

04 - 0105

State of Minnesota Minnesota Department of Corrections

January 30, 2004

Office of the Commissioner

TO: Honorable Leo Foley, Senate Crime Prevention & Public Safety Committee Chair

Honorable Linda Berglin, Senate Health, Human Services, & Corrections Budget Division Chair

Honorable Steve Smith, House Judiciary Policy and Finance Committee Chair

Honorable Keith Langseth, Senate Capital Investment Committee Chair Honorable Philip Krinkie, House Capital Investment Committee Chair

RE: Report on MCF-Faribault Predesign

This report is submitted pursuant to Special Session Laws 2003, Chapter 2, art. 1, section 13, subd. 2, authorizing funding for the predesign for the renovation and bed expansion at the Minnesota Correctional Facility-Faribault (MCF-Faribault).

A Request for Proposals was developed by the Department of Administration's State Architects office and sent to requesting consultants. An informational tour of the MCF-Faribault was held for interested bidders. Ten proposals were received by the due date of June 24, 2003.

Klein McCarthy & Co., Ltd., Architects, was selected to prepare the predesign. Others involved included BWBR Architects and Wold Architects & Engineers. Weekly meetings of all participants were held at the MCF-Faribault, beginning in July of 2003. The predesign was completed in December.

Phase I of the proposed project increases the inmate population at the MCF-Faribault from 1,226 to 1,941 and includes the following major components needed to house and support the expanded population: three new 416-bed wet, lockable, double-bunked cells; a new kitchen and dining facility; expanded health services area; additional programming space; and upgrading of the existing heating plant. The total estimated cost of phase I is \$74,891,000.

A copy of the predesign document is available upon request.

Sincerely.

Joan Fabian Commissioner

Cc: Senator Dave Kleis

Senator Sheila Kiscaden

Representative Mary Murphy

Senator Cal Larson

Representative Alice Hausman

Legislative Reference Library (6)

State Law Library (2)

Secretary of the Senate

Chief Clerk of the House