THE SUPREME COURT OF MINNESOTA ST. PAUL

55155 230 State Capitol

ROBERT J, SHERAN, CHIEF JUSTICE JAMES C. OTIS WALTER F. ROGOSHESKE C. DONALD PETERSON FALLON KELLY JOHN J. TODD HARRY H. MACLAUGHLIN LAWRENCE R. YETKA GEORGE M. SCOTT ASSOCIATE JUSTICES

July 21, 1975

County Boards, Sherburne, Benton, and Stearns Counties State of Minnesota

Gentlemen:

I have the resolutions by the terms of which the Boards of County Commissioners of Sherburne, Benton, and Stearns Counties have resolved to restore to five the number of county judges for the Sherburne-Benton-Stearns County Court District.

These resolutions, when filed with the Secretary of State of the State of Minnesota, will be effectual to increase to five the number of judges to be elected in this county court district by virtue of the provisions of M.S.A. 487.01, subd. 5(5). I do not feel it necessary to rescind the order issued by the-Chief Justice of Minnesota on June 19, 1972.

Yours very truly,

Robert J. Sheran

RJS:dm

#29052

STATE OF MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF STATE FILED JUL 21 1975 Ann Andrew Howe Secretary of State

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Chapter 951, Laws of 1971, provides for five Judges in the Sherburne-Benton-Stearns County Court District; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 1, Subdivision 7, Chapter 951, Laws of 1971, the County Board of Commissioners of the three Counties recommended to the Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court that the number of County Court Judges be reduced from five to four; and

WHEREAS, Boards of County Commissioners of the Country Court Judges have agreed to restore to five the number of Judges for the Sherburne-Benton-Stearns County Court District.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court for the State of Minnesota is hereby requested to rescind his previous Order, dated June 19, 1972, and restore the provisions of Section 1, Subdivision 7, Chapter 951, of the Laws of 1971, to the effect that there be five Judges for the County Court District of Sherburne-Benton-Stearns Counties.

We further request by this Resolution that such Order be rescinded effective January 1, 1975.

This Resolution is dated this <u>17</u> day of <u>December</u>, 1974.

> By authority of the Board of County Commissioners for the County of Stearns on Motion duly made and granted at a regular Board meeting at the Courthouse in the City of St. Cloud, Minnesota.

1. Main Chairman

#29052

STATE OF MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF STATE FILED JUL 21 1975 Aran Chadrann Khowe Secretary of State

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Chapter 951, Laws of 1971, provides for five Judges in the Sherburne-Benton-Stearns County Court District; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 1, Subdivision 7, Chapter 951, Laws of 1971, the County Soard of Commissioners of the three Counties recommended to the Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court that the number of County Court Judges be reduced from five to four: and

WHEREAS, Boards of County Commissioners of the three Counties pursuant to a request of the County Court Judges have agreed to restore to five the number of Judges for the Sherburne-Benton-Stearns County Court District.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court for the State of Minnesota is hereby requested to rescind his previous Order, dated June 19, 1972, and restore the provisions of Section 1, Subdivision 7, Chapter 951, of the Laws of 1971, to the effect that there be five Judges for the County Court District of Sherburne-Benton-Stearns Counties.

We further request by this Resolution that such Order be rescinded effective July 1, 1975.

This Resolution is dated this 25 day of June 1975.

By authority of the Board of County Commissioners for the County of SHERBURNE on Motion duly made and granted at a regular Board meeting at the Courthouse in the City of Elk River, Minnesota.

29052 STATE OF MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF STATE FILED JUL 21 1975 (Jour Anoleum Monue Secretary of State

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Chapter 951, Laws of 1971, provides for five Judges in the Sherburne-Benton-Stearns County Court District: and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 1, Subdivision 7, Chapter 951, Laws of 1971, the County Board of Commissioners of the three Counties recommended to the Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court that the number of County Court Judges be reduced from five to four; and

WHEREAS, Boards of County Commissioners of the three Counties pursuant to a request of the County Court Judges have agreed to restore to five the number of Judges for the Sherburne-Benton-Stearns County Court District.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court for the State of Minnesota is hereby requested to rescind his previous Order, dated June 19, 1972, and restore the provisions of Section 1, Subdivision 7, Chapter 951, of the Laws of 1971, to the effect that there be five Judges for the County Court District of Sherburne-Benton-Stearns Counties.

We further request by this Resolution that such Order be rescinded effective July 1, 1975.

This Resolution is dated this 14 day of July 1975.

By authority of the Board of County Commissioners for the County of BENTON on Motion duly made and granted at a regular Board meeting at the Courthouse in the City of Foley, Minnesota.

Chairman

29052 STATE OF MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF STATE FILED JUL 21 1975 JUL 21 1975 Jul Challenne State