

WENDELL R. ANDERSON GOVERNOR STATE OF MINNESOTA Office of the Governor STATE OF MINNESOTA

DEPARTMENT OF STATE

FILED

Sourday 0 0.2 3

SEP 2 - 1971 arlen & Erlahl

ST. PAUL 55101

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 8

I, Wendell R. Anderson, Governor of the State of Minnesota, persuant to the authority and responsibility assigned to me by Minnesota Statutes Chapter 4 and Laws of 1969, Chapter 1122, and Laws of 1971, Chapters 153 and 174, do hereby order the following in regard to the delineation of development regions and the formation of regional development commissions.

WHEREAS,

Executive Order No. 60 dated June 12, 1970, was amended on December 30, 1970, to provide for the delineation of two new regions, Six East and Six West, and such delineation was requested by the various local governments affected, and final establishment of this delineation was made contingent upon the requirement that formation of regional development commissions in both regions occur by June 30, 1971, and

WHEREAS, Regional development commissions were not formed in either region by June 30, 1971, and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 5 dated June 25, 1971, removed the stipulation that regional development commissions be created in Six East and Six West and gave local governments an additional 60 days to indicate their preferences for the delineation of boundaries, and

WHEREAS, During the 60 day period, eight of the nine counties affected indicated their preference by resolution, and

WHEREAS, No new data or issues have been identified to justify changes other than those indicated in this Order, and

WHEREAS, There are planning efforts now underway which use the regional boundaries provided in this Order, especially in areas of health and criminal justice planning, and

WHEREAS, The majority of counties which indicated a preference, asked for the delineation indicated in this Order.

NOW, THEREFORE, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor and State Planning Officer of the State of Minnesota, I hereby order that:

22893

1. Region Six East shall consist of McLeod, Meeker, Kandiyohi and Renville Counties; and

-2-

Six West shall consist of Swift, Yellow Medicine, Lac Qui Parle, Big Stone and Chippewa Counties;

- Region Four shall consist of Clay, Becker, Wilkin, Otter Tail, Traverse, Grant, Douglas, Stevens and Pope Counties;
- 3. State agencies which are using the original Region Six for planning and administrative purposes, may continue to do so. Regions Six East and Six West have been delineated primarily to facilitate the formation of Regional Development Commissions by the local governments in the two regions.

Dated this lat day of funtue, 1971.

¢.

Wendell R. Anderson

GOVERNOR

ATTEST:

71-57

rlen S. Erdahl ARLEN ERDAHL

Secretary of State

#22893

STATE OF MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF STATE FILED SEP 2 - 1971 Arlen J. Elste

Secretary of State

22893