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Retail Liquor License Overview 
 

Minnesota is relatively unusual among states in that almost all its retail liquor 
licenses are issued locally rather than by a state agency.  This information brief 
describes the various types of retail licenses that are authorized by Minnesota law. 

 
 

License/ 
Permit 

Issued To For What Issued by 
Whom 

Fee Number 
(as of 4/04)

On-Sale and Combination Licenses 

Intoxicating 
liquor 
on-sale 

Hotels, restaurants, 
bars, lounges, 
bowling centers, 
theaters 

On-premise consumption 
of distilled spirits, wine, 
strong beer 

Cities  
Counties* 

Set locally 2,652 

Intoxicating 
liquor 
Sunday  
on-sale 

Restaurants, hotels, 
clubs, and bowling 
centers with regular 
intoxicating liquor 
on-sale license 

On-premise consumption 
of intoxicating liquor on 
Sundays 

Cities and 
counties where 
Sunday liquor 
referendums 
have passed 

Up to $200 2,452 
(included 
in on-sale 
total) 

2 a.m. permit Establishments with 
on-sale intoxicating 
liquor license 

Sale of intoxicating 
liquor between 1:00-2:00 
a.m. 

Department of 
Public Safety 

$200 to 
$600, based 
on gross 
receipts from 
alcohol sales 

837 

* If approved by the Department of Public Safety 

      

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request.  Please call 651-296-6753 (voice); 
or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance.  Many House Research 
Department publications are also available on the Internet at: www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm. 

 

http://www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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License/ 
Permit 

Issued To For What Issued by 
Whom 

Fee Number 
(as of 4/04)

On-Sale and Combination Licenses 

Wine on-sale  Restaurants seating 
at least 25 guests 

On-premise consumption 
of wine in conjunction 
with sale of food; may 
also sell strong beer if at 
least 60% of gross 
receipts come from sale 
of meals 

Cities*  
Counties* 

Half of on-
sale fee, up 
to $2,000 

772 

Club on-sale Clubs in existence 
for at least 3 years 

Sale of intoxicating 
liquor to members and 
"bona-fide guests" 

Cities*  
Counties* 

$300-
$3,000, 
depending 
on number 
of members 

490 

3.2 beer  
on-sale 

No limits on types of 
establishments 

On-premise consumption 
of 3.2 beer 

Cities  
Counties 

Set locally 301 

Brewpub Licensed restaurants 
with brewing 
facilities 

Operation of restaurant 
with on-sale of beer 
brewed on premises; also 
off-sale in 64 oz. bottles 

Cities, 
counties for 
restaurant 
operation;  
Department of 
Public Safety 
for brewery 
operation 

On-sale fee 
set locally; 
state 
brewery 
license $500 

19 

Bed & 
breakfast 

Owner-occupied 
B&Bs with up to 8 
rooms, maximum of 
20 guests  

Service at no charge to 
guests of up to 2 glasses 
of wine per day 

Registration 
required with 
Department of 
Public Safety 

No fee 98 
 
 
 

Common 
carrier 
license 

Common carriers 
(air, rail, water) 

Sale of intoxicating 
liquor to passengers in 
places where meals are 
sold 

Department of 
Public Safety 

Excursion 
boats on 
Lake 
Superior and 
St. Croix and 
Mississippi 
rivers: $50 
for 3.2 beer, 
$200 for 
liquor; other 
fees not 
specified 

28 

* If approved by the Department of Public Safety 
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License/ 
Permit 

Issued To For What Issued by 
Whom 

Fee Number 
(as of 4/04)

On-Sale and Combination Licenses 

Combination 
licenses -
intoxicating 
liquor 

Establishments 
eligible for on-sale 
and off-sale license 

Sales of intoxicating 
liquor for on-premise 
and off-premise 
consumption 

Cities under 
10,000  
(Counties may 
also issue in 
non-urban 
towns) 

Not 
specified 

1,140 

Temporary 
on-sale 
intoxicating 
liquor 

Clubs and nonprofit 
organizations in 
existence for at least 
6 years, political 
committees 

Sale of intoxicating 
liquor for on-premise 
consumption at an  event 
sponsored by licensee; 
valid for up to 4 
consecutive days 

Cities*  
Counties* 

Set locally 1,594 

Consumption 
and display 
permits 

Clubs and “business 
establishments” 

Allowing customers to 
bring own supply of 
liquor (set-ups); allowing 
customers to store own 
supply of liquor on 
premises (bottle club) 

Department of 
Public Safety 
(local approval 
required) 

$150 (city or 
county may 
impose 
additional 
fee up to 
$300) 

403 

Caterer’s  
permit 

Restaurant with on-
sale intoxicating 
liquor license 

Sale of intoxicating 
liquor as part of meal 
service at a location 
other than the 
restaurant’s licensed 
premises 

Department of 
Public Safety 

$200 150 

Combination 
licenses – 3.2 
beer 

No limits on types of 
establishments 

Sale of 3.2 beer both for 
on-premise and off-
premise consumption 

Cities 
Counties 

Set locally 68 

Off-Sale Licenses 

Intoxicating 
liquor  
off-sale 

Exclusive liquor 
stores 
Grocery stores (in 1st 

class cities if 
licensed before 
8/1/89) 
Drug stores (if 
licensed before 
5/1/94) 

Sale of intoxicating 
liquor for off-premise 
consumption; exclusive 
liquor stores may also 
sell tobacco, ice, soft 
drinks, mixes, food 
products containing 
alcohol 

Cities (1st class 
cities, 1 per 
5,000 pop.; 
other cities, no 
limit) 
  
Counties (in 
unorganized 
territory and 
urban towns) 

City-issued: 
Maximums 
from $100 to 
$1,000 based 
on 
population 
 
County-
issued: 
maximum 
$500 

777 

* If approved by the Department of Public Safety 
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License/ 
Permit 

Issued To For What Issued by 
Whom 

Fee Number 
(as of 4/04)

Off-Sale Licenses 

3.2 beer  
off-sale 

No limits on types of 
establishments 

Off-premise 
consumption of 3.2 beer 

Cities  
Counties 

Up to $500 295 

Wine auction 
- temporary 

No limits on types of 
establishments 

Auctions of vintage wine 
(maximum 600 cases per 
auction) for up to 3 
consecutive days 

Cities* 
Counties* 

Set locally 3 

Farm winery Farm producing 
wine made primarily 
from Minnesota 
ingredients 

On- and off-sale and 
wholesale of wine 
produced on-premises, 
up to 50,000 gallons per 
year 

Department of 
Public Safety 

$50 15 

Other Licenses/Operations 

Municipal 
liquor stores 

On-sale or off-sale, 
or both 

Sale of intoxicating 
liquor; on-sale stores 
may sell meals 

Cities 10,000 
and under 
(may continue 
to operate after 
exceeding 
10,000) 

No license 
issued; 
municipally 
owned and 
operated 

259 

Tribal 
licenses 

Establishments 
eligible for on-sale 
or off-sale licenses 

On-sales, off-sales, or 
both depending on type 
issued 

Tribal 
governing 
bodies 

Set locally 19 

* If approved by the Department of Public Safety 

 

For more information about liquor regulation, visit the commerce area of our web site, 
www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/issinfo/comm_ed.htm. 

http://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hrd/issinfo/comm_ed.htm



