PROCLAMATION!

WHEREAS, a petition was filed with the Secretary of State on the seventh (7th) day of August, 1922, under and pursuant to Sections 632 and 633, General Statutes of Minnesota, 1913, as amended by Chapter 458, Laws of Minnesota, 1919, praying for the creation of a new county out of the territory now lying in Beltrami County, Minnesota, the same to be known as Lake of the Woods County, and described and bounded as follows, to-wit:

Beginning at a point at the southeast corner of Township 157 north, Range 30 west, 5th principal meridian Minnesota; thence west, along the township line between townships 156 and 157, to the southwest corner of Township 157, Range 35; thence north, along the range line between ranges 35 and 36, to the southeast corner of Township 159, Range 36; thence west, along the township line between Townships 158 and 159, to the southwest corner of Township 159, Range 36; thence north, along the range line between ranges 36 and 37, to the northwest corner of Township 160, Range 36; thence east, along the township line between townships 160 and 161, to the southwest corner of Township 161, Range 34; thence north, along the range line between ranges 34 and 35, to the south shore of Lake of the Woods; thence northwesterly and northerly, along the west line of Beltrami County, to the northwest corner of said county; thence easterly and southeasterly, along the line between the United States and the British possessions, to the range line between ranges 29 and 30, thence south, along the range line between ranges 29 and 30 to the place of beginning, being all that portion of Beltrami County lying north of the township line between townships 156 and 157 and east of the range line between ranges 35 and 36, and all that portion of said county lying north of the township line between townships 158 and 159 and west of the range line between ranges 35 and 36.

WHEREAS, the said petition further sets forth:

That the name and location of the county seat of the proposed.

#2887

new county be the Village of Baudette, Beltrami County, Minnesota. That the following persons be named to constitute the first county board in said proposed new county, towit:

W. F. Zauche, whose residence and postoffice address is Baudette, Minnesota.

E. T. Eide, whose residence and postoffice address is Spooner, Minnesota.

A. P. Thompson, whose residence is in the Township of Keil and whose postoffice address is Carp, Minnesota.

Hans Evenson, whose residence is in the Township of Chilgren and whose postoffice address is Williams, Minnesota.

Hans Larson, whose residence is in Township 159-34 and whose postoffice address is Faunce, Minnesota.

That the assessed valuation of the proposed new county is more than two million five hundred thousand dollars (\$2,500,000.). That the said territory in the proposed new county exceeds four hundred square miles in extent and has more than two thousand inhabitants.

WHEREAS, on the 10th day of August, 1922, said petition was duly considered by the Governor of the State of Minnesota and found and certified to as conforming in all respects to the provisions of section six hundred thirty-three (633) of the General Statutes of Minnesota, 1913, and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the provisions of section six hundred thirtyfour (634) of the General Statutes of Minnesota, 1913, the Governor of the State of Minnesota, on the 10th day of August, 1922, duly issued his proclamation declaring that said petition has been duly filed and considered, and directing that the question of the establishment of the proposed new county of Lake of the Woods be submitted to the voters of said Beltrami County at the general election to be held in said state on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November, 1922, which proclamation was duly filed, recorded and published in accordance with the provisions of said law; and

WHEREAS, it appears that the notice of election, as provided by section six hundred thirty-six (636) of the General Statutes, Minnesota, 1913, was duly given to the electors of the county of Beltrami and duly specified that the question of the creation of the county of Lake of the Woods would be voted upon at the said general election, and that the law for such cases made and provided has been in all respects complied with; and

WHEREAS, it appears from the certificate of the State Canvassing Board, made and filed with the Secretary of State, disclosing the result of the vote on the said proposition in Beltrami County, Minnesota, that said proposition has received a majority of the votes cast thereon in the said county of Beltrami at said election and that a total of six thousand two hundred seventy-three (6273) votes were polled at said election on the question of the creation of the proposed new county of Lake of the Woods, of which three thousand three hundred ninty (3390) votes were in favor of establishing said county of Lake of the Woods; and that said proposition also received a majority of the votes cast thereon in the territory forming said proposed new county. NOW THEREFORE, I, J. A. O. Preus, Governor of the State of 11 Minnesota, in compliance with section six hundred thirty-eight (638) General Statutes, Minnesota, 1913, do hereby publish, declare and proclaim that the proposition to organize and create the said county of Lake of the Woods did receive at the said election a majority or the votes cast thereat upon the said proposition, both in said county of Beltrami and in the territory comprising said proposed new county, and that the same was duly adopted; and that the said county of Lake of the Woods, as hereinbefore bounded and described, with the county seat located and the county commissioners named, as set forth in said petition and proclamation, has been duly created and vested with all the rights and privileges conferred by law upon an organized county of the State of Minnesota.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the State of Minnesota to be hereto affixed, at the Capitol, in the City of St. Paul, in said State, this 28th day of November, 1922.

Governor.

Attesu

fortan

Secretary of State.