

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 79-29

Providing for the Delineation of Development Region Boundaries

I, Albert H. Quie, Governor of the State of Minnesota, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution and applicable statutes, do hereby issue this Executive Order:

WHEREAS, intergovernmental cooperation on a regional basis is an effective and necessary means of uniting local governments in common problem solving, thereby better serving all citizens of the state; and,

WHEREAS, the delineation of development regions is assigned, by statute, to the Governor; and,

WHEREAS, development regions have been delineated by Executive Orders in accordance with the law; and,

WHEREAS, the aforementioned Executive Orders have expired or have been repealed; and,

32220

WHEREAS, it is desirable to restate the delineation of development regions so that interested and concerned parties who, because of statutory and other references, need a single, convenient, and authoritative resource document identifying the counties within each development region;

NOW, THEREFORE, I order:

- 1. That Region 1 consist of the counties of Kittson, Roseau, Marshall, Pennington, Red Lake, Polk, and Norman.
- That Region 2 consist of the counties of Lake of the Woods,
 Beltrami, Hubbard, Clearwater, and Mahnomen.
- That Region 3 consist of the counties of Koochiching, Itasca,
 Louis, Lake, Cook, Carlton, and Aitkin.
- 4. That Region 4 consist of the counties of Clay, Becker, Ottertail, Wilkin, Grant, Douglas, Stevens, Pope, and Traverse.
- 5. That Region 5 consist of the counties of Cass, Wadena, Crow Wing, Morrison, and Todd.
- 6. That Region 6E consist of the counties of Kandiyohi, Meeker, Renville, and McLeod.
- 7. That Region 6W consist of the counties of Big Stone, Swift, Chippewa, Lac qui Parle, and Yellow Medicine.
- That Region 7E consist of the counties of Mille Lacs, Kanabec,
 Pine, Isanti, and Chisago.
- That Region 7W consist of the counties of Stearns, Benton, Sherburne, and Wright.

- That Region 8 consist of the counties of Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Pipestone, Murray, Cottonwood, Rock, Nobles, and Jackson.
- That Region 9 consist of the counties of Sibley, Nicollet, Le Sueur, Brown, Watonwan, Blue Earth, Waseca, Martin and Faribault.
- That Region 10 consist of the counties of Rice, Goodhue, Wabasha, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, Freeborn, Mower, Fillmore, and Houston.
- 13. That Region 11 consist of the counties of Anoka, Ramsey, Washington, Hennepin, Carver, Scott, and Dakota.

I further order that nothing in this order shall modify or eliminate those exceptions duly made by and through appropriate authority.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1978, Section 4.035, this order shall be effective 15 days after its publication in the State Register and filing with the Secretary of State and shall remain in effect until it is superseded or rescinded by proper authority or it expires in accordance with Minnesota Statutes 1978, Section 4.035.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I hereunto set my hand this $\frac{14}{2}$ day of June, 1979.

Filed according to Law:

Joan Anderson Growe Secretary of State

THE OF MINNESUL. DEPARTMENT OF STATE FILED JUN 261979

Gran anderson Stone Corretary of Stare

半32200