
Minnesota 
Sentencing 
Guidelines 
Commission 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

REPORT TO THE LEGISLATURE 
January 2003 

 
 
 

 

 

  



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission 
REPORT TO THE LEGISLATURE 

January 2003 
 
This information will be made available in an alternative format 
upon request.  The total cost of salaries, printing, and supplies 
incurred in development and preparation of this report was 
$811.39 (reported as required by Minn. Stat. § 3.197). 
 

  

JPayne
Cheryl:  Time and materials=$311.49
Linda:  Time=$147.90
Jill:  Time=$352.00
Total=$811.39



 
MINNESOTA SENTENCING GUIDELINES COMMISSION 

University National Bank Building 
200 University Avenue West 

Suite 205 
St. Paul, Minnesota   55103 

 
Voice:    (651)  296-0144 

FAX:  (651) 297-5757 
MN Relay Service TTY: 1-800-627-3529  (ask for 651/296-0144) 

 
Website: http://www.msgc.state.mn.us/ 

Email:  sentencing.guidelines@state.mn.us 
 

 
 
 
 
 

Members 
 

  Sheryl Ramstad Hvass, Chair and Commissioner of Corrections 
   Russell A. Anderson, Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court 
   Jodie Carlson, State Public Defender Representative 
   Lorie Gildea, Citizen Representative 
   Isabel Gomez, District Court Judge, Fourth Judicial District 

Mary T. Howard, Citizen Representative 
   Robert Knickerbocker, Probation Officer Representative, Anoka County 
   Connie Larson, Citizen Representative 
   Raymond Schmitz, County Attorney, Olmsted County 
   Gordon Shumaker, Judge, Court of Appeals  

Kent Wilkening, Law Enforcement Representative, Nobles County 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Staff 
 

   Executive Director (vacant) 
   Matt Berger, Research Analyst 
   Cheryl DeWolfe, Office Administrative Specialist, Principal 
   Linda McBrayer, State Program Administrator 

Jill Payne, Research Analysis Specialist 
   Scott Van Cleave, Research Analyst Intermediate 
   Anne Wall, Research Analysis Specialist, Senior  

  

http://www.msgc.state.mn.us/
mailto:sentencing.guidelines@state.mn.us


 
 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 
 
I. Summary:  Background, Current Commission and Staff, 1 
 and Commission Activity 
 
II. Guidelines Modifications  4 
 
III. Felony Driving While Impaired 6 
 
IV. Juvenile Out of State or Alternative Placement Reports Summary 7 
 
V. Sentencing Guidelines Electronic Worksheet System (EWS) 8 
 
VI. County Attorney Reports on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms 9 
 
 
 
APPENDIX    12 
 
 Sentencing Guidelines Grid 13 
 Specific Guidelines Modifications 15 
 Form for Reporting Juvenile Out-of-State Placements 23 
 Form for Reporting Mandatory Commitment of Juveniles 24 
 County Attorney Reports on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms 
  By County  25 
 Minn. Stat. § 609.11  34 
 Firearms Report [Form] 36 
 Firearms Report Form Illustration 37 

  



I.  Summary 
 
��Background 
 
Minnesota’s Sentencing Guidelines system, adopted over 20 years ago, became a model for 
felony sentencing reform throughout the United States.  Compared to the prior, indeterminate 
sentencing system, the Sentencing Guidelines made several major improvements: 
 
1.  Truth In Sentencing/Predictability.  All of the participants in the criminal justice system—
courts, prosecutors, offenders, and victims—would know, at sentencing, how much time in 
prison an offender would serve when given a particular sentence.  For example, if an offender 
were sentenced to 60 months in prison, that offender would serve 40 months in prison and 
would be on supervised release for 20 months. 
 
A highly desirable side effect of the specificity of the sentence was to allow accurate 
predictability of the future need for prison bed space.  For example, if the sentence for a 
particular offense was increased by 12 months, the guidelines commission staff could, with a 
fair amount of confidence, predict the long-term prison bed impact of that change.  In 
conjunction with other agencies, the likely fiscal impact of any sentencing change could also be 
measured. 
 
2.  Clear Proportionality/Uniformity.  Under this “Just Deserts” model, an offender who 
committed a more serious crime would receive a longer sentence than one who committed a 
less serious crime.  An offender with a criminal history would receive a longer sentence than an 
offender who committed the same crime but did not have a criminal history.  Similarly, offenders 
with similar offense and history characteristics would be treated the same across the state. 
 
3.  Accurate Data Collection.  The new system also allowed the Guidelines Commission to 
collect accurate data on sentencing practices across the state with respect to actual sentencing 
practices.  For example, data collected by the Commission allows analysis of sentencing trends 
with respect to particular offenses, specific types of offenders, and geographic variations. 
 
The primary goal of the Sentencing Guidelines has always been the protection of public safety. 
 
 
��The Current Commission and Staff 
 
The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission is responsible for maintaining the 
sentencing guidelines.  The 11 commission members represent a variety of participants in the 
Minnesota criminal justice system. 
 
In the past year, two new members have been appointed to the commission:  Jodie Carlson 
was appointed as the State Public Defender Representative and Hennepin County District 
Court Judge Isabel Gomez was appointed as a member from the trial courts. 
 
Scott Swanson left his post as Executive Director of the commission in October 2002 to take a 
position as Director of Academic Achievement at the University of St. Thomas School of Law.  
Barbara Tombs (current Executive Director of the Kansas Sentencing Commission) has 
accepted an offer from the commission to become the new Executive Director and will be 
joining the staff in January 2003.  Anne Wall served as the Acting Director while the position 
was vacant. 
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��Commission Activity 
 
The commission set as their priorities for 2002 reconvening two subcommittees and reviewing 
proportionality issues.  Proportionality became a concern after recent mandatory minimum and 
presumptive sentence decisions were made by the Legislature.  The commission discussed 
how crimes within the various severity levels are sentenced compared to each other and to 
crimes in other severity levels. 
 
The Drug Sentencing Policy Subcommittee reconvened shortly after the first of the year.  The 
chair of the 2002 subcommittee is Judge Gordon Shumaker.  The subcommittee includes 
people from the Department of Corrections, Department of Human Services, law enforcement, 
prosecution, defense attorneys, judiciary, chemical health treatment providers, and citizens. 
 
In August 2002, four states attended a conference put on by the VERA Institute of Justice in 
New York City.  The states were Minnesota, Utah, Kansas and Georgia.  Minnesota attendees 
were Scott Swanson, Jodie Carlson, Judge Gordon Shumaker and State Representative 
Richard Stanek.  The purpose of the conference was to discuss drug-sentencing policies 
throughout the country. 
 
Since September 2002, the committee has been working on a draft legislative proposal to 
consider a possible civil course of action for certain drug possession offenses.  It would be up 
to the Legislature to determine whether the resources are available to pursue such a proposal. 
 
The 2002 Intermediate Sanctions Subcommittee, chaired by Justice Russell Anderson, has 
focused on a number of projects including information-gathering efforts on creative sentencing 
options.  Their immediate focus, however, has been on the computation of misdemeanor and 
gross misdemeanor criminal history.  The subcommittee’s initial discussions centered on 
creating a philosophical statement outlining what misdemeanors and gross misdemeanors 
should be included when computing criminal history.  However, the subcommittee moved away 
from this concept and toward a specific proposal that would eliminate the Misdemeanor/Gross 
Misdemeanor Offense List and count, instead, all gross misdemeanors and targeted 
misdemeanors, defined as those that can be enhanced to a higher level offense.  The 
subcommittee felt this approach would establish a simplified and more rational system of 
counting criminal history, enhance uniformity within the guidelines by counting all gross 
misdemeanors and the most serious misdemeanors, and establish criteria for future additions 
to what is counted. 
 
The subcommittee was mindful of the fact that data needed to be collected for the impact of 
such a shift to be considered.  Commission staff conducted a special data collection project.  It 
was determined that there would be very little bed impact from this proposal.  The 
subcommittee also discussed lifting the one point limit on the Misdemeanor/Gross 
Misdemeanor Point and counting gross misdemeanor offenses as two units.  It did appear, 
however, that there would be impact associated with these changes.  The subcommittee 
agreed upon the recommendation regarding the offenses to be counted, and agreed to forward 
to the commission without recommendation the other proposals. 
 
The full commission received input from interested stakeholders at their November meeting 
indicating that there were concerns regarding differences in record keeping practices across the 
state and a disparate impact on minorities that might occur if the one point cap on the 
Misdemeanor/Gross Misdemeanor Point were lifted.  For this reason, the subcommittee 
decided to revisit the proposal instead of moving it before the full commission. 
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II.  Guidelines Modifications 
 
This year, changes to the sentencing guidelines related to new and amended crimes passed by 
the Legislature during the 2002 session become effective January 1, 2003.  Other proposed 
modifications will go into effect August 1, 2003 following Legislative review. 
  
The language of the specific changes is included in the Appendix.  A summary of the most 
significant of those changes follows.  Other changes not summarized here but included in the 
Appendix involved placing certain offenses on the unranked list of offenses and correcting 
technical omissions. 
 
��Changes Effective January 1, 2003.  
 
The following Severity Levels were assigned to these new crimes: 
 
�� Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Third Degree (Special Transportation Services) – VIII 
�� Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Fourth Degree (Special Transportation Services) – VI 
�� Harassment/Stalking (3rd or subsequent violations) – V 
�� Harassment/Stalking (Victim under 18, Committed with Sexual or Aggressive Intent) – IV 
 
The commission adopted a proposal to add a presumptive executed sentence of at least 90 
months for convictions of certain Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree offenses (M.S. 
§ 609.343 subd. 1 clauses (c), (d), (e), (f), and (h)).  The presumptive duration for an attempt or 
conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree is one-half of the time 
listed in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, or any mandatory minimum, 
whichever is longer.  The commission also adopted a proposal to increase by 50% the 
presumptive sentence duration for offenses committed in furtherance of terrorism (M.S. § 
609.714). 
 
��Changes Effective August 1, 2003 (following Legislative review). 
 
The commission adopted a proposal to add language indicating that the presumptive 
consecutive sentencing policy applies to offenders on conditional release.  The commission 
adopted a proposal to add language indicating that felony assaults committed while confined in 
a local jail or workhouse may be sentenced consecutive to any other executed prison sentence 
if the presumptive disposition for the other offense was commitment to the commissioner of 
corrections.  The commission also adopted a proposal indicating that a custody status point 
applies to offenders who escape before they are sentenced. 
 
The commission adopted a proposal to change language as it applies to determining the date 
of offense when multiple offenses are an element of the conviction offense.  The language was 
changed to say that the date must be determined rather than using the earliest offense as the 
date of offense.  This change was made to be consistent with case law.  The commission also 
adopted a proposal to assign two units each to prior gross misdemeanor criminal vehicular 
injury offenses when the current offense is felony DWI or felony criminal vehicular homicide or 
injury. 
 
The commission adopted a proposal to rank certain offenses previously left unranked.  
Unranked offenses often create confusion for practitioners as to how they should proceed 
before sentencing.  The following language appears in the Sentencing Guidelines and 
addresses the ranking of unranked offenses. 
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II.A.05.  ….If a significant number of future convictions are obtained under one or 
more of the excluded offenses, the Commission will determine an appropriate 
severity level, and will add the offense to the Offense Severity Reference Table. 

 
Severity Levels were assigned to previously unranked offenses as follows: 
 
�� Controlled Substance Crime in the Third Degree (Aggregated Offenses) – VI 
�� Registration of Predatory Offenders (2nd or subsequent violation) – III 
�� Registration of Predatory Offenders – I 
 
The Commission did not adopt Severity Level rankings for the offenses in MN Statute 617.247 
– Possession of Pornographic Work Involving Minors.  After hearing testimony on this issue, the 
Commission decided to wait until it had more information regarding how sentencing courts are 
ranking these offenses following the increases to the statutory maximums enacted in 1991.   
They plan to seek additional comment from practitioners on this issue in the coming year.  
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III.  Felony Driving While Impaired 

 
Felony Driving While Intoxicated went into effect August 1, 2002.  To accommodate felony 
DWI, the commission added a new Severity Level VII to the Sentencing Guidelines Grid.  The 
only offense ranked at the new Severity Level VII is Felony DWI.  A minimum 36-month felony 
sentence of imprisonment must be imposed for this offense.  (Minn.Stat. § 169A.276, subd. 
1(d); MSGC II.E.)  However, the sentence does not have to be executed. 

 
The Sentencing Guidelines presume that, for a person with a criminal history score of less than 
3, the sentence will not be executed.  However, if a person has a prior felony DWI conviction, 
the sentence is presumed to be an executed sentence of imprisonment.  (MSGC II.C.)  An 
offender being sentenced for a felony DWI is also subject to a 5-year term of Conditional 
Release.  (Minn.Stat. § 169A.276, subd. 1(d); MSGC II.E.) Beginning in the summer of 2002, 
commission staff traveled throughout the state training criminal justice practitioners in the 
implementation of sentencing guidelines policy as it relates to the new felony Driving While 
Impaired law.  
 
Through December 17, 2002, the commission received 77 Sentencing Worksheets for felony 
DWI:  61 (79%) were presumed non-executed prison sentences, 16 (21%) were presumed 
executed prison sentences.  On these worksheets, 16 offenders (21%) had a Criminal History 
Score of zero. The majority of felony DWI Sentencing Worksheets had a Criminal History Score 
greater than 0: 30 (39%) had a Criminal History Score of 1; 15 (20%) had a Criminal History 
Score of 2; 10 (13%) had a Criminal History Score of 3; and 6 (8%) had a Criminal History 
Score of 4 or more.  Forty-five (58%) of these offenders received a custody status point; they 
committed the Felony DWI while under supervision for a previous felony or gross misdemeanor 
offense (not necessarily a prior DWI).  Twenty-nine (38%) had a prior non-DWI felony offense 
that contributed to their criminal history score.  
 
Commission staff matched MSGC felony DWI worksheet data with District Court data 
individually, using the Trial Court Information System (TCIS) and sentencing data from 
Hennepin County.  As of December 17, 2002, conviction and sentencing data were available for 
53 cases (69% of the 77 worksheets received by that date).   Other offenders’ sentencing data 
were not yet updated on TCIS; offenders were awaiting trials, or plea dates were forthcoming.  
Missing cases were excluded from the sentencing data summary. 
 
For those cases sentenced, the guidelines recommended non-prison sentences in 46 cases 
(87%) and prison sentences in 7 cases (13%).  All 46 offenders who were not recommended 
prison received non-prison sentences.  Their sentences included probation and pronounced jail 
time.  The average probation term was 72 months.  The average pronounced jail term was 222 
days. 
 
Four of the 7 offenders who were recommended prison under the guidelines went to prison.  
The average prison sentence was 58 months.  Three of the 7 offenders who were 
recommended prison sentences received probationary sentences (a mitigated dispositional 
departure rate of 43%). The average probation term for the 3 mitigated departure cases was 96 
months and all 3 received jail time.  The average pronounced jail term was 252 days. 
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IV.  Juvenile Out of State or Alternative Placement Reports Summary 

 
The 2000 Legislature amended Minn. Stat. 260B.199 and Minn. Stat. 260B.201 requiring that 
the court, when making certain placements of juveniles at out-of-state facilities (rather than at 
MCF-Red Wing) or alternative placements when juveniles meet the requirements for 
mandatory commitment, report information about the placement to the Minnesota Sentencing 
Guidelines Commission.  This report will be submitted by February 15, 2003 as required.  
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V.  Sentencing Guidelines Electronic Worksheet System (EWS) 

 
The Sentencing Worksheet is a form completed by probation officers that provides information 
on the application of the sentencing guidelines for individual cases.  The commission was 
allocated $150,000 in the 2000-2001 biennium to develop a web-based application that would 
be used to complete the sentencing worksheet and replace the current manual process that 
uses typewritten multi-part forms.  The sentencing guidelines electronic worksheet system 
(EWS) has since replaced the manual process and allows Sentencing Worksheets to be 
submitted directly into a statewide database that is accessible to criminal justice practitioners.  
The system has reduced the work required for completing and submitting a Sentencing 
Worksheet and the result is more accurate, timely, and complete information. 
 
Other advantages of this system include: 
 

�� Establishing a uniform way to complete, submit, and share sentencing worksheets. 
�� Ensuring more accurate worksheets with immediate edit checks to reduce errors and 

the ability to provide more immediate review of the worksheets by commission staff. 
�� Reducing delivery time of the worksheet to the commission and other criminal justice 

practitioners; copies of the worksheet can be shared by email or by directly accessing 
the database. 

�� Providing search capabilities to look-up previously submitted sentencing worksheets and 
links to information in the Statewide Supervision System (S3). 

 
As of February 2002, commission staff provided training to all probation officers responsible for 
completing Sentencing Worksheets throughout the state.  The commission continues to 
encourage implementation of electronic access to other criminal justice professionals.  
Overview and registration information regarding the system is provided on the MSGC websites. 
 
To further the goal of statewide integration of criminal justice data, the worksheet system is 
directly linked to S3.  Under a collaborative effort with the Department of Corrections, the 
sentencing worksheet database resides on the same server as S3.  The same security system 
is used for both systems and only one log-on process is required.   As part of this collaborative 
effort, the Department of Corrections is responsible for technical maintenance and commission 
staff is responsible for user administration and assistance of the S3. 
 
Commission staff continues to log user suggestions to help identify necessary changes for 
future enhancements.  There will be a continued need to update the system due to new laws 
and guideline revisions that will affect the system.  Also, a goal of the commission is to further 
integrate the system with other criminal justice information projects and systems (e.g., use of 
the newly developed statute table designed to provide consistent entry of information and more 
efficient use and analysis of data).
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VI.  County Attorney Reports on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms 

 
The 1994 Legislature passed a law (M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 10) directing county attorneys to 
collect and maintain the following information on criminal complaints and prosecutions within 
the county attorney’s office in which the defendant is alleged to have committed an offense 
listed in subdivision 9 while possessing or using a firearm: 1) Whether the case was charged or 
dismissed; 2) Whether the defendant was convicted of the offense or a lesser offense; 3) 
Whether the mandatory minimum sentence required under this section was imposed and 
executed or was waived by the prosecutor or court.  This information is to be forwarded to the 
sentencing guidelines commission no later than July 1 of each year, beginning on July 1, 1995.  
Pursuant to M.S. § 244.09, subdivision 14, the sentencing guidelines commission is required to 
include in its annual report to the legislature a summary and analysis of the reports received 
from county attorneys.  Memorandums describing the ongoing mandate by the legislature along 
with forms (See Appendix) on which to report their county’s cases are distributed to Minnesota’s 
county attorneys.  Although commission staff clarifies inconsistencies in the summary data, the 
information received from the county attorneys is reported directly as provided. 
 
This year the commission received information from all of Minnesota’s eighty-seven counties.  
Figure 1 below displays a historical summary of cases since the mandate began.  In FY 2002, 
there were a total of 559 cases in which a defendant allegedly committed an offense listed in 
subdivision 9 while possessing or using a firearm.  Case volume was down 7 percent from last 
year. 
 
Figures 2 through 5 summarize this year’s statewide information.  Tables providing information 
for individual counties are included in the Appendix. 
 
 
FIGURE 1. I. Historical Case Summary 
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FIGURE 2. 
Total Number Cases Allegedly Involving Firearms 
       Offenses Listed in § 609.11, subdivision 9 

 
�� Prosecutors charged offenders in 96 percent of the cases allegedly involving firearms.  

This figure is down slightly from 98 percent reported since the mandate began. 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
FIGURE 3. Offenses Charged – Case Outcomes 
 

�� Among those cases charged, 67 percent were convicted of an offense listed in § 609.11, 
subdivision 9.  This figure is slightly lower than the 70 percent recorded in FY 2001. 
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FIGURE 4. 
Convictions for Offenses Listed in § 609.11, subdivision 9 - 

                 Firearm Established on the Record 
 

�� There were 363 convictions for offenses listed in § 609.11, subdivision 9.  In 95 percent of the 
cases, a firearm was established on the record.  This is the same percentage reported in FY 2001. 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
FIGURE 5. Mandatory Minimum Sentences Imposed and Executed 
 

�� A mandatory minimum sentence was imposed and executed in 65 percent of the cases where it 
was required.  This figure was 69 percent in FY 2001. 
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SENTENCING GUIDELINES GRID 
Presumptive Sentence Lengths in Months 

 
Italicized numbers within the grid denote the range within which a judge may sentence without the sentence 
being deemed a departure.  Offenders with nonimprisonment felony sentences are subject to jail time 
according to law. 
           CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE  
SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Common offenses listed in italics) 

 
 0 

 
1 

 
2 

 
3 

 
4 

 
5 

 
6 or 

more 

Murder, 2nd Degree (intentional 
murder; drive-by-shootings) XI 

 
306 

299-313 

 
326 

319-333 

 
346 

339-353 

 
366 

359-373 

 
386 

379-393 

 
406 

399-413 

 
426 

419-433 

Murder, 3rd Degree 
Murder, 2nd Degree  
   (unintentional murder)  

X 
 

150 
144-156 

 
165 

159-171 

 
180 

174-186 

 
195 

189-201 

 
210 

204-216 

 
225 

219-231 

 
240 

234-246 

Criminal Sexual Conduct,  
   1st Degree2 

Assault, 1st Degree 
IX 

 
86 

81-91 

 
98 

93-103 

 
110 

105-115 

 
122 

117-127 

 
134 

129-139 

 
146 

141-151 

 
158 

153-163 

Aggravated Robbery 1st Degree VIII 
 

48 
44-52 

 
58 

54-62 

 
68 

64-72 

 
78 

74-82 

 
88 

84-92 

 
98 

94-102 

 
108 

104-112 

Felony DWI VII 36 42 48 54 
51-57 

60 
57-63 

66 
63-69 

72 
69-75 

Criminal Sexual Conduct, 
   2nd Degree (a) & (b) VI 

 
21 

 
27 

 
33 

 
39 

37-41 

 
45 

43-47 

 
51 

49-53 

 
57 

55-59 

Residential Burglary  
Simple Robbery V 

 
18 

 
23 

 
28 

 
33 

31-35 

 
38 

36-40 

 
43 

41-45 

 
48 

46-50 

Nonresidential Burglary  
 

IV 
 

 
121 

 
15 

 
18 

 
21 

 
24 

23-25 

 
27 

26-28 

 
30 

29-31 

Theft Crimes  (Over $2,500) III 
 

121 
 

13 
 

15 
 

17 
 

19 
18-20 

 
21 

20-22 

 
23 

22-24 

Theft Crimes  ($2,500 or less) 
Check Forgery  ($200-$2,500) II 

 
121 

 
121 

 
13 

 
15 

 
17 

 
19 

 
21 

20-22 

Sale of Simulated 
   Controlled Substance I 

 
121 

 
121 

 
121 

 
13 

 
15 

 
17 

 
19 

18-20 
 

 

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.  First Degree Murder is excluded from the guidelines by law and continues to 
have a mandatory life sentence.  See section II.E. Mandatory Sentences for policy regarding those sentences controlled by law, 
including minimum periods of supervision for sex offenders released from prison. 
 

 

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the judge, up to a year in jail and/or other non-jail sanctions can be imposed as 
conditions of probation.  However, certain offenses in this section of the grid always carry a presumptive commitment to state 
prison. These offenses include Third Degree Controlled Substance Crimes when the offender has a prior felony drug conviction, 
Burglary of an Occupied Dwelling when the offender has a prior felony burglary conviction, second and subsequent Criminal 
Sexual Conduct offenses and offenses carrying a mandatory minimum prison term due to the use of a dangerous weapon (e.g., 
Second Degree Assault).  See sections II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.E. Mandatory Sentences. 

1    One year and one day 
2 Pursuant to M.S.§ 609.342, subd. 2, the presumptive sentence for Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree is a minimum of 144 months 

(see II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers). 
Effective August 1, 2002
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SPECIFIC GUIDELINES MODIFICATIONS 
 
 
I. Adopted Modifications to Rank the Severity of New or Amended Crimes Passed 

by the Legislature during the 2002 Session – Effective January 1, 2003 
 

A. The Commission adopted a proposal to rank the following crimes in Section V. 
OFFENSE SEVERITY REFERENCE TABLE as follows: 

  
 Severity Level VIII 

  Criminal Sexual Conduct 3 – 609.344, subd. 1(c), (d), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), & (m) & 
(n)   

 Severity Level VI 
 Criminal Sexual Conduct 4 – 609.345, subd. 1(c), (d), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), & (m) & 

(n) 
 
 Severity Level V 
  Harassment/Stalking (third or subsequent violations) – 609.749, subd. 4(b) 
 
 Severity Level IV 
  Harassment/Stalking (second or subsequent violations) – 609.749, subd. 4(a) 
  Harassment/Stalking (aggravated violations) – 609.749, subd. 3(a),(b) 
 

B. The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following crimes to the Unranked 
Offense List in Section II.A.03 of the Commentary: 

 
Damage to Property of Critical Public Service Facilities, Utilities, and Pipelines – 609.594 
Real and Simulated Weapons of Mass Destruction – 609.712 
Insurance Fraud-Employment of Runners – 609.612 

 
 
C. The Commission adopted a proposal to continue the existing severity level ranking 

for the following crimes and the existing policies regarding Attempted Murder in 
the First Degree: 

 
Attempted Murder in the First Degree; Child Endangerment  
 
 
 

II. Other Adopted Modifications Related to New and Amended Crimes Passed by the 
Legislature during the 2002 Session – Effective January 1, 2003 

 
A. The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following language to the 

Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary to address legislative amendments to 
Minnesota Statute § 609.343 subd. 2 creating a presumptive sentence of at least 90 
months for Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree 609.343 subd. 1 (c), (d), 
(e), (f), and (h).   

 
C.  Presumptive Sentence: … 

Pursuant to M.S. § 609.343, subdivision 2, the presumptive sentence for a conviction of 

Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree, 609.343 subd. 1 clauses (c), (d), (e), (f), and 
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(h), is an executed sentence of at least 90 months. Sentencing a person in a manner other than 

that described in M.S. § 609.343, subdivision 2 is a departure.  The presumptive duration for an 

attempt or conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree is one-half of 

the time listed in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, or any mandatory 

minimum, whichever is longer. 

**** 

II.C.09. When an offender has been convicted of M.S. § 609.343 subd. 1 clauses (c), (d), (e), 
(f), or (h), the presumptive duration is that found in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing 
Guidelines Grid, any applicable mandatory minimum sentence, or the minimum presumptive 
sentence pursuant to M.S. §  609.343, subdivision 2, whichever is longer.  According to M.S. §  
609.343, subd. 2, the presumptive sentence for a conviction of these clauses of Criminal Sexual 
Conduct in the Second Degree is an executed sentence of at least 90 months. The presumptive 
duration for an attempt or conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree 
is one-half of the time listed in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, or any 
mandatory minimum, whichever is longer. 
 
**** 
 
G.  Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers:  … 

 
For persons convicted of an attempt or conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in the 

First Degree (M.S. � 609.342) or Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree (M.S. � 

609.343 Subd. 1 (c), (d), (e), (f), and (h)), the presumptive duration is one-half of that found in 

the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid or any mandatory minimum, whichever is 

longer. 

**** 

V.  OFFENSE SEVERITY REFERENCE TABLE 
 

VIII 
Criminal Sexual Conduct 2 - 609.343 Subd. 1 (c), (d), (e), (f), and (h) 
(See II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II. G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, 
and Other Sentence Modifiers.) 

**** 
 

NUMERICAL REFERENCE OF FELONY STATUTES 
 

609.343 subd.1(c)(d)(e)(f)(h) Criminal Sexual Conduct 2 
 
* See II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other 
Sentence Modifiers. 
 
**** 
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IV. SENTENCING GUIDELINES GRID 

 
 

Aggravated Robbery 1st Degree 
Criminal Sexual Conduct, 
   2nd Degree (c), (d), (e), (f), & (h)2 

VIII 
 

48 
44-52 

 
58 

54-62 

 
68 

64-72 

 
78 

74-82 

 
88 

84-92 

 
98 

94-102 

 
108 

104-112 
 
2 Pursuant to M.S. § 609.342, subd. 2 and 609.343  subd. 2,  the presumptive sentence for Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First 

Degree is a minimum of 144 months and the presumptive sentence for Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree - 
clauses c,d,e,f, and h is a minimum of 90 months (see II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.G. Convictions for Attempts, 
Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers).  

 
 
B. The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following language to the 

Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary to address a new sentencing 
enhancement for Crimes Committed  in Furtherance of Terrorism – 609.714 

 
G.  Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers:  
**** 

For persons sentenced under Minn. Stat. § 609.714 (an offense committed in furtherance of 

terrorism), the presumptive sentence duration for the underlying offense is increased 50%.  The 

presumptive sentence is determined by locating the Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell defined by 

the offender's criminal history score and the severity level of the underlying crime. 

**** 
 
C. The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following language to the 

Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary to address the new provision in Aiding an 
Offender – Taking Responsibility for Criminal Acts– 609.495 subd. 4 

 
G.  Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers:  For persons 

convicted of attempted offenses or conspiracies to commit an offense, Solicitation of Juveniles 

under Minn. Stat. § 609.494, subd. 2(b), or Solicitation of Mentally Impaired Persons under 

Minn. Stat. § 609.493, or Aiding an Offender-Taking Responsibility for Criminal Acts under 

Minn. Stat. § 609.495 subd. 4, the presumptive sentence is determined by locating the 

Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell defined by the offender's criminal history score and the severity 

level of the completed or intended offense or the offense committed by the principal offender, 

and dividing the duration contained therein by two, but such sentence shall not be less than one 

year and one day except that for Conspiracy to Commit a Controlled Substance offense as per 

Minn. Stat. § 152.096, in which event the presumptive sentence shall be that for the completed 

offense. 

**** 
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III. Technical Modifications and Corrections – Effective January 1, 2003 
 
A. The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following language to section II.F. 

Concurrent/Consecutive Sentences to account for the possibility of more than one 
sentence running consecutive to the sentence being served by the offender. 

 
II.F.  Concurrent/Consecutive Sentences: 

 
* * * * 
Under the circumstances above, it is presumptive for the sentence(s) to be consecutive to the 

sentence being served by the offender at the time the escape or other new offense was 

committed. 

* * * * 
 
B. The Commission adopted a proposal to clarify the following jail credit language. 

 
**** 
III.C.04.  The Commission also believes that jail credit should be awarded for time spent in 
custody as a condition of a stay of imposition or stay of execution when the stay is revoked and 
the offender is committed to the Commissioner of Corrections. The primary purpose of 
imprisonment is punishment, and the punishment imposed should be proportional to the 
severity of the conviction offense and the criminal history of the offender.  If, for example, the 
presumptive duration in a case is 18 months, and the sentence was initially executed, by means 
of a departure the specified minimum term of imprisonment would be 12 months.  If the 
execution of the sentence had initially been stayed and the offender had served four months in 
jail as a condition of the stay, and later the stay was revoked and the sentence executed, the 
offender would be confined for 16 months rather than 12 without awarding jail credit.  By 
awarding jail credit for time spent in custody as a condition of a stay of imposition or execution, 
proportionality is maintained. 
**** 
C. The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following Felony DWI Conditional 

Release Commentary to the Sentencing Guidelines. 
 
II.E.05.  ….M.S. § 169A.276, subd. 1(d) requires that when the court commits a person to the 
custody of the commissioner of corrections for first degree (felony) driving while impaired, it 
shall provide that after the person has been released from prison the commissioner shall place 
the person on conditional release for five years. 
 
 
D. Corrections 

 
1. Corrections to the Severity Level Reference Table 

 
 

   
 III Tear Gas & Tear Gas Compounds; Electronic incapacitation devices - 624.731, subd. 8(a) 
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I Dangerous Weapons on School Property - 609.66, 1d(a) 

   



 

2. Corrections to Theft Offense List 
 

Non-payment for Improvement (Proceeds of Payments; Acts Constituting 
Theft) 
514.02, subd. 1(b) 
 

3. Corrections to Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offense List 
 

Arson 3rd Degree 
609.563; subd. 2 
 
Arson in the Fourth Degree 
609.5631 
 
Burglary 4th in the Fourth Degree 
609.582 

 
4. Corrections to Permissive Consecutive Sentences section 

 
Permissive Consecutive Sentences 

* * * * 

In addition, consecutive sentences are permissive under number 1. above, involving a current 

felony conviction for a crime against a person and a prior felony sentence for a crime against a 

person which has not expired or been discharged, only when the presumptive disposition for the 

prior offense(s) was commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections as determined under the 

procedures outlined in section II.C. 

 
5. Correction to II.F.06. 

 
II.F.06.  Minn. Stat. § 624.74 provides for a maximum sentence of three years or payment 
of a fine of $5,3000 or both, for possession or use of metal-penetrating bullets during the 
commission of a crime. 

 
 
 
IV. Other Adopted Modifications – Effective August 1, 2003 following Legislative 

Review 
 
 
A. The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following language to section 

II.F. Concurrent/Consecutive Sentences. 
 
1. The Commission adopted a proposal to add language to indicate that Presumptive 

Consecutive Sentences apply to offenders who are on Conditional Release 
 

**** 

Presumptive Consecutive Sentences 

  17 



Consecutive sentences are presumptive when the conviction is for a crime committed by an 

offender serving, or on supervised release, conditional release, or on escape status from, an 

executed prison sentence. 

**** 
 

2. The Commission adopted a proposal to add language to indicate that felony 
assaults committed while confined in a local jail or workhouse are Permissive 
Consecutive 

 
**** 
Permissive Consecutive Sentences 

**** 

7. A current conviction for a felony assault committed while in a local jail or workhouse may 

be sentenced consecutively to any other executed prison sentence if the presumptive 

disposition for the other offense was commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections.  

**** 
 
 
B. The Commission adopted a proposal to modify the following language to 

II.B.2 to indicate that the Custody Status Point applies to offenders who 
escape before sentencing. 
 

2. One point is assigned if the offender: 

 

a.  was on probation, parole, supervised release, conditional release, or confined 

in a jail, workhouse, or prison pending sentencing, following a guilty plea or 

verdict in a felony, gross misdemeanor, or extended jurisdiction juvenile case, 

or following a felony, gross misdemeanor or an extended jurisdiction juvenile 

conviction;  

**** 

II.B.201.  The basic rule assigns offenders one point if they were under some form of criminal 
justice custody following conviction of a felony or gross misdemeanor when the offense was 
committed for which they are now being sentenced.  Criminal justice custodial status includes:  
1)  probation (supervised or unsupervised), parole, supervised release, conditional release, or 
confinement in a jail, workhouse, or prison, or work release, following a felony, gross 
misdemeanor, or an extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction; 2)  release pending sentencing 
following the entry of a plea of guilty to a felony or gross misdemeanor, or a verdict of guilty by 
a jury or a finding of guilty by the court of a felony or gross misdemeanor; or 3)  if the current 
offense occurred within the period of the initial length of stay pronounced by the sentencing 
judge for a felony, gross misdemeanor, or extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction. 
 
****   
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C. The Commission adopted a proposal to modify the following language in II.A.02 

related to determining the date of offense to make it consistent with case law. 
 
* * * * 
II.A.02. 
* * * * 

b. If multiple offenses are an element of the conviction offense, such as in subd. 1(h)(iii) of 
first degree criminal sexual conduct, the date of the earliest offense should be used as the 
date of the conviction offense conviction offense must be determined.  If there is a 
reasonable likelihood that all of the offender’s multiple acts occurred before a date on 
which the presumptive sentence changed, the earlier presumptive sentence should be 
used.  If there is no reasonable likelihood that all of the offender’s multiple acts occurred 
before that date, the later presumptive sentence should be used.  See State v. Murray, 
495 N.W.2d 412, 415 (Minn. 1993)(articulating rule). 

* * * * 
 
D. The Commission Adopted a Proposal to Rank the Following Unranked Offenses. 

 
V.  OFFENSE SEVERITY REFERENCE TABLE 

**** 
 

   
VI Controlled Substance Crime in the Third Degree (non aggregated offenses) – 

152.023 
   
 

   
III Registration of Predatory Offenders (2nd or subsequent violation) – 243.166 subd. 

5(c) 
   
 

   
I Registration of Predatory Offenders – 243.166 subd. 5(b) 

   
 
**** 
II.A.03.  The following offenses were excluded from the Offense Severity Reference Table: 
 
**** 

13. Controlled substance crime, third degree (aggregated offenses) - 152.023 
40. Registration of predatory offenders - 243.166, subd. 5 
 

**** 
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E.  The Commission adopted a proposal to assign two units each to prior Gross 

Misdemeanor Criminal Vehicular Injury offenses when the current offense is felony 
DWI or felony Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Injury. 

 
3. Subject to the conditions listed below, the offender is assigned one unit for each 

misdemeanor conviction and for each gross misdemeanor conviction included on the 

Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offense List and for which a sentence was 

stayed or imposed before the current sentencing or for which a stay of imposition of 

sentence was given before the current sentencing….There is the following exception to 

this policy when the current conviction is for criminal vehicular homicide or injury or first 

degree (felony) driving while impaired:  previous violations of section 169A.20, 169A.31, 

169.121, 169.1211, 169.129, or 360.0752, or 609.21 are assigned two units each and 

there is no limit on the total number of misdemeanor points included in the criminal 

history score due to DWI or Criminal Vehicular Homicide and Injury violations. 

 
II.B.301. 
**** 
As a general rule, the Commission eliminated traffic misdemeanors and gross misdemeanors 
from consideration.  However, driving while impaired traffic offenses have particular relevance 
to the offenses of criminal vehicular homicide or injury and first degree (felony) driving while 
impaired. Therefore, prior misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor sentences for violations under 
169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211, 169.129 or 360.0752 shall be used in the computation 
of the misdemeanor/gross misdemeanor point when the current conviction offense is criminal 
vehicular homicide or injury or first degree (felony) driving while impaired.  These are the only 
prior misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor sentences that are assigned two units each.  
**** 
 
II.B.302.  
**** 

The Commission believes that offenders whose current conviction is for criminal vehicular 
homicide or injury or first degree (felony) driving while impaired, and who have prior violations 
under 169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211, 169.129, or 360.0752, or 609.21 are also more 
culpable and for these offenders there is no limit to the total number of misdemeanor points 
included in the criminal history score due to DWI or criminal vehicular homicide and injury (CVI) 
violations.  To determine the total number of misdemeanor points under these circumstances, 
first add together any non DWI/CVI misdemeanor units.  If there are less than four units, add in 
any DWI/CVI units.  Four or more units would equal one point.  Only DWI/CVI units can be 
used in calculating additional points.  Each set of four DWI/CVI units would equal an additional 
point.  For example, if an offender had two theft units and six DWI/CVI units, the theft would be 
added to the two DWI/CVI units to equal one point.  The remaining four DWI/CVI units would 
equal a second point.  In a second example, if an offender had six theft units and six DWI/CVI 
units, the first four theft units would equal one point.  Four of the DWI/CVI units would equal a 
second point.  The remaining two theft units could not be added to the remaining two DWI/CIV 
units for a third point.  The total misdemeanor score would be two.
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Juvenile Out-of-State Placement Report (Minn. Stat. 260B.199) 
 

 O
i
l
p
t
o
G

 

 
 
Ple
Min
MN 
 
(For

 

    
   County:  __________________      _____________ Juvenile Court Case #:  ___     ___________________   
 
   Judge:  _____________________________________    ________________________________________________ 
  
   Report Completed By:  ______________     __________    Contact Phone # or E-Mail: ______________________ 

 

ut-of-State Placement:  Minn. Stat. 260B.199 requires that before a court orders a delinquency or EJJ disposition, 

t determine whether the child meets the admission criteria for the MCF-Red Wing, including full consideration of 
ocal and regional placements.  If the child meets the criteria, the court shall place the child at the facility and may not 
lace the child in an out-of-state facility unless the court finds, on the record, that this best addresses the safety of 

he child or the community or that the out-of-state facility is closer to the child's home.  Courts placing a child in an 
ut-of-state facility are required to provide information pertaining to the placement to the Minnesota Sentencing 
uidelines Commission.   

A.  Name of out-of-state facility where child was placed:   
 
     Reason for this placement:   ____________________________________________________ 
 
 
B.  In-state facilities considered:   
 
     Reason for not choosing an in-state facility:    
    �  Need for appropriate therapeutic placement  �  Public Safety 
     �  Need for appropriate physical treatment/care  �  No opening in appropriate program 
    �  Need for appropriate mental health treatment/care  �  Out-of-state facility closer to child’s home 
 
      Other:   
 
C.  Red Wing Criteria 
 � Reason(s) why the child did not meet the admissions criteria for the MCF-Red Wing  

�   Criteria not applicable to this case (e.g., the child is female)  
�   Does not meet Red Wing commitment criteria as a Serious Offender because: 
  � Offense would not be at Severity Level VII through X of the Sentencing Guidelines  
  � Offense not included in M.S. 609.11 (mandatory minimum sentences) 
  � Firearm was not used 
  � Child is not an EJJ 
�   Does not meet Red Wing commitment criteria as a Chronic Offender because: 

� Child does not have two or more current or previous felony-level offenses. 
� Child has not experienced at least one prior court-ordered placement in a residential 

program with an expected duration of 90 days or more. 
�   Does not meet Red Wing commitment criteria as a Sex Offender because: 
  � Child did not fail to complete court-ordered treatment.   
  � Child is able to complete residential sex offender treatment at a local facility. 
  � More appropriate sex offender treatment is available locally. 

 
�  Reason(s) for not placing at Red Wing if juvenile did meet admissions criteria: 
        � Safety of Child                     � Safety of Community                 � Closer to Child’s Home 

 
           Reasons why safety of the child or the community could not be met at MCF-Red Wing:   
 
 

ase Forward Report to:    
nesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission, University National Bank Building, 200 University Avenue West, Suite 205, St. Paul, 
55103.   Phone:  (651) 296-0144   Fax:  (651) 297-5757   E-mail:  sentencing.guidelines@state.mn.us 

m Revised 10/4/2000) 
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Mandatory Commitment:  Juvenile Alternative Placement Report (Minn. Stat. 260B.201) 
 

 
     

   County:  __________________      _____________ Juvenile Court Case #:  ___     ___________________   
 
   Judge:  _____________________________________    ________________________________________________ 
  
   Report Completed By:  ______________     __________    Contact Phone # or E-Mail: ______________________ 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Alternative Placement when Commitment/Placement at Red Wing Required:  Minn. Stat. 
260B.201requires that a child be committed to the custody of the commissioner of corrections or placed at the MCF-Red 
Wing if the child:  (1) was previously adjudicated delinquent or convicted as an EJJ for an offense requiring registration 
under section 243.166; (2) was placed on probation and ordered to complete a sex offender or chemical dependency 
treatment program; and (3) subsequently failed or refused to successfully complete the program. If initially convicted as an 
EJJ, the court may execute the child's adult sentence under section 260B.130, subdivision 4.  A court may place a child in 
an out-of-state facility if the court makes a finding on the record that the safety of the child or the community can be best 
met by placement in an out-of-state facility or that the out-of-state facility is located closer to the child's home. A court 
ordering an alternative placement is required by the statute to report on the placement and the reasons for not committing 
the child to the custody of the Commissioner of Corrections.   
 
 
A.  Alternative Placement Ordered:   

 
 
 
 
 

.  Reasons for Alternative Placement:   B 
� Safety of Child                     � Safety of Community                 � Closer to Child’s Home  

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
     Reasons why safety of the child or the community could not be met at the MCF-Red Wing:   
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Please Forward Report to:         
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission 
University National Bank Building 
200 University Avenue West, Suite 205, St. Paul, MN 55103. 
Phone:  (651) 296-0144   Fax:  (651) 297-5757   E-mail:  sentencing.guidelines@state.mn.us 
 
(Form Revised 10/4/2000) 
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County Attorney Reports on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms 
By County 

 
Cases Allegedly Involving Firearms - Offenses Listed in § 609.11, Subd. 9 

Cases Disposed from July 1, 2001 to July 1, 2002 
 

 

County 

Cases Allegedly 
Involving Firearms - 

Offenses Listed in § 609.11 
Cases Not 
Charged 

Cases 
Charged 

Aitkin 4 1 3 

Anoka 33 1 32 

Becker 3 0 3 

Beltrami 6 0 6 

Benton 10 1 9 

Big Stone 1 0 1 

Blue Earth 5 0 5 

Brown 0 0 0 

Carlton 4 0 4 

Carver 3 0 3 

Cass 11 1 10 

Chippewa 1 0 1 

Chisago 2 0 2 

Clay 2 0 2 

Clearwater 0 0 0 

Cook 2 0 2 

Cottonwood 0 0 0 

Crow Wing 4 0 4 

Dakota 19 0 19 

Dodge 3 1 2 

Douglas 0 0 0 

Faribault 0 0 0 

Fillmore 0 0 0 

Freeborn 0 0 0 

Goodhue 6 0 6 

Grant 0 0 0 

Hennepin 106 0 106 

Houston 0 0 0 

Hubbard 0 0 0 

Isanti 10 0 10 

Itasca 12 0 12 

  23 



County Offenses Listed in § 609.11 Charged Charged 

Cases Allegedly 
Involving Firearms - Cases Not Cases 

Jackson 0 0 0 

Kanabec 8 2 6 

Kandiyohi 2 0 2 

Kittson 1 0 1 

Koochiching 0 0 0 

Lac Qui Parle 0 0 0 

Lake 2 0 2 

Lake of the Woods 0 0 0 

LeSueur 0 0 0 

Lincoln 0 0 0 

Lyon 3 0 3 

McLeod 7 0 7 

Mahnomen 2 1 1 

Marshall 0 0 0 

Martin 1 0 1 

Meeker 5 0 5 

Mille Lacs 12 0 12 

Morrison 7 0 7 

Mower 6 0 6 

Murray 3 0 3 

Nicollet 0 0 0 

Nobles 4 0 4 

Norman 3 0 3 

Olmsted 27 0 27 

Otter Tail 4 1 3 

Pennington 0 0 0 

Pine 0 0 0 

Pipestone 5 1 4 

Polk 3 0 3 

Pope 0 0 0 

Ramsey 103 0 103 

Red Lake 0 0 0 

Redwood 2 0 2 

Renville 4 0 4 

Rice 4 1 3 
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County Offenses Listed in § 609.11 Charged Charged 

Cases Allegedly 
Involving Firearms - Cases Not Cases 

Rock 0 0 0 

Roseau 6 0 6 

St. Louis 29 9 20 

Scott 2 0 2 

Sherburne 9 0 9 

Sibley 0 0 0 

Stearns 11 0 11 

Steele 1 0 1 

Stevens 1 0 1 

Swift 1 0 1 

Todd 1 0 1 

Traverse 0 0 0 

Wabasha 12 0 12 

Wadena 2 0 2 

Waseca 0 0 0 

Washington 5 0 5 

Watonwan 0 0 0 

Wilkin 0 0 0 

Winona 4 1 3 

Wright 8 0 8 

Yellow Medicine 2 0 2 

Total 559 21 538 
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County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms 
By County 

 
Offenses Charged - Case Outcome 

Cases Disposed from July 1, 2001 to July 1, 2002 
 

 

County 

Total 
Number 
of Cases 
Charged 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 
§ 609.11, Subd. 9 

Firearm 
Established 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 
§ 609.11, Subd. 9 

Firearm Not 
Established 

Conviction 
Offense Not 

Listed in 
M.S. 

§609.11 

Acquitted 
on all 

Charges 

Dismissed 
on all 

Charges Other 

Aitkin 3 2 0 0 0 1 0 

Anoka 32 18 0 9 1 4 0 

Becker 3 3 0 0 0 0 0 

Beltrami 6 5 0 0 0 1 0 

Benton 9 4 2 2 0 1 0 

Big Stone 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 

Blue Earth 5 5 0 0 0 0 0 

Brown 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Carlton 4 1 0 3 0 0 0 

Carver 3 2 0 0 0 1 0 

Cass 10 4 0 5 0 1 0 

Chippewa 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 

Chisago 2 1 0 0 0 1 0 

Clay 2 1 0 0 0 0 1 

Clearwater 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Cook 2 0 1 0 0 1 0 

Cottonwood 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Crow Wing 4 2 1 1 0 0 0 

Dakota 19 15 0 0 0 3 1 

Dodge 2 0 0 2 0 0 0 

Douglas 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Faribault 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Fillmore 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Freeborn 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Goodhue 6 1 1 3 0 1 0 

Grant 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Hennepin 106 85 0 12 7 2 0 

Houston 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Hubbard 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Isanti 10 4 1 3 0 2 0 
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County Charged Established Established §609.11 Charges Charges Other 

Total 
Number 
of Cases 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 
§ 609.11, Subd. 9 

Firearm 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 
§ 609.11, Subd. 9 

Firearm Not 

Conviction 
Offense Not 

Listed in 
M.S. 

Acquitted 
on all 

Dismissed 
on all 

Itasca 12 7 0 3 0 2 0 

Jackson 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Kanabec 6 1 0 5 0 0 0 

Kandiyohi 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 

Kittson 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Koochiching 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Lac Qui Parle 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Lake 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 
Lake of the 
Woods 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

LeSueur 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Lincoln 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Lyon 3 3 0 0 0 0 0 

McLeod 7 6 0 0 0 1 0 

Mahnomen 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 

Marshall 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Martin 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 

Meeker 5 3 0 0 0 2 0 

Mille Lacs 12 5 0 5 0 2 0 

Morrison 7 4 1 1 0 1 0 

Mower 6 4 0 2 0 0 0 

Murray 3 0 0 3 0 0 0 

Nicollet 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Nobles 4 2 0 2 0 0 0 

Norman 3 0 0 3 0 0 0 

Olmsted 27 18 0 5 0 4 0 

Otter Tail 3 2 0 2 0 0 0 

Pennington 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Pine 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Pipestone 4 0 1 0 0 0 3 

Polk 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 

Pope 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Ramsey 103 88 0 0 6 9 0 

Red Lake 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Redwood 2 0 1 1 0 0 0 
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County Charged Established Established §609.11 Charges Charges Other 

Total 
Number 
of Cases 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 
§ 609.11, Subd. 9 

Firearm 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 
§ 609.11, Subd. 9 

Firearm Not 

Conviction 
Offense Not 

Listed in 
M.S. 

Acquitted 
on all 

Dismissed 
on all 

Renville 4 0 0 3 0 1 0 

Rice 3 2 0 1 0 0 0 

Rock 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Roseau 6 1 4 0 0 1 0 

St. Louis 20 10 0 5 3 2 0 

Scott 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 

Sherburne 9 5 2 2 0 0 0 

Sibley 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Stearns 11 5 0 5 0 1 0 

Steele 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 

Stevens 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 

Swift 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 

Todd 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Traverse 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Wabasha 12 12 0 0 0 0 0 

Wadena 2 0 0 2 0 0 0 

Waseca 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Washington 5 0 0 3 1 1 0 

Watonwan 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Wilkin 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Winona 3 3 0 0 0 0 0 

Wright 8 0 1 7 0 0 0 
Yellow 
Medicine 2 0 0 2 0 0 0 
 
Total 538 344 19 105 18 46 7 
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County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms By County 
 

Mandatory Minimum Sentences Imposed and Executed 
Cases Disposed from July 1, 2001 to July 1, 2002 

 

County 

Convicted of Offense Listed 
in § 609.11, Subd. 9 
Firearm Established 

on Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Waived 

Aitkin 2 2 0 

Anoka 18 12 6 

Becker 3 1 2 

Beltrami 5 3 2 

Benton 4 4 0 

Big Stone 0 0 0 

Blue Earth 5 4 1 

Brown 0 0 0 

Carlton 1 0 1 

Carver 2 0 2 

Cass 4 2 2 

Chippewa 0 0 0 

Chisago 1 0 1 

Clay 1 1 0 

Clearwater 0 0 0 

Cook 0 0 0 

Cottonwood 0 0 0 

Crow Wing 2 2 0 

Dakota 15 9 6 

Dodge 0 0 0 

Douglas 0 0 0 

Faribault 0 0 0 

Fillmore 0 0 0 

Freeborn 0 0 0 

Goodhue 1 1 0 

Grant 0 0 0 

Hennepin 85 60 25 

Houston 0 0 0 

Mandatory 
Minimum 
Sentence 
Imposed 
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County on Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Waived 

Mandatory 
Minimum 
Sentence 
Imposed 

Convicted of Offense Listed 
in § 609.11, Subd. 9 
Firearm Established 

Hubbard 0 0 0 

Isanti 4 1 3 

Itasca 7 2 5 

Jackson 0 0 0 

Kanabec 1 1 0 

Kandiyohi 2 2 0 

Kittson 1 1 0 

Koochiching 0 0 0 

Lac Qui Parle 0 0 0 

Lake 2 2 0 

Lake of the Woods 0 0 0 

LeSueur 0 0 0 

Lincoln 0 0 0 

Lyon 3 0 3 

McLeod 6 3 3 

Mahnomen 0 0 0 

Marshall 0 0 0 

Martin 0 0 0 

Meeker 3 1 2 

Mille Lacs 5 3 2 

Morrison 4 2 2 

Mower 4 4 0 

Murray 0 0 0 

Nicollet 0 0 0 

Nobles 2 2 0 

Norman 0 0 0 

Olmsted 18 9 9 

Otter Tail 2 0 2 

Pennington 0 0 0 

Pine 0 0 0 

Pipestone 0 0 0 
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County on Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Waived 

Mandatory 
Minimum 
Sentence 
Imposed 

Convicted of Offense Listed 
in § 609.11, Subd. 9 
Firearm Established 

Polk 2 2 0 

Pope 0 0 0 

Ramsey 88 63 25 

Red Lake 0 0 0 

Redwood 0 0 0 

Renville 0 0 0 

Rice 2 2 0 

Rock 0 0 0 

Roseau 1 1 0 

St. Louis 10 7 3 

Scott 2 1 1 

Sherburne 5 4 1 

Sibley 0 0 0 

Stearns 5 5 0 

Steele 0 0 0 

Stevens 0 0 0 

Swift 0 0 0 

Todd 1 1 0 

Traverse 0 0 0 

Wabasha 12 1 11 

Wadena 0 0 0 

Waseca 0 0 0 

Washington 0 0 0 

Watonwan 0 0 0 

Wilkin 0 0 0 

Winona 3 3 0 

Wright 0 0 0 

Yellow Medicine 0 0 0 

Total 344 224 120 
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609.11 MINIMUM SENTENCES OF IMPRISONMENT 
 
 Subdivision 1.  Commitments without minimums.  All commitments to the 
commissioner of corrections for imprisonment of the defendant are without minimum terms 
except when the sentence is to life imprisonment as required by law and except as otherwise 
provided in this chapter.   
 Subd. 2.   Repealed, 1978 c 723 art 2 s 5 
 Subd. 3.   Repealed, 1981 c 227 s 13 
 Subd. 4. Dangerous weapon.  Any defendant convicted of an offense listed in 
subdivision 9 in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of the offense, used, whether 
by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a dangerous weapon other 
than a firearm, shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for not less than one year 
plus one day, nor more than the maximum sentence provided by law.  Any defendant convicted 
of a second or subsequent offense in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of the 
offense, used a dangerous weapon other than a firearm, shall be committed to the 
commissioner of corrections for not less than three years nor more than the maximum sentence 
provided by law. 
 Subd. 5.  Firearm.  (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), any defendant 
convicted of an offense listed in subdivision 9 in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the 
time of the offense, had in possession or used, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening 
with, or otherwise employing, a firearm, shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections 
for not less than three years, nor more than the maximum sentence provided by law.  Any 
defendant convicted of a second or subsequent offense in which the defendant or an 
accomplice, at the time of the offense, had in possession or used a firearm shall be committed 
to the commissioner of corrections for not less than five years, nor more than the maximum 
sentence provided by law. 
 (b) Any defendant convicted of violating section 609.165 or 624.713, subdivision 1, 
clause (b), shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for not less than five years, 
nor more than the maximum sentence provided by law.   
 Subd. 5a. Drug offenses.  Notwithstanding section 609.035, whenever a defendant is 
subject to a mandatory minimum sentence for a felony violation of chapter 152 and is also 
subject to this section, the minimum sentence imposed under this section shall be consecutive 
to that imposed under chapter 152.  
 Subd. 6.  No early release.  Any defendant convicted and sentenced as required by 
this section is not eligible for probation, parole, discharge, or supervised release until that 
person has served the full term of imprisonment as provided by law, notwithstanding the 
provisions of sections 242.19, 243.05, 244.04, 609.12 and 609.135.   
 Subd. 7.    Prosecutor shall establish.  Whenever reasonable grounds exist to believe 
that the defendant or an accomplice used a firearm or other dangerous weapon or had in 
possession a firearm, at the time of commission of an offense listed in subdivision 9, the 
prosecutor shall, at the time of trial or at the plea of guilty, present on the record all evidence 
tending to establish that fact unless it is otherwise admitted on the record.  The question of 
whether the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of commission of an offense listed in 
subdivision 9, used a firearm or other dangerous weapon or had in possession a firearm shall 
be determined by the court on the record at the time of a verdict or finding of guilt at trial or the 
entry of a plea of guilty based upon the record of the trial or the plea of guilty.  The court shall 
determine on the record at the time of sentencing whether the defendant has been convicted of 
a second or subsequent offense in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of 
commission of an offense listed in subdivision 9, used a firearm or other dangerous weapon or 
had in possession a firearm.   
 Subd. 8.  Motion by prosecutor.  (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), 
prior to the time of sentencing, the prosecutor may file a motion to have the defendant 
sentenced without regard to the mandatory minimum sentences established by this section.  
The motion shall be accompanied by a statement on the record of the reasons for it.  When 
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presented with the motion, or on its own motion, the court may sentence the defendant without 
regard to the mandatory minimum sentences established by this section if the court finds 
substantial and compelling reasons to do so.  A sentence imposed under this subdivision is a 
departure from the sentencing guidelines.  
    (b) The court may not, on its own motion or the prosecutor's motion, sentence a defendant 
without regard to the mandatory minimum sentences established by this section if the 
defendant previously has been convicted of an offense listed in subdivision 9 in which the 
defendant used or possessed a firearm or other dangerous weapon.   
 Subd. 9.  Applicable offenses.  The crimes for which mandatory minimum sentences 
shall be served as provided in this section are:  murder in the first, second, or third degree; 
assault in the first, second, or third degree; burglary; kidnapping; false imprisonment; 
manslaughter in the first or second degree; aggravated robbery; simple robbery; first-degree or 
aggravated first-degree witness tampering; criminal sexual conduct under the circumstances 
described in sections 609.342, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); 609.343, subdivision 1, clauses 
(a) to (f); and 609.344, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e) and (h) to (j); escape from custody; 
arson in the first, second, or third degree; drive-by shooting under section 609.66, subdivision 
1e; harassment and stalking under section 609.749, subdivision 3, clause (3); possession or 
other unlawful use of a firearm in violation of section 609.165, subdivision 1b, or 624.713, 
subdivision 1, clause (b), a felony violation of chapter 152; or any attempt to commit any of 
these offenses. 
 Subd. 10.  Report on criminal cases involving a firearm.  Beginning on July 1, 1994, 
every county attorney shall collect and maintain the following information on criminal complaints 
and prosecutions within the county attorney's office in which the defendant is alleged to have 
committed an offense listed in subdivision 9 while possessing or using a firearm: 
 (1) whether the case was charged or dismissed; 
 (2) whether the defendant was convicted of the offense or a lesser offense; and 
 (3) whether the mandatory minimum sentence required under this section was imposed 
and executed or was waived by the prosecutor or court. 
 No later than July 1 of each year, beginning on July 1, 1995, the county attorney shall 
forward this information to the sentencing guidelines commission upon forms prescribed by the 
commission. 
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Firearms Report Form: 
County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms 

 
M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 10 requires that no later than July 1 of each year, every county attorney shall forward to the 
sentencing guidelines commission information on cases in which the defendant is alleged to have committed an offense 
listed in M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 9.  Please report on adult cases that were disposed of in the time period indicated.  
Please do not include cases that were pending during this time period.  Consult reverse side for an illustration. 
 
County:  ___________________________________________________ 
 
Criminal Complaints Disposed of from July 1, _____ to July 1, _____. 
 
Completed by:  _______________________________ Telephone:(____)_____________________ 
 
I. CHARGING 

CASES CHARGED WHERE 
REPORTING IS REQUIRED  

CASES NOT CHARGED 
WHERE REPORTING IS 

REQUIRED 
 
 
# of cases = 
 
 

  
 
# of cases = 

  
 Only cases in this box 
 should be carried down to 
 Table II. 
 
 
III. CASE OUTCOME:  Sum of Table II = total of “CASES CHARGED WHERE REPORTING IS REQUIRED” box above 

CONVICTED OF 
OFFENSE LISTED IN 
SUBD. 9; FIREARM 

ESTABLISHED ON THE 
RECORD 

CONVICTED OF 
OFFENSE LISTED IN 
SUBD. 9; FIREARM 
NOT ESTABLISHED 
ON THE RECORD 

CONVICTED OF 
OFFENSE NOT 

LISTED IN SUBD. 9 
ACQUITTED ON 
ALL CHARGES 

ALL CHARGES 
DISMISSED OTHER 

 
# of 
cases = 
 
 

 
# of 
cases = 

 
# of 
cases = 

 
# of 
cases = 

 
# of 
cases = 

 
# of 
cases = 

  
Only cases in 
this box should be 
carried down to 

 Table III. 
 
III. SENTENCES FOR CASES REQUIRING MANDATORY MINIMUM UNDER M.S. § 609.11: 
 Sum of Table III = Total in “FIREARM ESTABLISHED ON RECORD” box above 

MANDATORY MINIMUM 
SENTENCE (OR GREATER) 
IMPOSED AND EXECUTED  

MANDATORY MINIMUM 
SENTENCE WAIVED 

 
 
# of cases = 
 
 

  
 
# of cases = 

Please send form to:  Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission, 200 University Ave. W., Suite 205, St. Paul, MN  55103 
651.296.0144                                               Fax:  651.297.5757                            TTY: 1.800.627.3529 (ask for 651.296.0144) 
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[FIREARMS REPORT FORM ILLUSTRATION] 
 

Person to 
contact
if we have 
questions

Firearm must 
be a "finding of 
fact"  

Example: 
Cases that resulted in a
"Stay of Adjudication"

Prison for at least the 
mandatory minimum duration

Firearms Report Form:
County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

County _________________________________________
Criminal Complaints Disposed of from July 1____ to July 1 _____
Completed by____________________________ Telephone Number ____________

I.  CHARGINGI.  CHARGING

II.  CASE OUTCOME   ( xxx xxxxx xxxx xx xxx)

 ( xxx xxxxx xxxx xx xxx xxxxxx xxxxxxx xx xx xx xxx xxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxx xx xxxx xx xx xxxx  xxx xxxxxxxxx) ( xxx xxxxx xxxx xx xxx xxxxxx xxxxxxx xx xx xx xxx xxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxx xx xxxx xx xx xxxx  xxx xxxxxxxxx)
III.  SENTENCES FOR CASES  REQUIRING MANDATORY MINIMUM UNDER 609.11

BAA

I J

OTHER

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

Do not include
cases pending
during the
reporting period

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =
# of
Cases =

>

>

Include only
adult cases

Box A equals
Box C thru H

Box C equals 
Boxes I & J
 

 35


	REPORT TO THE LEGISLATURE
	REPORT TO THE LEGISLATURE
	Jodie Carlson, State Public Defender Representative
	
	I.  Summary
	III.  Felony Driving While Impaired
	IV.  Juvenile Out of State or Alternative Placement Reports Summary
	
	Historical Case Summary



	Total Number Cases Allegedly Involving Firearms
	Offenses Listed in § 609.11, subdivision 9
	
	
	Offenses Charged – Case Outcomes
	Convictions for Offenses Listed in § 609.11, sub�



	Firearm Established on the Record
	Mandatory Minimum Sentences Imposed and Executed
	XI
	X


	IX
	VIII
	VII
	A.
	The Commission adopted a proposal to rank the following crimes in Section V.
	OFFENSE SEVERITY REFERENCE TABLE as follows:
	
	
	
	
	Severity Level VIII
	Severity Level VI





	B.
	The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following crimes to the Unranked Offense List in Section II.A.03 of the Commentary:
	
	
	
	
	
	
	Real and Simulated Weapons of Mass Destruction – 
	Insurance Fraud-Employment of Runners – 609.612







	C.
	The Commission adopted a proposal to continue the existing severity level ranking for the following crimes and the existing policies regarding Attempted Murder in the First Degree:
	A.
	The Commission adopted a proposal to add the foll
	VIII

	B.
	The Commission adopted a proposal to add the foll
	C.
	The Commission adopted a proposal to add the foll
	A.
	The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following language to section II.F. Concurrent/Consecutive Sentences to account for the possibility of more than one sentence running consecutive to the sentence being served by the offender.
	B.
	The Commission adopted a proposal to clarify the following jail credit language.
	C.
	The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following Felony DWI Conditional Release Commentary to the Sentencing Guidelines.
	D.
	Corrections
	A.
	The Commission adopted a proposal to add the following language to section
	II.F. Concurrent/Consecutive Sentences.
	B.
	The Commission adopted a proposal to modify the following language to II.B.2 to indicate that the Custody Status Point applies to offenders who escape before sentencing.
	C.
	The Commission adopted a proposal to modify the following language in II.A.02 related to determining the date of offense to make it consistent with case law.
	D.
	The Commission Adopted a Proposal to Rank the Following Unranked Offenses.
	E.  The Commission adopted a proposal to assign two units each to prior Gross Misdemeanor Criminal Vehicular Injury offenses when the current offense is felony DWI or felony Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Injury.
	
	
	Please Forward Report to:



	A.  Alternative Placement Ordered:
	
	
	
	
	
	
	Cases Allegedly Involving Firearms - Offenses Lis







	Cases Disposed from July 1, 2001 to July 1, 2002
	
	
	
	
	
	
	Offenses Charged - Case Outcome







	Cases Disposed from July 1, 2001 to July 1, 2002
	
	
	County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms



	I.CHARGING

