SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT STATE OF MINNESOTA COURT UNIFICATION RESOLUTION

Be it resolved:

- 1) The District Courts and the County Courts of the Seventh Judicial District shall be unified into one Court, to be known as the District Court, according to the following terms and provisions.
- 2) Effective Date. The judges and court personnel shall immediately implement and follow the provision of this Resolution. The formal effective date shall be as provided in M.S.A. 487.191.
- 3) Court Divisions. The District Court shall be organized into such divisions as may be established by majority vote of the judges of the Court. The four judges who are presently sitting as judges of the District Court shall, with their consent, be permanently assigned to the Trial Divisions. The remaining 15 judges of the Seventh Judicial District who are presently sitting as judges of County Court shall be assigned to such divisions as may be required. The Trial Divisions shall handle all felonies and civil cases which are presently within the jurisdiction of the District Court. Any new judge appointed or elected from and after this date shall be assigned as the case load may require.

No presently sitting judge shall be, without the judge's consent, assigned to judicial work other than what they are presently regularly assigned; nor shall they, except temporarily, be assigned outside the geographic area in which they are presently regularly assigned.

- 4) Election Districts. Four judges shall be elected from the District at large. Five judges shall be elected from the counties of Clay, Becker and Otter Tail. Three judges shall be elected from the counties of Wadena, Todd and Douglas. Two judges shall be elected from the counties of Morrison and Mille Lacs. Five judges shall be elected from the counties of Stearns and Benton. All judges shall be incumbent judges in the election district where they presently serve. Each judge, or successor, shall run and be elected from the election district in which previously elected, unless otherwise provided by State law.
- 5) Chambers. Chambers shall be maintained in each county seat in the District and as otherwise established. A judge shall, unless otherwise ordered, be chambered in his County of residence. Any judge may be assigned, with consent, to satisfy any statutory or other chamber requirement, and the judge previously satisfying the requirement, may then be assigned to other chambers.
- 6) Case Assignments. Specific case assignment, case scheduling and general administration shall be maintained in each county by the judges elected from that county, in cooperation with the Court Administrator and the Clerk of Court.
- 7) Administrative Structure. There shall be a Chief Judge and an Assistant Chief Judge, elected by all of the judges of the District in accordance with current Statutes. When one such position is filled by a judge from the counties of Mille Lacs, Benton, Stearns or Morrison the

Bernard Boland

Judge of the County Court

other position shall be filled by a judge from the counties of Douglas, Todd, Wadena, Becker, Otter Tail or Clay. There shall be one Seventh Judicial District Court Administrator and such Assistant Court Administrator as may from time to time be established. The District Court Administrator shall be appointed by the Chief Judge of the District, serve at the pleasure of the Judges of the District, and perform such duties as may be assigned by the judges of the District, the Chief Judge or the Assistant Chief Judge.

This Resolution shall be effective when signed by a majority of the County Judges and a majority of the District Judges of the District. In consideration of the approval of the Resolution, the undersigned each agree to continue to implement the spirit of each of its provisions.

	Paul Moures
Gaylord A. Saetre	Paul J. Oberner Judge of County Court
Judge of the District Court	Judge of County Court
(1)1111-	12
Pal Hoffman	ratt that
Paul Hoffman	Paul E. Flora
Judge of the District Court	Judge of County Court
11 10/2	
- mald Tran	
Donald A. Gray	James E. Garrity
Julige of the District Court	Judge of County Court
. /V //// ////X \ / \	n M
	Holl Kenned &
Røger 4. Klaphake Judge of the District Court	Don E. Kennedy Judge of County Court
	duage of sodiffy court
	Miller (H)
Richard J. Ahles	Willard P. Lorette
Judge of the County Court	Judge of County Court
0 200	
Mark I Kalland	Sayon Louison
Paul L. Ballard	Harlan L.) Nelson
Judge of the County Court	Judge of County Court
χ	
therewine	Dramunel // Say look
Elliott O. Boe	Leonard M. Paulson
Judge of the County Court	Judge of County Court
Dunand & Deland	

Homer A. Saetre

Judge of County Court

Seventh Judicial District Court Unification Resolution

Rainer L. Weis

Judge of the County Court

Sigwel Wood

Judge of County Court

George P. Wetzel Judge of the County Court

This Resolution was approved by a majority of the District Court Judges and a majority of the County Court Judges on November 25, 1983.

> STATE OF MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF STATE DEC 8 1983. Jan anderson work

Secretary of State

9 3 4905

STATE OF MINNESOTA SEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT CLAY COUNTY COURTHOUSE MOORHEAD, MN 56560

JAMES P. SLETTE DISTRICT ADMINISTRATOR

(218) 299-5050

December 6, 1983

Ms. Joan Anderson Growe Secretary of State State of Minnesota 180 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Ms. Growe:

Enclosed for filing in your office pursuant to Minn. Stat. §487.191 is the original Resolution for court unification signed by a majority of the District Court Judges and a majority of the County Court Judges combining the District Courts and the County Courts of the Seventh Judicial District.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Yours very truly,

James P. Slette

District Administrator

JPS:sls Enclosure *34905 0,D

~: