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State Utility Statutes to Promote Renewable Electric Energy

This short subject summarizes state utility statutes that promote or require the development of wind and
other forms of renewable electric energy. In addition to these, Minnesota law provides for a number of
financial assistance programs for full-time farmers to develop renewable energy projects. For a summary of
those programs, see the Minnesota Department ofAgriculture's Agricultural Finance web site on energy
programs at www.mda.state.mn.us/agfinance/energy.pdf.

Renewable
Development Fund

Net Metering

"Green Pricing"
Programs

Renewable Energy
Objectives

Distributed Energy
Resources

Minn. Stat. § 116C.779. This statute requires Xcel Energy to transfer to a
renewable development account (the "Renewable DevelopmentFund" or RDF)
$500,000 annually for each dry cask containing spent fuel that is filled and placed
at Xcel's Prairie Island after January 1, 1999. With 17 casks filled and placed, this
requirement amounts to $8.5 million a year that Xcel is required to devote to the
development of renewable energy. Money from the fund is spent with the
approval of the Public Utilities Commission, but the RDF is an account internal to
Xcel Energy, not an account in the state treasury.

Minn. Stat. § 216B.164. This statute requires utilities to purchase the output of
certain renewable energy facilities of40 kilowatts or less, net of the amount of
electricity used by the owner of the facility. The rate that a utility is required to
pay for this net energy is the utility's average retail rate (the amount that the utility
charges retail customers for electricity).

Minn. Stat. § 216B.169. Tl;J.is statute requires each distribution utility to offer
customers the option to purchase renewable energy. Distribution utilities are those
utilities that provide electric service directly to retail customers. Rural electric
cooperatives and municipal distribution utilities are examples ofdistribution
utilities. Investor-owned utilities, such as Xcel Energy or Minnesota Power, are
also included.

Minn. Stat. § 216B.1691. This statute requires each generation and transmission
cooperative, municipal power agency, and investor-owned utility to make a good
faith effort to get 10 percent of their power supply from renewable energy by 2015.
Municipal distribution utilities and rural electric cooperatives are not subject to the
good faith requirement.

Minn. Stat. § 216B.2411. This statute requires utilities to spend 5 percent of their
required conservation spending under Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.241, on
renewable energy projects, including those using "methane or other combustible
gases derived from the processing ofplant or animal waste." Utilities are required
to spend these funds "to the extent cost-effective projects are available" in the
utility's service territory.
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Minn. Stat. § 216B.2422. This statute establishes a preference for renewable
energy in planning for power supply requirements. The statute prohibits the Public
Utilities Commission from approving the construction of a nonrenewable energy
facility unless the utility proposing the facility has demonstrated that a renewable
energy facility is not in the public interest.

Minn. Stat. § 216B.2423. This statute requires Xcel Energy to acquire 825
megawatts ofwind energy capacity. Xcel currently has 480 megawatts under
contract and is required to have the balance under contract by 2012.

Minn. Stat. § 216B.2424. This statute requires Xcel Energy to acquire 125
megawatts ofbiomass energy capacity by December 1998.

Currently, the required 125 megawatts ofbiomass capacity under contract are from
the following three projects:

Proiect Name . Contract Date Size Fuel Operation Date
FibroMinn August 31, 2000 50MW Poultry Litter Dec. 31, 2002

EPS/Beck December 30, 1998 50MW Whole Tree June 30,2004

St. Paul December 23, 1998 25MW Waste Wood Dec. 14, 2002
Cogeneration

Minn. Stat. § 216C.41. This statute provides 1.5 cents per kilowatt-hour produced
by eligible renewable energy facilities. Eligible renewable energy facilities
includes certain:

• small wind energy facilities (generally, under 2 megawatts)
• on-farm anaerobic digester facilities
• refurbished hydroelectric dams

The production incentive is paid out of the general fund by a statutory
appropriation (i.e., not subject to biennial appropriation). For wind facilities, the
production incentive is limited to the first 100 megawatts of capacity. That cap is
expected to be met in the next year or two.

Minn. Stat. § 297A.68. This statute provides sales tax exemption for the materials
used to manufacture, install, construct, repair, or replace a wind energy facility.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mike Bull at 651-296-8961.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative.
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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State Responses to the 2001 Federal Estate Tax Changes

From 1924 through 2001, the federal estate tax allowed a dollar-for-dollar credit for
state death taxes paid (up to maximum limits). All states imposed estate taxes up to
the amount of the federal credit; some states also imposed additional inheritance or
estate taxes. In 2001,38 states, including Minnesota, imposed pickup estate taxes·
as their only form of a death tax.

The 2001 federal
tax act or EGTRRA
eliminated the
ability ofstates to
impose pure
''pickup'' estate
taxes that are borne
by the federal
treasury

The Economic Growth and Tax Relief and
Reconciliation Act of2001 (EGTRRA) repealed the
federal credit for state death taxes in three steps.
See box at the right. After 2004, states can no
longer impose estate taxes that do not increase total
taxes. EGTRRA also increased the exemption
amounts and reduced tax rates.

Phase-out of State Death Tax
Credit Under EGTRRA

Calendar Year % allowed
2002 75%
2003 50%
2004 25%
2005 - 2010 No credit

Thirty-two states
are reducing their
pickup taxes by the
full amount ofthe
reductions in the
federal credit

Three states
temporarily opted
out ofEGTRRA 's
reductions

Minnesota opted not to continue with a pure pickup tax. Minnesota now has a
stand-alone estate tax equal to the federal credit before EGTRRApassed. This
short subject summarizes how states have responded to EGTRRA's repeal ofthe
federal credit. It reflects changes enacted by states through December 2002.

• Twenty-two states that impose only pickup taxes are automatically linked to
federal law (AL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, DE, FL, GA, HA, ill, IL, MI, MS, MO,
MT, NY, ND, TX, UT, WV, and WY) and have not taken action to decouple.
Constitutions in three states (AL, FL, and NY) limit the tax to a pure pickup tax.

• Two states imposing only pickup taxes (SC and SD) legislatively adopted
EGTRRA's changes.

• Eight states with stand-alone taxes have pickup taxes that are automatically
linked to federal law (CT, IN, lA, KY, LA, NH, OK, and TN) and have not
taken action to decouple from EGTRRA. The pickup taxes will be reduced with
the phase-out ofthe federal credit. The stand-alone taxes will continue, so
EGTRRA will reduce revenues to the level of the stand-alone taxes. Two
states' stand-alone taxes (LA: 6/30/2004; CT: 12/31/2005) are set to expire.

Maine (2002), North Carolina (2002-03), and Wisconsin (10/1/2002 through
12/31/2007) temporarily opted not to allow EGTRRA's reductions to reduce taxes.
These states impose only pickup estate taxes. Absent additional legislative changes,
their estate taxes will revert to full conformity and will expire.



Five states adopted
EGTRRA's higher
exemptions, but not
the credit
reductions

Twelve states have
adopted none of
EGTRRA's major
changes

Changes in stand­
alone taxes

Thirty-five states
are scheduled to
have no death tax

Maine, Maryland, North Carolina, Nebraska, and Vermont adopted at least the first
stage of the increases in the exemption amounts under EGTRRA, but not the
reductions in the federal credit for state death taxes. Maine and North Carolina, as
noted above, delayed full conformity by one or two years. Vermont's tax will
expire when the federal tax is repealed.

Seven states with taxes tied to pre-EGTRRA federal law have not adopted
EGTRRA or have made explicit changes confirming that EGTRRA's provisions do
not apply (KS, MN, NY, OH, OR, VA, and WA). Minnesota updated its law for
changes in federal law, but excluded the estate tax from this update. Five states
whose laws were automatically linked to changes in federal law have decoupled by
either linking to federal law at a specific date (MA, NJ, PA, and RI) or by enacting
a estate tax not explicitly tied to federal law (NE).

New Hampshire repealed its stand-alone succession tax, effective January 1,2003.
Kansas enacted a new stand-alone succession tax.

When the federal credit for state death taxes is fully repealed in 2005, 32 states are
now scheduled to have no state death tax. Three additional states will have their
taxes expire in later years. These states are shown in the map below. For more
detail on state actions see the House Research publication, The Minnesota Estate
Tax after 2001 Federal Tax Act (January 2003).

States Scheduled to Have No Tax
(2005 unless otherwise noted)

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research publications The Minnesota Estate Tax, September 2002, and The Minnesota Estate Tax after the
2001 Federal Tax Act, January 2003.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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House Approval of Campaign Finance and
Public Disclosure Board Appointments

The Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board oversees the law on campaign finance and disclosure,
lobbyist reporting, economic interest statements, and conflicts of interest.

How are board
members appointed
and approved?

What is the
deadline for
approving
appointments?

What are the
membership
requirements for
the board?

How long do board
members serve?

There are six members, appointed by the governor. After they are appointed by the
Governor, members must be approved by three-fifths of the members of the House
and three-fifths of the members of the Senate acting separately (total members, not
just those present). In the House, the Governmental Operations Committee holds
hearings on appointees and reports to the floor a recommendation whether or not to
approve each appointee.

The deadline is the earlier of 45 legislative days after appointment or adjournment
sine die. A legislative day is a day that either the House or Senate meets.

• If either house fails to approve an individual within that time period, the
appointment terminates the day after the 45th legislative day/adjournment
sine die, whichever applies.

• If either house votes not to confirm an appointment, the appointment
terminates the day after the vote not to confirm.

Of the six board members:

• Two must be former legislators of different parties.

• Two must be persons who have not been public officials as defined by
Minnesota Statutes,· chapter 10A, held any political party office other than
precinct delegate, or been elected to a partisan office in the three years
before the appointment.

• Two must support different political parties.

• Overall, no more than three board members may support the same political
party.

• No board member may be a lobbyist while serving on the board.

Board terms are four years and end the first Monday in January. Minn. Stat.
§ 15.0575, subd. 2. Of the current members, two have terms that end January
2003. Two other members' terms end January 2004. One has a term ending
January 2005, and another has a term that ends January 2006.



How are vacancies
handled?

Do board members
receive
compensation?

May board
members be
removed?

/
Vacancies are filled by appointment for the duration of the time left in the term.
The new appointee must meet the criteria met by the departed member. The
approval process for individuals filling vacancies is the same as for members
appointed to a full term. Minn. Stat. § 1OA.02, subd. 2.

Members receive $55 per day if authorized by the board, plus expenses authorized
by the Commissioner of Employee Relations' plan. Expenses include child care
costs that would not otherwise be incurred.

Members who are full-time state or local government employees may not receive
the daily payment and may receive day care reimbursement only for time outside
normal work hours. These individuals must not suffer loss in compensation or
benefits as a result of board service and can receive expense reimbursement from
the board unless compensated by another source. Minn. Stat. § 15.0575, subd. 3.

The governor may remove a member: (1) for cause, after notice and hearing, or
(2) after the member misses three consecutive meetings. Minn. Stat. § 15.0575,
subd.4.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah McKnight at 651-296-5056.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Charitable .Gambling

Nonprofit organizations can conduct gambling to raise money for "lawful purposes" with a license
from the Lawful Gambling Control Board.

Who may conduct
gambling?

What kinds of
games are allowed?

Who regulates
charitable
gambling?

What can gambling
proceeds be spent
for?

A charitable, religious, veterans, or other nonprofit organization may be licensed
to conduct charitable gambling if it has at least 15 active members and has been
in existence for at least three years. About 1,500 Minnesota organizations are
licensed to conduct gambling at about 3,500 different locations.

Licensed organizations may conduct bingo, raffles, and tipboards, sell pull-tabs,
and operate paddlewheels.

Charitable gambling is regulated by the seven-member Lawful Gambling
Control Board. It licenses organizations and gambling managers and makes
rules for the conduct of gambling. It also regulates bingo halls and the
distributors and manufacturers of gambling equipment.

Gross gambling profits (gross receipts less prizes) can only be spent for
gambling expenses and lawfulpurposes.

Gambling expenses are all expenses directly related to the conduct of gambling.
Examples are gambling supplies, rent, license fees, and wages of gambling
workers. Expenses are limited to 70 percent of gross profits for bingo and 55
percent for other gambling.

Gross profitnot spent for expenses (net profit) can only be spent for lawful
purposes:

~ Expenditure by or contribution to a ~ Contributions to or expenditures by a
501(c)(3) organization religious institution

~ Contributions to relieve poverty, ~ Snowmobiles and ATV trails and
disability, or homelessness wildlife management projects

~ Compulsive gambling treatment ~ Up to one-half the cost ofgambling
audits

~ Scholarships and contributions to ~ Food shelves and dining programs
educational institutions primarily for older persons

~ Recognition ofhumanitarian or military ~ Community arts organizations and
service programs

~ Recreational and athletic facilities ~ Utilities for veterans' organization
primarily for young people buildings

~ Property taxes on gambling premises up ~ Recognition dinners for veterans, up to
to $35,000 annually $5,000 per organization annually

~ Contributions to government

Net profits can also be spent to pay state, federal, and local taxes on gambling.



What are the rules
for charitable
gambling?

Are there prize
limits for charitable
gambling?

What taxes apply to
charitable
gambling?

What gambling is
exemptfrom
licensing?

The major rules that apply to all gambling are:

~ Gambling must be supervised by a gambling manager appointed by the
organization

~ Players must be at least 18 years old
~ Players can't use checks or play on credit (except checks for raffle tickets)
~ Odds and house rules must be posted on the premises
~ Gambling workers must be registered with the board and may not gamble

on days they are working

Prize limits are:

~ Bingo, $200 per game and $2,500 for most bingo occasions
~ Single pull-tab, $599
~ Raffles, maximum cash prize per day, $12,000
~ Single paddlewheel prize, $70
~ Largest tipboard prize, $500

The state imposes taxes on charitable gambling in lieu of sales taxes:

~ Bingo, paddlewheels, and raffles, 8.5 percent ofgross profit
~ Pull-tabs and tipboards, 1.7 percent of "ideal gross" (potential gross

receipts from all tickets in a package, with a refund for unsold tickets)
~ Pull-tabs and tipboards, additional "combined receipts tax" of 1.7 percent

to 5.1 percent of gross receipts, depending on the organization's annual
receipts

Organizations do not have to obtain a license for:

~ Gambling conducted for five or fewer days a year with total prizes not
exceeding $50,000

~ Bingo conducted at fairs for up to 12 days a year
~ Raffles with a prize ofnot more than $1,500

Exempt organizations must register with the board and follow state law on
spending net profits.

Charitable Gambling Statistics

Charitable Gambling Gross Receipts
1997-2002
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~ $1;300=C $1,250

1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002

Spending of Gross Profit 2002
($259 million)

State
Taxes
22%

Expenses
51%

Lawful
Purposes

27%

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045. Also see the House
Research Publication Charitable Gambling in Minnesota, August 2003.
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative.
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Pistol Permits: Posting at Private Establishments

Minnesota recently enacted modifications to its law relating to the issuance ofpermits to carry pistols in
public (Minnesota Laws 2003, chapter 28). As part of the new law, certain policies were adopted that
regulate how a "private establishment" may notify permit holders that firearms are not allowed in a private
building. This paper details the notification procedures and requirements set out in the new law.

Who may prohibit
firearms?

Are there any areas where a
private establishment may
not prohibit firearms?

Do the new posting
provisions apply to
homeowners?

How do the posting
provisions apply to private
property that is not a private
residence, building or
parking area?

How does a private
establishmentprovide
notice that firearms are not
allowed in a building?

Any "private establishment" may generally prohibit the carry or possession
of firearms. Private establishment means "a building, structure, or portion
thereof that is owned, leased, controlled, or operated by a
nongovernmental entity for a nongovernmental purpose." This includes
any private entity that is deemed "nongovernmental," including businesses,
churches, private colleges, and nonprofit organizations.

The new law provides that a private establishment may not prohibit the
lawful possession of firearms in a parking facility or parking area.

No. The new posting provisions do not apply to "private residences." The
lawful possessor of a private residence (a homeowner or apartment
dweller) may "prohibit firearms, and provide notice thereof, in any lawful
manner." This means that a homeowner can prevent the carrying of guns
on the homeowner's property in the same manner he or she can prevent
any unwanted trespass. Oral notice alone is sufficient. A posted sign
alone is likely sufficient.

A landlord may not prohibit firearms. The new law says that "a landlord
may not restrict the lawful carry or possession of firearms by tenants or
their guests." This appears to apply to both residential and commercial
landlords.

Private property that is not a private residence, building, or parking area
appears to be governed by the general trespass statute. A private property
owner should be able to prohibit firearms in those areas under the
provisions of existing trespass law. For example, it appears that oral notice I

alone is sufficient.

A private establishment must make a "reasonable request" to do so. Under
the new law, a reasonable request requires (1) the posting of a sign, and (2)
that the private establishment "personally informs" the person of the
posted request and demands compliance. A sign alone is insufficient.



What are the requirements
for the sign?

Where must signs be
posted?

Is anyone exempt from the
posting provisions?

Are there specialprovisions
for employees?

The term "personally inform" is not defined in the new law. It seems to
include an oral request. It may also include written notice on the ticket of
a ticketed event. But the term appears to be subject to some degree of
interpretation.

Failure to leave a posted premises after a reasonable request to do so is a
petty misdemeanor.

The sign must be 187 square inches in area. This includes an 11-inch-by­
17-inch sign, but it could also be other dimensions, as long as it is of the
required area. The background of the sign must be "bright."

The lettering must be black Arial typeface at least 1.5 inches in height.
The lettering must contrast with the background of the sign.

The sign must indicate the identity of the operator of the private
establishment and state that the operator "BANS GUNS IN THESE
PREMISES." For example: "ACME ANVILS, INC., BANS GUNS IN
THESE PREMISES."

The signs must be posted within four feet laterally of every entrance to the
establishment. The bottom of the sign must be four to six feet above the
floor.

On-duty peace officers and security guards acting in the course and scope
of employment are exempt. Off-duty peace officers are not exempt from
the posting provisions at a private establishment.

Yes. The new law provides that an employer may establish policies that
restrict the carry or possession of firearms by an employee while acting in
the course and scope of employment. However, an employer may not
prohibit the lawful carry or possession of firearms by employees in a
parking area.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joe Cox bye-mail: joe.cox@house.mn

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I st. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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The 2:00 a.ID. On-Sale Closing Hour
and Other Liquor Law Changes

The legislature in 2003 made some of the most far-reaching changes in liquor law since Sunday
liquor was legalized more than 30 years ago, including allowing on-sale of alcoholic beverages until
2:00 a.m.

On-sale closing
hours

Local authority to
set other hours

The 2003 omnibus liquor bill moves back from 1:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. the hour
at which on-sale of intoxicating liquor and 3.2 beer must cease. ("On-sale" is
sale for consumption on the premises only.) The same change is made for the
hour at which establishments with "consumption and display" permits (bottle
clubs or set-ups) must stop consumption on the premises. The effective date of
the change is July 1,2003.

The 1:00 a.m. hour had been in effect since the 1940s.

Although the hour set in law is often referred to as the "closing hour," state law
does not require establishments, to close their doors at that hour but only to stop
selling alcohol. A requirement to actually close may be included in local
ordinances.

The bill made no changes in the hours for off-sale establishments (package
stores).

Under present law, cities and counties may set more restrictjve hours for
alcoholic beverages than state law allows. So local governments have the right
to retain the I :00 a.m. closing hour for establishments within their jurisdiction.
Cities cannot allow anyon-sale ofalcohol later than 2:00 a.m.

A city that has already adopted an ordinance that sets a 1:00 a.m. closing time
will retain that closing time unless it decides to repeal or amend its ordinance. A
city that enacts a I :00 a.m. ordinance before July 1 will. prevent the new closing
time from taking effect within its jurisdiction. A city could still adopt su~h,an,

ordinance after July 1, but it would mean rolling back the closing hour from 2:00
a.m. to 1:00 a.m.

Any local action to set on-sale hours that differ from state law must apply
equally to intoxicating liquor and 3.2 beer.



Permits In order to continue on-sales until 2:00 a.m., a licensed establishment must
obtain a permit from the state Department of Public Safety. The permit is in
addition to the establishment's on-sale license issued by the city or county. The
permit is valid for a year. The fee for on-sale retailers of intoxicating liquor is
based on the establishment's gross receipts from alcohol sales in the previous
year:

~ Up to $100,000 in gross receipts, $200
Over $100,000 but not over $500,000 in gross receipts, $500
Over $500,000 in gross receipts, $600

For intoxicating liquor establishments that have been in business less than a
year, 3.2 beer licensees, and consumption and display permit holders, the fee is
$200.

The legislature enacted the permit requirement in order to raise money to partly
offset the cost of additional troopers for the State Patrol. A study by the
Revenue Department will determine if the new hours generate at least $3.85
million annually in new state tax revenue. If the study shows that they do, the
permit requirement will be repealed beginning July 1, 2005.

Local license limits For many years state law has limited the number of on:siii5'~intoxicatingliquor
licenses that cities could issue. First-class cities (Minneapolis, St. Paul, and
Duluth), for instance, were allowed to issue one license for every 1,500 persons
up to a maximum of 200. Cities wanting to issue more licenses than state law
allowed had to corne to the legislature for authorization.

The 2003 omnibus liquor bill exempted on-sale licenses to restaurants and hotels
from these limits. Since almost all licenses for which legislative approval had
been sought in past years fall into one of these categories, the result is to all but
end the practice of seeking additional licenses from the legislature. Special
liquor laws to allow licenses to establishments that couldn't be licensed under
general law for other reasons are likely to continue.

Brewpubs selling at
off-sale

The omnibus liquor bill also allowed "brewpubs" (restaurants that brew beer on
the premises) to sell their products in bottles for consumption off the premises.
Sales can only be made in 64-ounce bottles known as "growlers" that must be
sealed on the premises. Brewpubs can sell no more than half their annual
maximum output of 3,500 barrels at off-sale, up to a maximum of 500 barrels.
Their off-sale hours would be the same as for package stores.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296~6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Minnesota Family Investment Program

The Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) is a jointly funded, federal-state program that provides
I income assistance for eligible low-income families. MFIP is the state's response to the 1996 federal welfare

reform law, which replaced the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program with Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), a block grant program to states.

Who is eligible for
MFIP?

How much are
monthly benefits?

What are the work
requirements?

A family must have income and assets below the program's limits. The income
limit increases with family size. Families do not exit MFIP until their income
reaches 115 percent of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG). The 2003 FPG for a
family of three is $15,260 (115 percent ofFPG for a family of three equals
$17,549). Assets are limited to $2,000 for MFIP applicants and $5,000 for
ongoing recipients, excluding certain items. In addition, families must meet the
following eligibility requirements:

• have a minor child in the home (or be pregnant)
• be residents of Minnesota
• be u.s. citizens, qualified noncitizens, or noncitizens otherwise lawfully

residing in the United States
• assign rights to child support
• have received fewer than 60 months assistance
• satisfy any other eligibility requirements of the program

Families are subject to a lifetime limit of60 months ofassistance. Some families
may be eligible for assistance extensions past the 60-month limit if they meet
specific criteria for one of the following extension categories: illor incapacitated,
hard to employ, and employed participants.

The MFIP grant is based on a transitional standard that increases with family size.
For example, a family of three's monthly benefit is currently $763; a family of
four's benefit is $903. For families without earnings, the monthly grant equals the
transitional standard. For families with earnings, the monthly grant equals the
"family wage level" (110 percent of the transitional standard minus the family's
net earned income). The MFIP grant is composed of a cash portion and a food
portion, both of which are issued by counties in electronic debit card form.

MFIP caregivers (i.e., persons who live with and provide care and support to minor
children) are required to spend a specified number of hours every week engaged in
work or work activities. Examples of acceptable activities include job search
activities, unsubsidized employment, and on-the-job training.

Exemptions from the work requirement may be available to MFIP participants who
meet certain criteria, such as being over age 60, being ill or incapacitated, caring



for a disabled child, experiencing a personal crisis, or being the victim of family
violence.

Post-secondary education is hot routinely available to MFIP caregivers. Job
counselors may approve post-secondary education only when the education
program meets specific MFIP criteria.

How do sanctions
work?

What are MFIP's
funding streams
and expenditures?

How many families
receive MFIP?

Special requirements exist for caregivers under age 20. In most cases, education is
the first priority for teen MFIP participants.

MFIP participants who do not meet the program requirements may be sanctioned
through reduction of their monthly grant. Sanctions last until one month after a
participant comes into compliance. AnMFIP case must be closed after the seventh
occurrence of noncompliance;

MFIP is funded with a combination of federal funds and state appropriations.
Minnesota received approximately $268 million annually in TANF block grant
funding in federal fiscal years 1998-2002 (this amount is subject to federal
reauthorization). In addition, federal law includes a maintenance of effort (MOE)
provision that requires a state'to spend 75 percent to 80 percent of the amount it
spent in 1994 under its old AFDC and related programs to assist needy families. In
fiscal year 2003, the state's required MOE amount was $179 million per year.

According to the Department of Human Services, for state fiscal year 2002, total
expenditures were $189 million for the cash portion and $132.9 million for the
food portion of the MFIP grants. Expenditures for emergency assistance were
$24.1 million. In terms of funding, $140 million was financed with federal TANF
funds, $130.3 million was from 'federal Food Stamp funds, and $75.7 million was
financed with state appropriations. In addition, the state spent $67.3 million for
employment and training services and $44.1 million for state and county
administration costs.

In April 2003, 45,465 families and a total of 130,690 participants were receiving
MFIP assistance.

I '

, '

For more information: See the House Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance, January 2002,
and the following Short Subjects: Minnesota Family Investment Program Time Limit Exemptions and
Extensions, July 2003, and MFIP Cases Reaching the 60-Month Time Limit, September 2002.
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Basics of EGA

Emergency General Assistance (EGA) is a program that provides income assistance in: emergency'
situations.

Who is eligible?

What is an
"emergency
situation?"

An individual, childless couple, or family without resources immediately
available to resolve an emergency situation is eligible for EGA if:

• The person or family is not eligible for Minnesota Family Investment
Program (MFIP);

, '

• The person or family,has not, without good cause, used more than 50
percent of available income and resources for purposes other than basic
needs during the 60 days before application;

• The person or family is without resources immediately available to
resolve the emergency; and

• The emergency did not arise because the person or family member has
been disqualified from the General Assistance (GA) program.,

Persons or families in need who are not state residents may also receive
assistance to meet emergency needs. State law requires that nonresidents must
reside in Minnesota for 30 days before applying for EGA.

An individual or family may receive EGA not more than once in any 12-month , '
period.

An emergency situation is a situation in which an individual or family is
without, or will lose within 30 days after application, a basic need item and,
requires immediate financial assistance. "Basic needs" are limited to food,
clothing, shelter, utilities; and other items, the loss or lack of which pose a
direct, immediate threat to the physical health or safety of the applicant.

I "I ;, i • "I 1 II> I 11'\ ,\1',

The assistance must be temporary and must not exceed 30 days following the
date of application. Assistance must be paid for needs that accrue before the 30­
day period when it is necessary to resolve emergencies arising or continuing
during the 30-day period.



I

How is EGA funded
and how are
benefits paid?

EGA is funded with state general fund dollars.

EGA grants are paid for with vouchers or in the form of a vendor payment
unless the county determines that a cash grant will better meet the needs of the
emergency situation.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance, January 2002.
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Minnesota Family Investment Program
Time Limit Exemptions and Extensions

The federal welfare reform law imposes a 60-month lifetime limit on the receipt of assistance fundedby
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF). The state's welfare program, Minnesota Family
Investment Program (MFIP), includes the federal 60-month lifetime limit on assistance. MFIP has some
time limit exemptions and extensions, which are explained below.

MFIP time limit
exemptions

For people in the following categories, months of assistance received do not count
toward the 60-month time limit (Minn. Stat. § 256J.42):

"

~ victims of domestic violence;

~ caregivers who are 60 years or older;

18- and 19-year-olds who are engaged i~ education activities; and

~ minor caregivers who are complying with living arrangement and education
plan requirements for minor caregivers.

Under federal law, all states mu~t disregard the following when calculating the 60­
month time limit:

~ months when a family receives assistance while living in Indian country (as
defined by federal law 18 U.S.C. § 1151) where at least 50 percent of the
adults are not employed;

~ months when a pregnant minor or minor parent receives assistance when he
or she is not the head of household or married to the head ofhousehold;

~ months when the only assistance received is noncash assistance; and

~ months when eligible for short-term Emergency Assistance or the
Diversionary Work Program.

" ,
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MFIP hardship
extension categories

Families who reach the 60-month time limit on MFIP and who meet the following
criteria are eligible for an extension.

! ' • I I ..,J •

III or incapacitated. This category includes participants who:

are ill or incapacitated;

~ are needed in the horne to care for a household member who is ill or
incapacitated; or

~ have a household member who meets certain disability or medical criteria.

II '. ,\I',



Services for families
who reach the time
limit

Hard-to-employ. This category includes participants who:

are diagnosed as having mental retardation or mental illness, and that
condition prevents the person from obtaining or retaining unsubsidized
employment;

~ have an IQ below 80 and are considered unemployable;

~ have a learning disability that limits their employability; or

~ are victims of family violence and have been granted a family violence
waiver and are complying with an employment plan.

Employed participants. This category includes:

~ a one-parent family, if the parent is participating in work activities for at
least 30 hours per week, of which an average of at least 25 hours per week
are spent in employment;

a two-parent family if the parents are participating in work activities for at
least 55 hours per week, of which an average of at least 45 hours per week
are spent in employment; or

a family in which a participant is working fewer than the number ofhours
required above if the participant submits verification that the number of
hours that the participant may work is limited due to an illness or disability.

To qualify for this extension, the parent in a one-parent family or both parents in a
two-parent family must not have been sanctioned for at least ten out of the 12
months before reaching the 60-month time limit, including the 60th month.

Accrued months. Some families are eligible for an extension equal to the number
of months that they met certain criteria during their first 60 months on MFIP:

If a participant was exempt from the employment and training requirements
during the first 60 months because the person was needed in the home to
care for a household member who meets specified medical or disability
criteria, the participant is eligible for an extension equalto the number of
months the participant was exempt for this reason.

~ If a participant was exempt from the state time limit during the first 60
months, but the months were counted toward the federal 60-month limit, the
participant is eligible for an extension equal to the number ofmonths the
participant was exempt from the state time limit.

In addition to MFIP extensions, there are a number of programs (e.g., Food
Stamps, MinnesotaCare) that may be available to MFIP families that reach the 60- I

month limit. Eligibility requirements of each program vary.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication The 60-Month Time Limit on TANF Assistance, January 2002.
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What is Minnesota
taxable income
(MTI)?

Minnesota Taxable Income

Minnesota taxable income is the tax base used to calculate Minnesota income tax
liability. Minnesota taxable income equals federal taxable income after Minnesota
subtractions and additions.

Federal
Taxable
Income (FTI)

Minnesota
+ additions

Minnesota Minnesota
subtractions = taxable

Income
(MTI)

What are
Minnesota
additions to taxable
income?

What subtractions
does Minnesota
allowfrom taxable
income?

Minnesota requires the following additions to federal taxable income:

• State income tax deduction. Filers who claimed a federal itemized
deduction for state income taxes paid must add that amount back into
Minnesota taxable income. Taxpayers making this addition are always
allowed to claim at least the full standard deduction.

• Bond interest and mutual fund interest dividends paid by non-Minnesota
state and local governments. The federal government does not tax state and
local bond interest. Minnesota does not tax Minnesota state and local bond
interest, but does tax interest on bonds ofother states and their local
governments.

• Expenses relating to income not taxed by Minnesota. These are mainly
expenses deducted at the federal level and attributable to U.S. bond interest
income, which is excluded from Minnesota taxable income.

• Capital gain portion of a lump-sum distribution from a qualified retirement
plan

Minnesota allows the following subtractions from federal taxable income. The
estimated cost ofmost subtractions is taken from the Department ofRevenue's Tax
Expenditure Budgetfor 2002-2005. Revenue estimates made during the 2003
legislative session will differ from the Tax Expenditure Budget because they will
be based on a more recent economic forecast.

• State income tax refund (filers who claimed federal itemized deductions
only). The federal income tax allows a deduction for state income taxes.
Minnesota requires filers to add back the amount deducted, and allows a
subtraction for amounts refunded in order to avoid twice taxing the same
mcome.



• Subtractions required by federal law
o U.S. bond interest
o Railroad retirement benefits
o On-reservation earnings of enrolled tribal members.

Federal law prohibits state taxation of these three types of income.
• K-12 dependent education expenses ($17.5 million in fiscal year 2003).

The deduction applies to school-related expenses, including tuition,
textbooks, academic tutoring and camps, and instructional materials and
supplies. The maximum deduction is $1,625 for each child in grades K-6,
and $2,500 for each child in grades 7-12.

• 50 percent of charitable contributions in excess of $500 ($4.4 million in
fiscal year 2003). Allowed only for filers who do not claim federal
itemized deductions-those who itemize have already deducted their
charitable contributions in computing federal taxable income.

• Minnesota elderly/disabled exclusion ($1.7 million in fiscal year 2003).
An exclusion of up to $12,000 is allowed for low-income elderly and
disabled filers with low amounts of Social Security and nontaxable
penSIOns.

• Foreign subnational income taxes. Taxpayers subject to a foreign
subnational income tax may subtract the amount of tax paid to the foreign
governmental unit, to the extent the taxpayer did not use the subnational
taxes to claim the federal foreign tax credit.

• Minnesota Youth Works benefits (minimal cost in fiscal year 2003).
This subtraction applies to Minnesota Youth Works post-service benefits,
such as tuition reimbursement or student loan payments. Minnesota Youth
Works is a community service program. The state discontinued funding for
post-service benefits in 2002, so this subtraction will become obsolete once
current post-service benefit recipients receive the full amount ofbenefits
for which they're eligible.

• Gain on sale of farm property for insolvent taxpayers ($100,000 in
fiscal year 2003). This subtraction is allowed for taxpayers who use the
proceeds of the sale of a farm to payoff a mortgage, contract for deed, or
lien on the property.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 orJoel Michael at 651­
296-5057. Also see the House Research publications Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, October
2002; and Minnesota's Elderly Exclusion (web only) at www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/tx_inc.htm.
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What is child care
assistance?

What are the
eligibility
requirements for
child care
assistance?

Jnzat is the average
annual subsidy a
family receives?

Are families
required to pay for
some child care
expenses?

How is child care
assistance funded?

Child Care, Assistance

Child care assistance programs subsidize the child care expenses of eligible low­
income families. Minnesota administers two child care assistance programs,
Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) child care assistance and Basic
Sliding Fee (BSF) child care assistance. MFIP child care subsidizes the child
care costs of families receiving cash assistance through MFIP and provides child
care assistance for eligible families for the first 12 months after the family leaves
MFIP cash assistance (transition year child care). BSF child care provides a
child care subsidy to low-income working; families who are not receiving cash'
assistance from MFIP.

To be eligible for child care assistance, both parents (or one parent in single­
parent households) must participate in an authorized work, education, or training

, activity, cooperate with child support enforcement, and meet income eligibility
guidelines. T~e maximum income limit to be ,eligible for child care assistance is
175 percent of the federal poverty guidelines at program entry and 250 percent
or less of the federal poverty guidelines at program exit.

Children up to age' 13 are eligible for child care assistance (up to age 15 for
disabled children).

County agencies or their contractors must determine eligibility within 30 days of
receiving a request for child care assistance. Direct reimbursement is the only
method of receiving child care assistance.

In fiscal year 2003, the estimated average annual subsidy for a family receiving
MFIP child care assistance was $8,730, and the estimated average annual
subsidy for a family receiving BSF child care assistance was $7,019.

The maximum reimbursement rate for child care assistance is capped at the '75th

percentile of the cost of similar care in each county, based on a survey of
providers.

There is a family co-payIhehtrequirement based on family size' and incotn~~ ,
The maximum family co-payment is about 22 percent of gross monthly income.
Families with incomes below 75 percent of the federal poverty level are exempt
from making co-payments.

The child care assistance programs receive funding from a variety of sources,
including: the federal Child Care Development Fund (CCDF), federal
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) funds, the state general fund,
state special revenue fund, and county funds.

II I.
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/{ow many families
receive child care
assistance?

What are some
potential legislative
issues?

During fiscal year 2003, there were an estimated average of 13,480 families
receiving MFIP and transition year child care assistance and 14,183 families
receiving BSF child care assistance per quarter.

Not all families who apply for child care assistance receive it. MFIP child care
is a forecasted, fully funded program, while BSF child care receives a capped
allocation. As ofApril 30, 2003, there were 5,722 families on the waiting list
for BSF child care assistance.

During the 2001 legislative session, there were several proposals to consolidate
the child care assistance programs into one program to reduce administrative and
program complexity. However, none of these proposals were passed by the
legislature. There may be future attempts to consolidate the child care assistance
programs.

The 2003 Legislature made several changes to the child care assistance program~

including reducing the income eligibility level, repealing the At-home Infant
Care program, freezing maximum provider reimbursement rates, and repealing
accreditation bonuses. These issues may be revisited in future legislative
sessions.

The BSF waiting list has grown substantially over the past 18 to 24 months. As
ofApril 30, 2003, there were more than 5,700 families waiting for child care
assistance. The legislature has increased BSF funding allocations in the past in
attempts to eliminate the waiting list; however, the need for a waiting list always
returns.

For more information: See the House Research publication Funding to Support Child Care Assistance,
july 2003.,,
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Financial Aid for Higher Education:
Minnesota State Grant Program

What is the
state grant
program?

Who is
eligible for a
state grant?

How much
aid is
available
through the
state grant?

Are part-time
students and
independent
students
eligible?

Minnesota's state grant program provides financial aid to Minnesota undergraduates to
attend a public or private post-secondary institution located in Minnesota. The Higher·
Education Services Office (HESO) administers the state grant program along with other
financial aid programs.

Each term, students must apply for a state grant by the deadline of 14 days after the start of
the term. An eligible student must be a Minnesota resident who is a high school graduate
or age 17 or older and able to meet the admission requirements of a participating post­
secondary institution. The student must have demonstrated financial need and must not be
in default on student loans or in arrears for child support.

Financial need is based on the student's ability to meet the cost of attending the selected
institution according to the standard for federal financial aid through the Pell grant
program.

State law specifies that the grant award must be based on a shared responsibility for paying
for the recognized cost of attending a post-secondary institution:

Students are required to pay 46 percent of the cost
~ The amount of any Pell grant is deducted from the cost
~ The family's responsibility for the cost is determined through the federal needs

analysis

The cost of attendance is equal to the amount of tuition and fees up to the cap set in law
plus an allowance, also set in law, for living and miscellaneous expenses. For academic
years 2003-2004 and 2004-2005, the maximum tuition and fees are $8,983 for four-year
institutions and $6,913 for two-year institutions. The living allowance for these years is set
at $5,205 per year.

Except for private and institutional scholarships, the state grant is the last contribution to
the cost of attendance. The average state grant for the 2001-2002 year was $1,763.

Part-time students are eligible for the state grant based on the cost of attendance, prorated
for the number of credits the student is taking. Independent students (generally students
who are not considered dependents for tax purposes) are eligible for the state grant
program. Independent students are responsible for a larger portion of the cost of attending
than dependent students.



How is the
state grant
program
funded?

Are eligible
students
entitled to a
state grant?

How do
grants
compare to
enrollment at
state post­
secondary
institutions?

The legislature appropriates money from the general fund to HESO for the state grant
program, based on HESO's estimate of the amount needed to fully fund grant awards.
State law allows HESO to carry a balance from the first year of the biennium to the second
year and authorizes the transfer of money to other financial aid programs, and from the
tuition reciprocity program. Any balance remaining at the end of the biennium must cancel
to the general fund. For several funding cycles, the grant program canceled money to the
general fund. For fiscal year 2003, the legislature appropriated and authorized the transfer
of additional money to cover projected shortages in the state grant program. In addition,
HESO established an application deadline for the 2002-2003 academic year to avoid
prorating grant awards.

The state grant program is not an entitlement under state law, which requires HESO to
award grants based on available funding. If the appropriations are insufficient for full
awards, HESO must reduce all awards by adding a surcharge to the family responsibility
and increasing the student's responsibility by a percentage.

The graph below summarizes participation in the state grant program in fiscal year 2002.
Of the 207,000 undergraduate students attending Minnesota public post-secondary
institutions and private four-year colleges, 31 percent received a state grant.*

The percentage of resident students at private institutions who receive a grant is much
larger (57 percent) than at public four-year institutions (30 percent for state universities and
29 percent for the University of Minnesota). The total amount of grant dollars awarded to
students at private institutions is also larger. Of the $126 million in grants in fiscal year
2002, 42 percent went to students at private four-year colleges compared to 32 percent to
students at public four-year universities (state universities and the University of
Minnesota).

Participation in State Grant Program
2001·2002
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253.

• Enrollment statistics exclude undergraduates attending private career schools due to incomplete reporting.
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What is post­
secondary
tuition
reciprocity?

Who is eligible
to participate?

What tuition
rates do
students pay?

Tuition Reciprocity Program

This program lowers the amount of tuition a student pays to attend a public ,college or
university in participating states. Minnesota law authorizes the Higher Education
Services Office (HESO) to enter into reciprpcity agreements with other states to provide
reduced tuition for nonresident students. Participating students pay less than the
nonresident tuition rate, but do not necessarily pay the in-state tuition rate.

Minnesota has tuition reciprocity agreements with North Dakota, South Dakota, and
Wisconsin covering all public post-secondary institutions. Minnesota has limited
agreements with Iowa (covering one institution.in each state) and Manitoba (covering
all Minnesota institutions and five universities and one college in Manitoba).

,
Students who live in a participating' state and enroll in two-year, baccalaureate,
graduate, or professional programs in one of the other participating states are eligible
for reciprocity. Most professional programs are included in the program (the
MinnesotalWisconsin agreement excludes medicine, veterinary medicine, and
dentistry).

Students first apply to a college or university in a reciprocity state and then apply for
reciprocity to the administering ag~ncy in their home state-HESO for Minnesota
students. Application fOf reciprocity 'can be made until the last day of the academic
term. The reciprocity program does not limit the number of participating students.
Reciprocity benefits automatically renew for subsequent academic terms.

The terms of the agreements, modified by annual memorandums of understanding,
govern undergraduate, graduate, and professional reciprocity tuition rates. Agreements
are approved by post-secondary governing boards-in Minnesota, the Minnesota State
Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) Board of Trustees, and the University ofMinnesota
Board ofRegents. The annual memorandums are negotiated by HESO and the other
state administrative agencies.

The most common tuition rate structures are:

in-state tuition at a comparable institution in the student's home state
(Minnesota/Wisconsin agreement and Minnesota students enrolled in South
Dakota)

.' ih-state tuition at the institution the student attends (North Dakota and'St)uth
Dakota students enrolled in Minnesota)
an in-state tuition rate multiplied by a factor to adjust for tuition differences
(Wisconsin students attending the U of M Twin Cities campus, Minnesota
students attending certain North Dakota institutions, and South Dakota students
attending Minnesota community colleges)

In addition to tuition, most students pay the fees charged by the institution they attend
(only the South Dakota agreement covers tuition and fees).

" ,
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Does the
reciprocity
program cost
the state?

How many
students
participate in
the program?

The state pays for the reciprocity program in two ways:

state aid payments to MnSCU and the University of Minnesota include
reciprocity students (nonresident, nonreciprocity students are excluded from
the aid calculation); and
general fund appropriations for payments to other states, if required, under the
formulas in the agreements.

The state appropriated $7.2 million for fiscal years 2003-2004 for ,reciprocity payments
to other states based on estimates of funding needs.

Students from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin account for
most of reciprocity participants. In 2001-2002, 20,240 students from Minnesota
participated in tuition reciprocity and 16,820 students attended Minnesota institutions
under the program.

Minnesota Students
Attending in Other States

Students from Other States
Attending in Minnesota

North Dakota
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Wisconsin 12,365 9,360
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The following map marks the location of campuses that undergraduate reciprocity
students attended in 2001-2002 in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, and
Wisconsin.
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What schools
do reciprocity
students
attend?

• 2-year Colleges

o 4-year Colleges

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253.
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The Pros and Cons of Recreational Fees

Fees for certain types of recreational pursuits, beyond general state tax revenue, have been around for some
time (e.g., boat and recreational vehicle fees, cross-country skiing licenses). As the state has entered a period
of general fund budget deficits, the debate over new or increased public recreational fees has accelerated.
This short subject touches on the major pros and cons identified in the literature on recreational fees.

Pros

Cons

• Fees can allow certain recreational facilities to be self-supporting, or at
least attempt to provide for adequate maintenance and operation.

• If facility operation and maintenance is suffering in a given time period,
fees can be raised to ensure self-sufficiency.

• When the overall economy is down, leading to general revenue shortfalls
and state budget deficits, fees for state services keep these programs going.

• Fees can provide flexibility in the overall funding mix of state services.

• Fees can allow citizens to make choices on whether they want the state
service offered, or help determine how much it may be monetarily worth to
them.

• Fees promote equity by charging recreational users; nonusers do not have
to pay as much for something they don't use.

• Fees can be recreationally broad-based, or individual and specific, based on
the recreational service offered.

• Public land, where recreational fees take place, is owned by the public,
generally purchased by general tax revenue, and is meant to be enjoyed by
all, regardless of ability to pay.

• General taxes purchase public recreational lands, generally pay for public
employees management, so another fee/tax shouldn't be charged to enjoy
their use.

• Recreational fees may cause state agencies to begin to favor higher fee
services, rather than more equitable, traditional low-fee services.

• In the case of long-standing budget shortfalls, recreational managers may
succumb to higher fee activities that change the whole nature of a
recreational area (i.e., allowing golf in a wilderness park area).

• Recreational user fees constitute a regressive system because as the fees
become higher, the percentage ofpopulation that can afford them become
lower and there· are more nonusers subsidizing users.

• Public recreation enables people to participate who might not do so



otherwise. If recreational managers go to self-funding through fees, pricing
low-income people out ofparticipating, the public purpose for ownership is
defeated.

• Recreational fees can create an incentive for a public agency to make
resource decisions based on increasing the number ofvisitors to
recreational land, not based on the carrying capacity or what is best for the
land and its natural resources.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Helland at 651-296-5039.
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Child Care Assistance for Post-Secondary Students

Does the state
subsidize child care
costs for students in
higher education?

Who is eligible for
the HESO child
care assistance
grant?

Are all post­
secondary
institutions part of
the grant program?

What is the size of
the grant award?

The child care grant program is one of the financial aid programs funded by the
state and administered by the Higher Education Services Office (HESO). Its
purpose is to reduce the child care costs for higher education students. The
availability of child care assistance depends, in part, on the level of funding
provided by the legislature.

To be eligible for a child care grant, a student must:

~ be a resident Minnesota undergraduate enrolled at least half-time in a
nonsectarian program leading to an undergraduate degree, diploma, or
certificate at an eligible institution;

~ have one or more children age 12 or under who receive regular care from a
licensed or legal nonlicensed childcare provider;

~ have had less than five years of full-time post-secondary education;
~ meet the income guidelines that provide the maximum grant amount to

families with incomes at or below 130 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines adjusted for family size ($15,000 for a two-person family);

~ have demonstrated financial need; and
~ not receive tuition reciprocity or assistance through the Minnesota Family

Investment Program (MFIP).

For-profit institutions are not eligible to participate. State law limits the child care
grant program to Minnesota institutions that are:

~ public post-secondary colleges and universities;
~ private four-year colleges and universities; and
~ nonprofit, degree-granting vocational-technical institutions.

Schools must sign an agreement with HESO to be part of the program.

The maximum grant is set in statute at $2,200 per student for a nine-month grant.
A student may also receive a separate summer grant. The actual grant award
depends on the availability of appropriations, the student's income, number of
children, child care costs, and financial need.

The average child care grant in 2001-2002 was $1,956. In fiscal year 2003, it was
$1,146.



What are the trends
in funding and
participation for the
child care grant
program?

Appropriations over the last five years have been stable at about $4.7 million per
year with the exception of fiscal year 2003 when $3.6 million of the appropriation
was transferred to the state grant program. Student participation peaked in 2000­
2001 when 2,736 students received grants. The legislature increased the maximum
grant from $1,500 in 1994-1995 to $2,600 beginning with the 2001-2002 school
year and decreased it to $2,200 beginning with fiscal year 2003.

Trends in Child Care Grant Program

Year
99-00
00-01

01-02*
02-03**

03-04
04-05

Maximum
Award
$2,000
$2,000
$2,600
$2,600
$2,200
$2,200

Appropriation
$4,710,000
$4,710,000
$4,743,000
$1,113,000
$4,743,000
$4,743,000

Number of
Students

2,659
2,736
2,429

932

Average
Award
$1,501
$1,618
$1,956
$1,146

Are post-secondary
students eligible for
other types ofchild
care assistance?

* FY 02 expenditures exceeded appropriations because of carryforward
** $3.6 million of the $4.74 million of the FY 03 appropriation transferred to state grant
program

Higher education students with children may be eligible for the Basic Sliding Fee
(BSF) child care assistance program administered by the Department ofHuman
Services. Students who meet the income and other criteria are eligible, on a space­
available basis, in the county where they live.

Students are not required to work to receive BSF assistance but must be enrolled in
a course of study approved by the county. Students who need child care assistance
for both employment and school must work at least ten hours per week at a wage at
least equal to the minimum wage.

Many more families are eligible for BSF assistance than can be served with the
state and federal appropriations. Students tend to be a lower priority for assistance
than working families.

The two child care assistance programs have been funded through different
legislative committees. The committee with responsibility for higher education
appropriates money for the HESO grant program, but does not fund the BSF
program. BSF received a general fund appropriation of$27.6 million for fiscal
year 2004.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I st. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Governing Higher Education in Minnesota:
Public Post-Secondary Systems and Agencies

Minnesota's public
post-secondary
systems and
agencies

Governing the
Minnesota State
Colleges and
Universities

Minnesota has two public post-secondary systems:

• The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) system has
seven four-year universities and 30 two-year colleges located throughout
Minnesota. MnSCU institutions provide occupational, general,
baccalaureate, and graduate education. The MnSCU system office-the
office of the chancellor-is in St. Paul.

• The University of Minnesota is a major research institution with four
campuses providing undergraduate, graduate, and professional education.
The main campus and central administration are in the Twin Cities.

The Higher Education Services Office is a state agency responsible for post­
secondary financial aid and other assistance programs, data and information, and
registration and licensing of private post-secondary institutions.

Minnesota Law. MnSCU is established in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 136F. In
1991, the legislature created MnSCU through the merger of the state universities,
the community colleges, and the technical colleges. Minnesota Statutes:

• establish a IS-member board of trustees to govern MnSCU
• specify the board's powers to manage MnSCU, its assets, and institutions;
• designate the specific colleges and universities in the MnSCU system;
• require legislation to create any new MnSCU institution or location;
• authorize the colleges and universities to operate specific enterprises; and
• require the board to recognize statewide student associations.

Board of Trustees. Under state law, the governor appoints 15 trustees with the
advice and consent of the Senate. Eight members of the board must reside in the
state's eight congressional districts, one in each district. Three members must be
MnSCU students or recent graduates. Trustees serve staggered six-year terms.
Trustee candidates are recruited and screened by the Trustee Advisory Council,
established in state law. The council makes its recommendations to the governor.

Minnesota Statutes give the board of trustees all the power necessary to govern
MnSCU, unless otherwise directed or prohibited in law. The board is responsible
for appointing a chancellor with the authority to perform duties the board delegates.
Minnesota law can put conditions on state appropriations for MnSCU.



Governing the
University of
Minnesota

Higher Education
jlervices lJfj7ce

University Charter, Minnesota Constitution. The territorial legislature
established the University of Minnesota in 1851 with a l2-member board of regents
to govern the university. The Minnesota Constitution incorporates the university
charter by continuing all of the "rights, immunities, franchises and endowments"
previously conferred to the university.

Board of Regents. As required by the constitution, the legislature elects 12 regents
to staggered six-year terms. The governor may appoint a regent to fill a vacancy,
including a vacancy created by the failure of the legislature to elect regents. A
governor's appointment serves until the legislature elects a replacement. Regent
candidates are recruited and screened by the Regent Advisory Council, established
in state law. The council makes its recommendations to the legislature. The regents
have the power to manage the university and all four of its campuses. The charter
gives the board the responsibility to choose the head of the university.

Minnesota Law. Minnesota Statutes specify that eight regents must be elected to
represent each of the congressional districts, one per district, and one at-large regent
must be a student when elected. The statutes specifically provide authority for the
regents to: exercise eminent domain, accept federal money, control the permanent
university fund, and establish a nonresidential branch in Rochester. State law
prohibits the regents from allowing expenditures for a purpose beyond the amount
appropriated. State law also may put conditions on the university appropriations, if
the conditions don't violate the university's constitutional autonomy.

Minnesota Law. Minnesota Statutes create the Higher Education Services Office
(HESO). The governance structure of the office was changed by the 2003
Legislature. By December 30, 2003, the office will be under the administrative
control of a director appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the
Senate. The statutes also establish two advisory councils.

Advisory Councils. The statutes direct the governor to appoint a nine-member
higher education services council to advise the office, the governor, and the
legislature. The governor must appoint one member who is a full-time post­
secondary student in Minnesota and the governor must consider the geographic,
gender, and ethnic diversity and political affiliation of the council. The statutes also
establish a higher education advisory council (HEAC) consisting of a representative
of the University of Minnesota, the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, the
Department of Education, the private colleges council, and the association ofprivate
post-secondary schools. The 2003 legislation added a representative of the governor
to HEAC. HEAC reviews the recommendations of the advisory council and brings
higher education matters to the attention of the council.

Director of HESO. The director serves at the pleasure of the governor and has
administrative control over the office.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Charitable. Gambling

Nonprofit organizations can conduct gambling to raise money for "lawful purposes" with a license
from the Lawful Gambling Control Board. '

, "

Who may conduct
gambling?

What kinds of
games are allowed?

Who regulates
charitable
gambling?

What can gambling
proceeds be spent
for?

A charitable, religious, veterans, or other nonprofit organization may be licensed
to conduct charitable gambling if it has at least 15 active members and has been
in existence for at least three years. 'About l,500 Minnesota organizations are
licensed to conduct gambling at about 3,500 different locations.

Licensed organizations may conduct bingo, raffles, and tipboards, sell pull-tabs,
and operate paddlewheels. ,

I,

Charitable gambling is regulated by the seven-member Lawful Gambling
Control Board. It licenses organizations and gambling managers and makes
rules for the conduct of gambling. It also regulates bingo halls and the

" distributors and manufacturers of gambling equipment.
I

Gross gambling profits (gross receipts less prizes) can only be spent for
gambling expenses and lawful purposes.

1

Gambling expenses are all expenses directly related to the conduct of gambling.
Examples are gambling supplies, rent, license fees, and wages of gambling
workers. Expenses are limited to 70 percent of gross profits for bingo and 55
percent for other gambling.

Gross profit not spent for expenses (net profit) can only be spent for lawful
purposes:

~ Expenditure by or contribution to a ~ Contributions to or expenditures by a
501(c)(3) organization religious institution

~ Contributions to relieve poverty, ~ Snowmobiles and ATV trails and
disability, or homelessness wildlife management projects

~ Compulsive gambling treatment ~ Up to one-half the cost of gambling
audits

, ~ I Scholarships and ,contributi.ous ~o' d I", ~ Food shelves and, di~ing prograIljlS 1.1' ' I'

educational institutions primarily for older persons

~ Recognition of humanitarian or military ~ Community arts organizations and
service programs

~ Recreational and athletic facilities ~ Utilities for veterans' organization
primarily for young people buildings

~ Property taxes on gambling premises up ~ Recognition dinners for veterans, up to
to $35,000 annually $5,000 per organization annually

~ Contributions to government

Net profits can also be spent to pay state, federal, and local taxes on gambling.

lit,

1 '

I. t ,

IV'"



What are the rules
\

for charitable
gambling?

Are there prize
limits for charitable
gambling?

What taxes apply to
charitable
gambling?

What gambling is
exemptfrom
licensing?

The major rules that apply to all gambling are:

• Gambling must be supervised by a gambling manager appointed by the
organization

• Players must be at least 18 years old
• Players can't use checks or play on credit (except checks for raffle tickets)
• Odds and house rules must be posted on the premises
• Gambling workers must be registered with the board and may not gamble

on days they are working

Prize limits are:

• Bingo, $200 per game and $2,500 for most bingo occasions
• Single pull-tab, $599
• Raffles, maximum cash prize per day, $12,000
• Single paddlewheel prize, $70
• Largest tipboard prize, $500

The state imposes taxes on charitable gambling in lieu of sales taxes:

• Bingo, paddlewheels, and raffles, 8.5 percent of gross profit
• Pull-tabs and tipboards, 1.7 percent of "ideal gross" (potential gross

receipts from all tickets i~ a package, with a refund for unsold tickets)
• Pull-tabs and tipboards, additional "combined receipts tax" of 1.7 percent

to 5.1 percent of gross receipts, depending on the organization's annual
receipts

Organizations do not have to obtain a license for:

Gambling conducted for five or fewer days a year with total prizes not
exceeding $50,000

• Bingo conducted at fairs for up to 12 days a year
• Raffles with a prize ofnot more than $7,500

Exempt organizations must register with the board and follow state law on
spending net profits.

Charitable Gambling Statistics

Charitable Gambling Gross Receipts
1997-2002

Spending of Gross' Profit 2002
($259 million)

g $1,550 ~----------------
<:g $1,500 +---------

I ~ $1,450 -1-------
'":e. $1,400 +----
OJ

I; ~ $1,350
~ $1,300
Q

~ $1,250
1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002

Expenses
51%

State
Taxes
22%

Lawful
Purposes

27%

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045. Also see the House
Research Publication Charitable Gambling in Minnesota, August 2003.
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnesota's Probation Delivery and Funding System

What is probation?

What is supervised
release?

What is conditional
release?

How are probation
services provided
and how are they
funded?

Probation is a court-ordered sanction imposed upon an offender for a period of
supervision no greater than that set by statute. It is imposed as an alternative to
confinement or in conjunction with confinement or other sanctions. The purpose
ofprobation is to deter further criminal behavior, punish the offender, help provide
reparation to crime victims and their communities, and provide offenders with
opportunities for rehabilitation. The court, with input from probation officers,
establishes conditions the offender must obey while on probation. If those
conditions are violated, the court may revoke probation and confine the person in a
local or state correctional facility.

Supervised release is a period ofmandatory community supervision following the
end of the term of imprisonment for offenders committed to the custody of the
Commissioner of Corrections for offenses occurring on or after May 1, 1980. For
offenders committed to the commissioner's custody on or after August 1, 1993, the
period of supervised release is one-third of the total executed sentenc~ pronounced
by the court, minus any disciplinary time imposed on the offender in prison. The
Commissioner of Corrections establishes conditions, which the offender must obey
during supervised release. If those conditions are violated, the commissioner may
revoke the supervised release and return the offender to prison for a period oftime
not to exceed the length of time left on the sentence.

Since May 1, 1980, Minnesota no longer has a parole system where a parole board
reviews each particular case to determine whether a particular offender should be
released from prison. Under Minnesota law, the person is subject to a set
imprisonment period, followed by supervised release.

The term "conditional release" is used in several places in Minnesota law and
means different things in different places. Most commonly, conditional release is a
period of community supervision imposed on sex offenders to ensure that the
offender is under supervision for at least a minimum amount of time. In other
contexts, the term "conditional release" is used to refer to all types of release,
including probation, supervised release, and pretrial release. And, in some
contexts, the term "conditional release" is used interchangeably with the term
"pretrial release."

Minnesota has three delivery systems for providing probation and supervised
release services: Community Corrections Act (CCA) counties, Department of
Corrections-County Probation Officer (DOC-CPO) counties, and Department of
Corrections (DOC) counties (i.e., counties that contract with the DOC for
services).



CCA Counties. Thirty-one counties participate in the Minnesota Community
Corrections Act and provide probation and supervised release services to all of
their adult and juvenile offenders. Together, these counties supervise 74 percent of
the state's offenders. The DOC must approve a comprehensive CCA plan for
counties to operate as CCA counties, but once it does, counties have considerable
flexibility in deciding the types of services to provide. Counties participating in
the CCAmay develop, implement, and operate community-based corrections '
programs including preventive Of diversionary correctional programs, conditional
release programs, community correctIons centers, and facilities for the dete~tion or
confinement and treatment ofpersons convicted of a crime or adjudicated
delinquent. Employees of community.,.based corrections programs report to the
chief executive officer or designee of the programs.

The funding for counties participating in the CCA varies by jurisdiction. Services
are paid for through a combination of state appropriations allocated according to a
predetermined formula and county and other funds.

DOC-CPO Counties. In 29 counties, supervision of offenders is split between the
DOC and county probation officers. In these counties, the DOC supervises all
felony-level offenders. These counties contract with the state for these services
and reimburse the state for 100 percent of the supervision costs.

County probation officers supervise the remaining offenders, which are all
misdemeanant and juvenile offenders. The state provides up to 50 percent of the
funding for probation officer salary and benefits for supervision of these offenders.
In general, the county board appoints county probation officers in these counties,
but the court may appoint officers in some situations. The county board also may
purchase additional services.

DOC-CPO counties supervise 13 percent of the state's offenders.

DOC Counties. The DOC provides all probation services (felony, misdemeanant,
and juvenile) in 27 counties, pursuant to contracts with the counties. (Given that
the DOC also supervises felons in 29 DOC-CPO counties, the DOC provides
felony-level supervision in 566fthe state's 87 counties.) The DOC supervises 13
percent of offenders under this model.

In those counties where the DOC supervises all offenders, the entire amount is
funded by a direct state appropriation, with the DOC receiving 100 percent
reimbursement for supervising these offenders.

I '

For more information: Contact legislative analys~ Judi~ Zollar at 651-296-1554.
j II' I II',
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"60-Day Rule"
Time Deadline for Agency Action

What is the "60-day
rule"?

Who does it apply
to?

What requests does
it apply to?

I'

In 1995, the legislature enacted Minnesota Statutes, section 15.99, commonly
referred to as "the 60-day rule." The 60-day rule requires governmental entities to
approve or deny a written request for certain actions within 60 days or the request
is approved.

More specifically, "failure of an agency to deny a request within 60 days is
approval of the request. If an agency denies the request, it must state in writing the
reasons for the denial at the time that it denies the request." Minn. Stat. § 15.99,
subd.2.

The law applies to the following, all defined as "agencies" (Minn. Stat. § 15.99,
subd. 1):

• a department, agency, board, commission, or other group in the executive
branch of state government; . .

• a statutory or home rule charter city, county,town, or school district;
• any metropolitan agency or regional entity; and
• any other political subdivision of the state.

n applies to "a written request relating to zoning, septic systems, or expansion of
the metropolitan urban service area for a permit, license, or other governmental
approval of an action." Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. 2.

A "request" is a written application on a form provided by the a:gency, if a form
exists. A request not on an agency's form must include all information required by
the agency and it must identify clearly on the first page the specific permit, license,
or other governmental approval being sought.

Recently, the Minnesota Court ofAppeals held that it does not apply to building
permit requests. Advantage Capital Mgmt. v. City ofNorthfield, 664 N.W.2d 421
(Minn. App. 2003). The law does not apply to the subdivision regulation review
process or the plat review process for requests made on or after June 1,2003.

In an unpublished opinion (and therefore without precedential value), the
Minnesota Court of Appeals determined that "other governmental action" did not
apply to actions with a statewide effect, and therefore the 60-day rule did not
apply. In the matter ofSystem Designation ofMulti-Flo Wisconsin Aerobic
Treatment Units, CO-01-823, 2001 WL 1665410,2001 Lexis 1425 (Minn. App.,
Dec. 21, 2001) (request for approval of a septic system as a standard under state
agency rules).



""'r· "

When does the time
begin to run?

Are extensions
allowed?

What constitutes
approval or denial
ofa request?

The 60 days begins to run when the agency receives a complete application. The
60 days begins again upon reyeipt of a complete amended application. Tollefson
Dev. Co. v. City ofElk River, 665 N.W.2d '554 (Minn. App. 2003). The application
fee, if any, is one of the items that must be paid before an application is complete.
The agency has J 5 business days after receiving any part of an application to
inform' an applicant in,writing that the application is missing some required
element. Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. 3 (a). If more than one state agency in the
executiv~ branch must approv~ ~r deny the application, the 60 days runs beginning
when the first one receives the complete application and it is up to that agency to
make sure all other agencies get copIes of the application. MilU}. Stat.,§ 15.,99,
subd. 3 (b).

An agency may extend the review period by up to 60 days if it provides the
applicant written notice of and reasons for the extension before the end of the
initial 60 days. Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. (t). The notice of extension must be
made after the complete application is submitted and the initial 60 days has begun
to run. American Tower, L.P. v. City ofGrant, 636 N.W.2d 309,313 (Minn.
2001). An agency does not have to have extenuating circumstances to extend the
review time; it is enough that the agency needs more time. ld. at 314.

I,

The law also takes into account other proce~dings or federal law requirements that
may delay the beginning ofthe 60-day period. Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. 3 (d), (e).

An applicant tIl;ay request an extension oftime in writing.

Approval. A request can be approved by the agency in its customary manner or by
failing to deny the request within the 60-day period.

Denial by an agency with a multimember governing body. For requests made on or
after June 1,2003, a multimember governing body may deny a request by:

" adoption of a resolution or motion to deny the request, or
• failure of a resolution or motion to approve a request.

The, governing body must provide its reason for denial on the record at the time of I

the vote on the resolution or motion. It must also provide a written statement of
-reasons for the denial to the applicant before the expiration of the time allowed for
a decision. The written statement must be consistent with the reasons stated ,at the
time of decision.

Denial by other agencies. If an agency other than one with a multimember
. govyrningbody 4enjes"a;q~q4:~§hjtIl]V~t,statein writing the re~~on~ for tq.e,pe~ial""

at the time it denies the request.

1 '

I' I

."~ ,

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah A. Dyson at 651-296-8291.
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MFIP Cases Reaching the 60-Month Time Limit

In 1996, the federal government reformed the welfare system with the Personal Responsibility and
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act. Included in the reform are 60-month time limited benefits. The
first cases reached these limits last summer. This short subject summarizes data provided by the
Minnesota Department ofHuman Services about the cases that have reached the time limit.

Cases reaching the
60-month time limit

Who they are

Where they live

As of July 2003,3,785 Minnesota cases reached their 60-month time limit on or
before that month.

• 1,787 were subsequently closed and ineligible for Minnesota Family
Investment Program (MFIP) in July 2003

• 1,596 were granted an extension and received a cash portion ofthe grant.
• 402 were suspended cases, child-only cases, or cases receiving only the

food portion ofMFIP

Families reaching the 60-month time limit are more likely to be:
• Nonwhite
• In larger families
• Older parents
• Less educated
• With children on Supplemental Security Income (SSn

Families living in Hennepin, Ramsey, and St. Louis counties make up 80.5
percent of all cases that reached their 60-month time limit and 77.3 percent of all
closed cases as of July 2003.

MFIP Cases That Have Reached the 60-Month Time Limit Through July 2003

State total: 3,785
Hennepin County: 1.572
7 counties: 0

Number of fIIFIPeases
that have reached the
60-month til1'19limlt.
through July 2003
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Cases at risk of
reaching the 60­
month time limit by
April 2004

There are 2,728 cases at risk ofreaching the 60-month time limit by April 2004
(data through July 2003).

• 76.0 percent live in five counties within the state: Hennepin, Ramsey,
St. Louis, Anoka, and Dakota

• 64.2 percent currently live in Hennepin or Ramsey County

Additional MFIP Cases at Risk of Reaching the 60-month Time Limit by April 2004

Number of MFIP cases
at risk ofreaching60-month
time limit, August 2003
to April 2004 (as of JUly 2003)

D 1-25

26-100

Over 100

No cases.at risk
ofreaching lim it

State total: 2,728
Hennepin County: 1,050
9 cOunties: 0

The data is from the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS). Parents at risk of reaching
the 60-month time limit include all cases eligible since August 1997. These are the number of cases
that have used 51 or more months oftheir 60-month limit as of July 2003. This does not include any
families that migrate into the state in future months with prior Temporary Assistance to Needy Families
(TANF) months that will be counted toward the 60-month limit. The cases at risk of reaching the 60­
month time limit are likely greater than the number of families that will reach the limit. Some of these
families will leave welfare without using up all of their eligibility. Some parents may receive
extensions. Still other parents will move into or leave the state. Parents entering the state may reach
their welfare 60-month limit before April 2004. The numbers for July 2003 are estimates.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Don Hirasuna at 651-296-8038. Also see the House
Research publications Identifying Who Might Be Subject to the 60-Month Time Limit, November 1999;
TANF Background, January 2001; The 60-Month Time Limit on TANF Assistance, January 2002; Factors
Contributing to Longer Stays on Welfare: A Literature Review, March 2002. See also the Minnesota DRS
report Welfare and the 60-Month Time Limit in Minnesota, June 2002
(http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/newsroom/facts/TimeLimit.htm).
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What is the Do Not
Call list?

How much do
telemarketers pay
for the list?

Minnesota's Do Not Call List

The Do Not Call list was established by the legislature during the 2002 session. It
is a list of residential telephone numbers submitted by consumers who do not want
to receive telemarketing calls.

Consumers can sign up for the list by conta.cting the Minnesota Department of
Commerce by telephone or on the department's web site. Anyone making or
attempting to make a telemarketing call covered by the law to a Minnesota
residential number is required to purchase an updated list once every three months,
and may not make unsolicited sales calls to the numbers appearing on the list.

What calls will not The law has several exceptions. The most significant exceptions are:
be covered by the
law? • Calls made on behalf of nonprofit or political organizations;

• Calls made by businesses to customers with whom they have an existing
business relationship; and

• Calls that are not intended to complete a sale, but only to arrange a face-to-
face meeting where the sale will be completed.

The price of each new list is $125 in 2003, and will be $90 in 2004, and $75 in
2005 and thereafter. Telemarketers must buy an updated list at least quarterly.
Consumers pay nothing to have their numbers added to the list. The list is funded
entirely by the cost to telemarketers of purchasing copies of the list.

What else is covered The bill also requires telemarketers to identify themselves to consumers at the
under the bill? beginning of call and prohibits them from disabling a consumer's use of Caller ill.

What is the
relationship
between the
Minnesota list and
the newfederal list?

In the summer of2003, the Federal Trade Commission established the National Do
Not Call Registry, which operates similarly to the state list, but has somewhat
fewer exceptions. Consumers can sign up for the federal list by calling 1-888-382­
1222, or can do so online at donotcall.gov. In order to register online, a consumer
must have a valid email address.

The federal list will be enforced beginning on October 1,2003, at which point it
will cover consumers who signed up by August 31,2003. Consumers who sign
up after September 1 will be covered by the list and should notice a reduction in
calls within three months of the time they register.



What are the
penalties for a
violation?

How does a
consumer sign up?

How does a
consumer whose
name is on the list
complain about
continuing
unsolicited calls?

Minnesota's list will be transmitted to the FTC, and all the numbers appearing on it
will automatically be added to the federal list, so consumers whose numbers are
already on the Minnesota list do not need to separately sign up for the federal list.

The state Do Not Call law is enforced by the Minnesota Department of Commerce,
which has the authority to impose a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation
by a telemarketer. The law does not contain a private right of action that would
allow an individual consumer to collect money from the telemarketer for a
violation.

Consumers can find additional information about signing up online on the
Department of Commerce's web site, www.commerce.state.mn.us. Consumers
can also sign up by calling the department at 1-800-921-4110.

Consumers can lodge complaints by calling the Department of Commerce at 651­
282-5064 or e-mailingthedepartmentatmarket.assurance@state.mn.us.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Linda Holmes at 651-296-5059.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Purpose ofrevenue
recapture

Agencies permitted
to use revenue
recapture

Debts subject to
recapture

Types ofrefunds
subject to recapture

Notice and other
procedures

Revenue Recapture Program

Revenue recapture authorizes the Department ofRevenue (DOR) to intercept or
offset part or all of a state tax refund or other payment to collect a debt that the
taxpayer owes to a government agency or other authorized creditor.

The following agencies may use the Revenue Recapture Program:
• State agencies
• University ofMinnesota
• Minnesota district courts
• Counties
• Cities for public ambulance service and public library debts
• Government-owned hospitals and Regions Hospital
• Agencies responsible for child support enforcement
• Agencies that administer low-income housing programs
• Counties, on behalf of licensed ambulance services

The debt (minimum amount of$25) must be owed to or collectable by one of the
qualifying governmental agencies. The debtor must be an individual; the law
does not apply to corporations. The creditor does not need to obtain a court
judgment or order to enforce the debt. Qualifying debts include:

• Unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties
• Contractual or statutory obligations
• Criminal fines
• Court-ordered restitution for a crime
• Child support obligations
• Overpayment ofpublic assistance
• Unpaid MinnesotaCare insurance premiums

Obligations oflow-income individuals (incomes between $9,370 and $17,710 in
2002, depending upon family size) to repay Medical Assistance cannot be
recaptured. Debts barred by the statute of limitations also cannot be recaptured.

Revenue recapture applies to:
• Individual income tax refunds
• Property tax refunds
• Sales tax rebates
• Sustainable forest tax payments
• Lottery prizes

Under revenue recapture, a claimant (creditor) agency submits the claim (debt)
to DOR for offset. Within five days after doing so, it must notify the debtor­
taxpayer in writing of the debt(s) that will be subject to revenue recapture. The
taxpayer then has 45 days to request a contested case hearing under the
Administrative Procedures Act. The claimant agency conducts the hearing.



Revenue Recapture Amounts
CY1998-2002

Number of Amount of
TaxDavers RecaDture

1998 136,726 $37,255,523
1999 270,466 81,543,352
2000 280,766 62,907,645
2001 300,093 70,471,518
2002 153,200 43,060,194
Excludes amounts offset on behalf of the
IRS to satisfy debts for taxes owed to the
federal government.
Source: DOR

Priorities among
types ofdebts

Administrative costs

Amount ofrefunds
recaptured and
types ofdebts
satisfied

When more than one debt is submitted, the debts are applied in the following
order ofpriority:

• DOR accounts receivable (e.g., unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties)
• Child support obligations
• Restitution obligations
• Other debts based on the order in which DOR received the claims

In order to use revenue recapture, the creditor (government agency) must pay a
fee of$15 per claim that is deducted from the amount recaptured. Of this $15,
$4 is set aside in a dedicated, revolving fund to pay DOR's cost of operating the
program; the rest goes to the state's general fund.

The table to the right shows the
number oftaxpayers subject to
revenue recapture and amount of
refunds offset by category for calendar
years 1998 to 2002. The number of
taxpayers increased significantly from
1999 to 2001 with the payment of
sales tax rebates. The rebates
generated tax refunds for many
individuals who normally do not
receive refunds. With the end of
rebates, the amount ofrevenue
recapture in calendar year 2002
declined significantly.

The graph shows the percentage of revenue recapture amounts for calendar years
1998 to 2002 by the four major types of debts for which the law sets priorities.

Unpaid MN Taxes
34%

Restitution
2%

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057 or Nina Manzi at 651­
296-5204.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Child Labor

What is the
minimum age for
employment?

What kinds ofwork
are prohibitedfor
minors under the
ageofl6?

Whatkinds ofwork
are prohibitedfor
all minors under
the age of18?

How many hours
maya minor under
age 16 work?

Both federal and state law generally prohibit the employment of minors under the
age of 14, with limited exceptions for special jobs such as newspaper delivery (for
which state law provides that the minor must be at least 11), work as a youth
program referee, babysitting and home chores, acting, and modeling. There are
also exceptions for some types of agricultural employment and for employment by
a parent. State law provides that the Commissioner of Labor and Industry may
grant an exemption for a particular minor ifit appears to be in the minor's best
interests.

Federa11aw generally prohibits employment of children under 16, unless (1) the
employment is by a parent in a nonhazardous occupation, or (2) the occupation is
one that the U. S. Secretary of Labor has determined not to constitute oppressive
child labor. These occupations are specified by regulations that permit 14- and 15­
year-olds to do many types of retail, food service, and clerical work, but limit their
employment in occupations including (but not limited to) construction,
communications, warehousing, and storage.

These minors are also, of course, subject to the limitations on employment of
minors under 18, discussed below.

Both federal and state law prohibit the employment of minors under 18 in any
occupation that has been determined to be hazardous. In the case of the federal
law, these determinations are made by the Department of Labor, and in Minnesota,
they are made by the Department of Labor and Industry.

Many of the kinds of work prohibited for minors under 18 are not particularly
surprising, and include work with explosives, work as a motor vehicle driver,
certain coal mine and logging work, work with powerful cutting equipment, work
that entails exposure to radiation, work with certain kinds of machinery such as
bakery machines and paper products machines, and work in wrecking and
demolition. Also, state law prohibits minors under 18 from serving alcohol, and
limits their ability to work in places where alcohol is served. Again, this is not an
exhaustive list of prohibitions, and the regulations or the agencies involved are the
best source of information on any particular occupation.

Both state and federal law generally limit children under 16 to 40 hours of work in
a week and eight hours of work in a day. Federal law further specifies that minors
under 16 may not work more than 18 hours in a school week or three hours in a
school day. The combined federal and state laws also limit these children to
working only between 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. during the school year, with the
evening limit extended to 9:00 p.m. over the summer. Finally, Minnesota law
provides that a child under 16 cannot work on school days during school hours
except in special situations in which the child obtains an employment certificate



How many hours
maya minor at least
16 but under 18
work?

Who enforces child
labor laws?

from the Commissioner of Labor and Industry. The certificate may only be issued
with parental consent and with a finding by the commissioner that the child is
capable of performing the job and that it serves his interests for him to do so.

Minnesota law also provides that a child under 18 cannot work after 11 :00 p.m. on
any day before a school day or before 5:00 a.m. on any school day, unless
employed by a parent, as a babysitter, or to do home chores. These limitations can
be extended to 4:30 a.m. and 11 :30 p.m. if the child presents the employer with a
note signed by a parent giving permission.

Child labor laws are enforced by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
and the U.S. Department of Labor.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Linda Holmes bye-mail: linda.holmes@house.mn .

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I st. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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The Dove Hunting Debate: Questions and Answers

Several times in the last three decades, legislative bills have been introduced and debated in Minnesota to
establish a mourning dove hunting season. Minnesota last held a dove hunting season in 1946. This past
session, a proposal to allow mourning dove hunting passed in the House, representing the most progress
dove hunting has reached in the past 30 years. However, the provision allowing dove hunting did not
emerge from the 2003 conference committee discussions.

Wisconsin is the latest state to enact a dove hunting season, which began this fall.

Several basic questions continually come up when mourning dove hunting is debated here. This short
subject identifies these questions and attempts to answer them.

What is happening
with dove hunting
in Wisconsin?

What is the "bird of
peace"?

Wisconsin's dove hunting season was authorized in 2001, first by its Natural
Resources Board-a citizen board that can authorize hunting seasons-and then by
its legislature. Before the Natural Resources Board authorization, the state
conducted public hearings on the issue in every Wisconsin county, and the season
had broad public support.

An animal rights group in the state filed suit to stop the hunting season :from
starting, which was upheld in circuit court. However, the decision was reversed by
the Wisconsin Court ofAppeals in March 2003. The Wisconsin Supreme Court is
going to hear the case in October, with a decision expected in the spring of2004.

The mourning dove season opened on September 1 and will run through October
30.

As in most states with a season, the bag limit is 15 birds per day and the possession
limit is 30.

Wisconsin is the 39th state to authorize a mourning dove season. Wisconsin DNR
officials predict that up to 30,000 hunters may hunt doves, with an annual harvest
of five doves per hunter, and between 100,000 and 150,000 total doves harvested
this fall.

Opinions vary greatly on this, depending on who is being asked. There are many
species ofdoves. The turtledove, which is mostly white in color and is found in
Europe and the Mediterranean, is more commonly called the bird ofpeace.
Turtledoves are not found in the United States, and mourning doves are mostly
brownish and grayish in color.

In Wisconsin, which just authorized the latest hunting season on mourning doves,
the same dove also is the official state symbol ofpeace. Additionally, in
Minnesota, there is another type of dove-Eurasian collared, an exotic species.
They currently are found in 17 counties and appear very similar to mourning



Does hunting doves
decimate their
population?

What would a dove
hunting season
mean in
Minnesota?

Which other states
do notpermit dove
hunting?

doves. The DNR may allow them to be hunted if a mourning dove season is
enacted.

Not according to published information. The mourning dove is one of the most
abundant birds in the United States, with an estimated fall population of 500
million birds. The Minnesota population is estimated at 12 million doves, which is
three times the fall duck flight through the state.

Mourning doves are prolific breeders, raising between four to ten young doves per
year. The natural mortality rate is high; approximately six out often doves do not
survive from one year to the next. The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service has studied
and regulated mourning doves for 40 years, and data has shown that a hunting
season on them has virtually no impact on their population.

According to the Humane Society ofthe United States, there is an unacceptably
high wounding rate in dove hunting. Studies indicate a wounding rate that exceeds
20 percent in hunted areas, which means one in five doves is wounded and not
retrieved after being shot.

The following statements about dove hunting were made on behalf ofthe 2003
legislation proposing a season:

• According to the Minnesota DNR, a mourning dove season here would be
similar to Wisconsin's in the number ofhunters initially (30,000), the bag
limits (15 per day, 30 in possession), the season length (60 days), and
average harvest per hunter (five doves).

• The House bill called for a $5 dove stamp, in addition to the small game
license. This would raise an additional $150,000 for DNR wildlife habitat
activities. Over time, the DNR said there could be 50,000 Minnesota dove
hunters, thus increasing the additional revenue stream.

• Additional sales and sale taxes will occur with new dove hunters in the
form ofhunting equipment, including shotgun ammunition, gas, food, and
lodging. The range in sales is anywhere from $1,750,000 to $2,750,000
annually, according to dove hunting proponents.

With Wisconsin becoming the 39th state to authorize a season, the Midwest states
that do not permit dove hunting are Minnesota, Michigan, and Iowa (Iowa did
approve legislation in 2002 for a season, but it was vetoed by the governor). The
eight other states that do not allow dove hunting are in the northeast, including all
of the New England states, New York, and New Jersey.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Helland at 651-296-5039.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Unemployment Benefit Extensions

Current law limits most unemployment benefit applicants to 26 weeks of benefits. In some cases,
legislation has provided additional benefits when there is concern that the workers' circumstances or
economic factors create special difficulties. State and federal law allow for general extensions when
certain circumstances are present, and both Congress and the state legislature have sometimes passed
extensions targeted to particular workers or in response to economic downturns.

Temporary
Extended
Unemployment
Compensation
(TEUC)

State Extended
Temporary
Unemployment
Benefits

State andfederal
general extension
provisions

In March 2002, Congress passed a federal Temporary Extended Unemployment
Compensation (TEUC) program that provided up to 13 weeks of federally funded
additional benefits for individuals who exhaust their regular benefits and remain
unemployed. This program was available for anyone who exhausted benefits on or
after the week of March 15,2001, provided that the person had worked the
equivalent of at least 20 weeks of full-time employment during their base period
(the year of employment history that is used to calculate benefits).

Under current law, applications for TEUC benefits must be received by the end of
the week beginning December 21,2003. The TEUC program terminates
absolutely after the week ending March 20,2004. No benefits are payable after
that time, meaning that individuals who have not yet exhausted state benefits or
have received only a part of the 13 weeks of benefits by the end of December will
not receive the full 13 weeks.

Congress has also provided for up to 39 weeks of extra benefits for some
employees in airline and related industries who lose employment as a result of
events related to September 11,2001, or the war in Iraq. These benefits may run
through early 2005, and any regular TEUC benefits the person has received are
subtracted from them, meaning that the individual can only receive a total of 39
weeks through both the general and the airline-specific federal programs.

During the 2002 session, the Minnesota legislature passed a law that provided 13
weeks of state-funded benefits for Workers who were not eligible for TEUC
benefits because they did not meet the 20-week work requirement. This law
provided benefits on the same terms as the federal extension and expired at the end
of calendar year 2002.

Both state and federal law include provisions that allow for additional
unemployment benefits to be paid under some conditions. The federal program
provides 13 weeks of extended benefits when the unemployment rate in a state
meets a specific level that the state has the authority to set for itself. Minnesota's
trigger unemployment rate is 6 percent of insured employment or 6.5 percent of
total employment. Neither of these levels has been reached recently.



Specific state
extensions

Criteria for future
extensions

Under the state program, any worker can receive another 13 weeks ofbenefits ifhe
or she resides in a county with a seasonally adjusted unemployment rate above 10
percent and is part of a large layoff. This provision has been invoked several
times.

In addition to the general provisions available under state and federal law, the
legislature has, at times, provided additional benefits for particular workers.

• In 1998, the legislature suspended the unemployment rate and mass layoff
requirements to make 13 weeks of additional benefits available to
employees laid off from Hibbing Taconite.

• In 2000, the legislature suspended the same requirements to offer 13 weeks
of extra benefits to employees from Eveleth Taconite and 26 weeks of extra
benefits available to employees from Hennepin Paper. The Hennepin Paper
employees were required to be in training in order to receive benefits.

• In 2001, the legislature provided an additional 26 weeks ofbenefits to
employees from LTV Steel, again requiring that applicants be in training.

• In 2002, the legislature provided additional benefits to several categories of
workers. Employees laid off during specified periods from Farmland
Foods; from Fingerhut in St. Cloud, Mora, or Eveleth; or from a list of
named airlines were provided with an additional 13 weeks of benefits.
Again, these individuals were required to be in training in order to continue
collecting benefits.

During the 2001 session, the legislature included criteria for future benefit
extensions in a section of legislative findings. They are that the employer has
permanently ceased operations and declared bankruptcy, that the community where
the employees live is disproportionately affected by the layoffs, that the
community is in a remote area where opportunities to find work are limited, and
that those receiving benefits receive training while they receive benefits. These
criteria are not binding on the legislature and do not state that extensions are
necessarily appropriate in all cases where the criteria are met.

When the legislature passed the 2002 extensions, it included findings stating that
the extensions were appropriate under slightly different criteria, where the
employer had ceased operations at the particular location (though not necessarily in
all locations, and not necessarily accompanied by a declaration of bankruptcy), the
county unemployment rate was higher than the state average, and the community
met the criteria of remoteness and disproportionate effect. The legislature also
referred to the fact that some layoffs were related to an act of terrorism or war.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Linda Holmes bye-mail: linda.holmes@house.mn.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Property tax
reforms in the late
1990s and 2001
reduced TIF
revenues
significantly

ReducedTIF
revenues may
impair the ability to
pay TIF obligations
or create deficits

The legislature has
enacted a variety of
tools to help reduce
or eliminate deficits

TIF: Deficit Reduction Provisions

Property tax changes enacted by the legislature in 1997, 1998, and 2001 reduced
the revenues ofmany tax increment financing (TIP) districts. This occurred
because the changes generally reduced property taxes, and tax increments are
ultimately property taxes. The effects on TIP districts were larger than on
overall property taxes because:

• Each ofthe "reforms" were focused on reducing property taxes on
commercial-industrial (C-I) and apartment properties, the main types of
property in TIP districts; and

• The 2001 reform converted a portion ofthe general education tax, a tax
imposed by school districts that contributed to TIP revenues, to a state­
imposed tax on C-I properties, which did not contribute to TIP revenues.

The 2001 property tax changes reduced TIP revenues (between taxes payable in
2001 and in 2002) by approximately 30 percent. TIP revenues in 2003 increased
significantly over 2002, but were still down 20 percent from 2001.

These reductions in increments may cause "deficits" or the inability to pay debt
with the pledged increments. Revenues ofTIP districts are commonly pledged
to pay debt; TIP authorities often borrow money to pay upfront development
costs, such as a land acquisition and public improvements in the district. This
debt can be a general obligation of the local government (i.e., supported also by
a pledge to levy enough property taxes to pay the bonds, if necessary), a revenue
bond, or a developer obligation (often called a "pay-as-you-go" note). The
consequences of a deficit vary with the type ofTIP obligation:

• For general obligations, the local government must make up the deficit by
levying property taxes.

• For revenue bonds, the bondholders may suffer the loss, unless the authority
or others have pledged other revenues. The authority or city may feel
compelled to pay revenue bonds to maintain its creditworthiness.

• Developer obligations are usually limited to the amount of increment; thus,
the developer or the holder ofthe obligations will suffer the loss.

The legislature anticipated this problem. In response, it enacted several
mechanisms to help local governments offset deficits caused by property tax
reforms. All ofthese mechanisms use one ofthree basic approaches:

• Pooling: allowing more flexibility to take increments from one of a city's
TIP districts to pay obligations of another district

• Increasing increments revenues: allowing methods by which the authority
or city could increase the total amount of increment revenues collected



TIF Grant Appropriations
Session IAmount

(millions)
1997 $2
1999 4
2001 one-time 91
2001 ongoing per year 38

Pooling allows
surplus increments
from one district to
offset a deficit in
another district

Various
mechanisms can
increase increments
to offset deficits

The state grant
fund was repealed
as part ofthe 2002
budget cuts

• State grants: appropriating state money to pay grants to offset deficits

The TIF law imposes legal restrictions (commonly called "pooling" limits) on
using increments from one district to pay for activities outside ofthat district.
Thus, extra increments from one district frequently cannot be used to pay the
debt of another district. To give authorities and cities more flexibility to deal
with deficits caused by property tax changes, the legislature allowed cities to use
increments from one district to pay obligations of another district, if the shortfall
was caused by property tax reform. Use ofpooling originally was a prerequisite
to using the other deficit reduction techniques. That is no longer required,
except as a condition ofusing the authority to extend a district's duration limit.

The second approach uses mechanisms that increase a TIF district's increments.
These mechanisms all rely, directly or indirectly, on property tax increases to
help pay the deficits. These techniques either convert existing property tax
revenues ofthe city, county, or school into increments or capture tax base that
would have paid regular taxes. Three basic mechanisms have been authorized:

• "Unfreezing" the original tax capacity rate: this is the local tax rate in
effect when the district was certified. If local tax rates have risen since this
certification, unfreezing the rate will increase the amount of increment.

• Changing fiscal disparities options: For TIF districts in the metropolitan
area or the taconite tax relief area, the city can elect to have the fiscal
disparities contribution paid by property taxpayers in the city, county, and
school, rather than using the district's increment to do so.

• Extending the duration of the district: The city can elect to extend the
duration limit for the TIF district under a formula based on the percentage
drop in the district taxes caused by tax reform. The maximum extension is
four years, although the commissioner of revenue can authorize an additional
two years. To use this authority, the city must have fully used all ofthe
other deficit reduction mechanisms. This authority was authorized in 2003.

The 1997, 1999, and 2001 legislatures made
general fund appropriations to a state grant
fund to help offset TIF deficits caused by
property tax reform. The table shows the
amounts. Two separate funds were
established, one in response to the 1997-98
property tax changes, and one for the 2001
changes. Grants were paid out under the first fund, but the remainder ofthe
money in that fund and all ofthe funding for the 2001 fund was repealed in
response to the state's budget deficit in the 2002 legislative session. This means
cities must deal with TIF deficits using mechanisms that shift TIF funds from

.other districts or that increase TIF revenues, as described above.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research publication TIF Duration Extensions to Offset Deficits (October 2003).
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Tax Increment Financing

What is TIF?

How does TIF
work?

How is TIF used to
pay "upfront"
development costs?

Tax increment financing (TIF) uses the increased property taxes that a new real
estate development generates to finance costs of the development. In
Minnesota, TIF is used for two basic purposes:

• To induce or cause a development or redevelopment that otherwise would
not occur-e.g., to convince a developer to build an office building, retail,
industrial, or housing development that otherwise would not be constructed.
To do so, the increased property taxes are used to pay for costs (e.g., land
acquisition or site preparation) that the developer would normally pay.

• To finance public infrastructure (streets, sewer, water, or parking facilities)
that are related to the development. In some cases, the developer would
normally be required to pay for this infrastructure through special
assessments or other charges. In other cases, all taxpayers would pay
through general city taxes.

When a new TIF district is created, the county auditor certifies (1) the current
net tax capacity (i.e., property tax base) oftheTIF district and (2) the local
property tax rates. As the net tax capacity of the district increases, the property
taxes (i.e., the "tax increment") paid by this increase in value is dedicated and
paid to the development authority. The tax increment is limited to the tax
derived from the certified tax rate. Increases in value that generate increment
may be caused by construction of the development or by general inflation in
property values. The authority uses the increment to pay qualifying co~ts (e.g.,
land acquisition, site preparation, and public infrastructure) that it has incurred
for the TIF project.

There is a mismatch between when most TIF costs must be paid-at beginning
of a development-and when increments are received-after the development is
built and begins paying higher property taxes. Three basic financing techniques
i;ITe used to finance these upfront costs:

• Bonds. The authority may issue its bonds to pay these upfront costs and use
increment to pay the bonds back. Often, extra bonds are issued to pay
interest on the bonds ("capitalizing" interest) until increments begin to be
received.

• Interfund loans. In some cases, the authority may advance money from its
own funds (e.g., a development fund or sewer and water fund) and use the
increments to reimburse the fund.

• Pay-as-you-go financing. The developer may pay the costs with its own
funds. The increments, then, are used to reimburse the developer for these
costs. This type ofdeveloper financing is often called "pay-as-you-go" or
"pay-go" financing.



What governmental
units can use TIF?

What is the but-for
test?

What types ofTIF
districts may be
created?

There were over
2,000 active TIF
districts in 2002

Minnesota authorizes development authorities to use TIF. These authorities are
primarily housing and redevelopment authorities (HRAs), economic
development authorities (EDAs), port authorities, and cities. In addition, the
"municipality" (usually the city) in which the district is located must approve the
TIF plan and some key TIF decisions. TIF uses the property taxes imposed by
all types of local governments. But the school district and county, the two other
major entities imposing property taxes, are generally limited to providing
comments to the development authority and city on proposed uses ofTIF. The
state-imposed tax on commercial-industrial and seasonal-recreational properties
is not captured by TIF.

Before an authority may create a TIF district, it and the city must make "but-for"
findings that (1) the development would not occur without TIF assistance and
(2) that the market value of the TIF development will be higher (after
subtracting the value ofthe TIF assistance) than what would occur on the site, if
TIF were not used.

Minnesota allows several different types ofTIF districts. The legal restrictions
on how long increments may be collected, the sites that qualify, and the
purposes for which increments may be used for vary with the type of district.

District type Use of Increment Maximum
duration

Redevelopment Redevelop blighted areas 25 years
Renewal and Redevelop areas with obsolete uses, not 15 years
renovation meeting blight test
Economic Encourage manufacturing and other 8 years
development footloose industries
Housing Assist low and moderate income housing 25 years
Soils Clean up contaminated sites 20 years

According to the 2003 report of the Office of State Auditor, there were 2,166
active TIF districts in 2002. The graph shows the relative shares by type of
district.

TIF Districts by Type in 2002
(2,166 districts)

Redevelopment

(943) ""
Renewal (20)
Special Laws (4)

Soils (37)

Pre-1979 (88)

Economic Development
(677)

Source: 2003 Report of the State Auditor

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research web site for more information on TIF at www.house.mnlhrd/issinfo/tifinain.htm.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What triggers a
special legislative
election?

What is the timing
for a special
election?

What does a
governor's writ
cover?

Special Legislative Elections

A special election for a seat in the Minnesota Legislature is held if the legislature
will be in session at some point between the time the vacancy occurs and the end
of the term for the vacant seat. Minn. Stat. § 204D.17, subd. 1.

A special election must be held in time for the newly elected person to begin
serving during the current or next legislative session.

• If the legislature is in session when the vacancy occurs (or will be in session
within 33 days ofthe vacancy), the election must be held within33 days after
the vacancy occurs. To accomplish this: (1) the governor must call for a
special election within five days after the vacancy occurs; and (2) the special
election must be held within 28 days after the governor calls for the election.
(In practice, the election cannot be held sooner than 28 days after the governor
calls for the election, given the time required for candidate filings, notices, and
ballot and polling place preparation.) Minn. Stat. § 204D.19,subd. 2.

• For vacancies occurring at other times, the governor may set the special election
date at any time that allows the individual elected to take office when the
legislature reconvenes. But the special legislative primary and election must be
held at the same time as the state primary and election (i.e., in September and
November of the even-numbered year) if the vacancy occurs (1) more than 150
days before the next state general election; and (2) the legislature will not be in
session before the state general election. Minn. Stat. §§ 204D.19, subds. 1 and
3; 204D.21, subd. 1.

Special rules apply to a vacancy that results from an election contest. Ifthe body
affected passes a resolution stating it will not review court findings, the governor
must issue a writ within five days after the resolution passes. If the body does not
pass a resolution, the governor must issue a writ within 22 days after the first day
ofthe session. Minn. Stat. § 204D.19, subd. 4.

The writ states the office to be filled, the opening and closing dates for candidate
filings, and the dates ofthe special primary and election. The statutes limit the
governor's choices Jor these dates to some extent. For example, there must be at
least a five-day candidate filing period and a seven-day notice period for the
primary. Minn. Stat. § 204D.22, subds. 2 and 3. In addition, the special primary
must be held at least 14 days before the special election. Minn. Stat. § 204D.21.
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Finally, as noted above, the election must be set for not later than 28 days after the
writ is issued if the legislature would be in session at that time. The governor
immediately files the writ with the secretary of state, who sends a certified copy to
county auditors in affected counties for posting. Minn. Stat. §§ 204D.2I, 204D.22.

A candidate in a special legislative election receives a subsidy in an amount equal
to the general account money and the party account money that would have been
available for a candidate for that office at the last general election, if two
conditions are met. Minn. Stat. § IOA.315.

First, the candidate must file a spending limit agreement with the Campaign
Finance and Public Disclosure Board. The agreement must be filed by the day
after the candidate files for the office, if the special election is not being held at the
state general election. If the special election is held at the state general election,
the agreement must be filed by September 1. Minn. Stat. § 10A.322, subd. 1,
para. (d).

Second, the candidate must raise the same amount of qualifying contributions
required in a general election for the office ($1,500 in the House; $3,000 in the
Senate). The affidavit of contributions must be filed within five days after filing
the affidavit of candidacy, ifthe vacancy will not be filled at the state general
election. If the special election is being held at the state general election, the
affidavit must be filed by September 1. Minn. Stat. § lOA.323.

The election cycle for a special legislative election begins the day the writ is issued
and ends 60 days after the special election date. Minn. Stat. § 10A.Ol, subd. 16. A
candidate at the special election must file principal campaign committee reports
seven days before the special primary and ten days after the special election cycle
ends. Minn. Stat. § 10A.20, subd. 2, para. (b).

The ban on regular session fundraising does not apply to a candidate at a special
election from the time the person becomes a candidate until the day of the special
election. Minn. Stat. § 10A.273, subd. 5. Expenditures by or on behalf of a
candidate at a special election do not count as expenditures by or on behalf of the
candidate in the general election. Minn. Stat. § 10A.25, subd. 2, para. (c).

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah K. McKnight at 651-296-5056.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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TIF Redevelopment Districts

The classic use oftax increment financing (TIP) is to foster redevelopment of
"blighted" areas-i.e., areas with rundown, dilapidated, or obsolete buildings
and structures. The increase in property taxes that results from redevelopment
(the "increment") is used to help finance redevelopment costs, such as land
assembly and removal ofblighted structures. In Minnesota, TIP was initially
promoted principally for redevelopment (It has since grown to be used in the
state for housing, economic development, and general infrastructure finance.)
According to the 2003 Tax Increment Financing Report ofthe State Auditor,
there were more active TIP redevelopment districts (943) than any other type,
about 44 percent of all TIP districts.

Minnesota law allows redevelopment districts to be designated in areas that
qualify under one of the following criteria:

• Meet a statutory "blight test"
• Are vacant or underused railyards
• Contain vacant or underused tank farms with a capacity of at least one

million gallons
• Are qualified disaster areas

To qualify under the blight test:

• 70 percent ofthe area of the district must be occupied by buildings,
streets, utilities, or other improvements, and

• More than 50 percent of the buildings must be structurally substandard.

Buildings are substandard ifthey have sufficient defects or other problems to
justify substantial renovation or clearance, in the judgment ofthe authority. The
authority must determine this after conducting an interior inspection of the
property, unless the property owner refuses to permit an inspection.

The authority cannot find a building is substandard if it is in compliance with the
building code for new buildings or could be brought into compliance for less
than 15 percent of the cost of constructing a new building. Meeting this 15
percent test, however, does not itself qualify the building as substandard.

Yes, TIP districts generally may consist of separate, noncontiguous areas.
However, each separate noncontiguous area of a redevelopment district must
individually meet one of the qualifying tests: as blighted, a railyard, tank farm,
or qualified disaster area.
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To be a qualified disaster area, an area must meet three tests:

• 70 percent ofthe parcels must be occupied by buildings, streets, utilities,
or other improvements;

• The area was a declared a disaster under federal or state law within 18
months before creation ofthe district; and

• 50 percent or more of the buildings suffered substantial damage as a
result of the disaster.

For a qualified disaster area district, the original net tax capacity (i.e., the base
value used to calculate increments) is the land value. The most recent
assessment will generally include the full value of the buildings (i.e., it would
not reflect the damage caused bythe disaster). Absent a "write-down" ofthe
original value to the land value, reconstruction following a disaster would not
generate much or any increment, since it would largely restore the pre-existing
value.

The law requires 90 percent of the increments from a redevelopment district to
be spent for blight correction-i.e., to fix the conditions that allowed designation
ofthe district. The statute lists qualifying expenditures:

• Site acquisition ofblighted sites or sites requiring pollution clean-up
• Acquisition of an adjacent parcel or parcels to assemble a site large

enough to redevelop
• Clean-up ofhazardous substances, pollution, or contaminants
• Site preparation, such as clearing the land and installation ofutilities,

roads, sidewalks
• Providing parking facilities for the site

The law explicitly provides that this is not an exhaustive list. Administrative
expenses ofthe authority that are allocated to these activities also meet the 90
percent test.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research short subject Tax Increment Financing (October 2003).

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Minnesota Speed Limits

Minnesota law sets speed limits on state and local highways and streets, and provides for the
establishment of speed zones by the Department ofTransportation (MnDOT).

Basic law

Statutory limits

Speed zones

Minnesota's basic law on highway speeds is found in Minnesota Statutes,
section 169.14, subdivision 1:

No person shall drive a vehicle on a highway at a speed greater
than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions. Every
driver is responsible for becoming and remaining aware ofthe
actual andpotential hazards then existing on the highway and
must use due care in operatinga vehicle.

Minnesota law sets out the following speed limits:

~ Streets and highways in urban areas, 30 m.p.h.
~ Interstate highways outside urbanized areas of 50,000 or more, 70 m.p.h.
~ Interstate highways within urbanized areas of 50,000 or more, 65 m.p.h.
~ Noninterstate freeways and expressways, 65 m.p.h.
~ Other highways outside urban districts, 55 m.p.h.
~ Streets inside urban districts, 30 m.p.h.
~ Town roads inrural residential districts, 30 m.p.h.

Alleys, 10 m.p.h.

An "urban district" is any segment of street or highway that is built up with
structures less than 100 feet apart for a distance of a quarter-mile. A "rural
residential district" is a segment of a town road with structures less than 300 feet
apart for a distance of a quarter-mile.

Speed limits within cities are absolute, meaning that any speed in excess of them
is automatically illegal. Elsewhere speed limits are "prima facie limits,"
meaning that any speed in excess of them is prima facie evidence that the speed
was illegal. This means that there is a presumption that the excess speed is
illegal but the presumption may be rebutted by other evidence.

MnDOT has the authority to establish speed zones in which the speed limit is
higher or lower than the limits set in law. Speed zones are established after
MnDOT conducts an engineering and traffic investigation that includes a
segment's design, physical characteristics, traffic volume, accident history, and
actual speeds. Generally, MhDOT believes that a speed limit at or near the "85th

percentile speed" (the speed at orbelow which 85 percent of vehicles are
traveling) is most likely to be the safest maximum limit.



Local authority

Speed violations

Speed limits in speed zones are effective as soon as signs are erected. Like
statutory limits, they are absolute limits within a city and prima facie limits
outside cities.

The authority of a city, county, or town over speed limits, even on their own
streets and highways is limited. A local road authority may ask MnDOT to
conduct an engineering and traffic investigation on a segment of one of its local
roads, but the department makes the final determination on the speed limit on
that segment.

There are a few exceptions to this general rule:

On a residential roadway, defined as a segment up to a quarter-mile
that is functionally classified as local, a local resolution may reduce the
speed limit from 30 m.p.h. to 25 m.p.h.

~ In school zones, defined as a segment of street or highway that abuts
school grounds where children have access to the roadway or where a
school crossing is established, a local road authority may prescribe a
lower speed limit that is not less than 15 m.p.h., or more than 30 m.p.h.
below the surrounding limit.

On a park road within a local park a local authority may prescribe a
lower speed limit that is not less than 15 m.p.h., or more than 20 m.p.h.
below the surrounding limit.

Both MnDOT and local road authorities can set speed limits within their own
highway work zones, to be effective while highway workers are on the job. A
work zone speed limit cannot be less than 20 m.p.h. or reduce the speed limit in
the work zone by more than 15 m.p.h. The maximum work zone speed limit is
55 m.p.h. on divided highways and 40 m.p.h. on other highways.

Under most circumstances, speeding is a petty misdemeanor punishable by a
maximum penalty of a $200 fine. However, if a speeding violation is committed
in such a manner as to endanger persons or property it can be charged as a
misdemeanor with maximum penalties of a $700 fine and 30 days
imprisonment.

Minnesota does not have a point system on driver's licenses, but a third petty
misdemeanor in a year can be charged as a misdemeanor, and a third
misdemeanor in a year can result in a driver's license revocation.

Under a law enacted in 1986 and called the "Dimler amendment" after its
author, former Rep. Chuck Dimler, a violation of a 55 m.p.h. speed limit by not
more than 10 m.p.h. is not recorded on a motorist's driving record.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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General Assistance (GA) is a state program that provides cash assistance to individuals or childless
couples who are not eligible for federally funded assistance programs, but who are unable to provide for
themselves (Minn. Stat. § 256D.OI).

Eligibility An applicant qualifies for GA ifhe or she meets the eligibility requirements and
has income and assets below the limits established by the state legislature and the
Department of Human Services (DHS). Assistance is available as long as the
individual continues to meet eligibility requirements;.there is no set time limit.

In addition to having financial need, a GA applicant must also:

~ Be a resident ofMinnesota
~ Be ineligible for aid from any cash assistance program that uses federal

funds (i.e., Minnesota Family Investment Program or Supplemental Security
Income)

~ Be a citizen of the United States
~ Be unable to work because the person:

1. Has a professionally certified illness, injury, or incapacity expected to
continue for more than 30 days and that prevents the person from
getting or keeping ajob

2. Has been diagnosed as having mental retardation or mental illness
3. Is age 55 or older
4. Is needed in the home to care for a person whose age or medical

condition requires continuous care
5. Is placed in a licensed or certified facility for care or treatment under a

plan approved by the local human services agency
6. Resides in a shelter for battered women
7. Has an application pending for or is appealing a termination of Social

Security disability payments, so long as the person has a
professionally certified illness or disability

8. Is assessed as not employable
9. Is under age 18 in specified circumstances and with consent ofthe

local agency
10. Is eligible for displaced homemaker services and is enrolled as a full­

time student
11. Lives more than four hours round-trip traveling time from any

potential suitable employment



Benefits

Funding and
Expenditures

Recipient Profile

12. Is involved with protective or court-ordered services that prevent
working at least four hours per day

13. Is over age 18 and whose primary language is not English and is
attending high school at least part~time

14. Is learning disabled

GA is not provided to:

~ Fugitive felons and parole and probation violators; or
~ Persons who have fraudulently misrepresented residency to obtain

assistance in two or more states; these people are not eligible to receive GA
for ten years.

GA recipients receive a monthly cash assistance payment, called a grant. The
amount of a recipient's grant is determined by subtracting the recipient's net
income from the applicable monthly GA assistance standard.

Monthly GA Standards for Sin2le Persons and Childless Couples
Eligible Units Monthly

Standard

One adult $203

.Emancipated minor 203

One adult, living with parentes) who have no minor children 203

Minor not living with parent, stepparent, or legal custodian (with 250
social services plan approved)

Married couple with no children 260

One adult, living in a medical facility or in group residential housing 72

Unlike MFIP, the GA program does not include an employment and training
component. GA recipients are not required to participate in any employment and
training services as a condition of receiving benefits.

The state pays for the costs of GA benefits. In state fiscal year 2003 the state paid
$19,795,416 in benefits to GA recipients.

Most GA recipients are single persons. Childless couples may also be eligible for
GA. In state fiscal year 2003 the average monthly number of GA cases was
10,373. (Most GA cases consist of one person. However, GA data is available
from DHS by cases only, not by the number of individual GA recipients.)

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance, January 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax

Apportionment is
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apportionment
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weighted three-
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applies

A state can constitutionally tax only the income of a multistate corporation that is "fairly
apportioned" to the state. The reason for this requirement seems obvious: if a business
operates in several states and each state could tax all of its income, the business could
easily be subject to double taxation. Aside from being unfair, this would discourage a
business from operating in multiple states; it would interfere with interstate commerce.

A state can apportion income using separate accounting or formula apportionment.
Separate accounting traces income to the state where it was earned using standard
accounting methods. Formula apportionment uses a proxy or rough measure to
determine the in-state share of income (e.g., the percentage ofthe business's in-state
sales to its total sales). All states use some type of formula apportionment. Using
separate accounting would be expensive, difficult to do, and subject to manipulation.

Minnesota uses a weighted three-factor formula of sales (75 percent weight), property
(12.5 percent), and payroll (12.5 percent). The Minnesota percentage for each factor is
multiplied by the weight, and the three factors are added to determine the Minnesota
percentage of the corporation's total income. Expressing this as a formula:

MN percent = (0.75* MnSales )+(0.125* MnProperty J+(0.125* MnPayroll J
TotalSales TotalProperty TotalPayroll

Sales are defined on a destination basis, that is, the location of the buyer generally
determines whether the sale is a Minnesota sale. The property factor is the value of real
and tangible personal property in Minnesota. Leased property is included; its value
equals the lease payments multiplied by eight. Payroll is the amount paid to employees.
The apportionment factors are also used to calculate the add-on minimum fee.

Special apportionment rules apply to some industries. Mail-order companies that have
substantially all of their operations in Minnesota use a sales-only formula. A separate
formula is provided for financial institutions; this formula includes deposits and
intangible property (e.g., receivables and loans), since these are important contributors
to the profits ofmany financial institutions.

The Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act (adopted by a group of states)
provides that sales to buyers in a state in which the corporation cannot be taxed and
sales to federal government are "thrown back." Under a throwback rule, these sales are
assigned to the seller's location. Minnesota has not adopted a throwback rule. This
favors businesses making sales from Minnesota to the federal government or to states
where they can't be taxed, since it reduces their Minnesota tax. Minnesota's
apportionment formula does not affect the tax owed to another state, in any case.
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Special rules apply to complex corporations (i.e., those with multiple corporations, such
parent-subsidiary or brother-sister corporations). If these corporations are part of a
"unitary business," Minnesota requires them to file a combined report. Under combined
reporting, each corporation in the unitary group calculates its tax using the total income
ofthe unitary group and using its own factors as the numerator and the total group's
factors as the denominator. This method prevents most transactions among related
corporations in the unitary group from affecting the tax liability ofthe group. In effect,
the apportionment formula divides the unitary business's income among the states
without regard to how the business allocates the income among its various corporate
entities. State corporate taxes that do not use this method allow corporations to
artificially shift income (e.g., through "transfer pricing" among the related corporations)
to states in which income is lightly taxed or is not taxed at all.

Public finance economists generally agree that apportionment formulas are a very
important feature of state corporate taxes. They essentially make the tax the same as a
tax directly on the factors: for example, the tax on the portion of income assigned using
the sales factor is the same, in economic effect, as a sales tax. This affects both:

• The incidence ofthe tax (i.e., who bears the real burden ofthetax); and
• The incentive effects of the tax (i.e., the impact of the tax on behavior)

Following conventional economic theory, the portion of the tax that is apportioned by
sales will be a tax on consumption or consumers, similar to a sales tax. The portion on
payroll is a taxon labor income and the portion on property falls on capital. (Caveat:
capital is mobile; it can move between states. In the long run, a state cannot increase the
portion ofthe tax on capital much beyond the average imposed by other states. If it
does, capital will flow to other states where higher rates ofreturn are available.) Thus,
increasing sales weighting makes the tax more like a sales tax.

Weighing sales more heavily will generally encourage export businesses. Since sales
are assigned to the buyer's location and there is no throwback rule, export or non­
Minnesota sales will reduce the amount of income taxable by Minnesota. Thus,
increasing the weight for sales creates an incentive for companies to invest in Minnesota
property or to hire more employees to sell products outside ofMinnesota. The property
and payroll factors, by contrast, would assign more income to Minnesota, increasing the
tax, because the investment increases Minnesota property and payroll.

After the U.S. Supreme Court ruled sales-only apportionment was valid in 1978, many
states have increased their reliance on the sales factor because of these incentive effects.
For example, Oregon and Wisconsin adopted laws in 2003 that move to apportionment
using only sales. More information on sales weighted apportionment and other states'
laws can be found in the House Research short subject, Single Sales Apportionment of
Corporate Franchise Tax (October 2003).

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research publications Corporate Franchise Taxation (October 2002).

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Statutory New Home Warranties

Minnesota law provides statutory warranties that apply to new homes for a certain
period of time after they are built (Minn. Stat. ch. 327A). There are three different
warranty periods covering three different types of defects when those defects are
caused by failure to comply with the State Building Code.

• For one year, the home must be free of defects caused by faulty
workmanship or materials;

• For two years, the home must be free of defects caused by faulty
installation of heating, cooling, electrical, or plumbing systems.

• For ten years, the home must be free of "major construction defects."

Separate statutory warranties apply to certain home improvements, and those
warranties are also found in chapter 327A.

The consumer has a cause of action in court against the vendor (usually the home
builder) for the breach of the warranty, and can recover the difference between the
home's value with and without the defect, or the amount needed to repair the
defect.

In order to protect the right to recover under the warranty, the consumer must first
notify the vendor of the defect in writing within six months of discovering it or of
the time when they should have discovered it, whichever is earlier.

The next step would be bringing an action in court. Under current law, the
consumer can bring an action in court for breach of the warranty at any time within
two years of when the consumer discovers the breach. The breach would still have
had to occur during the warranty period in order for the remedy to be available, but
the consumer can file the action outside the warranty period, provided the action is
filed within two years of when the consumer discovers the breach. This is in
addition to the requirement mentioned above that the homeowner notify the vendor
within six months of discovering the breach.

Therefore, the homeowner has two separate time limits to deal with after
discovering a defect: to notify the vendor within six months, and to bring any
action in court within two years.

In addition to complying with the relevant time limits for giving notice and filing
the action, the consumer must care for the home reasonably so as not to cause
damage by negligence or by improper or inadequate maintenance, as these types of
damage are not covered. The consumer must also act to minimize any damage that
does occur.
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The statute defines a "major construction defect" as "actual damage to the load­
bearing portion of the dwelling ... , including damage due to subsidence,
expansion or lateral movement of the soil, which affects the load-bearing function
and which vitally affects or is imminently likely to vitally affect use of the
dwelling or the home improvement for residential purposes." It excludes damage
due to windstorms, hail, floods, and other natural disasters.

No. The law provides that the statutory warranties are in additionto any other
warranties that the parties may have agreed to or are provided by law in any
particular contract.

The statutory warranties can be waived only where very specific requirements are
followed and where, in essence, the vendor provides a substantially similar
warranty by agreement. Therefore, the obligation to provide essentially the level
of protection called for by statute cannot be waived.

In the case of a major construction defect that is known at the time the sale is
made, the parties can waive the protection as to that specific defect, provided that it
is first disclosed orally, it is conspicuously disclosed in the agreement, its impact
on the value of the home has been appraised and agreed to by the parties, and a
separate waiver is executed for each known major defect.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Linda Holmes at 651-296-5059.
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Single Sales Apportionment of
Corporate Franchise Tax

Minnesota apportions income under its corporate franchise tax using a three­
factor, weighted formula (75 percent sales, 12.5 percent payroll, and 12.5
percent property). A group ofbusinesses have supported a proposal to adopt
100 percent sales apportionment during recent legislative sessions. A number of
other states-most recently Oregon and Wisconsin-have adopted single sales
apportionment.

Apportionment formulas are very important features of state corporate income
taxes. They determine how muchof a business's income is taxable in a state
and determine the incidence and competitiveness effects of the tax. For more
background on Minnesota's apportionment issues, see House Research,
Apportionment ofCorporate Franchise Tax (October 2003).

The effects ofadopting single sales apportionment will vary by business. The
crucial variables are the business's Minnesota apportionment factors:

• The taxes of 100 percent Minnesota businesses (those with all oftheir
property, payroll, and sales in Minnesota) will be unaffected.

• Minnesota businesses whose Minnesota sales factor is lower than the
average oftheir Minnesota property and payroll factors will receive a tax
cut. The larger the disparity, the bigger the benefit. A classic example
would be a business which has most of its operations (headquarters, plants,
and so forth) in Minnesota, but which makes most of its sales nationwide.

• Businesses who have higher Minnesota sales factors than their average
Minnesota property and payroll factors will have tax increases. The classic
example is a national manufacturer of consumer products with few facilities
in Minnesota.

The principal rationale for single sales apportionment is an economic
development argument: it will make Minnesota more competitive in attracting
investment in plant and equipment. Sales are defined based on the buyer's
location. All other things being equal, increasing non-Minnesota sales will
reduce the amount ofMinnesota taxable income, since more income will be
attributed to or apportioned outside ofMinnesota. Thus, increasing the weight
for sales creates an incentive for companies to invest in Minnesota property or to
hire more employees (or reduces the tax's disincentive to do so) to sell products
outside ofMinnesota. Ifproperty and payroll are used to apportion income,
increasing in-state property or payroll would assign more income to Minnesota
and increase the tax. Empirical studies have found support for the idea that
single sales apportionment encourages in-state investment.



Arguments against:
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Opponents of single sales apportionment argue that it shifts the burden of the tax
from capital (the property factor) to consumption, reducing the progressivity of
the tax. Some also question as an empirical matter whether it has much of the
desired effects on competitiveness. Single sales apportionment may discourage
a national business that sells in Minnesota, but that has no facilities in
Minnesota, from locating facilities in Minnesota, such as a warehouse, sales
office, or plant. Doing so would subject it to Minnesotatax (nexus). If the
business makes substantial Minnesota sales, the tax could be substantial. Thus,
sales apportionment may discourage national companies (without nexus) from
locating branch plants or distribution facilities in Minnesota. For companies
with nexus, it has a positive effect on the incentive to locate facilities in
Minnesota, regardless of their factors.

Adopting single sales apportionment will reduce overall state revenues
somewhat. The Minnesota Department ofRevenue has estimated it would cost
$40 million in state revenue for per year, based on the February 2003 forecast.

The U.S. Supreme Court upheld single sales apportionment in 1978. Since that
decision, states have increasingly shifted their apportionment formulas to more
heavily weight sales. Seven states (including Iowa, Illinois, Missouri, and
Nebraska) now use single sales as theirgeneral apportionment formula.
Michigan weights sales at 90 percent. In 2003, Wisconsin and Oregon enacted
laws phasing in single sales apportionment by tax year 2008. The map below
shows the apportionment formulas used by other states for manufacturers, when
all of the laws (e.g., in Wisconsin and Oregon) are fully phased in.

Apportionment of Corporate Income
Applicable to Manufacturers

Source: Federation of Tax AdminiStrators

No tax
Equal weights
Doubleweighted sales
Sales weight> 59% and S 75%
Sales weight> 75%

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research publication Apportionment ofCorporate Franchise Tax (October 2003).
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TIF Duration Extensions to Offset Deficits

Tax reform reduced
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authorized
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Which districts
qualifY to be
extended?

How long is the
permitted
extension?

The 2001 property tax refonn reduced the increments of tax increment financing
(TIF) districts. In some cases, these reductions were sufficiently large that some
TIF districts no longer generated enough increments to pay their obligations
(bonds or development contracts). The 2001-02 legislature provided a varietyof
tools to help address these deficits or shortfalls. See House Research, TIF:
Deficit Reduction Provisions (October 2003) for the general description ofthese
mechanisms.

In 2003, the legislature authorized development authorities and cities to extend
the duration ofTIF districts beyond the nonnally applicable legal duration
limits. This will pennit the development authority (e.g., an HRA or EDA) to
collect increments for a longer period of time, providing more increment to pay
the TIF obligations. This additional increment, of course, will not be received
until after the end of the nonnal duration of the district and, thus, cannot help to
pay current debt service obligations. But if an extension can be combined with a
refinancing of the TIF debt, it may enable current debt obligations to be met.

To qualify for an extension, a district must meet three tests:

• Certification ofthe district must have been requested before August 1,
2001 (i.e., before enactment ofthe 2001 property tax refonn).

• The district's increments must be pledged to pay bonds, interfund loans
(i.e., loans made by the city or authority from one ofits non-TIF funds),
or developer agreements that were entered before August 1, 2001.

• The authority must have used all of the other available deficit reduction
measures to eliminate the deficit including:

o Uncapping the original tax rate

o Switching fiscal disparities options

o Transferring (or pooling) available increments from other
districts.

The length ofthepennitted duration extension is detennined under a fonnula
that is an estimate of the reduction in the increment that was caused by the 2001
property tax refonn. The fonnula extension is computed by comparing the tax
paid by the district's original net tax capacity in 2001 with its average tax paid in
2002 and 2003. (The state general tax and market value taxes.are ignored in
these computations, since they do not affect increment computations.) The
percentage reduction is multiplied by the remaining duration of the district (as of
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December 31,2001) to determine the permitted extension (rounded up to the
nearest whole number ofyears for fractional amounts greater than one-third).
For example, a district with nine years remaining that experienced a 25 percent
drop in taxes on its original net tax capacity would qualify for a two-year
extension (9 years * 25% = 2.25 years or rounded to 2 years). The maximum
extension cannot exceed four years, in any case.

If the city estimates that the formula extension will not provide enough
additional increment to pay the obligations in full, it may apply to the
Department ofRevenue (DaR) for an additional extension ofup to two years.

The extension authority was primarily intended to help the development
authority or municipality to pay its own obligations-i.e., the reduction created a
shortfall, relative to the authority's legal obligation to pay. This situation
generally does not occur with developer obligations (commonly referred to as
"pay-as-you-go" obligations). Under pay-as-you-go contracts, the authority's
obligation is limited to the amount of its available increment. Thus, from the
authority's perspective, even though increments may have dropped substantially,
there isn't a deficit; the authority is only obligated to pay over whatever
increments it receives. However, the developer expected to receive higher
payments based on the pre-2001 property tax system and, thus, often will not
receive payments that are large enough to cover the costs identified in the
agreements with the city or authority. In some instances, these obligations or
notes were sold to third-party investors who now suffer the loss. To provide
some relief for these developers and investors, the extension law allows the
authority to treat a pay-as-you-go obligation as a qualified obligation. Ifit does
so, the maximum extension is one-halfthe regular formula amount (e.g., it
cannot exceed two years). Also, application may not be made to DaR for an
additional two-year extension.

If an authority elects to extend the duration of a district, after approval ofthe
extension it can only use increments from the district to pay pre-existing
obligations (i.e., those issued before August 1,2001). The purpose ofthis
restriction is to prevent the use of increments from the extension to fund new
costs. During the extension period, increments may only be used to pay
qualifying obligations (i.e., pre-2001 bonds, interfund loans, and pay-as-you-go
notes). If increments from multiple districts are pledged to pay the qualifying
obligations, then all of these districts (even if their terms have not been
extended) are subject to this limit on the use of increments.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research publication TIF Deficit Reduction Provisions (October 2003).
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Rulemaking: Process for Adopting Rules

State agencies must follow certain procedures when they adopt administrative rules. These procedures are
contained in the Administrative Procedure Act (often known as the APA) in Minnesota Statutes, chapter
14. For a more detailed description of these procedures, see "Rulemaking in Minnesota: A Guide" on the
Revisor of Statutes web site (www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us).

An agency must
follow required
procedures when
adopting a "rule"

An agency must
take certain actions
before formally
proposing rules

A "rule" is an agency statement of general applicability and future effect, made to
implement a law. In most cases an agency must follow APA rulemaking
procedures when it issues a statement that comes within the definition of a "rule."
Courts may invalidate agency attempts to set policy without following rulemaking
procedures.

Rulemaking docket: An agency must maintain a rulemaking docket. This docket
must contain information on rules that the agency is thinking about proposing and
on rules that are in the middle of the rulemaking process. Minn. Stat. § 14.366.

Solicitation of comments: An agency must solicit comments from the public on
the subject matter of the possible rules at least 60 days before publishing a notice
of proposed rules. Minn. Stat. § 14.101.

Statement of need and reasonableness: An agency must prepare a statement of
the need for and reasonableness of the proposed rules. The statement must be
available to the public. The statement must contain a summary of evidence and
arguments that the agency intends to use to support the proposed rules. The
statement must also:

(1) determine ifthere are less costly or less intrusive methods for
achieving the purpose of the proposed rule;

(2) describe alternative methods for achieving the purposes of the
proposed rule that were seriously considered and give reasons why
these alternatives were rejected; and

(3) assess the probable costs of complying with the proposed rule and
the costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule.

Minn. Stat. §§ 14.131 and 14.23.
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Notice: An agency must publish notice of proposed rules in the State Register. It
must mail this notice to people who have requested to be notified and must make
other reasonable efforts to notify people who may be significantly affected by the
proposed rules. Minn. Stat. §§ 14.14, subd. la, and 14.22.

Public hearing: An agency must conduct a public hearing on proposed rules if 25
or more people submit a written request for a hearing. Most agency rules are
adopted without a public hearing. Minn. Stat. § 14.25.

If no public hearing is required, the agency presents its own evidence into the
record and accepts material from the public. If a public hearing is held, it is
conducted by an independent administrative law judge (ALJ). At the hearing, the
agency must make an affirmative presentation demonstrating the need for and
reasonableness of the proposed rules. The public may testify and may question
agency representatives. Minn. Stat. § 14.14.

If the ALJ determines that the agency has not met all of the legal and procedural
requirements, the rules are submitted to the chief ALJ. If the chief supports the
ALJ, the agency may not adopt the rule until the defects are corrected. Once the
ALJ or the chief ALJ approves the rules, the agency may submit them to the
governor and take other procedural steps necessary for final adoption.

If the ALJ and the chief ALJ determine that the agency has not established the
need for or reasonableness of the rules, the rules are submitted to the Legislative
Coordinating Commission (LCC) and to the House and Senate governmental
operations committees for comment. After seeking these comments, an agency
may adopt the rules.

The governor may veto all or a severable portion of a proposed administrative rule
at the end of the rulemaking process, before the rule takes effect. To veto a rule,
the governor must submit notice of the veto to the State Register within 14 days of
receiving a copy of the rule from the secretary of state. Minn. Stat. § 14.05,
subd.6.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051. For information on
related topics, see the House Research short subjects: Rulemaking: Review ofAdopted Rules and
Rulemaking: Expedited Process and Exemptions.
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Rulemaking: Review of Adopted Rules

All three branches of state government have authority to review administrative rules. The legislature also
has established processes under which a person can petition an agency for adoption, amendment, or repeal of
a rule, or can petition to stop improper enforcement of a policy that an agency has not adopted as a rule.

Executive review

Legislative review

An agency that adopts a rule may amend or repeal the rule. An amendment or
repeal is itself considered a "rule" and can be done only after following the usual
rulemaking procedures. The governor may veto a proposed rule, but cannot veto
or otherwise change an adopted rule, unless the agency follows the rulemaking
process.

Amendment or repeal. The legislature can pass a bill repealing or amending a
rule, or changing the permissible scope of the rule. If the legislature removes the
statutory authority for rulemaking, rules adopted under that authority are
automatically repealed. Minn. Stat. § 14.05, subd. 1.

Investigation and objection. The legislature has authorized the Legislative
Coordinating Commission (LCC) to investigate complaints about rules. Upon
written request of two or more LCC members, or any five legislators, the LCC
must review a rule, either by holding LCC meetings or by establishing another
group to review the rules. Minn. Stat. § 3.305, subd. 8.

The LCC or the House or Senate governmental operations committees may also
formally object to rules. An objection shifts the burden of proof to the agency to
show that the rule is valid if the rule is challenged in court. Minn. Stat. § 3.842,
subd.4a.

Review of rules. The legislature has scheduled a comprehensive review of rules
of cabinet-level agencies from the 2002 through the 2005 legislative sessions.
Minn. Stat. § 14.3691.

Delayed effect. The House and Senate standing committees with jurisdiction over
the subject mater of a rule may vote to delay the effect of a proposed rule until the
legislature adjourns the annual legislative session that begins after the vote of the
committees. Minn. Stat. § 14.126.



Judicial review
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An agency rule may be challenged in court. The court must declare a rule invalid
if it finds the rule:

• is unconstitutional
• exceeds the statutory authority or
• was adopted without complying with statutory requirements.

Minn. Stat. § 14.45.

A city, county, or sanitary district may petition an agency to amend or repeal a
rule. A petition must show that since the rule was adopted, there is significant new
evidence relating to the need for or reasonableness of the rule, or a less costly or
intrusive method of achieving the purpose of the rule. If an agency does not take
the action requested by a petition, an administrative law judge (ALJ) holds a
hearing on the continued need for and reasonableness of the rule. If the agency
does not demonstrate the continued need for and reasonableness of the rule, the
rule does not have the force of law after 90 days. An agency can amend the rule so
this does not happen. Minn. Stat. § 14~091.

Any person may petition an agency for adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule.
An agency receiving such a petition must respond within 60 days, giving reasons
for its response. However, unlike a petition from a unit of local government, there
is no hearing process or other remedy if the agency decides not to take the
requested action. Minn. Stat. § 14.09.

Any person may petition an ALJ, alleging that an agency is improperly enforcing a
policy without going through rulemaking. If the ALJ determines that the agency is
improperly enforcing a policy as if it were a duly adopted rule, the ALJ must direct
the agency to cease this enforcement. However, when an agency enforces a law or
rule by applying the law or rule to specific facts on a case-by-case basis, this does
not constitute improper rulemaking. Minn. Stat. § 14.381.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051.
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Rulemaking: Expedited Process and Exemptions

The legislature sometimes authorizes state agencies to adopt administrative rules without following the usual
rulemaking procedures. This is done by allowing agencies to use an expedited process or by exempting
certain rules from rulemaking.

Expedited
rulemaking process

The legislature has created an expedited process for adopting rules. An agency
may use this process only when specifically authorized by law. Under the
expedited process, an agency publishes notice of its proposed rule in the State
Register and mails notices to those who have requested notice. The agency must
then allow at least 30 days for comment. At the end of the comment period, and
after an administrative lawjudge approves the form and legality, the agency may
adopt the rule. Unlike the customary rulemaking process, there is no opportunity
for public hearing under the expedited process, unless the legislature specifically
provides for this opportunity. Minn. Stat. § 14.389. The legislature seldom has
authorized use of this expedited process, which was first enacted in 1997.

There is a separate expedited process for repealing obsolete rules. Minn. Stat. §
14.3895. This process may be used to repeal rules that an agency identifies in a
required annual report on obsolete rules.

Specific exemptions The legislature has enacted numerous laws providing that specific agency policies
that come within the definition of a "rule" may be adopted without complying with
the usual rulemaking procedures. But the law requires an agency to follow certain
minimal requirements even if the rules are exempt from the usual rulemaking
procedures. These requirements are:

• The Revisor of Statutes must approve the form of the rule.
• The Office ofAdministrative Hearings must approve the rule's legality.
• A copy of the rule must be published in the State Register.

These so-called exempt rules are effective only for two years. Minn. Stat.
§ 14.386.

Sometimes the legislature provides that the two-year effective period and the
minimal procedural requirements specified above do not apply to a set of rules.



"Good cause"
exemptions

The legislature has provided limited circumstances under which an agency may
omit rulemaking procedures. This can be done only if rulemaking procedures are
unnecessary, impracticable, or contrary to the public interest, and if the rule:

(1) addresses a serious and immediate threat to public health, safety, or
welfare;

(2) complies with a court order or federal law in a manner that does not
allow for compliance with rulemaking procedures;

(3) incorporates changes in law when no interpretation of law is
required; or

(4) makes changes that do no alter the meaning or effect of a rule.

An agency using the good cause exemption must give notice of its proposed rule,
including an explanation of why use of the good cause exemption is justified. The
Office of Administrative Hearings reviews the legality of the proposed rules,
including the justification for use of the good cause exemption.

Rules adopted under clauses (1) and (2) are effective only for two years.

Minn. Stat. §14.388.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mark Shepard at 651-296-5051. For information on the
customary rulemaking process, see the House Research short subject Rulemaking: Process for Adopting
Rules.
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Minnesota's New K-12 Academic Standards
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The Minnesota Legislature repealed the profile of learning portion of the high
school graduation rule for the 2003-04 school year and later. Laws 2003, chapter
129, replaces the profile of learning with required academic standards in five
subject areas that public high school students must complete to graduate: language
arts; mathematics, science; social studies, including U. S. and world history,
geography, economics, and government and citizenship; and the arts. The federal
No Child Left Behind Act makes state academic standards in language arts,
mathematics, and science applicable to all public school students (except the very
few disabled students for whom an individualized education plan team determines
alternative standards and assessments are appropriate).

Students entering ninth grade in the 2004-05 school year or later must complete
four language arts credits, three mathematics credits,three science credits, three
and one-half social studies credits, and eight elective course credits (including at
least one arts credit). Districts may apply state or locally developed academic
standards for the arts. Districts decide whether students meet course credit
requirements by satisfactorily completing an academic year of study or by
satisfactorily demonstrating mastery of the applicable subject matter.

In addition to meeting course requirements, public school students must also
satisfy existing state basic skills requirements in reading, math, and writing in
order to graduate. A district must adopt the new graduation requirements no later
than the 2007-08 school year; a district that adopts the new graduation
requirements earlier must allow students who enter ninth grade by the 2003-2004
school year to graduate based on requirements in effect when the students become
ninth graders.

The Commissioner ofEducation must supplement the required academic standards
with published grade-level benchmarks that specify the academic knowledge and
skills that schools must offer and students must achieve to satisfy the standards.
Benchmarks provide information about the content of academic standards and are
used to develop tests. The commissioner must implement a four-year cycle
beginning in the 2006-07 school year to review required academic standards,
related benchmarks, and elective standards. The commissioner may change
benchmarks only with specific legislative authorization.

As they become available, districts must use state assessments aligned with state­
required academic standards in language arts, mathematics, and science to measure
student progress in achieving those standards and to determine whether students
have satisfied state basic skills requirements in reading, math, and writing. The
commissioner must not develop statewide social studies and arts assessments. An
eleven-member assessment advisory committee reviews statewide assessments
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before they are finalized. Beginning in the 2005-06 school year, students in grades
3 through 8 and at the high school level take annual language arts and mathematics
assessments. Beginning in the 2007-08 school year, students take science
assessments one time in each grade span 3-5,6-9, and 10-12. Districts administer
alternative assessments to students with disabilities or limited English proficiency
only when appropriate. The state and local districts must publicly report student,
school, district, and state assessment results. By the 2006-07 school year, the
commissioner must include in the assessment results a value-added component that
measures students' growth in achievement over time. Public schools and districts
may use students' assessment performance to promote or retain students or as a
percentage of students' final course grade, or may record the performance on
student transcripts.

Districts must establish local elective standards for and offer courses in health and
physical education, vocational and technical education, and world languages.
Districts use locally selected assessments to determine whether students achieve
these standards.

The Education Commissioner must adopt rules for the academic standards in
language arts, mathematics, and the arts, to implement in the 2003-04 school year,
which must be the same as those referenced in the 2003 legislation. After adopting
these rules, the commissioner cannot amend or repeal the rules nor adopt new rules
on the same topic without specific legislative authorization. After considering
stakeholders' advice, the commissioner must propose academic standards in
science and social studies to the legislature by February 1, 2004.

The commissioner must use objective criteria, including student academic
performance, school safety, staff characteristics, and by the 2006-07 school year, a
value-added component, to identify four to six designations ofhigh and low
performing public schools. Annually, beginning in November 2003, the
commissioner must post performance report cards that show each school's
designation on the Education Department's school web site. A school or district
may appeal its designation to the commissioner; the commissioner's decision to
uphold or deny an appeal is final.

Timeline for Implementing New Standards
School Year 2003-2004 2004-2005 2005-2006 2006-2007 2007-2008

Profile of learning Students entering Students in grades Commissioner must All high school
repealed and replaced ninth grade must 3-8 and high school include a value-added students are
with standards in 5 complete credit must take annual component when subject to new
subjects; schools' report requirements iri 5 language arts and designating high and low graduation
cards and high or low subjects in order math assessments performing schools; requirements;

Requirements performing designations to graduate commissioner must students must
are posted on web; implement a four-year take science
commissioner must cycle to review required assessments one
propose science and standards, related time in each
social studies standards benchmarks, and elective grade span 3-5,
to the legislature standards 6-9, 10-12

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.
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Internet Filters and the Children's Internet Protection Act
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Congress passed the Children's Internet Protection Act (CIPA) in 2000 to protect
children from sexually explicit material on the Internet. CIPA requires public
schools and libraries that receive federal E-rate discounts for Internet access or
obtain federal grants to provide electronic information services to install software
filters that prevent library users from gaining Internet access to obscene,
pornographic, or visually harmful material. (In fiscal year 2002, E-rate discounts
totaled $58.5 million, and grants for information services totaled $149 million.)

CIPA allows, but does not require, librarians to disable softwar~ filters or unblock
specific Internet sites at the request of an adult library user or for research or other
lawful purposes. CIPA gives librarians no procedures or standards for deciding
whether or not to disable filters or unblock sites when requested,or to require adult
library users making such requests to identify themselves..CIPA also does not
specify what filtering systems libraries might use-whether keyword or site
blocking-with the consequence that libraries implement CIPA differently.

CIPA is the third law since 1996 that Congress passed to address parents' concerns
about children's access to harmful Internet materials. The U.S. Supreme Court
struck down the 1996 Communications Decency Act (CDA), which made it a
crime to put on the Internet sexually explicit material accessible to children,
because the law burdened protected speech and failed to protect children.

The Supreme Court prohibited enforcement of the. 1998 Child Online Protection
Act (COPA), which made it a crime for commercial websites to disseminate
Internet communications harmful to children without restricting children's access
to the communications; the Court will rule a second time in 2004 on COPA
restrictions. The Supreme Court found that several provisions distinguished CIPA
from the CDA and COPA and made CIPA constitutionally defensible.

The American Library Association (American·Library Association v. u.s.) and the
American Civil Liberties Union (Multnomah County Public Library v. U.S.)
challenged CIPA in federal district court in Pennsylvania, arguing that the law
forced public libraries to choose between censoring Internet resources to the
detriment of the library users who need Internet access most (10 percent of the 143
million Americans who regularly use the Internet rely on access at a public library)
or foregoing much needed federal funds. The cases were consolidated and a three­
judge panel ruled CIPA unconstitutional in 2002 because libraries that comply with
CIPA's filtering requirement block access to constitutionally protected material.
The court reasoned that CIPA imposes an overly broadcontent~basedrestriction on
libraries that, as a designated public forum, provide library users with Internet
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access to infonnation from millions of speakers worldwide.

The court found that there were less restrictive alternatives available to further the
government's compelling interest in preventing children's access to obscene,
pornographic, or visually hannful material. There alternatives included requiring
children to use computers in direct view of library staff, placing unfiltered
monitors in remote locations, and installing privacy screens or recessed monitors.

The U.S. Justice Department appealed the federal district court decision to the U.S.
Supreme Court under a CIPA provision for expedited review. In a 6-to-3 decision,
the Supreme Court reversed the lower court, holding that CIPA does not violate the
First Amendment rights of library users, exceed Congress' power to spend, or
impose unconstitutional requirements on libraries seeking federal assistance (U.S.
v. American Library Association (2003)). The decision allows Congress to require
public libraries to install pornography filters on all computers with Internet access
as a condition of receiving E-rate funding or grants for computer-related purchases.

The Supreme Court may review its decision if libraries are unable to quickly
disable filters or unblock sites at the request of adult library users and thereby
restrict users' right to view constitutionally protected material.

Perhaps the greatest significance of this decision lies in Chief Justice Rehnquist's
plurality opinion that public libraries are not a public forum for Web publishers (or
book authors) to speak and are not surrogates for their users' First Amendment
interests. Instead, libraries facilitate users' access to research and educational
materials. The Court characterized libraries' decisions to install filters as a
decision about collecting suitable and worthwhile materials, and not a decision
about removing materials. Continuing the parallel with traditional library
activities, Rehnquist wrote that "public libraries have traditionally excluded
pornographic materials from their other collections [and] Congress could
reasonably impose a parallel limitation on its Internet assistance programs."

The Court found that by allowing libraries to disable filters or unblock sites at
users' request, CIPA protects the First Amendment rights of adult library users and
neutralizes filter-related problems ofblocking protected speech. As a result, strict
scrutiny under the First Amendment, which requires government to show that a
limitation serves a compelling state interest, and the limitation is narrowly drawn
to achieve that interest, does not apply. This decision appears to narrow the
definition of public forum, leaving fewer circumstances where the government
must demonstrate a compelling interest before it restricts individuals' speech.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.
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Adequate Yearly Progress Under the No Child Left Behind Act
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A goal of Title I of the No Child Left Behind Act of2001 "is to ensure that all
children have a fair, equal and significant opportunity to obtain a high-quality
education and reach, at a minimum, proficiency on challenging state academic
achievement standards and state academic assessments." States must align
academic content with student performance standards and annually assess students'
progress in achieving those standards. Schools, school districts, and each state
must use a statewide educational accountability system to determine whether all
students in a school are making adequate yearly progress (AYP)toward having
100 percent of students perform proficiently in English and math by the 2013-2014
school year.

Each state must define proficiency and set its own starting point for measuring
AYP, which is based on the performance of the lowest performing demographic
subgroup of students or lowest achieving schools. Schools that receive Title I
funds suffer increasingly severe consequences each year they do not make AYP.
The consequences range from bussing students to different schools within a district
and providing before and after school tutoring programs to reassigning or
dismissing staff, a state taking over a school, and closing schools. Although the
timeline is based on improving student performance in "equal" increments, some
states require less of students during an initial two- or three-year period and leave
large annual improvements for later years.

Historically, school districts have developed school accountability measures
locally while implementing federal and state education requirements. In contrast,
the No Child Left Behind Act prescribes school and district-level accountability
measures and timelines. The federal law:

• requires schools and districts to improve students'performance and
achieve specific performance targets

• mandates that all students participate in large-scale statewide assessments
• requires public reporting of school and district-level test scores
• attaches consequences to schools and school districts that fail to achieve

AYP

The federal law requires schools to determine whether all students and specific
subgroups of students (limited English proficiency students, students with
disabilities, students eligible for free and reduced price meals, and white, black,
Asian Pacific Islander, American Indian, and Hispanic students) are making AYP.
The fewer student subgroups identified and counted within a school, the fewer
chances for the school to fail to make AYP. Schools fail to make AYP if they fail



Minnesota
identifiedfewer
schools as not
making adequate
yearly progress than
did other states

Adequate yearly
progress indicators
include student
performance,
student attendance,
and graduation
rates

to meet or sustain specific levels ofperformance for all students and for each
identified student subgroup. Schools also fail to make AYP if fewer than 95
percent of students in each identified subgroup are tested.

There is a wide range in state-by-state percentages of schools identified as not
making adequate yearly progress. The federal law allows each state to establish its
own academic goals, use state-developed tests to assess students' mastery of those
goals, and define what is proficient on state tests. Under its Title I plan, Minnesota
defines as proficient those students who achieve a score of 1,420 or higher on the
Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs). Although data for a number of
Minnesota's smallest schools remain to be analyzed, at the end of summer 2003,
the Minnesota Department of Education identified 8 percent, or 144 schools
throughout the state, as not making AYP toward 100 percent student proficiency in
English and math.

The number of students in a subgroup needed to yield statistically reliable
information varies by state. Each state decides how many students must be in a
particular student subgroup before the performance of that subgroup is included in
calculating a school's AYP. Minnesota identified relatively fewer schools as not
making AYP than did many other states. This is, in part, because Minnesota
elected to require a minimum of 40 disabled students, instead of 20, to establish the
statistical reliability of the subgroup.

Federal and state accountability systems also use high school graduation rates and
student attendance rates in elementary and middle school to sanction low­
performing schools, recognize high-performing schools, and target teacher
improvement efforts. To satisfy federal AyP requirements for graduation in
Minnesota, high schools and school districts must have, or show acceptable
improvement toward an average graduation rate of 80 percent. To satisfy federal
AYP requirements for attendance in Minnesota, elementary and middle schools
and school districts must have, or show acceptable improvement toward a daily
attendance rate of 90 percent. Both attendance and graduation rates are calculated
for all students in a school. Satisfactory scores on attendance and graduation rates
do not cancel out a school's failure to make AYP as measured by students' test
results.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
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Special Sessions of the Minnesota Legislature

The governor may
call the legislature
into special session
on extraordinary
occasions

Special sessions
permit legislative
action at anytime
ofthe year

Special sessions
have become more
frequent in recent
decades

Each special
session is discrete

Besides requiring the legislature to meet in regular session during a part of each
biennium (two-year period), the Minnesota Constitution permits the legislature to
meet in special session "on extraordinary occasions."

Some state legislatures are allowed to call themselves into special session. The
Minnesota Constitution does not permitthis: only the governor can call the
legislature into special session. (Statutory law purports to allow the legislature to
call itself into special session, under certain circumstances, when the state is under
attack by enemies of the United States.)

Statutory law directs the governor to call a special session by means of a
proclamation, to notify all legislators of the time of the meeting, and to inform the
legislature of the purpose of the. session. The governor's proclamation is filed with
the secretaryof state and is printed in the journal of each houseand in the Laws of
Minnesota (a compilation of legislative actions published each year).

Special sessions permit legislative action, if necessary, at times when the
legislature is not meeting, or allowed by the constitution to meet, in regular session
(generally, the summer and autumn months). Typically governors call special
sessions for two reasons:

Each special session is a separate, free-standing meeting of the legislature,
independent of the regular legislative session and any other special session. All
legislation to be considered must be introduced as new bills. The legislature may
not act on bills from the regular session or another special session.



The legislature
determines the
length and scope of
a special session

Most special
sessions are quite
concentrated and
short

Legislators decide what issues and legislation to consider in a special session and
how long to meet. Governors initiate special sessions but have no authority to limit
their scope or duration. Nor does the constitution regulate the length of special
sessions, as it does regular sessions. Once they are called into a special session,
legislators could decide to take up a large agenda and meet for a lengthy period­
even, in theory, until legislative terms of office end and a new legislature convenes
in regular session, in January of the next odd-numbered year.

Despite the legislature's unbridled authority to determine the scope and length of
special sessions, long rambling ones are rare. The length ofmost is best measured
in hours or days. Seldom does one extend beyond a single week. The longest in
history-by far-occurred in 1971, when a special session convened in late May
and did not adjourn finally until the end of October.

Two common practices contribute to the brevity of most. special sessions.

First, the governor and legislative leaders seek agreement on the business of
the session before the governor calls it. Some agreement on the general scope of
the session usually is possible. This is announced publicly before the session and
reflected in a general way in the language of the governor's proclamation. A
typical proclamation these days recites the need for essential laws in specified
subjects and calls for the prompt conclusion of legislative business, with a limited
agenda and as much prior agreement as possible.

Besides seeking agreement on the general scope of the session, the leaders also
may attempt to reach more detailed agreements about the content of legislation.
Sometimes this is possible-to the point even that bills drafted before the special
session begins may pass into law without any amendment whatever. Other times,
important matters remain unsettled when the session begins, because the issues are
so complex or contentious that the leaders cannot agree, or their agreements do not
hold once all legislators are assembled.

Second, the legislature usually uses expedited procedures to pass legislation.
During special sessions, the House and the Senate often pass bills shortly after they
are introduced. This is accomplished by declaring an "urgency" and suspending
both the constitutional requirement that each bill be considered on three different
days in each house and the requirement of legislative rules that each bill be
referred to a committee when it is introduced. The two-thirds vote required in each
house to expedite passage in this way usually is forthcoming, because legislators
generally wish to curb the length of the session.

For more information: Contact TomTodd at 651-296-5048.
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Schools and Firearms

It is generally a crime to possess a dangerous weapon, including a firearm, while
knowingly on school property (felony). Minn. Stat. § 609.66, subd. Id. It is also a
crime to possess (gross misdemeanor) or "brandish" (felony) a replica firearm or a
BB gun while knowingly on school property. There are many important
exceptions and definitions to note, which are set out below.

For purposes of school-related firearm possession crimes, school property
includes:

• the improved grounds of either a public or private school;
• the area inside a school bus when the bus is being used for school activities;
• any other building under the temporary, exclusive control of a school or

association of schools if conspicuous signs are posted at each entrance giving
notice of the school-related use; and

• a licensed child care center when children are present.

Definition ofa child care center
A child care center is a facility that operates a child care program that is required to
be licensed, but does not include family or group family day care housed in a
private residence. A child care program is a system of activities to promote the
development of a child for part of a day. In-home day care is not a child care
center.

It is generally a crime for students to possess firearms on school property-a
felony-level offense in mostcases. A student who brings a firearm to school is
subject to a juvenile delinquency petition or possibly adult criminal charges,
depending on the circumstances. Minn. Stat. § 609.66, subd. Id. Additionally,
students have an additional consequence of a mandatory one-year minimum
expulsion. The school board is authorized to modify the expulsion on a case-by­
case basis. Minn. Stat. § 121A.44. School boards must have policies to notify law
enforcement officials when a pupil unlawfully brings a firearm to school. Minn.
Stat. § 121A.05.

A law enforcement agency must notify a juvenile's school when the agency has
probable cause to believe the juvenile committed an offense involving a dangerous
weapon (including a firearm). A juvenile's probation officer must give a copy of
the juvenile's disposition order to the school if the juvenile is adjudicated
delinquent for an act involving a dangerous weapon (including a firearm). Minn.
Stat. § 260B.171.



Persons with
permits to carry
pistols in public

Exceptions

Preemption

A person with a pistol pennit is not allowed to carry a fireann on school property
(misdemeanor). Minn. Stat. § 609.66, subd. Id. However, there is an exception
for pennit holders while in a motor vehicle or while placing a fireann in the trunk
(or rear area of the vehicle).

The prohibition against carrying a fireann on school property does not apply to:

• on-duty peace officers;
• on-duty military personnel or students participating in military training;
• a person with the written pennission of the principal (or director of a child care

center);
• fireanns legally stored in a motor vehicle (generally meaning they are unloaded

and cased);
• a ceremonial color guard;
• fireann safety courses;
• gun shows held on school property; or
• a person on unimproved property owned by a school (unless the person knows

children are present for school activities). Minn. Stat. § 609.66, subd. Id.

A school district may not regulate fireann possession by nonstudents or
nonemployees in a manner that is more restrictive or less restrictive than the statute
that establishes the general rule and the exceptions listed above. Minn. Stat.
§609.66, subd. Id.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joe Cox at 651-296-5044.
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Medical Assistance (MA), the state's Medicaid program, is a jointly funded, federal-state program that
pays for health care services for low-income individuals. The program is administered locally by
counties, under the supervision of the state Department of Ruman Services (DRS). The program is
governed by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B, and by federal Medicaid law, which allows states
considerable flexibility in designing their Medicaid programs.

Eligibility To be eligible for MA, an individual must:

• Be a member of a group for which MA coverage is mandatory under
federal law, or a member of an optional group that the state has chosen to
cover. Covered groups include families, children, pregnant women, the
elderly, and persons with disabilities.

• Meet program income and asset limits. Different limits apply to
different categories of individuals. Certain types of income and specified
assets are excluded when determining eligibility. Income and asset
limits for selected groups are:

Net income limit, as % of federal
Eligibility group poverty guidelines (FPG)* Asset limit**

Children < age 2 280 None

Children 2 through 18 170 None

Children 19 through 20 100 None

Pregnant women 275 None

Parents 100 $10,000 for one/$20,000
for two or more persons

Aged, blind, or disabled 100 $3,000 for one/$6,000 for
two/$200 each additional

* The income limit for children 2 through 18 is scheduled to be reduced to 150 percent ofFPG,
and the income limit for pregnant women reduced to 200 percent ofFPG, effective July 1, 2004.
** The homestead, household goods, a vehicle, a burial plot and certain assets for burial
expenses, and other specified items are not counted as assets.

Individuals with incomes over these limits can also qualify for MA
through a spenddown. Under a spenddown, an individual must incur
medical bills in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount by
which the individual's income exceeds the spenddown limit of 100
percent ofFPG for families and children and 75 percent ofFPG for
individuals who are aged, blind, or disabled.
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• Be a U.S. citizen or a noncitizen who meets specified immigration
criteria.

• Be a resident ofMinnesota.

• Meet other program eligibility requirements.

Minnesota provides all federally mandated services and most services
designated by the federal Medicaid program as optional. These services include,
but are not limited to: physician, hospital, therapy and rehabilitative, dental,
medical equipment and supplies, home health care, health clinic, mental health,
prescription drugs, medical transportation, nursing home, and intermediate care
facility for persons with mental retardation and related conditions (ICFIMR)
services. Beginning October 1,2003, adult enrollees who are not pregnant will
be subject to copayments for certain services.

The state has also received federal approval to provide services not normally
covered by Medicaid. These home and community-based "waivered services"
are intended to make it possible for individuals to remain in the community,
rather than reside in a hospital, nursing home, or ICFIMR.

The MA program reimburses providers under both a fee-for-service system and
a managed care system (comprised of the Prepaid Medical Assistance Program
or PMAP and county-based purchasing initiatives). Under the fee-for-service
system, health care providers bill DHS and are reimbursed at rates specified by
state law. Under managed care, prepaid health plans (or counties in the case of
county-based purchasing) receive a monthly capitation payment for each
enrollee. The state does not set provider reimbursement rates; these rates are
instead the product of negotiation between the health care providers and the
prepaid health plan or county.

The federal share ofMA costs is determined by a formula that is based on state
per capita income. In fiscal year 2002, the federal government paid 50 percent
ofthe cost ofMA services, and the state was responsible for the remaining 50
percent. In fiscal year 2003, total state and federal MA expenditures for services
were $4.758 billion.

As ofMay 2003,453,242 individuals were eligible for MA services. As of July
1,2003,262,453 MA recipients in 80 counties received services under PMAP or
a county-based purchasing initiative.

Individuals interested in applying for MA should contact their county human
servIces agency.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. Also see the House
Research information briefMedical Assistance.
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2003 On-Line Learning Option Act

Minnesota school
districts and charter
schools may offer
K-12 students on­
line courses and
earn additional
revenue

On-line learning
providers must offer
rigorous courses
aligned with
academic standards
and provide actual
teacher contact time

Allpreviously
enrolled public
school students may
apply to take up to
12 on-line learning
courses in a single
school year

The 2003 Minnesota Legislature passed the On-Line Learning Option Act (Minn.
Stat. § 124D.095) to allow Minnesota school districts and charter schools to offer
various on-line courses for credit to Minnesota K-12 public school students and
some nonpublic K-12 students. Schools offering on-line courses can earn
additional revenue for the on-line courses taken by students not enrolled in the
district or charter school. Districts that provide on-line learning courses to their
enrolled students do not receive on-line learning aid for those students. On-line
learning providers may limit student enrollment based on locally adopted
acceptance standards. Out-of-state and nonschool district vendors cannot be on­
line learning providers but may help providers design on-line courses.

On-line learning providers must be certified by the Minnesota Department of
Education and must pay a $250 fee. Certified providers must offer:

• rigorous courses aligned with state academic standards that enable students
to progress in a subject

• on-line courses with standards or instruction, curriculum, and assessment
requirements equivalent to other courses

• actual teacher contact time or other student-to-teacher communication

Once certified, providers may receive payment for all on-line courses they offer
unless challenged by a district or the department.

All Minnesota K-12 public school students enrolled in a public school for at least
one school year may apply to enroll in an on-line learning course; minor students
may apply with their parents' written permission. Interested students do not need
the permission of their enrolling district or charter school to take on-line learning
courses provided by another district or charter school. Students who take on-line
learning courses in another district or charter school must give their district or
charter school at least a 30-day notice.

Students taking on-line learning courses may:

,
• take up to 12 semester-long courses in a single year
• complete course work at a grade level commensurate with their ability
• enroll in additional on-line courses under a separate fee agreement

Students with disabilities may enroll in on-line courses consistent with their
individualized education plan. Aid paid to a district or charter school enrolling a
student is reduced and paid to another district or charter school providing on-line



learning courses outside the enrolling district or charter school.

Districts and charter schools cannot discriminate against students taking on-line
courses and must provide such students with the same access to computer
hardware and education software as all other students. On-line learning providers
must help participating students whose families qualify for the education tax credit
to acquire computer hardware and educational software.

Licensed Minnesota
teachers deliver on­
line learning

School districts and
charter schools
receive on-line
learning aidfrom
other districts or a
state aidpool

Participation in on-line learning by public school students not enrolled in public
school throughout the preceding school year and by nonpublic and home school
students is limited by available revenue and order of application.

Licensed Minnesota teachers must assemble and deliver instruction to students
taking on-line learning courses. Teachers providing on-line learning instruction
are limited to 40 students per course unless the commissioner of education waives
this requirement. Actual teacher contact time or other similar communication is an
expected on-line learning component.

Students taking on-line learning courses in another district or charter school
generate on-line learning aid that comes either from the district or charter school
enrolling the participating student or a state on-line learning aid pool. Districts and
charter schools that enroll students who take on-line learning courses from another
district or charter school may proportionately reduce the students' teacher contact
or classroom instruction time.

A semester-long on-line learning course equals 1/12 of a pupil unit and courses of
other lengths generate proportionate funding amounts. On-line learning providers
receive 88 percent of the on-line learning aid participating students generate, and
the district or charter school enrolling the participating students keeps 12 percent
for administrative and other nonacademic costs.

The state on-line learning aid pool has limited funds for public school students not
enrolled in public school throughout the preceding school year and for nonpublic
and home school students to take on-line learning courses. The 2003 Legislature
appropriated $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2004 and $1,250,000 in fiscal year 2005 for
on-line learning.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.
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Prescription Drug Program

The Prescription Drug Program is a state program that provides prescription drug coverage for low­
income Minnesotans who are elderly or disabled and enrolled in Medicare. The program is
administered locally by counties, under the supervision of the Department of Human Services (DHS).
The program is governed by Minnesota Statutes, section 256.955, and was first implemented in 1999.

Eligibility

Covered services

To be eligible for the Prescription Drug Program, an individual must:

• Be a Medicare enrollee who is either age 65 or over, or under age 65
with a disability;

• Be enrolled as either a Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) or a
Service Limited Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB) (see below);

• Not have prescription drug coverage through a private sector health
insurance plan or through a Medicare supplement plan, and not have had
this coverage in the four months prior to approval;

• Be ineligible for Medical Assistance (MA) or General Assistance
Medical Care (GAMC) without a spenddown, and not be enrolled in
MinnesotaCare;

• Have an income that does not exceed 120 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines, after the income exclusions of the MA program and a $20
disregard per individual or couple are applied;

• Have assets whose value does not exceed $10,000 for one individual and
$18,000 for a household of two or more, after the homestead, household
goods, a vehicle, and other specified assets are excluded;

• Have lived in Minnesota for at least 180 days.

The program income and asset limits result from the requirement that enrollees
be eligible as QMBs or SLMBs. QMBs are eligible for MA payment of
Medicare Part A and B premiums and cost-sharing, and SLMBs are eligible for
MA payment of Medicare Part B premiums.

Enrollees have coverage for most prescription drugs. The program covers
prescription drugs that are covered under MA, for which the manufacturer has
agreed to pay a rebate to DHS. Enrollees can obtain these prescription drugs at
pharmacies that participate in state health care programs.

The program does not cover, for a specific enrollee, prescription drugs that are
covered under an assistance program offered by a pharmaceutical manufacturer.
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(This provision is effective 90 days after the Minnesota Board on Aging
implements the Prescription Drug Assistance Program. This program was
authorized by Laws 2003, first special session, chapter 14, article 12, section 11,
and is intended to assist individuals in accessing programs offered by
pharmaceutical manufacturers that provide free or discounted prescription drugs
or provide prescription drug coverage.)

Pharmacies are reimbursed for prescription drugs provided to program enrollees
at the MA reimbursement level, minus any deductible paid by an enrollee.

Enrollees must satisfy a $35 monthly deductible. The Prescription Drug
Program is funded by the state. In fiscal year 2003, after accounting for
prescription drug rebates, the state paid $8.2 million for prescription drugs
provided to program enrollees.

In fiscal year 2003, average monthly enrollment in the program was 6,246. As
of September 2, 2003, enrollment in the program was 6,801.

Individuals interested in applying for the Prescription Drug Program should
contact their county human services agency. More information about the
program can be obtained from the Senior LinkAge Line (1-800-333-2433).

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639.
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MinnesotaCare is a state program that provides subsidized health care coverage to low- and moderate­
income families and individuals. The program is administered by the Department of Human Services;
counties have the option of processing applications and determining eligibility. The program is
governed by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256L.

Eligibility

Covered services

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, an individual must:

• Have gross income that does not exceed 275 percent of the federal
poverty guidelines (FPG) for families and children ($50,604 for a
household of four), and 175 percent ofFPG for single adults and
households without children ($15,720 for a household of one and
$21,216 for a household of two). Parents with annual gross incomes
over $50,000 are ineligible; this income cap does not apply to pregnant
women and minor parents.

• Have assets that do not exceed $10,000 for a household of one and
$20,000 for a household of two or more, after certain exclusions. This
asset standard does not apply to pregnant women and children.

• Not have access to employer-subsidized health care coverage, and not
have had access to this coverage through the current employer for 18
months prior to application or renewal. This requirement does not apply
to children with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent of FPG and
certain other children.

• Have no health care coverage at the time of application and for four
months prior to application or renewal. Children with incomes that do
not exceed 150 percent of FPG and certain other children considered to
be "underinsured" are exempt from this requirement.

• Be a resident of Minnesota. Pregnant women, families, and children
must meet the residency requirements of the Medical Assistance (MA)
program; adults without children must satisfy a 180-day residency
requirement.

Pregnant women and children have access to a broader range of covered services
than adults who are not pregnant. Pregnant women and children receive
coverage for all health care services provided under MA. MA covers physician,
hospital, prescription drug, nursing home, and a wide range of other health care
and long-term care services.

Parents and, through September 30,2003, all eligible single adults and
households without children, are covered for most, but not all MA services.
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Services not covered include personal care attendant, private duty nursing,
nursing home, ICF/MR (intermediate care facility for persons with mental
retardation and related conditions), and special transportation services. Adults
who are not pregnant are also subject to certain benefit limitations that do not
apply to pregnant women or children.

Effective October 1,2003, single adults and households without children, with
incomes greater than 75 percent but not exceeding 175 percent of FPG, are
covered under a limited benefit set that includes inpatient hospital, physician,
and other specified services, subject to a $5,000 annual cap on outpatient
services. Single adults and households without children with incomes not
exceeding 75 percent ofFPG will continue to receive coverage, along with
parents, for most MA services.

Enrollees must pay premiums based on a sliding scale. Children with incomes
that do not exceed 150 percent ofFPG pay a reduced annual premium of$48.
Adult enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to coinsurance and copayments
for specified services.

All enrollees receive health care services through prepaid health plans. The
MinnesotaCare program pays prepaid health plans a monthly capitation payment
for each MinnesotaCare enrollee. MinnesotaCare does not set provider
reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the result of negotiation between
health care providers and the prepaid health plan.

In fiscal year 2003, the state paid $435 million for medical services provided to
MinnesotaCare enrollees. Fifty-eight percent ofthis cost was paid for by the
state, 32 percent by the federal government, and 10 percent by enrollees through
premium payments.

State funding for MinnesotaCare and other health care access initiatives is
provided by a tax of 1.5 percent on the gross revenues of health care providers
(the tax rate will increase to 2 percent beginning January 1,2004). A 1 percent
tax on the premiums of nonprofit health plan companies will take effect January
1,2004.

The state receives federal funding at the MA match rate for health care services
provided to enrollees who are children, parents, or pregnant women. The state
receives federal funding at an enhanced match rate (under the State Children's
Health Insurance Program) for parents and relative caretakers with incomes
between 100 percent and 200 percent ofFPG.

As of October 1,2003,154,790 individuals were enrolled in the MinnesotaCare
program. Just under one-half of these enrollees were children.

MinnesotaCare applications can be obtained by calling 1-800-657-3672.
Applications are also available at county human services agencies.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. Also see the House
Research information briefMinnesotaCare.
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General Assistance Medical Care

General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC) is a state-funded program that pays for certain health care
services for low-income Minnesota residents who are not eligible for other health care programs. Most
GAMC enrollees are low-income adults between the ages of 21 and 64 who do not have dependent
children. The program is administered locally by the counties, under the supervision of the Department
of Human Services (DHS), and is governed by Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.03.

Eligibility To be eligible for GAMC, an individual must:

• Receive General Assistance (GA) or meet the GAMC income and asset
limits (see table below)

• Not be eligible for Medical Assistance (MA)

• Be a Minnesota resident; GAMC has a 30-day durational residency
requirement

• Meet other program eligibility requirements

Eligibility Group Income Limit Asset Limit* Covered Services Cost-Sharing
1. GA recipients GA limit applies GA limit applies All covered services Copayments

($203/month for ($1,000 per
one person; $260 assistance unit)
for married
couple)

2. GAMC full 75 percent ofFPG $1,000 per All covered services Copayments
coverage household
3. GAMC hospital- Greater than 75 $10,000 per Inpatient hospital $1,000 deductible
only coverage percent but not household of services and physician for each

exceeding 175 one/$20,000 per services provided hospitalization
percent ofFPG household of two during inpatient stay

or more
* The homestead, household goods, a vehIcle, and other specIfied Items are not counted as assets.

Covered services GAMC covers a range of medical services for individuals with incomes not
exceeding 75 percent of federal poverty guidelines (FPG). These include, but
are not limited to: physician, hospital, rehabilitative, dental, medical equipment
and supplies, mental health, prescription drugs, and medical transportation.

Services not covered include: home health care services, nursing home services,
therapy services provided by independently enrolled providers, pregnancy and
related services (GAMC enrollees who are pregnant qualify for coverage of
these services under MA and/or Emergency MA), and services in an
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intennediate care facility for persons with mental retardation and related
conditions (ICF/MR).

Effective October 1, 2003, covered services for enrollees with incomes greater
than 75 percent but not exceeding 175 percent of FPG are limited to inpatient
hospital services and physician services provided during an inpatient stay.

Effective October 1, 2003, enrollees with incomes at or below 75 percent of
FPG are subject to the following copayments:

• $3 per nonpreventive visit (does not apply to visits to mental health
professionals, physical therapists, occupational therapists, and speech
therapists)

• $25 for eyeglasses
• $25 for nonemergency visits to an emergency room
• $3 per brand-name prescription and $1 per generic, subject to a $20 per

month limit (antipsychotic drugs are exempt from copayments), and
• 50 percent coinsurance for basic restorative dental services

Effective October 1,2003, enrollees with incomes greater than 75 percent but
not exceeding 175 percent ofFPG are subject to a $1,000 deductible for each
inpatient hospitalization.

The GAMC program reimburses providers under both a fee-for-service system
and a managed care system (composed of prepaid GAMC and county-based
purchasing initiatives). Under the fee-for-service system, health care providers
bill DHS and are reimbursed at rates specified by state law. Under managed
care, prepaid health plans (or counties in the case of county-based purchasing)
receive a monthly capitation payment for each enrollee. The state does not set
provider reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the result of negotiation
between the health care providers and the prepaid health plan or county.

GAMC is completely state funded; there is no federal funding. During fiscal
year 2003, the state spent $241.2 million in payments to medical providers for
GAMC services.

As of June 2003, 42,893 persons were eligible for GAMC services. As of July
1,2003,22,855 GAMC recipients in 80 counties were enrolled in prepaid
GAMC or a county-based purchasing initiative.

Individuals interested in applying for GAMC should contact their county human
servIces agency.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. Also see the House
Research infonnation brief General Assistance Medical Care.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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What are the
credits?

Who is eligible for
the credits?

How are the credits
calculated?

How do filers claim
the credits?

How many
Minnesotans claim
the credits?

The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit
and Minnesota Working Family Credit

The federal earned income tax credit (BITe) and Minnesota working family credit
(WFC) equal a percentage of the earnings oflow-income individuals. The credits
are refundable; if the credit exceeds a filer's tax liability, the rest is paid as a
refund. Since these credits increase their recipients' earnings, they act as wage
supplements and are thought to provide a work incentive.

Anyone with wages or self-employment income may be eligible to claim the BITe
and the WFC. Individuals with more than $2,650 in interest income, dividends,
rental and royalty income, and capital gain income do not qualify.

The credits equal a percentage of earned income, up to a maximum credit amount,
and are phased out when the claimant's total income exceeds a threshold. The
maximum credit amounts and income levels at which the credits are phased out
vary depending on the number ofchildren in the household and whether the
claimants are married. Both the maximum credit and the phaseout threshold are
adjusted annually for inflation. In tax year 2004, the maximum credits, phaseout
threshold, and income level at which the credits are no longer allowed are:

Maximum credit Phaseout threshold Income at which
credit fully phased
out

EITC WFC EITC WFC EITC WFC
Unmarried
claimants
No children $390 $98 $6,390 $6,390 $11,490 $11,500
1 child $2,604 $779 $14,040 $16,690 $30,338 $30,293
2 or more children $4,300 $1,506 $14,040 $19,800 $34,458 $34,421
Married claimants
No children $390 $98 $7,390 $7,390 $12,490 $12,500
1 child $2,604 $779 $15,040 $17,690 $31,338 $31,293
2 or more children $4,300 $1,506 $15,040 $20,800 $35,458 $35,421

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by
completing a schedule or worksheet.

In tax year 2001,218,063 Minnesotans claimed the BITC and 212,709 claimed the
WFC. These claims represent 9.1 percent of all federal returns filed by
Minnesotans, and 9.2 percent of all state returns filed.



How much is paid
out in credits?

How are the credits
distributed among
different types of
families?

In tax year 2001, Minnesotans claimed $321 million in EITC, ofwhich $50 million
offset tax liability and the remaining $271 million was paid as a refund. The
average EITC was $1,472.

Minnesotans claimed an additional $107 million in WFC, ofwhich $21 million
offset tax liability and the remaining $86 million was paid as a refund. The
average WFC was $505.

Eighty percent of all earned income credits and working family credits went to
families with one or more children. These families received about 97 percent of
the total amount of credits paid in 2001. Individuals without children filed 20
percent of returns claiming credits, but received only 3 percent ofthetotal amount
credits. Claimants with children received most of the total amount of credits
because these families qualify for a higher maximum credit than do claimants
without children.

2or more children

1child

no children

Number of WFC Claimants Dollars of WFC

64%

How are the credits
distributed
geographically?

How does
Minnesota compare
with other states?

While over 47 percent of the returns claiming credits came from the Twin Cities
metropolitan area, these seven counties generated about 55 percent ofall returns
filed. Put another way, in 2001 nonrnetro filers were more likely to claim the
credit than were metro area filers.

,
Nationwide, 15 percent of all income tax returns claimed the EITC, compared to
9.1 percent in Minnesota. The average EITC nationwide in 2001 was $1,691; it
was $1,472 in Minnesota. Minnesota's number of recipients and creditamOlmts
are lower than the national averages because state residents have above average
Incomes.

Fifteen other states provide a state version of the EITC, with a 16th scheduled to
take effect in 2003. In most cases the state credit equals a percentage ofthe federal
EITC.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House
Research information brief The Federal Earned Income Tax Credit and the Minnesota Working Family
Credit, December 2003.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office proViding legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building 1St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-67531 www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Limited Market Value

What is limited
market value?

What property does
LMVapply to?

Is it permanent?

Does the assessor
continue valuing
the property?

How does it work?

How does the
phaseout work?

Limited Market Value (LMV) is a limitation on the amount that a property's
market value may grow from one year to the next for purposes ofproperty
taxation. It was enacted to help mitigate rising property taxes resulting from
rapidly inflating property values.

The following classes of propertyqualify for LMV:

• agricultural homestead and nonhomestead;
• residential homestead and nonhomestead;
• seasonal recreational residential property (i.e., cabins); and
• timberland (beginning with the 2001 assessment).

LMV provisions were in effect from 1973-1979, and again from 1993 to the
present. The 2001 Legislature enacted a law to phase out LMV over a six-year
time period-from assessment years 2002-2007. Beginning in assessment year
2007 (for taxes payable in 2008), all property will be valued at its estimated full
market value for property tax purposes.

The assessor continues to determine the property's fair market value. This value
is called the "estimated market value" (EMV). However, property that qualifies
for treatment under LMV may not be taxed at the full value of the property if its
growth exceeds the limits.

For qualifying property in assessment year 2003 (taxes payable in 2004), the
increase in market value shall not exceed the greater of:

• 12 percent of the LMV in the preceding assessment year or
• 20 percent ofthe difference between the current year's EMV and the

previous year's LMV.

For each year, the maximum valuation increase is determined by calculating the
increase allowed under columns (1) and (2), and choosing whichever is higher.

(1) (2)
Percentage of Percentage of difference between previous

Assessment Year previous year's LMV year's LMV and current year's EMV

2002 10% 15%
2003 12 20
2004 15 25
2005 15 33
2006 15 50



* Affected property classes only. All amounts III bIllIons.

Assessment year 2003/payable year 2004.
The LMV of a home is $100,000 for assessment year 2002. For assessment year
2003, the assessor determines that the EMV ofthe home is $130,000. The
maximum market value increase for tax purposes is the greater of:

• 12 percent increase over the previous year, which is $12,000, or
• 20 percent ofthe $30,000 difference in value, which is $6,000.

Therefore, the home's LMV is $100,000 plus $12,000, or $112,000 for
assessment year 2003.

For taxes payable year 2004, almost $35 billion ofmarket value was excluded
from the tax rolls due to LMV. The table shows the amounts for 1994-2004.

Taxes Payable Excluded Value*
Year EMV* LMV* Amount Percenta2e
1994 $124.1 $123.5 $0.7 0.5%
1995 132.0 131.0 1.0 0.8
1996 142.1 140.4 1.6 1.1
1997 152.1 150.0 2.0 1.3
1998 163.6 161.1 2.5 1.5
1999 176.6 173.3 3.4 1.9

2000 202.6 197.0 5.6 2.8
2001 226.4 215.8 10.6 4.7
2002 260.4 239.4 21.0 8.1
2003 284.8 253.9 30.9 10.8
2004 321.6 286.7 34.9 10.8..

Example
calculations

How much has
limited market
value grown?

Statewide Percentage of Tax Base Excluded
due to LMV (affected classes only)
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Steve Hinze at 651­
296-8956.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm



HOUSE RESEARCH
Nina Manzi

IShort Subjects
December 2003

The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits

What are the
credits?

Are the credits
refundable?

Who is eligible for
the credits?

How are the credits
calculated?

The Minnesota and federal dependent care credits partially offset the cost ofchild
care for certain workers. The maximum Minnesota credit is $720 for one child,
and $1,440 for two or more children. The maximum federal credit is $1,050 for
one child, and $2,100 for two or more children.

The Minnesota credit is fully refundable. If an individual qualifies for a credit that
is greater than his or her tax liability, the excess is paid as a refund. The federal
credit is not refundable, and may only be used to offset federal income tax liability.

Anyone who incurs expenses related to the care of a dependent and related
household expenses may be eligible to claim the credits. The claimant must:

• maintain a household that includes the dependent
• pay for care for a dependent under age 13, or a disabled spouse or adult

dependent; and
• pay for care in order to work or look for work

The federal credit equals 35 percent ofup to $3,000 of qualifying expenses for one
child ($6,000 of qualifying expenses for two or more children). The maximum
federal credit is $1,050 for one child, and $2,100 for two or more children. The
federal credit begins to phase down when income exceeds $15,000, with the credit
percentage decreasing as income increases. Claimants with incomes over $43,000
qualify for the minimum federal credit equal to 20 percentofqualifying expenses,
or up to $600 for one child, and $1,200 for two or more children, depending on
actual child care costs. For example, a claimant with $50,000 ofincome and
$1,000 of expenses will qualify for a credit of $200 (20 percent of $1 ,000).

The state credit equals the lesser of the federal credit, or $720 for one child
($1,440 for two or more children). The state credit is calculated by reference to the
federal credit for which the claimant is eligible, not the amount actually used to
offset federal liability. For example, an individual with expenses of $2,000 and
income below $15,000 is eligible for a federal credit of$700 (35% of$2,000).
While this individual will probably not have any federal tax liability and thus will
not benefit from the nonrefundable federal credit, he/she will still be eligible for a
refundable state credit of $700.

The state credit is subject to a separate phaseout than the federal credit. The state
phaseout begins when income exceeds $19,960. The income threshold for the
phaseout is adjusted each year for inflation. In tax year 2004, the state credit is
fully phased out when income exceeds $33,610.



How do filers claim
the credits?

How many
Minnesotans claim
the credits?

How much is paid
out in credits?

How are the credits
distributed
geographically?

How does
Minnesota compare
with other states?

Filers claim the credits when they file their federal and state income tax returns, by
completing a separate schedule-Form 2441 for the federal credit, and schedule
M-1 CD for the state credit.

In tax year 2001, 131,299 Minnesotans claimed the federal dependent care credit,
and 37,669 claimed the state credit. These claims represent 5.5 percent of all
federal returns filed by Minnesotans, and 1.6 percent of all state returns filed.

Because the federal credit is nonrefundable, and can only be used to offset tax
liability, most of the federal credits are claimed by middle- and upper-income filers
who have income over $43,000 and qualify for the minimum credit amount.

Because the state credit is refundable, and only available to filers with incomes
below $33,590, most ofthe state credits are claimed by low-income filers.

In tax year 2001, Minnesotans claimed $50.9 million of federal dependent care
credits. The average federal dependent care credit was $387.

In tax year 2001, Minnesotans claimed $12.1 million of state dependent care
credits. The average state dependent care credit was $321.

While over 44 percent of the returns claiming state credits came from the Twin
Cities metropolitan area, these seven counties generated about 55 percent of all
returns filed. Put another way, in 2001 nonmetro filers were more likely to claim
the credit than were metro area filers.

Nationwide, 4.6 percent of all income tax returns claimed the federal dependent
care credit, compared to 5.5 percent in Minnesota. Maryland had the highest
percentage of returns claiming the federal credit, at 6.5 percent, and West Virginia
had the lowest, at 2.2 percent. Minnesota's percentage ofreturns claiming the
credit may be higher than national figures because Minnesota has a high proportion
of two-worker households.

The average dependent care credit nationwide in 2001 was $444; it was $387 in
Minnesota. The District of Columbia had the highest average credit, at $526, and
Montana had the lowest, at $334. Minnesota's average credit amount may be
lower than the national averages because state residents have above average
Incomes.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204. Also see the House
Research information brief The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits, December 2001.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Law requires
schools to focus on
all students but
leads to significant
variations in states'
progress reports

States generally use
longitudinal and
cohort comparisons
to measure
students' academic
growth

Law requires states
to demonstrate·
ongoing student
progress toward
state-defined
reading and math
proficiency or
suffer increasingly
severe
consequences

States' Analysis of Student Performance
Under No Child Left Behind Act

The goal of the federal 2001 No Child Left Behind Act to make all schools, school
districts, and states accountable. for meeting high standards for student performance
has generated both accolades and controversy. While applauded as a means to
increase achievement for all students including the most historically disadvantaged
students, the law also is criticized because it leads to statistical differences that
result in significant state variations in theproportion of schools demonstrating
academic progress under the law.

States currently compare school or student academic progress by:

• comparing the test scores of different students in the same grade over time
using cohort comparisons (the 4th grade in 2000-2001, the 4th grade in
2001-2002, the 4th grade in 2002-2003, etc.);

• tracking grades using annual test scores from the same group of students
over time to make quasi-longitudinal comparisons (the 4th grade in 2000­
2001, the 5th grade in 2001-2002, the 6th grade in 2002-2003, etc.); .

• tracking individual students using annual test scores over time to make
longitudinal comparisons (for example, each student's academic growth
overa school year may be compared to the state's average growth over that
year).

Experts generally prefer longitudinal comparisons to cohort comparisons.
Longitudinal data provide more accurate information about student growth over
time, may account for student mobility by basing school performance on students
continuously enrolled in the school, and, by following student progress statewide,
match and verify district records about student transfers and dropouts, among other
data. The No Child Left Behind Act obligates states to use schoolwide averages of
student performance to measure progress. It does not obligate states to measure
the progress of individual students over time.

The No Child Left Behind Act requires states to generate data from annual English
and math tests administered to all students in grades 3 through 8 and high school.
States must use the data to demonstrate that adequate yearly progress (AYP) is
being made toward having 100 percent of all students by the 2013-2014 school
year perform proficiently in English and math. States, schools, and school districts
must disaggregate the data for students by racial and ethnic minority, economic
disadvantage, limited English proficiency, disability, gender, and migrant status.
The data must allow educators to compare the academic achievement of different
student groups, identify academic achievement gaps between student groups, and
examine schools that "beat the odds" in improving the achievement of particular



Percent ofschools
failing to make
adequate yearly
progress varies
significantly
between states due
to statistical
differences

student groups. Unlike other accountability systems; AYP does not measure
average student performance or the rate at which student performance improves.
Schools suffer increasingly severe consequences, ranging from paymentof bussing
and tutoring costs to school closure and a state takeover, for each succeeding year
they fail to make AYP. .

The proportion ofschools that fail to make AYP varies significantly between
states, from a low of 0.8 percent in Iowa to a high of 87 percentin Florida. These
statistical variations arise in part because the law allows states to establish their
own academic goals, use state-developed tests to assess students' mastery of those
goals, and define what is proficient on those state tests. Statistical variations also
arise because of the following factors:

• state standards vary in content and rigor
• the test scores students must earn to be "proficient" vary by state, causing

differences in the percent of students categorized as proficient even if
students have exactly the same skills

• some states' timelines for achieving proficiency based on increments of
improvement demand less of students initially (at a minimum, student
proficiency must increase within two years and subsequent increaseS must
occur within three years, a structure that some compare to a balloon
mortgage)

• some states use larger numbers of students to establish the statistical
reliability of identified student subgroups whose scores· are included in
AYP calculations (fewer student subgroups identified and counted within a
school mean fewer chances for the school to fail to make AYP)

• schools do not make AYP when fewer than 95 percent of all students and
all students in each identified student subgroup are tested

• particular demographic clusters of students (e.g., students with disabilities,
limited English proficiency) disproportionately fail to demonstrate adequate
progress

• states 'practices on reporting students' test scores vary depending on
whether states measure average proficiency levels across student groups or
the progress of individual students (states may monitor schoolwide student

I

performance averages across grades or the performance averages for all
student subgroups in each grade using "value-added" analytical methods
that measure the impact of a school on individual student progress over
time)

• states' use of confidence intervals-to establish student performance
expectations, accommodate variability in state test results, and sanction
only those schools unequivocally below standards- makes it difficult to
predict what pass rates actually satisfy AYP requirements.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036 or Jim Cleary at 651-296­
5053. Also see the House Research publication Adequate Yearly Progress Under the No Child Left Behind
Act,November 2003. .

The Research Department ofthe Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House. .
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The K-12 Education Deduction and Credit: An Overview

What is the K-12
deduction?

What expenses
qualify for the
deduction?

What is the tax
benefit ofthe
deduction?

How manypeople
claim the deduction,
and how much does
it cost?

What is the K-12
education credit?

What expenses
qualify for the
credit?

What are the tax
benefits ofthe
credit?

A state income tax deduction is allowed for K-12 education-related expenses. The
deduction is for up to $2,500 for each dependent in grades 7-12, and up to $1,625
for each dependent in grades K-6.

Qualifying expenses are:
• Tuition, including nonpublic school, after school enrichment, academic

summer camps, music lessons, and tutoring
• Textbooks, including instructional materials and supplies, musical

instrument rental and purchase, and up to $200 of computer hardware and
educational software

• Transportation (paid to others for transporting children to school)

A deduction reduces an individual's taxable income. The tax benefit depends on
the taxpayer's marginal tax rate and the total amount deducted. Minnesota has
three marginal tax rates: 5.35 percent, 7.05 percent, and 7.85 percent. A taxpayer
in the 5.35 percent bracket who claims a $2,500 deduction will pay $133.75 less in
state income taxes (5.35% x $2,500). A taxpayer in the 7.85 percent bracket with
the same deduction will pay $196.25 less in taxes. A taxpayer with too little
income to have tax liability will not benefit from the deduction. In tax year 2004, a
typical married couple with two dependents would need to have $22,100 of gross
income before owing any state income tax.

An estimated 200,000 taxpayers claim the deduction each year. Intax year 2001 it
cost the state $16.7 million.

A state income tax credit is allowed for K-12 education-related expenses. The
credit is for up $1,000 per child and $2,000 per family. The credit is subject to an
income-based phaseout. It begins to phase out when income exceeds $33,500, and
is not available to families withincomes over $37,500.

The same expenses qualify for the credit as for the deduction, except nonpublic
school tuition does not qualify for the credit.

TheK-12 credit directly reduces tax liability and is fully refundable. If an
individual qualifies for a credit that is.greater than his or her tax liability, the
excess is paid as a refund.



Can parents obtain
loans to pay for
educational services
that qualify for the
credit?

How manypeople
claim the credit,
and how much does
it cost?

How do taxpayers
claim the deduction
and credit?

Have the deduction
and credit been
subject to legal
challenge?

What do other
states provide in
terms ofincome tax
credits for
education-related
expenses?

Parents may assign payment of their credits to participating financial institutions
and tax-exempt foundations. In exchange, parents receive a loan that is paid
directly to a third-party provider of educational services and programs. This
allows verylow-income families to purchase educational products and services in
anticipation ofreceiving a credit when they file their tax return the following year,
with the credit paid directly to the financial institution or foundation that accepted
the assignment.

In tax year 2001,56,471 taxpayers claimed a total of$19.4 million in K-12
education credits.

Taxpayers claim the deduction on form M-1, the Minnesota income tax return.
Taxpayers claiming the credit must complete form MIED and attach it to their
state tax return.

The constitutionality of the dependent education expense deduction was challenged
in Mueller v. Allen in 1983. The U.S. Supreme Court upheld the statute
authorizing the deduction in a 5-4 decision. The Court found that the deduction
did the following:

• offset parents' educational expenses and helped ensure an educated
populace

• helped ensure the. financial health ofnonpublic schools and relieved the
financial burden on public schools

• promoted "wholesome competition" between public andnonpublic schools
and provided a high-quality education for all children

Minnesota's current K-12 education credit has not been subject to legal challenge.

To date, five states in addition to Minnesota provide income tax credits for
education-related expenses: Arizona, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, and Pennsylvania.
Arizona gives taxpayers tax credits for contributions to school tuition
organizations that operate like charities and for extracurricular public school fees.
Florida allows individual and corporate taxpayers to claim a nonrefundable tax
credit for contributions to nonprofit scholarship funding organizations. Illinois
gives taxpayers a nonrefundable tax credit for qualified education expenses. Iowa
gives taxpayers a tax credit for tuition, secular textbooks and extracurricular
activities for children attending accredited not-for-profitK-12 schools.
Pennsylvania allows corporations to claim a nonrefundable tax credit for
contributions to nonprofit scholarship funding organizations and innovative public
school programs. Courts in Arizona, Illinois, and Iowa have upheld the
permissibility of these education credits in their respective states.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Lisa Larson at 651­
296-8036. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Deductions and Credits for Public and
Nonpublic Education in Minnesota, December 2003.
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Conservation Easements: A Chronology ofRecent Law

Governor Pawlenty recently announced his intention to ask for state bonding dollars to match available
federal dollars under the Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP) to acquire conservation
easements of 100,000 acres in three targeted watershed areas. This chronology summarizes Minnesota law
enacted since 1990 that has affected conservation easement acquisition.

1990 Chapter 473, sec. 2 (Minn. Stat. § 40.46, subd.2): Provides that any authority
selling state land must delineate marginal land and wetlands to be reserved by a
conservation easement. Within six days of the delineation, and before the land is
sold, the commissioner of the Department ofNatural Resources (DNR) or the
Board of Water and Soil Resources (BOWSR) may disapprove of the delineation.

1991 Chapter 254, art. 2, sec. 8 (Minn. Stat. § 84.96, subd. 5): In acquiring easements
for native prairies, the DNR must pay 65 percent of the permanent marginal
agricultural land payment rate established by BOWSR.

1994 Chapter 627, sec. 2 (Minn. Stat. § 103F.516, subd. 1): Allows BOWSR to acquire
permanent easements on type 6 wetlands, as well as types 1,2, and 3.

1996 Chapter 449, sec. 3 (Minn. Stat. § 103F.515, subd. 6): AuthorizesBOWSRfor
native species restoration, in acquiring a conservation easement, to pay up to $150
per acre for 20-year easements and up to $200 per acre for perpetual easements..

Chapter 471, art. 3, sec. 11 (Minn. Stat. §273.13, subd. 23): Amends propertytax
laws to include land enrolled in conservation programs consisting of at least ten
contiguous acres as "agricultural land."

I

1998 Chapter 404, sec. 10, subds. 2 and 5: Appropriates $250,000 to BOWSR for
acquiring flood storage easements within two local government areas. Another
$250,000 was appropriated to BOWSR to acquire conservation easements for
sensitive shoreland on lakes.

1999 Chapter 243, sec. 35 (Minn. Stat. § 375.18, subd. 12): Allows a county board to
acquire development rights in the form of a conservation easement under chapter
84C. Sees. 39-41 (Minn. Stat. 475.52, subd. 103): Additionally allows cities,
counties, and towns to issue bonds for acquiringdevelopment rights in the form of
conservation easements.

2000 Chapter 375 (Minn. Stat. § 944, subd. 2): Establishes a heritage forest area
program within certain southern counties. Allows conservation easements by the
DNR or apolitical subdivision to acquire heritage forest land from private
landowners in exchange for implementing a stewardship plan with certain forest
protection elements. .



Chapter 490, art. 6, sec. 11 (Minn. Stat. §477A.12): Authorizes an annual
inflation adjustment to counties and towns for payments in lieu of taxes for natural.
resources lands within their jurisdiction.

Chapter 492, art. 1, sec. 9, subd. 3: Appropriates $20 million to BOWSR as a
match to federal dollars under the CREP to acquire easements and implement
conservation practices on frequently flooded cropland in the Minnesota river basin.

2001 Chapter 99, sec. 2 (Minn. Stat. § 103F.515, subd. 6): Increases the payment
amount for conservation easements on marginal agricultural land under the RIM
program as follows:

a) up to $125 an acre for 20-year easements and up to $150 an acre for perpetual
easements to provide perennial cover;

b) up to $200 an acre for 20-year easements and $300 an acre for perpetual
easements to restore native species;

c) up to $600 an acre for wetland restoration; and

d) up to $250 an acre for 20-year easements and $400 an acre for perpetual
easements for the cost of planting trees in the easement agreement.

Chapter 146, sees. 1-2 (Minn. Stat. § 103F.46, subd. 1): Adds types 4 and 5
wetlands that BOWSR may acquire easements on in order to preserve or restore
them. A permanent easement may include four adjacent upland acres for each acre
of wetland.

Chapter 2, First Special Session, sec. 14, subd. 4(e): Appropriates $2,650,000 to
the DNR for cooperative agreements with nonprofit conservation organizations and
certain federal agencies for conservation easements to restore and acquire
fragmented landscape corridors that connect quality habitat areas to sustain fish,
wildlife, and plants.

2002 Chapter 366, sec. 1, subd. 2 (Minn. Stat. § 84.0272): Authorizes the DNR to
acquire permanent stream easements for angler access, fish management, and
habitat work for a one-time payment based on (a) the per linear foot of stream
within the easement corridor times $5, plus (b) the easement corridor acres times
the established market value.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Helland at 651-296-5039.
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