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Proposed Rule Changes for Case Processing 

In the matter of the Proposed Adoption of Rules of the State Department of 
Human Rights Governing the Processing of Discrimination Charges: 

STATEMENT OF NEED AND REASONABLENESS 

Mi nnesota Statutes, section 363.05, subdivision 1, paragraph (7), requires the 
commissioner to adopt rules to effectuate the purposes of chapter 363, the 
Human Rights Act. Under this authority the commissioner is proposing amend ­
ments to the rules related to the filing, processing and disposition of 
charges including Minnesota Rules, parts 5000.0050 to 5000.2400. 

In drafting these amendments the department has considered their potential im­
pact on small businesses. In two of the three proposed amendments the rule is 
being changed to correctly reflect statutory amendments passed by the state 
legislature in 1987 and 1988. The legislature provided no opportunity for the 
department to have 1 ess stringent requirements for sma 11 business. However, 
the rule changes wi 11 have no adverse impact on the operations of small 
businesses in the state. The proposed change in part 5000.0400 was, in part, 
intended to assist employers in developing relevant and timely responses to 
charges of discrimination. 

Amendments to parts 5000.0400, 5000.0500, and 5000.0900 are necessary in order 
to make the department's procedures consistent with statutory amendments 
passed in the 1987 and 1988 legislative sessions. The creation of part 
5000.2250, subpart 4, was necessary to resolve an inconsistency between re­
quirements related to record keeping at educational institutions proscribed by 
Minnesota Statutes, section 363.03 , subdivision 5(3), and the requirements of 
other statutes and governmental regulations related to affirmative action 
plans which require these institutions to gather and maintain such informa­
tion. 

Part 5000.0400 CHARGES 

Subp. lb. Time for filing. This rule has been amended to conform to the 1988 
amendments to Minnesota Statutes, section 363.06, subdivision 3. The statute 
now stipulates that a charge can be filed within one full year of the occur­
rence of an alleged discriminatory act instead of the previous limitation to 
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300 days. The present rule permits charges to be filed within a period of 
only 300 days after the alleged discriminatory act took place whereas the 
proposed rule acknowledges the current statutory limitation of one year. 

Subp. 3. Service. This subpart has been amended to conform to the require­
ments in the 1987 amendments to Minnesota Statutes, section 363.06, subdivi­
sion I. The statute requires the commissioner to serve a copy of the charge 
in person or by mail within ten days of its filing along with a form for use 
in responding to the charge. The rule is reasonabl e because it stays within 
the limits imposed by the statute and provides for a procedure whereby respon­
dents are informed immediately about the relevant type of information the 
department will need in assessi ng the response to the charge. This procedure 
will assist both the department and the respondent in bringing cases to their 
conclusion as efficiently as possible . 

Part 5000.0500 INVESTIGATIONS 

Subpart 1. Answer to charge. This rule has been amended to conform to the 
requirements in the 1987 amendments to Minnesota Statutes, secti on 363.06, 
subdivision 1. The statute now requires that respondents file a written 
response to the charge within 20 days of receipt of the charge. The change in 
the rule is reasonable because it requires only what the statute itself now 
requires in this context. No other changes have been made to this rul e beyond 
what the legislature has mandated. 

Part 5000.0570 REOPENING CERTAIN CASES 

Subpart 1. Request. This subpart has been changed to include part 5000.0550 
among those types of terminations for which a case can be considered for 
reopening. Part 5000.0550 prescribes the suspension of processing a charge 
when a charging party has indicated an intent to bring a private civil action. 
This change is needed because the present rul es do not provide for reopening 
of charges when the related civil action has been dismissed without prejudice. 
The addition is reasonable because, in general, the rules already provide for 
reopening cases that have been terminated; and, in particul ar, the reinst itu­
tion of a charge after a ci vil action is dismissed without prejudice is ac­
knowledged in Minnesota Statutes, section 363.14, subdivision 1, paragraph 
(3), clause (c). 

Part 5000.0900 COMPLAINT 

Subp.3. Service and filing. This rule has been amended to accommodate the 
state l egislature's 1988 amendments to Minnesota Statutes , section 363 .14, 
subd ivi s ion 1, which grants the commissioner the option of filing a complaint 
directly in district court. The change is reasonable because it is restricted 
to the amendments to the statute and nothing has been changed with regard to 
how the respondent is notified . 
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part 5000.2250 PRESERVATION OF RECORDS 

Subp. 4. Records at educational institutions. In Minnesota Statutes, section 
363.03, subdivision 5(3), educational institutions are proscribed from elicit­
ing or keeping information on "the race , color, creed, religion, national 
origin, sex, age, marital status or disability of a person seeking admission, 
except as permitted by the rules of the department." 

This rule is needed to provide those exceptions so that educational institu­
tions can collect and keep such records when required to do so by state or 
federal agencies, or in pursuit of the aims of their own affirmative action 
programs. This rule is reasonable because it recognizes the legitimate needs 
of educational institutions to create and maintain such records while at the 
same time ensuring that gathering such information will be otherwise consis ­
tent with the requirements and purposes of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 363. 
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