## RECIPROCAL AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE

# STATE OF MINNESOTA AND THE STATE OF COLORADO

The duly authorized officials of the state of Minnesota and the state of Colorado acting by and through the authority granted to them by the law of their respective States, hereby agree to reciprocally waive payment of motor vehicle registration or license plate fees (taxes) for vehicles properly and lawfully registered in Minnesota when operating in Colorado; and to reciprocally waive payment of such fees for such vehicles properly and lawfully registered in Colorado when operating in Minnesota under and subject to the following conditions and limitations:

Ι

Private passenger automobiles, when operated singly or towing non-commercial trailers or house trailers, are entitled to full reciprocity provided the owner does not engage in gainful occupation or establish permanent residence within the state,

II

Except for trucks and trailers owned by a farmer or rancher and used to transport his own farm or ranch products produced by him and except for all other vehicles having an unladen weight of less than 4501 pounds, all owners (or operators) of trucks or trucktractor, semi-trailer combinations registered in the state of Minnesota and operated into the state of Colorado shall tender to the state of Colorado a tax payment based on mills per ton mile or a trip permit fee of \$5.00 (whichever is greater) as prescribed by Colorado statutes; and except as hereinbefore provided for farm trucks and trailers and vehicles having an unladen weight of less than 4501 pounds, all owners (or operators) of trucks or trucktractor, semi-trailer combinations registered in the state of Colorado and operated into the state of Minnesota, shall tender to the state of Minnesota a tax payment equivalent to the fee assessed Minnesota registered vehicles by the state of Colorado. The equivalent fees have been determined to be as follows:

> Total Gross Weight Truck or combination of truck-tractor, semi-trailer.

> > lbs.

lbs.

lbs.

lbs.

lbs.

1-21000

21001-31000

31001-41000

41001-51000

51001-61000

61000 and over

Rate

그늘	cents	per	mile
2	cents	por	mile
3	cents	per	mile
4	cents	per	mile
4글	cents	per	mile
5	cents	per	mile

If the tax for a given trip as computed by use of the foregoing table is less than \$5.00, the fee shall be \$5.00.

#### III

All owners (or operators) of passenger buses being operated for compensation and registered in the state of Minnesota and operated into the state of Colorado, shall tender to the state of Colorado a tax payment at the rate of one mill per passenger mile. For occasional trips, owners (or operators) of such buses shall pay a fee of \$5.00 or one mill per passenger mile (whichever is the greater). All owners (or operators) of passenger buses operating for compensation and registered in the state of Colorado and operating into the state of Minnesota, shall tender to the state of Minnesota a tax payment equivalent to the fee assessed Minnesota registered buses by the state of Colorado.

#### IV

Trip permits valid for periods of seventy-two (72), hours may be issued ty either State at the discretion of or as required by the respective licensing authorities. If under the administration of this provision, trip permits are required by either of the States, the one so requiring shall notify the other prior to issuing any regulation relating thereto.

V

Nothing contained in this agreement shall be construed to apply to commercial vehicles such as trucks, buses, truck-tractors, semitrailers, et cetera, operating in intrastate commerce or to waive compliance with the weight, length, width or traffic laws of the respective States.

## VI

Reciprocity privileges shall not extend to leased vehicles unless such vehicles are properly registered in one of the two States, parties to this agreement.

#### VII

Nothing contained in this agreement shall be construed to apply to the requirements of either State with reference to operating authority as administered by the Public Utilities Commission of the state of Colorado or the Railroad and Warehouse Commission of the state of Minnesota.

## VIII

This agreement shall become effective January 1, 1956 and may be terminated by either State by giving thirty (30) days written notice. This agreement supersedes any previous agreements entered into by the respective States.

#### \* \* \* \* \* \*

The signatory States hereto have caused to be affixed the signatures of the responsible official of each State acting pursuant to the authority conferred on such official by the laws of the State which he represents this \_\_\_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_\_\_, 1956.

FOR THE STATE OF COLORADO

Property .

0 ector OI Bevenue 1stryas Assistant Director of Bevenue MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION

FOR THE STATE OF MINNESOTA

fornev

-1 va Secretary of State APPROVIN

General

2 -

