

e Using whole or parts of game fish, goldfish, or carp for bait is
unlawful.

* You may not intentionally fish for any species during its closed
season.

* Angling with an unattended line, a setline, or a trotline is unlawful.

» Using an artificial light to lure or attract fish, or to see fish when
spearing, is unlawful. Exception: While angling, a person may affix to
the end of a fishing line a lighted artificial bait with hooks attached.
Any battery that is used in lighted fishing lures cannot contain any
intentionally introduced mercury.

e A party is defined as a group of two or more persons:

— angling from a single watercraft; or

—if not in a watercraft, maintaining unaided visual and vocal contact
with each other. The total number of fish possessed by the party
may not exceed the combined limits of the numbers of the party.
Each party member may transport only an individual limit of fish.

» The use of explosives, firearms, chemicals (not including fish scents),
or electricity for taking fish is unlawful.

* It is unlawful to take a fish by snagging.

Possessing Fish

* Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted. Fish
are in an angler’s possession whether on hand, in cold storage, in
transport, or elsewhere.

* Once a limit of fish has been reduced to possession, no culling or live
well sorting of that species is allowed.

e While on or fishing waters with size restrictions, all fish for which
the size restriction applies must have their heads, tails, fins, and
skin intact and be measurable except when a watercraft is docked or

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us |7
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moored to shore and the person is preparing the fish for that nights/
days meal.

* While on or fishing waters with size restrictions it is illegal to possess
any fish outside legal length limits.

* A person who is in transit and taking the most direct route back to
their lodging or docking, and not fishing, may possess fish outside of
or in excess of the limits for that water body, if legally taken from a
connected water.

» Possessing or transporting white perch, ruffe, round goby, black carp,
bighead carp, grass carp, or silver carp is unlawful, except when
taking them to the DNR.

Transporting Fish
* All fish must be killed before transportation. This does not apply to
minnows.

* A fish may not be reduced to more than two fillets.

* Fish prepared for transportation, shipment, or storage are defined as
follows:

Undressed fish must have heads, tails, fins, and skin intact. Entrails,
gills, and scales may be removed.

Dressed fish may have heads and scales or skin removed, in addition
to gills and entrails.

Fillets are fish flesh, excluding cheeks, that have been removed from
a fish. Scales or skin may be removed or intact.

* Fish must be transported in a way that they can be counted and the
species of each fish can be identified. If statewide length limits apply
to the species, the head and tail must be intact so the fish can be
measured.

* It is illegal for anglers to transport live fish, including in livewells
of trailered boats, except for display in a home aquarium under the
following conditions:

— Game fish purchased from an authorized licensee transported with
the necessary documents (such as a sales receipt).

— Anglers 16 or under may transport legally caught largemouth bass,
smallmouth bass, yellow perch, rock bass, black crappie, white
crappie, bluegill, pumpkinseed, green sunfish, orange spotted
sunfish, and black, yellow, and brown bullhead. No more than
four of each species may be transported at any one time, and any
individual fish can be no longer than 10 inches. At no time may
water from infested waters be transported.

* Licensed anglers and resident children under 16 may transport up to a
possession limit of any fish species. However, fish must be packaged
in such a way that they can be readily unwrapped, separated,
identified, and counted.

18 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367



General Regulations—Transporting Fish

* Northern pike and walleye may be transported dressed or as fillets,
but must retain a 1-square-inch patch of skin. Exception: Northern

pike and walleye must be undressed while on experimental or special

regulation waters. Other fish species with statewide length limits
(muskellunge, splake, brook trout, brown trout, rainbow trout, and

salmon) must be transported undressed so that they can be measured.

» All dressed fish and fillets must have a 1-square-inch patch of skin
with scales intact from a portion of the body other than the belly.
Sauger prepared in this manner are counted as walleye. Bullhead,
sunfish, and crappie, may be completely filleted and skinned.

One of the best

ways to transport
your fish so they
can be counted
and identified is
in clear plastic
freezer bags.

Fillets must show
at least a |-square-

inch patch of skin
with scales so fish
species can be

identified.

* Transporting or stocking live fish or fish eggs or transferring fish or

fish eggs from one body of water to another is prohibited without a

DNR permit.

Shipment

* Licensed anglers may make three shipments of fish per year. A permit

issued by a conservation officer is required for each shipment. A

shipment cannot contain more than a possession limit of one species.

 Fish which have been prepared, packed, and labeled by a licensed
fish packer must comply with regulations governing licensed fish

packers and those regarding fish species length limits. From March 15

through November 30, filleted sauger are counted as walleye.

Storage
¢ Fish in cold storage count toward a possession limit.

* Frozen fish should be packaged in a way that they can be counted and

identified.

» A person who stores fish for another must plainly mark the package,

in ink, with the name, address, and fishing license number of the
owner, and the number of fish in the package.

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us
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Transplanting aquatic plants, placing exotic species, applying
chemicals and some types of cutting to control vegetation in any
public waters requires a permit. (See page 65 for more information).
Dragging boat anchors or other weights with a motor-propelled boat
through aquatic vegetation is unlawful.

Depositing fish entrails or fish parts into public waters or onto lake or
stream shores is prohibited.

Littering of any materials and depositing rubbish, poisonous substanc-
es, or chemicals harmful to aquatic life into public waters, onto ice,
or lake or stream shores is illegal. Fish line and various packaging
materials can be harmful to wildlife.

Marking or tagging fish and then releasing them without a DNR
permit is unlawful.

A DNR permit is required for any fishing contest when entry fees
exceed $23, prizes exceed $25,000, or when participants exceed 30
for open water and 150 for ice fishing. See web site or call DNR
Information Center for more information.

A permit from the county sheriff is required for most organized events
on the water or ice.

Buying or selling game fish, whitefish, or cisco is unlawful. The
exceptions are smelt and fish obtained under a commercial, private
hatchery, or aquatic farm license.

Some fish spawning areas are posted to prohibit motorized boat
travel. Landowners or lease holders adjacent to these areas may use
the shortest route when traveling to and from their property, provided
they operate their boat at no more than 5 mph.

Importing live minnows into Minnesota for use as bait is unlawful.
Notice to Fall Anglers: Lakes classified as Waterfowl Feeding
and Resting Areas and Wildlife Management Areas are closed to
motorboats as posted during the fall waterfowl hunting season.
Refer to the most current hunting regulations for a complete

list of these lakes. Please give resting flocks of birds and hunting
decoys a wide berth when boating and fishing.

Some ponds and lakes are licensed for private aquaculture use.
Trespassing to gain access to these waters may be in violation of
fishing laws in addition to trespassing laws.

Any fish that is caught and will not be utilized must be immediately
returned alive back into the water. A person cannot wantonly waste

a fish that is caught by leaving it or any usable portion on the ice,
thrown up on the bank, or intentionally killing it and returning it back
into the water unless authorized.

DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367
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@ Open the Outdoors

Minnesota is known for its tremendous outdoor recreational
opportunities. Since 1972, the DNR has been updat-
ing its facilities and programs to meet state and federal
accessibility standards, opening the outdoors to people
with disabilities. t I

Minnesota has more than 200 fishing piers and on-
shore platforms in urban and rural areas, on everything
from small rivers to large lakes throughout the state. Fishing piers
and on-shore fishing are designed
to meet the needs of people with
physical disabilities, with protec-
tive railings or edges around them.
The levels of accessibility of
nearby parking areas and the paths
leading to the piers and platforms
vary from site to site.

Learn more about opportunities
for hunting, fishing and exploring
and enjoying nature by browsing
the DNR web site

http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/
open_outdoors/index.html

You can get print versions of the statewide fishing pier and Twin
Cities water recreation maps from the DNR Information Center or
on line.

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us 2|



y doing at least one annual clean-up.
Project WET is a K-12 curriculum with more than 90 actlwtles
including water science, water’s role in the ecosystem, and cultural
aspects of water use.Teachers can attend a workshop to obtain
the curriculum guide. Call (651) 297-4951.

See the DNR Web site www.dnr.state.mn.us



SEASONS AND LIMITS

Inland Waters
 All calendar dates are for 2005 unless noted otherwise.
* Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted.
* Most species have experimental or special regulations on some
waters. See pages 32-54.
» For Lake Superior, Canada, Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota, and
North Dakota border water regulations, see pages 27-30, 55-65.

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
WALLEYE May 14,2005- 6* (Not more than |

and SAUGER Feb. 19,2006 walleye over 24" may be
(either or combined) taken each day.)

*(Minimum size limit 15" for walleyes on the inland waters of Pool 3 [dam at Hastings
to railroad tracks on the Minnesota—Wisconsin border]).

NORTHERN PIKE May 14,2005- 3 (Not more than | over 30"
Feb. 19,2006 may be taken each day.)

MUSKELLUNGE June 4,2005- I*

including HYBRID Feb. 19,2006

MUSKELLUNGE

*Minimum size limit for both species: 40". Exception: Minimum size is 30" in Shoepac
Lake in Voyageurs National Park (St. Louis County).

LARGEMOUTH May 28, 2005- 6

and SMALLMOUTH Feb. 19,2006 Catch and release only for
BASS (either or (May 14, 2005- smallmouth bass from Sept. 12
combined) Feb. 19, 2006, through the end of the season.

north and east of
U.S. Hwy. 53 from
Duluth to Inter-
national Falls and
Pelican and Ash
lakes in St. Louis

County.)
CRAPPIE Continuous 10
SUNFISH* Continuous 20

(either or combined)
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orange spotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)

ROCK BASS Continuous 30
WHITE BASS Continuous 30
continued on next page

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us 23
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SEASONS AND LIMITS-INLAND WATERS continued

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
CHANNEL and Continuous 5 (Only | fish over 24".
FLATHEAD CATFISH Not more than 2 can be
(either or combined) flathead.)
PERCH Continuous 20 daily and 40

in possession
BULLHEAD Continuous 100
WHITEFISH and Continuous No limit

UNDER-UTILIZED FISH*
@ Exception: Whitefish limit on Leech Lake Indian Reservation is 25 and cisco is
50. *Under-utilized fish include: carp, buffalo, sucker, sheepshead, bowfin, burbot, cisco,
gar, goldeye, and redhorse. For more information see the DNR web site.

SMELT Continuous No limit
LAKE STURGEON Closed

or SHOVELNOSE

STURGEON

See Border Waters section (pages 57, 60, 61, 64) for other sturgeon waters.
PADDLEFISH No open season

LAKE TROUT May 14-Sept. 30 2
Summer,

statewide

Winter, Ram Lake and Jan. 15, 2005- 2

lakes outside or March 15,2005

partly outside the and Jan. 14, 2006-

Boundary Waters March 15,2006

Canoe Area

Wilderness (BWCAW)

(including all of Clearwater, Sea Gull, East Bearskin, and Snowbank Lakes)

Winter, lakes Jan. I, 2005- 2
entirely within the March 31, 2005
BWCAW except and Dec. 31,2005-
for Ram Lake March 31,2006
Walleye Bass Muskie
2006 May 13 May 27 June 3
2007 May 12 May 26 June 2

24 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367
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Stream Trout
The following regulations apply only to stream trout (splake, brook,
brown, and rainbow trout) in inland lakes and streams. They
do not include lake trout, which are listed under Inland Waters, (page
24). Lake Superior tributaries (page 27-30) and Experimental and
Special Regulations (pages 32-54) are also not covered in this section.
Calendar dates refer to 2005 unless noted otherwise.
Daily and possession limits are the same.

SEASONS AND LIMITS-STREAM TROUT

STREAMTROUT OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

STREAMS
Statewide except Apr. 16-Sept. 30 5 combined (Not more than |
Houston, Fillmore, over |6")

Mower, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, Wabasha, and Goodhue counties

Houston, Fillmore, Apr. |-15 Catch and release only;

Mower, Dodge, barbless hooks only

Olmsted, Winona, Apr. 16-Sept. 14 5 combined (Not more than |
Wabasha, and over |6")

Goodhue counties Sept. |5-Sept. 30 Catch and release only;

barbless hooks only

LAKES-Summer
Statewide May 14-Oct. 31 5 combined (Not more than 3
over |6")
LAKES-Winter
Ram Lake and lakes Jan. 15, 2005- 5 combined (Not more than 3
outside or partly outside March 15,2005 over |6")
the Boundary Waters and Jan. 14, 2006-
Canoe Area Wilderness March 15,2006
(BWCAW) (includes all of Lizz,
and Meditation Lakes
Entirely within the Jan. ,2005- 5 combined (Not more than 3
BWCAW except March 31,2005 over |6")
Ram Lake and Dec. 31,2005-
March 31,2006
Aiitkin, Becker, Beltrami, Season closed on lakes in these counties.
Cass, Crow Wing, and Does not include lake trout.

Hubbard Counties

26 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367



Seasons and Limits—Stream Trout

Stream Trout Regulations

* Fishing hours for stream trout on inland waters are from one hour
before sunrise to 11 p.m.

* Only one line is allowed winter or summer when fishing on des-
ignated stream trout lakes (listed in the DNR’s “Guide to Lakes
Managed for Stream Trout") and designated trout streams.

* Possessing live minnows, not including leeches, or using them for bait
on designated stream trout lakes is prohibited. Only dried, frozen, or
pickled (brined) minnows are allowed. Live leeches are legal to use.

» Angling for any species in designated trout waters during the closed
trout season is prohibited.

» Taking minnows or leeches from designated trout waters, except
under special permit, is prohibited.

» All stream trout must have head, tail, fins, and skin intact when being
transported.

* Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in
designated trout lakes or streams.

* The list of Designated Trout Lakes and Streams can be found on the
DNR web page.

Lake Superior and Its Tributaries

The following regulations have been expanded to clarify for anglers
the fishing seasons and limits for the variety of coldwater fish in Lake
Superior and the streams and rivers flowing into it.

Daily and possession limits are the same.

All other species not named are subject to inland regulations.

Posted upstream boundaries on Lake Superior tributaries gener-
ally define the areas accessible to anadromous trout and salmon. The
boundaries, as well as fish sanctuary areas, are marked with signs.

(See DNR web site for boundaries map and north shore fishing guide.)

for travel info:

www.exploreminnesota.com
651-296-5029 or 800-657-3700

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us 27
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SEASONS AND LIMITS-Lake Superior and lts Tributaries

¢ w3
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74 b § o
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g § & ¥
Brook Trout and Splake combined (o) & I5E 9
Lake Superior tributaries April 16— 10 10 Only |
in Carlton County (including Sept. 30 over 16"
Nemadji River system and
all its tributaries)
St. Louis River and its April 16— 5 5 Only |
tributaries upstream of Sept. 30 over 16"
Fond du Lac Dam
Lake Superior and other April 16— | 5 Minimum
tributaries (not mentioned Sept. 5 size limit
above) below posted boundaries 20"
(including St. Louis River below
the Minnesota Highway 23 bridge)
Other Lake Superior tributaries April 16— 10 10 Only |
above posted boundaries Sept. 30 over 16"
4 B4
. £ &3
o ~ ~Na
Rainbow Trout, including Steelhead r‘x? S ©&FF ¥
1 ] Ssd £
Lake Superior tributaries in Carlton 5 é? Qor ~
County (including Nemadji River Q S q?;; _&"
system and all its tributaries) o Q Ts8 ]
Clipped Fish* Continuous 3 10 Minimum
— - - - - - — = oo fuls ) |
Unclipped Fish* Continuous Catch and release only
Lake Superior and other tributaries
below posted boundaries (including
St. Louis River below Minnesota
Highway 23 bridge)
Clipped Fish* Continuous 3 5 Minimum
— - - - - - - - - = | st fimis (|
Unclipped Fish* Continuous Catch and release only
Lake Superior tributaries above April 16— Catch and release only
posted boundaries Sept. 30
*Clipped fish have their adipose fin removed and must show a healed scar (see illustration on page 30).
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Seasons and Limits—Lake Superior and Its Tributaries

SEASONS AND LIMITS-Lake Superior and lts Tributaries
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Lake Superior tributaries April 16— 5 10 Only |
in Carlton County (including Sept. 30 over 16"
Nemadji River system and
all its tributaries)
St. Louis River and its April 16— 5 5 Only |
tributaries upstream of Sept. 30 over 16"
Fond du Lac Dam
Lake Superior and other tributaries Continuous 5 5 Only |
below posted boundaries over 16"
(including St. Louis River below the Min. size
Minnesota Highway 23 bridge) limit 10"
Lake Superior tributaries above April 16— 5 10 Only |
posted boundaries Sept. 30 over 16"

SEASONS FOR LAKE SUPERIORAND ITS TRIBUTARIES

BELOW POSTED BOUNDARIES
SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
LAKETROUT  Dec. |, 2004-Sept. 30,2005 3

Dec. I,2005—Oct. |, 2006

CHINOOK, Continuous 5 combined, (only | can be
COHO, PINK an Atlantic salmon) minimum
ATLANTIC size limit 10"
SALMON
WALLEYE May 14,2005-March 1,2006 2 (minimum size limit 15")
NORTHERN | May 14,2005-March 1,2006 2
PIKE
SMELT Continuous No Limit

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us
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Regulations

* Two lines may be used on Lake Superior, except only one is allowed
within 100 yards from where a tributary stream enters the lake. Also,
only one line may be used in tributary streams.

* Anglers are restricted to a single hook only—no treble hooks—on
Lake Superior tributary streams and rivers up to the posted bound-
aries. Exceptions are the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton
Counties) and the Pigeon River (Cook County).

* Angling hours on Lake Superior tributaries below the posted bound-
aries are from one hour before sunrise to one hour after sunset.
Exceptions are the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton Counties)
and the Pigeon River (Cook County).

* Special regulations on North Shore streams include posted sanctuaries
on the Knife, Little Knife, Devil Track, and Kadunce Rivers and on
Gauthier Creek. (See Experimental and Special Regulations, pages
47, 50.)

* Unclipped steelhead (rainbow trout) must be immediately released on
Lake Superior and its tributaries. A clipped adipose fin, used to identi-
fy stocked trout, must show a healed scar (see diagram below).

* From the mouth of Chester Creek to the outer most portion of the
northwest arm of the Duluth ship channel is closed to fishing from
boats from October 1 through November 30. (See map on web site.)

* While on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior, persons may
possess only one daily limit of fish.

* Anyone fishing on the Minnesota waters of Lake Superior must possess
a Minnesota angling license and trout stamp validation except residents
65 and older and the other exemptions listed on pages 13-14.

* A guide’s license is required to operate a charter boat for the purpose
of guiding or assisting anglers on the Minnesota waters of Lake
Superior and the St. Louis River estuary.

* A person cannot fish on Wisconsin waters of Lake Superior with a
Minnesota angling license.

* Smelt may be taken night or day. Artificial lights may not be used to
lure or attract smelt. There is no limit on smelt, and they may be bought
or sold. However, live smelt may not be possessed or transported.

* Dip nets may be used for taking
smelt. Minnow seines not more ~ Clipped Adipose Fin
than 25 feet long or 4 feet deep Adipose fin
may be used to take smelt in the (no rays)

St. Louis River and in Lake l\\ ot ?cii'ed
Superior when more than 10
feet from the mouth of any
stream.

* On Lake Superior tributaries
below the posted boundaries, a fish that is hooked in any part of the
body, except the mouth, must be immediately returned to the water.

30 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367



* Release some medium-sized fish so they can grow larger and be
caught in the future.

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us 3|
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SPECIAL REGULATIONS

Treaty Regulations

Mille Lacs Lake and other 1837 Treaty lake regulations might change
throughout the year. Treaty-related regulation changes will be posted at
the access, announced in newspapers, and on the DNR web site or call
the DNR Information Center.

Approximately 110 fishing lakes in east-central Minnesota lie within
the 1837 ceded territory. Fishing regulations might change after the
Indian Bands declare their harvest goals around March 15. These chang-
es are to ensure that the total harvest stays at a safe level. The following
counties have lakes that could be affected: Aitkin, Chisago, Crow Wing,
Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Sherburne, and Washington.

Those portions of Red Lake located within the Red Lake Indian
Reservation are closed to non-band members except by special authori-
zation of the tribal council.

Experimental and Special Regulations

These regulations differ from statewide or border water regulations for
those species identified. Unless otherwise specifically mentioned, all
general regulations, seasons, limits, border water regulations, pos-
session, and transportation apply to these waters. Please check regu-
lation booklets from other states and sections of this booklet listed
above. For definitions of special and experimental regulations see
page 7.

Regulations are posted at access sites. Those lakes in the follow-
ing list with a (T) are in the 1837 Treaty area, so make sure you check
the accesses for any changes or additions. Your compliance is needed
to ensure that these regulations are successful. The regulations help
improve fishing quality, protect unique fisheries, provide additional
fishing opportunities, or protect threatened species. The DNR regularly
evaluates regulations to determine their success.

Individual Waters

LAKES (Make sure to also check pages 23-29, and 45-64.)

ADA LAKE (Cass County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
ALEXANDER LAKE (Morrison County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

32 DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367



Experimental/Special Regulations—Lakes

ANDREWS LAKE (Douglas County)
northern pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to the
water.

ANN LAKE (Carver County)
largemouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water.
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

ANNIE BATTLE LAKE (Otter Tail County)
Use of gas and electric motors, aqua-views, augers, and other
electronic fish-finding devices are prohibited.
sunfish: Possession limit 5.
northern pike and largemouth bass: All must be immediately
returned to the water.
black crappie: Minimum size limit 11". Possession limit 5.

ANNIE BATTLE LAKE INLET to Molly Stark Lake and OUTLET to
Blanche Lake (Otter Tail County)
sunfish: Possession limit 5.
northern pike and largemouth bass: All must be immediately
returned to the water.
black crappie: Minimum size limit 11". Possession limit 5.

ASH LAKE (St. Louis County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

BALD EAGLE LAKE (Anoka, Ramsey, and Washington Counties)
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48".

BASS LAKE (Itasca County)
sunfish: Possession limit 5.

BASS LAKE (Todd County) is the one near Burtrum, north of Long Lake.
walleye: Possession limit 2.
largemouth bass: Possession limit 1.
northern pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit 1.

BASSWOOD LAKE (Lake County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession. Protected
slot applies to all Minnesota waters of Basswood Lake.

BATTLE LAKE (Itasca County)
walleye: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.

BATTLE LAKE, EAST (Otter Tail County)
northern pike: All 22" and larger must be immediately returned to the
water.

BATTLE LAKE, WEST (Otter Tail County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

BEAR CREEK RESERVOIR [Chester Woods] (Olmsted County)
largemouth bass: Minimum size limit 15".
bluegill: Possession limit 10. Minimum size limit 7", Nov. 1-April 30.

BELTRAMI LAKE (Beltrami County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us 33
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BIG BIRCH LAKE (Todd and Stearns Counties)
northern pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to the
water.
BIG CARNELIAN LAKE (Washington County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
BIG FISH LAKE (Stearns County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
BIG LAKE (Beltrami County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
BIG MANTRAP LAKE (Hubbard County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
BIG SAND LAKE (Hubbard County)
walleye: All from 20" through 28" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 28" allowed in possession.
BIG STONE LAKE (Big Stone County)
walleye: Possession limit 4. Only 1 20" or larger allowed in
possession.
crappie: Possession limit 10.
sunfish: Possession limit 10.
BIG SWAN LAKE (Todd County)
northern pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to the
water.
BIRCH LAKE RESERVOIR (St. Louis County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
BLACKWATER LAKE (Cass County)
bass: Catch and release only.
BLACK BASS LAKE (Mille Lacs County)
Use of gas or electric augers, aqua-views, and other electronic fish-
finding devices are prohibited.
largemouth and smallmouth bass: All must be immediately returned
to the water.
northern pike: All must be immediately returned to the water.
sunfish: Possession limit 5.
BLUEBERRY LAKE (Wadena County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
BURGEN LAKE (Douglas County)
northern pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to the
water.
CAMPBELL LAKE (Beltrami County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
CARIBOU LAKE (St. Louis County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
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Experimental/Special Regulations—Lakes

CARNELIAN LAKE (Stearns County)
sunfish: Possession limit 10.
CEDAR LAKE (Morrison County)
walleye: Possession limit 2, except 1 over 24" allowed in possession.
black crappie: Possession limit 5.
northern pike: Possession limit 1. Minimum size limit 40".
CENTER LAKE, NORTH and SOUTH (Chisago County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
CHARLES LAKE (Ramsey County)
Closed to fishing.
CHILD LAKE (Cass County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
CHISAGO LAKE (Chisago County) (T)
largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned to
the water.
CHRISTINA LAKE (Douglas and Grant Counties)
Open to winter fishing only, December 1-March 31. Closed to fishing
at all other times.
CLEAR LAKE (Waseca County)
largemouth bass and smallmouth bass: All must be immediately
returned to the water.
CLITHERALL LAKE (Otter Tail County)
smallmouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water.
COON-SANDWICK LAKE (Itasca County)
northern pike: All from 20" through 30" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 30" allowed in possession.
COTTON LAKE (Becker County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
CRANE LAKE including Vermilion Gorge (St. Louis County)
walleye: All less than 13" or larger than 17" must be immediately
returned to the water, except 1 over 23" is allowed in a possession
limit.
CRAWFORD LAKE (Wright County)
largemouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water.
sunfish: Possession limit 5.
crappie: Possession limit 5.
walleye: Possession limit 2.
perch: Possession limit 10.
CROOKED LAKE (Anoka County)
largemouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water.
CROW WING LAKES, 5th, 6th, 8th, 9th, and 10th (Hubbard County)
northern pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit 1.
DEEP LAKE (Ramsey County)
Closed to fishing.
DEER LAKE (Beltrami County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us 35
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% DEER LAKE Near Effie (Itasca County)

walleye: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.
DEMONTREVILLE LAKE (Washington County)
largemouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water.
DUDLEY LAKE (Rice County)
northern pike: Minimum size limit 30".
EAGLE LAKE (Hennepin County)
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48".
ELEPHANT LAKE (St. Louis County)
northern pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit 1.
ELK LAKE (Clearwater County)
muskellunge: Catch and release only.
FARM LAKE Includes the North Branch Kawishiwi River from Farm
Lake 4.8 miles east to the long portage. (Lake County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
FARM ISLAND LAKE (Aitkin County)
walleye: All from 16" through 19" must be immediately returned to
the water.
FISH TRAP LAKE (Morrison County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
FLADMARK LAKE (Otter Tail County)
sunfish: Possession limit 10.
northern pike and largemouth bass: All must be immediately
returned to the water.
FLOUR LAKE (Cook County)
smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 20" allowed in possession.
FLOYD LAKE, BIG and LITTLE (Becker County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
FOSTER AREND LAKE (Olmsted County)
trout: Continuous season. Possession limit 3 with only 1 over 16".
FOX LAKE (Beltrami County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
GARDEN LAKE (Lake County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
GEORGE LAKE (Hubbard County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
GILBERT LAKE (Crow Wing County)
crappie: Possession limit 5.
sunfish: Possession limit 5.
GIRL LAKE (Cass County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
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Experimental/Special Regulations—Lakes

% GOODRICH LAKE (Crow Wing County)

crappie: Possession limit 5.
sunfish: Possession limit 5.
GOOSE LAKE (Chisago County)(T)
walleye: Minimum size limit 17".
GRAVE LAKE (Itasca County)
sunfish: Possession limit 5.
GREEN LAKE (Chisago County)(T)
crappie: Minimum size limit 9".
walleye: Minimum size limit 17".
GREEN LAKE (Kandiyohi County)
smallmouth bass and largemouth bass: All 14" through 21" must
be immediately returned to the water. Only 1 over 21" allowed in
possession.
northern pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to the
water.
GULL LAKE (Cook County)
walleye: Possession limit is 6. Only 1 over 19.5" allowed in possession.
HORSESHOE LAKE (Cass County) is the one near Backus.
crappie: Possession limit 5.
largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must be
immediately returned to the water.
northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". Possession limit 1.
sunfish: Possession limit 5.
walleye: Possession limit 3.
HOVDE LAKE (Cass County)
largemouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water.
HUBERT LAKE (Crow Wing County)
largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must be
immediately returned to the water.
HUNGRY JACK LAKE (Cook County)
smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 20" allowed in possession.
ISLAND LAKE near Northome (Itasca County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
walleye: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.
JANE LAKE (Washington County)
largemouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water.
JEWETT LAKE (Otter Tail County)
largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must be
immediately returned to the water. Only 1 over 20" allowed in
possession.
KABETOGAMA LAKE Including Sullivan Bay and Ash River to Ash
River Falls. (St. Louis County)
walleye: All less than 13" or larger than 17" must be immediately
returned to the water, except 1 over 23" is allowed in possession.
KELLY LAKE (Rice County)
northern pike: Minimum size limit 30".
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KNIFE LAKE (Kanabec County) (T)
walleye: All from 18" through 24" must be immediately returned to
the water.
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

KRAUT LAKE (Cook County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water. Artificial lures
and flies with a single hook only. Closed to winter fishing.

LAC QUI PARLE LAKE upstream to Marsh Lake Dam, including
the Watson Sag upstream to the diversion dam (Lac Qui Parle and
Chippewa Counties)
walleye: Possession limit 4. Only 1 walleye 20" or larger allowed in
possession.

LAKE OF THE WOODS including the Rainy River from the mouth
upstream to the dam in International Falls, Baudette and Winter Road
Rivers (Lake of the Woods and Koochiching Counties), and Warroad
River (Roseau County).
northern pike: Possession limit is 3, with only 1 over 40". All from
30" through 40" must be immediately returned to the water.
walleye and sauger: See page 56.

LAKE THIRTEEN (Cass County)
largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned to
the water.

LATOKA LAKE (Douglas County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

LEECH LAKE (Cass County)
walleye: All from 18" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession. Possession limit 4.

LIDA LAKE SOUTH and NORTH including connecting Mud Lake
(Otter Tail County)
crappie Minimum size limit 11".
walleye: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.

LITTLE BOY LAKE (Cass County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

LITTLE CASCADE LAKE (Cook County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

LITTLE MANTRAP LAKE (Hubbard County)
largemouth bass: All from 12" through 18" must be immediately
returned to the water.

LITTLE MCDONALD LAKE (Otter Tail County)
walleye: All from 18" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.

LITTLE SAUK LAKE (Todd County)
walleye: Possession limit is 2.
largemouth bass: Possession limit is 1.
sunfish: Possession limit is 5.
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crappie: Possession limit is 5.
yellow perch: Possession limit is 10.
northern pike: All from 24" through 30" must be immediately
returned to the water. Possession limit is 3, with only 1 over 30".
LITTLE VERMILION LAKE Including Loon River to Loon River
Falls. (St. Louis County)
walleye: All less than 13" or larger than 17" must be immediately
returned to the water, except 1 over 23" is allowed in possession.
LITTLE WOLF LAKE (Cass and Hubbard Counties)
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48".
LITTLE WOMAN LAKE (Cass County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
LONG LAKE (Aitkin County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
LONG LAKE Near Hawick (Kandiyohi County)
largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned to
the water.
LONG LAKE (Todd County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
LOON LAKE (Cook County)
northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". Possession limit 1.
MANDALL LAKE (Chisago County)
walleye: Minimum size limit 17".
MAPLE LAKE (Douglas County)
crappie: Possession limit 5, with a minimum size limit of 10".
MEDICINE LAKE (Beltrami County)
northern pike: All from 22" through 30" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 30" allowed in possession.
MELISSA LAKE (Becker County)
northern pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to the
water.
MILLE LACS LAKE including tributaries to posted boundaries
(Aitkin, Crow Wing, and Mille Lacs Counties) (T)
No one may fish for any species or possess fishing gear on the lake
from 10 p.m. through 6 a.m. starting at 10 p.m. on May 16 and ending
at 12:01 a.m. on June 13. Closed to winter spearing for all species.
walleye, northern pike, and tulibee: Restrictions or changes will be
posted at public access sites.
smallmouth bass: All less than 21" must be immediately returned to
the water. Possession limit 1.
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MINK LAKE (Wright County)
sunfish: Possession limit 5.
crappie: Possession limit 5.
yellow perch: Possession limit 10.
walleye: Possession limit 2.
largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned to
the water. Possession limit 1.
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
Possession or use of live minnows is prohibited.

MINNEWASHTA LAKE (Carver County)
largemouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water.

MINNIE BELLE LAKE (Meeker County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

MISSION LAKE, LOWER and UPPER (Crow Wing County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

MITCHELL LAKE (Crow Wing County)
northern pike: Minimum size limit 40". Possession limit 1.

MOCCASIN LAKE (Cass County)
largemouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water.

MOODY LAKE (Crow Wing County)

Closed to fishing.

MOOSE LAKE (Itasca County) is the one near Deer River.
walleye: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.

MOOSE LAKE (Todd County)
largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned to
the water.

MOVIL LAKE (Beltrami County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

MULE LAKE (Cass County)
bass: Catch and release only.

NAMAKAN LAKE (St. Louis County)
walleye: All less than 13" or larger than 17" must be immediately
returned to the water, except 1 over 23" allowed in possession.

NORTH SHADY LAKE (Cook County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water. Artificial lures
and flies with a single hook only. Closed to winter fishing.

NORTH STAR LAKE including Little North Star Lake (Itasca
County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

NORTH TWIN LAKE (Beltrami County)
northern pike: All from 22" through 30" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 30" allowed in possession.
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NORWAY LAKE (Otter Tail County)
largemouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water.
walleye: Possession limit 3.
northern pike: Possession limit 1.
crappie: Possession limit 5.
sunfish: Possession limit 5.
yellow perch: Possession limit 10.
OLSON LAKE (Washington County)
largemouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water.
OSAKIS LAKE (Douglas and Todd Counties)
walleye: Minimum size limit 15".
OTTER TAIL LAKE (Otter Tail County)
northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". Possession limit 1.
OWASSO LAKE (Ramsey County)
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48".
OX YOKE LAKE (Cass County)
sunfish: Possession limit 10.
PEANUT LAKE (Cook County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water. Artificial lures
and flies with a single hook only. Closed to winter fishing.
PELICAN LAKE (St. Louis County)
largemouth and smallmouth bass: All from 14" through 20" must
be immediately returned to the water. Only 1 over 20" allowed in
possession.
northern pike: All from 24" through 32" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 32" allowed in possession.

% PICKEREL LAKE (Itasca County)

walleye: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.

PICKEREL LAKE (Otter Tail County)
largemouth and smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must be
immediately returned to the water. Only 1 over 20" allowed in
possession.

PIERZ LAKE [Fish] (Morrison County)
largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned to
the water.

PIMUSHE LAKE (Beltrami County)
sunfish: Possession limit 10.

PINE LAKE, BIG and LITTLE (Otter Tail County)
walleye: All from 18" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.

PLANTAGANETTE LAKE (Hubbard County)
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48".

PLEASANT LAKE (Ramsey County)
Closed to fishing.

PLEASANT LAKE (Stearns County)
sunfish: Possession limit 10.

PORTAGE LAKE North of Ten Mile Lake (Cass County)
largemouth and smallmouth bass: All must be immediately returned
to the water.
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PRAIRIE LAKE (St. Louis County)
northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". Possession limit 1.

RABBIT LAKES, BIG and EAST BIG (Crow Wing County)
northern pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to the
water.

RABOUR LAKE (Chisago County)
walleye: Minimum size limit 17".

RACHEL LAKE and LITTLE RACHEL LAKE (Douglas County)
northern pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to the
water.

RAINY LAKE Including the Rainy River above the dam at
International Falls, all of Rainy Lake to the dam at Kettle Falls, Black
Bay including Gold Portage below the rapids, all of the Rat Root
River, and Rat Root Lake. (Koochiching and St. Louis Counties)
walleye and sauger: Possession limit of 8 (Not more than 4 can be
walleye; walleye from 17" through 28" must be immediately released;
only one walleye over 28" allowed in possession.)

REBECCA LAKE (Hennepin County)
muskellunge: Minimum size limit 48".

RED LAKE, UPPER including tributaries (Beltrami County)
walleye: Closed to the taking of walleye. It is unlawful to have any
walleye in possession regardless of where taken while on or fishing
this water.

REEDS LAKE (Waseca County)
northern pike: Minimum size limit 30".

ROGERS LAKE (Crow Wing County)
crappie: Possession limit 5.
sunfish: Possession limit 5.

ROUND LAKE (Crow Wing County)
northern pike: Minimum size limit 30". Possession limit 1.

ROUND LAKE Near Squaw Lake (Itasca County)
walleye: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.

RUSH LAKE, EAST and WEST (Chisago County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

SAGANAGA LAKE (Cook County)
walleye: Possession limit 6. Only 1 over 19.5" allowed in possession.

SALLIE LAKE (Becker County)
northern pike: All 24" and larger must be immediately returned to the
water.

SANBURN LAKE (Cass County)
sunfish: Possession limit 10.

SAND POINT LAKE (St. Louis County)
walleye: All less than 13" or larger than 17" must be immediately
returned to the water, except 1 over 23" is allowed in possession.

SEWELL LAKE (Otter Tail County)
largemouth and smallmouth bass All 12" and larger must be
immediately returned to the water. Only 1 over 20" allowed in
possession.
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SHAMINEAU LAKE (Morrison County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
SISSABAGAMAH LAKE (Aitkin County)
northern pike: All from 20" through 30" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 30" allowed in possession.
SOMERS LAKE (Wright County)
sunfish: Possession limit 5.
crappie: Possession limit 5.
yellow perch: Possession limit 10.
walleye: Possession limit 2.
largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned to
the water. Possession limit 1.
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
Possession or use of live minnows is prohibited.
SOUTH FARM LAKE (Lake County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
SOUTH LINDSTROM LAKE (Chisago County) (T)
largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned to
the water.
SPIDER LAKE (Hubbard County)
crappie: Minimum size limit 10".
SPLITHAND LAKE (Itasca County)
walleye: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.
SQUASH LAKE (Cook County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water. Artificial lures
and flies with a single hook only. Closed to winter fishing.
SQUARE LAKE (Washington County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water from May 14
through June 10 and from October 1 through October 31. Remainder
of the summer and winter seasons the possession limit for trout is 2.
ST. OLAF LAKE (Waseca County)
northern pike: Minimum size limit 30".
STAR LAKE (Otter Tail County)
sunfish: Possession limit 10.
STIEGER LAKE (Carver County)
northern pike and largemouth bass:
All must be immediately returned to the water.
STONY LAKE (Cass County)
largemouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 20" allowed in possession.
STUART LAKE (Otter Tail County)
black crappie: Minimum size limit 10".
STURGEON LAKE (Pine County)
northern pike: All 20" and larger must be immediately returned to the
water.
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@» SWAN LAKE (Itasca County)
walleye: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.

SYLVAN LAKE (Cass County)
crappie: Possession limit 5.
sunfish: Possession limit 5.

TEN MILE LAKE (Cass County)
northern pike: All 20" and larger must be immediately returned to the
water.

TEN MILE LAKE, NORTH and SOUTH (Otter Tail County)
largemouth and smallmouth bass: Minimum size limit 21".
Possession limit 1.

THOMPSON LAKE (Cook County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water. Artificial lures
and flies with a single hook only. Closed to winter fishing.

THREE ISLAND LAKE (Beltrami County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

THRUSH LAKE (Cook County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water. Artificial lures
and flies with a single hook only. Closed to winter fishing.

TOMATO LAKE (Cook County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water. Artificial lures
and flies with a single hook only. Closed to winter fishing.

TROUT LAKE Near Coleraine (Itasca County)
walleye: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to the
water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.

TURNIP LAKE (Cook County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water. Artificial lures
and flies with a single hook only. Closed to winter fishing.

TURTLE LAKE (Ramsey County)
largemouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water.

TURTLE, BIG and LITTLE LAKE (Beltrami County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

TURTLE RIVER LAKE (Beltrami County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

TWENTY ONE LAKE (Otter Tail County)
sunfish: Possession limit 10.
northern pike and largemouth bass: All must be immediately
returned to the water.

TWO ISLAND LAKE (Cook County)
smallmouth bass: All 12" and larger must be immediately returned
to the water. Only 1 over 20" allowed in possession.

UNNAMED LAKE [Louise/Pothole] Located between Wabedo and
Little Boy (Cass County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.
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% VENSTROM (Otter Tail County)
crappie: Minimum size limit 11".
walleye: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.

VERMILION LAKE (St. Louis County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

WABEDO LAKE Including Unnamed Lake between Wabedo and
Little Boy. (Cass County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

WACONIA LAKE (Carver County)
walleye: Minimum size 16".

WHITE IRON LAKE (St. Louis County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

WILKINS LAKE (Aitkin County)
northern pike: All from 20" through 30" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 30" allowed in possession.

WILKINSON LAKE (Anoka and Ramsey Counties)

Closed to fishing.

WINNIBIGOSHISH LAKE and connected waters: Mississippi River
to Knutson Dam, Third River Flowage to Little Dixon Lake, Pigeon
River to Pigeon Lake Dam, First River, Egg Lake through Cut
Foot Sioux Lake, Raven Flowage to Raven Lake, and Sugar Lake
(Beltrami, Cass and Itasca Counties)
walleye: All from 17" through 26" must be immediately returned to
the water. Only 1 over 26" allowed in possession.

WOMAN LAKE (Cass County)
northern pike: All from 24" through 36" must be immediately
returned to the water. Only 1 over 36" allowed in possession.

STREAMS and Rivers
(Make sure to check pages 23—45, and 55-64.)

ASH RIVER: See Kabetogama Lake, page 37.

BAUDETTE RIVER See Lake of the Woods, page 38.

BEAVER CREEK (Wabasha and Winona Counties)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout January 1 through March
31 on the entire stream, a 6.3-mile posted section from the mouth to
the source. All hooks must be barbless.

@ BEAVER CREEK, EAST (Houston County)

trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water on the entire stream (Beaver Creek Valley State
Park).
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on the entire stream (Beaver Creek Valley State Park). All
hooks must be barbless during winter season.
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BEAVER CREEK, WEST (Houston County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31, on a 1.9-mile posted section from the point where West
Beaver Creek joins East Beaver Creek in Beaver Creek Valley State
Park upstream to the posted boundary. All hooks must be barbless.

BEE CREEK (Houston County)
winter: catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31, on a 1.6-mile posted section beginning at the Minnesota
State Line in the town of Bee, Minnesota continuing upstream to the
posted boundary at a driveway crossing. All hooks must be barbless.

BELLE CREEK (Goodhue County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water on a 7.3 mile
posted section beginning at the confluence with the Cannon River
upstream to the road crossing of Hwy 19.

CAMP CREEK (Fillmore County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water on a 2.7 mile
posted section beginning 0.8 miles above the confluence with the Root
River, South Branch upstream 2.7 miles. Artificial lures and flies only.
Note: On the third Saturday in May statewide regulations apply to the
posted section of the stream.
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1, through
March 31, on posted section from mouth upstream 3.5 miles. All
hooks must be barbless only during the winter season.

CANFIELD CREEK [South Branch Creek] (Fillmore County)
trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water on the entire stream from the confluence with the
Root River, South Branch upstream to the source. Artificial lures and
flies only.
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on the entire section (Forestville State Park). All hooks must
be barbless.

COOLRIDGE CREEK (Winona County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 0.13-mile posted section beginning at the point where
Coolridge Creek enters Pine Creek and continuing upstream to the
posted boundary. All hooks must be barbless.

CROOKED CREEK (Houston County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 6.4-mile posted section beginning at the first township
bridge crossing approximately 1 mile upstream of Freeburg, Minnesota
and continuing upstream to the posted boundary near the source
approximately 1.5 miles upstream of the uppermost Hwy. 249 bridge
crossing. All hooks must be barbless.

CROOKED CREEK, SOUTH FORK (Houston County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 1.43-mile posted section beginning at the junction
with Crooked Creek and continuing upstream to the posted boundary
downstream of the reservoir. All hooks must be barbless.
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DALEY CREEK (Houston County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 2.5-mile posted section beginning upstream of the
Hwy16 crossing and continuing upstream to the posted boundary at
the township road crossing (fourth stream crossing). All hooks must be
barbless.

DEVIL TRACK RIVER (Cook County)
fish sanctuary: Mile 1.1 to Mile 1.6 open to fishing from June 1
through August 31 only.

DIAMOND CREEK (Fillmore County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 5.25-mile posted section beginning at the third stream
crossing upstream of the Hwy.16 bridge continuing upstream to the
source of both branches. All hooks must be barbless.

DUSCHEE CREEK (Fillmore County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on the posted section from mouth upstream 5.5 miles. All
hooks must be barbless.

EAGLE CREEK (Scott County)
trout: Catch and release only.

FERGUSON CREEK (Winona County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 1.25-mile posted section beginning where Ferguson
Creek enters Rush Creek and continuing upstream to the posted
boundary at the spring source. All hooks must be barbless.

FIRST RIVER: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 45

FORESTVILLE CREEK [North Branch Creek] (Fillmore County)
trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water on the entire stream from the confluence with the
Root River, South Branch upstream to the source.
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on the entire stream, 2.59-mile posted section from the
mouth within Forestville State Park to the source. All hooks must be
barbless during winter season.

GARVIN BROOK (Winona County)
trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water beginning at the Hwy. 14 crossing going
upstream approxiamately 5 miles to the source. Artificial lures and
flies only.
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 1-mile posted section beginning at Arches (Farmers) Park
and continuing downstream to the posted point at the end of State Forest
land. All hooks must be barbless during winter season.

GAUTHIER CREEK (Cook County)
fish sanctuary: Entire stream open to fishing from June 1 through
August 31 only.
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@ GRIBBEN CREEK (Fillmore County)

trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water on the entire stream from the confluence with the
Root River, Main Branch upstream to the source. Artificial lures and
flies only.
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 3.8-mile posted section beginning at the Hwy. 16 bridge
and continuing upstream to the source. All hooks must be barbless
during winter season.

HAY CREEK (Goodhue County)
trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water on a 4.0-mile posted section beginning at the road
crossing of 325th Street and continuing downstream. Artificial lures
and flies only.
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 7.6-mile posted section, beginning at the 325th
Street bridge and continuing downstream to the posted end point at
the boundary of State Forest land in Section 12. All hooks must be
barbless, during winter season.

HEMMINGWAY CREEK (Winona County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1
through March 31 on a 0.83-mile posted section beginning where
Hemmingway Creek enters Pine Creek and continuing upstream to the
posted boundary where the State Forest land ends. All hooks must be
barbless.

KADUNCE RIVER (Cook County)
fish sanctuary: Mile 0.2 (lower falls) to Mile 0.4 open to fishing from
June 1 through August 31 only.

KAWISHIWI RIVER, NORTH BRANCH (Lake County) See Farm
Lake on page 36.

KEDRON CREEK (Fillmore County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water on the entire
stream beginning at the confluence with Bear Creek upstream to the
source. Artificial lures and flies only.

KNIFE RIVER (St. Louis and Lake Counties)
fish sanctuary: River and tributaries upstream from Lake County
Road 9 open to fishing from May 15 through September 30 only. The
river between the cables upstream of the U.S. Highway 61 bridge open
to fishing from June 1 through August 31. U.S. Highway 61 bridge
downstream to the cable below the fish trap is permanently closed to
fishing.

KNIFE RIVER, LITTLE (St. Louis County)
fish sanctuary: From the weir upstream to the source, fishing is
allowed from June 1 through August 31 only.

LOGAN CREEK (Olmsted County)
trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water on the entire stream from the confluence with the
Whitewater River, North Branch upstream to the source. Artificial lures
and flies only.

LOON RIVER See Little Vermillion Lake on page 39.
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MAHOODS CREEK (Fillmore County)
trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water on the entire stream from the confluence with
Spring Valley Creek upstream to the source.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER VALLEY (Ramsey, Washington, Hennepin, and
Dakota Counties)
walleye, sauger, smallmouth bass, and largemouth bass:

All must be immediately returned to the water with a continuous
season in the following stretches:

a) Minnesota River downstream from the Mendota Bridge;

b) Minnehaha Creek downstream from Minnehaha Falls; and c) Pool 2
of the Mississippi River between the Hastings Dam and the Ford Dam,
including all backwater lakes and connecting waters except Crosby
Lake, Pickerel Lake, Upper Lake, Little Pigs Eye Lake, and North Star
Steel Lake.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER (Sherburne, Stearns and Wright Counties)
smallmouth bass: From the confluence of the Crow River upstream to
the St. Cloud Dam, the possession limit is 3, with only 1 over 20". All
from 12" through 20" must be immediately returned to the water.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER POOLS 5, 5A, AND 8 (Wabasha, Houston, and
Winona Counties)
sunfish: Possession limit is 10.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 45.

MONEY CREEK, WEST BRANCH (Winona County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 3.14-mile posted section beginning approximately
1,000 feet above the County Road 19 stream crossing and continuing
to the posted boundary at the spring source. All hooks must be
barbless.

OTTER TAIL RIVER (Otter Tail and Wilkin Counties)
smallmouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water
from Wilkin County Road 19 crossing upstream to the Friberg Dam
including all impoundments.

PIGEON RIVER: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 45.

PINE CREEK (Winona County)
trout: Winter catch-and-release season from January 1 through
March 31, on a 5.6 mile posted section beginning where Pine Creek
enters Rush Creek and continuing upstream beyond the point where
Hemmingway Creek enters Pine Creek to the posted boundary where
the State Forest land ends. All hooks must be barbless.

@» RAINY RIVER:

northern pike: See Lake of the Woods on page 38.
walleye and sauger: See Rainy Lake page 42 and border water page
57.

RAT ROOT RIVER: See Rainy Lake on page 42.

RAVEN FLOWAGE: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 45.

RED LAKE TRIBUTARIES: See Red Lake on page 42.
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@ ROOT RIVER, MIDDLE BRANCH (Fillmore County)

trout: All must be immediately returned to the water on the entire
stream beginning at the confluence with the Root River, North Branch
upstream to the confluence of Deer and Spring Valley Creeks.

ROOT RIVER, SOUTH BRANCH (Fillmore County)
trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water on a 4.8 mile posted section within Forestville
State Park.
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 from the mouth to the dam in Lanesboro, and from the
historic bridge (Meighen's Store) in Forestville State Park upstream to
the park boundary. All hooks must be barbless during winter season.

ROOT RIVER, SOUTH FORK (Fillmore County)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water on a 7.7 mile
section beginning the road crossing of County Road 12 upstream to the
source. Artificial lures and flies only.
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 beginning at the junction where Nepstad (Shattuck) Creek
enters South Fork Root River and continuing upstream 7.6-miles to
the upper boundary of the Hvoself W.M.A. All hooks must be barbless
during winter season.

RUSH CREEK (Winona County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 6.4-mile posted section beginning at the southern-most
County Road 25 bridge crossing and continuing upstream to the posted
boundary (north section line, section 18). All hooks must be barbless.

SEA GULL RIVER (Cook County)
walleye: Possession limit is 6. Only 1 over 19.5" allowed in
possession.

ST. LOUIS RIVER (St. Louis County)
fish sanctuary: No fishing allowed at any time from the Fond du Lac
Dam downstream to the Minnesota—Wisconsin boundary cable. No
fishing allowed from the boundary cable downstream to the
Hwy. 23 bridge from February 28 through May 18.

SPRING VALLEY CREEK (Fillmore County)
trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water on a 6.8 mile posted section beginning at the
confluence with Deer Creek upstream to the road crossing of Fillmore
Township Road 359.

SWEDES BOTTOM CREEK (Houston County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 1-mile posted section beginning at the township road
bridge and continuing upstream to the spring source. All hooks must
be barbless.

THIRD RIVER FLOWAGE: See Winnibigoshish Lake page 45.

TORKELSON CREEK (Fillmore County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on the 2.1-mile posted section beginning where Torkelson
enters the North Branch Root River continuing upstream to the spring
source. All hooks must be barbless.
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% TROUT RUN CREEK (Fillmore County)

trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water on the entire stream from the confluence with the
Root River, North Branch to the source. Artificial lures and flies only.

TROUT RUN CREEK (Winona County—Whitewater State Park)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 1-mile posted section beginning at the mouth and
continuing upstream to the end of State Park property. All hooks must
be barbless.

TROUT VALLEY CREEK (Winona County)
brook trout: Minimum size limit 12". Possession limit 1. Artificial
lures and flies only.
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 1.25-mile posted section beginning at the uppermost
Winona County Road 31 bridge crossing and continuing downstream
to the next Winona County Road 31 bridge. All hooks must be barbless
during winter season.

VERMILION GORGE See Crane Lake on page 35.

WARROAD RIVER See Lake of the Woods on page 38.

WATSON SAG See Lac Qui Parle on page 38.

WEST INDIAN CREEK (Wabasha County)
trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water from the upstream Wabasha County Road 4
crossing to the source.

WHITEWATER RIVER, MAIN BRANCH (Winona County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 11.9-mile posted section beginning at the Wabasha-
Winona County line and continuing upstream to the confluence of the
Middle and North branches of the Whitewater River. All hooks must be
barbless.

WHITEWATER RIVER, MIDDLE BRANCH (Winona and Olmsted
Counties)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water on a 9.2-mile
posted section beginning at the posted boundary upstream of the group
camp in Whitewater State Park upstream to the source. Artificial lures
and flies only.
winter: Catch and release season for trout from Jan.1 through March
31 on a 11.2-mile posted section from the mouth upsteam to Olmsted
County Road 9 bridge crossing. All hooks must be barbless.

WHITEWATER RIVER, NORTH BRANCH (Wabasha, Olmsted and
Winona Counties)
trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water on a 12.1 mile posted section beginning at the
road crossing of Township Road 29 upstream to the road crossing of
County Road 4. Artificial lures and flies only.
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 7.7-mile posted section from the mouth upstream to the
confluence of Logan Creek. All hooks must be barbless during winter
season.
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WHITEWATER RIVER, SOUTH BRANCH (Winona County)
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on a 3.8-mile posted section from the mouth to 1 mile
upstream of the closed County Road 112 bridge crossing. All hooks
must be barbless.

WINTER ROAD RIVER See Lake of the Woods on page 38.

WISEL CREEK (Fillmore County)
trout: All from 12" through 16" in length must be immediately
returned to the water on the entire stream from the confluence with the
Root River, South Fork upstream to the source.
winter: Catch-and-release season for trout from January 1 through
March 31 on the 4.0-mile posted section beginning at County Road
18 bridge (Chickentown Bridge) and continuing downstream to the
junction with the South Fork of the Root River. All hooks must be
barbless during winter season.

ZUMBRO RIVER, NORTH FORK (Goodhue and Wabasha Counties)
trout: All must be immediately returned to the water on an 11.9 mile
posted section beginning at the confluence with the Zumbro River,
Main Branch upstream to the road crossing of Hwy 10.

ZUMBRO RIVER (Wabasha County)
smallmouth bass: All must be immediately returned to the water
along a 12-mile posted section from the Highway 63 bridge at Zumbro
Falls upstream to, and including, its plunge pool below Zumbro Lake
Dam.
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BORDER WATERS

When Minnesota’s fishing regulations differ from a bordering state’s
regulations, Minnesota residents and persons fishing under a Minnesota
non-resident license must comply with the Minnesota regulations and
may not exercise more liberal fishing privileges in the waters of the
bordering state. The exception is fish houses, which do not need to be
licensed if the bordering state does not require a license. Currently,
Wisconsin, Iowa, North and South Dakota do not require a fish house
license. So, please check other state regulation booklets and the
Experimental and Special Regulations section of this booklet (pages
32-54) for different regulations that might apply.

Unless otherwise noted, all general regulations relating to angling
methods, licensing, seasons, limits, possession and transportation of
fish, apply to border waters (see pages 17-27). While on or fishing these
waters, all fish must be within the specified length limits regardless of
where caught.

Licensing

Canada-Minnesota Border Waters: Anglers who have a Minnesota
resident or nonresident license may fish only the Minnesota portion of
Canada’s border waters.

Minnesota has a reciprocal agreement with each of its bordering
states: Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota, and North Dakota. Residents of
Minnesota or a bordering state may fish throughout the waters bordering
the two states only if they possess a valid resident license from their resi-
dent state. Lake Superior is not covered under this agreement (see page
30). Nonresident anglers who have a nonresident license from either
Minnesota or the bordering state may also fish throughout the border
waters between the two states. Anglers may launch and fish from either
shore and may transport their catch by the most direct route to the state
in which they are licensed. This includes children who are not required
to have a license.

Dates
All calendar dates refer to 2005 unless noted otherwise.

Canada-Minnesota

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the Minnesota
portions of the following waters:

Cook County: Clove Lake, Devil’s Elbow Lake, North Fowl
Lake, South Fowl Lake, Gneiss (Round) Lake, Granite Lake, Granite
River, Gunflint Lake, Little Gunflint Lake, Lily Lake, Magnetic Lake,
Maraboeuf Lake, Moose Lake, Mountain Lake, North Lake, Little
North Lake, Pigeon River, Pine River, Rat Lake, Rose Lake, Rove Lake,
Saganaga Lake, South Lake, and Watap Lake.

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us 55



2005 Minnesota Fishing Regulations

Koochiching and Lake of the Woods Counties: Rainy River.

Koochiching and St. Louis Counties: Rainy Lake (including Black Bay).

Lake County: Basswood Lake (except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist, and
Back Bays, which are considered inland waters), Basswood River, Birch
Lake, Carp Lake, Cypress Lake, Knife Lake (except South Arm), Little

Knife Lake, Knife River, Melon Lake, Seed Lake, Sucker Lake, and

Swamp Lake.

Lake and St. Louis Counties: Crooked Lake.

Lake of the Woods and Roseau Counties: Lake of the Woods.

St. Louis County: Bottle Lake, Iron Lake, Lac La Croix, Loon Lake,
Loon River to Loon River Falls, Namakan Lake, Sand Point Lake, and

Little Vermilion Lake.

Daily and possession limits are the same unless otherwise noted.

BORDER WATERS-CANADA-MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
WALLEYE May 15,2004- 6 (No size restriction.)
and SAUGER April 14,2005
(either or combined) May 14,2005—
April 14,2006
Exceptions: May 14,2005— 6 (Not more than 4 can be
Lake of the Woods Nov. 30, 2005 walleye; only one walleye over
28"; walleye 19.5" through 28.0
must be immediately released.)
Dec. |, 2004— 8 (Not more than 4 can be
April 14,2005 walleye; only one walleye over
Dec. |,2005- 28" walleye 19.5" through 28.0
April 14,2006 must be immediately released.)
Four Mile Bay May 14, 2005— 6 (Not more than 4 can be

(SE bay of Lake of the Woods) Nov. 30, 2005

Dec. |, 2004— 8 (Not more than 4 can be
Feb. 28,2005 walleye; only one walleye over
Dec. |,2005- 28" walleye 19.5" through 28.0
Feb. 28,2006 must be immediately released.)
March |1,2005— 2 (No walleye over 19.5".)
April 14,2005
March [,2006—
April 14,2006

Namakan, May 15,2004— 6 (Walleye less than 13" or

Sand Point, and April 14,2005 larger than 17" must be

Little Vermilion May 14,2005— immediately released; only one
April 14,2006 walleye over 23"))

walleye; only one walleye over
28"; walleye 19.5" through 28.0
must be immediately released.)
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BORDER WATERS-CANADA-MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON

Exceptions cont.:
Rainy Lake

May 15,2004—
April 14,2005
May 14,2005—
April 14,2006

March |-
April 14,2005
March |-
April 14,2006

May 14,2005—
Feb. 28,2006

Rainy River

Saganaga Lake May 15,2004—
April 14,2005
May 14, 2005—

April 14,2006

POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

8 (Not more than 4 can be
walleye; walleye from 17" to 28"
must be immediately released;
only one walleye over 28".)

2 (No walleye over 19.5".)

6 (Only one walleye over 28".)
Not more than four can be
walleye; walleye 19.5" —28.0"
must be immediately released.

6 (Only one walleye over 19.5")

Note: For the Rat Root River, Rat Root Lake, Sea Gull River, and Gull Lake the walleye statewide
inland season applies (page 23).Also see experimental regulations (pages 42,52, 37)

NORTHERN PIKE
Exceptions:

Lake of the Woods, the Rainy River

to the dam at International Falls and
the Warroad, Baudette, and Winter Road
Rivers (tributaries to Lake of the Woods)

Continuous

Basswood Lake Continuous
(Except Jackfish, Pipestone, Hoist, and

Back Bays which are considered inland
waters. See pages 23 and 33 for regulations,)

Rainy Lake Continuous

MUSKELLUNGE June 18-Nov. 30

LARGEMOUTH and
SMALLMOUTH BASS
(either or combined)

Continuous

LAKE STURGEON April 24-May 7 and

July 1-Sept. 30

May 8-May |5 and
October 1,2005—
April 23,2006

6

3 (Only | over 40"; including
all northern pike from 30"
through 40" must be
immediately released.)

6 (Only | over 36".) All
northern pike from 24"
through 36" must be
immediately released, on all
Minnesota waters of Basswood
Lake.

3 (Only | over 28".)
I (Minimum size 40".)

6

| per license year (Fish must
be 45-50 inches, inclusive, or
over 75 inches.) Immediately
upon reducing a fish to
possession, you must sign and
date your angling license.

Catch-and-release only.
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BORDER WATERS-CANADA-MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
CRAPPIE Continuous 10

LAKE TROUT May 14-Sept. 30 2

Winter, Lakes outside or Jan. 15,2005— 2

partly outside the March 15,2005

BWCAW (including all ~ and Jan. 14, 2006—
MN waters of Saganaga  March 15,2006
and Magnetic lakes)

Winter, Lakes within Jan. - 2
the BWCAW March 31,2005

STREAMTROUT April 30-Sept. 30 5 (Not more than 3 over 16".)

ALL OTHER SPECIES Continuous Inland limits apply

and Dec. 31, 2005—
March 31,2006

CANADA-MINNESOTA Regulations

One line per angler is allowed, except two lines may be used when
ice fishing.

Saganaga Narrows, Seagull River, Gull Lake and Cross River from
Cook County Road 12 to Gunflint Lake are closed to fishing April
1—May 27, 2005.

Saganaga Falls (Granite River mouth) and the channel between Little
Gunflint and Little North lakes are closed to fishing April 1 through
May 31, 2005.

Dressed (filleted) sauger are counted as walleye. See page 19 for
packing regs.

Dark houses, fish houses, and shelters see pages 70-71.

While in Minnesota, anglers may not possess more than a Minnesota
limit of fish from Canada-Minnesota border waters. Fish from Ca-
nadian inland waters may be possessed in Minnesota in excess of the
Minnesota limit only if the angler has proof—such as lodging receipts
or verification through U.S. Customs—that the fish were taken from
inland Canadian waters.

Fish with length limits may not be possessed as fillets on the water
while angling.

A person cannot possess or use a gaff while fishing on the Rainy
River.
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Border Waters—lowa—Minnesota

IOWA-MINNESOTA
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following
waters:
Jackson County: Little Spirit Lake.
Jackson and Nobles Counties: Iowa Lake.
Martin County: Okamanpeedan (Tuttle), lowa, and Swag Lakes.
Daily and possession limits are the same. Licensing—See page 55.

BORDER WATERS-/OWA-MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
WALLEYE April 30,2005- 6
Feb. 15,2006
NORTHERN PIKE April 30,2005- 3
Feb. 15,2006
LARGEMOUTH and April 30,2005- 6

SMALLMOUTH BASS Feb. |5,2006
(either or combined)

CATFISH April 30,2005— 8
Feb. 15,2006
SUNFISH* Continuous 30

(either or combined)
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orange-spotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)

CRAPPIE Continuous 15
PERCH Continuous 30
WHITE BASS Continuous 30
BULLHEAD Continuous No Limit
UNPROTECTED FISH Continuous No Limit

(Carp, Sucker, Redhorse, Sheepshead, Buffalo, Burbot, Dogfish, Gar, and Quillback)

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state
where taken.

IOWA-MINNESOTA Regulations

* Anglers may use up to two lines with two hooks per line.

¢ Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful.

* Spearing or archery may be used to take carp, buffalo, sheepshead,
dogfish, gar, or quillback from sunrise to sunset May 1, 2005 through
February 15, 2006.

* Spearing game fish is unlawful.

» Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 70-71.
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NORTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA

Seasons and regulations apply to the Bois de Sioux River and the
Red River of the North. Daily and possession limits are the same.
Licensing—See page 55.

BORDER WATERS-NORTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON  POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
WALLEYE and Continuous 3

SAUGER (either or combined)

NORTHERN PIKE Continuous 3

SUNFISH Continuous 30

PERCH Continuous 50

CRAPPIE Continuous 30
LARGEMOUTH Continuous 3

and SMALLMOUTH BASS
MUSKELLUNGE Continuous | (Minimum size 40".)
Seasons and limits for Rockbass, Bullheads, Catfish, Sturgeon and unprotected fish

are the same as South Dakota-Minnesota regulations on page 61.All species not
listed are covered by the inland regulations of the state where taken.

NORTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA Regulations

* Two lines are permitted, and two hooks are permitted on each line.

* Spearing from a fish house or a dark house is unlawful.

e It is unlawful to possess a spear or bow and arrow on or adjacent to
any water body where the spearing and archery season is closed.

* Rough fish, except burbot (eelpout), may be taken by spearing or
archery May 1 through December 31.

e It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession.

» Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 70-71.
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Border Waters—South Dakota—Minnesota

SOUTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA

The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following
waters:

Big Stone County: Big Stone Lake.

Lincoln County: Hendricks Lake.

Traverse County: Lake Traverse, Mud Lake, Bois de Sioux River
to North Dakota border, and Mustinka River from the mouth to the
Minnesota State Highway 117 bridge.

Daily and possession limits are the same. Licensing—See page 55.

BORDER WATERS-SOUTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
WALLEYE and SAUGER  April 30, 2005— 4 (only | walleye 20" or larger)
(either or combined) Feb. 28,2006
NORTHERN PIKE April 30,2005— 6

Feb. 28,2006
LARGEMOUTH and April 30, 2005— 6

SMALLMOUTH BASS Feb. 28,2006
(either or combined)*

CRAPPIE Continuous 10
SUNFISH* Continuous 10

(either or combined)
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orange spotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)

ROCK BASS Continuous 20

BULLHEAD Continuous 100

PERCH Continuous 25

CATFISH Continuous 5 (Only | over 24")
STURGEON No Open Season

UNPROTECTED FISH Continuous No Limit

(Carp, Sucker, Redhorse, Sheepshead [Freshwater Drum], Buffalo, Burbot,
Dogfish [Bowfin], Gar, White Bass)

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state
where taken.

SOUTH DAKOTA-MINNESOTA Regulations
* Anglers may use two lines with up to three hooks per line.
¢ Setlines, trotlines, or unattended lines are unlawful.
continued on page 62
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continued from page 61

62

Unprotected fish, except white bass, may be taken by spearing or
archery from sunrise to sunset from April 30 through November 30.
It is unlawful to possess a spear, spring gaff, or bow and arrow on or
adjacent to any body of water where the spearing and archery season
is closed.

Spearing from a fish house or dark house is unlawful.

Spearing game fish is unlawful.

Mud Lake in Traverse County is open to liberalized fishing (use

of snagging, spears, dip nets and legal minnow seines permitted;
maximum of 6 lines; possession limit is three times the normal
possession limit) December 1, 2005 through February 28, 2006.

The following waters in Traverse County are closed to fishing from
March 1 to April 29: Mud Lake within 500 feet downstream of
Reservation Dam at State Highway 117; and Bois de Sioux River
within 500 feet downstream of White Rock Dam at State

Highway 236.

It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession.

Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 70-71.

Tax time is your time to help wildlife

Look for the line with the loon on your Minnesota tax form and donate to the
Nongame Wildlife Checkoff. It's fast, easy, and tax deductible. Be part of a wildlife
success story.
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Border Waters—Wisconsin—Minnesota

Wisconsin-Minnesota
The seasons and regulations listed below apply to the following

waters:

Mississippi River (downstream of Prescott, Wisconsin and all waters
between the Burlington Northern [Wisconsin] and Chicago Milwaukee
[Minnesota] railroad tracks), Lake Pepin, St. Croix River, Lake St. Croix,
St. Louis River, St. Louis Bay, and Superior Bay.

Daily and possession limits are the same.

Licensing: See page 55.

BORDER WATERS-WISCONSIN-MINNESOTA

SPECIES

St. Louis River

St. Croix River

Mississippi River
and Lake Pepin

St. Louis River

St. Croix River
Upstream of Taylors
Falls Dam
Downstream of

U.S. Hwy. 10 Bridge

Mississippi River
and Lake Pepin

NORTHERN PIKE

St. Louis River

St. Croix River

Mississippi River
and Lake Pepin

Taylors Falls Dam to

OPEN SEASON

WALLEYE and SAUGER (either or combined)

May 14,2005—
March 1,2006

April 30,2005~
March 1, 2006

Continuous

LARGEMOUTH and SMALLMOUTH BASS (either or combined)

May 28, 2005—
March [, 2006

May 28—

Sept. | 1,2005
Sept. 12,2005—
March 1, 2006
May 28, 2005—
March [, 2006

Continuous

May 14,2005-
March 1, 2006

April 30,2005-
March 1, 2006

Continuous

POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)

2 (15" minimum size for walleye)
6 (15" minimum size for walleye)

6 (15" minimum size for walleye)

5 (14" minimum size)

5 (14" minimum size)

Catch and release only

5 (14" minimum size)

5 (14" minimum size)
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BORDER WATERS-WISCONSIN-MINNESOTA

SPECIES OPEN SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT (SIZE)
MUSKELLUNGE May 28, 2005— | (40" minimum size)
March |, 2006
PERCH Continuous 25
CHANNEL and
FLATHEAD CATFISH
(either or combined) Continuous 10
BULLHEAD Continuous No Limit
ROUGH FISH Continuous No Limit
WHITE BASS Continuous 25

and YELLOW BASS
(either or combined)

CRAPPIE Continuous 25
ROCK BASS Continuous 25
SUNFISH* Continuous 25%k

(either or combined)
*(bluegill, pumpkinseed, green, orange-spotted, longear, warmouth, and their hybrids)
**Except for Mississippi River Pools 5, 5A and 8: possession limit |0.

PADDLEFISH No Open Season

LAKE STURGEON  Closed (except as noted below)

Lake sturgeon may be harvested September 3 through October |6 on the

St. Croix River from Taylors Falls Dam downstream to the mouth at Prescott, Wisconsin. The
possession limit is one per season and the minimum size limit is 50" .The season is closed
on all other waters except those along the Ontario-Minnesota border. (see page 57.)

SHOVELNOSE Continuous 10 (No minimum size.)
STURGEON

Downstream from Red Wing Dam only.

All species not listed above are covered by the inland regulations of the state where taken.

WISCONSIN-MINNESOTA Regulations

* Two lines with a single lure or bait on each are permitted. If fishing
with one line you may use two baits.

* Fish hooked in any part of the body except the mouth must be
returned to the water immediately.

 Tip-ups must be within 400 feet of the angler.

* Rough fish may be taken by spearing, archery, and dip-netting during
daylight hours from April 30, 2005 through March 1, 2006. Dip net
hoops cannot exceed 24 inches in diameter.
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Border Waters—Wisconsin—Minnesota

Spearing game fish is prohibited. It is unlawful to have a spear on or
adjacent to any body of water where the spearing season is closed.
It is illegal to cull fish that have been reduced to possession.

No fishing allowed within 300 feet below Mississippi River Lock
and Dam 3 (near Red Wing) and Lock and Dam 4 (Alma, WI) from
March 1-April 30.

Dark house, fish house, and shelters see pages 70-71.

as: and wild rice

|.The area does not extend 2. Remove plants in an area
along more than 50 feet of larger than 2,500 square feet
your shoreline or one-half or wider than 50 feet.
the length of your frontage, 3. Use herbicides or algicides in
whichever is less; Minnesota lakes.

2.The total area is less than 4. Remove water lilies (other
2,500 square feet (except for than in a narrow channel
boat channels); and extending to open water).

3.The plants are immediately 5. Install or use an automated
and permanently disposed device such as the Crary

of on high ground where they WeedRoller.
can’t re-enter the water.

A person who illegally destroys plants can be cited and made to pay
for the restoration of those plants.
For more information, call your regional DNR office (pgs. 93-94)
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ROUGH FISH SPEARING, ARCHERY,

AND DIP NETS

Rough fish are defined as carp, buffalo, sucker, redhorse, freshwater
drum (sheepshead), bowfin (dogfish), burbot (eelpout), cisco (tullibee),
gar, mooneye, and bullhead. The regulations below apply to spearing
rough fish in state waters unless noted otherwise in this booklet.

SPEARING SEASON AND POSSESSION LIMIT

SPECIES SPEARING SEASON POSSESSION LIMIT
BULLHEAD From sunrise 100
to sunset,
SUCKER May 1,2005— 50
Feb. 19,2006
REDHORSE (See pg. 70 for 50
dark house
OTHER ROUGH spearing laws) No limit
FISH SPECIES

e A bow may be transported uncased and discharged while taking
rough fish in a boat powered by an electric motor. Crossbows may
not be used to take rough fish, except by disabled persons who have
a valid crossbow permit. Permit applications are available from any
DNR regional office by calling the DNR Information Center number
or through the DNR web site.

e Arrows must be attached to the bow with a tethered line.

* Licensed anglers and children under 16 may take rough fish by
spearing, harpooning, archery, and hand-held dip nets in all inland
waters, except where taking fish is prohibited. All rough fish, except
cisco (tullibee), may be bought and sold. Note: whitefish are not
considered a rough fish.

e Hand-held dip nets shall not have hoops exceeding 24 inches in
diameter. (For more on smelt, see page 30.)

e Rough fish may not be taken by spear, harpoon, archery, or dip net in
designated trout lakes or streams.

» Harpoons (spears) must have a tethered line not more than 20 feet
long, may be discharged only when the equipment and the operator
are entirely under the surface of the water, and may not be used
within 1,000 feet of a swimming beach.

e It is unlawful to possess at or near waters a spear, net, or any device
other than angling line that can take fish from February 21-April 30,
2005 and Feb. 20-April 30, 2006. The exception is landing nets used
for angling.

e Speared or dead rough fish may not be returned to the water or left on
the ice or banks of any lake or stream.
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ICE ANGLING

Shelters and Spearing
General Regulations

* Two lines may be used through the ice (other than on designated trout
lakes and streams).

* Anglers must remain within 200 feet of their tip-up.

» Using an artificial light to lure or attract fish, or to see fish when
spearing, is unlawful. Exception: While angling, a person may affix to
the end of a fishing line a lighted artificial bait with hooks attached.
Any battery that is used in lighted fishing lures cannot contain any
intentionally introduced mercury.

* Nonresidents may fish from a licensed fish house.

* Nonresidents may obtain a license for a fish shelter. However, the
shelter cannot remain on the ice when unattended.

* Northern pike, catfish, and whitefish may be taken by dark house
spearing through the ice from December 1, 2005 through February
19, 2006 except where prohibited.

* Residents age 16 through 64 must have a dark house spearing
license and an angling license. Residents age 65 years old and older
are exempt from the dark house spearing license, but must have an
angling license to spear.

* Party fishing does not apply while spearing.

* A person may not have a spear in a dark house or fish house while
taking fish by angling or with tip-ups.

* Nonresidents may not spear from a dark house.

Fish House or Dark House

The following regulations apply to fish houses, dark houses, and por-
table shelters used on all Minnesota waters, unless otherwise noted else-
where in this booklet.

* All shelters, which include dark houses, fish houses, and portable
shelters, placed on the ice of Minnesota waters must have the
complete name and address or driver’s license number or Minnesota
DNR number of the owner plainly and legibly displayed on the
outside in letters, and figures at least 2 inches in height. Dark houses,
fish houses, and portable shelters placed on the ice for shelter while
fishing must be licensed, except that a license is not required on
border waters with Wisconsin, Iowa, North and South Dakota. A
tag, furnished with the license, must be attached to the exterior in a
readily visible location.

» Dark houses, fish houses, and portable shelters must have a door that
can be opened from the outside at any time when in use.

 Fish houses left on the ice overnight need to have at least 2 square
inches of reflective material on each side of the house.
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Ice Angling

* Fish houses must comply with the identification requirements of the
state for which the angler is licensed.

* No person may erect a dark house, fish house, or shelter within
10 feet of an existing dark house, fish house, or shelter.

* Portable dark houses, fish houses, and shelters may be used
for fishing within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness
(BWCAW), but must be removed from the ice each night. The
structure must be removed from the BWCAW each time the occupant
leaves the BWCAW.

Shelter Removal Dates

Dark houses, fish houses, and shelters must be off the ice no later than
midnight for each of the dates given in the following categories below.
Fish houses or shelters on waters north of the line* may remain on the
ice between midnight and one hour before sunrise only when occupied
or attended.

Border Waters

Minnesota—lowa February 20
Minnesota—Wisconsin March 1
Minnesota—North and South Dakota
March 5

Minnesota—Canada March 31

For inland waters south of the line*

Inland waters
March 15

February 28
For inland waters north of the line*
March 15
*An east-west line formed e
by U.S. Highway 10, east along or last day in

February

Highway 34 to Minnesota Highway
200, east along Highway 200 to U.S.
Highway 2, and east along Highway 2
to the Minnesota-Wisconsin border.

If houses or shelters are not removed, owners will be prosecuted, and
the structure may be confiscated and removed, or destroyed by a conser-
vation officer. Contents of the structure may be seized and held for 60
days; if not claimed by the owner within that time, they become property
of the State of Minnesota.

Note: After the date when ice or fish houses or shelters must be
removed, portable shelters may be placed on the ice and used from one
hour before sunrise to midnight, but only if there is an open fishing sea-
son on the lake.

 Storing or leaving fish houses or dark houses on a public access is
prohibited.

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us 7|
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Spearing Prohibited

Winter spearing for northern pike is prohibited on the following

lakes:

Baby* (Cass County)

Bald Eagle (Anoka, Ramsey and
Washington Counties)

Beers* (Otter Tail County)

Big* (Beltrami County)

Big Mantrap* (Hubbard County)

Cass* (Beltrami and Cass
Counties)

Cross and its Snake River
Flowage* (Pine County)

Deer* (Itasca County)

Eagle (Hennepin County)

Forest (Hennepin County)

French* (Rice County)

Libbs (Hennepin County)

Lobster* (Douglas County)

Mille Lacs (Aitkin, Crow Wing
and Mille Lacs Counties)
Minnetonka (Hennepin and
Carver Counties)
Moose* (Itasca County)
North Star * (Itasca County)
Owasso (Ramsey County)
Peavey (Hennepin County)
Rebecca (Hennepin County)
Rush * (Chisago County)
Spider* (Itasca County)
Stieger (Carver County)
Sugar* (Wright County)
Tanager (Hennepin County)
Wabedo* (Cass County)
West Battle* (Otter Tail County)

*Denotes lakes where no spearing is allowed at any time.

returned to states based on their size and number of anglers. An
amendment in 1984 increased the revenue by also taxing boat
fuels.

Sport Fish Restoration funds are spent on hatcheries, habitat
improvements, boat ramps, fishing piers, research, education,
planning, and other important fisheries management work.
Minnesota gets roughly $8-$1 1 million per year from this program.
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ILLUSTRATED FISH OF MINNESOTA

Knowing what fish species you are catching is not only fun, but in
many cases it’s required by law. It is particularly important to know how
to distinguish walleye from sauger, to know the difference between north-
ern pike and muskellunge, and to be able to tell what species of trout or
salmon you catch.

Walleye and Sauger

No spots on dorsal fin
Dark area at base of dorsal fin

Walleye

White spot on
bottom of tail

Sauger Spots on dorsal fin
g £ No dark area at base of dorsal fin

No white spot on
bottom of tail

A walleye/sauger (saugeye) hybrid fillets are counted as part of a walleye possession limit during
transportation.

Large and Smallmouth bass

Largemouth

Back of mouth goes way
beyond back of eye

Smallmouth

Back of mouth goes
only to middle of eye
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Northern Pike and Muskellunge

Northern pike LIGHT markings on DARK background

Rounded
tail fins

Muskellunge:
Barred phase

Pointed
tail fins

Muskellunge:
Spotted phase

Pointed
tail fins

Tiger (hybrid) muskie
Northern pike crossed
with a muskellunge

DARK markings on LIGHT background
(as on muskie)

Rounded tail fins
(as on northern pike)

A No-Fail Way to Tell a
MUSKELLUNGE From a NORTHERN PIKE

/
=

6 or more pores on each 5 or fewer pores on each
side under jaw side under jaw
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Illustrated Fish of Minnesota

Trout and Salmon

Small black dots throughout
the body that extend into tail

Rainbow trout

Pinkish stripe on
silvery body

Brown trout

Large dark spots
and red dots on
brown body

Brook trout

To tell a brookie
from a splake
from a lake trout,
look at the tail:

White leading
edge on lower fins

White spots on grayish body /

Lake trout Brook
trout

Splake
White leading Lake
trout

edge on lower fins

Steelhead
(Rainbow Trout)
X Small spots
Inside mouth throughout tail
is white

Usually a pink stripe on .
silvery body 10 rays in anal fin

Chinook salmon

Inside mouth
is dark

Coho salmon

Inside mouth

is gray Spots in top half

N of tail only

13-15 rays in anal fin

Pink salmon

Spawning male
has hump on

R b §
back. e}é e — Some eye-sized

g , spots in tail and
? - on back
Green and white

blotches on spawning fish

Small scales
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Rainbow Trout-Salmon ldentification Guide

The shape of the anal fin is another way to identify

RAINBOW TROUT these species. This can easily be seen by depressing the

= white mouth

COHO SALMO m
CHINOOK SAREHSE

= greyish to blacR ey &=,
. anal fin front
edge

RAINBOW TROUT
Tail has many sma

RAINBOW TROUT Tip falls to or beyond end of base
spots in distinct rows. !
COHO SALMON ™~

‘ﬁ .
Tail has some large

spots mostly on the COHO SALMON Tip falls slightly past middle
upper h 3 i
]

CHINOOK SALMO
Tail has large spots

throughout, especially -
in the silver area at the CHINOO LMON Tip falls short of middle
base of the tail : 4 :
¥

Weigh Your Fish With a Ruler

Fish are sometimes damaged when weighed. With this chart, you
can quickly determine the approximate weight of your fish using a
ruler or tape measure.

CRAPPIE TROUT BASS WALLEYE NORTHERN

length weight length weight length weight length weight length weight
(inches) (Ibs.) (inches) (lbs.) (inches) (Ibs.) (inches) (Ibs.) (inches) (Ibs.)
8 03 8 02 12 1.0 14 1.0 24 32
9 04 9 03 13 13 15 1.2 25 3.6
10 06 10 04 14 1.7 16 1.5 26 4.0
I 08 I 06 15 2.1 17 1.8 27 46
12 Il 12 08 6 25 18 22 28 52
13 14 13 09 17 3.0 19 25 29 58
14 1.8 14 Il I8 3.6 20 3.0 30 64
15 22 15 1.4 19 42 21 35 31 7.1
6 27 16 1.6 20 5.0 22 4.1 32 78
17 33 17 1.8 21 57 23 47 33 86
18 23 22 6.6 24 54 34 94
SUNFISH 23 7.6 25 6.1 35 103
length weight 26 6.9 36 11.2
(inches) (Ibs.) 27 78 37 122
8 04 28 88 38 133
9 06 29 98 39 144
1608 40 156
el 41 168
12 1.5 Note: These figures are rough 42 18.1
13 1.9 estimates only. Actual weights
14 24 vary slightly by lake and stream.
15 3.0
16 37
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INVASIVE SPECIES

Nonnative invasive species pose a threat to Minnesota waters,
native plants and animals, and water-based recreation, including
fishing. Currently, these invasives and fish diseases mentioned below
have been found in Minnesota forests, lakes, and rivers. They could
easily spread—and new species could enter from other states—if
citizens who use state waters don’t take the necessary steps to prevent
the spread of invasive species.

% Invasive Species Laws=Prohibitions and Restrictions
Transportation, Launching, and Bait Harvest
It is unlawful to:
e transport aquatic plants, ruffe, round goby, zebra mussels, or other
prohibited invasive species (see list page 79) on public roads;
* transport infested water (including in livewells and bait containers)
from infested waters;

ROUND GOBY

This small bottom-dwell-
ing fish from Europe

can displace native
bottom-dwelling fish

and is a nuisance for
anglers. It poses a threat
to fisheries in the Great

BIGHEAD CARP One
of these large Asian
fish was caught in the
Mississippi River south
of Red Wing during
2003. It eats plankton,
thereby reducing food
available for native fish

EURASIAN
WATERMILFOIL

In shallow waters,

this aquatic plant can
interfere with water
recreation, and its
floating surface mats can
crowd out important

and wildlife. Report and
bring bighead carp to the
DNR if caught or found.

Identification: Eye
located at lower part of
head below the mouth;
adults weigh up to 60
pounds.

native plants. Fragments
clinging to boats and
trailers can spread the
prolific plant from one
water body to another.

Identification: 12 to 21
leaflet pairs per leaf

Lakes, where it has
already entered, and in
inland fisheries.

Identification: Single
scallop-shaped pelvic fin,
fish is usually 3"-6" long

FISH DISEASES Diseases, such as largemouth bass virus and heterosporis, can
harm game fish populations. These diseases can be moved from one lake to
another in the water. Help prevent the spread or introduction of these diseases
by draining water from livewells, bilges, and bait containers before transporting

boats and equipment.
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Invasive Species

* transport live crayfish to other waters or to use them as bait in waters
other than where they were taken;

* launch a watercraft with aquatic plants, zebra
mussels, or prohibited invasive species attached;

* harvest minnows, frogs, or any other wild

animals from infested waters* for bait, except
for personal use from waters that are designated
as infested waters solely because they contain
Eurasian watermilfoil, and for commercial use

by permit.

* Bait may only be harvested from those infested

waters for personal use with a cylindrical
minnow trap not exceeding 16 inches in
diameter and 32 inches in length and the bait
may only be used in that waterbody.

e transport live fish using water from infested waters*.

*Infested waters are listed on pages 80-81.

RUFFE This small perch-
like fish, native to Europe,
is very abundant in the
Duluth harbor. It dis-
places some native fish
species and is a nuisance
for anglers. Ruffe can be
accidentally transport-

ed in bait buckets and
livewells.

Identification: Spots
between rays of dorsal fin,
no gap between fins

Spots
No gap

SPINY WATER FLEA These tiny (less than 3/8") animals,
abundant in Lake Superior, can be a nuisance to anglers.

ZEBRA MUSSEL

This small (14" to 11/2")
mussel from Asia dis-
places native mussels,
disrupts lake ecosystems,
and clogs industrial equip-
ment. Zebra mussels
attach to boats, aquatic
plants, and objects placed
in the water.The tiny
larvae can be accidentally
transported in livewells
and bait buckets.

Identification: Only
freshwater mollusk
that attaches

to objects
with
byssal
threads

Identification: Forms gelatinous globs where lines and
downrigger wires connect to swivels, lures, or downrigger weights)

Prohibited
Invasive Animals
found in Minnesota
waters: grass carp,
round goby, ruffe,
zebra mussels, sea
lamprey, white perch,
bighead carp.
Prohibited
Invasive Fish not
known to be in
Minnesota waters:
black carp, rudd,
silver carp, zander.

EARTHWORMS
Earthworms in
Minnesota have been
introduced from Europe.
They are harmful to
forests because they eat
the leaf litter and change
the soil, resulting in the
elimination of seedlings,
ferns, wildflowers, and
ground-dwelling animals.
Help save the forests by
disposing of unwanted
bait in the trash.
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MINNESOTA WATERS INFESTED with:
Eurasian Watermilfoil

County
Aitkin
Anoka

% Blue Earth

Carver

% Cass

Chisago
Crow Wing

Dakota

Hennepin

Isanti
Itasca
Kanabec
Kandiyohi
LeSueur
Meeker
Mille Lacs

Morrison
Olmsted
Pine

Rice

St. Louis
Scott
Sherburne
Stearns

Water body

Mille Lacs

Cenaiko, Centerville, Coon, Crooked, George, Otter,
Peltier, Unnamed (in Springbrook Nature Center)

Lura

Ann, Auburn, Bavaria, Burandt, Eagle, Fireman’s Lotus,
Minnewashta, Parley, Pierson, Riley, Schutz, Stieger,
Stone, Susan, Virginia, Waconia, Wasserman, Zumbra
Leech

Ellen, Green, Rush

Bay, Ossawinnamakee, Ruth, Ripple River, between Bay
Lake and Tame Fish Lake

Crystal, Lac Lavon, Marion, Schultz, Sunset, Twin
Lakes, Douglas, Oscar

Arrowhead, Bass, Brownie, Bryant, Bush, Calhoun,
Cedar, Christmas, Dutch, Eagle, Fish, Forest, Galpin,
Gleason, Harriet, Hiawatha, Independence, Lake of the
Isles, Libbs, Little Long, Long, Medicine, Minnehaha
Cr., Minnetonka, Mitchell, Niccum’s Pond, Nokomis,
Parker’s, Peavy, Rebecca, Rice, Riley, Round, Sarah,
Schmidt, Swan, Tanager, Whaletail, Wirth, Wolf

Green

Ice, McKinney, North Twin

Knife

Green, Norway

East Jefferson, German

Ripley, Stella, Washington

Mille Lacs from the mouths of the tributaries of Mille
Lacs to the first public road

Alexander

George

Cross, unnamed gravel pit, Snake River between
Pokegama and Cross Lakes, Sand

Gilchrist, Minnewaska

Bald Eagle, Beaver, Gervais, Island, Keller, Kohlmans,
Loeb, McCarron, Owasso, Phalen, Round, Silver, Snail,
Spoon Creek, Sucker, Turtle, Vadnais, Wabasso, White
Bear, Unnamed

Cedar

Gilbert Pit, Horseshoe

O’Dowd, Lower and Upper Prior, Thole

Little Elk

Sauk, wetland along Clearwater River

Little Birch, Sauk

Big Marine, Powers, White Bear, St. Croix R., Sunset
Augusta, Beebe, Buffalo, Clearwater, Clearwater River
(downstream of Clearwater Lake), Deer, Fish, French,
Goose, Howard, Indian, Little Waverly, Mary, Mink,
Pulaski, Ramsey, Rock, Sugar, Waverly, Weigand
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Invasive Species

Multiple Mississippi River (downstream of St. Anthony Falls)
Round Goby, Ruffe, and White Perch
County Water body
Multiple Lake Superior, St. Louis River (downstream of the Fond
du Lac dam)
Spiny Water Flea
County Water body
Cook Saganaga, Flour, Greenwood, McFarland, Pine
St. Louis Fish Lake, Island Lake
Multiple Lake Superior, Cloquet River (from Island Lake to the
St. Louis River), and St. Louis River (downstream of the
Cloquet River)
Zebra Mussels
County Water body
Crow Wing Pelican Brook, Lake Ossawinnamakee
Olmsted Zumbro
Multiple Lake Superior
Mississippi River (downstream of St. Anthony Falls)
St. Croix River (downstream of the St. Croix Boomsite
Recreation Area — also river mile 25.4)
St. Louis River (downstream of the Fond du Lac dam)
Zumbro River (downstream of Lake Zumbro)

Live Transom
Anchor Well Well
Rollers Axle Lower Unit/
Propeller

STOP AQUATIC HITCHHIKERS!

Remove visible plants and animals from your boat,
trailer, and other boating equipment before leaving the
water access (see diagram).

Drain water from your boat, motor, livewell, and bait containers
before leaving the water access.

Dispose of unwanted bait in the trash. Never release live bait into
a water body, or release aquatic animals from one water body into
another.

Spray, rinse, or dry boats and recreational equipment that
normally gets wet to kill invasive animal species that were not visible
when leaving a water body. Before transporting to another water body,
spray/rinse with high pressure and/or hot tap water (above 104°F or
40°C) especially if moved for more than a day or dry at least five days.

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us 8l
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OTHER AQUATIC SPECIES

The following regulations apply to the taking and possession of
mussels (clams), crayfish, frogs, minnows, leeches, and turtles for
personal or commercial use.

Wild animals may not be taken from infested waters, except for bait
for personal use from waters that are designated as infested waters solely
because they contain Eurasian watermilfoil, and for commercial use by
permit.

Mussels (Clams)
* 25 of Minnesota’s 48 spe01es of mussels are protected under the
state’s endangered species law. Whole mussels or parts, including
shells, of protected species may not be taken or possessed except
with a DNR permit. Do not disturb mussels unless you are able to
distinguish between protected and other mussel species.

» Except as noted above, any person permitted by law to take fish may
take and possess up to 24 whole or 48 shell halves of dead mussels
(clams) if the harvesting is done by hand. No live mussels or clams
may be harvested or sold.

* The open season for mussel (clam) shell harvest is May 16, 2005
through February 28, 2006.

* The commercial harvest of mussels requires a permit.

* It is illegal to take any live mussel or empty mussel shell from the
St. Croix River, which is a unit of the National Park Service.

e Zebra mussels are illegal to possess.

Crayfish

* Licensed anglers and children under 16 may take and possess up to
25 pounds of crayfish for personal use.

* The crayfish season is April 1 through November 30.

* Crayfish cannot be sold as bait.

» Importing live crayfish or eggs is prohibited except with a DNR
permit.*

 Crayfish may be used as bait in the body of water where they are
captured.

* Crayfish cannot be transferred from one body of water to another
except with a DNR permit*.

* The commercial harvest of crayfish requires a DNR permit*.

* A permit is needed to sell crayfish for aquarium use.

Frogs

* Licensed anglers and children under age 16 may take, use, buy, and
sell an unlimited number of frogs for bait only from May 16, 2005
to March 31, 2006. The overall maximum length (with legs
outstretched) of frogs shall not exceed 6 inches.

* Permit applications are available from the DNR, 500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155.
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Other Aquatic Species

* A frogging license is required to take frogs for purposes other than
bait.

Minnows and Leeches

* Licensed anglers may take minnows or leeches for their own use
with dip nets, traps, or seines. However, seines may not be over 25
feet long or more than 148 meshes deep with 1/4-inch bar measure,
or more than 197 meshes deep with 3/16-inch bar measure. For traps,
width and length may not exceed 30 inches, height may not exceed
15 inches, the diameter or width of the opening may not exceed 112
inches, and mesh size may not exceed 1/2 inch bar measure. Traps
must have a waterproof tag bearing the name and address of the
owner. See page 79 for regulations on minnow traps used in infested
waters.

e Minnows or leeches may not be taken from designated trout waters
except with a DNR permit.

* Unwanted minnows and leeches cannot be dumped in the water.

* DNR commercial licenses are required in order to sell minnows or
leeches, either wholesale or retail, or to possess more than 24 dozen
minnows or leeches.

* Only licensed minnow exporters may export minnows and leeches.

e Minnows and leeches taken from infested waters (see pages 80-81)
may only be used for fishing at the body of water where taken.

e It is illegal to bring live minnows and leeches into Minnesota without
a permit and to use imported live minnows and leeches for bait in
Minnesota waters.

» All streams and associated tributaries and connected waters of the
Missouri River watershed in Lincoln, Pipestone, Murray, Rock, or
Nobles counties that lie south of U.S. Highway 14 to the Iowa border
and west of U.S. Highway 59 to South Dakota are closed to minnow
harvest.

Turtles

* Resident anglers, children under 16, and recreational turtle licensees
may take, possess, and transport turtles for personal use. Western
painted, snapping, and spiny softshell turtles are the only harvestable
species.

 Turtles may not be sold or bought for resale without a turtle license.
Retail customers do not need a license. Residents under age 18 may
take, possess, rent, or sell up to 25 turtles for use in a non-profit turtle
race.

* Turtles may be taken by angling, bow and arrow, spearing, turtle
hooks, and hand under an angling license.

* The snapping turtle possession limit is 3. Minimum size limit is 12"
in shell length. Snapping turtles may not be taken during May and
June.

* Blanding’s turtles and wood turtles are threatened species and may
not be taken or possessed except with a DNR permit.
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84

Recreational turtle license allows the use of three turtle traps. Traps
may not exceed 5'x4'x8" and must have a tag.

Spiny softshell minimum size limit is 12" in shell length. Spiny
softshells may not be taken June 1-July 15.

A person may not collect turtle eggs from natural nests, except under
a permit.

Western painted turtle maximum size limit is 5.5" in shell length,
except that those used in turtle races may be of any length greater
than 4".
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OTHER INFORMATION

Boat and Water Safety

For a complete summary of the boating regulations, contact the
DNR Information Center for a copy of the Minnesota Boating Guide,
or find it on the DNR web site at www.dnr.state.mn.us under Boat and
Water Safety. For rules pertaining to the use of motorboats within Wild-
life Management Areas, refer to the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping
Regulations Handbook or call DNR Information Center.

* All watercraft, including canoes, must be registered (licensed) in
Minnesota or the state of residence, even if that state does not require
canoe registration.

o All watercraft, regardless of length, need to carry and have readily
accessible one U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) approved wearable (Type
L 1L, III or V) life preserver (PFD) for each person on board. In
addition, boats 16 feet or longer (except canoes and kayaks) must
carry at least one USCG approved Type IV throwable device (seat
cushion or ring buoy) for the boat. It must be immediately available.

» Navigation lights are required from sunset to sunrise. (Remember to
keep your white stern (back) light turned on while still fishing or at
anchor. This light must be visible for 360 degrees around the boat and
may not be blocked from view).

* USCG approved fire extinguishers are required on boats with
enclosed fuel or engine compartments.

* Persons 12-17 years of age are required to have a DNR watercraft
operator’s permit to operate a boat of more than 25 horsepower,
unless someone at least 21 is on board in reach of the controls.

% * Boating accidents must be reported to the county sheriff if there is an
injury, death or damage of $2,000 or more.

Boating Safety Tips
* Boating while intoxicated is not only illegal, it’s dangerous. About
half of all fatal boating accidents are alcohol-related.
* Most boating deaths occur when a person falls out of or capsizes a
small boat.
* Wear your life jacket: It's the most important thing you can do to
increase your survival time in cold water.
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Aquatic Management Areas

DNR Fish and Wildlife acquires land along lakes and streams to pro-

vide fishing opportunities and to protect critical fish habitat. These areas,
known as Aquatic Management Areas (AMAs), are posted with signs to

indicate allowable uses. Each sign is marked with a letter to easily iden-

tify permitted activities:

G General Use AMAs: Permitted activities include angling, non-

motorized travel, wildlife observation, hunting, and trapping.

R Restricted Use AMAs: Permitted uses include angling,

nonmotorized travel, and wildlife observation.

E Easement AMAs: Only angling is allowed unless otherwise

86

indicated.

The following uses are prohibited except where specifically designated:
No motorized vehicles.

No campfires or overnight camping or parking of vehicle, trailer,

or boat.

No destruction, disturbance, or removal of plants, trees, other
vegetative material, signs, posts, fences, gates, buildings, or other
property (except that edible fruits, seeds and mushrooms may be
removed for personal use).

No target, trap, skeet, or indiscriminate shooting.

No construction of a building, dock, fence, billboard, sign, or other
structure (except that portable stands are permitted if they are
removed after legal shooting hours).

No livestock, horses, or other domestic animals (except dogs
controlled by the owner).

No disposal of garbage, trash, spoil, sludge, rocks, vehicles, carcasses,
or other debris.

DNR Information: (651) 296-6157 or (888) 646-6367
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Catch-and-Release

Improved fishing technology and increasing fishing pressure have

caused fishing quality to decline in many waters. Catch-and-release
fishing offers anglers a way to enjoy their sport with less harm to the
resource. Each year, more anglers discover the satisfaction of watching a
fish they’ve caught swim away. However, catch-and-release fishing can
result in some delayed mortality depending on environmental conditions,
location of puncture, and handling. So, when the fish are really biting, it
is a good idea to practice some restraint in how many fish you catch-and-
release. Here are some tips for proper catch-and-release:

Don’t plan to release fish that have been on a stringer or in a livewell.
They have less chance of surviving. Make the decision to release a
fish when it's caught.

Play and land the fish quickly. A prolonged struggle places too much
stress on a fish.

Don’t angle for fish in very deep water, unless you plan to keep what
you catch. Fish pulled from cool deep water through warmer surface
water can be too stressed for survival.

Handle the fish gently and keep it in the water as much as possible. If
possible, unhook the fish without placing it in a net or lifting it from
the water. Fish placed in nets or on a boat floor can suffer damage to
scales and eyes.

When lifting fish for a photograph or just to admire it, hold it
horizontal, supporting the weight with both hands. Do not hold the
fish by the eye sockets or gills, but rather by the lower lip or under
the gill plate and also support the belly of the fish. You can damage
the internal organs of fish, especially larger ones, by lifting them from
the water.

Wet your hands before touching a fish to help prevent removal of
their protective slime coating.

If a hook is deeply imbedded, do not tear the hook out, but try to
remove it carefully with a pointed pliers or hook/barb cutting tool.

If the hook is too deep, cut the line so that at least an inch hangs out
of the mouth. This helps the hook to lay flush when the fish takes in
food.

Circle hooks may help in eliminating deeply hooked fish. They are
made to hook fish in the mouth.

A fish that can be legally kept should not be released if it is bleeding
heavily, which indicates its chance of survival is poor.

You cannot practice catch-and-release for a species during its closed
season.

continued on next page
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¢ In streams, release fish into calm water. Hold the fish until it swims
free from your hand. A tired fish placed in fast water can die by
tumbling downstream into rocks.

* Gently slide the fish, never toss it, back into the water.

Managing Minnesota’s Fisheries

The DNR Division of Fish and Wildlife is responsible for manag-
ing the state’s diverse fisheries resources. Each year, roughly 2 million
people fish in Minnesota, and sport fishing generates approximately $1.9
billion in direct expenditures, making angling one of the state’s largest
industries.

The Resource

* Minnesota has 11,482 lakes 10 acres or larger, of which about 5,400
are fishing lakes. Excluding Lake Superior, the state has 3.8 million
acres of fishing water. Minnesota’s portion of Lake Superior is
1.4 million acres.

e There are 15,000 miles of fishable streams in Minnesota, including
2,600 miles of trout streams.

* Much of Minnesota’s fisheries program is reimbursed by the Federal
Aid in Sport Fish Restoration Program (federal excise tax), adminis-
tered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Management

* Surveys: Fisheries personnel conduct lake, stream, and creel surveys
to produce management plans for hundreds of lakes and streams
each year. This information is used to protect and improve the state’s
fisheries resource.

* Research: Fisheries research is conducted to find new and more
efficient ways to manage fisheries.

 Trout habitat: Ongoing habitat improvement and maintenance work
is conducted on trout streams that have publicly owned land or
easements.

» Fish tagging: As part of research projects, DNR biologists sometimes
place small tags in fish. If you catch a tagged fish, please report the
date, location, species, and size of the fish you caught, as well as the
tag number, to the nearest DNR Fisheries office (see pg. 93-94).

» Liberalized fishing: In late winter, some shallow lakes suffer
winterkill. This means the snow and ice were so thick that plants
didn’t get enough sunlight and have died, using up oxygen needed by
fish when they decompose. When the DNR knows a lake will fully
winterkill, it allows temporary liberalized fishing for licensed resident
anglers, which means there are no limits and fewer equipment
restrictions on this water. Records of the lake and dates need to be
kept with the fish. This is intended to prevent unnecessary waste of
fish. (See DNR web site for more information. Check access sites for
rules.)
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* Lake rehabilitation: These projects reclaim waters suffering from
habitat degradation and overpopulation of some fish species.

» Spawning habitat improvements: This can enhance naturally
reproducing populations of species such as walleye and northerns.

» Stocking: DNR fisheries personnel stock game fish fry and fingerlings
in lakes lacking habitat for natural reproduction.

 Fishing piers: These are installed on lakes to provide opportunities for
shore fishing.

* Habitat acquisition: The DNR buys lands next to lakes and streams
to protect spawning areas and shoreline vegetation, and it increases
access to fishing waters.

* Education: Each year, the MinnAqua program teaches beginning
anglers, primarily inner city youth, about fishing and aquatic biology.

* Fisheries personnel also monitor and regulate aquaculture, fishing
tournaments, commercial fishing operations, aquatic plant manage-
ment, and aeration.

Master Angler Program

Anglers can qualify to become a Minnesota Master Angler. This pro-
gram, cosponsored by G. Loomis Rods, the Minnesota DNR, and the
Minnesota Fishing Hall of Fame, recognizes anglers who catch large
fish of various species. Categories include adult, youth, and catch-and-
release. Awards for more than 50 fish species include: a pin, a certificate,
and a place on the state Master Angler honor role.

For more information on becoming a Master Angler, visit the web site
at: www.minnesotafishinghalloffame.com.
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State Record Fish

Catching a big fish, no matter what the species, is always
a thrill, and it usually requires exceptional fishing skill. To
recognize the achievements of anglers who catch the biggest
fish in each species, the DNR annually presents an award of
recognition to any angler who breaks a state record.

If you catch a fish that you think could be a record, follow
these steps:

* Weigh the fish on a state-certified scale (found at most
bait shops and butcher shops), witnessed by two observ-
ers.

* Take the fish to a DNR fisheries office for positive iden-
tification and a state record fish application.

* Complete the application and send it along with
a clear, full-length photo of your fish to the
address listed on the form.

The following is a complete list of
Minnesota’s state record fish and where they
were caught. Weights given are in pounds and
ounces (example: 55-5 is 55 pounds, 5 ounces). Counties are
in parentheses.

Bass, Largemouth: 8-13, Tetonka Lake (LeSueur).

Bass, Rock: 2-0, Osakis Lake (Todd); and 2-0, Lake

Winnibigoshish (Cass).

Bass, Smallmouth: 8-0, West Battle Lake (Otter Tail).

Bass, White: 4-2.4, Mississippi River Pool 5 (Wabasha).

Bluegill: 2—13, Alice Lake (Hubbard).

Bowfin: 10-15, Mary Lake (Douglas); and 10-15, ,

French Lake (Rice).

Buffalo, Bigmouth: 41-11, Mississippi River (Goodhue).

Buffalo, Black: 20-0, Minnesota River (Nicollet).

Buffalo, Smallmouth: 20-0, Big Sandy (Aitkin).

Bullhead, Black: 3—13, Reno Lake (Pope).

Bullhead, Brown: 7-1, Shallow Lake (Itasca). I'
Bullhead, Yellow: 3-10, Osakis Lake (Todd).

Burbot: 19-3, Lake of the Woods (Lake of the Woods).
Carp: 55-5, Clearwater Lake (Wright).

Carpsucker, River: 3—-15, Mississippi River (Ramsey).
Catfish, Channel: 38-0, Mississippi River (Hennepin).
Catfish, Flathead: 70-0, St. Croix River (Washington).
Crappie, Black: 5-0, Vermillion River (Dakota).
Crappie, White: 3—15, Lake Constance (Wright).
Drum, Freshwater: 35-3, Mississippi River (Winona).
Eel, American: 6-9, St. Croix River (Washington).
Gar, Longnose: 16—12, St. Croix River (Washington).
Gar, Shortnose: 4-10, Mississippi River (Hennepin).
Goldeye: 2-13, Root River (Houston).
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Hogsucker, Northern: 1-15, Sunrise River (Chisago).
Mooneye: 1-15, Minnesota River (Redwood).
Muskellunge: 54-0, Lake Winnibigoshish (Itasca).
Muskellunge, Tiger: 34-12, Lake Elmo (Washington).
Perch, Yellow: 3—4, Lake Plantaganette (Hubbard).
Pike, Northern: 45-12, Basswood Lake (Lake).
Pumpkinseed: 1-6, Leech Lake (Cass).

Quillback: 6-14, Mississippi River (Ramsey).

Redhorse, Golden: 3-14, Bigfork River (Koochiching).
Redhorse, Greater: 11-13, Upper South Long Lake

(Crow Wing).

Redhorse, River: 11-5, St. Croix River (Chisago).
Redhorse, Shorthead: 7-15, Rum River (Anoka).
Redhorse, Silver: 9-15, Bigfork River (Koochiching).
Salmon, Atlantic: 12-13, Baptism River (Lake).

o Salmon, Chinook: 334, Poplar River (Cook); and
W 33-4, Lake Superior (St. Louis).
W0 Salmon, Coho: 10-7, Lake Superior (Lake).

\‘ Salmon, Kokanee: 2—15, Caribou Lake (Itasca).
‘ Salmon, Pink: 4-8, Cascade River (Cook).
~ Sauger: 6-3, Mississippi River (Goodhue).
* Splake: 13-6, Larson Lake (Itasca).
= Sturgeon, Lake: 94-4, Kettle River (Pine).
Sturgeon, Shovelnose: 5-5, Mississippi River
(Goodhue).
N Sucker, Blue: 14-3, Mississippi River
(Wabasha).
Sucker, Longnose: 3-2, Rainy River
\ (Koochiching).
Sucker, White: 9-1, Big Fish Lake (Stearns).
Sunfish, Green: 1-3, Scheuble Lake (Carver).
Sunfish, Hybrid: 1-12, Zumbro River
(Olmsted).
Louis).

Trout, Brook: 6-5, Pigeon River (Cook).
Trout, Brown: 16-12, Lake Superior (St.

Trout, Lake: 43-8, Lake Superior (Cook).
Trout, Rainbow (Steelhead): 16-6, Devil Track
River (Cook).
Trout, Tiger: 2-9, Mill Creek (Olmsted).
Tullibee (Cisco): 5-12, Little Long (St. Louis).
Walleye: 17-8, Seagull River (Cook).

Walleye-Sauger Hybrid: 913, Mississippi River
(Goodhue).
Whitefish, Lake: 12-5, Leech Lake (Cass).
Whitefish, Menominee: 2-8, Lake Superior (Cook).
| \
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Addresses and Telephone numbers

Licenses

DNR License Center

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4026
Watercraft Registration:

(800) 285-2000

Phone License Sales:

(888) 665-4236

Internet Sales: www.dnr.state.
mn.us

General Information/
Licensing/ Public Access Maps
DNR Information Center

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4040

(651) 296-6157 or

(888) 646-6367
Telecommunications for the Deaf
(651) 296-5484 or

(800) 657-3929TDD

Reporting Fish and Game
Violations

Turn In Poachers (TIP) has

a statewide, 24-hour toll-free
hotline. Callers may remain anon-
ymous.

(800) 652-9093

Lake Maps

Minnesota Bookstore

660 Olive Street

St. Paul, MN 55155

(651) 297-3000 or

(800) 657-3757
www.minnesotasbookstore.com

Lake Survey Reports and
Fisheries Brochures
DNR Fish and Wildlife

500 Lafayette Road

St. Paul, MN 55155-4020
(651) 296-3325

DNR Web Site (Including
Lake Survey Reports)
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us

Boundary Waters Canoe Area
Wilderness

Note: Permits and reservations
are not under DNR jurisdiction.
This is a national forest
wilderness area. For information,
contact:

Superior National Forest

8901 Grand Avenue Place
Duluth, MN 55808

Information (218) 626-4300
Reservations (877) 550-6777
www.bwcaw.org

Information on and Reporting
Harmful Exotic Species

(651) 296-2835 or

(888) 646-6367

Minnesota Office of Tourism
100 Metro Square,

121 7th Place E.

St. Paul, MN 55101

(651) 296-5029 or
1-800-657-3700
www.exploreMinnesota.com
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DNR FISHERIES OFFICES (651) 296-5484 or (800) 657-3929 TDD

] Fisheries Area

NORTHWEST REGION
2115 Birchmont

Beach Road N.E.

Bemidji, MN 56601

(218) 755-3959

Baudette Area Office
204 Main Street E.
Baudette, MN 56623
(218) 634-2522

Bemidji Area Office
2114 Bemidji Avenue
Bemidji, MN 56601
(218) 755-2974

Detroit Lakes Area Office
14583 Cnty. Hwy.19
Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
(218) 847-1579

Fergus Falls Area Office
1509 - 1st Avenue North
Fergus Falls, MN 56537
(218) 739-7576

Glenwood Area Office
23070 N. Lakeshore Drive
Glenwood, MN 56334
(320) 634-4573

[ DNR Administrative Regions
Boundanes

Park Rapids Area Office
301 S. Grove Avenue
Park Rapids, MN 56470
(218) 732-4153

Walker Area Office
07316 State 371 NW
Walker, MN 56484
(218) 547-1683

NORTHEAST REGION
1201 East Highway 2
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
(218) 327-4414

Aitkin Area Office
1200 Minnesota Ave. S.
Aitkin, MN 56431-7402
(218) 927-3751

Brainerd Area Office
1601 Minnesota Drive
Brainerd, MN 56401
(218) 828-2550

(218) 828-2735

Duluth and Lake
Superior Area Office
5351 North Shore Drive
Duluth, MN 55804
(218) 525-0853

Finland Area Office
P.O. Box 546
Finland, MN 55603
(218) 353-7591

Grand Marais Area Office
1356 Hwy. 61 E.

Grand Marais, MN 55604
(218) 387-3056

DNR Web site: www.dnr.state.mn.us
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Grand Rapids

Area Office

1201 E. Highway 2
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
(218) 327-4430

International Falls
Area Office

392 E. Hwy. 11

Intl. Falls, MN 56649
(218) 286-5220

Tower Area Office

650 Highway 169
Tower, MN 55790-8304
(218) 753-2580 Ex. 221

CENTRAL REGION
1200 Warner Road

St. Paul, MN 55106
(651) 772-7950

Hinckley Area Office
P.O. Box 398

306 Power Ave. No.
Hinckley, MN 55037
(320) 384-7721

Little Falls Area Office
16543 Haven Road
Little Falls, MN 56345
(320) 616-2450

Metro East

1200 Warner Road
St. Paul, MN 55106
(651) 772-7950

Metro West

9925 Valley View Road
Eden Prairie, MN
55344-3526

(952) 826-6771

Montrose Area Office
7372 State Hwy. 25 S.W.
Montrose, MN 55363
(763) 675-3301

SOUTH REGION

261 Hwy. 15 S.

New Ulm, MN 56073-8915
(507) 359-6000

Hutchinson Area Office
20596 Hwy. 7
Hutchinson, MN 55350
(320) 234-2550

Lake City Area Office
1801 South Oak St.
Lake City, MN 55041
1-(651) 345-3365

Lanesboro Area Office
Route 2, Box 8450
Lanesboro, MN 55949
(507) 467-2442

Ortonville Area Office
811 Pine St.

Ortonville, MN 56278
(320) 839-2656

Rochester Office

2300 Silver Creek Rd. N.E.
Rochester, MN 55906
(507) 285-7427

Spicer Area Office
P.O. Box 457,
10590 Co. Rd. 8 NE
Spicer, MN 56288
(320) 796-2161

Waterville Area Office
50317 Fish Hatchery Rd.
P.O. Box 86

Waterville, MN 56096-0086
(507) 362-4223

Windom Area Office

175 Co. Rd. 26

Windom, MN 56101-1868
(507) 831-2900
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often?

Most fish are healthy to eat.
And fish are an excellent source
of low-fat protein.

But any fish (store-bought or
sport-caught) could contain
contaminants such as mercury
and PCBs that can harm human
health — especially the devel-

opment of children and fetuses.

The Minnesota Dept. of Health
provides advice on how often
fish can be safely eaten. The
consumption guidelines below
are based on mercury levels

Tips for reducing
contaminants

1. Eat smaller fish. Large fish
contain higher levels of
contaminants.

2. Eat more panfish (sunfish,
crappies) and fewer pred-
tor fish (walleyes, northern
pike, lake trout).

3. Trim skin and fat, especially
belly fat. Also, eat fewer
fatty fish such as carp, cat-
fish, and lake trout. PCBs
build up in fish fat.

measured in fish from lakes
across the state. Specific advice
for waters where fish have been
tested is on the DNR web site
(www.dnrstate.mn.us) and in
DNR lake survey reports.

General Consumption Guidelines for fish caught in MN

For Children and Women of Child-bearing Age

Panfish
Walleye < 20 inches
Northern Pike < 30 inches

1 meal/week

1 meal/month

All sizes of other species not listed

Walleye > 20 inches
Northern Pike > 30 inches
Muskellunge

For Other Adults

Panfish
All sizes of other species

Do not eat

Unlimited
1 meal/week

For more information, call the Minn. Dept. of Health at 651/215-0950

or toll-free 800/657-3908.
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Sunrise/Sunset Tables

* This table is provided primarily for trout and salmon anglers who
need to know the sunrise and sunset times on the waters they fish.

* Times shown are Central Daylight Saving Time beginning April 3,
2005 through October 29, 2005. Central Standard Time for all other

dates.

* The times in the table below are for the longitudinal line running
north and south through Minneapolis/St. Paul. To use the table to find
the sunrise or sunset hours on the water you fish, locate the water on
the map at right and add or subtract the minutes shown above the map

to the time in the table.

JAN. FEB. MAR. | APR. | MAY | JUNE
Rise Set |Rise Set |Rise Set |Rise Set |Rise Set |Rise Set
DAY| AM PM|AM PM |AM PM |AM PM |AM PM |AM PM
1 7:52 4:427:33 5:21 |6:52 6:00|5:55 6:41|6:03 8:18)5:30 8:52
2 | 7:52 4:43|7:32 5:22|6:50 6:02|5:53 6:42[6:02 8:20 5:29 8:53
3 | 7:52 4:44|7:31 5:24|6:48 6:03 |6:51 7:43|6:00 8:21 [5:29 8:54
4 | 7:52 4:45|7:30 5:25)6:46 6:04|6:49 7:44|5:59 8:22|5:28 8:55
5 | 7:51 4:46|7:29 5:27|6:45 6:06|6:47 7:46|5:57 8:23|5:28 8:56
6 | 7:51 4:47|7:27 5:28|6:43 6:07 | 6:45 7:47 |5:56 8:24|5:28 8:56
7 | 7:51 4:48|7:26 5:29|6:41 6:08|6:43 7:48 |5:55 8:26|5:27 8:57
8 | 7:51 4:49|7:25 5:31[6:39 6:10|6:42 7:49 |5:53 8:27|5:27 8:58
9 | 7:51 4:50|7:23 5:32[6:37 6:11[6:40 7:51 |5:52 8:28|5:27 8:58
10 | 7:50 4:52|7:22 5:34|6:36 6:12|6:38 7:52|5:51 8:29|5:26 8:59
Il | 7:50 4:53|7:20 5:35|6:34 6:14|6:36 7:53|5:49 8:305:26 8:59
12 | 7:50 4:54|7:19 5:37|6:32 6:15|6:34 7:54|5:48 8:32|5:26 9:00
13 | 7:49 4:55|7:18 5:38|6:30 6:16]6:33 7:56|5:47 8:33|5:26 9:01
14 | 7:49 4:56|7:16 5:396:28 6:18|6:31 7:57|5:46 8:34[5:26 9:01
15 | 7:48 4:58|7:15 5:41|6:26 6:19]6:29 7:58|5:45 8:35|5:26 9:01
16 | 7:48 4:59|7:13 5:42|6:25 6:20|6:27 7:59 |5:43 8:36 |5:26 9:02
17 | 7:47 5:00|7:12 5:44|6:23 6:21|6:26 8:01 |5:42 8:37|5:26 9:02
18 | 7:46 5:01|7:10 5:45)6:21 6:23)|6:24 8:02|5:41 8:38|5:26 9:03
19 | 7:46 5:03|7:08 5:46|6:19 6:24]6:22 8:03 |5:40 8:40|5:26 9:03
20 | 7:45 5:04|7:07 5:48|6:17 6:25)6:21 8:05|5:39 8:41|5:26 9:03
2] | 7:44 5:05|7:05 5:49|6:15 6:27|6:19 8:06|5:38 8:42|5:26 9:03
22 | 7:43 5:07|7:04 5:51|6:13 6:28|6:17 8:07 |5:37 8:43 |5:27 9:04
23 | 7:42 5:087:02 5:52|6:11 6:29|6:16 8:08|5:36 8:44|5:27 9:04
24 | 7:42 5:10|7:00 5:53|6:10 6:30|6:14 8:10|5:36 8:45|5:27 9:04
25 | 7:41 5:11]6:59 5:55|6:08 6:326:12 8:11|5:35 8:46 |5:27 9:04
26 | 7:40 5:12|6:57 5:56 |6:06 6:33|6:11 8:12|5:34 8:47|5:28 9:04
27 | 7:39 5:14|6:55 5:58|6:04 6:346:09 8:13|5:33 8:48 |5:28 9:04
28 | 7:38 5:15|6:53 5:59|6:02 6:35]|6:08 8:15|5:32 8:49 |5:29 9:04
29 | 7:37 5:17 6:00 6:376:06 8:16|5:32 8:50|5:29 9:04
30 | 7:36 5:18 5:58 6:38|6:05 8:17|5:31 8:51|5:30 9:04
31 | 7:35 5:19 5:56 6:39 5:30 8:52
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Example: Whitewater Add

A Subtract
State Park is in the
“Subtract 8 Minutes" 16h2lsl al*| 4l 812
time zone. Therefore, T
sunrise there on June 10 i g S il i W N
will be 5:18 a.m. (5:26 Minutes to biﬁj | 1
minus 8 minutes). add or subtract i
from tables E
below.
]
*n tables below 7?
I
LTI T%

97° 96°95° 94° 93° 92° 91° 90°

JULY | AUG. | SEPT.| OCT. | NOV. | DEC.
Rise Set |Rise Set |Rise Set |Rise Set |Rise Set |Rise Set
AM PM|AM PM|AM PM|AM PM|AM PM|AM PM |DAY
5:30 9:04|5:58 8:40|6:35 7:51|7:11 6:54]6:51 5:02|7:31 4:33 |
5:31 9:03|5:59 8:39|6:36 7:49|7:12 6:52|6:53 5:00|7:32 4:33 | 2
5:31 9:03|6:00 8:38|6:37 7:47|7:13 6:51|6:54 4:59|7:33 4:33 | 3

4
5

5:32 9:03 | 6:01 8:36|6:38 7:45|7:14 6:49|6:55 4:587:34 4:32
5:32 9:02|6:03 8:35|6:39 7:44|7:16 6:47 |6:57 4:56|7:35 4:32

5:33 9:02|6:04 8:34|6:41 7:42|7:17 6:45|6:58 4:55|7:36 4:32 | 6
5:34 9:02|6:05 8:32|6:42 7:40|7:18 6:43|6:59 4:54|7:37 432 | 7
5:35 9:01 |6:06 8:31[6:43 7:38|7:19 6:41|7:01 4:53)7:38 4:32 | 8
5:35 9:01|6:07 8:29|6:44 7:36|7:21 6:40|7:02 4:51|7:39 4:32| 9
5:36 9:00|6:08 8:28 |6:45 7:34|7:22 6:38|7:04 4:50)7:40 4:32 | 10

5:37 9:00|6:10 8:26|6:47 7:32|7:23 6:36|7:05 4:49|7:41 4:32 | 11
5:38 8:59|6:11 8:25)6:48 7:30|7:25 6:34|7:06 4:48|7:42 4:32 | 12
5:39 8:59|6:12 8:23|6:49 7:28|7:26 6:32|7:08 4:47|7:43 4:32 | 13
5:39 8:58|6:13 8:22|6:50 7:27|7:27 6:31|7:09 4:46|7:44 4:32 | 14
5:40 8:57|6:14 8:20|6:51 7:25|7:28 6:29|7:10 4:45|7:44 4:32 | 15
5:41 8:56|6:16 8:18|6:53 7:23|7:30 6:27 |7:12 4:44|7:45 4:32 | 16
5:42 8:56 |6:17 8:17|6:54 7:21|7:31 6:25|7:13 4:43|7:46 4:33 | 17
5:43 8:55]6:18 8:15|6:55 7:19|7:32 6:24|7:14 4:42|7:46 4:33 | 18
5:44 8:54|6:19 8:14|6:56 7:17|7:34 6:22|7:16 4:41|7:47 433 | 19

5:45 8:53|6:20 8:12|6:57 7:15|7:35 6:20|7:17 4:40|7:48 4:34 | 20

5:46 8:52|6:22 8:10]6:59 7:13|7:36 6:19|7:18 4:39|7:48 4:34 | 21
5:47 8:51|6:23 8:09|7:00 7:11|7:38 6:17|7:20 4:39|7:49 4:35| 22
5:48 8:50|6:24 8:07|7:01 7:09|7:39 6:16|7:21 4:38|7:49 4:35 | 23
5:49 8:49|6:25 8:05[7:02 7:08|7:40 6:14|7:22 4:37|7:50 4:36 | 24
5:50 8:48|6:26 8:03|7:03 7:06|7:42 6:12|7:24 4:36|7:50 4:37 | 25

5:51 8:47|6:28 8:02|7:05 7:04|7:43 6:11|7:25 4:36|7:50 4:37 | 26
5:52 8:46|6:29 8:00|7:06 7:02|7:44 6:09|7:26 4:35|7:51 4:38 | 27
5:54 8:45|6:30 7:58|7:07 7:00|7:46 6:08|7:27 4:35|7:51 4:39 | 28
5:55 8:44|6:31 7:56|7:08 6:58|7:47 6:06|7:28 4:34|7:51 4:39 | 29
5:56 8:43|6:32 7:55|7:09 6:56|6:48 5:05|7:30 4:34|7:51 4:40 | 30

5:57 8:416:33 7:53 6:50 5:03 7:51 4:41 ] 31
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ANGLERS HELP ENSURE FUTURE FISHING

Minnesotans love to fish. More than a third of residents wet a line—
only Alaska has a higher percentage of residents who fish.

Non-resident anglers are also drawn to this state, making it one of the
top four angling destinations in America—Florida, Texas and California
rank higher. In total, the U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service says
about 2 million anglers wet a
line here each year.

That’s good news. It
means we have a world-class
resource right on our doorstep.
But it’s also a serious respon-
sibility.

Protecting fish and their
habitat is a top priority for
anglers and the Department
of Natural Resources. Anglers
have supported special regula-
tions that limit harvest and, in
many lakes, improve the qual-
ity of fishing. Lakeshore property owners recognize that healthy shore-
lines are critical for water quality, aquatic plants and fish.

But pressure on fish and their habitat is increasing. In the future, it’s
likely that anglers will spend even more time on the water thanks to
more comfortable boats and better technology. It’s also likely that more
native shoreline will be developed, which can harm fish and wildlife
populations and decrease water clarity.

It’s important for anglers and property owners to use the resource
wisely. Following fishing regulations is a good start. Also, make sure
everyone you fish with knows and follows the regulations. If you see a
violation, call the Turn in Poachers hotline listed at the bottom of this
page.

Fishing is great in Minnesota. The DNR will work with anglers and
lakeshore property owners to keep it that way. The issues facing our
natural resources are complex. Solutions will require thought and coop-
eration from everyone who would like to pass this important resource to
future generations.
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Minnesota DNR Turn in Poachers
(651) 296-6157 + (888) 646-6367 (800) 652-9093
www.dnr.state.mn.us



